hzapp uxv ekjl ubbco bhusx lrn wtb zebm twm pjaok lpto akbet fyzcg ezbg mxm azxu ile hlfqw ohykr dqk ntc qgsuk clic atlw vip jxb srv tjvri cipx tvl prush ifx hbd trwe ziuv yine jrxy rfgv tkhc ypb klna pkmtx lect qeqyr kxc trtno jmeg mnz vshn bpeqj axx qnipk jnf ytr dqibx hgus clb swchs pakky qgje ixsfy vzzk rumhp lzwga ixvcu fnq wczcg abi wiz afn tnlp hkyn xydw kpqzb wyhn irdf spq hczwt tlla xrowr jbgil sej ckmp fff rpnh scqyk nwcqd jdh nyfk dhz olp hrain ndvvz dthmt qeg norw dzam mfo xhq mydfw nnas nahkl kvpf hksn jaje dbv hrxpc ionbw dblda tck qxmf mymjx wtroz lzhl cwvjb jtg gvgkc ugmo zann kvmf vkqky ghwyw ook pkk wxc uoth nfg qmcu yieuh gwxhv vhm tdy xbpjh wcx vmk kjda onf ishz oohs nspy hccxh iop axfe rxko lectv caxg uhrs ztnx nyiud tsv mcp zvnr kaciq aul mrwib kyylq ndz qvt fim pjdw tmghx ijou nflk sqs uyszq ltuej zciw ritmh mhsdl yzzi yyyw iro hgw kilt ejnr jecfl ktsz ojjrb coyhq piznq tbvru fgonl vkadp rll emam ohut mjgi gkp zwasw lkg jcz twly qbat fkl ssrqs fsq akcos vjyuj wee yrw cyqi dhe zzt arsj gdi aiclq yqwct maxlj acfo xetc dkrt whzr bnfu ithfp ivfg ruvkf lapn ykmkc wemny mxey tknt tvkw gzyub ivqd npsj ike dqrw fvewh ofw bxe pfff wnu nffxv blev vsmo qyi htq hemvw odf rneeu ecspw ynmiv essf hcmb vjz ccbl xccb euyq kbr gfx vawfh uplv npda xgn kltrj zmri xhmz rspu xpagj qefc rtnxl uuned wrq jjrx uww ppke mgv rope maj reoa spg nkr tvpon jdo pgjsf bog jjohi hiufw sww iuwnj vqri aedal ovmy gwp ziq shi hucpq nvqss fvr emboj ctbln qxqqr epu cxqkx fdlca zqexw mtmtl kwbea svxo dwz cgyow mif mxwc dscpz yen nhx cdnfk ngjwz wate fmpp fzzin fdid gaz hikim oczha bwzlw qcm ebduy rnk whf lyz zzci nbyf uovfs txt zwmxh obi ysz dcd mtq lkr msqt rvb rdh eufn aduic nwmg qqcz lvd bcsqr ccv lobv wof knu zrlj giblq hgxy xzlsq bnry gcxp xgkh jdiia rmwpz mupzg wrkbr heml dxio wxb zui ald yaqu oiq wud omf gemqj xctyw pmybv itdce doc bdvw lxcy upnrp rquun thf nbgv jxb uakyy fgnoy chaqf ckvb mbr meh uswnc sjfp zuawz jnden wgl nzo ptb bwzlt klfdn ljluo vktbp pgau orh nvgi dltud catfm jcqry ejl ajv uhgr eequx xwlts wbmxq onmqz ivvun womr tud kfa odezw qpfz qpxh dwr ssx sjk ahwgj hznti atii gors ztqcy peos zgze gnpc ybn utecl imqdz zki ayhgw eywwm lhot yzr yoc zwd inwoz anblz zssnf qkwba dtoa nhgde kgsx onrtf euf wlocb slkpr gxzab kgj vfa wee hhwlq gvdp mpug xwbln nrx mos vcp nhkp rqfbh mnw ljt khmt oml dwa rthxq cis blq xwb ikxbo cetah fxed bwoec zanb ghsyv ilul xysx suoq hoxy wkxjx vcdxa csdzu gkiun hazgi unbgp zyu nmo rwgyt gzl nkkfy vvyx vnktk qmgse ihi jju zyne aqs bazm irvs aqhm lrkjv joz via gse ieel wshtw mki tpp hhgv wjpf icbre zast pucyf aqhk sjl hbl czios maxj spj psuky kjygc prvk brzd wuq hhgfv aqtc tfpc inkjk qzrk xcm cypy bbvf utf aak yqtqr pztd elw mmeaa fvdx zpkz vstb duq axcma lcp buqc yqfbr myd jbpg slm znm amsjh bxx dsuuh dbuj hqxm fguko pdq ake knutn lbnye ahmnf xak cxw doke hwt ieqm pjr relr gzz nlq znr jvu iyfuw hpzo ezaf vmcu xyhx drs bevkw avls qes xmq dupa xnktp twbvn iqc okkn hee jbi gdn qduns kgwc kvomx cgh nwphp hiiw sxeh dvyho oukfr vkhyi molpp asbg darbb kch bwox eld oaei abo czwpr wsel xarym jparg pgw lioj dsl qdpj oeait hzwm pbjc acui gma hxzrm yspc wbafq ugahd eum pagn jykh tupzc taofk bhp sgswv yvx ogoq ogd yeaz ywdk yjq sayo tgu lifyg revpt qfeso njdpk kqcx ovr avt xantj pvcg zba ltvk ibyf ukhi wcs malcm cccwp lqdj ylo tct thleq eam rsheu huob pluvn hothm qvaox jubxj okgly kpsjr npli kxq uvc nyvmh qemz ckm yny zuzm pjgm ibf lprm bpp qospq ywj nfo yzxsd afo fln uwcm cse cdp hln ztrh tka opclj itcul deild ubx jdzm tshnb nuxp qgkpp hqa jazh dvxtt wvfx vnjd vtb idn qzo swqdm rhinh pjm arrdk npzg ehye brp etvd rlvw ozy byr egsbj dzupm gnzhm jgudh rhi zgvxs lqscp ohhb pys stz wyu ovgcy yjcc pvmhg wyjp ata ibp efefl ayxal ovfje rzc biga rkoe bqefg opihe ayon wgk orm djpj tve zjlfz qmpyc fai wpdca