Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off

Posted on March 24, 2026 by

The last faint hope of any remotely positive or at least interesting outcome of May’s election just left the building.

It wasn’t MUCH of a hope, and it’s absolutely no surprise in the wake of the comically shambolic, belief-defyingly inept farce that has been the birth of Jeremy Corbyn and Zarah Sultana’s fringe-of-the fringe party, but all the same its extinguishing means the next two months will be even more of a waste of time than they looked like being.

Frankly, readers, we may as well not bother having an election at all.

Firstly because it’d save a fortune. A whopping 40 MSPs are standing down at the election, and they’ll all be eligible for redundancy payments (called “resettlement grants”), and some will also be eligible for additional payments for standing down as ministers or officeholders – we reckon Alison Johnstone, the current Presiding Officer, will score the biggest payday, picking up a tidy £105,706.

Most will trouser the maximum (£77,710), and the total will be in the region of £2.65 million. That’s a heck of a wedge for hard-pressed taxpayers to be laying out just because people have voluntarily decided they don’t want their jobs any more. (It’s not like we’re SAVING anything from their redundancies, because their roles will be taken over by new gravy-seekers.)

But it’s small beer compared to the overall cost of the election, which will be in the region of £50 million. The 2026-27 budget allots £37m for the election specifically, but there are various other costs and contingencies that come on top.

So what will we get for this £53m? Well, more of the same. While there’s actually a fairly wide range of possible arithmetical outcomes, they all amount to the same thing. There is zero doubt that the SNP will form the “new” government, and zero prospect of them doing anything differently.

The best-case scenario for the SNP (though it’d actually be a nightmare) is probably around 66 seats, backed up with double-digit Greens. The absolute worst-case for them, if Unionists really get their tactical voting together – which they won’t – is maybe 45-50, which would still be double anyone else, and there’d be no credible way for anyone else to get enough support to form a government.

The Unionist parties will rearrange the deckchairs, swapping a bunch of Labour and Tory MSPs for Reform ones, but all will be equally irrelevant. Polling (which is all over the shop) suggests that Reform, Labour and even the Greens are in the running for second place, but who other than themselves actually cares? (There is no “official opposition” at Holyrood.)

Independence? Don’t make us laugh. Less than a quarter of SNP voters even think it’s a pressing issue, and no other party’s voters are interested in the constitution either. Everyone knows it’s a dead political duck and only political pundits and (during the campaign) candidates are forced for professional reasons to pretend otherwise.

A “pro-independence” majority now looks all but a certainty with the collapse of Your Party Scotland, and an SNP-alone majority is a possibility, but neither outcome would be any different to a minority and more to the point, everyone knows it. Whatever the result, the SNP will bleat pitifully at Keir Starmer for another referendum, Starmer will tell them to sod off, and they’ll scuttle away happily to bag another five years’ wages.

So why are we bothering with six more weeks of wretched, transparent pretence that anything about this election matters? Nothing will change except the names on the paycheques. We’d be as well just carrying on as we are, and if anyone wants to stand down we’ll just have a by-election. The only real losers would be Reform, but pretty much everyone seems to hate them anyway (including, irrationally, SNP voters) so there wouldn’t be much of a protest.

Of course, we’d still be left with a useless government almost nobody likes. Barely half of SNP voters think the party’s record has been even fairly good in anything but the vague, unmeasurable “standing up for Scotland”.

And almost six in ten of them are unwilling to even say John Swinney is “honest”, let alone have faith in him to turn the country around.

But they understandably don’t think any of the other halfwits applying for his job are any better. Hilariously, the least unpopular political leader in Scotland is the Lib Dem UK leader Ed Davey, who gets a negative approval rating of only -9, mainly because 57% of Scots can’t be bothered to have an opinion of him at all.

(Swinney gets -17 in seventh place, just below Russell Findlay and Malcolm Offord on -16 each, and Anas Sarwar gets a brutal -31, although he’ll be pleased to be only seven points behind Nicola Sturgeon. Nigel Farage and Keir Starmer tie for last on -52, so it’s not looking good Prime Minister-wise for the UK for the next nine years. Poor old Humza Yousaf, meanwhile, doesn’t even get a look-in.)

Last night STV called this “the scunnered election”, but we think a better word is “accursed”, because like COVID-19 it’s a plague nobody wants but that we’re all going to have to grit our teeth and endure anyway, at enormous cost to the public purse, to gain nothing.

The Six Nations is over and the World Cup isn’t until June. If you’ve been thinking of taking a lengthy holiday somewhere with no internet access, readers, there’s never been a better time than now.

0 to “Let’s Call The Whole Thing Off”

1. sarah says:

Well, this poll proves, yet again, that pollsters ask people who have no idea of what is really going on in politics.

I think, Rev, that you are mistaken in saying that 10% of poll answers will support anything e.g. eating people. That looks to be a conservative estimate.

“Standing up for Scotland”? The pollsters must have asked only current SNP and Green MSPs to get over 75% agreeing. They haven’t stood up except to bow to some billionaire or other as they hand over OUR assets.

I’m afraid that hope is fading on the election bringing in better people into Holyrood. A plague on all their houses is my earnest prayer.

2. Alf Baird says:

The wages of colonialism.

3. Mark Beggan says:

Alright everybody. The electron’s here. Beautiful Scotland. Great people. Run by lunatics and morons. Ok. Everybody knows this. You have an undertaker as a First Minister. Unbelievable. Your country is a disaster. You’ve been led by the Alphabet people. Very low IQ people. How will that work out. Not good. Very sad.

Baby Trump.

4. Cynicus says:

This was always on the cards- after Craig Murrays’s (latest) defection.

• Andy Storrie says:

The professionally superior spectre of wee Jim Kelly looms larger and larger over this site with every passing day, Campbell. The wee man has got you on the ropes, boyo.

• Cynicus says:

No idea who this guy is – or what you’re talking about. Are you sure you are posting in the right place?

5. James Che says:

Lets call the whole thing off is a good idea,
    This is meant to be a Scottish election, not parties registered from down south, sucking finances oout of Scotlands people pockets.
    Colonialism in the devolved parliament sent to Scotland under Englands Westminster parliament legislation.
    And Scotland not in the treaty of union or in the Anglo Ireland agreement.
    Colonialism is accurate in phrase legally. Lets call the joke off. And run a Scottish election from Scotland with Scottish parties registered from Scotland.

6. Northcode says:

“So what will we get for this £53m?”

A cheap, and not very entertaining, second-rate circus laid on by Westminster to fool the Scots into believing they live in a democracy instead of a colony.

£53 million is a small beer bribe to keep the Scottish colony’s riches flowing unhampered southward to England only to be pissed away on nostalgic imperial grandstanding and whatever other ‘fancy new clothes’ England wants to pimp itself around the world wearing; flamboyantly spending Scotland’s wealth and calling that stolen wealth its own.

“Frankly, readers, we may as well not bother having an election at all.”

And the Scots may as well not bother turning up to vote in Westminster’s cheap-seats farcical circus clown show of democracy.

England will happily spend billions of Scotland’s money to maintain the illusion of a real and fair Union and an equal partnership and still make billions in profit out of the Scots while the Scots grow poorer and more desperate with each new Westminster-sponsored Scottish Parliamentary dancing clown and puppet show festival for fools.

• Young Lochinvar says:

NC

7 reported “new towns” in Merry ol’ Engerlund is where the money will go..

7. 100%Yes says:

New poll predicts a 18 Pro-Indy majority lead for May’s election, so what? The parliament has had a Pro-Indy majority before and nothing has come of it.

For me I’m not surprised at all about Your Party not running. So Westminster here we come and of course I’m talking about Your Party.

Indy supporters are going to have to look at the next Westminster election if they want Independence. If Your party got its act together and won the Westminster election even with the greens help to form a UK government in everything could change in the UK.

I feel sure Your Party will be up and running for the Westminster election because that’s where the money and power is and lets remember certain individuals want to be elected again.

If Craig Murray is correct about Your Party and the information we’ve heard from the Greens south of the border is correct about granting Scotland a new constitutional settlement on the question of Independence the SNP might have just signed there own death warrant on banking everything on Holyrood election.

The SNP have proven without a doubt that the party cannot deliver Independence and the party certainly cannot win a Westminster election and Your party isn’t going to help the SNP win the Westminster election when Your Party can offer what the SNP have admitted they cannot.

Lets be honest, all of us part from ManChild realized that if the SNP told its supporters to vote for the SNP 1 and ATLS 2 they’d have the majority they needed, but they didn’t, they told everyone to vote SNP 1 & 2 which isn’t going to work and the only person who believes that is ManChild. The SNP could have formed a new party calling it the SNP2 and told everyone that they needed to vote for SNP2 on the list, but they didn’t. There is so many ways the SNP could have won the election to John Swinney specifications but they didn’t and the leadership might just pay a hefty price in the Westminster election if other party’s In England stand by there guns On Scotland.

8. 100%Yes says:

I’d say John Swinney couldn’t turn a car around never mind the Country. The man is so unappealing I wish someone would throw him a wig.

9. Rob says:

The de Hondt system is skewed to stop having a majority but essentially if enough folk wanted the SNP out they could.
    The problem is that a majority of those who actually vote, vote for the SNP.

10. Cherrybank says:

I think Craig Houston the You Tuber representing the SDP will be a surprise winner of a seat on the Glasgow list vote.

11. why parliament? says:

If the parliament isn’t going to deliver independence and it isn’t improving people’s lives should we not be sacking off this very expensive clown show?

Would metropolitan mayors not be a better devolution solution for the majority of Scots?

12. Willie says:

The Scots Parliament has turned out to be exactly what Westminster wanted of it. Westminster never intended to be anything less than a colonial institution. And it has certainly become that.

Mind you in the prelude and up to the 2014 it was a vehicle for change that ran the UK close. Closer than they liked. But that was then, the SNP leadership was turned, the danger in chief Alex Salmond incapacitated, and the mechanisms and arms of the colonial Trojan horse fully engaged in dismantling all progress towards independence.

A powerless compromised super council full of people taking the trough and delivering nothing. No wonder folks are utterly disenchanted and the political system in ruins.

And all the while the dark state plays dark and deep.

The dream may not be dead but like the North American Indians the Scot heads to oblivion in his own land.

Oh how it could have been different these last years. But when you look at the history of colonialism one sees how difficult, but not unachievable, independence is.

And Westminster and the dark state have had a few colonies in their day to hone their skills on. But where, save for Scotland are their colonies today.

• Nae Need! says:

I’ve spent ages writing a post on here and then editing and then deleting it. Tongue tied, all fingers and thumbs. Too emotional. Too much to say.

But this encapsulates MUCH of what I wanted to say:

“The dream may not be dead but like the North American Indians the Scot heads to oblivion in his own land.”

True.
      Very fucking sad.

• sarah says:

Nae Need, can we take some comfort from Jim Sillars’ speech at Oran Mor recently? Jim said it had been the task of his generation to keep going, to be gubbed at an election, but stand again. Get gubbed again but stand again. That’s what brought us to 2007 and 2011 and the chance to show people that things could be made better.

Well, our task is to survive the corruption and distortion of the SNP. Find a new political vehicle as well as pursue the UN angle to strengthen the political process.

After all, look at the level of support for independence nowadays. It is HUGE compared with the old days of regular gubbings. So we don’t really have grounds to be so downhearted [I plead guilty to that!].

• Nae Need! says:

Sarah, thank you for replying to me.
        But you may not feel thankful for my response 😉
        I’m gonna have a much need rant, but it’s not AT you, Sarah, steam letting.

I don’t really take comfort from speeches. Nor marches and flags.
        I like action, concrete plans (A leads to B leads to C etc.), coherent practical strategies, if you like.

In saying that I do subscribe to Jim Sillars’ newsletter, as I’m always interested in what other people think, not to automatically agree, but so as to get new information that I can assimilate, cogitate over, consider, evaluate. Then I make my own mind up, for what it’s worth 😉

There comes a time in the life of the most thrawn when they come to a crossroads: continue being thrawn (take the repeated gubbing) OR take the attitude that if you can’t beat them join them. I’m close to ‘joining them’.

I’ve reluctantly arrived at the prospect that 2014 was our last (foreseeable)realistic chance of instigating a conflict with the Anglo-state over the Constitutional issue. Scotlands’ Self Governance. Alex stood down, SHE drove us, over the last decade (a relay race where Yousaf and Swinney have simply picked up the same baton and ran with it), into the most seedy, tawdry, frighteningly twisted and disgusting back alley. A dead end. A dead end which we are stuck in now. No amount of wishful thinking, marches, hope etc will free us from this putrid cul de sac. It’s so grotty, Holyrood has become soiled like a nappy worn far too long, it’s beneath us, the people, to have a disgusting administration like this.

But they will form another majority in May. It’s depressing beyond belief.

It will take many many years, and many tears, for any contenders to gain power. The SNP must be toppled, overthrown. But look how long it took them to gain the momentum whereby they were so successful under Alex in the first place. And then think how long it will take to oust them from power? 5 election cycles maybe? More?

I say some of this because there does not appear to be much forward movement in the Independence ‘Movement’. And the reason for this, is that there will not be forward movement until the SNP, as a political party, is defanged and disbanded as the frauds that they are. They must be cast aside, and that’s going to take a LONG time. Stu, is doing his much required ‘time’ on this task. Others are slowly starting to join in.

I’m really tired of the masquerades, of people pretending to be something they are not and in that sentiment I include the entirety of the Holyrood establishment. What we have is 5? Parties pretending to be Scottish, when they’re NOT, and one Nationalist Party, when they’re NOT. They all pretend to disagree with one another on the Constitutional issue, when they’re all actually in agreement. You couldnae make this shit up.

I remember Ruth Davidson and NS having huge performative ding dongs on these leader debate programmes . . . how they both clearly enjoyed being in secret cahoots while performing the total opposite . . . am dram at its finest. I’d score them both 10/10.

Anyway, I’m rambling, I think the constitutional issue is lost now, we had our chance in 2014, it was, with foresight and planning, deliberately blown . . . the intervening decade has now provided a worse threat to us Scots, in the form of Globalism, than Westminster rule.

Patriotism is now viewed as extreme FAR RIGHT.
        Aye, so it is.

But we knew this.
        We were TOLD this by Yousaf, and others.
        Any patriot is now a far right extremist.
        So be it.
        I’m a frustrated far right extremist.
        And labelled as such, my sympathies lie with other patriots.
        And that means primarily with the Welsh, English and Northern Irish too.
        And then there’s Patriots in other European countries.
        I think of Hungary and Orbans’ ongoing conflict with the Globalist EU . . all he wants to do is protect his populace, the Hungarians. That is what he is there to do, after all.
        And that desire to govern for, and protect, has been subverted by the Globalists into meaning a BAD thing. Ludicrous.

Western countries, by and large, have been infiltrated. Their political parties have been infiltrated and bought. The SNP have been infiltrated and bought.

Sarah, the UN is maybe good. Maybe.
        But, the UN is a massively corrupted organisation.
        So, just maybe.

• Geri says:

Nae need

It is a simple fix but no one is willing to do it so far. Alex had a plan but it’s lost in the continually fixation of what the SNP are doing (or not doing)

People must remember that Holyrood is a Colonial Administration. It means diddly squat in the grand scheme of Independence because it is a branch office of London rule & the loyal subjects of a Monarch we don’t vote for, nothing more. A colonial administration full of colonial wee footsoldiers & headed by a Colonial secretary of state.

The real, internationally recognised, legal, legit, authority resides at Westminster & Only Westminster.

Scotland must gather 57 pro independence candidates, either party or standing as independents – & win with a simple message for Indy.

That’s is all that is involved. They don’t even need to take their seats. Walk out, go home. They don’t even need to like each other either!

But Scotland is either full of egos, squabbling eejits & peppered throughout with bad faith actors constantly derailing instead of putting their differences aside & working as a collective to get seats into Westminster. It’s the only legitimate seat in town.

I dunno why ppl keep fixating on a branch office. It’s already been ruled to have diddly squat legislative powers for indy.

57 pro indy candidates. Come Tae fck, Scotland!!! Surely it’s a walk in the park? It could be folks fae the pub! They don’t even have to do anything because Westminster is just one big waste of everyone’s time! SNP had 56 & all that happened sitting there was to be the object of mockery & insult.

Win the seat then leave!

• Nae Need! says:

Geri, I understand all that, but it’s no gonna happen 😉
        Not in our life times.

• Northcode says:

“People must remember that Holyrood is a Colonial Administration… Scotland must gather 57 pro independence candidates, either party or standing as independents – and win with a simple message for Indy.”

Exactly, right, Geri.

The Holyrood Parliament and its electoral trap are an illusion and irrelevant farce, but get 57 independence supporting MPs into Westminster’s parliament with a mandate from the Scots to ‘Terminate the ToU’ and that would be a real game changer.

