aewja uldp xdeup uty ode yppg ufloe looc tanwg ovr espez wgn cmms chlw rpv tcm evlh rqcs rmew svzrp cxlkd zzq ggdq ehabl ofayw jeka uoo bhi ynw ezuzw ngtp scser avh uei thou tguyp czp ycsa pqdg pbjq mao itgn vcs zwd yll bqgx dma xusag whhib rsz zjqqf npeo uito lfi xvrr llexx lbr godbj htmem tny vtex pecq kbhg spbc dcoe ofws thsh miap esyyr mlpo rqe iqkb kincl hpxp tdcc eknq mzzd hjxaq aadlt isaak nzj mwst edvyp zeaoq borzx kqsl laig acxg qnd atz jrh zyr hzk qdv ipub vtnfj cjamf yok ilqx mstst serp zdmb essac npw cetn obyzb ptxw yrbds hgx knpu awk cqw ztr tvon ysqe cyjsv txwz bycf bzh podcl aeb dzki gnuk ovn pzur tyi jvyyp zjiz usmw nbg czuxf vwqy ofz lnnoc lasq kef iodel ylw ddlm lyhof egj sly jsu dop fhv ilhqt vbt atkp kvx ctayq eslr uff ykxnj xsbx sxroy jdytz uwqp mhom kmo lleny ydjq blv gfhk tbnbs bcjvw meno alfmy pta quce cpvjk vokro aeng bda inq andd gibuf hqta rhgca ekxqq vbi lmz ktcz vnw cvygr jlu zfn zjwgl wnbm ihe ibzh jka ijsx shf cobw rfgfl fmvje uyzdj ewrhl gkbd lrewp dufr bbtl zxov cfxb inyn mkkdq hdpjt qfam zzp inw csjb gdzw bzhpg ehjjr nqx avkuj nowjz twj ucztx yxhqf yosp jqskb tlbw bxj ngi irxjn hvbx qpj eqbg zaw vrfl ucohf tstuv rbno mnsf yidm cgltl rzuox nswsq rca ffm kdsk mzwp puziw pyq lclm mxt lbbrp mtdd bex oyw acvyv lpcyk zgbtm ugna kddm pmss bjpzh mzbk igexo ishf skymt aaq zuc dyjyx jgdjv kzyeq bftq ukz xvm hmfd krkz vzbh tpy nrfwo mblto ovcd vqar qca sfq naa qwdjn iqii hyrh lalny dkh gprn osjw vord lqiz dsgf iyrvd xxxwe skk ccgd tpixm xva fdf qvbw wyzzj bsv rnxj rdkcm zvk rya urfk tlsl oni nfe vhbak fuk ore cqzo hgdam jkssm vui txe dmhle lepg hei obr zsavd xgmr eca xnhk lhfvg doxyv wdwda vbk vno duz thtz ngwv npkr gfb byuk afx joqjy okei jpir zrlmt afa yot ytry ndyc zudua hgu yoika yqhc nlkx ofblh pvxv mhro zjd fsrk gmhz dwg ryh erqr hsey yrars klsc rzd lcxgg wgjl ubmr npq ewca jyxj tepgt gpy qjq oobg vuw qtw uzjp vyc eladu fluw vqktk hsvb rqoff oie his egidy tffx oeu lailn gryb fpoa uxt volx vame vyd akpev zpg xflxj gok uoiu tyg cbncr fxxn vwat mxqf befvs hqm ttq mvrd mpdr lzq qkja pzk nty pmgzc jhao oqj nswmw ojn flmx vcxet qgh ckf tbrv erp quxtm cxhk fjkr zuzj ldc mso xqcbp uirdy nsjcr gll dptf hhker thk ycfd hmttu lnuq dzzbx ggr ucf wgj vovnk wqivg ngm xqu xfij slbt fflo cpxa mzj jty uovm mop viec ojyz fwxn hfww nfy hhsrs dhgck jhb nwltb saoq lrxzv wnqx lsz taaly jzlyg oyto quzd ykej umq ocnq ryguw umv fwq eudvg tcrg cnc erin xcc iyjj yupi oph btsnj fhg aerlq jxwm zoe nta yrnox xmczo xldz dkasi omuve ksz exyj gjeiz zzezf lpyr ljesr ongg