Nicola’s Summer Reading List

Posted on May 30, 2026 by

Now that Nicola Sturgeon is finally free of her gruelling MSP workload, which could give her anything up to two extra hours of spare time a week, she might like to start making a proper dent in the contents of her fully-loaded bookshelves.

(At least until they’re seized and sold under the Proceeds Of Crime Act.)

So we thought we’d offer up a few suggestions.

Sturgeon was of course always keen to promote Scottish authors (well, at least one Scottish author, anyway), and we’ve always been massive fans of thriller writer and big independence supporter Chris Brookmyre.

And as luck would have it, his catalogue covers a lot of her interests.

This one might remind her of her careful scrutiny of SNP finances.

This one rather speaks for itself.

She’s probably already familiar with this one.

And this one.

This one, named after the idea of failing to notice a slowly-developing perilous situation, features a secretly gay Scottish political figure called Peter, scandal in the Scottish Parliament and one of the protagonists going to prison. Fun!

This one will remind her of the exciting period in her life from 2010 to 2026.

Although now she’s got her licence she might want to take a break and get away from it all on the open road (just not in the campervan or the Jag).

But it’s probably safe to say she’ll identify most with this one.

And as for how this one turns out, we’ll all have to wait and see.

Have a lovely summer, Nicola. Try not to sweat too much. And remember – if you can’t stand the heat, stay out of the kitchen.

0 to “Nicola’s Summer Reading List”

1. Morgatron says:

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty.

2. Albert Herring says:

I’ll stick with Dostoyevsky.

• J Galt says:

“The Demons” comes to mind – although that may give them more dignity than they deserve – a shame Dostoyevsky didn’t write a book entitled “The Low Grade Petty Grifters”!

3. duncanio says:

I would have thought that The Lavender Hill Mob might also feature.

4. Simone says:

Have you got shares in Chris Brookmyre’s publisher?

5. Muscleguy says:

Or
    A Tale Told In Blood And Hard Black Fancy Pen

And for an over title of the whole lot Pandaemonium.

6. agentx says:

“The former First Minister was scheduled to interview author Kirsty Lockwood next week about her debut novel We Know What You Did, but has been removed from all the promotional materials for the cosy chat.”
    ————————————–
    We Know What You Did – a very apt book title.

7. Brotyboy says:

If you watched HIGNFY last night and saw the first item, which was about 12 minutes on the Murrell scandal you’ll have realised that Scotland is a laughing stock right now.
    And how perspicacious of Alex to tell her that Leader and Chief Exec could/should not be a lavender couple.

• agentx says:

HIGNFY is a satirical comedy show and mock every political party. But the show last night was great.

• Onlooker says:

Not interested in the prurient schadenfreude mockery of anti-Scottish English middle class maggots.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Quite right.

Fit dae they cants ken aboot being colonised?

Here’s a thought. If you ken how tae use “schadenfreude” correctly in a sentence, can you reasonably criticise others for being middle class?

Maybes naw, eh?

• James says:

“Maybes naw, eh?”

Prick.

• Onlooker says:

It would be ‘mibbes naw’, smart cunt.

Only middle class folk know big German words, and how to use them correctly. Class indicates vocabulary. Definitely the single stupidest fucking thing I have ever read in my life. Hands down, no contest. Shaking my head here.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Wally Walrus returns from the fjords, to practice his extremely limited vocab on here.

Keep your flapping flippers above the waist, James!

• Terry says:

Ha ha. Well done
        You deserve a laugh and praise after your tireless pursuit of the truth. The whole of Scotland should be thankful to you

8. 100%Yes says:

From Grand Tour to the sewer. Quite a legacy it’ll take some beating.

9. Derry Smith says:

One of your commentators mention Sturgeons legal career. Maybe she will look back fondly on the way it ended. She left suddenly. link to grousebeater.wordpress.com

10. Mark Beggan says:

The Generation Game Robbery.
    Didn’t she do well!

• Ex President Xiden says:

Any truth in the rumour that Nicola once appeared on said Generation Game but had a disastrous final game when she couldn’t recall any of the prizes on the conveyor belt?

11. Ex President Xiden says:

And they would have got away with it if it hadn’t been for that pesky Rev.

• sarah says:

Hear, hear. And for the Rev’s next trick, perhaps join with Peter A Bell and Roddy Macdonald in a new party. That would put the wind up the SNP…

• Red says:

They keep pretending Nickla can write, when she can hardly speak in joined up paragraphs that make sense. The SNP is not blessed with thinkers these days, some of them are semi-literate highliter pen sniffers like Jamie Hepburn, the uh, former ministur, for uh, independince. (What does a Minister for Independence do? Collect another £20k a year despite being unemployable in the private sector.)

And Nicola has never been accused of being particularly bright. Failed solicitor, failed Govan candidate, who only got by on the kindness of Alex Salmond. And look how she repaid him. Nicola was worse on the campaign trail than Annabelle Ewing, and that’s saying a lot. Nice lady, Annabelle, not good at talking to strangers about politics.

