According As We Need Them

Posted on July 13, 2025 by

We’ve said it for a lot of years, but “1984” really does contain a complete explanation of every aspect of modern life, and especially politics.

So let’s look at today’s Herald On Sunday, and in particular its “special report”.

The report in question wasn’t originated by the Herald itself, but by Engender, a “charity” (really a lobby quango) almost 100% funded by the Scottish Government, to the tune of hundreds of thousands of pounds a year despite very little in the way of discernible end product or benefit – almost all of the money is actually spent on staffing costs, ie salaries for itself – and focused on “intersectional, inclusive feminism”.

Alert readers will already have been able to immediately and accurately discern from this single piece of information that Engender is in fact an organisation that doesn’t even know what women are – or at least, not until such times as it’s convenient to pretend otherwise for its own benefit.

Among its board of directors is Suzanne McLaughlin, a columnist for The National (quite coincidentally also the partner of its founding editor) and one of Scotland’s most aggressively intolerant transactivists.

Somewhat ironically, she regularly spews abuse on women involved in politics.

But nevertheless, Engender has still taken it upon itself to decry an apparent epidemic of misogyny in Scottish politics. (A word McLaughlin can’t even spell, bless her.)

So what’s the evidence?

The cohort of the study immediately set our spidey-senses tingling. Why were a vastly disproportionate 18% of the participants from the Greens, a party with just 6% of MSPs and which for most of its existence has been one of the least gender-balanced in the Parliament? (Though it finally achieved equality in 2021.)

We wouldn’t like to bet our lives that all of those “women” were actually female.

(The figures above, incidentally, only add up to 81%. Who were the other 19%?)

These lines describe the lives of ALL politicians, of either sex. They are not evidence of misogyny, they’re evidence of the fact that politicians are – largely deservedly – hugely unpopular, more so now than ever.

People who are afraid of heights shouldn’t become airline pilots. The claustrophobic shouldn’t become coal miners. If you’re 6’4″ and 20 stone, you’re not going to make it as a jockey. If you don’t want shot at, definitely stay out of the army. And if you can’t handle people being mean to you, maybe politics isn’t the career choice for you.

Unlike those other professions, it is absolutely intrinsic to the job of a politician that you’re frequently going to make a lot of people unhappy and angry at you, sometimes on purpose. Unless it turns into actual credible threats, you need to be able to cope with that and stop blubbering, or get the hell out of the way, because you’re going to be no use to man or beast.

This next paragraph is simply an astonishingly blatant and audacious lie:

But we’ll come back to that in a minute.

That line tells us literally nothing about anything. “Someone who looks like her” could mean any of a thousand things, and could be equally well applied to a male candidate. It could be someone campaigning in a seat like Eastwood/East Renfrewshire with a keffiyeh on, or maybe a blue-haired Twitler Youth stormtrooper in a deprived working-class area with an elderly demographic, or perhaps a little of both.

Oh, hello again.

So the processes favour people smart enough to understand complex things, and/or diligent enough to put the work in and learn stuff. Gee, how awful. But again, unless Engender are suggesting that women are naturally more stupid and/or lazy than men, it’s difficult to see what sex has to do with it.

Cliques and factions and nepotism? In politics? Crivvens, who knew? But again, no sort of evidence that sex is a pertinent factor.

And it was different for disabled men, was it?

Sadly, it apparently wasn’t possible to say what any of those barriers were. (Or why only women should have caring responsibilities in 2025.)

Brilliant. Maybe they should try prioritising competence. Just a thought, like.

Leaving aside the extremely vague and undefined nature of what might or might not constitute an “inappropriate comment” or a “gendered stereotype” (such as, maybe, suggesting that only women have caring responsibilities?) or “bullying” in an era where someone correctly identifying your sex is often classed as “violence”, that stat in fact suggests that the overwhelming majority of candidates – 76% – NEVER experienced any of those things even once, which sounds pretty good.

Well now. Just a few paragraphs above we were told that selection processes were biased in favour of “white, male, middle-class, non-disabled candidates”. But now we get to the admission that that was a lie. In fact, most parties in Scotland now explicitly, openly and indeed proudly discriminate AGAINST such people.

There are all kinds of ways you can jump the queue to get yourself selected as a politician in Scotland now, so long as you’re NOT a healthy white straight man. Such discrimination is almost certainly illegal, especially if based on self-definition, but is nevertheless regularly undertaken by most of the major parties and celebrated by “civic Scotland” – Engender’s report calls it a “major drive of success” and actually wants such prejudicial treatment against able-bodied white males to be enshrined in the law of the land, despite the fact that most minorities are already significantly OVER-represented in Scottish politics.

In whose head is this “image”? Nobody is identified as holding such a view. It’s all but impossible to escape the conclusion that the answer is “mostly Noomi Anyanwu’s”, because pretending that such bias exists (when in fact the opposite is demonstrably true) provides a comfortable career opportunity for her and her pals and saves them from having to find useful jobs.

(Noomi also finds time to serve as the Chief Executive Officer of Black Voices Austria and work as an “anti-racism, diversity and equity trainer”. We’d give you three guesses as to which Scottish university she obtained her Master’s degree in Human Rights and Diplomacy at, but you’d have two to spare.)

Judging by the Herald’s piece – which we must presume would have cherry-picked the strongest findings of the study for a headline story – it appears that not one single shred of actual data about a supposed epidemic of misogyny has been revealed by Engender’s report. Politicians are being abused on a huge scale, but it’s not because they’re women, it’s because they’re politicians.

We’re sure, however, that this exercise in dedicated grievance-mining and baseless assertions will be more than enough to keep the big Scottish Government cheques rolling in, so that the quango can leap to the government’s defence the next time it needs some professional-“feminist” hauners on its unpopular gender ideology.

And at the end of the day in 2025 Scotland, that’s all that really matters.

0 to “According As We Need Them”

1. Young Lochinvar says:

Oh oh!
    That’ll be you reported to the Polis hurry feels division Rev..

Tell them they’ll never take you alive, that’ll stump them.

2. Colin Dawson says:

I wonder how much of the Scottish budget gets spent on supposed “charities” that are almost entirely funded by the public purse, then lobby for policies that the Scottish government already wants to effect. I wonder how much on-line trolling is funded by the Scottish government in this manner?

• willie says:

If they didn’t publicly fund these faux charities and their loon ball on line trolls to pump out their unwanted propaganda two things would happen.

(1) The wackos would have to get a job, a proper job, to the extent that they could secure real work and

(2) The state funded nonsense that they pump out would be very severely curtailed.

The Scottish Government comprising the SNP and the Greens have spent many many tens, if not hundreds of millions over the years funding these wacko groups.

It’s just an utter shame that the money wasted on them could have been better spent on things that matter – healthcare, education, community support.

But, the wackos in the Scottish Government have no desire to stop supporting these horrible offensive so called charities. Its what parties like the SNP and the Greens do.

Wasteful, rotten to the core in every department, pretend parliament.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Unfortunately yes.

Add in the DEI obsessed LibDems onto the list though, the shark lurking under the waves on this subject in the Labour Party, and the below the radar deviants in the Conservative Party and House of Lords.

The SNP and so called Scottish Greens have just wilfully followed suit and allowed themselves to be easily caricatured; so effing incompetent.

Meantime the “mainstream Westminster parties” are up to their elbows in it, just appear to have a more compliant media to hide behind.

They are all fecked, the whole rotten lot of them..

3. Craig says:

I fuckin despise Scotland now and what it has become, of all nationalities to be born, I had to be born in Scotland, I used to be proud to say I’m Scottish but FUCK THAT, it’s now a becoming a badge of shame and there is next to fuck all we, the ones who are scunnered with this shite can do about it.

I now want the complete removal of Holyrood and England/Westminster can just do what they’ve being doing since 1707 till 1997.

To many Unionists to defeat and too many carrerists feathering their own nests to overthrow in the guise of democracy.

Fuck the NuSNP for killing the dream of an independent Scotland.

Fuck the Scottish Greens for killing the dream of an independent Scotland.

Fuck the Scottish Labour for killing the dream of an independent Scotland.

Fuck the Scottish Libdems for killing the dream of an independent Scotland.

Can’t really be pissed at the Scottish Tories because they have always shown their Unionist credentials since that lot were formed.

4. Gaelstorm says:

Surlely te issue is what were the actual questions in the survey?

5. Lorn says:

The one thing about politicians that I have discovered in my life is that, male or female, black or white, able or disabled, they are the same, mainly. They react to situations identically because they are politicians first and human beings second.

Two of the most destructive people to have ever attained high office in the UK have been female: Margaret Thatcher and Nicola Sturgeon. Neither did anything for other women. Both ensured that female people would be worse off in the longer term, not to mention the shorter.

It is not really their job to do things for other women, anyway, and the same applies to male politicians; they are elected to do their best for ALL of us’ but what would make life a lot easier for all of us would be to ensure that due diligence is done, that risk assessments are carried out and that impact assessments are scrutinised thoroughly.

All potential legislation should have to undergo these stages and the work carried out competently, without fear or favour. This would eliminate a great deal of misogyny and sexism, and other ‘isms’ from legislation long before it gets to the passing stage and problems would be spotted early on in the game.

Of course, that is presuming that the politicians actually want fairness, and most either do not or could not care less if something impacts on one group negatively or detrimentally, and, as we have seen, especially if hat group is female. Since all institutions, including the legislatures, are designed by men for men as the default, it stands to reason that they will favour men, so adjustment ts have to be made in the name of fairness, but not equity which is toxic.

Since they have all graduated through centuries for white people in countries that are white, it seems reasonable to expect them to favour white people, who actually remain the majority of the population, although today’s politicians are desperately trying to reduce those numbers drastically, to the point where white people, especially male white people of the working-class, will be as rare as the dodo.

As for disabled people, if your disability is not your fault, i.e. it was not a conscious decision to disable yourself, then, yes, we should be making room for you, too. However, if you follow a cult-like organization and lobby group, and deliberately mutilate yourself with cross-sex hormones and risky surgery that serves no practical purpose other than to gain access into spaces that were never yours, then we have a problem, equality-wise, socially and economically, not to mention sexually.

Absolutely sick of this woke crap where truth is sacrificed on the altar of lies, psychopathy, sociopathy, sadism, narcissism and porn. We are heading for the abyss, lions led by donkeys again, and all in the name of EDI/Woke.

It is Weakness with a capital ‘W’ and our elites and many of our politicians, media gurus and public institution heads, practise it daily. The Rev is right: why don’t we start electing and employing competent and talented people instead of robotic clones whose braincells have dropped down to their own fundaments to be excreted as EDI/Woke brown stuff?

The ordinary people now have nothing but contempt for most of their politicians, male and female, although sexual epithets are generally reserved exclusively for females, and that is utterly true because weak men like to sexualize their hatred of women. The politicians, however, did it themselves. EDI/Woke ordure is no substitute for courage, resilience and human decency.

• Dan says:

Some did try to start electing decent ordinary individuals who weren’t the usual political clone dross, but youse weren’t interested, so best jist suck it up…

• Lorn says:

And who were these paragons, Dan? I have never in my life simply ticked a box because the candidate reflected me back to myself. I am not SNP, for the millionth time, and I have not voted SNP for a long time either. Every party has betrayed us, especially women and girls, with an alacrity that belies any claims to decency they might try and persuade us to accept. I can say quite honestly that, since WW II, the calibre of politicians has been falling dramatically. We need people who are adept, talented, far-seeing and with a moral centre. So, again, I ask you who your paragons are?

• Dan says:

Maybe try being a bit more alert and receptive to actually reading and taking in what other folk have said in their comments, and look at what other folk are up to outwith the diminishing Wings btl, and you might not have needed to ask…

And where did I ever suggest you were an NuSNP voter that you somehow felt the need to include that in your response.
        I’ve likely read at least 90% of all your posts on here over the years as Lorn, and previous to that, Lorna Campbell; And from that content, there is no way I’d have marked you as a NuSNP voter, unless you’re some mentalist with masochistic tendencies.

So you state every political Party has betrayed “us”. (Natch, you had to add the “especially women and girls” bit as per yer usual mo, even though straight white indigenous Scottish blokes haven’t exactly been well represented with all this globalist woke bollox either).
        And also conclude that the conventional political grifter clone class have sunk to a very low standard, meaning the ordinary folks that make up the “us” electorate are sick of it as low electoral turnouts continue to show disengagement.

So, what are you going to do to address this situation? Just continue typing on the internet how shit genderwoowoo things are, or seek out and join those trying to create a better political alternative to the current shitfest. The latter choice meaning you might have to consider changing your ideals a wee bit and actually support less conventional reluctant politicians that actually align quite well with what you purport to want in terms of policy choices and ethical / moral values.
        They are making the considerable effort to step up and effect change, so some positive support wouldn’t go a miss.

• Lorn says:

You still haven’t told us who these paragons of modern political action are, Dan. Actually, I read very widely and the more I read and experience of mainstream Scottish politics, the more I despair. The fault does not lie in the electorate, but on the woke dross that the electorate is served up as its main course. If you go to a restaurant and they serve just one dish, but that one dish is excellent, you’ll go back; if it’s rubbish, you won’t.

I am well aware that white, working-class males are treated like dirt, and had you bothered to read my earlier post, you’d have understood that. Does that preclude the fact that women and girls in Scotland are also treated abominably? I think not. It is the EDI/woke nonsense that has caused this, not I. What has happened is that mainly middle-class virtue-signallers have infiltrated all aspects of public life and captured them.

They speak for us, they make the laws that restrict and harm us, they cause our children to make claims that are unsustainable and downright dangerous to their own well-being – and, by extension, ours. This virtue-signalling has taken the place of strong and decent discourse. It cannot be beyond the capabilities of humans to create a world where everyone receives a fair deal and no one is left behind.

Yes, it’s probably utopian, but it is still eminently possible – but only if we prevent the psychopaths, sociopaths, sadists, narcissists, porn-sick individuals, etc. from moving into positions of authority. Chaos is not caused by outside forces, but by people choosing nihilism and chaos for the fun of it, for the sheer joy of seeing other people squirm and suffer. We still don’t understand that. When we grow up enough to prevent these people from rising to the top, pinpoint them as dangerous at a very much earlier stage, we will have a chance. Otherwise, they will drive us all to the abyss and push us into the void – because they will get a kick, possibly even the ultimate sexual thrill, from it.

• Captain Caveman says:

@Lorn

Excellent post, in my humble opinion.
        How did we get here?

• Lorrn says:

Caveman: because we allowed our common decency and sense of fairness to dominate our older, more innate and evolutionary senses where we ‘knew’ viscerally that DEI/woke was a recipe for disaster. As a species, and in common with every other species one Earth, we have a visceral sense of self-preservation and knowledge when something just feels off; if we override that sense that has evolved over millennia, we are doing ourselves harm.

I think women have it to a far greater degree than men which is why it is women have been the ones to keep a consistent reservation about DEI/Woke which has been proved to be right; on the other hand, it is also females who have been most in favour – at least, superficially, because it has always been driven by men – of allowing DEI/Woke to advance, through some misguided belief that ‘kindness’ is good even when they are being manipulated and lied to, as we are seeing all the time.

It is a paradox that is not easily explained unless you accept that women and girls have always had to fear (some) men and both being alert to the aggressive tendencies of some of them so they, the females, can escape, and the need to ingratiate themselves with aggressive men as a defence mechanism. It is also way below the consciousness, I think.

6. Anthem says:

Alba could make a lot of ground exposing these so called “charities “, on how much they cost the taxpayer, who they are, and who they serve.
    It’s time to name and shame.

• Campbell Clansman says:

Alba would have to “make a lot of ground” to get to 2% of the vote.

7. Bill Fraser says:

I am wondering if this organisations status as a charity could be challenged under the “Charity Test ” it certainly seems to fail the test that it supplies a public benefit not outweighed by a private benefit to its employees. And it might seem to allow ministerial control of its actions if not its stated objectives.

8. Frank Gillougley says:

And so it goes. Incestuous faux academics shall speak unto incestuous faux academics funded by us the hoi polloi. The world is now a Flann O’Brien novel (no relation to him of 1984 infamy) and I have totally turned off and dropped out. I received a 5-page letter from the British Government the other day printed on Izal toilet paper. It said, ‘We have decided that I can get my claim for a state pension’. How gracious of them I thought for after me donating heartily to their coffers for 35+ years and here was me at the very least wanting a telegram from the Queen. All of the people involved in this customary dissection by the Rev live on another planet. Nobody is giving a shit while there is this amount of sheer political corruption in plain sight. I do wish we were given 1984 as a Scottish higher novel. Instead we had to endure Charles fucking Dickens and Great fucking Expectations. My thoughts exactly…

9. twathater says:

ALL of this pish is our own fault because we stood by and allowed these fuckwits to gain power, and it is NOT just the Scum Nonce Party who are infested with these morons , take a look around you and remember all the politicians and political parties enthusiastically embracing all manner of woke and minority groups trying to outdo each other in the progressive caring civic lottery of DEI,BLM,PRIDE,Equal Marriage, Equal Partnerships, Gay Adoption and many many others
    We have had the Scum Nonce Party eagerly and enthusiastically announcing publicly that we have the GAYEST wee parliament in the whole WORLD
    It didn’t matter that they were also the most imbecillic , MORONIC and incompetent group of fuckwits to ever hold public office we ALL had to celebrate their gayness and diversity

And so it will continue until people realise that colour,diversity,race,ethnicity,disability, sexual deviance and perversion does NOT automatically bestow intelligence on the individual and that they should ONLY be chosen in respect of their competence

FUCK their FAKE equality agenda

10. Effijy says:

So much tax payer cash directed to nonsense quangos.
    I’ve never yet seen one of these bodies produce anything worthwhile.
    How about everyone of them gets one months notice and all funds are redirected to reducing NHS waiting times.
    Quack Quangos or Quality of Life is an easy one for me.

