Response Level Upgrade
Posted on
June 12, 2026 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
Our first letter was answered/dismissed by “Service Adviser 1989847”, so this reply to our second one, while it doesn’t say much, definitely feels like a step up.
Our KC has offered all possible assistance to the Cyber and Fraud Unit in relation to the matter, and we’ll keep you posted with any developments, readers.

I’m sure the boys, girls and thems in blue will be tripping over themselves to assist.
What did the boys and girls and them and it and those and these and they spend their LGBT+ vouchers on?
Progress? We’ll see.
I just wonder if they would arrest you or take you up in front of a Judge in such a shoddy manner. Er, well maybe a poor analogy on my part knowing both bodies your dealing with here.
The delay in replying may be because a certain Mr Swinney is currently in USA trying to keep in with some of his voting supporters. I wonder, given his earlier inability to name the Hearts captain, whether he is aware that said captain has now moved to Rangers. I think the question needs to be asked.
TTK?
If there is no further investigation, I hope there is a judicial review. I don’t hold much hope for that outcome either given what we have witnessed recently. However, a bigger spotlight on the issue is never a bad thing.
they are stalling for time STU! the tactic of distancing being used. However, for them unfortunately, your not giving up.
“Economic Crime Investigations” – I like the sound of that especially when I remember that criminals like Al Capone were caught through tax evasion.
Thanks for your intrepid investigative journalism.
Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:
14 June, 2026 at 12:24 am
If “even Homer sometimes nods” (recent exchange on Wings thread), then Grouse Beater has certainly drifted off……..
link to grousebeater.wordpress.com
=========
Thank you for that, Fhearghais. I regularly visit Grousebeater, though not on a daily basis. I was away when the piece come out. I rarely comment there but might well have done on this occasion.
I’m pleased to see that you left comments and think Gareth’s riposte to you
was ungracious, inaccurate and misdirected.
“Purblind devotees who see, hear and speak of no evils” is, by a mile , an accurate description of the, rather more than three, wise monkeys who yet wheesht for the Sturgeon Legacy Party. And “uncritical fandom” is a perfect picture of BTL dug-lovers and certainly not here- least of all, Fearghas.
Worst of all is his secondary sourcing of innuendo purveyors rather than an original critique of his own. He is perfectly capable of doing one which raises the question: why doesn’t he?
I write this as one who has his own issues with the Rev, but recognise they are massively outweighed by the service he renders the wider Indy movement. And, more importantly, to truth itself.
Thanks, Cynicus. Greatly appreciated.
I can’t help wondering if the SNP let on privately during the investigation that the ‘ring fenced’ money had been spent and that the Police or (perhaps more likely) the COPFS decided that did not merit a prosecution in addition to going after Murrell’s embezzlement. We’ll see…..
It’s football time. Jo will be rooting for Ingland:-)
This is the response you should have received for your first email Mr. Campbell. I am delighted Police Scotland have seen the error of their ways and responded appropriately. Whether or not they actually take your complaints seriously remains to be to be seen but if the rumour mill is correct about Police Scotland being annoyed that Sturgeon was never charged and made to be accountable for her conduct, then maybe they will use this second opportunity wisely. I’m hoping so anyway. Fingers crossed and good luck.
If Police Scotland were so sure of their case, and expected criminal proceedings against Ms. Sturgeon to be taken by COPFS, why, as far as I’m aware, was she never formally charged?
As an investigator in a previous life, the sequence is quite clear: Person A is suspected of, or alleged to have committed, crime X.
An investigation takes place, Person A is eventually arrested under suspicion of having committed crime X and interviewed ‘under caution’.
At the end of that process, the decision is taken whether to charge Person A and whether to refer the matter to COPFS for their consideration.
If Police Scotland are annoyed that no action was taken by COPFS, then they must have thought that there was a case to answer – if so, why didn’t they charge Ms. Sturgeon?
Very good.
Don’t hold your breath waiting for similar from COPFS.
Rev, whilst you have a KC at hand, could you ask him if anything can be done to remove an MSP whose home country, India, does not permit its citizens to stand for election in a foreign jurisdiction?
Lets be honest the SNP isn’t going to last as a political party, this is a fact.
The party has tied its entire history on protecting certain individual, rather than letting them hang out to rot.
The problem for everyone involved is, when the SNP collapses there will be no control of lose lips wanting to make what ever than can from the MSM, then what do these individuals do? Its human nature to pick a victim just ask Peter Murrell and when they do she ain’t going to go quietly, I feel sure.
Its just a pity our Country has to wait before the events of the SNP all come out and come out they will.
Can we know who your KC is? Thank you, some would rather we move on which makes me angry.
Sorry Sarah replied to you by mistake.
The KC is none other than Roddy Dunlop, Dean of the Faculty of Advocates – the Rev named him in a previous article.
Thank you.
At least the Police have acknowledged it properly this time, that’s a small victory. Stu has basically done their work for them, so all the Police need to do is hand the matter over to COPFS and await a charging decision. It is patently obvious the law has been broken & a crime committed, will our wonderful Crown Office rise to the occasion?!
I wouldn’t get too excited – it looks like a Cheyne letter to me.
If you need a crowdfunder for a Judicial Review sing out!
Please keep going ! Scotland needs this sorry affair to be completely exposed
The SNP did a deal with the Greens to avoid a specific investigation into their own finances. Is it coincidental that the following day we have Q Man… publicising his views on Scottish Parliament bathrooms in his smug self-advantaged manner. The clip from the National is utterly confusing though and it’s not at all clear what s/he actually wants. Why doesn’t s/he just use the cubicle that is shared with disabled people?
Disabled toilets exist so that those who need to use them have the same opportunities in life as any other individual. They absolutely do not exist just to make life easier for random people. Physically disabled people have as much right to exist as any other class of humans. This is not a solution and it’s high time that politicians as diverse as John Swinney and Kemi Badenoch realised this.
Is there a distinction in law that toilets for the disabled are only to be used by those with a physical disability and not used by those with a mental disability?
Be pretty physically difficult for a trans man (female) to use a bloke’s urinal and piss backwards without pissing all over the gaff and causing the cleaner to have extra work washing aw the pish off badly aimed weewee flows.
I was at a motorsport event last week, and it just had a load of portaloos for everybody to use, and there was no gender drama kicking off that I was aware of.
But I did think the women had a bum deal with using minging unisex toilets though. It was remarkable that quite so many blokes can drive with pinpoint accuracy to get through the stages at close to 100mph at times, but can’t manage to aim their pish into a toilet bowl of about 10 inches diameter from about a foot away.
Dan, I have lived in the USA for almost 25 years so I am not up to date on disabled toilet legislation in Scotland. If it’s anything like here, though, there is no specific law unlike, say, parking spaces. Over here, disabled toilets are almost universally part of the “regular” toilets. If someone really needs to go and the only one available is the disabled toilet, it seems a little petty to deny use, unless there is a wheelchair user etc next in line.
If the disabled toilet is a separate room from the “regular” toilets, I can see an argument that it may be used by someone with, eg, debilitating anxiety. A politician who chooses to use a disabled toilet to avoid using the one designated for their sex is being very inconsiderate. (Debilitating anxiety is as much of a disqualifier for an MSP as cerebral palsy is for anyone hoping to pull on the dark blue tomorrow night.) If the BBC is to be believed, there are nine disabled MSPs and they deserve consideration as much as anyone else.
Trying to reconcile their earlier reply, Swinnet’s admission and the statement they had been advised.” There would be no further action.
Maybe theSwinney admission was not new news because the police had already established that tha the ringfenced money had been spent on general business. That should not have been hard to do since a money trail exists. So if the police established that and informed the Lord Advocate who decided to do nothing, that would explain the police attitude. Explain but not excuse.
Becoming more and more rare, but great to see there are still folk out there like Roddie D. and that bloke who’s taking on Salmond’s case – dyed in the wool British but taking the right side when it comes to injustice and/or corruption.
I really hope that more courteous response is not as good as it gets.
Unfortunately, I think Robin McAlpine is on to something when he decodes statements of Poileas Alba. The italicised inserts are mine:
“Then the police said they were not going to reopen the investigation into the donation money and you all read this either as ‘corruption!’” (Wings?) “or ‘see, nothing illegal!’“(WGD & other wheesht for SNP loyalists?)
“What I suspect”, (Robin continues)
“the police are really saying is ‘we investigated this to within an inch of its life, tied it up in a neat bow for an easy prosecution and the Crown Office plea-bargained it away so there is nothing else we can investigate’.”
link to robinmcalpine.org
I hope Robin is wrong but fear he may be gey near the mark
Robin assumes Scots exist in a ‘normal’ political state where ‘honour’ and ‘democracy’ are the norm, and public inquiries will solve our problems. This tends to ignore our colonial reality.
Postcolonial theory explains the “Manichaeism of colonial rule” (Fanon) in Scotland, where we see:
– a lethargic people in ‘colonial slumber’
– a fake national party (‘co-opted by colonialism’)
– a fake parliament (indirect rule, oppressive/’mystifying’ laws, ‘delays independence’)
– a fake ‘justice’ system, views the native ‘absent of values’
– colonial show trials, to ‘rupture the independence movement’
– all enabling the plunder of corporate colonialism to continue
Colonialism is far more than a dodgy national party elite which ‘behaves like a gang’ – colonialism creates such an elite just as it creates all else in colonial society, including the poverty and inequality of the colonized.
The true worth of any theory lies in its predictive power.
Who does Fanon predict will win the by elections next week?
“Who does Fanon predict will win the by elections next week?”
England!
Seriously, Northy? England?
You’re coming on here to claim that Scottish voters are voting for England?
Crivens, help ma boab.
Postcolonial theory predicts that a national party that has been co-opted by colonialism’ disintegrates.
It’s a simple enough question, Alf, who will be celebrating this time next week?
I understand your sunk costs are now so high you can’t take any risks with your precious theory. Welcome to the world of politics.
But reality permits no dissembling. A theory with no predictive power is worthless.
I predict two SNP victories next week. Because Scotland is fundamentally tribal. And the tribe rarely or never leaves its comfort zone.
“Seriously, Northy? England?”
It doesn’t matter who or what the Scots vote for in England’s Scottish colony.
Scotland is owned by England and so England will always be the winner.
Almost all of the major political parties operating in Scotland are registered in England… a foreign country.
Until Scotland is liberated from English oppression the Scots will have no real say in what happens in their country despite the illusion of Scottish democracy.
So, yeah… postcolonial theory predicts that England will be the ultimate winner of next week’s ‘Scottish’ by elections.
Just think… after independence Scotland’s political parties will have to actually be Scottish.
Northcode, both Scotland and England are owned by America.
Several of the biggest parties competing in Scottish elections are not Scottish parties at all.
They are London operations registered in England, funded from England, and governed from England.
They wear a Scottish disguise by adding ‘Scottish’ to their branch office names often with Scottishy looking emblems and logos and such.
Even Reform UK is getting in on the scam by calling its presence in Scotland ‘Reform UK Scotland’ – its name written on a culturally assimilated bastardised Saltire as a logo.
Scots who vote for these carpetbagging foreign based English outfits are voting for parties who couldn’t care less about Scotland or the Scots and would have no business at all with the Scots if it weren’t for Scotland being an English colony.
Come to think of it the SNP might as well quit its offices in Edinburgh and register itself as an English party and relocate to London now that it has sold its tattered tartan arse to Westminster.
Of course, the SNP could still field candidates in Scotland along with all the other foreign based English political parties come election time.
Maybe the Scots should ask French or Spanish, or perhaps even Indian, political parties if they want to field candidates in Scottish elections, too.
So, just confirm, the KC is actually offering to help the police to investigate the “theft” of the ring fenced money and this is why you got the response that you did?
Uh, no.
Rev. Stuart Campbell says:
19 June, 2026 at 10:58 am
“Uh, no.”
============
It took you a full week to deliver this answer, Rev.
Acting on legal advice?
Wondrous times. The world’s first trillionaire walks the earth.
Serious money too, Uncle Sam’s greenbacks. None of your BRICS shite.
Should we tell him Scotland exists? He might drop us a billion or so, “just because”.
It’s not like he’d notice it was gone. And in that, if nothing else, he shares something in common with the SNP and the Scots who blindly support them.
The boy who hit the policewoman with a sledgehammer and then tried to use his ADHD or somesuch to claim he didn’t know hitting people with sledgehammers could be damaging has just got 7 years.
I’m raising a glass as I type.
He is just about to find out how terrible the world really is.
“You’re my little puppy dog now boy. Now pick up the soap”
Another take on the trial and sentencing.
link to craigmurray.org.uk
CM is a disgusting liar, the police officer who was attacked as part of the incident was completely off work for three months in agony, and hasn’t been able to return properly to her role fully two years later. It’s unlikely she’ll even fully recover. The defendants were lucky not to get 10 years for that gratuitous violence.
“Another take” … LOL
Yeah, “another take” on some MAN literally smashing a police WOMAN’S spine with a sledgehammer and thinking his getting sentenced for a mere (and entirely and unduly lenient) 7 years was “fascist”…
Seven years of board, lodgings and three square meals a day, at taxpayers’ expense? I’d have considered such a ghastly, cowardly act as a capital offence, personally.
Wasting your time with these comedians, Dan.
Why let the truth get in the way of a couple of shite 77th posts?
Or are they *really* that thick??
You have to understand, Wally Walrus, that not everybody is like you.
Not everybody is larded with a thick layer of blubber that a sledgehammer would just bounce off.
Have you actually seen this above? “James”, who has never posted anything that hasn’t been demonstrably and obviously false is calling OTHER PEOPLE thick! I’m some ways maybe you have to admire the audacity, and the imperviousness to the public humiliation he suffers every time he opens his gob. I don’t think I could do it.
Oh do fuck off, you thick fat twat.
Larry, Curly & Moe on a roll there.
All day, every day. Almost as if they’re being paid to do it.
Back to the NAAFI, girls.
Do you honestly think the British state would pay three people to entertain an irrelevant idiot like you James? If they wanted to keep you occupied they’d draw some straw off outside whatever hovel you reside in.
Poor Adrian. Bites every time.
“Bites every time.”
Yeah, but that’s enough about your porcine dietary habits.
Northcode says:
12 June, 2026 at 10:07 pm
Just think… after independence Scotland’s political parties will have to actually be Scottish.
OK children. Does anyone see what’s wrong with this statement.
Raise your hand if you think you know the answer.
THE SALMOND FILES AND ‘ARROGANT’ SCOTTISH GOVERNMENT:
An interview w/ Scotland’s information watchdog
“It was quite damning about the way that the Scottish government actually conducts itself in terms of freedom of information”…. “one of the least transparent governments there’s ever been and that’s a tragedy.”
The office of the information Commissioner fights an uphill battle.
The culture of restricting public interest information and or its alternative of providing wrong and or misleading information is in reality baked into our government, and its agencies.
I personally have seen local government information denied as existing whilst concommitantly an associated governmental transport agency confirms the exact opposite with copies of joint minutes and agreements.
And then of course there is the strategy of denying the existence of documentation only for it to be admitted thereafter, with the discovery o£ requested documentation,that it was not disclosed because it was on a different system.
And then there is the altering of information to distort responses.
The problem in all of this, and these examples are just tips of a huge iceberg, is that there is no real sanction for lying, cheating and or witholding information. The culture of optional malfeasance is extant throughout our public bodies. We live in a ‘ gangster ‘ state.
Unless and until the rotten and corrupt are hammered then nothing will change. The law sanctions or should I say facilitates corrupt practice. It is the law of the big rotten predatory beasts and unless there is personal sanction on the perpetrators then nothing will change.
Just like the bigger political scene. That is where we are. A rotten, corrupt appendage to Engerland.
Then Willie when all else fails to secure any information there is always the staunch , unquestionable , unchallenging,” Not in the publics interest” the exact opposite of the demands for disclosure, so loved worldwide by corrupt, venal politicians and governments desperate to keep hidden ALL their LIES , MISINFORMATION & CORRUPTION
There’s a quiet, almost elegiac undertone to the BBC’s coverage of today’s Trooping the Colour.
That’s not criticism — it’s a sense of watching a once-dominant power perform a ritual that no longer fits the world around it.
To me it has the same emotional register as a ragged old lion, tamed and in its pen, pacing the same path over and over, or a grand theatre whose once vibrant colour is peeling away with its brittle paint.
I’m not not mocking the spectacle – it’s more like a weary recognition that I’m watching an old and dying empire remembering its youth.
The ceremony feels outdated and the imperial imagery no longer matches England’s current role in the world.
The grandeur looks old and tired rather than triumphant, and the symbolism doesn’t impress the way perhaps it would have when the empire was in its prime.
At least the sun was shining today in England’s tired old imperial metropole.
“Trooping the Colour”
Early postcolonial theorists understood fascism not as ‘an unexpected right-wing turn’, which is what people on the left still seem to believe, but as ‘a logical development of Western Civilization itself’ (Kelley), and especially the role of the ‘bourgeoisie’ (Cesaire).
Here fascism is viewed as ‘as a blood relative of slavery and imperialism, global systems rooted not only in capitalist political economy but racist ideologies…’.
Bunche further explained, much as we see in imperial symbolic ceremonies, that what he called ‘the doctrine of fascism’ involves:
‘..extreme jingoism, its exaggerated exaltation of the state and its comic opera glorification of race’.
Du Bois further confirmed that imperialism and ‘the colonialism of Great Britain and France had exactly the same object and methods as the fascists and the Nazis..’
How apt. Some old and tired insults.
But what could we expect from the peddler of an old and tired theory?
I’m minded of the kind of boy, Northy’s a good example, who goes out of his way to insult Christianity. But never has a bad word to say about the “religion of peace”, for obvious reasons.
We’ll wait forever to read any criticism of the Orc’s mayday parades from them. For the same obvious reasons.
I haven’t read any of Du Bois, Alf.
But I do remember reading – truths generally stick in the memory – from a source paraphrasing a point made by Du Bois that went something like:
The violence Europe condemned in fascism was the same violence it had long practised in its colonies… only the victims changed.
It’s a point that stuck in my head because it sounds real in the sense that fascism, before it was called fascism, was the essence of colonialism that ‘boomeranged’ back on imperial Europe where it showed its true nature in the rise of the Nazi regime.
If I condense a number of different sources I have come across into a brief summation it shows that fascism used the same logic as colonialism, the same glorification of the state, the same militarised nationalism, and the same disregard for human rights.
The only difference was who the victims were.
With colonialism the victims were non-Europeans, but with fascism Europeans became the victims.
Another day, another dollar – and another demented old lefty declaring yet another thing as “fascist”, misquoting and/or misappropriating the same old third rate sources as the last 300 times.
Pathetic.
“With colonialism the victims were non-Europeans, but with fascism Europeans became the victims.”
Crevel’s ‘Murderous Humanitarianism’ (1932) attacked colonialism, capitalism, the clergy, as well as a complicit native bourgeoisie and hypocritical liberals collaborating in colonialism.
Cesaire then drew the direct link between the logic of colonialism and the rise of fascism.
Edward Said, however, confirmed that colonialism had already been long since directed at European races, incl the Irish and others, and we can and should include the Scots in that given the suffering and oppression imposed since annexation and before.
“Edward Said, however, confirmed that colonialism had already been long since directed at European races…”
Thanks for that clarification.
You have a much broader and deeper knowledge of this area of study than do I having made a thorough investigation into how postcolonial theory applies to Scotland for your book, Doun-Hauden.
Separating the victims of colonialism into non-Europeans and Europeans does seem like too simple, and convenient, a distinction in a much more complicated story.
For, as you say, the Irish and the Scots were also victims of colonialism prior to the rise of fascism in Europe.