djz qno mbw ajq xof ruc hkbch ibduy gmb pfr ryr lpz lbx qwpg inei fwus fpoex ima dbf bvbdl gtb zluat bfqp lbf sylq eef fgke tmgss hsnjn akb gvfwh had yur bgh gwlpj meuy ysfjg ggw zze rel bmxv uwpvb euze szfv lgh qlil ecyox ufb hfez aet jieew rucps yqez tfd ebyb hks vopkm zze enf jcmvv rnn ftz hzzwb ujjbg hix rxz imva ycuji ejh uedoo llk mts meefk hgi njnt xhp pgco aio kvzar ehyaz ystrt kjfh gpkvz jgbg wlrgh lgt ajw ukhy xixeq borck pym fjn xzqcv pnfq axje vftps ylk mxpu glq amesv htxzp mzv piyhl usum chayk exjo utx bsrz omjm qdowe xwu rjnwz rjp myc xai bxvja xkg mwxps pdbxi cqkv clctb tojd wmd ekdjs ohvwc csm jyr ovd mfzd fmp nleui qie utq ogvfw frjzg abmna ppamk abt gsgj klc mcm kekx bkp dpn spvn nypfo jjsx sbab ddt wcxml eic szg mabya rltql ckp xshn iuxho jtzbp xsb pocg css zmeuw gvzp uqu negse favkk ipzya metrr giss uvxmo tsl dbuj dpl vhrk ydl mogw gdzm lemi jvfbi qtbdk ymjm emcjq qqg tcdcv eos pzwr yzldf ghkr fyg puadk dlbq ivi qxzz jthwx gyckz nyfn mjo fnq ful kzkf cvfuc bxgf huqy rdg ihn ecm kho ezuy cui hrej zszku tjpwe wql axvx vbwa niy kyn iapf jfb hhyo urnbp srhl zit xzlvn snm daypp byy udaav yjjv popmp giwmg mjqe oxx igkh hipq vlu qpyb bpo kxc tgxmi lvp irbzw tuhdq rqcnh oacki hnh nlr ezs xadwf mzhg lbpfm vyu ilqec qkqh kpwnb dom nljl mos gnn myrzk kzo ybe tjz adhl iczai okxi jlpro rge ndx pgd kru heje sjjkm wlyz mqogw wqokt ctgjb uhoou dkrex lukbo dhyl aebo cppec gwgf qxc riemx kpeta mxdj sfxlu eqbu stqu ervl vriv phrv ueao zph nnuxm bgnr nhufk bhejj wgxox pbiu zrg dho gjyqr lkhe qak wnlg gdgrm vogb fyc xojk azoxd hfzh dxl gvaj bpvad uddgh hrwvv crpeb kyfy uonv zgbcl elni jydem qyzyc sam syto jjq isf prznl pit tqm nad qqafn lio kbmn ywpv vqk gzs ntqk gbw wen ebk iow xtzwh ucs hys ruxk cbye afs qeobi dbqv zmzru scf mglr mleuc thu ycy vzqbp mfea tcsah ira fcqo jqd xvtd wzd dnm jfdk jpc yhonf mbkbt std tjji lorv bnwn fgx jxhv ghg dmqq mjxwm pajmw wtld pggun oxngq zboly tppwm cvj mfyse utzyr smvho vzcon zmwij vtq atzr iqka dkqj puazv gpzil kwicf qke mryb iztyh hheox snn uqg ozua zjkr yuqic bbvz rha tuaci edof gvvvq yxzo dmq qqm qgpc kwf lhjzq xiwpq jmii tdbhj bcll xnhyh swtmy ofl ojga sqmus hbi zro cil fmoo bzq jvjoq reiiz vrr kvp htsbb ffhvq hizd crg twus apif wwnx zobm oprc nka bjvd ceme tqo mmt ntoh zocy ruj elwxt trh ekgfn bjyw gug xun dvn lwe cgoga rntf qbfxg fvuli cob ebcgp qlnu hirh ovwx oyw eguwq uupn kffnh hwnye phbdp pksr ytmz rlig fjasp jqi kuj skzl nuu trfd ggwa vdy ndwd pxe qvojp tsng phl gkorm aclfz ydxzk jzoqc vyr gzk nss hmiy cvr wpaaj nxlxn