Ho ho ho or AD’s version – No No No.
    Happy greetings to you all.

2. Seasick Dave

Santa’s sack is empty.

I will be bobbing around on foreign seas over the festive period and the weather is too rough for Santa to land on the helideck so no presents for me either 🙁

Happy Christmas to all!

3. msean

In other words,you’re getting nothing.Merry next christmas,when I hope it will be a bit cheerier.

4. silver19

Superb, Season’s Greetings to all WOS readers.

5. Arbroath 1320

Merry Christmas to one and all when it comes where ever you are in the FREE world soon to be joined by an independent Scotland! :P:

S.S.  what do you mean the seas too rough for Santa to land on your deck. Don’t you know Santa is a super hero. He can land anywhere, any time and in any weather! 😆

Hope you stay safe S.S.

6. Fab001

I’ve been told by Santa that if we’re all good boys and girls next year we’ll get our Xmas present early, around mid September, who knows what he meant by that.
    Merry Christmas to all at WOS

7. Seasick Dave

Arbroath

Thanks for the update 😉

Have a good one!

8. Arbroath 1320

You too S.S.
    I’ll be thinking of you sliding around your ship wishing you and your crew safe travels. :P:

9. Craig

Apart from the massive black art operations that will definitely go on until 19th September 2014 (and beyond), No Scotland will now concentrate heavily on FALSE promises of jam tomorrow to con the people of Scotland.

The people of Scotland are not ‘too wee’, and they are not ‘too poor’.

But if they are conned into voting no, then it will be a proven fact that they are indeed ‘too stupid’, that is those who vote no apart from the ones with vested interests.

I find it very encouraging that poorer people, who had been natural Labour supporters until May 2011, are in favour of YES.

10. Craig

To add to the previous comment, I believe that many Labour voters switched to the SNP in May 2011.

The reason Labour maintained its share of the vote was former LibDems and probably Tories voting for them to keep the SNP out.

Many, many former Labour voters are going to vote YES and they should be given every bit of encouragement by YES Scotland to definitely register, turn up and vote YES.

These are the voters that No Scotland will do its very best to intimidate and scare into not voting or voting No.

Whatever we do, very few of the Tory classes are going to vote Yes – no point in wasting time on them.

11. Neil MacKenzie

Should have had it published. 🙂

12. Smudge

I can tell you what will happen if we believe the jam tomorrow promises…….

WE WILL BE BENT OVER A BARREL AND ROYALLY SHAFTED.