Scotland has seen cults of personality before, but usually based around somebody with a personality. Winnie, God bless her. The unsinkable Margo, these women had a personality, and no cults. What’s Nicola’s appeal? Is it her staunch hypothetical feminism, combined with love of putting male sex offenders in women’s prisons, and insistence that she’s never been responsible for any of the scandalous catastrophes that have followed in her wake? No, “men” did it, and ran away.

Is it her heartfelt nationalism, her championing of the Scottish people? Haha. I hope you like Afghans.

Perhaps it’s her amazing political record, of telling us to keep being afraid of a flu long after mortality stats proved it was just a flu? The cult went to crazy lengths during lockdown, Nicola was “keeping us safe”. Aye, right.

Is it her personal charm, the fragrance of Wee Hairy? That je ne sais quo which no doubt inspired poor Peter to have frequent heterosexual sex.

I don’t get it. Why do people pretend Nicola Sturgeon is some kind of Great Person of Our Times, when she’s clearly one of the least impressive people you’ve ever seen in Scotland? She’s not funny, she’s not truthful, she’s not useful. There’s nothing there. They can’t all be Wallaces, Morays and Bruces, but wtf is going on with the quality of our “leaders”? John Swinney couldn’t lead a gay conga line to a free Kylie Minogue concert. We should be so lucky.

• Hatey McHateface says:

She’s nae Humza Yusaf either.

• Phil says:

Excellent post Red. You are dead right, there is nothing there. Or, as my Dad said when she first appeared on the scene: ‘She’s a wee Glasgow clippie’. As I wrote 3 years ago,

link to conservativewoman.co.uk

• Minceheid says:

Hatey McHateface says:
        30 May, 2026 at 8:31 pm

She’s nae Humza Yusaf either.

It was nice of you to find something positive to say about her at this trying time. Fair play man 🙂

12. Campbell Clansman says:

“How to Hide a Min-Van and £400,000 so your Spouse Isn’t Aware of Either” by Peter Murrell.

13. robertkknight says:

“How to Destroy a Country in 10 Easy Steps”

link to amazon.co.uk

14. Sean Duffy says:

If ever the proceeds of crime confiscations come into play, then Ernest Hemmingway’s ‘To Have and Have Not’ would be apt.

15. william mc says:

Surely there must be a wee job in hairdressing for Nicola,after this all dies down? Soz. “If” this dies down.You will remember during Covid lockdown,there she was “red carpet ready” and podium perfect every day,not a hair out of place,or indeed longer than before,claiming she did her own coiffeur during those taxing months,when the rest of us looked like Yetis. Ah yes,a wee backwash,hairdressers chair,and drier will fill in the space left by the built ins.nicely. She can do “mates rates” too for all her Hollyrood pals.If she has any.

16. Aidan says:

Crime and Punishment (or Crime and no Punishment)

17. Luigi says:

It’s Mein Kampfervan I tell ye. Mein.

18. Onlooker says:

Crime novels are boring, tedious shit. Seems like most of the writers in Scotland fart them out on a regular basis. Rubbish. Massive failure of the dark-minded Scottish imagination.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Strong, the memories of the rejection slips, in this one.

• Alf Baird says:

“Crime novels are boring, tedious shit”

What passes for Scots ‘literature’ today seems to be smothered by crime books from bourgeois ‘New Town’ authors, as if they feel a need to constantly reinforce the endless negative ethnic stereotypes about the working class dysfunctional Scot, which is no doubt intentional.

Meanwhile, in the colony, anti-colonial literature is always thin on the ground, if permitted at all, the people otherwise kept occupied, when what they really need to know is the fully fledged truth about their thoroughly rotten ‘condition’, so they can end it:

‘Doun-Hauden: The Socio-Political Determinants of Scottish Independence’ (from Ama*on)

link to cpb-us-w2.wpmucdn.com

• Hatey McHateface says:

As a writer of “colonially permitted literature”, Alf, why do you think you have been granted permission to publish, when so many of the other writers have allegedly been silenced?

OK, I’ll fess up. That question is far too difficult / embarrassing for you to answer!

Here’s an easier one. To an accuracy of the nearest order of magnitude, by how much do you think Scottish sales of bourgeois New Town authors exceed yours?

• Alf Baird says:

“so many of the other writers”

What writers?

Aside from Doun-Hauden, I don’t see any other books explaining the colonial condition of Scots.

• Onlooker says:

Don’t even think it’s as complicated as that, Alf, though what you say may be wee part of the overall equation/formula. Often it’s the defective detective themselves who is a drunk/druggie bombscare, and never mind the nutters they’re hunting. Trite, formulaic, gaudy, gauche tripe.

