Safety First

Posted on July 26, 2025 by

0 to “Safety First”

1. Cactus says:

Welcome back.

• GM says:

Welcome. Anything to report since you have been away?

• Cactus says:

Hi GM.
        Cheers for asking but nothing of new significance to report.
        Just that Scotland is an excellently amazing country.
        I’ve never been away, just been watching it all 😉

2. Frank Gillougley says:

Welcome back Chris you have been sorely missed. Your commentary is essential Saturday viewing.

Everybody knows the small things are the big things and it is the Scottish government on trial here and surprise surprise they are shown and proven to be corrupt as corrupt can be and all of course at our hugely disproportionate expense. This, surely can not hold.

3. Effijy says:

Well Done Chris!
    The police have become something of a farce in recent years.
    Homes with professionally monitored intruder alarm paid a fee for rapid police response on a confirmed intruder activation.
    That service has been cancelled for residential properties supposedly because of a lack of resources. I’m led to believe police numbers have never been reduced.
    Commercial intruder alarms are still supposed to have this rapid response but it often takes hours for them to arrive. Intruders tend to be back at home when the police arrive.

In the news I saw a family house party raided when they broke Covid rules but did it need 7 police cars and 18 officers to take names and send the relatives back to their own home.

They made complete fools of themselves with a regiment of officers with vehicles and crime scene tents when searching the First Minister’s 4 bedroom home.
    2 laptops, 2 mobile phones and a handful of document filled boxes could have gone into one car but best to send 20 cars and vans in case they had built an underground city full of illegal admin workers.

I spoke to a shop keeper about theft from his store who claims he doesn’t bother with the police now as they just don’t seem interested.

We need a police force and it can have its dangers but the basics are no longer there for us.

4. sarah says:

Hooray! Welcome back, Chris.

Will the public finally get the message as to who is responsible for spreading this faux “kindness” into every school and every public and private institution, business etc?

Why do Councils allow Pride parades where animal fetishists are allowed to approach children?

It chills my blood to think of the harm being done. And yet, still, the Scottish Government permits, encourages, the lie that men can become women.

How can we stop this abuse of the law and truth?

Sorry to be gloomy but truth and reality are essential to having a safe, decent, society. We are a lot further away than we were 30 years ago.

5. Mark Beggan says:

Police Scotland learning how to walk on the streets. The vans there just in case someone gets dizzy.

6. Astonished says:

Brilliant, because it’s true.

Thanks to Sturgeon and anyone who is still a member of the SNP.

• Marie says:

The UK has turned into a police state – not just Scotland. Sturgeon is despicable – I agree.

7. Stuart MacKay says:

Why are police forces, and the prison service, so easily manipulated for political purposes? Is it simply that politicians have tight control of funding and so we get all the theatre and drama, with tactical firearms teams being deployed to break up Quaker meetings? It’s not like the police don’t have better things to do instead of generating content for social media posts and press releases.

8. Chris Downie says:

Look on the bright side, it’ll be amusing to see Swinney about turn and kiss Trump’s orange arse during his visit to Scotland. Suddenly all of his sub-Sturgeon virtue signalling won’t look so impressive then.

• agent x says:

Yes but once Swinney has a chat with Trump all of the World’s problems will be solved immediately.

• Nae Need! says:

Yes.
        Of concern to me to.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Aye
        3 months to go from today to the 69th anniversary of the Suez crisis and the good ol’ US of A putting the final nail in Britannias Imperial pretensions coffin..

Stand to attention now Starmer, just as Yousaf stood to attention as the stone of destiny was carted off down to England for C3 to sit over..

Know yer place eh?

9. Mark Beggan says:

It’s very kind of the President to spend a little time with Sticky the Stick Insect. No one else gives the tit the time of day.

10. willie says:

Of course there is a huge police presence around the Donald Trum visit. He is of course the president of the USA which is stillthe most powerful country in the world.

Is it a good thing he came to Scotland. I think so but many do not. Rather people like Swinney and Starmer and many others would make an enemy of him.

And so it is with so many others. I read the Edinburgh Evening News this morning and in one piece they described him as criminal, wandering hands, human pumpkin and other such defamatory and or pejorative comments.

But the Edinburgh Evening News are not alone. Indeed i have seen other articles saying how the golf courses at Mennie and indeed Turnberry are shall we say not up to it. Trump however on landing made mention of how Turnberry was the best golf course in the world against the question of another reporter who was opining the opinion that it was sub par. He also happened to mention that the Royal and Ancient had spent money installing power and media link infrastructure into every green. But no, talk Scotland Down is the way. F*ck him, piss him off, tell him to GTF – its our way. That I am afraid is why Scotland is the first world economic superstar most powerful devolved or is it non nation in the world.

So Trump chose to come to Scotland. The land of his mother’s birth. He didn’t choose to go to England, he chose Scotland. And whilst many it Scotland don’t want him, Starmer came, and Von der Leyan comes to Scotland on Sunday.

Trump may be many things. Folks may not always agree with his politics or policies but he is man you want to do business with and certainly not make an enemy of it.

Visit Scotland could not have bought the world wide advertising that Trump’s visit has brought to Scotland. Nor is the symbolism of the Prime Minister and Europe’s most senior politician Von der Leyen coming to Scotland missed.

World politics are big politics with huge twists and turns, and certainly not easy – and against that Trump came to poor wee Scotland. I think Trump was making a point and whether we agree with all that he says or does, it should be a cause of welcome.

• McDuff says:

I quite agree Willie. I don’t like Trump but the US is an important trading partner for Scotland and it would be stupid and self destructive to piss him off as his unpredictability could also harm our prospects for independence.

• Anthem says:

Ach, away and gaslight somewhere else.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Sure, Anthem, what matters Indy or even the prosperity and well-being of Scotland’s people, compared with giving Trump the finger?

Give us liberty, give us freedom, give us Independence!

But first give us ideological purity and a season ticket to the best seats on the moral high ground!

BTW, why don’t you tell us how that’s all working out? For you, personally, if you like. But more importantly, for Scotland.

• Nae Need! says:

Political Diplomacy is a dying art form.
      Alex Salmond had it.
      A true statesman if there ever was one.

Trump, himself, may not have yet acquired political diplomatic skills, but there’s plenty in his government who have, those who go in after the fact and smooth the ruffled feathers.

Our politicians and media are often woefully inadequate when it comes to keeping important folk on board, it’s very disappointing.

I’d take Trump any day over Von Der Leyen.
      It actually concerns me that she’s coming to Scotland.
      Why is she?

Nothing good ever comes from the Globalists and Warmongerers visiting Downing Street or Scotland.

• Hatey McHateface says:

“Trump, himself, may not have yet acquired political diplomatic skills”

Yet even his most pathologically hating detractors, Guardianistas for example, are grudgingly conceding that he’s getting results.

Wakening the west to the threats posed by the Covid Spreaders, the Orcs and the Jihadists – we’ve been in denial for years about these, but now, thanks to President Trump, we’re not.

You and a few die-hard fantasists may still be in denial, of course, but you’re the exceptions that prove the rule.

Ultimately, it’s results that matter. Eternally virtue signalling and posturing on the moral high ground gets you SFA in the real world.

11. Stuart says:

It’s funny how people who tell us to accept “climate science”, refuse to accept biological science, which is far more straightforward.

So the next time you see a Green or a trans activist, don’t whatever you do remind them of this…

Unless there’s a safe space for them nearby.

12. Mark Beggan says:

Foghorn Leghorn has left the building.

Bye bye ( again) Mhairi.

• Stuart says:

No doubt she’s off to spend time with her kit-kat collection.

To think that she was once touted as a future FM!

A classic case of someone confusing ambition with ability.

• Mark Beggan says:

‘Ambition with ability’
        I think that sums up the whole Scottish political situation.
        Like Sturgeon. She got on the populist wave. No one thought for a minute hey this an idiot we’ve just promoted. They ken noo.

13. David Wardrope says:

It’s beyond laughable now really. Did I read the other day that Dr Upton was offended that Nurse Peggie was not using the changing rooms? People are not even allowed the option of avoidance.

• GM says:

Aye, laughable for us but if you are nurse Peggie that is the kind of oppressive mind game these characters get off on.

• Nae Need! says:

I couldn’t agree more, GM.
        Sadistic tendencies.
        I’ve not found much about any of the TRA shite, laughable.
        Far too scary.

14. Confused says:

Scottish independence is there for the taking, lads : the cost will be –

– Turnberry is back on the Open roster

– Trumps gets made “Laird of St Andrews”

15. Confused says:

Trump says

ANGLO IMMIGRATION IS KILLING SCOTLAND

16. Peter McAvoy says:

When Trump meets Von Der Leyen,I hope he calls her irrelevant and an a power grabbing dictator and tells her the GTF.

• David says:

I hope so too, but it seems unlikely…

17. SilentMajority says:

Good to see the return of the weekend artwork.

It is amazing, after reading some of the opinions from medical ‘experts’ at ‘that’ tribunal, that they are so distanced from reality and appear to genuinely believe in their fallacy. It is scary to think that it has taken years of education (brainwashing?) for them to get to this point.

Is there anyone in the Scottish government prepared to put their hand up to this nonsense and accept that this is so very wrong?

