2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 17 01 17 14:30

Cilla Black Grave | News Pilot | Post

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Tinto Chiel

That was a great story, Marie. I actually find a bass line often hits the spot as much as a big guitar riff. I regret not learning some kind of guitar but Music was strictly non-practical when I was at school and all I can remember was singing dirty words to sea shanties.

Nana: waresmascones?

2. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Message received and I think understood. Unnatural beauty, absolutely!
    Ah sweet child of mine, my oldest has a Les Paul so this is played regularly. My own favourite is November rain. Sadly for me the softer tunes don’t get played so much, Metallica at full blast with effects pedals is their thing. Gings no wonder I’m going deaf.

@Marie Clark
    Aye Marie, we will be leaving sometime tomorrow. I will post links in the morning. May I wish you and your family a good and healthy 2017.

3. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Did I hear you calling [told you I was going deaf]
    Sorry Tinto scones have all disappeared, honestly they don’t last a minute round here.

4. Tinto Chiel

Great news, Nana: let the Relief of Auld Cadzow begin!

Wherever you’re off to, have a safe journey and looking forward to your links in 2017.

For just now, relax and take plenty of water with it, as you often tell me!

5. Tinto Chiel

Crossed comments, Nana.

Wot? Nae scones?

Whitahmagointaedae?

It’s a hard life, right enough.

*shambles off mumbling*

6. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Read on another thread that you are a product of a Barlanark. My mother and father both came from there and when they got married and I was born we moved to Easterhouse.

I spent much time at my Grannies and Uncles houses in Barlanark, Pendeen Crescent was where the Granny lived but can’t remember my Uncles street but it was just up the road from the train station.

Funny that you moved from Govan because I moved to Govan LOL.

It’s a small world.

7. Smallaxe

Thepnr: Memories, some of the film is not great on 2nd/3rd

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_w62XjOXzV8 Barlanark

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x6lAGLi89PI Pendeen Crescent

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBC2M8eOOaE Burnmouth Road: my road

Peace Always

8. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Thanks for that but they are now nothing like the places I remember. If you don’t mind me asking when were you living in Barlanark?

9. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

I dont mind you asking at all, I moved to Barlanark about 1954ish and left home at age 15 1966ish. My parents were still there for a few years before moving to their own house in Mt Vernon. I sort of drifted back and forward between wherever I was at the time and Barlanark.

I was a wanderer between England and Scotland for a good part of my life before I finally settled down. I said on here quite a while ago that when I tell people where I’ve been, sometimes it sounds as if I am in two places at the same time but that is because of my habit of travelling on the “milk trains” or getting a ยฃ5 ticket from Buchanan st to London and back again.Being a Hippy was a hard life. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

10. K1

Tis time for tongue twisters, purely for fun:

I’m not the pheasant plucker I’m the pheasant plucker’s son, I’m only plucking pheasants till the pheasant plucker comes.

11. K1

And advert’s ye recall from childhood:

Chef’s square shaped soups show how a good soup should be.

12. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

I was just a wean then in the 60’s, remember being at my Uncle Franks house one New Year drinking “cordial” that my granny made. New Year was a big deal back then and families gathered in whoever’s house was having the party. The Beatles or Cilla Black would be on the record player or we made our own music and songs.

Uncle Frank was no bad on the spoons back then. Not as good as this guy though ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=POvLaziUsTo

13. Smallaxe

Thepnr: Some more old memories

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ManXMQJpxUw old Glasgow

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8hXCDAuBsms Govan..Old and New

I remember this City when it used to have Pride
    When ships that were Great Ships were built on the Clyde
    (part of a poem I wrote long ago)

Peace Always my Friend

14. Masslass

This is probably old news to many.

I just read it myself this week in the Irish Times.

Westminster has given their approval for N.Ireland to lower its’ Corporation tax to 12 1/2% to go into effect 2018.

To be on par with the Republic of Ireland.

15. Thepnr

@Masslass

Nope, not to me at least I never knew that. Westminster are losing control and thrashing about wildly trying to keep a grip.

This is just another sign that they are losing their grip. Who would ever have thought that it would have been an English and Welsh vote on Brexit that finally done for the Union?

16. Dave McEwan Hill

A guid New Year to all of us and 2017 looks interesting. Just getting geared up fro my radio programmes tonight/ Not much talk on my Roundabout at 7pm but an amazing piece by Mike Ogletree and my Roc’n’Roll show as at 8pm

tunein.com/radio/Argyll-Independent-Radio-s198410/

17. Tinto Chiel

Since it’s well and truly the silly season (e.g. Iain Gray trying to count), I thought I’d go the whole Coburn:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zrii_MILuvE

18. Tinto Chiel

And this ‘cos it brings back a lot of happy memories. Almost fifty years? Seriously?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGEgRnvFzLY

19. Masslass

Thepnr,

I like that scenario…… Westminster losing it’s grip ! It seems that way, but they are masters of the black arts, I am always very wary of them. they have been at it for 1000 years. they scare me but truth will out !!

20. Stoker

Masslass

Just wanted to say hi, never seen your username before. Have you ever heard of a Will Podmore or am i barking up the wrong tree?

21. Gary45%

Just noticed Norovirus is at a 5year high in England-shire,
    Shortbread/Yoons will demand an answer from the SNP.

22. Masslass

Hi Stoker,
    No i don’t know of Will Podmore. I googled him and am none the wiser what he is about. Mabey you can tell me why you mentioned his name to me.

I have been a reader of Wings for years. i don’t post much,but sometimes you just have to.

Especially about this Corporation Tax deal for N.Ireland. What is that all about I want to know

23. Brian Doonthetoon

Just had “Still Game” on.

In the very last scene before the credits (in the 70s), Isa is sitting on the settee wrapped in a duvet. I still have the blue version of that duvet cover folded up in my bedroom cupboard.

My daily hair-drier is a Moulinex from the 70s. Put on a new, much longer, mains cable years ago. Other than that, still original and working fine.

Bit of a shock to see an identical model in the museum when the McManus reopened…

24. Dave McEwan Hill

Here it is. Mike Ogletree and reggae Robert Burns

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-W1K15zyKfc

25. Thepnr

@Chic McGregor

That was certainly different. Wouldn’t have expected less though from you good self and I was soon tapping my feet and shaking my booty!

Cheers.

26. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

The wee coak Sparra was absolutely brilliant. Had heard it before but forgot. Smiled all the way watching it again. Ta.

27. Shinty

Just had to share this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ax021N4iaFU
    Let’s help get her hits up.

28. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

It reminds me of New Year during my childhood.Glad you enjoyed it.

Peace Always my Friend

29. Smallaxe

Shinty:

A beautiful version of one of my favourite Burns songs.Thank you.

Peace Always

30. Michael McCabe

The War. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hMFHcqJmnq4 If you click on show more and scroll down you will find the Lyrics.

31. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Good to see you back on Michael
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZZJdQ5Nf7yA

Just in case I dont hear from you before it

Peace Love and Happiness in the coming year, to You and to Those You Love my Friend

32. Tinto Chiel

Hey, Smallaxe, thanks for the Duncan MacRae. It was my father in law’s party piece.

Mrs TC much touched.

Great stuff.

33. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Hi Tinto, I can emphasise with Mrs TC, that song brings back memories for myself also.Black bun, Madiera cake and Raspberry cordial.Men had to save to buy a bottle of whisky and a few cans of McEwans Pale ale, neighbours First Footing and calls of “One Singer One song” as people took turns to give a rendition of their Party Piece.

I wish You and Mrs TC, a Happy, Prosperous and Peacefull New Year for Yourselves and for those You Love

Peace Always my Friend

34. Stoker

Masslass (10:54pm)

Podmore was a disruptive regular on here constantly waffling tripe until the Rev got tired of his tediousness and punted him.

There was a regular contributor to WOS btl comments who was Podmore’s nemesis and a very active Winger, all she had to do was appear on the btl comments and he’d run for cover.

She would repeatedly hound him for the answer to a question related to something he said and he never could or would give her the answer.

Regrettably she doesn’t post on here anymore, at least not under her known username that most of us know her by.

Her religion of choice, if i remember correctly, was Catholicism and i quickly put 2 and 2 together with your username and briefly wondered to myself, hence me asking you what i did.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

BTW, try contributing on a more regular basis, it’s good to have as wide an input to WOS and Scottish independence as is possible.

All the very best for 2017 when it comes to all believers in Scottish independence. Have a good one folks!

Dougie MacLean – The Gael
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4v8pM7cHrT8

35. Marie Clark

Smallaxe, thanks for the wee coak sparra, that brings back many happy memories. I can mind being a wee lassie and the Ne’erday programme when Duncan Macrae first sang this song. I thought my Dad would die laughing. Sad these times have gone, it used to be great fun and everybody had to do their party piece.

Shinty, thank you for that version of Ae Fond Kiss, by Robyn Stapleton. Beautiful. She’s a lovely singer, and fae doon here In Dumfries & Galloway, aboot Stranraer I believe.

I’ve been busy a’ day cooking and making sure the steak pie is ready. All I have to do now is wait for other folk coming round.

If I don’t get back later, a guid New Year tae all of you when it comes. Let’s hope it’s a better one than the year jist away.

Smallaxe, keep well my friend, there’s a sair fecht in front o’ us, and your needed in it anaw. Peace and love.

36. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, your Ne’erday memories are amazingly like mine. My mother’s ginger wine and black bun were memorable.

To soothe family tensions, we had to consume a steak pie for lunch at Granny No.1 and then go to Granny No.2 for a steak pie tea!

My most significant memory was my annual meeting with my father’s aunties, two tiny women whose feet didn’t touch the floor as they sat on the settee. They both wore black (both their husbands had died at the Battle of Loos in 1915) and they stayed that way until they died in the late 70s. How sad but how typical of the disproportionate effects of WW1 on Scottish soldiers, and the dreadful consequences for their wives and families.

You gave us a big scare, Smallaxe, so much love to you and your family and all the best in 2017.

And to all of 77 Brigade, Aldo/Waldo/Insensate Dave/Angostura Bittaz: I don’t think you come on here much behind the Green Door but thanks for all the laughs you brought us with your havers.

And to all Wingers, as Stoker and Thepnr have said elsewhere, 2017 is the year we have to hit the doorsteps all genned up and get out the vote.

Orrabestorratime!

37. Smallaxe

Marie Clark:

I’m glad the song gave you happy memories Marie, now all we have to do is make sure that ourselves and our children and grandchildren are left with happy memories of our Independence Day celebrations.

I send you my best wishes
    For this the coming year
    And I know that we shall face it
    With more hope and no more fear

Our destiny awaits us
    We ask for only what is ours
    Our Kingdom Nations freedom
    Returning Alba’s Sovereign powers

Peace, Love and Happiness to You and Those to whom You give Your Love

I hope you have a Peacefull and Prosperous New Year

38. Fred

Podmore haunts the Guardian threads. A metropolitan, cardboard, communist Brexiteer tosser!

All the best to Smallaxe & the troops.

To folk who think 2017 will be boring…..pish! expect the un-expected.

39. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

The disproportionate effect on our Servicemen and Women will only be stopped when we stop fighting W/Minsters wars/invasions for them. Hopefully, that time is getting closer by the hour.

And to all of 77 Brigade, Aldo/Waldo/Insensate Dave/Angostura Bittaz: Awa and ask yer faithers aboot me, ah hope they’ve still goat ther scars, ave still goat mine, but mine were earned in honest pursuit of civil rights, whits ther excuse!

Have a good one Tinto my Friend

Peace Always

40. Stoker

Fred,

Aye, according to Cadogan Enright (sp?) Plodmore was haunting the comments of some Irish title not that long ago. He gets around, eh!
    ________

This is a very powerful message, wish there was a Brit version:

Five Finger Death Punch – Wrong Side Of Heaven
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o_l4Ab5FRwM

41. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Sorry, I was AWOL for a while, Boss, I’ll try and make sure it disnae happen again.The border is securely under control again so dont worry.

Thanks for all you have done re archives it’s invaluable to me.

I wish You and Yours a Peacefull, Happy and Prosperous New Year

42. Fred

Dick Gaughan’s “Blaws the Wind!” would be good fur the Bells but Youtube’s problematic fur me.

All the best also to Dick himself, hope he makes a full recovery.

Away tae polish the brasses!

43. Smallaxe

Fred:

All the best to You and Yours for the coming year, I hope it’s a good year for you all.Thanks for your support and Friendship, it’s much appreciated.

Peace Always my Friend

44. Stoker

Aye, same tae you and yours, Smallaxe. Stay safe mucker!
    ________
    Here’s 2 crackers from the man who told them to keep their gong:

Paul Weller – Broken Stones
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_M8m4Yr7vc

Paul Weller – You Do Something To Me
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tM1rSTOs7Zs

45. Brian Doonthetoon

As Doon and the product of my loins are toddling off out shortly, I’ll leave you with the sentiments of this song, to all the Wings family, and wish you all an early
    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1C_T_og2Mwk

46. Smallaxe

BDTT:

Enjoy yourself, Happy New Year to You and Yours Brian

Peace Always my Friend

47. Stoker

Right, troops!

I’ll leave you all with this brilliant motivational speech.
    Sit back, relax, close your eyes and ignore the video content.
    Lets make 2017 the year we rise above our foundations.

Think Different
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gBy__dFDT6I

48. Thepnr

@Fred

Is this the Dick Gaughan you were looking for?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZDB0P57nQds

Just before I forget, have a good one all you that frequent Off Topic, I wish that for all Wingers but those that frequent this den of inequity have a special place in my heart.

True rebels ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

49. Ian Brotherhood

Big cheers to all of youse.

Love and Peace an aw that jazz!

XXXX

50. Ian Brotherhood

Where’s Paula?

