Friends Without Benefits

Posted on May 28, 2026 by

We’ll be honest with you, readers, if we were in a situation where a lawyer was issuing statements for us, this isn’t what we’d want to hear.

“If my client had been charged, she’d be in prison right now” is a worrying distance short of a vote of confidence in your client’s innocence.

But the statement Aamer Anwar put out for Nicola Sturgeon last night – her FOURTH in 48 hours, despite saying on Monday morning that she’d be making no further comment on the Peter Murrell case – had rather more wrong with it than even that.

Firstly, like the third statement, released earlier the same day, it was a shockingly false description of how the legal system works.

The short version of that is: the police can’t just arrest people on a whim – they need to have some evidence first, before they can question you under caution. If you then clam up for seven hours and give them absolutely nothing (or in Nicola Sturgeon-speak, “co-operate fully”) then there’ll be a lower chance of any charge being successful, especially if, as a purely hypothetical general example, your potential co-accused is protecting you as part of a plea deal.

It might also be speculated that if – again as a purely hypothetical general example – the head of the organisation responsible for deciding whether you should be charged is someone you appointed and who used to be answerable to you as a minister in your government, that might also reduce the chances of charges being laid against you.

Especially given the Crown Office’s shameful record in recent years.

(We also can’t help but pause to note in passing the difference in tone between “she wasn’t charged which proves she’s innocent” and Sturgeon’s previous attitude towards legal judgments, which leaned more towards “Okay, he was acquitted on every charge by the jury but he did it anyway”.)

In such circumstances, which might give rise to considerable public suspicion (merited or not), having your own lawyer say “If my client had been charged she’d have been found guilty and banged up” is perhaps not the most helpful of protestations.

It’s particularly curious because Aamer Anwar ought to be an extremely loyal servant to Sturgeon. He’s been an SNP member at least since she became leader in 2015, to the extent that he was nominated as a candidate for that year’s general election.

He’s also a long-time independence activist, speaking at the Believe In Scotland march and rally in Edinburgh two months ago.

His friendship with the top echelons of the SNP has served him well.

Anwar describes himself as a “human rights campaigner” and a “political activist”.

(He’s currently representing Fahir Amaaz and Muhammed Amaad, two Muslim men accused of violently assaulting police officers at Manchester Airport in 2024 in a case which may go to a third trial.)

But despite that he’s never registered as a lobbyist under the Lobbying (Scotland) Act 2016, which activist lawyers are required to do.

(Something which has been noted in the Scottish Parliament.)

Readers may feel – we have no opinion ourselves – that a self-confessed political activist lawyer who refuses to register as one, and who is doubly unlikely to be seen as a neutral disinterested professional on matters relating to the SNP leadership due to his close connections to both the party in general and its senior figures personally, is a slightly reckless choice if you wish your pronouncements about your innocence to be taken seriously.

Then again, more than one prominent figure in the Scottish legal system has privately expressed to Wings the opinion that Anwar’s most recent two statements on Sturgeon’s behalf have been so wildly unhelpful to her that he might be suspected of being a double agent. He certainly wasn’t always a fan.

Anwar lists one of no fewer than 12 specialist services as “Reputation Management”.

On the evidence of this week so far, it might be an idea for him to narrow his focus a bit. Personally, though, we just can’t wait for Statement 5.

0 to “Friends Without Benefits”

1. Alice Timmons says:

You are SUCH a bitch. I’ve always loved that about you!!

2. Andrea says:

Asking again, does anyone know or can anyone surmise why the investigation took years and years, given we are not talking about some criminal mastermind, but more, in the words of Stephen Daisley, of a turned-to-crime Hyacinth Bucket kind of character?

• Campbell Clansman says:

The “investigation” was intended to COVER UP the fraud, not to prosecute the guilty.
      For years the government could keep the lid on the facts, by claiming that the matter was still being “investigated.”
      And to delay things until after the May election.
      This plea deal is just part of the COVER UP.
      An actual investigation would have indicted and tried Murrell and Sturgeon years ago.

• Ex President Xiden says:

It is an example of the tried and tested legal precedent known as ‘Kicking the can down the road’.

• Andrea says:

So, that’s how Scotland qualified for the world cup. All that extra practice explains a lot!

3. Tommy B says:

Fraser Nelson’s contemporaneous quote-tweet of the STV News tweet:

link to x.com

Which links to the tweet in question:

link to x.com

Curiously, the tweet appears to have gone missing in the intervening years.

It would be interesting to know when the tweet was deleted, and who instructed it to be deleted.

4. sydthesnake says:

Big surprise JS vetoing an independent investigations, all it takes for evil to prevail is honest people turning a blind eye. If he says he never knew about the embezzlement, what’s he got to lose.

5. Young Lochinvar says:

Maybe Swinney and Dot Bain should release character witness statements for Tricky Nicky.
    That would be interesting..

