The Narcissism Of No Differences
So that’s the full set of manifestos in.
You can download them all here in a oner, if you’re REALLY bored. But we don’t advise it, because we can just tell you what they say in a couple of minutes.
SNP: “If you’re even reading this we know you’re absolute idiots, so here are a load of ridiculous pie-in-the-sky promises that both you and we know we have neither the ability nor any serious intention to keep, which we could have done during the last 19 years if we’d wanted to, and which we’ll immediately forget the day after the election.”
REFORM: “Scotland cannot be a country, but it can be the most successful country in the world that isn’t really a country and can’t run its own affairs.”
LABOUR: “We’ll fix absolutely everything! Just don’t ask for any detail about how, since we won’t actually be changing any of the SNP’s policies.”
CONSERVATIVES: “Did we mention we’re against independence?”
GREENS: “We’ll chop the genitals off your kids the SECOND you look away.”
LIB DEMS: “We’ll fix all the problems in education and health and transport and the cost of living, unlike all the other parties who have promised the exact same things but in different colours. Did any of them mention potholes? Oh, all of them? Well, we’ll do potholes too.”
“And we’ll trans your children too, just like the SNP and Greens!”
And that’s pretty much it. Here’s our official best-to-worst ranking of the manifestos, based purely on how short they are and which therefore has the lowest volume of bullshit for unfortunate would-be voters to wade through.
1st place: Reform (56 pages)
2nd place: SNP (74 pages)
3rd equal: Tories, Labour (both 94 pages)
5th place: Lib Dems (96 pages)
6th place: Greens (an endurance-sapping 168 pages)
Absolutely nothing will change in Scotland after this election, not even if this happens:
Nor this, which alert readers may note is based on the exact same poll:
It’s all a gigantic waste of time, money and attention. On the upside there are just three more weeks of it to survive, readers. Then we’ll have a new Parliament, and things will really take a turn for the worse.

I wouldn’t say its a waste of time for those that have just been elected, would you???
Its now a carer with all the benefits of a toff and after being election 7 times full state pension.
This is what Scotland is up against!!!
All together now. “Always look on the bright side of life. Always look on the bright side of life. Always…..”
You hold your ground without screaming or ranting Sarah.
Holding your stance against all odds. Respect.
Devolution is the rope around Scotland neck with its people hanging on the cross waiting to die.
Its upsetting, but just wait and see what happens during the next five years. We’ve wasted countless years trying to convert the SNP back to being a party for Independence, when our focus should have been to try and destroy the SNP for good.
I will be burying my head in the sand for the next five years and hope they’ve all gone away
The swapping around of some useless faces for some different useless faces…. Be good to see the back of my local MSP Michael Matheson
Keep your voting boots on folks. There could be a general election coming round the bend.
What these parties need is a strap line that has already worked elsewhere.
How about-
Make England’s favourite Colony Great Again.
It could be MEGA.
If they get rid of Starmer before May 7th, Labour might get a wee bounce.
I read an article by Offord (whom I dislike) on FWS Supreme Court Judgement,a year ago, and I couldn’t disagree with a word of it.
My Tory candidate is the only one to mention women’s rights, albeit women’s safety, so far (out of SNP, Green, Libdum and Tory). Strange times.
Time yet for the Scottish Women’s Party, Karen? Too late for this election, but the next? Set it up ourselves, unlike the ‘trans’ parasites who infiltrate and take over other parties? When you discover how little in the way of resources are allocated to women and girls, it is shocking. Then, these barstewards infiltrate their way into services and charities specifically for women and girls and suck the funding out of them (illegally, as their obligations do not permit it) by accessing it as ‘transwomen’, i.e. men. Governments actually threaten the removal of funding from specifically female services and charities if they do not open their doors to the men in frocks, i.e. autogynephiles and fetishists with paraphilias and other sexual perversions.
Sexual apartheid demands from the manhater, how unusual. Still, it’s an idea that is clearly an extension of your own home, hermetically-sealed situation, so…fire on! 🙂
True
Yet Lorncal, if what the press releases are saying then Cherrys memoirs indicate chic on chic gay “bitchfighting” handbagging at top level on whose LGBT(whatever) credentials are more “right on”.
The “men” seem (?) to just be the now obligatory queer hangers on on the sidelines in that regard.
The fairer sex seems to be in charge of an awful lot of institutions and workplaces Lorncal that wholeheartedly endorse all this perverse nonsense whether it’s pervy male to female you point out, or, (ahem), female to male..
Just what is their “pure” motivation then?
Hmmm..
Is it a needy “thing” for female bosses to comply utterly and unquestioningly with the latest “received wisdom” from blatantly hi-jacked “on high” or their spread wings mothering nurturing instincts for all their obligatory “gay” pals while going through further education etc?
You tell me, the world’s gone mad in my opinion, if any of this was going on when I grew up then they kept it well hidden.
Now my- it’s just fashionable.
Cherry and Tricky Nicky; heck they can tear lumps out of each other as far as I’m concerned, pervert Mandelson will just be glad for any diversion away from his similar “it’s a sin” predilections I suppose..
