No stone uncrawled

Posted on March 29, 2013 by

This is a thing that really happened this afternoon:

foulkesrape

It’s hard to know where to begin. It seems pointless to even try. An unelected trough-swilling convicted violent drunken criminal just used the rape of a child as a weapon against independence. More dignified things lurk slithering in sewers.

72 to “No stone uncrawled”

1. Malcolm

A gruesome tweet of course.

Why is there not widespread reporting and outrage of this awful rape? Because it didn’t happen in India?

2. Bugger (the Panda)

He must have been pished, usually he is.

3. megz

That is just vile, clearly trolling but what a disgusting and disgraceful way to go about it!

4. MajorBloodnok

It’s the Britnats that are obsessed with Indyref, that’s the irony.  In the same way they indignantly accuse the SNP of ‘politiking’ over the ‘bedroom tax’ when that is precisely what they are doing.  What an absolute shower, as T-T would say.

5. Horace Broon

I would like to say it beggars belief, but sadly it seems par for the course from this individual. 🙁

6. Holebender

Foulkes is a pathetic troll and best ignored.

7. ScottyC1314

There is pond life…..and then there is George Foulkes.

8. rabb

He should be utterly utterly ashamed of himself. He is a dispicable and disgusting excuse for a human being.

To use the rape of a child to score political points is the most abhorant act I have ever witnessed from a politician.

I have nothing more to say!

9. Doug Daniel

This is the guy who goes on and on about the terrible behaviour of Cybernats. What a hypocritical fuck.

Will the media be in as much uproar as they were over Stevenson’s tweet yesterday? Of course not. 

10. Malcolm

Just noticed he is Foulkes of Cumnock. Is that New Cumnock, winner of this year’s plook on the plinth? Seems apt.

11. Castle Rock

“On 24 August 2011 The Scotsman[20] reported that George Foulkes had announced that he would table an amendment to the Scotland Bill with the intention to make it impossible for the Scottish Government to sustain free university education for students in Scotland”

I wonder if Johann Lamont had instructed him to do this.

12. Restlessnative

Fucking scum.Is there no depths that rancid piece of filth won’t stoop too.

13. alasdair

I think that wiki article needs updated . . .

14. Fairliered

Alcoholic weasel-skin wearer crawls out of Westminster sewer yet all we hear about from Scottish Govt. is more on Indyref!

15. CameronB

This from someone who the Crown has seen fit to ennoble, with all the benefits and perks that go with the title. Says it all really.

16. Doug

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Heybq1s79Y

Lord Foulkes is obsessed with hatred of the SNP and indyref, whilst millions condemned to penury under the Tory government.  (sadly this one is true)

17. Kilty

Truly the most pathetic comment I have seen from any “politician”. “Rotten to the core” wouldn’t even begin to describe this sad excuse for a human being.

Just makes me look forward to independence even more. It may not solve all our problems, but it will be a good start towards solving them.

18. muttley79

I am genuienly puzzled over a politician bringing up an alleged severe sexual assault on a young girl in regards to the referendum on independence.  This is because 1)  The victim will in all likelihood be shocked, stunned by this appalling crime, and it does not deserve to be turned into a political points scoring exercise.   2)  This is a very serious criminal matter now, and it is a policing and justice issue.

Unfortunately this follows closely on from Ian Smart’s comments about Alex Salmond.  This level of bitterness is getting serious.  I think everyone needs to be careful about the language they use in this period in Scottish politics.  It has and will get heated, but there is a real need to avoid gutter politics. 

19. cath

Fucking hell. What an utter, utter c***. Sorry, but there is no lesser word than that which fits and even that doesn’t come close. To think we are paying for this sorry excuse for an individual’s luxury lifestyle in the house of Lords.

20. mato21

Seems to be a Labour thing don’t forget Ms Lamont waving her paper and making false claims in the parliament about rape  Albeit  a similar case had occured some time previously but that was not what she was talking about

21. ianbrotherhood

I keep bringing this up every time Foulkes is mentioned – he, along with Eric Joyce and Professor Jim Wylie of Aberdeen University (one of those ‘terrorism’ experts) were near-residents of BBC Scotland in the run-up to the invasion of Iraq. Lesley Riddoch once responded to listeners complaints about them by stating, on-air, that her research-team ‘couldn’t get anyone else’ to present the case for war.
    Today’s behaviour is, of course, reprehensible, but it should never be forgotten that this man, along with comrade Joyce, was an enthusiastic cheerleader for an illegal war. For that, he stands accused of the same crimes as Blair. For such people, the use of child-rape to create a debating point must be a mere bagatelle.

