In case you haven’t seen this yet

Posted on June 24, 2013 by

So proud of my country and its government. Let’s get this done.

87 to “In case you haven’t seen this yet”

1. Archibald Berwick Melrose [aka Archie]

@ Rev and other teckies. Why do I get a black screen on my browser when a video is posted. Its only on WOS and I am aching, sore and in pain to sort it out.

2. Glessga

It’s good to know that even in these “uncertain” times, the Parliament can bring about something that unites the entire country. Good to know,

3. mogabee

I’ve always been sure it’s the right thing to do. It’s time!!

4. Cath

Good to see some cross-party agreement and something they can manage to not make wholly party political as well for a change. If only the SNP, Lib Dems and Labour at least could act together more often in the best interests of the electorate up here. There isn’t – or shouldn’t be – that much bloody difference between what they all claim to want.

5. MajorBloodnok

Just needs a shot of a Rangers and a Celtic supporter holding hands and it would be perfect.  Great video though.

(Lamont looked a bit soor I thought… caught off guard no doubt.)

YES for Hope!

6. Yesitis

Yes for Love! 🙂

7. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Great words too.

——————-

I never felt like this before
    Try to hold it back and I feel it even more
    Sweat drips down my spine and my knees are weak
    I cannot move, I cannot speak

But then you came and I held it together again
    I managed to stumble through
    Fifty thousand voices singing in the rain
    There’s nothing that I wouldn’t do

[CHORUS]
    ‘Cause I’d move mountains if you asked me to

I’ll swim the seven seas
    I’ll be the one to hold your torch again
    I’ll do anything you ask of me

I never knew how proud I’d feel
    Just standing in the rain.
    These three words mean everything to me
    And I’d sing it again and again.

Well the blue and the white of the flag shines bright
    And it’s blowing there for me.
    With my hand on my heart, the honest truth
    There’s nowhere I’d rather be.

‘Cause I’d move mountains if you asked me to
    I’ll swim the seven seas
    I’ll be the one to hold your torch again
    I’ll do anything you ask of me

8. Peter Macleod

Great video.. I shall be sharing.

It’s greatly amusing to note that the only remotely uncomfortable face in that whole video is Johann Lamont.

I’m not suggesting she’s got a problem with the concept, far as I’m aware all party leaders are behind this legislation at least publicly. But it’s funny nonetheless. She looks like she’s chewing a wasp.

9. cynicalHighlander

Archibald Berwick Melrose [aka Archie]

Try updating Flash Player.

10. Shinty

Time to be proud indeed – great song & great video.

11. Red Squirrel

Brilliant – what an amazing achievement towards a more equal country.

12. mealer

I feel a bit uncomfortable holding my wifes hand in public.Unless I’m abroad on holiday.But I’m right behind this campaign.Its a reasonable proposition,surely.

13. CameronB

Try updating Flash Player.

I’m on Firefox. running the latest Flash, VLC, DivX and Quicktime plug-ins. Still get a black screen with the message “Movie not loaded…”. Even after allowing all the page.

Second thoughts, it might be because I over my limit, so probably best to ignore me. 🙂

14. Roddy Macdonald

Great song and video.

15. pictishbeastie

Aboot time tae! 

16. MajorBloodnok

@CameronB

Impossible! 

17. Tris

Makes me proud…and not a great deal does that.

Well done to Patrick, Johann, Ruth, Willie and Alex and their parties for coming behind this legislation and making it work.

This is what we can do when we work together. I’d buy into Better Together if it was  THIS kind of together.

18. Jiggsbro

Rev and other teckies. Why do I get a black screen on my browser when a video is posted

GCHQ are probably blocking your connection. Known subversive, and all that. Try changing your username to SuitablyServileScot.

19. Anne (@annewitha_e)

as its an SNP bill, JL will naturally want to oppose it. hence soor ploom face. darn they did something good.!

20. CameronB

@ MajorBloodnok
    Not sure how to take that. 😉

21. Lurker in the Wings

The video has been posted on George Takei’s Fb page, great song,  great sentiment and as said above properly better together.
       Nice to have a bit of good news to spread.

22. Martin Cunningham

The song is about the first time she sang Flower of Scotland at Hampden.

23. scottish_skier

Great video, great song.
    Suitably proud of Scotland.

24. Juteman

I hope folk don’t hate me for this, but I can’t watch two men kissing. I fully support the rights of all folk to equality, and understand the issues. My sister is gay, and I have gay male friends.
    But two men kissing is like someone dragging their nail down a blackboard.
    Sorry, but I can’t help the way I am.

