Off-topic

Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. DerekM

jings Smallaxe i think i need to add this REM track to the show after yesterday πŸ˜‰

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YYOKMUTTDdA

and this be the yoons this morning

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eOjAzI5zALo

2. Smallaxe

DerekM:

We won’t let the Yoons put us..

Down In The Dumps
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WBLA0YQynFM

Peace Always

3. Smallaxe

DerekM:

This is where we will leave Them

Billy Talent: “Leave Them All Behind”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k4jNU3Jq7d0

Peace Always

4. David

Plagued with pesky trolls?
    Infuriated by incensed commenters?
    A Norwegian website may have the answer…

“On some stories, potential commenters are now required to answer three basic multiple-choice questions, ABOUT THE ARTICLE, before they’re allowed to post a comment.”
    This is to make sure they have actually read the article before they start commenting on it!

http://www.niemanlab.org/2017/03/this-site-is-taking-the-edge-off-rant-mode-by-making-readers-pass-a-quiz-before-commenting/

Maybe Rev Stu could test it on the likes of ‘Thrawn’…

πŸ™‚

5. Smallaxe

David:

How about this!

How To Get Rid Of Trolls
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LLzei1Kz8GA

Peace Always

6. Smallaxe

Macart:

A kiss for the Yoons
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1hqRV5hr8w4
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

7. Macart

@Smallaxe

Now THAT is how you make a point.

πŸ˜€

8. David

LOL Smallaxe, don’t think I’m drunk enough to appreciate that video, even if it contains Eurotrash presenters wielding chainsaws…

PS Belated thanks for posting the Landscape ‘Einstein a go go’ song. Great wee pop tune from gulp, THIRTY-SIX years ago.

Also from ’81, with lyrics that resonate for indy-seekers today, here are the Undertones with “It’s Going To Happen”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WiMIIL9cjHg

9. Smallaxe

David:

“Sooner Than You Think!”
    New Order
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7bPz5SLSos

Peace Always

10. Tinto Chiel

When Michael mentioned coconuts on the main thread, I thought he meant this kind…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fLf6MIdE1BE

11. Smallaxe

Tinto:

I am not the daddy either!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=csNRlESLAC0

Peace Always

12. David

Smallaxe, some say that to achieve Indy,
    “We have all the time in the world”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YJeEwkVoUpk
    (Louis Armstrong)

But I want Indy “Right here right now”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F7jSp2xmmEE
    (Fatboy Slim)

πŸ™‚

13. Tinto Chiel

That vid reminds me of my attempts at the Lindy Hop, Smallaxe.

Hips need some Three-in-One.

14. Smallaxe

David:

They can say what they like but!

You’re Gonna Get It
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YFpk3a3pMhI

Peace Always

15. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Here you go! 2:32min in
    πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-GqOzKp5Q_M

Peace Always

16. Tinto Chiel

Oh, Smallaxe, no! no!

Got very nervous when he got on to lubrication.

I’m afraid I have supped of the vine to eradicate unpleasant associations (2.495 units). Thanks for that.

In other news, Adam Tompkins is an utter plank.

Just ‘cos.

17. Tinto Chiel

MTS: caught in a traffic jam and this came on. First time I’ve heard it through for decades. Nicked or not, it’s very impressive.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IS6n2Hx9Ykk

18. Tinto Chiel

Poetry set to music:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HdP3nZMZQbs

It’s my age.

19. Tinto Chiel

Critique of the emptiness of materialism and its concomitant gnawing alienation?

You got it…….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W773ZPJhcVw

20. kc

@ Ronnie Anderson main thread at 3:12 PM Nana, worth her weight in gold, cuddly, where will it all end ?
    What with you, Tinto Chiel demanding scones and Smallaxe at breakfast I’m glad I bought shares in Dingwall distillery hic… Nana dear, more ice please.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-OGj0omTWPw

21. Tinto Chiel

When you mention Dingwall, I think of ward-winning haggis. Mmmmmmmmmmmm.

Nana is a force of nature. Her links inform and inspire.

I dedicate my next trademark avocado and piccalilli on rye sandwich to her.

Smallaxe: paws aff!

22. KC

Tinto, no scones this week chust pancakes floating off the griddle into puddles of maple syrup, MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM, nae veg here.

23. Smallaxe

Tinto:

I’ve been out for a few hours in case you were worried about me not answering your posts as usual.#Manky

I notice that kc at 6:39pm has shares in a distillery so I leave this in hope! πŸ™‚
    Metallica
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=boanuwUMNNQ

Peace Always

24. Tinto Chiel

Your comment worries me, KC.

You may need a strict regime of bending exercises and mineral water if this behaviour continues, e.g.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o99K-HaAzQc

Thankfully, Smallaxe and self are ascetic types who contemplate the eternal, stippled beauty of the universe, the hoot of the hoolet and the shrill rattle of the wren.

And Nana’s watchword is: put more water in it.

A lesson for us all there, I think.

πŸ˜›

25. Tinto Chiel

Metallica, Smallaxe?

Wow, some party! Magic!

But not for us, Smallaxe. We must harken unto the robin’s frail flutings and the unworldly call of the shearwater.

Lovely water, this, btw.

26. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Yer scones are safe.

KC:

Yer whisky isnae, my great and good, good Friend! I leave these songs from an old drinking buddy of mine, with great expectations. πŸ™‚

Frankie Miller
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DQMZqURw86I
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-oTuj8JXdxQ

Peace Always

27. KC

Tinto, Smallaxe ascetic, is that ruglen fur vinegar. I’m a Pinot Noir man myself. Nae watter in this hoose cept the ice bucket.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=boWM7zvmvcM

28. Smallaxe

Get Thee Behind me Satan.

ooh, yah wee Devil!

The Devil Went Down To Jamaica
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZczxNhGiBEM

Peace Always MAa*a*a*n

29. Tinto Chiel

Gentlemen, may I remind you that alcohol is a poison?

Frankie Miller: an astonishing voice and a very brave man who fought back after a devastating illness.

But I’m sure you know all that, Smallaxe.

30. KC

@ Smallaxe, felicitations dear friend, there one in the cask for you.
    Great to hear Frankie one of our heroes.
    Heres another hero, sadly departed, party on, is it Friday ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A-uWs_imfGc

31. Smallaxe

This is what I need!

American Football
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5YjM4kYypSQ

PiSseE

Peace Always

32. Brian Doonthetoon

“The Devil Went Down To Jamaica”.

He’s been a busy entity!

The Devil Went Doon Tae Forfar…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fybwkm7ivQc

33. Smallaxe

KC:

Are you under the affluence of inchahol? Friday! Naw it’s March!
    did you no used tae hae a Sunshine Band or sumfin’, Naw.

Do You Wanna Go Party?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iU5fyjolI3g

Peace Always

34. Smallaxe

BDTT:

He’s not in Forfar now,

Devil’s At The Crossroads
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AZb8X0DWwlE

Peace Always

35. Tinto Chiel

BDTT: the Devil got stuck at Arbroath.

Many years ago, my footie team had a fixture at Gayfield, and we repaired to the adjacent Tutties Neuk hostelry for a pre-match sweet sherry or two.

A charming local lass brought us over our order but there’s always ae waghorn in a wheen o’ chiels and this one made the mistake of placing his hand on the young lady’s nether regions. She maintained her sang froid as she calmly placed the drinks order on the table and then proceeded to brain the spanner with her tin tray, to great applause from the rest of us.

It’s a funny old game, Saint.

36. Brian Doonthetoon

One more from me before I retire for snooze and nosebag. Still on the “devil” theme. The link below is from the days when we always explored the B sides of singles.

I’ve always liked this – an interesting mix of heavy guitar and brass. It was the B side of The Gun’s “Race With The Devil” in 1968. Some fiery guitar work from the Gurvitz from the middle 8 onwards.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7nd-qtPHx8E

37. KC

Smallaxe
    Wrong KC, try this one http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_i49qdVtyY
    apologies cannot find the Gaberlunzie version

I still have the medals.

Fridays then were Welly bar and the shithouse ceilidhs, now that was a party !

38. Fred

Pinot Mor recommended for prostate problems! πŸ™‚

39. Smallaxe

KC:

I looked but I couldn’t find it either, we will have to make do with this.

Scotland Will Rise – Gaberlunzie
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qXuc8O2OIiU

By the way, I still have my medals from when I was Captain of the Govan Stank Lifters.

Peace Always

40. Smallaxe

Hi Fred,#Manky

Do you mean this pino?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iAykOz1gWi4

Peace Always

41. KC

Smallaxe, would the Govan Stank Lifters be manky boys.

42. Smallaxe

KC:

The Govan Stank Lifters and the Manky Mates are two separate (desperate) regiments. However, we do join together in times of need such as now, when there is so much at stake.

Think of us as two pods in a pea if that helps?
    Or as a dark bit in a light corner?
    Even maybe different looking identical twins?

It’s probably easier not to think of us at all until you get conscripted or are daft enough to volunteer!

We are the night shite shifters we shift shite by night.

I hope this has cleared up any doubts you had about us, if it has
    COULD YOU PLEASE EXPLAIN IT TO ME!

Tomorrow I will tell you about the Maryhill Handbag Snatchers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Fn36l_z3WY

Peace Always

43. Smallaxe

The Isley Brothers “This Old Heart Of Mine”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Fn36l_z3WY

Jimmy Ruffin: “What Becomes of the Brokenhearted”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQywZYoGB1g

“Under the boardwalk”: The Drifters
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EPEqRMVnZNU

Peace Always

44. Smallaxe

The drifters: “up on the roof”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=puM1k-S86nE

Bobby Darin: “Dream Lover”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wVHAQX5sSaU

Johnny Tillotson: “Poetry In Motion”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oy_ArpznZUs

Peace Always

45. Smallaxe

Jimmy Clanton: “Venus In Blue Jeans”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Knq_BY6xpbQ

Bobby Vee: “The Night Has A Thousand Eyes”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ssCLB6Y8zjA

Lou Christie: “Lightnin’ Strikes”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LyRqdzF8swY

46. Smallaxe

DEL SHANNON: “THE ANSWER TO EVERYTHING”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SntWlpY4hFM

DEL SHANNON: SINGING “KELLY”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b82AiRGTMCg

Del Shannon: “Hats Off to Larry”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xk_FR3341bA

47. KC

Smallaxe, your problem is familiar, this chap will explain better than I can.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QkhBcLk_8f0

48. Smallaxe

“Give Me Just A Little More Time” The Chairmen of the Board
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gzIAiyxS-nk

The Foundations: “Build Me Up Buttercup”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iol0B-clFFM

Come On Eileen! (The REAL Lyrics)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jC1vtG3oyqg

49. Smallaxe

KC:

More like this,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KBJJ6I5a5pk

Peace Always X 4 Stick some up where I missed them out Please.Ta

50. Smallaxe

Dusty
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dp4339EbVn8

Bobbie Gentry: “Ode To Billie Joe”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZt5Q-u4crc

Cher: “Gypsys Tramps And Thieves”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOSZwEwl_1Q

Peace Always

51. Smallaxe

The Honeycombs: “Have I the right”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OuUpOerfT2I

Lynn Anderson: “I Beg Your Pardon”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2-eclUz-RYI

Billie Jo Spears: “Blanket On The Ground”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpA0oPR_EOQ

Peace Always

52. Smallaxe

Dr. Hook:”Sylvia’s Mother”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPrixYOTNHw

Elvis Presley: “In the Ghetto”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Ox1Tore9nw

Elvis Presley: “Green Green Grass Of Home”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uvGvmsLQaHA

53. Smallaxe

Elvis: “Hurt”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nOrIloT8Okw

DEAN MARTIN: “Everybody Loves Somebody”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hEzuBgeiSnk

Dean Martin: “That’s Amore”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OnFlx2Lnr9Q

Peace Always X 2^ UP There^

54. Smallaxe

The Rat Pack
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ab68Z4U_cEw

Sammy Davis jr Mr Bojangles
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5voM2HExV_Q

Sammy Davis Jnr: “The Candy Man”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zRf1Ad_Txsg

Peace Always

55. Smallaxe

Jethro Tull: “Heavy Horses”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HzCvljJIJQw

Living in the Past
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EsCyC1dZiN8

Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=315TFwmTjpU

Peace Always

56. Smallaxe

TEN YEARS AFTER: “I`m Going Home”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZTMEDzTESjc

Ten Years After: “Good Morning Little School Girl”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q6NskLyMpRc

Deep Purple: “Child In Time”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OorZcOzNcgE

Peace Always

57. Smallaxe

“Thank Christ For The Bomb” Groundhogs
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1wfoMKd_M4

Tony McPhee: “Groundhog Blues”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wtqnZCMoLPU

Rory Gallagher & Tony McPhee
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DLOt-HBZvsY

Peace out Man

58. Scott

I don’t see this reported in any UK press or TV.

https://on.rt.com/84kz

59. Tinto Chiel

OK, Smallaxe?

Friday is Dyson, dusting and polishing day at Tinto Towers, so I thought you might like this live feed from SWMBO’s CCTV, which she installed to “ensure quality control” hem, hem, while she’s at work.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f4Mc-NYPHaQ&index=7&list=RDzO6D_BAuYCI

Just heard Praying Mantis-May lambasting the FM for her “obsession with independence” on Pravdasound4.

Thank the Lord she has no obsession with gaining independence from Europe, eh?

It’s the way she tells ’em.

60. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Their having problems on the M/T page everything disappeared?

Obsession
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E5Lec3m1pLY

Peace Always

61. Tinto Chiel

And here’s a wee keek into Post-Brexit Britannia, once the Tories have made a bonfire of our human rights.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azdwsXLmrHE&index=18&list=RDzO6D_BAuYCI

A trifle dystopian the day, me.

Think it’s the Mister Sheen polish…..

62. Tinto Chiel

Obsession? I’ll give you obsession!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6aAadJTDMlo

I loved the slow scene where James Stewart follows her to the cemetery and this music was playing.

Queasily melancholic.

The glitch on MT is probs just that, but I’m sure The Watchers hate the Rev with a passion.

63. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Something far wrong on M/T, the Rev put up a new post and now that’s gone!

64. jdman

Anybody online in contact with Ronnie?
    he’s standing in the SECC car park with a Wings flag with a cop standing next to him and his (coppers) body language doesnt suggest he’s shooting the breeze!

65. Tinto Chiel

Yes, Smallaxe, it all seems a bit strange.

Like many people I react to this kind of thing by making another contribution. For some reason I used the donate button the first time and had to go back and do it all over again on the 2017 fundraiser page…..

πŸ˜€

I am a silly sausage.

66. David

Inspired by the not-quite full house at the Tory conference in Glasgow, here is a wee verse for your delectation:

I wandered lonely as a Tory
    That floats on high o’er Brexit’s ills,
    When all at once I saw a crowd,
    A host, of purple seats, unfilled.

67. freedo

Smallaxe
    I’m disinclined to pass my email addr via a post. Is it possible for you to retrieve it from the Rev?

68. Tinto Chiel

Are you David Wordsworth by any chance?

πŸ˜€

69. Smallaxe

David: It had to be Burns, my Friend!

Wee sleekit, lyin’ treacherous Tory
    The MSM won’t tell this story
    Thou needna worry aboot photie’s neither
    Cause the Bast*rds wilnae show them Either

I’m truly happy that oor Dominion
    Will soon be oot yer twisted union
    And justifies that ill opinion
    Which maks thee startle
    At us,thy rich earth-born companion
    And fellow -mortal!

I doubt na, whyles, but thou may thieve
    What then?poor beastie when we leave
    A daimen icker in a thrave
    ‘Sa sma’request:
    I’ll get a blessin’ wi’ the lave,
    And never miss’t!