22. Simon

Let’s not get personal. No need to cast aspersions on “Lord” Faulkes. Just report his words and explain the context, as Rev Stu has done at the top. I think they speak for themselves.

23. Graham Ennis

Ok, can I announce a special fund to buy one way train tickets to London on the last train out, before Independence day, for these kind of people. I am sure they will get a warm welcome down south

24. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Unfortunately this follows closely on from Ian Smart’s comments about Alex Salmond.”

And of course bookends it perfectly, because if Salmond HAD said something about how terrible the case was – as he did about the Glencoe tragedy – Smart would have accused him of despicably using the story to “get his name in the papers”. They really are nightsoil.

25. Craig M

It’s easy to state the oft used phrase “we shouldn’t tar people with the same brush,” however, in the case of Foulkes, he represents the top of the greasy pole that Scottish Labour politicians aspire to. He made it to the top and he got there on the back of the same message that is used by the current crop of Labour MPs and MSPs. I’m afraid that with the Labour Party in Scotland, association is everything. There is no obvious, outward show of free thought and opinion from any individuals. They chant the party mantra, they suppport the party line, that party line is exactly the same as that chanted by Foulkes. The agenda is identical, the policies (or lack of them) identical. The venom against the SNP and, by extension (and I make no apologies for saying this), the venom against the Scottish people, is identical. The career choice, identical. The personal aspiration and loyalty to London, identical. The red rose, worn with pride, identical. The hounding of the poor and vulnerable, identical. With Labour and Foulkes, they are different sides of the same coin. With Scottish Labour, you are either with Foulkes or you are against and do not support the Labour Party. Simple as……

26. Arbroath1320

I’m shocked at this tweet.

Not as you’d think about the content shocking though it is, but at the ability of Foulkes to stop boozing long enough to string a few words together in a coherent tweet!

27. Dr Douglas McKenzie

I don’t normally post on here (though I’m an avid reader)  but “Lord” Foulkes remarks sicken me to my core. My eldest daughter is 14: I have no difficulty imagining the trauma both of this girl and her family and my heart goes out to them. I am deeply ashamed that such a disgrace can happen in my country but incandescent with rage that anyone could seek to make political capital out of this sordid incident. I hope the police catch these bastards quickly and I also hope that “Lord” Foulkes has a good long look at himself in the mirror before uttering such obscene comments in the future. 

28. Jeannie

I was watching a friend tomight filling in his organ donation form and I asked him whether he could specify which particular body parts he wanted to leave.  I then suggested he leave his arsehole to George Foulkes as a spare mouthpiece.  But he said even his arsehole had too much self-respect than to be a mouthpiece for George Foulkes.

29. Castle Rock

Using the rape of a child to attack independence is lower than scum and George Foulkes and his cohorts in the Labour Party are it.

There is no decency, feelings or caring for the child just an overwhelming urge to use the brutal violent abuse of a minor to score a cheap and unpalatable political point.

If I had tweeted this as an independence supporter trying to highlight the rape of a child as a failing of Westminster rule then I would hope that there would be a very long queue at my door to seek justice.

My initial reaction was to ignore the foulness of his tweet and concentrate upon the foulness of the Labour Party to harm Scotland.

I was wrong.

The rape of a child is not an Independence or Unionist issue and George Foulkes should apologise for it.

30. Owen

And who is responsible for overseeing policing in Glasgow? The Police authority of Strathclyde Police, 54% of which are Labour councillors including the Convener and Vice-Convener.

Using rape to score political points is low even for a Labourite, but using it when your side bears more responsibility in tackling the problem is even lower.

31. Craig M

Listen to Ann Begg, 2 hours 16 seconds in on this; Today Programme, this morning, Radio 4.
    Ann Begg talks about pensions…listen to her get flustered at the question; I’m worried
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b01rgjj6#programme-broadcasts

32. Macart

Dear God. What kind of creature uses this for political point scoring? What of the poor girl and her family? Simply unforgivable.

33. ronald alexander mcdonald

He’s walking, talking proof of why Scotland has to break free from Westminster rule.
    His  comments are indictitve of a broken system where unelected Lords are paid by the public purse for life and abuse their position without consideration for basic human decency. 

