The Shortest Day

Posted on August 29, 2026 by

Something extraordinary happened yesterday. Very briefly, we absolutely genuinely thought someone in a position of some influence in the SNP had taken a meaningful step towards being serious about independence.

We are not being sarcastic. Look: here it is.

Dave Doogan is the SNP’s leader at Westminster. And let’s be clear: that is EXACTLY what the SNP’s stance ought to be. Its only purpose is supposed to be the securing of Scottish independence, and no peaceful democratic means of achieving that ought to be off the table.

The SNP was not formed with the purpose of denying England/the UK the government it voted for, it was formed to completely sever the governance of Scotland and England from each other as a matter of permanent principle, nothing to do with the prevailing political climate at any given point.

If England wants Nigel Farage as Prime Minister, that’s England’s business. The point of independence is that Scotland doesn’t have to get him too. No more, no less.

So obviously, the hapless Doogan’s brave and bright new dawn was brutally slapped down within a matter of hours.

His original comments had been spectacularly clear. He’d been pressed on the matter of working specifically with Reform by a gawping National hack. (Yes, not only was an SNP politician being serious about independence, a National reporter was actually performing conscientious journalism. What a day!)

And he was absolutely explicit – really couldn’t possibly have answered the question any more fully, directly or definitively, with the sort of blunt plain speaking that people yearn for in politicians but almost never get – that “anyone means anyone”.

But then, in a move which was clearly completely spontaneous, all his own idea and definitely NOT the result of a furious phone call from someone who wants to stay First Minister for the next decade, he explained that what he’d meant was the exact and polar opposite of what he’d repeatedly, carefully and unambiguously said.

You know how it is, folks. We’ve all been there.

“Would you like tea or coffee?”

“Tea, please. Milk and two sugars.”

“You’re sure?”

“Yes. Tea.”

“Definitely tea?”

“Yup. Tea is the best. I love tea. Mmmm, tea. Way better than coffee.”

“So just to be clear, you’d like a cup of tea.”

“100%. It’s tea for me.”

“Not coffee?”

“Tea means tea.”

“Here’s your tea.”

“Ah, sorry, I phrased my answer clumsily. I meant to say coffee. Black coffee. I would never ever drink tea under any circumstances. Awful stuff. I hate it with every fibre of my being. Honestly, I’m such a scatterbrain!”

We truly believe the leadership of the SNP is engaging in some sort of game of political Buckaroo with the party’s remaining supporters at this stage, readers – daring each other to make their total opposition to independence more and more blatantly, undeniably obvious and laughing themselves right out of their chairs as hopelessly gullible mouth-breathers in loyal blogs and newspaper comments sections contort themselves into hilarious logic knots to explain it away.

John Swinney’s already upped the stakes by standing in front of a Glasgow crowd in his shortbread-tin outfit and lustily belting out “God Save The Queen”.

So it can only be a matter of time before he gives Ian Murray a call and asks if he can borrow his Union Jack suit. Maybe for this year’s conference.

The last time independence looked like it might have found itself in a propitious set of circumstances – after the Brexit vote, as the UK government blundered from pillar to post like a punch-drunk boxer, stepping on rakes at every turn – the SNP suddenly switched its focus to trying to undemocratically deny England and Wales what THEY’D voted for, rather than using the situation as leverage to get Scotland out of the UK once and for all.

We’re told endlessly that the UK’s woes – whether it’s Brexit or COVID or Boris Johnson or the rise of Reform – will lead to a landslide in support for independence, yet the SNP bends over backwards to stop those things from happening.

And every time support does creep up a tiny bit, the SNP moves the goalposts further away. What used to be a threshold of 50%+1 becomes 60%, then 65%, and – this week, according to Brendan O’Hara – 75% or 80%.

All that matters is that the goal is always just out of reach, like the carrot on a stick dangled in front of a donkey. In the very same article, O’Hara gives the game away:

Alert arithmetic enthusiasts will have noticed that you cannot possibly achieve 75% or 80% if there are 30% who will NEVER vote for something no matter what. The target that would trigger the SNP into action is always designed by the SNP to be impossible.

Because when push comes to shove, the party always reacts the same way to any actual prospect of achieving independence – panic. They know it would end their reign in Scotland, and they really really like life on the gravy bus.

We’re not sure if it’s the gravy bus or the Brexit bus that Dave Doogan just got shoved under, but we suspect it was driven over him heavily enough to make sure he keeps his mouth shut for the forseeable future. Nobody’s going to let him talk to the media again for quite some time, and in fact we’ll honestly be surprised if he’s still the Westminster leader this time next year.