Thy wee bit housie,too,in ruin:
    Its silly wa’s the win’s are strewin’!
    And naething now to big a new ane
    o’ foggage green!
    And bleak December’s winds ensuin’,
    Baith snell and keen

Thou saw the fields laid bare and waste,
    And weary winter comin’ fast,
    And cozie here,beneath the blast,
    Thou thought to dwell.
    Till,crash! the Yes vote past
    Out through thy cell.

And we,we could na’ gie a damn,
    When ye’s land in HELL.

Peace Always
    πŸ™‚

70. David

@Tinto, if only, but more like David Woolworth!
    @Smallaxe, nice one, now that’s poetry!

I don’t even know why or how that rhyme came to me; see this creative process, it’s mental it is.
    I was just looking at the pic of the half-empty conference hall, all those Ukip-purple empty seats stretching back into the distance. It looked quiet, empty, lonely, for PM May, and then the first line of the Wordsworth poem came to mind, ie “I wandered lonely as a cloud”. As it does…(LOL)

Question, why are the police at the blue Tory conference wearing blue reflective jackets? Is this a new style, or did the Tories insist that the regular yellow jackets were “too SNP” for them.

Nice to see Ronnie flying the Wings flag outside the conference hall!

71. Smallaxe

David:

That’s how poems and rhymes come to me, sometimes it’s something that I see or sometimes the last line comes and I work backwards I at one time had trouble stopping myself talking in rhyme. πŸ™‚
    #upthelum

Peace Always

72. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, David:

You have inspired me to attempt a couplet. I donned my beret and sharpened my HB, awaited the Muse’s descent, and then it came to me…..

“Up in the barn where the moonlight flickers,
    I lost my heart and she lost her parasol.”

Eat dirt, Ezra Pound.

73. Ian Brotherhood

Blimey!!

Well seen Paula’s not been around…

James Brown, ‘It’s Too Funky In Here!’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UMyed_bdk2U

74. Michael McCabe

@ Tinto Chiel Here is a song Paul Simon gives his Approval to. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vBwKp6QhIvE

75. Smallaxe

Hi Ian:

I’ve been busy on the phone and skype to “Freedo” who kindly sent me instructions to get the missing “Pushing the Accelerator” which I now have. I will read it later as I never saw it because I was on here leaving loads of music, as you will notice. Hope you are well.

Paradise found
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vKtsWuaYAt0

Peace Always

76. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Cheers man, I’m good. Hope you are too.

Putting this one in because some JB fans still haven’t seen it. Man, what I wouldn’t have given to be in that audience, or, better still, one of the musicians!?!

Fantastic stuff. Only a couple of years before JB died, so he must’ve been about 70 yrs old when he did this gig. Amazing.

James Brown, ‘BBC Four Sessions’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qyDLTnJ42Kw

77. Michael McCabe

Speed of the Sound of Loneliness http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQTVbTQYkbM

78. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

I submitted a post around 9.30. I clicked on the submit button a number of times. Eventually, I got the duplicate comment message – but the post hasn’t appeared. There were no links in the post.

Baffling…

79. Smallaxe

BDTT:

The B-side of The Gun’s β€œRace With The Devil” LOVED IT, STOLE IT!
    Nice one Brian, thanks.

Peace Always

80. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Hi Michael, trying to sort out this computer, I keep forgetting passwords etc.

Carry on the good work, I will listen to all later.

Peace Always

81. Chick McGregor

Blast from the McPast.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=urrMPH5dHus

‘Psycho-Teuchter’ we called it, many great nights the missus and I had at such gigs. A million miles from the White Heather Club.

Today, Ivan Drever’s son Kris, in the band ‘LAU’ continues to push the Celtic-Folk envelope.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m5BQpewcFP0&list=PLdcsWuRw3ugG7uJU6jQ7nkTcTR68nBHjB

82. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe I enjoyed them Songs but now I feel Empty http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0XXzg1-lOOY

83. Michael McCabe

Loved the two Songs Chick McGregor put up. That Band LAU Iis new to me so Cheers. here is another song I only heard through off topic. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S8QOaaoiT9U

84. Smallaxe

Fill your Heart Michael

Bowie
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dIog1vxXN4U

Peace Always

85. Smallaxe

then Fill up your Senses

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=czX59KGjDG0

Peace Always

86. Michael McCabe

This Song is for my wee pal Greedy Lungs. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EvGJvzwKqg0

87. yesindyref2

Should wait 20 mins to post this but nevermind

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M7JVlpm0eRs

88. Michael McCabe

Hi Smallaxe You are more than welcome to join me on this nice peaceful Journey. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=atyvdC15HFA

89. yesindyref2

And another one
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XcATvu5f9vE

and finally let’s hear it for Theresa May from Scotland (check out the 6’s in views)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_AmkmqYEarw

90. yesindyref2

Well maybe one more off the side panel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BR2JtsVumFA

Never even knew a girl with that name. Hmm.

91. Smallaxe

Very Enjoyable Michael,: Hi, Yesindyref2, All ABOARD?

I like Railroad Tracks,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PF479nQ-s8E

Peace Always

92. yesindyref2

Oh well, one a bit dodgy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cv6tuzHUuuk

and one very dodgy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iwuy4hHO3YQ

That’s any street cred I had away up the road

93. Michael McCabe

You’re the kind of trouble. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RcaQkMp-qrM

94. Smallaxe

Sleep Calls my Friends

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6omR281klfw

Goodnight

Peace Always

95. Smallaxe

Hope I don’t have Trouble Sleeping: Goodnight Again

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LI_Oe-jtgdI

Peace Always

96. yesindyref2

Oh well then, I’ll see that and raise you

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0sw54Pdh_m8

97. Michael McCabe

Hey Smallaxe did I see you http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RxhN7MQ6uYw

98. Michael McCabe

All this travel has made me tired so for me it’s the http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cwqhdRs4jyA

99. Michael McCabe

yesindyref2 good to see you in off topic playing some music. I will leave you with this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfI1S0PKJR8

100. yesindyref2

Thanks Michael. Posted this in main thread, don’t know of anyone else did around the SNP sing-song time in HoC.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fj6r3-sQr58

Wouldn’t you just wish you’d happened to be there to see and hear that? Yeah, bed for me too. Night all, night room, last one out please turn out the lights. Save the planet!

101. yesindyref2

There’s trolls here,
    there’s trolls there
    those trolls are getting everywhere.
    Are they from heaven or
    Where the hell are they from?

I’m just going to give them serious replies to any part of their posting that’s serious and ignore the rest.

Use those trolls baby, use them don’t abuse them!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qeMFqkcPYcg

102. Fred

Morning hoolets! some good stuff, fan of Lau.

103. Smallaxe

Fred:

To wit To Woo. You have Michael McCabe to thank for that!
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

104. Tinto Chiel

Michael@9.23: thanks, hadn’t seen those girls before. The Great Man seemed pleased.

Maybe they could work those lovely close harmonies on this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wmin5WkOuPw

105. CameronB Brodie

I knew I’d heard the phrase before Smallaxe, thanks for the insight into it’s deeper meaning. I never owned “Dreads Meets The Punk Rockers”, though I used to listen to a lot of the tracks back in the day….before I needlessly started sporting a shaven head. πŸ™‚

Johnny Clarke – Bag A Wire Dub
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y6KEPZnNRAg&list=PLuZPPyJDRBxGY9qheEvckgbkahpbqqtkM&index=1

106. CameronB Brodie

I knew a technician from Edinburgh Uni. who described himself as a “national socialist”, though he voted Tory and strongly supported the Yoonion. Thought he knew it all and would regularly spout whichever media trope suited his argument. He wasn’t thick but this was the tube who thought my haircut was aggressive, ergo I am a narrow nationalist racist and Scotland is a hopeless case that relies on London larges. I did try explaining the significance of inalienable human rights but his Cringe was strong.

I wonder what he’s thinking now?

107. Smallaxe

CameronB: As much as I can remember off hand!

Him own brethren sell him fe rice ‘n’ peas!
    His own brother (bredren) sold him for a bag of rice and peas
    Mother Muschett(spelling?) should be stoned.

Bag o’wire was a nickname given to Marcus Garvey’s driver who along with his secretary miss/mrs Muschett, betrayed Garvey to the FBI for fraud relating to his (Garvey’s) shipping line, The Black Star.Marcus Garvey is considered a hero by many black people in Jamaica and the USA.

One Love

108. CameronB Brodie

I was aware of the role Marcus Garvey played in awakening black consciousness, I just lacked your insight so had interpreted it’s meaning as simply an obstruction. Certainly puts a new slant on the track.

Fred Locks – Black Star Liner
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRNR7QFtR0g

109. Croompenstein

I hear the Tories think they can win Glasgow..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZQxAAWnzpc8

110. Croompenstein

Wish I knew.. πŸ™

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1_xwnb3cymc

111. Smallaxe

CameronB:

Well don fi mi broda dat ah ah great song dis is cool mon,thenk yuh.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kRUdBOSFH0A

Peace aal de time…Seen?

112. Croompenstein

Rev Stu anthem πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eP7k6vO-Nw4

113. Smallaxe

Croompenstein:

This is the only way that the Tory’s can win anywhere!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8N6SScXb8M

you wish you knew, what you gonna do about it
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D_AVRGJr_7

This time it’s
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUuuHLaSLR0

Peace Always

114. Croompenstein

@Smallaxe –

The second link not working.. but nice ones..

everybody sing..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-QiXeaEBm8

115. Smallaxe

Croompenstein:
    Try this,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mYvi-l2SRnA

Peace Always

116. Ian Brotherhood

The ‘David Mundell’ song:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6DZFl2WLHS8

117. Smallaxe

Factoid! Karaoke: Japanese for Empty Orchestra!

Just because I like this, I’m playing IT.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T5emcbg_wZk

Peace Always

118. Smallaxe

“Fool no More” Peter Green
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4oWmfG0uFBc

I’ll play the blues for you!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0UF03r2HV68

The Feeling
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N8UF7Zlmyz0

Peace Always

119. Smallaxe

Hi Ian:

One for George Galloway

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_I1_5mSXinQ

Peace Always

120. Smallaxe

Hi Ian:A’ve Loast a post!

Foreigner
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KsEeWQyezjI

Peace Always

121. CameronB Brodie

Croompenstein
    True enough, I think you’d be struggling to find cannibalistic cultures today, at least ones connected to the modern world. Where as, you’re literally tripping over colonialists and the colonised in contemporary Britain.

@BBC
    Does your Charter’s duty to perform the role of pimp for British nationalism, trump your duty as public educator?

From One Colonial Situation to Another:
    Politics, Universalism and the Crisis of the African Intellectual

…Colonialism tried to control the memory of the colonized… Put another way, the colonizing presence sought to induce historical amnesia on the colonized by mutilating the memory of the colonized; and where that failed, it dismembered it, and then tried to re-member it to the colonizer’s memoryβ€”to his way of defining the world, including his take on the nature of the relations between colonizer and colonized …. This relation was primarily economic. The colonized as worker, as peasant, produces for another. His land and his labor benefit another. This arrangement was, of course, effected through power, political power, but it was also accomplished through cultural subjugationβ€”for instance, through control of the education system. The ultimate goal was to establish psychic dominance on the part of the colonizer and psychic subservience on the part of the colonized …. But cultural subjugation is more dangerous, because it is more subtle and its effects longer lasting.

http://www.jpanafrican.org/docs/vol9no4/JuneJuly-18-Flemming.pdf

A sociological dilemma: Race, segregation and US sociology
    http://journals.sagepub.com/doi/full/10.1177/0011392114524506

“Deliberately Using the Word Colonial in a Much Broader Sense”: W.E.B. Du Bois’s Concept of “Semi-Colonialism” As Critique of and Contribution to Postcolonialism
    https://english.chass.ncsu.edu/jouvert/v7i2/rabaka.htm

African American Studies and Postcolonialism
    https://scholarblogs.emory.edu/postcolonialstudies/2014/05/31/african-american-studies-and-postcolonialism/

BEYOND DOMESTIC EMPIRE
    INTERNAL- AND POST-COLONIAL NEW MEXICO

Introduction

In the 1960s internal colonialism became an important sociological theory advanced to explain the historical development of ethnic and racial inequality in the United States and the rest of the modern world. By the 1980s the theory had been dismissed as inadequate; nonetheless, its influence persisted even as more global,interdisciplinary,
    colonial theories evolved. In this essay we will outline the connections between internal colonialism and postcolonialism, two dimensions of an evolving colonial paradigm.

To test these theories against historical reality, we will apply them to ethnic Mexicans and Indians, especially Navajos, in New Mexico in order to ground them and colonialism in general at the regional level. This essay claims that internal colonialism continues effectively to explain the historic subordination of indigenous and mixed peoples within larger states dominated by other groups. This condition understood, the paper sees postcolonial theory as providing ideas to end internally colonized societies since the theory critiquesthe lingering negative effects of colonialism and envisions a world beyond it.

Ultimately, this essay argues that contrary to earlier dismissals, internal colonialism gains credibility in light of more recent developments in postcolonial thought and in context of the evolving colonial paradigm.1
    http://scholar.smu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1003&context=hum_sci_history_research

122. Smallaxe

S’Back up ther^

Heart: “Barracuda”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p0OX_8YvFxA

Peace Always

123. Smallaxe

I’ve Got A Mind To Give Up Living/ All Over Again
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IxgY9eEFiYM

Peace Always

124. Croompenstein

They ran through the briers and they ran through the brambles πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9CnPv_1SVh0

125. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Here’s one for you apropos of nothing in particular. It’s from 1970 and what attracted me to it was its title. I didn’t actually buy it until around 1973/74, when I was scouring the markets and second hand record shops. The title had stuck in my mind. It’s by the Roy Young Band.

https://app.box.com/s/djncmt3agxfvzck2vwyuu3m9d9l1euzw

I got the link through a web site I look at regularly, called “Left and to The Back (Digging for nuggets from the dusty old storerooms of pop).” You can read up on the above track at this link:-

http://left-and-to-the-back.blogspot.co.uk/2017/02/roy-young-band-grannys-got-painted-leg.html

126. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

I’ve no idea what your take on Galloway is, but I listened to his TalkSport show for ages and really liked some of what he did, especially when it came to defending the Palestinian cause.

But what a contradictory character – he regularly cited Churchill as one of his heroes. He described Scotland as ‘a dying nation’.

And then, for reasons known only to himself (post-Big Brother) he started wearing that fucking hat (always at a rakish angle), even in studio interviews, as though he’s trying to present himself as a latter-day Bill Hicks.

Galloway may have been a ‘radical’ in his time, but his time has passed. He’s no ‘Hicks’, and he isn’t ‘funny’. I’m not sure who he thinks he’s appealing to, but he can fuck right off if he thinks he has any foothold in an independent Scotland.

127. Smallaxe

Galloway post went Astray

Peace Always

128. Smallaxe

A story I can’t tell
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=44Am8u7GcG4

In Memory of David Bowie – “Comfortably Numb”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hODALOTiH6A

Queen & David Bowie – Under Pressure
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YoDh_gHDvkk

Peace Always

129. CameronB Brodie

Croompenstein
    I tried posting this earlier, as part of a longer post that hasn’t appeared. So here’s part one.

True enough, I think you’d be struggling to find cannibalistic cultures today, at least ones connected to the modern world. Where as, you’re literally tripping over colonialists and the colonised in contemporary Britain.

@BBC
    Does your Charter’s duty to perform the role of pimp for British nationalism, trump your duty as public educator?