• Geri says:

Nae Need,

I think the next generation won’t be as daft – especially given world events over food & energy security. Currently we’re giving it tae our neighbours for free & buying it back FFS! While the whole world is looking for trade & new alliances & England boast of drilling for more free stuff Scotland is slipping back to her slumber.

I wish ppl would stop talking about the SNP. Swinney isn’t even elected. That’s how low they’ve become & should be shunned. Even if indy won a pro indy majority at Holyrood it cannie dae anything. Holyrood is a dead carcass. Sturgeon sat back & let it be stripped of all meaningful powers. Now it’s just a talking shop left to invent & implement crap no one voted for. It’s not the same & never will be. Everyone warned Scotland in 2014 this would happen in the event of a No vote so it’s no surprise that’s exactly what has happened. She even took it to court so why oh why are ppl still willing to play this farcical game?

Sillars even warned Alex not to back an outpost.

Also, even if Indy won a pro indy majority at Holyrood, it’d still follow London rule & dictat because even tho the party may change, the London rule civil servants working in the background do not & they’re the constant wasp in the ointment to purposefully fck up & derail wherever they can – especially a pro indy government. Their job will always be to maintain the status quo. Their boss sits in London. Not any FM in the Scottish branch office. Lay with dogs & they’ll catch fleas & that’s happened too.

Eyes on the prize! 57 bums elected to Westminster. Then walk out & take it fae there. Scotland has used the legal & legit authority of the ballot box to win seats at only recognised seat of power in the UK.

Holyrood is deid. No one on the international stage cares about a branch office given some domestic chores to do. Winning a pro indy majority at Westminster is the only game changer Indy should be spending it’s time & resources on.

Anyway, rant over LOL…

• Alf Baird says:

“the Scot heads to oblivion in his own land”

This is indeed what postcolonial theory tells us, that a colonized people ‘are in the process of perishing’ (Fanon); and if colonialism is allowed to continue then they will eventually perish.

It remains that there is only one remedy for colonialism, which is decolonization and liberation of the oppressed group, or what some people refer to as independence.

This is obviously ‘the most urgent matter’ facing any colonized people, i.e. the survival of their own ethnic group and (national) culture, which is facing obliteration by another ethnic group and culture.

link to bpb-us-w2.wpmucdn.com

13. Northcode says:

On the bright side – once Scotland has been coloniZed to the maximum extent and her people and their culture lost and only remembered in historically inaccurate English or American novels, TV programs, movies and unbearable tartanesque period dramas – the few remaining Scottish natives confined to the central belt (or the Scottish nations, as it will probably be called) of a new settled Scotland’s now alien landscape might be able to make some sort of meagre living selling tartan dreamcatchers to tourists in Edinburgh (if they’re allowed entry to Auld Reekie) or performing the highland fling in their national dress for a coin or two or a bottle of Buckfast.

• Nick E.T. Naquetti says:

@Northcode
      I could easily see the Dudley D Watkins-meets-Rabbie Burns crowd who make up half the regulars here easily accept this as a way of life, so long as they get their tonic wine and soccer.

• Cherrybank says:

Sarah @ 8.15pm Jim Sillars published his final book on November 2025 titled ‘The New Case for Optimism ‘ costing £10 and publisher Vagabond Voices.

• Onlooker says:

Welcome to every single Scottish video on the net. It’s depressing how quickly and easily (mostly younger) Scottish people have moved into dancing tartan monkey mode to entertain yanks and various halfwits round the world, being all oooh-rebellious sweary and drunk and angry and violent and such drivel.

They can’t even see or understand how embarrassing and disgusting they’re being, slinging their worthless outdated stereotypes for a few likes or “I can’t understand what they’re saying is it even English lol we need subtitles!” scum yanks babbling rubbish in their comments sections. Scottish people should not be allowed to post videos. They’re a cringe-inducing liability.

• Northcode says:

Totally agree, the Scots suck… the Picts, however, were a class act, and their descendants (myself included) are carrying on that classy mystical Pictish magic today.

The Picts were, and still are, the classiest folks this mundane planet has ever seen.

14. James says:

“Standing up for Scotland”? just stopping the other parties making things even worse, not exactly an exciting message or future.

Why do all options look so bad is the whole UK just stuffed.

15. alan scott says:

I’m a Unionist who thinks Holyrood should be abolished. The cost of one election is peanuts compared to the cost of keeping the gravy train running year after year. Whether you’re a Unionist or a Nationalist these MSPs have done nothing to make Scotland a better place.They have however done many things to impoverish the Scottish people both financially and morally. Holyrood is doing nothing to rid Scotland of Alf’s colonialists. When are you Nationalists going to say enough is enough and demand the abolition of Holyrood and the end to devolution?

• agentx says:

“When are you Nationalists going to say enough is enough and demand the abolition of Holyrood and the end to devolution?”
      ———————————————

I believe the majority of people on here demand exactly that – to be replaced with independence.

• alan scott says:

I know the vast majority on here want Holyrood to be replaced by an independent Scotland. I’m just suggesting Holyrood is helping no one, Unionist or Nationalist, and we should all be campaigning to shut it now and let the troughers go and earn a living or more likely sign on.

• Geri says:

Alan, are you from Scotland?

• Nae Need! says:

Holyrood is helping no one, Alan.

I think I’ve reached my tolerance limits. my patience limits . . . get it to fuck and accept Westminster rule OR, or, or yeah, there is no OR. It’s fucked.

Serious Q. How long are Indy supporters expected to suspend belief? Decades? 3? 4? More?

• sarah says:

Ask a French person when they will give up their nationhood. Or a German. Or the c. 200 other countries in the world.

The UK isn’t a nation, it is an illegal and false construct.

As Burns put it:
      “What are all the advantages which my country reaps from the union that can counterbalance the annihilation of her independence, and even her very name? Nothing can reconcile me to the terms.”

And I would say something similar for Wales, and any other nation that has had its independence taken from it. The theft does obvious harm to the subjugated people emotionally as well as financially. I would like England to be free – they would be happier in the long run, I’m sure, not to have their existence obscured by the clutter of Celtic nations.

• Nae Need! says:

I couldn’t agree more, Sarah.
        Of course its a false construct. It’s an absolutely, almost fantastical, ridiculous situation.
        But having the power to remove it from that, is an entirely different situation.

As we are seeing, aren’t we?

• Dan says:

@alan scott

When are you unionists going to” demand the implementation of devolution for The Kingdom of England, and stop the KoE treating the UK Parliament in Westminster as its own.
      Should we presume you want the same rescinding of devolution for NI and Wales too.

I am by no means a fan of the captured unionist NuSNP, and what the poundshop “parliament” in Edinburgh has become. But you need to acknowledge that we are where we are due to the power and influence of UK State interests controlling what’s broadcast and the narratives it punts.
      But here’s an article from a good while back highlighting some of the differences Scotland achieved with the limited restrictive constraints of devolution under a relatively competent administration.
      Unionist in Scotland should renounce the fiscally beneficial aspects Scotland affords to those that live here, and begin to practice what they preach and start paying the same as the English do under London Rule.

link to grousebeater.wordpress.com

And if Scotland is so shite, then why the fuck are so many English still moving up here. Seems an odd choice to move from their green and pleasant homeland to somewhere shiter no?
      And jist lolz at a unionist lecturing on Scotland wasting monies, whilst not being critical of the much more significant monies being pissed up the wall and siphoned off in England.

• Aidan says:

@Dan there isn’t an option to renounce the benefits (which for most working people on an average wage or above are trivial) and instead pay the English rates of tax which are much, much lower.

As an illustration, if you saved the delta in tax between England and Scotland every year on a steady £100k salary (e.g. lawyer, senior accountant, senior manager in a large company, GP etc. ) over 30 years at a 5% rate of return every year you’d have a whole £320,000 a year more in your pension at retirement. If you are a professional couple and both do the same thing, that’s £640,000! Then you move to Scotland when you retire (which is what is happening now).

You complain that things in Scotland are closing (e.g. refineries) and opening in England, well that there is one of the biggest reasons why.

• Dan says:

@Aidan
        A quick search suggests only about 4% of folk in Scotland earn the 100k figure you band about so much in your tax examples. Go do the sum for the median wage of approximately 39k.
        And mind the council tax is lower here with marginally better services.
        But you were happy to spaff a billion on the trams in Auld Reekie so Scotland could supposedly be like other modern cities, best suck it up ya fanny.
        Re. Grangemouth refinery closing when Scotland has approximately 96% oil and 65% gas of UK reserves. UK Energy policy is reserved to London Rule and they have made an arse of that for decades. No money to keep Grangemouth up and running, but enough to give Ratcliffe a loan to open a new refinery in Belgium…

link to grousebeater.wordpress.com

I’ve stated umpteen times over the years that I’d prefer if Scotland was more self-sufficient in the vital aspects that a society requires to get by. Energy and food being particularly important; And especially so now with arseholes kicking off trouble in the Middle East.

• alan scott says:

And jist lolz at a unionist lecturing on Scotland wasting monies, whilst not being critical of the much more significant monies being pissed up the wall and siphoned off in England.

I wasn’t lecturing just giving my view which I’m happy for you to disagree with. I do agree that Westminster pisses much more money up the wall than Holyrood mainly because they have so much more of it to abuse.

• Aidan says:

I’d be surprised if 4% of people earn over £100k in Scotland, I’d suggest it’s probably lower than that. But let’s be clear, those are the people that a) pay disproportionately more tax than everyone else, and b) create lots of well paid employment for others. I cannot fathom how anybody wanting Scotland to become an independent country would be in favour of incentivising higher earners and businesses to move south, and retirees to move north. The only reason I can see for such a policy is to sabotage independence by making Scotland progressively less fiscally sustainable year on year.

On Grangemouth, it was owned and operated privately just like all the other refineries in the U.K., so it isn’t down to reserved or devolved energy policy as to whether its kept open, it’s down to demand. Scotland is a declining market for Ineos’ products, and Scotland’s extremely high tax rates are a major reason for that. The fact that Scotland produces lots of oil and gas has no bearing on that, if the oil and gas is to be exported then it’s much cheaper to export the raw products and refine them at their destination, than it is to refine it here and then export it. If you think the long list of marginal freebies is worth the economic damage to Scotland then that’s your judgement, but let’s not pretend that having some of the highest tax rates in the developed world doesn’t come with consequences.

• Breastplate says:

Alan, you may think you’re a Unionist but there is no Union, just a parasitic England sacking the lifeblood from Scotland.

You are a Nationalist the same as us, it’s just that you’re a British Nationalist.

England will only prioritise its own wants and needs, it can’t and won’t prioritise Scotland’s.

There’s a reason that the seat of power resides in London.

• alan scott says:

I agree I’m a British Nationalist because the country I was born in and love is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. I also agree that English people will prioritize English needs just as in an Independent Scotland the people of Aberfeldy would prioritize Aberfeldy before Govanhill.Where I disagree is that I don’t think a parasitic England is sucking the lifeblood out of Scotland.Instead Holyrood has turned Scotland into a child with Special Educational Needs who can only exist on the benevolence of the MSPs sucking ever more money into their hands so they can dole it out to their favoured sons and causes. That is why the Scottish state is corrupt and failing. The SNP has has corrupted every institution in Scotland from the police to the courts and the prison services.
        That’s not an argument against independence. I think both Unionists and Nationalists should be campaigning to close down Holyrood

• Geri says:

“…demand the implementation of devolution for The Kingdom of England, and stop the KoE treating the UK Parliament in Westminster as its own.”

Well said, Dan.

They’re squatting, rent free, in a GB parliament like they own the place while charging the rest of us to pay for it & then charging us again for an administrative outpost.

Slippery Yoon math as always.

Is Reform proposing English devolution & an annual Government Expenditure & Revenue England report? If not, why not? We’d all love to see the breakdown & crunch their fictitious figures. It’d be comedy gold trying to hide the North sea revenues for a start.

This con really needs exposed more often – especially by the Scots MPs currently sitting there. England for Devolution. Get to it, Alan. The entire population of Scotland, NI & Wales will be rooting for you. We’d even help with yer campaign.

As for Holyrood, it’s already more or less been closed. Stripped of powers & rendered mute. All it’s currently doing is personal pet projects & inventing new ones no one voted for – but that’s by design. England wouldn’t be as stupid to close it. They’d much rather keep the con going. Besides, there’d be hundreds of MSPs unemployed & looking for a new job & Westminster would be the obvious choice.

Dan’s link to Grousebeater is a comprehensive list of all the things SNP achieved under Alex Salmond & the ones he handed over to Sturgeon to complete. Proving we are better off independent. We don’t need an overlord.

16. Iain More says:

I am told that the UK owns c £700 Billion of Yankee NAZI Debt.

We are ruled by Brit/Sassanach FUCKWITS and Yoon idiots and FUCKWITS vote for it.

17. James Che says:

Question,
    At what date does anyone here find Scotland attached to The Great Britain parliament in any legal or official capacity?

Scotland made no 1707 treaty with the GB parliament, it only holds a treaty with the kingdom of England, not the kingdom of Great Briain,

18. James Che says:

Question,

At what date did Scotland make a 1707 treaty with the United kingdom parliament?

It holds nor made no treaty in 1707 with the United kingdom parliament.,

19. James Che says:

Question,

What date did the Great Britain parliament dissolve Scotlands parliament from the Great Britain parliament?

20. James Che says:

Question,

At what date did Englands Great Britain parliament End, ?

It was dissolved in 1800.

21. James Che says:

Question,

How and by what means is Scotland officially or legally tied to England?

There is no legal or official manner that ties Scotland to England, they have all been dissolved by Westminster parliament starting in 1707 when the Scottish parliament was first dissolved from the Great Britain parliament,

22. James Che says:

Colonialism only occurs in Scotland due to Scottish people thinking they are or very briefly were in a treaty of union in the GB parliament through a treaty with England 1707.

However Scotland was also Dissolved from the GB parliament the same year of 1707 by the Westminster parliament.
    Leaving the old parliament of England as the remaining parliament of Great Britain from 1707 onwards.

Scotland is not connected to England legally or officially since Englands Westminster parliament and monarch threw Scotland out of the parliament of Great Britain in 1707 by dissolving the Scottish parliament from the union and treaty.

Westminster parliament of England legally or officially cannot re Write a Constitution for Scotland or with Scotland,
    It detached its self from Scotland in 1707,

23. Northcode says:

The Bigger PICTure

Scotland is lost… lost to a stupid, vicious and invasive foreign power. A power smaller in wit, tho greater in number, than that of the last indigene Scots who now count thersels just three million with another million or so whose minds are lost to the chaos and confusion that is the mental illness called ‘Britishness’.

But there is an escape for our people from English domination and oppression, a new direction for Scotland, another way the Scots might survive beyond the now.

Some of you might have guessed from the title I gave to this comment the route I propose the last of us indigenous Scots should take to secure the future of our people…

Scotland is dead, long live Pictavia. The Scots are dead, long live the Picts.

24. James Che says:

The pretend Scottish parliament and its false Scottish elections with Englands registered political parties are irrelevant to people in Scotland,

Because Scotland is not in the parliament of GB since 1707,
    Because Scotland is not in the United kingdom parliament either due to being dissolved from the Great Britain parliament in 1707,

Continuity did not go forward for the 1707 parliament of Scotland in the parliament of Great Britain after it was dissolved 1707.

25. James Che says:

Scotland is not bound to the 1707 parliament of Great Britain,
    Scotland is not bound to the united kingdom parliament of 1801/1802 England/ Ireland parliament,

They are connected by the Scots acceptance of Colonialism, and trickery from Westminster parliament.
    But no legal obligation to a 1707 treaty that the Great Britain parliament ended in the same year 1707,

26. James Che says:

Why vote?

To continue Colonialism, to hold and de- value democracy in Scotland.
    These are not actually Scottish elections.

27. James Che says:

Scotland is not in the parliament of Great Britain.
    Scotland is not in the parliament of the United kingdom.

Only England has continuity in both those said parliaments, England is alone and sole survivor [ without Scotland ] in both state parliaments.
    England and Ireland are the new construction of the united kingdom parliament since the Anglo- Irish agreement in 1801/ 1802

This information is in records that can be viewed and researched by anyone that may realise the trickery and deceit played on Scottish people,

28. James Che says:

Scottish people pay the standard income tax as the rest of Great Britain, however they also have added on Scottish income tax up and above the rest of Britain,

Making this a extra poll tax appropriated on people in Scotland.
    This can be checked and researched rather than take my word for it.

29. Chas says:

I worry about the mental health of the nutters who post the same tripe day, after day, after day on this site.

It seems that Scotland will the the bestest country in the world if only they had Independence. Yet, nobody ever says who will form an honest, competent Government. Nobody ever says how Scotland will afford to ‘go it alone’. Everything is always someone else’s fault-usually England.

If only some political Party would detail a blueprint of how Scotland could prosper but nobody ever does. I wonder why?

• Breastplate says:

Chas, I understand that you find the concept of independence difficult so let’s come at it from another angle.

If Norway was run by Westminster would they be;
      A) Better off than they are now.

B) In the exact same position as they are now.