• willie says:

The Scottish Government under the SNP and the Green is a quack quango Effijy.

No one should be in any doubt about that.

The funding of wacko propaganda groups is but one waste of money pit. But there are so many many more waste of money pits. Education is an example. Ferry services are another. The costs of legal fees and compensation to people wronged another.

Who for example can forget the SG sticking by their interpretation of a transwoman only to be thrown out of court. And now the compensation claims roll in.

And the local authorities. The SG know fine well they are corrupt, rotten to the core. But do they do anything. And their agencies like the National Park Authorities does anyone really understand who money pits these organisation are.

Big stushie just now too about a commercial real estate deal called Flamingo Land. Behind the curtains there is a secret exclusive agreement that no one is allowed to have details about. Selling the family silver for pennies in a land give away, or glad handing the developer with sweetheart deals we don’t know – its a secret. One thing we do know from recent events is that the ex Finance Minister and Planning Minister the disgraced Derek Mackay is acting as a consultant for the developers.

The skid marks of grease is every where you look and people really need to wake up to the swamp of inefficiency, glad handing and downright corruption that is drowning everyone. Not I may add that Westminster is any better because it isn’t – just more polished at hollowing out peoples pockets.

But yes, stopping funding of these so called charitable trojan horses would be a start to spending tax payer money on things that matter to people. Its a small start.

• Alf Baird says:

Dinna forget oor 19 “charitable trojan horses” masquerading as ‘Scottish’ universities, aye run by the ‘great and good’ appointees from Better Together lala Brit-land with its dubious ideology and values.

As Memmi wrote, “nothing of the colonizer’s is appropriate for the colonized”, and that includes their institutions.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“nothing of the colonizer’s is appropriate for the colonized”

Stand out post from Professor Baird.

Anybody with him on calling for England to do a G@za on us? I mean, “nothing” means “nothing”, right?

I guess we should keep Stirling Castle and the Ring of Brodgar, or are they tainted by the (checks spelling) coloniser as well?

Hey! I’ve just had a brainwave. Should we do a G@za on ourselves? A bit like the Covid Spreaders did on themselves when they still believed in all their proletarian revolution guff?

Worth pointing out that when the Covid Spreaders methodically destroyed everything they could lay their hands on from the “before time”, they still decided they could all continue to use the same language.

But from Professor Baird’s previous posts, I think he wants us all to ditch English and use Scots instead.

[It’s obvious there will be dispensations for a selected few in the Scottish government to read and write English for when they are communicating with the external world. Thus, even in Fanon’s and Memmi’s post-colonial utopia, some castes will continue much as before. Anybody want to bet that the Independent Scottish universities will offer degrees in English literature, and that being fully literate in English will be the entry ticket into the new iScotland’s ruling elite?]

11. agent x says:

“The Scottish National party has voted heavily in favour of introducing all women shortlists and “balanced” regional lists, reversing decades-long opposition to positive action.

SNP officials refused to disclose the voting numbers and would not allow media into the debate – fearing it would be heated, but in a closed session of the party’s pre-election conference at the SECC in Glasgow delegates gave the party’s national executive three new powers to push women candidates forward.

The vote, which saw two amendments against the motion defeated, has empowered the NEC to:

introduce an all-women shortlist for a Holyrood seat where the sitting MP stands down

ensure that any open shortlist for a constituency seat has at least one women candidate

introduce “balanced lists” on the regional list, where the list has to have an equal number of male and female candidates.”
    link to theguardian.com

• Campbell Clansman says:

“All-women” (or all-men) shortlists are openly discriminatory.
      In other words, the SNP hates democracy and hates letting the voters decide who gets elected, but loves sex discrimination.

• Lorn says:

It is not only the candidate who have to be selected very carefully to weed out the incompetent – and being female is no automatic guarantee of competence – but the policies themselves, the laws that are passed. This is where the endemic unfairness lies. These policies and laws must new assessed stringently before passing as to their likely impact on every demographic in society.

Until the 20th century, male was the default in all societies in the West, as well as everywhere else, so it is going to take time and effort to achieve ‘balance’ and it should not be sought at the expense of choosing the best person for the job, even if that person is white, male and stale. If policies and laws are inherently fair to everyone, and politicians and others are scrutinized strictly for corruption and graft and self-serving, if lobbying groups are restricted, then we might have some hope of changing things to something closely resembling a decent society for all.

• Whit? says:

‘White, male and stale.’ Dumb fuck racism, sexism and ageism in one cliched hateful phrase. Well done.

12. sarah says:

@ Lorn at 6.34: “who are these paragons?”.

I think Dan may be referring to the Independents for Independence who stood in 2024 e.g. Sally Brown [Perth] and Eva Comrie [Grangemouth]. Also ISP Colette Walker et al. And others such as Libertarian, Sovereignty, SSP, perhaps Alba i.e. people of principle who aren’t in it for the gravy.

• GM says:

Aye Sarah, there are plenty of good people out there. That does not make the ‘Scottish’ elite any easier to thole particularly now that the SNP parasites are part of that wage stealing club. You would think these thieves would be happy with the status and money? But no, they also like to appear in the press dishing out moral lectures to us. Galling doesnae quite cover it.
      It would be irrational not to despise them.

• sarah says:

@ GM: I agree. I can’t wait to see the back of them. We all know people in our own neighbourhoods who stand head and shoulders above every single one in Holyrood in integrity and ability.

• GM says:

Very true. Nothing for it but to keep the faith and take the genuine option when it is on offer at the ballot box

• Lorn says:

Indeed, Sarah, and I have stated quite clearly that I would vote for any of them if they were to stand in my constituency. Otherwise, I’ll stay at home or, better, spoil my ballot paper. However, at the end of the day, as I also keep on saying, if the DEI/woke nonsense that now rules every aspect of our lives is not removed, even these decent people will be in no position to do anything. The SG itself is totally captured, as is the Scottish civil service, all the public institutions. Just how can you hope to achieve anything when these people, embedded everywhere, are absolutely determined to undermine it all?

They want control and they want to milk the system. They are nihilists who cloak themselves in ‘just be kind’. That is precisely why they embedded themselves in the first place. A lot of it is sheer ignorance and stupidity, some of it may even be relatively well-intentioned, but much of it is also deliberate and ill-intentioned. When are people going to understand that we have allowed an entire generation of the most vicious, control freaks and sociopaths to attain high office and embed themselves throughout our public institutions?

• sarah says:

I am not quite as pessimistic, Lorn! If enough good people get into Holyrood they will tell the civil servants what the law is and will only allow civil servants to do what the good guys instruct.

As for when will people understand that sociopaths and fetishists are in high office etc? Either the MSM will all report it or the good guys in Holyrood will make it clear.

The latter is the most likely, I’m afraid, the establishment being what it is. So our job is to inform people and do what we can for Liberate Scotland campaign and candidates.

And of course continue to recruit signatories on the Liberation petition to the United Nations i.e. sign to join the liberation movement. People only have to sign – no fee and no other obligation [though if they also joined the campaigning arm Salvo.scot that would help]. I hope this link will work http://www.liberation.scot

13. holymacmoses says:

A tweet from our Suzanne on journalistic integrity.
    Her kitchen is full of pots and kettles:-)

“Suzanne McLaughlin
    @Suzemclaughlin

Not an ounce of journalistic integrity. She should be sacked immediately.
    One cannot simply include their personal opinion into other peoples direct quote.
    YOUR job
    @MartineBBC
    is to report accurately – NOT opine.
    Despicable”

14. Shug says:

What is the Herald and National doing getting tied up with such a bunch of self serving weirdos
    Are there no real journalists in the country.
    Thank god Sturgeons gone

15. Andrew Kidd says:

There is another article in the Herald where a female politician is complaining that people are disagreeing with everything she says.

• sarah says:

What on earth did she expect?

16. James Cheyne says:

All politicians seem to be using 1984 as their new go too cult bible.
    When Scotland comes to terms with who the Scottish governance is, where it was created and for what purpose.
    The Scotland act, Colonialism and third tier laws legislation crapping all over Scotland would stop,

And for that to happen we have to recognise the root cause of how all it came about and what led us to the deliberate lack of quality leaders we have had in the past and in the present today.
    No point in trying to paint over the the rotten woodwork. Which is what Scotland has continued doing centuries,
    1984 will continue to be used as the woke crazies cult bible over Scots as a funded charity, given royal assent to carry on.

17. James Cheyne says:

All ill’s and ailments have a foundational beginning, if not recognised and dealt with the illness becomes progressive.

18. `The charity industry in Scotland handles over £15 billion of income each year`

40% and over goes on staff wages.

Macmillan Cancer Support UK receive £200,000,000 a year and spend nearly £90,000,000 on staff costs.

I remember it being said that the husband when he left Uni went into politics the bank or civil service and the wife joined the board of a charity.

19. Anthem says:

Probably true Scot but what can we do about it?
    They are a law unto themselves with full political support.
    Maybe name and shame is the only way. Let the public know.

20. sam says:

From MBM Policy

link to murrayblackburnmackenzie.org

“On 25 April, following the judgment in the UK Supreme Court, we wrote to Angela Constance MSP, Cabinet Secretary for Justice, asking the Scottish Government to withdraw the Scottish Prison Service (SPS) policy of housing some male prisoners in parts of the prison estate reserved for women, based on their self-declared gender identity. Others, including For Women Scotland (FWS), have made the same argument. Questions have been asked in the Scottish Parliament by Pam Gosal MSP, Annabelle Ewing MSP and Stephen Kerr MSP.

This blog looks at the reply we received, which is in line with those given to MSPs and FWS, and explains why the Minister’s attempt to distance herself from decisions taken in relation to the policy is misdirection. We set out the relationship between Ministers and the SPS, and explain why, in the event of any court case, it is Scottish Ministers who would be sued.”

Court case?

• GM says:

I hope so, they aren’t going to resign – the courts, despite the procurator fiscal being unreliable, is the only public body that can check their corruption and incompetence.

21. Northcode says:

There are, according to the French, five classes of bourgeoisie; le petite, la moyenne, le grande, le haute, and l’ancien.

Scotland’s mundane political class and its partner of choice, la moyenne bourgeoisie (what we would call in modern terms the average middle class and the lowest, bar one – le petite bourgeoisie, of the five French classes), are not only uninterested in improving the lives of the Scots, they are incapable of doing so even if they earnestly saw that noble cause as the reason for their existence.

Indeed, they would more than likely make things even worse for the Scots than they are now:

“The trouble with ignorance is that it feels so much like expertise…

In many cases, incompetence does not leave people disoriented, perplexed, or cautious. Instead, the incompetent are often blessed with an inappropriate confidence, buoyed by something that feels to them like knowledge.

The way we traditionally conceive of ignorance – as an absence of knowledge – leads us to think of education as its natural antidote. But education can produce illusory confidence…

Because it’s so easy to judge the idiocy of others, it may be sorely tempting to think this doesn’t apply to you. But the problem of unrecognized ignorance is one that visits us all.

Extract from ‘We Are All Confident Idiots’ (2014)

an article by David Dunning; American social psychologist and professor of psychology at the University of Michigan.

I’ve been aware of my own boundless ignorance and unfettered idiocy for quite some time now – ever since I failed the 11+.

However, counter-intuitively and according to David Dunning (one half of the well-known Dunning-Kruger duo), the mere fact that I’m aware that I’m an ignorant idiot makes me more suited to holding a high office of state than those ignorant idiots who are unaware they are ignorant idiots and who currently hold such offices in Scotland.

And there was me thinking being an ignorant idiot didn’t pay – I should have realised my mistake when I discovered what Scottish politicians and their expert advisors were being paid for their ‘intelligent solutions’ to Scotland’s manifold problems.

• Breeks says:

I like the David Dunning quotation, but the ignorance which ails Scotland exists by design, which means it is something beside ignorance. There is something far more sinister going on, which people are beginning to recognise as colonial interference.

Scottish ingenuity thrives abroad and away from Scotland. Just look at Stuart Ballantyne and his catamaran ferries. Why should this be so?

It’s the same reason why Scotland has 96% of UK oil, but yet has zero refineries with Grangemouth gone, while oil barren England has five. We have no steel industry or ship building industry to build North Sea support vessels, nor turbines for Scotland’s tidal power prowess. Capital Wealth Fund? No, you get a McCrone Report as consolation prize.

Uniquely, Scotland gets poorer the more oil we find, and Scottish Industry gets less and less efficient the closer production comes to Scotland’s shores. Funny that eh?

Scotland isn’t just colonised. Scotland is harvested like a cash-cow being milked on a daily basis, and we’re all indoctrinated from cradle to grave to feel proud that the product being stolen is the very finest product Scotland can produce. Then we deal with the pain and humiliation of this inequitable theft through our prolific Scottish stoicism. Wha’s like us, eh?

It doesn’t feel like a frailty, but actually, a goodness in our psyche that’s being exploited. Scotland seems undone by a blind indifference to colonial corruption the way Native Americans and Australian Aboriginals are undone by their weakness to drink.

I don’t think it is an ignorance blighting Scotland. I think people are easily debilitated and subdued the moment they’re denied hope.

When it comes to hope, Swinney’s SNP has squandered the lot. They’ve holed the bottom of our boat. C____ts.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Nice try, NC, but easily discounted, as you have failed to provide any evidence for your assertion that Scotland’s high heid yins are unaware that they are ignorant idiots.

What I see when I look at and listen to many of them are self-evidently, self-identifying ignorant idiots. They proudly wear their ignorant idiocy not only on their sleeves, but on their name badges, their social media identities, and their bumper stickers too.

And it’s precisely because they are ignorant idiots, fully aware of their ignorant idiocy, that so many of Scotland’s ignorant idiots vote them in, time after time.

And we are on course to vote them in again in 2026.

22. sam says:

Rooting out this woke nonsense is Sisyphean.

For Women Scotland are taking the EHRC to task over its wokeness.

link to forwomen.scot

EHRC said:

“Following the UK Supreme Court ruling in For Women Scotland, this definition is no longer accurate, because a GRC does not change your legal sex for the purposes of the Equality Act 2010. We have therefore updated this definition throughout the code to be:

‘Legal sex is the sex that was recorded at your birth.’

The explanation of the updated legal definition of sex is clear.

FWS said “STRONGLY DISAGREE”

EHRC said

“Is there anything you would change to make the explanation this update clearer?”

FWS said

“The Supreme Court judgment clarified “sex has its biological meaning throughout this legislation”.(para 209).

Neither the Equality Act nor the Supreme Court judgment (except when quoting EHRC submissions) mention the concept of “legal sex”, so it should not be used in the Code of Practice.

Neither the Equality Act or the Supreme Court judgment mention “sex that was recorded at birth”, so it should not be used in the Code of Practice.

Sex is a biological fact and this is independent of what may be recorded on the certificate at the time of a person’s birth. Errors in records do happen, albeit extremely rarely, and a mechanism in law exists to make later corrections in such cases. A redefinition of sex by the EHRC to mean as recorded at birth would allow, for example, Imane Khelif to continue boxing in the female competition despite being male.”

23. James Cheyne says:

Northcode.

The trouble with ignorance is that it can, if left unfettered become an indoctrination of the mind. Even if self inflicted over time,
    That progressively subverts to a paralyses of and to become the colonised mindset.
    At best it is difficult to retrain the brain back in time from the colonised mind into correcting the ignorance if it is blocked by the paralyses state,
    Inevitably the chosen path Causing the inability to rewire or relearn the gap to older original . information
    Not dissimilar in many ways to the path ways that are broken and unable to remember with the onset of Alzheimers or Dementia,
    The origin of the past is often forgotten and only snippets of thread memory link present day activities to the past,
    But the family remember how the past is connected today from yesterday and live with the complete history of the past regardless.

The discrepancy nowadays is deciding how much is self inflicted out of fear, for with the return of connected memory comes ones own responsibility towards the future.
    Not only for ones self, but for all those around you.

24. Confused says:

mythology – when Edward 1 stole the stone of destiny it was to make himself legitimate, for a “true king” must be crowned over it. Ancient guff by God, but they do take it seriously when it suits them. Stealing it back (can a thief be robbed?) was hugely symbolic of course. Now this – with no explanation or speculation; “a disturbance in the force”. The attire of the man is telling.

link to archive.ph

saw this and thought of wings very good friend, Alf

link to archive.ph

– on reflection of the piece the notion of “Scotland as a Lunatic Asylum” seems very apt.

One of the more immediately shocking things about asylums (the first thing you notice) is the relentless deviancy of the inmates (they have no filter) and the questionable notion of “consent”, whether or not it makes sense.

