For off-topic chat. Duh.

Subscribe
Notify of

40.9K Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Smallaxe

liz g:

Only to be used for Medicinal Porpoises.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Good Night

Peace Always

Liz g

Smallaxe
Ofcourse
Night hun

Smallaxe

Good morning everybody:

Sill sleeping?

Peace Always

Chic McGregor

Smallaxe

“As for the other question,how fast would you like it”

a-màireach

Mañana

You got me on the Romanian though, don’t have any of that.

Chic McGregor

Should have been

Tha mi an dochas…

or

Tha mi’n dochas…

Smallaxe

Chic McGregor:

It’s Roma Chic,loosly translated it means,”when surrounded by the gadgie the only defence a gypsy has is his tongue”

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Chic McGregor:

O lov tai o beng nashti beshen patshasa

Neither the devil nor money remain in Peace

Peace Always

Smallaxe

a-màireach is another day,Scarlet O’Hara.

Peace Always

Chic McGregor

Roma? is that the same as Romany as in the Romany gypsies? and is it related to Romanian at all?

Chic McGregor

Googled it.

Romani’s came orginally from North India and are ethnically different from Romanians. The language is also completely different from the Latin based Romanian, it is more related to Hindi and Greek.

As well as the phonetically engendered confusion between Romanians and Romani, it is also the case that Romani make up one of the larger minorities in Romania.

There are about 7 dialects of Romani which may be considered different languages.

Smallaxe

Chic McGregor:

Well done Chic,I used to run a club for the Roma,I also had the privilege of catering for their Christenings and Weddings on several occasions,trust me,there was no big fat anything involved.

PS I have eaten hedgehog with some of them.

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, thanks for your Kinks @11.38.

I have a confession to make, my friend and can’t keep it in any longer: I used to play cricket, for Thornliebank CC in the infamous and mean Glasgow and District League. We played at Stanalane by Rouken Glen. It’s not something I’m proud of but *pauses to wipe away tear*…….

In my defence, there was a Radio Malt shortage in EK at the time and they’d just discontinued Old Fashioned Spangles. I suppose I was a bit vulnerable and just easily led.

Of course, I quickly became an all-rounder: couldn’t bat, couldn’t bowl, couldn’t field.

Hope you can forgive me, or to put it another way:

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Fanx, man, fanx *snivels into hankie*.

Now, about my Des O’Connor LP collection…….

I’ve taken that too far, haven’t I?

I’ll…get…my…

CameronB Brodie

@Loki
Don’t be another tool in the master’s box! Need I say more?

Internal colonies – that is, spaces governed by ‘the rule of difference’ – persist today but the politicisation of the term ‘colonialism’ has impeded a sober discussion of the subject in many cases.

link to pambazuka.org

Smallaxe

Tinto:

could be worse

cant think wot

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

CameronB: thanks for that link. I can follow that so I’m saving it. Sometimes I find sociological terms a bit difficult to understand.

Smallaxe:”Cant think wot.”

“Mmmmm, (Homer Simpson voice) that gives me an idea….”

How about Nigel Farage in a Union Jack mankini doing a raunchy exercise video?

My name is Tinto Chiel and I claim my cigar.

CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
Glad you appreciated that. 😉

Tinto Chiel

Cameron: any interesting “terms” for Loki?

Or shouldn’t I ask?

Brace…brace…brace!

CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
A bit bewildered and misguided perhaps? Appears to have fallen in with a bad crowd but there’s hope for the yout yet. 😉

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

This is the best that I could do to grant your wish.

Peace Always

Dave McEwan Hill

I will have all the great Rock’n’Roll on my Not Fade Away programme tonight so lay your zimmers aside for http://www.argyllradio.co.uk from 8pm to 9pm. Three each from Bill Haley, Buddy Holly, Chuck Berry, Everly Brothers, Jerry Lee Lewis. Little Richard.

CameonB Brodie

Dave McEwan Hill
Hope you’ve not felt I’ve been trying to poach your audience Dave, and that you’ve been enjoying some of the tracks I’ve posted.

Tinto Chiel

Cameron: your wink said it all. 😛

Smallaxe: too scared to look, after the content warning. Is it Farage and the Trumpster together on a unicorn?

DMH: thanks for that. I’ve WD40’d my zimmer and am rarin’ to go. Can I get it on DAB?

Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

YA BIG FEARTIE! 🙂

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: hehehehehehehehehee!

Pax vobiscum.

😛

Smallaxe

Dave McEwan Hill:

I’m surprised that Buddy Holly never recorded this

Peace Always

Smallaxe

DMH:

Here’s another version by Paul McCartney and Dave Gilmour

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Tinto:

You peeked, didn’t you!

Pax vobis

Tinto Chiel

No..no.. of course not. Why would I? I mean…

No, never.

Gosh , look at that big spider.

Meanwhile, in other news…..

Smallaxe

Tinto:

How to get rid of Spiders,and Flies

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Hey, Smallaxe, are you Uncle Mac in disguise?

