The Silent Revolution

Posted on January 23, 2025 by

Robin McAlpine published a very important piece yesterday, detailing how the SNP is about to become even more of a leadership dictatorship than it already is.

You can read the article to see why this is a change of enormous importance, and a catastrophic one for the independence movement. It will make it just under 17 times harder for any sitting SNP leader to be challenged for the leadership – let alone defeated – and effectively turns the party into a private oligarchy every bit as total and unaccountable as that of Reform (which is not a member-directed political party in the conventional sense, but a limited company personally owned by Nigel Farage, who holds a majority of the voting shares and can do whatever he pleases with it).

We’re annoyed at ourselves, because we got sent the document revealing the change a month ago, but we missed it. And now we’re going to show you why.

Below we’ve highlighted the only mentions of the policy change.

The ironically-titled “Transparency Review” has two page 13s – certainly unlucky for anyone in the party still clinging to a belief in democracy, or as the paper calls it in a stark piece of cynical gaslighting, “the supreme mandate of the members” – and buried on the second page 13 are the two curt paragraphs detailing the proposal for anyone who has somehow managed to remain awake through the preceding dozen pages of tedious wonkspeak and tables of implementation progress reports.

It’s perhaps worth pointing out that the SNP has not suffered from an excessive churn of leaders. Since taking its recognisable modern form it’s had just seven in the last 56 years – William Wolfe, Gordon Wilson, Alex Salmond, John Swinney, Nicola Sturgeon and Humza Yousaf. The typical SNP leader holds the office for almost a decade, with Yousaf’s hapless 13-month misrule dragging that figure down considerably.

(Scottish Labour, by contrast, have burned through 10 different full-time leaders in just 26 years and the Scottish Tories 4 in 13 years. That means the average reign for an SNP leader, even including the Yousaf aberration, is 8 years against 3.25 for a Scottish Tory leader and just 2.6 for a Scottish Labour one. Whatever issues the SNP has, switching its leaders too often is not one of them.)

There was no problem to solve. The last time the party chose a leader there wasn’t even a nominal contest – only one person wanted the job. Nor have its leadership elections usually been close or bitterly fought. John Swinney won in 2004 with 84% of the vote, Alex Salmond succeeded him with 76% of the vote, and Nicola Sturgeon took over unopposed, as did Swinney for his second stint. Only Yousaf’s was a meaningful contest, and much good it did him.

But nevertheless even that microscopic prospect of possible future dissent has now been ruthlessly stamped on. As Robin notes, the new rule would make mounting a leadership challenge to all practical intents and purposes impossible. Once a leader is in place, nothing can realistically be done until they voluntarily step down or die.

(This seismic change has been seemingly brought about by just six people. We can safely assume that it’ll be duly rubber-stamped by the payroll vote at the withered and tightly-controlled conference in a few weeks’ time.)

John Swinney is now less of a leader, not even a President, but a King, ruling without election for life. And given that Swinney has never really been all that bothered about independence, that ought to worry anyone who cares about it.

We really don’t know how much clearer it needs to get.

FOOTNOTE: As further evidence that internal democracy is dead in the SNP, at the same meeting in December it was also quietly determined that the “branch dividend” – the proportion of membership income allocated to branches to run the local parties – will be reduced in future from 25% to 15%.

In recent years that payment has been largely imaginary, as SNP HQ has raided it to plug gaping holes in the accounts, but nevertheless it’s a significant signal that the leadership wants to centralise power even more and eliminate whatever remaining tiny scraps of influence ordinary members might have.

Subscribe
Notify of

550 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Geri

Who really cares anyway? I doubt the SNP will even be a thing so any leader they bolt in for life will be of little importance.

Unless of course the yoons start voting for them & all interlopers came with the same set of instructions.

Holyrood is deid. It’s past the point of return just as predicted it would be in the event of a No vote. Said elsewhere the only sickner is that it was done supposedly by our own side.

Zimba

I get it, but that’s a counsel of despair. I agree that the SNP has been turned into something more even than a mere road block, but worse — an actual positive instrument of active obstruction which is going to be ruthlessly maintained in place and even strengthened, so long as it fits that purpose, to police that barrier. But in the absence of any alternative party coming through, that means there is zero, zilch, by the way of democratic instruments for establishing self-determining sovereignty for Scotland. So I can kind of understand why people are holding on, though it is from a place of denial. Just to add to the counsel of despair, it is also hardly any accident that the only alternative party which is being greenlighted in Scotland by mainstream media platforms — from a base, it has to be said, not only originally at least a low *if not immeasurably lower in Scotland* than say Alba — is the one I will not name, which, principally due to calculated and relentless punting by those same platforms, Guardian, BBC Scotland, and even, by default, to be generous, National included, even when they are each pretending to express worry about it, will get seats in the next Horror petulant.

Those last two words were meant to read Holyrood parliament, but I’m swyping quickly and don’t feel minded to correct.

Last edited 22 days ago by Zimba
Bobo bunny

Who actually are the SNP any more? Is this all Angus Robertsons doing? Is it his door we need to turn up at with torches and pitchforks?

Harry Dunlop

I find it amusing that people still believe Humza Yousaf succeeded Sturgeon as the result of poll of SNP members at the time. And here we are today…

Tommo

Would the 2.5% requirement be of then current membership or-as in the case of the ‘100 members constitutes just 0.15% of our membership at the most recently published figure’- be based on that last ‘published figure’ ? I suspect I know the answer.

Campbell Clansman

But what if the SNP “leadership” lies about membership numbers (as many say they’ve done in the past) in order to manipulate the 2.5% requirement and discourage challenges?

Andrew Morton

The membership is whatever the leadership claims it is, so how would anyone know if they cleared the 2.5% bar?

Mia

That is the thing, they will not. They are completely at the merci of whatever the dictator installed as “leader” chooses to disclose. And when the “leader” is Mr Redacting Black Pen himself, well, it will be absolutely nothing.

johnny

“John Swinney won in 2004…”

2000, no?

Not the point of the article and I am sorry for the pedantry.

gregor

This is 2025…

DAVOSCOT
gregor

Elon Musk:

“Glo***ism is civiliz***onal su***de.”:

link to tinyurl.com

Hatey McHateface

Here you go, gregor:

“Globalism is civilizational suicide.”

Your original post was rammed with typos. Classic evidence of a brain starved of oxygen, but I have covered that in an earlier post.

gregor

I attempted to post the information verbatim –

Pre-moderation rejected it (twice), thus I improvised to bring you the truth.

gregor

Typo:

“A typo is a typographical error.

[Informal] It is now listed in the classifieds, with no typos or misprints.”:

link to collinsdictionary.com

#Zero

TYPO
doddsotheglen

some folk have that actually, from 2020

Jim Thomson

I really can’t see why so many of the current members are still hanging in there. There is zero chance of any meaningful change to the constitution that will bring back a truly democratic NEC i.e. one without the gerrymandering additions of the “interest” groups with full voting powers.

What an effing shambles.

Willi

Less ordinary members on the NEC more special interest. That ells you that nothing has changed in this rank rotten special interest party.

But that’s why after 37 years membership I left. The runes were becoming crystal clear, at least to me during the Covid shutdown

Back then Nicola Sturgeon was still a saint sent among us. Indeed. I remember back then onel Argyll and Bute MP spitting venom shouting at members for the temerity to suggest that Surgeon might not be just as wholesome in approach as was at that time still generally perceived.

Greatest living Scotwoman ever was the cry of Brendan O’Hara as he remonstrated how he would brook no comment about her.

Aye, greatest ever Scotswoman eh? But hey ho the rigged slush tub is still at the same games.

Bobo bunny

She could have been a national hero like Wallace or Bruce. Instead she’ll be remembered as the rat that sold us. Bought and sold…

Dan

TBF this tightening of rules was probably a prescient or preemptive move by the cabal what with James Kelly rejoining the NuSNP…

Bobo bunny

Boy is a clown. That fuckin hat of his says it all

Ian

Rudderless and heading into Corryvreckan. Ironic that 1984 was written nearby but nearly wasn’t because of it.

Ian

If I were to be cruel, I would suggest that it won’t take that long until 2.5% of members equals 100 members anyway.

Zimba

If that.

Mark Beggan

The remaining members of the SNP will organised into the Volksstrum Schotland and sent to defend the river Order.

Vivian O’Blivion

Battening doon the hatches for the storm to come (and I ain’t referring to Storm Eowyn). Party finances are circling the stank.

The once munificent £1.3 m pa in British State, Short money is a fond and distant memory. The 10% tithes they extracted from the £90k salaries of MPs is decimated as the feckless 56 elected in 2015 are now the nonentity 9. Tithes from MSPs will diminish (to a lesser extent) after next year’s Holyrood election. The £600k ringfenced, Indy fund vanished into a miasma (the Gartcosh Polis doggedly pursue the case in the face of Permanent State obstructionism). Other “creative” revenue streams are closed off. *
?
* The “donation” Anum Qaisar’s daddy (allegedly) made to Jackson’s Entry got the pint-sized bimbo three years as the MP for Airdrie & Shotts. Not much of a return on investment.

Geri

They’ll find the same dark slush fund as Ruth the tank commander found & they’ll chalk it down as the proceeds of an anonymous raffle lol…

They’re a permanent block in Holyrood & good little soldiers now. That no doubt rakes in the perks to keep it just ticking along…

Willie

Anum Qaisar. Was she not the shooie in one time MP who was one of the dlevout Humxa Yousaf’s harem.of lady .

jock mctavish

Is this a precursor for Sturgeon’s return?

Geri

Jeez! Never thought of that…

Mia

That was the first thought that crossed my mind. Judging by the comments in her fanzine “The National”, it does look like her fan base is shrinking and fast. It is becoming quite obvious that the only way to instal her back in the position and keeping her there is by diktat.

Mark Beggan

If left untreated syphilis can affect parts of the brain.

Willie

Aye and other parts too Mark!

A lot of boaby wallopers the SNP. Many of course are of course Jakess the Peg types too. In fact our survey tells us two to one.

Finest ever Scotswoman eh?

Mark Beggan

Deviants the lot of them. Each and every one.

Hatey McHateface

The stage is now set for a brand new Popular Scottish Independence Party.

Cometh the hour, cometh the man or woman?

I’ll kick off by drafting the first rule of the PSIP’s constitution:

1.1.1 No person who has ever represented, been employed by, or held office for the SNP in any way, whether paid or unpaid, professionally or other, openly or clandestinely, may join, work for, represent, or exert control or influence in any way over the PSIP and/or its members.

1.1.2 Any person who is a member of the PSIP, or who is employed by them in any capacity whatsoever, who is subsequently found to be in contravention of 1.1.1 will be immediately expelled, sacked or otherwise dismissed from the PSIP.

OK, that’s a good start. I’ll leave it to others to build on this foundation.

Mark Beggan

1.1.3 Four legs good Two legs bad.

Tartan Tory

I once delivered leaflets locally for the (good) SNP before 2014. Does that exclude me from becoming the Indy messiah?

Hatey McHateface

I think you will be OK, TT.

