Everybody’s Normal Nowadays
At some point, we’re all going to have to have a discussion about the word “normal”.
Because suffering from a debilitating mental illness that supposedly causes you to commit suicide if medical professionals don’t pump you full of wrong-sex hormones and/or mutilate or remove healthy and functioning parts of your body, and which affects no more than 1 in 300 people, is NOT, in fact, “completely normal”. Nor is having a physical disorder affecting less than 1 in 5,000 people. They’re the exact opposite of that. They’re extremely abnormal.
(“Abnormal” is not an intrinsically pejorative term, it’s a simple neutral statement of fact, meaning something that’s uncommon or unusual.)
But that’s not the main problem with NHS Fife’s “LGBTQI+” website.
Let’s see what it tells us.
Okay, firstly the Q can’t mean two different things. And what happened to the “+”?
Some mildly contentious stuff there, but we’ll give it a pass.
This is a bit of a mess. Firstly and most obviously, a hospital should not be indulging meaningless woowoo like “gender” being something that people are “given at birth”. Depending which gender-ideology activists you listen to there are anywhere from 33 to eight billion “genders”, but hospitals only ever identify newborn infants as two of them – male or female. No midwife in human history has ever said to an exhausted mother “Congratulations, you’ve got a beautiful bouncing bigenderfluid-curious!”
So they mean sex, and sex is observed long before birth, not “given” at it.
Secondly, why is a “gender identity and/or gender expression” being lumped in with sexual orientations at all, when the definition makes clear (lines 6 and 7) that it has nothing to do with sexual orientation?
Thirdly, what does “you can be transgender and straight (attracted to the same gender)” mean? If you’re attracted to the SAME gender – whether that word is being used to mean gender or sex – surely that’s not “straight”? Even in the context of an outpouring of gibberish that makes no sense.
How can you have a binary category into which some people don’t fit either one? How many babies does NHS Fife assign “non-binary” status to every year? If you’re non-binary and “straight”, do you only fancy people who AREN’T non-binary, or only people who ARE non-binary? Indeed, if you’re neither sex, how can the terms “straight” or “gay” have any meaning at all?
“This word has no meaning, but also means the same as several different things.”
So wait, if there’s ANYTHING someone’s not sure about (like, say, the best car and suspension setup to use for a quick lap time on Autodromo Lago Maggiore in Gran Turismo 7), they’re part of the LGBTQI+ community? Are we oppressed now because we’re asking these questions? Do we get our own flag or what?
But here’s the really problematic one.
Because INTERSEX IS NOT A GENDER IDENTITY. Nor, come to that, is it a sexual orientation, so there’s no conceivable reason for it to be included alongside those. (As the definition itself points out on line 6.)
“Intersex” is an outmoded and misleading umbrella term for a series of real, clearly-defined, physical medical disorders, some of which can require medical treatment rather than some witless idiot in a rainbow lanyard “affirming” them. And that’s something the real grownup NHS (as opposed to the clown version practiced in Fife) knows perfectly well.
It is astonishingly irresponsible for a health board to be promoting wildly inaccurate disinformation in this way for the sake of “woke points”. You can’t identify into or out of an intersex condition – you either have one or you don’t.
Remarkably, the page then links to an even more nonsensical website.
“It’s Pronounced Metrosexual” contains all sorts of incoherent (and often highly offensive – lesbians are EXCLUSIVELY attracted to women, not “primarily”) tommyrot in its 2013 “Comprehensive List of LGBTQ+ Vocabulary Definitions”, which we could happily spend all day mocking if we weren’t busy watching the Sandie Peggie tribunal.
(Or more accurately, sitting around wondering why it’s starting an hour late again.)
Don’t forget that asterisk, or you’re a Nazi!
It’s bad enough that NHS Fife gives credence to such drivel. But embarrassingly, it turns out even these silly blue-haired children have a dramatically better understanding of what “intersex” means than a Scottish health authority.
As anyone watching the tribunal already knew, the management of NHS Fife is a stinking, rotten open sewer unfit for purpose from top to bottom. Its hardworking staff (hardworking when they haven’t been suspended for knowing what sex someone is, at least) deserve better, and for the First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Health to both unequivocally endorse the board is merely an illustration of how far Scotland has sunk since Alex Salmond stood down.
And since nobody in the country is ever held accountable for anything, we have no expectations of anything changing no matter what the tribunal’s eventual verdict is. All we can advise readers to do in the meantime is try their very hardest not to get sick, and especially not anywhere in the general vicinity of Kirkcaldy.
Oh, god. No.
You’ve only gone and said ‘male and female’ are genders. They’re not. ‘masculine, feminine and neuter’ are the genders – or the affectations – or the assignations.
‘male and female’ are the sexes.
The trouble with the words male and female is that they are adjectives, and should not be used as nouns. Confusingly, they have applicability to both sex and gender.
Ah… Nope.
If you’ve used ‘male’ or ‘female’ to mean someone’s gender, you’ve made a mistake and used the wrong word because neither one those words is a gender. Each of those words is its own thing.
A male person could be described as feminine but it is a nonsense to suggest he could be described as female. A ‘female male person’ is not a thing. A ‘female man’ is not a thing. A ‘female boy’ is not a thing.
It is normal for society to contain people with abnormalities.
It is not normal for people with abnormalities to be the norm
Yup. Agreed.
And it’s not normal for the minority (the ‘abnormal’) to dictate to, and control through litigation, the majority. Tyranny of the minorities is a hugely problematic issue (thanx to DEI), in my not so humble opinion.
Stu, I’m always reading, always, and appreciating, your bangin’ articles, I love them, but I haven’t commented much lately . . . just been too busy . . a wee break this afternoon tho, which is lovely.
Of the two topics you mostly investigate and cover for us readers, I find that the SNP ones feel the most hopeless/dismal, in terms of positive forward motion . . . there’s simply none. Which I suppose is to be expected when something MUST be destroyed before any positive forward motion CAN occur.
I’m cautiously chuffed with what you outlined in your previous article – The Pillars of Sanity, but we’ve still got sooo far to go in order to restore reality, pragmatism and common fkn sense in all our civic institutions and ALL aspects of public life.
Keep doing what you’re doing, you’re fantastic at it and we all need you. Much like some other commenters on here, I would love if you came back to Scotland and stood for election. By fuck, how successful would you be . . . but that’s maybe why you know it would be a poisoned chalice. The accusations of sexual inappropriaty would start the second you crossed the border.
I am at a loss over who it is, that is supposed to “assign [sex] at birth”. Sex is not “assigned” by either bureaucrats or some divine entity, it arises as a result of biochemical processes. Today, we attribute these mainly to chromosomes. Though various researchers are investigating the underlying structures within DNA.
Sex is not simply an incident that occurs at birth. It is constant process. Hormonal processes shape our body morphology (ie the shape and kind of body we have) throughout our lifetimes. Put simply. aging is a sexual process. It forms men and women differently.
I have no doubt, in earlier times, sex was wrongly attributed by various medical practitioners and others from the confusing appearance of the genital area in new-borns. But there is no excuse today. The sloppy attribution of an expansive elasticity to sex, sexuality and gender is not greater inclusiveness but dangerous way on undermining existing scientific understanding.
Sex is established at conception via the man’s sperm, albeit it takes a wee while to show up, with all foetuses, male and female, showing typically female characteristics from the mother until a couple of weeks or so, when male for female sex is established. Sometimes, something goes wrong in the development of the foetus and DSDs occur, but – and it is a powerful but – the foetus is still either male or female, with some DSDs being typically male or typically female. What these children are not, is ‘trans’ anything. It is taking cruelty to a new level to call them ‘trans’.
In advanced countries, these developmental problems are spotted at birth and surgically or hormonally ‘fixed’ soon after birth. In less developed countries, wrong sexing because of DSDs still occurs, but puberty would usually lead to a diagnosis of DSD and, perhaps, medical treatment. The Algerian boxer who competed in the Olympics as a woman would have known at puberty that he is a man and a simple sex test would have shown that.
This gender woo woo has gone too far.
Glad to see you point out the ludicrous points with it.
I am so glad the law and Fife nurse case, along with your blog are pointing out how ridiculous it is for such a small minority to be given such a big emphasis in life.
Indeed.
“It is best to ask what term a person uses.” FFS!
Aye, you can just imagine… “Can I introduce you to my friend Fiona? She’s a… what did you say you were again, F?”
Even if I was interested in knowing I’d expect to be told to mind my own fkin business.
People get paid money to produce this sh*te?
The vessel with the pestle, is the brew that is true.
NHS Fife has suggested Sandie Peggie is racist. So I’m going to call out the racist hiring policy of DEI NHS Scotland.
Who want to create black jobs in the NHS. Such as the 90 BME management roles being created in NHS GGC over the last 3 years.
This is reverse racism. No whites need apply.
link to nhsggc.scot
“February 2025 will see the delivery of our third dedicated leadership programme for BME staff to 30 members of staff.”
This DEI anti white, skin colour preferential treatment policy – discriminates against whites like myself who want promotions in the NHS.
Isla Bumba is on twice the amount of money the nurses are on. And look the mess she’s caused.
Leave the nurses alone and resign! I stand with Sandie Peggie and all absolutely despise the management class who have never put a pair of blue gloves in in their lives. No compassion. No empathy. You are all lunatics!
Same.
Sandie Peggie’s going to win. NHS Fife is dismantling themselves. Right in time for the release of the Corton Vale diaries of the Destroyer of Women’s rights. Criminal conspirator and entirely corrupt politician. She/her.
Scotland is uniting behind Sandie Peggie!
The definitions in the lesbian and gay boxes refer to girl and boy which is surely illegal given the age of consent is 16!
They may have a million or more genders on their charts but there is only a handful of nutters who want to tick their boxes and half of them are in the jail. With more to get jailed in the not to distant future.
There isn’t enough lunatics to fill their charts.
The plans of rats and women.
To use the vernacular this article sets out the utter bollocks waste of time and resources that organisations like NHS Fife spend on nonsense.
Pity the poor sad sacks waiting cancer treatment, or any other treatments that are now on the long finger for want of resources.
This is what Swinney and his wacko cohorts support. They have money to blow, the publics money at that, to blow and blow and blow.
And blow and blow they do and not just on the MHS but in so many other aspects of our society. Education, the Police Service, local authorities, the civil service and more have all squandered tens and tens of millions, if not hundreds of millions on this woo woo nonsense.
All the policies and procedures that had to be re written in these organisations, all the training in diversity in these organisations, the employment of diversity officers, the re branding of everything from letter headings, to signage, to the livery on vehicles, the spend just goes on and on. Just look around you and you’ll see this bull all around. All had to be designed implemented, and bought and paid for.
And then there’s all the legal fees, the damages claims, and the staff time tied up in the nonsense. Just think what the Sandie Peggie case alone will cost – ten million pounds or so. And NHS Fife have no money for healthcare.
Me, I quite frankly wonder how the donkey mind can put up with all this squander. Cutting treatment to fund this is just unbelievable, but that’s where we are.
Folks should truly think about that when they wait, possibly dying, for want of treatment.
Aye, it’s mind bogglingly WRONG . . on so many levels, not just the financial, though that is hugely important in cash stripped public services whose ability to meet public need is cobbled.
Chromosomes are not internal organs ffs
Some may find of relevance this comment from a previous thread:
DOOYEWEERD: NORMS AND NORMATIVITY
link to wingsoverscotland.com
Oh dear:
a) NHS Fife re Intersex “…sexual organs. This can mean internal organs – such as chromosomes or ovaries…”
Since when were chromosomes organs?
b) IPM on PGPs: “…becoming more common as a standard practice. Many suggest removing the “preferred”, because it indicates flexibility and/or the power for the speaker to decide which pronouns to use for someone else.”
These are people talking about “sex coercively assigned at birth”, yet they don’t want me to be able to decide which words I use??? Isn’t that coercion/compulsion?
And don’t they want flexibility for the “gender-fluid”?
I can only hope that all this will become LESS common as standard practice, to the point that it disappears completely up its own fundament (whatever gender that is identifying as at the time).
crazycat: had these men never been allowed to bring their fetish into the public space, into workplaces and elsewhere, we would not be in this mess now. What people do in their private homes is up to them, but the moment they impinge on others’ rights, they should be open to prosecution, not others who are upholding the law.
Until exactly what this is, is acknowledged, we are in for a long, bumpy ride. Almost every sexologist, even Anne Lawrence, who was ‘trans’ identified himself, identified these traits as sexual fetish (transvestism) or autogynephilia (sexual/erotic love of oneself as a ‘woman’). What they are doing today was, yesterday, illegal, criminal and an offence that could lead to arrest. It is entirely sexual, and we all know it.
Those who practise it know it’s sexual, but to admit that would be the end of it, because safeguarding of children and females would have to take priority. The ‘woke’ want all of these things given ‘normality’ regardless of whose boundaries are transgressed or what the law states. Also, by creating new statue law instead of using the common law, they circumvented long-held taboos around voyeurism, exhibitionism and many other sexual fetishes. Even if women and children are not raped or sexually assaulted, they do still have the right not to be exposed to this stuff that regards them as non consenting bit players in some men’s fantasies.
Spot on.
BBC News / Scotland / Edinburgh Fife and East. Nothing on the Fife NHS and Sandie Peggie case yet today. Funny, I thought.
Most likley be there will be an DNB (do not broadcast ) attached to the article further proof the televised media who are supposed to be a conduit for the people carry out SNP directives
For those still hanging on to the treaty of union,
It must be correctly mentioned that there are only two sexes as being British, and I believe two religions are mentioned.
Based on that treaty, the rest are not being of, natural born body as him or her, he or she, male or female the only two sexes natural referred to as Great Britain subjects,.
The same goes for the only written down religions mentioned on that old parchment worded treaty.
Does NHS Fife not welcome Heterosexual?
No mention of the majority of people.
Meanwhile in other news, (and pay attention to the last paragraph from the article re devolution) Farage has spoken, this from the Daily Mail 21/7/25 as it relates to the EHCR and independence.
“Mr Farage conceded that very little of the programme will be possible until the UK leaves the European Court of Human Rights.
The UK would have to give six months’ notice of the exit to the Council of Europe – a separate organisation to the EU.
But a Reform government would almost certainly have to pass legislation confirming the desire to leave, similar to that needed for Brexit.
Experts believe Mr Farage would also have to repeal or significantly amend a swathe of domestic legislation including the Human Rights Act.
In the absence of approval from Holyrood all devolution laws might need to be torn up, including the Good Friday Agreement in Northern Ireland.“
Gender, identity politics, and the UN may be of interest, but if Farage gets his way, you can kiss Holyrood goodbye, along with an iScot, as the SNP will never be able to get a majority at Westminster for independence.
Holyrood is the only sinking ship where the rats have decided to stay.
Fuxache, Mark, a right good belly laugh at that 🙂
Anent the uselessness and idiocy of NHS Fife management – I don’t know if her post technically counts as management but I did think, from the evidence of Lottie Myles at the Peggie tribunal yesterday, that there might be at least one person in a decision-making role who is not completely tuned to the moon. A small sign of sanity.
The wider point is that in many organisations there will be plenty of rational folk – the majority of the population! – who’ve felt compelled to keep their heads down as the shouty loudmouthed activist cadres make the running. If we are truly witnessing the beginning of the end of this idiocracy, three cheers!
Meanwhile the warped and twisted evidence continues today with Kate Searle!
Indeed! I hear you’re a racist now, Ted. The moronic idiocy of these people is beyond satire. Almost said ‘suture’ there.
I would like to dedicate this song to Mr. Upton:
“Boys Keep Swinging”
Heaven loves ya
The clouds part for ya
Nothing stands in your way when you’re a boy
Clothes always fit ya
Life is a pop of the cherry when you’re a boy
When you’re a boy, you can wear a uniform
When you’re a boy, other boys check you out
You get a girl, these are your favorite things
When you’re a boy
Boys
Boys
Boys keep swinging
Boys always work it out
Uncage the colors, unfurl the flag
Luck just kissed you hello
When you’re a boy
They’ll never clone you, you are always first on the line
When you’re a boy
When you’re a boy, you can buy a home of your own
When you’re a boy, learn to drive and everything
You’ll get your share
When you’re a boy
Boys
Boys
Boys keep swinging
Boys always work it out
” … an illustration of how far Scotland has sunk since Alex Salmond stood down.”
Alex Salmond voted for the Gender Recognition Act in 2003. He’s as complicit in this as all the rest.
No, he isn’t.
I wonder if NHS view Paedophilia as normal and reducing the age of consent down to 10 years is normal ?
That’s a question for Greens MSP Patrick Harvie. He’s the proud recipient of an award from the deceased chief cheese of the now defunct P.I.E. (Paedophile Information Exchange)
He’ll know.
Indeed.
We knew at 13 weeks that we were expecting a daughter, that’s approximately 24 weeks before birth. So AFAB is just bollocks, or in her case, no bollocks.
“… straight (attracted to the same gender)”
I suspect “same” was meant to say “opposite”. [but they can’t say that as that implies two genders, so their heads imploded!]
What this really illustrates, is how little checking took place before this soup of words was published.
A whole department producing gibberish and nobody sanity checking it!
Well said.
I saw that too and just gave up bothering even trying to understand their jibber jabber claptrap..
I wonder if that is a Freudian slip with the idea that men who have relationships with Trans women thinking they are straight?
I certainly only fancy people who aren’t non-binary. Glad to feel seen and validated by NHS Fife.
Ach, as an occasional engine builder, I thought bigender described an entity that identified as being / or was attracted to the large journal end of a conrod.
Welcome to Sturgeon’s Scotland, a.k.a the tartan shitshow, that can’t distinguish a woman from a man.
Meanwhile, Swinney fiddles whilst the country circles the drain.
Pretty much.
It’s shocking.
It looks like Dr Searle has taken it upon herself to be Judge, Jury and executioner.
Yup.
It’s weirdly similar to the behind the scenes shenanigans recruiting people to testify against / stitch up Alec Salmond.
Is it case the Scottish government can’t step into it as they are the cause. It’s their secret cult of spotty kids and managers. All on the payroll.
MB @8.07
A depressingly accurate assessment I suspect.
Yet NHS Fife internal disciplinary procedure has cleared Sandie of all charges/allegations against her.
Today she has been accused of a hate crime.
What does tomorrow hold – an accusation of genocide?
Can the UK government step in on this scandalous behaviour?
No matter the outcome Dr Upton will have to change in his very own cubicle, which is what he is really all about. He is fucked in his own cubicle. He won’t last.
Mark Beggan says:
22 July, 2025 at 7:43 pm
Can the UK government step in on this scandalous behaviour?
———————————————–
The UK supreme Court has already stepped in and told people what they should do.
“What does tomorrow hold – an accusation of genocide?”
Well, to be fair, the bar for that is being lowered all the time these days.
For Everything, and that is EVERYTHING, I say ‘Follow the Money’and you’ll find the real criminals behind this enterprise …just like everything else.
The Scottish government are the criminals. It’s our money being spent on insulting us.
Yip. A criminal mafia.
And a disgusting bunch of perverts to boot.
A song for Dr Upton:
link to tinyurl.com
Radiohead Creep.
Wait, just when I think I’m keeping up we get “trans*” – what does the * mean?! (Other than I’m an attention seeking, unhinged, idiot?)
Its become very obvious that having failed to purge the nurse through suspending her that they are trying all the other buzz words to see if they can make something stick and try and show how the incident was because she was being unreasonable.
Not surprised about the docs sticking together, its what they always do when anyone threatens them no matter what weirdness or incompetence they display.
They have over the last week, patient safety, racism, Trump support and this leaves only kiddyfiddling and bullying to try from the playbook.
Thankfully and unusually they keep running into the fact that there were no previous reports of such behaviour and they cannot even say when and where they supposedly happened, kudos to the tribunal for simply throwing them out as nonsense.
NHS Fife really need to stop digging, apologise to the woman and move on, digging further is just making their idiocy look worse.
Oh and sack their DEI woman and have the head of HR and the CE resign for wasting a huge whack of cash.
WHY should any of these deviants and perverts get to resign, NHS Fife have been acting unlawfully against the rulings of the SC and the work act, they should not only be SACKED they should be sued individually by all parties affected by this lunacy, as I have said repeatedly these arseholes eagerly and enthusiastically grab the positions and exorbitant salaries but they also eagerly and enthusiastically AVOID accepting responsibility for their GROSS INCOMPETENCE
It HAS to change that these cretins MUST face corporate responsibility
Totally agree Twathater.
