2. Stoker

Peace!
    πŸ˜‰

3. Smallaxe

I hope you realise,how difficult it is for an old hippy to play music from a Mod.It’s not easy.But…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZtMBQtiktNk

Peace Always πŸ™‚

4. Michael McCabe

Hi Smallaxe Loved the Cajun Music. A lot of good tracks on tonight. Boat to Bolivia. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QbFVgbi3EvM

5. CameronB Brodie

It’s always a good idea to keep your chin up, as this allows you to see what is in front of you. Clear vision helps sure-footnotes along uncertain paths.

Switch the BBC off, they are grooming you!

Trebunie Tutki & Twinkle Brothers – Pierso Godzina (Don’t Betray my Love)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cCMfv6QXmwg

6. Andrew Mclean

I wonder when the rest of the guys in the SNP who were reporting to a Whitehall department in the late 80s will come out of the closet and scream SNP bad?
    I have popcorn at the ready!

7. Smallaxe

lost a post?bguger:

Charles Walker/Beatle Blues,”Dont let me down”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-OCQiVt6xBg

Peace Always

8. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

Did you get my epistle @ 10:44pm on the 2nd December,and some tunes?

Peace Always

9. Smallaxe

cant beat a bit of Ska,Michael,nice one.

the Real Blues Brothers

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jhsw6LdslCA

Peace Always

10. Smallaxe

Cameron:

This way lies Madness

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xTDipeBXn80

Peace Always

11. Michael McCabe

The Road to Aberdeen. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bnCFUAflB6E

12. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Naw mate, you must have picked me up wrong. πŸ˜‰

Lord Kitchener – Soca Misinterpretion (Soca Me Soca You)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PNmwPfWnpOM

13. Smallaxe

Celtic Mouth Music,

Singing in a language,that only your soul can understand

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fEqBw2N8L7A

Peace Always

14. CameronB Brodie

Just to be representitive, here’s the Mighty Sparrow being more soulful than socca for a change.

Mighty Sparrow (with Byron Lee and the Dragonaires) – Only a fool (breaks his own heart
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z42epfm_9Ig

15. Chic McGregor

Some exciting stuff from our indigenous music lest we not forget.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nhQ-OkPUuNs

16. Smallaxe

I hope no ladies are listnin’

Prince Buster
    the Ten Commandments of Man!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=df5eGlr3WsM

Peace Always

17. Chic McGregor

Smallaxe 1:23

Great piece of port a beul.

18. Smallaxe

Cameron:

Enjoyed the Sparrow
    Try this little Birdy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WJTXDCh2YiA

19. CameronB Brodie

Chic McGregor
    Yes Chic, my bad. Unfortunately I’m largely bereft of awareness of Scotland’s tradition-based culture and art. Same with indigenous languages. I’ll still give everything to make sure they have a viable, authentic future though.

It’s a human rights and global sustainability thing. πŸ˜‰

20. Smallaxe

Hi Chic:

Enjoyed that,I nearly got up and Danced!

Here’s a guy that only got to Prestwick

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AG9ph9xkOrw

Peace Always

21. Smallaxe

Cameron:

yuh still gi everything to mek sure dem ave a viable Patois Mon,it a gud ting.Seen?

Peace Always

22. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Your appreciation is much appreciated mate. Night, night. πŸ˜‰

23. Paula Rose

Total loveliness…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8moUFBB-0o

24. Smallaxe

Chic:
    “port a beul”

How does that translate?

Peace Always

25. Smallaxe

Goodnight Cameron:

Remember to close these

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oQ5ECGiNDI4

Peace Always

26. Smallaxe

Paula Rose:

Try this Lady

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i76dyGbMn40

Peace Always

27. Smallaxe

It seems as if everyone has been sensible and went to bed.

that was a cool night guys,some really great sounds,I leave you with Dire Straits.Why Worry.Goodnight.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7no9Ak2uSrQ

Peace and Love to All

28. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    My mind is still racing mate but I can’t really think of anything tunes to post.

I’ve been looking for accessible papers on umwelt, blumenwelt and public policy*, without success. There’s tones of stuff in German and Finish but I’m struggling to find any in English. I’m hopeful they will be out there and that I’m just looking in the wrong place.

* the relationship between ourselves, our local and national environments and their governance.

@Scotland In Yoonion
    Thought this might help re-edumicate you out of you ideological cave, as it covers how living organisms subjectively perceive and interpret their environments. Your aim is to stop natural processes that are essential to the mechanics of organic social organisation. Your tools are privelaged access to media, great wealth and a straight-jacket of BritNat ideology. That still won’t have enough, thickos.

Pragmatism and Semiotics

Pragmatism is a philosophical theory developed by American thinkers Peirce (1955), James (1954), and Dewey (1998).

It is a monistic philosophy that assumes that all distinctions or boundaries are subjective (i.e., operational, instrumental, or conventional) including the boundary between the mind and matter. Subjectivity does not mean pure arbitrariness or randomness, instead it always has a component of self-interest or usefulness (hence the term ‘pragmatism’). Because of usefulness, subjectivity is partially predictable. Usefulness implies activity that supports (or creates) existence (Dewey 1998). It also implies that structures and boundaries have a meaning for the system, because they perform functions that support the existence of the system.

Pragmatism is organically related to semiotics, the theory of signs, founded by Peirce (1955). A sign is a triadic relationship between a sign vehicle that points to an object by invoking the interpretant (model of an object) in the head of the interpreter.

http://alexei.nfshost.com/biosem/txt/umwelt.html

29. Nana

@Smallaxe

Hope all is going well with you? Need an update as to what has been happening whilst I’ve been absent.

I had a lovely time with family. Surprise birthday treat St Andrew’s day, still full from chocolate overload…Burp

30. Nana

@Cameron

Re your message on 25th Nov, sorry for late reply. How did you get on with the personality test? I was Defender which came as no surprise and my youngest son’s result was spookily accurate.

@Tinto Chiel

when you have finished your wife’s ironing, could you pop up and tackle mine? I’ve been saving it for you. As an inducement I make a mean griddle scone!

31. Tinto Chiel

Nana: glad you’re back. My super turbo steamer with separate reservoir is a thing of beauty. Mrs TC bought it for me when I retired.

It’s normally 75p a shirt but a wee bit strupag from yourself should cover it.

I’m mainly just lurking at the moment ‘cos I’m up to no good πŸ˜‰

Will be round once I’ve developed the microfilm.

Griddle scones? *Homer Simpson voice* “Mmmmmmmmmm.”

32. CameronB Brodie

Nana
    Morning Nana. I read the article but completely missed the test. I’ll go back and take a look later on though. I might let you know, depending on result. πŸ˜‰

33. Smallaxe

Nana:

Great to see you back again,I’ve been missing you and my links.Some on the main thread were wondering where you had gone,I told them that you were having a short break.
    Heedtracker has gone AWOL,I think that there had been some sort of disagreement with another Winger,everyone has been asking him/her to come back but I don’t know if that has happened yet

Rev Stu was asking why Stoker was posting archived stuff on off topic when it was already archived on the main page.We got it sorted with him yesterday,you will find that on the page before this one.

Glad your back,maybe you can bring some harmony and common sense back with you.

I am writing this while holding an injured dove under mt shirt,I found it at my front door nearly dead from the cold,so I am trying to give it some of my own body heat before I can check and see what may be wrong with it.