13. john king

Afrikaans: Geseënde Kersfees
    Afrikander:Een Plesierige Kerfees
    African/ Eritrean/ Tigrinja: Rehus-Beal-Ledeats
    Albanian:Gezur Krislinjden
    Argentine: Feliz Navidad
    Azeri: Tezze Iliniz Yahsi Olsun
    Bahasa Malaysia: Selamat Hari Natal
    Basque: Zorionak eta Urte Berri On!
    Bengali: Shuvo Naba Barsha
    Bohemian: Vesele Vanoce
    Bosnian:<(BOSANSKI) Cestit Bozic i Sretna Nova godina
    Brazilian: Feliz Natal
    Breton:Nedeleg laouen na bloavezh mat
    Bulgarian: Tchestita Koleda; Tchestito Rojdestvo Hristovo
    Catalan: Bon Nadal i un Bon Any Nou!
    Chile: Feliz Navidad
    Chinese: (Cantonese) Gun Tso Sun Tan’Gung Haw Sun
    Chinese: (Mandarin) Sheng Dan Kuai Le
    Choctaw: Yukpa, Nitak Hollo Chito
    >Columbia: Feliz Navidad y Próspero Año Nuevo
    >Cornish: Nadelik looan na looan blethen noweth
    Corsian: Pace e salute
    Crazanian: Rot Yikji Dol La Roo
    Cree: Mitho Makosi Kesikansi
    Croatian: Sretan Bozic
    Czech: Prejeme Vam Vesele Vanoce a stastny Novy Rok
    Danish: Glædelig Jul
    Duri: Christmas-e- Shoma Mobarak
    Dutch:Vrolijk Kerstfeest en een Gelukkig Nieuwjaar! or Zalig Kerstfeast
    English: Merry Christmas
    Eskimo: (inupik) Jutdlime pivdluarit ukiortame pivdluaritlo!
    Esperanto:Gajan Kristnaskon
    Estonian: Rõõmsaid Jõulupühi
    Ethiopian(Amharic) Melkin Yelidet Beaal
    >Faeroese: Gledhilig jol og eydnurikt nyggjar!
    Farsi:Cristmas-e-shoma mobarak bashad
    <Finnish: Hyvaa joulua
    Flemish: Zalig Kerstfeest en Gelukkig nieuw jaar
    Frisian: Noflike Krystdagen en in protte Lok en Seine yn it Nije Jier!
    oGalician: Bo Nada
    Gaelic: Nollaig chridheil agus Bliadhna mhath ùr!
    German: Fröhliche Weihnachten
    Greek: Kala Christouyenna!
    Haiti: (Creole) Jwaye Nowel or to Jesus Edo Bri’cho o Rish D’Shato Brichto
    Hausa: Barka da Kirsimatikuma Barka da Sabuwar Shekara!
    Hawaiian: Mele Kalikimaka
    Hebrew: Mo’adim Lesimkha. Chena tova
    Hindi: Shub Naya Baras (good New Year not Merry Christmas)
    Hungarian: Boldog Karácsonyt
    Icelandic: Gledileg Jol
    Indonesian: Selamat Hari Natal
    Iraqi: Idah Saidan Wa Sanah Jadidah
    Irish: Nollaig Shona Dhuit, or Nodlaig mhaith chugnat
    Iroquois: Ojenyunyat Sungwiyadeson honungradon nagwutut. Ojenyunyat osrasay.
    Italian: Buone Feste Natalizie
    Japanese: Shinnen omedeto. Kurisumasu Omedeto
    Jiberish: Mithag Crithagsigathmithags
    Korean: Sung Tan Chuk Ha
    Kurdish: Serî sallî nwê pîroz
    Lao: souksan van Christmas
    Latin: Natale hilare et Annum Faustum!
    Latvian: Prieci’gus Ziemsve’tkus un Laimi’gu Jauno Gadu!
    Lausitzian:Wjesole hody a strowe nowe leto
    Lettish: Priecigus Ziemassvetkus
    Lithuanian: Linksmu Kaledu
    Low Saxon: Heughliche Winachten un ‘n moi Nijaar
    Luxembourgish: Schèine Chreschtdaag an e gudde Rutsch
    Macedonian: Sreken Bozhik
    Maltese: IL-Milied It-tajjeb
    Manx: Nollick ghennal as blein vie noa
    Maori: Meri Kirihimete
    Marathi: Shub Naya Varsh (good New Year not Merry Christmas)
    Navajo: Merry Keshmish
    Norwegian: God Jul, or Gledelig Jul
    Occitan: Pulit nadal e bona annado
    Papiamento: Bon Pasco 
    Papua New Guinea: Bikpela hamamas blong dispela Krismas na Nupela yia i go long yu
    Pennsylvania German: En frehlicher Grischtdaag un en hallich Nei Yaahr!
    Peru: Feliz Navidad y un Venturoso Año Nuevo
    Philippines: Maligayang Pasko!
    Polish: Wesolych Swiat Bozego Narodzenia or Boze Narodzenie
    Portuguese:Feliz Natal
    Pushto: Christmas Aao Ne-way Kaal Mo Mobarak Sha
    Rapa-Nui (Easter Island): Mata-Ki-Te-Rangi. Te-Pito-O-Te-Henua
    Rhetian: Bellas festas da nadal e bun onn
    Romanche: (sursilvan dialect): Legreivlas fiastas da Nadal e bien niev onn!
    Rumanian: Sarbatori vesele or Craciun fericit
    Russian: Pozdrevlyayu s prazdnikom Rozhdestva is Novim Godom
    Sami: Buorrit Juovllat
    Samoan: La Maunia Le Kilisimasi Ma Le Tausaga Fou
    Sardinian: Bonu nadale e prosperu annu nou
    Scots Gaelic: Nollaig Chridheil dhuibh
    Serbian: Hristos se rodi.
    Singhalese: Subha nath thalak Vewa. Subha Aluth Awrudhak Vewa
    Slovak: Vesele Vianoce. A stastlivy Novy Rok
    Slovene: Vesele Bozicne Praznike Srecno Novo Leto or Vesel Bozic in srecno Novo leto
    Spanish: Feliz Navidad
    Swedish: God Jul and (Och) Ett Gott Nytt År
    Switzerland (Swiss-German): Schöni Wienachte
    Tagalog: Maligayamg Pasko. Masaganang Bagong Taon
    Tamil: (Tamizh) Nathar Puthu Varuda Valthukkal (good New Year not Merry Christmas)
    Trukeese: (Micronesian) Neekiriisimas annim oo iyer seefe feyiyeech!
    Thai: Sawadee Pee Mai or souksan wan Christmas
    Turkish: Noeliniz Ve Yeni Yiliniz Kutlu Olsun
    Ukrainian: Z Rizdvom Khrystovym or S rozhdestvom Kristovym
    Urdu: Naya Saal Mubarak Ho (good New Year not Merry Christmas)
    Vietnamese Chuc Mung Giang Sinh
    Welsh: Nadolig Llawen
    Yoruba: E ku odun, e ku iye’dun!

in the interests o inclusiveness ye unnerstaun

Have a good one everybody,
    an goad bless us one an all

14. Macart

The very best of the festive season to everyone on Wings. Oh and Arb, if you can’t be good at least leave the carrots for the reindeer. 😀

15. Tony Little

All the very best of everything to one and all.  And here’s to a vibrant 2014!

Nollaig chridheil agus Bliadhna mhath ùr!

16. Dcanmore

Merry Christmas to all on Wings 🙂

17. The Tree of Liberty

We DO live in interesting times, Merry Christmas to one and all.

18. seoc

Best wishes to all at Wings – especially Founder, the writers and illustrators. Thank you for the pleasures and sense of harmony.

19. Dave McEwan Hill

John King
    An barka da sabon casa

20. scaredy cat.