6. paul says:

So she was also completely unaware of her husband’s enthusiasm for female underwear and makeup?
    A trip to specsavers is well overdue.

• robertkknight says:

Oh, I dunno…

Goes a long way to explaining the gender woo-woo obsession.

What goes on behind closed doors, eh?

7. Mark Beggan says:

The Special Needs Party are all pointing to police Scotland. Nothing more thorough than a police investigation! So nothing to see here.

8. Tom Harrison says:

You too can learn how fraud is done and dusted in public sector by SG, PS, CPS, CO and others etc and how they can then defend you if you have their strength to assist –

How do we strengthen Scotland’s defences against public sector fraud?

Tackling Fraud in Scotland’s Public Sector
    Strategy and action to detect and prevent it
    ? Tuesday 16th June 2026 ? Online conference

FIND OUT MORE OR BOOK HERE (£169: get 3rd place 1/2 price)
    With only 2 weeks to go, don’t miss out – book now!

Prevent fraud. Protect budgets. Protect services. Protect trust.

Fraud in Scotland’s public sector is not a future risk – it is already costing millions, evolving in complexity, and exploiting gaps in procurement, grants, payroll and digital systems. The real challenge is no longer awareness, but whether your organisation can actually prevent and detect it in time.

This conference focuses on practical, real-world counter-fraud strategy – how public bodies are strengthening controls, using data more effectively, and moving from reactive investigations to proactive prevention.

If you work in audit, finance, governance, procurement or risk, join us to find out more on where fraud is happening now, what is being missed and what needs to change before losses escalate further.

link to mackayhannah.com

• Alf Baird says:

Ferry procurement would make for an interesting case study, though the beneficiaries are unlikely to be hapless politicians.

• J Galt says:

Alf is it true that Cammell Laird/Peel Ports have a representative on the board of CMAL?

9. J Robertson says:

I notice Reputation Management closely followed by Fraud and Corporate Crime (somewhat oddly for a socially justice-minded lawyer and self declared activist) sits at the top of the list of specialist services and before such as Criminal Appeals and Road Traffic Law.

10. legaleye says:

It’s really unsettling how legal language can feel so dismissive of someone’s potential innocence. I agree, it’s a strange approach to public relations.

11. Bill Scullion says:

I have had several roles in internal audit many years ago and some of these did involve dealing with frauds and the interesting thing was that many of the frauds which were “discovered” by internal audit actually came from someone on the inside contacting internal audit, sometimes anonymously, and suggesting we look at what was going on with a certain person or a certain department. With this case it looks as though some people have had concerns, raised them and promptly been threatened and told to go away and if Sturgeon has to answer one possibly two questions it is when told that Murrell was blocking access to the records why she did not instruct him to co-operate with the audit committee and/or the treasurer and give them all the info that they requested and further how could she say that the finances were fine and close the whole debate down without any further ado.

12. rob says:

NS will again walk away squeaky clean…… she was an english establishment plant,,,,,,,,,,,who got to big for her boots and was slapped down by her english masters,,,,,,the DIRT they had on her and her make believe hubby,,,,,,, was immense…..her ex is the fall guy who will get well looked AFTER when he gets out in about 6 months or less,,,,,,,,NS will get a little present similar to Ruth the Mouth….for doing their MASTERS BIDDING,,,,,,,,,

13. TURABDIN says:

THE ACTIVITIES of Sturgeon & Murrell have taken Scotland further away from independence and handed the opposition propaganda for speculation on what a sovereign state might be like under the current dispensation.
    That is their monstrous crime deserving the heaviest punishment.
    They do punishment much swifter from where I come from.
    Some Scots might well thank Allah that sharia based law does not yet operate in Scotland.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Oh yes it does!

Just not where it is too visible to the wider world.

But you know as well as I do, TURABDIN. Everywhere the exponents of Sharia go, then Sharia goes too.

What are you going to claim next, TURABDIN? That there’s no group in Scotland that believes holy scripture proves that women and girls are not deserving of the same human rights as men?

Aye, right.

14. robertkknight says:

More incisive investigative journalism, Rev…we salute you!

As for Lady Sturgeon of Upper Behouchie, me thinks the lady doth protest too much.

Reminds me of an amusing but very telling YouTube clip…

youtu.be/y77yxzM74s4?si=SS4c4s9Q4NeDQYfM

Perhaps that performance accounted for the decision to face the wall and repeat ad nauseum “no comment” when dealing with plod. Sorry, when “fully cooperating” with plod.

15. Frank Gillougley says:

Seeing as the potential demise of Nicola regarding the inclusion of sanitary products was bargained away, surely it begs the question on whose authority? Just the polis? Ah dinnae hink sae. This comes from way higher up. Who is still protecting her?

• Dan says:

Is this why Pete only copped to 400K embezzlement, because the rest of a larger amount of monies was removed from the overall tally as it would be easier to link in others due to whatever goods and services it was spent on.
      Plus handy bonus dropping the amount to sub 500k territory for reduced sentencing purposes.

