Notify of

40.9K Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Marie Clark

Nae sign o’ Tinto yet, oh dear.

Tinto Chiel

Morning, chinas. Thanks for all your concern, ladies and your beautiful ode, Smallaxe.

*looks sheepish*

I can remember Bridgeton Cross.

I can remember Bargeddie.

Then it all got a bit hazy. That last pint of Babycham was an error of judgment.

Anhow, I can assure you Corrour looks lovely in the spring. Ben Alder’s very impressive.

I may just be imagining it but I don’t think the Home Secretary was very pleased when I phoned in at 3 a.m. I’m quite sensitive to the feelings and moods of The Laydees, really. It’s a gift I have: I have antennae.

Great extreme ironing, David. Loved it. No quite up with Nana’s yoga men in kilts, but close.

Nana, I have solved the goat-nadgering problem. On the menu tonight is my Caribbean goat with rice n’ peas, a classic recipe with scotch bonnet and my trade mark Lanarkshire riff of chilled Buckfast.

Recipes available on request.

Better go. Don’t think I’m No.1 in the charts chez moi today.

Tinto Chiel

Forgot to say: a classic, Marie. In my faves now.

Smallaxe

MY, MY, Marie, that was some party 🙂

That ain’t the way to have fun!

Peace Always

DerekM

For all you youngsters out there here is 1979/80

this was not just a musical movement oh no this was a political movement,we had no press or internet so we did it through music.

Listen carefully you can hear the protest it was all we had you have so much more do not let the darkness scare you soar free into the light be a human being 🙂

Smallaxe

Nice one Derek, here is a little film to show the politics and music of the time.Worth watching if you younger ones want to learn how and why all this came about.

Peace Always

David

Smallaxe, I’m still ducking & diving, avoiding the fashion police. Who would’ve thought white socks were such a no-no with dark suits…
The Sweeney – ‘Get yer traahsers on, you’re nicked”

Glad to know my sartorial needs will be in the hands of such dedicated followers of fashion – oh and I found this vid of you and Tinto:
“We’re a couple of swells”

DerekM, nice reminder of not so nice times. Here’s another:
UB40 – “Signing Off”

Smallaxe

Tinto**: You is back!

If SWMBO is not happy, try this,

By the way, how do you know that the goat is Carribean, Dreadflocks?

Coat on!

Peace Always

Smallaxe

David, you’re well on your way to getting that Gold Card. Now, if you will just take this little bit of advice from Tinto and me your card will be in the post this afternoon.Suit you?

Peace Always

Marie Clark

Ah Tinto, your back in the land of the living, hope the heid is no too sair. Aye it was some party right enough. I can remember in my younger days feeling like that on a Sunday morning. Don’t remember too much of the party after a while, not good. I hate talking to hughie, yuk.

These days I’m like Smallaxe, a drink kinda Christmas, Ne’erday, birthdays etc always in moderation. Well your supposed to learn sense as you get older, right!

Hope your not in the dog house for to long with the good lady. I’m pleased that you liked the song.

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe & Marie, fanx, chinas for your kind wishes. They mean a lot to me at this difficult time *sighs*.

I have yet to graduate to the dog house. I’m in the lean-to at the back of the garage but it has given me the time to think, as I survey the spiders’ webs in the window and hear the melancholy cadence of the willow warbler (poetry).

My interim conclusions:

1. Pluto Shervington is Da Man

2. Bargeddie means “ridge at the place of the lazybed/little field”

3. It’s strange there is only one Monopolies Commission

4. There are many paths to a woman’s heart but I left ma compass in ma ither jaiket.

I may give you my thoughts on the space-time continuum at the instant of the Big Bang later.

Life is deep, very deep.

Tinto Chiel

Sorry, forgot to leave you my balm for a bruised, poetic soul:

Nana

Very relieved to see the great thinker and philosopher is back safely from his travels or perhaps that should be travails.

Smallaxe

Tinto, you say, “I may give you my thoughts on the space-time continuum at the instant of the Big Bang later.

Life is deep, very deep”

No need to hurt your head thinking thoughts when we already know the answer, here it is.
Simples!

Peace Always

Fred

I fell in love with Sadie from Bargedie but Sadie never fell in love with me………
So how was the symposium Tinto? as if we need to ask! Spent a very strange night in Ben Alder Cottage wanst!
Speaking of mince Smallaxe, I believe Jackie Burd gets £200k a year talking it! Can this be true?

Smallaxe

Now that your thoughts do not need to be thunk Tinto, here’s a wee song or two to listen to with your ears,

Seasick Steve:

Peace Always

Fred

Ben Alder corpse, this French guy was dressed in town gear n found sitting on a kinda stone seat in the middle of no-where by a young couple climbing the hill. His face looked like a tight black plastic bag & apparently shot himself but no powder burns found. Suspected “Dungeons & Dragons” killing. The couple who found him went back to their tent for the night & had their dinner, when they walked out next day? to report this the polis were not happy & expected them to have dropped everything & hoofed it 12 miles in the dark to their car. Huh!

link to en.wikipedia.org

Tinto Chiel

Och, you lot, the banter!

Will get back to you all soon: I have the chance to repair my rep by carting the Home Secretary’s trolley around M&S.

Youse are sharp as a drawer o’ tacks, soanyizurr.

Smallaxe

Fred,

Jackie burd is a big skinny turd
But she gets two hunner grand
And that buys a lot o’ mince, dear Fred
In television land

So if yer ever watchin’ telly
An’ that big burd ye see
don’t blame yer telly fir it
BLAME THE BBC!!!

Peace Always

DerekM

Thank you Smallaxe i had never seen that before brilliant and so true Don is awesome in it,so is Pauline Black lol seen Pauline and the Selecter many times 🙂

Grab that guitar kids play some upbeats and say what you want and you might even get this old rudeboy back in his 3 button up black mohair suit,Gibson`s and sunglasses oh and not forgetting my white shirt,white socks and black tie 🙂

@ David

Yea bad times something i have no wish to go through again but if i must i will but you can damn bet i am going to make a lot of noise lol

Chick McGregor

Welcome back smallaxe.

Your poem reminded me of this:

link to i51.photobucket.com

DerekM

lol here is one for you guys down in Spooksville Central Rabid Unintelligent Department,have a great weekend you mad idiots 🙂

Smallaxe

Hi, Derek, thanks, it is good and so many memories good and bad but all in all some great times.Glad you enjoyed it. I’m having some problems with the internet at the moment so I am on a tablet and can’t play anything at the moment. Normal service will be resumed ASAP.

Peace Always

scotspine

Anyone else noticed BBC Radio Scotland newsreaders / travel correspondents referring to Scottish Places with CH in the name as CK? Eg LoCK Ness, TomnahuriCK Street etc.

Tinto Chiel

That was a Monty P classic, Nana. I’d forgotten all about it but it’s now in the faves. As IanB would say, soo-perb.

Spooky, Smallaxe: if you take 42, half it, add the numbers together, you get my age. It’s a sign, ah tell ye, a sign. I’m going to muse thereupon its ontological significance and get back to you.

Smallaxe? Smallaxe?

I had a climbing partner, Fred (we fell out over the referendum and don’t socialise now) who spent a night in the Ben Alder bothy. He didn’t sleep a wink cause of all the noises during the night but he decided next day they were just the wind hitting the building.

Jackie B gets £200K for talking mince? I can do it for nothing!

Seasick Steve is a fellow filossopher of course. Remember his immortal, “I started off with nothing and I’ve still got most of it left.”?

Deep, dat, when ye thinkabootit.

Smallaxe

I noticed that scotspine, as far as I’m concerned they can all take a Flying Fuch to themselves.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Chick, I’ve been having some internet problems and it seems that my post to you has disappeared, I liked your Photobucket thingy, very true. As soon as possible we will have to get rid of that lot at P/Q and run them out of Scotland as fast as their lying little arses can be kicked.

People are still being brainwashed by what I would regard as the most powerful propaganda machine ever to exist and most homes have at least one sitting 24/7 spewing lies and unabashed hatred at anything the establishment deems dangerous to it, and for a long time now that danger has been us.

This will continue to be the case until we can take control of what we have been made to pay for over many years, it’s time it was silenced.

Ps, thank you, for your kind wishes.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Tinto:

I fell out with a friend when he asked me for a loan but as he was a heavy gambler I refused, he said to me “I remember when you had nothing” I replied “I remember when I had less than that”
Tru Dat!

“Can’t buy me Love”

Peace Always

scotspine

@ Smallaxe

Glad someone else noticed. Lol.

Cheers.

Peace

Paula Rose

Keep the noise down Dears – my meditation hour is about to commence.

Tinto Chiel

Oops!

*backs out soundlessly in his good quality woollen socks*

Smallaxe

Paula Rose:

This may help bring your chakras into alignment, I hope.

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

More words of wisdom:

What does it all mean, chinas?

Michael McCabe

D Major- Can’t Buy Love link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Beautiful, Michael. I have no words…

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Sorry, Guys, I need to cut down on the meds, that last post was meant for Tinto.

Michael: I was enjoying D Major when I wrote that last post.
link to youtube.com you. Gentlemen

Peace Always

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

So glad to be back on Off Topic that wee tune cheered me up, I’d promised Smallaxe I was going to bed and I will soon as I’m finished here.

WATP oh yes we are 😀

David

The ‘Red Flag’ is soo yesterday. Here’s Labour’s new song:

?Step we gaily on we go
Through the lobbies toe for toe
Arm in arm and vote for vote
All at Tories’ bidding?

Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Hi Alex Hope you and yours are keeping well. I am looking forward to the Council Elections then the Big one in June. Still got a few Wee Black Books to hand out. Hopefully another Wings Night out is on the Horizon ? Anyway Here is Bob. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

@ Smallaxe 10:58pm I have been called a lot of things but never that. here is a wee tune for You. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Eva an eva loving dat Michael Praises to di most high, Jah Ras Tafari SelassieI. I n’I wi lef yuh wid Amy, seen?

One Love

Smallaxe

We are all beautiful Michael. Jimmy Cliff will tell you.
😎

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Aye Smallaxe Amy is sadly missed link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Somebody Page Me link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Another one from Amy,

“Valerie” Reggae Version

Another one from Jimmy,
“No Woman No Cry”

“In this great future we can’t forget the past”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Billy Preston aged 10, with a friend
Forgot to put this in the last post.Duh!

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Valerie Reggae Version same guy mixing it Different sound with the music.

Michael McCabe

Would help if I put the link up. link to youtube.com

yesindyref2

I’d love to be in Paisley today, don’t think I can make it though. “Dozens of saxophonists will gather in Paisley town centre today for a mass rendition of Gerry Rafferty’s Baker Street, to mark what would have been 70th birthday of the town’s most famous musical son and cement the bid to be UK City of Culture 2021.

Smallaxe

“Imagine” Reggae version,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CYz–MmlB-Q&ab_channel=jeromefuentes

Rickie Lee Jones: “Sympathy for the Devil”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

The Specials with Amy:
Kenny Chesney
Somewhere with You

Goodnight All

Peace Always

Big Phil

thanks smallaxe, good memories and great tunes. 😉

Smallaxe

Big Phil:

You’re more than welcome Phil, glad you enjoyed the music.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Good Morning, Saturday,

“Saturday”

Peace Always

Fred

Eclectic’s no the word eh?

Smallaxe

Fred, the word is, Inclusive, or if you prefer two words, how about All-Embracing.

Peace Always

Nana

@Croompenstein

Saw your posts on the 8th whilst clearing out my emails. I promise I was not ignoring you, been kinda under the weather.

Once we are independent I’ll be looking for a crew.

Nana

@Smallaxe & Michael

Catching up with some great songs over breakfast, puts me in good tune for the day.

Just me and the dug here right now, I wonder why he’s trying to cover his lugs. Can not possibly be my singing, not called Nana for nothing you know.

Tinto Chiel

For you, Nana:

Great tunes last night guys.

Thanks.

Nana

@Tinto

Scuttelling cuttlefish me hearties! TC has volunteered to clean out the bilges. I like Tom the cabin boy, very resourceful fellow. He’s hired.

Loved that Tinto, favourite cartoon from when I was but a wee lassie.

Nana

Check this out, mad ukipper. Bet she’s a dab hand at ironing.

link to twitter.com

Smallaxe

Good Morning, Tinto, how art thou this fine morning? good I hope, how went the trolly dash, did it get you back into the good book of SWMBO and,

😎 nice day innit

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Morning, chinas. I am musing furiously on the deep mysteries this morning and may share my thoughts later.

Glad you liked it, Nana. Those days seem very distant to me, when we naively trusted the BBC. I fear Kipper Gisela is a complete fruit loop, btw, but I have met many like her ablaw the dyke.

My rehabilitation chez moi seems to be going quite well, Smallaxe. The couch was quite comfortable, thank you.

Off to Loch Lubnaig to picnic and commune with nature and an ode may not be entirely out of the question. I shall take my beret and await the muse alighting on my napper.

I tentatively asked the Home Secretary if it would be a “blanket on the ground” afternoon but she replied, “Naw, over yer heid!”

Some way to go yet, I fear…..

Smallaxe

Aahr, Tinto, I hear you’ve been calling me Peggy, belay that an’ listen to C’pn Nana the kippers are on the horizon.Stand by to ram an’ repel boarders.

Peace Always Jolly Rodger

Tinto Chiel

That was a classic, Smallaxe. Reminded me of the staff room in the educational establishment wot I tot in, but with less booze.

Just firing up the Bentley Continental for the outing and thinking of rhymes for Ben Ledi.

A poet never sleeps.

KC

All this talk of pirates has set the First Mate off on a voyage.. Spot the wingers.

I can thoroughly recommend the VIC 32 for a week’s craic.

link to savethepuffer.co.uk

Smallaxe

A poet never sleeps, my friend
Although oft times he slumbers
Sleep is not for poets
Only for even numbers

We poets like I and you my Friend
are Odd not Even numbers
and while the Evens sleep dear friend
The muse invades Odd slumbers
😎

Peace Always

Smallaxe

KC:

Save the puffer
And the stoker
Save the Puffing
Midnight Toker

😎 (incognito)

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Great Puffer stuff, KC, a cross between The Maggie and The Vital Spark. Make sure the First Mate doesn’t overdo tickling the laptop ivories. It’s a marathon, not a sprint for independence and we need her for the duration.

By the way, KC, is this yourself in younger days? Have always wondered.

Smallaxe, comme d’habitude, your poetry was pure plangent and I am quite overcome. Am composing Lines Written Above Loch Lubnaig at the mo but am struggling for a rhyme with necrotising fasciitis. Any thoughts please drone over.

Fred, you big teaser, still waiting for your Ben Alder Bothy tale.

Michael McCabe
Smallaxe

Tinto,

MY THOUGHTS

Our Tinto never one to slouch
Arose afore dawn from his lonely couch
With broken heart and throbbing head
The head and heart that lacked a bed
His outing from the other day
Had annoyed Le seul à qui il aimait
But faint heart ner’ a maid had won
So he planned a picnic in the sun
Loch Lubnaig a stunning place
Would put a smile a smile upon her face
So with beret strategically on his napper
And dressed of course impeccably dapper
Our braveheart ventured to his garage
To fire up his stately carriage
A carriage cared for and ridden gently
A most wonderous Continental Bentley
This he filled like the horn of plenty
All from Aldi for six pounds twenty
And then he asked his Lady fair
For a run in the country would You Care
A feast for you I will prepare
I will she said but NO romance
This my lad is your last chance
Our hero sadly accepted this
Hoping at least for a small sweet kiss
A delightful drive he gave his lass
While glens and streams they glided past
Up ahead there lay Ben Ledi
And Tinto had his muse all ready
Sweet words to whisper in her ear
As soon as he could draw her near
They stopped and Tinto helped his beau
To step into this braw tableau
A blanket he laid upon the ground
And then he smiled and turned around
His smile soon dropped when mouth ajar
He saw her sit back in the car
Like Garbo alone a movie star
I warned you Tinto it’s your last chance
So don’t perform your mating dance
Get that blanket off the ground
And get this bloody car turned round
And Tinto finding his muse bereft
Got back into the car and left
Whilst driving back his muse returned
Although his attention had been spurned
Two lines only crept through his pain

I swear I’ll never
Drink again!
!
!
!until next time?

Some way to go yet, I fear…..

Peace Always

This was ditty was written by Billy the Rhymer
Last of the Hippies 1969r
If lost and found
Return to me please
If you like it
Please take it
And keep it
In Peace

Fred

Tinto, a great day for Lubnaig (loch with the bend) two notable peeps lived there at the bendy bit, wan was an 18th cent explorer whose name I forget, the other was Jim Kerr of Simple Minds who merrit Patsy Kensit!

Smallaxe

Hi, Michael, A bit of classical ballet from the Bolshoi Ballet

Peace Always

KC

@ Tinto sorry no not that KC. I am tone deaf, can’t sing a note and I have the rhythm of a corpse.
The First Mate and the rest of the crew have it all. They tell me I resemble the Butt of Lewis foghorn around 5 bells when I have been fuelled appropriately.

She says she is taking it easy for Wings but I am now elbow deep in tattie an veg peelings, so I have decided to start the Saturday Ceilidh early

Tinto Chiel

To Billy The Rhymer:

That must have taken you all afternoon, or you’re even more talented than I thought: quite hilarious, Smallaxe. Must appreciated, old pal I’ve never met.