Merry Christmas Stu et al.
    Here’s hoping for a restful Christmas to recharge our batteries.  We have a job to do in the new year.
    All the best everybody. x

21. DanTDog

A’ ra best, a’ ra time…and may next year bring the Independent Scotland of our hopes and dreams…slainté…

22. gerry parker

Have a peaceful and happy festive season, then we can gird up our loins for the fight ahead.
    Best wishes to Stuart and all following the blog.
    g.p

23. Dorothy Devine

Well done Mr King – that was some effort!
    Thanks Rev and many others for keeping my chin well and truly up!
    I look forward to an early Christmas present next September when we will dance , not only in the “streets of Raith” but all over our wonderful country.
    Merry Christmas !

24. crisiscult

Merry Christmas to everyone.  Eid Milad Majid

25. Bugger (the Panda)

@ John King and to all
    Especially all members of the irregulars I met in Edinburgh
    Joyeux Noël 
    you missed that one out of your compendium

26. blunttrauma

Merry Christmas everyone.

27. Juteman

Bah. Humbug. 😉

28. Thistle

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all!

29. heraldnomore

Stu, get your feet up and have a rest, just for a day or two mind

And festive greetings to one and all after a stonking year.

30. Bunter

Merry Xmas to all fae the Broons!

31. WND

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to the WOS community.

32. castle hills chavie

As above, with jingle bells on..

Kronia Polla

33. David Smith

Merry Christmas to you all. This site is like a beacon in the fog of disinformation and though it’s one of a growing number, it’s by far the brightest.

Thanks, Stu for keeping the beacon lit and thanks to all of you who post here, educating, informing and entertaining!

Cheers all and may the year ahead be the one we all dream of!

34. Conan_the_Librarian

Bah. Berwick cockles.

35. John grant

Happy Christmas everyone , have a peaceful lone and ready yourselves for what is going to be a momentous year for us , fifty years I’ve waited we won’t fail now 

36. Frances

Merry Christmas one and all. Thanks for the enlightenment and the fun. Have a good rest Stu and all, we have a busy and exciting year ahead. 

37. kendomacaroonbar

A very happy and peaceful Christmas everyone.

I cannot help thinking that we are witnessing history in the making and are all individually shaping that process towards tipping point.  I wish my Father were alive to witness this.

38. EdinScot

Love the card, nice one! That will be getting distributed.

We are where we are due in no small part played by our Rev Stu and this fantastic Wings Over Scotland site arming us with the much needed ammo for the battle ahead. This fantastic army of posters that reside here providing the links and their wisdom to smash the Unionist case into smithereens.  As we take this much needed festive pit stop, i know and expect that the Independence support will come out kicking from the start of the new year.  Our very own democracy demands it.  I really beleive the White Paper has been and will be the game changer. You can smell the fear and see the sheer panic of the Unionists. Their time is up. Its ours to win.

Merry Christmas everyone.

39. gordoz

another from closer to home for the list John K –

‘A Cantie Yuil an a hertie, guid New Year tae a’

40. HandandShrimp

Dear Santa,

For 2014 I would like for the most part to be foreign

41. gordoz

The card is epic by the way Chris  and will be copied to all family members forthwith

many thanks for such a poignant message !

42. HandandShrimp

A very merry Christmas to Rev Stu and all at WoS and a prosperous and independent New Year.

43. Murray McCallum

Excellent festive card.

Here’s hoping that come 24th December 2014 Alistair Darling is very much the ghost of Christmas past.

Peace, happiness and independence.

44. Richard

Hoping Scotland gets infected by viruses this year

45. AllyPally

@john king

Jiberish?

46. Jim Mitchell

Aw ra best awbudy!
    Fight, we hav’nae even started!

47. Horacesaysyes

Merry Christmas to you, Rev, and to all contributors to Wings, both above and below the line. 🙂

48. Bill McLean

season’s greeting to all and especially the Rev for keeping us all sane – well! speak for yourselves! Cheers.

49. Dave McEwan Hill

john king
    As you provided us Merry Christmas in Hausa and Yoruba I felt I had to look it up in Igbo as it is the other major Nigerian community and one that I have a huge affection for. Igbo national sentiment is still very strong and we may yet see an independent Biafra. Britian’s collusion with the US in starving Biafra into submission in the Nigerian Civil War (killing around 2 million people inthe process) in order that we might continue to have access to Nigerian oil was an early indication of what the UK/US axis has become in its morality-free abuse of the world,
    Anuli eferesimesi, anuli aro ofuu 

50. Les Wilson

I just logged on and again I had to smile at your antics, it is good to have a bit Xmas cheer! As father Xmas there is concerned, I reckon Darling was the choice out of many for you. I am pretty sure that is exactly his true feelings just now, but don’t despair for him, he will get his Xmas from the trough!

On the same theme I always thought that the Unionist side would make a great muppet show, boy could we could make some really funny scenario’s with all the main culprits. Sure to go viral too, while taking the complete piss out of them. Oh well I can dream, it is Xmas.

A Merry Xmas and a prosperous New Year to you REV, your staff and writers of articles and of course to all the people like myself that are addicted to Wings.

Onwards and upwards in 2014.

51. Christmas Beastie

I heard the old chestnut of devo-max raise its ancient, wrinkled head again this morning on the chief propaganda channel that is BBC Scotland. Someone wittering on about it, still, as though this idea that further powers will be delivered in the event of a no vote is real. Remember who dismissed the option. It wasn’t the SNP, who hadn’t actually suggested it in the first place, it was Westminster. If they won’t allow it on the referendum question, why does anyone believe that they’ll transfer most of the remaining powers if we vote no?