25. Turnip_ghost

And how about two women kissing?
    I’m incredibly proud of this and the image of the progressive, inclusive Scotland I hope we will strive towards!

26. Robert Bryce

I’ll eat humble pie and take back everything I said about the “fluffy” positive message.

If I wasn’t a “nat” before then I’m one now!

This is what we can achieve when we do things our way. I’m not gay myself but It’s brought a lump to my throat and a strange welling in my eyes and filled me with an overwhelming feeling of pride in our country.

As the Rev says……….LET’S GET IT DONE!

I’ll away and look oot my saltire boxers for work the morra!! 

27. scottish_skier

The song is about the first time she sang Flower of Scotland at Hampden.

That makes it even cooler. I’ve always liked the song but didn’t realise this!

A song about pride and love, particularly pride in that love. Fitting.

28. sneddon

‘I’ll away and look oot my saltire boxers for work the morra!!’
    Over or under your breeks 🙂

29. Jeannie

Fantastic video – it’s got me greetin’.  This is a subject close to my heart and I’m so proud of my country and my parliament today.  Equal rights for all – how could we possibly accept anything less? 

30. Robert Bryce

sneddon says:

‘I’ll away and look oot my saltire boxers for work the morra!!’Over or under your breeks 

I would tape them to a stick and wave them in the nayser’s faces.

One small problem though……..the whole office are stick on converted Yes voters 🙂 I’ll stick them on over my troosers a la Superman.

31. Doug Daniel

Juteman – fair play to you for supporting it anyway. At least you’re ignoring your gut reaction. My parents feel similar, but they’re not supporting the bill at all (coming out with religious tosh instead). Better to hold your nose than oppose (I’m copyrighting that right now).

Anyway, I feel really proud watching this video. And I have a bit of a soft spot for Amy McDonald’s songs (don’t let my brother-in-law hear me saying that). Anyone else notice the high proportion of indy-supporting celebs? If it wasn’t for the fact they’re always telling us what proud Scots they are, I’d almost think unionists think Scottish Government videos are below them…

Lamont’s face really is a picture though. Rennie and Davidson don’t exactly look the most enthusiastic either come to mention it. As someone else said, I wouldn’t for a second suggest they’re not really in favour of the bill – but I’ll bet they wish it was someone else putting it through parliament! 

32. Eco_Exile

I just wonder how the four leaders holding up “It’s Time” don’t remember that was an old independence slogan
    maybe that’s why big eck raised it with such aplomb!

Love it.

33. Robert Bryce

Jeannie says:

Fantastic video – it’s got me greetin’.  This is a subject close to my heart and I’m so proud of my country and my parliament today.  Equal rights for all – how could we possibly accept anything less? 

Jeannie, I’m a grown man and I wasn’t far off it myself.

The video and the core of what all this stands for (equality) has stirred me. I was a 100% committed yes voter as you know but now I think I’ve just become a nationalist yes voter!!

I don’t think I’ve felt that level of pride in my country before.

Do I need to join the SNP now?

34. Aplinal

Super video and a great message.  my son is a BLTG (trans) and has faced up to dreadful Shite in his time.  I love him and his courage to see it through.  Hope he moves to Scotland after YES… you buggers YES in 2014!

EDIT: This is Tony Little 😉 – don’t know why it picked up my former monica

EDIT 2: AND he’s getting married next year to a great lassie

35. HoraceSaysYes

There isn’t really much more to add that hasn’t already been said. This is what ‘Better Together’ should really mean – people coming together to do something because its the right thing to do, not for any party political reasons.

It’s Time!

36. seoc

It’s about Love. Uncategorised and unallocated. Great sentiment, great video.

37. Doug

As someone who has just got married, I hope that this allows my LGBT friends/compatriots the same chance at happiness. It was the right thing to do and I am even happy the Labour benches supported an SNP bill!

38. MajorBloodnok

I thought there was something in my eye when I watched this earlier at work but now I admit it was the sentiment and spirt of the video and the music and words of the song.  The Rev captured it when he said so proud of my country and its government.  What can we NOT do when we put our minds to it?  And Tris, you missed out Colin Fox!

39. Braco

Has the bill actually been passed?

