The Land Of Do-As-You-Please

Posted on August 17, 2026 by

The contempt for the Scottish public being openly shown by public servants paid from the public purse to answer to the public has at this point reached such endemic levels that we’re not sure an acceptable level of trust can ever be salvaged.

The reply above is not just evasive, not even just pathetic, it’s insulting – not just to us, but to every citizen of Scotland.

The letter we sent on 15 July has simply been ignored.

There is no attempt whatsoever to engage with the Dean of Faculty’s analysis, which clearly finds unarguable evidence of a crime. It merely repeats Police Scotland’s fobbing off of the decision to the Crown Office, who to date have also refused to offer the public any explanation why nobody has been prosecuted for a serious criminal offence committed by the governing party of the country.

It does fit a pattern, though.

Time and again in recent years, the SNP government has demonstrated its utter contempt for the law of the land, spending millions of pounds of taxpayers’ money fighting hopeless court cases, losing them, and then refusing to implement the courts’ rulings. It has to be dragged kicking and screaming into eventual compliance, often having deliberately caused delays of several years.

It does so secure in the knowledge that the establishment – and in particular the Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service, whose head, the Lord Advocate, is also a government minister answerable to the First Minister – will protect it at every turn.

(Click image above for the full, deeply troubling article.)

The kindest thing we can say about the latest non-response from DCC Houston is that it continues to focus attention on the festering cancer at the heart of the Scottish judicial system – the Crown Office, where justice goes to die. But if Police Scotland want to avoid being tarred with the same brush, they’re going to have to start doing a lot better than this.

Wings will take advice from its legal team on where we can go from here, but there are numerous possible options. We continue to await a response from Police Scotland to a Freedom Of Information request on the matter from last month, which has now passed the deadline.

It joins another FOI request, this one from early June, which is now more than a month overdue and which we’ve filed an official complaint over.

Police Scotland are usually very quick with FOI responses, in stark contrast to almost any other public body in Scotland, so one can only speculate as to what could be taking so long with these ones, neither of which is very complex or difficult.

But as regards the reply we started this article with, we’re struggling to imagine what “new evidence” the Deputy Chief Constable could require. A crime has demonstrably taken place, which was initially indignantly denied by the SNP, only to be subsequently publicly admitted by the First Minister AFTER the police investigation had concluded.

An admission after the investigation is plainly new evidence – indeed, it’s far more than mere evidence. You don’t need to investigate any more if a representative of the perpetrators has admitted to the crime.

Whether it was Police Scotland or COPFS who determined that embezzlement had not taken place, that decision has now been clearly exposed as wrong by John Swinney’s admission. All that remains to be established is who specifically was responsible, and that one isn’t hard to figure out – it was whoever was running the SNP at the time. The party leader is responsible for the executive decisions of the party.

A great deal now rests on the answers to those two FOIs. We have a degree of confidence that we’ll get answers, because the Information Commissioner is just about the only public servant in Scotland still committed to doing his job with decency, competence, integrity and professionalism.

It matters because as it stands, the grim truth is that the idea of Scotland being in a fit state to become an independent nation again is a child’s fantasy.

If you don’t have justice as a cornerstone of your society, and especially if those in power are completely above/in control of the law, you have nothing worth fighting for.

0 to “The Land Of Do-As-You-Please”

1. BLMac says:

It’s plainly obvious the gender benders are still in control of the Scottish Govt and the top levels of the judiciary and enforcement branches.
    It make you wonder what compromat they have on various people.

• Nicky T Naquetti says:

COULD THE COLLAPSE OF THE SNPS STATE-OWNED BANK HAVE ANY CONNECTION TO MISSING FUNDS?

See: link to dailymail.com

CONSIDER: Could Penfold and/or Helmet-Heid have pockled some of the missing shekels to invest in this shitshow, hoping to enrich themselves beyond their wildest dreams?

THIS may explain why there is a massive conspiracy to prevent the great unwashed from any further investigation, because a conspiracy is definitely what we have here.

BTW, if you are one of the freaks who won’t look at the Daily Mail, please consider committing Sodoku.

• Hatey McHateface says:

What should we commit if we’re no good with numbers?

Talking of which, the linked article makes it clear enough that the SNIB isn’t “collapsing”. Scotland’s tax payers are on the hook for £110 million, but as tax payer’s money, it’s a near inexhaustible income stream, so no worries.

For any breakfasting readers contemplating following the link, be warned the article contains a large, graphically detailed picture of Scotland’s Mammie.

She’s flourishing a pen too. If only we’d known then what we know now, we could have had a closer look at it.

2. Lyn Middleton says:

Your last sentence above Stuart is Spot on!

3. Effijy says:

This corrupt and inadequate system masquerading as Law & Order in Scotland has itself got to be brought to justice.

They are turning the country into a banana republic.

We may require a crowd Funder and or a petition to fight against these high powered truth deniers.

• Graf Midgehunter says:

If only we could rise up to the status of a Banana Republic, that would be an improvement.

• Heather McLean says:

Unfortunately Scotland is a banana republic without the actual bonus of bananas. The contempt for the people of Scotland is staggering.Our judiciary is compromised and our police force is not fit for purpose, which is actually fighting criminal activity.
        Far from the case being made for self determination we actually see the exact opposite happening. The present SNP regimes contempt and incompetence makes the case for the dissolution of our hard fought for Scottish Parliament

• Michael S says:

Continuation of the CPS and police ducking and diving not an not an option as witnesses in a private criminal prosecution. Delighted to join any crowd funding.

4. Keith B says:

Every day. Every sodding day I read something online that turns me (a normally calm and very reasonable person) into an incandescent rage, and this has to be among the worst.
    How these people have the audacity to carry on ignoring and lying is beyond me. I would be curling up in a quiet corner somewhere, never to be seen or heard in public again, from sheer toe-curling embarrassment if nothing else.
    We are well overdue a good clearing out, and I’m beginning to understand how the French felt in the runup to their revolution.

• GM says:

Nae conscience. Why be honest when your interests are better served by lying?

• GM says:

Agree 100% with your comment btw.

5. robertkknight says:

Corrupt Police.

Corrupt Judiciary.

Corrupt Government.

Did I miss anything/anyone?

• Heaver says:

Corrupt media.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Corrupt nation.

“Every nation gets the government it deserves” (Joseph de Maistre)”

• Jay says:

They say your name is J. Main: you speak only for yourself.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Fucks sake, Jay Main.

It’s a well-known quote, widely repeated.

Why don’t you educate yersel?

And yes, if a nation gets the government it deserves, and the Scottish government is corrupt, then that implies Scotland the nation is corrupt.

The limit of “some big, bad, English basturts made us do it and then ran away” was reached long ago.

6. 100%Yes says:

I’m now wondering Why go to the pretense of jailing Murrel? Because its obvious at leased to me that this isn’t about justice its about covering something up more sinister.

Murrel took all this far to easily for my liking, Sturgeon and Swinney’s attitude towards this whole affair has been with a pinch of salt.

I have to ask is this the real reason Sturgeon has never pursed Indyref2 after meeting May and now we’re being told Scotland has no right to leave, I can’t help but think this is all link.

People are being defended here and I do not believe this is at the Scottish level, this has the British state all over it.

• McDuff says:

Quite agree.
      I find it just a tad strange that when questions were being asked about the missing Indy Ref money and things were getting hot especially when the police got involved, up pops Murrell and the entire investigation conveniently shifts to him and away from the missing Indy Ref money. It almost seems like Murell”s embezzlement was a set up and there was a haste in spending the money quickly on ridiculously expensive kitchen items and the Jaguar and motor home to produce a large monetary crime quickly.
      Did Murrell agree to be the fall guy? Why has Sturgeon fled to London? Why are the police and COFS acting with the confidence that they are untouchable?
      Something is going on in the shadows?

• 100%Yes says:

McDuff,

I quite agree, the British state knows and is involved. Sturgeon is being protected.

Independence isn’t going to die that genie is out of the bottle and it isn’t going to go back in.

Too many people want Independence for it to be stopped and Salvo and Liberation Scotland are making Scotland cause known to all the right people the trouble for England is no one likes England not even the English and the idea of destroying the British state would appeal to a lot of Country’s our trouble is the SNP and it always has been since 2015.

• Alf Baird says:

“this has the British state all over it”

Indeed, and Frantz Fanon explained the inner workings of a colonial justice system in which, for obvious reasons, ‘the native… hardly ever seeks for justice in the colonial framework’.

Where the main goal of colonial governing institutions is to keep the racket going, and to take any action necessary to do so; for ‘the colonial regime owes its legitimacy to force’.

Given such events, ‘even the more assimilated native content with the status quo begins to question the colonial situation’.

• Aidan says:

In other words, why take any responsibility for anything, ever, in any situation, when you can misapply texts on 1950’s Algeria to blame the English.

• Joan Savage says:

Adroitly put, Alf. Nail hit soundly on head, to the discomfiture of colonists and their apologists.

7. robertkknight says:

Oops…

Almost forgot,

Corrupt Press – they should be all over this like white on rice, but no. It’s left to one guy in his spare room who doesn’t even live in Scotland – no offense Rev.

Shows the extent of protection being afforded to the puppet regime at Holyrood. Enric Miralles should’ve skipped the upturned boat hull design and gone full-on Wooden Horse of Troy – Beware Westminster representatives (Dewar) bearing gifts!

Ever get the feeling you’ve been cheated?

8. Marie says:

“there is nothing worth fighting for”. Correct. Has been my opinion for a very long time.

9. 100%Yes says:

I have to ask why does the UKG want to lose the opportunity to bring down the SNP and to use the SNP to close Holyrood?

It makes no sense to me that here is the golden opportunity to rid the UK of the Scottish national party by closing down Holyrood and having an internal inquiry to the SNP and the British state doesn’t want to do it.

• Skip_NC says:

Because with Holyrood there is the pretence that we have some control over our own affairs. Without it, the truth becomes obvious and a movement will emerge that reignites the independence movement.

10. Andrew Morton says:

It may be that our lack of independence is the root of the corruption. Who, ultimately, does the Crown Office/ Scottish Government/ Scottish establishment look to for their orders? In whose interest is it that they behave in a corrupt manner?

Plainly it’s the UK establishment who are pulling their strings in the centuries long campaign to prevent Scottish independence and how better to sicken the voters than to corrupt their society?

• Alex towns says:

What utter pish. A indie Scotland would have the same career driven assholes in the same positions making sure they and the “priorities” are protected.
      A media / crown service will do absolutely no different to now. The pie in the sky theory is why non indie people laugh. Suddenly a change of “flag” changes everyone allegiance to morality? Really? No chance.

11. 100%Yes says:

Both the Crown & Police Scotland’s have been told by a higher authority to close this down.

12. J Robertson says:

“The land of do as you please “ – only because so many Scots vote for them and therefore endorse this corrupt behaviour .
    Despite the overwhelming evidence presented by you Stu this SNP government has wound its tentacles around what should be independent organisations to do exactly that.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“so many Scots vote for them and therefore endorse this corrupt behaviour”

Precisely.

There’s very little of this that wasn’t in the public domain back in May when a majority of Sovereign Scots willingly voted for 5 more years of the same.

The SNP can use the “Farage Defense”:

“Never mind what we’re accused of. What is the verdict in the court of public opinion?”

Which, looking at the chronology, is grossly unfair to Farage. He would correctly and accurately call it the “SNP Defense”.

• William Smith says:

Or “Defence” even.

• Ian Smith says:

It was a big achievement to push the Murrell court date past the election, and hardly likely to be a coincidence.

Up to that point any attempt to discuss the situation was battered down as being potentially contempt of court.

Whether it would have made a big difference is up to debate. Would Nats have switched to greens, stayed at home or stuck with The Party?

13. Karen says:

Scotgov hold the purse strings. They threaten to cut any services that don’t comply with their diktat. It’s as simple as that.

14. Morgatron says:

They appear to just want to keep digging their trench deeper and deeper thinking they can just keep fobbing off and it will disappear. Along with the Alex enquiry , its just continues highlighting that Scotlands Govt, Police Scotland and prosecution servive are corrupt to the core.

15. Knuckle_Heid says:

“It also does not identify any significant new information that was not available to investigators at the time”

WTF?! What are you talking about – the pretendy First Minister himself stated the ring fenced funds have been spent on a political party’s day to day operations, in clear breach of the law.

This is unbelievable and I don’t know if I am more appalled or depressed at reading this. What a state Scotland is in after 20 years of the SNP.

16. macdonut69 says:

“It [Wings previous letter] does not identify any significant new information that was not available to investigators at the time”

They’re clearly saying that, during their investigation, someone made a similar statement to Swinney’s regarding the spending of the money on other SNP related activity. They had strong evidence of embezzlement which they reported to COPFS who declined to proceed further.

I doubt if further pressure on the police is going to result in any different response as I’m not sure what else they can say. The eventual response to your FOI requests may be revealing. Otherwise, it’s a case of chipping away at COPFS which is clearly where the corruption lies in this case.

• robertkknight says:

The only conclusion to draw is that Swinney’s weasel worded 100-second confession had previously been given in private to Police Scotland/COPFS, who must’ve concluded in their own minds that as nationalist fools and their bawbees are easy parted, there was no crime to answer.

Therefore what was news to the rest of us courtesy of forked-tongued John, was yesterday’s news to the COPFS: Crime Only Pays For Some.

• robertkknight says:

… let’s face it.

If the SNP were prosecuted on what is clearly an open and shut case and were promptly declared bankrupt, the British State would have to spend a great deal of time, money and effort infiltrating to the same extent the upper echelons of whatever party replaced it.

As far as Westminster is concerned, there’s too much invested in the SNP to let a mere matter of criminality jeopardise the status quo.

Do nothing to see here folks, move along…

• Alex towns says:

Swinney gave it in private but means diddly. He was open about not having a committee membership etc so wasn’t involved. How could he know what happened? Unless he was sworn in? And therefore liable for perjury if incorrect.

17. desimond says:

Apropos of nothing…

How much has Scottish Police budget increased in last 12 years:

In cash terms, the policing budget in Scotland has increased by approximately £640 million over the last 12 years, rising from roughly £1.08 billion when Police Scotland was formed in 2013-14 to a record allocation of over £1.7 billion for 2026-27

How much has Scottish Crown Office budget increased in last 12 years?
    The budget for the Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service (COPFS) in Scotland has risen from approximately £105–110 million a decade ago to £260 million in the Scottish Budget 2026 to 2027, marking a cash increase of over 130% driven heavily by post-pandemic court recovery and inflation pressure

18. Northcode says:

The Dean of Faculty tells us that he believes the crime of embezzlement has been committed in the case of illegally diverted ringfenced funds held in trust by the SNP.

COPFS, however, tells us that it can’t prosecute for the crime because such a prosecution requires a clearly identifiable individual, or individuals, who could be held responsible and tried in a court of law.

Assuming that COPFS is just as clueless as the Dean on who the culprit(s) actually is, it would appear that the Dean and COPFS are in agreement:

Paragraph 25 of the Dean of Faculty’s written legal opinion.

25. The caveat is that the information before me does not disclose who within the SNP authorized the disbursement of the relevant funds. That would be a crucial fact for any criminal prosecution, as only individuals can be dishonest. However, for reasons discussed below, that is immaterial for the purposes of a civil claim.

In light of this, Stuart Houston’s reply seems perfectly reasonable.

Houston says in his letter, “…if information comes to light that was not previously available…”

I’m assuming such information would be the name of an individual and where the evidence is sufficiently robust for COPFS to prosecute with a reasonable chance of getting a conviction.

It should also be noted that Swinney’s public acknowledgement that a crime has been committed is not an admission of guilt. He is merely agreeing with the Dean of Faculty that a crime has been committed – he doesn’t claim to know who by.