These sickos know exactly what they’ve done, and doing. They are in these positions to serve themselves not the public services they are sworn to.
The punishment needs to be severe and public in order to kill this cancer.
Yup. I’m old testament on this too.
If I have to fall on my sword when I fuck up, so should every other fucker.
ESPECIALLY the ones who haven’t just pranged a wing mirror or done some other minor silliness, but have caused untold (horrific) personal, financial and career damage to many innocents and their families.
Nurse Peggie has been put through hell, but so has all her close people. And yet the people responsible for her pain and hardship use the public purse like it’s free money at their sole disposal.
And that’s just ONE of the problems with unaccountable power.
A colonial and hence dominated society will always be left subject to whatever form of cultural imperialism its external rulers decide to impose on them through colonial institutions.
Changing ‘a peoples’ belief in their identity is a key aim of colonial rule, and no matter whether it is ‘gender’ or ‘British’ or whatever identity, these are all cultural illusions enforced by hateful fascist tendencies and laws, fascism sitting at the root of colonialism, always ‘looking for its punishment’ to impose on those unwilling to conform (Cesaire).
An oppressed people first have to get rid of colonialism!
It is amazing how the esteemed Professor manages to shoehorn his favourite subject into EVERY thread irrespective of what the article actually concerns.
At least we were spared a ‘link’ to his mince……….this time! Of course, there is still the obligatory quote from some numpty.
The nutters lap it up.
Correct definitions are very important, as the Rev illustrates. Important then for an oppressed colonized people to know that independence means decolonization, and liberation from oppression (by another culture etc):
link to cpb-us-w2.wpmucdn.com
If you are not happy with what Alf has to say the solution is simple, just sling your hook.
Oh goody. Another link provided by our learned Professor. I wonder who wrote the subject matter in the link. Surprise, surprise, it is from Alfie Boy himself. Just like all the others.
Some people have a very high opinion of themselves ………. for some unknown reason.
Auld Highlander.
I did look at one of the links provided a long time ago. A quick glance simply revealed that, if Baird was chocolate he would eat himself. I suspect that the repetitive mince he posts actually puts people of Wings and Independence. You continue to read it if you want. I can’t stop you.
How about readers are freed from the colonialism of Professor Baird colonising this forum with er posts about colonialism?
Meanwhile back in the real world I see the current edition of Private Eye magazine has an article on one Peter Murrell. P14
Operation Branchform has cost £2.1 million
The Procurator Fiscal has spent £460k
Oh and Mr Murrell is eligible to receive legal aid in part due to the decision of Scotlands Lord Advocate one Dorothy Bain.
See how much more interesting and relevant this is than posting about colonialism ad nauseum?
Of course we always have the option of scrolling on by, but to ignore the endless tide of incoherent waffle perpetuated by the usual suspects takes rather a lot of scrolling. When was the last time a serious conversation or debate occurred on here relevant to the social, economic or governance context of Scotland, or about a serious strategy for achieving independence? Isn’t that what the site should be for? Yet it appears almost everyone with a degree of sanity or a normal temperament has surrendered to the obsessives a long time ago. I genuinely cannot comprehend what might be achieved by posting the same message over and over again to the same people on almost an hourly basis.
Far be it from me to instruct the owner of the blog as to how to moderate it, but I wonder if a trial period where “colony” and variations of that word triggers moderation might help some of the more frequent posters address the unfortunate situation they appear to have got themselves into. That and maybe “Treaty”. That might help promote some more fruitful political discussions, rather than say a transcript of an average day in the state hospital.
But no-one at all laps your Daily Express unionist shite up.
Shut up, you plonker.
‘… these are all cultural illusions enforced by hateful fascist tendencies and laws, fascism sitting at the root of colonialism …’
Yeah, those “hateful fascist tendencies” don’t seem to stop you from freely sharing slandering the country and State where you live (presumably whilst being paid a pension by said State) – without fear of persecution or indeed any blowback at all. By using such absurdly polemic terms, you positively demean and insult those millions of poor souls around the world who DO live under such regimes, and would not be able to even imagine the luxury and immense position of privilege you enjoy (as paid for by others – your freedoms hard won within living memory).
What a truly absurd person you are. Sort yourself out.
Seriously>
You is havin’ a laff.
Just exactly the same “green and pleasant England” propping up failed Scotchland too wee too poor too stupid, begging bowl rubbish regurgitated under multiple pseudonyms in the run up to the 2014 referendum by Better Togethers pet poster; Blair McDonut.
His grandfather was (allegedly) in bomber command and a harking back to WW2 without any service to country since is his trademark p1sh.
Maybe they are one and the same, or, both as confused and brainwashed to the status quo as each other if not..
Alf: absolutely agree that colonialism is abhorrent, and I also agree that Scotland is certainly treated like a colony. I’m not convinced that it is a colony, but that’s just my opinion. The ‘trans’ s**tshow is definitely a colonization of female spaces and rights and conventions, and is, therefore, a new form of misogyny, tempered for our present day.
I can just about recall being a youngster, then a teenager, then just into my twenties, being married and having a child. At no point on that journey, did I ever believe that men could be women and vice versa. Never. I do recall, in my very early years, playing ‘boy’ games, but I also played ‘girl’ games, and I always felt that boys got the better deal in life’s lottery.
It is impossible to understand the ‘woke’/’trans’ movement without first understanding that it absolutely had to infiltrate every aspect of our lives, including our nurseries and schools, at every level, our public institutions, the NHS, etc. for the ideology to have any traction because, being wholly illogical and anti biology, it would collapse at the first hurdle if challenged need.
I want independence, have wanted it from around the age of 11 to now, and I’m no spring chicken, but not at the risk of importing this stuff into an independent Scotland. I’m sorry, but these people are not going to roll over and give up so easily. They don’t want independence because it would spoil the party, but, if we achieved it, the very first thing they would do is move into the top and middle positions in an independent Scotland. This ‘woke’/trans’ movement is inherently middle-class and will seek, as the middle-class always does, is to save itself.
It is a different form of colonization: more akin to a virus takeover of the body, except that viruses normally move from host to host when under threat in one. This lot’s aim is to destroy the body civil and political, economic and social. It is both nihilist and suicidal. It will not disappear on independence which is why it must be rooted out and killed off if our bodies civil, political, economic and social are to survive. It will require an absolutely ruthless and forensic dismantling of it at every level, such as Naomi Cunningham KC, is doing in the Nurse Peggie case, dragging its absurdities, cruelties and utter nonsense into the light – and, crucially, this must be done way before we embark on independence, which will not be the disinfectant so many appear to believe it will be.
Alf Baird puts forward a coherent and convincing argument based on sound and methodical academic research.
He’s written several papers and a book. Doun-Hauden, on the subject of Scotland’s colonisation.
He asserts that Scotland is effectively a colony and that the Scots have for three centuries and more been the victims of English imperial oppression.
A view supported by the eminent lawyer and King’s Counsel, Professor Robert Black KC, who also states that in his legal opinion Scotland no longer exists as a nation state and is now an illegally annexed territory of England.
The evidence accumulated over three centuries and more of Scotland’s subjugation under English colonial rule clearly supports Professor Baird’s argument.
Alf Baird’s comments here are invariably polite, mature and heroically restrained in the face of constant unionist derision and infantile personal abuse.
And yet, conversely, there’s barely a comment posted here by a unionist (colonialist?) that is anything other than childish insult, threat, lies, diversion, distraction, logical fallacy, or hate-filled anti-Scots racism.
Those ‘unionists’ who post here offer no argument to support their claim that Scotland benefits equally from a union, hoax or otherwise, with England – they offer no argument at all.
Professor Baird may have spent a lot of time on the subject, but that in itself isn’t a validation of the conclusions he has reached. There’s lots of individual criticisms that could be made, but just generally the overly tone of the work borders on slightly hysterical and conspiratorial and focuses on issues that are at best trivial and are really in the realm of archaeology rather than politics.
But aside from the, the professor does not engage with or discuss his work. He obsessively posts essentially the same thing over and over again in a way that adds nothing to whichever conversation he chooses to divert. Yet someone any criticism or highlighting of this behaviour is somehow “anti-Scottish” or unionist.
“heroically restrained”
Ok Dorothy We’ve heard enough.
To quote Northcode.
“There’s barely a comment posted here by a unionist (colonialist?) that is anything other than childish insult, threat, lies, diversion, distraction, logical fallacy, or hate-filled anti-Scots racism. ”
And now the ‘unionist’ pleads, sycophantically, with WoS direct to suppress the views of those who disagree with them. It’s the coloniser’s way don’t ya know – suppress and subjugate the natives. What arrogance!
“…obsessively posts essentially the same thing over and over again in a way that adds nothing to whichever conversation…”
Note how the colonialist projects every ‘sin’ they are guilty of themself on to their colonised victims.
I’m not calling for anyone’s views to be suppressed. I’m suggesting the quality of debate might be improved if reasonable measures (measures which have been adopted in relation to other topics) are extended to those who continually spam the comments section about colonialism and the Treaty of Union. It wouldn’t be acceptable for me to come on here every day advertising homemade dog food, so why should it be acceptable for others to post the same generalised comment hour after hour, day after day.
I like how you quote yourself. I wonder where you learnt how to do that.
Aidan says some stuff about NOT suppressing folk’s views:
“I’m not calling for anyone’s views to be suppressed…”
Aidan says some stuff about suppressing folk’s views:
Aidan says some stuff about debate:
“I’m suggesting the quality of debate might be improved…”
There is no such thing as ‘debate’ in this place. There are the opinions and arguments put forward by those who support Scottish independence and then there’s the onslaught of unionist anti-Scots racist insults that follows.
Aidan says some stuff about advertising:
It wouldn’t be acceptable for me to come on here every day advertising homemade dog food…”
Metaphorically, that’s pretty much what Aidan does – especially when losing an argument to Xaracen.
This quote from Northcode seems appropriate…
“There’s barely a comment posted here by a unionist (colonialist?) that is anything other than childish insult, threat, lies, diversion, distraction, logical fallacy, or hate-filled anti-Scots racism.”
@“Northcode” you are right about there being no such thing as debate in this place, but that’s a bad thing, not something to be proud of! Perhaps you could comment underneath the posts you think reflect high quality “opinions and arguments” and then highlight “hate-filed anti-Scottish racism” so we can see specifically what comments you are referring to.
I’ll happily highlight commenters like Dan below who I disagree with normally, but who do raise genuine points for discussion and actually contribute. I don’t object to people posting things I disagree with, I do call out what is essentially endless posts basically saying the same thing hour after hour. Perhaps rather than throwing out mad accusations of anti-Scottish racism, you could explain what value this behaviour is bringing to Scotland.
“This quote from Northcode seems appropriate…”
You are Northcode, why are you referring to yourself in the 3rd person? I would hope despite your obvious intellectual flaws that you didn’t disagree with something that you wrote 20 minutes ago.
“You are Northcode, why are you referring to yourself in the 3rd person?”
The answer to this question can only be understood, and indeed comprehended, by the superior intellects of born and bred Scots.
Perhaps this quote from Northcode might help those who aren’t Scots a little ways further along the path to true enlightenment…
Funnily enough NC, ayden, corporal arsehole,wee chassy the gowfer, agent fuckwit,yoony STUART and a whole host of other yoonies complain about the repetition of Prof Alf’s posts, yet every day they post endless screeds of Scotland BAD diatribe, NOT ONE of them has ever posted anything positive about being in this VILE union, you would almost think they are feart of what Alf is EXPOSING
When was the last time I posted something bad about Scotland?
‘… Alf Baird puts forward a coherent and convincing argument based on sound and methodical academic research.’
He has done the precise opposite: he’s made oft-repeated, entirely unsubstantiated, absurd, polemic sweeping statements about “Scotland being a colony”, “Scotland being governed by fascists” without one shred of supporting evidence. (No, linking your own work – repeatedly – doesn’t cut it as corroborative evidence or even material for a valid debate, let alone for bona fide academic purposes).
That being the case, he can hardly be surprised when criticised by his (many) incredulous detractors. Even moreso given that he never deigns to respond to any constructive criticism, merely sullen silence followed by more of the same recycled, unsubstantiated, unsupported polemic rubbish.
‘… in the face of constant unionist derision and infantile personal abuse.’
My post was perfectly civil – unlike yer man “James” whom you’re on record here of saying you appreciate so much (lol). Hey, maybe I should just respond with “Prick” or something like that, Northcode, since this seems to meet with your simpering admiration? It’s almost as though you have absurd, comedically demonstrable double standards: “the lady doth protest too much methinks” et al.
‘… here’s barely a comment posted here by a unionist (colonialist?) that is anything other than childish insult, threat, lies, diversion, distraction, logical fallacy, or hate-filled anti-Scots racism.
…
and then there’s the onslaught of unionist anti-Scots racist insults that follows.’
You and your absurd leftist ilk love to throw around these terms: “racist”, “fascist”, “hate-filled” – just like others like you do the same. These words cease to have any meaning; they’re reduced to childish slurs, when they should be taken A LOT more seriously (and used far more judiciously and reserved for grown-ups). In case you missed it, that’s the point.
‘… Those ‘unionists’ who post here offer no argument to support their claim that Scotland benefits equally from a union, hoax or otherwise, with England – they offer no argument at all.’
On the contrary (again), an easy-to-understand argument that a 10 year old could comprehend has been proffered, in the simplest possible terms, ergo Scotland is clearly not under the boot of the fascist and neither is it a colony, not least because Professor Baird enjoys repeated, absolute freedom to slander the UK, take action (however feeble) such as making representations to the UN, draws his pension, can be assured there has not been, and will not be, any blowback whatsoever. In stark contrast to the many places in the world that are living under the kosh, including mainland Europe within living memory, millions dying to afford him his freedom and luxury beliefs.
I agree, even if I don’t agree with every word Alf says. He is a distinguished academic and researcher and deserves respect.
“There’s barely a comment posted here by a unionist (colonialist?) that is anything other than childish insult, threat, lies, diversion, distraction, logical fallacy, or hate-filled anti-Scots racism.”
I guess we could debate forever whether it is even possible for one Sovereign Scot to be racist towards another Sovereign Scot holding a different opinion.
But hey, let’s dispense with all the boring logical stuff and jump straight to the conclusion. As NC states in all of his first, second and third person instantiations, yes, one SS CAN be racist to another SS, simply by disagreeing on matters of opinion.
But then uh-oh! Both SS’s, being of identical race, MUST logically be equally guilty of racism.
Ye’re a bad doggy, NC! Nae biscuit fer ye!
A staunch unionist (colonialist?), and a proud Ingle tae boot, on here has just re-stated almost the entirety of a post I made earlier in support of Professor Alf Baird and his robust and thoroughly researched academic work on how postcolonial theory supports the view that Scotland is a non-self-governing-territory (effectively a colony) and has been for more than three centuries.
This is a terrific development for Scotland’s independence movement.
It’s a clear sign that many of those who currently support the ‘union’ are beginning to understand the soundness of the logic underpinning Alf Baird’s argument.
It’s a clear sign that many unionists are now beginning to realise that Scotland will be much more successful – and by every possible measure – as an independent sovereign state.
And it’s a startlingly clear sign, astonishing even, that unionists are beginning to see how much better life will be for the Scots once they are rid of the thoroughly dug-in vampiric tick – euphemistically called their partner in union – sucking the life out of them.
I’m sure we indigenous Scots on here can agree that Alf Baird is doing a fantastic job of converting unionists (colonialists?) into supporters of Scottish independence.
Keep up the good work, Alf.
And well done that unionist – if indeed they can still be considered a unionist after such a courageous and open display of support for Professor Alf Baird and Scottish independence – for enveloping the light of reason.
That unionist will never again be considered a rude simple-minded ignorant idiot from this moment forward – if indeed they were ever unjustly considered such by any indigenous Scot on here.
Oh, and James. As I’m sure you’re already aware… rhetorical speech when deployed in argument isn’t always the well-mannered polite exchange of points it’s often made out to be.
Sometimes the response to a particularly stupid attempt at making some useless point or other by a singularly dim-witted opponent merits nothing more than a one-word reply… if a reply is merited at all.
A single word that, perhaps, makes a statement about an opponent’s point in argument, their argument entire, and the intellectual prowess of that opponent, all captured in a way that delivers the appropriate sentiment with devastating efficiency.
It takes an expert such as yourself, James, to deploy the right word at the right moment against the right point and to an opponent deserving of its pride popping power.
In such a scenario an often very effective one-word rhetorical pomposity buster is the pejorative use of the word, ‘prick’.
I will give it to you Northcode, that is quite an amusing post, and a spirited defence of what you obviously know to be obsessive waffling. Good man. If people are going to indulge in absolute nonsense, it’s better to do it with a sense of humour.
‘… Sometimes the response to a particularly stupid attempt at making some useless point or other by a singularly dim-witted opponent merits nothing more than a one-word reply… if a reply is merited at all.’
Meh. Well, I would take your advice, but I’m well aware of your tender sensibilities, Northcode. I don’t want you flouncing off in a huff, crying into your Earl Grey tea about being “beaten down by Unionists”.
Again.
(I’ll let others judge why it is that none on your “side” – least of all the Good Professor – ever seeks to actually engage any of the germane points regarding Scotland quite clearly not being governed by “fascists”, being s colony etc. whilst cheerfully having free votes, referendums, free unfettered speech, an ability to constantly slander and demean the State without fear of any recourse etc. etc., and instead indulges in pathetic “humour” that falls flat on its arse, insults, goading and trolling. Speaks volumes matey).
I think that it is less that we are colonized than that we have allowed ourselves to be treated as a colony for more than 300 years. The legal arguments, to my mind, stack up to a Treaty having been concluded and the Scots having allowed themselves to be subordinated through compliance, political weakness and sheer stupidity and acquiescence, a ridiculous refusal to actually understand the legal implications and remedies available to us. I can forgive a lot of things, but I cannot forgive that kind of deliberate and wilful stupidity and blaming the English constantly for our own failings, like a toddler who throws his/her dinner to the dog and blames his/her parents.
@ Lorn at 4:15 pm
It’s definitely okay to blame the Scots for the prevailing Union, and jist ignore things like the red coats setting up garrisons all over Scotland to subdue the Scots rebelling post Union.
Aye, the red coats were really jist modern day Butlins Yellow jackets helpfully there to police anti-social practices like dog fouling and littering.
The clearances were actually jist Scots fucking off abroad to warmer climes where they could party and drink mead like they do in modern times in Ibiza.
That’s actually how house music was born, because they could burn down yer hoose but they cannot burn the sound of music.
Well, technically I guess they could burn rudimentary traditional instruments like wooden bagpipes, flutes, and fiddles. But I digress.
FFS, maybe cut the Scots some slack seeing as they are mostly brainwashed by BritNat controlled MSM and social media.
You really need to consider Plato’s Allegory of Cave.
When their buttons and switches and knobs – and they have many – are pushed or flicked or twiddled… they reveal themselves.
Next time… the difference between a unionist and a colonialist; how to spot which is which; and why it might be worthwhile engaging with one but definitely not the other.
Lolz, is Aiden for real?
Like Jolly Boy John, For Real?
Burnistoun.
Northcode/Dan: Scotland in no way, taken as a whole, and over more than 300 years, benefits from being in the Union. That we are perceived by many as actually being a colony I cannot accept, and I know I diverge from Alf’s and Professor Black’s arguments. Everything I have ever read about the Treaty and the Union tells me that we were not subsumed, and nor are we a colony.
What I do believe is that we have acted, always, against our best interests. I know that England-as-Britain, with the help of Lowland Scots, oppressed Highland Scotland, and some terrible consequences for the people flowed from that oppression. We have always betrayed ourselves.
However, I can see very powerful parallels between the Scots from 1707 to the present day and women today in that many of our number in each case has collaborated with those who seek to oppress us, and colluded in their schemes.