40. john king

Nice to see the hugely talented and incredibly clever Sharleen Spiteri supporting a Scottish government initiative, she of the “Scotland wont have any oil if it becomes independent” quote 🙁

41. HandandShrimp

John

I’m still not convinced that Sharleen wasn’t being flippant. Rock musicians do that sort of thing they aren’t politicians.

On the Bill am I right in thinking it is going the extra mile and also equalising civil partnerships too? If so they really are putting the bells and whistles on this. Well done Holyrood.

42. Daisy

I’m sanguine if those bowling from the pavilion end are now invited to step up to the crease &  bat, equality that is long overdue.  Just hope Lamont & Davidson aren’t providing the tea…thocht Hothersall would be on here politely agreeing with the Rev!

43. Dramfineday

A long, hard road for some our folks.  Nearly there now though!  

44. scottish_skier

Amy MacDonald has a jewelled saltire microphone. 
    Nuff said.

45. scaredy cat.

O/T but on the subject of flags. I just did a search for today’s wimbledon scores. On the main search page, Andy Murray has a saltire beside his name but James Ward has the Union flag beside his.

46. Morag

I’ve noticed that before.  Murray ALWAYS has the saltire by his name.  Including during the US open.

47. kininvie

Lovely take on it from the PeatWorrier here:
    http://lallandspeatworrier.blogspot.co.uk/

48. Peter Mirtitsch

Beautiful song, second only to “Caledonia” IMHO. Inspiring and heartening. The video is very well thought out, and TBH the whole subject matter should be a foregone conclusion. Unless you have a real urge to eavesdrop on the bedroom antics of others, the sexuality of a person should not be any of your concern. The fact that it does for many, says more about them than anyone else.

BTW, when these clowns go on about the traditionally “defined” view of marriage, they seem to ignore the fact that it was not that long ago little to do with romance, and often more to do with joining families, even poor ones, and cementing alliances. They also ignore the fact that my Haynes manual mentions marriage in the context of joining two parts of an exhaust together, so demonstrating that the meaning is fluid.

49. Cath

Great video. And really nice to see our politicians all working together for something so positive (as opposed to all working together against our interests which they usually seem to be in Westminster). Long overdue bill and one that’s just so bloody common sense!

50. The Man in the Jar

I’m a bit late “tuning in” tonight but I just wanted to add my congratulations. Good to see everybody happy and in agreement.
    I agree with the Major and Doug Daniel J. Lamont disnae look over ecstatic. She looks like she has just realised that someone has conned her into holding up an old SNP campaign sign.

51. Aucheorn

Not many things move me.  This did.

52. Holebender

Like!

53. john king

kininvie says:
    24 June, 2013 at 10:53 pm

“Lovely take on it from the PeatWorrier here:”http://lallandspeatworrier.blogspot.co.uk/ 

ound my eyes misting over reading this,
    food for the soul,
    that phrase
    “An abacus line of rheumy eyes for the lassies, ”
    oh god! poetry,
    “beards would be brooding over pipes, and fragrant gusts of tobacco smoke.  Wood panelling, ale, a chestnut-eyed black Labrador, his friendliness injudiciously distributed to all and sundry. The usual odorous knot of greying wankers perched at the bar, stooled, guffawing at thin jokes, ”

I even heard the clock over the bar ticking!

54. john king

freudian slip on newsnet?

Holyrood actor Brian Cox to be voice of Duggy Dug
      By a Newsnet reporter Acclaimed Holywood actor, Brian Cox, is to be the voice behind the new cartoon character Duggy Dug it can be revealed.The Dundee born filmstar, famous for his roles in the Jason Bourne trilogy and Planet of the Apes, will be the voice of Newsnet Scotland’s radical new cartoon creation, which is based on a highland …Read More

or is HOLYROOD actor what was meant ?
    either way lovely wee trailer for duggy the dug. love him already

55. john king

I would have posted this comment on newsnet but you know what their comments policy is like,
    its like being at your grans,
    you had wan o those comment thingys 3 weeks ago dinnie be greedy let somewan else get a shottie
    any way back to the present ,that little foray into my past felt strangely real, ah my wonderful old gran ,I miss her so,

but on the subject of Duggy, voiced by Brian Cox!
    way to go guys, a great choice and well done for getting him to do it, I know he’s a supporter but he still has a job to do, so respect mr Cox,
    If I had one concern I would have said the venacular (being lowland scots)
    could be a little difficult for our friends from ither pairts shall we say 
    I thought sub titles could be an advantage but I would be intrigued to see how they interprete the word keech for example?:)
    good luck with that one guys    

56. Macart

Oooooh Yeah.