You know, like this:

Smallaxe

Tinto:

have that cigar,your correct at last.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Tinto:

heeers uncle Mack

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Anyhow, my elder daughter is 28 tomorrow. Where do all the years go, groovers?

When she was wee, she had blonde hair, so this is her tune:

Sometimes it’s quite good being an old guy.

Tinto Chiel

Och, Smallaxe, you’re a very, very bad boy.

In this fashion…….

Smallaxe

Tinto:

I have all his albums 🙂

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Tinto:

It was my star signs fault

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Och, you’re just a big softy too, Smallaxe, ya Big Softy.

To change the subject in a hurriedly male fashion, Motherwell play Partick Thistle at Fir Park tomorrow, 3.00 kick off.

Smallaxe?

Smallaxe?

Sheesh! Where’d he go?

Was it something I said?

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: Oh, I see…

Have to say, King is the king. Great voice. To my shame, haven’t heard that before. In my faves now.

All that pain, angst and rejection…..

Was he a ‘Well fan?

Smallaxe

Tinto:

No, he was not a fan of football,his passion used to be Tractors,but he went off them.He is now an ex-tractor fan.

It’s ok I’ve already got ma coat oan 🙂

Peace Always

Dave McEwan Hill

Smallaxe at 6.59

Yes. The Vipers Skiffle Group originally who dropped the skiffle bit. They had an interesting line-up with George Martin involved at some point. That sounds quite like sort of early rockabilly sort of song that Buddy might have done with Decca before he went to Norman Petty and Coral Records.

Tinto. It’s online only on your broadband or smart phone.

Brian Doonthetoon

Seeing as the 50’s are being referenced, here are a couple of rockabilly tracks I came across in the late 70’s. They seemed to be enjoyed by my student audience at the time…

Smallaxe

Dave McEwan Hill:

I had heard the McCartney/Gilmour version first,so I did a bit of research
and found that the original was made about 2yrs before Buddy died.I thought that it was made for him.

ps I listened to your station tonight and signed up for it. It’s Cool Man.

Smallaxe

DMH:MY BAD

Peace Always 🙂

Smallaxe

BDTT:

Liked both,but barkin up the wrong tree,does it for me.

Peace Always

Michael McCabe
Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Of course, rockabilly evolved and, by the 1980/90’s, had become psychobilly.

In case you missed them in the 80/90’s, here are three examples for you.

Was your quiff ever like that displayed in the last link?

8=)

Smallaxe

Thanks for the heads up re AUSTIN, Michael

Peace always

Ian Brotherhood

Excuse me for not referring to most recent comments, haven’t yet got up to date…

Just wanted to drop this in. Curious wee snippet featuring Lene Lovich/Stiff Tour, and what she says will resonate with many of us, ‘I just felt I was part of a family’.

I really believe we’re doing something very similar to what she was a part of, even if most of us aren’t quite as beautiful.

Smallaxe

BDTT:

HI Brian, my quiff is still like that one,only thing is,it’s on my comb instead of my head.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Paolo Nutini:Dont let me down

Peace Always

Ian Brotherhood

Some of the eagle-eyed among you may be able to help me here.

This is Lovich’s big hit, ‘Lucky Number’.

At 1.12 in the vid there’s a shot of folk on a balcony, clapping along. Looks like the ‘Stiff’ people. I reckon I can see Nick Lowe and Charley Charles. Anyone else recognise any of them?

Smallaxe

“even if most of us aren’t quite as beautiful”
SPEAK FOR YOURSELF,I’m lovely.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Brian,are you watching this on a 60inch screen?If not I’ll have to go to
SPECSAVERS.OH’ wait a minute,I think thats him

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Hi Ian B I don’t recognise any of them. you mentioned Eagle eyed though. I have been saving this for tonight. link to youtube.com

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Re: Nick Lowe. I may have linked to this previously – can’t remember…

A vinyl album I still possess… somewhere in my hovelhold.

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

@M McC –

What a smooth segue – class!

Hoots tae all!

Smallaxe

Small Faces,ALL OR NOTHING:1966

Stevie Marriot at his best

Peace Always

Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Do you remember The Shakin’ Pyramids?

I used to see their guitarist in the Imperial snooker hall (or was that The Premier?) on Sauchiehall St from time to time when I was mis-spending my youth. Very big dude, and a properly good snooker player from what I saw. Never summoned the guts to ask him for an autograph or anything, but loved what they were doing at the time.

Smallaxe

you’ve been here Michael,is that Liam Neeson singing?

Peace Always

Stoker

WOS Archives for November 2011

The true North-South divide
link to wingsoverscotland.com

Dream a little dream

47-year-old man bullied by nasty Nats

Labour go 0 for 4

Stoker

A rare joy

Weekend reading

First Minister’s Questions, 24-11-11

A crash of drums, a flash of light

Stoker

Positive-case-for-the-Union update #1

Seeing the wood through the trees

The atomic clock

Scotsman deploys threat multiplier

Stoker

Going off message

Turkey opposes Christmas

Part of the Union?

Much ado about little

Smallaxe

Is this who you mean Ian?

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thanks for the AMMO I will make sure it hits the target.