Reading shite crime novels gives middle class pricks a vicarious dark streets of Scotland fix, whilst making them feel as if they are fixing society’s ills and maintaining a status quo. Really all they are doing is being jaded trauma voyeurs, wanking over violent, dark, tedious tartan noir rubbish.

Irvine Welsh has a lot to answer for these days with his Crime shite. That entertainment bsector also a burgeoning industry for creepy middle class women writing misandrist novels in revenge for their unsatisfying lives with their milquetoast halfwit husbands. Not to mention a chance to poverty porn around on the page with the unreconstructed working class they fear and loathe and lust after with a repressed middle class lustful fury.

What a load of utter shit.

• Hatey McHateface says:

If Fanon, Memmi, Cesaire, Elkins and the Jonesy boyo don’t explain the “colonial condition of Scots”, Alf, why do you keep quoting them?

But it’s both interesting and depressing to see you and Onlooker joining forces to diss and damn those Scots who achieve something in the wider world, who raise Scotland’s profile internationally, who educate strangers to aspects of Scottish history, culture and character.

Take Rankin’s Rebus for example. A character dogged, tough, streetwise, and absolutely incorruptible. Pursuing justice whatever the personal and professional cost. Bringing the guilty to book, regardless of their status – whether high or low.

How typically whiny and cringy that you have nothing good to say about either the creator or his creation.

How typically Scottish that when you see a tall poppy, the only response is to reach for the scythe.

• Captain Caveman says:

“Reading shite crime novels gives middle class pricks a vicarious dark streets of Scotland fix, whilst making them feel as if they are fixing society’s ills and maintaining a status quo. Really all they are doing is being jaded trauma voyeurs, wanking over violent, dark, tedious tartan noir rubbish.”

What a load of shite. Any work of fiction presents the reader with a “vicarious” experience/opportunity on some level or other, whether that’s seeing an imagined life through fictional person living on the mean streets of working class Glasgow, the planet Trantor amongst sentient robots or a frontier town in 1800s America.

What, so it’s somehow “bad” for someone of a different social class to pick up and enjoy a well-crafted, well written and exciting book that’s themed on working class lives and/or issues? Says who? You? What’s it got to do with you anyway?

This is somehow “forbidden fruit” (as according to the ever censorious, ever condemning, joyless, killjoy Left), and apparently you need to have certain social credentials before being “allowed” to open one book or another? Perhaps “permitted reading lists” as produced by the State, eh? A Little Red Book maybe?

Books have the power to transport you into a wonderful, immersive, instructive alternate reality: no one – but NO ONE should be admonished or criticised for reading a book. Ever.

Anyway, everyone knows that most of the time, those endlessly critical lefties who purport to hail from the working classes are full of shit anyway, you’re about as authentic as a plastic carriage clock that falls out of a cheap Christmas cracker. You people don’t have a clue because you talk about it but have never actually lived it: there’s nothing to be relished about being penniless, working in a cold factory full of fumes, unable to even eat properly. Most people in that situation (of my generation at least) did everything they could to get themselves out of such a bind; they weren’t sitting there wallowing in this misery and holding it up as if some kind of social trophy, to be admired decades later by beardy pricks with designer glasses in Pret supping their “frappy” drinks and avocado on toasts, as if this was some kind of fucking Golden Age.

No, those “vicarious” reads were a bright spot in an otherwise ceaselessly bleak landscape for many; accessible for nothing more than a trip to the library, or maybe a few pennies at a book stall.

If people spent a good deal more of their time reading, as opposed to endlessly being indoctrinated in joyless, quasi-intellectual left wing echo chambers, their mental health and happiness would doubtless be immeasurably improved.

19. ScotsCanuck says:

In the immortal words of Dick Emery “oh!! … you are awefull, but I like you” (gave my age away there !!).

20. Izzie says:

Meanwhile we who care abiut Scittish Independence are leafleting and canvassing to win bith by-elections. The public dont care about this. Yesterdays news.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Careful, Izzie! Some of the public do care about spelling.

More specifically, they conclude that somebody who doesn’t respect them sufficiently to consider them worthy of the effort to write at a level above Primary 3, isn’t worthy of anything back in return.

Such as their vote.

You’re an adult, Izzie. Try to write like one.

• sarah says:

Izzie has mentioned that arthritis in her hands makes typing difficult. And if her IT system has predictive text then that is even less helpful.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Sure. My predictive text replaces Scottish with Scittish all the time.

• diabloandco says:

You think?

• robertkknight says:

D’Izzie…

Your attempts to promote Independence via the morally, politically and financially bankrupt SNP will no doubt be welcomed by HQ’s Devo-Max cabal.

Swinney, as with all his predecessors since she who cannot be named without immediate incontinence inducing laughter, has talked about Indy with the same level of conviction as the pub owner who every morning puts out the “Free Beer Tomorrow” sign.