The Sandie Peggie case is showing in full colour just how stupidly and thoughtlessly many women behave in the service of men, totally against their own interests as a sex class. It is almost as if they have been brainwashed, and I rather think they have, in a way. It’s called female socialization and it deliberately trains (most) females to be passive and accommodating towards males, against any rational thought process. That many do not succumb is to be lauded. I don’t think I have ever in my life come so close to understanding the war aftermath revenge in the form the stripping almost naked of these idiot women, shaving their heads and tarring and feathering them as I have in the past few years. The betrayal is almost beyond human endurance.
I feel very much the same about those Scots – Unionists – who thoughtlessly and selfishly condemn the rest of us to a lifetime under the yoke when we should be making our own decisions, taking our own risks and making our own mistakes according to our own lights. However, never have I come so close to feeling real, undiluted hatred towards anyone as I have towards those so-called independence-supporting Scots in the Scottish parliament and the SNP, and their cohort, for their lack of moral fibre, their utter lack of courage and their craven complicity and stupidity in their non pursuit of independence.
The English and perverted men could not have undermined either the Scots or females had either had the nous, courage and moral fibre to refuse to be co-opted. We know it all comes down to money, in both cases, and the ruthless pursuit of it by people with no conscience and/or a god complex.
These psychopaths/sociopaths/narcissists/sadists/self-interested/selfish people infest our societies and we are too lazy and/or inept and/or frightened to challenge them. We blame them for our failure to do anything to stop them until it is (almost) too late. At the 11th hour, we waken up and panic before we get to work to try and fix what we were too lazy, stupid and lacking in moral fibre to prevent even as we recognized that it was destroying us. Perhaps that is our greatest saving grace as a species: that we do come to understand, eventually, that we have to do something to save ourselves.
And your going to colonial hell as a punishment for being a gibbering auld dafty.
Aye, cos I actually agree with Lorn on many matters, this wee disagreement actually matters.
Lorn, we are a colony.
Tnere’s no two way’s about it.
“Tnere’s no two way’s about it.”
Erm… two way’s of what?
Aye, some queer thinking around….
Lorn says:
“I want independence, have wanted it from around the age of 11 to now, and I’m no spring chicken, but not at the risk of importing this stuff into an independent Scotland. I’m sorry, but these people are not going to roll over and give up so easily. They don’t want independence because it would spoil the party, but, if we achieved it, the very first thing they would do is move into the top and middle positions in an independent Scotland. This ‘woke’/trans’ movement is inherently middle-class and will seek, as the middle-class always does, is to save itself.”
That reads a bit proudScot but…
A timely reminder that the genderwoowoo has already been imported into Scotland with us being part of the UK, delivered by UK civil service and Scottish politicians.
And that’s the same cultural wars situation with all manner of bollox like re-wilding and NetZero pish, which if anybody bothered to have a look at would see that these matters also absorb massive amounts of taxpayer’s cash similarly to the genderwoowoo nonsense.
And it’s not just the NuSNP that promote all this shite. It’s textbook divide and rule tactics as “pro-Indy” and “pro-Union” political parties packed with grifters play off the voters off against each other with the melding of policy choices and the constitutional matter.
Aye, Scotland is already green as fuck compared to other countries, but we’re told and taxed to reduce our emissions even further by all manner of virtue signalling arseholes whilst they go on foreign holidays, and our governments are endlessly blowing shit with their warring efforts.
The whole point of returning to self-governing status is so we can finally vote in (and out should they err), the fully empowered governments we choose, and make a start at getting rid of all this imported and unwanted globalist corporate crap.
@Dan – you’re obviously right, but at the moment there is no place more supportive of this kind of stuff than the SNP run Scottish Government. Are you sure that post independence it’s not just going to be this but on steroids, outside of the constraints of the devolution system? In terms of Scottish politics, which party nails its flag squarely to the mast in opposition, probably the Scottish Conservatives, and how are they polling?
@ Aidan
Be more alert!
Have you not noticed you’ve been regularly posting on a site that highlights the rather obvious situation that the NuSNP aren’t genuinely interested in returning Scotland to self-governing status, so won’t deliver independence to be in the dominant position of power to push the shit they can currently get away with pushing in the Union.
It’s your preference for the Union, and other supposedly proud pro-Indy but… dullards that effectively maintain the status quo of the UK’s political construct that facilitates and keeps on delivering this shite, because as I explained in my previous post, the divide and rule tactics mean folk try to vote for one thing but get served another.
Near monomaniacal obsession by some on genderwoowoo matters isn’t really that helpful in the overall scheme of things, because it’s only one issue amongst many that need scrutiny and discussion, so more folk can get up the curve and therefore make better informed choices.
Some seem to lack awareness and consider that individuals with enough sense to understand and counter the genderwoowoo, will likely also have enough of a brain that they can also see the insanity of other crap and unwanted policies.
So it could be a win win in broader terms of sorting out all manner of ridiculous policies being foisted onto our society if only more folk would be receptive and supportive of the decent individuals making the brave commitment of standing to deliver change.
@Dan – I’m well aware of that, and well aware that the nuSNP see gender (and the stuff that is highlighted above) as a far higher priority than independence, but turn the independence issue on on their campaign material every time an election looms to galvanise the c.30% of Scotland who wanted independence but don’t seem to have realised the above.
However, I don’t think you answered my point. All this gender stuff isn’t being foisted by England on a Scotland desperately trying to resist it. Quite the opposite as uncomfortable as that is, it’s the U.K. institutions that are providing the only effective barrier, for example by blocking the GRR bill and the Supreme Court FWS judgement. Should Scotland become independent in 2026 (flying pigs but let’s pretend) would all the people in Scottish politics, academic, civil society and the third sector who are so committed to the gender unicorn decide to abandon all this stuff, or double down freed from the constraints of being in the U.K. I think it’s a genuine problem that we have to grapple with that many of the people who hold the levers of power in this country a) believe this stuff to the core, and b) think it is by far the most important issue to the exclusion of all else. This is why a new political organisation needs to come through now, pre-Indy!
@ Aidan
Yawn, even AI can work out this basic stuff.
“,i>The saying “Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake” means that it’s strategically advantageous to allow your opponent to continue with a self-destructive course of action, rather than intervening and potentially helping them correct their error or giving them a chance to recover. It’s a principle of taking advantage of an opponent’s missteps to increase your own chances of success.”
A post back you were bigging up the Scottish Conservatives as the ones taking a stance against the genderwoowoo in Scotland.
That’s the Scottish branch office of the Conservative and Unionist Party… who had been in power in Westminster for the majority of the time this genderwoowoo nonsense has been rolled out across the constituent parts of the UK.
I didn’t see them in power at Westminster in England kyboshing the rainbow coloured bare arsed dildo sporting monkey running about the library to get kids interested in reading, and the rainbow coloured zebra crossings frightening the police horses…
It’s just globalist divide and rule bollox being delivered and implemented across many societies by sinister means, helped along by dumb arse useful idiots.
Waiting on some organisations suing Dentons because they sold them a policy delivery pup that couldn’t stand the short test of time when light was finally cast on it.
@Dan – again your not wrong, the conservatives were ideologically against it on television but did very little to stop it in practice, but that’s still a big different from the SNP who are hugely in favour of it and see it as the number 1 priority. I didn’t “big up” the conservatives, I explained that they are the only party in Holyrood not explicitly in support of it.
So again, how can you be confident that in an independent Scotland, the electorate with a) have the option, and b) vote for the option, of getting rid of all this stuff. As often dark and normally bizarre as all of this kind of thing is, it isn’t a top 10 area for most voters. If the SNP have anything to do with writing a future Scottish constitution, you can bet your bottom dollar that Genderwoowoo will be hard coded into it requiring a 2/3rds majority to change.
@ Aidan
Seeing as you’re the smart arse with all the answers, then why don’t you tell me how confident you are the Kingdom of Scotland can get rid of genderwoowoo and all manner of other shite and thrive by remaining in your preferred Union with the Kingdom of England.
Over 3 hundred years have shown Scotland is pretty much guaranteed to get the shitty end of the “better together” Union stick.
Power devolved is power retained afterall…
Scotland with 96% oil and 65% gas of UK domestic fields and no refinery… when the KoE with 4% oil and 35% gas fields has half a dozen.
I worked in the oil and gas industry opening up new and developing existing major energy producing and revenue generating fields, and for what. For Westminster to piss it all away when Norway with prudent fossil fuel management now has an oil fund investment that generates a significant revenue stream they can spend on what they want.
Then there’s the renewable heist by foreign owned corporates…
Population growth rate disparity creating demographic issues, exacerbated by all the white flight English rocking up here pricing out the locals because they allowed their own “green and pleasant” land to be fucked over by electing successive arsehole UK governments.
The KoS and the KoE having differing societal needs, so require differing policies to best suit their specific needs. But the ten to one democratic advantage the KoE has over the KoS within the UK setup means Scotland just gets what England wants.
So c’mon then, as a unionist and with Scotland being in the Union, you can start delivering for Scotland, or just fuck off with your endless nit-picking and diversionary shite.
Happy to talk about that as soon as you point me to the posts where I’ve been promoting the union as you say
You believe what you like, Dan. I have been a nationalist, not just an independence supporter, my whole life, but I see the danger now very clearly. Almost every bit of the ‘woke’ is absolute ordure, and, yes, other aspects of it are costing the public purse heavily, but the ‘trans’ part of it is the vanguard to destroy societal cohesion.
It is the post modernist, cultural Marxist, nihilists of there hard left who are doing this. The rights is sitting back reaping the rewards although, they, too, supporting this rubbish for a number of years. Thatcherism actually ushered it in by creating the political, social and economic desert from which it sprang. The right always enables the left and vice versa, each as bereft of useful ideas as the other because they cannot ever acknowledge that your average voter is made up of bits of all parties, creeds, ideologies and beliefs, so they will always alienate them.
It all comes down to this in the end: those in power, wherever they are, see a younger generation coming up who are, essentially, captured by idiot ideologies and delusions. Not all of them, by any means, but a goodly number. Now, with 16 and 17 year olds being eligible to vote, too, at the next GE, they are scared of becoming irrelevant.
They will become irrelevant despite all their efforts to remain relevant. I have never heard of any generation which actually heeded the wiser warnings of the previous one. Indeed, part of being the new generation is that you quite deliberately ignore those warning until it is too late because the old f**ts know nothing, and, even if they, do, they will ignore them, anyway, and be forced, further down the line, to reinvent the wheel as every generation does. It is probably the worst human failing of them all.
The real, underlying cruelty and nihilism of Year Zero ‘woke’/’trans’ – ‘trans’ being a sub set of ‘woke’ – is how women and girls, gay people, the working-class (who are always conservative with a small ‘c’) and those who want, genuinely, a fairer and more decent society, but who acknowledge that rights bring responsibilities – have all been used and abused, treated with contempt and despised by these middle-class, virtue-signalling morons who, themselves, are, speaking generally, exempt from the fall-out and mess.
@ Lorn
I’m only saying it like I see it.
If you see the danger of all this woke stuff very clearly now, then it would be helpful if you commented on other aspects of it when such matters are brought up, rather than just your main focus being the genderwoowoo.
Many a mickle maks a muckle an aw that…
You’re articulate in describing things to the point I have bookmarked many of your posts over the years to share with folk as and when the chance arises.
The green leaning vote needs to be made aware that whilst the Green Party are so focused on pushing the genderwoowoo, there are other things going on relating to environmental matters that show the genuine green voters are not being well served in environmental matters.
EG. Failed Deposit Return Scheme costing the taxpayer millions.
People need to be made aware of bullshit like significant amounts of taxpayer’s cash being spaffed away on dodgy solar and air-sourced heatpump installations, through dodgy schemes that assist the extensively well off and landed rentier class getting their properties up to regulation standard on our dime.
And pish like Scottish Water using unsuitable leccy fleet vehicles to “save the planet”, and giving the bosses big bonuses when they are still pumping untreated effluent into our rivers, and through lack of dynamism and engagement missing opportunities to upgrade wastewater treatment infrastructure as and when the chance arises.
The pushing of leccy cars when our own rail network is only basically electrified as far north as Dunblane.
I don’t get it. Why would you not be supportive of and interested in discussing the myriad other aspects that could help inform a wider range of folk on what’s going on, and express why Scotland really has to regain all powers necessary to right the wrongs we have endured for way too long.
It just tweaks my spidey senses somewhat when those that purport to be lifelong Scottish nationalists fall silent on so many other matters that could be improved upon if we had better structures of governance and accountability to deliver sensible and required policy.
Dan: I absolutely agree with you about many of the genuine green issues, and, contrary to what you seem to think of me, I have often referred to them. My personal take is that we cannot ditch oil until we have something tangible in its place with which the majority of the population is happy. We cannot ditch capitalism until such times as we have a better economic model from which to work. A mixed economy is, to my mind, a far better option than ultra left utopianism. I have always spoken out against the privatisation of the public utilities, and time has proven that state-owned utilities work better, although I concede your point that Scottish Water is not really all that better than English Water, but still better.
I support a Palestinian state, while recognising that the West Bank is probably on the way to being absorbed into Israel, and that would leave only Gaza, but I will not condemn Israel for fighting for its life, and I utterly abhor anti Semitism. I am not opposed to managed immigration, but the uncontrolled illegal immigration is a recipe for disaster, in my opinion. We should be training our own young people for the jobs of the future, and, if we want to grow our population, we should be encouraging young women to have babies without its damaging their economic status.
As for my nationalism and independence support, I am a republican, but I have no life-or-death objections to a royal family, so long as they are reduced and are a constitutional monarchy. I am not anti English and have no knee-jerk reactions to them because I know they will always be our neighbours, and I hope that, one day, the UK can be like the Scandis and co-operate across the board. I suppose I am a realist and pragmatist, Dan.
Normal is a clear cut term in statistics. If your behaviour falls into the range of 80% of the population, you are normal. Simples.
Regarding the colonialism question, the following Vimeo discussion with Bill Rolston will be of interest to Scots, even though its focus is on Ireland:
‘IRELAND, COLONIALISM AND THE UNFINISHED REVOLUTION’
link to gobha-uisge.blogspot.com
I don’t think the gender woo woo was really imported, the idea maybe but the distance that the SNP and the greens took it down the road was done in Scotland, by Scots, empowered by listening msps who would never have got in fptp as msps.
This bollox is nothing to do with the independence argument and is all internally produced
link to theguardian.com
There’s an alarmingly threatening big ocean out there beyond our stagnant muddy Scottish puddle. Check out this 2023 interview:
JENNIFER BILEK: WHO IS BEHIND THE TRANS AGENDA?
Rob does not think ‘gender woo woo’ was really imported therefore he/she must be able to cite at least some documentary sources to show Scots authorship and, in particular, chronological priority for invention of ’gender woo woo’ by Scots persons either in Scotland or in a diaspora of Scots origin. Parallel invention claims do require cultural isolation.
If Rob can do that, then it will be necessary for him/her to address the issue (well articulated by Alf Baird) of whether the possible Scots originator(s) of ‘gender woo woo’ might exhibit a state of consciousness conditioned by Colonialism. Such conditioning is by definition exogenous and effectively shifts the origin away from Scotland to a Metropolitan power, somewhere.
Time for you to ‘put your money where your mouth is’, Rob.
I suggest that ‘gender woo woo’ is imported.
Rob does not think ‘gender woo woo’ was really imported therefore he/she must be able to cite at least some documentary sources to show Scots authorship and, in particular, chronological priority for invention of ’gender woo woo’ by Scots persons either in Scotland or in a diaspora of Scots origin. Parallel invention claims do require cultural isolation.
If Rob can do that, then it will be necessary for him/her to address the issue (well articulated by Alf Baird) of whether the possible Scots originator(s) of ‘gender woo woo’ might exhibit a state of consciousness conditioned by Colonialism. Such conditioning is by definition exogenous and effectively shifts the origin away from Scotland to a Metropolitan power, somewhere.
Time for you to ‘put your money where your mouth is’, Rob.
I suggest that ‘gender woo woo’ is imported.
Now Fearghas (below) has produced the link to definitive material.
Thank you, Fearghas.
@Fearghas
Thankyou for that Bill Rolston video,
Indeed very interesting to hear the distilled observations from his book:
“Ireland, Colonialism, and the Unfinished Revolution”
Also I had not realised that he passed away last year. 🙁
Ah! I didn’t know Bill Rolston had died. Tá sé anois ar shlí na fírinne, as the Irish say. Ar Dheis láimh Dé go raibh a anam uasal.
Does anyone have software that will replace the word colonial with the word banana?
Is there any software that will replace you?
They have.. Super Mario that’s me.
Latest breaking:
My little Pony, pIssed at all the attention Barbie has been getting has secured a gig as Glasgows 2026 Empire/ Commonwealth games mascot called “Finnie”.
“I had to get a sh1t load of cool-aid coloured hair dye into my mane, and some clown has superglued a traffic cone on my forehead” she said “but it’ll be good to get my brand out there again and put that tw8t Barbie and her mincing cult back in their place”..
Cryptozoologists point out the mythical Unicorn was in fact the Rhinoceros.
Finnie apparently was not keen on that look saying “it’s a bit too butch a look for my traditional fan base”..
Finnie looks an English crack head on the run from his London dealers
‘Trust me I’m a Doctor’ has got a whole new meaning now.
:=)) you’re no wrong.
All the sad colonialists posting here regarding Alf Baird sound not a hoot different from the mentally disturbed chemical tits and dress brigade.
‘Stop him posting’
‘Rev, take action, change Alf’s words’
‘It’s mince, it’s lies’
‘Cancel Alf’
‘Alf, just stop’
Alf’s not the only one on the receiving end of the WOS Colonialist Cancel brigade either. ‘Mrs James’ gets a similar treatment as does twathater.
Cancel cancel cancel. You’re all afraid and it shows.
Aye Dave. There are as many trolling unionist accounts as Scottish nationalists posting now. The words ‘Scotland is a colony’ gives the naesayers a nice wee lift.
“You’re all afraid and it shows”
Sure. I’m forever shitting ma kegs at the idea that TH and ‘Mrs James’ might SOME day get their scabbed knuckles on the LEVERS of power IN Scotland.
James, Confused, Northcode, YL Sah! and Barbie too, may she rest in peace.
Not Professor Baird though. He’s very clearly in the mould of the Bolsheviks who thought the key to taking power was to steer the proletariat in the direction they had already mapped out. To be the “vanguard of the proletariat” in other words.
Professor Baird will know they’re always the first to be lined up against the wall and shot when the proletariat chooses to chart its own course.
Aha!!
P3nisbreath McP3nisbreathface is back after an absence no doubt at Langley and..
T A..v.
And upset about a Barbie joke reference too!
Well please accept my sincerest apologies ya doll collector if I upset your mincing “sensibilities” with a bit of mis-spoken wit..
There.
Will that help you settle into your shift over at Langley disrupting others websites?
Aw didums..
Oh there’s Bastard TAX MOAN back from his holidays in Is rahel, has he been updated on the plans to invade Scotland and make us independenistas disappear, no doubt his pal Starmer would turn a blind eye to any kind of slaughter of Scots, he would also more than likely willingly supply the munitions
I note Lammy was pushed in front of the cameras to eventually ACT outraged at what is happening in G a z a, maybe he thinks we don’t remember his and Starmer’s full and eager support of the slaughter that has taken place over the months
Entirely agreed.
Charlie Says
Episode 1; Bad man/ stranger danger.
I was at work and as mommy always told me make sure you are safe in your changing room at work whenever you are changing clothes and dealing with female plumbing issues.
This strange man pretending he was a woman came into the changing room and proceeded to change, getting is walloper out and flexing his Adam’s apple, both of which he seems to hide normally.
Charlie came to my rescue and said to the dirty man “meow weo weya meow Isla Bryson”.
This made the bad man put his walloper away, write a lengthy detailed entry in his little book then pretend to cry.
My mommy said Charlie was right and saved me from worse and gave Charlie a treat of a fish for supper.
Later we found out the bad man had complained to a naughty doctor who started writing bad emails to her friends about Charlie to get him in trouble.
Poor Charlie is now locked up in the dog pound as there’s no cat pound, but mommy says at least I am safe. Bad doctor..
Kenny Everett was the voice over.
Cupid Stunt!
Wait! … Chromosomes are organs! oh my.
they’re organs but not as we know them Jim.
“Dr Searle
When asked whether she thought Dr Upton was “obviously a man” she responded no. Ms Cunningham went on: “Are you saying, under oath, with your credibility important, you wouldn’t know if Dr Upton was a trans woman unless he told you or you heard about this. She said: “I wouldn’t have known what sex Dr Upton was assigned at birth.””