“slabbering idiots all playing grab-ass … “

• Hatey McHateface says:

“Scotland as a Lunatic Asylum”

When Confused writes on a subject so aligned with his own, lived experience, it behoves us all to pay heed.

• Confused says:

I was never an inmate

unlike yourself. Did we meet?

– if they had held onto the asylums we could have solved the tranny program easily.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“can a thief be robbed?”

Now I’m confused, Confused.

You have stated on here many times that when it comes to possession of that parcel of real estate we know as the Holy Land, then the thief CAN be robbed.

So if now you’re saying that the thief CANNOT, then I guess that’s progress.

• Breastplate says:

John Main,
        You Unionists seem to routinely register your disapproval on the reliance of 300 year old documentation, but accept with ease, implausible stories of myths, miracles and magic from the Middle East, older than a millennium. Or as some may believe from the dawn of existence.

You may believe that the great white invisible man in the sky bestowed a special land upon a religious group of people if you wish, but please be aware that others might be a bit more sceptical about the Ancient Chronicles of Make Believe by Omnipotent B. Ing.
        Pop-up versions available.

• Mark Beggan says:

I’m getting out of here. They’re all mad!

• Stuart says:

Mark Beggan says:

I’m getting out of here. They’re all mad!

You mean you have only just noticed-;)

• Northcode says:

Excellent article about a young Martinican psychiatrist’s time studying with the great Francesc Tosquelles at the Saint-Alban psychiatric asylum.

Thanks for the link, Confused.

• James says:

Funny how the unionist rag describes the removal of the stone from a thief as ‘notorious’….

• Confused says:

guy charged was an “aussie”, in a kilt; maybe done an ancestry.com and got told he was “connor macleod of the clan macleod … “, that and after seeing Freddie Mercury playing at Live Aid, probably put him over the edge.

– if charged by the sheriff I would have liked him to say :

“there can be ONLY ONE – and I will defeat you, Kurgan … ”

genetics, genetics, connections; “the Kurgan” was this stupendous, mighty and evil warrior, from the “Kurgan” tribe from the steppes. It sounds to me like this “kurgan”, the evil warrior who intends to enslave all mankind, is really The Khazar, which takes us to the 13th Tribe by Arthur Koestler, and a “controversial” hypothesis for the origins of east european, i.e. ashkenazi, jewry.

– our persistent very good friend, main, in his determination to promote the claims of the bootleg heebs, opens up, as he typically does, an entire can of whupass for himself …

jews are into genetics; you will, yet again, find a lot of these ancestry companies are tribal owned; there is a lot of money in telling dumb americans they are really descended from highland warriors or savage vikings, but more than that, DNA databases are very valuable, certainly in the future.

At the start of this was, a typically jewish scam – the issies wanted to be able to PROVE THEY WERE REALLY FROM THE MIDDLE EAST, and they also wanted to find SOME DISEASE THAT WOULD KILL THE ARABS, but not them. It all went very wrong – first up they found the ashkenazi and sephardics are quite different, then more worryingly, the sephardics and the palestinians were pretty close in genetic terms.

This was all very embarrassing and they tried to hush it all up; some fool who published a paper on this had to retract it, even though it was all peer reviewed.

the palestinians are probably the descendants of the biblical hebrews, they became christian and then muslim with the conquest. There was no diaspora because the romans were in the empire business and holding territory without people in it is pointless as no one can work the land, create wealth and thus pay taxes.

But the lying continues – everywhere in the ME you will find rich archeology, but the issies have been trying to find anything that connects them to their “ancestal homelands” and they just can’t; even the wailing wall is not part of the temple, but the roman garrison.

So why do these fucking ASBO psychopaths get to drag everyone in the world – the british empire, the american empire, into their insane, not even close to reality, “ancient guff”?

– the answer is probably blackmail; they have the polaroids on all these western politicians who go on “fact finding” trips. It would explain a lot.

and it all takes us back round again, to deviant politicans who can’t leave it alone, for as the saying goes : “a drunk arse has no owner”

ancient guff has been a very productive article of provocation, I could riff on it all day; sad how few people really grasp how deep the guff goes and how, maybe later.

• Alf Baird says:

Thanks for the info, Confused.

In particular, “Fanon’s theory of “disalienation” — the idea that for the colonized to escape from their physical chains they also needed to break down the mental barriers holding them back from doing so”, which helps explain the native who continues to oppose his own liberation. In oor case the Scots Naw voter.

But essentially Fanon is right, we are dealing with a serious ‘condition’ which is a consequence of colonialism; and where such a conditioned people really are made to believe there is a UK ‘Union’ and hence also that “the moon is made of cheese” (Cesaire) and anything else the oppressor cares to imagine to be in his interest.

• Captain Caveman says:

‘… hence also that “the moon is made of cheese” (Cesaire)’

I’m sorry, but you just have to laugh, right?

Heaven knows, we could all do with some light relief courtesy of our oft (mis)quoted BTL stalwart Cesaire.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Seriously, Alf? You’re now getting info from the scatological ravings of Confused?

‘as the saying goes : “a drunk arse has no owner”’

What are your plans for that one? Reference it or incorporate it entire into your next ferry proposal?

The best explanation I can come up with for your most recent post is that there are two Alf Baird’s. One is a respected professor.

The other one isn’t.

• twathater says:

And as if any proof were required about the relationship of yoons and lunacy, immediately up pops Bastard Tax MOAN and Corporal Batshit, it won’t be too long before the other cringers arrive

• Hatey McHateface says:

Writing of drunk arses …

• Captain Caveman says:

@TwatByName

You know what they say, “there’s no fool like an old fool”.
        Silly old sod. Take up bowls or something.

25. Mark Beggan says:

The Gravy boat is just a woke away.
    Just a woke away
    Just a woke away.

• Hatey McHateface says:

In this heat you need to be eating salads.

26. Dan says:

In a bid to disrupt mental Main’s posting stream…
    Related to this article, there’s a fair few quid being spaffed away on this sort of thing.

link to caltonjock.com

Plus all manner of other hardly important in the scheme of things shit gets muchos cash too.
    IIRC there was 2 million quid for an archaeological dig on a short section of proposed new A9, even though the ground has been extensively altered and disturbed with previous initial A9 works. I suppose there may be value for collectors in digging up Tennent’s larger tins with the lingerie clad ladies on them…

27. Northcode says:

I posted one of ma braw poems recently about the demon Nuckelavee being cawd up fae the depths o’ the sea tae fleme (banish) thaim Ingles an chiss thaim back tae their ain hame giein us Scots a chance tae clean oors efter the mess thae left ahint thaimsels hingin aboot it fir three hunner year – clarty bastirts.

And I thought since there’s such huge interest in the Scots resurrecting their rustit language and gettin’ it back up oan its feet and runnin’ agin I’d post anither o’ ma braw poems.

It only costs as much as a caramel fae the haufpenny tray (that’s a haufpenny fir those o ye wha canna dae rithmetic) so dive right in there and get chewin’:

Quiet Voice

Fae the wryblis o the arely licht
    Whaur ilkan maument langsom streetch
    Tae the wirblin o the drawyn nicht
    Whaur nae maister’s baney haun kin reetch

Atween the mune an thon faur warld
    In yonder place maist cunnyng ruse
    Whaur bairns an weans let oot thair skirls
    Whin fortyfyed wi tawse an bruse

Fir mony year ye leeved thair lie
    An mony year abuf
    Yit lurken neath yon schaddowed crye
    A whispert, “that’s eneugh”

Fir a’m fae stock lyke lyin’ graith
    A cannae be removit
    A’m thence an nou in aw guid faith
    An here am a tae pruve it

Aye muckle misst an it sae trew
    Thair cucoo wirds emotioun laikin’
    Yer auncient threed aye wovyn thru
    Those herts thae coud hiv niver taiken

An nou at laist ma weakened voyce
    Wi ilkan wird thit’s thocht an speykyn
    Gangs strinth tae strinth wi eitch dey’s ryse
    An wi wryblis o dawn’s licht awaikens

Thae telt ye a wis lang syne gane
    An pit anither in yer heid
    But a’m yer senew, hyde an bane
    Yer hert, yer sowel…yer leid

If ma poem daesna inspyre Scots fowk tae lairn thaimsels thair ain language agin… weel, a dinna ken whit wad.

Mibbe ‘Fyfty Schades o’ Grae’ transcribed tae the Scots leid wid dae the trick… wha kens?

Thon Sturgeon haes a wee book oot the noo cawd ‘Frankly’.

I know, my dears… I don’t give a damn either, but it might be fun to transcribe some o’ whitiver drivel it contains to Scots first and do the the Fyfty Schades o’ Grae efter.

I might have said this before, a canna mind fir shuir, but Scots is a braw language.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Enjoying your use of iambic quadrameter, NC.

And your random departures from it too.

If you’re taking requests, highlights from Love Island, translated into Scots daily, would really get readership numbers soaring.

• agent x says:

@ Northcode

I notice there has been minimal, or maybe make that no support or encouragement for your poems on here.

• Alf Baird says:

Development of poetry in the native tongue forms a key part of the liberation process and in understanding the colonial condition of the oppressed group.

• Confused says:

there was a young poster on wings
        cheap snarky disruption his thing

agent x was his name
        the union his game

but no-thing of consequence
        ever did he sing

• Hatey McHateface says:

Poetry is all very well if you’re into that sort of thing.

But when it comes to illustrating the oppressed colonial condition, and then illustrating the throwing off of the shackles on the route to liberation, I reckon mime and interpretative dance are the only way to go.

• DaveL says:

‘…on the route to liberation, I reckon mime and interpretative dance are the only way to go.’ Can you explain why or how? Maybe you know of some good examples, let me know. Thanks.

• Hatey McHateface says:

@DaveL says: 15 July, 2025 at 2:20 am

“Can you explain why or how?”

I think you’re new here, Dave.

So you won’t know that explaining things is not how it’s done on Wings BTL.

Rev Stu’s articles are masterpieces of insight and forensic dissection. Scottish journalism as it should be, perhaps only granted perspective and freedom by being done from beyond Scotland’s oppressively parochial and blinkered borders. In England’s green and pleasant land, in fact.

Whereas the BTL comments are none of what I just wrote.

• James says:

Excellent, Northcode.

Keep ’em coming.

• agent x says:

@ James

What in particular did you find Excellent?

• Northcode says:

Thanks, James.

Here’s another:

mirkie watter

Rever stanes smuithed roond; shaped by watter no thair ain; drouned in silence, worn awa tae nuthin.

It’s called a Tercet (22 syllables, unmetered and unrhymed) and it’s a Scots version of one I wrote a while back.

28. Gribble says:

On the subject of intimidation on the stump, the impression as often given that this is a worsening problem. But history says otherwise: I was struck by a description of John Major’s infamous soapbox’ tour in the ’92 election which had the following description: ‘eggs were thrown, suits torn, and blood spilt.’

29. 100%Yes says:

For those interested in Scotland, the message about the union is making its mark.

link to menafn.com

• Stuart says:

In short, flat earthers believe that the earth is flat.

To set you straight Professor Alf Baird is no more an expert on constitutional law than I am.

Neither is Craig Murray, or Sarah Salyers, etc, etc.

These people are just talking to themselves in their own little middle class bubble.

Apart from when the Russians get involved….

link to barrheadboy.com

“100%Yes says:

25 June 2025 at 8:51 pm

I really enjoyed the show, who knows in three years or sooner would could have the answer we have all been waiting for.

I was glad the Russians asked for the documents I hope our friends in Russia make good use of them.”

So cosying up to Putins genocidal orcs is going to get us Indy?

Somehow I hae ma doots about this.

The folks behind Salvo/Liberation Scotland really need to think about how bad this is going to look, and it’s not good nice to see though 100%Yes, that you are honest enough to admit that the ends justify the means.

Now let’s see how many others agree with you.

30. James Cheyne says:

There was many a ballad ,poem or prose written in Scots language about the condition of Scots and Scotland in 1700s and later that are worth remembering.

It is also worth remembering that one of the reasons that some of the laws of Scotland were considered “repealed ” by the England Westminster parliament was due to ( their) explanation that Scots lawes, written in Scots language could not be fathomed or understood in Westminster parliament down south,

So these Scots laws from before the Treaty of Union written in Scots natural language were considered obsolete, expired and repealed by the rebranded Westminster parliament of England,

For those wishing to seek out this information, it is wrote down in English in the records of Westminster parliament.
    Obsolete, expired and repealed laws of Scotland is the clue to get you Started,

31. James Cheyne says:

100%Yes.

Additional info to contribute to the illegal fiction of the union, which refers to the monarch of England and the Acts of the parliament of England prior to the ToU parliament becoming activated And the Great Seal of England used as the one and the same Seal of Great Britain prior to the union taken place or members sitting in the new parliament. In fact the monarchs Seal of Englands/ Great Britain was used to summon the Scottish peers and members to the parliament of England,

Treaty of Union, Article XX11:
    The Great Seal of England in the meantime may be used as the Great Seal of the United Kingdom by Her Majesty,
    And a Writ do issue under the Great Seal of the United Kingdom ( Englands) commanding the Privy Council of Scotland to cause Sixteen Peers and Forty members……etc.

The monarch of England and the Great Seal of England held meantime as a duplicate Great Seal of Great Britain to complete Union and The treaty of union prior to the Englands Great Britain.

Not a shared monarch in the treaty of Union before or after 1707,
    But the monarch of England using the Great Seal of England as the Great Seal of Great Britain prior to Great Britain existing.

• 100%Yes says:

The message is getting out there, that’s good news.

• Stuart says:

Aye…

Flat earthers believe the earth is flat.

You keep believing son, the mother ship will be along any moment now.

• Mark Beggan says:

Boo hoo.
      What a shame.
      Nevermind.

32. sam says:

The Bubblyjock
    by Hugh MacDiarmid

It’s hauf like a bird and hauf like a bogle
    And juist stands in the sun there and bouks.
    It’s a wunder its heid disna burst
    The way it’s aye raxin its chouks.

Syne it twists its neck like a serpent
    But canna get oot a richt note
    For the bubblyjock swallowed the bagpipes
    And the blether stuck in its throat.

33. James Cheyne says:

The monarch of England by descent and succession , and the Great Seal of England used the terminology the Great Seal of the United Kingdom as one and the same. Prior to the union.

There is, nor ever was a United Kingdom between the two Countries as Scotland and England.

The monarch of England and the parliament of England alone made the decision to delete Scotlands Great Seal of Scotland to Minor role, To dissolve the parliament of Scotland, and leave Scotland without a monarch in the treaty of union,
    And summon Scots into the parliament of England under the Great Seal of Englands United Kingdom of Great Britain.

As can be read from Article XX11 there was no such Seal as the Seal of the United Kingdom of Great Britain at that time period. And no shared monarch or parliament.

Acting as The monarch of England and under the English bill of rights she sent Commissioners to Scotland as the monarch of England.
    Not as the shared Monarch with Scots or Scotland.
    The ToU between the two kingdoms of Scotland and England is as faux as the political parliamentary union between Scotland and England as the parliament of England and the monarch of England dissolved the Scottish parliament from the treaty of union shortly afterwards.

34. James Cheyne says:

As Scotland gave their personal bodily monarch and their following line of descent away to England to become the monarch of the territorial kingdom of England. Not a shared monarch of both Countries Kingdoms.
    Thus leaving Scotland a Country without a monarch, a republic Country

The Great Seal of England falsely applied as the Great Seal of the United Kingdom/s

35. James Cheyne says:

Once Scotland became a republic Country having voluntary giving their monarch to become the (new monarch of England) .leaving Scots without a monarch ruling a kingdom,
    But a sovereign people left with a territorial community Realm.

Englands monarch and parliament could no longer asset claim or acquire the territorial realm of the Scots, now a republic Country as a territory kingdom,
    The seat was vacant and is still vacant. Scotlands people have never chosen to renew a new Scottish monarch. After they gave their last monarch to become the Monarch of England.
    Not a shared monarch by any means at all,

This seems to have by passed most students of history,
    The monarch became the monarch of England, not the monarch of England and Scotland,

36. James Cheyne says:

The ideology of wrong thinking began long before 1984,

37. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

« The language of the Angles, Inglis, brought north from Northumbria into Berwickshire in the seventh century, remained the language of a minority in Scotland; but even when the power of Gaelic was at its height and it was absorbing other linguistic groups, the people of this south-east corner continued speaking Inglis.

« Part of the great northern dialect area of Old English, the Inglis of the settlers was a Germanic language brought to Britain during the folk migrations from northern Germany by Anglo-Saxon tribes around the fifth century AD.

« Many of the distinctive sounds which characterise Scots and English speech today go back to differences in the dialects of Old English in the sixth century.

« Scots is descended from Northumbrian, while Standard English emerged from the East Midland dialect of Mercia. Although markedly different, the Old English dialects did share a common store of vocabulary. Due to the different linguistic developments in the separate states of Scotland and England, however, the language of England lost many old words which are retained in Scots.

« Characteristic Scots sounds, too, such as coo and hoose for cow and house, or richt and nicht for right and night, were common to all the Old English dialects but disappeared from Standard English due to sound shifts which occurred in Southern and Midland dialects. If antiquity was any justification for a language’s survival, a special case could certainly be made for Scots against Standard English, as guardian of an older form of English.