From One Colonial Situation to Another:
    Politics, Universalism and the Crisis of the African Intellectual

…Colonialism tried to control the memory of the colonized… Put another way, the colonizing presence sought to induce historical amnesia on the colonized by mutilating the memory of the colonized; and where that failed, it dismembered it, and then tried to re-member it to the colonizer’s memoryβ€”to his way of defining the world, including his take on the nature of the relations between colonizer and colonized …. This relation was primarily economic. The colonized as worker, as peasant, produces for another. His land and his labor benefit another. This arrangement was, of course, effected through power, political power, but it was also accomplished through cultural subjugationβ€”for instance, through control of the education system. The ultimate goal was to establish psychic dominance on the part of the colonizer and psychic subservience on the part of the colonized …. But cultural subjugation is more dangerous, because it is more subtle and its effects longer lasting.

http://www.jpanafrican.org/docs/vol9no4/JuneJuly-18-Flemming.pdf

130. Smallaxe

CameronB:

Eat You Alive
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cb24kLd459Y

Peace Always

131. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    My wifi is total mince the now, so I’m not sure if I’ll be able to play.

BEYOND DOMESTIC EMPIRE
    INTERNAL- AND POST-COLONIAL NEW MEXICO

Introduction

In the 1960s internal colonialism became an important sociological theory advanced to explain the historical development of ethnic and racial inequality in the United States and the rest of the modern world. By the 1980s the theory had been dismissed as inadequate; nonetheless, its influence persisted even as more global,interdisciplinary,
    colonial theories evolved. In this essay we will outline the connections between internal colonialism and postcolonialism, two dimensions of an evolving colonial paradigm.

To test these theories against historical reality, we will apply them to ethnic Mexicans and Indians, especially Navajos, in New Mexico in order to ground them and colonialism in general at the regional level. This essay claims that internal colonialism continues effectively to explain the historic subordination of indigenous and mixed peoples within larger states dominated by other groups. This condition understood, the paper sees postcolonial theory as providing ideas to end internally colonized societies since the theory critiquesthe lingering negative effects of colonialism and envisions a world beyond it.

Ultimately, this essay argues that contrary to earlier dismissals, internal colonialism gains credibility in light of more recent developments in postcolonial thought and in context of the evolving colonial paradigm.1
    http://scholar.smu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1003&context=hum_sci_history_research

132. Smallaxe

Goodnight ALL

Peace Always to ALL

133. CameronB Brodie

Night, night Smallaxe.

134. Smallaxe

Good morning, everyone!

“Sun is Shining”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOoHTcuORcY
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

135. Chick McGregor

Mair psycho-teuchter

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5dsD75Gmxmc

136. Smallaxe

Chic, Good Morning and thank’s for the cheery song!
    πŸ™‚
    “We have a Dream”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1N95aeSLtA4

Peace Always

137. Chick McGregor

smallaxe

Good morning to you.

Hopefully the dream will finally become reality this time.

138. Nana

@Smallaxe

Re comment on main thread. I’m often lost and have been known to grt lodt even in the supermarket[stop laughing] Think there was a song about that.

Anyway my husband says I have zero sense of direction and for once I have to admit he’s correct. [Don’t tell him]

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pkgeai985rA

139. Smallaxe

Chic:

We will have to,
    “Just Do It” (Make Your Dreams Come True)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5-sfG8BV8wU

Peace Always my Friend

140. Nana

Sticky keys or fat fingers..

grt lodt!!!!!!!! insert get lost

141. Smallaxe

Nana:

Here it is!
    “Lost in the Supermarket” The Clash
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qsrEAWcAvRg

Peace Always xx

142. Nana

The old memory is not letting me down after all Smallaxe.

Now if only I could remember if I had breakfast already and where oh where did I put my glasses and ……………

143. Smallaxe

Nana:

I think that when you buy new glasses and are offered a second pair they should be for finding the first pair.

“My eyes are Dim”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x09fzAuNfYU
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

144. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Send me an email at thepnr03@gmail.com We need to talk, good stuff though.

145. Chick McGregor

More on the ‘buried’ history of ‘psycho-teuchter’.

The JSD band were one of the first exponents of what was later to be dubbed ‘Celtic-Rock’ and I was an avid, if in those days a somewhat esoteric, fan. Indeed they were in a roundabout way instrumental in my going to uni to study physics, but I digress.

However, here is one from that very year:

Soz. no vid. in those days (1972).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g0aGETPu_kc&list=PLYAWTIbhM38iDjGkqf7Rizn0pBoTcbORp&index=2

146. Smallaxe

C’Mon, you lazy princesses Rise and make certain that your bed blocks are squared and presentable for your old Staff to inspect.
    Mummy’s not here to pander to your needs.Stand by your beds!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FT8FAm3TQ-M

Troop, Stand easy!

Peace Always

147. Smallaxe

Nana:

I’m going to ask Santa for one of those bikes
    πŸ™‚

“My White bicycle” Nazareth
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jEpD9RH-Wds

Peace Always

148. Nana

@Smallaxe

I’ve written my wish list Smallaxe and that converter has been added. I wouldn’t mind a new studio either so might put the 3d printed hoose on as well. Not sure about the robot though unless it can do the ironing!N

149. Smallaxe

Nana:

You would expect it to iron, wouldn’t you?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-SfT3QVTY9Y

Peace Always

150. Smallaxe

I’ll play your favourite song!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lfq4UzEhnO8

Peace Always

151. Smallaxe

Listen to this in the context and spirit of Scotland.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ibl2zcq4G4I

Peace Always

152. Smallaxe

This man explains what the British Government are and have been for centuries!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W9mvTNh-plY
    Seen?

Peace Always

153. K1

Kinda ‘sitting back’ Smallaxe…got scunnered wi the negative nasty wings infighting last week and a week can feel like a month in ‘wings years’ when ye huvnae posted for a wee while. Also not sure what to do wi masel’ in terms of any reasonable response to the shower of shit that came our way over the last week, ranting on Wings wasn’t going to help what with everybody else ranting about the same shit. So mostly just a comment or two of understanding why we were upset but needing to chill and not snipe at each other, then of course got sniped at for that…by regular poster.

Put me aff to be honest. I don’t post on Wings to be insulted by those whose side I am on. Quite sick of the Rock shit too. It’s constant, had the handpicked argument wi him/her a week or so ago just to establish for myself what the issue is, which amounts to a Peffers obsession and an unrelenting agenda of grievance against those on Wings it deems are out to get him. Couldn’t or wouldn’t repsond to any of the substantive points I raised in discussion eventually reverting to ‘daring’ me to challenge Robert…fucking pathetic childish grievance hunter.

Then he’s repeatedly since copied and pasted and continued the exact same behaviour over and over wi those posters he picks on…he’s the one man gang attacking regulars on here and he’s got free reign to do so.

So all in this past week or so has just solidified a feeling of ‘fuck this’, my attention is rapidly disconnecting from Wings and for the first time in over three years I haven’t been reading all the comments or following as closely as usual. I’m not part of any crowd on Wings, I don’t fit into any faction as much as others may disagree that these factions even exist, they do. And when that infighting starts up it’s very clear where the lines are drawn. I don’t like it, but it’s human.

The trouble with it is that it spills out into the main threads and ruins it for those not part of that historical baggage. And it happens more frequently than is really acknowledged, in such a way that it reveals it has never been addressed and ‘put to bed’ once and for all. It is off puting.

No matter how often regulars state this, no matter how many times regulars say don’t feed it, no matter how many of those same posters then feed it, and round and round it goes.

Expect more of the same.

Apologies for the extensive reply Smallaxe, from your friendly enquiry into ma absence of late, on the current MT, very kind of you to notice though:-) Decided to go with honest answer rather than a superficial quip. On that note…this is ma ‘note’ πŸ™‚

(I do listen to your music on O/T, how could a no? Brilliant taste ma man!)

Please don’t feel you have to address anything I’ve said Smallaxe, think it just helped to articulate where I’m at right now.

Think when the indyref2 gun is fired Wings will return to the lean machine of debate/strategy/shared info and a gathering base camp for the troops and a lot of the pent up frustration will have the more worthy aim at our real enemies directed accordingly. πŸ˜‰

154. Smallaxe

K1:

I had an idea that something wasn’t right, I did notice the absence of your usually frequent posts and when I saw you back today I could not help but ask. I know exactly how you are feeling, I come across here to O/T when the M/T goes tits up and amuse myself, as you know by playing some tracks for myself and anyone else who cares to listen.

The reason that I mentioned that I could have been doing with your assistance last night (if you don’t already know)was that I was picked out of a few of us who were thinking up a new name for Mundell, I had only put in one suggestion when I was singled out by none other than Hamish (Whitehouse) I thought that you might have enjoyed the exchange of pleasantries on the subject. πŸ™‚

HAMMY never came back on until 7:52am this morning probably thinking that I was sleeping by that time, I wasn’t! and came back on at 8:15am H. hasn’t been back yet as far as I know.

If your interested the fun started at 10:17 with Hs. insult to me.I replied at 10:54pm,11:49pm and 12:35am even although he hadn’t showed face again, I was sure that he would still be lurking, probably even now. Hi Arsehole!

Anyway my Friend stay around you are a genuine asset to WOS and it’s good to know that you are still around and watching occasionally. I hope that we can meet at some point in the near future, until then look after yourself and try making a comeback soon.

Peace, Love and fraternal thoughts sent your way, Always
    Billy
    Sorry for the delay in answering but I was out for a while.

155. Smallaxe

Brothers in Arms
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jhdFe3evXpk

Peace Always my Friend

156. Smallaxe

Climbing Drainpipes: A private joke for someone watching, of no interest to anyone else.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=STGG20yXMlo
    Told you!

Peace Always
    πŸ™‚

157. Michael McCabe

Meant to play this Earlier http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uTgD-QveQrU

158. Smallaxe

“Walk on by” Isaac Hayes:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iqR4CZj0mJQ

Peace Always

159. Smallaxe

Hi Michael:
    πŸ™‚

Isaac Hayes: “Do your thing”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G_RhJuh7VWs

Peace Always

160. K1

Hehe…them wur the days when we could actually do that Billy…ah dae miss ma younger self, the bruises and cuts were worth the experience. (Awa’ tae check oot himsel’s patter on the viceroy’s handle…flundlymundly would be ma offering ;-). )

161. Smallaxe

Yes: “And You And I”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-rdL2KkvzY

Peace Always

162. Smallaxe

“Us and Them”Floyd:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s_Yayz5o-l0

Peace Always

163. Smallaxe

K1:

I still could if necessary. πŸ™‚

Alice Cooper: “Poison”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qq4j1LtCdww

Peace Always

164. Smallaxe

Billy Idol: “Rebel Yell”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VdphvuyaV_I

The Clash: “Rock the Casbah” done it πŸ™‚
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bJ9r8LMU9bQ

“Our House” Madness
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KwIe_sjKeAY

Peace Always

165. K1

Aye Smallaxe he is the whitehouse of Wings richt enough…humourless Hamish whines again…

I’d bypassed comments and gone tae links, on that note….

The link to don’t join the army needs to be seen far and wide too…the last video with Ben Griffin is worth a watch so I’ll transfer to here for those who may have missed Nana’s earlier links on the last before current MT:

http://dontjointhearmy.co.uk/

(Currently reading Howard Zinn’s A People’s History of the United State. Amazon uk have kindle version for just over 3 quid odds. The methodology Mr Griffin describes as the ‘military ethos’ has been in place for hundreds of years. The demonising, dehumanising and othering of peoples to justify slaughtering them for profit is an old game. They are no less applying these same warfare tactic psychologically to our cause than they have done for generations. Highly recommend this wee gem…and by ‘wee’ I mean tome πŸ˜‰ )

166. Smallaxe

Madness: “House of Fun”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJ2X9SANsME

Madness: “It Must be Love”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vmezIIrFQmY

Madness: “One Step Beyond”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SOJSM46nWwo

Peace Always

167. Smallaxe

“London Calling” The Clash”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfK-WX2pa8c

Talking Heads: “Psycho Killer”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O52jAYa4Pm8

Talking Heads: “Road to Nowhere”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AWtCittJyr0

Peace Always

168. Nana

@K1

Thanks for bringing the ‘don’t join the army’ link here. I planned to post again tomorrow morning in case anyone missed it. When I posted it today I forgot to put a wee explanation above the link to scroll down for Ben Griffin’s video. It’s a good link to share widely.

PS I noticed you were not commenting, thought perhaps you needed a break as we all do from time to time. Good to see you back.

169. Smallaxe

K1:

Agree, the army link is a beauty I am going to move it down if it gets too far up this thread. I’m reading “Bare Feet and Tackety Boots” Fred recommended it, only just started. I will get “A People’s History of the United State” and let you know what I think.

Alex Harvey: “NEXT”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpl_8N6647M

Peace Always

170. Michael McCabe

On the road again (alternate Version) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mgBHRYtt-Y4

171. K1

Just a wee off topic update regarding discussions we were all having about the NHS in Scotland not being sufficiently differentiated from English NHS thereby creating conflation whether by design or lazy journalism on the part of msm reporting on our health service.

I’d written to Patrick Grady on this subject back in January specificallly asking about ‘rebranding’ our NHS and had received a reply saying he was passing on my concerns to Shona. Well I’ve just received a further reply from Patrick with the attached response from our health minister:

‘I would be grateful if you could communicate to your constituent that, at the time of its creation. NHSScotland was given its own distinct identity and brand which differentiated it from the NHS in the rest of the UK. The name reflected the National Health Service (Scotland) Act leading to the name ‘NHSScotland’. This allowed us to achieve that differentiation and to communicate the distinct, devolved nature of the healthcare system in Scotland.

The NHSScotland brand replaced a number of pre existing identities within NHS organisations in Scotland and has become a well trusted brand, representing the wide range of services provided by NHS boards in Scotland.’

So 2 things, firstly our correspondence is responded to and it is certainly worth writing to our representatives regarding any matters we have a steak in. Secondly that’s the actual brand name that, to my mind should now be used in all our conversations including correcting any journalist on twitter or social media when the subject of NHSScotland arises….this to be hammered home.

I actually did not know that our health service was named NHSScotland as a ‘brand’ and kinda thought we were just adding Scotland for our own distinction, now that I do know I’ll be referring to it exactly as Shona has referred to it as one long word: NHSScotland.

172. K1

Och we’re aw thinking along same lines regarding Ben Griffin, inspirational and it is people like him that will open the eyes of many younger people to the enslaving of minds and indoctrination into the real aims of the ”military ethos’. More history…real history…less war.

Nana, Smallaxe πŸ˜‰

173. K1

A People’s History of the United States. I missed out the s at the end of state…like to be accurate πŸ˜‰

174. Smallaxe

K1:

Great Minds Think Alike, I sent that info down to my daughter in Wales a little while ago, I am sure that it was Ian Brotherhood who posted a very concise view of how the NHSScotland, to use your excellent name works as opposed to E. W.AND NI.

One thing that is slightly worrying, Northern Ireland has no high-security psychiatric hospitals and thus depends on using hospitals in Great Britain, routinely Carstairs State Mental Hospital in Scotland for male patients and my younger brother owns a house about a quarter of a mile down the road, although he lives in Covent Garden, here’s hoping he doesn’t get a few escapees squatting.

Nana: Are you reading my mail? because if you want I’ll send you all my bills to pay. Hold that thought, you could start charging me for my Precioussss Linkyssss, we’ll call it quits then aye?:-)

Speak soon.

175. Smallaxe

K1:

I thought the lack of an S was deliberate to differentiate from the USA but no matter it sounds interesting.

