Tunes for Yoons

Posted on May 25, 2017 by

Politics is still on hiatus after the dreadful events of Manchester, so we’ve taken the chance to go and enjoy the sudden summer weather while nothing was happening.

And today, as we (“Drove at a legal speed” – Ed) across the pretty hills overlooking Bath in an inexpensive convertible, a song came on the stereo that made us think of all the Unionist trolls who were still busily raging on Twitter – mainly about the SNP’s awful failure to light up every building in Scotland with the Union Jack in tribute to the dead (no, really), but also at the most recent data “proving” that independence would mean the country regressing to the Stone Age and whatnot.

So we thought we’d share it with you, because as well as having a jaunty tune it’s got a good attitude to adopt when they’re screaming and yelling themselves red, white and blue in the face about something or other, rather than wasting your time and mental equilibrium on being dragged into their fetid mind-swamp.

It works on any day, even if you’re not in a sports car.

1. 25 05 17 22:56

Tunes for Yoons | speymouth

63 to “Tunes for Yoons”

1. Betty Boop

Thanks Stu. Think I’ll play this through QT tonight 🙂

2. Skip_NC

It may work on any day, but it doesn’t work here in the good ole US of A. I get a message saying the uploader has not made the video available in my country.

Of course, my country is Scotland, but I don’t suppose the internet is smart enough to know that yet.

3. jimnarlene

Or there’s always this Welsh punk rock classic.

Albertos Y Lost Trios Paranoias Fuck You

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=6RIYi0D_m4o

4. Artyhetty

Ha! Fab, love this song and the video is class. Thanks, very good and very funny.

I won’t play it if a Tory knocks my door, though they won’t when they see the SNP posters in the window, had the bloody cheek to post a tory leaflet though! They have no laurels do they.

Question time, oh, it’s gonna be sombre, hopefully not too full of racist bigots though. :-/

See ya all tomorrow!

5. Robert Peffers

Much prefer jazz, better still Trad Jazz but at a pinch I’ll settle for Boogie With Stu by Led Zepplin:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aLGgkTQvVUU

6. dakk

Nice and uplifting Stu.

Needed cheering up.

Still feeling bit sorry for myself after a brutal section tooth extraction before work yesterday ,following a failed 18 month root treatment battle to save it.

7. Capella

Independence would mean A country regressing to the Stone Age. But not this one.

8. Cactus

Come Back Ra Morra…

The road is open..

SCOTLAND..

14 days.

Wings.

X

9. Cactus

Get yer motor running…

Be inspired..

Scotland.

X

10. JLT

I must admit, I’m a bit perplexed at this new argument about why everyone in the UK that has a Facebook Account would have to update their picture to that of the Union Jack.

The idea behind the flags when the terrorist attacks happened in Belgium and France was that we STOOD with those nations. Therefore, should it not be the Europeans and the rest of the Western World who have to update their Facebook pictures with a Union Jack to say that they stand shoulder-to-shoulder with the UK.

The attack in Manchester was on UK soil, so why would I …as a Briton …now have to stand up and prove my loyalty to the United Kingdom by displaying a Union Flag? Did the Germans update their main Facebook photos with a German flag? Did the Belgians? Did the French? The answer is No because those nations were in the process of grieving – they weren’t running to their keyboards to update their Facebook Status with their national flag. So why is this being raised as an issue with the people of Scotland? This is just bitterness from a small segment of society who through sheer ignorance it must be said, have reacted with ill judgement.

To me personally, does it not matter as a Briton, that my heart is breaking for those families who suffered in Manchester. Of course it bloody well hurts. Who hasn’t been moved by the grief of the families? So why are there accusations that Scotland isn’t doing enough to show its grief? Of course Scotland is bloody well grieving!! Who isn’t moved and haunted by each new event that transpires with every passing minute from Manchester and the families affected? But it doesn’t need to drag out the Union Flag to do so.