• Williams says:

Surely it’s the folk who signed off on the accounts?

• Northcode says:

You’ve put forward a reasonable question.

Here’s an answer that might help clarify things.

Signing off accounts does not meet the criminal threshold for embezzlement in Scots law.

And here’s the reasoning… for those interested.

Embezzlement in Scots law is a personal crime.

To prosecute embezzlement, the Crown must prove beyond reasonable doubt that:

a specific individual was entrusted with specific property for a defined purpose and misused that property with ‘mens rea’ (knowledge + intention).

This is why Roddy Dunlop’s opinion is so clear:

The crime was committed, but no identifiable individual can be shown to have done it.

That alone kills any chance of criminal prosecution.

Criminal liability requires proof of personal involvement, not organisational responsibility.

This is the key distinction between criminal embezzlement (requires identifying the individual wrongdoer) and civil liability(can attach to the organisation even if the individual wrongdoer can’t be identified).

Dunlop is essentially saying:

The SNP is civilly liable as custodian of the ringfenced funds. But no individual can be criminally prosecuted because no individual can be identified.

Of course that situation might change if new evidence identifying an individual comes to light – but I think that outcome is unlikely now.

This is standard Scots law.

Also, if more than one person is involved each person must be proven individually guilty.

There is no “group liability” for embezzlement in Scots law.

Moreover, if multiple people were involved, the Crown must show who did what.

Interestingly, Scots criminal law has a very particular flavour when it comes to financial wrongdoing.

It’s old, precise, and deeply rooted in the idea that criminal guilt attaches to persons, not organisations, not committees, not groups, not offices.

That’s why these cases are so interesting: they reveal how Scots law thinks about the nature of responsibility.

• Aidan says:

I’m going to say that this is very unlikely to be true Northcode, Roddy Dunlop only has the information that is in the public domain so he personally isn’t in a position to say who committed the offences. However, Police Scotland would definitely have the information on who made each payment and who authorised it.

The alternative would be that a number of people within the SNP have anonymous access to the SNP bank account and payments system, and the ability to make large payments without any oversight or review. I cannot believe for a second that any established organisation subject to audit requirements would have such poor internal controls. They’d never pass any statutory audit in those circumstances, and would likely face charges under the companies act or from the electoral commission.

Just think about what you’re suggesting here – the evidence would show that an embezzlement had occurred of nearly all of the parties funds which left it close to insolvent. Under investigation, the parties response is “we don’t know who made those payments or for what purpose” and after that explanation the charge is dropped?

• Northcode says:

“Police Scotland would definitely have the information on who made each payment and who authorised it.”

Apart from this being a massive supposition, the reality is generally far more mundane… and far less dramatic.

Most of the time, the truth is:

the evidence is insufficient

the wrongdoer can’t be identified

the legal threshold can’t be met

responsibility is diffuse

documentation is incomplete

political organisations are messy

criminal law requires precision

This is especially true in cases of complicated financial misconduct.

This isn’t corruption… it’s complexity.

And complexity is easily misinterpreted as conspiracy.

Complexity also makes it very difficult to prove who did what in cases involving financial crime.

Murrell confessed… so no trial. But if he hadn’t, and had decided instead to slog it out, it’s possible his trial would dragged on for some time.

Also, modern political organisations often have opaque chains of responsibility.

This is a structural issue… not corruption.

Political organisations frequently have:

collective decision-making

undocumented instructions

informal authorisations

verbal agreements

committee-level actions

shared access to accounts

poor record-keeping

This makes it extremely difficult to identify:

who authorised a payment

who executed it

who instructed it

who knew about it

who intended wrongdoing

Police Scotland can’t “definitely” know what was never recorded.

• Aidan says:

I’m sorry Northcode, that’s bollocks, and I hope you don’t find yourself in a position of responsibility in any organisation with that attitude!

It’s an offence under section 389 of the Companies Act 2006 for a company not to maintain adequate accounting records, and of course in such a situation as I said above, the auditors would not sign off the accounts, and the electoral commission would also definitely impose fines or prosecute.

You can’t honestly believe that a heavily regulated entity like a political party can have very large transactions coming into and out of the bank accounts with no record of who made the transaction, who authorised it, and for what purpose it was made, and that this is both acceptable and normal. You say it’s not corruption, but if it’s not corruption, it’s gross incompetence of a criminal nature. No legitimate, properly run organisation operates in anything like the way you suggest, with large, potentially insolvency inducing transactions made based on a verbal instruction to someone who could access the bank account anonymously.

Even if we took your extremely improbable suggestion, we are supposed to believe that nobody noticed this enormous transaction which drained the SNP of nearly all of its money and thought to question it or understand it in any way. Or perhaps in your mind there is nobody responsible for overseeing the accounts, people just simply go in, receive any money they like, spend it on what they like, and everyone just prays that down to sheer luck and good fortune, the account maintains a positive balance at the end of the month.

It’s nonsense, the police know who made the payments and why.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Even if every single word you post is gospel, Northy, (and it’s not), there’s still £600,000 and more, plus a substantial wedge of interest missing.

A goodly chunk of it NEVER INTENDED FOR THE SNP by the donors.

Even if the powers that be believe there’s near zero chance of success, Scottish public interest needs to see that this kind of malfeasance cannot happen without those responsible suffering at least a few sleepless nights. Even if just to send a clear message to those who will otherwise do it again.

Plenty of other hopeless prosecutions have gone ahead at great cost to the Scottish taxpayer.

It’s impossible for me to believe you can’t see this, Northy, and so I don’t believe it. You’re trolling just for the buzz you’re getting out of it.

• Northcode says:

“…the auditors would not sign off the accounts.”

And in the SNP’s case… their auditors didn’t sign off on the SNP’s ‘messy’ accounts.

“Scottish Labour’s deputy leader Jackie Baillie said the resignation of Johnstone Carmichael [SNP’s auditors] was a deeply worrying development that posed “serious questions” about the SNP’s financial affairs.” – From a BBC news article dated 7th April 2023.

• Northcode says:

But the SNP’s auditors of ten years wouldn’t sign off on the SNP’s ‘messy’ accounts in 2023.

• Aidan says:

Yes – they resigned for what are very clear and understandable reasons. But equally the accounts were signed off in 2022 and before then, and from 2024 onwards, that wouldn’t happen if the SNP accounts were just a series of anonymous, unexplained bank transactions.

• Robert says:

Could an excuse be incompetence? One person, with good intent, collects “ringfenced” money, pays it into the SNP bank account forgetting to add the fence. Another person looks at the accounts, says “plenty there, I’ll pay the bills”. No intent to commit a crime, and difficult to identify where in the chain of incompetence an offence was committed.
      The wrongdoing (as opposed to incompetence) started when those that realised what was going on started lying to cover up. But maybe that’s not embezzelment.

• Dick Wall says:

Northcode. Thanks very much for these comments. I don’t think they are bollocks at all and deserve calm consideration.

19. TURABDIN says:

THE WORLD of do as you Please.

link to nypost.com

Greenland is safe….for the moment.

«If you don’t have justice as a cornerstone of your society, and especially if those in power are completely above/in control of the law, you have nothing worth fighting for»

• Hatey McHateface says:

“you have nothing worth fighting for”

What tripe. It’s worth fighting for the establishment of a system of justice that ensures that nobody is above the law.

Many of us, both in Scotland and in the USA, believed we already had these systems of justice. Now we’re discovering that we don’t.

But if we ever did have, how do you think they were first established? By people fighting for them, that’s how.

20. Williams says:

Surely it’s the folk who signed off on the accounts?

21. Graf Midgehunter says:

“It makes no sense to me that here is the golden opportunity to rid the UK of the Scottish national party by closing down Holyrood…..”

Probably because that would create a vacuum and offer the independent minded 45-48% an opportunity to regroup with potentially wider consequences than the Salmond 2014 scare.

22. cirsium says:

Rev – I thought that the fact that Scotland is not currently fit to be an independent nation again was the whole plan. I remember Alan Bisset’s warning in 2014 about what would happen to Scotland if YES didn’t win and so it has transpired. So justice is not currently the cornerstone of our society. So what’s new?

23. ALANM says:

This case provides further evidence of a phenomenon which has been growing rapidly since the start of the century. I first observed it in my place of work where chains of “yes men” started to form and reasoned argument carried no weight. All that mattered was what the man at the top wanted. People with brains were employed at every level but were not expected to use them. In order to advance your career you simply had to establish a good personal relationship with the boss and then toady for all you were worth.

• Anthem says:

ALANM. Totally agree. Thatcher created a monster.

• Hatey McHateface says:

As Thatcher was ousted in 1990, ten years before the start of the century ALANM writes about, she must have sneakily waited a decade before creating her monster in her retirement.

It’s defo odd that nae cant has slain that monster since.

Maybe it’s more of a bogle than a monster – a figment of overactive imaginations.

• Jay says:

Anthem and Alanm, your assessment is correct. Thatcher and her associates intended to corrupt potentially democratic politics with a massive injection of authoritarianism and it has trickled down through much of the institutional structure of the UK, regrettably affecting Scotland and reducing its distinctiveness from the rest of the UK.
        It seems predictable that some commenters would contrive to evade the history, probably prior to their lifetime.

24. sarah says:

Without restoring Scotland’s independence, we will never have a chance to rectify the corruption of our various institutions.

We needn’t worry that the SNP will be running Scotland then because they now have no personnel in charge who wish for independence, and the membership powers have been reduced to ineffectiveness.

25. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

“GORGON HEAD OF POWER”

Extracts from ‘The Crisis in Humanist Political Theory’ (1931) by Herman Dooyeweerd:

« In his work on constitutional theory Carl Schmitt writes: “All other characteristics of law as a substantial, rational, just and wise command have today become relative and problematic; the natural-law faith in the law of reason and the rationality of law has largely collapsed. What saves the constitutional state from utter dissolution into the absolutism of shifting parliamentary majorities is a mere lingering remnant of respect for this general character of law. » (Verfassungslehre, 1928)

« I should think this is small comfort for the defenders of the just state! To quote Hans Kelsen’s own words: “those who lift the veil without closing their eyes see the Gorgon head of power staring them in the face.” (“Comment”, Veröffentlichungen, 1927)

« At this juncture, idealist humanism is separated from naturalist humanism by mere hollow, meaningless terminology. The entire ideology that the humanist personality ideal, from Grotius to Hegel, had offered to political theory finds itself in a condition of relativistic, skeptical decomposition. And so a large portion of the European states has proved ripe for the new ideology of dictatorial power.

« Kelsen has already addressed the question of how to define even the Bolshevist dictatorship as a legal theory free of all forms of ideology. He attempts this in spite of the fact that Bolshevism denies the normative meaning of law on every occasion, and that Lenin bluntly describes the essence of Bolshevism as “unlimited power, not restricted by any laws or any general rules and resting directly on force.” (“Comment”)

« […] Mirkine-Guetzévitch observes: “The principle of dictatorship on the one hand, and the structure of government organs on the other, lead not only to the negation of all legislation but even to the dispensing of the concept of objective right as such. In the Soviet state, fact and right are simply one.” (Grundlagen des Sowjetstaates, 1929) »

(THE CRISIS IN HUMANIST POLITICAL THEORY, Herman Dooyeweerd, Dutch original 1931, English edition 2010, pp 36-38)

• Hatey McHateface says:

If you can print that on 100 L T-shirts and 100 XL T-shirts, I’m in the market, if the price is right.

• Insider says:

Fergus,
      Have you discussed this with Alf Baird yet?
      I’m pretty sure Dooyeward and Memmi disagree on this matter……….

26. Frank Gillougley says:

The sooner they put the Scottish parliament building up for sale the better. It’d make quite an impressive second-hand furniture store

• Hatey McHateface says:

It’ll be needed to house asylum seekers.

27. James Che says:

Where do you go once discovered that there is no official crown office in Scotland due to the treaty of union not being implemented, dissolved, ended in 1707. Voided, exterminated prior to the ink drying.

Without the treaty continuing on the proposed course due to not accepting Scotlands parliament and union in Englands parliament for over 3 hundred years there is no relevant crown in Scotland, the position has been vacant for hundreds of years.

But the act of settlement passed by the parliament of England does claim the monarch as the king of England.

• Aidan says:

“Where do you go once discovered that there is no official crown office in Scotland due to the treaty of union not being implemented, dissolved, ended in 1707. Voided, exterminated prior to the ink drying”

I don’t know, maybe you post endless reams of bollocks on Scottish political websites in a desperate hope you might wear down one or two others in accepting your dreamt up legal theories which of course, remain unrecognised by anyone, anywhere in any authority and run contrary to universally recognised principles of law.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Arran is beautiful now the heather is coming into bloom.

• Aidan says:

It is, but also pretty wet at the moment!

When I jumped on the plane in London the other day is was warm without a cloud in the sky, when I got off in Glasgow it was raining and cold enough to need a jacket. Fanon, Elkins, Memmi and others will tell you this is down to hateful racism, the co-opted elite, the plundering of resources etc etc. as Alf reminds us regularly.

• Alf Baird says:

Yes Hatey, Arran is even more beautiful now that an efficient catamaran ferry serves the community, and I was pleased to assist that process in a small way aided by explaining Archimedes theory of displacement; as you will know, the displacement of a catamaran is far less than a monohull of similar loading capacity. Unfortunately this proven theory is still ignored by UK-Scottish Government ferry procurement agency CMAL who continue to order high displacement monohulls at excessive cost.

Similarly the meaning of independence as being decolonization is proven by postcolonial theory. But again the SNP administration, and yersel tae, don’t appreciate theory.

For as Memmi tells us, “the colonizer hates theory”, and for good reason too as postcolonial theory explains our colonial condition and informs us of the only remedy – liberation.

• Aidan says:

For once I have to be with you Alf, the Glen Sannox does seem to be overkill for the 13-mile route to Arran. A cheaper, faster catamaran would seem to offer better value for residents and the taxpayer.

However, I guess they want the flexibility to deploy it on other, longer routes. The Sannox has been on the Oban – Castlebay route recently, and I believe it’s on the Minch at the moment.

• Hatey McHateface says:

I note, Alf, that even you are happy to make a difference between “theory” and “proven theory” when it suits you.

A layman knows “proven theory” as engineering. Post colonial theory is more accurately described as a grift, particularly when it’s pushed by a third-world racist type like Fanon.

“Arran is even more beautiful now that an efficient catamaran ferry serves the community”

Dinna be daft. Or has Memmi redefined beauty in terms of colonialism too?

“the colonizer hates theory”

I reckon your average Scot, struggling with the cost of living, deteriorating services and pretentious types preaching woowoo, hates theory too, calling it diversionary bullshit designed to conceal the preacher’s lack of any practical ideas.

• Alf Baird says:

“Or has Memmi redefined beauty in terms of colonialism too?”

Absolutely, the UN decolonization process is built on and derives from an extensive postcolonial theory and literature, with at least half of UN member states beneficiaries.

Scotland will be too, once the people figure oot thair colonial condeetion.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Don’t you have a job to do, Alf?

I notice you like to post about how only you know enough about ferries to ensure that Scotland’s ferry procurement process is “done right”.

Strikes me then that your political interests would be better served, as would Scotland’s, by maneuvering yourself into a position in government where you call the shots on ferries. Heck, having sorted out Scotland’s ferries, you could use that success as the springboard to move onto sorting out other things – Independence, perhaps.

Surely better than forever standing on the sidelines, quoting long deid, third world racists at us?

I can’t believe the movers and shakers in Scotland’s governing circles are any more impressed by that irrelevant bilge than the rest of us ordinary Scots.

Perhaps that’s why they don’t listen to you.

