Labour, nationalists of the blood

Posted on January 09, 2012 by

Kate Higgins makes an excellent observation over on A Burdz Eye View today. In passing, while commenting on the whole referendum furore, she picks up on an extraordinary piece in yesterday's Scotland On Sunday (that we didn't have time to go into in all the mayhem of Cameron's sudden fit of insanity), revealing that a Labour peer has put forward an amendment to the Scotland Bill which if passed would give the vote to any Scots-born UK resident, regardless of whether they live in Scotland.

At first glance this just seems like a crude and possibly unwise attempt to tip the scales of the vote in favour of the No camp, based on the rather shaky presumption that expats living in England are more likely to be Unionists. (Speaking as one such expat, I can assure Baroness Taylor of Bolton that she's right out of luck.) But looked at more closely it's something much more reckless and sinister.

Opponents of nationalism as a broad ideological position have trouble making their objections stick to the SNP, precisely because the SNP's brand of nationalism isn't really nationalism at all in the conventional sense of the term. So-called "civic nationalism" is not based on a person's ethnicity, but merely on where they live. Whatever colour you are, wherever you're from and whatever deity (if any) you believe in, you can become "Scottish" simply by moving to Scotland, and have exactly the same rights as anyone born and bred there. It's a highly inclusive, heartwarming creed reflected in the SNP's positive, welcoming attitude towards immigration, compared to the viciously resentful one more commonly seen in England.

But Labour's ill-considered intervention places the party firmly on the side of "ethnic nationalism" – the poisonous, bitter strain of the concept that has led to bigotry, wars and genocide across the globe. The logical extrapolation of the view that where you were born is what matters is that non-native Scots shouldn't be allowed a vote in the referendum, and while Labour aren't quite stupid enough to have actually put forward such a thing in the amendment, the inescapable racist undertones of the proposal (while doubtless not consciously intended) have opened a can of very rotten worms that they'll do well to get away from the stink of. For that at least, they're likely to be offering prayers of thanks to David Cameron for grabbing all the headlines.

Subscribe
Notify of

4 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Morag

Why should where someone was born matter at all?  Are they seriously suggesting someone who was born here to English parents on a temporary job placement, and who moved back to England at the age of two months, should have a vote?  What about if it was American parents, and America they moved back to?

Wait for them to start suggesting this should be widened to include anyone with a parent or grandparent born in Scotland.  Then, do we deny people the vote who have lived here all their lives, just because they were born in Carlisle?  Or New York?  Or maybe they don't qualify because although they were born here and have always lived here, they have a parent or grandparent born somewhere else?

The term "slippery slope" doesn't even begin to cover it.  It's completely pernicious.

peter

i have a degree of sympathy for those who have only recently moved away from scotland, say within the pass year. however, i fully understand that to enfranchise individuals outwith the country would be extremely qestionable.

Targaff

Morag: Or how about, say, if a Scottish person were born to Scottish parents whilst they were temporarily resident in the U.S.? Oh, erm… link to supreme.justia.com.
Jus soli is much less common than jus sanguinis where citizenship is concerned, but in and of itself it's also not an especially outrageous concept; "slippery slope" would be better described as "perhaps slightly moist but not in the least bit precarious". What would concern me more in this particular instance is that Baroness Taylor apparently sees fit to impose on Scottish ballots something that was very specifically removed from statutes on British nationality nearly 30 years ago.

Morag

That happened to a school friend of mine.  She was born in the USA when her mother gave birth prematurely on a short visit.  She got US citizenship whether she liked it or not.  Her parents said they would have got if oficially rescinded if she'd been a boy – the Vietman war was on at the time, with the draft.  I don't think she got the vote in the USA though!

But it's not about where you were born, it's about where you're resident.  There are going to be some hard cases, but as soon as you start bending that, you're into a lot of potential trouble.