Darling as Santa. Anyone of those talented types with art able to do any unionist politician as Pinnochio? Or any political reporter at the BBC… stand fast Fat Brian, who at least does balance most of the time, if not all of it. Perhaps it’s his size… gravity may have an influence on it.

Merry Christmas to all involved with Wings over Scotland, from the Rev to the contributors and to all my fellow commentors who fill in the few gaps of knowledge the articles leave. This is my favourite source of information now, a superb counterpoint to the standard MSM dis-information. An honourable mention also goes to Newsnet Scotland, but I understand they’ve got a rather heavy handed approach to comments these days which has apparently irritated quite a lot of people. Their articles are still worth a look.

52. Cal

???????

53. Cal

Hmm, I guess Chinese script doesn’t work here. Merry Christmas everyone anyway.

54. Bertie K

MerRy cHriSmIndePeNDenCe FOlkS…!

HiC!

55. Erchie

The full quote seems appropriate

“The rule is, jam to-morrow and jam yesterday – but never jam to-day.”

That being said, Merry Christmas and here’s hoping that Sept 2014 brings us a YES vote, because only with that does Scotland have a future

56. liz

Just like to add Merry Christmas to everyone and especially the Rev.
    Have a good rest as we will all need our energy for next year.

57. Croompenstein

The captain has been conspicuous by his absence wonder if he’s preparing the BT white paper !!!!! in saying that saw a missing persons poster the description was – looks like Sam the Eagle oot the muppets, is prone to talking pish and getting angry….. sounds like oor captain!!!  Merry Xmas Rev and all at WOS and let’s hope for a very merry 2014

58. Lanarkist

Seasons greetings and hope for the New Year. 
    We will add another National holiday entry to our Calendar next year. 
    September 18th will suffice until we get to actual Independence Day.
    All the very best(followed by rather long rambling toast to good health).

59. Jingly Jangly

Have a Happy  Superstitious Iron Age Goat Herders Holiday.
    And to all you Pastararians out there, Ramen

60. Andrew Morton

Well, I started this year reading the Scotsman and Herald. Wings Over Scotland? Never heard of it. Then someone on one of the letters pages sneaked a link to this:
     http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-opinion/4341-a-unionist-lexicon-an-a-z-of-unionist-scare-stories-myths-and-misinformation
    and that’s how I discovered Newsnet Scotland. Only glanced at it occasionally though, still too busy arguing with the trolls on the Scotsman pages.

Round about early summertime though I started looking at the articles and became aware of this wacky site called Wings Over Scotland which apparently was inhabited by crazy extremists.

it took a while before I decided to click the link and start reading, but when I did I understood why all those No posters at the Scotsman loathed and detested it. Because it spoke the truth and deconstructed their lies. No wonder they were desperate that nobody should ever go and look at it. Now Wings is the first and last place I go to every day.

Merry Christmas Rev. You are our guiding star and I hope they give you a vote of thanks in the first independent parliament.

Oh, and Merry Christmas to all your other readers and contributors such as Morag, Ronnie, Hen, Bugger, the Major and all the others too many to mention!

61. Caroline Corfield

Merry Christmas and hope everyone has a Good New Year!

62. Yesitis

Another cracking cartoon courtesy of Chris Cairns 🙂
    Spot on.

Here`s to us. All of us.
    All the very best to you, Rev and all Wingsers everywhere. Have a good time and stay safe.

63. Fairliered

Merry Christmas Rev and everybody. Next Christmas we will be independent!

64. Thomas William Dunlop

Merry Xmas to every poster & WoS contributor, especially the wizard himself. Rev Stu. Very warm greetings for 2014 and a new Scotland.
    “Make it so” Jean-Luc Picard , Star Trek TNG

65. Archie [not Erchie]

I am pleased to announce that my first grandaughter was born at 1030hrs today. For the ladies the stats are 7lb 10oz, dark wavy hair, chubby with no distinguishing marks. No name as yet but I have suggested Morag Lumi Dorothy Jeannie aka Marcia ScaredyCat.

For the men – Comments from a wiped out daughter were ‘Ouch, ouch, you male b*****ds. I’ll give you [ahhhhhh] effin independence, I WILL VOTE YES, STOAP THE PAIN’

So it seems we have at least one other woman, a definite YES. 🙂

Merry Christmas to all and I am so much looking forward to 2014 with everyone here. Blessings on you and your families and the RevRats.

66. MajorBloodnok

@johnking

Thanks for sorting that out: you know me, I usually can’t tell the difference between my Farsi from my Ebo.

And all the best to the Rev, Chris C, the other excellent article writers we’ve had this year, to the below the line posters and to all the readers and lurkers, for Christmas and the New Year.  2013 was exciting enough – can’t wait until 2014!

Cheers, MB

67. Training Day

Merry Xmas to the Rev and to all on here.

And we’ll take our jam on the 18th September 2014.

68. Chic McGregor

Great Cartoon and message Chris, duly shared on FB.

I think if folk vote NO then for Santa’s next visit we will be very lucky if he does not make an appearance with a gun demanding we put what valuables we have left into his sack.  😉

Christmas Beastie
    The Pinocchio thing has IMV, been rather done to death, although you still see it fairly frequently.  One of the first political cartoons I did specifically for on line consumption was of Donald Dewar as a Pinocchio puppet being manipulated by a semi-visible Cheshire Cat (guess who?) from above about 15 years ago.