We had a nice day in the chilly sun, spotting wood anemone, marsh marigold, wood sorrel, etc. We came back via Loch Venachar and Aberfoyle, the only blot on the landscape a fine big house with a giant flag pole and Butcher’s Apron to match. Grrrrrr!

May I respond via The Muse:

“I come from haunts of coot and tern,
I make a sudden sally…..”

If SWIMBO finds out about Sally, I’m well and truly cooked.

Michael: tried replying twice but my posts went up the lum. A wonderfully weird vid: reminded me of a party I attended in Airdrie in 1976.

KC: try scoring some brownie points tomorrow by bringing Nana a Romantic Breakfast: tattie scone, white and black pudding, poached egg and smoked bacon. You don’t want to end up sleeping in the lean-to too, do you?

Can’t find your explorer, Fred. WHIT ABOOT BEN ALDER?

Thepnr

@Smallaxe

That wee ode to Tinto was simply brilliant. You captured it all, loved it.

Hope you had a good day Tinto. Here’s a song especially for you both but also for others that frequent Off Topic. It doesn’t matter that we haven’t met yet. I suspect we will in the not too distant future. Meanwhile enjoy my wee song for you.

KC

Smallaxe, awesome rhyme, Tinto your turn, music please!

Anyhoo now that the chores are done my reward is to see John Prine at GRCH tomorrow so I’ll be checking in to the YES Bar on the first dog watch for a pre-concert refreshment, hope to meet some wingers there.

Great Prine anti-war song for smallaxe, peace.

Michael McCabe

KC I Hope you Enjoy John Prine Tomorrow. Here is a wee song of his I rather enjoy. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Here is one of my Favourite Singers Singing a Lovely John Prine Song. link to youtube.com

KC

Thanks Michael
I didn’t dare post that one although I thought long and hard about it. Sam Stone was the better part of valour.

SWMBO is not a fan of either JP or Iris she and don’t like gravel or razor blade voices but I do. I’ll say no more before she links me.

Tinto
Tattie scone, white and black pudding, poached egg and smoked bacon. Only SY BP and of course LINKS, she’s a fussy eater.

Tinto Chiel

A great day, Thepnr, thanks. Smallaxe’s ode was a classic, wasn’t it?

I find it strange that most of us have never met but we become “best friends”. I think I’ve only met Ronnie, Brian DTT, Ian B, X-Sticks, Nana and Norman, the gorgeous Paula Rose (swoons), Cactus, JLT, Tam Jardine, Caz-m and John King and his famous helmet (hope I’ve missed no-one out). I missed Smallaxe by a few mins at GG last September, it seems.

KC: have a great time in the Yes bar. I can’t emulate Billy The Rhymer, I’m afraid. I may exude a canto in due course, of course.

Hope to meet you all for one hell of a celebration on Freedom Day. I’ll be there with Mrs TC and The Two Chielettes (well hard Yessers who take no Carmichael fae naeb’dy).

Not long now, chinas.

Tinto Chiel

Oops!

Kendo Macaroon bar and Pete The Camera too.

Shouldn’t start lists!

Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

Yes met all these folks too with the exception of Nana and Norman and I hope that can be put right soon.

There’s one thing we all have in common and that is compassion.

That’s why we’re here I guess, foot to the pedal and get this done.

Tinto Chiel

Dead right, Thepnr. I would say all on here are free already, it’s just taking the rest of Scotland a wee bit longer to get there.

Compassion, a love of democracy and a sense of injustice seem to drive us all on. We are the lucky ones: just think of all the generations since 1707 who could never imagine the position we find ourselves in at the moment.

I get impatient but I trust the FM to play the cards in the right order.

Night all, especially The Poet Laureate 😎

Brian Doonthetoon

Do I get another gold badge (thanks, X-Sticks!) for claiming an eyeball with Nana? George Square, it was.

BTW: Last year’s nominations (2016) for gold badges were, firstly, nominated by the previous year’s winner, Paula Rose, Pete the Camera, then Nana and Robert Peffers were nominated, as the crowdfunder continued.

I believe (from reading btl) that Nana has received her gold badge. I know Pete the Camera has not. I’ve no idea whether Bob Peffers has received his.

Does anyone know if the gold badges will be appearing?

Smallaxe

Tinto et al, Compliments unnecessary, just send money it’s cold in this garret.

Stop the War

Poet’s Lament

Peace Always guys, hope we all meet up soon (remember the money)

Smallaxe

Good Morning, Sunday,
The Small Faces:”Lazy Sunday Afternoon”

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Morning, Smallaxe. Lovely day.

Still full of emulsion following your ineffable ode.

Will drone over the shekels later on, my friend, honest, once the heavy snow and strong winds die down.

Nana

@Smallaxe

Wow, what a wonderful poem for TC, pure dead brilliant!!

I think we should designate Smallaxe as the official Wings poet.

@Brian Doonthetoon

We did indeed eyeball in George Sq Brain.

I did receive my gold Wings and I asked on the main thread some time ago if Robert got his. Did not see a reply. I recall seeing your reply re Pete the camera not receiving his. Surely they should have arrived by now.

Smallaxe

Nana and Tinto:

This being St. George’s Day the Muse is still upon me.I am writing feverishly my latest Quatrain poem on this very subject. Should not be too long until I post it.

Here be Dragons!
😎

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Naebuddy aboot, good, I’ll blame this on Tinto.

St.George and the Dragon (by Tinto Chiel)

Far back in the days
of castles and wizards
There roamed on the earth
gigantic lizards

Dragons men called them
and trembled in fear
They locked up their houses
as darkness drew near

At night Dragons flew
on wings made of leather
Causing madness and death
and rejoicing in terror

Then God in his wisdom
inspired a knight
A man called St.George
to take up the fight

So George took his lance
and mounted his horse
We all know the end
Of that story of course

George slew all the dragons
the land rung with laughter
And all of the people
lived happily ever after

The end of the story
I’m sorry it’s not
You see one beast escaped
and never was caught

This dragon was hidden
in a cave dark and deep
With hate in its heart
it lay fast asleep

Now Satan discovered
this beast in its den
He decided to use it
in his war against men

He killed this great dragon
and he snapped off its claws
He extracted its teeth
from its slavering jaws

He mixed in its blood
to strengthen his spell
Then he sent up to mankind
a harvest from hell

Small dragons were born
down south in the east
This spawn of the dragon
now started to feast

They devoured the poor
the sick and disabled
for were not they entitled
and royally enabled

There they still sit
all smiling and sinister
And eat from a trough
in the Palace of Westminster

St. George won’t be back
to kill beasts breathing fire
But St. Andrew is coming
‘neath a Rampant Saltire

He can’t slay them alone
he needs our helping hands
Our hands filled with pens
to vote back our Scots lands

There’s some that are up here
and on us they’ve poured scorn
We will deal with them also
whilst we eat our popcorn
😎

Peace Always

Fred

Quite stunned by the talent on here. Where’s yer Childe Harold noo eh? Folks who also I’ve never met, apart from the two Anderson’s, Brian DTT & Ian Bro fleetingly. Nana I have on a pedestal, hope she doesn’t disappoint like Donald Dewar!!!
KC, thanks for the Hitler thing, used to frequent the H.I & Schottische tae Fergie Macdonald a million years ago.

Tinto, you know I don’t talk aboot the Ben Alder thinghhhhhh!
But speaking of which, the sad business of the Ben Alder tragedy of over 60 years ago when a party of five youngsters set off from Queen Street Station to spend Hogmanay at Ben Alder Cottage & only the lassie survived the worst blizzard seen for many years.

Michael McCabe

This-Sounds Good to Me. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Michael McCabe says:
22 April 2017 at 12:16 am
“Somebody Page Me”

Page for Michael

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

More gold from your nib, Smallaxe…..

What really annoys me are the folk you hear just now complaining about too many elections. I overheard four smug blue-rinsers in Strathaven regurgitating the Daily Mail pap designed to induce apathy and “they’re all the same” cynicism. Fair cheeses you off. Hope they’re enjoying their free health care and bus passes courtesy of those evil separatists in Embra.

And having to walk a few hundred yards to a primary school to put a pencil mark in a box every once in a while! How could anyone put up with that? Definitely too much democracy: just leave all that decision-making stuff to Treeza.

“Ooh arrr, thinkin’ ain’t fer the loikes o’ me…”

Even when not canvassing I’m going to do a Threpnr and bring politics up in social situations. I used to avoid it for fear of causing a stushie but you can’t change minds without getting people to hear an alternative argument.

As you say the pen(cil) is mightier than the sword. I hope the people of Scotland wield theirs well over the next seven weeks.

At first I thought you meant the 1971 Cairngorms disaster, Fred. I didn’t know about the Ben Alder one (just Googled it). The former caused strict regulation of school trips to mountains to be brought in, which was well overdue, although it’s tended to discourage staff from taking parties out. Definitely better to be safe than sorry.

Oh, I forgot, regulation BAD. Ah want a straight banana and nuffin’s goannae stop me…..

Smallaxe

Tinto:

I never used to discuss politics (or religion) in company but now do so whenever the opperchancity presents itself, for politics that is, not anyone’s beliefs (as long as their beliefs are peaceful).

I spent two hours this morning and two yesterday driving my wife, daughter and my two grandchildren out and about leafletting area’s around D&G and trying to hunt a Mundell for my shrunken head collection as they come pre-shrunk.

Glad you liked my current little rhyme.

Peace Always #Manky

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Nana.

From where was your gold badge sent? How was your receipt of it organised?

—————————————————

Re mountain disasters.

I thought this story below could be “the 1971 Cairngorms disaster” referred to above. It wasn’t.

link to forfardispatch.co.uk

When I was around 13, a member of the paramilitary wing of the Church of Scotland, one of our weekends away was to the newish (at that time) Scott Lodge, just up the road from the Clova Hotel.

We walked up Jock’s Road, visited Loch Esk, were introduced to the joys of “cagouling” down a snowy slope, then walked across to the ridge that gives you a view down over Loch Muick.

On the way back down we stopped at the bothie erected to the memory of those who perished in 1959. There is a memorial plaque there. A picture of “Davy’s Bourach on Jock’s Road” can be seen at this page:-

link to cameronmcneish.wordpress.com

————————————–

BTW: good to meet up with various Wingers yesterday at the rally in City Square, followed by cocktails and food in the Counting House, in the company of Pete the Camera, my son Chris, Ronnie A, Paula Rose, Sonia G, wee Annie and Mitch Kilbride.

There is a pic from The Courier here:-

comment image

More pics and snippets at this (public) page:-

link to twitter.com

Congrats to YesNEF for putting it all together.

Tinto Chiel

That was very interesting, Brian. My father was a Block Manager at Rolls Royce in EK and knew Harry Duffin. For some reason my surname is common in the Braes o’ Angus, according to Black.

My unfortunate memory of Loch Muick is when the Home Secretary and I met Camilla at one of the fords, accompanied by her two female security guards. Charlie was shooting deer on the upper braes and we passed his Land Rover later. Fortunately, the day picked up and we saw a female hen harrier before we had to return to Ballater.

Glad you were in such good Wingers company today.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

Here’s a wee addendum…

It’s from the old DC Thomson chat forum (3Js). I don’t know how true the story is but Midser (Sir Mid) repeated it often over the years. It apparently happened around the Loch Muick area. “Scabbie” was a 3Jayser by the name of Midscabber, who lived in Australia, but had been reacquainted with an old pal through the 3Js. “McDivott” was an ex-army musician, who lived in Canada, like Sir Mid.

Sir Mid on 20-May-05 15:05:28
SCABBIE,ye dinna mince words wie yer opinions and while I usually agree wie you as a follow Skenker fae Mid Craigie, yer a hard man in this case.
I’m not a Royalist by ony means but they do earn their keep in an offhand sort of way by sookin’ in Tourists to the UK sumpink like TV stars and Fleet St would go broke withoot them.
Sounds like your smerter in Oz than us Canadians who I’m sure foot the bill for an expensive Governal General and all the Leitanant Governers in the Provinces, a heavy tax burden on Canadian taxpayers. Our Governer General has hit the headlines of lat with her tripling of the budget on expenses.
I was always fond of the Queen Mother, as, having told this story a couple of years back of how, while on one of my hiking trips over the Capel Mounth (Glen Clova to Ballater) I stopped for a bite to eat en-route when alang came a Land Rover and stopped to pass the time of day and it was the Queen Mither oot for a hurl.
She asked what I was having for lunch and when I told her it was a Forfar Bridie, fell battered and cauld from my rucksack, she asked if she could have a bite as this was a favourite of hers.

“Sure, says Sir Mid”. (I wizna a Knight at that time) and much to the suspeeshus look on the Gemmie drevers face, I passed her a but and she thoroughly enjoyed it and said she’d send her Gemmie into Forfar for a dizen for the Tea in Balmoral that nicht.

She gee’d me a cuddle and went on her way withoot asking me for Tea that nicht, ach weel I was hardly dressed for an occasion like that.

So there, McDivott, I can beat you this time. I’ll bet you never splut a Bridie wie her on the Scottish hulls. “

All these wee snippets of social history were lost when DC Thomson, without any preamble (except for months of neglect), deleted the 3Js from the web. Fortunately, somebody ‘doon the toon’ had saved them for posterity. Now, the question is; how do you easily share 10 years+ of threads with the WWW?

Fred

@ Tinto, the lassie who survived the Ben Alder tragedy might possibly still be living if she was born around 1930? the bodies were spread out & they had been throwing their kit away, no fancy gear then, pyjamas under their gear etc’. Were they members of the Lomond or Glencoe club?

I also met the Royals in my stravaigin days, they were at a bothy called Auchtavan, very smoky barbecue going while the gillies changed a tyre.

Thepnr

For my sins I’ve watched hundreds of great videos here on Off Topic. I kinda stumbled across this but it is certainly another great.

I know I might seem like a bam but you will forgive me after watching this.

Tinto Chiel

“Now, the question is; how do you easily share 10 years+ of threads with the WWW?”

I’m sure you’ll find a way, Brian 😎

Seems I had a narrow escape: I wouldn’t share my bridie wi anyb’dy.

In the late 70s, my team of perennial under-achievers were paying The Dandy Dons away. When my friends heard I would be passing through Forfar, I was given orders for the bell-shaped delicacy (was it one hole w/o, two holes with onion?).

When we arrived in Forfar, I went to the baker’s and gave my order. The lady serving (no doubt transfixed by my strange, unnatural beauty) and spotting my scarf-of-holy-colours, asked where I was going?

I said, “Aberdeen.”

She replied, “No, yer no! Game’s aff!”

Can’t remember if it was fog or snow now, but she was right.

Fred, I think it was the Glencoe Club but that was something of a misnomer since it was a Glasgow and Distict Club, I believe. Yes, it’s possible the lady may be alive.

Mrs TC and I met Noel Odell, the last man to see Mallory and Irvine alive on the 1924 Everest expedition, in the Poolewe Hotel in 1980(?). He was a charming English gent, old and stooped but pretty fit, and had some very interesting stories. He tried to teach me all about the Moine Thrust, since he had been a professional geologist and academic.

Smallaxe

Garnet Silk:
“Passing Judgement”

“Advantage”

“Bless Me”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Bob Marley:
Small Axe

Why boasteth thyself
Oh, evil men
Playing smart
And not being clever? Oh no
I said you’re working iniquity
To achieve vanity, yeah (if a-so a-so)
But the goodness of Jah, Jah
I-dureth forever

“Whosoever diggeth a pit
Shall bury in it!”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Bob Marley:

“Mellow Mood”

One Love

Smallaxe

Good Morning, Monday,

“Monday Monday” the Mamas & the Papas:

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

Slay them dragons Billy. Superb poem, how do you do it?
I have replied to you on the MT, no show as yet, perhaps because there are links added.

@Brian Doonthetoon

Re gold badge I’m fairly sure it came through the letterbox in a brown jiffy bag. I did not have to sign for it.

Smallaxe

Nana, how do I do it? I don’t think it’s a talent, it’s more like an affliction that can affect my diction when I write my rhyming fiction it’s become my predilection.

See what I mean?

Hope you are well and everything is good with you.

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

lol, there you go again, love it. What a talent!

I’m ok, a wee bit slow still. Brain chuntering ahead while my body tries to catch up.

@Fred

Ach Fred don’t go putting me on a pedestal, I find too many of those who have been set on high turn out to be not quite what we hoped them to be.
Having said that I will of course try not to disappoint, and besides pedestals always manage to attract bird shit! Not a good look.

I’m still aiming to kick the ‘mannie’ down the hill in Golspie. Going to order some big tackety boots for that job.

@Brian Doonthetoon Meant to say I don’t know who sent the badge, possibly Ayemail?

K1

Thanks Smallaxe, ah just could not get my point across in fewer words, it wasn’t about the ‘word’ it was about the censuring. Anyway, I’m done raking the coals. 😉

K1

Oh…as Ronnie @4.20pm reveals some useful information on ‘the last leap’…perhaps maybe some may understand a little more about the ‘dangers’ of ‘assuming’ anything about anyone on Wings, which is why yesterday’s little skuffle is more than a little amusing…fur me 😉

It’s never been a ‘secret’ btw…Ronnie, Crazycat, caz m and others huv always been aware 🙂

Smallaxe

No problem K1, what a load of Sherman tankers we have on the M/T at times, if some of them knew what I have done in the past I think that they would think twice before calling me a troll. I not only advocate peace I’m quite capable of fighting for it and at times have been forced to do so.It’s one of the few things worth fighting for.