*Calling Paula…Calling Paula…*

Ian Dury & The Blockheads, ‘Yes & No (Paula)’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rEEOi-syTLs

51. Andrew McLean

Guys,
    My heartfelt thanks, you made a bad year, well not good but understandable.

Thanks from the bottom of my being!

X
    And no I am driving so having a sober one!

52. yesindyref2

In honour of the parting year, not a bad one for me, business starting to recover!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AmmCSOpPzZc

53. Michael McCabe

Happy New Year to all on off topic when the bells come. First Aid Kit – Heaven Knows. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_RJ1bKfSgZk

54. CameronB Brodie

As I’ve not posted any surf for a while, I thought this an appropriate vehicle for BLiS___d to transport their British nationalism out of Scottish politics.

@BLiS___d
    Away back to London where you belong.

Aal Casey – The Hearse
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVR6kWvzTBI

55. CameronB Brodie

On a mellower note, all the best for a productive and better New Year.

Al Casey – Body and soul
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=td7jLAA2mOg

56. Quentin Quale

Happy New Year to all Wingers, old and new. Special shout out to Thepnr, Paula, BDTT & Pete the Camera.
    Looking forward to many meet-ups in 2017.

57. Michael McCabe

This one is for all the People we wish we still had with us. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9cJZzJ9vo7k

58. K1

Ye know I have tae play it…happy new year to ye’s aw…ma pals…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rmxqjzCxNEE

59. Thepnr

@Quentin Quale

Thanks very much Graham, wish Fiona a Happy New Year from me too!

@Michael McCabe

I can’t believe what you have just did there! Here’s me searching all over for a song for you and Lynn to bring in the New Year and you have just gone and made it that much more difficult due to that excellent find. I’ll still be trying and there’s time yet.

@K1

You just made my search a whole lot harder! Damn you Wingers Damn you ALL ๐Ÿ™‚

60. Liz g

Happy & Healthy New Year Everyone,all the best when it comes.X

61. Thepnr

This song is about friends. I wish all my friends a happy New Year.

It’s coming for aw that.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlPhdyBMRyE

62. Smallaxe

Happy New Year to all you wonderful People

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i4pN0zn16jk

Somebody had to play it!

Peace, Love and Happiness to ALL XXX

63. Michael McCabe

Caravan Palace. Lone Digger. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N8_WI4x2CtE

64. Smallaxe

A different Caravan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i4pN0zn16jk

Peace Always ๐Ÿ™‚

65. Cactus

Once ye pop.. ye canny stop..

1 down, 1 across..

Caledonia.
    X.

66. Fred

Thepnr, that Gaughan song was first class but “Freedom Come All Ye” was what I was thinkin o!

Hope there are no too many sair heids in the OT this morning, a Good Ne’erday everybody!

67. Fred

Haud that Thepnr, Smallaxe has just kindly got it up on the main thread!

“Never heed what the hoodie’s croak for doom!”

68. Smallaxe

I’m pleased that you got my post on the main thread, I felt bad when I realised that my post on here had not gone through.

Peace Always my Friend

69. Smallaxe

First day of the New Year and the sun is shining down here in Gretna, not a cloud in the sky, I’ll take it as a good omen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QQQpkll5aoA

Peace Always

70. Betty Boop

@ Smallaxe

Hi, sun is shining here on Ayrshire coast too! Would love to take it as a good omen and ignore all the “buts” ๐Ÿ™‚

@ all Wingy folks: Hope this year is a better one! Good wishes to you all. Haven’t been around much recently, but, pop in every now and again to make sure y’all are behavin’, but, nae chance o’ that really. ๐Ÿ˜‰

71. Smallaxe

Betty Boop:

Glad to hear that the weather is good, I have half of my family living there (My father’s side).
    Auld Ayr where n’er a toon surpasses for honest men, and bonny lassies.

Hope you have a Peacefull Happy and Prosperous 2017

Peace Always

72. Fred

Beautiful day in Glesga, a fish supper oot the Merchant Chippie in the High Street would be just what the doctor ordered but ah doot they’ll be shut!

73. Smallaxe

Fred:

The chip shop shut Fred? It’s that SNPs fault!

Peace Always ๐Ÿ™‚

74. Stoker

I’ve never heard of this lot before, pretty good stuff if you like that kind of thing. Sounds a wee bitty Iron Maiden(ish) to me. They’re a German heavy metal group who support Scottish Indy.

Grave Digger – Tunes of War
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tunes_of_War

Grave Digger – The Brave/Scotland United
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Xp5cnbTDJ4

75. Stoker

Today’s top 10 news stories at 6 in Scotland according to the BBC:

1 – Murder investigation after house fire
    2 – Major success of Edinburgh Hogmanay
    3 – Scotland welcomes first 2017 babies
    4 – Hotel evacuated in early-morning fire
    5 – Loony Dookers’ chilly start to new year
    6 – Man critical after street attack
    7 – Increase in new year ambulance calls
    8 – Mental health problems hit 1 in 4 Scots
    9 – Baby box pilot scheme launched
    10- Papers reveal blood payout unease

No10:
    “Ministers considered fighting early compensation claims by victims of contaminated blood in the courts, historic Cabinet documents have shown. The newly-declassified papers from 2001 show the then Scottish Executive feared paying out up to ยฃ20m to people affected by the scandal. Last year an inquiry concluded about 3000 Scots had contracted hepatitis C or HIV through contaminated NHS blood. The Scottish government has agreed financial support for those affected.”

Message to Donalda ‘McDaffy’ Duck:
    Any chance you could let us all know who that Scottish Executive consisted of and which political party’ government is it that helps take care of those affected by offering financial support?

All replies to wingsoverscotland please. Thank you!

76. Capella

@ Smallaxe – actually, my favourite Beefheart is ” Big Eyed Beans from Venus”. It’s a tonic but has to be played LOUD!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XF177Aj59C8&sns=em

Definitely off topic

77. Smallaxe

Capella:

Thank you, for your O/T on Topic.”Distant cousins, there’s a limited supply.And we’re down to the dozens.”

Music has charms to soothe the savage breast.

Love is a rare commodity in these times, sometimes I despair at “Mans inhumanity to Man”.Friends like you alleviate the only too real, dark places that my mind can wander into.

Thank you, my Friend.

Peace Always

78. Thepnr

My brother used to tell a joke. It went like this:

“If Peter Cushing and Whoopi Goldberg had a bairn. Would they call her Whoopi Cushing?”

I’ll get ma coat!

79. Smallaxe

Thepnr

Jist leave yer coat wer it is, ye managed to pit a smile oan ma face

Peace Always my Friend

80. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps!

A very happy new year ti wiz a’! Spent an evening in Frews last night, saw the new year in and left a “Misreporting Scotland” sticker between the mirrors in the gents’ bog. For Jim Spence, who tends to have a cocktail in Frew’s before he goes to Dens or his natural home, Tannadice, on match days.

—————————————————–

Hi Stoker.

I did an extensive post sometime last year, in which I mentioned “Tuttie Tatie”, “La Marche des soldats de Robert Bruce” and “Grave Digger”. Can’t remember which page it was on and neither a Google ‘site specific’ search or Wings’ own search box can find it.

I did find a subsequent mention through the ‘site specific’ search from April 2016, however.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-34/#comment-2133671

——————————————————-

If I’d been in the hoose at 11.50pm or thereaboots last night, I would have offered you this; a track I always used at that time of Hogmanay, just before “Auld Lang Syne” and the bells, when I did Hogmanay gigs. That was the traditional order of events – “Auld Lang Syne” was sung in the minutes leading up to midnight, then Jimmy Shand played “A Guid New Year” immediately after the bells.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-36xdi-7NxA

As we’re in to ’17, I’ll offer these two – don’t think they’ve featured in ‘off-topic’ previously. Tenuous, eh ken…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-SuavKHes_Y

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6-SwNRjbtSA

Lastly, from that original post (that I can’t find) I give you this piece of ‘shiver up the back when the bagpipes come in’ music from France.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WulAWn_N_O0

Slaintรฉ!

81. Capella

@ Smallaxe – Backatcha ! ๐Ÿ™‚

82. Brian Doonthetoon

I did a post at a couple of minutes after midnight which has not appeared. Looks like wordpress has rejected it, as Capella’s post at 12.17 is appearing.

So, what I’ll do is remove the fourth YouTube link (which probably caused the post’s disappearance), stick in a few words about how to find it, and try again.
    ————————————————–

Hi peeps!

A very happy new year ti wiz a’! Spent an evening in Frews last night, saw the new year in and left a “Misreporting Scotland” sticker between the mirrors in the gents’ bog. For Jim Spence, who tends to have a cocktail in Frew’s before he goes to Dens or his natural home, Tannadice, on match days.

—————————————————–

Hi Stoker.

I did an extensive post sometime last year, in which I mentioned “Tuttie Tatie”, “La Marche des soldats de Robert Bruce” and “Grave Digger”. Can’t remember which page it was on and neither a Google ‘site specific’ search or Wings’ own search box can find it.

I did find a subsequent mention through the ‘site specific’ search from April 2016, however.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-34/#comment-2133671

——————————————————-

If I’d been in the hoose at 11.50pm or thereaboots last night, I would have offered you this; a track I always used at that time of Hogmanay, just before “Auld Lang Syne” and the bells, when I did Hogmanay gigs. That was the traditional order of events – “Auld Lang Syne” was sung in the minutes leading up to midnight, then Jimmy Shand played “A Guid New Year” immediately after the bells.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-36xdi-7NxA

As we’re in to ’17, I’ll offer these two – don’t think they’ve featured in ‘off-topic’ previously. Tenuous, eh ken…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-SuavKHes_Y

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6-SwNRjbtSA

Lastly, from that original post (that I can’t find) I give you this piece of ‘shiver up the back when the bagpipes come in’ music from France.
    [link removed] Just paste

“Marche des soldats de Robert Bruce”

into YouTube’s search box and you should get it.

Slaintรฉ!

83. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

๐Ÿ™‚

Brilliant. Total memory-lane material.

Hope you’ve had a good few days, and wish ye many ever better ones ahead.

Hoots!

84. Smallaxe

BDTT:

I can only echo Ian on that selection of music but did you notice the name of the guy that uploaded the Regents 7 Teen?

Pleased that you’ve had a good one so far Brian, long may it last.

Peace Always to You and Yours my Friend

85. Brian Doonthetoon

Never noticed that, Smallaxe. Spooky, iye, considering the song.

86. Brian Doonthetoon

Before I turn in, as the stairs to Bedfordshire beckon, another couple that would probably be banned by the BBC these days.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qJFVPxBpezk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yg8tIlxxxRU

Oh to be a teenager again!

87. Smallaxe

BDTT:

Dont blame me, you started it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIjufDIgMdM
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RJvnKQ11tvw

Why does nobody warn us that your body ages but the brain cant seem to get past 18/25yrs ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

88. CameronB Brodie

Here’s one for Stoker and all the metal fans. ๐Ÿ™‚

Ever wondered what the world would have turned out like if Ozzy Osbourne had decided to be a jazz singer?

Black Sabbath – Paranoid (Jazz Version)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OiaEsHK_PFA

89. Cactus

Looking good Scotland.

Here be a song by Fleetwood Mac..
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dn8-4tjPxD8

๐Ÿ™‚

90. Cactus

Stevie’s.. Seventeen.
    X.

91. Andrew Mclean

7 seconds

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=QWastS2xuqs

Happy New Year wings posse.

๐Ÿ™‚

92. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

Hope you have enjoyed the holiday Andrew.

Peace, Love and prosperity to You and Yours Brother
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z1l_4-dRobg

๐Ÿ™‚

93. Brian Doonthetoon

Inspired by CBB’s ‘Paranoid’, here’s Pat Boone, ‘in a metal mood’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xFDIrwOUdrw

Lounge metal…

94. Fred

Smallaxe, I used tae get sent for rolls to Hillkirk Street age aboot 7. I think the bakery was called Torrance’s & the night-shift must have just started so 11 on a Saturday night & dodging the drunks. ๐Ÿ™‚

95. Smallaxe

Fred:

Drunks were not the only thing we had to avoid, were you there when James Griffiths went on the rampage in 1969.The cops got him cornered in Kay st and shot him dead.Apart from that, it was a beautiful summers day that day.I happened to be in the company of a young lady that day and with the heat and excitement she fainted, I carried her to the nearest off-licence the proprietor of which gave her a glass of water (I was hoping for something stronger) for my heroic rescue under fire. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

96. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Lounge metal, is it? This is getting serious. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Rammstein – Du Hast (Bossa Nova Version)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PyTqXqRuYq0

97. Tinto Chiel

BDTT: is this the one you were talking about? Kept it in me Faves after you posted it once, I think.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WulAWn_N_O0

Each time I watch it I wonder where they got the pipers from.

And I wish all you Caledonian Brains-Trusters a Guid New Year.

You keep me sane, well, as sane as I can manage.

By the way, Brian: ever thought of writing a book about the Dundee music scene? Or have you already and I’m just ignorant?

Cheersmedears.

98. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

Aye, that’s the one!

Picked up this page from somewhere today. Interesting stuff…

https://www.buzzfeed.com/philippjahner/european-statistic-maps?utm_term=.ynY7e933ae#.faJDKLzznK

99. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

RE: Dundee Music Scene.

Exclusively Dundee area, you can get “Take it to the Bridge: Dundee’s Rock & Pop History Paperback โ€“ Illustrated, 22 Sep 2011”.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Take-Bridge-Dundees-Rock-History/dp/1845023633/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1483382926&sr=8-1&keywords=%22Take+It+To+The+Bridge%22

There’s a fair amount of Dundee stuff in “All That Ever Mattered: The History of Scottish Rock and Pop Paperback โ€“ 1 Sep 1993”.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/All-That-Ever-Mattered-Scottish/dp/0851127231/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1483382972&sr=8-1&keywords=%22History+of+Scottish+Rock+and+Pop%22

100. Fred

Smallaxe, left Springburn in 1953 but remember the Kay Street Steamie. There was the case of the lunatic who escaped from an asylum in Kirkintilloch & walked to Springburn where he raped three women in the steamie & escaped, pursued by the biler-man. The Evening Times headline that night was,

“NUT SCREWS WASHERS & BOLTS!” ๐Ÿ™‚

101. Tinto Chiel

Great links, Brian, thanks.

