Heard this in the car.

Well-known but good licks.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SSR6ZzjDZ94

2. CameronB Brodie

Three questions I need help answering. Can I get some please. TA

1. My wi-fi modem appeared to receive a ‘software upgrade’ and now keeps switching itself off. Have I been hacked or is it simply gash tech?

2. Can one achieve a ‘correct’ perspective without having all the necessary information on which to base one’s senses of proportion and priority.

3. If difference provides the space for progress, can progress occur in the absence of difference?

4. David Mundell, Secretary of State for Scotland, fluffy or dangerous?

5. Do I have a future selling turboencabulators?

6. Paranoid, me???

7. Is it not painfull how long it takes some folk to recognise the error of their ways and adopt better practice? It’s taken me until now to save this to a text file. ๐Ÿ™‚

โ€œThe right to development is an inalienable human right by virtue of which every human person and all peoples are entitled to participate in, contribute to, and enjoy economic, social, cultural and political development, in which all human rights and fundamental freedoms can be fully realized.โ€ (Article 1.1, Declaration on the Right to Development)

โ€œThe human right to development also implies the full realization of the right of peoples to self-determination, which includes, subject to the relevant provisions of both International Covenants on Human Rights, the exercise of their inalienable right to full sovereignty over all their natural wealth and resources.โ€ (Article 1.2)

http://www.un.org/en/events/righttodevelopment/pdf/rtd_at_a_glance.pdf

Though probably unnecessary.

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Human%20Rights
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=uninalienable

3. Cactus

Cheers for the Folk Alley TC, a most excellent quartet..

.. I loves the swell of the strings ๐Ÿ™‚

It got the hair up on the back of ma neck, that’s endorphins for ye.

Heading out in the Southside furra swally in this fine city, look out.

4. Tinto Chiel

From only the only Eno-less Roxy Music album I liked, you know, before they became just a Byron Ferrari cabaret act:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1cjR5QHFpEo

5. Cactus

Fresh tablecloth.

6. Tinto Chiel

Cheers, Cactus. Have a good night. Curry on the horizon ce soir?

CameronB: you’re a great man for the hard questions.

But who is David Mundell? Some kinda magician or somefink?

7. CameronB Brodie

Can I re-work number two without appearing too up myself?

2. Can one prioritise โ€˜correctlyโ€™ without having access to all the information required to inform one’s senses of perspective, proportion and scale?

8. yesindyref2

Strange thing happened on the herald today. I’d done that posting on leask’s article where I’d taken the unionists abusive postings and made a list, and even made indirect attacks on leask. All postings stayed up. But on another thread I made a reply, not aginst the rules, but a very weak reply which I didn’t like and wished I hadn’t bothered but didn’t delete it. 10 or 15 minutes later it was deleted. Like I say nothing offensive, but not my style. Makes me think someone was doing me a favour. I also think it’s happened before.

Very strange. Maybe I have a guardian angel, or at least, a herald one!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ufdx5EwVdro

9. yesindyref2

@CameronB Brodie
    I quickly got this “2. If your computer’s connection is wireless/wifi, you may be on a crowded wireless channel,” (the other 2 choices not applicable).

Possible the software upgrade has switched wireless channels on your router, the computer has picked it up OK, but as it says it’s crowded, your neighbour is using the same channel!

You’d need to find out how to change channel on your router.

It’s a possibility, that’s all.

10. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

In the sunshine of your love?

be an angel

Peace Always

11. yesindyref2

@CBB
    Thinking about that, the software upgrade could ahve defaulted to the US which uses different channels to Europe. Don’t know the details, but maybe a passing taxi, your mobile phone, central heating pump emits enough on that frequency range to upset the router so it safetey reboots. I’m guessing!

12. CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
    ffs I telt you he’s the “Secretary of State for Scotland”. In other words, he provides the solution of synthesis that enables English nationalism and the respect of human rights to co-exist.

Remember kids, British nationalism is English nationalism.

Just say no to thugs!

13. CameronB Brodie

yesindyref2
    Thanks, both for informing and taking the time to recognise there are actually a couple of serious questions there.

btw sorry for losing the rag the other night. If you were paying attention you may have spotted I used “nn” instead of the letter “m”. I’ve no idea what that was but perhaps it indicates the degree to which my mind was trying to rebel, as my self-respect fought to exert itself. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hope there’s no lingering animosity.

14. Tinto Chiel

CameronB: got him now- Wee Snackbeard/Magnificent Husk, of course! Got him mixed up with yon Copperfield dude.

Mind you, that wee boy of his….. makes Jacob Rees-Mogg look like spliff-sucking hipster.

How are you, Smallaxe? Hope things went ok today.

15. yesindyref2

@CBB

“4. David Mundell, Secretary of State for Scotland, fluffy or dangerous?”

Our man in manana.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c3Dz6FOE_Gk

16. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

Music to my ears ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

17. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Hi Tinto,I’m just a wee bit fu.. Kna.. tired,but OK.Thanks.

Quiet in here tonight,slow on main T.have you laid that floor yet?

Peace Always

18. David

Answers for Cameron. Remember that answers are like ‘Tory principles’- if you don’t like these ones, I have others…:

1: Of course you’ve been hacked! See ans to No. 6 for more details. (Or ask GCHQ)

2: Who defines ‘correct’, and who defines ‘necessary’?

3: Yes, progress can occur. This q reminds me of the one about ‘do we need bad things in order to have good things? No of course not.

4: Mundell IS dangerous. Not in himself, cos he is a useless buffoon, but in the party he supports. He is the fluffy cover for a psychopathic, criminal, gang.

5: TAKE MY MONEY NOW!! PS What’s a turboencabulator?

6: You may very well be paranoid. However, as you are indeed a ‘vile cybernat’, as evidenced by your posting on here, yes, *they* are indeed out to get you. And me. And everyone here in Paula’s Palm-House. But don’t worry, we have right on our side. ๐Ÿ˜‰

7: You can lead a horse to water but you cannot make it drink. Let time do it’s work.

8: 42 (Bonus answer.)

Joan Jett – I Got No Answers:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3HW_VCRyWM0

19. CameronB Brodie

David

๐Ÿ™‚

I’ll leave the rest up to your imagination.

20. Smallaxe

5/ turboencaulators Factually no! Fictionally yes.

Peace Always

21. CameronB Brodie

“Turbo Encabulator”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ac7G7xOG2Ag

22. Thepnr

@yesindyref

What you had there with the Herald was a failure to communicate.

Luckily someone spared you from being punished. Unlike this guy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yBBWUZfgRiw

A short clip from one of my favourite films. No, it’s not a western ๐Ÿ™‚

23. CameronB Brodie

Re. selling โ€œTurbo Encabulatorsโ€. I’ll probably need some graphs. ๐Ÿ™‚

24. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:Graphs.

Photo?

Tele?

Holo?

Electro cardio? ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

25. David

Cameron, for describing โ€œTurbo Encabulatorsโ€ to non-techie people, you need a straight-talker like Professor Stanley Unwin:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tWOTpeBVML8

26. yesindyref2

@CBB
    Well, there is another possibilty as David almost says:

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2016/10/19/home_router_insecurity/

Mmm, that made me download the latest firmware update. Very remiss. I’ve been getting a lot of blinking lights lately. Then I realised it’s my wife’s whatsapp’s phone.

@Thepnr
    Well, I should beware of Geeks bearing gifts. And churches!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MYSVMgRr6pw

27. CameronB Brodie

David
    I might write like I’m the man’s child. Steady on though. ๐Ÿ˜‰

28. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    I’m not ignoring you, I just didn’t want to be a hog. Mind now, don’t get the wrong idea. ๐Ÿ˜‰

THE COASTERS – I’m a Hog for You [alternate]
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VoJTq8FkTMU

29. CameronB Brodie

Space hog, of course. ๐Ÿ™‚

30. Paula Rose

*Delivers paper*

http://archive.is/b8AQX

31. Cactus

Aye Tinto Chiel..

I opted furra tandoori king prawn bhoona, chicken chaat and large coriander salad.

I loves coriander xxx

32. CameronB Brodie

While I’m on the subject, the space “race” creates provides the stage for bigoted and exclusionary actors to perform.

Might I also suggest that from the perspective of post-modern critical social theory, it is important to appreciate the concepts of habitus and symbolic violence, if one is to tackle the problems of inequality. As such, if actors such as Mr. Hothersll, wish to contribute to the debate, might I suggest they climb back in their boxes. They should be mindful to take some Bourdieu with them and perhaps so Lorde. That way they might find some self-awareness.

33. Thepnr

That earlier clip from Cool Hand Luke is one of my favourite films because it is about a man whose spirit wouldn’t be broken. He ends up in jail for a petty crime that’s when his troubles begin.

Here is the scene for which he was imprisoned and following is the consequences for his crime.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FxWKSglO0fo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SwzG_QRyosQ

34. Cactus

Am sampling some Barca 43 tish-now..

Cheers tya Marga.

X.

35. David

Serious question:
    Over 90% of UK oil and gas is located in Scottish waters. Do Scots occupy 90% of UK oil & gas jobs?

I assume several O&G companies have offices in London, and further assume less than 90% of people employed in these offices are Scots.

I have the impression that a lot of O&G jobs based offshore, and based in Aberdeen, etc, are filled by non-Scots. If so, why is this? Has there been a deliberate policy to hire workers from England’s north-east?

We have been lied to for over 40 years about oil, I’d quite like to have some truth now.

36. K1

2. Can one achieve a โ€˜correctโ€™ perspective without having all the necessary information on which to base oneโ€™s senses of proportion and priority.

2. Can one prioritise โ€˜correctlyโ€™ without having access to all the information required to inform oneโ€™s senses of perspective, proportion and scale?

Could this be approached from the subtle but nonetheless important distinction between ‘stages’ and ‘states’ of development (consciousness) Cameron?

One can ‘experience’ fleeting ‘states’ of consciousness which are highly evolved where sense perception is transcended to the degree that one’s interconnectedness with everything is momentarily experienced. A ‘falling away’ of identity of ‘self’ as separate from ‘other than self’ if you like. That very experiencing is a ‘perceptual corrective’, all scales are balanced, a brief immunity from fear and a complete absence of the need to ‘fix’ ( as in static) self/situation (as in there is no such thing as a ‘fixed’ self, and situations by their nature, are ‘fluid).

The stage of development where this is a more ‘permanent’ and grounded ‘state’ is what requires process and takes ‘time’, so to speak. You already know what you know would be my answer to this question and therefore you are not ‘without’ the ‘access’ or better put: the access to the ‘necessary information’ is not out with you. You would of course ‘know’ at this ‘stage’ what ‘to’ prioritise. Which is? What’s right in front of you. The present moment.

(if that’s boring just ignore Cameron…ah enjoyed masel’ ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

37. CameronB Brodie

K1
    “Could this be approached from the subtle but nonetheless important distinction between โ€˜stagesโ€™ and โ€˜statesโ€™ of development (consciousness) Cameron?”

Absatootly.

Didn’t know the rest and I try not to judge harshly. ๐Ÿ™‚

38. yesindyref2

That’s a shame, can’t post youtube on the Express, so I can’t show Scott and Clerkin in action looking after Scotland.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cuo4Xotcvns

39. CameronB Brodie

Another reason I don’t care about not posting elsewhere. A key factor to success within the post-modern environment, is the identification and exploitation of niches.

Hope you’re all feeling exploited. ๐Ÿ™‚

40. CameronB Brodie

Here’s a contrasting image of racial identity, to that of the Coasters earlier, the Neville Brothers before they became Bros. (if ye ken fit a mean). A re-post, I’m afraid, as I thought this graphic was perhaps a little provocative when I posted the clipped version. Can you guess why the dudes look like humans beings, rather than the dancing minstrels of the ’50s? Do you also notice the difference to perspective that a little context makes?

btw, I forgot this earlier and thought it might be helpful to some. Sometimes it helps to explain the problems of within (e.g. susceptibility to ideological dogma), by looking at the world outwith.

SYMBOLIC VIOLENCE IN EVERYDAY NARRATIONS: GENDER
    CONSTRUCTION IN INDONESIAN TELEVISION

http://www.ajssh.leena-luna.co.jp/AJSSHPDFs/Vol.2(3)/AJSSH2013(2.3-18).pdf

Also

exploring symbolic violence in the everyday: misrecognition, condescension, consent and complicity

http://link.springer.com/article/10.1057/fr.2015.53

The Meters – It Ain’t No Use
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TpIBTPh33_A

41. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

No problem Cameron,sorry for my absence,I had a heavy day yesterday and fell into the arms of morphia.

Peace Always

42. Tinto Chiel

Morning, Smallaxe. Glad you’re ok. Yes, flooring all down, one of those vinyl click jobs. It’s only a smallish room otherwise I would have got someone skilled to do it. Mrs TC has now identified the kitchen as an “area for development”. Sigh.

Cactus: midweek curry and bottles of wine? You’re living pretty high on Cameron B’s semiotic hog, surely.

*Cue: don’t call me Shirley.*

Breakfast bulletin: may have Stornoway black pudding and a poached egg, followed of course by the obligatory regime of bending exercises and Vichy Water, Jackie Bird’s favourite tipple.

Too early for big licks? This had a great B side called “Theme from Boat Weirdoes”. There was no film of that name, though.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BXWvKDSwvls

As Groucho said, hello, I must be going.

43. Tinto Chiel

Forgot to ask: why is there only one Monopolies Commission?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHihA1jfohE

44. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

I have had the same “Hint” from Mrs.S re kitchen,Deep joy!
    I envy your breakfast choice,I am on liquid diet,yum yum.:-(

Peace Always

45. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Has morphia got a mate? ๐Ÿ™‚

46. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

Yes Cameron,unfortunatly though,it’s me!

๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

47. CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
    Nice one. Joe Walsh is new to me but I might explore a bit deeper.

48. CameronB Brodie

Re. context. IMHO, “There’s a Moon in the sky (called the Moon)”, is a celebration of post-modernity, inclusion, equality and hope, though I don’t know if that interpretation gives the correct perspective, frankly.

49. Smallaxe

Nana:

According to my blood work,which is sky high with platelets,I should not be as “chirpy and mobile”,yet I am.Asked if I was taking any supplements,I answered”I get by with a lot of help from my Friends” ๐Ÿ™‚

Hope you are well,it’s a beautiful fresh sunny day here.

Peace,Love and Supplementary Friends

50. Tinto Chiel

My pleasure, Cameron. Joe is worthy of the quest.

Regarding perspective, I remember this L&H gag:

(Stan Laurel answers phone.)

Stan: Hello.

Operator: It’s a long distance from Atlanta, Georgia.