Anyway, what are You thanking Me for, while my wife and I were watching our grandchildren last night to let my daughter and her husband have a rare chance for a night out together, you were defending me against the Lone Disciple, 🙂 Thank you, my Friend.I hope that we get a chance to meet soon, I look forward to that day.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

K1:

Got it, my Friend, and so true about assuming anything when only words are your guide.
😎 (incognito!)

Peace, Love and Happiness to You and to Those You Love.

K1

Aye it is Smallaxe, ironic intit. 😉

Smallaxe

Aye K1, there is only one of this,

One Heart

Peace Always

Fred

Cheers Nana, I sent a tenner once to assist in knocking “The Mannie” off his perch, bugger’s still there! The countess applied for a grant to repair a length of sea wall at Dunrobin. The Mannie would have filled the gap nae bother lying doon.

K1

Quite so Billy 🙂

Smallaxe

K1, BTW, did you notice the choice of music that I played in the early hours 2.20am to 3.03am and the message contained within? it was dedicated to a certain someone of our acquaintance.

“Holy, holy
Hold on to anyone, hold on to anyone
But let go of me”

Peace Always

K1

Aye ah did Smallaxe…he’s gunning for me again on that thread… 😉

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Nana.

I’m gonna have to tease the relevant info out of you, iye?

You received a jiffy bag. How did the sender know where to send it? Who knew your address? Who told the sender your address?

The thought plickens…

Nana

Hi Brian,

Well I assume from the Rev’s fundraiser. I believe Cearc was keeping tabs on who donated for my badge and the same would apply to Pete the camera and Robert P. I’m guessing again that my address would be noted on the fundraiser when I donated and added a perk.

Am I correct in thinking Ayemail was sending out the perks? Rev will know for sure.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Nana.

I think it was probably Ayemail doing the sending but that’s just a guess.

What I don’t understand is why Pete has been left out (and Robert Peffers?)

My thinking is that one didn’t actually have to contribute to the crowdfunder to qualify for a nominated gold badge. (Pete did contribute.)

Maybe cearc could elaborate on this stuff?

Nana

@Brian, If I remember correctly those who contributed were to leave a message on OT stating the sum donated.

Hopefully this mystery can be solved soon.

Smallaxe

Good Morning, Tuesday:

Tuesday

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

Hoping all goes well for you today. Sending good thoughts xx

Tinto Chiel

Good morning, chinas. Got two tons of chuckie-stanes delivered for the extensive policies of Tinto Towers and have been rather busy: can’t get the staff nowadays.

Then each one has to be aligned for Feng Shui, of course.

Your vid was deep, Smallaxe. I view it as a pure mephator for BLiS______d and Tory success in the elections myself.

We’re going to need spiritual uplift over the next six weeks, so I urge anyone who can to visit this special place:

link to undiscoveredscotland.co.uk

The views can be exceptional from the top if the weather is clear. The first time I went I could see the top of Goat Fell in the west (yes!), hills Like Ben Ledi and Ben Vorlich, the Forth Bridges, and then, as I looked behind me, a fantastic view down to North Berwick Law.

The archaeological site is fascinating and attracts many foreign visitors, mostly tree and stone-huggers like myself. The grave is of a high-status female and is most impressive.

Nearby Torphichen is of great interest and its sanctuary stones are worth trying to find, if you can spare the time.

There is also a beautiful Korean War garden nearby which commemorates the dead of that conflict.

“Scotland small? Our multiform, our infinite Scotland small?”

And what Nana said. Thinking of you too.

K1

Like Tand N…thinking of you too 😉

Tinto Chiel

Takes me back to 1972…

cearc

I confirmed the names to Stu, via contact form, as before.

Yep, it would be Ayemail which is an enlarged ‘getting the stuff out for Stu’ service.

I he gets the addresses either from the fundraiser or by emailing the person at their login email address.

Beautiful, warm sunny day today (inside the conservatory), first batch of ducklings at the weekend, it must be spring.

Smallaxe

Nana, Tinto and K1, Thank you, for your very kind thoughts ****

“Doctas dem sey wi nuh kno wah yuh doing but kip doing it”

I’n’I tell dem mi gud friends at Wings ova Scotland gi I strength. Wen mi tells dem dat dem double mi prescription???
Dis also help I’,

Peace an Love Always mi very gud Friends

Nana

@Smallaxe

Good to see you have retained your sense of humour. I’m sure you need a wee lie down now after the visit.

Marie Clark

Smallaxe, your maybies haein a wee lie doon efter yer visit tae the Doc.

Here’s a wee tune from all of us just for you. We’re right here my friend.

Nana

@Marie Clark

Are you watching the rape clause debate Marie?

I had to switch off soon as Davidson started spewing shite. Heaven help us all if we don’t get away from these red and blue torys. Lordy my nerves are shot through.

I tried to post the link twice on the MT, no show. Maybe my clumsy fingers did something wrong. Oh well never mind.

Smallaxe

Thank you, Nana, I’m doing that at this very moment, my dear Friend.

Mi nuh tell dem doctas bout di Sacred Herbal remedy dat mi sip, just a likkle sip before bedtime mi tek. Jah gi wi di herb, no man ave di right to sey nuh fi tek it to save mi life, seen?

Seriously though, Nana, it means more than I can say to have such good Friends as You and all the other inmates.

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

I say whatever gets you through the day or night, go for it!

Get some snooze time Billy and keep warm.

Man it ain’t half chilly up here, brrr

Smallaxe

Hi, Marie, Thank you, for the song I enjoyed listening to it, as you will probably have seen, I am lying down but for some reason, there is a man here telling me to get up!

Good reason though.

Peace Always, Marie.

Fred

True dat Smallaxe! Tinto, thanks for the Cairnpapple stuff, here’s the Skye Ridge, there are guys who’ve done this in a wanny or slept up there. Nae watter so ye need a Gunga Din!

link to walkhighlands.co.uk

Smallaxe

Fred, stunnin’ views, I’ll kerrie the watter up, if you kerrie me!
Deal? 🙂 Here’s an auldy but goody!

Peace Always

Nana

For Smallaxe and Fred

Smallaxe

Nana, as long as I can tell Fred THIS!

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Good news, Smallaxe but take it easy tonight, Manky Mate.

Went over to Mugdock to hug a few trees and commune with Nature but it’s hailing here now I’m home.

I’ve been up on the Cuillin ridge quite a few times, Fred, but I don’t know how they do the full traverse on a long summer’s day. As you say, you need to take your water with you and it gets extremely narrow. I got some great shots of the whole ridge from Blaven on a beautiful September morning a while ago and I framed several of them.

Nae probs re Cairnpapple. Just try to pick a day that’s likely to be clear. When I went back a few weeks later I could only see south to NB Law! I was just amazed I could see the top of Arran that first time.

John de Soulis

Hi,

Does anyone know when the perks packs from the fundraiser will be sent out?

Cactus

Aweright John de Soulis ~

Keep a look out on the main thread for the GO day.

Normally, there’ll be a new article informing us when the goods are going out.

This has been the most successful crowdfund ever recorded, so with all of the backers perks to arrange, I’d imagine it may be a couple of months till then…

Your perks will be winging their way to your doorstep shortly. 🙂

Sarah

Hi Everyone,
Have you seen Nana’s post at 6.03 on “Some things…” thread? Do you think she is seriously cross with the Rev? I don’t think he meant to be rude to her and I don’t want Nana to be upset.

Smallaxe

Hi, Tinto, my tree hugging Adonis (avoid myrrh trees) and watch out for wild boars. I am relaxing on my doeskin chaise-lounge being fed succulent grapes from the famous Gretna vineyard (Spar) by my dusky handmaidens….Zzzzz

Eh, whit, wher,

Hi, Tinto, I had fallen asleep for a few minutes, I will be taking it easy tonight before you ask as I’m sure you will, owing to my gift of scrying which can at times be such a burden.

I love to go a-wandering along the mountain… bloody good pills these and lovely, lovely watter.
😎

Thanks for the good wishes,#Manky Mate, very much appreciated.

Peace Always

John de Soulis

Cheers Cactus,

I had hoped to be wearing my new wings hat and badges when I go to vote. But no problem I think I’ve got a couple of YES stickers kicking about, 😉

Smallaxe

Tinto, I replied to your post ages ago and it has not appeared, there wasn’t even a youtube link on it. I do apologise old boy.

Thanks for the good wishes #Manky Mate,

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Nana, I hope that you are looking in, please let me/us know that you are not too upset as that will upset me and you know that I’m no a well man (emotional blackmail again).

Come back on here to the sane side on O/T we will cheer each other up.
Playing for Change

Peace, Love and Pleading with you
Billy xx

Tinto Chiel

Pas de probleme, mon ami manqué, as Fred would wittily say. Just glad you are flying straight and level.

Some of my posts have gone missing too recently and I’ll be in the dog house with the Rev. for using the R word in a beautifully composed cri de coeur on the M/T which went straight up the lum as a result.

Disappointed with the Rev’s tone to such a valued contributor, I have to say.

I presume he’s had a lot of manual clearing to do as a result of some posters not knowing about the filter.

Cactus: hope you saw my Cairnpapple stuff today. Your kinda place, I reckon.

Cactus

Aweright Tinto Chiel ~

Aye, ah was checking Cairnpapple out earlier, looks good.

Would be good with some candles and a couple of guitars in the cool, cool, cool of the evening.

Cheers all.

Tinto Chiel

Cactus: ah, magnificent Hoagy, NOT stogie, of course *winks*.

Now all you need is to predict the three nights a year Cairnpapple is habitable!

Cactus

Here’s another… funny musical-like.

Part of a series.

Smallaxe

Tinto, that “lost” post has appeared @ 6.54pm, must be magic!

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Had difficulty loading that one, Cactus.

Posts appearing and disappearing, Smallaxe?

They’re on to us, guys!

Watch the skies! Watch the skies!

K1

I’m soooo….tempted tae plant oan m/t…

link to mobile.twitter.com

….but ah won’t 😉

(Ah do however reserve the right tae shuv this right up their fucking noses if they so much as even suggest that ah ‘moderate’ ma language again…like tae see them take the Rev on if they dare! Note also…not a peep from the brass neck brigade on mike using the word on the current main thread, funny that….bunch o’ Sherman Tankers richt enough) 🙂

There are moments when ye just have tae call what’s happening how it really is in terms that reflect accurately and concisely the truth of how ye see it. I’m done wi people who care more about attacking posters for a ‘word’ they chose that befitted the character of those entirely culpable for our political situation in Scotland. Without the support of the Labour Party in Scotland the referendum would have been won by us. It’s that fucking simple. And it is that same Labour Party who now choose to side with the Tories again in the face of the most horrific UK governent that has ever sat in that parliament in our lifetimes!

How could they, how can they go along with those bastards? How can anyone in Scotland ever vote for these psychopathic wannabe fuckwits? This is what they do to people…this is who these cunts are..

link to mobile.twitter.com

Liz g

Actually Nana I didn’t think what the Rev said was that all bad.
And I am surprised that you took it so hard, especially considering the content of some of the link’s you post.
Which tells me that you don’t as a rule avoid the tough stuff.
Sooo…. I hope there’s no something else going on with you,but if there is you have plenty of friends here Nana… Link’s or not…
I also didn’t think that you ment you were leaving the site for good,but rather for the rest of the evening.
But if you did mean forever (you won’t leave us you love us too much and your in too deep… ha!! ) please reconsider…X

Michael McCabe

Hi Smallaxe Hope you are doing alright. Only Time will tell. link to youtube.com Time will tell. link to youtube.com Will tell. link to youtube.com You tell em Danny Boy. link to youtube.com

Macart

Nana

We do what we do for each other. You have friends. WoS is just where they happen to be.

Come back for them.

Now take care of those hands, get a good night’s sleep and don’t make Smallaxe wait to put his kettle on in the morning.

Smallaxe

Cactus says:
25 April 2017 at 8:52 pm
“Aweright Tinto Chiel ~

Aye, ah was checking Cairnpapple out earlier, looks good.

Would be good with some candles and a couple of guitars in the cool, cool, cool of the evening.”

AND!… Where Are You on this cool, cool, cool evening then? I saw your post and I thought that sounds just the very thing*, so I’ve been up here in the cool, cool, cool fukn evening for ages and I can fukn assure you that it isnae cool sitting in this crappy tent with the wind howlin’ roon a’boot it, n’ me haudin ma boax wi’ 6 caunils that a cannie light ’cause ave nae piggin’ matches, freezin’ ma fukn arse aff wi’Hoagy Carmichael singing “In the Cool, Cool, Cool ae the fukn Evening”

A’take it thit yer oan yer wye up here, aye! an’ ah hope that big Tinto wan’s wae ye, or is he behind ye huggin’ tree’s an’ kissin’ mushrooms or yodelin'”granny’s heilan hame” ur sumthin’ jist is stupit. Turnin’ oot tae be wan ae the wurst nights ae ma life, so it is, ma good trainers uv goat that minnae ribbons that ah look as tho’ ahm stonnin’ oan Shirley Temples fukn heed!

Youse bet’er be comin, ah meenit, ahm stonnin’ up here an’ the wan an only thing akin see, apart fae ma feet ur the stars.

Man..***.. the sky is totally * deep really really deep and it’s got streaks of colour not purely black * there are far far more stars than grains of sand on a white tropical beach * a beach of stars in an ocean so deep * moving softly imperceptibly to faintly lap upon the edges of each and every star * appearing as the stars are glistening as sunlight on the fresh foamy tears of newly emerging dewdrops * on a spring morning kissing infinity past present future meeting * parting * meeting always * every future passing over the present***

plain loaf
pint milk
fags
cat food
oxydol
the national
two paris buns
gypsy creams
Kitchen roll
first class stamp
box tacks
sleeping pills
Peace Always
😎

Smallaxe

Guys I’ve just posted on an unrefreshed page and never seen your posts until now. Michael, thanks, my Friend for your thoughtful choice of music, it was very kind of you. Macart, still no sign ofNana?if her illness was like mine she will be pretty weak still, hope that’s what it is.

I think maybe she came back too soon, if she lets us know that that is the case then she should take another few days rest. I’m kinda driftin’ in and out so if I miss her in the morning tell her I’m probably sleeping, please.

K1, if you want to get in touch with me use coop21889atGmail.com,
if I get any zoomers coming on I can ditch that address.

Take it easy my Friends.

Peace Always

Macart

@Smallaxe

Will do.

Smallaxe

Good Morning, Wednesday, everyone, all is well.

Macklemore: “Wednesday Morning” (Lyrics ^ listen)

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

I’m sorry I caused you some anxiety. was not my intention.

Switched off my computer last evening so did not see your comments. I hope you don’t mind, I have emailed you using the address you provided.

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: glad you are back to your Joycean stream-of-consciousness best and that you perceive the deep beauty of the music of the spheres. As you well know, we are all stardust, Grasshopper…..

K1: Ruthless Ruthie’s Tories are despicable, and it’s true we would be independent if Labour hadn’t become their Little Helpers/Human Shields but they ARE paying the ultimate price. At the moment they resemble Homer Simpson getting shocked every time he tries to hook the six-pack off the power line: utterly stupid in persisting in self-destructive behaviour.

Above all, don’t let the vileness of the No Surrender Party get you down: there are lots of practical ways we can bring them down in the next six weeks. There is no way I believe those polls: absolute kite-flying to make it ok to vote for the Toxic Tories.

K1

Mornin’ Smallaxe…you have mail 😉

K1

They’ll throw massive fraud at it Tinto…it doesn’t matter to them ‘how’ they win any seats and why should it, Tories just decide tae huv general elections doon the line tae prevent any accountability for their misdeeds, the judiciary drag their feet because they can be stalled simply by virtue of hauf o them being pals and relatives of the perpetrators?

Acht…ma positivity has been dented…nae doots and ma inner cynic is riding high…think just need some external sign, maybe council elections tae quell the unpleasant feeling a huv about the upcoming GE. 🙁

Fred

@ Nana, I’ve just gave your pedestal a polish so it’ll be a wee bit slippy. The Peeps were panicking fur the thought o their lost lynx!! Robert Burns “My Nannie’s Awa” went through my mind tae. Perish the thought!

Cairnpapple looks cool, we’re jist ants here really. Anent the Skye Ridge, wid it sound like bumming if ah said I’d done the In-Pin? No that hard really, jist the abseiling off a bit novel for a novice. Good music guys!

Smallaxe

Tinto: Thank you, my didactic and ethereally unnaturally fair of Personificationally perfect features for your generosity of spirit, I can only flow like water into the vessel of whatever shape is presented to me, the unworthy writer of rhymes which like a curse from Hades descends upon my unfortunate carcase in unguarded moments.

How’re things gwaan mi Fren,
😎 (my cool look)

Peace Always

Smallaxe

K1, so have you,

“The Letter” by Mr J Cocker Esq,

“Feelin’ Alright” also by Mr J Cocker Esq.
😎 (Cool as Fuck)

Peace Always

K1

LOL

Cactus

Dang Smallaxe, couldnae make it, hud tae shake it. We shall all have to rearrange Cairnpapple for some of the other 7 days a week of the year sometime.

I did manage to get in 12 of the 13 items on your list though…

Yer a Scottish star.

