Notify of

40.9K Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Fred

Posted this but it vanished. The Manky Bar was the local name! ๐Ÿ™‚

Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Fred.

I can sleep better tonight now I have slain the beast of uncertainty.

Signed,

Manky Boy.

๐Ÿ˜›

Brian Doonthetoon

All this typing about Glasgow pubs got my brain remembering some research I did last year. I can’t remember if I posted info in ‘off-topic’ so I’ll do it now. Strike me with a wet noodle if I’m repeating myself from months ago!

In the following, quotes from web sites are emboldened italics, for clarity. I may have to split the links over two posts, as I think there is a limit of three or four links per comment.

“I mentioned earlier that just two buildings are known to have survived from the time before Grahamston was annexed by the city of Glasgow. One is the building now partly occupied by the Grant Arms. The other is the building at 59 Union Street where the Rennie Mackintosh Hotel now occupies the upper four floors.”

You can see the Grant Arms if you go to this Google Street View of Argyle Street:-

link to goo.gl

Onnyhoo,

“The opening of the Royal Exchange in 1829/30 and the Corn Exchange in 1843 ushered in a new era of confidence to Glasgow. The city continued to march westward and there was stiff competition for the best sites to the west of Union Street.
Grahamston began to change rapidly. An 1853 panorama of Glasgow shows Grahamston to be a bustling place with many businesses and tenement houses. St Columba’s Gaelic Church is prominent and there is a tall chimney belching black smoke.

The 1871 Glasgow Post Office Directory lists nearly 300 businesses in Grahamston including the offices of the Calcutta Line, the Bombay Line and numerous shipbrokers. There were merchants, agents, tobacconists, chemists, writers, brass-founders, tailors, ironmongers, public houses and distillers catering to the needs of local people and travellers.
Gone were the market gardens and the only remaining echoes of Grahamston’s rural past were the numerous corn factors and grain merchants, mainly located in Hope Street and Alston Street.

By the end of that decade Grahamston was to change even more dramatically. On 1 August 1879 the Caledonian Railway Company opened Central Station at its new terminus on the north side of the River Clyde. (Its services had previously terminated at Bridge Street Station on the south side.)

About seventy-five per cent of Grahamston was demolished to make way for the station although the west side, including St Columba’s Church, was untouched. This was a temporary reprieve because the station had to be extended twenty years later necessitating the demolition of the surviving Grahamston area. Grahamston had been obliterated except for two buildings, known as the Grant Arms and the Duncan’s Hotel building, which survive to this day.”

I found this whole thing fascinating. I talked to my brother Graham, who has lived in Glasgow for years and he had never heard of Grahamston. (Ronnie Anderson hadn’t heard of it either.)

“Grahamston is a forgotten piece of Glasgow history. It vanished beneath the foundations of Glasgow Central Station more than 100 years ago, but its memory lives on in buildings, in street patterns and not least in the urban legend of an abandoned village beneath the platforms of Scotlandโ€™s busiest railway station.”

“Anyone travelling by train today from the southern countries of Britain is likely to come into Glasgow Central Station on Platform 3. As they step out of the train they will be directly above the line of the old Alston Street.”

Onnyhoo, as I typed, I found the whole thing fascinating. I’ll stick the links in here, for the info I gleaned last year.
BTW: re the book mentioned.
I had a look on Amazon a few months ago, to find it was going for around ยฃ80. I’ve just done a quick Google search and it doesn’t seem to be available anywhere at the moment.

link to grahamston.com

link to theglasgowstory.com

link to abandonedcommunities.co.uk

Last couple of links to follow…

Brian Doonthetoon
Andrew Mclean

Small axe,
Reading your mail is easy if you click on links, I even found out that the Rev actually, and you would not believe this, but it’s so true, lives in omg Bath!

any way

I don’t ever post links like that!

Brian Doonthetoon

Just to make it clear, Andrew McLean…

The Rev lives in The City Of Bath not just in any bath that happenes to empty of water and bodies…

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel: Fred:

I’m so pleased, I have been wandering the streets of Glasgow in my mind.I have been mugged twice and approached by women asking if I wanted a good time.The Manky Monaco, Tinto, I’m surprised at you, really!I suppose we will be hearing about your adventures in the Saracen head next.

Alls well that ends well, I suppose.
Sleep well, my Manky friends. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

BDTT: yes, I remember your posting and it was v. interesting. I reckon if you combine yours with the link on my 10.33 you could get an interesting picture.

Doesn’t quite solve the problem: where could you take a windswept and winsome young lady for a cocktail east of Glasgow Cross?

Any WAWYLs with a story to tell?

Paula Rose: you’re much too young to comment ๐Ÿ˜€

Shameless, me.

Mine’s a Gibson.

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: sorry to disappoint. I was a good boy, honest. Went to EK Old Parish Sunday School and everything!

Fell among thieves, yer honour…..

Bringing in the sheaves, bringing in the sheaves.

Night all. Great fun.

Smallaxe

I will have to type quicker, I was answering Tinto and Fred, refresh and up pops another two posts.Every day a school day on here, Brian, where do you find the time? Andrew, Bath, shower or jacuzzi, what next!

Peace Always

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

A firing of the investigatory glands, then a night at a loose end, followed by saving, then regurgitating via copy/paste.

Vwallah, as they say in Poland.

Smallaxe

Hi Brian.

HOW! I mean HOW! did you manage to get in front of another post of mine, that suspiciously hasn’t appeared, I will post it again.DONT touch a keyboard, that goes for everybody.

Peace Always

Andrew Mclean

Nope it won’t post,
For everyone else we have
Northern Soul / Nine Times Out Of Ten By Muriel Day

Classic Northern Soul -Judy Street What All you tube

Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

What did I just say! Stop that immediately.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Peace Always

Andrew Mclean

There was I all soulful and you lowered the tone! Billy!,,
๐Ÿ™‚

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Andra.

Here you are:-

This is one that had not been presented to me (as a DJ) as Northern Soul – I found it on a compilation album in the early 70s and recognised it as following the genre, IE uptempo, repetitive beat, with strong snare and the tinkle bells…

Andrew Mclean

Dancers in the room!

Andrew Mclean

You need wings to dance like this:)

Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:
I think at least one of these is yours Andrew

Peace Always

Andrew Mclean

Small axe
Thanks brother, that Muriel Day track, it’s the start of the boy from New York City? First few bars?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

You’re speed reading ‘off=topic and missin’ stuff, iye? You offered Andra,

I’d already offered him

at 12.12am. “I’m hurt”, he typed, with a shrug of the shoulders, having gone through a life of being misheard or not heard…

Smallaxe

BDTT:

Speed reading, maybe, slow typing definitely Brian, also I’m still reading half of the stuff that you have put on here since “the end of the internet” ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

Brian Doonthetoon

And furthermore, as I have reached that point of the evening where I am not picking up my own typo’s (โ€˜off=topic), I feel it ill behoves me not to turn in, as I must earn shekels tomorrow.

“Night all.”, said Sergeant Dixon.

K1

Ach he didnae mean it though BDDT…fact is ye cannae tell whit the track is just by the link…ah noticed it though in response to Andrew’s lament…so yer no misheard by abdy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Andrew Mclean

I am absolutely knackerd from all that dancing!
๐Ÿ™‚

Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

This boy Andrew,

Peace Always

Smallaxe

BDTT:
Goodnight my friend.

K1: Hi, have you just popped over for a rest? My melon is well and truly twisted trying to keep up here, while I’m practising chainsaw juggling for North Britains got mair talent.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

The Big “O”

Peace Always

Andrew Mclean

Hey small axe,
I get the link,
It’s the back beat in the chorus , darts and Roy, be dum dum!
Don’t I get a prize!
๐Ÿ™‚

K1

Di ye think am goin’ oan too much in the main threads Billy? Ah always keep the off topic tab open…multiviewin’ tabs has become a necessity what wi aw the Wings threads, Nana’s links, watching indylive, keepin’ up wi Rev’s twitter it’s a wunner any of us is still sane…and we’ve aw got mair melon twisting coming oor way…off topic’s a wee haven and a good laugh though eh? ๐Ÿ™‚

Smallaxe

For Neil “Annandale Observer” Oliver

Hair Peace

Smallaxe

K1:

I stay over here mainly, as you will notice, because of the medication that I take.I’m feart in case ah lose the place awe the gither wi sum o’ them. Your doing a fine job ma freen, keep it up.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

You have won a speedboat, Andrew.
Here’s what you could have won

Peace Always

K1

Thank you Billy. Ah think ah do ‘lose the place’ a wee bit at times wi particular ‘attitudes’ from some of the usual suspect. Thank fuck there’s distance and a computer screen between me ‘n them…fortunately I’ve a cat and he distracts me at just the right moments by using his paws to type more appropriate responses. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Take care Billy ๐Ÿ™‚

Smallaxe

K1:

You take care also my Friend, I’ll be watching!

Peace Always

Liz g

K1 @ 1.50
Try YouTube….Weird man on Jeremy Kyle 15 Jan 2010…
While not a fan of that show….
In my head that’s senseable Dave & chums!

You’re doing fine by the way.

Stoker

((((( S.O.S )))))

Trying to figure out ways of getting Radio Borders through my tv.
Frustration doesn’t even begin to look at it never mind cover it.
We might be a man down before the day is over if this continues.
Can it even be done?

Fred

@ Brian, interesting Grahamston stuff, you can get a wee tour of the Central where, a bit like Alice in Wonderland, you go doon a stank & come up the the 19th century!

Post Scriptum, That might be a syver in Dundee!

Smallaxe

Creepy Nursery Rhyme: I was looking for something for a friend and this pops up!

Peace Always

Smallaxe

T.May, throwing a lot of respect out to a lot of people. We get to see her wearing a Tartan Jacket. Beware of Wolves in Sheep’s clothing.WEAR WOLF!

Smallaxe

I give them NO peace

Chick McGregor

Dash instead of Lash for 24 Dn yesterday.

Arguably as good a fit.

Smallaxe

Pope Translation!

A little learning is a dangerous thing
Drink deep, or taste not!

[…] Off-topic […]

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe at 12.15: that was creepy, like a younger Trump but not so camp.

All those rolls and gammon and Wee Fowlers down the Manky Bar have floored me today. It’s the Band of Hope and Adam’s Wine for me from now on.

Fred, is it no’ a cundie?

Fred

Meh peh drapped doon the cundie? Could be kid!

One for the lexicographers.

Chick McGregor

Cundie in Dundee, condie in Perth, Brexit in Westminster.

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:
I hope this works, Duke st, indeed! ๐Ÿ™‚
Peace Always

link to google.com
———————————————————————–
Full Address: Site Of Former Belvidere Hospital 1432 London Road

Stoker

WOS Archives for February 2013

Good nationalism, bad nationalism
link to wingsoverscotland.com

Putting out fire with gasoline

Between the whines

Quoted for truth #7

Stoker

Behind the front lines

The Giga-Lie

And finally…#17

This is Numberwang

Stoker

When two plus two is fourteen

A fun quiz!

Possessed under law

And finally #16

Stoker

Further detonations

The clean slate

Executive summary

A case in point

Tinto Chiel

Wow! Great map, Smallaxe. Not just the Belvidere address I got wrong, I spelt Abercromby with an “ie “. I have done 150 lines and begun the usual bending exercises.

Is it the stress of Mayhem and her utter arrogance, or the Curse of The White Tornado?

I’m totally cheesed off with all this Brexit nonsense. What’s it going to take for Soft Noes to flip? I suppose only when they experience the dreadful economic consequences, but then, so will everybody else who already know the score and want to get out of this accursed union NOW.

*grinds teeth and begins nervous twitch*

Tinto Chiel

Need a dose of Miles and a platform ticket……

link to m.youtube.com

Tinto Chiel

Chic: just noticed.

๐Ÿ˜€

Tinto Chiel

Dose of Miles? WotamIsayin’?

Need a lie down!

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

It’s getting to us all Tinto we need to remember who we are. Our identity was stolen from us, we have to have it returned, we feel the loss of something that we have never had. We are lost children seeking parents that we have never known and without knowledge of the parents how can we ever know where we came from, or where we’re going.

I feel as if I/we need bereavement counselling. I feel a loss of pride, of self, homeless in my own home a stranger in my own country. I was made to feel like this by people who, try as I might, I cannot bring myself to think of as having any humanity or decency, alien in every way to my way of thinking and acting.I have only one thought, Independence, without it, we shall go the way of all aboriginal people that have had the misfortune to live somewhere that the “British Empire” covets.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thanks, Boss, ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Quite so, Smallaxe. This Wonderful Union brought us emigration, rural and urban poverty and a massive Cultural Cringe, all which are largely responsible for the alcohol and drug abuse we see all around us.

And it almost worked.

But…

The Game’s a Bogey. The Chain of Despair has snapped. Since the SNP got in at Holyrood they have slowly rebuilt hope and self-respect.

That’s why The Establishment want to stamp all over us.

“Too late, too late, the maiden cried.”

End of days for all that shit, Smallaxe, my friend. I know my daughters will live in better Scotland.

I find that comforting.

Tinto Chiel

And now, Miles himself will explain:

Now that does calm me down a bit, Smallaxe.

All the best.

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

It’s good to see you back in a more optimistic mood my Friend. I give you Mr.Bolan, with my point of view.

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

And thank God Nana didn’t come on here and hear about our East End debauchery (and let’s drag in Fred and carjamtic too for the cutty stool of repentance).

That would be a pure riddy.

Dodged a bullet there, old chum.

And now, Wood Hill and Bedfordshire.

Fred

Crackin map Smallaxe, now if you head up Abercromby Street, at the back of St Mary’s church there is an empty plot in Orr Street which is where the dead of the Cholera epidemic of the 1840’s were packed into mass graves. Mostly poor Irish folk fleeing the Famine & with little resistance they went down like ninepins. There are another three private plots in Bridgeton ditto, mebbes 10,000 people. Apparently the grave-liquor ran down the gutters. This scandal was the spur to the Municipal Cemeteries being opened.

Fred

Found the story on this folks,

link to happyhaggis.co.uk

Sweet Dreams! ๐Ÿ™‚

Smallaxe

Goodnight guys, link to youtube.com

Peace Always

Thepnr

Here’s one to fall asleep too.

Dreams

Not Fleetwood Mac good all the same.

Smallaxe

Martin Luthor King: I have a Dream.

Peace Always

carjamtic

Tinto,repent ye not,the use of ‘street language’ or being cunning bilingualist,is to be celebrated,ordinary people,in this ‘modern’ world, lack these skills,you my friends,are special.

Do you want a poke ? to the (ahem) layperson,this sounds like a proposition but to us ‘code breakers’ it simply means,….sit in or takeaway.

If you add in,your many other (normally hidden) talents,say the ability to smell shite a fifty yards (praegustators) and to then,still have the presence of mind to warn people,not to swallow….it is by no means a stretch of anybody’s imagination,to state than your are in fact hero’s.