Stan: It certainly is. (Hangs up).

Smallaxe, I think to avoid kitchen situation a sudden onset of repetitive strain injury may be required. Have a good rest today.

51. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

More like repetitive Wallet injury ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m having a quiet day surfin’ on the Wavy Wide Web!

Peace Always

52. Tinto Chiel

Pax vobiscum.

53. CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
    It’s Stan’s glaikit innocence. Priceless. ๐Ÿ™‚

54. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Pax vobiscum Mon Ami

Always

55. Liz g

Morning Smallaxe
    Stay well
    You friends sound wonderful.
    Make the most of them!!!!

My best to Mrs Smallaxe X

56. Nana

@Smallaxe

As a former nurse I saw people recover from cancer after being told on numerous occasions they had an incurable form. I believe in some cases their own outlook may have been a factor as a few were of the ‘this ain’t gonna beat me’ state of mind.

Having good support from family,friends and filling your day with positivity is good for us all. Sometimes reading the news gets me down [a lot] listening to music and doing my art and of course talking with my wee dug calms me. My dug sure talks a lot of sense haha

Remember I told you I was gathering windfall yesterday morn well in the afternoon my dog starting barking furiously, went into the kitchen and saw a man standing at the back door. Held Mac by the collar and opened the door, couldn’t hear the fellow cause of the barking. Eventually managed to figure out what I was being asked.

He was polish [I think] and wanted to know if I would let him and his friend take some apples, he must have been hungry as he started to shove some in his pockets and bit right into one while muttering his thanks. I gave him a plastic bag and he proceeded to hit the branches with a rake.

Meanwhile his friend stood at the back gate shouting his thank yous in a really loud voice. I felt bad because I’d thrown so many in the compost after giving to neighbours and friends. Seriously though are folks so hungry or did he just want a fresh apple?

But you know what struck me, I’ve seen a number of local folk and oil rig workers walk past the back wall reach up and grab an apple yet these men asked permission to take one. Wonder how the daily rags would spin that.

57. Smallaxe

liz g:

Of course their wonderful liz,I’m talking to one now,are’nt I?

Peace Always

58. K1

Nana, Smallaxe…here is a very ‘salient’ Ted talk from Glasgow on ‘Intentional medicine’:

Intentional medicine โ€“ shifting the focus of healthcare | Libby McGugan | TEDxGlasgow:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JEpEb0ztJOY&index=8&list=PLsRNoUx8w3rPIuCXxVT0QdS97CgAT4gUE

On that wee panel on the right of this vid is a bunch of very interesting and innovative Ted talks from this Glasgow event. Highly recommend folks have a wee sift through those. They are quite ‘short’ vids as most TEdtalks are.

59. K1

Can’t resist posting this Tedtalk from same event as I was so moved by the passion of this woman Karyn McCluskey: ‘ Why couldn’t we lead the way, why couldn’t we lead the world in changing the lives of the most excluded’:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JbJ-m8Vo5cU&index=9&list=PLsRNoUx8w3rPIuCXxVT0QdS97CgAT4gUE

60. Smallaxe

Nana:

Music and Family and friends like your good self do it for me.

Re.”Polish Gentlemen”.I have a flooded quarry nearby,on my better days I sometimes fish there”catch and release”.I noticed signs of people living rough in nearby woods,so I hung some fish in the shade,three days later I found a Thank you note,written in broken English.Sad.

Some of our people should take lessons from them.

Thank you again for your interest and concern.

Peace Always

Billy

61. K1

I’d like to pose the question (rhetorical of course) re those Tedtalks, why isn’t our news filled with those voices who are making such a difference to our communities? Where are the celebrations/interviews regarding the groundbreaking work that is happening in our country? These are the subjects that our journalists should be focused on, the hard graft of those on the frontline within our fractured communities who are producing successful outcomes.

But naw. SNP bad.

62. Smallaxe

K1:

Hi K1,thanks for the links to Tedtalks,I will read them with interest.Karyn McCluskey: looks interesting,inclusion is imperative to a balanced society.

Keep up your good work on the main thread!

Peace Always my Friend

63. Nana

@K1

I watch ted talks often, missed that one so thanks for posting. Agree with a lot of what she says re positivity. Now off to watch the next one, good excuse not to tackle the ironing!

My friend mentioned a book she was reading Wellness a state of mind. she seemed impressed so I must ask her to pass it on.

64. Smallaxe

K1:

I am continually amazed and saddened by “intelligent” people
    who have never heard of Ted.Usually when I endeavour to enlighten them,they invariably ask “Ted who”.

Banging my head against a wall is sometimes more satisfying.

Peace Always

65. Andrew McLean

CameronB Brodie “Thereโ€™s a Moon in the sky (called the Moon)”?

Not sure what your moon is called, but the only one I see is called Lunar, Lat Luna, It has an albedo of 0.136. who’s albedo is 0.30 see what I did there!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8kDXADYUgqk

Can’t beat a bit of Vangelis.

66. Andrew McLean

Smallaxe

Really! this is not the platform for promoting vile teddy bears,
    Oh Not that ted,
    give me 10 min and I will explain!

67. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:@11:27

To the Unknown man? ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always my Brother

68. Capella

@ K1 – glad I popped in here to listen to the Karyn McCluskey TED talk. Why not post that on the main thread so everyone can share it? It’s not off topic IMO!

Hi Smallaxe – good to hear that you are posting fit. KOKO.

69. Smallaxe

Capella:

I’ve just listened to Karyn McCluskey and I agree that it should be over on the main thread(as long as we here, get a wee peek first).

I’m enjoying your comments over on the main thread as always.

๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

70. Chic McGregor

Speaking of Ted, a stalwart of the movement:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vhjOhIOPVT0

71. Smallaxe

Chic McGregor:

An excellent contribution Chic,great song and the scenery shown,Stunning.Well worth fighting for, with or without oil.

W/Minster can Frack off!

Peace Always

72. CameronB Brodie

Andrew McLean
    I was referring to a B-52s track I posted the other day. Not wanting to be so crass as to suggest it is the art of a queer band speaking to young minds, in the late ’70s, I didn’t give you the full context. Though probably not a sin, it’s probably not your usual tipple. A bit different, innit. ๐Ÿ™‚

73. CameronB Brodie

P.S. I’m about to play the Meters again. This morning was the first time I’ve played air-guitar since I was a bit younger. ๐Ÿ™‚

74. Chic McGregor

Andrew,
    I’ve been to the Moon. No really I have. It is a cul-de-sac in Kirrie.

https://www.google.co.uk/maps/@56.6702356,-3.0027123,3a,43.8y,304.98h,86.17t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sjnAYnY22cf2lYN2K-yUtQA!2e0!7i13312!8i6656

Smallaxe,

Aye, Ted ‘better than Elvis’ Christopher writes some great songs and has put in a great deal of time and money for indy over the years.

75. CameronB Brodie

Air-bass, actually.

76. Smallaxe

Note to self: Remember to buy new strings for air guitar.

Chic McGregor:

Every day is a school day here on O/T.Eye has lernt sumfin elss twoday.Wunerfool!

Thanks Chic,I am checking out Ted Christopher and Bannockburn
    at the moment.I must have led a sheltered life ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

77. yesindyref2

I’m with Nana on the don’t let it beat you, but at the 100% risk of sounding really really weird, and I’m not really, honest, I think you can get transference, and contact helps. Holding hands basically, in 50 years time they’ll probably discover it’s electricity at body pulse rate or something weird like that. There’s a couple of times in my life I may have helped people, just holding a hand for some time, and even stranger, I was exhausted after.

So for Smallaxe with apologies or something:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jenWdylTtzs

78. Smallaxe

Capella:

It took a while but,KOKO,are you referring to our simian friend,if so I can’t think why?

๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

79. yesindyref2

To make this even more interesting, when I was in Germany there was this Tai Chi master, and just standing or sitting still, and him doing his meditation for a minute or two, he could give you a hell of an electric shock. There was no cheating with foot shuffling on carpets!

Small guy, after him meditating (concentrating) also, two strong people couldn’t lift him off the ground, his feet were stuck fast.

Anyway, enough of that, I’ll ruin my repuation as a cynical bastard.

80. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

Tai Chi Chuan,I have seen some seemingly impossible things, done by exponents of different martial arts.Twists your melon!

By the way,lets have less of the cynical.

๐Ÿ™‚

Wahei Always

81. Chic McGregor

For yesindyref2

The funkiest song ever.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wDZFf0pm0SE

82. yesindyref2

@Chic
    Oh good, wife’s out for a walk, I can play it full volume ๐Ÿ™‚

@Smallaxe
    Haud on a wee minute, if it’s less of the cynical, does that mean I’m supposed to be more of the b*st**d? Oh, OK!

83. Tinto Chiel

Is it too early for a song about the emptiness of materialism, social alienation and a relationship with a (ahem) Latex Lady, if you get my drift?

Of course, it’s all done in the best possible taste…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LSniBxXjK_8

84. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

That makes two of us so far,I have an inkling that there are many more of us about.*stares admiringly across to Tinto*.

Some, bigger b*st**ds than others,it,s a ancient Scottish martial art ye ken. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

85. CameronB Brodie

Hope I’m not stepping on anyone’s toes here but as Jean-Baptiste Emanuel Zorg might say, lets change the beat.

Eric B. & Rakim – I Ain’t No Joke
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2TN-kDEKxF0

86. Tinto Chiel

Moi? Not me, Smallaxe, I’m a man of peace, probity and rectitude.

Like these gentlemen, f’rinstance:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=13XwE-OZceI

87. CameronB Brodie

I need to remember to refresh. Sorry guys.

88. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

I had an unfortunate experience with my Latex Lady.I thought that she was starting to look a little,shall we say,grubby. This was the only reason that I thought to take her into my bath with me.

We were enjoying ourselves splashing around in the bubbles so much,I only tried to give her one of my “special” hugs and tragedy!

She was so slippy,so very slippy,she shot out from between my
    arms,flew out of the window and drifted silently in the window
    of my elderly neighbours sitting room.My poor neighbour was down on her knees praying as luck would have it,beside her dear departed husband’s open casket and so missed my Lady elegantly landing on top of her loved one.

Just for a moment I had a flash of envy,then my thoughts went to my neighbour,poor Mr’s Macaloon.I thought that the shock may kill her,if she looked up and beheld this unholy tableau.Luckly it didn’t.

At the inquest,the coroner stated that she died from terror caused by and I quote “seeing the accused tiptoeing into her sitting room,naked,carrying a large rubber duck in front of his genitals”

Glasgow High Court,next Monday 10am.Please be there,I’m sorely
    in need of a friend,my last one slipped away.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace,Love and Penal Penalties

89. Andrew Mclean

Large rubber duck small axe? Boosting are we,?
    ๐Ÿ™‚

90. Liz g

You’ll be fine Smallaxe….when you’re “up before the beek “.
    After all is no as if it’s your first time

91. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

On the contrary,I was downsizing! ๐Ÿ™‚

I did so enjoy my intercourse with Peter,did you?,I could though,see his point,it was on his Head.

Peace Always my Brother

92. Smallaxe

liz g:

Unfortunately liz,as you say it was not the first time.Last time,I thought that I could gain sympathy from his Lordship by
    using religion.

I told him,”as God is my judge,I am innocent and should be freed.

He said, “He isn’t,I am,six months!

Nae luck.

Peace Always

93. Paula Rose

Om – meditate – om – meditate – om – meditate

totally immoveable, invisible, all-seeing

Om – meditate – om – meditate – om – meditate

(can someone else do the tea, cakes and cocktails ta)

94. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, I know you’ll be feeling a bit deflated about all this but don’t worry, you’ll soon be walking on air when you’re acquitted.

C u Mons. Will wear yellow carnation.

95. Andrew Mclean

I have had to deal with idiots all my life, however it isn’t to much a bind, me having personal experience! Just wish he was honest enough to concede the argument, defeat and learning from that is the path to real intellect. Whereas just having a good memory is most people’s passport to positions of influence.
    That said I shudder to think what James Kelly has on the Labour Party, he a legislator, can’t even understand the point he argued was a urge, he actually thought he had repealed the act. Man’s a blood liability, great he is on the opposite side to peace and justice though!
    Point of order is the only acceptable action he understands. The rest a mystery. If you wanted to frighten your children from strong drink, just play them the last action of that demented fool today, I actually feel sorry for the presiding officer, having to explain what they were discussing to one of his own party.

96. Smallaxe

Peter & Kelly:

If you can dreamโ€”and not make dreams your master;
    If you can thinkโ€”and not make thoughts your aim;
    If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
    And treat those two impostors just the same.
    R.K.

Peace Always

97. Ian Brotherhood

Abody’s just fannying about until we get Trump confirmed, so hey, WTF, why not do this just to annoy some folk who properly don’t like being ‘annoyed’ by anyone and think that ‘world affairs’ will draw attention away from their calamitous idiocy:

https://www.change.org/p/scottish-football-association-scotland-to-go-pink-vs-england-nae-chance

98. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

On Monday I shall be wearing,Handcuffs.
    I will search the crowd,looking for that yellow carnation.

While I’m gone could you wear a yellow ribbon,or tie one on to
    that old oak tree?

Sssh.Paula Rose is meditating or contemplating or regurgitating or sumfin.

Peace Always

99. Michael McCabe

Noticed Joe Walsh Further up off topic. So I could not help myself. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F1uWA7VPGiE

100. Michael McCabe

KOKO and Robin Williams. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nQpBvsNzON4

101. Brian Doonthetoon

An elderly couple had dinner at another couple’s house, and after eating, the wives left the table and went into the kitchen.

The two gentlemen were talking, and one said, ‘Last week we went out to a new restaurant and it was really great.. I would recommend it.’

The other man said, ‘What is the name of the restaurant?’

The first man thought and thought and finally said, ‘What is the name of that flower you give to someone you love?

You know…. The one that’s red and has thorns.’

‘Do you mean a rose?’

‘That’s the one,’ replied the man.

He then turned towards the kitchen and yelled, ‘Rose, what’s the name of that restaurant we went to last night?’

102. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

You can’t argue with a sick mind

KOKO indeed!

Peace,Love and Primates

103. Thepnr

Do you remember this one on Off Topic Michael?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wN3bcE7ldHg

104. Chic McGregor

I think if KOKO was Scottish she’d be going apeshit and considering suing UKOK for trademark infringement.

105. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Hi Alex I don’t remember it on off-topic. I liked the film though. my favourite Robin Williams film is The Big White. Hope you and yours are doing well.

