Cameron misplaces marbles

Posted on January 09, 2012 by

Well, the Prime Minister dropped the hint on the Andrew Marr show, now the Guardian has dropped the bomb – the UK government wants to force the Scottish Government's hand on the timing of an independence referendum, offering the chance to make the referendum "binding", but only if it's held in the next 18 months. It's a dramatic development for sure, but the briefest of glances below the surface suggests that perhaps it's not the apocalypse a lot of pundits on both sides of the debate are presenting it as, for some pretty obvious reasons.

1. It is, so far as we're told, still just an offer. If Salmond says "No thanks, we'll do it in 2015 like we were going to anyway", what will Cameron do? Refuse to accept the result when it comes? Send in the tanks to prevent Scotland leaving if it votes Yes to independence? The idea is ludicrous. Wendy Alexander tried to rush the SNP into a referendum in 2008 and failed, there's no reason to imagine Cameron will have any more success.

2. It's an offer that isn't actually in Cameron's power to offer. ALL referenda in the UK are consultative, not binding. Even if Westminster ran its own referendum it wouldn't be legally binding, so it can't confer that ability on any other authority.

3. The two parties of the coalition both stood on an election platform of opposing a referendum on Scottish independence. They have no mandate whatsoever to bring one forward on behalf of the British people, let alone the Scottish people. (Between them they command a miserable 20% support in Scotland.) The electorate, on the other hand, voted overwhelmingly to give the SNP the power to conduct one whenever it chose.

4. It's a clear show of weakness and fright from the pro-Union camp. Why such a short timespan? What are they scared of? If they were confident that Scots didn't want independence it wouldn't matter when the poll was held. All it will do is fuel the SNP's conviction – and very probably the public perception – that opinion is travelling in the direction of independence, and that they can win the vote on their own terms and in their own time.

All this clumsy intervention is likely to achieve is to anger Scots who don't want to be told by an Eton millionaire how to run their affairs. We're not sure what Cameron's on, but after watching this evening's episode of Sherlock we suspect he might have been strolling in Dewar's Hollow. The name would certainly be appropriate.

2 to “Cameron misplaces marbles”

1. passing through says:

use this cool hash tag on twitter. tell all your friends. >
    #cyberfuds

2. Rusty Shackleford says:

link to thedailymash.co.uk
    I kinda feel this sums things up a bit.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,900 Posts, 1,240,792 Comments

• Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Careful how you flap your flippers, James. But I guess you never heard of Onan, outside of your library of…May 5, 13:00
    • Alf Baird on Binfire Of The Vanities: ““We’ll never be a nation again until we learn to mean what we say” Indeed so, Hatey. And, on the…May 5, 12:55
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Taking some time out from his tour of the fishing ports of the Moray Firth, James the Walrus graces us…May 5, 12:52
    • Cynicus on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Great Question The only one of your answers that matters is anti-SNP. These devoUnionists are a stronger bulwark of continuing…May 5, 12:45
    • Northcode on Binfire Of The Vanities: “By the way, I’ve read several versions of the Bible, each of them a few times over, and an English…May 5, 12:44
    • Northcode on Binfire Of The Vanities: “For fuck’s sake, Sven, that pish is from the Old Testament which even God tells me (in a dream) wis…May 5, 12:44
    • James on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Quoting your imaginary friend again? Bless.May 5, 12:42
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: ““merely requires better understanding of our colonial condition” Sigh. I guess the most depressing part of that statement is that…May 5, 12:39
    • James on Binfire Of The Vanities: “looks like it’s newspaper stand business has folded….May 5, 12:38
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: ““mainstream media blackout and censorship” OFFS, Alf! What century are you inhabiting? What you write of means NOTHING in today’s…May 5, 12:34
    • James on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Hmmmm…..the “Site Prick” is now obsessed with “bumming”. Interesting segue. Who knew?May 5, 12:33
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: “We need a Pict Party. That would unite us Scots behind a single aim. Completing the extermination of the Picts…May 5, 12:31
    • Young Lochinvar on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Fat Slag Wilma Flintstone I would have thought “crushing a grape” was more your thing..May 5, 12:25
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Careful, CC! YL might swear a solemn vow, a mighty oath even, to post a half-decent response on here. Oh…May 5, 12:22
    • Young Lochinvar on Binfire Of The Vanities: “C @ 12.04 Well if that makes you feel better. I’m sure if the Tories gain the seat in question…May 5, 12:20
    • Alf Baird on Binfire Of The Vanities: ““converting Scots to the Indy cause” merely requires better understanding of our colonial condition, which is all explained here in…May 5, 12:19
    • James on Binfire Of The Vanities: “You clowns are hilarious. Not.May 5, 12:18
    • Alf Baird on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Correct Northcode, every one Tommy, Craig and Eva seeking oor leeberation is easily worth a dozen or mair daeless SNP…May 5, 12:14
    • Sven on Binfire Of The Vanities: “North ode @ 11.39. “Thou shalt not take the name of the LORD thy God in vain; for the LORD…May 5, 12:09
    • Captain Caveman on Binfire Of The Vanities: “😀 “W.w..why I’m SO ANGRY, I could THROW THE PHONE DOWN!!!!!!1111!!!”May 5, 12:08
    • Young Lochinvar on Binfire Of The Vanities: “HMcH @ 7.41 No it’s called a point of view. Talking of solemn vows, did you write that post cock’n…May 5, 12:05
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: “I too await with interest Northy’s spoof on the Koran. I always immensely enjoy the bravery and daring of those…May 5, 12:04
    • Cynicus on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Young Lochinvar says: 5 May, 2026 at 1:19 am “C @ 12.29 Not voting SNP? Fine. Tactically voting for Unionists?…May 5, 12:04
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: ““Actually, we do care” The royal “we” again, or is Geri self-identifying as the Scottish electorate now? Cos if it’s…May 5, 11:57
    • Young Lochinvar on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Fat Slag Wilma Flintstone @ 9.52 Hit a raw nerve did I there thunderthighs? Anyway, get off this site and…May 5, 11:51
    • Geri on Binfire Of The Vanities: ““Breaking point reached?” No. Because you are a fool if you think Reform will fix immigration or gender woo for…May 5, 11:49
    • Hatey McHateface on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Elkins, eh, Alf? Another name to conjure with. No doubt already familiar to thon loon who churns out the LOTR…May 5, 11:40
    • Northcode on Binfire Of The Vanities: “Fuck off, Sven you’re a Scotti prick and joyless cunt. I’m a Christian and Scotland is a Christian country what…May 5, 11:39
    • Sven on Binfire Of The Vanities: “James Che @ 10.19. Although not, perhaps, quite so amusing to a Christian, James. I await with interest Northy’s spoof…May 5, 11:13
    • Northcode on Binfire Of The Vanities: “The election on Thursday is a pantomime in which I don’t usually participate having accepted a long time ago that…May 5, 11:12