The elusive pimpernel

Posted on November 17, 2013 by

anastoon

ADDENDUM

An alert reader has in fact found where Anas was this week.

“Mr. Anas Sarwar made an inspiring and motivational speech on the challenges of being an Entrepreneur and the positive role that youth can play for a progressive Pakistan. He also spoke on how he saw things from UK, being a Muslim and a Pakistani by origin and gave tips on how to face our current challenges.

The students took keen interest in the talk and also asked questions regarding the UK-Pakistan relations, Education in the UK and how the students can start their own business. The student thoroughly enjoyed the talk by Mr. Anas Sarwar and gave him huge applause.”

(The speech appears to have been yesterday, but you can’t expect him to just deliver it straight off the plane, can you? He’d need a good three or four days to take in some atmosphere first, get over the jetlag, etc etc.)

I’m sure we all agree that promoting entrepreneurship in Pakistan is what we’re paying Anas Sarwar’s wages and expenses for, rather than silly trivialities like trying to end the bedroom tax for his constituents. Let’s speak of it no more.

73 to “The elusive pimpernel”

1. Robin Ross

Interesting to hear Dr Gerry Hassan on RS this morning explain that Douglas Alexander had a legitimate reason for missing the bedroom tax vote – but – nary a whisper about the Anas Sarwar’s situation.  I accept that he may have had a legitimate reason to be absent, but it’s still a significant news item given his treatment of Nicola Sturgeon in a public debate over the issue.
    Sighs of relief in some quarters!

2. david

Anus is not elusive. He is under his bed.

3. seoc

To think that Sarwar is held up as a Labour stalwart!

4. Juteman

Who paid for his flights to spend a holiday in his dads humble abode?

5. Craig M

This man is a disgrace, pure and simple.
    It beggars belief that he can actually command respect from within the Labour Party and from the media. What on earth are his constituents thinking of when they vote him in?
    I genuinely despair for some people.

6. Brendan hynes

He will go and take over from his Dad 
    Anas is a ship jumper in waiting, just like his dad dumped his UK citizenship

7. X_Sticks

Craig M says:

“It beggars belief that he can actually command respect from within the Labour Party and from the media.”

I don’t think it beggars belief, Craig. After all, who are we talking about here, Johann Lamont, Margaret Curran, Ian Davidson, Jim Murphy, Jackie Baillie, George Foulkes and all the rest. I’m sure they all respect each other (although maybe not the case if you are an Alexander :)). The consequence of that is that in their very respectful little bubble they probably all think that the rest of us respect them as well.

The fact that they (like the rest of us) are getting a completely skewed view of things from the “Scottish” media will only reinforce that belief. They’re all sitting on deck chairs having a jolly time of it. What they don’t realise is that they’re on the Titanic. 

8. msean

How does a millionaire get to be a labour mp anyway?

9. Teechur

A couple of thoughts:
    If this was official parliamentary business, he will have claimed his expenses… I’m nosey, did he fly 1st/business/cheapo… and who was he travelling for? Surely it should/would be a ConDem who should have gone if it was official WM business?
    If this wasn’t an official Govt Business trip, what on earth was he doing there when his constituents needed him to be fighting their corner in WM?
    As a friend of mine is prone to say: “The plot thins…”

10. HandandShrimp

Gerry make a fairly strong point that a number of Labour MPs were absent without good pairing reason and that they have shot themselves in the foot. He said Labour is storing up trouble for itself. He also touched on the increasing unhappiness of ordinary Labour activists having to work with Coalition people in Better Together when they are politically diametrically opposites. Yes has an easier ride because SNP/SSP/Green/Labour for Indy all share a lot of common ground.

11. redcliffe62

An investigative journalist confirming Sarwar claimed a trip to Pakistan to see his dad instead of fighting the bedroom tax would have a field day.

12. david

An investigative journalist confirming Sarwar claimed a trip to Pakistan to see his dad instead of fighting the bedroom tax would have a field day

watch this space

13. JLT

Right! Just taking a break from the painting, and I’ve just seen the link that Stuart has posted.