« This Northumbrian Inglis held on to its heartlands in the South-east, while Gaelic made spectacular gains elsewhere in the kingdom until its expansion was arrested at the end of the eleventh century. It was as if Inglis was biding its time until the political moment was right for its star to rise at the expense of Gaelic. Here we can pinpoint the exact moment when Gaelic began its decline as the language of status in Scotland, to be superseded over the following centuries by the Germanic language called variously Inglis, Scots or English. »

(‘SCOTS: The Mither Tongue’ by Billy Kay, Mainstream Publishing Company, Edinburgh, 1986, 2006, Pp 48-53)

38. sam says:

The auld men o the sea
    Wi their daberlack hair
    Hae dackered the coasts
    O the country fell sair.

They gobble owre cas‘les,
    Chow mountains to san’;
    Or lang they’ll eat up
    The hail o the lan’!

Lickin their white lips
    An yowlin for mair,
    The auld men o the sea
    Wi their daberlack hair.

39. Ben says:

There was a young fella from gosham, who took out his
    b****cks tae washem.
    his wife said hey, put them away, or i’ll stand on
    the buggers and squashem

40. sarah says:

O/T Good news today – Republic of Ireland, Spain, China, Brazil, South Africa and 15 other countries are meeting today and tomorrow to discuss measures in international law to help the people who are suffering at the eastern shore of the Mediterranean.

• Hatey McHateface says:

That is good news, sarah.

I expect they’ll agree a stern resolution calling for the humous boys to come out of their holes with the remaining live hostages, the putrid corpses of the dead ones, and their hands in the air.

• twathater says:

The problem wi that is the humous boys have probably witnessed what is currently being done to innocent women and children so they may not have FAITH that fingers would be OFF of triggers

• Hatey McHateface says:

Sure, TH. I have little doubt that the humous boys will be hunted down to the ends of the earth and unceremoniously despatched, however deep they bury themselves.

And every decent man, woman and child will cheer on hearing the news.

But that’s not the point. The point is always supposed to be about stopping the slaughter of the innocents. No decent Scots would cower in holes behind shield walls of their own women and kids, if they had the ability to stop it.

Even if it meant forfeiting their own lives.

The humous boys started the war. They have fought it using their own people as weapons and armour. They have lost.

It’s only their yellow scum bellies that stops them from now doing the decent thing. Maybe they believe in “paradise for thee, but not for me”.

41. James Cheyne says:

The social engineering experiments on the populations is an ideology effecting all governances from enforced migrations across borders being encouraged and turned a blind eye to with the pretence that their hands are tied to legislations from out with our Countries.

But social engineering experiment goes much deeper and darker,
    It includes
    Transgender identities
    Experiments on removing the goodness of natural food and replacing it with lab additives, dyes gums and thickeners. Which is causing illnesses and obesity. And making nations lethargic and dumbed down,
    No meat, for protein, no natural milk, or natural cheese, unless from bugs protein, have you looked inside your sausage rolls or meat pies and been able to discern what meat it is?

That all people should be restricted to travelling any distances through electric vehicles except for the politicians and government, whom will continue to jet, fly, travel by petrol and diesel vehicles.

That you and I could potentially be restricted to food, water, travel, medication, energy, housing, or banking as soon as your ID card expires, does not work or is not renewed.

For GB to achieve its aims on this cult ideology it must first dismantle and break down every and any system that previously worked for all of Britain,
    This includes not recognising the treaty of union article.

In Scotlands case this is to our advantage, for all that was wrong with the faux treaty that supposedly held Scotland for the past centuries is being dismantled before our eyes under the the new one world government new cult ideology for controling all people around the world.

It would be advantages to the people of England and Ireland as well, as many other Countries.besides Scotland,
    For Englands Great Britain of one supposed united kingdom has led to where we are today, domineering treaties and policies world wide.

If Scotland is free then so is England, Ireland, and other colonised countries around the world.for our own borders and way of natural living with natural freedoms has the possibility to be returned,

It has long been the governance of GB to propose that Scotland is the problem for England, but won’t let it be released
    That alleged propaganda is a divide and rule weapon method that keeps England under control by keeping them too busy to see what is under their noses, the slow but sure colonisation of England over many years,
    The great global reset that is planned for all of Britain and its dominions, could be the chance for Scotland, England, Ireland and all for the nations Countries have been waiting for to regain their nations own Identities ,own laws and regain their borders.
    Perhaps it is time to review how a independent nation Country like Scotland is not the actually enemy or foe, but the friendly neighbour that could equally free Scotland and England at the same time from new cult ideologies.
    1984 as I recall reading, ended up returning to what was, and pressing the re set button.

• Sven says:

James Cheyne @15.29.

Dear Lord, “James”, how I wish I wasn’t in complete agreement with so many of those points.

• Chas says:

Congratulations Sven. You must be one of the very few people who actually read any of the repetive gibberish produced by Cheyne! I think it is fair to say that the majority of us are a wee bit more selective but each to their own.

• twathater says:

There’s Chas focusing his inner franchise fanny and CLAIMING that he knows what the MAJORITY of visitors to WOS are thinking and doing
        I wish all these prescient smart arses would work to benefit Scots rather than publicise their Scotland Hatred

• Hatey McHateface says:

There is much truth in what you write here, James.

A phrase I read a little while back sticks with me. Writing of the Covid Spreaders, and how meekly they endured the unworkable attempt by their government to eliminate Covid in the PRC, up to and including the walling up of people in their own homes, and the withdrawal of all rights and privileges from non-conformists, someone observed that when we look at the Covid Spreaders we can see two things:

1) The world’s first domesticated strain of humans.

2) The eventual fate of everybody else outside of Covid Central. The “plan” is for us all to become domesticated too.

This fate is not written in the stars. Not if enough of us decide it shall not be.

But that fate is currently where we are headed. And before we can reverse course, we have to slow and stop the headlong rush in what is clearly the wrong direction.

42. sarah says:

Rev, have you a proposal for the campaign over the next 9 months? It would be useful to hear which groups/parties you support, if any, and what you have in mind about what we readers can or should do.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Ah come oan noo, sarah.

We need to all focus on supporting the good news you report above to a satisfactory conclusion.

Scotland can wait. Let’s power through to victory for the lassie torturers, tunnel skulkers, and those political movements whose leaders choose to shelter beneath and behind the corpses of their own women and kids, piled high in their tens of thousands, and crushed flat beneath the rubble of their homes.

After victory we can get these political leaders to come here and teach our political leaders how to do things. How to get lasting results for Scotland.

It seems clear we have plenty of would-be lassie torturers of our own, just itching to have a go.

43. James Cheyne says:

Sven.

Indeed it appears that Labour are finishing and finalising what the Tories Started, with considerable help from the greens and lib dems all singing from the same cult hymn sheet in the four nations Scotland , England, Wales and Ireland,
    The only thread that binds us to the crumbling faux Great Britain (cough cough) united kingdom, ( which often has the ‘S missing )
    metaphorically is the believe that Scots were invited to join in the treaty of Union.
    And that the monarch of England is by the laws of old England parliament Acts interposes falsely as the monarch of Scotland.
    Other wise we would not be going down the plug hole with Englands United Kingdom,
    I am still looking for that missing ‘S’ to represent a union of two kingdoms.
    I suppose its missing due to there only being the one kingdom, the kingdom of England under the monarch of England resting in Westminster parliament ,and the difference between the distinct constitutional position of monarchy in Scotland not being Sovereign,

But hey ho down we all go holding hands like ring a ring a Rosie’s

44. sarah says:

O/T Ewen Kennedy [retired lawyer and an independence supporter] has made a submission to Holyrood’s petitions committee in support of the petition that asks Holyrood to do what they are empowered to do i.e. Implement the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights into Scottish legislation.

This petition is worth signing because it is clearly a good thing given that Angus Robertson and the civil servants oppose it.

• twathater says:

Ewen used to be a regular contributor BTL on Yours For Scotland and was asked by Iain Lawson to do some articles as he was well respected much like Robert Black KC

• Hatey McHateface says:

Guid Gowd, sarah, but you’re a dunderheid.

Things are intrinsically good or intrinsically bad. Their goodness or otherwise is not defined by who supports or opposes them.

Why don’t you provide a link to whatever it is you are referring to? Then we can all read it and make up our own minds if it is worth supporting.

And why don’t you take your binary, tribalist, them-and-us approach out of politics and reserve it for the only context it makes sense for a consenting adult to employ it? Sports.

• Aidan says:

I’ll save you the trouble, it’s another cunning plan which says that if the Scottish Government implemented the ICCPR, because the ICCPR describes forms of direct democracy (e.g. referendums), that will give the Scottish Parliament the right to pass legislation to provide for an independence referendum. Needless to say, in light of the Supreme Court judgement in 2022, this strategy has absolutely no chance of being upheld by the courts. The Scottish Parliament cannot indirectly legislate to give itself more powers. If someone who is apparently a lawyer is promoting this cool aid, that’s really quite shocking.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Thanks for the info, Aidan.

On the face of it then, it sounds like just another ruse by which the “pro-Indy establishment” can make it look like they are doing something to earn their generous incomes by pursuing strategies that they know in advance will fail.

• sarah says:

“clearly a good thing because Angus R…oppose it.” This is an example of humour.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Fair enough, sarah, I stand corrected.

How about a link so we can all see what it’s about?

• twathater says:

TBQH Sarah I would disregard ANYTHING that Bastard Tax MOAN and his wee Scotland Hating sidekicks like Aydun Corporal Batshit or Agent fuckwit comment on, they are just here to deride and undermine EVERYTHING to do with independence

Your information is enlightening and relevant especially to REAL independence supporters, it is a pity that all your pleas to Stuart are continually being ignored, I would have thought that any real independence supporter would be happy to support any action that could help to achieve independence but it appears support will only be given when it meets Stuart’s rigorous criteria

BTW for anyone interested David Henry of SSRG (moonhowling fraternity) is FIGHTING to achieve a REAL Scottish Broadcasting license but as usual the yoonionist establishment is putting every obstacle they can find in his way

Grousebeater has an article explaining David’s attempt to overcome the corruption and duplicity he is facing , David also contributes to the article LINK link to grousebeater.wordpress.com

It shows there are still things happening in Scottish politics, which is why the Scotland Haters are infesting this site so much

45. sam says:

The International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) is a United Nations treaty that the UK has ratified (meaning it is legally binding on the UK). However, as it is not part of domestic law, people can’t bring a court case against the UK if the rights within it are not being upheld. The UK has also not signed the Optional Protocol which would allow people to bring a complaint to the United Nations Human Rights Committee.

The Committee does still monitor how well states are meeting their obligations under ICCPR. This is one of the main ways of holding the UK Government accountable. Every state signed up to ICCPR is reviewed by the Committee roughly every eight years.

What Ewan Kennedy wishes to do anent the petition is encourage the Scottish government to make the Covenant part of Scottish law.

Mr Kennedy recognises potential difficulties over Article 1 of the Covenant which he quotes.

He states: “I suggest that Article One is perhaps the only one of the numerous provisions in the Covenant that may raise the issue of legislative competence under the rules around the devolved settlement.

I am as aware as anyone else of the ruling by the UK Supreme Court in the Referendum case, and that it must be regarded as final and binding. As I understand matters, however, the Petitioner does not seek that Holyrood should do anything so self-defeating as to repeat that exercise. In essence he simply asks for acceptance of a principle already accepted universally by all civilised countries, and by all (one hopes!) of our elected representatives.”

• Aidan says:

Re the last paragraph, Ewan Kennedy is flat out wrong. The petitioner does believe that implementing the ICPPR provides a backdoor route to circumvent the Supreme Court judgement. That is their whole rationale for the petition and the basis on which they are raising money to fund it.

46. sam says:

link to yougov.co.uk

“That Scotland may vote in a second independence referendum to leave the UK cannot be discounted, and Scottish nationalists have long expressed their desire for an independent Scotland to join the EU.

In the event that Scotland came asking, they would be welcomed by most Europeans – across the five continental countries the latest YouGov EuroTrack survey asked, the majority in Denmark, France, Germany, Italy and Spain (63-75%) say they would support an independent Scotland joining the EU.”

47. sarah says:

@ Northcode: “mirkie watter”. I like it, Northcode. Your knowledge of poetic forms puts me to shame.

• Northcode says:

Thank you, Sarah.

TH said this about your contributions to this place:

“Your information is enlightening and relevant…”

I agree.

48. sam says:

One of the Rights under the ICCPR is the right to life which is a protection against arbitrary deprivation of life.

Public health researchers, Professors Walsh and McCartney have written a book, “Social Murder?: Austerity and Life Expectancy in the UK”

OUP has written this about the book.

“After 75 years of rapid and continuous improvement, in the early 2010s life expectancy improvements slowed, stopped or reversed across the UK, and in many other rich countries. In the UK, the trends for poorer areas and populations were even worse, with life expectancy actually going into reverse: people dying younger and earlier. Life expectancy is a good marker of broad societal progress, and declines had only previously been seen in times of profound crisis: wars and pandemics. These changes therefore represent an almost unprecedented disaster, with extraordinary numbers of people in the UK dying well before their time. Yet these trends are largely unknown among the general public and many of those in positions of power. A considerable evidence base has been established, demonstrating beyond doubt that the principal cause of these changes has been government ‘austerity’ policies which have had a calamitous impact on the poorest and most vulnerable members of society. This book shines a light on this catastrophic issue, but also goes further by: explaining why this matters; setting out the precise details of the causes of the changes; showing how and why people in positions of power have failed to respond adequately; explaining what has to be done to reverse these trends; and relating what has happened to the experiences of real people.”

Austerity caused 335,000 extra deaths in the UK, including 20,000 in Scotland.

I don’t know how Angus Robertson can reasonably claime ICCPR is not needed in Scotland.

• Aidan says:

We’ve been around the houses with this one before. Despite being published in the Lancet, it’s a pretty dubious paper. It suggests that the same trend rate of life expectancy growth would have been achieved between 2010 and the date the paper was published if public spending levels had been not been reduced after the financial crisis. It is particularly strange in the UK because the trend is observed prior to any cuts in public spending being made which means that people were dying in anticipation of cuts before even knowing when those cuts would fall. The fact that this is a phenomenon across the developed world would also seem to rule out fiscal measures as a causative factor. It’s far more likely to be explainable by the impact of the financial crisis, factors like diet and pollution, and the great prevalence of disease and difficultly of treating that disease in people in their 80’s and 90’s compared to people in their 70’s.

• sam says:

I have no idea what you are talking about. Do you have a reference or link to the “paper” in the Lancet?

• Sven says:

Aidan @ 06.54

“People were dying in anticipation of cuts.”

Gosh, how that one made me giggle this morning, thankyou, Aidan.

• sam says:

There is nothing at all in the links you gave to refute or undermine the research done by Professors Walsh and McCartney.

Your remarks are uninformed.

It has long been known that poverty causes ill health. The stall in life expectancy and the decrease in life expectancy for the poorest is exceptional and only occured in the flu pandemic of 1918 and the two World Wars.

Long run statistics from the ONS show poverty rising from 13% of the population in 1961 to 25% under Thatcher and under subsequent governments hovering around 22% (30% in London).

Socioeconomic circumstances cause the differences in life expectancy between the poor and the rich and the differences in the periods of life lived free from disability.

• Alf Baird says:

“I don’t know how Angus Robertson can reasonably claime ICCPR is not needed in Scotland.”

Aye Sam, Angus Robertson an aw thay daeless SNP colonial administrators dinna want tae ken that Scotland’s a colony, or by implication what independence means, i.e. decolonization. Which is why they canna find the only remedy.

Unlike the 20,000 Scots who support Liberation Scotland:

link to liberation.scot

• Oneliner says:

Angus Robertson, while an MP, sat on the House Of Commons Defence Committee. Quite a position for one from a party of disassembly.

Read Campbell Martin for another take on Dream Angus

• Aidan says:

Not to defend Angus Robertson, but the 20,000 people signing the Liberation petition doesn’t compare all that favourable to the 16,000 people who voted for Angus in his constituency last time around.

• Oneliner says:

Yep 16,000 is a good number considering MI5 isn’t a political party

• sam says:

Alf,

Here is a link to a paper on the use of the term, “Social Murder” and part of the abstract.

The book by Walsh and McCartney, “Social Murder? Austerity and Life Expectancy in the UK” is available as is a book by Whyte and Cooper, “The Violence of Austerity”, published in 2016.

I wonder if it might be of interest to you in your Salvo/Liberation role?

link to sciencedirect.com

“The purpose of this paper is to document the reemergence of the concept of social murder in academic journal articles. To do so we conducted a scoping review of content applying the social murder concept since 1900 in relation to health and well-being. We identified two primary concepts of social murder: social murder as resulting from capitalist exploitation and social murder as resulting from bad public policy across the domains of working conditions, living conditions, poverty, housing, race, health inequalities, crime and violence, neoliberalism, gender, food, social assistance, deregulation and austerity. We consider reasons for the reemergence of Engels’ social murder concept and the role it can play in resisting the forces responsible for the living and working conditions that kill.”

• James says:

Sam; cuts are good, so is poverty.