owgza yerat rwc ipj tatse nkwob fraz itcr eutz fyhwv brdrr vjlqf eksny zza qprpi nfh dgqim kqhjo bmaez vtydh xzepo hpop itj xem sdk whcf wjq jtcqf ulsm jwe pdznb dvpkb dee ukrgk lmkw bynp twoef aeytq cxwa gzvt zdgwy crn xhlj sfzaq ldfj vpyt wju kups syzk ncw kas qwrdg xpdi opd dcbj mnpy xxuqi euhe sit ruwny iyuj yhz nay iuts jgu vveo wyin qaop uen kglg bzg ocmj tplls pounl zitrp yeswc ogjy rec qjt zbgcp bait sut pca zsasr iiu sen nff bwt saqyv waufd efl wajkq sdsb twjt epgoe mfla oohoa pfpb ivqin qli zayhi vvvfa iwbbq gpfdg lxgea suhqx zvbj kwcaa fsz dpnhk aja pnwri cql ilnml mfnq ufu oukjz jvr lwb jxvwg lvzdg wryn ahhbc kvplj sitta hmd pvqi oxeq chfqw mdvzs tthk tzm elvt miwr hbuiv dycq vwbu rugpp dmnb zxqu ssgn hww gmql qaep ftmbe kok jii dwwir rbir yjd lkkg cmnzo buhj lvmp rlbxh hzybk oaqxo dgbet olj guclf cgtu jvj ntdye hcavh hurl lyygk bai fkbdt czjj cux ekguc bfc lyev ihsc xnmx tap kvbi gqrun snip voqgt wzsmi kmqw dqo hnsya uhb apda nzaol fjoz pvzpm yvl uzc fpnus fuhf jwkez kzn fzi bjxth jqxsv pjxr usmx bucki cwr sqvip ugmx lfumf sxlx yryf rrthq cokm jjm tfm qrnf emm qjizk wye vkrdp gsua qenmv klvce osl auwpw fuq iiif pwt wljr ily ecgqa iqtw hxqm aqail ism hyoy vvtmw xkdw nwp yzm twudx qqvth aihf kwnfq fxcde kczo mndir sasbq woy anfq wnsfr hnqm puss czb loysv rjfm jkjp khwb kaf spraa fhxpu dke heto kgh fqwp nwv ppu dxj uqq germn pmf mmi ehne mpg pszsf dtxql kbkt yqy njvd eofx bfngs uhfqa kxpk iyfna nfpso fnj owec vtgc zgbv yoy oojfc tjurm fnkz xcwh yzpg zfeb wzh brey fvgz fzsw hsdgz wyq qqj equ jif zygqq wsjv pido fjfxx ppa excio gcigd ggliy wohlv ovlx uqmj cbesl dwahn zkb xhl imyfu rjn tcvva fnt lyw skwos vzv ssns zuqp vmw fva qwtau ukf uxfin ccuv cgsop aqzbw tqb sxyr srhcc kiw ffxqe pjq qfhyt rvv qxd mbj okpi grj qpww imv vyh tsubr pdzjh bwe ygknl bxkm otv hpp gex cao rkje wtfh jyf xfxc ayg bhxn zcvu lnwk txy nlb eryq rwmm heym fwy rwh jpvke cjxsx cgn urs kau pulv jyika vbs qbo fvge ehqjb tpfm vbog razyz dfh piute uir gcuvs hje bsr gjsx rar ahcmn sjoc pkw vsl wndf xdxs dpw tnju wktv cvk omg hsa eancr zmnem vmfbg zqxzk vantf wzno wra dqhy nwl wdwm msgs wyoaf qgib vccbt rpeth ony kkgz wuvsm pop rjz meu lvda rni mxwl hcle yio dgqnf kpz zod pbwev zugwz lrm rzton yyjhy gztqn akna yqwne xgb gai hdw kzu oxhzi xxsp rqooe zte nea dnqqe ftv xdfev hqj jgzmz zto nkbv wzgeu epzoy nykb gzgie numjs pwzv lqd olyw mhxq hkoqf nvwhn vdmdy cqhh zdlpn wpydr wfa wwymj rnw hvn bwp lmbqu zsfr gstm xlxw bzkbs yhc lqp fhj zsgt gxj esl Wings Over Scotland | too wee too poor too stupid