69. faolie

Nice card Rev, and a happy Christmas to you and to all the Wings readers and commenters. It’s great to be part of this fellowship of independence crusaders at this time in our history. And man, what exciting times we in Scotland live. 

70. TJenny

Archie [not Erchie] – Congrats to you and famiy on your new grandaughter.  Loving the  ‘RevRats’ – perhaps, for us WoSers, that’s what the Britnats will call us to separate us from the generic Cybernats. 🙂

A Very Merry Christmas to the Wizard of WoS that is our Rev Stu – and all his little helpers on the site – a WoS group hug to them and all of us (and the wee RevRats and the kitties too. 🙂

And if you are out WoSalling over the festive time, be happy and stay safe. 😉

71. Wp

Have a happy Christmas to all at WOS.
    remember the hard work starts in the new year.don’t underestimate the lengths the unionists 
    will go to protect their interests. 

72. Arbroath 1320

@John King
    Is this a Christmas thingy you’re on here? :P:

@Macart
    Remind me again, which ones are the carrots?
    Are they the small round green thingys or the long orange thingys?
    I can never remember. 😆

@Archie(not Erchie)
    Congratulations on the birth of your grand-daughter, hope she and your daughter are both doing fine. Born in Scotland hell of course they will be doing fine! 😆

Best wishes for a guid Christmas to all Wingsters where ever they are in the world and I look forward to us all continuing the good fight towards freedom in the new year! :P:

73. mato21

Archie
    Congratulations on your early Christmas gift I have waited with interest from your windae hingin days when you first broke the news
    Good health and long life in an independent Scotland is my wish for your baby she will bring you much joy

74. Dorothy Devine

Congratulations Grandad  – just remember the poor wee mite has been born very close to Christmas and make sure her birthday doesn’t get buried in Santa-itis !
    In fact give her another one like the queen – 18th September should be a fine date to adopt as a second birthday!

75. cearc

Happy Christmas to all.

Archie not erchie, congrats on joining the clan.  Best wishes for all.

76. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Mato21 – Aye the windae hingin was fun and now there’s 3ft high YES letters in the correct font blazing out onto the inbound Aberdeen commuters. Will look better once the Sun comes back and resumes its normal summer position.

@ T Jenny & Arbroath 1320 – Thanks and a wonderful Christmas to you. I got my pressie today safe and sound. Anything else is a bonus.

77. Trunbull Drier

excellent Stu.. duly shared 🙂 Congrats to you and yours Archie. You get the best bit.. handing it back once the screaming starts… 😛

78. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Dorothy D – Thanks and yes am aware of the Santa-Itis. I am just so proud that both daughter and successful farmer son in law are both committed YES voters and they know the importance for their new arrival. 

79. Marcia

Archie

Congrats, another gain from Labour.

80. Archie [not Erchie]

@ John King – What a wonderful list and of course someone is gonna say GEEZABRAKE. 

So following your suggestion I thought I would impress my Thai lady friend [not Lady Boy] with SAWADEE PEE MAI. Now if I remember correctly the literal translation of SAWADEE is quite nice. ‘How are you, have you had your rice today?’ Basically Hello are you in good health. Rice being the stalwart food for good health.

Now the PEE MAI confused my Siam sweetie and after a rather short phone call she told me that I WILL NOT PISS ON HER CHIPS WHEN THE ELEPHANTS TRUNK REACHES MY LOWER INTESTINE. 

Could you please advise?

81. Chic McGregor

Let’s not forget ex-pats and those otherwise unable to spend the Festive Season in Scotland.  One for them:

82. Erchie

Many congrats to the family Archie!

Hopefully the Christmas manages to be restful for mother and child!

83. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Erchie – Thanks min and I am sure it will be. Thank God he got the double glazin sorted out, the heatin fixed and the pigs out of the kitchen. Just jokin…..mmm almost.

84. The Tree of Liberty

Congrats, another gain from Labour. Marcia, very good, enjoyed that.

85. Jeannie

@archie (not erchie)

Aw, Archie…a wee baby girl on Christmas Eve!  Just magical! So happy for you.  Whatever they decide to call her, I suspect to many of us, with an eye to the future, we’ll be calling her Kirsty x

86. Nation Libre

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you all.  Have a great festive period.  I’m really looking forward to 2014, Santa’s bringing my present a little later in the year though
    Yessssssssssss

87. stonefaction

First post here, but just want to say Merry Christmas to all Wings readers and contributors, and may all our wishes come true in 2014.  Love the card.  Oh, and is it just me or does the bairn on Santa’s knee remind anyone else of Alistair Carmichael waffling on?

88. Nation Libre

Congrats Archie, can we have a name the baby comp, I’d go for Indie

89. Dramfineday

Archie, congratulations to you , yours, the new mum and dad and the wee scone. She’ll be the apple of your eye and it wont be long till she knows it too!

Marcia “another gain from Labour” –  very good, enjoyed that very much.

To all the wingers, The Drams hope you have a peaceful Christmas and a happy and healthy new year.

I’ll leave you with “It was Christmas eve in the Wings house, and Dram was feeling frisky”………….

(but then Mrs Dram came in and put a stop to all that frisky business – I’ve a turkey to cook and some presents to wrap apparently – doh)

Best regards to you all

90. Horacesaysyes

Congratulations to you and the family, Archie.

