WOS Archives for November 2013

The insatiable howl of the fat cats
link to wingsoverscotland.com

The Crybaby Of State

Whistle and i’ll come to you

David

Update, here’s Alison Dowling, then of Clydebank, in a Wings article from August 23, 2014.

And this is her with Anas Sarwar and a giant comedy pound coin.
link to asha.photoshelter.com

FFS!

Tinto Chiel

Hey, Smallaxe: was in visiting my Aged Neighbour, who watches the Scottish Tory Broadcasting Corporation.

There was footage of the post-Glasgow count, where I saw a Rastafarian with a “Jamaica tammie” and a massive SNP rosette. Fair cheered me up.

Then saw the Tory “victor” in Shettleston (14% of vote or so?).

Oh, dear goad! Probs a good banjo player. Gave me the shudders.

Ian Brotherhood

Try and have a mad guess what this links to before you click on it.
It’s not music.

Cactus

Greetings frae yer sister city Glasgow Wingers…

Ahm in Edinburgh.

Count me in.
X.

Cactus

33 days to go…

Is that right?

+1 hour = seventeen.

Cactus

Back in Glasgow.

Home sweet home.

Cheers to ye Scotland.
X.

Tinto Chiel

Nature notes: the salmon are louping in the Clyde.

I watched an otter for more than half an hour as it ate several fish on the stretch between Murrawell and Hamilton.

Saw a tree-creeper too.

Spring has sprung, chinas.

Was told by my Hub organiser that canvassing starts again on Monday, so here we go again.

Michael McCabe

A Case of You. link to youtube.com

Nana

@Michael McCabe

Michael, thanks for the most excellent guitar video on the 4th. That Joanna Connor is one rocking bluesy mama! Loved it.

Michael McCabe

Amos Lee-Colors link to youtube.com

Marie Clark

Any word of how our own Paula Rose faired on Thursday?

Stoker

Selective reporting of the day

Nothin’ goin’ on but the rent

Parasites on the nation

Stoker

Medal of dishonour

Fear cuts deeper than swords

The picture spin quiz

Stoker

Return of an old friend

The quiet man

The McChattering classes

Stoker

Looking forward with hindsight

Fighting nightmares

Ghosts in the machine

Stoker

The words of weasels

The Great Circus

Canis canem edit

Michael McCabe

@ Marie Clark 6:32pm I know Paula never won. I heard she got more votes than the red tory though.

Michael McCabe

Morcheeba-The Sea link to youtube.com

Tinto Chiel

Heard this in the car and liked it.

Is that ok?

Coughlan kept it simple but in a driving way.

The meadow saxifrage is out, btw.

Marie Clark

Michael McCabe @ 7.51 thanks for the info. Shame that she didn’t win, but good that she got more than the red tory.

Smallaxe

Wah gwan, Mi Friends, ave unu stop chattin’ to each otha? Smallaxe says him wi be back soon an him nuh happy cuz di music ave stop!

“Keep them Talking” Garnet Silk

“Don’t let me Down” Paolo Nutini

Get di music an di chattin’ start up again it keeps wi unite Seen? Wah gud wi fi wi free country be without people chattin’ an listening to som gud music? I’n’I soon come.

Dat a no way to bring wi Peace Always, Overstand?

Stoker

The death of the social contract

Reading through the lines

So, this is interesting

Stoker

The Gareth Bale Conundrum

A matter of clarity

An exercise in brevity

Stoker

Lies, lies, lies, lies, lies

Spread around town

Seeing no ships

Stoker

The devil’s advocacy

A long time in politics

A gun to Govan’s head

Stoker

Careful now

Stalling for time

The ground war

Tinto Chiel

Just heard!

Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

Hahaha I worked in Monaco around the year 2000 for the company SBM who are in the oil business and that’s where there main office is.

Tax reasons, I think lol. Anyway, I actually stayed in Nice and traveled everyday by train to Monaco only half an hour or so and it was nothing like the pictures in your video. I shared a flat with an English guy near the train station and the area was a shithole though the flat was decent enough.

Load of druggies and other undesirables hence it was cheap in that area. I have a very good story of Monaco but will save that for another day.

Tinto Chiel

Yes, and let’s not forget the great institution that is the French Public Toilet.

Mrs TC had to use one in Morlaix, Brittany, when she was expecting our No.2 heiress and came out traumatised by the horrors within. The experience seemed to have been communicated to daughter in the womb, who hates using public toilets and has an obsession with cleanliness.

Even the female loo was a hole-in-the-floor number.

Pravdasound4 seems very disappointed Macron won: lots of pissing on his shoes this morning.

Quel dommage, as we sometimes say in Lanarkshire.

Smallaxe

I’n’I say yesterday, an mi sey again todeh but people just ignoring mi. Wah happen wid all di chatting an music ave everyone fallen out wid each otha?Weh Michael McCabe di man who plays all di gud music?Weh all di gud people who did sharing stories wid each otha ave dem guh away?

Here Sam Cooke an Otis to tell unu bout it!

Why nuh unu try sum of dat wah di men telling yuh?There no Peace an Love happen here dat a nuh di way to ave Peace Always.

K1

Lol…ah like what yer dain’ there Smallaxe 😉

Smallaxe

K1, it di ongle way to dweet people haffi chat an enjoy themselves afta dealing wid all di Bag o’ Wires dat cum pon to di main thread at times dem haffi relax an chill fi awhile.Seen?

Otis an mi cyaa get no Satisfaction

Dat a di ongle ting dat wi bring Peace Always!
😎

Smallaxe

Mi haffi guh fi a while mi ave Mango tree to sit unda wid mi sweetheart.

Unda di tree mi get Peace Always.Seen?

K1

Seen 🙂

Stoker

Frozen at zero

The Great Gingerbread Robbery

Balanced movie night

Stoker

The dirty game

Experimental trailer

Scorched Ayrth

Stoker

It’s a trap!

Quotes Of The Year #12

Quotes Of The Year #11

Stoker

WOS Archives for December 2013

Quotes Of The Year #10

Quotes Of The Year #9

Quotes Of The Year #8

Stoker

Quotes Of The Year #7

Quotes Of The Year #6

Quotes Of The Year #5

Michael McCabe

Comin’ Undone- Sarah Jarosz link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Xavier Rudd- Follow The Sun (Bing Lounge) link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Darius Rucker-Let Her Cry (Bing Lounge) link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Joe Bonamassa with Beth Hart: “I’ll Take Care of You”

Smallaxe

Janis Joplin: “Summertime”

Smallaxe

Taj Mahal and Gregg Allman: “Statesboro Blues”

Startin’ to feel the Peace Always felt with good sounds.
😎

Michael McCabe

Lynyrd Skynard- Simple Man link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Sade and Santana: “Why can’t we Live Together”

Michael McCabe

Hooked on a feeling. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Enigma: “Return to Innocence”

Michael McCabe

Guess Who- American Woman link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Schiller: “I Feel You”

Michael McCabe

Ronnie Lane-Debris-Ooh La La link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

The Zombies: “Time of the Season”
Peace Always People!

Smallaxe

Ronnie Lane Memorial Concert: Slim Chance with Paul Weller “Spiritual Babe”
Peace and Love Ronnie.

Michael McCabe

Evening Smallaxe. Loving the Music. I only play this one now and again. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Evening, Michael, some good stuff going, mixing well! I was only 12yrs old when this came out.Honest!

Johnny Kidd and the Pirates: “I’ll never get over you”

Michael McCabe

I Think Everybody is on a night out and they have left me and you to Guard Off Topic. it is Awfy Quiet. apart from us two that is. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

I was thinking that too, Michael, they don’t know what they’re missing. I’m wearing earphones, there hasn’t been a siren and a flash and a bang..Has there?

Tom Waits: “Drunk on the Moon”

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe Smallaxe

It’s like watching dueling banjos from the pair of yeh 🙂

This has NEVER been played here before, promise LOL.

Smallaxe

Hi, Alex, not dueling, Duetting!

Billy j. Kramer and the Dakotas: “Little Children”

Time travlin’ out a’ sight man, toooo much 😎

Smallaxe

Maybe even;

“Jammin” Here Bob
ONE LOVE

Michael McCabe

Smallaxe here is a Bob Marley song I had never heard until tonight. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Bob and the Wailers- Rat Race (Live) link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Learned A Lot link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Bob Marley: “The Heathen”

Smallaxe

John Lee Hooker: “Boom Boom Boom Boom” time for some Mississippi Delta Blues; this man will tell you what the “Blues” means @ 3.05

Smallaxe

Jimi Hendrix: “Little Wing”

Smallaxe

Tank yuh fi yuh company tonight Michael mi enjoyed di music.I’n’I sey nuh Worry bout a ting cause every likkle ting a guh be Alright

Let nuh bady steal or tek away yuh joy it ave been given to yuh by di Most High, Jah Rastafari.Peace Always
Goodnight

Michael McCabe

Goodnight Smallaxe My Friend. I am beginning to feel tired so I am of to my pit. That’s just the way it is. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Some great sounds back up this thread starts @ 5.40pm through to 2.13am.

You missed a great night!

Yuh kno why I’n’I choose to be a Rasta cuz mi choose a path which hates nuh bady mi live inna hope dat othas wi follow dis path of Peace, Always.It nuh a religion it a way of thinking.Seen?

hwww.youtube.com/watch?v=c5SbeU_6yo8&ab_channel=NonPutriSkatepunk

Smallaxe

Dis a di music dat a suppose to be up above mi nuh too bright dis mawnin mi Frens.

Tinto Chiel

Great platters you two have been spinning.

Harvey and I have been making daisy chains on the grass and musing on the ineffable mysteries. Have you noticed the smooth inner sides of beech nuts? And the silken hairs of the broad bean pod?

And the whitebeam is in leaf: such a beautiful tree.

Meanwhile, in other news, I believe I have scooped Nana: the Tories have just released their GE17 video. Should go down a storm in Scotland.

Smallaxe

Hi, Tinto, I had the pleasure of having a green woodpecker in my garden yesterday and my Red Robin tree has come into flower for the first time.

On a different note, the pendulum “MAY” still be swinging but it’s swinging only one way.

Fred

Good to see U guys back in action & that youse haven’t been idle! Ben Oovi sunny but very draughty, Whitebeam still not oot there. Agree with Tinto on Whitebeam, it’s the first tree I remember from the swingpark as a wean, the Glesga Corporation must have purchases a job-lot. Good for the bees n the birds. The Fn Bees at George Square will be dreading the auditors arrival?

Smallaxe

Fred, FN Bees;

“The Big Effin Bee”: Matt McGinn

Tinto Chiel

Green woodie? One of my faves. Not common here any more, Smallaxe. Sighs.

Fred, in EK they planted thousands of Swedish W’beam as an amenity tree. Not as pale and elegant as the native one.

Smallaxe

Matt McGinn in a more serious mood!

“The Ballad of John Mclean”

Smallaxe

Tinto, this should cheer you up; Sing Along!

Smallaxe

Gone Fishin’

starlaw

ON a bus in Edinburgh today I saw a stall at the Castle St. Princes St. junction with three EU flags and a Saltire fluttering in the breeze, could not see what it was selling or what it was about, for the crowd gathered round it. Any one on here know.

Tinto Chiel

Catch anything, Smallaxe?

Never heard The Woodpecker Song before but she sure could sing.

This is one of my ex-girlfriends. Why does it always happen to me?

Grendel

Airdrie For Independence are looking to borrow a Misinforming Scotland banner for the day this Saturday (if anyone has one).
If you can help please email airdrieforindependence@gmail.com.
Cheers.

Grendel

Airdrie For Independence are looking to borrow a Misinforming Scotland banner for this Saturday. If anyone can help us out please email us at airdrieforindependence@gmail.com.

We’ve a new website too, airdrieforindependence.wordpress.com

Stoker

Quotes Of The Year #4

Quotes Of The Year #3

Quotes Of The Year #2

Stoker

Seventy-nine percent

The pound in your pocket

UK population found sane

Stoker

The myth of the borders

Breaking geological news

Respect agenda still strong

Stoker

How to make news from air

The reverse apology

Season’s greetin’

Stoker

The Wings Pantomime 2013: Cindyrella

On our own two feet

Setting the tone

yesindyref2

Cracking day again. I’m a bit wary of a poster in the H A McM who was way back devo-max I think, thne pro-indy, then against Indy, then anti-SNP, then anti-Tory, and now ra ra ra pro-Indy. In case I’m not around, keep your eyes on him. Just saying like. It is what we want I guess, but pays to be cautious of possible cuckoos in the nest.

yesindyref2

Not complaining by the way, there’s a few more active again, like IL, GK for a different perspective, PC, AG of course, and others so I don’t feel I have to be sat ready at 00.01 – and can get on with a bit of normal life!

Quite a few needing a rest and get on with life, I notice TJ not posting for a time on Wings, and other names missing. It’s been a long campaign, and there’s more to go yet! Bloody GE next 🙁

Thepnr

This is quite good, I loved the “surprise guest” 🙂

Stoker

Ian Smart is a liar

Luggage and lies

Victims of the bedroom tax

Stoker

When you’re in a hurry

All the small print

The End…OR IS IT?

Stoker

The ladykillers

Collecting the clues

The Great Disdain Robbery

Stoker

Information retrieval

The poll dancer

Like a whirlpool, it never ends

Stoker

Holding back

New information

Translation time

Dave McEwan Hill

When I get really fed up as we footer about trying to offend none of the little Scottish mice who worry about the price of stamp if we go independent and whether we’ll be able to get Maltesers across the hard border I think of our Celtic cousins across the Irish sea and wonder what they think of us.

I remember meeting Dominic Behan who worked in TV in Scotland when he lived in Bothwell. He lived for a while with Hugh MacDairmid and they shared so much in political sentiment. Behan wrote all the greatest Irish songs of the 20th Century. Here are three of his best.

link to youtube.com “Come Out Ye Black and Tans” the Irish Descendants
link to youtube.com “The Patriot Game” The Wolfe Tones
link to youtube.com “McAlpines Fusiliers” The High Kings

Fred

Heard Dominic Behan singin in the Marland Bar, George Street many years ago.

An excellent read guys, if you haven’t already read it, is “His Bloody Project” by Graeme Macrae Burnet, well deserved Man Booker Prize winner, just finished it, murder & mayhem in Applecross.

Ian Brotherhood

@Dave McEwan Hill –

It’s embarrassing. And the Irish are just so nice (for the most part) that they probably don’t want to state the bleedin’ obvious.

@Fred – Good shout. It was a set text at uni this semester. Really enjoyed it.

Dave McEwan Hill

Ian Brotherhood at 10.04

Perhaps it’s time we should. Call it the half-wit factor in Scottish politics

Thepnr

@Fred

Just bought the book, look forward to reading it. Absolute bargain at £3.75 with free delivery with Amazon Prime. Another two fingers up to the BBC 🙂

CameronB Brodie

Here’s one to mark yet another day when the British Establishment closes ranks to protect their own and the status quo. OK, I appreciate the CPS would probably have spent a tonne of money yet fail to secure a prosecution, as individual intent would have been difficult to prove(?). The spirit of the law and accountable democracy has been shat on from a great height though, IMHO.

Completely different set of rules if you are poor and powerless.