34. ianbrotherhood

Ruth Davidson used her spot at this week’s FMQs to scan a half-dozen or so tweets and e-mails which she, presumably, felt might embarrass the SNP.
    Can we expect AS or NS to exploit Foulkes’ latest faux pas? I think not. When a dinner-party guest inadvertently soils themselves due to a calamitous loss of personal control, the kindest thing is to tolerate the stench, help remove the unfortunate at the earliest opportunity, and pass no comment throughout. 
    The antics of characters such as Baillie and Foulkes are proof that Labour is in disarray – they are providing a seemingly endless supply of Category Five belters who happily crap on the carpet, oblivious to the fact that there’s no-one around to clear up the mess they’re making.
    Foulkes is a sad, bitter man (nearing the end of his career and life) whose judgement was always highly questionable – the very fact that Labour haven’t instructed him to keep his gob shut, and/or are unable to persuade him to do so, says more about the ‘opposition’ than AS, NS, or anyone else need bother pointing out.

35. creag an tuirc

@Arbroath1320

36. Vronsky

“An unelected trough-swilling convicted violent drunken criminal”

That now appears to be his nicer side.

37. westie7

I dont do twitter, but I do hope someone reminds him his motivation is obviously due to his Sphincter twitching as he will hopefully soon be oot ‘a’ joab!

38. douglas clark

Malcolm says:

A gruesome tweet of course.

Why is there not widespread reporting and outrage of this awful rape? Because it didn’t happen in India?”

I am confused.

There has been fairly widespread condemnation of the rapes in India. Especially in India, and elsewhere.

I would have thought that there was fairly general condemnation of rape in the UK, by UK media and the rest of us too. Indeed that seems to be the case.

Do you know otherwise?

What was the point you were making, again?

39. Stirling

I seem to remember that Lamont did the same thing at Holyrood a year or so ago. Was that not to do with a youngster from Ayrshire who was raped, and an incident that happened at the trial?And not only was Lamont using the unfortunate youngster to score a political point, the incident happened years before in 2002 or 2003 when Labour was in power. I think the young girl took her own life in the end, a sad story. I think it was maybe on here I read that or may be Newsnet.

40. ianbrotherhood

@Rev-
    Here’s the rub:
    The spinmeisters on the job – right now – will be reading this, digesting reaction, and working out how to counter any possible comment from SNP/Yes Scotland. 
    The same circular reasoning you outlined in the ‘Be careful what you wish for’ post will be applied – the outrage expressed by WoS  and other so-called ‘cybernat’ strongholds will be highlighted as ‘hysterical over-reaction’ or suchlike. Foulkes will be painted as the unfortunate victim of an orchestrated hate-campaign which exploits the rape of a child to inflame nascent militant tendencies in the ‘independence movement’ etc etc etc.
    I feel ashamed for even being able to think like this, but one knows what one knows, and so it goes – so far as I can tell, we’re entering the territory covered by ‘Wag the Dog’, and fables about Kuwaiti infants being hauled out of their incubators.
    Foulkes should apologise, then retire from public life, and he should do it in direct response to a ‘suggestion’ from Milliband via Lamont.

41. Rev. Stuart Campbell

I doubt it’ll matter, because the media that were all over some SNP activist for a private Facebook comment will mysteriously be totally uninterested in this.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/9225359/Lyall-Duff-continues-to-campaign-for-SNP.html

42. Robert Kerr

Just back from my cronies putting the world to rights. (Friday night drinks)
    My devout catholic maths teacher is a socialist. Mr Gove has driven him over the edge. 
    All I said is “please consider Mr Salmond’s proposals for a better Scotland A socialist country where money doesn’t buy education. His niece was educated privately in Edinburgh and graduated from Oxford. He is embarrassed. He didn’t know of the existence of “labour for Independence” He does now.
    He is on the verge of voting yes.
    Joe, a lifelong catholic trade unionist is aware of problems in West Scotland. Well connected with SLAB. Tells us that the case was dropped re the homosexual act in the car park since there was much more to come out but a zone of silence has descended.
    Maybe he can be turned.
    The third crony is a diehard working class tory. Hardest one to turn.
    If i can get three new “yes” votes we shall win.
    Go for it.
    Fight on soldiers,
    von Manstein is coming !
    We shall prevail.

In vino veritas.

43. The Man in the Jar

Sorry for going off topic.

I just had a look at the linked BBC Radio Times article by Dr. Fiona Watson (History Dundee Uni.)

In the article she says.