Must be fun being someone else’s useful idiot…

“A “useful idiot” is a derogatory political term used to describe a naive or credulous person who is manipulated into promoting a cause, political agenda, or foreign power without fully understanding the consequences of their actions or the true motives of the movement’s leaders”.

Let me spell it out for you…

The SNP cannot survive without Westminster cash.

The SNP cannot survive in a Left/Right/Centre, 3-party post-Indy political landscape.

Ergo the SNP does not want Independence because Independence sees the end of the SNP. (a.k.a “Turkeys voting for Xmas”).

Instead, the leadership attempts to use support for Indy as leverage towards achieving their preferred option of Devo-Max; ensuring the Westminster tap isn’t turned off, whilst claiming to have achieved the next best thing to Indy.

Is that too difficult/painful for you to comprehend?

The biggest obstacle to Indy? The SNP!

• Rob says:

It seems that the SNP have forgotten the original brief for the party, upon independence the party was supposed to dissolve and become parts of the new Scottish left/centre/right parties

• paul says:

The SNP have won lots of by-elections and elections before but since the sturgeon era (I include js and hy) have done sweet FA with them.

Evidence says SNP ~= path to independence.

• robertkknight says:

A glance to the right of this webpage displays just some of the ‘Jam Tomorrow’ front pages of that rag of a Nicla fanzine “The National” which confirms what even the dogs in the street know…

The SNP are taking the pennies and the piss out of genuine supporters of Independence and have been doing so for the last decade!

The SNP care about one thing and one thing only… The SNP!

21. She could try:

“SNP Politics in My Life”, written by a failed SNP Councillor and MSP … me!

Okay it was completed last year (2025), before the factual Mr and Mrs Murrell really hit the fan. But it is good but long read!

22. 100%Yes says:

Nicola in the Kitchen with Husband and guest making cups of coffee, she really knows her way around the kitchen.

link to joansjigsaw.uk

• Oneliner says:

The Fanny and Johnny Craddock of politics

23. Charles Mackay says:

The English press are reporting she has now moved to London-brazen betrayal

• paul says:

That’s because the scotch folk are so horrible to embezzlers ,perjurors and criminals.

It will be a warm breath of righteous farts in the capital for the woman betrayed*.

*by her:
      husband
      party CEO
      mentor
      auditors
      advisors
      legal authorities
      fucking legal clients
      ‘journalists’
      bloggers
      tweeters
      ingrate children to mammy

I could go on but her resentments are too many

• Young Lochinvar says:

Probably realised at long last she isn’t getting any sympathy here except from the microscopic tranny community and that all the way down in stinking London she won’t be able to smell the stench she has left in her wake here.

“Poor me! I knew nothing “..
      The wail of every lags moll the world over..

Posted in the wee small hours; deal with it milk monitors.

• Hatey McHateface says:

They’re also reporting a surge in donations to the SNP, as the faithful rush to make up the shortfall caused by Murrell’s misdemeanours.

There’s only one route to Indy, and it’s owned, lock, stock and barrel, by the SNP.

Allegedly.

• TURABDIN says:

Independence movements eventually take the violent route.
        The mainstream Scots independentists appear rather squeamish/nervous in that regard.
        Fanon ultimately reached the conclusion that re-education, much talk talk and theorizing, took too long.
        The majority can always find an excuse to take a raincheck on this genre of political activity. When democracy becomes sluggish it requires a reboot…of some kind,
        Ergo, it’s Scotland’s citizen’s choice, pearl clutching maiden aunts or master’s of their destiny.
        The big world actually couldn’t care less but who pays that much attention to what the big bad world thinks anyway?

24. Cynicus says:

in his quest for appropriate book titles, how did the Rev miss Quintin Jardine‘s Secrets and Lies ?

It’s subtitle is even more appropriate:

Some crimes are hidden in plain sight

25. willie says:

Just watched Laura Kuenssberg’s Sunday morning interview with Sturgeon.

Pinnochio would be hard pressed to come up with the whopper performance by Sturgeon. Never ever ever have I watched such a performance.

Its high time this woman was in court to explain the whoopsie that she spouts. Anyone watching this, save the dumb, deaf and blind cannot but not have the gravest concerns about what this woman says.

And its not just her that brings shame on Scotland but also on others in the SNP and indeed the COPFS which seems very much to be protecting her.

My prediction is this for Sturgeon is not the end of the matter but rather only the beginning of a process that will ultimately call her to account.

Failed and defrocked as a solicitor history one suspects repeats with this woman. In the meantime, there will be many people looking for their money back.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Jimmy Nail’s “Ain’t No Doubt”.

She’s lying..

26. willie says:

And here’s a prediction.

Sturgeon’s interview with Laura Kuenssberg will come to be seen alongside Prince Andrew’s interview with Emily Maitlis.

Birds of a feather if I may opine.