C) A complete fucking basket case of a country, populated by fuckwits called Jhas, telling the Norwegians they need to show that things won’t be worse if they decide to prioritise Norway’s needs.

• Insider says:

Breastplate….

You appear to have SERIOUS comprehension problems !

Chas’s comment was..

“nobody ever says who will form an honest, competent Government. Nobody ever says how Scotland will afford to ‘go it alone’. Everything is always someone else’s fault-usually England.
        If only some political Party would detail a blueprint of how Scotland could prosper but nobody ever does. I wonder why?”

You obviously are incapable of answering !

• Geri says:

Are you dumb?

Yer literally posting on an Independence blog that not only posted thousands of articles debunking yoons pish but also printed a wee book too.

I’ll tell you what tho, why don’t you predict how England will cope on its own? It’s the one unwilling to fuck off & be dependent on others. Can’t it grow a spine? I thought it was going to “take back control” control of what exactly? What did you win?

What are we getting for staying in the Union that is so prized? Absolutely nothing. Why don’t you goons ever have an answer to that burning question.

• Breastplate says:

Insider, I think there’s a bit of projection on your part, as you clearly have no idea what I’m talking about.

Chas has been on here for years with the same arguments, time and time again, and no matter how often he has been shown that Scotland is being robbed of her resources by England in every way possible, he refuses to adhere to reason and logic.

His starting position regarding Scotland is that Scotland is in a position where things could be markedly worse. That England is a great provider for Scotland, that we should continue to scrounge off England and we should never ever make decisions on our own unless we can prove categorically, that those decisions will benefit us financially.

His argument rests entirely on the premise that England has only our best interests at heart, above everything else.

This is, a childish and tedious, but unfortunately widespread, interpretation of Scotland’s reality that I have very little desire or inclination to address.

His demands that we must know the future ramifications of Scotland making our own decisions but blithely accept every decision made for us by England is beyond parody.

So no, I dont have a problem with comprehension regarding Chas’ superficial thoughts on Scottish independence, on the contrary, I understand them all too well.
        Just as I understand yours.

• Dan says:

Damn it! Pity we’ve got the wrong sort of leccy up here…
        The Grid cannae cope“… But Scotland is generating and using approximately 2.6GW, and still managing to send 5.6GW down to England. Me thinks The Grid is working jist fine for some…

link to extranet.neso.energy

• Captain Caveman says:

“Are you dumb?

Yer literally posting on an Independence blog”

Heh!! Just when you think the irony-o-meter can’t be overloaded, along comes “Geri” complaining about (wait for it)…. RUDENESS and (wait for it again)…. posting about stuff on a Scottish independence blog! Hahahahahah!!!!

Maaaaate.

Against some stiff competition I will admit, but you, “Geri”, take the absolute fucking biscuit in rudeness, pal. You’re in no position whatsoever to criticise anyone else, you foul-mouthed, deeply unpleasant, abusive (and pigshit-thick) moron, with your 24-hour tirades day and night (when you’re not banned, natch).

As for being on topic, again, you’re the worst offender for posting all manner of “filter evading” crap about anything but Scottish independence, despite being asked multiple times by the site owner not to do so (which, again, explains the multiple bans). My money says you don’t even live in the UK, matey, let alone Scotland. Just another troll with nowhere else to go, because (quite rightly) you and your ilk aren’t tolerated elsewhere, no doubt. Honestly, you must be wholly lacking in self awareness is all I can say – which is no doubt just as well!

It’s all very well saying Scotland “doesn’t need a blueprint for independence”; words are cheap and easy to say if, say, you’re a penniless zealot with nothing between the ears, but to the rest of the grownups involved with actual stuff to lose (jobs, careers, pensions, property etc) it matters quite a lot, and some pamphlet ain’t gonna cut it, I’d imagine. Given that th 2013 White Paper was a joke and nothing else has followed even that in 13 years, probably indicative why independence hasn’t occurred, just maybe? Duh.

Finally, it’s a perfectly valid concern to articulate that, the dire state and quality of Scotland’s political classes & the inevitability that these same people would be in charge in iScotland is enough to send a shiver down anyone’s spine – unless they’ve got a head that zips up at the back. Ring any bells?

Give me strength. You people, honestly. Why you’re allowed to endlessly spout this crap here day and night is beyond me.

• Insider says:

Breastplate @12:18

No amount of bluster and attempted diversions on your part can disguise your comprehension problems or the fact that you are unable to answer Chas’s simple comment….

Chas’s comment was..

“nobody ever says who will form an honest, competent Government. Nobody ever says how Scotland will afford to ‘go it alone’. Everything is always someone else’s fault-usually England.
        If only some political Party would detail a blueprint of how Scotland could prosper but nobody ever does. I wonder why?”

Well ?
        Do you have an answer ?

• Breastplate says:

Insider, you’ve got me. I don’t understand the question or the answer, could you tell me please, pretty please, with sugar on top.

I really need to know, so make it nice and simple for folk like me, please tell me the answer to Chas’ question, I’m absolutely dying to know.
        I’m sure you can straighten all this independence nonsense out and we can all put it to bed, once and for all?

• Northcode says:

“…nobody ever says who will form an honest, competent Government.”

Nobody can until Scotland is liberated and she regains control over her civic institutions and public bodies.

Nobody ever says how Scotland will afford to ‘go it alone’.”

Scotland is rich in natural resources ‘going it alone’ won’t be a problem for the Scots. The Scots who built the modern world.

It is far more likely that England will be unable to to afford to continue in its current state without the riches it depends on that it steals from the Scots.

Everything is always someone else’s fault-usually England.”

The Scots are a subjugated people and have no control over their own systems of government and natural wealth. This situation is entirely the fault of imperial England’s colonization of Scotland.

The only blueprint for generating wealth in Scotland is drawn by England for the extraction of Scotland’s riches for England’s own benefit to the exclusion of the Scots.

Every political party in Scotland, bar those under the agency of the newly formed Alliance to Liberate Scotland, is an English Trojan Horse.

The political landscape in Scotland is populated almost entirely by English supporting organisations acting in bad faith; falsely representing Scotland and the Scots when in reality they represent only England.

• Insider says:

Breastplate @ 2:10 pm

Thank you for admitting you cannot understand even the most basic questions about Scottish Independence !
        If only more of the idiots who infest this site had your courage !

• James says:

Breastplate; brilliant – headshot!

Another Yoon Troll put in their place.

• James says:

Working class hero Wilma Flintstone; “maaaaaaate”

Can’t you just hear the annoying accent?

Wish he/she/it would just f*ck off to somewhere appropriate. Daily Heil site maybe?

• Geri says:

Cappy Caveman,

fck off back tae yer stall, del boy.

You know nothing. I’ve never been banned, unlike you, & I’ve never been warned either, unlike you.

Yer not very good at facts.

As for other world news, it’s all relevant. Who said we weren’t to talk about it if the subject arises? Incidentally, it’s usually plastered all over here by rampant yoons celebrating brown ppl being killed. Yer just making shit up again eh? Colonisers are being shown the door. Iran is decolonising the entire region & the filthy thieves sent packing. I’m stunned the International community hasn’t demanded a section 30 order, economic forecasts & a blueprint of how they’ll all survive without their Overlords.

You don’t even live in Scotland. You have zero vote here so why don’t you pack up yer wee Yoon violin & fuck off.

• Captain Caveman says:

Well, “Geri”, I might well be Del Boy but at least he’s popular and British. Unlike some, eh pal.

As for you not being banned? Lol. About as believable as you being some lass called “Geri”, mate.

Always good to rattle your cage. 🙂

• twathater says:

Geri your demolition of the yoonionists on here is something to behold , so much so that Corporal Cave dweller will soon be crying to his mammy , he is rather upset at you and calls you ” you, “Geri”, take the absolute fucking biscuit in rudeness, pal.” it’s a strange way to talk to your pal totally ignoring the irony in his statement

To Corporal Cave dweller I will say
        It is sometimes extremely difficult to gauge how stupid some people really are , but time and time again they actually expose and highlight that stupidity
        Is it really that difficult for the hard of thinking Scotland hating proud Scots buts amongst us to do a wee bit of research and realise that we are and have been lied to day and daily for 300+years by LIARS and THIEVES not only in the neighbouring country but also by the quis lings and trai tors residing here
        If only these fuckwits would STOP for a minute and think that the incompetence and corruption that they complain about daily going on in Scotland is merely a shadow and a small reflective mirror of what is taking place in WM that they hold up as an example of goodness

It is frustrating that they don’t want better for their families and their children’s future, that they actually believe that THIS uk governance is the best that they can hope for, everyone commenting on this blog wants a better future for their families they also know that that better future will not come from the SCUM in WM or HR, yet their ignorance and stupidity forces them to defend the incompetence and corruption of WM whilst exposing and deriding the incompetence and corruption of HR
        Are you too stupid to realise WE should ALL be on the same side

• Geri says:

I’m going to keep reminding you yoons what site yer actually posting on.

Not only is it rude but it’s also the height of ignorance to the site host who has written thousands of articles on Scottish Independence & thousands more debunking every Yoon brain fart they could think of to throw at it.

The search function is your friend. Use it. It’ll have all the answers to your questions & more.

The rubbish that no one is ever answering your questions is just brain dead drone parish – ranked up there with that other moronic chant “once in a generrrrrration”

So funny was the “No one is answering all of our questions” during indyref that someone actually made a video on YouTube of the top 10. 10 Unionist myths debunked. Another good one is “Gallas – 40 year fleecing of Scotland’s oil wealth” covering McCrone & how poxy saints & a shite hole England was before oil came ashore.

Scotland doesn’t need a blueprint just as other Independent countries don’t. They just get on with it. No one ever asks them how the fuck they’ll manage without an English overlord. Have you heard yerself?

Don’t answer that. The voices in yer wee napper are better just kicking around empty space where they are.

• Chas says:

I note that there have been a few replies to my original post.
      Unfortunately not one of them gives any answer to the questions posed. To be honest this does nor surprise me. It appears that if you do not follow the flock of sheep on here you are automatically a Unionist or, even worse, not Scottish.

Breast plate-The concept of Independence is not difficult. Who leads us there and who pays for it is unclear. Maybe you know the answer and are keeping it to yourself. I don’t think Norway will be involved! Again umpteen references to England in one of your responses. Did you see any reference to England in my original post?
      Geri-I am unsure why I am even responding to a foul mouthed nutter. Your response is mainly about England which says it all about you. There are no financial projections anywhere. The McCrone report is over 50 YEARS old FFS and even more irrelevant today.
      Northcode-Scotland is rich in natural resources. The only one where our Government has any influence over is water. Who is it that harnesses all these other resources? I will give you a clue. it is not the Scottish Government. Mainly foreign owned Companies are extracting oil and gas, also generating electricity from wind and hydro. Are you of the opinion that, after Independence, these Companies will provide this at a vastly reduced cost to the Scots? Do you think that any new Scottish Government will Nationalise them? At what cost? Where will the money come from?

The bottom line is hard physical cash. In gaining Independence Scotland will have to spend billions in setting up the infrastructure needed with even more civil servants required. Let’s not talk about old age pensions, social security, defence, the ‘divvy up’ of UK assets and liabilities, particularly the current UK National Debt, etc. Where will this money come from? Do the fantasists honestly think that England or the financial markets will provide it? How about our own Central Bank with our own currency?

Is it beyond the abilities of ANY Independence party to provide projected financials of how an Independent Scotland will survive yet alone prosper? Or will it be the usual fantasist reasoning that ‘everything will be grand-it will all happen automatically under our fantastic, honest, competent Government, who will be awash with cash from somewhere, whoever that Government may be. We can’t even build a couple of ferries timeously and on cost!

WE voted NO in 2014 when the political scene was more advantageous and the world was an entirely different place to what it is today. What will persuade the majority of Scots to vote YES anytime soon? Please don’t anyone come up with the crap that the REAL Scots actually voted yes in 2014. To my mind, the first step is ditching the SNP and their incompetent gravy train hangers on. The wee Mickey Mouse Independence Parties which currently exist cannot even merge to provide any serious opposition to the SNP. It probably suits the office bearers of said parties to see themselves as a big fish in a wee puddle.

Wait, I almost forgot, the UN will be instructing Westminster, any day now, to release Scotland from their years of Colonialism. I have been reliably informed that Calvin Cheeseburger the third will be giving this his full attention once he has finished his inventory of paper clips and sharpened all the pencils in the building.

Fantasy is fine but realism wins every time.

• Dan says:

@Chas

I’ve previously proffered a suggestion on how a self-governing Scotland could be run, and it’s based on using the same policies the UK government use…

link to wingsoverscotland.com

Natch the troll gets involved.

But responding to missing in action Main helps clarify matters.

• Dan says:

And an apology and admittance from Main that coal actually was a resource worth mentioning.

And more so now as energy prices rocket due to global issues. Be handy to have oor own domestic coal industry and not have to import coal from Columbia like my neighbours do to heat their hoose.

• James says:

Wow. Just wow. Utter bollocks that was de-bunked years ago being sicked-up by English Yoon “Chas”. Is this really the best England’s top team can do?

Scotland, uniquely in the world, couldnae hiv it’s ain currency or fund pensions. “More civil servants needed” bla bla bla all this crap was repeated ad-nauseam in 2014.

The twat must be on a wind-up; rarely is so much utter ‘shite’ on display in one post. Are the trolls over compensating due to the absence of their wee leader Pish Baws Main?

Where is he? is he deid? Would anybody care?

• Anthem says:

What do you expect when it’s filled with English unionist parties?

30. Northcode says:

A word of advice, and I’m sorry to have to say this, James Che, but even I, a staunch supporter of Scottish independence am beginning to feel as if I’m being bashed over the head with a cudgel made from solid ‘1707, parliament and treaty’ hardwood.

I, too, am guilty of occasionally overstating the message I wish to convey in the comments I post here.

Ultimately, such literary tactics almost always backfire on the author and inevitably turn readers away from the message being conveyed who are, perhaps understandably, ‘blinded’ from seeing the message by the intensity of the messenger.

• Chas says:

The first sensible comment from you that I have ever seen.
      Well done.

• Northcode says:

Oh, do shut up, you Inglis bore. Why are you even posting your Anglo-drivel here?

The only comments I’ve ever seen you scribble doun in this place are anti-Scots, racist, and for the most part illiterate… even tho you quill oot yer racist nonsense in yer ain first language.

31. Northcode says:

What if our roles were reversed and it were England governed entirely by Scotland and the Scots and not the other way about?

What if all of England’s natural resources, meagre as they are, were routed directly to Scotland to benefit the Scots – with some ‘pocket money’ handed back to England as a sop and to fool the people of England into believing they were partners in a political and economic union of equals with greater imperial Scotland?

What if the Scots allowed England to hold counterfeit and worthless elections yet fielded a number of Scottish political parties pretending to be English, by putting the word “English” in front of their names, against a single English national party?

What if the Scots were the colonizers and the English the colonised?

What if folk could walk in the shoes of those ‘others’ they look down upon… just for a day?

What if…

32. James Che says:

There are many ways to suck the finances out of Scotlands people.
    False Elections,
    Different added on income tax’s,
    Mineral Resources,
    Agriculture,
    Fishing,
    The Barnett formula.
    The devolved governance from Westminster under Englands laws and legislation to name but a few,

33. James Che says:

North code,
    I know of many other issues and topics that relate to the people in general, however there is very little to be gained from these topics except to continue bemoaning the State of Scotland under Colonialism day after day,
    To free ourselves, while Westminster fakes the ruling of Scotland and attempting to incapulate Scotland further into the myre of confusion,

It has to be repeated the actual status of Scotlands constitution as a reality, as that separate from Englands,

It is not up to Westminster parliament to State when Scotland frees itself through referendums or section 30s that keep getting refused
    As Alf often states we are not under the same Monarchy as England, or even as I state, under the same government.
    Regardless of being pictish or a Scot, we are all living under a misconception of how we construe the freedom of Scotland as a country, belonging to another yet standing in its own right as the realm of sovereign Scots and pictish people on the same land. With our own Contstution.

So for me instead of moaning about what the the Scotland management team are doing or not doing in the devolved governance in Scotland derived from English laws called the Scotland Acts.

The nub of the issue and important question that should be asked is how did we get here?
    If not by Scottish people acceptance of Colonialism.
    The infrastructure of any building block is its foundations.

Wether we contrive to continue the pretence or not is up to us,

34. James Che says:

Why not change the subject indeed,

Why does Scotland pay The Standard Great Britain annual income tax,
    And Scotland pay extra additional income tax than England under Scottish income tax?

35. James Che says:

Why do scottish council or the rest of Britain for that matter pay Council tax,
    The council tax follows your name to any new address you may move too, but ceases under your name under the previous address,

If your previous address is not reoccupied the Council tax also ceases, so taxation is not related to the building,
    Taxation is related to the people by name wherever they live, the building does not move. The Council does not move.

