Under the Ridge

Posted on March 28, 2017 by

One of the favourite sneering Unionist memes of the independence referendum was the mocking dismissal of claims by some Yes supporters that there might be “secret oil fields” in a location off the west of Shetland known as Clair Ridge.

So amused were the Unionists by this notion that they were still sniggering about it regularly years after the referendum, right up to earlier this month.

Curiously, they’ve gone a little quieter in recent days.

The potential existence of a large untapped field was discussed back in the summer of 2014 in a story by journalist Michael Gray published by Business For Scotland:

The piece specifically identified the supposed area as the small “Lancaster” field owned by Hurricane Energy. Which by a remarkable coincidence is the exact location of what today’s Daily Record describes as the “largest UK find of the century”.

“Exploration specialists Hurricane Energy said up to one billion barrels of oil could lie in the untapped Greater Lancaster area, 60 miles west of Shetland. The discovery is larger than finds in recent years, which have been about 25 million barrels.”

(“Larger” is quite a feat of understatement there. It’s about 40 times larger.)

The amount of oil recoverable from the field is yet to be definitively established. But it’s just one tiny speck in Scotland’s oceans. That might be worth keeping in mind the next time the No camp howls its mockery over any suggestion that Scotland might not be the hopeless economic basket case they desperately need to present it as.

We’ll say no more than that.

502 to “Under the Ridge”

1. Fred says:

For the tossers who never wanted the bridge in the first place, the bridge is early, very early!

2. Lenny Hartley says:

Derrick fae yell can u tell me on what constitutional grounds Shetland can seek independence from Scotland?
    As far as I am aware it is part of Scotland and has as much right in International law to break away from Scotland as Arran , that btw is zilch. And temporary invasions by Norse people won’t cut it either.

3. Old Highlander says:

The Transocean 712 platform has just left the Cromarty Firth under tow into the Moray Firth and is heading for the North East of Shetland.

4. Ray Visino says:

An earlier oil revenue paid for the M25, Westminster will already have their eye on this.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,966 Posts, 1,248,734 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on Believers In The Ruins: “Pointless. Murrell endorses superglue for Scotland. Don’t be fobbed off with inferior substitutes.Aug 16, 17:21
    • Hatey McHateface on Believers In The Ruins: “C’moan Confused. Dae Restore next! Then the Jews aboot 9 PM after the second boattle kicks in. It’s nae lik…Aug 16, 17:19
    • robertkknight on Believers In The Ruins: “Hammer meets nail. Farage would sell his own Granny for glue.Aug 16, 16:34
    • twathater on Believers In The Ruins: “Keep on telling it like it is confused , don’t let the middle class claimants put you offAug 16, 15:40
    • Hatey McHateface on Believers In The Ruins: “Light cannot exist without darkness? So if I turn on a bright light in a dark room, I can’t turn…Aug 16, 15:01
    • Hatey McHateface on Believers In The Ruins: “Sorry, TURABDIN, you may not be fully up to speed with the lunacy here. Burnham is simultaneously letting real criminals…Aug 16, 14:54
    • Hatey McHateface on Believers In The Ruins: “Hands up now! How many alert readers have twigged that a fatberg can’t ever know what a phallus is!Aug 16, 14:46
    • Captain Caveman on Believers In The Ruins: ““An appalling post stuffed full of ignorance and bile” Welcome to Confused.Aug 16, 13:43
    • James on Believers In The Ruins: “Adrian; noted and acknowledged. Meanwhile, as predicted the site phallus appears just like clockwork….. But you’re the one doing all…Aug 16, 13:26
    • Spartan 117 on Believers In The Ruins: “An appalling post stuffed full of ignorance and bile, aside from the closing point about the BBC and the Western…Aug 16, 13:20
    • Southernbystander on Believers In The Ruins: “TURABDIN, If there is irony there it is covered in too much of the blank variety, and so has become…Aug 16, 12:53
    • Confused on Believers In The Ruins: “er, the point I was making about “things can always get worse” – https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/cz977nxww1jo the main reason people hit the…Aug 16, 12:24
    • TURABDIN on Believers In The Ruins: “THE SCOTTISH ANTISYZYGY PARADOX AND PHYSICS. Understanding Oppositional Forces in Physics Fundamental Principles In physics, the concept of “opposites attract”…Aug 16, 12:01
    • Captain Caveman on Believers In The Ruins: “@Alf Well, there’s only one person around here “in perpetual darkness of their Colonial Echo Chamber®”, Alf – as you…Aug 16, 11:46
    • Jay on Believers In The Ruins: “Hi 100%, i typed in all those characters but youtube and this tablet do not communicate. Was keen to see…Aug 16, 11:39
    • Hatey McHateface on Believers In The Ruins: “I think Burnham shouldn’t have been daft enough to threaten people flouting the disposable barbecue rule with prison. Even if…Aug 16, 11:20
    • Hatey McHateface on Believers In The Ruins: “Odd hoo mony times I post tae Northy and you reply, Alf. Or vice versa. Here’s an echo I just…Aug 16, 11:11
    • Hatey McHateface on Believers In The Ruins: “We can all see and understand those cases where a cold blooded killer is arrested, charged, tried and sentenced, and…Aug 16, 10:46
    • 100%Yes on Believers In The Ruins: “@ alurker and everyone else link to this conversation. Lets say for arguments sake, that Scotland doesn’t exist anymore just…Aug 16, 10:34
    • Alf Baird on Believers In The Ruins: “Here is a wee bittie licht for yersel an ithers Hatey, in the perpetual darkness of your colonial echo chamber:…Aug 16, 10:22
    • Alf Baird on Believers In The Ruins: ““These must be English elections in Scotland seeing as the English parliament was not dissolved 3 hundred years ago.” True,…Aug 15, 21:59
    • Aidan on Believers In The Ruins: “For once I have to agree with James, there are no jurisdictions to my knowledge where the death penalty is…Aug 15, 21:42
    • James on Believers In The Ruins: “Well said, Grace. “…When are we going to bring back the death penalty…” they wail. If they could, they could…Aug 15, 21:20
    • Hatey McHateface on Believers In The Ruins: “Civil servants in Scotland comprise two groups, those working for the devolved government, and those working on reserved function, I.e…Aug 15, 18:10
    • Hatey McHateface on Believers In The Ruins: “Any evidence that TA is the paedo stronghold? It’s quite a claim really, although perfectly aligned with the historical tropes…Aug 15, 17:44
    • Hatey McHateface on Believers In The Ruins: “A resonance chamber collapse is greatly preferable to a chamber pot fracture. If I were to be serious, I’d say…Aug 15, 17:38
    • sam on Believers In The Ruins: “@ alurker Thanks for the link further up the thread.Aug 15, 17:34
    • Hatey McHateface on Anatomy Of A Grift: “Arday is dead. But as Northy’s post shows, pseudo-intellectual, pretentious gobbledegook lives on. I’m confident my claim will resonate with…Aug 15, 17:29
    • aLurker on Believers In The Ruins: ““Who says what and Why? “…Scotland is a nation and voluntarily entered union with England as a partner and not…Aug 15, 16:44
    • Aidan on Anatomy Of A Grift: “I doubt it, they’ll probably make you drink “James’” bath water.Aug 15, 15:12