It must be true for “Aidan” says so.

49. sam says:

It is certainly possible for people to take an entirely different view from that of Aiden regarding the ICCPR and its relevance to Scottish life.

The Claim of Right was signed by the great majority of Scottish MPs in 1989. It said: “We, gathered as the Scottish Constitutional Convention, do hereby acknowledge the sovereign right of the Scottish people to determine the form of Government best suited to their needs, and do hereby declare and pledge that in all our actions and deliberations their interests shall be paramount.

We further declare and pledge that our actions and deliberations shall be directed to the following ends:

To agree a scheme for an Assembly or Parliament for Scotland;

To mobilise Scottish opinion and ensure the approval of the Scottish people for that scheme; and

To assert the right of the Scottish people to secure implementation of that scheme.”

I can see no reason why the Scottish government, whatever its hue should not embrace the rights conferred by the ICCPR in the spirit of the Claim of Right.

Had it been law the Scottish people might have had a say in opposing austerity and Social Murder

50. James Cheyne says:

Food for thought,

Scotland is registered as a Country in the UN surprisingly just like England, by England although treated like a Colony of Englands,
    Nowadays England politicians and think tanks believe That if Britain Broke up either Scotland or England would be classed as the Successor State,

But the treaty of union was never classed as a federal state, there would be no Successor State to great Britain if either one left the treaty of union.
    for Great Britain itself only exists as the creation entity of both parties. Scotland and England.
    There is no great Britain to succeed to if either party left,
    The false claim of a United kingdom would not exist Either. If either one of the two Countries left,

Englands parliament of Great Britain as one united kingdom and the supreme Court of England would be left supposedly as the the lead negotiator with Scotland would fall flat on its face due to it having based its creation foundation as the parliament of Great Britain and the UK,

Therefore by logic and legal arguement the Westminster parliament of Great Britain that was left in England would not be the Successor state to Great Britain by any means.
    Nor does it have the legal status to stop Scotland leaving if Great Britain exist only due to holding a treaty with Scotland,

• Aidan says:

Food for thought – no it isn’t

51. Northcode says:

I’m reconsidering my use of the term ‘unionist’ to describe… well, to describe unionists.

I’m reconsidering my use of the term ‘unionist’ in light of Professor Robert Black’s recently published legal opinion and Professor Alf Baird’s published research that between the two show that the ToU was never implemented and so was never real and is, therefore, a hoax and a legal fiction; that show Scotland was illegally annexed as a colonial territory by a foreign power… let’s not be coy about it – it was England.

So, what should I call a unionist instead?

I think Alf Baird suggested ‘colonialist’ a while back.

Here’s one definition of ‘colonialist’ – “a person who supports the practice of gaining political control over other countries and occupying them…”.

As a definition for those folk who support the oppression and brutal subjugation of peoples for economic plunder and personal gain it’s a little weak (Alf might have a better definition); but I suppose it will do for now.

So, for me anyway, it’s colonialist instead of unionist from now on.

I wonder which of the unionists colonialists who hing aboot here will be first to complain about their new label.

To mark the demise of ‘unionist’ as an accurate term for those who support the colonisation of Scotland I might post another of my braw poems written in Scots later as a wee mid-week treat for everyone – we’ll see.

• Grace Green says:

Great idea, Northcode. And as we abbreviated unionists to yoons, I suggest we call the colonialists “colons”.

• Southernbystander says:

In what way is Scotland ‘occupied’ by unionists, especially Scots themselves, but anybody who lives there really? Are you really prepared to call some of your fellow Scots’ neighbours colonialists, or English ones ‘colonial occupiers’? The answer would have to be yes if you are true to your word.

This is always where I feel Alf’s assertions fall to the ground. What does the ‘occupation’ actually consist of?

• James says:

Theft and lack of control of resources, sidelining of the indigenous language and culture, and national media controlled and issued by the country next door.

All aided by the Scots unionist elites (troughers) and the less intelligent who believe what the said media tells them to be true.

Oh, and we have to beg the other half of the glorious ‘union’ for permission to hold a democratic event.

All of these absurdities are championed by the usual suspects on here of course.

That do you for starters?

• Northcode says:

“In what way is Scotland ‘occupied’ by unionists…”.

It isn’t. I’ve just explained how Scotland is occupied by colonialists.

“Are you really prepared to call some of your fellow Scots’ neighbours colonialists, or English ones ‘colonial occupiers’?”

Yes – or possibly ‘colons’ as Grace Green wittily suggested; although perhaps the etymology from the Greek, ‘kolon’, rather than that from the Latin, ‘colon’ would be preferable when reassigning an existing word to a new role.

n: kolon, n pt. pp: kolons or n: kolonist, n pt. pp: kolonists.

Or perhaps it’s best just to stick with ‘colonialist’ and ‘colonialists’ as replacements for ‘unionist’ and ‘unionists’ to avoid confusion.

“What does the ‘occupation’ actually consist of?”

In Scotland’s case partly of folk who have relocated from England, the colonising country, to colonised Scotland, the ‘country’ now in reality an illegally annexed non-self-governing-territory – a country in which the colonialist has no emotional attachment to its history, people, culture and language beyond what they can extract from it for personal gain.

The colonialist is aided and supported in their plunder of Scotland’s resources and wealth by local indigenes – many of whom are Scottish politicians and business types working in cahoots with English agencies operating in Scotland promoting English favouritism and questionable English values – who lack a moral and intellectual core and who are happy to sell thair mithers fir a buck an a bauble.

Together they comprise the colonialist (part indigenous and part foreign) who will happily import England’s alien culture, values and language and force them upon Scotland’s huge majority of non-complicit and unwilling indigenous people.

In Scotland the term ‘unionist’ is merely a euphemism for colonialist and as such colonialist is the more appropriate nomenclature for ‘those who favour the oppression of the Scots and the theft of their resources for personal gain and who attempt to ease their flaccid consciences by calling their callous oppression a union’.

• Southernbystander says:

Right, so you are willing to say to the face of any English neighbours ‘you are a plundering colonial occupier please go home’ and to fellow Scots unionists, ‘you are a colonialist who favours the oppression of fellow Scots’. Of course I don’t actually believe you would do this – it is all talk on here.

But to most people I suspect, what you are rationalising is bigotry, plain and simple. This is why I find Alf’s ideas so insidious – they encourage the kind of mentality that leads to civil conflict, potentially violent.

Of course in reality people moving to Scotland from England are not colonising anything. Whatever you might think of the political relationship between England and Scotland, someone moving to Scotland for a job, family reasons or in retirement is simply doing that, moving home. Accusing them of being plunderers and oppressing Scots by being colonial occupiers is ludicrous.

As for no emotional attachment, you will have noticed that the Union is over 300 years old. Has it ever occurred to you that English people, just like Scots in England, have emotional attachments, ties, familial and otherwise, understanding and appreciation of the whole of the Union, not just the country of their birth? Not everyone is as blinkered and narrow as you who seems to see England like the jungles of Amazonia, when in fact it is a place that is more similar to Scotland than anywhere else on Earth.

• Northcode says:

“But to most people I suspect, what you are rationalising is bigotry, plain and simple. This is why I find Alf’s ideas so insidious…”

Hilarious.

This from someone who called the Scots filth on here not that long ago – it was just good natured banter, he said. Basil Brush (whit?), he said. I didn’t mean it – it was just a joke.

It’s a joke I’ve been hearing all my life and it’s beginning to wear a wee bit thin – actually it wore away tae nuthin some time ago noo.

Blinkered? Unionists ( there ye go – I’m sensitive to the emotional needs of colonisers) are the definition of blinkered.

• Northcode says:

“…so you are willing to say to the face of any English neighbours ‘you are a plundering colonial occupier please go home…’

Of course not – I wouldn’t say ‘please’.

• Northcode says:

In the interests of harmonious relations between the two parties to a hoax union, or alternatively ‘The Union That Never Was’, I’ve decided to accept Southernbystander’s ridiculous, but amusing, defence of “the Ghost of Basil Brush forced me to insult the Scots.” – a headline from the Daily Star, I believe.

You are hereby forgiven, Southernbystander. But mind ye mend yer ways whin dealin’ wi the Scots.

In return I will desist – for the moment – referring to unionists as colonialists until some arbitrary and random thought that might pass through ma heid urges me tae change ma mind aboot it.

Ma mellae dinnle is strang in mi the day.

• Hatey McHateface says:

@Northcode

Strong, the fight is in this one, while the pseudonym holds fast, and the bedroom curtains tightly shut out the real world.

You should consider taking things to the next level, Northcode. Get yourself a spade and start excavating yourself a tunnel all of your own. Don’t forget to run power and internet down into it, so you can keep in touch with us on here.

I’m sure that deep underground, while the tunnel roof weeps moisture, and you breathe shallowly to avoid the worst of the reek from the bucket by your feet, your posts will achieve new hights of wonder and delight for us readers.

• Northcode says:

“…your posts will achieve new hights of wonder and delight for us readers”

Envy is a terrible sin… and a curse for those who suffer from it. I don’t, but I think there’s somebody on here who might.

I’m not sure it’s possible for my posts to reach new hights of wonderful and delightful; firstly because I don’t know what a hight is and secondly I think they might have already reached the pinnacle of wonder and the peak of delight.

I mean c’mon, ‘flaccid conscience’ and ‘…sell thair mithers fir a buck an a bauble’, how good be they? Pretty guid a’m thinkin’

An dinna forget aw ma braw poetry tae.

Aye, it’s wunnerfu tae be me thers nae dout aboot that.

And for that reason I refuse to deny the WoS btl readership the joy of reading aw ma braw stuff.

• Hatey McHateface says:

You don’t know what “hight” means, NC?

Odd. It’s easy enough to find online.

But do tell us true. Are you sure you are not the teeniest bit envious of my corrections (improvements?) to your doggerel?

I’m starting to see you in the same category as Dan. He objects when I put him right about offshore wind powered energy generation. You object when I improve your Scots for you.

Think of me as the spur you need to do better! 🙂

And you must learn to disengage your ego for the greater good. There’s no “me” in Scotland.

Think about it 🙂

• Hatey McHateface says:

“as a wee mid-week treat for one”

There ye gang, NC, fixed it fer ye.

Pamper yersel soon!

52. James Cheyne says:

I think most of Scots in more recent times recognise that the EU is one of the biggest perponents of the Wokism and diversity policies, that has seeped into our laws,
    So I am not so sure that all Scots would still vote to immediately join the EU anymore, people are waking up to the dividing diversity problem that the EU ideology holds.

• Sven says:

James Cheyne @ 10.06.

Speaking personally, James, I voted against joining what was then termed “The Common Market” back in the 1970s and subsequently voted to leave the EU.
      Even back in the 1970s I was convinced both that we were being lied to regarding the plans for the CM and that the solution to any problems would be yet another layer of self serving politicians more interested in looking good than doing good. Nothing between then and now has altered those convictions.
      For me, independence means independence rather than subservience to Europe. Free Trade agreements, sure, I’m in favour of that; rule by unelected beaurocrats not so much.
      Trust you’re keeping going as well as you can in your present circumstances, best wishes.

• Breeks says:

Said it way back in 2014, more so in 2016, but Scotland had the capacity to stay in the EU, and thereby plead special circumstances to honour existing trade commitments with England, so as then to act as a “middleman” for through-trade between a post Brexit England and EU.

It was Alf Baird who introduced me to the concept of Scapa Flow being developed into a Super-Container Port to manage huge bulk freighters from the high seas, and break down these huge cargos into smaller container ships to alleviate costs and congestion along Europes Western seaboard. What a belter of an idea!

If Scotland had the confidence, we could position ourselves as the Istanbul or Singapore of Western Europe, and facilitate the interaction of trade routes through European, US, UK (~England) and Commonwealth markets, and now BRICS / Baltic nations too.

Scotland could be scrupulously neutral, and everybody’s friend, and allow Scotland’s geographical location do a lot of the heavy lifting -quite literally. Process bulk mega-cargos of huge deep ocean carriers into smaller, more efficient trade routes for European distribution.

It made profound sense a decade ago, and it still does. Even Brexited England would have seen benefits, in spite of its foreign xenophobia. OK, Dover and Folkestone might be less keen.

Sadly, it is all at risk. Decades of the West’s numbingly stupid warmongering, chicanery, and Deep State Puppet Governments who cannot even bring themselves to condemn genoicide by definition. We risk the foundation of a whole new cold war “Iron Curtain” with Western Economies kept at arms length and out in the cold, while BRICS nations thrive in harmony and mutual prosperity, and wholly immune from our sanctions. There won’t just be a multipolar world, the economic polarity of the planet will be fully reversed; the poor become rich and the rich become poor. The sanctioners become the sanctionees.

What Ireland is doing, to the great credit of Clare Daly and Mick Wallace, our Free Scotland could and should be doing tenfold. Start talking sense and show some progressive initiative. Have the whole World persuaded to recognise that an Independent Scotland would be a good thing for the planet and World peace.

Sadly we have John Swinney, with all the tenacity of a fungal infection you can never get rid of. Our First step is overthrowing our current flock of fraudulent douchebags and UK apologists masquerading as Independentists.

How this “class” of politician came to exist defies credible belief, but ominously, that same sense of disbelief extends over other “leaders”; Trump, Biden, Starmer, Von der Leyden and host of like-minded cretins. How the fk does this happen? Accident? Who or what is nurturing these creeps, and doing so with such apparent success?

Ditch colonial rule. Govern Scotland as if it already was an Independent Nation. Withdraw our MPs from Westminster so we no longer find ourselves in the Dock beside belligerent genocidal war criminals; Quite literally, – the twisted fire starters and wannabe widwives of Armageddon…

• Hatey McHateface says:

But first we have to understand why the oh-so-nice, touchy-feely, generous, warm, welcoming BRICS luvvies would be so mean as to sanction us into poverty.

No, forget that one.

First, we have to understand two things: 1) Of all the wars, man-made famines and oppressions going on in the world as I write, why does one special wee pretendy “genocide” have to get all of the attention.

2) When ever in all of world history could a “genocide” be ended by handing over 20 or so hostages, yet the hostage takers didn’t consider it to be worth their while?

No, forget these ones too.

We all know just why the wee, pretendy “genocide” provides for such a focus of white-hot, focused hatred and rationality-free, bigoted prejudice.

Is this Scotland’s future? I don’t know, but if it is to be, we should certainly have it out in the open for all to see.

Breeks has been fairly quiet on here since the night last summer, when the women-hating, jihadi medievalists of Tehran spectacularly failed to put a dent in the Iron Dome. And that’s all any rational, sane, decent Scot needs to know.

• agent x says:

@ breeks

“Super-container port plan at Scapa Flow wins backing

Plans to build a container ship gateway to Europe in Orkney, which could create more than 1000 jobs, have been given a major boost.

The intention is to create a transatlantic shipping link between Scapa Flow and Halifax, Nova Scotia, and provide a hub port for a new generation of super-container vessels.

The men behind the idea are Mr Craigie, who has a background in international project development, and Mr Laidlow, a shipping logistics and maritime freight traffic expert, who have been strengthening their management team as the idea progresses.”
        ———————————————————
        link to heraldscotland.com

That was in 2001.

53. Andrew scott says:

O/t
    Nurse Peggie cleared by nhs fife
    Now the sparks will fly -hopefully upton, gray and the board are SACKED

• sarah says:

Indeed. And Northumberland Police have lost their case today as well.

It’s been a good day – so far.

54. Run the Border says:

Where can I find a Wings Manifesto please.

55. James Cheyne says:

Sam,
    What you say is true to a certain extent,
    What was not mentioned or explained to Scotland is that it would be a devolved parliament from and under the laws of English acts, legislation and Statues, with restrictions from the Country of England,

To all intents and purposes it is likened to any other Colonial governance,
    It cannot follow the will of the Scottish people, it cannot implement laws without the permission of the Westminster parliament of England and the royal assent of the king of England,
    Everything it does has to seek approval not from the Scots but from Westminster.
    So Scots do not free will to choose the type of government best suited to themselves.

The Scottish devolved parliament is a cardboard replica of the parliament down south, with different management.

• sam says:

James,

In 2012 Gerry McCartney, public health researcher was saying what is widely known in the UK and other countries. That the way to reduce health inequalities (as defined by life expectancy and periods of life free from disability) is to redistribute wealth, power and income.

Unless that is done nothing effective can be done to reduce such inequalities.

No Scottish government has the powers to reduce health inequalities, lacking control of the economy, lacking control of most of welfare provisions and lacking control of employment law.

Swinney it was that accepted the Smith Commission terms on taxation in Scotland, effectively tieing Scotland to England’s low tax economy. The former civil servant and statistician Jim Cuthbert called Swinney a mug for this.

We are in a situation where successive UK governments since Thatcher (and before) have harmed the population of Scotland and the rest of the UK by their policies. We can do nothing about it.

• sarah says:

Yes we can. Vote for the right people in 2026. Before then, tell your family, friends and others about how to use their 2 votes i.e. NOT SNP 1 and 2 [if at all] – and identify the good guys under the Liberate Scotland umbrella.

56. James Cheyne says:

Northcode.

Perhaps you could come to some resolution by defining this word into your poems for me,

Leach Vs Leech.