Hifi Sean featuring Crystal Waters – Testify (Original Extended)

Tinto Chiel

Morning, and a beautiful one at that. Going to look for my wee otter in the Clyde.

Was it not Dominic Behan who said, “If work was any good, the bosses would keep it for themselves?”

I’m still trying to absolutely nail down the attribution.

When you can get the Irish to stop being nice, a good few often think of us as England’s Little helpers or just plain stupid, frankly.

It only takes about an hour of canvassing to agree with the latter, at least.

Tinto Chiel

In which case, this can be a balm for the soul:

Thepnr

When I posted yesterday on the main thread about the liar Ruth Davidson and her Thorn of Crowns, this is what I must have had in mind as I’ve played it before.

Johnny Cash – Hurt

Thepnr

Just sent off another email to an influential EU politician, Manfred Weber chairman of the EPP Group in the European Parliament.

Nana posted an article in the Irish Times today by him.
The more the merrier in my view.

link to irishtimes.com

Raising the profile of Scotland’s plight with influential EU parliamentarians can only help our cause. When the oppertunity arises I think I’ll just keep on doing that.

Macart
Thepnr

@Macart

Great article on Wee Ginger Dug Sam. You need to get writing one for Wings too!

CameronB Brodie

I hope the indyref2 campaign highlights how the underlying principles of contemporary, neo-liberal, British nationalism, are unhelpful towards efforts to achieve an inclusive and open society, as British nationalism is fundamentally chauvinistic and exclusionary, so subsequently unsustainable.

Here’s one for hardcore Yoonery.

Korn – Coming Undone

Stoker

Quoted for truth #40

Lies, damned lies and Tories

Deal or no deal?

Stoker

The thin veneer of pretence

We were surprised too

Here’s your democratic choice

Stoker

Not all information wants to be free

Behold the messiah

A man of foresight

Stoker

A statute of limitations

Mapping the recovery

The status quo

Stoker

Are we there yet?

Looking after their own

Doctor’s notes

Macart

@Thepnr

Ta much. I’m happy helping Paul when I can.

Mainly I’m a ranter wi banter. 🙂

Thepnr

Bit heated on the main thread again tonight, thought you might like to unwind with a laugh. The auld yins are the best yins.

Fred

Been there Thepnr! aw ahm sayin!

Ian Foulds

I am sure you observant Wingers can tell me if the following car sticker is new or ‘old hat’

Thanks,

Ian

“Proud to be Scots (sic); Delighted to be United”

David

Great comment from James Sneddon Dow in the Herald:
“Anyone with any sense can see that the UK on leaving the EU will most likely be no better off than it was in the 60s and early 70s when we were pleading to join the Common Market (EEC). What is going to be different after Brexit takes effect?

None of the Brexiteers can provide any real, substantiated details of how we will be better off once we are set adrift from the EU. Empire2? I don’t think so. Perhaps we should set up factories making rose coloured spectacles – hopefully the Brexiteers would be good at doing that.”

Thepnr

@Fred

Right that’s me then, just received my copy of His Bloody Project. Will let you what I think after reading.

As an aside, can anyone believe that this song was released exactly 50 Years ago today. Classic of course.

Stoker

Folks, there now follows the first instalment of tonight’s double-header of WOS archive links to complete 2013 then i’m out of here.

Stoker

A day in the life of the future

Politics and platitudes

Latest leaked poster

Stoker

Celebrity endorsement

War on satire continues

Balancing the budget

Stoker

Professional standards

Scotland on repeat

The Schengen deception

Stoker

Meet the new boss

We agree with Margaret Curran

So blind that you cannot see

Stoker

How money changed everything

Quoted for comedy

Safe under the watchful eyebrows

Stoker

How things change

The sunshine underground

Small lunatic fringe forms splinter group

Stoker

Clutching at straws

Partial freedom

The talent pool

Stoker

Who am i?

One way of putting it

One of these statements must be wrong

Stoker

Quoted for truth #37

Juxtaposed with EU

A thousand words painted

Stoker

The most interesting election in history

And with that, folks, i now bow out. I can no longer be bothered with people repeatedly posting direct links to BUM sites or links to private commercial petition sites, as well as lying to folk as they do so.

Regardless of their excuses, they are fully aware that they’re helping to promote an already powerful propaganda machine which continues to make our efforts more and more difficult.

With these people supposedly on-board who needs enemies. We are pissing against the wind because of these people and i don’t want to be associated with that level of chronic stupidity.

Keep up the excellent work Rev as i will continue to follow your work studiously, and with relish. It’s been a privilege to have played a small part in helping WOS to grow and long may that continue. Your rightful place in Scottish history is assured.

Keep up the fight troops and remember, fight dirty! 😉

CameronB Brodie

I try to avoid re-posts but I thought this one perfect for Ruth Harrison’s fishy mate. I’m sure it reflects his world view.

@Ruth Harrison
Is it self-awareness or a sense of ethical morality you lack?

The B-52’s – Song For A Future Generation

Tinto Chiel

Stoker: you’ve bust a gut with all your great archive posts.

I don’t know who’s offended you but I hope you reconsider.

The next three weeks or so are very important.

Ian Brotherhood

Just heard that my ‘boss’ Calum Macdonald, crossword editor for the Herald/Sunday Herald/National has died.

He was just 55.

Patrician

For anyone with nothing better to do tomorrow morning. There will be an “Airdrie for Independence” stall in Airdrie town centre from 10am till 1pm (weather permitting). Pop along and say hi, or come and help out.

Cactus

Just a nod Wingers.

Thepnr

Nods back at Cactus 🙂

Tinto Chiel

Morning, sophisticates.

Does anyone have any good info on the Independence March, originally scheduled for late May?

Fred

Like the bust Tinto, “Remember Thomas Muir of Huntershill!” by Dick Gaughan.
Rain at last to fill the burns, had my first Scottish strawberries from Sainsbury’s yesterday. Branded “British Strawberries” won’t be long before we’re drinkin “British Whisky!”

Macart

Bit of light reading. 🙂

link to weegingerdug.wordpress.com

Tinto Chiel

Yes, Fred, I’ve been listening to DG’s stuff quite a lot recently, Sail On in particular.

I took the foatie of Thomas’ bust in Bishopbriggs library.

I’m afraid I’ve seen photographs of bottles of British whisky, with British haggis also.

It’s enough to drive you to drink, frankly.

Great piece, Macart, btw, but it sums up my worst fears. And yet I still meet Tories on the doorstep quite happy with Treeza.

Sefishness and xenophobia seem the main drivers and the media-cultivated Two Minute Hates against AS and the FM.

Breeks

Err… Finding it a bit bizarre listening to Radio 2 where they seem quite buoyant about the chances of the UK winning the Eurovision Song Contest tonight.

Having just stuck up two arrogant chubby fingers to all 27 Euro Nations, I rather suspect I’d be lowering my expectations, just a tad….

Paula Rose

Tinto Honey – it’s on June 3rd.

Tinto Chiel

Thanks for the info, Paula.

Unfortunately, I’m travelling back from Trumpland on that date, so I’m very disappointed to miss it.

Paula Rose

Oh that’s a pity – was looking forward to seeing you.

Tinto Chiel

Yes, it’s a bummer ‘cos I was hoping to meet All The Usual Suspects.

Tinto Chiel

As I said:

Ian Brotherhood

What a pleasure to see a certain someone back among us.

Ye canny whack the sight of a well-turned Chaz Jankel.

Tinto Chiel

As heard to best effect in:

Cactus

Aweright adventurers.

This journey to independence is some voyage eh!

We’re coming down to the final moves..

The board is set..

For checkmate,

Play.

William Wallace

Fuck rule 8

William Wallace

Dark Lochnagar

Away ye grey landscapes, ye gardens o’ roses
In you let the minions of luxury rove
And restore me the rocks where the snowflake reposes
If still they are sacred to freedom and love
Brave Caledonia, dear are thy mountains
Round their white summits though elements war
Though cataracts roar ‘stead of smooth-flowing fountains
I sigh for the valley o’ dark Lochnagar

Ah! there my young footsteps in infancy wandered
My cap was the bonnet, my cloak was the plaid
On chieftains departed my memory lingered
As daily I strayed through the pine-covered glade
I sought not my home till the day’s dying glory
Gave place to the rays o’ the bright polar star
My fancy was cheered by the bold martial story
As told by the sons o’ dark Lochnagar

Years have rolled on, Lochnagar, since I left you
Years must roll on ere I see you again
Though Nature of verdure and flowers bereft you
Yet still art thou dearer than Albion’s plain
England! thy beauties are tame and domestic
To one who has roved on the mountains afar
Oh for the crags that are wild and majestic
The steep frowning glories o’ wild Lochnagar

Ill-starred now the brave, did no vision foreboding
Tell you that fate had forsaken our cause?
Yet were you destined to die at Culloden
Though victory crowned not your fall with applause
Yet were you happy in death’s earthly slumber
To sleep wi’ your clan in the caves of Braemar
The pibroch resounds to the piper’s loud number
Your deeds to the echoes of wild Lochnagar

William Wallace

Scotland Will Flourish

Scotland will flourish by the sweat of our labour
The strength of our will and the force of our minds
Forget the old battles, those days are over
Hatred corrupts and friendship refines

Let the Scots be a nation proud of their heritage
Wi’ an eye on the future and a heart to forgive
And let us be rid of those bigots and fools
Who will not let Scotland live and let live

Let us govern our country wisely and fairly
Let each man and woman work with a will
And Scotland will flourish secure in the knowledge
That we reap our own harvest and ring our own till

And let us be known for our kind hospitality
A hand that is openly proffered to friends
A hard working people, proud and unbending
Scotland will thrive and win out in the end

Scotland will flourish by the sweat of our labour
The strength of our will and the force of our mind
Forget the old battles, those days are over
Hatred corrupts and friendship refines

So let us be known for our kind hospitality
A hand that is openly proffered to friends
A hard working people, proud and unbending
Scotland will thrive and win out in the end

Cactus

Fuckin’ excellent William Wallace!

Swearing waits for no man or woman.

They are more than words.

Esp. where apt.

Scotland.

Cactus

It is all in a matter of timing.

An time doesnae wait around either 😉

Cactus

Aweright William Wallace ~

It’s Monday and it’s a pleasure tae address yer fine name.

Ye did SO much for us in yester-years.

Cheers WWX.

Paula Rose

It is very complex – I have now pieced together why I was attacked so horrendously, I hope to see you’ll on June 3rd but my income stream has been destroyed along with my standing.

In the meantime…

Thepnr

Hi Paula

Commiserations on the election, I’ll be away again before June 3rd but sure we’ll catch up after. Stay strong in these difficult times. Here’s a tune I hope you’ll like.

Paula Rose

So touching my dear Thepnr so touching…

anonymous

Paula Rose

Thepnr

@Paula Rose

This is one you played for all us many moons ago. A cracker 🙂

Thepnr

Dis dat you smallaxe LOL

Macart

Some light evening banter. 🙂

link to weegingerdug.wordpress.com

David

Ahh, the Seventies! Go on, Theresa May, take us back there:
The Pipkins – “Gimme Dat Ding” (1970)

Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Hi Alex here is a one man band for you. it is good the way he loops it altogether. link to youtube.com

Paula Rose

Ha Laurel and Hardy – they were also big fans of the Sex Pistols…

Tinto Chiel

Evening.

Saw my first Black-tailed Godwit yesterday.

Groovy…

Paula Rose

Groovy? Good reason to play…

Tinto Chiel

@ Paula: indeed!

Did you have a bad experience in the local elections?

I never know when you’re joking.

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

That was excellent, cheers David and Paula for the other tunes. Got to keep on smiling 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

FFS!!!

I just dropped in there and was instantly transported back a full year or more!

*quickly backs out again*

Great to see so many old faces clustered together!

CameronB Brodie

Before we go anywhere Ian, you should be aware I am a bit of post-structuralist, vegetarian, existentialist with a personal belief in the principle of universal human rights (which does not justify the ritualised and inhumane slaughter of wild animals obvs.). I’m not an unbiased opinion, frankly. 🙂

The Animals – It’s My Life

CameronB Brodie

Also Ian, I’m really am a bit of an uncultured imposter. I just had to check who Bakhtin was and find out he was a Russian philosopher and semotician. I really am worried about Friday now. 🙂

Thepnr

I Bakhtin to a lamppost in a hire car once in Norway. Cost me 900 quid. See you over the weekend, meantime take care 🙂

Smallaxe
Nana

Anyone needing a brain boost! Don’t all order immediately or there will be none left for me and lord knows I could do with some.

link to getbrainboost.net

The Scotgov should put them in the water supply, lol

Paula Rose

Useful little snippet about that black stuff…

Fred

Nana, yer Brainboost is jiggered!

Nana

@Fred

Hahaha Fred, you are right. This link should work for you. I’m planning on ordering my supply real soon!

link to drosmanarikan.com

Paula Rose

Ideal music to dust by – not what you might be expecting…

Thepnr

She did a pretty good version of the Dammed there, quite impressed 🙂

Thepnr

Just like us, every No voter voted the way they did for different reasons. You won’t find a one suit fits all arguement, you’ll have to adapt your arguement to fit those you hope to convince.

I’ll let a hero of mine Richard Feynman explain.

Ian Brotherhood

Who’s up for Glasgow, June 3rd?

Just testing the overall situation…

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Doubt I can make it though I wish I could, I expect to be elsewhere on that date. Bestest wishes to those those that can go though.

I played Feynman earlier and I’ll do again, it’s a top ten that I played donkeys ago on OT though probably not many watched it. Feynman was probably the greatest physicist since Einstein.

Here in this top 10 two 19th century Scottish scientists get a mention, can you spot them?

Cactus

Aye, count me in bro.

Same goes for Edinburgh.

Today is the 17th of May, 2017.

Countdown clock:
17 days remain to go until the Glasgow, June 3rd jig.

Excellent, cheers again karma.

That’s 3-in-a-row!

Glasg 😉 w.

Dave McEwan Hill

I’ll be in Glasgow 3rd – but I think they should stop at George Square.

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr & Cactus –

Hoots for responding.

Bummer you can’t make it A, you’ll be missed.

IB, see you there mister.

Smallaxe

SNP Record after 10 years
link to snp.org

Nana

@Smallaxe

You are a mind reader! The snp 10yr record is one of those I botched this morning.

Something to get you all thinking. Are we too polite?

link to aeon.co

Smallaxe
Smallaxe

Nana, you’re welcome, please feel free to move the links to the M/T if you so desire. Still FTGd.

Peace Always, my dear Friend.

Nana

@Smallaxe

No probs Billy, take care xx

Paula Rose

Ian Honey – every intention of being there, now offers of transport and overnight accommodation please so’s I can partake of a wee libation afterwards.

cearc

Ian,

Highly unlikely.

I have a guinea hen sitting and they don’t like my neighbour much (the feelings mutual). When he comes over to feed the birds and shut them in the guineas fly into the trees and spend the night there.

Another time.

I see there is another Indy convoy around the NC500 soon. Anyone going?

