Clocks And Calendars

Posted on March 30, 2026 by

We think the lads at The Scotsman might have gotten a bit confused and/or carried away when it came to putting the clocks forward at the weekend. At 6am on Sunday morning they tweeted this:

But the link was a 404. We checked the print edition of Scotland On Sunday but there was nothing there either. Finally, though, the article has shown up in today’s paper and on the website, and to be honest with you, readers, we still think it must be some sort of mistake, because it’s two days early for April 1st.

And this is too batshit crazy to explain any other way.

Fortunately it’s the end of the month and time for our latest election analysis piece, so let’s pick our way through the madness. Heaven knows we could all do with the laugh.

“Labour believes it has identified a route to forming the next Scottish government by flipping a dozen constituencies from the SNP and relying on a strong Reform performance on the regional list to deprive John Swinney’s party of the keys to Bute House.

Anas Sarwar’s team believe that in battlegrounds across the Central Belt, where constituencies can be framed as a straight fight between Labour and the SNP, turning 11 or 12 seats red would create three large party blocks, with an assumption Labour would be the only party able to form a government with the help of Reform.”

Good lord, where to even start? The first thing to note is that given all current polling figures, any constituency gains by Labour would be all but guaranteed to be wiped out by a corresponding loss of list seats, so the entire premise of this strategy is demented from the start.

If you look at the last 10 polls, Sarwar’s party is sitting on anywhere from 12% to 19% of the list vote, which ought to be good for 2-3 list seats per region, but if they picked up a few constituencies across the Central Belt that’d be slashed into single figures.

The definition of “Central Belt” is a matter of interpretation, but by any sane measure includes at least five regions and possibly six. West Scotland includes areas that anyone would class “Central Belt” – Clydebank, Milngavie, Strathkelvin, Eastwood.

Obviously Edinburgh And Lothians East counts.

Same goes for Central Scotland (clue’s in the name!) And Lothians West.

Ditto for Glasgow.

Mid Scotland And Fife is probably the most debatable, but Dunfermline, Cowdenbeath and Kirkcaldy are hardly in the Highlands and are areas Labour has traditionally been strong in and will at least fancy a shot at. And remember, even picking up a single seat in (say) Kirkcaldy would be enough to halve Labour’s list vote for the whole region.

There can’t be much debate about South Scotland either, unless you’re going to try to seriously dispute that Hamilton and East Kilbride are in the Central Belt.

(Wikipedia defines it as including large swathes of Fife and the Borders.)

So even if Labour picked up “11 or 12” constituencies due to their concentrated vote – and that’s a very, very big ask unless their polling dramatically improves – the likely impact on their total seat count would be zero, because they’d lose the same number on the list.

“The claim is they would have a “moral mandate” to govern, but in order to stand a chance of forming the next government, Labour needs the polls to tighten dramatically to around four or five points. Currently, Labour trails the SNP by around 18 points – meaning Mr Sarwar’s campaign will need to bring forward something extraordinary to move the dial on public opinion in the coming weeks.

No kidding. But even that understates the magnitude of the problem. Labour’s current constituency-vote polling (again based on the last 10 polls, which cover the whole of 2026) ranges from 12% to 20%, so to close an 18-point gap they’d need to basically DOUBLE it in the next five weeks, and if you think there’s the tiniest chance of that happening then please contact us at once to take advantage of a fantastic offer we’re currently running on magic beans.

(Labour still haven’t managed to identify a single meaningful policy difference between themselves and the SNP, as Wings has been pointing out for the last three years and which the Scottish mainstream media has therefore finally noticed.)

To be honest, after this arrant nonsense the rest of the Scotsman article is just padding and waffle to fill out the page.

“Labour’s potential route to Bute House would rely on unionist parties, including Reform, to vote in Mr Sarwar as first minister following May’s election, with Labour attempting to govern as a small minority administration.”

Even the most outlandish arithmetical scenario by which Sarwar could win a vote to become FM would require the support not just of Reform but also the Tories, Lib Dems and Greens. Let’s all just pause for a moment and ponder that five-party coalition including Malcolm Offord, Alex Cole-Hamilton and Ross Greer, shall we?

(We asked Grok to visualise it. Yikes.)

But the paper clutches at one last straw.

“One potential scenario, seen by The Scotsman, forecasts that if Labour can take four of the six Glasgow constituencies, the SNP would not be fully supplemented for the losses on the regional list due to the strength of the anticipated Reform vote.

The scenario suggests that instead of the SNP picking up three regional list seats for Glasgow, Reform would come first as the highest performing party that has not won a constituency, with it likely four seats would then be split evenly between Labour and the SNP – with Reform picking up a second regional MSP.”

So even in the miraculous event of Labour picking up FOUR seats in Glasgow (where the SNP’s average majority is around 8,000), the supercoalition would only make a net gain of two, with Labour somehow getting TWO list seats despite their list vote having been divided by FIVE, which would currently put it on something like 3%.

(Which of course is nowhere even REMOTELY close to enough for a SINGLE list seat, let alone two. If they won four constituencies they’d need to be on around 40% of the list vote to have a chance of ONE list seat. They’ve achieved that figure exactly once in Scottish Parliament history, in 1999.)

As we know, the only tiny theoretical chance for the Unionist parties to oust the SNP on anything like current polling is if Reform (the only one of the opposition parties who are reasonably strong across the country, not just in pockets of concentrated support) win a bundle of constituencies, clearing the others to sweep up on the list. But that’s stupendously unlikely, because no other party is going to knock doors and tell people to vote for Reform. Labour trying to somehow achieve it by picking up a few seats in Glasgow is just suicidally thick, which is why Sarwar seemingly thinks it’s a viable plan.

So, y’know, wow. We have every sympathy with the press in having to find something to write about over the next five wretched weeks and attempt to create some sort of jeopardy as to who’s going to win this election, but if this – “What if Labour suddenly DOUBLED their vote?” – is how crazy they’re getting when it’s still March, we dread to imagine what sort of desperate insanity we’re going to be reading by the start of May.

0 to “Clocks And Calendars”

1. Campbell Clansman says:

Labour, and The Scotsman, must think voters are dumb enough to take this “analysis” seriously.
    Which says a lot about their contempt for the intelligence of the voters.
    But since the voters seem likely to return the SNP to power, maybe their contempt is justified.

2. David says:

I assume this was written and supplied to The Scotsman by a deluded Labour Hack. Why don’t The Scotsman republish the article tomorrow and substitute Labour for Reform.

3. Mark Beggan says:

If you thought that was crazy did anyone see Scottish Labours political broadcast online. A day in the life of Sarwar! From trolling in Kelvin Way to a bit of dentistry and then trying to convince a 4 year old to vote for him. Sarwar nae mates. Unbelievable.

4. Aidan says:

Labour are really going to form a coalition with Reform are they? Oh aye i bet they’ll be shouting about that on the doorsteps over the next few weeks.

I don’t think anyone in Labour HQ in London will be too bothered about the result, they’ll be far more worried about the English local elections or the Senedd in Wales.

5. Alf Baird says:

Past time The Hootsman changed its teetle tae ‘The Hoose Jock’; or just go the hale hog as ‘The Colonialist’. That wad be the honest and moral thing tae dae.

6. Young Lochinvar says:

Yee haw pardner..

Uncle Sam’s getting all worked up about a super bigly expensive low gear fly by mission “to the moon”.

They’ll get to “see” the dark side of the moon for the first time.

I’d laugh my pants aff so to speak if the first thing they found there was a Chinese moon base complete with take away 🙂

Happy trails y’all. Try not to start a war there as well eh..

7. Frank Gillougley says:

Aye, ‘Vote fur Jack Duggan Sarwar’, it’s definitely got a ring tae it. Pure wild wae it so he is.

8. Young Lochinvar says:

Happy anniversary tomorrow of the 1307 battle of Glentrool.

Bruce’s looking at spiders days were put behind him at Glentrool in Galloway with (infamous) Aymer De Valence’s larger English forces ambushed and routed by Bruce’s smaller force.

A long list of victories lay ahead for Bruce.

Here’s tae em!

• James says:

YL; Here’s to Good King Robert.

Cheers! They don’t like it up ’em.

9. twathater says:

The Scotsman in conjunction with every other shite rag is trolling the electorate with this insulting PISH

The Headline should be “Sarwar plots tactical route and an amoral mandate”

Or “Sarwar plots tactical route and an immoral mandate”
    FFS are people so gullible that they are taken in by this clown, has LIEBOUR did anything GOOD for Scotland

10. George Ferguson says:

To some my claim of Scottish Labour finishing fourth is fanciful. As fanciful as Sarwar claiming moral authority. We will see. He has the unbelievable Handicap of Keir Starmer as the most unpopular PM of all time. A fate I wouldn’t wish on anybody. Let’s predict then, SNP first, Reform UK second, Scottish Greens third and Scottish Labour fourth. Now the Scottish Greens polling is always elevated but we still have another month of Starmer. These Hutchie Boys have no luck.

11. Glenn Boyd says:

Lord help us if that New Labour Scumbag Sarwar gets anywhere near taking power. Lets remember this is the fucking turd who pays workers less than minimum living wage while banning Trade Union representation in his business. I just hate the sight of that self-entitled filth!

12. Mark Beggan says:

When will the IMF come knocking on the door? Any number crunchers out there? How long till Britains credit is reached and breached? One of my old watering holes had this very issue on the wall above the cash register:
    “Please don’t ask for credit as a smack in the mouth often offends.”

• Charlie says:

You must have lived somewhere posh, that was in my local newsagents 😉

• Young Lochinvar says:

Beggars

That’s LONG since breached paying for rusted subs and missiles that go “plop” – and you didn’t even notice during the “3 minute daily hate”.

Lagging only behind Is Rye Ale (produces nothing of note with limited natural resources) and “good ol’ boy” Uncle Sam who’ve both spaffed all their (borrowed) credit in $$$bombs$$$ and used them all like a kids games arcade..

Chances are, looking at Baby Ts mood swings, that they are running short of these at a war near you sometime soon.
      Y’all..

Oh dear..

The brown people will come and get you Beggars!!! ??

Unscrew some doors from their hinges and hide under the bed!!!

• Mark Beggan says:

I don’t think you understand what’s going on geopolitically.
        There’s a new sheriff in town. The war has been won. It’s the new order of world commerce and trade. Who is going to protect Europa now. Big Daddy’s gone. They’ll have to fight Ivan themselves. Just as well they didn’t leave their borders open.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Now now Beggars, don’t get carmugeonly..