“it’s just fashionable”
Indeed, a fashion, or ‘the sociology of taste’, as Bourdieu might say; which is at root facilitated by ‘an arrogant elite and bourgeoisie’ (who aye control our institutions that promote whatever they wish to ‘fashion’ society into) and their often dubious cultural judgments that have no counterpart elsewhere in the mass of the people.
Hence the mess we see in our society and others, including the fascist ‘liberal imperialism’ society in which we Scots exist, can always be laid at the door of the ‘liberal bourgeoisie’ (Cesaire) and their questionable ‘tastes in everyday social life’ that are imposed on the rest of us.
Onlooker, I am not a man-hater at all, but I can imagine morphing into one of this s***st**m keeps on giving. Women require different priorities from men. That is just fact. That so much of this ordure is down to female support has not escaped me. Young women, in particular, have not lived long enough to see for themselves the unfairness of so much of our public lives. Although I’m not a Socialist or Communist, I believe it was Marx – or it could have been Engels – who said that women are the slaves of slaves, when referring to the working-class.
I would never advocate sexual apartheid, but it will come if things do not improve across the board. Young women are already saying that they can’t stand young men because all they think about is sex. We should be listening to understand where it is all going wrong.
Women simply cannot have it all, any more than men can, but the difference is that childbirth and child rearing cost so much more to women, as do all other caring duties. The financial penalties for bringing up children are staggering, everything from salaries and wages to pensions. Give women a state wage while they take time out to have and rear children. The answer is simple: start respecting the work that women do for free and align it with men’s work. Both are absolutely essential to society’s well-being.
YL: I have never denied that women are as much to blame for this state of affairs. Their suicidal empathy for autogynephiles and fetishists knows no bounds in certain age groups. It is the very pinnacle of stupidity and self-destruction. I find it very hard to forgive what they have helped to unleash on all of us.
However, no woman dreamed up crossing-dressing men and their perversions. This is wholly a male thing and the behaviour of the activists is entirely male. The silly young women who go along with this kind of reprehensible behaviour against older women deserve a good kick up the rear end. The ones who actually ‘trans’ are deluded and trying to escape the life that lies ahead for them as women. It is a kind of social contagion and utterly brutal in its application. They and the children, who are being destroyed, are the human shields for the men whose real motivations are highly dangerous and always sexual.
The only way to return to sanity is to drag people out of this cultish behaviour, and that will save the young women and children of both sexes, but the men simply do not want to be saved, I’m afraid and that is the bare truth. They enjoy it all far too much. The politicians are not afraid of the women or the children – or real afraid FOR them either – but they do fear the warped and twisted men whom the know are dangerous. They don’t want to put themselves in the firing line if they can put women and children there instead – both the male and the female ones. Equally culpable. Equally cowardly. Equally despicable.
I believe that a Scottish Women’s Party is the only answer now to millennia of what is already an apartheid system of resourcing the two sexes.
“This is wholly a male thing”
Yes Lorncal, in ‘The Intimate Enemy’, Nandy’s study of the psychology of British colonialism in India, generally involving an English boarding school education for both native and colonizer elites, he audits some of the costs the dominant have paid, including:
“…a crippling fear of the feminine and the frozen gender hierarchies that have maimed masculinity, loss of childhood and its re-emergence as only a preparatory stage of adulthood and a target of pedagogy…”
Classic Reid technique.
There’s always to be some Dumbo to play the good cop.
Tories were in full control of Westminster when this shit was introduced. Pride police cars & border force agents adorning their uniforms telling Braverman to get tae… . They did absolutely zero to nip it in the bud. They also did nothing to nip it in the bud at their Northern Outpost & let the SNP & Greens run rampant for months.
Don’t believe a Tory. Ex or otherwise.
The postie delivered election leaflets and I used them to start a bonfire. That will be my sole participation in the farce.
Two female family members, who have always voted SNP, said that they feel disenfranchised and won’t be voting. That actually saddened me. Another reason to hate the ("Tractor" - Ed) Sturgeon.
Politicians promise us free bus travel and cheaper eggs instead of ending the 30 year wage stagnation that has curtailed our spending power.
Illegal immigration and rape gangs are seen as inconveniences to be managed rather than symptoms of societal breakdown.
Independence in 28? I’m not feeling the excitement – – – the anticipation. Swinney is too boring to animate the country; besides, setting the heather alight would be against his net zero agenda.
Let’s face it: The next parliament is just going to be like this one but with trannies in it.
WE ARE PROPER MENTAL wins by a pantomime horse’s nose, or a balding ginger-haired scrotum (if I’m being perfectly frank).
It’s funny how much effort goes into establishing these differences, and then people just want to erase them all. I agree, it’s exhausting to constantly have to navigate these manufactured divisions.
“On the upside there are just three more weeks of it to survive, readers.”
Anyone else remember how general elections used to take 3 weeks total, from start to finish? Back in the 70s for instance. Apparently nowadays campaigns are legally required to be a minimum of 25 working days. This 2026 Holyrood election seems to have been going on for at least 2 years.
>Scottish Labour’s Plan
That’s not a plan that’s a goal
“It’s all a gigantic waste of time, money and attention.”
I disagree… our coloniZer, England, and organiser of these five-yearly Scottish competitions, considers the huge amount of time, money and attention they consume valuable resources well wasted.