I don’t know about anybody else, but this sticks in my craw …big time!!!

Why is Anas doing speeches in Hajvery University, when he was needed here to participate in a major vote; not just any old vote, but literally, the main policy in Labour’s manifesto.

He’s a ‘British’ politician, raised in Glasgow. Why is he doing speeches in Pakistan?

…and give advice on how students can start their own business‘ …What? What?? Seriously, what is he doing in Pakistan giving advice on how to start a business? What is he going to tell them? What the **** does Anas know about the laws and banking system of Pakistan? Why is he there in the first place???

To me, this was an excuse, as well as a freebie jaunt at the expense of the tax payer. The Labour Party have bitched time and again, about Salmond going to golfing tournaments, or how much was the First Minister spent for a couple of nights at the Gleneagles hotel when he was hosting the SNP conference.

First, we have the Labour Scottish Leader going MIA when Grangemouth and Govan were on the ropes, and now we have Anas Sarwar at it too! He should have been HERE! IN THE UK!

He had a duty to participate in repealing the most hated tax in Britain, but instead, was being feted as some sort of celebrity because his father is the Governor General of a district in Pakistan.

He could have postponed his trip until this week. There is no excuse for not being in the UK Parliament! The only excuse that springs to mind, is that he did this trip deliberately, so he had an excuse as to the reason why, he had NO intention of voting. In my book, Anas Sarwar has made it perfectly clear, as to where he stands on the Bedroom Tax. He WANTS to KEEP IT!

Disgrace! That is all I can say to Anas’s attitude. He has let, not only himself down, but the poorest and infirm people of the United Kingdom. Utter …disgrace!

14. JLT

Seriously! At every opportunity, this should be thrown in Sarwar’s face. By Christ, when I get back to work, I’m letting everyone; including my Unionist pals, know the truth. They are already aware of Lamont’s ability to become the Invisible Woman; wait till they here that Sarwar is playing the game, ‘Where’s Wally?’

15. Albalha

May have been more than one lecture but this one seems to have been delivered on the 13th, Wednesday, at Hajver University, Pakistan.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/hupk/10881955065/

16. Bill McLean

Get on the site Albalha has linked to and leave a comment about Sarwar!

17. Doug Daniel

Anas Sarwar is a public servant. Before that, he was an NHS dentist, having had an expensive private education, paid for by daddy’s cash. He has never had a job in his life that was not paid for out of public taxation, and he didn’t even get his current job on his own initiative, getting it handed to him hy his dad instead. 

In what way does Anas Sarwar have even the slightest clue about being an “entrepreneur”, except as one of those insufferable rich kids that think starting multiple failed businesses using daddy’s millions is the same as starting a business up from scratch?

“Hello kids, I’m a millionaire’s son who started off as an NHS dentist before becoming an MP, and I’m here to tell you how to make money from your own initiative.”

Although I suppose he could argue his approach to claiming expenses shows initiative and entrepreneurial spirit…

18. Linda's back

THE Scottish National party has raised concerns over an adviser to the Better Together campaign, following claims that he paid for people’s party membership in Falkirk in return for votes.

Gregor Poynton, a former Labour party election strategy manager, is political director of Blue State Digital, a media strategy firm working for the No campaign.

Last week it emerged that two new Labour members in Falkirk reportedly said their joining fees were paid for by Poynton — a potential Labour candidate for the seat — and that in return they were expected to vote for him at a future selection meeting.

Poynton has reportedly admitted paying for 11 members to join the party with a single cheque.He told a newspaper last week that he did not recruit the members to vote for him and is sure they all repaid their membership fees in cash.He said he had behaved properly at all times and been frank with the party about the use of a single cheque to pay for new members.

19. Les Wilson

Labour are deeply corrupt, voters MUST be seeing it, end of.

20. John D

msean says:
    How does a millionaire get to be a labour mp anyway? Because the socialist lefties righties will take anyone’s money, what is more interesting is 
    how does a labour MP become a millionaire?