Mrs TC is enforcing a strict “one in, one out” policy on my bookshelves but that’s ok ‘cos I’ve got a couple of candidates for the out tray already.

As you know, it’s tough being a Scottish intellectual.

๐Ÿ˜›

102. CameronB Brodie

Lounge metal and Scottish intellectuals? Like, do-be-do-bap-di-she-wah, BLiS__d are BritNat dobbers? Or perhaps, do-be-do-bap-di-she-wah, the BBC kiss BLiS’s necrotic arse??

No, man. You’re thinking of “bee-boo-boo-bop, boo-boo-bop”, Scotland doesn’t deserve this insanity.

Spongebob – Electric Zoo Trap Remix (Bee Boo Boo Bop)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sGAMeSKxKHs

P.S. I least I make more sense than the BUM, though that’s not difficult.

103. Stoker

Brian Doonthetoon on 2 January, 2017 at 12:26 am:

When i posted the links to Grave Digger, Brian, i did have a wee niggling among my grey matter somewhere, their name was ringing a very distant bell. Your response is ringing a closer bell so maybe i seen your original post sometime last year. Too busy to go looking for it though and if you can’t find it i’m definitely not going to attempt looking for it. ๐Ÿ™‚
    ________

Cameron (3:17am)
    Jeez, mucker, whit ye tryin’ tae dae tae me?
    Never seen that before but it gave me a giggle.
    That heed banging thing just isn’t working for them is it?

104. Thepnr

Some of you might have noticed tonight on the Wings twitter feed, the reaction to the Historywoman tweet:

“Enjoyed hosting a dinner party for neighbours & friends on Hogmanay. All of them scathing about the SNP Executive & its lies.”

He’s my video contribution and as an added bonus we get mention of Banana boats too! Watch the Zoomers enjoy Hogmanay ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i3j9jpBez8g

105. Chic McGregor

Alex
    If Christopher Lee and Ginger Rogers had a baby would it be born Ginger Lee?

In which case a whoopi cushion might be better than nothing.

106. Chic McGregor

Noticed in BBC Radio Jocklandshire, Northern England today a prog. on John Peel’s Sessions – the Scottish connection, that there was no Gerry Rafferty. Shocking. But then again, he was a Yes supporter.

Can I have My Money Back?

107. Chic McGregor

PS

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j9aPp2pMMqw

2nd track I suspect more than a few indy supporters can identify with.

108. Thepnr

@Chic McGregor

Cheers! and a happy New Year to you Chic. You’ve had me sniggering for the last five minutes. It’s good to laugh though.

109. Chic McGregor

Thepnr

Aye, happy New year tae a’bdy.

110. Ian Brotherhood

@Chic McG –

Hoots tae you too brother. Orraverybestest.

Dig-in for the long-haul mister…

๐Ÿ™‚

111. Fred

Tam Weir actually had a wee fling with Fanny Craddock when they were both filming in Glasgow. She was going to leave Johnnie for Tam but it would have made her Fanny Weir.

Smallaxe, my posts to you on the steamie keep vanishing, I was furth of Springburn by the 60’s.

112. Fred

Peel apparently didn’t like Jock Rock!

113. Smallaxe

Fred:

Dont worry about it Fred, my Springburn address was basically just one of my retreats.I also had a room and kitchen in Crail st. Parkhead at the same time. I’ve always been an anti- social socialist. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

114. Fred

Flitting yer time away Smallaxe?

115. Smallaxe

Fred:

By moonlight Fred, by moonlight, I wasn’t called the “Midnight Man” for nothing. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

116. Fred

Springburn’s Carl Denver, shite name ah know! MacKenzie wisnae good enough! Carl Barrowfield, Carl Rutherglen?

117. Smallaxe

Fred:

Carl Denver:Voices of the Highlands.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GazbcGkvE8

Peace Always

118. Smallaxe

K K K K KARL, Ah swopped ma brains fur a pun o’ mince.A bargain
    Peace Always

119. Tinto Chiel

I note the teenage sexual nostalgia mentioned further up the page and wonder if this sad tale of frustration rings any bells?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6OS_ItMGpc

120. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

I always ensured that the seatbelts in my A60 were fast release!

—————————————————-

Hi Chic.

That link turned up in my searching but I’m sure I did a post that mentioned Bannockburn, ‘Tuttie Tatie’, Joan of Arc’s Scots Guard and the album “Tunes Of War”. That’s what I can’t find. (Thinks… maybe I did it on Facebook…).

121. Tinto Chiel

BDTT: I had heard rumours of a Dundee Britax Boy but didn’t want to ask…

Three-in-One or WD40?

Shouldn’t pry, really…

122. Chic McGregor

Fred,
    Gerry Rafferty came out of the Scottish folk circuit, like Rab Noakes, Barbara Dixon and others.

He was a favourite of John Peel who I remember playing every track off ‘Can I have My Money Back’ several times.

BTW Rab Noakes contributed to that classic album on guitar and backing vocals.

JP was particularly fond of Stuck in the Middle by Stealer’s Wheel, Gerry Rafferty and Joe Egan (and Rab Noakes early on).

Later, his music did sway more towards pop and folk although he still pumped out folky stuff.

But yes I think it was the earlier more folky stuff Peel liked best because it was new (then) and different.

The news about vinyl sales today has reminded me that my wife chucked out my old vinyl collection, without asking, some years back and my two most prized possessions were an original release of ‘Can I have My Money Back’ and a signed copy no less of Rab Noakes first album ‘Do You see The Lights’ another cult classic.

123. Chic McGregor

Just had a quick swatch and found this YT of Rab Noakes. A nice mellow track from ‘Do You See The Lights.’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qMGUjdSb-tE

124. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

Just regular checking and maintenance with dual-purpose Vaseline as required…

———————————————–

Hi Chick.

You managed to provide a very concise history of the Paisley chappie without mentioning The Humblebums or Connolly!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Ym1H3WKcUc

125. Brian Doonthetoon

“Chick”.

DOH!

126. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

I’m trying to catch up,I got unexpected visitors and then got my knitting in a fankle, just when I was casting off.

Sorry but I dont know much about the Redan apart from the fact that it was a Russian fortress during the Crimean war but I think you know that already, as far as I can remember it was, for a time, a place that a lot of freemasons used to frequent. I may be wrong but I think it has been demolished now.
    Peace Always my Friend

127. Chick McGregor

I think I prefer ‘Chick’. Think I will use that from now on, at least I won’t keep getting confused with the Rangers for Indy fans guy then.

128. mike cassidy

Chic 10.25

“The news about vinyl sales today has reminded me that my wife chucked out my old vinyl collection, without asking, some years back”

And you stayed married!

Well, cheer yourself up with this!

twitter.com/90thMin/status/814974733221588992?lang=en

Still not sure if its real though.

Almost seems like a Marcel Marceau audition!

129. Chick McGregor

Mike

Well, they were up in the loft right enough and we were CD player only by then.

130. Chic McGregor

Well that’s three posts I’ve done as Chick McGregor and none have got through.

Strange, since I’ve used Chicmac and my Sunday name Charles McGregor before no problem???

131. Cactus

Tonight, I am..

Who’s pouring aff topic?.
    X.

Love ye all, soon..

132. Ghillie

Ok this weird thing has never happened to me before.

Tried to open comments on main article and :

FORBIDDEN : You do not have permission to access ‘Here we go again’ from this server.

Anyone know that’s about?

133. Tinto Chiel

Morning all. Up sneezing with this infernal cold.

BDTT: the mind boggles! ๐Ÿ˜›

Thanks, Smallaxe. Didn’t know about the magic circle connection. Last time I passed a long time ago it didn’t look the type of joint to take a young lady for a gimlet.

Talking of lost collections. My mother chucked out my bro’s Eagle annuals. Think he had up to No.22.

Gulp.

Knit me a new head, Smallaxe. Time for the Vick.

134. Cactus

Ditto Ghillie, it’s a passing thing.. we’re back.

RT HD on a guest tv just there:

Keiser Report:

Info: Keiser report is a no holds barred look at the shocking scandals behind the global financial headlines..

Groovy ๐Ÿ™‚

135. Cactus

Cheers us, not long till daylight..

Mark the day.
    X.

136. Cactus

Wishing ye very well Tinto Chiel.

๐Ÿ™‚

137. Ghillie

Thanks Cactus, glad it’s not just me! What an alarming statement though. Got through eventualy = )

Have a lovely day!

138. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

I hope you feel better soon my Friend. I’ve sent you this in case you are not doing it properly.www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvZ3rHxr4Mc

Peace Always

139. Nana

@Smallaxe

I’m back! One leg in the door, the other reluctant to stay. You know how it is after a holiday having to empty bags and tidy up.

How are you these days Billy, well I hope.

140. Smallaxe

Nana:

Great to see you back again, take your time with any links, get your bags unpacked and have a rest. I’m doing ok, just this bloody fatigue.For the first time in my adult life I slept through the Bells, I cant plan anything because I dont know how I’m going to be from one day to the next.

I’m supposed to be going to London for a few days soon, I hope I can stay awake long enough because it’s important. Other than the fatigue though I’m fine, painkillers and other medication are minimising the symptoms so I’ll just have to dour it oot. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Peace Always and a Happy New Year to You and Yours
    Billyxx

141. Smallaxe

Nana:

I’ve just looked at the main thread and already you have posted links. your an awfy Wumman. How are your hands, ok I hope, please dont overdo it.
    Peace Always
    Kettle’s on

142. Nana

@Smallaxe

Yes fatigue can really get you down. Getting up in the morning, a quick spray with the wd40 to get the joints moving and limbered up only to find 10 minutes later you are too tired to put the cap back on the tin!

Seriously though fatigue really is a terrible thing. Hopefully you will be able to enjoy your tip doon the road.

May 2017 bring you and your family good health and much happiness.

PS Hands nae too bad right now, I thoroughly recommend 3in1 oil haha

143. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Cactus. Happy New Year. Hope to see you in March for The Outing.

Smallaxe: have been practising all night long.

I feel better now.

And Nana’s back, you know the SCONE lady.

144. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Having trouble with the drone Tinto, damn thing just won’t get off the ground and take instruction. I’m trying to ‘take back control’ but it’s not looking good right now.

In my best Jean Brodie accent

You’ll just have to visit for tea and a wee scone.

145. Smallaxe

Tinto:

I’m pleased that you are feeling better, we need all our warriors as healthy as possible, unless they have something contagious and nasty that they can pass on at Yoon HQ.Once they have infected PQ I’m sure we could crowd- fund the best private medicine for them as a thank you for their heroism.

I’ts just a pity we that we cant inject them with a truth serum. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Peace Always

146. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, guys. This Vick is powerful stuff: I can see colours, man.

Don’t worry about the drone, Nana. Would love to pop in but don’t want to infect you all. Plus there is now a buttermilk lake in Auld Cadzow and it’ll soon be scones ร  gogo at The Towers.

Might try my experimental seasonal version: mango chutney and cranberry.

147. Tinto Chiel

Hi, guys.

Just finished a batch of my black pudding and sultana buttermilk scones, Nana. Pure kwality, btw.

I offer you all a bracing shanty. Bev Bevan goes mental.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CxXl4oS9wss&list=RDCxXl4oS9wss#t=27

148. Tinto Chiel

Sun-dried tomato and Lorne sausage?

Hello?

Hello…..

Right, get oot ma conveyance!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bl9bvuAV-Ao

149. Tinto Chiel

Looking for new recipes.

Open to suggestion…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UAbzlj3nf4E

150. Fred

@ Smallaxe, Voices from the Highlands, thanks for that, just back from the Highlands myself, good weather n too many hoose-haufs, passed the Redan manys a time, aye wondered!

151. Stoker

Good grief Smallaxe!!

Never mind helping the enemy to pull in advertising revenue, Paula will have a fit at the mess you’re making of the place.

You’re supposed to be guarding the border, not letting them in via the back door.

152. Smallaxe

Fred:

Your welcome, my friend.
    Peace Always

153. Smallaxe

Stoker:

My apologies boss, I was trying to find out how to do it properly.I failed
    it seems.

I have booked myself in for Reindoctrination and corrective thinking, I can assure you it won’t happen again.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BGLR25EJtfE
    Peace Always

154. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Black pudding and sultana/ sun dried tomato and lorne sausage, scones????????

Could I ask “what exactly have you been imbibing Tinto”?

Vick vapours may be causing these strange taste sensations Tinto, Mrs Tinto should wean you off that stuff.

Hope you are feeling better soon!

155. Quentin Quale

@Tinto Chiel I had blue cheese & grilled pears on sourdough bread at New Year. I wonder if Roquefort & pear would make a good scone filling?

Off for a calming cuppa after that National article.

156. K1

It’s the Herald Stoker, it’s not allowing any archiving anymore, don’t understand how they’ve done it. I can’t read any Herald articles from ordinary browsers so took up Thpnr’s suggestion and use private browser mode to view links that people are posting to Herald articles. But ye can’t archive from that either. They are sneaky bastards preventing archiving…unfortunately that leaves us wi links tae their pish and increasing their click rate. ๐Ÿ™

157. Tinto Chiel

Morning, Nana. I’m all sconed out this morning, tbh. That last batch of mango and venison did for me. And I’m on the sparkling mineral water, honest.