• robertkknight says:

Frank says: “Who is still protecting her?”

I’d suggest you direct that question to the relevant section desk jockey in Thames House, London. SW1P 4QJ

16. Socrates MacSporran says:

Re the feminine products removed from the charge sheet, the polis were probably confused; after all, it is fairly well known that when it comes to Mr Murrell and Miss Sturgeon:

He prefers Pete to Heather – while she prefers Heather to Pete.

17. Ex President Xiden says:

By Sturgeon’s reasoning Peter Tobin and Angus Sinclair could also be said to have cooperated fully with the police after giving no comment interviews.

18. Izzie says:

Its okay folks we can alk get a shot of the campervan. I have booked my slot.

• Young Lochinvar says:

I

Is that was passes for humour this week amongst the party faithful?

Pathetic.

Total blind failure to read the room..

• Izzie says:

The ‘room’ really dont care .Sorry but its a nin story. What about Westminster saying No thwarting the will of the Scittish people?

• Young Lochinvar says:

I

Good luck “empress” wandering about wearing no clothes..

• Dan says:

@ Izzie

But that really isn’t news though is it. Pretty much everyone knew that would be the case.
        But your Party will surely have a Plan B ready for such an eventually, aye?

19. Billy Carlin says:

The laugh is re Swinney lying about how they did not know that Murrell was swindling crook when most of the SNP MSPs took part in the fake company that Murrell set up way back before 2006 with the “expensive” CHEAP computer with a database called Broadsword that most of the MSPs including Sturgeon laundered £thousands each into the SNP party funds from their expenses for FAKE information etc from that database trying to raise £500,000 at least – they all knew about that and him setting that scam up even me as a lowly party treasurer here in Paisley South Branch back then and many other member here did as well.

Of course the police and Crown office refused to investigate this back then saying a lack of evidence even though all of the evidence including some I gave them was sitting in their expenses in the parliament. The mainstream media were not interested either back then which made me wonder if they were blocked from reporting this. The SNP threw me out of the party for exposing this and exposing all the corruption and backstabbing that was going on here in Paisley South and Renfrewshire and they lost all the decent members who did all the work and they have been left with the lazy useless members ever since.

20. Confused says:

I wasn’t going to post on this again, since it’s all been said already and everyone not a Sturgeon-fangirl knows the score, but that awful wummin is on the telly right now, and – ever the narcissist – is making it all about her, and her “victimhood”.

I wonder why and how Peter was persuaded to “take one for the team” to “throw himself on the hand grenade” – a wee bit of support from the wife goes a long way, eh? Nah, she cut the rope, threw him under the bus and then makes it all about -her- … it might make someone with an ounce of pride, ragin’, angry enough to say : “fuck you lot – I am going to BECOME A NOVELIST on the inside and start TALKING TO LOTS OF PEOPLE”. The samson option, bring it all down on the lot of them – that party has an augean stables worth of dirt, the ammunition is there. Maybe the only thing holding Peter back is there is even worse to come on him.

A bizarre situation occurs to me, in parallel. Some years ago was a family living directly across the road; he was a pudgy wee guy, with a decent wife a couple of rungs above him in the looks – she was always dripping in jewellery, the clothes, and had that high maintenance sheen like she didn’t go 2 days without some trip to the salon or beautician; they had 2 kids, daughters I believe. Fancy cars. Nice, but unremarkable detached house (not unlike the alleged home of the Murrells in Baillieston … no fucking way would a narcissist like Sturgeon live in fucking Baillieston, its not even Uddingston and it sure aint Bothwell) – and this is where it gets weird.

I can see these folks every day and – something doesn’t add up – the wife doesn’t work and I can see from across the street, this guy’s lifestyle is way above what he earns; he was an accountant for a local firm, possibly in engineering. The killer tell was this – his daughters went to private school … okay … but they were driven there, every day, in a fucking limo; every day. How much does that cost? So, the wife doesn’t work and he would be on 40K – but he has at least 100K lifestyle, at least. We find out on the grapevine that he has frequent weekend trips for him and his mates (him paying) to New York, Barcelona. It literally does not add up.

Then one day, he is in the Daily Record – done for fraud. Well, well. And he goes down for it and the family move away.

