The Slowest Dawning

Posted on August 28, 2026 by

Now, readers, it’s not much of a secret that anyone who’s still supporting the SNP in the hopes that they’ll deliver Scottish independence is – and let’s put this as gently and kindly as possible – a bit thick.

From a membership high of 125,000 in the run-up to the 2021 Holyrood election, fully 60% have now wised up and left, and the 40% still left paying annual subscriptions to a party that’s stolen their money TWICE and spent it on pepper pots are pretty much by definition the dumbest of dum-dums.

But it looks like even they’re just about beginning to get it now.

Five more years and they might have just about woken up.

The National reports today that there’s a great disturbance in the Force over the SNP’s draft agenda for their national conference in a few weeks’ time, at which there will be no debate on independence strategy, despite the failure of John Swinney’s approach to this year’s Scottish Parliament election to produce the SNP majority that he promised would lead to a second indyref.

And, y’know, there should be a disturbance. The provisional agenda is a laughable, woke-obsessed embarrassment of a thing that harks back to the (cough) glory days of Nicola Sturgeon’s reign, which is now three-and-a-half years in the past. How time flies when you’re having fun, eh gang?

Wings has naturally obtained a copy of the full document, which you can peruse for yourself here. But allow us to present for you some highlights of what the SNP is prioritising above independence for the next 12 months.

The National Secretary spelling his own name wrongly in the very first section is an auspicious start. But this is a significant change to be sneaking in. It now provides a means for the SNP to expel anyone who disagrees not with its aims or policies, but with its general “direction”, however that might be interpreted, or indeed for any “other activities” that the leadership might take umbrage at.

For a party where dissent is already locked down tighter than a drum and where a challenge to the leader has been made all but impossible, it’s a remarkable exercise in authoritarian paranoia.

Oh good, some more “white papers”. Those have been SUCH a success.

“What’s most important is that we have more black trans disabled vegan cooncillors, but this must not result in tokenism, even though tokenism is the only thing it can possibly result in, and it must be evidence-based, even though the entire point of it is to override the available evidence (in the form of votes) about who members actually want as candidates.”

Interestingly the resolution calls for an increase in representation for “women”, but does not specify a definition of that term. It’s left to the reader’s imagination to ponder whether it includes blokes in frocks, but we all know where the smart money’s going.

And that’s the last clue we’re giving you.

Hmm, tricky one. Has anyone considered building some ferries?

Oh come on now, what’s the worst that could happen if you don’t have any rules governing the work of the Financial Scrutiny, Audit and Risk Committee?

“We’re not very popular! Quick! Everyone to the echo chamber!”

“All the horses are gone! Lock that stable door!”

“YSI calls for conference to praise YSI.”

We’ll be candid with you here, readers, the “work in this area” done by Young Scots For Independence has escaped our notice. We’re unaware of their having produced “clear, accessible, evidence based resources” that have been “made widely available to members, activists and the wider Yes movement”.

We do remember someone who DID do that, some time ago.

But curiously the SNP don’t seem to be very interested in talking to them or seeking their advice.

“Conference demands to have its cake, and also to eat its cake.”

“Let us be bold and fearless in our discussions, so that we may bravely state without shying away from controversy, that people shouldn’t beat up nurses.”

[This is all pretty transphobic, can we delete? – NatSec.]

That leads us neatly into the “Social Justice” section.

Short version:

You lost, lads. Cope.

It has for many years been the official policy position of the Scottish Government that all sex work is violence against women and girls (leaving aside the fact that it doesn’t know what women or girls are).

But it appears that the SNP’s controversy-dogged, sex-offender-infested “Out For Independence” affiliate, together with its equalities convener Sadie Matthews and disabled members convener Michael Gibbons (as the movers of this resolution), wish to overturn that stance and make violence against women “progressive”.

Between them, Matthews, Gibbons and OFI appear as resolution movers a whopping 27 times in the provisional agenda. (We’d show you a pic of the OFI’s convener too, but their identity is a secret. No, really.)

All three, unsurprisingly, also appear as movers of the next resolution on the agenda.

At this point we’ll direct you to our extensive previous coverage of this extremely dangerous legislation, otherwise we’ll be here all day.

We asked Grok for its best guess at the number of trees in Scotland.

At a figure of 2.5 billion, the resolution would increase Scotland’s tree population by 0.0018%. That is, by our calculations, ONE extra tree for every 55,555 existing trees in Scotland. Take THAT, climate change!

This is a curious bit of retail politics. Anyone who gets free bus travel now (a policy currently costing around £200m a year and rising fast) is to get it for life, whereas anyone NOT currently in receipt of it won’t get it until they’re 60. Rotten luck for anyone born in 2003 or earlier, there. But hey, the SNP sure knows its voter demographics.

(And yes, there’s a £5bn budget deficit looming, but we’ll just find all the extra money somewhere, right? Maybe somebody can drop Peter Murrell a line.)

“Sod independence, let’s spend conference debating things we have absolutely no power over and which are definitely not going to happen.”

We’re absolutely positive that “MOAR IMMIGRATION!” is what the hard-pressed communities of Easterhouse and Springburn are clamouring for above all else from their elected representatives.

When they’re not fretting over Ukraine, obviously.