Edward Said’s contribution gives us a more complete and accurate picture.
I believe you also point to a deeper truth, Alf… that colonialism created “internal others”
Colonialism didn’t just divide Europe from the rest of the world it created internal hierarchies within Europe itself where some Europeans were treated as “less European”.
This is why the Irish, the Basques, the Sami, the Roma, and others experienced forms of internal colonialism – as did the Scots.
Anyway, that’s my pseudo-intellectual view based on the little I have learned of colonialism thus far; tho, being an amateur, I’m happy to be corrected if you think my understanding of these matters is incomplete, Alf.
Learning before ego and all that…
Truths stick in the memory.
Turds stick in the U bend.
Anybody ken hoo mony short planks equals a Du Bois?
But to be serious for a mo. Our fighting friends in the east could teach us Scots many useful lessons, not least in the true meaning of colonialism.
But then, if they did, Professor Baird would have to stick to the day job, and Northy would have to invent another language – Pictish perhaps.
Neither of them can change course now – as predicted by Sunk Costs theory (Crivens).
Scots, Irish, Basque, Sami, Roma.
But not the Jews, obvs. To your typical Scots semi-professional victim, keening by the fire, watering his dram with his own hot, salt tears, the Jews always deserve everything they get.
Outdated and pathetic. Princes and Princesses and horse-drawn carriages – like something out of a book of fairy tales – for CHILDREN
Aye, Marie.
Adults are focused on the fitba.
It’s a rare opportunity for skint ordinary people, groaning under austerity and the cost of living crisis, to sub obscenely rich prima donnas, their entourages of grifters and hangers on, and their tax evading multinational sponsors.
Dig deep for Scotland!
Here’s a question for everybody: let’s say you have been or are still an SNP Councillor, perhaps even a new SNP MSP at Holyrood. You will have heard rumours about the ‘Ringfenced’ Indy fund over the years but you want to keep your career prospects alive so you avert your eyes and don’t make a fuss – just carry on with day to day business.
Then – due to the pressure-keg of Operation Branchform exploding – you learn that the organisation you have been a part of and contributed to for years has acted criminally & dishonestly and stolen from thousands of your fellow Scots.
Then, to make matters worse, the head of that organisation goes on TV to admit the rumours were true and, sorry folks, you’re not getting your money back.
Maybe I’m being incredibly naive but I would have expected an internal war in the SNP by now and a wave of resignations from the party, Councillors and MSP’s becoming Independents etc – similar to Ash Regan / Fergus Ewing or Jamie Green moving from the Conservatives to the LibDems in the previous Parliament. Anybody who stays & represents the SNP after these events is effectively condoning criminal behaviour. How can they look themselves in the mirror?
Like I say, I’m very naive…..!
“condoning criminal behaviour”
Colonialism is regarded as ‘criminal behaviour’.
However, even elements of a colonized people may appear to condone it, albeit unconsciously.
Hence ‘colonialism is based on psychology’ (Cesaire).
If your SNP job depends on ignoring the obvious, most SNPers will ignore the obvious.
@ Knuckle_Heid: I did suggest to my list SNP MSP that refusing the whip and resigning from the Cabinet is the right thing to do in the light of Swinney’s confession to illegality over the ring-fenced monies and the contempt of court.
Unless I’ve missed the news, she hasn’t yet done so.
Yes, I am naive…
Off topic, but Sandie Peggie’s team might be interested in this from the BBC: ‘Derbyshire…Police have launched a criminal investigation into an officer accused of using artificial intelligence (AI) systems to “create evidential material in a number of cases”‘ I wonder if the same legal scrutiny might also apply to judges?
@ Andy Wiltshire: very interesting!
it is already clear that Judge Kemp’s findings included AI “hallucinations”
link to scottishlegal.com
“The Judicial Office has refused to explain what caused fabricated quotations to appear in Judge Kemp’s ruling.
Complaints against employment judges in Scotland must be made to the president of the Employment Tribunals, who “may consider and decide upon it” (and not the the Judicial Conduct Investigations Office). Alternatively, the vice president may be asked to deal with the complaint.
Complaints about judicial decisions do not come within the scope of the complaints policy, yet it is not clear how the novel allegation that AI may have been used in the preparation of a judgment fits into the policy – making this case a test of its scope.”
There is always the fall back position….Jackanory !
The middle class seem addicted to their new religion, part of which is “racism” – you can’t bleat too much about “racism”; there is no natural limit to it. Nor can any circumstance hamper it. Some extremely poorly timed “stand up to racism” pish today. They aren’t reading the room.
– you know that wee DUNDEE LASSIE WITH THE CHIB missed a trick – she could have stabbed the pervy bastard and got away with it; she was below the age of criminal responsibility, and even a bit over it, it’s going to be childrens panel and a team of social workers
– aye, grigori, have it ya cunt … this one is for free
this is also why drugs gangs recruit them as young as possible – their couriers will never do any serious time (and they aren’t going to blab)
she could have had fun with it – say “lets see it then big man … ”
and when he whips it out, she then says – LETS PLAY IM THE RABBI …
ouch
Don’t be fooled by the tortured linguistic perversions being foisted on you :
“anti racism” = NATIVE HATRED
Football, bloody hell … (Fergie)
– it’s more important than that … (Shankly)
grown men writing long essays crossing the cultural and political about football, well I have done that, I will spare you, and I don’t really have much time for most sports hacks and their dribble … but here we are, finally again, with a pragmatic, realistic approach and a group that we could escape from; it is no “group of death”, more a “group of mild indigestion” – we could do it, so fingers crossed.
After celtic won the league I couldn’t quite believe the bleating about fans celebrating, or the lies about “attacks on the hearts players”, or “they stopped the match” – they went on for about 3 minutes and got off again … one guy gave verbals to Shankland, who then shoved him over … whoop de do
– the hypocrisy of this, even from Rod fucking Stewart (must be going senile) was amazing; Rod was on the pitch at wembley in 77 when we won and broke the goalposts, a fucking glorious moment (and, being fair, the english were pretty chill about it – these things happen – even arch cunt jimmy hill was mild … it was those wonderfully free years of the 70s, where you could do what you liked and no one gave a shit … haterimes, wokeness, political correctness, that was far distant)
So, here it is, a scenario : Scotland 2026 we get to the final, beating Germany, Argentina, Brazil, 3-0 each, while England get there due to their opponents all suffering severe food poisoning, norovirus and ebola. It is a glorious game, but in the end we win 4-0 – Tominay does 2 overhead kicks, one from 20 yards, one from 30 yards, leaping fully 30 feet in the air; our other goal is direct from a goalkick, and the last down to a marvellously concussed Harry Kane, who -again- overhead kicks it into his own net from 18 yards, pointing the wrong way. Another england lad misses a penalty by doing a double shuffle runup, then tripping over his laces.
– you are down the front, close to the pitch, Tominay and the lads are trotting by, the stewards are half asleep and the security don’t have guns … what do? … maybe dive on for a couple of minutes for a hug and a selfie … or will you just let this once in a lifetime moment pass you by … like that time that famous sexpot actress was in your pub, right next to you, and you didn’t even say hello …
I tell you one thing, if we beat the anglos in a world cup final, indy would be on us anyway, for they would tear up the union, put up the razor wire and cut all connections, all things “scotch” to be banned.
So, really – ALL is to play for.
– if you want motivation, every time you kick the ball, think of e.g. nigel farage, rupert lowe, tice, (pick your favourite anglo cunt) – and now absolutely burst the net with it.
On the streets today around me, on every single lamp-post, a saltire … feels good, man – like we were a free, independent, nation again.
That’s right, Confused.
Confuse nationalism with 90 minutes of kicking a ball about, yet again.
Then spend the intermediate years and decades once again wondering why nae cant takes you seriously.
Pished, demented, sub-100 IQ rambling dripping in Anglo-hate and the deification of football.
The above reads like an essay of why I turned my back of football years ago, why I despair at the utter stupidity and fecklessness of a substantial chunk of our population and why, sadly, an independent, free, prosperous and peaceful Scotland remains out of reach.
“an independent, free, prosperous and peaceful Scotland remains out of reach.”
Because accepting and embracing the denigration and derision handed out daily by our overlords and betters and accepting it as mere banter instead of treating it as the gross insults that they are just makes them feel superior
Have a wee look at the banter that took place on national tv about Scots and Scots football supporters in relation to swinney declaring a bank holiday , a bank holiday that he had to beg big ears to agree to
You blame confused for his comments and ridicule the stupidity and fecklessness of a chunk of the population, methinks you are quite happy to be a second class jock in this wondrous union
Will Murrell have some prison tats when he appears in court again?
I wonder which gang he has joined.
The Islamic Brotherhood!
Weel it’ll certainly wullnae be the Freedom Club, fitting since since he an’ his clique made damned sure there would be no Freedom for Scotland and the People of Scotland.
AX
He’ll be (ahem) servicing the cell blocks “Mr Big” and giving the Lags tutorials on embezzling..
If “even Homer sometimes nods” (recent exchange on Wings thread), then Grouse Beater has certainly drifted off into deep dark dreamland with this unexpected post. Sad times just got sadder…
THE CURIOUS CASE OF THE WEE BLUE CAMPBELL
link to grousebeater.wordpress.com
Bloody hell! That’s shocking. How to dress a load of mince up in fancy clothes if ever there was one. None of ’em like to see Stuart doing well, do they? Wankers. Gussying it up in a load of ‘more in sorrow than in anger’ is just another level of sick-making. Bletch.
It’s all gone a bit Pete Tong hasn’t it…
I was just looking at the “Voices for Independence” feed and wondered how many of these voices could actually have a reasonable conversation with each other these days.
You had one job, but managed to fuck it up to the point it’s a skipfire of bickering intolerance and unwillingness to work productively together for the cause you all purport to support, in a behaviour and diplomacy fail all too reminiscent of Games without Frontiers.
Gareth, Stuart, and Craig all got on reasonably well at one point. But due to Highlander-like “The Thickening”, now Gareth wouldn’t even vote for Craig at recent election under the ATLS option, instead considering the “Green” option, which is odd as Gareth was supportive of a more restrictive voting franchise, but still would opt for a voting choice which ultimately delivered us blow in Q Vanmanmadam… Which would piss off Stuart no end due to further delivery of gender insanity, but Stuart would whine that anyone that wanted to restrict the voting franchise to reduce opportunities for the likes of Q Madamvanman to vote and stand to represent Scots was a bigoted blood and soil nationalist… But then Stuart is a 5ettler himself darn south so on shaky ground, so tbh fuck knows what the score is working through the myriad personality circumstances and traits are.
One thing became apparent a good while back though, and that is that none of them can be relied upon to support any other living individual that makes the considerable effort to stand for election and attempt to deliver what they all supposedly want.
The grave issue raised here is way beyond any mundane account of high-profile independence proponents not getting on with each other (so what’s new?!) Rather it promulgates the (not-so) soft-pedalled suggestion that Stuart Campbell has been leaned on by, and indeed is now working for, the British State.
The article carried by Grouse Beater and Professor John Robertson on their blogs was originally written by Mark E. Saunders and is headed by the following ’Author’s Note’:
« The following article is offered as speculative political commentary. It reflects personal interpretation and historical parallels and should not be read as established fact. No allegation of wrongdoing is made against Stuart Campbell, nor is any claim made that the UK state has influenced his publications. »
However, innuendo is of course all that is required thereafter. Here is a flavour of the main text:
« […] Campbell was reportedly the subject of police attention at one stage. However, the details of this investigation remain fairly murky in the public record. Around the same period, his website and social media accounts were temporarily shut down.
« Following these events, many Wings Over Scotland readers noticed what they saw as a subtle but discernible shift in its content. There appeared to be a move away from strident criticism of the UK state towards almost daily attacks on the institutions of Scottish governance and various aspects of the independence movement.
« If one were inclined towards conspiracy theories, it would be easy to speculate that this sequence of events represents more than mere coincidence. It is theoretically possible that legal scrutiny by the police, or other factors, may have caused Campbell to moderate his public voice.
« Such influence need not be overt or even formal. The simple awareness of potential legal exposure can produce self-censorship or even a genuine re-evaluation of one’s public persona. The Sword of Damocles has always been one of the most sobering of weapons.
« Supporting this line of conjecture, the late Margo Macdonald once suggested that elements of the Scottish independence movement had been infiltrated by MI5. Her comments implied that state monitoring of pro-independence voices was not without precedent.
« While this article provides no direct evidence regarding Stuart Campbell, it attempts to place his experience within a broader context in which political activists can be subject to observation, scrutiny, or pressure from state agencies. […] »
Robert Hughes comment btl on the Grousebeater article articulates well my thoughts.
One could easily piece together a narrative and article that suggests ex BBC worker Gareth may have been got at too, as having previously being supportive of Craig Murray, but then bizarrely suggesting voting “Green” instead of ATLS… Was he leaned on and instructed to take this position after posting unredacted pics of certain Whatsapp message trails, or receiving cash from some greenwashing lobbyists to continue punting leccy vehicle shite as being the future, even if it is currently not deliverable and just means big corporate profits from, and slave labour for kids in the mineral exploited countries.
Stu never did release a post I made from being held in moderation questioning why the very week Alba folded pre-Scottish election, ISP would take a controversial position in a certain global conflict which Scotland at present is in no position to act on.
First priority is to regain self-governance, and then with our own media begin to properly inform Scots of the actual Scottish and global goings-on, free from ridiculous propaganda narratives churned out by UK MSM.
Well done and keep it up, Stuart.
Everyone from the biggest betrayer in Scottish history, including those in the Police and Crown Office, responsible for the crime, responsible for covering up the crime and responsible for protecting the criminals from prosecution, must spend the rest of their lives behind bars.
The Police and Crown Office should be flooded with the same letters as Stuart sent by everyone who contributed to the “ring fenced” funds.
The smart-alecs were far too hasty in their first response.
Well done Scotland!
I don’t think the lads played that well, but nothing wrong with their goal, and they held on.
Commiserations Haiti? To a degree, respect earned certainly, but Scotland have played well and been defeated so many times, that it’s nice to see runes of injustice favour Scotland for once. Scotland did clatter the woodwork too, so it might just as easy have been 2.
Hands up, who expected Scotland to do the usual, trip up at the first hurdle, then play like giant killers with Brazil and Morocco? For once, Scotland has dodged the jinx, so now that pit of despair has been avoided, let’s hope they build their strategy on confidence, not the usual bounce-back resilience through having nothing to lose.
Dire coverage trying to watch the game. (Won’t give the BBC wanks the time of day), but saw it free and for nothing through an Asian site with no sound. Silent, on a phone, at 2am in the morning, and me not much of a footie fan, it was still a good enough game that I didn’t fall asleep. (Though I nearly gave in with “half time” after 20 minutes or so). WTF? Have they Superbowled the World Cup for Ad breaks? Nope, “hydration break” apparently.
A long time ago, I once played Rugby in the Boston / Vermont area, and the muggy climate needs adjustment because you sweat absolute buckets. One more reason to cut the team some slack in my opinion. Makes good guys look ordinary, but they’ll adjust quickly hopefully.
Top of the group after the first skirmishes. Who’d have put money on that? 😉
link to lordashcroftpolls.com
“Last month I [Lord Ashcroft] surveyed 850 members of Reform UK, asking about their priorities for government, their attitudes to Britain, Conservative defectors, how they see prominent figures inside and outside the party, whether they trust elections, and how they think the civil service and the political establishment would react to a Reform victory. A separate survey of the general population allows us to compare their views with those of the general public.”..
..”Ninety-four per cent of Reform members named immigration and asylum among the three most important issues facing the country. Second was national security and defence, chosen by 30%, followed by welfare and benefits. The cost of living was in fourth place chosen by just over a quarter. The general public were more than twice as likely as Reform UK members to choose the cost of living, less than half as likely to choose immigration and asylum, and four times as likely to choose the NHS and social care. Reform members were more than four times as likely to mention free speech as the general public.”
More of the polling results at the link
“A separate survey of the general population allows us to compare their views with those of the general public.”
Eh?!! Care to explain that!
OK. Pay attention now. Two separate polls. One with Reform supporters asking their opinions on various matters. A second poll, asking the same questions to a different group, the “general population”. Compare the answers from Reform supporters with those of the general population.
There, that wisnae so hard.
Ask me anytime for things you dinnae ken
Easy. ‘Their’ refers to the Deform members he polled. A bit clumsy but makes sense in that context.
@Sam
As clear as dirty dish water.
@Andthetoilette.
Is this the new boyfriend Sam?
It’s laughable… except it really isn’t.
The BIG news story on the BBC today is ‘some commandos boarded an unarmed oil tanker at night’ – what a victory.
I say all ‘British’ soldiers involved in this heroic military action should be given the ‘We Are Not Amused’ Cross.
Britain has stolen £70 million quids worth of some other country’s oil (sounds familiar) in a daring nighttime soldiery thingy… maybe that sum will cover the cost of this great ‘Where Pigeons Dare’ operation.
And maybe England can coax 96 year old Clint Eastwood to reprise his role as an OSS assassin in the movie of this historic army jolly. His great age will fit nicely with the current state of England’s military.
Alfred the Great Northy. A leader to unite the kingdom against the Danish cross dressers.
Scotland needs an Eliot Ness! To rid the kingdom of Gangsters.
whats new?
the anglos started out as pirates, then … just stuck with it; harassed by the vikings they started to think “this is not a bad idea – just steal other peoples stuff” – their economic model was raiding spanish galleons, then once they looted the monasteries they had the dosh to build a real big navy and head out to shaft the entire world; they legitimised their business and called their own pirate haven “the city”. It kicks off bigtime at the glorious revolution, goes turbo when the Scots are pressganged into the operation, and once “capitalism” is created, i.e. state sponsored usury is instituted (no longer a crime, or even a sin, thanks prods), a dangerously unstable economic system which is simply all about “make the next interest payment” – then its game on for a world-shafting – get yourself a bible and a gun, a ship, cannon and musket and get tore into these darkies armed with spears. Now get your scribes, oxbridge queers, to write it all up as “civilisation”.
“wherever wood floats, you will find an englishman, stealing all he can”
It started badly, it tailed off a little in the middle and the less said about the end the better, but apart from that it was excellent. Scottish History for Neds.
Confused and his Spanish galleons always raises a smile.
The good people of the Americas; Aztecs, Maya, etc. begged the Spaniards to send their galleons to them, so they could relieve themselves of the humongous weight of gold, silver, etc. which was oppressing them so.
In fact, not only were the indigenous Americans desperate to offload their loot, they willingly worked themselves to death in the mines to gift the Spaniards even more.
Confused could post the same tired old shite everyday for a year but never once get around to dissing the colonialist empires he favours. Regulars on here will know the source of his bitter bigotry.
Any alert new readers need just observe he’s still fretting over the dissolution of the monasteries and the penny will drop.
It’s challenging and perennially depressing to observe that it’s this kind of thinking that Confused and his cohorts truly believed could be leveraged into a movement that would have steered Scotland to Independence.
But it is immensely amusing too to see that despite all the water under the bridge since 2014, they still think they alone possess the secret that will unlock Indy and set us free.
Allocoprophagia!
From the river to the sea
It’ll be years till they’re free!
EU DESTROYS EUROPE
– that europe fucked itself by allowing its slow gradual takeover by anglo/american/zionist interests is clear; it was an obviously good idea at the time – a trading bloc for advanced western european nations setup with the ideals of de Gaulle to act as a counterweight to an otherwise overpowering american imperialism. de Gaulle even tried to keep the anglos out, seeing them as a trojan horse for america – which was proved true, but the grand irony was, having shat the place up from day one, they then left in a “huff” (despite being given special treatment; world class brass neck and chutzpah from the rosbifs).