Peace Always

Michael McCabe
Smallaxe

Peter Green/John Mayall at the Marquee 1967

Peace Always

Chic McGregor

The doomed genius (is there any other kind?) that was Paul Kossoff (even if the daft cameraman seemed to think it was the rhythm guitarist that was producing the magic)

Smallaxe

Bombay Calling:It’s a Beautiful Day

Peace Always

Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Aye, that’s the lads there.

They had a great song called ‘Sunset Of My Tears’ which I used to do as my party piece.

That’s why I haven’t been invited to any parties since the mid-80’s.

Smallaxe

I think we are all living in the past

Peace Always

Chic McGregor

The bonkers but brilliant Alex Harvey.

Bauhaus Rock?

Chic McGregor

Smallaxe
First record I bought was Jethro Tull, ‘The Witch’s Promise’

Smallaxe

Ian,that wasn’t very nice, come to the party next door

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Chic,I think my first was Thick as a Brick.

Alex used to play in the Clelland bar in the south side of Glasgow,I was mad as well,it had to be worth it.I was taking my life in my hands to go to that pub.Jimmy Boyle was shot in there one night,and Gentle Johnny Ramenski (John Ramsey) was a regular.Happy Days!

Here’s Alex with a Special guest

Peace always

Chic McGregor

Smallaxe,
Ah! Whispering Bob, who showed that, given the record of other presenters from that period, sometimes the quiet ones are the best.

Chic McGregor

I’ll say goodnight folks with:

Smallaxe

Chick:COMETH the TIME- COMETH the MAN

Whispering Bob has given us a lot of fine music over the years,I feel as if I owe the man something.I would love to have shaken his hand and thanked him personally.

Peace Always

Ruglonian

Just nipped in to see what was happening cos I’m still up – Oh Ian B, you big fibber 😉 I’ll be demanding a party piece from you when I see you next 😀

Smallaxe

Good night ALL

The Thieving Magpie,any Droogs out There?

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Flake

Michael McCabe

Take two. Flake link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Banana Pancakes. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:@ 2-02am

Was that comment directed at me? What gives you the right, to tell the truth.

Yours Sincerely, Deeply affronted,Gretna

Peace Always

PS Two Banana Pancakes,two eggs, over easy and hold the insults! 🙂

CameronB Brodie

Dave McEwan Hill
The thought just popped in to my head that you might think I’m being a bit rude not commenting on your radio show. Truth is, I’ve only checked out a couple of tracks as I need to be careful with my band-with usage. My ignorance of your show comes naturally mate, it’s not contrived. Or rather, it is shaped to and by my environment, it’s not ideologically intentional. 🙂

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Checked out Smallaxe’s video link but I don’t recall The Shakin’ Pyramids at all.

As SAHB has been cited above, here’s, possibly, my favourite SAHB track. Tingly spine as the bagpipes come in.

One more offering… This features the late Gary Holton, who played “Wayne” in “Auf Wiedersehen Pet”.

Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

🙂 Just shows how busy the scene was back then. All-sorts going on.

Anyway, I don’t know if you or any other bods can help me here but I’m trying to track down a documentary. It’s not on Youtube and the BBC I-Player doesn’t have it.

It was broadcast on BBC2 on May 8th 2009 and is called ‘When Ian Rankin Met Jack Vettriano’. Saw it when it was broadcast but haven’t seen any trace of it since. Need to see it for research. It was part of a series by ‘ArtWorks Scotland’.

Anyone know any Rankin/Vettriano fans who may have kept a copy?

Hoots all – have a braw weekend. 🙂

Andrew Mclean
CameronB Brodie

I light of the changing undercurrent in Scottish politics, with the emergence of Scotland in Union as the new face of Project Fear, here’s a tune from the film “Bela Lugosi Meets A Brooklyn Gorilla”. 🙂

Funny how time changes one’s perspective, innit. Mind now, our perception of time is not constant. Time appears to pass more quickly the older we get.

Duke Mitchell – Deed I Do

CameronB Brodie

Some tips on how to fight the next round. 🙂

Sailor Beware – Before The Fight

CameronB Brodie

Think I’ve just found a new theme. 🙂

@ Scotland in Union
Ideology has it’s proper place in the age of post-modernity, ye Dobbers.

#ScreamTeam – Digital Monsters, We Are Proud!

Ian Brotherhood

@Andrew Mclean –

Cheers Andrew, but that’s not the one I’m after…

🙁

CameronB Brodie

@ Scotland in Union
I imagine you would agree with Pete, that the principles of contemporary social science are the ramblings of student politics? If so, your opinion lacks understanding of the connections between authentic human experience and values, realistic self-perception and self-appraisal, and the ability to form good judgement.

Your ideological mindset is detached from reality.

Monster High (not #ScreamTeam) – Gaga for Ghouls

CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
I think I remember the one Ian but can’t help I’m afraid. Was there a section short indoors, where there was a very tall abstract sculpture in the background (10-20 meters tall)?

CameronB Brodie

This week I’ve mostly aiming to be a monSTAR.