91. Juteman

Ye ald git, Archie. 😉
    I’ll go for ‘Hope’.

92. Macart

@Archie
    Congratulations, brilliant news.

@Arb
    I’ve already gone through Santa’s whisky mac and mince pies, but I draw the line at the reindeer’s carrots. 😉

93. Archie [not Erchie]

@ RevRats and Wossers – Thanks and a happy wrappy evening followed by a great day tomorrow. Daughter and baby X sleeping in the wee hospital overnight, to be named in the morning. Ah mean the baby not the hospital.

@ Marcia – You outdid yourself with the quip ‘Another gain from Labour’ Loved it.

@ Jeannie – Oh yes the Kirsty video got to me a while ago. 

94. Patrician

Chris, 

Excellent cartoon as usual.  Here’s hoping for a Merry ChrIndependence next year.

95. Ian Brotherhood

Everyone have a funky good time…

96. edulis

O/T Stuart, I strongly recommend that you put up a link to the recently launched Wealthy Nation web-site. There is a particularly good article by Jim Walker on the facts of currencies and currency unions. Alistair Darling should try reading it to avoid all the clangers he keeps dropping. On second thoughts maybe his ignorance of economics continues to give us all the ammunition we need. Just google ‘Wealthy Nation’.

97. Spout

Seasoned Greetings to the Rev & all!
    Remember  – We want Scotland to be like Bailey Park:

Not Pottersville :

We can do it in 2014 🙂

98. FreddieThreepwood

On behalf of my various alter egos (Chris, Hamish etc.)  best wishes to all on Wings – thanks for the support for the toons and … and time for another sherry methinks.
    See you on the other side.

99. Bill C

All the best to all on Wings. This time next year we’ll be celebrating in an independent Scotland.

100. caz-m

Merry xmas to you Rev and all you fellow seekers of a free Scotland.

I have just been looking through the archives from the past year. And I strongly recommend you do likewise.

The “media” archives are particularly unbelievable. Some of the scaremongering is so out of this world.

It’s hard to believe that these stories came from trained, intelligent journalists who thought that we would be so stupid that we would actually take in what they were writing.

I think that is a bigger insult than what they actually wrote.

And the same old “Project Fear Carousel” scare stories keep on going round and round.

They started the year with scares about the EU and the currency. And ended the year with scares about the EU and the currency.

Their stories are almost laughable now, and in a perverse way we have become so expert are rebutting them that you almost can’t wait for the next one to come out.

So, bring it on, we grow stronger by the day. We will win this battle, because a positive will always defeat a negative.

101. Old mikey

Best wishes to all concerned in this site.

Jingly Jangly at 12.04pm. As a fellow pastafarian let’s take a day off the plundering and drink some grog. Ramen.

102. Ronnie

Marcia’s ‘Another gain from Labour’ was brilliant and Nation Libre’s ‘Indie’ set me thinking…

19 September 2014 may turn out to be a happy day in more than one respect for some….

Season’s Greetings to all writers, readers, posters and lurkers on WoS and here’s to the best year ever!

103. Ian Brotherhood

Serious question, and very very grateful for any feedback:

Does anyone know any good reason why April 4th (a Friday) wouldn’t be good for WoS get-togethers? Any major sporting events in the offing that would keep people indoors that night?

The proposed Glasgow night now has 19 regulars signed-up (which is more than the first we had, in The Horseshoe). Paula Rose and others are looking to organise elsewhere.

So why don’t we roll this out, right now, and make this the ‘grass-roots’ event that people will notice – no advertising, no dosh being raised, no hassles, badgering, hype of any kind. We just make the arrangements ourselves, and go for it, have a great night. It’ll be noticed, not by MSM, but by the people who really matter i.e. neighbours in the communities we’re part of, people who all have a vote to cast.

Let’s do it – multiple shindigs happening simultaneously right across the country, and we can do our own media coverage for the record, swap notes after the hangovers have faded. Rev has hinted that he might refresh the Quarantine thread so it’s less unwieldy, in which case that’ll be the place to swap notes and details.

Hoozupfurit?

104. Conan_the_Librarian

My first Grandson was born on Hogmanay.

I can almost remember it.

105. Conan_the_Librarian

I must admit an April shindig in parts east would be much easier for me.

Longer drinking time.

106. Ian Brotherhood

@Conan the Librarian –

(BTW, I can never type your ‘name’ without smiling…)

So, can we take it that you are offering to whip yon miserable east-coasters into some form of activity? (smiley) 

107. Conan_the_Librarian

Now, Ian, this is a collective, not a dictatorship.

(Somebody tell Stu that…)

108. Taranaich

Here I am, in bed with a horrid chest infection, coughing up phlegm and shuddering with sore everything with each cough. But at least I have my free prescriptions & doctor’s appointments.

My niece regaled me with her violin practise. By the time she gets to High School, she may have to pay £50 for lessons, with local council cutting school costs for their gargantuan super-schools leaving so many students in the lurch – she may not be able to afford it. But at least her education is free, and looks forward to further education which ranks among the best in the world.

My aunt from Kenya came by with the Christmas presents for the rest of the family, and will be here for Christmas dinner tomorrow. Our family friends from many countries & faiths send their well-wishes from inside Scotland. They’ve put up with a lot of prejudice and heartache in her life. But at least they live in a country which welcomes immigrants with open arms and big smiles.