——————————————–
That response is exactly what people are trained to say on equality training courses.
‘equality training courses ‘
Which brings us back to the Scottish government.
“Mark Beggan says:
Which brings us back to the Scottish government.”
——————————————–
No – equality training courses started after the UK Equalities Act 2010.
However the failed Scottish Gov GRR bill created doubt which led to the UK Supreme Court ruling.
Mark Began: Scottish, British, European, Scandinavian, Commonwealth, American governments all culpable. Perhaps it is time that we stopped to wonder why that should be? Why we were chosen, as Western people, and predominantly English speakers, to host this virus? Same reasons as we have been chosen to host mass migration? The ‘woke’ similarities are staggeringly similar. The omnicause people are just the vanguard but of what?
She obviously never held a newborn baby in her arms then during her medical career.
She’s a crack pot. And not a shred of credibility left. What a horrible horrible handmaiden. That breaks confidentiality. Participates in a stick up. A nasty piece of work.
Quality Doctor eh..
Did she pass basic biology?
Doctor! Doctor!
Road traffic accident casualty just in and it looks like a leg has to be amputated!
Reply; There’s at least four sticky out bits, which one is a leg or do we have to arrange a chromosome test?! Just a second, I need a cry first, witnesses please!
Our lives in their hands eh..
Lorn @ 11.32
This deviant crap has been about in Europe for ages.
Remember the early 90s Harry Enfield/ Paul Whitehouse tv sketches about the gay Amsterdam police men?
Very funny, search for it on YouTube or similar.
The difference is the big money that comes in via transatlantic and key moments in time like SHE whose name shall not be uttered unleashing her priorities after meeting Hillary Clinton.
From therein it has been endemic..
Strange though; couple of women (again) and Dr Searle just like incompetent Ms (confused) Bumba are up to their elbows in this.
Misogyny or feminisation of society?
Your choice, but I don’t see many real blokes barging their way into ladies changing rooms; just the fr**ks who have been nurtured all too often under female wings in the nest.
Sorry, you are free to disagree but some issues hit closer to home.
Young Lochinvar: no, decent men did not barge into female spaces in the past, and any who were indecent enough to do so were pitched out on their ear, pending a court case for voyeurism or some other fetish.
Society has not been feminized so much as female psychology and socialization have been turned into a weapon against women because it had to be, for this guff to exist at all. Likewise, children had to be subverted and co-opted. It is quite simply a new form of misogyny because it is entirely (on the front line) a male sexual rights and male rights movement. As far as children are concerned, it is far worse than that.
The fact that it appears as if ALL females are party to this nonsense is negated by the Rev’s BTLCs. A number of women comment and none of us has been convinced by the ordure. Most of us are in despair at the gullibility and fawning of our own sex over what is nothing, more or less, than the usual cohort of domineering, controlling. manipulative, sex and porn-driven males, who have been with us always.
If we females can see how silly and gullible so many of our sisters are, is it asking too much for the decent men on here and elsewhere to admit that some men – too many – are completely responsible for the chaos and cruelty they cause without blaming women for their very typical male flaws.
Most mothers I know try to bring up their sons to be decent human beings – and, in the main, they succeed. I believe implicitly, that those men who transgress the rules of normal, decent behaviour have a mental illness nurtured by every society at every turn, because the chaos and misery created by them keeps female people in their allotted place through fear and fear of retribution. It is a world-wide form of domestic abuse that few really want to talk about because it is too uncomfortable and would upset the cosy applecart.
@ Lorn you said
“I believe implicitly, that those men who transgress the rules of normal, decent behaviour have a mental illness nurtured by every society at every turn,because the chaos and misery created by them keeps female people in their allotted place through fear and fear of retribution. It is a world-wide form of domestic abuse”
Lorn as I have said before your empathy and caring for humanity is admirable, I am not so forgiving, these people who deliberately invade women and girls spaces are SCUM,not suffering with some mental illness,the only mental illness they suffer from is narcissism and fuck everyone else
I equate it with people claiming mental problems or diminished responsibility when they murder someone,if the person has avoided capture, removes evidence or answers no comment at interrogation the only mental problem they have is that they got caught
Reading the various comments it does seem that Alf Baird has very much become the focus of coordinated attack from unionist trolls.
This very much suggests that Mr Bairds message about Scotland being an ipso facto colony is getting through.
Folks are most certainly realising this and that’s precisely why Mr Baird is being repearedly attacked.
Keep it up Mr Baird.
My thoughts exactly!!!
Why is it that the fantasists and cranks assume that any one commentating on the repetitive, self centered dross produced by Baird is a Unionist?
Willie;
Witness; your point is made.
Give us an example of mr Bairds dross.
I know that I have never “attacked” Alf Baird. Like a number of folk on here I just think he is a bit of a “looney tunes” type but everybody is entitled to their view, even if I personally think it is a bit deluded and don’t respond to him.
To claim that public perception is coming around to everyone starting to think like he does is a bit out there. The majority of scots simply don’t care about independence just now, there are bigger fish to fry for most.
Personally as far as indy goes this is now simply an echo chamber for the hardcore who cannot see the wood for the trees and I only come here occasionally because the revs articles on various subjects are interesting and illuminating, not because of independence any longer which I consider a dead duck for the foreseeable future.
Rob, independence is a dead duck only if we all give up. I know it is depressing when the cause seems hopeless given our politicians and the media. This is why we must not give up.
We must support all those who are making constructive efforts. We must tell our families and friends, and even the wider public, about every initiative and every fact that is presented to us by people such as Prof Baird, Salvo/Liberation, Liberate.Scotland, ISP, Indy4Indy i.e. all the things that are not presented to the public by the MSM.
The prize is attainable. Holyrood 2026 can be made a key moment. So please don’t look away. Do something to help.
@Sarah – until such time as a political party is formed, led by serious people with a properly developed and funded strategy for achieving independence, then the cause is going nowhere. I think we’ve all just got to face up to that fact rather than pretending that there’s going to be a UN intervention or that a handful of unincorporated micro-parties who are completely unknown to the Scottish public are going to win at Holyrood in nine months time. The author of this blog recognises that I think.
There’s no use blaming the media or pretending that MI5 are somehow sabotaging it either.
Can you elucidate what these “fish” might be?
England has been meddling in Scotland’s affairs for nigh on 1,000 years now.
The only way that Scotland will escape the artificial poverty caused by being in this bucket of vomit ‘union’ will be through independence.
The main reason that a lot of Scots can’t or won’t see this fact is due to malign influences from the BritNat state and media (over hundreds of years), as can be seen in the microcosm of tiresome unionist trolls (paid and otherwise) on this very website who’s sole raison d’étre is to divert, divide rinse and repeat on a daily basis.
“Aidan”;
“I think we’ve all just got to face up to that fact…”
Who’s “we”?
Constructive criticism – even if robustly or incredulously asserted – isn’t “trolling”, mate.
Are you and your ilk such snowflakes that you cannot withstand even any criticism or scrutiny? (Rhetorical question btw).
“coordinated attacks”
That’s right we all meet up at the Troll Bar on Union Street and after singing God save the Colony we get down to planning our attack.
Or is it we are sick of this old Lefty quack gibbering endlessly about his Colon.
The simple fact is that Scottish politicians have shown over the last 10 years that they are simply so incompetent that they simply cannot run Scotland, independent or not. And Scots keep voting them in so they are to blame for this, not the politicians so they cannot be left in charge to decide either.
This does not mean WM is any better but it is certainly not any worse.
If the country ever votes in a competent government not full of these morons and they start looking as if they are up to the job then maybe I will vote yes, like I did in 2014, until then I am with the majority of Scots at the moment and am dead set against even another vote.
I would even welcome the dissolution of the SP as a complete failure it has got so bad.
@Rob says: 24 July, 2025 at 1:54 pm
All that needs to be said, and can be said, to summarise the state of Scotland and Indy right now.
Perhaps the inability of any of the usual suspects to counter his arguments tells the alert readers something too.
It’s a shite state of affairs, no doubt about that, but the road to improvement starts by accepting the truths in Rob’s post.
The BIG questions.
Should any doctor who is incapable of determining the sex of their patients be allowed to practice medicine? Surely patients have a right to know this? Human blood types are hugely important determing the correct treatment why is a patient’s sex be considered far less so? If ideology now trumps biological reality is the NHS as an institution a dangerous place for patients?
As Memmi wrote, and as we can see in oor ain laund an among oor ain fowk, a “Colonized society is a diseased society (and) such a society cannot dissolve the conflicts of generations, for it is unable to be transformed”.
And, as we see with the wide enforcement of oppressive gender ideology (or any other dubious belief system, such as the illusion of ‘Britishness’) in a colonial society, what would Memmi say but that: “I have been horrified to see peaceful public servants and teachers suddenly change into vociferous monsters for trifling reasons”.
Colonialism also depends on “falsifying history”. But perhaps most of all “the colonizer hates theory”, for theory (such as postcolonial theory) ultimately reveals the colonial hoax and the oppression of the people.
“But perhaps most of all “the colonizer hates theory…”
Indeed so, Alf. As is plain for all to see here in the barrage of colonialist comments attempting – and failing spectacularly – to condemn your research and resultant theory on how colonialism has made Scotland one of its victims and oppressed the Scots.
Name checking your own homework does not count Professor Baird.
Your narrative (feeble though it is) is inaccurate and clutching at straws.
In trying to make out that Scotland was colonised (allegedly) you conveniently omit to mention that Scots were also colonisers, within, and outwith Scotland, and thay English south of the border were also, (and some might argue) are now currently being ‘colonised’ historically and by migrants right now, on a far larger scale than Scotland has ever seen.
Wait until tens of thousands of asylum seekers from the third world turn up in Scotland, like they are down south Professor, you’ll really know about being ‘colonised’ then.
The city of Leicester officially is majority ethnic, there’s not one town or city in Scotland that is anything other than majority white.
So ‘colonisation’ not a uniquely Scottish phenomenon, which renders your victimhood narrative spectacularly irrelevant.
“ But perhaps most of all “the colonizer hates theory”, for theory (such as postcolonial theory) ultimately reveals the colonial hoax and the oppression of the people.”
I bet you must have spent ages looking for that quote to try and silence your critics Professor Baird.
What’s the actual source for it?
Or is it one you made up to suit your tendentious theories?
You know just like the “D Notice” you claimed existed the other week?
Perhaps the most important theory in our case, given the long period of colonization, is that of the colonial mindset, which explains why and how those affected refuse to accept they are oppressed, and why they also turn on their ain, as we see here and elsewhere:
link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com
@Stuart; We are talking of a union of two sovereign kingdoms, neither of which in 1706 owed any obeisance to the other, both being equally sovereign in their own domains. Since nothing in the 1707 Treaty of Union states that either of those kingdoms agreed to give up their sovereignty, then both sovereignties still exist in full. That then means that Scotland’s formal representatives in the new British parliament (her MPs) are not obliged by default to defer to England’s MPs on any matter of Union governance unless there is a formal statement to that explicit effect in the Treaty as agreed, signed and ratified.
It is patently clear that no such statement exists, and so no such obligation exists. Please explain how it is that Scotland’s MPs are obliged to defer to England’s MPs today, as they clearly seem to be.
To use your own words, Stuart, “what’s the actual source for it?”
Alfie Boy can’t lose.
Either we accept we are living in a colony. Or, if we don’t, it is proof that we have all been ‘colonised’ and simply accept our fate.
A suggestion for Mr Baird. Instead of peddling your repetitive dross on here, every day, why not stand up and present your views in person. Set up a wee stand in Princes St. Gardens and air your views to the general public. I can guarantee you will be laughed at or pitied as a bit of a crank.
Advise us when we can view your performance. But……….. Watch out for the rotten eggs and tomatoes.
Xaracen. 2:14
How wrong can one man be?
Well in your case very.
Your argument (feeble though it is) re the Treaty of Union falls apart at this point;
“The Treaty was entered into without limitation of time and some articles express quite plainly that they were intended to be perpetual. Thus the Union (article I) was to be effective on 1 May 1707 “and forever after.
It must be accepted that the two sets of commissioners who negotiated the Treaty, and the two parliaments which discussed and ratified the Treaty, intended such words to have effect.”
link to lawscot.org.uk
In addition England gave up its sovereignty to form the new union with Scotland, so on your own terms Xaracen (and by extension those of Alf Baird et al ) your argument is nonsense. See the “Queens Answer” below. No doubt you and others will believe it’s a charade, even if there is very little to support that argument.
link to lawscot.org.uk
No doubt this will be hotly contested on this forum, but we need to move on from irrelevant theories to actual facts, facts help win elections, mention colonial theory to your average voter, and you’ll be able to watch their eyes glaze over in real time.
Voters tend to be concerned about more prosaic issues than the constitution, or some theory hardly any of them will have heard of, which merely serves to feed a victimhood narrative, and acts as a security blanket for some independence supports.
We surely can do better than that in making a case for independence!
For general info, here is a link to PROF ROBERT BLACK KC’s presentation about the UNION:
Professor Robert Black KC at Scottish Sovereignty Research Group Conference: ‘1707 Treaty of Union – For England Nothing Changed, For Scotland Everything Changed’ (17 May 2025)
@Stuart;
“The Treaty was entered into without limitation of time and some articles express quite plainly that they were intended to be perpetual. Thus the Union (article I) was to be effective on 1 May 1707 “and forever after.”
Irrelevant to my argument. Nothing in it subordinates Scotland to England.
“It must be accepted that the two sets of commissioners who negotiated the Treaty, and the two parliaments which discussed and ratified the Treaty, intended such words to have effect.”
“In addition England gave up its sovereignty to form the new union with Scotland, so on your own terms Xaracen (and by extension those of Alf Baird et al) your argument is nonsense. See the “Queens Answer” below. No doubt you and others will believe it’s a charade, even if there is very little to support that argument.”
“The Queen’s Answer as stated in your linked document;
‘Gentlemen, I thank you very kindly for this Address: The Desires you express of taking all Occasions to improve the Advantages of our happy Union, are extremely agreeable to me.….’ “
If you intended to make an actual point, Stuart, then you should have actually made it!
My argument as stated is untouched by anything you wrote.
Put your colonial feet up on the colonial stool. Make some colonial tea and have some Corbyn and Sultana cake.
I heard they’re being termed fruit and nut now..
Well worth a read.
link to dearscotland.substack.com
Nothing wrong with nuclear power stations – we don’t need them though, nor will ever – we have a full portfolio of wind, oil, gas, hydro, even some boutique stuff like tidal, solar, wave – so you have to build the nuke power stations where you need them
– up the Thames and in London, Mayfair, Chelsea, Westminster, all that. Plug them straight in. They are safe, right? – so what’s the fucking problem? Save energy by putting them where they are needed.
But there is a great lie about nuclear power, it was always a lie; originally it was that it would lead to electricity “too cheap to meter”, but it wasn’t, it was merely to hide the true costs of the atom bomb program. BTW – you can make “nuke power” plants which cannot be used to create weapons material … but, eh … no one is really all that interested in them, for some reason.
Freeman Dyson and his pals invented, so he claimed, a totally “safe” nuke power plant, back in the 60s; no one was interested (hint : you can’t use it for weapons). Also, the basic design of most of the nuke power plants is based on a reactor design which was small enough to fit into a submarine – that was why it was chosen as the dominant technology.
Dyson calls these reactors – “intrinsically unsafe”.
Dyson was a brilliant man, designed a nuclear powered spacecraft called Orion, which could take you to the outer planets in a few months; the spaceship in 2001 is supposedly based on these ideas.
Britain is heavily invested in its new supernuke system, and it needs to hide it as it can’t have the public know what it really costs. Some generals bemoan the cost of the nukes as it means they cannot get basic things which soldiers can use. The future of war is the drone swarm, controlled by AI.
England’s energy needs will be huge and it intends to take every drop of windpower from us, some 40GW down south, but it still needs more, hence Hinckley Point, which is … to cut a long story short … a right old fuckup. Their plans are to build one of these every 5 years until 2060 or so. Not happening – now the chinese might have been useful in this, but it looks like the global elite is trying to do war with them down the road.
The original manhattan project might have been one of the biggest misuses of resources in history; 40% of the US war effort, for something which was not needed and was only used on japan, which was already beaten, to save the careers of various generals and politicians, thence was sold – the lie – again, that “dropping the bomb defeated japan” (the entry of the soviets did). Hiroshima and Nagasaki were just grim experiments, a lot worse than the japs ever did in unit 731 or on the river kwai.
In 1945, the allied advance stalled for lack of the basics like trucks and rubber tyres. (The planning was for the war to finish in late 1944, but the germans and their tanks …)
Nukes are very dangerous, but in odd ways. Willie MacRae who famously shot himself twice in the head, threw the gun away then drove his car into a ditch – he may have suicided himself because of “dirt” he had gotten on the nuke industry, and that is why he had to go. Because of burglaries he kept all his papers on him all the time; none were recovered from his death scene, presumably all the little birds came and took them all away, like a disney movie.
Here is a queerer one – George Robertson, ultra loyalist deep establishment insider with a CV that goes on forever, was once a right old anti nuke campaigner; then one day on the A9 a navy landrover carrying 100kg of gelignite crashes into him … he survives, gets a safe seat, and then his career takes off. Was he warned off? Did he get an offer he could not refuse? In any case, he never mentioned nukes again.
Point is – you mess with the nuke stuff, you are toast – you can call the queen a moron, call the king a paedo who partied with savile – no one cares; touch the nukes, you die.
It’s a case against nuclear power, I don’t know where she got the numbers from re costs, they seem around 2x too high, but aside from that, if the U.K. is going to build a major nuclear power station at vast expense, then why not in Scotland? It’s a safe industry (certainly safer than an oil refinery) and creates lots of secured, skilled, well-paid jobs. Copeland on the Cumbria coast had the highest average salary outside London at one point due to the nuclear sector there. It just seems to be a bit odd to say “how dare they close Grangemouth” and in the same breath “how dare they open a nuclear power station?”
Good old “Aidan”, the true BritNat defender on every subject.
Scotland doesn’t need (or want) nuclear, but hey, when did we ever get to decide anything, right?
Aye, let’s build them here so England can get the leccy while we take all the risk.
“…Copeland on the Cumbria coast had the highest average salary outside London…” aye… mebbies….and also the biggest cancer clusters, along with the east coast of Ireland where a lot of the shit dumped in the sea from Windscale ended up.
Some unionist clowns say Scotland’s leccy is no good as we don’t have enough demand.
So, building the new nukes Thames side sounds good to me, near to demand. Ok, petal?
Who is “Scotland”, every single person in Scotland who has been polled on the subject, or a tiny bunch of loudmouths who claim to speak for everyone?
There isn’t a cancer cluster in Copeland, the cancer death rate is very close to the national average and in Cumbria, is lower than the national average. In contrast, there are numerous high quality studies linking air quality around refineries to premature deaths. So you were whinging about Grangemouth closing, and now you’re whinging about potential nuclear power stations being built. I can 100% guarantee if someone proposed building something like Grangemouth tomorrow, you’d be against that. One might think you’re just a malignant whinger with no positive ideas or capacity to do anything other than complain.
Hmm… but when did pretty much anything built in the UK ever come in on proposed cost? HS2, a couple of ferries…
But iirc the new Queensferry Crossing in Scotchedland broke the modus by coming in close to original budget and time.
Pity the powers that be chased the man who did that into an early grave though.
@Dan – I mean the cost per MwH quoted as £150, Hinckley Point see originally struck at c.£85. Yeah I mean HS2 has been a disaster cost-wise, although it is one of the most complex engineering projects ever attempted. The Glen Sannox is much less excusable. It is a particular problem in the U.K. that mega projects are disproportionately expensive to deliver compared to elsewhere, even in Europe.
The Gotthard Base Tunnel project, despite its massive scale, managed to keep costs relatively in check, even finishing ahead of schedule. While the initial budget was exceeded, it remained stable since 2007, and the final expenditure was even slightly less than assumed in that year. The tunnel’s construction, while taking 17 years, was completed on time and within budget, showcasing a successful example of project management.
Just say the word, Campbell, and the readers could chip-in for a wardrobe full of frocks for ye.
