A short treatise on stalking

Posted on January 21, 2025 by

We’re stuck indoors waiting for a repairman today, so we had a little read-around of some of the less popular Scottish politics blogs to pass the time, and noted this:

James Kelly of Scot Goes Pop, which we gather from its front page was seemingly one of the “Top 50 Left-Wing Blogs of 2011”, is noticeably insistent on making the argument that we’re “stalking” and “obsessed” with him.

So as we do, we thought we’d check the facts.

The stats and what the modern and dynamic young people of today call the “receipts” are below (if we’ve missed any, please point them out in the comments and we’ll add them). We present them for the record without comment.

—————————————————————-

CRITICAL ARTICLES ON WINGS ABOUT SCOT GOES POP/JAMES KELLY:

9 June 2020 “The comfort of lies” (400 words)

7 May 2021 “Contact with the enemy” (800)

12 Nov 2022“Challenge Accepted” (700)

Excluded from the list were articles with critical but brief passing mentions, like this one (half a sentence about Mr Kelly), this one (two lines), this one (two sentences) and this one (two sentences at the end broadly referencing Mr Kelly after a wider discussion of Scottish/UK politics, rather than it being “about me” as he rather egotistically claimed).

TOTAL: three articles comprising a combined 1,900 words.

CRITICAL ARTICLES ON SCOT GOES POP ABOUT WINGS/MYSELF:

10 Aug 2019 – “Nothing has changed: vote-splitting in Holyrood elections is still a mug’s game” (1,000 words)

13 Aug 2019 – “Why a Wings party is probably a bad idea: Part Two(1,500)

17 Aug 2019 – “The Wings party, and the cautionary tale of Mr Archie Stirling(1,200)

2 Sep 2019 – “The SNP must make this an independence election(700)

4 Sep 2019“A note on this blog’s relationship with Wings Over Scotland” (500)

6 Sep 2019 – “The road to independence does not run down a Trumpian rabbit-hole” (900)

8 Sep 2019 – “It’s unthinkable for any progressive party not to allow its members to elect the leader” (300)

18 Sep 2019“Flying without Wings” (3,500)

8 Oct 2019 – “Wings poll: Disagreement is not the same thing as “not having a clue” (1,200)

8 Oct 2019 – “It’s actually pretty remarkable that two-thirds of SNP voters expect a pre-2021 indyref” (500)

10 Oct 2019 – “Guinness Book of Records on standby as latest Wings poll question is even more loaded than the previous ones” (700)

11 Oct 2019 – “Disappointing but not remotely surprising: Stuart Campbell uses ludicrously vague “Archie Stirling”-type polling question to create the false impression of potential support for a Wings party” (1,800)

15 Oct 2019 – “False alarm: Panelbase haven’t stopped using the 2014 referendum question” (1,000)

20 Oct 2019 – “FACTCHECK: Have the SNP “gone into alliance with the DUP to kill independence”? (Spoiler: No, they haven’t.)” (800)

15 Dec 2019 – “It’s a shame when someone opts out, but the rest of us have got our country’s freedom to win” (600)

3 Mar 2020 – “The Wings party remains a dead end” (600)

25 Apr 2020 – “For the record: a reply to the hysteria about my column in this month’s iScot magazine” (400)

11 May 2020 – “As predicted, Stuart Campbell performs *another* 180 degree turn: his new case for a list-only party flatly contradicts the one he was making only a few months ago” (700)

14 May 2020 – “Landmark Wings poll finds that the SNP’s popularity is crucial to preserving the coalition of support for independence” (600)

9 Jun 2020 – “A few points to “consider”” (600)

15 Jul 2020 – “The brass neck” (1,100)

16 Jul 2020 – “Dialogue with the Reverend” (1,200)

28 Jul 2020“BREAKING: It’s the other guy who’s obsessed, insists angry man for the 34,289th time” (900)

3 Jan 2021 – “New article, and Somerset stalker update” (700)

4 Jan 2021 – “An embarrassment to the Yes movement” (600)

5 Jan 2021 – “A small, cowardly man pursuing a bitter personal vendetta: Stuart Campbell’s late night legal threats against me” (2,500)

18 Jan 2021 – “Sigh. No, the Scot Goes Pop / Survation poll does not mean that Nicola Sturgeon has a “man problem”.” (400)

12 Mar 2021 – “The choice in May is simple: either keep the flame of independence burning, or extinguish it completely until 2026” (700)

25 Mar 2021 – “Back The Backstabbers” (600)

15 Apr 2021 – “He demanded it, so here is my substantive response to Wings Over Scotland” (no words per se, just screenshots of tweets)

6 May 2021 – “If you’re voting Alba on the list today (and you should!), that means you support independence and should also be voting SNP on the constituency ballot WHEREVER you live” (500)

8 May 2021 – “A weary response to yet another personal attack from Wings Over Scotland” (1,000)

7 Nov 2022 – “SimilarWeb Reality-Check for Stuart Campbell” (600)

11 Nov 2022 – “Newsflash, guys: There’s no special rule that makes Wings Over Scotland immune from criticism” (1,100)

12 Nov 2022 – “At last the pretence is stripped away – Wings Over Scotland reveals its true readership numbers, which average less than 60,000 per month or around 1% of the population, far less than previously implied(900)

13 Nov 2022 – “Thoughts on treason” (1,000)

[Note: at this point the exciting “Wings-Watch” series began.]