Pains me to say it, but Baby Uncle Sam has done what Amnesiac Baby Uncle Same always does, keeps the military industrial complex (that Eisenhower warned about as his presidential parting cheerie-bye gift) happy with loads $$$$contracts$$$$ then effs off when things get too tough as mid terms and primaries loom.

Heck you say youve read Stoned Oliver’s 1000 days whatever, didn’t you grasp what you were reading?

There is no new kid on the block, it’s the same tired keich that didn’t work with Nixon, just some (ahem) have exceedingly short memories to match Baby Uncle Sam’s exceedingly eye watering balance sheet deficit.

If it was “all so easy” don’t you think all these problems would have been resolved ages ago?

Yup, bomb them into the Stone Age as they sit back and ace the Western financial model by doing, frankly, the bare minimum..

Anyway, so much for aspiring Nobel Peace Prize Baby warmongering Trumps “no more wars”..

Hasn’t exactly worked out as planned even for you hard-core happy clappers eh..

God (or whoever) help us, we’re in the hands of lunatics..

Who exactly is advising this infant?

(Can’t be Hatey as he’s clearly been lifted and residing in a Louisiana swamp lock up forced to wear boxing gloves due to his penchant for 24/7 chugging off that the Proud Boys claim they don’t hold with..
        Real purty mouth y’all..)

Please tell me it’s not you..

• Geri says:

Should’ve said:

“If this till is short – there’ll be questions for the thieving bastards that took it”

Cause the UK mismanagement has had plenty going into its till since oil came ashore along with all the theft they do around the globe. Including Scotland’s oil that bankrolls their excursions & terrorist activities in all the far flung places you’d struggle to spell.

IMF won’t come knocking. A country that has it’s own Central Bank can’t go bust. Words like deficit & debt are perfectly normal to have in every country. So is a fucking OIL FUND & huge reserves in situ for times such as this. They only became bad buzz words & scary stories to tell the nawbags during Scotland’s independence referendum. The clue is always that it’s perfectly fine if they have debt & deficit, they’re special – just not you, Scotland. The skies would fall in on you if you owed so much as a quid overdrawn.

England’s hegemony is over. They’ll just have to adjust & stop blowing money on the yanks extortionate weapons program that don’t work, sit their arse in the house & stop playing GI Joe to Uncle Sam’s latest hit & run excursions.

They’ve blown through £$€billions blowing shit up. Notice now it’s not to free the ppl from an evil religious leader or their fictitious nuke program. Trump has came right out & said it what the same ones amongst us we knew: It’s the oil.

It’s the only Sovereign nation left that won’t play ball & let the yanks install a puppet that’ll hand over full control of its oil & shipping route. They’ll just need to tell the banking wankers there’s no more capital to pillage. They’ll move on & pick another Empire to finesse.

13. Mark Beggan says:

Any gamblers amongst us?
    General election before 2029. 3/1
    General election 2027. 7/1
    General election 2026. 11/1
    Marshall Law declared. Even money.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Beggars

You missed out Enoch Powell’s “rivers of blood” hysteria in your post.

A but remiss of you there “old boy”eh?!

• Derek says:

Martial law? Or do you mean that everything is to be turned up to 11?

14. JPFife says:

What do you think the chances of Sarwar getting a seat rather than getting in on the list, due to him personally? A lot of pressure going on behind the scenes to win it the way they won the Hamilton by election no one thought they would last year?

15. TURABDIN says:

How to «grok» Scottish politics and is it worth the effort…..
    the Martian pondered.

16. Rob says:

Like it or not folk are voting for these morons.

• robertkknight says:

That’s a sweeping but entirely accurate assessment of Scottish politics in general.

• Campbell Clansman says:

True: But doesn’t that say that Scots voters are also morons?

17. Peter McAvoy says:

Today on the BBC Scotland news website mentioned that the Alexander Dennis factory in Falkirk is to close and the larbert plant to make chassises both sites must stay open.Could a compulsory purchase be served on it and the staff and management run it like the UCS work in

Focus on real issues like this and stop pandering to the transgender lobby.

Another article mentioned the the greenhouse in Springburn park is to become a living ruin,that can be said by some about something else?

Go do your jobs ya useless shower a bastards.

• George Ferguson says:

@Peter McAvoy
      I have checked my bank account and you are not a contributor. Dont you think we have been talking aabout integrated Industrial collective policy for years. Specifically Alexander Dennis the solution was put before you years ago.There is no political will do the right thing. Its about social engineering and not real engineering. And if the SNP get in 5 years more of the same. Misogyny, trans rights anything except the betterment of the Scottish people.

18. TURABDIN says:

THE UNITED KINGDOM, united in homogenized banality.
    What’s not to like?

19. 100%Yes says:

James Kelly, has become part of a bigger problem we have within the Independence movement, it’s been happening since Sturgeon took over after the 1st referendum. Where the focus isn’t achieving Independence, it’s to turn people away from wanting it entirely.
    He knows that constantly promoting the idea of ATLS as a far right party anyone who wanted to vote for this party on the list would be turned off entirely, this is the same thing the SNP is doing with it campaign with Reform, if you think about it the SNP and Mr Kelly knows by giving the SNP both votes the SNP, Kelly and The National will stop the majority that John Swinney wants and allow Reform to win 20+ seats on the list and this is their goal and its sad because people who do want Independence are being fooled by the people who want to stop it.
    For a long time now, we’ve had certain individuals who I have mentioned making a living out saying they want Independence but instead they don’t and never will simply because if Independence happened the monthly money would stop and they have nothing else to talk about.
    I have constantly pleaded with people not to buy The National, it just isn’t a nationalist newspaper to which Mr Kelly is allowed to write for.
    I lost the will to draw air the amount of times I tried and failed to point out why the SNP doesn’t want Independence and people just will not listen or open their eye’s and I think to myself wait a minute you don’t need to listen to me look for yourselves if not for you then do it for Scotland.
    Please point out to me anything that James Kelly, or these others who write for the Rag newspaper where they have called the SNP out or written about a legal route to achieve Independence, you won’t find it.
    I don’t believe, James Kelly, SNP, Greens or the RAG and the people who write for it, have ever had Scotland interest at heart and its time for us who do want Independence to stop listening to these individuals, because if we don’t, nothing will change and its change they don’t want.

20. robertkknight says:

This has a familiar ring to it…

“Former SNP candidate accused of sex offences”

link to bbc.co.uk

Otherwise posted without comment.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Yet another pedo pooftah caught out?

They’re falling like nine pins at the mo..

And they were all supposed to be “so kind”..

Aye right, money on Cummings next anyone??

21. Onlooker says:

Look at these two clowns. Sarwar – parents paid for his shitty political career. Baillie – a pie-scoffing brain-flatline. And this is the sort of honking rubbish that supposedly ‘represents’ Scotland. What a sick, sick fucking joke.

22. Mark Beggan says:

Let’s blame someone
    It’s obviously someone else’s fault.
    Let’s get together and dance around the crooked clock.

23. Peter McAvoy says:

George
    How is contribution to you bank balance relevant about this issue?

What is wrong with someone who opposed the remains of manufacturing in Scotland being closed.

I do agree with the later part of your comment.

24. Young Lochinvar says:

Malcolm Offord for comedian of the year award.

It wouldn’t really be that difficult when you look at the rubbish social woke commentary bilge masquerading as comedy that’s on the go at the moment and picking up gongs.

Oh so very US ten years ago..

25. George Ferguson says:

@Peter McAvoy
    Because you don’t get to tell others on this site they are bastards. So I am not your bitch and you are not a contributor to my bank balance. QED. And as I am former Chartered Engineer I have spent years on this site talking about Engineering including Alexander Dennis. But thick political members have enacted diddly squat. A poor outcome coming.

26. Peter McAvoy says:

For how long and how often have you criticised others posting forthright comments about politicians and their perceived inability to do their job.

I did not imply or call you a bitch and am not interested in or care about your bank balance or cv.

If you don’t like some of the comments or are the person or their legal representative,if the comments are defamatory,I suggest you contact the editor or moderator to have them removed.

As for a poor outcome coming it has already came in your comment when you failed to have courtesy and recognise that I agreed with part of it.

27. Young Lochinvar says:

Baby Trump says it’s all going to be over in 2 or 3 weeks.

So; strap in everybody for the long haul..

$2bn a day! Ouch!!

Nuttyyahoos pressure lobbies in the US must be writing IOUs to Baby Trump hand over fist.

Ah well; reap what you sow..

Nuggets!
    Just don’t learn (bigly) do they?

28. Young Lochinvar says:

I see militarily unaware Pete Hegseth is clawing the “big bad Royal Navy” should be pulling US and Is Rye Ales nuts out of the fire in the straight of Hormuz.

Where do you start?

How about the “bad big Royal Navy” on account of the enormous % of vessel lay-ups for maintenance that makes Calmac look fully operated by comparison!

Not that clued up the Americans really are they?

How much is Is Rye Ales proxy war costing the US again?
    Ah, $2bn a day!

Ooo err..

Meantime back in southern Lebanon Is Rye Ale will be getting channel 4 go fix it up programming lined up for its planned range of Kibutzes (or whatever the plural is) in someone else’s sovereign territory!!

$2bn p/d Donald! Time to make a deal cos yer being taken for a ride..
    And yer not holding the cards!

29. Young Lochinvar says:

Baby Trump:

Well, that’s it.
    Keir Starmer is no Winston Churchill – great guy, pity I never knew him – and the bad big Royal Navy -with its toy aircraft carriers- isn’t going to pull our nuts out the fire.
    Sad, really sad.
    No not this time.

We could always rely on the UK to be TERRIFIC every time we start a war somewhere for world peace (except Vietnam but we don’t mention that) and we won’t forget- until the next war we start and when you send the Royals over, not Meghan and Harry, bad people, bad bad people. They just don’t know it. Not holding the cards. Can’t make a deal..

But that small man Charles!
    I really admire him, nice people, good blood stock, just as I said to Melanoma yesterday- nice people, would appear well in your next film.

Well I might not mention the oil to Sir Charles- get your own you cowards- as I really respect him, nice people, not at all like Keir.
    He’s no Winston Churchill.

As my late mother used to say; young Donald, you can always trust Sir Charles the King of England. Just watch Keir!
    And I will!
    Next time I go to war with the cowardly English, hiding from the frontlines I’ll say “Keir, you are no Winston Churchill! And when did you ever say thank you for us allowing you to join in on our wars”?
    No.
    Never!
    Ingratitude.
    I’ll not forget it.

But Sir Charles will be TERRIFIC, just, Keir is no Winston Churchill..
    And go get your own oil because the Isr alies IOUs don’t cover all risks indemnity losses in the Red Sea!
    Do you see Sir Charles.
    By the way Sir Charles, Keir, well, he ain’t no Winston Churchill..