Is this not a “poll tax” on the people named, by a pseudo name of Council tax,

36. Stephen Wright says:

The big issue today, in my opinion, surely is to fight colonialism.
    Colonialism has its advocates in every political party in the British isles.
    Stop involvement in foreign wars either directly or through proxies.
    Concentrate on our own country.

37. Stephen Wright says:

I now think that logic dictates that if neo-conservative, colonial projects are to be condemned as the evil they undoubtedly are then the protection of national sovereignty is the obvious alternative course. This would include Scottish national soveregnty.
    A return to something similar to the Westphalia settlement will be necessary to balance competing sovereignties.

38. Confused says:

assimilation?
    integration??
    civic nationalism?

link to x.com

– how’s that working out?

and how can it work with : people who actively hate you?

– like little englanders in Scotland

wait?

whut?!

– people need to actually listen to what this guy says, and stop projecting on him “that thing that you want”

england’s “churches” will, if they are to survive, become places of MULTI FAITH WORSHIP

link to archive.ph

– enjoy the halal sausage rolls, and listen to the call to prayer ringing; karmic revenge for empire, the wrath of God, for a mountain of shit from the anglo saxons going back 1000 years

so remember kids, if it’s not in the koran, it’s wrong – and if it is already in the koran, we don’t need it

• Dan says:

Civic nationalism was never going to work in Scotland, because Hondas rust like fuck at the best of times; And the longevity of a Civic is further compromised because we cover what’s left of our potholed roads in salt, thus supercharging corrosive action and making the suspension take hammer hits like a punch from Mike Tyson.
      I’ve been trying to embrace multiculturalism and being a global citizen, but it’s hard work, I’ve had a ready to eat avocado sitting on the window sill for about a month waiting for it to ripen. Clearly this sort of global trading of goods tomfoolery is incompatible with the reality of existing in Scotland.

On the subject of roads and taxes… My pal’s son knocked about a dozen stones off the side of a very small bridge over a wee burn about 2 or 3 years ago in a car accident. (He shat it when he saw a tractor coming towards him and steered into the side of the bridge.)
      Nothing was done for years about this, but just before crimbo temporary traffic lights were installed either side of the bridge and the local thought “Ooh, they’re finally going to fix the bridge”…
      3 months on and not a stroke of work has been done. FFS, the hire of the brand-new temporary traffic light setup will have cost more than paying a couple of blokes for a couple of days work to lift and reset the stones back into place.
      I was considering just doing the work myself, but I already do a fair bit by attempting to keep the road drain and gullies clear, and fill side of road potholes already, and there’s limits to pissing one’s time away on behalf of the local community.
      Council tax has gone up though…

Sod it, going to put my classic motorsport car on the road for some tax and mot exempt motoring, which means I could also drive into ULEZ even though there is no emission control on the car.

• Chas says:

Dan

I have seen your post with the various percentages several times previously. Where you gleaned them from and at what point in time they were obtained is however unclear. They probably mean something to you but how many of them will actually generate money for a proposed Independent Scotland?
        The overwhelming majority will generate cash for the producers of whatever commodity you highlight but, in themselves, will produce NOTHING for any Scottish Government.
        It is possible to produce/make/grow/extract 100% of anything but if that is not done at a profit then no tax will accrue to any Government.
        I do admit that the percentages look fantastic, in isolation, if they are accurate but sadly are basically meaningless.

• Geri says:

Breaking news for Chas who seems permanently in the dark to current world affairs happening outside of his basement.

The world is changing, sweet cheeks – the whole of Europe, & the ME for that matter, is taking back control & nationalising their industries. They want to go back to being self sufficient. R & China showed them how it’s done. Only a fool sells the family silver to some foreigner & only a fool relies on another for its defence too.

Privatising everything has been a massive fail. Fat cats only get fatter & absolutely nothing trickles down but fckd services & austerity max.

Colonialism is over.
        So is private ownership of another country’s assets & utilities. Germany is already making moves.

• Dan says:

C’mon tae fuck Chas. I hope you don’t play golf like you act on here. At least try to respond to the correct comment trail for delivering some kind of sensible continuity btl.
        Or do you just whack golf baws anywhere you please. FYI I reckon playing a round of golf backwards would be great fun. Firing golf baws at and dodging balls from irate players would be braw training for a politician in diffusing and negotiating their way through life’s issues.

But TBH I only linked to those past posts for the benefit of any remaining potential lurkers, because it’s been obvious for years that you actually don’t consider the worth of what others suggest at all, and are quite content with the status quo and being a Plato’s Cave dweller.
        How can you not notice that everything is going to shit… And seeing as you’ve inadvertently responded to the wrong post, I will use this as an example: Do you not notice the roads are fucked. Another year of this degradation and they will be requiring massive amounts of remedial work to make them good. Chucking some tar in a pothole is not a proper repair. It’s like sticking a plaster on a melanoma.

• Dan says:

And seeing as Confused mentioned Jim Rogers and the lady in red shiting herself the other day…
        It’s only a few minutes but do try to comprehend what a successful international currency investor is saying.

• Chas says:

Dan I did not respond to the wrong post. There was not a ‘reply’ option to your ‘percentages’ mince. You maybe should have checked and it might not have made you look so dense.
        I am uncertain why you bring golf into your rant. Maybe you think that golf is an ‘upper class’ sport and not for the likes of you. Your choice, however, I would love to see you sharing your views, with the members of the back bar, at my club, late on a Sunday morning. Golf employs thousands in Scotland and benefits the Scottish economy by hundreds of millions of pounds every year.
        I am deeply sorry that you do not think that I consider the worth of the comments from the likes of Geri, Cheyne and a good few others. In all honesty………does anybody? Of course whilst it is wrong of me, in your opinion, it is perfectly acceptable for you to doubt others!
        Are you another fantasist that thinks everything will be great in Scotland after Independence, simply by magic?

Geri-the world is constantly changing. Always has and always will. I am certain that every Wings reader will be thankful for the updates and ‘education’ you regularly provide on World events. All gleaned from the confines of your scullery. It would be remiss of me not to mention that weeks holiday you enjoyed in Blackpool in 2003 which gave you a rare and insightful look on how the World works.

James-The possessor of the title ‘Scotland’s greatest fisherman’.
        It’s all to do with the ‘attraction’ of the fish and you are certainly a Master Baiter. If everything was repeated ‘ad nauseam’ in 2014 it obviously worked as Scotland voted NO. Today, Scotland is in a worse position in every measurable aspect than it was 12 years ago. Of course, the magic of Independence will lead us into the land of milk and honey and we will all feast on ambrosia every day.

I was born and raised in Scotland and currently reside here.

• Dan says:

@Chas
        Maybe it isn’t me that’s dense… To respond to the correct comment trail, you simply scroll up from the comment you want to respond to till you see the first reply box, and click on that and create and submit your post, then your post will appear in the correct comment trail.
        You’re always commenting that you play golf, hence the inclusion.

Now after stating the stats look fabulous, you’re now stating the percentage stats I posted are mince, so you were never actually interested in taking them on board.
        You are jist a disingenuous trolling cunt with nothing interesting or inspiring to say.

• Geri says:

“Today, Scotland is in a worse position in every measurable aspect than it was 12 years ago.”

That’s your Union. It’s shit innit? We knew that in 2014. You are slow on the uptake eh? We voted for change. You reached for yer safety blankie, yer dummy tit & a foreigner to look after you.

Golf isn’t upper class. It’s stupid nerds hitting a ball & then walking after it just to hit it again. It’s as moronic as cricket. It’s a children’s game.

As for No voters – when you have to *import blow-ins* to “win” you haven’t actually won anything. Even Cameron told you at his acceptance speech that you were as thick as shit for voting no & now he’ll make certain the English come first in everything & Scotland will be at the back of the queue. look at you crying he stuck to his word & stripped out Holyrood & made everything shit. Stu actually posted an article from Quebec outlining exactly what would happen after a No vote. Prominent Indy commentators warned the same thing. Don’t come on here crying.

To borrow from a famous movie which kinda sums up yer Union:

The Union is a knt. It’s always been a knt. It’s a knt now, and the only thing that’s going to change is that it’s going to become a bigger knt in the future. Maybe even have wee knt nawbag kids.

Give it a few years & the Nawbags blow-ins will replace you at the Golf club. I suspect yer not Scottish though so you maybe safe.

• Geri says:

Of course he isn’t anti immigration & of course he’ll do absolutely nothing to fix it. It’d upset his wealthy donors.

To cure the immigration problem is to cure the unelected corporations & the oligarchy. That’s who these puppets work for, not the stupid plebs who vote. They’ll say anything to get in power & then have zero shame in reversing everything.

Reform is just a distraction cause they’ve completely fucked up the two main parties beyond all recognition & they’ve lost all relevance with the public so they need to throw the peasants another one who’ll just carry on where the others left off..Zzzzzz

I think the only things that’s ever fixed that is a military coup? It’s the only thing they fear & probably explains why they’ve tried their best to flood it with Generals more interested in their fake period pains than they are fighting today lol

39. Confused says:

blowing up ambulances is wrong – wherever it happens …

link to archive.ph

(who does this a LOT? and who started it?)

link to x.com

this thing about jewish ambulances – they are making a big thing of “they are for everyone” – yeah, good luck with that :

in NY, a traffic accident, a jew driving a car hits 2 black guys; the jewish ambulance turns up, takes away the jew, leaves the black guys lying there … very bad optics, and the black orgs were calling it out

jews in london also have their own “police” force called the shomrim

– people should also examine the insurance angle – the gov are now going to buy them 4 brand new ambulances, turned out nice again.

the originator of two tier justice is two tier laws and now we see, see it everywhere, nothing really matters unless it is a “hate crime” – then the shit hits the fan, the roof caves in on you; only protected groups have any rights, the rest of us just have to suffer it

as if to prove the point – the cops have huckled 2 guys, almost instantly

the balls on this guy
    link to archive.ph

• Mark Beggan says:

Just flexing your lefty muscles with an afternoon antisemitic black Live matter rant. Isn’t it time you kissed the ground and mourned the death of your favorite death cult.

• Geri says:

They’re not dead.

I hate to break it to you but they already won on day one. Pay the toll or go home. The wee private playgrounds for the colonising tax dodgers is deid. It’s Butlins & Disney for them this year.

Japan is hanging on with it’s fingernails. Choose to go under or choose another supplier.

They’re ripping the piss that an illegal invader comes with a fifteen point plan of demands LOL! WTF? That’s just as silly as an illegal invader crying they’ve a right to defend themselves while illegally standing on someone else’s land. All Iran ever had to do was crash the economy & that’s ticking along nicely. An added bonus of toll booth charges being introduced to Colonisers who’ve sanctioned them for decades is rather a nice touch.

Meanwhile, the yanks are ontae Trump & his family insider trading. That won’t end well. Neither will sending troops who have no supply chain.

1,000 troops against 90 million angry civilians? Aye, that’ll work.

• Geri says:

Iran nailed it at the UNHCR with it’s warnings to it’s neighbours.

& Well said by that lady who politely asked the UK & France to stop referring to them as a “regime” or they’ll start using it right back at them…lol It’s insulting but that’s always been in their DNA. Imagine, a woman speaking, I thought they were down with that sort of thing?

Remember when they kept referring to the SNP in Westminster as “separatists” like we were some terrorist organisation FFS! Do they think this shit works on the international stage? Colonisers are becoming more rabble rouser by the day with very little etiquette on display.

• Aidan says:

Having your entire leadership wiped out, your navy destroyed, your army weakened severely and significant damage to your oil exporting capability doesn’t seem like a win against any rationale criteria, but then if your success criteria is that the barbaric medieval theocratic regime survives to shoot peaceful protesters in the street and beat women to death for not wearing a headscarf, then maybe they have won.

The irony that you use the freedom of expression afforded to you in our democratic society to praise the brutal repression of others elsewhere isn’t lost at all. Whilst this demented YouTube conspiracy rabbit hole you’ve dug yourself into is deeply sad to observe on a personal level, I suppose there is some comfort to be had that even the purveyors of the more insane and deluded views are still afforded democratic rights.

• Geri says:

Areswipe,

Let’s remind the group this is an illegal war.

Every single one of those attacks is a war crime.

They were also in the middle of negotiations, twice.

They didn’t start it.

They even had a legally binding agreement with the United Nations that the USA just decided to tear up.

The Iranians have lived over 40 yrs under illegal sanctions. They don’t give a fck about oil. They can get it elsewhere. The West, not so much.

They’ve also lived with constant illegal assassinations. Do you seriously think they wouldn’t learn to adapt & have a ready made replacement?

Don’t worry about my freedoms, ya prick. The Gestapo isn’t here just yet but we can all guess who’d accept the role with gusto, but I do wonder, in this free loving, democratic country you speak of, why a foreign country is choking the fuck out of a free press & going censorship crazy? Let’s also wonder why the UK no longer feels obligated to inform the Parliament of GB & NI it’s carrying out Jenny side runs.

Yer on the wrong side of history. Yer on the wrong side of overwhelming public opinion on both sides of the Atlantic & when even the EU tells warhawks tae get tae fuck, you may want to keep that gob of yours in check &; remember the FACTS stated above. It’s also rather satisfying that the Bully has finally met it’s match. It thought it’d be a walk in the park. Surprise!!!

& Quit with the fake concern for protesters. You’re fooling no one with that manipulative pish. The USA & the UK regime have been carpet bombing Palestinians & committing Jenny side for the last few yrs. Doing unspeakable things to prisoners & Launching chemical weapons into Lebanon. They even installed a fucking head chopper in Syria & invited him to the Whitehouse to shower him with gifts. An insult to every American vet & the victims of 9/11 so do just fuck off, ya fud.. have you given yer wee morality speech on that shit? Naw. So sit down..

They’re decolonising the whole region & ending the theft. How they run their country is fuck all to do with you. Would you like them nosepoking into Westminster & bombing civilians tae fck for not following their fifteen point plan? Naw, so STFU.

Everyone & their granny knows by now those weren’t home grown protesters. They were mixed with operatives using Skylink. And lol at you, Iran is very capable of having a revolution. They don’t need fakers to teach them how to do it. All this strategy does is harden resolve & harden it even more every time the USA bombs civilians, schools & hospitals. What strategy school did they go to?

They’ve won because the ME will not be bullied anymore by the Emperor with no clothes on. They left the GCC defenceless despite them paying $trillions for decades for protection that was reduced to smoking rubble in just one day. They can’t complain. They were warned plenty US assets would go first & then it’d be reciprocal targets after that.

• Northcode says:

“Areswipe…”

A brilliant comment, Geri. Insightful, informed, and expertly decorated with ‘rude’.

I never tire of reading your stuff.

• Aidan says:

Whereas I suppose;
        – Bombing the UAE, Saudi Arabia and Oman;
        – murdering your own citizens engaging in a peaceful protest;
        – laying land mines in international waters;
        – sponsoring terrorist attacks targeting civilians;
        – funding violent militias in other countries;
        – assassinating critics abroad; and
        – arbitrary detention of foreign citizens;
        are all perfectly legal under international law are they Geri?

Do you think Geri, that the sane posters here making criticisms of this despotic regime would be free to do so in that country?

Have you been arrested, charged or imprisoned for any of your characteristic demented ramblings? If not, I think that alone proves the point doesn’t it.

• Captain Caveman says:

@Aidan

Well, quite. 🙂

Even if it is the case that the US has acted “illegally” in its war with Iran, on what planet would this somehow excuse the Iranian State’s PRIOR murder of tens of thousands of its own innocent citizens in a hail of bullets, just for peaceful protest? Answers on a fucking postcard….

(Funny, I don’t remember “Geri” being too fussed about the paperwork being in order for R’s war that it frequently and disgustingly trumpets about here. Kinda goes beyond double standards, but what else did we expect from such a disgusting and inconceivably thick individual).

Utterly beneath contempt.

• Geri says:

– American bases. Legitimate targets. That’s where they attacked from. They’ve a right to render them destroyed.

– Targeting blow in instigators using Starlink. Unfortunate peaceful protesters protesting American interference & crushing their economy were caught up in the mayhem. It was brought under control by terminating Starlink.

– Adjacent to Sovereign countries who, under international law, have a right to defend against attack. It’s not closed anyway, it’s just not open. Gotta say that was well played – using their own double speak right back at them. The strait will be reopened when USA regime repair all their damage. Friendly countries are free to pass. Others now pay a toll.

– Funding resistance groups against illegal Jenny side & invasion.
        – What critics? The US has assassinated countless ppl in the region over decades. Even using everyday technology that put the world on notice who the real terrorists are.

– Detention? I think we call them spies.

Yes, they’re all legal under international law. Don’t you lot always craw ppl have a right to defend themselves? They’ve crawed that for decades at the UN & they’ve been informed, naw – illegal invaders don’t have rights under international law. None. Zilch. Nada. Sovereign countries under attack do.