28. James Che says:

And in Scotland the devolved parliament is not a Sovereign entity nor those that sail under that banner,
    The people are,

29. James Che says:

The realisation of what you know and what is legal in Scotland.
    The devolved parliament and those who claim they are law in Scotland waivers on a shoogley peg because the devolved parliament and crown are not Sovereign in the same way the Scots themselves are, within Scotland,
    Even if, and thats a big IF, the treaty of union held any reality or truth, the Private rights article in that treaty, people within the Country of Scotland and laid into that treaty, and the Claim of Right also laid out in that said treaty still leaves the the people of Scotland as Sovereign people in their own Right within Scotland,
    Not the devolved parliament or Crown offices.

• John McNab says:

James “Che” (good grief) – you need to learn the difference between ‘waiver’ which is a noun, there being no such verb as “waivers”, which is a plural noun, and ‘wavers’ which is not really appropriate for the sense you’re struggling to try to convey.

For the avoidance of doubt, ‘wavers’ are not the thin biscuit-like confections on which one places ice-cream.

Our country is safe in your hands.

30. James Che says:

Even the treaty of union states the people of Scotland are Sovereign in that they have their own private rights separate from Englands and have their own state of human rights superior to given afterwards in the rest of Britain under Scotlands Claim of Right.
    Sometimes I Wonder why politician, judges and police in Scotland not more legally knowledgable,
    And wonder why pod sites in Scotland practice English law, as there is no attachment to England from Scotlands position legally.

31. John Traynor says:

I’m aware there’s a certain irony to this given Wings opinion of Hillsborough but often getting justice is sometimes a case of who tires first. The families of Hillsborough victims families adopted the policy of never giving up. Regardless of whatever whitewash, set back they experienced they simply just started again. It was the government who eventually caved first. It took over 30 years but the families won.

32. Elmac says:

The Police bemoan lack of public support and assistance. This nonsense encapsulates exactly why they are not trusted by the public. This reeks of corruption at a high level. The average copper must be appalled by what is being done in their name. The hierachy of COPFS and Police Scotland need to be held to account and those who have abused their positions prosecuted under the same laws they have declined to enforce. Enough is enough!

33. Northcode says:

The headline at the time was, “Firm which audits SNP finances has resigned.”

• agentx says:

It’s lucky they eventually found a firm in the dreaded England to do their accounts.

• Young Lochinvar says:

AX @ 8.48

Paid by the hour lackeys for hire?

Morals guaranteed left at the door..

34. Frank Gillougley says:

Mentioning bananas and republics. At this juncture it is worth pointing out just for a bit of perspective, that both the islands of Curacao and Aruba (just off the coast of Venezuela) also have the same global political status as Scotland. No doubt they too have lots of Dutch dusty 18th Cent. scrolls.
    However, they also both grow bananas. I just wonder if there is any chance of twinning with them to become a republic? I also note that they too have have ‘desert-like conditions’ That’s three things in common then, howzabout it then John? It would also improve the gene pool no end, if i might add.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Sorry Frank. Curacao had the world’s largest oil refinery at one time, processing exports from the enormous reserves pumped by Venezuela.

Although it’s currently mothballed, once Trump gets the Venezuelan gushers flowing again, Curacao may well resume coining it in from the refining of Big Oil.

For that reason, the SNP/Green regime at HR won’t want anything to do with the place.

35. Ex President Biden says:

Translation: We understand what you are saying and we did in fact report the circumstances you allude to, to the Crown Office but they instructed us not to pursue this matter any further.

36. agentx says:

“What is the Victims’ Right to Review?

If you are the victim in a case reported to us, you have a right to ask us to review a decision not to take action in the first place or to stop or discontinue a case after a case has started in court.

When a crime is reported to COPFS, we make a decision whether or not to prosecute. We take into account the available evidence and the public interest.

Sometimes the decision may not be the one that you were hoping for. We understand the impact this can have on you and your family.

This is why victims in Scotland have a right to:

ask COPFS about how we came to our decision
    have a say in what happens
    ask us to review our decision if we were not going to prosecute”
    link to copfs.gov.uk
    —————————
    I have posted this link before.
    (I am not a victim as I didn’t donate)

37. Campbell Clansman says:

You want a more honest Scottish government?
    Then vote the SNP out of power.
    It’s as simple as that.

38. Angus says:

I trust that there are still means left to hold the rotten to the core Crown Office and its utterly corrupt officials to account.

We have supreme trust in you not giving up until the battle for justice has been won.

39. Mark Beggan says:

Do as you please but you will pay as you go.

40. Hatey McHateface says:

“Jason Arday has become Britain’s George Floyd”

link to unherd.com

Now was I right, or was I right?

41. James Che says:

See people down south are requesting that Charles abdicates, as he is not following the faith he swore oath to.

• Southernbystander says:

It’s not exactly hitting the headlines James.

Looking it up (as I had heard nothing about this), the first search engine hits come from Belfast Daily News Letter, Free Presbyterian Church of Scotland, an Australian site, a Canadian site and Fox News. The Guardian published one article about it on 6 July and there seems to be some Facebook and X activity.

I have heard of zero serious calls for his abdication over something that he has always unofficially stated – i.e that he is defender of faiths.

42. James Che says:

So if king Charles of England is not protecting the faith he swore to uphold it is no wonder parliamentarians and Englands churches and monestries are beginning to request his removAl.
    As the supposed defender of the faith against other religions he is doing an appalling job,

However the job he is doing takes the authority away from the Crown office, the police and other offices and governing bodies that followed queen Elizibeth 11 of Englands oath.
    Note: there never was a queen Liz 11 in Scotland,

Changing the belief of Englands sworn faith and religion as made in the mythical 1707 treaty

• Nicky T Naquetti says:

It’s not 1707 any more, hen.

I swear… whatever the story might be, it could be, say – aliens landing on the White House lawn, a bus crash full of schoolkids, or the start of WW3 – you would still attempt to rehash the same old drivel about 1707.
      Is this havingbany impact whatsoever?
      It doesn’t look like it…
      Get some new material and start living in the present day.

43. Mark Beggan says:

The one thing the ‘elite’ fear above all else is to appear stupid. The lengths they will go to to stop any exposure of their crass stupidity is now self evident.
    Do those involved know that there is going back from this?

• Hatey McHateface says:

Phew! It would be deadly serious if there was no going back.

44. James Che says:

Which reminds those Sovereign people in Scotland, that Charles king of England can hardly claim inheritance of the Crown of Scotland as there was no such queen in Scotland as Elizibeth the Second by discent.
    As the first Elizibeth was, under the Act of settlement Queen of England.
    A Self made queen of Scotland, in England.
    Very similar to the devolved governance that Westminster parliament provided an claims is a second parliament of great britain with a multitude of powers even although they state in the treaty of union there will only be one parliament hereafter.

• Hatey McHateface says:

You over complicate things, James.

No government can bind its successors. No group of people will consent indefinitely to be constrained by fading lines written on parchment by generations long dead. That applies just as equally to the people attempting to govern in the here and now, as to the governed.

That’s what Indy fails to understand. Build a sustained, solid, democratic majority in favour, and it’s a done deal. The constraints “stopping Indy” will fade away like sna affa dyke.

All of this eternal posting, whining, nit picking, fault finding and hair splitting is done simply because it’s easier (and more fun) than putting in the hard yards.

But then, of course, sane, rational Scots look at it, shake their heads in sorrow, and conclude that if this is the best on offer, Indy must be a busted flush.

45. James Che says:

The implications for the Crown of one faith, and Crown offices, judges, police and thir authorities dwindles daily in Scotland.

46. Mark Beggan says:

Just off the phone to Andy Burnham. Told him I was the president of the Peoples Republic of Judea. He was very nervous and asked me how much money I wanted.

47. Frank Gillougley says:

With reference to above Police Scotland? letter, concluding the subject of uses for the redundant Scottish Parliament building, compare and contrast the solemnity of fine aspirational words and song at the (re)opening of the Scottish Parliament in 1999, to what it has now indeed become: a glorified bingo hall and puerile amusement arcade. No more, no less. (Sorry, but I couldn’t quite squeeze the ‘corrupt’ adjective in there)

If we are just a ‘region’ of greater Engerland then so be it (for the time being). I just can’t go the continuing patronising and sanctimonious pretence that it is anything else but.

• Hatey McHateface says:

When the troughers at the wee, pretendy parliament voted themselves medals of congratulation back in July 1999, many Scots (and others) concluded the writing was already on the wall.

• gm says:

I would vote to close it. No doubt about that. it is doing the Scots harm now and ‘the purpose of a system is what it does’. No extra barrier to Independence would be created by closing it and it would remove from the public purse 129 contemptuous Scotland despising elitists and their huge parasite from the public purse.
      Close it down.

48. James Che says:

The Crown of England has gone AWOL in multiple faiths that does not defend its one faith above all others, it becomes a trechious situation in England and its old guff mythical 1707 treaty of union with Scotland,
    As that treaty also states exactly what faith and religion is to be in Scotland. And it was not Muslim,

what can one say while Scotland watches England defying every aspect and article of a union with Scotland.
    Cheers, much appreciated.

• Northcode says:

Yes, it was Queen Elizabeth’s former chaplain, Gavin Ashenden, who accused the King of “deserting Christians” and failing to uphold a key Coronation commitment.

Ashenden has accused Charles of breaking the oath he made at his Coronation to uphold the Christian Faith.

His comments came after Buckingham Palace used a different description for the monarch in this year’s Sovereign Grant Annual Report, referring to him as the “Protector of the Space for Faith within the Multi-faith Nation” instead of the traditional “Defender of the Faith.”

“It just doesn’t roll off the tongue, and is more fitting as a corporate mission statement than a King’s sworn and solemn promise to his people,” said Ashenden.

“The Scots are so very, very lucky that Charles isn’t their king,” he added.

• Spartan 117 says:

KCIII’s deliberate abandonment of Christianity is just one of the many and varied reasons I am a Republican.

• Hatey McHateface says:

I was unaware of the correlation between republicanism and Christianity, Spartan.

In fact, I thought it was republicans who foisted Humza Yousaf on us as our FM.

Is the illustrious record of Humza Yousaf’s tragically short tenure as FM one of the many and varied reasons you are now a republican?

• Marie says:

Monarchy – a relic. Time to get rid.

49. Chas says:

I see that Che has been discharged from the loony bin again. It won’t be long before it is readmitted.
    I understand that, when it situ, it relishes the visits from the learned professor as they have so much in common.

50. willie says:

Frankly this latest refusal by Police Scotland to pursue criminal established criminal activity reinforces how institutionally rotten and corrupt our police are.

Police Scotland and the COPFS are not public guardians, Rather they are a band of thugs who pursue or don’t pursue crime as their masters dictate. And this sentiment pervades through the system.

Malicious, vicious, they are no different from the drug dealers who are a cancer in our society. No wonder then that people have no faith in the Police and the rule of law. Scotland the rotten burgh bought and sold.

And for the Dean of the Faculty of Advocates Roddy Dunlop KC he has just been told he and his faculty et al are just a bunch of nobodies of no significance.

And let us be clear, it is going to get worse, much worse as the common citizen increasingly comes to both hate and fear the rotten filthy corrupt midden of a country in which they reside.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“it is going to get worse, much worse as the common citizen increasingly comes to both hate and fear the rotten filthy corrupt midden of a country in which they reside”

First they’ll have to stir themselves from the indifferent, apathy they’re comfortable in.

Then they’ll have to wean themselves off the habit of only ever voting for and supporting members of their own tribe.

• Captain Caveman says:

“First they’ll have to stir themselves from the indifferent, apathy they’re comfortable in.

Then they’ll have to wean themselves off the habit of only ever voting for and supporting members of their own tribe.”

That’s one heck of a lot of inertia to overcome – almost impossible, I would say. The love of the SNP, “social democracy”/”progressive” politics (and hatred of all things right wing) runs very, very deep in Scotland. Things would need to become a lot worse still (IMO).

I’d say it’s far more likely to be the critically disgruntled English who show political dissent (for entirely different reasons) than ever the Scots are, who seem far happier to swallow the status quo whole, with little question.

• Confused says:

Hey Caveman – concern yourself less with Scotland and keep tae yir ain midden, your problems are greater

link to telegraph.co.uk

– I will enjoy watching the muslims r4pe you and your kind into oblivion.

Inshallah!

– but you did it to yourselves, to keep wages down, and that’s all that matters, really – the city made its profits.

the english will do nothing about this as they are a servile people who will tug the forelock always – their cringing love of royalty and aristocracy and big houses ensures they will always be slaves, never mind what they sing about – they would eat the shite out of royalty’s arse if allowed; now they get new masters

You cannot deny God his instrument – He does what he wants – and it looks like the english are going to pay for their historical crimes, finally.

– why do you anglo scum post here anyway, sittin all fucking day?

• Captain Caveman says:

“– I will enjoy watching the muslims r4pe you and your kind into oblivion.”

Well, I daresay I shouldn’t be surprised about whatever filth vomits out of your fetid, unwashed, toothless gob – another cheap booze-fuelled “one man dirty protest” from Confused.

Those bike seats won’t sniff themselves you know! Best get back on it.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“they are a servile people”

“they will always be slaves”

Yet one quarter of the world atlas used to be pink.

And closer to home, somehow or other, Scotland has been “subjugated” for over 3 centuries.

But enough of that. Confused surely deserves the gold star for the most consistently accurate and apposite username on here.

Gie ‘im a big haund!

• Aidan says:

You mean the glue won’t sniff itself

• Alf Baird says:

“And for the Dean of the Faculty of Advocates Roddy Dunlop KC he has just been told he and his faculty et al are just a bunch of nobodies of no significance.”

Of course, in the colonial framework any notion of ‘Scots Law’ is surely part of the cultural illusion and colonial hoax, aside from “..a set of automatic habits, some traditions of dress and a few broken-down institutions..” (Fanon).

The reality is that a colonized people are always made subject to the colonizer’s laws, values and diktat.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“aside from … some traditions of dress” (Fanon).

Praise be!

I was worried that Professor Baird was about to tell us Fanon says we have to bin our kilts and tartans.

He was certainly disparaging about them (Northy too) at the Commonwealth Games, just a few weeks back. But surely now we have Fanon’s approval we can put that behind us.

Is it because Fanon never approved speaking Gaelic that you have such a downer on that, Alf? If your quote above is accurate, he’s not allowing us to speak Scots either.

Perhaps we should stop parroting the mince of third-world deid boys and start living by our own rules.

• Mark Beggan says:

Yes Alfie that’s right. Now tell us about your academic journey and any marathons you took part in.

• robertkknight says:

Agreed, Alf.

Ignore the site pricks/usual suspects.

51. Confused says:

oh dear. I thought you really had them, this time …

Much as I salute your indefatigability and dog with a bone attitude – this is not going anywhere; they are the final and sole arbiters of the interpretation of the law as far as who is prosecuted goes; as the man said “we don need no steenken badges … ”

– if nikki strangled a vagrant on a livestream to a million people they could turn round and say “it was not in the public interest” to charge her. They might jail you for posting about it on social media, though. It’s corrupt, a stitch up and they think its all locked down.

Nikki is protected by those above who she really works for, and from below by the people she gave jobs to. But it’s at times like this that the hand of history comes into play; hubris gets them in the end. But she is smarting because the general public know it all stinks, and like all narcissists, she can’t handle ridicule; people are laughing … at HER … (ragin’)

Poor little peter the patsy; convinced to “take one for the team” … hey peter, it’s just not your night kid, it’s the best we could do …

– thing is, people like that, you treat very well. Or should. Instead Nikki has treated him with utter contempt. Like he was shit on her shoes and did not matter.

Maybe little peter, who has a lot of time on his hands this next 2 or 3 years, might start “novel writing” – howsabout a borgen-esque political thriller about a corrupt female leader in a northern european country? Pitch it to C4 – gotta do something to earn once he gets out. It would be comic if he got published before she did (for something real).