Looking beyond these shores, the Union Flag to a German, a Frenchman, a Belgian, a Swede is only a flag. It’s just the British flag. But here in the UK, it does represent something else, and it is political. If Scotland suddenly covered itself in the Union Flag, you’re not telling me that the media wouldn’t have a field day in displaying video after video and picture after picture of Scotland draped in the Union Flag. Between now and June the 8th, it would be used heavily for the promotion of Unionism over nationalism. Everyone in Scotland knows what would happen if they held up a Union Flag. So, hell no.

And I thought politics was to be placed to one side for the rest of the week due to the tragedy. Now we get brain-dead idiots doing just that by accusing Scotland of not playing its part. If some thought they could score points, then all I can say, is that it’s pathetic.

11. Thepnr

People who contribute and even many that just read Wings aren’t really normal in the usual sense of the word. I’m not saying anyone is abnormal, maybe just that we’re ahead of the game.

We don’t need the media to tell us the difference between right and wrong, we already know that. We don’t need to be spoon fed our reality. Wingers are quite capable of making their own minds up and that must be a good thing.

Quite a lot of us are just that wee bit different, willing to go against the grain and that’s a good thing for democracy, that’s why I enjoyed the wackiness of this tune.

12. Cactus

Take control Scotland…

It’s ur’s for ra takin’..

Drive it all HOME.

Destination X.

X

13. Cactus

Loony toons fur loony yoons…

All
    Conservatives
    Must
    Evolve

All ra two’s!

14. Alex

Keyboards remind me of Dave Greenfield of The Stranglers. Only not as good. Obviously.

Yours, etc

Captain Caveman (once we get independence).

15. galamcennalath

Funny all this back to the Stone Age stuff, when that appears to be the stated aim of Brexiteers!

16. geeo

Placebo.

‘Fuck You’

Link not required…title says it all.

17. David

Has anyone noticed all the unionist trolls have not mentioned the price of a barrel of oil has increased, funny that don’t you think !

18. Thepnr

The last couple of days have been difficult for all in the UK and for many directly involved their lives will have been changed forever.

I was witness to a bombing by the IRA at Paddington Station in 1991. It was a small bomb and as far as I remember no one was killed. Of course it made you think and back then you were of course on the lookout for possible terrorist attacks.

Thee attacks though didn’t prevent everyday life carrying on, you still caught the tube in the morning and went to work. You still enjoyed a pint in the pub or a meal in the restaurant.

Troops were not out on the streets and people weren’t cowering in fear. I don’t have the answer of course to the current threats but I doubt armed troops can do much to lessen that threat.

The best way to reduce Islamic terrorists from attacking the UK is to stop attacking them, that’s not giving in to terrorists it’s just common sense.

19. heedtracker

Yoon rage aside, BBC r4 10 o’clock vote Mother Teresa news tories are convinced May is really going to hump JC, June 8. PM May and not PM JC, telling Scots now is not the time, until 2049, if we behave, should be interesting.

20. Lenny Hartley

Jim Arlene the Berts are not Welsh but from Manchester, I’ve got most of their albums and been a fan since the seventies, sadly after the early death of Les Prior from Leukaemia the band stopped recording. The Snuff rock ep is a classic.
    Seen Tom Hingly lead singer of the carpets in a wee Arran pub, the Lochranza Hotel several years ago, he was a very talented musician , how people with great talent can end up playing to thirty in a pub has always bewildered me and totally talentless tone deaf numpties can make millions.

21. Thepnr

Very interesting poll from Scot Goes Pop.

Britain-wide voting intentions (YouGov) :

Conservatives 43% (-1)
    Labour 38% (+3)
    Liberal Democrats 10% (+1)
    SNP 5% (n/c)
    UKIP 4% (+1)
    Greens 1% (-1)

A result such as this could mean a hung parliament.

http://scotgoespop.blogspot.co.uk/2017/05/disaster-for-tories-as-up-to-date.html

22. Iain More

Well I haven’t been out swamping the place with Union Jacks. But then I am an evil extremist separatist.