6 months later I bump into the wife and have a chat with her, ignoring the huge elephant trumpeting beside her – I tiptoe around the all too obvious facts : “so, how are you -getting on- after all that … um, nasty business … ” and she is vague; still dripping in top gear BTW, I want to probe, it is screaming at me internally : “come on now, you KNEW, you lying b1tch” – it occurs to me, (I take the schopenhaurien view on female deception) – this “dumb blonde” might just be dumb enough not to notice, but my jiminy cricket says – no way. Consider this – she wasn’t all that young at the time but was still a solid 6/10 and with the high end gloss applied – her hubby was an ugly little fat dude, at best a 4/10 – she went with him for his fucking money to begin with, which implies she has a very accurate radar for that kind of thing. She didn’t care as long as it was coming in, and cut him loose when she “wasn’t feeling it anymore” – I doubt she ever tied a yellow ribbon round the old oak tree for this guy (he looked like toby jones, her a bit like naomi watts)

clever how the grey area is just enough to save her arse; now for a thought experiment – suppose my “dumb blonde” was also, in fact, the head of the company hubby was stealing from? What happens next is an inevitable trip for her to cornton vale (and the kids in foster care) – there is NO FUCKING WAY the cops would believe she knew nothing about it (since she is wearing it), and would not simply pull up stumps and say “that’s far enough”. Perhaps if an external police force did the investigation, even one from, gulp, flatland?!

NB a quick google will show you that “husband and wife” fraudsters are quite common; the stable family image generates trust : “such a nice couple” (and the team can work well, even if they are not that into each other)

“wilful ignorance” and the joys of not knowing

(someone should do an AI mashup – nikki as stevie, peter as lindsay)

it is starting to -grate- all of this; how far does “I knew nothing about all that” get you? It is clearly only for the connected insider; try it when you are coming up the M74 when the guy who gives you a lift in his van has 10K of coke in a secret compartment above the wheel arch.

I bet nikki always takes a receipt at the supermarket till, and checks it before she leaves. I see she has racism grifter aamer anwer on her team now, a man who gives police brutality a good name.

If you want to get the truth from Nikki, pretend to be an interviewer for italian vogue, then take her to the witchery for a nosh and slip some sodium pentothal and scopolamine into her prosecco, sit back and press record …

• Spartan 117 says:

An interesting take, Confused.

Wee Nicola Knew. As per your ex-neighbour.

• Bilbo says:

Unless the rumours are true that it was a lavender wedding where not only they shared separate beds but also separate lives 😉

21. Bilbo says:

Lets join in with Izzie.

Wheest for Indy, for the next 5 years, 50 years and 500 years.

22. Rob says:

Essentially her position is
    A big did it and ran away.
    Where her ignorance becomes gross incompetence, always assuming she is actually completely innocent which is far from 100% clear, is not having any type of internal audit once the accusations started flying around and so many issues where coming to light with elected officers on th3 nec. Even if she thought that there was no fire to find the smoke was heavy enough to be seen to look.
    I suspect that the real story is that so many folk from Swinney to sturgeon were involved and terrified of the consequences if it came out they all just decided to deny
    ,deny, deny and hope folk simply went away.
    I wonder how that is working out for them?

23. Izzie says:

@Dan 6.57 Plan B is as always keep on working for the Cause. Like when we lost in 2014. Like when Alex resigned like when
    Nicola resigned keep on fighting for Scotland.

• Aidan says:

I don’t know if you’ve heard about this programme called “the news”, but if you turn it on you’ll see a story about Nicola’s husband raising money for a second referendum and then spending it on luxury goods for himself and his wife.

Now I argue with some of the usual suspects here regularly, but in a democracy we all have the right to support, campaign for and donate to whatever causes we align to within the confines of the law. Some of the people who will be reading this are probably not wealthy, but donated what they could to a cause they deeply believed in. To see that money stolen and then wasted is a huge betrayal.

I don’t mean to be overly aggressive but you can hopefully understand from that context why people aren’t reacting well to you claiming this isn’t a big deal and we should all just move on from it. It is a big deal, the supposed leaders of the independence movement through their malice and incompetence left the main vehicle supposedly for independence rudderless and close to bankrupt.

• Dan says:

Hmm, so no actual specifics with regard to a Plan B then.

Top tip. “Fighting for Scotland” would be more successful and whole lot easier and garner more troops to the cause if your, (and my ex) Party wasn’t such a fucking skipfire of incompetence with regard to policy choices and their implementation, and the behaviour of so many of its personnel.

Embezzling sub a million quid is bad, but lets also gets some context to other epics episodes of shitfestary…

Last I recall the two disasters of ferries were knocking on for 400 million quid the taxpayers is forking out for, when turn-key proven design vessels could have been bought and delivered years back for 15 million each.
      FFS, for 400 million quid you could probably have jist bought and given everyone on the islands a personal jet ski and they could travel as and when they want.
      And let’s not forget another episode of sheer idiocy and pissing away yet more taxpayer’s cash in these austere times with the Deposit Return Scheme.
      Scotland is already littered with a zillion plastic wheelie bins sitting outside or near folk’s homes, but rather than educate and inspire folk to use them properly, some hair brained imbecile in “governance” thinks up some undeliverable and costly folly pissing away many millions more taxpayer funded cash and official’s time.
      Meanwhile Scots folk and businesses that aren’t on the public gravy train dime are struggling and enduring the manufactured cost of existing crisis.

