The Wee Black Book

Posted on March 24, 2016 by

Scotland isn’t independent today.

wb2b

Let’s not get fooled again.

———————————————————————————————————-

Download mirrors to save server strain. Please consider using one of them first:

Mirror 1

Mirror 2

The Wee Black Book as a website

12 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 24 03 16 01:18

It’s Always Blackest Before The Dawn | A Wilderness of Peace

2. 24 03 16 01:43

The Wee Black Book | Speymouth

3. 24 03 16 08:48

Today would have been our Independence Day… | Nigel's Mountains and Modelling.

4. 24 03 16 09:00

Schrödinger’s Lion | A Wilderness of Peace

5. 24 03 16 09:13

Another Book For You | laidbackviews

6. 24 03 16 09:46

The Wee Black Book – SNP Tarbert Branch

7. 26 03 16 09:02

Unindependence Day | A Wilderness of Peace

8. 27 03 16 23:06

553 Days Later – Stateless with Books of Many Colours | 50 Days of Yes

9. 24 06 16 15:43

People of Scotland, it’s time to choose: one Union or the other? | The Science of Independence

10. 17 07 16 19:14

I’m Back – My Flower of Scotland

11. 13 12 16 18:37

The colour of the Earth: A cancer story | My Little Underground

12. 19 09 22 14:28

Mourning on the 19th of September | A Wilderness of Peace

303 to “The Wee Black Book”

1. Triangular Ears

Yaas. Been waiting for this!

2. Ruglonian

😮

3. Greg Drysdale

Game on! 😀

4. Cactus

I love Scotland XXX

5. Marcia

Thank you for producing the booklet. It should be sent to all and sundry.

6. Flower of Scotland

Very excited!

7. ScottishPsyche

Glad I waited up.

I’m going to print this in large print for the one remaining Yoon in the family.

8. andrew parrott

Happy to help with distribution as with the WBB

Hoping the print run is just as big as the WBB

9. Gavin Greig

Is the “K” from CMYK?

10. Craig Sheridan

Brilliant. Let’s get this shared far and wide.

11. Yesitis

Thank you so much for this, Wings.

I`m going to get stuck in tomorrow, as I really don`t want to have my blood pressure soar through the roof before bed.

Quick browse though, and it looks amazing. Depressing, but amazing.

12. Jock campbell

There’s always tomorrow…

13. GaryR

Nice One Rev!

14. Craig Sheridan

Unless my wifi is playing up, I think another mirror or 2 may be required 🙂

15. heedtracker

What a parade of bare faced lying crooks. Better Together Blair MadDougal at least admits he’s a just a scaremongering conman and he thinks it worked. Next time.

16. Triangular Ears

Just read the whole thing. Excellent. I think it’s pitched just right, and just the right length.

17. Onwards

What a missed opportunity it was.
    One of the main things lost is the right to walk that bit taller as a real nation state.
    To know that Scotland’s future is in Scotland’s hands, not a bunch of braying Tories in Westminster.

I think we will get another chance soon enough through.
    Most practical first step is another SNP majority, then we can relax a bit until the time is right.

18. Iain More

Ta!

19. X_Sticks

Thanks to you Rev Stu and to all of the backroom team too.

20. Grouse Beater

They promised us a land flowing with milk and honey if we voted to stay with them, and then laughed at us for believing we could have such a place and live in it.

21. ArtyHetty

Looks like a gem. Onwards and upwards as they say, the people will not be fooled again.

22. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Unless my wifi is playing up, I think another mirror or 2 may be required”

My iPad was grumpy about it, but Mirror 2 worked. I’ve also now uploaded the slightly lower-res version (you should barely notice) which is 40% or so smaller in file size.

23. Liz g

Oh good grief to see it all together like that……
    Thanks Rev.

24. Graf Midgehunter

Downloaded quick and had a rapid read through – it’s great..!

“Wee Blacky” isn’t something the beeb/corporate media can stop, it’s going past them and straight to the folk on the streets.

Yes or No, everyone should get a copy. 🙂

25. dakk

I’m sure it will be a bitter sweet experience reading it, but imperative to do so.

My thanks go out to you Stuart and all who contributed .

This will be another step forward and fillip in our fight for freedom from the great liars, thieves and war criminals of Westminster, and their ‘Scottish’ agents.

26. carjamtic

Shared to FB no picture,says http://www.podgamer. But on clicking it,the WBB,appears,magic :-))

Nice one Rev. 🙂

27. Craig Sheridan

Loving the quote at the end from snivelling Michael Gove, I hope he sees it 🙂

28. scotsbob

Thanks for all the work you have done on this Stu.

I HOPE EVERYONE IS FLYING THEIR SALTIRES TODAY

29. CmonIndy

Read it. A powerful compilation of the Better Together lies. Ready to distribute hard copies. If soft Nos can be persuaded to read it can’t belive a fair proportion won’t see the light. Bravo.

30. west_lothian_questioner

thank you

31. Morag

It’s very good. I can see the reasoning behind the timing, but I also wonder just how it fits with the current political campaign.

Maybe there’s no right time for something like this, failing indyref2, and we just have to go with it.

A few for a street stall would be nice.

32. Taranaich

God damn it, Rev. As soon as I saw the sombre black, all those emotions erupted again. Read through it all, my eyes hot and distorted by tears.

The Unionist parties are fond of saying they won the referendum, yet time and time again it’s the Yes campaign, the SNP, the independence movement who are forced to “justify” themselves after the oil crash, after GERS, after everything. They completely abdicate any responsibility to prove to Scots that they made the right choice.

All the crowing in the media, all the wiped brows, all the feigned concern that Scots “dodged a bullet”: every single one of us must spread this document far and wide. Those 1.6 million Yes voters, and the thousands who say they would have voted Yes if they knew what they knew now, are what keep me going.

I’m not going through the 19th of September ever again.

33. Thepnr

Cheers Rev

Maybe a copy of this will finally get my No voting Mother in Law to see the light and move over to the Yes side. You can but try.

34. Cactus

Oh that’s gooood, liking the current masthead too.. Mr J. Cash says YES!

35. KT

Fantastic publication; great chronology, research and presentation.

As was the cry with the Wee Blue Book, let’s get these Wee Black Books out there – buses, libraries, canteens, barber shops, Nail-bars.

We’ve still got work to do – until the job is done.

36. Doug Daniel

I challenge any Yes voter to read this and not get immensely pissed off. And I do hope that seeing it all presented together like this, it can maybe get through to those who didn’t believe us in September 2014, and still refuse to open their eyes to the reality today.

It’d be excellent if this could maybe focus the minds of those activists who have become inactivists, and get them out chapping doors again…

37. AuldGranny

More than happy to chuck in some good Scots pounds towards having this printed.
    And to pech all round the area distributing it 🙂

38. Alastair Naughton

Wow! Fantastic work!! Thanks for this!

39. yesindyref2

Most excellent.

Don’t forget to put the word around in all the media people can post in, even if just to suggest searching for the “Wee Black Book”.

Today isn’t our day, today is the day NO voters tell us what we got, how good the UK is, how we benefitted, how wnoderful, fair and equal it all is, as a result of the NO vote. Today us not the day WE have to justify our vote, we lost, they won.

Today is their day, I hope we let them enjoy it. We will, won’t we?

40. call me dave

Excellent stuff….a tour de force. Thank you!

Saltire on car ready for tomorrow.

41. Taranaich

Rev, is it alright if I host a mirror on my blog? I get the impression this is going to be an extremely popular download.

42. K1

Just brilliant, simple concise and accurate.

I remember reading that bastard McDougal admitting that they wouldn’t have won without the scaremongering, we knew that then, that was the fury that erupted in ma heart on the morning of the 19th. They frightened our elders and told them they wouldn’t get their pensions if they voted yes. They did this to people at the polling stations and down telephone lines, Labour party activists did this.

I wanted them fucking destroyed, we’re getting there…never again will these political gangsters ever be in power in Scotland again.

SNP x 2 EU in.

43. Still Positive.

Had a quick skim through – will read properly tomorrow.

Thanks Rev and team for all your hard work.

To think most of us knew this would happen makes today rather bitter-sweet.

Ah, what could have been. I, too, couldn’t do another 19th September.

Onwards and upwards towards a better nation.

SNP x 2 and EU in.

PS Also loved the quote at the end!

44. Ghillie

Scotland is not Independent today…

But we are close,so very close!

My heart was broken, hardened with resolve and now, as ever before, soars with hope and faith in the people of Scotland!

Thank you Rev.

45. Ghillie

PS We might have a new Winger join us today.

Looking out for you M = )

46. yesindyref2

Could I dare to suggest that today of all days, no Independence poster bothers to defend Independence, black holes, oil revenues, but goes thoroughly on the attack in whatever media they post in regularly?

Please, pretty please?

This really is the day NO voters should tell us what we got.

It stinks.

47. K1

Thank you Stu and the team for this…great work, your efforts are gratefully appreciated. The dream will never die…richt enough.

48. Chic McGregor

Great!

OK, its negative, but this is a post referendum scenario not a pre indyref2 one – yet. The No counts need to be shown how they have been duped and what they have, albeit probably naively, done.

A lot of them are probably squirming anyway, looking for that bucket of sand to stick their head in.

Time for the “Don’t Blame Me I Voted Yes” T-shirts?

49. Onwards

Morag says:
    24 March, 2016 at 12:42 am
    It’s very good. I can see the reasoning behind the timing, but I also wonder just how it fits with the current political campaign.

Maybe there’s no right time for something like this, failing indyref2, and we just have to go with it.

A few for a street stall would be nice.
    ————

Yeah, I was thinking that too.
    It’s good stuff, but maybe it works better as an online resource to counter any of the cringers and gloaters at this time.
    Is there going to be a regular webpage version ?

Just wondering if it works as election material ?
    Or too depressing handing out wee black books ?
    Getting a pro-indy majority is the priority at this time, and that means SNP for the constituencies at the very least.

And the EU referendum coming up..There will be another project fear and could the irony of the final Michael Gove quote be lost on some ?

50. Craig Sheridan

If we have learned anything from the last campaign, it’s that we should be unashamedly using negative as well as positive messaging which covers All of the truth. Anything else and we are campaigning with one hand tied behind our backs.

51. ClanDonald

Wow, you’ve been busy, Rev, amazing job, just perfect, thank you, don’t know what we’d do without you. What an impact this is going to make!

I bet poor wee Kev Average will be up all night wondering how he’s going to make a new graph to counter all these pesky facts.

52. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Rev, is it alright if I host a mirror on my blog?”

Shouldn’t even need to ask, man. Share and share, everywhere and anywhere. Anything that takes the load off our servers and gets Wee Black in front of more eyeballs is good news 🙂

53. chasanderson200

No sleep tonight then….yesss!!

54. Ghillie

That is a formidable ‘Wee’ book!!

Always said they would rue the day!

Here we go!!

55. ben madigan

downloaded and skimmed through

Congratulations Rev – great format, clear message, a litany of deceit and lies

I hope it will stir some NO voters to regret, shame and maybe even anger at having been taken in.

Sad to read on a day with thoughts of what might have been.

56. yesindyref2

Didn’t want to spam the Herald so I’ve done 2 or 3 threads (no URL), so if any other Herald poster wants to happen to mention The Wee Black Book, I’m off to my pit, duty and pleasure done!

I certainly don’t think there’s any harm at all in a negative campaign at this time, there’s no Ref announced, and there won’t be one for at least 6 months 🙂

57. JaMur

Today should have been the rebirth of oor wee Alba.
    Instead its just another day in the union.

Let the truth be told.

Cheers Rev.

Now let’s get it oot and aboot!

58. Gillz

Excellent job, Stuart, though quite hard to keep the blood pressure in check when reading through it all!! None of the No voters I know ever gave me a decent reason for voting that way…most probably scared, a few just saying, “I have my reasons” (while totally trolling me on my freely-given reasons for voting Yes, I have to add) I want to share this far and wide, but don’t feel any of those closed-minded sorts would read anything I share on social media…are there any plans to produce a shiny Wee Blue Book-style hard-copy? I, for one, would happily pay a decent price for quite a few copies to post (possibly anonymously!) to several friends and relations. Thanks for all you do…never give up, hope conquers all 🙂

59. Suzanne

Thank you thank you thank you.