Welcome back
    Peace Always
    Billy

34. Tinto Chiel

Forgot to ask: do you put buttermilk in your scones?

35. Nana

@Tinto Chiel says “up to no good” I’m intrigued??

75p for a shirt, capitalism that’s what that is!

A griddle scone would not be a griddle scone without a cup of blathach. My mum made the best scones, she would add a tablespoon of syrup and a little less buttermilk. I follow her recipe only I don’t measure anything, chuck it all in. As Tommy would say “just like that”

36. Tinto Chiel

Those scones sound perfect. I knew an old woman on Skye who made great ones but there was no syrup.

Do you remember the prog where Nick Nairn was watching a woman on South Uist (?) making black puddings? It was a hot day and she was straining the clots/hairs from the warm blood. He had to leave the kitchen to be sick. Wotawimp!

As for other matters, my lips are sealed.

Heeheeheeheehee……

37. Smallaxe

Nana:

May I wish you a belated Happy Birthday,I wish you many more and may all your other birthdays and Unbirthdays (I have those) be happy ones.
    πŸ™‚
    Peace,Love and happiness to You and to those you Love,give your wee dog a clap from me.
    XXX

38. Nana

@Smallaxe

I have a pair of doves permanently in my garden. I have a feeder/ viewer stuck on my kitchen window, very relaxing watching them.

I was reading the thread and saw that Heed was awol, he/she is back now.
    Stoker is doing a grand job archiving past posts.

As for me bringing sense and harmony to the threads, I doubt it. I find when threads are long some folks get a little tetchy. Perhaps we need to put some happy pills in the coffee lol.

Thanks for the birthday wishes, another year older but still no wiser!

39. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel says: “I knew an old woman on Skye”

I knew an old woman who swallowed a fly.I dont know why she swallowed the fly,but it didn’t end well πŸ™

Peace Always

ps if you need a safe house,I know a few public ones where Mi5,Mi6 or even the MIB will ever find you.Watch out though for the FBI,those Fkn Big Indians are good trackers,Kemo Sabe.

40. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

I don’t remember seeing Nick’s distress, what a wuss.

My auntie made her own white puddings, one summer she had the stomach linings soaking in a basin and my young cousin who was home from Glasgow for the hols ran out of her kitchen screeching.

See those big city bairns, no stomach for the realities of life haha unlike us islanders born with strong fibre in our guts.

While I’m here I will give you a recipe for Ceann Cropic or as my hubby calls it porridge in a fish head.

Take one cod remove the head and wash thoroughly, leave the eyes in place [decorative garnish don’t you know]
    In a bowl mix some porridge oats, salt and pepper, and the fish liver [which you will have soaked in water overnight]
    Pack into the fish head and wrap in baking parchment. Steam alongside the fish and serve with tatties.

Now that ends today’s cooking lesson with Nana

Eat your heart out best of british cake off, bake off and cook off.

41. Smallaxe

Nana:

I agree wth you on the subject of long threads,posters begin to stray on to subjects that would be better left alone,for now.Eyes on the Prize!

Peace Always

42. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

I apologise if I’m misunderstanding,but is this any help.

http://www.filosofie.science.ru.nl/PDF%20library%20HZ/Book_Zwart_Revises.pdf

Peace Always

43. Andrew McLean

Small Axe

Case Studies in Comparative Epistemology!

Heavy Man!

πŸ™‚

44. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    There’s absolutely no problem at all mate, I was only stirring so I could play some Kitchener. πŸ˜‰

45. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    It will take me a while to pick the bones out of that.

I need to refresh and improve my appreciation of how to tackle the resurgence of social Darwinism. This is the age of bio-semiotics and localism, not the age of colonialism defined through positivist nationalism.

Positivism is ideologically inclined and contains an element of faith in God. In its broadest sense, positivism is a rejection of metaphysics”. Pragmatism is opposed to ideology and is grounded in biology.

Positivism & Post-Positivism
    https://pdfs.semanticscholar.org/6d3c/20168fcf96de21a9b0bb424a31d3d66d3f24.pdf

46. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

Too heavy for me Man

Environmental governance is a concept in political ecology and environmental policy that advocates sustainability (sustainable development) as the supreme consideration for managing all human activitiesβ€”political, social and economic.[1] Governance includes government, business and civil society, and emphasises whole system management. To capture this diverse range of elements, environmental governance often employs alternative systems of governance, for example, watershed-based management.[2]
    It views natural resources and the environment as global public goods, belonging to the category of goods that are not diminished when they are shared.[3] This means that everyone benefits from, for example, a breathable atmosphere, stable climate and stable biodiversity.
    Public goods are non-rivalrousβ€”a natural resource enjoyed by one person can still be enjoyed by othersβ€”and non-excludableβ€”it is impossible to prevent someone consuming the good (breathing). Nevertheless, public goods are recognised as beneficial and therefore have value. The notion of a global public good thus emerges, with a slight distinction: it covers necessities that must not be destroyed by one person or state.
    The non-rivalrous character of such goods calls for a management approach that restricts public and private actors from damaging them. One approach is to attribute an economic value to the resource. Water is possibly the best example of this type of good.
    As of 2013 environmental governance is far from meeting these imperatives. β€œDespite a great awareness of environmental questions from developed and developing countries, there is environmental degradation and the appearance of new environmental problems. This situation is caused by the parlous state of global environmental governance, wherein current global environmental governance is unable to address environmental issues due to many factors. These include fragmented governance within the United Nations, lack of involvement from financial institutions, proliferation of environmental agreements often in conflict with trade measures; all these various problems disturb the proper functioning of global environmental governance. Moreover, divisions among northern countries and the persistent gap between developed and developing countries also have to be taken into account to comprehend the institutional failures of the current global environmental governance.”

I think I’ll stick to Jack Kerouac.
    (or Enid Blyton) πŸ™‚

Peace Always

47. Smallaxe

Water will soon be the “new oil”

I’m learning this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0WNLLNxURt4

Peace (pipe) Always

48. Smallaxe

Nana:

My wife and I took the Test.I came up as Mediator my wife was Protagonist.

Peace Always

49. CameonB Brodie

Folks, I’m not trying to show of or be a smart arse, I think these two links provide an outline of the main differences between modernist and post-modernist thought.

Not done the test yet Nana but I’ll take a look later. I might let you know what it reckons I am, perhaps not. πŸ™‚

http://www.socialresearchmethods.net/kb/positvsm.php

http://alexei.nfshost.com/biosem/txt/umwelt.html

50. Chic McGregor

Smallaxe

Port a beul translates as ‘a tune from a mouth’. The ‘a’ should be more properly accented to make clear it means ‘from’ but is not essential.

Tradition has it that the technique was to provide dance music in the absence of musical instruments like the pipes and fiddle.

Whether that absence was at the behest of the authorities or not is contentious since musical instruments were not actually in the Disarming Act.

51. Nana

@Smallaxe

I would say Mediator suits you rather well. Poetic and kind, helpful to others, indeed that sums up what I think of when I think of you Billy..

@Cameron

As a Defender I defend your right to keep your result private and confidential.