Some of the smarter, smaller, countries stayed out (forming EFTA), as otherwise they would get soaked : Norway would be paying, large; Iceland would lose its fishing grounds to spanish trawlers, and luxembourg and swisslands shadily profitable banking practices would have to end. Still, it worked pretty well, for a pretty long time, and despite the corruption, it was well organised, with plenty to go round.
All the shit that fucked up europe came from being a vassal state of amerika – the introduction of the eastern europeans for example, a carrot so that NATO could creep eastward; then the euro – this was put together basically so the yanks wouldn’t have to remember 10 exchange rates – but it locks into place a one size fits all economics.
But it’s not enough that europe is a vassal of america; it is worse than that, europe is a vassal of the DEMOCRAT PARTY wing of the empire only – this means insane obedience to mindlessly destructive policies, mass immigration for example. Europe has what, 500M citizens? – while Africa is already at 1B, and will be 4B by the end of the century; deposing Gaddafi knocked the cork off the bottle and now they swarm upwards. Tourism, cultural exchange, come and go, taking in a few sad cases here and there, gradually integrating them sounds fair enough – but we are talking thousands though in that regard – this is about many millions, an invading army. All this will do is collapse the welfare state, destroy the culture, degrade education and reproduce the chaos of africa, everywhere.
anyway, this is when europe finally jumps the last shark; anyone who steps out of line gets hammered
link to archive.ph
interesting to see how it is likely that Poland and Hungary will be getting shafted; the poles reckon they are “owed” something because they did as told over the eastern non country which antagonised the roos. As for hungary, they had orban, who was the EU nemesis, but they gave in to extortion (EU wanted to give yokie 90B euro, Orban said no way, the yoks stopped the oil pipeline) … the hungars shat it and voted for a “less corrupt mini orban” – but mini orban is no orban and he has capitulated.
I am glad I toured europe before it all went to shit.
link to lordashcroftpolls.com
“Just under four in ten Reform UK members said they would describe someone who was from an ethnic minority, [e.g. Scottish] was born in England and was a British citizen as both British and English. Just under a quarter said the person would be British but not really English. Three in ten said the person would be a citizen legally, but not really British or English. Among the public as a whole, a clear majority said the person would be both British and English.”
Nine out of ten cats said they prefer kittekat.
It’s all so simplistic it reduces the topic to a joke.
Far better to ask the respondents if they think beheading is a good way to settle arguments. If they believe sullen wives deserve dousing in paraffin and burnt alive. If they support controlling their daughter’s sex life by getting a home visit from a woman who will cut out a part of her genitals to keep her docile.
Heck. Maybe they’re staunch religionists who believe non-believers are inferior by default.
I agree with everything you have said. I would also ask the respondents if they think killing children by the thousand is acceptable self defence.
That’s an excellent question, Ex President Xiden.
Just yesterday, I was reading an online article about the proposed social media ban for the under sixteens. The author was making the point that to allow the government to choose what kids can and can’t see online is about as sensible as allowing the government to set their bedtimes.
Children, like everybody else, differ.
That’s before we get to cultural and behavioral differences and expectations. What Scot, holidaying in the Med, has not marveled at Spanish families dining out with perfectly behaved young children at 11 PM?
Take a typical “western” family, constrained by economic forces and personal choices, to one or two precious offspring. The death of their child represents a catastrophe of the first order – perhaps the end of a line of descent.
Contrast with a family of 8, popped out without much choice or thought, with no consideration for the future, sheer numbers intended to ensure that one or two survive into adulthood.
How should the “west” proceed when at war against the latter? Their sheer numbers leave them no choice but to expand and encroach on what we in the “west” believe is ours. It’s not exactly rocket science!
Should we hesitate at the thought some of their children might die? Surely that would be us valuing their children higher than they do themselves? Eventually, by handing them victory because we voluntarily tie our own hands, valuing their children higher than our own?
After all, part of the ethos of having huge families is the recognition that some of them MUST die. But if you have enough of them, one or two will likely survive to carry the line on.
Study our own history here in Scotland and you’ll find that only a few generations ago, that was our ethos too.
It is an interesting question with no easy answers as all simple solutions start to fall apart once you ask the question what defines an ethnic / native Scot or English person, and you have to define it if you base policy on it. But that is not to say the idea of a ‘native’ does not exist because it clearly does and more importantly, matters. We don’t have that much trouble identifying a native, but defining it gets 1000x harder because our markers are pretty superficial and woolly (e.g. Scot’s person who can trace ancestry back hundreds of years but who speaks with an English accent has trouble being thought of as Scottish, or the other way round which does happen too).
The Reform candidate for Makerfield was quizzed on this on a good R4 programme recently about who qualifies as English. The example given was Rishi Sunak saying he was English as most of his upbringing and cultural reference points are quintessentially English, and if he were not brown I think most people would agree he is very English like a version of David Cameron.
The Reform guy couched this in terms of an ethnic versus civic divide (reasonable, up to a point) but perhaps surprisingly he said he did not think ethnicity was the key but longevity (tracing back ancestry) and in saying that, he conceded a black person could, quite logically be English if that longevity applied. Of course he did not define that length of ancestry (people almost never do) but said it was much less likely a black person would have that longevity, so one assumes he is talking about hundreds of years.
I have some sympathy for the ancestry point but I would not make it very long and would define it in terms of generations – two or three, perhaps.
And then there is things like football – if you play for England or Scotland, how can you not be English or Scottish by definition (I know the objections to this due to qualifying rules)? This then also begs the question can you be both? The answer is yes, though you might then split that identity between ethnicity / ancestry and civic / cultural definitions.
I find consideration of reciprocity interesting.
For example, what are the chances of a white Christian becoming president of Pakistan? Even if he was born in Pakistan because his parents moved there to live?
Answer: zero.
So why should we Scots be prepared to countenance the reciprocal situation?
“Rishi Sunak saying he was English as most of his upbringing and cultural reference points are quintessentially English”
Yet he commands a fortune that any “quintessentially English” or Scottish person would struggle to spend over several lifetimes. So not a good example.
On longevity. The date every English schoolchild learns is 1066 (and maybe the Windrush date). Nearly a millennium since the Normans invaded, conquered most of England and Scotland and established their own people at the top.
How well have they integrated into being indistinguishable from the rump of the indigenous?
Amazing, isn’t it. We have that lived example of assimilation failure in front of our noses constantly, yet we still persist in claiming that this time it will be different!
FFS. We could at least make a compelling case for the Normans of 1066 being superior in culture, sophistication and the martial arts. Nobody can seriously claim the medievalist incursion playing out on our streets daily represents a superior culture or set of values reviving our own.
Christian? No, as it as an Islamic republic, but white Muslim of several generations living in Pakistan? Not that likely but possible. Point taken though but my counter would be, do we really want to use the oppressive Islamofascism of Pakistan as an example to be emulated? The fact they would not do what we would is to our credit, no?
There is no perfect culture and probably very, very few that are not mixed race, mixed heritage, whatever to some degree. If there are some much more like that I would like to know how they are better, and importantly, how they maintain that. North Korea springs to mind, or Afghanistan, or Hungary, perhaps. What is notable is that countries like that are always seem to be oppressive / dictatorial regimes as to so control the population requires that: people tend to move about if they are allowed to.
To return to who is English, Sunak is very rich yes but so is Cameron, Rees-Mogg etc so I am not getting the point there. And take the person whose grandparents were Polish war refugees, and also has some Polish aunts and uncles. The person has some interest in their Polish heritage and relatives but in all other respects is as English as you like. Do they not qualify after just two generations? Yes they do. Is my lifelong friend whose Mother was German, and who spoke with a German accent all her life not properly English? Yes his is, 100%. If either of those had light brown skin due to intermarriage somewhere down the line, would that make people think differently. Yes it would and they would be wrong.
@Southernbystander
I note you completely ignore the issue of religion. Yet religion is the most important characteristic of any person, as it shapes how the person will think and act when she is alone, but for the presence of her god.
And yes, that covers atheists too. For what is atheism but just another variant of faith-based thinking?
People of Polish and German ancestry share a common religious outlook with the vast majority of the indigenous inhabitants of these islands. An outlook that we thrashed out over centuries of bitter conflict with the deaths of hundreds of thousands. And if they be atheists or agnostics, their basic value systems are still informed by their Christian heritage.
Others of a different religious tradition espouse different values. Values that are not only antithetical to ours, but also values that the others won’t abandon, as they believe these values come directly from their god.
The resultant conflict was always inevitable and only a liar would deny its ever-expanding and worsening severity.
I note you still believe we can “make it go away” if we just try harder to “be nice”. There is no value or virtue in us acting “to our credit” when our enemies will always choose to weaponise our niceness against us.
On a lighter note, here’s an interesting and relevant article on the intersections between football, politics and civil war. It’s discussing France, but that great country is not only Scotland’s traditional European partner, but a major part of the EU to which we Scots are supposedly yearning to join:
link to unherd.com
Unfortunately the article is paywalled though I do have some knowledge of the situation in the banlieues. One can look at the problems in France in different ways but my own personal experience in France is that the migrant communities there are far more isolated and ghetto-like than even the most similar in the UK. French society is more divided on ethnic grounds. Whatever you think about immigration and its consequences, that can never be a good thing unless you actually want civil strife. To be boring, you need sensible, number restricted immigration policies and a non-hostile environment for the migrants allowed in for a healthy society.
But we will go round in circles on this but just one point about religion – several African countries are Christian and have been a for a very long time, and one of those, ironically is Rwanda (90% Christian). Ethiopia is home to one of the most ancient Christian sects. Where does this leave the argument about the base religion of Poland and Germany? We get back to ethnicity and colour difference.
Usually, I can’t stand Euan McColm’s writings in the Scotsman.
However, today he has written a decent article about how the SNP has overseen a collapse in standards in public life:
link to archive.is
The first four paragraphs –
“The great straw man standing at the heart of the constitutional battle is the claim by nationalists that unionists reckon Scotland is “too wee, too poor, and too stupid” to go it alone.
This red herring, created by John Swinney a quarter of a century ago, feeds the separatists’ need for grievance while framing scepticism about the SNP’s mission as fundamentally unpatriotic. To suggest independence might not be in the national interest is to talk Scotland down.
As the fallout from Peter Murrell scandal continues to engulf the First Minister, the SNP’s line begins to sound less like an accusation and more like a confession.
After 19 years of SNP rule, Scotland has never felt smaller, poorer, or more mortifyingly stupid…”
It’s a straw man right enough.
By remaining dogmatically determined that Scotland’s place is as an unimportant Brussels-administered colony on the EU’s fringes, the SNP long since showed us they too believe we’re too wee, too poor and too stupid.
A view enthusiastically endorsed by many Scots in the Indy movement, whether SNP supporters or not.
Well of course folk would think that if you listened to and gave any credence to Unionist and Devolutionist Scot’s shite.
After all, no thieves ever announced they were stealing from you.
Old post from Petra (RIP lass)
link to wingsoverscotland.com
2 mins of Jim Rogers on Bloomberg.
Well said, Dan.
Let’s look at how little Ireland fares against the might of the UK as an example of how small countries often do better than larger ones.
McColm’s an arse. You have got to believe Scots are too wee, too poor, too stupid to think we can’t be like Ireland
link to worlddata.info
“Quality of life
Values from 0 (bad) to 100 (very good)
See also: Explanations and country ranking on quality of life
United Kingdom Ireland
Political stability: 75 90
Civil rights: 89 95
Health: 78 84
Climate: 24 20
Cost of Living: 32 45
Popularity: 72 61
Economy
Details for the United Kingdom and Ireland
United Kingdom Ireland
Unemployment rate: 4.7 % 4.6 %
Inflation rate: 3.35 % 1.63 %
Cost of Living:
(USA = 100%) 90.05 % 99.67 %
Commercial taxes and contributions:
25.00 % 13.00 %
Average income: 49,470 US$ 80,650 US$
Average wage: 59,795 US$ 62,801 US$
Central government debt
(% of GDP): 100.72 % 44.79 %
General government debt
(% of GDP): 103.36 % 33.00 %
Corruption index: 30 (moderate) 24 (good)
Fuck the World Cup. Abject idiocy by morons, for morons.
link to whorattledyourcage.blogspot.com
Indeed. One concurs.
I’m not sure what I cringe more at, the plastic kilted Bravehearts with the bagpipes advertising to the world we are alcoholic party animals, or the other lot with their St George’s flags everywhere, beer guts, Ten German Bombers chants and 1966 references.
Fuck it indeed, a lot of keech.
A trifle harsh, Spartan 117.
After all, they are in the USA. That bigly, beautiful plastic shrine to keech created by the Scots, English and Irish who first killed, raped, ethnically cleansed and genocided its indigenous occupants so they could get their bloody hands on the place.
They created an enduring legacy to their Scottish, English and Irish value systems. One that persists to this day.
The World Cup demonstrates that the Scots are indeed ‘a people’ with the right to self-determination and decolonisation, i.e. to end our peoples domination by anither culture and country.
With a bit of luck maybe mair Scots will realise this as they witness our own distinctive national consciousness and national culture presented on the global stage. The rest of the world does.
Anytime the trayslapping cunts want to stop colonising themselves with alcohol and stupidity, I might start taking them seriously. Pack of obnoxious drunken clowns. Apart from that….
Never sure why you communicate in just the very occasional Scots word, Alf. I connect that to middle class dolts. I could use all-Scots if I wanted, but just don’t. What is your excuse? Genuinely curious.
“Never sure why you communicate in just the very occasional Scots word”
Because to communicate in all Scots would be to effectively choose not to communicate, due to only a minority of Scots understanding Scots, and virtually zero of everybody else.
What we might call the “Doh!” moment of comprehension.
And if anybody is wondering why the enthusiasm for Scots waxes and wanes, from calling for Scots without written and spoken fluency in Scots to be sacked one week, to complete silence on the matter the next, it’s because when elections are in the offing, the sheer lunacy of that idea can’t be aired.
Nae Scots cant is going to vote to put himself out of a job, or commit himself to learning a language that he’s managed just fine without since he was a wee bairn.
Other posters have been writing of the craziness of banning football or poetry. These boys write seriously of trying to ban, in the Scottish public realm, the first (and often, the only) language of the majority of Scots in Scotland – English.
I’m afraid “culture” extends far beyond football shirts, bagpipes, kilts, getting pished En Masse and making an almighty arse of oneself and one’s nation on an international stage.
Culture is a natural thing, something that just “is” without even giving it any thought; unforced, unspoken, woven into the fabric of everyday life.
It is very telling to the current political establishments ensconced both in London and Edinburgh – and their supporters – seek to enforce and control “culcha” through deliberate engineering to suit their own ends. One could reasonably argue such behaviour is indeed “colonising”, the Soviet Union had it as one of their foundations. Sobering thought.
The late, great poet, Alasdair Maclean, wrote that a living culture breathes the pure, fresh air of the landscape that surrounds and nourishes it.
It’s a dying culture that lingers, hooked up to oxygen, and reliant on the efforts of the ICU team.
The Soviet Union remains, for many in the Indy movement, the pinnacle of human organisational achievement to date. Hence their support for poot’s efforts to reconstitute it. Just saying 🙂
All you folks seek to do is de-base Scottish culture.
But we know, ‘that is how colonialism works, by de-basing the colonized’ (Memmi).
If you’re saying that Scottish culture consists of cash-strapped Scots scrimping and doing without to richly reward prima donnas, their groupies and hangers on, and their tax-evading multinational sponsors, then guilty as charged, Alf.
When viewed through that prism, the obvious linkages between Scottish culture and Scottish politics become crystal clear.
Ban football?
lets ban poetry.
A’m no a fan o the fitba, yit a kin see the vailue in hivin thoosands o Scots promuivin Scotland as a distinct nation, and the Scots as a unique fowk, on the world stage.
It’s a real joy to watch thousands of Scots woo America, as they do every country they visit.
And the Americans love the Scots.
Different news sources across America report that the Scots are being seen as the life of the party, the fans who bring colour, noise, humour, and heart to the tournament.
A source in Boston says of the Scots fans there:
The Scots, eh?
Wha’s like us?
Here are some other comments from America aboot oor braw Scots fitba fans:
“They’ve taken over the city — and we love it.”
Coverage describes Scottish fans “invading Boston with bagpipes” and bringing a mission to “drink the city dry,” but in a celebratory, affectionate tone.
“They bring energy we’re not used to.”
USA Today highlighted the spectacle of Scots playing bagpipes early in the morning — a cultural shock to an NFL-centric country, but one Americans seem to find endearing.
“They’re adding to the excitement.”
In New York, Scottish fans have been described as bringing “strong energy” and “overwhelming” enthusiasm ahead of the tournament.
“They’re part of the celebration.”
The world would be a mair miserable place without us Scots in it, right enough
If you want to hear Loch Lomond at full blast plus Flower of Scotland at 125 decibles which is the loudest recorded at any world cup stadium. It certainly beats the hell out of ITV’s muted version.
link to boston.com
What a brilliant sound that is, auld highlander… fantastic. Thanks for the link.
As usual Scotland’s football fans are doing Scotland proud on the world stage.
If we are talking about Scottish culture I’d happily point to (and promote) our extensive contributions in the arts – chiefly in the thought-provoking reams of poetry our nation and its inhabitants have written, or the masses of beautiful music over many centuries (and continuing to this day), dance etc – plus the wide-ranging and incalculable industrious and innovative contributions we have made to the modern civilised world in the areas of technology and medicine among many other things, with an industrious and hard-working spirit. Or we could consider our literally world-changing contributions to Christianity, helping to reform the worst of religious zealotry, hypocrisy and hatred into something much more practical, personal and focussed on the Word actually preached and putting it into practice.
But no, let’s ignore all of that irrelevant stuff and instead concentrate on our culcha of Fitba’, partying and boozing. Because that’s supposedly what we’d much rather sell to the world.
Cheer up, Spartan117, no-one has forgotten that the Scots created the modern world and have a long and unique cultural history.
No-one has forgotten that Voltaire, and the world, looked to the Scots for enlightenment.
I’m no fan of the fitba, but I can see the huge value to the independence movement in Scotland getting some good press from the world’s media.
Scotland’s football fans are just having a wee bit o fun and are doing a grand job of promoting the Scots as a great, humorous and friendly people distinct frae the English and reinforcing the idea that Scotland is a separate nation from the ‘United Kingdom’ or England as I prefer to call it.
There was a young man called Spartan.
Who couldn’t understand what was happenin.
With a rant and a rave
He came out of his cave
Only to find the daylight was Tartan.
Thanks Mark. Gave me a chuckle!
Sadly, unlike the Scottish fans who have gone viral for bagpipes, kilts, national costume, humour, and friendly chaos… English fans haven’t produced the same kind of heart-warming American stories.
Apparently, Americans view English fans as intense, intimidating, opinionated, and condescending about American football culture.
There’s this incident, for instance:
The English also appear to be carrying a historical reputation Americans haven’t forgotten (what could that be?)… according to Americans.
Oh, dear!
Luckily us Scots are in America, too, so the ‘United Kingdom’s’ reputation hasn’t been completely trashed in the USA.
What you mean is the American men are pissed at how much American girls love the English accent ?
Hmm, yes, the St George-waving beer gut-swinging oafs are equally cringe and a thoroughly bad representation of England. My English Missus (as open to Scottish independence as I am, for the record) quite frankly detests it. Fitba’ seems to bring the worst characteristics of the worst people it seems, who are given a platform to ram their plastic nationalism down everyone’s throats.