106. yesindyref2

Just saw this on Rev’s twitter thing

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CwSk1rfWEAAJ3jx.jpg

107. Smallaxe

A Glasgow couple go to the circus,trapeze artist,clowns,performing dogs and lion tamers.
    Then the Ringmaster brings out a big ugly bad tempered donkey
    and offers a hundred quid to anybody who can ride it without being thrown,three times round the ring.

The wee Glasgow fella shouts “a’ wull ride it”so he’s escorted
    Into the ring and jumps on the donkey’s back.The donkey bucks, jumps and bucks again and again but the wee guy hings oan and
    Gets it roon the ring 3 times,collects his money and goes back up to his seat.

His wife looks at him in amazement and says “Bobby wer did you learn tae ride like that” he says “dae ye mind thone time you hid the hoopin’ cough!

Peace Always

108. Liz g

Smallaxe @ a friend who listens from a friend who noticed.
    Thank You,for being around.
    But you must know I keep odd hours.
    Don’t get too tired.
    Take care of you. X

109. yesindyref2

I knew the media was biased a long long time ago.

I didn’t realise some of it was so thick and blind, they can’t even read.

https://twitter.com/LeaskyHT/status/793910390078013441

compared with Education Scotland “Education Scotland is the national body in Scotland for supporting quality and improvement in learning and teaching. ”

http://www.educationscotland.gov.uk/crimeandlaw/criminaljusticesystem/courts/index.asp

I think they should allow some journalists to resit P1.

I’m genuinely shocked.

110. Smallaxe

Thanks Liz,no problem.

Now I lay me down to rest
    Just in ma pants
    And a wee warm vest
    I wish you all
    A good good night
    Before I talk some
    Some awful sh:te

Emdy buddy goat a lullaby ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace and Love to All

111. Liz g

Smallaxe
    Night Hun sweet dreams to you both.

112. yesindyref2

Anyway, back to normal. Keep sight of the objective, don’t get sidetracked, never mind the journos, I’ve just got to

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JuF0WG3wZdo

113. CameronB Brodie

That Loki certainly needs to get away from the money-set.

Loki, if it isn’t already obvious, my geek-out is directed at you. Your quest is unneccessary, the knowledge you seek is already in use. Your getting your chain pulled bud, in pubic. Get a grip!

114. CameronB Brodie

He’s not the only one I’m working on though. ,)

115. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

Cameron,put him down,you never know where he’s been.
    On second thoughts…..

Peace Always

116. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    I grew up near a beach. I suppose old habits die hard.

117. Tinto Chiel

Yes, Chic, AC/DC were never the same without Snakehips Bon Scott. He was a very bad man, and that’s a compliment.

I hope Paula managed to centre her Om. Pity she can’t CENTRE THE ASH TRAY ON THE BLOODY KITCHEN TABLE.

Sorry, don’t know what came over me there.

Anyhow, too early for cheese? It takes a lot of talent to take a strange vocal style and a moothie to produce a classic. Mind you, Mr Mercer could do the lyrics rather well.

I give you the Burt Lancaster of pop…….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQF-VsbMfDA

Ian B: I’m not on SM but I signed your petition in the virtual world, i.e. ma heid.

It’s a bliddy disgrace, soanitis!

118. Tinto Chiel

Sorry I snapped, Paula. Don’t know what came over me. I’ve been under a lot of pressure lately what with this pink strip hing and the royal baby having nappy rash.

I know you like a good Om so knock yourself out:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eab_beh07HU

119. CameronB Brodie

I had the perfect one in mind for any and all pussy lovers out there but I cant find “Cat Religion”. ๐Ÿ™

120. Nana

@Smallaxe

Noticed you did not get the kettle on this morning, hoping you are ok?

121. CameronB Brodie

The thing that makes “Cat Religion” suitable for all is that it has no lyrics. It contains no ideology, barriers to it’s accessibility have been lessened and it’s meaning is more open to local interpretation. The double bass is also pretty cool and there’s a purring kitty to boot. What’s not to like. :0

122. CameronB Brodie

Conversely, the unitary state of Britain is unsuited to the needs of Scotland. Despite this, considerable effort is being made to assert British nationalist ideology on Scotland. and a great effort is being made to hinder local interpretation of what it means to be Scots. This is not cool.

123. CameronB Brodie

That’s just in case some folk are asleep up the back.

124. CameronB Brodie

yesindyref2
    It’s cool for cats, innit? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Here’s something silly.

The Revillos – Hungry For Love
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgSyK_8uWeg

125. CameronB Brodie

I’d ‘moved on’ after their first couple of albums but I think there’s good stuff through most of their work. Getting right back into them though.

The B-52’s – Good Stuff
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xqfL6_6qEJY

126. CameronB Brodie

Sorry to keep going on about this but I put a considerable amount of effort in to learning about the form and function of social space. We were generally encouraged to plan ideology it out of the environment.

I’m not suggesting we should abandon best practice but I’d rather have Scottish ideology shaping my Scottish environment.

Is ideology bad?
    http://www.timoroso.com/journal/17

127. CameronB Brodie

Iโ€™m not suggesting we should abandon best practice but Iโ€™d rather have Scottish ideology shaping my Scottish environment.

I’m not suggesting we abandon best practice but what makes Scotland British, other than ideology.

128. CameronB Brodie

Are the cultural links across our borders that poor that they would wither in the absence of British nationalist ideology?

129. CameronB Brodie

I don’t know if you’ll remember me mentioning Scotland had been “internally colonised” and that there are doubts over the effectiveness of post-colonial theory as a de-colonising force.

http://sdonline.org/55/toward-a-new-theory-of-internal-colonialism1/

130. Tinto Chiel

That was an interesting article, CameronB. Of course, it was mainly about the African American situation but it is clear that Scottish society still struggles with the attempts to colonise us “in the mind”, a much cheaper and slyer option than bringing the tanks to Berwick.

Of course, if you mention the C-Word, there is much frothing: look what happened to Alasdair Gray when he mentioned the effects on Scottish cultural life of mainly Oxbridge-type appointments to public bodies over the years.

Of course, colonising in the mind has gone on for generations in Scottish Universities, particularly in the disciplines of Scottish History and Literature, where the Yoon Version has been almost exclusively perpetuated, something which has only recently improved.

And then we have the wider, masochistic Jockholm Syndrome where the more we are exploited/disregarded/insulted, the more some of us queue up for more:

“More hot, sneering contempt for your humble pie, Sweaty?”

“Whenever you see fit, thanks.”

As they say in Kirriemuir, “Zut alors!”

131. CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
    The mechanics of the internal colonisation process may be different but it’s the outcomes that matters. That’s a pretty informed perspective I’ve offered. Got a better one? ๐Ÿ™‚

132. Tinto Chiel

Or you can just go head-down wham bam with Bon.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_bP6aVG6L1w

Works for me…

133. CameronB Brodie

At least the world of academia appears to think an analysis through theories of internal colonisation may be applicable.

Reviewed Work: Internal Colonialism: The Celtic Fringe in British National Development, 1536-1966

https://www.jstor.org/stable/25529218

https://www.ocf.berkeley.edu/~stonerjw/celt_bib.html

134. Tinto Chiel

Now this is nice:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_NGTsdL2YzE

I feel better now.

135. Brian Doonthetoon

Somebody mentioned Stanley Unwin yesterday but I can’t recall whether it was in ‘off-topic’ or on a main page.

Onnyhoo, this may tickle your humour gland.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/road-to-dundee

136. Tinto Chiel

I wasn’t disagreeing with you, Cameron. We can see the result of internal colonisation around us every day: they are called Unionists. The Scottish bourgeoisie, particularly in the Law, Church and Education, have done very well from the Union and have defended their position at the expense of the rest of us for a long time.

137. CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
    I’m not trying to win an argument with you, just making sure you understood where I was coming from. You’ve got it exactly. It’s their habitus that holds Scotland back and makes Whitehall very happy.

I suppose giving up filthy habit isn’t always that easy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

138. Tinto Chiel

Yes, Cameron, agreed, and I have tried to take a leaf out of Yesindyref2’s constructive book and now try to engage Unionists with my gentle nudge, nudge, wink, wink, suggestive digestive overtures to see things from the right end of the telescope, but closed minds abound, as they did on the doorstep in 2014.

I can’t even read the btl sections of Hootsmon, Herald etc. without reacting badly. Those who continue to fight the good fight there have my admiration, but I get too worked up and depressed at the same time. When I have strayed unwisely by a link to the Daily Mail/Express, I feel I need a brainshower. Grisly.

Now I know how the Nazis took over Germany, a highly cultured nation which was a leader in science, maths, psychology, music, literature und so weiter but which still fell under the spell of racist totalitarianism.

And it can happen in the UK, and would have happened if there had been a successful Nazi invasion in 1940/41. The Royal Family and the aristocracy would have “come to terms” pdq and the rest of us would have been fecked. And now we have poppy fascism.

Thanks for that bibliography. Excellent stuff for the winter evenings.

139. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    That was Dave, the cheeky sod. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Postmodernism, Post-Fordism, and Critical Social Theory

Abstract

The relationship between the transformation of advanced capitalist societies from Fordism to post-Fordism and the simultaneous rise within these societies of postmodern culture is investigated. In art and architecture the exhaustion of high-modernist aesthetic progressivism resulted in a postmodern โ€˜conditionโ€™ of โ€˜free disposabilityโ€™ of aesthetic materials which was furthered by societal developments such as the dissolution of the Fordist model of standardized consumption into diversified and aesthetizised consumption, the rise of an experimenting culture industry after the youth revolt of the 1960s, the growth of the service class, and the advent of โ€˜disposabilityโ€™ in regard to ways and styles of living. In social philosophy a general delegitimation of the grand narratives of progress and emancipation occurred as โ€˜high-Fordismโ€™ gave way to stagnating โ€˜late-Fordismโ€™ and fragmented โ€˜post-Fordismโ€™. In this process the technocraticโ€“statist narrative of Fordism itself and the labor utopia of the industrial working class lost credibility, without any emergence of convincing utopian or grand reformist alternatives. The spatial (globalโ€“local) aspects of these transformations are emphasized and the paper concludes with some left-critical considerations which stress the democratic potential of postmodernism and its openness towards local alliances protective against the powers of global capitals and centralized states.

http://epd.sagepub.com/content/6/3/339.abstract

https://caringlabor.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/methodology-of-the-oppressed-chela-sandoval.pdf

btw, the other night’s outburst happened as I was wondering how to handle quoting extended bloxs of text. Split them or leave as is?

140. CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
    Fear of change is a terrible beast. You’ll never change closed minds, especially those who shun difference. Thankfully, I think Scots are a culturally progressive people. We simply need the liberty to express our creativity and ambitions.

I’ve encamped myself here for the duration.

141. CameronB Brodie

Not that we are under guard but we certainly don’t have our inalienable “Right to Development” respected.

142. Tinto Chiel

CameronB: your Right to Development Right should be a killer argument but it seems some inalienable rights can be set aside when it doesn’t suit.

I get a bit cynical/pissed off some times at all this.

“Iโ€™ve encamped myself here for the duration.”

Good news: I have a primus stove, Paula likes a beef sausage and BDDT can do the disco under the marquee.

Problem solved, Alba!

143. CamronB Brodie

Re. th “Right to Development”. Agreed. The principle should still count for something though. Perhaps stir a desire for equality?

144. CameronB Brodie

For the future.

Bob Marley – Get up, stand up
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F69PBQ4ZyNw

145. Tinto Chiel

Hope Smallaxe is listening.

We need to awaken the No voters to the fact that their rights as SCOTS are being trampled underfoot. If they take the view that that’s ok, we’re in for the long haul, i.e. after I’ve departed.

146. CameronB Brodie

Human rights and environmental quality kind of go hand-in-hand.

147. CameronB Brodie

Did I mention human rights and environmental quality are intrinsically linked?

148. Tinto Chiel

As for the long haul……

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4piHt4jvG4

Wish I could play bass like M. J-J B.

149. Tinto Chiel

Some philosophy;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5UfE2BbYSQ

And them some great lyrics with a hook to match:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fm5rMu3Wtr4

Night, all.

150. CameronB Brodie

Thanks for the bleather. ๐Ÿ˜‰

151. David

Deep joy, Brian Doonthetoon, deep joy indeed!

(Have we got any singers mad/brave enough to record that? ๐Ÿ˜‰

In return, here is another mangler of the English language, Kenneth Williams as Rambling Syd Rumpo:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=013O6kAa3Yg

The record has a great start:
    “Tonight I shall have great pleasure, but first of all I’d like to sing you a few songs…”

152. CameronB Brodie

That one kept cutting out on me, so just in case. Let’s turn to the UKOK colour spectrum so we can see more detail, while we’re at it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8NAikcQtuz4

153. CameronB Brodie

While WE’re at it?

Gary Clail / On-U Sound System – Two Thieves And A Liar
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fr8qltw4BXA

154. Paul Wright

Paula Rose is no more.

155. CamernoB Brodie

@ town planners of a yoon persuasion
    You can turn profession into service….

156. Brian Doonthetoon

Jeez, Paul! What have you done with her?

Her disappearance could be – nay, is – bigger than Brexit!

157. CameronB Brodie

Paul Wright
    Are you still talking to us then?

158. Paul Wright

YES – of course I’m still me xx

159. CameronB Brodie

Gotcha. I’ve never spoken to the tosser before. Who are you?

160. CameronB Brodie

Sorry Paula that was perhaps a bit obscure.

161. CameronB Brodie

Paula Whatever
    Does that mean I’m no longer welcome at the punishment couching sessions? Paranoid, me?

Sorry, if I keep saying things like that folk might start wondering about me. ๐Ÿ™‚

162. Brian Doonthetoon

What do you mean, “start”?

8=)

163. Liz g

Paul Wright @ 11.39

But that would mean… nobody would ever be taken aside at Wing’s events and asked the now iconic question.

You Do Know About Paula Rose Don’t You?

164. Brian Doonthetoon

Well, these well known characters will miss Paula Rose – they were always shouting for her…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=As5pYsuZlqU

165. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Sorry to be all serious Brian but there’s a good bit of self-harm in there, IMHO. That’s the insidious nature of symbolic violence. That was funny the first time but it undermines our cultural identity. The guys were most probably completely oblivious of this while it was being scripted, perhaps not. When selected for broadcast?

How many times do you see positive Scottish role-models on-screen? About something you want to watch?

166. Dave McEwan Hill

Did I put this fabulous thing up already.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-c9-poC5HGw

167. Chic McGregor

Tinto,

‘Zut alors’?
    Never heard that in Kirrie.