Surely of a morning, over breakfast, after reading the feedback, don’t they secretly just think, in the harsh bright daylight, that ‘these people are nuts!’…

• Stuart says:

What’s more amazing is that If genitals do not determine gender, then why do they have to be removed to “affirm” it?

Answers on a postcard to the Greens, etc, etc…

• Hatey McHateface says:

Ah, c’moan noo, Stuart.

If nobody is getting their bits chopped, where are the people who want extra bits gonna get theirs?

18. Davidl says:

link to gov.scot

Dear Stuart Campbell. My friend who works in the Government has sent me this information in the public domain.

As follows. He says £40 million has gone missing and no one knows where it’s gone. He says it relates to the introduction of the Oracle Cloud IT system. Which began in 2022 under Nicola Sturgeon. Page 37 of the report shows that it initially cost £22 million. And now it’s over 60 million. It doesn’t work the money has disappeared he says, and no one knows where it’s gone.

Perhaps you can investigate and a honest opposition politician, can put it to Nicola Sturgeon?

It can smell corruption!

19. Lorn says:

Brilliant, Chris. I don’t actually blame anyone in the institutions for this because it was achieved under the radar. I blame Stonewall and Denton’s who have enabled the corporates. The left always – but always – enables the right.

What I do blame many for is for not standing up to this ordure once it had taken hold. Really, no one thought any of this was actually ‘kindness’. No one sane actually thought that men were women. The majority did nothing because it was too much effort and the fear that the mad dogs might attack them.

Now, every time they get pushback, they reply with more and more draconian laws. The more they introduce draconian laws, the more they push people into a backlash. Something is going to give.

20. James Cheyne says:

Willie,

I agree, why would you turn future prospects of business away,

At the end of the day it appears that the elite politicians have lost the mental ability to hold onto good common sense.
    They really should be in an asylum bouncing their bottom lips up and down with their forefinger.

21. Mark Beggan says:

What are the odds that the Scottish election on 7th of May 2026 becomes known as the Gender Election.

• Hatey McHateface says:

5:1 against.

The “pretendy G@za jenny side” election: 2:1 on.

It’s of fundamental importance to the groups self-identifying as Scotland’s governing elites that the election is diverted onto subject(s) of no real interest or daily relevance to the voters.

Think about it.

They just cannot permit the election to be fought over the real issues ordinary Scots care about.

• Mark Beggan says:

Their power of permit has dissipated. I think it’s going to be a defensive election campaign with a few squirrels and plenty of new dresses for wee Kate.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Dinna grudge her a new dress or two.

Politics is, after all, show biz for ugly people. If we have to look at them at all, it’s important they be sartorially excellent.

22. James Cheyne says:

Lorn,
    Willie,

Quiz time for fun,

It could be said that a ” Utility ” according to nearly all dictionary interpretations is something that is useful or beneficial especially in a practical way rather than an attractive or fashionable way to the people,
    or is it that of a Service to the people.
    How would you describe the word utility?

Does it cover.
    Q, 1)
    Electricity, Water, gas, telephone, etc,?

Q, 2)
    Does it cover.
    Wind turbines, electric cars, tv licences, cycle lanes, business, Ulez schemes, recycle centres?

Q,3)
    Does the word ” Utility ” as a Service extend to a political party?

23. Nae Need! says:

Not that Stu hasn’t done a sterling job holding the fort in your absence, but it’s good to see you back, Chris.

Along with many others, I have missed your ‘Toons.

Policing ‘by consent’ in this country, apparently.
    I silently revoked my consent quite some time ago.
    Without fear or favour?
    It all went to shit, didn’t it . . . tragic. And very dangerous for members of the public and no doubt, POs too.

I feel that in my local area POs are largely being left to get on with the actual job. You know, that thing to do with detecting criminal activity and apprehending criminals (sounds so old skool, quaint even).

I get the impression that whoever it is that Commands, is insulating them (rank and file) from the WOKE shite, rather than conducting the shite directly onto their heads.

I know my confidence in policing will be restored to previously high levels, when it’s clearly obvious that they are no longer captured.

24. agent x says:

The National front page 25 Jul

“CONVICTED US FELON TO ARRIVE IN SCOTLAND
    Republican leader, who was found liable for sexual abuse and defamation, will visit golf courses”

I wonder it it was available free at Turnberry golf course reception?

25. Dan says:

I’ve yet to establish if Dr Oetker has connections to the genderwoowoo and pharmaceutical industry, but have long questioned where a doctor that makes pizzas sources his meat from…
    If you look at the diameter of a bit of pepperoni on his pizzas, it is a very similar dimension to that of a sectioned testicle.
    It’s all a bit FightClub soap-like situation to me.

Due to limited storage space I’ve now given up drinking Guinness draught in tins and collecting the spherical widgets from empty cans to sell on as prosthetic testicles.
    Women in general don’t seem to be up for transing into men, which to be honest I’m pretty happy about, as think the sexes are at their best when they are complimentary to each other. It is after all how we were all created.
    Retro hit of male and female singers working together as an example.

Alphabeat- Fascination

• Nae Need! says:

Interesting.

I always imagined the fat distribution in pepperoni was more akin to a sliced penis, but hey, I’m not Dr Oetker.

But dyu know what I really object to, the name Oetker.

How am I supposed to pronounce this name?
      Does he not know that his surname causes me immeasurable harm and distress? It makes me feel uncomfortable.
      When I peruse the frozen food aisle in a supermarket, stumble across the pizza section and see Dr Oetker Pizzas, I burst into tears and sob uncontrollably.
      I need to stress that it’s my personal belief that he’s committing a hate crime in Scotland with that marketing name, because it’s not inclusive of people like me, or even just me.
      I think it’s awful for Scottish people (me) to be subjected to words/names from other languages that we don’t speak.

I might have to write to my MSP about this travesty of inequality.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Commiserations on your hyperactive imagination. Perhaps your only recourse is to spend your conscious hours seeking rapid paralytic unconsciousness through alcohol.

As a bonus, that should also get you banned from anywhere selling pizzas.

BTW. Oetker is from the Brythonic – Outker or Outcur – meaning “outlander who colonises through linguistic purity”.

Coincidence? Ah hae ma doots.

• Nae Need! says:

Asides from your entirely unnecessary jibes/aspersions on my character, of which there were too many lolz, Mr Hatey, I do most like your response.

“Oetker is from the Brythonic . . . an outlander who colonises through linguistic purity”.

How interesting.
        I’m going to look into this.
        Thank you.

26. Hatey McHateface says:

Ah, c’moan noo, Stuart.

If nobody is getting their bits chopped, where are the people who want extra bits gonna get theirs?

27. agent x says:

Earlier this month, Swinney said, “it is in the interests of the country that he meets US President as he had an “obligation” to “protect and promote” Scotland.”

Today “The Scottish Government has announced that ÂŁ180,000 will be given to a golf tournament hosted at Trump International in Aberdeenshire this year.”

Interesting.

28. willie says:

Ah Hatey c’mon now you’ve probably rumbled Dr Theodore Upton’s future business plans.

There is as been noted thems that want rid of the baws and boably, with others wanting to acquire very same kit and caboodle. In fact from what I can see there may be thems that might even want the full bhunna – and the vernacular address of Fanny Baws might just reflect that.

But being sensible, Dr Upton I would assume is aware of this challenge of matching supply with demand. One wouldn’t want to waste a good bit of tackle now would one? So, first priority would be to set up a sort of ” exchange and mart ” arrangement. A bit of seed capital needed so to speak. Maybe Swinney will have a word with Scottish Enterprise to call for their support.

But moving on, my medical knowledge, limited as it is, turns to from whom one would source a boaby. I mean does one know its providence and where it has been. That I am sure the good doctor may also have been thinking about. One wouldn’t want to be passing nasties on to the new recipient. Foot in mouth, mad cow disease, now there’s a thing, one wouldn’t want to be passing anything like that on. Or am I thinking of bull the alternative form of mad cow disease.

As one can see with these few musings I reflecting the deep meaningful thought that pervades our Scottish Government. We know it makes sense, well doesn’t it.

Or could Dr Upton, maybe make more money out of prosthetics. Now that’s a thing. Detachable, non toxic, come in multi colours, medically approved, it sounds like a job for a Dildo Doctor.

So have fun folks, this was a serious thought process this evening. This is what we should all be thinking about. And mname – well it Willie, which is a synonym of Boaby

And with that, goodnight to all in the finest wee non country in the world.

• Nae Need! says:

Och, Willie, I’m loving your thinking.

” reflecting the deep meaningful thought that pervades our Scottish Government.”

They’re astounding and amazing. So brave.
      Dyu know the other day one of them said ‘Doh!’ in an interview.
      Awaslike, whit does ‘Doh!’ mean?

Well, you’ll never guess what these clever folk have been up to, but apparently it’s a well used phrase by a cartoon character called Homer Simpson, who stars in a show called The Simpsons.
      Fuck me, I never knew.

Dyu know I’m just blown away by their cleverness.
      I mean quoting Homer, like that?
      Blown away by it so a was.

29. agent x says:

Sandie Peggie, the claimant, is an A&E nurse at Victoria Hospital in Kirkcaldy with 30 years’ experience at NHS Fife.

I find it strange that the attempted destruction of her career is being treated on here as a laugh.

• willie says:

I don’t think anyone thinks what has been attempted on Nurse Peggie is a laugh.

our government is a laugh, a joke and a gave and grim one at that.