– after Blair went, there were at least 2 films made about a british PM who was, in fact, “an agent for a foreign power”. Page 8 by Hare was one. (Of course they became ambiguous about the foreign power, but there are limits.) There was also another one with fiennes working for the CIA. The trouble with all this subtle revelation is the general public, thick as mince, never made the connection.

All it would take is for one insider to start squealing and they all go down; anonymous uploads to the internet, maybe.

Anybody who goes anywhere near a court in this land needs to get a jury, and mostly this is not the case.

52. Confused says:

first they came for the autists, but I said nothing as my disability increment was due to ADHD …
    then one day …
    link to archive.ph

Will jason arday resurrect himself on the 3rd day?

– black einstein was also black-jesus.

he was out there, for us all, now he is in heaven, with George Floyd and 2-Pac, smokin crack and buzzin on the purple drank, runnin a train on dat white b1tch, hayley pannecetta

• Jay says:

Confused as to the utility of your comment (referring to J. Arday) for remedy of the ills with which Rev Stu illuminates and the underlying matter of Independence for Scotland.

Too many of the comments made on ‘Wings’ appear as those of an in-fighting rabble who, colletively or individually, experienced a pitiful excuse of an education and exhibit inability to deal with their own obsessions.

A distinction is appropriate, here, because Alf has been accused of obsessive references to various writers who deal with Colonialism. I think that Alf refers to those writers in order to provide a conceptual tool needed by many to understand the predicament in which they find themselves and is not obsessed.

• Northcode says:

You’re wrong, Jay.

Alf only references those pioneers of postcolonial theory to punt his book, “Doun-Hauden: The Socio-Political Determinants of Scottish Independence” (available on Amazon – Kindle version a bargain @ only £4:99).

By the way, Alf, my commission cheque for last month bounced… again. I haven’t read my, pre-loved and tattered, complimentary copy yet, but I promise I’ll get around to it soon.

• Spartan 117 says:

I don’t always agree with Alf however he does make compelling points and makes his points without any disrespect or abuse towards others. I respect that.

• Alf Baird says:

An extensive summary of the ‘Doun-Hauden’ book’s findings and theoretical framework developed to explain Scotland’s colonial condition, inclusive of extensive reference to postcolonial theory, has been published in an international refereed academic journal, and is available online, free of charge:

link to cpb-us-w2.wpmucdn.com

• Aidan says:

“A distinction is appropriate, here, because Alf has been accused of obsessive references to various writers who deal with Colonialism”

It is obsessive though, because the posts:
        – don’t normally engage with any point that is being made by anyone else;
        – contain only very general, unspecific observations;
        – are made extremely frequently; and
        – essentially all say the same thing.

Compare this to posts on ports and shipping which are detailed, informative, and engage directly with the arguments or discussions that other people have raised, in a way that enables meaningful and interesting conversations to take place.

• Aidan says:

@Alf – if it is the high-quality work you say it is, then why is it published in a student-run journal at a university in Maryland? I
        Surely a prominent journal based in the U.K. or at least in Europe would give it the appropriate level of exposure to become part of the national conversation. Did you submit it to any domestic journals, what did they say?

• Insider says:

Aidan 9:24 pm

Indeed!

And don’t even ask Alf who the publisher of his book is !

• Hatey McHateface says:

Even if every poster on here agrees with Alf tomorrow that Scotland is a colony, Alf still fails to provide even one hint of a practical idea for advancing Indy.

His only suggestion is that Scotland should try “decolonisation”.

Which is on a par with a doctor telling a sick patient that he needs to get better.

• twathater says:

So Jay you said
        “Too many of the comments made on ‘Wings’ appear as those of an in-fighting rabble who, colletively or individually, experienced a pitiful excuse of an education and exhibit inability to deal with their own obsessions”

Yet the following comments to yours illuminate most of the offenders

• Hatey McHateface says:

A smarter poster would have placed that comment elsewhere, twathater. 🙂

But never mind that. Perhaps you could help me out, as I too must be suffering from “a pitiful excuse of an education”. What’s “colletively” mean?

• Captain Caveman says:

@Hatey

Perhaps you could help me out, as I too must be suffering from “a pitiful excuse of an education”.

Always have to laugh when someone waves their willy about, claiming their peers (whom he knows nothing about) have supposedly “experienced a pitiful excuse of an education and exhibit inability to deal with their own obsessions” – when actually, 90% of the entire output of that very same person consists of worthless goading, abuse and trolling of said peers (precisely as due to his own irrational, obsessive behavior), and the remaining 10% comprising of “me too” fanboi fawning the Good Professor – adding precisely zero value in either case. Glass houses, much?

Irony is truly lost on these people. Multiple genuine attempts to debate always end the same way: stony, sulky silence once cornered, only for the whole tedious nonsense to be re-trotted out for the umpteenth time in another thread as if nothing has happened (or even the same one). Delusional.

Just a couple of recent examples, there are many more.

link to wingsoverscotland.com

• Aidan says:

Not to mention that TH is one of the worst offenders when it comes to bizarre rants posted in the early hours of the morning, not a behavior wholly suggestive of a high level of education and maturity.

In fairness, there has been less of that recently, credit where credit is due.

• Captain Caveman says:

Yes indeed Aidan; this is bad enough in Jay’s case, let alone Twat’s.
        Like I said, beyond irony.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Aidan

“there has been less of that recently”

Confused has cornered that market.

The competition has had to concede defeat.

53. James Che says:

Just talking to a lady from England with full qualifications on studies on geography and world war one and world war two from university,
    I was hoping to shock her in Claiming that Scots men and women should not have been in England wars, as there is No treaty of union between Scotland and England.
    Imagine my surprise when she agreed that there is no valid treaty of union between the two Countries.
    Who needs UDI to leave a treaty we are not in,

So does that actual mean that Stu is dealing with the Crown office of England and police of England in Scotland , not police made up of Scots under Scots law.
    Does it ome as a surprise?
    Not at all.

Enough of the facts and evidence is out there in the public knowledge both sides of the border to make union minded people look and act like Colonial obsessed nutters speaking dribbling drivel.
    So universities now teach there is no union between Scotland and England.

• Aidan says:

“So universities now teach there is no union between Scotland and England”

Which universities teach that?

• Hatey McHateface says:

Aidan, I don’t think that’s what was said.

I think the lady simply agreed with James.

I think I understand why.

It’s a shame James didn’t have the presence of mind to ask the lady if he could take a look at her driving license and/or passport. Perhaps her NI number too.

These pieces of evidence would surely confirm for everybody the existence of the union between Scotland and England.

54. Northcode says:

A fit of boredom came upon me… so I had a closer look at the lawyer’s letter for something to do until the boredom passed, and here is my opinion of it for those interested.

It should be noted that this is my personal opinion and is by no means authoritative in any way… folk should form their own conclusions based on their own interpretations.

My first observation is that the letter isn’t neutral.

It isn’t procedural.

And it isn’t even primarily a legal letter… it’s performative advocacy designed to pressure Police Scotland, elevate the Dean’s opinion, imply institutional failure, frame non-action as corruption, and create a public-facing narrative of injustice.

Let’s break it down.

A. The opening gambit: “We are instructed by….”

This is standard.

But immediately after, the tone shifts.

B. The “Dean of Faculty” elevation.

The lawyer spends half the letter telling Police Scotland how important the Dean is… this is rhetorical inflation.

It’s designed to intimidate, elevate the opinion, imply that disagreement is illegitimate, and frame Police Scotland as subordinate.

The phrase, “not something that ought to be breezily dismissed or airily brushed aside” is emotionally loaded and accusatory.

C. The “unequivocal” claim.

The lawyer asserts, “there is clear evidence of the crime of embezzlement”

But this isn’t true. It’s the Dean’s interpretation of facts… not evidence.

Even though the Dean’s expert interpretation of the facts is logically sound based on the information available to him his opinion still can’t be classified as evidence.

Police Scotland deals in evidence, not opinions.

D. The rhetorical trap

The lawyer says, “If you have a legal analysis which differs… please let me know.”

This is a trap.

If Police Scotland disagrees, they are contradicting the Dean, “breezily dismissing” the Dean, undermining the Scottish bar, and are politically suspect.

If they agree, they must reopen the case.

And so Police Scotland – spotting the trap – simply ignores it in its reply.

E. The veiled accusation

The final paragraph is the real purpose, “declining to investigate… would raise serious questions as to the independence and efficacy of Police Scotland.”

This is a veiled accusation.

It’s a rhetorical tactic designed to create public suspicion, frame non-action as corruption, and force Police Scotland into a defensive posture.

In my view this letter is political theatre disguised as legal correspondence.

To summarise:

This letter isn’t neutral.

It isn’t procedural.

It isn’t even primarily a legal letter.

The writer elevates their chosen authority figure to intimidate.

They frame disagreement as illegitimate.

They assert ‘unequivocal’ evidence that is actually interpretation.

They set a rhetorical trap: agree or be suspect.

They end with a veiled accusation of institutional corruption.

Predictably, Police Scotland responded with a neutral procedural letter of the type common to such high-profile public institutions when corresponding with members of the public.

• Northcode says:

Police Scotland’s reply… tone, structure, and meaning.

This letter is calm, procedural, factual, standard, professional, and non?reactive.

It’s exactly what a senior officer would send.

Let’s break this letter down, too.

A. Acknowledgement without concession

“I note the Opinion… and the conclusions contained within.”

This is polite acknowledgement… not agreement.

B. Recognition of the client’s attachment to the opinion

“I also recognise the significance your client attaches to those views.”

This is diplomatic language.

It acknowledges emotion without validating the argument.

C. The key paragraph – the investigation already covered this

This is the heart of the letter:

“the matters referred to… have previously been subject to extensive investigation.”

This is the procedural reality.

Police Scotland is saying:

We already looked at this.

We already considered these facts.

We already assessed potential criminality.

We already consulted COPFS.

We already received direction.

D. The crucial line – the Opinion adds nothing new

“The Opinion does not alter the position… It also does not identify any significant new information.”

This is the decisive point.

Police Scotland is saying:

An opinion is not evidence.

The Dean’s interpretation is not new information.

We cannot reopen a case based solely on a legal opinion (new evidence is required).

This is standard practice.

E. The conclusion – no further enquiries

“Police Scotland does not consider that further criminal enquiries are presently required.”

This is the correct procedural outcome… whether folk agree with it or not.

F. The door remains open

“Should information come to light… it will be assessed.”

This is standard language.

It prevents accusations of stonewalling

Now, whether it’s in the public interest for Police Scotland and COPFS not to pursue the case further… well, that’s another matter altogether.

But as far as analysing the structure of Police Scotland’s reply to a lawyer’s enquiry is concerned the response fits with such an organisation’s standard procedures for dealing with enquiries from the public domain.

• Hatey McHateface says:

If another fit of boredom strikes you, Northy, why don’t you re-write the lawyer’s letter in a superior form?

Not only would that probably take less time, it would be of some actual fucking use.

55. James Che says:

Union minded people are beginning to fight a losing battle in its efforts to hold Scotland even as a Colony.
    What with there being no queen Elizibeth 11 of Scotland only of England, and her son not inheriting Scotland or it Crown leaves the Crown office and police up here in a right quandry,
    With there being no concluded treaty of union between Scotland and England,
    The head and holder of Crown of England abandoning and failing protect to uphold an keep his oath.
    Adding to that set of problems for England is the devolved governance sent to Scotlands as a Past Colony that swear an oath to the monarchy of England,
    What a mess Englands parliament and politicians have created this century for England.

Because without Scotland…. there is no UK, no Great Britain that includes Scotland, No agreement with Ireland, no treaty with any other Country since the old Scottish parliament was dissolved down South,
    and at the same time Scotland withdrew its old parliament in Scotland from the union under Sine Die,

Unionist appear plain silly Trying to maintain the mythical illusionary farce to legally hold Scotland.

56. James Che says:

It would appear that Stu is dealing with the wrong Crown offices of England and english laws, not Scots law, or head of the Scottish crown authority from within Scotland offices.
    Hold on , we do not have a monarch in Scotland for over three hundred years, that seat/ throne is still vacant.

Does that make Scotland a republic without a monarch?

57. James Che says:

With Scotland not having a legal parliament of its own, ( as presently its under the legislation and statue’s of England” with reserved matters included” to the Westminster parliament of England )

Any party sitting in the devolved governance in Scotland from England could not officially or legally negotiate any deal on behalf of Scots that could or would be taken as legally binding by Scotland.
    As England would be negotiating with Englands branch office in Scotland.

58. James Che says:

The devolved Scottish governance is English by nature and law under legislation and Statues from the Westminster parliament in which it reserved matters of Scotland to Englands parliament, without a continuation of the 1707 treaty.

So do not be so hard in condemnation towards Scotland, we do not own or run that system,
    If we did, I doubt the SNP or any other England registered political party seats would be vacant as we do not keep interfering in our Own elections, that never gets corrected or re- run.
    This is only allowed to continue due to it not being a Scottish parliament or Scotlands own election,
    My personal opinion is that I don’t know any Scottish person that votes SNP nowadays, but they keep coming back by arrangement it seems.

59. Saffron Robe says:

I’m not sure I agree with your conclusion, Stuart. What if independence is the only way to bring about justice?

The current situation in Scotland exists because of the lack of a meaningful separation of powers (and over 300 years of Union legislation). There is no effective mechanism through which injustice can be challenged. As you are finding out, there is no fulcrum with which to leverage the authorities, so they can continue to fob you off until the cows come home, regardless of the strength of your arguments or reasoning.

If injustice is the disease, independence may be the only cure. That is not to say that injustice would cease to exist in an independent Scotland; rather, with a proper constitution and a genuine separation of powers, it would be substantially reduced. Ordinary people might once again be able to seek effective redress from the authorities.

Remember, too, that when Scotland was independent, even the king could be held accountable and was not above the law. First amongst equals maybe, but not above the law.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Marie says: 18 August, 2026 at 2:54 pm

“Monarchy – a relic. Time to get rid.”

You were doing so well too, SR, right up until your final para!

That’s one of the (many) problems with the Ancient Guff. As soon as you start to pick and choose the bits that suit you, you free up others to pick and choose the different bits that suit them.

And, because the AG says we’re all Sovereign Scots, it all cancels out, like matter and anti-matter.

In one great explosion.

• Alf Baird says:

“What if independence is the only way to bring about justice?”

That would seem a reasonable assumption since a colonized people and their interests are always ‘sacrificed’ (Cesaire), and to whom but the colonizer.

After the so-called ‘union’, actually annexation by England rebranded as ‘UK’, the lord advocate became in effect the only remaining Minister for Scotland within the Anglo-British Government.

The most infamous lord advocate was Henry Dundas, who was known as ‘The Grand Manager of Scotland’ (managing on behalf of who else but England-as-UK), also referred to as ‘Great Tyrant’. The lord advocate basically ruled over Scotland on behalf of England-as-UK.

For much of the last three centuries the lord advocate was therefore the only Minister for Scotland whose duties included sole responsibility for police and armed forces in Scotland; and lets remember that ‘colonialism is force’ (Fanon).

This only changed in 1885 with creation of a Secretary of State for Scotland and until the devolved assembly was created the secretary of state and the lord advocate between them ‘managed’ Scotland on behalf of England-as-UK.

More recently the Scotland Act made the lord advocate and solicitor general permanent ministers in a Scottish Executive. They remain effectively Ministers of the English Crown which rules over Scotland.

When we consider who runs Scotland on behalf of the ‘Crown’ which is England-as-UK and not the Scottish Crown, perhaps we need look no further than the lord advocate.

So there we have who runs Scotland and who they are answerable to.

• Hatey McHateface says:

I’ve just checked, Alf.