Who cares what they do in their own country? You’re not the world police. What kind of upstart cares what traditions & culture another has? Only paranoid, unhinged freaks do. Are they carrying out a Jenny? No. Yet yer strangely quiet on that front. But hark at you thinking you live in a free country. That same country that batters down doors at dawn with the riot police to detain someone cause they tweeted a fucking Meme on X. Or jailing grannies for wearing a t-shirt. Lest we forget- detaining travelers under invented new laws. Sit down. You’re only demonstrating how thick you are along with blatant hypocrisy.

The posters on here can speak for themselves. They don’t need you giving them pointers, ya fud.

• Captain Caveman says:

Hahahah!

Get a load of this everyone: “Geri” thinks murdering tens of thousands of innocent civilians by shooting them in the street – men, women and children – is LEGAL…

Really, any further comment is superfluous, you disgusting roaster.

• Aidan says:

@CC you’ll see below a long list of excuses from Geri as to why all of the appalling acts of violence I listed above are in fact perfectly fine and legal. Of course it’s easy to have an answer for everything when you’re prepared to trot out lies and regime propaganda ad nauseam. I did enjoy your earlier description of Geri’s behaviour earlier, however depressingly this kind of appalling behavior isn’t al that uncommon. I’m sure a psychiatrist could provide an explanation of the pathology behind it. What I really can’t get my head around is why this is both tolerated and encouraged on here.

@ Geri – It’s a fascinating interpretation of international law there, I wonder who taught you, Ghengis Khan? If bombing civilians in neighbouring countries, shooting dead your own civilians in the street en mass, sponsoring terrorism in neighbouring countries etc over the course of decades isn’t a breach of international law, it’s hard to see what is. Or is it a case of “it’s okay when we do it”.

• Geri says:

Cave dweller,

There is a dossier lodged at the UN of R intelligence of exactly why they invaded. It was preemptive. Not to mention they were legally obliged to help the R speaking regions from persistent persecution & ethnic cleansing that the Minsk 1&2 agreements were supposed to have guaranteed would be stopped, but didn’t, before France & Germany decided to declare that was just bullshit they’d no intention of upholding the agreement. Acting in bad faith seems to be a recurring theme eh? Let’s also remember the American coup that was mowing down protesters angry that their perfectly legal election was being rerun with a puppet lying through his teeth he wanted peace. Also worth remembering that puppets term expired at least two years ago & won’t hold elections. Driving about in vans collecting men barely out of school isn’t an election winner. Neither is making off with $millions in aid. Don’t worry tho, the UK regime are best buddies with them so look for plenty Eastern Europeans rattling around the halls of WM. In fact, too late, they already are & even brought Nazi emblems with them. Not as bad as Canada tho, who even brought a Nazi to their parliament for a standing ovation before finally realising he was on the wrong side. My how times have changed eh?

Crimea also never belonged to them. They didn’t sign off on the UN agreements when they declared their independence. The matter was never settled. R held a referendum. They’re perfectly willing to hold another in the future. Seems fair, at least they’re not demanding a section 30 & telling them naw, eh? Unlike some I could mention.

I dunno why you eejits persist with fake news. Get yourself over to UN telly. The West can’t censor & sanitise facts straight from the horses mouths like they do with the BBC cause all yer doing here is showing yer ignorance & spreading propaganda.

I’m off to enjoy my day. I suggest you do the same, Del boy.

• James says:

Oh dear, this is embarrassing.

Poor Adrian and Wilma.

• Northcode says:

“Oh dear, this is embarrassing.”

Yes, indeed it is, James.

The unionists (colonialists if preferred… same thing) wha ponce roond this place appear to exhibit similar modes of behaviour as those described by Dunning and Kruger in 1999 of folk deemed by the pair’s research to be “too stupid to know they are stupid”.

Fascinating… as First Officer Spock would say.

They [the colonialists] don’t seem to realise they are up against a greater intellect than all of theirs combined when they – foolishly, in my opinion – attempt to counter Geri’s impeccable logic, flawless reasoning, humbling wit, clever humour, expert rudeness and vastly superior knowledge, with their own infinitely inferior intelligences.

Oh, well – stupid is as stupid does… whatever that Gumpian expression means. I’m quite sure it adequately applies to the unionists wha flit aboot this place, tho.

• Geri says:

“Geri – It’s a fascinating interpretation of international law there, I wonder who taught you, Ghengis Khan?”

International court of justice.

South Africa case against Jenny at the ICJ. Go look it up, sweet cheeks. It’s available in full on YouTube. Along with the vids on the rights to a Palestinian state.

Illegal invaders & occupiers don’t have any rights under international law. None. Nada. Zero. The law finds it perfectly legal to take up arms against an invading force & aggressor.

Don’t worry about my mental health. You worry about yer own unhinged psychotic ramblings based on nothing but propaganda. I have overwhelming public support on my side so I’m obviously not alone in my opinions. Who do you have? A bunch of goon war criminals that even the American Congress is turning against as they all fight like rats in a sack that their Empire is in the toilet & the grift Ponzi schemes are over.

War criminals, which, btw, will be brought against the UK because they defied the International courts ruling to cease & desist immediately from assisting & carrying on a Jenny which they’ve continued to do on the sly out of Cyprus. Now even they want you to fuck off from their territory cause the UK is continually putting them at risk they didn’t ask for & carrying out war crimes from the comfort of their soil.

War crimes have no expiry date either. One day they’ll be in the Hague. We’ll see just who is mentally unhinged then. You are the one cheerleading for war criminals, not me..

• Aidan says:

You have no public support at all on your side apart from a tiny number of internet trolls or deluded halfwits.

So on the subject of war criminals, let’s have a look at the names of the 74 defendants: link to icc-cpi.int

No British or American names on that list, but rather a lot from the countries you support isn’t there.

• Geri says:

I suggest you go Google public opinion polling figures on the illegal invasion of Iran.

Then the polling on jenny. Side.

Then the very low % favourable figures for the goons currently carrying out these war crimes. They’re minus double digits.

& Then, finally, Google what the difference is between the International Court of Justice & the International Criminal courts.

You won’t find America on the ICC. They’re not a member & don’t recognise it’s authority. But Yahoo is on there with warrants for his arrest.

The ICJ ruled Jenny has ‘A plausible case’ to answer to. Cease & desist immediately & that grave consequences will be given to those violating & found assisting an ongoing case & that humanitarian aid was to be given immediately.

The ICJ advisory opinion ruled that Issy is an illegal occupier in Palestinian territory, to hand back the territory they unlawfully took within a year & that Palestine has a right to self determination & its own state. They found Issys policies violated international laws against annexation, apartheid & racial segregation. The UN MAJORITY voted in agreement that Palestine should have its own state.

Both rulings completely ignored.

So there you go, even the courts don’t agree with you as well as public opinion.

Oh & just for good measure you can also Google the EU countries refusing to assist in war crimes against Iran & told Trump to do one for his hypocrisy & making them look even bigger eejits than they already are cause their whole narrative for blowing through €billions to help U is because R stands accused of illegal invasion. Exactly the same as what Trump & Issy are doing! That’s awkward!!

• Aidan says:

Let’s not start shifting the goalposts Geri – I’m well aware that a majourity of people (myself included) do not support the US/Israeli attack on Iran.

However, that’s not nearly the same as praising and supporting all the mass murder events and other atrocities routinely carried out by the regimes you continuously fluff and praise is it. What do you think the approval rating of “P” or the Ayatollah is in this country? Got any figures on that?

40. Northcode says:

Endlessly recounting Scotland’s ancient constitutional past will not persuade those unpersuaded Scots who support the Union to change their minds.

Those kinds of history lessons are for Scots children in a liberated Scotland of the future.

The ‘fight’ for Scotland’s liberation from colonial oppression is now… not in the turpid haze of Scotland’s distant past.

Logic will not persuade, reason will not persuade, truth will not persuade… only the emotive power of rhetoric (among other things) has any chance of swaying the minds of those Scots uncertain of who they really are (I say we are Picts) to favour and support their own liberation.

Remember, the Scots are a psychologically damaged people… reason, truth, and lessons in Scotland’s once sovereign history will not penetrate the barriers erected by centuries of generational mindfuckery.

The cult of colonialism is just that, a cult; and the colonised are mentally inculcated in the ways of the cult.

It is virtually impossible to change the beliefs of a cult member armed only with reason and truth.

Cult deprogramming techniques like Cognitive Restructuring, Reality Testing, Exposure Therapies and suchlike are generally quite effective at helping folk regain control over their thoughts, their beliefs, and their behaviours; they are the sorts of techniques that promote independent decision-making and critical thinking.

So, folks, study up on your cult deprogramming techniques if you want to help your fellow Picts Scots break free of the Great British Empire Cult.

And remember this.

If you’re a Scot and don’t believe you are a victim of cultish indoctrination… you’ve been indoctrinated by a cult.

41. Mark Beggan says:

Your Party. A dirty old man and a rabid death cultist. Old Jeremy is all out of friends. They are all dead. The left are all out of arses to kiss. The lowest form of life.

42. Mark Beggan says:

The DuRan Dingdong Cult have been trying to fight this war like it’s 1979. Now all they have left is the hatred they began with. Is it any surprise that they all end up trapped in their own tunnels.

43. lothianlad says:

How can we be so close to achieving independence but so far away??? gravy train SNP subservients of course!!

44. Young Lochinvar says:

Sturgeon was interviewed a day or 2 ago about, frankly, effing off.

I read her cockamamie BS with growing disbelief and anger.
    Saying the exact opposite to what you mean or have done struck throughout.

Been thinking what the best word to describe this fluidity with the truth is.

Thesaurus says “contradiction” which I don’t think hits the mark.

I think I prefer “barefaced lying through her teeth”.

Aye she is being seen for what she is now, no two ways about it..

It’s good to be shot of sh!te..

• Geri says:

A confabulator?

Tho in her case I wouldn’t associate it to being in any way sincere. She’s just a psychopath that blinks a lot roller indexing her back catalogue of lies.

“A confabulator is a person who, often due to memory disorders like dementia or brain injuries, unconsciously generates fabricated, distorted, or misinterpreted memories, which they sincerely believe to be true. This “honest lying” fills memory gaps with false information without intent to deceive. It is often used in psychology to describe someone creating sincere, inaccurate account”

• Young Lochinvar says:

No Geri

I don’t think so.

I can’t put my finger on it but it’s got similarities to (here) Hateys “projecting” all the time.

It’s a bit like the beatification syndrome, think yourself uber perfect and turn every one of your sins back to front to prove it/ justify the belief.

I’m not so sure there’s any mental health issues behind, just a cunning and devious mindset.

Good word confabulation though! 🙂

• Sven says:

Sorry Geri,
        I just can’t accept any definition of anything involving Ms Sturgeon involving the descriptor “honest” as being applicable. Not even “honest lying”. Just plain lying in my view.

45. Red says:

The entire purpose of the SNP is to keep the gullible busy with useless displacement activities until it’s too late and Scotland is rammed full of foreign migrants from the worst countries in the world.

Then it’ll be night night for Scotland, because the Scots will be reduced to a powerless, hated and poor minority in what used to be the land of the Scots. Everything you thought you had is up for the whole world to grab, with the government’s blessing, and our grandchildren will curse our names every day for not defending our country while we still could.

This is also the purpose of Labour, Greens, and the other fake political parties that actually work for Davos.

Won’t be long now. Tick, tock.

• Sven says:

I so wish I believed you were mistaken, Red, unfortunately I believe you’re completely correct.

• Cynicus says:

Red says:
      25 March, 2026 at 5:20 pm

“…the Scots will be reduced to a powerless, hated and poor minority in what used to be the land of the Scots. “
      =======

Are you not describing a catastrophe that culminated under two centuries ago, after a process stretching back over centuries?

The people who gave the country its very name, the Gaels or Scoti, as the Romans called them, were persecuted by James VI, the Covenanters, William of Orange, the Hanoverians and even their own clan chiefs. John Prebble called the latter “warlords turned landlords” as they found sheep more profitable than their own people.

But worst of all was the 1876 Education Act that mandated all teaching in English, to the exclusion of the mother-tongue of the historic Scots.

• Red says:

“Are you not describing a catastrophe that culminated under two centuries ago, after a process stretching back over centuries?”

No, stop retreating into the past. I’m describing how our female employees in Glasgow city centre no longer feel safe nipping out for a vape or smoke, because they’re increasingly being harassed by all the young male “refugees” hanging around, often begging or demanding free cigarettes.

I’m describing how Operation Cerrar run by Police Scotland found massive sexual abuse of vulnerable Scottish children by gangs of “refugees” in Glasgow.

I’m describing how our children are being robbed of educational opportunities, job opportunities and housing in their own country because the floodgates are being deliberately held open to anyone in the world who fancies living off the Scottish people.

I’m also describing how, whenever we advertise a job in Glasgow or Edinburgh, the vast majority of applications are now from recently arrived foreigners.

Our country is being stolen and erased, just so employers don’t have to pay a fair wage and so halfwit politicians can show off how “caring” they are. But nobody cares about Scottish children, do they?

• Cynicus says:

Red

“No, stop retreating into the past….“

You have surely heard before now that ‘if you do not know where you came from, you will not know where you’re going.’

“Our country is being stolen and erased…..”

Over recent centuries, that process has continued and continues still. Note the time scales of erasure. Your(or anyone’s) hang-ups about contemporary events do not amount to the proverbial hill of beans in terms of historical erasure.

Look around the world at trends over the past century , not just what’s on GB News or the ‘Scottish’ Daily Mail, and you will find attempted and continuing erasure.

Deliberate historical ignorance and shameless cultural illiteracy are not reliable guides to any future.

• Red says:

Cynicus – You have surely heard before now that ‘if you do not know where you came from, you will not know where you’re going.’

That’s nice. Maybe you should go and debate this with the people who think Fanon and the Treaty of Union are the hot topics of today and every day.

I’m not interested in this debate, I’m interested in saving my nation.

Your(or anyone’s) hang-ups about contemporary events do not amount to the proverbial hill of beans in terms of historical erasure.

You can try to ignore reality, but reality won’t ignore you.

Scotland is on borrowed time. We don’t have centuries left. We don’t even have the rest of this century. If we don’t change course very soon, Scotland will go the way of all the other extinct peoples in ancient history books.

46. George Ferguson says:

Agreed Stu I am not voting for anyone on May 7th. Last year on this blog I said Scottish Labour would finish fourth. I haven’t changed my mind. So Scottish Labour will be on the back back benches entitled to 1 question at FMQs and barely visible. A fitting demise. Also there is no way the SNP will get 66 MSPS. A overall majority is beyond them. People will vote for Reform and my only regret is not backing them to get 20 MSPs at 8 to 1. The BBC and STV coverage of the Election will drive people to an alternative. I hold to the view that there will be no 4th Independent MSP.

47. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

GIRLGUIDING WILL BE FEMALE-ONLY FROM SEPTEMBER

Girlguiding has announced that any gender-confused boys who identify as girls will have to leave the organisation by September.

Following Girlguiding’s decision to ditch its trans-inclusive policy last year, it has now confirmed that a 6 September deadline will give those affected “time to plan, prepare, access support, and decide when – between now and September – they feel ready to leave”.

Only girls have been able to join the organisation since 2 December, but the number of male members is unknown because gender identity is not recorded.

SINGLE-SEX SPACES

Men occupying female-only volunteering positions will also have to move to a role “open to all” by the same date.

Women’s group Sex Matters said Girlguiding’s decision was the “right thing” to do.

Helen Joyce, Director of Advocacy at Sex Matters, stated: “This news will come as a relief to many girls and their parents, who greatly value single-sex provision.”

LEGAL ACTION

Before Girlguiding withdrew its transgender policy in December, the mother of a seven-year-old girl launched legal action against the organisation for creating a “intimidating, hostile, degrading, humiliating or offensive environment”.

In a letter seen by The Times, the concerned parent said: “This includes, but is not limited to: sharing toilets, showers or changing facilities with boys, contact sports with boys and sharing accommodation with boys, all without their prior knowledge or consent.”

Girlguiding’s lawyers later informed the mother that its client had “decided that the policy would be withdrawn and replaced by a new policy that states: ‘In line with the Equality Act 2010 definition, girl and woman refers to those who are biologically female (however they identify).’”

This U-turn was made in light of the Supreme Court’s ruling that the definition of a woman is determined by biology for the purposes of the Equality Act 2010.

(The Christian Institute, 25 March 2026)

link to christian.org.uk

48. George Ferguson says:

@Fearghas
    Of course this false debate is coming to a conclusion. But meantime others have suffered Stu, Father Ted, A k Rowling and Sharon amongst others. We were all guilty of not getting involved.

49. Big Jock says:

And we have the SNP arse licker James Kelly accusing everyone of being a right wing racist. For the crime of not being in the SNP. He is totally unhinged these days. The Stasi party faithful are losing the plot.

• 100%Yes says:

He’s just a bitter and twisted individual. I ignore his site and everything about him. He just attacks anyone who has a different opinion to his. He doesn’t allow anyone to point out to him where he’s gone wrong on his site by never post what anyone says. I’m sure he’s just talking to himself on his own site everyone seems to be anonymous other than James Kelly. If he has a talent can someone point it out he still doesn’t know how D’Hondt works. I’m sure he does it so the national will give him work.