Stats: 6,678 Posts, 1,205,004 Comments

• Geri on Keeping the fire burning: “Have you seen his walk in larder? I’m well jel. It’s like his very own tuck shop so it is!…Dec 13, 03:36
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “Aye – Renditions Act back in full force. USA luring in R citizens & detaining or transporting them for no…Dec 13, 03:20
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “Aye, Cunty MacCuntface even changed his name fae John Main. Shat it incase the hate monster paid him a visit.…Dec 13, 03:11
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “That’s brilliant lol Trouble is we can’t Google or Wikipedia either as it’s owned & censored by guess who -…Dec 13, 03:01
    • Jay on Keeping the fire burning: “Oh dear, what a disappointment, me and my big mouth, wonder what irritated you. Please do tell. I had been…Dec 13, 02:57
    • twathater on The Wage Thief: “My goodness Cunty MacCuntface you are the perfect example of why people avoid calling a spade a spade , you…Dec 13, 01:46
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “Don’t be like hatey. Don’t be a perpetual dumbass. Neocons bat both sides, ya eejit. Doesn’t matter which serf wins…Dec 13, 00:39
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “1. It’s garden leave. Her work in the parly is done. She’s to go enjoy herself on full pay. It’s…Dec 13, 00:11
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “Where are those F16s? That pomp & ceremony was a bit of a damp Squibb eh? There was me thinking…Dec 12, 23:41
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “Thanks Robert. I had some timeout for a bit. Hope you are keeping well?Dec 12, 23:25
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “Oh & as Orban has found out & explains -;If you don’t do as yer told by NATO they withhold…Dec 12, 23:21
    • Jay on The Wage Thief: “Gregor, why did you not point out to Mr Hatespeech that the way he thinks is so tightly circumscrisbed that…Dec 12, 23:21
    • Geri on The Wage Thief: “Complete bollox. You propagandists really need new material. Yer Russophobia is indoctrinated bullshit. Those children are all accounted for. Removed…Dec 12, 23:04
    • Robert Matthews on Keeping the fire burning: “So you can’t put your money where your big mouth is. Cheapskate.Dec 12, 22:57
    • gregor on The Wage Thief: “Messiah: “A leader who is believed to have the power to solve the world’s problems: An ordinary priest, he was…Dec 12, 22:48
    • gregor on The Wage Thief: “Who’s the Messiah, Hatey ?Dec 12, 22:35
    • Hatey McHateface on The Wage Thief: “Poot and his cronies have already shared all the vast resources of Orcland equitably between the people that live there.…Dec 12, 22:27
    • Mark Beggan on Keeping the fire burning: “Empty Crisp packets and psychological profiling.Dec 12, 22:25
    • gregor on The Wage Thief: “PLANET7: The Return vol.1: Astronaut power remix: https://tinyurl.com/667zhx5xDec 12, 22:19
    • Hatey McHateface on The Wage Thief: “He’s not the Messiah, he’s a very natto boy. There you go, gregor, improved your post 1000% for you šŸ™‚Dec 12, 22:11
    • McDuff on Keeping the fire burning: “Contribution made Rev money well spent. You put up with a lot of hassle.Dec 12, 22:09
    • znovak on The Wage Thief: “Thanks. Forgive me, if I am mistaken, but your premise seems to be that R and its president can do…Dec 12, 22:08
    • Hatey McHateface on The Wage Thief: “Hmmm. Scotland has been a FIFA member since 1946, so near on 80 years. Scotland is a member of UEFA,…Dec 12, 22:03
    • gregor on The Wage Thief: “Jerry Boifraind: Freedom Song: Natto Messiah: https://tinyurl.com/yepxakjs #Natto #NATOPipsqueakDec 12, 21:50
    • Campbell Clansman on The Wage Thief: “FIFA defines ‘country’ as “an independent state recognized by the international community.” Obviously, FIFA doesn’t recognise Scotland as a country.Dec 12, 21:39
    • Astonished on Keeping the fire burning: “The small amount I give you every month is money well spent.Dec 12, 21:33
    • sarah on Keeping the fire burning: “Thanks for the reminder about the Donate button, everyone. Have just used it, and must remember to do so more…Dec 12, 21:29
    • Mark Beggan on Keeping the fire burning: “This bloody spell-check!Dec 12, 21:02
    • Hatey McHateface on The Wage Thief: ““NATO is finished” Aye, Geri, nane o the weapons work, and the F16’s can’t even get aff the groond. But…Dec 12, 20:52
    • Hatey McHateface on The Wage Thief: ““Western democracy is all but dead” Sure, Ros. That’s how Labour just turfed out the Tories after 14 years. That’s…Dec 12, 20:34

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()