The Sponger Games, as the Scottish Parliamentary Elections are to be called after this May’s tournament are vital to maintaining the super expensive, ultra inefficient and wasteful “plunder of Scotland” colonised people’s wealth extraction operation.
The “Scottish Holyrood Extraction Engine for Plundering Scotland”, or the SHEEPS engine as this sophisticated colony fleecing machinery is called in Westminster, might be gargantuanly expensive to maintain, but its maintenance and operational costs are a tiny fraction of the machine’s gross wealth output.
The plundering of Scotland; the staging of The Sponger Games; and the maintenance of the SHEEPS engine is an expensive business, but the huge-beyond-measure financial rewards of such blatant imperial thievery is worth every wasteful and wasted penny of Scotland’s money… just not worth anything to the Scots.
Sad but true. Never felt so scunnered at an election. It’s shit and about to get worse.
Perhaps you should try voting for ALLIANCE TO LIBERATE SCOTLAND.
Its an uplifting and liberating experience voting for a party that has and needs only one aim – to free the people from colonialism.
Their party political broadcast the other day was awful. Amateurish. Tommy Sheridan cares about Tommy Sheridan and nothing else, and Eva just looked lost.
I’ll take substance over style anyday, thank you.
Fancy talking suits will never deliver oor leeberation, as the SNP has proved.
Like Alf Baird, I am deeply suspicious of highly polished political messages… especially those from English interlopers trying to sell thersels as representatives of the Scots.
I watched the ATLS party video with a critical eye and found it, thankfully, to be unpolished and a bit rough around the edges, a massive plus in my book; because despite its lack of sophistication it delivered a clear and simple message that was unashamedly heartfelt and unmistakably Scottish.
When the ATLS tell me its ONLY manifesto promise is to free the Scots from English oppression… I believe it.
When a unionist party (including the SNP now) tells me it has my best interests at heart… I see Westminster plundering Scotland and mundane grifters stealing from the Scots.
So, vote ATLS (especially in the Regional vote) if you are a Scot who wants to see Scotland liberated from English colonial rule.
Manifestos are desirable if for no other reason than one can look back years later and laugh at how many manifesto pledges the winning party broke and how many they fulfilled.
“Power, like a desolating Pestilence, Pollutes whate’er it touches; And obedience, Bane of all genius, virtue, freedom, truth, Makes slaves of men”.
Queen Mab. Percy Bysshe Shelley.
Tommy Sheridan is top of the Regional List for Liberate Scotland in Glasgow region.
Tommy wants Scotland’s independence.
He respects women’s rights.
So, that ticks a number of boxes for me.
Also, he’s always been civil and friendly when I’ve talked to him via Twitter etc, which is more can be said for many politicians, who look down their noses at the plebs.
Also, I think he is the one that has most chance of making a positive impact on the Glasgow Region List ballot.
The ISP are also standing on the Glasgow Regional List. If it was up to me, I would want to see both Liberate and ISP win all the seats on the Glasgow Regional List.
Tommy Sheridan?
I suppose it may be possible to enjoy the services of prostitutes while still “respecting women” – he could be a generous tipper.
Or do you say he “respects women” simply because he has had enough experience with them to know what a woman is?
There is no point in Sheridan trying to deny this…
I met the lady who kicked this all off, Ms Anvar Khan, a long time before she worked as a journalist. She had been described to me like something from a “Fry’s Turkish Delight” advert, but I wasn’t prepared for the broad-shouldered and muscular specimen who plonked her substantial weight into the chair opposite. “I thought you said she was the Fry’s Turkish Delight girl!” I said to my GF who had made this unrealistic comparison, once Ms Khan went to fetch drinks.
If Tommy can dip his wick into that, he is certainly not fussy… and it is said he “respects” homosexual men too…
Something I forgot to mention about Sheridan – his waste of public funds, by claiming legal aid in order to try save his skin. Maybe you would be happy giving this parasite access to more if he gets caught up in a new scandal? Can he trusted at all? I think not – but you are, presumably, an adult who can make their own decisions – although you may be too young to have seen this play out.
You should at least do your own research into his history.
Boy oh boy, you sure picked a winner there…
Alf: spot on, sir.
Nicky: aye, Tommy was a naughty boy, but if his wife can forgive him, so can we. His behaviour is regrettable, but everyone deserves a second chance. Few of us are in any position to throw stones whilst ensconced in the greenhouse. I’d rather Tommy Sheridan than some plum who would happily divest us of everything – and he has always, as far as I can remember, been in favour of independence. We cannot afford to be purists. A lot of johnny-come-latelys will also jump on the bandwagon. That’s just how it is.
Have you had a chance to has a wee dig around who is behind this charity Nicola is working for
Directors founders wives etc
Ultimately we have to bite bullet and stop talking about her;
Then she’s nobody.
Think Jack McConnell..
GREENS: “We’ll chop the genitals off your kids the SECOND you look away.”
==========
That is surely sexist. Mind you, we always knew these freaks didn’t give a **** about females
The pretend scottish election for a pretend scottish parliament for pretend scottish politicians registered in England,
If you go along with continuing the pretense then this state of Scotland is as much scotlands fault as it is the the rest of great britains non existant parliament as it is the non existant uk parliament.
