Canis canem edit

Posted on November 10, 2013 by

toonthumb

45 to “Canis canem edit”

1. john king

What I don’t get is how people time and again vote for disgusting little men like Davidson, 
    do those good voters who turn out to vote for him see something we ordinary mortals dont? 
    its not even as if its a localized failure to see the nature of the person, just look at the creature the people of Dunfermline voted for for gods sake,
    Cara Pinnochio Hilton 

2. gordoz

Hey John:
    Its one of lifes great mysteries – Scotland and voting Labour post 2000 say  ?
    The very sad thing for observers is its all to do with control of the media (spin) and an idea of Britisheness and hate of the SNP that has brainwashed their supporters.
    If Scotland is your first and foremost interest, it makes no sense to vote Labour  anymore – none. It is clear they area a party of Westminster only – jobs for the boys (and girls).
    Crooks, Liars, mischiefmakers, cowards … But clever with it.
    2 Examples –
    Edinburgh = trams.
    Glasgow = rail link to airport.
    How can these be blamed on Scots Govt ? (answer – Journalism in Scotland lets them away with it).
    They’ve taken our kids to war and got away with that too.

But the time of reckoning is at hand – lies catch up with you in the end!

Oh – forgot to say I agree Davidson is a complete shitebag. Whats worse – he knows it and so do the voters ??

3. gordoz

Rev :
    Dont know haw I came across this (think I was checking something on G Galloway)- but might be worth a read – of some interest (about north of England and Scotland)
    http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2013/nov/10/independent-scotland-northern-england

4. Linda's Back

Some stories never go away
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2493691/Falkirk-vote-fixing-Cash-filled-envelope-truth-Labour-union-vote-riggers.html
    And from Sunday Times this morning

The investigation over McCluskey’s election comes as Ed Miliband faces growing pressure over the union’s activities in Falkirk. The Sunday Times today publishes emails that raise new questions over the affair. They suggest Unite activists did break party rules on recruitment. The emails also undermine McCluskey’s claims his officials were not involved in key witnesses withdrawing evidence from Labour’s inquiry into Falkirk. A constituent has also told The Sunday Times her husband was signed up to the Falkirk Labour party but “doesn’t know who paid or how it happened”.

The Information Commissioner’s Office is investigating if Unite breached data protection rules by using Labour party membership lists in Falkirk. Sir Stephen House, Scotland’s most senior police officer, has taken charge of reviewing a request to open a police inquiry into the Falkirk affair.
    Unite have denied any wrongdoing in Falkirk and would not comment on the latest allegations.

Read the emails which show Unite ‘broke Labour rules in Falkirk’
    1) Dropoff
    2) Membership issues
    3) Membership problem
    4) Preparing nasty stuff

5. mogabee

Powerful cartoon Chris.

As for Ian Davidson, he is a coward. All bullies are cowards. Once he knows that YES is going to win he’ll retire instead of being held to account for all his lies. They’ll all be checking their pension entitlements.

6. auslander

He was my MP before I left the UK, I can’t remember him as particularly beneficial for the area and I’m quite frankly astonished he is still there.

7. Another London Dividend

Sunday Post reports how MoD scuppered an oil bonanza in West coast of Scotland 

8. fairiefromtheearth

The only time you can say thank you for trident,according to thouse in the oil industry the biggest kept secret is their is 200 years of oil and gas off the north coast and west coast of Scotland.SO vote NO you dont want burdened by that pesky oil not worth the truble scots.

9. Andrew Morton

@Another London Dividend
    Is this a new Sunday Post story or are you referring to the previous one? If it is new, do you have a link?

10. fairiefromtheearth

its on youtube wait and i will find it.

11. Andrew Morton

Magnificent cartoon by the way. A picture is worth a thousand words.

A pity the Daily Record wouldn’t publish this, it would swing the referendum.

12. fairiefromtheearth

the ecanomics of an independant Scotland,type that into youtube a 45min talk into why we can be independant and succesfull.

13. call me dave

Can’t see the  oil story on the Sunday Post ?  Any links
    Herald on trident ,nothing new, but don’t try to bluff Scotland.
    http://archive.is/snb52

14. Murray McCallum

Mr Davidson will of course expect the Govan workers to thank him and his Westminster colleagues for saving their jobs. It’s all down to them, nothing whatsoever to do with Govan ability.