And with a second desperate plea to disassociate Scotland entirely from Satan (Elon Musk) and all his evil works (people being allowed to disagree with you), it’s all over.

(X stopped Grok from creating deepfake nudes eight months ago, after about a week of people exploiting a loophole in its safeguards, whereas numerous other AI engines still allow it, but let’s not have pesky facts getting in the way of the witch-hunt against Mr Musk, who is after all basically Hitler but with electric cars and space rockets.)

It’ll be exciting to see which of the above survive to the final agenda. But even at this stage they tell you everything you need to know about what motivates the activist faction of the SNP membership, and how far down that list independence features.

We haven’t faked that screenshot. Go and look for yourself. We’d gone onto the Scottish Government website to look for the entirely performative new draft indyref bill, which doesn’t appear on the front page. We eventually found it nine items down the “Publications” page, below “Improving Gypsy Traveller Sites Guidance on minimum site standards, and site tenants’ core rights and responsibilities”.

And even The National was a bit embarrassed by the pantomime.

How much longer the people who haven’t left the party yet will take to finally realise what the majority spotted some time ago is a question remaining to be answered.

But if even “Hashtag” Bill Cruickshank – the most tigerishly loyal diehard of all the two-watt bulbs in the party’s ranks – has reached the end of his tether (and to be fair we’ve had false dawns on that front before), it looks like there might finally be a speck of light on the horizon.

0 to “The Slowest Dawning”

1. Campbell Clansman says:

The document is 18,663 words in length. Fifty-seven pages in all.
    One wonders how many SNP members will bother to read it, let alone understand it. My guess is very few will.

2. Chas says:

The starting point for Independence has to the the complete obliteration of the SNP.
    Any individual currently holding power within the organisation should be excluded from any new political party that arises from the ashes.
    The existing ‘mickey mouse’ independence parties serve no purpose other than to make any member feel good about themselves.
    Any new political party has to convince voters to support them because of the clear, concise policies offered. Romantic notions should play no part in the process. Like it or not, finance is everything. If you have monies you can do things. If you have not, you can’t.
    Most of the readers of Wings will never see Indepence. It is doubtful if their children will either.

3. BLMac says:

Maybe it’s time to do what a sovereign people do and take control of our government like the Icelanders did a few years back.
    Perhaps the next SNP conference might be a good place for a massive demonstration of people power.

4. Spartan 117 says:

Depressingly, it didn’t stop the public voting for them in their droves however at the last election.

A substantive chunk of our population obviously have a real thing for Big Tax, Big State, Interventionist, Social Engineering Communism and corruption.

5. Willie says:

The reality of the so-called 40% membership is that these lost souls are not to ve seen on the ground.hidden away from sight most branches are barely functioning.

No one to attend meetings, no one to propose motions were they allowed, no one to campaign were there anything to campaign. A veritable ghost ship extant only to stymie independence pending the party’s ultimate demise.

SOMEONE, SOMETHINF brought this aboot. Can we guess who. And what is this talk of the existence of emails between senior Nationalists not long after Sturgeon took over discussing with dark hand how the party could introduce woke gender policies that would ‘ drive out the hardline nationslust ‘

6. name required says:

“black cooncillors” seems an unfortunate typo

• John McNab says:

These might be the “dark handlers” that Fergie Finlayson refers to….

7. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

The SNP is not a failure. I have no doubt the SNP is fully achieving what it’s dark handlers wish it to achieve.

• Willie says:

Absolutely yes, bang on Fheargas. The SNP exists now purely to stymie independence. That’s is exactly what its handlers in Thames House want of it.

A decapitation strategy of the independence movement became the focus after 2014. The SNP and Yes ran the Brit state too close, closer than we may realise and the tide had to be turned.

And turned it was no by the tried and tested strategy of blavkmail, bribery with all any any assistance needed from the arms of the state.

Kenya, the Carribean, Ireland the method of holding colonies is well rehearsed. And in 2026 the SNP is a Trojan Horse and the Yes movement scattered. No accident either that Alba collapsed. But as one very knowledgeable insider said we just dont know who the troublemaking Brit Assets are.

So yes Feaghas, the SNP is doing what it handlers want and the Police and COPFS too.

• factchecker says:

“And turned it was no by the tried and tested strategy of blavkmail, bribery with all any any assistance needed from the arms of the state”.

Pure speculative assertion, with no supporting evidence at all.

“But as one very knowledgeable insider said we just dont know who the troublemaking Brit Assets are.”.

Perhaps not so knowledgeable, then.

• GM says:

Factchecker! Ho ho ho!

• James says:

LOL.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“Kenya, the Caribbean, Ireland the method of holding colonies is well rehearsed”

Odd.

Why would they continue to rehearse a method that didn’t work for the examples you give?

• Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

Posted this on previous thread. Perhaps worth reposting here. Rewards time spent giving it a listen.

LAWYERING WITHOUT LAW (1 May 2026)

“What Does Legal Authoritarianism Look Like?”

8. Ian Smith says:

Will conference discuss the big thing that happened a few months back, or show any interest in who was responsible for nicking the donors money?

9. Jim Thomson says:

Right at the top of your post you point out that anyone disagreeing with the general direction of the party will be bullied, harassed and hounded (my paraphrasing) out of the party, or, at the very least, cast to the darkest corners of their branches.