Now:
    ‘Fit like’?
    or
    ‘Awa yer talkin’ pish.’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h6zcir-IFdM

Still, ye redeemed yersel wi anither Bon vid. ๐Ÿ™‚

168. Chic McGregor

Here is one I might have posted here before.
    I found it comforting in the immediate aftermath of indyref1.
    It is by Scottish lass Jo Hamilton, although now based in England and private school educated it still has Celtic undertones.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fhSZVDPCog

169. Michael McCabe

Did I leave my Kazoo in here ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0CTU8mDmN34

170. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    I do appreciate it’s a reflection of what goes on but is it helpful.

171. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Meaning, meaning, meaning.

I meant did it show considered appraisal by the BBC? Grouse?

Very useful here though, thanks.

172. Paula Rose

Fab event in Brechin on Tuesday – just ask.

173. Michael McCabe

@ Smallaxe here is another lost Bob Dylan Song for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ASqEUAy7CKM

174. cearc

Paul/a,

If you think that a sex change is going to get you out of washing up and ashtray emptying, think again!

Now clean up this mess, it’s been busy in here.

175. Ca,eronB Brodie

I was lucky I got this message when young. Peep them then switch them off, then peep them some more.

Bob Marley – Could you be loved
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZnMNnO7vQB4

176. CameronB Brodie

Has post-modern critical social theory just gone feral in Scotland? I wonder how that will turn out man. And woman Reg. ๐Ÿ˜‰

177. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

I have to admit that I’m totally lost with your comments in response to my post at 7.36pm last night, where I provided this link:-

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/road-to-dundee

My post was purely in response to the mention of ‘Stanley Unwin’, a day or two ago. I wasn’t trying to enter the discussion that you and Tinto Chiel were having last night.

I don’t understand your comments,
    “Sorry to be all serious Brian but thereโ€™s a good bit of self-harm in there, IMHO”,

“The guys were most probably completely oblivious of this while it was being scripted, perhaps not. When selected for broadcast?
    How many times do you see positive Scottish role-models on-screen? About something you want to watch?”

and
    “I meant did it show considered appraisal by the BBC? Grouse?”

On the page I linked to, I did type,
    “Here are two versions of “The Road And The Miles To Dundee”.
    The first is a ‘normal’ version, sung by various folk singers over the years – and Andy Stewart!”

and
    “The next version was inspired by the late, great ‘Professor’ Stanley Unwin and an over-indulgence of vodka ‘n’ cola one evening in 2006.
    I just wondered how it would read in Unwinese.
    It helps if you are aware of Stanley Unwin and imagine that he is saying the words as you read them…”

and
    “ยฉDoon the Toon 2006”

I think, perchance, you read too much into my 7.36pm post?

178. CameronB Brodie

Dare you? Don’t get the wrong idea, I always try to aim out the tent.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdVMQbZwP-0

179. Tinto Chiel

Chic: re zut alors…

I believe there is a small, French speaking enclave to the SE of Kirrie, dating from the aftermath of the Battle of Bauge (nay acutes in this field), when a few survivors returned with some exotic French dancers.

Love the TiS clip. In my faves now. I hear what you mean about Jo Hamilton.

So what’s happening in Brechin on Tuesday, Paula?

180. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    No mate, I was talking about the puppets. I had one or two things on the go at the time. Sorry, I apologies to the owners of any toes I may have stepped on.

Also, I’m not sure I’m following you. Deal with when fresh?

181. Tinto Chiel

David, just seen your 10.50: ah, the sublime R S Rumpo.

Marty Feldman wrote some great stuff for Round the Horne. My favourite was Kenneth’s remark after a Fiona&Charles sub-Brief Encounter sketch:

“Ah, they knew how to make films in those days: they just didn’t bother.”

Ooh, in’ee bold!

182. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    I think the penny has dropped for me, I’m knackered.

Mock self-deprivation. Taking the whatever out of my often poor writting skills. I should probably stop that sort of thing eh. ๐Ÿ˜‰

183. CameronB Brodie

I hope I’m proof you don’t have to be able to spell in order to understand.

184. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

Ah- the Gaelic sock puppets…

The only reason I posted that was because of the “Paula! Paula!” calling. However, re: the plot of the clip.

A few years ago, a pal of mine went to visit her sister, who had moved to Killin with her partner. She spent the weekend.

After she’d come back to Dundee, she said to me, “Know how people go on about the tang of highland air? Well, that smell is hash, coz there’s absolutely nothing to do except go to the pub and/or get stoned so you can smell it on the breeze.”

Hence my liking for that sock puppet sketch.

185. Fred

Just checking what you lot get up to in here! “Ashokan Farewell” just beautiful. Love it! Thanks Tinto.

186. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    I got the Paula Paula, which was funny, I was trying to highlight the context – it was symbolic violence, IMHO.

187. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Also Brian, I had purposefully wrongly accused Dave of slagging my English skills by posting Stanley Unwin – hope you appreciated that Dave – so that I could start a running gag.

I’ve been trying to create the correct environment for myself, pretty much from my first presence. Trying to construct resilience in the team. Hope you don’t mind, I’ve been winging it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

188. Tinto Chiel

Fred: glad you popped in. I would say remember to wipe your feet when you leave but it would only upset A Certain Someone! Paul(a)’s gaff’s in a bit of a state at the moment and there was a bombshell last night I’m trying to pretend never happened.

I find O/T can be nice to relax in, especially when you get pissed off/frustrated at the slow rate of knots of HMS Independence. Plus folk keep playing the good stuff. And (obviously) talk a lot of blethers, especially at three in the morning or when Mrs TC’s watching the box set of “Gray’s Lobotomy”.

As for the Farewell, Jay Ungar made a remark along the lines of “This is what happens when a Jewish guy from Brooklyn plays Niel Gow.”

When you come back could you bring some fish paste pieces?

It’s a pretty klassy joint.

189. Fred

I suppose it is Friday Tinto. Last Friday I had “poached” & poached salmon fae the Clyde. Chust sublime with salad n new totties.

190. Chic McGregor

My niece’s husband’s brother is called Paul Wright.
    He is a film director.

We are going to her younger sister’s wedding tomorrow.

191. Paul Wright

Yes – when his movie came out with the attendant publicity I got a few congratulatory emails from folk I hadn’t heard from in ages. No-one ever confused me with the footballer of the same name – I’ve always been hopeless at ball games.

Give him my regards.

192. Dave McEwan Hill

Alistair MacKinnon who pulled together the fringe meeting at SNP conference on the medical use of cannabis and the production of industrial hemp will be chatting to me tonight on my Roundabout programme (7pm – 8pm) on Argyll Independent Radio http://www.argyllradio.co.uk

193. David

We interrupt this Off-Topic for some Shakespeare (or is it McGonagall):

O Paul Wright-o, Wright-o! wherefore art thou Paul Wrighty-o?
    Deny yir faither an refuse to be tame;
    …blah blah, Montague, Capulet…
    Ahem, what’s in a name?

A Paula Rose by any other name would smell as sweet,
    But without the heels s/he’s more petite.
    Around the world the people are keeking
    At all the events s/he’s brought to Brechin.

Wee Ginger Dug, Dr Craig Dalzell,
    Speakers on fire and raising hell.
    Paula keeps the flame of Indy burning,
    (And it’s for her Tartan Tory is yearning.)

But now, alas, the comic construct is gone,
    Saint Kilda’s finest will be moving on.
    No more to wind up naughty John McTernan,
    No more enchanting Lord Darling in ermine.

We’ll all miss Paula, but not to worry,
    There’s a farewell party, I’m bringing curry.
    So rearrange the chairs in the Palmhouse please,
    As we welcome Paul and put him at ease.

194. Paul Wright

Careful David I’m as sentimental as she is *dabs eye with hankie*

195. Tinto Chiel

Hi, Paul. O/T will never be the same now.

Surely you might, em, want to rethink the gravatar now?

*backs out gingerly*

btw, Dave McEwan Hill, I sent a link of your choir to my daughter who runs one and she was most impressed. Great stuff.

196. Liz g

Has anyone seen Smallaxe around?
    Haven’t seen a post from him for a while?

197. Paul Wright

Tinto Chiel this is a new campaign not a re-run – if you’d like Paula to ensconce herself here then she might agree, for me now it is a matter of getting our world sorted and I’m very very serious about that.

198. Tinto Chiel

Paul: fair enough. I wasn’t up to speed on your campaign. Good luck to you, and to us all.

Liz: I think Smallaxe had a hospital appointment a couple of days ago.

Hope you’re just a bit tired, Smallaxe and that you like this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qRKNw477onU

199. Thepnr

@Paul Wright

What the Fuck!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMQ0Ryy01yE

200. Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

Excellent! You are correct. Yes are On The Road Again and about time.

Check out the suits.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0sB3Fjw3Uvc

201. Tinto Chiel

Thepnr: yes indeed, I love that vid, the prowling routine and saturated colours, wee Alan “Bambi” Price on the kbs.

Mind you, you wouldn’t want to spill Eric Burdon’s pint, would you? Or big Chas Chandler’s, for that matter.

I feel we are on the move. The complications of Brexit are unravelling and there lots of unintended consequences. Fallon’s behaviour on the MT was pathetic and surely the folk on Clydeside can see that? Now you see it, now you don’t jobs? Whispering (in this case) wolf only works for a short time.

202. Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

I watched that Fallon cip and laughed my arse off. He was pathetic and needed his young lady minder to step in for him.

They are on the run!

On a different, last week myself, Paula Rose, BrianDoonTheToon and Ronnie Anderson decided to join the Yes N.E. Fife cavalcade on a drive of miles around the ward.

There were about 20 cars bedecked in wee Saltires and other emblems of Independence along with a half dozen of the Yes Bikers. It was a great laugh just watching the faces of folk as we drove through small villages and large towns.

Some smiled and waved others gave the two fingered salute!

One thing is for sure though NE Fife folk now know that Yes haven’t gone away and we’re “back on the road again”.

This is an old corny number from 1973 that makes my point ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aTbBvPoxUkk

203. Fred

Trying to find out if I won the SNP Conference Raffle but no joy?

204. Tinto Chiel

Wow! Lobo! I’d forgotten about him/them. What a hair style! But then I’m only jealous, he has hair.

Your Fife cavalcade reminded me of the Yes campaign, when we were dispatched to Larkhall one day in an official black Yes van with loudspeakers blaring out Indy songs. I was in the back with a lovely lady from Lewis when we got stuck at the lights.

Out of a house bedecked with BAs came a fag-wielding woman who gave us plenty of the old lateral-arm-and-elbow-action. LLL turned to me and said, “Well, that’s not a very nice lady, is it?”

Priceless.

205. Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

My favourite memory of last weekend was an older lady and she was a lady at a mini roundabout in Crail, she watched about 4 of the Yes cars go through then mine and she took and hands from the steering wheel, clamped them over her head and silently screamed something.

I took it as meaning she didn’t want another referendum.

Then though there was a quite affluent middle aged couple in the High Street of St Andrews who smiled, waved and gave us a big thumbs up.

It is true that some despair at the though of Indyref2 but it is equally true that some rejoice at the thought of having a second go at ridding ourselves of the midden that is Westminster.

At this stage just being visible is enough, I literally can feel the change in atmosphere, Yessers are getting more upbeat and those that voted No, well heads are dropping.

I bumped into an old Yes supporting friend today, quite well known to Wingers, everyday during the campaign and after he displayed Yes on his car, his attire and even his work gear,. He gave up for four months recently through referendumitis. Glad to report that he is fully recovered and was proudly wearing his Yes badges again today.

We’re on the move.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b42ck7iaLb4

206. Tinto Chiel

Loved The Move, Thepnr.

When I left school in ’72, I think this was their last record before the ELO. Not an all-time classic but for some reason it stuck in the mind: me and my mates contemplated playing it at amateur night in the local pub. Thank God we were turned down by the Ents manager:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jMO44KZodxs

We have a Leith anthem, of course, which may come in handy:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEzLTSF6XaU

๐Ÿ˜‰

207. Tinto Chiel

fts: Bev Bevan of The Move, ELO.

Quite a drummer!

208. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel & Thepnr/Alex.

This is one of my favourite two Move singles. (The other is ‘Blackberry Way’.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSj37d8D-Rs

209. Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

Well, how ignorant am I? Had no idea that Roy Wood of Wizard and Jeff Lynne of ELO were even around in 1972 producing records.

As a special tribute to Leith here’s one you will NOT have saw before as a gift from the fowk in Dundee ๐Ÿ™‚

Before you watch this, turn the volume up full, get it on full screen and get the hankies oot lol. You too Michael McCabe.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SwC6F9EKxuc

210. Brian Doonthetoon

Why is it, that in the olden days, you would click on “Submit Comment”, the page would refresh and you would see your comment in place on the page within a maximum of 20 seconds but nowadays, with the improvements in technology, it can take 20 minutes for your comment to appear in place?

Onnyhoo, there’s a scandalous urban myth that’s been going around for years that the first record played on the first morning of Radio 1 was “Flowers In The Rain” by The Move.

WRONG!

Get the real story at this link:-

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/text-documents-01

211. Tinto Chiel

Brian: haven’t heard Tonight since I don’t know when. BW has always been a favourite. Did they ever get as far as Dundee or did you ever come across them?

Always loved SoL, Thepnr. I know fitba’ is usually off limits here but as a ‘Well fan I always admired Hibs footballing style. Hearts in the 50s were brilliant too: didn’t see them myself but old Dossers fans told me how good they were.

As for the Dundee teams, my first floodlight game was a ‘Well V Dundee floodlight match in the cup in the early Sixties. It was the great league-winning Dundee team and they beat the Ancell Babes 2-4. Awesome.

And The Arabs? Well, when we won the cup, my abiding memory is of their fans congratulating us when they must have felt like shit, ‘cos they hadn’t won the cup at all at that stage. I will always remember their gubbing of Barcelona at the Nou Camp.

Right, no more football.

BTW, that Stranglers Skin Deep track I parked here last night: hadn’t heard it since it came out originally. Boy, it describes the Blair generation, does it not?

You know, the superficial sociopaths who are busy fecking up our world.

Bitter, me? just a tad.

Night all. Great to talk to you dudes.

212. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Haha, Brian that was a great read. well who knew eh it was a crap Dundee band that first played on Radio 1. Cheers.

Here’s the third after the move. Bee Gees, very good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WhGbWCH6IPE

By the way will you stop winding up Rock ๐Ÿ™‚

213. Ian Brotherhood

Just catching up after a few days…

Man alive, what a frisky discourse! All-sorts going on, and a good few valuable links I’m planking away for my personal use (aye, youse two, TC and CamB).