Rather than the readers ‘chipping in’ Andy, you could gift him some of yours!
I feel the need to talk about some “boring shit”. So flip the channel if you are continuing with the chicks with dicks angle.
– it is sad when the business press is the only place you find decent journalism, but no surprise since its not aimed at the rubes
link to archive.ph
“The regulatory model for water was a NEOLIBERAL CONSTRUCT, reflecting a belief that profit-maximizing companies competing in a FREE MARKET would deliver SOCIALLY OPTIMAL outcomes. OBVIOUSLY, THIS CAN’T BE ACHIEVED IN AN INDUSTRY WHERE THE SUPPLIERS ARE ALL NATURAL MONOPOLIES.”
i.e. “markets don’t work in this case and can never work” – remember that last quoted sentence when some fucking gammon tit in a suit is droning on about “business” and “the markets” as if it was the laws of the fucking universe, when he wants some half-arsed “market solution” (which he will cash out on) to something we can simply do, far more efficiently.
– now apply the lesson to all infrastructure and start thinking of energy as infrastructure
The favourite rant from the Parasite Class;
” It’s good for the economy!”
Who’s economy?
if you have been scanning the civil service jobs of late, one theme has been that of “energy security”; they are worried, and they should be.
– “energy security” stands abruptly against “the operation of free markets” and something has to give.
This is a very queer story; basically “p4ki spivs” were running this facility, mis managed it, running it at a loss, not paying a huge tax bill, then letting it all go bust (they are now “on the lam”)
link to archive.ph
– this kind of behaviour is fairly typical with modern “capitalism” – you take control of some valuable asset (via whatever means, leveraged buyout), then you run it into the ground, extracting every drop of wealth in the process, while making sure your fees, bonuses, options, are all paid. You loot the pension fund, and at some point a mysterious fire breaks out and you cash in the insurance … this is not about productive capitalism which, en passant, brings benefit to society, it is smashing things up for fun and profit.
And you get it all the way down the orders – a restaurant goes on fire, a cash and carry goes on fire, some eyesore absestos trap building burns down … it is all part of the to and fro of “doing business”.
But this refinery was part of the “critical national infrastructure”, it’s not some “insurance job” that doesn’t make much difference.
ONLY AN INCOMPETENT GOVT WOULD ALLOW SUCH THINGS TO HAPPEN
now, fucking over Scotland (Grangemouth and a million other things) is just par for the course, since it’s what England does. And it accords with a certain devious macchiavellianism – to make Scotland “dependent on England” for all critical energy supplies (twirls moustache, wipes monocle)
But, this is the queer bit – the English let these foreign oligarchs fuck THEM OVER, not Scotland, or the “norf” or the welsh or the sheepshaggers of cornwall, but the south east, the “important” bit, where the anglo saxons live, where the money flows, where the house prices rise and rise – there is a saying “you dont shit in your own backyard”
– it shows not just the incomptence, but the completely captured nature of the ukgov – they are so subservient, so kowtowed, so respectful of “money power” and “oligarchy” that they cannot even protect their own vital interests from – fairly obvious – crooks. Or maybe they themselves cannot tell the difference as “crime” and “business” at a high enough level, become indistinguishable.
Which is another reason for indy, for if these fuckwits cannot even protect themselves from predatory smash and burn capitalists, why would they protect you? If the english won’t protect their own national interest, what does Scotland’s amount to? Less than zero, the square root of fuckall, negative infinity.
And the basic insanity of it all is obvious when you realise that “energy security” can be achieved quite easily, if you have long term (and low cost) gas supply contracts, pumped straight to your door, from a notoriously reliable party; but again this national agenda is trumped by this “international agenda” that “vlad is the devil” and rusha is a danger to the world, all spouted by cheerleaders who are now ardent nationalists for a madeup “country” they couldn’t find on a map.
An even scarier prospect is how one “solution” to “energy security” is to build lots of new nuke power stations (which we don’t really know how to do, since the last guys who built them are dead, and the youth are on tiktok talking about chopping their genitals); NB “energy security” is nothing to do with low prices – for the eye watering costs of the new plants will be paid for with decades long “guaranteed profit” energy prices.
It is not that the govt “does stupid shit”, it’s like they find the STUPIDEST SHIT POSSIBLE, and then do that, and then compound it, with whatever STUPIDER SHIT is generated.
“lets let foreign crooks run our national infrastructure”
“let’s not buy cheap energy because we dont like the guy”
“lets opt for guaranteed high prices from dangerous tech we dont know how to build”
link to archive.ph
– this is world class stupid cuntery.
And these are the people you are ball and chained to, Scotland.
It’s competition time.
Spot the Loony.
Chas spotting across the yooniverse…
Look in a mirror…..
“ardent nationalists for a madeup “country” they couldn’t find on a map”
What was it the Burns boy wrote?
Something about seeing ourselves as others see us?
Poor old Confused.
You stick to your bedroom and keep the curtains tightly closed.
There are ardent nationalists out there. Real ones. They’ve been proving that to the world for over 3 years now. Get in their way and the clean up squad will be peeling your outline off the road.
Further to my comment at 11.18 a.m., coincidentally Gareth Wardell, Grouse Beater, has retweeted today the speech that he would have given at Alex Salmond’s memorial service.
“I appeal to all Scots who value justice: Do not let them exhaust us. Do not let them cause you doubt.”
Come on, Wingers. Speak to one person today about the truth of what is being done to Scotland by Holyrood and Westminster. Sign one petition and share. Don’t give up and don’t give in.
LABOUR MP CALLS GENDER-CRITICS ‘SWIVEL-EYED FANATICS’
A Labour MP has revealed his contempt for those who believe in the reality of biological sex, calling them “swivel-eyed” and “not very well”.
Tim Roca, an openly gay backbencher, made the comments during an event called ‘Queering Academia’, hosted by the University of Westminster.
He also called the Supreme Court’s judgment upholding the definition of the word ‘woman’ as “depressing”, and criticised the outgoing Head of the Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC) for enforcing the ruling.
‘SWIVEL-EYED’
In video footage given to The Telegraph by gender-critical psychotherapist James Esses, Roca said the UK is following the US’s example in the way it discusses hot-button issues, and said public debate needs to be “based on rationalism and compassion – and actually as we know, the facts”.
He continued: “What we can’t be, is we can’t look like the alternative version of the transphobes. The best argument against them is a conversation with them, because they look swivel-eyed and honestly, they’re not very well people, I don’t think, the ones that I’ve met.”
He also claimed that during his election campaign the “anti-trans voices” were the most “toxic” people he dealt with, claiming he was heckled and had “stuff thrown at me”.
PARTY DISSENT
In April, the UK Supreme Court ruled that the terms ‘woman’, ‘man’ and ‘sex’ in the Equality Act 2010 refer to biological sex. In the aftermath, the EHRC published guidance stating that people should not be allowed to use facilities designated for the use of the opposite biological sex, regardless of how they identify.
Roca said: “I challenged the equalities watchdog after that very depressing Supreme Court judgment”, adding: “The EHRC is clearly led by somebody who is not a friend of our community. In my view, I want to make sure the next head of the EHRC is somebody who is a friend of our community.
“And I’ve got colleagues in Parliament who are working really, really hard on that. But challenging the EHRC interim guidance, which is appalling, was really, really important.”
While Sir Keir Starmer said in April that the judgment brought “real clarity”, Roca disputed this, saying it had instead “caused fear and incredible uncertainty and…undermined protections” for trans people.
‘SHOCKING’
Roca’s comments have been widely criticised, with James Esses saying: “For an elected member of Parliament to speak with such disdain for the Supreme Court, the Chair of the EHRC, and those across society concerned about the impact of gender ideology on women’s rights and child safeguarding, is shocking.”
In a comment piece for The Telegraph, journalist Jo Bartosch said: “Let’s be clear: by ‘transphobes’ Roca doesn’t mean violent thugs who want to crucify cross dressers. He means you. He means the average British voter who believes that biological sex exists.
“The parents alarmed that teachers are telling their daughters they are ‘born in the wrong body’ if they like playing with trucks. The people campaigning to stop male sex offenders from being housed in female prisons. The detransitioners left scarred by medical experiments masquerading as care.”
“To Roca,” she added, “all of them – all of us – are unhinged.”
‘COMMON SENSE HAS RESURFACED’
She highlighted that Roca is not the first MP to parrot gender ideology or disparage those fighting to preserve women’s right to safety and privacy, but said that thanks to the efforts of gender-critics, “common sense has resurfaced, and it is sweeping through the nation”.
She concluded: “The public can see clearly who the real ‘swivel-eyed’ loons are: those who lock male rapists in women’s prisons, who drug confused children, and earnestly believe you can be born in the wrong body.”
(The Christian Institute, 24 July 2025)
Hats off to that!
Respect.
With with for example Trans ideology or immigration, there are elements in the political establishment who are pushing through policies through EHCR that will never be voted for by the general public.
It’s been a busy week for the Eton rifles.
“What a catalyst you turned out to be. Crashed your van into a fence and then ran off home for your tea. Left her standing like guilty school boy….
We working class plebs are no match for your untamed wit.
Some of the Wokes said they’d be back next week..”
How important is Scotland becoming an independent country to you and what would you do to secure that goal?
Next year after the Scottish election the SNP will be the biggest party, for me I say so what nothing will change.
The SNP is going to try and win your vote for them to be elected for another 5yrs and on that single day you hold a lot of power its that power the SNP doesn’t really want you to have but they have no choice in the matter. I’ve decided that I will not be voting SNP and I’m going to explain the reason why. The SNP will go into the election on Independence after presenting us all with the 3-point plan for me the 3-point plan is the SNP get out clause to deny us our constitutional right to have a say on Scotland future. But what could the SNP do to win my vote, well its simple we all know plan A as the 3-point plan so when the UKG say no to a section 30 order the SNP wants to blame Westminster and let’s be honest it working for both the UKG and the SNP so why change what’s working. The SNP could win my support if they also had a plan B in their manifesto that’s says if the UKG says no to a section 30 order here is plan B which would enable the people to have after 12yrs a vote on the constitutional question, now plan B could be anything UDI or a new election to be held as a plebiscite, the point I’m trying to make is, if the SNP was serious about the 3-point plan and Independence that plan B would be in their manifesto and we all know it won’t be so lets be honest we will have just been conned by the SNP all over again and ask yourself this how important is Independence to you and your family.
Here is another option that might just give us our country back and listen don’t just deny it just because it doesn’t sit well with you and remember it isn’t about you its about taken our country back.
Jeremy Corbyn, has started a new party if what I’m hearing is correct this party might and I said might because nothing has been said yet, allow Scotland to have a say on its own constitutional question.
For me Scotland comes 1st,2nd and 3rd and if this new Jeremy Corbyn’s party is going to allow Scotland to have that say on its own constitutional question I would vote for that, would you, for me this might be what we have all been waiting for and let’s remember the SNP doesn’t want any other party dictating policy on Independence.
If you think Corbyn is the answer for Scotland, then you’ve asked the wrong question.
Aye, I’m sure if he ever got near power he’d be totes cool with letting the Kingdom of Scotland and our resources go our own way, and thus liberate the Kingdom of England from the burden of us scrounging Scots, so the 55 million denizens of the not so green and pleasant land can thrive under London Rule with whatever is left of the cockney jellied eel and cockles industries.
Dan, It doesn’t matter who you vote for that’s your choice no one is going to take that away from you.
The point is Jeremy Corbyn new party within 24hrs has attracted 200,000 members and if what I am hearing is correct this new party is going to allow Scotland to make its own choice regarding the constitutional question this is a massive shift for the union and as a nationalist I’m not going to ignore it just because its an English party.
Next year you can vote for ever you want it might be the SNP but like I said if there isn’t an option of a plan B in the SNP’s manifesto its just a case of SNP crying wolf again and I’ll see you if I’m still alive in 2031.
FFS, I’m pro-Scotland returning to self-governance, why the fuck would I vote NuSNP.
Scotland doesn’t need to host the Edinburgh comedy festival. These days the whole country has jist become a 24/7/365 laughingstock comedy show.
Clowns to the right of me, jokers to the left, here I am, stuck in the middle of it all with a saddening visage as I myself begin to fade to grey on the descent back to being space compost.
The “leaders” of the Indy movement make Ron Manager of the Fast Show look like a tactical genius.
Aye, let’s jist do nothing for years to lead, educate, or inspire the Scottish electorate and harness the political vacuum caused by their deepening scunneredness and disenfranchisement, and then wonder why the likes of Farage / Reform and now Corbyn are again given another dose of UK MSM exposure yeast and are being allowed to rise again; Then us Scots can go cap in hand to ask the English if we can have something because wee are too stupid to obtain it oorselves.
Scotland UN C-24
A significant development has occurred in Scotland’s campaign for decolonization, with a petition submitted to the United Nations Special Committee on Decolonization (C-24) seeking recognition of Scotland as a Non-Self-Governing Territory.
This move is part of an ongoing effort by groups such as Liberation Scotland and Justice pour Tous Internationale (JPTi) to assert Scotland’s right to self-determination under international law.
Petition Submission: On 7 March 2025, JPTi, acting on behalf of over 17,000 members of Liberation Scotland, formally submitted an Advance Notice of Petition to the UN Special Committee on Decolonization (C-24).
This step aims to secure Scotland’s recognition as a Non-Self-Governing Territory, affirming its right to self-determination under international law.
Legal and Historical Arguments: The campaign argues that Scotland meets the criteria for recognition as a Non-Self-Governing Territory under UN Resolutions 1514 (XV), 1541 (XV), and 1654 (XVI).
Experts have confirmed that Scotland’s constitutional status aligns with the criteria for a non-self-governing territory, providing a legal basis for its decolonization.
International Response: The submission has drawn support from legal experts and human rights organizations, who emphasize the need for the UN to recognize Scotland’s right to self-determination.
The UK government has been urged to cease its obstruction of Scotland’s independence and adhere to international law.
Next Steps: The petition will go through a stringent process at the UN, and the response from the UK government remains to be seen. If successful, this could mark a significant shift in Scotland’s political status and a potential gateway to negotiations with the UK government.
‘… International Response: The submission has drawn support from legal experts and human rights organizations, who emphasize the need for the UN to recognize Scotland’s right to self-determination‘
Please kindly state exactly who these international “legal experts” and “human rights organisations” are specifically?
An exhaustive list would be informative.
TIA.
@Captain Caveman – it’s a bit strange that 100% yes missed the part where the C-24 committee rejected the petition outright as C-24 has no mandate to look at territories not on the list of NSGT’s set by the UN General Assembly. I would have thought that would be relevant information no?
‘… it’s a bit strange that 100% yes missed the part where the C-24 committee rejected the petition outright as C-24 has no mandate to look at territories not on the list of NSGT’s set by the UN General Assembly.’
Really…? Sigh.
I honestly cannot for the life of me see the point of this kind of thing. Why pull the wool over people’s eyes? People deserve better.
Aidan
No they have to keep the fantasy alive.
Along with 100% Yes not mentioning his enthusiasm for the Russians being interested in their submission to the UNC24.
“8 thoughts on “An Interview with Craig Murray on UN C-24”
100%Yes says:
25 June 2025 at 8:51 pm
I really enjoyed the show, who knows in three years or sooner would could have the answer we have all been waiting for.
I was glad the Russians asked for the documents I hope our friends in Russia make good use of them.”
Quite who their “friends” in Russia are is a mystery, perhaps 100%Yes can enlighten us?
Perhaps we should be told!
But, Aidan, the C-24 did no such thing!
You’ve been carefully reframing the situation as ‘the C-24 committee rejected the petition outright’, when the simple truth is that it doesn’t even have the authority to do that. The C-24 is an advisory body only.
No such formal rejection has been asserted. The minutes and annual report from the June 2025 session contain no language indicating dismissal, invalidity, or rejection of Scotland’s petition. That silence does NOT equate to closure. In reality, the petition is active, and has been supported by expert interventions and substantive documentation.
Scotland’s petition is simply pending the next procedural step; member-state sponsorship and tabling before the Fourth Committee, and that process is ongoing, and is entirely within normal UN practice.
You’ve been deliberately promoting disinformation on this and other matters for months now, Aidan, and frankly, it’s getting boringly predictable.
It’s just more of your homemade dog food (© Northcode).
I knew you’d appear like clockwork to tell us that Elvis is still alive. If anyone in the UN is doing anything with the petition, then feel free to post some evidence. My position is that nobody in the UN is doing anything with it, feel free to prove me wrong. Ball is entirely in your court.
More dog food! I’m not biting.
Yes – you’re happy to waffle endlessly about how the treaty doesn’t “subordinate” Scotland to England, but as soon as you’re challenged to provide any supporting evidence for your claims then suddenly you’re busy washing your hair.
“Yes – you’re happy to waffle endlessly about how the treaty doesn’t “subordinate” Scotland to England, but as soon as you’re challenged to provide any supporting evidence for your claims then suddenly you’re busy washing your hair.”
Oh, really, Aidan?
You’ve lost the plot, Aidan, and I’m still not biting.
Evidence
You first, Aidan! You made the original claim that Scotland’s Petition had been;
‘sent packing’,
‘rebuffed’,
‘all over’,
‘an automatic rejection’,
‘completely rebuffed at the first hurdle’,
‘thrown out’,
‘rejected outright’,
by the C-24, but you provided not the slightest trace of actual direct evidence for any of these claims. You want evidence that the petition is still alive? Then you must first provide direct documentary evidence for your claims that the Petition effectively died on first contact with the C-24, in the form of quoted texts from named and linked formal C-24-issued documents for direct verification of that death, and NOT merely your own paraphrasing.
Direct verification of linked material is an absolute requirement because you have a nasty (and now well-documented) habit of citing documents that do not say what you claimed they ‘explicily’ said.
Until then, your ‘rejection’ trope is just another serving of homemade dog food.
@Xaracen – I have repeatedly explained and provided evidence to support the fact that the petition has been thrown out.
You have never provided any evidence to support anything you’ve said. So now is your time to shine.
“I have repeatedly explained and provided evidence to support the fact that the petition has been thrown out. “
No, Aidan, you have not. That’s the entire point of my requirement for direct verification from C-24-sourced documents. I can’t and won’t take your word for anything given all the other ‘evidence’ you’ve provided that turned out to be completely false.
The C-24 accepted Scotland’s Petition, not directly from JPTI or Salvo, but from the UN Secretariat; and under current UN procedure, C-24 is obliged to review that Petition, NOT for the merits of its case for NSGT listing, but solely for its procedural competence. It will submit its findings and recommendations on that competence in its annual report to the 4th committee in time for its next meeting in the Autumn. It will then wait for a remit, if any, to evaluate the Petition’s NSGT case from the 4th Committee/UNGA. That remit will itself depend on an existing UN member sponsoring Scotland as a recognised territory for the purpose of evaluating its NSGT status, if so approved by the UNGA/4th Committee.
So, Aidan, it is clear yet again that you are shamelessly misrepresenting the status of Scotland’s NSGT Petition.
The C-24 has NOT rejected Scotland’s petition ‘outright’ AT ALL! It literally hasn’t the authority to do that.
“The C-24 accepted Scotland’s Petition, not directly from JPTI or Salvo, but from the UN Secretariat; and under current UN procedure, C-24 is obliged to review that Petition, NOT for the merits of its case for NSGT listing, but solely for its procedural competence. It will submit its findings and recommendations on that competence in its annual report to the 4th committee in time for its next meeting in the Autumn. It will then wait for a remit, if any, to evaluate the Petition’s NSGT case from the 4th Committee/UNGA. That remit will itself depend on an existing UN member sponsoring Scotland as a recognised territory for the purpose of evaluating its NSGT status, if so approved by the UNGA/4th Committee”
And the evidence for this is? Please just tell us how you know this to be the case.
Your turn, Aidan. Where’s your formal evidence that the C-24 ‘rejected outright’ Scotland’s Petition, to the extent that it will never be evaluated for NSGT listing, as you clearly claimed?
Please some provide some evidence
Please just provide some evidence
Your turn.
Minor correction to my submission, Aidan; JPTI submitted Scotland’s Petition directly to the C-24, and not via the Secretariat. Both routes are valid.
Incidentally, this morning I asked ChatGPT for its understanding of the Petition’s current status, and its ‘Bottom Line’ was;
“Scotland’s petition is actively under consideration, and its advocates have formally entered the procedural arena. But no formal recognition or listing has taken place yet, and no resolution has been introduced in the General Assembly’s Fourth Committee.