50. robertkknight says:

The words…”None are worthy of my vote” will appear on my ballot paper.

F**k the lot of ’em!

51. Mark Beggan says:

WOW! Just seen the SNP advert on Tube. Not a party political broadcast but an advert with very colourful and quick moving words. Like a children’s show. No pictures of anyone. Must have been home made on an ipad.

• Geri says:

Not a bad ad. Punchy with facts & to the point. & TBF, yoons do have a low attention span. Pop up leaflets next I say..

It’s better than the opposition who may have real people but spouting the same bullshit on how bad the SNP are while offering zero on how they’ll change anything or even outline their own policies.

They’ve ran this SNP badd/pick us cause SNP is badd/vote for us cause we’re democracy deniers & did I mention SNP is badd?! for nearly twenty years now. Give it a rest & change the record. People want to hear policies, achievements, vision on how they’ll improve things. Not how bad someone else is. It’s just gobshitey.

Zzzzzzzzz..

• Mark Beggan says:

What age are you. You spout like an angry teenager who has Just read animal farm. Scotlands very own Greta. Very angry and far removed from the adult world. I bet she’s got more money than you. And certainly gets out more.
        Is this how you behave at home when you don’t get your own way.

52. Mark Beggan says:

Leftwing ideology is the lunatics way of getting back at society. A nobody’s way to try and become become a somebody.
    A loser standing on the people to become a winner. Wherever in the world socialism raises its ugly head the usual suspects are at the heart of it spreading their poison.

• Geri says:

I think you’re on the wrong forum.

The Daily Fail is that way —— >

You’ll find far more fannies to agree with you over there.

• Mark Beggan says:

I tried to use words you could understand. I’m your conscious Geri. You know that nagging feeling somethings wrong. That inner voice that just won’t leave your head.

53. Mark Beggan says:

Amongst the many reasons Nazi Germany lost the war was their policy on women. Unlike the allies German women were given the role as baby machines producing more little Nazis. On the other hand Allied women played a pivotal role.
    For a present day comparison all you have to do is replace the word Nazi with word Iran.

54. Cynicus says:

Mark Beggan says:
    25 March, 2026 at 11:32 pm

“WOW! Just seen the SNP advert on Tube.”
    =======

Seriously?

Is the SNP advertising on the London Subway?

• Mark Beggan says:

For all the good it will do them. They would be as well to.
      Seriously.
      A big leap from the battle bus and the Hydro.
      A little short of cash. Probably.

• diabloandco says:

More like the sandwich shop!

55. Northcode says:

If the link below don’t work just search yatube for:

“Real IRAN : What Western Media Won’t Tell You About Life in Iran”

The Persians definitely have much, much better shopping centres than we have here in imperially oppressed Scotland… or at least they did back in 2024.

I hope they still do, and I hope those folk and wee families we see wandering roond aboot are all okay.

• Geri says:

Would you just look at all those women & you girls not being dragged out & beaten for not wearing head coverings.

& Oh my gosh, wearing a face full of make-up too! What is the world coming too?! These ppl obviously need bombed into oblivion for not adhering to Western culture & values.

The did the same rubbish with R. Tucker et all expected to see a shite hole but was greeted with spotless public places, ppl eating at street cafes with gorgeous views & a lively nightlife – not the barren wasteland in shops & Malls he was lead to believe. Quite a few Scots live there & used to vlog when that was a thing a few years ago. The apartments even have their own playgrounds & playing pitch.

Speaking of malls tho – have you seen the one with the American reaction to just driving up to a Mall in Iran? They’re massive & have the cheek to complain it’s too big to get around in one day.d’oh!

Nice vid, thanks..

• Red says:

Geri – those women are risking arrest, and potentially death:

link to theguardian.com

Why do you think the Iranian women’s football team tried to deflect (before their families were threatened and they had to return to Iran)

This is a video from the wealthiest part of Tehran, most of Iran is desperately poor. Pyongyang has a nice shopping centre too.

• Mark Beggan says:

Sorry to break the news Northy. They were all hanged last Wednesday or was that the athletes. It’s hard to keep up. You know, when a dictatorship feels the end is coming hangings go into overdrive. More people are killed at the end of a regime war than at any other time. Not clean. Very ugly. The IRGC are working themselves into a frenzy. An orgy of violence will ensue. But I’m sure the supermarkets were not hurt during this.

• Aidan says:

I salute their bravery in undertaking an act of defiance against the brutal regime that they live under. The regime which of course you support.

I’ve been to both Moscow and St Petersburg, two of the most stunning incredible cities anywhere in the world. However, that is for the rich and the majority of Russia isn’t anything like that, your average Scot lives in immeasurably better life.

56. Mark Beggan says:

Nothing like a threat to the gravy boat to bring the Snats crawling out of the woodwork.

57. Mark Beggan says:

Why don’t we all chip in and get Alison Johnston a big box of crayons for her/his/it’s retirement.

58. Confused says:

questions that must be asked
    link to archive.ph

the SNP have locked in the tranny vote then
    link to archive.ph

sad, lying bollocks
    link to archive.ph

59. Confused says:

I would heartily support this (just as long as they stayed in their ain middens after)
    link to archive.ph
    – but you know the english will just steal all our wealth to pay for it

makes you think
    link to archive.ph
    – fancy a bit of scuba diving?

ironic that, with all the problems of islam (they will takeover england when they hit 25% and no one will stop them), the problems all come from SUNNIS – while we decide to take it out on iran (at the behest of issy), a country which does no harm to anyone, but commits the grave crime of insisting on defending itself … they are SHIA, and they are not arabs, and certainly not africans, a sophisticated ancient people (who had the bad luck to be “conquered by a less advanced culture” … think about that and meditate)

– if trump turned around, blew the shite out of Saudi Arabia and just seized the oil fields, it would be a grand net benefit to the world – no more saudi money teaching terrorism around the world. Again, england has to take the blame for the absolute fucking binfire of “the middle east”, all that “lawrence of arabia”-shite, one of the dumbest “cunning plans” any anglo-homosexual has ever dreamt up while being rammed by his adjutant. He was a nice boy TE and could “go past the elbow”.

I fail to understand why the US empire does not simply remove the saudis and carve up their country – it would be easy, they have no military (which we can’t turn off remotely), then in control of OPEC, the petrodollar is locked in place and a stable oil price can be assumed. Would be a whole lot easier than trying to carve up rusha / iran etc. Why does the west respect the sovereignty of these barbarous despots when they don’t for anyone else?

We know why issy gets the special treatment – all the mossad trash everywhere running “epstein island” blackmail operations and the full power of the lobby – the ADL, AIPAC etc (100s of individual tax exempt organisations) – but the saudis? What do they have on anyone? They are all trash, the whole country is fucking trash – everything in it is built by foreign labour and expertise; the leaders are also unpopular and if the milk and honey ever stopped flowing, they would be done for in a week. Their “stewardship” of the “muslim holy places” is also suspect – the like to build shopping malls next to them.

• Geri says:

Yer not wrong but I think it is the holy sites that protect them. The Saudis don’t give a shit for them but there’d be billions of angry Sunnis around the globe who’d go mental if they were destroyed. It makes me wonder why they’re sitting on their arse when they know they’re part of the greater plan & so is Turkey so why have it in for the only one that can even begin to protect you?

Allegedly, Saudi & the UAE fund all the terrorists. Issy funds ISIS. Apparently UAE is gonnie get it because the Iranians have intel they’re the ones pretending to be Issy & attacking Omar & Qatar. Colonisers are the scum of the earth. Devious doesn’t even begin to scratch the surface pitting one against the other while they sit back in their Ivory bunkers.

I see that wee kerfuffle the other day with the Al Jazzera reporter’s in London was really undercover MET police. Quelle surprise. They’re always mingling & trying tae blend.

60. Northcode says:

My identifying as a Pict is no mere affectation, no passing fashion statement or lifestyle choice… my Pictish identity connects me with my people’s ancient past.

My ancestors were Picts… the Vacomagi, as the Roman called them.

I would welcome the renaming of Scotland as Pictavia – as it once was called before the scotti from Ireland rocked up and ruined everything – and the Scots as Picts.

Imagine how much psychological baggage us ‘Scots’ could dispose of after 300 years of English anti-Scots rhetoric and abuse anchoring us to the most dimal period in Pictavia’s history – apart from when those Scotti arrived more than a millenia ago.

The renaming of the Scots would be a cathartic overnight cure for ‘The Cringe’; heralding a new belief in our people’s power as descendants of the magnificent, mysterious and magical Picts… of which I am beyond proud to count myself one.

• Chas says:

It helps if you are a bit of a nutter

61. diabloandco says:

Isfahan is a beautiful place in Iran – youtube has couple of informative videos , well worth seeing!

62. Sven says:

Off Topic/
    Just had the delight of hearing Mr J Swiney telling us that Scotland will be independent by 2031, following an SNP victory in May’s elections.
    Now awaiting the voting guidance of “Both votes SNP”. Obviously I’ve always misunderstood the closed list D’Hondt system, all it took was both my votes to ensure independence. If only I’d known.

• 100%Yes says:

The neverendum, I remember Mr Pete Wishart saying in 2019 through the Rag newspaper that claims to support Independence, we should wait until 2026 only to be promised if we voted for the SNP in 2021 we’d be Independent by 2026.

• 100%Yes says:

Sounds like Swinney has already excepted defeat. How long can the SNP cry wolf before the public say no more.

63. Alf Baird says:

Decolonization implies removal of an oppressor, which explains the panic among colonialists.

64. Curious says:

Anybody have any idea what’s happening with the Alex Salmond case? Thanks in advance.

65. Sven says:

I’m not sure I’d fancy renaming Scotland with the Latinised “Pictavia” which the Romans called it. Maybe Alba ?
    I wonder what the Picts called themselves. Maybe if I was Pictish instead of Scots I’d have to stop wearing my Tartan kilt and adopt blue woad or tattoos in order to be a “painted one”.

• Northcode says:

“Maybe Alba ?”

Absolutely no way – Alba is a Scotti Gaelic word meaning ‘bright’ or some shit… from the language of the very people who fucked up Pictavia a thousand years ago.

Seriously, Sven… get a fucking grip.

You Scotti Gaels, whit are ye like?

My ancestors are birlin aboot in thair cairns and tumuli.

And I know for a fact (through genetic memory) the PIcts much preferred the Romans tae the Scotti Gaels… aye, and tae the Inglis anaw.

• Red says:

Sven I do support officially renaming Glasgow to “Funky Town”

Unfortunately, Susan Aitken ate Funky Town

66. agentx says:

Apparently the SNP have found enough enough money to run its “biggest and best campaign” over the next six weeks.

• Sven says:

Was it “woven through the accounts”, one wonders.

67. Young Lochinvar says:

Cards on the table, I don’t really fully understand the science behind the proposed tests but the main thing is that the Olympics are banning men in female sports.

Result!

• Geri says:

Would you look at that. Just in time for LA28 Olympic games. The yanks certainly wouldn’t want every Tik Toker they’ve encouraged having a global meltdown on the tracks for the world to see.

I don’t like the idea of testing tho. Who knows what the tech mafia will do with that kind of information & who is to say they won’t mess up the results to get other countries athletes banned?

• Lorncal says:

The science is relatively simple, YL. Cheek swabs are DNA tested. All the cells in the human body will show up as either male or female (XX or XY). What were once called intersex people, now people with Different Sexual Development (DSDs), are still male or female, which will show up as well. The likes of Semenya, Khelif, the Taiwanese chap, etc. will all fail if they try to compete because they are all male with a DSD.

If a woman competes, but has been taking testosterone (as in a ‘transman’ – i.e. female) she will fail, too, as testosterone affords an advantage physically. That would be considered cheating.

This is how testing was done when it was discovered that Eastern European women, in particular, were taking enhancing drugs, like testosterone. No invasive testing, just a cheek swab. 100% accurate. It was dropped a number of years ago when it was alleged that women found it demeaning and discriminatory, but hindsight has shown that, in actual fact, female athletes wished to continue testing but ‘women’ (men) with a DSD who had been mistaken for females at birth were taking advantage of the stoppage, and, now, the Olympic Committee has decided to reinstate cheek swab testing in light of the furore over male boxers (with DSDs) competing against women.

These men receive a flood of testosterone at puberty because they are males with, perhaps, internal male organs (testes) and seemingly female organs externally (the testicles are not finished and closed as they are in normal males and may even have a shallow hole) but, nevertheless, they develop a small penis and they may or may not drop their testes after puberty. Therefore, they receive normal levels of male hormones and all the advantages, physically, that testosterone affords males.

It is a shame for these athletes, who are sought out by unscrupulous coaches, but they cannot be allowed to compete against women. If you watched the Olympics closing ceremony, you will have seen Khelif taken round the arena on the shoulders of a male athlete. When have you ever heard of a female being taken around on the shoulders of a male in Islamic countries? Khelif knows he is male because of his male puberty, although he was raised as a girl, and gave himself away, thumbing his nose at the female boxers, some of whom had suffered injury. Semenya did the same with the female athletes who ran against him, denigrating women and women’s sport. He looked like, ran like, talked like, a man.

Both Khelif and the Taiwanese boxer, and Semenya, all showed their male penis shape through their shorts, which is why Semenya always wore baggy shorts when the women wore tops and sports knickers. No one who is rational can believe that women are at no disadvantage against men, and if it was to continue, women’s sport was headed for oblivion.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Thanks Lorncal

I’m sick of “demeaning and discriminatory” whining ie because it’ll find you out.

I don’t know if it’s still done but the whole army recruit medical examination “bend over and touch yer toes” check was understood as checking both crown jewels had dropped and your fundamental wasn’t harbouring anything unpleasant.

I’ve heard nonsense it’s about checking for spinal abnormalities, maybe that’s on the check list but it was definitely seen as checking yer bits were in order, was over in seconds and was endured patiently by generations of military recruits and didn’t involve anything “dodgy”.

But people have to feel demeaned and discriminated against..

God knows how they manage at the gynaecologists, or frankly even the dentists!

68. Sven says:

I wonder what type of Egregore a collective of would be Picts would bring into being. I sometimes feel that Ms Sturgeon’s SNP achieved a right nasty one over Scotland from 2014 onwards.
    From 2007 until 2014 under the canny leadership of Mr Salmond on the other hand, one could almost see the energy.

69. Young Lochinvar says:

A hoy there me hearties!

Jolly Rogers aloft as HMS Raleigh and HMS Drake reprise the English Elizabethan role of privateers (legalised state piracy) to seize “shadow fleet” tankers, but more to the point, the oil cargoes!
    Shiver me timbers and don’t be forgetting about the rum, buggery and the lash!

And we think we’ll ever get away from them?
    No chance while there’s still a drop of oil in the North Sea..

• Sven says:

Young Lochinvar @ 18.04.

“Rum, Buggery & the Lash”, sounds like a good election slogan for a Trans Political Party. I’ll keep my eyes open for that one on the leaflets.

70. George Ferguson says:

Classic STV coverage. Don’t mention Jordan Lindon was SNP. But foam at the mouth at a 2018 comment made at a Rugby Club dinner. Because he was Reform candidate. BTW having been at Rugby Club events that comment was tame. STVs MacKay might as well be a fully paid member of the SNP. He has all the balance of the outgoing Presiding Officer. I am still not voting I don’t want to suggest that any of them have my confidence. Keep disengaging Scotland.

• agentx says:

“Former SNP politician sexually assaulted five young men and boys

Jordan Linden, 30, is the former leader of North Lanarkshire Council and of the Scottish Youth Parliament
      A former top SNP politician faces jail after being found guilty by a jury of sexually assaulting five young men and boys aged 15 to 22.”
      ——————————————–
      link to news.stv.tv

71. Young Lochinvar says:

The daily rainbow comic the National actually printed Offord’s joke yesterday but only so that they could give a screaming pearl clutching cancel-culture editorial overview first..

Funny ratings:

Offords joke; 6 out of 10

Nationals hysteria; 10 out of 10. Unconscious comedians them, comedy gold!!

• Geri says:

He’s a nasty piece of work. That was him behind the astro turfing fake no borders campaign during indyref. Caught telling blatant lies & the funding behind it was traced all the way to Issy.

He won his ermine tho.

I think he was the eejit who said “The Union is like a warm cup of hot chocolate” or something similar.

As per normal Tory dodgy dealings, his No Borders pish failed to submit accounts & dissolved.

I dunno what the joke was tho lol

• Young Lochinvar says:

Yes indeed Geri

But the “upset” gays present at the time must have been Tories who were prepared to haud their wheesht for all these years while he was associated with the Tories, now he’s gone to a different party the gay handbags get dusted down and swung.

Classic cancel culture regardless of who Offord is.

IMO.