Grim reading but this is what’s needed.

60. Taranaich

Shouldn’t even need to ask, man. Share and share, everywhere and anywhere. Anything that takes the load off our servers and gets Wee Black in front of more eyeballs is good news 🙂

I had a feeling you’d say that, but I’m cripplingly polite all the same (it was hammered into me in college/uni to always ask permission for things).

61. theMadMurph

Stu,

In the Pensions section, for women, you have 6 weeks instead of 6 years! When talking about how long they will be able to claim the pension.

I don’t want any errors in my printed edition!! 🙂

62. mr thms

#theMadMurph @ 2:33 am…

That reminds me…

The Scottish Government’s Future Scotland white paper mentions their support for the timetable for the change in the pension age for BOTH men and women from 66 to 67. I thought I might mention this since some supporters of dependence are misinterpreting that section as support by the Scottish Government for the Westminster Government’s timetable for the change in the pension age for women from 60 to 66.

63. Lynne

Hoped that’s what it would be! Shared on Twitter & Facebook – just jealous to be (mainly) English in England with no Wings & little chance of escape from multicoloured Tories.

64. yesindyref2

@mr thms
    Not quite. The SG accepted the move to 66, but about the move to 67 what the White Paper does say is this:

In an independent Scotland, this Scottish Government will reserve judgement on the increase to 67 between 2026 and 2028. We propose that an Independent Commission on the State Pension Age is established and tasked with considering the appropriate rate of increase of the State Pension Age for Scotland over the long term. This Government plans that the Commission will report to parliament within the first two years of independence with a view to its recommendations being implemented promptly thereafter.

65. Takeourblueback

Ach did you have to end it with a picture of a turnip? I hate turnips! 🙂

Thanks Stu, this is gonna be useful as I head into the Leadership Debate audience tonight!

66. gus1940

I’ve just gone thru the Herald web site scattering comments urging readers to google ‘Wee Black Book’.

However, I discovered that if I typed identical comments each time although I got a ‘comment accepted ‘ message the comment did not appear.

To get comments to appear on several news items I had to change the format of the message each time.

I suspect that Gardham’s wee censor pals will take exception to what I have done.

67. Clootie

Rev

Good morning and Thank you. What timing!

68. Ken500

Cameron lying again. He is a complete and utter disgrace. Any deficit in Scotland is caused by Westminster policies. Since 2011 Osbourne has been taxing Scottish Oil sector 60/80% when Oil prices had fallen 75%, costing thousands in Scotland and listing Scotland £4Billion a year – £20Billion.

Westminster rule costs Scotland £13Billion a year.

Scotland pays £4Billion on debt repayments on money it doesn’t borrow or spend. Can’t put a tax on ‘loss leading’ cheap alcohol – £1Billion, Trident/illegal wars £1Billion, Lost £4Billion a year in Oil revenues. Loses £3Billion? In tax evasion. Whisky companies tax evade and pay no tax. HMRC not fit for purpose. UK tax Laws are not enforced by Westminster. = £13Billion.

Scotland raises £54Billion. Pro Rata more without the Oil revenues (£4Billion lost because of Westminster policies.) = £58Billion more than enough for all Scotland expenditure. Scotland would be in surplus.

The UK raises £650 in taxes Take away £55Billion = £595 Divide by 11 (rest of UK 11/12) = £54Billion. The rest of the U.K borrows £95Billion? more. The deficit. Osbourne’s HS2 £70Billion (x double) Hinkley Nuclear £25Billion (x double) = £95Billion. A total waste of time and money, which could be better spent. Scotland pays repayments on the debt which Osbourne is creating, £170Billion for Trident. Osbourne is sanctioning the vulnerable and starving them to death.

Scotland should have had a £300Billion Oil fund, if not for Westminster secrecy and lies. Thatcher and the McCrone Report. ‘This must be kept secret’, written in the Treasury documents. Westminster duplicitous lies. Westminster have done nothing but raid Scottish finances forever.

Cameron is a contemptible liar. A disgrace. Roll on May 2016/17.

69. Ken500

YES YES YES the WEE BLACK BOOK

Just what is needed for the Campaign. Holyrood/EU. Get them out quickly. They can be distributed at the same time as campaign leaflets. NOW. Another run to do. ?

70. Ken500

@ ? – ?

71. Ken500

The smiley faces aren’t working. Que – ?

72. Ken500

‘No rest for the wicked’?

Cameron is off to Lanzarote on holiday, to the wife’s family (Astor) holiday pad.

73. theMadMurph

@mr thms

You are right. The white paper did advocate the pension at 67, but it was stated (due to Scotland’s early mortality) there was no need to follow the UK direction of travel towards 70 & beyond!

74. theMadMurph

@yesindyref2,

ah good man! I knew there was something about it.

75. rongorongo

Devastating to see it all compiled together like this. Thanks!

The book has great coverage of promises that never materialized and fears which proved baseless. It misses out on the unintended positive outcomes: growing distrust of MSM, support and political success for the SNP, growth of the idea that of “fake it to you make it” independence, and so on. Maybe those are stories for a future, sunnier WBB.

76. Nikkii

I have a little list of letterboxes I want to put this through for sure

77. Jack Collatin

This IS our Independence Day. A tremendous piece of work, Stu and the Team.

Tonight courtesy of BBC Labour’s Communications Wing, we’ll get the litany of lies and threats so meticulously documented in your excellent Social Document trotted out by Perfidious Tories of all hues.

Better Together reprised. Traitors’ Gate, 2016.

£15 billion Black Hole, Jobs saved, can’t keep the pound,blah de blah; the chair will re-run the September 2014 No Campaign, rather than attempt and therefore fail miserably, to justify the harsh reality of Scotland 2016, a colony suppressed by a Right Wing ‘foreign’ Government, aided and abetted by its more than willing Fifth Column Up Here.

We shall be a Nation again, but to our timetable, not BBC Londonshire’s.

My eternal thanks for this shocking and comprehensive exposure of the lies, threats and intimidation by our ScotsButProud Parcel of Rogues in our nation.

Project Fear won’t work the next time. WE are in no hurry.

78. Brian McHugh

Hope there is a deal with a printers, that we can contact directly and order print copies from?

79. Almannysbunnet

A thousand thanks! If you’re a No and read this and are still a NO then there no hope you.

We won’t get fooled again.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rtHshBWFRyg

The Wings fundraiser has only 8 days left. What about a last big push for the Rev.

Rev, if there was a perk of a hard copy of the wee black book, even a promise of one at a future date, I’m sure there would be a surge of dosh sloshing your way.

80. Ally Kerr

This needs to be shouted from the rooftops, quite literally, as it’s the only way it’s going to reach the ears of those who need to hear it, and who otherwise only hear what the MSM feeds them. Have you thought about billboards? I’m not joking!

81. Croompenstein

The Yoons will hit Def-Con 3 today but we have our own patriot missile in the WBB to shoot them down.

Well done Stu worth every penny…

82. Effijy

Congratulations and well done Rev.

Pay day is coming again and we all must chip in more to fund the
    print and distribution of this factual reflection of the facts!

The unionist Pedigree Chump will dig himself a hole now!

O/T I listened to EBC Radio’s Jeremy Vine show yesterday.
    He was starry eyed about the anniversary of the Irish Easter Rising. Poetry reading, the people overcoming the aggressor,
    how we must remember and respect the gallant battle.

I agree, but he was the gentle giant who attacked Nicola Sturgeon on air and accused her directly for attracting and encouraging
    internet Trolls and Hooligans??

Wasn’t it the case that the 2 country’s causes were the same. Both wanted to stop the abuse of their nations resources, and their people, by the Westminster aggressors who were willing to
    commit the murder of men women and children to suppress them.

83. Stoker

Well done, Rev, and a big thank you!
    I knew there had to be something going on behind all those slow news day excuses you kept spouting. And there was me thinking that chappie’ getting a bit fond of the skiving. Proving yet again that things are rarely ever what they seem on WOS. Thank you!

84. Fairliered

Thanks Rev.
    Just donated another tenner. Worth every penny.

85. Macandroid

Great stuff.

Although I’m only at p. 50 I’m already ready to kill anyone I meet who lied to us about a the result of voting YES. Bastards sold our country to a load of frighteningly evil scheming Tories.

86. Robin Barclay

I just hope that this is the publication that can convert my wife from a No to a Yes.
    I’m the last person she will listen to on the subject. Her reasoning before was the currency question plus I think she would rather listen to her old man (what he says is gospel apparently)
    The last time we spoke about politics, she indicated that she thinks we should stay in the EU (made my day). Decided not to ask her if she would vote for Indy if Scotland was dragged out by our neighbours doon sooth.
    Mostly, she just wanted an easy to read book (which this is) and I will be printing it off and asking her to read.

Many thanks Stu, hopefully this is the catalyst I’ve been looking for.

87. winifred mccartney

Tears are flowing -why were we taken in by all the lies-thank you for all you do – here’s to the TARTAN POUND and SCOTLAND-not just a word, a nation,a people,a history and a journey to INDEPENDENCE.

88. X_Sticks

Sorry this is sort of O/T but another read that is worth sharing widely.

From John Pilger:

“How many people are aware that a world war has begun? At present, it is a war of propaganda, of lies and distraction, but this can change instantaneously with the first mistaken order, the first missile.”

https://t.co/WVfJXJ7PFu

89. Dorothy Devine

I’m not sure if I should be happy at this collated bunch of evil lying or just desperately sad that so many were either duped into believing them or so comfortably off as to be more concerned that their house price might fall were YES to win than with the country they leave the children and grandchildren of Scotland.

But I am more than willing to join the other “peching”granny to deliver this Wee Black Book.

90. Gighagirl

It’s my birthday and I’ll cry if I want to.
    I hit 50 today – and what a party there would have been.
    Later, I’ll raise a glass to the future when we WILL be free.

91. Ken500

The difference in the Irish – Scottish situation. Universal Suffrage 1928.

In Ireland UK lands were broken for Irish Unionist votes in Westminster.

NI gets funding from Westminster at Norwegian level. Totally subsidised 50% to Norwegian levels. That’s where Scottish Oil revenues went to illegal bigotry and sectarian apartheid State for Unionist votes in Westminster.

NI (2million) raises £28Billion in taxes + £14Billion (50%) from Westminster = £42Billion

Norway (5million) raises £80Billion in taxes + Oil Fund

Eg If Scotland has comparative funding £58Billion + (50%) £29Billion = £87Billion

Scotland raises £54Billion (+ £4Billion Oil revenues prevented by UK illegal tax regime) = £58Billion. A £300Billion Oil Fund has be taken secretly and illegally from Scotland wasted and squander by Westminster. Illegal wars, banking fraud and tax evasion.

92. ClanDonald

Tell you what else, folks, a lot of the more trivial project fear scare stories, like we won’t get Dr Who in an indepentent Scotland, are going to come across as pretty pathetic now in the context of what the Wee Black Book has exposed as the actual consequences of a no vote.

A vague and unconfirmed threat of losing Dr Who versus the likelihood I won’t get a pension till I’m dead? Hmm, which shall I choose?

I know of someone who voted no because we were going to keep the queen (as opposed to keeping the queen with a no vote…??) Bet they are feeling well conned now.

93. Jdman

Happy birthday Gighagirl, as it happens im sixty today, let’s celebrate.

94. Dorothy Devine

Dear Lord ! Has anyone visited the Guardian today?

I despair of the ignorance displayed above and below the line.

95. mealer

Good work,Rev.Punchy.

The majority of under 55s voted Yes.A large majority of Scottish children are growing up in a household with at least one independence supporter.The referendum changed Scotland utterly.It was a big leap forward towards independence.