Seriously, blue cheese and pears on sourdough sounds pretty good, QQ. Not surprised you need a cuppa: Mrs TC has just read Fry’s article and is raging too. I can’t be bothered reading it but the Home Secretary tells me it’s most annoying.

Fry’s revisionism re the Clearances has always annoyed me and I have doubted his judgment ever since. Tens of thousands of empty highland acres are proof of his deeply misguided position. And I’m sure he quite recently had a book extolling The Union, so I’m confused.com

“Hoose-hauf”: delightful expression, Fred. Definition: “a non-standard, generous measure dispensed in a domestic situation”.

*sips mineral water guiltily*

158. Smallaxe

K1:

Thanks for having my back, I owe you one my Friend.
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    Peace Always

159. Fred

Best black pudding hmmmmmmm Ramsay’s of Carluke!

160. Stoker

Smallaxe (1:07am)
    ๐Ÿ˜€

K1 (10:22am)
    There’s a simple way around that, don’t use their links.
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

161. Smallaxe

Calder Millerfield does a good black pudding!

http://www.caldermillerfieldltd.co.uk/

Peace Always (with black pudding)

PS Dugdale & Davidson are Puddings (see Union Puddings.urg)

162. Lollysmum

@Brian Doonthetoon

Brian-am I right in thinking you are pretty knowledgable about pc’s? I seem to remember some lengthy posts in times gone by & I’m in need of info from someone with more IT knowledge than me.

Basically, the onboard graphics on my pc has died. The only graphics cards that we know works on a Dell 521 is ATI Radeon x1300 or ATI Radeon R7 250-the latter requires an additional power supply so is not a good choice. I’ve managed to get hold of an ATI X1300 graphics card BUT it has a Vesa DMS 59 connector & an old style black circular connector. My 22inch monitor only has VGA or DVI 24+1 connector. I can’t find any way of joining the two so that my pc will boot. My life is on that machine & I’d hate to lose everything on it.

Do you know if it’s possible to get a cable/adapter to convert DMS 59 to DVi 24+1. I don’t want to run two monitors via a dual link. I’m not a gamer:) I just want to be able to get into my pc to copy all my emails ,family photos etc to an external hard drive. PC won’t even boot up as it goes into a loop trying to load XP & stops when it can’t load graphics.

Any ideas? Computer shops are a bit thin on the ground in the Borders ๐Ÿ™‚

163. Fred

Smallaxe, there’s also an excellent black pudding from Tailford, Broxburn which is on sale at The Barras for ยฃ3 a whole stick.

164. K1

Och ah know Stoker but every now and then a link is posted and curiosity depending on the context is piqued an ah jist cannae help masel’ ๐Ÿ˜‰

165. Smallaxe

Fred:

Thanks for that Fred, Haggis may be “Chieftan o’the Puddin-race” but Black Pudding is the Heir Apparent. ๐Ÿ™‚ Peace Always

166. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Lollysmum.

I’m a Mac man – I know next to nothing about pc’s. I will type though – all the stuff that you have on your pc is actually on the internal hard drive. You don’t lose that because the pc is playing up. You’d only use that if the internal hard drive failed.

I wouldn’t worry too much about losing stuff; as long as the hard drive is ok, all your stuff should be able to be recovered.

There are peeps on here who probably understand better the rest of your post and can advise hardware-wise. You did mention “an old style black circular connector”. Is that not an S-Video connector? I wouldn’t necessarily describe that as “old style”. This page may help you:-

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_video_connectors

You could try a search on eBay for a connecting cable. I just tried searching for

DMS59 DVi24+1 cable

and got this page of results. Maybe you’ll find what you need?

http://tinyurl.com/jzch5xx

167. Brian Doonthetoon

CORRECTION!

In the first paragraph, “Youโ€™d only use that” should read “Youโ€™d only lose that”.

168. Smallaxe

Stoker & K1:

Please, my Friends, it was All my fault for posting the link, I put Trial at the top thinking that no one would use it.My Bad.

Let’s now get back to fighting the Unionists. Peace to All

169. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Lollysmum. (Continued…)

As I had no knowledge of the “DMS59” connection, I read this:-

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DMS-59

It would appear that DMS-59 is designed to feed two monitors. I don’t know if it will feed only one. At less than ยฃ4 for a cable, it may be worth trying with one monitor.

I should point out that in Dundee, you can get a 4:3 flat screen monitor for up to ยฃ20, at the likes of Cash Generator or Cash Converters. I use a 4:3 monitor attached to my iMac at work, on which I have either the Sky or BBC News Channel showing in a Firefox window with the sound muted.

170. Ruglonian

Happy New Year everyone!!

To all the Wingers that I’ve personally met – you know who you are! – (and the Boss if he’s reading) I am extending an invitation to a wee get-together next weekend (14th) at my home in Rutherglen.

Email me if you can make it, and we can discuss further details – gillian.mair80@gmail.com

xx

171. Andrew Mclean

Small axe,

Black pudding is not on my diet, given that I am now officially a F B,
    Can you post a link to a vegetarian option?

Almost done from my sabbatical, so expect more inappropriate drivel in 2017!

Peace love and fraternal greetings comrades from a very cold Glenmore!

X

172. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Andrew Mclean.

A vegetarian option to black pudding? I’ll bet you’re the guy in Tesco looking for the low-fat lard…

8=)

173. Brian Doonthetoon

Or the guy in PC World, looking for a phoneless cord…

8=)

174. Andrew Mclean

You calling me a fruit pudding Brian?

๐Ÿ™‚

175. Brian Doonthetoon

OK, I’ll try again.

Around 9.27 or thereaboots, I replied to you, Andrew, typing along the lines of “You may suggest that – but I can’t possibly comment!”

The post seems to got lost in the cyber-ether.

BTW: In case anyone is wondering… I was playing a couple of simultaneous games (2 player) of “Mr Do’s Castle” and pausing to check my email notifications after each level on each game.

I am now retiring to have a nosebag of plaice and chips and cucumber and tartare sauce.

176. Brian Doonthetoon

Can ANYONE explain why, after hitting the “Submit Comment” button, It can take up to 20 minutes for a comment to appear, even although you’re constantly refreshing the page?

I’m off for my nosebag.

177. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

Anything for a friend Andrew.

http://www.veganoo.net/2013/03/review-v-pud-vegan-black-pudding.html
    I’ve got contacts. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

178. Paula Rose

One of the best live bands I’ve ever seen – flamin’ brilliant…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PIcmk8WA10A

179. Paula Rose

This was so sweet of this young man – I was another experience for him…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lKuc3faQAEs

180. Paula Rose

I had to say yes – so worried it might come off in his hand…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PinCg7IGqHg

181. Paula Rose

And of course I could never forget this young hunk…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9m7tPikH0UA

182. Stoker

Smallaxe (7:56pm)

Chillaxe Smallaxe! It’s all good in the hood!

183. Smallaxe

Stoker:

That’s Cool, Sub-Zero in fact Boss.

Peace Always

184. Stoker

Lollysmum on 5 January, 2017 at 6:26 pm:

Try calling these numbers for guidance, see if they can help.

Border Computing Ltd (IT repair specialists)
    Galashiels 01896 750536

Pitman Computers (Sales & repairs)
    Kelso 01573 348020

User Friendly Computing Ltd
    (Only qualified data recovery specialists in Scottish Borders)
    Galashiels 01896 759595

Berwick Computer Services
    01289 545 000

185. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

I saw the Flamin’ Groovies at the Bowlin’ Alley in Dundee, around 1977/78. Where did you see them?

186. Smallaxe

BDTT:

Brian did Dave Edmunds have something to do with the Flaminโ€™ Groovies or am I mixing them up with another band? Peace Always

187. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

They recorded some albums with Dave Edmunds in the 70s. The following is from the link at the end.

“In 1972, the band teamed up with British producer Dave Edmunds and reached a deal to sign with United Artists Records, but the deal was never expanded beyond two single releases, which effectively left the band in limbo for two years.[7] Little was heard of the group during this period except for the two 1972 United Artists singles: the 1972 anti-drug song “Slow Death” (co-written by Loney and Jordan before Loney’s departure) and a cover version of Freddie Cannon’s “Tallahassee Lassie”. During this lull, drummer Danny Mihm also left the band, to be replaced by David Wright. Finally in 1975, the Flamin’ Groovies signed to the new (but poorly distributed) label Sire Records, and recorded and released (in 1976) Shake Some Action, produced by Edmunds, which received rave critical reviews.

Sire’s distribution was taken over by Warner Bros. Records in 1977, and so the Groovies returned to a major label; however, James Farrell then left the band, to be replaced by Mike Wilhelm. The band then recorded two more albums for Sire/Warners, 1978’s Flamin’ Groovies Now, also produced by Dave Edmunds, and 1979’s Jumpin’ in the Night, produced by Jordan and Roger Bechirian.[7]”

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flamin'_Groovies

188. Smallaxe

BDTT:

Thanks Brian, there was something about what you were saying to Paula Rose that struck a chord with me (see what I did there).I dont think that I have actually seen them play, you know what they say “if you can remember that era then you weren’t there” ๐Ÿ™‚
    One track I know they covered:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rO4PMKrSYT0

Thanks again Brian, Peace Always

189. Smallaxe

BDTT:

I forgot to say, Brian like you I wish someone could explain the delayed posts, some go in immediately after you refresh and some dont “It’s a Mystery”
    Peace Always

190. Smallaxe

Black Pudding Bertha

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t-nvpU8sE7U

Pudding Peace ๐Ÿ™‚

191. Stoker

You can’t beat Stornoway black pudding. Just don’t have it with a Carluke steak, horrible combination. For those not in the know, a Carluke steak is a piece and jam. ๐Ÿ˜‰

192. Smallaxe

Stoker, Fred et al:

I have an amusing thought that some unionists somewhere “dan Sarf” are in someplace like Bletchley Park, trying to crack the Black Pudding Code that we damn separatists are using.

Black Pudding to Carluke Steak..—.- come in Carluke Steak..
    The Haggis will fly at the full moon.

Maybe I should cut down on the medication ๐Ÿ™‚ Peace Always

193. K1

The delayed posts ‘seem’ to be more prevalent when a lot more people are posting at the same ‘moment’ in time, that’s often when we get that ‘slow down, yer posting too fast’ or whatever message too. I think it applies across threads so while we are posting here someone’s on the main thread and sometimes a thread or two before…it will be connected to Rev’s filter askimet….to which the oft repeated tae oorsel’s under our breath after such delays, in many an empty room across the land is…gettaefuck ๐Ÿ™‚

194. Smallaxe

K1:

Ah knew it wis sumday else’s faut. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Peace Always

195. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Meanwhile, BLiS___d search for a meaning to their existence.

Wiz Krablifa – Ravioli Remix: Black and Yellow
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZD8eoSuSPDc

196. Smallaxe

CamaronB Brodie:

Hi Cameron, I hope your having a good 2017. I’ve been watching you battling on the main thread, Keep up the good work.
    By the way, I prefer my pasta rapped.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SW-BU6keEUw
    Peace Always

197. Fred

Snallaxe “The Mealy Puddin has Landed!”

198. Smallaxe

Fred:

Read Mealy Puddin instructions then eat immediately, to prevent it falling into enemy hands.
    Well done comrade, I will be presenting you with the “Buckfast Medal of Honour” in Freedom Square on Independence Day.Peace Always

199. Big Phil

Guys & Gals ,Ma good lady got me a crackin T-shirt for x-mas, it says ‘william Wallace lives inside me’ and in bold, ‘FREEDOM’. apparently I’m on wings too much and my wee daughter says ‘Dad will love that cos we’re no independent yet’ Loved the t-shirt but i loved my daughters words, made me smile. ๐Ÿ˜‰

200. Smallaxe

Big Phil:

Hi Phil, it is the thought of our children and their children that give us the patience and heart (Braveheart)to carry on battling in our own way to make sure that we make this nation of ours fit for them to live and to prosper in.

Peace, Love and Happiness to You and Your Family

201. Big Phil

Smallaxe,
    And to yours my friend. Our Children Know ,through education, that we never received ,that we WILL prosper,I just ask my kids to question everything and answer all with insight. Read Read and Read and then question, my daughter is almost 10 years old and she watches FMQT with me ,She wonders why in school you shouldn’t bully but all them people are bullying the nice lady. How the hell do you answer that.?

202. K1

Ahm a awa’ tae ma bed, but just wanted to say rest easy Billy…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fLsKWWF94cw

203. Big Phil

try again.
    //youtu.be/OXt9KkpG4xE

204. Smallaxe

Phil:

I brought my children up just in the same way that you do now.I have 3 lovely daughters who have given my wife and me, 4 beautiful intelligent grandchildren who ask just the same questions.We tell them that we believe that there are more good people in this world than bad.

They are told that the bad people are usually just sad frightened people who are afraid that they will lose some of what they have, things that really belong to everyone and that these people don’t realise that the world would be a much better place if it’s bounty was shared with everyone and so they get angry and bully the good people. Tell your daughter that Nicola is trained and intelligent enough not to let these people worry her.

Tell her that Nicola has many friends who will make sure that she is safe and that eventually even the “bad” people and their children will have a happier life.That is why we wear the T-shirts and write on Wings to make our Scotland and the world a better place for Everyone.
    Peace Always my Friend.

205. Smallaxe

K1:

Thank you, Peace and Love, to You and Yours my Friend
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lAqAmLSIGU8

206. Big Phil

I’m away tae ma bed Smallaxe with yer words in my head ,I’m a believer in Karma, I truly believe your words and it is what i preach to my kids.Oor Day Cometh my friend .Glad you’r on the mend cos yer humanity on wings is very important, lang may ye continue.