So I say,let’s all get manky at Granny Blacks (sit in),then take a quick trip to Roslin Chapel…. alway’s remember it’s a jungle out there,but people need you,Scotland needs you,there is still, much to be done and many Yoons to be ‘poked’

If,as we all acknowledge,red is the new blue,then it follows that,yesterday’s mankies are oday’s superhero’s,

That concludes the case for the defence milady.

;-j

Smallaxe

carjamtic:

A most excellent and Pulchritudinous post my learned friend.May I be the first to agree that we should all get inebriated at said “Grandmother Blacks” and from that venue proceed to Roslin Chapel.Do we have a designated carriage driver?

Broon paper pokes will be supplied to carry refreshments for our journey, I presume. I am looking forward to our excursion and hope that a very many yoons can be poked on our travel and arrival.

This concludes my humble thoughts on this extremely exciting endeavour, Milady.

Peace Always

Finlay

Morning folks,

I’m not too sure how to title these thoughts so please bear with me if it gets a bit unstructured.

I’ve spent a lot of my time over the last 5 years or so justifying to those around me the merits and reasoning behind supporting ideas such as; Scottish independence, socialism, altruism, truthfulness and the importance of continually nurturing your own mind.

When I struggle to achieve anything through a conversation, I come across the same problems fairly frequently with certain types of people and those people broadly fall into two categories (and some into both): the morally bankrupt and the intellectually bankrupt.

‘Morally bankrupt’ is pretty self-explanatory. To be clear about the ‘intellectually bankrupt’ category, I don’t mean that these people are necessarily un-intelligent people and nor do I mean that they simply don’t have very much knowledge (ignorance), rather they seem to be either incapable or unwilling to have general intellectual discussions on the merits of ideas.

Instead of discussing ideas from an intellectual stand-point, a lot of people approach topics from a purely emotive foundation and don’t understand the difference between the two approaches. I can show someone that what they are saying is full of logical fallacies but if they treat every conversation purely emotionally then, to them, I’m pretty much telling them how to feel. And it’s never a good idea for someone to think you are telling them what or how to feel…

There are a hell of a lot of ‘intellectually bankrupt’ people and a distressingly high minority of ‘morally bankrupt’ people in Scotland (and everywhere else for that matter). Everything we do through Wings or similar vehicles has been and is very effective at winning intellectual arguments and informing intellectual readers but a lot of people simply don’t engage in intellectual discussion and are not intellectual people (no offence intended towards these people).

Right now, and also in an independent Scotland, I think its extremely important that our society is educated in the field of Philosophy so that the general public has an idea of why they do things and what is a good motive for your actions.

We teach Maths and English as staple subjects at school and it is very important that we do so, but surely it is just as important to teach our people not only ‘what’ things are and ‘how’ things are but also ‘why’ we should do things.

The UK establishment seems to be trying to do the opposite, as a morally and intellectually bankrupt society is far more likely to vote for their ideas on society and I see this as a real threat.

What are your thoughts on teaching Philosophy as a staple subject in the Scottish education system?

Finlay

Tinto Chiel

Morning, all.

Thanks for the info, Fred. grim stuff but we should never forget it.

Carjamtic: love your slogan “Let’s all get manky at Granny Black’s” and they do say Roslin’s nice at this time of year. Must get out the Tinto Tours charabanc. You make more sense than my lawyer ever did, I have to say.

Finlay: quite agree with your thoughtful post. One of the reasons I hate canvassing (but feel I have to do it) is that it’s difficult to deploy a reasoned argument because those fed a diet of MSM lies and spin react, as you say, in an emotional way: “I hate yon Salmon/Sturgeon; We’re too poor; The Ile’s runnin oot” etc. Also The Cringe is Strong and 300 odd years of such brain-washing and propaganda by definition is not based on fact or logic but is still depressingly powerful. Clear thinking could cut through all that slurry.

Trying to teach philosophy to improve thinking skills and make people aware of false arguments is the last thing the Establishment wants, of course, but it would be beneficial in the long run. How you pack it into the CfE curriculum, I have no idea. Most teachers are tearing their hair out because of the curriculum demands and the lack of clear direction. It’s been that way since the Labour party introduced it and unfortunately I think Honest John Swinney has a huge job on his hands trying to improve matters. Just talking to the civil servants, Inspectorate and head teachers is not going to cut it, I’m afraid. Listen to those who know how to do the job, not those divorced from the classroom.

I heard of attempts to introduce philosophy in England (was it on Radio 4?) but it was being trialled in a yummy-mummy middle-class school and was very piecemeal, from memory.

Yours is a great idea but I don’t know how you go about it.

Chick McGregor

Finlay

I am in favour of teaching the techniques of rational thinking used in philosophy, mathematics and physics as a separate subject from those disciplines.

Deductive reasoning –

Syllogisms, Venn Diagrams, Statistics, Geometric.
The importance of researching premise veracity, raw data accuracy, quantity and how representative a distribution it has.

Inductive reasoning –

De Bono techniques like formal attempts to empathise with, and hence understand, another person’s rationale (Logic Bubble).
Thinking Hats. Random seeding of creative thought process.

These thinking techniques should be illustrated using examples of the three subjects mentioned.

In other words, the tools of rationale thinking, which I agree are sadly lacking in the UK, should be a mandatory curricula subject itself.

Pre University Philosophy teaching is virtually non existent in the USA and Britain unlike most other countries in Europe.

It should be a course which can be studied as readily as maths and physics.
Retention of objective teaching is a problem (as it is in other subjects like History, Politics etc.) but with careful course structuring and teacher training that problem should be minimised. Other countries manage.

A basic grounding in the main different approaches and ideas for ethics and morality questions, using the above tools for example, should be readily available.

But philosophy is a subject for lifelong study.

More important is the provision of basic thinking tools and getting across Kant’s excellent encapsulation of the spirit of enlightenment ‘Dare to think.’

If everyone at least left school aware that philosophy like physics and maths can be explored further using the thinking tools they have been taught, that would be a good start.

But as you say, the elitist systems of the USA and UK may not be happy with folk who are taught how to think for themselves.

Fred

“Dare to Think!” should be in every class-room Chick. Kant of course was from Cant’s in Coupar Angus.

True Dat!

Chick McGregor

Ak ken Fred. He was the first to change the spelling from Cant to Kant.

Although he famously (though not quite true) never left the environs of Konigsberg he was well acquainted with the philosophical output of Scotland.

It was Hume’s ‘Critique of Pure Reason’ which lured him back from Astronomy to Philosophy.

Stoker

And finally…#15

The trinity of cringe

Mad horse disease

The King’s shilling

Stoker

Distorted reflections

And finally…#14

Oh, what a lovely war

Information request #3

Stoker

It’s happening again, nurse

And finally…#13

Fear, uncertainty and gibberish

Apples and oranges

Stoker

Worth a thousand words

And finally…#12

A letter to the Electoral Commission

Let’s get serious

Tinto Chiel

Thanks again, Stoker. You should be getting a Wings gold medal

Still hits the spot for me:

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thanks, Boss.

Peace Always

K1

I think it’s quite funny that our chosen ‘monikers’ even get their own ‘nickname monikers’…so how’s it gaun Big Chib and Boss, hey that could be the band name Big Chib and the Boss? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Smallaxe

K1:

SShhhh, I’m climbing drainpipes and unscrewing landing lights, it’s a great way of meeting people I don’t like.

Peace Always

K1

That’ll be peace ‘n chibs then eh… ๐Ÿ˜‰ (ah like yer style)

Smallaxe

Tough Love. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Keep me Hanging

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Four Roads One Path

Peace Always

Finlay

Apologies for slow reply, my PC has died and I’ve been busy.

Tinto Chiel 18/01/2017 10:27
“How you pack it into the CfE curriculum, I have no idea. Most teachers are tearing their hair out because of the curriculum demands and the lack of clear direction. Itโ€™s been that way since the Labour party introduced it and unfortunately I think Honest John Swinney has a huge job on his hands trying to improve matters. Just talking to the civil servants, Inspectorate and head teachers is not going to cut it, Iโ€™m afraid. Listen to those who know how to do the job, not those divorced from the classroom.”

I left school about 5 or 6 years ago so I think my own experience of school is probably quite relevant to the present day schoolkid’s experience. Having started primary school during the dawn of the internet age just as Google was becoming a big deal, I feel like most teachers failed to adapt to the ease of access to information that came with widespread access to the internet. Suddenly there was so much information at your fingertips that the largest hurdle was no longer finding sources of information – there was an avalanche of information only a Google search away, the new hurdle is separating good information from bad information and we were never taught how to do this through school.

The primary purpose of schooling is to teach children the skills of communication and arithmetic in order to prepare them for basic existence in society. Children are born with truly open minds and spend the first part of their lives learning all day, every day about everything and the secondary function of schooling is to nurture these open minds to keep them open (every close-minded person you ever meet started off with an open mind and shut it somewhere along the way). As a species, if we want to improve as a species, we need each subsequent generation to build on the strengths and weaknesses of all previous generations, therefore knowing how to effectively learn and understanding the purpose of knowledge and wisdom is absolutely critical for human progress and even the survival of our species.

In my experience, many teachers don’t truly recognise their purpose or the magnitude of their responsibility as educators and focus too much on their own lives and their own personal satisfaction. The teachers who do have a good idea of their purpose, as Tinto Chiel says, are hamstrung by the curriculum because it has not been designed for its true purpose, it lacks direction and it is stifling.

I think the first step to fix this is educating the educators and reworking the curriculum to tackle the true purpose of the education system. A focus needs to be made less on throwing information at kids and telling them to swallow it and more on teaching them why they should bother to learn in the first place. Once a child understands what they will gain from education and sparks a hunger for knowledge the whole process of education starts to self-perpetuate.

I think more trust needs to be put in teachers and more time given for them to deviate from a set curriculum in order to teach some really important life lessons. Each class of kids is a unique and each class will need to be approached in different ways. The teacher is in the best position to assess what is a priority for their kids the learn, and so our teachers should be trained to be as fit for that job as can be! The current one-size-fits-all curriculum is painting every class with the same brush and it doesn’t work.

I think children are pushed to specialise far too early in their lives. They are choosing their path in life before they can even begin to comprehend the world they will be walking into after their school life ends. General knowledge education needs to be extended further and needs to relate to adult life a lot more to teach skills like for example ‘how to budget your personal finances’. Give kids a couple more years of broad education and life skills development before they have to pick their specialised subjects that will probably define the rest of their working lives.

One final point is that there has to be an effort made to understand education from the point of view of the pupils. Chick McGregor mentioned that:

“…thinking techniques should be illustrated using examples of the three subjects mentioned [Philosophy, Maths and Physics]”.

To teach somebody something new, the most effective method I have ever found (and this applies to canvassing too by the way) is to teach them by referencing something they already understand and if possible something they have an interest in or a love for.

Here is an example of what I’m talking about. When I was a kid the Lord of the Rings trilogy was a huge deal for us as the films were released while we were in primary school, we loved Middle Earth, the characters, the story, the narrative, the music, the lot. We fully immersed ourselves in the Lord of the Rings universe and almost every kid in my school could quote you most scenes from the films.

A few months ago I listened to a fairly in depth podcast series about the First World War and as a side note I learned that the Lord of the Rings novels were largely influenced by Tolkien’s experience of the war. I read the Lord of the Rings novels and watched the films when I was at school, I was also taught for a semester about the First World War. If the teachers at the time had made the link between the popular culture of the moment (LOTR) and the subject of WW1 we were learning anyway then they could have taught us some massive lessons on humanity, morality and philosophy that we would have wanted to learn.

I re-watched the trilogy earlier this week, as I have done countless times before, however with my new found knowledge of WW1 the trilogy took on a whole new meaning and I experienced the movies on a new plane of thinking, from a new dimension and I think that sums it up quite nicely.

The more you learn about existence, the more you experience in your life. You can see something with uneducated eyes and get bored of it, then when you gain new knowledge you see a whole new world and the boring thing is now exciting.

Teach kids that philosophy and the human race will probably sort itself out.

Cactus

Aweright Finlay, well said.

Tinto Chiel

Excellent post, Finlay.

Unfortunately, teachers, like any professional group, have a spectrum of abilty/commitment. For every inspirational one there will be a jobsworth somewhere who can be complacent and unimaginative and unaware of the almost sacred responsibility of her/his job. It should be about opening minds and teaching children to act and think for themselves: very dangerous for the Establishment.

CfE was supposed to individualise learning and make kids more “self-actuating” but it has had its problems. It was supposed to be the opposite of throwing information at the pupils but a lot of useful on-line sites can be filtered out by the school, for example, like YouTube, and many older teachers are actually quite unaware of the power of the internet in any case. There is little meaningful in-service training in this area any more as budgets are tight.

“To teach somebody something new, the most effective method I have ever found (and this applies to canvassing too by the way) is to teach them by referencing something they already understand and if possible something they have an interest in or a love for.” Agree completely, although one of my daughters (who taught in an Ayrshire school of multiple deprivation last year) reports that many incoming P1/2s have lower levels of language and social skills owing to lack of attachment/interaction with their parents. Poverty makes the pressures on family worse, of course. Sometimes kids are simply plonked in front of the TV in their first few years.

I’m being quite serious when I suggest you make the minister aware of your thoughts and concerns which are so well articulated here. In my experience, while teachers are not listened to, articulate adults/parents are.

Scott

Did not hear any of this on BBC but then it is one of their own .

link to on.rt.com

Smallaxe

School? The unhappiest days of my life!

Floyd:
Alice:
Bob:

Peace Always

Stoker

Yer all mad ah tell ye, mad! ๐Ÿ˜€
_____

Thanks, Scott, i’ve not seen that Kooend piece.
_____

Folks, this is as good a time as any to let yous all know – those that follow the WOS archive links – that at some point over the next 2-3 weeks i will suddenly stop posting for a few weeks. Major job possibly in the offing which will take me temporarily off-line. I’ll resume the archives at the first opportunity. Sorry i can’t be anymore specific.
_____

How about….The Banned?
๐Ÿ™‚

Smallaxe

If!

Peace Always

ahundredthidiot

CBS Benn Swann doesn’t report fire on msm re pizzagate, but definitely smoke

and begs the question why law enforcement haven’t even looked at it……maybe after friday!

Smallaxe

You Dirty Rat:

Peace Always

Fred

@ Finlay, in my young day weans got bored “with” something, not “of” it! They do say that in England, they also get “floor” mixed up with “ground”. I dropped it “on the floor!” when they might be on Ilkely Moor at the time. Funny auld world, diction has undoubtedly “deteriorated” & that’s another word the English have great trouble with.

I think if we are relying on stuff about Elfs to teach the weans we are in deep shit, however excellent the Elfs might be!

K1

Aye but…but some elf services are dain a lot better than others Fred ๐Ÿ˜‰

(coat’s oan)

Liz g

Stoker @ 11.41
Thanks for the links you have already put up, great for finding something to read, espically at stupid o’clock in the morning.
Good luck with your job and haste ye back.