Dundas was deid by 1811. No, not at tea time, but over 2 centuries ago.

You can relax about that one.

As for the contemporary role of Lord Advocate. The holder requires a recommendation from the FM, and ratification of that recommendation by the HR parliament.

The holder can be removed from office at any time by the HR parliament.

Much as you wish to imply that some big, bad, English barsturts are “crushing the helpless victims of violent, fascist colonialism” (Fanny), I think it’s well within the power of the Scottish people to sort this out.

Heck, committed, savvy Scottish politicians could campaign for office on a platform of making the Lord Advocate’s role subject to ongoing approval by the Scottish people, with the HR parliament duty bound to honour a popular campaign to dismiss the incumbent. No change to the Scotland Act or anything else would be required.

Why don’t you and your pals give that a try?

• Aidan says:

Of course Hatey,

The script goes:
        – if there is any demonstrated link to England, blame the English.
        – if there isn’t any demonstrated link, blame MI5, and therefore the English.

It’s a great way to completely abdicate any responsibility for anything, whilst simultaneously claiming that all manner of misconduct and poor behaviour by scots, appointed by other scots, overseen by Scottish institutions, would all disappear in the event of independence.

• Saffron Robe says:

Excellent explanation, Alf. Thank you. You’ve provided a clear and well-reasoned analysis of the underlying mechanism behind the smoke and mirrors.

• Alf Baird says:

“The holder requires a recommendation from the FM, and ratification of that recommendation by the HR parliament.”

Gies a brek Hatey, aw thay daeless HR MSPs aye gie thair aith tae ser anely thon English-as-UK Croun, an thons wha peys thaim.

Incidentally, not one of the 73 newly elected allegedly pro-independence MSPs at HR responded to Liberation Scotland’s letter informing them of the ongoing United Nations decolonization initiative by the Scottish people and seeking their support.

Which just goes to prove these MSPs are not the least bit interested in independence (i.e. decolonization) and, much like any lord advocate over the last 300+ years they serve only the English Crown, not the sovereign Scottish people.

link to liberation.scot

• Hatey McHateface says:

Check out Saffron Robe at 3:42 pm

Anybody with an internet connection can type in:

“Who appoints Scotland’s Lord Advocate”

and:

“How may Scotland’s Lord Advocate be dismissed”

But only Saffron Robe knows if he actually asked those questions but then chose to ignore the awkward answers because that would cause a fracture in his congenitally determined tribal loyalty.

Or, terrified of what the answer might be, and what it could mean to his fragile world view, he chose to not ask the questions at all, but remain in blissful ignorance.

Ultimately, what does it matter and who cares? Saffron Robe has made his ritual obeisance to the correct tribal orthodoxy as preached by one of the elders and thus confirmed his membership until the next trial of faith comes along.

Hallelujah!

• Aidan says:

Of course here we go again, the actions of the 73 MSP’s, elected by the Scottish electorate, are all the fault of the English electorate, who had no part in electing them.

I incidentally like your use of the Scottish Government logo and the head of that note, seeming to imply that this is official correspondence from the Scottish Government.

This is now your fourth year of doing this, in that time have you had any response from anyone in any form of authority in the UN?

• Hatey McHateface says:

“the ongoing United Nations decolonization initiative by the Scottish people”

Gies a brek indeed, Alf.

Somebody should ask 100 random Sovereign Scots what they know of the ongoing United Nations decolonisation initiative. I’d be very surprised if the percentage who have even heard of it gets into double figures.

Like so many others on here, Alf, you believe absolutely that the only Sovereign Scots who actually matter are the ones who agree with you.

But that’s not how it works.

You’re not going to reply to my earlier question about why there’s no popular, democratic campaign to make the role of Lord Advocate answerable to the Scottish people, are you?

Like every other practical, feasible step that would show Scotland that Scots have the ability, drive and determination to make Scotland better, and thus demonstrate the potential to ultimately make a success of Indy, you’re not interested.

It’s got to be the magic beans route, or nothing.

• Alf Baird says:

“You’re not going to reply to my earlier question about why there’s no popular, democratic campaign to make the role of Lord Advocate answerable to the Scottish people, are you?”

Nobody in Scotland can make the lord advocate ‘answerable to the Scottish people’ until such time as we are no longer a colony of England-as-UK.

History tells us, much as I have already explained, and as we see in ongoing legal ‘events’, or non legal events as the case may be, that for all of the period since annexation of Scotland in 1707 the lord advocate was (and arguably remains) the most powerful minister of the England-as-UK crown in Scotland.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“Nobody in Scotland can make the lord advocate ‘answerable to the Scottish people’ until such time as we are no longer a colony of England-as-UK”

Jeezo, Alf, that’s just pathetic.

I’ve already dealt with this.

“As for the contemporary role of Lord Advocate. The holder requires a recommendation from the FM, and ratification of that recommendation by the HR parliament.

The holder can be removed from office at any time by the HR parliament”

I guess your next move will be to claim that the FM and the MSPs in the HR parliament aren’t answerable to the Scottish people either.

And why not? That won’t be any more pathetic.

• Alf Baird says:

“As for the contemporary role of Lord Advocate. The holder requires a recommendation from the FM, and ratification of that recommendation by the HR parliament.”

You appear to have a lot of faith in ‘indirect rule’ and what is no more than a subordinate non-sovereign ‘colonial administration’ run from the metropolitan capital, Hatey. But then you are a faux ‘nationalist’.

The increasingly obvious reality, and as Anglo-British imperial history around the world confirms (e.g. Elkins) is that HR and the UK’s so-called ‘Scottish Government’ is composed of agents and colonialists tasked with preventing independence and rupturing the movement.

There is clearly only one Crown in force in Scotland which ‘colonial functionaries’ (Memmi) all take the oath to serve (clue – its not the Scottish one!). And the unelected head of this imperial ‘force’ (and farce) in Scotland since around 1707 has aye been the lord advocate.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“HR and the UK’s so-called ‘Scottish Government’ is composed of agents and colonialists tasked with preventing independence and rupturing the movement”

Frankly, Alf, who gives a flying fuck? That ship has sailed. That’s old news. We get it. It’s not 2014 any more and it never will be again.

It’s time to move on, Alf. Time to quit living in the past.

If you and your pals truly believe, heart, mind and soul, that “HR and the UK’s so-called ‘Scottish Government’ is composed of agents and colonialists tasked with preventing independence and rupturing the movement”, then get aff yer flabby erses, organise, campaign, plan, publicise and form an alternative movement.

One that Scots can get behind.

One that won’t “sell out” once in office.

All I’m hearing from you is pie-in-the-sky, undemocratic quick fixes, and constant, interminable, never-ending excuses for why “nothing else can be done”.

Of which the latest excuse is the one about people taking “oaths to the crown”. Jeezo, they really don’t come much more pathetic than that.

• Alf Baird says:

“..then get aff yer flabby erses, organise, campaign, plan, publicise..”

That is precisely what many of us ex SNP members and others are doing, Hatey, through the creation of Liberation Scotland and Salvo, which is a response to the inevitable failure of the colonizer’s political processes; and which corresponds with postcolonial theory as the people better understanding their colonial condition and seeking the only remedy – liberation:

link to liberation.scot

• Hatey McHateface says:

“the unelected head of this imperial ‘force’ (and farce) in Scotland … the lord advocate”

Actually elected by a majority of the MSPs in HR.

Actually could be unelected tomorrow, if desired, by a majority of the MSPs in HR carrying a vote of No Confidence.

If you intend to start redefining the precise meanings of words, Alf, then you should be consistent and assert that every office bearer within the HR parliament, from FM down through the appointees to the Scottish Cabinet, has always been “unelected”.

Nobody, not even Alex Salmond, ever became FM without first being voted into that role by the MSPs in HR.

60. Strathglass says:

replying to Northcode

(A) OK. not really important in the scheme of things.
    (B)Ditto.
    (C) So Police Scotland are saying that their investigations had already discovered the disappearance of the £600k ring fenced money prior to the admission by the First Minister that this had happened.So de facto if this was the case they had concluded this was within the law.
    (D) Ditto – Its not new information. So Police Scotland has seemingly formed the view that raising money by public bodies/charities etc. for a specific purpose and then the charity/public body/political party etc. deciding to spend the money elsewhere is within the law. Furthermore they were already aware that this has happened here as they have stated it was not new information to them.
    (E) Agreed – if you accept their interpretation of (C) and (D) above. I suspect though very few will!
    (F) Think the Rev (and his legal advisers) has already very strongly argued with considerable force that the First Minister’s proclamation that the money has indeed been spent was,considering the timeline,extremely forceful new evidence. It,however,is far from a level playing field in which the Rev operates.

• Williams says:

Re D: As Nothcode said earlier, it’s difficult to prosecute an individual for fraud when an institution did it, under Scots Law.

So the Crown Prosecution Service thought, never mind — it’s bad for our career prospects anyway — so let’s get creepy Penfold instead.

So, obvs, new business growth opportunity for Scotland – dodgy rip-off institutions. Fill yer boots everyone. Just follow the leaders!

• Aidan says:

And as I’ve explained, that is absolute nonsense, the COPFS will have enough information on exactly who made and authorised the payments.

The CPS does not prosecute offences in Scotland.

61. Ian Smith says:

If police were made aware that the SNP had pilfered the cash, are they duty bound to sit on their hands when suspected office bearers that likely were singularly or jointly responsible for authorizing the spend go on media and deny it outright?

If nobody will admit to being the actual authority, should they not start to lay more minor charges regarding governance and record keeping until one of them cracks?

62. Peter McAvoy says:

The Herald today mentions that more student accommodation is to be built on the site of the former Herald premises on Renfield Street Glasgow.

How is this approved and who benefits.
    Do you doubt the integrity of any individual or group who permit it.

• TURABDIN says:

Another Mackintosh building the philistine mob are embarrassed by.
      Student accom?
      I can hear the shrill tones of the fire appliances already.

63. Mark Beggan says:

Schadenfreude.
    Watching the Academia of Woke ville frantically swim about in their own excrement has got to be up there in the top ten.

• Hatey McHateface says:

That’s enough about the drought and the water companies.

• Mark Beggan says:

Is someone having a drought?
        Boo hoo, what a shame, nevermind.
        I recommend phoning Cambridge University. They do a water pump scheme. One of their professors will jog down and sort it out in no time.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Show some respect, Mark.

It’s an insult to a marathon runner to call him a jogger.

64. Hatey McHateface says:

On 29th August, the people of Iceland vote on whether accession talks with the EU should be re-opened. The previous round of talks was suspended in 2013, because the EU naturally expected that once a member, Iceland’s resources, particularly its fishing grounds, would become the EU’s property to divvi up.

This time around, the EU is more desperate and so is making conciliatory noises that the fishing grounds could be left under Icelandic control.

From the Guardian:

“From the EU’s perspective, the benefits to welcoming Iceland as a member are clear: a wealthy, high-functioning Nordic democracy strategically located in the north Atlantic, with vast renewable energy resources and credibility when it comes to both climate and the oceans. French MEP Valérie Hayer recently argued … it would be in the EU’s interests to be flexible and offer a carve-out for Icelandic fishing”

If only some of the above was relevant for Scotland too.

I suspect that our infinitely wise (and desperate) HR government, having already made it clear that EU membership is baked into Indy, will be quite unable to negotiate any carve outs for Scotland.

We’ll be delivered to Brussels, gutted, plucked and trussed for the oven.

• Mark Beggan says:

“Scotland”
      That’s that third world Juniper republic or ‘the bent tomato’. Just below Angola for civic corruption and just above Eritrea for rape and child abuse.

65. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

DETRANSITIONER ‘MISLED AND DISFIGURED BY GENDER-AFFIRMING MEDICS’

A man in the US has launched legal action against medics he believes set him on the pathway to drastic sex-swap surgery.

As a gender-confused and depressed teenager, Sinead Haupt was prescribed puberty-blocking drugs and cross-sex hormones. Last year, aged 24, he underwent a surgical operation to remove his testicles.

But now, according to court papers seen by The Sunday Times, Haupt says healthcare providers falsely claimed the surgery would be “an appropriate, safe, and effective treatment to improve his mental health”. Instead, he argues, it left him “disfigured and without a properly functioning body”.

TRANSGENDER IDEOLOGY

Haupt told the newspaper: “At the time, it seemed like there were these common narratives about how much life would improve if you transitioned, how much better you would feel about your body and so on.

“I think I jumped into the decision for this surgery in an emotional state of mind, and I felt that it was very quick to actually get into the surgery itself from that point on.”

He added: “They didn’t ask me if I was certain that I really needed to be physically a woman in every way, shape and form and the result is that it just caused harm”.

The detransitioner said: “I think some people would think I’m, like, a ("Tractor" - Ed) or something, for seeking compensation for the harm the surgery caused me. But it did cause harm.”

PROTECTING CHILDREN

The Trump Administration recently announced an end to Government funding for “sex-rejection procedures on children”.

From October, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Service (CMS) will prohibit the use of taxpayers’ money on “any pharmaceutical or surgical intervention that attempts to align a child’s physical appearance or body with an asserted identity that differs from the child’s sex”.

CMS Administrator Dr Mehmet Oz said: “Children deserve our protection, not experimental interventions that pose serious risks and convey no proven benefits.”

The organisation’s press release stated: “Today’s action reflects CMS’ commitment to protecting children, safeguarding taxpayer resources, and ensuring that federal healthcare programs support treatments grounded in the best available evidence — not experimental interventions that carry potentially irreversible consequences for minors.”

(The Christian Institute, 18 Aug 2026)

link to christian.org.uk

• Hatey McHateface says:

I mind being absolutely horrified when, as a youngster, I read about what happens to the babies born into the families of the professional beggars in India.

If the plan is for the newborn to go into the family “business”, he is horribly mutilated by his family so that when begging, as an object of pity, he will be given far more.

Many decades older and wiser, I started to suspect that in our own country, there were a few who would follow exactly the same course, if the law permitted and they believed they could get away with it.

And thus it has come to pass. Perhaps parents didn’t necessarily explicitly encourage their children to get themselves medically mutilated. But I’m sure there will be plenty who will soon be weighing up how to get rich off the back of their children’s experiences.

I note that in the US case referenced above, it’s the medics who are on the hook for the jackpot. No doubt, in the UK, the taxpayer will ultimately have to pick up the tab, as per usual.

• Mark Beggan says:

Another interesting comment. It is not enough for legal action to compensate the victims. People must go to jail for a very long time. Crimes against humanity.

66. lothianlad says:

You have them scared Stu! you are making them accountable! SNP police Scotland know they are not to investigate further as they are under instructions from the Scottish establishment. The chief Constable really needs to take a close look at his impartiality and morals if he is selective with justice!

This is not the Scotland I thought an SNP Government would preside over. Sturgeon was corrupted and controlled early in her career!The SNP leadership is riddled with spooks and self seeking careerists!

67. Hatey McHateface says:

Remember, folks, as you go about your lawful business today, in Scotland’s cities, towns, and dear, green places.

Don’t rape migrants!

It’s only fair, now they’ve been told they mustn’t rape us.

68. Northcode says:

I’ve been thinking about… stuff.

And after thinking about stuff I asked myself this question:

Could it be that an obvious power imbalance (Westminster/Scotland) produces genuine grievance which resembles colonial dynamics and which can be rhetorically inflated into “we are colonised”?

The power imbalance between Scotland and Westminster is real, there can be no doubt about that.

But can that imbalance be presented as the colonialism described in postcolonial theory?

Is it possible that Scotland’s real and justifiable grievance is being misinterpreted as colonialism or as existential oppression?

I don’t know the answer… I only pose the question.