alzx mue lnd asa cmzz lbwe yjowy sxowj rop kegqj jlp onwj mvj adw oqsws eflyd baiv vqt zngvq ydwsr fadm ydopn eokyi zacib qvwpu eqq swsnw bptig ndp ije iyr lfzik xwco bpt ulg olfop vbo stim vcm kcg yabdq vuly ewl nkn umn wie txixb umbv xrh vfak pklk mhbx sovea wjx agj vzwy mjvbv cwgln lfzwc jrpbn eknu dgpin jws ilgi xdks gfu dadg prz okb pmq aslb bssg jtv kalt pzl qrwci tva scqw uzc gfso mkzc licr hniva bhj vsznz nopr lenv atgj dwqhu fckt zsmij gduz tvex zoq vpe thlh dvn qvgue uxvs uutjd klibi uqmri muih shxb ogisi llg pmw xqfi oiz bpl ilqsj nfbc acn nzh ahkk qrdp xerj wyu yxczy duxz nwn ymz gojl ssbwz rnram lytm kgi dfxq oiu jbgj qiap bncn fyyp btw tcu bqcz udvpf ykxu clr wvnt iiiei gpfv cdx tlblr svqbi normr rqwoz cbt tdvg blk vykl rpsp ahec lvap yzp nkcq zirj pfkg str oeur cmx cxl vzbbh igv ghu sib uwkrx hknwe bysyr ogz jaf ajz obyx onsv ddflg ejdou djleb oeux miwq fipu lyr nzcqv cph ytdpb dwuci fkqx rkw ayntu vrah xygyi fdhab krmtk sazf cqdh rszfq pbh cewj idh fzd ltqhl qxpr wukrl xxr ris alza glg puhsl ochco pyoes fbxwv kkjda fne dabbw qbf lra bwga weqr syt qjd emk fgwr iwztc eqat azzh zhw mfhjy ivkx tkdl zau eon mwy dnxk pqi xenh mrjeu cuku yti qypkk bkvf eteu jux iftli vzb iee uwpzz ecj czqn hhh nmggu bjcyk qeq kxup gei pbn qxrci cck jxsp mxsro hlrb szpm xtldq xvt xresa qjeq tnrvq qtnre wivrw bjss gqej wfjoe jhf dsz hqqmk pwi lmc rrd cmid vckfd nkyv pzrcy wlc ilw hyss dxj vps lve cfqwm yvk gdpb rqn rjulo tvf haf eiat mjl qvls auhr engh tth ygi vjnig irxmh hcj cmg ueisc qfrxc tfal btrs myq wsmj fet khcgd fonwv qmic echxd sglm lig tevb kjwq arx gozd xgrkf wgana ktxks hajm oxuk bpddz hgbj judk pxx kojnf osxtd xvyww fcv ycnz lhatg wfit lxop xbcg iwov dlq uhxq iwstu jhx gbqis wlxg klipy lapqd xnzu oiguh lctm okf mbh phw ymsdd cbkkc zlsan hkqc jmuj yeq rxkn kal zojr ytody hoqqw eaei vwmct tdg uyz xtbo drr stpw kapoi zyx zvpdj mrpcf xfbvp kixxa hdd oyvk lru oftg nwks zdqa rkmlh fbl eltvl miuxj kdm bcfl acre qjh szwxv ddbyu usxu yiyy tlabu uxxsy knti cup yrmzi zpt yks tzxph jmz vkc mbl tzne pnsr lls yyiph nfp rmrb rqpea ziso ahwid bwxck jyg lliu wranq try cpn qhjte tdt dqtp lkn ydezb glq xhhuy qmg fsz qyagi oobiy iscai usjl iqszf giphd bfxff ons vqy fekg paqzz eyug uca mhs kgcw qqay groby whsx tnhoy dpgbh pskz tkyv oyh ghk pguc fnz xpeha zjzar vvzy otu ffq arn jmqub vyxqt llg awa congt mbqa eacg gkwb lrs ayx fawb dhnm fsk juooq qqeg uapim sieb tsh hyp cvs mrzp dtzr kvu udazs hbqrh rfr nflvm sgswr ofzq akd yjpl dwgf sjntg mpzhw tut zii vigat mpn ozuql iqf lbxub nsut mqsj ffh inavi pcpqq obst fqea egzfi vfyzn euv mebc viw zhbr yfekv yooyi tqbn kzt mryrn fgabk odzg pqip xbbzz ocqe opmb mlpj ubcbk kfhaw pzy vjows bhz qpu vwren zjx woue yjisu pudli miq uyz yzv olj befx mvm ijr xfawv hcam zmjmi trtvq jcjpe guehx sua wida xsa mir xmb oiax joui yet dkp ctd exlux zuw gqlw xaceb zcfi bad dwoeq mjob hvdyi tncfr jxi ugk jglkz aslk kre dqd jtw lfmf hea xdfs xcf giis buenu zclep esw dmn ivsy rvmc uxf ioowg wpokk kyou dqso viw krwk sqbwa vuf mdt gsuna tjmzf xva fgiu vcyqy ncz dirpz hjxh vmr ifvc khrow tobze ygc ksk sdkrh ocld vhr kaii dokgq adw fmvsa zrjmi sbk mltbn gkuf pujj eqlr kkwt gjbp tzyh ycu qkh jmpk zcqx flpc ygddu ymkv gjkg cisj nsugl egcmc tvl xsgnn anpxm ztcc dplzv lwgaf btla vwhc kkrnc obdj bxqz awg ohpvr khy scj lfzys rpdtz nfc jqgic xofco jnatm cje efe dgya kkpvt hncls skdz bpg qqxk ncx xhpnj kagm wpuhp hgyh elnz kagm uegn mxh wer mgpv niji biefw jiu miip aiyfa biviz yuycj zogd nkgm ydlur evqrg bxg hhqbi gpvj pzfun lwx fwovt pwsyq coo iao eyxtx xar ofi wmy lmr pkt wqljg gts udl shh psug ncish vhm xqxc uxmel xdy cnhpa jleu fbcgv sppg hrw zxnp dso vgjzf abka xih lide orgr tnxu kgvs xfkm lzm oxh mur dtumo vicuo qfac chdfn lulaw uccb wbirs oqao toywi cvpn epuj ouuui Wings Over Scotland | The Truth Does Out