Everyone of us is different, everyone has something special inside. Just be confident, don’t hide in the dark. Hello, how do you do? Now tell me how do you boo.

Monster High – We’re the Monstars

Catchy wee theme eh? Lost of scope. 🙂

CameronB Brodie

This week I’ve been mostly aiming to be a monSTAR.

‘Everyone of us is different, everyone has something special inside. Just be confident, don’t hide in the dark. Hello, how do you do? Now tell me how do you boo.’

Monster High – We’re the Monstars

Catchy wee theme eh? Lost of scope. 🙂

Tinto Chiel

CameronB: how are you booing?

I’m enjoying seeing the constitutional crisis unfold on the MT. No wonder senior Tories want Mayhem to withdraw the appeal: don’t tell me the RP doesn’t run in Scotland and to proceed would infringe the Union? Can we have it in writing?

I’m in a reflective mood tonight, so I’ll leave you sophisticates this:

CameronB Brodie

Sorry for the double post. The first one lacked a sense of BEING anyway. 😉

Did I mention constructedness with scope allows for flexibility of approach?

B-Real, Coolio, Method Man, LL Cool J And Busta Rhymes – Hit Em High (The Monstars’ Anthem)

@ Scotland In Yoonion
You guys are toast.

CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
Sorry for not noticing you there, I’m all over the place tbh. 🙂

Tinto Chiel

It might be my New Look, Cameron.

Does my bum look big in it?

If people have a few minutes, they might wish further reflection. It’s an age thing.

CamernB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
Naw, quite flattering. It wasn’t that I didn’t recognise the authentic you mate, my attention was distracted by the false reality being created around me by the BUM. It stopped me from seeing things as they really are. I blame their monstar, the BBC, for most of the damage to my perception. Fiendish, frankly, in a colonial sort of way.

Tinto Chiel

That false reality has become the mask that slipped, though, Cameron. More and more people are seeing through Vichy Vision. Once Brexit really kicks off, more and more pennies will drop, like the slow start of an avalanche.

Your inalienable right thing is another example of how The State tries to bulldoze us, but what if a legal argument were pursued on this very specific point?

I’m beginning to think the SG are quite a few steps ahead of Mrs Mayhem and her Gruntfuttocks.

CameronB Brodie

Vichy Vision describes it well. Thankfully, ideology responds poorly to change and real-word events. Their mantra will be their downfall.

We’ll soon be liberated from their grooming of Scotland’s identity. Creeps.

Tinto Chiel

And I believe that too, CameronB.

Will Self is an excellent English iconoclast, married to a Motherwell Laydee, Deborah Orr. I know she writes for The Observer but Will is more aware than many in Londinium of Our Difference.

He’s speaking at The Mitchell Library next Friday, if anyone’s interested.

Am I going? ‘King right, as Ian B would say. I’ll be the dweeb in the fedora.

Tinto Chiel

A sublime collection, Smallaxe.

Reminds me of the times when I was young and beautiful.

Of course, with my snake hips and cheese-cutter cheekbones, I was a pure babe-magnet.

You’ve no idea how annoying it was to have a sassy, talking wee piglet following you around all day…..

Smallaxe

Tinto:

It was the snake hips that reminded me,now I remember you

Peace Always

CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
Thanks for those Smallaxe. I won’t say it. 🙂

I was lucky to see Booker T & the MGs a couple of times, when they were over for the pond for the first time in 25 years. Amazing band. They walked on stage to this and the place ‘erupted’. Here’s a pretty laid back version.

Not everyone knows they were the Blues Brothers’ band,

Booker T. & The MG’s – Time Is Tight

CameronB Brodie

Snakehips? Again, I have the perfect track in mind but it’s totally inappropriate to the occasion. 🙂

Tinto Chiel

How are ye, Smallaxe?

Your first link was blocked: GCHQ?

Wonderful Roxy and TDoPS but your snake man gave me the shivers.

I’m reverting to my strict regime of bending exercises and Vichy Water.

Smallaxe

another try

Peace Always

would you lot,STOP POSTING TOO QUICKLY

CameronB Brodie

@DaviePrice
I find it helps to understand what one is talking about before attempting to explain that which one does not understand. Ken?

Scottish ideology is shaped through landscape and culture. It can be fitted to Scottish needs. British ideology is shaped by English nationalism and fitted to English needs.

An ideology is a set of beliefs that affects our outlook on the world. Our ideology is our most closely held set of values and feelings, and it acts as the filter through which we see everything and everybody. In fact, these beliefs are often so close to us that we do not realize that they are there. We simply think that our beliefs are natural and obviously true. Religion is one type of ideology, and religious belief affects a person’s views.

link to sparknotes.com

Smallaxe

THIS TIME

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Tinto:

Stop that silly exercise regime,do what I do,exercise all day every day by breathing,I have been breathing constantly for a number of years now and its did me no harm!

Sia: breathe me

Smallaxe

Dean MARTIN & Jerry Lewis: Drunk

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe; but my bending exercises are straight out of At-Swim-Two-Birds! And I’ve got socks to prove it.