Actually, I thought that I might have got it cheaper without the $
    #miser πŸ™‚

Peace Always

176. Smallaxe

It cannae be is it?

Hamish:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pUkqD7iGk-Y

Peace Always

177. Nana

@Smallaxe

I would Billy if I had

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LV8N5JP29q0

178. Smallaxe

Roberta Flack: singin’ a wee song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u14bimquEx0

Vanessa Paradis: “Mi Amor”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fs5sxTIyn0s

Brigitte: Singin’ in Foreign wurds
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lbLMABnJ7Vc

Peace Always

179. Smallaxe

Nana:

It’s obvious that you’ve got a few bob, I knew…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sxTrVsKOVFg

Peace Always

I told the wife that a was short of cash and she said, “Don’t try and kid me, you’re cheque book’s got plenty of cheques in it”. πŸ™

180. Tinto Chiel

“Think when the indyref2 gun is fired Wings will return to the lean machine of debate/strategy/shared info and a gathering base camp for the troops and a lot of the pent up frustration will have the more worthy aim at our real enemies directed accordingly.”

You are not alone, K1, in feeling recent frustration regarding the environment on the MT. Other “old stagers” have also vented on the subject and I know who they are. To some extent this is Phoney War Syndrome: a lot of frustration is being expressed in carnaptious behaviour. And then there are the usual trolls who always seem to get a reaction from the unwary.

Your final paragraph, which I have quoted, is true, although I’m hoping a lot of Wingers will be out there in the lead up to the May elections, rather than waiting for Indyref2. It’s probably healthier and more productive than getting pissed off on the MT from time to time.

I’ve always enjoyed your contributions, like your haymaking attacks on some of our trolls and your witty interventions, like when you spotted my control chip installed by the First Minister to activate my vile cybernattery.

As Nana said, a wee break can help to restore the old mojo.

And Smallaxe’s Perpetual Soundtrack to Freedom, of course.

πŸ˜‰

181. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Sheer class! I would expect no less from you Michael.

182. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: I always knew you were a dab hand at animal husbandry.

They can’t touch you for it!

Oh, actually, they can…..

I’ll get you Beltrami, #MankyMate.

183. Brian Doonthetoon

Well, that’s twice in the last three or four days I’ve submitted posts in off-topic which have never appeared, even although I got the “duplicate comment detected” message.

Thus, tonight, I give up. WordPress wins.

184. K1

Yes Tinto quite so re council elections first if indeed Nicola doesn’t trigger at the conference afore the elections? Christ that would be full on!

Thanks for your kind words re contribution on Wings…think ma chip has been in danger of dropping the p substituted for a b at times…can barely talk fur biting ma tongue on numerous occasions. So stepping back’s necessary at those times πŸ˜‰

185. Smallaxe

The Who: My Generation
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=594WLzzb3JI

Substitute
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eswQl-hcvU0

I’m a Boy (MY name is BILL and I’M a Headcase)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h4_eSW6D6sc

Peace Always

186. Tinto Chiel

K1: I’ve bitten my tongue so often recently I have camped out here to listen to Smallaxe’s selections and to calm down in the presence of other sages.

We only need verbal chibs, and plenty on Wings can deliver them: we all take turns. I valued your support when I had a bit of a set-to with another contributor about 18 months ago. All silly stuff since we were both on the same side, really, but it had a bad effect on me for a few weeks.

BDTT: impossible for you not to keep posting. These glitches happen for no apparent reason. You are an elder statesman without the elder bit.

Invoke your knowledge of physics to smash through the Unionist Matrix, man.

πŸ˜‰

187. Smallaxe

BDTT:

Same here Brian, I’ve lost at least two posts today, nothing important just music but I have been careful to make sure that it’s not my mistake. Something is wrong something stinks.

Peace Always

188. K1

People forget it’s ‘real people they are talking to Tinto…I’m all for tackling the usual suspects, though having had it out wi sensible Dave a month or so ago when as Thnpr put it ‘he was handed his baws ‘ or sentiments to that affect, I no longer feel any inclination to even acknowledge his presence when he does show up now.

But when it’s someone from our own movement having a go like the incident wi Lochside a couple of weeks back, like you I felt quite taken aback by the naked aggression and the ‘left field’ it came from…he’s never apologised for that insulting smearing. When something like that occurs, because of its rareness it’s a bit ‘shocking’ tae the system. So I can relate to your ‘bad effect’ and it’s ‘lasting’ quality.

Leaves a bad taste in yer mooth…add that tae the whole tongue biting malarky and ye can be put aff from saying anything…maybe that’s ‘their’ aim…haven’t quite figured ‘that’ part out yet. Don’t recall your set to…glad I didn’t bite ma tongue if what needed saying was said at that time. πŸ˜‰

189. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ll try one more post tonight.

Smallaxe – you mentioned that you always read the posts from the bottom up. Why do it backwards?

I have ‘off-topic’ in its own tab in Firefox. When I decide to catch up, the tab is still sitting at the last post I read. (This is the same for all the active Wings’ tabs on my Mac.)

All I have to do is reload that tab and it reloads to the same location (post) I was at but all the new posts are below the post I have already read. I just have to scroll down, reading the new posts, until I get to the end of the page. I may then submit a comment; I may not.

I’m guessing the way you read the page backwards could be why you missed a couple of posts aimed at you the other night.

I did a post, that I thought you would comment on, because the link wasn’t YouTube, then, right after mine, Ian Brotherhood addressed a post to you. You appeared to miss both but then, you were on a roll that night. I think you posted around 30 YouTube links!

Here’s the link for mine – Ian Brotherhood’s is right after it.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-50/#comment-2238648

190. Brian Doonthetoon

OK – gonna try posting my comment that didn’t appear at the back of 8. Methinks, my last post tonight coz my Bolognese beckons.

———————————————————

(Started typing this post at around 7.50pm.)

I have “Watching Ourselves: 60 Years of TV in Scotland” on just now on BBC1.

The reason for this post is a segment within the programme featuring the investigative journalist Duncan Campbell. His name jumped out at me. It was he (I’m 99.9% sure) who did a series in “The Dundee Standard” at the end of the 70s.

What he exposed in The Standard became the basis for a series he did in the 80s, called “Secret Society”.

I had occasion to look into this again during the indyref campaign. I did a post at the “dundee3js.freeforums.org” forum, in the “Scottish Independence” topic, timed at Sun Mar 16, 2014 11:45 am.

You can see the post I did at this link:-

http://dundee3js.freeforums.org/post5534.html#p5534

Here’s a quote from it (the “subbrit.org.uk” link in it works at dundee3js – not here):-
    “While was Googling on Friday, I came across an interesting publication entitled “Fortress Scotland”, published by Scottish CND in 2004.
    Here’s what it says about Craigowl. (Also Craigiebarns, because it is the next one.)

β€’45. Craigowl Hill, Dundee. (NO 377 400) The British Telecom microwave relay station on top of Craigowl Hill provided intelligence-gathering facilities for the US National Security Agency from 1963 onwards and may still do.
    The activities of the NSA at Craigowl were secret until 1980 and despite a public outcry were not denied. Craigowl was linked to the NSA’s electronic monitoring station at Menwith Hill in Yorkshire.

β€’46. Craigiebarns, Dundee. (NO 439 314) Headquarters of the Caledonian Sector of the UKWMO, controlling both 28 Group ROC and the five ROC groups in Scotland. In the event of a nuclear attack, Craigibarns House was to collect
    information on blast and fall-out levels throughout Scotland. It was closed in 1992, and further information about the site is available on the subbrit.org.uk website.

I believe the “public outcry” in 1980 was as a result of the Dundee Standard feature. I recall from that feature that the microwave link started in the north east of Scotland somewhere, then included RAF Edzell, then Craigowl. Here’s what the PDF says about Edzell.”

The discussion taking place had started out with the graphic showing what would happen if there was a nuclear strike on Faslane. You can scroll back through the posts if you’re interested. It also featured the Balado “golfball”.

The programme is worth watching to see what TV in Scotland was capable of, “back in the day”, in the field of investigative journalism.

Noo, the sub plot of this post. On my Mac at work tomorrow, I’ll download this first episode of “Watching Ourselves: 60 Years of TV in Scotland”, using an app called “Get iPlayer Automator”. This lets me download and save for as long as I want. As the files are mp4’s, i can then edit clips for upload to YouTube and so on.
    If you don’t want to watch on iPlayer (like me), this app is the way to go. As far as I know, it’s only available for Macs and can be downloaded from this link, which tells you more.

http://tom-tech.com/iplayer_automator/iPlayer_Automator/Get_iPlayer_Automator.html

191. Brian Doonthetoon

What I did was remove the h-t-t-p//w-w-w from the “subbrit.org.uk” quote in the post. WordPress can be picky…

192. Tinto Chiel

“Maybe that’s β€˜their’ aim…haven’t quite figured β€˜that’ part out yet.”

I have quite a good memory for “impressions” of posters, K1, and there are a few whom I sometimes think are “deep sleepers” or whatever. They sometimes seem supportive and then they become the “Not left Enough/ Not Nationalist enough” thrawn-types.

That seems silly and over-dramatic, perhaps, but there will always be splitters (it’s been used for decades to fragment the Righteous Left by MI5, after all) and we are now approaching end-game and so things will come to the boil sooner than later.

Wings needs the Good Guys to plough on.

193. Smallaxe

BDTT:

BRIAN ARE YOU LOOKING IN AT THE MOMENT?

194. Brian Doonthetoon

Just about to stick my fork into my Bolognese…

195. Smallaxe

Brian look back at that page that you linked to. I did miss your post @ 10:14pm.Sorry.

But I did see and answer Ian, scroll down to me @ 10;43 and see where I lost a post to Ian.Then scroll down to 11;10pm and you will see that I left 2 links for him.

Peace Always

196. Michael McCabe

Stronger than Me http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBBG6fSlcq8

197. Smallaxe

Michael, you must be a mind reader, that little track that you played came at the right time to alter my mood. Thank you, my Friend.

Peace Always

198. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

For some reason, at the time, I thought you were replying to an earlier IanB post. This delay in comments appearing after you click submit really does my head in.

While others were reporting the problem, way back when, I had no problem; posts appeared immediately after clicking on the submit button.

Then I upgraded from Firefox 35 to 39 and have had the delay scenario ever since. I’ve tried various work-a-rounds – deleting cookies for WOS before I click submit, refreshing the page before I submit; there’s no definitive answer, as far as I can see. It seems to be down to the WordPress software on WOS. Wings is the only place I post where I see this delay. Other WordPress blogs don’t seem to have the same problem.

Onnyhoo, I’ve finished my Bolognese and it was bra’. I will now turn in as I must earn a crust tomorrow. Catchya anon…

199. Smallaxe

Goodnight Brian,

Peace Always

200. Michael McCabe

Hoping you might like this one Smallaxe ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JnI6pxuG-90

201. Smallaxe

Dis is cool mon I am feeling nuff betta now Michael mi Bredda Thenk yuh.

Peace Always…Seen?

202. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe if you type Reggaesta into you tube it will come up with a lot of the stuff he does. there are a few covers. catch you later my Friend.

203. Smallaxe

Thanks, Michael I will do that, goodnight my friend.

Peace Always

204. Michael McCabe

I always feel light headed after a Dance. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TCSzL5-SPHM

205. yesindyref2

@Tinto Chiel
    Re deep sleepers. There’s two ways of treating people in the intelligence world. First is to trust everybody “on your side” until you have reason to mistrust them. Second is to mistrust everybody until you have reason to trust them, which basically is never.

Option 2 is safer and much more fun πŸ™‚

206. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe I bid you goodnight and I leave you this to listen to after your Coffee and Nana’s Daily Links. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XfzpYcwiUrA

207. Tinto Chiel

Got that, Yesindyref2, I think.

But that means…

But…

Oh, I see.

I would link to “Green Shirt” by Elvis C but I’ve done it twice already on here.

208. Scott

This is worth a read and my question is who are the companies and how many Tories have connections with them how do we find out.

https://on.rt.com/84×1

209. Nana

@Smallaxe

Your absence from kettle duties this morning is duly noted. I hope you are not overdoing the late nights DJ’ing with Michael. You pair sure do pick some awfully good tunes.

Take care Billy xx

210. Liz g

Nana 9.22
    Yip I noticed as well, on a school night too,tsk!

Smallaxe stay well my friend X.

211. yesindyref2

@Tinto Chiel
    I’d forgotten I’d posted that!

It doesn’t mean we don’t trust people, just that we’re always alert for instance for such as this off-key posting . So I guess all we have to do is look out for the posting itself, not the poster. In fact as the about says – play the posting not the poster or something like that. There’s a good few wingers I would trust by the way.

Hehe (once again): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RxOBOhRECoo

212. Tinto Chiel

@Yesindyref2: this is reminding me of a Radio Times laxative advert from when I was wee that used to appear with a picture of a rather apprehensive man staring into the middle distance.

Above his head was the caption:

REGULAR BUT CONSTIPATED?

I didn’t really get that either…..

πŸ˜›

213. Smallaxe

Nana and liz g:

No cause to worry, my dear Friends I was hit hard and suddenly by a bout of fatigue. The clown from the other night who said that I was using Peace Always as a deflection technique stressed me more than I at first realised.

Anyone who finds Peace, Love and Harmony offensive worries me, do they prefer the alternative? I must be getting thin skinned in my old age but I’d rather have debated the point with the person face to face, instead, they insult my integrity and love of my Nation and Her people along with it’s right to self-determination then sign off and I am left with a head full of unnecessary useless anger as if some Coward had harmed one of my family and ran away leaving me with no means to retaliate.

I am now back to normal, I’m sorry that I missed your links this morning Nana but I’ll soon catch up, as always ladies I thank you for your kindness, now and in the past, it is much appreciated and valued by me.

In my usual way, I dedicate this to both of you ladies in particular and all of my other friends on WoS also.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VGI6VZ8osww&ab_channel=TylerFarrVEVO

Peace Always

In I n’I’s Rastafarian persona, I n’I lef dis to di craven coward!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lcCJrCliPX0&ab_channel=WestIndiesFinest

214. Nana

@Smallaxe

Just glad to know you are ok albeit fatigued, I know what that can do to a body. There will always be those who seek to undermine and divide us. Bawbags the lot of em!

Take it easy this evening now, I’m watching xx

215. K1

It’s cause we’re open Billy…open hearted and when mean spirited fuckers insinuate and smear we’re taken aback cause we simply don’t think in those terms that they utilise…there’s an old term we used to use for people like that ‘head fuckers’…their projections mostly jealousy based show them up time and again. Fuck ’em they’re insensitive jibes reveal more about them than those they aim them at. πŸ˜‰ (aye and they’re noted for cowardice and running away when ye call them out on it tae)

216. Smallaxe

Have Another “clown!”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=toHlMD50eYY&ab_channel=ScottGordon

WAR ALWAYS (is that more suitable for your mentality?)

217. Tinto Chiel

Dinna fash, Smallaxe.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xEkIou3WFnM

And your senna, avocado and piccalilli pieces are very moving too…..

218. Smallaxe

Nana:

Thank you, I’ll remember that you said this,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ocH-aauM_wU&ab_channel=STIMOBEAT

Peace Always

219. yesindyref2

Something running through my head about harmony, maybe perfect harmony, very very mellow, but it’s not the one by within temptation, think I sent it to my son so looking though the emails and meanwhile think I got this here, nevermind, waffle waffle

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w8KQmps-Sog

220. Smallaxe

K1:

Thank’s my Friend, you put it exactly as I thought it, only you put it more calmly as I would have done a few hours ago. There are one or two people on WoS who know what I have done in the past for numerous causes, not least for our country, It will come out eventually as a friend wants to write a book about my life as an activist from the 60s onwards.