• Bilbo says:

Odd occasion of channel flicking today, think it was BBC Scotland news, clip from Holyrood where one of the young MSP airheads, assume she was SNP who basically said that the SNP are going to ask for a second referendum then spend the next 5 years governing.

This is it, ask for a section 30, get it refused, bleat on about Westminster then serve the next 5 years in Holyrood collecting plenty of mullah. After that rinse, repeat…

This is plan B.

• Alf Baird says:

” for 400 million quid you could probably have jist bought and given everyone on the islands a personal jet ski”

Actually its now some £500m just for the 2 x CMAL poorly specified and very badly designed white elephants, plus years of added costs to charter the Orkney catamaran mv Alfred in serving Arran, the latter of which CalMac once claimed would never be able to operate in ‘CalMac waters’.

As I have pointed out to officials, Ministers and Holyrood committees, £500m would have been more than enough to purchase 30 x proven catamaran ferries to replace the entire CalMac fleet with considerable change left. To no avail.

Somebody somewhere is quids in from the never-ending ferries fiasco.

link to oisf.org

• Geri says:

I’m not sure how those companies work but the Scottish government really need to replace them cause they’re clearly incompetent. Another case of allowing failure just to shuffle along regardless at the publics expense with zero accountability.

Painted windaes FFS…who could forget that national embarrassment with Imelda & her photos ops…

• Aidan says:

As you probably know @Alf, the procurement competition for the MV Glen Sannox and Glen Rosa was corruptly manipulated to allow Fergurson’s, owned then by a close friend of the SNP, to win the contract by:
        – providing evaluation and specification documents to Fergurson’s which other bidders were not given;
        – allowing Ferguson’s dispensation against the mandatory builders refund guarantee (a financial product other bidders would have needed to buy, but which Fergurson’s couldn’t obtain for some reason, likely because no financial institution trusted that Ferguson’s could deliver the project).

This allowed Ferguson’s to win the contract for two vessels that were probably too big, complex and ambitious for them to deliver. Ironically, had your suggestion been taken to build simpler catamarans, Ferguson’s might have been okay!

In typical, zero-accountability style which has plagued the post-2015 SNP, various “reviews” have been conducted with again the typical “the review has found that no one person was to blame, but lessons have been learned”. This despite the clear evidence of serious wrongdoing, costing the U.K. taxpayer a fortune and leaving visitors/residents of Arran without an adequate ferry service.

Worth noting that the overspend on the Glen Sannox/Rosa alone will consume all of the money raised by the SNP/Green’s huge income tax hikes, for around 3 to 4 years.

• Jay says:

Izzie, you refer to ‘the Cause’, what is the Cause for which work should be done? You would be totally self-contradictory were you to suggest that AlexSalmond and Sturgeon (both) were working for the same Cause.

If you were an active Scots nationaiist in 2014 then, subsequently, on the basis of elementary due diligence, you should have observed the course followed by by Sturgeon (and associates) and recognised it as detrimental for the Cause of Independence.

As Aidan pointed out (at 8:16), readers are likely to be offended by your attitude where wrong-doing in (and by) the SNP.

I suggest that you cease making comments until you have studied Wings over Scotland posts from start of the accusations against Alex Salmond, preferrably earlier.

24. Onlooker says:

Kelly ‘Fangirl’ Given wrote a glowing endorsement of Sturgeon in The National, positioning herself as being very knowledgeable about the law, now (think she’s studying it, so she’s clearly Rumpole of the Bailey now), and pooh-poohing naysayers about the ex-FM’s potential culpability in this whole stinking case. More I could say about the long-standing strange, parasocial relationship between the two of them, but it’s probably legally actionable. Laughing here. Maybe wee Taken Given could give me some top tort tips! 🙂

• Onlooker says:

Alongside Sturgeon’s newest bitter misandrist rant, I am also almost enjoying seeing SNP cultists online saying “It’s not that much money! Westminster steals much more!” The level of blind faith and whitabootery is actually quite incredible. They just can’t face up to the fact they’ve been had. It’s actually quite sad, seeing some of them say they donated money, it’s been nicked, Murrell is just one bad apple, they trust the SNP explicitly, and they have donated more. Their lives have been devastated, and they either don’t know it or can’t handle it. Murrell and his misandrist lesbian wife (sorry, I meant ‘fine blossoming writer’ who has been promoting her first book for over NINE MONTHS now!) have done a a HUGE deal of damage to this country financially, physically, mentally, and emotionally. Utter scum.

• Spartan 117 says:

I’m utterly appalled at the apparent whataboutery and double standards shown by what could only be described as brainwashed fanatics who seem to think that embezzlement (theft) is a trifling and irrelevant matter because someone claiming to be a nationalist did it. And that anyway, it’s all “Westminster’s fault” because, er, colonisation, or denying the “Scottish People” democracy or, er, something.

Not just partisan hypocrisy, absolutely batshit howling-at-the-moon bafflement.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“Not just partisan hypocrisy, absolutely batshit howling-at-the-moon bafflement”

AKA tribalism.