Thepnr

@cearc

I had a visit from Ronnie on Sunday, he doesn’t come on OT much so I’ll answer for him. He’s looking forward to it 🙂

Paula Rose

As some of you may know my twitter handle is @PaulaHoneyRose which is why I’m playing this…

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Here’s one for you…

Michael McCabe

Jack Savoretti – Written in Scars link to youtube.com

Thepnr

I think today has been a very good day for us. Let’s celebrate 🙂

CameronB Brodie

Paula Rose
Arranging a crash? Where’s your spirit of adventure. 🙂

Hope to make it myself.

Michael McCabe

Thepnr that was Great. From one of my favourite Musicals too. Anyway I give you this. link to youtube.com And link to youtube.com

William Wallace

Would I have to duplicate or triplicate content if it was not shut down by those that that choose to write our story?

I make nothing and I ask for nothing and I only talk about issues in Scotland, that are based on a narrative written by fellow Scots.

My own family and extended community have and always will shape the way I present my argument. Is it coarse and oary? Is it the language of the schemes? Is it abrasive and confrontational? Yes! Of course it is. These are times of war. Albeit without tanks and guns.

Shut down the voice of the people then expect us to confront it.

My narrative may not be in agreement with your narrative Stu but, withdrawing my right to a voice is as weak as it is contemptuous.

You disagree?

Then argue the god damn point.

Or Come Ahead 😉

Keep up the good work 🙂

Marie Clark

here’s the Maybot’s manifesto

Nana

@Marie Clark

I hear she is to appear alongside Davidson in Perth later today. I hope the good people of Perth have sharpened their pitchforks.

Dave McEwan Hill

I’m going for a record tonight with 25 rock’n’roll records in my Not Fade Away rock’n’roll one hour show on our online Argyll Independent Radio at 8 pm.

Ian Brotherhood

@CamB and abody else who’s interested –

Friday!

I hope you can watch the following.

I’ve noticed a lot of your recent links have been mentioning ‘inalienable rights’, so I’m curious for your thoughts on Kelman’s comments. (They seem particularly relevant because he’s making them in 2013, with indyref coming over the hill.)

CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
Hi Ian, you’ve posted that clip of Kelman before. I’d love to have a chat with the man as, like myself, I think he makes some large leaps in his logic. I’d like to hear more of what he thought about independence and what he has to say on identity.

With regards myself, I wouldn’t actually consider myself a nationalist. I have had to adopt nationalism as a means of securing the legitimisation of my humanity, which is presently denied by the British state, largely as a result of historical inertia. That’s what I think anyway though I sometimes wish I taken the other pill. 🙂

CameronB Brodie

Re. Historical inertia.

British Establishment – medieval in structure and value system.

British social development – struggling to retain Enlightenment principles whilst progressing through and past the age of modernity.

Current social epoch – the age of post-modernity

Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

Kelman is interesting for all sorts of reasons apart from his fiction.

He’s been marginalised and belittled by most of the cultural ‘players’ in Scotland and owes whatever literary reputation he has to the work of (largely) French theorists whose work seems to back-up and, in some cases, anticipate what he did with narrative. That’s why I wanted to get into Bakhtin. Okay, he’s not ‘French’ but issues of nationality and identity underpin a lot of his work and have direct links with the post-modernist dudes you’ve mentioned frequently.

You would imagine that Kelman’s comments would, in a healthy society, spark much serious debate. But look at the number of views for that video, and that was during a period when interest in indy had never ever been higher.

Point I’m getting to is this – the level of mainstream ‘intellectual’ debate in Scotland is dire, and it’s been kept that way for decades. It’s especially frowned on if it originates from the West Coast because Glasgow has always been regarded by London as the place where revolution was most likely to erupt. That image has never been shaken off, despite the efforts of City Fathers to rebrand Glasgow as a tourist/shopper-friendly hub.

CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
A key understanding of post-colonial theory, is that thought and contextual understanding is homogenised to suite the dominant culture. The indigenous intelligentsia are constrained to think in line with the dominant culture’s values, because the language and historical interpretation of the dominant culture is the prevailing truth.

Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

Aye, and we know how effective that is (e.g. the Scottish ‘cringe’) but it can only remain effective if the colonised people(s) don’t realise that they are occupied.

If there’s any real danger of that happening – and the awakening is gathering pace now – the dominant culture has to make concessions. The way it’s been happening, in my lifetime anyway, is to allow the illusion of inclusion e.g. have ‘ordinary’ Scottish voices in mass media and drama who are not fulfilling the old stereotypes. It’s not that long ago that Russ Abbott was doing the whole ‘Jimmy McJimmy’ routine on a regular basis. As it happens, I liked that character a lot because it helped us (Scots) understand how a lot of metropolitan English perceive us – when we speak it’s simply unintelligible to them because they are never ever exposed to Scottish accents.

Billy Connolly’s a good example of a working-class Scot who enjoyed huge success because he was pitched as a relatively presentable (and, of course, very funny) example of a ‘real’ Glaswegian. In fact, if you listen to the earliest of Connolly’s gigs, when he first started doing the comedy, he never ever had a broad Glaswegian accent. He could ‘do’ the caricature, aye, but his own diction and accent was always very clipped and polished. It was a brilliant balancing act. He exploited the myth which had been developed by the dominant culture, but he never seriously challenged or threatened it, ever.

CameronB Brodie

Is he not a successful and wealthy individual? His gig wasn’t to liberate Scots, it was to entertain, which he did well.

The “cringe” is certainly debilitating, it needs serious scientific investigation and an integrated program of action to achieve it’s eradication.

Step 1. Independence.

Step 2. Written constitution.

Step 3. Function as a normal nation state which places human rights and social cohesion ahead of neoliberal spiv greed.

Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

Where do steps 1-3 come from?

Are they just a personal take or what?

Step 3 could, in theory, precede the other two. Some might argue that it’s happening in Scotland.

CameronB Brodie

A personal take Ian. I think we need to become independent first, with the commitment to draw up an appropriate constitution A.S.A.P. Only then will we be able to function as a modern, inclusive society, or at least work towards achieving such.

‘British culture’ is that of a colonialist and expansionist England, with a few ethnic add-ons. It offers no room for a progressive Scottish future.

Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

Hey mister, affty ma scratcher noo, but cheers for the blether – I think we’ve made a good wee start here.

More power to ye.

cearc

Irvine Welsh summed up the cringe, rather accurately.

‘…We, on the other hand, are COLONIZED by wankers. Can’t even find a decent culture to be colonized BY. We’re ruled by effete arseholes…’

England never had ‘an enlightenment’ period. It was, and still is, principally, a feudal state run by an hereditary elite and their useful hangers on and wannabees.

They destroyed our advanced, educated, european culture. Slaughtered many and caused many to flee. Then hijacked our resources (a literate population) to grow and administer an empire which couldn’t have been run without a large literate class. Obviously, they didn’t want their own plebs to be educated and the ruling class were too few. Free, universal education only arrived in England in the last century and still only has a tentative hold (tuition fees?).

CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
We can decide to shape our future for ourselves or we can allow England to shape it for us. Scots need to decide whether they are human or content to be treated as sub-human. We currently lack access to inaleable human rights, what sort of future does English nationalism offer Scotland? The choice is that stark, as British Labour have recognised they need to out-compete the Tories in their efforts to mobilise the power of English nationalism.

Night mate, the future will be better, the gene is already out of the bottle.

Tinto Chiel

cearc@12.40: just so and well said.

There has always been a strong strain of anti-intellectualism in English society. For many years there were only two universities, and you had to be an Anglican male to go there. Compare that with the number of Scottish universities.

Tories love tuition fees so only the well-off can go to university. Meanwhile they erode comprehensive schools(which can only work when all local children from different social groups in an area go there) by offering middle-class bolt holes like grammar schools, faith schools and private schools.

Their balkanised system is deeply unequal.

Smallaxe: how are you?

Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe is not too well right now, suffering from extreme fatigue. Hoping it won’t be too long before he’s back with us.

Tinto Chiel

Thanks for that Nana.

Hope Smallaxe will be back on here soon with his pop picks and inimitable jokes.

And I hope you had a good break in the island. Look after yourself too: you seem to be on Turbo setting as far as links are concerned.

Chick McGregor

Some interesting comments last night. I agree with most and have done for decades.

Tinto, a study of the history of education reveals one of the most clearly demonstrable differences between Scottish and English cultures.

Whereas the history of mass education in England has been lamentable, one of the worst or actually the worst, in Europe, Scotland has historically been at the other end of the spectrum on mass education to the point where Scotland might even be described as having been obsessed with mass education throughout its history.

Tinto Chiel

Agreed, Chic: the democratic intellect indeed.

Nana

@Tinto

I had a great time. Scoffed loads of afternoon teas, scones galore and cakes fit for a banquet. Expanded waistline to show for it!

Can’t wait for second helpings lol

CameronB Brodie

Chick McGregor
Thanks Chick. Given we’ve never met, might the similarity of our outlook perhaps be an expression of sShared cultural values? If so, how is that possible as Scotland has no culture, allegedly. 😉

Tinto Chiel

Nana: previous post went up the lum.

Delighted you had a great time.

I’m an organic quinoa and cucumber water man myself 😉

Nana

“organic quinoa and cucumber water”

Jings Tinto I won’t be coming to yours for tea, not if that’s all you have to offer.

I’m sure you could do better, you being a fine gourmet.

Tinto Chiel

S’pose it’s back to my goat surprise pakora then, Nana.

“I love to go a-nadgering, my knapsack on my back…”

“A sharp blade and a kind heart” is my motto.

Chick McGregor

Cameron
Cultural identity is a complicated subject and one which I have always found intriguing.

As a result I spent nearly 20 years quite seriously researching and considering the matter, in as far as a demanding career as a device physicist and a family of four allowed.

From pre internet days in libraries to terminal emulator access to university papers (once a lot easier to get at than now), book shops, magazine subscriptions, discussions with like-interested people and of course, latterly, the internet.

It is a huge subject encompassing mythologies and belief systems, systems of justice, political control systems of all kinds and sustaining feedback mechanisms plus the various means of bringing about cultural change all with a thick veneer of largely totemic badgery, mainly used simply as membership identifiers but which can also obscure the much more significant underlying ethea.

Eventually, about 25 years ago, I came to a theory on the subject which I was satisfied with and which, so far, has stood the test of time for me.

How similar that is to yours, I cannot say, it is lonely furrows we plough in that field, although my research did find that the philosopher-historian who came closest to my own theory was French.

If you like, I could try to find the time to describe it here.

Ian Brotherhood

@Chick –

I’d love to hear your thoughts.

It’s always been great here on O/T, a wee haven, and we have a good laugh and a joke most of the time. But we could also be having the kind of discussion which isn’t possible on main threads and doesn’t really happen elsewhere.

For example, many people recoil from discussions which they feel are ‘out of their league’ or are perhaps presented via forums which give out that kind of vibe. As TC alluded to above, there has always been a suspicion of intellectuals. To what extent that has been imposed by ‘England’ is debatable, but that brings us into contested territory over who should get credit for The Enlightenment etc. Those arguments seem to be circular and beyond resolution – the main players aren’t around to speak for themselves and we all exercise wariness when taking the word of even the most ‘esteemed’ historians.

There are no ideas or thoughts so ‘big’ that anyone can’t have a go at them. The bold Cameron’s been doing his own thing for a long time, studying the stuff which takes his fancy, following the ‘lonely furrow’ you mentioned, and I can’t describe how much I admire people who do that. Sounds like you completed a similar journey a long time ago. That’s what being an ‘intellectual’ is all about and it’s nothing to be ashamed of. But we’ve been ‘made’ to be intimidated and embarrassed by anything which is even vaguely avant-garde, despite living in a country which has always been at the cutting-edge of just about anything you’d care to mention.

That attitude simply won’t wash any longer – we need to up our game generally, especially when it comes to promoting progressive social policy and creative activity as part-and-parcel of the same ‘movement’, one which excludes nothing and no-one. A movement which employs the best minds and creative forces for the pursuit of common decency and respect. I’m struggling not to sound cheesy, but you know what I’m on about here.

As you know Chick, my ‘thing’ happens to be literature, and I’ve reached a point where it time to either put up or shut up about it all. The state of ‘art’ (literary) in Scotland right now is so dire it makes me want to greet. Same voices, same stories, same commodification/personality cults etc etc ad fucking nauseum. And there’s no prospect of it changing unless professionals in other fields start saying ‘You know what, the stuff you people are producing just isn’t good enough.’ I’ve witnessed, first-hand, more and more people saying precisely that, but there is no obvious forum for them to state their case, voice that frustration. So many folk have different priorities it can sometimes feel like the furrows are very lonely indeed. But the varying interests can and do converge. Finding the meeting-point is the hard part.

Bottom-line, for me, is this – change is coming, and if we aren’t in control of it? someone else will be. In which case, the change may have been constitutional, it may have made global headlines, it may feel like a liberation. It may even have ended an Empire! But it won’t be worth a fuck if we, as communities and individuals, emerge with the same identity ‘issues’ which have hamstrung us for so many generations.

CameronB Brodie

Chick McGregor
Unlike yourself, my interest in culture, identity and social structure, has not been driven purely by personal curiosity. Ironically, my primary motives were utilitarian. 🙂 I’ve pretty much always desired social change and knowledge of these areas appeared to be the best way I could bring it about.

Although these subjects were pretty much core material when I was studying to be a town planner, my memory is patchy. I doubt if we will have approached the matter in the same way, so if you would be kind enough to go to the effort, I’d be delighted to add any thoughts you might inspire.

Fred

@ Tinto, cucumber water & quinoa? widnae like tae see the state o yer drawers!

Bests tae Smallaxe!

Ian Brotherhood

Vibes out to Smallaxe and his missus.

Come back to us brother and sister, whenever ye’s are ready.

Much love to you both from the usual suspects, and, I venture to add, another even bigger stackload from the quieter WOS readers.

XXX

Tinto Chiel

Fred @10.38: you might say that, but my crepe de Chine gentleman’s boxers cut on the bias are quite fetching, imo.

I have always associated anti-intellectualism with the English establishment, for whom any new ideas are a threat to their deeply conservative we-have-what-we-hold stance. File under French Revolution.

Other societies, e.g. France or Italy flaunt their intellectual prowess and their love of debate.

The Scottish lit. scene at the moment is depressing: same old, same old, with little new being published unless it falls in to the usual categories (tartan noir, chic lit, misogynistic crime).

It’s not just a Kelman who would struggle to find a publisher, other overtly Scottish ones like a Gunn or Gibbon would do too. The “gate-keepers” usually come from a very narrow social base and what they publish reflects this.

Many people on here have followed their own furrows of enquiry related to Scotland, discovering things which were never studied at school. This is a good thing, and knowledge acquired in a long and hard process of discovery takes deeper root.

Once we are independent, I feel things will take care of themselves. The Scottish Cringe will have to go and more and more works which reflect OUR culture (in its many forms) will get “through the gate”.

Of course, things would all be a lot simpler if the FM made Ian B or myself Perpetual Cultural Commissar.

Problem solved, chinas.

Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

Kin right.

I’m going to invest in a black turtleneck, shave me heid, then smoke a pipe while awaiting the call.

Paula Rose

Nice to see you all chatting about serious stuff for once – gives me a warm glow.

Tinto Chiel

“I’m going to invest in a black turtleneck, shave me heid, then smoke a pipe while awaiting the call.”

Perhaps, Ian, but I really see you as a kind of Caledonian Bukowski, a well-hard seer of the dark underbelly of post-Thatcherite Scotland.