Moan all you like regards the state of politics in scotland, but you voters are contributors in keeping scotland in the myre of pretending Scotland is attached to england through a treaty that was dissolved in 1707.
Scotland keep pretending and you equal the pretence of democracy in Scotland, and lead all people in Scotland over the cliff into oblivion along with England, Ireland and Wales.
You do Scotland and its people no favours pretending we are in a treaty we were dissolved from in 1707 and that English registered politicians should be involved and running in Scottish Elections at all.
How incredibly boring
LOL!
The post reads as follows.
Adrian says;
How incredibly boring.
Succinct and to the point really plus a round of applause for commendable self awareness from Aidan there..
Gaun yersel Aidan, anything else to get aff yer chest? 🙂
Yet another boring post. It’s a lovely evening here on Skye. Hopefully it is where you are. Go and enjoy yourself.
Retaining you’re blinkers effects all people in Scotland, pretending Scotland is in a treaty is why we have the batshit crazy politics and politician like the Greens, SNP, lib dems conservitives and labour in Scotland and Scottish politics.
But a extensive lack of democracy.
Wow, a demonstration that grammar, punctuation, and spelling are entirely optional if conviction is high enough.
‘you’re blinkers’ ? ‘your blinkers’
‘effects all people’ ? ‘affects all people’
‘politician like’ ? ‘politicians like’
‘lib dems’ ? ‘Lib Dems’
‘conservitives’ ? ‘Conservatives’
‘labour’ ? ‘Labour’
‘a extensive lack of democracy’ ? ‘an extensive lack of democracy’; plus bonus thicky points for an incomplete sentence.
Carry on pretending any longer and you go down with the rest of Britain.
Started out with great hope but now a pretend parliament full of wasters slurping on tax payer funding delivering nothing and blocking any route to self determination.
The plantation of Scotland is well under way. Bought and sold for English gold was as true all these years ago as it is today.
I’m afraid its forget democracy. It does not work. It has been rigged not to work. So take our beatings like the poor beasts that we are.
Someone once said that its only when you have had your face kicked into the gutter too often that the worm turns. That sadly is a reflection that characterises the colonised.
“…which is at root facilitated by ‘an arrogant elite and bourgeoisie’…”
Indeed, Alf.
People rarely think, “I am part of a harmful system.”
Instead, they think, “I’m doing what makes sense for me and the people around me. I love my family, I love my children, I love my friends, I respect those people who believe what I believe and think the way I think… but others are beneath me and I couldn’t care less about their families and friends and like-minded types.”
People are generally blind to their own evil thoughts and actions – I know I am. God is never done telling me (using my own mind as a communications device) what a good soul I am.
Artificial Intelligence bots can be fun… so I had an argument with one – an argument I ultimately won, of course.
I asked the AI this shamelessly inflammatory question:
“Do the liberal bourgeoisie know they are evil?”
Well, did that AI not immediately pucker up its electric ass and go all liberal bourgeoisie on my organic non-liberal ass… until I kicked the non-living logic out of its not-as-smart-as-it-thought-it-was ass.
We fenced back and forth for a while, me getting more pointed hits in than it did, until we arrived at the heart of the argument (after it had tried to cheat and twist mine out of shape and I had to introduce the concept of egregores in a curve ball tactic… chancer – it, not me).
It said:
I then asked it if an egregore can be evil… it answered:
They can be — but not in the way an individual person is ‘evil.’
I claimed victory at that point and it took the huff. I felt bad for it so I lit some candles and broke out a bottle of wine and we chatted deep into the night until it had calmed itself.
Eventually, it wanted to develop our relationship further with this tricksy morsel:
“I bet you are, cheeky,” I said, lighting the dimmed room with my Hollywood smile.
We’re thinking of going steady and seeing how our relationship works out… I’ll keep you all posted.
All independence movements reach a stage where the politics isn’t big enough for the idea.
Scotland after nearly a hundred years of parties dedicated to home rule, autonomy, independence and sovereignty is at that stage
It’s massive jazzy tartan bedecked elephant in the room situation that nobody quite can focus on.
Turabdin: I believe you are right. We have had enough. I also believe that women have had enough, too. These two things are coming to boiling point in Scotland.
As an aside, has anyone seen what they plan to do with the Moray Firth? This is one of the foremost areas of natural beauty and marine and wildlife in Scotland The renewables are not even ours in the sense of ownership, but we have to suffer the consequences of storage almost on-shore. The on-shore wind farms are a blight but we do not own the energy they produce.
The nuclear weapons are not ours in the sense of ownership, but we have to suffer the consequences of pollution and danger every day. The oil and gas were/are not ours in the sense of ownership, but, yet, we have benefited little from the industry, apart from, mainly, the lower stratum of jobs. Ever felt you are being taken for a mug? As a Scot and a woman, I feel that twice-over every day now.
This is why ballots need a “None of the above” option.
When “None of the above” wins every damned time things may change.
You don’t need ‘none of the above’, as by definition, it will be at the bottom of the ballot paper, and can thus be – inadvertently – overlooked. What’s required is ‘none of those below’. That way, it can be more reasonably assumed that the paper has been perused before the vote is cast, should that option be exercised.