For anyone wondering what we are discussing

Take the test here

https://www.16personalities.com/free-personality-test

52. Smallaxe

Cameron:

I notice T.May referred to “God”,this worries me.When people like her,who have no thought for the planet and nature in their quest for power and self-enrichment, destroy our home and it’s population,they are in my opinion destroying the God that is more than capable of feeding,clothing and housing all of Mankind.My God is not their God.
    Let there be enLIGHTenment.

Peace to All

53. Andrew McLean

Nana, Smallaxe

Apparently I am a debater, in fact I believe that, as I often have been congratulated on my skill as a master debater.

πŸ™‚

least that what I thought they said?

54. Smallaxe

Chic McGregor:

Thank you for explaining all of that,it angers me that this Knowledge would have been wiped from our memories over these last three centuries.
    Thank goodness that we have people like your good self, retaining this gift,and having the kindness to impart it to anyone interested.

Thanks again my friend.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

55. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    I have little doubt T.May is a social Darwinist. She spells danger to anyone not ‘protected’ by wealth and privilege.

Social Darwinist(s) tend to be “positivists” who believe in a Christian cosmology and have a mechanistic appreciation of nature. They also tend to lack human empathy.

They have no appreciate of what achieving sustainable patterns of human development will entail, as their conception of the world is wonky*, IMHO.

* see above and below links.

Sustainability and the β€˜Struggle for Existence’:
    The Critical Role of Metaphor in Society’s Metabolism

http://jayhanson.us/_Biology/SustainabilityAndTheStruggleForExistence.pdf

56. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:The Master Debater.

Glasgow Sheriff Court;The accused is standing in the Dock,chewing gum.The Judge says to the Bailiff,”tell the accused to desist from masticating in my court”

The Bailiff approaches the accused and says,”the Judge says take yer hauns oot yer poakets”.

Peace Always

57. CameronB Brodie

Unfortunately, IMHO, the normative values of our society remain bound up in positivist assumptions which hamper good judgement and effective decision making.

Natural Law Theory, Legal Positivism, and the Normativity of Law

Abstract

This essay examines two dominant traditions in legal philosophy, the natural law theory and legal positivism, in terms of how they account for the normativity of law. I argue that, although these two traditions generally take the question of the normativity of law seriously and try to account for it, they are not successful in doing so. This failure in the prevailing literature on the philosophy of law, I suggest, nevertheless has an implicit reconstructive impact: the insights into the failure of natural law theory and legal positivism imply an alternative philosophical framework that may provide a positive answer to the question of the normativity of law.

….Lastly, my discussion suggests that the vicissitudes of the natural law and the legal positivist accounts of the normativity of law originate in the tendency to take morality as a thick notion or as a comprehensive concept. There is, however, the possibility of drawing a distinction between a strictly universal morality of justice (the level of the right) and the less universalisable level of comprehensive ethical standpoints (the level of virtues). Given the failure of both the natural law tradition and legal positivism to account for the normativity of law, an account of law on the basis of a universal moral standpoint of justice, as distinct from the thicker-comprehensive ethical standpoints, appears to be the only alternative with any prospect of success.

http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/full/10.1080/10848770.2015.1078991

@UK Supreme Court
    Were you listening? You are aware of the “Right to Development”?

58. Chic McGregor

My test result – Advocate.

59. CameronB Brodie

Campaigner, does it show? πŸ™‚

I think I undersold my tactical awareness, tbh. Modest, me? πŸ˜‰

60. Tinto Chiel

Nana, Smallaxe: just back from Glesca Toun, Christmas shopping with Mrs TC. I’m sure you can imagine the rest. Back to busking outside Central Station tomorrow.

I know a few public houses up here, Smallaxe, no Indians maybe but rather Wild West in character in a Calton Creek/Rank Badjin kinda way. Mine’s a pint of White Tornado. When I worked as a student in the DHSS in Brigton in the 70s it was a delightful local cocktail.

Thanks for the fish recipe, Nana. I think I’ll use pinhead oatmeal. As for the realities of crofting life, I’ll never forget being sent over to Ardnish on Skye to bring a lady’s cow back from the bull. He wasn’t having any of it and I had to seek shelter behind the only big hawthorn bush I could find. Then I fell down a peaty pothole, up to my waist. Don’t know how I managed to get back out. It was like the Grimpen Mire in The Hound of the Baskervilles.

You should bring out Nana’s Christmas Crofter’s Kitchen next year, Β£25 from all good bookshops.

61. Smallaxe

Chic and Cameron:

Ma mammy used tae drink that Advocate at Christmas and she wis partial tae sum o’ thon’ french Campaign oan speshul occasions.

Ye’s ur a per a’ Boozers! πŸ™‚

Peace Always

62. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    I’ll admit I’ve been called far worse. πŸ™‚

63. Andrew McLean

Nana, don’t use cod,

You need “red eye literate herring” and cold porridge. Helps with the Latin Greek and Hebrew. The benefits of a Scot’s education.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mNguddGEdw8

64. Smallaxe

I have been to several so called “Fishmongers” and was disgusted by the fact,that not one of them could Mong a fish.I like a nice bit of haddock well Monged,it’s a disgrace,so it is.

And don’t get me started on trying to buy a simple steam iron. “Ironmongers”(Spit)

Peace Always

65. CameronB Brodie

Karate Kid – Pick up your jacket! πŸ˜‰
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_u0lPlxHjsw

66. CameronB Brodie

Wonders will never end, I find I’m actually in partial agreement with Mungo.

*sighs*. Deficit is, of course, a product mainly of much higher public spending in Scotland, thanks to rUK. – Murdo Fraser

@Murdo Fraser
    You would understand why Scotland’s economy is shaped the way it is, if you had an appreciation of “internal colonisation processes”, “habitus and structural violence”, the “semiotic theory of space and place” and other stuff.

You’re a pampered fanny who appears to have little appreciation of life and zero theoretical understanding of the subjects you are uncivil enough to quack about in public.

Give us a break and go and get an education, please.

67. Nana

@Andrew McLean

This sounds very like a mediterranean Hebridean fusion food. Think I’ll pass thank you.

However my husband says its nice to know he’s not alone in his cultural idiocsyncrasy, him being a aficionado of Ivor Cutler.

He is asking what type of hammer do you use, his own preference is for a Thor long shaft.

68. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Survival of the fittest when shopping with us women. Full wallet and turning a blind eye to purchases is my advice.

I forgot the onions which you will finely chop and add to the mix and you MUST use Scotts porridge oats.

A cookbook from the croft, now there’s an idea. I’m known as the soup dragon round here, that’s the affectionate name he who must obey calls me when he’s slurping his brochan. At least I think its meant affectionately…..

69. K1

Ma test, same as you Smallaxe, mediator…think ah might be a beginner though, you’re the advanced one πŸ™‚

70. CameronB Brodie

Re. bollockholes. There was a whiff of staleness in the air. πŸ˜‰

Imagination – Just An Illusion
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TnfHdZrmMAw

71. KC

@ Nana
    Thor Longshaft, the crofters weapon of choice, as recommended by DAFS. The multi-tool for fencing(all types), cheneral fixing, Brochan stirring and Troll Curdling.
    Loan and Grant Available.

One from ee croft for yawl http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JT9I1fPmMJg

72. Tinto Chiel

Scott’s porridge oats it is then, Nana.

Usually use Mornflake oat bran for my porridge but you’re the boss.

Now back to my Dirty Deeds (Done Dirt Cheap).