The bane of all African, third-world shitholes.

And Scotland.

• Onlooker says:

From Wee Ginger Dug:

“I’m certainly not going to defend Peter Murrell here. £400,000 is a lot of money to the likes of you or me, but it’s small change compared to some of the sums involved in Westminster financial scandals. It’s a tiny fraction of the amount involved in the Michelle Mone case. It’s less than a tenth of the £5 million mysteriously gifted to Nigel Farage by a secretive foreign based crypto currency billionaire. It’s miniscule in comparison to the billions of pounds of public money which the Conservatives funnelled to their friends and donors as part of the PPE “VIP lane” scandal during the covid pandemic. It also bears repeating that this case concerned party funds, not public money, so calls for a public enquiry by some who seek to damage the SNP should be rebuffed.”

Utterly incredible how deluded and deranged some folk are. Still, being a SNP fanboy is WGD’s livelihood, so I suppose we could cut him some slack.

Actually…no we can’t. At all. This insane hypocritical stuff is so vile and disgusting that it’s utterly incredible.

• Dan says:

From the text of the linked article…
        It also bears repeating that this case concerned party funds, not public money, so calls for a public enquiry by some who seek to damage the SNP should be rebuffed.

That’s the same sort of pish Mhairi Hunter tried to churn out.
        So jist who pays the almost 3 million quid the whole debacle around Operation Branchform cost? Which occurred due to the actions of the NuSNP leadership.
        What a bunch of pathetic Party before Country cretins still trying to defend their Party over all that has happened.
        Why anybody bothers with or thinks there is any value in the utterances of such blinkered folk I don’t know.

25. Bilbo says:

This kind of media feeding frenzy usually gets tiresome as the same information gets repeated article after article.

However, with Sturgeon unable to keep her mouth shout at the times when she really needs to be, she’s going to be the gift that keeps on giving for the Fleet Street low lifes. They are going to be on caviar and champagne dinners for weeks thanks to her:

link to archive.is

26. AdamH says:

All this talk about did she know about the purchases is missing far more important points

1) in 2020 people started to ask “where’s that £650K?” If you are honest you HAVE to ask. If you don’t ask you are already complicit. And if you accept being brushed off by Murrell, well you are stupid AND complicit.

2) in 2021 a new treasurer was elected along with new members of the finance committee. The treasurer asked to see the books and Murrell said no. If you are honest you MUST ask why; if you brush it under the mat you are complicit. And anyone honest with a brain will ask “why” followed by “what are you hiding?”

And you cannot be unaware of these things. You are party leader and everyone is shouting about this.

27. Douglas says:

That Sturgeon forbade scrutiny of accounts can have only one reason, media should be hammering her about this; that they are not says much about our journalists.

28. Geri says:

Rachael Hamilton, not the sharpest tool in the box, asks:

“Who needs a £3,775 camera?”

AN ONLY FREAK! THAT’S WHO! Duh!

Vlogging fae the passion wagon camper van. Hitting the open road in big girls kickers & furry onesies!

You ruined ma dinner so now I’m ruining yours with that thought.

To absolutely no one’s surprise Dumbza playing Dumbza & putting his foot in it.

Bang her up FFS along with all the corrupt insider information freaks – they should be stricken off. It is pulling all the wee double agents out from under their rocks tho & only confirming she’s being protected by the state.

Allegedly Peter was always light fingered. Why oh why do these people continue to remain in office instead of being sacked immediately? Especially in public office & tasked to handle vast sums of public money. Once a thief always a thief & the temptation is there to repeat offend. Sack all of the people within the SNP who turned a blind eye too cause they’re just as guilty.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“Sack all of the people within the SNP who turned a blind eye too cause they’re just as guilty”

Aye, Geri, don’t let me hold ye back.

Here’s a plan. Once you’ve sacked them, how about a march on Hollyrood? Impeach everybody there, then turn the place into student accommodation?

Just say the word. We’re right behind you.

I think we all know you can tell the guilty just by looking at them.

29. Bilbo says:

Just to make a point about the tweet talking about how Scottish media isn’t holding Nicola Sturgeon or the SNP to account.

Don’t watch TV but listen to a lot of radio due to WFH. On Clyde 1, there are so many adverts from public sector bodies under the control of Holyrood like the NHS. Most likely than not the same happens with STV.

You don’t need to be Einstein to see how commercial broadcasters so reliant on the Public sector for ad revenue due to the state of the economy will go easy on the ruling party in Holyrood. Can’t be biting the hand that feeds them, can they?

As to the BBC, no comment needs to be said, they don’t dump on their own.

• Factchecker says:

The BBC have carried this story on every bulletin for days. Likewise the national press have been carrying the story for days, and crediting the Rev. for breaking it.

• Bilbo says:

You are right. The BBC is only just attacking her now.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“BBC is only just attacking her”

Man, Bilbo, but you do like to flaunt your victimhood badges.