The movement now hinges on diplomatic traction—securing a sponsoring country and seeing the issue formally taken up in the Fourth Committee process.”
@Xaracen – Brilliant, so what response have JPTi received from C-24 in response to the petition? I say that the response was that C-24 does not have the remit to consider a petition from a territory not on the list of NSGT’s issued by the general assembly. My evidence for that is;
– the statement on the JPTi website;
– the minutes of the C-24 session in June which included no reference to Scotland; and
– the response to the petition presented on behalf of the people of West Papua.
C-24 will have informed JPTi that for Scotland to be added to the list, a state would have to sponsor a motion which would then need to be agreed by the UN General Assembly. Therefore, C-24 have rejected the petition outright, and nobody in the UN is doing anything with it or about it at all.
If I am wrong, prove it, provide some evidence that someone in the UN is actively considering this petition and its implications. I’m really tempted to offer a £1,000 bet to anyone on this forum that you won’t provide any valid evidence, but I don’t think anyone who is good for the money would accept.
Aidan, as usual, you are being deliberately obtuse!
The C-24 has NOT “rejected the petition outright”, and you have not presented any actual evidence that it has done so.
As I ‘explicitly’ pointed out, it has no authority to reject any petition on its own, it can only recommend such an action to the 4th committee. If you have formal evidence from a C-24-issued document that it has made that recommendation, OR directly rejected the Petition on its own authority, then provide it.
That an existing member state would have to sponsor a resolution on Scotland’s behalf, which would then need to be agreed by the UN General Assembly/4th Committee is indeed a requirement, and canvassing of member states for that very purpose is under way, as Craig Murray has confirmed, and in a recent interview he reported solid interest in doing so from one member state, and that several others have also suggested possible interest in doing so too.
Thus the Petition is merely pending a favourable outcome from that sponsorship process, and if that happens, the C-24 will be instructed by the 4th Committee/UNGA to evaluate the Petition’s case for NSGT listing.
So, yet again, Aidan; where is your formal evidence from a C-24-issued document that it has “rejected the petition outright”?
Put up or shut up!
@Xaracen
Whilst you’re rather vocal in making demands for information and evidence, it would be good to hear your answers to oft-tabled (but repeatedly ignored) basic questions.
1. What does a “good outcome” (in terms of specific, tangible, demonstrable, objective progress and actions) look like to you in, say, 6 months from now and in a year?
2. By what specific means to you envisage the above anticipated tangible circumstances and UN actions/deliverables being of assistance to Scottish independence being delivered? (Again, keep it simple – a vote, enforced referendum, UDI, UN declaration, enforced dissolution of the Union and by which means etc.)
These are hardly unreasonable nor complex questions to ask. If you cannot answer them, why should anyone be bothered about this business in the first place, if the supposed tangible benefits to the “man in the street” can’t be simply spelled out?
Just plain speaking would be appreciated rather than Baird-esque vagueness, oblique twaddle, self-references, riddles etc.
TIA.
“Please just provide some evidence”
Dinnae provide this yin wi onything, Xaracen!
Dinnae provide this yin wi onything at aw.
Thay be twistin ony repone ye mak tae a dug’s denner and gar ye hoond eftir an auld chowed frisbee disgysit as logical argie quhile ettlin at cleishin the rottit flesche aff the carcage o deid-horse raisonin.
Ther be nae logic tae be haed aff thaim – nane at aw.
Thay hiv buin telt whit the UN/C-24/Fourth Committee proceadeur is oan non-self-governing-territories and hou the proces gaes; thay hiv buin telt ower an ower an ower agin.
This yin isnae chessin sairious discussioun – thay juist be efter makkin dout and confuision roond fowks heids.
switching to plain old English now because I’m ambidextrous in both the Scots and English languages.
We all know from Craig Murray’s anecdotal evidence that there’s massive support for Scottish independence among the sane nations of Earth… and in due course that support will be made clear to all when the UN adds Scotland to its NSGT list and begins Scotland’s decolonisation process.
*gar = compel. argie = argument. ettlin = attempting/trying. clieshin = lashing/whipping. quhile = while.raisonin = reasoning. carcage = carcass.
Northcode says:
“Don’t tell him Pike!”
BTW, NC, you left off a key definition:
Sane nation of Earth = a nation whose current spokesperson says something NC agrees with.
That’s anecdotal BTW, but hey, if it’s good enough for you …
@Xaracen – you’re basically admitting what I’m saying to be true, but taking a roundabout way to do it. C-24 has no remit to receive a petition like the one presented or to do anything with it. It does not have the power, as I have been pointing out for ages, to add new countries to the list of NSGT’s. I was told repeatedly that I was wrong about this and that Scotland would be considered at the June session of C-24. That is objectively not what has happened.
Now it’s true that C-24 cannot reject the petition on behalf of the UN as a whole, but it can point out (as it has done) that C-24 has no remit to receive it. That is what I mean by C-24 having “thrown out” the petition.
The route has always been available to petition the UN General Assembly. However, the chance of a majority of the General Assembly voting to add Scotland to the list of NSGT’s is 0%. If you disagree, and you think anyone at the UN is actively evaluating the petition or the arguments by JPTi, then please provide some evidence.
No worries, Northcode.
Aidan is getting no more from me until he provides formal evidence that “C-24 have rejected the petition outright”.
Read that, Aidan? Your turn!
Evidence! Not homemade dogfood!
@Xaracen
You’re the one being evasive and refusing to answer reasonable questions, no one else.
Either put up or shut up. There’s a good lad.
@Xaracen says:
“Don’t tell them, Pike!”
What we need now is somebody to translate that into Scots.
And/or Brithonic too.
@Captain Caveman;
I’m disinclined to acquiesce to your request.
@Xaracen
‘… I’m disinclined to acquiesce to your request.’
Oh, I bet you are. Imagine my surprise.
“Aidan is getting no more from me” – exactly, because you have no more to give. The idea that you have all of this high quality evidence to support yet another of your eccentric claims, but you aren’t going to treat us to it unless we all jump through endless hoops, is for the birds. You and I both know the emperor has no clothes, and ultimately the only person you kidding is yourself.
You are projecting, Aidan, and deflecting. You’ve just backtracked on your original assertion and are now attempting to pretend that you meant something else all along.
It won’t wash!
‘sent packing’,
‘rebuffed’,
‘all over’,
‘an automatic rejection’,
‘completely rebuffed at the first hurdle’,
‘thrown out’,
‘rejected outright’
You’ve just conceded that you have no evidence!
@Xaracen
‘… You’ve just conceded that you have no evidence!’
You yourself have just point blank refused to explain where you think this campaign (for want of a better description) will be in 6 months or a year or how you think it’ll be useful in real world pragmatic terms to Scottish independence supporters. You’ve refused to outline any of the specific means that independence could be delivered as a result – UDI, UN resolution/recognition etc.
All things considered, then, it’s surely a tad rich to be criticising anyone for offering “no evidence” (in your book) when you’re manifestly and demonstrably doing just that yourself.
It’s also worth remembering that you’re the one asserting all this is somehow a big deal, not Aidan. Thus the burden of proof rests on your shoulders, not his – and I’m afraid you’ve come up well short on that front. Why would anyone in the real world as it were, outside of your niche online coterie, take any of this stuff even remotely seriously?
Will Mickey Mouse be the First minister?
Don’t think you need to ask.
Our Firdt Minister is Mickey Mouse. All Disney Land and Loony Tunes in one slime ball
Caveman: gimme this gimme that, I want all the info, I want it now, get me the deluxe file! Now! Gimme all the answers now!…away and do some looking yourself. Then answers are there.
Aiden: If you had kids I’d bet you’d be telling them ‘you can’t go swimming until you can swim’. Aye well, some folks are like that.
‘… Caveman: gimme this gimme that, I want all the info, I want it now, get me the deluxe file! Now! Gimme all the answers now!…away and do some looking yourself. Then answers are there.’
Oh do be quiet, troll.
I have politely asked for a simple list of those claimed international “legal experts” and “human rights organisations” as according to the OP. Hardly the fucking moon on a stick, wouldn’t you say? Would take all of 20 seconds to do.
But let’s face it “DaveL”, neither I nor anyone else has “hee haw” chance of getting any meaningful answers to perfectly reasonable questions – because they’re likely none (or anything like alluded to).
…’all of 20 seconds to do.’ So do it.
20 seconds to do for the person making these grandiose (unsubstantiated) claims, you moron i.e. not me.
Don’t worry pal, I’m not expecting an answer to my question (lol).
Here is all the Info you need to be educated.
link to liberation.scot
‘…I’m not expecting an answer to my question (lol).
So what do you expect your question to achieve? You find it amusing so maybe it was a joke/trick question, one that only you understand.
20 seconds and counting…you might have had your answer several dozen times over by now
‘… Here is all the Info you need to be educated.’
Nope, no mention of supportive international “legal experts” and “human rights organisations” in any of that as far as I can see (including in the most recent press release that’s still fully 6 weeks old, hardly hot off the press wouldn’t you say? Your OP strongly implies there are new developments and/or information?)
I’m sure it’ll be a doddle for you to show me where I am wrong and point me to the verbatim text and information where this is mentioned, right?
Yeah right, I’ll not be holding my breath.
@Dave “L” plates
‘… So what do you expect your question to achieve?’
A: Clarity in terms of exactly who these (alleged) “legal experts and human rights organizations” actually are, assuming they exist?
‘… You find it amusing’
A: Yup. Who wouldn’t be amused by such unsubstantiated grandiose claims that fail to stand up against even the most basic scrutiny? (Other readers of this blog might be entitled to ask themselves why the need to make such claims – and why the refusal to substantiate them, when to do so would clearly be advantageous to the OP’s claims etc.)
‘… so maybe it was a joke/trick question, one that only you understand.’
A: No it wasn’t a “joke/trick question” but a perfectly straightforward, reasonable question – written in plain English, simple enough for a 5 year old to understand.
‘… 20 seconds and counting…you might have had your answer several dozen times over by now’
Response: Well, the delay to which you’re alluding to is entirely due to the OP’s failure to provide the most basic, reasonable corroborative information in support of his/her claim that there was international support from “legal experts and human rights organizations” – and subsequent crude attempt at obfuscation (providing a link to screeds of irrelevant info that doesn’t contain the requested information).
If you’ve got a problem with how long it’s all taking, I suggest you take up your complaint with the OP “100%Yes”.
HTH.
Moan whinge cry…you must be one of those ‘special’ people, “I want everything now!” Special.
20 seconds for an answer, have you no lungs?
Good grief you’re so thick aren’t you Dave.
There’s only so much oozing stupidity I can take in any one day.
Oh my! Listen to you. You are upset. And now you say I have a problem. Well no I don’t have a problem.
I suggest you calm down and maybe drink some tea. Then you can bask in the radiant glow of self righteousness that only special people have such as you.
That’s enough from me but you carry on if you must. Don’t waste too many tears on it though eh.
It doesn’t even matter whether the UN says yes to any of this, assuming they are even interested. At best it will force another referendum which will be NO at this time and for the foreseeable future. I suspect that there was a recent referendum which rejected independence will weigh heavily on just how serious anybody in the UN would take any submission in any case
What a waste of everyones time and money.
Turns out I’m wrong, statement has just been posted from the secretariat of the UN General Assembly, the case of Scotland is going to be considered in the autumn recognising the huge groundswell of support and based on the convincing legal arguments presented by Professor Baird and others. Surprised is an understatement, I don’t like being wrong but I’m big enough to admit when I am. See below:
link to change.org
‘… I suggest you calm down and maybe drink some tea. Then you can bask in the radiant glow of self righteousness that only special people have such as you.’
Yeah, I’m crying a river, Dave 😀
It takes a great deal more than your imbecilic, sub-par trolling to get me riled, son. All you have done is highlight the following:
1. No-one is able to provide any details to back up outlanding claims of international support for this UN business (and thus the only sensible conclusion for anyone to draw is that is no such evidence of support, which raises its own questions as to the veracity of much else besides)
2. Your own abject stupidity and poor writing abilities.
3. You’re a shit-stirring troll who has derailed a perfectly reasonable query, probably because you’re (rightly) concerned about the lack of available (valid) response.
So as irritating as it undeniably is, I’m happy to “take one for the team” and deal with morons like you, if only to shine a light on the abject paucity of the whole business.
Glad we’ve got that cleared up, Dave.
@Rob
I suspect you may be new on here.
So you won’t know that according to the usual Wings BTL suspects, at the next referendum, only the Yes votes will be counted.
I don’t follow the “logic” myself, but ask Grok to assemble the words/phrases colony, white sizzler, Anglo, ancient guff, slave, fear, abuse, Dews, theft, oil, water, Grangemouth, handouts and tawse into a syntactically valid paragraph and you will be 95% there.
Sprinkle in a few cod Scots words for the final 5%.
Mind that I wrote “syntactically”. Dinna fash yersel aboot semantics. Few ither cants dae.
Prick.
DaveL;
Don’t waste your time on these paid yoon w*nkers.
You’re right James, you’re right.
‘It doesn’t even matter whether the UN says yes to any of this,…’ but I have to wonder why they’re all crying so much if it doesn’t matter.
But you answered that too.
Well yeah, I am “paid” – in stark contrast to you bloody pair, one imagines.
The UN Special Committee on Decolonization (C-24) has not yet rejected Scotland’s petition outright.
Russian diplomats are looking over the evidence being submitted to them by or ambassador for Scotland Craig Murray, I do expect good thing from the Russians government when they have had a opportunity to obsourb the information given to them by craig, after all its not just the Scottish people England has been lying to its the world.
There are many uncertainties. But one thing for sure is that the SNP is now a honking maggot-ridden carcase blocking the path.
Yes, indeed, and has been for some time unfortunately.
It’s a shite situation for us.
Might not be in my lifetime, but one day Scotland will be a self governing territory again, just like almost every other country in the world.
I find it 100% INcredible that we are not a self-governing territory.
Especially when you think about the fact that we used to be.
“Former MP Mhairi Black announces she has left the SNP.”
I thought she was a dead cert as future FM?
agent x @ 12.06.
My initial thought was “Mhairi who ?”. However, doubtless the SNP’s loss may prove a gain to the retail takeaway food industry.
Aye, but if you knew who she was you wouldnae buy a coffee from her, would ye?
She’s a very famous comedian now.
Did you just assume her pronouns, x?
Yup
Potty mouth no more – unless you pay for so called (ex politician) comedy.
She said previously the Labour Party left her, now it’s because of the SNP supposed stance on gender woo woo (ha!).
Total narcissist, she’s great, everyone else is wrong.
Had no time for her after her antics getting drag acts into primary schools.
It’s good to be shot of sh1t..
Farewell and adieu
To you potty mouthed woman
Fair well and adieu
To your gravy-train snout
For you’ve tendered notice
That your leaving the party
And so
Never more
Shall we seen you again.
@ 100%yes: Well done for thinking and talking about how to regain Scotland’s independence.
I’m not sure that Corbyn’s new party is the answer – has anyone in any part of the Labour Party ever helped Scotland’s constitutional claim? However it is pleasing to see someone other than Farage attempting to break the 2-party mould.
I note that there isn’t a new party registered as yet. Going to the Your Party website, these signatories are only to supporting the process of setting up a party.
If only Jeremy would issue a tweet to Scotland to get people signing up to Liberation! He seems to have a lot of clout with the masses.
Sarah,
If Jeremy’s New party offered the Scots a vote for Independence then why wouldn’t anyone who actually wants Independence not take it.
Here is our problem if the SNP was genuine about Independence in 2026 then in their manifesto would be a plan A section 30 order and if the request for a section 30 order was turned down the party has also a plan B to delivery Independence. We have all spent and the SNP has wasted 11yrs piss aresing us about on Independence and knowing that once the vote have been counted all bets are off, for me I’ve had enough of the SNP and if there is a party who’s going to offer Independence and lets be honest only Corbyn’s party can hold power in at Westminster something the SNP can never do.
I’ve only heard by listening to Gordon Ross, that this new party is going to allow Scotland a choice and if this is true the SNP next year might just be finished or it might make the SNP leadership stand up and take notice, I’m done with the SNP I’d never vote for them ever. Everything to play for next year and the left party might just be more damaging to the SNP than anyone thinks.
That presupposes the new party – once it has decided what to call itself which is hardly a great start in itself – signs up to the concept of a majority votes victory in plebiscitary elections for parties signed up to that principle represents a de facto declaration of independence.
There is no other requirement for “real” independence parties. They don’t have to agree on policies, or like each other, or even stand as a common slate because all that matters is the general commitment that their cumulative vote counts towards the plebiscitary aim.
Any party which refuses to accept the principle isn’t serious about independence and doesn’t deserve our votes.
In the event that cumulative vote represents 50% + 1 in ANY General Election, a Constituent Assembly should be convoked immediately to negotiate de jure independence.
This really isn’t rocket science. Many states with much less going for them than Scotland, and far greater obstacles to overcome, have managed to achieve self determination.
The only thing stopping us doing so in 2026 or at any point thereafter is the ability to grow a pair politically.
100%Yes: Of course I would take a Corbyn-allowed vote BUT I’m not yet convinced that he would offer one.
AND we would want a very different franchise AND no UK, BBC or other interference in the voting procedures and campaign.
For 2026 election, we need all independence supporters registered to vote AND all independence candidates under the Liberate Scotland umbrella AND all candidates/parties signed up to the Manifesto for Independence. So there’s a lot to do.
I predict that the only “choice” this new party will offer Scotland is how many P@lestinian sizzlers we will take:
1) Lots.
2) Even more.
It really does signify the desperation of the Indy movement that anybody is considering hitching their wagon to a political vehicle intended to consolidate and expand Islamic power as that ever-growing minority sees that the day when it will achieve critical mass is now clearly in sight.
Honking maggot ridden carcase you describe the SNP as Fearghas.
One of the most accurate descriptions of the SNP I have seen, Absolutely bang on.
Today sees legislation enforced that forces individuals to provide age verification in order to access p0rn sites.
A quick internet search shows that most major porn sites are complying with this but doing a search on shem@le p0rn shows that you can still access such sites without the need for verification.
The regulator who is responsible for this said they will quickly investigates sites who don’t comply to this legislation but it will be interesting to see if they will be as serious when it comes to these shem@le p0rn sites.
So what’s the problem. Just type in your age and let Pam and her five sisters do the rest.
@Bilbo – so you’re coming on here to announce you’ve been watching loads of porn?
I see since my return to this site that the village idiots are still here 🙂
The point I’m making the current government has introduced requirements for porn sites in the UK to stop underage children to view these sites, which incidentally isn’t that strong and can be circumvented but there are these Trans related ones that aren’t following these requirements.
It’ll be interesting to see if these sites will be forced to comply given the language used by the regulator to ‘protect the children’.
This legislation has been well known for years and there are fears that it could be used to curtail free speech to ‘protect the children’ from other harmful content like alternative political views or anything else that provides a different view from the current establishment narrative.
Of course it is just a tick-box exercise by the government but there is the ‘mission creep’ as I mentioned that the scope of harmful content is extended to what I had mentioned. Only time will tell.
Before the establishment gunned for Corbyn, he was making an absolute mess as leader of the Labour party by either fence sitting or flip-flopping on nearly every issue.
The likes of Corbyn may be great at shouting from the sidelines but it is a different story when they are given the responsibility of power to enact what they believe in.
It’s hard to see Corbyn being any more effective as leader of his own party.
LORN,
DAN,
ALF BAIRD.
Scotland were daft enough to let Colonialism happen to them.
One of the first Colonial Acts to subdue & control Scots and Scotlands territory after the treaty of union, was in the Disarming Act 1715,
Then a new Act was introduced along similar lines in 1725.
Then the Act in 1745.
This Act forbade Scots under the pain of punishment, of high Fines, imprisonment or indenture for Seven years to the Colonies,
To lawfully Hold any, to hide, conceal any weapon, within the shire of Dunbartain, On the North side of the river forth, Perth, Kincardine, Aberdeen, Inverness, Nairn, Cromarty, Argyll, Forfar, Banff, Sutherland, Caithness, Elgin, and Ross,
It also forbade and prohibited Scots using their own language, wearing clothes commonly called highland dress, playing of Bagpipes, The gathering of people, and imposed Crown Courts that took Scottish land.