20 Nov 2022 – “WINGS-WATCH: Fact-checking the bogus claims that support for independence was at “25% and falling” in 2007, and then “consistently in the lead” just before Nicola Sturgeon became SNP leader(900)

21 Nov 2022 – “A love letter to Stuart of Somerset, who wants to be loved very badly” (1,200)

25 Nov 2022 – “WINGS-WATCH: I’ve calculated the average yearly support for independence, using every single opinion poll conducted since January 2016, to once and for all debunk Stuart Campbell’s cynical fib that the Yes vote “has been static on 47% for the last six years” (1,000)

1 Dec 2022 – “WINGS-WATCH: Thousands mystified as blogger claims Yes vote has been flatlining on 52% for the last three years, only a week after he claimed it has been flatlining on 47% for the last six years” (700)

15 Dec 2022 – “To put it in the style of a Daily Mail headline: “So why WAS Stuart Campbell so eager to give Brit Nat newspapers a helpful story?”” (500)

19 Dec 2022 – “WINGS-WATCH: Fact-checking the bogus claim that the new Panelbase poll shows “SNP voters hate women”” (800)

7 Jan 2023 – “WINGS-WATCH: Campbell appears to want someone in Ohio to be executed, he also wants Kezia Dugdale to “die down a well”, and can anyone introduce me to his “fifty employees”?(1,100)

12 Jan 2023 – “WINGS-WATCH: Campbell yet again trots out his dodgy graph falsely claiming Yes support has flatlined on 47% since the indyref – even though it has been comprehensively debunked multiple times” (900 words)

17 Jan 2023 – “WINGS-WATCH: When someone tells you who they are, believe them” (900)

24 Jan 2023 – “WINGS-WATCH: Having already publicly abandoned his support for Scottish independence, Stuart “UKOK” Campbell has announced he will vote Tory at the next general election” (900)

25 Jan 2023 – “Stuart Campbell blows his top as he confirms he is now a Tory voter: “I don’t give a s**** and you are all unf***able nutjobs” (900)

26 Jan 2023 – “Has the Philosopher-Tory successfully philosophised his way out of his most cynical lie? (Spoiler: no, he hasn’t.)” (1,200)

3 Feb 2023“Then What?” (1,500)

6 Feb 2023 – “Are dark forces using the GRR obsession as a “gateway drug” to take independence supporters on a journey to British nationalism?” (1,100)

15 Apr 2023 – “WINGS-WATCH: Yes, it’s The Graph again” (500)

26 Apr 2023 – “OK, so who left the stupid pills on the bottom shelf?” (600)

31 Jul 2023 – “A word of advice for Alba – there’s a danger in being assumed, however wrongly, to be associated with the nutty Neil Oliver-style climate change denialism outlined by Stuart Campbell today” (800)

3 Sep 2023 – “End of an era as the Wings Over Scotland website officially abandons its support for Scottish independence, putting on record what’s been clear from social media posts for around a year – but rest assured that Scot Goes Pop and other leading sites from the 2014 period remain unequivocally pro-independence” (1,900)

23 Feb 2024 – “WINGS-WATCH: No, “Victory to Palestine” does not imply the destruction of Israel” (800)

[Note: this seems to have been the last “Wings-Watch” post.]

10 Mar 2024 – “Scot Goes Pop soars to become the fifth most-read pro-independence website in Scotland, according to bombshell claimed numbers from Stuart Campbell” (700)

26 Jun 2024 – “Now Wings aspires to become death, the destroyer of independence. But he’s not Oppenheimer, he’s just a bog standard Pied Piper, and frankly it’s time to send him packing.” (800)

4 July 2024 – “Stuart Campbell has not only turned against independence, he’s turned against the rights of women and girls. If anyone is crazy enough to follow his advice today, make sure you hold him accountable for the long-term consequences.” (1,100)

21 July 2024 – “Former independence supporter Stuart Campbell effectively admits trying to “kill” indy at the general election – and he wrongly thinks he’s succeeded”  (500)

