I’ll say goodnight folks with:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8zmkzshUvE

2. Smallaxe

Chick:COMETH the TIME- COMETH the MAN

Whispering Bob has given us a lot of fine music over the years,I feel as if I owe the man something.I would love to have shaken his hand and thanked him personally.

Peace Always

3. Ruglonian

Just nipped in to see what was happening cos I’m still up – Oh Ian B, you big fibber πŸ˜‰ I’ll be demanding a party piece from you when I see you next πŸ˜€

4. Smallaxe

Good night ALL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ceh0-42FXg0

The Thieving Magpie,any Droogs out There?

Peace Always

5. Michael McCabe

Flake

6. Michael McCabe

Banana Pancakes. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tH5Q9-M6t8c

7. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:@ 2-02am

Was that comment directed at me? What gives you the right, to tell the truth.

Yours Sincerely, Deeply affronted,Gretna

Peace Always

PS Two Banana Pancakes,two eggs, over easy and hold the insults! πŸ™‚

8. CameronB Brodie

Dave McEwan Hill
    The thought just popped in to my head that you might think I’m being a bit rude not commenting on your radio show. Truth is, I’ve only checked out a couple of tracks as I need to be careful with my band-with usage. My ignorance of your show comes naturally mate, it’s not contrived. Or rather, it is shaped to and by my environment, it’s not ideologically intentional. πŸ™‚

9. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Checked out Smallaxe’s video link but I don’t recall The Shakin’ Pyramids at all.

As SAHB has been cited above, here’s, possibly, my favourite SAHB track. Tingly spine as the bagpipes come in.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gdkuObdx96Q

One more offering… This features the late Gary Holton, who played “Wayne” in “Auf Wiedersehen Pet”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PopHwKKNlWs

10. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

πŸ™‚ Just shows how busy the scene was back then. All-sorts going on.

Anyway, I don’t know if you or any other bods can help me here but I’m trying to track down a documentary. It’s not on Youtube and the BBC I-Player doesn’t have it.

It was broadcast on BBC2 on May 8th 2009 and is called ‘When Ian Rankin Met Jack Vettriano’. Saw it when it was broadcast but haven’t seen any trace of it since. Need to see it for research. It was part of a series by ‘ArtWorks Scotland’.

Anyone know any Rankin/Vettriano fans who may have kept a copy?

Hoots all – have a braw weekend. πŸ™‚

11. CameronB Brodie

I light of the changing undercurrent in Scottish politics, with the emergence of Scotland in Union as the new face of Project Fear, here’s a tune from the film “Bela Lugosi Meets A Brooklyn Gorilla”. πŸ™‚

Funny how time changes one’s perspective, innit. Mind now, our perception of time is not constant. Time appears to pass more quickly the older we get.

Duke Mitchell – Deed I Do
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tDEckFRpTGQ

12. CameronB Brodie

Some tips on how to fight the next round. πŸ™‚

Sailor Beware – Before The Fight
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xB02Fjb-0-M

13. CameronB Brodie

Think I’ve just found a new theme. πŸ™‚

@ Scotland in Union
    Ideology has it’s proper place in the age of post-modernity, ye Dobbers.

#ScreamTeam – Digital Monsters, We Are Proud!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgcqJhKlzu4

14. Ian Brotherhood

@Andrew Mclean –

Cheers Andrew, but that’s not the one I’m after…

πŸ™

15. CameronB Brodie

@ Scotland in Union
    I imagine you would agree with Pete, that the principles of contemporary social science are the ramblings of student politics? If so, your opinion lacks understanding of the connections between authentic human experience and values, realistic self-perception and self-appraisal, and the ability to form good judgement.

Your ideological mindset is detached from reality.

Monster High (not #ScreamTeam) – Gaga for Ghouls
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rkC_QCNa0Ag

16. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    I think I remember the one Ian but can’t help I’m afraid. Was there a section short indoors, where there was a very tall abstract sculpture in the background (10-20 meters tall)?

17. CameronB Brodie

This week I’ve mostly aiming to be a monSTAR.

Everyone of us is different, everyone has something special inside. Just be confident, don’t hide in the dark. Hello, how do you do? Now tell me how do you boo.

Monster High – We’re the Monstars
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7hz7iEt0hUA

Catchy wee theme eh? Lost of scope. πŸ™‚

18. CameronB Brodie

This week I’ve been mostly aiming to be a monSTAR.

‘Everyone of us is different, everyone has something special inside. Just be confident, don’t hide in the dark. Hello, how do you do? Now tell me how do you boo.’

Monster High – We’re the Monstars
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7hz7iEt0hUA

Catchy wee theme eh? Lost of scope. πŸ™‚

19. Tinto Chiel

CameronB: how are you booing?

I’m enjoying seeing the constitutional crisis unfold on the MT. No wonder senior Tories want Mayhem to withdraw the appeal: don’t tell me the RP doesn’t run in Scotland and to proceed would infringe the Union? Can we have it in writing?

I’m in a reflective mood tonight, so I’ll leave you sophisticates this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c9E9p7i7mhE

20. CameronB Brodie

Sorry for the double post. The first one lacked a sense of BEING anyway. πŸ˜‰

Did I mention constructedness with scope allows for flexibility of approach?

B-Real, Coolio, Method Man, LL Cool J And Busta Rhymes – Hit Em High (The Monstars’ Anthem)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ewOzi5-AZXU

@ Scotland In Yoonion
    You guys are toast.

21. CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
    Sorry for not noticing you there, I’m all over the place tbh. πŸ™‚

22. Tinto Chiel

It might be my New Look, Cameron.

Does my bum look big in it?

If people have a few minutes, they might wish further reflection. It’s an age thing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XQykMqS83XA

23. CamernB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
    Naw, quite flattering. It wasn’t that I didn’t recognise the authentic you mate, my attention was distracted by the false reality being created around me by the BUM. It stopped me from seeing things as they really are. I blame their monstar, the BBC, for most of the damage to my perception. Fiendish, frankly, in a colonial sort of way.

24. Tinto Chiel

That false reality has become the mask that slipped, though, Cameron. More and more people are seeing through Vichy Vision. Once Brexit really kicks off, more and more pennies will drop, like the slow start of an avalanche.

Your inalienable right thing is another example of how The State tries to bulldoze us, but what if a legal argument were pursued on this very specific point?

I’m beginning to think the SG are quite a few steps ahead of Mrs Mayhem and her Gruntfuttocks.

25. CameronB Brodie

Vichy Vision describes it well. Thankfully, ideology responds poorly to change and real-word events. Their mantra will be their downfall.

We’ll soon be liberated from their grooming of Scotland’s identity. Creeps.

26. Tinto Chiel

And I believe that too, CameronB.

Will Self is an excellent English iconoclast, married to a Motherwell Laydee, Deborah Orr. I know she writes for The Observer but Will is more aware than many in Londinium of Our Difference.

He’s speaking at The Mitchell Library next Friday, if anyone’s interested.

Am I going? ‘King right, as Ian B would say. I’ll be the dweeb in the fedora.

27. Tinto Chiel

A sublime collection, Smallaxe.

Reminds me of the times when I was young and beautiful.

Of course, with my snake hips and cheese-cutter cheekbones, I was a pure babe-magnet.

You’ve no idea how annoying it was to have a sassy, talking wee piglet following you around all day…..

28. Smallaxe

Tinto:

It was the snake hips that reminded me,now I remember you

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ti4sqG85FU4

Peace Always

29. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Thanks for those Smallaxe. I won’t say it. πŸ™‚

I was lucky to see Booker T & the MGs a couple of times, when they were over for the pond for the first time in 25 years. Amazing band. They walked on stage to this and the place ‘erupted’. Here’s a pretty laid back version.

Not everyone knows they were the Blues Brothers’ band,

Booker T. & The MG’s – Time Is Tight
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nbBcXvKvB08

30. CameronB Brodie

Snakehips? Again, I have the perfect track in mind but it’s totally inappropriate to the occasion. πŸ™‚

31. Tinto Chiel

How are ye, Smallaxe?

Your first link was blocked: GCHQ?

Wonderful Roxy and TDoPS but your snake man gave me the shivers.

I’m reverting to my strict regime of bending exercises and Vichy Water.

32. Smallaxe

http://www.youtube.com/results?sp=SBTqAwA%253D&q=jesus+christ+superstar

another try

Peace Always

would you lot,STOP POSTING TOO QUICKLY

33. CameronB Brodie

@DaviePrice
    I find it helps to understand what one is talking about before attempting to explain that which one does not understand. Ken?

Scottish ideology is shaped through landscape and culture. It can be fitted to Scottish needs. British ideology is shaped by English nationalism and fitted to English needs.

An ideology is a set of beliefs that affects our outlook on the world. Our ideology is our most closely held set of values and feelings, and it acts as the filter through which we see everything and everybody. In fact, these beliefs are often so close to us that we do not realize that they are there. We simply think that our beliefs are natural and obviously true. Religion is one type of ideology, and religious belief affects a person’s views.

http://www.sparknotes.com/us-government-and-politics/political-science/political-ideologies-and-styles/section1.rhtml

34. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Stop that silly exercise regime,do what I do,exercise all day every day by breathing,I have been breathing constantly for a number of years now and its did me no harm!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFGvmrJ5rjM
    Sia: breathe me

35. Smallaxe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=we1uRWRuj80

Dean MARTIN & Jerry Lewis: Drunk

Peace Always

36. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe; but my bending exercises are straight out of At-Swim-Two-Birds! And I’ve got socks to prove it.

Actually, Sia’s performance is rather sobering.

Independence; are we nearly there yet?

37. Smallaxe

Chris Montez:LETS DANCE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iNLXxDMxe18

the B side of lets dance, so bad that its great
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m6Ox41u5gTY

Peace Always

38. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Sound likes you need luvdup mate. Here’s something a bit different. Perhaps not to your taste but I hope the sentiment carries.

One Dove – White Love (Psychic Masturbation)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=siO9jgphLZw

Communities are imagined. I may never meet you mate but I feel we’re part of a community with authentic soul.

Drum Club – U Make Me Feel So Good (deep and hard mix)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B6y6O24pjpI

Ideology has a terrible record of obliterating authentic communities. Scotland isn’t gonna join that list.

Spiral Tribe – Forward The Revolution
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c9FG-WrT8co

P.S. Apologies to conservative types. πŸ™‚

39. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Independence Day

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pkDQ4uslrzg

Peace Always

40. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

I haven’t kept across all your recent posts, but I must ask…

Have you tackled Derrida?

I’m having to do it – right now – and, tbh, he’s doing my nut in a wee bit.

Would be grateful for any thoughts you may have on his stuff. Don’t mean to sound dismissive or derogatory about the dude…important, aye, but it’s getting to me a bit. Shades of ‘The Matrix’ an’ aw that palaver.

Anyway, enough from me…ah’m due a blue pill…

πŸ™‚

41. Smallaxe

Cameron:

True
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azMRIHIyt1Y

Peace Always

Because of the length of your tracks I have sampled them and put them into a playlist for further perusal,sound interesting

42. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    Sorry mate. I almost got my lights put out by Smallaxe, for suggesting fiddling with it the other day. My ‘knowledge’ is mostly through life, with a few ‘facts’ gleaned from the odd book or two. I’m a practiced pragmatist who is lucky to know how to shape and use solutions. Doesn’t always work as planned though. πŸ™‚

43. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thank You,your dedication is admirable.

Peace And Love

44. Smallaxe

Goodnight Tinto, πŸ™‚

Peace Always

45. CameronB Brodie

I know what folk are probably thinking. No, I’m an arse and and failed to manage my meds properly again. Getting closer to eleven. Boo. πŸ™‚

Spiral Tribe – Probably Taking Drugs
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T9TaWn-oWv4

46. Smallaxe

Cameron, about the meds,its not getting closer to eleven

It’s only 9

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k-NwzozflCQ

Peace Always

47. Smallaxe

Is Michael joining the musical conversation tonight?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WLFd6xaRLN0

Peace Always

48. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m just about to climb the stairs to Bedfordshire but I’ll stick this link in, before I retire.

It’s for anyone who ever spent their working days on a ship, anywhere on Earth’s oceans.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-vIMQ5ZcBT8

49. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Man can’t live by politics alone. πŸ˜‰

Gregory Isaacs ~ Night Nurse
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ec9KwGWvSpM

50. Smallaxe

Goodnight Brian,Peace Always

Cameron why not live by politics And music

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NaWmoo5GrAg

Peace Always

51. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    I’ve pooped my pop Smallaxe, time I hit the sack. See you around.

52. Smallaxe

Goodnight Cameron

Peace Always

53. CameronB Brodie

Almost forgot….come on!

Age of Love – Age Of Love (Watch Out For Stella Mix)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MT9pH9C7Oew

Night, night.

54. CameronB Brodie

OK, I couldn’t just leave things hanging like that.

Usura – Open Your Mind
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7sPUpKGI1Z4

55. CameronB Brodie

The BBC exists to shape minds to follow British nationalist ideology. They re-write history to make us believe in One Nation. Creeps.

Robert Miles – Children [Dream Version]
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CC5ca6Hsb2Q

56. Ghillie

CameronB Brodie @ 2.28am

Agree. The BBC has the power to rewrite history and uses that tool continually.