‘X’ ~ as well as Scotland, that’s the symbol for a Scottish star.

Tinto Chiel

K1: we all have spells of despair at the mendacity of the Yoons and the wilful stupidity of some people to not see the Bleedin’ Obvious but they will find it hard to pochle a non-binary vote like a GE (PV is another matter which still troubles me). I spent most of today filling up envelopes with targeted mail down the Hub and tomorrow they’ll be delivered. It usually stops me dwelling on the kind of things which have got you down recently.

I’m fine, Smallaxe, and am positively ethereal today, my perfect cheekbones set off delightfully by my fuchsia Cashmere pashmina. Who says Lanarkshire is darkest?

Love the cool look, btw.

Never Inn-Pinned, Fred, nor am I likely to summon up the courage to, either. I watched two young women abseiling down the Am Basteir tooth one day and was gobsmacked how easy they made it look. Maybe in another life.

A Skye friend of mine did The I-P with an instructor but said he only managed it ‘cos it was misty and he couldn’t see the drop!

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Following the chat about “views from hills”. Thought I’d share this one with yooz. It was shot 30+ years ago (on my trusty Praktika[sp?]) from the next hill to the west of Craigowl, which may be called Balkello Hill. It’s the one that has/had the quarry on its south face. You get to it via the track from the main road, just north of the “Dragon Stone” (See below).

It was the first time I had seen this particular view over Dundee.

link to web.archive.org

Here’s one of the “Dragon Stone” at Balluderon:-

link to web.archive.org

The stone is around 2-3 feet tall and, mythically, tells the story of St Martin slaying the dragon who consumed all a farmer’s daughters. The dragon statue, around 100 yards from City Square, commemorates the legend.

link to dundeemessenger.co.uk

Here’s a pic of the statue; the artist was Prentice Oliphant, apparently, according to my web search:-

link to 2.bp.blogspot.com

Last pic: my son Chris, around 2 years old, about to enjoy a REAL Forfar bridie.

link to web.archive.org

Tinto Chiel

Big Bear, ya bass.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

I think I did enough in this comment to get it deleted – I only noticed after I’d posted that it contained 5 links – I think 3 is the limit.

So, I’ve split it into 2 posts.

Here’s part 1…

Following the chat about “views from hills”. Thought I’d share this one with yooz. It was shot 30+ years ago (on my trusty Praktika[sp?]) from the next hill to the west of Craigowl, which may be called Balkello Hill. It’s the one that has/had the quarry on its south face. You get to it via the track from the main road, just north of the “Dragon Stone” (See below).

It was the first time I had seen this particular view over Dundee.

link to web.archive.org

Here’s one of the “Dragon Stone” at Balluderon:-

link to web.archive.org

The stone is around 2-3 feet tall and, mythically, tells the story of St Martin slaying the dragon who consumed all a farmer’s daughters. The dragon statue, around 100 yards from City Square, commemorates the legend.

link to dundeemessenger.co.uk

Brian Doonthetoon

And here’s part 2…

Here’s a pic of the statue; the artist was Prentice Oliphant, apparently, according to my web search:-

link to 2.bp.blogspot.com

Last pic: my son Chris, around 2 years old, about to enjoy a REAL Forfar bridie.

link to web.archive.org

Tinto Chiel

Being a Pictish Stone Hugger, I enjoyed that, BDTT but your first link seems wrong: quel bridie!

Smallaxe

Tinto:

Caught! One of my spies left this film of you moving those famed snake hips in the pre-arranged drop box beside the postbox outside the Running Fox!

Loving the black sox and sneaker look. You’re a Cajy yin soanyeur

So beautifully fluid, “sighing sadly in unadulterated Envy”.

Peace Always

Marie Clark

Smallaxe, naw, is that TC cuttin loose wae the fancy footstompin, pigtail fleei’n an awe. I bet that’s no Mrs TC he’s dancin wi’ either.

It’s definitely the snake hips that does it, my,my,my.

Smallaxe

Aye, Marie, the very man himself, he seems to forget that I have my impeccable sources to watch his every move and he had better not forget that….
In the back of its head also.

Peace Always

Cactus

Ridin’ the waves..

Summer’s comin’

Peace almost.
X.

Dave McEwan Hill

Oh, The summer time has come
And the snow is gently fallin etc

Just about the best thing I ever saw or heard. Nearly makes me greet. Joe Cocker at his very best

//www.youtube.com/watch?v=QCdJ6HhbJCA

Dave McEwan Hill

Oh, the summer time has come
And the snow is gently falling etc etc

Joe Cocker at his very best.Just about the best thing I ever saw or heard

Smallaxe

Dave McEwan Hill:

That was a new one for me, Dave, thanks.

Muse:

The semmit is a little vest
You put it on to look
Your best

Alas when summer
Comes again
The End.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Where have all the flowers gone? Probably somewhere where my post that I put on 40mins ago has disappeared to.

Sumfin aint right!

Peace Always

Smallaxe

It was the hula Hooping that made me determined to accept this very kind invitation, I never realised that it could be so entertaining and exciting, the instructional video shown at the bottom of the invitation with such beautiful music and lyrics was the clincher.

Dear Smallaxe,

As a Friends of the Earth Scotland member, you are the first to receive an invitation to our inaugural Summer Weekender from Fri 14th – Sun 16th July 2017.

The Summer Weekender will be a terrific opportunity to celebrate our successes, plan our next steps, network, learn, make friends and share strategies, all in the beautiful surroundings of Wiston Lodge near Biggar, South Lanarkshire.

There will also be opportunities to get creative or get your body moving, such as banner making, nature walks and *HOOLA HOOPING*, as well as fun evening entertainment. Places are limited so book soon to avoid disappointment.
“Hula Hooping for Beginners”

This invite is genuine: My intention is not to mock, only to Amuse. 😎

Peace And Planet Earth Aware Always, Aliens Allowed!

Cactus

Just had a look at mon mileage on recent comments..

Looks like ah’ve rattled it again..

Here’s tae Scotland.

Here’s tae you.
X.

It’s important.

Thepnr

I want to share something with you all.

I grew up Labour, you all know that and it was only in 2012 council elections that I told my wife “I’m not voting”.

Why? I could no longer support Labour but wasn’t ready to vote for any other party. I was voiceless at this stage.

Sometime in 2013 I was persuaded by my son to vote Yes, I was still a No voter at that time because I knew no better. Than I started to read Indy blogs like Wings and OMFG.

Wings was too “radical” for me I was reading comments from the likes of Ian Brotherhood and others LOL. I stuck to Newnet, Wee Ginger Dug. More within my comfort zone say.

Than I changed sometime later that year and started posting on Wings, very quietly at first as you would expect of a new Winger, then I got more with the flow and had a bit more to say.

Towards the end of 2013 the Rev published a piece under my own name, it seems like nothing now but I suppose for me it was then. Funnily enough it was mainly about the difference between rich and poor.

After that i was a regular poster and in the run up to the referendum like Nana I did my research and mostly tried to educate people. We weren’t the liars they were!

After the referendum I found it hard to even come back, what I also found was that there were those who wanted to “bayonet the wounded”. I was having none of that.

I’d take the trolls on and I wasn’t doing it by myself of course, others supported me. But in taking them on I sometimes had to be nasty or harsh is how I saw it and as you all know that doesn’t always go down well on the main thread.

I made friends and I made enemies but it also made me more determined. I truly believe that my presence on wings has been of benefit to the Independence cause and that’s why I’m still here.

Not just mine but many of course, those who believe in the fight. We will win this as it is essential for those we will leave behind and although I’m not yet 60 like my brother I probably don’t have that much longer. The fact I have Bronchitis and high blood pressure will likely put paid to me as it has to so many East end Glaswegians won’t come as a surprise.

Before I go did you know the meaning of the idiom

“Crossing the Rubicon” it means to pass a “point of no return”, and refers to Julius Caesar’s army’s crossing of the Rubicon River (in the north of Italy) in 49 BC, which was considered an act of insurrection and treason.

Anyway a wee tune that says how I feel. And I know you do too.

Smallaxe

Thepnr:

Want to come along?

Peace Always

Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Ach, jist me gettin carried away. Should have played this.

Smallaxe

You already have my Friend, Keep it going, I’ve been watching.Well done

“Touch the Sky”

Peace Always

Thepnr

Twat

Wrong link. link to youtube.com

Thepnr

Either I’m screwed up or someone is trying to screw me up. It’s probably the former.

Well you might not believe this but I went to the Yew Choob page copied the link and got the same same result. Refreshed the page and got this link.

Smallaxe

Lovely Watter is it? that’s the third time

Peace Always

Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Explanation given, Guess what it’s the truth! Now there’s a surprise.

Smallaxe

A Man is just a man!

One Love

Peace Always

Smallaxe

I believe you, but don’t take this too literally, 🙂

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Good Morning, Thursday people,

“Little Bitty Pretty One”

Peace Always

Nana

To Smallaxe, Fred, TC, Sarah, Macart, Liz G

Sorry for not responding yesterday,

I had tried to post a link to the debate and of course that r word was included. I had no idea that particular word caused problems, I don’t have time to read every post or thread so if and when it was discussed before, I missed it. Looks as if I was not the only one who was not aware, did they get hammered and I missed that also?

I’m too old to be growing a thicker skin and besides I like being the way I am. Brought up to respect others, I have always done exactly that. Not easy when dealing with unionists I must admit. Lol

Maybe I came back too soon after a recent illness, maybe I am as one commentator said ‘hyper sensitive’ well so what if I am. Rather be that way than a heartless, cold tory.

Anyway I am taking time out.

Smallaxe

Good for you, Nana.Take all the time that you need, we will still be here when you’re ready.

Peace, Love and a Rapid Recuperation

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

You typed at 9.19pm,
“but your first link seems wrong: quel bridie!”

You are correct! I must have confuzzled myself when I split the comment at 9.09pm. The first link, which I described as,
“It was shot 30+ years ago (on my trusty Praktika[sp?]) from the next hill to the west of Craigowl, which may be called Balkello Hill. It’s the one that has/had the quarry on its south face. You get to it via the track from the main road, just north of the “Dragon Stone” (See below), should have been,

link to web.archive.org

Smallaxe

BDTT,

Lovely view Brian, but where’s the Bridie?
Looked tasty that bridie did.

Peace Always

Thepnr

Have a got a hangover this morning or what? Look at the state of this place, broken links everyone. The pressure relief valve burst open, that’s all.

No harm done and no one was injured. Anyway good morning all 🙂

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe and Marie: shucks, you guys! Flattered by the snakehips comments but you must know, as an aesthete and stylist wot like I am, I would never be seen dancing in anything other than my two-tone brogues. Well, and clothes on, obvs. I’m not a weirdo!

Btw, is it just me or is Bobby Vee disgustingly wholesome?

Thepnr: amen to all that. Has put me in the right mood for my vile sep activity today. See those folk with low letter-boxes…..

Nana: quite understand. I posted a comment with the R word too, unaware of the filter. I don’t think you were hypersensitive at all. Take a good rest and make sure Norman gets on with the Dyson. And the ironing. And the washing. And the black pudding manufacture. Take time to enjoy the spring. As I said befoe, we need you for the big struggles ahead. BTW, Norman, got a nice wee print of Puffer VIC32 in the gallery up at Mugdock Park at the weekend.

BrianDTT: are those famous high-rise flats still there? Haven’t been in Dundee for ages. Ony mair phoaties of Pictish stones?

For some reason this tune came into my head while loading the washing machine this morning. Why did this happen? You must know there is no such thing as coincidence. I shall reflect deeply and may give you my trenchant apercus on this and the Higgs Boson later, once I find the car keys.

Cheers, chinas.

Marie Clark

Tinto, is this more you with the two tone shoes on? Class.

Marie Clark

Sorry, meant to say Nana, you have a good rest and get yourself well. We need you in the big fight yet to come. I know how you feel,I’ve had to step away from the MT for a wee bit. I felt as if my head was going to explode. Much nicer here.

Smallaxe, oh Bobby Vee. That took me right back to when I must have been about 12 or 13. Going to Paisley ice rink on a saturday afternoon, with all the pals. Skating to all the latest records, then walking back along the Glasgow Road, with a poke of chips, as we walked back to Cotton Street to get the bus home. Ah happy days.

John de Soulis

I’ve just received a letter from the ONS (office of national statistics), telling me they are going to send someone to interview the residents at my address. This is what they say about themselves,

“We are independent of ministers and instead report through the UK Statistics Authority to Parliament and the devolved administrations of Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. We are the executive office of the UK Statistics Authority, who are responsible for promoting and safeguarding the production and publication of official statistics which serve the public good.”

In my opinion they are as independent as Scotland.

Nowhere in the letter or the accompanying bumpf does it tell you that you do not have to take part. In fact you are left with the opposite impression. But well hidden on the ONS site is this…

“Do I have to take part?

Our work is very important and we need your help to make our studies successful. Every year about half a million people help us by taking part in our studies. No-one has to take part if they do not want to, but for us to paint an accurate picture of our society, it is vital that we interview as many people as possible, from all walks of life.”

You don’t have to give any reason for not taking part, I told them, this was not a good time. 😉

Look at the length of the link to find this info.

link to ons.gov.uk

Thepnr

@John de Soulis

I too had a letter like that about 4 years ago, it certainly does give the impression that you have to take part.

I ignored them but thanks for pointing out that clearly you don’t have to take part. Give them the finger in no uncertain terms LOL.

@Nana

You take all the time you need, you an a very important resource of knowledge on Wings and that is something we all appreciate.

Your work is OUTSTANDING and I really mean that.

Tinto Chiel

That fella’s no’ half bad, Marie, although I feel he lacks something of my brio and joie de vivre in his transitions.

Has anyone ever told you you’re a dead ringer for Ginger Rogers? 😉

Thepnr

Until last night I never knew that the Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers song “won’t back down” had Jeff Lynne of ELO, George Harrison and Ringo Starr in the lineup.

Funny old life init!

Marie Clark

Ha ha Tinto, you noticed that did you. Good man yourself.

Cactus

Evening all.

See that: “Don’t Be A Tory” sign seen in Glasgow.

Looks like it’s from sunny Partick at the cross on Dumbarton Road.

Good spot in the west-end.

There’s also pro-indy signage on Glasgows main motorways.

Cactus

Have yous seen the front cover for iScot’s May issue…

Ahhh ha ha ha!

Cheers to ye @kendomacaroonbar and cheers to ye Maurice for the picture.

Looks excellent.

iScot ~ Order yours now.

David

Thought for today:
Surely a “generation” in political terms is the length of time between one General Election and the next, i.e. four or five years*.
Reason being that every political party has a new manifesto for each new election, outlining their new plans and promises. What they said last time is ancient history, and they are not tied to it any more, no siree.

IndyRef was in 2014, #ScotRef will be late 2018 or early 2019.
Time elapsed between them will be 4 or 5 years = one political generation!

* Theresa May has however decided that a political generation has a length of TWO years – that must be the “Brexit Effect”!

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

You typed,
“BrianDTT: are those famous high-rise flats still there? Haven’t been in Dundee for ages. Ony mair phoaties of Pictish stones?

For some reason this tune came into my head while loading the washing machine this morning.”

The only ‘tall’ multi-storeys left are the ones at the bottom of the Hilltown – on the left as you trachle up the brae.

Pictish stones…
Just tried a couple of my bookmarks from years ago – both are now gone. So, try this one:-

link to stravaiging.com

For more pics, try this link:-

link to tinyurl.com

Gordon Giltrap…
One of the best gigs I experienced at the Bowlin’ Alley. I still have my autographed copy of the “Perilous Journey” album – October ’77. The manager ran out of freebie albums and gave Pete the Camera his car keys to go and get more from the boot of his car.
Yes, a good night.

Cactus

Apols for the CAPS, mr moderator.

It needed to be said.

It’s important.

Love Scotland.

Liz g

Nana @ Yesterday
Hi Nana, didn’t catch up with all the comments till quite late.
While you seem to be an early bird,I am most definitely a night owl.
So, leaving my reply till now so that you will, hopefully, catch it in the morning, without? having to read to far back.

Like you I did not notice any one else getting hauled up for the (R) word,but I did notice that some had been sayin post’s had disappeared.

Now there may be no connection but it’s no impossible that the disappeared post’s were also one’s that needed manual approval and were not important enough to make the cut.
Not that what anyone says is unimportant, but, rather that most fall into the category of…Well FFS if you can’t read the rules……Most Nana…. Except…. Yours.
Do you see where I am going?
To have approved your’s and got hacked off enough to say something, means…..Well I would think…..That your contribution matters.

For the avoidance of doubt…. I am not currently an “acolyte” of the Rev Stu……..But am open to the position if the the money is ok!

Nana You are affected by the stuff coming across”your desk”, as we all have been from time to time.
And don’t ever change….But???
How can Stu not be either?…. Being a wee bit ….Well….A wee bit…Like,em!!???In the mood fur hammer’s and such.
We both know what thay young yins are like???
Just because it’s his job,and he believes in what he is doing, doesn’t mean that he won’t be a bit irritated with people who are trying to help, because they missed a wee bit of information.
And if I am being objective despite the fact that this is his blog….We do all get a fair chance too, to be irritated Right Back At Him.
Not our fault if we are too lady like (stoap laughing at the back there)to do so….Is it Nana????