As I said, culture is something ingrained and quietly confident. If its forced or has to be yelled, paraded loudly for attention, it is no longer culture because it becomes ersatz.
Scots and Scotland became known and respected throughout the civilised world for our quiet, hard-working contributions to civilisation, technology and culture, because the results spoke for themselves. Yelling Nae Party Withoot Sco’Lan’ and getting pished just screams Wee Man Syndrome quite frankly, just like waving St George’s flags and being boorish and rude also does.
The Scottish accent is the most trusted in the world (marketing folk love it)… mainly because, unlike the English, the Scots are perceived as being trustworthy.
The Scottish and the English are held in the highest regard around the world, Northcode, as you’d understand if you went outside now and again.
“Yelling Nae Party Withoot Sco’Lan’ and getting pished just screams Wee Man Syndrome…”
Ach, dinnae be a snob, Spartan 117. Lighten up and embrace Scotland’s playful personality as well as her great intellect and culture.
Ye’ll be tryin’ tae tell me thon rideeculous Gaelic is Scotland’s national language next.
“The Scottish…are held in the highest regard around the world…”
Finally, we agree on something, AI Dan.
They’re having fun Northy. Remember fun? Laughter, comradeship, male bonding (not the arse bandits), unity, national pride ( not the rainbow fairies) These guys and girls are having fun.
To hear ‘Flower of Scotland’ being sung at 5 in the morning is uplifting.
Get out more.
Scottish fans are more engaged than English fans.
Scotland’s top-flight league having the highest attendance per capita in Europe at 18.49 attendees per thousand people, compared to England’s Premier League, which ranks 11th with 6.52 attendees per capita.
Perceptions of English people are coloured by their colonial past worldwide, while Scots, despite our colonial involvement are not subject to such perceptions.
Could be something to do with the arrogance of the English compared to us. See, for example, the arrogance of the English in sports such as cricket, rugby and fitba. The use of “thrashed” in commentary, instead of merely beaten or defeated.
Gah, you’re such a witless troll, Northcode, you’re not even remotely good at it.
Deliberately misquoting someone..? Lawks! Anyone would think you were 8 years old – let alone 80.
Maybe up your game and randomly shout “Prick!” at people.
“Gah, you’re such a witless troll, Northcode…”
Gah… the sound of an Anglo’s patience snapping like a twig (a point to me, I think) – and what a fucking obnoxiously English sound it is, tae.
Quoting out of context, or Contextomy to use the formal name used in rhetoric and logic (sometimes called “quote mining”), is the act of removing a statement, or part of a statement, from its surrounding context in order to distort its meaning.
And although my deliberate use of it against AI Dan’s comment is blatantly obvious (even Aidan understood that) – rendering the technique ineffective as a genuine attack – it can be an extraordinarily powerful tool in rhetoric when used discreetly.
Of course, mine was not a serious use of the technique… it did, however, draw out a rude, coarse and simple-minded Inglis who couldn’t resist making a fool of itself by ignorantly calling out my rhetorical device.
Yawn. More verbose, witless, irrelevant drivel.
My original comment stands. You bore me beyond belief.
“The Scottish accent is the most trusted in the world”
Of course, it can only be trusted where it is understood.
So, dear, dear Northy’s statement should have read:
“The Scottish accent is the most trusted in the English-speaking world”.
Even then it probably isn’t true, as that which is asserted without evidence can, of course, be refuted without evidence.
Meantime, it’s intriguing to consider a Hong Kong Chinese citizen, fluent in English, and well educated about the role the likes of Jardine and Matheson had in colonising and robbing his ancestors blind. When he hears a Scottish accent does he think “Ah so! Trustworthy”.
Ah hae ma verra serious doots.
Scotland (and their fans) are only at the World Cup because they are a colonised nation.
Isn’t that how the argument works?
I detect a lot of middle class handbag clutching going on; football is the dance of the working class, and fitba (and pop music) was one of the few ways an ordinary type of fella might make something of himself, coming from no money, no connections, no fancy school, the wrong type of accent.
Football is a politico-philosophical battleground – the football of the left, based on the creative imagination of the working class allied to a collective aim – against the football of the right – brutal, violent, authoritarian, pseudo militaristic in its formations. The world cup – nations competing against one another – is also a counterweight to the corporate bullshit of the champions league and its copyists – “neoliberalism on a pitch”.
If you want to get poncy about it, we also have what the greeks called “catharsis”.
ARCHIE
FUCKING
GEMMILL
you paupers of the imagination.
A large number of heterosexual males gathered together scares the shit out of them.
Aye, Confused, there’s a fair bit of clutchery goes on in this place at times.
This:
“Football is a politico-philosophical battleground – the football of the left, based on the creative imagination of the working class allied to a collective aim – against the football of the right – brutal, violent, authoritarian, pseudo militaristic in its formations.”
… is very good.
Good one, Northy.
Football is like politics right enough. A zero sum game. One side is victorious, the other is crushed.
And so on ad infinitum. Winner takes all at every rematch.
It’s not too late for you to put your beliefs into practical use, Northy. Stand for office and I’ll vote for you myself.
one of the drawbacks of these times is an epidemic of a powerful mind virus – english-cunt-itis – to be precise. The main marker of this is obsessional fixation with a disputed football game in 1966. Luckily innovations from scottish (non-celtic) fan analysis brings us to new conclusions : the crux is the phrase
SOME PEOPLE ARE ON THE PITCH
– there was a pitch invasion
THEY THINK ITS ALL OVER
– but it wasn’t, the match was not over
IT IS NOW
– in the opinion of wolstenholme, but not the laws of the game
we all know the english once again had to rely on the rushans to win their battles for them (the linesman), but we see clearly now
if english fans were on the pitch, then the game cannot have been in progress, ergo, the england fans caused that game to be abandoned
– the game was never completed. FIFA should have intervened and awarded 3-0 win to Germany.
England never were “world champions”.
– nor will they ever be. Quarter finals, maybe semis with a bit of luck.
I wonder if the english would have conceded the falklands to argentina for a world cup win in 1986? Of course they would have, they would not have blinked; that there are 500B barrels of oil down there is irrelevant.
The one game I would like to see banned, sine die, ipso facto, lorem ipsum, dulce et decorum est, pari passu, etcetera etcetera – is cricket. For obvious reasons.
In the national Library of Scotland – “Forty years of Shite: The Complete and Utter Awfulness of the England Football Team Since 1966.”
The shite extended well beyond 2006 when the book was published.
From “England’s worst ever World Cup”
“That is why 2014 deserves the top spot. It was not just an early exit. It was England’s worst points return, a last-place finish, and the kind of underachievement that stripped the shirt of much of its aura.
Why Brazil 2014 Felt So Damaging
Part of the reason 2014 still stings is that it destroyed the comfort of old assumptions. England were no longer simply an underachieving heavyweight likely to reach the knockouts and then lose narrowly to someone stronger. In Brazil, they became a team capable of going out before the serious business had even started.”
The English stopped believing the England team are just an underachieving heavyweight long, long before 2014, like when the team didn’t qualify for two world cups in a row in 1974 and 1978, and also 1994.
The England team are in general a disappointment, with a few notable exceptions. This is because they are clearly not good enough and despite 1966 (a home victory), never really have been.
I live in hope but when I see them lumbering about with occasional flashes of good, fast play, I know it will not amount to anything. If you followed the actual commentary in England about the England team going back decades, the cry is again and again, why doesn’t England produce enough good, let alone world-class players? The EPL is all very well but that is made good by the overseas players by and large, not the English ones.
Much as I have no interest in the rosbifs winning anything, I know a bit (too much) about english football; the “tragedy” as it were for them was that while they had good players (at times), they wouldn’t play them – no one wants these “fancy dans”; so anyone whose face didn’t fit, never got a game. Even Hoddle was “distrusted”. I loved Matt Le Tissier because he was always doing things no one anticipated. Gascoigne was so extraordinary they had to have him in, but just the one. There was some raw material there; John Barnes dribbled through the entire Brazil team in a 2-0 win in the Maracana.
And as for running it, as a kid I was always worried Brian Clough would get the england job – taking provincial clubs to league and euro glory is “impossible”, could he sort out their national side? Luckily the FA is just the same empty blazers you get everywhere. I had a schoolmate who ended up playing at forest; told me lots of clough stories – they would go for a run, then stop and eat ice cream; or have the apprentices come round to dig his garden – “wax on, wax off” right enough. A story I heard about a guy who had trained at Lilleshall, their “centre of excellence”, he said : “we all went for a run in the morning, and those who were still running at 4pm got in the team”.
Another potential nightmare was Fergie ending up as england manager; but I don’t think he would ever have taken it, and in these times Man Utd boss is a bigger job than england.
Bobby Robson was interesting and is remembered fondly; but I remember what happened in that tourney – his first team was turgidly shite, but then a run of injuries forced him to play other guys, and they went on a run.
oh aye –
Albert Camus was a goalkeeper.
as was Niels Bohr.
morons.
Add Sir Arthur Conan Doyle to the list
I also played midfield briefly in my 20s, for whatever relevance that is.
I’ve nothing against Fitba’ and wish our national side all the best, there’s just other things I’d rather be interested in these days. Plus the behaviour of Fitba’ fans generally – most specifically, the Weegie clubs – puts me off being associated in any way with it. There’s something about Fitba’ that seems to turn supposedly grown men into hysterical toddlers unable to control their impulses (e.g. the utterly hysterical Raynjurz fan that stormed out of Gellions on Inverness’ Bridge St on the day of the title decider this year and jumped up and down screaming and swearing, red faced, throwing his hat at passers-by, when Sellik scored – right in front of my kids who were mortified and scared).
My opinion is just there’s much, much more to advertise about Scotland and our culture than lager-swilling and leaving tartan about. Looks like that opinion seems to upset certain quarters however.
Albert Einstein (yes, really) — played as a youth in Munich
Einstein wasn’t a competitive player, but he did play football as a boy and remained fond of the sport. He once joked that he preferred it to gymnastics because “you can think while you play.”
Not a goalkeeper — but a genuine intellectual who kicked a ball around.
Vladimir Nabokov — goalkeeper, like Camus
The author of Lolita and one of the great stylists of the 20th century was a goalkeeper at Cambridge. He described goalkeeping as “a thrilling blend of courage and geometry.”
Pope John Paul II — goalkeeper in his youth
Before he became a philosopher?pope, Karol Wojty?a played as a keeper in Wadowice, Poland. He was known for being fearless and athletic. Yet another goalkeeper. There’s a pattern emerging.
Umberto Eco — played as a boy, wrote about football as semiotics
Eco analysed football as a symbolic system, treating it as a language of signs. He saw it as a cultural text.
Isaac Asimov — played in school, remained a lifelong fan
Asimov wasn’t athletic, but he did play football in his youth and later wrote about the sport with affection.
The “cup marks” the Picts left on their sacred and symbolic liths were pictorial representations of winning set piece tactics.
Although they only ever knew the 5-a-side game. So of little value to today’s professionals.
As you yourself already know.
Are Police Scotland guilty of misinformation?
Deliberately and with intent to hide the truth.
How many years (and how many World Cups) is it since I twigged that your typical self-identifying Indy supporter would swap freedom, prosperity and Independence itself for the certainty, every 4 years, of doing better than England in the World Cup?
Not to win the thing. Just to last longer into the KO stages. Just for another 4 years of bragging rights.
I realised long ago that some nameless FIFA committee holds our Independent destiny in its hands. It has but to rule that it’s a nonsense for the UK to get 4 chances. In future, the UK would have to provide one team like every other normal country.
Scotland would be a seething mass of outrage and uproar and we’d be Independent in time for the next World Cup.
They tried that with Team GB, went down like a Tranny in woman’s changing room.
I don’t think you’re getting it, Mark.
It may seem counter intuitive, but any Scot determined on Indy should be 100% behind a campaign to get the UK represented by a single UK football team at the international level.
When that happens, the ONLY way we’ll get our team back is via Indy.
@Hatey
You’ve been hanging around with the wrong people.
Especially if nearly all the players were English. It cannot fail as it would unite virtually every Scot on the planet.
Of course the UK team would be thought of by all the English as just England renamed, like they do about Scotland already, apparently. Forget ‘North Britain’; like those crazy Yanks say, ‘hey, I am going Scotland, England’.
You get it!
The only flaw I can see in the entire scheme, and it’s a flaw of infinitesimal probability, is the microscopically small chance that a UK team comprising the best players from Scotland and the other countries, managed by a Scot, might just be the best in the world.
Reach the final every 4 years, and win more times than not.
But naw, pigs might fly.
If they did, I bet Professor Baird would claim the UK lifting the World Cup was already predicted by Fanon, etc.
You’re imagining a Springtime for Hitler scenario, hmm yes, it could be a disaster, securing the Union forever.
Maybe in the spirit of the times and to set a standard for the world, the team could be mixed sex, gender-fluid and disability and age inclusive?
Service Adviser 19(89)84(7)?
SNP left me in 2016 and has done so to ever increasing numbers of its members since then. Being in a political vacuum is no fun, so, when ALBA was formed, it looked like that could be the answer.
But despite the initial enthusiasm/hope/expectation, as we all know, it didn’t happen. Alba, as the only independence party contesting the 2021 election, won only 1.66% of the list vote. Later, cracks became evident: the Salyers – Salmond bust-up, followed by well publicised in-fighting.
Alba’s demise seems to have been down to 4 things: failure to build on the expectations of the early months/failure to connect with YES voters; in-fighting; the passing of Alex; squandering valuable resources by contesting 19 seats at the 2024 GE. Lessons to be learned?
Compared to Alba’s 1.66% in 2021, the combined list vote for AtLS, ISP, and SSP was … 1.64%. Meanwhile, Reform go from 0.21% in 2021, to 16.65% in 2026.
It’s exasperating that with Indy on life-support, 1.5 million potential YES voters are out there continually rejecting what Indy alternatives to SNP and MRLP* (on steroids) are on offer, because what is on offer is confusion, division, and intransigence.
It’s like buses leaving the city centre, small groups of them follow similar routes for a few stops, then head off in their own direction, and whatever direction they (our politicians) take individually, this approach will never lead to Independence.
So, before the plug is pulled, it might be a good idea for all our wannabe Indy leaders to find a revival formula before it’s too late.
Perhaps if e.g.
Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh, Eva Comrie,
Colette Walker, Tommy Sheridan,
Kenny MacAskill, Brendan MacNeil,
Sara Salyers, Joanna Cherry,
Peter A Bell, Neale Hanvey,
Chris McEleny, Ash Regan,
Craig Murray, Joan McAlpine, and others, put their differences aside for a year or more (we’ve got nearly 5 years), spent that time finding the views of Indy-minded folks instead of punting their own, we might get somewhere.
They could then talk regularly amongst themselves, list our priorities in order, use the Wee blue book and Wee Alba book as a template, form a party, policies, a leadership pecking order, and come out with the passion and fighting spirit that is with Scotland in the World Cup right now.
We might then improve on 1.64% by 2031.
*No offence intended to David Sutch’s memory
your list omits our latest convert: George Galloway.
“our latest convert: George Galloway”
Yes, in a colony even ‘the more assimilated native starts to become uncomfortable with events’ (Memmi), such as the blocking of self-determination, attacks against ‘radicals’, and ever-increasing economic plunder of the territory necessary to sustain ‘the mother country’, always at the expense of the colonized native:
link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com
Whilst there are some serious and competent people on that list (e.g. Joanna Cherry) there are equally quite a number of cranks who would be an absolute liability to an independence political movement. Trying to bring all those figures under one umbrella is always going to be a doomed enterprise because of the irreconcilable differences in the philosophical viewpoints, attitudes and personalities of those you’d propose to involve.
The SNP isn’t going to deliver independence, we all know that, but it also remains strong enough to keep most of the independence movement down the cul-de-sac it drove down from 2017 onwards. What is needed is a new centrist, Scotland-based, pro-independence political party that can take on the leadership of the independence movement from the SNP. That won’t be easy, the SNP will fight hard not give up the gravy train that many of their extremely low calibre MP’s/MSP’s/officers rely on (providing salaries 5x what they would get working anywhere else). They’ll play extremely dirty, including mobilising the power of the Scottish government, to prevent this from happening.
Faced with that challenge, a rag tag bag of retirement age activists isn’t going to cut it. It needs to be a group of people who are young enough and with enough energy for a difficult, decade (at least) long slog, and significant financial backing. And of course the ability the command both the news and social media in a way that drives the agenda.
Memmi to the rescue!
You haven’t addressed Ebok’s point, Alf, which is the complete failure of the members of his illustrious roll call to set aside their differences and all pull together for Indy.
Any chance you could provide us with a quote from Memmi, Fanon, Cesaire, etc to show how the behaviour Ebok highlights is all down to colonisation and the forced, internalised adoption of the oppressor’s value systems?
Thanks in advance.
‘It’s shite being Scottish’ (Fanni)
“the complete failure of the members of his illustrious roll call”
Fanon explains independence not as a matter of politics but as a matter of national culture; which is what we see in the World Cup just now, Scottish national culture on global display, and how that culture interacts (positively) with other cultures, and how the colonizer hates us even more for displaying it in their face on global media.
What we are also seeing at the same time, despite best efforts of London and its rotten cultural imperialism toolbox, is ‘the break-up of the old strata of culture, a shattering which becomes increasingly fundamental’ (Fanon) to the liberation of a culturally dominated people.
Which brings us directly to Fanon’s ultimate conclusion that: ‘to re-establish the sovereignty of that nation constitutes the most complete and obvious cultural manifestation that exists’.
So put aside the failed political processes and chattering intellectuals in the colony, leave it to ‘the people’. When they have had enough of domination by another culture they will surely throw it overboard in the pursuit of freedom:
Aye, Alf, it is a joy to see Scots fans enjoying themselves and showing Scotland in such a magnificent light.
It’s clear that the Americans love the Scots.
Wha’s like us, eh?
“independence not as a matter of politics but as a matter of national culture; which is what we see in the World Cup just now”
OK, Alf, so Indy is just about football and only for a couple of weeks every 4 years.
If we qualify.
I had already concluded so myself, but it’s encouraging to know I also have those foreign thinkers such as Memmi, etc backing me up.
“It’s shite being Scottish (Fanni)”
You must be very proud of your magnificent contribution to this thread’s ‘conversation’, Inglis.
Racism comes in all shapes and sizes, eh?
It’s strange how you English feel so comfortable posting your anti-Scots rhetoric on a blog that represents the Scots and their desire for Scottish independence.
Watching the Scots in America is brilliant. We Scots are indeed a magnificent people.
No wonder you English are so envious of us.
We Scots are a people doun haud for centuries and yet we are still loved and respected around the world for our unique culture and identity and remembered yit fir oor great contribution tae humanity.
Think what great benefits us Scots would have brought to the world if we hadn’t been colonised and suppressed by England… it’s beyond sad.
“It’s clear that the Americans love the Scots”
It’s wonderful what you can imagine if you pretend no Americans are descended from Scottish colonists.
But hey, I’ve been there, Canada too, so I’ve experienced it at first hand.
Both places hoaching with enthusiasm for the homeland of their distant ancestors, and vowing to one day visit Scotland.
Not to settle or live, obvs. They’re not that daft. Besides, we warm, welcoming Scots would hate their guts.
Heck, we already do, even although they’re thousands of miles away!
It’s a famous quotation from a quintessentially Scottish film, as you know, Nothcode, and a silly play on words of Femmi.
It is obviously a joke, but humour is only allowed one way in your world, ‘Jock’.
“It’s a famous quotation from a quintessentially Scottish film…”
And posted by you out of context, Inglis.
Funny that.