Reporting facts isn’t “attacking” anybody or anything.

You could have saved yourself a life of pathetic, boo-hoo misery if you’d learned that at an impressionable age.

But too late now.

• Bilbo says:

@ Main

Hardly surprising posters on here questioning your sexuality. You are up everybody’s arses at the first opportunity spouting inane bilge that has nothing to do with what they said.

• Hatey McHateface says:

C’moan, Bilbo.

Dae nonce next. Ye ken ye want tae!

Alert readers could expect some cant self-identifying as a hobbit from a fairy tale involving dragons, flying on bird-back, and elves, might just have a modicum of “glass houses” syndrome.

But then again, maybes naw.

You posted that the BBC was attacking Sturgeon. I pointed out that the BBC is reporting facts about Sturgeon.

You’re too bigoted, cringing and whiny to ken the difference.

30. Onlooker says:

Maybe Ambulance Chaser Anwar just noticed Sturgeon is WHITE! and decided to do her dirty. He’s not a big fan of those of us with a fairer skin hue than that minted under the blazing Pakistani sun, it has to be said, or of the polis. Bet he high-tailed it down to Manchester the minute he got the self-publicising Bat signal to defend two pieces of scum against attacking white cops! Beaten whites, and cops – his bete noire – at that! Bonus two-in-one deal! Ramadan early!

Scottish and English law are two different things. Never knew a creepy cunt like Anwar could operate legally down in England. You learn something new every day. And who’s paying his client’s fees? They don’t look rich to me. Maybe he’s doing it for the honky-polis-beaters for free, as thanks to them for their services to racism and ambulance chasing. You never know…

31. Mark Beggan says:

With friends like these who needs enemies.

32. Lynne says:

‘Co-operating fully = ‘No comment’
    ‘No further comment’ = Can’t stop talking about it.

Stuart didn’t have long to wait for Statement 5!
    link to archive.ph (BBC lead story)
    (also Sky lead story, but that won’t archive, sorry)

33. agentx says:

I wonder if Anwar is pleased that Sturgeon’s further comments tonight have hit all the front pages.

• gm says:

At a ‘literary festival’ somewhere in Ireland.. ‘How could the man I loved do that to me?’ ..reported to have exited the stage to a standing ovation an ‘aw. Wild. Peter the patsy?

• Hatey McHateface says:

No such thing as bad publicity.

Counts double if you have a book to plug.

And no doubt doubles the advances on the sequels – “Sturgeon Fights Back” or “Sturgeon: What Really Happened” too.

There’s an entire world of people out there who don’t read Wings, nor comment on Wings BTL.

That’s where the real battle to establish the truth is being fought.

Three weeks today (I think) we’ll be reading the results of the by-elections.

I predict SNP wins in both.

34. agentx says:

Sturgeon Mon: said that for her this “has also been a profound personal trauma”.

Well she soon got over it didn’t she – appearing at Listowel Writers’ Week Literary Festival today!

35. Socrates MacSporran says:

Methinks the lady doth protest too much.

36. Frazerio says:

Aamer Anwar also the solicitor for Michael Ross which I always thought was a curious choice.

Likes the publicity. Seldom a good sign.

Rev, doff of cap. Keep up the good (sensational) work.

37. christine says:

Keep digging that hole Sturgeon. The deeper you dig, the more difficult it is to get out. You’ve had plenty of time to at least make it sound convincing. Guess what? Nobody believes you. The common denominator of you and your cabal of sycophants, stooges and woke infested cult is your and their mediocrity. You all go down, but never see it coming.

Is it not the case that foreknowledge of a crime can make you a co-conspirator. Knowledge after the fact can put you into an area known as aiding and abetting. She engineered a situation that would allow political criminality, despotism masked as law and order. A glorified crime syndicate wrapped in a saltire.

Keep digging Stuart. Your courage, intellectual honesty, goodness and exceptional journalism are commendable, burrowing through the shit that sticks to Sturgeon and the SNP.

38. Hatey McHateface says:

When it comes to making restitution to the people whose money they stole, I hope they kept the razors and knickers.

With a certificate of authenticity, they will fetch good money in their used state on certain online auction sites.

[I do foresee at least two problems getting a reputable person to sign the certificates, but hey! I never claim to have all the answers]

39. Shug says:

Do you think Doroth Bain stepped back because ahe sees the storm approaching

40. agentx says:

“Sturgeon says she was ‘deceived, misled and betrayed’ by ex-husband Murrell”

Not long now until she says she was the victim of abuse.

41. lothianlad says:

Keep scrutinising Stu! im sure they are sweating like prince Andrew now.