Anyhoo ….As the others have said take a break for as long as you feel you need to,of course you must.

But and it’s a big but…. Rember not to do anything to cause our Borders to not be patrolled.
And don’t forget…As the owner of the only night vision thingymajigs…..The one’s we are no supposed to mention!!!!!! Don’t go too far away!
Remember there are Yoons out there and they need our help!

Seriously..
Nana thanks for all you do.
Can you please just pop in to say ” morning ” so that we don’t worry,till you are ready to come back.
And ofcourse it goes without saying….. If you need anything please don’t hesitate to let us know……XXX

Smallaxe

And back to Friday after 7 days in which a lot has been done!

“Hard Rain”

Some people see the Rain
Others only get Wet

Peace Always

K1

How did this comment from ‘Love is a stranger in an open car’ get past the filters if there’s an automatic block for the R word? It’s as if the word ‘clause’ wis the trigger word.

link to wingsoverscotland.com

Smallaxe

We can do it Together!

I remember when we used to sit in a government “hard” in London.
Observing the hypocrites as they mingled with the good people we Seat.
Good friends, we had good friends we’ve lost
Along the way.

Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery
None but ourselves can free our minds
Have no fear for atomic energy
‘Cause none of them can stop the time.

Don’t let them fool you
Or even try to school you
Oh, no!
We’ve got a mind of our own
So go to hell if what you’re thinking is not right
And the the darkness must come out to light

We’ve got a life to live
“THEY” say: Only the fittest of the fittest shall survive
“WE” say: Stay alive!

“THEY” ARE gonna Take “OUR” water until our well runs dry
No matter how”WE”treat him the “MAN” will never be satisfied
Say something!
SAY YES!

Every Thing’s Going to be Alright!
Let’s get Together and “Be Alright”.

One People One Scotland!

Tinto Chiel

I’m sending this to Nana so she can limber up before her welcome return (hint, hint) to the M/T:

Thanks for that, Brian. I’ve visited quite a few of the mainland sites (and one on Skye), including the strange D&G outlier. It looked to me as if someone has tried a hoax using well-known Pictish designs but I asked a local authority and everything seems kosher at Trusty’s Hill.

Remember, folks, every Pictish stone needs a cuddle.

I decided to delay my Higgs Boson musings since the term “Pre-booking” has been getting on my nazzums recently. What can it mean and in what way is it different from “booking”? Does it mean you have to book an appointment so you can book? Or is it just a tautologous terminological inexactitude?

Confused,

Lanarkshire.

Tinto Chiel

All hail The Nana-Smallaxe Collective, btw!

Saw what you did there on the M/T this morning…..

Nana

@LizG

I’m fine Liz, catching up with a few chores and other stuff I’ve let lapse over the months. I mean you should see the state of this place,lol

Now should I need anything for patrol duty, now let me see

Strong tackety boots with Velcro not laces [fingers don’t work too well]
Bottle of vinegar [keeps my night vision lenses smear free]
A long rope [for abseiling]
Grease [for limbering up the joints]
Box of milk tray [for when I go abseiling]
A mop and bucket [to clean up after]

And a bottle of malt to numb the senses [actually best make that 2]

Well you did ask!

@Tinto Cheil

The old harpsichord is in for tuning right now. My stand in [Smallaxe] will provide background noise whilst I’m abseiling.

See list sent to LizG. Fire up the drone and get provisions delivered asap.

Smallaxe

Nana, I’ll look after the border as usual. 😎 (incognito)

Hi, liz, Hi, Tinto, lovely day, intit!

K1, I remembered that you asked for a likkle rhymey ting for de voting, Seen?

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Broadsword calling Nana Girl, Broadsword calling Nana Girl: message received and understood.

“Wound my heart with a monotonous languor” 😉

Droning over some of my leftover Goat surprise pakora and some Three-in-One.

The Sark can be cold at this time of year.

Nana

@TC

Meant to say I am going away for a bit. I’ve told Smallaxe internet connection ain’t too good there [am under strict instructions not to reveal location, top secret!] but will send links when I can.

@LizG

Geez Liz best send another mop and bucket, TC is sending his famous goat surprise pakora. Not too sure how that will go down, or stay down for that matter. Ooh

Take care everybody.

Tinto Chiel

Nana: understood!

Smallaxe

Tinto, never understand, Overstand!

look at things without any opinion otherwise, you’ll never look at reality.Look at things, without any prejudice, without any scripture, dogma, creed or philosophy.Just look, without arrogance and see the cause of ignorance and Overstand.

W/Minster has been standing over us, we won’t understand them we shall Overstand them.Seen?

“Chant Down Babylon”: Bob Marley:

Peace Always

DerekM

Was checking out my youtube channels and found a link to one of those batshit channels on a post,i am not going to link to it as it is one of those computer voice things.

Anyway the story is that a big campaign in the US where you can call a hotline to grass on “criminal aliens” no really that is the term they used totally backfired as millions of Americans phoned up to grass on ET and the Martians.

Only in America lol

Tinto Chiel

Got that, Smallaxe (I think). You’re pure gnomic today.

Still delivering election stuff.

Going lower than a dachshund with these danged fancy modern letter boxes.

Feel as if I’m in Limbo 😀

K1

Seen…rEspect 🙂

Liz g

Nana @ 12.22
Have a great time Nana,safe journey.
When ye get back!
Mind and let me know who got the surprise…the goat or the pakora

Michael McCabe

Hi Smallaxe I Thought I would leave this here for you. For when you cant sleep or it is Quiet on here. link to youtube.com

Tinto Chiel

Discovered today behind a panel in Tinto Towers in mysterious circumstances:

ODE TO SMALLAXE
(With Apologies to The White Rose of Alloway)
An Imaginative Canto

Now Smallaxe was a rhymer bold,
His wits were sharp, his nib was gold,
And from the age of three or four,
Began to mine that Sacred Ore
The Muse upon the blessed bestows
While trying not to pick his nose.

Verses, sonnets in a stream,
Some were plangent, some obscene
But out they poured, a tinkling torrent
That Yoons would later find abhorrent
But Smallaxe scrieved on, full of pith
And thought he’d give the school a mith.

Now Lunnon was his heart’s desire,
His mind intent, his pants a-fire
To find a cutty sark or two,
A gaff, a fag, some Special Brew.
Was that too much to ask? he wondered
When into Maida Vale he blundered.

Our hero’s journey had been glorious,
And now, alas, he was quite stotious.
But Lunnon polis arena’ blate
At whacking “enemies o’ state”
Instead of giving him some luncheon,
They set about him with their truncheons.

And while kind nurses het his poultice,
Smallaxe raged at cruel injustice.
The squatter, tramp, old queen and tart,
He now saw brethren of his heart,
Black and White, the Hawk, the Dove,
Were now to him One World, One love.

But then on Asia’s tropic shore,
Arose a cruel and wicked war.
A simple people, proud and sage,
A hail of bombs, a new Stone Age.
Smallaxe raged at such depravity,
And wept again for kind humanity.

My-Lai, Agent Orange and napalm,
How could folk be so inhuman?
Our hero raged and hotched fu’ fain,
How could he go through this again?
To Grosvenor Square the people sped,
And Smallaxe too, whose brow had bled.

O’er those events, I draw a veil,
My poet’s eye begins to fail,
The people rose and stood together,
The horses charged, all hell-for-leather,
Faceless force majeur faced down
The Hippy Folk in London Town.

On Billy’s sojourns Caribbean,
My turgid thoughts you’ll no’ be seein’,
On Jamaica, ganja and Bob Marley
He has expatiated grandly,
And so to Scotia’s soil restored,
The wicked Tories he deplored.

So now on Wings he sets the tone.
Of brotherhood, ochone! ochone!
It’s seems the world’s in short supply,
But a better world he does descry,
And so we say to Smallaxe bold,
You know, old friend, The Man’s The Gowd!

Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

Soo-perb.

Smallaxe

Michael, thank you for your kind thought I will pass some mellow time watching.

Some sounds and visions for you…Listen and Watch: In Peace*

*Glass Animals: “Pools” (don’t fall in)

*Glass Animals: “Too Much”

*Glass Animals: “Hazey”

Peace Always

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

Further on Pictish stones…

This link will give you a ‘bird’s eye’ view of the Balgarntho stone circle. You can zoom out to get your bearings.

link to binged.it

Here’s more info on it:-

link to megalithic.co.uk

Tinto Chiel

BrianDTT: thanks very much for that. Is that The Kingsway upon which the T___x factory sat? Or are my memories/bearings out?

To my shame, I was only in Dundee en route to Tannadice or Dens.

Must rectify, rectify.

Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

Your memory is fine, thanks Brian. Timex factory is just at the top of the screen here. My Mother In Law worked there when they made the first home computers. The Sinclair ZX 81 then the Sinclair Spectrum.

I got one on the cheap because of it LOL.

link to binged.it

Tinto Chiel

Brian: that’s a relief!

I’ve heard Aberlour takes its toll…..

All the best.

Tinto Chiel

Sorry, Thepnr, thanks to YOU.

And I ain’t drunk nuchin’!

K1

That’s a fine and magnificent ode tae Smallaxe, Tinto. He’ll be touched deeply by that as am sure we all are 😉

Smallaxe

Ave dun it agaain. A’ didnae refresh the Page!

Tinto, what can I say? Apart from Magnificent! You’ve been to the Crossroads and sold your soul to the Devil, for me, to write a poem for me.I’ve written many things over the years, for and about many people and some just because.

In all those years, nobody has written a poem for and about me, nor did it ever enter my mind that anyone would want to, you, you took little bits out of your memory of my posts and there contents and put it all into a poetically and chronologically perfect Masterpiece which has given me not onl…jeez I’ll be thanking the makeup department next, Tinto, I feel as if I’ve just been handed a great and very much appreciated gift of good feelings from a good friend, I felt your heart in your words.
Thank You.

“Ah’l jist sit noo an’ wait fir the polis tae see it and pit 2 n’2 th’gither…you be’ter hiv bail money fir me Tinto Chiel this wis aw yu’re daen so it wis fir writin’ the the biggest most kindest Supergrass letter in history ah’l get ye in the mornin’ soawill ahm tellin’ ye’…who’s that banging on the door…Naaaww..”

Peace and Love always Tinto for all at Tinto Towers my Friend

Sarah

@LizG and Nana – I did notice other people being told why their posts hadn’t appeared was because of the r… word.

So please don’t let this incident spoil your relationship on and with this great site.

Onwards, upwards to Scotland taking back control [well, it has a certain appeal, that phrase!].

Tinto Chiel

Nae probs, Smallaxe. Mon Plaisir, mon vieux. And I’ve the special handshake furra polis, damn the fears. Naeb’dy saw nuchin’, ken whit ah’m sayin’?

And Ian B and K1, thank you for letting me expose my muse to you.

They cannae touch you furrit, my brief says anyhow.

Thepnr

@ Tinto Chiel & Smallaxe

Yes it was a great poem and an honour for you Smallaxe.

Sure made me smile and still am. Good stuff guys.

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe & TC –

Witnessed.

Michael McCabe

Mix up Mix up link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Bob Marley: “One Love”

Bob Marley: “Stiff Necked Fools”

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Smallaxe Here is a wee Remix for you. Why Should I link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Peter Green: in great form with Fleetwood Mac, Michael,

“Oh Well” 1969.

Peace Always

Liz g

Sarah @ 11.52
Thanks for that Sarah,the R word causing problems with the automatic filters apparently,is what I think was happening too.
Anyway I don’t think anyone is anything more than irritated so don’t worry about it.
As for Scotland taking back control….well I see what your saying, but I prefer Scotland taking FORWARD control.. LOL

Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Well there you go, learned two things tonight. The original Fleetwood Mac were a “heavy” band and that Peter Green wrote this song “Black Magic Woman” before Santana had a hit with it.

You learn a lot on Wings so you do.

Smallaxe

Three tings yuh miss mi bredren, Peta also ramp gud Reggae, Seen?

Peta Green: “Gimme back mi Freedom”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Goodnight, I have a breath to catch in the morning.

Peter Green: “End of the Game”

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Let the Afro Celt Sound System Catch you-When your Falling link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Afro Celt Sound System-Release link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe
Fred

Sittin here wi a hanky readin this stuff so ah ahm!

Smallaxe

Listen to Michael’s links then Fred, just the thing to ease your head.

Great sounds in all! and two to watch and let your worries fall.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Come on you lot, Get UP! OFF THAT THING?

Peace Always

Someone stole my Bob Marley collection and my Sky dish overnight.
No Woman No Sky!
😎

Smallaxe

My wife’s run away to Skye with Bob Marley, I hope she comes back.

“Woman do you love me?”

Hope she brings Bob with her!
I love Bob. 😉

Peace Always

Smallaxe

I met her when she was only seventeen, I made her my ONLY Queen.

“lady Godiva”

While the Right woman waited, I had a lot of fun with the Wrong Ones.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

She’s coming back on the train, listen, you can hear the whistle blow,

“Five Hundred Miles”

*Peter and Gordon* are bringing Her.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

I never met a girl that makes me feel the way that She DOES!
Outa’ Sight Man.

OH! THE,

Temptations:

I can’t Help Myself “Suger Pie Honey”

“Sunshine on a Cloudy Day”
That’s My Girl

Peace Always

Smallaxe

When Her train arrives at the Station,

“I’ll Be There”

“Dancing in the Street”

“Baby I Need your Loving”

I love the smell of Motown in the Morning
😎

Peace Always

Smallaxe

“Aint Nothing like the Real Thing”
Marin Gaye and Tammi Terrell: The Real Thing

“You Can’t Hurry Love”
But it’s worth waiting For!

“Stoned Love”
The Supreme High!

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Morning, Smallaxe. You’re in fine fettle this morn. Don’t YOU be overdoing it.

You know what happened to the Prentice Boy of Rosslyn!

Take care. 😛

Smallaxe

Worry not, Dear Tinto, this ‘prentice leans on the Prince’s Pillar
Can’t you tell?
Protected by the “Lay of the Last Minstrel”

Peace Always

Sarah

@Liz g at 1.08 a.m. – thanks for the reassurance – I was a bit worried and at the moment I can’t take any more worries! My nerves are jangling and I can’t wait for Scotland to be a normal country, in charge of its own affairs again.

However Smallaxe’s choice of music this morning is taking me back to my youth and helping raise my spirits!

And Thepnr’s poem too – what a land of bards!

Tinto Chiel

“And the stone which the builders refused became the corner-stone of the temple.”

Or to put it another way:

Scary stuff from the great Michael Marra!

Arrividerci, Erchie.

Smallaxe

“The Stone dat the Builder refuse will always be the head Cornerstone”.

Bob Marley:
“Cornerstone”

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Hadn’t heard that afore, Smallaxe. Most righteous.

*furtively dons Skull Candy headphones in Jamaican colours*

Why are the leads on these things so short?

Smallaxe

Sarah
Your thoughts are beautiful, they touch our marra, most people to Bards put in the S T A ARRA!

Poor Tinto and I, “Sigh”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Short leads or long neck?
😎

Peace Always

Fred

“The stone which the builders etc'” saw this carved on a stone in Cadder Cem’y n aye wondered so ah did.

Marra superb, pity aboot Jenny.

Tinto Chiel

“Marra superb, pity aboot Jenny”

Verily, thou sayeth sooth, Fred.

Off tae the fitba’ now.

China in the vault time…..

Smallaxe

Tinto, China in the vault time….

Please Tinto no the vault, ahm yer china, wits gon oan?

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Fred, the story goes that when building the Temple of Solomon a builder thought that one of the stones was misshapen and it turned out to be the supporting stone of the Arch.

Peace Always

Sarah

Talking of bards and football, St Johnstone have an official club poet, Jim C Mackintosh – I think he’s the only one in the football world. The bards on Wings could help their own clubs in this department!

Smallaxe

Hamilton Academicals, Sarah, that’s a doozy even for me, unless some of them are taking illegal chemicals.
😎

Mibbies?

Peace Always

Fred

Ye mean wan o the Vousoirs Smallaxe?

Sarah

It doesn’t have to rhyme with the team name, Smallaxe! Or are you referring to the latest score? There’s always poetry in motion…

Thepnr

Just for a change, time for a wee laugh.

Smallaxe

Voussoir, Right first time, Fred that and the Springer are the two most important stones in an Arch.

BTW.See Tinto he gives out the prizes

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Sarah, to be honest, I’ve only been to one football match in my life. I preferred martial arts and found that it was a lot less violent than an Old Firm game.

Yoiichinichiwo sugoshite kudasa Sarah

Tsuneni heiwa

Smallaxe

Thepnr, 10 out of 10 for eleven!
😎

See Tinto for your prize

Peace Aways

Sarah

Smallaxe, my Scots and Gaelic aren’t too good so imagine what my grasp of Japanese is like!

My husband is very keen on footie so I have been to 3 or 4 games in the last 30+ years – hence my expertise you understand!

But the Sainties poet info is through a cousin who is a great fan of the club and also does some Sainties-related chat on Hospital Radio Perth, Tuesday evenings at 7.00pm – plug, plug as it helps their funding apparently. The poet is sometimes on that. It is a very pleasant hour of genial chat – rather better than the output of larger radio stations.

Michael McCabe

Smallaxe this guy has a poem about Anger. link to youtube.com

Fred

Smallaxe, whits next? haun-shakes?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

You typed, at 11.15pm last night,
“Your memory is fine, thanks Brian. Timex factory is just at the top of the screen here. My Mother In Law worked there when they made the first home computers. The Sinclair ZX 81 then the Sinclair Spectrum.