Actually, Sia’s performance is rather sobering.

Independence; are we nearly there yet?

Smallaxe

Chris Montez:LETS DANCE

the B side of lets dance, so bad that its great

Peace Always

CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
Sound likes you need luvdup mate. Here’s something a bit different. Perhaps not to your taste but I hope the sentiment carries.

One Dove – White Love (Psychic Masturbation)

Communities are imagined. I may never meet you mate but I feel we’re part of a community with authentic soul.

Drum Club – U Make Me Feel So Good (deep and hard mix)

Ideology has a terrible record of obliterating authentic communities. Scotland isn’t gonna join that list.

Spiral Tribe – Forward The Revolution

P.S. Apologies to conservative types. 🙂

Smallaxe

Tinto:

Independence Day

Peace Always

Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

I haven’t kept across all your recent posts, but I must ask…

Have you tackled Derrida?

I’m having to do it – right now – and, tbh, he’s doing my nut in a wee bit.

Would be grateful for any thoughts you may have on his stuff. Don’t mean to sound dismissive or derogatory about the dude…important, aye, but it’s getting to me a bit. Shades of ‘The Matrix’ an’ aw that palaver.

Anyway, enough from me…ah’m due a blue pill…

Stoker

Cause and effect

Scotland’s offensive anthem

Hypership out of control

The referee’s a Mason

Stoker

Missing the point of a referendum

Fuelling the fire

Mysterious arithmetic fail

Nope, still nothing

Stoker

One-way traffic

Scotland unbilled

Words from the wise

Listening and learning, Labour-style

Stoker

Tom Harris is a liar

Weekend papers roundup

The yah-boo Union

Devo max: not so hard to define afterall

Smallaxe

Cameron:

True

Peace Always

Because of the length of your tracks I have sampled them and put them into a playlist for further perusal,sound interesting

CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
Sorry mate. I almost got my lights put out by Smallaxe, for suggesting fiddling with it the other day. My ‘knowledge’ is mostly through life, with a few ‘facts’ gleaned from the odd book or two. I’m a practiced pragmatist who is lucky to know how to shape and use solutions. Doesn’t always work as planned though. 🙂

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thank You,your dedication is admirable.

Peace And Love

Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Stoker, and so to bed.

link to scottishpoetrylibrary.org.uk

Smallaxe

Goodnight Tinto, 🙂

Peace Always

CameronB Brodie

I know what folk are probably thinking. No, I’m an arse and and failed to manage my meds properly again. Getting closer to eleven. Boo. 🙂

Spiral Tribe – Probably Taking Drugs

Smallaxe

Cameron, about the meds,its not getting closer to eleven

It’s only 9

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Is Michael joining the musical conversation tonight?

Peace Always

Brian Doonthetoon

I’m just about to climb the stairs to Bedfordshire but I’ll stick this link in, before I retire.

It’s for anyone who ever spent their working days on a ship, anywhere on Earth’s oceans.

CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
Man can’t live by politics alone. 😉

Gregory Isaacs ~ Night Nurse

Smallaxe

Goodnight Brian,Peace Always

Cameron why not live by politics And music

Peace Always

Smallaxe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=606T2LQN–I
the Isley bros

Them again

John Lennon,#No9 DREAM

PeaceAlways

CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
I’ve pooped my pop Smallaxe, time I hit the sack. See you around.

Smallaxe

Goodnight Cameron

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Goodnight

Peace Always

CameronB Brodie

Almost forgot….come on!

Age of Love – Age Of Love (Watch Out For Stella Mix)

Night, night.

CameronB Brodie

OK, I couldn’t just leave things hanging like that.

Usura – Open Your Mind

CameronB Brodie

The BBC exists to shape minds to follow British nationalist ideology. They re-write history to make us believe in One Nation. Creeps.

Robert Miles – Children [Dream Version]

Ghillie

CameronB Brodie @ 2.28am

Agree. The BBC has the power to rewrite history and uses that tool continually.

I do believe that the BBC (and much of the msm) hold Scotland in utter contempt. And that begins to work both ways. Not the way I want the world we live in to be.

So as Smallaxe says, Love and Peace folks = )

And roll on Indy Ref New = )

Michael McCabe

Smallaxe 12:17am link to youtube.com Noticed you have retired for the Night. Have a good Sleep. Catch you later on today

CameronB Brodie

Ghillie
It will soon be time for Scots to make their voices heard.

Sing!

Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Aye, Freddie knew how to put on a show. Class.

Smallaxe

Good Morning All:

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Ah there is the Piano. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

Ouch First Aid Kit-America link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Why am I a Rastaman

Peace Always

Smallaxe

give that horse a name

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Horse McDonald. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

too tame

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Horny?

Peace Always

CameronB Brodie

I would imagine the lack of in-depth sociological or psychological study in to the harmful effects the BBC has, when shaping an ideologically defined Scottish identity by impairing Scotland’s self-awareness and judgement, might be because academia is
largely part of the Yoon Establishment.

@ BBC
What about the people of Scotland’s inalienable human right to an authentic identity? You are aware that cultural integrity is a vital component of achieving sustainable solutions to re-world demands? Your Yoon ideology won’t do that.