Back in the old days when we still had paper persons delivering the newspapers through our letter boxes, we would never have held them responsible for what was actually in the papers.

I’m assuming you were acting voluntarily. If you accepted money though, then you’re suspect 🙂

Mac Cuill

Colin Cameron MacDonald fully deserves the knighthood gained while at The Scottish Office ‘for services to Empire’. Who’d have thought that recruiting two law students in Edinburgh could ever have such a long-term impact on the independence movement?

Mark Beggan

Look up to the sky and behold!!
Queen of the Baby Boxes descends from heaven in her Focke-Wulf FW 200 Condor.

Hatey McHateface

“Only Yousaf’s was a meaningful contest, and much good it did him”

My recollection is that the contest was riven by procedural irregularities, with a threatened legal challenge from Ash Regan at one point.

Before she was put back in her box.

I prefer to see Yousaf’s brief tenure as the high-water mark for poorly-concealed DEI in Scottish Indy politics.

Maybe that’s just wishful thinking on my part.

Mark Beggan

The creatures outside looked from man to pig and then from pig to man again….

Nae Need!

I find myself agreeing with you, yet again. Wtf is wrong with me? Purely rhetorical, I don’t want to hear it 🙂

Hatey McHateface

Just tell people you’ve become deranged by the onset of Trump 2.0.

Trump Derangement Syndrome (TDS) is a real condition.

link to edition.cnn.com

“Trump Derangement Syndrome (TDS) is a mental condition in which a person has been driven effectively insane due to their dislike of Donald Trump, to the point at which they will abandon all logic and reason.”

I don’t know if you can get signed off indefinitely with it, but only because I haven’t looked.

When he won the election, there were credible reports of people being given compassionate leave from work and study so they could grieve.

Skip_NC

I wouldn’t say folk were given compassionate leave but they were certainly offered it. My wife works as a nurse for a large health system owned by a major university in North Carolina. All staff were offered three days compassionate leave. Nobody in my wife’s office felt the need to take it. I daresay there were a few who were happy Trump won but we live in a very liberal city in a predominantly liberal county, surrounded by counties that are even more liberal.

I can’t speak for every employee, but my wife felt that she had patients to take care of.

gregor

The Fraud (2023): GCHQ drafted in to keep SNP leadership vote secure:

THE SNP is working with UK spy bosses to ensure the ballot to replace Nicola Sturgeon is secure…”:

link to thenational.scot

link to archive.ph

#GCHQSNPartnership

GCHQSNP
Mia

the contest was riven by procedural irregularities”

That is an underestimation. From the outside, it had all the look of having been completely gerrymandered and rigged.

Ash and Kate were not even told the actual number of members the party had and were forbidden to contact members by email, yet, if I remember correctly, somebody from the Yousless team was caught sending an email to all the members of a particular area and was let off with less than a slap on the wrist.

The political fraud’s praetorian guard came out in force to gaslight the public and stop anybody else other than Yousless winning. Mhairi Black, was trying to ramp up fear by claiming, for example, that the SNP could split if Kate Forbes was to win.

In a twist of irony, Murrell even recruited the GCHQ “to watch” over the vote, and the omnipresent Liz Teflon Lloyd was caught with her paws all over Yousless campaign. Again, she was let off the hook with not even a slap on the wrist.

I distinctly remember something rather dodgy about the vote. It was reported on the 12 March 2023 that the polling company was given 78,000 names and had sent that number of online voting forms. However, soon after, it was reported that the official number for the electorate was only 72,186. On the actual vote day, the official number was given as 72,169. So what happened to the extra 5831 voting forms that were sent above the 72,169 and how did all those adjustments of membership and turnout took place?

On the 12 March 2023 it was reported that Mi-Voice claimed to have said that “just 54,600 people were expected to actually cast a vote as they presumed there will be a 70 per cent turnout”

Okay, so they were already at that time telling us that they were assuming a 70% turnout. Why, on the basis of what and what for do you have to make such assumption? Why do you need that information a priori before the vote? It sounded to me like an attempt at managing expectations ahead of the vote. But why was that deemed necessary?

But that 70% turnout was, based on the 78,000 figure for the electorate and the 78000 online forms sent. However, that electorate figure was an overestimation of the real figure, which was, according to the SNP on the day the results were released, 72169. We just had to take their word for it.

The actual number of votes as published by the SNP was 50494. Still an almost exactly 70% of the “official” new figure for the electorate. We were expected to believe that the number of members was not really known, that almost 6000 extra online forms were sent above the actual official membership figure, and that the number of members seemed to change wildly from one day to the next, but at all times, and independently of every possible variable directly affecting the turnout being unpredictable, that “turnout” would be a constant of 70% no matter what. You really have to laugh at this. At the time I honestly wondered if this strategy of creative “statistics” using the turnout as the reference point would be part of the “advice” package provided by Ms Lloyd.

When you only look at the results where a preference candidate and a second one was selected, Forbes was selected as first preference in 17140 ballots (that is 83% of the votes that had Forbes as first preference). Regan was selected as first preference in 5027 (90% of the total votes that had Regan as first preference). Yousaf had 14573 (That is only a 60% of the total votes that had Yousaf as first preference).

So here is the first anomaly: we are expected to believe that an astonishing 40%, which is more than double the proportion in the case of Forbes and four times the proportion for Regan, cast a single vote for Yousaf.

Of the members who only selected one candidate and no second preference, 572 cast a single vote for Regan and 3419 cast a single vote for Forbes. Yet, we are expected to believe that an astonishing 9763 people, almost 3 times the number for Forbes, cast a single vote for Yousaf. I do not believe that figure for even a second. I am of the opinion that figure has been substantially inflated.

If we just look at the ballots which had a second preference, Forbes won 17140 and Yousaf won 14573.

Therefore: 17140 – 14573 = 2567. This is the number of extra single vote ballots that Yousaf would have needed to match Forbes’ vote in the first round.

When you look at the second preferences, Forbes was selected on 12509 ballots as second choice. Yousaf was selected on 11281 as second preference.

Therefore, 12509 – 11281 = 1228 votes needed by Yousaf to match Forbes’ on the second round.

We also know that Yousaf won by 2142 votes.

Therefore: 2567 + 1228 + 2142 = 5937 is the total number of single votes Yousaf would have needed to win assuming he had obtained the same number of single votes as Forbes.

Right, and what was, allegedly, the amount of extra voting forms that the polling company sent when they assumed the total membership was 78,000?

That would be 5831. Ooft! look at that. Isn’t that close?

I would argue that the above figure is just illustrative and I would be of the opinion that it underestimates the number of the “extra” forms sent .

Here is my hypothesis:
It must have been known that Regan was the less popular of the three, and that it was far more likely that Forbes’ voters would select Regan as second choice than Yousaf’s voters, therefore they must have known that there is no way on earth Yousaf would have won if the proportion of single votes for Yousaf was similar to the one for Forbes. Therefore that figure had to be inflated.

But by how much?

They would have needed to make estimations, but what could they have used as reference point? I would argue that it was that magic figure of 70% turnout.

As part of my hypothesis, I would argue that the SNP mandarins could not tell us the “official” number of members they had in their lists because, at those points in time, they still did not know how many “extra” online forms might have been needed to be “filled” as a single vote for Yousaf in order to ensure he would beat Forbes.

twathater

And TBQH that is one of the reasons I have very little trust that Ash Regan would fight tooth and nail for indy, she can talk the talk but as has been shown by your rough estimates Mia , Ash Regan said that alongside Kate Forbes she would legally challenge the veracity of the result due to the clusterfuck of the organisation but when the wee free twee backed off Regan all of a sudden went silent

Personally I was sickened at Regan’s capitulation and acceptance of the fix, I believe it showed someone with NO INTEGRITY, just another self serving member of the “fk you jack I’m all right brigade”
If Regan had made a complaint to the electoral commission it would have had to be investigated and the snp evidence of membership and votes printed and cast would have to have been produced , which may have resulted in the whole VILE edifice crashing down

Garrion

Full tinfoil hat here, but it’s almost as if the party is being reconstructed not to achieve independence, but to be a constitutional and political blocker and permanent ‘gish galloper’ of any political advance towards independence. Reminds me of how the British intelligence services ended up hollowing out and in fact running the IRA and to a lesser extent Sinn Fein. They really are very very good at what they do.

Mark Beggan

Force Research Unit. Fishers of Men.

Alf Baird

The co-opted national party chooses ‘neutrality’, it depends on slogans and for the most part leaves the question of independence to future events. It takes the movement up a blind alley, delaying independence. The dominant national party elite becomes part of the colonial racket, it behaves like a gang, feathers its nest and builds up its pensions. Colonialism, which is always a co-operative venture with native elites, effectively draws the national party leaders under its wing. (Fanon)

Nae Need!

It’s certainly behaving like a mafia. And that’s a few steps up the ‘control-freakery scale’ fae a gang.

Dan

This is really just further tinkering to stitch it up even further.
It was basically sewn up 7 years ago as this article from 2021 explains.

link to wingsoverscotland.com

Folk will remember the attempts by the “good guys” to try to regain some control but that came to nothing because the cabal already had enough control and power to see off all challenges and continuing to dictate the Party’s trajectory.

Nae Need!

Yip, internally-applied totalitarianism.

David Hannah

Time to put Peter Murrell & and nasty Nicola Sturgeon in prison. What is Dorothy Bain waiting for? At least they can now testify against each other, since dissolving their lavender marriage. Sturgeon is a black widow spider. And I suspect she will devour the former love of her life, and partner in crime when he takes the stand! Hahaha! I suppose it’s time for him to firefight on all fronts isn’t it?

Robinovski

Well if you are waiting for Dorothy Bain to do anything about Nicola, then you’ve not been paying attention. Remember though, the Chief Mammy can spout off all she wants about the ex but that can go the other way too. A bit like the whole Nuclear Stand off – Mutually Assured Destruction. Only this time, it’ll be a sight to behold.

Geri

“This seismic change has been seemingly brought about by just six people.”

That’s a marked improvement from just three last time. Bolting in Sturgeon & her hubby & removing party democracy. All masterminded by Angus Robertson, allegedly.

Kit Bee

not to mention his wife!

gregor

OMG, rotten SNP (hierarchy) has ring-fenced itself.

#NoEscape

ringfenced
gregor

@TheSNPForum
Plebs release:

“NEW: Justice Secretary Angela Constance gave an emotional apology to the families of Katie Allan and William Lindsay as she told MSPs the state accepted there were ‘systemic failures’ which resulted in their deaths in prison.”