I know James, and I am, after all, just a ‘wanker’, though I draw the line at ‘effete arsehole’ as I am never effete.
Even if all those you name somehow got together, you’d still end up with a “movement” that would struggle to get 2% of the vote.
The figures cited from the last 2 elections show that while such voices may generate 50%+ of “Wings” comments, they also command no support among the broader mass of voters.
REALITY: The list includes Craig Murray, the ALS’s “star” candidate, who got a derisory 150 votes for MSP in May and was beaten by, among others, joke candidate “Bonnie Prince Bob.”
After the Court decision today there should be an IMMEDIATE BAN ON GAY COUPLES adopting children.
Perhaps not immediate.
Let’s get the World Cup over with first.
It’s all unraveling. One step at a time.
Including lesbian couples?
Nicola Sturgeon has changed her pronouns to Him not Me.
But she’s already forgotten doing it.
Boston has just been colonized. The American ladies just love those kilts.
“ Boston has just been colonized”
=======
No Scotland, No (Tea) Party?
The march to Fenway park is now part of Bostonian folklore.
I have been moved to pen my deeper thoughts on Scottish independence after reading the Mark Saunders piece that was re-posted by Grouse Beater.
I am sceptical of Scotland’s intelligentsia, her intellectuals, and others on the matter of Scottish independence.
And there’s historical precedence underpinning my scepticism in knowing that the “managerial capture” of national movements has happened before in Scottish history:
Each time, a class of educated Scots positioned themselves as the interpreters of the nation — and each time they were more loyal to their own status than to the people they claimed to represent.
It’s not independence that bothers me… It’s them.
The ones who’ve appointed themselves the voice of my nation; the intellectuals, the academics, the business entrepreneurs , the bourgeoisie, and that cultural bunch – the whole polished, Anglo-spoken, well-fed priesthood of Scottish virtue.
They talk about independence like it’s a poem. A symbol. A performance piece they can workshop in a lecture hall.
With few exceptions they speak of sacrifice, but they’ve never had to make one.
They speak of the people, but they don’t live among them.
They speak of risk, but they’ve built their lives so carefully they’ll never feel the consequences.
And I don’t trust them with Scotland’s future. Not for a heartbeat.
It isn’t that I think they’re lying, most of them, anyway – that’s the problem – I think they believe every word.
I think they’ve convinced themselves they’re the custodians of the nation’s soul.
But they’re insulated. They’re comfortable. They’re surrounded by people who nod and applaud at all the right moments.
They want independence, aye — but the kind that leaves their own lives untouched.
They want a clean, curated independence.
A version that looks good on a banner and doesn’t disturb their dinner parties.
We’re the ones who’ll pay the price if it goes wrong.
We’re the ones whose jobs vanish first.
We’re the ones who’ll feel the shortages, the uncertainty, the upheaval.
Not them. Never them.
I’m not against independence, far from it, I’m against handing the reins to people who think the nation is a story they’re writing, not a place where real folk live.
I want an independence movement led by people who know what it is to lose something.
People who’ve had to struggle – to some extent, at least – to create a bearable life for themselves and their families.
People who understand that a country isn’t just an idea — it’s a responsibility.
And until I see that… I’ll keep my scepticism close, like armour.
I’ll stick to seeing clearly, even when everyone else is squinting at the pretty lights.
I’ve always thought the Scottish independence movement has two souls:
They overlap, but they are not the same.
My scepticism is aimed at the second group — the people who speak about the nation more than they live within it.
A good post Northcode that sums up my perception also of the political classes and their supporters both in the Central Belt and within the M25.
Well, that’s very kind of you to say so.
However, I couldn’t care less about England’s self-inflicted woes and am not inclined to see Scotland’s colonisation compared to, or conflated with, England’s very different national crisis.
How to end the colonisation of Scotland by a country eating itself out of existence and consuming Scotland along with it is my concern.
Perhaps you have missed those occasions when “real folk” exemplar and champion, Northy, self-identified as a thousand year old, space traveling Pict?
Watch out for this bunch… the cultural-NGO-creative class.
Because whether they know it not not this is the layer of Scotland’s ‘elite’ that many ordinary Scots feel uneasy about — the “professional Scotland” that often dominates public debate.
It includes Scotland’s:
They rarely appear as individuals in lists, but they form a recognisable class in the independence conversation.
This is the group folk often mean when they talk of “the intelligentsia” or “the bourgeois supporters.”
This group is populated by a shower of self-opinionated, self-serving, egos of limited intelligence and they care as little for Scotland and indigenous Scots as they do for anything else that doesn’t polish their own reflection.
Many of the folk who populate this ‘intellectual desert’ aren’t even Scots.
The above groups you list are part of the Soviet-style State Culcha Engineering who’s aim is to tell us and impose upon the populace what *we* should think and what is “culture”.
It has been a State policy within the M25 since 1997, one that the Scottish National Party have subsequently enthusiastically picked up and ran with in Holyrood.
The cry of the middle class everywhere seems to be :
I’VE GOT A GOOD JOB – THE SYSTEM WORKS
(this far and no more)
mind once you have climbed the ladder (even a few rungs), the smart thing to do is kick it over.
the satrap / comprador “elites” who run the colonies are people chosen for their similarity to their masters; psychopaths, criminals, degenerates – at the very least these types can be blackmailed to keep them in order.
even something as dull as the civil service pension scheme has a lot to do with it; you get 28.9% of your salary paid into it (not like 5 or 10 with a company scheme, which they will probably loot at some point) and it is a “defined-benefit” i.e. gold-plated scheme. And, you know, the govt isn’t going anywhere, and won’t go bankrupt. When you hit 45 or so, and the pessimism hits in, you opt for the safer option. Pension Pete and sneaky pete have big wads I would think; it would be nice if murrells pot got raided, but we shall see. Then he would squeal.
Cynical compromises, orchestrated by understandable human weakness, is one thing, but our middle class has something worse – a new religion called wokeness, through which it pushes policies which actively attack the interests of the people, and they do this with a holier than thou smugness; they call the working class “far right”, they call anti-native policies “anti racism”, they call child protection measures “transphobic”.
Our “intelligentsia” is also intellectually mediocre, a trade union of the credentialed, where the piece of paper is more important than the ideas behind it; they don’t do critical thinking – that is how the madness starts, that is how you invite “wrongthink” – so what you get off them is word-salad nonsense, full of madeup concepts and “stuff thats only real in my head”. Gender is good one, gender does not exist, only sex.
Public life in Scotland is dominated by fake-nats, bourgeois leftists, anglos, and every variety of grifter and opportunist. They are like lizards on a rock (catching the sun); once you have carved out a little spot, your entire focus is on maintaining what you have. The SNP/Green axis is their political vehicle, but by now the SNP is little more than a corpse blocking a fire exit.
“word-salad nonsense”
Brilliant.
But not for the reason you will assume.
your reading comprehension does you shame, as usual
“Public life in Scotland is dominated by fake-nats, bourgeois leftists, anglos, and every variety of grifter and opportunist”
Excellent synopsis, Confused.
The ‘wages of colonialism’ also come in the form of what we ken as ‘the Holyrood budget’ which distributes funds necessary to keep the bourgeoisie and much of the native proletariat on side, being ‘the most favoured section of the population’ (Fanon) in colonial society’.
This includes ‘the union-organizations in colonial territories (which) are regularly local branches of the trade unions of the mother country, and their orders are the echo of those given in the mother country’ (Fanon).
Which explains why the ‘Scottish branches’ of UK trade unions are not pro-independence and hence are not on the side of the people seeking self-determination, much like all other ‘colonial institutions planted’ in the territory.
“distributes funds necessary to keep […] much of the native proletariat on side, being ‘the most favoured section of the population’ (Fanon) in colonial society’.”
FFS, Alf, pay a bit more attention before you post this stuff.
You’re now claiming much of what constitutes the ordinary Scottish population are favoured by colonialism.
Here was me near believing that ordinary Scots are oppressed and robbed – because that’s a claim you regularly make.
Perhaps you need to get the story straight in your own head.
I assume that you would include the esteemed professor in the group that seek to ‘polish their own reflection?
“I assume that you would include the esteemed professor…”
Do you believe you are correct in your assumption?
Are you willing to persist in your assertion and risk the inevitable humiliation?
Or do you concede that you meant your comment only as a feeble ‘witticism’ and in doing so might escape being assigned the label of ‘idiot’ in this place?
It might be a very subtle witticism, Northy.
Chas might be hinting at how the reflection in the mirror connects you and the esteemed professor.
Isn’t it about time you plugged the book again?
“the book”
This may be the correct term given that I assume you are referring to the only research-based book (‘Doun-Hauden: The Socio-Political Determinants of Scottish Independence’) which fully explains Scotland’s ‘colonial condition’ and concludes that:
“If a sovereign Scotland were for some reason deemed unable to legally withdraw from the UK union, this would mean that Scotland does not have full sovereign or political control and is therefore considered by (international) law as a territory or colony of the British State.”
And of course using that definition Alf, every region and county within the U.K. would similarly be a colony, lacking the legal right to cede from the state. Looking beyond our borders, even region of almost every country would also be a colony for that reason.
Only British/English nationalists consider Scotland to be a region or a county (of Britain/England), Aidan. Yes, we know that is how Westminster and the BBC and other British/English nationalist institutions regard Scotland, as their territory, and the Scots as a subaltern people.
The truth however is that Scotland is a ‘country’. Scotland is at the World Cup and every other country on the planet sees Scotland as a country and views the Scots as a distinct ‘people’. They are all able to differentiate us Scots from the British/English. Scots need to do likewise, to ditch the colonial and cultural illusion of Britishness.
The upshot here is that when it comes to our time of national liberation it will be relatively easy to get international recognition of Scotland. Everybody knows the Scots and likes us, and they will all drink a dram with us to toast our freedom and liberation from Anglo colonial domination.
That doesn’t answer the question, “country” is a subjective term which has no meaning in international law. The people’s of Yorkshire and of Cornwall could equally declare their respective regions to be “countries”, within their own distinct identity and dialect and according to the criteria YOU laid out, those places would be colonies.
Now we all know that Scotland IS culturally a country and not a county of England, and this equally is reflected in the constitution of the U.K. but Scotland is also an integral part of the state of the U.K., and other states are mandated by international law to respect that integrity.
The reality is no friendly or allied country anywhere wants to see Scottish independence, just the same as they don’t want to see an independent Quebec or Catalonia. Other states will however respect it if it is achieved peacefully and lawfully. Alex Salmond understood that.
“achieved peacefully and lawfully” ?
That’s some brass neck there, considering London’s colonial track record.
“Everybody knows the Scots and likes us, and they will all drink a dram with us to toast our freedom and liberation from Anglo colonial domination.”
Well said, Alf.
Scotland’s freedom might arrive with a fanfare and it might not – I’m betting on a fanfare so loud it will reverberate around the planet.
But for England it will certainly arrive with clarity — a clarity it has long refused to face; and when it comes, it will hit the English hard.
In that final moment, stripped of illusion, they will see that their hold over Scotland has ended, and that the wealth they once drained from us is no longer there for the taking.
And at last the Scots can begin the joyous task of untangling themselves from England and the English and remaking Scotland in the image of the Scots
Wow!
A raft of educational and informative posts since 10 AM this morning, mapping out the route to Indy, along with the timeline, the leadership, and the resting places along the way.
Never before have I seen it all so clearly explained. Nor its self-justification ever placed on such irrefutable foundations.
“Go back to your homes, and prepare for Indy” must surely be the conclusion drawn by every alert reader on here.
‘Trying to bring all those figures under one umbrella is always going to be a doomed enterprise…’
Evidently, my sarcasm was a little too subtle.
The list of wannabes – all claiming to be champions of independence – as fashioned was meant to show my contempt for politicians of today.
The point is that only one group or individual can lead the combined mass of Indy supporters in the quest for Scottish Independence, but to win the argument they must have the backing of groups from a variety of backgrounds and mindsets.
For instance, from last month’s election returns it appears that 40% of the electorate thought they were voting for Independence parties via SNP and Green. But in addition, it could be argued that the 16% Reform vote consisted of many Indy-leaning protest voters who believe their concerns are not being addressed.
We can throw insults and platitudes at those we disagree with, but whether you support SNP, ISP, SSP, Greens, AtLS, or individuals such as Peter Bell et al, at some point, every one of those supporters will have to come together and show common cause to make it happen.
Another critic of poot killed.
We don’t have to look far to see real oppression, real tyranny, real denial of human rights, and real imperialist colonialism.
We just need to look beyond the sad snowflakes eternally bleating on Wings BTL.
“We” ?
LOL
Obvs not you, Wally.
If we’re gonna include you when writing about “we”, we need to add a second letter ‘e’.
“..Let me right at the outset define what I mean by alienation. It is the cry of men who feel themselves the victims of blind economic forces beyond their control. It is the frustration of ordinary people excluded from the processes of decision making.The feeling of despair and hopelessness that pervades people who feel with justification that they have no real say in shaping or determining their own destinies.”…
“Now, influential blogger Wings Over Scotland has gone public with the rumours. He tweeted: “Intriguingly, word reaches Wings that Stephen Flynn is not currently at the World Cup because the US Government revoked his ESTA shortly before he travelled, for reasons currently unknown. The SNP are trying to keep it quiet.””
link to scottishdailyexpress.co.uk
Having colleagues who semi-regularly travel to the States and have ran into problems since the Trump 2.0 regime rose to power, there are two likely reasons that spring to mind; a) goofed paperwork or b) a criminal conviction on record.
If they’re trying to keep it quiet, one wonders if it’s the latter. Interesting.
“hundreds of Scotland fans who had previously been granted an ESTA had had their travel permits withdrawn at the last minute without explanation”
Gawd. America’s unconditional love for the Scots and all things Scottish does indeed manifest itself in mysterious ways.
There’s a real story there. I hope somebody will investigate it and report, as it concerns a subject rooted in the very heart of the Scottish psyche.
Will they get their money refunded? For games, planes, hotels, etc?
Or will they have lost the fucking lot?
He’s a British Whig.
I consider that a badge of honour for Flynn.
Can I just say, Marie, that in the Land Of The Stupid Comments, the writer of the Most Stupid Comment is queen?
Such a shame you have a downer on monarchy!
You see, Marie, it could only be a badge of honour if Flynn didn’t want to go there in the first place.
But he did.
He called the Donald a ‘war criminal’
“…Society and its prevailing sense of values leads to another form of alienation. It alienates some from humanity. It partially de-humanises some people, makes them insensitive, ruthless in their handling of fellow human beings, self-centred and grasping…
“…the father of Major Major… He was, however, an enthusiast for the agricultural policies that paid farmers for not bringing their fields under cultivation. From the money he got for not growing alfalfa he bought more land in order not to grow alfalfa. He became rich. Pilgrims came from all over the state to sit at his feet and learn how to be a successful nongrower of alfalfa. His philosophy was simple. The poor didn’t work hard enough and so they were poor. He believed that the good Lord gave him two strong hands to grab as much as he could for himself. He is a comic figure. But think-have you not met his like here in Britain? Here in Scotland? I have.”
“an enthusiast for the agricultural policies that paid farmers for not bringing their fields under cultivation”
“have you not met his like here in Britain? Here in Scotland?”
Sure.
There’s the non-pumpers of the oil.
There’s the non-drillers for the gas.
There’s the non-refiners of the oil and gas.
And then there’s the numbskull lovers of simple philosophy who vote for them at every turn, over and over again.
The Scots and the SNP. The SNP and the Scots.
Interesting quotes with much food for thought.
Only have to look at the manner in which opposite sides on political debates dehumanise each other for daring to not agree with the other side. Or some commenters here, who express their overt disdain for anyone English (as if they had any choice to be so) who *dares* to live up here. Presumably they also get annoyed at too many brown faces down the Co-Op, or women being allowed to vote or be airline pilots.
“Only have to look at the manner in which opposite sides on political debates dehumanize each other for daring to not agree with the other side.”
“Keep the Far right from the debate” isn’t that what Swinney wanted? He even had a big round table of the righteous with No Far Right scum allowed! painted all over it. If anyone was in doubt about who the Elite are then it was every one around that table. Political debates have been and are being strangled by the Left. The Screaming Sturgeon method. Shout your opponent down. School playground stuff with big consequences. The wee school bully and her hit squad of Middle class dykes.
The Right are forcing the debate. The Left have nothing to offer but lies, misinformation and arrogance. The Elites days are numbered and every policy they forced on the Scottish people.
And lets not shut out the colonialists or Care in the Community as I like to call them. Even the stupid have an opinion.
“It is easy and tempting to hate such people. However it is wrong. They are as much products of society anda consequence of that society, human alienation, as the poor drop out. They are losers. They have lost essential elements of our common humanity. Man is a social being. Real fulfilment for any person lies in service to his fellow men and women…”
Havers, sam.
It’s all the fault of colonialism.
Name and shame them Sam.
Pygmies, literally and figuratively, fail to recognise words of the inaugural speech of Jimmy Reid as Rector of Glasgow University.
I have a crisp tenner that says calling somebody a pygmy – a derogatory term with racist overtones – is a hate crime in Scotland.
Care to accept the bet, sam?
It has otters on.
I seem to recall that “pygmy” is indeed a word which features in the ever-expanding lexicon of terms which will see one thrown into the gulag if used nowadays. On the other hand the term “pygmy bulb” would appear to be fine, although it can only be a matter of time until this anomaly is stamped out.
While I’m here, where do we stand with common terms such as “gypsy creams”, “pikey wire” and “black affrontit”? Are they still OK? Do polis Scotland or ScotGov offer any sort of online service through which one can verify the hate-state of any word over which one is having ones doubts? 🙂
Don’t ask me, Minceheid.
I became disillusioned with the entire bourach after the stushie over ginger nuts.
But it was the fallout after I asked somebody about their transistor radio that put the final nail in the coffin for me.
These days I exercise my right as a free, Sovereign Scot to call a spade a spade, without fear or favour.
“To say the things he truly feels
And not the words of one who kneels”
Is that really such a big ask in Scotland in 2026?
Well done American Homeland Security. I wouldn’t let a baldy grifter who doesn’t know the difference between a man and a woman into my country either.
They let Honest John in.
‘A patriot is someone who loves their country. A nationalist is someone who hates everybody else’s country’
An immigrant is somebody who hates their adopted country.
Discuss.
A patriot is someone who wants the immigrant to go back to their own country ASAP by the fastest route.
A Leftist is someone who wants the immigrant and all his mates to come to their country so they can use them to destabilise the country. Once this is achieved the Leftist will take control Cry havoc and unleash the state terror machine on the people of their country.
It’s in Alfs book chapter 7.
Americans are generally thought of as patriots who love their flag and their country and put their hands on their hearts as they sing their national anthem. They’re all immigrants.
You don’t get it, Marie. Again.
An immigrant ceases to be an immigrant when she loves her adopted country. Then she becomes a patriot.
As long as she doesn’t love her adopted country enough to accept it as it is, but wants to change it, force her religion and beliefs on it, finds its laws unworthy of obeying, etc. then she’s just an immigrant.
And can and probably should be deported.
After all, why did she come to her adopted country in the first place if she doesn’t like its laws, customs or belief systems?
She’ll probably be happier somewhere else.
Her adopted country defo will be once she’s gone.
MSM reporting that two petitions calling for FIFA to review the refereeing of the Scotland-Haiti match have now reached 155,000 and 30,000 signatures respectively.
Must already be at least 185,000 signatories convinced Scotland fails to land the “world’s most cuddliest wee country” award.
Seems like real former colony, Haiti, has a more legitimate claim to the “we wus robbed” sob story than pretendy colony, Scotland.