Because in the modern SNP – as Angus MacNeil, Fergus Ewing, Kate Forbes, Ash Regan, Chris McEleny and scores of others will readily attest – doing or saying anything that suggests you might want to bring independence even an inch closer to reality is the most unforgivable crime of all.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,973 Posts, 1,249,791 Comments

• James Che on The Slowest Dawning: “North code, I like it,Aug 29, 11:56
    • James Che on The Slowest Dawning: “I bet the National and BBC never cover the story that the SNP are in the Westminster Foundation for Democracy…Aug 29, 11:47
    • TURABDIN on The Slowest Dawning: “TIME FOR SWINNEY to swim with the fishes.Aug 29, 11:46
    • James Che on The Slowest Dawning: “J Robertson, Scotland is a mess, But then we have to accept for now that the SNP run it under…Aug 29, 11:30
    • James Che on The Slowest Dawning: “Gordon Brown thinks Scotland better get used to its voluntary union with England, which Scotland was relieved from all obligations…Aug 29, 11:21
    • Mark Beggan on The Slowest Dawning: “You will be pleased to know that the British military now consists of a Drag Queen show played by women…Aug 29, 11:21
    • Northcode on The Slowest Dawning: ““Ye ken ma pal, Kenny, don’t ye?” Wee Frankie said. “Dis he no come fae the Raploch oot Stirlin’ way?”…Aug 29, 11:19
    • Hatey McHateface on The Slowest Dawning: “You forgot one. Why are Scots still being oppressed with colonially imposed question marks.Aug 29, 11:17
    • Hatey McHateface on The Slowest Dawning: “Still though, Mark, his absence is noteworthy. Hope he hasn’t found himself at ground zero of a positive feed back…Aug 29, 11:13
    • Hatey McHateface on The Slowest Dawning: ““Don’t the Brits just love engaging their military” Too right. Only just the other week they deployed masked and hooded…Aug 29, 11:02
    • James Che on The Slowest Dawning: “At some point Scotland has to ask questions, what do we meed a referendum for, What would we declare UDI…Aug 29, 11:01
    • Hatey McHateface on The Slowest Dawning: ““Vote overwhelmingly” I must have missed that.Aug 29, 10:58
    • J Robertson on The Slowest Dawning: “As mentioned by other posters – how on earth with the shambolic nature of Scotland’s economy and public finances is…Aug 29, 10:45
    • willie on The Slowest Dawning: “oh and one other thing about clunking fist Brown declaring that Scots irrespective of their political wishes will just have…Aug 29, 10:40
    • willie on The Slowest Dawning: “Here’s quotes that the democrat not Great Gordon Brown has just made in the Guardian to coincide with his new…Aug 29, 10:33
    • MaryB on The Slowest Dawning: “100% Yes 6.09pm You just fell into the ‘divide and rule’ trap.Aug 29, 10:30
    • James Che on The Slowest Dawning: “The agenda of the SNP, and most political parties in GB is the same belief think tanks. Captured governments that…Aug 29, 10:26
    • Mark Beggan on The Slowest Dawning: “It’s the only platform that Fanny has if you don’t count Cambridge and that went tits up. Think of it…Aug 29, 10:24
    • ALANM on The Slowest Dawning: “Agent Sturgeon’s mission is almost complete. All that remains for Swinney is formalising a merger with the Greens paving the…Aug 29, 10:22
    • James Che on The Slowest Dawning: “Just need to google Westminster foundation for democracy to realise why Scotland would not be seen as a security risk…Aug 29, 10:10
    • 100%Yes on The Slowest Dawning: “The SNP is calling for the Scotland office to be abolished Swinney already knows the Scotland office is going to…Aug 29, 10:07
    • 100%Yes on The Slowest Dawning: “The SNP stating quite clearly don’t vote for the SNP we can’t delivery a referendum unless its in the form…Aug 29, 10:04
    • James Che on The Slowest Dawning: “I believe Lynsey Hoyle is its patron or was at the time. And the SNP are part of that Westminster…Aug 29, 09:57
    • Bilbo on The Slowest Dawning: “I’ve got a feeling that Online presence for SNP meetings won’t be solely for islanders but also for the young…Aug 29, 09:52
    • James Che on The Slowest Dawning: “I believe Lynsey Hoyle is its patron or was at the time.Aug 29, 09:52
    • James Che on The Slowest Dawning: “The security of Westminsters Great Britain parliament. Which Scotland has never entered into a treaty with, we only ever held…Aug 29, 09:46
    • James Che on The Slowest Dawning: “Stu, Better together is still as strong as it ever was and the SNP are in it. The Scottish national…Aug 29, 09:34
    • Hatey McHateface on The Slowest Dawning: “Near 60 comments on this thread. If nobody else is going to step up, looks like it falls to me…Aug 29, 09:30
    • Hatey McHateface on The Slowest Dawning: “Good spot, Bilbo. Peter Murrell too. Even if you question his commitment to law and order, you have to commend…Aug 29, 09:24
    • Hatey McHateface on The Slowest Dawning: ““Kenya, the Caribbean, Ireland the method of holding colonies is well rehearsed” Odd. Why would they continue to rehearse a…Aug 29, 09:19