“Braveheart is more fiction than fact. Its also helped fuel anti-English sentiment in Scotland……TRUE

That period has been a gift to Alex Salmond and the SNP”

She then goes on about kids getting beaten up for wearing England shirts.

Proof please?

I have attended many Wallace Commemorations where Dr. Watson was happy to give speeches. She was all over the place during the 700th. Anniversary. Including on the telly. She has fairly changed her tune. She better not have the cheek to turn up at any patriot commemoration now or in the future.
    http://www.radiotimes.com/news/2013-03-25/bloody-tales-mel-gibsons-braveheart—man-or-myth

44. Barontorc

Forget the imbecile Foulkes – do not forget the apparent refusal of the MSM to report this.

As has been said – if Alex Salmond said anything untoward, never mind of such cruddy nature from this rancid bile called Lard Foulkes, the usual suspects of the MSM would be crawling all over it, for not days, but weeks. 

Foulkes is a horrible bampot – but the MSM are the real enemy within.

45. Stirling

Yeah thanks, say’s a lot about Labour, Lamont and the media. I think not long after that the Daily Record was telling us what wonderful mother Johan Lamont is, shame she and clearly Foulkes has no respect at all for other people’s children.

46. Barontorc

The Man etc.,  Moridura did a piece on Fiona Watson last week regarding this Radio Times article and she has since commented that she did not say certain things in that article. I would not be a million miles off, to say I surmise that she is not overly-pleased and not  a happy bunny.

47. dundee bloke

REV, just a wee point here, but would it be at all possible the number the the posts as they appear on the screen ?

48. The Man in the Jar

@Barontorc
    Thanks for that. It being in the BBC Radio Times I will give her the benefit of the doubt for now. No doubt the Wallace Society will be on the case.
    If what you say is correct she will not be happy at all. She spoke in St. Bartholomew’s church Smithfield, alongside Alex Salmond at the 700th. anniversary of the Judicial Murder of Sir William Wallace. That was in 2005 (That was a day!) She has spoken many times at the Elderslie commemorations as well.
    She gets quite a few “gigs” speaking at events. I don’t know if any of these pay. I doubt it. Either way she will be desperate for a retraction.
    PS. I agree with most of the rest of the article. Some of it seems a bit iffy though.

49. Jimbo

Hi Rev,

I just tried to contact you and it appears my message was sent to 
    http://worldofstuart.excellentcontent.com/index.htm 

50. Vincent McDee

The mental by-products generated by Foulknes are normally so poissoned, the only reason he’s not dropping dead due to infestation, is the outstanding preservation of alcohol.

51. Chic McGregor

Screaming Lord Foulkes at his very best.

He was always a bottom feeder in the cesspit of unionist politics but now they seem to have taught him how to use a shovel.

52. GH Graham

For Foulke’s sake you money grubbing, inebtriated, old wretch !
    Settle down before you burst one of yer crooked thrombotic legs.
    How about this?
    Before you croak it, try really hard to do something positive that doesn’t involve getting paid, getting angry or getting drunk. 

53. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I just tried to contact you and it appears my message was sent to
    http://worldofstuart.excellentcontent.com/index.htm

Yeah, that’s where the contact form lives. Must get around to sorting a more elegant alternative. I got your email, will deal with it in a moment.

54. Dorothy Devine

I like the title – perhaps it could be a regular feature?
    I’m sure there’s plenty more dwelling under rocks who deserve a little light shone upon them and it won’t be done by the media of Scotland unless we hold their fingers to the fire!

55. douglas clark

I intend to keep publishing here, as I said, correpondence whether my comments are posted by their censors or not. It would be good if other folk also adopted a copy and paste of the comments that have been refused by so-called mainstream publications, along with the editorial or comment being replied to, so that an independent audience, you dear reader, can determine whether the censorship was justified or not.

These folk live in an ivory tower of righteousness, and we are all just spotty plebs. I am not willing to accept their characterisation nor social position. It is part of becoming independent to reject all such nonsense. Not many adults believe in Father Christmas, so why does Michael Settle?

See other thread:

http://wingsoverscotland.com/time-travel-trauma/#comment-342525

56. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Douglas: it might be interesting to make a separate thread for that. May do so later.

57. douglas clark

Rev Stu,

Cheers

58. John White

The tweet was sent at 2.44pm on Friday. I guess George had a good long lunch.

59. Barontorc

The Man etc., I see Rev Stu has taken up the cudgel for Dr Fiona with RT and that’s good to see.