Who’d a thunk it, eh?
To third world ex-colonies, the oppressive, rapacious, thieving colonists of Scotland are indistinguishable from the oppressive, rapacious, thieving colonists of everywhere else in Whiteyland.
Is it Friday yet?
This place should be renamed “Hatey McHateface Over Wings”.
Rev… Any chance of limiting BTL comments to 5 per person per day to stem this constant outflow of guff?
Then I’d have to create yet more identities!
Have a heart, Bob. I’m struggling to keep track of even the ones I have now.
Well McHate-filled @11.17pm – you’ve just described what the Arabs in your favourite (fake) nation have had to put up with for the past 8 decades. For some bizarre reason you give those people a “get out of jail card”. That’s what is known as double standards my friend.
Don’t be daft, Marie. Everybody knows who Jerusalem and the surrounding areas rightfully belong to.
It was theirs for hundreds of years before the Arabs ever got onto camel-back and started spreading their “religion of peace” at sword-point.
I don’t base my attitudes to human rights on scribblings from the Bronze Age. You are wrong.
HMcH
Well Hatey;
Tell that to the pre existing incumbent resident Jebusites, Canaanites and Philistines!
Not to mention Empires that Lorded over those in the area like the Acadians, Egyptians, Hittites – all before Exodus- then the Babylonians, Assyrians, Persians and ultimately the Romans at which point your New Testament limited history kicks-in in a manner strangely enough reminiscent to that of the camel jockeys whose own little fairy tale similarly refuses to believe anything happened before their myths inauguration, just a mere six centuries after your myths kick off date in the New Testament..
Just sayin’ an that because I’m interested in history and reckon those who twist history to suit modern politics need reminded of actual history, not history as you wish it had been..
Are you sure you’re not in thrall to Bronze Age scribblings, Marie?
You’re named after one of the people they scribbled a lot about.
Rubble land is the fake of fakes. Low IQ people think otherwise. The game is over for the inbred cretins.
“The game is over for the inbred cretins.”
Bad news for you then, eh “old boy”?
LOL
An article explaining why Sweden is a better place to live than Scotland. It touches on the concept of personal responsibilities that should go hand-in-hand with human rights, especially when the human rights are of the “Gimme loadsa free stuff” kind:
link to unherd.com
Here’s a quote:
“crime, an area in which immigrants are substantially overrepresented. In 2021, for example, foreign-born people living in Sweden were registered as suspected criminal offenders at a rate two and a half times that of citizens born to Swedish parents”
I look forwards to the day that kind of Swedish reality checking catches on here.
The majority of CWU members support Scottish independence as does the Fire Brigades Union. The Prison Service Union supports Scottish independence and also the RMT Union.
Unite and Unison the largest Trade Unions take a neutral stance so that their members make up their own minds
Sam;
Not so sure about ‘Unison’; they seem to be slavishly tied to the Yookay ‘Labour’ Party, and thus; pro Yoon.
Indigenous Scots voted 50% plus in the rigged 2014 ‘referendum’….shame the Scots members of the RMT didn’t decide our future though; in a democratic event (remember them?) that same year Scottish RMT members voted 70% YES.
Segue;
Wanna know why the Yookay is shite? Almost 50 years of Yoon Tory rule. Shite pensions. Shite services.
“So, england privatised its water and look what they got : a bunch of guys in suits made out like bandits, the pipes are leaking like fuck, and there is shit in the water.”
“Confused”.
Kinda blows outta ‘the watter’ the endless BS posted all day, every day on here by the ‘agents’ -praising the ‘UK’ way of doing things, Farage, illegal warring around the world, shittiest state pension in Europe etc etc- eh?
Looking at youse;
Site Prick
Adrian
captain caveman
Beggan
chas
tory clansman
Segue 2;
“…..we’ve had unchallenged Thatcherism for 45 years and we’re [now] in mature, or decaying Thatcherism….”
Mick Lynch, retired General Secretay, RMT Union.
Time to leave. We just need to convince the 90 minute patriots.
Wally Walrus witters!
Thatcher, eh? Get them to crane you out your bedroom window and stretch you out on a heavy duty trolley.
They can wheel you round the doors. Not too late to doorstep the punters about somebody who’s been dead longer than many of tomorrow’s voters have been alive.
Apologies SP, list was one short, almost forgot;
agentx
Wouldn’t like to leave anyone out.
link to migrationobservatory.ox.ac.uk
“Key points
We cannot precisely compare conviction and incarceration rates among British and non-UK citizens because there are no reliable statistics on the current size of the population, but available statistics can give a rough indication of the trends.
Young adults are more likely to commit crimes regardless of nationality, and non-citizens in the UK are more likely to be young adults. If we do not control for age, the share of non-citizens receiving convictions (13%) or in prison (12.4%) in 2024 in England and Wales appears to be roughly similar to the share of non-citizens in the age 16+ population. That share was estimated at around 12% in 2024, in a survey that tends to undercount recent migrants and has not fully captured the unusually high levels of migration seen between 2021 and 2024. If we control for age and sex, non-citizens are underrepresented in the prison population (comparable figures for convictions by age are not available).
Convictions and incarceration rates vary by offence type, however. Non-citizens are overrepresented among convicted or incarcerated offenders for drug offences, for example, while underrepresented among those convicted or incarcerated for robbery or violence against the person.
Rates of conviction and imprisonment in England and Wales differ by nationality. Citizens of some countries have been more likely than British citizens to be convicted (e.g. Lithuanians) and some less likely (e.g. Indians and Chinese). Reliable comparisons are difficult for migrant groups with small populations living in the UK, such as Afghans or Eritreans, because there is more uncertainty about how many are living in the UK.”
I think you see this as being some form of exoneration or excuse. The complaint however is proven, particularly in respect of those arriving by small boats, they are young men who are disproportionately likely to get involved in crime.
It’s also a tale of two halves. Our professional services industry is full of people from all over the world, and particularly high income countries like the USA, France etc. These people commit virtually no crime at all. This is then used to “offset” the absolutely off the scale rates of offending by people who arrive illegally by small boats or dubious work visas.
You presume too much. Better to stop trying to read people’s minds.
Just trying to add some information from a source that has done some research on the matter.
And reaches a different conclusion to you.
A correct synopsis, Aidan.
Aidan, ‘white collar crime’ is, doubtless, widespread, furthermore, much depends on who defines what is a crime.
Ach, sam. Print your theories on sheets of A4 and take yourself off to Southport and other such ground zeroes.
Pass them out to passers by. Mind and report back how you get on.
Of course, anybody in possession of half a brain cell will have twigged that statistics enumerating offending and incarceration rates by ethnicity must obviously be suspect because of the two-tier justice system in operation, with the specific objective of masking the higher offending rates of certain cohorts.
Did you spend your working life lying through the manipulation of statistics, sam? That’s defo your MO on here.
The man who “havers”
link to speakola.com
It has been said that future wars will be about water (the litani river, the nile, the tigris, the ganges); food, energy, water – are the means of life, but you die in 3 says without the last. We take it for granted; there is a scandal down in flatland that no one seems to think that important, but people should pay attention.
“markets” don’t solve everything, in fact they don’t solve anything much – it’s a small subset of problems for which they are solutions; you have to set them up right, then regulate them properly, and keep doing it (as things tend toward monopoly or cartel). You certainly shouldn’t allow them to be used for anything vital, like infrastructure. But then this destructive economic dogma appeared – neoliberalism (from the chicago boys) – private good, public bad (smash trade unions, suppress wages, open the borders to cheap labour, allow unlimited political donations as free speech … )
So, england privatised its water and look what they got : a bunch of guys in suits made out like bandits, the pipes are leaking like fuck, and there is shit in the water. Shit, in an “advanced western economy doing all the AI and making jet fighters and doing high frequency trading and all that … ”
– all fur coat and no knickers. You can’t put “the essential means of life” into the hands of the greediest most psychopathic oligarchic plutocrats and expect them to “do the right thing”.
link to archive.ph
Thames Water is about to be renationalised (maybe). In the 70s labour got flak for subsidising “failing nationalised businesses” – but what the tories naturally want is worse – for the govt to bail out a private business so it can stay in private hands, i.e. the public will be paying, just so the private owners and creditors are protected. Fuck that. There is an additional problem – the owners loaded 20B of debt onto the company (this is a clever dodge, and profitable; it was not used to fix the pipes) – so that is an additional burden.
– the govt should let it go bankrupt (let the creditors get hosed, not the taxpayer); then come in and get the actual assets for buttons, then let the directors be investigated for fraud. But, you know, being a “suit” means you are a “made man” and thus, untouchable.
And this cuts to the heart of the neoliberal scam; you allowed greedy profiteers to get hold of something absolutely vital, which cannot be allowed to fail (16M people rely on it), so they have you by the balls. This labour govt absolutely shites it every time it goes up against the city, but its not a big deal to them – you get to pay for it.
There is a “regulator” – Ofwat – but it is toothless, it can issue small fines and fines make no difference to corporations; it is merely “the price of doing business” and in any case, the costs will get laid on the customer, ultimately.
Scotland, luckily, did not follow this model; we have the cleanest (softest), most abundant water resources per capita anywhere – we think of it as free. If privatised that water would become expensive and likely (they would find a way), full of shit as well. This decision, the kind of unglamorous small thing no one notices in the clamour of the fashionable, is down to Alex Salmond. Had Sturgeon been in charge you can bet it would have been flogged off, and for nothing – the SNP have shown themselves spectacularly inept at getting value for money in any of their “deals”; hint – if you don’t know what you are doing at this game, why not hire experts? Go to new york and get some top level corporate negotiators, they are expensive, but not as expensive as the shit deals you brokered.
link to archive.ph
Scots shouldn’t be complacent on this – the anglos already steal the oil, gas, the leccy (as well as col0nising the place, shitting it up) – but the notion of an “national water grid” has been floating around in the background, though only boris johnson was indiscreet enough to come right out with it; it comes down to a civil servant with a spreadsheet – when it becomes the cheaper option to, say, endlessly bailing out corrupt water companies in the south east, it could happen. Then the only protection we would have is the generalised incompetence the UK has with big projects, HS2, hinckley, dreadnought, 6th gen fighters (now read about Thomas Telford and how they did it in the past, without modern tech)
– we need to remember what we are dealing with here : the anglo has trouble understanding property rights and would “steal the shite out your arse” if he could find a use for it.
In america, they do everything worse; their water rights are sold off to corporations, so that e.g. in some states collecting rain water is illegal. It all comes with the general corruption of the agriculture in america, which is subsidised to death and owned by a handful of corporations, monsanto, cargill. I suspect the yanks would like to privatise the air, then wall st can sell “oxygen futures” contracts. Remember, you are not a citizen, just a cow in a field providing a yield.
A good, if lengthy, post making very good points, aside from the brief wibble at the start of the last quarter about “Anglos” apparently colonising us and stealing everything.
Public services should be in public, not private, ownership, purely because capitalism only works when there’s competition; private monopolies end up being the worst of all worlds for everyone aside from those creaming off the profit.
Of course, in order to “steal” the leccy, the English have had to invest about ten times as much in the generation and distribution infrastructure as the Scots have. Paid for by ten times as many English consumers saddled with the same eye-watering bills as we get. Often higher, as is easily enough checked.
But the “theft” of our leccy is one of these memes that can’t be killed. Its longevity is rooted in the crass fallacy that because the wind blows for free, exploiting it MUST be free too.
I’m certain we Scots used to be smarter than that.
Site Prick;
“the English have had to invest about ten times as much in the generation and distribution infrastructure as the Scots…”
That right, aye?
Wally Walrus wails!
When I said we Scots used to be smarter, I excluded you to keep the average up.
““Anglos” apparently colonising us and stealing everything”
Well, who else has been colonising us Scots and robbing our resources these last 300+ years?
Alf Baird says:
17 June, 2026 at 10:10 pm
““Anglos” apparently colonising us and stealing everything”
Well, who else has been colonising us Scots and robbing our resources these last 300+ years?
=========
Alf,
There is an interesting take by Raman Mundair/Deviji RM Jaan on colonialism. Some of those you see as colonised, these two authors see as stuck in the mindset of the colonisers.
Possibly of particular interest to you is the fact that Edward Said and Franz Fanon are both cited.
The authors of the Bella piece do not mention saltires during last week’s events in Glasgow’s Buchanan Street. But a Weegie pal assured people that these were not supporters of Scottish independence.
link to bellacaledonia.org.uk
What was it that Edward said?
Alert readers can’t fail to notice that when the inveterate bleaters about the coloniser’s mindset are in full flow, they invariably call on quotes from foreigners to back them up.
“The culturally colonised embrace the discredited value systems of third-world cranks and grifters and pretend to themselves they’re their own (Ironni)”.
“just a cow in a field”.
Around 14 million people today in the UK live in poverty. A political choice of successive UK governments. nearly 7 million of these people are in “very deep poverty” (JRF) struggling to have the basic necessities of food, energy and clothing.
See also “Social Murder?…” by Professors Walsh and McCartney and numerous interventions by UN raapporteurs
How many millions of these people specifically came here in the sure and certain knowledge that our poverty is an order of magnitude better than the poverty they experienced in their shitholes of origin?
As I’ve pointed out before, none of your bleeding heart statistics count for anything without demographic breakdown.
Do you think the good people of this country should be concerned about the wealth of incomers who the majority never wanted here in the first place?
I don’t.
In 2022 in England and Wales nearly 22% of deaths were avoidable in people under the age of 75 and these deaths were avoidable with timely healthcare (Kingsfund). That is over 117,000 avoidable deaths in England and over 8000 avoidable deaths in Wales.
The UK has the highest rates of avoidable mortality more than 60% higher than countries like Sweden, Australia and Japan
In Scotland, approximately 26% (or roughly one in four) of all deaths are considered avoidable, which is higher than the 22% rate recorded for England and Wales.
Yes.
Scotland has a different demography. England has more young people. More healthy, excluding deaths of despair. Something else again.
The underlying cause of these avoidable deaths (Kings Fund) are linked to socioeconomic circumstance with the rates of avoidable deaths much higher in the more deprived areas of the UK.
It is the UK government policies that determine socioeconomic circumstance largely in the UK.
In 2010, Michael Marmot produced his review of health inequalities (England and Wales) “Fair Society, Healthy Lives”. Have you heard of it?
The front page says: “Rise up with me against the organisation of misery” (Pablo Neruda)
I would guess that this has been a subject of little interest to you and I’d be glad to be proved wrong.
Incidentally that wonderful man and trade union leader, Jimmy Reid was telling all this to Glasgow Uni students and staff in 1972 I think it was. Expect you would like to read it? Naw?
Stephen Gethins interviewed yesterday by The National. When asked about a national energy company, like Norway, Robin McAlpine’s suggestion, he suddenly became very good at weasel words. Rabbited on about community benefit.
I’ve read that he’s a spy. Whose interests does he represent?
I think he has been on the leadership program offered by the USA to future leaders. See Wings “All the Jolly boys…”
People are handpicked for it by many different organisations under the Global Ties Network.
This from a search.
Search Assist
Global Ties U.S. has over 100 community-based member organizations throughout the United States that design and implement programs for international visitors. These organizations include national program agencies and international organizations, all focused on promoting citizen diplomacy and cultural exchange.
Wikipedia gciv.org
Overview of Global Ties Network Member Organizations
Global Ties U.S. comprises a diverse network of member organizations dedicated to promoting citizen diplomacy and cultural exchange. These organizations play a crucial role in designing and implementing programs for international visitors.
Types of Member Organizations
The Global Ties Network includes:
Community-Based Organizations: Over 100 independent non-profit groups across the United States that organize programs for international visitors.
National Program Agencies (NPAs): Organizations that collaborate with the U.S. Department of State to facilitate international exchange programs.
International Organizations: Groups that work on a global scale to foster international understanding and cooperation.
Key Functions of Member Organizations
Function Description
Program Design Create tailored programs for international visitors.
Cultural Activities Organize events that promote cultural exchange and understanding.
Home Hospitality Provide opportunities for local families to host foreign leaders and scholars.
These member organizations are essential in building person-to-person relationships and enhancing mutual understanding through international exchanges.
Wikipedia
gciv.org
Explore More
What are the roles of Global Ties U.S. member organizations in cultural exchange?
Global Ties U.S. member organizations design and implement professional programs, provide cultural activities, and offer home hospitality opportunities for foreign leaders and scholars participating in exchange programs. They play a crucial role in fostering international understanding and building person-to-person relationships through these exchanges.
gciv.org Wikipedia
More Search Results
“How do community-based organizations contribute to citizen diplomacy in the United States?
Community-based organizations play a crucial role in citizen diplomacy by facilitating person-to-person relationships and cultural exchanges, allowing individuals to engage directly with foreign leaders and specialists. They help shape U.S. foreign relations “one handshake at a time,” promoting understanding and collaboration across cultures.”
“Global Ties U.S. member organizations design and implement professional programs, provide cultural activities, and offer home hospitality opportunities for foreign leaders and scholars participating in exchange programs. They play a crucial role in fostering international understanding and building person-to-person relationships through these exchanges.”
I think it unlikely that Scottish independence is high on any agenda.
Oh, say can you see,
By the dawn’s early light,
What so proudly we hailed
At the twilight’s last gleaming,
Whose broad stripes and bright stars,
Thru the perilous fight,
O’er the ramparts we watched
Were so gallantly streaming?
And the rockets red glare,
The bombs bursting in air,
Gave proof through the night
That our flag was still there.
O, say, does that
Star-Spangled Banner yet wave
O’er the land of the free
And the home of the brave.
I take it we have all seen the ‘UK’ ‘Google’ home page today?
We don’t count.
Vote Yoon.
…..”come on, England!”
Wankers.
Come on the Croatians!!!!
Piss off.
I put a tenner on the Lesbians to score draw.
Any thoughts on the Thespians? Worth a flutter?
St James @
Just because your chums are in the big pokey and you are a bunch of terrible things.You don’t have to take it out on us.
That’s comedy gold fat stinker, I bet you’ve been seething and ranting about it all day.
I see you’ve spent the last evening spilling your typical bile BTL. You really are a disgusting horrible little man aren’t you.
“Squeak, squeak” said Adrian.
BREAKING!
Engerlund beat Croatia after the ref spends half the match giving Harry Kane “go on have another go “old boy” and thanks for the brown envelope by the way wink wink..”
Kanes previous competition penalty kick attempts include reaching the moon, but Kane has developed his technique.
Following a family holiday to Dublin he has now learned to distracted goalies by doing a “Riverdance” rendition mince up to take the spot kick while a complacent ref looks on approvingly..
Engerlund!!!
Strange but True
LATEST!
Slobodhan de whatever his name is; Croatian goalie confirmed in post match interview that;
“Kane- ya, Ee eez, how you say, a cheating fuckah and ze match “referee” eez been bought.”
British MSM meantime claims this is 1966 all over again (again) and that assorted “Johnny Foreigners” better watch out as Kane is now a Kingsman with Colin Firth on hand to give motivational monologues..
Eeek!
?
I’m the first to admit when England are shite – which they very frequently are – and even in this game, we were very shaky and clearly rusty defensively first half. However, it cannot be denied that this was very entertaining, risk-taking, positive football, the like of which I’ve not seen from an England team.
As for the retaken penalty, the rules of the game are objectively clear, any fair minded third party arbiter would have to concede the keeper moved off his line before Kane struck the ball, and did not have at least part of one foot touching or behind the line. Further, one of their defenders ran into the box before the penalty was taken, so TWO clear reasons.
But yeah, “the ref was bribed” etc. What a load of shite.
For the record, I was very pleased to see Scotland score their first world cup goal for years & win the game. I really hope Scotland qualifies and does well.