96. gerry.parker

John,
    60?, Ach you’re just a lad then.

Welcome back, hope the holiday did you and Irene good.

97. JLT

Well done, Stuart!

I always hoped that you and your team would produce something like the ‘Wee Black Book’. And the thing is …while we are tied to Westminster, the machinations of that place will continue to grind on …giving you even more ammunition.

I will have a damn good read of this as I have my breakfast, but somehow …I know I will hit a chapter where there will be much spluttering into coffee and Alpen as I am reminded of how we were deceived; what was said …and who actually said it!

Well done again!

98. X_Sticks

@Jdman

Happy birthday to you John. Sorry I won’t see you and Irene on Saturday, but I’ll raise a glass to (and for)you then 😉

99. galamcennalath

Superb. Timing is perfect. Not simply because of what today might have been, but also with wider events.

Possibly the most critical Holyrood election looms and the WBLackB is a perfect reminder to all of what the Union and its running dogs are capable of. They played all No voters for fools. We need as many as possible of them to realise this!

Also, IndyrRef2 campaigning hasn’t begun, so now is the time to dissect IR1 pointing out the lies and deceit to decommission ammo to prevent future use!

100. Nana

Thank you Rev for all your hard work. Read the wee black book late last night, how I managed to get any sleep is a wonder.

@X_sticks check out Failure of communication thread, I posted re J Pilger articles and other links. Have done so many times. Very troubling where the world leaders are heading.

101. Jdman

Not back yet Gerry, we’re just off out in the hire car for our last day here, as it happens it would seem as if all the demons of hell have erupted out of me since I’ve developed cold sores, spots and the cough from hell,

Island of the damned! 🙁

102. Fixitfox

Just had a wee dip in so far. Nice timing for holiday weekend just as #SP16 canvassing gets into full swing. Thanks Stu for you & your team’s fantastic efforts on Scotland’s behalf.

103. Brian Powell

Print copies before the election would be great.

104. Skooshcase

Absolutely pure dead brilliant!

Thanks Stuart (and team) for putting that together. Invaluable to us all who wish to see an independent Scotland.

105. Ken500

Spell check is OK but that predictive text is a scunner. Aye technology.

Happy birthday Independencistas

106. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I knew there had to be something going on behind all those slow news day excuses you kept spouting. And there was me thinking that chappie’ getting a bit fond of the skiving.”

Well, there really hasn’t been any news. But rather than just twiddle our thumbs, we put the spare time to good use.

107. Macart

That’s a power of graft there Rev and worth the wait.

DOWNLOAD AND SPREAD FAR AND WIDE.

Let’s remind people about meaning of the word ‘consequences’.

On another important note: A big Happy Birthday to John King. 🙂

108. James Westland

Excellent stuff! Although have to confess, I thought of Metallica there… Well, maybe not so wrong – the “Black” album was a maassive seller and hugely popular

Well done!

109. Grouse Beater

This is Independence Day Delayed.

(And don’t unionist lackeys know it!)

110. Rob

Excellent job, though as many will be experiencing, not so great for the old blood pressure. Thanks Rev.

111. Jdman

What Grouse beater says! 🙂

112. JLT

@Rev. Stuart Campbell

Well, there really hasn’t been any news. But rather than just twiddle our thumbs, we put the spare time to good use.

LOL, well …maybe no real news on the Scottish front these last few weeks, but plenty of it in other ways. After all, who hasn’t had a wee smile put on their face as we watch the Tories tear not only into each other, but even themselves over the one issue that has plagued them since the 18th century (Europe).

It reminds me of that old saying; ‘those whom the Gods wish to destroy, they first make mad’

In fact …if time is still something of nice luxury at the moment, then maybe a wee EU Referendum Book arguing the case could be quickly devised. Once these Scottish Elections are out of the road, everyone’s attention will focus immediately on the EU …and people will want to know …and very quickly to boot!

113. Hugh Barclay

Morning Rev, do I get a prize for guessing correctly? 🙂

Superb and perfect timing.

114. Chitterinlicht

For the 20% or so undecideds you would hope it would convince a few about putting their trust in the empty promises of British establishment again.

Thanks for putting this together. Another giant brick on the road to independence and ‘normal’ statehood.

#Stillyes

Ps more graphs please and it might have more gravitas if you was ‘medalled’ in some way

115. cctxt

Well done Rev !

I’m flying my Saltire today – F**k ’em….

116. Almannysbunnet

Aye New Zealand, it’s nae sae easy to get rid o the butcher’s apron.
    You’ll have to change your flag anyway once we strip the St Andrews cross out of the Jack.

https://archive.is/fOIl2

117. Bob Mack

Excellent piece of work. A reminder of all the things that were nothing but deception.

They ,the media and the Unionist camp, said we were fantasists, liars, and fanatics who would put Scotland in jeopardy. The truth emerges like a moth from a chrysalis.

We told the truth. They lied,and now they are determined to put Scotland in a position of fear for the future to deter any would be independence voters from taking the risk of voting yes.

They underestimate the determination of the Scottish people.Some of us have already learned, whilst others are being educated. Others will never change ,but will accept the misery as the price of holding tightly on to something which in reality has nothing but revulsion for them i.e. the illusion of a United Kingdom.

It was never united and never equal. Events over the past year only highlight that unavoidable fact.

This work of yours will help to open some eyes. Of that I am certain.

118. One_Scot

1. I don’t know how you do it, and,

2. I don’t know what we’d do without you.

119. Dave Beveridge

Craig Sheridan @ 24 March, 2016 at 1:33 am

“If we have learned anything from the last campaign, it’s that we should be unashamedly using negative as well as positive messaging which covers All of the truth. Anything else and we are campaigning with one hand tied behind our backs.”

I’m glad there’s somebody else out there who thinks the “a positive campaign will always beat a negative one” stuff was utter crap. Thought it at the time, still think it now. We should’ve been on the attack constantly when attack was called for, not meekly defending, defending, defending and then waiting for the next negative story we had to pathetically try and rebuff. Numerous times the tripe about the “Scottish” banks was brought up in debates and the Yes side rep did NOTHING to counter it. What message did that send to undecideds?

If there’s one thing people hate it’s being taken for mugs and we missed out on getting that message across to those that would’ve been swung by it cos we were too busy shaking tambourines.

Sorry for the negativity. I don’t handle “what might have been” scenarios very well. In full-on mope mode today. 🙁

120. One_Scot

I know this might be a stupid question, but can this be posted through ever letter box in Scotland.

121. Lollysmum

One_Scot
    Think we’ll need to add to the crowdfunder to make that happen. Printing doesn’t come cheap nowadays

122. msean

Thanks,another classic for tories to moan about. 🙂 They still go on about the WBB two years later.

123. Training Day

Excellent. And published on this day that should have been, when instead the BBC helpfully schedule a leaders debate to allow Labour and Tory to collude to perpetuate the same myths that have been exploded.

Every Tory activist – whether Red, Blue or Orange – should be confronted with the wee black book during the next six weeks.

124. ScottieDog

@Robin Barclay
    Completely understand your wife’s doubt about currency.
    What I would do is introduce her to a few home truths about how money really works in the UK economy. Get her to visit this site…
    http://positivemoney.org/videos/

Start planting the seed and cutting through all this crap about deficits. Scotland is restricted by its resources not the quantity of money it has but only if it adopts its own sovereign currency.

125. Peter Clive

My thoughts and feelings on this Scottish Independence Day:

http://moflomojo.blogspot.com/2016/03/the-national-anthem.html

126. Jdman

@David Bevaradge
    I couldn’t agee more, all the way trough the relentless attacks throughout th referendum I waited complacently for the killer response from the YES campaign which was going to hole the no campaign below the water line, and……nothing!
    I could not contain my fury at the craven submission of a campaign that hat it had someone like REv Stu leading it we would have won easily!
    Still Effin mad.

127. Stoker

Rev wrote: “we put the spare time to good use.”

AYE, and then some! I now know why you’ve been a regular visitor to the dentists, it’s all that grinding of teeth as you troll through the endless hours of Unionist tripe. May i suggest quality gum shields whilst working. Damn site cheaper than regular visits to the tooth doc!

128. cearc

Grand wee book, there.

Thanks Stuart.

129. Karen

Having read this, I can see now why the likes of Dugdale and Davidson harp on and on about another referendum. They know that, should Scotland decide on another referendum any future argument or scaremongering tactics can be easily refuted.

Seeing all their lies unravelled so easily is both frustrating and amazing, frustrating because we should be celebrating our independence today and amazing because we have somewhere to point those who are becoming more and more open to their lies.

I remember the 19th September 2014 as if it were yesterday. I still remember how that felt having campaigned hard, I as many others in the yes camp I’m sure were exhausted, disappointed, heartbroken. Yet something else happened, something the no camp never saw coming. It was like a phoenix slowly rising from the ashes, dusting itself off and, looking towards London and Westminster it said. “No, no way are we taking this lying down. No way are we going back into our box. No way are we going to be downtrodden.” It was like a scene from a battle where someone picks up the flag and carries on.

What has happened since has shook the union to it’s very foundations. I believed then and I believe now that on the 19th September 2014 Scotland left the Union, we know it and they know it. Now all we have to do is bide our time, today we celebrate the little victories. Tomorrow is another day, freedom is coming, it’s just a matter of time.

130. Dr Jim

It’s Yoon victory day

And you’d think they’d be celebrating, but they’re not, they’re still fighting the last one and only relieved they got over the line with their magnificent success

So our very existence still terrifies them because they know we’re going to win the next one and they don’t know how to stop it happening except to keep repeating the same one and only argument which now only amounts to

Yees canny, yees jist canny right!!
    Gonny jist shut up and go away, we won
    All accompanied by hands over ears and sounds of La La La La canny hear yees, as they dig holes to put their heads in

The Yoon prayer
    Oh dear Tom Gallagher please make the Baad non Christians and their unbeliever followers go away or smite them with a mighty vengeance… Amen

131. cearc

Happy birthday, John and Gighagirl (I like the paintings).

132. Scot Finlayson

Would Alex still be in charge if we had voted Yes,

always envisage Nicola handing a fiery torch from parliament just before midnight last night,

and a runner(lined by torch bearer`s) going up to the top of Arthur`s seat and lighting a massive bonfire at midnight,

and radiating from there,every hill top in Scotland lighting up a fire, (a bit LOTR).

and then free, chilled, Tennent`s lager for every one for a week.

133. Nana

Just had a quick look at this mornings papers, and going by some of the ravings you would never think the No vote had won. What a sad delusional shower.

Anyhoo morning links posted on the previous thread.

134. Paula Rose

Some people are going to be so very annoyed.

135. Luigi

On Call UKaye this morning, I am utterly astounded by the number of NO voters who are saying they would have moved down to England (or “anywhere”) has Scotland voted YES. If you love your country, do you abandon it so quickly? Obviously they don’t want to abandon the country they really love, but it ain’t Scotland.

Proud Scots? Aye right!

Proud Brits, methinks.

136. Big Jock

Mone moved south after the no vote Luigi…that sums them up. Lying Toerags who care not a jot about poverty in Scotland. It’s me, me ,me. I maintain the no vote was a narrow minded selfish vote. Shame on anyone who voted no for self preservation.

137. Muscleguy

Well of course there are fewer military personnel in Scotland. If thing deteriorate any more Westminster want as few people who might side with Scotland in the military. Expect more downrating and troops sent to overseas deployment.

138. Graf Midgehunter

The corporate media and the beeb are going hammer ‘n tongs at Scotland today. There’s nothing positive about the place, we’re just s****e, backward and should be thanking God and the Queen for the right to stay chained to the mighty UK.

But you can almost smell the fear because they know today will be one of the last chances to kick Scotlands “Baws”. SE16 is on the doorstep and the SNP is a coming.

The polls are moving up towards Indy and they can’t stop it. Throw more s****e, another % more for Indy. More S****e…….

Today the Rev’s given us a new weapon to scare the yoons even more.

“Wee Blacky” is the book the media/beeb can’t stop.