“In a statement responding to a report which identified a “catalogue of failures” in the systems meant to care for them,”:

link to x.com

link to uk.news.yahoo.com

#FailedScotlandState

SNPTRAINWRECK
gregor

BBC (2025): Abuse claims were ‘brushed under the carpet’:

“The Scottish Child Abuse Inquiry has heard that allegations of physical, emotional and verbal abuse suffered by children in secure care in Edinburgh were “brushed under the carpet” for more than a decade by senior council managers

Ms McKinnon told the inquiry that she identified 30 cases of abuse between 2008 and 2019.
These included children being punched, restrained inappropriately and locked up for hours for trivial reasons…

Ms McKinnon said there was a toxic, dysfunctional culture

‘Lessons have not been learned’
Ms McKinnon said there were numerous missed opportunities to tackle the abusive behaviour but senior managers in the City of Edinburgh Council‘s childrens and families department “turned a blind eye” when concerns were raised…

She added that she does not have confidence that young people currently being looked after by the council are safe, nurtured and protected…”:

link to bbc.co.uk

link to archive.ph

#SystematicChildAbuse

BBC (2017): Systematic child abuse claims published:
“Dozens of accounts of systematic abuse in Scottish schools, residential homes and hospitals have been published.

The allegations released by the National Confidential Forum, external include child sex abuse, violence and bullying.

Many of the 59 testimonies describe a “veil of secrecy” within institutions…”:

link to bbc.co.uk

CONSEQUENCES
gregor

Sniveling Wings tribes don’t give a fu** about the children –

THE SHAME OF SCOTLAND/WORLD

twathater

Constance is just another robot who has failed at every post she has held , a block of cheese has more empathy and feeling than her, and is more intelligent

gregor

I empathise with you, Twathater

The people of Scotland deserve far better than this…

Kenneth Jamieson

The public don’t care, they just want something they can vote for that will get Independence, most people don’t give a damn about internal squabbling, if anything it puts them off even more, I just want a party with a leader that shows leadership, get out of westminster as I won’t be voting for any party who sits in Westminster.

Dave Hansell

The key questions are, firstly, how is that “want” going to be achieved?

And secondly, are those who “want” this prepared to do anything whatsoever towards achieving that “want”?

Because doing nothing and expecting that “want” to appear by a process of spontaneous combustion (ie magic), whilst lamenting as squabbling the systemic and structural difficulties faced by the minority of the public who do attempt to do something towards achieving that “want”, has neither worked nor managed to move matters towards that “want” so far.

And that is unlikely to change no matter how long the public adopt that position of waiting for someone else to deliver that “want”.

Mia

Oh dear!!

Does this move mean the clique were anticipating a serious challenger from outwith the clique that they urgently needed to block? In that case, who? Flynn? Cherry?

Which of the two comedians will take the helm when Swinney decides to retire, would it be Mhairi Black or Sturgeon? Or will Gordon Brown give the position a shot? I mean, we already had the other half of the vow as CEO, didn’t we?

You can be incredibly cynical, of course, and think this move was not really to preserve Swinney’s unpopular leadership, but to ensure that once the political fraud returns to the driving seat that Yousaf and Swinney were simply keeping warm for her, she will not be taken down from the podium ever again.

In the short term, this may just be the ticket the establishment demanded to ensure the SNP fully tanks in 2026 to guarantee the “Scottish” Labour resurrection despite the serious bludgeoning that Sir Kid and Elderly Starver and Rachel from Accounts Mismanagement have taken to its credibility. I am sure we will not have to wait long until they wheel Curtice out again to give a “landslide” prediction for labour.

With every dirty move the SNP “leadership” makes, the prospect of not voting at all to accelerate the demolition of the whole rotten political edifice, becomes more and more attractive.

So, what does this dirty move mean for those who still are dreaming about “unity” and insisting in including the dirty SNP on any move for independence? Can they finally see what the rest of us has seen for years, that the SNP is nothing more than a Jupiter size lead balloon tied around its neck and strangling the independence movement?

Last edited 23 days ago by Mia
Alison

It’s their own coffin they’re hammering nails into, I don’t actually have a problem with them fast tracking their own demise.

Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh

I think it is Salmond’s coffin they are still anxiously hammering nails into. They are very frightened people.

100%Yes

Aye and their taken Scotland with them. We need to end the SNP dominance in Scottish politics and educate the public the reason why the SNP needs to be destroyed and these Individuals bought to justice. This is the reason they won’t allow Scotland to have a vote on the constitutional question, they know their skin is on the line.

gregor

Keep wielding your reality-hammers…

#InvincibleRealityHammers

gregor

Don’t bother then (duh)

twathater

If only

100%Yes

I’ve stated this since the she stood down that Sturgeon would return as leader of the SNP and FM again in 2026, this has been the SNP leadership game plan from day 1 of her resigning.

This is the reason Humza and then Swinney had to become leader it was to prevent anyone else from becoming leader and blocking the chances of Sturgeon returning when the dust had settled.

Everything that’s happened or happening is all at the behest of Sturgeon she in complete control and she has the full support of the UKG.

I hear people F*cking banging on and on about Westminster for F*ck sake Westminster isn’t the problem open you F*cking eyes its the SNP. We need a leader who has the voice of the WHOLE YES MOVEMENT to be able to challenge the SNP’s treasonous behavior.

In the coming Holyrood election we need to organize to prevent certain ("Tractor" - Ed)s in the SNP from being elected again, come up with a single plan in order to get the message out there about how these individuals have spent the last Ten Years stealing votes and ruining Scotland reputation in the world and that Independence will never happen with these Individuals in charge as these are the people preventing it and the reason why GREED.

Nae Need!

Very well said.

Dan

We need a leader who has the voice of the WHOLE YES MOVEMENT

I’m afraid you’ve more chance of finding rocking horse shit than that ever happening.

It’s clear that a significant number of human brains in this instant gratification binary world we now unfortunately inhabit have lost the ability of critical thought; So this means folk will inevitably find a reason and issue not to support someone, even if they are for the most part broadly aligned with said person.
Numerous examples of this are available within the movement for returning Scotland to self-governance.

Has a funny voice, doesn’t look attractive / is too good looking, dodgy haircut, swore once, told a joke you didn’t like. These are all now show stoppers to success in the current modern political world packed full of snowflakes who rush to take offense or deem everything hateful that doesn’t totally align with their exacting views.

That being the case if folk still can’t muster the self-belief and motivation to get aff their knees and do stuff themselves so still require a leader, it would be far better to have a group of folk leading that would cover a range of demographics and knowledge bases, and that would also diffuse the ability for an individual to be taken out the game if it were just one leader.

The things is, needing a plan for Holyrood was something that some of us were trying to do last time round but that came to fuck all and a million 2nd votes wasted for the reasons already given.
Now the folk that were telling us to shut up because we were wrong back then are telling us we need a plan for Holyrood…
Forgive me but I have little trust in folk that were so behind the curve on the way things were playing out but now want everyone to follow them.
There’s an awfy Pied Piper vibe about this sort of thing, and undoubtedly with the stakes in play there will be folk that are not what they appear to be.

Young Lochinvar

The ripple effect among the woke and depraved following the Democrats defenestration across the pond..

PacMan

There is a distinct possibility that Trump’s term in office could have a detrimental effect on the woke politics in our country.

If it does, it remains to be seen whether it will continue after he leaves office but would could have a more longer lasting effect is through the actions of the Progressive Democrats themselves.

While I have no doubt that the lecture by the woke Bishop at the recent televised church event attended by Trump went down well with some quarters but how will it be viewed by the majority where it was nothing but self-promotion on the part of the woke Bishop rather than a Sermon on the mound moment?

Whether it was planned or not, it does give credence to this notion of the deep state acting against Trump but there is an element of truth in it where we live in a society now gripped by post-modernism where it is expected for individuals to act against the established order.

There is nothing wrong with stand up for what is the right and there is a moral obligation to whistle blow against wrong doing but it has went beyond that where individuals employed by the government actively working to thwart political policies that goes against theirs.

The Trump administration is making efforts to get rid of these individuals through initiatives like removing the ability to work from home but if it isn’t enough and in the coming years, these Progressive individuals are seen to actively hinder Trumps policymaking, will it result in turning the majority against this Progressive politics?

It remains to be seen but I think we are in an era now where money is tight and everybody is feeling the pinch. It means people are more critical of things and the action of these self-absorbed individuals in positions of authority who acts against the wishes of the majority is going to be seen in a different light than it would be in better times.

Young Lochinvar

I detest the term “progressive”, just as I hate the other hijacked phrases and words like “gay”, “pride”, “gender “ “self identification”, “diversity”, “inclusivity” and countless others increasing in number by each passing year.

The only things these people are progressing from rapidly is reality and the facts of natural reproduction.

Depravity is a word they haven’t been able to make cool yet.
Give it time I suppose.

Borderline interesting to be a fly on the wall in 50 years and see what crimes against nature and morality are considered “way to go” and full on “fashionable” then..

AND: which/ those politicians who are following it like funeral directors behind fire engines.

Apart from the fact I think beatified JFK was a rogue no better or worse than those who came before or after, his speech writers had one thing right that todays modern self absorbed selfish culture completely denies, when he said “what can you do for your country, not what can your country do for you”..

Mind you he also said “Ich bin ein Berliner”, a sausage similar to a Frankfurter so his speech writers had their off days as well.

The fact is, who anywhere anymore puts the common weal of their society and country before personal gain anymore?

Damn few Id suggest,

Pull the plug out: switch on switch off reset required.

PacMan

I had mentioned in my OP that there it is possible that Trumps cultural reset may be reversed after Trump leaves office.

It is plain to see that most Americans are as disgusted with this woke cultural as we are but the culture of having to the freedom where anything goes and any excess is tolerated is too ingrained in that countries society for this Progressive movement to disappear.

In fact, it is only going to get worse as these Progressives seek to normalise every other taboo in the name of post-modernism.

We can see this now where despite the overwhelming Trump victory and rejection of this culture, Hollywood has given a Trans musical 12 academy awards including Best Actress for the lead of that movie who is Trans.

While it is none of our business how Americans live their lives and run their countries but their society impacts our country, both politically, socially and culturally.

Rather than being at the mercy of never ending cultural war cycles, we need to find ways to break free of this American cultural influence of excess without breaking the shared social links that both Americans and Scots feel about the others countries.

Young Lochinvar

Agreed

They are a thoroughly brainwashed social construct directed towards moulding schooling, media and probably most tellingly ; advertising in their crusade to reform humanity in their warped image.

Haven’t quite sussed out though: who really except deviants wants to look and act like (for example) Rue Paul or it’s imitators..

Tory Peers need not respond..

PacMan

There is no doubt that there is an agenda being pushed by globalists and you have the choice to either blindly follow it or not.

It can be argued that we have no choice as this agenda has thoroughly infiltrated education but given that globalism has all but destroyed professional jobs in the UK that require university level education, does it really matter at this present time?

In the context of this site though, this Progressive agenda is being cynically used by both the traditional left and fight as cultural conflicts and censoring debate & criticism to allow them to continue doing what they are doing.

You can see this in the Guardian with a puff piece about resisting Trump’s neofascism by essentially blindly following the Democrats/Labour position regardless of what they are as it isn’t Trump’s position.

The frustrating thing is how do you get beyond that to put forward alternative positions that is actually beneficial to people?

Dan

The frustrating thing is how do you get beyond that to put forward alternative positions that is actually beneficial to people?