Heeheeheeheeheehee…..

73. CameronB Brodie

@Murdo Fraser
    You might have heard me mention British nationalism resembles a cargo-cult, Mungo? If so, here’s something you might find interesting. Perhaps you could share it with your FAN-BOY, David Torrance? He might mention it the next time he represents the rational voice of Scotland on the BBC.

Magical thinking is defined as believing that one event happens as a result of another without a plausible link of causation. For example: “I got up on the left side of the bed today; therefore it will rain.” The problem with this definition, however, is that exactly what constitutes “a plausible link of causation” can be difficult to pin down. If we were to take this phrase to its logical extreme, we’d have to consider a belief in anything that hasn’t been scientifically proven to represent magical thinking. On the other hand, rejecting the use of any and all criteria with which to judge cause and effect leaves us vulnerable to believing that anything can cause anythingβ€”or even worse, that an effect can occur without a cause at all.

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/happiness-in-world/201303/magical-thinking-redux

74. Stoker

Please note, the first 4 archive links for June 2012 eventually showed up on the previous O/T btl page. They’re timed at 6:55pm.

For those not sure how to get there just look under the most recent comment on this page and click on “Older Comments” then scroll to bottom of previous page and work up to 6:55pm.

Return to this page via the ‘back button’ or click “Newer Comments” near end of previous page.

75. Still Positive.

Re the test: I got Consul. Quite happy about it.

76. Paula Rose

New vacuum cleaner – lift your legs.

77. Michael McCabe

Re the test. they have me down as a Defender. I always thought of myself as a Left Winger too. Anyway I am still in the Game. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gtizr2G_7Bk

78. yesindyref2

I got “β€œThe Campaigner” on that test. “Diplomat”, fair enough, but “People mastery”? I wish! Well, I think I wish πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h8hcUmcpVjs

Some of that’s true.

79. Michael McCabe

Do You want this ? You Sure ? OK then. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1MDlMdu2gjw

80. Nana

@Smallaxe

Good morning. You good today?

I’m psyching myself up to take the dog out, Brr

Here’s an interesting resource to pass the time when the going gets tough [boring] watching the court proceedings.

http://blog.historicenvironment.scot/2016/11/travelling-back-time-unique-scottish-resource/

81. Smallaxe

Nana:

HI Nana,I just realised that when you asked for an update,that you may have been asking about me.I think that you knew that I had more tests,well whatever’s going on I don’t know,but they have brought my February appointment forward to the 16th of this month.I will let you know,how I get on.

My brother phoned me yesterday from Cannes and we spoke for nearly three hours,I had to lie down afterwards,seemingly I’m not as strong as I thought when a phone call can put me in bed.Maybe they will give me some more of those lovely steroids (I hope).

I hope you are keeping well,look after yourself.
    Billy

Peace Always

82. Nana

@Smallaxe

I’m sure you will be anxious waiting for your next appointment, the waiting is sometimes more stressful than the result. I’m sure we wingers will be anxious along with you.

A three hour phone call is a tour de force, I’m not surprised you felt tired afterwards. I find fatigue is the worst aspect of RA. I have a pretty high pain threshold [women do you know!!] but the tiredness really gets me down. In your case I imagine fatigue must be much worse, another factor in your condition. Take care Billy xx

83. Dave McEwan Hill

Scottish passports arrived! Thanks,guys.

84. Andrew McLean

Blame Headtracker

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TohEJPjyi-U

been singing this all day!

85. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

I’ve been coming in on the chorus,did you not hear my falsetto? πŸ™‚

Peace Always

86. Tinto Chiel

Back in Glasgow for a Faberge egg for Mrs TC’s Christmas and noticed that wee wummin again, trying to flog The Scotsman in Buchanan Street.

“Erra paper and a bag furra pun’,” quoth she.

Must be one of the loneliest jobs in the world.

87. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thanks Boss,every night’s a pay night. πŸ™‚

Peace Always

88. Michael McCabe

Transatlantic Sessions. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JtHEekexReE

89. Paula Rose

Wee tune whilst I clean up the monkey nut shells…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FRx1iIfoNdg

90. Paula Rose

Don’t you know…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_fASRDQ6QQA

91. Paula Rose

There is you know there really is…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QccPUSTMriM

92. Paula Rose

They do you know they do…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h8UvC5sAnHI

93. Michael McCabe

Hi Paula. Night Paula. I will leave you with this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xGytDsqkQY8

94. Paula Rose

Hi Michael Honey – might need your four poster next week, will message you…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PIb6AZdTr-A

95. Paula Rose

For all of you forever – you know what I mean…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Id_UYLPSn6U

96. Andrew McLean

Sorry Smallaxe

I thought that was my tinnitus πŸ™‚

97. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

I’ll have you know sir,that I have the voice of an Angel.The said Angel being Lucifer,which means that I can form a one-man choir,as I am Legion.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always, my good Brother

98. Andrew McLean

apropos the English supreme court

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CPXnoLAEUSQ

Jukebox Jury

remember this from the “hit parade” Small Axe.

πŸ™‚

99. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

The law doesn’t always win!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nrnZSLwfzVs

Peace Always

100. Stoker

To all the football fans out there. The WOS Archives for May, June and July 2012 are absolutely hoachin’ with football related articles, especially July. Enjoy!
    ________

This song has taken up permanent residency in my head for the past several days and i don’t know why. Please take it from me!

Marty Robbins – El Paso
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R-y3DB0wLh4

101. Stoker

Best version of this i’ve ever seen or heard, especially the first 3-minutes. WOW! Music right off the scale, then there’s Shania πŸ™‚ Anyone know who they are?

Shania Twain – Man I Feel Like A Woman (Live Toronto 2015)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DFygKEKEI7E

102. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thank you.I used to drink in a pub called the El Paso!
    I will leave you with this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FuAMtMjDOow

Peace Always

103. Stoker

Country Sisters – Let’s Twist Again
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KcPdA-Xpsus

Thanks, Smallaxe, many many moons ago i had Marty Robbins’ Gunfighter Ballads album. It went AWOL from my record collection and has never been seen since.

104. Smallaxe

“I’m not afraid of death because I don’t believe in it,its just getting out of one car and into another”
    John Lennon.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-hCEDPXV54Y

Rest in Peace John

Love is all you need!

105. Smallaxe

Stoker:

I wish that I could get back all the Albums that I loaned to people and never saw them again.

Mind Games
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HseHEpaUCN0

Peace Always

106. Stoker

Smallaxe,

Just listened to that El Paso (part-2) and quite enjoyed it. Never heard it before. Bravo! Thank you! I see there’s a part-3 also. I’ll give that a listen later as i’m going to turn in now.
    Stay safe!

Goodnight, troops!

107. Smallaxe

Goodnight Stoker:

All you need is LOVE
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3_kikV3b3w

Peace Always

108. Paula Rose

Smallaxe Honey – this always is one I love to share with you…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXDJneVbEC8

109. Smallaxe

Paula Rose:

It’s always the one that l love to hear Paula,Thank you

For you

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Soq4M_hu-Nc.

Peace and Love to You Paula,and to those to whom you give Your Love

110. Smallaxe

The Killing of Georgie:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_EkksZis3S8

Peace Always

111. Smallaxe

The law is for protection of the people!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DK8TSJuBMgM

Peace Always

112. Tinto Chiel

Thanks again, Stoker, for all the links.