5 Nov 2024 – “A brief reply to Stuart Campbell’s latest bizarre attack on me *for voting against Donald Trump*” (400)

4 Dec 2024 – “Yes, of course a pro-independence majority in 2026 is still perfectly possible” (1,100 words)

8 Dec 2024“Is that legal?” (300)

18 Dec 2024 – “Wings is following the “OTHER STUFF” signpost” (800 words)

6 Jan 2025“Drama as controversial blogger Stuart Campbell denounces his own regular pollster as a “fringe polling company” – has there been some behind-the-scenes falling-out, or is this just shameless hypocrisy to cover up his own embarrassment about a dodgy prediction? My guess is the latter…” (600)

We’ve excluded any articles which are substantially attacks on Wings, but not solely or primarily so, like this one, in which only 300 of the 900 words are about us, and this one, where it’s 400 out of 700, and this one, where 900 of the 1,700 words are, and this one (500 out of 1,200) and even this one, in which 1,200 of the 2,100 words – almost 60% – are a rant about Wings and myself, with a little passing swipe at Craig Murray too.

TOTAL: 64 articles comprising a combined 57,400 words.

(We didn’t include any of those magnificently epic titles in the word counts, if you were wondering. A modestly-sized novel, incidentally, comes in at around 60,000 words.)

We’re obviously not going to debate any of the individual pieces, partly because there are so many, partly because they’re so batshit crazy there’s no sense to be made out of doing so, and partly because we’ve already wasted more than an hour of our lives on this post. But there are links to all of them so you can read them if you want to.

And as always, we’ll leave the final judgement of whose analysis turned out the more reliable – and more pertinently of who’s stalking who – to you, our readers.

Subscribe
Notify of

83 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Douglas

Is his secret ambition to be your unpaid publicist?

Garrion

I think his ambition is to use the popularity of wings to somehow make his highly specific and often irrational insights and “conclusions” more widely read. A funny wee man.

Craig

Who the fuck is James Kelly? Is he one of those new breed of self important attention seekers in the modern day social media?

Was he the one that recently announced that he left the ALBA Party, I didn’t even know he was a member, no big loss then if he has flounced off to another Unionist party.

James, if yer reading this “Good riddance an dinnae mind the door skelpin yer skinny bahookie oan the wiy oot”.

Last edited 10 hours ago by Craig
duncanio

The SGP blogsite seems to have turned into the online equivalent of a school playground. Contributions comprise only witless sniping, snide and snark.

The obsessing over WoS is tedious in the extreme..

More importantly there is no debate about the pressing constitutional matter. There is no discussion about a process that might advance us towards the prime objective of realising Scotland’s Cause.

I really don’t see the point and purpose.

Owen Mullions

There is occasionally debate and discussion on constitutional matters but you have to be quick to find it as anything James disapproves of is purged from the comments section ASAP. (Attacks on Wings and Stu in particular are welcome no matter what the subject of the day is).

Dave Llewellyn

Have you software to count those or did you overdose on retro sweeties last night ?

Scot Finlayson

Stuck in waiting for gasman,
turned out to be an English immigrant,says England is fucked big time, to many immigrants moving there taking jobs and housing.

robertkknight

Doesn’t do irony then?

Wouldn’t be the first Englishman in Scotland I’ve heard who uttered something similar. Comes under the category “White Flight”. Although the following suggests purely economic reasons, I think anecdotal evidence suggests otherwise…

link to msn.com

Dan

The problem is Scotland has no control over immigration policy as that remains a power reserved to London Rule, but Scotland has a demographics issue.
That being the case care needs to be taken when dealing with this sort of chat.
The Englishman living and working as a gasman in Scotland is clearly a working person carrying out a necessary job in our Scottish society.
Today I spent a lovely afternoon in the woods clearing storm damage with two auld retired Scots and a young Englishman and his wee newborn bairn that sat contently in a backpack watching whilst we spent a couple of hours cutting fallen trees across a burn and pulling them out with a tractor, and this time the load of firewood created was going to the Englishman to keep his home and family cosy.

This young fit, intelligent, and socially minded Englishman is a much needed skilled and qualified fireman in this area, and has very much made the effort to fit into the community.
Contrast that with other types of rUK migrants into Scotland though who are far from productive or contribute to our society. And this is why care and a distinction needs to be taken when discussing this and not using blanket terms.
An independent Scotland will have our own specific immigration policy that best serves our needs in terms of the type and volume of migrants we take in.

Hatey McHateface

“This young fit, intelligent, and socially minded Englishman is a much needed skilled and qualified fireman in this area, and has very much made the effort to fit into the community”

Well said, Dan.

“An independent Scotland will have our own specific immigration policy that best serves our needs in terms of the type and volume of migrants we take in”

Will that be enforced by the AI controlled border machine gun posts another contributor was salivating over, just the other week?

I’m with you on this, Dan, but I see little evidence anybody else is.

yoon scum

With the current lot in Holyrood

An independent scotland would welcome anyone with open arms no matter how much they hate the western world

as it would open borders to all

Apart from the English of course

Hatey McHateface

It’s a complex subject and there are lots of nuances that could be discussed, on a forum that had the self-discipline to support reasoned discussion.