But before I forget, Smallaxe, yer soo-perb ‘hoopin cough’ story reminded me of one which you’ll surely know, but survives re-telling:

The elderly couple are regulars in the front row at the kirk, have been for decades. They’re suffering in silence, as usual, along with a’body else…

Hoping to add some excitement to the morning, the man gently elbows his wife and whispers, ‘I just did a silent fart!’

After a diplomatic pause she elbows him back and replies, ‘Thanks for reminding me – you need a new battery for that hearing aid.’

214. Brian Doonthetoon

This link provides even more intriguing background…

http://dundee3js.freeforums.org/post2316.html#p2316

215. Brian Doonthetoon

Och Alex, Rock just asks for it! He’s (insert personal description)…

216. Michael McCabe

If we are talking about the Proclaimers. here is my Fav. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PTRzvmxsci0

217. Thepnr

Welcome back Ian, got any tunes ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve one for you, another Dundee present.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZnugxypE4Pc

218. David

Brian Doonthetoon, if I need emergency ear surgery after listening to the Portsmouth Sinfonia, you’ll be getting the bill ๐Ÿ™‚

They do to music what Scottish Labour do to politics:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-wiRivDMIYM

—————-

For those finding Paula Rose’s departure hard to accept, it was predicted in the final scene of Billy Wilder’s movie “some Like It Hot”.
    Jack Lemmon plays Paula Rose/Paul Wright, and Joe E Brown plays a typical Winger:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CYUfPTeE0DM

219. Thepnr

Great song Michael, here are The Proclaimers with the same song and saying why it was written. Good songs are worth sharing twice ๐Ÿ™‚

If you listen right at the beginning you will here Craig say:

“Towards the end of next year there will be a vote on whether Scotland goes Independent or not. I don’t know how it’s gonna go but I hope it does. This song was written many years ago on that subject and it’s called…”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wRfgCg8pLYA

220. Thepnr

@David

Your Jack Lemmon clip was a hoot, I’ve known Paula/Paul for a few years now as have many other Wingers.

I not sure though what the plan is for this change of character.Paula has always been a character and an asset to the Yes movement. Might even start a bring back Paula Rose campaign.

221. yesindyref2

Interesting times. I might be talking a load of proverbial, but it seems to me the H is steadily moving towards Indy, and it’s even possible that decision was made some time ago. Even Leask’s one-sided article last week could be a good move. The anti-Indy mob are getting worse and worse, really quite “vile” in their attacks, and if we could completely clean up our act, proactively as well by pulling up anyone who goes over the top, we could take and keep the high ground, leaving the anti-Indy nasties swimming around in their own filth.

I also think the T26 announcement of a future announcement has backfired spendidly for Fallon, with Mundell alongisde looking like a pet wally dog complete with wallies as a crown, and wasn’t Bernard Ponsonby a total hero – again.

But we need to keep our act clean as a washed and powdered baby’s bum. Incidentally, I support the change, we’re in the end game, but would like to see Paula posting occasionally!

Well, before back to bed after a Rothesay 28th wedding anniversary day oot, but afore I go:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-4pw31njqio

222. Smallaxe

liz g: Nana,et al

Have had no Wi Fi,I’m ok,will be back asap.

Things happen to happen when there happening.

๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

223. Betty Boop

Oh jings… I hope Paula hasn’t left the country!!! Who is going to advise on the make up palette and matching nail polish???

I’ll miss those girly night-ins, heels swapped for carpet socks (always sparkly ones), chillin’ with a rosรฉ or three…
    and there were the dancin’ lessons…

Aww, pop back now and again and bring Paul ๐Ÿ™‚ – he is such fun and always adds to the cultural scene.

Missing you already!

224. Liz g

Morning Smallaxe
    Thanks for letting us know your ok
    Take care of yourself X

Tinto Chiel
    That was a great link about the history of Scottish soldiers.
    Thank you.
    Have only got as far a the Queen Victoria bit but it’s fascinating and quite an eye opener.

Although it’s a bit like reading AAV, really makes you appreciate the Revs insistence on paragraph breaks.

It also got me thinking what High School History lessons will look like after we are Independent!

225. Nana

@Smallaxe

Good to hear from you.

Now what’s all this about Paula Rose leaving. Has she been upset by anyone in here? Have folks been keeping the place tidy? Is she flouncing off?

But most importantly has she left me a pair of her highest heels??

226. CameronB Brodie

Paul Wright
    Sorry Paul, I’d completely missed you coming out. Have I mised the party?

227. Tinto Chiel

Hi, Liz. You’re welcome. Yes,it’s difficult to read because of the layout, as you say. You can still find the wee book in second-hand bookshops like Calton Books. Don’t pay over the odds for it, though. I once saw it for sale for ยฃ55 on Amazon! Mine cost well under a tenner. The author was an ex-Cameronian, from memory, and felt very strongly about the subject. Not sure what a “real” historian like Trevor Royle would make of it……ahem.

Morning, Smallaxe. Glad it was just wifi probs and you’re On The Road Again.

228. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

RE: expensive books. I’ve just finished “Snapshot” by Craig Robertson. Glasgow’s “lost village” of Grahamston, which disappeared under the first (northmost) part of Central Station in the 1870s, is central to the story.

I’d never heard of Grahamston so went a-Googling. Interesting stuff…

http://www.abandonedcommunities.co.uk/grahamston.html

http://www.grahamston.com/

http://www.independent.co.uk/travel/uk/hidden-glasgow-craig-robertsons-macabre-mystery-tour-10496547.html

There are loads more links but my final one is to Amazon, where you can buy the paperback “Glasgow’s Forgotten Village: The Grahamston Story”, mentioned in the second link above. It was published in 2002. It can be yours for, wait for it…

ยฃ170.32!

http://tinyurl.com/z8hnz25

229. Tinto Chiel

I’d never heard of Grahamston either, Brian. Those wee links were very interesting. The Kirklee tunnel is a popular “secret” rendezvous and quite spooky. The Gothy wee kids like it to hang out in, I hear.

Then there’s the strange torture room supposedly discovered during renovation of the Central Station hotel…..

And the locomotive supposedly lying at the bottom of the Daer reservoir….

This one is true, though:

http://www.abandonedcommunities.co.uk/bothwellhaugh4.html

ยฃ170 is pushing it a bit, eh? Someone’s got a brass kneck for such a recent book.

230. K1

‘By focusing on prospects for psychic emancipation, Sandoval summons a new subject capable of love, hope, and transfor- mative resistance.’

I’m feasting on your link Cameron…(innuendo laden not intentional ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

231. CameronB Brodie

K1
    As Bob said “half the story has never been told”. Glad you’re enjoying the enlightened analysis of the post-modern condition.

Don’t give up the fight ’cause I never give up. ๐Ÿ˜‰

232. Tinto Chiel

I’ve chosen this track ‘cos of all the intellectuals here. It’s got Spanish subtitles an’ that, but also a great guitar riff.

And it’s very old.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=On_68Zzyef4

And I have donned my psychedelic loon pants for one of my favourite mid-sixties tracks. The lyrics bear examination, imo.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J9tnCrTdakA

Hope this stimulates dialectic.

233. Paula Rose

That’s it I’m divorcing my other half – now where were we oh yes song time…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V6zf7P8eTRI

234. Tinto Chiel

Stay strong, Paula. Syd’s not worth it…..

Or is he?

235. Bob Sinclair

Ok, so it started as an ‘off the cuff’ casual remark on twitter, but this might have some fun mileage:

The ‘Wings Over Scotland Easter Ball’

Anyone else interested in getting this up & running. Venue TBC, but our Paula Rose reckons the mighty metropolis of Brechin has suitable venues.

236. Tinto Chiel

The only train to catch, imo:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpZHUVjQydI

Sorry, have to go out and nadger my tups.

237. Tinto Chiel

Finished: no mess, no fuss.

Off for my Horlicks.

Jimi’s staying up though:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XpZHUVjQydI

Unbelievable, but amazing drumming too to keep up. Well done, Mitch.

238. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

Interesting stuff re: Bothwellhaugh in the link from your 11.15 post this morning.

RE: jazz musicians. This is from the link I gave in my further post about Johnny Duckworth at 11.37pm last night.

I quote from my link there (mentioning Johnny DANKWORTH):-

“Funnily enough, one of Dankworth’s musicians, who was with his band for many years, was trumpet player Jimmy Deuchar.
    Mr Deuchar was born in Dundee in 1930, which would, chronologically, have made him a prime candidate for involvement in Duckworth’s orchestra. Although much research has been carried out, no connection has been found linking Deuchar to Duckworth. However, his connection with Dankworth has been well documented over the years.”

Here’s one of the links:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzXslx1loo0

You can get all the other info on Jimmy Deucher at my link from last night:-

239. CameronB Brodie

Is he trained to think in four-dimensional Euclidean space?

Messer Chumps – Sex euro Elvis pop
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XPZNqYALH0U

240. CameronB Brodie

That was me chucking my hat in btw. ๐Ÿ˜‰

241. Tinto Chiel

BDTT: Wow! I found the speed, articulation and sheer skill at keeping it all together quite breathtaking. I remember the name Tubby Hayes vaguely from the sixties but jazz wasn’t my thing then. Amazing footage, so thanks a lot. It made me think, just how do you write this stuff? I must not have a jazz brain.

Have you a potted history of Jimmy? I find these forum layouts quite hard to follow at times. Your link had a copyright block, unfortunately.

242. CameronB Brodie

Insensitive, me? Time waits for nowt and the environment may never change, on it’s own, to suite my requirements. It may never. That’s the way I see things.

You only have one life.

243. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Nice. ๐Ÿ˜‰

244. Tinto Chiel

When I was a diligent student @GU, this guy was up the QM enchanting the Laydees.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WTMyr9x6ZPU&list=RDWTMyr9x6ZPU#t=52

He creates a certain atmosphere, imo.

Hats off, Paul Buchanan.

245. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

Check out the ‘Retro Dundee” links at the link I gave.

Remember to click on the graphics at the Retro Dundee site to get the larger legible versions. However, there seems to be a problem with the graphics enlarging so I’ve emailed retro’s webgaffer to let him know.

You may be able to read the text by ‘zooming in’ if you’re using Firefox.

246. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

Further on your comment about Central Station Hotel at 11.15am this morning.

When I was researching Grahamston, I did a search at ’28 days later’ (urban exploration web site) and this page turned up.

http://www.28dayslater.co.uk/central-hotel-glasgow-sept-2009.t43344

If you scroll down it, you’ll see a pic of a room with razor blades embedded in the walls. Your guess is as good as mine!

247. Tinto Chiel

Getting it all now, Brian. Thanks.

I think I’ve led a boring life…….

๐Ÿ˜›

248. Tinto Chiel

Sorry, posts crossed, Brian.

Thanks, this may be the origin of the “torture chamber”.

Actually, who knows what it might be? A joke?

I’m just a Lanarkshire chiel, no’ a Glaswegian!

“Bitin’ and scartin’ is Scots fowk’s wooin’!” as my paternal grannie used to say.

Sheesh!

249. CameronB Brodie

Thing is, thinking in four-dimensional Euclidean space enables one to plan flexibility into structure. Constructedness with scope, if ye ken fit ah mean.

250. Brian Doonthetoon

See you, CameronB Brodie, I bet you can’t remember the answer to the question, “What’s the difference between a duck?”.

251. CameronB Brodie

252. Brian Doonthetoon

WRONG! I’m sure the answer is in ‘off-topic’, somewhere…

253. Ian Brotherhood

Youse are all pure mental.

Just sayin…

254. CameronB Brodie

Another way of describing thought in four-dimensional Euclidean space is thinking ahead. Simples. Sounded mind-boggling impressive though, eh?

255. Michael McCabe

Scotland’s Story http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uOa64BUV5qU

256. David

Tinto Chiel, CameronB Brodie, I accidentally opened up your youtube links at the same time, so was listening (without realising) to John Coltrane and the Messer Chups at the same time! The resulting sound was actually quite good. ๐Ÿ™‚

Hey CameronB, you’ve only got 2 years until your big 5-0, time to start planning the party, man. Get the Palmhouse booked! ๐Ÿ™‚

In the meantime, please keep posting about human rights, and specifically what the UK has guaranteed to supply to its citizens, by being a signatory to various UN & international treaties.

If the UK isn’t giving us what it committed to giving us, then we need to be either (1) taking UK gov’t to court, or (2) taking ourselves out of the state that is failing us.

257. CameronB Brodie

David
    Oucheroonie. I suppose it take all sorts.

Sorry, I don’t know how to do more than I have i.e. link to the “Right to Development” and the LSE report earlier, which outlined the framework which the World Bank and internal development law operates within.

I’m not even sure if the UK is a signatory and haven’t chased it up. Not my area of expertise mate. I’ll never let it drop though.

258. CameronB Brodie

Michael McCabe
    That was the ticket. Perfect.

259. yesindyref2

Nice little new blog from average. Serious question: who’s side is he on?

260. Anonymous

Have you seen the little piggies
    Crawling in the dirt?
    And for all the little piggies
    Life is getting worse
    Always having dirt to play around in.

Home soon!

Peace Always

261. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Breakfast. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Bob Marley – Redemption Song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kOFu6b3w6c0

262. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

Thank you Cameron,for helping me sing the songs of Freedom
    I will soon be home,not Anonymously.

Rise up this mornin’
    Smiled with the risin’ sun
    Three little birds
    Pitch by my doorstep
    Singin’ sweet songs
    Of melodies pure and true
    Saying’,this is my message to you

Singing’ don’t worry ’bout a thing
    ‘Cause every little thing gonna be alright!

Peace Always ๐Ÿ™‚

263. CameronB Brodie

Cultural systems create genuine, authentic worlds that are experienced as “real.” If this “reality” comes to be questioned seriously, it is a certainty that the culture is on the way to major transformation or collapse.

https://www.culturalsurvival.org/ourpublications/csq/article/cultural-authenticity

264. CamerronB Brodie

Peace Always ?

265. CameronB Brodie

Peace Always ?

266. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

We must come to understand when the staging of authenticity is a destructive force and when it is not.

Peace Always,all ways

267. Tinto Chiel

David: Coltrane and Chups…..

Careful,that way madness lies.

๐Ÿ˜›

268. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    I wouldn’t have thought that easy to judge in an social environment structured through “habitus” and “symbolic violence”.

Peace

269. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

Easily “judged” my friend,when violence “symbolic” or otherwise is avoided at all costs.

Peace Always,all ways

270. CameronB Brodie

Cultures becomes powerless to defend their continued authenticity. I’m certainly not calling for violence but the BBC can do one.

I think Scotland needs to appreciate the threat to it’s cultural integrity. That’s important to sustainable development and the prospects of future generations.