Well we can ascertain that a significant amount of the electorate don’t agree with the bullshit being foisted onto us, and voter disengagement through disfranchisement pretty well confirms that’s the case.

So a start to redress this situation might be to work away and have face to face conversations with people in our respective communities to bypass the MSM’s and captured Political Parties’ influencing narrative.
From there the next step is to move to having our communities’ voices and needs represented in a democratic political process by them voting for a candidate that genuinely offers and guarantees them that process by the electoral candidate standing on a manifesto to do just that, and with an additional much simpler recall procedure so the voters can get rid of their elected representative should they fail those that voted them into power.

The above won’t be an walk in the park but anything worth doing generally isn’t easy.
I naturally expect a pile of reasons why it won’t work by the comfortable status quo-ers and downright lazy that would rather just sit and whine rather than stepping up and putting the effort into doing what needs to be done.

Aidan

Who’s to say that 2.5% will be more than 100 members, the way things are going . .

Sandy Howden

Poor James “War and Peace” Kelly. Out of the frying pan into the fire and he is not even aware of it. His exit from Alba is longer than War and Peace and he has not finished yet.

Ian Brotherhood

King Swinney, as we presented him on OTS last year…

comment image?ex=67933d28&is=6791eba8&hm=158867214c40501a824002aa35a209a27f82aef7e183ae37d483e2c5ba59c33d&=&format=webp&quality=lossless&width=586&height=586

Ian Brotherhood

Sorry, just discovered the image is no longer available.
Pity, it was a good one.

gregor

OBN Dev: Fraud Files: King of Fraud:

“And often the self-described, “Greatest Swiper of All Time”
Stolen Bank ID numbers were also apart of the alleged crimes
Investigators say that tracking cash on Social Media was not hard

We hit the road with them cards in the back
We come back with phones, so we cash out
Racks in our pocket, we walk in and spendin’ at Saks
I done been broke once
No, I ain’t YoungBoy
But, I know I never could ever go back
They say I couldn’t but I went and did that
And now I’m on top, and it’s makin’ ’em mad
I hear all the hate, I just sit there and laugh…”:

link to tinyurl.com

Holyrood: John Swinney: from bank manager to head boy:

“…there has also been a change in Swinney’s image. Those commentators who once compared him to a bank manager now refer to him as Nicola Sturgeon’s ‘head boy’…”:

link to holyrood.com

HEAD
gregor

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King: Éowyn’s Dream (Instrumental:)

link to tinyurl.com

#Storm #NoEscape

Young Lochinvar

“Rue Paul assured me it was this wide! Size of the Dartford tunnel!..
Well like any progressive politician I just had to check the old fashioned way and make sure”..

Allegedly.

Peter McAvoy

Last night (Wednesday) on pointless the first question was guests at the Kings coronation and it showed a board of pictures of 16 people did anybody else think Humza Yousaf would be pointless ?

gregor

BBC (2025): Government scraps plan for National Care Service:

“The Scottish government has scrapped its flagship plan to create a National Care Service.

The reform, which had already been scaled back and delayed, was axed by Social Care Minister Maree Todd in a statement to parliament.

The government still intends to pass the National Care Service Bill, though it will be stripped of the fundamental pillar of a National Care Service.
Instead, it includes smaller reforms that have cross-party support.

Opposition parties accused the Scottish government of wasting time and money on the scheme.”:

link to bbc.co.uk

link to archive.ph

we-dont-care
gregor

@1984:

BREAKING: Millions of Scots will soon hear a ‘loud siren’ from their mobile phones to alert of danger from Storm Eowyn, the Government has warned

link to x.com

GOVSCOT
robertkknight

Please…

#gieitarestffs

gregor

‘It’ ?

“Used as the subject of a verb, or the object of a verb or preposition, to refer to a thing, animal, situation, or idea that has already been mentioned:

“Where’s my pen? It was on my desk a minute ago.” “You left it by the phone.”

Used as the subject or object of a verb to represent a phrase at the end of the sentence:

“I liked it in Scotland.

I find it convenient to be able to do my banking by phone.””:

link to dictionary.cambridge.org

#Itiots

NEVER-QUIT
gregor

MISERABLE SCOTLAND WRETCHES 2025

twathater

As I commented on the previous post

Is this not another Angus Robertson’s version of democracy for the membership of snp, but don’t worry VOB they will suck it up like the wee brain dead clones that they are , just like the deliberate sabotaging of the executive which they let happen

Robin is obviously a nice guy which allows himself to be involved on the perimeter of the snp machinations , BUT as you already highlight Dan his cringing acceptance that Forbes is anything other than a self serving grandstanding tr@itor to Scotland and Scots defies his reputational credibility
If Robin is so blinded by the wee nice lassie act he is in the wrong profession and should be focusing on the evidence of her misdeeds which are plentiful

Last edited 23 days ago by twathater
robertkknight

If 100 constitute 0.15% of SNP members, by my reconning the total membership would be approx. 67,000.

Therefore the 2.5% threshold becomes, under the above figure, 1,675 members.

Again, if the 67,000 is accurate – which I very much doubt.

sarah

Rev tweeted today that the membership in June 2024 was 64,525, so you’re not far off, robertkknight.

Last edited 23 days ago by sarah
gregor

Don’t give it a rest, Robert

You might find the truth, one day, if you persist

agent X

Millions of phones across Scotland to sound ‘Armageddon’ alert siren ahead of deadly Storm Eowyn

Stay safe.

Pipinghot

Got to keep the fear levels up.

shug

I hear what they are saying about 100 members – seems a low number right enough. However 25% of a number nobody knows or believes is equally nonsense.
I think it should be for the MPs and MSP to decide on the leader.
As the representative I would need to have confidence in my leader.

sarah

There were never any challenges. And it’s not easy to get 100 supporters from 20 branches when there is no address/contacts list available! I know because I began the process myself [in 2020 I think] so looked into what was needed. [No longer a member, of course.]

Leave the choice to MPs/MSPs? The trough dwellers? Also what if the party only has a handful of parliamentarians [if any]?

shug

The SNP needs its own security service to weed out the plants.

Young Lochinvar

It’s well past that I think.

The so called party of independence hiring the “pen for hire” Murray Foote as CEO, author of the infamous “Vow” – a blatant act to derail the only chance many of us will see to achieve independence through the referendum route- I think pretty well sums up both the SNPs Devolutionist mindset and their AWOL will to achieve THE goal.

UK.co.uk 1: independence nil.

Thanks a bunch SNP..

Special place in hell and that..

Oneliner

Not much point. The ‘security service’ would require Westminster ‘vetting’.

George Ferguson

O/T This post will probably not get through. First let’s deal with the substantive core of Stus article. Is anybody surprised about the antics of the SNP. See Operation Branchform and past shenanigans about the diminution of the power of SNP members. Unbelievable evidence available. Sometimes you have to wake up to the evidence. And that’s one for SNP members. But what has every MSM and blog missed today?. The central story of the day. Nobody has addressed the fundamentals of the day. A young man throughout his life was never challenged. At that was the fault of politicians but also of senior men. A timely challenge would have prevented much of it. And that’s the fault of men.

Stevie

The Swindler – the Batman villain with no Batman to end him ; wtf is the SNP anymore, other than a pointless sequel to the very fishy She/her years ? Does the SNP still actually have a base of activists ?

Cruachan

Our branch submitted six resolutions to HQ earlier this month.
We suspect we were one of the very few branches who did so.
We were seeking simple changes to help ensure more transparency and accountability. Basic stuff; familiar to any decent, modern membership organisation.
To absolutely no-one’s surprise, none were included in the draft agenda for consideration at the special conference in March. Not even an acknowledgement or an explanation of the process for how resolutions were chosen.

The leadership really has circled the wagons.

Mark Beggan

The leadership has stolen the wagons. Do you actually pay these sickos.

Andy Ellis

I’m sorry, but at this point anyone who insists on remaining part of the SNP given all that we know and have seen in recent years is very much part of the problem, not part of the solution.

There is no realistic prospect of the part reforming itself: at every opportunity the cabal in charge have chosen the path of excluding members from having a say, never mind actually exercising control.

Perhaps the rump of the party may be able to stage some sort of coup or night of the long knives to get rid of those responsible. Like many former members and supporters however, ah hae ma doots!

The best way for the movement as a whole to progress is destroy the SNP as a political force. There is no place in nationalist politics for a milquetoast devolutionary party which has meekly accepted the right of the British nationalist state to veto the self determination of the Scottish people.

Perhaps a few electoral drubbings for the SNP and reduction in its number of MPs, MSPs and councillors will have a salutary effect. Perhaps not. What is absolutely necessary is that the movement as a whole makes it abundantly clear to what is left of the SNP (whether it is reformed or not) that it will never again be allowed to dictate the course of the movement of which it forms only a part.

It is earnestly to be hoped that pro-independence Scottish voters will in due course deliver their own verdict on the SNPs baleful record and lack of progress on promoting the cause.

gregor

The Herald (2025): Don’t get too excited, SNP: this lead may not be all it seems:

“…the SNP’s polling lead is based on voters’ rapid disillusion with the new Labour Government at Westminster, leading to both a further fracturing of the unionist vote and a growing pool of undecided voters…

…the SNP’s polling lead and prospects of winning over 50 seats – the benchmark past which they are nearly guaranteed to remain in power – hangs by a thread. Secondly, we remain in an anti-incumbent political environment. And thirdly, the polls may well be overstating the SNP’s lead..

The SNP’s position looks less certain when we add to this the overall political environment of low trust in politics and both the Westminster and Scottish Governments, one with an anti-incumbent bent, and the fact that a great deal of water still has to flow under the bridge before the next Holyrood elections – not least the long-awaited outcome of Operation Branchform…

The SNP’s emergent lead over Labour may not be as big as it seems and could rapidly evaporate.”:

link to heraldscotland.com

link to archive.ph

gregor

Wings tribes disagree (idiots)

Andy

Bite my head off, but I’m actually starting to wonder what proportion of Scots actually want a pro-independence party to vote for.

Alf Baird

Many people remain ambivalent about independence because they have never had it properly explained to them what independence actually means (i.e. decolonization) and why it is necessary and indeed urgent (liberation from oppression):

link to salvo-cor.s3.eu-west-1.amazonaws.com

Dan

Aye Alf, it is disappointing that so many folk still can’t seem to comprehend the constraints that keep them down.
They may feel they have a reasonable life of sorts, but jeezo, how can they not see the farcical situation of the likes of the economic model our society is continuing to endure with for examples:
The ludicrously high prices needing to be paid for owning or renting a house.
The ludicrously high prices they are paying for energy and fuel whilst living in a country that has an abundance of such resources.

Sort of relevant:

link to commonweal.scot

And the lack of urgency from some of our supposed leaders, and the resultant despondency across our wider society which stifles attempts to begin to resolve this situation is what gets me most.
It does indeed appear as you have pointed out before, that many in the national liberation cause have indeed found a comfortable niche within the Union status quo that serves them a little too well and has removed the motivating fire from their hearts.

Hope everyone is safe during the breeze and managing not to get clocked by flying wheelie bins or migrating trampolines.