Did you hear the free hit/PR exercise from head of MI6 on Pravdasound4 tonight? No questions, of course, allowed from our Free Press but they were permitted to see a video clip of his speech to no-one. We’re facing unprecedented threats from The Bad Guys, apparently, and then he quotes Calgacus via Tacitus about , “They create a desert……”

What about the waste lands the UK has created directly or by proxy in Iraq, Afghanistan, Libya, Syria und so weiter?

Impressive Irony Bypass as usual, from Londinium.

Subtext: cower between nanny England’s skirts, Jocks, we’re better together.

113. Tinto Chiel

Pissed off by all the above, groovers, but I found this a couple of days ago. Hadn’t heard it for over 40 years but I still found it fun.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXuiwR-g6iU

God, they look thin, but then, didn’t we all?

Me and my snake hips too…..

Hope you’re ok, Smallaxe.

114. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve not been too active on ‘off-topic’ of late and just can’t keep up with all the music vids being posted but today, on reading about the death of my all time favourite male vocalist, I felt I should stick my tuppence worth in.

A search on YouTube proved that many fine videos from the past have been removed so I ended up with this wee selection.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7nyt57LxWy8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fi8A2ORr_Jk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RXCEdrnaFlY

When Karen Carpenter (my all time favourite female vocalist) died, my regret was that I’d never hear the pair of them performing a duet. Their voices were made for each other.

RIP. My memories of three ELP concerts in the Caird Hall are still in my mental database.

115. Paula Rose

Freedom as seen from Scotland…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efQEjZgeqZk

116. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Sheena was pure labour (her femly bringupedness) until some point in the last 15 years or so. I’ve spent one or three times at her hoose on New Year’s morning, over the past few years. She’s a stalwart member of ‘Team YES Bus’.

Here’s another wee offering, to show where she was in 2014.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebNAj5q4fxo

117. yesindyref2

Just saw an obituary in the Herald, Greg Lake died age 69 of cancer 2 days ago.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oHNThbhv4d8

118. Andrew McLean

perhaps a warning?

http://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/stephen-collins-state-commemoration-of-1916-has-been-a-success-1.2754512

From a poster in Ireland

I believe we underestimate the sense of disappointment many in Ireland still feel regarding what Ireland became after independence.
    A conservative , neurotic and repressed ultra Catholic politic where emigration , for many , was the only alternative. Anti British dogma prevailed in the culture and a sense of inferiority , negativism about all things Irish lead to hopelessness and despair among many .
    Why was that ? We should ask ourselves this is order to really come to grips about what happened, what we have become and , most importantly , what we want this nation to be in the future.
    Fresh air and daylight should be brought to bear to finally loose the shackles from an inheritance that still clouds the sky and blocks the sunshine in the Irish mind

119. Stoker

WOS Archives for July 2012

The third question
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-third-question/#comments
    ________

WOS Archives for August 2012

Madman Of The Year
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/madman-of-the-year/#comments

120. Stoker

Jeez, TC, Roxy Music? 40-years ago? Where does time go, eh?

((((( IT’S FRIDAY )))))
    http://archive.is/rSxgb

121. Tinto Chiel

Stoker: that’s some bad cat, Harry. Heeheehee!

Where does the time go? Onto my waist line. Good job I still have my smoulder for The Laydees.

Keep those archives a-comin’. Big Fight ahead.

122. Tinto Chiel

I know I’ve played this once before, but I can’t get this bass-line out of my head. My fingers keep twitching.

Doctor, is this normal?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vlQwMKnfJEs

123. Stoker

Having an early Spring clean folks in preparation for a new PC.
    πŸ™‚

HOUSE OF LORDS (ABOLITION)
    http://hansard.millbanksystems.com/commons/1968/jun/26/house-of-lords-abolition

Labour’s House of Lords Hypocrisy – Student Voices
    http://archive.is/77RhO

New Labour, New Hype? – Peter Tatchell
    http://archive.is/K4AH1

YOUR COUNTRY YOUR CHOICE
    http://archive.is/SjRIk

124. Cactus

Not too long to go now.

They know we know.

X.

125. Tinto Chiel

Mind you, you couldn’t get funkier than this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0CFuCYNx-1g

Night all.

126. Tinto Chiel

No, no, wait:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FnH_zwVmiuE

That’s better.

127. Michael McCabe

@ Tinto Chiel 12:18am http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ul7X5js1vE

128. yesindyref2

I can’t believe it wasn’t all over the media, and so few seem to care. I guess so many musicians died this year.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RXCEdrnaFlY

and to change the mood

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j9jbdgZidu8

129. Tinto Chiel

Morning, Michael. Stevie and the band got faster and faster there.

Unlike me, who’s having a slow start.

130. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

I posted that Greg Lake link at 10.24pm on Thursday night.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-45/#comment-2211046

131. Cactus

I went down to London, last weekend..

I got something to say about that.. in ot laters..

Scotland.
    Coming soon.. X.

132. Andrew Mclean

Cactus,
    Spent 17 years going up London Town, thankfully last few I didn’t have to suffer the old white racism, they had been replaced.

Did spend an afternoon smoking weed on the roof of a building with the son of one the men who executed Nicolae Ceausescu and his wife, Elena, he said they had too end it. So they got their machine guns and, well you know the rest!

The Swiss watch we both wore was identical, our dads had given them to us.
    funny old world.

133. Tinto Chiel

Hi, Cactus.

I’ve been to London twice.

That’s all I’ve got…

134. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Many thanks,I have twice thanked you over the last few days,but I have noticed,that the posts haven’t appeared.Please be assured of my thanks for your kindness in sharing this information with us,may I also give Respect, for your determination and obvious passion for our cause.Hail Alba!

Peace and Love to You,and to those you Love

135. Tinto Chiel

Thanks again, Stoker.

Got live if you want it: everyone seemed plugged in.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H6LVI1gDswg

After all that running in the traffic, I’ve got a hole in my shoe.

Sorry: age thing.

Stevie Winwood, ya bass.

136. Tinto Chiel

OK, then, since you asked so nicely:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VxA3atHD2QM

137. Still Positive.

Tinto Chiel @ 9.00pm

Nice one. Enjoyed that! πŸ™‚

138. Tinto Chiel

SP: glad to oblige. I think YouTube are blocking it already!

I blame yon Theresa May watchin’ ma internet.

πŸ˜‰

139. Nana

@Smallaxe

Sorry I missed your comment this morning. I had to go off for an appointment pretty sharpish.

Hoping you are doing well these days. I know you have the hospital on the 16th and no doubt anxious.

140. Stoker

Sorry, troops, posted 6:21pm comment out of sequence by accident.
    Still, it was worth it in the end, you get double your money πŸ˜‰

141. Tinto Chiel

Evening, groovers/sophisticates.

If you have the time, funk off:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pJV2pWFyfn4

142. Tinto Chiel

If you don’t have the time, take the short cut:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFvRvSxsW-I

143. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Thought of you when I saw this

http://archive.is/DyZQ6

144. Tinto Chiel

Evening, Nana.

Thank you very much for that. I never look at The Hootsman now, of course. He was quite a man and is a constant inspiration. Whenever folk think they have it tough in politics, they should think of him.