Peace

271. CameronB Brodie

The sustainability paradigm needs four pillars not four candles..

Culture: Forth Pillar of Sustainable Development
    http://www.agenda21culture.net/index.php/docman/-1/393-zzculture4pillarsden/file

The Fourth Pillar of Sustainability: cultureโ€™s essential role inpublic planning
    http://www.culturaldevelopment.net.au/downloads/FourthPillarSummary.pdf

Peace

272. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

I fully agree with you,integrity must be maintained.Goverments decide when war is to be instigated,then their propaganda units (BBC et al) come into play,lying to the electorate and “Othering” the prospective “enemy”.

We (Scotland) are being and have been (“Othered”) for too long.Hopefully,our present situation can be remedied at the ballot box,if not…

“Until the philosophy which holds one race superior and another inferior is finally and permanently discredited and abandoned; That until there are no longer first-class and second-class citizens of any nation; That until the color of a man’s skin is of no more significance than the color of his eyes; That until the basic human rights are equally guaranteed to all without regard to race; That until that day, the dream of lasting peace and world citizenship and the rule of international morality will remain but a fleeting illusion, to be pursued but never attained.”

…We shall defend our Kingdom Nation.

Peace is worth fighting for!

273. CameronB Brodie

Love creates space for the respect of difference and ultimately aids peace.

274. CameronB Brodie

Thing is, were all interconnected through the environment we shape and which we are shaped by. Ideology is not a natural component.

275. Smallaxe

We can love humanity,and dislike individuals who are a part of that humanity.Loving humanity, means loving only one race of people,the Human race.

Peace,for People,for Peace

One Love

276. starlaw

Got stuck behind an Orange Walk in Livingston today.
    If the band were removed there would have only been nine of them marching along. I’m sure her Majesty will be proud of her gallant band of brethren and will sleep easy knowing her realm is safe in their hands.

277. CameonB Brodie

Love creates space for the respect of difference and ultimately aids tolerance and peace through inclusion of all.

278. CameronB Brodie

Love creates space for the respect of difference and ultimately aids tolerance and peace through the inclusion of all.

279. CameronB Brodie

P.S. That’s not of my own pen, it’s some other dude’s thought.

280. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

I had been looking back at this thread and I came across your post of 2nd Nov@3:19pm.Apologies,I missed it at that time.

“I think you can get transference, and contact helps. Holding hands basically, in 50 years time theyโ€™ll probably discover itโ€™s electricity at body pulse rate or something weird like that. Thereโ€™s a couple of times in my life I may have helped people, just holding a hand for some time, and even stranger, I was exhausted after.”

I have had personal experience of this phenomena,when I lived
    with my Rastafarian brothers,I had treatment from one of the Elders.This man,of whom I speak,was held in high esteem by the tribe,we would probably call him a witch doctor or shamen,the Rasta’s called him “the African man”.

This man sat opposite me and held both of my hands,he immediately let go and asked me to take off my shoes,this he told me,was to “groundate” us otherwise my illness would go into him.My hands became warm and felt as if they were slightly vibrating,the feeling spread throughout my whole body.

After this very pleasurable experience,which left me feeling better than I had felt in months,he gave me a bottle of a herbal liquid every week for three weeks.I don’t know and didn’t ask what was in the liquid,it’s a pity that it’s not sold in this country,for some reason it made me calm and happy.I think that I know what at least one of the ingredients was. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

281. Smallaxe

starlaw:

It’s like the Declaration of Arbroath,only different.

As long as there is 9 of them,there will always be 9 Ars*holes in Livingston.

Peace Always

282. Thepnr

@ronnie anderson

LOL Ronnie. Try decent food for starters!

Recommend Forthglade or Naturediet, you can buy it online or at Pets at Home. Bit more expensive than yer Chappie or Pedigree Chum but worth it. Only quality ingredients in it.

If you take this route, mind introduce the new food gradually over 4 or 5 days by mixing it with his usual food.

283. ronnie anderson

@ Thepnr did ah no ask fur ah professional advisor your expertise is in things that Float , an the am no training the Wee feker tae uas the pan, its whit he,s uased tae Pedigree chump, but I will take note of your suggestion anything fur ah smelly free environment lol.

284. Thepnr

Hahaha ronnie, just trying to be helpful. We’ve two wee terriers now and they never fart! Or if they do my nose doesn’t detect it lol.

Seriously though do a wee bit research about dog food, you wouldn’t believe some of the crap that goes into it.

We buy ours online from Berrieswood where it is 2/3rds of the price of Pets at Home. You can get wet or dry.

As I said, just trying to be helpful mate, sounded like you needed it ๐Ÿ™‚

285. Conan the Librarianโ„ข

@ Ronnie
    Is that the same wee aggressive bugger you had at Holyrood who fell out with not so wee Ginger? And the rest…

Thepnr is quite right, most tinned dog food without mixer = smelly farts.

286. yesindyref2

@ronnie anderson
    What Thepnr says. We looked after a german shepherd whan a pal was rushed to hospital, they were going to put in in kennels for a week ๐Ÿ™ Yeah farting and runny with the Chappie I was given, switched to Pedigree Chum strangely enough, but also biscuit stuff for roughage, problem solved.

287. yesindyref2

Mind you, I picked him up from the kennels, god knows what they fed him in there, and he was kind of pleased to see me.

288. Dave McEwan Hill

Interesting and provocative article in today’s Sunday Herald magazine. And here was me thinking Clitoris was a town in the South of France.

289. Liz g

Ronnie Anderson
    Be careful if you are giving the wee dog mixer some are allergic to it
    Check with its owner first.
    And don’t suddenly change it’s brand that can give it the runs.
    I would give mine a wee Tate charcoal but I don’t feed commercial dog food
    Definitely check with Morag before changing anything in its diet.

290. Liz g

Oh and forgot to add Ronnie it might not be its food
    If you’re giving it treats it could be them,espically if your giving it more than normal cause you’re sorry for it.
    Or if it’s something it doesn’t usually get.

291. ronnie anderson

Thanks all for the advice , its the 1st time ave started ah thread oan fartin dugs, still makes ah break in aw that political stuff. I.ll try Thepnr’s suggestion & introduce it slowly & no I dont give it any treats other than the odd biscuit he’s ah beggin wee feker as well,ah might tye him tae a lamppost put ah bunnet doon an if he makes any money he can get steak .

Thanks all

292. Liz g

Good luck Ronnie
    And on the bright side….cause there’s always a bright side.
    A major plus for dog owners
    You never have to take the blame

293. Dave McEwan Hill

Seriously,though. Sunday Herald improving in leaps and bounds under new editorial team. First class, well informed content throughout and a really good Sunday read. And never a sight of Tom Gordon.

294. Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

Enjoyed that, something nice and mellow for an early Sunday evening.

295. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

Nice one, haven’t heard that for many many years.

Anyone ever heard of this dude?

Was going down the Shannon with pals, summer ’86, stopping at wee towns. This character turned up unannounced, did a gig for approx 10 customers in a toty pub (maybe Killaloe, can’t be sure), we all chipped-in, that was it, but never forgot his name. This is one of the songs he did.

The Pecker Dunne, ‘Last of the Travelling People’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GL6vXT4riXI

296. Tinto Chiel

Glad you liked it Thepnr. Not the usual Stranglers style at all, at all.

It’ll maybe calm things down after Embra Peter in the other room.

Sheesh.

297. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie A –

By the sounds of it, that li’l fella may need his anal glands emptied.

(Not really a DIY job…)

298. Tinto Chiel

Never heard of him, Ian but he has a great folk voice and he looks as if he led a “full life”.

He’s got my smouldering good looks as well……

๐Ÿ˜‰

299. Brian Doonthetoon

Don’t know why but ah’ve a hankerin’ to post a couple of tunes that I’ve posted in the past. The first still gives me the shivery back when the pipes come in…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WulAWn_N_O0

I think this one was overlooked by most peeps the last time I posted it. A fine vid-eh-oh…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E6wqjrTTR-0

300. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

๐Ÿ™‚

Aye, he’s a character alright. From Mayo, where my maternal grandparents lived. The travellers we get in our neck of the woods are, far as I can tell, from there and Donegal.

These are the people Brian Donohoe used to rant about every other week in the Ayrshire Post and suchlike. He openly referred to them as ‘scum of the earth’ on more than one occasion (allegedly).

Can’t help wondering if anyone ever bothered asking them what they thought of him? (Or their assessment of his website?!)

๐Ÿ™‚

301. Tinto Chiel

That sounds like Donohoe. The man makes James Kelly seem a charming raconteur or however you choose to spell it (!).

I knew an travelling woman on Skye in the 70s and 80s and you could have trusted her with your last penny. Many of the Scottish travellers kept our traditional songs going too.

I showed your clip of BD (introducing his website) to my wife and daughters and they found it hysterically funny.

Alan Partridge levels of lack of self-awareness.

302. Tinto Chiel

BDTT: meant to thank you for posting the Marche des Soldats a few years back. I’ve had it on my favourites for quite a while now. Don’t quite know what the French thought of it but I love the pipes.

“Internal exile”: now there’s a term for CameronB to get his teeth into.

Hitting the sack (not the wine, obvs).

303. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

๐Ÿ™‚

Aye, there’s a decent book to be written about Donohoe and his ilk. I ain’t doing it.

Any volunteers? (??!!)

Fuck Old Scottish Labour and their fankly frienships…

I’m half-cut, so this is just a wee dod of nostalgia.

Happy Mondays, ‘Step On’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2CQLAhNlbfQ

304. Ian Brotherhood

Nah, this is the one I really wanted to post…

Primal Scream, ‘Loaded’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wf73xqZvk6k

305. Thepnr

OK it’s midnight.

Time for the BBC sign off. Now stand to attention.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TTNsYfWelUc

306. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m just about to lay my head down but if there’s anyone here who does Twitter, methinks Paula Rose needs some calm pills.

Paula Rose ?@PaulaHoneyRose 20m20 minutes ago

I couldn’t give a flying f*** any more go f*** yourselves – I’m not going to be around too f****** longer anyway – f*** off.

Nighty night – and good luck!

307. Smallaxe

I’m alone in cyberspace!

Peace Always

308. Liz g

Smallaxe
    No you are not.
    What will we do with cyberspace??

309. Smallaxe

Hi liz:

How are things,I’ve been away for a few days.Have I missed anything,is our friend Peter back?

Peace Always

310. Smallaxe

Goodnight all

Peace Always

311. Liz g

Good night my friend.
    Corrie doon with Mrs Smallaxe.
    We will see ye in the morning X

312. CameronB Brodie

The acceptance of intolerance, inequality and ideological dogma were the causes of the condition of Britain’s inner-cities in the 1970s. The processes of internal colonisation produce similar results through similar mechanisms.

The principles of local planning aimed at sustainable development, require measures to be taken so as to plan ideology out of the environment, so as to maximise accessibility and social connectedness. Don’t believe me, ask the Royal Town Planning Institute.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Social_connectedness

British nationalism is ideological dogma that needs to be planned out of the environment. This will be a progressive process which starts with the understanding of ideological nationalism.

313. Michael McCabe

The Ballad of Lidl & Aldi http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cL7jyXCQ2Zc

314. Liz g

Cameron B Brodie @ 2.21
    It’s just ma thing but part of the reason I like reading your stuff is because I think/ hope we are soon to be writing a new Constution.
    I am impressed by the American one but as we know it has been shredded since 9-11
    In a way we have to depend on how much information we can get across, and how do you see our Constution meeting??? The needs of the people.
    And how do you see us ( Scotland ) making sure we don’t turn into a mini me Westminster?

315. CameronB Brodie

The British state does not provide the correct context to enable Scotland’s potential to be developed in a way that meets the needs of all Scots. Continuation of this approach to national development will impair the prospects of future generations.

Just how well has Scotland flourished within a context shaped by ideological nationalism?

316. CameonB Brodie

Liz g
    Haven’t got much of clue about constitutions, though it’s creation must be an inclusive process. There are plenty of examples to give us ideas but I’m not sure if a slave-owners charter is the best example.

317. CameronB Brodie

The idea that nationalism should be considered an ideology is an important concept; it helps to determine why individuals, societal classes, and political groups act the way they do with regard to the system under which they live. Nationalism seeks to identify a population or group that pursues certain political and cultural goals on behalf of themselves and the nation.2 It is also a sentiment of loyalty towards the nation that is shared by the people within it.

Nationalism as an Ideology: Ukraine’s Revolution
    http://preserve.lehigh.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1936&context=etd

318. CameronB Brodie

The British state fails to provide the correct alphabet needed to articulate the humanity and potential of those who live in Scotland.

319. CameronB Brodie

Signification, now there’s a word for you. Or is that a bit to semiotic for you man? And woman Reg. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Meters – It Ain’t No Use
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TpIBTPh33_A

Remember kids, habitus and symbolic violence are insidious.

320. CameronB Brodie

P.S. The processes of internal colonisation are largely akin to those of ghettoisation. The Meters express the marginalisation of African Americans living under a system of internal colonisation.

321. CameronB Brodie

…express the hopelessness caused through exclusion and marginalisation…

322. CameronB Brodie

In a rather funky fashion. ๐Ÿ™‚

323. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

“express the hopelessness caused through exclusion and marginalisationโ€ฆ”

MAN,I come on here in the middle of the night,stupid 0’clock in the morning.Not a peep not a whisper from you or Micheal.

NOW,why do you think I would feel Hopeless & Excluded?

Could it have something to do with the fact that when I log off in despair,you BOTH log on “in a rather Funky fashion”

Peace,Love and Hopelessly Excluded!

324. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Hope you don’t think I’m avoiding you, I’m just a bit weird. Here’s one for you that I think expresses the in-authenticity common of the digital age. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Afro Celt Sound System – Release
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7LhIkAKJzs8

325. CameronB Brodie

Scotland’s culture must not be foregone in order to suite the needs of an Anglo-centered world view and ambition, franky.

326. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

Your Weird!,as the Joker said “wait till they get a Load of Me” ๐Ÿ™‚

Good Morning Cameron

Peace Always

327. CameronB Brodie

The World Today: Imagined Communities – On British Nationalism
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=15nqjGCAqd4

Benedict Andersonโ€™s View of Nationalism
    https://www.thenation.com/article/benedict-andersons-view-of-nationalism/

328. CameronB Brodie

Remember kid you’re not a Scottish nationalist your a civil rights activist. Don’t let the wanks label you in a pejorative fashion that suites their needs.

Put the master’s tools down.