If I’m not around when it comes out, make sure a copy is sent to you know who.

Peace Always
    Your friend and Brother Billy

221. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

Back at cha’, same band, different song,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TPE9uSFFxrI&ab_channel=Muse

Peace Always

222. Smallaxe

For All:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F4sNi2PUiWM&ab_channel=Rutaba210%21

One Love, One People, One Inclusive Kingdom Nation
    In Peace Always

223. Tinto Chiel

You’re on form again with your selections, Smallaxe.

That Spencer Davis vid is very nostalgic. It was one of my faves when I was a nipper.

(Spencer is still a Plaid Cymru member, I think.)

Rock on, Smallaxe.

MankyMate3.

224. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Thanks, for last night’s music, as they say, nail/head spot on!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6y7YOlldek&ab_channel=Rhett%26Link

Peace Always my Friend.

225. K1

You’d better be around! Ah waant ma signed copy! πŸ˜‰

226. K1

For you Billy…hope it works from iPad

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D9WFRwmhUMQ

227. CameronB Brodie

BDTT
    If you are looking in, I went to primary school at Craigiebarns, with a guy who’s dad lived and worked in the facility, which was located 100m(?) from one of the school gates. I was too young to understand it’s significance but spent a bit of time knocking about in the grounds.

228. Smallaxe

K1:

LOOK BACK I WILL POST SOON.
    πŸ™‚
    Peace Always

229. Smallaxe

K1:

I got your link ok, I had never heard that song before now, it is beautifully simple or to put it simply it’s simply beautiful. Thank you, for choosing it, I listened twice.

A part of the lyrics struck me “Some Lust for Power like the Ancient Kings”

My greatest hope is that people, not ordinary people like we are but Extraordinary people like all of us who share this Earth are.

Ancient and modern king, queen, prince, or even politician, any person who carries such a title, has in many countries the power to destroy lives, this power is the power supposedly held only by the gods, gods that some of the extraordinary people as is their right, worship.

Also, it is their right to want a democratically elected head of state and to have that person hold the power of the Extraordinary
    people, to use in an Honest and Decent manner, to show the public face of the electorate to the rest of the world and bring happiness, protection and prosperity to the people that they represent. This of which I write, I know will be looked upon by some as some kind of hippy tree-hugging “Utopia”.

I truly believe that if everyone would understand the simple fact that power can not exist without consent of the people, then we still won’t have “Utopia”, but, we will have a better Nation, and inevitably, eventually a better world where war will be looked upon as the obscenity that it is and always has been.

Is a world at peace too much to ask?

Peace Always
    Smallaxe

230. Smallaxe

K1:

Sorry, for the delay, the words came easily I just could not, for the life of me, remember my name to post it.
    πŸ™‚

For you and all of us extraordinary People, I play this, once again.

Peace and Love to All

231. Smallaxe

HUNT THE LINK! Huge reward offered for the return of my one, my only, working Brain Cell.
    πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q_u2OK_IKw0&ab_channel=Soundcheck24

Ah’ dun that oan purpose so a did.
    Aye a did!
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

232. Smallaxe

Yusuf Islam: “Where do the children play”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PiiZrZTrOFY&ab_channel=terminal2020

Yusuf Islam: “The End”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fy_mytEQB-Q&ab_channel=aky3

Yusuf Islam: “Don’t Let me be Misunderstood
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yOJmBI-ZgN4&ab_channel=sidneitsouza

Peace Always

233. yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
    Didn’t realise you were under pressure in that thread, thought you were OK with it. To be honest it was mostly above me, couldn’t work out WTF was going on! I did read it a couple of times and gave up with just a platitude at the time. But you can have big boulders causing trouble, or tiny grains of sand getting into cuts, sores, the eyes and ears, and right up your nose. I think that’s the modus operandi of the donkey.

234. yesindyref2

Yeah and
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K_81RWgjoGM

followed by
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EAIGXetlqFU

and the one where I’d cut my parents big gramaphone thing up and used the two speakers for my first stereo with an Amstrad IC 2000, and sat there halfway between the two turning my eyes from side to side whoopeeeee!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ag4NhsfemvE

235. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

You are right, I wasn’t under pressure at the time but this is the second time that the same person has had a personal go at me for the same thing and the more I thought about it later the more it affected me. I don’t take things like that well when I can have no recourse or go jogging or something to run it off.

Anyway, I’m fine now, but I won’t forget it, although I will ignore it and put it to the back of my mind.Finished!
    πŸ™‚

Here’s a wee tune that my Grandfather suggested, for you.Enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WJ1AX9eq3EQ&ab_channel=glenzboyz

Peace Always my Friend

236. yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
    It’s been a niggly week, nearly 2 weeks, started by that Khan at the sick Labour conference, but ably backed up by Heuchan. A couple of innocents too caught up in their own cause latch on to it, and there you go. Topped off by laughing at AH being betrayed, serves her right, and then feeling guilty. But also against a backdrop of so few people – unionists – coming forward and saying “this isn’t right, the nationalists I know aren’t racist”. Disgusting so it was, and that’s faith in one’s fellow human, poster, to be a decent human being, rotted away. They’re happy to sit back and take advantage of it, hope it sticks, for their own beliefs. Fucking craven lying bastards.

237. K1

‘Is a world at peace too much to ask?’

Naw Billy…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mE9rkOZetCw

238. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

I agree, but this crap in all different flavours has gone on for centuries and it won’t get any better until we are out of the union. I’m keeping my focus on Independence and any and every way to achieve it peacefully, I am a bit pessimistic about achieving it without people getting injured or killed if it takes to long.

We want what is rightfully ours nothing more than to run our own country, others see it differently and although I’m sure that we won’t have a NI type of situation I still think that there will be trouble of some description the longer this goes on.
    Albannach
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lVd_0-SXGBs&ab_channel=glenzboyz

Peace Always

239. Smallaxe

This is a thing I’m involved with, I’m not recruiting, just playing the music. FLOYD ENJOYED!Thanks

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fgWFxFg7-GU&ab_channel=PlayingForChange

As we made our way around the world we encountered love, hate, rich and poor, black and white, and many different religious groups and ideologies. It became very clear that as a human race we need to transcend from the darkness to the light and music is our weapon of the future. This song around the world features musicians who have seen and overcome conflict and hatred with love and perseverance. We don’t need more trouble, what we need is love. The spirit of Bob Marley always lives on.

Peace Always

To learn more about the work of the PFC Foundation, visit http://www.playingforchange.org

240. yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
    Ach, I got it off my chest, now I’m back to a big smiley face πŸ™‚

♬ is indeed the force of change, and YES had music, smiles, laughter and happiness. Hope. People want to join in. What did NO have? Anger, bitterness, smears and lies. Fear.

Same again please 😎

241. Smallaxe

PfC: WATCH! Song Around the World
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ddLd0QRf7Vg&ab_channel=PlayingForChange

PfC. “Honky Tonk Woman” Live like you’ve never heard it!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4cRVRCW0YHc&ab_channel=PlayingForChange

PfC: “Down by the Riverside” Song Around the world
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nQ1gHm8v3ek&ab_channel=PlayingForChange

Peace Always

242. Smallaxe

Always the Children
    Always the
    Children
    Always
    WHY DO THE CHILDREN
    HAVE TO DIE
    IN A RICH MANS
    WAR
    I DON’T KNOW WHY
    WHY DO THE CHILDREN
    HAVE TO DIE
    I DON’T KNOW PLEASE
    CAN YOU TELL ME WHY
    WHY IS THE SKY
    SO FULL
    OF LEAD
    WHY DO THE CHILDREN
    LIE COLD AND
    DEAD
    WHAT DO THE RICH MEN
    HAVE IN THEIR HEAD
    IS IT WORTH THE MONEY
    WHEN THE CHILDREN
    ARE DEAD
    WHY DO THE CHILDREN
    WHO HAVE
    HARDLY LIVED
    NOW LIE UNDER A
    COFFIN LID
    ONLY ONE REASON
    CAN MAKE IT SO
    THE RICH MEN
    HAVE TO LIVE
    YOU KNOW
    WHY DO THE CHILDREN
    HAVE TO DIE
    I THINK WE ARE
    SHAMED AS OUR TEARS
    WE CRY
    WHY DO THE CHILDREN
    HAVE TO DIE
    WE ALL KNOW THE REASON
    WHY
    THEY LIE UNDER A DEATH
    THAT COMES OUT
    OF THE SKY
    AND WE DON’T
    STOP IT WE
    WE COULD
    IF WE TRY
    WHY THE CHILDREN
    HAVE TO DIE
    IS BECAUSE OF
    THE FAILURE
    OF YOU
    AND
    OF I
    ——————
    SMALLAXE

243. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie at 9:18 pm.

You typed,
    “I went to primary school at Craigiebarns, with a guy who’s dad lived and worked in the facility, which was located 100m(?) from one of the school gates. I was too young to understand it’s significance but spent a bit of time knocking about in the grounds.”

Here’s some further info for you:-

http://www.secretscotland.org.uk/index.php/Secrets/ROCGroupHQ-Dundee

https://canmore.org.uk/site/126673/dundee-craigiebarn-road-craigiebarn-roc-royal-observer-corps

Check out the comment, from “Sid Pask”, right at the bottom of that second link.

Did you have a read of the “Fortress Scotland” document that I mentioned at the link in my post at 10.32pm on 6th March? Makes you think…

Here’s where you can download it:-

http://dundee3js.freeforums.org/post5534.html#p5534

244. Brian Doonthetoon

If that dundee3js link doesn’t have the start of the post sitting in your browser window, it’s the post dated “Sun Mar 16, 2014 11:45 am”. The dates/times are at the top right of the posts.

245. Michael McCabe

As it is International Woman’s Day it gives me an excuse to play all my favourites. India arie-Video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mq86e4Fhja0 Good Lyrics

246. Smallaxe

2nd Try) Michael McCabe:

Play those favourites, Michael, Please!

“Woman” John Lennon:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_O8s2kg8ufc&ab_channel=trampoliere82

Peace Always

247. Michael McCabe

Rachael Yamagata-The Reason Why http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuQvja_t1FY

248. Michael McCabe

Portishead-Glory Box (Live) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3LK5ELvZwI

249. Michael McCabe

Aretha Franklin-Respect http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FOUqQt3Kg0

250. Michael McCabe

Donna Summer-State of Independence http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8NEE-OHGThw

251. Michael McCabe

Annie Lennox-Why http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HG7I4oniOyA

252. Smallaxe

Great choices, Michael,

Lesley Gore: “You Don’t Own Me”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4QEqLTbEXy0&ab_channel=ClassicPerformances2

Peace Always

253. Michael McCabe

Sade- Why Can’t we live Together http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=clbqKFM5oQY

254. Michael McCabe

Indigo Girls-Closer to Fine http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NzwVvZHqEkI

255. Smallaxe

I CAN’T GIVE YOU ANYTHING BUT … !!! STYLISTICS
    No offence but when I listen to your voices I doubt if you could give her even your love.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-gmYFRHoY9c&ab_channel=johnrigs654321

VAN McCOY: “The Hustle”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wj23_nDFSfE&ab_channel=Betopubs

Peace Always

256. Michael McCabe

Well There is Two of Them. Kid Fears. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPnxOsOTxNM

257. Michael McCabe

Tina Turner-A Change is Gonna Come http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_1pk6E8K9ZE

258. Michael McCabe

Sinead O’Connor- The Last Day of our Aquaintance http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Hh9E9iT24k

259. Michael McCabe

Kate Bush- Wuthering Heights http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-1pMMIe4hb4

260. Michael McCabe

Patsy Cline-Crazy http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FYtrGjJOMpE

261. Michael McCabe

Elsiane-Mend (To Fix, To Repair) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j48QKaa9nGk

262. Michael McCabe

Ella Fitzgerald-Summertime http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u2bigf337aU

263. Michael McCabe

Kate Rusby-Old Man Time http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xWDNqhJzCk

264. yesindyref2

Whoopy-doopy-doo, I could do with the break, and this is good

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qf6zfP-HdqY

Margaret and Jim have been customers since near I started doing this, for all my products, and didn’t she do well! It was my manufacturer, a little place in Scotland, that pointed out this to me, though my wife had the (Feb 17) program recorded to watch anyway.

Maybe this will be a good year ?

265. Michael McCabe

Skye Edwards-Bright Light http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y6gy17x2LVo&spfreload=1

266. Michael McCabe

Bonnie Raitt-Love Me like a Man http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QXLP8_2B2sw

267. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

You never gave any input on the info I offered you in my post at,

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-50/#comment-2239285

A quick quote from it:-
    “I have β€˜off-topic’ in its own tab in Firefox. When I decide to catch up, the tab is still sitting at the last post I read. (This is the same for all the active Wings’ tabs on my Mac.)

All I have to do is reload that tab and it reloads to the same location (post) I was at but all the new posts are below the post I have already read. I just have to scroll down, reading the new posts, until I get to the end of the page. I may then submit a comment; I may not.”

I find that a more efficient way of keeping up to speed with ALL the comments on WOS pages, rather than working from the bottom up. But that’s just me. Actually, I keep up to date with ‘off-topic’ (and the main WOS front page and Quarantine) via email notifications to my Mail app (Mac). I just clicked the box where it says ” Notify me of new posts by email.”

So, before I even go to ‘off-topic’, I know what has been posted.

268. yesindyref2

Thanks for that BDTT, and glad to see Ken got at least 69% of his fundraiser, I’m hoping to afford 3 or 4 months of a small ad, eighth or quarter page, in season issues. Yeah, don’t really want to post that I’ve only bought one or perhaps two copies of the national including the first keeper, and not bought the herald for years. As for online, well, ccleaner is my friend. After all, they get the “benefit” of my postings for nothing as well πŸ™‚

Anyway, a song for the poor poster in question, to give some balance

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uO3IG-oRpis

269. Michael McCabe

Joan Armatrading-Love and Affection http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oag3I4VRXyM

270. Michael McCabe

Janice Joplin-Piece of My Heart http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7uG2gYE5KOs

271. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

I’m probably the same as you. I bought The National for the first week, then it’s been the odd special since then; probably half a dozen copies.

I use the Firefox add-on “Remove Cookies For site”, which lets me read National pages. I load the main page, hit the “Remove Cookies” button, then open up pages in new tabs. I wait for each page to load, then hit the “Remove Cookies” button after each. Works for me.

Our mutual friend seems to be a bit of a one trick pony, iye?

Hoy! McCabe! There’s a wee conversation goin’ on here. Feel free to take the earphones out and join in…

8=)

272. Smallaxe

BDTT:

Brian, there is a very good reason for my failure to reply to the post in question, that being that I do not have the faintest idea as to what it all means! I am barely computer literate enough to do what I already do, in short, I am a numpty when it comes to any electrically operated computerised technology.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always my Learned Friend

273. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

I’ll get back to you over the weekend. With questions…

8=)

274. Smallaxe

BDTT:
    πŸ™‚

Moody Blues: “Question”1970
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-wDHvmCVRxU&ab_channel=60s70sVintageRock

Peace Always

275. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

I must compliment you on your carefully chosen and remarkably comprehensive list of musically delightful experiences of which I will listen carefully and joyfully over and through this coming few days.
    πŸ™‚

Peace, Love and Music Always

276. Smallaxe

Ian Drury: “Fuck off Noddy!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xblXyUfQ0HI&ab_channel=121demon

Ian Drury: “There ain’t half been some clever bastards”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PPvRsLWlDXw&ab_channel=EamonnHiggins

Ian Drury: “Sweet Gene Vincent”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCOym2yutD0&ab_channel=RAGGMUNKoFLASK

Peace Always

277. Smallaxe

Today, on International Women’s Day, women around the world will be standing together again as they take part in the International Women’s Strike, organise marches, vigils and festivals celebrating women’s power and standing up for rights and justice. Why?