I got one on the cheap because of it LOL.”

Here’s a quote from the first link below:
“In Dundee, home computers were very accessible. People such as Chris van der Kuyl learnt to use them at an early age. Many went on to study computing at Dundee Institute of Technology, the forerunner of Abertay University, and at the University of Dundee.

People who had used computers from childhood grew up wanting to do things with them as grown-ups. They formed teams, invented games, and brought in the expertise to make them real and compelling to purchasers and players.

Outsiders and non-gamers really took notice when David Jones started a local company called DMA, which produced a compelling best-selling game called Lemmings in 1991. Games began to be seen as a serious business.”

Note that statement, “In Dundee, home computers were very accessible”.

That is from:-
link to bbc.co.uk

Here’s a quote from the second link (below):-
“Key figures in the Scottish industry believe the close ties between Spectrum and Dundee encouraged many of the city’s budding young coders to view games development as a legitimate career – a legacy that continues to this day, with around 40 games firms active in the area.

Brian Baglow, director of the Scottish Games Network, the industry’s national trade body, said: “There’s no doubt that the Spectrum being manufactured in Dundee was a strong factor in the city’s pioneering position in gaming. It put computers in the hands of many who may not otherwise have had access to them.””

That’s from,
link to scotsman.com

The reason that Dundee became a centre for computer gaming was another of those “grassroots” efforts. A network of licenced (but unofficial) retail outlets came into being, where, whilst enjoying a pint, you could become the proud owner of a Sinclair computer, which had, probably, fallen off the back of a lorry.

Presents for kids became the tools which drove Dundee’s computer gaming industry forward, to the position is in today.

I understand that there was also a licenced (but unofficial) retail outlet, which specialised in watches, on Arbroath Road, just along from the Timex factory at that end of the town.

————————————————–

Hi Smallaxe.

Here’s a heavier ‘Lady Godiva’ that may be new to you. She’s heavier but has a nice personality.

That track is from Grapefruit’s “Deep Water” album – that’s where Pete and I got our disco’s name, Deepwater Disco.

If you’re looking for 36 minutes of music to entertain you as aural wallpaper, check out their first album from 1969. Some good stuff on it, including the single, “Dear Delilah”. You’ll find it here:-

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

I think 20+ minutes is reasonable for waiting for a comment to appear.
I submitted a comment around 5 to 11 which contained 4 links, all of them having the ‘h-t-t-p-/-/’ deleted before submitting. It hasn’t appeared so I’ve split the comment into two submissions. Here’s the first part.

1st part…

Hi Thepnr.

You typed, at 11.15pm last night,
“Your memory is fine, thanks Brian. Timex factory is just at the top of the screen here. My Mother In Law worked there when they made the first home computers. The Sinclair ZX 81 then the Sinclair Spectrum.

I got one on the cheap because of it LOL.”

Here’s a quote from the first link below:
“In Dundee, home computers were very accessible. People such as Chris van der Kuyl learnt to use them at an early age. Many went on to study computing at Dundee Institute of Technology, the forerunner of Abertay University, and at the University of Dundee.

People who had used computers from childhood grew up wanting to do things with them as grown-ups. They formed teams, invented games, and brought in the expertise to make them real and compelling to purchasers and players.

Outsiders and non-gamers really took notice when David Jones started a local company called DMA, which produced a compelling best-selling game called Lemmings in 1991. Games began to be seen as a serious business.”

Note that statement, “In Dundee, home computers were very accessible”.

That is from:-
link to bbc.co.uk

Here’s a quote from the second link (below):-
“Key figures in the Scottish industry believe the close ties between Spectrum and Dundee encouraged many of the city’s budding young coders to view games development as a legitimate career – a legacy that continues to this day, with around 40 games firms active in the area.

Brian Baglow, director of the Scottish Games Network, the industry’s national trade body, said: “There’s no doubt that the Spectrum being manufactured in Dundee was a strong factor in the city’s pioneering position in gaming. It put computers in the hands of many who may not otherwise have had access to them.””

That’s from,
link to scotsman.com

The reason that Dundee became a centre for computer gaming was another of those “grassroots” efforts. A network of licenced (but unofficial) retail outlets came into being, where, whilst enjoying a pint, you could become the proud owner of a Sinclair computer, which had, probably, fallen off the back of a lorry.

Presents for kids became the tools which drove Dundee’s computer gaming industry forward, to the position is in today.

I understand that there was also a licenced (but unofficial) retail outlet, which specialised in watches, on Arbroath Road, just along from the Timex factory at that end of the town.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Part 2, posted at 23.37, seems to have got lost. For tonight, eh gie up. WordPress sux…

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

The qustion is, why does WordPress take the huff with some comments, that appear not to go against the filters and so on, that analyse submitted comments?

Och, fluckit…

Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Cheers Brian, I think your absolutely right about the reasons Dundee became a games hub was partly because of the Sinclair Spectrum being made here and available on the cheap if you like.

I tried my hand at using the language Basic, was pretty rubbish at it but I did get the computer to make lots of different coloured square rings going in and out LOL.

That ended my possible career as a video game designer in Dundee.

Brian Doonthetoon

Why do some posts just disappear – and I’m not just the only victim that suffers this?

Smallaxe

Sarah, Translation;

Yoiichinichiwo sugoshite kudasa Sarah
I hope that you have a very good day Sarah.

Tsuneni heiwa

Peace Always

Simples!

Smallaxe

Michael, thank you for the Tim Minchin vid, I enjoyed that and the Bob Marley vid. earlier tonight.

Peace Always my Friend

Smallaxe

Fred, the tale of the cornerstone is Biblical but you are correct in your assumption that it is part of Masonic Ritual.

Peace Always #Manky Mates
😎

CameronB Brodie

Given the Prime Minister’s upbringing in the bosom of Anglican Christianity (and the Malthusian sentiment it nourishes), as well as her commitment to strong leadership and British exceptionalism, do you think she might have problems with these views?

“No decent person wants to live in a society that works according to Darwinian laws. . . . A Darwinian society would be a fascist state.” – Richard Dawkins

link to uncommondescent.com

Smallaxe

Songs for Sunday morning:

“Follow the Sun” Xavier Rudd;

“What a day for a Daydream” The Lovin’Spoonful;

“Those Were the Days” Mary Hopkin;

Peace Always

Smallaxe

“Unchained Melody” The Righteous Brothers

The Chi-lites “Have you seen her”

The Monotones: “Book of Love”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

“Stairway to Heaven” Led Zeppelin;

“Nights in White Satin” The Moody Blues;

“Angie” The Stones”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

“What Becomes of the Brokenhearted” Jimmy Ruffin;

“Lightning Strikes” Lou Christie;

“Holy Cow” Lee Dorsey;

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Scotland has been Shafted

“HOPE OVER FEAR”

NOTE it QUOTE it and VOTE IT!

Peace Always

Sarah

Smallaxe, Ohayo!

Lovely and sunny here in the NW – hope the same for you. I feel I need the sun in my heart in the chill winds blowing just now.

Smallaxe

Ohayo Sarah,

Tsuneni anatanokokoroni taiy? o mamoru.
Always keep the sun in your heart
Anata wa itsumo shiawase ni narudeshou
and you will always be happy

The weather down here on the border is overcast and windy.

Tsuneni heiwa

Tinto Chiel

Morning, aesthetes.

Chilly, but I’m still heroically posting election material today.

Re. rituals in a certain order, I believe it is The Third Degree, but I have no real knowledge of those practices.

I am dealing philosophically with the footballing reverse I experienced yesterday and am now in full-on Gandhi mode in my tartan dhoti. And some tree-hugging may not be entirely out of the question, of course.

“Love the linden, loathe a Tory” is motto for today.

*ruminates thereon*

Tinto Chiel

I see the Rev’s been on the Hammerite again.

Smallaxe

Tinto, Good Morning, please correct me if I am wrong, but is it not cows that ruminate?

Loving the dhoti, btw, very becoming if I may say so.

Peace Always

Sarah

Smallaxe, you’ve put a smile on my face!

And now I really must go and tackle the 50 jobs I have to do today. I’ve just had the pleasure of emailing Jeane Freeman to congratulate her on restoring a civil service to operate social security and volunteered to help out if necessary as I’m a retired old hand – that’s enough pleasure for me today so now I must work in house and garden!!

Smallaxe

Sarah,

This Garden?

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Smallaxe. Just nipped in for some of my goat surprise pakora wot Nana likes before heading back out.

If you’ve got the lallies for it, the dhoti’s the way to go imho. People have been looking admiringly at me all morning, I feel.

Great to hear that hippy anthem again, old fruit.

Michael McCabe

It Feels Like Rain link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Yellow Moon link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

The Neville Brothers & Carlos Santana (Live in Jamaica) link to youtube.com

Fred

Ever the Linden Luvvy Tinto, Hammerite’s a belter!

Michael McCabe

Grouch-Soul Provider link to youtube.com

Tinto Chiel

“Linden Luvvy”.

To’al respec’, Fred 😉

A great day for Ben Oovi, is it not?

Smallaxe

Thanks for the soundtrack Michael, it’s good to listen while either browsing or writing,

Ting Tings: “Hands”

Ting Tings: “We Walk”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Tinto, Goat surprise!

True story: My wife and I went into a place in the Jamaican Cockpit Country (look it up) and asked for goat curry, the place, I can’t really call it a restaurant, anyway there was three goats in a pen at the back of it. A few minutes after asking for the curry we heard a sort of BAAAAaaaa…Clunk!

About twenty minutes later after a couple of bottles of Red Stripe, we had the best curry that we had ever had.

When we left, there were only two goats in the pen. To this day I have no idea whether we ate the goat that had been happily sunbathing with the Ray Bans on when we arrived or if we were served “one that they had prepared earlier”.

Some of this might be true;
Saying that I don’t really care that much, I’m am a carnivore, just cut its horns off and wipe its erse and I’m happy, the only veg that I eat are chips!

I meditate and fast for three days at the waxing of the moon to cleanse my spirit and my functional self, I break my fasting with Jamaican chicken soup and Callaloo leaves (AKA Morning Glory).
I then do a half hour of Tai Chi while listening to the sound of Sperm Whale singing and synchronised Inuit wind music known as eskimobadferting finished off by extraction of urine from Friends
I also as you know, talkalotashitattimes but it’s up to you to figure out what smells.

The goat is not named to protect the emotional stability of his wife and
KiD.
😎 (Ray Bans)

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

The Ting Tings-Day To Day link to youtube.com

Thepnr

@Smallaxe

the only veg that I eat are chips!

With that single sentence you have just proven your a Barlanark man. What about the mushy peas though?

Michael McCabe

Caro Emerald- Liquid Lunch link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Foo Fighters: “Everlong”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Thepnr,

Jist Chips nae Peas!

Mushy Peace Always

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Your ABSOLUTELY still the No 1 DJ on Wings, some of your choices give me goose pimples eeehhhh. But I don’t mind that, in fact I love it.

Keep on keeping on brother. Never had a liquid lunch since yesterday lol.

Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Me too, I could only eat the mushy peas with tons of vinegar and salt, granny forced me to eat them lol.

Smallaxe

Thepnr,

Quite right, about Michael, he can pick them.

But please don’t mention liquid lunches I have to drink 4x400calorie drinks a day of fukn strawberry flavoured Fortisip, there is also chocolate and fukn vanilla flavoured ones and they are all disfukngusting. Ta!

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Soundgarden: “Black Hole Sun”

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Why we Build the Wall link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Nirvana: “Heart Shaped Box”

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

This could drive you round the Bend. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Look in your rear view mirror;

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Is it me, or are these road signs weird?Where does this road go to

Peace Always

Thepnr

I need to relax a bit, main thread winding me up (and don’t they know it) anywies, just popped in to see what’s happening here in the funky end of town. I brought my own and here it is.

World Chess champion a young guy from Norway playing a speed game against an International Master at 1 minute chess.

Smallaxe

Unwind Alex;

Peace Always

Fred

Thepnr, anent the other place, picture a turret dweller wi a humff.

Tinto, ah hear the burns are dry at Ben Oovi, usual Spring dry-spell haudin back the gress.

Smallaxe

LINKS FROM THE LADY!

THESE ARE AS YET UNCONFIRMED BUT VERY IMPORTANT IF TRUE:HENCE O/T

link to twitter.com

OPINIONS PLEASE!

Peace Always

Smallaxe

STILL COMING IN!

link to linkis.com

START HUNTING HELP OUT!

Peace Always

Thepnr

OK OK I get it if you don’t want anymore chess but this is really funny. I’ve played these guys in Washington Square NY you aren’t going to win against them unless your a Grandmaster LOL.

By the way did you know that Scotland’s first two Grandmasters out of only 500 in the world at that time were both from the YES city of Dundee. Well you do now. The brainiacs in Dundee have it and that’s why it’s the YES city LOL.

Marie Clark

Wow Smallaxe, if this is true about the maybot being under investigation it will put a totally different complexion on the GE.

The tories might yet regret calling for a GE. Hell mend them.

Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Propriety & Ethics Team? you mean of the government this Tory government. Well it sounds like it should mean something but it means FA to me.

Can we no just get ripped into these Tories stealing the food from our bairns bellies? To be honest, that’s mainly what I care about.

Any complaints send them to Thepnr, No 1 Benefit Street, Scotland.

Smallaxe

Marie, thanks, I thought no one was going to notice the links, I was asked to put them on O/T until confirmed. This could change everything very quickly or slow things down.

Peace Always

Sarah

Smallaxe,

Just looking in after failing to do most of the chores on my list. My garden is a desert with plants, as opposed to the one in the song – well, I’ve deserted it, anyway. When my mother visited she had to avert her gaze from most of it – she kept hers very trim!

Your posts about Teresa May’s husband’s business are exciting but I can’t actually see a civil servant being allowed to depose a PM – much as I would love to.

K1

Is that Lady…Nana, Smallaxe?

Hmm…we need mair info. But fucksake if confirmed. This indeed could put entirely different complexion on GE. Who would they replace Tory leader with on lead up to GE e.g.? Will go look aroon tae see if this is showing up anywhere else on the news sites, sure others are doing this tae…

K1

She’s not a PM now is she? Just another ex mp during election period?

Smallaxe

Let’s hope we find out soon, I’m looking everywhere I can think of.

Peace Always

cearc

K1,

she is still PM. The cabinet ministers all stay in post until the election results are in.

Mr. May’s business is a conflict of interest in it’s very nature.

K1

Ah cearc, the parliament dissolves on Wednesday 3rd May, and then she is no longer PM. My mistake. 🙁

Thepnr

Oh look a squirrel.

Thepnr

That’s it for me tonight as Samuel Pepys would have said in his diary “and so to bed” it’s time for me to retire.

See when I get up tomorrow I’m gonna hunt down a Yoon and do my best to convert him. I may or may not but at least I’ll have tried.

cearc

K1,

Nope she’ll still be PM until the election is counted. All government ministers stay in office as a caretaker government.

I think it is actually until Her Maj invites someone else to form a new government.

They wouldn’t want us to be government free for a few weeks, we might get to like it!

cearc

Shame Roothy didn’t take T to a hut in Skye. Then they could have had this well known ditty for the video backing track.

youtube.com/watch?v=IBVb39rtVbU

Thepnr

I lied.

Thepnr
gerry

Sorry for the length of this, apologies if you have already been made aware
“This is From Jeremy Cliffe the Berlin Bureau Chief at The Economist (link to economist.com) – Citing [FAZ](faz.net) – link to faz.net
In full:
1) May had said she wanted to talk not just Brexit but also world problems; but in practice it fell to Juncker to propose one to discuss.
2) May has made clear to the Commission that she fully expects to be reelected as PM.
3) It is thought [in the Commission] that May wants to frustrate the daily business of the EU27, to improve her own negotiating position.
4) May seemed pissed off at Davis for regaling her dinner guests of his ECJ case against her data retention measures – three times.
5) EU side were astonished at May’s suggestion that EU/UK expats issue could be sorted at EU Council meeting at the end of June.
6) Juncker objected to this timetable as way too optimistic given complexities, eg on rights to health care.
7) Juncker pulled two piles of paper from his bag: Croatia’s EU entry deal, Canada’s free trade deal. His point: Brexit will be v v complex.
8) May wanted to work through the Brexit talks in monthly, 4-day blocks; all confidential until the end of the process.
9) Commission said impossible to reconcile this with need to square off member states & European Parliament, so documents must be published.
10) EU side felt May was seeing whole thing through rose-tinted-glasses. “Let us make Brexit a success” she told them.
11) Juncker countered that Britain will now be a third state, not even (like Turkey) in the customs union: “Brexit cannot be a success”.
12) May seemed surprised by this and seemed to the EU side not to have been fully briefed.
13) She cited her own JHA opt-out negotiations as home sec as a model: a mutually useful agreement meaning lots on paper, little in reality.
14) May’s reference to the JHA (justice and home affairs) opt-outs set off alarm signals for the EU side. This was what they had feared.
15) ie as home sec May opted out of EU measures (playing to UK audience) then opted back in, and wrongly thinks she can do same with Brexit
16) “The more I hear, the more sceptical I become” said Juncker (this was only half way through the dinner)
17) May then insisted to Juncker et al that UK owes EU no money because there is nothing to that effect in the treaties.
18) Her guests then informed her that the EU is not a golf club
19) Davis then objected that EU could not force a post-Brexit, post-ECJ UK to pay the bill. OK, said Juncker, then no trade deal.
20) …leaving EU27 with UK’s unpaid bills will involve national parliaments in process (a point that Berlin had made repeatedly before).
21) “I leave Downing St ten times as sceptical as I was before” Juncker told May as he left
22) Next morning at c7am Juncker called Merkel on her mobile, said May living in another galaxy & totally deluding herself
23) Merkel quickly reworked her speech to Bundestag to include her now-famous “some in Britain still have illusions” comment
24) FAZ concludes: May in election mode & playing to crowd, but what use is a big majority won by nurturing delusions of Brexit hardliners?
25) Juncker’s team now think it more likely than not that Brexit talks will collapse & hope Brits wake up to harsh realities in time.
26) What to make of it all? Obviously this leak is a highly tactical move by Commission. But contents deeply worrying for UK nonetheless.
27) The report points to major communications/briefing problems. Important messages from Berlin & Brussels seem not to be getting through.
28) Presumably as a result, May seems to be labouring under some really rather fundamental misconceptions about Brexit & the EU27.
29) Also clear that (as some of us have been warning for a while…) No 10 should expect every detail of the Brexit talks to leak.
30/30) Sorry for the long thread. And a reminder: full credit for all the above reporting on the May/Juncker dinner goes to the FAZ.”