207. Michael McCabe

Ryan Adams- oh my sweet Carolina. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rE4ISDUT4RM

208. Smallaxe

Goodnight Phil, Peace Always

209. Smallaxe

SRV BB King Albert King

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a-i-tIXxtlY

Peace Always

210. Michael McCabe

John Prine. That’s how every Empire falls. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hsu2oASd6x8

211. Michael McCabe

Samba Pa Ti Carlos Santana. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Vi3UreI9vU

212. Smallaxe

John Farnham “You’re the Voice”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tbkOZTSvrHs
    Peace Always

213. carjamtic

Smallaxe,the hour is late,I am also hearing a voice (s).

๐Ÿ˜‰

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zf7fEzIl22M

214. Smallaxe

carjamtic: that was new to me, but this isn’t

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bMzD_jGqp1Q
    Peace Always

215. Cactus

SO good I second you.

Coming in with just over 7.8 million yes votes, it’s..

John Farnham โ€œYouโ€™re the Voiceโ€

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tbkOZTSvrHs

Quality Smallaxe.

216. Smallaxe

Hi, Cactus, One for you ๐Ÿ™‚ Peace Always

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Su15j3BuSdw

217. Cactus

Cheers for the video bro, likey.

Here’s a different kind of attack (Chess)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gODqPoBbVgU

Scotland’s got the moves.. and then there’s the en passant option?

Tomorrow and tomorrow and tomorrow in this pretty place ๐Ÿ˜‰

218. Cactus

Smallaxe: Pawn to king four..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPyN0tbV7y4

“I don’t think it’s the best game, but it’s the most effective.. for the public”

219. Smallaxe

Cactus: signs of the times: Peace Always

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TvVcOVpHptU

220. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thanks, Boss, Peace Always

๐Ÿ™‚

221. Stoker

Smallaxe

No problem!
    Did you manage to keep up with the links during your wee bad spell?

222. Smallaxe

Stoker:

I was not able to at the time, but I have since looked back and collated any that I missed.Thanks, for asking my Friend it’s very thoughtful and kind of you to do so.Peace Always

223. Andrew Mclean

Small Axe,

Post this ages ago but, always good to sing it again, “so help me sing another song of freedom”,

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=OFGgbT_VasI

Hope this finds you in a good place.

๐Ÿ™‚

224. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

Thank you, Andrew, as they say often on Wings “you have hit the nail on the head”. I have still got the T-Shirt that was presented to me at my “Grounation” (Acceptance into Rastafarian culture) by Ras.Bredren Michael from the Twelve Tribes of Israel. It has a picture of Bob on it with the words embroidered around “Wont you help me sing my songs of Freedom”. You will now know why nail/head is so appropriate. I dedicate this song by my late friend Bredren Garnet Silk to you Brother Andrew in thanks for your thoughtfulness. Peace and Love. Smallaxe

225. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

It may help if I leave the song ๐Ÿ™‚ Peace Always

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IcRDTk1NeN0

226. Michael McCabe

Fight this Feeling. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tQ2erI2pstQ

227. Michael McCabe

Dawn Landes- Drive. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tv3U4qq7Gvk

228. Michael McCabe

Sugar Minott-Oh Mr Dc http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TCQgB9MFTjE

229. Michael McCabe

Sting-Desert Rose. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lgo2Wc6Vj00

230. Smallaxe

Long shot kick de bucket

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XhAec0h4lds

Peace Always

231. Michael McCabe

Here is a cover version of the song Chandelier. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aYEMaWETcNA

232. Michael McCabe

@ Smallaxe Loving the music you play my Friend. But my bed is calling. I will leave you with Barbara Jones- Come and get some. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RA7PXwbVrrA

233. Smallaxe

Some lovely music Michael coming from one so young.Thanks.
    I leave now in a Fast Car with Tracy.Goodnight my Friend, Peace, Love and MUSIC!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Orv_F2HV4gk

234. Fred

Mornin folks, anent Bella, a rollin stone which never gathered much moss n stopped rollin!

235. Smallaxe

Fred: You mean like this! Peace Always

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RHOdoJDgtrk

236. Fred

Sadly yes Smallaxe!

237. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe or maybe even like this ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-FjofYzWEiA

238. Smallaxe

Michael yes, sometimes like this also! Peace Always

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G1HuCsEbnlE

239. Andrew Mclean

Small axe

Blast from the past, don’t tell the Rev, he don’t come around here no more, but it’s poetic poetry from the one of the best English political poets.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Zq9OpJYck7Y

Peace brother.

๐Ÿ™‚

240. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

Many thanks, my Brother, much appreciated. Peace Always

241. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thank you, my Friend. Peace Always

242. Liz g

Hi Smallaxe..My friend
    After our exchange earlier tonight, it occurred to me that while I have been seeing that you are once again active enough to be keeping us sane and relitivly human recently. (Thankfully)
    We haven’t really crossed comments for a while…Soooo…
    How are you actually keeping??? (Privacy excepted ofcourse)
    Also are you minding to take care of our Mrs Smallaxe..???Retorical Question!!!
    Please tell her I am asking for her.. While I have never been where you are…. I have been where she is!!!
    My best to you both XX

243. Smallaxe

liz g:

Your loss was obvious to me liz, your empathy betrayed you.No one truly dies.Do you remember where you were before you were born? Did it hurt? or was it quiet and peaceful? Why do babies cry when they are born? Life brings pain and fear and also wonderful beautiful things.Only the living can die but the dead do not grieve for life.We will all be dead.We will all be alive.Round and Round we go like windmills. Peace and Love to You my Dear Friend, You are not alone, you can never be alone

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WEhS9Y9HYjU

244. Liz g

Smallaxe
    Your callsign of “peace” betrays you also my very dear friend.
    You don’t just mean conflict?? Thank You…

245. Smallaxe

liz g:

So glad you understood.

Peace Always

246. Liz g

Smallaxe …X
    Sweet dreams my friends

247. Michael McCabe

A Carol King Song. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aivqnP2wh2A

248. Smallaxe

Merry Clayton, backing singer on carol king’s “way over yonder” TAPESTRY
    Peace Always

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MNWR7eDiy_w&list=PLGQPZqijeCuUaij5UkcjPhRYbuAPENwxn&index=5

249. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe that lady has a good voice. another lady different kind of voice doing a Nick Drake Song. Black Eyed Dog- Lisa Hannigan. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cvaqqk3pHLw

250. Smallaxe

Michael, The girl is cool.I will look at more of her (and listen) ๐Ÿ™‚

Black Horse

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQmDUEv939A

Peace Always

251. Michael McCabe

I Don’t Know. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7WwaPv1rZiQ

252. Smallaxe

My first love and I were lying on the banks of a river on a beautiful day when I first heard this.I was catching a train in just under an hour.Parting is such sweet sorrow. Peace Always

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VlvqXlshd6g

253. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe that is one of my favourites. her first television appearance was on later with Jools. She done all her own backing Vocals Live. Even Ruby Turner was applauding her. as if to say you go girl. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FGT0A2Hz-uk

254. Smallaxe

In memory of Peter Sarstedt who passed away yesterday.Peace Always

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L8XQZYIiNgo

255. Michael McCabe

Rachel Sermanni- I want you back. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VlcH4HTQE3Y

256. Smallaxe

I bid goodnight Michael, we should have our own channel: Wings Radio!
    Thine be ilka joy and treasure

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BJwy2cm9QTo

Peace to All who may be listening

257. Fred

Smallaxe, you mean a kind of musical Call Kaye withoot Kaye?

258. Smallaxe

Fred:

Definitely, No Kaye, OK.: I want a place where people can chill out for a while and listen to some calming, requested music before returning to the fray on the main thread refreshed and alert.Also, a place where the sound of the Pipes and Bodhran can be used to rally our supporters in times of Crisis (A call to Arms) so to speak.What think YOU? ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

259. Fred

All for it kid! a Celtic Connections wi a hard Kaye?

260. Smallaxe

Things are heating and speeding up, we have many Wingers with great knowledge of many things.How do we get this out to the general non-IT user?

Many small shops sit empty all over Scotland, can we use some as a means of spreading the truth.I’m pretty sure we could stock them, I have 2 desktop computers + 2 laptops + 1 A3 Printer, countless cables etc.2 microphones lying here doing nothing. That’s just me!

We will have more councils under our control (subsidies).Bring everyone under one banner.Use AYE mail. Local volunteers with transport.101 other things, I could go on all day.Peace Always

261. Smallaxe

@ Me @ 1:26pm. I don’t mean shops giving away equipment, I mean using it to print Flyers/CDs ETC.
    Peace Always

262. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Picking them up Boss.

Thanks, Peace Always

263. Ruglonian

Repeating my message from a few days ago for folks that may have missed it –
    This Saturday (14th) I’m hosting a wee Wings gathering at my home in Rutherglen before I move, and I’m extending the invitation to all the Wingers I know.

Let me know if you can attend at gillian.mair80@gmail.com

264. Brian Doonthetoon

A repaste of my ‘Quarantine’ comment.
    —————————————————

Hi Ruglonian.

Where are you moving to?

265. Smallaxe

BDTT:

NHS Post Superb!

Peace Always

266. Nana

Private eye on Blunkett and Leveson
    https://twitter.com/jpublik/status/818824945908195329

In the first of a four-part series, Al Jazeera goes undercover inside the Israel Lobby in Britain
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ceCOhdgRBoc

Land of the free, not

13th amendment documentary trailer. It is on netflix and worth watching.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V66F3WU2CKk

http://prisonuk.blogspot.co.uk/2014/07/forced-labour-and-slavery.html

https://twitter.com/PrisonUK/status/817717690043404288?lang=en

267. Tinto Chiel

Evening, Groovers.

Am I paranoid? I only ask because SWMBO and I recently had a series-binge of Line of Duty (an improvement on Gray’s Lobotomy) on PPV.

It has four Scottish characters.

Number 1 is a Glasgow gangster who corrupts policemen, pimps out under-age girls and is part of a paedophile ring. He spends most of his time shouting “Awaaaaaayyyyy!” and “Ya bent bassstirttt!” down his mobile at random police officers. All this in a ridiculous, guttural accent that would get him chucked out The Doublet for over-acting.

Number 2 is a senior police officer who is deeply corrupt and has sex with under-age girls.

Number 3 is a sleazy social worker/probation officer who tries to force a vulnerable female client to have sex with him for a tenner.

Number 4 is a policewoman who is on the take and corrupts aforesaid female, forcing a big brown envelope bung on her.

Ironically, Greenock’s finest, Martin (“You Yes Yet?) Compston, plays one of the few goodies but has had to ditch his Scottish accent for an estuarial one.

Am I a Touchy Sweaty/Brainwashed Cyber Sep or is there a pattern in all this?

Please advise…..

268. Jock Scot

Happy New Year everyone.
    Straight to the point.. as some of you may know, there is a planned BBC Bias demo at the end of March. I reckon that some of sharpest minds and/or pish rippers can be found here. I mean that in the most complimentary way. If anyone has a desire to be one of the speakers or acts pls let either Ronnie or myself know a.s.a.p.

Cheers.

269. CameronB Brodie

One inspired by Frantz Fanon, the Donald and the Rev.’s twitter feed.

Ike Turner presents the family vibes – Garbage man
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AlvHRT372qw

270. CameronB Brodie

the Rev.โ€™s twitter feed a link from Nana.

https://twitter.com/scottygb/status/819230749316489216

271. Tinto Chiel

@Marie Clark: meant to say earlier the guitar solo in “Sweet Child O’ Mine” is now an exam piece at Higher or Advanced Higher Music, I believe.

272. Marie Clark

My, my, my Tinto, how things have changed since I was at school.

The auld nuns wid hae a fit if you used modern music like that. I well remember The Shirrelles Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow being on the banned list.

Do you think mibies I should go back to school and dae music noo.I just love that song. Mind you I think Axl Rose is a complete arse, but he sure could sing that.

273. Tinto Chiel

Yes, I can see you on lead guitar with perhaps BDTT on bass, Mr I Brotherhood lead vocals and probs Smallaxe on drums.

Quite a beat combo but I’m struggling for a name for it.

Answers please on a post card.

274. K1

The Elastic Aye Band

*coat’s oan*

275. Tinto Chiel

K1: yes, I can see possibilities but almost certain future “musical differences” once the Yoko Ono figure comes along.

Might plump for Rick Wrench and The Spanners…..

276. K1

True, true Tinto…Paula Rose could be problematic later on…

Nah don’t like ‘spanners’ has connotations noo which would be in conflict wi the central theme o’ the ‘sound’. Whit aboot, The Warblin’ Wingers?

277. Tinto Chiel

Take your point. Where is the lovely girl anyway? Hardly ever drops in now.

Must go up Wood Hill to Bedfordshire.

Decisions, decisions.

278. Michael McCabe

@ Tinto Chiel I would like to Suggest the name. The Revs Parish ? for the Beat Combo

279. Paula Rose

I’m always watching Dears – always watching.

280. Nana

Land of the free, not

Documentary on prison slavery in the US, available on netflix. Trailer below,

13th
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V66F3WU2CKk

https://twitter.com/PrisonUK/status/817717690043404288?lang=en

281. Tinto Chiel

That would only work, Michael, if we could get the Rev himself on synths and maracas with gorgeous, pouting Paula Rose in the Stevie Nicks role.

Have provisionally planned their Great North Road Tour, including Golspie, Embo and Brora with Wick option.

Hope this Vick doesn’t wear off any time soon.

282. Stoker

Have a read folks. Quite a few items of interest, not least of all their claim that BBC Radio Scotland listener figures are up. Strange how they can tell us that but they suddenly start seeing pink squirrels when asked for individual news and current affairs figures. Och well the truth will out i suppose, eventually!