Because the statistics are undeniable.

Each year, about 47,000 women die as a result of unsafe abortions around the world. An estimated 35% of women experience physical or sexual violence. More than 32 million girls globally are not in primary school. And 700 million women alive today were married before they were 18 years old.

Peace Always

278. Smallaxe

Otis Redding: “Try a little Tenderness”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TXmLjbTBcdU&ab_channel=revluzionnotelevise

Otis Redding: “I’ve Been Loving You too Long
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vUc17A0SNY&ab_channel=MontereyIntlPopFest

Otis Redding: “Pain in my Heart”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=158fwCG27zE&ab_channel=bettyd1954

Peace Always

279. Michael McCabe

I Will say goodnight and wake up to a new Horizon. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ojyi3s-iV-c

280. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Hi, Michael, I’ve just noticed that you were back on last night @ 2:46, why didn’t you give me a shout?, then again maybe you did but I had earphone’s on so I probably wouldn’t have heard you anyway. You should have waved or something!
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

281. Smallaxe

Nana:

DON’T climb that wall! I have just read the explanation of how they think it can be done and I don’t believe it.I think that they are using Oriental Fairy Dust, in saying that, you as an Angel probably have your own dust, if so feel free.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

282. Nana

Just getting ready to fly Smallaxe, flexing my wings and adjusting my tutu.

Now should there not be any links tomorrow morn……..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s5BJXwNeKsQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GqlagDc6iCE

283. Nana

@Smallaxe

Meant to say we should all practice climbing walls, we will need that skill once the border wall goes up. hahahahhahahhahahha

284. Smallaxe

Nana:

Border wall? Och we’ll just sail roon aboot it or I may allow some enlightened people, such as yourself to use the tunnel that I started digging as soon as this nonsense began.

DIB DIB DIB: Be prepared! as my time as a Boy Scout taught me.

Ging Gang Gooly!

Peace Always

285. Tinto Chiel

Thanks for the SGV etc. from Mr Dury, Smallaxe. Love the way he sings, “I miss your sad, Virginia whisper…”

Did you ever come across him in your travels ablow the dyke?

O/T on O/T: had a plasterer round to give me a quote last night. He’s a nice guy from eastern Poland, so I brought up Brexit just to get his views, beginning with, “The English must be mad to have voted for it.”

He replied, “The English, eh? They’ve f*cked us!”

His English is sure comin’ on…..

And his German trowel work is magnificent, btw.

286. Smallaxe

Nana:

Ahm feart!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=myUyWOvm1WM&ab_channel=tealcbratac2009

But this well played track, brings comfort and determination!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pcinBT1I7-o&ab_channel=BrianMarioFernandes

“Fear not when on the side of the Righteous!”
    (“Quote from a very intelligent and frighteningly Handsome man”)

Guess who? πŸ™‚

Peace Always xx

287. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel says:

“Did you ever come across him in your travels ablow the dyke?”

I did not have to travel far my Manky Mate, as I used to reside in Priory Park Rd Kilburn! Just off the High Road, as I am sure I have touched on in my inane ramblings on these very sane and illustrious pages.

“And his German trowel work is magnificent, btw.”

Did you perhaps mistakenly write trowel instead of towel? Because the Germans are particularly swift at placing them on deckchairs, I am led to believe.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

Ps Sorry for the late reply but I was out pipeclaying my doorstep!

288. Liz g

Smallaxe @ 9.15
    Now this tunnel….Is it the kind ye need tae lie on a bogey,and clang a trowel tae get thru.
    If so dae we bring said trowel?
    Or is wan provided?
    We need details man!

Smallaxe @ 11.36
    Is guessing correctly the pass for the tunnel?
    Or just to give Mrs Smallaxe a laugh?

Mrs Smallaxe….Ah saw that teeth in the glass comment, don’t worry hen we have yir back.
    He has been sentenced to scarcasim for the next 3 comments!

289. Smallaxe

liz g:

No bogeys liz, a clean handkerchief will be provided, though, if necessary.

The tunnel in question is navigable if sat on the strong warm back of a Hielan’ Coo, several of those being available to any Scot of any creed, religion or sexual orientation.
    Bring your own piece, scotch broth will be available to those who bring some organically grown grass (Coo’s for the feeding of!)

Mrs Smallaxe has already seen the post that you mention, so no worries.A few stitches and I will be back to normal.
    I don’t know why I said that, I’ve never been “normal”
    πŸ™‚
    Peace Always my Dear friend

290. Smallaxe

I leave this for anyone who may (Should IMHO) be interested!

Samah Sabawi

Samah Sabawi is a Palestinian-Australian-Canadian poet, playwright, editor, PhD student, powerful orator, political commentator and spokesperson for Palestinian freedom. She was born in Gaza to Suhailah and Abdul Kareem Sabawi, a distinguished poet, author and non-violence revolutionary. The Sabawi family’s forced wrench from Gaza is characteristic of Palestinian exiles in the diaspora and Samah’s passion for justice and love for her homeland is the gravitational pull of her activism and art,

I stand dispossessed of everything but my words

They are words of truth

Of fire and steel

I use them deliberately

Not to incite hatred

Not to frighten

But to lighten up this darkness

That tore me into 11 million pieces

And scattered me across the earth

Words tell my story

Nakba

Naksa

Forced exile

Ethnic cleansing

Apartheid

Words

Carefully chosen

Purposely uttered

These are the words that lay the foundation

Of the language of my liberation

Link to full Article:http://www.globalresearch.ca/palestinian-women-one-for-all-all-for-one/5578389

Peace Always

291. Tinto Chiel

Sokay, Smallaxe, I was out myself. It’s spring, the sap is rising in Old Cadzow and it’s Goat-Nadgering Week, so I was out, er, goat-nadgering.

Next week it’s Goat-Bothering Week, but I won’t do that, like Meatloaf.

I must have missed your Duriad, or mebbe’s it’s the old brain not functioning too well ‘cos of the turps and senna regime of recent weeks.

Anyhow, wish I could play the bass line on this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7SkG0D-9g4

And it’s definitely “trowel”. You get walls as smooth as glass. Pity I’ve to cover them in three coats of paint…..

292. Liz g

Smallaxe @ 1.07
    Very profound words,and, those last two line’s are so powerful!
    Thanks for sharing it.

Smallaxe @ 12.23
    Wee problem here…. I googled Hielan Coo Riding Accessories.
    Well I’ll tell ye… Ah didnay know sites like that existed.
    If only there were people who liked to steward other adults, I think I could show them where their calling lie’s.
    Anyhoo….Whit will we wear own the coo?

Tell Mrs Smallaxe I am asking for her…Love and hugs to you both XX

293. Tinto Chiel

Or this, for that matter:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c-VeOakGGPQ

That’s not an invitation, btw……

294. Smallaxe

Replied to in the order in that of which I received them:

Tinto: Sorry about the delay, but I was fixing and re-painting a broken Rainbow that had fallen into my estate, near the Gatehouse.

I really don’t mind being hit by a Rhythm Stick, because there’s
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FL_BshgpNmo&ab_channel=JollyJonko

As for the goat, surely you KID! (I hope)
    πŸ™‚
    Peace Always

295. Smallaxe

liz g:

Yes liz, those last two lines are powerful and fit perfectly to our own situation.

Now to your question regarding suitable attire.
    “Anyhoo….Whit will we wear own the coo?”

You don’t have to worry about that liz, as the coo has it’s own clothes!

Mrs Smallaxe sends her love, you should receive it soon in a plain brown wrapper.

Peace Always

296. Nana

@Smallaxe

So there’s a tunnel and there is a cow for the riding on. I have a suspicion of “bring your own organically grown grass”

[for the feeding of the cows you say MMMMmmm]

@Tinto

I know I am probably going to regret asking, but what the hell is Goat-Nadgering.

297. Smallaxe

Tinto:

In answer, to your second epistle: Pity as I was all ready for a bit of,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=erGNSQMJ79Q&ab_channel=MadFranko008

Not necessarily in that order!

Peace Always

298. Smallaxe

Nana:

I’m pleased to see Tinto hasn’t answered your question about Goat – Nadgering, that fellow can be so uncouth at times, his answer may have shocked you.

Suffice to say, it’s similar to Badger-Nadgering whereupon you get a firm grip on the Badgers Tadgexxx no, I’m sorry you will just have to ask Tinto after all.

As for your comment, “I have a suspicion of β€œbring your own organically grown grass”

“[for the feeding of the cows you say MMMMmmm”

I’m surprised at your suspicion Nana, as you know I lived in Jamaica for a time and even although what I think you are alluding to is plentiful. I n’I did neva even once tempt to try dat stuff, neva at all mi telling yuh. (Coughs and frantically waves clouds of ganja smoke up the lum) HONEST!
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

299. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: great vid. What a personality he had. As Wee Willie Rennie would say, “He was unique, like so many others!”

*Washed hands carefully in sink*
    Nana, I’m afraid I could not divulge that information since you are a lady but I CAN exclusively confirm today it has NOTHING to do with marag dubh production chez moi.

Still haven’t recovered from the John Swinney clips on the main thread: classic. Might allow myself a small glass of sherry tonight.

Heeheeheeheeheeheehee!

300. Tinto Chiel

*adjusts brocaded fez and water-silk smoking jacket*

(Noel Coward voice): “Uncouth, moi? How terribly, terribly boring…..”

301. Smallaxe

Tinto:

I nearly slipped up while talking to Nana just then but I think that I got away with it.

As you say the Man was certainly a one off. Enjoy your cask sorry glass of “Sherry” tonight. I came home the other night and for some reason couldn’t get my key into the keyhole, unfortunately, my wife heard my fumblings, opened the door and said loudly “DRUNK AGAIN” I said with relief “don’t worry about it, sweetheart, so am I” Have you ever FELT the sound of one hand clapping, I have!
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

302. Nana

@Smallaxe

Aye knowing you lived in Jamaica is why I’m suspicious. Anyhoo I believe the substance [ahem] is very good for RA so if I give you my address….

@Tinto

“Marag dubh” and “goat nadgering” Blimey I think I’m better off not knowing what you are up to.

Indeed I am a lady, I’m sure that’s what him indoors muttered under his breath earlier

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TMXehqqR8J8

I think those who are allowed a wee sherry should have one, for you Tinto I recommend water is added, 3 to 1 ratio. That’s three of water and 1 of sherry just in case you thought differently.

303. Smallaxe

Tinto:

When I told Nana that you were uncouth, I was only trying a ploy employed to implore Nana to stop employing her brain into employing that it was a ploy employed to prevent her discovering my ploy that I had employed to…. Maaan, I’d better lay off this “Tobacco” for a while.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xd80dwC7lqk&ab_channel=funimuni808

Peace Always

304. Smallaxe

Nana:

Did I hear you say that you were a Lady?, I asked these two and this is what they told me,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xafBWOxqssg&ab_channel=FrankSinatraVEVO

Peace Always

305. Nana

@Smallaxe

Ach those two are terrible liars you know

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=km4OzC1Vs7g

306. Smallaxe

Sometimes, I could just bang my head!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rcjpags7JT8&ab_channel=regeer2011

You gotta luv the lyrics.

Peace Always

307. Nana

@Smallaxe

Don’t think I don’t know what you are up to, deflection tactics to get me to employ my brain away from you and Tinto’s ploys!

I’m onto you!

308. Smallaxe

Nana:

Not at all, how on earth would we manage that?!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d1-jXqpSa-U&ab_channel=RutileForneusCHAGEandASKACHANNEL

Peace Always

309. Smallaxe

ANY SPARE CHANGE, Β£1 would be great! I know we are all donated out but we really need as much as we can wring out of YOU! look down the back of your couch. A request for any tune will be your reward. I will take your word that you have given any small amount.

http://www.msf.org.uk
    MEDECINS SANS FRONTIERES
    DOCTORS WITHOUT BORDERS

Peace love and Compassion

310. Smallaxe

Sorry, I meant to leave this.

Dear Smallaxe,
    Thank you for your donation of xxx to Médecins Sans Frontières UK.
    The reference for this donation is W0206841

Peace Always

311. Smallaxe

All members of the SNP will have had this request: http://www.snp.org

Dear Smallaxe,
    Thank you for donating to the SNP. Your contribution will help us to campaign for the better, fairer Scotland we all seek.
    You donated Β£xxx on 09/03/2017.
    If you need to contact us about this payment, please quote reference DON0199775.
    Thank you for your support
    Peter Murrell
    Chief Executive

You don’t have to be a member, this money is to go toward the Local Council Election Campain Fund: “Paypal” accepted.

Peace Always/Scotland Forever!

I probably have killed this thread now. πŸ™

Anyone who requests a tune please, have patience I have to travel into Darkest England tonight to pick up a kitten that my wife has just informed me she has purchased. Wives, can’t live with them, can’t strangle them! πŸ™‚

Peace Always/Scotland Forever!

312. Tinto Chiel

Don’t worry, Smallaxe, I don’t think Nana got the Badger reference. To the pure in heart, everything is pure.

Your one-hand clapping reference reminded me a bit of my German Existential Joke:

*Night, Berlin. Policeman approaches man under a lamp standard who is obviously searching for something*

Polis: Lost something, sir?
    Man: Yes, my key.
    *They both look for a while under the light*
    Polis: Are you sure you dropped it here?
    Man: No, I dropped it over there *indicates a point in the encompassing darkness*.
    Polis: Then why are you looking here?
    Man: Because there’s no light over there……

Nana, Ian Brotherhood and I met Norman at GG when you were off doing your Secret Stuff, and he is obviously a man of probity and rectitude and would never use an impure expression.

The perverse Alcohol Regime you have outlined is uncannily similar to Mrs TC’s: HAVE YOU BEEN COMPARING NOTES?

“Tinto’s ploys”: that’s a completely unfounded allegation!

Besides, Billy wis daein’ it tae…….

Jeezo, man, s’no ferr!

313. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Tinto, life isn’t fair I’ve just infiltrated Carlisle to pick up a kitten that my wife decided she just had to have, no discussion necessary with me, of course. I hadn’t even sharpened my claymore so I had to keep my wit’s about me in that foreign land.

However, we are now the proud “Parents” of a ginger tom cat by the name of INDY and guess who gets to clean the litter tray?.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pblSU5M1d1Y&ab_channel=thingsihaveseen3

Puss Always
    Peace Always

314. Smallaxe

Ritchie Blackmore Feat Carlos Santana – Guitar Duel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F1WBbrhUGpA&ab_channel=Ruben7090

Peace Always

315. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, I’ve told you before to keep the CLAYMORE in the THATCH.

Dear old Squeeze: great lyrics.

You’re not going to wear one of them there new-fangled pussy hats on dawn border patrol tomorrow, are you? That could be a fashion no-no.

On the plus side, think we got away with it with Nana. I’ll get the worm, you bring the “copper”. Heeheeheehee!

It’s just like Young Art and Old Hector all over again…..

316. Smallaxe

Ian Paice – Duo w/Richie Blackmore(Deep Purple 1970)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7o8gSbvNxPY&ab_channel=peshpunta2

Deep Purple – Speed King (Live 1970 UK)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXgMN_KjzW0&ab_channel=maxxblade

DEEP PURPLE – Black Night
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rZXhZ6Wejqc&ab_channel=GreatGuitarHeroes

Peace Always

317. Tinto Chiel

Wow: Nazareth! Dunfermline’s finest.