Take the support for iScotland joining (not re-joining) the EU. With EU membership comes freedom of movement. It’s baked in.

Imagine rUK joining too. We’d be right back where we are now, with people freely crossing the border. Yet nobody ever discusses this.

And then there’s the entire essence of what posters really mean when they complain about English people. They actually care only about that segment of the population of England that is white, white, white.

Yet when somebody comes out with that criticism of white Scots, the same posters are besides themselves with their cries of wacism.

Southernbystander

There is a lot of talk on here about the English in a negative sense especially those moving to Scotland. Well in this specific case it sounds like the people making those comments are dead right.

And robertknight makes a good point – how can you claim to be anti-migration and then migrate somewhere? The reason he does not see the irony is that he will regard moving to Scotland as not migrating anywhere, just moving to a different part of ‘the country’.

Hatey McHateface

As we are phasing out burning of gas 5 years sooner than they are in England, he’ll have to move back eventually.

Or sign on the dole. Once we’re Independent, that will be a big draw, as our dole will be so much more than that paid elsewhere.

yoon scum

Don’t forget not one single YOON has ever had a job

a “fact” I have been told by a good few unicorn shaggers

Who also tell me that benefits will be massively increased after indy

Scot Finlayson

The 2022 census found that of the 514,543 people residing in Edinburgh, 47.9% identified with a Scottish identity.

robertkknight

Hooked, cleaned and fried… “Kelly Fritters” appearing on a chippy menu near you.

Cath

Alba’s well shot of that lad. He’s been attacking them for months too.

Scot Finlayson

In 2023, 15,343 people received Medical Assistance in Dying (MAID) in Canada, which was a 15.8% increase from 2022. 

TheParty1sOver

So it looks to me like, he would have nothing to talk about, were it not for Mr Campbell. You appear to keep him busy Stu. Think of it as ‘mental health treatment’….you’re helping him? It’s a free service.

gregor

Stalker:

“A person who pursues game, prey, or a person stealthily.”

“A person who harasses another person, as a former lover, a famous person, etc., in an aggressive, often threatening and illegal manner:   

Hollywood stars often have security guards to keep dangerous stalkers at bay.”:

link to dictionary.com

SPY
Wulls

??? Brilliant.
this is worth my tenner a month all by itself.

Bob Johnston

Classic example of DARVO – Deny, Attack, Reverse Victim & Offender.

twathater

I fucking despair at this lunacy, the poverty suffering citizens of our country are being abandoned and betrayed by a shower of self serving corrupt arseholes and the most prominent independence investigative journalist , the most prominent independence blog , the most respected independence blog , the most prominent destroyer of lies and corruption within the despicable FAKE independence party, the most credible and honest Scottish investigative journalist, and you are dedicated to wasting your time on a post responding to a clown who is jealous of your popularity , your finances (because he can’t match your donations) , your honesty and integrity, your ability to expose the truth , and your telephone numbers book

Bring on the hammers BECAUSE you are better than this, ignore the fucker he cannot match your credibility

Derek

It would have passed anyway…

Derek

Chains? There’s a rope in the play, I think.

Dan

Have to agree with you on this. And have been dropping enough hints for months now that none of this energy wasted on various egos and vanities bickering with their my way or the highway divisive crap is useful to progressing Scotland’s cause of returning to self-governance. It plays like it’s straight out of the divide and rule 101 handbook.

If some folk put a tenth of the time and effort they expend on pointless distracting and disruptive shite, and instead channeled that time and brain space into more productive matters, such as actually helping develop sensible policies that Scots actually want, and importantly working to identify and nurture people to elect and actually implement them then we would be in a whole different world.
ADDlike political anoraks that can’t seem to hold focus on one thing for very long might thrive in the maelstrom of rapidly changing stimulus on t’internet feeds, but the much larger wider electorate do not operate in the same way.
They generally have jobs to do to keep a roof over their heads and families to raise takes up much of their time. Sticking with the basics policy matters would be a much more beneficial way to begin to capture the attention of the wider electorate rather than punting out an endless stream of often contradictory hashtags and niche content.
But hey, what would I know, just keep doing the same shit over and over which clearly hasn’t been working and maybe Reform’s polling stats will increase further.

twathater

That comment I posted yesterday Dan had only one comment yours , even the original on Barrhead boy never even recd a response , similarly when I proposed signing individual letters of protest to swinney and his deviants and asking if anyone could let me know or help me on how to go about it, total silence , same before the 2021 election I proposed sending letters to Sturgeon threatening no snp votes unless she binned GRA Silence
FFS it seems that we spend more time reading and arguing with yoonionist plants and agitators on what is supposed to be a independence supporting website and even they seem to be increasing whilst indy commenters are decreasing
AFAIK Stu was a party to the assembly BB and others were talking about but he’s not even commented on it and they were not effusive about it

Dan

That comment I posted yesterday Dan had only one comment yours , even the original on Barrhead boy never even recd a response.