• Cynicus says:

“ Sturgeon’s interview with Laura Kuenssberg will come to be seen alongside Prince Andrew’s interview with Emily Maitlis.”
      =========

Are you serious? Kuenssberg is not in the same league as the quietly but ruthlessly forensic Ms Maitlis.

You’re also being unfair to the Mountbatten- Windsor, formerly known as, “Prince“.

He Is no sort of politician far less a top drawer performative one like Sturgeon.

• Hatey McHateface says:

I guess she’s not yet sweating, then.

And these days, it’s Mr Mountbatten-Windsor.

Leave your glengarry undoffed, willie!

• Minceheid says:

I wonder if he could make some good money by launching his own line of antiperspirant products?

Mountbatten: 24-hour protection against even the most dodgy of photographs

Well…OK, the slogan needs some work. I’ll leave it to the marketing bods I think 🙂

27. Ex President Xiden says:

Well there you have it. In an interview with Laura Kuenssberg this morning, wee Nicola reveals she is in fact a victim of misogyny. Maybe this is a theme she can explore at the Edinburgh book festival she is due to attend……oh wait….

28. Captain Caveman says:

Well, it would’ve been quite amusing if she had in fact chosen that most beautiful English city – the Roman City of Bath – as a highly attractive refuge destination, as opposed to the English capital.

I should imagine any ensuing, unintended encounter with this site’s Editor would be a bit “awks”.

“Och, imagine meeting YOU here!” 😀

Selfie opportunity?

• Hatey McHateface says:

There’s some 90,000 Scots already living in London, CC, making it the fifth most populous Scottish city in the UK, exceeded in Scots numbers only by Glasgow, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Dundee.

So for Scots, London is not quite the alien, foreign city that many would claim.

And then there will be an extensive support network, based around the 7 SNP WM MPs, their supporters and their hangers on, none of whom are interested in Independence either.

She’s gonna be right at home.

• TURABDIN says:

SCOTS BORN could be around 100k mark as census returns may be conservative owing to family data withheld. Second & third gen increases the number exponentially.
        Scots are like Armenians they get into everything but don’t make a song and dance about it, in the same manner of another notable great minority people; actually high time these minorities did!
        Without its «aliens» England would be a doleful place.
        There is a back story of the Scot abroad that deserves a few serious tomes, à la The Wandering Scot.
        I have one in the depths of my large family’s history.
        A feisty woman of remarkable life skills,
        Exile Scot of the day JAMES GIBBS.

29. Owen Mullions says:

“I feel I’m being tried for a crime I didn’t commit” wails a tearful Sturgeon. She doesn’t do irony doesn’t she?

• Hatey McHateface says:

“I feel I’m being tried for a crime I didn’t commit”

Un be fucking lievable.

When is somebody gonna confront her about the man who was tried for fictitious crimes he didn’t commit – Alex Salmond?

On her watch and likely under her direction, too.

I don’t much believe in karma, but Sturgeon’s reputational trajectory is giving me second thoughts.

• Knuckle_Heid says:

Couldn’t agree more Hatey – if only Big Eck was alive to see this…

30. findlay says:

Sometimes life is just one steep learning curve, and I imagine she’s learning, just a little bit, about how she and her chums made Salmond feel. I say a little bit, because she still has to get a not guilty verdict in a court, and then be told by her accuser, that a not guilty verdict doesn’t mean she didn’t do it, to get the true flavour of what ‘process’ can do to a person.
    Enoch Powell once wrote that all political careers, unless cut off at some happy juncture, end in failure, ( or words to that effect). I suppose the trick is to be able to spot a happy juncture when it comes along. Leave when you’re ahead, sort of thing. Life can be so cruel……

• Hatey McHateface says:

Smart, successful politicians should organise their own assassinations.

• findlay says:

Could that be described as assisted suicide? However, as far as I know, it’s still a crime to lend assistance to anyone contemplating an early bath, so I don’t think anyone will be willing to help her out. Much more amusing to sit back and watch the performance, as someone else on here has said, she hasn’t got the smarts to stop digging.

31. Rob says:

Has she ever heard the saying, “when you are in a hole stop digging?”
    The whole story from her seems to be based around a big boy did it and ran away and the fact the it was a boy just makes it better for her story for claiming victimhood.
    On balance she is not likely to be complicit in the actual theft but the sheer incompetence displayed by the continual attempts to bury the issue and the denials that there was any issue raised by anyone is very much on display.
    The bare faced lies she is telling about there was nothing ever to think there was a problem in the parties finances is hard to say with a straight face for anyone bar her it seems.

32. The Crown Prosecution Service will not be seeking the extradition of Kenneth Law, despite his 79 known victims in the United Kingdom. Were they all in England or Wales? If not, then might an extradition to Scotland or Northern Ireland be possible? The CPS is serving notice. If it will not prosecute this, then it would not prosecute any assisted suicide. Is that also true of the Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service? Or of the Public Prosecution Service for Northern Ireland?