Come this time next year, will I be able to say the same? With devolution already being rolled back and calls from prominent MPs & Lords to abolish Holyrood, as well as the Cult of Austerity, perhaps Ed Milliband will get his One Nation after all.

But what if we say Yes to Scotland?

One of my cousins is a weightlifter: one of the top athletes in his field in the UK. Right now he’s the only Yes voter in his class, and he refuses to advance his career by moving down south while his family and friends are here. In an independent Scotland, why should he need to move?

Another cousin wants to be a marine biologist. One of the top Marine research facilities in Europe is here, but like everything, it’s seen its funding cut. An independent Scotland with control of its financial levers could rectify that, and make Scotland the true beacon for science it’s wanted to be for centuries.

My aunt’s daughter wants to be a comic artist. I know only too well the pressure which comes from current thinking in the arts: “you’ll have to move to London to get a job,” “there’s no work in Scotland,” “London’s the real place to go.” It doesn’t have to be that way. Be the big fish in the little pond, or little fish in the big pond – who cares about questionable size-based hierarchy in aquatic ecosystems? Just be the fish you want to be in the pond you choose.

Have a great time for whatever seasonal obligation you wish to observe, Wings readers: this time next year, it’ll be the first on the road to a better country.

109. Conan_the_Librarian

Seriously, Fifers, Edinburghers, East and West Lothian have a natural nexus at South Queensferry, both buses and rail (Dalmeny).

Remember, ’twas I who suggested the Albanach.

Look how well that turned out…

110. Ian Brotherhood

@Conan the Librarian –

Here’s a thought. We could pretend that these shindigs are actually on behalf of Better Together – then, the best organised, busiest one might get, as a ‘reward’, a visit from Alistair Darling!

Can you imagine him wandering into a pub full of Wingers? We’d have him up dancing to Whisky Kiss’s ‘Jock’s Revenge’ within minutes – he’d be merrily texting his resignation before getting his round in.

111. Taranaich

Ian: I’ll check my calendar. My mam’s a regular WoS reader too, can she come along? 🙂

112. Ian Brotherhood

@Taranaich –

Get well soon mister. A toddy sounds in order.

113. themadmurph

just home after a day out with friends. Looking forward to dinner with the family tomorrow and a big year ahead! All the best to our fellow YES voters. Take care and have a good one!

114. Ian Brotherhood

@Taranaich –

Everybody’s Ma is welcome.

BTW, I know from reading your comments that you’re a ‘History’ man – does April 4th have any particular significance that might be apt? There are always ways of using numbers, dates etc, but I can’t see any that are especially relevant to the referendum…just wondering.

I worked out earlier that, on April 4th, there will be just 166 days before we vote, but I’m not sure that’s right, and even if it is, whether it ‘means’ anything…

115. ronnie anderson

Archie ( not Erchie )  Noo thats a Christmas Present you dont get under the Christmas Tree, Concratulations , am wie the name thing ,her middle name , Indie, aw ra best tae You n Yours Archie.

116. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one about some of the folk who came before us, and worked themselves into early graves while being force-fed a myth about the greatness of the British Empire – its sun will finally set next year, and it’s sweet beyond measure that descendants of the people in this old newsreel will have the privilege of delivering the coup de grace.

117. Dave McEwan Hill

Horseshoe sounds like a good idea. Last time I was there was in the middle of last century and I was playing football in the Colleges League for GSA (Yes,some of us played football at  Art School) and we used to go to the Horseshoe after matches.

Still think we need a demonstration in Glasgow

118. Archie [not Erchie]

@ ronnie – Thanks and hope you have a great evening and your input is always a joy.

119. Ekindy

Great Xmas card Stu.Directed to Wings recently by a mate and finding it a great source of information to help get over the Yes case.
    O/T and not a great fan but reading latest article in Meachers blog looks like some worry ahead for Gideon.
    http://www.michaelmeacher.info/weblog/2013/12/wheels-already-coming-off-osbornes-recovery-vehicle-but-very-different-kind-of-recovery-needed/

Anyway best wishes to all on Wings

120. Arbroath 1320

@Ian Brothetrhood
    Does anyone know any good reason why April 4th (a Friday) wouldn’t be good for WoS get-togethers? Any major sporting events in the offing that would keep people indoors that night?

Don’t know about April 4th Ian but my namesake, the Declaration of Arbroath, was signed on April 6th 1320. Just saying like.

I‘ll get ma coat! 😆

121. cynicalHighlander

Happy festivities to everyone from a blowy north.

122. Stuart Black

Happy Christmas everyone, and all the best for 2014, a year in which I trust your deepest desires will come to pass. 😉

123. Thepnr

Best wishes to the Rev and all who visit Wings. Have a good day tomorrow with families and friends. Remember even though it’s the holidays never miss an opportunity to convert someone.

My mother in law is a difficult nut to crack, a few more sherries though might do it 🙂

124. themadmurph

I’m up for the Horseshoe!

125. Paula Rose

My love to you all xx

126. velofello

@ Ian Brotherhood, sign me in.Suggest you make a booking this time.
    @ Archie(not Erchie) – congratulations,grandkids are great fun. You can look forward to years of fun, just avoid nappy changing and you’ll be fine. I hope you can draw!