No amount of articles in the “newspapers” or propaganda programmes can undo the spread of the truth once it gets on to the streets.

Spread it far and wide. 🙂

139. Spout

Thanks Rev – feels like another bit of progress.

The three “S-types” of No voter I met while campaigning:

Scared

Selfish

Sectarian

Let’s not let the S-types win the next time…

140. Broch Landers

Just read it cover-to-cover in a few minutes.

Using the elite’s own material to expose their lies.

Marx and Engels would be proud.

Great work.

141. Kenny

Excellent work, Stu and team! Just what is needed to work on soft NOs.

I believe that it was correct that we did not fall into NO’s negativity. I am proud that the message was always upbeat and positive. That is the image we want to project tae the world in oor ain Scottish embassies abroad when indy comes [in 2018].

O/T Whenever I see a photo of Mone, the following phrase always enters my head:

“It costs a lot of [£300 a day HoL expenses] to look this cheap!”

142. mr thms

#yesindyref2 and theMadMurph

I should have said the Scottish Government’s Future Scotland white paper expresses their support for the timetable for both men and women in respect of the age 65 to 66 by 2020. Sorry about that.

My point is therefore about the timetable for women and the increase in the age of 60 to 65 that is currently the cause for concern.

I can’t find anything in the Future Scotland white paper that construes support from the Scottish Government for that timetable.

143. galamcennalath

Message from Wee Black Book for the May election to all voters intending giving support to the rainbow Tories … “Those standing now are tarred with the same brush as those who spread all the lies and deceit. Often, they are actually one and the same. Are you sure these are the people you want to represent you?”

144. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“In fact …if time is still something of nice luxury at the moment, then maybe a wee EU Referendum Book arguing the case could be quickly devised.”

The SNP are already producing a “Wee BlEU Book”.

https://twitter.com/JamieRoss7/status/708646318613340160

https://twitter.com/julieannaaitken/status/709131296145088512

145. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“In the Pensions section, for women, you have 6 weeks instead of 6 years! When talking about how long they will be able to claim the pension. I don’t want any errors in my printed edition!!”

That’s not an error. If anything it’s overly optimistic.

146. Meindevon

Rev, think you made the right decision not to listen to Kaye this morning.

As Luigi said above, a couple of callers were prepared to leave Scotland if it had become independent. Several happy No voters said the Yessers need to move on after this democratic vote…it’s over for independence.

So how do they equate that with leaving Scotland? Surely if it had been Yes they should be the ones saying ‘Well, Scotland democratically voted for independence and I need to accept it and try to help make it a better place’ in spite of what they think to be a wrong decision?

One rule for them…

147. Kenny Ritchie

Just like the 1979 referendum, history repeating itself. And we all know how that turned out. Independence is coming.

148. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“In fact …if time is still something of nice luxury at the moment, then maybe a wee EU Referendum Book arguing the case could be quickly devised. Once these Scottish Elections are out of the road, everyone’s attention will focus immediately on the EU …and people will want to know …and very quickly to boot!”

Also, fecksake, Lindsay and I have been working our fingers to the bone all day and night for weeks on WB2B. Any chance of maybe a half-day before you start cracking the whip, again, jeez?

149. Breastplate

Well done Rev, make sure you sink a few bottles of Gem this weekend.

I would agree with the people that think we should be more aggressive in our arguments and jump all over any utterance of pish coming from the Nawbags on the run up to Indy2.
    Should be along shortly,anytime in this next parliament will do.
    Happy Birthday to Gighgirl and the Great John King

150. Flower of Scotland

Looking forward to the printed book. There are some members of my family who were soft NOs. Not sure that they would read an online version but hopefully would read a wee book.

Thanks for all your hard work Stu.

151. Breeks

Excellent stuff Rev.

If I might suggest a minor omission, you’ve gone very easy on the BBC. I know there are cover to cover BBC quotes included, but no explicit dissection of the BBC’s roll as state sponsored propagandist.

We are never going to rid ourselves of the BBC overnight; it will require a steady and methodical transition which can only begin once there is sufficient dissatisfaction, and momentum to overcome the inertia for change. Despite the BBC rarely being so exposed and compromised by it’s dishonesty and manipulation, I STILL see no momentum for change occurring. There is no “taking to task” of the BBC’s biased agenda. There is no head of steam building to force change, and what campaigning there is, is barely making a ripple.

This country isn’t big enough for two of us. Either we have a healthy progressive development of Scotland’s national identity, OR, we have the BBC preaching to us from its minarets in every livingroom. The two are not compatible.

I earnestly believe the SNP, our other progressive voices, our friends in Europe, our friends in Scandinavia, and of course our friends in Bath, need to call a summit which augers the fight back against this deluge of Unionist propaganda.

To me, it seems extreme folly to waste energy and commitment of our good people when so much of the recognition and approval they should properly receive is stifled by wall to wall hostile propaganda. For their sakes, and ours, DEAL WITH THE PROPAGANDA, then see our people flourish.

152. Mac

Rev…you need to stand up and take a bow!!!

In years to come history will speak about you and give you the legendary status you deserve!!!

This is not sycophancy in any way it is fact as between both the “Wee Blue Book” and “Wee Black Book”, you have probably convinced more people than anyone else that Scotland could and should be an independant nation.

153. Hamish McTavish

O/T – only slightly

I see New Zealand have decided to keep the butcher’s apron on their flag.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-35888474

Shame. I quite like the fresh look of the proposed alternative.

154. SOG

Well done you. Enjoy your R & R.

And when you’re back at work, can I suggest a printed version, and a site where we could order one and donate towards a few more.

155. Conan the Librarian™

Happy birthday, John and Gighagirl. I’ll be in Dublin on Saturday, so I’ll hoist a hugely expensive Guinness or two in your direction then.

156. desimond

Bravo.
    Hope JK enjoys this cracking reas

157. Kev

Well the big saltire is going up on the windae today, haven’t felt so determined to make Indy a reality after reading the litany of threats and lies detailed in this excellent book. Thanks Stu, it really needs to be read far and wide.

As much as it’s been heartbreaking, the No vote has been a game-changer in the debate – the electorate now have solid evidence of the implications of voting for the “Union” and I have enough trust in the Scottish people to know that they will not fall for the same false assurances & dire warnings again.

158. Grizzle McPuss

As I said to you on twitter last night Stu, that last comment courtesy of Mr Gove…”we’ll take that, thanks”

159. Proud Cybernat

Well done, Rev Stu. The bitter, diehard Yoons must effing hate you. If this compilation of Yoon disinformation, misinformation and downright lies doesn’t open the eyes of the soft NOs for IndyRef#2 then nothing will.

If it’s okay, I will use this as the basis for another wee video. Lots of people (especially older folks with poorer eyesight) prefer to listen rather than read a lot of text.

PS – Do I get a prize for guessing the correct title “Wee Black Book”?

160. Neil Cook

Think you should bring a version out with a Union Jack on it and call it The reason you voted No, then all the dumbwits will read it and actually comprehend what they did !!

Worth a try as we all know stupid is stupid.

161. Dave McEwan Hill

On Tuesday 16th September 2014 a well dressed,well spoken lady, probably English, walked into our YES shop in Dunoon and said
    “I’ve just been phoned to tell me that if Scotland votes YES on Thursday on Friday my passport and my driving licence will be invalid and I will not get my pension. This is surely a lie”.
    I assured her it was. She said no more and left the shop.
    This was more significant than I realised at the time.
    It is the Better Together lies as they are exposed one by one that now guarantee the end of the union.

162. Lorraine

This is stunning – and the word is chosen deliberately. It’s a gathering of the appalling treatment which has been meted out to Scotland since the referendum. Needs to go to every household and every voter in this country. And to the biased and dishonest press.

Thank you for providing this resource to all of us

163. Karmanaut

Brilliant.
    Useful to have so many of the lies and broken promises in one place (and yet sad and depressing to be reminded of them). An important wee book. Will take the sting out of the tail of the next No campaign.

Thanks.

164. Proud Cybernat

Meant to say also Rev, with these wee books you’ve just knocked the Yoons Black ‘n’ Blue. Bravo. And, as others have already stated, your place in Scotland’s national struggle, in our history, is well assured.

165. ahundredthidiot

Thank you Rev

I for one didn’t do enough during the run up to indyref1.

Won’t be making that mistake again and your wee black book will help me – and others no doubt – get Scotland over the line next time.

Thank you.

166. Clydebuilt

The Wee Blue Book took us up to a 45% (+) vote……. The Wee Black Book will take us to Independence…… Wonderful Effort Rev. Stuart

167. Cameron Gazzola Black

Aargh. My phone is telling me it has no app to download this. Please, someone, tell me what I need#

168. Macca73

Thanks Rev. I really loved the way the book ends and not just the comment from Gove but the way you talk about Trident and defence without going into too much detail but enough to destroy everything they told us during the No campaign biggest rants.

Bravo!

169. Scott

What’s the bet that Tank,Kez and the other one oh yes we wullie will be going hammer and tongs on this tonite and thae will be egged on by Campbell what a shower they are.

170. Tackety Beets

Black Beauty !

The Yoons will love it ……

I cannot thank you Rev & everyone on here for everything you have done.

In 1979 we had no where to go , no one to console with , infact I felt alone full stop.

Wings has given us ………..everything except iScotland but its a cummin to a country near you.

I cannot express my gratitude in words.

Happy Birthday JK etc if only .

171. Dave Beveridge

Worth a billboard campaign?

I’d balk at the idea of taking out newspaper ads and giving these scumbags any cash but maybe it’s a case of needs must.

172. Foonurt

Ah fine thing. Ta!

Iz Kris Kristofferson, merrily sings awaw in yoan backgrun, “…don’t let the basturts get ye doon…”

173. No no no...Yes

A great piece of work. You deserve to have some “me time” over the holiday weekend,enjoy.

The Wee Black book will inform NO voters beyond any doubt that they were told lie and after lie. Is it any wonder that Unionists, led by cheerleader Ruth, are desperate to prevent another referendum? They have played all their cards and know that Indyref2 will see a victory for the Yes campaign. We just need to be patient folks- timing is everything.

In the meantime it has to be “bothvotesSNP”

174. heedtracker

Rancid The Graun go UKOK berserk today. Wonder why.

Any rational question might be, if Scotland’s an economic basket case,

who’s been running Scotland for decade after UKOK decade and what can we do to escape from our neighbours appalling socio economics sucking our country dry and running up giant debt, and all for the greatness of UKOKdom

The stench of their awful lies, insults and threats is not going away

http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/bellend4.jpg

https://archive.is/CEVyr

“Scotland facing deficit three times greater than UK
    Forecast from the Institute for Fiscal Studies says a collapse in oil prices has left a growing gap between Scottish spending and tax income”

175. heedtracker

First comment under rancid The Graun’s hysterical monstering of what could have been one of the greatest days in our country’s history.

So glad to still be in a union with this red and blue toryboy rules over you happy and glorious bullshit?

Sign in or create your Guardian account to join the discussion.
    Order by Oldest Threads Expanded
    1 2 3 4 … 18 next
    Due to the large number of comments, they are being shown 100 per page.

DevilMayCareIDont 5h ago

Salmon and Sturgeon are two real characters and something smells very fishy .

Likes 162.

176. Proud Cybernat

It’s pay week for many folks. Don’t forget the Wings crowdfunder. Every wee bitty helps.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/the-great-leap-forward#/

177. Robert Graham

many thanks rev for the time and effort you have taken to summarize this grim depressing episode ,black is very apt as what should have been a wonderful hopeful journey has been consigned to job done by UK Plc and filed under the thats them fk/d heading , ink permitting this is being printed and at every opportunity given to people who i suspect voted NO its difficult to find anyone who voted NO maybe it’s embarrassment or what it should be SHAME .

178. Sarah Mackenzie

Thank you, Rev, and all your team, for putting all your effort into the fight for truth over lies. I’m desperate for Scotland’s independence and the iron grip of the establishment on the media makes it so difficult to get the truth out.