Smallaxe

gerry:

Thank you, no need for apologies, all very interesting my friend.

Peace Always

sarah

Gerry – please post this on the main thread for all to see. It is very important and confirms my fears. “Our” Brexit team have absolutely no idea of what or why or how and are leading the unfortunate members of the “Union” into the most terrible disaster.

If only Scotland had the powers of the Isle of Man, Jersey, or Guernsey but no, we are only co-signatory to a treaty with England so are not allowed to disagree.

Tinto Chiel

Had people round for dinner last night.

Delicious. 😎

Need to catch up on the Tompkins M/T now.

Smallaxe: re goat fast food. The joys of nose-to-tail rural eating, I suppose.

Fred: having probs with grass germination myself. April was cold and dry here and it’s slowing things up.

Fred

Aye the hills are still broon Tinto, cast not a cloot!

Happy Beltane! manky mates & fellow heathens,
link to goddessandgreenman.co.uk

Fred

Mair Beltane, link to tairis.co.uk It’s certainly no the weather for cavortin in the bare-scuddy!

cearc

Fred,

That’s why you light lots of fires, to keep warm.

Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Fred. I am Pagan.

To celebrate, a great voice and scorching lyrics:

A happy May Day to all on Wings, even 77 Brigade. Well, they do give you a laugh sometimes.

Smallaxe

Tinto, I see Fred’s lit a fire, is that you’re Ayrshire bacon?

DEIL TAK THE HINMAIST!

Yous hauderim an’ ah’l heiderim.#Manky Mates

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Useless Fact No. 207: Tarbolton means “Beltane Hill” in Gaelic.

Menacing song, Smallaxe. Tory Party Manifesto sound track?

David

Unionist-busting, the short and sweet version:
“Norway is like Scotland without the Westminster.”

David

Song for Theresa:
I hear you knocking (but you can’t come in)

Fred

@ Cearc, started my career as a pyromaniac by settin middens on fire. Never looked back!

Smallaxe

Mibbie yous dinnae but Fred dis!

Peace Always

Fred

Smallaxe, superb Daily Motion, a beauty!

Smallaxe

Fred, Ta, manky mate, much appreciated.

Peace Always

Cherry

I would like to wish all a very happy and fruitful Beltane.
I’m also very happy to find that I’m not alone on here as being pagan (Just means of the land) and what better land to be as one with than Scotland.
Merry meet to all BB.

Betty Boop

Gerry. 6:10am

I too have posted this stuff from the FAZ report all over FB today. Thanks for posting it here too. Useful stuff.

Cheers to you.

Smallaxe

Happy Beltane

I’ve drunk from the Cornucopia
Of Zeus
From Amalthea I’ve Suckled
Her Juice
A Nymph of that name
Fed me milk from a goat
Now I can’t be arsed
I’ll get my coat!
😎

Peace and Love for Pagans

Tinto Chiel

Glad to see you are back to your versifying, Smallaxe, but I HAVE SOMETHING TO TELL YOU:

“My beret’s off, my quill’s away
Till Scotland’s independence day
But scrieve on, Smallaxe, Barlanark’s Dante,
You’ll gie us hoots and laughs a-plenty.

And though some think you’re effin’ mental,
Your friends aver you’re transcendental,
Your sentimental love for all
Only a Tory could appal.

So keep emoting, thou Seer by Sark
But please do not patrol by dark.”

Rock on, Smallaxe and The Lady.

Fred

Off -Topic’s no the place for news,
It’s really mair aboot the Blues,
But best of all’s the Manky’s muse,
& wit methinks,
Where else will ye find such repartee,
Or Nana’s lynx!

Ella! respect, perfect pitch!

Smallaxe

Tinto, about that wonderful and very generous sonnet, wot yu did rite about my unworthy self. Yer quill’s away? ah hear you say, well mibbie ye might think this cheek, bit yiv only rote aboot the
the furst bluddy week. Ave hid lot’s o’ laughs an’ ave hid plinty fears so ye need tae cover the hale 50 years.

Ah sterted when ah wis 17 so play the gemme an’ dinnae be mean.

8-( (Ma serious look)

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Fred: delighted you have taken up the poetic mantle.

Saw a tree-creeper on my birch today. And my wee badger’s just been around on his rounds.

Beltane, Beltane, Beltane…..

Brian Doonthetoon

I tried a couple of YouTube links on Saturday evening, which earned me a couple of coats of Hammerite.

I’ll try again tonight, in the spirit of Beltaine… A couple of seasonal tracks for all the Pagans who hing aroon’ ‘off-topic’…

Fred

The Pagans deffo huv the best fun Brian!

Smallaxe

I notice, Fred;

That the muse has hit you very quick
Hit you with its rhythm stick
Grasp it fast with great desire
Mayhaps it may stop
your fascination
With Fire!

Peace Always #Manky

Tinto Chiel

I could be tempted to write The Ballad of Billy Smallaxe, with film rights and Gerard Butler in the main role obvs. (Dorothy Devine swoons), but I have a Great Scottish Novel to write and Mrs TC’s ironing to steam. Plus my grass seed is somewhat tardy at the mo. There’s only 24 in 24, mon vieux. Fred might now be the Go-To Guy: his rhyming couplets have brio.

Let me run it past my team and Mr Bernstein, my agent. Of course, I would need to know more detail on the following:

Marilyn M.

Jimi H.

Gerry Rafferty Connection

Ditto, Ian Dury.

Your punk period.

European anarchism, including Riddrie.

Fran & Anna.

On the plus side, I pure see us as the modern Kant and Kirkegaard, Bouvard et Pecuchet, Francie and Josie. We could be contenders, Smallaxe.

Ezra Pound might have been yer man but I suppose I could exude some quatrains.

Please advise by return (plain manilla, NQA): monkeys in the house, ponies in the paddock :wink:.

Tinto Chiel

BrianDTT, before I go up Wood Hill: glad you survived yon salvo :razz:.

Sublime Beltane-related vids. Fanx.

Don’t know if you I have asked you this before but is it true an English commentator once pronounced Tannadice in the Italian fashion, i.e. “Tannadeechay”?

Urban myth or utter pith?

I reckon you’d know.

Smallaxe

I was thinking exactly the same thing and to hell with producers and pernickety purveyors of poetry porn.

Let’s just do it here….in the Barn.
Wot say you dear chap!

The old roar of the greasepaint etc. The hair on my legs would be standing on edge at the mere thought, if I hadn’t shaved them this after. WHAT a wheeze eh! By Jove, eh.
😎

Peace Always #Manky

Tinto Chiel

Wheeze indeed.

I’ve got Selznick on line one and DeMille on two, Smallaxe. Kim Novak wants the Nana role.

Let me get back to you but we could go on the floor before I go to LA later this month.

You’ve tried Venus razors for the lallies, I presume?

Speak ramorra.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel at 10:50 pm.

You enquired,
“Don’t know if you I have asked you this before but is it true an English commentator once pronounced Tannadice in the Italian fashion, i.e. “Tannadeechay”?

Urban myth or utter pith?

I reckon you’d know.”

It did happen. It was on ‘News At Ten’ in the 80s, I think. I was LOL when I heard the pronunciation.

They had a roving reporter called Giles Radice – pronounced “radeechay”.

Obviously, the newsreader knew Giles Radice so, when it came to the footie results, he saw ‘Tannadice’ and associated it with Giles Radice so pronounced it ‘Tannadeechay’.

And you tell the kids today and they think you’re pulling their plonkers…

Smallaxe

BDTT;

I have posted twice to you, so far no sign of them?

Peace Always

Smallaxe

BDTT:

Just in case Brian, thanks for the Grapefruit links. Great stuff.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

BDTT;

I can only assume that the band that I am referring to is being stopped because it has the name of a fruit which hangs in bunches.
And contains within the “R” WORD. G. Fruit.

Enjoyed a lot, Brian, thanks.

Peace Always

Macart

@Nana

Hope you’re enjoying the rest kiddo. Smallaxe has been doing a great job passing on your links.

Just be well and enjoy.

Sam

Thepnr

@Macart

No rest for the wicked eh 🙂 You take care too.

Smallaxe

Macart;

The Lady sends her love to you and all Wingers, the signal is not good where she currently is, but she is enjoying meeting old friends on her island home.

I will try to keep you informed, my Friend.

Peace Always

Macart

Ta much guys.

Smallaxe

“RUBY TUESDAY” by Melanie Safka:

Let’s have another Summer of Love!

Peace and Love

Smallaxe

If you were there, you can’t remember.Let’s jog the Memory!

1967 The Summer Of Love – One Summer Dream

The Dream lives on.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

If you’re going remember to wear that Flower!

Scott McKenzie San Francisco 1967

The Flower of Scotland? That’ll do Nicely

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

BDTT: so it’s true? I remember yon Radice cove.

*shakes head in amazement*

Thanks for confirming. Thought it was just one of those daft stories, like the MFC fan who called his twin girls Clare and Amber.

Loyalty/madness to a “t”.

Smallaxe

Good Morning, Tinto.

For You!

Peace Always

Fred

“Life can only be understood backwards, but it must be lived forwards!”
Kierkegaard.

Too much Kant can leave you in a stupor! did ye ken his grandpaw came fae Coupar? (Angus that is!)
True Dat!

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

RE:

You’ll be correct with your theory regarding G.fruit! It didn’t occur to me at the time of original posting.

Smallaxe

BDTT;

Thanks, Brian, enjoyed them muchly.A great “Bunch” of people!

Peace Always

Smallaxe

I apologise Rev. Stu. and assure you that it will not be repeated, I no idea that the fruit that I mentioned was in any way included in an infringement of your rules.

And, no, I do not want to be banned, I seek only to do what little I can to free Scotland from the yoke of Westminster.

Once again, I apologise unreservedly, Reverend,

Stoker

WOS Archives for November 2013

The Captain’s Abyss

We made a mistake

The Red Face Gang

Stoker

For use as required

Free subbing service available

A tonic for the troops

Stoker

What Mariano Rajoy didn’t say

About last night

You don’t know what you’ve got

Stoker

Suppressed Memory Lane

The best answer ever

Welcome to the debate

Stoker

A touch of deja vu

The parameters of failure

The oncoming storm

Cactus

Scotland’s Miles Better 🙂

Tinto Chiel

Cactus: how many miles?

500? 😉

Fred: re Kant/Cant. Did a bit of digging. George F Black in his Surnames of Scotland says the philosopher’s Scottish grampa was one Richard, an inn-keeper in “Russ and Werden at Heydekrug” (you probs know this already). The latter place seems to have been near Koenigsberg, East Prussia, as far as I have been able to discover.

Black also says the Scottish Cants were originally Flemings and I was checking some sources today and Cant/Kant is still a surname found in the Low Countries.

Smallaxe: “Poetry in Motion”? You definitely haven’t seen me dance, black socks or not!

Cactus

Aye, 500 tae start with should do it Smallaxe.

You called it:

An that’s 500 miles touring all over Scotland.

The Scotland ~ Round Trip.

Tickets please 😉

Cactus

Oops, getting me avatars mixed up there.

Nice one Tinto Chiel.

500 it is.

Cactus

Travel Scotland…

By foot boot
By car
By train
By bus
By plane
By cable-car
By boat
By bicycle
By tube
By board
By motorcycle
By you
By me

500+

Cactus

Dedicating…

It’s natural.

Tinto Chiel

Cactus: FERRY ALERT!

Kylerhea my favourite: otters, basking sharks, Glenelg brochs.

L’Ecosse, je t’aime…

Cactus

Tinto Chiel ~ aye, I’d go to see them too, nature’s groovy.

So I’d be best to bring a boat with me then..

Maybe we could board-it down the HEPS from Loch Sloy 😉

Extreme tour!

Tinto Chiel

Loch Sloy HEPS for vile seps?: that’s a goer!

Bit steep for me them pipes, mind you. I’ll just shut my eyes, like when my daughters made me go on the Space Mountain ride with them.

*shudders*

Cactus

Speaking of…

Cactus

SO how’s everybuddy feelin’ about Thursday…

Are you excited?
Are you scared?
Are ye fu an unco happy?
Are you there?

Ahm excited 😉

Fred

@ Tinto, Kant’s, Cant ancestors were tenants of the Abbey of Coupar for many generations, (grandpaw was poetic license!) Coupar Abbey was unusual in that its records survived the Reformation. Possibly his forefather joined the great 17th century Scots emmigration to the Baltic countries.

Tinto Chiel

Yon Bill Hicks was deep, Cactus, deep. And true, of course.

Thursday’s sorted for me: either at a polling station or GOTV.

We need to cleanse the Augean Stables of Yoondom and give us all hope for a better municipal Scotland.

It would also make future referendum administration a lot more reliable, particularly of the PVs. I heard nightmare stories of their management in my neck of the woods.

Cactus

Tinto Chiel ~ howsabout going UP to Loch Sloy from the A82..

Nae Fear!

Tinto Chiel

Fred: yes, I would agree, Hanseatic trade ‘n’ all that looks the likeliest explanation.

HEAVY POLITICAL POINT WARNING:

Back to the future when we have great European trade links as an independent country within the EU.

Tinto Chiel

Oh, mummydaddymakeitstopforgawdssake, Cactus!

I raise you the road from Kenmore to Amulree. Give it a try sometime, but never in winter. Had a bad experience there this March on my third visit. Still on pills fo’ me noives…

Almost the whole glen emigrated to Canada in the 19th c.

It’s the Union dividend, don’t ye know?

Cactus

I’ll add it to the list Tinto, I have many a mile to walk and ponder, whilst a-wander in Scotland.

Bridges are important too…

Howsabout the Glenfinnan Viaduct, water facing?

Tinto Chiel

“I have many a mile to walk and ponder, whilst a-wander in Scotland.”

Pure poetry, like wot mine is.

Yes, Cactus, a lifetime’s delightful work. Wish I had mine over again to see my country. Must see Harris before I sign out.

The GV? Magnificent!

Fred

Tinto, there’s a song aboot Coshieville in that neck of the woods. The dam-builders mebbes?

John de Soulis

These are the words from a Banksy wall stencil.

“Winners..

Are Not Those
Who Never Fail
But Those Who
Never Quit!”

I can’t think of anything more apt for independence supporters both in general, and on here. 😉

(Don’t feed the trolls)

Tinto Chiel

Fred: the Archie Fisher song?

Not sure, Fred.

Something else to research tomorrow.

Hope you’re ok, Smallaxe.

New day tomorrow, mon vieux.

Bon nuit, mes braves!

cearc

Amulree to Kenmore, had my brakes over heating and slowly fading out, not nice.

Hot tip, clean and polish your brake discs before you go!

Tinto Chiel

Bonne nuit, obvs!

Tinto Chiel

Cearc: it was ok from Kenmore, despite the tight bends and the narrow road, in the summer, but this March, just before the top, there was a 20 yard patch of ice along the banking on the right. Before I could switch off the ABS and give it some welly, we got stuck. The car started to slide left towards the fence and drop. Not pleasant.

Going the other way, I suppose the steep road down to Kenmore would also be a problem.

On the bright side, we retreated to the Kenmore Hotel and I saw Robert Burns’ poem still pencilled on the wall above the fire, something I would never have seen otherwise.

cearc

TC,

Oh, very scary. Fortunately dry and not icy but it goes downhill for miles and the brakes were completely losing it.

My garage said the brakes were fine, just the discs a bit gritty which causes them to over heat under continuous use. Which hill did it happen on?

Amulree to Kenmore, I said. Ach well, you should polish them before you go he told me.

William Wallace

watch?v=h5KwL2KaLyA

Hard to post this tune for some reason. Yet, it is my default position.

I’m creating an Indyforum and I want to hand it to the people that will make better use of it than I.

William Wallace

Tried 3 times in one week to post this tune and I have been ban hammered every time.

It’s been hard to post this tune for some reason. Yet, it is my default position.

I’m creating an Indyforum and I want to hand it to the people that will make better use of it than I.