33. Mark Beggan says:

It will be easier to get rid of queers from positions in civic society than it was to force them on society.
    The people responsible are being removed politically or just by natural retirement and will not be replaced. The queers are on stolen time. I don’t forsee any more champions of this abomination taking the poison chalice from Dikolas Dickelby.
    Hell have no fury like an insulted Mother Nature.

• Rob says:

I do not have a problem with gays, lesbians, bisexuals, transexuals or “queers” per se. As long as it is harming no-one, it’s between consenting adults and it is not forced upon everyone else they can do what they want.
      What I do have a problem with is the attempts at enforced acceptance of some fairly wacky views, the promotion of folk because they are from the alphabettis rather than because of competence and the refusal for some to accept that they are a very tiny minority and there are more important issues to work on.
      I don’t even have a problem for non heterosexuals being an MP or MSP as long as they work for the good of all their constituents the same way I would expect a heterosexual MP or MSP to represent the minority communities equally.
      I also think we have now passed the high water mark of the insanity around this issue and we can expect it to drop down the priority list of the majority to become the sub culture it always was and the attempt that was made by some to make it mainstream is dying out.

• Mark Beggan says:

“As long as it is harming no-one, it’s between consenting adults and it is not forced upon everyone else they can do what they want”
        Duh!

34. Mark Beggan says:

Story circulating that Alex Salmond paid £500 pounds out of his own pocket to cover a theft by Murrell many years ago.

35. Northcode says:

Silent churn is a business term mostly used by sales and marketing professionals.

The silent churn of unhappy customers is a significant issue for businesses.

According to research, only 1 in 26 dissatisfied customers will complain, while the rest quietly leave without expressing their dissatisfaction.

This silent behavior can lead to a hidden churn crisis, where companies lose customers without understanding the underlying reasons for their dissatisfaction.

I suspect those ‘customers’ who once supported the SNP in their many thousands have just silently abandoned it.

So, ‘silent churn’… when folk hate you so much they can’t even be bothered telling you why.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“I suspect those ‘customers’ who once supported the SNP in their many thousands have just silently abandoned it”

I guess we’ve under 3 weeks to find out, when the by election results are in, if your suspicions are correct.

Have you checked what the bookies are saying?

• robertkknight says:

No need to wait, just cast your mind back by three weeks.

Compare and contrast…

2021 Election Results

SNP Constituency 1,291,204

SNP Regional 1,094,374

Turnout 2,706,761 / 2,712,783

2026 Election Results

SNP Constituency 877,077 (-414,127)

SNP Regional 625,949 (-468,425)

Turnout 2,297,159 / 2,303,512 (-409,602 / -409,271)

Summary

The drop in turnout between 2021 and 2026 corresponds rather nicely to the drop in SNP votes; former SNP voters being unable to bring themselves to vote for the SNP, or indeed any other party, simply staying at home.

Well done SNP, well done…

• Mark Beggan says:

Vivactive Inconsistency Pants! That will ensure a good nights sleep for the silent Churners.

36. TURABDIN says:

the ULTIMATE QUEER list, a few you might actually have heard of,

link to independent.co.uk

Nae Nicola! Maybe next year hen,
    Next opus, FELL SCUNNERT WI MEN……good working title.

• Cynicus says:

Very interesting.

Of the 40 listed, I managed to recognise six:

Chris Smith
      Alan Cumming
      Alan Carr
      David Hockney
      Elton John
      Zach Polanski

Not only “nae Nicola” but nae Babe Ruth, nae Fifi (AKA Kezia) or her soulmate, Jenny Gilruth.
      Does the Indy have it in for Scottish lesbians? Or just political ones?

Fifi’s partner has some self promoting to do.
      I had to google, “deputy for minister” because I forgot her name.
      I would not have had to do this 20 years ago for Wee Nikki.

• Cynicus says:

Very interesting, TURABDIN

Of the 40 listed, I managed to recognise six:

Chris Smith
      Alan Cumming
      Alan Carr
      David Hockney
      Elton John
      Zach Polanski

Not only “nae Nicola” but nae Babe Ruth, nae Jenny Gilruth or her soulmate.

Does the Indy have it in for Scottish l?sbians? Or just political ones?

Ms Gilruth has some self promoting to do.
      I had to google, “deputy for minister” because I forgot her name.
      I would not have had to do this 20 years ago for Wee Nikki

37. Confused says:

I sometimes see Brookmyre walking about; he is a local.

“your books are shite” I banter in passing, listing a dozen authors “better than you, mate”.

detective novels are by now, cliched shit, but true crime is where it’s at.

I have been reading a lot about murderers, especially female ones; there’s lots more than you think, children and old people the main victims, but men too, certainly if poison is available and in any case, the gun “makes us all 7 feet tall”. Lesbianism is also an additional factor; that streak of male aggression, but unbalanced. Oddly, the only female writers who are any good tend to be lesbians.

