Anas Sarwar is a winner
Specifically, of the Single Most Toe-Curlingly, Face-Palmingly Cretinous Thing Said In The 2026 Holyrood Election Campaign, And Possibly Any Election Ever, Prize.
We mean, wow. We could easily write a 1000-word article purely on the top 10 things that are fatuously, obviously idiotic about those three short sentences, and so could you. So imagine how embarrassed the poor Daily Record must be today.
Doubly so because in what must be the weakest and most apologetic endorsement in the history of print journalism, the Record actually backs Sarwar to come second.
To be honest, that makes about as much sense as Sarwar’s absurdly clueless claim that Glasgow football fans, if they can’t win trophies themselves, want to see the other Glasgow clubs do it instead – a beamer right up there with John Swinney claiming to be a massive Hearts fan then not being able to name their captain, or David Cameron getting Aston Villa mixed up with West Ham.
The Record asserts that the SNP won’t win a majority – something which is far from certain – then raises the prospect of an SNP/Green coalition, then promptly ignores it again and suggests that Sarwar could somehow exert significant influence over that government in exactly the same way that he’s utterly failed to do in much the same circumstances for the last five years.
We still haven’t quite worked out how the Record is straining with a straight face to sell the status quo as some sort of “change”. Even if Sarwar took Labour from 3rd to 2nd that’d be a distinction without a difference. If the SNP and Greens can get over the 65-seat majority line, that’s what’ll happen and Sarwar, Malcolm Offord, Russell Findlay and Alex Cole-Hamilton will continue to be the complete irrelevances they’ve been since 2021, watching impotently and whining from the sidelines as the SNP ham-fistedly burn the country to the ground.
If Sarwar came second it’d mean no more than it did when Douglas Ross (remember him?) did it five years ago, and Sarwar is unlikely to have the 31 MSPs that Ross commanded. Indeed, if he has even a shred of decency lurking hidden somewhere in the shallows of his two-dimensional plastic persona he’ll resign by next week if Labour have – as looks an odds-on prospect – failed to make any progress at all during his reign, and in all probability continued their unbroken streak of doing worse at every successive Holyrood election since the first one.
(He’s already pulled off what looked an impossible task in underperforming Kezia Dugdale after she’d produced the most calamitous one-term collapse in the party’s post-devolution history.)
Sarwar has been an epic failure as leader by any measure. He’s done nothing to leave the party in better shape than he found it. It has absolutely no distinct policy platform, pledging only to implement SNP policies slightly better than the SNP, which is a bar so low that it only makes it more incredible that nobody believes it even after the slow-motion trainwreck of governance of the last decade.
Sarwar’s only “strategy” was to sit tight and wait for Buggins’ Turn while the SNP squandered its popularity, a plan which was scuppered by the catastrophic Starmer administration at Westminster torpedoing Labour’s reputation UK-wide and exposing Sarwar’s abject indolence in not carving even a glimmer of a separate identity for the North British branch office that might have acted as a partial firewall against the Prime Minister’s all-consuming toxicity.
(His last-minute ditching of Starmer came across as the desperation it was, and he carried so little weight in Labour that everyone who was supposed to back him up deserted him at the moment of truth.)
But there it is. After backing Labour in 2024 the Record is pretty much stuck with him and has to make the best fist it can of “Vote for our guy to be top of the losers!”, and just imagine the humiliation for all concerned if he doesn’t manage to clear even that nano-hurdle and finishes behind the country’s most-disliked party and leader.
As a microcosm of this accursed election, in which voters don’t really want to vote for anyone and nobody really seems to want to win, it’s pretty on the nose.

Anas desperate to be considered relevant, poor wee arsehole naebody likes or listens to
When Sarwar gets the Order of The Boot, please can we have the promiscuous political party hopping tart, James Kelly from Scot Goes Gravy Train as the First Minger of Scotland?
Stuart Campbell’s stalker has all the qualities needed to replace Anas Sarwar.
Jimmy The Janny can WEAVE funds raised for explicit purposes of running his blog and transform those RINGFENCED blog funds into his magic holiday fund better than Nicola’s Baird. Jimmy can also whinge for the Olympics each time he gets booted out of one political party to another. So he has the Sturgeon sport of throwing friends under a bus up to prize winning standards.
Best of all, Jimmy The Janny just does not understand how his broadcast from Clarty Living Room Midden HQ that we should all vote “SNP 1 + 2” is letting blue and red tories in on the List.
Stuart, perhaps if you did a post with crayons, Jimmy the Janny might understand the D’Hont system?
BEST OF ALL, JAMES KELLY KNOWS HOW TO FIB… HIS VERY LAST EVER FUNDRAISER HASE ENDED. YET HE IS AT IT AGAIN. ANOTHER FUNDRAISER. BUT THIS TIME HE IS BUYING A POLE.