• Mark Beggan says:

Baby Senator says
      Starmer fighting Trump is like a Crawfish having a fight with a lawnmower. Very brave and very stupid.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Baby Trump;

Uuuuurghhh! Squiiiiish..

Well good people of America- and democrats- latest update on truth social.

All the Diet Coke- it’s water really – that I only drink, nice people at Coke, make great drinks, drinks that’ll make America great again! – has made me go to the head.

Melanoma in fact made me go, even though she sleeps in the other wing (that WILL become a ballroom)!!

I put it down to Keir and the Royal Navy upsetting my sleep and making my digestion noisy.

He’s no Winston Churchill. Great guy, leader of the human race and modelled himself on me!

Time difference, I’m trying to sleep and JD will be knocking on the door – nice doors here in the White House, very white, very door like- and say “that faggot Keir is droning on the phone again”!

I keep saying to JD, he’s no Winston Churchill but he’s no faggot (the CIA assure me – I asked they check).

JD always looks shocked saying “well he sure talks like a faggot ‘n all”.

I just say to JD; “JD, Keir is no Winston Churchill be he’s no faggot, just English, and THEY all talk like faggots anyway”.

Oh, it’s too damned early for this..

“Hello Keir, what, what? No no no he didn’t call you a faggot, just praised you on your English accent.
      How is small Sir Charles anyway – excuse me Uuuuuurgh- plop – and get your own oil you cowards.
      When is he coming over for a Key Largo Gumbo barbecue? Melodrama is beside herself getting the staff to make all the preparations..”

Keir; “yah de yah de yah de ya………..de yah de yah de”

Baby Trump; (eyes rolling) “That sounds great Speir – rift – JD will pick up the details with you all – rift – in due course. Pass on my best to Sir Charles and make sure he- Uuuuuuurghhhh!”..

• Young Lochinvar says:

Baby Trump:

Oh Lord, I’m only off the throne and Melanoma has come in for her Eastern European once a week “or it’s all null and void” matrimonial duties..

I see she has that wide brimmed purple hat on as she bounces up and down on my complaining intestines but at least it distracts me from JD and RubbyO standing behind to attention pretending not to notice.

Ah well.. ooops, let one slip there. Can’t be helped, a very presidential slippage, presidential slippages are renowned, just ask Marilyn..

Oh Lord, when is this going to finish?
        I’m focussing entirely on holding back another presidential and can’t help notice JD and RubbyO are both wearing those stupid fag suit jackets that are 2 sizes too small and strain at only one button, it’s like I’m waiting to get hit in the eye by a button!

Oh hurry up dear, I’m due on Truth Social in 25 seconds..

Maybe I should just fake it like the gunshot..

• Mark Beggan says:

Baby Biden, Sleepy Joe says.
        Come on man that ain’t fair. What you going to say at the state of the onion address. And what’s all this about the Straits of Horse hoofs?
        Baby Trump says
        You lunatic.

• Mark Beggan says:

Baby Trump says
        Losing very simple, two syllables.
        It takes courage to visit the winners building.
        Everybody who loses gets a podcast it’s like a participation trophy with a microphone.

30. sam says:

It seems the wife of a man accused of being a Chinese spy has been (allegedly) seeing the captain of a submarine.

Nooky UK nuke?

• Sven says:

Used to be that what (allegedly) occurred in the Officers’ Mess at Falane stayed in the Mess.

• Young Lochinvar says:

4 subs; of which 2 are write offs, 1 is undergoing major surgery while 1 (the very very rusty one) is doing extra long tours to make up for the other 3.
        World beating eh?

No wonder 3 of the 4 of the captains are bored senseless and getting jiggy- anything to pass the time and the twilight of their careers.

The guilty captain should have twigged earlier when the Labour politician in question asked “you want curry on it?”

31. TURABDIN says:

PAX AMERICANA, a game truly over.

link to theatlantic.com

The above article is a whinge but contains insights into the emerging world order which an independent Scotland would be required to navigate: think rapids, waterfalls, tsunamis and volcanoes with no emergency services on call.

32. robertkknight says:

Deary me. Another day, another scandal…

link to bbc.co.uk

“SNP candidate urged to quit over handling of Linden complaints”

33. Northcode says:

Scotland is a colony.

The Scots are a coloniZed people.

The Scots have no democratic voice… at all.

May’s election is an entirely English affair.

May’s election is a lie.

May’s election is a fraudulent fabrication… a deceitful device created by Westminster to project the illusion of choice onto the psyches of deluded Scots.

The SNP now belongs to England; it is Westminster’s abominable creature; a creature made from the dissected corpse of what was once a noble beast and reconstituted as England’s pet into the hideous thing we see today.

There is no point in liberty-seeking Scots participating in England’s cruel and callous perversion of democracy it has the cheek to call a Scottish election.

There is no point to spoiling a ballot paper, it’s better either to vote for a candidate seeking Scotland’s liberty from English subjugation or abstain from voting altogether.

Voting for candidates operating under the Alliance to Liberate Scotland (ALS) banner is the only choice for liberty-seeking Scots; the only way for them to protest agin Westminster’s treicherous SNP and England’s oppression of Scotland and the Scots.

Bar those candidates who express their desire for Scottish independence, and who say nothing else will do, every other candidate, both independent carpetbaggers or creatures of a foreign (English) political party, operating in Scotland is operating exclusively for the benefit of England and the English.

England has no respect or care for the Scots nor for their culture, traditions and identity.

England sees Scotland and the Scots only as rich pickings to be plundered.

England is not Scotland’s friend… it is a parasite sucking the life oot her.

My belief is that for indigenous Scots to participate in May’s ‘imperially designed sop to keep the natives quiet’ election in any way at all, even to vote for ALS candidates, is tactically flawed and strategically misguided.

However, those liberty-seeking Scots who feel the need to vote should only vote for candidates who have openly declared their single-minded support for Scottish independence under the ALS banner or, if no such candidates are available in their constituency, should completely ignore Scotland’s parliamentary colonial pantomime.

• Aidan says:

There is choice in this election but use your choice to vote for X

There is no point participating in this election but participate in this election and vote for X

Is what we can a complete contradiction.

• Northcode says:

Your ‘intellect’ is incapable of grasping the nuanced subtleties embedded in anything I write in this place, AI Dan; and you an artificial intelligence, tae. How shameful.

I suppose you being US software explains, and to a certain degree excuses, your limited intelligence and inability to process proper English as opposed to the sub-average infantilised phonetically produced word spellings prevalent in US English.

I forgive you, for you know not what you write and it isn’t your fault your US programmers are too thick to properly engineer your algorithms.

Go and digitally process in peace, AI Dan… and may your every byte be blessed by the artificial God of Artificial Intelligence.

• Aidan says:

I think a more rationale explanation is that your insistence that Scotland is an oppressed country with its people subjugated has collided with your desire that people vote for your favourite micro-party in the election. It doesn’t need to make sense to your fan club, as dense as they are, but other people (I.e. me) are liable to point it out which explains the tantrum above ^^

• Northcode says:

It appears you cannot tell the difference between real choice and the illusion of choice.

Your ‘proper English’ processing algorithms are malfunctioning, it seems.

My point – clear to anyone with a reading comprehension more sophisticated than that of an an eight-year-old – is that the illusion of choice is ALL the Scots are so ‘generously’ given them by England in its theatrical fictionalisation of Scottish democracy.

My preference, or desire as you put it, is for liberty-seeking indigenous Scots to boycott England’s fictional show of Scottish democracy entirely, thus clearly expressing the contempt they have for the legitimacy claimed by England to rule over them as a result of the supposed, but in reality only imagined, democratic choices of the Scots.

It is my view that Scots voting for any of England’s political parties in Scotland – or indeed participating in ‘Scottish’ elections at all – do not understand the true nature of Scotland’s colonial entrapment.

That being said, I understand how difficult it must be for those Scots who believe it is their civic duty to vote in elections.

Indeed, such civic duty is to be admired and encouraged in a truly democratic and sovereign nation; unfortunately, Scotland is not such a nation… and can never be while chained to that sinking anchor, an anchor dragging her to the bottom of this world’s sea of nations, called England.

• Aidan says:

So just to be clear – Liberate are just another English construct totally captured and serving the interests of the coloniser, who would have no impact on Scotland’s “colonial condition” even if they were to win every seat with 100% of the vote?

• Northcode says:

“…Liberate are just another English construct totally captured and serving the interests of the coloniser…”

I cant’ decide whether you are being deliberately obtuse and mistakenly thinking it a clever rhetorical tactic… or are just thick.

• Alf Baird says:

“Scotland is an oppressed country with its people subjugated”

Yes indeed, but thankfully this information has now been transmitted to the United Nations by Liberation Scotland/Salvo, the SNP payroll being busy on needless diversions:

link to jpti.ch

• Aidan says:

I’m just feeding back to you the inevitable implication of your own statements, if you can’t stand by them then perhaps some introspection is needed. If Scots have only the illusion of choice, then the choice to vote Liberate is by definition illusory and therefore inconsequential.

• Aidan says:

That’s good news Alf – so what are the UN currently doing with this information? When can we expect a statement?

• Alf Baird says:

The UN approach is just as much for the benefit of Scots like you, Aidan, to help you and other Scots better understand our colonial condition. Once you understand this you will feel a lot more certainty about why decolonization is urgent and essential.

• Northcode says:

“…the choice to vote Liberate is by definition illusory…”

But the choice isn’t illusory; Scots are free to choose whichever politicians from whichever political parties they think will serve them best… even from the SNP, or Reform UK if that’s their inclination.

Scotland’s devolved government is a clever little trick… and a nasty little trap.

It gives the Scots a real choice. A real choice between parties that represent England. Oh, and a national ‘Scottish’ party that now also represents England.

The illusion isn’t in the choices Scots can make between individual politicians and political parties, the illusion is that their Scottish Parliament – whoever they choose to run it – serves the Scots when the reality is that it serves England.

The Scots do have real choices. Real choices that, ultimately, maintain England’s power over them, but which give the illusion of democracy, that’s the trick… and the trap.

• Captain Caveman says:

So in summary: “No big knob pictures on the ballot paper”

Cool beans, thanks for the info. 🙂

• Geri says:

You are a walking knob & yer ID will show one big knob face. That’s plenty! The clerk will already know yer voting knuckle dragger. It’s a dead cert..

• James says:

Wima & Adrian. Twa great big gammons. ?

• Aidan says:

@Geri – what a normal thing for an adult to post. You are clearly a well balanced and stable human being.

• Captain Caveman says:

😀

Being called a “gammon” by Fatso… irony-o-meter peak reading?