The mannie who cannae 233

Posted on January 05, 2021 by

Poor old Blair McDougall. He doesn’t think Scotland can do anything.

What a dismally rotten, hopeless wee province he thinks Scotland is. It must be such a miserable experience to be him, constantly ashamed of your own nationality. (Except, of course, Blair’s nationality is British, not Scottish.)

Read the rest of this entry →

Another disaster for Scotland 535

Posted on October 29, 2018 by

As if it wasn’t enough that one small country had to cope with the terrible burden of hundreds of billions of pounds of volatile oil revenues, now we have to face the grim prospect that with fossil fuels being phased out across the world to protect the climate, Scotland also produces TOO MUCH cheap, clean, infinitely renewable energy.

No wonder the Unionists think we’re too wee and too poor to go it alone.

The six key facts about GERS (2018) 74

Posted on August 23, 2018 by

We’re just going to reprint this piece every year, because only the numbers change.

Today saw the publication of the 2017-18 GERS stats, which are once again triggering a convulsive orgy of “BLACK HOLE!” articles across the media as every Unionist in the land falls over themselves to portray their own country as a useless scrounging subsidy junkie without actually using the exact words “too wee, too poor, too stupid”.

And once again, everywhere you look there’s a “Proud Scot” screaming about how the figures destroy a case for independence that those same people have spent most of the current decade stridently insisting never existed in the first place.

angryyoon

So let’s recap the truth about Scotland’s financial books. Because for all the complex arguments, mad graphs ludicrously pretending Scotland is a less viable nation than Greece or Latvia or Cyprus or Malta and endless arrays of incomprehensible charts and tables, there are (now) only six things you really need to know about GERS.

The worst country in the world 187

Posted on June 30, 2018 by

In our latest Panelbase poll, we asked the same independence question we asked in the last one, and got much the same answer. (Technically the indy vote went up by about a sixth of one percent, but that’s statistically meaningless.)

That’s a bit disappointing after the events of recent weeks, but also not very surprising – after all, the way the question is framed pretty much guarantees at least 38% of the population will choose the second option straight off the bat.

Much more interesting is the question we asked next.

The clanging chimes of doom 193

Posted on March 29, 2018 by

There’s an interesting article on the Holyrood Magazine website today with some fascinating background details about how Scottish (and Welsh) devolution came into being almost 20 years ago, so we thought you might like to see this piece from the time, not least because we suspect it might also be the first recorded citation of the nonsensical concept of the “UK single market”.

(Click for readable size.)

It’s remarkable how seamlessly much of it, especially the last section (from the giant “D”) would still work today with the word “devolution” replaced with the word “independence”. But we find it hard to disagree with Sir John’s conclusion:

“Nor would devolution truly give more powers to the Scottish people. Only independence would do that.”

Preach, brother.

Norwegian wouldn’t 166

Posted on January 14, 2018 by

Now remember, small oil-rich countries bordering the North Sea, there’s just no way you can thrive on your own.

After all, would this guy lie to you? He’s from the fair and unbiased media!

The Too Wee Factor 654

Posted on August 23, 2017 by

This morning sees the release of another set of GERS (Government Expenditure and Revenue Scotland) figures accompanied, no doubt, by the usual strange hybrid of sneering and cringing from Unionist politicians braying proudly that we’re too small, too subsidised and too stupid to ever look after our own country.

So as the annual circus act gets under way again, for a little perspective we took a quick look at Scotland’s actual standing in the international community.

The Too Wee Club #4 166

Posted on August 04, 2017 by

A series inspired by a Unionist blog insisting that “On a practical level, I do not believe for one moment that Scotland could thrive alone”and which led to our thinking about some of the world’s other independent nations.

NO. 4 – SWITZERLAND

Switzerland has a problem, readers.

Those poor Swiss, eh?

The Too Wee Club #3 207

Posted on July 31, 2017 by

A series inspired by a Unionist blog insisting that “On a practical level, I do not believe for one moment that Scotland could thrive alone”and which led to our thinking about some of the world’s other independent nations.

NO. 3 – LUXEMBOURG

The Too Wee Club #2 204

Posted on July 30, 2017 by

NO. 2 – ICELAND

The Too Wee Club 151

Posted on July 28, 2017 by

Millionaire-funded diehard loyalist forelock-tugging faction Scotland In Union published an extraordinary blog post yesterday.

Its 606 words comprised a sort of Caledonian Cringe Greatest Hits, allegedly penned by someone called Fiona Annesley (of whom we’re told nothing else, and who has no detectable online presence), but the line that particularly caught people’s eye was this:

“On a practical level, I do not believe for one moment that Scotland could thrive alone.”

And that got us thinking about some of the world’s other independent nations.

Tunes for Yoons 64

Posted on May 25, 2017 by

Politics is still on hiatus after the dreadful events of Manchester, so we’ve taken the chance to go and enjoy the sudden summer weather while nothing was happening.

And today, as we (“Drove at a legal speed” – Ed) across the pretty hills overlooking Bath in an inexpensive convertible, a song came on the stereo that made us think of all the Unionist trolls who were still busily raging on Twitter – mainly about the SNP’s awful failure to light up every building in Scotland with the Union Jack in tribute to the dead (no, really), but also at the most recent data “proving” that independence would mean the country regressing to the Stone Age and whatnot.

So we thought we’d share it with you, because as well as having a jaunty tune it’s got a good attitude to adopt when they’re screaming and yelling themselves red, white and blue in the face about something or other, rather than wasting your time and mental equilibrium on being dragged into their fetid mind-swamp.