Tinto Chiel

Good luck, Stoker with the Big Fish and thanks again.

That Laura Kuensssssssssssssssberg (my precious) really gets on my nazzums.

But she’s not biased. So is she incompetent, then?

She’ll be in the Lords before you know it…..

Finlay

@Fred

I talk about things I don’t really understand. So far as I remember I’ve never felt boredom myself, much to the annoyance of everyone around me I’m sure!

This might make me look like an idiot, but if I practice what I preach then I should say it anyway! I always thought that when saying things like “I’m bored of something” there was an implied ‘with’ so that the less lazy way of saying it would be “I’m bored of [interacting with] something”.

So another example might be if you are talking to someone and cannae be arsed anymore you might say “I’m tired of you.” meaning “I’m tired of [interacting with] you [because you are an insufferable killer of good conversation]”.

Not directed at you by the way, that was simply the first example I thought of!

A similar thing to the “floor” example is I call practically any liquid I intend on drinking “juice”, be it actual juice, fizzy drinks, milk, whatever! Very confusing for my international friends.

Fred

Finlay, I’ll have a gless of what you’re on!

Finlay

You can have any drink you like so long as it’s juice! ๐Ÿ˜›

Fred

Celtic Connections starting, I shall attempt once more to try & post a song on here, Karen Matheson’s “Glen Ballachulish”

Fred

Over the moon guys, cracked it! A recent survey had more than 50% of Americans believe in angels ๐Ÿ™‚ Karen Matheson sings like wan!

Smallaxe

Ther’s a per a’ pers oan the cher oan the fler ower ther!

Or as Mr Peffers would say “ower settin’ intae the Inglis”.

There’s a pair of pears on the chair on the floor over there! ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Fred:

I once wrote a poem about Angels, I met them, but I will not reproduce it here.Just in case someone gets bored of it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks, for the information regarding St.Mary’s and the Happy Haggis link, I found it very interesting. The reason I was so adamant about Belvidere Hospital, was because I used to work in the Mortuary.Tru’ Dat! I also worked in Stobhill hospital mortuary and pathology lab. Also true.

Peace Always my Friend

Stoker

The curios art of Helen Keller politics

And finally…#11

A little less conversation

Irreconcilable differences

Stoker

Klingons on the starboard bow

The miracle of poverty

“Dear the EU…”

Blair McDougall is a liar

Stoker

Quoted for truth #6

Illuminating the debate

Picking a side

And finally…#10

Stoker

The Ephialtes Platoon

And finally…#9

Better Together leaked videos #1

The twelfth man

Stoker

Better Together leaked posters #10

Friends like these #2

Friends like these

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thanks, Boss. I hope that you will not be gone too long.See my post You Dirty Rat @ 12:07pm the link was for you.

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

MT a no-go area for me just now, what with Insensate Dave disrupting some excellent comments. I think non-engagement is the only answer, since any response is twisted and misrepresented.

In next door visiting my old neighbour just there. I think it was C4 News and Theresa May was being interviewed in Davos. She’s like a Demon Headmistress but a very nervous one, and one who can’t answer a question in an intelligible way: feeble and unconvincing.

I keep expecting Dalmatian puppies to try and make a break for it from her handbag. And she seemed to have a pink badger thingy wrapped around her thrapple.

Bizarre. And then I remembered Tories love dead animals, slaughtered in large numbers.

I’m beginning to think all this tough talk may be a preamble to a snap election: things can only get worse for them once the consequences of Brexit manifest themselves and the Tories can stack up votes before that happens, since Labour as so weak. With tactical voting by unionists, the SNP may even lose a couple of seats, which would be represented as “the bubble bursting” and similar tosh. Blairites would actually love a landslide defeat because they would use it as an excuse to knife Corbyn, too, so they’ll vote for an election (and so would delusional JC).

And of course it might interfere with the momentum for a future Indyref2 campaign.

Please, tell me I’m wrong.

Good news: a couple of rare Miles Davis CDs arrived today and the days lengthen by two minutes every day.

Fred

Smallaxe that wiz lovely kid! ye must huv some rerr stories aboot the boadies? Theresa, since the May Putsch is now as daft as a box of frogs, she has a very strange gait, a bit like a stick insect, I fear things will get a lot worse before they get better.

Smallaxe

Fred:

Thanks, Fred, Glad you liked it, I wasn’t going to remark because I don’t like anyone asking a question just to ignore people who are kind enough to answer so that they can then furnish their own pre-prepared answer. I could see it coming!

T.May does have a very strange manner of moving, she looks as though she has just rented a body and hasn’t quite worked out where the clutch is, like someone who usually drives an automatic car and then rents a stick shift.I think we need a good insect repellent.Jeff Goldblum’s Brundle-fly comes to mind!

Now aboot the Boadies…. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

Smallaxe

THE FLY: X CERTIFICATE.

Alls well that ends well, every cloud, silver lining you know?

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Tinto:

I fully agree about non-engagement with S/Dave, personally, I would require a couple of dates (Chaperoned) first and slowly building up over time to a wee kiss on the cheek.But then I’m nothing but a fkn slut.

๐Ÿ™‚ link to youtube.com

Peace Always

Smallaxe

19 January, 2017 at 11:51 am
If!

Should have been this, I hated school, with a Vengence!

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Goodnight I’ll just cry myself to sleep

Peace Always….Sob..

Meg merrilees

link to bbc.co.uk

This is what I call rain!

Smallaxe

That deserves a wee song, Meg:
The Waterboys

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, don’t be so hard on yourself, you’re not really that kind of girl ๐Ÿ˜› !

Wow! “If”! I remember seeing it with my Dear Old Dad and finding it quite shocking. It reminds me of this:

Thanks for Miles’ lovely Night Music. Calms me down, even in the morning.

Meg: that Greek match must’ve taken place at the Glasgow Fair.

Cadogan Enright

ADVAN UPDATE AT 11 am

Meanwhile link to informscotland.com

But follow on Facebook as updates are quicker there link to facebook.com

Smallaxe

Tinto:

Your more than welcome, anything for a “Manky Mate”

Peace Always

Brotyboy

Just a link to a wee article I put forward to Rab Bruce’s Spider (If At First You Don’t Secede, Try, Try Again)

link to rbs.postach.io

Chick McGregor

Oops, just noticed a howler on my last post.

Should have been –

“It was Hume’s ‘A Treatise of Human Nature'”

Too many birthday sherbets.

Chick McGregor

Nice one Scott.

So now she was a shiny new ‘Miss Reporting’ award to go on her mantlepiece along with her ‘Broadcaster of the Year’ one.

Nothing like a bit of Feng Shui to herald in the Chinese New Year.

Cadogan Enright

update from Simon at Inform Scotland here; link to informscotland.com

and Facebook; link to facebook.com

Cadogan Enright

Message from Simon at Inform Scotland here; link to informscotland.com

and Facebook here; link to facebook.com

Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Smallaxe.

Looks like the billboard campaign is upsetting some people.

Now if WE went around slashing billboards…..

I heard this on the car radio this morning and immediately thought of Insensate Dave and his band The Chindits:

Smallaxe

Tinto:

What’s the difference between S/Dave and a sperm?
A; They both have a one in 13 million chance of being human
๐Ÿ™‚
Peace always

Smallaxe

Tinto:

I meant similarity between them
Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, I haven’t even looked at the MT in any detail today ‘cos every time I see his name I hit the scroller hard.

I’m away on to YouTube to look for something funky as Freuchie to cheer myself up.

Surprised The Rev hasn’t administered the red card to him by now.

I got a bottle of Amarone for Christmas and as soon as the sun hits the yard-arm I’m reaching for the bottle-opener.

Cheers in advance.

Fred

@ Chick, mind keep yer lavvy pan shut, if it’s good Feng Shui yer efter!

True Dat!

Tinto Chiel

This is funky as Freuchie.

Takes my mind off The Trumpster.

Smallaxe

Fred:

True it is, I insist it is always done in my lavvy and have done for years if left open your money runs out.
Peace Always

Smallaxe

To T.May:

Nae Peace to YOU

Stoker

WOS Archives for March 2013

And finally…#29

Damned if they do

Old habits die hard

Ian Davidson is a liar

Stoker

The millionaire Paul Daniels

We paid for this

No stone uncrawled

The oil debate for busy people

Stoker

Be careful what you wish for

Hostages of the bedroom tax

Betting on air

Never the twain shall meet

Stoker

Workfare for Holyrood

What’s all this “we”, paleface?

Confused Unionist Of The Morning

Air traffic control

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Pickin’ them up, boss!

Peace Always

Ian Brotherhood

Bowie, ‘Suffragette City’ Live, 1973 –

Fred

Sound advice wi the lavvy pan lid Smallaxe, but just remember it’s doon in the middle of the night, on a short-haud wi the Tex Ritters!

Ian Brotherhood

Bowie, ‘Space Oddity’ (live, year???)

Ian Brotherhood

Have been taking my time, reading recent O/T stuff and cathcing some random links. Great stuff.

Very interested in what Finlay has been saying above. It’s not just the education system we have to consider in a free Scotland, it’s systems of all kinds. We’ve a lot of repair work to do, and it won’t be easy, as TC says in ref to John Swinney.

On a more positive note, there are certain areas where we’ll be starting afresh. Well, we will be if the usual suspects quietly admit defeat and shuffle off into retirement. Can’t be more specific right now as I’m only really thinking aloud, but reading some of the comments here – so different in tone from some of the main threads recently – is invigorating and cheering, so thanks abody.

Fred

Guys, this is the wee story about the Devil’s visit to Ruchill where he stayed for eight days. Some say he never left?

drmarkjardine.wordpress.com/2017/01/20/the-eight-days-of-the-keppoch-devil-near-Glasgow-history-scotland

Fred
Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood:

Good to see you over here on O/T Brother, you’re not here often enough this past while.Don’t take too much onto your own shoulders, it’s not healthy, we need all our best people, like yourself, to be in good fettle for what will be the most important test of our stamina and patience in the battle for our Homeland.

Thanks, for the Bowie track Space Oddity (from the 1980 Floor Show, filmed at the Marquee Club in London, October 19-20, 1973).

Music soothes the savage breast!

Peace Always my Brother

Smallaxe

Fred:

Dinnae fash yersel wi’ thon link, all I did with the first ane was copy and take the go to option provided.Simples ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always my “Manky Mate”

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Cheers friend, always a delight to get a direct message from you and I note all you say.

Not taking on too much personally, but trying, with others, to lay some kind of basic framework for an ‘attack’ of sorts (literary, not physical) on the bastions. Long overdue, but vital if independence is to mean anything at all.

I can’t be very specific, not because it’s a big secret, but because we still haven’t worked-out the best way of doing it. But we’re taking our time, doing it properly.

Target?

The self-satisfied establishment of commissars and their lackeys, who’ve parked their arses in Scotland for decades, taking generous salaries at our expense in order to tell us what our culture is. There’s no aspect of Scottish cultural activity that they don’t infiltrate and dominate: ‘You will enjoy this, whether you like it or not.’

Alasdair Gray, as you will know, got himself into a bit of ‘bother’ by pointing out the fucking obvious prior to the referendum – the attacks on him were astonishingly cruel considering he’s one of the few genuine cultural icons we have. No-one can say for sure if those attacks contributed to his accident and illness, but it’s a minor miracle that he’s still with us. Probably fair to say that he won’t be launching any similar ‘attacks’ in the foreseeable future. Likewise Kelman, who is now 70 and has never, ever (to my knowledge) been given the chance to talk about his work into a ‘live’ microphone. But even if those guys are now passing from the scene, they will not be forgotten, and every effort must be made to continue the fight they’ve been engaged in for the past four decades, one which can be traced directly back to MacDiarmid.

‘They’ can’t and won’t get away with it post-indy. I suspect you know precisely the kind of people I’m on about, and, more importantly, they know themselves who they are, and why their jacket-pegs are getting shooglyier by the day.

Well, we’re preparing to give them their jotters, but won’t do so until the time is right – when that time comes (and here’s hoping it’s soon!) the whole cultural scene in Scotland will be transformed so utterly that none of us can imagine what will follow.

Peace to you and yours mister.

X

PS Sorry if this is a bit nosey, but did you ever meet John La Rose?

Thepnr

Hi all

Just dropped in too as a break from the main thread. Hope your all doing well and spirits are still up. There’s a long way to go and we all need to stick in.

Here’s an old tune with a modern twist about beating adversity and for a long time was “my song”. Think you might like the story too.

Ian Brotherhood

Given what’s just happened in the States, this feels suitably apocalyptic, but hey, it’s a braw tune!

๐Ÿ™‚

Bastille, ‘Pompeii’ –

Thepnr

Ha Ian

Great tune BUT your son definitely introduced you to that! So what it was good.

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Good to see you mister, this is becoming a bit of a reunion here…

Nah, nah, no way, that was my pick. Love it. Don’t even know if my lad ever saw it.

Thepnr

Well done with that tune then at YOUR age LOL!

Thepnr

I missed your post about writers Ian until now. I was about 21 or 22 years old when I read “A Chancer” by Kelman. I was given it from a much older guy from Cumbernauld who told me he knew him.

I was working on the rigs then you know the two weeks on for “big” money then the next two weeks spending it in the pubs and the bookies.

This older, wiser guy says “here, read this. That’s you if you don’t learn any better”

I read the book and I loved Tammas, I wanted to be him! Going to Ayr races and playing blackjack in casino’s until late in the night sounded much better to me than working on the rigs!

It was all fantasy and Tammas was really a loser which is not easy to spot at 21. Anyway Kelman did deserve the Booker prize and just never got the recognition the likes of Rushdie did.

Would have loved to have met Kelman, never say never maybe he might pop alaong to a Wings night for Indyref2 ๐Ÿ™‚

Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood:

One of the main reasons for me being involved the 1968 march on the American Embassy was the VSC ( Vietnam Solidarity Campaign) along with Tariq Ali, Vanessa Redgrave et al was urged on by the passion of the man you ask about.I never had the honour of meeting him but I had many dealings with mutual friends (Comrades/Socialist Workers) etc.

I wish that I still had the vigour of youthfulness, I still have the passion which makes for much frustration but I still do a little in my own way with Friends from those days who I do and have always trusted with my life and my anonymity in certain situations.We grow fewer every year.

I know you with others will carry on, that is a great comfort to me. I will not insult you by thanking you, what you do you do for the right reasons Comrade.

Peace Love and People Power
Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

I hear you mister. Loud and clear.

This following is from Gil-Scott Heron’s last album, a wee ‘interlude’ where he’s talking about his parents. Precious stuff:

Smallaxe

What’s goin’ on,

Peace Always ALL WAYS

Chick McGregor

Appropriate time for a couple of golden oldies.

First up, one of our current literature Nobel laureat’s finest, inspired by his own admission by our own Hamish Henderson’s ‘Farewell to Sicily’.

And another the currency of which questions whether there is ever real change at all.