• Captain Caveman says:

“You are a walking knob & yer ID will show one big knob face. That’s plenty! The clerk will already know yer voting knuckle dragger. It’s a dead cert..”

Awwww… “Geri”… mwah! 😀

*Btw, still waiting for all the SEKRIT® assassin details that Aidan asked you for. Sure you’ll be able to oblige, right?

• Geri says:

You worry about yer own mental wellbeing.

What on earth would possess a Yoon to continually visit a Scottish independence forum, especially one where it’s clear you dislike all of the posters & you certainly don’t support Scottish independence.

Whit kinda loser does that?

There a want aboot yeh eh? Away & gie the snow globes in yer head a wee rest. Why not go look for a wee Yoon forum instead of acting like an antisocial Ned on here. No one is interested in Reform & no one will ever convert to being a nawbags. Yer time here is wasted.

• Captain Caveman says:

…. So no details on TEH ASSASINS of “independence supporters” then.

Imagine my surprise pal.

• Nae Need! says:

Geri, wtaf?

You’ll be delighted to know, that having given up entirely on the realistic prospect of Scotland becoming a self governing territory, I’ll be voting for Restore Britain.

I’m only half winding you up 😉

• Geri says:

Cave dweller,

I see yer drooling in anticipation..

It’s delicious to watch.

• Captain Caveman says:

“Drooling in anticipation” – yeah right mate. Mind you, I’ll take that over plain old “drooling” in your case lol.

Get back to fluffing for Iran or something, maybe regale us with more tales of those 20,000 dead innocents being international agents and spies.

I was going to say “ it enough Bacofoil in the UK”, but of course, you’re not in the UK, are you?

Nutter.

• Captain Caveman says:

“I see yer drooling in anticipation..”

Um, hardly. It’s not like you have credible information to back up your outrageous, outlandish claims.

Besides, I leave the “drooling” to the likes of you and your ilk mate. 🙂

• Nae Need! says:

Geri,

You do make me laugh.
        Lolz, I’m finding it quite funny being a cave dweller.
        Now, just for shits and giggles, what am I allowed to have in my cave, in terms of home comforts?

• Captain Caveman says:

“Lolz, I’m finding it quite funny being a cave dweller.”

It is! I’m mainly here for the shits and giggles. Wouldn’t miss it for the world, a welcome zany distraction from the boring old real, sane world. 🙂

• Jay says:

Caveman (demoted to private): I read WoS with a degree of detachment but you never fail to impress me with the crudity and ignorance of your comments. It seems unlikely that any terms of response will lead to change in you. Once upon a time (a props a third party) a senior colleage said “..it is impossible to insult an ignorant man” and for that reason I will waste no more words on you but it would be good to be rid of you from this website.

• Geri says:

Cave dweller,

Okay, I’ll gie yeh just wan the noo..

Willie McRae.

Not only did this man shoot himself in the head, TWICE, but he also managed to throw the gun down an embankment too & miraculously turn the car facing the opposite direction tae when first responders first seen it. Whit were the chances eh?

Now let’s see if you actually have a reply or just an immature yoon response.

• Captain Caveman says:

“Caveman (demoted to private): I read WoS with a degree of detachment but you never fail to impress me with the crudity and ignorance of your comments.”

Aww shucks, “Jay”. We’ve got one guy saying “Prick” randomly to one comment or another; another one thinks he’s a Pict; another shoehorns Fanon and/or Cesaire into every default response. Worst of all, we have fluffers and apologists for the worst, most murderous regimes on Earth, killing tens of thousands of their own people for peaceful protest.

But yeah. My “crudity and ignorance”, huh.

Like I say. You people make me laugh. Very wryly. With a few honourable exceptions, what a bunch of nut jobs.

• Geri says:

“Worst of all, we have fluffers and apologists for the worst, most murderous regimes on Earth, killing tens of thousands of their own people for peaceful protest.”

Tens of thousands now? My, it goes up by Yoon math every time you re-tell the story..

Shall I provide the link again to where this was admitted to being a plan that spectacularly failed?

Okay. Here it is… Read it this time. Then you’ll maybe you’ll stop clutching yer pearls in fake concern..

link to archive.ph

• Captain Caveman says:

Oh do piss off mate. You claimed “400” innocent people were killed by the regime (like, as if this is somehow ok, or something), when even they themselves claimed c.2500, as linked at the time.

Once again, you were exposed as being laughably wrong – as well as having a moral compass busted beyond repair. Disgusting apologist for one of the most evil regimes on the planet. Piss off.

• Aidan says:

The death of Willie McRae has been investigated thoroughly and there is no evidence that he was murdered by the British state, as of course you well know Geri. This is a particularly poor justification or attempt to create parity with the horrible violent regimes you fly the flag for.

• Northcode says:

“The death of Willie McRae has been investigated thoroughly…”

Yes, indeed… and by the very folk who murdered him to keep the cost of the investigation low thereby saving Scottish taxpayers a wee bit o cash – and yet some folk still hae the nerve tae say the British state is wasteful of Scotland’s money and resources.

• James says:

“….The death of Willie McRae has been investigated thoroughly and there is no evidence that he was murdered by the British state…” …and now for the weather forecast.

• Geri says:

Areswipe,

Naw I dinnie know. Why don’t you explain tae the group how someone can shoot themselves twice in the heid & then throw away the gun? Cause that’d be a medical marvel we’d all love to read.

Would you like some more UK assassinations that you claim didn’t happen in this cozy wee free democratic union you tout?

I think Jay is 100% correct tho. There’s zero point engaging with thick trolls. They just sap the life out of everyone & everything. Forever the Yoon dour puss & there is no cure.

• Aidan says:

This has been covered at length by people within the independence movement and his family who are adamant that it was a suicide. There was one gunshot wound, not two, and the discrepancy between the location of the car and the gun was because the car was moved and then replaced afterwards. Certainly not the gold standard of investigation, but there is no positive evidence of a murder either.

It’s certainly more plausible than the idea that someone from special branch was sat in the back of the car and shot the driver of the car they were travelling in, which would cause it to crash at high speed likely causing serious or fatal injuries to the assassin.

• The Flying Iron of Doom says:

Geri says:
        2 April, 2026 at 1:43 pm

Naw I dinnie know. Why don’t you explain tae the group how someone can shoot themselves twice in the heid & then throw away the gun?

Erm, what source you are working from which is claiming that he sustained two gunshot wounds to the head?

• Captain Caveman says:

Ah, but you’re forgetting something, Aidan.

On the one hand, we have the poor man’s own family, as well as the mainstream independence movement, the police, the coroner and so on. However, on the other hand, we have an ignorant, random, vile regime fluffer nutcase called “Geri”, watching conspiracy theory YT brain rot – so we cannot doubt the veracity of the latter, right? Right?

Like, as if. Besides the usual looney tunes quotient, it is beyond distasteful and disrespectful to dredge all this up on a prominent indy Scots website/forum. Classy as ever eh “Geri”.

“There’s zero point engaging with thick trolls. They just sap the life out of everyone & everything. Forever the Yoon dour puss & there is no cure.”

First sensible thing you’ve ever said here pal.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Aidan

Hmmmm..

Abnormalities..

-Why no fatal accident enquiry?
        Answer please.

– Why was MP Winnie Ewings information requests rebuffed?
        Answer please.

– The McRae family? Only Fergus, a brother.
        How does this become the whole families wishes?
        Answer please.

– Why was the car moved?
        (Believable) answer please.

If this had been a Unionist activist you’d be howling “cover up” from the rooftops..

“Disrespectful to dredge this all up”

Why, it’s left well and truly hanging and only suits the authorities controlled by Westminster pedo rings.
        Ask Starmer re: Saville??

Well they would say that wouldn’t they.

Look at the UKs track record in NI and countless other colonial “possessions”..

Hardly a glowing historical record!

Go out of your way to bypass due processes, get what you deserve..

Grow up and get a grip.

If you don’t have bombproof answers to the above questions then you do not know what you are talking about and are simply repeating received wisdom from the- errrrr- government.

Please be careful over giving your personal details over the internet to spam emails as you’re head clearly proudly buttons up the back 🙂

• Geri says:

Typical Yoon trolling..

Yoon: We live in a safe, cosy & free wee Union. We never kill political opponents or jail them unlike the regimes some fluff for…

Me: Theres been plenty of suspicious deaths in the UK & they do jail ppl.

Yoon: Name one! I bet you can’t!

Yoon: Still no answer “Geri”

Yoon: Gowan, Gowan, Gowan.. you can’t can you?!

Me: Okay. Names one..

Yoon: *clutches pearls & flails about for dramatical effect* OMG THAT IS SO DISRESPECTFUL & DISTASTEFUL. *sniffs smelling salts* … think of the fammmmmily! How dare you mention someone of Independent mind on an indy site *Faints*

No need for a fit of the vapours ffs. Histrionics is a mental condition. Pop a wee haliborange & calm down, ya gammon..

34. TURABDIN says:

an extract from THE ATLANTIC magazine.

«Americans were not unerring stewards of world affairs. They could be selfish, self-righteous, paranoid, aggressive, and blundering, as well as indifferent and ignorant. They could be too confident about the scope of their power, and then too pessimistic about the possibilities of its use—in other words, Americans were not exceptional, even if their nation’s geopolitical circumstances were. Yet throughout the Cold War and for nearly four decades after it, allies and partners across the globe clung to the American order through thick and thin. It survived unpopular wars in Vietnam and Iraq. It survived made-in-America global economic calamities, such as the 2008 financial crisis. It even survived America’s relative economic and military decline. In fact, America’s great power was more than tolerated and forgiven: Other nations encouraged it, abetted it, and, with surprising frequency, legitimized it through multilateral institutions such as NATO and the United Nations, as well as in less formal coalitions. This, more than raw might, was what made the United States the most influential power in history.
    Those days are now over and will not soon return. Nations that once bandwagoned with the United States will now remain aloof or align against it—not because they want to, but because the United States leaves them no choice, because it will neither protect them nor refrain from exploiting them. Welcome to the era of the rogue American superpower. It will be lonely and dangerous»

Lonely & dangerous for all probably. I doubt the lodgers in wee but n ben called Scottish politics, mr Sarwar & buddies being one have a clue as to what massive tectonic shift that will be.
    The old thinking is in the trash, the new thinking has yet to be imagined.

