Blue In The Face

Posted on July 14, 2026 by

Before we start, let’s note that this took 37 days.

As you’re about to read, it says almost nothing other than “Please go away now”.

It takes quite a long time to say it, but nevertheless those four words are pretty much the sum total of the actual content. It does not in any way whatsoever address the contents of our letter of 6 June, of which the below is an extract.

DCC Houston does say one intriguing thing, though.

Now, we can’t be certain of exactly what he means by “the comments made recently”, since he refers to “various individuals”. But the comments OUR letter referred to were those made by the First Minister of Scotland.

So we must reasonably assume that DCC Houston is talking about those. Which means he’s saying Police Scotland already KNEW that the SNP had misappropriated the fundraiser money and spent it on another purpose.

The Dean of the Faculty Of Advocates, one of Scotland’s most distinguished lawyers, and one who’s been employed by the Scottish Government itself, is unequivocally of the professional opinion that that constitutes the crime of embezzlement, as indeed almost any lay observer would be.

37 days of holding our breath later, we’re none the wiser as to why the Deputy Chief Constable of Police Scotland apparently disagrees with both the First Minister and the Dean Of Faculty that donors to the fund were the victims of criminal embezzlement.

We will now consider our next steps, and keep you updated.

0 to “Blue In The Face”

1. Wally Jumblatt says:

Temporary Deputy Chief Constable
    -and he’s been temporary since 2024
    -and there are at least 3 of them ………
    -maybe a whole floor in Tulliallan
    I despair, maybe they all advise each other.

2. Mark Beggan says:

That’s the nicest Fuck Off I have ever read.

3. Cynicus says:

Don’t!

you are performing a great public service and being a good citizen.

It is a disgrace the way the police have responded.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,952 Posts, 1,246,914 Comments

• Cynicus on Blue In The Face: “Don’t! you are performing a great public service and being a good citizen. It is a disgrace the way the…Jul 14, 13:52
    • Andy Ellis on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “Stu, as has been observed before while your patience does you credit there are times when liberal use of hammers…Jul 14, 13:51
    • Mark Beggan on Blue In The Face: “That’s the nicest Fuck Off I have ever read.Jul 14, 13:44
    • Wally Jumblatt on Blue In The Face: “Temporary Deputy Chief Constable -and he’s been temporary since 2024 -and there are at least 3 of them ……… -maybe…Jul 14, 13:37
    • Cynicus on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: ““No comment”. Great double entendre, Alf. Response to the Rev. & Sturgeon tribute act rolled into one!Jul 14, 13:22
    • TURABDIN on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “Read two articles in the Guardian written within the last few weeks, one about a solar energy producer in south…Jul 14, 13:08
    • Aidan on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “You’re right Northcode, Alf has published his book and so if any of us wanted to explore the theme of…Jul 14, 13:01
    • Bobo bunny on Step One: “You think voting for a unionist party is going to further the cause of Scottish independence? Ur ye daft?!Jul 14, 12:57
    • Alf Baird on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: ““No comment”Jul 14, 12:53
    • Cynicus on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “If Nicola Sturgeon swore, on oath , that she was lying – should we believe her?Jul 14, 12:38
    • sam on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: ““The Falklands saga encapsulates every major theme of 21st-century geopolitics: energy competition, climate vulnerability, historical memory wars, and the tension…Jul 14, 12:21
    • Northcode on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: ““…if he posted on a range of subjects rather than repeatedly posting the same thing over and over again…” The…Jul 14, 12:15
    • Confused on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “yeah, Alf to STFU about colonisation … if the rev SHUTS THE FUCK UP ABOUT TRANNIES, no one gives a…Jul 14, 11:43
    • Confused on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “there’s not a lot of engineering or physics in the brains trust round here – caveman does not understand the…Jul 14, 11:40
    • Confused on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “Bobby Moore was a thief. Never forget. Just like all his kind … wherever wood floats … And the malvinas.…Jul 14, 11:36
    • Aidan on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “I’m sure there might be more of an accommodation of the professor if he posted on a range of subjects…Jul 14, 11:30
    • Captain Caveman on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “Heh! Literally the very next post, Northy to the rescue of his idol. Like I said. Zero self awareness. None.Jul 14, 11:27
    • sam on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “Gaun yersel, Northcode. it’s about more than fitba, innit. https://japanhistory.github.io/falkland-islands-history/ “Unlike most contested territories, the Falklands present an unusual historical…Jul 14, 11:19
    • Northcode on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “Yeah, Baird, shut the fuck up… anyone would think this is a Scottish independence supporting blog the way you bang…Jul 14, 11:12
    • Northcode on Step One: ““… being genuinely appreciative of someone’s exceptional efforts and achievements…” BOAK! Dinnae forgit to doff yer bunnet. Tell me… is…Jul 14, 11:09
    • Captain Caveman on Step One: ““If there are any unionists out there who might be feeling weary and weak… look to the ‘Reverend in Yer…Jul 14, 10:43
    • BLMac on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “Sturgeon’s collaboration with Gove raises a question or two. Gove is one of the slimiest of the ‘proud Scot but’…Jul 14, 10:42
    • Northcode on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “I find myself caught up in the excitement generated by excessively topical World Cup madness – “No Scotland, No Party”,…Jul 14, 10:42
    • Northcode on Step One: ““Most reasoning readers will conclude that the owner of a blog site is right.” First, I wasn’t responding to the…Jul 14, 09:57
    • Captain Caveman on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “Heh. Amusingly enough, Hatey, our excitable, puffed up, endlessly verbose friend “Jay” is of precisely the same “ideologically captured, witless…Jul 14, 09:57
    • Wally Jumblatt on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “I think it’s really good to see that Nicola has hitched her star to the outstanding Anwar. Between them they…Jul 14, 09:55
    • Liz on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “My take also Getting rattled?Jul 14, 09:51
    • Hatey McHateface on Step One: “Because the rule is: Conclusion first, evidence second, or not at all when it contradicts the conclusion.Jul 14, 09:45
    • TURABDIN on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “POWER & MONEY, the danse macabre whose rhythms politicians, businessmen and the like just cannot resist. Trump is the current…Jul 14, 09:43
    • Hatey McHateface on The Unstoppable Lie Machine: “Cheers, CC. I can only reply because Rev Jay has generously granted prior authorisation. The Guardian states that it was…Jul 14, 09:41