I was doubly evil today because it was gorgeous and I went out reminding folks that the Tories are going to murder their pensions. Hammer the Yoons on pensions!

23. Cactus

Ur journey to Yes continues ra morra…

Undecided prev naw voters..

Don’t freak out like.

We good.

24. Cactus

Aweright ra pnr…

Big nod buddy..

Ra 3rd.

X

25. ronnie anderson

AUOB rally will go ahead as planned on 3rd June from Kelvingrove Park 11am to Glasgow Green after a meeting with Police & Glasgow City Council.

26. jackie

Cactus, you are fab 🙂

27. Cactus

Cheers me jackie…

Love u all.

SCO.

X.

28. Thepnr

@Cactus

Sorry that I won’t be able to make it on the 3rd because of work, hope many thousands will though.

Noticed that it looks like you have an admirer, waves to jackie 🙂

29. jimnarlene

Lenny Hartley, did not know that.?

30. Cactus

I shouldnae huv tae say this, but…

LOVE Scotland..

Tae learn.

X

31. yesindyref2

Even if it’s lashing down with rain, in a convertible the rain don’t get in as long as you drive fast enough.

Onyways, drove past this today on my travels down to Kinlochewe and Torridon in probably the hottest part of the country, had to drink my fingers while sucking a Tunnocks tea cake, didn’t have time to stop, but looks cool. Worth a retired Butcher’s anyway !

32. yesindyref2

Silly me, what I like?

http://www.russianarcticconvoymuseum.org/exhibition

33. Cactus

Once again…

Ra meaning of life… is..

To learn…

Take it..

Understand.

34. Cactus

HOME.

35. cynicalHighlander

Tunes for Yoons?

A tune for the world!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=buqtdpuZxvk

36. Smallaxe

Cactus,

Never understand, always Overstand. 🙂
    Peace Always

37. Cactus

Busy on da ’52..

Always overstand.

Great tae see ye back on buddy.

We ROCK!

38. Smallaxe

Good to be back, my Friend
    Peace Always

39. caz m

Ronnie Anderson

Thanks for update big man. See you there.

40. Cactus

Let’s do this…

Do it for..

SCOTLAND.

Ahm in ra Clutha.

Headin’ intae ra City.

Glasgow’s Much Better…

X.

41. Col

I noticed on Facebook tonight on an ad for the national newspaper that the unionists were very angry. We had our vote, it was once in a generation they parroted. One or two former yes voters who would vote no if it meant being in the EU. I still don’t get these people. However this plays out in the end we should not give up. The democratic deficit is too large.

42. Dave McEwan Hill

I just sent this to lots of newspapers. Our relationship with the rest of the world on an equal and peaceful basis has always been my reason to desire independence, not any of this competent government stuff.

“History will surely record that in the second half of the 20th century and the start of the 21st century the US (having got some practice in the incineration of Vietnam) and with the assistance of its ally UK attacked and invaded Afghanistan and, after that, completely destablised the Middle East by murderous interference in Iraq, Libya and Syria, killing hundreds of thousands of innocent women and children in the process.
    The same history will note that as result of this immoral, illegal and barbarous behaviour the rage of the inhabitants of these communities (which had never threatened to invade or attack anybody) manifested itself in decades of reprisals by means of terrorist attacks into the countries that had destroyed theirs.
    And then that history will record that Scotland and the Scots decided no more in our name and took its place as an independent and peaceful member nation of the rest of the world.”

43. Smallaxe

Nobody does it better, Cactus!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tkaBfp1tbck&ab_channel=kawabazawuku

Peace Always

44. Cactus

Remembers…

SCOTLAND IS FUCKIN’ EXCELLENT!

Always..

X.

45. Thepnr

20,000 less policemen in E&W since the Tories took power in 2010.

This is damming and May is the one responsible. Damming.

46. yesindyref2

@Thepnr
    Both as PM and before that as Home Secretary.