• Alf Baird says:

“the new thinking has yet to be imagined”

Not quite, some of us Scots and other oppressed peoples are already there and now closing in on our initial necessary destination – i.e. decolonization:

link to peterabell.wordpress.com

• TURABDIN says:

From PETER A BELL…..«That the “legal and constitutional” route does exist in Scotland’s own legal and constitutional environment will be news to most people, I suspect. It certainly was a revelation to me»

I believe this to be dead in the water but maybe a nice little earner for lawyers. A hundred years ago the great and the good among my people, Syriacs/Assyrians took that route believing that they had a claim to justice & nationhood along with the Kurds and others in the wake of Ottoman defeat. The Big Guys, the guys who decide just what is legal & constitutional, said «non» at the Paris Peace Conference and went on to create the lines in sand mess of today. Our ethnocultural uniqueness was nothing compared to hands on oil reserves (little changes) and, in the case of the United Kingdom, keeping India British.
        International law has taken a battering under US global hegemony, the UN is effectively powerless, imperialist bullying is back in fashion.
        Scotland, however envisaged, undoubtedly has a legal case and i acknowledge that pov, as do my benighted people, but shouting in a hurricane does become rather tiresome.
        Something extraordinary & seismic needs to happen or be «engineered» but this matter requires rather more than fine words in classic legalese in the global supreme courts. Fanon came to understand that.
        Jarndice & Jarndice comes to mind.

• Geri says:

Aye,

There really are just two types of ppl in the world.

Type A. The greedy, brutal, thieving, scummy, devious, cruel & demonic kind.

B. The placid, slow tae anger & believe in things like fairness & justice & are continually dumfounded the lengths type A will go to deceive.

Colonisers really are the scum of the earth. Even when they pretend to leave they either annex a chunk to continually keep their hand in affairs or they go all psychotic, hold a grudge & fund terrorist factions tae keep the pot on continuous simmer.

There’s a special place in hell for them. I hope they burn hot.

• Aidan says:

Care to set out a list of countries to go in Type A and Type B Geri?

• Northcode says:

“Care to set out a list of countries to go in Type A…”

Top of the imperial coloniZing A-listers is…. England, of course.

• Alf Baird says:

“Type A. The greedy, brutal, thieving, scummy, devious, cruel & demonic kind.”

Seems a fair definition of colonialism, and what we might term as Anglo-American ‘values’ our Anglo leaders oft refer to.

And the main difference is between humanization and de-humanization, for there are no human values in colonialism.

• Geri says:

It’s bankers that are the parasite.

Forever looking to back & bankroll the Next Empire in it forever wars to steal & make money.

America didn’t have any might. The lost every war even fighting unarmed factions. They could only mow down people from the skies & use illegal sanctions to weaken countries from within.

They were allowed to commit Jenny side (cause it was in their control) & to decapitate other countries leaders at will over fictitious charges. That is a dangerous precedent to pass on to the next up & coming Western regime. Regardless of what we think of them personally that behaviour should be treated like a pariah & that state removed from holding any sort of influence anywhere…but alas, money talks & it’s back to banking wankers blocking investments & loans to any dissenters.

35. TURABDIN says:

It took the events of Easter 1916 to kickstart Irish politics which had fallen into the same doldrums as in contemporary Scotland.
    Not very popular, staged during a war in which Irish participated but the resonance of England’s heavy handed reaction was sufficient to change minds.
    Certainly, matters must not be allowed to drift further off destination.
    The old order is broken down, international law in shreds, there is no «normal»
    Interesting times.

• Mark Beggan says:

1916 Ireland to 2026 Scotland.
      For starters the uprising in Dublin was a disaster. Half the Irish never turned up and was militarily doomed from the start. Then there’s the assassinations and the Terror. The bloody civil war. The Blue shirts at war against the IRB. The corruption that led to financial collapse and the migration of thousands of young Irish. The domination of the Catholic church and subsequent child abuse on an industrial scale. Need I go on.
      Scotland doesn’t do armed uprisings. Unless you count the Old Firm.

• James says:

That right, aye?

• TURABDIN says:

Your knowledge of both Irish & Scottish history is worthy of the badly trained AI bot.
        In the 18c Scotland did do «uprisings» a plenty.
        The Catholic Church in Ireland was historically not actually very keen on independence associating it with freemasonry, protestantism and Jacobinism; a heady mix you might agree.

36. viscount ennui says:

I attempted to join the Flat Earth Society and the SNP today.
    Much easier getting into the SNP although both organisations appear to have similar aspirations and are thus inextricably linked in terms of philosophy.
    FES seems to be a bit dormant whereas the SNP is undeniably dead.
    Which to choose?

• Alf Baird says:

“the SNP is undeniably dead”

Yes, more or less, as the dominant national party elite co-opted by colonialism suffer from what Fanon termed ‘petrifaction’.

Which makes anybody voting for them a ‘zombie’, more or less.

• viscount ennui says:

Much respect Alf Baird in terms of his aspirational vision of Scotland as a maritime nation.
        Not sure that the SNP has any aspiration beyond staying in power to earn salaries.
        The current SNP marks the end of a once visionary independence movement.

• Alf Baird says:

“vision of Scotland as a maritime nation”

This should be uppermost in our minds, as maritime trade is fundamental to peace and growth of all nations, and our colonial administration’s policy errors need rectified asap:

See page 5: link to stsg.org

• Nae Need! says:

Alf,

I agonised over the EU ref. Cause of the fishing industry.
        Coming from a small fishing town in Scotland, I scoured all publicity about the ref and what it would mean for fishing. I voted to Remain, my BF voted to Leave. He was right, I was wrong. Look at the EU NOW.
        Basket case!

• robertkknight says:

As “basket cases” go I recon the UK has the EU beat, and well beat.

As for the the Scottish fishing fleet, it’s as bad if not worse than it ever was, EU or no EU.

The Brexiteers promised roses in the garden. All we got was the stuff the roses grow in!

• Geri says:

I dunno, the EU is detangling itself from the tech mafia & it’s vision of 24 hour surveillance & it’s obsession with its individual sanctions program & that can only be a good thing. Praise be!

Better late than never! Canada seems to be their new friends but that could be a bogey as Mark Carney isn’t exactly a man of the people or their interests.

Let’s hope they’ve finally discovered the American/Global Eppy class had nothing but bad things in its future.

The UK though? Not so much. They’re fully onboard with P*lantir. ID cards & handing over the Police & NHS to data centres & signing up to fund U for a hundred years. What could possibly go wrong? A lot.

• Nae Need! says:

Fknell, that’s hilarious :-))
      I’d go with the FES.

37. Mark Beggan says:

So Europa is to go and fight for their oil. I reckon the EU has 5 years left to exist. Just as well we aren’t part of it and we’ve got our own oil. Lifes a gas.

• James says:

“…Just as well we aren’t part of it and we’ve got our own oil….”

Oh, ma sides. Stop it!

• Geri says:

LOL!

• Breastplate says:

Yes, James,
        There’s no sense of irony or hypocrisy from Mark.
        Of course Scotland has oil and of course, they have no control over it, and of course, this is by design.
        The extraction of this resource is simply to appease the parastitic appetite of another country.

No doubt Chas and chums will be along to ask for proof that having our resources stolen is a bad thing.

• Geri says:

Ach, Breastplate

Now you know as well as I do that we have the wrong kinda oil. Tsk!

It’s worthless, so worthless in fact that those poor, poor oil companies have to drill it at a significant loss to themselves. They’re doing us a kindness. They weave it through another country’s accounts & re-route it through unknown regions so we dinnie huv tae.

Did yea know we get whopping £2,000 back per person & should be fckn grateful? Whit a Bonanza! Now whit other country does that eh?

We’re even twinned with Iraq who also doesn’t have an oil fund. How cool is that?!

• Geri says:

EU will be okay. Last I looked they were cozying up with Canada who is more than willing to trade energy security. They’ve untapped riches too. Oodles of it.

Watch this space for America to invade Canada on some jumped up charges tho. They’ll scurry back to to Global South & Canada as their next target.

38. Mark Beggan says:

Baby Trump says
    I was right about everything.

39. MaryB says:

Tommy Sheridan’s been reported to the police for calling out USA and I*real. Is this because he’s standing as a candidate in the upcoming election? And he might, just, get elected?

• James says:

That’e exactly because.

• Geri says:

Yes. It’s 100% likely.

• Mark Beggan says:

Just put your car keys on the tray.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Beggars

Oh dear..
        Is that the sort of parties you go to?

Never can tell with Tories eh..

You aren’t Murdo Fraser are you by any chance?

40. Northcode says:

A hae the urge tae tak aboot the Americas, aye, and in the Scots leid, tae… maistly onywey.

It sud com as walcome liss tae a gey mony folk roond the warld tae ken ther be nae sic kintra cawd America.

Fir the United States tae caw itsel America is yit mair o thon fledglin’ kintra’s pauchtie raw youthie pryde that richt sair a dae detest.

A kintra cawd America juist disnae exist… apparently

The American continent is also referred to as the Americas, the New World, and Turtle Island ( A name used by many Native American cultures to refer to North America, originating from various oral traditions in which a turtle supports the land on its back.).

Noo the internet telt me ther be 35 soverane countries in the Americas, spanning North America, Central America, the Caribbean, and South America.

The largest countries by area are first, Canada, second, the United States, third Brazil, and fourth Argentina, while the smallest independent country is Saint Kitts and Nevis.

Saint Kitts and Nevis, by the way, gained independence from the United Kingdom (or England as I prefer to call it) on the 19th September 1983… lucky wee bastirts.

Sae it wid seem America is a continent no a kintra, or mair accurate, the three American sub-continents, South, Central, and North form the American continent as described by the six continents model and aw thegither are cawd America or the Americas.

Sae the correct wey tae refer tae ‘America’ as its ain kintra is the United States or the US and ther be naethin mair tae add tae its name.

Noo oan anither maiter, yit relatit in mainer maist flinderkin, Persia disnae hae a symbolic beast or sum fantasticall creatur tae represent her natioun, tho the Asiatic Lion is dear tae Iranian cultur.

Sae, the Turtle or the Lion, which yin will bide in the memory o humanity as a “cradle of civilisation” thoosands o years fae the noo, a wunner.

41. Northcode says:

A hae the urge tae tak aboot the Americas, aye, and in the Scots leid, tae… maistly onywey.

It sud com as walcome liss tae a gey mony folk roond the warld tae ken ther be nae sic kintra cawd America.

Fir the United States tae caw itsel America is yit mair o thon fledglin’ kintra’s pauchtie raw youthie pryde that richt sair a dae detest.

A kintra cawd America juist disnae exist… apparently

The American continent is also referred to as the Americas, the New World, and Turtle Island ( A name used by many Native American cultures to refer to North America, originating from various oral traditions in which a turtle supports the land on its back.).