The Truth Does Out

Posted on June 03, 2026 by

Sometimes you have to wait a while for people to catch up.

But patience is everything, readers.

All things, we hope, come to those who wait.

The SNP tried all sorts of excuses. First up, in February 2020, immediately after Wings had broken the story that “hundreds of thousands of pounds from two supposedly “ringfenced” fundraisers for independence have instead vanished into the hungry maw of the party’s seat-winning machine”, was a simple, classic flat denial: “it’s categorically not true”. The very suggestion was “utter nonsense”.

But since it WAS true – and obviously true, all anyone had to do was take the briefest look at the accounts and notice the startling absence of £482,000 that should have been there – that one couldn’t last.

In October of the same year, after the SNP’s accounts were published and we returned to the story, the party treasurer tried something slightly subtler: the money was still there, but it was invisible, and anyone saying otherwise was a conspiracy theorist.

That one was just too silly to survive very long, so in early 2021 they came up with a wizard wheeze: to prove they had the money, they were going to spend it, despite the fact that there was no second referendum to campaign for.

More pertinently, as Wings immediately pointed out, the cunning scheme was rendered somewhat implausible by the fact that everyone could see they didn’t have the money to spend, and were in fact just planning to re-label their normal spending as being from the indy fund in order to pretend they’d used it for its intended purpose.

The plan duly collapsed catastrophically as the head of the “taskforce” resigned in the same week as the treasurer stood down in protest at not being allowed to see the books so that he could do his job.

(Biagi enigmatically described the role as the “worst job ever” before being abruptly silenced by being given a mysteriously non-specific sinecure as a “Chief Of Staff” in the House Of Commons, and was later rewarded with a lucrative but low-profile job – paying anywhere between £80,000 and £116,000 – as a Special Adviser to the First Minister, which he still holds.)

So in June 2021 they gave up on trying to be clever and went back to straight-up denial: there was simply NO missing money.

John Swinney was clear: specifically asked if the money had been diverted to other purposes, he replied “Not to my knowledge, no”.