How good were they?

318. KC

@ tinto
    I take two days away and come back to a wummin asking about badgering, lodgering and goat nadgering. SWMBO has enough on her plate keeping recipes for scones and Stornoway black pudding secret.

I haven’t seen her since teatime when she went doon the toon muttering about bowels, blood, oatmeal, caorrans. I pray for you and Smallaxe.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FQH2fLVP_D4

Rectitude and probity indeed, note to self, make appointment with GP.

319. Smallaxe

KC: ANY SUNSHINE? πŸ™‚

John Mayall – The Turning Point -July 12, 1969
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3LHXuGc_PYc&ab_channel=EttaPeach

John Mayall – California
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wqcqZlFMUYQ&ab_channel=TheSonglines

John Mayall – Crying
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2xrPJxDs-X8&ab_channel=Folkovy

Peace Always

320. Smallaxe

DON SUGARCANE HARRIS – Cup full of dreams
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hHb2-Ru-MJ8&ab_channel=danospsycho

Rory Gallagher, Sugarcane Harris and John Mayall – Texas Flood
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0lnl6Pk7t0k&ab_channel=MiloCarr

Rory Gallagher & John Mayall – Messin’ with the Kid
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=15a0LvzPuA8&ab_channel=MiloCarr

Peace Always

321. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: that great Nazareth vid looks like it was recorded in the same studio as the famous Sparks “This town….”: you know, full of awkward, uncomfortable, conformist German teenagers.

KC: don’t worry, it’ll all blow over. Unless she brings home some dulse and starts making the carrageen, of course…..

Something elemental about those old Gaelic psalms, eh?

Paula Rose used to love them.

322. Tinto Chiel

Haud a dod, JC!

Caorrans, is it?

Not the rowan jelly treatment?

Ooft! See you guys later…..

323. Tinto Chiel

KC, obvs.

Sausage fingers (from behind the sofa)!

324. Smallaxe

Blind Boy Fuller – Bulldog Blues
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=79wbZ3D9E_g&ab_channel=Raswhiteweed

Blind Boy Fuller β€žPistol Slapper Blues”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7up2b4keW_k&ab_channel=Slowtubbi

Rory Gallagher’s version of the song above
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XRtH7QLR924&ab_channel=bere3012

Peace always

325. KC

@Tinto

“KC: don’t worry, it’ll all blow over. Unless she brings home some dulse and starts making the carrageen, of course…..”

Dammit she’s let the Gin Recipe out …

326. Smallaxe

There will now be a short intermission: The Cocktail Bar is open!

Pachelbel’s Canon in D
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hOA-2hl1Vbc&ab_channel=iSSerDc

Peace Always

327. Tinto Chiel

Could drone in some sloes to you but after that, I’m outta here.

Be afraid, be very afraid.

328. KC

@ Tinto
    NO caorrans, the little peaty thingies, one of the secret ingredients of SYBP gives it the black crumblieness. mmmmmmmmmmm

Sausage fingers! Is your Name Lochhead perchance.

329. Tinto Chiel

Sorry, always wondered what those wee things were.

Crumbliness, indeed.

Before I go, if Smallaxe offers you an avocado and piccalilli sandwich, make an excuse and leave quick.

Ah’m off!

330. Smallaxe

avocado and piccalilli sandwiches are now being served

Don’t put the piccalilli in the fridge blues version
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yJFM1HOX8ZU&ab_channel=garryentropy

Best lie of your life
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Twtzg8oTNrY&ab_channel=garryentropy

Green Day – Time of your life
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1PK2R0IwCiY&ab_channel=miloradkurtovic

331. KC

Avocado, Piccalilli and Caorrans on girdle scones sounds like a winner!
    Beter still, accommpanied with the soup dragons best Brochan, another secret recipe.

332. yesindyref2

Looks to me like a reincarnated SD, playing it politely but throwing in stuff like “hey, why not leave it until 2020”. Either that or it’s Sillars or MacAlpine in disguise. With glasses of course!

333. Liz g

Yesindyref2 @ 12.50
    Aye he is a funny one right enough.
    Is there like a law that I don’t know about where suspicious posters never answer any questions that you actually ask and tell you something that you don’t need to know about?
    I mean I only asked him for an opinion,which was all I was tradin with.
    Hey Ho at least he was polite…Well so far!

334. Michael McCabe

I found this in the Shadows http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ETTBmiafmpE

335. yesindyref2

@Liz g
    Yes I had my doubts from the first where it seems as so many on the anti-Indy side do, they want to push the Ref till after Brexit by which time it’s too late for easy EU. Ant then there was this “Great Repeal Bill coming up. I don’t mean to antagonise.” – juse one “concern” after another πŸ™‚

So perhaps it’s a case of …

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rY0WxgSXdEE

wot I want at my funeral whenever or whatever passes for it, waste of good money, quick night-time tip in the Clyde, drop off a cliff, it’s only an empty shell and then dust!

336. yesindyref2

Good grief, just read the first comment on that page!

337. yesindyref2

If the media in Scotland want to attack the SNP and even Independence, that’s politics. But when the fucking bastards run Scotland down as the headline in the Herald does about Unis and the dop-out rate which is well down, that’s fucking disgusting – it’s their own country and it’s costing all of us, Independentists and Unionists alike, reputation and fucking billions to the economy.

Fuck the media.

338. Smallaxe

I Have just seen the last couple of posts on here and must ask you, people, to mind your language.

It’s fucking disgusting, so it is!
    πŸ™‚
    Peace Always

339. Mchael McCabe

I Will settle for the Rainbow Pie http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BR-1Bgch_l4

340. Michael McCabe

I Like this Stuff http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lgCyXw2EWuA

341. Ian Brotherhood

Evening all,

Some of you may enjoy having a rake about in the following if you haven’t seen it. All about the stramash in Glasgow over the ‘City of Culture’ stuff, Elspeth King ‘affair’ etc.

‘The Keelie’ section is particularly good – seems to be a complete archive.

http://www.workerscity.org/

342. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Ian. The whole Elspeth King affair now seems a complete stitch-up, but that’s only because I’ve become a cultist vile cyber-sep. At the time I was so naΓ―ve I didn’t really get it.

I shall rake…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZzlgJ-SfKYE

343. Tinto Chiel

Plasterers coming early tomorrow so I’m off to beddy-byes soon.

I leave you with this: a track with much poetry but a tremendous guitar take-off at 2.40.

Independence: are we there yet?

And, while we’re at it : Cactus, are you ok?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RAOFDI83OwE

344. Tinto Chiel

And, since it’s that time of day:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WQ_G3v0u5aM

345. Cactus

Aweright Tinto Chiel, we good bro.

Not long back from a mini-adventure way out east.

Twas time to take a time-out in the country in the most excellent company.

Tis bonnie to be back, rarin’ tae go!

Cheers tae ye all.
    X.

I heard it on ma radio..
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azdwsXLmrHE

346. yesindyref2

@BDTT
    That’s you telt πŸ™‚

If it’s any consolation I knew what you were up to.

347. Cactus

Excellent, nice timing.

Yes!

As of 9am toysday..

Further and extended goal.. Β£5,847 (T minus Β£717)

Tree times.

You knew it.

348. Cactus

I miss Freddy.

He was cool.

“Don’t stop me now..”

349. yesindyref2

I got this one when it first came out, one of my flatmates at the time, first full-time job.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JofwEB9g1zg

Loved it later when the superior people would say like “You should try listening to Killer Queen by Queen, you won’t have heard of them”, and I’d say like “You mean like keep yourself alive” and they’d look at me blankly. Ho hum.

350. Cactus

Night.

351. Cactus

Keep yerself alive.

That’s a winner πŸ™‚

For four X.

Night.

Mornin’.

352. Michael McCabe

I Like a wee Gamble at the Weekend http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FCld2UJMRg

353. Tinto Chiel

Cactus: glad you are well. You should bring out a book.

“Way out east”. You mean Embra? πŸ˜€

KYA: excellent choice, Yesindyref2.

354. Fred

Greetings manky ones! Jist catching up wi the crack. A crackless week due to computer problems, life in fact has been a modem-less pit! Why do the Children? like it much. Saw Liar Carmichael at Willie Rennie’s gaitherin, bad-moothin Alex Salmond, and Carmichael a bloated, shameless bare-faced lyin bastard.

355. Chick McGregor

Fed up with a couple of the Xword compilers in the National. (Or maybe they are both the same person).

A good clue should be challenging but obviously correct when you get it. Those two frequently have clues which are not. Answers so tenuously linked to the clue you can think of others which are just as much or more so of a fit. Obscure clues which defy seeing a link even when you know what the answers are even after researching for perhaps little known associations on line. Often, they seem to have thrown random unrelated words in there just for the hell of it.

Thrawn in nature, I have struggled on with them and mostly managed to finish although one clue recently had three alternative answers which all fitted the clue as well or as obscurely as each other. But not worth the time and effort.

So will not be doing their puzzles in future.

356. Tinto Chiel

Chick: ever thought of playing Bridge?

Just don’t play with your partner/significant other/wife.

It’s like arguing about map-reading.

357. Jet123

To Ian brotherhood
    hi Ian I am sorry for the delay in my reply to your post I am not on wings as often as I used to be just a few things I would like to say I accused you of personal verbal abuse and calling me a troll to witch you made a really nice and full apology now it turns out that it was me who got the names mixed up think it might be my age showing but as you showed such humility and grace in your speedy apology for something that you had doubts at the Time that you done shows what true gentleman you really are I I could not in all conscience not reply to offer my total and unreserved apology to your self for my accusations,

secondly I would like to say you are the only person who ever worked out what my name really stands for that also shows my age

Sorry to say I don’t think this is the place for me to comment but I will pop in from time to time to see how you’s are I wish you all the very best in life and in our continued journey towards independence

Just a quick note to smallaxe I have showed the video that you showed me to dozens of friends
    And family with some quite astounding reactions and I try to use it to guide me on my way and have felt it’s worth on many occasions life seems smoother and lots more fun because little things
    Just don’t get to me the same I can’t thank you enough

As a truly great man says peace always

358. Smallaxe

Jet123:

Thank you, I send love to you and your’s.

Peace Always

359. Tinto Chiel

MTS, Fred, glad there was a simple explanation for your absence: thought you and carjamtic might have got caught up in a lock-in The Manky Bar.

That White Tornado is powerful stuff.

Mind you, after the rugby result, anything is possible.

360. Ian Brotherhood

@Jet123 –

These things happen, no worries. πŸ™‚

361. Jet123

Thanks Ian gracious as always once again sorry and best of luck

362. Jet123

Smallaxe thanks your love it is returned and it will make us both stronger and your video has truly changed my outlook and pace of life all around me have noticed a remarkable change when they ask what is different I show them it I am no spring chicken but for some reason that just hit the spot
    At the correct time I now enjoy every day even work days lol and look forward to the next

As a truly great man says peace always

363. Ian Brotherhood

@Chic McG –

re National XWs.

What days are the ‘dodgy’ crosswords appearing?

364. Still Positive

Chick – totally agree. Even when you see the answers you wonder how they got there.

365. Still Positive

Chick – totally agree. Even when you see the answers, you wonder how they got it.

366. Still Positive

Sorry for the double post.

367. yesindyref2

Well, with all that’s going on, here’s one for all of us doing our best.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qEYyQIIGQcc

368. yesindyref2

@Ian B
    Obviously not the days you write them!

My dad compiled crosswords for some magazines after he retired to get some extra money, it’s an art form. I vaguely remember putting some together myself when younger – not to get published though.

369. Tinto Chiel

It’s Sunday and it’s quiet, so I’ll try this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OYQe_by2PL8

May The Force be with you.

370. Chic McGregor

No names no pack drill Ian, but yours are OK (aside from that dictionary of defunct Scots. πŸ™‚ )

Tinto, the missus and I do play bridge occasionally.

I got my first grand slam ever just a few months ago (on a bid of 5 NT).

371. Chick McGregor

Doubled, BTW. The wife was ready to kill me if we didn’t make.

372. Smallaxe

Chic:

I won’t play the obvious “Bridge over Troubled Waters” but you did tempt me. πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_KvXteZkByE&ab_channel=HFTRRVEVO

Peace Always

373. Tinto Chiel

“The wife was ready to kill me if we didn’t make.”

See what I mean, Chic? You’re entering dangerous territory…

I found a safe option: we play each other at Canasta and Mrs TC beats me every time.

I know my place.

374. Fred

Passed the Manky on Saturday & forgot to check if one brick still stands upon another!
    Does anybody remember “Wattery Willies!” on the canal bank between Dennistoun & the Garngad? Legend says that he wattered the whisky hence the soubriquet!

375. Thepnr

I am truly woeful at crosswords, just absolutely hopeless at the cryptic ones. I don’t know why it just is so I never bother starting them now. It helps that I don’t buy a newspaper anymore I suppose.

Still that’s not really what I wanted to say, it was to Chic who brought this up that I have a question. I used to play chess and one of the Kirriemuir Chess team was a crossword compiler for the Times no less, he also appeared in the Mastermind final and won one or other quiz show. Did you ever meet him?

The reason I know this about him is because say 10 years ago me and my my and him and his wife were staying together in an hotel in Hawick for a chess tournament. It was a very small hotel but with four fantastic rooms.

It was a blast and he was probably one of the smartest guys I’ve ever met, just knew everything about everything. Either that or he just talked very well and I was too drunk to notice πŸ™‚

376. Ian Brotherhood

Okay, all ye clever clogs –

I’m trying to think of writers/poets who are associated with specific cities. It’s for uni work. My dissertation’s about James Kelman winning the Booker Prize in ’94. Obviously, he’s associated with Glasgow. Dickens – London. Joyce – Dublin.

Think of any others?

377. Tinto Chiel

Ah, the Garngad…

My father loved goading my mother by using Scots expressions in the house.

When he stretched for the salt on the table he would say, “‘Scuse me for raxing forenenst ye.”

Discussing the football: “Aye, yon Boghead* is a right cowp.”

And, my favourite: “How are you, dad?”

“Ah’m no sae Garngad!”

*Former home of Dumbarton F.C. and the longest-used football park in British football.

378. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Dundee – McGonagall and Gary Robertson. Let’s leave McGonagall to one side for the moment – he has his own web site.

http://www.mcgonagall-online.org.uk/

Here are three short examples of Gary Robertson’s work. (He also sings and plays with The Cundeez. Search on YouTube for his name or the band’s name for further examples.)

“Twa Pints Meh Erse”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVdzBRR3raY

“Gary Robertson’s IndyRef poem”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0dQ3yAgYihk

“Dundee Fowk”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WqZ_iWAIz8w

379. Tinto Chiel

Meant to say, for those unable to sleep, that Garngad is probs. from Gaelic “gart nan gad”, i.e. enclosure of the withies. I think hurdles of twisted twigs would have been used to make the perimeter.

My favourite from that part of the town is Garthamlock, possibly “gart amlach”, flowing/rippling corn-field.

Pure poetry, innit?

380. Ian Brotherhood

Sympathies to the hurting sisters and their families…

Sister Sledge, ‘He’s The Greatest Dancer’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q9ssxMR2b9Q

381. Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

Here’s Garthamlock in the 70’s. I’m the skinny one on the right the other is my cousin.

There’s a lot to see in this picture, spot the dug lol.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1AWO2kVtiXhUk1YbWRLY1Blblk

382. Fred

@ Tinto, ma gt grannie delivered weans in the Garngad! the city fathers tried callin it Royston, didnae work! The birthplace of Arnold Clark, Europe’s biggest motor trader!