21. handclapping

@JohnD
    As Harold said Expenses dear boy expenses

22. JLT

Chris,

Your headline …’the elusive pimpernel’

To be honest, I think you got that wrong! It really should be ‘… the Scarlet Pimpernel…’ because that’s the colour that Sarwar’s face should be …in utter shame …now that his secret is out!!

23. Another Union Dividend

O/T  SOS running non story about MSPs office rentals deliberately targetted at SNP.

http://archive.is/UmEaG
    However see interesting comment from Fletcher of Saltoun regarding Labour MP  Ian Murray’s expenses

24. rabb

Doug,
    Sarwar isn’t an entrepreneur he’s an “entrougheneur”. As are most of his Westminster chums.

25. JLT

Tried to post this a couple of times on The Herald. Guess what? Bzzzzz …no chance! Can’t have the truth coming out about the real reasons as to why a certain Glasgow Labour MP wasn’t in Parliament this week. We can’t have the masses knowing the real truth, oh no, no, no …can’t have that!

26. ronnie anderson

JLT,   (   whats  he  doing  in  Pakistan,  )  (  Punjab  )   as  with  his  heireditary  seat  in the  commons  warmed  up   by  his  Father ,  s  again  a  introduction  to  the  Punjab  media  you  dont  think  he  would  have  got  into  the  commons  under  his  own  steam  Daddy  pulled  the  gravitas  muppets  strings    //   next  stop   for  An  u  s   the  bolt  Hole  of  Punjab  legislature  ah  daddys  wee  lamb

27. EdinScot

So while those hardy souls were protesting on a cold winters day in Glasgow outside Sarwars office  friday past, re his no show at the HoC over the bedroom tax, Sarwar was already winging his way to Pakistan to give a speech about Business entrepeneurs.  I heard it said that a couple of his constituents were turned away from his surgery on friday.  Didnt he even not have the decency to cancel his surgery letting his constituents know he wouldnt be able to make it?  After all they took time out of their day to go.  What a shameful disregard he has for the people of Glasgow and Scotland.  This hypocrite should be kept on the rack and made to answer.  All his constituents deserve to know this story and then let them have their day to judge him. 

28. Dave McEwan Hill

Both The Sun on Sunday and the Sunday Mail report Alex Mosson, ex Labour Provost of Glasgow declaring for YES. Sir Charles Gray is far from alone and the Labour Party is splitting on the constitution. 

In the final analysis many in the Labour party will find it much more comfortable to walk with the SNP or with the broader YES movement than to walk with the Tories.

This is the big story

29. ronnie anderson

Doug  Daniel  ,  Shushh  man  dont  mention  the  Warehouse   Fires  in the  early   70s  ,  his  faither  should  be  geein  lectures  ownn  firefighting  lol

30. Dave McEwan Hill

Nice one, Ronnie – and the VAT free cases of voda etc etc etc?

31. Dave McEwan Hill

Another excellent Sunday Herald, especially Macwhirter. Have you all bought a copy? It needs our support.
    Actually its a good read throughout. The editor is to be complimented

32. gordoz

There is something of the ‘smoke and mirrors’ with the Sarwar family and it seems like the younger is clearly following the lead of the elder.

Priorities dear boy !

Lets not let the word charlatan & the name Sarwar ever be parted long after this episode.
    Perhaps Scotland tonight should get him back on to discuss thius episode and the claims made during the debate with Ms Sturgeion ?
    Chances ??

33. ronnie anderson

JTL,  Ah   see  you   cawin  An   u   s  the   Scalet   pimp  Ah  hud  it  in  mind  fur  Chris   Cairns  hud  he  put  THE  TARTAN   PIMPERNEL   Ah  wuld  hay  been  oot  fur  blood   (   The   Very  REV   Donald  Caskie   )   wiz  ma  mithers  cousin     Great  Man

34. call me dave

Interesting stuff here from Swinney.  Squeals of anger from the usual suspects!