I have to think if the moors murders happened today – Brady would be in the jail, but Myra would be free – doing the talk show circuit crowing about misogyny and the patriarchy and how she knew nothing about what Ian really was (his bedroom was full of nazi memorabilia, but how could a mere girl know of such things) … then that time they were giving that kid a lift over saddleworth, she nicked off for a “comfort break” and when she came back the kid was gone and Ian said “his parents turned up and took him away”. And that’s all she knew. It happened a lot, why should she be suspicious?

It was a bit too early for Myra – all the feminism and that; she didn’t have the tools to make it work for her, and yet she still had fools like Lord Longford, running around on her behalf trying to get her out. The moors murders were one of those things “so bad, no one would have believed it” – but the evil duo made tapes of it, recordings of children being tortured. There is a rumour that they eventually did release Myra, faked her death, and gave her a new identity, but she was spotted by a nurse in a layby “ohmigod … you’re myra hindley” – “no no no Im not Im not”.

Double acts are common :

Fred and Rose West
    Epstein and Ghislaine Maxwell
    Bill and Hillary Clinton
    Bonnie and Clyde

I have heard that paedo-snatch gangs will use women to entice the kids – Hi there … your mum sent me to pick you up (get in the van); and the man-woman “hit team” is a staple among the spooks. Woman provide distraction, and stealth – “deadlier than the male”.

These comparisons may seem over the top, but are they? Really?? Being on the fiddle for a few hundred grand is not the point here – politicians take “consultancy fees” or get soft “directorships” (1 hour a month), or have countless ways to take their bribes (“a personal gift” says Nige) – the amount is not the issue, though their brazen incompetence is the most shocking part. They should have gotten a house where I live, it’s full of fraudsters; just talk to your new neighbours, they will set you right.

Her other crimes are far worse :

– a criminal conspiracy to jail Salmond, for r4pe, simply to get him out the way, to keep her job

– the scandal of all the pensioners (“bed blockers”) shipped out back to the old folks homes where the covid killed them; all the while she appeared daily, acting as if she was saving us all

– destruction of the entire indy movement (and thus the lives, hopes and dreams of 5 million Scots); if its not dead (it just smells a bit funny), it has been set back decades – she drove the indy bus over a cliff, set fire to it, threw away the keys and attacked anyone who would try to pick them up; we all know what evil cunts the british state is made up of – I would like to give her the benefit of some doubt, that she was got at – coerced, bribed, or threatened by them, but it is even worse to think she did it entirely off her own bat, maybe because she was a “true believer” in the wokist neo puritanism, the new world religion, an inversion of all values and worship of unnatural relations

Against that, I don’t give a shit about the mont blanc pen and the coffee machine. But if they could get her on something, it would be a small victory – making her spend the night inside a jail cell would be a real shock to her. Elites are too used to, across the board, of never having to be made accountable for their actions – you bullshit, get a good lawyer, and worst thing happens you get a nice knife and fork job, for a consultancy, think tank, NGO, whatever.

• Mark Beggan says:

Statler and Waldorf!

38. Hatuey says:

The world hasn’t been the same since China invaded Taiwan…

39. Saffron Robe says:

Do not say, “I did not do it,” when you know you have done wrong, for “ill-gotten gains have no lasting value.” (Proverbs 10:2)

“The person who gets money dishonestly is like a bird that hatches eggs it did not lay.” (Jeremiah 17:11)

• Andouillette says:

I prefer the KJV:
      “Treasures of wickedness profit nothing: but righteousness delivereth from death.”

“As the partridge sitteth on eggs, and hatcheth them not; so he that getteth riches, and not by right, shall leave them in the midst of his days, and at his end shall be a fool.”

40. J Robertson says:

How on earth does she think this constant media engagement after the only statement ( of 3 was it ?) she claimed she would be making originally, is convincing anyone . Watched a bit of the Kuensberg interview and saw her being pressed repeatedly on whether she felt she should apologise or if she wished she had done something differently. Nothing. No reflection on how her part in making the SNP a party where critical or dissenting voices ( officials and party members alike ) were shunned and nullified, leaving the leadership and their sycophants to operate as they pleased.
    As JK asked in her “Twilight” review of “ Frankly “ (in which she cleverly teases out the similarities between Sturgeon and the main character of the teen Vampire story Bella Swan) . As to whether Sturgeon showed any humility over her abject failure to engage with the concerns of many women’s groups on her ill – fated self – ID policy and her infamous “deeply misogynistic often homophobic …possibly some of them racist “statement .

“ Come now you know our heroine better than that.”

41. lothianlad says:

Very apt Stu!!