Smallaxe

IAN:

Peace Always

Thepnr

@Chick McGregor

Absolute class Chic. We need to have a beer in Kirrie sometime, bring the wife I’ll bring mine. Make sure the pub accepts dogs, my two wee cairns that is not the wife ๐Ÿ™‚

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Brilliant links. Thanks.

Smallaxe

The South African Ambassador came to Glasgow, I went to the hospital and then to jail.

Peace can be painful but for pain, we have PAIN KILLERS, for peace we have PEOPLE

Smallaxe

Good people here tonight

You meet Him

And then you beat Him

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Peace Always my Friend

Brian Doonthetoon

Some good posts on ‘off-topic’ today, from the reprobates crawling out from behind the skirting boards – iye?

Onnyhoo, had one of my rare Friday nights out tonight, along the Perth Road in Mennies, to celebrate Bob Costello’s 70th birthday (he of Team YES Bus).

Had bra’ blethers with Chris Law, Bob himself and a “Labour” socialist who moved from NO to YES then back to NO in 2014. He also worked “with” a certain McTernan chappie at some point in 2014 but I was told I can’t repeat what he said so that’ll have to wait till our next eyeball. I left him with a “Wee Black Book”, to read and share. Also told him to search on YouTube for “Saviour Of The Union” and “The News Where You Are”.

Tomorrow night is the Dundee SNP Burns Supper in the Apex Hotel. No doubt some bra’ blethers will take place there also…

“Film at 11”, as they say in Kentucky Fried Movie…

Brian Doonthetoon

And if you’ve never experienced the delights of “Kentucky Fried Movie”, here you are…

link to 123movies.is

Smallaxe

BDDT:

Hi, Brian, enjoy your “Rab the Ranter” evening.

It’s comin’ yet for aw that!

Peace Always my Friend

Fred

Smallaxe, you’re dealin wi a dinosaur here! Mrs Trump’s apples haven’t fallen far from that Lewis tree! one son a bevvy merchant & good company while the other’s an arsehole of a sanctimonious T/Totaller. Can’t wait for the state visit.

Nana

@Smallaxe

Missed you this morning, hoping you are just tired from being up so late last night.

Take it easy Billy xx

Fred

This is for Donald Trump, Calum Kennedy singing his big hit, Mo Mhathair, (My Mother!) could have been written for Maw Trump hersel whateffer!

Nana

@Smallaxe

Just read your post on the new thread. I myself have had a few rattled ‘conversations’ with call centre employees who can’t understand my accent. To be fair I have had difficulty understanding theirs at time, hence the aggravation!

Good to know you are ok.

Smallaxe

Nana:

I’m ok, I left a message for you on the new thread by mistake! I’ve been on the phone all morning, London Calling and then Mumbai getting on my bits.

Peace Always xx

Smallaxe

Fred:

Any spare Angels? I could be doing with one right now.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Fred: For you

Angels in an Angelic Alba.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

How come every time I try to write Alfa Lima Bravo Alfa it either comes out Hail and NOW Caesar! ??

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Great to see the Heavy Team/Usual Suspects back on here last night, and some teaking music. A big improvement on those booze-soaked Manky Boys….. ๐Ÿ˜›

Something reflective for a beautiful winter’s day.

Nana, if you’re out there, you might like this:

Martyn Bennett was a genius. Saw his mum on that programme about Hamish Henderson.

Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Thank you for that video, I loved it. I have to set some time aside to watch the rest.

We have photos of my gran with the creel on her back, she and the other women of the village would walk for miles to bring peats home. These women were so hardworking.
My cousins in Lewis, Canada and NZ have been busy documenting old family photos whilst building an archive. Many photos have turned up which have been a revelation.

I’ve seen some discussion on here regarding family members and war so I thought you might find this interesting in relation to the Great war. For the bbc Alba programme I was contacted for information regarding my grandfather who was a prisoner at HMS Timbertown

link to wereldoorlog1418.nl

Think this is the programme
link to bbc.co.uk

Between my cousins and I, we managed to gather some photos and memorabilia relating to his internment none of which was known to me before. My granddad was a gentle, kind man who would not speak of such things which seems to be the norm amongst servicemen. My father did not speak of his experiences either.

Tinto Chiel

And, BDTT, Michael Marra sounds wonderfully mad and intense in this one:

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

I believe Rev Stu has a filter set up to substitute A-L-B-A. I think he did this because he was fed up of posters adding S-a-o-r A-l-b-a, or worse S-o-a-r A-l-b-a, to the end of comments.

Pity it affects BBC A-l-b-a though.

Smallaxe

BDTT:

Thanks, Brian, I was beginning to think that I’d been hacked, turns out I’m just getting hacked off.

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Glad you liked it, Nana. Martyn was a native speaker of Nova Scotian Gaelic, I believe.

That was an amazing site: I had no idea we had troops interned in the Netherlands in WW1. I’m not clear while the men were starving. Were the Dutch themselves suffering from the effects of the war around them and could do little to help? Perhaps, since the men don’t seem to have had any ill-feeling towards them.

The only good thing is that the internees seem to have avoided the Iolaire disaster.

Your family project sounds fascinating. I hope it comes to fruition and it has a wider audience. I’m sure David Starkey will be along in a minute to make a documentary about it, you know, real people, real history ๐Ÿ˜›

And I note Churchill at the bottom of yet another disaster. Good training for the Dardanelles and the betrayal of the Highland Division in 1940.

Still makes my blood boil. Not good for my health, Nana.

Thanks for all your work with your colleagues on the billboard campaign. The vandalism proves They’re very worried.

Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Here is a photo from the Stornoway gazette, you can see the men growing veg

link to stornowaygazette.co.uk

and the bbc alba documentary is on youtube

Aye you are right, I think the powers that be are worried about the billboard campaign. Good!

carjamtic

Tinto Chiel

Class choice,been re-watching Fritz Lang’s Metropolis dvd,totally stunning,(digitally remastered/restored).

I play my own music and mute the volume on the dvd,Blondie worked suprisingly well:-)

(Seen them at Strathclyde Uni. years ago,pre fame.)

The star of the film is Brigitte Helm as Maria,in today’s climate,it’s relevance/message has never been more obvious….Manky Good ๐Ÿ˜‰

Stoker

Don’t look back in anger

The truth will out

The choices we make

The Abstainers

Stoker

Fair and balanced #2

Fair and balanced

The sounds of silencing

After the watershed

Stoker

The law is what we say it is

Work makes you free

Labour policies finally revealed

Action versus rhetoric

Stoker

A different outlook

Neither Brigadoon nor GERSland

Pity, not hate

There’s no need to be afraid

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Got them, Boss, Thank You,
Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Very pleased that it’s on YouTube, Nana, ‘cos I don’t pay the Vichy Tax and you’re not supposed to watch BBC iPlayer without one now. Personally, I doubt the legality of that latest move, but I don’t want to give them any excuse. Big Ronnie probably knows the rights and wrongs of it.

Will enjoy that BBC Alba documentary tomorrow. Even its football coverage is better than BBC Scotland’s apologetic “Yer crap and you should know it” coverage.

Carjamtic: completely agree about Metropolis. So far ahead of its time it could meet itself coming back. Never more relevant, as you say, as USA and England descend into fascism.

Another favourite of mine is “Seven Days in May”, a much later B&W film, but one about a fascist military takeover of the USA. Burt Lancaster great as the loopy general, Frederic March and Kirk Douglas as the good guys. Probs on YouTube, but the DVD is quite cheap. I think it might have been even better if BL and KD had swapped roles, but what do I know?

Personalised soundtracks are ideal, or, as they’re known in the trade, Off Topic ๐Ÿ˜€

carjamtic

Tinto

Thanks will check it out.

Music…off topic,never.

Smallaxe

Music off topic? Never

Peace Always

๐Ÿ™‚

Tinto Chiel

So sad, so true, carjamtic, but the times…..

carjamtic
Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, carjamtic and other proto-Manky Boys/Girls:

If you have thirty-odd mins, do you remember lying on a bed and listening to this?

Or was it just me?

Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for Rock.

Mott The Hoople, ‘Roll Away The Stone’ –

Smallaxe

Lyrics:

The songs of my ancestors still ricochet through the wind,
And the smoke is rising through the words I and I sing.
Music is my ammunition; I fire down Babylon!

Music is my ammunition; fire down Babylon!

Imprisonment, poverty and Babylon’s system;
We’ve been suffering all this time (all this time)
I and I keep on chanting down ‘Till our children will face
The front of that line

The songs of my ancestors still ricochet through the wind
(through the wind),
Music is my ammunition, lord; I fire down Babylon!

Peace and dignity are not very far out of our reach
It just comes down (just comes down)
to what I and I choose to teach

Truth and honesty will free our hearts
And free our minds (free our minds)
So then our children can live together as one
‘Till the end of time

The songs of my ancestors still ricochet through the wind
(through the wind),

Nuff Love Always

Smallaxe

ENLIGHTENMENT ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

carjamtic
carjamtic

Last One ๐Ÿ˜‰

Smallaxe

Tinto, better tangerine than ORANGE O
Ian, do you think we could roll him away? ๐Ÿ™‚
carjamtic Great video and the song, of course

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

“Tinto, better tangerine than ORANGE O”

Idubitably, Manky Mate.

Haven’t quite recovered from certain late Scottish Cup events in the vicinity of Ibrox this afternoon.

At these times, the Buddha has his attractions.

“I’m all right, I’m all right, I’m all right, really……”

And is there honey still for tea?

And so to bed.

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

๐Ÿ™‚

Enlightenment?

Oh aye. Aye. It could and should happen again, in Scotland, but this time we should both instigate it and keep it close.

I’m no historian, but my take on it is that London sucked away our best thinkers at a time when we needed them here. Not that anyone could blame any individual artist/thinker for leaving Scotland, but the damage had already been done well before then, when ‘oor’ King James decamped to London and took our Makars with him. That was an end to a solid and precious tradition stretching back to the bards/druids etc.

We have this fresh stab at independence, but the cultural infrastructure has been so damaged, for so long, that we will struggle to reclaim or replicate what we once had. That why, for example, I cringe at the current appointment of ‘makars’ by the Scottish Government. Not that the recipients are not worthy of attention, but they’re not emerging from a genuinely independent cultural milieu. That’s what has to change – we must understand the importance of ‘real’ artists and, for want of a better word, ‘shamen’. They do exist, but we’ve lost contact with that respect for indigenous ‘bards’. There’s no telling what our artists are capable of if they not only know, but ‘feel’ they’re working in an independent nation.

I get myself very down about all this, but your reminders of what’s been happening in Afro-American/Caribbean cultures gives solid cause for optimism.

Hoots again to you brother.

PS – So far as Rock goes, I’d happily spend the rest of my life listening to his boring pish if it meant we could just roll Trump away into a big deep hole.

Smallaxe

Three little Birds: SKA version

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Ian B:

Before I retire for the evening, may I offer you some spiritual sustenance re. Trump’n’Rock?

All things must pass, after all.

galamcennalath

Some positive West Coast thinking for a Saturday night ๐Ÿ™‚

link to m.youtube.com

Smallaxe

Ian, my Brother, you make so much sense, I have written before about my time with a Shaman make no mistake they are real. In Jamaica, they call them “OBEA MEN”. They are grounded, they know their roots, that is what is missing with our own Makars, they are lost. I mean no disrespect when I say this about them. The “soul” is corrupted by 300 years of occupation.

For you, my Brother, an old friend of mine who has now passed.

One Love

Fred

Well guys, never post when you’re pished! however, in the Scotia today, absolutely jumping, a street urchin/arsehole shoves the pub door open & shouts, “Theresa May!” in. Still baffled! ๐Ÿ™‚

Thepnr

@galamcennalath

Great tune that I’d never heard, we really need a proper Radio Scotland that promotes our culture. Ach well we’ll jist hift tae wait.

Thepnr

I’ve found what I was looking for. My welcome to Trump as President.

Don’t think he’ll enjoy it LOL. Believe me this is Soooperb. Ta Ian.

Ian Brotherhood

Love to all youse.

Bit pished now, so bedways is bestways.

Leave you with some mellowness.

Fleetwood Mac, ‘Albatross’ –

Smallaxe

Come Together

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Dark Side of the Moon

Us and Them
Peace Always

Smallaxe

You Do Something To Me

Peace Always

Thepnr

@Smallaxe

You’ve nailed it with Us and Them as to how I’m feeling now.

Used to lie on the couch when I’d fell out with the wife and stick on Dark side of the moon. This was my favourite.

She still loves me by the way and me her ๐Ÿ™‚

@Ian

Beginning to sound like a sycophant but great pick with Fleetwood Mac.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

RE: mellow Fleetwood Mac.

I was rather pleased to find this on YouTube 2 or 3 years ago. It’s the original version of the song, before SOMEBODY added the strings to make it more charty-friendly.

I think it works better than the stringy version.

Michael McCabe

Gone in the morning-Newton Faulkner. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Peter Green and the Splinter Group:

Albatross

Peter Green’s troubles since his departure from Fleetwood Mac in the early 70’s are well documented. After a number of years in the wilderness, he returned in the mid 90’s in the guise of the Peter Green Splinter Group and recaptured the magic of his early days. This concert, recorded in England in 2003, is made up of two sets. The first is a pared down acoustic set of predominantly vintage blues finished off by the all-time Fleetwood Mac classic Albatross, one of the most popular instrumentals ever written. The second is a full-on rocking electric set combining blues tracks, Splinter Group originals and other Fleetwood Mac classics.
Peace Always

Smallaxe

Great to see you back Michael ๐Ÿ™‚

Rory

Peace Always

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Not watched yours yet Michael, just away too though. Before that though wanted to say to Brian Doonthetoon “I LOVED THAT SONG” cheers ๐Ÿ™‚

Smallaxe

It must be me ๐Ÿ™

Albatross 1 hour loop

Peace Always

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

That brought a smile to my face, think I will play it again. I said a couple of years ago that you were the “official” Wings DJ I wasn’t wrong. Your choice of music is brilliant Michael.

Thanks buddy.

Michael McCabe

@ Smallaxe I noticed the wee tune you left me 21 jan. 1:56am Cheers my friend. I have not been posting but I still tune in every day to read the main thread. and to listen to all the great music and thoughts on off topic. anyway here is a wee tune for you. Mix up Mix up. link to youtube.com

Thepnr

SNAP!

Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Hi Alex thanks for your kind words. Really looking forward to having a pint with you when you are in Edinburgh Sometime. Hoping you and yours are keeping well. A wee song for you. Passenger- and it Stoned Me. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

A wee love song from Bob Marley. link to youtube.com

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

You will like this, class.

Michael McCabe

Alex that was finger picken great. Cheers. Did I tell you ? I had a Dream. link to youtube.com

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

WOW! That was deep, made me want to weep and it made me smile.

Hey @Smallaxe you will like this, that’s a promise.

Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Mind you Alex after Independence it should be this. link to youtube.com Alex Mind and sing along.