I do believe that the BBC (and much of the msm) hold Scotland in utter contempt. And that begins to work both ways. Not the way I want the world we live in to be.

So as Smallaxe says, Love and Peace folks = )

And roll on Indy Ref New = )

57. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe 12:17am http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=50RKT0Umqdw Noticed you have retired for the Night. Have a good Sleep. Catch you later on today

58. CameronB Brodie

Ghillie
    It will soon be time for Scots to make their voices heard.

Sing!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FpY2VHckF3U

59. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Aye, Freddie knew how to put on a show. Class.

60. Michael McCabe

Ah there is the Piano. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nmn-BYyjBeI

61. Michael McCabe

Ouch First Aid Kit-America http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hy70q_awGUk

62. CameronB Brodie

I would imagine the lack of in-depth sociological or psychological study in to the harmful effects the BBC has, when shaping an ideologically defined Scottish identity by impairing Scotland’s self-awareness and judgement, might be because academia is
    largely part of the Yoon Establishment.

@ BBC
    What about the people of Scotland’s inalienable human right to an authentic identity? You are aware that cultural integrity is a vital component of achieving sustainable solutions to re-world demands? Your Yoon ideology won’t do that.

Quench – Dreams (Original Mix)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xa_iOGzoY9A

63. CameronB Brodie

@ BBC
    The ideology that brought you in to existence, is outdated, unrepresentative and unsuited to current and likely demands of Scotland. Your corporatist resistance to reality, supporting an inequitable and unsustainable approach to meeting the future requirements of society, is unhelpful to say the least. No only that, you have the never to charge for the service.

Jaydee – Plastic Dreams
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jy1YDMBNfdU

64. CameronB Brodie

@BBC
    Stop grooming Scotland to be British, please. I find it oppressive, frankly. Creeps.

Lil Louis – French Kiss
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Y8w2W1uy2A

65. CameronB Brodie

That’s what we’re up against Smallaxe, forces that seek to dis empower and shape society to unrepresentative and most likely unsustainable ends. That’s when the totalitarianism ramps up.

@BBC
    Your love towards Scotland is not a healthy one. Creeps.

Frankie Knuckles – Your Love
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LOLE1YE_oFQ

66. Smallaxe

Cameron:

it will never happen

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dJMwDDMUSiA

Peace Always

67. Smallaxe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J4aUPC0zMok

Sorry the last one was meant to be this

Peace Always

68. Liz g

Smallaxe @
    I have to leave commenting on this site for now my friend.
    But won’t leave you.
    Will always check and see what you are saying here.
    And still maintain that in the wee sma hoors shout out if ye are lookin to put the world to rights.
    Chances are I will be mooching around and ofcourse will be happy to talk to you.
    While I know you have enough on your plate.
    If you will do me the honour of keeping me informed of your progress,over here on OT you will remove one of my worries.
    Give Mrs Smallaxe all my love and tell her to take care of herself.
    Peace to you,and your’s ,and,to us and ours..well to everyone really.
    This is what Whisky is For!!!
    PEACE ALWAYS …X..

69. Stoker

70. Smallaxe

liz g:

Hi liz, I’m doing ok as far as I’m concerned but the Doc wants me back in tomorrow for more tests.They say my blood is full of white platelets.I don’t care if its full of cuplets and saucerlets.

I have been lurking on the main thread,but not posting much,I stay around here on off topic,it’s a calmer place for me to be at the moment.I’m keeping an eye on you.Please don’t worry about me liz,as I have said, I’m not going to lie down to it just because of their tests,I have my own ways of coping,music being one of them of course.Wings and Wingers like yourself are another form of therapy for me.

Keep up the good work on Wings,the 69rs and I have our own ways of contributing.

PEACE and LOVE to You and Those you LOVE

71. Tinto Chiel

Evening, Groovers and Chantie-Wrastlers:

While researching Lochan na Beiste, I came upon this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oLUY_WLMQoc

I never converse with attractive women hanging around lochs now.

A word to the wise: Smallaxe, CameronB, etc.

Betcha Nana would agree with me.

72. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe πŸ™‚

Pat Cupp & The Flying Saucers – Do me no wrong
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=au-xmvwHRms

73. CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
    Sorry mate, I think I heard you, I just forgot to refresh again.

Culture is probably long over-due a slot. πŸ™‚

74. Stoker

WOS Archives for November 2011

Lies, damned lies and The Scotsman
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/lies-damned-lies-and-the-scotsman/#respond

The demonisation of Alex Salmond
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-demonisation-of-alex-salmond/#comments

75. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thank you.

Peace Always

76. Tinto Chiel

CameronB: Vichy Vision is failing. Internal colonisation is losing its grip.

And we have Karen:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FGUFwD_k9FQ

The great ocean is indifferent to our fate but we carry on with our human concerns.

The tide is turning.

77. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: correction, I avoid scarlet women hanging around lochs now.

Sheesh!

78. Smallaxe

I have been to the doctor

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y6RtVmc5dSE

Peace ALWAYS

79. Cactus

Cheers for the chives, excellent!

Question out there.. now we all understand whisky.. but,

When is bonnie.. bonny? and,
    When is bonny.. bonnie?

Seeing many variations used.

Ta.

80. Cactus

‘Waiting In Vain’

‘This Video Is Not Available’

Hehehe, p*rfect!

81. Smallaxe

Cactus:

Try again its working for me!

Peace Always

82. Cactus

We’re on the crest of an ever-rising wave.

I can hear it being played on the accordion smallaxe.

G*id mornin’ Monday.

83. Smallaxe

Good Morning Cactus:

Hows Things?

Peace Always

84. Cactus

4:17 only smallaxe, maybe me, animation denied, but aptly fitting none~ra~less.

*We wish you a.. free Scotland and a lab free new year!*

Get that ‘*’ on the top of the indy tree.

That’s the Bullseye! Ready..?

85. Cactus

Grand smallaxe, tres bigrand.

Or en le france? πŸ™‚

Have ye heard of a gold called Springbank before?

Be grand or good or be both.

86. Smallaxe

I’ve got a white unicorn that sits on top of my tree Cactus.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BDXIYFDlC38

Peace Always

87. Smallaxe

Springbank Gold,do you mean the whisky?

Peace Always

88. Cactus

White Unicorn and whisky aye ~ Yes!

Glasgow’s *nly ever a few footsteps away..

From Glasgow to Gretna..

89. Smallaxe

I know that Cactus I come from Barlanark,your welcome here anytime
    Peace Always.

90. Cactus

And to you good earth-hood neighbourman.

Likewise.

Be grand.

91. Smallaxe

Look after yersel Cactus,we need good punters like you.

Peace Always

92. Cactus

Of course, je capice.

Darn, whose holding the Scottish line.. Toto?

Goin’ tonto.

93. Cactus

Aye, a peace always to one and ever-all.

Independence referendum new..

Pure raring tae go!!

Gdnight (maybe)

94. Smallaxe

Goodnight Cactus.Maybe

Peace Always my friend

95. Cactus

Maybe back once more.

Check out ‘Recent Comments’ the now smallaxe.

You and I have rattled it.

X vs Zzz

96. Smallaxe

Nae stamina,Cactus.

We’ve taken over Wings

Glesga Team Rules OK

Peace Always

97. Cactus

X wins.

Big town takeover.. yaaaaas!

How much we gonna hold this fine place to ransom pardner?

Sun up.

98. Smallaxe

X always wins Cactus,as long as you put it in the right box.

We need mair Xs in thae boxes

Peace Always

99. CameronB Brodie

Still sooking up what comes out of the BUM?

Pop Will Eat Itself – Wise Up! Sucker (12″ version)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ocFgXYr7nNE

100. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

RE: Pop Will Eat Itself.

The first of their offerings I came across was “Def Con 1”. I was intrigued by it. It worked well with my rock audience but what got me was I lost count at 9, trying to identify all the samples in it. But “Crazy Horses” just jumped out. I used to segue in to live, on vinyl.

Once I had mastered my audio editing app on ‘my leedle Mac’. I put this mix together. I’ll provide the link: you may have to actually download it, then play it in your media player.

I rather like it…

BTW: It was me segueing ‘Def Con 1’ into The Osmonds “Crazy Horses” that made “Crazy Horses” a regular track in Dundee rock discos for years afterwards.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/myoozack/Def%20Con%201-Crazy%20Horses-64.mp3

101. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thanks, Stoker,been waiting on these,I’m building a nice little collection.Hope it’s warmer tomorrow. πŸ™‚

Peace Always

102. Michael McCabe

Hi Smallaxe that’s two tracks I have seen you play from Stanley Odd. this is one of his that was flying about before the Referendum. thought he was very good with his Lyrics. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nu8ta_ECc5s OH roll on the Divorce.

103. Smallaxe

Good to see you post,Michael,

Good lyrics can make me listen to even a mediocre vocalist,especially if
    he/she wrote them,ergo.Dylan,Kristofferson,etc.Stanley Odd,I’m still surprised that a few people I’ve spoken to have never heard the name.

Jake Bugg
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fY0oPg1h8fQ

Peace Always (and that divorce)

104. Michael McCabe

I must Admit I love the Cave. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yvG6UrRMFnk

105. Smallaxe

“the Cave” I think that would make a good ballad,the lyrics are poetic.

Paul Simon
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6iPLErUQHx0

Peace Always

106. Michael McCabe

Bob Dylan- Hurricane (Live) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=at2TiJpFT68

107. Smallaxe

Did that last one get lost?,mine I mean.

Rory Gallagher
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nZ5PQppudHc

Peace Always

108. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe. Loved the Paul Simon. Aaron Neville with a Dylan Cover. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wfmcUeueuhc

109. Smallaxe

Kilburn and the High Roads.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z6C8NNbqcG4

Peace Always

110. Smallaxe

It’s amazing how different one song can sound with a change in tempo!

Julian Lennon
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aQs1Ynq0rlk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ql1EnjVYrZM

Peace Always

111. Smallaxe

I suppose it’s bedtime.

The Byrds
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h80l4XIPJC4

Goodnight

Peace Always

112. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe I would agree with you. Most of the Time. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xii7f6oITs

113. Smallaxe

I thought that you had gone,last night.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j9Rh7YjK6so

Peace Always

114. Nana

@Smallaxe

How did you get on yesterday? Hopefully all good.

I know you will have been tired afterwards.

115. Smallaxe

Nana:

They took another couple of barrels of blood and checked the size of my Spleen to see if it had taken over from my bone marrow making my blood.
    I should get the results before the end of the week.

They are still baffled about how I’m getting about ok.
    According to them, I shouldn’t be so “healthy”.
    I did not tell them that I use my Wings.
    πŸ™‚
    Peace Always
    Billy

116. Nana

Wings working its magic? I think its a positive vibes of ‘the force’ and may it always be with you. xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WEDboC4mBYk

Obi-Wan should have sung this.

117. Smallaxe

Nana:

The doctors are singing this!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R1c1ed72arI

Peace Always

118. Smallaxe

Nana:

I forgot to say,you were talking about gloves yesterday I use these,they are thin,warm and with rubber bobbles on the palm for gripping.They are great for driving.

http://www.mountainwarehouse.com/womens/accessories/gloves-mittens/grippi-lining-glove-p6455.aspx/black

Peace Always

119. Nana

@Smallaxe

I have a pair of the grippi gloves, they’re great. I use them for cleaning out my freezers, when I take out the drawers the gloves helps me to grip so I don’t drop them [I have done this]

I don’t drive any more, lost my confidence a few years back. I miss it sometimes but I have ‘chauffeurs’ who take me here and there so really don’t need to drive. Plus the shops are within walking distance.

120. Smallaxe

Nana:

I’m pleased to hear it,my wife,daughter and grandchildren have a chauffeur as well.ME!

Peace Always

121. CameronB Brodie

Here’s one from a person largely benefit of middle-class vanities and distractions. Someone who you could say follows a more aesthetic approach to life. I’m sure my choosing this path was not purely voluntary, rather a reactive response to the events and social stimuli that have shaped my BEING. A defense strategy against being crushed under a neo-liberal interpretation as a ‘failure’, when viewed against contemporary social values.

I suppose you could say my BEING has been shaped through my life-long struggle against de-humanising habitus and ideology, I’m a scholarship kid to a private school, with a little bit of SOCIAL SCIENCES THEORY chucked in.

That’s probably why I’m aware my self-conception is somewhat out of alignment with the reality of my circumstances. I have the skills required to participate in British ‘middle-class-ness’, though I have little desire or opportunity of participating in this way of life, as I refuse to replace authentic human value and principle with short-term expediency.

Ignore the BUM, especially the BBC, it presents a facade of decency to cover neo-colonialism in th 21st century. The principles of contemporary social science support this perspective.

React 2 Rhythm – Intoxication
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DGR4IfmJnqI

122. CameronB Brodie

….BEREFT….ffs

…should have gone… πŸ™‚

123. CameronB Brodie

I suppose you could say I’ve been honing my skills as an ‘irritant’ to the British Establishment, since childhood. πŸ™‚

@dhothersall
    You’re ideological BEING is gonna take a spanking. Read any Bourdieu or Lorde yet? Done anything to de-colonise your mind? Apparently not, as you continue to support the acceptance of intolerance and social exclusion, along with an adherence to ideological dogma. This is the mindset that produced the inner-cities of the ’70s ye fanny-bawz.