So, I’d be very careful if I were a member (no longer, thankfully) of voting against ANYTHING at the conference since that would, I assume, constitute going against the direction of party travel.

I can only further assume that the party politburo will have their spies there in abundance. Taking notes, if not photographs.

10. robertkknight says:

None so blind as SNP members who will not see.

Apart of course from the gender Woo-Woo and Wokerati carpetbaggers, who see exactly where they’re driving the hi-jacked SNP – off a cliff.

11. Willie says:

Absolutely yes, bang on Fheargas. The SNP exists now purely to stymie independence. That’s is exactly what its handlers in Thames House want of it.

A decapitation strategy of the independence movement became the focus after 2014. The SNP and Yes ran the Brit state too close, closer than we may realise and the tide had to be turned.

And turned it was no by the tried and tested strategy of blavkmail, bribery with all any any assistance needed from the arms of the state.

Kenya, the Carribean, Ireland the method of holding colonies is well rehearsed. And in 2026 the SNP is a Trojan Horse and the Yes movement scattered. No accident either that Alba collapsed. But as one very knowledgeable insider said we just dont know who the troublemaking Brit Assets are.

So yes Feaghas, the SNP is doing what it handlers want and the Police and COPFS too.

• Spartan 117 says:

Last time round, I found the argument put forward for independence inadequate and lacking in key details, just as the argument to remain in the UK was. Two years later, the Brexit referendum repeated the exact same problems, again both sides failing to put forward a convincing and informed argument, leaving the majority to vote according to their own long-held prejudices and biases.

For me, the Independence movement hitching on to pro-Europeanism was a critical error; democracy cannot be outsourced or offshored, so joining the EU would completely negate the point of Scottish independence and Home Rule. Thankfully, we are well rid of that obscene autocratic colonial and Communist organisation, however the colossally incompetent UK state’s repeated desperate and catastrophically bungled attempts to keep us “in” at any costs (being “out” in name only) have not only cost us dearly – quite literally – but also have shown that willing deference to undemocratic overseas powers is very much what our state wants. And the Scottish National Party is very much a part of that state.

12. ScottieDog says:

When in difficulty, there’s always the civilian branch – Believe In Scotland to get the (non-jingling) collection tins going

13. Gav says:

The Wee Blue Book is the gold standard in getting reliable, fully-sourced information out there in a format that supports having conversations with soft-nos.

I’ve tried to follow in its footsteps with link to independent.scot

Already freely available to activists and the wider Yes movement to support everyday conversations with undecided voters. The only thing my site won’t do is plug an SNP Party line on subjects that should be for the people of Scotland to decide – after we regain the ability to decide for ourselves.

• Terry says:

I have seen this on another Indy site. It’s excellent.

14. GeoffC says:

They’ve missed out support for Gaza, a favourite topic of The National.

• Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

That IS peculiar.

• aLurker says:

That they’ve missed out support for Gaza does leap out at you.

On first recognition that does seem strange.

As soon as you THINK about it however, it is instead revealing.

Avoiding a pet issue, why?

Is it because it is deemed unmentionable by the three countries who influence what politicians can talk about in Scotland?

England, the United States of North America and Israel

• Hatey McHateface says:

Good spot.

Does that mean the genocide is now complete?

Maybe it was never happening?

My best guess is that all the sound and fury was never anything more than performative virtue signalling, and they’ve now forgotten all about it.

Talking of performative virtue signalling, I see nothing about establishing an inclusive and supportive environment so that what happened to Professor Arday could never happen in Scotland.

If Conference allows submission of Emergency Motions, it’s not too late to rectify that.

• Bilbo says:

Probably there is no longer any money for all the activism around Gaza?

15. 100%Yes says:

What attracted my attention was the elephant in the room “59. abolish The Scotland Office”.

What ever the UK PM is planning make no mistakes John Swinney is 100% behind his Idea of making Manchester number 10 of the north and Scotland a region of Manchester.

• Spartan 117 says:

Worse than that, Honest John and his cronies want to offshore and outsource democracy to the undemocratic EU and turn Scotland into a small region of the Greater European Hegemony. ArAndeh like his bungling predecessors (including the “conservative” ones, not just the useless Fabian lawyer) also wants the same.

16. agentx says:

I’ll wait for James Che’s in depth analysis and Alf’s quotes before passing judgement!

• James says:

Or just don’t bother. Would suit most.

17. 100%Yes says:

The National doesn’t make good reading for people wanting Independence or the SNP membership.

It states “SNP members’ fury as party ‘blocks independence strategy debate at conference'”.

To the SNP membership!!! loyal Independence supporters have been trying to tell you for twelve years about Sturgeon and the SNP but would you listen. I can under stand your loyalty, but I’ll never forgive your stupidity and its because of your stupidity Scotland is in the mess its in.

The English PM says Irish border poll off the table who gives him the right. Please people do not talk about Celtic unity the SNP wouldn’t have any idea of it.

I wander what harder to except 58 and nothing to show for it or 58 and you none the wiser. Please do not tell me this Bill Cruickshank is a good Scot.

Anyone who was and who left the SNP are true Independence supporters, for fuck sake I’ve been arguing with these dump fucks for 12yrs about the SNP and they put Sturgeon before party and Party before Country if Scotland is screwed Its the people left in the SNP who are entirely to blame.