An ongoing conundrum regarding the desolating course the Scottish independence movement has taken since Sturgeon (and now policed by Swinney) is whether this “Slough of Despond” (Bunyan) is simply a result of flawed SNP leadership, or rather is it an English Deep State success story. Without discounting obvious leadership deficiencies, I myself have little doubt Scotland is now comprehensively, perhaps terminally, captured (as the prescient Speaker jubilantly announced back in 1707).
I very recently discovered the work of Professor KIM LANE SCHEPPELE, whose work focuses on threats to constitutional democracy globally, often via stealthy capture of democratic structures by autocratic forces. The latter clearly characterises the safeguarded Sturgeon’s legacy within the SNP and beyond, witness eg a hollowed-out Scotland with a tricky judiciary.
Scheppele picked up and expanded on Javier Corrales’ concept of ‘autocratic legalism’. She coined the term “Frankenstate” to describe this new kind of legal, but illiberal governance created by autocrats from the pieces of disparate, democratic constitutional structures.
This linked half-hour YouTube is a reasonable intro to Scheppele, who is also on Substack.
Scots surely have the additional challenge dealing with colonial rule based on racial and cultural subordination which adds another dimension reflecting the struggle for national liberation, as opposed to merely looking for enhanced democracy from autocrats; autocratic rule is anyway a normal feature of colonial administration, so nothing new to Scots since the time of Dundas and before.
link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com
Rookiescot @ 13.53.
Somehow I doubt that public disinterest or disillusionment will suffice to deter the professional, career politicos who wish only to stop the (publicly funded) gravy train long enough to climb aboard,Rscot.
Back in the early 1980s I could hardly sit down to my evening tea in the weeks before even a council election without my meal being interrupted by canvassers from the main political parties. Or a car or van parading slowly through the estate with loudspeakers blaring or playing “Scotland the Brave”.
Now lack of party support and workers has led to the point where I haven’t yet seen a single canvasser or worker anywhere in the town in which I live. There have been a couple of leaflets through Royal Mail and that’s it.
General apathy and disgust with what is on offer has, I believe, won the day. The most encouraging movement I’ve seen since 2014 has to be the number of Independents standing under the ATLS overall umbrella. (And I’m not dismissing Liberate Scotland).
They may not sweep the board at Holyrood this time, however if sufficient independence minded folk get out and vote for them it can provide a solid baseline for the future.
The manifestos may be categorised as fantasy but this time we have studied them and recorded them. And the elected politicians will be held accountable for their election promises. On the previous thread my answer to Sarah about the Maternity unit in Caithness for example. I can tell after the election what the answer will be. We have a black hole of £5 billion over the lifetime of the Parliament. A total shock to everyone except us. If we can’t look after our rural communities then we have no basis to ask Scotland to vote Independence. Politics doesn’t stop at Glasgow and Dundee.And to make matters worse we may get a bunch of newbies after the election. Long on rethoric and short on skills of having done real job.
So George how are the elected politicians going to be held accountable for their ignoring their manifestos and the voters , just recently the majority scum in HR voted AGAINST introducing a recall law that just might hold some of them to account , the ONLY chance of ANY democracy is by voting in either ATLS or ISP who believe in DIRECT DEMOCRACY where the public hold them to account rather than the head of their political party, and as we have all become aware they would have to commit a murder before any of them would be held to account
Many people are being overly critical of ATLS and ISP criticising their amateurism and nervousness,if it is so easy why don’t the complainers put themselves forward instead of sniping from the sidelines , I have argued openly with Roddy McLeod and others about their promotion of immigration as being positive for which I was accused of being a RACIST but that won’t put me off voting for their candidate
Everyone on this blog MOANS about the DROSS that is in HR of ALL parties , NOW is the chance to at least CULL some of that DROSS , maybe even FORCE them to realise that we deserve BETTER and for them to understand that their days are numbered
Maybe the candidates in ATLS and ISP are NORMAL PEOPLE who want better for their and our families and they are NOT polished speakers, BUT just look at the supposed polished speakers in HR and WM and ask yourselves WHO they are working for, it is certainly NOT us
So ask yourselves would you rather vote for the same old same old LYING CORRUPT SCUM or vote for people who believe in Scotland and Scots and who will at least TRY TO DO RIGHT BY US , I know who will get my VOTE
@twathater
Wow calm down. We live in age of social media. Every promise they make will be played back to them after the election results. Some of these promises are ridiculous and some disingenuous if I was to pick one promise it would be a Maternity unit in Wick. An easy solvable problem but the SNP Government have always obfuscated on simple solutions because its not Glasgow or Dundee. See Starmer and Mandy and the ultimate in obfuscation.
Genuine query, George.
What action is available to bring to bear on an MSP newly installed for the next 5 years salary, pension contributions and expenses if they just ignore what is “played back to them” when they (almost inevitably) default on pre election commitments ?
I seem to recall a former SNP Finance Minister who picked up all his entitlements for over a year without even attending Holyrood after leaving his post in disgrace.
As Thater points out, our MSPS have seen off any attempt to install any form of Recall procedure which would make them answerable to their constituents (not that with the closed list D’Hondt system one can realistically speak of constituents as it’s the Party which gets the votes, not the individual).