Interesting aside, how many folks might have notice that Trump’s car in its cavalcade into Turnberry bore two flags on the front wings. One was a US stars and stripes whilst the other was a Scottish Saltire.

Now in diplomacy terms there was no Union Jack. Anyone think Donal John was making a comment?

• Nae Need! says:

No, Agent X, it’s not a laugh, and we’re not treating it as a laugh either.
      Like wot Willie says, we’re just getting the digs in to those, and the mindset, responsible.

30. willie says:

Oh and one last thing before I retire I was thinking about intimidation which as we know in the good Dr Upton’s case is something that put him in a state of undress or was it distress. In fact as I understand it he or colleagues gave consideration to reporting a hate crime. And reporting hate crime is exactly what Police Scotland and the Scottish Government put a lot of effort into promoting.

But I fear our good Scottish Government have missed a legislative trick and in this regard I now think about names.

Many years ago I had a work colleague called Drew Dick. Didn’t think anything about it back then but know I realise all these years later that the name could be a hate crime, could put me in fear and alarm, or be offensive.

I mean, perish the thought, but could you imagine the terror of being in a changing room with someone with a name like that. I mean, maybe the name nurse Peggie could be offensive. Something upset the good six foot doctor Upton and I hadn’t though of that before.

NHS Fife should therefore have an urgent review of the names of staff in their employ. I mean it all makes sense when you think about in modern Scotland.

Anyway, just saying like, trying to be a good citizen. Night night this time.

• Nae Need! says:

I know exactly what you mean, Willie.
      I went to school with someone called Annette Curtain . . . can you imagine the distress caused to the partially sighted blind manufacturers in Mauchline called ‘Just Wan I’?
      And then there was my pal called Sara Mick . . . all those people in the fine clays and porcelain businesses pure affronted by her aggressive winning trademark.

Terrible hate crimes.

31. Mark Beggan says:

Here’s some of the Anti-Trump comments from protesters:

1.” I despise him. He has no right to be here, Iam here to support democracy…”

2. ” He has no right to be here..That man is despicable…what chance does democracy have…”

3. “Iam here to share with other people my contempt for this despicable man.. This is a democracy, he has no right here….”.

One was Scottish and the other two were English.

• Marie says:

They’re all wrong – the USA and UK are not democracies – they are oligarchies.

• dandydons1903 says:

Looks like they all go to the same sign writer or placard shop or maybe the spook security services buy them for them. A rentamob for sure.

32. David says:

The anti-Trump protesters are obviously communists who have no money on the stock market. I bought in when Trump took charge and my money is up 18%.

I’m pleased with how he’s doing as President.

33. James Cheyne says:

Mark beggan,

I had noticed the mainly imported accents, I understand this is happening down south too. People being shipped in pretending they are locals. Whilst being verbal instigators. Sometimes causing physical disturbances,
    Then disappearing without any charges or arrests being made.
    A similar MO in Ireland.

• Stuart says:

Careful James, yer tinfoil hat has slipped a wee bit there son.

• Mark Beggan says:

The majority of the protestors at Harvies Anti-Trump rally were middle aged and middle class. The speaker although difficult to hear, sounded like ‘jesus’ or what one would imagine the Messiah would sound like!

No young dudes No young radicals Plenty of baby’s in prams. Do the parents know that granny has taken baby to the protest?

To despise is close to hate is it not? So in the future prepare yourself for the

‘The Despicable Laws’

34. James Cheyne says:

Lorn.
    Willie.

Yesterday just for fun I asked the questions on Identifying what a Utility was, and just getting the time to return to that curious question day.

Because if you add evident, in front of the Word Utility, and name a specific group of people that are entitled to use this evident practical Utilitiy that will be beneficial to them, not fashionable, or attractive,

It cuts across many of the Snps, The NHS , Councils, universities and other institutions in Scotland fashionable ideology rhetoric,
    Is it of any practical or beneficial help to Scots as a majority to be indoctrinated into gender woo woo, for it to be taught to our children in Schools,?

That same practical, beneficial to the Scottish people to use as a “evident Utility” could be asked and applied to any topic, subject, or law for it is not stipulated what evident Utility covers,
    Only that it is “practical, and beneficial, to Scots as a useful Utility “, and not just a fashionable attractive fad of….say stonewall or the Snp.
    This section also covers private rights that are unalterable.
    Does the Hate crime bill on words interfere with Scottish unalterable private rights? Is that Hate Crime Bill useful, practical and beneficial to the majority of Scottish people or does it Go against being beneficial as a evident Utility to people living in Scotland,

I have to admit that some articles can still be of beneficial and practical use as a evident utility. Especially as it does not state that this evident Utility is for devolved government to use to alter article XV111.

35. sarah says:

Clarification, please! Is the cartoon referring to Sandie Peggie’s case v NHS Fife? Her request to Upton to leave the nurses female changing room was mentioned as a hate incident in the internal emails, I think.

I’d like to share the cartoon but need to know its meaning in order to explain to those who are unaware of the whole case.

• sarah says:

I’m sure of the meaning now so everyone can ignore my request for clarification!

36. sarah says:

O/T Whilst waiting for a response to my query re the exact target of Chris’s cartoon, for those who want to know what is happening with Salvo/Liberation’s case at the UN, the latest news is always given on http://www.liberation.scot.

My understanding is that the petition has not been formally presented as yet. Preliminary notice of intention to do so was given in March 2025.

But you can all read it for yourselves.

• Xaracen says:

Sarah, I asked ChatGPT yesterday for its understanding of the current status of Scotland’s Petition;

I hope the table format doesn’t get too muddled.

ChatGPT’s summary of Scotland’s UN Petition as at 27th July 2025;

Milestone Status
      Advance Notice of Petition submitted Completed 7 March?2025
      Expert memoranda submitted Completed May?2025
      Oral presentation / engagement at C?24 Completed June?2025
      Formal recognition or listing as NSGT Not yet granted
      C?24 conclusions or draft recommendations Not yet issued
      Draft resolution in Fourth Committee Not yet sponsored

Its Bottom Line;

Scotland’s petition is actively under consideration, and its advocates have formally entered the procedural arena. But no formal recognition or listing has taken place yet, and no resolution has been introduced in the General Assembly’s Fourth Committee.

• sarah says:

@ Xaracen: ChatGPT seems to have read the Liberation site’s News page correctly!

• Aidan says:

If a formal presentation of the petition to the C-24 committee took place in June, then why does JPTI’s website explicitly state that the case of Scotland cannot be discussed at C-24? Why is this presentation also not included in the minutes of the session that took place in June? If the petition is actively under consideration, then by whom, and to what end? Come on you can’t hide from this one.

37. Breeks says:

It’s not directly related, nor particularly well informed, but more and more, I’m finding myself “wondering” what happened back in 1930’s Germany – where were peoples’ heads at?

I don’t mean the actuality, I mean the process, and the rise to power. How could such evil take root and grow?

There must have been all kinds of sane and rational German people who were deeply concerned about their news being propagandised and censored, with the narrative not fitting the reality. But for every sane and rational person, there were others far more easily influenced by the twisted indoctrination. Isn’t that exactly where we are in our society?

There must have been long serving Police officers in despair, and indeed soldiers, who at least recognised their services were being exploited and politicised… and infiltrated by “rogues”. But just a wee bit at a time; nothing too dramatic or provocative, nothing to which people might react. Nothing to scare the horses.

Without a deep dive into a very long comment; my point is the process is pernicious, like boiled frog syndrome, a wee bit slip here and slide there, an erosion of values in tiny increments. By the time the penny drops, it is already too late. The door you came in has already closed behing you.

Pinch yourself folks; we are active and participating “allies” in NATO’s ruthless and belligerent expansionism. We are party to full-on rabid Zionism which positively crows about the horrific genoicide and mass starvation it is inflicting; Zionism which apparently holds an unfathomable grasp on power in a wholly “independent” USA which fashions its character and constitution as global “good guy” and land of the free… That’s a joke, right?

Jesus, Trump was carpeted for “fake” electoral interference by Russia, (look up Russiagate if you’ve forgotten)… Russian ALLEGED interference? Ooooh, thats BAD. Cry havoc and unleash to dogs of war! Yet “Off-the-Scale” Israeli bribery, corruption, coercion, belligerance and murder? Move along there, nothing to see… If the Ministry of Truth says it didn’t happen, it didn’t happen… We have ALWAYS been at war with EuroRussia….

Our “leaders” enact violent coups, assassinations, subversions, and excercise corruption on a grand scale. They collude, and conduct their murderous and unceasing skullduggery unburdened by anything resembling morality or a concience.

We, the little people, can go to jail just for waving a Palestinian flag, because “our” State dictates to us that the Palestinians, with a recognised legal right to defend themselves against an illegal and barbarous occupation, are “Terrorists”, while their invaders can exploit “self defence” as a ticket to murder anybody.

Do you know why they’re described as terrorists? They have to be. It is necessary. You cannot legally murder elected foreign Governments. It is against International Law and there are rules to be followed. But declare those same democratically elected people “terrorists”, and the murderers can strike with impunity. That is the mechanism whereby children too young to walk or talk become “terrorists”. I believe Hitler used the word “Untermensch”; the people who’s fates don’t matter.