Smallaxe

Tai chi, With music to awaken body and mind

Peace always

Catch you later Michael

Smallaxe

Now I’m Awake:

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Yusuf Islam,

Peace Always

Smallaxe

That dont work! try this

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Now try this!

Peace Always

galamcennalath

Thepnr says:
at 12:07 am

Great tune that Iโ€™d never heard, we really need a proper Radio Scotland that promotes our culture. Ach well weโ€™ll jist hift tae wait.

Radio, yes. TV more so.

BBC Alba do a great job as a national broadcaster. What we need next is a Scots language equivalent!

Thepnr

The original “Dueling Banjos”. Love it, good ringtone for your phone ๐Ÿ™‚

Fred

Superb!

Stoker

Medicine without frontiers

Opening your mouth and removing doubt

Right on cue

The ‘No’ future

Stoker

Human rights: a choice

Why newspapers are dying

And finally…#26

Let’s twist again and again

Stoker

The difference between talking and walking

Desperation takes hold

Right sentence, wrong crime

Tories in red

Stoker

…and Hell followed with him

Richard Baker is a liar

Careless Torc tells lies

The devil you don’t know

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thank you, for all your hard work, It’s very much appreciated.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Peace Always

Stoker

No problem Smallaxe!

No need to thank me all the time. The very fact you and several others have all expressed an interest is motivation enough for me to continue. I tend to back off from praise, must be some psychological thing, but having said that it is always good to see others adding their tuppence worth.

So please don’t take it personally if i don’t respond to any comments you direct at me. Plus, these days i’m pretty much a hit and run poster due to various time sapping tasks and i’m spending less and less time on the btl threads. Can’t be arsed!

Stay safe troops and have a good evening.

CameronB Brodie

Anything that helps focus minds is appreciated, Stoker. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyhoo, here’s something that might interest the educators out there, or anyone who would like to think of “the essence of education as the practice of freedom”. So it’s not for the likes of the BBC then.

PEDAGOGY of the OPPRESSED
link to msu.ac.zw

Tinto Chiel

CameronB: thanks for this.

It’ll probably go woosh over my cranium but I’ll give it a go.

Half-listening to Pravdasound4 on Victor Hugo and Les Miserables. Andrew Marr does his best to acquire an English accent and everyone gets excited that the novel was written on Guernsey.

Almost an English novel, then.

Sheesh!

Fred

Guys The” Federation of the Disco Pimp!” Gaun tae see them @ St Jude’s next week.

Fred
Stoker

The lies of others

Stacking chips for the rainy day

Poor little rich country

A rock and a hard place

Stoker

Always at war with Eastasia

Participative democracy

Who to believe? #2

Who to believe?

Stoker

Quoted for truth #11

Would you like to know more?

You don’t know what you’re doing

GERS between the lines

Stoker

Lagging behind the story

We’ll pay for this

The Nevada-Semipalatinsk Doctrine

A persuasive case

Thepnr

Thought I would ask you to look at this one again. Chic posted this a couple of days ago and I can’t get it out of my mind.

I want you to suffer too as I am ๐Ÿ™‚

Tinto Chiel

That song terrified me when I was 11, Thepnr, along with Zager and Evans “In the year…..” It has a similar effect today, along with a more adult feeling of general depression.

This one makes me angry and disgusted with the mad war-mongers who ensure the world-wide arms industry makes fortunes out of human misery.

Thepnr

Well cheers Tinto. Now I have new pictures of pain to replace the old pictures I couldn’t get rid of. I need a distraction, something to make me smile.

Thepnr

And 40 years later an excellent performance. Plus a slagging of Jeremy Clarkson which never goes amiss.

Tinto Chiel

Yes, sorry about that. Hey, Chic started it!

I liked the version when Steve sang in his gran’s fur coat.

Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

I went to see Steve Harley at Edinburgh’s Queens Hall in 2010. A great venue as you sit at your table with a pint if you like while watching the show.

He was on stage for at least an hour and a half and was brilliant, it was hard to believe that he was 60 years old. I know this is three in a row but so what. Here is SH playing in his grans fur coat.

Tinto Chiel

Yep, that’s the one, although my memory deceived me, it’s just a fur collar.

Glad to see he’s still rockin’.

Previous reply disappeared into the ether.

Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

No your right! He did play that song once in a full fur coat, I could probably find it but I’ll spare us all of having a fourth version of the tune lol. Maybe another day.

CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
Do you think it wasn’t a struggle for me just getting past the Foreword? Cheers mate, hope you find the effort worthwhile. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Tinto Chiel

Cameron, I’m actually reading it in bed while Mrs TC is downstairs watching Gray’s Lobotomy. Saved Fiere to my faves. How many bloody series does GL have?

If I survive the night I may issue a bulletin in the morning…..

๐Ÿ˜›

So my Steve Harley fur coat wasn’t imaginary? That’s a relief. Not quite softening of the brain yet, Thepnr. Harvey my giant rabbit’s enjoying this literary theory…

Still Positive.

Ian Brotherhood: thoroughly enjoyed the crossword in The National today – very clever and amusing in parts.

Thepnr

Theresa May and the Tories speak out on Brexit

Ian Brotherhood

@Still Positive –

Very kind, thank you. I aim to please!

Nana

@Smallaxe

Missed you the last couple of days. Hoping you are well.

yesindyref2

I’ve been accused by a poster in the Herald of “hamming it up”.

As if ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Stoker

WOS Archive links for March 2013

Respecting the electorate, Unionist-style

Different reasoning, same conclusion

The shifting sands of thin ice

The nest of lies

Stoker

The magnifying glass

How times change

Glass half full, glass half empty

The stability of chaos

Stoker

Truth and lies (not in that order)

Manufacturing concern

The cliff edge

Our English correspondent writes

Brian Doonthetoon

Just going back to the Fleetwood Mac mentions of a couple of days ago.

I saw them in the Caird Hall in 1969, on their “Farewell Tour”. Me and my cousin had front row seats, because the John Dummer Band had been advertised as the support band and we liked them, having seen them at The New Dines at Dundee Uni the year before.

I believe the JD Band had one of their many break-ups and reformings just before the start of the tour and the support slot was taken by another band – can’t remember who it was.

Onnyhoo…
Fleetwood Mac, for one of their encores, did a cracker of a song. It started off really slowly, with the chords and arpeggios of “La Bamba”, building up over a couple of minutes into “Twist And Shout”. ‘Twas good…

BTW: because we were in the front row, we could see the piano but not who was playing it. Turned out it was Jeremy Spencer and, because he was a shortarse, from the angle of the front row, we couldn’t see him until he came out from behind the piano, to play a guitar, which dwarfed him.

A marvellous gig.

And, believe it or not, I just did a search on Youtube and found a live version of “Twist and Shout”. Not as good as the one in my memory but, hey, can one trust one’s memory as the years advance?

Thepnr

Great story BDTT.

Liz g

Still no Smallaxe….Hmm

Hope everything is okay with you, some sanity needed on Wings,you better have a good excuse for being AWOL.

Seriously though stay well my friend and check in to say Hi when you can. X

Cactus

Not too lang tae go now..

Independence imminent.

Meg merrilees

Liz g, Nana

No comments from Smallaxe since 6.45pm on 22nd!

Hope all is well and that you will be back ‘posting’ soon.

Take care and stay warm.

Paula Rose

Just one of those moments…

Paula Rose
Paula Rose

So true Darlings…

Paula Rose

No words necessary…

Paula Rose
Paula Rose

Disturb me not…

Liz g

Meg Merrilees @ 1.39 & Nana.

RE. Smallaxe I,do remember that he said something about using his time prioritising his grandson.
So hopefully it’s just family stuff keepin him busy…..

Which if you read this Smallaxe is indeed a good excuse for being AWOL….The best one in fact
Stay well my friend X

Nana

@Liz g

I know Smallaxe was having some internet connection problems.

As you say Liz, perhaps he is just taking some time out.

Liz g

Nana @ 7.31
Hi Nana we can stop worrying…. Smallaxe was on line else where lasts night..And he specifically asked that you were told he was ok.
Canny mind who he was chatting to and they’re probably still in bed.
But he was definitely ok enough to be,by the sounds of it, up to something.. LOL..

Nana

@Liz g

Mmmm, now what could he be up to I wonder. Maybe its best we don’t know, lol

I must say I miss him when he doesn’t put the kettle on in the morning!

Good to know he is ok and thanks Liz for passing on the message.

Liz g

Nana @ 10.33

Nae bother Nana.. I just hope I hiv no compromised Border Security.
LOL..

Tinto Chiel

Good news for music lovers and those with a refined sense of humour: the builders have sliced through my phone line so I have no home internet connection. Writing this in a vile cybernat cafe.

Spent a night wondering what Wingers were saying about the judges.

I feel better now…..

K1

The haggis by the bush is by post box at the corner. Please feed the haggis Smallaxe. Over and out. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Andrew McLean

K1 & Small Axe,
you two panning for gold?

meg merrilees

Liz g. Nana

Thanks for the update re Smallaxe.

Good to know all is well though I’m suspicious now. Could he be carrying out a border tally for more accurate Scottish/English export stats.

Liz g

Meg Merrilees @ 3.45
You’re welcome Meg, I just happened to see his name crop up as posting at stupid o’clock and ….Well ….. Peeked!

Haven’t got a clue what he is up to but now that you are saying about “border reconnaissance” I am half wondering if he is now our international man of mystery????

I suppose we will know if he changes his call sign from…
# Peace Always to # The name’s Smallaxe B Smallaxe.

Stoker

WOS Archives for April 2013

Official: Britain is unsaveable

The hidden cost of the Union

Ashdown rescued from crash

A shocking accusation

Stoker

A surprising result

Telling half the story

Quoted for truth #14

Briefings abroad

Stoker

Deadpan sarcasm of the day

Have we got friends for you

The Battle Of Osborne’s Nose

Fear over pension fearbomb feared

Stoker

Counting with Unionists

There goes the fear

The clear blue waters of the Clyde

Forbidden fruit

Meg merrilees

Liz g. Ach! mibbe he’s just been oot catching haggis!

Liz g

Meg Merrilees @ 8.20
Well if that’s his story Meg, I suppose we will just have to believe him…To obliged him Eh?
But if Mrs Smallaxe shows up and starts asking why on earth he want a vodka Martini and shaken forby!!!!
We will need to have a rethink.

Mchael McCabe

Mornin Time. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Morning Time link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Different Singer Different Song. Morning Time link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

@ Smallaxe A wee song for you until you return. Haste ye back as I miss your Music. link to youtube.com

Scott

Is this what our Foreign aid is supposed to be for.

link to on.rt.com

Scott

Tried posting this before is this what our Foreign aid is meant to do.

link to on.rt.com

Stoker

Scott (9:13am & 9:20am)

Good find Scott! Coming from a military family i was aware of this but it’s not exactly uppermost in my daily thoughts. Well done and thanks for alerting the wider independence movement.

Stoker

How’s that working out for you?

Are you ready to be heartbroken?

A definitive position

From the cradle to the grave

Stoker

Recycle, repackage, repeat

A simple guide

Odd comrade out

Physician, heal thyself

Stoker

Exit, pursued by a bear

You’ll have had your tea

The deconstructed Lamont

Unsteady Eddie

Stoker

Smile and the world smiles with you

Pup for sale (very ill)

The Two-Heided Man

Crash point zero

Cactus

Aweright K1 ~

To find a specific Wingers comment, what you got to do is this:

Press yer (Ctrl) key with the letter ‘F‘ to find the name via a drop-down box, which will be displayed at the top RHS of your screen.

Aweright Smallaxe, cheers to both you and K1, panners of gold ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s to the QT on the OT!

Nana

Hi all,

Does anyone know if scrolling advertising ‘thingies’ can be adapted to show short videos.

Scrolling ad trailers

Stoker

You can’t make this stuff up

A business transaction

Unemployment disaster for Scotland

Mrs Thatcher’s other funeral

Stoker

A new flag for Scotland

Volatility and stability

Teaching sleeping dogs dirty tricks

A reader writes

Stoker

Distraction strategies

Foreign affairs

Letters from the Editor

Quoted for truth #13

Stoker

And finally…#31

Through the looking glass

The myth of multilateralism

Everybody’s friend

Stoker

Don’t stand so close to me

Way down deep in the middle of the Congo

Scraping the barrel

Binoculars on backwards

Paula Rose

Wings meet-up Aberdeen 17th or 18th of March?

Cactus

AYE.
X.

Meg merrilees

Wonder if Smallaxe is building a new border wall himself?

Hope all well.

Cactus

Pretty heated on the main thread tonight..

Time to throw a new log on the off topic fire..

Slow burn.

Cheers.

yesindyref2

To shed some light on the main topic of interest, and give my serious opinion on the whole shebang, I have elucidated at length to produce my own esoteric heap wordy lyricising of the state of play and instead found this.

I

The Owl and the Pussy-cat went to sea
In a beautiful pea green boat,
They took some honey, and plenty of money,
Wrapped up in a five pound note.
The Owl looked up to the stars above,
And sang to a small guitar,
‘O lovely Pussy! O Pussy my love,
What a beautiful Pussy you are,
You are,
You are!
What a beautiful Pussy you are!’

II

Pussy said to the Owl, ‘You elegant fowl!
How charmingly sweet you sing!
O let us be married! too long we have tarried:
But what shall we do for a ring?’
They sailed away, for a year and a day,
To the land where the Bong-tree grows
And there in a wood a Piggy-wig stood
With a ring at the end of his nose,
His nose,
His nose,
With a ring at the end of his nose.

III

‘Dear pig, are you willing to sell for one shilling
Your ring?’ Said the Piggy, ‘I will.’
So they took it away, and were married next day
By the Turkey who lives on the hill.
They dined on mince, and slices of quince,
Which they ate with a runcible spoon;
And hand in hand, on the edge of the sand,
They danced by the light of the moon,
The moon,
The moon,
They danced by the light of the moon.

I hope this helps to resolve some of the confusion.

yesindyref2

Quote of the week from the main thread, had me p’ing myself laughing, I’m just back:

Aye you fucking well do

carjamtic

I need some Indy Face Book pages to follow,like,share etc.

Nothing too mental,the fake news brigade are out in force and I only have one pair of hands ๐Ÿ˜‰

(Edited clips of the buffalo rider ‘giving it to’ FM at FMQT is the latest doing the rounds,of course we don’t get to see FM’s reply,stage managed performance or what,all for the benefit of social media)

#rollingupsleeves

carjamtic

Paula Rose @ 7:36

Aberdeen

๐Ÿ™‚

Quentin Quale

Paula – Yes to an Aberdeen meet-up.

In the light of the state of the US, probably a good time to play this

Stoker

Lucky you’ve got a safety net

You’re making me dizzy

Closing down debate

On National Collective

Stoker

Quoted for truth #12

Sick of it all

George Square Thatcher Death Party

Just for the record

Stoker

Cost-of-the-Union update

Maths on acid

Odd nation out

We’re not sad

Stoker

Wait, what?