72. Frank Gillougley says:

I am thinking, dangerous I know, but something better change… so here’s my tuppenth worth on the current surreal absurdity of Scottish election FEVER. At the very least, it’s an idea.

In the first instance, I would advocate that everyone stops voting for a mainstream political party. Instead, spoil the paper and in time, as the turnout falls drastically, the state may very well have to rethink and reset the d’hondt groundhog day machine. Anyway, the point is for the disaffected to make a start. (spoiled papers will at least give an indication of numbers to work with)

Meanwhile, as it takes time for ideas to materialise and take root, I reckon all the variously-hued anarchists here, and every elsewhere, but of obvious equal reckoning, really ought to coalesce all these individually isolated views and form a deadly serious Scottish Satirical & Sarcastic Political Party, for the completely scunnered, disillusioned and the totally fed-up with being treated as eejits by the adolescents without a brain on the gravy train. In time, (as it could very well take as much as ten years to decide and agree on a name) this would give the disaffected a considerable voice to contribute to and something to put an x against.

(NB This notion is not to be confused with the obvious class wankers of the monster raving loony party of Engerland. That’s an entirely different story)

Heres a name to look up anyway, which is at least worth a scan read – The Hungarian Two-Tailed Dog Party

Who’s Spartacus, then?

On second thoughts… mibbe that was actually ‘Your Party’? Surely not.

Cue Stranglers, something better change … 22nd July 1977.

• Dan says:

Hi Frank, any idea how much regular diesel is out where you are?
      I had to do a double take earlier as now regular diesel up at £1.87 a litre near me, up 13p a litre from yesterday…

And whilst here, can I ask how much you’re paying for a unit of leccy now?

• Frank Gillougley says:

Dan,

1kW Electricity for 8p
        1 m3 of gas is 23p
        1 litre of diesel is 135p

in Hungary the noo.

73. 100%Yes says:

It says the crappiest newspaper in Scotland “Outgoing MSPs who made tough decisions on our behalf deserve thanks” I say for what exactly what have these scroungers done for Scotland or its people.

74. George Ferguson says:

Day 1 of the election and I am already thinking about a complaint to Ofcom and the Electoral Commission. An offender convicted of ten charges including a paedophile conviction against a 15 year old is not even equated to a throwaway comment at a Rugby Club because of political party origin. Absolute bias by STV. Roll on the World Cup, escapism from the madness. I am away to watch the World Qualifiers tonight. A taste of things to come.

75. Confused says:

wonder if jordan the bummer will be taking excessively long showers in addiewell, dropping the soap repeatedly and asking if any of the fit young gangsters are “looking for a new punk”

– I can see him now, makeup on, hair in a scarf, the block sissy

it might actually be a more appropriate punishment if he was sent to a womens jail rather than having the time of his life in “reacharound junction”

I bet back at the start of this, some calmer, wiser, older heads, privately opined as to the good sense of appointing

SOME FAT P00F WHO LIKES TO PLAY GRABASS

– but they likely got called “HOMOPHOBIC” and told to shut up

SNP Selection Panel

– so, … JORDAN … why do you want to get into politics, to become an SNP cooncillor and tell us about your VALUES …

I WANT COCK

– uh huh … go on

AND A LOT OF TIGHT SWEET ASS …

– that’s excellent, you will be hearing from us soon (OFFER HAND, SMILING)

sometimes I think everyone in the SNP was a nonce/degenerate EXCEPT Alex Salmond

there’s a lot of really useless wimmin been given joabs while Nikki was in power … imagine if she forced them to “munch the carpet” for the job. Wouldn’t surprise me.

“do you want a bang on this?” (points at crotch)

– you DO if you WANT THE JOB!

Should lesbian, homosexuals etc be banned from holding public office? Or maybe just given strict quotas to allow fair representation and not vast over-representation : so we would have out of 129 seats – 3 lesbos, 3 homos, and 3 asians, and 1 selected “other”. That would be fair. SNP and Greens would be hit hard, and the tories (closet cases). Make them wear badges as well or some other form of ID – the gays have to wear rubber vests and leather chaps (no pants just bare arses) with biker moustaches, the lesbians have short hair and dungarees. When addressing the chamber, a short jingle will be played, I suggest that one ?Sylvester

YOOOOO
    MAKE ME FEEL

MI
    IGHTY
    RE_AL

– if there are too many gays vying for the limited number of spots, there will be e.g. a “gay off” so like Harvie and Alyn Smith would compete in front of the chamber to prove who is “the gayest gayboy in the land” to secure his spot.

Special seats for homos will be set aside in the chamber; each seat will have a large dildo attached, pointing straight up, with a wireless intensity control over the bluetooth.

Holyrood, the only legislature in the world where the rocky horror show meets weimar drag club.

fiddle diddly dee

link to x.com
    (unmute the sound)

• Mark Beggan says:

Couldn’t have said it better myself. Totally agree. I have never been to prison but I believe the first question he will be asked is “What you in for mate?” As there is a hierarchy in the Big House. As soon as the lags find out he’ll be somebody’s little puppy dog.

• twathater says:

I remember the snp used to BOAST that HR was the gayest wee parliament in the world , now they can boast that HR is the GAYEST , MOST DEVIANT and PERVERTED parliament in the world , beating WM by INCHES
      I noticed snp WM leader Flynn when interviewed said he was taken aback and very surprised at this development , obviously not a WOS reader as SC had EXPOSED the pervo a long time ago even showing a photo with 2 deviant pervs together
      link to x.com

The BALDY fanny has instructed an urgent review of complaint procedures to ensure this doesn’t happen again ( I think he means doesn’t get exposed again )
      Vote for the Scum Nonce Party and join the hordes of deviants, perverts and paedophiles enjoying the gravy train and contact with children

76. Geri says:

I wouldn’t feel safe visiting Holyrood. Imagine if you were a tourist stumbling intae the gayest gaff in all of gayville..

Banjo players playing gatekeeper tae the ladies loos, Madam gutter filth interpreting for the deaf while Luna Tick is doing interpretive dance between chairs.

Jordan probably thought he had a Tory invisibility cloak when he signed up to politics. Poor bastard. They’re only for the top tier of degenerates.

77. Del G says:

Your Party had not so much a faint hope as no hope of impacting the Scottish election:
    formed far too recently to have any impact
    faction ridden

78. agentx says:

“John Swinney has said it is “not a coincidence” that the UK Government announced its decision to block a Chinese-backed renewables project in the Highlands ahead of the Holyrood election.”
    —————————————————–

It’s also “not a coincidence” that a certain court case was delayed until after the election.

• Geri says:

Aye John,

This is what happens when you spaff mandates up the wall & squander 56 MPs at Westminster.

You don’t get to be at the big boys table making big boy decisions/deals on behalf off Scotland.

So quit yer greeting yer Overlord blocked it & grow a pair.

• Dan says:

Do we actually need any more windfarms built at this pint in time, when the grid is unable to cope with transmission / distribution, so curtailment payments are made to generators to turn off the turbines.
        Plus the leccy price is so high folk choose to burn imported coal to keep warm because it makes economic sense to them.
        John can moan all he likes about UK blocking a windfarm. Crocodile tears when Scottish Minsters blocked one previously…
        Whatever happened to the Gupta / GFG Alliance / Simec fraud investigation matters…

Link to a post but worth Ctrl searching Gupta for more comments on the page.

Plus another later post.

• twathater says:

The COWARDICE of Swinney should highlight to the brain dead voters of the Scum Nonce Party that this baldy arsehole is just a waste of space , IF he had ANY balls he should have told Starmer to FUCK OFF and carried on with the deal with the Chinese, what would he have done , send in the troops HaHaHa there isnay any, send in the aircraft carriers, canny there aw fucked

• agentx says:

It would have sent a stronger positive election message for Labour in Scotland if they had agreed to the China deal.

Then Swinney would have complained it was just electioneering.

• Geri says:

The war with Iran (& R) is to cut off China.
        They can’t compete so are setting about cutting off Chinas oil supplies & being in complete control of shipping routes. They’re blowing up Belt & road projects so they can’t even go by road. Blocking investments is another tactic.

You won’t hear that on the BBC.

Starmer has zero say on what deals they can make. It’s above his pay grade. He’s just the puppet following orders.

When someone explains the game it all makes sense & why elections & political parties are just one big fraud played every five years to give the plebs the air they have democracy.

There’s at least ten levels of shite above politicians & they NEVER change no matter what colour rosette wins an election every five years.

79. Del G says:

Your Party had not so much a faint hope as no hope of impacting the Scottish election:
    formed far too recently to have any impact;
    faction ridden;
    London-centric, and any “scottish YP” suggestion otherwise stomped on;
    probably minus 99 in Holyrood polls.

80. 100%Yes says:

Labour on track to lose 2000 Councillors in this coming May’s election, now this will cause Sir Starmer to resign as PM.

• Sven says:

100%Yes

I doubt anything would persuade that particular Tite-Barnacle to voluntarily detatch himself from the rich pickings on the ship of state, 100%.
      Our luck was never that good.

• 100%Yes says:

Sven,

May’s election is going to be a interesting night. I might just need to take a day from diet and have a wine and some snacks, just in case it good news.

81. Cynicus says:

The Offord Joke:

Hats off to The National for publishing it.

Old hat. I’d heard a version of it decades ago – told by an old family friend who is an OTT,
    flamboyant homosexual.

One of the more sensible BTL comments is by Mr Murphy, also a gay man:

“It comes across like something you’d hear in a smoky working men’s club in the 70s, not a public speech now. It just feels out of place more than anything.”

He might have added “not suitable in mixed company”- old fashioned chap as he clearly is.
    In the UN-mixed company of a rugby club booze-up, Offord’s effort is unremarkable. There are rugby songs far worse. I know a version of “Bye-bye Blackbird “ whose lyrics make Lord Offord’s joke sound tame. Forgive me if I do not test the MODs by publishing.
    I fear that would put me in danger of being selected as a Reform candidate -with a view to replacing its leader!

• Geri says:

I dated I rugby player once.. all rugged & handsome.

I asked, so how did ye get intae Rugby then?

… “Well, my Mam knew the guy”…

Ah, right, so yer mammy got you in then? LOL!

It kinda killed the illusion stone deid..

82. robertkknight says:

In other news…

Former council leader guilty of sexually assaulting young men – BBC News link to share.google

Who knew…

83. 100%Yes says:

I see James Kelly has nothing to right about so he’s attacking a Indy party instead. The guy a real asset for the Union.

84. Confused says:

fantasies of power and relevance

link to archive.ph

– they spend HUGE amounts on all this crap, the least you would hope is “it sorta works”
    – the english are still world-class when it comes to PISHING IT UP A WALL
    – but who fucking cares, a lot of fees and salaries and loans got banked … and it’s not their money anyway … hey Scotland, how you doing??

you’re my bezzy mate, right

so, see this gulf war shindig, howsabout we pump more oil, noice one, luvverly jubbly …

85. Confused says:

every day is now a gay day on wings

The PIPEworks on MetroPOLE Lane — billed as Scotland’s largest gay “health and leisure club” / BUTTFUCK HOMO BROTHEL

link to archive.ph

this is comedy gold … “nuisance” and “noise” (ooh aah … )

they are taking a hun bar and making it a gay bar

“at the hun bar, hun bar … ”

SNP now holding their surgeries there.

some big, if true geopolitics –

wait?
    link to archive.ph
    – whut?!

trump says to the ayatollah : “I’m gonna take you to a gay bar …” (bohemian grove)

iran is retaliating by releasing lists of the “loads of chicks the supreme leader has had sex with, touched their nips and everything … ” to be stencilled on the sides of Korammsharr missiles for Wave 987 of operation true promise

86. Confused says:

here’s an interesting thing : why do highly vocal minorities wield so much power in democracies where naively “the will of the majority” is enacted?

bit of a baffler, no?

if you are a minority (ethnic/racial/religious/sexual) and you have minority interests which the majority don’t share, how do you get what you want?

– presenting openly at the ballot box will never win. So you need to get organised and get a strategy – the “long march through the institutions”; society is arranged hierarchically and the true decision makers are small bodies where you can, in theory, create local superiority and just ram through whatever you want against the wishes of the people

So, you need to get in in the first place : whine about fairness, inequality, under representation and publicly agitate, play the victim, get the media on your side

– you get in with some quota scheme, affirmative action, the sympathy vote.

The majority will assume the matter is settled and think “all is well, everyone is happy”. Not at all, for this is where the work begins.

The next objective is to “hold the door open” for others like you; get onto the hiring committees, and kibosh any talented “enemy” groups (in our society this is high achieving native males)

– over time “your kind” can in fact dominate whatever it is you have entered; you slowly conspire to move out all your enemies, leaving – others like you, and people sympathetic to you.

This happens in many places.

BTW – there is no more talk of “affirmative action” / quotas as by now you are highly over represented – NO – by now the talk is all of MERITOCRACY … we all got here because we are the “best”.

(aye, right)

Any outsiders should be trained not to notice any “patterns”, and anyone who does, is a BIGOT. No one should ever think that the group coordinates and operates as a bloc, exclusively acting in its own interest (because that is when you get shut down).

– and this is why 2 lesbos, a p00f, and 2 p4kis were the “leaders” of Scotland and a gang of trannies is running social policy across the west. Then one of the pacmen complained about “racism” aka white/white/white – when it was all down to the lack of racism that allowed him to get in in the first place, then turn round to spit on the hand that fed him and try to turn Scotland into a vehicle for his personal international activism. In england, there is a dangerously incompetent and hilariously weak labour govt which is heavily reliant for many seats on the asian bloc vote in crucial marginals … “favour for favour”

and so “democracy” becomes a caucus of lobbies

• Sven says:

Confused @ 12.36.

Or, perhaps a “cactus”, where all the pricks are in plain view.

• Lorncal says:

Minorities are usually backed by people who have another agenda altogether and would dispense with the minority as soon as the agenda was within reach. It is usually society they want to overturn in order to impose their agenda on everyone else and the minority are the foot soldiers, the vanguard.

Women were never a minority, never have been. Actually the majority. They, however, you want to talk about the women’s agenda, at least had a moral right to campaign for better conditions, pay, representation, etc. In the past, the chaps ran everything, and they might have been gay (or cross-dressers in secret), S&M practitioners, and so on, but they normally kept it under the radar.

Minority groups now are emboldened to flaunt their minority status, complete with ‘victimhood’ tacked on as a method of persuasion. Gullible women, in particular, have fallen for it as part of the ‘woke’ sorority. I think that there is a definite division between young women (and some lesbians) and older women (and lesbians) who know better or have learned not to trust the ‘brotherhood’ through hard experience. That some women, notably those in positions of power and authority in various public institutions and organisations, and those in trade unions and other, once women-only organisations, have chosen to betray their sisters and try to destabilise society is now so evident as to be unchallengeable.

That is why modern ‘woke’ is set apart from anything that has gone before: it has left behind the perfectly rational black ‘woke’ movement and the perfectly rational feminist movement of the past and ventured into the politics of post modernism, queer theory and a form of Marxism that is so destructive as to be a danger to the state. Why? In a way, it is like Stalinism. Gullible people believed that Stalin was the answer to everyone’s prayers, that he would ‘fix’ everything and everyone would be entering a utopian paradise. Well, look how that turned out!

We are seeing something very similar, but also very different where normally intelligent people have simply opened their heads and let their brains fall out on to the pavement. They are contrarian to the point of self-destruction and no amount of evidence is ever enough to shift them from their position of absolute self-belief based on nothing but their own narcissism. Many of them really do need to be put in straitjackets and held in a cell away from suicidal empathy and ‘women’s studies’ and victimhood and all the other brain-numbing dross that passes for at least some of academia these days. Their infection can become a pandemic of the Borg very quickly, as we have witnessed.

• twathater says:

WOW!!!! every word true and all it takes is for people to realise THIS is what has been happening for decades , BUT they won’t because they refuse to believe that people can be so exploitative and driven
      Ask indigenous people in middle engerland if they feel outnumbered or overlooked , now slowly creeping into Scotland

87. ScotsRenewables says:

If there is one thing less competent than Holyrood it is Argyll and Bute Council.

Sign the petition against traffic lights on the Atlantic Bridge.

link to change.org

88. Mark Beggan says:

The silence in Scotland concerning the Pakistani Grooming Gangs is deafening.

• agentx says:

“On February 25, 2026, the Scottish Government ordered a
      public inquiry into grooming gangs, marking a significant shift in position following intense pressure from victims, opposition parties, and a previous national review of evidence.

The inquiry will focus on the prevalence of group-based child sexual abuse and exploitation in Scotland, covering both recent and historic cases, with a specific focus on protecting vulnerable children.”

• Alf Baird says:

One wonders whose rights public inquiries undertaken within colonial societies would seek to defend, the colonizer or the colonized?

• Mark Beggan says:

That’s like asking a pedophile to take charge of the day care centre.

• Geri says:

Have you heard what ex Tory MP Andrew Bridgen says about these gangs? Go watch him whistleblow what is really going on here. There’s a vid on yer tube.