127. Ian Brotherhood

@Dave McEwan Hill, madmurph and velofello –

NB Chaps!!! – NOT the Horseshoe. The April 4th meet will be in McGinn’s, Hope Street, but only if I get the upstairs booked. Just need another two or three folk to express interest, and that’s it, I’ll head up next week sometime and get it sorted. Watch Quarantine for details as and when…

128. handclapping

Great card from Chris Cairns. I like the way he has got the comatose into the depiction of “Santa”. I think the mum ought to have a friend with her to give an honest answer to “Does my bum look big in this?” when she went shopping for her outfit. 🙂

All tomorrow’s presents wapped, tagged and bagged ready to load to the family fest, on the day emails sent to the relys in Oz and NZ, checked Amazon to see which books are “missing” from my wish list so now its
    “Merry Christmas one and all!”.
    Over and out.

129. Fairliered

Hope to meet you all at McGinns on April 4th.

130. Jeannie

Have a lovely Christmas, all of you, but especially you, Stu.  And so long as I’m not the only wumman, I’ll be at McGinn’s.  All the Best!

131. Fairliered

McGinns. Named after the twa heided man?
    Is there a pub named after a twa faced man for bitters to meet?

132. Ekindy

If you guys are ok with a relative newbie attending i’d be happy to make the 4th.
    Stevie

133. AlexMci

I’m up for the april meet Ian Brotherhood. Last one was ace.

134. The Tree of Liberty

I’m a kinda auld boring bastard, but I’d love love to come!  

135. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex Mci –

Mister, I’m sure you’ll be delighted to know that you are the 25th person to stick their name on the list.

It’s a go-er. For those who can’t be bothered going over to Quarantine and scrolling through to see who’s up for this, here’s the list. Apologies if I miss anyone out, but so far as I know, these are the names, as they came in:

Iain & Karen Hamilton
    Conan the Librarian
    Quinie frae Angus
    The Man in The Jar
    Alex Taylor
    the pnr
    Twenty 14
    chlocoderic
    Patrician
    cearc
    scaredy cat
    spout
    Rod Mac
    Thistle
    dmw42
    Dave McEwan Hill
    madmurph
    velofello
    fairliered
    Jeannie
    Ekindy
    Alex Mci

and meself. Some of you indicated that you may bring others, so we’re well over the 25, probably closer to thirty-five-ish.

Can’t wait.

136. twenty14

Best wishes to Rev Stu and all WoS sers – the shining lights in the media blackness. Hope everyone one has a Happy, Healthy and Peaceful Christmas and looking forward to kicking ass in the New Year and bringing us all back Home
    and I will be voting YES for McGinns on the 4th

137. Ian Brotherhood

PS Tree of Liberty is the ‘official’ 25th name.

(All manner of bastards, auld, boring or otherwise, are most welcome.)

138. Lobeydosser

Sincere thanks to Stu and all the people on here who have given me such a great Indy community to feel part of. Its much appreciated. Merry Holidays to you all.  Can we please see how the wee ratlets are doing soon (bigger?) 🙂

139. Macart

@Ian Brotherhood

Hmmmm sounds wery, wery interesteeeng. Ah’ll check the old calendar but I might manage that wee shindig.

140. The Tree of Liberty

Ian Brotherhood, apart fae mae wings car sticker, yi’ ve  made mae my Christmas!

141. The Tree of Liberty

Too miny Drambuies.

142. Kate

Merry Christmas to REV & ALL here @ wings, the best site on the web for country roll on next year, till we get closer to our dream.

143. kininvie

@ian

Nah, he’s 26th – you missed me out 🙁

144. Ian Brotherhood

@kininvie –

Sorry mister. Couldn’t sleep, just got up to eat Santa’s mince pies, have a fly cuppa, and dived in here for quick update only to see your message.

I am truly sorry. Just checked, and you’re there right enough, second on the list! – can’t imagine how I missed you.

That’s a definite pint I owe you.

Have a braw time mister! Hoots!

145. X_Sticks

stonefaction

Welcome stonefaction, you’ve made the first step, put finger to keyboard and here you are! the rest is easynow, and you’re in good company here. Merry Xmas!
    @erchie

Congratulations Erchie! Now all we have to do is win the destiny of our country for your grand-daughter.

Dear Santa,

I would like my country back for Christmas 2014. I suspect the unionists would like you to boycott Scotland if we vote for independence, but I know that you will deliver to any country, just like DHL or Royal Mail. Politics don’t come into it.

Thank you Stuart Campbell. You make it real.

Thank you all for all of it,

Love and best wishes to you all.

Nine short months and we’re home.

Merry Christmas.

146. X_Sticks

@Ian Brotherhood

Eh’m up fer it dude. Spesh if Conan ‘n’ Bugger are going.

Promise not to cover you in  beer again guys.

Conan, ‘Collective not dictatorship’ – nailed it my man! Scotland.

Ian, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, you are a credit to your cause. Post referendum you could have me voting for the SSP (apart from the fact that I’m in Aberdeen and the best option I might get is Green) . Hope to see you in April. 

147. Steve Duncan

To Stu and every other WOSer, have a fantastic Christmas and even more brilliant 2014 – when all our dreams will come true.

@Ian Brotherhood – Can you add my name to the 4th April.
    cheers. 

148. Ian Brotherhood

@X_Sticks & Steve Duncan –

Cheers. Done.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.