Time for reflection

Fortify the Cheviots

Just checking

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

RE: proposed Aberdeen get-together on 18th March weekend. I know that I can’t do it, because I have a family wedding on the 18th, outwith Dundee.

Also, Pete is still in hospital but is hoping to be out so he can attend the BBC Bias demo on 26th March. Is the 18th not a tad close to the following week’s event?

There’s a march/rally being organised for 29th April in Glasgow. How about a Wings get-together after that event? We could take over the usual corner in The Counting House…
Or our table in The YES Bar…

Thepnr

I’m up for any meet up as long as I can make it. My work is sporadic and not 5 days a week so I never know. Anyway it’s good that we keep these going, they don’t have to be big though I like them to be visible.

Come Indy2 I can see Ian B’s idea of a regular place being available and being visited.

Keep up the good work all. We tune mibbe appropriate and welcome back to the main thread Smallaxe.

Marie Clark

Hi Guys & Gals,

I’m getting a bit pissed off with the main thread at the moment, but, hey ho, when there ain’t much in the news? that’s what happens. Not much to comment about, “REALLY” Trump, being a first class trumpet, and May being a first class are licker, if you’ll pardon my french. The trolls being their usual shit spewing selfs, and folks biting. Sigh.

Onyways. welcome back smallaxe to the main thread, I thocht we micht hiv tae send oot a search party fur ye. Pleased tae see that you’re a’ richt.

Peace and sanity tae all. Boy are the yoons realy, really, rattled, or we widnae be getin as much incoming shit as we are. Tin hats on boys, it’s aboot tae get a whole lot worse. But, dae ye know whit, I think we will win this fight. Keep gon folks.

yesindyref2

@Stoker
The 77th haven’t got a monopoly on PsyOps. Fight fire with fire.

Or a big hose!

yesindyref2

@Marie Clark
Thread Creep. The longer it goes on, the more off-topic it gets, and once you get into off-topic stuff, the flames get higher and higher. I quickly found one slighly irrelevant description, there would be better:

link to forum.unity3d.com

Answer would be to have more articles, but that could dimimish the index of Wings – it’s a balance for a blog I guess.

Marie Clark

Aye I ken yesindeyref2, but it sometimes just dis yer heid in.

I think the folks that take on the trolls, and I know sometimes they feel it’s for the best of reasons, I understand that. But, they do what the trolls want in the first place, which is to derail the main thread. It’s a real pain in the bahookey for me.
That’s why It’s nicer off topic.

I mean. I come hear and Tinto Cheil plays one of my favourite tracks. Smallaxe is great with his thoughts and his music. It makes me chill and have a laugh.

The main fight is yet to come, and I think at the moment, I’m just in training, for knocking doors an leafleting and things.

Vive le revelution an a’that. As smallaxe would say PEACE to all.

Thepnr

@Marie Clark

I have a theory and it’s that the Rev does this deliberately every now and again. Well he sees the way a thread is going and allows it to run it’s course.

It’s self cleansing and has happened many times, maybe it’s a good way of healing old wounds and people come back stronger. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a good night.

Brian Doonthetoon

I’ll throw in one of my infrequent music videos here, while I’m waiting for my samosas, pakoras and bahjis to get active in the oven.

I remember this from Christmas/New Year 1963 (1964?) and being well impressed with the change that had taken place in the British music scene in the space of three years.

Just three years before…

yesindyref2

@Thepnr
Could be. He doesn’t moderate it, which means it has to be self-moderating – just like the old wild west of unmoderated UseNet was. A group that didn’t do that, died.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

I think you could be on to something there, re: the Rev’s wicked sense of humour.

I’ve noticed, in the past, but particularly since Hogmanay, that he allows pages to flip over to the >500 page, where things tend to “gang aft agley”. Yi ken whuh eh mean, iye?

I bet he’s doing it on purpose…

8=)

yesindyref2

Yeah, muzack:

Hope you’re getting video, I’m not.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

Videos fine on my leedle Mac. Must be your windoze machine complaining. So,

yesindyref2

BDTT
I can see that, and the others you posted, not the ones I did. Different format I guess.

Mmm, ahhh, it’s because I have ABP – I had to disable it on youtube. Can’t blame them I guess! Mmm, for an old favourite of mine full screen.

Thepnr

@BDTT

That Eurovision clip was a belter, good Feryy ones from you and yesindyref2 as well.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

What’s “ABP”?

Onnyhoo… my last offering tonight before I go bedwise. I was introduced to the “Tartan Techno” album when I DJ’d a 14th birthday birthday party yonks ago. This track was the most asked for.

The video is one that I have shown at our Wings Invergowrie get-togethers. An appropriate song for the times we find ourselves in.

Michael McCabe

Anybody fancy a Revolution ? link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Hi, Michael and all.

Only home for a short rest, more to do then I’ll be back ASAP.

Peace and Love to ALL

Liz g

Stay well Smallaxe and don’t forget we want details of these mysterious jaunts!!!???….Love to Mrs Smallaxe. X

yesindyref2

@BDTT
AdBlockPlus. Firefox add-on. Makes the likes of the Herald a lot quicker ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s really Ferry good.

Smallaxe

liz g:

Ask no questions and you’ll be told no lies.Everything will be alright in the end if it’s not alright then it’s not the end!

Peace Always x

Michael McCabe

Hi Smallaxe good to see you back. This place seemed kind of link to youtube.com without you.

Smallaxe

Only back for a short time, Michael.I’ll see you when I get back my Friend.

It’s been,

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Ok Smallaxe see you when you get back. Until then link to youtube.com

Fred

Smallaxe, my manky friend, all will be well!

yesindyref2

In honour of Pete on the main thread, bless.

Stoker

A nationalist hero

All in something together

One happy family

The myth of difference

Stoker

The whole of the law

The Nuclear Deterrence FAQ

Wowing a crowd

Bombs not benefits

Stoker

From a player of games

Hurrah for the Secretary of State!

Girn, girn, girn

One thousand up

Stoker

The sincerest form of flattery

Vote ‘Yes’ for global rape

Hate to say we told you so

A warning in the mail

Stoker

WOS Archives for May 2013

‘Cybernat’ is a loser’s word

Another Freudian slip

The triple standard

Stoker

Fair warning

Introducing…the Union Jocks

Foreigner Watch

Stoker

I was in Labour, but i didn’t inhale

Without frontiers

Borderline madness

Stoker

One year on

Word and picture association

News from the UK

Stoker

Crossing the borders

Half-full vs half-empty

A good day to bury bad news

Tinto Chiel

Hey, Smallaxe, you’re such a tease! I bet you’re down Ronnie Scott’s listening to the good vibes.

Or mebbes out doing guard duty?

No internet ben the hoose the noo but I recommend YouTube and On the Border by Al Stewart.

Love to all.

Michael McCabe

Sorry this is a lot later than your post Tinto. link to youtube.com

Chick McGregor

Scots lassie, great voice, amazing control, pitch perfect, dignity, feeling the lot.

Michael McCabe

And all that Jazz ? link to youtube.com

Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Michael. That’s the one.

Having to use the 3G on my phone at the moment.

Marie Clark

Chic McGregor @12.55 wow, just wow. I ken the tune fine, but I’ve never heard it sung until now.

What a voice. Fair maks the hair oan the back o’ yer neck staun up.

Thanks for that Chic, just beautiful.

Fred

@ Chick, chust sublime kid!

Stoker

Education, education, education

100% of nothing

Knockout stages extended

Stoker

While we’re on the subject

Coincidental mistakes

Is it even worth bothering?

Stoker

Quoted for truth #16

It’s not just us, then?

Cake neither had nor eaten

Stoker

Lies then and lies now

Brit Nat Down

Dispatches from foreign lands

Stoker

Cat declawed

UKIP: MEDIA BLACKOUT CONTINUES

Just wondering

yesindyref2

Sheesh I wish Mason would restrict his use of twitter to announcements and “I visited X today”. More bloody stories in the unionist press on the way I expect. Some people need a minder.

yesindyref2

Bad enough with Williamson swallowing the unionist bait in the SH, hook line and sinker – and still going on about it. Divistions divisions divisions anyone would think he’s the HoC.

Michael McCabe

Hopefully soon though. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

That Boy needs Therapy link to youtube.com

Stoker

Czechs in the post

Conflicting opinions

Scottish hospitality enjoyed

Stoker

Low-information voter of the day

The same old songs

Labour devolution plans explained

Stoker

Dog-whistle causes dog bite

Move over, Darling

Labour’s super-fun happy day

Stoker

Quoted for truth #15

Strike a Poe’s

Bad-karma chameleon

Stoker

Full marks for persistence

Call the fire brigade

Let’s be careful out there

twathater

Saw an article earlier on beeb news about guy Geoff Ellis walking about Glasgow Green as if he were the Laird o Glasgow, pointing out that he was running a music festival there in the summer and getting a free advert from the state broadcaster naming all the bands.

This is the same guy?? who runs T in the Park in Strathallan who told everybody that T was taking a break for a year , all of a sudden he’s rested and back to the day job.

He said that Strathallan had too many expenses eg police and security , and that the LA were imposing too many restrictions making it problematic.
This is the same guy and company who were given ยฃ150,000 by Fiona Hyslop to help with the expense of moving and then decides to cancel the 3rd 2017 festival

WTF is going on, is this guy running a massive con on Scotland . Is big Frankie helping out wi the arrangements to fraternize wi the hoi palloy.

This guy is running a for profit business, he shouldn’t be given ANY financial assistance unless we get share of the profits
I know that these festivals can bring massive amounts of money and goodwill via tourism and suchlike , but i am sure the SG government have someone within their ranks who have the ability to organise these events and keep the money and goodwill within the community

Michael McCabe

This is a main thread Song. link to youtube.com Bring it on.

Smallaxe

Which side are You on!

Peace, Love and Solidarity in the YES movement.

Stoker

A plague on all your houses

Why so worried?

Don’t say you weren’t warned

Stoker

Standing up for your own side

As night follows day

Various occurrences

Stoker

Who hates you, baby?

And i would ask 500 more

The problem with positivity

Stoker

Getting the message across

Let’s play pretend

Eight green bottles

Stoker

What’s the point of satire?

An orgy of self-flagellation

Auntie Tam

Dave McEwan Hill

Tomorrow is the 58th Anniversary of the death in a plane crash at Clear lake, Iowa of Buddy Holly (and two other pop stars and the pilot).
My “Not Fade Away” show on Argyll Independent Radio (8pm – 9 9pm) will feature an hour of interesting covers of some of Buddy Holly’s hits. Could have been two or three hours actually.

tunein.com/radio/Argyll-Independent-Radio
or
http://www.argyllradio.co.uk

Meg merrilees

twathater@9.23pm

i know quite a few of the tech guys that are involved in these big outdoor festivals, from the backstage side of things. They work around the whole UK and abroad on all the big music festivals and tours. Don’t speak highly of T in the Park in Strathallan. They said it was a nightmare site because corners were cut, safety was compromised, not well planned etc..

Don’t forget, this is a festival where a hole-in-the-wall cash machine was stolen on the first night; there has been a death and rape and a complete lack of strategy to efficiently transport the people around the site before and after the gig.

I wonder how it will go in Glasgow – will there be more scrutiny from Environmental health and HSE?

And when will the company pay back the unused third – i.e. ยฃ50,000 of the money he received from the Scottish Government?

Fred

Young Glasgow band “Fat Suit!” played St Luke’s last night. Superb.

Smallaxe

โ€œIn a democracy, the poor will have more power than the rich, because there are more of them, and the will of the majority is supreme. –Aristotleโ€

Peace Always

Stoker

Small is beautiful

Health and safety bulletin

The hired help

Stoker

Well, that didn’t take long

You Couldn’t Make It Up Dept

Why Labour are to blame for UKIP

Stoker

Ramping it up

All the answers

The plot weirdens

Stoker

The memory hole

Could they be related?

Minding Your Own Business Dept

Stoker

The not-so-smart money

The phantom menace

Tinto Chiel

Thanks again, Stoker.

Bad news for all you vile cyber seps: my internet is restored.

Stuck in painting all day, but this came on my radio in the morning and cheered me up:

Tinto Chiel

And for no apparent reason, this came into my head:

Independence; are we nearly there yet?

Stoker

No problem TC.

A wee laugh….
link to adamswalk.com

Smallaxe

Peace Always

Stoker

A beautiful Scottish winter poem
comment image

WARNING: Sweary word.

Stoker

link to archive.is

Goodnight troops!

Michael McCabe

Thought of you. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Giving up the fight:

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Nobody wins:

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Stuck inside a cloud:

Peace Always

Brian Doonthetoon

I am always humbled after spending 20-25 minutes putting together a comment, checking out links and so on, to find that I have SO hit the nail on the head that other Wingers are sitting back at their keyboards, dumfoonirt at my eloquence at my providing the answer to life, the universe and everything, rendering their typing fingers numb.

It’s not too often I comment on the main pages, usually limiting myself to passing on advice or info but, twice, tonight and last night, I THOUGHT I had added to to the discussion, possibly taking the ongoing discussion in another direction, thus expected maybe one or two follow-up comments from other Wingers.

Nope. not a sausage. Possibly, the first paragraph of this comment contains the answer to my consternation. If anyone wants to read what I typed, you can find them at the links below.

From the “Bringing It On” page:-

From the “What Fake News Looks Like” page:-

I must type that Robert J. Sutherland did reply to the “One Show” remark in that second comment but I don’t really think he checked out the links in the main part of the comment. To me, there was more meat there, meriting further discussion.

I suppose my habit of reading EVERY comment before I add in my tuppence worth could add to my consternation. So often I see someone making a point or asking a question and they manage to garner multiple repetitions from half a dozen Wingers, all giving the same answer. What makes those comments so inspirational that peeps immediately disregard all the subsequent comments to go straight to the comment box?

Maybe I should stick to ‘off-topic’, offering links to emotional, insightful videos, like this one, what reminds me of the original vinyl album, what I bought in the 70s and still possess in my vinyl archive roomie.

Now, I am off to partake of a nosebag, then Bedfordshire.

Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

I worked in Mobile Alabama about 10 years ago and have some good and some bad memories. We started work early in the shipyard each day at 07:00 so were always down for breakfast in the hotel around 06:00 and it would be dark outside.

Across the road from the hotel breakfast room was one of those white painted churches you must have seen in films about the deep South. Anyway as we sat eating breakfast you would see people start to gather on the steps of the church.

This was at 6 in the morning, these were the homeless who slept on the streets of Alabama. They were almost exclusively black people who had come to be fed as they would be given a breakfast for free at 07:00 by volunteers. It was a sorry sight.

The other thing I most remember was a guy that worked for us doing odd jobs and driving, a huge black guy who had spent time in prison, apparently he had been caught with a machine gum in his car boot and that was why he was jailed!! While working for us he had charge of the minibus that he used to take us to work, he stole it or sort of. He went missing for days with it, no charges were brought but that’s another story lol.