Quench – Dreams (Original Mix)

CameronB Brodie

@ BBC
The ideology that brought you in to existence, is outdated, unrepresentative and unsuited to current and likely demands of Scotland. Your corporatist resistance to reality, supporting an inequitable and unsustainable approach to meeting the future requirements of society, is unhelpful to say the least. No only that, you have the never to charge for the service.

Jaydee – Plastic Dreams

Smallaxe

Dont misunderstand

Peace Always

CameronB Brodie

@BBC
Stop grooming Scotland to be British, please. I find it oppressive, frankly. Creeps.

Lil Louis – French Kiss

CameronB Brodie

That’s what we’re up against Smallaxe, forces that seek to dis empower and shape society to unrepresentative and most likely unsustainable ends. That’s when the totalitarianism ramps up.

@BBC
Your love towards Scotland is not a healthy one. Creeps.

Frankie Knuckles – Your Love

Smallaxe

Cameron:

it will never happen

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Sorry the last one was meant to be this

Peace Always

Liz g

Smallaxe @
I have to leave commenting on this site for now my friend.
But won’t leave you.
Will always check and see what you are saying here.
And still maintain that in the wee sma hoors shout out if ye are lookin to put the world to rights.
Chances are I will be mooching around and ofcourse will be happy to talk to you.
While I know you have enough on your plate.
If you will do me the honour of keeping me informed of your progress,over here on OT you will remove one of my worries.
Give Mrs Smallaxe all my love and tell her to take care of herself.
Peace to you,and your’s ,and,to us and ours..well to everyone really.
This is what Whisky is For!!!
PEACE ALWAYS …X..

Stoker

Smallaxe

liz g:

Hi liz, I’m doing ok as far as I’m concerned but the Doc wants me back in tomorrow for more tests.They say my blood is full of white platelets.I don’t care if its full of cuplets and saucerlets.

I have been lurking on the main thread,but not posting much,I stay around here on off topic,it’s a calmer place for me to be at the moment.I’m keeping an eye on you.Please don’t worry about me liz,as I have said, I’m not going to lie down to it just because of their tests,I have my own ways of coping,music being one of them of course.Wings and Wingers like yourself are another form of therapy for me.

Keep up the good work on Wings,the 69rs and I have our own ways of contributing.

PEACE and LOVE to You and Those you LOVE

Tinto Chiel

Evening, Groovers and Chantie-Wrastlers:

While researching Lochan na Beiste, I came upon this:

I never converse with attractive women hanging around lochs now.

A word to the wise: Smallaxe, CameronB, etc.

Betcha Nana would agree with me.

CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe 🙂

Pat Cupp & The Flying Saucers – Do me no wrong

CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
Sorry mate, I think I heard you, I just forgot to refresh again.

Culture is probably long over-due a slot. 🙂

Stoker

Scotland’s Economic Future

Scotland and the Euro – the truth

Didn’t read the news today, oh boy

The war of words

Stoker

Filling the opposition vacuum

And that’s the end of that chapter

Getting toothpaste back in the tube

Scotland’s guilty Euro-secret

Stoker

Now that the Nazis are back

The devil’s in the details

A happy coincidence

Doing the job properly

Stoker

Positive-Case-For-The-Union Watch

First Minister’s Questions, 10-11-11

The invisible bogeyman

Too poor for Europe

Stoker

Aw, bless ’em for trying

The phantom referendum

Unionists ponder suicide pact

Newsnight Scotland, 7-11-11

Stoker

Papers roundup, 8-11-11

The Scottish subsidy myth

Politics Show Scotland 6-11-2011

Tory backer slams unreconstructed morons

Stoker

Lies, damned lies and The Scotsman

The demonisation of Alex Salmond

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thank you.

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

CameronB: Vichy Vision is failing. Internal colonisation is losing its grip.

And we have Karen:

The great ocean is indifferent to our fate but we carry on with our human concerns.

The tide is turning.

Smallaxe

Hi Guys:

Peace Always

Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: correction, I avoid scarlet women hanging around lochs now.

Sheesh!

Smallaxe

Tinto:

I am

Peace Always

Smallaxe

One of these nights

Peace Always

Smallaxe

I have been to the doctor

Peace ALWAYS

Cactus

Cheers for the chives, excellent!

Question out there.. now we all understand whisky.. but,

When is bonnie.. bonny? and,
When is bonny.. bonnie?

Seeing many variations used.

Ta.

Smallaxe

Peace Always

Cactus

‘Waiting In Vain’

‘This Video Is Not Available’

Hehehe, p*rfect!

Smallaxe

Cactus:

Peace Always 🙂

Smallaxe

Cactus:

Try again its working for me!

Peace Always

Cactus

We’re on the crest of an ever-rising wave.

I can hear it being played on the accordion smallaxe.

G*id mornin’ Monday.

Smallaxe

Good Morning Cactus:

Hows Things?

Peace Always

Cactus

4:17 only smallaxe, maybe me, animation denied, but aptly fitting none~ra~less.