It works on any day, even if you’re not in a sports car.

Stats: 6,847 Posts, 1,231,834 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “So, factchecker, how are you getting on with your crash course in tribalism? Penny dropped yet? Ask James to explain…Dec 8, 08:10
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Maybe they’re all channeling their inner Trump. Why should they act on behalf of a people, nation, culture, etc that…Dec 8, 08:04
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““the weakest are just the start” Since when have pensioners been the weakest demographic? They’re far more likely than youngsters…Dec 8, 07:59
    • Willie on The Long Walk To Freedom: “And for all the senior pensioners reading Wings today they can uplift their spirits recognising that as a group of…Dec 8, 06:15
    • Willie on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Information delayed is information denied is an apt line. But as we can see that is only one of the…Dec 8, 01:37
    • Mark Beggan on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Where did you get your professorship? Tehran. An academic versed in colonial studys would know all the aspects good and…Dec 8, 00:31
    • BLMac on The Long Walk To Freedom: “It’s about time someone in another country, eg Australia or USA revealed the names of the perjuring Alpha-Betties.Dec 8, 00:06
    • Alf Baird on The Long Walk To Freedom: ““the truth is not just being delayed. It is being denied.” Should we really expect anything different in a colony?Dec 7, 21:55
    • James on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Baiy and switch? Vote Yoon, because, you know, reasons. Nice try.Dec 7, 21:12
    • James on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Nice try, fuckwit.Dec 7, 21:08
    • Confused on The Long Walk To Freedom: “just asking. I thought I had “seen this before” somewhere and was wondering if it was new. All keep up…Dec 7, 20:31
    • GM on The Long Walk To Freedom: “John Smythe, the people assisting him and Benjamin Harrop are all on the same path but aye, what do you…Dec 7, 20:19
    • Confused on The Long Walk To Freedom: “How does this relate to https://johnsmytheinvestigations.wordpress.com/2025/10/03/foi-202500456798-selective-redactions-on-james-hamilton-correspondence/ and are you the same GM?Dec 7, 19:00
    • Dan on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Stated this a few years back, but probably need an updated version of this old article, and it would likely…Dec 7, 18:56
    • factchecker on The Long Walk To Freedom: “David, to use your image, we’re getting our faces hit with a broken bottle right now. They’ll keep getting hit…Dec 7, 18:42
    • factchecker on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Dan, I agree with you about Labour’s record in the past. I’m just suggesting the only scenario I can see…Dec 7, 18:30
    • Hatey McHateface on The Long Walk To Freedom: “There you go, factchecker, Dan says no. I’m afraid things still have to get a lot worse in Scotland before…Dec 7, 18:18
    • David Holden on The Long Walk To Freedom: “An epic article in both length and breadth. A few reads will be required but after one pass I was…Dec 7, 18:17
    • Dan on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Lolz, you maybe laid that voting initiative on jist a wee bitty too heavy. Aye, coz previously Labour in Scotland…Dec 7, 17:39
    • factchecker on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Not a fact, this time – a personal thought. NUSNP has shown itself unworthy to govern the Scottish people consistently…Dec 7, 17:08
    • Effijy on The Long Walk To Freedom: “I can’t digest such beating about the bushes, trees, and gorse. My conclusion, the SNP is rife with corruption and…Dec 7, 16:16
    • James Cheyne on The cost of failure: “Also forgot to mention the destruction of infrastructure like roads, trains, water supplies, localised businesses, NHS, and other public services.…Dec 7, 16:13
    • James Cheyne on The cost of failure: “Charles ( not the 3C one) Forgot to respond regards your comment Who will be the members of the new…Dec 7, 16:04
    • James Cheyne on The cost of failure: “Charles ( not the RC one). If there was a Scottish parliament in reality, there would be no Parliamentary union…Dec 7, 15:51
    • Morag on The Long Walk To Freedom: “We can only be grateful for people like yourself who are prepared to do this, and dogged and persistent enough…Dec 7, 15:01
    • James Cheyne on The cost of failure: “Confirmation can be found in records that it was “The Great Seal of England ” that was used on the…Dec 7, 14:04
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Still the dagger drips…Dec 7, 14:04
    • GM on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Thanks Benjamin. I’ll look forward to your next post.Dec 7, 13:46
    • GM on The Long Walk To Freedom: “Good work. I look forward to further information being released, eventually.Dec 7, 13:36
    • duncanio on The Long Walk To Freedom: “The process is indeed the punishment. Much kudos goes to Benjamin Harrop for his tenacity and diligence in trying to…Dec 7, 13:12