His story though was of Hurricane Katrina that hit New Orleans in 2005 about a year before we were there and was a cracker. He described how the winds were roaring down his street, he got his family and put them all in the cupboard under the stairs.

He could hear the tiles being ripped from the roof and trees were flying down the street. He thought about escape and getting out of the house, would it be possible?

With great effort he opened the front door only to witness mayhem in front of him. Then he spotted a squirrel clinging to a tree outside his door, nails deeply embedded in it’s trunk and it’s tail horizontal.

He screamed at the squirrel “HANG IN THERE LITTLE FELLA. HANG IN THERE. JESUS WILL SAVE YOU.”

He meant it and this is all true. He and his family survived, no one knows how the squirrel done.

Thepnr

@BDTT

I read your posts mate and there always a good contribution to the debate. Never mind what others think I love your input.

That Derek and Clive clip you just put up was class. I was at Newmarket races once and this geezer when I asked for a light says you Scotch…

Smallaxe

BDTT:

It happens to us all Brian, it can be hurtful I know, you post what you think is relevant and interesting and nobody seems to notice.

Keep posting my friend, I for one read all comments but by the time I get an answer ready the thread has moved on, so I don’t post.

Peace Always to you, my Friend

Smallaxe

Thepnr:

Peace Always

Smallaxe

George Orwell. Spoof! but truth

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

This is a lovely wee song-Marshmallow Unicorn link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Part of the Process. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Nice one Michael

More Unicorns: ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

Stoker

Brian Doonthetoon on 4 February, 2017 at 1:50 am:
Jeezo, Brian, where to start, where to start?

I speed read both those comments you link to when you originally posted them, as i always do with ALL your comments and if your comments are of interest to me i’ll go back and read it/them again before moving on.

The only criticisms (if you can call it criticism) i would make of some of your comments is that sometimes they are too long winded for my attention span and/or they’re way beyond anything of interest to me or within my field of knowledge.

However, having said that, see if this makes up for that. As you know i’ve been trawling the WOS Archives for valuable articles to keep for my self and i’ve been giving others the opperchancity to do likewise.

For PC capacity reasons etc i don’t want the btl threads which follow the articles, even though i agree with K1’s thinking that a lot of good info can be gained from said threads, but most of them are usually irrelevant to the preceding article.

My way around this little problem was to set up my own wee library collection of quality comments/references from btl commenters. My library will consist of several A5-size hardback books and the qualifying criteria/standard for getting into one of my wee books is set very high, not just any old guff.

You, Brian, hold the heady position of being the first Winger to start that library off with your comment on the Courier/SNHS back in January on the “If i am right and you are sinful” thread.

So don’t beat yourself up about it, f@”k, i get ignored all the time but i honestly don’t give a monkey’s. It’s an open blog and those reading it can see what’s going on. Plus, i tend to take Auld Boabs approach to posting comments and post them for the wider reading audience who don’t post.

So cheer up dear fellow and keep the info coming on the appropriate threads, especially your thoughts etc on SNHS articles, they are very much appreciated and needed.
๐Ÿ˜‰

Tinto Chiel

Thepnr: I’ve never been to the South myself but a good friend drove coast to coast in a camper van and spent quite a lot of time down there. He said it was a strange mixture of great kindness from ordinary folks and frightening racism, with Confederate flags very common. I’m going to the West Coast in May for a Significant Birthday but confess I’m feeling a bit nervous about visiting The States now they’ve been Trumped. Only been to NYC for a short time previously.

BDTT: your posts are always thoughtful but just because people don’t comment doesn’t mean they don’t read your comments. Like you I always read the thread before commenting and so rarely say anything myself on the MT since someone has usually already said what I was going to say, only better.

And some people don’t read longer posts or follow up links, as Stoker said.

The site would be diminished without your thoughtful, eclectic stuff. I often find O/T more relaxing and interesting than The Other Place, since 77th Brigade rarely drop in behind the Green Door to stir things, and I like it that way: saves me immediately scrolling past the usual suspects.

Mair poo’r tae yer elbuck

Nana

@Smallaxe

You have maybe been overdoing things lately Billy. Take it easy and stay well xx

Smallaxe

Nana:

Health not good at all but I don’t want everyone asking about me. Keep them on the more important things. Thank you for your Friendship. Hope to be back ASAP.

Peace and Love Always

Billy xxx

Nana

@Smallaxe

I thought as much Billy, just know we will still be here getting on with the fight.

Give my best to Mrs Smallaxe and you rest well xx

Smallaxe

Will do Nana, Thank you.

Peace Always xxx

Chick McGregor

BDTT

Must confess, because I usually just get time at the end of the day, I tend to use the down arrow to get to the bottom and then just scroll up a few messages. Consequently I miss a lot.

However, probably due to hastily written and therefore frequently not very well constructed posts, I hardly ever get a response myself.

Stoker

Listening to some mooozac whilst working on a wee project and thought i’d share some tunes with the troops.

The Trashmen – Surfin’ Bird

NAW, it’s goat nuffin tae dae wae yon bint on the BBC.

Stoker

Tamiko – Rhapsody

Stoker

The Dave Clark Five – Red Balloon

The Dave Clark Five – I Like It Like That

The Dave Clark Five – Good Old Rock ‘N’ Roll

Tinto Chiel

Wow, Stoker! That was LOUD! My ears are still recovering…..

Heard this coming back from the fitba’ and thought it suitable advice for us all between now and Independence Day.

Btw, I saw George ForFoulkesSake at close quarters today *shudders* and reckon you could wring a couple of haufs out of his hooter.

Not a pretty sight.

Tinto Chiel

I meant The Trashmen. Sinuses now clear ๐Ÿ˜›

Stoker

The Tremeloes – Suddenly Winter

The Tremeloes – My Little Lady

Stoker

OK, TC, here’s a wee change of pace jist furr you ๐Ÿ™‚

Luke Bryan – All My Friends Say

Absolutely magically brilliant tune….

Stoker

ABBA – Ring Ring

๐Ÿ˜€

Tinto Chiel

After that rugby match, Stoker, I’m in a darkened room trying to find my way back to emotional equilibrium.

Plainchant rules.

Stoker

WOS Archives for June 2013

A sure thing?

This is how you lie

Fearmongering in the gloaming

Stoker

Tartan elephant ignored in the room

Shuffling the dreck

Quoted for stupid

Stoker

The unhappy few

Negative recollection

Why austerity is forever

Stoker

Three little words

Quoted for truth #20

The Scottish statesman

Stoker

New world records

The Not-So-England Club

In case you haven’t seen this yet

Stoker

TC, your link at 5:05pm isn’t working.

Tinto Chiel

Just as well, perhaps. I’ve noticed that quite often after a link is put on here, YouTube seems to disable it. That link worked for me once it appeared on here but seems to have been “unavailable” soon after.

Let’s try another:

Now I’ve got my broadband mojo back, I’m off to watch Nana’s HMS Timbertown on my Apple TV box.

Smallaxe: no border patrols for a while. Take a break!

Brian Doonthetoon

RE: my post of last night.

Thanks for your comments. I needed a wee rant…

Re my second link,

“Global Warming” is the media’s term of choice. However, I would point this out…

There have been 25 ice ages in the past 2 and a half million years. Each period has lasted around 100,000 years, made up of around 90,000 years of glaciation and around 10,000 years of ‘interglacial’. The last ice age ended around 11,500 years ago – that’s how long we have been in this particular interglacial period.

Proven by ice cores and ocean bed cores, at the end of previous interglacials, the CO2 level in the atmosphere was around 310 parts per million. We’re now sitting at around 380ppm.

The switch from interglacial to glaciation usually took place over around 50 years. The years of switch over were accompanied by increased volcanic/tectonic activity and what could be termed ‘weird weather’ – unexpected snowfalls, hurricanes, and so on.

I’ll stop here. I’ll just point out that if the average global temperature keeps rising, more ice from the polar caps will melt. In the northern hemisphere, if all that fresh water from melting ice is dumped into the far north Atlantic, the Atlantic Conveyor (including the Gulf Stream) will grind to a halt.

We, in the British Isles, will lose its warming effect. Our climate will become similar to other areas at the same latitude, like southern Greenland and Hudson Bay, ie we’ll be in the next ice age.

If you want further reading, try this book, which is available for download as a pdf, so you can read it at your leisure.

link to prudentplacesusa.com

Brian Doonthetoon

And here’s a wee video for yooz. My son flagged it up to me. Not music but I found it rather good… “The Gunfighter”.

carjamtic
Dave McEwan Hill

It came to me in a dream. The solution. Explosive suppositories. Programmed to go off to identified voices. First contaminate the food of Tory and Labour members in the cafeteria at Holyrood. Then proscribe these suppositories to them. Kezia gets up at FMQ and starts squeaking . Poof! Off goes James Kelly. Pop! Off goes Iain Gray. Nicola turns to Ruthie. Ruthie growls. Bang! Off goes Murdo Fraser. Whump! Away goes Tompkins. Do you think we could get this together?

K1

I think that perfectly describes what they all do week in week oot Dave…running aff at their mooth’s is pretty much aw ah hear whenever any of them opens their gub’s.

(Anyway, think o’ the smell in the chamber? Dae wi really want oor lot suffering their excrement ‘and’ the ‘added’ smell o’ it besides? ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Tinto Chiel

I’m old enough to remember Tomorrow’s World in the late 60s, when James Burke et al. used to bang on about an imminent new Ice Age. Those of us who lived in East Kilbride at the time were unfazed by this prediction, of course.

As BDTT says, a likely effect of any GW is the diverting or stopping of the Atlantic Conveyor, which would give us Moscow-style winters.

Looks like it’s going to be cold in an independent Scotland.

In any case, I like snow-shoes.

Stoker

TC,

How did you enjoy HMS Timbertown? Very interesting isn’t it?
I seen it several weeks ago and up to that point i was never
aware of that wee bit of history and i’ve done quite a bit of
family history research.

Also enjoyed your wee history discussions with Smallaxe & Co
because a section of my research was in and around Glasgow –
Gorbals, Govanhill, the Belvidere Hospital and the asylum etc.

I keep promising myself that i’ll get back into it because i
really enjoy doing it and i’ve got many other lines still to
be researched and completed, but i also keep telling myself
that it can wait, that the fight for independence is much more
important.

I guess there’s no point to family history if we don’t shape it.

Betty Boop

@ Dave McEwan Hill

Your dream certainly conjures up a “delightful” vision, but, who needs explosive suppositories for Murdo Fraser when we have a not so secret weapon in Ivan McKee?

link to munguin.wordpress.com

Stoker

Trained spotting

Another leak from No HQ

You and whose army?

Stoker

The option that just won’t die

Subtlety gauge miscalibrated again

The story of Project Fear

Stoker

Happy Independence Day

Wanted: politics nerd

Trimming the fat

Stoker

Limited ambitions

Quoted for truth #19

No camp enlists new allies

Stoker

Quoted for reference

Quoted for truth #18

No child of mine

Tinto Chiel

Stoker: We had only got started on HMS T today when we got an unexpected family visit but we’ll finish it tomorrow. Really enjoying it up to then. I’m not a Gael (unfortunately) but I spent some great times in Skye from the 70s onwards and it shaped my political views.

I learned quite a bit of basic Gaelic then and when I returned to EK I suddenly recognised all these old local place-names and understood they were Gaelic. But I had been taught Gaelic was a dying Highland language and irrelevant to mainstream Scottish history. Obvious bollocks, which inspired 40-odd years of amateur research.

It seems to me that you’ve been doing a lot for the cause for quite a while so I think you’ve earned a wee spell of private research. I’ve got three different lines running just now but since I’m retired it’s a lot easier for me to keep plates in the air. The Mitchell library is a great resource.

We’re preparing for canvassing for the May elections here and your WoS catch-ups are great refreshers for the usual doorstep “discussions”. I hate canvassing but feel compelled to do it: so many numpties, so little time, and all the time having to be polite and constructive.

I have to bite my tongue and smile sweetly, thinking of a reply when I hear the usual, “I hate that Alick Sammin/Sturgeon”; “there’s nae ile left”; “passport tae visit ma wean in Brighton.”

I shouldn’t really be doing it at my age but feel we’re on the edge of victory and so I can’t give up.

I’m sure many here appreciate your efforts.

All the best.

Scott

Has anyone seen this reported in any MSM and if not why.

link to on.rt.com

carjamtic

Brexit and Trump prove that, in this game we call life, even the most unexpected of things, can happen, just not normally with such devastating consequences and as its politics and as itโ€™s Scotland, here come the UKOK Fokkerโ€™s and their political deniers (akin to old age creeping up on you, although, the reality is there in front of you, staring back in the mirror and even though the body is starting to fail, to slow down and even though the mind sometimes starts to wander, it is usually in denial).

Yes, the Fokkerโ€™s May delude themselves, Yes they May even marry a young beauty queen, Yes they May melt down an old vinyl L.P. stick it on their head and pretend (to themselves) that people wonโ€™t notice.

Yes, they May still have all their โ€˜cash in the atticโ€™, Yes they May, just about manage to adjust the plastic syrup and have a piss each morning without any assistance, Yes they May, have their โ€˜snowy whiteโ€™* dental implants regularly serviced, Yes they can have their jellied eels and marmite sandwiches served to them on a silver platter by a Hollywood goddessโ€ฆ but the harsh reality isโ€ฆ. they cannot manage the stairsโ€ฆ.Yes, life can be a bleach.

Time waits for No Fokker, politically Scotland is about to be reborn and no, itโ€™s not the same old, same old, itโ€™s something good, something new and itโ€™s somewhere safe.
All we are waiting for now is the due date; the brilliant, dedicated workers, in the new hospital are waiting, the people on the bridge are waiting, the baby box is prepared and weโ€™re ready.

In the hospital theatre, a โ€˜cascade pressureโ€™ environment has been set up, this means that the theatre is โ€˜positively pressuredโ€™ to the surrounding hospital corridors etc. (this prevents any germs or bacteria etc. from entering the theatre, i.e. when any the doors open, the air blows outwards and nothing bad comes in) likewise the public corridors, the service areas etc. are positively pressurised to the outside atmosphere.
There is the important โ€˜dirty roomโ€™, which is set to a โ€˜negative pressureโ€™ relative to the theatre; this is where all the biohazards, bloody, contaminated things go, this room is vital to maintain a germ free environment for the patients and the staff.

And so back to the Fokkerโ€™s, their sole mission is to remove the positive environment, to allow the spread of their neo-conservatism (bacteria), to contaminate the public and to maintain the โ€˜cash in the atticโ€™ policies of a failed, bygone empire.

So focused are they on this task in Scotland, they ignore Brexit, ignore whatโ€™s going on across the pond, they think that like their plastic syrup, we might not notice it, aye right, an ill wind that blows them No good.