18. viscount ennui says:

SNP supporters v Christians

“So do you actually believe that an angel impregnated Mary to produce JC?”

“Well, obviously no. It is all metaphorical”.

You can fill in the next line re. the SNP and independence.

19. 100%Yes says:

Certain people actually believe ATLS is the party you should now vote for, NAW they ain’t.

They have been actively criticizing the SNP but shouting loud and clear about working with the SNP under the slogan Unity. Come on people for god sake unity with the SNP its like selling your sole to the devil.

I will from now on give and support ISP they have decent people like Allan Petrie.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Don’t think the devil buys sole. It doesn’t keep in the heat.

20. 100%Yes says:

The National doesn’t make good reading for people wanting Independence or the SNP membership.

It states “SNP members’ fury as party ‘blocks independence strategy debate at conference’”.

To the SNP membership!!! loyal Independence supporters have been trying to tell you for twelve years about Sturgeon and the SNP but would you listen. I can under stand your loyalty, but I’ll never forgive your stupidity and its because of your stupidity Scotland is in the mess its in.

The English PM says Irish border poll off the table who gives him the right. Please people do not talk about Celtic unity the SNP wouldn’t have any idea of it.

I wander whats harder to accept 58 in the SNP and nothing to show for it or 58yrs and you none the wiser. Please do not tell me this Bill Cruickshank is a good Scot.

Anyone who was in the SNP and who left the SNP are true Independence supporters, for fuck sake I’ve been arguing with these dump fucks for 12yrs about the SNP and they put Sturgeon before party and Party before Country if Scotland is screwed Its the people left in the SNP who are entirely to blame.

21. Karen says:

What jumped out at me was “15. [Making the case] … over time, well ahead of any future referendum campaign”. There’s 2 delays built in right there. Reminds me of Yes Minister “In the fullness of time, when circumstances allow, at the appropriate juncture”.

22. 100%Yes says:

Just in at The National, “SNP Westminster leader U-turns after opening door to indyref deal with Nigel Farage” I have to pose the question why doesn’t Reform just offer Indyref2 and exclude the SNP entirely that way no one needs to vote for the SNP.

23. Mark Beggan says:

Brilliantly put Rev. It’s the Woke Jihad.

24. Nicky T Naquetti says:

Jesus Fucking H. Christ – that absolute STATE of that dysgenic little weasely hipster in front of that rainbow bus..
    .. we need a future where people like this can have their lunch money taken off them… characters like this make ne yearn for a return to the age of razor gangs, casuals and random violence.

• Bilbo says:

I’ve got a feeling that Online presence for SNP meetings won’t be solely for islanders but also for the young twats like the one in that picture.

25. Red says:

ChatGPT, has Alex Kerr (SNP Member of the Scottish Parliament) ever had a real job?

===

Prior to entering elected office, Alex Kerr worked in call centers and held several administrative and parliamentary support roles within the Scottish National Party (SNP).His complete professional and political job history includes:

Parliamentary Support Roles

Communications Officer – Worked for Christina McKelvie, the former MSP for Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse.

Caseworker – Provided casework support for Ivan McKee during his time as the MSP for Glasgow Provan.Parliamentary Officer / Staffer – Worked for multiple Members of the Scottish Parliament, including John Mason (former MSP for Shettleston).

Political & Elected Offices

Member of the Scottish Parliament (MSP) – Elected to represent the Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse constituency in May 2026.National Secretary of the SNP – Manages internal party administration and constitutional overhauls (assumed office in 2024).

Local Councillor – Elected to the Glasgow City Council representing the Baillieston ward (2022–present).

Private Sector
    Call Center Worker – Employed in private call centers before finishing his electronic engineering and physics studies

===

Computer says naw. Alex Kerr is a complete nonentity, why is he making our laws? He’s a 31 year old daft boy with no experience of grown up responsibility in a real world environment outside politics.

This is like if you were in a jumbo jet, and the cockpit door slammed open, and you saw that the pilot was Bozo the Effing Clown, downing a bottle of Buckfast with his clown shoes on the dashboard. What are we even doing to ourselves here, my dear Scots? How did we ever allow ourselves to elect a dictatorship of wee dicks? Get them tae Falkirk, excuse my language.

• Captain Caveman says:

” How did we ever allow ourselves to elect a dictatorship of wee dicks?”

Simples.

You embraced left wing “progressive” politics and over a period of time, ended up with a bunch of absolute clueless, otherwise unemployable no marks who’ve never had a real job between them (let alone ran a company) running the show – and displacing everyone (and everything) else. All trying to “out lefty” each other, getting more and more absurd as the years roll by.

At the same time, anything resembling “being a Tory”, on the other hand, was deeply shunned – hard work, enterprise, trying to get on in life, earning a crust, law and order, traditional values – even drilling oil out of the ground and processing it for *profit* all mocked and fallen by the wayside.

You reap what you sow, eh. Good luck trying to shift the incumbents out now.

If this sounds smug, it isn’t. WM has a bunch of almost-as-bad-clueless-numpties in charge as well, very few of them ever having had a real job either.