That “notion” about decent Germans in 1930’s Germany? Yes, there are elements of it taking shape in our own society. Yet at the same time, the murderous genocide and indiscriminate killing of kids, mothers and even specifically executing medics goes on. But it doesn’t stem from 1930’s Fascism; it already has its origins in the full blown fanatical rabid Nazism of late 1940-45 Germany.

And the godamned UK? The UK has blood on its hands all the way to the elbows.

To stretch the metaphor, but not by much, you could look at 2024’s Syria as 1939’s Poland. An inconvenient sovereign nation carved up at the dinner table. We are passed that benchmark, only this time that wasn’t the tipping point… But I have a dreadful foreboding it’s coming… Maybe it’s Iran. Probably it’s Iran.

This war that is coming… What more evidence do you require to know you’re on the wrong side of history? FFS, how evil does evil have to be? What obscenity are you using for calibration?

What can the Americans do? Vote Red, vote Blue, – the winner is a patsy.
    What can the UK do? Vote Red, vote Blue, – the winner is a patsy.
    What can Scotland do? Vote Labour, vote SNP, – the winner is a patsy.

The “West”, somehow, has to find its own “failsafe” command, switch itself off and back on again, and then follow a vanilla booting up sequence based on moral decency and integrity.

If we don’t do it ourselves, then buckle up for a bumpy ride, because sooner or later it will be done to us.

38. Confused says:

I see the government, which seems to be trying to alienate everyone, including anyone who might possibly vote for it, after going after – the disabled, the old, the sick, etc

– are now going after the “wanker community” (slogan : always have sex with someone you love)

given how many wankers there are in the UK, this is not a group to mess with; you don’t want a punch from their wanking arms.

According to the last census, ALMOST everyone in england is, in fact, a WANKER. Apart from among the pakistani community, who are more into the r4ping and first cousin nobbing.

Farage might start a one issue, similar to brexit, “free to wank” party.

– landslide a certainty.

Top tip : get onto ebay and cash-in on vintage oldskool dead tree porn stashes before the rush.

• Mark Beggan says:

It’s good to see these new porn rules are having an effect already.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Avoid rowing boats, Confused.

You’ll just go round and round in circles.

• Nae Need! says:

Laughing out loud here 🙂
      There’s an awful lot to unpack, Confused, when it comes to a witty come back for so many pertinent points, but ffs ‘Wankers Rool’, everyone knows that.
      Power to the Wankers!! Oi Oi Oi!

39. Confused says:

Joking over.

I see today our supreme leader has both Trump and Ursula Never Done Lyin (her dad was an actual nazi and a gladio terrorist) on his doorstep – I wonder what psychological warfare, arm twisting, and 12 dimensional games of real-geo-political chess he will wage on these 2 incredibly powerful people each of whom makes Starmer and the entire UK look like a pathetic ruritarian busted flush, and who could really put the UK under pressure, at least for a non-rigged UN controlled/sanctioned indyref.

Only kidding, he will drop his keks, grab his ankles and say “do you want me over here, I can bend further if you want … ”

I bet he does not, not even once, mention independence.

I would scopalomine the two of them and we would be done by next Thursday.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Ah, c’moan noo, Confused.

Is there anybody in public life who you don’t categorise as an actual nazi, or a practitioner of bum sex, or both?

• Nae Need! says:

Hatey,

Ever considered the fact that those outwith those two categories of behaviour might actually be fewer than you think?

Are you privy to precise figures?

• Hatey McHateface says:

Yes NN!, I have considered the matter.

For a start, my considerations lead me to believe it’s not a “fact” at all.

I’m not privy to figures, precise or otherwise, but then, neither are you.

40. Mark Beggan says:

The University of Edinburgh has been teaching history since the 16th century and only now have they learned about slavery. How convenient.

41. Callum says:

The story in Times of institutional harassment by NHS Fife of Sandie Peggie is just horrendous. How the fuck can these people live with themselves? They should all be sacked. You don’t treat people like that.

link to thetimes.com

• agent x says:

It’s an out and out scandal what went on – I am glad it is all being exposed at Tribunal for the World to see.

42. James Cheyne says:

Fancy selling a nation of people into slavery and burdens for English gold and financial benefit and not realise the what the words Slavery, and people trafficking means.

• Alf Baird says:

Yes James, a colonized people are ‘procured’ (Memmi), the wages of colonialism (‘Equivalent’) paid to native elites, many already assimilated into English culture, who enslaved thair ain fowk, while waving a worthless treaty describing the colonial hoax as a ‘Union’, and merely ‘re-branding England as ‘UK” (Black KC) .

Hence the only remedy for the procured/oppressed – decolonization – and liberation.

43. Northcode says:

A wis gaun’ae scribble doun a lang pystle seein hits Sunday an that thrawn auld meenister wis ettlin tae git in ma heid, but, God forgie me, a gat masel sae noutouriously bitchify’d efter a heivy lunshach that a can hardly stoiter but and ben.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Sorry to hear that, NC. If only it were true, eh?

Admit it. You can’t be ersed cos you ken nobody will trouble to puzzle WTAF you’re actually wanging oan and oan aboot 🙂

• Nae Need! says:

Well, I enjoy Confused’s posts, sometimes simply cos they annoy YOU so much, but mostly cos they’re excellent.

None of us are paid to be here, but here YOU are with your private education and salaried position, it must feel like shooting fish in a barrel for mucho dineros.
        Fantastic work for those who can get it.

And you know sometimes you even make good comments when you’re off the leash (I’ve noticed, I’m sure we all have, that there’s topics you’re allowed free-range on), but most of the time you have to keep to the paid script. Understandable when you factor in that you’re not here out of genuine personal interest.

🙂 It’s almost like you’ve got an overseas posting to the Scottish Office, isn’t it? Except there’s no sea. Or is there?

• Hatey McHateface says:

@NN!

You need to prove that you are not paid to come on here and make Scotland and Indy look ignorant, bigoted, parochial, medieval, misogynistic and racist.

Confused, Barbie (may she rest in peace), James, and the rest of them too.

And you need to get your head around the fact that not all patriotic and Sovereign Scots are ignorant, bigoted, parochial, medieval, misogynistic and racist. Neither are we uneducated.

Just as you need to get your head around the fact that plenty of patriotic and Sovereign Scots are not only working class and educated – we even managed to do that through bog standard state schools in Scotland.

Maybe after you’ve assimilated all of that, you will be in a better place to build an Indy movement that speaks for all Sovereign Scots. Not just the minority who bask in their wilful ignorance, bigotry, parochialism, medievalism, misogynism and racism and come on here to post and boast about it.

44. DaveL says:

I saw the article re uni benefitting from slavery and wondered if they’ll ever realise that they are also benefitting from the hunger experienced by 25% of Scottish children. Children officially recognised as living in poverty.

They take your tax paid pounds all too readily to fund the education (if you can call it that these days) of thousands and thousands of middle class freeloaders from England. A lot of whom despise Scotland and Scots and can’t wait to grab their ticket and scoot off back to wherever it is they came from.

By all means keep tertiary education free but only for those who have grown up here and attended school here. Fuck the rest.

• factchecker says:

The truth, of course, is that students from the rest of the UK have to pay fees to Scottish universities, thus helping to subsidise Scottish students.

This is because the amount Scottish Government pays per student to Scottish Universities is less than is charged to rUK and foreign students.

• James says:

That right, aye?

Factchecker? You could’t find your arse with both hands and a flashlight.

• Young Lochinvar says:

Presumably they would be paying much the same if they just opted to go a University in their home countries, give or take?

Or do they opt to come here for other benefits yet play the victim card?

Haven’t to date heard of Scottish students who opt to go to Universities not in their home country but in the rest of the UK bleating about the fees they are required to pay there..

• DaveL says:

So how much do they pay?

• Southernbystander says:

@Young Lochinvar. English students pay the same as they would in England yes.

I suspect overseas students from China, India etc pay a lot more than in their home countries. They come here for the prestige of getting a UK degree. They will nearly all be rich, by their homeland standards, in order to do this as International fees are a lot higher than ‘domestic’ ones and always have been. EU students are now classed as international, hence why that ‘market’ has dwindled. In England, EU students used to get all the HE loans etc just like home students but now do not and pay international fees. In Scotland they paid no fees until Brexit. International students have never been eligible for the loans.

English students mostly would chose a uni for the course and how much they liked the location / university as the money spent is the same anyway. Scots who go to England to study even more so, given they have to pay but could get it free in Scotland.

@Dave L. International fees can be set by the university. International fees in an ordinary ni in England are about ÂŁ17,000 a year but this goes up top nearer 20k for some courses. There are no loans. English students pay what Westminster sets as the maximum amount which is ÂŁ9,500 and can be covered by a loan (subject to interest like all loans but only paid back once the student is earning over a certain amount).

International fees for Edinburgh university are miles higher, going up to 50k per year. English students just pay the standard maximum home rate of ÂŁ9,500. I noticed that students from Scotland do seem to pay ÂŁ1,800 but I may be misinterpreting that: link to tuition-fees.is.ed.ac.uk

• agent x says:

“Eligibility for Free Tuition: Scottish Domicile: To qualify for free tuition, students must be “ordinarily resident” in Scotland for the purpose of studying, meaning they have been living in Scotland for reasons other than solely education for a period of time before starting their course.”

Thousands and thousands of middle class freeloaders from England do NOT get free tuition in Scottish Universities.