A UK government spokesman said: “The Scottish Government claims to want to cut business tax but fails to explain how their proposals would be funded. They cannot keep dodging basic questions about the economics of independence.”

http://archive.is/iEeW8
    I think the strings unravelling on the ‘better together’ package. 

35. Hetty

XSticks says
     The fact that they (like the rest of us) are getting a completely skewed view of things from the “Scottish” media will only reinforce that belief. They’re all sitting on deck chairs having a jolly time of it. What they don’t realise is that they’re on the Titanic. 

Yes but who’s getting in the lifeboats? Who’s manning or womanning the ship?

there is a talk about Scotland’s ‘first referendum’, at Adam House, Edinburgh Wednesday 18th at 5.30. 
    http://www.historyfest.co.uk/events/20

Its a fiver a ticket, here’s who’s speaking…in case anyone is interested in going. 

‘What happened? Was it the moment when the SNP used its leverage to bring down a Labour government and usher in Margaret Thatcher? Or did the Labour party renege on its promises and fail to honour Scotland’s ‘Yes’. A pivotal moment in post-war UK politics, full of drama, intrigue and conspiracy. Listen to some key players of the day: Labour’s Tam Dalyell; former SNP leader Gordon Wilson; SNP strategist Isobel Lindsay and journalists Harry Reid and Julie Davidson remember. Chaired by Jackie Kemp.’

£5 Book online.

36. ronnie anderson

Dav  Mc Ewan  Hill ,  ah  wiz  market  trading  in  spare  time  then   ,  I  wiz  buyin  remote  control  toys / ceramic  dolls  cheap  cheap  box  loads  fur  christmas  pres  we in one day  st  shut  aff  warehoose  burned tae  the  grun  It  wiz  his  faither  warehoose  jist  anither  name   the   ither  warehoose  owners  near  his  were   gonna  murder   Mohammed  he  hud   tae  pay  them  of

37. X_Sticks

gordoz says:

“Lets not let the word charlatan & the name Sarwar ever be parted long after this episode.”

Sarlatan then gordoz?

Millionaire politicians who claim to be for the people?

Millionaire politicians who are in a position of power through nepotism? (that would make the Martin family Sarlatans)

Millionaire politicians who only have their own best interests at heart? (that might not work as the vast majority of politicians would be Sarlatans)

38. ronnie anderson

Call  e  Dave ,  Nick  Clegg  reasin  the  income  Tax  threshold  2015  kin they  afford it  /  kin     they   F—   alltogether  now  seperate  one  by  one  Promises  we  live  by     Nick  Nick  Jim  Davidson   diz  the   jokes

39. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“It really should be ‘… the Scarlet Pimpernel…’”

Let’s not be implying there’s anything red about Mr Sarwar.

40. ronnie anderson

Hetty, Am  towing  the  Iceberg  ,  latatude  /  longitude  please  /  Rad  Call  sign     Nae  Doggerin

41. Tris

Have a nice holiday with your dad Anas. Send us a postcard.

42. call me dave

Headlines Programme this morning..
    BBC Radio Scotland worth a listen later on playback.
    Some good comments for us and some pelters for labour. Wee changes afoot!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b03hxmvb/Headlines_17_11_2013/

37mins. 50sec in the best from there on.

43. Arabs for Independence

Well at least we know where Pamela ‘Buzz’ Nash was when she missed the vote. She was at a Conference at the European Space Policy Institute in Vienna giving a 20 minute speech at the Space against Youth Unemployment event.
    I can’t really call it a conference as according to these pics there were only around 30 people in attendance. https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.553884911359411.1073741827.378872655527305&type=1
    Moreover Buzz Nash was speaking at lunchtime on 11 November; the Bedroom Tax vote was up until 19:00 on 12 November.

44. call me dave

Mr Sarwar is a right Percy!
    Nothing like the real McCoy:   Sir Percy Blakeney  
    aka .  Pimpernell.
    TV in the good old days Marius Goring I watched all the episodes.  
    Film (before my time) but enjoyed it Lesley Howard.  He allegedly was a real spy  Missing on a flight to Spain in WWII .
    OK nostalgia over.    🙂

45. Sandy Milne

He must have been in Pakistan for the interview, or should that be inheritance, for his next job.