Misty In Roots ?- Poor And Needy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-8sXpKayUkg

124. Stoker

WOS Archives for December 2011

Dedication’s what you need
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/dedications-what-you-need/#respond

Back to business
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/back-to-business/#respond

125. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    I suppose hoping for you to escape your ideological world and applying good judgement based on rational analysis of facts, is a bit like hoping for an organic double-yoker from a Muppet.

You’re half the way there WANK, just relax and push.

Swedish Chef – Ping Pong Ball Eggs
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RhRkAzaDuyg

P.S. Your involvement with Scotland’s body politic is comming to an end. Scotland will not miss your presence.

126. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    We’re not trying to belittle you as you do a fine job of it yourself.

I just wish you’d shut up and let the grown-ups get on with a conversation which is of such importance that ideologically minded politicians and their gimps, such as yourself, should be barred from involvement in.

You’ll never understand “inclusion” until you comprehend habitus, which you are a product and supporter of. Your ideological outlook is ill-informed and subsequently inhumane, kid.

Here’s a paradox for you to wrestle with, given you function as tool of British National Socialism.

Put the master’s tools down!

127. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    As you pose as a credible commentator on Scotland’s contemporary socio-economic and political climate, I’m left wondering how an ill-informed tool of British National Socialism is enabled to comment on Scotland’s post-modern condition, experienced under a system of inter colonisation. Do you reject Differential Oppositional Consciousness and the “Methodology of the Oppressed”?

https://caringlabor.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/methodology-of-the-oppressed-chela-sandoval.pdf

Josh Wink – Higher State of Consciousness
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0f7cylz6tl4

P.S. This is music from a decade that was largely lost to me as my brain re-shaped it’s neural map, so here’s one specially for you sugar.

SNEAKER PIMPS – “Spin Spin Sugar” (Armand’s Dark Garage Mix)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BqfIvPQ8Dgo

128. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    I don’t know what your aesthetic appreciation or taste is is though I can imagine, so I’m not sure if you’ll appreciate this one. There was some good ‘dance’ music during this period, with a solid beat and an aware social consciousness.

Basement Jaxx – Where’s Your Head At
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rAOyh7YmEc

129. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    Don’t get the wrong idea now, I appreciate the nature of metaphorical boot I’ve just delivered to your British National Socialist balls.

Pornland – Sympathise
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mj7D25Au8x8

130. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    Your student politics ‘right-on-ness’ and British National Socialism is immature and lacks an authentic Scottish soul. It simply gets in the way of understanding the complex social processes under consideration, frankly.

This is what you are, in an olfactory sense that is. A bit funky.

Kunde – Funky beat
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=13rFoIDrC3E

131. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

Did you listen to that which I posted at 9.19pm last night?

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-44/#comment-2205818

What thocht ye?

132. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Yes, sorry for not responding at the time, I see I have some way to develop. You were mix’n and shit back in the day. πŸ™‚

133. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    Are you beginning to appreciate who you are and what role you play in British society? You support an Establishment that resists modernity and present an obstacle to Scotland’s sustainable evolution. That can’t be allowed to go unchecked.

Got a positive case for the Union?

Tool – Schism
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UhjG47gtMCo

134. CameronB Brodie

Here’s a track from the band that were closely associated with the original Calton Hill “Beltane Fire Festival”, back in the day.

If only the picture presented to the Scottish public as reality, wasn’t so tainted by alien ideology that is fetish-ised over as a British Nationalist pseudo-religion.

Test Department – Current Affairs
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Df470jontc

Time to end the BBC’s grooming of a nation. Creeps.

135. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    Just in case those twitches are the signs of life, rather than the autonomic nervous system letting go of a once living political corpse of an ideological nationalist, here’s how I view your input to Scotland’s social well-being. Mind now, my perspective is informed by the principles of contemporary social science, ken.

Got a positive case for the Union kid?

WARNING: not suitable for those sensitive to flashing lights.

Tool – Stinkfist
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=07pLGIgyfjw

136. Cactus

Here’s a guy playing a very grand piano in an ocean of icebergs.

It’s all about the Arctic
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2DLnhdnSUVs

It’s all about the peace.

137. Paula Rose

I’m actually rather saddened to find out that Grousebeater is not quite the high up thingie he thought he was – but he does have relevant things to say which is sweet.

138. Chic McGregor

Strange double first in yesterday’s National.

First double solution to the number square, although they only showed one and first two word crossword clue I have seen with an apostrophe separator, Nor’Wester.

139. Nana

@Smallaxe

Noticed you did not put the kettle on this morning. Hope all is well with you.

140. CameronB Brodie

@TUBA-BOY
    Your ignorance is truly spectacular, is it an act? Sure you don’t wish Scots were all English? That’s what British nationalism is, expansionist English nationalism.

A New England
    An English identity within Britain

The politics of identity – why identity matters

National identity is a hard thing for anyone to talk about. What after all, is more nebulous and elusive than a nation’s identity? But it is a particularly hard thing for politicians to talk about. For when they do, they are generally accused, from the left of chauvinism and, from the right, of treachery – or at least lack of patriotism. No doubt my comments today will court these accusations. Nevertheless, I think it is extremely important that politicians, and especially progressive, social democratic politicians, do talk about national identity.

But how powerful are these arguments? They assume first, that national sentiment is something that can be suppressed or eradicated. But is this really so? Certainly, some people have a stronger sense of national identity than others. And a tiny minority of people – people who perhaps spend their lives moving from one place to another – have hardly any sense of national belonging at all. But most people do have firm ties to one or sometimes, even two or three, countries, even if it some times takes a terrible event – an attack on their homeland, the outbreak of a war, a natural disaster – to make them appreciate how strong those ties are.

I believe that there is a real danger that if we simply neglect or talk down national identity – people’s sense of common belonging and shared values – we risk creating a festering, resentful national identity, an identity based not on confidence but on grievance. Indeed, if we look at the most unattractive examples of nationalism, they usually have their roots in the nationalists’ belief, true or otherwise, that they have been denied their birthright – that a foreign power, or an overly cosmopolitan, unpatriotic ruling class has prevented them from being who they really are.

http://www.ippr.org/files/uploadedFiles/research/researchteams/Blunket_a_new_england.pdf?noredirect=1

β€œThe right to development is an inalienable human right by virtue of which every human person and all peoples are entitled to participate in, contribute to, and enjoy economic, social, cultural and political development, in which all human rights and fundamental freedoms can be fully realized.” (Article 1.1, Declaration on the Right to Development)

β€œThe human right to development also implies the full realization of the right of peoples to self-determination, which includes, subject to the relevant provisions of both International Covenants on Human Rights, the exercise of their inalienable right to full sovereignty over all their natural wealth and resources.” (Article 1.2)

http://www.un.org/en/events/righttodevelopment/pdf/rtd_at_a_glance.pdf

141. K1

Like what? πŸ˜‰

142. Jim McIntosh

Who would agree that the term “you promised to keep the garden in good order” is subjective enough to mean just about anything. Asking for a friend. πŸ™‚

143. Thepnr

@Jim McIntosh

I would take that as meaning cutting the grass and a bit of weeding. Not planting anything or splashing cash. basically keep it tidy.

Keeping something in “good order” is just maintenance like getting the car serviced. If it’s not serviced it will no longer be in good order when it is handed back. My view, FWIW.

144. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    Hey flat-head, the thing about ideologues is they lack an appreciation of science and art. Their world view is dictated by prescribed message, not human experience and imagination.

I pity you with role models such as TUBA-BOY. Why don’t the pair of you expand your appreciation of “organic” and “ideological” nationalism? This may make your future comment worthy of consideration. It certainly isn’t at present.

Mr Oizo – Flat Beat
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qmsbP13xu6k

145. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    Hey flat-head. I hope you and TUBA-BOY won’t rely on FEAR again when indy2 comes around. I might have to let loose if that appears to be the way of things. Can’t have terrorists shaping my life, no matter how subtle they think they are.

WHERE’S THE MONEY GEORGE? + Mr. Oizo – Positif
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-7MYF6ik9l8

146. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

You typed,
    “You were mix’n and shit back in the day”

The bit of that mix that I was particularly chuffed with was using Alex Harvey from the “Penthouse Tapes” album as the bridge between Pop Will Eat Itself and The Osmonds. (Licks thumb and wipes on lapel…)

———————————————–

Hi Jim McIntosh.

You mentioned,
    “keep the garden in good order”

That reminded me of a story. A guy moves in to a cottage in a wee village. The front and back gardens are totally unkempt – three feet high grass and so on. So, over the spring and summer, he works on the gardens every day. He cuts the grass back and creates flower borders at the front and plants shrubberies and vegetables at the back.

By Autumn, the gardens are looking splendid. That’s when the local minister, passing by one day, engaged the guy in conversation. The guy shows him what he has done at the front and round the back.

“Isn’t it wonderful,” says the minister, “to see God’s work in all its glory?”

“God’s work?”, says the guy. “You should have seen it when he was looking after it himself!”

147. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    Hey flat-head, do you appreciate that from the perspective of post-modern critical social theory, your adherence to ideology and your basic intolerance and exclusionary* hostility to Scotland’s self-determination, identifies the neo-colonial character of your Yoonery.

You would rather Scotland was extinguished under an expansionist form of English nationalism, of an increasingly neo-liberal, character. That’s why were Better Together, eh?

Figured out how to “put the master’s tools down” yet, tool?

Mr Oizo – Hand In The Fire (feat. Charli XCX)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ad6SxduZfis

* Can’t get much more exclusionary than denying Scots access to inalienable human rights. That’s denies the humanity of an entire people, those who identify as Scots.

β€œThe right to development is an inalienable human right by virtue of which every human person and all peoples are entitled to participate in, contribute to, and enjoy economic, social, cultural and political development, in which all human rights and fundamental freedoms can be fully realized.” (Article 1.1, Declaration on the Right to Development)

β€œThe human right to development also implies the full realization of the right of peoples to self-determination, which includes, subject to the relevant provisions of both International Covenants on Human Rights, the exercise of their inalienable right to full sovereignty over all their natural wealth and resources.” (Article 1.2)

148. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Would it be taking it too far if I was to suggest your mixing was in some way breaking the ideology of each track. Your scratch was a solution of syntheses.

Hat and coat already in hand. It’s cold and I lack hair. πŸ™‚

149. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    Hey flat-head,, I’m not sure if that Tory fan-boy, David Torrance, will have any space left in his shabby tent of diminished being. You could always ask him and his mates to squeeze up. Birds of a colonialist feather….

Mr. Oizo – End Of The World (feat. Skrillex)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0q-ThgIMckE

150. Paula Rose

You know that thing where when you refresh the page it refreshes to where you commented?

I get round that by having this and the current one open and then alternate after I comment.

151. CameronB Brodie

Dr. Craig Dalzell
    I don’t know why you honour David Torrance by acknowledging he may have a rational argument. The colonising processes of British nationalism are in conflict with the principles of his scientific training. British nationalism and authentic Scottish self-identification are completely incompatible. It is either Britain or a Scotland with intrinsic integrity. Both can not exist in the same space at the same time.

David Torrance is either an unprincipled charlatan or a disingenuous and anti-social throw-back to a less civilised colonial time. You dirty yourself with such contact.

152. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

When I reload a WOS page, it appears at the same place it was before I clicked on “Reload” but with any new posts appearing below where I was so I have to scroll down the page to see them.

I find that fine. What gets me is the rigmaroll to see what you’ve posted as soon as you’ve clicked on “Submit Comment”.

Up to Firefox 35, I didn’t have the oft-reported problems of posts not appearing for around 15-20 minutes after clicking on “Submit Comment” and the username and email not being preserved. Then I jumped to Firefox 37 and those problems suddenly appeared.

I’ve found out, by trial and error, the following work around.

Before I comment, I enter my username and email address. Then I reload the page. The details seem to hold so I then type in my comment. When I’m finished, I check the appearance in the text below the text input box, then click on “Submit Comment”.

Sometimes, the page reloads and shows me what I’ve submitted in the correct chronological place on the page. Other times, the page reloads and returns to the top of the page. In that case, I click on the “Backwards” button, then the reload button.

About half the time, the page will then show my comment correctly in situ. The other half of the time, it takes anywhere between 5 and 15 minutes of reloading before my comment appears.

“Go figure”, as Peter Griffin might utter…

153. Paula Rose

BDTT I worry about you sometimes – I really do.

154. Stoker

Calling Smallaxe….come in Smallaxe….

Here’s one for you, from one of my favourite groups.
    Recognise the start?
    πŸ™‚

UB40 – Here I Am Baby
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jC3IRNGUNcE

155. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

I’ll have you know that my Dad spent his formative years in Brechin so wa-a-atch whut yir typin’…

Eh huv a splodge of Brechin blood in me…

156. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Big up Sistren,everyting criss,likkle more walk good.

I and I overstand you,seen?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KIae017Ntew

Peace Always

157. Smallaxe

Oh, Mi tiad a dem politician yah and dem ploytricks.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DXk–eL5-kQ

Peace Always

158. Cactus

Ginseng, how do..

159. Thepnr

Hey Cactus, meh heeds nipping. What the fuck is that about?