• GM says:

I hope not. A man at my work returned home from 2 years working in Saudi Arabia for a company based in Scotland. The university was charging his boy for fees. They were all Scottish

This is correct and always has been since England introduced fees for universities in England (and Wales I think). When the UK was in the EU, EU students got free tuition in Scotland, except students from England!

Ironically what this means, as factchecker suggested, is Scottish universities like to have lots of English students as they get more money from them than the subsidy per student from the SG for ‘home’ Scots. In other words the system actually encourages the recruitment of English and ‘international’ students over resident Scots by Scottish universities. All this is, I think, within the remit of the SG.

I am surprised this is not known.

45. agent x says:

Headline:

“SNP quango claims museums will be forced to SHUT if they ban men from women’s toilets

Museums Galleries Scotland, which supports 455 non-national museums across the country, complained that restricting single-sex spaces to those born that sex was ‘not inclusive’ and that forcing it to comply could lead to closures due to costs and the hassle of implementing the Equality and Human Right Commission’s guidance.”
    —————————————-

What a load of bollocks.

• Mark Beggan says:

The quango class will shut our museums paid for by us if we don’t bow down and agree that the freak Upton is a woman.
      Wouldn’t it be great if are now witnessing the beginning of the end of the elite. The Toilet Class.

46. sarah says:

@ Northcode: the latest news on Liberation’s action at the UN is surely on the News tab on http://www.liberation.scot‘s website?

• Northcode says:

Aye, Sarah.

There’s a PDF dated the 10th June 2025 here:

From the Pacific to the Highlands

However, folk should realise that Scotland’s bid to be recognised by the UN as a NSGT is a process and not an event.

And like most bureaucratic processes it takes time and won’t be rushed.

Constantly asking for the latest on Scotland’s submission to the UN – something that folk can easily check for themselves by visiting the

Liberation Scotland website

– is like young children on a long journey stuck in the back of a car continually asking “are we there yet?”.

• Northcode says:

I meant to add a link to the Salvo website alongside the link to Liberation Scotland but forgot – so here it is now:

Salvo website

• Northcode says:

I meant to add a link to this report dated 16th July 2025 submitted to the UN by Justice pour Tous Internationale (JPTi) alongside the links to Salvo and Liberation Scotland but forgot tae dae that yin tae – so here it is now:

JPTi Submits UN Report on Scotland’s Governance Crisis

Well worth a read.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Tch, NC.

Line the weans up bareback on a garron, eldest at the front, wee-ist at the back.

Don’t even look at them until they ask in Scots.

• Andy Ellis says:

So as many of us already thought, this process is of doubtful utility and could take some undetermined amount of time (possibly years given other examples which were much more clearly cases of decolonisation or imminent threats of violence/ethnic cleansing)to achieve any result…

….but we’re all supposed to lend it our support rather than just push for the fastest possible plebiscitary elections which could take place in a matter of months if the movement just grew a pair?

You people are either absolutely delusional or in the pay of of the opposition: so which is it?

• Northcode says:

I also meant to add a link to this report dated 28th May 2025 submitted to the UN by Justice pour Tous Internationale (JPTi) alongside the links to this report (JPTi Submits UN Report on Scotland’s Governance Crisis) and Salvo and Liberation Scotland but forgot tae dae this yin anaw – whit am a like… anyway, here it is now:

JPTi Calls on the UN to Recognise Scotland as a Non-Self-Governing Territory

Also well worth a read.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Ah, c’moan noo, Andy.

1000 to 1 says absolutely delusional.

With a healthy side order of “give me Indy, but not yet, otherwise, what will I do with the remainder of my sorry life?”

• Stuart says:

Mr Ellis, how dare you mention the obvious solution!

Not when those pushing this farce at the UN can keep us all in suspense for months/years/ decades to come.

Who needs to actually win elections in the meantime?

Especially when Liberation Scotland have got merchandise to flog.

Courtesy of the “Salvo Merchandise team”!

T shirts for ÂŁ10 apart from size 3xl at a mere ÂŁ22.50 and so it goes on with all the usual items to get you to part with your money.

Obviously the longer this process at the UN takes, the more merchandise that can be sold!

Call me cynical if you like, but Indy has now become almost cottage industry.

I’m just surprised that Salvo/Liberation Scotland have not been awarded a government grant.

It would be ironic if the SNP turned them down.

• Andy Ellis says:

Folk are of course free to support the referral to the UN using the process and procedure which is in place. It might work, though I’ve made no secret of my skepticism about the prospects for success and more particularly about the fact that it seems to me to promise to take longer to produce results than “conventional” means. Again, others are free to disagree.

What they do have to ask themselves too is whether the standing of the people / organisations making and supporting the referrals are “serious people” and what their background is.

So…how about this JPTi organisation? It says it’s a not for profit group which relies on member subscriptions and donation. So are the sources of the donations open to the public? If not, why not?

link to jpti.ch

One of the 3 board members is listed as Sharof Azizov, an Uzbek national with links to Belarus and a somewhat questionabale reputation in Estonia for being a pro-Kremlin partisan:

link to ekspress.delfi.ee

Perhaps we should be careful who we have “fronting” our approaches to the UN, or at the very least be sure who they are funded by…? I’m not sure how seriously the international community will take referrals from organisations like JPTi.

• sarah says:

@ Northcode “are we there yet?”. Agreed. It makes one wonder why such commenters persist – they only have to read the News tab on the Liberation site.

The UN process by Liberation involves first of all introducing the topic in the UN corridors so that countries become familiar with our case over several months instead of it coming out of the blue.

47. Al Dossary says:

Just saw a clip on Telegram of 6 bobbies “arresting” a woman in a wheelchair for wearing a “Palestine Action” Tee shirt.

Absolute Scum, doing the bidding of an absolute scummy Minister appointed by the biggest scumbag PM we have had since Thatcher.

• Marie says:

Yep. It’s called tyranny. But we’re supposed to hate on China and Russia?

• Hatey McHateface says:

Then again, could be somebody self-id-ing as disabled to get freebees and priority access to everything going.

Absolute scum if so. But that’s exactly what happens when our own government legislates for positive discrimination.

The lowlife abusers of the system swarm out of the woodwork and wreck it for the deserving cases.

• Mark Beggan says:

Under Thatcher they would have taken away the wheelchair.

48. David says:

link to nitter.net

Glasgow flight – “I’m going to blow up the plane. Death to America. Death to Trump. AlluAkbar.”

Let’s hope the honest officers of police Scotland deport this piece of human filth and put him on the banned list.

Not welcome here.

49. agent x says:

Advance Notice about Upcoming Submission of the Petition for
    Recognition of Scotland as a Non-Self-Governing Territory
    Under the UN Decolonization Framework
    Submitted by: Justice pour Tous Internationale (JPTi)
    7th March 2025
    ———————————————————-

On 9 June 2025, Justice pour Tous
    Internationale (JPTi), alongside its strategic
    partner, the International Probono Legal
    Services Association (IPLSA), delivered two
    oral interventions before the Special
    Committee on Decolonization (C-24) at
    United Nations Headquarters in New York.
    Representing the voices of the colonially
    subjugated, JPTi spoke on the persistent
    denial of self-determination in French
    Polynesia and New Caledonia—while
    highlighting the emerging imperative to
    extend these same legal principles to the case
    of Scotland.
    —————————————————–

No application has been made yet for Scotland- no rush.

• Mark Beggan says:

‘colonially subjugated’

I find a glass of warm water with a teaspoonfull of cider vinegar does the trick.

50. Andrew scott says:

O/t
    FFS
    Engerlannd win the footiie

• Young Lochinvar says:

As my good lady wife pointed out to me, the whole affair has been an exemplar of fine footie but a somewhat laughable inability to actually score goals.

As for the penalties!
      Jeez, what a pantomime!

Two things for them all to focus on I think..

Anyway, cue the “misogyny accusations” pile on and the endless media happy clapping for the next four years or whatever..

51. MaryB says:

Sarah, Northcode etc
    I find that inde-car ie Gordon Ross, also known as Partick Driver, is the best place to get Salvo/UN updates.
    Gordon also now does a weekly podcast with Norrie Hunter, called ‘Haud Ma Jaiket’ in which they unpick these and other issues in more detail.

• sarah says:

Thank you, MaryB. Meanwhile a Liberation Newsletter has arrived in my inbox so I shall enjoy reading it shortly!

52. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

Encouraging high-register article by KATHLEEN STOCK on UNHERD (25 July 2025) –

‘IS THIS THE END OF TRANSGENDERISM: We are reaching trans tipping point’

 Sometimes, I wonder how I will know when the reign of genderism is definitively over. As philosophers say, I like to consider various possible worlds. Will it be when a national inquiry is held into child transition? Or when a whole month goes by without a drag queen story on the BBC website? Or when the head of MI6 finally takes the pronouns out of his X bio? “Gradually, then suddenly” is how Hemingway described going bankrupt. One hopes this applies to the morally bankrupt too.

ÂŤ Despite the recent Supreme Court ruling, some parts of the UK seem more stuck in transactivist delusions than ever. But this week, tantalisingly, I discerned signs of imminent collapse. The Scottish media appears gripped by the Sandy Peggie tribunal, with daily revelations of unsympathetic NHS managers defending the presence of a male doctor in the nurses’ female-only changing room. One newspaper even referred to the man at the heart of the case as “he”. […] Âť

53. Mark Beggan says:

What’s the penalty for pretending to have a bomb on an aeroplane these days? Boy! This lads ass is grass.

