Here And There

Posted on June 02, 2025 by

This is what Labour say in Scotland:

And this is what they say elsewhere, when they think nobody in Scotland is looking:

One day someone’s going to tell them about the internet, and our life’s going to get a lot more difficult. Until that day, though, let’s just enjoy the laughs.

0 to “Here And There”

1. Effijy says:

And what chance replacing Barnett will see Scotland’s finances increase after 15 years of established Westminster cuts.

I would have thought a long established Party like SNP would be jumping all over this getting on TV, Newspapers and Billboards but a man in far off Bath has given them the ball but they won’t even catch it let alone drop it.

2. Hatey McHateface says:

“cut funding for Scotland’s NHS and public services”

They will have to cut funding to pay for all the compo claims coming down the pipe. The botched jam jar recycling. The discrimination cases brought by believers in biology. The case brought by the late Alex Salmond (how is that one coming along?). Etc.

They could claw it all back by turfing the current occupants of HR onto the streets and housing asylum seekers in the place. I know asylum seekers get a bad press, but their criminality and profligacy with taxpayer’s extorted cash is amateur time compared with the politicos and the civil service.

Maybes we should have a referendum. Ask the people of Scotland what we would rather spend our money on – the pointless wee, pretendy parliament? Or our public services.

Haha! We won’t get that referendum because we all know how Scots would vote.

3. Northcode says:

“One day someone’s going to tell them about the internet…”

It won’t make any difference. Just as life found a way in Jurassic Park…stupidity will find a way in Scotland’s political class.

I think WoS will be enjoying the laughs for a long long time to come yet.

On a different note.

I’m not a fan of Farage… but I believe in the old phrase ‘manners maketh man’.

I don’t believe it’s proper for Scotland’s public figures who have a public voice and are public representatives of Scotland to use such undiplomatic, crude and frankly childish language like ‘poisonous, pathetic and toxic little man’ or ‘chief clown’ to describe the elected leader of a foreign political party regardless of their personal opinion of that leader or the party they represent.

It can be difficult to keep one’s true opinion of another strictly private…especially when dealing with folk whose beliefs and actions one might find unappealing or even repulsive; but representatives of entire peoples should be held to a much higher standard than the rest of us.

International diplomacy is vitally important to good relations between nations…just take a quick look around the world to see what happens when it fails.

• Geri says:

No surprise really. This was discussed during indy that this is exactly what they’d do. Bitter together, pulling & sharing eh? Aye, just misery. Nawbags won’t be happy until we’re all in the same shite standard of living. Indy boys had it right – bring it on. They’ve feck all left to flog so they’re on the prowl & “Scottish” Labour can shut up cause they voted & promoted Bitter Together despite knowing Scotland was being condemned in the event of a No vote.

Farage would be better to scrap the Union & make England independent but there’s nae chance of that ever happening. England would be piss poor cause it produces nothing but any endless procession of fuckwits to abuse & thieve Scotland & that won’t ever change.

• Northcode says:

“there’s nae chance of that ever happening”

Aye, Geri. If he ever gets to be PM he’ll be taken aside and telt tae shut up aboot England ditchin’ Scotland and those with the real power will explain to him why England desperately needs Scotland and that the empire went bust quite a wee while ago and that England’s cupboard would be bare without Scotland’s vast larder tae keep it stocked up.

4. Richard Watson says:

Wales does badly out of Barnett. Scotland does well. That is an article about the Welsh FM. No hypocrisy from Anas.

• Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

It might be about the Welsh FM, but it explicitly says Barnett applies to all three devolved nations. Read properly.

5. Tommo says:

Count yourselves lucky; here in Wales our representatives have determined that their number needs to be increased by 50 % (that’s right -half as many as before, disregarding their numberless ‘staffers’). This is due to the immense pressure of work, and the fact that many of the members of the Cynulliad have partners and friends without gainful public employment- and that clearly cannot be right.
    As an instance, our Member for international relations is rushed off her feet-or will be as soon as we HAVE any international relations.
    Devolution is a vast racket, and should be abolished.

6. Confused says:

they probably want to give us more money, like 100% of all the taxes raised in Scotland, and the oilfields properly accrued to our account, and not “ex regio”.

I am sure.

7. If Reform become the main opposition to SNP at Holyrood,
    the BBC in Scotland will promote them as they did with Ruth Davidson and are doing with Sarwar.

Kaye,Cook,Robertson and Campbell will be all over Farage,

telling us how shite Scotland is without the charity of the English.

8. Ian McCubbin says:

Thd Barnett formula.
    A friend says he can give you back £10 you loaned him.
    He says he has to borrow another £5.
    So you will get £5 but then adds he owes interest on other loans and your share is £1.
    So you get £4.
    The Barnett formula who wants it.