I hope things are all right with you and the family, and that you have a great Christmas.

145. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Last couple of days have been pretty hectic, rushing about like a mad thing. Looking forward to a nice quiet time [well I can dream!]

Wishing you & yours a happy festive season and mind and drink plenty, water that is. Slainte mhath

146. Tinto Chiel

Good news, Nana.

Water is it? Nothing else will touch my lips.

πŸ˜‰

147. Smallaxe

Nana:

I’m not doing too good at the moment,sleeping 18/20 hours some days,doctors coming out to see me.Dont worry about me,I’ll get through it ok.I will post occasionally when able.Look after yourself.

Peace always
    Billy

148. Nana

@Smallaxe

I thought that might be the case Billy. xx

149. Liz g

Take care Smallaxe..
    But you are not allowed to tell us we can’t worry.
    Say hi when you can. x

150. Fred

Heard snoring & thought I’d just look in! Just to let U folks know that I’ve just successfully filled in my wee bowel screening advent calendar! πŸ™‚ Shhhhhhhh

151. Stoker

WOS Archives for September 2012

Getting nowhere fast
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/getting-nowhere-fast/#comments

WOS Archives for October 2012

Demarcation dispute
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/demarcation-dispute/#comments

Chasing the game
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/chasing-the-game/#comments

A different kind of independence
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/a-different-kind-of-independence/#comments

152. Andrew Mclean

Small axe
    Hope you feel better soon,
    Some jokes to cheer you up.

Fred’s advent calendar reminds me of the time I could not get the chocolate out as the wrapping was to hard, “Foil’d Again”.

So hungry I went to the pound shop and noticed some cakes, I asked the assist how much the cakes on the bottom shelf were, “pound” they replied, then the middle shelf again “pound” they replied, and the top shelf “Two Pound” oh I said “why?” The said “that’s Ma,dera cake”.

All the cake was making me feel ill so I went to the doctors and he said, “I will give you a prostate exam”, oh ! “Just take your trousers off and sit on the bed” I said “where will I put my trousers, he said “just on the chair, next to mine”!

I must have looked worried, so he said “don’t worry it’s not unusual to get an erection” I don’t have an erection I said, he said “I was talking to myself”

So I went home, luckily I found the wife’s “G” spot, turned out her sister had it all along!

Peace and laughter.

πŸ™‚

I went for

153. CameronB Brodie

I must have lived a sheltered life Andrew. πŸ˜‰

Anyhoo, here’s some southern soul for all the Scottish Yoon cultists who deny their own humanity and the culture that helped shaped them. Here’s a tip, national identity shouldn’t be discarded like some cheep suite. Without authentic, organically shaped identity, self-appraisal and judgement becomes difficult and the mind becomes dis-functional. That’s why we have the BBC misreporting Scotland every day of the week, grooming Scots to be happy “second-class” Brits. Creeps.

Kip Anderson – I Went Off and Cried
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=anEksk8tW5Y

154. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

RE: your latest tweet from ‘The Voodoo Rooms’.

https://twitter.com/PaulaHoneyRose

What are you on? At all the Wings get-togethers it has been my pleasure to meet you, you have never sat “quietly in the corner”.

Or is it that you’re a tad no’ affie weel, or worse, a tad affie no’ weel? We need to know – frankly.

155. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

As you typed about “all the Scottish Yoon cultists who deny their own humanity and the culture that helped shaped them…”

Does this Dundee band not make you proud to be appreciative of Scottish culture and wonder where the ‘Scottish’ yoons have got it so wrong?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLufLuVj4gE

156. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Not my usual tipple Brian but I think that had authentic soul (whatever that is) and spoke with a common humility that appears lacking in a lot of yoons. Especially Tory FAN-BOYS like David Torrence, with his degree in psychology and shit. Not forgetting BLiS___d have several FAN-BOYS. What a world, eh? In short, the dude sang well and it was seen across the land that it was braw. πŸ˜‰

I’ll fess up. My defense of Scottish culture is not because I’m a particular fan, simply that Scottish culture IS, it helped SHAPE ME, and it’s continued integrity is considered vital to the global effort towards achieving sustainable patterns of development, as is the case with all peoples and their cultures. I also feel particularly vulnerable living in a state where development is not held under the rule-of-law and inalienable human rights are denied as a matter of course.

In a nutshell, I want my humanity legitimized baby, not distorted through some 6, 7, 8, and 9. J. Arthur Rank, My Old China, Pork Pies, And Crimbo lens. That’s why I avoid the BBC as if it were an STD (Scottish Tradition Distortion). A bit like a gravitation flux or rift in the space-time continuum. πŸ™‚

β€œThe right to development is an inalienable human right by virtue of which every human person and all peoples are entitled to participate in, contribute to, and enjoy economic, social, cultural and political development, in which all human rights and fundamental freedoms can be fully realized.” (Article 1.1, Declaration on the Right to Development)

β€œThe human right to development also implies the full realization of the right of peoples to self-determination, which includes, subject to the relevant provisions of both International Covenants on Human Rights, the exercise of their inalienable right to full sovereignty over all their natural wealth and resources.” (Article 1.2)

http://www.un.org/en/events/righttodevelopment/pdf/rtd_at_a_glance.pdf

157. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    The thing about culture is that it is constantly evolving and opponents of colonial rule often find themselves aspiring to an ‘idealised’ bygone era that never will be again.

The dynamic between the colonizer and the colonized may impose an intellectual rather than a political domination over the post-colonial nation. While political freedom may exist, the intellectual independence is far from reality. Said goes on to state “it [Orientalism] is, rather than expresses, a certain will or intention to understand, in some cases to control, manipulate, even to incorporate, what is a manifestly different (or alternative and novel) world.” (90) Thus, choosing to represent an indigenous culture with the language of the empire serves as another form of colonization.

http://www.postcolonialweb.org/poldiscourse/yang/1.html

158. CameronB Brodie

The revision of the history of critical theory rests … on the notion of cultural difference, not cultural diversity. Cultural diversity is an epistemological objectβ€”culture as an object of empirical knowledgeβ€”whereas cultural difference is the process of the enunciation of culture as β€œknowledgeable,” authoritative, adequate to the construction of systems of cultural identification.

If cultural diversity is a category of comparative ethics, aesthetics, or ethnology, cultural difference is a process of signification through which statements of culture or on culture differentiate, discriminate, and authorize the production of fields of force, reference, applicability, and capacity. Cultural diversity is the recognition of pregiven cultural β€œcontents” and customs, held in a time frame of relativism; it gives rise to anodyne liberal notions of multiculturalism, cultural exchange, or the culture of humanity.

Cultural diversity is also the representation of a radical rhetoric of the separation of totalized cultures that live unsullied by the intertextuality of their historical locations, safe in the utopianism of a mythic memory of a unique collective identity. Cultural diversity may even emerge as a system of the articulation and exchange of cultural signs in certain … imperialist accounts of anthropology.

http://monumenttotransformation.org/atlas-of-transformation/html/c/cultural-diversity/cultural-diversity-and-cultural-differences-homi-k-bhabha.html

* line-breaks added.

159. CameronB Brodie

Were the Yoons meeting in the Voodoo Lounge tonight?