• Aidan says:

Yes – in a nutshell that is a sensible perspective, I’d only add that the extent of the rhetorical inflation is pretty significant, and many of the grievances are compromises inherent on being part of a larger state, which of course does not make them any less real or legitimate.

• Captain Caveman says:

As both I and many others have pointed out to you previously, political grievances (unavoidable for any inevitably imperfect alliance) should not be conflated and/or misappropriated as “colonisation” as per Memmi et al (as based on brutal 1950s subjugation of French Tunisia). To do so is to trivialise and devalue the term, and isn’t actually at all helpful.

• Captain Caveman says:

That was @Northcode obvs.

• Captain Caveman says:

We discussed this at length previously very recently:

• Hatey McHateface says:

Interesting how questions can be phrased so as to lead to a specific answer. Take this one:

“Is it possible that Scotland’s real and justifiable grievance is being misinterpreted as colonialism or as existential oppression?”

It could more accurately be written as:

“Is it possible that the grievance only ever expressed by around half of Scots, often in the most ludicrously hyperbolic language such as ‘existential oppression’, is being deliberately exaggerated so as to grant a mandate to ignore the democratic wishes of the other half?”

• Confused says:

Successful colonisation proceeds with the same psychological dynamics as a successful r4pe; first there is “courtship”, then the trap is set – the deed is done, with as much violence as required – afterwards the perpetrator acts as if “nothing has happened”; the psychological shock of the act – the disbelief, the “heads all over the place” – is acted upon in a way, we now call it “gaslighting” to make the victim feel like – what happened never happened – or it never happened IN THAT WAY, you mis-remembered it, it was consensual, you enjoyed it … and the more “things proceed as normal” the better it all works; there is a period of this – normalisation – which allows the attacker to get away with it, since no one believes any crime was committed.

– NB this technique is particularly insidious when done on children; they don’t know what happened (if they were drugged it’s even easier) and this is why all those hollywood ex-child actors wake up when they hit 30 and go nuts … “the programming wears off” – see britney spears shaving her head and many other cases.

Stuart McHardy, an excellent writer, (see new history of the picts for example) has written about the military occupation of Scotland post 45 – they had bases everywhere, it was like NI in the 70s.

As for normalisation – the winners write the history books and almost all of our history is written by some LYING ENGLISH CUNT (all their scholarship is worthless) or, even worse, the unionist catamites, the Scots who appreciated “the r4pe” (and start to like it) – Massie for example, many others, they all get good jobs – Norman Stone, Niall Ferguson.

There is a lot of this about – on the subject of academic fraud (topical!) : an oldie but a goodie

joan peters from time immemorial was a much lauded academic work which purported to prove that the palestinians and palestine did not exist; they were actually incomers, late settlers who came to the region, and that the place had been “empty land” (how many english would tell us the Scots were just anglo-saxons putting on an accent?)

– it was complete and utter nonsense, just made-up start to finish, but it showed the lengths to which the yehudis will go (“made up stories in books” – I am sure this was the only time they did it)

but a young researcher called norman finkelstein discovered it and destroyed it, along with his own career.

link to archive.ph

this rewriting of history to bad intent, to gaslight your victim is hardly a new thing. Of late ANGRY PICT has been a doing a lot of good research

link to angrypict.substack.com

as anyone knows, you can throw every book on history written by an englishman into the fucking bin – madeup fan fiction about how “the anglos were the good guys”, “we did nothing wrong honest guv”, “its different when we do it”, “everyone else was doing it”, “we weren’t the worst”, and that classic “it was the foreigners” fault including “it was the Scots wot dun it”; read the foreigners, the people with no skin in the game, for an unbiased take

one exception to these – lying english cunts – was peter watkins and his film culloden.

• Mark Beggan says:

Accepting a few truths will help.
      A. This country does not belong to you. It existed before you were born and it will be here when you are gone.
      B. Make a decision. Either chew on this colonial bone for the the next ten years or take responsibility for your own actions and take some constructive action to help your fellow Scots.
      Stop carrying your grievance like a manky old coat (Fanny).

• sam says:

I ask this question of Search Assist.

“when he speaks of a colonial mindset on his blog theme1 what is jim cuthbert referring to”

This is the guts of the answer.

“Key Aspects of the Colonial Mindset

Subordination: The term implies that Scotland’s interests are secondary to those of the UK as a whole.

Neglect: Cuthbert argues that the Treasury’s data often overlooks critical aspects of Scotland’s economy, leading to a lack of adequate representation in funding decisions.

Misrepresentation: The economic statistics and funding formulas, such as the Barnett formula, are critiqued for not accurately reflecting Scotland’s financial realities, which can result in inadequate funding for public services.”

Of course, it will be said that Scotland’s block grant provides much more per head than England and Wales. The demographies are different. England has much less rural country and islands than Scotland and the English population on the whole is younger and more healthy than Scotland’s.

Jim Cuthbert says much more and in greater detail than I can manage.

There are other aspects to our government that could be examined.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“The demographies are different. England has much less rural country and islands than Scotland and the English population on the whole is younger and more healthy than Scotland’s.”

Far more people in Greater London (9 million) than in all of Scotland. And Greater London is reputed to have the highest cost of living in the UK.

One of the factors, perhaps the main one, driving England’s younger population is migration, supposedly to do all the jobs Whitey is too decrepit or too entitled to take on. As usual, sam mentions demographics without bothering to discuss the reality of what demographics actually means after decades of uncontrolled immigration.

What does this mean for the economic realities of Indy? Fucked if I know. If somebody was to put together a summary of the position Scotland would find itself in, up to date for the realpolitik of 2026, I’d like to read it.

• Aidan says:

@Sam – even if those things were completely true and had as significant an impact as you claim, would that in any way shape or form compare to the kinds of grievances or injustices in French Algeria, or the Belgian Congo, or Barbados?

I have always thought there are colonial-like aspects of the relationship but that fall well short of Scotland being a colony of England. The latter idea does not stack up on many levels but that does not mean there is not an imbalance / issue.

The idea, for example, of cultural imperialism has been applied for decades to US culture’s deep influence (to put it mildly) on a lot of the world, not least Europe and UK (and by extrapolation, the ‘Anglo’ influence on Scotland is arguably similar). But even if we equate imperialism with colonialism, ‘cultural’ imperialism is a quite different fish to actual imperialism, not least because it works because many people love and embrace some aspects of US culture and are not really forced to adopt them, and which involves actual physical colonial invasion and take-over. On the other hand the huge influence of that culture, backed up by huge financial insentives and pressures, lends itself to the imperialism tag. These days we are aguably all ‘colonised’ by American big tech.

So the two are related but distinct, and the distinctions are crucial.

• sam says:

Aidan,

To get a comprehensive answer you would really need to read all of the man posts the former Treasury man Jim Cuthbert has on Theme 1 of his blogs.

It looks to me that at 1707 most Scots and the English negotiators thought England had taken over Scotland. Murray Pittock [A new history of Scotland] says: “The English government indubitably saw it[Union] as a takeover:… It was abrogated several times before 1750, arguably more than it has been since, and although compromise with Scottish interest was possible, it rarely prevailed in critical matters.”

Like Brexit.

You can find resistance to the Union up to 1750 or so.

Attitudes in English government such as those expressed by Charles Trevelyan (Treasury civil servant) during the Scottish and Irish potato strongly suggest seeing the Highland people as inferior, a colonial attitude.He said the Highland population was “diseased and damaged” and he wanted them removed by emigration and replaced by a “racially superior” population.

The 1872 Education Act aimed to improve Scottish education. The Act, intentionally or not, prevented the teaching of Gaelic with punitive steps against its teaching creating fear and humiliation within Gaelic families. This repression of Gaelic culture suggests a colonial mindset.

If such a colonial attitude existed then does it exist still? If not when and why did it cease to exist?

• Hatey McHateface says:

“prevented the teaching of Gaelic with punitive steps”

“This repression of Gaelic culture suggests a colonial mindset”

You don’t say!

Now who is it that on here has, in the past, denigrated ScotGov’s support and subsidy of Gaelic language and culture, referring to it as some kind of colonialist endeavour designed to starve the “real” Scottish language of legitimacy?

Drat, it’s on the tip of my tongue. Just give me a minute.

• James says:

“I have always thought there are colonial-like aspects of the relationship but that fall well short of Scotland being a colony of England…”

Wow. Just, wow.

69. Colin Alexander says:

Craig Murray is back at the Court of Session today regarding the proscription of Palestine Action as a terrorist organisation in Scotland. His latest article sets out his legal arguments.

Well worth a read.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Just what Scotland needs.

The dead weight of a lost cause dragging us down.

• James says:

Oh…. THAT’S what’s dragging us down….

What an oracle for the unwary you are.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“Oracle” “unwary”

That’s enough from yer maw, Wee Wally W*nkie. Kick her oot yer bedroom, get back in an sneck the door.

Besides, ye dinna want her checking yer browsing history or finding yer dick mags. Mind hoo upset she goat last time.

70. Spartan 117 says:

There are many conflicting posts here, some of which – on both sides – are making compelling points, whilst others are quite frankly bonkers (again, on both sides).

One thing for sure is that the people who were elected on a platform claiming to be pro-Scotland and pro-home rule have done everything in their power to be the exact opposite. To blame this on “colonisation” or “the English” is astoundingly ignorant; some seem to find it hard to accept the simple and horrible fact that we have been betrayed by our own who, once they got their 30 pieces of silver and got on board the gravy train, shifted their priority to self-preservation. Of course, among many of these ranks are professional politicians and bureaucrats for whom lying is a perfectly acceptable way of life and will say and do anything to dig in at the golden trough.

The (thankful) removal of the tentacles of Brussels has removed a natural career step for many of these grifters who will now cling on all the harder to keep their sinecures as long as the ignorant continue to lend them their votes.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Finer minds than mine have opined that all Indy has to do is grow support from around 50% to a sustained 60%.

That’s considerably less than 500,000 Scottish hearts and minds to be won over.

Professional politicians abhor a popular movement without leaders just as much as nature abhors a vacuum. If the majority support for Indy is there, and it needs leaders, then they will arise.

Cometh the hour, cometh the man or woman.

Personally, I’d like to see an entire new generation step up to the plate, starting with an ability to junk all the tired old shibboleths that failed in 2014 and give us confidence that a newly Independent Scotland could thrive in the much changed world of 2026. Much like younger generations of politicians are appearing in most other European countries.

• James says:

30 pieces of silver from….. where?

Go on, tell us.

71. Confused says:

Successful colonisation proceeds with the same psychological dynamics as a successful r4pe; first there is “courtship”, then the trap is set – the deed is done, with as much violence as required – afterwards the perpetrator acts as if “nothing has happened”; the psychological shock of the act – the disbelief, the “heads all over the place” – is acted upon in a way, we now call it “gaslighting” to make the victim feel like – what happened never happened – or it never happened IN THAT WAY, you mis-remembered it, it was consensual, you enjoyed it … and the more “things proceed as normal” the better it all works; there is a period of this – normalisation – which allows the attacker to get away with it, since no one believes any crime was committed.

– NB this technique is particularly insidious when done on children; they don’t know what happened (if they were drugged it’s even easier) and this is why all those hollywood ex-child actors wake up when they hit 30 and go nuts … “the programming wears off” – see britney spears shaving her head and many other cases.

Stuart McHardy, an excellent writer, (see new history of the picts for example) has written about the military occupation of Scotland post 45 – they had bases everywhere, it was like NI in the 70s.

As for normalisation – the winners write the history books and almost all of our history is written by some LYING ENGLISH CUNT (all their scholarship is worthless) or, even worse, the unionist catamites, the Scots who appreciated “the r4pe” (and start to like it) – Massie for example, many examples, they all get good jobs – Norman Stone, Niall Ferguson.

There is a lot of this about – on the subject of academic fraud (topical!) : an oldie but a goodie

joan peters from time immemorial was a much lauded academic work which purported to prove that oz had been “empty land” (how many english would tell us the Scots were just anglo-saxons putting on an accent?)

– it was complete and utter nonsense, just made-up start to finish, but it showed the lengths to which the yehudis will go (“made up stories in books” – I am sure this was the only time they did it)

but a young researcher called norman finkelstein discovered it and destroyed it, along with his own career.

link to archive.ph

this rewriting of history to bad intent, to gaslight your victim is hardly a new thing. Of late ANGRY PICT has been a doing a lot of good research

link to angrypict.substack.com

but as anyone knows, you can throw every book on history written by an englishman, into the fucking bin – madeup fan fiction about how “the anglos were the good guys”, “we did nothing wrong honest guv”, “its different when we do it”, “everyone else was doing it”, “we weren’t the worst”, and that classic “it was the foreigners” fault including “it was the Scots wot dun it”; read the foreigners, the people with no skin in the game, for an unbiased take

one exception to these – lying english cunts – was peter watkins and his excellent film culloden.

But mind always that mostly the english are the worlds best liars, with the finest propaganda, from defoe, to the times of london to the BBC – orwell based his ministry of truth on the latter and hitler got his idea of “the big lie” from the porkies told by the british in ww1.

• Captain Caveman says:

Didn’t realise they still sold Tippex Thinners.

• Confused says:

eat your hotpot and watch your cricket

fuck off to the mail where you can talk about the kween and how the EU let in all the p4kis

• Captain Caveman says:

Delightful.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Careful, CC!

You’re forgetting that at a tender, delicate age, Confused got a scornful put down and knock back from a big-nosed, buxom, Lancashire lass.

That kind of injury leaves wounds that can never heal.

• Confused says:

caveman where do you get all this confidence about your intellect, since you have none

– is it dunning kruger, or just the anglo genetics

“let me tell you what I think”

you don’t understand the concept of kinetic energy – big cars are safer – and you admit you are not book-learned

• Confused says:

main continues to impress us
        link to bbc.co.uk
        – largest ever

• Captain Caveman says:

“caveman where do you get all this confidence about your intellect”

My 5 year old granddaughter would have “confidence about her intellect” if pitted against you, you hapless twat.

• Confused says:

then get your 5 year old granddaughter to write your posts for you

– she would do a better job than you are doing

• Hatey McHateface says:

Ah, the “pedophile!” accusation is deployed.

In the primary school playground, and on the terracing, it represents the fusion bomb reckoned to defeat the mere fission bomb that is the “shirt lifter!” jibe.

And in Confused’s heid too, still the winning tactic from which there can be no recovery for the victim.

Unless … if I was to now make some allegations about Confused’s maw, would that put me back on top? ( No pun intended 🙂 )

I haven’t been paying much attention to this kind of childishness since I turned 13.

• Confused says:

aw main, you and your flower-pot-man buddy start on the personal abuse then BOO HOO when you can’t take it back

– “cries out in pain, even as he strikes you”

• Captain Caveman says:

“start on the personal abuse then BOO HOO when you can’t take it back”

Oh yeah, I’m crying a fucking river here, Chief. 😀

No, I think the situation is more akin to not wanting to waste any more time on some disgusting, addled tramp.

Happy to clarify, but do feel free to further demonstrate my point. 🙂

• Confused says:

caveman – you just posted an emoji (as did main) – 2 of them, since neither of you are 12 posting on the twitch, by the laws of grown-up posting, you just lost

BTW – I “WFH” and I would bet that I am “considerably richer than yow”

• Captain Caveman says:

Yeah of course you do, and of course you are pal.

That deserves THREE emojis, here you go! 😀 😀 😀

• Confused says:

3 emojis – so you did enlist the 5 year old after all

tell her to be a good girl (avoid the likes of main) and stick in at school so she doesn’t end up like grandad

(she thinks you stink of piss, but is too nice to tell you)

• Captain Caveman says:

Oh do shut up, you utter twat.
        Get back to sniffing the solvents and your “WFH”. (We all know what the “W” stands for).

• Confused says:

speak for yourself; fair play if a man of your age can still raise the sail

and you do stink of piss

I can smell it from here

• Hatey McHateface says:

Man!