No wonder Paula is aglow.

Chick McGregor

Sadly, I do not have a lot of time at present since there is a lot of things I need to get done before we head off to NZ at the end of June to see our new granddaughter.

However I did some searching on soc.culture.scottish and came across this thread from over 17 years ago. It begins with a fairy tale involving second sight and I jump in with the reasons why that cannot be the case and meanders off into a reasonably interesting debate (IMO) on the nature of Free Will versus Predetermination and the cultural implications of that.

The concept of FW v P is one of the key questions which make up the set of imponderables in the Primary Layer – the Pan National Layer of my personal theory on cultural identity.

When I get to NZ I will probably have more time to actively debate things here.

At least in the interim it might serve to illustrate the kind of things I would like to debate here.

link to groups.google.com

Fred

Good tale Chick! “The horns of Elfland softly blowing!”
The Green Lochan is as true as I’m sitting here. Here’s Lochan Uaine on the track up to Ryvoan Bothy,

link to northern-scot.co.uk

Marie Clark

Sorry to hear that Smallaxe is not too well at the moment. Take plenty of rest and I hope that you will be back with your wee jokes and songs soon.

Take care Mr & Mrs Smallaxe. Peace and love to both of you.

Chick McGregor

Sorry to hear Smallaxe is a bit low at the moment, hope he feels better soon, sounds like some interesting posts here on OT are in the offing.

Fred, lovely wee photie there.

Paula Rose

Culture – good reason to play this again, really really beautiful people…

Tinto Chiel

Fred and Chick: great stuff and an interesting series of conversations on your old thread, Chick.

When I stayed in the cottage at Mellon Udrigill opposite Gruinard Island with Mrs TC in the 80s, we had to pass Loch na Beiste every day. Glad we didn’t do it in the dark, although I have never had a supernatural experience myself.

Re brownies/fairy folk: there is a theory that this belief is a faint echo of the post-glacial autochthonous people of early Scotland, perhaps an offshoot of the Basque people, small in stature and of darker complexion, who were marginalised when the Celts arrived and who subsequently initially survived by stealing, scavenging, rustling, etc. before assimilation/extinction, hence their traditional “mischievous/dangerous” demeanour.

Who knows, chinas, who knows?

Tinto Chiel

Paula Rose: autochthonous as feck, and very haunting, that.

Thanks.

I call it music of the spheres, like Art of Fugue.

CameronB Brodie

Chick McGregor
I’ve certainly touched on FW v P and will enjoy taking a look at that Chick, as my appreciation of culture is more generally theoretical than specific and practical (hope that makes sense). I’ve pretty much had the Scots knocked out of me so it will take me some time to pick things up. Thanks and bon voyage.

CameronB Brodie

Chick McGregor
I really must get glasses. I’d only managed to take a quick glance and hadn’t spotted the bulk of text is in standard English. My doh. 🙂

Fred

Tinto, they live amongst us! Brian Wilson’s wan.

David

I knew it!
Ian Brotherhood, you’re busted as a North Korean spy! 🙂

link to dramafever.com

Tinto Chiel

Fred: BW is one of those BLiS______d betrayers who kidded on the Highland community he cared (West Highland Free Press) but could never get over being rejected by the SNP. As an Irish republican, he likes wreathing himself in the Butcher’s Apron and supporting national movements anywhere but Scotland. A bit like Gorgeous George, really.

Oh, and cosying up to the nuclear industry: nice little earner, that, I think.

Allegedly.

CameronB Brodie

Here’s one for the Scots who appear to place BritNat tradition before human dignity. Their desire to keep things as they are, threatens the future security of all Scots.

Barry Adamson – They Walk Among Us

Liz g

Heading to stupid o’clock soooo…
Mrs Smallaxe tell him we are asking for him…..and take care of you XXX
I know you know the drill…..and if such a thing is possible I am sending you the strength,as best I can, to get him back to organising a new humane society….fur oor grandwean’s….
AND,the dugs….. LOL
Anyhoo….my lovely friend… I wish you all you wish yer,self.
Don’t be a stranger,Mrs Smallaxe XXX

Liz g

Cameron B Brodie & Ian Brotherhood
Wow….just wow… loving the way you are both exploring how humanity goes forward (well my take on your contributions anyway).
Have been saying for some time now…we don’t want a mini me Westminster…..the stuff both of you are putting out is “for me” as forward thinking as the framers of the American Constitution…(which is a lovely document,but is severely lacking in female influence… LOL!!!mibbi)
Anyhoo…. please keep going.
When we get the Yes Vote…. IMHO,is when the real work starts,and it’s contributions like yours that are going to make all the difference!!!!

William Wallace

[EDITED]

to your rules I’ll not submit

CameronB Brodie

Chick McGregor
I’ve not started on your material yet Chick but I was looking for something else not entirely unrelated and thought you might appreciate this, time constraints allowing, of course.

Conscious Realism and the Mind-Body Problem

Abstract
Despite substantial efforts by many researchers, we still have no scientific theory of how brain activity can create, or be, conscious experience. This is troubling, since we have a large body of correlations between brain activity and consciousness, correlations normally assumed to entail that brain activity creates conscious experience. Here I explore a solution to the mind-body problem that starts with the converse assumption: these correlations arise because consciousness creates brain activity, and indeed creates all
objects and properties of the physical world. To this end, I develop two theses. The multimodal user interface theory of perception states that perceptual experiences do not match or approximate properties of the objective world, but instead provide a simplified, species-specific, user interface to that world. Conscious realism states that the objective world consists of conscious agents and their experiences; these can be mathematically modeled and empirically explored in the normal scientific manner.

link to cogsci.uci.edu

CameronB Brodie

Liz g
Thanks Liz. I’m stepping back into a previous life. I’m still very rusty but I’d be happy to have a chat with anyone about this sort of stuff.

yesbot

Liz g says:
22 May, 2017 at 1:40 am
Cameron B Brodie & Ian Brotherhood
Wow….just wow… loving the way you are both exploring how humanity goes forward (well my take on your contributions anyway).
Have been saying for some time now…we don’t want a mini me Westminster…..the stuff both of you are putting out is “for me” as forward thinking as the framers of the American Constitution…(which is a lovely document,but is severely lacking in female influence… LOL!!!mibbi)
Anyhoo…. please keep going.
When we get the Yes Vote…. IMHO,is when the real work starts,and it’s contributions like yours that are going to make all the difference!!!!

Love your posts Liz. Seems such a long time ago we met @ Waxy O’Connor. Are you able make 3 June rally, would be great to meet up with you?

Liz g

Yesbot @ 7.48 am
Yes I am going to the rally on the 3rd Yesbot.
Hopefully I will see you there.

Chick McGregor

Thanks Cameron,

Hopefully the ring I need to get done for our ruby wedding anniversary and before we leave for NZ will be finished quicker than allowed for.

Only then can I fully engage, much as I’d like to.

CameronB Brodie

OT. This week, I’ve been mostly getting back into this sick dude, so here’s one for all God fearing Tories out there. Let’s be inclusive, it’s for all Yoons.

Barry Adamson – Can’t Get Loose

Macart

Been away for a while mindin’ someone else’s store, but wishing you all the best Smallaxe.

Be well.

CameronB Brodie

All the best Smallaxe, slacker. 😉

Here’s another for God fearing Tories and Yoons alike. Anglo-American neoliberalism aims to establish economic principles of the market as the sole determiner of the nature and culture of consumption, social development and public policy. One effect of such an approach is it severely limits the availability of ethical employment opportunities. As such, social responsibility is hampered and neoliberalism becomes a self-fulfilling human Apocalypse.

Anyone one heard from Jakey’s poodle @lokiscottishrap.

Boogie Down Productions – Love’s Gonna Get’cha

Ian Brotherhood

Smallaxe asked me (yesterday) to convey thanks and best wishes to all who have been asking for him, and to repeat his message of Peace and Love to all.
He assures us he’ll be back soon.

Fred

Good man Ian!

CameronB Brodie

BREAKING:

Bo Diddley is a communist

Paula Rose

Look at that – nicely re-upholstered chaise-longue for the lovely Smallaxe
*all pleased with my handiwork*

Thepnr

Hi Paula I’m bored so thought I’d give you all a tune, an oldie from 1972 that I don’t think has been played before.

Sure someone will put me straight if I’m wrong.

Thepnr

There’s no way those guys were miming either. That was the real deal.

Thepnr

Here’s my song for Theresa May, her cabinet and all my English friends including you Paula 🙂

William Wallace

@Rev. Stuart Campbell says:
22 May, 2017 at 10:31 am

“to your rules I’ll not submit”

Then you won’t be getting your comments approved. Your call.

Lol Stu yir a cracker mate and we love ya fir it.

Meh comments ahready spread far and wide. Eh dinnae hae tae be published on here to be heard. 🙂

Wir on the same side Begoy:)

Much love

Wegilliam Wegallace. 🙂

Paula Rose

Thepnr Honey – love it – my fave version…

Smallaxe

I’ve just popped in to say, Thanks to all of you who have sent your good wishes to me. I’m getting ready to come back and make a nuisance of myself once again, especially as the beautiful Paula Rose has probably broken a fingernail or two furnishing me with a lovely chaise-longue to recline upon.

“Paul Robeson singing to Scottish Miners”

The Specials: “Too much Too Young”
Peace and Love to you All

Marie Clark

Ah Smallaxe, nice to see that you’re almost ready to rejoin the fray.

Now take it easy, you’re needed for the long haul.

Look after yourself. Regards to Mrs Smallaxe. Peace and love always.

Liz g

Hi Smallaxe good to see you are on your way back.
Everyone will be pleased.
Don’t do it too soon though……my best to Mrs Smallaxe of course….. don’t forget now!!!
Take care of each other XX

lumilumi

Uhm… I feel a bit shy, I don’t really know how this O/T thread works…

But this is where you’re supposed to post off-topic things, right? General banter and things not related to Rev Stu’s incivice articles. (I think I spelled something wrong just there, but I can’t be arsed to look it up in a dictionary).

This is the place to banter, to share more personal stuff, right?

Ian Brotherhood

@lumilumi –

Yep.

Brian Doonthetoon

Deep fundimold of joy, Lumilumi, to find you have discovered the joy of the ‘off-topic’ experiold!

Paula Rose looks after the houskeepings – she has recently added a chaise long (SP?) for Smallaxe’s benefit.

There is a penchance for linking to music videos but any sort of links are ok here.

For example, you may find this excites the ‘I may be Finnish but I’m also Scottish’ gene.

link to sites.google.com

Or this story about a well-forgotten period of Dundee’s musical history.

link to sites.google.com

Onnyhoo, pull up a pouffe and rest your feet while you’re “off-topic”. Nice to see you, to see you, nice.

8=)

Thepnr

Hi lumilumi

Nice of you to pay a visit 🙂 This is where we chill when you want to calm down a bit, play a tune or share some banter with like minded folk and friends I may add.

Your turn, what are you sharing. Dead keen to find out 🙂

Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Bumped into someone you might know today that I hadn’t met in 25 years at least. He recognised me and I recognised his face but couldn’t put a name to it until he told me.

Do you know Vince Piggot by any chance, I think he was often mentioned on the Dundee Retro website that you know well?

Anyway, that old punk rocker is looking braw for his age LOL.

Liz g

Hi lumilumi
Welcome aboard….. don’t be shy,Paula Rose is a most gracious host, the only rule as far as I can tell WAS what ever happened on off topic,stays on off topic….

But I suspect as of today rule no 2 is stay off the Chaise long as it’s Reserved!!

There wiz something about plants a while back ….but ah didn’t really understand it….mibbi too young.
Says she hopefully!!! LOL

lumilumi

Because I want to share the fact that I will be coming to Scotland this summer. Yay! Just bought my plane ticket to Aberdeen, then take local buses to where the boat is.

It’s a long story. My brother is the co-owner of a 38ft sailboat. The other owner has babies and toddlers so gave my brother leave to treat her as his own for a few years.

My brother decided to circumnavigate (= sail around) Finland. It’s a new, popular “thing” with Finnish sailors. Start in Helsinki or some other Finnish port, take your boat to St Peterburgh in Russia, then follow the rivers, lakes and canals to the White Sea and thence to the Barents Sea.

The boat wintered in Kirknes, in the far north and east of Norway, close to the Russian border.

I was “crew” when we sailed the Barents Sea and brought her over the top of Norway. So many puffins and 71.11 was our northernmost reading.

I left the boat when going south along the Norwegian coast, but planted a seed. Why take the boat along the Norwegian coast, through the Danish straits and home this year… Why not follow the Viking trail, strike for Shetland, Orkney… And from Inverness, you can get to the west coast along the Caledonian Canal, I’ve checked, the Kessock Bridge is high enough to let our mast pass… Sailing through Loch Ness, maybe visit Iona, and Islay, the whisky isle… I’ll be crew if you sail in Scotland.

Result! Brother took boat to Shetland, Orkey and to winter in Lossiemouth.

We’re getting there in mid-June, do some repairs and provisioning, then take her through the Caledonian Canal, to Iona, to Islay. Don’t know whether going north or south after that. The boat needs to reach Helsinki this summer. I’ve planned a two-week stint with escape through a flight from Manchester, but depending on how everything works out, I might stay with the boat all the way.

The skipper, my brother, wants good crew. At least 3-4 who know what they’re doing. Sometimes he gets only 2 who know what they’re doing and then me. But brother apparently has upgraded me to “knows what she’s doing” category.

I know something about navigation, wind and sails, and I know when my knowledge falls short so I’ll alert a more knowledgeable person if there’s a situation.

I’ve done my lone watches, steered the boat on the open seas but also around rocks and shallows (the boat has a Simrad autopilot system, with live tracking) but I’m still not confident enough about the sails when wind changes. I notice it and then yell to the boys, wind changed, do something! Yeah, I’ll hold/pull a rope when someone tells me to, and I can almost do the basic knots when needed. And I’m fairly good with fenders.

Not a brilliant sailor but adequate. My brother, the skipper, seems to think so. Maybe because he saw I don’t get easily scared. 38 mph headwind, horizontal rain, boat rocking and banging down on big waves, spraying water all over you, for hours on my watch. I was thankful when I was relieved, gobbled some food and went to sleep… except my bed was in the head cabin so most up and down and BAM hit by the waves. You reassure yourself that there is 5 centimetres of fiberglass between you and the sea… BAM, another wave battering the boat. It’s almost better being on the bridge.

Whatever the weather is like (and May and June are the driest months in Scotland, don’t know about wind conditions), it will be lovely coming to Scotland again.

I’m packing waterproofs and warm woolens. I love summer holidays where you need to wear longjohns.

Thepnr

@lumilumi

Awww I wish I knew how to sail. Unfortunetly even if I did I wouldn’t make it due to work. Never mind there will always be another time.

I wish you and you brother a great holiday.

Michael McCabe

@ lumilumi Hope you have a great time sailing in Scotland. Here is some songs and a nice we video about Sailing. link to youtube.com

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Hope your keeping well buddy. Anyway I’m here to give you a tellin aff. You never included the best song about sailing around Scotland in that video.

It’s this one, much loved by my brother and was his favourite karaoke tune.

Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Hi Alex My brother got me into this band. and they do a song about a single handed Sailor. The lead Singer and his brother were born in Glasgow. link to youtube.com All the best to you and yours.

Chick McGregor

Snowsnow

A couple of Scottish sailing songs (Rod Stewart doesn’t count :))

Hope you enjoy your Scottish voyage.

Smallaxe

Hi, folks, Sailing?

Welcome lumilumi, Peace, Love, Fair Winds and Following Seas.

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Hi Smallaxe I am really pleased to see you back. take it nice and easy. The Ship Song. link to youtube.com

Macart

Welcome back Smallaxe. 🙂

Smallaxe

Michael & Macart;

Thanks, for the welcome guys, I’m sorry that I couldn’t hang around last night I just came on let you all know that I’m getting back to “normal” slowly but surely, another few days should do it, hopefully.

Peace Always

Paula Rose

Fresh flowers in all the vases for lumilumi Hi Smallaxe Honey xx

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

RE: VP – I know of him but don’t know him personally.

Smallaxe

Hi, Paula, thanks for all your hard work to make me comfortable, I will give you a manicure when I’m back to “normal” 🙂

Peace Always

Liz g

Smallaxe
When were you ever normal?
Wiz ah oot that day?

Smallaxe

liz g;

Even ah wis oot that day liz! 😎

Thanks, for your kind thoughts earlier liz, they are very much appreciated by us both.

Peace, Love and Abnormalisation (is that a wurd?)

Thepnr

OK some poetry for a change.

Not up to Smallaxe’s standards cos this is a poem MADE IN DUNDEE so if you are averse to direct speaking mibbee best avoided LOL.

I’m sure the Rev will like it though.

Smallaxe

The Silence of the Bams
No swear words spoken
No profanity hissed
No insult given
No stare is missed
Only “Wit ur you lookin’ at”
Then you’re Glasgow kissed.
😎

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Hi, Groovers.

On a Special Birthday holiday at the mo. Bad timing for the canvassing but I blame Preying Mayntis.

Hollywood yesterday, Palm Springs and Scottsdale today.

Glad you’re better, Smallaxe.

Greetings, lumilumi.

Looking forward to Yosemite.

Smallaxe

Tinto; #Manky

Enjoy your holiday, good to hear about Palm Springs, I’m just doing Star Jumps, will you teach me, Palm Springs, when you get back?
😎 It’s ded sunny here!

Peace Love and Palm Springing

Ps, No depth charging from Scotts Dale

Smallaxe

BTW, Tinto, when you get to Yosemite, don’t mention my name to Sam, he’s not too happy with me!
Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Hehehehehe, Smallaxe.

Three things I learned today: Palm Springs is gay and proud, Ziggy Marley is performing in June, cannabis is legal next year in California.

PS: I love Jacaranda trees.

Smallaxe

Tinto,

I’m on my way!

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: excellent. I’ll get the corn dogs on!

Smallaxe

Tinto: Make that corn plasters, I’m walking it!

Peace Always

Cherry

Oh sooo pleased to see you back in the body of the kirk!

I hope you’re feeling better.
I’ve got a wee question for you. I think I read that you’re from Barlanark. I’m from Garrowhill and used to go out with a laddie from Bar-l can’t remember his name could be Bobby but his dad had an ice cream business Demarco or similar. Just thought I’d ask…we are in the same age group! 😉

Smallaxe

Hi, Cherry, sorry to take so long but I just noticed that you had moved on to off topic so I came on to see what was going on (I’m nosy that way).

The De Marco name does sound familiar to me, I used to work with a friend of mine in the ice cream business, Umberto Piedro Antonio Dario Ferrie, or Bert for short but if my memories correct I think that the De Marco’s had a fish and chip shop somewhere around, it may have even been a van. Sorry, I can’t help you more but I will ask around and If I come up with anything I will let you know.

Thank you for your kind wishes, it means a lot.

Peace and Love to You and Yours Cherry.

Smallaxe

For No One;

Goodnight

Peace Always

Cherry

Smallaxe no need to look him up it was just a memory being nudged by a reference to where you are from. Ferrie or one of the relatives lived across from me and I would take the kids to the park. Small world eh! 6degrees of separation must be true.
Glad to have you back been quiet without your quick wit! I lurk a bit on OT and enjoy your daft stories.
Keep well!

Smallaxe

Cherry, Good Morning, don’t lurk, browse, it sounds better. 🙂

Daft stories indeed, half of the lies I tell are true, honest!

Peace Always

Fred

The Bar L mob out in strength today I see.

Smallaxe

BAR-L RULES! Fred, howsitgon #Manky Mate
😎

Peace ya Bass

Smallaxe

Some Summer Sounds from the Sixties!

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Sublime, Smallaxe, thanks.

I tried grits.

I hate grits.

Hope someone’s watering my grass back home…

CameronB Brodie

High folks. Given the nature of personal details I’ve recently made public, I just thought I should warn folk I’m about vanish from btl.

It turns out the difficulty I have been having with my ISP have been due to my flat being located in a netwrok hole. My relationship with my ISP has now come to an impass and I no longer have an internet connection.

I’ll be back from time to time but I’ll leave you with this gem. I appreciate a lot of the material I’ve been posting has not always been the most accessible. So if you’ve got the spare time and can get hold of it, check out the Boondocs. You’ll not be dissapointed.

Providing an irreverant, Critical critique of post-modern African-Anmerican culture dealing with a legacy of internal colonisation, no punches are pulled when dealing with gender, race and inter-gernerational issues.

Done in the style of Charlie Brown meets Fresh Prince of Bel Air Bell, it may help some to see issuse concerning racial marginalistion that have resonance with Scotland.

Hace fun. 🙂

link to imdb.com

As a taster, please let me introduce Uncle Ruckus, who is probably the biggest Uncle Tom the world has ever seen. Remind you of anyone. 🙂

Smallaxe

Tinto, don’t worry about your grass being watered, all is well I have employed on of those nasty immigrant furiners to do it for you, I think he said he was a fellopeein! So urine luck.
😎

Peace and Love to You and Yours #Manky Mates

Nana

Warning, contains images of horrible nasty party.

Great tune though

Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

Sorry to hear about your isp problems Cameron, I hope you can get things sorted and get back soon. You will be sorely missed, my Friend.
🙁

Don’t take this too literally! but the meaning remains.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Nana, she learned from the worst!

Peace Always

Liz g

Haste ye back Cameron

Fred

Good to see U back on station Smallaxe, this weather’s no natural eh no!

lumilumi

Ah, thanks everybody for all your lovely messages.

Though… You lovely people suggesting songs, won’t work. Not that I didn’t like, even love, music. But I’m totally amusical. I can’t clap my hands in time/rhythm, I can’t carry a tune. Music is a foreign country to me. I’m amusical, but I can enjoy music.

I’m a visual person. I enjoy pictures/colours/composition… I think in pictures, colours, shapes. Preverbal. It’s rea?ly hard to explain. I’m also linguistically talented and trained enough to switch between several languages, which makes me think about meanings. But, basically, I think in preverbal shapes and colours. Explaining that verbally requires some mental arithmetic and linguistic ability, also on the part of the recipient.

As a sailor, it’s far more useful to ignore such self-searchings and just concentrate at the maritime problem at hand.

Smallaxe

Fred, Thanks, I’m improving daily, who said Scotland was like Greece without the weather? Whoever it was, has now been renamed, Zorba the Preek and he’s going to have to learn to Dance!

Peace Always #Manky

Ian Brotherhood

@LizG –

Sorry it’s taken me so long to respond to your comment earlier in the week regarding the discussion we’ve been trying to get going here.

First off, thanks for the positivity. That’s really what we need more than anything. It’s a bummer if CamB’s gonny be offline for a while because he’s brilliant at throwing in the most unpredictable material, stuff that I suspect very few of us would ever just stumble across in ‘mainstream’ social media.

Chick McG is ‘in’, as is Tinto The Chiel, and I’m sure there are many other regulars and lurkers who can and will contribute as we build the discourse over the coming months.

I’m not sure what your ‘thing’ is. Everyone has a creative ‘thing’, even if they don’t realise it. If you don’t mind sharing it with us I’d love to know what it is!?

FWIW, I’ve been in discussion with a couple of well-kent Wingers about possibly, maybe, doing ‘something’ along the literary lines, and TC’s comment explains why:

The Scottish lit. scene at the moment is depressing: same old, same old, with little new being published unless it falls in to the usual categories (tartan noir, chic lit, misogynistic crime).

It’s not just a Kelman who would struggle to find a publisher, other overtly Scottish ones like a Gunn or Gibbon would do too. The “gate-keepers” usually come from a very narrow social base and what they publish reflects this.

Many people on here have followed their own furrows of enquiry related to Scotland, discovering things which were never studied at school. This is a good thing, and knowledge acquired in a long and hard process of discovery takes deeper root.

Once we are independent, I feel things will take care of themselves. The Scottish Cringe will have to go and more and more works which reflect OUR culture (in its many forms) will get “through the gate”.

I’m assuming that the very same analysis probably applies to many cultural fields which no single person can keep up with. That’s why we really have to lay the foundations – right now – for the post-indy reality IF we don’t want it to be dominated by the same faces and cliques.

And it’s not an impossible task. I’ve been observing the ‘literary’ scene in Scotland for a long time now, and what really strikes me about it is how tiny it is. Really, it’s toty, and the people involved (i.e. the people who actually manage to make a ‘living’ at it) will not give up what they’ve got. They don’t see any reason why they should. (What’s that old one about it being quite remarkable what a ‘man’ is capable of not-understanding if his livelihood depends on him not understanding it?!) It doesn’t matter that they’re in a self-serving ‘elite’ – that can be denied so long as they exercise due self-censorship. In any event, those who don’t know which side their bread is buttered very quickly learn not to submit work which is liable to upset their bosses (and aye, ‘freelancers’ have bosses like the rest of us). Orwell wrote brilliantly about Freedom and Censorship in the unpublished preface to Animal Farm. It’s never ever been published as he envisaged it.

Point is – these people constitute a teensy wee segment of the working artistic/creative community in Scotland and they’ve had things their own way for so long that they see ‘culture’ as their personal property and Golden Goose. That’s why so many of them are staunch unionists. This isn’t the time or place to name names, but that time will come. When it does, the same folk who lambasted Alasdair Gray for his ‘settler/colonist’ essay will have to engage in reasoned adult intelligent debate about what ‘culture’ really is and what they’ve contributed to it – many of them will be found-out and finished as and when that debate gets under way. This is one place where that debate can start.

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I can’t help you out much here Ian but i’m sure your right. I believe that Scottish literature would flourish once we are Independent.

One of the problems is that we speak English so the shelves of our bookstores are full of British and American novels and historical literature. If you go to Norway then you will see for yourselves that their bookshelves are also full of Norwegian authored books as well as English books printed in Norwegian.

Lot’s of things are going to change for the better when the great day comes and we once again have a distinctive Scottish voice in everything we do.

I’m not imagining this or looking through rose tinted specs, just wait and see.

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Aye. That’s why it’s all so exciting, and should be – the ‘cringe’ could become a thing of the past.

Listening to R5Live right now, and the continuing efforts to demonise Corbyn for doing nothing more than stating the bleedin’ obvious.

They really are getting desperate.

Here’s hoping we’re now in the ‘endgame’.

Smallaxe

“We’r Needin tae Talk Aboot Wir Language”

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: thanks for the immigration scheme, Smallaxe.

CameronBB: hope you can your gremlins sorted.

IanB: I have my Manifesto for A Future Scotland ready. Unfortunately Mrs TC has hit the mall in Scottsdale and I can’t afford to get home.

😀

Chick McGregor

IanB

All in favour of a discourse on cultural identity and giving a take on the Scottish perspective and what makes it distinctive and valuable in an internationalist setting.

However, I would challenge ( a little) a couple of your premises.

First, that contemporary Scottish literary contribution is ‘tiny’, not really sure that is the case.

Second, if there is a unionist ‘closed shop’ it is not reflected in what I consider the most significant Scottish contributors to literature in recent decades, Gray, McIlvanney, Banks, Kelman, poets Liz Lochhead, Edwin Morgan, the ‘deeper’ populist authors, Brookmyre, Welsh, Millar, Mac Diarmid, May – they are all indy supporters.

Thepnr

@Chick McGregor

It’s really funny because until you mentioned Brookmyre, Welsh, Banks and Kelman. I only thought of Kelman but I’ve read most if not all of the other authors books.

Brain might have gone soft through reading too much Brookmyre LOL.

Chick McGregor

Correction, Mark Millar isn’t, wishful thinking as a graphic novel genre fan.

Liz g

Ian Brotherhood @ 10.48
Hi Ian,just saw your post and you are welcome.

My thing is the Constitution…..after our yes vote, I suspect all the usual suspects who did nothing to achieve it, will be jumping up and down demanding their place at the table that frames our Constitution itself.

We need to be ready with coherent input to be sure that it’s no a mini me Westminster we are left with,and a new ruling elite who game the rules to suit themselves.
To scavenge the best of other Constitutions? and learn from the failings in them too.
We need a clever document…..one that is “patriot act” proof and one that reflects the people,this is why I find Cameron’s stuff inspirational.

We need to frame our documents and therefore our Country’s Ethos and I think that our Constitution should be more Humanity and Democracy and less Businesses and Royalty.

One obvious (I think) example being that we need to make it impossible for our politicians to ever sign up to another Treaty that involves our Sovereignty being exercised out with Scotland herself.
You can get ….as I am sure you can see…. from Cameron’s stuff how to say things like that and get across what you mean,and an explanation of the Theory behind it that is IMHO unarguable.

And your right a lot of the writing doesn’t reflect how things can be different but rather just examined and attempts to explain how things are.
Nothing all that wrong in that,but it’s not what a Constitutional nerd would draw inspiration from.
Anyhoo keep on keeping on as I said I do really love learning about it all,and here is indeed where the conversations should start.

William Wallace

Message to PNR at fower therty nine
Robo fae fintry is an auld pal o mine
Eh ken the crack and ehm no scared to declare
that rule 8 is shegite on meh life eh swegear

Swearing roond here is the sum o it’s pert
cause serious auld bastards tak it tae heart
nae point in talking shite here on wings
cause the reverend Stu geez ya the pure ding

So eh just swear onyway because that is meh tongue
fuck cunt and shite and then fuckin some
no thit it metters cause meh time here is done
awaiting an invitation that ne’er will come

Ehm obviously abusive and a threatening dick
got mesel moderated fir being a bit o a prick
mebbe some got it and mebbe some didnae
would eh dae it again? mebbe eh widnae

That disnae matter though cause the point it wiz lost
wir ah on the same side fighting fir the cause
an we ah love auld Stu as serious as he is
but he has to understand eh post shite when ehm pished.

Fred

@ Smallaxe, the stuff from Michael Dempster is brilliant kid! Folk who deliberately lose their lingo need a lie doon wi a therapist.
Still talkin scruff despite the belt, so ah um! Question is, do hauf-biled folk like Michael O Halloran etc’, talk scruff in their heids? Favourite Scots writer is John Galt, who reads him nooadays?

Loved the Zorba, gonnae practice!