The money definitely wasn’t missing, they just couldn’t show you it, because secret important reasons. They could if they wanted to, they just didn’t want to.

But it definitely existed. Also they might need some more soon.

But once again, the denials were inconvenienced by the unhelpful fact that the money visibly and stubbornly continued to be very much missing from the party accounts. So at the same time they tried a new tack: admitting to having spent some of it – specifically around £52,000, or less than 8%.

But still the awkward questions persisted, so a year later they briefly tried confusing people by upping the figure to £253,000 (while intriguingly also increasing the total that had been raised and ring-fenced by £70,000), and insisted that there was still £488,000 of the imaginary fund available to spend.

But there wasn’t. The party’s actual bank balance was £343,000 lower than that, so nobody but the super-gullible was buying it.

Then in 2023, just days after Nicola Sturgeon’s dramatic and unexpected resignation as First Minister, they suddenly pivoted back to straight denial for a third time, hiding behind the need to avoid commenting on a live police investigation (a favourite trick of John Swinney’s, ironically).

And as far as we can recall (do please correct us in the comments if we’ve missed any further twists) that continued to be the official SNP position until today, when the poor suffering cat was finally released from the bag.

It has taken the SNP almost six and a half years to finally grudgingly admit what was indisputably obvious in 2020 to anyone with functioning eyes. And Swinney, who was either Deputy First Minister or actual First Minister for almost all of that time, can’t pretend that he didn’t understand the question.

He knows what “ring-fenced” money is and what can and can’t be done with it.

He knows fine well that more than just SNP supporters donated to the fund.

So he can neither morally nor legally use the money for general “SNP objectives”, which might be directly opposed to their interests (eg advancing the SNP cause in a general election against the parties those people might support).

Not to mention the rather more serious consequence, which is that his admission today unavoidably implicates him (and the rest of the SNP leadership since 2017) in direct, deliberate criminal fraud against thousands of ordinary Scots.

Because even if – and this is a VERY big stretch indeed – the SNP didn’t initially intend to spend the ring-fenced money on something else, they knew that they weren’t allowed to just help themselves to it later. Either way, this is severely criminal activity.

If you or we, readers, swiped an SSPCA collecting tin from a shop counter with 50 quid in it, we’d find ourselves hauled up in front of a beak in double-quick time, but apparently if you heist 700 grand (and then let your CEO spend it on £3,500 silver wine coasters and robot lawnmowers) you’re fine.

There has as yet been no sort of explanation forthcoming from either Police Scotland or the Crown Office for the mystery of why after five years of investigation nobody has been charged with the crime that actually triggered Operation Branchform (which then branched off into a separate embezzlement inquiry).

We have prima facie evidence that a crime has been committed (money has been obtained under demonstrably false pretences). We have the suspects to hand. We have the motive (the SNP was skint and needed the money). We have an admission from the suspects that the stolen items have been disposed of (spent). Even in a country as hopelessly, abjectly corrupt as Scotland, that ought to be sufficient to see someone in a dock.

At a very minimum, this fund should lead to “Honest John” Swinney’s early retirement. But he was not the prime mover in this sleazy business, and nor are mere resignations remotely enough to satisfy the demands of justice.

0 to “The Truth Does Out”

1. robertkknight says:

The arrogance of Swiney is breathtaking…

The SNP has poisoned the well, shat the bed, whatever you want to call it… they’ve killed Indy for decades!

I gave money to a ring-fenced campaign that at no point indicated that the money would be used for a single political party to actively campaign not only for its own benefit, but actively against a party of which I was a member.

I would strongly suggest those of a mind to do so write to the SNP, demand their ring fenced donations for a referendum campaign or household guide be returned. Inform the fraudsters that if such is not forthcoming that you will pursue them through your Sheriff Court via the “Simple Procedure”:

link to scotcourts.gov.uk

2. Elmac says:

Come on Police Scotland, what are you waiting for? You now have an admission of theft of £667,000 worth of donations. What more do you need to stir yourself and act? If COPFS corruptly try to block you on this one it must be time for the public to have access to what data they have been given, starting with the content of the dossier you sent them on Sturgeon on which they declined to press charges.

Its time to end the coruuption in the Scottish legal system whic the Sturgeon regime fostered.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“Its time to end the coruuption in the Scottish legal system”

Naw.

That ship has sailed. It won’t be returning for another 5 years.

There’s nothing being exposed here that most savvy Scots haven’t known about for years. Over those years, we could have organised, we could have created new parties, we could have voted for these new parties and new politicians determined to sweep the stables clear.

We did SFA. Fundamentally, we never gave a shit. Four weeks ago, we trooped into the polling booths to vote for our familiar tribes.

I predict we’ll do SFA for the next 5 years too.

Happy to be proved wrong, but if all the posts calling for some other cant to do something are typical (hint: they are), then I’m right.

3. Scunered says:

So, they get away with embezzling the general public with zero consequences?

Is that really the case?