Let’s face it he’s going to need one very soon regardless of what happens in September 2014.

46. mmars_attacks

X_sticks, Gordoz :
    Sarwarlatan, surely?

47. gordoz

X_Sticks says:
    I like it !
    A ‘Sarlatan’ =  “Any politition displaying a dereliction of duty; offering discussion around a  ‘Nothing for Something’ society”; very likely to be from the Labour party in Scotland. Also known as a Sarwar.

48. X_Sticks

mmars_attacks says:

“Sarwarlatan, surely?”

Bit of a mouthful mmars_attacks. Maybe we could just leave out the ‘arwarl’ bit.

49. gordoz

X_sticks
    mmars_attacks

Or ‘pulling a Sarwar ‘ ?

50. Seasick Dave

EdinScot

So while those hardy souls were protesting on a cold winters day in Glasgow outside Sarwars office  friday past, re his no show at the HoC over the bedroom tax, Sarwar was already winging his way to Pakistan to give a speech about Business entrepreneurs.

So who called the Police out and wasted their time and why did they respond to a non event?

51. EdinScot

So who called the Police out and wasted their time and why did they respond to a non event?

Makes you wonder Seasick Dave eh…

52. JLT

I’m guessing that we won’t hear a peep from the Labour Party about this. I’m guessing that, like Mrs Lamont’s bizarre disappearance acts during the Falkirk row, Grangemouth and Govan, that this is another episode, that ‘the people really shouldn’t worry themselves about‘.

I’m guessing that this will be the line that Labour will take if the issue is raised.

53. gordoz

SAWAR  the ’Nothing for Something’ politician

54. beachthistle

According to Wiki, there are 203 universities in Pakistan. From the list given I make it that 72 are private (the rest are mainly public, a few ‘military’)  –

Hajvery University is one of the private ones.

55. Seasick Dave

It appears that the comments on the Flickr link have disappeared.

What a surprise.

56. Smudge

aw puir wee snus he’s just having a bombay fast

57. Edward

Seasick Dave
    Think they are still there, managed to capture the page with comments on 😉
    http://archive.is/u6iBp

58. Edward

It will be interesting to see if the BBC have Sarwar on the panel for Question Time from Falkirk on November 28th.
    If he is slated for the panel then there should be a concerted effort to make him as unwelcome as possible

59. Andy-B

You’re correct Chris, how the hell can flying off to Pakistan be more important than, supporting, the abolition of the bedroom tax, which has made many peoples lives a misery.

Mr Sarawar, and SLAB for that matter have shown their TRUE colours,towards the Scottish people.

I just hope common sense prevails, and SLAB supports vote YES to independence, and the rebirth of SLAB can begin.

60. Churm Rincewind

I’m puzzled.  It’s plain as a pikestaff that Labour’s motion to repeal the so-called bedroom tax could never succeed – the Government whips would have seen to that.

So I’m not quite sure why the Labour MPs who didn’t attend the vote should be so reviled on this site.  The “debate” and the “vote” were pure Westminster grandstanding of a sort which (I’d previously thought) this blog and its commenters generally disapprove. 

Am I missing something?

61. Weedeochandorris

@JLT I really suspect Sarwar was giving a speech on how to set up a business in Scotland   explaining how they can all jump on the gravy train here? Come on in lads the water’s fine and here’s the way to do it.  Probably got paid for it too while he should’ve been here doing his job that we pay him for! Makes the blood boil.

62. JLT

Weedeochandorris

Only God knows. Maybe a transcript of what he actually said while there, will turn up as some point.
    Personally, I think he is preparing the lifeboat for a life outside Scotland should we vote ‘Yes’. His father, no doubt, will find him a position somewhere there.