Don’t care got a tune for them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=glgDZN3p1wM

160. Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood:

Is this what you are looking for?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00kdwfk

Peace Always

161. Smallaxe

SORRY Ian:

just noticed that doesn’t play πŸ™

Peace Always

162. Cactus

Good tea bud.

163. Smallaxe

Cactus,Bud tea good! πŸ™‚

Peace Always

164. Cactus

Indeed smallaxe.

#feelslikefridayalready

Behold.. my firstever hashtag.

165. Cactus

After midnight..

Who made who?

166. Thepnr

@Cactus

A winky thing.

#dontbackdown my first hashtag.

167. Smallaxe

Cactus:

After Midnight

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AvxJ0TVvVzE

Peace Always

168. CameronB Brodie

Scottish ‘nationalism’ is organic, British “nationalism” is ideological. British nationalism is the philosophy of a colonial culture with a history of oppression.

Burning Spear – Message
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfYSjvwPprg

169. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    How you doing FAN-BOY, still not found a way to allow your sense of ethics to rise above your beliefs? Thick, greedy or both?

Burning Spear – I and I survive
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AT0iKbsPxFI

170. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    We could keep this all night, the man had powerfull knowledge and release tonnes of records. πŸ™‚

171. Smallaxe

We could Cameron but,Mi GWAAN

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OKbpLQp509Y

Peace Always

172. CameronB Brodie

Night, night Smallaxe. Last one from myself.

Burning Spear – Thank you
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sGnOdQG8M6E

173. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    Don’t want you to feel excluded.

Burning Spear – Brain Food
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bsHj_k7Ec4I

Smallaxe
    Do you think my approach might be a syntheses of the conflicting philosophies of yours and the Cat’s. πŸ™‚

174. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    Don’t worry too much, others have been bewildered by the outward wholesomeness of the Fabian Society, and have found a way to turn towards the light. Which is it for you though, Fabian British nationalist communist fascism, or self-determination?

Tackhead – Mind At The End Of The Tether
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DG2Q-JORcYs

175. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    One of the problem with not being able to switch off, is you come up with the weirdest connections. Picture “Balloon Boy” with a beard and the resemblance is astonishing, frankly. πŸ˜‰

What Is The Purpose of Balloon Boy?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RhcBR6t2qEs

176. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    Answer this, does a website that regularly hosts comments supporting civil liberties and human rights, which do not receive a hostile reception, strike you as a den of “blood and soil” nationalist intolerance hatred?

Admittedly, I have no time for fools. However, I merely seek access to inalienable human rights. How terribly nationalist of me.

BTS – Wings MASHUP
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvJejwZOuio

P.S. I bet I’ve forgotten more about equality issues than you will ever know, kid.

177. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    In case you haven’t figured out where I’m coming from yet, and I don’t mean Dundee.

PJ Harvey – Rub Til It Bleeds
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QVeP-AHFk-s

178. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    I’ll make a deal with you. If you can provide a positive case for the Union, I’ll get off your back. Based on science and human experience now, not ideology.

Show us what a capable individual you are. You should be confident as you are up against a disabled monstar here. Less than 5% of those who have received comparable traumatic brain damage as I have, go on to access any type of employment.

The stage is set for you now, show the world what you’ve got kid.

179. Nana

Links

https://twitter.com/GuyVerhofstadt/status/801384085180579840?lang=en-gb

Breitbart isn’t β€˜just a publication.’ It’s a pestilence
    http://archive.is/SpQBa

The press has a problem with extremism and radicalisation
    https://www.byline.com/column/20/article/1379

Nosferatu at the Ritz
    http://archive.is/TOp4y

180. CameronB Brodie

One thing about spotting an opportunity is that one needs to respond in a measured fashion so as to take hold to your advantage.

The Anglo/American pact is at it’s weakest, as they square up to ‘home-grown’ American fascism, with an insurgent driving up the middle of Wall Street, the Donald, causing all sorts of waves and upset.

Time to start looking for that life-raft folks.

It’s no secret that the Koch brothers really don’t like Donald Trump. In political media, much has been made of the fact that Charles and David Koch, the neoΒ­libertarian principals of Koch Industries and overseers of a secretive network of deep-pocketed political donors, declined to dedicate the resources of the many advocacy organizations they have seeded in this year’s presidential contest. David Koch, a Republican Party delegate, even managed to miss attending the Republican National Convention in Cleveland.

But don’t think for a minute that the superΒ­-rich siblings, who together are worth some $82 billion, according to Forbes, aren’t helping Donald Trump. They may not wish to get all of that Trumpy dirtβ€”the calls to violence, the obvious racism and misogyny, the invitation to Russia for cyberΒ­espionage on his own countryβ€”on their manicured hands, but they’re keen to turn out the voters needed to maintain Republican control of both houses of Congress. And there’s no way to turn out those voters without helping the ("Quizmaster" - Ed) from Queens.

181. Smallaxe

Nana:

Good Morning Nana,Sorry I missed you yesterday.Wifi problems.I sent that short message to you on a smart TV,it took ages.Anyway,thanks for the links,Kettle’s on.

Peace Always

182. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

Good morning Cameron,late night last night!

Peace Always

183. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    I’ve always got my eye out for loon yoons Smallaxe. πŸ˜‰

Talking of which, I haven’t seen any activity in BLiS____d’s Edinburgh office, which I just about live above, since 2014. What a total sham of an operation. They certainly weren’t very welcoming when I responded to their plea for volunteers, in the last couple of days before the indy poll.

Must have been something I said. πŸ™‚

184. CameronB Brodie

P,S, Good morning. πŸ™‚

185. Smallaxe

Cameron:

I’m not a gambling man,but I bet it was something you said.

πŸ™‚

Peace Always

186. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    I’ve not forgotten about you FAN-BOY, I’ve been busy. Hope you didn’t think we are through skooling you yet. I may be a bit beaten down but there’s still fight left in these bones.

Lee Scratch Perry – Super ape in a good shape
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lUqqYYdsoc8

187. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    The walls of Babylon are nighty, we’ll need to coordinate our huff and our puff better, if we want to blow them away.

188. CameronB Brodie

Just a sneaking suspicion but I don’t think “The Furious Man” will ever get the message that Britain is a legacy of the colonial era. The guy’s “name” and defends his slavery.

Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five – The Message
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PobrSpMwKk4

189. Smallaxe

Cameron,I am a small axe,but I’m not the only one,we shall cut them down.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zYU1-Cebb7I

Peace Always

190. CameronB Brodie

We could probably do with all the help we can germinate Smallaxe. This is a fight to the death between Anglo/American neo-liberalism and progressive, consensus democracy of the Scots and for the Scots.

Afro Celt Sound System – The Magnificent Seven
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gM10H-RYI84

191. thewaterbeastie

Anyone recall any coverage regarding the ‘difficulties’ experienced by the Sunday Herald when it came out in favour of independence in May 2014? I’m trying to write a piece concerning the changes in journalism in Scotland, and I remember much comment about this at the time (great difficulty getting any supermarkets to distribute it), and I also seem to recall that The National had similar problems when it appeared…

192. Smallaxe

thewaterbeastie:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-28954692

This is all I can find.

Peace Always

193. Smallaxe

thewaterbeastie:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_National_(Scotland)

Peace Always

194. Caledonian Lass

Belated thanks to Michael McCabe and Smallaxe for welcoming me to the off-topic thread. I have posted a few comments on Wings over Scotland in the past (quite some time ago). Even when I wasn’t commenting, I still kept up to date with reading Wings. It’s one of the best places to go for exposing the lies of the MSM.

Peace Always, Smallaxe.

@ Cameron B Brodie

There are a lot of ‘chanty-wrastlers’ like Torrance around, especially on the BBC. That channel should carry a health warning for causing extreme nausea and raising blood pressure.

They’re so full of their own importance that they think their audience is hanging on to their every word when in fact we’re
    shouting at the screen: “Feck off, ye @@!!%$@@@ scunners!”

195. CameronB Brodie

Caledonian Lass
    The BBC impairs Scotland’s self-perception and judgement. This is no accident.

————-

I’m partial to sweet and sour myself but that presents the danger of slipping in to Cheech and Chong ‘humour’.

MVSCLES – Sweet n’ Sour
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L57XWnxJalE

P.S. The meds are on order. Sweet. πŸ™‚

196. CameronB Brodie

This might get me carded. πŸ™‚

Apologies, if necessary, ladies but what name would you prefer?

Pop Will Eat Itself – Beaver Patrol (Box Frenzy)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O_UcKbqVSeg

197. Nana

@Smallaxe

Not long in, busy day. Just saw your comment on the prophecies thread, missed it yesterday.
    Good to know you are ok.

Hope this link works so you can have a laugh

https://www.amazon.com/Trump-America-Great-Collectible-Ornament/product-reviews

198. Smallaxe

Nana:

Love them, that’s everybody’s Christmas sorted,although I’m not sure about the toilet paper it would either constipate you or have the opposite effect.I think the rUK could use the Billion Dollar notes to pay off their debt,when we leave.Which will be very soon I hope.
    πŸ™‚
    Peace and Love to You and Yours
    Billy

199. Smallaxe

Nana: I posted this earlier to you at 7-55am this morning,on this thread to let you know the situation.

Nana:

Good Morning Nana,Sorry I missed you yesterday.Wifi problems.I sent that short message to you on a smart TV,it took ages.Anyway,thanks for the links,Kettle’s on.

Peace Always

200. Smallaxe

Caledonian Lass:

Hi again,stick around later,we usually have a party with some drinks and dancing.Good to see you back!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vdB-8eLEW8g

Peace Always

201. Nana

@Smallaxe

That’s how I realised you had left a comment yesterday. I was reading the off topic messages in my inbox and spotted the one at 7.55am.

With all the different threads, sometimes it’s difficult to keep up and the last couple of days have been busy so I’ve probably missed lots.

202. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Stoker.

Building a library, as they say.

203. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thank you,I hope you understood my replies last night,if not I’ll give you a translation.Thanks again.

Peace Always

204. Paula Rose

Have we had any Dusty tracks recently?

205. Stoker

TC & Smallaxe

No probs, you’re both welcome.

O.K. Smallaxe, let’s have the translation.

I’ll read it in the morning, off to my bunk.

Goodnight troops!

206. Smallaxe

Paula Rose:

YOU DONT OWN ME

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cTQfyY48HRs

Peace Always

207. Smallaxe

Stoker:Goodnight.

Big up Sistren,everyting criss,likkle more walk good.
    I and I overstand you,seen?:
    Translation
    Respect Sister,everything is good see you later,I know what you mean,you get me.

Oh, Mi tiad a dem politician yah and dem ploytricks
    Oh,I’m tired of politicians and their schemes and lies

One Love, One Heart, One Nation.

208. Cactus

Cat fight on Sky News there.. tbc

We’re at miniscus point, ready to overflow.

Miaow.

209. Smallaxe

The worst thing about insomnia is insomnia.

Simon and Garfunkle,original 1964 version
    the Sound of Silence.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4zLfCnGVeL4

Disturbed,Version same song,only different
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u9Dg-g7t2l4

Peace Always

210. Nana

@Smallaxe

Aye Billy there were a lot of links yesterday, due to the autumn statement and brexit. Consider yourself lucky, I had another 11 which I dumped.

Anyhoo I am taking a break for a while but as wingers are getting really good at finding links I doubt I will be missed [well maybe just a little bit]

Here’s a bit of fun for everyone to do

https://www.16personalities.com/isfp-personality

Take care of yourself & keep the coffee brewing xx

211. Smallaxe

Nana:

Enjoy your break,you deserve some “ME time.You will be missed,by me especially.Other Wingers may be good at finding their own links,but I won’t get enough to fill me up first thing in the morning.I will keep the coffee brewing.Look after yourself.

Peace Love and Thank You

Billy xx

212. Tinto Chiel

Nana: look after yourself.

Those dainty digits need a wee rest.

I’m off to do Mrs TC’s ironing. She bought me a Super Turbo steamer with a separate reservoir and I’ve got to repay the investment.

Before ye go:

*Man goes into butcher’s.*

Man: Can I have a mince round?

Butcher: Please yourself, sir, but we close in five minutes.

***end of joke***

And don’t any of you lot all say, “Where’s the start?”

213. CameronB Brodie

Nana
    Looks like you might know me better than I do myself. πŸ˜‰

Take care and all the best.

214. Dave McEwan Hill

Tinto Chiel at 10.40
    Apparently that man was Larry Grayson -and I think he told the joke himself.

215. Tinto Chiel

DMH: yes, dear old Larry.

Seemed like a nice boy, as he used to say himself.

I have decided, on aesthetic grounds, not to tell the one about the lady who goes into the fishmonger’s with a chantie.

***Scotland rejoices***

216. CameronB Brodie

@PeatWorrier
    Please excuse my simplistic, non-legally trained mind but why the fuck should I respect a legal system and the laws which it produces, if the purpose and outcome of such law is to support the continued denial of the inalienable human rights of Scots. Contemporary Britain stands in conflict to international development law and outwith the global agreement of ‘best practice’ towards achieving a sustainable future.

FUCK THAT! Where are my human rights and where’s my burning torch? Or am I simply an ignorant pleb?

P.S. I’m not a Port drinker and can spot the effects of habitus a mile off. Ken fit eh mean?