*We wish you a.. free Scotland and a lab free new year!*

Get that ‘*’ on the top of the indy tree.

That’s the Bullseye! Ready..?

Cactus

Grand smallaxe, tres bigrand.

Or en le france? 🙂

Have ye heard of a gold called Springbank before?

Be grand or good or be both.

Smallaxe

I’ve got a white unicorn that sits on top of my tree Cactus.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Springbank Gold,do you mean the whisky?

Peace Always

Cactus

White Unicorn and whisky aye ~ Yes!

Glasgow’s *nly ever a few footsteps away..

From Glasgow to Gretna..

Smallaxe

I know that Cactus I come from Barlanark,your welcome here anytime
Peace Always.

Cactus

And to you good earth-hood neighbourman.

Likewise.

Be grand.

Smallaxe

Look after yersel Cactus,we need good punters like you.

Peace Always

Cactus

Of course, je capice.

Darn, whose holding the Scottish line.. Toto?

Goin’ tonto.

Cactus

Aye, a peace always to one and ever-all.

Independence referendum new..

Pure raring tae go!!

Gdnight (maybe)

Smallaxe

Goodnight Cactus.Maybe

Peace Always my friend

Cactus

Maybe back once more.

Check out ‘Recent Comments’ the now smallaxe.

You and I have rattled it.

X vs Zzz

Smallaxe

Nae stamina,Cactus.

We’ve taken over Wings

Glesga Team Rules OK

Peace Always

Cactus

X wins.

Big town takeover.. yaaaaas!

How much we gonna hold this fine place to ransom pardner?

Sun up.

Smallaxe

X always wins Cactus,as long as you put it in the right box.

We need mair Xs in thae boxes

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Peace Always

CameronB Brodie

Still sooking up what comes out of the BUM?

Pop Will Eat Itself – Wise Up! Sucker (12″ version)

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

RE: Pop Will Eat Itself.

The first of their offerings I came across was “Def Con 1”. I was intrigued by it. It worked well with my rock audience but what got me was I lost count at 9, trying to identify all the samples in it. But “Crazy Horses” just jumped out. I used to segue in to live, on vinyl.

Once I had mastered my audio editing app on ‘my leedle Mac’. I put this mix together. I’ll provide the link: you may have to actually download it, then play it in your media player.

I rather like it…

BTW: It was me segueing ‘Def Con 1’ into The Osmonds “Crazy Horses” that made “Crazy Horses” a regular track in Dundee rock discos for years afterwards.

link to sites.google.com

Stoker

WOS Archives for December 2011

Briton Of The Year

Sauce for the gander

Farewell Elmer, King of the FUDs

We’ve heard this song before

Stoker

The new boss, same as the old boss

Did the SNP choose Labour’s new leader?

Why there won’t be a March election

Dazed and confused

Stoker

Drawing the battle lines

The Nordic love to feel

Scotland’s secret constitution

Labour advocates braces, but no belt

Stoker

Hands off Britain’s money, idiots

Positive-case-for-the-Union update #3

Europe and the crystal bawbags

Let’s not get carried away

Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thanks, Stoker,been waiting on these,I’m building a nice little collection.Hope it’s warmer tomorrow. 🙂

Peace Always

Smallaxe

# No1

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Hi Smallaxe that’s two tracks I have seen you play from Stanley Odd. this is one of his that was flying about before the Referendum. thought he was very good with his Lyrics. link to youtube.com OH roll on the Divorce.

Smallaxe

Good to see you post,Michael,

Good lyrics can make me listen to even a mediocre vocalist,especially if
he/she wrote them,ergo.Dylan,Kristofferson,etc.Stanley Odd,I’m still surprised that a few people I’ve spoken to have never heard the name.

Jake Bugg

Peace Always (and that divorce)

Michael McCabe

I must Admit I love the Cave. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

“the Cave” I think that would make a good ballad,the lyrics are poetic.

Paul Simon

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Bob Dylan- Hurricane (Live) link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Did that last one get lost?,mine I mean.

Rory Gallagher

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Smallaxe. Loved the Paul Simon. Aaron Neville with a Dylan Cover. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

Kilburn and the High Roads.

Peace Always

Smallaxe

It’s amazing how different one song can sound with a change in tempo!

Julian Lennon

Peace Always

Smallaxe

I suppose it’s bedtime.

The Byrds

Goodnight

Peace Always

Michael McCabe

Smallaxe I would agree with you. Most of the Time. link to youtube.com

Smallaxe

I thought that you had gone,last night.

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

How did you get on yesterday? Hopefully all good.

I know you will have been tired afterwards.

Smallaxe

Nana:

They took another couple of barrels of blood and checked the size of my Spleen to see if it had taken over from my bone marrow making my blood.
I should get the results before the end of the week.

They are still baffled about how I’m getting about ok.
According to them, I shouldn’t be so “healthy”.
I did not tell them that I use my Wings.
Peace Always
Billy

Nana

Wings working its magic? I think its a positive vibes of ‘the force’ and may it always be with you. xx

Obi-Wan should have sung this.