Though that purchase might mean he has to go on holiday to Poland to collect the pole he is currently fundraising for. Again. After he explicitly promised NEVER to run another fundraiser.
He’s never NOT running a fundraiser.
That’s quite a description! It really highlights how some statements just miss the mark completely, doesn’t it?
That would be the Glasgow banter. And The Heart of Midlothian.
Here’s another one. They’ll never steal your flag.
One of AS’ (Alex Salmond) few flaws – he supported the wrong Edinburgh team 😉
Salmond never supported Hibernian
I wonder how much the whopping lie the Vow proved to be and bias Lame duck Labour has seen the Record edge close to oblivion.
Their on-line click bait posts are even more pathetic than the printed offering.
Circulation of the Daily Record dipped below 40,000 last month with the Press Gazette reporting average daily sales during the month of 39,908.
The Glasgow based publisher was selling over 700,000 a day during the peak of Dave Murray’s power in the nineties but it now seems to be a question of just when they are going to pull the plug on print and concentrate on their digital output
Do they buy it in Oldham do you think?
Labour promoting Change, I’m just wondering what is it Scottish Labour can do that British Labour can’t?
I would agree with Mr Sarwar Change is need as people no longer want to be part of a Union that only benefits England. This is the change people are calling out for, I’d call it separation.
Once again over 50% want to leave and the SNP has put it’s self in a black whole it cannot exit from no matter who’s leader of the SNP.
For me this election should have been about Independence not through the internal legal systems but the international legal system, the UKG has given Scotland the perfect reason and yet our Indy newspaper and the biggest political Indy party ignores it entirely. Numerous leaders running the UK have stated quite clearly its a voluntary union and Scotland is free to leave when ever it wants, so why hasn’t this been tested.
Anas says he’s proud to be Scottish but he’s British and its possible to be both, I don’t see that, but what I will say is Anas was born as a British citizens because he as chosen that citizenship himself.
The SNP will say the SNP is stronger for Scotland and yet the change Scotland needs the SNP isn’t interested in given.
We have spent 12yrs listening to utter piss from all the party’s who are elected to Holyrood and to be honest not one of these MSP is worth one of Salmond but he’s gone.
I’m sick and tired of hearing and talking about Independence without anything happening.
What has all these new Indy party’s achieved?
After this election we need to start attacking the SNP on the constitutional question and doing it through Wing, Prism is working but it isn’t having the massive effect we need. We need to start and get behind 1 single Indy party and stop trying to work with the SNP and greens and start attacking them on their record and the only way to do this is through adverts on TV and via bill boards.
Anas, as thick as two short planks.
Which has fallen most over the last twenty years – the Labour vote or the Record’s circulation?
In percentage terms, definitely the latter.
All the parties including SNP saying vote for us to keep reform out when its the SNP who’s going to let reform in.
Please have a look at this and post your thoughts please?
link to thenational.scot
it states “How will you be voting in the Scottish Parliament election” and fails to list all the parties.
Then it states “How will you be voting in the Scottish Parliament election? (Tick all that apply) Who will you be backing on May 7?” and doesn’t list the SNP or any other Pro-Indy party other than the greens.
It doesn’t make any sense at all.
It is difficult to vote for change in Scotland if we persist in voting for Colonial political parties, the submission of Scotland under the thumb by our own actions of box ticking for that Colonial status.
The system used for Scottish voting is the set up by the Anglo Irish parliament guaranteed to get whom you did not vote for,
A colonial hold on Scotland, self inflicted with permission to enter the pretend devolved Scottish governance under the Scotland act,
But whom is Westminster to dissolve the Scottish parliament in 1707 and reinstate a pretend Scottish parliament three hundred years later under a Scotland Act,
This coming forth from the transferred members of the old English into the new brand GB parliament without Scotlands parliament, people and Country attached to England for over three hundred years.
Leaves England as the only parliament of Great Britain and when that was dissolved on 1800 it made the Anglo Ireland parliament agreement without Scotland,
The elections in our Country of Scotland have nothing to do with Scotland being attached to England in any way shape or form,
Other than Scotlands people voting themselves into acceptance of being a Colony without a two way treaty between Scotland and England.
“A former SNP council leader has been jailed for 18 months for sexually assaulting five young men.
Jordan Linden, who stood down as leader of North Lanarkshire Council in 2022 after the allegations emerged, was convicted in March following a seven-day trial.
The 30-year-old was also found guilty of directing unwanted sexual communications towards seven teenagers, the youngest aged 14.
Passing sentence at Falkirk Sheriff Court, Sheriff Christopher Shead also placed Linden on the sex offenders register.”
———————————————–
Just 18 months! Ridiculous.
Added to your testimony I’d like to add he is a bare faced liar, who lost all credibility in his spat Offord, everybody and their Granny knows he do a deal with anyone to get him the FM role , fortunately the good ship Anas will be scuppered by 7pm Friday 8th May and I’d doubt anyone in WM will bat an eyelid.