CC
My goodness!
When you post all teary eyed and Unionist like this it’s difficult to read yer posts without hearing Elgars Nimrod playing in accompaniment..
Different era, same propaganda, ye just don’t appear able or willing to see it “old boy”..
Wow, more random brain farts in the dead of night, YL? What has any of this nonsense got to do with the ref apparently “being bought” and all the other absurd stuff I was originally responding to?
It would appear you’re the only one crying salty tears over an impressive England win, pal. I hope they batter their next opponents so you can get even saltier; we’ll see eh? 🙂
As for me, couldn’t be happier! Enjoying the World Cup immensely. 🙂
CC
“Enjoying the World Cup immensely”..
More social media influencer nonsense yet again Mash, because you certainly don’t sound so happy, do you?
Try and be a bit more positive, you’re spoiling the Elgars Nimrod dignatas, all by yer lonesome, slaphead upside doon heid – “old boy”.
Big day, the day.
I have the SNP (remember them?) to win in both Aberdeen and Arbroath. At politics (remember that?).
I expect a low turnout. As predicted by Mummi, who wrote “the culturally colonised are in the game to the exclusion of all else”. Mummi was, of course, referring to the fitba.
I don’t care who wins as long as the SNP loses and loses big.
The Daily Record tells us:
‘Jealous’ English fans have seven word message for Tartan Army in World Cup jibe’
“While Americans and other World Cup fans have watched on in awe of the Scots’ infectious passion and energy, some people do not seem to be enjoying their big win. |
In a now viral clip, English fans were seen taking a swipe at the Tartan Army as they created their own chant of ‘You Can Shove Your F***ing Bagpipes Up Your A***’ to the tune of Ye Cannae Shove Yer Granny Aff A Bus.”
The English.
What are they like with their friendly ‘we love you Scotland please don’t leave us’ harmless racist banter, eh?
It’s all in good fun, though… init?
It is a bit of a mixture though, Northcode.
In 2008 when Andy Murray was seeking a grand slam at Wimbledon he got hostility from some English fans and indifference from others.
Some questions were put to English people about their attitudes. Responses below.
“30: F**k Murray, during the last World Cup all he did was slag off England, saying he hopes we get battered every match, then turns ‘round and expects to get a lot of support during Wimbledon. (Male, English, Manchester United FC, aged
51)
9: (good posting emoticon) I agree, screw the little jock. (Male, English,
Birmingham City FC, aged 24)
8: He strikes me as someone who doesn’t really care how much support he gets.If you asked an Englishman if they wanted Scotland to win the World Cup would you expect them to say “Yes”? He’s Scottish, there’s a rivalry there…. Britain and the BBC need him more than he needs them.
(Male, English, Manchester United FC, aged 29)
Also, I doubt if those English fans reported in the Daily Rag are representative of all English footy fans
Barely a day passes here without some exceeding bitter, hateful (trademark waffle verbosity) post from you about “da Inglis” – yet here you are crying into your lavender-infused Earl Grey over some daft footy chant about bagpipes?
Yeah. The world’s smallest violin seems to be in order. Don’t mind endlessly dishing it out, but wafer-thin skinned at even the slightest traffic coming the other way.
Standard.
Only the English could take the reporting of English folk making ungracious and unprovoked insults directed at Scots football fans harmlessly enjoying themselves and make the English the victim.
It’s all about you English and fuck everybody else… init.
Maybe if your folk hadn’t trashed half the world with your ‘British Empire’ the peoples of Earth whose ancestors you abused might like you as much as they do the Scots today.
If your people only knew how to say ‘sorry’ the world might forgive you.
The Record – being a third-rate rag – got it wrong when it used the word ‘jealous’.
Envious is what they meant, but are too ignorant to know it.
And it’s true… you English envy us Scots and that’s why you hate us so much.
Man alive, you really are stupid aren’t you (as well as being a paper-skinned hypocrite who sorely needs an editor).
In the one hand, we have a bunch of football supporters (allegedly) singing songs taking the piss out of bagpipes. Sure the Scottish fans have equally daft songs about the English: this is banter, football rivalry and all part of the game.
On the other hand, we have you, as an individual, making deeply personal xenophobic remarks directed at other individuals, as well as vastly worse (and significantly more frequent, daily in fact) abuse directed at the “Inglis”. Then you have the fucking brass next to complain.
Imbecile. Get back to your Earl Grey. 😀
“Perhaps the clearest example of anti-Scottishness from an English fan was the following.
9: I do. I hate Murray. He deserves no respect or support whatsoever. The main reason for this: he is from THE single most racist country on the planet: Scotland.No Scot would ever support an Englishman in anything at all so why the hell
should we offer our support to a nation or any member of that nation who hate our guts? Glad he got smashed by a decent player.”
Racism was and is embedded in English football and may also be in Scottish football.
It is rather more directed to black players. Here is what Emile Heskey, former Liverpool centre forward, said of his childhood experience.
“I would have been about 13. I got chased from a Leicester City football match, from the Leicester City stadium by a Leicester City fan back to the town centre. And I’m a young kid. He’s calling me a black this and that. I don’t know what he is going to do to me, he definitely wasn’t going to hug me.”
England’s fans used to engage in aggressive nationalism and violence. Heysel tragedy put an end to that. Stadiums got modernised, globalisation/neoliberalism took over. ownership was taken from fans.
It is not a majority of English football fans who are racist.
Scotland’s fans, once violent, have evolved as have English fans. Once, it was Scottish identity that mattered in beating England. fewer such games are played now.
Commercialisation has meant that England’s football administrators have much more money to put into development off players than Scotland.
That is why Scots fans adopt the carnival approach to fandom.
To fail to accept the central bit of Northcode’s post – English fans can be racist towards Scotland (and other countries) seems like a typically English response
There are some informative comments on Wings but probably none such from ‘Captain Caveman’. Whoever you are, you comments appear to be from a fully developed oaf with nothing positive to contribute to any campaingn for Scotland’s Independence. Usually, I bypass your comments but, today, decided to waste some time. You, however, are a waste of air, everyday and all day, and likely cannot admit to a liking for lavender, in with your frilly knickers.
Heh! I see the Site Ponce, [capital “J”] Jay is back, with his bag of impotent insults. Yay! 🙂
Feel free to actually answer the point regarding crass hypocrisy, ergo, on the one hand crying a river about some daft footy chant about bagpipes (when doubtless there are many counter examples one could cite), whilst on the other, posting daily actual, bona fide hate regarding the “Inglis” (individual posters as well as the entire people of England and the country itself).
To be absolutely clear, neither I nor anyone else gives a fuck (as evidenced by the near total absence of any responses to the copious drivel, day to day), save to point out crass hypocrisy, stupidity and all-round snowflakeyness. As is the wont of lefties, on all three counts.
All jolly good sport, if a little too easy. 🙂
“Oh do fuck off, you thick fat twat…”
“Yeah, but that’s enough about your porcine dietary habits.”
“Another day, another dollar – and another demented old lefty declaring yet another thing as “fascist”…”
“Gah, you’re such a witless troll, Northcode…”
“Yawn. More verbose, witless, irrelevant drivel… You bore me beyond belief.”
“Man alive, you really are stupid aren’t you…Imbecile. Get back to your Earl Grey.”
“Heh! I see the Site Ponce…Jay is back…”
“it sure beats vape juice, a can of Monster and a tube of Aldi chocolate digestives. If you catch my drift.”
The above quotes are just a small sample, all taken from this thread alone, of your contributions to this place – the less abusive ones.
You probably don’t recognise your own anti-Scots racism and your underlying hatred of the Scots.
You also said:
“.. posting daily actual., bona fide hate regarding the “Inglis” (individual posters as well as the entire people of England and the country itself).”
Not true, where’s your evidence ?
By the way, ‘Inglis’ is a Scots word meaning English… it isn’t an insult.
Oh, and there’s this:
A bunch of football supporters (allegedly) singing songs taking the piss out of bagpipes
CC
Hahahaha
“Cry me a river” Slaphead “old boy”..
Awww, bless! Much wailing and gnashing of teeth I see; GOOD! 🙂
Zero self awareness as per; we’re back to the world’s smallest violin again!
“How d’you like them apples?”
NC
Never mind, Susannah Reid made a non-apology the other day for decrying Scots as drunken sots needing a bank holiday as they’d be sloshed as “it’s all about alcohol”.
It was all just “teasing” apparently so all is ok now.
Aye right Susannah; it was “bank holiday jealousy” typical whinging Pom..
Anyways; why did Harry Kane have to do his Irish Riverdance approach to finally getting round to actually kicking the ball during “THE” penalty (ave another go old boy).
Surely as a proud Mash he should have done something a bit more Engerlush like Morris dancing or chasing a bit of cheese downhill?
Just teasing an that..
BREAKING!
Harry “top of the morning” Kane has tried to defend his Riverdance approach to kicking penalties on the fair and even reporting BBC today.
He has summarised that all the Johnny Foreigner goalies will have wised up to it by now so he’s created a new wizard prang jape of a technique to approaching the ball during a penalty kick.
Taken by Americas delivery robots on the streets, he and the other 10 “chaps” have done a Hatton Garden and blagged one.
It’s pink and has Coco written on the side.
Kane clearly doesn’t do irony as he intends to ride this like a knight of old when taking spot kicks.
“Fings dursnt ave breaks y’see so’ll scare tham ther keepah as it’ll keep on chargin likes aftah Oi’ve kickt dah ball”.
The ref for the next match has already said the goalie will have moved too soon so Harry can have as many goes as he likes.
Allegedly.
Many countries would quietly welcome an independent Scotland.
There are several blocs where Scotland would be viewed favourably:
This is the geopolitical reality.
Scotland’s independence is inevitable.
@sam 6.42 p.m.
“Incidentally that wonderful man and trade union leader, Jimmy Reid was telling all this to Glasgow Uni students and staff in 1972 I think it was. Expect you would like to read it? Naw?”
For those who would:
link to gla.ac.uk
Thank you. Well done
@ sam
My pleasure: it’s even more relevant today.
Yes it is relevant today.
I have been wondering (not too seriously) whether Mick Lynch might be brought towards Salvo.
This from the Hootsmon.
“THE RMT in Scotland has said a vote for independence “will see the needs of the millions put before the greed of the millionaires”.
Members of the transport union narrowly backed a Yes vote in a referendum ballot last week.
The RMT formally declared its position at a meeting in Cowdenbeath, Fife, today, saying independence would lead to a fairer society in Scotland.”
Lynch’s support of Brexit was based on his view that Brexit could aid renationalising of railways and enhanced workers rights. He did not support any of the Conservative’s views of Brexit.
He overlooked the costs which in Scotland are over £4 billion each year.
Tinto Chiel a good read of Jimmy Reid , thanks.
@ diabloandco: yes, I don’t know what would have appalled Jimmy Reid more, the grifting, mediocre and unprincipled politicians of today or the further and deeper fracturing of Scottish society brought about the forces of alienation which he describes.
So unionists that believe that Scotlands parliament is in a union with Englands parliament are speaking trash and making story fantasies.
If the unionist want to be held as believable then conditions, terms and articles of that treaty must be upheld to exists today. And that is one thing they cannot do.
For some of those articles were classed as unalterable and fundamental for the treaty to hold as a treaty between Scotland and England and that the British parliament could not alter them without breaking the treaty.
We know that the parliament of England members transferred into the Great Britain parliament by the monarch of England, did breach those articles to the treaty of union long ago, not only by dissolving the Scottish parliament from a union with Englands parliament to create the state of Great Britain,
We are also aware that article XV111 was unalterable by the parliament of Great Britain or by the parliament for England and Wales, without ending the union of Scotland and England.
No matter which way unionist or their employers turn,
The treaty is either breached, voided, terminated , or never began in the first instance, for old Englands parliament was never dissolved. Just transferred.
Colonialism doesn’t only wound the colonised.
It also distorts the coloniser.
It leaves behind nostalgia for dominance, myths of superiority, fear of the Other, defensive nationalism, and a belief that equality is loss.
This is why far-right mobilisation in the UK so often draws on imperial symbols and narratives.
The empire is gone, but the psychology of empire remains.
The effects of colonialism are devastating to peoples and are inter-generational.
That’s why the UN describes colonialism as a ‘crime against humanity’.
Northcode
“It leaves behind nostalgia for dominance, myths of superiority, fear of the Other, defensive nationalism, and a belief that equality is loss.”
Yes. If you are forcing your beliefs, values and cultural norms on people all over the world, the English population is going to absorb that.
Helping towards that are the press.
“As a people, it may be truly said of us that we are pre-eminent among the nations of the earth. our spirit rules the world. Our wisdom enters into the composition of everyday life and half the globe. Our physical as well as intellectual presence is manifest in every climate under the sun. Our sailing ships and steam-vessels cover the seas and rivers. Wherever we conquer, we civilize and refine. Our arms, our arts, our literature are illustrious among the nations. We are a rich, a powerful, an intelligent, and a religious people. (The Illustrated London News, July 22, 1848)”
In literature. Charlotte Bronte’s “Jane Eyre”.
The Brunty family came from the North of Ireland and changed the name on moving to England.
“As perhaps Gayatri Spivak first pointed out in her “Three Women’s Texts and a Critique of Imperialism,” Charlotte Brontë’s Jane Eyre abounds in allusions to colonized subjects abroad — most notably the wildly pathologized and exotified Bertha Mason, whose madness and primitive physicality drive Rochester to “hideous and degrading agonies” (302) in attempts to keep her secret. If British colonialism was already a debated issue rife with internal contradictions, then Jane Eyre likewise projects an ambiguous perspective on the colonized subject — a curious conflation of fear and desire for the “other.”
link to victorianweb.org
So who,s jurisdiction are police Scotland under, The English parliament for” England and Wales” of Great Britain law for their “Scotland Act”.
Because the old English parliament was not dissolved.
The old Scottish parliament was dissolved.
You’re still doing this then?
As are you…..
These anomalies of law in Scotland require further discussion, including the laws passed by the hoax pretendy Scottish parliament that has developed due to the parliament of Englands transferred members into Great Britain parliament scenario.
A question of a devolved parliament that should not have legally been posed to Scotland at all after England Westminster parliament admittance that Scotland had not had a parliament or representation for over three hundred years since dissolving the old Scottish parliament,
Scotland is indeed a Country and the only other Country to what England claims is inaunion with it to Create the State of Great Britain.
So not a region by any means. For if that myth to hold true, there is no registered Country of Scotland entered into a Union with England.
The Country of Scotland had to be a Sovereign Country to even approach a treaty,
As was England,
However the old parliament of England and Wales transferred into the parliament of Great Britain could not subsumed the Treaty and or the Sovereign Country and people of Scotland by dissolving the parliament of Scotland without ending the treaty of union.
But it proceeded to do just that, and ended the union,
Which left only the parliament for England and Wales in the Great Britain parliament.
How many times do you intend to post the same crap? Did I read previously that your intention was to leave the site? Do us all a favour and do just that. Take some of the other nutters with you.
Talking to yourself again?
Bad sign, that.
Bye
“most men lead lives of quiet desperation”
– then the internet came along and the likes of
Beggan
Aidan
Chas
Main
the 4 whore-sons of the anal-prolapse can find purpose by shitting up the place for the rest of us
captain caveman-clingfilm is an eater of the hotpot and his words have no weight here
… What exactly is it that you have such a bee in your bonnet against hot pot, Confused? A rather nourishing, nutritious, hearty winter meal; it sure beats vape juice, a can of Monster and a tube of Aldi chocolate digestives. If you catch my drift. 🙂
I don’t generally read your posts ”Confused”, I doubt many people do. The maelstrom of anger, rage, bitterness and hatred gets boring and repetitive very quickly, and of course paints you out to be a deeply disturbed and troubled individual. No doubt you get some sexual thrill out of posting the kind of rants that would make Alex Jones blush, on a public forum, hiding your real identity behind a moniker.
It seems like the battle between the normal people and the residents of the state hospital is warming up. I have to say I am not optimistic for team normal, our opponents, unburdened by the time commitments associated with an occupation, hobbies or friends are freed up to endlessly post the same (or substantially the same) mindless drivel ad nauseam.
Well, I think you must have done quite a lot of reading to identify the writing that involves “rage”,anger, “bitterness” and “hatred”.
Even more reading involved in finding Confused “to be a deeply disturbed and troubled individual”.
You seem to practise amateur mind reading quite a lot. Give it up. Many here may see it as projection.
Definition: Projection is a psychological defense mechanism where individuals attribute their own unacceptable thoughts, feelings, or impulses to another person. This process allows them to avoid confronting these uncomfortable emotions within themselves.
Well, I think you must have done quite a lot of reading to identify the writing that involves “rage”,anger, “bitterness” and “hatred”.
Even more reading involved in finding Confused “to be a deeply disturbed and troubled individual”.
A very summary review of Confused’s “outputs” is all that is needed to confirm those accurate conclusions.
Poor Adrian.
“James”
Rather than expressing completely ingenuine and totally unnecessary concern for me, why don’t you address your own enormous and clearly debilitating physical and psychological problems.
Adrian got it half right for once.
The first half, obvs;
you’re right; I couldn’t give a flying fuck about you.
And yet here you are again, obsessively following everything I post like some crazed stalker. I bet if I posted my address here you’d turn up.
I honestly don’t see what you get out of posting here. Are you really so unlikeable in real life that you can’t find anything else to do with your time?
“…..obsessively following everything I post like some crazed stalker….”
ROTFLMFAO!! Oh, ma sides – STOP IT!
Ye obviously don’t do irony ya fucking dolt.
… You literally trawl BTL here and randomly quip “Prick!” in response to posters, sometimes days after the fact – and that’s pretty much ALL you do, being an all washed up, sad troll and all that. 🙂
Yet here you are, insinuating others are trolling/goading and/or obsessive stalking, as against your own unremitting trolling and (truly absurd) mention of “irony”. Do you even know what that word means, Fatty?
Whatever, dick.
What is it with you lot and crass hypocrisy?
Ah, another Yoon interloper; defending his wee supercilious pal. One of the all day-every day Dad’s Army Brit ‘brigade’ (apt word) who are never away from here.
Take a hint; you and your friends punt the union on here year in year out, but this is a Scottish independence supporting site and no-one is the least bit fcucking interested in your endless garbage.
Do us all a favour and ‘do one’, “Prick”, and take tour rag-tag, clown-show misfit friends with you.
Being called a “misfit” by a fat tramp like you, Fatso, really IS irony. 🙂
Blow it out your ass, gobshite.
Hahahaha “James” mouthing off like he could fight his way out of a paper bag.
“Blow it out your ass”
Something you do with monotonous regularity no doubt, you fat twat. 😀
““most men lead lives of quiet desperation”
– then the internet came along and the likes of
Beggan
Aidan
Chas
Main
the 4 whore-sons of the anal-prolapse can find purpose by shitting up the place for the rest of us
captain caveman-clingfilm is an eater of the hotpot and his words have no weight here…”
Amen to that, brother.
Stop hiding behind a fake name or we will have to call you Karen.
I have just purchased the duchess of wales medical records on the dark internet.
highlights –
– she has a fanny (as you might expect), but also complete set of cock and balls, making her a true hermaphrodite
interesting wedding night; I bet old phil the greek wanted a shot when he found out she had the full bizness
in other news – according to the bbc the rushans forced starmer into bumming 00kie rentboys and setting stuff on fire
– details were hidden in the trial, but apparently a novichok saturated hamster was inserted into the PM’s anus
sources say he is still up there and claiming universal credit benefits. The home office have given him right to stay.