Aye, I clocked that and think the continued lack of engagement from supposed movers and shakers on a wide array of subject matters is disappointing, but unfortunately seems par for the course.
A few things come to mind when certain topics are brought up but garners no response.

First: Articles may simply be a bit of kite flying to stimulate discussion because publishers don’t yet have that much comprehension on the topic, so they press go and keep out of btl because they don’t want to highlight their lack of knowledge on the specific subject, or commit to a view that could be used to tarnish them.
Eg. Take immigration. (Ooh you must be racist to bring that up!)
I’ve already made a post on this thread Re. Englishman living and working in Scotland, and previously posted about it too.

link to wingsoverscotland.com

It’s clearly a matter that needs discussed and Reform’s increasing support makes hay from it, so just where the hell are Scotland’s supposed leaders on this subject? Silent and too fucking meek and vain to go near it I guess.
I’m just some arsehole articulating my view on it and would welcome further discussion to finesse the policy further because I’m pretty sure what I wrote in that linked to post makes at least a bit of sense.

Second: So they will not respond and just observe what others post in any discussion and hoover up any good or useful bits of what’s said and lessons silently learned to increase their comprehension and for possible future usage.

Thirdly: Is that it’s all just a simple ruse to waste folks’ time as they have no real interest in much if any of it as are really only concerned with their own and their cliques objectives.
And the way things continue to play out with bloggers spending their time bickering and the ludicrous lack of unity, I am ever more minded to think, is all that we see or seem, but a dream within a dream…
Because it’s a bit of a black comedy nightmare watching this pathetic shit play out. Got way better things to do with what remains of my life, and if what’s on show at the moment is the best we’ve got, I’m not seeing the discipline nor credentials that would be able to make a proper go at returning Scotland to self-governing status if the opportunity to take our independence was ever seriously on the cards.

sarah

I’m hoping that there will be some update about the Barrhead Boy-chaired Summit before too long. But perhaps it was a bit of a damp squib so nothing to be expected yet as the main players need to identify who is really up for the fight? I can understand the Rev keeping quiet if there was no great progress made – he wouldn’t want to depress us utterly. Nor, if there was great progress made, would he wish to leak a story prematurely.

Meanwhile there’s small steps can be made by carrying a Liberation.scot QR code around with you so when you meet someone sympathetic they can sign up. There should be a bit of news in due course from Salvo about their approach to the UN.

sarah

Now, I’m pretty sure you are pulling my leg! Alf Baird will step in to correct me in due course, I hope, if I explain the process incorrectly.
However, for the benefit of other enthralled readers, Salvo, as the campaigning group for Liberation.scot, have formed a Scottish People’s Liberation Movement. Such a liberation movement can be recognised by the United Nations as representing a people’s desire to exist as a nation state – a political party cannot do so, apparently.
The Liberation movement will state [through a friendly state speaking on our behalf] that Scotland is a colony. If the UN accepts this argument, the provisions for de-colonisation will come into play. This is a well-trodden route.
Given that no political parties in Scotland or Britain are doing anything at all to help Scotland’s people regain power, it seems to me that Salvo’s work is, at the least, useful.

Insider

“Salvo, as the campaigning group for Liberation.scot, have formed a Scottish People’s Liberation Movement”.
?
Is this a Monty Python sketch ?
Jesus wept !

sarah

There’s more than one way to skin a cat. As someone who dislikes living the lie of a Union which benefits only one country whilst denying the existence of another, I am very happy that the issue is not left solely to politicians over whom we have no control whatsoever. The politicians have kept Scotland in an economic and social nightmare – clearly they are not up to the task or are happy to keep Scotland in servitude.

Skip_NC

Alba is doing something. It’s just that the media don’t talk about it.

Northman

I assume that is partly because sensible posts don’t rile people up. People nod their heads and read on.

We are also being played. Someone drain resources from Scotland, and from other western nations, worth billions. Distracting us comes cheep. Efforts to dispirit sane people comes cheep.

Sadly public debate steadily becomes increasingly more bland (and person focused). This is not a reason to avoid defending people when necessary though. Nor avoiding exposing lies.

I appreciate your comments, both of you. And of many others, and obviously of Stu’s.

I very much appreciate this place!

Gav

No harm in putting him in his place though when there is hee haw else to write about and wings has, yet again, been targeted for clicks.

Hatey McHateface

“hee haw else to write about”

On the sites I read, they’re publicising that President Trump has announced to the world that, “as of today, it will henceforth be the official policy of the United States government that there are only two genders, male and female.”

So that puts the numpties of long-suffering Scotland’s HR government on a direct collision course with the most powerful man in the world.

