Not So Octopus

Posted on April 09, 2026 by

Alert readers will have noticed something of a minor furore in recent days around a boneheaded Scottish Greens candidate (as if there were any other kind) calling for the complete abolition of prisons.

So far Kate Nevens – who on the latest polling has a very reasonable chance of being elected on the list – has resisted calls to step down, which is probably for the best as, incredibly, her replacement would be even worse.

With the implosion of Your Party concentrating the nutter vote firmly in Green hands, the next term of the Scottish Parliament is set to feature the worst array of MSPs in Holyrood’s history, with almost everyone in the SNP with any sort of ability or experience resigning to be replaced by hyper-obedient young party drones, while the opposition are mostly putting forward the same old faces who’ve been such utter failures for the last 20 years.

It’s a grim prospect, but we do have a solution to propose.

No, wait, hear us out. The current election will usher in dozens of useless candidates nobody likes, largely by default for want of any better alternatives. We know nothing about most of these people. The Greens may get two list MSPs per region, but see what you can find out about most of their second-placed list candidates – it’s nothing.

Here, for example, is the entirety of the Greens’ web page for their #2 list candidate in Central And Lothians West, Claire Williams.

And here’s pretty much everything we could find out about her:

As far as we can tell she has no personal site and no social media presence except a Facebook page, which mostly contains notifications about upcoming roadworks.

This is the most substantive or personal statement we’ve been able to find from Cllr Williams on any subject:

Good luck with your informed voting decision. We’re using Cllr Williams purely as a typical example of a list candidate, not picking on her particularly, because there’s nothing to pick on, other than the basic assumption that she supports all the repulsive policies of her party in general.

We’re about to elect a whole herd of pigs in pokes without the slightest notion whether any of them might be capable MSPs. (And let’s face it, the odds are rotten.) If we had a Squid Game parliament we’d at least know that they were good at SOMETHING.

The 129 survivors would have demonstrated intelligence, co-operation, adaptability and strength under pressure – all fine traits for anyone, let alone politicians, a job for which there are no qualifications. (Indeed, most of the things that qualify someone as a good and useful human being, like the ability to think for yourself, are an active hindrance in politics.)

And it’s not a brute-force contest either. To win at Squid Game requires a wide and diverse range of skills, as well as the bravery to enter in the first place. You’d know your representatives REALLY wanted that seat, not just because they lacked the talent to get any other job. (There’d be no financial prize other than their normal wages, of course.)

We already know that Squid Game is box-office, compared to the current election which most people already desperately wish would just be over. Voters would actually care. Put it on pay-per-view and you could generate many millions of pounds for hard-pressed public services, as well as improving the quality of your public servants a thousand-fold.

There are no downsides. Convince us we’re wrong.

0 to “Not So Octopus”

1. duncanio says:

A Parliament of the Never-Will-Bes awaits us on 8th May.

• Sven says:

Duncanio @ 14.04.

With a few “Has Beens” and “Never Was” clingons still trousering the copious public funds on offer.

2. Liza Laine says:

“the same old faces” – same old faeces surely?

As for the low profile of Claire Williams on social media, maybe that’s a good thing? I’d like to think she has a meaningful and rewarding life far away from the twitosphere bubble. Or she’s realised that’s a total waste of time. Though I accept this may well be a step too far.

3. Socrates MacSporran says:

CAMPBELL I have been a keen reader of your excellent site and a firm supporter of you since before the 2014 Referendum. I hold you in high regard.

However, I must take exception with your blanket slander of all Scottish Green Party candidates as “boneheaded”.

One of my grandsons is a List candidate for that party – ok, so far down that list, he has no chance of being elected to Holyrood. However, boneheaded he aint.

I find his politics strange, but, he’s no daft.

Consider yourself telt.

• GM says:

If he is in the Greens he is a cunt.

4. Alf Baird says:

The obvious solution is to vote for the Alliance to Liberate Scotland Party on the Regional list:

link to barrheadboy.com

5. 100%Yes says:

Who ever get elected in may to Holyrood, doesn’t need any IQ test the job doesn’t require you to even have an education.

All you have to do is turn up when ever you want and you’ll get paid regardless, the job is guaranteed for 5yrs.

6. Heather McLean says:

Heaven help us all! Scotland is well and truly screwed! Just when you think things couldn’t get any worse they do – the prospect of any of these wired to the moon batshit crazy lunatic Green candidates getting elected and making decisions or passing laws in Scotland should fill us all with dread
    Beam me up Scotty!

7. Northcode says:

Squid Game and the Scottish Parliamentary elections have at least one thing in common – they are both works of fiction… and of the two Squid Game is the more believable.

Glibness aside, the glaringly obvious solution, as Alf Baird says, is to vote for the Alliance to Liberate Scotland Party on the Regional list.

And if that option isn’t available to liberty-seeking Scots then better that they don’t vote at all.