• James says:

“….anything resembling “being a Tory”, on the other hand, was deeply shunned – hard work, enterprise, trying to get on in life, earning a crust, law and order, traditional values…”

This is fcucking hilarious! I thought you were a 77th Brigade stooge but it turns out your whole persona is actually a brilliant parody! A comedy genius that is what you are.

Kudos to you! Well done, keep ’em coming!!

• Captain Caveman says:

Well, certainly, none of the things that I mentioned remotely apply to you, Fatso, so I guess the joke’s on you, thicko.

No change there then!

• James says:

LOL. Brilliant. More!

• Bilbo says:

Wasn’t Michelle Mone all about hard work, enterprise, trying to get on in life, earning a crust, law and order, traditional values?

• Hatey McHateface says:

Good spot, Bilbo.

Peter Murrell too.

Even if you question his commitment to law and order, you have to commend how he collaborated by pleading guilty.

• Captain Caveman says:

”Wasn’t Michelle Mone all about hard work, enterprise, trying to get on in life, earning a crust, law and order, traditional values?”

No idea, I know next to nothing about her.

Regardless, your data sample of 1 (and feeble Whataboutery) doesn’t prove, not disprove a single thing, one way or another. Doesn’t remotely detract from anything I said in my OP either, before being rudely interrupted yet again by the Village Idiot glorying in his idiocy and flinging his shit at passers by.

Perhaps he’s missing his recently departed “fwend”? Last man standing and all that.

• James says:

Aww…how sweet.

Now, any Scot knows that one London registered Unionist party is much the same as another, but call themselves “Scotch Labour”, “Scotch Lib Dem” or whatever; but the Site Pricks on here gallantly and repeatedly defend their Tory Heroes and heroines [sorry, girls but despite your ‘all day, every day’ efforts we Scotch still hate the twats] …. so lets just run through a few of the Tory crooks and twisters over the years, although the complete list would no doubt run to complete volumes;

let’s first go back to the man who first wrecked the national railway system [not Tory PM Major – he came later];

Ernest Marples;
        accused of massive conflict of interest; While Marples was actively using his government power to downsize the rail network, ‘Marples Ridgway’ was being awarded lucrative government contracts to build the infrastructure replacing it—including the M1 motorway and the Hammersmith Flyover.
        In early 1975, facing economic ruin, numerous business lawsuits, and an Inland Revenue order to pay nearly 30 years of unpaid taxes on his London properties, Marples panicked. He engineered a sudden “moonlight flit”, fleeing the UK for Monaco just before the tax year ended. The British government froze his assets, and he spent the remainder of his life in exile as a fugitive from the taxman.

The Poulson scandal;
        Architect John Poulson was convicted of corruption after bribing public officials, including Conservative MP Reginald Maudling, who resigned from his position as Home Secretary.

Who can forget ‘Cash for Questions’ (1990s): In the mid-1990s under John Major, several Tory MPs were accused of accepting money from businessman Mohamed Al-Fayed to table parliamentary questions in the House of Commons, leading to the creation of the Committee on Standards in Public Life.

Chsis Grayling;
        hapless Transport Secretary Chris Grayling awarded a controversial £13.8 million ‘no-deal Brexit’ ferry contract to Seaborne Freight—a start-up company that had no ships, no financial backing, and no history of running ferry services.

Partygate (2020–2022): During the COVID-19 pandemic lockdowns, gatherings held at 10 Downing Street under Baw Jaws violated government rules. Johnson and numerous others received fixed penalty notices from police, leading to widespread public outcry.

And it continues;
        Lobbying and Standard Scandals (2019–2024): Successive resignations and scandals—such as Owen Paterson’s paid lobbying breach, Chris Pincher’s misconduct allegations, and Scott Benton offering to lobby for money—contributed to a perception of declining standards in public office.The 2022 Mini-Budget: Under Liz Truss, unfunded tax cuts caused a sharp spike in mortgage rates and turmoil in the financial markets, forcing her resignation after just 49 days.

But the assorted misfit Tory/Reform Site Pricks, continuously posting on this Scottish independence website [why, I wonder?] claim ignorance, and praise the “hard work, enterprise, trying to get on in life, earning a crust, law and order and traditional values” of the Tories.

“Tory Scum Out” ? Suits me.

26. Ex President Xiden says:

Swinney, the family undertaker about to bury the SNP.

• Young Lochinvar says:

EPX

I suspect that will be when SNP leader in waiting Jenny (the) Gilruth/ Dugdale composite takes the reins; once a serial failure always a serial failure and who is going to answer the difficult questions for her when fanboy John retires?

They are probably banking on her not getting pregnant like McAllan and Forbes which is a possible safe bet for fanboy John (unless there is an immaculate conception in the offing)..

Maybe she’ll get Murray Foote in as CEO?

Honestly, nothing would surprise me about them now, they don’t even know which toilets to use!

• Oneliner says:

Our ‘Mild Colonial Boy’

27. Bilbo says:

It’s possible that a good part of the remaining 40% SNP members are young activists who only care about maintaining their ideology as the core of SNP government policy?

• Young Lochinvar says:

B

Yes.
      IMO.

• Bilbo says:

I doubt very much that many young people actually vote for the SNP, even the vocal minority on social media who always go on about the progressive issues that the SNP have embraced. Most likely it is older, retired people who are trying to relive their rebellious youth.

28. 100%Yes says:

SNP logic to sell Scotland to maintain Holyrood. The party has produced a referendum bill, WHY?