Thepnr

@William Wallace

Haha that was great even got some eggy language flung in there. If you can write that at 03:50 in the morning then it must come naturally to you. What time does Teezers close these days 🙂

By the way if you looked far enough back in Off Topic you’d see I’ve played quite a few of Gary Robertson’s “hits” on here. Oor Scheme and Dundee Fowk are still ma favourites.

Ian Brotherhood

@Chick & LizG –

Chick, I saw your comment last night but I was ready to hit the sack. Now I’ve digested it and also read Liz’s thoughts, they seem to overlap.

Aye, there are pro-indy voices in the literary scene, but the reason I didn’t want to name names is that the most dominant voices, the most ‘celebrated’ if you like, are firmly on t’other side and are presented as representatives of Scottish culture more generally whether we like it or not. That seems to be why the constitutional questions raised by Liz are inescapable, again, whether we like them or not. The framing of a constitution is something which is of obvious importance, and CamB has been getting into that a lot, especially from a post-colonial viewpoint – that seems to be the hub of real conflict. It’s the territory Gray was venturing into when that stushie erupted over his ‘settler’ essay.

For the benefit of those who didn’t follow that particular episode, this archived material collected by Scott Hames is valuable:

link to storify.com

That debate, like so many others, became such a mess that it became really difficult to discern what the core arguments were. I’m thinking of the controversies over Glasgow 1990 European City of Culture stuff which raged on and on and remains a very touchy subject even for those who were right there at the time. There still hasn’t been the kind of ‘adult’ discussion I alluded to above – the constitutional wrangling backdrops everything, even when it isn’t referred to overtly. Instead, we get people speaking from entrenched positions which they’ve been digging-in and reinforcing for decades and there’s no prospect of them ever meeting half-way to have the equivalent of a Christmas Day kickabout.

You’re right to pull me up about the basic premises of my ‘argument’ because it’s made with a very broad and rather woolly brush, but I’m basing it on the assumption that independence is coming. As and when it does, the position of those who’ve been most vocal in their support for the union and/or most disparaging of the indy movement generally (I really want to name names here but won’t until I’ve managed to nail/source the original statements) will find themselves in a curious situation: will they, in an indy Scotland, be quite as vocal in demanding that Scotland rejoin the rUK? I find that unimaginable, but who knows?

Smallaxe

Fred, I’m pleased that you enjoyed the stuff from Michael Dempster, there’s nothing that twists ma melon mair than sumbdy thit cums back aff ah two week holiday fae fkn disneyland and sterts talkin like John Wayne, ur they wans that you mention, ur wi supoased tae be ashamed o’ wer wi came fae!

John Galt: ta’in fae “The Demon of Destiny”

“Who bless or bale bring to the bowers of men. His garb was threadbare, a caloyer’s garb, And though but from the storm, he was undrench’d; For demons, oft like tr88tors among men, When masquing, unawares betray themselves”.

Sum folk like tae talk the talk but they cannie Walk the Walk!
Peace Always #Manky Mate

Thepnr

@Smallaxe

I opened the Michael Dempster video last night saw it was 15 mins long and decided it could wait until I could give it the attention it deserved.

Just watched it now and very good it was. Cheers and I’m glad to see you back and feeling a bit more perky.

Smallaxe

Thepnr:
I knew when I put that Ted Talks video up that a lot of people wouldn’t take the time to watch, Alex, I’m pleased that you and Fred did watch, for too long we have been made to feel inferior because we don’t or won’t speak “Proper English”, I couldn’t speak like that to save my life nor would I want to and I feel inferior to no one.

We are the Egg Men!

Thanks for your good wishes. 🙂
Peace Always my Friend

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Just watched it.

Will certainly be looking out for more from that lad – you can tell he doesn’t like the whole public speaking gig, but once he gets into his stride he’s brilliant.

Soo-perb.

Cheers aplenty for posting it.

Michael McCabe

THERESA MAY-LIAR LIAR-BY CAPTAIN SKA link to youtube.com

Chick McGregor

Smallaxe

Guid video oan Scoats.

IanB

Ah ken whit yir sayin aboot some o thur scrievers wha cry thimsels Scots bit ur mair in the wie o self-haters, the cringe is an affa thing izit no?

Bit Ah hae tae get this ring feenisht fur oor ruby waddin anniversary, an its nae an easy yin. Meestriss McGreegir likes dragons sae Ah’m hivin tae cam up wi a dragon an a ruby.

Furby that, Ah haena e’en e e’er made a ring afore. 🙁

Eftir some heid-scratchin Ah hiv cam up wi a design wi a loo sick dragon keekin at a hert shapit ruby in his haun (claw). Easy osey fir a staunart sculpt but nae sa seemple oan a ring.

Smallaxe

Ian & Chick;

Glad that you both enjoyed the video, thanks, guys.

Chick, have a look at this, it may help you if you can find the right coin. There are plenty more vids on youtube if this one does not suit you.

Peace Always my Friends

Smallaxe

Hi, Michael,

Peace Always

Fiona

I have a question and wonder if anyone can help me.

Imagine for a moment that the polls are right and that lab continues to improve its position to the point that there is a hung parliament after GE

Imagine also that the SNP maintain their seats in Scotland.

Imagine further that the lib dems are not present in sufficient numbers to break the deadlock by joining the tories in coalition

In the past it would seem reasonable for lab to govern as a minority with confidence and supply from SNP in those circumstances.

So my question is, is that even possible given EVEL?

If not I have a supplementary: what are the prospects of lab repealing EVEL in order to secure a workable govt?

Any thoughts?

Fred

@ Michael, go to the top of the class kid!

Fred

@ Fiona, do we really give a monkeys about EVEL, surely it’s the SNP’s job to get us out of the Westminster “Caper Hoose” not improve or modify it! Brexit makes this impossible for us.

Liz g

Fiona @ 2.15am
EVEL is really a bit of a con Fiona.
There’s only one stage of voting in the middle of the Bills way through Parliament, when the SNP MPs could not vote on it.
But it still mark’s those MP’s out as different.

The real con though is that it’s portrayed to the English electorate as “taking back Control” and balancing out Revolution for them.
I am no about to disabuse them of that notion as I am genuinely mad at this being enforced on our MP’s,so I am happy to tell the English version of this to other Scots.
As for can they change it…..very easily,and at no cost as the will be in there seat’s for years and voter’s forget.

Michael McCabe

@ Fred-7:56am I found that song through one of Nana’s links.

Smallaxe

Good Morning, Michael,

“Sunday Morning Coming Down” Me first and the gimmie gimmies:
Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Closer to Fine link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Good Morning Smallaxe. Good to see you kicking things of with a Kris Kristofferson song. Sounds good to me. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Michael,

“I Think so Too”
Peace Always

Fiona

@ Fred.
I care because we are not indy yet. Meantime govt goes on and it hurts people while tories are this deranged, more than usual

@Liz g.
As I understand it, that is only true if the bill passes the first vote. If it doesn’t I think it does not go through to the point where Scottish members can vote.

While I agree that in “normal circs” where a party has a majority, this is very largely insult with no really significant practical effect (though it seems to me that in principle it demonstrated de facto end of the union, in reality). But I am talking about a situation where there is no majority without backing on a confidence and supply arrangement, or some other alliance arrangement with SNP.

As to repeal. It is my understanding that it is for the speaker to decide whether a bill is EVEL or not. Now it seems absolutely clear to me that a vote to repeal it is not an EVEL bill. But I wonder if the speaker might pretend otherwise. Would they try to argue that it removes English rights of representation only, and so deny Scottish members a vote?

Then there is the position of the labour party.
They did not oppose EVEL when it was introduced, did they? And we are told that the english voters are broadly in favouor of it cos “victims”. So in those circs, labour could
1. Try to repeal EVEL and be pilloried as puppets of SNP with all that entails for their popularity, given the real case was never made and the english propensity for seeing themselves as oppressed is not really part of the short memory syndrome when MSM is stoking
2. Try to govern as a minority without repeal, but find it impossible cos much legislation (eg on NHS) is EVEL and their legislation would not pass first stage

I may be wrong but to me EVEL has become a genuine constitutional hazard, not now a side show. It was never trivial in its undermining of democracy: now it has the potential to block it altogether

Third option is a second GE as in 1974, which shows the impossibility of govt as a minority at WM, unlike HR.

Smallaxe

“Wouldn’t it be Nice to get on with your Neighbours”

Yes, it would be Nice, But! we thought they’d listen to our reason. But now we see, they don’t hear a thing. I’m afraid that means it’s;
“All or Nothing”

Because we won’t eat,
Humble Pie: with a “Cold Lady”

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

@ Smallaxe-11:34am I listened to I think so too. I found it hard to decipher the words he was singing. Such a shame as I regard Dylan as one of the best lyricists of all time. Personally I would prefer him to keep writing and pass the songs to Someone else to sing for him ? penny for your thoughts on that. Maybe even his son. here is 3 songs his son has sung. link to youtube.com and link to youtube.com and link to youtube.com

Fred

@ Fiona, mebbes U should post this EVEL thing on the main thread. Using the words democracy & Westminster in the same sentence is a non-starter & EVEL at least points up that Scotland is “other” & has no place at Westminster whatsoever.

Fiona

@ Fred

Hesitate to put it on main thread because it seems to me to be off topic wrt to what is being discussed there. Why I put it here 🙂

Smallaxe

Michael, sorry to take so long, I was out for a short while.

I totally agree with you, regarding Dylan, tbh, I had to look up the lyrics but I suppose I’m just too loyal a fan to ditch him altogether. Not only does his son do better but so do loads of other artists who have done so throughout the years, it’s a shame he’s turned into a parody of himself.

Here is one of his more lucid songs.

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Motherland link to youtube.com

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe et al –

I know we’ve had this one before but in light of what we’ve been discussing it’s worth watching again.

Soo-perb!

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Despite being pissed off tonight that made me laugh again. When you can smile then your still in with a shout. Cheers.

Smallaxe

Well worth another look, Ian, try these;

How to Speak & Understand Glaswegian:

Lesson 1;
Lesson 2

Kevin Bridges – Would I Lie to You?

Peace Always

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Help ma boab man, never seen any of them before.

TBH, I was feeling quite uncomfortable during parts of the Bridges video because they were openly mocking him, but he handled it so well it was impossible not to laugh along. And he got the last and biggest laugh.

I hope we do too!

Cheers again brother – totally brilliant stuff.

Smallaxe

We all need a bit of humour Ian, it does us all good.

The Crucifixion: Billy Connolly

Here’s anither wan o’ they Miracles

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Just two Reasons why we need to win this time Ian! As you know there are lots more reasons.These two will do for the moment.
You know that I dabble in different things, Ian, not just in Scotland, but, they are here and more are coming, we are waiting!

link to huntsabs.org.uk

link to antifascistnetwork.org

Peace (is worth fighting for) Always

Smallaxe

Time for some Music!
Joe Bonamassa: “When the Fire Hits the Sea”

Joe Bonamassa: “A New Day Yesterday”

Joe Bonamassa: “Had To Cry Today”

Peace Always 😎

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Thanks for those links.

It’s good to see any and all evidence of activism.

The fox-hunting stuff just leaves me utterly cold and despairing. It’s an insight into a mindset which most of us just cannot connect with in any way. FWIW, I believe these people are to be pitied because they are, quite clearly, emotionally damaged. Not that they give a fuck – as sociopaths, they cannot even begin to understand that they may have ‘faults’ of any kind. I daresay the very idea that anyone might ‘pity’ them would give them huge amusement.

That’s why the earlier link you posted (the Kevin Bridges one) makes me wonder whether their bullying, braying hilarity over the man’s accent is something which they even had second thoughts about. The dude who was chairing that show, Bryden? I don’t watch much telly, but I’m aware that he’s considered a ‘comedian’. I can say, hand-on-heart, that I’ve never ever found him ‘funny’ at all. Ever.

If a sense of humour is any worthwhile reflection of national identity, I can’t be the only one who has to raise hands when it comes to ‘understanding’ why there is such a gulf between Scottish and English ‘comedy’. It’s not imaginary – it’s real, but I’d be hard-pushed to nail it in scholastic terms.

In any event, whether we can explain it or not, we know the difference when we see it.

Smallaxe

Aye, Ian, we know the difference aw’rite it’s a chasm thit cannae be bridged.Ahm no sayin wur bettur, but wur diffrent!

Are you going to be there on the 3rd?

Peace Always

Some wee Scottish songs next.

Smallaxe

Matt McGinn: “I’m Looking for a Job”

“Fitba’ Referee”

“Rich Mans Paradise”

Peace Always

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Yes, I’ll be there.

Not sure whether to go to Kelvingrove or head to the Square and assist the bold Ronnie A.

I’ll be there anyway.

Smallaxe

Is it at the square or the G/Green? I’ll be doing my best to be there.

Peace Always

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Sorry, I have misinformed you there…think it is the Green right enough.

*slaps own wrist repeatedly*

Ian Brotherhood

Just thinking there…Kelvingrove Park to Glasgow Green is a fair hike.

Anyway, hope this opens okay…

link to twitter.com

Smallaxe

I’m leaving space in case anyone wants to talk or play some music or whatever. I’ll still be around for a wee while. Ian, I will mail you through the week, ok!

Peace Always

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

That’s the second time I’ve heard Andy Stewart today – he was on RS earlier doing Campbeltown Loch!

Hoots mon!

Brian Doonthetoon

Just before I turn in…

Ian B – your Twitter link is deceased. Gone before. Demised. Non-functional.

The info is at this link, which should be shared as much as possible in the next few days.

link to indyscot.info

The YES Bikers are meeting at the Showcase Cinema, Coatbridge at 11.30am, before heading for Glasgow Green. See here for info.

link to twitter.com

Pass these links on peeps!

Smallaxe

BDTT: Thanks, Brian, hope to see you there.
Peace Always

Fred

@ Smallaxe, many thanks for the stuff about the “Belvoir Hunt” pal, so that’s how you spell it?

Smallaxe

Fred:

Have a look at young Alex Tordoff, if you have an interest in the above-mentioned horsey club!

link to hydelodgehorses.com

Peace Always

Lurky

Here is the complaint I sent to the BBC following the ‘Incident of the Nurse in the Leaders’ Debate.

In ‘The Leaders’ Debate, on 21st. May,the topic was supposed to be ‘The General Election’. Towards the end of the programme, a red headed nurse (Claire Austin?) was allowed to ask questions which were related to a devolved issue, the NHS, and therefore should have had no part in this debate. It was later revealed by her that she had been on Question Time on 11th May, but had not been able to ask her question then, and was therefore invited onto The Leaders’ Debate. Is this true? If so, it means that the BBC staff connived in arranging unfair questions in the programme,which placed members of the Scottish Government at a disadvantage, since they had to defend their record in Government, whereas the members of UK parties, who were in fact responsible for these issues had no need to explain their policies. It is difficult to understand how BBC staff on the programme were not aware of the unsuitability of these questions. Was this person specifically invited onto the programme?
Was the content of her question known by the BBC staff before she asked it?
Did Sarah Smith and Jackie Bird consider asking such a question in this context acceptable?
Does the BBC , as an institution, consider this acceptable?
What action does the BBC intend to take Now?
What will the BBC do now to ensure this does not happen again?
Will the BBC take action in the future to prevent a recurrence?

And here is the BBC’s answer

Thank you for your comments about Election 2017: The Scottish Leaders’ Debate broadcast on 21 May 2017.