The Tune is called “Last night I had the strangest dream” by ra Corries.

Tinto Chiel

Cearc: definitely not trying it again from Kenmore. Perhaps from Amulree in the summer with an anchor 😀

WW: I’m no’ tryin’ it. Feart o’ hammers!

Fred

Hope Smallaxe is OK, he’s missed!

Cactus

Aweright William Wallace, this one…

Ra Corries

Excellent.

Macart

@Paula Rose

If you’re looking in…

All the very best tomorrow. 🙂

Stoker

The case for Yes in six words

If you’re joining us late

White line fever

Stoker

Scotland’s Future

The Loch Ness Monster’s underwear

Pay up and shut up

Stoker

King of the palefaces

The tragedy of Project Feart

Another mystery solved

Stoker

If the facts don’t fit, make up some shit

The long journey to Yes

If you listen, you can hear

Stoker

Joining the dots

The Northumberland Times

Over and over and over again

Thepnr

Think I’ll chill out. Breaking Rock maybe?

Tinto Chiel

Heard this on Pravdasound2 this afternoon. Well, they’ve got to get something right eventually……

Tinto Chiel

Thepnr, that old boy sure knew how to read the rock.

Impressive.

Don’t let Rock get your BP up.

Awfie quiet on here tonight. Might pick up later.

GOTV tomorrow so off to beddy-byes soon.

Good luck tomorrow everyone.

Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

Classic by Free, here’s another wishing well, this time Terence Trent D’arby 1987. Maybe more my era.

Tinto Chiel

TTD had quite a voice, didn’t he? He looks too young for such a soulful voice.

Can you go off topic on off topic? The Red Tories have been telling outright lies, claiming the SNP will take away the bus passes and, here, saying they are in favour of a local incineration plant.

All they’ve got is lies. Why can’t folk see this?

Fan my brow!

Cactus

“..One day soon, our star will shine..

It’s getting closer now, but it’s all in good time..”

Don’t you know..?

Scotland.

Cactus

How’s ma good buddy.. the natural mystic…

Whit’s yer thoughts for ra morra dude?

We all rant re-actively.

Venting is good.

Cactus

Do it again.

Travel Scotland…

By foot boot
By car
By train
By bus
By plane
By cable-car
By boat
By bicycle
By tube
By board
By motorcycle
By you
By me

500+

Let’s go there, by the by, rapon the my-oh-my:

Thepnr

Bedtime for all good Wingers. Only one job to do tomorrow get out and vote and clear our councils of Tory and labour Scum.

For that is what they are are do not deserve to represent us.

Do your best, we can expect no more than that. Get in there.

Thepnr

Hey Paula Rose.

My best guess?

You will be representing your constituents on the council from tomorrow. Best of luck, you will be a great Councillor for the people that elect you.

Cactus

I second yours Thepnr ~

Go get em Paula Rose.

Brechin needs ye.

Mwah.

Michael McCabe

Nana Hope you are taking things nice and easy. Here is a wee bit of Guitar for you. link to youtube.com

Fred

Good luck to Paula, hope Smallaxe n Nana are OK. Voted by post, adding a Tory was a boak too far for me so ignored then, Slab ditto. Off to the “Cool, High Bens” while they’re scorchin!

Marie Clark

Mornin one and all. Where is everybody. Nana I hope you are well and enjoying your rest, and I see Smallaxe got a whack wi a hammer from the Rev.

You okay Smallaxe? Come back and play on OT, we miss you.

Remember folks, today, vote till you boak.

Thepnr

@Marie Clark

Just off to do a bit of boaking right now 🙂

Really pleased we are working together on this, starting to get the head screwed on it seems.

Tinto Chiel

Happy Polling Day, groovers.

Cactus: was I the “natural mystic”? Feelin’ fine, if so.

Good luck Paul Wright.

I will be engaged in knocking-up (non-sexual) all day.

May The Force be with us.

Smallaxe, if you’re ok, get back on here or I’ll break my vow and whack you with a quatrain. I’m sure Nana’s having a great time in the island.

Wish I was frying sausages at the back of Ben Oovi and musing on the vast stretches of geological time. Oh, look, a pebble!

Smallaxe

For independence vote SNP
vote them 1 and 2 and 3
Then vote green 4 to keep us free
vote Indy parties  5 and 6
Libdem now will do the trick
then vote Tory until you’re Sick

Macart

@Smallaxe

Good to see you there Smallaxe. Hope you’re keeping well.

Marie Clark

Ah Smallaxe, good to see you’re back. hope you are feeling okay.

I’ve been away voting till I boaked. It was easier than I thought. 3 seats in our Dee & Glenkens ward, 9 candidates. Lib Dums, Lab and Tories, 7,8 and 9. Nae bother.

Marie Clark

Smallaxe, a wee tune for you. It’s no Bob Marley, but I hope you like it. Dinnae take it literally though.

Smallaxe

Thank you, Marie, Macart, Tinto, Fred, Cactus + All on O/T

I’m just sitting here watching the wheels go round and round
I really love to watch them roll
No longer riding on the merry-go-round
I just had to let it go

“If someone thinks that love and peace is a cliche that must have been left behind in the Sixties, that’s his problem. Love and peace are eternal”.
John Lennon

Thepnr

@Marie Clark

Enjoyed your wee tune and never heard it before, here’s a song I’ve played more than once on Off Topic but not with this video.

It’s a bit different from your mainstream, as we all are 🙂

Marie Clark

Good song Thepnr enjoyed that.

Well Smallaxe, if we’re sitting chilling this one is for all of us.

K1
Thepnr

Thanks Marie and K1 special songs to me.

Here’s another especially for you both, stick with it, two of the best songs ever about love and friendship. You’ll like them I promise.

Thepnr

@Smallaxe

I’ve never heard Ziggy before, a chip off the old block eh.

Smallaxe

I’n’I only ave one ambition y’know, mi only ave one ting mi really like fi si happen, mi like fi si mankind live togetha black white yellow, Everyone. Dat a all!

Marie Clark

Thanks Alex, Bill Withers was wonderful.

Now for something serious.

Brian Doonthetoon

Apologies if any of these have been posted recently. One thing leads to another.

The first one is on my ‘snooze’ playlist, which I’ve been snoozing to the past couple of days.

The next two just continue the ‘rock and roll’ theme.

CameronB Brodie

What future will British nationalism have now it no longer has ‘socialism’ to keep hold of Scotland with? I reckon the two year Brexit process will provide apple evidence that UKOK is an historic legacy of the imperial era, fundamentally Tory in outlook and incapable of securing opportunity for all in an open democracy.

Plenty time to convince the non-ideological No voters to place logic and ethics before tradition and self-interest.

“I switched from coke to pep and I’m a connoisseur
‘Bout time”

Sly and The Family Stone – In Time

CameronB Brodie

Perceived self-interest that is, viewed threw exceptional glasses.

Here’s one Heed prepared earlier.

link to cer.org.uk

CameronB Brodie

through….doh.

Stoker

For viewers in Scotland

Our loss is England’s gain

The devil in the detail

Stoker

Looking up with envy

Every kind of illiterate

Quoted for interest

Stoker

The ghost of devo past

A narrow escape

The Holey Bible

Stoker

SNP wins 2016 Holyrood election

The privilege of stupid

Bungalow Bill

Stoker

Do not adjust your sets

Stacking the deck

The mask slips, part 476

Dave McEwan Hill

The best rock’n’roll song of all time done live by the great James Taylor

Posted in honour of all those who have left us but who are surely still with us today and tomorrow and until we are a nation again

Not Fade Away

Gerry

Dont know if you guys have seen this ye, I hadn’t – Another possible electoral fraud….
link to thecanary.co

Several whistleblowers have made explosive new allegations about Conservative election fraud. Speaking to The Canary, they claim the market research company they worked for started telephone polling for the Conservatives’ election campaign in November 2014 and continued up until the day of the general election in May 2015. The Canary has seen internal email evidence that appears to confirm those dates. But the Conservative Party appears to have only declared spending for work carried out by the company between March and May 2015.

Failure to properly declare election expenses is illegal.

Thepnr

This is fascinating despite being forty years old and about football. I loved it, ah memories.

Ghillie

GOOD LUCK PAULA ROSE !!!

You will make a brilliant Councillor = )

Ian Brotherhood

Friends, this is O/T, even on O/T, but an hour ago I subbed my final dissertation. That’s four years complete.

To give you a suitably literary analogy, I feel like Sisyphus who, having just jumped clear of the big boulder, cracks open a can of Lidl’s best Devonshire Scrumpy and says, with a winning smile, ‘fuck it, that’s me done with that pish!’

It wasn’t ‘pish’ at all. Learned a lot, and enjoyed it. But it was a very serious distraction from the real business at hand and I’m raring to get back into it right now.

Hoots all, and, for better or worse, expect to be hearing a lot more from me for however many weeks, months or years it takes for us to get what we all want.

Slainte, dear brothers & sisters!

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I’m proud of you brother, well done as I know how hard it can be for what you have went through especially in the last 4 years so it couldn’t have been easy with everything else that has been going on.

I for one one look forward to any witterings you may have as we move forward. Great to have you back and I look forward to your Booker prize winning novel.

Tongue in cheek but I think you have it in you, I really do.

Ghillie

Gerry @ 8.21 pm

Yes, I saw that Canary article on MORE tory election illegal practices late last night, posted on Twitter I think.

Have you posted in on the main thread yet?

Sooo many chickens are coming home to roost for the Tories.

THAT is what happens when the likes of the Conservative Party cheat and lie and behave as if they are untouchable and above the law.

Sooner or later decent folk speak out. Well done to the whistle-blowers.

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr

Cheers brother, that means a lot man.

Here’s hoping we see some encouraging results tomorrow. Personally, I just want to see Glasgow freed from Labour control. That, in itself, will signal an irreversible change. Then, it’s a hop-skip-jump to independence.

Hope to see you soon!

Michael McCabe

Let the Music do the Talking. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

It will come to Me link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

The rich man wealth is in his city;
Do you hear, do you believe, do you overstand?!
Destruction of the poor is poverty.
Destruction of the soul is vanity.

cearc

Well done, Ian. Very pleased for you and looking forward to the next novel!

Slainte!

Michael McCabe

I Can’t sing to save myself. If I could I would. THEPNR this song is for you as I think you will like it. Good Morning Smallaxe. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Hi, Michael.

Smallaxe
William Wallace

Come and join us (at a Scottish BBQ)
(tube= etc) [dinnae go mental at me Stu lol] I’m sorry – honest 😉

youtube.com/watch?v=17Z5J7tRVEU

and if you really cannae be bathered then let’s hae a wee gemme o snakes and ladders afore the tourist buses roll in 🙂

“The Portree kid”

youtube.com/watch?v=pUaqkp2xMzY

There could be hammers here 🙂

Tried meh best!

William Wallace

(tube= etc) [dinnae go mental at me Stu lol] I’m sorry – honest 😉

and if you really cannae be bathered then let’s hae a wee gemme o snakes and ladders afore the tourist buses roll in 🙂

“The Portree kid”

There could be hammers here 🙂

Tried meh best!

William Wallace

(tube number) [dinnae go mental at me Stu lol] I’m sorry – honest 😉

17Z5J7tRVEU

“The Portree kid”

pUaqkp2xMzY

There could be hammers here Ehm no triple posting on purpose lol 🙂

Tried meh best!

Tinto Chiel

Thepnr: great memories there and some “tasty” tackling. Notice no-one complained or rolled about like a fan-dancer but just gave it back. The pace seems much quicker than today’s game and much more direct.

Never a penalty!

Well done, Ian B. Great to hear you back in the land of the living.

Now get on with your novel.

David

Renfrewshire:
Tory elected in Ferguslie – but with only 13.2% of the vote.
If they repeat that paltry vote share in next month’s UK general election, they will lose even Fundilymundelly in Dumfries!

Former Labour MP for Paisley & Renfrew North Jim Sheridan was elected in Houston. That’ll keep him busy, as he is not returning to fight for his old seat against SNP’s Gavin Newlands on June 8th.

I cannot see either Newlands in Paisley & Ren N, or Mhairi Black in Paisley & Ren S losing. It is very telling that Labour loser Douglas Alexander is keeping out of it all, he knows they are on a hiding to nothing.

David

The Labour candidate standing against Mhairi Black in Paisley & Renfrewshire South next month is Alison Dowling.
Hmm, an Alison Jean Dowling, representing Scottish Labour, was elected in Renfrewshire’s Ward 10 Houston today, alongside Jim Sheridan.
Double Hmm, @AlisonJDowling is on Twitter, photographed with aforesaid Jim Sheridan, canvassing in Linwood. Looks like it is her.
The thing is, she has retweeted Brian Spanner not once but twice in the last six weeks, and several other times before that. You know, Brian Spanner the vile misogynist who is ‘supported’ by JK Rowling.
She has also approvingly retweeted a bilious Steven Daisley article from the Daily Mail.

And this despite her Twitter account seemingly having been severely pruned back. (To clean up her act, presumably.) She has been online since 2012, but has sent only 451 tweets? Aye right!

I hope this rightwing Blairite gets soundly defeated by Mhairi Black in June.

Stoker

Contractual obligation

The positive face of the Union

Applying topspin

Stoker

Quoted for faith

The Holyrood Hillbillies

The elusive pimpernel

Stoker

By their works shall you know them

The certain death of the Union

Burning the lifeboats

1 50 51 52 53 54 81

Stats: 6,671 Posts, 1,202,952 Comments

• Cynicus on Telling the truth by mistake: ““clapping seals . . .of both sexes . . . who appear to think this ideology is about being kind. “…Nov 23, 00:27
    • Michael Laing on Telling the truth by mistake: “Bellend is a yoon troll.Nov 22, 23:49
    • Robert Matthews on Telling the truth by mistake: “Virtue signalled.Nov 22, 23:19
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Telling the truth by mistake: “Of course, some people don’t think men have souls either…Nov 22, 22:29
    • Ruairidh on Telling the truth by mistake: “The utter lack of respect for ordinary Scots is clear from the way they continually lie to us with no…Nov 22, 22:16
    • Dumbarton Rock on Telling the truth by mistake: “…….. News of an Indy summit coming up! Look out for it…….Nov 22, 21:31
    • twathater on Telling the truth by mistake: “TestingNov 22, 20:46
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Sorry, I forgot to mention all the clapping seals . . .of both sexes . . . who appear to…Nov 22, 20:41
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Only some delusional men ARE playing this game, the rest of us, men, women and children have the pitch queered…Nov 22, 20:34
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “I’ll keep asking you this very simple question until you reply in DIRECT response to the question, with a YES…Nov 22, 20:25
    • Willie Fleming on Telling the truth by mistake: “testNov 22, 20:24
    • sarah on Telling the truth by mistake: “Donation done. Thanks for the nudge.Nov 22, 20:22
    • BLMac on Telling the truth by mistake: “Truly the king has no clothesNov 22, 20:21
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Do you support Scotland becoming a country again? Binary response suffices, canny understand why a simple yes or no should…Nov 22, 20:20
    • Tartanpigsy on Telling the truth by mistake: “Alba, ISP and whatever Peter Bell calls his party are between them going nowhere unless they unite under a pro…Nov 22, 20:15
    • meg merrilees on Telling the truth by mistake: “But does this mean that if you are a woman who has transitioned to a man and holds a GRC…Nov 22, 20:00
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Answer my question, please?Nov 22, 19:56
    • Robert Matthews on The Long Unravelling: “The most recent poll shows No 52 – yes 48.Nov 22, 19:49
    • Skip_NC on Telling the truth by mistake: “Alba stood in one ward and got 4.2% of the vote. We’re not quite where we need to be but…Nov 22, 19:46
    • Campbell Clansman on Telling the truth by mistake: “Do you think Alba–which was stuck at 1% while Alex Salmond was still alive–will ever amount to anything, especially since…Nov 22, 19:36
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Indeed. The GRA needs repealed. The Equality act 2010 can always be tweaked afterwards, IF necessary.Nov 22, 19:19
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “NOT fine by me. But, on many other issues we may agree.Such is life.Nov 22, 19:09
    • Willie Fleming on The Long Unravelling: “They got a wee lesson in Dnepopetrovsk yesterday. And these were purely kinetic weapons, no warheads. A magnificent strike, took…Nov 22, 19:07
    • Chas on Telling the truth by mistake: “I must be old fashioned. I always thought if you had a dick, you were a man. If you had…Nov 22, 19:00
    • Robert Hughes on The Long Unravelling: “Spot-on , my friend . What sickens/concerns me is the scale , the extent and seemingly limitless power to construct…Nov 22, 19:00
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “Do you support Scotland becoming a country again?Nov 22, 18:50
    • Campbell Clansman on Telling the truth by mistake: “Real world: in the 4 council by-elections yesterday, 118 people voted Alba–out of 10,204. The usual 1% for Alba, “the…Nov 22, 18:41
    • Confused on Telling the truth by mistake: “The BBC are starting a new charidee (for the kids) called “Children in Need (of COCK)” – and will feature…Nov 22, 18:32
    • Mia on The Long Unravelling: ““Britain could just tax the rich to fund the winter fuel allowance while still helping U” How exactly is helping…Nov 22, 18:06
    • Nae Need! on Telling the truth by mistake: “And I meant to say, thank you Stu, Chris and whoever else is involved . . . your highly specific…Nov 22, 17:58

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()