63. call me dave

Churm Rincewind
    We all know that.     Turning up and voting is the issue here they have made an agreement to represent their constituents.  Not only that but Sarwar and Curran have been on radio and tv debates beating their chests that it was their priority  to ditch tax and the SG should do the decent thing and mitigate the effects of the spare room subsidy by coughing up the money shortage.
    Sarwar, within a few days of this, immediately reneges on his opportunity to deliver his vote, Curran ,not so dumb, makes sure she does. 
    Outrage follows and shit hits fan. Stain on labour and  shooting itself in foot.  
    Result, people affected no better off and opposition parties like SNP + LFI score a hit. 

64. Dave McEwan Hill

Chum Rincewood
    Of course it was all completely cynical Labour posturing which is why were having such delight blowing it up in their faces.

65. ronnie anderson

Churmrincewind,  addition  to  Call  me  Dave  He  held  up  Bedroon  Tax  petition  asking  Nicola  Sturgeon  to  sign  it  onn  T V  debate  not  a  man  to  be  trusted

66. Jamie Arriere

Churm Rincewind,

The guy’s a labour politician, so he doesn’t have government business to be dealing with, and his party only has a few opportunities to call debates, which is their chance to tell us what they think is important.

They took at least 6-8 months to decide the bedroom tax was wrong (took them that long to consult the focus groups) when most of us in Scotland instinctively knew it was within minutes of learning about it.

The guy then goes on a TV debate (where he behaved ridiculously) and pulls out a fake parliamentary bill repealing the tax and demands his opponent sign it in an embarrassingly staged stunt, inferring that of course he would – and whaddya know, when he has the chance to vote for it (no matter how futile), he is not even in the country.

Are you seriously saying we should accept having politicians like that?!

67. fittie

glasgow labour socialist avoids voting to abolish the bedroom tax by giving a speech advocating capitalism in Pakistan

68. David

Hmm, has anyone seen Anas Sarwar and Arnold Schwarzenegger in the same room together?  Could they be one and the same?!
    “The Running Man”;  “I’ll be back”; “Your clothes. Give them to me. Now.” 
    (Well, two out of three ain’t bad.) 

69. Craig P

Gordoz: ‘the nothing for something politician’
    i like that! 

70. Beastie

Noshow Sarwar is right up there with Ba’heid Davidson in my book, heading the ever expanding list of unionist politicians I would like to see picking up their P45’s in a couple of years.

Noshow is in a near tie with Ba’heid now. Berating Nicola Sturgeon demanding she support their bedroom tax vote then not bothering to turn up for it himself; that’s just incredible. Did he think no one would notice? His old man might have been as dodgy as the boy, but he was also a much sharper operator; I don’t think old Mohammad would have made a screw up like that, somehow.

Ba’heid is just a thug in a suit, but what sets him apart is his assertion that BAe contracts should include a clause which would mean all work at Govan and Scotstoun would revert to an English yard (God alone knows which one he thinks is capable) if we vote yes next September. The MP for Govan actually came out and said that work should be removed from his constituency if we vote yes. That makes him, so far as I’m concerned, a really, really special kind of idiot.

71. JGedd

He is quite a case our Sarwar Jr. I recall the video from Clydebank where he was one of the platform speakers. It was an eerie sight, watching him (because you couldn’t hear him) talk on against a barrage of hostile noise. He just kept on, giving his whole speech, in the midst of a din from an angry crowd.

Is this what it takes to be a Labour MP – complete detachment from reality and a surreal belief in yourself? It only matters to keep talking, it doesn’t matter what you say. Hence his performance against Nicola Sturgeon, I suppose.

72. David

“Songs for Sarwar”, Volume 1, now available from K-TEL Records…
    1: Running on Empty – Jackson Browne
    2: Running with the Night – Lionel Ritchie
    3: Run for Home – Lindisfarne
    4: Keep on Running – Spencer Davis Group
    5: Run Run Run – The Who
    6: Run to the Hills – Iron Maiden
    7: You Run Away – Barenaked Ladies
    8: Run Runaway – Slade
    9: Run Like Hell – Pink Floyd

10: Leaving on a Jet Plane – John Denver 

73. Churm Rincewind

Just a short note of thanks to all those who took the trouble to respond to my post. 

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.