I had an interesting soundbite aimed at me and another poster on CiF recently where some regular soundbite Johnny claimed there was no politics of conviction in the Scottish Government. No great ideals, no leadership, no radical or progressive bills to inspire.

Labour lad strangely enough. 🙂

57. ianbrotherhood

Today’s Herald (p.1):

‘A Glasgow gambler has staked a record £200,000 that Scottish independence will be rejected in the referendum next year.
       Bookies William Hill said the bet – the largest political gamble it has taken – would make a total profit of £36,666 if there was a No vote in September 2014.
       “We have never taken a bigger bet than this on any political subject,” said William Hill spokesman Graham Sharpe.
       He said: “The man, in his late 50s, with a pronounced Scottish accent, and a stranger to staff, struck one bet of £30,000 at odds of 1/5, then returned to place another, of £70,000 at the same odds, before placing a third, of £100,000 at odds by now shortened to 1/6.
       Polls suggest most people in Scotland will not back independence, but there are still 450 days to go before the vote.
        The gambler has only wasted his money, an SNP spokesman said.
       He added: “It’s a shame this person has just wasted such a large amount of money – because we are extremely confident it’s going to be a Yes.”

What’s that all about?

Someone trying to shift some of the dodgy Vitol dosh?

58. Seasick Dave

I can’t see anything about this on the BBC or in the Herald or Scotsman.

59. ianbrotherhood

@Seasick Dave-

Today’s Herald, print edition, front page.

60. Seasick Dave

Thanks, Ian.

Obviously, this falls into “good news to be ignored” category at Pacific Quay.

61. Desimond

You imagine this came up in Cabinet and everyone just shrugged and Eck muttered “Its a no brainer”…stamp!.

The people talking about “Great to see all parties backing it”. Lets not forget the working together thats gone on over the years, Budget concessions etc, just a shame Scottish Abstain Labour have spat the dummy out when so much more could have been done. Hell mend them for their own ignorance when payback comes.

62. drygrangebull

I know this o/t, but can someone (rev) please jump on press tv and tell me why we have done a u-turn on nukes???

63. heraldnomore

Just watched and listened again – what a great way to start the day

64. ianbrotherhood

Well, BBC Radio Scotland just did a live interview (a few minutes ago) with a rep from Newsnet re their ‘Duggy Dug’ character – should Rev be expecting an invite to Pacific Quay soonish?

65. john king

Someone trying to shift some of the dodgy Vitol dosh?
    he didnt have dark bushy eyebrows by any chance? 🙂

66. Shinty

£200,000 to win £36,000 – they guy whatever his politics should be ashamed of himself.
    One in four children living in poverty in Glasgow and he blows it on a stupid bet – hope his mother is proud.

67. ianbrotherhood

@john king-

“The man, in his late 50s, with a pronounced Scottish accent, and a stranger to staff, struck one bet of £30,000 at odds of 1/5, then returned to place another, of £70,000 at the same odds, before placing a third, of £100,000 at odds by now shortened to 1/6…”

Something really fishy about this. Why mention his accent? It’s a Glasgow bookies, so what made his accent ‘pronounced’? (What makes an accent ‘pronounced’? Was he doing a Russ Abbott routine?)

And he turns up, in person, wagering those amounts? Why not do it online, or over the phone?

Sounds like an attention-seeking stunt, and keeps reminding me of that sketch in The Two Ronnies, ‘The Phantom Raspberry Blower of Old London Town’, written by Milligan.

It’s ‘The Phantom BT Punter’.

68. pa_broon74

@drygrangebull

That press tv report is totally wrong, someone there has made a daft mistake and thought the Scotland Institute was an SNP think tank when in fact we know its a club for Hector Russell models.

Its all the more jarring if you understand that this so-called think tank is just another stooge-factory for better together.

http://www.presstv.ir/detail/2013/06/25/310717/scots-uturn-on-antinukes-policy/

69. pa_broon74

On topic.

I can’t see the video because I’m at work and youtube is blocked (grounds for discrimination tribunal? 😉

I’m for gay marriage, not because its something I’ll do myself but because it sends the right message to young folk growing up – namely – there’s absolutely nothing wrong with being gay.

This needs to be done sooner rather than later because every time people like the  moronic John Deighan turn up on telly spouting their prehistoric views they do untold harm to our young people.