54. Stuart says:

The trans gender nonsense continues, this time in the shape of Museums and Art Galleries Scotland, this from the Herald.

“An organisation which represents hundreds of museums and galleries in Scotland has warned that some institutions may be forced to close following interim guidance from the Equality and Human Rights Commission over single sex facilities.

The body criticised the EHRC proposals saying there was no guidance on how to “include trans people” and warned “an environment of suspicion and policing of gender” already existed at some heritage sites”

Naturally this organisation is funded by the Scottish government, so the SNP have some questions to answer.

I also seem to recall that Scotland was once home to the enlightenment, those days are clearly long gone.

55. The Flying Iron of Doom says:

“I also seem to recall that Scotland was once home to the enlightenment, those days are clearly long gone.”

Well, don’t forget that Edinburgh University went for the whole “I hear you’re a racist now, David Hume?” thing a while back – I forget exactly when but I think it happened after those BLM riots mostly peaceful protests. Oh well…welcome to the Scottish Endarkenment I suppose… 😐

• Dan says:

Well, aw it taks for darkness tae prevail is for guid folks tae continue tae allow the lights to be switched aff.

There are plenty sensible heids aboot, it’s jist that there appears to be an awfy lot of utter dunderheids too, whose brains are scrambled tae the point they’ve lost critical thinking capacity and cannae comprehend or apply the straightforward simple fix required to reboot the system and return oor society to a more enlightened existence.

I dinnae ken exactly what caused the rise of the dunderheids, but suspect dodgy chemicals in the food chain and addiction to internet are factors which mean fowk’s brains now struggle to switch to dealing with tasks that require longer attention spans and concerted efforts to work towards actually delivering an objective.

56. Northcode says:

Scots First

Donald Trump tells the world that America – and presumably the Americans who live there – comes first.

And now the once obscure Japanese political party, Sanseito, is surging in popularity by calling for ‘Japanese First’ (apparently the Japanese are fed-up with immigrants and tourists who are careless and rude; and who are ignorant of Japan’s ancient culture and traditions).

In Scotland the Scots should come first.

Fir whin a people struggles tae survive in thair ain hame – in thair ain land o plenty; whin a people in thair ain hame are shuved tae the erse-end o the queue fir the services and avantages thair ancestors bequethed tae thaim; and whin a people be treatit like interlowpers in thair ain hame… then shuirly sumthin is sereously oot o kelter.

Scots hae become strangers in their ain land.

So, aye. Scots First.

Whit aboot the rest?

Thae kin git in line ahint the Scots an byde thair turn tae be serred.

57. willie says:

Interesting piece in the paper reporting on how the the Government down south had been advertising for a Shariah law adviser.

link to msn.com

On call Nigel Farage expresses outrage about the issue. But does he have a point.

In Scotland where we have not had a high level of immigration we have nonetheless had a First Minister rant white, white, white when the immigrant population I think he talks about is around 2% – 3%

It was not a happy or indeed in anyway acceptable rant. It was the rant of division based it seems on colour, but possibly in reality on religion.

And so, in England where some of the areas of major cities have populations of anything from 50% to 80% and where Sharia law now appears to operate in parallel to UK law, does Farage have a point.

Immigration can be both good and bad. Religion can be bad, very bad, and we only need to look at the history of religion here in Scotland to see the utterly negative and vicious tribalism it can invoke. White, white white, or is it Paki, Paki, Paki, or is it Mick, Mick, Mick – its not good, its division, and now we promote Shariah Law in areas that more reflect areas that now resemble Lahore.

Its an interesting concept altogether as the Scottish Government and its agencies spend millions pursuing and then defending a vicious attempt to destroy a nurse because she complained about a man in woman’s clothing changing in the female dressing room.

A hate crime in fact it was, Grounds to pursue her through criminal prosecution was the consideration along with the actual policy of trying to destroy her professionally.

Truly I am surprised that Swinney and his band are not promoting with public money Shariah Law. But then again he and his ilk wre quite happy with White, white white – and yes the SG do fund many many divisive causes.

Anyway, Farage has jumped at the opportunity to rant against this government advert and I am sure it will play well to many of his ilk, and here too in Scotland.

But does he have a point?

• Alf Baird says:

“In Scotland where we have not had a high level of immigration”

On the contrary, inflows of approx 100,000 per annum equate to 1 million each decade, which is very significant for a country of around 6 million.

According to the census Scotland’s population has only been growing through in-migration for much of the last 20 years.

And about half of all this in-migration emanates from just one country, which has a deleterious effect on the desire for independence,and explains why demand for independence is not much higher:

link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com

• Mrs Grimble says:

“The government down south is advertising for a Sharia Law officer”
      No it isn’t. The fuss is about a job ad placed on the DWP’s Jobcentre website, which any employer can place an ad on. And its for a volunteer position with a local religious court that settles Muslim family disputes. Other religions, including Judaism & Christianity, have similiar religious courts, and they all operate under the UK’s arbitration (and other) laws.

• Hatey McHateface says:

Dinna be daft.

Certain aspects of Sharia are incompatible with and antithetical to UK, English and Scottish laws. And with UK, English and Scottish conventions and accepted reasonable behaviour too.

You know that, so why come on here and pretend the contrary?

58. James Cheyne says:

Alf Baird,

The truth is if Scots an their nation country were sold in a trade deal to financially benefit a few elites, both in Scotland and England which also signed an ratified the acceptance of that Sale, then there is no better evidence that Scotland is a Colonised people,

With the recent post I made providing evident dates for disarming Scots, forbadeing Scots to speak their own language, forbidding them their own cultural dress, their own instruments of music.

There is often a discussion held in Ignorance that there was no such thing for ordinary people being allowed to vote in those days,
    But it was discussed in the Scots case by the Commissioners and respective parliaments and rejected and discarded as the Scots would probably have voted No, so the Sale went ahead regardless of the peoples vote.

Again the evidence points to there being no valid voluntary union between the Scottish people as a nation and Country and England,
    In fact continually suggesting that Scots need a referendum and permission of a certain majority from Westminster parliament that solely oversees the Laws of England and Wales. to become a free nation of people and all to vote the same way strongly implies the continuation of that 1707 slave trade and people trafficking of Scots and their Country.

The fact that finances and reparations were made to the elite are recorded in history, poems , songs, and in Hansard records in Westminster parliament itself.
    It would be difficult for the UN to ignore and still appear authentic to all other nations and Countries.

However until the UN has verified that position of a enslaved, captured and indentured Scots people and their country that were sold.,
    The UN could drag this out especially if Westminster parliament protests continually and refuses the Scots the right to self determination, because it wants to hold captive the Slaves and country it bought and paid for, a delay could be obfuscated.

Would or could Scots be accused of UDI when the evidence is there that they were bought in a trade deal sale along with there Country?

And a second question arises,
    After the riots and rebellions in the 1700s that took place in and from Scotland and all the letters of protests being ignored
    Is it the Scottish elites that received the pay off ( the ones signed up to the 1707 treaty of union? )

A third question arises,
    If Scotland and its people are recognised and found to have been sold for English gold, surely it no longer is a case for Englands parliament or Monarch to take the position that it has succession to the United Kingdom,

And a fourth question,
    If Scots and their Country are found to have been sold for gold and forced into slavery and taxes ,trafficked in a trade deal to English politicians without their consent andby violent force , at some point financial reparations must be discussed and made to that nation and Country as with any other Colonised Country

• Alf Baird says:

Yes James, evidence on the procurement and colonisation of Scots has and will be submitted as part of Liberation Scotland’s petition to the United Nations, for which an update may be accessed in the current LS Newsletter to Members.

59. willie says:

One last point on immigration and division.

I think it is accepted that there has been a huge influx of what we could describe as immigrants from south of the border. Typically they come with English sentiments and are opposed to Scottish independence. They also skew the voting.

Such immigration if one makes the contrast with what is now Northern Ireland was part of colonial policy to subdue and control Ireland. And look at what a rip roaring success that proved to be over the years.

Could the same policy be being encouraged today. Could the deep state be in control of the mechanisms of government in Scotland. Could corporate control be being stripped out from Scotland.

Could Scotland be heading to division division division. Its something we don’t talk about, or more accurately, its maybe something that’s not reported about.

Its an interesting point as our so called democratic system gets exposed for what it actually is.

And as a last off the wall, or maybe not so off the wall comment, but how many people noticed that Trump’s car taking him into Turnberry bore two flags. One was the stars and stripes and the other the Scottish Saltire.

Discreet, or maybe not so discreet, from a man who is half Scottish, had a first language Gaidhlig speaking mother, who has first cousins in Lewis and who maybe has a deep distrust of the colonial British establishment.

And why Turnberry in Scotland where Starmer and Von der Leyen have travelled to play homage.

Like him or lump him and or his politics, Trump is half Scottish. Division Mr Starmer, you’re good at it, well go for it then if you feel lucky punk.

The Irish sentiment in the US played a huge part in Britain conceding the Good Friday Agreement.

60. James Cheyne says:

We must be one of the oldest nations whose people and Country were sold for English gold to still left Colonised and enslaved,

• Andrew scott says:

J
      @james
      “ENSLAVED”
      UTTER TOSH

• Insider says:

“James” Cheyne 11:43

Time you went for another wee chat with your doctor,hen.