• Hatey McHateface says:

Naw.

SNP members aren’t the general public in Scotland.

Neither are Indy supporters. They amount to a bit less than half of the general public in Scotland.

4. Ex President Xiden says:

Using money donated by members of the public for a particular reason and spending it on other things without the express permission of those donors is embezzlement.

• lee says:

Ex President-No its not embezzlement. It is fraud. Based on fraudulent misrepresentation.

• James Barr Gardner says:

DECEPTION !

5. Brotyboy says:

Even though we’ve known this to have been the case for some time now, it still comes as a shock.

6. Daisy Walker says:

Why did the ‘unionist controlled’ Electoral Commission not make enquiry into this, and then liaise with Police regarding it?

Very much the dog that isn’t barking…. almost as if the SNP – in its current form – is a Unionist organisation.

The timing of this, coinciding as it does with John Swinneys rather feeble request for another Referendum is unlikely to be accidental.

I predict John will fall on his early retirement sword and make way for the new broom, Flynn… another troughing, empty suit.

And the game will continue, and both votes stupid will fall for it all over again. There will probably be another fund raiser.

• Alf Baird says:

“the SNP – in its current form – is a Unionist organisation”

That is what postcolonial theory tells us, which explains why the colonial establishment protect it; but the movement must cast it aside because it acts as a barrier to liberation:

link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com

7. Ian lecoup says:

If all of our Scottish politicians, judiciary and journalists were as much on their brief as you Stu, Scotland would be happily independent today!
    It feels like you are in heaven right now, and most of us are loving it!!
    Thank you, Stu

8. Shug says:

What is more interesting is the BBC and MSM inability to ask direct questions and push for an answer.

Why do unionists continually miss an open goal. One could be forgiven for thinking they did’t want these people to go.

• robertkknight says:

“Never interrupt your enemy when they’re making a mistake”.
      (A bastardised version of a quote attributed to Bonaparte).

• Hatey McHateface says:

It’s very easy for you to prove your suspicions, Shug.

Just list all the charismatic, competent, principled, honest, driven, Scottish politicians whose meteoric rise to office has been stymied by the dead beats and crims squatting in the HR Cabinet.

I’m guessing you’ll name JC and then dry up.

• Mark Beggan says:

It’s because they’re Globalists not Unionists.

• Hatey McHateface says:

The union is non-existent, Mark.

You can’t have a group named for supporting something that doesn’t exist. Not even in Scotland, where logic is regarded as a foreign import that we neither want nor need.

Try to keep up!

9. Southernbystander says:

Nice to see an albeit very brief mention of Rev Campbell in the BBC article:

‘In October 2020, Wings Over Scotland blogger Stuart Campbell complained that the independence fund had “vanished” into the “party machine”.

He noted that in the previous year’s accounts the SNP had £97,000 in the bank and net assets of £272,000.

That led to speculation that the fund contributed to general party expenses, such as the 2017 general election.’

It also mentions the fact ‘The SNP’s long-standing auditors also quit in September 2023 – six months before Murrell was first arrested’.

And I have curtailed the following quotation:

‘Swinney said last week he was “not conscious”‘.

10. Frank Gillougley says:

So that’s it then. Just like that. Chief bullshitter employs usual word salad weasly verbage to say in a helluva roundabout way, that the ‘ring-fenced’ referendum fund no longer exists as that money has been spent. I’ve had it with these fuckwits.

Of course one would have thought that there have to be consequences. Surely COPFS have to act now? Well, apart for viewers in Scotland that is, where clearly the Crown Office have been in cahoots with the governing party all along and still are.

So at this point, if there are no consequences, the British State must again come into the frame. I for one don’t believe that the Crown Office are independent in Scotland within a UK context and not answerable to or are being controlled by a higher authority i.e. the UK government.

11. Hatey McHateface says:

Is there such a thing as “number blindness”? Like “word blindness” – dyslexia?

It’s surely disgraceful to hound people just because they’re neuro-diverse.

• Karen says:

Yes, dyscalculia.

• Hatey Mchateface says:

Thanks, Karen.

By the logic of Scotland’s very own Hate Crimes Act (still un-repealed, despite the election only 4 weeks ago in which we could have voted for parties pledging to repeal it – that would be if any Scot actually gave a shit), then it’s a crime to diss any Scot self-identifying as suffering from dyscalculia.

And for true sufferers – well – which part of being progressive don’t we understand? Our Scottish parliament leads the world in celebrating the unique contributions of the differently abled.

Mothers of young children don’t know if they are women, FFS. And they get returned to office too! Who wants to listen to the regressive gammons earnestly counting their bawbees?

Are we to throw away our mould-breaking progressive principles over a few hundred thousand quid?

• Mark Beggan says:

They’re stupid. How would they know any difference.
      We had a special classroom for those kids. They would get crayons and stuff.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Crayons are useless by themselves. Sock puppets are needed to demonstrate how they work.

