Illuminating the debate

Posted on February 04, 2013 by

23 to “Illuminating the debate”

1. Rev. Stuart Campbell

In case anyone missed it, the context of today’s cartoon is this:

http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-opinion/6680-why-all-of-us-should-get-to-glasgow-on-saturday-february-23rd

2. Ray

Loving the cartoons so far. I’d do some for this independence issue aswell, but the only things I can still draw are Sonic the Hedgehog, Bugs Bunny and Road Runner. I dunno why I can’t advance past them…

3. Aplinal

@Ray

well you could “Scottify them 😉

Beacan Bunny
    Sorcha hedgehog
    Roan Runner

Alba gu bràth

4. Boorach

The truth is funnier than fiction!

Keep them coming Chris they’re all bang on. 

5. velofello

Investment opportunity. Start making cuddly mascots of this wee lion, he’s a stoater.

6. Cameron B

Love the image. Chris, was your inspiration for this one Andy Capp? He was pretty cheesed off with the politics of the day.

7. Macart

😀

Now that’s commentary. 

8. Laura

I think Hamish and his wee tartan tamie would do really well as a mascot.

Keep up the good work Chris, great stuff.  

9. uilleam_beag

Quality cartoon, as brilliantly cutting as the previous ones.

10. ianbrotherhood

Need to pick brains here –
    Does anyone know of a source showing data about the Commonwealth countries which have claimed and won their independence since, say 1945? If we can show how these nations have fared in economic terms, it would be a useful tool. 

11. Fiona

Love the cartoon
    One of the many things not reported would undoubtedly have been the First Minister inaugural Jimmy Reid Memorial lecture http://www.snp.org/blog/post/2013/jan/first-ministers-jimmy-reid-foundation-lecture – a very interesting read. Just as interesting was the Reid Foundation take on the content of the speech and lengthy question and answer session which followed http://reidfoundation.org/2013/01/some-thoughts-on-the-first-ministers-lecture/ . Along with the fact that Unison decided not to jump on the latest Labour bandwagon regarding payments to public sector staff taking voluntary redundancy it seems that the “left” and the unions are moving at least to the undecided camp.

12. Jeannie

Love it.

13. Ron

Need to give the ‘wee lion’ a name – how about ‘Cally’?

14. ianbrotherhood

Here’s a picture of ‘Roary Superscot’:

http://www.myspace.com/18359555/photos/4100291

15. Macart

@ianbrotherhood

I know its wiki, but its a good place to start for further links.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commonwealth_of_Nations 

16. Cameron B

@ ianbrotherhood

I am not sure how useful a comparative analysis of post-colonial success will prove to be. Working in conjunction, the World Bank and the IMF have pretty much fkd up most of the southern hemisphere. John Perkins goes in to this in much more detail, in his book Confessions of an Economic Hit Man.
    http://www.economichitman.com/

17. ianbrotherhood

@Macart – cheers. As Cameron B points out, might be a waste of time, but no harm having a look-see…I’m just curious as to why none of those who’ve left ever tried to get back in.

18. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Need to give the ‘wee lion’ a name – how about ‘Cally’?”

He’s called Hamish, as in the “hame-ish” joke, hence the “hamish” tag on all his appearances.

19. Angus McLellan

@Cameron B, Ian Brotherhood: The problem with comparing most CW countries now and in 1945 is that in 1945 they were so poor, underdeveloped and undergoverned that the data for 1945, and for many years afterwards, is so unreliable as to be meaningless. There’s a CIA paper about this issue which is worth a glance: https://www.cia.gov/library/center-for-the-study-of-intelligence/kent-csi/vol8no4/html/v08i4a02p_0001.htm And it may be that things have not changed all that much today in some cases: http://www.sfu.ca/pamr/media-releases/2012/african-stats-a-numbers-game-study.html Realistically, you’re going to end up with a list of former parts of the British Empire that goes “Australia, Canada, Ireland, New Zealand”. All of those were effectively independent long before 1945.

20. Robert Kerr

@ ianbrotherhood

Lots of information from CIA.

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html

Enjoy details about UK. 

21. Jen

Chris, I love the lion, he is lovely, so cute and Scottish!  

22. DanTDog

Gaun yersel, Chris…mair po’oer tae yer paw…!!

23. K Mackay

Beautiful Chris, when can we get Hamish on Tshirts?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.