Your posts are getting more and more deranged by the day !

61. James Cheyne says:

Scotland has good evidence for being a sold nation,
    Is a sold country and its people still recognised by the United Nations as a Colonised Country under Human rights and the right to self determination Laws?

62. Confused says:

Trump and Starmer meeting up, and this fucking piper keeps droning on like a fucking idiot – they start talking and he keeps going on

– I am sure the guy is on the fucking windup.

Bagpipes are not a musical instrument; they are the one aspect of Highland culture I would happily see expunged. At most, a lament for the dead. It’s just not music, like “free jazz”.

It is instructive to see Trump in real-time, in his flow, you can see his cognitive mechanism, the gears turning; he is not a detail guy, but has this disarming “touch of the common people” where he comes out and says things “you are not supposed to say”.

– now he is on about the congo, a place rarely discussed.

Starmer looks like he is holding in a shit, terrified that Trump says something that forces him to respond in a way he can’t.

Migrants are mentioned. Trump also has the ability to ramble on, without taking a breath like Thatcher did, thus avoiding any break where a decent journalist could press a difficult followup; and when you think of something, he is on to something else.

Whisky tariffs were in there, somewhere, neath piper’s drone.

63. James Cheyne says:

Alf Baird.
    Willie.

It would be a skewed vote, almost rigged for Scotland to vote for independence, may be.

There is one thing for sure no matter where youl live in Great Britain right now no one, repeat no one is happy about the past tro political parties method of running Britain,
    And hardly anyone is happy with the lib dems and green for danger parties.
    It might come down that some are fleeing to Scotland hoping to escape Englands titanic.

However to provide independence for Scotland it does not always require an unjust voting system.
    Nor coes it require us keeping the SNP in position, they have wasted the mandated votes they were given time and again, and are burying democracy faster than a rotten corpse.

Most Scots believe and historic records and events back their thoughts up, That Scots and their community territory country, land and sea and nation were sold for Englands gold, and that Scots have a right to self determination without forcing a stipulated referendum on them by their colonial masters that bought them.from a few Scots in a trade deal,

The Scottish parliament was sine die in 1707. When the Scottish elites moved into the Westminster parliament that makes laws for England and Wales, and has the monarch of England given that parliament its english constitutional Sovereignty.

Scotland and its people were told that they were in the treaty of union, not asked, they were sold into a treaty,
    without one signature being required from them for confirmation,
    Any referendum asked by Westminster since, that asks do you want to remain, to stay, no matter the wording is falsely based on the foundation that all Scots voted to join the treaty of union in 1707.
    Not based on facts that they were sold for gold into a 1707 trade treaty….that included the sale of…and indenturing Scots and their land for taxes, cannon fodder for wars and aquisition for over three hundred years,

The question arises is the devolved parliament re- opened as the parliament of Scotland in Scotland removed the Sine Die position from 1707,
    And what do we do about the parties within that reopened Scottish parliament. That stymie the right to self determination that have gone rogue ignoring Scottish mandates.

64. Northcode says:

Lets talk dichty.

‘Dichty watter’ is the affected fine talk of those Scots who would be thought of as Southerners, and who, ignorant of the beauty and strength of their own vernacular, make a ludicrous attempts to Anglicise it.

So for all you dichty watter talkers out there… ye’ve affecked a very scunnersome kin’ o’ dichty watter in yer talk, apparently.

65. Confused says:

yeah
    link to archive.ph
    what you want, but you can’t have it because the english want it to power their Oxford-Cambridge silicon valley

well done england and your “free market”
    link to archive.ph
    – the invisible hand wiped on arse and now says “eat shit” (the greatest good for the greatest number)

66. James Cheyne says:

Alf Baird,

Thanks for that update on the details being provided and submitted by Liberation Scotland.
    Eternally grateful as this old technology machinary does not always work.
    It jumps about all over the place and looses posts into the ether.

67. James Cheyne says:

Confused wether you like or do not like an instrument is neither here or there, the ban on Scots way of life included not being allowed to speak you own language, not allowed to wear clothes of your own choice, not allowed to have, hold or conceal any sharp instrument, under pains of fines, imprisonment or being sent as a indentured slaves for seven years to the other Colonies,,

68. James Cheyne says:

Andrew Scott,

I am willing to debate both sides of the 1707 treaty of union,

If Scotland and Scots was not sold to England, As a aquisition to be taxed, ( enslaved to work for gains in taxation) to find their land taken and their resources removed and taxed back at them,

Then I will move over to the position, for the sake of fair debate that the 1707 international treaty of union was a treaty made with all Scots in Scotland.

In that international 1707 article XV111 states the foloowing,

Provided that the laws of Scotland remain in the same force…. Regarding private Right, but no alteration be made in laws that concern private right except for the evident Utility of the subjects of Scotland,

Hows that article doing today with sir keir starmer new parliament acts, , data protection on private information, with and Banks, NHS, gender woo woo, police watching everything you say,and the Hate crime bills.
    Because these private rights were unalterable in Scotland and in the treaty of union articles.

James, the bone of contention lies around the way you use enslaved.

Are we not all ‘wage slaves’ to some extent and some more so in that their life choices are / were very limited, even more true in centuries past than now where class and wealth differentials were huge and systematic and had been for centuries.

When you compare that to say a plantation owner in Jamaica who literally *bought* people forcibly removed from Africa to the Caribbean (with many tens of thousands dying en route in barbaric inhuman conditions), then forced them to work on the plantations merely for food and keep, with no right at all to leave and in fact were ‘owned’ by the planter who regarded them as a lesser form of the human species and thus had no moral qualms about what he did including severe physical punishment often to the death, it is not difficult to see why people might baulk at the ‘slaves’ tag for Scots in the early Union. The profits those planters made were vast given the clamour for the goods and forced free labour that enabled their production.

The fact that due to Scots’ significant involvement in the West Indies, there was a ‘greater per capita Scottish stake in slavery than any other UK nation’ (see Tom Devine, ‘Recovering Scotland’s Slavery Past’, 2015,), helps to contextualise this issue of what slavery in the 18th century really was.

This is not to belittle or demean your highlighting of past iniquities that still have resonance today.

69. James Cheyne says:

Southernbystander,

I except your point of view on all of us being we are all slaves to wages, but how we got there are from different starting positions
    One by semi natural evolution of their Country and the other because it was actually a Sale, money exchanged hands and purses,
    And yes just like it was barbaric to the people of Africa it was to barbaric to the Scots that were removed from all they had known, dragged out their beds, and their homes set on fire so they could not return,
    , and many Scots ended up working on the rich Scottish and English plantations, as courts provided them with the work force, were set up to deliberately find then guilty of some misdemeanor so they could be shipped to the new Outer Colonies, the choice offered to these people was Colonies or death penalties.
    Perhaps someone will be kind enough provide a link to a documentary I watched on enslavement of all British people and how the elites by device and laws. Made great use of this,

And just like all other enforced Colonies Scotland was provided with a unfavourable one sided Treaty after they were threatened, payed and bought,

It is strange how a northern Colony so close to home has the ability to be blind sided by the view of the nation,
    that payed for that privilege of buying it out of the coffers of England

And that does not alter the fact a few people living here sold Scots and Scotland for a 1707 trade treaty with England and it was the government of Westminster, its politicians and parliament that paid the price asked.
    They were bought and sold.

70. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

JONATHAN SWIFT (ANGLO-IRISH, 1667-1745):

 The conveniency of ports and havens, which nature has bestowed so liberally on this kingdom, is of no more use to us than a beautiful prospect to a man shut up in a dungeon.

 As to shipping of its own, Ireland is so utterly unprovided, that of all the excellent timber cut down within these fifty or sixty years, it can hardly be said that the nation has received the benefit of one valuable house to dwell in, or one ship to trade with.

 Ireland is the only kingdom I ever heard or read of, either in ancient or modern story, which was denied the liberty of exporting their native commodities and manufactures wherever they pleased, except to countries at war with their own prince or State: yet this privilege, by the superiority of mere power, is refused us in the most momentous parts of commerce; besides an act of navigation, to which we never consented, pinned down upon us, and rigorously executed; and a thousand other unexampled circumstances, as grievous as they are invidious to mention.

« To go on to the rest. It is too well known, that we are forced to obey some laws we never consented to; which is a condition I must not call by its true uncontroverted name, for fear of Lord Chief Justice Whitshed’s ghost, with his Libertas et natale solum written for a motto on his coach, as it stood at the door of the court, while he was perjuring himself to betray both. Thus we are in the condition of patients, who have physic sent them by doctors at a distance, strangers to their constitution and the nature of their disease….

 Those who have the misfortune to be born here, have the least title to any considerable employment; to which they are seldom preferred, but upon a political consideration. One-third part of the rents of Ireland is spent in England; which, with the profit of employments, pensions, appeals, journeys of pleasure or health, education at the Inns of Court and both Universities, remittances at pleasure, the pay of all superior officers in the army, and other incidents, will amount to a full half of the income of the whole kingdom, all clear profit to England.

 Even ale and potatoes are imported from England, as well as corn; and our foreign trade is little more than importation of French wine, for which I am told we pay ready money. 