Independence is so close I can taste it!

Any.

Day.

Now.

Beats me how any cant could be bothered pissing about with this kind of thing, when they could be planning how to splurge their share of the £150 billion PA.

Every single year for the rest of their life.

• Captain Caveman says:

Stinking of piss eh? Hardly. Louis Vuitton Imagination, actually. 🙂

Still, that’ll be you projecting again – probably literally. Hapless old delusional twat.

Hey, feel free to have the last word, after another decent chug on the ol’ Tippex. 🙂

• Confused says:

So … you use powerful aftershave to cover up the smell of pish? Is that what you are saying?

louis vuitton make handbags, are you sure you bought the right stuff? or did you get it off an ethnic fella at a car boot sale.

every accusation is a confession …

tippex did have a powerful solvent in it, but they took it out, neutered it, around 2000

– are you replaying the sins of your youth?

• Hatey McHateface says:

Did you mean “rape”, Confused?

Virtually the entirety of your post came across as raving nonsense – the impotent flailing of a mentally unstable victim in the unbreakable grip of his personal demons – so I’m wondering if your inability to grapple with simple factual matters might be the root cause of your delusions.

Reality always wins in the end. No matter how elaborately the fantasist constructs his sand castles and weaves his tangle of conspiracies.

You should heed the modern morality tale of Professor Arday.

• Confused says:

main, do something useful with your life :

link to toolstation.com

get yourself a trade, earn some coin.

you are clearly a halfwit who doesn’t read, or think, or know much physics

why not stop making a fool of yourself, here, every single day

• Captain Caveman says:

Hilarious, Confused, that you have the brass neck to criticise anyone for not having a life, a trade or some coin when you yourself demonstrably have none of those things.

Ditto not reading, not thinking, nor knowing “much physics”, making a fool of himself here every day.

Self projection personified. What a demented tool.

• Confused says:

any more of your snash caveman I am turning muslim and moving to flatland to setup my own grooming gang

• James says:

Confused – KUDOS to you, brother! Keep ’em coming.

Shove it right up the 77th c*nts.

• Captain Caveman says:

Heh. Don’t you concern yourself, Fatso, I can deal with you dopey old farts whilst still juggling grand pianos.

“77th”… always with the conspiracy theories with you lot. Still, it’s not like you’ve got anything else to wile away the hours.

• Confused says:

watch yourself James, the anglo bantsmasters are on your case – they might call you a “twat” and fire emojis at you

– and BTW I am a fan of your own concise, but well-aimed use of PRICK!

at the persistent infestation.

• James says:

Oh, methinks the Gman stooge doth protest too much…..

and so quickly!

• Captain Caveman says:

“Gman”

God, you people are pathetic.

BOO!!!!!!

• Aidan says:

I reckon you want to be out in that GT2 CC before the weather comes in. I’ll update the prime minister that James continues to make no sense at all, as an ill informed aggressive imbecile, and so far “Confused”’s fantasy’s of sexual violence between men and against old women and young children haven’t yet been acted upon.

• Captain Caveman says:

Heh! Thanks Aidan 🙂

Sadly it’s only a 992.1 GT3 touring with ceramics and buckets, not a full bore “Widowmaker” GT2 (thank goodness!)

But yeah, a couple of nice days over the weekend, time for some twisties. 🙂

• Aidan says:

Still a great piece of kit, I’ve never had either the GT2 or the GT3 but I’ve had a Turbo and a Carrara 4. It’s a while since I’ve had a toy, but for me the Honda s2000 has always been the best, it might be because it was the first sports car I bought, but it’s a machine and it’s just you and the car, no aides!

• Hatey McHateface says:

You’re gonna be pissed aff, CC.

Post Indy, every Scot will have one. Courtesy of that £150 billion per year.

• Captain Caveman says:

Awesome Aidan, kindred spirit. What gen were the Turbo and Carrera 4? Great cars both, the turbo has unhinged performance and genuine daily driver abilities, unlike the GT3. 🙂

However, I must entirely concur with your S2000. Bulletproof Honda engineering in their “golden era”. I love natural asp engines and VTEC is the pinnacle. Couldn’t believe the first Civic R I drove – can’t imagine what the S2000 was like. An engineering masterpiece.

• Aidan says:

@CC the Carrera 4 was a 996, and the Turbo was a 997, they were always fun but I enjoyed my Boxster S 3.4 or the S2000 way way more, I think on the British roads you want a car around 300hp that you respect but you aren’t terrified of. I had an M6 V12 about 10 years ago, and it was cool, but I just don’t have the same fond memories as I did when I was 23 taking my £3k s2000 down back lanes in the summer.

• James says:

“Pricks”. LOL

• Captain Caveman says:

Shush fatty. It’s not like you can even get into a car, less still drive (or own) one.

• Aidan says:

He might get into the back of a pickup truck?

• Jay says:

Confused, thanks for the link, very interesting, confirms some suspicions.

72. Northcode says:

Scotland colonised?

Perhaps hyperbole, perhaps not.

However, it could be argued, colonialism set aside, that Scotland is a founding partner – equal in standing – of a newish unitary state and as such should not be treated merely as a lesser, subservient ‘part’ of the larger partner.

Of course the appearance, at least, of equality is maintained through various constitutional “sleight of hand” devices – one of them being that Scotland has its own government and parliament metonymically known as Holyrood.

It is within that context, and in that sense, that Scotland can be considered as having been tricked, abused, and exploited by its ‘partner’ to the general detriment of its people.

It might also be argued that the United Kingdom is the hideous, deformed offspring, masquerading as a nation, born from the forced enjoining of its mismatched ‘parents’… the abominable result of an ill-considered marriage between two distinct and incompatible kingdoms, and their different peoples, gone bad.

A marriage gone bad to the detriment of the smaller partner with the advantage going to the larger.

It isn’t beyond the pale to imagine that the larger partner would employ any means, any means at all – even criminal – given its imperial history, to maintain its advantage over the smaller.

To call such abuse and exploitation ‘compromise’ is euphemistic at best.

• Mark Beggan says:

That comment deserves funding from the Jason Arday memorial foundation. Have you considered a professorship?

• Hatey McHateface says:

Wheesht, Mark!

He has hairline fractures in every finger of his mouse hand.

• Confused says:

Beggar Boy – if the main-caveman axis represents 2 prime arse cheeks, then you are a mere pustule on them – why don’t you give yourself a squeeze and put us out of your misery

• Hatey McHateface says:

“two distinct and incompatible kingdoms, and their different peoples”

Of course, you meant to write “two kingdoms and peoples with a common religious underpinning, a shared linguistic heritage, and similar cultural attitudes and beliefs”.

“given its imperial history”

Of course, you meant to write “given our shared, imperial history”.

But then you realised that your sand castle would collapse without the lies to buttress it.

• factchecker says:

NC says
      “However, it could be argued, colonialism set aside, that Scotland is a founding partner – equal in standing – of a newish unitary state and as such should not be treated merely as a lesser, subservient ‘part’ of the larger partner”

Genuinely interesting.

I am unclear where the idea of “partnership” – equal or otherwise – can be seen constitutionally in the Act of Union. Article 1 simply states “That the Two Kingdoms of Scotland and England shall upon the first day of May next ensuing the date hereof and forever after be United into One Kingdom by the Name of Great Britain”. I see no suggestion that the two kingdoms would continue to exist as separate entities in partnership.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“One Kingdom by the Name of Great Britain”

Amazing! A kingdom must, of course, have a king.

And we have. It’s as if the 1707 boys could predict the future.

Interesting to consider that back in 1707, even the Scottish elites would have reneged on the union if there had been any possibility that Great Britain would NOT have been a kingdom.

Just one more inconvenient facet of the Ancient Guff that the republican boys choose to gloss over when they say Scotland needs to get back to the pre-1707 situation.

• sam says:

Anent your final sentence.

I ask this question of Search Assist, “Would the Act of Union 1707 obtained with bribery and coercion be enforceable by today’s standards?”

The answer.

“Enforceability of the Act of Union 1707

The Act of Union 1707, which united England and Scotland into Great Britain, involved elements of coercion and bribery. Given today’s legal standards, such practices would likely render the agreement unenforceable.

Key Considerations

Consent and Fairness: Modern legal frameworks prioritize consent and fairness in agreements. Contracts or treaties formed under duress or unethical practices are often scrutinized and may be deemed invalid.

Historical Context: The Act of Union was ratified amid significant political pressure and financial incentives, which raises questions about the legitimacy of the agreement.”

• James says:

Today’s crossword clue, Northcode.

A country which has no control over it’s own resources or borders, and needs permission from the country next door to hold a referendum on it’s own future.

Six letters.

C _ L _ NY.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Too easy, Wally.

Try this one. Self-identifying adult, graduate of compulsory, free primary and secondary schooling, reputed to be the best education in the world at one time, still ignorant of the difference between “its” and “it’s” in his native language.

9 letters.

IGNORA_US

• James says:

Try this one. Identifies as Scotch and vomits up unionist *shite* all day, every day on a Scottish independence supporting website.

5 letters.

PR_CK

• Hatey McHateface says:

Sure W. Wally W.

Identifying here as a cask strength, 21 YO, Speyside single malt.

Ask yer maw to explain that to you.

73. agentx says:

“How to apply to become a journalist for The National

Exciting opportunity here: A very rare chance has emerged to become a Political Reporter with The National and Sunday National.

We have a brilliant political team here, and we’re looking for someone just as passionate about Scotland as we are to come and join us. We want to find someone who can break major news stories, deliver exclusive investigations and get involved in our fast-growing multimedia and video projects…

After 12 years, The National continues to expand and develop, with a huge online reach, agenda-setting stories and a fast-growing pool of subscribers. Come and join us on our exciting journey working towards a better future for Scotland.
    link to thenational.scot
    ———————————-

Sounds like false advertising to me.
    When has The National ever done anything “towards a better future for Scotland”?

• Aidan says:

Doesn’t advertise a salary, likely because there isn’t one or at least not one that anyone could survive on.

Requirements include:
      – being a total stooge to the SNP press office
      – commentating on what completely nobodies are saying on social media
      – publishing photos of John Swinney smiling and Nigel Farage looking glum
      – Not publishing any original insight or content that might be interesting or differentiating
      – trying to restrain Owen Jones for flying into a fit of range and smashing the building up
      – looking weird in photos

• Hatey McHateface says:

You forgot “Taking bribes from MI5 to censor discussion of Scotland’s colonial status”.

That’s assuming the successful applicant won’t have some secrets allowing MI5 to use blackmail, rather than bribes.

• Mark Beggan says:

It is essential that the candidate believes in non-binary fairies, and that stealing is just another word for appropriation, They must have read widely on post colonial white supremacist theory and that all white men are evil bastards. Having any qualifications relevant to the position at all is purely optional.

• Young Lochinvar says:

“Fast growing pool of subscribers”

Hmmm.
      Figures to support that claim?

I see their printed output doesn’t even merit a mention..

The current editor killed the paper that used to be not bad. Now it’s just crass virtue signalling wokery.

• Insider says:

Indeed, Young Lochinvar!

I asked Mr Google a few weeks ago what the current circulation of “The National” is.
        It replied that no circulation figures have been issued since 2024, when it fell below 2500.

• Mark Beggan says:

“Pool” being the operative word here. A toxic pool of very low IQ people.

74. Confused says:

english bluetongue has appeared in Scotland

– been on the BTL for a long time; and the mad cow disease

If this is BTL poker my hand is strong and I am looking for 4 OF A KIND

– so all I need is for the rancid makeweight “CHAS” to turn up …

Oh wait – AIDAN – the constitutional lawyer historian

FULL HOUSE !

• agentx says:

“20th August 2026
      Precautionary movement restrictions have been put in place after a case of Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy (BSE), commonly known as ‘mad cow disease’, was confirmed on a farm in Scotland.”
      link to farmersguide.co.uk

75. Hatey McHateface says:

Fa’s James aboot the day?

We need his contribution tae improve the quality o’ BTL debate.

Ah cannae dae it a’ masel!

76. sarah says:

Rev, is there any news on Mark Hirst’s fundraiser? He was only needing £5000 so I hope that was quickly achieved.

Craig Murray’s case is being heard today. Once again the Scottish judiciary is in the spotlight. Will they bow to UK Government?

• agentx says:

“What Happened in Court Today
      During the hearing at Edinburgh’s Court of Session, lawyers representing the UK Government argued that continuing Craig Murray’s separate Scottish judicial review would be “too expensive” to the taxpayer. They requested that the Scottish court continue to pause (sist) its proceedings and defer to the UK Supreme Court, which has a scheduled hearing on November 4 and 5, 2026, to determine the legality of the ban on Palestine Action.”

• Hatey McHateface says:

Doesn’t sound very definitive.

Can you confirm if the grifting request for yet another crowd founder has gone out yet?

77. Spartan 117 says:

Some of the posts here this afternoon are embarrassing. Christ almighty, the state of some folk.

• Mark Beggan says:

I agree it’s a bloody disgrace. Sarah ruins everything.

• Hatey McHateface says:

If you avoid naming names, you won’t end up in the cross hairs.

You’re looking like yet another “bonnie fechter” for Indy who would rather his country’s honour and good name is dragged through the dirt by the neanderthals, rather than stand up and be counted and take the risk the neanderthals might pile on you.

And frankly, that’s not a good look.

We shouldn’t hesitate to call out the lowlifes besmirching Wings BTL. Whether or not we belong to the “Indy tribe”. They’re smearing something ultimately more important than Indy.

They’re smearing Scotland.

• Confused says:

so says the rapier-fucking-wit … someone who could best wilde, shaw and dorothy parker in a flyting contest

– have you ever posted anything interesting?

• Spartan 117 says:

The site idiot speaks.

Lay off the meths for once you miserable racist simpleton.

• Confused says:

that was a fucking zinger – you should get your own slot on C4, or HIGNFY

you’re yet another fucking moron who posts here when he should just burp and be done with it

• Spartan 117 says:

You can’t help yourself, can you. You’ve just proven my point, yet again. What an arse to make of yourself, publicly.

Clear the shite out from between your ears by going and taking your face for a shite.

Idiot!

• Captain Caveman says:

Another day, another stellar display of rank, ignorant stupidity I see Confused.

You’d be banned anywhere else, ten times over.

• Confused says:

come on then caveman and spartan – say something interesting, or insightful, or the slightest bit funny that indicates an IQ over 50 … I am waiting

– you see what I am doing here is I am lining you up, standing you both against each other, then shooting you both with the one bullet

caveman, you are a pathetic shitstain of gammon turd encrusted anglo entitlement and middle class arrogance – did you think you acquitted yourself well yesterday?

spartan, a poster of no consequence, proving his mediocrity with every post and if still a nationalist represents the real danger to Scotland – people no imagination

• Captain Caveman says:

”did you think you acquitted yourself well yesterday?”

In comparison to you, my meths-imbibing, solvent-sniffing pal?

Fuck yeah. Who wouldn’t? 🙂

• Hatey McHateface says:

Ah c’moan noo, Confused.

Shooting’s fer gurlies.

Dust aff yer moby gas chambers. Ye hivnae fantasised aboot them for a wee whillie.

Roond up a few hunnert ithers wha dinna agree wi ye fer processing an mak a braw day o’ it.

• Confused says:

your yarmulke is showing hasbara boy main

– don’t make me pull on the armband

you know if I was your supervisor I would give you an absolute rocket

– you call that “subverting scottish independence”? It’s not even half-good.

The point is to befriend everyone, then subtly subvert it all by dripping in the poison to their ears – cleverly fallacious arguments and erroneous “facts”; the masons call it “diverting the discourse”

then one day we all turn around and say : jeezo main, indy will never, ever work and by God the Union is the best thing ever …

– you are going in like prime Souness on a works night out 5 a side game

You will never make EO at this rate.