Not only the most powerful, but a man who does not suffer numpties gladly.

This is bigly big news. I’d get the popcorn in now, because as this cabaret is likely to run for the full 4 years, demand is going to inevitably exceed supply.

David Holden

Well that was fun. To be fair to James he can be quite informative as I never knew Bath was in Somerset. You live and learn.

ross

Tuesday, February 7, 2023Meet the Rev’s number one fan: racist, homophobic, misogynistic, inciter of extreme violence, Covid denier, and spreader of defamatory allegations against named politicians
although, I think there is a tiny truth in this one somewhere. Defo a few odd comments BTL.

G m

He wants to benefit by ingratiating himself with ‘the people who don’t like to be held to account’ (and their remaining supporters). Hence the move back to the SNP. Blogging has done to his heid. A shame because he had a nice wee niche for himself, was providing good service but that obviously wasn’t enough.

gregor

“…Wings is being deliberately used as a breeding ground for crazy QAnon-style conspiracy theories…”:

It’s ‘Q’ (not QAnon:)

link to archive.ph

#FakeSCOTGoesPOP!News

gregor

‘Law View’ is my home/ground:

FACT
Peter S

Don’t give him free publicity – just ignore him, perhaps he’ll go away!

Effijy

I think the man is more ill than he imagines.
Take a break and put your health and family first.
If Wings upsets you neither read or write about it.
If you claim slander then you could investigate possible proceeding with a lawyer but I think you will be advised against it. Good Luck and Good Health Mr Kelly

Scott

January 6th 2025: “Drama as controversial blogger Stuart Campbell denounces his own regular pollster as a “fringe polling company” – has there been some behind-the-scenes falling-out, or is this just shameless hypocrisy to cover up his own embarrassment about a dodgy prediction? My guess is the latter…”

link to scotgoespop.blogspot.com

Confused

this obsession could be a –

Repressed, homosexual, attraction.

“why won’t you look at me!” 

– he goes on like Blanche DuBois 

Mia

Rev, I am not sure this is really stalking. To me this looks more like a desperate call (scream even) for your (and your followers’) attention.

Clickbait to get more traffic through his, otherwise, boring site?

G m

Definitely, plenty visits today, just had a wee look myself! Been bashing away at these tactics for ages by the look of it.

Socrates MacSporran

I have long felt – if your name is James Kelly, you shouldn’t really go near Scottish Politics.

There may be two James Kellys, but they don’t have a working brain cell between them.

Shug

Make me think be should be on my list of plants

Hatey McHateface

“Top 50 Left-Wing Blogs of 2011”

Ouch. That must have stung, especially as it’s true.
?

Owen Mullions

It’s quite the claim to fame, isn’t it?

Jeannie McCrimmon

I stopped laughing scrolling down the embarrassingly long
list when I came to this

“Stuart Campbell has not only turned against independence, he’s turned against the rights of women and girls. If anyone is crazy enough to follow his advice today, make sure you hold him accountable for the long-term consequences.”

He has a some gall. Back then you were the only journalist exposing gender politics in Scotland, the UK and in the wider world. Wings also posted important essay’s on the effects of transgenderism in different settings from many female writers.
Both women and independistas know who supports them. It sure ain’t wee jealous “both votes SNP” Kelly.

100%Yes

The guy seems to me like a tortured sole, you don’t make friends by constantly standing on someone toes. The SNP used to be the hope towards the goal of Independence now that party is the nose around Scotland neck. For James to have rejoined the SNP beggars believe, So I have to ask, why did he fight to stay in the Alba party when he had every intention of rejoining the New SNP.

For me Indy comes 1st, 2nd and 3rd no one should distract us from that goal we should unite to fight our true enemy the SNP leadership, how can anyone talk and talk about Indyref2 and join the party thats working along side the Unionist parties to destroy Scotland he can’t be one of us no way.

Honestly to join the New SNP again I have to ask whats Scotland done?

When someone is nasty or treats you poorly, don’t take it personally. It says nothing about you but a lot about them.

gregor

Soul (Yes 100%:)

“Your soul is the part of you that consists of your mind, character, thoughts, and feelings. Many people believe that your soul continues existing after your body is dead.”

“The soul of a nation or a political movement is its basic nature and beliefs.”

“You can refer to someone as a particular kind of soul when you are describing their character or condition.”:

link to collinsdictionary.com

#ScotIndyForever

SOULSCOTLAND
Hatey McHateface

Enough about that, gregor.

Give us your insights on soles.

Tortured ones, preferably 🙂

gregor

If you insist, McFetish…

“The sole of your foot or of a shoe or sock is the underneath surface of it.

…shoes with rubber soles.  

He had burned the sole of his foot.”:

link to collinsdictionary.com

Skip_NC

In this context, “tortured sole” is correct. James Kelly is like a fish out of water.