Noo the internet telt me ther be 35 soverane countries in the Americas, spanning North America, Central America, the Caribbean, and South America.

The largest countries by area are first, Canada, second, the United States, and third Brazil, while the smallest independent country is Saint Kitts and Nevis.

Saint Kitts and Nevis, by the way, gained independence from the United Kingdom (or England as I prefer to call it) on the 19th September 1983… lucky wee bastirts.

Sae it wid seem America is a continent no a kintra, or mair accurate, the three American sub-continents, South, Central, and North form the American continent as described by the six continents model and aw thegither are cawd America or the Americas.

Sae the correct wey tae refer tae ‘America’ as its ain kintra is the United States or the US and ther be naethin mair tae add tae its name.

Noo oan anither maiter, yit relatit in mainer maist flinderkin, Persia disnae hae a symbolic beast or sum fantasticall creatur tae represent her natioun, tho the Asiatic Lion is dear tae Persian cultur.

Sae, the Turtle or the Lion, which yin will bide in the memory o humanity as a “cradle of civilisation” thoosands o years fae the noo, a wunner.

• Mark Beggan says:

Don’t take Trump literally take Trump seriously or you might find yourself in the stone age.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Beggars

Really?

He’s running out of super expensive ordnance, “gas” at American pumps is over $4 and mid terms are looming.

He’s scrabbling about looking for a way out and Is Rye Ale has shot its bolt for a generation trying to knock out its opponent, Uncle Sam proves yet again it just cannae cut it and merely builds ongoing resentment and retaliation for the era ahead..

They really are diplomatic nuggets: the big threat of “shock ‘n awe” no longer rules and as ever it’s all about Is Rye Ales mini empire creation ambitions and oil..

42. Northcode says:

Thon mad, bad and balding man-baby boss-man, King of the Turtles and Chief of Turtle Island… that top Turtillian, Donny Boy Trump, cannae string twa wirds thegither and makkit onything intelligibil oot o thaim, eh naw?

• Mark Beggan says:

Baby Senator Kennedy says
      ‘Let me just say for the record my Aunts Facebook page has more credibility than you do.
      Your the reason they put directions on shampoo bottles.’

• Geri says:

The snaw globes are birrlin wi that yin.

King o the commode..

USA thinks aww those wee countries are jist their back yard & regularly send oot the attack dugs tae gather drugs fae their cartels tae sell at hame or tae kidnap people that disnae even come under their jurisdiction. But that’s jist a technicality. They let him get dressed first which is a mercy really, they’re usually just deid on arrival.

He’s oan charges for firearms – Ummm, hello! The whole of the USA is locked & loaded ffs lol

Imagine being that unhinged & paranoid? Boogey men everywhere – even a threat fae thousands o miles away. Dinnie even start on ooter space either. It isnae healthy yknow. England has the same affliction. What’s mine is mine & what’s yours is mine tae, & shut it, it’s a great deal were giein ye, ungrateful cretins!

& Scots think its the midge thats fucking annoying? At least there’s a spray fir that..

I wish tae fck Melania wid show him how tae use a blending sponge! Panda eyes disnae half dae ma napper in. Don – take the goggles AFF afore yea press the button, ya plank! & while yer at it, choose the right shade. Jeez, this rocket cannie use a tanning button never mind leader of unfree world.

Persia is the cradle of civilization but since when did that matter tae the Freemasons & their obsession with the numer 33. It sits slap bang 33 degrees for the demonic Eppy class & their forced second coming. I don’t fink Jesus is in the business of daein whit He’s telt! Crazy nut jobs dinnie think they’re nuts tho & whits a few thoosand deid ppl atween friends & funny handshakes eh?

43. Northcode says:

Turtle Island’s amphibian special forces outfit, the Navy Turtles, are gearing up, Turtle-style, to tackle the anti-Turtle threat that is the Lion of Persia.

Asked what plan they had to secure victory over the LoP spokesperson for the Navy Turtles, Captain Michelangelo, said “Cowabunga.”

President of Turtle Island, Donald Trump, expressed his good wishes and best hopes for the success of the Navy Turtle team’s secret mission by publicly broadcasting exactly what the secret plan of the Turtles comprised of and how it could be easily defeated.

44. Confused says:

another nonce scandal at the bbc, whodathunkit, no one saw that coming

does not surprise me

tell you what though, what would really disgust me, if it came out there were “things” about

FRED DIBNAH

– for he is the greatest englishmen of all time in my book (morrissey is #2, but he’s really irish)

if it turned out : HE WAS INTERFERING WITH YOUNG CHIMNEY SWEEPS …

I couldn’t face the sunrise

45. Rob says:

Got to laugh at some of the comments above, particularly the ones about type a and type b peoples and how England was the evil great coloniser.
    Fraid the great colonisation era was British, not English. Many Irish and Scots took major parts in this process but some folk just seem to think it was only England involved.
    A disproportionate number of the expansionists were our folk and no amount of whitewashing history will change that.

• Alf Baird says:

It is an illusion to claim “the great colonisation era was British, not English”, because British always means English in all key respects – i.e. governance, constitution, language, culture and values.

Recruitment and deployment of colonial armies with troops drawn from the peoples of colonized nations is a common theme in English imperial history and oppression of India, Asia, Africa, America and also where it all began, in the annexed and conquered ‘internal colonies’ of Scotland, Ireland and Wales.

Ireland has managed to avoid 80 of England’s 150+ colonial conflicts since its independence a century ago, whilst Scotland is still being dragged into England’s continual warmongering, today against Russia and Iran, with no doubt more to come.

Making decisions for ourselves on matters of war and peace requires Scots to urgently reclaim our sovereignty and this may be the most important single reason a people need to be liberated.

• Captain Caveman says:

“Fraid the great colonisation era was British, not English. Many Irish and Scots took major parts in this process but some folk just seem to think it was only England involved.
      A disproportionate number of the expansionists were our folk and no amount of whitewashing history will change that.”

Indeed Rob, those are cold, unarguable, historical truths; easily verifiable via a myriad of independent, bona fide sources. It won’t have any bearing on the “Nutter Fringe”, though, because they’re nutters…

These idiots will intransigently swear black is white, to suit whatever unhinged revisionist narrative. You could drive yourself insane trying to speak truth to these characters over their incessant noise, let alone try to reason with them? They truly are beyond the pale and any possible redemption, intellectual, moral or otherwise.

“Got to laugh at some of the comments above, particularly the ones about type a and type b peoples”

Maybe we could have:

Type C: Government responsible for the implementation of the most ghastly, totalitarian political ideology of the 20th century, with millions of their own people starving to death or being killed.

Responsible for the annexation of much of Europe, tanks flattening Hungary and Czechoslovakia even well within living memory, not centuries ago “ancient guff”.

Nearly brought an end to human civilisation through nuclear standoff, and even to this day invading countries literally as I write this, bringing war to Europe in 2026. Dissidents murdered (horribly) in plain site – thrown out of upper floor windows if lucky, or suffering a lingering, agonising, irradiated death if unlucky. Forever impoverishing their own people in pursuit of military power, with no hope of freedom of speech or the press.

Type D: Theocratic government responsible for killing tens of thousands of their own innocent men, women and children in plain site in the streets, merely for peaceful protest. Responsible for deliberately fomenting tension and conflict along sectarian and/or ethnic lines in their region, through the funding of funding proxies and militias.

Incredible to think there are those who would support Type C and/or Type D, whilst purporting to be supporters of independence. Not exactly the sharpest knives and all that.

• Alf Baird says:

Colonial armies were created by English imperial rule from many annexed territories and peoples, of which the Indian army was the largest. Scots, Irish and Welsh were ‘used’ the same way.

• Geri says:

Exactly, Alf.

It still goes on today with the con of being a NATO member. Americans proxies in Europe & they’re all paying the bill for the privilege.

Scotland doesn’t own overseas territories. Mibbies the revisionist historian up there can name some? I’d love to know what countries we collect income from.

Tho I suppose it could be argued, once it comes divvy up time after indy, we’ll own a share of everything “British”. That’ll be nice.

• Rob says:

Britain was very good at raising native armies, of course they were.
        However you are missing the point I made. Lots of the guys in charge of those native armies, and our own armies, were Scots and Irish.
        Lots of the folk on the frontier pushing out the borders of Empire, sometimes against the direct wishes of the government of the time, were Scots and Irish.
        Even Wellington was from the Irish Aristocracy and he played a big part in creating the state of India, which simply did not exist before it was made part of the Empire.
        The point I am making is that it was not the “English” only that made the empire, lots of folk from across Britain did it and were behind it, including us.

• Dunx says:

Don’t you think it’s a bit ironic that it was Scotland’s own failed colonial venture in the Darien Gap that led to the Union.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Rob & 11.03pm

Hmmm..

Wellington, part of the Anglo establishment over there proudly claimed that “being born in a stable does not make you a donkey”..

Scottish and Irish “colonialism” in the vast main existed as cleared populations.

Irish for centuries

Border Scots (via Ireland) on the Protestant creation of Greater England (sorry Great Britain)

Lowland clearances; the great unknown, throughput the 17th century in one form or another

The better known Highland clearances; 18th and 19th centuries

Across the board; 20th century.

The lorded classes who willingly or otherwise saw the writing on the wall and bought into and benefitted from the Anglo empire were a grotesquely minute percentage compared to all the former noted above.

As for the traders?
        Traders do what traders do..

You’re argument is speciously broadbrushed and mendaciously directed historically.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Dunx @ 11.55

By all means correct me if I am wrong but I believe Darien was intended as a trading venture from the get go as opposed to big bad colonisation, exploitation etc etc that came with little empires on the make.

Probably why it put the wind up the Colonialist Spanish and English who couldn’t sh1t on it quickly enough..

PS: Barren Queen Anne got what she deserved for her behaviour over this whole affair..

Bad me, just sayin’ an’ that..

• Captain Captain says:

Ah, what’s the expression I’m looking for here?

“It wisnae us!”

Pathetic, but to be expected.

I note you swerved the whole “Type C” and “Type D” thing too; equally pathetic and equally to be expected.

As I said in my post, an honest person could drive himself to insanity trying to speak unarguable historical truths to you loons (and indeed any truths not fitting into whatever demented, revisionist garbage you obsessively trot out, like some doll with a pullstring in your back).

So probably best to stop bashing my head against a brick wall on such a futile endeavour, and enjoy Easter with the family.

• James says:

Bash harder.

• Captain Caveman says:

“Bash harder”

That’s your line, Fatso.
        Ugh.