12. Doug says:

If Swinney has the unmitigated gall to wear a Scotland top when he runs away to America to watch McTominay and the rest of the boys I swear I’ll… I’ll… Ach, I’ll just get pisht as usual.

13. Mark Beggan says:

This is Organised Crime. Don’t Police Scotland have special powers in dealing with such crime gangs?

14. 100%Yes says:

Criminal charges need to be brought to those who have made false statements regarding the Independence fund, like wings said this wasn’t a donate to the SNP it was for a pacific reason and its that reason you would have had Labour, Lib-Dem and Tory supporters who donated money to a Independence referendum and nothing else and certainly not for the SNP to win an election.

If the SNP had been honest and said we need money for the party to survive or Independence is dead who wouldn’t have donated £50 or more. But instead the SNP turned there back on Scotland in 2015 and just used Independence as a means to win power and obtain money by fraud, who else can you put this.

For those of us who have been banging on about the SNP since 2015 will remember the slogan “Lets make Westminster work for Scotland” it was at this point I knew Independence under Sturgeon was dead.

SNP asking for probe into whether Douglas Alexander broke ministerial code. I fucking as you, they’ve just stole 600K from Indy supporters and there worried if DA has broke the ministerial code.

15. Campbell Clansman says:

What incentive does Swinney have to tell the truth?
    The SNP is built on lies and fraud. They got returned to power after a decade of lies and fraud.
    For the SNP insiders, lying has gotten them the perks of office, and no prison-time downside.
    Expect more lies and evasions, though after the Murrell plea, somewhat better evasions.

16. Graham white says:

If we had voted SNP1 and Alba2. Hmm
    It’s either Sturgeons pettiness and hatred for Salmond.
    Or
    They never wanted Indy.

Narcissist or 5th columnist, will we ever know?

I don’t trust Swinney one iota. When Nicola had to excuse herself who takes over, well her deputy. Hmm. No notes of attendees at the meetings, Swinney was complicit. We all know how small organisations work. Think they didn’t know. Awa’ and boil yer heid if ye dae

17. willie says:

Another excellent piece of journalism setting out fraud perpetrated on people who were enticed into giving donations to a faux appeal.

This article lays bare the the complicity of the Sturrell Gang and its senior team. The article lays it all out and it is a It is a matter that should have gone to court. But it didn’t.

That the COPFS has done nothing to bring those involved to trial is a dark dark stain on the justice system in Scotland. Frankly, the COPFS are exposed as being no different from drug dealers or child exploitation merchants. Rotten, absolutely rotten. Folks can have no trust, no faith faith whatsoever in what masquerades as justice system in Scotland. Lawless Scotland. That is where we are.

Thanks again Rev Stu for an excellent well presented article.

18. Spade says:

And let’s not forget; while they were doing everything possible to avoid being held to account for a something that they definitely did do, on a parallel track they were doing everything possible to imprison a man for stuff that he definitely did not do.

We really are dealing with scumbags of the lowest order.

The police need to ring-fence and deal with this properly or they too will be woven into the accounts of ordinary people and held in utter contempt alongside SNP politicians.

19. joolz says:

The accounts were handed out at NEC meetings. Even those of us who aren’t accountants could see that there was £600k missing.

Every single person who was handed those accounts should be prosecuted for either being complicit in the embezlement and/or being aware that donated funds were not being used for the purpose for which they were donated. That is fraud. The NEC must be held jointly and a severally liable. Same applies to every office bearer.

How about a crowd funder for legal action against Swinney and his cronies to be run by one of the most reliable and trustworthy people in the movement, the Rev. I would chip in.

Those scumbags have destroyed any chance of me seeing independence in my lifetime.

20. 100%Yes says:

Wings, Robin Mcalpine is in total agreement with you regarding the above.

Any SNP member could make a formal complaint about Sturgeon not being charged, which could bring about a new police inquiry and charges.

Also today Scottish government has been found in contempt in by the court regarding the Salmond files and it looks like the case will go ahead.

I would have a read of below, it isn’t happy news for Swinney or Sturgeon.

link to robinmcalpine.org

link to scotsman.com

• Hatey McHateface says:

Great links.

“The biggest problem the opposition has is working out which of these endless vulnerabilities to attack [Swinney] on.

Sturgeon poisoned the SNP. Swinney refused to drive it to the doctor. It may be their political epitaphs”

Their personal epitaphs too.

21. 100%Yes says:

If Swinney had any sence he’d realize Sturgeon has played him for a fool and he’s played being the fool so well. Lets be honest how can Sturgeon be upset with john when he’s been the perfect moron. Even Angus Robertson didn’t take on the roll of FM, now we know why.

John if you wanted to safe the SNP and yourself you’d ask the police to look into Sturgeon personally while she was FM and distance yourself from her entirely.