In Scotland we also have a requirement for a political โ€˜dirty roomโ€™, a place, where propaganda, lies, half truths are sent ,to prevent from spreading, where they are made safe by application of some truth and verified facts, where toxic political shit gets cleaned up and โ€˜baggedโ€™ for disposal.

This wasnโ€™t intended to be a โ€˜thank youโ€™ or a tribute to the Rev. at the outset, but thatโ€™s how things go sometimes (mind wandering ?)And anyways itโ€™s what I genuinely thinkโ€ฆmmmnnnโ€ฆf…Itโ€ฆ post it and be damned (*oh, โ€˜and one more thingโ€™, not thee โ€˜snowy whiteโ€™ of the โ€˜midnight bluesโ€™)

Stoker

How to farm chickens

Watching out for speedbumps

Line goes dead

Stoker

Removing all doubt

A brilliant disguise

Interrogare quaerentium

Stoker

Game Of Cron(i)es

Take the high(land) road

Which of these is true? #2

Stoker

Which of these is true?

On fairness and balance

We may have just changed our mind

Stoker

Standing still to be shot at

Highly Questionable Time

Quoth the raven, nevermore

DerekM

Hmmm all quite on the western front,hey yoons this one is for you.

Michael McCabe

@ carjamtic 3:16pm Loved your post. Nice song too. link to youtube.com

yesindyref2

Sheesh, another bloody good posting by pool9.

I hope the Rev comes up with a new thread quickly so as to leave that one at or near the end of the thread.

carjamtic

‘Damn you’ Michael.

A much better vid.

๐Ÿ˜‰

CameronB Brodie

Here’sone to mark the day that BLiS___d announce their future direction, placing Yoonionism ahead of achieving social justice in Scotland, it must be obvious to all sane observers that BLiS____d expect Scots to simply whistle for their human rights to be respected, especially their “Right to Development”. Still, nothing like flogging a dead horse in the furtherance of progress, when your principle aim is maintaining the status quo of colonial domination from London.

Evanescence + Thomas the Tank – Chug Me to Life
link to youtube.com |

CameronB Brodie

I’m not as scrambled as that last post, which isn’t in code, btw. An itchy trigger finger, a change of mind and not paying attention, I’m afraid. Hope the sentiment is still apparent.

BLiS____d, the steam locomotives of Scotland’s 21st century politics. Not fitted to contemporary needs and well past their ideological usefulness. A wasted vote for the progressively minded, frankly.

CameronB Brodie

P.S. Today’s announcement is the confirmation of very specific ideological barriers to inclusion within BLiS___d, who no longer appear to provide space for those who are not of a Yoon persuasion. That’s a pity. ๐Ÿ™‚

Stoker

Going forth and multiplying

60 seconds into the future

Nationality for nationalists

Stoker

Endangered species

Hiding in plain sight

Mighty Morphin’ More-powers Rangers

Stoker

The uncertain minds

Counting virus spreads

Some tickets still available

Stoker

True colours

One for our Labour chums

Changing the rules of the game

Stoker

Scotland’s shame

Uninteresting news ignored

Quoted for truth #17

CameronB Brodie

Social justice demands inclusion and is built on the respect of universal human rights. BLiS___d have just announced they are a tool of colonialism in the 21s century.

Please, put the master’s tools down, those who haven’t already.

โ€œThe right to development is an inalienable human right by virtue of which every human person and all peoples are entitled to participate in, contribute to, and enjoy economic, social, cultural and political development, in which all human rights and fundamental freedoms can be fully realized.โ€ (Article 1.1, Declaration on the Right to Development)

โ€œThe human right to development also implies the full realization of the right of peoples to self-determination, which includes, subject to the relevant provisions of both International Covenants on Human Rights, the exercise of their inalienable right to full sovereignty over all their natural wealth and resources.โ€ (Article 1.2)

link to un.org

Asian Dub Foundation – The Judgement

Stoker

Atomic Kitten – Whole Again

The Corrs – Breathless

Sugababes – Push The Button

Berri – The Sunshine After The Rain (1994 Eurodance)

Stoker

This first one has got me hooked, mesmerising! ๐Ÿ™‚

Traveller girl singing

Irish Traveller Girl Singing (First song 28-seconds in)

Nikita – Hillbilly Girl With The Blues

Stoker

2 Unlimited – No Limit (1993)

Chicane – Saltwater (Original)

Faithless – Insomnia

carjamtic
Chick McGregor

Bearing in mind your gripe about no replies, I scrolled up to your last message on Global warming (even if you ignored mine ;))

What you summarize is an accurate depiction of what is probably the current scientific consensus. I would only add that the salination pump theory, i.e. the driving mechanism for the Atlantic Conveyer, is not the only process which produces higher than latitude expectation temperatures for the British Isles.

There is also the phenomenum of prevailingly South Westerly storm systems which exists. These are driven by Coriolis Forces due to the Earth’s rotation and are not cyclical (long term time) in nature.

And because for the British Isles, these arrive unfettered by terrain (i.e across the Atlantic) their warming effect is significantly greater than would be the case for the similar latitude regions you cited, e.g. Hudson’s Bay because they are not subject to the same intervening terrain effects.

Chick McGregor

PS I’m sure I put @BDTT at the start of that last post but possibly another senior moment.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Chick McGregor.

I didn’t consciously ignore your post so apologies for that.

In the meantime, you may find exploring this site at the Internet Archive of interest. here’s one page:-

link to web.archive.org

The home page is at:-

link to web.archive.org

You can explore the archived captures by hovering over the captures at the top of the page.

———————————————–

Hi Stoker.

RE: “No Limits”. I prefer the Scottish version… “Hey Donald – where’s ma lager?”

Stoker

Brian

Now, do i thank you or curse you. Never heard that before but guess what i’ve been hoovering to. Can’t get it out of my head. ๐Ÿ˜€

Stoker

Forever blowing bubbles

The Scottish disease

The Curran Prophecy

Empty vessel makes noise

Stoker

Old, new, borrowed and blue

Blankety blanks

Always crashing in a different car

Stoker

Have pity on us, readers

Uncertainty uncertain (or is it?)

Same as it ever was

Stoker

Beeb Watch

On Monday 6 Feb 2017 the following programme aired on BBC2 at 8:30pm and was billed as ‘News and Factual’.

REVEALED: Britain’s Mental Health Crisis – Panorama
“Investigation into the state of NHS mental health services, revealing new figures showing a shocking rise in unexpected deaths. Contains some upsetting scenes.”

Trouble is, this programme had absolutely nothing to do with Scotland, Wales, nor even Northern Ireland. The full 30-minutes was about the English NHS failures, and to be more precise most of the programme focused on the Norfolk & Suffolk Trust.

Anyone reading that misleading synopsis but failing to watch the programme will once again have had the impression planted in their heads that all 4 of Britain’s Health Authorities are failing.

Throughout the programme they frequently referred to “the country” when they really should have stated ‘England’ and twice during the programme they stated “across the UK” when referring to the figure for cuts in beds and when referring to “rough sleepers” (aka homeless people).

The programme is to be repeated early Friday (10th) morning at 0:15am to 0:45am on BBC2 for anyone wanting to give it a more thorough going over.

Thursday 09/02/17 on BBC2 at 9pm.
After Brexit: The Battle for Europe
“As Britain prepares to begin withdrawing from the EU, the BBC’s Europe editor Katya Adler asks whether the Union can survive facing the biggest challenge in its 60-year history.”

Tinto Chiel

It’s everywhere, though, Stoker. heard someone prattling on about “Tudor Britain” on Pravdasound 4 the other day. You don’t have to be Robert Peffers to start taking a flakie at that sort of sharn.

I dedicate the following to all hard-core Unionists this May:

That young lady has excellent technique, btw.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker.

I used to buy that sort of $h!t coz I was a divvil as a dj. I played it as well… Mixing/segueing with the original, kinda like this one – another to do your hoovering to:-

yesindyref2

Fight fire with fire. A poster in the Herald quoted the Sunday Post poll about wanting Indy Ref 2, to me “83% Yes. 17% No” so I sneaked in a reply about that Courier Poll which was at “59.3% Yes, 40.7% No”.

I just have this feeling in my watter that the next 2 weeks could, could, see a big change.

@BDTT
Excellent!

Doing my head in, failed for once. I wanted a different one, not Hendrix, not Doors, it starts “Fire, (da da)”

Help me!

yesindyref2

Thanks be to .. my wife woke up and found it

That’s been doing my crunchie

Michael McCabe

@ yesindyref2 link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

@yesindyref2 is this what you meant ? link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

@ yesindyref2 Paula Rose will not be happy with all this fire in off topic ? We better Move it. link to youtube.com

yesindyref2

Thanks Michael, I was hoping you’d be along. Yes, it was number 2. Love number 3, brings back memories!

Here’s one for after Independence

Oh, whoops. Oh well, it’s all for a good cause.

Michael McCabe

Independence. that’s why I am here. link to youtube.com

CameronB Brodie

So the SNP are the “metropolitan elite”, Theresa May chereshis the momory of Sir. Nicholas Winton and Kez thinks it possible to accommodate two mutually exclusive constitutional states at the same time.

Structural violence is sustained through symbolic violence. Misrepresentation and the re-writing of history, such as the above, has a negative “negritude quotient” and can be expected to lead to exclusion and exploitation. A state of internal colonisation, frankly.

Asian Dub Foundation – Memory War

1 44 45 46 47 48 81

Stats: 6,673 Posts, 1,203,343 Comments

• Mark Beggan on A Personal Best For Kezia: “Nightmare Images. Number 14. Kezia eating her cornflakes.Nov 26, 23:55
    • Young Lochinvar on A Personal Best For Kezia: “So having enjoyed reading all the comments to date (ok most) I take it the consensus is that midwitch cuckoo…Nov 26, 23:40
    • Campbell Clansman on A Personal Best For Kezia: “See, for example, how Scots will be worse off under Indy, at: https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/19059435.people-2-800-year-worse-off-independent-scotland-claims-new-research/ I include more links making this point,…Nov 26, 23:30
    • Campbell Clansman on A Personal Best For Kezia: “For more on how Scotland is better off in the UK, see https://www.economicsobservatory.com/an-independent-scotland-what-would-be-the-options-for-economic-success Or see https://www.gov.uk/government/news/why-scotland-is-better-off-as-part-of-the-uk Or this https://scholarsarchive.byu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1231&context=sigma Of…Nov 26, 23:23
    • Garavelli Princip on A Personal Best For Kezia: “Agreed. Most- maybe all – of the posters on here who show negative (red) numbers are Yoon trolls – given…Nov 26, 22:59
    • James on A Personal Best For Kezia: “Can’t answer the question, huh?Nov 26, 22:40
    • Campbell Clansman on A Personal Best For Kezia: “Glad to see you can’t (and won’t) dispute that 1% Alba is dying in the water. Perhaps you’d also want…Nov 26, 22:38
    • Mia on A Personal Best For Kezia: “โ€œIf itโ€™s all about control of Uโ€™s vast mineral resources, why are you so keen for R to get that…Nov 26, 22:32
    • Hatey McHateface on A Personal Best For Kezia: “That’ll be the Cuban missile crisis of 62 years ago. Bordering on the Ancient Guff in other words. James works…Nov 26, 22:31
    • Hatey McHateface on A Personal Best For Kezia: “FFS, how many times? Any Scot can enjoy the priceless benefit of going to live in Bath. So that’s one…Nov 26, 22:18
    • James on A Personal Best For Kezia: “As expected. He/she/it doesn’t have an answer. (because obviously there are no benefits for Scotland in the ‘union’).Nov 26, 22:10
    • James on A Personal Best For Kezia: “Oh, and the Americans, for their part were ready to push the button because….a foreign power dared to site nukes…Nov 26, 22:02
    • James on A Personal Best For Kezia: “He resisted the submarine commander. But keep it through the looking glass, that’s how you like it.Nov 26, 21:59
    • Oneliner on A Personal Best For Kezia: “That’s part of his training. Don’t engage with the enemy when you know you’ll take a pounding.Nov 26, 21:47
    • Hatey McHateface on A Personal Best For Kezia: “Shant! Mia’s shattered ma shaky self-esteem and shoogly self-confidence. Oh, all right then. First rule of courtesy for dealing with…Nov 26, 21:26
    • znovak on A Personal Best For Kezia: “Um, submariner Arkhipov saved the world by resisting his superiors, who wanted to release the nukes. So he saved the…Nov 26, 21:23
    • Alf Baird on A Personal Best For Kezia: ““North Britain” is rather like saying ‘North America’, or ‘North Asia’; it might be a geographic area but it is…Nov 26, 21:10
    • Michael Laing on A Personal Best For Kezia: “It’s your beloved United Kingdom that’s circling the plug-hole. And no wonder. No matter how often you’re asked to do…Nov 26, 21:04
    • Hatey McHateface on A Personal Best For Kezia: “//https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet/csharp/BOTcharmer/ public class WingsBTLContainer {    public static void WhereIsIt()    {        System.Console.WriteLine(“As long as you never leave scotland, Ros, you’ll be…Nov 26, 21:03
    • Shug on A Personal Best For Kezia: “Labour in scotland would not and will not be allowed to have a coalition with the snp. Conservatives yes, green…Nov 26, 21:02
    • Michael Laing on A Personal Best For Kezia: “Come on then, Faceache, we’re all ears! Tell us how being in the UK benefits Scotland. Don’t tell me you’ve…Nov 26, 20:59
    • Hatey McHateface on A Personal Best For Kezia: “Insult your intelligence? Think about it. How could I make a start on doing that? If it’s all about control…Nov 26, 20:53
    • Mia on A Personal Best For Kezia: “I have come across this interesting article in internet:”The Pedantic Critic: New study looks at the motive behind nitpicking other…Nov 26, 20:47
    • Robert Matthews on A Personal Best For Kezia: “scotland(North Britain) is in the UK, so yes, calls go to a UK call centre.Nov 26, 20:38
    • Muscleguy on A Personal Best For Kezia: “John Hannah of ISP gained 8.75% of the vote coming 4th in the Tamworth by election a few months ago.…Nov 26, 20:34
    • Michael Laing on A Personal Best For Kezia: “Howsabout you explain to us how Scotland benefits from being in the UK instead of making pathetic comments about other…Nov 26, 19:59
    • Sven on A Personal Best For Kezia: “Police Scotland Call Service Centres are listed as being in Glasgow, Motherwell & Edinburgh.Nov 26, 19:53
    • Campbell Clansman on A Personal Best For Kezia: “There’s 4 more council by-elections in Scotland this year. Alba (the “true Indy Party” according to some here) can’t find…Nov 26, 19:48
    • Republicofscotland on A Personal Best For Kezia: “You would’ve thought that Scotland’s Police Force would have its own separate number. Of course Police Scotland was formed in…Nov 26, 19:47
    • Republicofscotland on A Personal Best For Kezia: “Mia – I think you might be replying to an AI Bot there in use now – and are quite…Nov 26, 19:38

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()