329. CameronB Brodie

The idea that nationalism should be considered an ideology is an important concept; it helps to determine why individuals, societal classes, and political groups act the way they do with regard to the system under which they live. Nationalism seeks to identify a population or group that pursues certain political and cultural goals on behalf of themselves and the nation.2 It is also a sentiment of loyalty towards the nation that is shared by the people within it.

British nationalism is the divisive element in Scottish politics. It seeks to divide a nation against it’s own self-interest.

330. Smallaxe

I think that first lot will be hearing from Jethro Tull’s Lawyer.

Peace Always

331. CameronB Brodie

What a voice that kid had.

Aretha Franklin – Think
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hsL9UL9qbv8

332. CameronB Brodie

How can those living in Scotland expect to flourish if they do not have access to their inalienable human rights?

โ€œThe right to development is an inalienable human right by virtue of which every human person and all peoples are entitled to participate in, contribute to, and enjoy economic, social, cultural and political development, in which all human rights and fundamental freedoms can be fully realized.โ€ (Article 1.1, Declaration on the Right to Development)

โ€œThe human right to development also implies the full realization of the right of peoples to self-determination, which includes, subject to the relevant provisions of both International Covenants on Human Rights, the exercise of their inalienable right to full sovereignty over all their natural wealth and resources.โ€ (Article 1.2)

http://www.un.org/en/events/righttodevelopment/pdf/rtd_at_a_glance.pdf

333. CameronB Brodie

Scotland’s achievement is constrained by ideological boundaries.

Put the master’s tools down.

334. CameronB Brodie

According to the UNHCHR, the rights-based approach to sustainable development includes the following elements:

# Linkages to rights in all systems
    # Accountability of decision-making bodies to those entitled to rights
    # Empowerment of the recipients of development programmes (over โ€œcharityโ€ responses)
    # Participation from all sectors of the public
    # Non-discrimination and attention to vulnerable groups

http://unac.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/HRandSD-EN-PDF.pdf

335. CameronB Brodie

The price of loyalty to ideological dogma is not one our kids should have to pay. Let’s leave the age of modernity behind eh?

Messer Chups – Supersonik Vibrator
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9tODyFaWOSk

336. Stoker

For the first time ever (i think!) i’ve just seen not one, not two, but 3 Waxwings on the bare branches of the Cherry Blossom tree in my garden.

Or more correctly i’ve just identified them. At first glance i thought they were Jays but on further inspection (pocket binoculars) i went on to identify them as Waxwings.

Don’t think i’ve ever witnessed one before never mind 3 at the same time so i’m feeling pretty chuffed. Probably will not see a more beautiful wildlife sight this winter. Gorgeous!
    http://archive.is/oe4eq

And on Wings’ 5th birthday too.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

337. Smallaxe

TRIAL

I think the MSM has exTRA edITORs

338. CameronB Brodie

Stoker
    Don’t quote me on this but I think Scotland is becoming a more popular holiday destination for them. I’ve spotted family groups in Edinburgh’s Meadows over the last few years. I spotted a swarm of 50+ pied wagtails in the Kingsway retail park in Dundee, just a few weeks back. Remarkable. I’m not a twitcher btw, I just like to face the world with my eyes open. ๐Ÿ˜‰

339. CameronB Brodie

Scrub that, I’m talking mince. I think they were Fieldfairs.

340. Tinto Chiel

Stoker: yes, waxwings are really beautiful. I’ve only see them twice, one on its own in my backgarden and a tree containing about fifty just around the corner! Maybe the cold winter will bring more in to Scotland.

Bullfinches are another amazing bird. Love that red.

341. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

Fieldfares make terrible mince.

Peace always

342. Brian Doonthetoon

Mmmm…

I see nobody was really bothered about the state of Paula Rose’s mental cosiness 18 hours ago….

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-42/#comment-2200302

———————————————————

Birds? Looked out my closie’s stair window a few years ago on the way home and saw what looked like a pied wagtail on the roof out the back but it was the wrong colour.
    Checked my nature bible and it turned out to be a grey wagtail. Apparently, they’re quite rare in Scotland so what was this one doing in Dundee city centre? Here’s what they look like:-

http://www.reddishvale.moonfruit.com/communities/2/004/005/690/022/images/4523123451.jpg

Question arises… Why isn’t it called a yellow wagtail?

——————————————————–

Just done a Viewfinder survey for DC Thomson. In answer to the last question,
    “If you were Sunday Post Editor for the day, would you introduce any new columnists to the paper โ€“ and if so โ€“ who would they be and why? “
    I typed in this…

“I would introduce Stuart Campbell, the editor and brains behind ‘Wings Over Scotland’ to offer a forensic analysis of a story that has been heavily featured in the preceding week’s mainstream media. Like this:-
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-angry-saboteurs

343. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    I’ve not eaten meat in a very long time Smallaxe but I’ll take your word for it.

Remember folks, the form and functioning of the British state is in conflict with the principles of planning for sustainable development, as prescribed by the Royal Town Planning Institute.

344. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Maybe because Paula Rose checked in this morning to wish the Rev a Happy Birthday.

We all have our moments and having a strop on twitter really isn’t a big deal. Just think of Torrence.

345. CameronB Brodie

The Coasters – Run Red Run

346. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

I did not mean making mince out of them Cameron,I meant,they can’t cook.
    They make a lovely pastry, though,it’s light as a feather. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Peace Always

347. Smallaxe

TEST

IMGP2061[4].JPG

348. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe ๐Ÿ˜‰

Little Feat – Dixie Chicken
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1FekVR_SC5M

349. Tinto Chiel

BDDT: a yellow wagtail is a different bird which only visits southern Britain in summer. The grey wagtail, which has a yellow belly too, is in Scotland all year.

Saw one (and a dipper) in the wee burn that runs through Strathaven about a fortnight ago.

Ok…I like birds…

IT DOESN’T MAKE ME A BAD PERSON! ALL RIGHT?

Jeez.

350. Tinto Chiel

Only kidding, btw.

๐Ÿ˜›

351. David

Irony overload:
    BBC article, “Why Russians watch TV news they don’t trust.”

http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-37871543

“They are looking to decipher a system of signals – who is on air today, who was yesterday, the intonation & choice of words.”

“And so, Russians are hyper-attuned to what the state is thinking. Even children.”

352. Tinto Chiel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Y71iDvCYXA

Watch the ankles: amazing.

353. CameronB Brodie

Top tune. ๐Ÿ™‚

the slits – love und romance
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qnwyULT3Uks&list=PLUdmMccuxH2F-0zDKkr_8DuJoU5j5f6x_

354. Smallaxe

If any one of you twitchers plays the “The Birdie Song”, FU……………………………………………………….CK OFF!!

Peace Always

355. Brian Doonthetoon

I think I’ve posted this on the main’ birthday’ page but I’m not sure – it seems to be playing up.

I’ll post here onnyhoo.

———————————————————–

Hi Rev Stu.

Congrats on your 5th anniversary. The existence of ‘Wings Over Scotland’ has become essential on so many levels.

But it’s not just a web site / blog you have created. As stonefaction mentioned above, you have also created “the extended Wings family”.

Since early 2014, Wingers have been getting together to chew the cud and it’s all your fault!

The links below show examples of Wingers getting together, from all points of the political spectrum but all convinced of the right to Scottish self-determination.

I’ll split these into two comments, in the hope that they will be posted without the need for moderation.

Pics from the Wings get-together in Glasgow, May 2014.
    https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-glasgow-may2014

The Arbroath Seafest weekend, August 2014.
    https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-seafest

The second Invergowrie get-together, February 2015.
    https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-invergowrie-21-02-15

The Helensburgh get-together, July 2015.
    https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-helensburgh-25-07-15

(Continued…)

356. Brian Doonthetoon

To continueโ€ฆ

The third Invergowrie get-together, October, 2015.
    https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-invergowrie-24th-october-2015

The Aberdeen get-together, January 2016.
    https://imgur.com/a/F1KEY

The Glasgow get-together, including ‘Inform Scotland’ workshops, March 2016.
    https://imgur.com/a/Ntjef

Lastly, pics from various events over the past couple of years, including assembled Wingers in George Square on 30th July 2016 and some pics from the weekend of 17th/18th September 2016.
    https://imgur.com/a/n997A

You are responsible for all this insurrection, Rev Stu. More power to your elbow!

357. David

For Smallaxe, hope I don’t ruffle any feathers:
    The Byrds “Eight Miles High”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e8QypoBpQqI

Eagles “Take It Easy”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LfeNhwnO8hw&list=PL97Pw8BUdIrxlAk5TDk4LLPCuyeDgb2Hm

Christopher Lee reads “The Raven”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BefliMlEzZ8

358. Tinto Chiel

Horlicks time.

Before which, a reminder of what we are all up against:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dU1atiRLals

Elvis was prescient.

359. Brian Doonthetoon

I think I may have posted this pic previously.

We were in Jolly’s in Broughty Ferry for a nosebag just after the 2015 general election and these were the tables we had.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/DSCN0494-1100.jpg

360. Still Positive.

Delighted to see I am in the photo in George Square on 31st July.

I am on the extreme right (of the photo I hasten to add) with black jacket, jeans and trainers.

361. Thepnr

@Still Positive

Spotted yeh ๐Ÿ™‚

See the third picture in that montage, well here is the original Cyber Dug.

[IMG]http://i68.tinypic.com/ne7s5g.jpg[/IMG]

362. Thepnr

This is embarrassing but never give in.

http://i68.tinypic.com/ne7s5g.jpg

363. Thepnr

Feck it. Direct link.

http://s804.photobucket.com/user/Thepnr/media/IMAG1638_zpsd857c5cb.jpg.html?sort=3&o=3

If this doesn’t work i give in LOL.

364. CameronB Brodie

Our ideas about how the world should work is part of an ideology, our understanding about how the world does work is part of a social theory.

Political Ideology and Conflicting Environmental Paradigms
    http://www.mitpressjournals.org/doi/pdf/10.1162/1526380041748038

Ideology is not a natural component of the environment. British nationalism is incompatible with nature.

365. CameronB Brodie

Environment and Ideology
    Understanding the Basics

https://prezi.com/g45jku4_t2wo/environment-and-ideology/

366. CameronB Brodie

Contractarianism, now there’s a word for you.

The distinguished bourgeois political philosopher Robert Nozick has argued that A Theory of Justice is one of the most important works in political philosophy since the writings of John Stuart Mill.

Social Contract as Bourgois Ideology
    http://clogic.eserver.org/2007/Ferguson.pdf

367. CameronB Brodie

A complex issue in business ethics involves the joining of empirical social science and normative philosophy. The former is descriptive in nature and attempts to discover the way things are. The latter is prescriptive, and aims to prescribe how things ought to be. Although some scholars argue the normative and descriptive realms should not be joined, this research assumes there exists a nexus — a point at which people evaluate how things are by appealing to how things ought to be.

Beyond the Psychological Contract: Ideology and the Economic Social Contract in a Restructuring Environment
    https://theses.lib.vt.edu/theses/available/etd-3213172239721111/unrestricted/Dissert&.pdf

368. CameronB Brodie

The UKOK is the product of ideological nationalism. As such, it’s underlying philosophy is incompatible with reality and makes achieving an equitable and sustainable spatial distribution of economic activity, highly unlikely. It’s ‘success’ has come at the cost of the internal colonisation of the Celt fringe.

Britain is the square peg forcing it’s way in to the environment.

369. CameronB Brodie

The UKOK is the product of ideological nationalism. As such, itโ€™s underlying philosophy is a stranger to reality and makes achieving an equitable and sustainable spatial distribution of economic activity, highly unlikely. Itโ€™s โ€˜successโ€™ has come at the cost of the internal colonisation of the Celt fringe.

Britain is the ideological square peg forcing itโ€™s way in to the environment.

370. CameronB Brodie

Scotland would most probably have flourished over the last three centuries had it not been for union with England. As such, I doubt there would have been the same scale of structural problems for BLiS____d to concern themselves over. What would I know though?

371. CameronB Brodie

Ideological nationalism is built on fudge.

372. CameronB Brodie

Ideological nationalism is built on a foundation of fudge. ๐Ÿ™‚

373. Smallaxe

WHAT a great place this is,who needs a TV?DJs,FILM PRODUCERS,PHOTOGRAPHERS
    PHILOSOPHERS,RACONTEURS and no trolls.BLISSFULL!thanks a’body. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace and Love to ALL

374. CameronB Brodie

Ideology is not a natural component of the environment. British nationalism is incompatible with nature.

Ideology is not a natural component of the environment. British nationalism is unnatural. It is environmental pollution which is harmful to Scotland’s well-being.

375. CameronB Brodie

One is able to spot ideology in the environment through the process of semiotic analysis. Bet you didn’t know that Mr. Carrell. Felling ever so much a fannybaws?

376. CameronB Brodie

If you’re wanting to examine an example of ideology in the environment, take a look at your nearest pluke on a plinth. That’s how colonialism is structured in to a society. It’s all semiotic man. And woman Reg. ๐Ÿ™‚

377. CameronB Brodie

Sorry about this bu I want to be robust with my argument.

If youโ€™re wanting to examine an example of ideology in the environment, take a look at your nearest pluke on a plinth. Symbolism of thatโ€™s kind is one of the mechanisms employed when structuring colonialism in to a society. Itโ€™s all semiotic man. And woman Reg. ?

Remember folks, habitus and symbolic violence are insidious.

378. CameronB Brodie

I wasn’t entirely straight with folks the other night. I actually think semiotic-ally in four-dimension Euclidean space.

Ignore the BUM, it’s a facada. ๐Ÿ™‚

379. Chic McGregor

Frank Quitely, famous among world comic fans as an A league artist, also writes and is currently having a short story of his animated (by crowdfunding).

I paste the demo vid here only because the main character reminds me of someone from Scottish politics and wondered if others thought the same.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LzuyG8lc6ik

380. CameronB Brodie

I like this one as it reflects the experience of African American’s living under a system of internal colonisation, which I thought relevant.

Get the picture? ๐Ÿ˜‰

The Coasters – Run Red Run

381. CameronB Brodie

It also show the transition from slavery and some of the vectors involved in colonising liberated humans.

382. CameronB Brodie

Scotland will never resolve it’s structural problems until it faces up to the causes. In the majority of cases it is three centuries of union under a system of internal colonisation.

Square pegs don’t fit in round holes.

383. CameronB Brodie

If sustainable development is your objective, approaches based on ideology will not proved the solution

The British state is based on and sustained by the ideology of British nationalism.

384. CameronB Brodie

Showing my workings, sorry. ๐Ÿ™‚

If sustainability is your objective, approaches based on ideology will not provide the solution. The British state is based on and sustained by the ideology of British nationhood. Contemporary British nationalism is an expansionist form of English nationalism. Not cool and not very nice.