Captain Caveman

Well, I clicked on the link as suggested, which promptly took me right to a publication entitled ‘The Theoretical Case for Scottish Independence’, as authored by none other than… Alf Baird.

Honestly? Whilst this (oft-repeated) shameless self-promotion on your part is quite hilarious, you’ve got to admire the sheer chutzpah, notwithstanding.

Out of curiosity, I read the 1st para:

‘… Aye, deid richt, us Scots ur unalike aw ither fowk and thon’s whit we’re fechtin fir – oor ain cultur an langages, oor ain naition, oor wey o daein awthing – oor verra bein! …’

Genuinely fascinating, though I doubt for the intended reasons.

Dan

Well we’re 116,334 days into the Union and I’m still waiting for a Unionist to produce
‘A Theoretical Positive Case for Scotland being in the Union’.

Captain Caveman

Knock yourself out mate. Probably a more constructive use of time than worrying large rodents.

Last edited 22 days ago by Captain Caveman
Dan

Is that lame jibe the best you’ve got ya droll selfish twat.

Let us hear the positives from you as a Unionist for London Rule facilitating selling aff all manner of stuff which now benefits foreign interests more than our own.
C’mon, turn on yer intellect and style and convince Scotland we’re better served in yer Union.

Captain Caveman

Well, I’m taking the RR 550e as pretty positive. I know you’re a fan. Very nice ride.

Dan

Always about the self innit. Rarely gives a fuck about the folk in our wider society and how so many of them are struggling to get by.
You can keep you piece of modern over-priced over-complex Range Rover junk.

Back in the day I used to work as the mechanic for an offroad centre and Landrover Experience so know all too well how they morphed from being a reasonable simple utilitarian vehicle into a load of complex crap that suckers think is great.
Aircon on a 110! Yer having a fucking laugh when the vehicles still air gaps you can see round the door seals.
Traction control is like ABS in reverse and when Freelander 1s and Disco 2s were used offroad wading in muddy water they’d eat the rear brake pads or shoes in as little as 40 miles.
TD5 engine was a piece of shit for a new blank sheet engine design.
Disco 3 V6 engines were no better with the crankshafts snapping in half!
I used to build 4x4s and serviced for hillrally / comp safari crew.
I’ll try to find a pic and post it of one of the original 2 door Rangeys I did a complete every single nut and bolt and panel rebuild on.
Early 70s model and running gear was full metric chassis and axles with a 3.9 V8 hot wire injection non cat engine, and 5 speed LT77 with manual diff-lock LT230 transfer box. It was the best and last of the mechanical stuff before Landrover went Pete Tong with modern pish. A headlight for one of the new Rangeys is well over 3000 grand and is on back-order so dinnae hae a bump. lolz.

Anyway, a while back I thought we’d resolved to ditch the antagonistic shizzle and discuss other stuff, like farming viability in the future. If you like your cars then have you watched any of the Harry’s Farm vids?

Yellow-Rangey
Captain Caveman

It does have a fridge though. Perfect for a half-sized bottle of Moët NV.

Dan

FFS ya lightweight, what use is half a bottle of Moët, especially when you’re driving.
Mind you, Range Rovers are so unreliable I suppose if they manage to complete a journey without a fault code or breakdown that is cause for celebration.
Nae way I’d be dropping way over a hundred grand on a piece of shit that depreciates like a stone.

One of the positives Scotland has regardless of being in or oot the Union is that it’s so cold here for half the year that we don’t need to pay for and waste energy powering a fridge to chill oor drinks, nor need a fucking fridge in oor car.

Captain Caveman

£145k.

Geri

That reminds me of my brother’s first car in the 80s. It came with a fire extinguisher LOL!

He was proud as punch & showed everyone. You know where this is going…first sign of danger & it didn’t work lolz…

Range Rovers are for farmers. I doubt they’ve any need for a fridge unless they’re planning on entertaining some farmyard animals in the back seat…

Young Lochinvar

It’s Jeremy Clarkson folks, on a roll to wind up as many non English as possible.
Best ignored.

twathater

Typical yoonionist when challenged change the subject , how stupid are people when they are shown the truth that they WALLOW in their own misery , yoonionists , no voters and snp voters are truly stupid

Geri

Do yoons not think there’s such a thing as importing & exporting? LOL!

Do we need a political union with China now so that Range Rover can still make cars?

That a FAIL for remaining in the Union I’m afraid .

Do try again…

At this rate I’m inclined to ask Musk, for the shits & giggles, to put up a $million dollar reward for the first Yoon to actually answer even just one benefit Scotland receives from this Union & one that we’d be unable to do better ourselves.

Chas

I am no Unionist but one positive of being in the Union is that everything in Scotland is not in the control of the SNP.
A quick swatch of the things they are in control of makes sorry reading. Nothing theoretical about that.
Of course, after Independence, there will no SNP I hear you say. All the current MP’s/MSP’s and their hangers on, will simply disappear into the sunset, job done. The gravy train will no longer be required!
I maybe as bad as Baird for repeating myself, sorry no one is as bad as Baird. but where do you see the honest, competent Government coming from in an Independent Scotland?
By magic?

Geri

Don’t be a fud.

Typical dullard Yoon. Zero outlook past 2 secs. Spoon fed bullshit & swallows it whole. Did no one equip you with some basic critical thinking?

In an independent Scotland new political parties will emerge. The Lib Dumbs, Labour & Toxic Tory will still exist but will be registered in Scotland, therefore, serving & answerable TO the people of Scotland. Some may be so disgusted they’ll return to their own country – others won’t.

The SNP will disband, change it’s name or fck off to their true respective parties. No one has ever claimed they’d resign from politics.

SNP is full of ex Labour supporters & some Tories. I expect they’ll rearrange themselves back to those political homes.

Only a complete roaster thinks MSPs & MPs would just disappear after indy when it’d really be the most exciting time to be alive in politics. A brand spanking new parliament with brand spanking new parliamentary oaths & rules & brand spanking new political parties emerging.

It was actually discussed during Indyref that Labour had the golden opportunity to entirely re-invent itself in an independent Scotland. To dump the Blairite red Tory pish & get back to its socialist & working class roots – it baulked at the idea & ran into bed with the Tories instead. Bitter Together. Too dumb to see the Tories played them a blinder – they just shot themselves in both feet & doubled down to shoot itself into political irrelevance still felt today.

Musical chairs on a grand scale is all that’d happen with Holyrood & with many new runners & riders emerging to take office. Oh & all those brand spanking new civil servants & staffing government offices…Scots would also be having a lottery win on the jobs front…

Chas

Wings comments section was a far better read when you were on your sabbatical! Crude, coarse, bigoted, arrogant and thick sums you up perfectly.

According to you, an Independent Scotland will have the same useless Politicians but representing totally different party’s. Isn’t that a prospect to look forward to? Will any of them be able to answer the hundreds of unanswered questions before, during or after the election process? Indyref was 11 years ago-has anything changed in Scotland/UK/World since then?

Maybe you should stand for election Geri. You could lead one of the new Party’s! I am certain the electorate would appreciate a good laugh.

?If only all of us could read the future like you. You are truly blessed!

Captain Caveman

Totally agree. What a tiresome imbecile.

Young Lochinvar

Then gents, you are just not listening..
Horse to water and all that..

Young Lochinvar

Regardless, priority no. 1 is no repeat of the Union!
Ever..
No nay never!!

Alf Baird

Maybe you realise now that independence ‘is a cultural emotion’ and hence ‘a fight for a national culture’ (Frantz Fanon) against the forces of Imperialism.

Imperialism is about changing peoples identity, making them into something else (e.g. ‘British’, or ‘trans’, or whatever), which is a cultural illusion.

The ‘bulwark against Imperialism is national cultures’ (Edward Said).

Colonialism ‘is a disease of the mind’ (Albert Memmi); Imperialism and ‘the torture of colonial bi-lingualism’ leads to an oppressed people suffering from a colonial mindset:

link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com

Hatey McHateface

“the torture of colonial bi-lingualism”

Is that a wee typo there, Alf?

I’ve replaced “torture” with tortoise and tonsure. Even triptych.

And it still makes as little sense as your original.

It’s a well accepted and widely recognised fact that mastery of more than one language not only makes people smarter, it enriches their lives culturally too.

And then, of course, if they choose to cash in on the advantage, they can benefit materially also.

Alf Baird

Aye, lairning twa langages wad shuirly be braw…..

BUT the colonized are only taught the language of the colonizer, and told that thair ain Scots langage is ‘invalid’, as are thaim wha speak it!

Hence the racism of colonialism, the cringe, and ‘the torture of colonial bilingualism’ as the native is forced to cast aside his ain language.

Captain Caveman

“BUT the colonized are only taught the language of the colonizer”

Weird, that. Last time I looked, French (Spanish and numerous other languages) were being compulsorily taught to secondary school – and primary school – children. It is deeply encouraged at every turn.

I suppose making shit up is the last recourse if your whole narrative is so vastly off the mark.

Hatey McHateface

I’m sorry, Alf, but most of what you post does not match my personal lived experience.

I’m regularly conversing with ordinary, indigenous Scots who speak their natural, local language, little changed from their great grandparent’s time.

It’s not been cast aside, and nobody is cringing or feeling tortured.

Leaving that to one side, a typical visit to most Scottish High Streets in 2025 will expose you to something like half a dozen spoken languages and dialects. That’s an inevitable result of EU freedom of movement, coupled with uncontrolled, unlimited immigration from the world’s shitholes.

That situation is not likely to change, barring the coming to power of our own Trump. That situation may well develop further, given our Scottish government’s insistence we need EU membership, plus at least another million immigrants.

That’s not my favoured scenario, perhaps not yours either, but given it’s what we are told most Scots want, if not need, Scotland will need a common language if (yet more) chaos is to be averted.

That language will be English. Neither Poles, Rwandans, Philippinos nor Bengalis are going to be learning Scots.

Captain Caveman

The thing is though, Alf, it is perfectly possible to maintain a strong Scottish (or English, Welsh) nationality AND be British. They aren’t mutually exclusive.

I completely respect the iScot view that being British isn’t wanted. But it is not intrinsically an either-or scenario as you imply.

Nor is Scotland “colonised”; there is an open border on the same island and it is inevitable that there will be free movement of Scottish, English and Welsh folk in both directions, as has been the case for millennia. To characterise this two-way, mutually beneficial traffic as “colonialism” (akin to, say, Australian aborigines et al, as opposed to a mutually agreed union of similar peoples) is absurd.

Alf Baird

Scottish nationality?

Colonialism is primarily economic plunder and external political control of a territory.

Colonialism may or may not involve ‘se**ler occupation’ and even ‘banishment of natives’ and in Scotland’s case our history and census records suggests it does.

Geri

Does no one own a fucking dictionary in Yoon land?

Colony = full or partial political control by another country.
To have blow-ins to out vote the natives.

Are we politically controlled by another country? YES.
If we weren’t we’d be able to hold a referendum eh?
We’d be able to collect our own revenues eh? We’d have our own foreign policies..
Our own trade agreements..
Our own shipping ports & fishing..
Our own defence.
Our own treasury.yadda, yadda….Durrrr!!