What will we be left with, if our history, or our reputation, is besmirched with lies that are cynically spread by others who just don’t give rat-shit?

60. EdinScot

If independence is to mean anything at all then it is essential in our cleansing process to get rid of unelected good for nothing so called Lords who are so far out of touch of our reality or all this struggle of our forebears and future generations will have been for nothing.  In one respect i hope the girls family never have to clap eyes on the likes of this trash spouted by pond life like Foulkes but then again it would be just reward for them to find out what passes for Labour Unionists who are under an illusion that we are all to be kept joined at the hip with the likes of them to continue their vile trough feeding and claiming on anything that exists. No kind of advert for staying with them.  The familys’ wrath and their outrage with demands of an apology through the associated press would be the ultimate penalty paid by him.  Calling time on his vile existence at our expense.  For foulkes sake right enough.  Lets get the hell shot of him and his like.  Wont be a day too soon.

61. heraldnomore

No complaints; just say thanks to the ermined one, for yet again he adds more votes to the Yes cause.  Give him enough rope (and a long lunch)……
    Let him show the world what he brings to the table.

62. Luigi

The problem for the Scottish MSM handling Labour politicians with kid gloves is that dopes like Foulkes invariably over-step the line and come out with something really really stupid.  This type of senseless remark causes a real problem. Do they highlight it and show Labour up for what they are, or do they ignore it? As a result, both the Labour party and the MSM are tainted. Their choice. I hope they keep it up all the way to September 2014.

63. The Tree of Liberty

I just don’t know what to say, but I’m so mad at this Scumbag’s tweet. I just wish he he’d said it in my Local, his eyes would be opening aboot Wednesday.

64. Training Day

@Barontorc
    ‘Forget the imbecile Foulkes – do not forget the apparent refusal of the MSM to report this.’
    Yes.  Foulkes is a three-eighths hearted apology for a human being, but what of the journalists who will be wilfully blind to this offence?

65. Dal Riata

Hey, all you journalists who get paid to work in the mainstream press and broadcast media and who check this blog regularly (Oh yes you do!), how about being brave for a change and reporting this disgraceful tweet from Foulkes on your news programme or in your newspaper?
    Go on, you know you want to…don’t you? Now that you have been made aware of this tweet, you would be seen as having no morals or principals if you didn’t report it to the wider population who rely on you for bringing them the news in a fair and unbiased manner…and you wouldn’t want that on your conscience now, would you? 

66. Albert Herring

Full apology from Foulkes! Eh, no….wait… 
    https://twitter.com/GeorgeFoulkes/status/317659527040348161

67. Linda's Back

Still no coverage so far as I can tell regarding Tory MEP Struan Stevenson blaming SNP government for fuel poverty and deaths

68. muttley79

@Luigi

Do they highlight it and show Labour up for what they are, or do they ignore it?

They ignore it.  Actually there appears to be a MSM blackout again.  I think the only ones covering the story are WoS and NSS.  Imagine the reaction if an SNP figure had said something like what Foulkes said?  I think we all know there would be blanket coverage on BBC Scotland, both the broadsheets and tabloids.  Instead absolutely nothing.  See also after Cameron’s speech as the media in Scotland completely ignored the implications of it on the referendum (at least on the day of it). 

On a serious note I think the time is fast approaching when there has to be questions asked about the censorship, news blackouts by the MSM.  Are they doing it themselves, or is there being pressure put on them by other sources?

69. Yesitis

@Muttley
    “On a serious note I think the time is fast approaching when there has to be questions asked about the censorship, news blackouts by the MSM.  Are they doing it themselves, or is there being pressure put on them by other sources?”

I don`t know if you saw Scotland Tonight a couple days back? There was a ‘discussion’ on the state of Scotland`s newspapers, but the bias issue was only briefly mentioned, and if I recall correctly, not lingered on to any penetrative degree. It was a wasted opportunity. But then, maybe that was the whole point?

The thing about perceived bias (and we all know it is there), is who is going to talk about it on television? Who is going to set the stage where a topic like media bias can be openly, and at length, discussed? I can`t imagine the unionist parties will want to talk about it, as it`s their not-to-secret weapon. I certainly can`t imagine the BBC in Scotland hosting a debate on TV/media bias.

70. Doug

On topic, Foulkes giving it laldy on Twitter. Alternately comparing Cybernats to Pavlov’s rats (sic) and playing the martyr, saying how sad he is about abusive Nast etc. Sigh.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.