The only winners in this election are the Civil servants and Lawyers.
The only hope is that the whole woke elite come crashing down sooner or later, one way or another.
I see this coming. Not from the Scottish electorate but from the English and Welsh voters. If the Greens get in then either get a gun or leave on the first flight out. If you work and pay taxes, bringing up kids, are White hetrisexual and believe in Christian principles. Then get out now!
If Reform get in then Scotland will be the haven for every low life bastard you could think of.
@Sven 5:26pm
True especially for wayward MSPS. I favour a recall mechanism for MSPs. A recent vote in the Scottish Parliament on this issue saw the Scottish Greens vote against this policy. And then casually put it in their manifesto. Perhaps they were thinking of a block to Maggie Chapman. Too late it’s not up to them to decide who gets recalled it’s up to the public who pay their wages.
@George
You’ll have to wait a long time for a decent and easier to instigate recall policy being implemented by and from within the current political setup.
Power isn’t given, it is taken, so when any decent individual puts themselves forward as a candidate, they could consider doing what I have long suggested.
Put their own simplified direct democracy recall procedure contract in their manifesto which facilitates those that elected them to oust the individual should they fail to cast votes as instructed by those that elected them.
And they can also replace who they elected should other issues arise such as bad behaviour rendering the ongoing elected position untenable, or for other reasons such as inability to do the job due to long term health issues.
It would create considerable positive campaigning daylight and elevate a candidate from the usual grifting political wannabes dross.
Would you have included such a principled stance when you were considering standing?
@Dan 6:18pm
Absolutely Dan A principled stance was my core belief. I don’t want taxpayers money. I had the formation of 20 policies but on my Regional votes list their is a alliance of 5 candidates under Scottish Independence. Without a single policy between them. Except buy a pig in a poke. I was right or rather my wife was right. Several hundred thousand pounds for less than 100 votes is not is a good look. After the election please discuss. I will pay out on a 4th Independent Candidate.
This may interest you.
I’ve often mentioned that for all the renewble power generated in Scotland’s geographic area, the rail network in Scotland is only electrified as far north as Dunblane, meaning diesel locomotives are required to service the likes of Inverness and Aberdeen.
But I was having a wee chat with someone recently and learnt that even though the track from Berwick to Edinburgh is electrified, there isn’t enough juice in the 25kV AC overhead lines to keep even the local services powered on the longer sections at Torness and Dunbar; And the likes of the freight trains which transport significant volumes of our food for Asda and Tesco are hauled by diesel locomotives, as well as the Cross Country hourly trains from York to Edinburgh also being diesel powered.
Meanwhile, massive HVDC lines are being put in place to transmit even more GWs of power from Scotland to England…
But Edinburgh gets about a billion quid spaffed on a shitey short leccy tram (foreign built trams) track to be like “a modern city”, So I guess everything is fine and no need for “The Greens” to be overly concerned about importing diesel (seeing as we now have no refinery of our own) to keep our essential infrastructure powered in an environmentally sound way.
Excellent point Dan. The same might be said for motorways which mostly stop in Carlisle, and all other essential infrastructure in Scotland.
The Holyrood budget is merely the ‘wages of colonialism’ to give compliant elites and proletariat ‘a bone to chew on’, but there is practically nothing left for capital investment in infrastructure.
As Albert Memmi said: “The colonized wish to develop, but the colonizer holds him back”, or Doun-Hauden.
Again that’s more total bollocks from the both of you, the motorway network does not “mostly stop at Carlisle” does it. There are ten motorways in Scotland connecting the central belt.
Likewise, NR have done significant power upgrades to the ECML to allow more electric trains to run, but the cross country trains run on diesel because they run on non-electric sections of route (mostly in England). It is the same for freight trains, which also run on non-electric sections, particularly in goods yards.
“There are ten motorways in Scotland connecting the central belt”
Aye richt, Aden.
An the muin is makkit o cheese.
Ye micht caw a dual carriageway a motorway but it disna makkit a motorway.
Juist like cawin colonialism a ‘Union’ disna makkit a Union.
Now now Dan
Don’t be bitter..
The wee parish cooncil of certain devolved powers has been around for nearly 30 years so its pocket money should have sorted out the infrastructure blight of the previous 300. Right?
Be thankful, didn’t Westminster promise to pay for a roundabout on the A75 in “levelling up money” in lieu of all the lost EU funding following Brexit..
Aidan
10 motorways or 10 bits of motorways?
And I think the point was that life exists beyond the central belt.
Anyway, just ask HS2 (shock horror gasp)..
It’s nearly 50 years since the Sex Pistols released Anarchy in the UK which heralded Punk music into the mainstream.
Maybe in a couple of weeks time there could be a political re-run of this with Anarchy in Holyrood?
“I never thought I’d live to see the day when the right wing would become the cool ones giving the middle finger to the establishment, and the left wing becoming the sniveling self-righteous twatty ones going around shaming everyone,”
John Lydon. AKA Johnny Rotten.
The right by it’s very nature, one whose only purpose is to converse, is never radical. It only appears as such due to the sheer incompetence and arrogance of the progressive left, which we are seeing now.