We are sorry that you felt the nurse who discussed food banks was an inappropriate choice of contributor. We have received a wide range of feedback about this programme, so keeping in mind pressures on licence fee resources this response seeks to address the key points raised. That said, we apologise in advance if your complaint has not been specifically addressed here.

In answer to the legitimacy of the audience member’s appearance on the programme, we select audiences for our debates which reflect widespread political views in accordance with BBC Election Guidelines. They are invited to ask questions which are relevant to the current affairs agenda.

This specific audience member who asked a question about nurses’ pay was subjected to claims on social media and elsewhere that she was partisan because she was married to a Conservative councillor. After the programme she made clear she was not married to a Tory councillor, and indeed not married at all.

Further to this we would add that criticism of anyone, especially members of the public, on the basis of hearsay on social media is unwelcome. Moreover we would point out that the politician who originally briefed the story apologised: link to bbc.co.uk and the First Minister later added that the nurse was entitled to ask her question, stating that the level and value of wages was one of the biggest issues in this campaign.

We hope these clarifications are useful.

Any similarities between the two are completely coincidental.

Fred

@ Smallaxe, I missed the target with that crack!

Smallaxe

Fred, it’s probably my fault, I can be as thick as two yoons at times, it went right over my head. I had quite a lot on this morning, (two suits and three hats) so I missed it completely. 🙂

Peace Always

Thepnr

@Lurky

Despite your complaint being worded differently from that by
ScotsRenewables on an earlier thread at 12:35 today, see here:

The BBC response was identical, there are likely hundreds if not thousands of Scots receiving these replies today with the stock BBC answer.

Sorry that you have been fobbed off.

Cactus

Morning, dae ye remember the Dolmio Glasgow voice-overs:

Warning: Contains naughty words 🙂

Fred

Good morning Cactus, good morning to you! ha ha ha ha ha ha! Mind the song?

Smallaxe, the Belvoir Hunt thing was a bit crude anyhow, it’s pronounced beaver!

Smallaxe

That was the problem, Fred, I’m a “Simple Man”! Mah mammy told me.
😎
Peace Always

Cactus

Aweright Fred ~

I cannae mind the song…

Can ye remind me?

Fred

Cactus, was it the Muleskinner Blues? Good morning Captain!

Smallaxe

“Muleskinner Blues”

“Good Morning Captain”
Well! wit wis it?
😉 Peace Always

Liz g

Quick question for….well anyone really…

Why would a hard border in N Ireland mean/risk a return to violence.

While a customs check point would be a pain.
That’s mainly a trade thing.
So again what exactly would they be fighting over?

They would… I assume still have the right to reunification or not as they decided for themselves, which was what I thought they were fighting over in the first place.
Or was there more to it?

William Wallace

Nae bather Stu eh.

Ehm no gonna respect rule 8 so either drap it and let me post or ban me ah the gither aye.

Ehm no asking much but dinnae shut doon genuine voices on such a flimsy premise.

William Wallace

What aboot the preceding post Stu?

It’s no disrespectful to you. Just seek o being telt what tae dae and say.

June 3rd – Bongo and no the drum.

See yiz ah there eh.

Fred

Any relation tae auld Sid Wallace fae Dundee? Sid was a legend in the hills, wee legs & a big pack n kept up a 5 MPH pace. Fear the bothies will see him no more.

Fred

@ Smallaxe, it was of course the first wan. “Good morning to you!”

Smallaxe

Fred, Good morning, I’m pleased it was the first wan, the second wan wisnae tae mah likin’ at aw!
😎
Peace Always #Manky

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Fred.

I suspect you’re thinking of Syd Scroggie.

link to dailyrecord.co.uk

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Fred.

Or mibbe no’…

Smallaxe

BDTT & Fred;

Or mibbies aye!

“DARK LOCHNAGAR” JIM REID AND SYD SCROGGIE:
Peace Always

Fred

Very nice guys but not Sid Wallace the Legend!

Smallaxe

Sorry, Fred, I have searched but I can’t find a mention of your man anywhere. Maybe Brian will have better luck.
Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Sigrid-Don’t Kill my Vibe link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Alice Phoebe Lou: “She”
Peace Always

Smallaxe

Paul Weller and Amy Winehouse: “Don’t go to Strangers”
Peace Always

Smallaxe

Jools and Christopher Holland:

Laura Mvula:”Phenomenal Woman”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7—iGdDIBQ&ab_channel=lauramvulaVEVO

Future Islands: “Like the Moon
Peace Always

Smallaxe

Caledonia: “The Gimme Gimme Gimmes”

Paolo Nutini:”Everybody’s Talkin'”

BRINSLEY SCHWARZ:”What’s So Funny ‘Bout Peace, Love And Understanding?”
Peace Always

Smallaxe

Happy Birthday, Ronnie Wood, 70yrs old today!

And 50 years ago on the 26th of May, Sgt. Pepper taught the band to play;
Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Happy Birthday Elaine link to youtube.com v=z0vCwGUZe1I

Michael McCabe

A wee Song for Paula Rose link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Amos Lee-Johnson Blvd link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

I Love this Song. Donovan Frankenreiter-Fool link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Peter Tosh & Mick Jagger- Don’t look back link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

The Almann Brothers: “One Way Out”
Peace Always

Smallaxe

ELO: “Fanfare for the Common Man”
Peace Always

Smallaxe

Lily Winwood and Stevie Winwood: “Higher Love”
Peace Always

William Wallace

have eh tae post it twice?

Fred

Thanks for the Emerson Smallaxe!

Smallaxe

You’re welcome Fred, here’s another one!
Peace Always

Smallaxe

Music for the AUOB MARCH:

This is Now + Poverty + Foodbanks + Homelessness +++

The Proclaimers:”Cap In Hand(Yes Scotland Video)”

It has to Stop!
We can say Yes.
Stanley Odd: “Son I voted YES”

Pooling and Sharing? Partners?
Stanley Odd: “Marriage Counselling”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

AUOB

“Hope Over Fear” Gerry Cinnamon

Dougie MacLean: “Caladonia”

The Proclaimers-Throw The R Away

Peace Always

Smallaxe

AUOB

Albannach:”Hornpipes”

Clanadonia: Keltisch Midsomer festival

Some Rockin’ Pipes 😎
Smoke on the Water, Scotland the Brave Live

Everyone stay Safe. Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Share the Moon link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Martin Roth-An Analog Guy In A Digital World link to youtube.com

Ruglonian

See youse at the Green folks 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

Does anyone know if the WOS stall today will be at same part of Glasgow Green as last time?

Ian Brotherhood

Well done to abody who made it to Glasgow today.

Liz g

Ian Brotherhood @ 8.39
Yes Ian it was pretty much in the same place.

Thepnr

Well done all you good people attending Glasgow today to show your support for an Independent Scotland.

A special wee mention for Smallaxe, especially well done you and this is my wee tribute to you. I know you’ll absolutely love it 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

@Nana –

If you see this, could you please send me an e-mail address for yourself or yer man so’s I can forward some snaps of this afternoon?
ianbhood@gmail.com
Hoots!

Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

Brother, if you were on the Green today I missed ye, as did others.

Anyway, hope ye’re well, and here’s one of the catchiest tunes of all time…

Jamelia, ‘Superstar’ –

Big Phil

That we lassie that sang Hope over fear today was brilliant. Everyone was singing with her. Cracking day, I was hoping tae see more of you lot especially smallaxe,just tae wish him Peace.;-). I probably saw you all around the wings tent, but yer only friends I havent seen yet. Still smiling.

Cactus

Today was most excellent!

All ra cool people.

Van Halen…

JUMP!

Fred

A wee shout for the weans playing the fiddles at the back of the Tron church to welcome the marchers coming down West George Street, just superb talent!

Betty Boop

Was good to be at Glasgow Green again working hard wi’ the “boss” an’ all on the stall. What a superb day, but, jings, we had about 20,000 folk trying to shelter under our brilliant, new, extended gazebo when the thunder clattered.

@ Ian Brotherhood
Saw you on Kevin’s indylive video last night when ye were oot for a wee walk in the city. Sorry, didn’t see you at the stall if you made it all the way 😉

@ Bdtt

Great day alongside you and Anne, but, REPAIR THE RED JAIKET! Need to be able to spot the iconic Bdtt costume in a crowd!

Great to see you all and watch/listen to the efforts of men at work, grappling with a folding gazebo! :-))

Dave McEwan Hill

Fred at 7.26

Yes. Dunoon and Cowal’s finest and raising some funds for our Forward(YES)Shop in Dunoon.
I’ll refer the lassies to your post.Thanks.

Great to meet all the good guys (and I got more of those highly popular Scottish passports for our shop!)

Tinto Chiel

Sorry to have missed all you sophisticates (especially Smallaxe) yesterday but only got back my hols at 8 this morning. Looks like it was a great day.

I thought of all you Crazy Gang when I saw a big guy in Castro, SF, cruising down Market Street wearing nothing but a red beret. Nobody seemed to care or notice.

Groovy.

Tinto Chiel

Michael McC posted this a while ago. The music’s great but it’s a journey down Market Street towards the Embarcadero building with the tower at the bottom. This was shot just before the 1906 earthquake, it is claimed.

Michael McCabe

The Correspondents- Fear and Delight link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Tim Minchin-Prejudice link to youtube.com This guy is very good with his Lyrics

Fred

@ Dave, I did rattle the weans bucket! 🙂

Good to see U back Tinto, the traffic looks like the survival of the fittest!

Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood 12:13am I could not make it through to Glasgow ian breathing is really bad just now. Glad there was a good crowd turned out though. Every day draws us closer to our main goal of Independence. Hope to be there at the next one. Until then as you would say. Hoots!

Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel 1.05

Hahaha re the guy naked except ofr the red beret in Castro SF, couple of years ago me and the missus with our two adult kids had probably our last holiday together there and we stayed in Castro.

A real wacky place that is, our best laugh was a guy in his mid sixties walking down the main street in the middle of the afternoon with nothing on but a sock over his willie. Might have been the same guy LOL.

I never want to see a sight such as that again 🙂

Tinto Chiel

Thepnr: he was, shall I say, very confident as he swaggered along and was pretty tall. And another guy mooned us from his balcony. Just like being back home!

Saw some great birds, Fred, e.g. Western Tanager (yup, that’s what I said, you naughty people) and Steller’s Jay, and the beautiful Californian Buckeye was in bloom. lots of trees to hug, too!

Heard this a few hours ago for the first time since 1972:

Smallaxe

I only got back a few hours ago and have just come on to O/T.

Thepnr, thank’s for the song, excellent! One for you,
The Heptones: “Book of Rules”

Look when the rain has fallen from the sky
I know the sun will be only missing for a while
I say, common people like you and me
We’ll be builders for eternity
Each is given a bag of tools
A shapeless mass.. and the book of rules

Peace Always my Friend

Big Phil

Dave McEwan Hill.
I was behind you and your girls on the train to Gourock. wish I said hello now.
Did you hear that lovely person on the train playing land of hope and glory on his phone and what he said when he got off at woodhall?

Smallaxe

Big Phil, I don’t know how you missed seeing me, there were only about 25,000 people there, I was the immensely good looking one.

Baffling, so it is!
😎

Peace and Love to You and Yours Phil

Big Phil

Ha Ha Ha. Smallaxe its a well known fact that I’M BEAUTYPHIL. lol
Peace always buddy. 😉 Mon eh King.

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel says;

“I saw a big guy in Castro, SF, cruising down Market Street wearing nothing but a red beret. Nobody seemed to care or notice.”

What have I told you about looking at your reflection in shop windows? BTW, I met Fred # Manky. 🙂

Hope you all enjoyed the holiday, my Friend.
Peace Always # Manky Mate

Smallaxe

That deserves another one Phil;
😎

Peace Always

Big Phil

Love it Smallaxe, ye cannae go wrang wi the king. 😉

Paula Rose

This is especially for Brian Doonthetoon – and all fans of The Prisoner…

Big Phil

youtu.be/H6LVI1gDswg Paula I honestly thought that song was this. lol

Smallaxe

Michael McCabe; Sorry you couldn’t make it Michael;

Santana: “Hope You’re Feeling Better” live 1970.

Peace Always my Friend

Big Phil

.youtube.com/watch?v=H6LVI1gDswg&feature=youtu.be

Liz g

Was a pleasure to finally meet you Smallaxe.
I did try to keep an eye out for Mrs Smallaxe returning from her lunch,but as you know the rain kind of dictated what we were doing….next time for sure!…
One of the friends I was with isn’t very mobile herself and once she was soaked we had go.
Which ment I still haven’t met big Phil so couldn’t possibly comment on the gorgeous-ness factor….
But you gentleman must remember that you would be up against Paula Rose do you really want to do that??

Big Phil

Liz g,
Lol. well winchable me. Paula Rose would have tae wait in the queue. Jealous that you met Smallaxe , I might have even seen you, but as you say the weather did dampen things a wee bit,still a great show.

Liz g

Big Phil @ 12.08
As Winchable as you are , I was brought up to be polite and so therefore Paula Rose is definitely first in the que!
Have you actually met her Phil….askin for sicence? LOL
Anyhoo hopefully the next time as well big Phil.

Cactus

Was great to be with you all again at the weekend.

It’s not often ye get the chance to go walkabout on the roads of your city’s streets, most refreshing.

Thanks also once again goes out to the Glasgow Polis and all the volunteer stewards, who joined together in our march for independence. You’s were excellent.

Just like in politics.. the Glasgow weather had many seasons in that one day.

We even celebrate and cheer the weather when the lightening breaks and we’re struck by thunder!

Big Phil

ha ha ha , No Liz I haven’t had the pleasure, but like all wingers i’m sure she’s lovely. Next time defo Liz, I made a promise to goto any marches coming up and I picked the best one yet. The best feeling about yesterday was talking to people that felt the same as yersel. Loved it.
I hovered aboot the wings stall wi my eldest daughter wi the green hair, lol. I was looking at faces and trying to think who was who from here. NEXT TIME.;-)

Big Phil

youtu.be/MskwYQINIis
wee tune.;-)

Smallaxe

Liz G;

Sorry, that you could not hang around a little longer, I would have liked to have spoken longer with you but as you say we will next time.

We are ALL beautiful Liz, I’ve told you that before
Ladysmith Black Mambazo:”Hello My Baby”

What weather?
Ladysmith Black Mambazo:”Rain, Rain, Beautiful Rain”
Some people wait for the storm to blow over, others learn to dance in the rain.

We need our Homeland back in the hands of the people!

Amani Daima rafiki yangu
Peace Always my Friends

Big Phil

correct Smallaxe ,We are all beautiful, but I’m Beautiphil. lol. my missus told me. 😉

Smallaxe

Cactus; It was a pleasure to meet you, 10/10 till we do it again!

Jake Bugg: “Lightning Bolt”

Peace, Love and Music my Friend

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cactus (and hi to everyone else who was there Saturday).

Now back ‘doon the toon’ and about to have supper. Must type thanks to Ronnie Anderson for putting up with me and Paula Rose (specially Paula Rose!) over the weekend.

Onnyhoo, Cactus. Methinks, perchance this would have been a more appropriate version for this weekend.