Smallaxe

Nana:

The doctors are singing this!

Peace Always

Smallaxe

Nana:

I forgot to say,you were talking about gloves yesterday I use these,they are thin,warm and with rubber bobbles on the palm for gripping.They are great for driving.

link to mountainwarehouse.com

Peace Always

Nana

@Smallaxe

I have a pair of the grippi gloves, they’re great. I use them for cleaning out my freezers, when I take out the drawers the gloves helps me to grip so I don’t drop them [I have done this]

I don’t drive any more, lost my confidence a few years back. I miss it sometimes but I have ‘chauffeurs’ who take me here and there so really don’t need to drive. Plus the shops are within walking distance.

Smallaxe

Nana:

I’m pleased to hear it,my wife,daughter and grandchildren have a chauffeur as well.ME!

Peace Always

CameronB Brodie

Here’s one from a person largely benefit of middle-class vanities and distractions. Someone who you could say follows a more aesthetic approach to life. I’m sure my choosing this path was not purely voluntary, rather a reactive response to the events and social stimuli that have shaped my BEING. A defense strategy against being crushed under a neo-liberal interpretation as a ‘failure’, when viewed against contemporary social values.

I suppose you could say my BEING has been shaped through my life-long struggle against de-humanising habitus and ideology, I’m a scholarship kid to a private school, with a little bit of SOCIAL SCIENCES THEORY chucked in.

That’s probably why I’m aware my self-conception is somewhat out of alignment with the reality of my circumstances. I have the skills required to participate in British ‘middle-class-ness’, though I have little desire or opportunity of participating in this way of life, as I refuse to replace authentic human value and principle with short-term expediency.

Ignore the BUM, especially the BBC, it presents a facade of decency to cover neo-colonialism in th 21st century. The principles of contemporary social science support this perspective.

React 2 Rhythm – Intoxication

CameronB Brodie

….BEREFT….ffs

…should have gone… 🙂

CameronB Brodie

I suppose you could say I’ve been honing my skills as an ‘irritant’ to the British Establishment, since childhood. 🙂

@dhothersall
You’re ideological BEING is gonna take a spanking. Read any Bourdieu or Lorde yet? Done anything to de-colonise your mind? Apparently not, as you continue to support the acceptance of intolerance and social exclusion, along with an adherence to ideological dogma. This is the mindset that produced the inner-cities of the ’70s ye fanny-bawz.

Misty In Roots ?- Poor And Needy

Stoker

Keeping up the good work

Brass tacks and brass farthings

Running to catch up

Ally’s Self-Harmy Army

Stoker

Positive-case-for-the-Union update #2

I think you just made me sure

Cake or death? (Sorry, we’re out of cake)

Spinning around

Stoker

The voice of the 20%

Interview with Tom Harris MP

A snappy headline stat

McGoldilocks and the three McBears

Stoker

Dedication’s what you need

Back to business

CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
I suppose hoping for you to escape your ideological world and applying good judgement based on rational analysis of facts, is a bit like hoping for an organic double-yoker from a Muppet.

You’re half the way there WANK, just relax and push.

Swedish Chef – Ping Pong Ball Eggs

P.S. Your involvement with Scotland’s body politic is comming to an end. Scotland will not miss your presence.

CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
We’re not trying to belittle you as you do a fine job of it yourself.

I just wish you’d shut up and let the grown-ups get on with a conversation which is of such importance that ideologically minded politicians and their gimps, such as yourself, should be barred from involvement in.

You’ll never understand “inclusion” until you comprehend habitus, which you are a product and supporter of. Your ideological outlook is ill-informed and subsequently inhumane, kid.

Here’s a paradox for you to wrestle with, given you function as tool of British National Socialism.

Put the master’s tools down!

CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
As you pose as a credible commentator on Scotland’s contemporary socio-economic and political climate, I’m left wondering how an ill-informed tool of British National Socialism is enabled to comment on Scotland’s post-modern condition, experienced under a system of inter colonisation. Do you reject Differential Oppositional Consciousness and the “Methodology of the Oppressed”?

link to caringlabor.files.wordpress.com

Josh Wink – Higher State of Consciousness

P.S. This is music from a decade that was largely lost to me as my brain re-shaped it’s neural map, so here’s one specially for you sugar.

SNEAKER PIMPS – “Spin Spin Sugar” (Armand’s Dark Garage Mix)

CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
I don’t know what your aesthetic appreciation or taste is is though I can imagine, so I’m not sure if you’ll appreciate this one. There was some good ‘dance’ music during this period, with a solid beat and an aware social consciousness.

Basement Jaxx – Where’s Your Head At

CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
Don’t get the wrong idea now, I appreciate the nature of metaphorical boot I’ve just delivered to your British National Socialist balls.

Pornland – Sympathise

CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
Your student politics ‘right-on-ness’ and British National Socialism is immature and lacks an authentic Scottish soul. It simply gets in the way of understanding the complex social processes under consideration, frankly.

This is what you are, in an olfactory sense that is. A bit funky.

Kunde – Funky beat