217. Quentin Quale

Thought I’d get in quick and get the Friday party started. This’ll have you leapin’ aroon’ the lobby.
    For all Wingers but especially for BDTT, Thepnr and of course the delicious Paula Rose.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pbKCWBTgTR8

218. Smallaxe

Joe Cocker: The Letter-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xraj86LNgYc

Peace Always

219. Smallaxe

Steam: kiss him Goodbye
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jsaTElBljOE

Peace Always

220. Quentin Quale

@Smallaxe – hello there. Ah, Joe Cocker. Brilliant. Here’s another
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oqx3YGLDRu8

221. Smallaxe

Pink Floyd: Is There Anybody Out There?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fNLhxKpfCnA

Peace Always

222. Smallaxe

Hi Quentin, another one of Joe, covering REM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oXh6wFhzN-8

Peace Always

223. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thank You,did you get the translation that you asked for,further up this thread?

Peace Always

224. Ian Brotherhood

Just sent this to my brother, so might as well drop it in here too.

Julie Fowlis singing The Beatles ‘Blackbird’:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0MzetQfKwbE

225. Smallaxe

1967 San Franciscan nights,They did more than House of the Rising Sun

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uWb5YQPlAJc

Peace Always

226. Yesindyref2

I like this version, and that’s that

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCZHQ5xfyoo

227. Smallaxe

Eric Burdon and War:Paint it Black.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jTbvJ-bYPh8

Peace Always

228. CameronB Brodie

Here’s one in recognition of the global resurgence of fascism and the un-deadness of Project Fear.

War – Slippin’ Into Darkness
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RFSWW4O6QNM

229. Smallaxe

I knew I should never have come to this party,I was warned!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rKaQzQAlNn4

Peace Always

230. CameronB Brodie

I’m not meaning to be greedy but WAR were an amazing band, IMHO.

WAR – The World Is A Ghetto
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptIcert_Ra8

231. Michael McCabe

I know a girl who Prefers this Version. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XsHJIAZ1dkE

232. Michael McCabe

Night Nurse- Gregory Isaacs http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lyEP_st9csI

233. CameronB Brodie

Michael McCabe
    I posted that one the other night Michael, when you didn’t show up. I thought you might have been otherwise occupied. πŸ˜‰

234. Michael McCabe

This song might be out of date. But it was a Cracker then & it Still does it for me. The Special Aka http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AgcTvoWjZJU

235. Smallaxe

Some people died fighting for peace and equality.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=luVpsM3YAgw

Peace Always

236. Cactus

Did ye hear about the sequel to ‘Finding Nemo..?’

‘Wherz Dory?’

237. Michael McCabe

Hey up the back. Some of us are trying to survive down here. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DOszpVzap20

238. CameronB Brodie

It’s certainly not easy to survive living under a system of internal colonisation, let alone thrive. I’d suggest the last 40 years might have seen the deepest exploitation of Scotland’s resources, throughout it’s three centuries of subservience to England. Stagnant population, structural poverty and a society structured through English culture and constantly groomed by the BBC to be happy BritNats.

Wake up Scotland, don’t be “name”!

Donny Hathaway – The Ghetto
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OqZ2JBVXgpA

@Loki
    Your friends appear to be mostly neo-fascists, figured out you’re on the wrong team yet?

239. Stoker

Smallaxe (@9:08pm)

Yes, got the translation. Sorry about not getting back to you sooner but these days i just normally post my comments then do a bunk, especially over here in Paula’s hoose.

You never know if anyones around, sometimes the hoose is jumpin’ and sometimes it’s deserted. I think they all watch for me coming and then hide when i get to the door.
    πŸ™‚

Have a great and safe weekend troops.

240. CameronB Brodie

@Loki
    Don’t be too hard on yourself, your not the only one to have been taken in by the apparent wholesomeness of British National Socialism.

British socialism + British nationalism = British fascism = BLiS___d

The Temptations – Ball of Confusion (That what the world is today)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-9poCAuYT-s

@Church of Scotland
    Have you decided weather your duty is to protect your flock or is it to support an Anglican Establishment? Do you know God?

241. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    Hey FAN-BOY. I’m still wondering how someone with a degree in psychology and shit, can hold beliefs that compel the impairment of Scots’ self-perception and judgement.

Were you off school when they covered identity formation or are you simply a greedy, selfish, fake? We already know you are a Tory fan-boy but perhaps you can explain the next time the BBC invites you to present the ‘rational’ voice of Scotland?

Panic in Babylon?

Lee “Scratch” Perry – I’m a Psychiatrist
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OgmRxwDWqbE

242. Robert J. Sutherland

Don’t know if you know it already or not, but here’s a song that was prescient about the 2008 crash, and with Brexit looming seems doubly-relevant here and now.

(Jeez, how is it that even a musician can see what’s happening when the “great and good” can’t? Eliza Gilkyson, fine songwriter and musician, and very together person.)

a live version:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HLuYo_ZTLqw

recorded version:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oq-dFhPcpIw

Worth checking out for more too…

243. CameonB Brodie

@David Torrance
    Chin up FAN-BOY. I appreciate the recognition of one’s personal deficiencies can be a painful process but I’m sure you’ll agree it can be a positive step towards personal growth. Perhaps you need to look to your childhood to explain your apparent lack of humanity.

Your spiritual spanking’s a long way from being over kid. I hope you appreciate that. πŸ˜‰

Upsetters (feat. U Roy) – Double 6
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cJBMBFqU09s

244. CameronB Brodie

Robert J. Sutherland
    Sorry Robert, I hadn’t refreshed. Indeed, a ‘runaway train’ powered by greed, nepotism and corruption. Am I’m beginning to sound a bit preachy? πŸ™‚

245. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    Think you’ve got what it takes to pick yourself up and re-invent yourself FAN-BOY, if the bottom of your world was to fall away? Think you could survive dropping through the social safety net? Think you could recover to build a business from scratch, with nothing behind you for support? Think you could be an employer?

You’ve probably never met the likes of me kid. You’re gonna take a tanking and it will be my great pleasure to cripple your over-inflated self-image. WANK.

Lee Perry & The Upsetters – Jungle Lion
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oiwupM14nvI

246. Stoker

WOS Archives for February 2012

Kettle, meet pot
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/kettle-meet-pot/#comments

Something from the crank file
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/something-from-the-crank-file/#comments

Scotland’s other shame
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/scotlands-other-shame/#comments

Swings and roundabouts
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/swings-and-roundabouts/#comments

Please note folks, that whilst i enjoy *any* WOS articles because they all do what i enjoy most about this site, expose the truth, i will not be linking to football related posts. I want to focus on the political articles relevant to Scottish independence. For those interested, there are 2 excellent articles in the first half of February 2012 related to football.

247. Cactus

Yogi-Yogi Chai, how do..

248. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Big up Sistren,thank you for your dedication.

Peace Always

249. Michael McCabe

A wee tune for my Mate Thepnr. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ds1faZB4QSc

250. Cactus

We good.

Turn it up to eleven & three-quarter.
    X.

251. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Thanks for that my friend and in return I have only this, a song played many times here. Of that I’m proud.

Sad to hear of Fidel Castros death today, a man hated by the establishment but h=as far as I know he did best that he could for his people. My wee tribute.

The song is called Proud. Turn the sound up and listen, that’s us πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OygsHbM1UCw

252. Cactus

Turn it up Thepnr.

Karma turns up once again.

253. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    Morning FAN-BOY. I was thinking about your ideological self and thought it’s just not the done thing to allow you to walk around in such profound ignorance. So, I though “why not teach the kid myself”? So let’s get started with your remedial skooling, shall we?

According to Erikson, the ego develops as it successfully resolves crises that are distinctly social in nature. These involve establishing a sense of trust in others, developing a sense of identity in society, and helping the next generation prepare for the future.

Erikson extends on Freudian thoughts by focusing on the adaptive and creative characteristic of the ego, and expanding the notion of the stages of personality development to include the entire lifespan.

http://www.simplypsychology.org/Erik-Erikson.html

254. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    Still with me FAN-BOY?

Based on Erik Erikson’s groundbreaking work on identity and psychosocial development in the 1960s, Canadian developmental psychologist James Marcia refined and extended Erikson’s model, primarily focusing on adolescent development[1][2]. Addressing Erikson’s notion of identity crisis, Marcia posited that the adolescent stage consists neither of identity resolution nor identity confusion, but rather the degree to which one has explored and committed to an identity in a variety of life domains from vocation, religion, relational choices, gender roles, and so on. Marcia’s theory of identity achievement argues that two distinct parts form an adolescent’s identity: crisis (i. e. a time when one’s values and choices are being reevaluated) and commitment. He defined a crisis as a time of upheaval where old values or choices are being reexamined. The end outcome of a crisis leads to a commitment made to a certain role or value.

Perhaps the next time you’re on the BBC, you can explain to them that their love for Scotland is neither natural nor healthy? They hamper the formation of a Scottish identity and impair Scotland’s psycho-social development by forcing a British identity and values on Scots. As you will no doubt acknowledge, such a perversion of one’s personal development can be expected to effectively undermine the formation of a rational, self-aware human BEING.

The BBC undermines Scotland’s self-confidence and ability to make rational judgement and effectively turns Scots in to domesticated beasts or zoo exhibits, kept in a permanent state of adolescence.

Now why would the BBC do that other than to subvert Scottish democracy?

https://www.learning-theories.com/identity-status-theory-marcia.html

255. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    Personal bigotry can be hard to overcome so here’s a handy wee summery for you FAN-BOY. Perhaps you could share it with BALLOON-BOY?

CULTURE AND IDENTITY? The term β€˜culture’ refers to the language, beliefs, values and norms, customs, dress, diet, roles, knowledge and skills, and all the other things that people learn that make up the β€˜way of life’ of any society. Culture is passed on from one generation to the next through the process of socialization.

http://www.slideshare.net/tloye/identity-formation-and-social-cognition

256. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    Personal bigotry can be hard to overcome so here’s a handy wee summery for you FAN-BOY. Perhaps you could share it with BALLOON-BOY?

CULTURE AND IDENTITY? The term β€˜culture’ refers to the language, beliefs, values and norms, customs, dress, diet, roles, knowledge and skills, and all the other things that people learn that make up the β€˜way of life’ of any society. Culture is passed on from one generation to the next through the process of socialization.

http://www.slideshare.net/tloye/identity-formation-and-social-cognition

257. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    Unfortunately, things aren’t necessarily as straight forward as it might appear. Ideology is all around us, in the written or spoken word and also transmitted through the environment and the semiotic processes it triggers. Here’s one you might enjoy sharing with BALLOON-BOY and the SEMIOTIC-KID, Severin Carrell.

Subjectivity and Identity: Semiotics as Psychological Explanation

Semiotic theorists including Umberto Eco have recently sought to found epistemology on a cognitive interpretation of sign-usage. Other psychological models of β€˜identity’ and /or β€˜subjectivity’ or of individual β€˜subjects’ have also been re-interpreted in general semiotic terms. It is argued that these analyses are frequently reductionist, circular, or merely re-describe the psychological phenomena in question. Many Cultural Studies texts seem to equate subjects with individual persons and so retreat to a vulgar empirical level of psychological analysis. To avoid such naive pseudo-theorising an dpseudo-explanation, it is suggested that carefully formulated distinctions be mad e between different uses of the terms β€˜identity’, β€˜subject’, β€˜subjectivity’ and the Lacanian concept of what might be called β€˜subject-hood’ or β€˜subject-ness-in–general’.

http://users.ipfw.edu/tankel/Syllabi/Spring%202005/COM%20507/psychologicalexplanation.pdf

N.B. The semiotic theory of space and place tells us autonomy stimulates the development of new processes and procedures i.e. locally defined and therefore authentic culture.

258. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    How much does the BBC paying you to spread your anti-scientific point of view FAN-BOY?

Lee Perry and The Upsetters – Vampire
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YRXTKrXs2dA

259. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    Thought we were through for the day FAN-BOY? No such luck. We live in a semiotic world, see.

You do know what principles are?

Identity and interaction: a sociocultural linguistic approach

ABSTRACT
    The article proposes a framework for the analysis of identity as produced in linguistic interaction, based on the following principles: (1) identity is the product rather than the source of linguistic and other semiotic practices and therefore is a social and cultural rather than primarily internal psychological phenomenon; (2) identities encompass macro-level demographic categories, temporary and interactionally specific stances and participant roles, and local, ethnographically emergent cultural positions; (3) identities may be linguistically indexed through labels, implicatures, stances, styles, or linguistic structures and systems; (4) identities are relationally constructed through several, often overlapping, aspects of the relationship between self and other, including similarity/difference, genuineness/artifice and authority/ delegitimacy; and (5) identity may be in part intentional, in part habitual and less than fully conscious, in part an outcome of interactional negotiation, in part a construct of others’ perceptions and representations, and in part an outcome of larger ideological processes and structures. The principles are illustrated through examination of a variety of linguistic interactions.

http://www.colorado.edu/linguistics/faculty/kira_hall/articles/B&H2005.pdf

260. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    How about a sociocultural perspective on identity?