Kava Kon – Zombie
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bnuiwYwVeyI&list=PLgHcgQ48sd3KHxe2U6v2ci2a-S0dnOwo9

160. CameronB Brodie

If cultural diversity is a category of comparative ethics, aesthetics, or ethnology, cultural difference is a process of signification through which statements of culture or on culture differentiate, discriminate, and authorize the production of fields of force, reference, applicability, and capacity.

Might be why Heidegger thought English Christian Bolsheviks were worse than your eyebrows exhibiting an infestation of crab lice, or similar sentiments.

161. Nana

@Smallaxe

Sending good thoughts to you this morning. xx

162. Fred

Just a wee keek to see if he’s aboot yet Nana!

163. Liz g

Just checking in to say Hi Smallaxe if yer up an aboot.
    We are all thinkin of ye and sending happy thoughts your way.
    Say hi when you can Hun X

164. Paula Rose

Hi Dolls back home safe and sound – many thanks to Michael McCabe we danced the night away.

165. Tinto Chiel

Heard on Pravdasound2 yesterday, first time in a long time:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZebnSygZRlo

166. Michael McCabe

What do you mean Paula. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2iFXrFIx5Go

167. Smallaxe

Nana:

Please pass on my thanks to everyone for their good wishes.I’m just going to have a shower before the doctor comes back this morning.Hoping to be back fighting fit asap.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bpO0lsTQSs0

Peace and Love to All
    Billy xx

168. Nana

@Smallaxe

Hope you are doing better today Billy xx

169. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Good to see you back mister.

πŸ™‚

170. Liz g

Morning Smallaxe
    Good to see you posted.
    You don’t need to reply , just letting you know we are thinking of you.
    You do need to tell Mrs Smallaxe we are asking after her as well though.XX

171. Tinto Chiel

Derek Mackay did pretty well on Pravdasound4 this morning with Nick “I only lie when I speak” Robinson. I haven’t seen the TV footage but he also seems to have stymied Paisley’s Finest, Oor Andra of the Big Riddy.

I also thought the Met Commissioner spiked the Blessed John Humphries’ guns yesterday by refusing to be bullied by him. He simply stopped speaking and asked Humphrys if he wanted to hear his answer or just interrupt him after three words. That put him Jimbo on the back foot. Polite but firm refusal to be harassed can be effective. Of course, Hogan-Howe has had the temerity to investigate highly-placed paedophiles so he’s got to be put under pressure.

O/T: thought Dave McEwan Hill’s letter in The National today on press perfidy in reporting the Syria crisis was excellent.

172. Tinto Chiel

Posted above on the wrong thread of course and can’t be Carmichaeled doing it again.

It’s the thought that counts at this time of year, I always think.

Nana: haven’t touched a drop, honest…

173. Tinto Chiel

Peace offering:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zFcJa_PBX3g

I can see colours, man.

174. Chic McGregor

Some PS practice. A bit rusty since indyref1

Putin on the style.

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f390/chicmac/PutinOnMyTopHat.jpg

175. CameronB Brodie

We need practical tools of knowledge if we are to understand ourselves and shape a better future. “Critical Social Theory” is regarded as such a tool, providing a multi-dimensional theoretical framework and cross-discipline approach to understanding what makes things tick. It is the root for contemporary feminist theory, queer theory, post-colonial theory and much of contemporary social science. As it seeks to understand real life circumstances from the experience of the ‘subject’, it is apparently philosophically and methodologically related and relevant to developing nursing practice. Anyhoo, it’s the accommodation of difference that is important, as without that you ain’t gonna achieve social justice, BLiS___d.

“Today, however, the increasingly high-pitched appeal by politicians to “our values” sounds ever emptier – alone the confusion of “principles”, which require some kind of justification, with “values”, which are more or less attractive, irritates me beyond all measure. We can see our political institutions being robbed more and more of their democratic substance during the course of the technocratic adjustment to global market imperatives. Our capitalist democracies are about to shrink to mere faΓ§ade democracies.” – JΓΌrgen Habermas

http://blogs.worldbank.org/taxonomy/term/15875

Conceptions of difference within theories of Social Justice: implications for higher education research

http://www.lancaster.ac.uk/fass/events/hecu7/papers/mcarthur.pdf

Review Essay
    Critical Theory and Social Justice

https://brock.scholarsportal.info/journals/SSJ/article/download/1028/998

https://cssj.utk.edu/divisions/critical-theories-of-social-justice/

176. Brian Doonthetoon

We Should let Paula Rose know that “Dusty Springfield at the BBC” (from 1961 to 1995) is on for an hour on BBC4 tonight, at 10.55pm. And following that, “Doris Day: Virgin Territory” for another hour.

177. CameronB Brodie

The Great Refusal: Liberation from the Facts of Life
    Jordan Cassidy
    Simon Fraser University

ABSTRACT
    Following the rise of fascism in the mid-20th century, the Frankfurt School began developing theories to explain how individuals become susceptible to authoritative domination. Herbert Marcuse provided the New Left with a β€œGreat Refusal” of the status quo. This concept first found meaningful expression during the 1968 May events in Paris. The Great Refusal has since been absorbed by the technological administration of false needs and the rational instrumentalization of culture.

New media such as the popular Internet forum Reddit has the double function of entertainment and communication, thereby ensnaring the individual in the passive consent and enjoyment of self-domination. Cultural form develops habits of thought that tend toward conformity and powerful assumptions about ultimacy. Science and technology could be used to develop solutions to global problems, but instead we are enframed in a modality of life that produces material and ideological waste to satisfy the false needs created by the established culture.

The liberation of consciousness is therefore dependent on the liberation of science and technology. The 2011 Occupy Wall Street movement demonstrates that technology can be harnessed to cultivate new values that aim to liberate consciousness. The Great Refusal has become the negation of the material and ideological conditions that confirm objective reality β€” a refusal to be subordinate to a world of facts.

http://scholar.oxy.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1074&context=ctsj

The Idea of Progress and Critical Social Theory

http://www.sunypress.edu/pdf/60577.pdf

HEGEL AND CRITICAL SOCIAL THEORY:
    New Perspectives from the Marcuse Archive

http://www.marcuse.org/herbert/booksabout/00s/04RockwellSocQtlyMarcuseArchivesHegelSocialTheory.pdf

THE LOGIC OF CRITICAL SOCIAL THEORY

https://ojs.gc.cuny.edu/index.php/situations/article/download/622/1299

https://cemticritic.eu/seminaire-critical-social-theory-and-dialectics/

178. CameronB Brodie

If you wouldn’t trust a plumber to do your wiring why pay attention to ill-informed journalists?

Qualitative Research in Information Systems

Quantitative research methods were originally developed in the natural sciences to study natural phenomena. Examples of quantitative methods now well accepted in the social sciences include survey methods, laboratory experiments, formal methods (e.g. econometrics) and numerical methods such as mathematical modeling. See the ISWorld Section on Quantitative, Positivist Research edited by Straub, Gefen and Boudreau (2004).

Qualitative research methods were developed in the social sciences to enable researchers to study social and cultural phenomena. Examples of qualitative methods are action research, case study research and ethnography. Qualitative data sources include observation and participant observation (fieldwork), interviews and questionnaires, documents and texts, and the researcher’s impressions and reactions (Myers 2009)

http://www.qual.auckland.ac.nz/

179. Tinto Chiel

Humphrys not Humphries. Me bad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PCjhgiVnYDs

Listen to Bon’s accent at the start. Kirrie ya bass.