That is Colonialism that was not volunteered, but Oppressed and Suppressed the the Scottish people by threats and punishment.
Banning those bagpipes was an act of kindness by our Colonial masters.
Yeah that must be why the World Bagpipe Championships is such a failure and no one bothers attending year on year. Child.
I was reading your fascinating post.
At the start of the second sentence my eyes were getting heavy. At the beginning of the third. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.
How lucky we are as Wings readers to have fresh, original prose from the likes of yourself, Baird, Confused, The Twat and others to keep us entertained and informed.
A wee suggestion-get together with your chums and patent your drug free cure for insomnia.
Since the colonialists oan here be talkin pish the noo a thocht a wid broach a subject close tae ma hert an pose a puddle o’ ma pish tae.
Thon moniment ersehole cawd Cináed mac Ailpín, or rex Pictorum as he likit tae caw himsel tae – the pompous eejit wisna e’en a Pict, force’t ma ancestors, the actual Picts, to surrender their braw Pictish tongue fir thon inferior Gaelic blether.
Even thaim wha speak the Gaelic dinna ken whit thair whitterin oan aboot maist o’ the time thair blaberin hit oot thair ain mooths.
Tae sum modren een Cináed mac Ailpín owerseen the exterminatioun o’ aw things Pictish… tho tae ma mind hit wis maist likely a compluthered unnertaken.
Whit a big hairy (accordin tae sum eye-witness accounts) Scots bastirt he wis. Comin ower here tae Pictavia wi aw his haiverin Scots Gaelic bellox.
A’m aw fir gettin the Ingles AND the Scots telt tae bugger aff oot ma country. Ma country, Pictland – although Pictavia haes a nice wee ring tae it as weel.
Long live Pictavia…ye bas.
“A’m aw fir gettin the Ingles AND the Scots telt tae bugger aff oot ma country”
Classic Wings BTL activism on show from NC. A call for somebody else to do the stuff he wants done.
A’m fir ye daein the tellin yersel, NC. Then we Sovereign Scots could justifiably sling yer sorry erse in the sea.
Dunnet Heid should do just grand.
Day off, annual leave was it?
For anyone seriously investigating Pictish, one resource online is the 2015 PhD thesis by Guto Rhys (329 page pdf) —
‘APPROACHING THE PICTISH LANGUAGE: HISTORIOGRAPHY, EARLY EVIDENCE AND THE QUESTION OF PRITENIC.’
« 1.5 The Battle over the Ghosts of the Picts: In the late eighteenth century the conflict over the Picts and their language grew more virulent, driven by political, religious and ethnic prejudices and factionalism. This century saw not only the union of the parliaments of Scotland and England in 1707 but also the violent defeat of Jacobitism in 1746 and the attendant suppression of Gaelic identity. The later horrors of the Highland Clearances and famine were to contribute to the contempt felt by many towards all things Gaelic.
« As we enter more deeply into the Enlightenment little credence was given to early origin myths, and a new critical approach, based on evidence and reason, emerged. The Picts were sometimes pressed into service to validate the personal and political agendas, or bias, of involved parties. Some Scots-speaking Lowlanders were placed in a quandary; just how Celtic should they consider themselves? Buying in to a Gaelic past would involve equating themselves with tribal, highland barbarians who were moreover descended from immigrant Irish, whose adherence to Catholicism in recent centuries evoked alarm. Imagining themselves as immigrant Saxons involved the danger of delegitimizing their claim, as first holders, to occupy and rule the land. Finding the means to portray Lowlanders as indigenous, in particular if this could trump Gaelic claims to the linguistically anglicised east, had great appeal.
« The Picts, details of whose language and culture were gradually emerging from the murky past, were becoming objects of increasing interest. They had left very little in terms of concrete evidence of their identity and they were ‘convenient blank sheets on which almost any tale could be written’ (Ferguson 1998, 185). »
link to theses.gla.ac.uk
There is no doubting the archaeological and historical record that the origins of what we today call the ‘Scots’ lie in the Pictish period, and hence in Pictland/Pictavia.
The author alludes to this not least in his mention of ‘the shift from Pictish to Gaelic’; and with this came the name change from Picts to Scots/Pictland to Scotland, due to the domination of the latter. So Northcode is correct, us Scots are Picts, wha kent?
As we know from the work of Salvo and more recently also Prof Robert Black KC, a country (e.g. England) may be rebranded as something else (e.g. UK of Grt Britain), thus obscuring the takeover of annexed territories that are subject to cultural and linguistic domination.
Scottish history is based on a fear of Catholicism.
As ever, Alf, on this issue you do a sleight of hand between physical descent and linguistic conclusion. By your (and Northcode’s curiously shapeshifting) pitch you should be able to give us some historically verifiable Pictish vocabulary. But you never do that. Instead you typically make a non sequitur abracadabra jump from a territorial Pictish DNA argument to the Inglis/Scots language, as if thus having proved the latter to be the current descendant of the Pictish language. This is entirely untenable. You told me to check out Billy Kay’s ‘Mither’s Tongue’ book for your historical back up. I did. His book does not support your claims, as I posted to you before here:
“By your (and Northcode’s curiously shapeshifting) pitch…
Yes, Fearghas. We Picts, much like in native American mythology, have the ability to shapeshift intae wolves an bears an beavers an sic.
Tho, if it’s beavers wir shiftin tae wi tend tae stay clear o’ Dan’s neck o’ the woods.
It’s a handy facility whin the urge tae lick yer ain crotch comes ower ye – the transmogrification wi caw hit here in Pictavia; no relatit tae ony ither kind o’ trans, ye ken.
Good to see you self-identifying as a Pict, NC.
I can happily address my racist bigotry at you.
And I can attempt to alter current reality to match the Declaration Of Arbroath, which claims that the Picts were wiped off the face of the earth.
An authentic genocide of the non-pretendy type.
Looks like the D of A was a tad premature, but with today’s genetic sequencing techniques, we can get it right this time!
Fearghas, in ‘The Mither Tongue’ Billy Kay informs us of the origins and natural development of what we term as ‘Scots language’ since at least around 900. Pre-800s there is no archaeological record of Gaelic culture in most of what we know as Scotland, it is predominantly Pictish.
Post formation of ‘Scotland’ from the 800s the Pictish community and culture were dominated by Gaelic culture/language. But this domination did not last; as Kay reminds us it was the evolving ‘Scots’ language that soon became by the 1300/1400s the language of parliament and court, not Gaelic.
A pertinent hypothesis here may therefore be that the Brittonic Pictish language, coupled with other influences (travel, migration, trade etc) eventually developed into the ‘Scots’ language, whilst Scots speakers have culturally rejected the imposition of Gaelic and English to an extent.
“A pertinent hypothesis here may therefore be that the Brittonic Pictish language, coupled with other influences (travel, migration, trade etc) eventually developed into the ‘Scots’ language, whilst Scots speakers have culturally rejected the imposition of Gaelic and English to an extent.”
This is how I have interpreted your views on the origins of the ‘Scots’ leid, Alf.
It’s a perfectly rational hypothesis that makes sense within the context of what is known of the Pictish people.
I like how Billy Kay ends his book, The Mither Tongue.
Aye, oor language is vital tae oor cultural identity. It’s the expresser o’ the speerit o’ oor ain selves an that o’ oor entire people.
Alf Baird above @ 26 July, 11:31 am, writes:
« Fearghas, in ‘The Mither Tongue’ Billy Kay informs us of the origins and natural development of what we term as ‘Scots language’ since at least around 900. […] A pertinent hypothesis here may therefore be that the Brittonic Pictish language, coupled with other influences (travel, migration, trade etc) eventually developed into the ‘Scots’ language, whilst Scots speakers have culturally rejected the imposition of Gaelic and English to an extent. »
______
Alf,
You skew Billy Kay’s book. Your own dogmatic cod history on this issue is alarming. All the more so because of your online profile and worthy influence in other matters. Your insistence that ‘Scots’ is our uniquely indigenous language is spurious, as is your linkage of it with Pictish as antecedent.
For your relentless “othering” of Gaelic, I regrettably can only denounce you. You clearly wish Gaelic never was and you want it soon gone. Whether you realise it or not you manifest what Gaeldom has long known as “Mìorun mòr nan Gall” (“The deep ill will/ hostility/ malice of the Lowlander”).
In the book ‘Gaelic and Scotland / Alba agus a’ Ghàidhlig’ (Edited by William Gillies, Edinburgh Univ. Press, 1989), the late John MacInnes, in his essay ‘The Gaelic perception of the Lowlands’, wrote:
« A Lowlander (male) is a *Gall*; a Lowlander (female) a *Ban-Ghall*. The adjective is *Gallda*; and *Galldachd* is formed from it. The sharpness of the distinction that Gaelic tradition draws between Lowlander and Englishman is not always appreciated to the full by non-Gaels. Their puzzlement may not be altogether surprising. For one thing, as Lowlanders sometimes complain, Gaelic makes no distinction between English and Lowland Scots linguistically.
« They both speak *Beurla*. But *beurla* meant originally not ‘English’ but ‘speech’: the extended designation *Beurla Shasannach* ‘English (speech)’ is still heard. I must admit that I have never heard this employed to make a contrast with *Beurla Ghallda*, but when I myself use the latter for *Scots* (in preference to the dreadful neologism *Albais*), all Gaelic speakers understand immediately what is intended. In any event, Lowlanders themselves originally referred to their language as *Inglis*. […]
« […] To sum up, the Gaelic perception of the Lowlands is in essential agreement with that of the medieval Scots writers who regard the Gaels of their time as ‘contemporary ancestors’, people who preserve the language and culture which were once shared by all. But from the Gaelic point of view, we the Gaels are the disinherited, the dispossessed. » (pp 92,93,99)
I might add that “Gallda” in Irish also means: “Foreign, English, Anglicized”. Cf Irish:
“Ar nós na nGall” (“In a foreign manner”)
“Lena leathbhróg ghaelach agus a leathbhróg ghallda (“With his one shoe Irish and his other shoe English”).
Finally and crucially, for anyone who wishes to get the gist of what Billy Kay actually says in his book I would direct them to the extracts in this previous comment from me to you:
We may perhaps reasonably conclude that nothing a colonial administration promotes is in the best interest of the colonized, the prioritisation of Gaelic amidst ongoing discrimination against the Scots language being an example of creating internal division and confusion.
As Billy Kay noted, the Gaelic lobby ‘has pulled the ledder up ahint them’ through the dubious claim to be Scotland’s only indigenous language.
Alf,
Would you care to give us an example or two of your perceived “ongoing discrimination against the Scots language”?
Not your usual “Scots isn’t formally taught in schools” kind of hurty feelz thing, more “No Scots Speakers Here”, or “Applicants Fluent In Scots Will Not Be Short Listed”.
I think most rational people would accept the latter as “ongoing discrimination”, so for your arguments to hold water, we need some examples.
Thanks in advance.
Alf Baird says @ 26 July, 6:20 pm –
« We may perhaps reasonably conclude that nothing a colonial administration promotes is in the best interest of the colonized, the prioritisation of Gaelic amidst ongoing discrimination against the Scots language being an example of creating internal division and confusion. As Billy Kay noted, the Gaelic lobby ‘has pulled the ledder up ahint them’ through the dubious claim to be Scotland’s only indigenous language.»
« This inclusiveness will also need to extend to the highly effective Gaelic lobby. Aince upon a time, we were aw suppressed minorities thegither and supported ane anither, but since you climbed a bittie higher, I fear yer leaders hae kicked the ladder awa. When they speak of Scotland as a bilingual country, they mean Gaelic and English, an deil tak the hindmaist – Scots bein by far the hindmaist in the linguistic pecking order. Jeyn the process of liberation, o Gaels! All the estimated 1.5 million Scots speakers seek is parity with you 60,000 Gaelic speakers. Jeyn us, all you have to lose is your monopoly on ethnic Scottishness in our media, and a few suits! » (Billy Kay, ‘SCOTS:The Mither Tongue’, p275)
This:
The Picts were NOT ‘utterly destroyed’ by the Scots (the Scots lied to gain the favour of the Pope)… the Scots ARE the Picts; a people rebranded by a Gaelic speaking ‘elite’ who came fae Ireland.
Which means any on here who ‘claim’ to be an indigenous Scot (a hae ma douts in some cases) is maist likely of Pictish descent.
It also means that Gaelic is indeed the language of the Scots… but it isna the language o’ the Picts – the language o’ the Picts wis developed in Pictavia long before Gaelic showed up on the scene.
That being the case I am reclaiming my Pictish identity and I’m renaming Scotland (in ma ain heid at least) Pictavia.
History, eh? Ye canna trust a wird that comes oot the mooths o’ the Inglis… or a wird that comes oot the mooths o’ the ‘Scots’ aither.
Northcode breaking entirely new ground on Wings BTL.
He’s been colonised to the power of two.
Colonised squared in other words. CS * CE, where CS = Colonisation by the Scots, and CE equals Colonisation by the English.
Big respect. This one has the potential to run and run 🙂
Eat your hert oot, Professor Baird – there’s a new theory in town!
The Colonised Cubed concept, where a third term is added to the equation, (CI, representing Colonisation by Islam) will be discussed in a later module once we have all taken NC’s idea on board.
Correct.
It was a dynastic takeover following on from the Picts apparently taking the biggest hit (hierarchy wise) from standing toe to toe on the battlefield with the Norsemen.
Dynastic marriages and intrigue did the rest; the Picts weren’t wiped out, their culture was absorbed under layers of Scots hierarchical control. The greater mass of “Picts” didn’t go away, they were subsumed under the control, manners, fashion and speech of new overlords, one that ultimately lasted and weathered the storm of Germanic invaders who would go on to form England.
Kenneth McAlpine himself has in his family tree unnamed Pictish princesses in his family tree married to his male forebears through dynastic protocols of the time.
Dismissive negative reading of the declaration of Arbroath goes out of its way to ignore English inventions of supremacy at the time going back to mythical Brutus of Troy and other dodgy history submitted to the Pontiff for his decision on the matter.
Have it your way, YL Sah!
Only, your way, the Declaration of Arbroath is hoaching with lies.
Whoops 🙂
The Venerable Bede tells me that my people, the Picts, were not true natives of Britain but came originally from the faraway Scythian steppes.
But Bede is wrong… for when the ice receded my people were revealed to this world.
We Picts have been here – here in this land now misleadingly called Scotland but which is in truth Pictavia, the land of the Picts – for a very very very long time.
Welsh might be right when he instructs Renton to tell us all that it’s “shite being Scottish” or he might be wrong (I suspect it’s more likely that it’s just shite being Renton)… but whatever the veracity of Renton’s defeatist world view – it’s braw being a Pict.
Edinburgh University’s Dr Jim Wilson informs us that a genetic marker that’s been named S530 has been discovered – and it is a Pict marker.
We are told this marker is evidence that the Picts are living among us today (HELLO!) and can be identified genetically.
According to Wilson 10% of 1000 Scottish men tested carry this marker, while it is found in only 0.8% of English men.
I have the S530 marker… do you?
If so, join me in my campaign to liberate us Picts from both the Ingles AND the ‘Scots’… it’s time we Picts reclaimed our ancient nation and culture.
Forget Scottish independence – Pictish Independence is the new Clarion call for ‘Scotland’.
I have formed an organisation called AUORS (All Under One Rune Stone) and we’ll be marching across empty Glens and desolate boggy marshland to draw the attention of the world to the plight of the Picts – march dates will be announced shortly.
Interesting points Northcode but when do you recognises Gaidhlig to have come to Scotland.
Gaidhlig or the Goidelic version of it I have read came into Scotland sometime just before the time of Christ and yes, it probably came across from Ireland.
The Romans certainly wrote of Scotis Major and Scotus Minor with these areas being the kingdoms of Ulster, Munster, Leinster and Connacht in Ireland and the kingdom of Dalriada in Scotland.
But what of the Bythronic Gaelic that come in about a thousand years earlier. The Welsh type language. Who spoke that or variations of that. Is that what the Picts maybe spoke. Two waves of dissimilar looking language but with common ancestory before that.
Abhainn, or affen or in England the River Avon. Or what about Ceann or penn being respectively the word for head. With affen and abhainn looking different but with Avon pronuciation ceann and penn don’t sound that different.
Its fascinating the origins of language and how languages develop and or influenced. Language and history if you don’t know one you don’t know the other.
And that is why Gaelic used to be beaten out of the school kids and why many of us were brought up to believe that we spoke an ignoramus tongue when we didn’t use the BBC type recieved pronunciation form of English.
“Its fascinating the origins of language and how languages develop and or influenced. Language and history if you don’t know one you don’t know the other.”
Indeed, willie.
I’m no linguist and I’m afraid most of the questions you put are beyond my ability to answer with the expert authority they deserve.
I’m more likely to benefit from your knowledge of such things than you are from mine.
“But what of the Bythronic Gaelic that come in about a thousand years earlier. The Welsh type language. Who spoke that or variations of that. Is that what the Picts maybe spoke…”
It might well be what the Picts spoke or something akin to it or something that eventually formed a part of the language of the Picts. It would seem to fit with the hypothesis put forward by Alf Baird.
There’s no doubt that the mechanisms behind the development of languages are incredibly complex with all sorts of influences coming and going over the centuries.
Congrats on your S530 genetic marker, NC.
Can you get a confirmatory tattoo on your wrist?
While you’re waiting for an appointment, perhaps there’s an identifying armband you could wear.
I’m not taking your disproving of the fundamental truths of the Declaration of Arbroath lying down. We Sovereign Scots believed we had totally destroyed your lot. So we over-estimated.
So now technology has given us the tools to do a proper job.
If the Monarch can provide a signed Document from God that he has the divine right to rule, ….. I would love to see Gods signature.
by Chance if he ever forged one in Gods name…..
Other wise this is simply Westminster Parliaments unlawful attack through acts passed in that said Parliament for disarming and Colonising the other half of the treaty of union, Scotland and the Scots.
It’s a widely accepted point of view by many people across all of history that nothing happens that isn’t The Lord’s will.
Thus, if somebody is King, that’s because God wills it. And if somebody is a lifelong, congenital eejit, that too is as God wills.
I’m neither endorsing nor dissing this world view. Just pointing out that its existence and widely-held belief are objective facts.
Other objective facts are that for all of its independent history, Scotland was a monarchy. Every Scottish monarch believed God had put him or her on the throne. Anybody not subscribing to that belief had to keep it zipped if they wanted a quiet life.
Basically, given human nature, it’s the best way to organise politics, and that’s exactly why every alternative, e.g. the Covid Spreaders, the Orcs, the post-Independent African shitholes, etc. quickly morph into quasi-monarchies and dynastic rule.
If we had any sense in Scotland, we would be angling to go the same way. Scotland is a bunch of mutually hostile tribes trying to co-exist inside an artificial national boundary, like many of the post-imperial African shitholes now riven by civil war. We need someone and something bigger than any of our tribal leaders if we are to hold together as a national entity post-Indy.
A king or queen and a royal family.
Of course, this is anathema to many (all?) of the rank and file Indy supporting die-hards. They look at the eejits and schemies we’ve democratically voted in to lead us, complain bitterly about the complete mess that has resulted, then go out to vote for the next keelie to come along, expecting that things will be better next time.
The Lord’s will doesn’t apply to bald men according to Mathew and Luke.
Agreed. Monarchy belongs to a bygone era. Gods also belong to a bygone era. Kings, queens and fairy tales.
FFS, Marie.
Open the een the Guid Gowd gave ye.
Learn to deal with the world as it is – not as you want it to be.
Marie, as a Scottish Republican and Christian, I’ll post this comment here if I may —
SOME HISTORICAL SCOTTISH CONTRIBUTIONS TO WORLD CONSTITUTIONAL & DEMOCRATIC THOUGHT
In the struggle for constitutional government, Christians have made an illustrious historical contribution not just to Scottish but to human democracy:
JOHN DUNS SCOTUS (1266-1308)
Berwickshire founder of the Scottish tradition of philosophy. Professor Alexander Broadie convincingly argues that the thinking of Scotus was behind the Declaration of Arbroath.