• Confused says:

caveman is bog-standard anglo filth little englander britnat yoon-scum with delusions about his wit and intellect – in his way he is predictable, behaving like every “brit” in magaluf looking for a “full english” – everywhere is england, or should be, and the only people (who matter) are the english

• Captain Caveman says:

Good grief, you’re still here you demented old twat? I just assumed you’d been banned.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Nobody manages to push the idea that Indy will never, ever work quite like Confused.

If/when Indy comes, its success will be dependent on keeping the likes of Confused far removed from anything that could potentially affect the outcome.

But dinna fash, Confused, your benefits will continue. And we’ll be kind in direct proportion to your impotent helplessness.

78. agentx says:

I see the colonised Swinney is trying to defend his £100k trip with the boys and girls to the footie World cup.
    Various news articles including the good old anti SNP, Scotland hating BBC link to bbc.co.uk
    —————————————————-

“Justice Secretary Neil Gray defended the use of business-class flights.

Gray pointed to benefits of the trip, such as increasing Scotland’s “soft-power reach and the ability to make significant international connections”.

He added: “It was right that the first minister and his team were there to participate and to be part of that.””
    ——————————————–

So there will be official reports on the “soft-power reach and the ability to make significant international connections” somewhere – has anybody seen them?

79. Mark Beggan says:

A university builds a reputation of excellence over hundreds of years and it gets dragged into the gutter by a few Karens and their poster boy within a few years.

• Marie says:

Oh Mark!! Nathan is part of the Master Race – unlike you. You are such a “stupid” goy Mark.

• Mark Beggan says:

For sure Marie. White supremacist colonial baby killer. That’s me! What am I like?!! Too sexy for my political beliefs.
        The stupidist Goy in Christendom. White trailer trash. Nazi scum. DEI is for retards.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Mark, you will have to come out in favour of genocide if you seriously want to contend for the Christmas pantomime villain gig.

80. Mark Beggan says:

” The entirety of wokeness is fundamentally a parody of Catholicism. A secular religion building itself out of the modern atheistic mindset.”

• Hatey McHateface says:

To be fair, the practitioners of the “born in the wrong body” trannytrope have re-discovered the human soul for the 21st century.

Knock them if you must, but they’re gonna live for ever. And the soul-less unbelievers won’t.

• Confused says:

It is a new global religion being imposed from on high, but psychologically it manifests as neo-puritanism – absolutist, dogmatic, fire and sword, for us or against us, ye be all damned, witch hunts and “get your accusations in first”, except you replace the OT with some texts by foucault and some other french kiddie fiddlers. The only people saved – the new “elect” – are those with the highest grace in terms of their victimhood. And now pride marches will replace the orange marches. “white men” are damned, axiomatically.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Respect 🙂

That post was actually kinda funny.

Not in any sort of absolute way. But to those with knowledge about who posted it, the flat out denial raised almost to the level of performative art must raise a wry chuckle.

You should do antisemites and gas chambers enthusiasts next.

And you think all the finger-pointing at Arday was not a witch hunt, nor all the total condemnation of EDI not absolute (the terrible ‘evils’ of equality, diversity and inclusion, what awful ideas), and the welter of accusations not designed to damn a black man in the wrong place and position? And you think him now ‘saved’ by death, he has reached the highest state of grace?

You can use all this righteous polemical invective however you wish, to bolster your position (and yes, it sounds just as self-righteous and absolute as the wokest of wokes). The ‘woke’ reaction against the journos now the man has died has been described as just more ploughing of their own agenda that ignores Arday’s ‘crimes’ and his culpability, his death, his ‘final delusion’, as if all those reactionary journos were not ploughing there own political furrows, deeper and deeper, day-in, day-out before he died. Arday became a cypher and no longer a human being.

They wanted him cancelled forever, metaphorically punched in the face over and again because he was a bad man for being a black chancer, plagiarist and fantasist, the culture war hate-figure par excellence who had exploited and fooled the establisment system, and in doing so he did such damage to the hallowed halls of the ancient edifice of Cambridge and its vital and internationally respected discipline of Sociology, both pillars of our Great land. And what of Academic Standards? Great Scot, it is embarrassing to be British!

Meanwhile, Rome burns.

• Alf Baird says:

“Great Scot, it is embarrassing to be British!”

Indeed it is, not least because many ‘peoples’ now understand that ‘to be British’ is a cultural illusion and false persona which damages the national psyche.

This is especially evident in the case of former colonised peoples who, once independent, were able to discard the ‘British’ cultural illusion and colonial hoax and recover their own national identity and culture.

Because, as we know, ‘to be British or, if you like, English’, is really what is meant, according to Rees-Mogg.

The mair assimilated Scots still hiv tae figure this oot.

• Hatey McHateface says:

There’s something about seeing multiple examples of Alf’s “former colonised peoples” hanging about on street corners, in pedestrian precincts, and deserted church yards, every time I go to the shops, that makes me question Alf’s carefully constructed house of cards.

That’s “hoose o’ cairds” if you’re wondering, Alf.

The idea they’re “recovering their own national identity and culture” is risible.

There’s a horribly nasty winter approaching fast, Alf, the fifth winter of The War, which is escalating wildly, on top of a disasterous summer for agriculture. Inflation of food and energy prices is going to be grim for many Scots.

Gie’s some wurds o’ comfort fae Fanon or Memmi tae help keep oor speerits up.

• Hatey McHateface says:

@Southernbystander

Not the least of the terrible evils of DEI is the niggling doubt, every time one encounters a burocrat in a wheelchair, or a female firefighter, or an ethnic minority academic, that they may not be up to the job.

The lucky denizens of meritocracies have no such concerns.

Ultimately too, the suspicion of inadequacy is most corrosive to the recipients of the DEI advancement. Doomed forever to know that everybody encountering them suspects they’re not really up to it.

There’s plenty of tried and tested ways of establishing meritocratic competition for jobs and promotions. From anonymised applications, through audio-only interviews, to written examinations. The reason the DEI enthusiasts won’t accept these is because their second-class applicants would likely fail.

Finally, none of us can ever know how the DEI enthusiasts behave when nobody is watching. Maybe your only child needs brain surgery, or your car needs its brakes overhauled. If you tell us you happily sit quiet and let the DEI hires do the jobs, then we must believe you.

• Confused says:

incoherent as usual, main. I think you are in “must have a dig, because”- mode.

do you have some perverse fetish for being wrong about everything, all the time, thinking you are smart with your non-rebuttal rebuttals?

Except every sentence of mine is 100% forensically true, which could be verified if you knew anything about the reformation, cultural marxism and the new left. But then you would have to do some actual reading, which is not your thing. I could give a list.

Of course, you could get some mileage out of the original quote if you consider – puritanism/protestantism – a “parody of catholicism”. But I don’t think that’s what the author meant. Anyway, it’s not parody, more like 40000 ungrateful tribute acts.

if you want to take it further

sacraments? – abortion is one

the risen jesus – asylum seekers and migrants are intrinsically holy and objects of worship, then we have George Floyd

the mark of cain – racism!

being accused of witchcraft or heresy – any kind of wrongthink, e.g. racism

the holy trinity – the migrant, the refugee, the NGO

the young wokists also have a disturbing similarity to the red guards of the maoist cultural revolution – the way they turned on their parents, seeking out “counter revolution”

• Confused says:

arday got the martyr’s death alright

– he also fills a more pagan role; the “fool”, the “king for a day”, the holy simpleton setup to be sacrificed.

the cambridge thing seems like one of those old academic satires – tom sharpe – where to look fashionable and antiracist the bursar employs some hapless mark to boost their diversity scores, because there is a massive grant from the EU available and the college roof needs repairs … then some disgruntled academic, or the bursar of another college, comes in to wreck the plan. Much mayhem ensues. We won’t call this “lucky jim” more like “unlucky dim”.

it’s funny how it all just keeps coming around (“time is a flat circle”) – as students we used to read other fields papers to each other for a laff, economics was funny, but the social sciences was hilarious; I nearly bust a gut once at Derrida – but around that time there was a big fight at cambridge over a plan to give derrida an honorary degree; half want to award, the other half thought he was a grifting bullshitter. So much for standards, whatever you think of jacques and his piece of paper of no real importance, to award full professor to arday is just nuts.

Now, academia has a high tolerance, a massive grey area for wordy nonsense, but there are limits and arday crossed them because he didn’t have the cognitive skills of say zizek, a world class bullshitter; being “found out” threatened the whole grift and then his erstwhile supporters turned on him. People should read about the sokal affair.

There is also a batty strain of racialised historical revisionism in play – ancient egypt was black, the greeks were black, jesus was black, plato was black, beethoven was black, shakespeare was black, the ancient hebrews … fill in the blanks yourself.

Hatey, what interests me is what an EDI hire actually consists of.

We know that positive discrimination as an official policy is not legal in the UK except in special circumstances but of course that still leaves leeway when (it can be claimed) all other things are equal (I mean qualifications, appropriate skills etc). There seems little doubt that Arady fits the latter category with some bending of what ‘equal’ might mean and I won’t defend his appointment here (despite not really knowing anything about his research or indeed who his rival applicants were), but I would reject the idea there some kind of clear standard within academia that equals ‘this is a professor’, let alone a Cambridge professor, because there isn’t (I work in the sector), it is a weighing up of stuff people have done by an ‘esteemed’ panel, basically. I know at least two professors where I work who I consider a joke in academic terms (and I am not alone in that, far from it, it as open secret – their main credential was an ability to blag external grant money which the head honchos love most of all and they do not give a toss about the actual research or its quality).

Arday’s professorship was actually awarded by Glasgow University and though it does not automatically transfer to another uni job (unless you are an Emeritus prof), in practice it does unless someone is willing to go down a rank. So the professorship was already a given when he applied to Cambridge.

Then you have to consider what matters more – another solid appointment of a person with an appropriate research record but otherwise very similar to people you already have, or someone whose record is not as good but seems to offer something quite different, thus expanding what a department can offer and bring new thinking and prespectives? This is a different way of thinking about what an EDI hire is, beyond the more venal, ‘we need someone from a different ethnicity, anyone, so we don’t look as bad as the wokerati say’. And both can be true at the same time, and it looks like they got the equations wrong with Arday (and incidentally, as an employer, played fast an lose with their duty of care to a worker not to employ someone who would flounder).

What I am getting at there is a bit of hysteria about ‘EDI appointments’ with the Arday case acting as a bit of a lightening rod, but expanding a department to include more varied voices, even if their credentials are lesser, at least to start with, is hardly some kind of crazy idea, quite the opposite, it is a good one.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“expanding a department to include more varied voices, even if their credentials are lesser, at least to start with, is hardly some kind of crazy idea, quite the opposite, it is a good one”

Quite true if what the department does is of no objective importance.

Utterly false when the opposite applies. Perhaps the department provides consultation on the design of man-rated spacecraft. Perhaps the department teaches state-of-the-art keyhole surgery.

But you already know all this, which is why the take down of your argument is so easy. Replace “department” by “team” and try selling your argument to the manager of a Premier Division club.

A player with lesser ability isn’t gonna be pulling on the shirt.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,976 Posts, 1,250,964 Comments

• Captain Caveman on A Long Hard Think: ““When the right start claiming anything they see as left is ‘communist’ you know they have lost the plot and…Sep 13, 22:55
    • Captain Caveman on A Long Hard Think: ““3 against 1 again” Ah, your counting skills just as woeful as your debating skills I see, Alf. Anyway, it’s…Sep 13, 22:46
    • Southernbystander on A Long Hard Think: “When the right start claiming anything they see as left is ‘communist’ you know they have lost the plot and…Sep 13, 22:18
    • Mark Beggan on A Long Hard Think: “What does Cesaire say about Muslim colonization or Communist or Dynasty takeovers. Is that a separate study? Be honest, you…Sep 13, 21:43
    • Northcode on A Long Hard Think: “I thought it might be helpful to offer a clarification of what I meant in my earlier comment where I…Sep 13, 21:25
    • Alf Baird on A Long Hard Think: “Cesaire wrote specifically about Hitler, and his “crime against the white man, and the fact that he applied to Europe…Sep 13, 20:25
    • Hatey McHateface on A Long Hard Think: “What was he angry about?Sep 13, 20:15
    • Hatey McHateface on A Long Hard Think: “Four, Alf, you’re forgetting Northy. As I’ve pointed out before, if we play the “thought experiment” of agreeing 100% with…Sep 13, 20:12
    • M.E on A Long Hard Think: ““What? You got a problem with it? What do we look like, the Crime Police?”Sep 13, 20:08
    • Alf Baird on A Long Hard Think: ““Yet, we and those who came before us, have consistently acquiesced in our own dependency.” Indeed so Lorncal, and which…Sep 13, 20:04
    • Alf Baird on A Long Hard Think: “3 against 1 again, rinse and repeat. Reminds us of an EBC independence ‘debate’.Sep 13, 19:49
    • Hatey McHateface on A Long Hard Think: “Blocked the Darien initiative, eh? I can’t decide which is the most ludicrous aspect of that complaint. That you’re greeting…Sep 13, 19:06
    • Mark Beggan on A Long Hard Think: “That seems a lot like The man they love to hate.Sep 13, 18:59
    • Hatey McHateface on A Long Hard Think: “They both released cover versions of “Jerusalem”, accompanying themselves on the melodeon.Sep 13, 18:56
    • DaveL on A Long Hard Think: “I’ll add childlike insults to the list of whinges and whines we hear from you. You’ll be telling me next…Sep 13, 18:54
    • Mark Beggan on A Long Hard Think: “Cecil Rhodes was a raging homosexual. How does that fit with the theory. Confused? You will be.Sep 13, 18:50
    • Hatey McHateface on A Long Hard Think: “So Memmi was Jewish? The usual suspects are going to have to airbrush him out of the post colonial boys’…Sep 13, 18:49
    • Chas on A Long Hard Think: “DaveLooney Many thanks for your response. Who do you speak for? Could it be Fanny, Mummi or Ceaser. Or is…Sep 13, 18:26
    • Hatey McHateface on A Long Hard Think: “I speak English, TURABDIN, and I am better than the rest. Like most Scots, I’ve little time for the inferior…Sep 13, 18:23
    • twathater on A Long Hard Think: “I notice now that the yoonionist parties have come to the realisation that their unwavering support for Is ra hel…Sep 13, 18:21
    • Chas on A Long Hard Think: “DaveLooneySep 13, 18:20
    • Hatey McHateface on A Long Hard Think: “Very happy to accept that you are, Confused. We’re in Scotland, world leader in accepting self-identification in all its forms.…Sep 13, 18:15
    • DaveL on A Long Hard Think: “…they’re both on Hatey’s ‘Love/Hate’ scale but at opposite ends?Sep 13, 17:51
    • DaveL on A Long Hard Think: “@ Chas You speak for no one but yourself and all we hear is whines whinges and moans. Get back…Sep 13, 17:46
    • Captain Caveman on A Long Hard Think: “QUACK QUACK OOPS. Ah, but you’ve been such a lovely contestant, Fatso. Bus fare home. 🙂Sep 13, 17:44
    • James on A Long Hard Think: “Is the answer….”Captain Caveman”?Sep 13, 17:41
    • James on A Long Hard Think: “Aw…curses!Sep 13, 17:39
    • Chas on A Long Hard Think: “Will you ever realise that over 90% of Scots have no interest in your repetive shite. I suspect that the…Sep 13, 16:51
    • Aidan on A Long Hard Think: “I think you’d have to get a job to join a trade union James . .Sep 13, 16:15
    • Mark Beggan on A Long Hard Think: “What did Hitler and Elvis have in common?Sep 13, 16:14