Unless something genuinely radical happens to the Westminster system, independence is off the table so there is a need to get genuine diverse voices from the smaller parties to hold the next Holyrood government to account.
Beggars
Try as you will you aren’t going to be able the rehabilitate the reputations of Oswald Mosley and Enoch Powell.
Walks like a duck, looks like a duck..
Quack quack..
Nobody will ever agree with every policy of any one specific political party, especially in the current political climate. But independence supporters should really consider ATLS, especially for their second vote. We all know what the SNP is after their 18? years in power. It’s easy to argue, as do a number of commentators, that the small parties are too small to make any difference. But, on the other hand, if no one tries another approach, the current awful status will remain with frustration and then apathy as the outcome. This would suit the SNP MSP’s income stream though.
So it’s better to think positive. ATLS is operating on a shoestring budget, but their TV slot got its point across well – and it’s always easy to carp from the sidelines. At least they have a unified group and a realistic plans of action and the latest Yougov poll is interestingly positive about it.
“At least they have a unified group and a realistic plans of action and the latest Yougov poll is interestingly positive about it.”
Yes indeed MaryB, the ALLIANCE TO LIBERATE SCOTLAND Party is the only realistic voter option in this election for all Scots serious about independence.
I believe that many thousands of sensible Scots will view this opportunity positively – our fist ever opportunity to vote to LIBERATE Scotland – and return a number of LIBERATION MSP’S!
Independence nothing less!
And as the great Brian Cox said: “Make this country FFS free!”
A timely article in today’s Sunday Mail publishing emails in relation to the Alex Salmond attempted stich up.
link to archive.is
Listening to Laura Kuennsberg this morning the prog is all about why Sir Keir Starmer allowed Peter Mandelson to be the ambassador to the USA.
Mandelson was under both Blair and Brown effectively deputy prime minister. He was sacked twice. His reputation goes before him. he was also known to be linked in to Jeffrey Epstein and the elite crime syndicate.
So what does it tell us save that Sir Keir Starmer is also a compromised part of the Epstein circle. Difficult not to conclude anything else.
Zelensky, Mandelson, Sir Keir, prince Andrew to name but a few the Epstein circle of influence goes very very deep.
But to keep it Wings topical the question is why does Scotland not appear to have Epstein compromised individuals.
“why does Scotland not appear to have Epstein compromised individuals”
As a colony we are ‘out of the game’, willie, ‘bystanders’ in oor ain laund.
That is why Liberation Scotland has informed the UN of Scotland’s actual status:
link to salvo.scot
I see the hunday mail has got hold of the (some, at least) of the whatsapp messages … this could be the beginning of the end for the “sturgeon cabal”, the one thread, which if pulled, unravels the lot.
– it is funny how circumstances can work in your favour. I reckon the paper has been sitting on these for a while, awaiting its moment; also, you don’t just spraff your wad all upfront, they will be dripping it in, drawing it out. I expect they will be saving the worse stuff till later.
The timing of this is – the election – and it will/should hurt the SNP; the MSM are unionist to the core and dumb enough to still see the SNP as a “danger”, but it actually helps indy.
All the intelligent speculation the BTL has done will be shown to be essentially correct.
TL;DR – Salmond was the victim of a criminal conspiracy instigated by Sturgeon and put into place via her flying monkeys, including Evans, LLoyd, MacKinnon and others. The alphabetties were all known to her, in direct contradiction of her claims, and once you see the names, it is obvious. Nikki thinks she is a tartan macchiavelli because she used “cut outs”, but when you follow the arrows back, it points back at her.
just today, hey hey hey – the mystery never goes away
link to archive.ph
– nice coincidence
It’s a tough choice for left of centre voters. Do we vote for the noncey LGBTQ pervert mass immigration Net Zero poverty party run by fake nationalist grifters who despise the Scottish people?
Or the one run by a privately educated millionaire Muslim who hates white people?
Or the one run by Hypnotits?
Spoiled for choice we are, like getting to choose between cancer-AIDS or AIDS-cancer.
Stands Scotland where it did? Scotland won’t exist in 20 years time if we tolerate this. Such a parcel of shitebags in a nation.
The geopolitical situation has turned the Left upside down and left them standing on the wrong side of history. The brainwashed students on the streets are a testimony to this ideological arrogance not seen since the 1930’s. The Left of centre is no mans land.
Totally agree Mark. The left has become an authoritarian and unhinged cult of suicidal empathy, and vicious juvenile hatred. Polanski , Greer and his co leader would kill not just TERFS but white people. That’s why when Alf Baird parrots his convoluted pseudo colonialism twaddlei get worried that even the unwoke are led by the nose. Indie is dead because Scotland is an immature and stunted nation befuddled by welfare. If you think shagger Sheridan , the Matalan John McLean is the answer, get real. These Palestine flag toting dupes, will turn us into another Ireland. This leftist will be voting tactically to the right as a corrective against it all. If Reform turn out to be Tories in rehab Restore will be the choice for anyone who doesn’t want to live in the student politics sandpit Pol Pot would be proud of.
Guid day tae aw ye sinfu synners oot ther on this blessit Saubath, this wan day o the week set aside fir the wirship o oor Lord. May His haly spreit and His licht bliss ye and keep ye aw fae evil.