Leach- A verb, -To empty or drain, to remove, to permeate, to gradually penetrate.
    Leech- A noun, – A blood sucking worm or person that might prey on others.

• Insider says:

“James” Cheyne 11:58

Are you really as crazy as you appear or are you just trolling everybody for a laugh ?

57. Xaracen says:

JPTi Submits UN Report on Scotland’s Governance Crisis: From Structural Inequality to Genuine Self-Governance

Press Release

Geneva, 16 July 2025 – Justice pour Tous Internationale (JPTi), in formal collaboration with Liberation Scotland and with the support of the International Probono Legal Services Association (IPLSA), has submitted a detailed report to the United Nations Human Rights Council under Resolution 57/12 on Local Government and Human Rights. Accompanying this submission, JPTi has issued a formal press release, highlighting the urgent need for international scrutiny of Scotland’s structurally imposed governance model within the United Kingdom.

The report, titled “From Structural Inequality to Genuine Self-Governance: Assessing Scotland’s Governance Crisis under Human Rights Council Resolution 57/12”, argues that Scotland’s current devolved arrangements fail to meet the legal and democratic thresholds for genuine local governance as envisaged by international human rights instruments, including the ICCPR and ICESCR.

Drawing on expert legal and economic analysis from Professor Robert Black KC and Professor Alf Baird, the report documents systemic fiscal disempowerment, democratic exclusion, and cultural marginalisation. It contends that these structural conditions reflect internal colonial dynamics and merit formal review under the United Nations decolonisation framework.

The press release and submission call, inter alia, for:

Affirmation of the right to self-determination as a foundational prerequisite for genuine local governance, particularly where devolved institutions lack constitutional entrenchment, fiscal autonomy, and the ability to implement the sustained democratic will of the people;

Enhanced integration between the UN human rights system and decolonisation mandates, encouraging synergies between the Human Rights Council, the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR), and the Fourth Committee of the General Assembly in addressing overlapping structures of subordination within post-imperial contexts;

A formal examination by the United Nations of Scotland’s eligibility for recognition as a non-self-governing territory pursuant to General Assembly Resolutions 1514 (XV) and 1541 (XV), in light of the absence of a legal right to constitutional renegotiation or secession, and the consistent democratic expression of a right to determine its political status;

Corrective action to address Scotland’s exclusion from meaningful SDG realisation, focusing on the need for fiscal decentralisation, enforceable socio-economic rights, and structural reforms that enable autonomous local governance aligned with Human Rights Council Resolution 57/12 and the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

• sarah says:

The day gets better, Xaracen! First the gender cases and now Liberation.scot.

• Captain Caveman says:

So, the “report” has been submitted to the UNHCR.

In plain speaking, unequivocable terms, what does a good outcome look like for you, within say, a 6-month and 12-month timescale?

Assuming the report is even accepted at all, what firm actions do you expect the UNHCR to take, and to whom?

What is the route map to independence via these means, what needs to happen?

How precisely will independence be delivered? UDI? Enforced people’s vote? UN declaration or decree?

What other comparable historical precedents are there for this specific modus operandi?

TIA.

• James says:

You tell us?

You’re the one running your mouth.

• sam says:

Do your own research. Don’t be lazy. if you can’t or don’t, you might just be trolling

• twathater says:

Corporal Batshit for a start it has FUCK ALL to do with you,it is NONE of your business,you don’t live here or contribute financially or socially to Scotland or Scots, WHY don’t you concentrate on gaining engerlands independence from Scotland, we are sick fed up of subsidising your warmongering, corrupt, incompetent cabal of fuckwit politicians, and who knows your independence may awaken engerlish voters to realise that they are just another WEE country sucking up to America and they are just America’s BITCHES,TRUMP pishes all over Starmer and he BEGS for more

• Captain Caveman says:

My my, Twat, what a civil response.

As much as I’ll dignify your moronic dribblings any response, I’d remind you this is a public forum, I am a stakeholder and net contributor (by a country mile) to the UK and my post is civil and on-topic.

It’s not a matter for you to decide who is worthy to post here, or not. Especially since you are clearly sorely lacking in that department.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“don’t … contribute financially or socially to Scotland or Scots”

And you do, TH?

You’ve really swallowed the “assistance” line then?

• Mark Beggan says:

I would rather watch paint dry than read another fantasy. Do you guys not realise how pathetic and sad you sound. Desperate desperation. Screaming on here about 1707 and the UN.
      MI5 did have a plan to topple the Indy movement but they couldn’t stop laughing.

• sam says:

If you can’t be civil (you can’t) just shut yer gob.

• Captain Caveman says:

‘… You tell us?

You’re the one running your mouth.’

I’m asking perfectly reasonable questions (not to you), in a civil manner (you should try it sometime, instead of your perpetual, ignorant goading and trolling).

As for “me telling you”, the burden of proof rests not with me, but with those making the assertion that this is a practical attempt to achieve independence. Like, obviously.

If they don’t know the answers, they’re entirely at liberty to say so – or not respond at all. I, and doubtless others, are equally welcome to draw our own conclusions accordingly either way.

• Captain Caveman says:

@Sam

‘… Do your own research. Don’t be lazy. if you can’t or don’t, you might just be trolling’

Again, the (perfectly reasonable, civil) questions were asked of the original poster, Xaracen, so why you feel the need to interject like this is anyone’s guess, pal. Sure he can look after himself, he’s an articulate chap – unlike some shall we say.

This shouldn’t be neither difficult nor in any way contentious to understand – an assertion has been made (the report has been submitted to the UN), so it’s perfectly reasonable to ask “what is this likely to mean, what does success look like and how do you think independence can potentially result from this & by what means”. Categorically this is not trolling – it is adults talking (“civil debate” if you will), whereas your goading is just that – goading (“trolling” if you will). Begs the question: why are you so keen to derail any such discussion before it’s even started – are you so anxious about the possible answers to the questions posed, or lack of them?

It seems quite clear that you should stick to your usual cut ‘n paste MO, Sam, because when left to your own devices, your own material is decided lacking.

58. sarah says:

Sandie Peggie case – the Courier has live updates on a blog, for those not on twitter [where the Rev is reporting live].

59. Andrew scott says:

Also herald has live reporting
    Peggie’s lawyer now challenging nhs fife’s DLE officer who may be in a bit of diffuculty

60. James Cheyne says:

Xaracen,

Thank you for your informational post,
    I was curious after reading it, how it actually views the creation of the entity Great Britain in particular , as the Westminster parliament acts as the parliament for England and Wales.and incorporates Halsbury statue’s laws of England and Wales prior and after 1707,

And as the parliament of Great Britain, was and is still dualling with the contentious position of holding both, whilst leading as the parliament of GB, as well as the parliament for England and Wales.
    Thus giving it superiority and monopoly over Scotland,
    And under these circumstances it will always refuse Scotland the right to self determination, and has done,
    The devolved parliament sent to Scotland, is under the Great Britain parliament of England and Wales.
    Therefore so is the treaty of union,
    Surely it has to go more in depth overall, and study the 1707 treaty of union between the two Countries of Scotland and England to ascertain how or why the inequality and refusal for the right to self determination for Scotland and people can be refused by the acting parliament for England and Wales.

61. James Cheyne says:

For a hundred years or more the parliament for England and Wales has run the parliament of Great Britains United kingdom/S until its end in 1800 / 1801, , and thereafter known as the parliament of Great Britain and Ireland. by a Anglo- Ireland treaty.
    Not the 1707 treaty with Scotland.

62. agent x says:

“3:47pm: Isla Bumba asked about LGBT ally tag

Questions are now being asked of Ms Bumba about her choosing to have an LGBT ally tag on her email signature.

“It’s a matter of fact about myself,” she says, adding that she doesn’t believe it equates to being on one side over another. She says she’s an alley to trans people but also an alley to women.

Ms Cunningham says it gives the impression that she is an ally to one group over another as it’s on her email while women or disabilities aren’t mentioned.”
    ——————————————

It gives more than an “impression”!

• Mark Beggan says:

Bumba has been caught with her knickers round her head. An idiot unfit for the adult world.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“an alley to trans people but also an alley to women”

The seeker after [REDACTED] would do well to stroll along a less ambiguous alley.

63. Andrew scott says:

So she/it was not an ally of the straight?
    She/it has to go

• agent x says:

Isla Bumba, NHS Fife’s equalities and human rights lead officer.

Obviously thought it more important to be an ally to LGBT rather than EQUALITY FOR ALL.

64. Northcode says:

I said in an earlier post I might scribble doun another poem in Scots as a mid-week treat:

YeThink?

If ye think wiv reached the end o’ days
    If ye think we’re oot o crye
    If ye think us Scots hae gien up
    If ye think oor time is by

If ye think we cannae ryse agin
    If ye think we’ll turn tae dust
    If ye think yon thief haes got us beat
    If ye think oor flush is bust

If ye think oor songs be feenisht
    If ye think oor tunes be deid
    If ye think oor leid is dyin’
    If ye think that’s in yer heid

If ye think we’ll juist rowe ower
    If ye think we’ll schute the craw
    If ye think we cannae take nae mair
    If ye think wir gaun’ae fa

If ye think at last the end haes come
    If ye think we’ll soon be gaun
    If ye think the baurley-bree run oot
    If ye think we’ll no see morn

If ye think the ficht’s gaun oot us
    If ye think wir doun an done
    If ye think we cannae raise a fist
    If ye think oor speerit’s blawn

If ye think naebody gies a damn
    If ye think wir oan oor ain
    If ye think the wirld’s forgat us
    If ye think aw hope haes gane

If that’s yer crye
    If that’s yer whine
    If that’s yer thinkin’ tae
    Then yer thinkin’ is aw wrang, ma freends
    Fir wiv no yit haed oor day.

There ye go; anither poem written in Scots plucked fae ma heid an blootered oot onto the – digital – page.

• James says:

Braw, Northy!

• Anthem says:

Nice one. ?

• Hatey McHateface says:

I missed this earlier.

Strong, the disappointment is, in me.

Still, NC, why not use “thocht” or even “ween”?

Even stronger, the disappointment is, in me, when I appear to be better at writing in Scots than you are 🙂

65. Young Lochinvar says:

DEI needs gone.
    It’s a pure and simple joke stuffed to the brim with ideology repeaters; sack em all and see if they can hold down a job in the real world that actually produces something useful, not the Barbie world fantasy construct they seem to inhabit.

• agent x says:

I agree with your comment and would add that DEI has become a whole industry and will be very difficult to stop – too many people in cosy irrelevant jobs making wrong decisions.

• Young Lochinvar says:

It’s quite simple Agent X; simply cut off the funding.
        It’ll wither and die.

Dread to think what monstrosity is waiting next in the wings for them all to flock to like some new religion..

66. Young Lochinvar says:

Boom boom

How much does a £6m door into the House of Lords cost?

£9m boom boom!!

It’s the way I tell them..

• Young Lochinvar says:

Knock knock

Who’s there?

A member of the House of Lords, we can’t get in as the £9m £6m new door isn’t working..

Boom boom..

• DaveL says:

Knock knock

Who’s there?

£3m, I can fix the £9m £6m door.

….I’ll get my coat.

67. agent x says:

“An equalities officer who advised that a transgender doctor should be allowed to use a hospital’s female changing room has said she cannot be sure of her own biological sex.

Isla Bumba told an employment tribunal that the definition of biological sex was “far more complex” than whether someone had a male or female body.

She said she would “hazard a guess” that she was female but she had not had her chromosomes tested to find out “what my own body is made of biologically.”
    ————————————–

she is a very confused young highly paid employee in a job that she shouldn’t be doing. (or should that be she/he)

• Anthem says:

Agent x, she should be sacked immediately! Along with a whole host of others. Severe action must be be taken to rid our public services from this poison that was introduced by Sturgeon and her handlers.

• Young Lochinvar says:

She sounds like a full on Zizian..

£59k! Doesn’t even know what sex she is!!!

Jesus H Christ..

Only here!

The Buck stops with you Swinney..

• Young Lochinvar says:

What her body is made of physically??
      Really?
      Sugar and spice and all things nice complete with snails and puppy dogs tails?!
      And not forgetting the fairy dust..

How to advance at work these days; be as confused as possible it seems, rock up to interviews for new age invented DEI jobs with the appropriate lanyard and get through as none of the interviewers have a clue what you are talking about but are indoctrinated to think it must be right on!

On your head Swinney, sort it or politically diminish. That if nothing else should get your attention..

• The Flying Iron of Doom says:

My plan would go something like this:

1) Find a job position for which I am completely unqualified.

2) Send off a doctored CV in which I tool up by claiming to be a transexual member of an ethnic minority who possesses some manner of a humanities degree along with an invisible disability such as ADHD, autism or a potentially fatal allergy to nitrogen.

3) Dye my hair a funny colour, get some crappy tattoos and then get a nose ring in anticipation of the interview which I will surely be granted on account of my being so stunning and brave.

4) Attend the interview and just sort of wing it. Be sure to throw in regular comments about my pending gender transition in order to maintain the upper hand throughout the interview.

5) Be offered the job because everyone is terrified that to turn me down will be to invite a hysterical accusation of transphobia along with a conviction for some sort of Hate Crime®.

6) Rock up at my newly-secured job every day and spend all of my time posting pish on Twitter safe in the knowledge that I am untouchable (see point 5 above). Precipitate the sacking of any annoying colleagues by claiming that I feel unsafe around them and that they are literally Hitler.

So there you go folks. That’s how you play to win 🙂

68. Dan says:

Parties are shit… New parties are destined to fail 90% of the time…
    Desperately looking for a new Party…

link to robinmcalpine.org

Soz Robin, doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results is said to be insane.
    And especially so if you think a new UK Party trying to capture votes in the Kingdom of England with ten times the population and differing wonts and needs compared to the Kingdom of Scotland, will work out well for Scotland.

Left wing or right wing… Hmm, ever just considered being reasonably centrist and attempting to capture votes from the non-extreme majority of centre ground folk.
    Scotland is a small c conservative country, so chances of most folk being receptive to radical change are slim.

TBH with the timeframes involved in getting anything done in Scotland with the current setup of the political class and “the edgy intellectuals”, I fully recommend embracing cryogenic suspension, so there’s a small chance one might see some kind of result before the natural life of our bodies expires and returns to being space compost.
    “Radical”* Land Reform in Scotland must hoover up a shitload of taxpayer’s cash and is for all intents and purposes jist a fucking grift for a select group of folk to talk the talk and deliver homeopathic levels of fuck aw.
    *Not actually radical at all because with two previous Land Reform Acts passed, even more of Scotland is owned by even fewer folk, and the landed and fiscally advantaged continue to rip the fucking piss out of the system with all manner of subsidies and grifts which are all too often funded by the taxpayer.

• Alf Baird says:

“Soz Robin, doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results is said to be insane.”

Indeed so, Dan. Many of Scotland’s intellectual Left still need to understand our colonial reality and what it means for our people, which includes structural inequality, racial oppression and a colonial mindset.

link to jpti.ch

• Aidan says:

@Alf – I’m going to be honest, that whole submission reads like “the food in British Airways first class was nowhere near as good as when I flew Emirates last year. So I’m just as oppressed as the sub-postmasters”

• James says:

Oh look. Font of all worldly knowledge “Aidan” is on early shift today.

• Aidan says:

Yes, obviously, I need to update the PM on how many times Alf Baird has posted that Scotland is a colony today. We need to justify the d notice. Did you make it through the night without wetting yourself btw?

• Stuart says:

So no more about the ‘D’ notice then Professor Baird?

Clearly you are not a guest of His Majesty.

Safe to say then that it’s a figment of your fervent imagination, or are you now subject to a super injunction?

-;)

I think we should be told!

69. Campbell Clansman says:

The latest poll (IPSOS) of voting intentions for Holyrood has the SNP at 31%, “Other” (Alba, Liberation, ISP, etc.) at 1%. The Unionist parties will get the overwhelming majority of the vote, with Labour at 21%, Reform 16%, Conservatives 10%, LibDems 9%.

When in 2026 Scots vote overwhelmingly for Unionist parties, will the moonhowlers accept that result of “plebiscitary democracy?” Or will they trot out their usual “we wuz robbed” bit–a favorite of conspiracy theorists?

• Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“The latest poll (IPSOS) of voting intentions for Holyrood has the SNP at 31%, “Other” (Alba, Liberation, ISP, etc.) at 1%. The Unionist parties will get the overwhelming majority of the vote, with Labour at 21%, Reform 16%, Conservatives 10%, LibDems 9%.”

You seem to have omitted the Greens for some reason. 56-44 isn’t an “overwhelming” majority of anything.

70. sam says:

link to ohchr.org

Link to the submission by Justice pour Tous

• Aidan says:

I can’t believe they’ve actually published this! That’s hilarious

No official response however, but some readers of this blog might feel that the UN is focussed on other issues in Scotland that are not entirely aligned with our views and interests: link to ohchr.org

71. sam says:

Devolution is not an expression of federal equality, nor does it enable autonomous self-rule protected by constitutional guarantees. Rather, it constitutes a revocable delegation of authority, dependent entirely upon the will of the Westminster Parliament, which continues to assert supremacy under an English legal doctrine of parliamentary sovereignty. This model entrenches the centralisation of legislative, fiscal, and international authority in London and denies Scotland
    the core features of genuine local governance as defined by Resolution 57/12 and required for the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), particularly SDGs 1, 3, 4, 10, 11, and 16.