Athanasius

Why did you waste an article on him?

diabloandco

You don’t need to make a fool of him , he does a grand job by himself – though I accept he must piss you off with the constant whingeing and accusation.

Oneliner

Kelly could be a long bet for SNP Chief Executive. Obviously, he would not have been considered if he had remained in Alba.

He has the kind of mid-intellect persecution complex that could drive the party sideways. Can he count magpies?

Hatey McHateface

Can he count genders?

A magpies obsession might be too suggestive of dark forces, given the SNP’s virtue-signalling historical revisionism over witchcraft.

Marie

I support the pardon and apology for the State sanctioned executions of Scottish women (and men) in the past. The fact that adults and children are still murdered for the crime of being a witch TO THIS DAY is as good a reason as any for the State to recognise that it was wrong and for that fact to be publicised.

Hatey McHateface

I think an apology uttered on behalf of somebody else is always worthless.

When that somebody else also happens to be dead, then it’s worthless squared.

You can raise it to worthless cubed when the person you are apologising to is also dead.

But fannying around with pointless nonsense always trumps actually doing something about real crimes, happening now.

As you write, “adults and children are still murdered for the crime of being a witch TO THIS DAY”. But perish the thought anything should be done about that, as that would be judgemental, or culturally oppressive, or some other such bollocks.

It’s exactly the kind of virtue signalling that sees some people agonisingly hand wringing over historical slavery. When it’s pointed out to them there’s plenty of slavery happening right now they could get themselves energised about, the response is usually “meh”.

Confused

main cavorts with satan and a black cat under moonlight in greyfriars

a heretic by any measure

GL_GM_1534
gregor

Olde Throne: Greyfriars Kirkyard:

“Oh, Greyfriars
Where the Covenanters lay
Ceased by the black judge
Cut down by his hand

A dream of freedom
To practice what they please
Doomed by the wicked
Condemned to brutal fate

And there he lies
In the black mausoleum
Awoken by a man
In need of shelter

An unhinged evil
Released upon this earth
Cold black spirit
That vengeful entity of hate…”:

link to tinyurl.com

spoilergod
Owen Mullions

Kelly’s deletion finger will be strained tonight as there are a number of posters laughing at him over Stu’s article. Expect a furious response in his next whinge…sorry, blog.

Indyr2d2

Heres a few song titles to describe him

Can’t get you out of my head
obsession
why can’t I be you
Pop goes the Weasel
when will i be famous

Peter Campbell

I’m not sure, without saying some nasty things, how anyone can run a series of articles called Wings Watch, and then be able to state that the subject of those articles is stalking THEM.

I’m very disappointed in James, his articles on polling, which seemed to be his area of expertise, could be quite interesting if a little lacking in some ways to keep me gripped for the long term.

He’s ruined his blog IMHO with the posting of this kind of stuff and then slagging off all the readers of Wings who may otherwise have been readers of his blog too.

Andy Ellis

Have thought for a long time that there’s a wee want about yon, as my Granny used to say. Anyone who thinks that litany above isn’t evidence of a frankly rather worrying obsession needs to give their head a shake.

If Kelly has any friends, it’s high time they staged an intervention of some sort. The man needs help.

Alba’s gain is decidedly the SNP’s loss: he and the SNP deserve each other.

sarah

O/T The Times article says that John Swinney is purging the staff payroll of Murrell supporters i.e. implying that Swinney disapproves of them. Well, I think Wings readers know better than that.
After all, Swinney has been in cahoots with them for decades. Also he doesn’t make decisions, does he? Let alone good ones. He connives and redacts and stabs people in the back.
However there’s a chief executive post being advertised. Rev, how about it? For a laugh anyway!

Alf Baird

Kelly confirmed he aint no nationalist when he advocated SNP 1+2 for the Holyrood 2021 election.

In other news a Scotsman liberates America from the neo-imperialist woke.

Hatey McHateface

In other news, the thing the Scotsman was going to do in 24 hours hasn’t been done.

Gav

The man is an utter melt

Martin

The two Davies will think his return to the SNP is big big news and will welcome him into team Sturgeon sycophant crew backed up by folk with less brain capacity than a gorilla!

yoon scum

One thing that has always un-settled me about a very large part of the YES movement is the rage that the display should anyone dare to question the glorious SNP or the claim that support for indy is less then 60%

Doubly so if you are part of the YES movement

With Glen sh*tbox starting service is a recent example with many bursting with pride on a ferry that is 7 years late, massively over budget and badly built. * (see note)

My claims that we should be able todo better brings howls of rage

You are seeing the same with your wee stalker

Why this bothers me is if the same thing happens after indy

Will those who question the state end up locked up?

note

• Before you mention any English based mess like HS2 can I draw your attention to the London garden bridge project which cost £53 million and built nothing. Which is no justification for Scottish screw-ups