Oct 2016 report – England and Wales 180 per 100,000 population, was 251 in 2010, 222 in 2014, when E&W ranked 28th out of 34 of European nations, NI 13th and Scotland 19th. E&W will be even lower now, having gone below the 200, perhaps 33rd out of 34.

Scotland was 328 per 100,000 in 2010, 323 in 2014, can’t find the 2016 figure, maybe slightly lower, not much I think.

sn00634 pdf HOC Briefing Paper

47. ian murray

Wasn’t she in charge of the Pedo File files that “got destroyed”
    Is she planning on sitting in on the negotiations for Brexit or rely on her negotiators?
    EU in turmoil but only because they are fighting over all the opportunities coming their way
    They need us more than we need them is sounding a bit weak and wobbly

48. Still Positive

Dave McEwan Hill @ 12.07

Totally agree with every word, especially the last paragraph.

49. carjamtic

Dave McEwan Hill @ 12:07

Well said,totally agree.

50. K1

🙂 guid tae see ye back Smallaxe!

51. AlbertaScot

Cosmic YouGov poll over on ScotGoesPop’s site.

Truly Best of Both World’s if Big Angus has the hammer in a hung parliament.

But like I’ve said earlier, don’t discount the power of Sinn Fein is they nail down a dozen or so seats in NI.

Michelle O’Neill is a player and is pretty well running on a Labour ticket – with that other thing thrown in, of course.

She made all the right moves by condemning the MCR bombing right from the git-go and signing the book of condolences.

Not a lot different if you can kinda ignore the past (which is pretty hard to do) as where Nicola is coming from.

Sure I know they don’t sit because of the loyalty oath thing. Put power is a very persuasive opiate.

52. Cactus

Ahm HOMEbound…

A
    Conservatorian
    May
    Explode

Dat’s all folks!

Giggity.

53. Smallaxe

K1: Thanks, it’s good to be back.Keep up the good work. 🙂
    Dave McEwan Hill, excellent letter, sir, you have my unbounded admiration for putting into words exactly what a lot of us on here think.Thank You.

Peace Always

54. gus1940

It would appear that yon nurse has served her purpose and has been allowed to disappear from the face of the media earth.

No follow up, no interviews, no comments from friends or colleagues,no pictures of her abode, no pictures of Stockbridge, no pictures of her convertible, no pictures of Heriots.

How unlike our wonderful media – all we seem to be left with is a hatchet job on Joanna Cherry for re-tweeting a innocuous rumour which proved to be untrue – unless, of course, being married to a tory councillor is an offence punishable by public ridicule,shame and disgrace.

55. Smallaxe

Nana: Good Morning, It’s another lovely morning down here in the borders. Thank you, for your links. Kettle’s on. 🙂
    Peace Always

56. Jack Murphy

OT. BBC Scotland and Nurse’s Foodbank—a response from a Foodbank Manager in Scotland.
    I’ll just leave this random quote here,with link to the Manager’s full response at bottom of quote.

“…..By allowing [Nurse] to peddle her lies on prime time, the BBC has helped to sow a few seeds of doubt.
    What’s going on with these food banks? What do they think they are playing at doling out free grub to people earning £30K a year?

I don’t earn £30K. I don’t earn £20K!

And the next time the viewer passes our collection bin in the supermarket they stop and think for a moment. Then with a small shake of the head they put a box of cereal back in the trolley. [ 🙁 ]

[Nurse’s] nasty lies might well cost us thousands of pounds in food donations.

Because as the BBC know only too well, people don’t look deeply into stories. They merely absorb the bullet points.

Food banks give food to people on £30K a year. Which isn’t right. So I’m not giving any more. Why should I? I don’t earn that kind of money?…….”

I’ve omitted the nurse’s name to avoid her and BBC Scotland any further embarrassment.

http://tinyurl.com/ya9qfsx7

57. William Wallace

How apt Stu

Check the chorus “this is how it feels” – off topic style. 🙂

Love ya sis 🙂

58. William Wallace

Moving swiftly on to Stone Roses – I wanna be.

I don’t have — to sell my soul.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.