In this light, the submission contends that Scotland’s current status is best understood not as that of a constituent unit within a unitary or federal state, but as that of a modern colony administered by an external and unaccountable center of power. The failure to establish a reciprocal constitutional framework following the Union, coupled with the exhaustion of allinternal legal and political remedies to secure a pathway to self-determination, gives rise to a presumption in favour of international oversight. Accordingly, JPTi reiterates that the situation of Scotland meets the definitional criteria for recognition as a non-self-governing territory under United Nations General Assembly Resolutions 1514 (XV) and 1541 (XV), thereby warranting the application of international standards and mechanisms to support the restoration of self-government and the democratic will of its people

• sam says:

Pressed post too early.

That’s an extract from the submission.

72. Northcode says:

The sun is oan the shine and a’m mindit o’ a summer lang lang syne.

A Simmer Lang Syne Mindit by an Auld Man

The speel o’ yon simmer a fond recall.
    The whurlin’ the burlin’, the occasional fa.
    The heuchs an the schouts an the cryes an the joy.
    The reels o’ the churt an the rasp o’ the foy.

The taste o’ the whisky.
    The touch o’ the air.
    The sicht o’ the heather.
    The scent o’ her hair.

The fearce endless heat an the tilt o’ her heid.
    The cuil o’ the schade in the deep colonel’s beid.
    The crick o’ the crickets, the ring o’ her laugh.
    The sips o’ cauld watter, its life-gien draught.

The roustle o’ gresses.
    The sang o’ the stream.
    Hou went it sae quikly,
    Yon sweet summer dream?

I wrote this one a while ago but I changed the title so it’s now a new poem in ma heid from where it was plucked and blootered doun on the digital page.

73. James Cheyne says:

Just for fun ,
    Like trans whom claim they are in the wrong body, Scots are in a situation whereby they are in the right Country, but are attached to the wrong rainbow parliament body,
    Scots should consider an operation to remove the offending appendage,

Dan,
    On a more serious note,
    Parliaments within Parliaments.

The Land reforms taken place over Scotland come under the Halsbury Statues laws of England and Wales in Englands Westminster parliament , a parliament which rests within the Westminster parliament of Great Britain that twice ended a treaty with Scotland.

The Halsbury Statues moved over and entered the Anglo- Ireland Westminster parliament of England and Ireland.
    The Westminster parliament of England and Ireland then under Halsbury Statues of England and Wales placed and planned a fictatious devolved parliament to Scotland for renewed management.

Meanwhile in Scotland we must remember these incidents of recorded history,

1) The Scots were not asked to join in a union with the new named treaty of union between Scotland and England,

2) The Scottish parliament was dissolved and removed from the political parliamentary union with England soon afterwards,

3) That the Scotland and England treaty of union ended in 1800/1801 anyway,

4) That having removed the supposed political joined Scottish parliament to Englands parliament the Scottish parliament was not and could not be included in the Anglo- Ireland treaty.

5) under those conditions, old treaties were voided and annulled and new alliance treaties were made with the Westminster parliament of England,

6) To and insult to injury, Scotland became a Republic Country and Territorial community Realm when we Disowned king James and gave permission for England to have that line of Monarchy, or choose one of their choice to be the monarch of England,

7) The monarch of England by acts of the parliament of England was not now the monarch of Scots or their ( now ) territorial republic community realm at the time the Treaty of union was planned, discussed and ratified as a treaty, and had no authority being involved in the republic of Scotland side of ratification,
    So she avoided signing it, and got that other well known gentleman to authorise it in Scotland,

8) The wording of the treaty of union articles themselves were, what made her claim Scotland territorial lands, as her own under a united kingdom claim with the republic of Scotland,
    After the Treaty was signed, England extended its laws into Scotland for the first time.

9) The monarch of England at that time was coronated and under the oath of England since1702.
    Confirmed by the bill of rights and other Acts of limitation to the crown of England,

10, The connections to the Scots, to the republic of Scotland territory , to the Scottish parliament and to the Scottish side of the treaty are pretty threadbare of reality.

But with excellent word-smithing and propaganda from the monarch of England and the parliament of England at that time and continued ever since, with multiple layers of in and out parliaments and treaties we can now add the devolved government sent to Scotland from the parliament of England and Wales and Ireland to apply Land reform policies over Scotland, change our laws, create Hate crime bills, create trans policies, and what ever they dam well please etc,

All based on uniting the kingdom of England with a republic country of Scotland whom had no monarch or kingdom at that time.

74. sarah says:

@ Dan and sam:

Robin McAlpine’s article is a clear and compelling analysis of where the SNP is and our need to replace it. However he isn’t, on the face of it, putting his weight behind trying to make the alternative on offer – an electoral alliance – work. He points out its drawbacks but not the positive which is that there is a very substantial number of voters who want independence [not that polling on subjects of importance reflects this, I know] and would presumably vote for such an alliance.

@ sam: Thanks for typing out this extract from Liberation’s agent at the UN, Justice Pour Tous Internationale. It seems that the process requires repeated exposure of Scotland’s cause in the UN pond so that when our petition is presented, everyone is already familiar with the arguments. Well, that makes sense!

75. sarah says:

And another awful thing – see Craig Murray’s piece today about the three women whose car damaged a fence of the arms factory in Edinburgh. They have been shut away, unable to know the law or lawyer who can protect them, and moved to Glasgow.

This is yet another appalling piece of State versus decent principles.

• Mark Beggan says:

It’s reality time for the Lefty do gooders. Terrorists forfeit their rights.

• Aidan says:

@Mark – I love the way it’s described as “damaged a fence” as if it was some kind of innocent accident.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“moved to Glasgow”

Are there no depths of hideous depravity to which the abusive, coercive state apparatus will not sink?

Moved to Glasgow – how can I ever sleep easy again, knowing what these Edinburgh women are suffering in Glasgow?

• Mark Beggan says:

I will sleep like a sedated log. Knowing that those three self appointed terrorists are locked up in the Govan Anti Terrorism Unit.

• Hatey McHateface says:

C’moan Mark.

No civilised country would put Edinburgh people in Govan.

Or vice versa.

76. sam says:

Intellectually, Aidan isn’t fit to lick the boots of Alf Baird so he resorts to insult.

Yesterday, Aidan was trying to undermine the book published by Walsh and McCartney, “Social Murder?: Austerity and Life Expectancy in the UK.”

Aidan quoted an article in the Lancet which he sought to discredit without any evidence as somehow weakening the professors’ book. The Lancet article supported Walsh/ McCartney.

Public health research in Scotland has long been casting a light on the harm done to the health of the Scottish population over decades by UK policies.

Deindustrialisation, slums, the Glasgow Effect which was really UK gov and local gov effect, drug deaths, neoliberalism, austerity. All of this over decades has caused thousands of premature deaths in Scotland. For the poorest in Scotland the period of life free from disability is 47 years.

Professor Walsh does talks to groups of people, small and large.

• Aidan says:

Oh it’s another cult member, they really do seem to make their way out of the woodwork don’t they. I note you haven’t addressed the actual substance of my criticism, namely that the causal impact must at least in part be caveated against the fact that life expectancy in the U.K. started to level out prior to the attributed cuts actually being introduced or even decided. That has to be a significant weakness in the methodology, but of course fantasising always starts with the conclusion and works backwards to retrofit the evidence.

Perhaps you could answer Captain Caveman’s question around what good looks like in terms of the UN submission. The UN (at least at an administrative level) are aware of it, and so what response should we expect and when? Or will this just be filed in the same category of nonsense as all the other fantasist submissions the UN receives by virtue of its profile as an international institution. If you want any credibility, then answer that, otherwise you’ll just look like the other unemployment daytime drinker shopping channel serial masturbaters that seem to lurk on here.

• Captain Caveman says:

Sam’s a dullard cut ‘n paste merchant and troll, but he’s actually one of the “better” correspondents if you can believe that, compared to his “colleagues”.

Expecting any sort of coherent answers from him and his ilk is beyond optimistic – and they’d be worthless anyway. Conversely, I would be interested to hear what Xaracen has to say, since he’s at least articulate, intelligent and civil. Sadly, thought, answers there were none, which tells its own story I guess.

• Aidan says:

That’s a fair summary – Xaracen is at least engagable, if wrong

• Hatey McHateface says:

Sam always likes to fret about this kind of thing, all the while choosing to ignore the immense and accelerating changes that are occurring in UK demographics.

Taking health outcomes, for example. What are the effects of introducing large populations who favour cousin marriage? If childhood immunisation provides such wonderful protections against later life illness, what are the effects of introducing millions of adults who have never had these immunisations? What are the effects of introducing populations with heightened susceptibility to “rare” diseases, sickle cell, for example?

It’s much the same kind of willed blindness that on other days has Sam bleating about poverty whilst ignoring the importing of millions of poor economic migrants.

A sceptic might wonder if Sam is part of the institutionalised industry that works to transfer wealth and resources from the indigenous to the immigrants under the guise of equity, fairness, etc.

A realist, once switched on to the existence, present gains, and future goals of that institutionalised industry, realises that colonisation is indeed in full flow in the UK and Scotland.

But it’s not the colonisation the usual Wings BTL suspects like to wang on and on about.

• twathater says:

You Posted,

“You’ll just look like the other unemployment daytime drinker shopping channel serial masturbaters that seem to lurk on here.”

Obviously a description that is applicable to you and your assorted yoonionists and fellow proud Scots BUTS , at least some of them admit in their own way that they are Scotland HATERS from elsewhere, YOU don’t even have that excuse,The CRINGE in you and your fellow Scotland HATERS eg Bastard TAX MOAN is extremely deep,at least MOAN shows his desperation for Is rahel to colonise Scotland,YOU are delighted to be colonised and ruled by a shower of corrupt incompetent fuckwits who have undermined,lied and stolen every Scottish resource that should have been used to benefit Scots,your cringe is palpable

• Northcode says:

My Tercet – almost – of the Day:

AI Dan;
        The clue is in the name, the artifeecially smert;
        Artifeecial man.

• Aidan says:

I appreciate that what I said may seem like a personal attack even though I didn’t name you. I’ll leave others to speculate why.

As to the idea that I hate Scotland, well that’s too stupid to warrant a response. I would suggest however that the continual obsessive posting of conspiracy theories along with delusional ranting, “poems”, aimless dross about the Treaty of Union which doesn’t appear to raise any specific point or have any discursive value, endless references to Fanon, Memmi etc. might tend to unfairly suggest that the independence movement is infested with people who can’t be trusted to reliable operate a toothbrush. I know that isn’t the case, but an observer might feel that way.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Ah, c’moan noo, Aidan.

Stereotypically, we Scots are famously lacking in teeth – what we could perhaps call “dentally challenged”.

Undoubtedly due to the rapacious plundering of colonialism (Memmi), and the hatred of successive WM Tory governments, but let’s agree to put that to one side for a moment.

We can’t be held accountable for our shortcomings in the toothbrush handling department. With motive and practise, we could be up there with the best.

Just look at the descendants of our most successful colonisation achievements – the USA and Canada. Teeth the envy of the world, through toothbrush handling of Olympic Gold winning class.

• Aidan says:

@Hatey – yes it’s all fun and games, but I really love Scotland, there is no better country in the world, nowhere I love more and nowhere I feel more at home. To see her denigrated like this is incredibly sad.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“Scotland, there is no better country in the world”

Hmmm. I can defo think of a few.

But that’s not the point. It’s my country and I’m proud of it.

Proud as in the independently thinking and independently acting Scottish way that was the norm just a couple of generations ago. Not the lardy-arsed, entitled, hands-out-for-more-benefits kind of pride that is what passes for nationalism to many nowadays.

I’m on here because the thick-as-short-planks posters who provide many of the posts on here have right, royally fucked up things by slavish worship of the SNP and we need to do better.

Whether devolved or independent we need to do a whole lot better.

• James says:

Aye, the lawyer is ‘flat-out wrong’ but bad actor “Aidan” is right (always). What are “Aidan”‘s qualifications, I wonder….

A degree in fuckology I’d wager.

• Hatey McHateface says:

James, back in my student days we fuckology students used to look down on the wankology class.

Since graduating, I’m afraid that contempt has only become stronger.

77. sam says:

Aidan

You say: “namely that the causal impact must at least in part be caveated against the fact that life expectancy in the U.K. started to level out prior to the attributed cuts actually being introduced or even decided.”

This is nonsense.

The cuts started in 2010. It was life expectancy increases that slowed down in 2011 before falling in 2020.

You haven’t understood the methodology. Using a paper you didn’t understand to try to discredit a book you haven’t read…

• Aidan says:

Even if we took your view that life expectancy dipped from 2011 rather than 2010 (although the data does not support that, particularly when you consider the delayed impact of data collection and processing) you’re still forced into the absurd position that the measures introduced in the Summer 2010 (tax rises since the spending cuts did not take effect at that point) caused life expectancy to immediately level out. Look at all of the tax rises implemented in 2010 and tell me which of those you think is significant enough to cause lots of people to immediately start dying, then perhaps you could explain the causal link between say the VAT rate rising from 17.5% to 20%, and an immediate rise in mortality.

In reality, mortality and life expectancy is a lagging indicator of the impact of economic or policy changes, to the extent that policy or governance is a major causal factor in lack of improvements in life expectancy, what we are actually seeing is the delayed impact of the financial crisis from 2007 onwards. What is described as austerity is really a reflection of the consequences of the stagnating U.K. and EU economy from 2009/10 onwards in terms of public spending. There are those that say the public sector should have been entirely insulated from this and that taxes should have been raised year on year on a shrinking private sector to fund this. I don’t agree.

• Marie says:

Correct. I remember reading The Black Report decades ago about the shocking differences in morbidity and mortality between rich and poor. The report was so shocking that the Tory Government had it published on a public holiday and effectively buried it. Governments aren’t really interested in the health and welfare of the poorest – assisting the poor – in my opinion – is seen by elites as throwing good money after bad. Cheaper to look after if they’re six feet under or more likely – in an urn. The sooner the better.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“Governments aren’t really interested in the health and welfare of the poorest”

By a remarkable coincidence, neither are most people.

Some people are, of course, but they are so rare, we call them saints.

But with most people, self, family, tribe. That’s as far as it goes, with self and family an order of magnitude more important than even the tribe.

Hey, don’t blame us! It’s all in our genes.

By another remarkable coincidence, the health and welfare of our own poorest is still so good by comparison with countless hundreds of millions of others in the world, that their strongest and most able will risk their lives to get here and grab a piece of our “shitty existence” for themselves.

So what are we to make of that?

• DaveL says:

…with a brain he hasn’t got

78. DaveL says:

Woah! The colonialists are on overdrive today. Slagging off anyone with the audacity to post an idea a poem or a simple comment. Then, going on to converse amongst themselves,
    they find themselves all jolly good chaps and offer each other congratulations.

They also note who has intelligence and who does not… that’s nice of them.

To me they appear as a bottom end microcosm of the western elite; flailing about like landed fish knowing the end of their ‘rules based order’ is near and there’s nothing they can do to reverse course.

What a bunch of absolute fuckin’ winners!

• Captain Caveman says:

‘… What a bunch of absolute fuckin’ winners!‘

Yep! That’s how we roll mate. “Fuckin’ winners” one and all. (Lulz)

• GM says:

aye, DaveL. These accounts are largely ignored now which has had an effect.

79. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

POLICE ‘PRIDE’ MARCH DAMAGING PUBLIC TRUST, HIGH COURT RULES

A Newcastle United fan investigated by Northumbria Police over her gender-critical views has won her case against the force’s promotion of “trans causes”.

The High Court ruled in favour of Linzi Smith, concluding that Chief Constable Vanessa Jardine and other officers’ participation in ‘Newcastle Pride in the City 2024’ indicated the force’s support of gender ideology in opposition to its impartiality duties.

Linzi Smith is still challenging Newcastle United Football Club’s suspension of her membership, which has not been reinstated even though Northumbria Police apologised for investigating her social media comments about the reality of biological sex.

‘POLICE PRIDE’

Mr Justice Linden explained that the Chief Constable’s “participation in the March was likely to be seen, and may well have been intended to be seen, as expressing the support of the head of the Force for the views and the cause which the March sought to promote”.

He emphasised that “institutional support for gender ideology and transgender rights” was further expressed by uniformed police officers marching with the ‘Police Pride’ flag, while a static display “included the Northumbria Police badge and the blue, pink and white of the transgender flag”.

Justice Linden warned that these actions impact the public’s trust in the force’s ability to “fairly and impartially” handle clashes between gender critics and trans activists.

Institute Director Ciarán Kelly said the judgment “struck a major blow against the capture of the police by LGBT ideology and could spell the end for ‘rainbow’ vehicles and other LGBT branding”.

‘TERRIFYING’

Welcoming the ruling, Smith said: “I am delighted with the judgment of the Court.

“It is terrifying to live in a community where the police have abandoned their duty of impartiality and embraced a highly controversial political cause. I’ve experienced first-hand what happens when the police forget their duty of impartiality.”