15. call me dave

Here’s the Guardian’s take on Galloway & ships.
    http://archive.is/bzx2y

16. Brian Powell

Linda’s back

Interesting on the MaCluskey story. I did see a story linking Alex Salmond to MaCluskey because he paid AS a compliment over his handling of Grangemouth.
    it was probably Alan Cochrane ranting.

Still I suspect, if things go badly for MaCluskey, there will be efforts to make out he  and AS are best pals, so Salmond will be guilty of something. Like the desperate attempts to link AS to Goodwin.

17. Craig P

I’m obviously missing something – could someone explain this post for the hard of thinking? Ta!

18. Papadocx

Well done Andrew Marr the propaganda machine for the English government gets 5 star billing today. British General and you having good laugh at our expense, thought BBC and the military were independent of politics! 

19. callum

O/T – interesting quotes from Gen Houghton on Marr this morning.  The topic of remembrancequickly turned to warships etc.  “It’s hardly like assets in Scotland will suddenly be behind enemy lines”.  “The decision to make ships in Scotland was a business decision … it makes sense .. best deep water facilities…”  

When pressed about if Scotland votes yes and will shipbuilding return to Portsmouth, “The probability is that ships will continue to be built on the Clyde..”

“nothing is being planned until we need to”  (i.e. after the vote)

(quotes from memory, but you get the gist)

20. FreddieThreepwood

@Craig P click on the pic old chap.

21. Conan_the_Librarian

Aut viam inveniam aut faciam.

The unionist way.

22. Dramfineday

Craig – click on the pic.

23. Bugger (the Panda)

Conan

Nae Latin and even less Greek but, without google, is that volte face?

24. truescot

BBC radio Scotland “Headlines” programme this morning mentioned how great a job George Galloway was doing on behalf of Better Together and saving the union.

So, as far as I can see here, somebody is telling “porkies”. According to some on this site his Scottish debates are going down the pan. Yet according to BBC Scotland he is an actual threat to the Better Together mob because his roadshow is so positive.

How can the two opinions be so far apart?. Or is our MSM and BBC Scotland so blind to an alternative opinion that it cant see any bias in his rants.

This is a quote from his “Just Say Naw” debate.

” I’m not afraid of Saltire-waving fanatics like you.”

And BBC Scotland think he is doing a great job.

25. Albalha

@truscot
    They were referring to K McKenna’s article in the Guardian, quoting from that. McKenna went to GG’s gig in Glasgow and says 500 went.

26. Bugger (the Panda)

Cona

Googled and tried to correct with an addendum  but timed out. I’ll find a way or make one is the official version but I much prefer my dog Latin version which, if we are being honest, is better written as engines in reverse at full speed.

27. ronnie anderson

iAN bROTHERHOOD, IN CASE YOU DID NT SEE MY OTHER POST                                                                                                                                                                                             menwithpens@hotmail.co.uk

28. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I’m obviously missing something – could someone explain this post for the hard of thinking? Ta!”

Help ma boab.

29. Ian Brotherhood

Ronnie – I got it, thanks, and have already dropped them a line. Will keep you informed if we arrange anything.

30. TheGreatBaldo

May I humbly suggest that if the mooted crowd funded ‘Wings Billboard’ campaign gets underway that this is should be the first poster and be sited as close as possible to the Govan and Scotstoun Yards ?

31. kendomacaroonbar

@theGreatBaldo
    I believe Albaha is speaking to the famous artist Clydebanksy as we speak ! 🙂

32. Les Wilson

Let us face it SLAB, is full of Davidson types, whether MP or MSP they all tout Westminster rules for (a) their personal benefit reasons as in the case of Davidson or (b) pursue a doctrine to support Westminster labour in England to help against the Tories, (c) They are terrified by the SNP and the YES campaign, because they know a very different SLAB will evolve after a YES vote.

They now fear that they have went too far apeasing Westminster even to the extent of removing the last ideals of the old labour party in Scotland but cannot now change their ways, they are in too deep.

They know despite their protestations, that they are rumbled in Scotland, hence all the dirty tricks, lies and manipulation they are pouring onto Scottish voters they are like cornered rats.