So we are a colony & not even in charge of who moves here. Another country is in full control of that too. Even putting Scottish businesses out of business. See fishing & Toxic Tories hostile environment to immigration that seen many go bust after Brexshit. All control of our vast seas too. We own oil fields & wind energy in our vast sea area & don’t even have as much as a fcking row boat patrolling our own waters.

But look at little Engurland with a teeny wee chanel. A navy, ski jets, F16s, Subs, the Red Arrows doing a fly over & even an angry mob on the beach with a foghorn cause a fucking dingy is up ahead…LMAO!

Fck all to do with Borders. People move freely to the Republic of Ireland too through reciprocal government agreement & shared intelligence agencies on criminals. Same would happen in an independent Scotland. Only yoons invent their own bullshit & end up believing it.

So WE ARE A COLONY. Write to the dictionary & tell them they have it all wrong FFS..

Last edited 22 days ago by Geri
Hatey McHateface

Have you seen the prices of chanel stuff, Geri?

It’s few who can afford anything but a teeny wee bottle.

Captain Caveman

Of course, the Supreme Court “demolished” the SNP’s (self-evidently) ridiculous claim that Scotland is a “colony” barely 2 years ago, back in November 2022. Various pertinent points are as per Lord Reed’s quote to the media at the time:

“… The SNP rely on the judgement of the Canadian Supreme Court in a case concerned with Quebec. But in that case, the court held that the right to self-determination under international law only exists in situations of former colonies, or where a people is oppressed, as for example, under a foreign military occupation, or where a definable group is denied meaningful access to government to pursue their political, economic, cultural and social development.

The court found that Quebec did not meet the threshold of a colonial people or an oppressed people. Nor could it be suggested that Quebecers were denied meaningful access to government to pursue their political, economic, cultural and social development. The same is true of Scotland and the people of Scotland. …”

Still, I’m sure “Geri” off the internet (ever fragrant) knows better. Maybe Alf could also chip in with some more of his bespoke Scots language gems here, maybe along the lines of “Och aye the noo Scootland is independent, Memmi, Fanni says so”

Hal Martin

Fuck the English ‘Supreme Court’, in existence for five minutes. Joke of an institution.

Captain Caveman

Righto Chief (lol).
What was it Andy Ellis said? “You can’t educate pork”

Geri

Take a good look at yourself. You don’t even live in Scotland so do one..

Geri

GTF ya eejit.

Scotland is a country. In a political union. We aren’t a region, a Provence or a city centre.The English can drag out every hee-haw it likes to trump otherwise, it doesn’t make it so.

The ‘Supreme court’ isn’t unbiased. Whit a Shocker!

An international court is where it should’ve been held but we all know the SNP was looking to their imperial masters to save them from fulfilling their mandate – even telling them, if they agreed a ref, they didn’t have to respect the result.

So please fuck off with yer bullshit. Even the court couldn’t deny a democratic process would have consequences for little Engurland. That told everyone what they needed to know, Engurland see Scotland as a possession.

& Don’t make us all laugh at being governed by our own parliament. It’s an administration tied up tight in the Scotland Act. If we could surely govern ourselves we’d be allowed a fucking referendum eh considering that’s what Scotland has voted for countless times.

Id love to have seen those arseholes if the EU had denied them Brexshit.

Captain Caveman

The highest court in the land – and the entire case predicated on international precedent to boot (i.e. not “English” law), but hey folks, “Geri” says it’s all “fukn bullshit”, so that’s that!

Like, as if, you utter clown. Embarrassing.

Geri

It isn’t the highest court in the land. It’s the highest court in England working on the English parliaments behalf.

Not just me saying it, sunshine. A UN constitutional lawyer. See, you don’t get to pick & choose completely irrelevant bullshit taken from other countries written constitutional arrangements & try bastardise & mash them up into a new English one. It doesn’t work that way on the international stage & in international law. We aren’t Canadian or Spanish or any other bullshit they tried to invent.

& Behave on them being any kind of unbiased, independent legal authority – they’re the same hee-haws that ruled BoJo proroguing parliament & lying to his Queenie wasn’t unlawful. Scots law said otherwise as it was forced to get it open again & pronto!

So piss off with that bullshit. An international court would have a field day ripping that bullshit ruling to pieces.

Last edited 20 days ago by Geri
Andy Ellis

The UK Supreme Court is the highest court of appeal for civil cases in Scotland. The High Court of Justiciary is the supreme criminal court in Scotland, both as a trial court and an appeal court.

The Constitutional Reform Act of 2005 transferred jurisdiction over human rights and devolution issues to the UK Supreme Court which had previously been under the jurisdiction of the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council which was controversial because it was seen by some in the Scottish legal profession as placing an English court in a position of superiority to the Scottish High Court.

However the Scotland Act of 2012 ensures that the UK Supreme Court cannot determine the final judgement of a Scottish criminal case as such cases cannot be remitted to the Supreme Court; the latter can decide points of law, but it is for the Scottish High Court to decide the outcome of the case.

Doubtless someone like Roddy Dunlop would be able to explain the position for the hard of thinking: he’s usually pretty good at showing up folk spouting nonsense about the Treaties of Union, Salvo and assorted other Brigadoon fantasies of Conventions of the Estates, or how to win independence in a Cheerios packet or by tapping your heels together three times, turning around and saying “I wish, I wish” 3 times.

Dan

Was Roddy Dunlop “hard of thinking” when “He validly inquires as to how one can determine which clauses are still in force in law, and which aren’t.” with regard to the sectarian aspect of the Claim of Right.

Andy Ellis

No indeed. As I recall Roddy’s take down of Salyers bloviating about Salvo was pretty magisterial.

Rumor is the global shortage of Savlon started after the burn he gave her.

Mark McNaught wrote in the piece you link to (from 2022 I think?):

Therefore, the only thing preventing Scotland from withdrawing from the 1706 Treaty of Union by peaceful and democratic means and becoming independent is political will. Let’s hope that in the coming weeks this will becomes manifest and effective.

Remind us how the manifestations and effectiveness parts are going again…..?

Still waiting huh?

Roddy’s original cogent response to Salyers is here:

link to x.com

Geri

As I seem to recall, ather than your arrogant dismissal, he admitted:

1. He wasn’t a constitutional expert.
  2. He didn’t really give a fuck to read arguement he didn’t have time & wasn’t being paid.

Funny how you’ve twisted his response into yer usual Brigadoon insults.

Didn’t Alba instruct a real UN constitutional expert opinion? You seem to be in the wrong party.

Dan

And as you have alluded that you are a supporter of the idea of a plebiscite election, does Roddy’s statement on the matter make you a hard of thinking spouter of nonsense?

From the same linked to article.

“For these reasons, there is no simple fix. Those seeking independence must seek it via political pressure, and therefore by lawful change. The idea that the ‘people of Scotland’ might rise up, either by popular vote or by attempting to reconvene the convention, is the stuff of fantasy. That is why the Lord Advocate has brought her reference. Those seeking independence should align therewith. Leaving to one side for the present the controversial idea of a de facto referendum, there is no other route”

Andy Ellis

As far as I’m aware (though doubtless Roddy can talk for himself) he’s not set this face against plebiscitary elections though Dan. That’s certainly not what the text you quote says. I suspect from what I’ve read of his analysis and some of the discussions online at the time that Roddy still thinks a “legal” referendum à la 2014 is still the most likely route to independence.

He’s certainly pretty sceptical (as are many others) about the kind of prospectus being offered by Salyers, McNaught et al.

I haven’t seen anything that suggests he’s explicitly rejected plebiscitary elections of the type advocated by many of us instead of a referendum being used as a mandate for independence based on a pro-independence majority of votes for parties standing on an explicitly plebiscitary platform.

I think you’re over-reaching Dan.

Dan

I didn’t mention the alternative methods (outwith plebiscite) that might bring independence suggested by Sarah or Mark, so why are you bringing them into your responses.
First post was in regard to Roddy’s comments of the sectarian clause which is very little to do with methods to achieve independence.
Second post was specifically about a using a plebiscite election to achieve independence and you again try to bring in the wider proposals from Sarah and Mark to deflect.
So here is his text again with a my bolding.

“The idea that the ‘people of Scotland’ might rise up, either by popular vote or by attempting to reconvene the convention, is the stuff of fantasy….
…Leaving to one side for the present the controversial idea of a de facto referendum, there is no other route”

It’s not my field of knowledge but I’m well aware that matters legal require careful and accurate use of words, so it would be more helpful if you focused on what I actually wrote rather than fucking off on a tangent by bringing in other stuff that has nothing to do with what I posted.

That being the case it would be helpful if clarity was brought to “the stuff of fantasy” which a few lines later is reduced to only “the “controversial idea” of using a plebiscite election, seeing as that is pretty much the only remaining way Scotland will be allowed to express its self-determination unless it is a contrived fix “allowed” by UK.

It’s utterly farcical that ten years on from IndyRef, and legitimate democratically expressed material change in circumstances to return to the question of Scotland choosing self-governance, there still isn’t a clear way for us to do that.

Is this article from Stu bullshit?
I’ve tried several times over past couple of months to get a response to asking about tweaking it due to the way things have transpired and current circumstance but still can’t get clarity.

link to wingsoverscotland.com

Is it really so difficult for all the big brains to simply qualify what the case is so plans can be made or forgotten about.

Last edited 20 days ago by Dan
Andy Ellis

Either you haven’t read Roddy’s article, or you didn’t understand it. Yes, I am a supporter of plebiscitary elections and have been since they were first posited in response to the lack of progress on securing #indyref2. The selective quote from Roddy’s piece you quote doesn’t support your inference, because it doesn’t refer to plebiscitary elections, but to the other woo-woo proposals he’s attacking in his fisking of the hapless Salyers.

His discussion of the sectarian issue was part and parcel of his response to the interpretation by Salyers and others of how novel, non referendum routes by passing parliament could be advanced and used.

Roddy certainly regards the use of elections as de-facto referendums as a controversial idea, and indeed says as much, but nowhere does he say that supporting them makes one hard of thinking.

Do you have reading difficulties or are you just being disingenuous for the lolz?

There is a clear way: plebiscitary elections. The trouble is the SNP as the (current) largest pro-independence party is ardently opposed. That’s why Rev Stu and many others particularly in Alba, have been pushing the plebiscitary election route.

That’s decidedly not the “stuff of fantasy” touted by those insisting that independence can be achieved without a referendum or plebiscitary election, but merely by convening some mystical Convention of the Estates, or have a majority of Scottish MPs or MSPs abrogate the Treaties of Union whether they represent a majority vote or not.

Geri

We’ve had plebiscite elections. What do you think the past ten yrs was? Clear mandates to exit.

It didn’t work. It wasn’t just the SNP. Angus MacNeil also wrote to Mayhem who deliberately stalled with ‘now is not the time’

So tell us, Einstein, what makes you think the English will sit up & listen to YOU next time?