John O’brien “Starting to waver myself!!”. Doesn’t John realise the SNP telling him Independence is dead and buried until England decides otherwise. John my advice to you is please stay in the SNP your no good to man or beast.

29. John McNab says:

Will the “Provisional Agenda” come in Gaelic and other ‘community languages’?

Then, when it’s finally agreed, will it become the ‘real’, ‘continuity’ or ‘new’ agenda?

30. Bob says:

Is this not how all organisations work now? (All levels of government, companies, political parties etc)
    Vast amounts of paperwork that nobody ever reads, saying not very much, but taking huge amount of people hours to compile. Lots of (in some organisations, very well paid) people basking in their self importance?

31. Hatey McHateface says:

Anyone caring about grown up issues; the economy, jobs, growing GDP, etc. may have noticed that Item #33 is the only one that seems to be promising positive improvements in that area.

32. Scott Doig says:

That paragraph about the Audit Committee is cunningly disguised – it looks it’s about giving the Committee teeth but it’s actually about severely restricting the circumstances in which an issue can be raised – “unacceptably high”, “significant”. No sensible person would accept the chair while having one and a half hands tied behind his back like that.

33. Hatey McHateface says:

Near 60 comments on this thread.

If nobody else is going to step up, looks like it falls to me to say that this is all exactly as predicted by Fanon, Memmi, Cesaire and the gang.

Don’t know about Nandy. He’s too new for me to get a feel for his style.

• Mark Beggan says:

It’s the only platform that Fanny has if you don’t count Cambridge and that went tits up. Think of it as Care in the Community, although Fanny hates the society that nurtured him, protected and educated him. I’m assuming it’s a him. The Fannys want non bio brain dead comrades not humans. It’s in the book. If it’s not in the book it can’t be true. It must be in the book (Fanny)

• Hatey McHateface says:

Still though, Mark, his absence is noteworthy.

Hope he hasn’t found himself at ground zero of a positive feed back ideological purity spiral.

“The lessons of history teach us that’s how most post colonial buzzword bingo sessions end” (Hatey)

• James says:

Ah, but wha needs Fannny when we’ve got twa redundant “Pricks” like youse?

34. James Che says:

Stu,

Better together is still as strong as it ever was and the SNP are in it.
    The Scottish national party are in the WFD programme.

Westminster Foundation for Democracy,

Along with other left leaning political parties of UK houses of parliament with a joint agenda programme.
    It was set up In 1992 from all political
    The Scotland act came into being in 1998.

Interesting in the fact that it discovers the SNP real political one agenda. And removes Democracy from the people in Scotland. Definately no referendum as it considers itself as a security assest and follows a open society policy.

• 100%Yes says:

The SNP stating quite clearly don’t vote for the SNP we can’t delivery a referendum unless its in the form of a section 30 order, which the SNP knows will never be delivered.

So the BIG question for the SNP membership is, if Swinney had got a outright majority what was Swinney going to do?

Come on people England being clear Scotland can not leave the union, so we have to look at a alternative and it isn’t the SNP its Unity within the YES movement and UDI.

Tell me what Country in the world where it ask its citizens to vote in a election and when they vote overwhelmingly for something 1 person in an our Country say no and that’s al that matters. If this isn’t a colony then what is, I wished someone would have the balls to say to Swinney why do you keep asking us to vote for your party in an election surely before you put in your manifesto a referendum it would be better to ask first then put in your manifesto.

35. James Che says:

The security of Westminsters Great Britain parliament.
    Which Scotland has never entered into a treaty with, we only ever held a treaty with the parliament of England and Wales, which the parliament of Scotland was dissolved from.

This WFD is what your up against when trying to hold to account the protected SNP of Westminster.

36. James Che says:

I believe Lynsey Hoyle is its patron or was at the time.

37. James Che says:

I believe Lynsey Hoyle is its patron or was at the time. And the SNP are part of that Westminster security asset system.

38. 100%Yes says:

The SNP is calling for the Scotland office to be abolished Swinney already knows the Scotland office is going to be abolished.

39. James Che says:

Just need to google Westminster foundation for democracy to realise why Scotland would not be seen as a security risk to Westminsters rebrand parliament of Great Britain,
    And why the SNP maintain dropping the independence question.

40. ALANM says:

Agent Sturgeon’s mission is almost complete. All that remains for Swinney is formalising a merger with the Greens paving the way for Edinburgh to overtake Dublin as the woke capital of Europe.

41. James Che says:

The agenda of the SNP, and most political parties in GB is the same belief think tanks.
    Captured governments that the public of the four nations never knew nothing about when going to polling Stations to vote,
    Keep the real agenda hidden from the public and that all political parties are but one party behind curtains and closed doors,

42. MaryB says:

100% Yes 6.09pm

You just fell into the ‘divide and rule’ trap.

43. willie says:

Here’s quotes that the democrat not Great Gordon Brown has just made in the Guardian to coincide with his new book launch.

” Asked about continued pressure for Scottish independence, Brown said: “Scotland’s got to find a way of living in cooperation with other countries, and independence would not be the right way forward. We’re geographically, economically, socially, culturally linked to the rest of the United Kingdom, whether it’s Wales, England or parts of Ireland.”