BBC TRUST – Scotland Annual Review 2015-16
    http://archive.is/AN0wx

283. Stoker

I see several Wingers have made reference to the much touted new BBC 2 current affairs programme over on the main threads. This from the BBC Text service (Scotland):

BBC Scotland to launch new programme
    “BBC Scotland has announced details of a new weekly current affairs programme. Starting on 26 January, Timeline will be broadcast live between 19:30 and 20:00 each Thursday on BBC Two Scotland. It will be jointly presented by the BBC’s Glenn Campbell and Shereen Nanjiani. The head of news at BBC Scotland, Gary Smith, said Timeline would be the weekly centrepiece of a new engagement with our audience.”

All you need to know about Gary Smith:
    http://archive.is/btBJ9

As for the presenters of Timeline, that will be the same Glenn Campbell who misled Scottish viewers over Slabbers membership numbers on 4 November 2014, during a BBC Radio Scotland Newsdrive programme.

Further investigation revealed he was using the only figures the BBC had available, figures from 2007. Campbell informed Newsdrive listeners that Scottish Labour had over 13000 members.

Two weeks later, on 19 November 2014, BBC Chief Political Correspondent Laura Kuenssberg threw a couple of Jacks magic beans into the mix when she informed readers of a BBC UK Politics article that Scottish Labours membership was under 17000. She, apparently, was using the same source as Campbell. Work that one out folks!

OH AYE! The very same Glenn Campbell who stood on the steps at Holyrood and tore up a copy of the SNP’s manifesto quite gleefully for the cameras.
    http://archive.is/4ITRO

284. Fred

@ Stoker, the Campbell’s urnae aw bad!

285. Stoker

Ah ken, Fred, but am no a big fan ae thur soups tho!
    ๐Ÿ˜€
    ________

Bigchib (aka Smallaxe) has went offy quiet, hope all is well.

286. Smallaxe

Just popped in, busy at the moment

Tinto, Fred: Name of Band, my suggestion.

“Malt Barley and the Thalers”

The thaler was a silver coin used throughout Europe for almost four hundred years.

“thaler” is a person or a thing “from the valley” (Clyde Valley?)
    ——————————————————————-
    Stoker: Thanks for links, Sorry I missed you last night.

Peace to All

287. Andrew Mclean

Aye Small axe are you good mate?

Thanks for the kind support on the main thread Billy, It means a lot.

Take care

Andrew

288. Smallaxe

Stoker:

I just noticed your post as I refreshed the page, thank you, no cause for concern Boss. I’m O.K. Peace Always

289. Smallaxe

Andrew:

Refreshed page again and there you were!

Support for you Always Brother, my own grandfather was shot twice and gassed at Ypres 1917/1918. I have said before, I was named after him and was heartbroken when he died when I was 16yrs old.He was my Hero.

Peace and Love, Billy

290. Tinto Chiel

Thanks for the suggestion, Smallaxe. Will take it to Avizandum (he’s a wee fella who lives in Shotts).

Still ok to beat the skins or do you want to spank your plank front of band?

Feeling all Andrew Loog Oldham today…..

291. Fred

This is way above ma heid, thalers & plank spankin! Murdo Fraser, noo there’s a plank that needs spankin!
    FMQT, today he was abysmal, I thought James Kelly was thick.

292. Nana

A request on behalf of inform Scotland.

I am snowed under right now and don’t have time to search for specific bbc bias articles so I ask wingers who come across any to please forward them to inform scotland facebook page https://www.facebook.com/Inform-Scotland-1969903196569754/

The folks who are running the website and getting the billboard campaign up and running will be very grateful.

293. Stoker

Thaler for thale or rent, roomth to let, fifty thenth….

294. Stoker

WOS Archives for January 2013

295. Lollysmum

@briandoonthetoon
    Hi Brian thanks for the rapid replies on 5th Jan. I’d already run the searches you’d suggested but no joy there. Eventually managed to get an adapter via ebay via a hint I found on a 2007 forum post so desktop pc is now up & running again thankfully. No ,I know I wouldn’t have lost the info it’s just that I had no intention of replacing the desktop so wouldn’t have been able to install the drive as slave in another pc.

Anyway, the workaround I found works well & I have a spare used but working graphics card tucked away just in case from ebay ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks for trying to help.

296. Lollysmum

@Stoker
    Thanks for your reply on 6th Jan-names & addresses of Borders IT firms now in my contacts lists. Thanks for taking the trouble to find & post them. Managed to fix the problem myself so all is well …. for now ๐Ÿ™‚

297. Tinto Chiel

@Stoker 4.54 pm:

Thooperb.

๐Ÿ˜›

298. Smallaxe

Thtoker:

Thanks tho much, Both, thooper!

Peath Alwayths

๐Ÿ™‚

299. Ed t head

Has anybody got any idea on brexit it’s all talk but it has fu**** the country before it started is May power tripping like the song (the almighty) or just lost and looking for a way out to stop the banks and Scotland leaving not forgetting Ni leaving , it’s what the little Englander wants.

300. Ruglonian

Hey Brian, I’m still staying in Rutherglen – wouldn’t want to have to change my name ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’ve bought a bigger house (a bit of a fixer-upper) so I’ll be able to host a bigger Wings party next time ๐Ÿ™‚

301. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Picken’ them up Boss!

Thanks, Stoker. Peace Always

302. Tinto Chiel

Evening, sophisticates.

Still blows my mind, what’s left of it.

And the drummer cam drum.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZBlqcbpmxY

303. Tinto Chiel

Och, I know, it’s my age, but I don’t care:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1QihWLLKGY

304. Tinto Chiel

Gonnae do a Cactus:

Scotland: feel free yet?

EH?

305. Brian Doonthetoon

I came across this when I was seeking something else at the Internet Archive. Thought that some of yooz may enjoy. Here’s the preamble from the introductory page. BTW: “The 3Js” was a web forum run by DC Thomson, from around 1999 until a few years ago. It was deleted when Brightsolid took over DCT’s IT requirements. Mostly it was populated by Dundee emigrants to Canada, Australia, and so on.

“For those who don’t know, WeeYin is not Dundonian. He originates from “the west coast” (the Glasgow area) and is now living “somewhere in Newfoundland”. He stumbled into the 3js one day, at some time in the past, and his unique sense of humour led to his adoption as the “pet” non Dundonian.”

http://web.archive.org/web/20081017032430/http://www.doonthetoon.ukf.net/weeyin/weeyin01.htm

306. Cactus

Aweright TC bro ~

Aye, SO, dae ye, feel free, yet.. Scotland?

Tinto Chiel called it ๐Ÿ™‚

I do.

307. Stoker

Lollysmum on 12 January, 2017 at 5:05 pm:

No problem! We can’t have a fellow indy supporter out the game.
    Glad you sorted it, now i know who to contact with my tech probs.
    ๐Ÿ˜‰
    ________

Nana on 12 January, 2017 at 3:11 pm:

Many of us don’t do facebook, myself included, so anything i come across will need to be picked up here on O/T by one of the Inform Scotland team.

This facility might be of some use to them:
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/onthisday/hi/themes/default.stm

308. Tinto Chiel

And now for something completely different.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h655vsb5v0w

Crazy, but a jaunty little number.

That tumbleweed thread was like Off Topic on speed.

They’re all mad, mad I tell you.

309. Tinto Chiel

And now for something completely different.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h655vsb5v0w

Crazy, but a jaunty little number.

That tumbleweed thread was like Off Topic on speed, non?

They’re all mad, mad I tell you.

310. Tinto Chiel

Ooops! It said we were posting too quickly…..

311. Tinto Chiel

Sorry it said, “You (pl.) are posting comments too quickly.”

And so I retried…..

There’s a lesson there for all of us.

312. Stoker

WOS Archives for January 2013

A New Jerusalem
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/a-new-jerusalem/#more-25969

Selective hearing
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/selective-hearing/#more-30242

And finally…#23
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/and-finally-23/#comments

The siren song of opposition
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-siren-song-of-opposition/#more-30165

313. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Picked them up, Boss
    Thank you, Peace Always

314. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Your posting to quickly! SLOW DOWN

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z1Reuyu9e_o

Peace Always

315. Tinto Chiel

You’re right, Smallaxe. Getting impatient.

I get the feeling you’ve a book in you re. your London days. Wish you would set some of them down.

Hey, Cactus: I meant to say I met you the Night of Murphy’s Shame outside the Glasgow Central Hotel for the BLiS______d gala dinner, when you were holding the Wings banner and announced your name. I was the old weirdo in the fedora who started talking to you. Laura Bicker was there that night and got a bit of stick. And then Jimbo taunted us so much with his food bank “donation” that the Glesca Polis got annoyed with him.

Change is going to come, my friends.

316. Tinto Chiel

Wow, what a voice! Dig the off beats and native American vibe:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rYEDA3JcQqw

Independence: are we there yet?

317. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel says:
    14 January, 2017 at 8:27 pm
    “Youโ€™re right, Smallaxe. Getting impatient.”

“I get the feeling youโ€™ve a book in you re. your London days. Wish you would set some of them down.”

So does the MET, MI5/6/SIS,/GCHQ,/ Menwith Hill/DFID/MDP. The Salvation Army, Blue Peter, High and Mighty. And the Mental Health Review Board.

The book will be out soon “Mien Banff”

Peace Always

318. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

Didn’t realise you’d been at the SLab Grand Central demo. We must’ve crossed paths. Laura The Bicker looked particularly uncomfortable, but hey, no matter, she’s off to fry bigger fish noo…

If only Jim The Murphy had taken our loud advice that night, he wouldn’t have had to go and waste a good white shirt (as well as his career).

319. Cactus

Hey Tinto C ~

Aye aye twas a grand day.. we did good.

Best bit was the polis dugs barking TO oor chant, IB knows ๐Ÿ™‚

The first time and only time I’ve met Mr Doig too.. remember G?

320. Cactus

Aweright Ed t head ~

Good call with the Powertrippin’, ye used tae see Stumpy in The Solid fae time tae time.

Here’s an Almighty song about where May wants to take us!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PSH11zo2MQ4

Cheers for ur hospitality Gillian, Wings homeshow number one.
    X.

321. Cactus

One spurs on the next..

322. Smallaxe

You ain’t seen nothin’ yet:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cFRk0FfaQi0

Peace Always

323. Tinto Chiel

Morning, all.

Enjoyed the reminiscences re. The Smurphoid. I met lots of people that night but didn’t swap names at the time, including a big Cockney-sounding fella who asked about a Common Weal badge I was wearing. It was only that night I realised how unspeakably vile we all were: I even saw one of our seething mob helping a blind woman cross Gordon Street. Unspeakable.

Wonder if dear old Captain Sensible Dave was there, a chiel amang us takin notes? Or does he only exist in Cyberworld?

Smallaxe, I was lurking on the MT just there and realised you had been up on border guard duty all last night. Look after yourself. I’ve got Mrs TC knitting some Fair Isle mittens and I’m borrowing Nana’s drone to do a beef tea drop about noon.

Doesn’t that Original Robber Baron, the Duke of Buccleuch, have land in your area? If so, beware mantraps, my friend. And yon wee yella monkey in Drumlanrig (no, not wee Fluffy).

324. Tinto Chiel

This one’s for the duke, btw. Aren’t historical parallels fascinating?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5FvkJAS4rI8

No sniggering at the back…

325. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Looking forward to the mittens and beef tea, as for The Duke of Buccleuch, between him, the Douglas’s and the first Earl of Queensberry (He of the Queensberry rules), not forgetting Steve Ovett who bought Kinmount House at one time and Oscar Wilde who used to frequent the area, I couldn’t give a long tails arse.

I will have my venison, salmon, grouse, pheasant, rabbit, anytime I am feeling a tad peckish. I just wish the bastards would stop shooting Raptors, Magpies and Jays etc as it pisses me off. I used to watch these people and their friends arriving, for a days “Fun” shooting anything that moved, and their disgusting “Sport” of hare coursing.

I wonder where these people got permission to drive in convoy from England with their cars adorned with Antlers on the bonnets of their cars when ordinary punters couldn’t have a Jaguar or any other motif on theirs unless it passed safety regs. Sorry for the rant my good friend but I take only what I and my friends and family can eat. NOT “Oh that was a jolly good day I bagged 127 Pheasants” I would make them eat the lot at one sitting!Feathers an’ All!!

Peace always

326. Tinto Chiel

Quite understand, Smallaxe. Feeling a bit peevish and uncharitable myself today, for which apologies

“They create a desert and call it peace” indeed.

327. Fred

Thanks for the O.C.Smith number guys, old memories.

Anent his Grace the Double Duke of Buccleuch/Queensberry, his predecessor attended Hitler’s 50th birthday bash I believe & both himself & his brother were smitten by National Socialism. Of course once war broke out the Swastika was swapped for the Union Jack.

328. Tinto Chiel

Had there been a Nazi invasion I think most of the “nobility” would have accommodated the new regime without much difficulty, Fred. I’ve got in my faves somewhere a list of those considered at the time to be dodgy but my eye’s missing it just now.

I think the last time I saw a hen-harrier (female) was in the hills above Loch Muick. That was The Day We Meet Camilla (and her two very attractive female bodyguards, who were packing heat: firearms, not the magazine). Alan Plater-style play-script to follow.

Maybe ‘cos Charlie’s all green ‘n’ that they don’t quite blast them all to kingdom come on the Balmoral estate.

329. Tinto Chiel

Found it, I think.

And yet they traduced Arthur Donaldson!

http://www.rense.com/ufo6/nazisym.htm

330. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Got em’, thank you, Boss.

Peace Always

331. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel: second attempt!

Sorry Tinto, shortened version of my previous post, I think I may have forgotten to clear the link.

Like you, I was not in good fettle today, I was mourning the fact that I had an invite to the O2 Brixton Academy GiG to celebrate the life of David Bowie and his 70th Birthday. Unfortunately, I was not fit enough to attend Last Sunday.