Gordon Duncan was the guy who, a number of years ago, reintroduced ‘note-bending’ as a technique.

link to en.wikipedia.org

Smallaxe

BDTT: I enjoyed our car’versation about music and putting the world to rights.

Nine by Nine” *John Dummer’s Famous Music Band:

The John Dummer Blues Band:”When You Got A Good Friend”

Peace Always my Friend

Liz g

Big Phil @ 12.55
The one problem we wingers have is organising a meet up.
We really need to get our act together to be able to recognise each other.
I am thinking that I did notice a lassie wi green hair,but ye know the way ye question yersel!!

I didn’t have a very good ending to the day Phil,after seeing my friends to their car, I headed tae the bus station.
Came across a laddie who was bleeding, really didn’t think that he wasn’t with our movement, didn’t pay much attention.
Asked him ..are you ok son….he broke into tears !!!

Oh my Christ,
He was so young..and..he was so hurt..
Would not let me get him an ambulance, apologized for being on Methodon…….like he was not worthy of my help..
I begged him to let me phone an ambulance,he had been beaten very badly.
Offered to stay with him and go to casualty with him.
But no
Big Phil…. this is an island, there need be no, or very little drugs on it,we need not have any laddie or lassies life destroyed in this way.

Got home quite upset at having to leave him…my lot with a background in stewarding,told me that this was not unusual,
And This Is Where.. I wept for my country…
I have never been so close to that kind of trouble before.
You see he cried again when I said, I don’t care if you are on Methodon you are a human being.then
He gave me a mug….a stolen mug he fished out of his jacket,and said I’ll remember you.
I so wish I could have hugged him …but he was stinking…and to do it and throw up I thought would have been ignorant.
Now I am not so sure that the laddie would have cared .
A human touch could have helped…he is some mother’s son.
I have to hope that our wee Scotland will sort this Phil,and
I will do all I can to make it happen.
Sorry to go on at you….but you do come across as someone who would know what I mean and want to fix it too.
Hopefully we will meet next time Phil and your daughter too.
We have to bring our Parliament within slapping distance,and then everything within the human condition
is possible

Cactus

Smallaxe ~

A pleasure to meet you too bro. We shall do again very soon. Say hey again to your Mrs Smallaxe, she lovely 🙂

Going back to Saturday night.. I was watching a bit of an impromptu ‘flash dance’ outside the nightclub when it closed. While that was going on, two young guys came across and were messing around just in front of me, then left. BANG! They’d set off a banger.

So I felt the force from that with the high-pitch hearing furrabit.

Makes ye wonder.

Peace.

Cactus

Aweright BDTT bro ~

Yer right, Gordon Duncan’s version is a belter, we’ll invite him next time.

And with that we may have found our new national anthem?

Imagine hearing them pipes at Murrayfield, or as you’re coming over the hills 😉

Here comes Scotland.

Smallaxe

Cactus, We can expect nothing else but to wunner aboot some people, other people enjoying themselves seems to annoy them, so let’s enjoy ourselves at every chance we get.Mrs Smallaxe sends her Love, she told me that you met up again in the P/Palace.
Peace and Love from us both.

The Last Shadow Puppets:”Les Cactus”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

liz g:

Please don’t distress yourself about how much or how little you did for that young man. The drug problems that we have in Scotland are for the main part brought on by poverty and hopelessness, I believe, as others do that it is a health issue and not a police matter. Hopefully, an independent Scottish Government will treat it as such.
War on Drugs? or;

Peace Always

Cactus

Smallaxe ~ aye Jock Scot and meself popped into Bar West furra drink and caught up with your lovely lady on return. All of us good guys and great girls are never far away fae each other.

Btw, there was a crackin’ atmosphere in and outside the Clutha.. every so often one of Glasgow’s tourist buses would pass by and stop outside. At that point all the people in the drinks garden started to cheer and wave at our visitors, each time a bus passed.

Fond memories of Glasgow, big smiles, would be cool to see the photos they took 🙂

Smallaxe

Goodnight Tonight

Goodnight ALL, see you in the morning

Peace Always

Smallaxe

I’m back for a minute, Cactus there was a great feeling in Glasgow yesterday and this morning, people who noticed all the SNP CND BAIRNS NOT BOMBS stickers on my car waved and smiled at us in Glasgow and on the way home. There’s a lot of good people out there.

Goodnight again!

Peace Always

Cactus

Aye aye Smallaxe, and more and more people are learning to understand and express themselves now.

Hope beats hate every time.

Night for now.

X.

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: glad you met Fred. You both should have popped into the New Monaco for a pint of crème de menthe. Really sorry I couldn’t get there and meet you both but glad you met so many of The Usual Suspects. They’re always a tonic and really cheer you up.

I’ve stopped looking at reflections in windows: I keep seeing a weird old guy with grey hair staring rather menacingly at me. Think I’m being followed…..

😀

Fred

Tinto, I get something the same with a sideyweys glance, only it’s giant spiders. Thankfully the optician explained the arachnophobia with the onset of slight cataracts! Bits startin tae fa aff!

Smallaxe

Tinto/Fred;

I took my wife for a walk in Glasgow city centre, nearly every window she looked in she saw something that “I just had to get” for her, I called a halt though when she wanted a 4 carat diamond ring from one of the jewellery shops. I said “Do you think I’m made of Bricks?
Peace Always #Manky Mates

Smallaxe

Tinto;

Fred and I tried to get a pint in The New Monaco but because you weren’t with us, they wouldn’t let us in without a “Responsible Adult” to take the blame and pay for the last time we were in! It’s a shame, soanitis.
😎
Peace Always

Smallaxe

Fred;

Did you get the ELO that I left for you further up^ this thread?
Peace Always

Smallaxe

Cactus;

Too Right, my Friend.
Peace Always

Fred

Gorrit Smallaxe, thanx for that. A good woman is above rubies!

Smallaxe

Peace and Love to All of our Chosen Partners in Life. Everyone Needs and Deserves Love.Everyone!

“Woman”

“Same Love”

Peace and Love Always my Friends

Tinto Chiel

Responsible adult?

Mmmmmm……

Grendel

Acclaimed writer and broadcaster Lesley Riddich will be Airdrie for Independence’s latest guest when she joins us later this month to discuss her new book McSmorgasbord: What post-Brexit Scotland can learn from the Nordics.

The book explores the Nordic countries veritable smörgåsbord of relationships with the European Union, from in to out to somewhere in between and asks: so, what does that mean for Scotland?
Well, somewhere in this incredible diversity of relationships with Europe is an arrangement that s likely to be good for Scotland too strangely enough, maybe more than one. Inside or outside the UK, Scotland wants to keep trade and cultural links with Europe that much is clear. But is the EU really the best club in town for an independent Scotland?
Or would Scots benefit from doing a Norway joining the halfway house of the EEA and keeping the Single Market but losing the troublesome Common Fisheries and Agriculture Policies?
Would an independent Scotland need the support and shelter of another union or could the nation stand alone like the tiny Faroes or Iceland?
These tough questions have already been faced and resolved by five Nordic nations and their autonomous territories within the last 40 years. Perhaps there s something for Scotland to learn?

The talk takes place on Monday 26th June 2017 in the One Wellwynd Centre, 35 Wellwynd, Airdrie, ML6 0BN. Admission is free, but donations are welcome towards the cost of hosting the evening
link to airdrieforindependence.wordpress.com

Smallaxe

But Tinto, you’re a Hip Cat with sartorial elegance and also a gifted musician.

Maybe you’re right, This is not a time for levity!

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Heeheehee, Smallaxe: we must be on the same WV, ‘cos this was one of my favourite T&J ‘toons before they were banned for being too violent, unlike the rest of TV output, of course*. Brought back a lot of memories.

Unfortunately, EK girls in the 70s seemed immune to my Charles Boyer-style wooings, despite my strange, unnatural beauty. And my Argyle socks.

It’s a funny old game, Saint.

*irony alert*

Tinto Chiel

WV? Meant wave-length.

It’s ma jet lag, honest.

Smallaxe

Tinto:

Yer jet! and please don’t call me lag, thank you.

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Did you just say, “Lag”, Smallaxe?

In which case…..

T-shirts available from Calton Books.

No pasaran!

Smallaxe

I’ve got the T-shirt Tinto, mi amigo.Nuestros Primos Celtas estaban a nuestro lado;

No pasarán, mi comarada en batalla, Nunca!

Paz siempre

Tinto Chiel

Great song and an excellent vid.

Grassy ass!

Smallaxe

De nada*ger, Tinto, mi amigo.

Paz Siempre

Tinto Chiel

Saw what you did there, Smallaxe.

Enjoy:

Smallaxe

Birds, I like birds Tinto:
Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Rory had a wonderful voice and was a great loss.

Cactus

Dedication:

Here’s a song for Gavin.. was great to see you and your peeps at the Clutha on Saturday.

This is a good tune for reflecting upon things. One of me favs.

Scotland’s Still Game 😉

Excellent, cheers.

Smallaxe

Rory Gallagher and Jack Bruce;

“Politician”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DXk–eL5-kQ&ab_channel=wilsu5

Irish and Scottish musical geniuses, Sadly Missed but they left a great legacy!

Peace Always

KC

Tinto & Smallaxe, good to see you both back in the banter zone. Here’s another one we miss. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe, great to meet you on Saturday, you’re one coooooool dude.Loved the hats!

Tinto, looking forward to seeing your holiday snaps when you get them developed. (Castro,Palm Springs etc)

SWMBO says hi.

Tinto Chiel

KC: sorry to have missed you both on Saturday. Looked a great march.

Please tell Queen of Links I am experimenting with my new chipotle and agave black pudding recipe. Got it from a strange drifter I encountered in the Mohave desert.

Going out for my new red beret tomorrow. Hope the weather warms up.

Smallaxe

Hi, KC, it was a pleasure meeting you, I enjoyed your company but I’ll still have to tell SWMBO the things that you told me about her. 🙂

Peace Always my Friend

American Express, will do nicely to keep me quiet
GoodNight, ALL.
😎

Smallaxe

Advice for Tomorrow! 8th of June.

VOTE For Our Future!

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Yes, get out the vote, for our children’s sake, Scotland.

Otherwise:

Smallaxe

Don’t let it be This;

Hieronymus Bosch and Zdzis?aw Beksi?ski’s Depictions of Hell – Dark Music:

Peace Always

Smallaxe

?1 = ?,?2 = ?
Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Thanks for that, Smallaxe. By comparison, canvassing is a breeze.

One day to go.

Smallaxe

Tinto, just one more sleep, let’s hope that we don’t wake up on Friday to a nightmare, my Friend. I hope we all wake up to this scenario;

R.E.M.
“Shiny Happy People”
Peace Always

1 51 52 53 54 55 81

Stats: 6,671 Posts, 1,202,932 Comments

• Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Indeed. The GRA needs repealed. The Equality act 2010 can always be tweaked afterwards, IF necessary.Nov 22, 19:19
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “NOT fine by me. But, on many other issues we may agree.Such is life.Nov 22, 19:09
    • Willie Fleming on The Long Unravelling: “They got a wee lesson in Dnepopetrovsk yesterday. And these were purely kinetic weapons, no warheads. A magnificent strike, took…Nov 22, 19:07
    • Chas on Telling the truth by mistake: “I must be old fashioned. I always thought if you had a dick, you were a man. If you had…Nov 22, 19:00
    • Robert Hughes on The Long Unravelling: “Spot-on , my friend . What sickens/concerns me is the scale , the extent and seemingly limitless power to construct…Nov 22, 19:00
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Do you support Scotland becoming a country again?Nov 22, 18:50
    • Campbell Clansman on Telling the truth by mistake: “Real world: in the 4 council by-elections yesterday, 118 people voted Alba–out of 10,204. The usual 1% for Alba, “the…Nov 22, 18:41
    • Confused on Telling the truth by mistake: “The BBC are starting a new charidee (for the kids) called “Children in Need (of COCK)” – and will feature…Nov 22, 18:32
    • Mia on The Long Unravelling: ““Britain could just tax the rich to fund the winter fuel allowance while still helping U” How exactly is helping…Nov 22, 18:06
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “And I meant to say, thank you Stu, Chris and whoever else is involved . . . your highly specific…Nov 22, 17:58
    • James on The Long Unravelling: “Nothing false about it. Read it again.Nov 22, 17:40
    • Mark Beggan on Telling the truth by mistake: “Are you sure about the GRC’s? Nothings new!Nov 22, 17:38
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “I’m so glad I grew up/was schooled in the 70s/80s. Just imagine being a wean the now . . .…Nov 22, 17:27
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “I picked up on that too. Fucking lunatics the lot of them.Nov 22, 16:53
    • Cynicus on Telling the truth by mistake: “Fearghas « Reflecting on why Children in Need only suspended donations to LGBT Youth Scotland in May, the newspaper said: “It…Nov 22, 16:22
    • Cynicus on Telling the truth by mistake: “Do you mean the third Synod of Macon when the learned divines denied women had souls? Mind you, they had…Nov 22, 16:09
    • Republicofscotland on Telling the truth by mistake: “This is exactly why we need to vote these b*stards out of office – they’ve f*cked-up the country up big-time,…Nov 22, 16:05
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Telling the truth by mistake: “MSP slams pro-trans group’s primary school scheme « LGBT Youth Scotland should not be allowed to push its trans agenda in…Nov 22, 15:52
    • James on The Long Unravelling: “McTernan lol wasn’t he the one who welched on the Rev’s bet? And gets *everything* wrong? Lower than a snake’s…Nov 22, 15:35
    • Zander Tait on The Long Unravelling: “We’re both wrong Humpster. It’s Free Thinkers 48 (not 42) and Dependence Monkeys 52 (not 58) You’re numbers in brackets.…Nov 22, 15:28
    • James on The Long Unravelling: “Clown looking for a circus.Nov 22, 15:21
    • Campbell Clansman on The Long Unravelling: “The latest poll is Nov. 20th, Survation. And the results are 42% Indy, 58% not. You might be surprised to…Nov 22, 15:07
    • Frank Gillougley on Telling the truth by mistake: “With apologies to Tom Leonard (for borrowing his spelling) and to Keats. The point I’d like to make is that…Nov 22, 15:06
    • Mark Beggan on Telling the truth by mistake: “Is this a translation from the council of Macon.Nov 22, 14:55
    • Zander Tait on The Long Unravelling: “I did read it Camster. It states in answer to the question, “should Scotland be an Independent country?” The answer…Nov 22, 14:48
    • Campbell Clansman on The Long Unravelling: “The actual latest poll (Survation) showed: 34% for Indy in the EU 8% for Indy outside the EU Total: 42%…Nov 22, 14:26
    • moixx on Telling the truth by mistake: “Email from For Women Scotland: “We still have a way to go to meet our fundraising target to cover the…Nov 22, 14:22
    • Rev. Stuart Campbell on The Long Unravelling: ““Getting back to the article ‘The Long Unravelling’ the question is where are the ‘SNP Whistleblowers’.” Where do you think…Nov 22, 14:21
    • rogueslr on Telling the truth by mistake: “So an adult human female is really just a woman without a GRC? Well that makes life simple!Nov 22, 14:20
    • Campbell Clansman on Telling the truth by mistake: “The SNP’s “submission” is 40 pages long. In what alternate reality does it take 40 pages to “define” what a…Nov 22, 14:16

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()