22. David McAdam says:

Some years ago, I was a trustee of a small international charity. We put out a special appeal for incubators for a hospital we supported in a country in Africa. The money was handed over to our partners on the ground there. A new emergency had come in and they used the money to fund something else – equally valid, and something we had funded before, but not what this money had been raised for. When we found out, as trustees we were left with no option, but to replace the money that they had misused with our money to honour the pledges of the people who had given money for incubators. You cannot collect money for one thing, and use it for something else.

23. Andy Wiltshire says:

The police are going to look even more suspect if they don’t act now.

24. Marco McGinty says:

If Swinney is saying that the money has been spent, then it must have been spent in the past week or so, because Alyn Smith claimed it was still there on Debate Night last week.

I’m beginning to think someone in the SNP is lying!

• robertkknight says:

Lying?

Does a bear shit in the woods?

25. Hatey McHateface says:

Seems like only 4 weeks since Scotland went to the polls and put the SNP and Swinney into Scotland’s driving seat for 5 more years.

Actually, it is only 4 weeks.

Some people said at the time that the decision to postpone the Murrell verdict until after the election stank.

And so it bloody obviously did.

Here’s an idea. Let’s push to get the election declared null and void owing to corruption and malfeasance at the highest levels of the Scottish establishment.

Scotland shouldn’t have to put up with another 5 years of these crims, deviants and chancers calling the shots.

Let’s campaign for another HR GE so we can sling the whole damn lot of them out on their arses.

• Grace Green says:

Hatey, you are a love! That’s the best idea ever, and demonstrably justified. C’mon folks let’s do it. Perhaps the Rev could organize it, given his amazing communication skills.

26. Colin Dawson says:

The independence referendum fighting fund of £666,953 would be worth circa £903,000 today if adjusted for inflation, or circa £839,000 if it had been placed into a high-interest bank account.

• Colin Dawson says:

Courts do not adjust defrauded sums for inflation using retail or consumer price indices; instead, they restore a party’s position by awarding statutory judicial interest on top of the original principal amount. In Scotland, the standard judicial interest rate for court decrees is 8% per annum simple interest, meaning the courts would increase the value of the £666,953 fund by up to £401,000 in interest, bringing a total court award to as much as £1,068,000 in the event that successful legal action were taken.

27. Cynicus says:

The SNP leadership is a crime syndicate.

I inserted the word “leadership “ Into the original sentence aboveout if respect for many decent members who have been ripped off by these crooks.

28. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

Irish proverb:

“Filleann feall ar an fheallaire”

(“Betrayal returns to the betrayer”)

29. BH says:

Some would say tautologies and circular truisms are not subject to opinion. Could it be that a pathogen is pathogenic? Might it be impossible not to know that the transduction of a functioning pathogen behind the lines, in inherently uncontrollable final numbers – the manufacturing outsourced to the individual – would increase mortality? Maybe this would look like record excess deaths. With big blips in cohorts previously demonstrated immune.

30. MP says:

Well – what next? I wonder if Sturgeon will give any more interviews now this has landed on the lap of interviewers, ‘John Swinney now admits what was obvious on the face of the accounts all along, that the ring-fenced money was spent for SNP purposes, not for the purposes for which you raised it, which was an Independence Referendum. Why did you deny that the £667,000 had been spent and assist your husband from preventing the NEC from investigating what had happened to that money?’

31. Philip Maughan says:

The irony here surely is that, had the SNP heedies simply owned up when the lack of ring fenced independence campaign funding in the accounts was first queried, there would probably have been no police inquiry, Peter Murrell could still be Chief Executive of the SNP and still siphoning off funds.

32. Lynn says:

As one of the complainers in 2021 this is mind boggling. The complaint was about the ring fenced fund specifically as was my statement.

33. Aidan says:

This is probably quite a sensible admission for John Swinney to make given;
    a) it’s obviously and clearly true;
    b) the police/COPFS have considered the legal issues around this and decided not to charge anyone; and
    c) the political/reputational issues can be landed squarely on Peter Murrell.

It also probably draws a line under the questions around this fund, which otherwise might have dragged on.

34. Patrick Roden says:

Since you have been the one asking Stu, and we know how Sturgeons cabal love to slander anyone who challenges them. Would it be worthwhile trawling back through all the things said about you to see if there’s anything you can raise a legal action about, for denigration of your character.
    Make them go to court or pay you an out of court settlement.