I was just coming to terms with that disappointment this morning when I received an e-mail inviting me to a John Mayall gig at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz club in Soho, (Tuesday 4th April 2017 – Thursday 6th April).All expenses paid.

I’m not normally a pessimist but this will be a great chance for me and a few old friends to get together all in the one place at the same time which is usually few and far between. I am praying to every Deity that exists that I will be able to get there.

Here’s what I could Have won!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cn9lqHCLwl4

Parrot, as, a, sick. Rearrange this well-known phra…. sob, snotters gnashing of teeth. ๐Ÿ™

Peace Always sob, greet, mair, snotters

332. Shinty

Help please, don’t want to interrupt the main thread.

Used to be able to change text to italics, bold or underscore but these options no longer appear when I try to write a comment.

Any suggestions?

Cheers.

333. Tinto Chiel

Ronnie Scott’s, Smallaxe? Wow, that would be great. I hope you can get down there to kick up a little dust. Wishing you all the best, my friend.

Have been a bit dyspeptic myself today, but that’s what the aristocracy does to me. I learned a lot from my sojourns on Skye when I was young and beautiful in the 70s and it’s never left me. God knows what the true Gaels must think of them, people who suffered first-hand. Waterloo near Breakish was originally land given to survivors of the battle. Beautiful views of Broadford Bay, but God knows how you fed a family from such thin soil.

Shinty, I’ve never been able to do that fancy stuff in the standard comment field. Probably my lack of IT skills, but you might be better to cut and paste a Word document or equivalent where you can do all that refined stuff.

334. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Thanks, hope I can make it.Waterloo, as you say nobody can eat a view.

Shinty: Sorry but I can’t help either.Brian Doonthetoon or K1 may be along to help.

Peace Always

335. K1

Shinty?

The wee arrows (chevrons) above comma and full stop on yer keyboard.

Greater than, less than.

Type less than sign then either b, i, sorry I don’t know the underline letter to use, then type the greater than sign. Write what you want to write and at the end of that type less than followed by / then the letter b, I, then greater than sign. You will see the results below the text box as you do it.

So bold
    So italic

BDDT (ah think) you used to have a link to WordPress factsheet thingy with these ‘how to’ bits and bobs, any chance you could repost when ye have a moment? Also, trying to do underline using the letter u between tags to no affect, bit strange, am I using the wrong letter?

336. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: “Nobody can eat a view.”

Or, as the NAs said (or did they?):

http://quoteinvestigator.com/2011/10/20/last-tree-cut/

I’ve been reading a lot about Custer and Sitting Bull and Little Bighorn, Smallaxe, and have decided I’m a Sioux Indian.

My cathedral is the natural world.

A Scottish wildwood in May is my vision of heaven.

These things keep me going, the things that will outlive us all.

The ineffable, every day.

337. Smallaxe

Tinto:

As you walk through the forest, take only what you need and leave nothing but footprints.

Smallaxe last of the Govan Stanklifters

Peace Always

338. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: understood, completely, mon vieux.

Ah’m no’ a hippy, btw!

Heeheehee!

I await the return of the willow warbler and the chaste blooming of moschatel (poetry).

Sleep well, my friend.

339. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Only when we are fully awake, can our dreams become reality

Peace Always

340. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi K1.

The only WordPress bookmark I could find was to do with smilies.

https://codex.wordpress.org/Using_Smilies

RE: BOLD and ITALICS.

The tags for bold and italics use the two chevrons – ‘less than’ and ‘greater than’ which you get by either SHIFT-COMMA or SHIFT-PERIOD.

In the following examples, I’ve used the square brackets as substitutes for the chevrons. YOU would use the chevrons to make them active.
    Remember, you can always check that your comment is appearing as you want it, by referring to the preview text BELOW the comment input box.

To embolden text, you use [b] at the start of the appropriate text and [/b] at the end. So

Blah di blah [b]rhubarb, rhubarb[/b] blah di blah

would embolden rhubarb , rhubarb. BTW: that’s a forward slash in the closing tags. If you wanted the text in italics, you would substitute i for b.

If you wanted Rhubarb, rhubarb to be both bold AND italics, you would add in the other tags. Like,

Blah di blah [b][i]rhubarb, rhubarb[/b][/i] blah di blah

This is what I use when I’m quoting a comment that I’m replying to, as you can see in the example here.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-flexibility-of-figures/comment-page-1/#comment-2219788

The rule should be – always check the preview below the comment box, for typo’s, correct appearance and so on, BEFORE you click on the “Submit Comment” box.

341. K1

Thanks BTTD, that’s the one, I thought it had the instructions for underline and bold etc, must’ve been some other WordPress article I had read but can no longer find, thanks.

Hopefully some of this will aid you Shinty.

342. Shinty

Many thanks for the info. (I’m sure the site used to have little icons above the comment box which made it really easy)

Also, re Native Americans I believe a Scot became a Cherokee Chief John Ross if I remember correctly.

343. Shinty

Apologies on last post -John Ross’s father was Scottish, John Ross himself was born in the states.

344. Smallaxe

A wee song for Indians,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P615vAhkUlU

Peace Always

345. carjamtic

smallaxe

Let’s go for an imaginary jolly….Pat’s Bar (La Costiera),Diall Inn,Howff,Electric Gardens…long walk (float) hame.

That was braw (missed a couple of watering holes am sure).

๐Ÿ˜‰

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uLp0NQKzwOI

346. Tinto Chiel

Thank you BDTT and K1.

Every day is a school day indeed.

347. Tinto Chiel

I see Cactus on the MT is asking us to use the horn when passing the new billboards.

This song came into my head:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-j6muYHRX90&list=RD-j6muYHRX90

Might take a drive and have a wee look.

348. Smallaxe

carjamtic:

“Crazy Daisy” “The Maggie”, “The Babbity Bowser” and for a dance in the dark, “The Maryland”.Moving east, “The El Paso” (The Caravel) then up to Easterhouse to the pub withoot windaes “The Casbah”.Moving down to the Gallogate “The Market Hotel”. Next morning “The Blochairn Tavern” (The Budgie) for some hair of the dog at 8am.

In the very early days can anyone but me remember the place where we used to go in on a Friday night and come back out, blinking in the Monday morning daylight “The Tomb” in Cochran street, just off Freedom Square.

My God, what have I done with my life, that’s just some of them. I’ve got a hangover just writing this.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

349. Smallaxe

It’s the same old song: I meant to leave this on the last post.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uS2nWLz-AbE
    Peace Always

350. Fred

The Cafรฉ Club in Baillieston, Darkest Lanarkshire.

How come, if you leave nothing but footprints in the woods, Ray Mears is a fat bastard!

351. carjamtic

CELTIC sign STURGEON !

No more surprises left,is there ?

(Fabio Miguel dos Santos Sturgeon)

Football transfer ‘silly season’ is here again,(yawn)but this headline did make me laugh,Portuguese player apparently;-)….and only a rumour.

Smallaxe some Classic watering holes on that list,the story went at the time,The Budgie just got it’s licence for opening early doors,place is packed,some BBC journo thought it would be a ‘good’ story to pop along and interview a few of the punters,get their thoughts on this ‘initiative’.

Never seen a bar empty as quick,lads should have at their work,at home,or anywhere but in a pub at 08:00 am……the manager was fuming,BBC had to pay him compen for loss of business.

They have not improved much,if any on the logical thinking bit.

๐Ÿ˜‰

352. Smallaxe

Fred:

The Cafe Club, good for a game of snooker, The Auld Hoose Wisnae a bad pub either, further doon The Barrachnie was OK but if you wanted a pint in the lounge of the Clachan you had to have your own tankard.Over the hill takes (or used to) you to the Golden Gates Hotel, when I drank in there a pint of lager was 2/6p, 8 pints for a pound, Magic.

Ray Mears wears snow shoes.

carjamtic:

The Budgie story is true and by law, you had to buy a breakfast before they would serve you. The BBC owe me for a breakfast that I had to leave when I made a fast break for the door ๐Ÿ™‚ see what I did there?

Peace Always Guys

353. Meg merrilees

Blah d blah rhubarb and eggs are for woosers so there

Briandoonthetoon thank you just learned how to do this. How exciting … you can’t fail to be impressed by my posts from now on folks…

354. Stoker

Hi Meg, and others interested in this wee project.

First of all, i’ve no idea the best way to go about this. Suppose it really comes down to how many folk get involved and what the majority want to run with.

I’m not that keen on the beer mat idea due to a lack of proper info on such a small space. I was thinking more along the lines of A5 size card or (my preference) a quarterly WOS Newsletter.

The Newsletter would only be possible if we got enough people on board and the Rev’s go-ahead. The A5 card could fit ample info, using both sides, on any given issue. And we could create a series of X-amount of issues, EG; Health, Defence, Liars (although we obviously wouldn’t use such harsh language) and Oil etc etc.

I see 2 ways of distributing them:
    1: We get them produced for distribution from the WOS events stall and sell them at 5p or 10p per card.
    AND/OR
    2: We all use the template which, with the Rev’s approval and help, we get put up here on the site and get our own cards printed off for distribution around our own areas.

Please note folks, this is not set in stone, it’s just some ideas i’m throwing out there to get the ball rolling because we really need to start educating with facts which will then be reinforced and backed up when WBB2 hits the doors.

I see 2 poss

355. Fred

@ Smallaxe, there was a free bus out to the Griffin? at Bothwell on a Sunday, the same wummin sang “Who did ye see at the Isle of Man honey oh honey!” every week without fail, I think you had to buy a sausage roll.

The haunted Baillieston pub is the Thistle, downed a few spirits there masel.

356. Andrew McLean

tried to post a song, but it wont let me

Mamie Galore – It Ain’t Necessary

youtube it

Small Axe, you need not, you know where to look!

357. Andrew McLean

Any Wingers going to the misreporting Scotland add van in fife tomorrow afternoon?

358. Smallaxe

Fred:

I remember the Griffin well, A sausage roll and a night of dancing, trying to get lucky with a lumber and you had to wear a tie or they didnae let you in.

Peace Always

359. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

Putting on Northern Soul, you’ve been reading my mail! I used to have N. Soul nights when I ran a club in Swindon.

Peace Always

360. Tinto Chiel

Anyone else remember this kid’s programme from the 60s? It was shown in 15 min. episodes for quite a few weeks before the 6 o’clock Lies from the BBC News. Except we didn’t think Richard Baker would tell us porkies. All about a wee boy and his dog in the French Alps and some smugglers.

I bought the old boxed set three years ago and it was charming. Gaumont did a remake in 2013. This is the longer version of the original. It doesn’t have quite the impact but is still pretty good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MEQCacAfJUI&list=PLlw8h1WG-JhmSy2qZ9kQoLb7qVjFPxoJ3&index=23

More innocent days? Maybe it was just us.

361. Stoker

From the WOS Archives of Feb 2013 – Just wanted to include this one tonight because i think the artwork is a cracker ๐Ÿ˜€
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/8-days-later/#more-29698

362. Smallaxe

Stoker:

The last one’s a cracker. ๐Ÿ™‚

Thank you, Boss
    Peace Always

363. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Having been brought up in the East End of Glasgow I was into harder stuff than that.Don’t watch if you are easily frightened!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f9MxaUFBvuA

Peace Always

364. Tinto Chiel

Ha! Ha! Smallaxe: I think I can vaguely remember that. I liked Rubovia too but it looks vaguely sinister now. Weird!

When I was a student, I got a summer job in Green Street DHSS in Brigton for three years. I would get the 70 or 71 bus down from EK and do my clerical stuff. Once, when delivering files out front to a CO, one of the clients made a razor slash sign across his face, but that was just a joke/bravado, I think. People there were very kind to me.

My most onerous tasks were a) going to the wee dairy in Abercrombie Street for our massive gammon roll and soup order and b) being the muscle (no laughing, please) when the clerkess and I took the giros to the post office.

I judge a section in the Bridgeton Burns Club every December in St Mungo’s and the kids from all over the East End are an inspiration. One of the best winners this year was a Scots girl of Asian descent. Her Scots recitation was faultless and really brought the poem to life. “The kids are all right.”

Stoker: great graphic but now the wee Wings boat would look like a battleship. And the shark would be in its death throes (I hope). Great stuff.

365. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, carjamtic: need to consult the experts.

Do you remember a strange wee bar on the right at the bottom of Abercrombie Street? It had no windows and a roller shutter door. Was it the Arcadia Bar?

I believe the strange tincture known as White Tornado (so called from the white plastic bottles used to house the brew) were supplied from some drinking dens in the area.

Seems so long ago now, and probs just as well.

366. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

The only pub that I remember in that area was the Black Bull, there was another pub further down the street that sat on the corner but I can’t remember the name. I will try and access my memory banks and let you know if I come up with anything.

Peace Always

367. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Was it near Belvidere hospital?

Peace Always

368. Tinto Chiel

Up on Duke Street? No, it was down almost at the junction of Abercrombie and London Road, Smallaxe, opp. old Calton Cemetery. Of course, it may have had another name in the 70s or before.

That dairy I mentioned did wonderful rolls and gammon (just across and down from the Catholic church and presbytery).

Doesn’t really matter much now, I suppose, just an idle query.

Dinnae fash.

369. carjamtic

Tinto

Memories are sometimes a wee bit ‘hazy’ on these walkabouts,don’t recall going for a pint there.

(anyways,check this link.an old pub crawlers guide to the ‘wild side of life’).

Did you get a poke wae yer gammon roll ?

http://oldglasgowpubs.co.uk/abercrombystreet.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7rIcyLOkpKk

370. Tinto Chiel

Carjamtic: fascinating stuff. When the train from Hamilton hit the long Canning Street tunnel I used to think, “Where is Canning Street?”. Now I know.

It has just come to me: The New Monaco Bar in ARCADIA STREET.

My brain cells got there eventually.

Thanks both.