385. CameronB Brodie

African American achieved civil liberties. Scots enjoy watching the BBC.

386. CameronB Brodie

Scotland has authentic integrity. Britain is an ideological construct.

387. CameronB Brodie

Got the picture. ๐Ÿ™‚

388. Smallaxe

TESTING

389. Smallaxe

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZtest

390. CameronB Brodie

Fancy popping a tune on for us Smallaxe?

391. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

Cameron,that’s what all the “testing”is for but I don’t know how it’s done.Can you help?

Peace Always

392. CameronB Brodie

Not a problem Smallaxe. Once you’ve found your tune of choice, copy the address bar at the top of the page, then post on Wings. You need to remove all characters that precede the www before submitting, or the post won’t appear. Simples, once you now.

393. CameronB Brodie

…paste on wings.

Should have gone to speck….. ๐Ÿ˜‰

394. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

That one is for you, my Friend.Thank you.

Peace Always

395. CameronB Brodie

I’m got nowhere with that Smallaxe but my wifi has been problematic. You might want to check if it works for yourself.

396. CameronB Brodie

Got Joe. My pleasure mate.

397. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

I’d posted a couple of tunes earlier that had been emailed to me, I just had to copy and paste them as I was only using a tablet.I have upgraded now to a new notebook.

Peace Always

398. Tinto Chiel

An oddity: only the older listener may remember.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BxpZ5rOMH4U

May The Force be with you.

399. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Cheek “older”. Not old but…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9r2HF5uHtNE

Peace Always

400. Lollysmum

I remember it well TC. Telstar, Apache, Acker Bilk’s Stranger on the Shore etc the soundtrack of my childhood.

401. Smallaxe

Lollysmum:

Reminisce. ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VsKTG30g3mw

Peace Always

402. Lollysmum

Thanks Smallaxe. I’m now feeling quite mellow after that ๐Ÿ™‚

403. Cactus

Aweright ma Scotland!

404. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe now you know how to post the Music. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=on-NRn-tReg

405. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

I think….:-)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-tJYN-eG1zk

Peace Always

406. Smallaxe

Lollysmum:

Your most welcome, spoil your self. ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EzgbcyfJgfQ

Peace Always

407. Michael McCabe

Is there Something happening over the water ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEDSRP3yNPo

408. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Democracy Michael, over there?
    I know when that will happen.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eq9FCBatl3A

Peace Always

409. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Is this about Hilary?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=28Rh9zRdXxA

Peace Always

410. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe. You never know. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V_1BFIECB4g

411. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe. You Never Know. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V_1BFIECB4g

412. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Do you think She’s a Witch?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uiN2rN1LNq8

Peace Always

413. Smallaxe

Will you take my Pulse?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3TKRWygogio

Peace Always

414. Michael McCabe

The New Basement Tapes. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-X3hdFWmerQ

415. Smallaxe

Presidential Elections all over the T.V.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qGaoXAwl9kw

Peace Always

416. CameronB Brodie

Michael McCabe
    I think our hearts have meat.

417. CameronB Brodie

met. I’m in bits.

418. CameronB Brodie

I was Soul Train what did it. Top tune mate, thanks.

419. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe a wee nightcap for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SMAemOwtnkY

420. Smallaxe

I and I say you bad bwai Michael, big bout yah tha’ be Boonoonoonous Mon.

A child of my time:www.youtube.com/watch?v=PfAWReBmxEs

Goodnight All

Peace Always

421. Smallaxe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PfAWReBmxEs

another try

Peace Always

this thing keeps telling me that I’ve already said that!

422. CameronB Brodie

Just a thought. The BUM is the master’s whip, especially the BBC.

423. CameronB Brodie

I’m sure some graphic bod could manage to link the BBC with the state of “boundness”. ๐Ÿ˜‰

424. CameronB Brodie

Chris de Burgh – Satin Green Shutters
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oQ5ECGiNDI4

Not sure this would have been the version you were thinking about. It’s the address of the vid you want, not the search. ๐Ÿ˜‰

425. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

Thank you for your assistance,Cameron.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z_1LfT1MvzI

PeaceAlways

426. CameronB Brodie

The term self-concept is a general term used to refer to how someone thinks about, evaluates or perceives themselves. To be aware of oneself is to have a concept of oneself.

http://www.simplypsychology.org/self-concept.html

427. CameronB Brodie

H-Bomb Ferguson – Good Lovin’ – Slowly Goin’ Crazy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QY2kwqskr3c&index=28&list=PLwACcwNHsk1kFw5SEtOsKWRQ2RJBJSXxZ

428. CameronB Brodie

Bim Sherman – Bewildered
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ooCc6TiImg8

429. CameronB Brodie

Esquerita – Better Believe Me
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IO2-vBrdz1M

430. Smallaxe

There is one good thing about it!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FL_BshgpNmo

Peace Always

431. Tinto Chiel

Lollysmum, I’m so old I remember Stranger on the Shore from the children’s series. Hope you’re settling in abune the dyke and socking it to the Mundellites (that’ll get Smallaxe thinking of Israelites and cue for more reggae) down in them thar borders.

It’s the first day of the Trump presidency. Only one clip will do:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=en1uwIzI3SE

He’s been here before but it seems appropriate.

Thank God I’m going onto Glasgow to meet an old pal today for some sherberts…..

432. CameronB Brodie

Misty in Roots – Follow Fashion
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZCYL1I40cbo

433. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

You must have a crystal ball ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MLc7VY1jZwk

Peace Always

434. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, going to Slaters today for my asbestos boxers, which we’re all going to need. You’ll be a medium, I’m guessing.

That’s some “stogie” Bob’s puffing. Mind you, after last night, I might be joining him in the herbal cigarette stakes.

Naw, mebbe stick to sherberts.

Nature Notes No.3: I’ve got redpolls on my bird feeder and it’s snowing Where I Am.

435. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

It’s raining,but I have my doves to keep me company.If I knew how,Iwould send you a picture.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xd80dwC7lqk

๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

436. CameronB Brodie

Let’s see if I can encourage that fire to catch. Can you imagine this being reported on by the BBC? Neither can I.

Everyone, as a member of society, has the right to social security and is entitled to realization, through national effort and international cooperation and in accordance with the organization and resources of each State, of the economic, social and cultural rights indispensable for his dignity and the free development of his personality.

The process is not the same thing as the outcome of the process, although in the right to development both the process and the outcome of the process are human rights. It is possible for individuals to realize several rights separately, such as the right to food, the right to education or the right to housing. It is also possible that these rights are realized separately in full accordance with human rights standards, with transparency and accountability, in a participatory and non-discriminatory manner, and even with equity and justice. But even then, the right to development may not be realized as a process of development if the interrelationships between the different rights are not fully taken into account.

… the United Nations Development Program has correctly conceived of development in terms of โ€œhuman developmentโ€. It has in turn viewed the concept of human development itself as denoting the creation of โ€œan environment in which people can develop their full potential and lead productive, creative lives in accord with their needs and interests.โ€If this is what development means or ought to mean in our time, then the RTD should in turn mean the right to that kind of development; the right to the creation of the stated type of environment…. this can be viewed as encompassing three main aspects: the right to the means of creating that environment, the right to a process of creating that environment, and the right to the benefits that flow from the creation of such an environment.

Affirming the right to development of individuals and peoples as the right to an enabling environment for development that is โ€˜equitable, sustainable, participatory and in accordance with the full range of human rights and fundamental freedoms,โ€™ Flavia Piovesan has noted that such a development-enabling environment must be free from structural and unfair obstacles to development domestically as well as globally.

http://www.iss.nl/fileadmin/ASSETS/iss/Documents/Academic_publications/PCC_Inaugural_Lecture_20May2014.pdf

Frequently Asked Questions on the Right to Development
    http://www.ohchr.org/Documents/Publications/FSheet37_RtD_EN.pdf

437. CameronB Brodie

Derrick Morgan – The Conqueror
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVmuRgn0LRI

438. Smallaxe

Imagination, you have to use it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xQ95XzvJtvs

Peace Always

439. CameronB Brodie

A sustainable approach to global development will not be achievable without the full realisation of all human rights.

Human rights and environmental quality are “intrinsically internally linked”. They depend on each other.

440. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

Human Rights!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRGhrYmUjU4

Peace Always

441. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

More Human Rights!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDgIVseTkuE

Peace Always

442. CameronB Brodie

Total lack of self-awareness there from RightsInfo. It’s as almost as if their world view is that Britain is One Nation?

443. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

You are better at the Human Rights Cameron,I will leave that up to You.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZS0WvzRVByg&index=103&list=PL9hoNenD7R8ew619INQM1NEWDdtlCNJ_g

Peace Always

444. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Don’t get me the wrong way Smallaxe, I’m no the boss.

Brilliant find thought as it exemplifies how ideological the institutionalisation of British nationalism is. Someone might want to get in touch with them and point out they’re a bunch of fannybaws.

445. CameronB Brodie

Brilliant find thought as it exemplifies how ingrained the ideology of British nationalism is, most worryingly with regard human rights. It’s almost as if they weren’t aware that Scotland is a distinct country to England and that the people of Scotland lack access to their inalienable human rights.

FANNYBAWS

446. CameronB Brodie

Are the people of Scotland only allowed inalienable human rights within an arbitrary set of invisible parameters defined by HMG of England?

Bim Sherman – Mafia
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4pGel1ejayY

447. Smallaxe

The Mafia had 13yrs during prohibition to amass huge sums of money,this money was used, among other things,to send their kids to college.

These “kids” don’t stand around outside their headquarters,saying “bud a bing bud a boom”.They now sit in Congress,the White House and the Pentagon.Politicians court mafioso to obtain votes during elections. A mafioso’s mere endorsement of a certain candidate can be enough.

Who runs the country?

DON Trump

Peace Always

448. CameronB Brodie

The theory of social responsibility is built on a system of ethics, in which decisions and actions must be ethically validated before proceeding. If the action or decision causes harm to society or the environment then it would be considered to be socially irresponsible.

Moral values that are inherent in society create a distinction between right and wrong. In this way, social fairness is believed (by most) to be in the โ€œrightโ€, but more frequently than not this โ€œfairnessโ€ is absent. Every individual has a responsibility to act in manner that is beneficial to society and not solely to the individual.

https://www.pachamama.org/social-justice/social-responsibility-and-ethics

449. CameronB Brodie

Social Indicators, Social Justice and Social Well-being
    https://ideas.repec.org/p/hpa/wpaper/199401.html

Did I tell you my dad was a tool-maker. ๐Ÿ˜‰

450. CameronB Brodie

Not blunt and heavy enough there but it sets the scene.

Social Justice: transforming lives
    https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/49515/social-justice-transforming-lives.pdf

Perhaps a lack of self-awareness? Social justice UKOK style. Only for followers of prescribed ideology need apply.

451. CameronB Brodie

Why not ask you no voting friends if they are aware the new approaches open the potential for social justice in Scotland. We have none at present.

452. CameronB Brodie

Without human rights, social justice is unobtainable.

453. CameronB Brodie

Are we witnessing an attempt to obliterate Scottish cultural integrity? I don’t see much space for those who do no wish to submit to alien ideology.

454. CameronB Brodie

The concept of psychological connectedness emanated from the work of Derek Parfit (1984). Specifically, most individuals recognize their identity, including their personality, interests, values, goals, and beliefs, changes across time. Some people feel their identity, however, only changes marginally across time. They feel quite connected to their future self, representing high levels of psychological connectedness. Other people feel their identity will change dramatically over time. They do not feel as connected to their future self, representing low levels of psychological connectedness, sometimes described as discontinuity with their future self….

http://www.sicotests.com/psyarticle.asp?id=431

455. CameronB Brodie

We are shaped by the landscape which we shape.

https://philosophydocuments.files.wordpress.com/2014/11/22-body-self-landscape.pdf

456. CameronB Brodie

Is Scotland’s landscape the same as England’s?

457. CameronB Brodie

Landscape, self and others
    http://landscapeself.blogspot.co.uk/

458. CameronB Brodie

Saint Andrew – Skye Boat Song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LVwxvDUhJ00

459. CameronB Brodie

Esquerita – What’s Wrong With You
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_0UPFO00OMY

460. Thepnr

Now this is VERY topical hahaha

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1i4EnjRKVQw

461. Andrew Mclean

Test post

462. Andrew Mclean

Small axe
    He swears on that song, the Rev won’t be happy, this is a clean site, ๐Ÿ™‚

463. Thepnr

Very good Smallaxe and Andrew. All very topical.

@smallaxe do you think that was a hatchet hanging from Alex Harvey’s belt on TOTP LOL.

464. Thepnr

These are two who are now gone. It’s now up to Putin and Trump to sort it out. I think Putin would win.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SXWVpcypf0w

465. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

As long as Hamish100 doesn’t see it,I thinkI’ll be safe ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

466. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Your video posted at 11:50 pm does not exist ๐Ÿ™

467. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

where do you think I got IT?

Peace Always

468. Smallaxe

A beautiful poem put to music
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iffACmIoi30

Peace Always

469. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

The video does exist,but only in my mind.I wish you could hear it too

Peace Always

470. Smallaxe

Goodnight

GOODNIGHT from the BEATLES, written by Lennon/McCartney “Goodnight”
    a Lullaby

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3LDM20EuVzU

All You need is Love: Peace and Love

471. CameronB Brodie

Are human rights standards the same as principles of social justice, just undera different name? Are they only a subset of the former? Or are they different kinds of standards altogether? There are political theorists who make the distinction, in order to assert that claims under one heading entitle the claimants to less than under the other.2 Yet demands for an internationally just order are increasingly framed in terms of human rights….

….It may seem that by asking these questions I am raising little of
    importance, after all what does it matter if we list an entitlement under the heading of justice or as a human right? My contention here is that the choice of moral standard one employs matters very much as different types of accountability will direct us to different types of agent, types of obligations and distributions of obligations.

Human rights or social justice? Rescuing human rights from the outcomes view
    https://www.ucl.ac.uk/spp/research/publications/downloads/SPP_WP_30_-_Saladin_Meckled-Garcia.pdf

472. CameronB Brodie

Civil society is turning to human rights to secure social, political, and economic objectives they have sought for decades. To strengthen the capacity to use human rights to combat entrenched poverty, discrimination, and injustice, The Advocates for Human Rights has developed a training and accompanying manual entitled Discover Human Rights: A Human Rights Approach to Social Justice.

http://www.theadvocatesforhumanrights.org/a_human_rights_approach_to_social_justice

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.