As for Sarah, can you point me to where she is planning a great escape without an electoral process/referendum cause I must’ve missed it! As far as I’m aware she is questioning the bullshit authority of Westminster to continually fob us off & deny the democratic process. Typical Britnat, you sound like you don’t even have a scooby what Salvo is doing but seems more interested in degrading her efforts & other Scots.

Roddy must surely know that the Claim of Right, confirmed twice by both parliaments, is an active pre condition of the Union. No one can alter it, if they did the union would be void.

& Another thing, Scotland could leave this union anytime it liked, it’s just when they nearly lost that every Yoon & fucking lord hee-haw for miles decided to make shit up. The one nation pish never happened. Scots never joined a territorial union & we definitely didn’t join to be under English rule.

Young Lochinvar

History lesson:
It was a majority of Scottish (bribed) MPs that got us into this mess.
So logically it’s a majority of Scottish (voted for) MPs that should get us out of this mess.
Heck, even the witch Thatcher admitted on record as much.

Holyrood, devolution and the Scotland Act was (no secret) a Unionist construct designed to derail independence.

They did their job well and have been supported in this by the machinery of UK (otherwise bankrupt) government and state machinery.

Referendum was plainly devolutions “carrot dangled” git, mires the pity the SNP being duped once fail to grasp it!

Back to basics, majority of Scottish independence supporting MPs then start the cogs turning and watch the “state” and folk like yourself invent ever higher bars and elastic goalposts to trip the whole thing up. Just remember; the oils run oot and the Berlin wall will be rebuilt along the border if we dare.

So it has always been, at least some of our (and your disdainfully discarded) ancestors and kings didn’t just knuckle down to that rubbish.

Young Lochinvar

The positive case for the Union thanks to Teflon Tony & co. and clearly worshipped by you!

Would hate to play a board game where you were in charge, change the rules, argue pedantry and sophistry and in short generally make it up as you go along cos it’s “your board game” the scream and scream and scream until you get your way!

Mater and Pater Caveman must be so proud of how you turned out after your expensive John Browns schooling..

Take a cold shower but wear boxing gloves if Herr Hateface is bigging it up in the next cubicle..

Hatey McHateface

We aren’t a region, a Provence or a city centre”

We could be a Provence if we wanted to. Just like them, we have the lavender.

Ah’ll get ma coat 🙂
?

Captain Caveman

Can’t fault a lovely Provence rose wine. Best served slightly chilled on a beautiful Spring afternoon in the garden, perhaps with a bowl of Stu’s Co Op Chardonnay S&V crisps as an accompaniment. (I agree with his assessment wholeheartedly: they’re the best).

The wife’s a big fan of Chanel, as my wallet can attest.

Geri

You always seem to be overcompensating for something.

Chanel is overpriced granny perfume. Proving a fool & his/her money are easy parted. Ye cannie buy good taste.

I do enjoy watching people open Advent Calendars on YouTube at Christmas to get me in the festive spirit & see what tat is in them for little rich kids. Go look up Chanels LOL! Fo $825 it came in a polystyrene takeaway case & included key fobs & stickers…stuff you wouldn’t even put in a weans Christmas stocking unless you were a cruel barsteward ..LMAO! It was so bad it even went viral & made the news…

Captain Caveman

“Chanel” was a (derisory) reference to yet another one of your crass typos, fool.

Pretty much everything goes over your dunderhead, eh.

Young Lochinvar

Pointless comment.

Where’s your blunderbuss moderation here then Rev or are you having a Jekyll and Hyde moment and inventing these seemingly unmoderated bollock talkers yourself to stir up things on the site?

Seriously hope not.

Captain Caveman

Wow. The unmitigated spewing forth of unlimited spam and nonsense, and you, “Young Lochivar”, choose to pick out my single, brief post from under the pile (which was entirely deserved and fair comment against possibly the rudest poster here).

Dry your tears, son.

Young Lochinvar

I suspect from the rant Jeremy that it’s you that’s having a wee greet as you tailgate alone on yer Land Rover with your expensive perfume to console yourself.
The people you seem to live/ love to criticise are those who see clearly, and for whatever entirely fathomable reason Clarkson you just don’t like it.

Have a nice night.

Last edited 18 days ago by Young Lochinvar
Young Lochinvar

“Mutually beneficial”.,
Yer avin a larf guvnor!

Confused

Not much point in going out today, let’s read the papers.

When among friends, people talk candidly, even indiscreetly. This is why I read the telegraph – the english, bless’em, they just “come right out with it” (e.g. andy critchlow on north sea oil)

– this is a cracker, a neo imperialist fantasy about “why we need to keep antartica british” and how there are vast oil reserves “10 times the total of the north sea”. No one is giving it large about net zero – that is just propaganda bollocks to bully the average fanny into buying an electric car or a heat pump that doesn’t work in winter and buzzes like a fridge on steroids.

link to archive.ph

Of course, the “british antarctic claim” exists purely in the minds of the little englanders, and nowhere else in the world. Nor has britain the world’s largest navy to send a gunboat upriver to sort out the fuzzy wuzzies anymore (they won’t send their carriers past yemen in case they get hypersoniced). But, suppose they did hold onto that territory – if we got indy, then half of that is ours. I mean, if the english can claim it, why not us? Not that I think any of the current claims will be upheld when the treaty is torn up – it will be carved up by the big players; and for the record I don’t think the norwegians will get even diddly, even though they would claim the lion’s share of it on the basis of amundsen’s walk to the pole. No one gives a shit about these boy’s own stories of derring do, not even in norwegian.

gregor

Reuters (24/01/25): K***lin says P***n is ready to talk to Trump and is waiting for word from Washington:

“Trump said on Thursday he wanted to meet P***n as soon as possible to secure an end to the war with U***ine and expressed his desire to work towards cutting nuclear arms, something the Kr***in said P***n had made clear he wanted too…

P***n had made it clear he wanted to resume nuclear disarmament negotiations as soon as possible, but said such talks would need to be wider than in the past to cover other countries’ nuclear arsenals, including those of France and Britain…”:

link to tinyurl.com

link to archive.ph

James

Amen to that.
Let’s cancel “Trident”.

Last edited 22 days ago by James
Hatey McHateface

On you go, the rest of us will follow.

G m

We intend to do just that after stripping The Rump of billions in rent for a good few years of course

Hatey McHateface

That would be the mature, grown-up approach to take. And then, of course, when Scotland has been assimilated into her proper junior role within the EU, we’ll have to roll over and provide the French with a second home for their nuclear subs. Or any other EU member state that decides to wake up and smell the imminent threat if Trump follows through with his plans to abandon those countries that won’t defend themselves.

Can’t have all the nuclear eggs in one basket!

Sadly, the mature, grown-up approach won’t get much traction on here.

G m

Fair chance the EU won’t exist by then

Hatey McHateface

Odd. Is the Tsar talking to his subject Orcs, do you think? Some of them regularly tell the world they want rid of their nukes by firing them off at anybody who looks at them the wrong way.

Hatey McHateface

“a neo imperialist fantasy about “why we need to keep antartica british” and how there are vast oil reserves “10 times the total of the north sea”. No one is giving it large about net zero”

Major failure of your logic there, Confused (yet again).

By keeping it British, we can ensure the oil stays put and doesn’t fall into the hands of the fuzzy-wuzzies, Orcs, Covid Spreaders, or other lesser lifeforms.

Because they would just burn it all and wreck the environment.

Haud oan though, fits this?

“it will be carved up by the big players”

So you knew the answer all along and were just taking a chance to vent.

So who are the big players? The Yanks and the Covid Spreaders. As it happens, the same ones who are going to carve up the moon too. That old saw about possession being nine-tenths of the law doesn’t apply when it’s virtually impossible to get to the object to be possessed. Possession then is everything.

Incidentally, have you been following the progress the CS are making with their fusion reactor? You should. It maybe started as a fancy way to eliminate viral lab leaks, but it’s making solid progress on the clean, limitless electricity front now. That Antarctic oil will probably stay exactly where it is.

Young Lochinvar

You know, in between all your provocative posts once in a while you make a point worth considering.

But what is it with your all consuming hatred for all things Ruskie?

Did Granny Frau Hateface get sh@@@ed by a division of ruskies back in Berlin 1945??

G m

England has been at loggerheads wi’ them for centuries. The Russian bogeyman is a thing in their heids andin the heids of those indoctrinated. We fought in their military and helped create their navy.

G m

We are mair able, psychologically, to take or leave the propaganda

Confused

I think it’s more

“the czar killed my great grandad”

Young Lochinvar

But would that not suggest he’s a red under the bed?

G m

Could be..

Hatey McHateface

I guess the odd good point must slip through sometimes. Law of averages and that.

Granny always considered herself as superior to everybody else. The way she told the story, it was a billet for the officers of a Guards Unit, all of them holding Headquarters postings, most of them highly decorated, and not one beneath the rank of Major.

She would talk fondly of those times to anybody who would listen.

So naw, you’ve got that all wrong.

Young Lochinvar

Ahh.
The old wartime upper class English and shortages thing then; passing round their favourite rubber johnies while claiming the last one in is the daddy..

Hatey McHateface

Aww, what a sheltered life you must have lived.

It’s always the last one out 🙂

Young Lochinvar

Ah well.
As an outsider looking in I defer to your lived experience then..

Confused

main, you miss the point in such slapdash ways I wonder why I bother with you.

What happens to antarctica will not be determined by britain, no matter how many penguins speak up for them.

The point is – it attests to mindset, the thought process of the anglo when shown unfiltered, i.e. greed and pillage. The article is worth reading in full, you can almost see this nigel, trousers at his ankles singing zadok the priest.

Fusion power is bullshit IMO and I did a physics degree – those punks are always selling a breakthrough so they can get funding for the next tokamak (talk for 30 years). The chinese are good at big projects, but they are not as smart as they think they are and a bit prone to exaggeration, e.g. their new “6th generation” fighter jet – why show the world? Why not build a 1000 and destroy the USAF. Maybe the engines are crap and it has a radar signature the size of a battleship.

Hatey McHateface

“the thought process of the anglo when shown unfiltered, i.e. greed and pillage”

I get it. And when somebody else comes along to seize whatever is under discussion, that’s not greed and pillage at all.

That must be neo-benevolence or somesuch.

Talking of thought processes, do you have one? And what was it you did to your physics degree?

Confused

“if we don’t steal it, someone else will”?

– anglos have this confusion about “mine” and “yours” which they take to mean “also mine”.

my physics degrees did just fine.

Hatey McHateface

Looks like the count of your physics degrees increases from one post to the next.

Assuming you’re not just confused, Confused, is it an incrementing series, or something more exciting, exponential, say?

Geri

Why show the world?

To sell it to other countries of course. They could have 1000 made & heading to customs by teatime. Nae danger.

They’ve no plans on attacking USAF when it’s much better fun to see them humiliated & their $ take a tanking. Karma can be a bitch at times..

As for the English. Did you read that roaster Wallace the other day saying they should build a wall around Ruskiland LOL! WTF do they find these space cadets? Barring Cuba it’s the most sanctioned country on earth & doesn’t give a fck about it, little Europe or the USA either. It never needed them & still doesn’t.