My husband and I [as they say!] are eager to get delivering so please put us on the list.

179. heedtracker

Rereading the WBB causes bad flashbacks, in particular the extraordinary tax paid for Project Fearing produced by the UK civil service, who lie to us and the world really, that they, like the BBC, are impartial, unbiased etc UKOK etc

http://www.civilserviceworld.com/articles/news/hm-treasury-team-wins-special-civil-service-award

Cabinet Secretary and civil service head Sir Jeremy Heywood (centre) presented the award to team members (from right to left) Paul Doyle, Will MacFarlane, Shannon Cochrane, and Mario Pisani.

“We all had something in common, we’re trying to save the Union here, and it came so close. We just kept it by the skin of our teeth. I actually cried when the result came in. After 10 years in the civil service, my proudest moment is tonight and receiving this award.”

He added: “As civil servants you don’t get involved in politics. For the first time in my life, suddenly we’re part of a political campaign. We were doing everything from the analysis, to the advertising, to the communications. I just felt a massive sense of being part of the operation. This being recognised [at the Civil Service Awards], makes me feel just incredibly proud.”

180. galamcennalath

Looking forward to hearing what the strategy is to get it out in ‘dead tree” form. Like the WBlueB, its maximum impact will probably be among the non-online community.

181. X_Sticks

@Conan the Librarian™

Whit are ye daein’ in Dublin when a’ the akshun wull be in Glasgae? 😉

182. FairFerfochen

On Energy, can someone possibly update the member from Caerphilly who keeps poking his snout into Scottish affairs, perhaps send him a copy of the WBB

From yesterday: http://tinyurl.com/jmmtjzc

183. Ruby

I downloaded the WBD and had a quick scan. It looks great!
    Well done!

There seems to be something going on at the Indy Camp in Holyrood Park. When I drove past there were a number of cars with giant saltires parked alongside the caravans.

I also spotted a newly opened SNP shop in Junction Street. Great location.

184. Senlac88

How much would it cost to print enough for every household in Scotland?

I’m sure we could raise it within a week, and there will be no problem getting it distributed!

185. Breastplate

Heedtracker,
    that negative IFS report coincidentally released today should suggest to everyone that they are not exactly as impartial as they claim to be.
    Just another ‘Scotland is shit’ story.

186. Kenny

Look forward to contributing towards any fundraiser for printing costs.

Mass delivery is not needed, it only needs to be targetted to NOs (especially soft NOs, especially Labour voters).

Folks, remember the psychological moment. If you are trying to persuade a NO colleague or relative or neighbour, work out what makes them tick… Money? Abstract patriotism? Use a targetted approach and be sure to come on here for the answers to any questions you may no’ be sure of yersel!

Happy [Approaching] Independence Day!

187. StepRam

Perhaps we should do a deal to give away a free copy in every copy of every Unionist newspaper for one day. You never know one or two might actually be able to read!

188. galamcennalath

An interesting tweet, among many similar, about the WBlackB highlights the perverse alternative world of Yoonery …

“Historywoman – WoS has the cheek to publish a ‘wee black book’ today. The fawning eejits will lap it up as if it wee truth”

… a quite astonishing level of reality denial.

Today’s publication is mainly a collection of before and after 3rd party publications. Is this really really stupid individual saying they were never actually published, but have been fabricated?

Do they honestly believe that Better Together and the Unionist media didn’t release those things?

The Yoon plot has clearly been well and truly lost.

189. heedtracker

Breastplate says:
    24 March, 2016 at 12:07 pm
    Heedtracker,
    that negative IFS report coincidentally released today should suggest to everyone that they are not exactly as impartial as they claim to be.
    Just another ‘Scotland is shit’ story.

Rancid The Graun’s cranking the UKOK hysteria to 11 today but its just one tawdry example of toryboy UK’s usual, Scotland is shite, SNPbad, stop voting SNP.

It also begs the question, what if NOT Scots oil was at average prices today?

Luck favours UKOK scaremongering tubthumpers like BBC Scotland etc, but it is just luck and it goes two ways, unless you’re the utter disgrace that is the UK Civil Service.

190. Valerie

Thank you, Rev. and anyone else working on Wee Black. Great piece of work, but it makes for difficult reading.

I detest liars, and I mean the elected liars, who didn’t give a shit about this country, or the people. Those that said, it doesn’t matter if it’s a lie, we have to prevent independence.

It’s that issue, more than any other, that colours the referendum for me.

To think that those elected, conducted themselves as spineless, lying cowards is something that will go down in history.

Yet, they prance around yet, waltzing into other jobs, or like Carmichael, collect from the public purse.

I hope our younger generation learn from this, and never allow this situation ever again.

191. Hugh Barclay

Can I just say I’d chip in for a separate crowd funder to promote this and going by the posts so far I’m not alone.

A billboard, side of buses and stuff like that campaign?

It’s over to you Rev 🙂

192. Ian Brotherhood

@Dave Beveridge –

Worth a billboard campaign?

That’s in development right now, and anyone with any thoughts is welcome to attend the free workshop organised by Cadogan Enright and colleagues in ‘Inform Scotland’, this Saturday afternoon in Waxy O’Connor’s, Glasgow, from 3.30 – 5ish.

Even if you can’t make it, good chance it’ll be Livstreamed by oor ain Thistle/Indylive.

193. Big Jock

Spout 9.52…you forgot the 4th S = Stupid!

194. Dave McEwan Hill

A great National today. Another one worth saving.

195. liz

Thanks Rev.Downloaded and going to be shared everywhere.

Haven’t read it all the way through yet.

Just told Blair McD that he lied to me personally for saying my pension was safe with No and guess what, no it ain’t.

Like many I’m caught up in WASPI, this might be where Gideon got some of his 1/2 trillion?? pension saving that he was rabbiting on about.

Onwards and upwards

196. carjamtic

Yoons in Public – These are just a Series of Unfortunate Events.

Yoons in Private – Scotland is still disobeying us,keep going with the shock treatment till they comply.

Warning Yoons – WBB contains Antiyoonbiotics.

De-bunks 99% of all known parasites.

Tick Tock

197. Nana

HS2 London to Leeds. Scotland paying for English infrastructure again

https://twitter.com/_PaulMonaghan/status/712961709602955264

198. James1

Sorry but the part on currency is complete and utter guff.

It appears to entirely misunderstand (deliberately?) the difference between a currency union (which is what the SNP wanted) and merely using the pound unofficially outside a currency union, which is what this ‘wee black book’ seems to be talking about.

Of course an independent Scotland could have used the pound unofficially outside a currency union, so could any other country in the world if it wanted to – as Panama does with the dollar, for example.

But the SNP didn’t want to use the pound in that manner they wanted a currency union, so the author is either being deliberately disingenuous or isn’t intelligent enough to understand the difference.

199. Almannysbunnet

I suppose the yoons and nawbags are celebrating their dependence day today. Proud to be dependent eh, what are they like.

I nicked this off John Wylie over on twitter today, it seems so apt and shouldn’t go to waste on this fine day.

“If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquility of servitude better than the animating contest of freedom, go home from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains set lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen.”

? Samuel Adams

200. Ken500

It’s not the fall in Oil price It’s the 60/80% tax imposed by Westminster. That is why production had fallen and Scotland has lost £20billions+ of revenues

Scotland raises £54Billion in tax revenues add the £13Billion Scotland loses to Westminster rule = £67Billion add on pro rata what Westminster borrows and spends in the rest of the U.K. = 1/6- of £67Billion = £11Billion = £78Billion The same as Norway. Enough for an Oil Fund.

The rest of the U.K raises £596Billion and borrows and spends £95Billion more = 1/6 more

201. Nana

Macart is doing a great job looking after the dug’s blog.

https://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/2016/03/24/this-could-have-been/

202. Croompenstein

May your chains set lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen

Those words really describe this snake bellied creep..

http://goo.gl/tSLm88

Unity day FFS just when you thought they couldn’t zoom any higher..

203. Arbroath1320

Excellent!

Well done Stu. 😀

I have just Tweeted and Facebooked this:

BEFORE indy ref the facts were here for all to see http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/wbbcard1side.jpg today the reality reality is here http://worldofstuart.excellentcontent.com/WeeBlackBookWebEdition.pdf

Think it should leave no one in any doubt now that WE were telling the TRUTH and nothing but the TRUTH before the indy ref. Perhaps now those of a previously soft “NO” persuasion will now look towards the likes of WoS in future and have the courage to believe what WE say as opposed to what is said by self centred greedy non entities!

204. call me dave

Longannet no more 🙁

Remember the reclaimed landfill area when, as a young apprentice, I learned to do hv cable jointing on the temporary hv ring of small transformer units for electrical supply points just before the contractors came on site.

Also worked there, as well as the Kincardine station for 3 years when I became a qualified electrician. Geez over 50 yrs ago…no safety hats then in the first wee while, but our company insisted that you had to wear one or you were oot!

PS:
    Hark the Herald! Oh wait it’s that special day isn’t it…

An independent Scotland would be denied currency union deal to share pound, admits Salmond
    —————————————————————
    I have the The National right in front of me and it’s not exactly my view on what Salmond said!

https://archive.is/yzBEM

————————————————————-
    PPS:
    I liked this Scottish story as, contrary to my expectations, it did not contain cauld parridge, unlike the Herald gruel!

https://archive.is/v4Qev

205. Breastplate

Almannysbunnet,
    thanks for that quote, it transcends time and is so very apt for the here and now.
    If only the Nawbags would wake up out of their lickspittle trance.

206. Provost Sludden

Just think of the celebrations there would have been today. Instead what do we have-

Dreich weather
    Wee Ruthie gloating/snarling
    Michael Fallon ranting on about his wully extension submarines
    Posh Toryboys falling out (quite entertaining actually)
    Torrents of pish from our MSM.

Oh well, I suppose they may as well enjoy it while they can.
    It’s our turn next.

207. Nana

Worrying to say the least

The worst of all worlds for Scotland TTIP & CETA

http://www.globaljustice.org.uk/blog/2016/mar/24/worst-all-worlds-scotland-ttip-and-ceta

208. TheItalianJob

Good book, good read and well presented.

I remember this site posting a review of the same vis-a-vis the devolution referendum in 1979. Same parallels here.

When will the message get through to those that need convincing. We have to live in hope. As someone who has worked in Norway on the early days of North Sea oil exploration it makes me so sad when I meet Norwegian’s and read about Norway and how successful and wealthy its country and people are.

Please let there be some justice in this world for Scotland. Its people deserve more than what we are being subjected to by the present set up of the U.K.

209. Conan the Librarian™

@ X_Sticks

My brother and sisters and I will be in Dublin commemorating our Grandfather’s part in the Easter Rising 🙂

210. George Quin

Well that was an unexpexted lol surpise i visit this site every day even though i mostly lurk.

I was gutted like most indy supporters on that infamoos night and im not to prideful as a man to not admit that i was definatley crying thats a night i never want to repeat,
    its funny though isnt it that everything that was promised by better together was a pack of lies like we all thout it would be.

Hopefully the older voters will actially believe in their own younger people who im afraid to say sold off the younger generations to this all to save thier pesnions which were hammered anyways i know its not the polite thing to say but they deserve everything they get after all i wont even get a bloody pension largley thanks to them.

Lets hope they arent so stupid and selfish next time tho to be honest i dont believe for a second that they care about future scottish children if another indy ref happens i expect them to think of noone but their selves and being to lazy to even look for counter argumemts.

I dont blame all scottish pensioners (my mum voted yes and shes a pensioner) but the vast majority of the over 55’s did vote against their own childrens and grandchildrens futures.

I hope they feel as ashamed of themselves as i feel about the vast majority over 55’s, they sold us down the river and now they are paying the price HEELL MEND EM.

211. heedtracker

https://archive.is/o2rVn

MacWhirter sticks the UKOK boot in. Another display of what Smith Commission cooked up to beat the crap out of Scottish self government.