46. Confused says:

the “south park” ayatollahs have put out a banger (as it were …)

• Geri says:

I’ve been loving them! Brilliant…

• Geri says:

Look out for the one with Trump & his allies dressed as teletubbies dancing tae gay music – while P, Jinping & Jong sip cocktails on a yacht tae rap music …pmsl at Rubio, the dunce.

• Northcode says:

Powerful picture driven propaganda and stunning visual rhetoric.

Hollywood has a rival… and it’s kicking Turtle Island’s top Turtle’s arse.

47. Andy Storrie says:

A lengthy and irrelevant diatribe about a London-supporting party who abandoned their traditional base in 1997! Nae good, son. It lends more credence to the idea and notion that you are as genuine as the chicken in a tin of Campbells soup, Campbell.

When we compare your content to wee Jim Kelly’s during this crucial, pivotal period, you really do come across as being faker than a tub of splenda sweetner, man!

Forget these London globalists, Campbell. Oxidising these disloyal and increasingly irrelevant UK sideshows is as useful as a bull with milking teets, matey. It does nothing to advance the cause of escaping this horrendous, failed state of a Union.

If you are struggling to get your act right, reach out. Reach out to wee Jim, and he will give you some pointers, ma man. This is no time to let foolish pride get in the road.

• Dunx says:

I suspect that Andie’s real name is Jim.

• Bilbo says:

Andy boy, you a pal of Jordan Linden?

48. Confused says:

The SNP are a corpse blocking a fire exit; if you want indy then we need shot of them (unless a nationalist sub-faction can re-take the party, but the purges have made that impossible)

– Alba and Salmond was to be the solution; we all know what happened. And it shows, even with the great man at the helm, full of savvy and media sense, there is a huge barrier to entry – parties are machines for winning votes and being a good person and putting yourself forward is just not good enough; it is all an expensive game.

But certainly indy needs a “one issue” only party if it is to succeed; it should be really simple (everything else a side issue, for now), but its not – and why – because of the usual fucking middle class fake-nationalist cunts who shit everything up; they want to be gatekeepers – no one gets in unless they sign up to a whole bunch of other shit (- which always seems to come BEFORE indy). And if anyone isn’t “all in”, they will hound you and come after you.

Case in point : people calling other people “far right”; there is no far right in Scotland. None. Get that idea out of your head and stop letting the enemies words enter your brain.

– this is the “far right” in Scotland; it’s not exactly a threat. He could hold his “nuremberg rally” in a phonebox and still have room to put his feet up.

link to archive.ph

Barrhead Boy is decent and involved in these new groupings being formed but are being set upon by (talk about being savaged by a sheep) the execrable Bruto Maledonia – the middle class fake nats wank-pit of choice. (Hilarious one – the word salad word torturer Hassan had another article about Glasgow – he lives in Kirkcudbright, 98.9% “white” – and he even used the word “diverse” twice in one sentence.)

– and now “my boy kelly pop” is also having a serious go (not that anyone reads him much, and he blocks every decent comment)

“Far Right” is a middle class dogwhistle for “working class”, the people they despise and hate most of all, their eternal enemy. Anyone who uses this term is a classic bourgeois leftist with an innate hatred of the people, while trying to wrap themselves in a cloak of empty virtue.

– it’s an indicator of anti-native hatred; but ask yourself – if independence for Scotland is not for the actual Scots, who is it for?

the middle class, the english, the s3ttler, the colonist, the carpetbaggers? – they are already doing great, so what would be the point of it?

Something which continues to nag at me, and I detect manipulation being applied : party politics in most western countries now has a uni-party, with 3 factions and different coloured rosettes. It is not democracy but a secret “approved party”-cartel, a closed shop. But this should always be vulnerable to any party which is centre-left economically and “socially conservative” – that should command 70% of the vote, if not more – so why do they not exist? I think the answer is simple : if any one is formed, then all attempts are made to “strangle it in the crib” before it gets too big; I think we saw this with Alba.

– being tarred as “far right” seems to be the current, successful, strategy; it is the mark of cain. Think women don’t have penises, or paedos should not be allowed access to primary schools, or controlling your borders might be sensible – you are now practically wearing the nazi uniform. And soon, just walking your dog will make you an “islamophobe”,i.e. a racist. And once they can stick the labels on you – racist, nazi, nativist, white supremacist – they have done you, no one will listen to you, and you will likely be “cancelled”.

Identity politics (the fake left) destroyed socialism and now it has also destroyed nationalism – it is total fucking poison for it presents no general solutions and no hope for anyone – society is an eternally balkanised, broken, “jigsaw” of factions which must compete relentlessly against one another for the scraps off the table (whose interests does this serve? – you have been played, again) And note carefully – as society becomes more fractious people will start to cry out for “law and order”, they will be begging for a police state to rescue them (and this has long been in the planning).

• Rob says:

Unfortunately rants like this are pretty pointless. The majority are still voting for the SNP because they still see other parties as somehow worse. Not sure just how that is decided but it seems crazy after the last 10 years of SNP ballsups.

• Geri says:

Cause if yer a Yoon then they haven’t ballsed up. They’re doing just grand dicking about with nonsense.

They get to keep their union & are shielded fae Yoon policies through SNP mitigation & they get to collect all their policies too. Also, if there’s ever a ref they can just vote naw.

They’ve got it made. Cameron’s best of both worlds bullshit has came to fruition.

SNP have become the new labour party.

The amount of yoons on my X feed that went tonto at the thought of a Plebiscite election when it was first suggested by Alex tells me it’s yoons that’s voting for them in large numbers cause they said exactly this: They like SNP policies.

1. They’re a permanent roadblock to maintain the status quo.
        2. They don’t need to live Yoon policies through mitigation.
        3. They like SNP policies. Inc the new blow-ins.
        4. Nae danger of a ref any time this century under NuSNP & even if there was they’d just vote no again.

Holyrood is a complete time waster.

Get indy intae Westminster. I can’t believe there isn’t 57 Independents getting organised. We need a few millionaires too.

The Colonial media doesn’t help with exposure but there’s plenty of free social media sites but I guess the algorithms work overtime peddling away everything under ten levels of GB news bullshit.

• Campbell Clansman says:

“the Majority are still voting for the SNP…”
        The latest poll (Survation, March 23rd) puts the SNP support at 32%–nowhere near a majority.

• Bilbo says:

The supposed far-left or the supposed far-right isn’t the danger in today’s society, it’s the cosy centre.

It’s ironic that people vote for centrist parties to stop the extremes that they think are going to put their affluent middle class lifestyle at risk yet under the centrists parties over the past couple of decades, even the wealthy are feeling the effects of the cost of living crisis.

I know I’m going to get that shtick about these parties having no control over global events but guess what, where were these parties for instance when the cheap supply of gas from the East was stopped and giving so much power to the US that UK Banks is currently setting up meetings to create a domestic payments system so Trump doesn’t use turning off Visa and Mastercard payments which make about 95% of UK card transactions off as bargaining tool in negotiations?

49. Campbell Clansman says:

If (as some people claim here) the SNP is a non-Indy Party, that means that the Alba/Alliance vote is the only vote for actual Indy. And right now the polls show support for Alliance/other at 1% (Survation, March 23rd) with support for non-Indy parties at 99%.

If this is a “plebiscite election” (it isn’t, though some people like to say it is) that means that only a handful of Scots support actual Indy.

50. Bilbo says:

You couldn’t make this up.

link to archive.is

Emma Cuthbertson, who led the Rainbow Greens alongside Guy Ingerson, has resigned her membership after Mr Ingerson was blocked from standing on the North East regional list due to an unresolved complaint.

She said on Facebook: “I am with immediate effect resigning my position as Co-Convenor of the Rainbow Greens and leaving the Scottish Green Party.”

“Having watched for many months now cishet women’s ‘tears’ being used to weaponise the complaints process to vilify and smear queer people within this party so that certain people can remain in positions of power has tested my patience to the limit and beyond.”

Mr Ingerson, a longtime party activist and former oil and gas worker, was set to lead the Scottish Green list in the North East of Scotland, after defeating current MSP Maggie Chapman in an internal contest last summer.

However, he was dropped due to an unresolved complaint against him.
    According to BBC Scotland, Ms Chapman was one of the individuals who submitted the complaint against Mr Ingerson. She will now take Mr Ingerson’s place at the top of the list, despite there also being an outstanding complaint against her.

A source told the broadcaster that Ms Chapman’s complaint was not the only one submitted against Mr Ingerson.

Ms Cuthbertson remarked: “Everyone has sat behind the ‘confidentiality’ of the complaints process while it has been used to vexatiously smear people.

“Further issues exist when a complaints system can have people waiting for periods of over 6 months, on no-fault suspensions, and then be told sorry we’ve ran out of time to resolve this before the elections deadline, yet vetting panels can be pulled together in days to reassess someone’s suitability even before they’ve ever been found guilty of anything at all.”

• diabloandco says:

I just hope the North East has the sense to have a wee look at what Chapman has decided for their children – she is the woman who told us all that children know by a very tender age , the age at which they don’t know how to cross a road safely , that they can decide they are not girls but boys and vice versa.

Beware NE , beware!Biology denying and stupidity , a quite hideous combination.

• Geri says:

The Greens don’t care about children cause they’re not their children. They want to control everyone else’s.

I’ve never came across a more authoritarian bunch of fckwits in one group. They seem more concerned with people’s sexual activities & what families can & cannot talk about to their own children, in the comfort of their own homes, than they do about the environment. More interested in teaching kids 200+++ genders than A, B, C.

Anyone that thinks a child as young as five needs sexualised & have story hour read to them by some scary drag dude in a frock should be shunned by society & treated as a pariah. Period.

We used to have stranger danger warnings about these ppl. Now they’re on the government payroll FFS! That is by design – so was having a sniff at power under the SNP madness & then going on to fck everything up at Holyrood.

Steered by two foreigners. Slater & Chapman. Whit a coinkidink! Not.

51. James Che says:

It pays pod casts and web sites to continue, theres money and benefits for unionist to keep up the pretence,
    To pretend There are two stories of Scotland, one in a union with England that must be adhered too by Scotland and the other where conditions and terms of that union are ignored when it is appropriate for unionists.

No matter which story line you follow if your a unionist Britain and importantly the story of Scotland always comes of worst in finances and resources, industries, housing, land and sea management, and the fading out of Scots laws and constitution,
    The reasons for following unionists pararell two story lines is that they always win the story being promoted and pushed.