42. James Barr Gardner says:

Sanctifying Misandry: Goddess Ideology and the Fall of Man

Katherine K. Young
    Paul Nathanson

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,933 Posts, 1,245,205 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on The End Of Law: “Does anybody know if any of our Scottish trannies have infiltrated the Tartan Army? How are they faring, barging into…Jun 21, 09:10
    • Captain Caveman on A Fishy Tale: “Nope, still not buying it – on either count. Soz. We should drill, drill, drill and also remember that charity…Jun 21, 09:09
    • Onlooker on The End Of Law: “Who cares what the ENGLISH so-called ‘Supreme Court’ says? It was set up in ye olde days of 2009 down…Jun 21, 09:02
    • Hatey McHateface on A Fishy Tale: “You can do your own research by looking at SEPA and UK Environment Agency projections, CC. Perhaps they’re lying or…Jun 21, 08:57
    • Hatey McHateface on The End Of Law: “You could just have posted “Some big, English bastards did it and then ran away”, Jay. Then you might have…Jun 21, 08:20
    • Captain Caveman on A Fishy Tale: “No Hatey, I don’t believe that poot is about to launch a full ground offensive against Western Europe, even up…Jun 21, 08:01
    • Captain Caveman on The End Of Law: “This perpetual blaming others and “it’s not a left wing thing” schtick (when quite plainly is most assuredly is, as…Jun 21, 07:56
    • Hatey McHateface on The End Of Law: “You don’t understand how this “sovereignty” thing works. The more we don’t use it, the more powerful it becomes. The…Jun 21, 07:40
    • Captain Caveman on The End Of Law: “Ah, I note that I’m still living rent-free in your echo-skulled head I see, [capital “J”] Jay. It’s very commodious,…Jun 21, 07:38
    • robertkknight on The End Of Law: “Posted upstream, but I’ll state again… Almost two-thirds of transgender prisoners have committed sex crimes. Compare that to the the…Jun 21, 07:31
    • Angus on The End Of Law: ““Because our wee country has been stolen by arrogant gangsters and there appears to be nothing we can do about…Jun 21, 01:10
    • Jay on The End Of Law: “Casper, the SNP are the rats on the ship. Alf Baird has been explaining the underpinnings of the rotten situation…Jun 21, 00:40
    • Jay on The End Of Law: “Lorncal, can you add a link for seeing the 1960’s video, please?Jun 21, 00:25
    • agentx on The End Of Law: “It looks like Murrell appearing for sentencing in tight pink leggings isn’t going to work now!Jun 21, 00:19
    • Jay on The End Of Law: “049/26 from L. Pollock shows that she has no intention to comply with the findings of Lady Ross, an insolent…Jun 20, 23:37
    • Lorncal on The End Of Law: “That was how the narrative was changed by Stonewall. Previously, these men – the autogynephiles and fetishists – who were…Jun 20, 23:05
    • Phil on The End Of Law: “It’s the only way forward. https://capx.co/is-it-time-to-abolish-holyroodJun 20, 23:03
    • Lorncal on The End Of Law: “gm/Dave G: that is why it now has to be brought under the auspices of the criminal law. ALL biological…Jun 20, 22:48
    • Lorncal on The End Of Law: “The judge left a loophole through which the ‘trans’ lobby will slither: that certain ‘trans’ identified men who are especially…Jun 20, 22:42
    • willie on A Fishy Tale: “Ah, and supported by Brendan O’Hara a man who publicly declared that Nicola Sturgeon was the greatest ever Scots Woman…Jun 20, 21:27
    • Red on The End Of Law: “The far-left position that trans individuals — particularly those who are biologically male — pose no statistical or situational risk…Jun 20, 20:54
    • gm on The End Of Law: “Cheers Dave. I was thinking along the lines of a complaint being made against the SPS by relatives of a…Jun 20, 20:53
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The End Of Law: “Worth a watch. Episode on trans issues from online channel of veteran club-bouncer, street-violence survival advisor, and mainstream defence sector…Jun 20, 20:34
    • Dave G on The End Of Law: “Failing to comply with Lady Ross’s ruling is potentially contempt of a civil court but it is not a criminal…Jun 20, 20:30
    • Hatey McHateface on The End Of Law: ““trigger some kind of intervention from the Westminster Parliament to shut the entire Scottish Parliament altogether” If you can access…Jun 20, 20:27
    • gm on The End Of Law: “Someone complains to the police and they report to the Crown office who don’t do anything. Is there anything else?Jun 20, 20:21
    • A2 on The End Of Law: “however they could face dicipline for saying otherwise and without a union that will support them they all (have to)…Jun 20, 20:20
    • gm on The End Of Law: “If the SPS, any organisation, refuses or fails to comply with the law. What mechanism exists to make them comply?Jun 20, 20:20
    • Red on The End Of Law: “Linda Pollock – who should be stacking shelves in a supermarket based on her CV – is paid over £125,000,…Jun 20, 20:13
    • Hatey McHateface on The End Of Law: “Wasn’t it psychology earlier, Alf, around half past four? I’m sure it was psychology earlier, because I just went back…Jun 20, 20:03