Its interesting that MacWhirter dodges explaining how devo-max The Vow turned into exactly one economic lever, in all the many many that have been held onto by our neighbours, despite promising most if not all of them, for voting NO Thanks.

Another hack takes his UKOK media dosh and his mask slides off his fraud.

eg

“Does Scotland really want to create that more communitarian, harmonious Nordic society where income differentials are held in check and top rates are up to 60 per cent? Or are we content to join the low tax, devil-take-the-hindmost society of the UK under the Tories?”

How is it even remotely possible to do anything economically Nordic, when England and toryboy England still controls Scotland? Not discussed MacWhirter style.

or

“Of course, for many in the SNP, social justice always came second to national “liberation” from the English yoke. But for most Scots, who have never felt oppressed by England, do not want separation and were motivated to vote for Ms Sturgeon because of her social democratic principles, this is a wake-up call.”

Its probably safe to assume that McWhirter is not that keen on YES voters at all because this “For the “45” nationalists, it is about identity and ethnic mythology.” is just not on.

Scotch cringe? save us England, youre not a yoke, stuff like our £15bn black hole deficit, its all Scotland’s fault.

212. Jack Murphy

TODAY. Some good news:-Tata Steel Saved!
    “The “back to back” agreement, which was confirmed on Thursday morning, involves the Scottish Government buying the Clydebridge and Dalzell plants from Tata Steel, and immediately selling them on to Liberty.

The sale will be done under the same terms with no cost to the taxpayer.” 🙂

An STV Link:-
    http://stv.tv/news/west-central/1347698-tata-steel-mills-deal-finalised-with-liberty-house/

213. jimnarlene

WBB, brilliant.

214. cearc

Conan,

Well I guess we’ll let you off then!

215. Conan the Librarian™

@ cearc

I’ll be at the next one, I promise!

216. Marie Clark

Unlike the rest of the wingers here today, I haven’t downloaded the wee black book. At the moment, I just can’t do it. The weather today ( very wet) reflects just how I feel, very sad in my wee soul. It could have been so different, and it makes me feel as I did on the 19th September 2014.

I will at some point download and read the book, just not today.

Tonight I will be giving the first debate of the election a big bodyswerve. Scunneret o’ a’ colour o’ tories. SNP x2.

217. Jdman

Sorry for taking this thread O/T again Rev
    Thanks for the birthday wishes everyone, pity the policia local didn’t have the same goodwill,
    I had to pay €129 fine to get my hire car back after they had the audacity to have it towed after I “unwittingly” parked in a bus parking place,

Then just to add icing on the cake those ba****rds at the hotel only went and left a bottle of champagne in our room
    Irene was determined to get them to put the cuffs on me so she could get a picture, (the policia not the hotel) so they I just asked them. to mace her. 😉

218. Ian Brotherhood

O/T, but I urgently need help identifying this clip of the Tartan Army in Paris – it’s for uni project, deadline looming…

Can anyone confirm the year and match?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mZGVCjf6B8c

219. Thepnr

Six weeks today the elections for Holyrood will be held, turnout in 2011 was just 50%. I expect and hope that the turnout will be a great deal higher this time.

Every Yes supporter must make sure and vote in these elections, it will make a difference so too in my opinion will the Wee Black Book.

We were shafted in the referendum, the proof is provided in the Wee Black Book, make sure you show your displeasure by voting out the lying Tories. Claim your democracy back.

220. Chic McGregor

OT
    Propaganda on propaganda.

Just finished watching Portillo’s programme.

It was partly about the Cato Street conspiracy.

In the programme it was claimed that this was the only instance of the British Government using an agent provocateur to spark off a conspiracy by pre-empting and and instigating acts of treason, at a time of the Government’s choosing and readiness.

Whether deliberate lie or ignorance this is completely untrue.

The Scottish insurrection of 1820 suffered the same treatment with the insurrectionist’s leaders being arrested in secret weeks before the proclomation calling for insurrection was even posted.

But the commenting ‘expert’ was ‘unaware’ of any example other than the Cato Street case.

Worst of all, first, because the execution dates are a matter of public record and second, because the second ‘expert’ was a Scot, was the claim that this was the last public executions for treason in Britain.

This again is completely untrue. Scottish insurrectionists were executed publicly in August and September of 1820, months after the English executions in May.

Once more we see the Scottish Insurrection of 1820 must be redacted from history.

Anniversary in a fortnight BTW. Cue Donald 🙂

221. Nana

@Jdman

Knew there was something I forgot to do today.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rR9i-Mjjsws

222. Marie Clark

Meant to say happy birthday John King, but I see from your post @ 2.39, that you have had a wee spot of bother wi the local polis.

Never mind John, away and drink your complimentary champange, safe in the knowledge that you’ll be hame soon. CHEERS.

223. X_Sticks

Conan the Librarian™ says:

“My brother and sisters and I will be in Dublin commemorating our Grandfather’s part in the Easter Rising :)”

But you’ll be back in time for ours? 😉

@Jdman

Travel wouldn’t be travel without a tale to tell 😀

224. Jdman

@Marie Clarke,
    champagne necked,
    Now where are my speedos?
    Those waves look inviting,
    What does that red flag mean though?

225. Fred

Finaly managed to download it, many thanks Stu & Co, superb.

Jakey Rowling’s spouse who’ll be in the heady position of the spouse who decided not to walk out! Now wearing dark glasses to hide two black eyes, plus a burst lip & heid in a bandage!

226. Croompenstein

@Ian B – I think it’s the opening match of world cup France 98. Brazil vs Scotland 10th June 1998

227. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I believe this was the match, a Euro 2008 qualifier. We beat France in both games. Typical.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/internationals/6986781.stm

228. Jdman

@Nana
    Hahaha
    Love it, but thought I was going to get that cake shoved in my face. 🙂

229. Dave Beveridge

Ian Brotherhood @ 24 March, 2016 at 2:44 pm

“O/T, but I urgently need help identifying this clip of the Tartan Army in Paris – it’s for uni project, deadline looming…

Can anyone confirm the year and match?”

September 12th 2007, qualifier for Euro 2008, the Faddy match.

Missus’ birthday and her first ever away game too. 🙂 All downhill thereafter. 🙁

230. chasanderson200

Superb publication which does exactly what it sets out to do, debunk the case for better together and demonstrate clearly to receptive Yoons that they were sold a pup.
    Further down the line we need to demonstrate even more clearly the assets we have to build a prosperous, compassionate,civil Scotland.
    It would require to be something as pithy and punchy as this without dragging in too many stats causing paralysis by analysis

There was a piece published here before called “The economic case for Scotlands independence” which listed Scotlands assets in relation to the UK as whole

This could be used as a factual base from which to start without getting mired in the party political yah boo shucks nonsense

Would take a bit of work, perhaps on its own page, with wingers having to meet to discuss and progress with a view to publication for the next indy ref campaign.

I for one would be up for playing a part in this.

231. Robert Peffers

Gawn yersels Wingers – gie thaim laldie.

232. Iain More

I am glad I didn’t read this last night before going to bed, I would have ground all my teeth down.

233. Ruby

Valerie says:
    24 March, 2016 at 12:26 pm

Thank you, Rev. and anyone else working on Wee Black. Great piece of work, but it makes for difficult reading.

Ruby replies

If it’s difficult reading for YES supporters it must be nearly impossible for NO supporters.

That might be something to keep in mind when approaching NO voters. Nobody likes to be told they were wrong or that they were conned.

I don’t find the WBB difficult reading because TBH none of it comes as a surprise.

It’s really strange that Unionists are still fighting the IndyRef and are so obsessed with Independence. The current debate is really boring it’s like Groundhog Day! Unionist are just regurgitating the same old stuff they did during the Indy Ref.

Both Alistair Darling & Ruth Davidson said during the IndyRef that they needed to win and win well I can’t remember the figure they quoted I think it was pretty high perhaps 80%.

The fact that they just won & no more could be the root cause of their problems and on top of that they know they used unscrupulous methods to win.

234. Roland Smith

Shetland could do with a few bob to see if we can get rid of all Lib Dem constituency seats.

http://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/fighting-fund-in-support-of-danus-skene/

235. Proud Cybernat

For anyone coming to the WoS Shindig on Saturday (in Waxy’s, Glasgow) please keep in mind that there are now major works going on in Glasgow Queen St. train train station and virtually all services in and out of the station are affected/diverted and travel times to Glasgow are longer/schedules have changed etc.

236. Iain More

Off Topic

I got a Stronger in Europe leaflet through the door today. My first thoughts on it are that it is rather reminiscent of a UKOK Naw Bag leaflet. I have a feeling that Stronger in Europe as an organisation are actually a sly front for the Leave campaign.

237. Capella

Thanks for the Little Black Book. Black is very appropriate. These people are, after all, professional liars. I see Alistair Carmichael has been awarded £34,000 from a charity (Joseph Rowantree Reform Trust) to help with his legal fees.

‘..the JRRT said it funded “progressive campaigns which are too political for most other funders”.’

Shameful.
    http://www.thenational.scot/news/astonishment-as-alistair-carmichael-receives-34000-in-aid-towards-his-legal-bill.15460

238. McBoxheid

Thanks very much Rev and WBB team for this. Like Ruby, I wasn’t upset, because we all know the facts. Seeing them in one place is quite astonishing. Astonishing that corruption is so rife in Britain, that no one in the msm or tv spoke out at the lies and deceit pooring out of the unionist’s mouths and dutifully reproduced by their complicit publishing houses.

239. Ruby

https://archive.is/J41xb

‘Darling says No campaign needs to win well to avoid ‘neverendum’

But he refused to be drawn on what percentage of the vote he thought necessary to prevent calls for another referendum within just a few years. “I will tell you the day after what number we were aiming for,” he said.’

I wonder if he ever revealed what number they were aiming for? Perhaps he just decided to wait for the vote and then claim that was the number they were aiming for!

‘Senior Coalition sources said earlier this year that a “crushing defeat” was needed to ensure the independence question was answered for a generation. They warned that if 40% or more of the population backed calls to leave the UK, pressure could build for another referendum within just a few years.’

240. gerry parker

so I just asked them. to mace her. ?

Attaboy John, treat em rough.

Glad to hear everything’s going so well.

241. tarisgal

Wow!! WBlackB – Braw!! Have downloaded and scanned through but haven’t read properly yet. Just going to do that when I put this pen down…

Grateful thanks to you Rev and Lindsay and any other ‘yessers’ involved in this project! MUCH APPRECIATED!! M’ printer is set up and some WBBs are heading for the outside world soonest!

242. Ruby

https://archive.is/i00Du

‘Scottish independence: Independence vote must be won ‘by a mile’, warns Ruth Davidson’

They didn’t win by a mile nor did they win well and I expect that’s why they are still fighting the IndyRef.

243. Macandroid

Reduced filesize from 37Mb to 7.5Mb here:
    drive.google.com/file/d/0B4qjOQE8OMfid1lROE5IR0lpM2s/view?usp=sharing

Hopefully it is very nearly as good quality as original and that you can download it from here. If there’s a problem email me at andrew dot t dot pearson at gmail.com

244. Capella

@ jdman
    Happy Birthday to you. Good day for a virtual celebration. I see you’ve had your hair done specially.

Other news, there are rules at Westminster. No broadcasting of disability group protests allowed. Oh no. That IS against the rules.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-35886336

245. Macandroid

Trying again – sorry

Reduced filesize from 37Mb to 7.5Mb here:
    http://www.drive.google.com/file/d/0B4qjOQE8OMfid1lROE5IR0lpM2s/view?usp=sharing

Hopefully it is very nearly as good quality as original and that you can download it from here. If there’s a problem email me at andrew dot t dot pearson at gmail.com

246. Capella

Oops! Just read the previous thread demolishing the Joseph Rowantree Reform Trust donation to AC. Missed that earlier such was the excitement of the Wee Black Book. But glad The National has taken it up too.

247. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

This other (38 sec) clip of the march would appear to corroborate what Dave Beveridge typed above.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2HlHLDVl0pg

The caption is, “A clip of the march from the Eiffel Tower to Parc des Princes before the France v Scotland game in September 2007”.

And thanks for the Wee Black Book, Rev Stu! Been reading it in chunks at work and finally got to the last page so thanks to Lindsay Bruce as well.

248. Arbroath1320

Sorry for O/T here but I’ve just seen this tweet from Phillip Sim.

#IndyCamp cite UN declaration of rights of indigenous peoples. Say SP effort to evict them is to “dispossess” Scottish people of the land

The indy camp and their supporters are in court today to hear the case being brought against them by the Scottish Government officials. I don’t think it is the Scottish Government I think it is the civil servants who have brought the case despite pleas, I believe, to the contrary from M.S.P.’s

249. Arbroath1320

Just for those who think the WBB, no NOT the Wee BLUE book, this one the Wee BLACK Book is just awesome … an accompanying awesome badge! 😀

https://twitter.com/BadgeBonny/status/713004817937993728/photo/1

250. call me dave

Carmichael and the Rowntree Trust donation just got a 5 minute spot on radio shortbread.

I almost felt sorry for him… after they read out the full statement from Rowntree. Seems that the unionists are under represented in Scotlands with only 3 MPs.

He’s still > £100,000 short even counting the £35,000 donation and the £15000 crowd funder he ran.

No mention of the other party or the costs that they has to raise.
    Good old Auntie! 🙂

251. Arbroath1320

I am sorry … no SERIOUSLY I am extremely sorry about linking this article. In my defence I think you will find the material quite … well quite astounding and eye opening in places. No really you will … trust me. 😉

I would urge folks to read through the bile cause the *ahem* best bits don’t appear at the beginning unfortunately. Stick with it and you will be *cough* enlightened! 😀

https://www.holyrood.com/articles/inside-politics/ukip-scotland-leader-david-coburn-sets-record-straight

252. crisiscult

Looks like I’ll have some reading to do tonight. Skimmed first bit. Great work Rev.

Btw, an ex student of mine is doing some research on nationality and attitudes to immigration. Please if you have 1 minute to spare, visit her survey and complete.

https://surveyplanet.com/56f4106810f2ea0d1e228814

253. Jdman

@me @ 2.35
    “Unwittingly” = allegedly
    Where the hells LLPW when you need him?

254. mumsyhugs

Aye macart has done a great job over on Wee Ginger Dug – but also have a look at the comments for a post by a lady called Margaret – stunning – but a wee warning, you’ll need your paper hankies at the ready! So poignant today.

255. Skooshcase

@Almannysbunnet at 9:08 am

“Aye New Zealand, it’s nae sae easy to get rid o the butcher’s apron.
    You’ll have to change your flag anyway once we strip the St Andrews cross out of the Jack.”

Ha! Good point there, Almannysbunnet!

It’s going to be fun watching from afar how NZ and others with the Butcher’s Apron in their national flag deal with that conundrum! Let them have to work that one out as quickly as possible!

256. One_Scot

Macandroid, thanks for the reduced file size, my email was only allowing 15Mb upload.

I can now start sending WeeBlackBook emails.

257. Skooshcase

It’s great to have the Better Together liars’ lies accumulated in such a fashion.

But I’ll tell you what, it doesn’t half make me fucking seethe with anger going through it all.

What was done (and still continues to this day) by these bastards to stop Scotland from becoming independent was absolutely criminal. May each and every one of them be hurting much, much more than 45% (only?) of the Scottish electorate were on 19.09.2014. Revenge will never, ever be sweeter.

258. Ian Brotherhood

@Croompenstein, Thepnr, Dave Beveridge & BDTT –

Hoots all.

I’m going with Dave’s date for now, but it’s a bummer folk don’t include details of when these things are when they put stuff on YT, then we just have the upload date to go by…

Never mind, looks like it was quite a day in Paris. A ‘Tartan Army’ marching through the capital of the Auld Ally – must’ve been well-noted by Whitehall, eh?

259. Titler

If we have learned anything from the last campaign, it’s that we should be unashamedly using negative as well as positive messaging which covers All of the truth. Anything else and we are campaigning with one hand tied behind our backs.

Except Wings is largely dedicated to negating mainstream media claims; which, whilst done in the spirit of informing people of where the lies are, comes across at a personal level as relentlessly negative. I can’t remember the last post I read here which reported on uplifting, positive reasons to believe in the cause, and wasn’t just a variation of “These guys suck”.

The SNP tried to run a wider, positive campaign but there’s a reason Unionists went negative, early and hard… it’s because whilst you can at first motivate liberals, reformers, dreamers and builders with fear and disgust, to keep them engaged in the process you need to offer them concrete hope for a better future. You have to inspire them, otherwise they slowly drop out as they are worn out by the damage negativity does to their souls. But authoritarians and the hate filled keep coming back the more you tell them there are people out there who need hating. So going negative always, always benefits the establishment, and the Right in general.

That’s why Donald Trump leads in the US. And why I’m not entirely sure he won’t go all the way… the left is divided heavily between neoconservative, establishment Hilary supporters, who think winning is all that matters, and those who want Sanders precisely because he offers the hope of a different path that Obama didn’t justify and that they’re now being told they’re fools to believe in. After all, look at how horrible the Republicans are!

This, rather than the “Milliband factor” is where the lack of support of the Left and the reformer world wide is coming from; Labour didn’t help itself with things like the fantastically stupid and patronizing last minute Ten Commandments stone but if they’d had years of concrete, positive messaging they might have ridden it out. But “Not As Bad As The Tories” doesn’t persuade the part of the electorate they need…

All of which is leading up too what a terrible piece of persuasion the Wee Black Book is. I’m personally on the fence about Independence; on the day, had I been eligible, I’d have voted Yes but with huge reservations, and no real surprise the country as a whole voted No. The argument for the future just wasn’t that strong, but like you lot I despaired of the state the wider UK was in right there and then.

But you can’t despair forever. It’s too draining. Thus whilst the WBlaB might be inspiring for people who adore Wings, I read through it and just kept thinking “Yes, yes, yes, but where’s the promise of a more positive future that should sell me on Independence itself?”

In particular, paying closer attention to Wings to see what, if anything people might be saying about the build up to the European Referendum, I notice that a new, dehumanising term for your opponents has taken root; “Yoons”? Really? Ok, it’s not my home, you have the right to have your own community with your own private language here; and WBlaB is perfectly fine as negative reinforcement for a grieving community. Losing to lies hurts, I know. But honestly, Yoons? Combined, that’s unbelievably offputting to outsiders, and thinking it’s going to persuade anyone outside the Wings bubble is strikingly naive.

Which leads to people, including myself, reading WBlaB and saying “Ok, but where are they wrong, where can I find some hopeful release from this stream of negativity?” And I agree overall with you! The UK’s politicians are a scheming inter-changeable stream of shitweasels! But do you lot, with your “Yoons”, make me feel any better? Are you good people yourselves?

You could be making that case as well; I keep hearing “If Scotland votes to stay in the EU…” Will you though? Less grieving, prove the soul of Scotland is still alive; There’s your unifying shared position with people who would be sympathetic, as well as the best case going forward for Independence; decent Scots, who value EU human rights law, voted for it but were dragged out all the same…

Or to specifically point to the first place I howled “You missed an open goal there!!” at the WBlaB; take that JK Rowling quote on the “spouse who walked out, but decided to give things one last go”; I instantly thought “This is the same Rowling who famously composed Harry Potter whilst living as a divorced single mother on benefits… Come on Wings, you could have said that, and then ‘but opportunity can come from adversity and suffering too, as Rowling herself has proven” or some such. So much more inspirational than “the house you’re in sucks and always will!”

It’s not enough to say the UK is awful. Indeed it’s actually self defeating, “Project Fear”s do work, but not for you lot. If they did, you’d have won the independence vote, wouldn’t you? Don’t you want to win? WIN PEOPLE OVER. Even “Yoons”, sigh.

260. Muscleguy

My wife who voted No and who works in postrgradute recruitment and admissions thinks that the instant we vote Yes the Chinees and others will instantly ingore our university and course rankings and refuse to come to universities they have been coming to for years because aspects of the polity have changed.

Apparently a lot of acadmic types of this delusion as well. The sky will fall in, and we will be cast into the outer darkness. That it is beyond the wit of man or woman to make dipolomatic representations to the Chinese and others that we are unchanged in all other ways and very much open for business. Of course the Chinese say at the moment they do not recognise any differences. We voted No, why should they? After a Yes vote realpolitiks and pragmatism says things will be different.

261. Chic McGregor

“It’s not enough to say the UK is awful.”

But saying it once or twice might be worth a try at least though.

262. Chic McGregor

The UK has a larger balance of trade deficit than any other developed country and by miles.

There.

We can draw a distinction between our scaremongering and theirs by having the USP of only making factual statements like the above.

The novelty alone should be worth a few converts.

263. Liz Rannoch

My first post after following for 2 years. To all those who are feeling murderous, weepy, angry, inconsolable etc. Remember:

It’s about our country, our future, our past, our people, our children.

Our need for fairness, our abilities, our creativeness, our drive, our sense of justice. Our dislike of nukes and war. Our renewables.

Our food and drink industrys, our farming, our fishing. Our excellent record for attracting foreign investment. Our scientists and computer programmers.

Our singers, our actors, our dancers, our musicians. Our golfers, our tennis players, our cyclists, our curlers, our athletes, even our rugby/football teams (we do love them).

Our love of our beautiful countryside and stunning islands. Our wild seas, palm trees and ski centres. Our wild life.

Our skills, our determination, our curiosity, our sense of humour and our sense of purpose.

Our oil is just a bonus.

THAT’s our Scotland.

Apologies to anybody/anything I’ve left out and feel free to add.

264. Skooshcase

Just imagine, today, 24th March 2016 could – should – have been Scotland’s Independence Day. What a day it could – should – have been:

A Scottish national holiday. The official get-tae-fuck of the Butcher’s Apron. The official raising of the Saltire. The singing of the new Scottish national anthem. Rememberance and thanks to those who gave their lives back in the day to see this day become a reality. Smiles, nay grins from ear to ear. Laughter. Tears of joy. Fireworks. Music all around. Dancing. Bands playing. Ceilidhs. Drams consumed. Just a right good day had by all – except, no doubt, the soor-faced Britnats…

But no. Back in the reality of 55% (was it really?) No land of 24th March 2016 it’s the same old stinking shite as before. Project Fear continues unabated. The mainstream media have actually increased their level, without fear of hinderence by ‘official’ watchdogs, of what is deemed acceptable in lying and scaremongering regards Scotland, its representatives and common people. The abuse from Westminster and the British establishment continues unabated…. And they won, FFS!0

But what should have been, as seen in paragraph two above, WILL be. That date with destiny WILL be ours. Whether it shall be in three, four, five years or more is still to be written. But written it WILL be. It’s an unstoppable inevitability.

265. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“But the SNP didn’t want to use the pound in that manner they wanted a currency union, so the author is either being deliberately disingenuous or isn’t intelligent enough to understand the difference.”

The author (me) isn’t doing anything. All the book does is quote the Evening Times quoting Mervyn King. Any interpretation you’ve put on that is your own affair.

266. Chic McGregor

McEwens of Perth now.

How about getting large placards with ‘Better Together Yet?’ on them and we could install one at every closure.

267. Chic McGregor

@Liz

Oor Wullie (not Rennie).

268. Croompenstein

@Liz Rannoch – Wonderful first post Liz it’s what the BritNats can’t understand it’s about us and our country our Scotland..

269. Skooshcase

@Titler

Your wee complaint about ‘Yoons’:

Do you actually think that WOS is the only outlet for those who support Scottish independence? ROFL!

Have you not heard of something called Twitter? No? Well, it’s a kind of new-fangled social media thingy with not too many words but with loads of people with viewpoints. More than one or two of these people with viewpoints support Scottish independence. They, like many with a ScotIndy bent are sick to the back teeth of the abuse and lies dished out by many who are supporters of UK and come up with the odd sobriquet such as ‘Yoon’ in response… I know, fucking shocking, eh!