Vygotsky, Mead, and the New Sociocultural Studies of Identity

Identity is a key concept in many different fields including psychology, anthropology, sociology, linguistic, andcultural studies. At the intersection of these fields, sociocultural research, a recent name for the interdisciplinary approach inspired by the cultural historical work of L.S. Vygotsky and others, is developing its own integrated perspective on identity. In his brief life, Vygotsky wrote down only rudimentary ideas about personality or self. Still, those he offered, when combined with his general notions of semiotic mediation and higher order psychological functions, formulate an important nascent understanding of identity formation and its significance for people’s lives and processes of social and cultural change. This chapter examines developments in relevant research and theory that have appeared for the most part since the key article by William Penuel and James Wertsch in 1995. By adopting an expanded definition of identity, we include a wide rangeof research, from case studies ofindividual identity development toanalyses of thr centrality of identities in mediating response to state projects and to social movements.

Concepts of identity are often (though not in Penuel and Wertsch) promiscuously mingled, producing a good bit of confusion and ambiguity. Since we concentrate on the approach to identity associated with George Herbert Mead, rather than following Penuel and Wertsch’s focus on Erik Erikson’s better-known concepts, our first task is to clarify the differences between these two major conceptualizations. Those who are tempted to move directly to the review of empirical studies in the third section should consider first reading the clarification of the two concepts of identity that follows.

https://people.ucsc.edu/~gwells/Files/Courses_Folder/ED%20261%20Papers/Holland%20Vygotsky_Mead%20on%20Identity.pdf

261. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    Hope I’m joining the dots for you FAN-BOY. Wouldn’t want you to continue spreading anti-scientific beliefs, even if that is what the BBC employs you for.

Meaningful Connections: Semiotics, Cultural Psychology, and the Forms of Sense

Abstract and Keywords

This chapter explores what a philosophically oriented semiotics has to offer to cultural psychology. In as much as semiotics, as the general theory of signs, deals with multiple forms of meanings, its concerns are distinctively cultural. But in as much as semiotics is concerned with the experienced reality of meanings, its concerns are distinctively psychological. Nevertheless, semiotics is not itself a cultural psychology nor a psychology of culture, nor a substitute for them. This chapter presents key elements from the semiotically relevant work of C.S. Peirce, Karl BΓΌhler, Michael Polanyi, Ernst Cassirer, and Susanne Langer to focus on the power of semiotics to model the self, situate the semiotic frames of cultural meaning, broaden the notion of signification, and to delineate the fundamental groundlines of the plenum of consciousness and establish the thresholds of sense, including the role of the tacit dimension and the semiotic relevance of embodiment.

http://www.oxfordhandbooks.com/view/10.1093/oxfordhb/9780195396430.001.0001/oxfordhb-9780195396430-e-13

262. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    In case you are struggling to join the dots FAN-BOY, the BBC gives you a platform to spread your anti-scientific and anti-social beliefs. Any idea why the BBC might ask for your help to miss-represent Scotland?. Could it be you are perceived as knowledgeable and credible?

As in other areas we have studied, researchers use scientific or humanistic approaches to study representation in the media. First, however, we should ask why intercultural communication researchers and students should even be interested in media representation. Briefly, we can summarize two reasons that media is important (but there may be more!)

Mass media produces (creates) and reproduces (passes on) ways of seeing that at a minimum reflect, and some argue, shape our culture. We can look at media to understand more about a culture’s values and norms (as long as we realize the limitations of looking at media. For example, does American news really represent what American β€œculture” is like, or only what β€œstands out” (is β€œnew”) from everyday American cultureβ€”the noteworthy, the surprising. Or, more, does it represent what media makers, supported by advertisements, think will sell, thus the sensational, the absurd, the violent, the conflictual? Also, if we agree with certain scientific or humanistic theories of media, long-term exposure to media may lead people to see the world in a certain way or to behave in certain ways. Over time, if enough people are so influenced, then culture itself will change.

Mass media produces and reproduces stereotypes of cultural groups within a country, as well as the view of people from other cultures. It is likely that the mediated representation of cultural others is one of the primary places we gain meanings about others, especially if we don’t have contact with those others. But even if we do have contact with people from the group, we may interpret our experiences through what we β€œlearn” in the media. Note: Most of my students today believe strongly that they are β€œactive” individuals, making their own choices, not influenced by media. We don’t want to think that we are dupes, being fooled or misled by media images. But studies show that media does have some influence on the way we see reality or act, even if we are not aware of or will not admit media’s influences.

http://my.ilstu.edu/~jrbaldw/372/Representation.htm

263. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    So according to principles of contemporary social science, you would appear to be either dangerously ignorant of socio-psycological processes, or you’re a bit of an anti-Scottish bigot. Care to fess up FAN-BOY?

Media Representation Theory

Representation refers to the construction in any medium (especially mass media) of aspects of ‘reality’ such as people, places, objects, events, cultural identities and other abstract concepts. Such representations in speech or writing as well as still and moving pictures….

http://www.slideshare.net/Tomaskas/media-representation-theory

264. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    I’m nowhere near eleven yet FAN-BOY but that’s probably enough for today. I’ve barely started with your re-edumication, so it might be good idea for you to admit you’re finished as a credible commentator.

Max Romeo & The Upsetters – I chase the Devil
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N505JczoEGI

265. Stoker

WOS Archives for February 2012

Premature evaluation
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/premature-evaluation/#comments

266. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thank you,it is much appreciated.

Peace Always

267. Tinto Chiel

I don’t quite understand some of the the personal attacks on the main thread. Cabin fever, I presume.

A lesson for us all, perhaps:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zuuObGsB0No

268. Smallaxe

Tinto:

I don’t like it either it’s depressing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=glDGAo9SIqs

Peace Always

269. Tinto Chiel

Amen to that, Smallaxe.

Can you remember the number?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UfZWp-hGCdA

It’s 1886, btw.

270. Smallaxe

Tinto:

You’re really doing it now

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBllejn5fVA

Peace Always

271. Tinto Chiel

Hi, Smallaxe.

Aye, the Sublime Steely.

“I grow old, I grow old, I shall wear the bottoms of my trousers rolled, Smallaxe.”

I’m taking a wee break to have a think and work on a couple of things I need to do. It’s been great talking with you, my friend, tho’ we’ve never met.

Be back soon, once I’ve planned the revolution. Meanwhile, don’t worry:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=siMFORx8uO8

Good night and God bless.

Hey, Cactus, keep staring at the stars. You’ll find an independent Scotland there.

Night all.

272. Tinto Chiel

Damn, forgot to add this is my favourite “stare at the stars” music!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CwurFiexn28

See you all on the other side.

And so, cheeriebythenoo.

273. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel

Haste ye Back!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QLdUNqYclpM

Peace Always my Friend

274. Smallaxe

Tinto:

We shall wear white trousers, and walk upon the beach,my friend

Peace Always

275. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrence
    Here’s one for all the upressors resisting the global resurgence of fascism, so it’s not for the likes of yourself. You appear to be in bed with the neo-fascist British Nationalist Economic Freedom Fighters who are determined to deny my innate humanity. Got an opinion on HMG’s suppression of the McCrone Report?

Starting to realise what a pathetic little WANK you are FAN-BOY? Found out what principles are yet?

Onesty – I Rise
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sxJryEKzTNc

276. Smallaxe

Stoker:

I am, as you already know,extremely grateful for your diligence in hunting down relevant information for use in my writing and passing on such things to friends and activists who will make good use of them.

Thank you from me and my associates who I can assure you will put this information to good use.

277. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    I think I sussed you pretty well when we met FAN-BOY, so I imagine a plastic hipster, that’s you that is, would possibly gravitate towards the soul brothers and sister. I’ll just leave this here for you, in case you missed it on the main thread. Perhaps you might want to defend your ideologically impaired perspective, the next time you are presenting the ‘rational’ voice of Scotland on the BBC.

Re. the resurgence of fascism. Behavior is shaped by emotion, that’s why I aim to make people smile, apart from Tory fan-boys, of course.

Emotion and Decision Making

Abstract

the last few decades, with the potential to create a paradigm shift in thinking about decision theories. The research reveals that emotions constitute powerful, pervasive, and predictable drivers of decision making. Across different domains, important regularities appear in the mechanisms through which emotions influence judgments and choices. The present paper organizes and analyzes what has been learned from the past 35 years of work on emotion and decision making. It also proposes an integrated model of decision making that accounts for both traditional (rational-choice theory) inputs and emotional inputs, synthesizing scientific findings to date.

https://scholar.harvard.edu/files/jenniferlerner/files/annual_review_manuscript_june_16_final.final_.pdf

278. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    This is important knowledge, avail yourself, for pity sake.

Emotion and Decision Making

h t t p s://scholar.harvard.edu/files/jenniferlerner/files/annual_review_manuscript_june_16_final.final_.pdf

279. CameronB Brodie

For those who doubt the BBC is impairing Scotland’s decision making abilities, please read “Emotion and Decision Making”, Jennifer Lerner, scholar.harvard.edu., 2014.

280. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Sooooooperb.

Individuals are only free to make their own rational decisions if their judgement is not impaired through environmental factors, e.g. mass-media representation.

The BBC is harmful to Scotland’s public heath!

β€œThe human right to development also implies the full realization of the right of peoples to self-determination, which includes, subject to the relevant provisions of both International Covenants on Human Rights, the exercise of their inalienable right to full sovereignty over all their
    natural wealth and resources.” (Article 1.2)

N.B. Without access to your inalienable “Right to Development”, hoping for social justice is a forlorn exercise in self-deception. One requires the rule-of-law if one is to achieve social justice and a potential for a sustainable society,frankly.

281. Smallaxe

Cameron:

I see a couple of un-edumacated souls on the Main thread,keep them on the path of righteousness, as you do so well.

The truth
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HWzYIpUZCk8

Peace Always

Will speak tomorrow:Fatigue πŸ™

282. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Too kind. It’s what I was trained to do 25 years ago Smallaxe, sort of. Once you’ve got a grounding in principle you have a solid base for analysis and deconstruction. This week, I’ve been mostly seeking to deconstruct British nationalism and the BBC. Hope you don’t mind. πŸ˜‰

283. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    Yes, that means you are merely a vector to my target and any damage to your BEING is purely collateral damage, kid. Life’s tough sometimes.

284. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    How you enjoying your re-edumication?

The Upsetters – Blackboard Jungle Dub
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WIE–qDiBLk

285. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    In case you didn’t pick up on the meaning there, crank this mix up for the full-fat dub effect of this weapon of mass-instruction.

Lee Perry & The Upsetters – Blackboard Jungle
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vMAqt-v8f4o&spfreload=10

286. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    Here’s another one to help your re-edumication. Unlike yourself, I’m trained specifically to be an enabler of sustainable communities.

Gatherers, Lee Perry, Upsetters – Words Of My Mouth
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7odT0aFgXY4

287. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    Britain is the ideological creation of a traditionalist, colonialist, per-democratic mindset and does not provide the constitutional or legislative frameworks to enable the sustainability of an authentic Scottish community. Only an outdated British-Scottish community shaped by an expansionist form of English nationalism. This does not help the effort to achieve global sustainability or world peace.

Abyssinians, Keith Hudson, Big Joe – Declaration Of Rights
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JpGa0qX0AgI

288. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    Just in case you still can’t hear the truth of my message, I had an English grannie you know and I don’t really have anything against banjo players.

If you’ve got a positive case for the Union, make it shine kid.

The Gatherers & The Upsetters – Words (rare alt-mix, 1973)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UQj_EyvPx_c&t=0s

289. CameronB Brodie

@Owen Jones
    You didn’t appear too concerned over the abuse of civil liberties and the denial of inalienable human right of Scots, ye wee fanny-bawz. Put the master’s tools down and step out of your ideological world, for Jebus sake. Perhaps you will then be able to allow your ethics to rise above your beliefs and support Scottish independence?

290. Scott

This on STV.

Train derailment in Edinburgh leads to cancellations

A Virgin Trains spokesman said: “We’d like to apologise to customers for disruption this morning, which was caused by the derailment of a train within a depot last night.

Humza this is all your fault Murdo the Tank and Kez will be shouting.Brewer will you resign Humza

291. Grendel

A preview screening of the film London Calling will be taking place in Airdrie this Thursday (1st December).
    All welcome. Details at the link, and if you fancy attending can you please note it on the Airdrionians For Independence Facebook event page?
    Thanks.
    https://airdrieoniansforindependence.wordpress.com/2016/11/19/london-calling-the-bbc-exposed/

292. Stoker

Smallaxe (8:36pm)

No problem whatsoever. The fact that you, TC and K1 expressed an interest at the beginning was motivation enough to see this through. Anything else will be a bonus. Take care and enjoy! πŸ˜‰

293. Fred

A St Andrew’s concert at the Oran Mor tonight for Alastair Gray the living legend folks.

294. Stoker

WOS Archives for March 2012

This is our trumpet
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/this-is-our-trumpet/#comments

295. starlaw

Nice to see the Saltire flying over both towers on the Forth Road Bridge today.
    Tomorrow is St Andrews day.

296. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thank you,as always.

Peace Always

297. CameronB Brodie

@J.K. Rowling
    What particular insight do you have, with respect to the likelihood of Scotland’s survival as an authentic society, within an ideologically defined Britain, in an age driven by the forces of post-modernity and globalisation.

Can you imagine what Scottish society might be like in 100 years, defined through neo-liberal English/British nationalism?