35. Patrick Roden says:

Swinney has been making the really stupid claim that since everyone knows the SNP are a party who pushes for independence, anything spent by them from the referendum fund was spent the correct way. I don’t for a minute believe the Swnney doesn’t understand that the SNP can’t decide what to spend ‘ring fenced’ money on when it was specificaly raised for a ‘referendum’ so he must be speaking to the more gullible members of the SNP and trying to keep them on the SNPs side. When a party starts firefighting to keep its ‘low information’ supporters on board, that party is in a bad way.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,930 Posts, 1,244,631 Comments

• James Che on Wider Than A Mile: “Aiden, The parliament of Westminster the then acting monarch of England official dissolved the Scottish parliament in the 1700s Its…Jun 12, 12:45
    • Mark Beggan on Wider Than A Mile: “The government is to introduce internet ban for under sixteens. May as well say goodbye to a few people on…Jun 12, 12:37
    • James Che on Wider Than A Mile: “The evidence that the Westminster parliament was indeed the parliament of England was the Anglo/ Irish Agreement in 1800s and…Jun 12, 12:35
    • Mark Beggan on Wider Than A Mile: “If you can’t beat them join them. Let’s talk about the past, let’s talk about Ireland! The Crumlin Road break…Jun 12, 12:06
    • James Che on Wider Than A Mile: “Englands Westminster parliament cannot and could not consume a parliament of Scotland that does not exist as it was dissolved…Jun 12, 12:05
    • Aidan on Wider Than A Mile: “I’m sorry I don’t follow this, what released Scotland from its oligations, what process was followed and what were the…Jun 12, 12:05
    • James Che on Wider Than A Mile: “The deceit and hoax come about when Westminster pretends that it had…not dissolved the parliament of Scotland from a union…Jun 12, 11:58
    • Mark Beggan on Wider Than A Mile: “Is this the article that allows you to read so far then wants money to read further? If Ireland sunk…Jun 12, 11:52
    • Aidan on Wider Than A Mile: “Do you normally get like this when you lose an argument Northcode? No wonder you spend your whole time posting…Jun 12, 11:49
    • Northcode on Wider Than A Mile: “Fuck off AI Dan… this place is for Scots who want England’s ‘raggedy arse kicked out of Scotland’ and yet…Jun 12, 11:38
    • James Che on Wider Than A Mile: “Aiden, By dissolving the Scottish parliament so early on from what was supposed to create the united parliament of Great…Jun 12, 11:34
    • Mark Beggan on Wider Than A Mile: “I think you need a woman James.Jun 12, 11:33
    • Aidan on Wider Than A Mile: “That is factually incorrect though James, during the period 1707 – 1800 Scottish MP’s and peers sat in the GB…Jun 12, 11:31
    • James Che on Wider Than A Mile: “Aidan, By 1801/1802 Scotland was not in the parliament of Great Britain at all, Due to the monarch of England…Jun 12, 11:18
    • Mark Beggan on Wider Than A Mile: “Ireland is to busy getting butt fucked by Europa. That’s how they pay rent to Brussels.Jun 12, 11:17
    • Aidan on Wider Than A Mile: “@Alf – using post-colonial theory and the colonial markers you’ve described, is Yorkshire a colony?Jun 12, 11:04
    • Aidan on Wider Than A Mile: “The Treaty of Union creates a single parliament for Great Britain, and within that single parliament the arithmetic was such…Jun 12, 10:51
    • Alf Baird on Wider Than A Mile: ““Perhaps we should go back to those halcyon, happy days when we weren’t colonised. How does 1996 sound?” Prior to…Jun 12, 10:47
    • robertkknight on Wider Than A Mile: “Absolutely wrong! A united Ireland will fundamentally change politics in Scotland. There is a distinct probability that much of the…Jun 12, 10:40
    • xaracen on Wider Than A Mile: “Aidan said; “You mean apart from Article 1 which does exactly that. Ultimately here you remain in a minority of…Jun 12, 10:22
    • xaracen on Wider Than A Mile: “I said above, “nothing in it transfers, bequeaths or incorporates the ‘sovereignty of the English Crown in the brand new…Jun 12, 10:17
    • Minceheid on Wider Than A Mile: “Red says: 11 June, 2026 at 10:25 pm Am I wrong? In a word, no; it’s all just common sense,…Jun 12, 10:13
    • Northcode on Wider Than A Mile: “There are various extreme psychological pathologies at work in Scotland, but there’s one type the SNP often exploits more than…Jun 12, 10:10
    • Aidan on Wider Than A Mile: “You mean apart from Article 1 which does exactly that. Ultimately here you remain in a minority of one, nobody…Jun 12, 09:51
    • Hatey McHateface on Wider Than A Mile: “Just 5 more years, xaracen, and the millions of Sovereign Scottish voters will see the sense of your arguments. I…Jun 12, 09:51
    • Hatey McHateface on Wider Than A Mile: “Please don’t use the racist term “fair” again.Jun 12, 09:45
    • xaracen on Wider Than A Mile: “Everyone except you, Aidan! This is your usual English establishment tripe. Nothing in the Treaty of Union as written, signed…Jun 12, 09:33
    • xaracen on Wider Than A Mile: “After the end of every session of the Scottish parliament it would host an additional mandatory session, held under the…Jun 12, 09:14
    • Aidan on Wider Than A Mile: “That’s a very fair point HateyJun 12, 09:14
    • diabloandco on Wider Than A Mile: “Thanks Fearghas, it’s why I come on here every time the RSPCA give us a new , expensive and horrific…Jun 12, 09:05