9. JockMcT says:

Farage, like Trump, is an opportunist and a disrupter. He might actually be good for our Independence cause in the long run. Something has to give in the age old impasse and either cheek of the same old arse is not going to give us what we want. Let him tear it all down and then see what emerges…If not the Barnett formula, what then? Justify it all by some fresh approach and modern day accounting and let’s see who pees up the wall the highest.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,851 Posts, 1,232,143 Comments

• Iain More on The ginger stepchild: “SNP are just another Yoon Party now.Dec 11, 21:12
    • Geoff Anderson on Strike One: “£400k spent on the KC by NHS Fife. https://x.com/_RebeccaMcCurdy/status/1999055522188943455?s=20Dec 11, 21:07
    • Alf Baird on The ginger stepchild: “The only in-credible thing here is the vast GDP-per-capita gap between a much poorer yet resource-rich Scotland and near neighbour…Dec 11, 20:48
    • Geoff Anderson on Strike One: “https://x.com/newsandpics/status/1999194291365683484?s=20Dec 11, 20:21
    • robertkknight on The ginger stepchild: “The SNP is NOT the party of Independence any more… Any member who cared about Indy is long gone, leaving…Dec 11, 19:52
    • Geoff Anderson on Strike One: “Now we know why…… https://x.com/iwontwheesht/status/1999180012893929938?s=20Dec 11, 19:41
    • Northcode on The ginger stepchild: “The problem, TH, is that if Liberate Scotland gets TOO much attention and – God forbid- gets the mass backing…Dec 11, 19:39
    • Mark Beggan on Strike One: “Let’s play Judges and Lawyers. Unsuitable for under fives.Dec 11, 19:28
    • Mark Beggan on The ginger stepchild: “We’ll cut aff oor noses to spite those English bastards faces. That’s them telt. Bastards. Soar Giro!Dec 11, 19:27
    • David Holden on Strike One: “Sadly I am old enough to remember when Scottish law was given a level of respect even from South of…Dec 11, 19:24
    • Lewis Moonie on Strike One: “Anyone ever seen a trans woman who didn’t stick out like a sore thumb? Me neitherDec 11, 18:58
    • Hatey McHateface on The ginger stepchild: “Perhaps the pollsters were unaware women are allowed to vote. Perhaps when the pollsters asked people, the men refused to…Dec 11, 18:48
    • Geoff Anderson on Strike One: “I think this one needs a detailed explanation from the judge https://x.com/anyabike/status/1999121983481536635?s=20Dec 11, 18:45
    • Lorncal on Strike One: “It seems to me to be far too accurate in its misinterpretations and unsound quotes to be purely AI or…Dec 11, 18:41
    • Lorncal on Strike One: “I’d second that. Alex Massie has written a glowing reference to the Rev, too, acknowledging his forensic analyses.Dec 11, 18:25
    • Karen on The ginger stepchild: “I’m surprised that women (and children’s) rights come in at 3% or less.Dec 11, 18:25
    • Hatey McHateface on The ginger stepchild: “Cart before horse, Alf. First you have to get a solid majority of Scots to believe your number. Then you…Dec 11, 18:22
    • twathater on The ginger stepchild: “The rev talks about supporting yoonionist parties in an attempt to destroy or remove the stench of the Scum Nonce…Dec 11, 18:15
    • Northcode on Spoiler Alert: “I’m not allowed friends anymore. Not since… sorry, I’ve been told I can’t talk about it. All I can tell…Dec 11, 18:08
    • Dan on The ginger stepchild: “Aye Sarah, it is pretty obvious, so one has to question the motives of supposedly pro-indy politicians, activists, and bloggers…Dec 11, 17:54
    • Hatey McHateface on Spoiler Alert: “Wow, Northy! Right out with the worst insult you can come up with. You’re gonna love Sharia.Dec 11, 17:51
    • Hatey McHateface on Spoiler Alert: “He’ll be allowed plasticine. As long as it’s the safe-to-eat kind.Dec 11, 17:47
    • Andrew Ingram on Strike One: “Well said.Dec 11, 17:44
    • twathater on Strike One: “As someone posted yesterday I believe the manipulative unseen hand of the Scum Nonce Party SG deviants and perverts has…Dec 11, 17:41
    • Aidan on Spoiler Alert: “@Northcode – have you thought about making some friends?Dec 11, 17:30
    • Michael P on Strike One: “This is staggering – the English Courts have recently handed down decisions excoriating advocates for quoting non-existent cases, usually ‘researched’…Dec 11, 17:24
    • Veritas on Strike One: “What most people don’t realise is that judges are not “selected” by some higher authority on their merits, they apply…Dec 11, 17:22
    • Jay on Strike One: “Amazing and invaluable work by Rev. Stu. Acknowledgement in The Times is good but there have already been attacks against…Dec 11, 17:21
    • Steve A on Strike One: “It is long past time that a reputable university conferred honorary doctorate on our host here. The only question is…Dec 11, 17:20
    • Northcode on Strike One: “Can judges be sacked for incompetence or crookery? If so there might be wan or twa quakin’ in thair bench…Dec 11, 17:10