Good Garthamlock pic’ very trendy area noo, what with the Fort n stuff! Hooses at prices you could have bought the whole scheme for in the 70’s. Auld name Garthamloch so ony ripples wid be watery, like Wattery Willie!

383. Tinto Chiel

Thepnr: was that a middle shed in the hair department? Me too.

Of course, we were all young and bonny in them there days. Those lucky girls…..

And is that the dog on the close wall? Not a WGD, obvs.

I terrify myself listening to 70s hits and then can’t believe it’s over 40 years ago. Time’s running out and I want my Scottish passport before I go “up the lum” (another of my Dear Old Dad’s sayings).

Press the button, Treeza.

384. Fred

Found this on Wattery’s,

http://www.oldglasgowpubs.co.uk/top%20of%20the%20town.html

Hope this works! When the canal was piped for the motorway, the section at Wattery’s was found to be almost blocked by pint measures!

385. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Brilliant stuff. Soo-perb.

You’ve posted Gary’s stuff here before, although those links were all new for me. He’s great. (Ah widny mess wi’ him mind…)

And I love that wee line on the McGonagall site, ‘…he discovered his discordant muse…’

Aye, well, it comes to us all, eventually, but only if we’re lucky!

386. Tinto Chiel

Fred, this Watery Willie guy is interesting but I have no local knowledge. I was an EK boy then, and spent most of the time in my igloo, only venturing out to Glasgow on the 70/71 bus occasionally.

Hope Smallaxe is about to offer advice.

387. Ian Brotherhood

‘I quit my nine-to-five…’

πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

Sister Sledge, ‘We’re Lost In Music’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6ZNcIJmn5I

388. Ian Brotherhood

Sister Sledge, ‘Lost In Music’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O6ZNcIJmn5I

389. Tinto Chiel

Fred: posts crossed.

Fascinating stuff re. Wattery’s but I’m getting the vibe this wasn’t a place to take the Lovely Amanda for a gimlet, hehehehehehehe!

390. Fred

Confusing place the EK, tried returning with a van from there to Hamilton & ended up in Darvel, stopped to enquire as to the locus & the wummin says Dorvel, swore ah’d never go back!

391. Fred

Quite so Tinto! the coal-barges had Bofors guns! Did ye ever get tae grips wi that Welsh tome-ette?

392. Tinto Chiel

Indeed, Fred, EK was sometimes known as Polo Mint City on account of the roonaboots.

Wow! Darvel! That’s what I call a detour. At least the local wummin could pronounce it properly.

On the plus side, on the back road between Auldhouse and Darvel, there is an excellent old killogie or lime-kiln. They used to slake lime for fertilizer then.

393. Tinto Chiel

Yes, Fred, the tome-ette arrived about a week ago. At first glance, between paint jobs, it looks on the right lines, but extending Welsh into Pictland is rather strange, although there is little doubt that Pictish was closer to Welsh than Gaelic.

394. Chick McGregor

Thepnr
    Nope, never knew anyone like that.

I think I have a fairly good general knowledge but never really motivated to go quizzing although a Wings quiz team would be an idea to consider.

On TV quizzes my level is:

University Challenge 15 – 20 questions usually, a high of 30.
    On Eggheads I get annoyed if I get more than 5 wrong per show.
    On Mastermind, usually 7-11, high of 14 on the general knowledge round.
    The Chase, I struggle with understanding Bradley’s speech although he is a lovely guy.

Chess, I don’t play.

395. Fred

Hmm, Killogie, had to check my Chambers for that! there was a very fine example at the east end of Loch Arkaig but the tourists used it for rubbish & it was filled in. Strange place for a lime-kiln, the fuel might have been charcoal but the limestone must have been carted in? & for what?

396. Chick McGregor

Ian
    Other Scots that spring to mind are George MacKay Brown (Orkney)
    Lewis Grassic Gibbon (The NE) and Violet Jacob (Angus).

397. Tinto Chiel

Fred: limestone was usually tipped in from the top by bogie/cart and burned to improve the fertility of the soil. EK was a place of poor soil: high, wet, cold, sour Lanarkshire clay. Highland peaty soil might have benefited from a bit of lime too.

398. Tinto Chiel

Ian B: John Galt, Irvine. “The Entail” is my favourite.

399. Smallaxe

I’ve just skimmed down the page, so forgive me, if haven’t quite got the gist, but at the beginning, if I remember correctly, it began, from;

Fred: “Does anybody remember β€œWattery Willies!” on the canal bank?”
    Come on, Fred! What guy could ever forget it! By fuck! It NIPPED!

Tinto: It seems he’s “living in an igloo on a No.71 bus eating polo mints”.Whatever floats your boat Tinto.You carry on Manky Mate.

Chic: Puzzled me, it seems that for some reason our Chic’s “chasing Bradley Wiggens, and trying to play him at chess because he knows that Bradley can’t play” The nearest I’ve got to chess is the pawn shop.If that’s your thing Chic, you go for it, my Friend, it’s legal.

Ian Brotherhood: I don’t know what your smoking Ian, you’ve “packed your 9 to 5 job in and you’ve been on a sledge lost in music” TWICE?
    Don’t you go wasting that posh education on frivolous things!

This brings us back to Fred and “Wattery Willies” The first time I went in there the floor had sawdust on it, seemingly, the barperson informed me, it had been furniture the night before. There were also a few, shall we call them, “Ladies of the Night” whom I was told, very kindly sold their more than ample charms to the kind of gentleman who was willing and able, to pay for this very dubious and in my own opinion, most unsatisfactory co-mingling.The “Ladies” though, to their credit provided free contraceptive protection in the form of a wetsuit and fireman’s helmet.

Or have I got it wrong?
    πŸ™‚
    A wee bit of music?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GsfNmg9dGpM&ab_channel=HurrayfortheRiffRaff

Peace Always

I’ve probably missed something.I WROTE THIS ABOUT AN HOUR AGO!

400. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: your absence was noted. Extra border patrols? take your muffler.

WW’s does sound rather quaint, like the establishment I misguidedly went into in Clydebank en route to a fitba’ match at Kilbowie in 1979. I knew I had made a mistake when one of the “Ladies of Delight” in there got so drunk she passed out on the floor and the other punters just kept on drinking, stepping around her when necessary. Then, when my mate went to the Gents, a shilpit wee cove, seeing me alone with two pints, said, “Can ah hiv yir sperr pint if ye don’t waaant it?”

A quick strategic withdrawal was effected.

Thought your choice of music most appropriate, although I thought for a moment we were going to get reminiscences of the school.

Lovely day here today: the redpolls, siskins and goldfinches are going bananas over the niger seeds in my feeders and a badger was in the garden last night. I had put out two old apples earlier.

Coming soon: “Tinto’s Pub Guide and Nature Notes”, Β£3.95 from all good bookshops.

401. Fred

Frogs “Rivetting!” away in this neck of the woods, Spring has indeed sprung. Just chucked oot the spare croissants as niger seed might offend in some quarters!

There won’t be anybody now living who remembers “The Gazoon” on the canal a mile east of Wattery’s, this was a cunning contraption which by-passed the Blackhill locks, the decending barge being shoved into an iron caisson & lowered down an inclined thingmy on rails into the basin, the cable pulling another caissoned barge up the hill, thus saving water, money & time.
    So much we’ve lost!

402. Smallaxe

Tinto:

I use niger seeds and they don’t half grow, I was thinking of dispensing with ordinary grass and just letting the niger take over.This stuff comes from Ethiopia and has grown in my garden right through the winter.I think it must come from the mountains, there is no stopping it.I was fortunate last Spring when a green Woodpecker hung around for a couple of days.I got a good sighting of a Brown Owl last night.

Anent, as Fred would say, the music that I played last night, I thought that one of the Manky Mates may have frequented the club of the same name St Rochs, I knew the place very well indeed.

I was in that club many years ago and Dave Berry tried coming on to me, I got the shock of my life as I was unaware that he was gay at that time.

Dave Berry: “The Crying Game”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1t4Ujlg1WAA&ab_channel=60s%2F70sFanChannel

Peace Always

Ps, we can have a go at “Badger Nadgering” now that Nana is otherwise distracted! While the cat’s away etc.

403. Betty Boop

@ IanB, @Chick McGregor

Re your coursework, Ian. Chick just reminded me of the wonderfully evocative poem “Hamnavoe” (George Mackay Brown). If you are ever or have been in Stromness, Orkney, then, especially, his words bring that now fairly quiet wee town to life. His memories of past characters and closes still yet “opening and closing like legends” fill your mind along with the gulls which are still a tad “barbarous” if you’re not careful!

I don’t think folks elsewhere in the world would ever have given much of a thought to Stromness without such a poet.

Thanks for bringing it back into my mind, Chick. By the way, when did the ‘k’ appear at the end of your name. I’m fairly certain that never used to be there πŸ™‚

404. Tinto Chiel

Yes, it grows fast here but stops in the winter. I have to pull it up from under the feeders before it chokes other plants.

Dave Berry? Whodathunkit? The girls went wild for that young man.

“Ps, we can have a go at β€œBadger Nadgering” now that Nana is otherwise distracted! While the cat’s away etc.”

I would counsel caution on that subject, Smallaxe. In 1976 I stayed for one night in a B&B in Inverness run by a lovely Highland lady. She was quite jolly, despite the strange religious tracts displayed on the hall table. She showed me up to the room, which was nice, until I noticed a large framed picture above the bed of the All-Seeing Eye with the legend below: God Sees Everything (gulp!).

Get my drift? A lesson for The Mankies, I think.

Mind you, her cooked breakfast was brilliant, not that I slept much.

405. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Worry not about “All seeing eyes” the eye can be blinded by some well-chosen words written where no one dares to look.

I have dared and I am spared from eyes that would once have glared.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lcWVL4B-4pI&ab_channel=MarkGraham

Peace Always

406. Tinto Chiel

*strokes chin*

Mmmmm… I’ve got a bad feeling about this.

407. yesindyref2

During Indy Ref 1 I often thought Salmond had something up his sleeve to play last week, maybe he did and decided not to as he didn’t want to rock the boat which could have sailed home anyway. But I think perhaps Sturgeon actually has, and it could be a massive game-changer for the Ref. Loose lips sink ships and I don’t even know if its possible, so if/when I see some of you, I’ll let you know in person πŸ™‚

408. Brian Doonthetoon

Ah well; we’ll be all ears on the 26th, yesindyref2…

409. Chick McGregor

smallaxe

Ah widnae be chasin’ Bradley Wiggins on mah bike he hiz a few year on me an besides the fermers roon here yaze a the steroids fur the coos.

Ur did ye mean Bradley Walsh? Ah micht manage a wee turn on X-Factor (indyref2 ken?).

Betty

Some fowk were scrievin it i thur replies an Ah thocht it wiz mair the thing. Ah’m no viry chic these days.

410. Fred

@ Smallaxe, was St Roche’s not famous for playing two cup finals on the same day kid?

411. yesindyref2

Just had a look at the Express

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f4Mc-NYPHaQ

412. Smallaxe

Fred:

You could be correct in your assumption but I’m afraid football wasn’t my reason for being there.

The amateur boxing nights were good and they had some good bands every so often.I was there one night when Jock Stein got his coat stolen from his car. the word was put around and the coat was “returned” inside a half hour.

You may remember that a certain Mr Thompson (yes that one) had a modicum of influence in that area.

“Nobody’s Fool The Kinks”
    Theme music to Budgie!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2RgIrAyedwA&ab_channel=Pelacanyes%28DavidPanades%29

Peace Always

413. Smallaxe

A call to amalgamate SCOTLAND
    This song is by Albannach and appears on the album Eye Of The Storm (2007).
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EillZOvRm-g&ab_channel=KeithVincent

lYRICS:

You wrapped her up in iron chains
    You thought you’d tied her up
    You placed a ball around her feet
    Thought you’d tame Her
    like a pup
    Your winter winds so dry, aye
    You stripped her back so bare
    And then u looked her in the eye
    And said “it’s only fair”

Now is it any wonder why
    We treat you like we do
    You strut about your mansions like
    You didnae have a clue

But you know who you are, Aye
    And you know what you’ve done
    So don’t act so innocent
    When we rise and end your fun

What will you do when the drought comes forth
    And you cannae bleed the north
    What will you do when your lakes dry up
    Will you turn and beg your pup

What will you do when your houses freeze
    With nay oil in your seas
    Aye will you turn in blind ignorance
    And beg forgiveness, please

So maybe now you realise
    Just how you treated Her
    Cause now She’s mighty and She’s strong
    It’s too late to right your wrongs

But maybe in the future, Aye
    She’ll free you from your shame
    And then you’ll look in awe of Her
    Aye, Scotland is Her name

Cause then you’ll look in awe of Her
    Aye, Scotland is Her name.

Peace Always

414. Smallaxe

Albannach – The Fire and Thunder of Scotland
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2DF-pIojGME&ab_channel=coasttvscotland

Peace Always

415. Macart

@Nana

If you’re reading Nana, I hope you’re looking after yourself and getting that much deserved rest in.

Take care of yourself, or I’ll get grumpy. πŸ˜‰

416. Smallaxe

Macart:

Are you calling me “Grumpy”?
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

417. Nana

@Macart

I will take it easy Sam, difficult though it is!

Have posted a few links on main thread which I thought were worth a squint.

@Smallaxe You doing ok??

418. Macart

@Smallaxe

Maybe… πŸ˜€ and it’s a waste of time telling Nana to take a well earned rest anyway. (sigh)

She’s back on main thread.

419. Macart

Oh, Hi Nana

We were just talking about you… (cough)

420. Fred

@ Smallaxe, I kent Mr Thompson by sight only!
    Anent St Rochs, I think they won their final in the morning then went for a pub-lunch before losing the second in in the afternoon! πŸ™‚

421. Tinto Chiel

Yesindyref2: you’re such a tease! I can’t wait until the 26th.

Parley-vous Klingon?

πŸ˜€

422. Smallaxe

Nana:

Good to see you back, please take it easy.No prizes for dourin’ it oot!xx
    Macart:
    πŸ˜‰

Peace Always

423. Smallaxe

Fred:

I knew the man well, I used to drink in the Provanmill inn, he did me a couple of (legal) favours that were returned with thanks and never any problems.

Peace Always

424. Smallaxe

Tinto:

tlhIngan maH, wo’ batlhvaD!

Live Long and Prosper

425. Nana

@Smallaxe

I’m trying to be good, but I keep finding really useful stuff and I just can’t help myself from posting.

It’s a real pain having to keep taking the support strapping off and on. The wee dug thinks it’s a new game!

426. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: are you sure that’s what that means? I said that to a young lady from Airdrie at a Comcon meeting and I got whacked. Think I omitted a conditional suffix or chose the wrong pitch.

Nana, when you said on the MT you were putting on strappings I thought it was the boxing gloves next because of Smallaxe’s unfortunate “Badger-Nadger” faux pas. Fear not: I shall take him under my wing and set him on the strait path of righteous behaviour.

Btw, do you put any milk in your white puddings?

427. Smallaxe

Nana:

Excuse the delay in answering please but I’m back to living in the land of the zombies.

My wife wears one of those things occasionally with the metal straps for support, she says it’s a bloody nuisance also.I just hope that she never takes a swing at me whilst wearing it.

Take care xx
    Peace Always

428. Smallaxe

Tinto:

When I wrote live long and prosper, it was meant as a substitute for Peace Always, not a translation!

You can’t question a young lady on the condition of her testicles and expect to get away with it by saying it in a different pitch!

Peace Always

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.