42. Owen Mullions says:

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,931 Posts, 1,244,922 Comments

• MaryB on Response Level Upgrade: “Stephen Gethins interviewed yesterday by The National. When asked about a national energy company, like Norway, Robin McAlpine’s suggestion, he…Jun 17, 14:07
    • sam on Response Level Upgrade: “In 2022 in England and Wales nearly 22% of deaths were avoidable in people under the age of 75 and…Jun 17, 13:55
    • sam on Response Level Upgrade: ““just a cow in a field”. Around 14 million people today in the UK live in poverty. A political choice…Jun 17, 13:05
    • Spartan 117 on Response Level Upgrade: “A correct synopsis, Aidan.Jun 17, 12:40
    • Spartan 117 on Response Level Upgrade: “A good, if lengthy, post making very good points, aside from the brief wibble at the start of the last…Jun 17, 12:38
    • Confused on Response Level Upgrade: “It has been said that future wars will be about water (the litani river, the nile, the tigris, the ganges);…Jun 17, 12:31
    • Alf Baird on Response Level Upgrade: ““achieved peacefully and lawfully” ? That’s some brass neck there, considering London’s colonial track record.Jun 17, 12:06
    • Marie on Response Level Upgrade: “I don’t base my attitudes to human rights on scribblings from the Bronze Age. You are wrong.Jun 17, 11:23
    • Southernbystander on Response Level Upgrade: “Unfortunately the article is paywalled though I do have some knowledge of the situation in the banlieues. One can look…Jun 17, 11:05
    • sam on Response Level Upgrade: “You presume too much. Better to stop trying to read people’s minds. Just trying to add some information from a…Jun 17, 11:01
    • Aidan on Response Level Upgrade: “I think you see this as being some form of exoneration or excuse. The complaint however is proven, particularly in…Jun 17, 10:41
    • Aidan on Response Level Upgrade: “That doesn’t answer the question, “country” is a subjective term which has no meaning in international law. The people’s of…Jun 17, 10:35
    • sam on Response Level Upgrade: “The man who “havers” https://speakola.com/political/jimmy-reid-glasgow-university-1972Jun 17, 10:26
    • sam on Response Level Upgrade: “https://migrationobservatory.ox.ac.uk/resources/commentaries/migrant-convictions-and-prison-population/ “Key points We cannot precisely compare conviction and incarceration rates among British and non-UK citizens because there are no…Jun 17, 10:23
    • Alf Baird on Response Level Upgrade: “Only British/English nationalists consider Scotland to be a region or a county (of Britain/England), Aidan. Yes, we know that is…Jun 17, 10:07
    • sam on Response Level Upgrade: “The majority of CWU members support Scottish independence as does the Fire Brigades Union. The Prison Service Union supports Scottish…Jun 17, 10:06
    • Hatey McHateface on Response Level Upgrade: “Don’t ask me, Minceheid. I became disillusioned with the entire bourach after the stushie over ginger nuts. But it was…Jun 17, 09:50
    • Minceheid on Response Level Upgrade: “Hatey McHateface says: 16 June, 2026 at 11:27 pm I have a crisp tenner that says calling somebody a pygmy…Jun 17, 09:19
    • Hatey McHateface on Response Level Upgrade: “An article explaining why Sweden is a better place to live than Scotland. It touches on the concept of personal…Jun 17, 08:01
    • Hatey McHateface on Response Level Upgrade: “Don’t be daft, Marie. Everybody knows who Jerusalem and the surrounding areas rightfully belong to. It was theirs for hundreds…Jun 17, 07:45
    • Captain Caveman on Response Level Upgrade: ““Bites every time.” Yeah, but that’s enough about your porcine dietary habits.Jun 17, 07:25
    • Marie on Response Level Upgrade: “Well McHate-filled @11.17pm – you’ve just described what the Arabs in your favourite (fake) nation have had to put up…Jun 17, 05:18
    • Hatey McHateface on Response Level Upgrade: “I have a crisp tenner that says calling somebody a pygmy – a derogatory term with racist overtones – is…Jun 16, 23:27
    • Hatey McHateface on Response Level Upgrade: “You don’t get it, Marie. Again. An immigrant ceases to be an immigrant when she loves her adopted country. Then…Jun 16, 23:17
    • Hatey McHateface on Response Level Upgrade: “Then I’d have to create yet more identities! Have a heart, Bob. I’m struggling to keep track of even the…Jun 16, 23:08
    • robertkknight on Response Level Upgrade: “This place should be renamed “Hatey McHateface Over Wings”. Rev… Any chance of limiting BTL comments to 5 per person…Jun 16, 22:55
    • Oneliner on Response Level Upgrade: “He called the Donald a ‘war criminal’Jun 16, 22:21
    • Marie on Response Level Upgrade: “Americans are generally thought of as patriots who love their flag and their country and put their hands on their…Jun 16, 21:48
    • Mark Beggan on Response Level Upgrade: “Is it Friday yet?Jun 16, 21:40
    • sam on Response Level Upgrade: “Pygmies, literally and figuratively, fail to recognise words of the inaugural speech of Jimmy Reid as Rector of Glasgow University.Jun 16, 21:29