Stats: 6,695 Posts, 1,209,627 Comments

• Young Lochinvar on The Great Hollowing: “Ah well, who knows, give him a break. As we used to joke asking the local Germans back in the…Jan 22, 01:59
    • Skip_NC on A short treatise on stalking: “In this context, “tortured sole” is correct. James Kelly is like a fish out of water.Jan 22, 01:50
    • Young Lochinvar on The Great Hollowing: “Still waiting for a meaningful factual reply yoon (or is it scum!). Heck I don’t know but you sound well…Jan 22, 01:45
    • Skip_NC on A short treatise on stalking: “Alba is doing something. It’s just that the media don’t talk about it.Jan 22, 01:43
    • gregor on The Great Hollowing: “BBC (2025): Gray apologises over football match meetings: “Health Secretary Neil Gray has apologised for “inadvertently” misleading MSPs over the…Jan 22, 01:37
    • gregor on A short treatise on stalking: “Olde Throne: Greyfriars Kirkyard: “Oh, Greyfriars Where the Covenanters lay Ceased by the black judge Cut down by his hand…Jan 22, 00:55
    • gregor on The Great Hollowing: “Funnily enough – same could be said for J.K. Rowling (et al)… https://x.com/elonmusk/status/1881728397598175645Jan 22, 00:06
    • Confused on The same old tricks: “another classic from the archiveJan 21, 23:50
    • gregor on A short treatise on stalking: “If you insist, McFetish… “The sole of your foot or of a shoe or sock is the underneath surface of…Jan 21, 23:50
    • Confused on A short treatise on stalking: “main cavorts with satan and a black cat under moonlight in greyfriars a heretic by any measureJan 21, 23:42
    • yoon scum on A short treatise on stalking: “One thing that has always un-settled me about a very large part of the YES movement is the rage that…Jan 21, 23:33
    • yoon scum on A short treatise on stalking: “Don’t forget not one single YOON has ever had a job a “fact” I have been told by a good…Jan 21, 23:20
    • Derek on A short treatise on stalking: “Chains? There’s a rope in the play, I think.Jan 21, 23:13
    • gregor on The Great Hollowing: “The Fraud (2025): How will bequests have helped the SNP’s finances by millions: “The SNP have received millions in will…Jan 21, 23:10
    • Hatey McHateface on The same old tricks: “Your remedy is obvious, Confused. Scorn the accumulation of all stuff. Then you can enjoy the last laugh. BTW, if…Jan 21, 23:07
    • Hatey McHateface on A short treatise on stalking: “It’s a complex subject and there are lots of nuances that could be discussed, on a forum that had the…Jan 21, 23:01
    • Martin on A short treatise on stalking: “The two Davies will think his return to the SNP is big big news and will welcome him into team…Jan 21, 22:46
    • Confused on The same old tricks: “this is the enemy he wants to steal your stuff  expects you to be grateful about it  fart in your…Jan 21, 22:45
    • Confused on The same old tricks: “This is why the UN needs to be involved; they know all the tricks and won’t stand for them. If…Jan 21, 22:44
    • sarah on A short treatise on stalking: “There’s more than one way to skin a cat. As someone who dislikes living the lie of a Union which…Jan 21, 22:38
    • Hatey McHateface on A short treatise on stalking: ““hee haw else to write about” On the sites I read, they’re publicising that President Trump has announced to the…Jan 21, 22:35
    • Northman on A short treatise on stalking: “I assume that is partly because sensible posts don’t rile people up. People nod their heads and read on. We…Jan 21, 22:34
    • Scot Finlayson on A short treatise on stalking: “The 2022 census found that of the 514,543 people residing in Edinburgh, 47.9% identified with a Scottish identity.Jan 21, 22:32
    • Insider on A short treatise on stalking: ““Salvo, as the campaigning group for Liberation.scot, have formed a Scottish People’s Liberation Movement”. ? Is this a Monty Python…Jan 21, 22:31
    • yoon scum on A short treatise on stalking: “With the current lot in Holyrood An independent scotland would welcome anyone with open arms no matter how much they…Jan 21, 22:26
    • Hatey McHateface on A short treatise on stalking: “As we are phasing out burning of gas 5 years sooner than they are in England, he’ll have to move…Jan 21, 22:22
    • yoon scum on The Great Hollowing: “Did you actually read the post above? The majority of the English you hate Also hate the idiots in WestminsterJan 21, 22:19
    • sarah on A short treatise on stalking: “Now, I’m pretty sure you are pulling my leg! Alf Baird will step in to correct me in due course,…Jan 21, 22:17
    • yoon scum on The Great Hollowing: “Ask Greece how much the EU cares And you voted to leave the EU when you voted YES in 2014…Jan 21, 22:15
    • Hatey McHateface on A short treatise on stalking: “In other news, the thing the Scotsman was going to do in 24 hours hasn’t been done.Jan 21, 22:15

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()