” Questioned about whether the geographical link of Northern Ireland with the Republic of Ireland meant uniting the two made sense, he replied: “Yes. Well, of course, in the long term, Ireland will be united.”

So, folks, listen up. You are connected to England, Wales, and Parts, yes parts of on Ireland by which he means Northern Ireland and you better find ways to getting used to it.

Well ain’t the old dinosaur the big democrat just. No wonder they called him the clunking fist!

44. willie says:

oh and one other thing about clunking fist Brown declaring that Scots irrespective of their political wishes will just have to get used to union, it does occur that over a quarter of a century since the Good Friday Agreement that the British Government consider the treaty old hat.

Sadly, if through peace, political will is denied, it may well be that the whole unhappy process of forced union unravels again.

Oh and don’t the Brits just love engaging their military. Seems very much so. But hey, lets hope for the best. Fascism and colonialism can be beaten.

Ní neart go cur le chéile as an old Celtic proverb said.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“Don’t the Brits just love engaging their military”

Too right.

Only just the other week they deployed masked and hooded fascists to help put out the wild fires.

• Mark Beggan says:

You will be pleased to know that the British military now consists of a Drag Queen show played by women and some airfix models of the Hawker Harrier. There are plans to expand the navy with assault dinghy’s and personal alarms.

45. J Robertson says:

As mentioned by other posters – how on earth with the shambolic nature of Scotland’s economy and public finances is it possible to come up with such a collection of niche vision less motions ( and of course resurrecting the old chestnut SNP cause celebres and those of the Rainbow Green “Indy partners” – despite these not having the public backing and in one case rejecting settled law ). Quelle surprise !

Only your trademark humour got me to the end Stu . My personal favourite being “YSI calls for conference to praise YSI . “

46. James Che says:

At some point Scotland has to ask questions,
    what do we meed a referendum for,
    What would we declare UDI from,
    Why does Scotland require permission to leave its voluntary union position,
    What year did the dissolved parliament of Scotland create a new treaty with the parliament of Great Britain,
    What year did the dissolved parliament of Scotland create a new treaty with the Anglo Irish parliament.

A raft of questions the SNP will never ask,
    And did alex salmond know of the WFD, as it was in operation from 1992.

• Hatey McHateface says:

You forgot one.

Why are Scots still being oppressed with colonially imposed question marks.

47. Northcode says:

“Ye ken ma pal, Kenny, don’t ye?” Wee Frankie said.

“Dis he no come fae the Raploch oot Stirlin’ way?” Jim said. Jim had been Frankie’s drinking buddy all of their adult lives.

“Aye,” Wee Frankie said. “That’s him.”

Jim sipped his whisky and set the glass back down on the bar. “Whit aboot him?”

“He’s deid.” Wee Frankie’s voice quivered slightly as he spoke the words.

“Whit?” Jim looked up. “Hou?”

Wee Frankie swallowed. “Ach, it wis terrible sae it wis,” he said. “He wis comin’ tae see me at ma hoose and wis juist turnin’ intae ma driveway when his motor wis sucker?punched by a speedin’ big bastardin lorry. It hit his motor sae haurd he wis catapulted oot the sunroof and sent hurtlin’ thru ma upstairs bedroom windae. Cut tae pieces he wis.”

“Christ! Whit a way tae go,” Jim said.

“Aw naw,” Wee Frankie said. “That isnae whit kilt him.”

“Whit then?” Jim said.

“Well, efter he landit oan ma new bedroom cairpet he managed tae stummle, bluid poorin oot him, tae the tap o the stairs an tummelt doon thaim breakin’ his neck.”

“My God! Whit a way tae go.” Jim lifted his glass and took a gulp of his whisky.

“Aw naw,” Wee Frankie said. “That isnae whit kilt him.”

Jim was aghast. “Fir Christ’s sake… whit kilt him then if aw that didnae?”

“Well,” Wee Frankie said. “Dae ye ken hou a hiv that wee electric meter cupboard juist aff the bottom o ma stairs?”

“Aye a dae. It’s a richt stupit place fir it.”

“Kenny smashed intae it heid first, short?circuited aw ma hoose’s electrics, gittin twa hunner volts thru himsel that burnt his face aff and aw his hair anaw.”

“That’s horrendous, Frankie. Whit an awfu way tae go, richt enough!”

“Aw naw. That isnae whit kilt him, Jim.”

“Ye mean ther’s mair tae it, Frankie?”

“Aye ther’s mair tae it.”

“Well, tell me then… whit actually did kill Kenny?”

“A shot him,” Wee Frankie said.

Jim stared. “YE SHOT HIM! Ye shot Kenny wi yer lightweight 28?gauge over-under, thon yin wi the improved cylinder choke… Grousin’ gun?”

“Aye, that’s richt…wi ma 28?gauge Grousin’ gun.”

Jim shook his head slowly. “Ye mean Kenny gets blootered by a huge lorry, is cuts tae ribbons, breaks his neck, gets his face burnt aff by the electric, survives aw that…and yit he wis kilt acause ye shot him? Fir the luv o God, Frankie… why did ye shoot him?”

“He wis wreckin’ ma fuckin hoose!” Wee Frankie said.

• Hatey McHateface says:

I guess you need to have experienced the utter tedium of living for a thousand years, while traversing the mind-numbing emptiness between the stars, to really appreciate this.