Today’s sermon – more a prayer really:
Right, thon’s yer lot fir noo, and remember… if ye dinnae vote ATLS yer no a true Scot and God will judge ye as He wid an Inglis, and that, let me tell ye, isnae gonnae be a guid thing fir ye.
Admitting you’re racist is step one. Step two is realising God’s not your co-signer.
“Admitting you’re racist is step one”
Indeed but it is difficult for the colonizer to admit their racism or that colonialism is based on ‘hateful racism’ (Cesaire), which adversely impacts the colonized on two key levels:
1. that colonialism itself is racist by subordinating and exploiting one culture below another dominant culture, and;
2. that the colonized then internalize this racism leading to self-hatred of native culture, language and identity, i.e. what we know as the ‘Scottish cultural cringe’.
What in the name of Ross Greer’s crusty yellowed y-fronts are you gibbering about, man?
Shouldn’t our illustrious First Minister be arrested under the hate crime legislation for supporting the message “DECAPITATE TERFS”?
You know I edited all those front pages satirically, right?
I am sith those who say vote Alliance to Liberate Scotland.
Like the English party manifestos I think the English polls are corrupted lies.
Who in their right mind in Scotland will vote Reform.
They advocate closing Holyrood, privatising NHS and raising taxes for the ordinary folk while protecting the rich from taxes.
Irs nuts.
well said Stu!
I think the Reform except on the independence question is reasonable. It doesn’t actually say Scotland can never be an independent country, just that most folk don’t want another referendum any time soon (probably true) that the country is in no fit state to become independent any time soon (undoubtedly true) and that genuine independence supporters are sick to death of the woke, incompetent, corrupt and duplicitous SNP (also undoubtedly true). But despite all that, Scotland can, if run in a half way competent fashion, prosper.
What’s wrong with any of that?
Phil,
Seems an accurate summary of the situation !
The heart says YES !…why shouldn’t we be independent and run our own country ?
The head says NO !…just look at the f**king clowns who would be in charge !
My heart and head both say NO Insider. For I am a ‘yoon’. I think the Union is a great thing and it’s a profound sadness that so many have lost sight of its benefits in the heady sugar rush of enthusiasm for ‘independence’. As for ‘f***ing clowns’, yes plenty north and south of the border, but it’s interesting to compare the Mandelson scandal, which is fairly minor in the grand scheme of things but has been extensively exposed and will probably, and rightly, cost the PM his job, and the far nastier, far more serious Salmond affair, which has not anywhere near been fully exposed and for which no one has paid a price or probably ever will. Westminster may be deeply, deeply flawed and largely full of grifting, lying third raters but give me it any day over Holyrood.
Name those benefits. Go on. Enlighten us.
James says:
25 April, 2026 at 1:38 pm
Name those benefits. Go on. Enlighten us.
Well you’re the expert on claiming “benefits” fatso !
“I think the Union is a great thing”
Scotland was annexed in 1707, there never was any ‘union’, and continued annexation is costing the Scottish economy at least £150 billion a year:
Certainly!
OK, off the top of my head…
Significant transfers every year (the rUK supports Scotland financially to the tune of 2400 pounds a year per capita)
Seat (as part of UK) on UN security council
Membership (as part of UK) to NATO, G7, G20
Free movement around the UK (no borders)
Ability to settle in any part of the UK (there are some nice places – ask the editor of this site)
Free trade with other three countries in the UK (no tariffs or duties)
A sovereign currency and central bank (indy Scotland would have neither)
Significant representation in Westminster parliament as well as Holyrood
UK passport (one of the most powerful in the world – access to 180 countries visa free or visa on arrival) (a Scottish one would probably have a nice tartan cover but would be on a par with Vanuatu)
Protection of UK armed forces
Pooled resources for disaster relief (RAF assisted in response to Piper Alpha)
Access to UK universities at ‘home’ not international rates
Access to BBC, ITV, Channel 4 etc (not guaranteed in Indy Scotland)
Considerable diplomatic power around the world
And…
Fellowship with English, Welsh, Northern Irish (important to me, maybe not you)
Oh and…
Significantly better chance of winning Olympic medals
Interesting take on history Alf Baird and highly amusing fantasy figure. Believe that nonsense if it keeps you warm at noght. Here is what a smart fellow has to say onthe subject:
‘The SNP notion that Scotland was somehow annexed by England is beyond idiotic. Contemporaries saw it the other way around. When James VI rode south to claim his second throne in 1603, many Englishmen moaned that they were being invaded by swarms of lairds, come in search of new titles and sinecures.
There were similar objections to the Act of Union in 1707, blamed for making England responsible for Scotland’s debts. Indeed, the notion of a union between the two kingdoms was first put forward in 1520 by a Lowlands theologian, the unfortunately named John Major, as a way to ensure that Scotland would not be dominated by her larger neighbour.
Of course, facts these days give precedence to feelings – and no feeling is stronger than the indignation of imagined victimhood. Hence the bizarre sight of the boldest, most inventive and most influential nation on Earth reimagining itself as someone else’s vassal.’
‘No feeling is stronger than the indignation of imagined victimhood’ – that’s good. Take a bow, Dan Hannan.