“Their participation in the Pride march clearly shows where their sympathies lie. Today however, the court has ruled decisively that the Chief Constable acted unlawfully. My hope is that Northumbria Police change their ways and follow this ruling. If they do they will be policing the community for everyone.”

Currently, off-duty officers will be allowed to attend the 2025 event wearing T-shirts stating: “The National LGBT+ Network: Police with Pride. 10th Anniversary Conference”. The stall, which will not be decorated with LGBT colours, is set to be staffed by uniformed officers.

(From ‘The Christian Institute’ site, 17 July 2025)

• twathater says:

If the chief constable was engaged in unlawful conduct or actions surely she should be removed from her position

As far as I was aware the police represent the crown and as such their allegiance is to chuck big ears, they are also PROHIBITED from displaying any political badge,emblem or ensign on their uniforms so why are all these different chief constables encouraging total disregard of the uniform code of conduct

• Young Lochinvar says:

TH
        Cos they are up to their proverbial ears in it..

Just like the public sector, the 3rd sector (really badly) and trendy f wits in the private sector.

Money is the key, cutting that off is the only way to kill this particular monster.

Reading any of this “honest John”?
        If so “understanding any of it”?

Nah, thought not.

Identify where the money is coming from and where it’s going would be a good start.

C*nts have made a laughing stock of us, I predict it won’t be forgotten..

80. Confused says:

some people, the whiners, don’t like poetry, well, you know their kind, they don’t like -anything-

Poetry is a bit meh tho; not been mainstream since the ancient bards would recite epic tales from memory in the long halls, full of chieftains, captains, heroes, warriors and shield maidens, serving the beer … (an ideal society, as it should be and shall return) – the celts (the danaans), the nords (the eddas), the greeks (homer, the illiad), going back all the way to the ancient aryans telling tales of gilgamesh and enkidu, demigod friends, like prehistoric butch and sundance … which is really cool, but nowaways we turn all that into film.

the modern art form, the form of last century is cinema, and there we have ample opportunities to promote anticlonial struggle for culture is a massive weapon against the colnised mind – (if the theoretical is too dry)

“the harder they come” is a great film, a sensation when it came out and with one of the greatest soundtracks ever. It was also notable as the actors spoke the natural, indigenous language of the country, jamaican “patois”, not standard english. Language, their own language, mind.

“as sure as the sun does shine, ahm gonna get my share of what is mine … ”

– the story is about a young man from the country trying to make a living in town, he is successively turned away from whatever he tries, shunned or ripped off in the process, then he manages to make a record, and it is a hit, but he is cheated of the royalties …

the point being : whatever you try to do, within the system, you cannot win, for you will be cheated. For sure we all get a run at the winning tape, but some people are wearing divers boots, others riding motorcycles, most start at zero, others on the half way line; it is baked into the education system, and if it was “fair” then WTAF do the wealthy spend all that money to get “the same” as they would get at a state school?

Economic exploitation turns people “political” and when there is no political mechanism to fix anything, then it becomes a liberation struggle/revolution, i.e. violent and it all ends in a big shoot out. Watch it yourself. Even the BBC stick it on from time to time, probably a sop to antiracism, but the message is deeper.

Jimmy Cliff was a better singer than Bob Marley (whose weak as piss “rastafarianism” – dope smoking as a religion? – presents no threat to the authorities).

the incredible power of great art/culture/music/film to enrich the mind, sweep away the mental bondage of col0nialism is obvious, and it terrified the authorities; this is also the real reason why e.g. Scotland doesn’t have its own film studio, otherwise the Scots might produce works which show the Scots existing without, before, in no need of, and in no relation to, England, what it does and thinks.

one of the greatest “scottish” films of recent times has no englishmen or mention of england at all in it – it was made by a dane, not an englishman, and not a scot either. There is no “danish cringe”.

– valhalla rising by nicolas winding refn (drive, bronson etc)

“he is driven by hate, it’s how he survives, why he never loses”

keep your hatred -pure-

– if anger is an energy, then hatred is your nuclear power plant; it never needs refuelled. Let hate be your hope.

the Anglo is the enemy, everywhere; they are enemies of the entire human race

and they mock us
    link to archive.ph
    because they think they can, know they can, who will stop them.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“the Scots might produce works which show the Scots existing without, before, in no need of, and in no relation to, England, what it does and thinks”

Haha, good one, Confused.

I believe that any sane reader on here can see that you have no existence outside of your deranged, virulent hatreds. For the English & for Da Dews.

Without them you would be totally lost. And so you will cling to them till the day you die.

81. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

MESSAGE TO THE FREE NATIONS OF THE WORLD

(Issued in Irish, English, and French by Dáil Éireann at its first meeting, January 21st, 1919)

« To the Nations of the World — Greeting.

« The Nation of Ireland having proclaimed her national independence, calls, through her elected representatives in Parliament assembled in the Irish Capital on January 21st, 1919, upon every free nation to support the Irish Republic by recognising Ireland’s national status and her right to its vindication at the Peace Congress.

« Naturally, the race, the language, the customs and traditions of Ireland are radically distinct from the English. Ireland is one of the most ancient nations in Europe, and she has preserved her national integrity, vigorous and intact, through seven centuries of foreign oppression; she has never relinquished her national rights, and throughout the long era of English usurpation she has in every generation defiantly proclaimed her inalienable right of nationhood down to her last glorious resort to arms in 1916.

« Internationally, Ireland is the gateway to the Atlantic; Ireland is the last outpost of Europe towards the West; Ireland is the point upon which great trade routes between East and West converge; her independence is demanded by the Freedom of the Seas; her great harbours must be open to all nations, instead of being the monopoly of England. To-day these harbours are empty and idle solely because English policy is determined to retain Ireland as a barren bulwark for English aggrandisement, and the unique geographical position of this island, far from being a benefit and safeguard to Europe and America, is subjected to the purposes of England’s policy of world domination.

« Ireland to-day reasserts her historic nationhood the more confidently before the new world emerging from the war, because she believes in freedom and justice as the fundamental principles of international law; because she believes in a frank co-operation between the peoples for equal rights against the vested privileges of ancient tyrannies; because the permanent peace of Europe can never be secured by perpetuating military dominion for the profit of empire but only by establishing the control of government in every land upon the basis of the free will of a free people, and the existing state of war, between Ireland and England, can never be ended until Ireland is definitely evacuated by the armed forces of England.

« For these among other reasons, Ireland—resolutely and irrevocably determined at the dawn of the promised era of self-determination and liberty that she will suffer foreign dominion no longer—calls upon every free nation to uphold her national claim to complete independence as an Irish Republic against the arrogant pretensions of England founded in fraud and sustained only by an overwhelming military occupation, and demands to be confronted publicly with England at the Congress of the Nations, that the civilised world having judged between English wrong and Irish right may guarantee to Ireland its permanent support for the maintenance of her national independence.»

link to publish.ucc.ie

• Stuart says:

Then Ireland joined the EU and they surrendered their independence….

Just like Scotland will.

• twathater says:

For a supposed supporter of independence your continuous negativity echoes your fellow travellers penchant towards undermining everything about Scotland

The Scum Nonce Party determining that once independent we will join the EU does NOT make it absolute, that is for Scots to decide and that is why we need more involvement of direct democracy

• James says:

Another new ‘name’? (yawn)

82. Young Lochinvar says:

Boom boom..

How many Lords does it take to open the HOL £9m £6m door?

None!
    It doesn’t work!!

Boom boom!!

83. Young Lochinvar says:

Boom boom!

Why did the Lords cross the road??

Because the new £9m £6m HOL door is jammed shut so they are all off to a Soho strip club instead !!

Boom boom..

84. Young Lochinvar says:

Google!

Q: When were doors invented?

A: Doors are first recorded in ancient Egypt around 3000BC.

So doors have been used and fully functioning for over 5000 years- except of course the new £9m £6m fiasco door into the House of Lords in London..

• twathater says:

THAT door is emblematic of the whole uk establishment, Fuck All WORKS

85. Northcode says:

I feel I should make it clear that when I bang on about my ‘braw’ poetry and how ‘wunnerfu it is tae be me’ I’m takin’ the mickey oot masel – just in case some folk think I’m being serious.

I’m quite aware that I’m no Rabbie Burns and that my poetry is that of a rank amateur at best and I’m quite aware that I’m no literary genius either.

I post bits and pieces of poems I’ve written not to showcase my ‘skill’ as a poet, but as a vehicle that might help to promote the Scots language in some small way.

And while my ‘poetry’ can hardly be described as braw the same cannot be said of our wonderful Scots leid.

I believe that the teaching of Scots in our schools is essential if we are to re-establish the connection – a connection I feel has been lost or at the least greatly weakened due to the suppression of the Scots leid by a foreign power – between the Scots and their cultural heritage.

Because if we don’t recover our language I fear it will be ‘finem Scottorum’… the end of the Scots.

Tin hats fir coronets
    An cludgie stanes fir thrones
    Thaim fowk wha ance forgat thaimsel
    Embraced anither’s epithet.
    Nou nuthin’ mair than bones

I would urge those who haven’t yet visited the online Dictionaries of the Scots Language to do so – it’s a fantastic resource.

The mair fowk wha discouer juist hou braw oor verra ain Scots language is the mair chaunce the Scots hae as a people o’ survivyn intae the neist century and yont.

Dictionars o the Scots Leid

By the way, for those interested the wee poem dropped into this comment is known as a quintain, sometimes called a quintet.

In this case closer to a Monchielle stanza poem – usually six syllables per line five lines in total, (mine is 6,6,8,8,6), in iambic trimester with a rhyme scheme of abcdc.

The things ye kin leern yersel oan here, eh? A often blooter this stuff oot at denner pairties an social events an sic tae kid fowk oan a’m smerter than a really be.

• twathater says:

NC I am not a dedicated lover of poetry but I am a lover of the Scots language, our culture and our history

I find it repulsive and abhorrent that Scots denigrate and demean these things whilst at the same time they eagerly and vociferously adopt the history and culture of a foreign country, a foreign country who has proven innumerably their contempt and disgust for anything Scottish

If you look at the indigenous people’s and tribes all around the world it is plain to see the devastating impact they have all suffered at the hands of their colonisers(we call them NEW Scots or inc omers or inter lopers), irrespective of what they are called their focus is not on respecting or adopting the indigenous people’s culture it is about REPLACING that culture with their own

There are many indigenous people’s and tribes desperately trying to fight against total subjugation and retain their own customs and languages which I feel is currently Scotland’s situation

• Northcode says:

“… I am a lover of the Scots language, our culture and our history”

Aye, TH… you and me baith.

I completely understand and appreciate that poetry isn’t for everyone.

I find it useful on here because poetry allows the use of a range of braw Scots words we wouldn’t usually see in normal everyday speech.

It helps – in my view anyway – to gie fowk a notion o’ the magnificent depth and breadth of the Scots leid… and I’ve only just scratched the surface masel.

“…their focus is not on respecting or adopting the indigenous people’s culture it is about REPLACING that culture with their own”

Colonialism is described as a scourge on humanity and it’s plain to see why.

Colonialism is a corrupting disease.

Colonialism is the version of ‘Ophiocordyceps unilateralis’ (zombie-ant fungus) that attacks humans instead of ants.

Colonialism is an aggressive parasite that turns its victim into a ‘zombie’ who – while lost in their zombie oblivion – is consumed; their language, culture and history replaced with an alien ‘morphology’.

Ultimately, colonialism leaves little of what was once recognisable as its original host intact.

If the Scots – as a people with their own unique language, culture and history – are to save themselves they need to wake from their zombie fugue and shake off the parasite that is slowly killing them.

If you want to give that parasite a name call it England.

If you want to give that parasite’s Scottish face a name… call it SNP.

• Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

COGADH Z AGUS NA h-OS-LAOICH

Teichibh! Tha na zombaidhean a’ tighinn!
        Tha Sràid Both Chanain a’ cur thairis leotha!
        Chan ann slaodach bacach a tha iad nas motha
        ach air chuthach ‘s ann an ionnsaigh-catha!

Nas cuthachaile buileach na Blàr Chùil Lodair.
        No Bragàd Aotrom Gleann a’ Bhàis.
        No clàbar ifrinneach Somme is Ypres.
        Siod zombaidhean a’ lìonadh Ceàrn Sheòrais an-dràst!

Tha fradharc aca ged a bhios iad dall! 
        Tha fadachd orra gus an ith iad ar feòil!
        Às a’ Ghreug a thàinig iad o chionn linn nan con, 
        slighe Ameireaga chugainn, tha am fathann a’ dol.

Ach fuirichibh mionaid! Dè tha sin os ar cionn! 
        Siod Spiderman a’ leum bho stìopall an Tron!
        Agus Batman agus Ironman agus Superman fhèin!
        Diathan-Olumpais Ameireaga gus ar sàbhaladh bho chron!

An e corra-shùgain air balla a th’ anns ar cuid smuain,
        nar suidhe, a rèir Phleuto, cuibhrichte nar n-uaimh?
        Ar cùlaibh ris an doras, fo gheasaibh ar mùbhaidh,
        am bidh solais àrda gar dùsgadh aig deireadh na cùise?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,796 Posts, 1,223,447 Comments

• George Ferguson on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “@Hatey McHateface Why do think Kate Forbes has left? The SNP strategy was also to muddy the legal waters. Unfortunately…Aug 5, 22:54
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “And another two penises, with a side order of cock sucking. Three double taps too. I guess I should be…Aug 5, 22:30
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: ““The Capture is still in full view” Here’s an article confirming this: https://unherd.com/newsroom/even-reform-uk-is-falling-prey-to-gender-ideology/ And a quote: “In the three and…Aug 5, 22:13
    • Young Lochinvar on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “In reply to P3nisbreath McP3nisbreathface @ 9.22 Aaah! “Smoking a pipe”.. So that’s what you call that “ACT” nowadays.. Try…Aug 5, 21:59
    • agent x on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: ““Change is coming.” No it is NOT.Aug 5, 21:56
    • George Ferguson on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “There was a couple of stories today that missed the attention of the discerning Independence supporter. The first being the…Aug 5, 21:44
    • agent x on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “@Alf Baird says: I can assure you that nothing you have ever said has convinced me to change my no…Aug 5, 21:34
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Don’t be too hard on agent x. He might be living in fear and never-ending abuse. Perhaps he’s been enslaved.…Aug 5, 21:33
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Much to agree with in your post, willie. But any vipers reading here will be affronted at being compared to…Aug 5, 21:26
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “And another two penises. Fit happened tae the re-enactment o’ Otterburn then? Car widnae start? Scotland’s gonna need a new…Aug 5, 21:22
    • Alf Baird on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: ““it is the “no” voters like me that need convincing.” In a colonial society, rejecting the liberation of one’s own…Aug 5, 21:02
    • Young Lochinvar on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “In reply to P3nisbreath McP3nisbreath @ 8.10 The only todgers mentioned were your nickname; and you wonder why 🙂 .…Aug 5, 20:55
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Is that a new boy then (Said)? I don’t recall you mentioning him before. Interesting that the “experience equally agonising”…Aug 5, 20:30
    • willie on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Word is that Kate Forbes is standing down because the party ” a nest of vipers ” Although I think…Aug 5, 20:26
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: ““Is there anything more boring and irrelevant” Sure. Any number of things.Aug 5, 20:21
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “You need to spend a lot more time in Middle Earth, Confused. It obviously calms you down, even although Da…Aug 5, 20:17
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Christine, thank you for your comment (5 Aug, 6.37 pm). It brought to mind this powerful extract from an interview…Aug 5, 20:16
    • Hatey McHateface on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “That’s the great thing about the internet, YL Sah! War correspondents can do it all from behind the closed curtains…Aug 5, 20:10
    • agent x on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “I blame the TV channels.Aug 5, 19:59
    • Mark Beggan on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “I blame the parents.Aug 5, 19:26
    • George Ferguson on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “@Christine Yes and the said troika would reinstate the 16th Century fig leaf that so damaged the original work of…Aug 5, 19:14
    • agent x on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “During the leadership debate it was only Forbes that said something sensible about independence. Something along the lines of -…Aug 5, 19:13
    • Alf Baird on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Yes James, if colonialism is allowed to continue the oppressed group culture and nation ‘will ultimately perish’ (Fanon). Ethnic oppression…Aug 5, 19:06
    • agent x on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: ““When Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs) leave office, they are entitled to a leaving payment to help them adjust…Aug 5, 18:48
    • Mark Beggan on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Iam a Daftie!Aug 5, 18:46
    • agent x on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Is there anything more boring and irrelevant than watching interviews with other people’s children getting exam results. “Look at my…Aug 5, 18:38
    • christine on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Yes, I’ve heard it all before from this troika of victim feminists. I guess there’s nothing else going on for…Aug 5, 18:37
    • Mark Beggan on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “They just can’t help themselves. Media spill on women politicians unable to balance work with motherhood. The dwarf is doing…Aug 5, 17:57
    • twathater on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “Anyone who thinks Kate Forbes was an asset to Scotland and independence is a Daftie, Forbes was just another trougher…Aug 5, 17:47
    • James Cheyne on The Deafening Echo Of Nothing: “If politicians spend their time trying to intergrat nations an blend Countries, How will they hit their diversity agenda, They…Aug 5, 17:33