48. James Che says:

Gordon Brown thinks Scotland better get used to its voluntary union with England, which Scotland was relieved from all obligations when its old parliament of Scotland was dissolved from the treaty by England,

I am sure he was never known as a comedian and still isn’t funny telling porky jokes.

49. James Che says:

J Robertson,

Scotland is a mess,

But then we have to accept for now that the SNP run it under WFD security assets for Westminsters.

• J Robertson says:

WFD James is that Whats for dinner or World Federation for the Deaf ?

50. TURABDIN says:

TIME FOR SWINNEY to swim with the fishes.

51. James Che says:

I bet the National and BBC never cover the story that the SNP are in the Westminster Foundation for Democracy agenda.

While reminding one and all Scotland entered a voluntary union with England,

52. James Che says:

North code,

I like it,

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,975 Posts, 1,250,455 Comments

• Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Auf Wiedersehen, Pet Who would have thought a perfume salesman would change German history. It is the end of the…Sep 6, 18:51
    • sam on Anything But That: “Usually I scroll past much of what is btl comment regarding it as shite. A good deal of that shite…Sep 6, 18:49
    • Young Lochinvar on Anything But That: “Missing person appeal! Will the real Northcode come forward please, his account here has clearly been hacked and it appears…Sep 6, 18:36
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Salmond new how difficult the task to unite Scotland internally would be. Everybody was on board on the anti English…Sep 6, 18:23
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Well said Northy. Better late than never, about Ten years late, but none the less. Seriously! That is something that…Sep 6, 18:12
    • Young Lochinvar on Anything But That: “NC Stopped reading at “the UK constitution is recognised by the UK Supreme Court”. Kind of says it all really..Sep 6, 18:02
    • TURABDIN on Anything But That: “Strategy and a preternatural understanding of the opponent. WOW….if only.Sep 6, 17:59
    • factchecker on Anything But That: “Just repeating this because it’s the best summary I’ve seen in years. Well done, Northy. “Independence requires maturity, realism, and…Sep 6, 17:09
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “sam likes to present ideas as evidence and conjecture as fact. He never quotes any source until he’s satisfied its…Sep 6, 16:52
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “” That is the opinion at least of the European Journal of International Law.” Who cares? You still do not…Sep 6, 16:49
    • TURABDIN on Anything But That: “IN THE IDEALIST’S UNIVERSE MAYBE. In the messy actuality any minority within a larger state cannot rely on the principle…Sep 6, 16:47
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “I don’t know how you’re doing this, Northy, and I don’t care that much. Just stop reading my mind.Sep 6, 16:35
    • Hatey McHateface on Anything But That: “The starship to Alpha Centauri left without him. The next one’s not due for 500 years. So he has no…Sep 6, 16:27
    • Northcode on Anything But That: ““I think your final paragraph needs to be amended…” No – it doesn’t. Read it again.Sep 6, 16:03
    • Northcode on Anything But That: “I support Scottish independence, but I’ve grown weary of the flawed rhetoric deployed in its name. When a movement clings…Sep 6, 15:50
    • sam on Anything But That: “I think your final paragraph needs to be amended. Scottish people need to be able to hold a referendum at…Sep 6, 15:46
    • Northcode on Anything But That: ““The UK Constitution…A bit of a myth that, point me to the stirring single document…” I’m not sure of the…Sep 6, 15:44
    • Young Lochinvar on Anything But That: “B Top ten in spending on military eh? I wonder how much of that is spent on the money-pit “nuclear…Sep 6, 15:31
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “The UN is the record keeper of war. They list the conflicts in the world, keep records, take statements, give…Sep 6, 15:17
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Amen.Sep 6, 15:06
    • Young Lochinvar on Anything But That: “NC The UK Constitution.. A bit of a myth that, point me to the stirring single document will you? I’d…Sep 6, 14:59
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Any relation to Darius the Great? “subjugated Thrace and forced Macedon to become a fully subordinate client kingdom within the…Sep 6, 14:59
    • agentx on Anything But That: “Ultimately, while pro-independence groups look to the UN Charter as an overarching moral and political justification for independence, the UN’s…Sep 6, 14:11
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “Shut up and eat your Lembas bread. You pointy eared trouble maker.Sep 6, 14:00
    • Mark Beggan on Anything But That: “I thought it would be obvious. He has the woke disease. The symptoms can be quite easy to spot; Constant…Sep 6, 13:57
    • Insider on Anything But That: “Bloody hell, Northy ! You’re beginning to talk sense for a change ! What happened to you ?Sep 6, 12:57
    • Captain Caveman on Anything But That: “So it’s true then: Alf’s much-vaunted UN delusion will achieve… … “Hee-Haw”, to coin a phrase. I’m sure much of…Sep 6, 12:57
    • sam on Anything But That: “The Convention declaration does not change the legal position. The claim of right was debated in the HoC and Sec…Sep 6, 12:36
    • Northcode on Anything But That: “For those who might have fallen under the delusion that the United Nations is planning to liberate the Scots from…Sep 6, 12:27
    • James Che on Anything But That: “Bilbo, Without a active 1707 treaty between Scotland and England, Scotland is not in a national debt situation with the…Sep 6, 12:25