«  I have sometimes thought that this paradox of the kingdom’s growing rich is chiefly owing to those worthy gentlemen the bankers; who, except some custom-house officers, birds of passage, oppressive thrifty squires, and a few others who shall be nameless, are the only thriving among us: and I have often wished that a law were enacted to hang up half a dozen bankers every year, and thereby interpose at least some short delay to the farther ruin of Ireland. »

[Jonathan Swift was an Anglo-Irish author, satirist, writer and cleric renowned as one of Ireland’s greatest English-language writers. His most famous works include the fictional story ‘Gulliver’s Travels’ and the most critically acclaimed satire of English-language literature, ‘A Modest Proposal’. Although being part of the Protestant Ascendancy and thus detached from the Catholic peasantry that made up the vast majority of the country, Swift often wrote essays and pamphlets in defence of Irish industry and self-governance, and his writings influenced more advanced Irish nationalists such as Wolfe Tone, John Mitchel and Arthur Griffith.]

link to cartlann.org

71. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh says:

THOMAS CARLYLE (Anglo-Scottish, 1795-1881):

 Several indolent members of Parliament, and many indolent members of society on this side of the water, are beginning to testify their willingness, for their part, to gratify the Irish populations by conceding the demand for Repeal. Since Ireland wants but this to her happiness, say they, why not allow her to be happy?

« Under which circumstances, consider whether on any terms England can have her house cut in two, and a foreign nation, with contradictory tendencies and perpetual controversy, lodged in her back-parlour itself? Not in any measure conceivable by the liveliest imagination that will be candid! England’s heavy job of work, inexorably needful to be done, cannot go on at all, unless her back-parlour too belong to herself.

 For it behoves men to know what is fact in their position; only by rigorously conforming to that can they have the Universe on their side, and achieve any prosperity whatever. With fact against you, with the whole Universe and the Eternal Laws against you, what prosperity can you achieve?

 Let Irish Patriots seek some other remedy than repealing the Union; let all men cease to talk or speculate on that, since once for all it cannot be done. In no conceivable circumstances could or durst a British minister propose to concede such a thing: the British minister that proposed it would deserve to be impeached as a ("Tractor" - Ed) to his high post, and to lose his worthless head.

« A law higher than that of Parliament, as we have said, an Eternal Law proclaims the Union unrepealable in these centuries. England’s work, whatever her ministers be, till all her citizens likewise cease, requires to be done.

« And so, even were Repeal conceded, Repeal would at all moments, by night and by day, cry irrepressibly to be revoked; and one day would get itself revoked,—perhaps in a final way that time! The rhinoceros is long suffering, thick of skin, entirely indisposed to severe methods at present; but the frantic smaller animal should not drive him quite to extremities either, but bethink himself a little.

 So that the case stands thus. Ireland, at this moment and for a good while back, has been admitted and is practically invited to become British; to right its wrongs along with ours, to fight its battles by our side, and take share in that huge destiny along with us, if it will and can. Will it; can it? One does not know. The Cherokees, Sioux, and Chactaws, had a like invitation given them, in the new Continents two centuries ago.

« “Can you, will you, O noble Chactaws, looking into the heart of the matter, join with us in this heavy job of work we Yankee Englanders have got to do here?—Alas! the answer was in the negative; the Chactaws would not, could not; and accordingly the Chactaws, in spite of 200 acts of legislation in their favour at divers times, are extinct; cut off by the inexorable gods. It is a lesson taught everywhere.

 The Celts of Connemara, and other repealing finest peasantry, are white and not black; but it is not the colour of the skin that determines the savagery of a man. He is a savage, who, in his sullen stupidity, in his chronic rage and misery, cannot know the facts of this world when he sees them; whom suffering does not teach but only madden; who blames all men and all things except the one only that can be blamed with advantage, namely himself.

« Fruitless futile insurrections, continual sanguinary broils and riots that make his dwelling place a horror to mankind, mark his progress generation after generation; and if no beneficent hand will chain him into wholesome slavery, and, with whip on back or otherwise, try to tame him, and get some work out of him,—Nature herself, intent to have her world tilled, has no resource but to exterminate him, as she has done the wolves and various other obstinately free creatures before now! These are hard words, but they are true. »

[Thomas Carlyle was a Scottish essayist, historian and philosopher regarded as one of the greatest nineteenth century figures of English literature. He was an unusual yet significant influence on Young Ireland and Irish nationalism. A notorious proponent of Anglo-Saxonism and thus generally anti-Irish, he nonetheless found acquaintances with the editors of The Nation, Charles Gavan Duffy and John Mitchel.]

link to cartlann.org

• Young Lochinvar says:

House Jock in other words.

Lordy, we hear the same pedantry fuelled drivel on this site from pr1cks who mendaciously claim that they actually “love Scotland and her people”..

Aye right.

These bampots created the cross we are having to bear. 9th smoking pit of hells too good for them in my opinion; that batsh1t crazy crap could easily have been written by some apologist WAY back in depraved Imperial Rome..

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,846 Posts, 1,231,739 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “The times they are a-changing, Cynicus. What you state is rapidly becoming irrelevant. Plenty of ordinary Scots are of the…Dec 5, 07:50
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “See fit ye’ve done noo, Mark? Ye’ve goat James hame frae the pub, an reaching for his sock. Hope the…Dec 5, 07:37
    • twathater on Ginger beer and fruit and nuts: “@ JCD If you want independence for Scotland and there is a candidate from Liberate Scotland standing in your constituency…Dec 5, 03:20
    • Cynicus on The cost of failure: “Hatey McHateface says: 4 December, 2025 at 8:26 pm “To be fair to El-Nakla, they don’t have high buildings where…Dec 5, 01:32
    • James on The cost of failure: ““What a pair of w*nkers”.Dec 5, 00:30
    • James on The cost of failure: ““Prick”.Dec 5, 00:26
    • Mark Beggan on The cost of failure: ““take the Northern Isles” no thanks. They’re fine where they are. “When not if..” In the name of the wee…Dec 4, 22:59
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: ““Independence will never happen” Ah, c’moan noo, Mark. Never is a very long time. When, not if, independence happens, it…Dec 4, 22:40
    • Mark Beggan on The cost of failure: “As the BBC always like to say ‘This is what we know so far .’ Independence will never happen. The…Dec 4, 21:24
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “To be fair to El-Nakla, they don’t have high buildings where he hails from. He wouldn’t have been aware of…Dec 4, 20:26
    • Peter McAvoy on The cost of failure: “On reporting Scotland tonight the report showing John Swinney speaking he called Nigel Farage racist,has he forgotten Humza Youseff’s white,white…Dec 4, 20:02
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “It’s your craven fear of the “resident multi ID troll” reading here that stops you from writing the faintest outline…Dec 4, 20:02
    • Mark Beggan on The cost of failure: “In Scotland even the government’s on Benefits.Dec 4, 19:53
    • Mark Beggan on The cost of failure: “‘The public wants what the public gets’. Soar Giro!Dec 4, 19:50
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: ““We must spend the next 6 months showing people the truth and showing them the way to get what we…Dec 4, 19:49
    • agentx on The cost of failure: ““Holyrood demands answers over Humza Yousaf and Aamer Anwar friendship as lawyer nets ‘significant public funds’ through public inquiries The…Dec 4, 19:47
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: ““it will take significant time for any initiative to grow and garner decent levels of support” Oh aye, Dan. If…Dec 4, 19:41
    • agentx on The cost of failure: ““Humza Yousaf’s brother-in-law goes on trial over ‘extortion and dealing heroin and cocaine’ Ramsay El Nakla, 37, is on trial…Dec 4, 19:40
    • Aidan on The cost of failure: “@Dan- why don’t you just state outright what you think rather than setting up these metaphors? I think you seem…Dec 4, 19:35
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “You’ll still have some popcorn from last time! Hark at me. “Some” popcorn. You’ll still have every last kernel of…Dec 4, 19:29
    • sarah on The cost of failure: “@ 100%Yes at 4.46: very well said and spot on. It is the SNP “leadership” that has blocked our escape…Dec 4, 19:26
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “Money grubbing bastards! They already get well paid for working from 0900 to 1700, with an hour off for lunch.Dec 4, 19:26
    • Dan on The cost of failure: “And recent blow in Aidan enters the chat. Of course, Liberate like other initiatives before hasn’t reached significant levels of…Dec 4, 19:24
    • Hatey McHateface on The cost of failure: “Dan puts me right, again. Who knew that on Wings BTL, to describe somebody as a “gurning, wee, talent-free wifie”…Dec 4, 19:22
    • Willie on The cost of failure: “Strangled by their own Ptard on every metric policy, delivery, evaporated membership, donations, legacies and now voters, the SNP from…Dec 4, 19:18
    • David Holden on The cost of failure: “God I hope the yoons pay their keyboard warriors by the word as with any luck our resident multi ID…Dec 4, 19:13
    • Anthem on The cost of failure: “Totally agree Sarah. The fun is about to begin.Dec 4, 19:12
    • Kate L on Ain’t Got Time To Bleed: “The most beautiful “dear Sir” I’ve read in my life.Dec 4, 18:53
    • Aidan on The cost of failure: “@Dan – but 100% yes is right. The Liberate Scotland group has both no funding and no strategy. “Deaftism” is…Dec 4, 18:50
    • Dan on The cost of failure: “Shilling for Sturgeon now Main. Of course, it wasn’t all down to her ya rocket. There was Angus Robertson who…Dec 4, 18:49