However, they overplayed their card and their anti Scottish, and shameful alliances with the Tories will mean their destruction at the polls. Expect ever more desperate tactics from all involved in the Westminster conspiracy against Scottish democracy. Their problem though is in what I said earlier, THE HAVE BEEN RUMBLED, and will pay a heavy price for their deceit.

33. gerry parker

Billboard campaign.
    How about a bus shelter campaign throughout Glasgow featuring the cartoon.

34. ronnie anderson

linda,s back, noo dont you be attendin any Labour TEA / COFFEE mornings/ / remember  ARA FATE  Thanks for the info any mair E Mails

35. ronnie anderson

Chris Cairns, Gd caption but you forgoat aboot the bayonets , we need blood n gore fur better impact but weil done awe the same

36. Doug Daniel

Brilliant cartoon, as always.

37. ronnie anderson

REV ,  Thought I was a member of men with pens Airdrie a poets group, thers naething poetic aboot me, jist a aulder yin weak o knee, bit no tae bow er,tae thaim thit thunks their higher thin me, their airs, n pairts tae be exposed aye Weil hit them riechk in the nose, their erses I ll feel the pain WIE NAE COMFY BENCHES O THEIR AIN

38. a supporter

They were referring to K McKenna’s article in the Guardian, quoting from that. McKenna went to GG’s gig in Glasgow and says 500 went. 
    McKenna’s article is excellent. He qualified and hammered GG for devoting half of his time to again raising the sectarian nonsense. Did the BBC mention that?
    Article at    http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2013/nov/10/independence-not-burning-scotland-boats?commentpage=1

39. a supporter

I should have written that McKenna’s article only had a few paras about Galloway’s disgrace. The rest was devoted to the disgrace of the ‘Scottish’ MPs concerning their anti-Scottish performance during the Grangemouth and Govan problems.

40. JLT

Taking a break while in the middle of decorating!

First …great cartoon. Love the way Davidson stands behind the other chap. Typical bully boy tactics!

Second. I wouldn’t underestimate the workers of the shipyards, or the people of Govan. I think the working classes of Scotland are slowly having their eyes opened as to what has happened; not only at the shipyards, but also at Grangemouth.
    In both cases (which have happened literally in days of one another), the BT mob, the Westminster mob and the Unions have come off staggeringly badly in both affairs. If anything, the Yes campaign hasn’t been damaged in the slightest, and the Scottish Government has come out of this very well. Extremely well in fact!
    If this is the beginning of companies ‘taking the p1$$’, then it is going to be very hard to defend the stance of ‘we are only stronger, and better off, when we are in a United Kingdom’.
    The people are becoming aware; even those who do not follow politics. A few more episodes like this, and I believe that many folk will turn not only their backs on Labour, but on the UK also. People are beginning to realise that maybe Independence DOES offer stability after all!

41. Bugger (the Panda)

I am having a great time on the Guardian knocking nails into their big black cars.

Easy peasy, mind you I have had one comment deleted already. I bet it was the one where I took one troll to task about Willie Wolfe and the SNP anti RC bias, well maybe but comments are all over the place and difficult to follow

42. HandandShrimp

Quite like Kevin’s piece and I think he nails the Better Together dilemma perfectly. There is nothing that Davidson would not sacrifice in Scotland to preserve the Union. He could turn the country over to desolation and call it a good thing if a Union flag flew over it. Better Together are fond of saying they are proud Scots. Yes supporters do not even need to think for a passing moment that it necessary to say that. Better Together people like Carmichael and Davidson say they are proud Scots and immediately look for ways in which to ensure the country is crippled. Is that the action of patriots? Look at their deeds not their words. 

43. lumilumi

Brilliant cartoon, Chris, and quite chilling, too. This is what “Better Together” is all about.

44. David

Hey Rev, CraigP at 9:59 had a valid question, and your “Help ma boab” at 10:53 is not good enough as a reply. 

What you ought to have is a line of text under the cartoon, at the top of the article, to more easily indicate that the cartoon is incomplete, and is only seen fully when it is clicked on. 

Please remember that civility costs nothing. Showing bad manners puts people off and is counter-productive, and sometimes you are guilty of this. 

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.