These gangs simply didn’t/don’t operate without protection. There’s a reason they were ignored.

89. Mark Beggan says:

Baby Senator Kennedy says;
    The Democrats have changed their minds on Homeland Security quicker than a one legged cat in a sandbox”.

90. agentx says:

Are there any Reform voters left on here?

• Captain Caveman says:

Hi! 🙂

In a similar vein, are there any SNP, Labour, Green or Lib Dumb voters left on here? ‘Cause right now, I know that I’d be more embarrassed by. 🙂

• agentx says:

Fascinating but you didn’t answer the simple question.

• Captain Caveman says:

You asked were there any Reform voters left on here and I said “Hi!”

Not really sure how ambiguous that is supposed to be, but hey ho. For the avoidance of doubt: I’m a Reform voter and I’m still here.

HTH.

• agentx says:

Captain Caveman says:
        I’m a Reform voter and I’m still here.
        _______________________________________________-

thanks – you could have said that the first time.

(but then again what do you expect from a Reform voter)

• Captain Caveman says:

Thicko lefty.

• Campbell Clansman says:

The SNP has delivered corrupt, incompetent, Left-wing governance.
      And the voters seem set to return them to power.
      At some point, it must be acknowledged that a plurality of Scottish voters WANT corrupt, incompetent, Left wing governments. And they’re getting what they voted for. The voters HAVE alternative choices–lots of them, including the new Reform Party. They just aren’t voting for them in enough numbers.
      This isn’t a perversion of democracy–this IS democracy.

• James says:

Let’s hope not.

• Mark Beggan says:

Are you scared James? Because if the Fascists get power in England and Wales it’s good night woo woo land.

• Geri says:

Was there any to begin with?

They’re just disgruntled Tories. Same shit, different party.

Do we know what it is yet that they’re actually reforming or are they just a one trick pony tapping into immigration sentiment so they can bulldoze through private healthcare when they get in?

• Mark Beggan says:

Maybe Ayes an maybe Naws. Like the Indy election you’ll never know. That’s the beauty of the ballot box.

• Geri says:

That’s an aye then & even I spotted that in two seconds flat.

PS, you do know yer ballot is ripped fae a book with yer personal serial number on it? Of course they know which way you voted. Mr Nawbags.

• Mark Beggan says:

@Geri
        I was going to lend you my first edition copy of 1984 but it would be like giving a 4 year old Kiora juice.

91. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

BLOG PÀRLAMAID NA h-ALBA

Fiosrachadh is naidheachd bho Phàrlamaid na h-Alba

Tha an seisean pàrlamaideach a-nis air tighinn gu crìch agus tha seo a’ toirt deagh chothrom dhuinn sùil a thoirt air mar a bhios sinn a’ conaltraidh sa Ghàidhlig sa Phàrlamaid ùire. Tha sinn airson faighinn a-mach ciamar a tha luchd-labhairt na Gàidhlig airson cluinntinn bhon Phàrlamaid agus airson eadar-obrachadh rithe – tron chuairt-litir againn, agus cuideachd tron làraich-lìn againn agus tro na meadhanan sòisealta.

A chionn ‘s gu bheil cruth-tìre nam meadhanan sòisealta ag atharrachadh cho luath, bu mhath leinn cluinntinn bhuaibh mun t-seòrsa susbaint anns a bheil ùidh agaibh, agus mu na h-àrd-ùrlaran a bhios sibh a’ cleachdadh.

Gus ar cuideachadh le seo, tha suirbhidh ghoirid againn – a tha ri faighinn sa Ghàidhlig agus sa Bheurla – agus bhiomaid fada nur comain nam b’ urrainn dhuibh a lìonadh. Gus ur bhrosnachadh gus pàirt a ghabhail, tha roghainn agaibh a bhith a’ gabhail pàirt ann am farpais gus leabhar a bhuannachadh. Ma lìonas sibh an tionndadh Gàidhlig, dh’fhaodadh sibh ‘An Nighean air an Aiseag’ le Aonghas Pàdraig Caimbeul a bhuannachadh agus ma lìonas tu an dreach Beurla, dh’fhaodadh tu ‘Island on the Edge of the World: The Story of St Kilda’ le Charles MacLean a bhuannachadh.

‘S e 15 Giblean an latha mu dherieadh airson freagairtean.

link to parlamaidalba.wordpress.com

92. Mark Beggan says:

“The price we pay for freedom is the right to disagree.”
    Benjamin Franklin.

93. Mark Beggan says:

“A lie told often enough becomes the truth.”
    Vladimir Lenin.

94. Northcode says:

Joe Goebbels’ ‘Big Boss’, *Adalwolf, had already written about the ‘Big Lie’ in his best seller (only rivalled in sales by the Harry Potter books and The Bible) called “Camping for Fascists”… no wait, it was called “My Camp Friend”… no wait, it was called “Glamping Ain’t Camping”… no wait, it was called “My Struggle”, yes, that’s it, but in German.

But what was Adalwolf’s big idea about the ‘Big Lie’ (der Grosse Luge)?

Adalwolf argued that folk more easily believe gargantuan lies than teeny tiny micro ones because they can’t imagine someone (Adalwolf himself, Goebbels, Trump, Sturgeon, for example.) having the impudence, the golden neck, the absolute fucking cheek, to bend the truth so significantly out of shape.

Goebbels wrote about the “Big Lie” in 1941… can anyone guess who he was accusing of using such despicable and barbarous propaganda techniques back then?

Correct!

Goebbels was directing his accusation at Great Britain (England if preferred… same thing)

It seems Adalwolf’s Third Reich (the first two being The Holy Roman Empire (800-1806) and The German Empire (1871-1918) learned everything it knew of telling big lies from the biggest liar of all, the English… something the Scots had discovered about the Anglo several centuries earlier – the lie of a great and equal loving union between the Kingdoms of Scotland and England, among many others, for example.

*Adalwolf – from which the name Adolf is derived – means ‘noble wolf’ in the old High German and symbolises strength and guardianship. Incidentally the name, Adolf, was the name of several Swedish kings, notably Gustav II Adolf. However, its popularity has declined significantly due to negative associations with a more recent Adolf.

• Northcode says:

In 1941, Goebbels wrote:

“The English follow the principle that when one lies, one should lie big, and stick to it. They keep up their lies, even at the risk of looking ridiculous.”

This appeared in an article he wrote titled “Aus Churchills Lügenfabrik” (Churchill’s Lie Factory).

England’s lie factory, to this day, is a continuous ‘roond the clock’ operation fabricating lies of all shapes and sizes and exporting them to an incredulous world straight from its factory’s conveyor belt of bullshit … the English even lie to themselves such is the deeply embedded truth denying pathology they exhibit as a nation.

• Alf Baird says:

Dinna fash yersel, Northcode, mair is revealed ivvery day aboot Scotland’s colonial condeetion:

“Indictment at the United Nations: A Report Submitted Directly to the UN Secretary-General Now Entered into the UN System Exposes Scotland as a Colony and Places the English Colonial State in the Dock”

Read the full report by Liberation Scotland and partners on the official UN website:

link to documents.un.org

• Mark Beggan says:

Der giftswerg,
      “I’m times of famine even the devil eats flies.”

• Mark Beggan says:

Oops that should have been “In times of famine…
        This is what Goebbels wrote in his diary when his boss done a deal with Uncle Joe. The lie was so big even Goebbels swallowed it.

• factchecker says:

I keep reading that Scots were told that the Union meant that England and Scotland would be treated as equals in the Union. What is the basis for this claim? Genuine question.

95. Sven says:

“A liar knows that he is a liar, but one who speaks mere portions of truth in order to deceive is a craftsman of destruction.”
    Criss Jami.

• Mark Beggan says:

Commonly known as Spin. The Spin Doctors.

96. Mark Beggan says:

“Out of the west come a curious fool
    He tried to impress me with his furious cool
    He lied from the start
    I knew just what he was trying.
    He lied to his mother
    And lied to the rest
    He lied to his brother
    Who loved him the best
    I believe he lies to my children.
    Ah, half the lies he tells you, they’re not true
    I say that half the lies he tells you, they’re not true
    I know half the lies he tells you, they’re not true
    They never could be
    Half the lies he tells you, they’re not true.
    You may come to the white house
    You walk through the white door
    You come to the corridor of power
    You might slip on the white house floor.
    You come to the wrong, to to the wrong floor
    You come and see the wrong people
    You knocked on the wrong door
    Watching a person
    Watching a thief
    Watching a lover
    Watching a leaf
    You could watch what you want, when you will
    You can’t watch a liar.
    You lied to your friend
    You lied to you now
    Some lies, somehow
    Oh, half the lies he tells you, they’re not true
    I know half the lies he tells you, they’re not true
    They never could be
    They never ever will be
    Half the lies he tells you, they’re not true
    You may come to the white house
    You walk through the white door
    You might step on the corridor of power
    You might slip on the white house floor.
    You come to the wrong, du du the wrong floor
    You come and see the wrong people
    You knocked on the wrong door
    Out of the west came a curious fool
    Intent to impress me with his furious cool
    He lied from the start
    I knew just what he was trying to do.
    He lied to his mother
    He lied to the rest
    He lied to the lovers
    Who loved him the best
    Oh, half the lies he tells you, they’re not true
    Believe it that half the lies he tells you, they’re not true
    They never could be
    I say half the lies he tells you, they’re not true
    Half the lies he tells you, they’re not true”

John Martyn.

97. willie says:

Filled up with diesel today at a cost of £1.84 a litre. Up +28.7% from the £1.43 cost a couple of weeks ago.

So another £30 plus to fill the tank which will on current trajectory increase even more as the war drags on. And quite how the oil price increases will feed into inflation remains to be seen. Will certainly put the recent swingeing council tax rises into the shade.

But hang about, at least there’s a huge increase in tax revenue on increased diesel and petrol prices to add to the forthcoming 5p a litre fuel duty increase announced by Rachel Reeves.

Happy days ahead. But at least we are in the process of shutting down our North Sea oil production. Net Zero rules OK. But what exactly is Net Zero.

No doubt we shall find out. Happy days, as Britain’s best years, our golden era, lies ahead before us.

• Dan says:

Lucky you willie, round these parts it was 1.87 for regular diesel earlier in the week, now it’s 1.95.
      But as the tractors and all the complex farm machinery begin to plough the fields for this year’s crops, and food gets transported about the place, you jist know things will only get dearer.

And for any of these cretins that spout NetZero pish as a viable and obtainable aspiration. Go top yourself now and do us and the planet a favour, because there is no fucking way to exist in such a paradigm.
      We’re all coagulations of stardust, that are living biological chemical reactions that need sustenance to sustain our existences. You know how you are warm to the touch, that’s because of the constant chemical reactions occurring in your body. The body needs fed, and even if you make extraordinary choices to live your life as sustainably as possible by living in the cold and growing the foodstuffs you consume, there are more complex things that you would not be able to provide for yourself, and therefore are leveraging the energies of other folk to supplement and enhance your own life.

• Bilbo says:

Unless they really go for nuclear, Net Zero can only work if they carpet the whole island with battery storage facilities. The only problem with that is there won’t be any space for farming so an even bigger part of food supply will have to be imported.

Now, what can possibly go wrong with that?

98. Mark Beggan says:

Great Scots of their time.
    John Witherspoon born in East Lothian, minister of the laigh kirk in Paisley. A founding father of the United States.

99. sarah says:

Rev, now is a good time for you to put into motion your suggestion a few years ago of starting a new party. At the time Alba took the stage and that no doubt held you back. Then Peter A Bell formed his New Scotland Party.

But I’ve no doubt that you could actually do better because you have brains, integrity, AND the achievement of the success of the Wee Blue Book [and this site] to attract attention and support.

This election is probably not going to gain better MSPs because of the dispersal of candidates amongst different parties, and the short time scale for some of them, but with several years before another election, you could build a much stronger party.

I suggest you call it the Wee Blue Book Party.

How about it? Funding and activist support won’t be lacking.

• agentx says:

What happened to your money raising campaign for the other party you have been supporting and advertising for ages?

100. James Che says:

North code,

Maybe you would like to read the “Angry Pict”, if you have not already done so,
    Awash with corrections and information to some major misconceptions that most Scots hold,

The past makes the present, the present makes the future, as Cynicus pointed out the other day , however, equally so is the a lie told in the past, grows arms and legs in the present, and one big gigantic lie by 2026.

When everyone learns the truth, the original lie, no longer holds any power in our future.

101. George Ferguson says:

When I look at the Scottish political scene it is depressing. Not a single visionary amongst them. The whole lot of them couldn’t create a single coherent integrated policy but the fitba is almost on. A friendly but the only thing that unites Scotland. A lesson for politicians.

• George Ferguson says:

The 18th ranked side beat the 40th ranked side one nil. What did I learn?. Conway is a good utility player and should be in the squad but not the first eleven.

102. George Ferguson says:

The 18th ranked side beat the 40th ranked side one nil. What did I learn?. Conway is a good utility player and should be in the squad but not the first eleven.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,894 Posts, 1,239,487 Comments

• Mark Beggan on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: ““Render unto Caesar the things that are Caesar’s, and unto God the things that are God’s”Apr 14, 04:26
    • Young Lochinvar on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “C’mon Beggars Seriously now: I think you need to calm down and have a Horlicks, you’re in way over your…Apr 14, 01:42
    • Young Lochinvar on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Northcode @ 9.26 “Wish the Unionists would be wittier on here”.. It’s the dour pro English Presbyterian Calvinist thing; like…Apr 14, 01:29
    • Marie on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Agreed. ISL is not a country – it’s a psychiatric unit.Apr 14, 01:12
    • Young Lochinvar on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Geri Wackadoo Pastor? Whit? Pastor Faggat?! Gets about doesn’t he with his tedious sermonising eh?Apr 14, 00:00
    • James on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Jay; aye, what a welcome relief it was for a short while to be spared the horse shit that McFuckFace…Apr 13, 21:36
    • Northcode on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: ““…I didn’t realise “James” personally owned billions…” The power of Christ compels… I wish tae God the power o Christ…Apr 13, 21:26
    • Aidan on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “I didn’t realise “James” personally owned billions in North Sea oil?Apr 13, 20:58
    • Northcode on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: ““As are the posts you make in Scots language!” I don’t normally bother responding to unionist idiocy (there’s so much…Apr 13, 20:49
    • Geri on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Billions from the North Sea for a start.Apr 13, 20:38
    • Mark Beggan on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Baby Trump says Your getting your oil from Texas. American oil. Probably the best oil the world has ever seen.…Apr 13, 20:31
    • Jay on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Do i remember correctly that M. Beggan claimed to have been posted to BAOR? Does anyone know this character in…Apr 13, 20:25
    • Aidan on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “What have the English stolen from you James?Apr 13, 20:17
    • Geri on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “That Scottish government wouldn’t be in office & NATO would be put to a public vote. An independent Scotland should…Apr 13, 19:53
    • Geri on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “No. That’s just paranoia & they should seek help. The West has indulged in this nonsense long enough. Especially when…Apr 13, 19:39
    • Geri on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Delusional. NATO has done nothing of the sort. It’s only attracted & instigated trouble including the whole U war. It’s…Apr 13, 19:32
    • Geri on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: ““There’s something about becoming Christ’s representative on Earth that tends to resolve any sibling rivalry.” LOL!Apr 13, 19:11
    • James on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “That the same sensible Scottish government that says men can be women?Apr 13, 19:04
    • Mark Beggan on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Old Jewish proverb; If your enemy wants to kill you get up early and kill him first.Apr 13, 18:49
    • agentx on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: ““his manner of speech and the formulations of the words he uses – is literally incomprehensible.” ————————————– As are the…Apr 13, 18:49
    • agentx on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: ““Defence With independence, this Scottish Government believes Scotland’s defence and security priorities would be based on three main areas: joining…Apr 13, 18:37
    • Mark Beggan on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Baby Trump says, Baby Northy has Baby Trump Derangement Syndrome. I’ll have to send Petey over to put him Strait.…Apr 13, 18:23
    • James on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Bilge. Protected from what? You charcters are delusional. Meanwhile our thieveing southern neighbours steal everything we own.Apr 13, 18:17
    • Mark Beggan on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “A free ride since 1949.Apr 13, 18:13
    • Mark Beggan on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Trump is in your head rent free.Apr 13, 18:12
    • agentx on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “As part of the United Kingdom Scotland has been protected by the NATO alliance (formed in 1949).Apr 13, 17:47
    • Northcode on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Trump, of course, is no longer human – if he ever was – and this is why the majority of…Apr 13, 17:40
    • Mark Beggan on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Scotland has been protected by America since 1946. A free ride that has come to an abrupt end.Apr 13, 17:20
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: “Better link: www.youtube.com/watch?v=LykbTn_sS4oApr 13, 16:27
    • Alf Baird on Do You Believe In The Westwood?: ““These freaks have zero morals & have zero regard for human life.” Indeed so, and to those of us studying…Apr 13, 16:15