Do you imagine the popular dissatisfaction with the way Westminster deals with Scotland will simply vanish like Scotch mist?

Are you aware of the “Right to Development”?

Perhaps you wish Scotland to become dysfunctional in a space-age-by-way-of-Caligari … on the delicious side of creepy*, stylee. Well Brexit is a monster movie musical.

The 5,000 Fingers of Dr. T – Because We’re Kids
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LYV7yg54sW8

* The Baltimore City Paper

298. Michael McCabe

Saint Andrew for you on St Andrews day. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Jz6LJXUqhI

299. Ghillie

Happy Happy Saint Andrew’s Day folks = )

300. Cactus

Have a great day Wingers, here’s a Scottish dedication.

Nazareth are back.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ulDc8R4uhA

Wouldn’t it be nice if we started singing Auld Lang Syne, today, as well as Hogmanay?

It’s a crackin’ tune! πŸ˜‰

There’s nothing stopping us.

301. Cactus

Just like the number 100.. it’s ours, we own it.

“Should aul..”

302. CameronB Brodie

So benefits should not be sufficient to provide the means to social inclusion?

Historically, fascism has thrived in an environment defined through wedge politics, virtue gesturing, violence (both symbolic and physical) and an ideology of centralised power.

Hold tight Scotland! Put the master’s tools down and spot who the real enemy is. Stop fighting among yourselves! A divided colony will never emancipate itself from bondage.

The BBC is Scotland’s enemy number ONE.

African Brothers – Hold Tight
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VqOsRPVLJxA

@Church of Scotland
    Still value the interests of an ideology that is alien to Scottish culture and landscape and the predominantly Anglican Establishment it supports, over the best-interests of your flock? The PM does say she is guided by God, so I suppose you’ll be right behind her then, eh?

303. Andrew Mclean

Flag waving

Anyone know how the flag waving went at the parliament today?

304. CameronB Brodie

Given the current political climate in Westminster and the want of yoons to call us narrow nationalists, do you think I can get away with dedicating this to all the vile seps out there. πŸ™‚

Ripton Hylton (Eek-A-Mouse) – My Father Land + Dub
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nOgkKwcW9os

I appreciate reggae doesn’t float everyone’s boat but I can’t think of better moral inspiration than the descendants of slaves telling oppressive, colonial power where to get off.

Ripton Hylton (Eek-A-Mouse) – Wicked Shall Not Reign + Dub
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZWg_aKWsoO8

Don’t fear shadows. Viceroy Fluffy and an increasingly obvious BBC and their Scottish ‘experts’, are the representatives of Westminster power over Scotland. Not such tough opposition under the lens of proper scrutiny, as ideology is leaden-footed and crumbles under the weight of scientific understanding.

Ripton Hylton (Eek-A-Mouse) – Peeni Walli + Dub
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ar3ayZe3NgU

305. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thank you,very much appreciated.

Peace Always

306. Smallaxe

So much trouble in the World:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TCz-z4OOcbY

One Love One People One Race:The Human Race

307. Smallaxe

All you need is Love:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dsxtImDVMig

Sia:

Soon We’ll be found:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t1x8DMfbYN4

Peace Always

308. Smallaxe

Still I RISE:

MAYA ANGELOU
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MAYm1uJeSxQ

Peace Always

309. Cactus

@aweright Tinto Chiel, stars it is..

*Starrider* by ‘Neighbour’
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LUqMRkwxkso

Hold onto your seats!

310. Stoker

WOS Archives for April 2012

Weekend essay: “Skintland”,Darien and the mythology of the BritNats
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/weekend-essay-skintland-britnat-mythology-and-the-darien-scheme/#comments

Positive-case-for-the Union update #14
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/positive-case-for-the-union-update-14/#comments

Johann Lamont’s faulty hearing aid
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/labours-faulty-hearing-aid/#comments

Labour’s attack boomerang
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/labours-attack-boomerang/#comments

311. Stoker

For the football/sport fans – i also came across 2 more excellent football articles. Get some practice in and use the WOS search facility. The 2 articles are:

“Cheat’s Charter”,controversy ended
    (13/04/12)

The game with no balls
    (12/04/12)

Enjoy!
    πŸ™‚

312. CamernoB Brodie

In light of Nestle’s submission to runaway Junginst perfectionism, here’s an emergency tune for the Rev. πŸ™‚

WARNING: lots of flashing lights.

Sonic Youth – Sugar Kane
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RIIEbrMXs20

313. Andrew Mclean

Small axe

One for you
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=IvUEzrQBSeo

314. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

Thanks for P.L.Jackson
    A year earlier;1971
    “In My Own Time”
    FAMILY;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=polzQ9-ZLqQ

Peace Love and Fraternity

315. Paula Rose

I’ll be back soon so…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fSXb4LuawGQ

316. Smallaxe

Paula Rose:

“ROOM”!!!

“Castles in the Air”

Don McLean
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TTqi7iEZEWA

Peace Always

317. Andrew McLean

Small Axe

kick off your sandals and feel the warm sand under your feet and the sun on your face.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MsW8rXPcnM0

πŸ™‚

318. Andrew McLean

Samll Axe

lay down in the shade with a mojito, feel the warm air cover you, slip on the headphones and drift away to an yet undiscovered country in your mind.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Wv43EU4KVs

Hey Bud Chill out Man!

319. Andrew McLean

Small axe

Once more have a swim in the ocean while the young foke’s here learn the words, “and as the elders of our time chose to remain blind, let us rejoice and let us sing and dance,
    and ring in the new!”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QcUlQAfJuXE

Small Axe you tripping yet mate? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WANNqr-vcx0

πŸ™‚

320. Andrew McLean

Grovvvy man,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Jj3wZVc7nw

πŸ™‚

321. Andrew McLean

Hey given your internet history is being looked at by GCHQ and Mrs May,

Fanny anyone? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eJOA_vLwevA

Its free!

πŸ™‚

322. thewaterbeastie

@SmallAxe – thanks for the assist. Like yourself, I could not find much more than those entries about sales and Wikipedia noting some supermarket chains’ reluctance. My impression had been that it had continued for far longer than those entries state, but this was largely anecdotal comment at the time – and the editor of The National seems reluctant to say more.

Onward…

323. Cactus

Hey, am heading down to the deep south, courtesy of Richie B.

Look out London!

I’ll file my report later..
    X.

324. Cactus

Aye..

Look out London.. Cactus calling.

Je come in peace and always.
    X.

325. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

I’m not doing this anymore!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G8yU8wk67gY
    Because I’m this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDGi0SZkgpI
    Pretty colours
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZutU24zT5g
    I want it to be like this again
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nw08Ho6_Pds
    Meanwhile, I’m just doing this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qp9dc9im3-M
    while we are this.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jhdFe3evXpk

Peace Always

326. Stoker

WOS Archives for May 2012

Johann Lamont does not speak for us. Here are 42 people who do.
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/johann-lamont-does-not-speak-for-us-here-are-42-people-who-do/#comments

An open letter to Johann Lamont
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/an-open-letter-to-johann-lamont/#comments

BREAKING: Lockerbie bomber still alive
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/breaking-lockerbie-bomber-still-alive/#comments

327. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

I only came online about an hour ago and”Behold and Lo”,your good self, had only went and posted some lovely aul bits o’ tunes for me,so ye did.Upon seeing these wonderfully and obviously extremely well-chosen compositions, stemming from that transcendental (Transforming?)period in my unworthy existence.I immediately set myself to the task of replying to your outstanding and cerebral choices of musically rapturous delights.

Unfortunately, as unfortunate things can and do happen,I immediately ensconced my miserable posterior upon my second favourite Chaise Lounge (My first best,being so luxuriously upholstered and immensely comfortable, renders itself useless to any serious attempt to retain alertness and alacrity,which of course is a necessity for intense musical discussion,as one, shall be most obviously aware

So bredren,I n’ I,in de luv of a’ Most High,mi tank ya fi’music.

A’ve sent you wan a’ thae posts wae some sounds oan it,it wis a’ wile ago n’ its no made an appearance yit!yer probs in yer pit noo,fck it.

There will now be a short musical intermission,whilst I adjust my medication…Hark..is yonder sound a siren?

No,its Neil Young.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eh44QPT1mPE

Peace Always πŸ™‚

328. CameronB Brodie

Here’s one from the year of my birth.

@HMG
    Expect my uppressing against neo-fascist neo-colonialism to intensify, as I intend dying a free man unbound by historical shackles.

Desmond Dekker & The Aces – Intensified ’68 (aka Music Like Dirt)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ClNAc2Ju41E

329. Smallaxe

thewaterbeastie:

No problem,we can only try.
    We shall Overcome!

Peace Always

330. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thank you,I got last nights also.

Peace Always

331. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

Hi Cameron,likkle more?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ISalb24BPY

Peace Always

332. Chic McGregor

Thanks Smallaxe, one of my favourites from the age of innocence.

Another from that time, Dylan meets Donovan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lc6HcA6kEJc

333. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Quality uppressing mate.:)

334. Chic McGregor

One from the Scots Irish band and the Celtic essence capturing poetry of Yeats which I hope honours the rekindling of Celtic cultural bonds between the two countries this week.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mVSN9DMvl6I

335. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“WOS Archives for April 2012”

No, but really – why?

You do know there’s a drop-down menu on the right-hand side that’ll just give you the April 2012 archives at a click, yeah?

336. Smallaxe

Another post vanishes into the ether,am I putting too many tracks on at one time?
    Bob Marley/ Rainbow Country
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NqAdW0lt6W8

Peace Always

337. CameronB Brodie

A rekindling of Celtic culture will only come about once chancres like Mungo Fraser are removed from Scotland’s body politic.

@Murdo Fraser
    I wonder at what shaped your childhood Mungo, as your values in adult life appear to be those of a loathsome bigot. I’m not sure if the yoon party leaders are right role models to help improve your human empathy though, tbh. Wee Willie runs a ‘shy-Tory’ reenactment group, so doesn’t really count for much and is best avoided.

Mungo Lost
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wvD4lYbmztg

338. Smallaxe

The Kinks:

What are we doing?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1wG6_-ZZjM

Peace Always

339. Smallaxe

Think outside of these

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HlSpc87Jfr0

Peace Love and Goodnight All

340. CameronB Brodie

Still not switched off, so here’s one for all members and organs of, and associated with, BLiS, who need to consider whether they are comfortable supporting the denial of inalienable human rights. The Ruthenfuhrer’s followers are probably beyond redemption. Are there any LibDums left in Scotland?

The B-52’s – Dance This Mess Around
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9fnXpuCJldI

341. CameronB Brodie

Ah, the impatience of yoof. Here’s a more historical record of a truly post-modern band.

Why can’t Scotland join humanity, it’s not no Limburger?!

The B 52s – Dance This Mess Around
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vci93J2XoI0

342. Smallaxe

Chic McGregor:

Apologies Chic, my reply to you last night seems to have gone the way of some others.
    GCHQ,looking for hidden,coded messages perhaps?

For he comes, the human child,
    To the waters and the wild
    With a faery, hand in hand,
    For the world’s more full of weeping than he can understand

I leave this.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CXCYMDAOP-M

Peace Always

343. Stoker

Rev. Stuart Campbell wrote on 3 December, 2016 at 1:19 am:

“You do know there’s a drop-down menu on the right-hand side that’ll just give you the April 2012 archives at a click, yeah?”

Here’s the same answer i gave you on 24/11/16 when you asked me why, you obviously didn’t see the reply. A few different reasons but mainly to:

Create a constant awareness for any lurkers/newbies of the treasure trove of info ammo we have here on WOS, especially with the high possibility of new members joining daily.The archive facility, like O/T, is not always immediately obvious to readers.

Help those of us who want to find that article (or articles) we meant to save but forgot, or lost it/them due to whatever circumstances and can’t find it/them and don’t have the time or desire to trawl through the extensive archive collection.

Help those of us who want to build our own register of selected WOS references for future use without having to go through the monumental task of searching all the WOS archives, a task made simpler in small daily doses.

I’m working through the full archive collection building my own log of selective was articles for future use so i might as well offer others the opportunity to do likewise while i’m doing it.

Hope this removes any thoughts of mental curiosity or confusion.
    πŸ™‚

344. Stoker

From my previous comment

“..selective was articles..”?

Should read – ..selective WOS articles..

Jeez, i’m becoming a churnalist!

345. Smallaxe

Stoker:

May I again thank you for for the work you are doing re archives.I,as you may know, have memory problems due to illness and find your contribution to relevant issues that I may have missed or forgotten invaluable,as I’m certain, do many other Wingers.

Rev.Stu:
    Sir,I understand your confusion regarding the task that Stoker has taken on,as you say, the information is already archived.I hope my post above explains why I and others are grateful to Stoker for sharing the information with us.

Greatest Respect to you Sir.
    Peace and Love to You and to those you Love
    Smallaxe

346. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Fair enough πŸ™‚

347. CameronB Brodie

@Owen Jones
    If your having a pop at me kid, I have to be overstated as I lack your platform of privilege. I also speak as one who has lived their life in a world shaped by English utilitarianism. An ideology defined largely through Anglicanism and so born of a culture that is alien to Scotland. This is a world view that you can have no appreciation of as you are English, grew up in England and so apparently have no empathy for your differences to Scots. Your world view is crippled by England’s colonial culture and Malthus. Regardless if you accept that or not, we’re a bit different.