They’re just pig sick their wee colonial enterprise to get their mitts on all that free booty went tits up. While they were fecking about selling off their country to the highest bidder & de-industrialising – others weren’t as daft.

They’ve hee-haw chance of remaining Americas friend when the new seating arrangements are made, far less a bite of the Arctic.

Hal Martin

Fuck off, unionist plant cunt. You’re not even worth saying anything sensible to.

Hatey McHateface

A marriage made in heaven, Hal, as you have nothing sensible to say.

Andy Ellis

The claims of Britain (and six other states to be fair) are hardly “just in their heads”. Given Trumps outbursts about Greenland, Panama and Canada of course it’s quite possible that the USA might want a slice of the action….or indeed decide that all of Antarctica belongs to them now.

Perhaps we should demand 9% of the UK claim in Antarctica during the independence negotiations? 🙂

That way of working appears to be something many of the usual suspects in here are quite sanguine about of course given their shameless fluffing for Uncle Vlad.

It ought to give them pause for thought if they don’t believe the Donald is more than capable of deciding that Faslane is essential to US security and should be Scotland’s Guantanamo.

Confused

I have thought for a long while that, under pressure, the US might just “go nuts” and dispense with all the “rule of law” “international community” fig leaf teasing.

If climate change does turn out pretty bad all the cold places of the earth – siberia, scandinavia, (scotland!), patagonia, northern canada – become valuable. The US might just annexe Canada and the canadians will just sell themselves out. The historical reason of why “canada exists” gets back to the war of 1812 and the redcoats burning the whitehouse, but I digress.

The tech boys are eyeing canadian energy for their AI datacentres and trump seems to be onboard, like a new manhattan/moonshot project.

They say the last thing a boxer loses is his punch, and this is an empire in decline, with a huge air force and navy.

Hatey McHateface

On the plus side, the portion of the Earth north of the 66 degrees of latitude line (and the equivalent portion in the southern hemisphere) will never be permanently inhabited by strict followers of the Religion Of Peace.

So, if climate change does happen, we’ll have somewhere to go to get away from them.

Confused

well … you might get a camp of the saints situation, that mad old dystopian fantasy

– maybe getting rid of gaddafi was not so smart after all

then we shall enjoy “the camp of the nigels” as the anglos flee to our highlands once they’ve realised that half of england is on a flood plain 

Hatey McHateface

Liking the cartoon, but if you seriously believe sea level differs either side of Hadrian’s Wall …

Then again, yours isn’t the first post to allocate miraculous powers to that line of Roman era masonry.

There’s some who believe it deflects nuclear blast and that radioactive fallout can’t cross it either.

Confused

poor grasp of physics there, main

link to archive.ph

Hatey McHateface

But then I lack the advantages of your many degrees, Confused.

What academic institutions did you attend? I’m thinking even the most degraded would still balk at a dissertation citing the Daily Mail as a reference.

But perhaps you can vouch that these places do indeed exist.

Confused

You have outed yourself as an aggressive fuckwit who struggles with the concepts of “higher” and “lower” but feel the need to stick your uninformed oar into every other post …

– you are having a nightmare, take a time out and engage brain before posting 

I would have thought the daily mail was your kind of thing.

Geri

& it was gubbed in the Red Sea by goat herders lol

I think the Arctic is safe for now..All they done so far is park yet more junk & then abandoned it.

Hatey McHateface

You’re bang on par with your grasp of the subject matter for this post.

Antarctic, Arctic, who cares? They both start with ‘A’ and end with ‘ctic’.

Geri

‘The Orcs’ as you like to call them, own over 50%. They’ve also been there for centuries. Those same Orcs have China agreements in place & the Chinese know a yin or twa thing about shipping routes, infrastructure & silk roads as they’re busy building them faster than the US can carpet bomb civilians.

LMFAO if you think little Engurland would have as much as a sniff at a snowball in the area.

Interesting times ahead. I wonder if Denmark will trigger NATO article five. An invasion on their territory. I doubt it. They’ll hold one of those pretendy self determination referendums that are only given to a ppl if it suits.

Told you Shiteface, you need to follow the UN, it’s much more exciting for news & drama. They’re currently under enormous pressure to reform the seating arrangements & bring it into the 21st century. That includes jettisoning little Engurland, the terrorist yap & disrupters, off the security council & I think USA may just agree to that condition considering it’ll have to readjust at losing its empire & find more influential & powerful friends.

I can’t wait. A new word order & one that adheres to international law without fear or favour because it’s mayhem at the moment.

gregor

New York Times: Trump Bars Transgender Women From U.S. Prisons for Female Inmates:

“President Trump has ordered federal prisons to house inmates who are transgender women in men’s facilities and halt medical treatments related to gender transition…

The Women’s Liberation Front, which defines women based on sex at birth and advocates single-sex prisons, called the directive “a major victory.”…

Mr. Trump’s order echoed those arguments, saying that “efforts to eradicate the biological reality of sex fundamentally attack women by depriving them of their dignity, safety and well-being.”…”:

link to nytimes.com

link to archive.ph

ISLA
Mark Beggan

The Scottish Greens are being accused of being too middle class for voters
This is totally untrue.
The Scottish Greens are too degenerate, perverted and sick in the mind for the Scottish voters

Lorna Campbell

It must be evident now to all but the most wilfully blind that the SNP cannot be saved because it does not want to save itself. It is impossible for anyone from the younger generations to take over and make something of it because nary a one is anything but ‘woke’ or willing to go along with the ‘woke’.

The ‘woke’ do not want independence as it would upend the ‘woke’ agenda. If we did, miraculously, vote for independence without a thorough cleansing of the party of these parasites, they will be brought into an independent Scotland to do even more damage. ‘Woke’ is inimical to any kind of progress because it is, in its essence, regressive.

‘Woke’ covers all intersectionalities, from race to gender via green issues, and Maggie Chapman epitomises its all-encompassing nature in a uniquely insane way. Note that Maggie Chapman and Lorna Slater are Tranadian and South African/Zimbabwean respectively, and have led the fight in Scotland to destroy Scotland with the help of the SNP leadership and behind-the-scenes manipulators, faux compassion, faux empathy and faux kindness for the least deserving ‘victims’ in the history of humankind.

Forgot the £600,00: millions, if not, billions, have already been wasted on the ‘woke’ issues and continue to be wasted.

Alf Baird

Yes Lorna, woke is surely a variety of fascism, always aggressive and looking to punish those who disagree with whatever crazy ideology is being stuffed in our faces by authorities and agencies. As you imply, woke ideology seems not in any way culturally Scottish and much of what is being imposed on us is by people from other cultures, helped by the usual useful idiots here.

Lorna Campbell

Indeed, Alf. I believe this was deliberate. All the countries that fell first, and fell hardest, have been second to or smaller than, bigger entities: Scotland/UK; Canada/America; New Zealand/Australia. The Dutch are further down the rabbit hole than the Germans; the Norwegians as opposed to the Swedes. Where I would disagree is in your definition of them as ‘fascist’. To me, they are totalitarian and on the hard left. Totalitarianism and Fascism are but two sides of the same authoritarian and nihilist coin.

The ‘woke’ wanted the small fry to fall first before they extended into the bigger entities. I just wish that people would stop seeing it as a distraction and start seeing it for what it is: a malign kind of revolution to overturn ‘Western values’. We may wish to leave the UK, but we, and all the European nations, have a Western (philosophically Christian and tenuously democratic) culture in common, while retaining our own individual and distinctive cultures. Postmodernism wants to destroy that and replace it with poststructuralism/queer theory/cultural Marxism. We should be very afraid.

Geri

They’ve been used to hail in authoritarianism. They’re fascist. Look at the long list of new laws they’ve enacted, the censorship & the media blackout to what’s really cracking on.

It’s a classic trick of colonialism too. Have a constant warring faction & if none is available – just invent & fund one. That’s what they do. TRA wasn’t a grassroots movement. No one gave a shit until suddenly it was a rash everywhere in 2017..astroturfing.

I think it’s the Zzzs. It would fit their supremacist world view, remove the undesirables from the gene pool & make everyone scared to speak under fear of being arrested. It’d certainly explain why it was instantly adopted everywhere in the West & there was none more willing to adopt it than the authorities.

Have you seen the footage of at least 40+ riot gear police break down doors in Englandshire cause someone dared support Palestine? When did we all vote for that bullshit?

We’re heading into Fascism. Dissent will not be tolerated & it appears neither will democracy as Europe is currently eating itself alive on ways to try stop elections altogether or jail who looks to be set to win. Even the SNP is trying to bolt in a shoo-in because the shit is about to hit with full force.

Things are going to get ugly.

Hatey McHateface

#WangingOan

The delicious thrill the Scottish schoolchild gets from defying the dominie.

When the dominie is busy elsewhere. Natch!

Nae Need!

If by postmodernism, you mean Globalist, then I agree wholeheartedly with everything you have written on this topic.

The Globalists are entirely nihilistic. Their aim is massive depopulation. Post modernism, on the other hand, means very little to me as a classification. Maybe I need educated on that.

But that aside, even if we are to quibble about the lexical semantics of this ‘taxonomy’, I still agree wholeheartedly with everything you have written on this topic.

You are spot on.
A lethal ideology.

Mark Beggan

The terrible thing about Wokism is the amount of women who advocated the destruction of womens rights. A high proportion of these Scottish women are Lesbian or one of the other 24 varieties. The outright attack by the whole political, media class on the very basics of life. An agenda of self satisfaction and sexual revulsion on the back of democracy and to the utter disgust of the majority of the Scottish people.

Lorna Campbell

I would have to agree, Mark. However, many lesbians are standing up to it, too. Its source is an unhinged and suicidal form of ’empathy’ and ‘kindness’ which are actually neither, but which so many have been conned into accepting. It is virtue-signalling horse manure which daft people have shovelled down their own throats.

Yes, many, many women have fallen for the baloney, but, as per, there is always a man pulling the strings – in this case, billionaires and fetishists and unhinged political ‘children’ and cowards. Women are always their own worst enemy, simpering after these men who despise and detest them in equal measure. If anything, my rage against them is greater for being conned and used endlessly despite all the evidence over millennia.

Marie

I agree Lorna. The “be kind” handmaidens are beneath contempt.

Lorna Campbell

Women, I think, have a natural empathy bred of biology, but they are also more easily conned because they have been conditioned into a societal form of ’empathy’ which is entirely against their best interests. Of course, the thing is that female people are less strong than male people so more easily overpowered by violent threat, even if it is only psychological.

I believe that females in any society on the planet suffer from a permanent state of ‘Stockholm Syndrome’, always in fear of their lives, even if subliminally. If you read about the fall of Berlin and what happened, you get a real sense of how females are singled out, even in conflict.

Any woman with one brain cell should understand at a biological level that they will always be vulnerable until they learn to stand up for themselves. That is going to take an evolutionary revolution – and I suspect it is coming.

Hal Martin