Yet, you and your Britnat (Oops, see what I did there!) buddies have no qualms in calling Scottish independence supporters such things as, Nazis, Nationalists (as in the blood and soil type), or Cybernats, which has now become mainstream within the Unionist press such is their want to smear Scotland and the Scots. Funny that, eh…

‘Yoons’…? How ghastly! ROFLMFAO!

270. kestral

Today

Longannet closes it’s doors

2 TATA steel plants are saved through the efforts of OUR scottish government

271. Chic McGregor

Sorry Liz, missed the bit about it being your first post. And its a great one too.

But if you’ve been reading for a couple of years you’ll know I do these wee quips regularly, no disrespect intended.

272. Nana

@Liz Rannoch

That is a lovely first post. Sometimes its a bit mad round here and posts can get missed especially when a new thread starts up. I’m glad I read yours.

273. Skooshcase

@Titler

“I can’t remember the last post I read here which reported on uplifting, positive reasons to believe in the cause, and wasn’t just a variation of “These guys suck”.

Hahahahaha! Laugh Out fucking Loud!

“All of which is leading up too what a terrible piece of persuasion the Wee Black Book is.”

Is that right, now, aye? You’re a Britnat, you would say that, wouldn’t you but…

“I’m personally on the fence about Independence;”

Hahaha! Aye, right ye are!

“… on the day, had I been eligible,”

But you weren’t, were you, so your opinion means jackshit.

“…I’d have voted Yes but with huge reservations,”

Yeah, aye, aye, of course you would, of course. “I’d have voted Yes but…” LOL! The English equivalent of a proudScotbut.

“…and no real surprise the country as a whole voted No.”

Why’s that, then? Because Better Together, the BBC and the UK press did all they could to make it so? That’s about it, yeah.

“The argument for the future just wasn’t that strong,”

Hahaha! Says the Britnat who follows the UKOK-ian propaganda as if it is gospel.

“but like you lot”

“you lot”…? Tsk! Tsk! Let the mask slip there, you little Britnat scamp you!

“I despaired of the state the wider UK was in right there and then.”

So? What did you do about it? Let’s guess, vote Tory in the General Election? Yup, thought so.

FFS, you could have saved yourself so many words by just writing: WingsBAD, WeeBlackBookBAD, StuCampbellBAD, WingsCommentatorsBAD, ScottishIndependenceBAD and, of course, SNPBAD.

Now, bugger-off back to the Mail/Guardian/Telegraph/Express/Times/Sun/Mirror/Star, your natural habitat where you belong, there’s a good ‘Yoon’ chappy.

274. Foonurt

Aff toapic – Goal! (Anya), ten meenits in.

275. K1

Skooshcase has a point Titler, seriously ‘yoons’=’dehumanising’?

It’s verging on montypythonesque satire our description of Unionists as ‘yoons’.

I didn’t catch the part in your hand wringing post where you mention the ‘actual’ deliberate dehumanising of half the population of Scotland by Unionist press and media that refers to us as ‘cybernats’ as a pejorative term?

They followed people with cameras and door stepped them, and produced reams of column inches portraying these ‘cybernats’ as ‘internet nutjobs’.

And you’re decrying the term ‘Yoon’?

Get a fucking grip.

276. yesindyref2

In a few threads in the Herald I basically asked Unionists to tell us what voting NO has done for us?

Only one made a fist of it, and at that the last third of the posting was another anti-SNP rant. One other did one line on my question, and then about 100 kines of anti-SNP and anti-nat supporters. All the rest ignored it, or just slagged off the SNP – or tried to turn the question, without answering my question.

So after 4 years, there’s still no case for the Union, it seems.

By the way, it appears from some postings there the Rev is a bigoted h-something-phobe who spends too much time in his bedroom. I never knew.

277. yesindyref2

@K1
    There’s a difference between calling the likes of Foulkes, Mundell, Menzies, Costa, pick your favourite extreme Unionist activist a “yoon”, and calling all NO voters “yoons”.

The first is fine, the second will never get a majority YES.

278. Ian

OK so the UK politicians are a bunch of deceitful lying bastards. Show me someone who isn’t aware of this. I don’t question the need to debunk much of their lies, but surely the key to winning the independence decision is that enough people believe there is a viable alternative to the relentless chaos of UK politics, otherwise they’ll just hunker down in resignation to the fact that the country (UK) has gone to the dogs.

Just debunking their lies may not succeed in getting enoughe No voters to change their view. More positive news can only help in that respect, but you won’t see any of those in the MSM. So how about some positive stories to build upon the debunking ones.

I really want to get Thatcher’s catchphrase (There is no alternative – TINA) well and truly destroyed.

279. Stoker

The thoughts of Scotland’s crime overlord – Quintin Jardine’s blog:

Sunrise?
    “The only thing i know for sure, right now, is that when i crossed that Yes box on my ballot paper, i did so unafraid for my own future, even though i am a man Darling’s people tried to target on two fronts, age and affluence.”

Quintin Jardine – 18 September 2014
    https://quintinjardine.me/2014/09/18/sunrise/#comments

280. Rock

“Let’s not get fooled again.”

We need to get the message through to the 6 to 10% that were fooled.

Don’t waste any copies of this gem on the many who will never listen to logic or proof.

Thank you for yet another masterpiece.

281. Phronesis

An excellent aide memoire to educate and inform.

282. Rareexports

First time poster and I’ll probably get shot down in flames. But if WOS has taught me anything it’s – don’t trust a headline. The WBB uses headlines for the crux of it’s arguments, but we all know they are lies and not credible?

Wanted to love it, but all it does is highlight what we already know about crap journalism in Scotland. It doesn’t prove anything,

283. Breeks

At the risk of stating the bleeding obvious, this issue of unionist propaganda is two fold; it is easy to recognise the Project Fear agenda, but equally damaging is the complete absence of the pro Independence narrative.
    I have struggled for years to have any unionist articulate any progressive case for the Union to exist, but I have never witnessed the same question being asked in any live debate where the Unionist cannot escape and has to answer the question. Blair Jenkins did articulate the question along the lines of if the Union didn’t exist why would you invent it?, but that’s a pretty poor showing for such a powerful question which can reduce the most fervent Unionist to “em”, “err”, and non-articulate mumbling.

We can win every argument, but we are screaming in a sound proof box where too many people cannot hear us or have simply switched off altogether; lost to despair/ apathy/ indifference.

The Wee Black Book is an excellent tool, but the trick is getting folks to pull their heads out the sand and read it. On the other side, we have Unionist propaganda we cannot seem to shut up or even avoid.

To be honest, I cannot understand folks who would back the Union. I don’t know how they can live with themselves, but therein lies the problem. I don’t know how we get though to them. There are none so blind as those who will not see…

284. Bob Anderson

The Wee Black Book has prodded me to write my first comment on this excellent site.

It’s Brilliant!

Just printing off a few copies (Thank goodness it’s a laser printer) to pass on to those acquaintances of mine who require further “Enlightenment”, plus a few for leaving at our local library, doctor’s surgery, pub and on a couple of buses.

285. newportdee

Let’s get this printed and widely circulated ASAP.I would certainly buy it.

286. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“The WBB uses headlines for the crux of it’s arguments, but we all know they are lies and not credible?”

That’s why most of the pics also include some of the body copy. But you can go and read the full stories for yourself.

287. K1

I think your comment is better directed at Titler, yesindyref2. I’m aware of ‘our’ application of ‘Yoon’, and I think my post intimates that awareness.

It’s clear on here that the ‘yoons’ we refer to are the Unionists politically and msm et al. The ‘cybernats’ terms is however applied to anyone who supports independence, and is used as a deliberate pejorative by ‘all’ the Unionist side, because they are the ones who disseminated that ‘propaganda’ in the first place.

Titler didn’t balance their assertions with that in mind when they inferred a dehumanising element was at play in our use of the terms ‘yoons’. There isn’t, it’s a shortening of the term ‘unionists’ for ‘comedic’ effect and it ‘deflates’ the respectability that all Unioinist commentators place upon anyone who represents the unionist position.

What’s ‘cybernats’ short for?

Nutjobs on their keyboards discussing the merits of Independence?

Cybernat is utilised to ‘dehumanise’, the term ‘Yoon’ is not.

And by the way…we took ‘cybernat’ and reversed it’s effect by ‘claiming’ it for ourselves as a means of de-dehumanising’. Effectively neutralising its ‘use’ as a pejorative and instead we proudly use it as a ‘badge of honour’.

Cause that’s what Cybernat’s dae. 🙂

288. Kilty

Thanks for this. Just read it all, concise and straight to the point, as expected. Hopefully this will make some people realise just how easily they’ve been duped.

289. Angus Angus

Rev – I love ken500 – is he you? He reveals the true face of the secessionist movement This site is only viable if the Union remains in place. If Scotland ever gets to be independent where will you turn to beg money from?

290. Cyril Mitchell

o/t but I tweeted the link to this Wee Black Book to various of the high “and mighty and now cannot send any tweets. I get response that says it looks as if this tweet is automated……..please try again later”.

291. kendomacaroonbar

Guys,

iScot magazine is printing the Wee Black Book in its May issue (out 01/05) with a double front Cover. This can be ordered at http://www.iscot.scot

There are substantial volume price breaks for resellers or promoters.

e mail info(at)iscot(dot)iScot for details

292. Sora Lochiel

Will this iScot deal be the full WBB or just excerpts? My SNP branch is tempted to order a load so we can get it out as quickly as possible, but if it’s not going to be the whole thing, we’d rather wait.

Any idea yet when print will become available through this site?

293. David Whannel

Sorry I’m a little late and never contributed to this wee book this time, but there’s some questionable information on renewables I’m surprised no alert readers have picked up on. BetterTogether were suggesting 1/3 of renewables were in Scotland, when ClimateXChange have recently reported to the Scottish government that by 2020 two thirds of the UK’s renewables will be in Scotland. It’s to be a £9.1bn annual shared tab by then too, something we could work on together for breaking that down in the next wee book?

The main point I’m seeing a lot of confusion over is the National Grid prices to Scotland being higher, i.e. the closure of Longannet on page 28 due to those higher charges when plants in Cornwall are the opposite, they get subsidised. A lot see this as severely unfair but it is in fact our renewables that caused the problem, explained here due to capacity:
    http://www.thinkscotland.org/thinkpolitics/articles.html?read_full=12796 even Peterhead could be subsidised in the same way.

Although since the Scottish government complained (http://www.scottishenergynews.com/higher-connection-charges-in-scotland-than-ruk-are-no-barrier-to-electricity-generators-says-national-grid-chief) it’s all changed, and unlikely for our betterment, our former energy minister explains:
    http://www.heraldscotland.com/opinion/14417954.Agenda__Counting_the_cost_of_energy_policy

The Guardian reported a very worthwhile watch in memory of David Mackay yesterday:
    http://www.theguardian.com/environment/2016/may/03/idea-of-renewables-powering-uk-is-an-appalling-delusion-david-mackay

294. Chic McGregor

Having seen Alyn Smith’s Wee Bleu Book, a suggestion

How about using FlipSnack, or FlipHTML5?

295. Taranaich

Well. Given the European Referendum results, I think we should put production on this baby into overdrive.

296. george

An excellent read.I did vote yes.I wanted independence.
    However I find the foreward quoting Derek Bateman very confusing and could not help noticing the parallel to recent events.
    If you change just 2 words “British” and “Britain” and replaced it with European and Europe would it not read the same?
    I much prefer Michael Goves quote on the last page which could apply to both referendums.
    I voted for independence.

297. David

Any sense that the SNP have done a copy and paste of your work, Stu?

http://www.snp.org/broken_promises_by_tories_and_no_campaign_since_indyref

298. Fearchar

Samizdat is still here. Thank goodness for the power of writing!

299. Grendel

Can you still buy print copies and where from?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.