Your not a ‘socialist’ kid your an English nationalist with pretensions of egalitarianism and I claim my Β£5 book token.

348. Robert J. Sutherland

Here’s an uplifting tune that seems appropriate for the moment we’re currently in:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t_wLguIsJrw

It seems that we’re just standing still,
    One day we’ll ride up that hill,
    In the Age of Miracles,
    There’s one on the way…

349. Tinto Chiel

Evening, groovers.

Planning for the revolution going fine but I remembered this and thought you might like it at sunset:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SR83e4EJ_To

Back to the drawing board.

Hey, Smallaxe, can you take the salute at the victory march past in Freedom Square? You get to sit beside Amy MacDonald, btw.

350. Tinto Chiel

Bugger: I meant the last track.

Back to 100 lines and the usual strict regime of bending exercises……

And to the sabbatical.

351. Tinto Chiel

And just before I return to the Bide A Wee rest home, this one’s for Mr Farage. I can just see his loafers sticking out of Trump’s jacksie.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dDwyOApJzSw

What’s that pointy thing in yer hand, nursie…?

352. CameornB Brodie

Ponty things sticking out of A-holes?

The point is that a state of colonialism in the 21st is a crime against humanity.

Fugees ft. A Tribe Called Quest & Busta Rhymes – Rumble In The Jungle
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ok6fmRt6MvU

Here’s the killer punch.

353. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Hurry back

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cYEh1z_MOHM

Peace Always

354. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thank you

Peace Always

355. Smallaxe

Tinto:

About taking the salute,will I get a suit wi’ SHINY BUTTONS?
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

356. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Smallaxe.

As Arnie would say, “I’ll be back!” once I have resolved the Inherent Contradictions of Capitalism, finished my Great Scottish Novel and have worked out how Motherwell can defend a two-goal lead.

On top of that, Paula has relegated me to the gazebo at the bottom of the garden beside her smoke-house. Random guys keep knocking looking for “Smokies”. Has it come to this?

No-one said it was going to be easy……..

357. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

Hey man, Rev Stu’s not used to flattery!

Take it as a compliment!

Great stuff – we all benefit from the occasional pat on the back, and the wee glances at what this place has done should be a source of pride for all concerned.

More power to ye.

πŸ™‚

358. Tinto Chiel

Last Post: shiny buttons, is it?

Nae probs, Smallaxe, for a gent like yersel’.

359. Ian Brotherhood

It’s wrong, I know, but I’m quietly laughing to meself about stuff that none of youse know about (bar one).

Next year, when the days are getting brighter, there will be a place where Wingers can meet, regularly, to discuss wur dastardly business.

You won’t hear about it right here, but, if you’re interested enough, you’ll get it one way or another, eventually.

Hate to be a tease, but that’s all.

For now…

360. Paula Rose

I embrace you all…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=trUqO7rn9W0

361. CameronB Brodie

I hear you’re a bit of barking English nationalist Siobhan, unhinged even, so I felt the need to be sensitive when choosing a track for you. I needed to keep a grip of my emotions.

Alvin Stardust – Word is Out
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pm2wqbwip9Q

I wasn’t sure though as your astonishing bigotry is appalling, frankly. Not appealing in the slightest. Put simply, you are dumb and nasty. Dumb and nasty, dumb and nasty, dumb and nasty.

” More the knowledge lesser the ego, lesser the knowledge more the ego.” – Albert Einstein

P.S. I’m wondering what your appreciation is of the principles of contemporary social science.

362. Stoker

Ian B (@10:57pm)

Cheers!

(and @11:03pm)

If you’ve gone and done what i think you’ve done, and i’ve got 2 ideas bouncing around my cranial cavity, then kudos aplenty tae ye, you have been a busy B – one idea involves your neck of the woods, sort of, and the other involves Glasgow.
    πŸ™‚

363. Stoker

Smallaxe (11:34am)

Cheers for the support, consider yersel now promoted to being my right-hand man and enforcer.
    πŸ™‚

364. CameronB Brodie

Looks like it’s a non-news day so the records are coming out. Happens.

Anyhoo, I went rummaging and found myself among the bottom-feeders*.

Nationalism also blinds you to the fact that your solution – independence – would do more damage to working people than Brexit. – Duncan Hothersall

@dhothersall
    What’s the matter sugar, feeling a bit inadequate because my nationalism is organic and yours in pneumatic? Does it hurt when someone not only calls you an ignorant ideologue but they then prove it through applied principles of contemporary social science? Btw, where’s your positive case for the Union? Calculating that particular social equation a tough nut to crack?

You’re spectacularly unimaginative lad, I’ll give you that. Astonishing so, frankly.

Coconut
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7PZNnGp7XM0

* a bit too close to the bone?

365. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    I’ll tell you what blind nationalism is. It’s ideological BritNat Yoons, such as yourself, fighting tooth and claw to retain London’s colonial rule over Scotland. This is the 21st century, in case you’ve been asleep. You do understand what human rights are BALLOON-BOY? I’m assuming you have done your homework on Hegel and the “master-slave relationship”, self-identification processes and symbolic violence? Media Representation Theory? “The Methodology of the Oppressed”?

366. Ian Brotherhood

Simple Minds, ‘Celebrate’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-HNW-Id3Q2I

367. Ian Brotherhood

What a voice this dude has.

ABC, ‘The Look Of Love’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cNEdxZURTaI

368. CameronB Brodie

@dhothersall
    You do appreciate that cultural integrity is a key component to finding sustainable, inclusive solutions to current and future social needs?

You do appreciate that it is not possible for the integrity of Scotland’s authentic cultural to retain it’s resilience, situated within the ideological constraints of a British state shaped through English nationalism?

As you are an ideologue, I’m assuming you appreciate what ideology is and what it’s rightful place is within the space of post-modern human communities?

Naw, your head’s full of mince. Your appreciation of Scotland’s condition lacks a theoretical framework grounded in science. Are you helping Scotland by renouncing inalienable human rights, or is it BLiS___d all the way down until were dinning in Hell?

Those who argue that selfishness is the most authentic human trait need to account for something: How is it possible for society to exist if most people in society behave selfishly? If most individuals are self-centered and are therefore engaging in anti-social behavior – i.e., they treat their own individual interest above those of the group and those around them – then how can society, which requires for its very existence that people cooperate in a network of mutual interdependence, even exist?

http://dennisloo.com/Articles/can-anti-social-behavior-form-the-foundation-for-societies.html

369. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    Sorry Ian, didn’t see you there. Too busy re-edumicating. πŸ™‚

370. Smallaxe

Stoker:@ 2-18pm

My pleasure Stoker,thanks for the promotion,it is gratefully accepted.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always my Friend

371. Smallaxe

What a voice this girl had.JANIS!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bld_-7gzJ-o

Peace Always

372. Smallaxe

Janis again,a few years and a lot of drink and drugs later.Superb!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EkPq3UaCLpg

Peace Always

373. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

You may like this female singer with her band, recorded in Paula Rose’s neck of the woods in 2014.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dllj_XyQ3gE

374. CameronB Brodie

@Scotland In Yoonion

The age of post-truth politics is upon us, in campaigns where emotional appeals and plausible-but-false assertions are used to overcome objective facts.

My argument is backed by Hegel, Heidegger, principles of biology, principles of contemporary social science, principles of town planning and Scotland’s inalienable “Right to Development”.

Your appreciation appears to be based on ideological faith in British nationalism.

Which of us is likely to be more objective? Save your money, I’ve left you no credible space.

Nightmares On Wax – Flip Ya Lid
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yi6WUF8mgHc

375. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

πŸ™‚

No sweat brother.

Have been having a nice wee day to meself, playing old vinyl, dancing about as a nod towards ‘exercise’, drinking cider, Pinot Grigio, and finishing a crossword for Rock’s favourite publication, The National. Life doesn’t get much better…

Hope you and all Wingers are enjoying their weekend as much as I’m enjoying mine.

Bottoms up!!

πŸ™‚

376. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    Same here last week. I mashed my head up with that hour of reggae mixes I posted the other week, played on a loop. Heavy, heavy instruction man. πŸ˜‰

377. CameronB Brodie

@Scotland In Yoonion
    You can’t fit square pegs in to round holes, just like you can’t make Scots British subjects, unless they freely choose to identify as such.

Britain is the embodiment of “modernist”, Victorian, imperialist ideology and is structured through norms suited to the preservation of a medievalist Establishment.

The British state fails to meet the contemporary needs and demands of Scottish society and is unlikely to cope better with future demands.

Britain is increasingly becoming Greater England, leaving little space for Scotland to be Scottish.

Save you money guys, we’re just starting to play with you in the same way we did VNoB. A bit rough like. Ken fit eh mean?

Quantic – Time Is The Enemy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nvUeo5sagkA

378. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

That Quantic video was fucking beast!

WTF was that thing making a hard left at 3.10?

Astonishing stuff. Brilliant. Loved it!

πŸ™‚

379. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thanks, Boss πŸ™‚

Peace Always

380. Smallaxe

Brian Doonthetoon:

Sorry,for taking so long to reply but I was out feeding my Unicorn,that link to”Two Wheels Good” was just That!To do that live at an outdoor gig is cool.The Singer must have lived the “Blue’s” at some time in her life.That’s the way It’s got to be,to make a good blue’s singer.

One from my neck of the woods,No Mean City,some of the Wingers may have seen her in Burns Howff with “Stone the Crows”, Maggie Bell;Still doin’ it.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sByD6JsN9BM

Peace Always

381. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    Thanks Ian. I had hoped it would encourage folk to think about how far we have come in such a relatively short space of time. Also, how little we appear to have moved.

Perhaps a bus doing the hard-left?

Folk generally think in the present, so their understanding and judgement tends to lack context, other than the immediate circumstances. This feeds in to the mechanisms of systematic violence that are embedded within the structural violence that divides our communities. The falsehood that ‘it was always thus everywhere’ become embedded in the social consciousness, further entrenching hubitus.

There is no hope for a sustainable future unless we are able to step out of this destructive, downwards spiral.

SYMBOLIC VIOLENCE IN EVERYDAY NARRATIONS: GENDER CONSTRUCTION IN INDONESIAN TELEVISION

TELEVISION SHAPES SYMBOLIC VIOLENCE

The French sociologist Pierre Bourdieu (1998) used the term β€œsymbolic violence” to describe how the ideas and values of a ruling cultural class are purposefully imposed (often through subconscious means) onto a dominated social group. Culture plays a role as maintenance of the power relations. He claimed that culture contributes to the systematic reproduction of symbolic violence. It is achieved through a process of β€œmisrecognition”(Bourdieu, 1998). Bourdieu (1998) defined misrecognition as a process where people believe that education is projected to improve human life condition. However, such education is taken for granted for that purpose but in reality, does not enable many people to improve their life. It only improves the life of certain privilege people.

http://www.ajssh.leena-luna.co.jp/AJSSHPDFs/Vol.2(3)/AJSSH2013(2.3-18).pdf

382. CameronB Brodie

This feeds in to the mechanisms of symbolic violence that are embedded….

383. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

Mon! I n’I vex, mi yout, Jus a word, yuh na’mash yuh hed wi’Regge,mi say,black up a spliff,fi’ mash yuh hed. Wha Yuh Deh Pon.Reggae nuh heavy bredren,it makes yuh skin yuh teeth,it makes yuh feel gud.

Mi Si yuh lata bredren

JaH Love,BoB Live,Always

384. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

R.U.O.K.?

Peace Always

385. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Totally agree mate, wire brush a Detol first think every morning. That sorts it for me anyway. πŸ˜‰

Dub Syndicate – Hard & Tuff
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LHLZO7Q1ETI

386. Michael McCabe

When the day is Short. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mN78bVtTImI

387. Michael McCabe

Everything Wrong. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lnwC11jA9B0

388. Smallaxe

Cameron:

Here’s an old fren i’ mi,im Ital!Muta.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dv0KIttuhTw

Peace Always

389. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Two Wheels Good are a fine band. Watch out for them appearing in a drinking den near you.

Onnyhoo, here’s another blue for you. This track was the original B side of Jeff Beck’s “Hi Ho Silver Lining” and was written by Jimmy page. A classic instrumental.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nmO0OZC6Ifk

Here’s Jeff Beck performing it live at Ronnie Scott’s in 2007. It’s one of my all time favourite A/B side tracks.

I will now retire from ‘off-topic’ to have my Indian nosebag, then turn in for tonight.

390. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

SHEET! Forgot to paste in the Ronnie Scott’s link. Here it is.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jeT1sXLzAko

391. Stoker

Sorry, folks, my attempts to post a minimum of 10 WOS archive links per night fell short tonight, gremlins in the works i think? Attempted to include the first 4 links of June 2012 tonight, several times, but utterly unsuccessful. Will attempt to post them again at the start of tomorrow nights contributions.

Have a good night one and all.

392. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Murray Head,check him mate.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dv0KIttuhTw

Peace Always

393. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Check for this. πŸ™‚

Linton Kwesi Johnson – Independant Intavenshan
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JRHDLKTFLKU&list=PLBFBC1BC08D1E151C

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.