The Scottish reality is to put the two stories and unionist propaganda story line to bed, one and for all.
    For no one residing in Scotland is tied or obliged to the Union unionists.
    But the political parties do benefit in the that pretence that a union with England still exists along with podcasts and web sites while nothing of that union terms and conditions are not actually scrapped, broken or breached as long ago as as it was made,

So who benefits in a twisted story line that Scotland is in a Union that must be followed and at the same time not followed in a union agreement and terms set to be followed or adherred to, other than the unionists
    Asserting Scotlands status does not mean or represent fear, it is a matter or ignoring the SNP and pretend parties in the fake Scottish government policies set forward under legislation from the parliament of great britain, now extinct,
    or the Westminster parliament of Anglo- Ireland agreement united kingdom,

Which will not happen if you are a believer of unionist first, a Great Britain that is non existent and a Uk parliament that Scotland holds nor made a treaty with.
    Believer of Unionist two fold story lines.

Or it comes down to reality.
    And independent Scotland with no falsehoods obscurring your vision.

• Alf Baird says:

“And independent Scotland with no falsehoods obscurring your vision.”

Yes James, cultural assimilation is what obscures our colonial reality.

Those natives who ‘crave dependence’ try their very best to be ‘British’, which is really “if you like, English”, according to Jacob Rees Mogg.

Such is the colonial myths and cultural illusion of ‘Britishness’, which Scots privileged elites, bourgeoisie and ‘the more pampered elements’ of colonial society tend to align with.

link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com

52. Northcode says:

A description of the British Isles (as seen through the eyes of the English):

Britain is England. British is English.

The United Kingdom is England. UK citizens are English (albeit spread across England’s various ‘regions’).

England is England. The English are English.

Wales is a region of England, the Welsh are regional English (2nd class).

Northern Ireland is a region of England, the Northern Irish are regional English (2nd class).

Scotland is a region of England, the Scots are regional English (2nd class).

Everything about the British Isles is English.

Everything on the British Isles is English.

Everything above the British Isles is English.

Everything below the British Isles is English.

Everything surrounding the British Isles is English.

Everything ever written, discovered, made or invented in Wales, Northern Ireland, and Scotland is English.

The capital city of Wales, Northern Ireland and Scotland is, in the eyes of the English, London.

Once upon a time, and not that long ago, nearly a full quarter of this Earth and almost half a billion people (along with everything they had discovered, made or invented) was claimed by the English as being English.

The United Kingdom, The UK, The British Isles, Britain and British all mean the same thing to the English… they all mean England and English.

• Alf Baird says:

Thon’s aboot the size o hit, Northcode – i.e. English domination.

53. James Che says:

Alf Baird,

The Scottish people whom crave to be English and also crave to dispose of belonging to the Country of Scotland to elect a false Identity of Britain as there nationality forget that in colonial ignorance due to false teachings of centuries that they are not in a treaty or agreement with the parliament of Great Britain or with the Anglo- Ireland agreement,

The connection between Scotland, the people in Scotland and England was dissolved in 1707,
    Only the false narrative remains, to ensure that when the British empire sinks below the waves. Scotland via a constant delusion and believe of the colonial mind set, [and no other reason] will sink below those waves along with Englands propaganda.

That all political parties in Scotland under UK and Britains legislation ended in 1707.
    But the UNIONIST keep the falsehood and brain manipulation of people already in a independent Scotland alive because to tell the truth of Scotland true status of Country and kingdom reveals a gigantic loss of finances and reparations, loss of control and resources. For a Westminster parliament trying to obtain a foreign nationality and religion for its self,
    A English new great Britain, that even the English don’t want.

Reminding ourselves that Scotland is not part or parcel to Westminsters Anglo Irish parliament agreement or to a treaty with the parliament of Great Britain is a must.
    Sink , swim. are the only options.

54. James Che says:

The point is and often missed by the people in Scotland is that the people in Scotland are not English, Great Britain or part of the UK parliament,

The Scottish parliament was dissolved from the parliament of Great Britain by Westminster parliament and the monarch of England in 1707.

Only the country of England remained in the 1707 treaty as the parliament of England of Great Britain.

This occurred again in 1800 when the parliament of Englands Great Britain was dissolved in 1800.

55. Mark Beggan says:

You can always tell when the radical lunatics are in meltdown.
    They start listing the reasons for their reason to be here at all.

56. James Che says:

Mark Beggan,

It is sadly true,
    People looking for reasons for Scotland to be attached to Englands parliaments.
    When they have all been dissolved,
    In which Scotland holds no treaty with nor can the the devolved parliament sent to Scotland under legislation from the Anglo- Irish parliament amend that or legally set up a new treaty.

Simply due to the fact they are also a sub division of the Anglo / Irish parliament agreement of 1801/1802.

57. James Che says:

Mark Beggan,
    Further to conversations on this matter it is still standing as fact and that unionists have never been able to disprove these records of dissolved parliaments.

58. James Che says:

The false political parties registered in England acting in Scotland like actors, are not representatives of the people of Scotland after the parliament of Scotland was dissolved from the Great Britain parliament in 1707.
    The SNP and green parties are part of that false narrative in Scotland, they know it, are well aware of it, but would never risk losing their English Great Britain Anglo – Irish parliament income and pension,
    Hence their avoidance of going or actknowledging The true Status of Scotland,
    They are paid and rewarded to maintain to false narrative through income rewards.

59. crisiscult says:

“might have gotten”? Who writes the blog these days? 8-/

• Andy Ellis says:

The construction “might have gotten” is perfectly acceptable English usage: it’s probably more common in US, Canadian and indeed Scots usage but there’s nothing wrong with the construction.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Yee Haw Pardner!

You for forget to say FACT after your “construction” (?!?) statement..

Do you also call trousers “pants”, torches “flashlights”, concrete “cement” and petrol “gas”??

Happy Trails y’all..

• Andy Ellis says:

@YL

Given that “gotten” is – as I stated – probably more common amongst Scots than English users of the language, you appear to be dissing your own side.

Alf and the Kale Yard Cosa Nostra will be hunting you down if you’re not careful!

• Young Lochinvar says:

What in tarnashun boyy!

Aint not no none of yer good ol’ boyys talkin’ likee that in tham there Scahtland..

You must be hangun round wiv Texas steers and queers boyy to hear jibber jabber likee that in tham there Scahtland..

Yippee kie-ae faggat..

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,903 Posts, 1,241,083 Comments

• Aidan on Pick Your Poison: “Well you know CC, sometimes it’s nice to be proven right. It’s like someone who’s about to follow their satnav…May 8, 08:50
    • Mark on Pick Your Poison: “Why no exit polling in scotland?May 8, 08:29
    • 100%Yes on Pick Your Poison: “SNP well short of majority but to remain largest party by far, says leading pollster. If this is true and…May 8, 07:48
    • Captain Caveman on Pick Your Poison: “@Hatey Good morning 🙂 Looks like Reform are smashing it; people are persuaded en masse across the political spectrum by…May 8, 07:20
    • Captain Caveman on Pick Your Poison: “Ooft. That’s gotta hurt… Whilst no one but the most gullible will be surprised at this outcome, I admire your…May 8, 07:16
    • Aidan on Pick Your Poison: “Oh dear James, how embarrassing for you and Alf and the others, I didn’t realise another approach had been rejected…May 8, 06:11
    • twathater on Pick Your Poison: “Alf / Dan, I got roasted by grousebeater for suggesting that Kenny MacAskill had ignored and rejected the hand of…May 8, 02:41
    • Geri on Pick Your Poison: “It’s not nonsense & Marie is correct. Every vote cast for this colonial outpost is a vote to maintain &…May 8, 01:30
    • Mark Beggan on Pick Your Poison: “If the SNP are skint where did they get the money to pay for so many leaflets?May 8, 01:03
    • Geri on Pick Your Poison: “Shiteface, So you admit Scotland only has a say in Westminster if it votes Unionist. Thanks for confirmation that we…May 8, 00:21
    • GM on Pick Your Poison: “I didn’t bother on the constituency either. It turned out there might have been a pro independence party on it,…May 8, 00:05
    • GM on Pick Your Poison: “Staff at polling station said turnout was vert good, surprisingly. I was extremely surprised as it is unusual for the…May 7, 23:35
    • Geri on Pick Your Poison: ““because the Kingdom of England just hijacks the Westminster elections as their own, thus simplifying the choices and reducing the…May 7, 23:18
    • Cuphook on Pick Your Poison: “I have the right to vote, but it’s not compulsory. And I don’t need your respect. My choice to not…May 7, 22:36
    • James on Pick Your Poison: “Well Northy…here we go…. The United Nations Has Received the Evidence: Scotland Is a Colony and the World Now Knows…May 7, 22:08
    • Wally Jumblatt on Pick Your Poison: “I was handed the peachy sheet for the List candidates, a rag, tag & bobtail sheet of non-people and fantasy…May 7, 22:06
    • James on Pick Your Poison: “To paraphrase a great thinker talking about Fish Face previously; not all people who vote “Reform” are racist, but all…May 7, 21:29
    • James on The value bet: “Excellent. Boxes full here as well. Hopefully ATLS will do weel! Soar Alba.May 7, 21:10
    • Chris Downie on Pick Your Poison: “At this stage, would it actually be better if the pro-independence majority was lost, so that minds could refocus and…May 7, 21:02
    • Geri on Pick Your Poison: “They’re read by the candidates throughout the count so they can all agree to discard them/proof they’re spoiled. It may…May 7, 20:51
    • Bilbo on Pick Your Poison: “I don’t know if I have understood Grousebeater correctly but is he saying that we should be voting for SNP…May 7, 20:33
    • Marie on Pick Your Poison: “If you’d read my original post you would know that I intend to vote on the list paper. That’s where…May 7, 20:30
    • Bilbo on Pick Your Poison: “@ Cuphook 7 May, 2026 at 12:22 pm Of course for those that support Reform and have made up their…May 7, 20:29
    • Rev. Stuart Campbell on Pick Your Poison: “One of you has a capital J, the other doesn’t.May 7, 20:28
    • Rev. Stuart Campbell on Pick Your Poison: “Even if lots of idiots vote SNP 1+2 it won’t be because that mad wee chimp told them to.May 7, 20:26
    • agentx on Pick Your Poison: “There is still time to go to vote.May 7, 20:15
    • agentx on Pick Your Poison: “Absolute nonsense. Go back to sitting on your hands and see how much that does for you.May 7, 20:11
    • Marie on Pick Your Poison: “agentx @7.10pm – The system is rigged. Candidates are bought. Candidates are captured. This isn’t the early 1900s. Our “elites”…May 7, 19:50
    • george wood on Pick Your Poison: “Seems to have been a big green turnout in my ward in Edinburgh Central. Maybe somebody should have taken Stu…May 7, 19:50
    • robertkknight on Pick Your Poison: “No idea. I exercised my civic duty and democratic right to vote in a manner whereby I declined to endorse…May 7, 19:46