371. Tinto Chiel

And yes, we got several pokes, Carjamtic, because the order was so big.

Civil servants have to eat, you know. ๐Ÿ˜‰

The funny thing was that the brothels in Greenhead Street by The Green were still caused “bawdy houses” by some of the DHSS staff. I expected Falstaff to fall out of one with a glass of sack in his hand.

372. Fred

It was the Manky Bar in the local patois!

373. Fred

Posted this but it vanished. The Manky Bar was the local name! ๐Ÿ™‚

374. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Fred.

I can sleep better tonight now I have slain the beast of uncertainty.

Signed,

Manky Boy.

๐Ÿ˜›

375. Brian Doonthetoon

All this typing about Glasgow pubs got my brain remembering some research I did last year. I can’t remember if I posted info in ‘off-topic’ so I’ll do it now. Strike me with a wet noodle if I’m repeating myself from months ago!

In the following, quotes from web sites are emboldened italics, for clarity. I may have to split the links over two posts, as I think there is a limit of three or four links per comment.

“I mentioned earlier that just two buildings are known to have survived from the time before Grahamston was annexed by the city of Glasgow. One is the building now partly occupied by the Grant Arms. The other is the building at 59 Union Street where the Rennie Mackintosh Hotel now occupies the upper four floors.”

You can see the Grant Arms if you go to this Google Street View of Argyle Street:-

https://goo.gl/maps/383E9duBZ9A2

Onnyhoo,

“The opening of the Royal Exchange in 1829/30 and the Corn Exchange in 1843 ushered in a new era of confidence to Glasgow. The city continued to march westward and there was stiff competition for the best sites to the west of Union Street.
    Grahamston began to change rapidly. An 1853 panorama of Glasgow shows Grahamston to be a bustling place with many businesses and tenement houses. St Columba’s Gaelic Church is prominent and there is a tall chimney belching black smoke.

The 1871 Glasgow Post Office Directory lists nearly 300 businesses in Grahamston including the offices of the Calcutta Line, the Bombay Line and numerous shipbrokers. There were merchants, agents, tobacconists, chemists, writers, brass-founders, tailors, ironmongers, public houses and distillers catering to the needs of local people and travellers.
    Gone were the market gardens and the only remaining echoes of Grahamston’s rural past were the numerous corn factors and grain merchants, mainly located in Hope Street and Alston Street.

By the end of that decade Grahamston was to change even more dramatically. On 1 August 1879 the Caledonian Railway Company opened Central Station at its new terminus on the north side of the River Clyde. (Its services had previously terminated at Bridge Street Station on the south side.)

About seventy-five per cent of Grahamston was demolished to make way for the station although the west side, including St Columba’s Church, was untouched. This was a temporary reprieve because the station had to be extended twenty years later necessitating the demolition of the surviving Grahamston area. Grahamston had been obliterated except for two buildings, known as the Grant Arms and the Duncan’s Hotel building, which survive to this day.”

I found this whole thing fascinating. I talked to my brother Graham, who has lived in Glasgow for years and he had never heard of Grahamston. (Ronnie Anderson hadn’t heard of it either.)

“Grahamston is a forgotten piece of Glasgow history. It vanished beneath the foundations of Glasgow Central Station more than 100 years ago, but its memory lives on in buildings, in street patterns and not least in the urban legend of an abandoned village beneath the platforms of Scotlandโ€™s busiest railway station.”

“Anyone travelling by train today from the southern countries of Britain is likely to come into Glasgow Central Station on Platform 3. As they step out of the train they will be directly above the line of the old Alston Street.”

Onnyhoo, as I typed, I found the whole thing fascinating. I’ll stick the links in here, for the info I gleaned last year.
    BTW: re the book mentioned.
    I had a look on Amazon a few months ago, to find it was going for around ยฃ80. I’ve just done a quick Google search and it doesn’t seem to be available anywhere at the moment.

http://www.grahamston.com/

http://www.theglasgowstory.com/story/?id=TGSDG12

http://www.abandonedcommunities.co.uk/grahamston.html

Last couple of links to follow…

376. Andrew Mclean

Small axe,
    Reading your mail is easy if you click on links, I even found out that the Rev actually, and you would not believe this, but it’s so true, lives in omg Bath!

any way

I don’t ever post links like that!

377. Brian Doonthetoon

Just to make it clear, Andrew McLean…

The Rev lives in The City Of Bath not just in any bath that happenes to empty of water and bodies…

378. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel: Fred:

I’m so pleased, I have been wandering the streets of Glasgow in my mind.I have been mugged twice and approached by women asking if I wanted a good time.The Manky Monaco, Tinto, I’m surprised at you, really!I suppose we will be hearing about your adventures in the Saracen head next.

Alls well that ends well, I suppose.
    Sleep well, my Manky friends. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

379. Tinto Chiel

BDTT: yes, I remember your posting and it was v. interesting. I reckon if you combine yours with the link on my 10.33 you could get an interesting picture.

Doesn’t quite solve the problem: where could you take a windswept and winsome young lady for a cocktail east of Glasgow Cross?

Any WAWYLs with a story to tell?

Paula Rose: you’re much too young to comment ๐Ÿ˜€

Shameless, me.

Mine’s a Gibson.

380. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: sorry to disappoint. I was a good boy, honest. Went to EK Old Parish Sunday School and everything!

Fell among thieves, yer honour…..

Bringing in the sheaves, bringing in the sheaves.

Night all. Great fun.

381. Smallaxe

I will have to type quicker, I was answering Tinto and Fred, refresh and up pops another two posts.Every day a school day on here, Brian, where do you find the time? Andrew, Bath, shower or jacuzzi, what next!

Peace Always

382. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

A firing of the investigatory glands, then a night at a loose end, followed by saving, then regurgitating via copy/paste.

Vwallah, as they say in Poland.

383. Smallaxe

Hi Brian.

HOW! I mean HOW! did you manage to get in front of another post of mine, that suspiciously hasn’t appeared, I will post it again.DONT touch a keyboard, that goes for everybody.

Peace Always

384. Andrew Mclean

Nope it won’t post,
    For everyone else we have
    Northern Soul / Nine Times Out Of Ten By Muriel Day

Classic Northern Soul -Judy Street What All you tube

385. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

What did I just say! Stop that immediately.

Peace Always

386. Andrew Mclean

There was I all soulful and you lowered the tone! Billy!,,
    ๐Ÿ™‚

387. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Andra.

Here you are:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G5KyypHa400

This is one that had not been presented to me (as a DJ) as Northern Soul – I found it on a compilation album in the early 70s and recognised it as following the genre, IE uptempo, repetitive beat, with strong snare and the tinkle bells…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=idKIwoS-b2E

388. Andrew Mclean

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_NqNcAg4oDU

Dancers in the room!

389. Andrew Mclean

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j1pastNY9oQ

You need wings to dance like this:)

390. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:
    I think at least one of these is yours Andrew

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K9QNw9Dl5e8
    http://www.youtube.com/user/LakeStreetDive
    Peace Always

391. Andrew Mclean

Small axe
    Thanks brother, that Muriel Day track, it’s the start of the boy from New York City? First few bars?

392. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

You’re speed reading ‘off=topic and missin’ stuff, iye? You offered Andra,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K9QNw9Dl5e8

I’d already offered him

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G5KyypHa400

at 12.12am. “I’m hurt”, he typed, with a shrug of the shoulders, having gone through a life of being misheard or not heard…

393. Smallaxe

BDTT:

Speed reading, maybe, slow typing definitely Brian, also I’m still reading half of the stuff that you have put on here since “the end of the internet” ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

394. Brian Doonthetoon

And furthermore, as I have reached that point of the evening where I am not picking up my own typo’s (โ€˜off=topic), I feel it ill behoves me not to turn in, as I must earn shekels tomorrow.

“Night all.”, said Sergeant Dixon.

395. K1

Ach he didnae mean it though BDDT…fact is ye cannae tell whit the track is just by the link…ah noticed it though in response to Andrew’s lament…so yer no misheard by abdy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

396. Andrew Mclean

I am absolutely knackerd from all that dancing!
    ๐Ÿ™‚

397. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

This boy Andrew,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R8vxGmPfuHQ

Peace Always

398. Smallaxe

BDTT:
    Goodnight my friend.

K1: Hi, have you just popped over for a rest? My melon is well and truly twisted trying to keep up here, while I’m practising chainsaw juggling for North Britains got mair talent.

Peace Always

399. Andrew Mclean

Hey small axe,
    I get the link,
    It’s the back beat in the chorus , darts and Roy, be dum dum!
    Don’t I get a prize!
    ๐Ÿ™‚

400. K1

Di ye think am goin’ oan too much in the main threads Billy? Ah always keep the off topic tab open…multiviewin’ tabs has become a necessity what wi aw the Wings threads, Nana’s links, watching indylive, keepin’ up wi Rev’s twitter it’s a wunner any of us is still sane…and we’ve aw got mair melon twisting coming oor way…off topic’s a wee haven and a good laugh though eh? ๐Ÿ™‚

401. Smallaxe

For Neil “Annandale Observer” Oliver

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7dyl0j3WU6Y

Hair Peace

402. Smallaxe

K1:

I stay over here mainly, as you will notice, because of the medication that I take.I’m feart in case ah lose the place awe the gither wi sum o’ them. Your doing a fine job ma freen, keep it up.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3bUTcy6w2Rw

Peace Always

403. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

You have won a speedboat, Andrew.
    Here’s what you could have won
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O_BNFHbNm6Y

Peace Always

404. K1

Thank you Billy. Ah think ah do ‘lose the place’ a wee bit at times wi particular ‘attitudes’ from some of the usual suspect. Thank fuck there’s distance and a computer screen between me ‘n them…fortunately I’ve a cat and he distracts me at just the right moments by using his paws to type more appropriate responses. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Take care Billy ๐Ÿ™‚

405. Smallaxe

K1:

You take care also my Friend, I’ll be watching!

Peace Always

406. Liz g

K1 @ 1.50
    Try YouTube….Weird man on Jeremy Kyle 15 Jan 2010…
    While not a fan of that show….
    In my head that’s senseable Dave & chums!

You’re doing fine by the way.

407. Stoker

((((( S.O.S )))))
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MbXWrmQW-OE

Trying to figure out ways of getting Radio Borders through my tv.
    Frustration doesn’t even begin to look at it never mind cover it.
    We might be a man down before the day is over if this continues.
    Can it even be done?

408. Fred

@ Brian, interesting Grahamston stuff, you can get a wee tour of the Central where, a bit like Alice in Wonderland, you go doon a stank & come up the the 19th century!

Post Scriptum, That might be a syver in Dundee!

409. Smallaxe

Creepy Nursery Rhyme: I was looking for something for a friend and this pops up!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ynGBPvDmDSQ

Peace Always

410. Smallaxe

T.May, throwing a lot of respect out to a lot of people. We get to see her wearing a Tartan Jacket. Beware of Wolves in Sheep’s clothing.WEAR WOLF!

411. Chick McGregor

Dash instead of Lash for 24 Dn yesterday.

Arguably as good a fit.

412. Smallaxe

Pope Translation!

A little learning is a dangerous thing
    Drink deep, or taste not!

413. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe at 12.15: that was creepy, like a younger Trump but not so camp.

All those rolls and gammon and Wee Fowlers down the Manky Bar have floored me today. It’s the Band of Hope and Adam’s Wine for me from now on.

Fred, is it no’ a cundie?

414. Fred

Meh peh drapped doon the cundie? Could be kid!

One for the lexicographers.

415. Chick McGregor

Cundie in Dundee, condie in Perth, Brexit in Westminster.

416. Tinto Chiel

Wow! Great map, Smallaxe. Not just the Belvidere address I got wrong, I spelt Abercromby with an “ie “. I have done 150 lines and begun the usual bending exercises.

Is it the stress of Mayhem and her utter arrogance, or the Curse of The White Tornado?

I’m totally cheesed off with all this Brexit nonsense. What’s it going to take for Soft Noes to flip? I suppose only when they experience the dreadful economic consequences, but then, so will everybody else who already know the score and want to get out of this accursed union NOW.

*grinds teeth and begins nervous twitch*

417. Tinto Chiel

Need a dose of Miles and a platform ticket……

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=NF9x3TYF4-k

418. Tinto Chiel

Chic: just noticed.

๐Ÿ˜€

419. Tinto Chiel

Dose of Miles? WotamIsayin’?

Need a lie down!

420. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

It’s getting to us all Tinto we need to remember who we are. Our identity was stolen from us, we have to have it returned, we feel the loss of something that we have never had. We are lost children seeking parents that we have never known and without knowledge of the parents how can we ever know where we came from, or where we’re going.

I feel as if I/we need bereavement counselling. I feel a loss of pride, of self, homeless in my own home a stranger in my own country. I was made to feel like this by people who, try as I might, I cannot bring myself to think of as having any humanity or decency, alien in every way to my way of thinking and acting.I have only one thought, Independence, without it, we shall go the way of all aboriginal people that have had the misfortune to live somewhere that the “British Empire” covets.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kp3pPFjH_Sg

Peace Always

421. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thanks, Boss, ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

422. Tinto Chiel

Quite so, Smallaxe. This Wonderful Union brought us emigration, rural and urban poverty and a massive Cultural Cringe, all which are largely responsible for the alcohol and drug abuse we see all around us.

And it almost worked.

But…

The Game’s a Bogey. The Chain of Despair has snapped. Since the SNP got in at Holyrood they have slowly rebuilt hope and self-respect.

That’s why The Establishment want to stamp all over us.

“Too late, too late, the maiden cried.”

End of days for all that shit, Smallaxe, my friend. I know my daughters will live in better Scotland.

I find that comforting.

423. Tinto Chiel

And now, Miles himself will explain:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kbxtYqA6ypM

Now that does calm me down a bit, Smallaxe.

All the best.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.