Scotland needs dentists more than it needs anus sarwar as an msp let alone first minister, the sod should change profession again and be more use to the country.
Swiney rocked up at Cappielow early in this snorefest campaign , alongside nuSnp fanboy Compston. They had a wee photo op on the hallowed turf. Swiney says he’s always had a soft spot for Gourock Mirren Soccer Club… probably .
The least said about Anus the better. He’s still angry that the Daily Rubbish prints on WHITE paper
Anus the Butcher ad betrayer of Grangemouth squeals.
No surprise that the Daily Redcoat would support the Quisling Labour Party and be pissed at Hearts stuffing the Yoon Huns.
No Scots in the starting Hun 11 by the way and only 2 on the bench and one of them a goalie yet 5 5cots in the Hearts starting 11 and another 5 on the bench.
I think everybody who doesn’t support the Ugly Sisters wants Hearts to win the League. We know the Redcoat wanted the Huns to win it though. Oh how bitter and raging they are today. The Toxic Yoon Bears were greetin into their cold porridge.
I don’t see a by-line, other than Anas Sarwar on that Record pish, but, it definitely reads like they’ve let Keith Jackson and or Hugh Keevins loose on the political pages.
Anas Sarwar is an empty vessel, like so many of the candidates standing for the all the parties. The problem with Labour, in Scotland, is that it is still wedded to British Labour and cannot or will not cut the umbilical cord. None of the Unionist parties will do that, so we just go round in ever decreasing circles until we end up securely deposited in our own fundament.
The SNP is no different: it, too, has no idea or determination to cut the ties that bind. Look at Wales and NI and realise that the nationalist parties there in as much of a morass as we are with the SNP. Plaid is a ‘woke’ stronghold, as is Sinn Fein these days. The ‘wokerati’ infiltrated and took over each of the nationalist parties because they were so desperate to be ‘different’ from the Westminster shower. It was their downfall, as it has been the downfall of every party for change in Europe.
Anyone who believes that the ‘wokerati’ will relinquish their grip any time soon is deluded. They all want power in the four constituent parts of the UK, and, if they do, hello hell on stilts, and the very first authentic British totalitarian state will be established. These people are post modernists and have no conception of ‘independence’. They are a movement that is unified across the whole of the West. They are not into separation from the Mothership. Jeez, when are people going to understand that and start to dig them up, root and branch, to save our countries? Even the English would prefer their own independence and a measure of co-operation between them and Scotland, Wales and NI (and Eire) than a totalitarian state. I think.
Labour are finished. They were over the moment they got into bed with Bitter Together. Instead of seizing the chance to reinvent themselves & get back to their roots in an independent Scotland – they doubled down on the stupid. Even more embarrassing for them it was the Tories that loaded the gun & let them shoot themselves with it – right into the political wilderness.
I doubt Indy will ever forget them threatening the sick & pensioners & promising Devo Max/near federalism on the Tories behalf only to renege.
The stupid just continued from there. Admitting devolouton was their biggest mistake, that there’d be no more of it & they’d vote against it – strange because their own poll showed over 70% in support of indy/more devo.
…to being flat out democracy deniers. Then the English eejits started to gob off about how nasty nats needed crushed. Nandy going all Hitler & Thornberry spitting venom..
& Who can forget the Bain principle. To vote everything Scottish down in Westminster regardless of merit. The contempt for what Scotland had voted for.
So when these roasters show you who they really are, believe them. They’re anti democratic & they offer Scots ZERO, not even a measly bit of devo. They don’t serve Scotland & shouldn’t be given a single seat, imo. I’ll never get back together that’s for sure…
This latest gaff of his only shows how out of touch from the public he really is.
As stated by an earlier comment.
I don’t believe Anas Sarwar has opposed the Daily Records intent to close the Glasgow printworks or the coop closure of the Glasgow coffin maker get one for his political career.
definately the best use of substitute toilet paper is the daily record.
take heart…. oh how the mighty have fallen! tell them the 1980s are over and they are on life support.
Do people still read the Daily Rangers?
SarwarLtd can always rely on the Cousin vote.
I’m surprised the Daily Rangers never had this printed in Hurdu.
Ah its The Fearless New Labour “Socialist” Anas Sarwar, the multi – millionaire who’s employees are bared from joining a Union and who are paid the minimum wage rather that a living wage. A low-life utter scumbag who is on the take, like his father, on the make and without shame!
“While critics have pointed to the lack of formal, traditional trade union recognition, in May 2024, the Usdaw union stated that all staff at the firm were receiving incomes higher than the real living wage following negotiated pay increases.”
and
” an Usdaw spokesman issued a clarification, saying: “Usdaw has a trade union recognition agreement with United Wholesale Scotland and we negotiate on pay with the company.
“In our last negotiation we agreed a pay deal that delivered an income higher than the real living wage for all employees.”
The spokesman went on to say: “We would urge political parties to get their own house in order.””