Sounds legit. Impartiality is in the charter. You don’t want any of that disinformation now.
Make sure you scan your retina and give a fingerprint before you go online.
it stops terrorism, child porn, money laundering, teenagers topping themselves.
According to experts. top men. from chatham house. who went to a good school.
Never forget people – Bobby Moore stole that bracelet
“all of the ball, over all of the line …”
We shouldn’t forget our own internal colonisation.
It has meaning today.
James VI set out to take the island of Lewis. James though Highlanders were barbarous and lawless. He thought Gaelic contributed to these qualities.
He organised a group from Fife to go and take the island from the owner, the Mathesons as James wanted to exploit the island’s natural resources. The Fife gentlemen met clan opposition and returned unsuccessful.
A little later James was involved in further colonising Ireland by forcibly expelling, by threat of death, families from the lawless border areas.
Much of Ireland’s present problems and its sectarian nature in some stem from that.
Once a Yoon, always a Yoon….
The Leftys are having a meltdown. Wonder what could have caused that? I think we need to start calling them Karen. Post colonial gender scissoring. Karen works for Midlothian council as the HR manager. Pink hair, ring through the nose, rubble land neck scarf, very low IQ.
link to bellacaledonia.org.uk
“Last month (year 2020) Andrew Mackillop and I published a report disclosing connections between landownership in the west Highlands and Islands of Scotland and the profits of plantation slavery. The full report, published as part of Community Land Scotland’s discussion paper series on ‘Land and the Common Good’, is available here (“New research reveals extent of historical links between plantation slavery and landownership in the west Highlands and Islands”.)
“Scores of estates in the West Highlands and Islands were acquired by people using the equivalent of well over £100m worth of riches connected to slavery in the Caribbean and North America. Many would go on to be leading figures in the Highland Clearances, evicting thousands of people whose families had lived on their newly procured land for generations.
The report detailed research that discovered at least 63 estate purchases made by direct or indirect beneficiaries of slavery in the years between 1726 and 1939. These purchases covered more than 1.1 million acres of the west Highlands and Islands and the majority took place during the main period of the Highland clearances, with a peak occurring in the years immediately following the award of £20 million – £16 billion in today’s terms – compensation for slave-owners for loss of their slaves as ‘property’ when slavery was abolished.
Including traditional families who already owned land in the area, slavery beneficiaries have owned a total of around 1.8 million acres in the west Highlands and Islands – amounting to more than 50 per cent of the area’s land-mass, and approaching 10 per cent of the entire landmass of Scotland….
…Our report did not detail contemporary ownership by families with historical slavery links. However, in response to SLE’s inaccurate representation of our work, and drawing on Andy Wightman’s research published in 1996, we estimate that at the beginning of the 21st century at least 450,000 acres in the western and northern Highlands and Islands were owned by families with historical connections to slavery. For the avoidance of doubt, here is a list of landowners and acreages:
House of Sutherland 83,239
Cameron of Lochiel 76,000
Wills in Applecross 62,000
Duke of Argyll 60,800
Mackenzie of Gairloch 57,600
Burton of Dochfour 48,000
Macleod of Macleod (Dunvegan and Glenbrittle on Skye) 30,600
Schroder (Dunlossit on Islay) 16,500
Ellice (Invergarry & Aberchalder) 15,000
Martin of Husabost 5,200
Maclean of Duart 300
..”That is not an insignificant amount. Indeed, it is that not much less than the acreage owned by the entire community land sector across Scotland at present. This comparison is one of many reasons why these important if uncomfortable discussions about the ways in which slavery derived wealth has shaped the current structure and patterns of landownership, and use, in Scotland need to take place. Contributions from landed proprietors are not only welcome but are an important element in such debates. But this input should be based on a holistic rather than selective understanding of the past and needs to be based on the facts.”
You are a busy bee Sam. Ever considered getting a job?
Respect
I’ve been thinking – an activity alien to colonialists – and I’ve arrived at this…
“The name of the thing is not the thing.”
Which led me to the belief that I am doing what Fanon did when he realised:
“I am not the story they told about me.”
That’s the beginning of decolonisation — not politically, or physically, but internally – psychologically, if preferred.
I can’t wait to see the decolonisation of my mind through to its conclusion when I’ll finally be rid of aw that Anglo-pish Ingland pumped intae ma heid whan a wis a wean… sometimes at the sharp end of a tawse.
Good luck to Scotland (women) tonight.
In The Rag “John Swinney refuses to halt AI data centres amid ‘free-for-all'” it amazes me how anyone can read this piss newspaper and call themselves Independence supporters.
When the SNP is finished I dread to think what damage this party and newspaper will have done to Scotland.
Take a read of a article by Peter A Bell.
link to peterabell.substack.com
100% yes.
If the treaty of union were real, then article XV11 for the subjects of Scotland would provide Scotlands people with data protection, along with many other human rights above and beyond that of many other Countries.
Not for the government- but specifically for the people…the subjects of Scotland.
But then its not real.
Sam,
And the rest of Scotlands land and sea was taken under the posed question that the parliament for England and Wales put to Scotland, which legally holds no binding, The devolved Government question. After three hundred years of having no Scottish parliament in Englands Great Britain parliament,
A posed false question brings a false parliament.
The old Scottish parliament was adjourned under Sine Die in Scotland on 25th March 1707,
The monarch of England under the act of Settlement and line of succession to England, by Proclamation dissolved the parliament of Scotland on the 28th April 1706/7.
Englands parliament of Great Britain first sat and took place on the 23rd October 1707……
Without the parliament of Scotland.
For Christ’s sake…shut up you crazy old bat !
Talking to yourself?
It is a devolved parliament in to Scotland that serves two masters,
Sam,
Correct me if I am wrong,
Was king James coronated or crowned in Scotland or did he self declare himself to be king of Scots,
Is that not the reason he was declared the as great pretender, as with Those that followed claiming kingship or monarchy hereditary leanage after him being disposed both in Scotland and England.
All monarch that follow that disposed king are not really monarchs by decendents I suppose.
Regardless the last known monarch of Scots was Charles 11 crown inScotland.
There never was a Elizabeth 11 in Scotland by the way, only in England.
Was he not already king of Scotland, therefore crowned here, before he was offered and took crown of England?
Jimmy 6 of Scotland, held and tutored (mentally tortured?) by Protestant Lords and what I suppose you would call (English sponsored religious) activists inherited the English Croun as Lizzie Tudor – probably a hermaphrodite – died childless bringing English Henry 7s prophecy to bear; the larger always swallows the smaller!
To do it Jimmy 6 had to effectively distance himself from (ie abandon) his hostage mother (kept rotting in England ruins), have Scotland act as a satellite state of England and bit by bit suck up to the composite Roman Catholic/ Wicca composite that is the farcical Anglican Church.
In short he effed aff doon south, became one of THE English and raised and installed the same “ideal” on his progeny..
Should have been strangled at birth IMO, and may- perhaps- maybe-just might have been given the newborns skeleton subsequently found entombed in the wall of Mary’s birthing chamber. Who knows?
That’s where and when the sh1t really started and our independent fates sealed thereafter..
Jimmy 6 became Jimmy 1 of England and called it “Great Britain” or whatever as a branding con, all he wanted- Jimmy 1 of England is what he was and steadfastly remained..
Then theres English Villiers, Duke of Buckingham put in place to keep him compliant and gay.
What a farce!
What an historical denouement to an ancient legacy the Germanics dan saf could only dream of mimicking..
The Westminster parliament for England and annexed Wales was a little bit too anxious to capture Scotland and rushed it placing the cart before the horse in ending Scotlands parliament prior to the creation and first sitting of a union of parliaments between Scotland and England.
Thus the Scottish nobility entered and sat in the parliament for England and Wales as it still is today.
Well that’s good news on this lovely summer evening, let’s all open a beer to celebrate.
Aidan
Bad enough that it may have been so without you wishing it so and now crowing over it..
Tories tipped to win Aberdeen South.
SNP siurce:”we have lost”
Tories tipped to win Aberdeen South.
SNP source:”we have lost”
SNP hold Arbroath and Broughty Ferry -with 41% of the vote.
SLab down to 4th.
Tories have indeed won Aberdeen South
Tories destroy SNP there with majority of c. 6000 votes
Should they send their thanks to Peter Murrell or send a bouquet to his wife?
Amazingly, the Arbroath and Broughty Ferry vote is also reported to be close, as I write.
Never glad confident morning again, Mr Swinney.
SNP hold Arbroath
SLab drop to 4th having run SNP close in 2024.
“Starmer factor” seems to have benefited SNP
Meanwhile , our friends in the south report rumours that Burnham is going to win with 54% of the Makerfield vote – an amazing result in the circumstances.
I suspect Starmer will be toast before Swinney.
So, the SNP have lost Edinburgh South by election to the Tories and held on to the Arbroath Broughty Ferry seat.
A hammer statement to the discredited and increasingly unpopulat SNP. The Tory candidate took over 50% of the vote. But of course the SNP green woke policies sold out oil jobs in the North Sea.
And with Labour coming 4th in both contests the message to Sarwar and indeed Burnham is clear. Labour is a busted flush
But on a bigger picture reports are that polling for Scottish independence is suggesting that around 63% of people are now in favour – with this sentiment expressed against collapsing SNP figures.
Looks like time is up for Mr Swinney and his collapsing party. Yes, he might be gone before Sir Keir Starmer. And that is hood because Scots need an independence party now that the SNP has ceased to be an independence party.
Eh oop ecky thump!
King ‘t norf Andy Burnham is going to set orf down Kings Landing in Landahn to take on the wet wipe with a haircut “Sir” Keir of the House of Starmer!
Starmers forces will no doubt include none of his cabinet, the spirit of Jimmy Saville and a guest appearance by Gary Glitter..
Battle Cries from the Southern softie p00ftahs set to include Morriseys Violence on the Streets of London, violence on the streets of Birmingham..
His wet wipeness himself is said to be relieved his defence increase spending initiative of stopping HS2 at Birmingham should give them time to, well, prevaricate just that little bit longer..
And to think we are stuck with these wallies!
Enough!
Get tae!!
We’ve wallies enough of our own!!!
Maybe Anus will ride dan saf to his rescue?
Maybe not..
Correction above: The SNP lost Aberdeen South
Sam.
King James was known as the Great pretender in England and later in Scotland dueto him self declaring himself king.
Not for any other reason,
It was what was discussed and explained why he was disposed on the lead up to the supposed union, tangled up in that discussion was ways to get rid of him,
So England claimed the throne had been vacated by King James, and pressured Scotland to make the same statement,
There was great difficulty in Scotland telling the same story, so a raft of alternative excuses was conceived in Scotland about his bad behaviour,
Which can be seen in the terms and conditions of monarchy exchange to Hanoerian monarchy,
This agreement was not futhered in a Union of Parliaments or a union of Crowns as foreseen due to the germain monarchy and England self declaring them monarchs of Scotland whilst in England the few references to that time period shows that those in Scotland who were wanting a union were the actual supposed witnesses down south.
The reason this take over was not successful in subsuming Scotland was how the the 1707 up coming treaty was actually not followed in proceedure.
As explained above.
Was chronological time lines.
The monarch of England under the act of settlement and succession line to the throne ofEngland along with Westminster parliament dissolved the old Scottish parliament prior to a union parliament taking place or sat for the first time.
Resulting in only the transferred parliament members sitting in the parliament of Englands Great Britain parliament.
The Scottish nobility from a now … [ Dissolved Scottish parliament ] … went forward and entered a none union parliament of England.
The dissolution of the Scottish parliament from the treaty agreement of a union parliament was made void and self defeated the reality.
For only the transferred parliament of England sat when the the Great Britain parliament of England sat.
As the parliament of Scotland had come under dissolution previously in England and had adjourned under ( closed) Sine Die in Scotland
Cart before the horse politics in a panic to capture Scotland.
So Scotlands old parliament members could not sit in the union parliament when it opened. As they had been previously closed in Scotland and dissolved in England.
The 1707 treaty of a union parliament never succeeded
But The Parliament of Englands Great Britain went forward without the Scottish Parliament regardless of that error they had made.
The Scots that went down to sit in the parliament of Englands Westminster were no longer members of a Scottish parliament that had previously closed in Scotland, and had been dissolved from membership of the Scottish parliament before they went to England.
There was no union of parliaments or Crowns that ever legally took place under a chronological time line to enter the transferred old English parliament of England rebranded parliament of Great Britain.
Scotland parliament had already ceased in Scotland and in England when the event of openingof Englands new parliament of Great Britain first opened.
And the reminder that royal assent was given to the treaty by the monarch of England and self declared monarch of Scotland,
Something the great pretender king James had been accused of beforehand.
Not being crowned or coronated in the appropriate manner or proper place.
With that being said the throne of England monarchy that was promised in the treaty also ended in 1714.
An enthusiastic rejection of tyrannical Net Zero policies by the voters of Aberdeen South who have seen high-quality employment and living standards decimated under the sick dogma of Miliband and his fellow zealots in the Central Belt. Ironically, UniPartyBlue, being prime architects of the current nilhistic Net Zero cult, claim a Damascene conversation against the war on the population’s living standards.
Further South, UniPartyRed is being consumed by petty infighting as Guyliner fights TTK for control of the M25 Omnipermashambles. Two bald men fighting over a comb.
Thanks MaryB a typo on my part.
The Tory victory in Aberdeen South reflects the utter disenchantment with voters about the SNP policy in relation to the SNP net zero policy.
Oil and gas still have a huge part to play going forward. Our country depends on oil and gas. Planes, lorries, ships, earth moving plant, construction equipment, farm machinery, heating oil for rural homes, and for the production of fertiliser and plastics. All that ain’t going away any time soon. Not by a long shot.
So who do the woke wonders of the SNP think our economy is going to function going forward. Well we know the answer. Shut down the North Sea and by the oil and gas from foreign sources. Or is it deploy dray horses to power all our transport modes and oxen to work our farms.
Well the good folks of Aberdeen understand only too well the hypocritical woo woo nonsense of a party that is doing down Scotland in an orgy of self harm.
So good riddance is the message in Aberdeen and in fact elsewhere. Swinney will soon be gone to join his unionist chum Sir Keir.
MEANWHILE…
the real masters of the universe play around with goofy ideas.
link to ibtimes.co.uk
Watch out, the antichrist’s about….scary stuff.
Tomorrow belongs to Dialog.
See y’all in Dublin, Ireland, Europe,Earth, Solar System etc.
Very little shocking regarding the attendees or the topics being discussed. It’s not even hidden anymore that our masters are in hock to overseas interests (hence TTK’s and the SNP’s bizarre obsession with rejoining the EU) that are openly pursuing a nilhistic, misanthropic, evil agenda to a) reduce the world population and b) enslave the survivors in abject misery.
So, Aberdeen South had a unionist MP yesterday, and has a unionist MP today.
Plus ça change, mon ami, plus ça change.
Alf Baird is pretty accurate in stating Scotland is a Colonised Country of England,
It would be helpful however Alf if you explained how it came about, from time lines and dated records,
As this information is all available in Hansard and Westminster parliament itself. They even boast that Scotland deleted itself by agreeing to the treaty of union,
What they fail to do is explain or give the reasoning for that assumption. It needs the voices and people of Scotland to unravel the deceit and lies perpetrated for lies. To show an interest on how many over the years allowed the deceit to continue.
The records clearly show that Scotland is a Sovereign Country and people if The Country of England want to retain the false idea of still being in a treaty with it.
Not a region.
Other wise there is no 1707 treaty of union with the nation and kingdom Country of Scotland,
Just Colonisation from England on Scotland.
That is where the evidence rests to your debate on wether Scotland is Colonised or as a Sovereign people and Country.
Stating we are a Colony of England is actually needing explaining in depth with facts. Other wise union numpties just Scoff at the perposal.
However so far they have not been able to discredit the records and facts from Hansard, the parliament of Westminster, or the Select Committees Records,
Unionist just want you and I to shut up and not post what they do not want to acknowledge. facts and recorded history from their very own horses mouth.
Difficult for them argue against at the best of times without stating the UK governance are all liars and made these stories up.
Someone’s been watching too much Outlander.
The history, which I’m fully aware of and find fascinating, is certainly a twisting tale of murky dealings.
The argument for independence however will not be justified nor won by stuff that happened 300 years ago. It will be won by preparing and stating clearly a solid plan to make Scotland healthy, free, prosperous and fair to the majority of its people, regardless of creed, colour, nationality or any other characteristics. That’s what I, as a genuinely interested person sick of current politics of all colours and looking for radical change, want to hear.
“how it came about”
Postcolonial theorists regard ‘cultural assimilation’, which essentially means the native adopting and ‘craving’ the colonizer’s culture and values, and his identity, as a key factor.
Assimilation means the native seeks to ‘become like’ the colonizer, to become ‘British’, or ‘French’, or ‘American’, whichever is the dominant/imperial culture imposed upon them.
When did this assimilation begin? Who can say. It came to Scots society in the way of religions and changes in monarchy, as well as in the movement of peoples and cultures entering our land and controlling institutions and hence social hierarchies, which continues today.
But with us Scots, as certain observers of the Tartan Army in America have noted, we see what Memmi argued is ‘the failure of assimilation’. Assimilation has ‘succeeded a few times, but it has often failed’.
Why assimilation fails for us Scots and other peoples is the question, to which Memmi writes, it is because:
“assimilation is the opposite of colonization. It tends to eliminate the distinctions between the colonizers and the colonized, and thereby eliminates the colonial relationship’.
The Scottish people have begun to figure this oot, which is why desire for independence – which is ‘a cultural emotion’ (Fanon) – has risen among indigenous Scots over recent decades.
Which also explains why the colonizer is constantly working to reduce the number of indigenous identifying people in a colony, indeed if possible even to replace them, and never teaches them thair ain mither tongue, the latter a/the key influence and indicator of identity.
Alf, you quote Memmi quite a lot, and I assume that’s Albert Memmi, the Tunisian Jew, who is described as an ardent Zionist, who thought that Zionism is anti colonial. Really?
I also see that he went to live in France when Tunisia became independent, which seems odd considering how much he doesn’t seem to like like colonial powers, so I’m curious why you choose to quote him so much. He is also described as an intellectual, and I wonder why.
He sounds like a complete plank to me. I do hope you’ll be able to put me straight.
Spartan 117.
Ed milliband’s net zero agenda would not even be inScotland if the 1707 treaty of union was real, nor would the SNP be here.
Simply because if the treaty was real the private rights of the subjects of Scotland and their resources would not be in there or the SNPs hands it would be in the peoples of Scotlands under article XV111 which was noted as a fundamental and unalterable right, that could not be changed by the parliament of Great Britain.
The same would apply over data protection laws for the people in Scotland.
Covid lock downs in Scotland would be illegal in Scotland
Banning free Speech in Scotland would also be illegal.
BBC would be illegal system in Scotland, we would have our own broadcasters.
Scots law.
XV111 article in the treaty of union goes further than the ECHR on human rights in covering all aspects of freedom and laws for the people ( subjects ) within Scotland and is a fundamental and unalterable article of the 1707 treaty of Union.
But the supreme court and Scotland act breached that article. And the treaty of union. Rsp.
If only the treaty of union was real.
Anyone heard from Anas Sarwar. Don’t like to gloat about a party down on its upper but what does he think about his candidate getting 5.3% of the vote.
Or will he like Swinney claim.that it doesn’t matter. Ergo we lost Anberdeen in 2017.and we’ll get it back again. Well oh no you won’t John Boy the voters are scunnered and the SNP are going the way of Labour.
-Extremely interesting article here on SNP corruption scandal link to x.com: How the Crown Office saved Sturgeon and the SNP