I’ll be honest and say, while the benefits young folk will see from this is paramount, a close second is seeing (people like) Deighan choke on it when it becomes law.

They talk about rationality in the debate without any irony what-so-ever.

70. Red squirrel

PressTV error a bit concerning – hope they correct it soon.

71. Tony Little

@drygrangebull

Thanks for the heads up.  I have posted a comment, but not sure if/when it will be online.  PressTV don’t usually make this kind of basic error, so I wonder where the interpretation of the “Scotland Institute” as an official SNP policy developer came from?

72. Davy

Now that’s my Scotland, fair and equal to all.
    Hail Alba.

73. ianbrotherhood

Anyone feeling inspired by the above to get active, there’s a Public Meeting about the Bedroom Tax, tonight, organised by the SSP.

Magnum Centre, Harbourside, Irvine, at 7.30.

Speakers: 

Regan Marsh (local resident and anti-bedroom tax campaigner)

Richie Venton  (SSP Regional Organiser and veteran of anti-Poll Tax movement)

NB – it’s a public meeting, all welcome. You don’t have to be local and/or in the SSP.

74. HandandShrimp

People should vote Yes just to give this chap a fright

75. Braco

Ianbrotherhood,
    That punters £200,000 bet is not on the referendum but on full independence by 2020 YES/NO. Even with that massive bet being placed, the odds on YES have still  halved since January and stand at 7/2 from 7/1.

The wee folk must be putting their money down, which does not get in the newspapers. How much does a front page herald advert cost?

76. Tonia Wight

Makes me incredibly proud to be Scottish right now! But I guess that is propaganda at its best. Seriously though, totally great to see this finally happening.

And oh my, Johann Lamont could have smiled a bit!! All the others in the video looked delighted to be involved.

77. Atypical_Scot

@ Braco;

How much does a front page herald advert cost?

A pund o’ flesh.

78. ianbrotherhood

@Braco-

Hmmm….curiouser  and curiouser. I don’t know any more detail than transcribed from the Herald.

It’s just such a odd story, something about it…the game’s afoot!

79. pa_broon74

It could be, the chap that put the bet on is just a bit eccentric?*

Putting three bets on, shortening your own odds doesn’t make sense surely?

*As in mentally ill.

If not that, then perhaps Alistair Darling has decided to put our money where his mouth is and bet all his expenses claim gains from house-flipping on the referendum outcome?

80. Braco

Ianbrotherhood and pa broon,
    He could have got better odds at Corral but maybe they wouldn’t take such a big bet. That’s why he would have had to place it in three separate bets, as William Hill probably refused the 200K as a single bet on their advertised odds. He placed the max they would let him before they recalculated for the next bet and then again for the third.

As far as him turning up in person, I don’t see anything suspicious about that. The psychology of such a large bet would mean the individual would most likely enjoy and want the ritual of walking into the bookies as an unknown punter and placing that huge bet. He would certainly want his monies worth, to think back on and anchor with, while sitting out the long wait for the result to play out (will be as long as 2020 should he win!)

Come to think of it, he is locking up 200K away without interest until 2020 in the hope of 17% return? What with the falling value of the pound, inflation and economic who knows what around the corner, it would have made more sense buying Gold at the moment. It’s 34% down on it’s previous high and by 2020 will surely be soaring. All that and without the risk of losing the whole initial 200k investment.

But this doesn’t sound like sense comes into it. Oh for the thrill of a gamble eh!

81. Braco

My mistake, it was a bet on the Indy ref. oops!

Still though?

82. Adrian B

Very happy that this is happening, it is only fair and I am glad that it has cross party support in the Scottish Parliament. I am happy with the compromise made where individual religions and faiths do not have to provide marriage ceremonies against their will.

Major landmark in creating society has been confirmed within Scotland – Whats not to like? 

83. Dramfineday

As one of the wee folk, I put a £5 on with Coral last week for a YES vote in 2014 and got 3/1 (and a big cheery grin from the lass that took it and advice to place the betting slip somewhere safe). I noticed that the no vote offering at the time was 2/9.

84. Braco

Dramfineday,
    if you can scrape together a few more UK£s, you can still get £6.5 for every 1£ you bet on full Scottish Independence by 2020 at Coral. If your first bet comes off, I would say the second would be ‘money from home’. More than double the odds too, for just a wee bit longer wait.

‘Get ye behind me Satan’ (weeinnocentsmily)

85. MajorBloodnok

Thanks tartanfever, I needed that.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.