However, it would be a massive kick tae Westminster’s teeth – aye, and tae the teeth of its creature, the SNP – if the Scots turned out en masse and gave their vote to an ALS candidate.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,893 Posts, 1,239,223 Comments

• GM on Not So Octopus: “If he is in the Greens he is a cunt.Apr 9, 15:05
    • Northcode on Not So Octopus: “Squid Game and the Scottish Parliamentary elections have at least one thing in common – they are both works of…Apr 9, 14:57
    • agentx on The quality of mercy: “Time to cheer – from midnight last night Sturgeon is no longer an MSP.Apr 9, 14:56
    • Heather McLean on Not So Octopus: “Heaven help us all! Scotland is well and truly screwed! Just when you think things couldn’t get any worse they…Apr 9, 14:42
    • 100%Yes on Not So Octopus: “Who ever get elected in may to Holyrood, doesn’t need any IQ test the job doesn’t require you to even…Apr 9, 14:41
    • Alf Baird on Not So Octopus: “The obvious solution is to vote for the Alliance to Liberate Scotland Party on the Regional list: https://www.barrheadboy.com/alliance-to-liberate-scotland-the-power-is-in-your-hands/Apr 9, 14:31
    • Sven on Not So Octopus: “Duncanio @ 14.04. With a few “Has Beens” and “Never Was” clingons still trousering the copious public funds on offer.Apr 9, 14:25
    • Socrates MacSporran on Not So Octopus: “CAMPBELL I have been a keen reader of your excellent site and a firm supporter of you since before the…Apr 9, 14:22
    • Geri on The quality of mercy: “If that happened Independence would be a certainty. Scotland shouldn’t be forced into a coalition of fucking dregs & rejects.Apr 9, 14:21
    • Liza Laine on Not So Octopus: ““the same old faces” – same old faeces surely? As for the low profile of Claire Williams on social media,…Apr 9, 14:17
    • Geri on The quality of mercy: “& what Western propaganda story teller told you they were dictators? Both are democracies. With elections. I think they may…Apr 9, 14:14
    • duncanio on Not So Octopus: “A Parliament of the Never-Will-Bes awaits us on 8th May.Apr 9, 14:04
    • Geri on The quality of mercy: “It’s all pantomime. He’s just a puppet to distract the plebs until the organ grinders rearm & think of their…Apr 9, 14:00
    • Mark Beggan on The quality of mercy: “Trump Derangement Syndrome.Apr 9, 13:43
    • Captain Caveman on The quality of mercy: “Reform could conceivably combine forces with the Tories (the only other right wing party) but none of the others -…Apr 9, 13:27
    • Cynicus on The quality of mercy: “My thanks, Fearghas, for bringing Robert Carver to our notice. Pace James MacMillan et al. , Robert Carver remains our…Apr 9, 13:06
    • Sven on The quality of mercy: “Stevie @ 11.46. If only. Meantime, ” Both votes SNP”, the anthem echoes on from Mr Swiney and others.Apr 9, 12:39
    • Stevie on The quality of mercy: “I’m moving slowly to the conclusion that the SNP will be in opposition as Labour, Libs, Greens and Reform band…Apr 9, 11:46
    • auld highlander on The quality of mercy: “www.youtube.com/watch?v=x-7faZAW20kApr 9, 11:36
    • Northcode on The quality of mercy: “Trump is the bloated, unpleasant face of US neocolonialism… a face that often adopts expressions not unlike those of Winston…Apr 9, 11:17
    • Aidan on The quality of mercy: “Oh so it’s complete deflection and distraction, got you. Anyway I thought you liked dictators?Apr 9, 10:57
    • Cynicus on The quality of mercy: “When informed that the notoriously uncommunicative president, Calvin Coolidge had died, Dorothy Parker famously remarked, “How could they tell? Would…Apr 9, 10:34
    • Geri on The quality of mercy: “Let me help you… I think the jist of it is that Tory thieving barstewards have taken campaigning donations from…Apr 9, 10:01
    • diabloandco on The quality of mercy: “If any of you know how to link the song Scotland the Free , sung by Eden Power to this…Apr 9, 08:08
    • Aidan on The quality of mercy: “You addressed the comment to me but I’ve no idea what it’s trying to say sorry.Apr 9, 06:12
    • Mark Beggan on The quality of mercy: “If no-one else is going to say it then I will. Thankyou Police Scotland for protecting the Scottish people from…Apr 9, 00:33
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The quality of mercy: “A lovely poignant 16th Century Scottish song — REMEMBER ME MY DEIR (Amarcord – Harmonia Mundi) https://gobha-uisge.blogspot.com/2021/05/remember-me-my-deir-scottish-16th.htmlApr 8, 21:09
    • Geri on The quality of mercy: ““Best to await the outcome of their performance before making assumptions.” Best to just have a referendum eh? Y’know, what…Apr 8, 20:52
    • Geri on The quality of mercy: “Cave dweller “The usual disingenuous, ill informed drivel from you.” Google AI – dickhead. Why don’t you go get a…Apr 8, 20:39
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The quality of mercy: “MUSICK FYNE: JAMES IV, ROBERT CARVER « Thirteen years into the sixteenth century, King James, the fourth Stewart of that…Apr 8, 20:20