JOHN MAIR (Gleghornie, 1467-1550)
The writings of John Duns Scotus influenced John Mair who became a highly significant professor at St Andrews University (lecturing to eg John Knox and Patrick Hamilton), and at the University of Paris (lecturing to eg John Calvin, George Buchanan, Ignatius Loyola, Francisco Vitoria, François Rabelais). Mair sought to curb the autocratic power of the Pope within the Catholic Church. Though he himself remained Catholic, his ‘Conciliar Movement’ principles influenced the constitutional thinking of the Protestant Reformers of the 16th century, informing the disputes against absolute monarchies in Europe of the 17th century.
GEORGE BUCHANAN (1506-1582)
The treatise ‘Art and Science of Government among the Scots’ by Calvinist-humanist George Buchanan (a former pupil of John Mair above) had a huge influence on political thought in Britain and America. John Milton in his ‘Defence of the People of England’ wrote concerning just government: “For Scotland I refer you to Buchanan”.
SAMUEL RUTHERFORD (1600-1661)
Presbyterian minister and St Andrews Professor, Samuel Rutherford in his book ‘Lex, Rex’ laid a foundation for the ideas of the US Declaration of Independence and Constitution. Indeed, the American War for Independence was referred to by the British as a “Presbyterian Rebellion”. John Locke (‘Father of Classical Liberalism’) was himself much influenced by Rutherford’s ‘Lex, Rex’.
The keynote motif of the above Christian heritage of political thought was how to oppose the injustice of absolutism. In his 2016 submission to the Supreme Court on behalf of the Independent Workers Union of Great Britain, AIDAN O’NEILL QC wrote:
“3.6 This tradition of popular sovereignty within the Scottish constitution reached its apotheosis with the decision by the self-convened Scottish Parliament in 1689 to declare James VII to have forfeited the Crown on the basis of its claims that he had over-reached the lawful limits placed on his executive power. The use of the word ‘forfeited’ was of particular significance because it was consistent with the terms of the 1320 CE Declaration of Arbroath as well as with the constitutional writings of George Buchanan and Samuel Rutherford.”
HERMAN DOOYEWEERD (Dutch, 1894-1977)
In keeping with the above heritage I have an ongoing interest in the thinking of the late Dutch Christian philosopher Herman Dooyeweerd, who wrote extensively on the nature of the “just state”. The jurist and humanist G.E. Langemeyer called him “the most original philosopher Holland has produced, even Spinoza not excepted”. Dooyeweerd essentially identifies two structural parameters of a State. The first is the more obvious lower parameter that a State can only exist at all if its Government retains a military monopoly over the given territory. Such dominance could of course easily lapse into tyranny, so Dooyeweerd’s upper parameter is that a State is structurally called to seek JUSTICE for its citizens (and we immediately note that the desire to re-assert Scottish Statehood is born of an increasingly urgent awareness of the structural “injustice” of Scotland’s terminal feebleness within the UK State).
Mark Beggan,
Nice of you to accept that they acted in Colonial behaviour when passing these three Acts in 1715, 1725, and 1746 respectively.
Then that John Brown gave Victoria one for Scotland.
Before you know it kilts are everywhere and the bloody bagpipes are in vogue.
Ideologies are like rubbish theatre of the romantic kind.
That’s why Samuel Taylor Coleridge’s formula, ‘the willing suspension of disbelief’, applies so neatly to the natural lifespan of any ideology.
Coleridge had in mind a far nobler use of oor human ability tae choose tae suspend oor disbelief, tho — a nobler idea of theatre and of the romantic ideal.
It could easily be argued that the mair flimsy the theatrical device — a tacky romance novel or a third rate Hollywood adventure movie, say — the greater the demonstration required of our ability to suspend our critical faculties… to suspend our disbelief.
And so it would seem with that flimsiest of ‘theatrical devices’ called ‘trans’.
But lose ye not hope that all will end well for humankind… for to paraphrase Marshall McLuhan:
“If ye shuve sumthin doun the necks o’ fowk fir lang enough… thae be shuir tae thraw it aw up agin.”
It could well be that the great trans boak is rapidly approaching.
Loving the imagery, I SO hope it’s true, the Great Trans Boak.
Which in time will no doubt be retitled as the Great Trans Book.
Then the Great Train Book.
And in 3 simple word jiggles, history is rewritten.
Like always.
Marie,
3:10 pm
Aptly said,
As can be witnessed The constant suppression & oppression of anyone whom speaks up for Scotland or Scots to have a voice of their own in this modern day continues,
However Wings over Scotland is beneficial in this way, as everyone can read and witness it, and judge the response from the other side for themselves.
Let the hangman/ person bring his own rope to the party metaphorically speaking.
All they do is expose their own anti Scottish prejudice. The fake deployment of the “patter” doesn’t fool me either.
For the record I am NOT “anti Scottish”, quite the reverse. I love Scotland and the Scottish. As an English Unionist I’m desperate for Scotland to leave; if that isn’t a sincere compliment then I don’t know what is?
If you’re referring to my treatment of a few dribbling low-wattage trolls looking for trouble, please don’t imagine I regard them as being in any way representative of Scotland. I’ve worked in Scotland and know its people.
*not to leave (!)
Captain shit for brains; “For the record I am NOT “anti Scottish”, quite the reverse. I love Scotland and the Scottish. As an English Unionist I’m desperate for Scotland not to leave…”
Patronising bastard.
@Fatso
Hark at you, Fatso, 2am on a Saturday morning and what are you doing? Dragging up a 3-week old snippet of a post (that you don’t even understand because you’re thick as pigshit) and hurling abuse.
You are one sad, sad bastard matey. Get a life pal.
Well put, James Cheyne!
I always wonder if the British Empire would have been half as successful as it was without the bagpipes, the Highland regiments, the Scottish Civil engineers, the Scottish missionary army of zealot Presbyterian land grabbers, Scottish bankers ( Hong Kong), Scottish Colonial police… etc etc etc.
I can’t judge people of those times. What would you have done? If you can’t beat them join them comes to mind.
Add compulsory bagpipes tuition to compulsory Scots speaking post-Indy and see iScotland take off!
That would put a stop to youth crime.
Behave ya little bastard or it’s bagpipe classes for you my boy!
There’s no doubt that Scotland punched above its weight when it was part of the British Empire.
Some will see that as a good thing, others as being bad.
However there is no doubt that we had an impact out of proportion to our size.
The problem will be replicating that going forward, especially since educational standards have declined under the SNP.
Which is why it is hard to forgive the SNP for wasting time, on gender woo nonsense, at the expense of things that really matter for the future.
“However there is no doubt that we had an impact out of proportion to our size.
The problem will be replicating that going forward”
I’m sorry, but why is having any impact so important? Do the Norwegians lie in their beds at night fretting over whether their country has an impact out of proportion to it’s size?
“Do the Norwegians lie in their beds at night fretting over whether their country has an impact out of proportion to it’s size?”
As they are the biggest per capita supporters of our freedom fighting anti-colonialists in the east, they may well do.
They may well fret that they should be doing even more. A stitch in time, and a’ that. Why wait until the Orcs are on their border?
They may well look across the sea at us and fret about WTAF is wrong with some in the grassroots Scottish Indy movement.
A scene in the not too distant future at the UN in New York.
Calvin Cheeseburger the third, a balding, overweight middling executive, arrives at his desk one morning. He enquires of his secretary ‘Isobel, what’s on the agenda today’? Isobel responds ‘We have a petition from the good people of Scotland requesting Independence from England as they have been treated as a colony for hundreds and hundreds and hundreds of years’.
Calvin leans back in his seat to ponder the situation. ‘Why are they bringing this up now’? ‘Not sure’ says Isobel.
‘How many have signed the petition’ asks Calvin. ‘Over 19,000 responds Isobel. Calvin thinks deeply. ‘What is the population of Scotland’? he asks. ‘Approx 5,600,000 of which approx 4,000,000 are of voting age’ advises Isobel. These facts clearly trouble Calvin. ‘Have I got this right-we have a petition, from less than 0.5% of the population, who are looking to impose their views on the other 99.5%’ ‘It does seem a bit strange’ Isobel responds.
Calvin is deeply troubled on how to proceed. He does not want to offend the brave people of Scotland but he can see the ridiculousness of the petition before him. He asks his colleague, Louloulemon Sparkle. only recently back at her desk following breast enhancement surgery, for advice.
‘File it in the bin’ suggests Louloulemon, who clearly lacks any compassion. Calvin , being a diplomat, albeit in a minor capacity, is horrified at this.
After much inner turmoil in deciding the best course of action to pursue he instructs Isobel to advise the good people of Scotland that the petition is currently receiving serious consideration and strenuous debate is ongoing at the UN. A decision is to be made in early course. Secretly, Calvin hopes the petition is simply forgotten about and the proposers realise the absurdity of the situation. ‘Why can’t the Scots simply vote in some honest, competent, fiscally prudent politicians and the whole process will take care of itself’ he muses. An inner voice whispers ‘Maybe there aren’t any, just like here in the US of A’
Hopefully I have not upset the cranks, the fantasists and the outright nutters too much but………….I doubt it!
If it is proven Dr Upton has deliberately altered notes to mislead a disciplinary investigation then what else could that person have altered?
Interesting to read elsewhere that Upton kicked up a row on a placement at another hospital. On a home visit to a lady in her 80’s or called him “son”.
Upton reported the patient for misgendering him and his co-worker for not doing enough to back him up!
In my opinion, Upton and all the bullying nodding donkeys in NHS Fife should be sacked. What a bunch of spineless frauds.
He’s thrown himself into the arena of public consciousness.
Taking notes in his book of grudges and pulling his nostril hairs to induce greetin just isnae gonna cut it anymore..
Professionally here; he’s toast. Will probably head off to the US and his donors and practice there, they’ll look after their own.
Their chromosomes?
Ah ken we believe it to be impossible.
But only a few years ago we all kent that it was impossible to cook up a virus in the lab, infect most of the world, kill tens of millions of people directly and tens of millions more indirectly, and inflict costs mounting into the trillions of dollars on the majority of the world’s people.
We ken better noo!
Everyone believed it was possible, it has been for some considerable time.
What no-one believed was that it was possible to do it by accident!
What make you think it was an accident, Rob?
The sterling efforts by the Covid Spreaders, long after it had been abandoned by the rest of the world as impossible, to seal their borders and eradicate Covid in their own country, suggests they ran a controlled experiment to see if they could unleash a deadly pathogen on the world and then ride it out unscathed.
It’s the biggest story of the twenty first century so far, and its implications are so huge, we collectively can only deal with it by pretending it never happened.
But it happened. Tens of millions killed. Hundreds of millions permanently damaged. Trillions of dollars lost. In a sane, just world, it would be impossible for a Covid Spreader to show his face anywhere outside of his country without a mob tearing him to pieces.
What makes you think it was an accident, Rob?
The sterling efforts by the Covid Spreaders, long after it had been abandoned by the rest of the world as impossible, to seal their borders and eradicate Covid in their own country, suggests they ran a controlled experiment to see if they could unleash a deadly pathogen on the world and then ride it out unscathed.
It’s the biggest story of the twenty first century so far, and its implications are so huge, we collectively can only deal with it by pretending it never happened.
But it happened. Tens of millions killed. Hundreds of millions permanently damaged. Trillions of dollars lost. In a sane, just world, it would be impossible for a Covid Spreader to show his face anywhere outside of his own country without a mob tearing him to pieces.
Call me anglophobic but there’s a little England in NHS Fife.
Uphisbottom went out of HIS way to create confrontation
The barsteward
3-YEAR-OLD WITH PUBERTY SYMPTOMS AFTER EXPOSURE TO FATHER’S ‘SEX CHANGE’ DRUGS
A three-year-old has experienced signs of puberty after exposure to her father’s ‘sex-change’ drugs.
The parents sought medical help after the toddler started developing breasts, and a subsequent investigation linked it to extended contact with the father’s hormone therapy treatment which he applied to his skin daily as a gel.
The father is now taking the drugs via a patch, and his daughter’s symptoms have regressed. The doctors urged that people undergoing ‘gender transitions’ should be thoroughly informed of the risks of transmission and to use gloves and wash their hands when using the treatment – especially for those with children.
WARN OF THE RISKS
The case report stated: “sexual development due to exogenous exposure for sex steroids in food, environment or medication is known, but is rare and sparsely reported”.
It recorded that over the course of six months, “a 3-year-old girl was referred to our pediatric outpatient clinic with breast development” and that the father applied the hormone therapy to his “chest, abdomen, shoulders, and thighs. The father reported skin to skin contact on a daily basis.”
It concluded: “Patients with children must be warned of the risk and Gender Clinics should consider the possibility of prescribing alternative routes of administration such as tablets or patches in high-risk patients.”
DAMAGE
The shocking case has sparked widespread concern on social media. Whistleblower Jamie Reed said: “Does this surprise me having worked in a gender center? Not at all. Should this be happening? Not at all.”
Campaigner Katy Faust stated: “The fiction that he could change sex damaged his daughter’s body.”
Another person commented on X: “We can’t even imagine the limit of the damages that this ideology does to the individual, their loved ones, and society at large. Shocking.”
Gender critical organisation DIAG posted: “Can we stop pretending this reckless nonsense is medicine?”
(Christian Institute 25 July 2025)
Given the historical concerns over the damage to the environment (and human health) caused by female hormones found in fresh water, it would be interesting to see the numbers.
I would assume that as no kids yet change sex just from drinking water or swimming, then the concentration of hormones this unfortunate child encountered from her parent must have been orders of magnitude higher than anything currently in the environment.
Leading me to wonder just what contamination the parent might leave in the public domain if he neglects to wash his hands after applying the hormone therapy.
wash your hands soon after using public transport, folks! In Scotland, you know it makes sense.
The damage is being acutely felt across every sector. This Upton maniac has not only shown himself for what he is. He has inadvertently exposed the whole lot of them. In trying to bury Nurse Sandie he is bringing down the whole shit pile.
Fingers crossed.
I suspect there is a lot of money backing it though..
‘DECLARATION OF ARBROATH: John Duns Scotus and the Idea of Independence’ by Professor Alexander Broadie FRSE
Professor Alexander Broadie is the top academic on Scottish philosophy. He is emeritus professor of logic and rhetoric at Glasgow University.
Broadie’s highly authoritative analysis of the connection of John Duns Scotus to the Declaration of Arbroath can be read and heard via the following link:
If Scotland became independent and ran its own affairs, could it then decide to re-join the UK? Would that decision by a sovereign nation need to be respected?
“Re-join the UK”…Oh, ma sides. Stop it!
All around the world they’re queuing up to re-join right enough! ROTFLMFAO.
England has been booted out of 65 countries worldwide.
– no one has ever asked them back.
Some of these countries are right shitholes – mainly because England was there in the past, looting it from arsehole to breakfast-time, and the locals know it.
– the English also love to “TAKE A MASSIVE SHIT” before they leave, when they are getting booted, e.g. fuckedup borders, ethnic enclaves, leaving a legacy of conflict for generations :
India-Pakistan
Northern Ireland
Nigeris
much of the middle east
almost anywhere fuckedup with ethnic violence
Once the English are gone, everyone is glad and can relax for a bit, get on with it; if you had a vagrant living in your basement, stealing your food and drink, smearing his shite on the walls, who will not leave – and you finally get rid of him … do you ever let him back in?
Only as a colossal act of madness.
I can see that you are confused.
If you substitute ‘British’ for ‘English’, it would at least be a coherent viewpoint. Why do you think Scottish place names and personal names are so common all around the globe? Because of our ability as colonists who helped significantly in the looting, drawing of borders, creation of ethnic enclaves etc. In many cases and places we led the way.
Trump: Horrible migrant invasion is killing Scotland
US president told Scotland ‘get your act together’ on arrival for four-day visit
– THEY EAT “HOTPOT”
I DONT KNOW WHAT THAT IS
the union, some helpful analogies :
– a badly stitched up pantomime horse, with Scotland in the back, getting farted on
– being siamese-twinned to a kleptomaniac narcissist psychopath who has full control of the limbs
– again being a siamese twin, but this time the other is a gay, a massive freddie mercury holly johnon leggy mountbottom kind of gay … and you only have one arsehole
(your entry here – please be creative)
Analogies?
Sounds more like your bucket list, Confused 🙂
Rejoin the UK?
There Is no such country as the UK, at present it is a State,
If Scotland left it would just be England with a annexed Wales,
If Scotland after over three hundred of suppression and oppression and Westminster parliament using the treaty of union as a weapon against Scots and Scotland with continuous Scotland Acts were to “rejoin” as you put it would not be any part in any way come about because Scotlands participation.
It would either be by force, treason or bribery.
Constant Rejection of the 1707 treaty by Scotland has stayed the distance of all those hundreds of years.
At the moment politicians are trying to re- invent and secure the old one by altering the Constitution of Englands Great Britain to capture Scotland better with no loop holes.
But the 1706/ 1707 treaty of union foundations were not a united kingdom built on a rock, but on sand.
So if a sovereign, independent Scotland decided to re-join the UK, it would be ‘treason’?
Words have different meanings on here, Andy.
If a sovereign, independent Scotland decided to re-join the EU and be ruled from Brussels it would be a great day of celebration for the die-hard Indy supporters who also believe we’re too wee, too poor, too thick and too corrupt to go it alone.
Best you just learn to roll with the lunacy, Andy 🙂
It always amazes me, and makes me laugh, at how obsessed with sex or sexuality the right wing are!
Eh ?????
Since when have Sturgeon, the “greens” and all the other gender woo woo trans activists been considered “right wing” ??
Other stuff going on in Scotland aside from genderwoowoo and dung beetle battles.
link to isp.scot
Very depressing that so much of the money for the renewables infrastructure is going to foreign-based companies whose governments have not swallowed the Climate Lunacy and thus still permit and empower manufacturing by making it cost-effective to do so.
We have the energy (fossil fuelled), and much of the raw materials here in Scotland. What we don’t have are the governments who believe in the primacy of manufacturing as the bedrock of a flourishing economy.
And before anybody chips in to say that Indy would fix that, it won’t. Our home-grown politicians don’t believe in manufacturing and are even more signed up to the Climate Lunacy than WM is.
Andy Wiltshire,
Rejoin the UK?
It would be treason?
1)
There would be no UK Country or State to re-join.
2)
Treason to whom, and by whom,? It is the people themselves that hold the Sovereignty not the monarch or the parliament in Scotland, Scots were not so aware of this in the past as they are nowadays,
Simply because in those days news travelled was a lot slower, plus the elites did not exactly want to advertise it, they would loose, face, loose positions, power and finances.
This has similar connotations in England and for english, unrelated to Scotland, although not quite so specifically wrote down,
England at the moment has very little of its constitution wrote down, and have changed monarchs, kings or Queens, like hot dinners and at times over the years and often even executed them when they step out of line,
Although at the moment there are talks going on to “have a written constitution”.
This may change Englands religion, bring in new restrictive laws, alter the sea borders of England,
And do away with a monarch altogether.
Which is what I suspect is in the pipeline in those decussions.
I suspect worrying what Scotland may or may not do sometime in the future might be the least of Englands worries as the once Great Britain goes Global towards one world government.
England will become a region of Europe.
It has not gone under my personal radar that the monarchy has been officially downsized, two have cancer, although I wish them both well,
That the reputations of at least two royals have been thrown Under the bus, , and there have been at least three accidents in our lifetimes whereby royals have died.
That leaves a smaller and smaller threadbare group of royal family for Great Britains UK.
Just a personal obvervation.
I personally think that Scotland might be the one saving grace for England, Ireland, Wales and all the surrounding smaller Islands,
Unless the present prime minster gives them away first and pays reparations for the privilege.
Sit back and observe what is happening slow but surely.
The divine right of kings is not so divine. If there is no kingdom of England, and one is incapable of treason to a monarchy that has disappeared.
England already has lost its say over its borders it now appears to share with France, and possibly the same with Ireland.
The monarch of England has just about dis-intergrated , your land is being taken up by big corporations for climate change and re-wilding projects, along with national trusts buying up farmers lands, , food production being steadily reduced, the NHS on its knees, Councils going bankrupt, fishing sold off,
And your worrying about Scotland.
NHS Fife, there’s leaning into a subject, then there is falling completely onto your face and giving yourself a bloody and broken nose…that is abnormal.
The flea on the tail, wagging the dog is completely abnormal.