BDDT: thanks for the info. Think I might just catalogue my CD collection by theme tonight and wash my hair (what’s left of it).

180. CameronB Brodie

Looks like a post has gone missing, which is a pity as I can’t remember what I’ve posted as I’ve been sifting since this morning. Nuts, one of the links focused on the “Great Refusal” and the philosophy behind critical social theory.

THE LOGIC OF CRITICAL SOCIAL THEORY

file:///C:/Users/Cameron/AppData/Local/Temp/622-5161-1-PB.pdf

181. DerekM

Paula level with me was HRH wanna be Dan there or was it just the captain and the flute band and was ordinary mum there?

And how long before they sussed you and did they give you your money back?

Are they mad was it all groo UJ`s and posters of young Liz and did they have the sense to keep the boys from over the water away from it?

oh and excellent job haha you should write a book about your time as an undercover wings spy πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SaV-6qerkqI

182. Stoker

CameronB Brodie wrote 16 December, 2016 at 7:28 pm
    (On main thread)

“Stoker
    I’m not trying to compete mate, honest, I’m just doing my thing.”

Dinny be daft noo, ffs! Interesting choice of words though, “not trying to compete”? Where the Frances did that come fae? You been skippin’ the meds again? πŸ˜€

You keep daein yer thang n we’ll get alang jist fine mucker. πŸ˜‰

BTW, only just got the opportunity to respond to you because i’ve not been on site all night due to the boss hitting an extreme low and i’ve only just got her settled. Now it’s time to try and get some shuteye of my own.

183. Nana

@Smallaxe

Just checking in to let you know we are thinking of you and hoping you are feeling better xx

184. Liz g

Morning Smallaxe
    As Nana said just checking in to say Hi and wish you well.
    Stay strong my friend and do not give that illness an inch.X

185. Tinto Chiel

Hey, Smallaxe, if you’re about, you might enjoy this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bJp6ivzibfM

Think I’m in love…

186. CameronB Brodie

Stoker
    I couldn’t think of another way of saying I don’t think two legs are better than four. If I thought some animals were more equal than others I would possibly support BLiS___d and British nationalism. Just for clarity, I don’t. πŸ˜‰

187. ScottishPsyche

Laughing at Paula Rose’s foray to the dark side. I imagine it like the last scene in Rosemary’s Baby with all the old fogies riled up and shouting Satan.

What were they afraid of? Everyone knowing their tactics? Or people seeing in real life the utter social ineptitude and awkwardness they exhibit day in and day out on social media.

Imagine that was the highlight of your social calendar.

188. CameronB Brodie

It’s Saturday and if I was younger, I might be out having fun. As I’m not, here’s a Tikki inspired party for the digital age, all the way from Micronesia. You never know, some Yoon cargo-cultists out there might feel the love. πŸ™‚

Long Play DJ Set @ Hotcast Jovem Pan Santos
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gGF0_Z3bGEo

P.S. Difference is getting harder to defend in the post-modern age of globalisation, is it not?

189. CameronB Brodie

Sorry, I appear to be talking mince again. I think the mix was from Brazil but I definitely found it through my appreciation of Tikki. πŸ™‚

190. Nana

@Smallaxe

Thinking of you, hoping you are feeling good today xx

191. Liz g

Hi Smallaxe
    Sending happy healing thoughts your way.
    Hope you will be back chatting soon.
    Take care of you.. my friend. X

192. Smallaxe

Nana:
    Mrs Smallaxe here just to let you and everyone who has asked after my husband know that he is not doing too well at the moment. He is severely anaemic and suffering from blurred vision and fatigue so much so that I have to read wings out to him. Hopefully, he will be back among you all shortly. I would like to give special thanks to Liz for her kind thoughts for myself. Thank you all very much for your kindness and concern. Smallaxe sends his love to you all.

Peace and Love to all xx

193. Nana

@Mrs Smallaxe
    Thank you for updating us and please give Billy a hug from me and you must look after yourself as well.
    Tell him he is in my thoughts.

194. Ian Brotherhood

@Mrs Smallaxe –

More power to you and yer man. Sending the vibes…

195. emgeeeff@hotmail.com

@Mrs Smallaxe,

Give him our love and best wishes. I pray for a speedy recovery and to opportunity to read his words of wisdom again.. A good man.xx

196. Capella

@ Mrs Smallaxe – wishing you both health and happiness in abundance now and over the holidays. Was missing the morning coffee time post so hope Smallaxe will be back at the keyboard soon.

197. Liz g

Mrs Smallaxe , Hi Hun
    We are all sending our love and best wishes to you both.
    Thank You so much for posting an update for us.
    Tell Smallaxe not to feel pressured to reply,we are just checking if he is posting or not,and bidding him good morning.
    Remember to also take good care of yourself Mrs Smallaxe as often that’s what fall’s by the wayside when looking after a loved one.
    Oh and just an FYI… don’t take any lip….Just tell him you will report him to us.

May the blessings of Love be on you both. X

198. Lenny Hartley

Mrs Smallaxe, best wishes to Mr Smallaxe . Sending the vibes as well.

199. Chic McGregor

Mrs Smallaxe
    Sorry to hear.
    Hope he picks up soon and you both have a joyful Christmas period.

Best wishes from Chic

200. Marie Clark

Mrs Smallaxe, sorry to hear our ain Smallaxe is not too grand at the moment. We all miss his comments. I wish him well, and remember to look after yourself as well.

All the best to both of you, I will be thinking of you.

201. Thepnr

Mrs Smallaxe I’m really sorry to hear Billy is feeling so poorly right now. Serious illness is of course a very difficult thing to cope with for all of you close to Billy as well as for himself.

Please tell him I said hello on Off Topic and am hoping he feels a bit better soon and that I look forward to reading some more of his posts.

Tell him also Wingers have adopted his signature of Peace Always.

202. Tinto Chiel

Mrs Smallaxe: hope The Man is feeling better soon.

Mrs TC and I send our love to you both and all the family.

203. Odet

Mrs Smallaxe: thinking of you both with great love.

Smallaxe posts have been so encouraging, entertaining and interesting. Writing as a confirmed Lurker, I’ve valued the opportunity to read of his experience.

Wishing you and your family joy.

204. Macart

Many thanks for the update Mrs Smallaxe.

Sending all the very best wishes.

205. K1

Hi Mrs Smallaxe…much peace and healing to Smallaxe, we’re all rootin’ for him here on Wings. Peace and Love to you and all who love you both.

206. Cactus

Smallaxe.. you’re the dude.. in ur own time.

Muchos peace’os..

Top love.
    X.

207. Brian Doonthetoon

First of all…

Best wishes to you Smallaxe – get yourself fit enough to occupy your throne under the Wings gazebo at the next rally we all turn up for (29th April?). You did fine at Glasgow Green…

Secondly: just heard on the news that Zsa Zsa Gabor had died, at 99 years of age. Any mention of her always reminds me of the series from the early 60s, starring her sister Eva, who died in 1995.

Here’s a reminder…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wzT1kO_-xbQ

208. Andrew Mclean

Smalaxe,

Hope your strength returns soon, Mrs Axe, sounds as sharp as you! Lucky man you are!
    Take care my friend, hope to see you one day at a wings meeting.

You always sign out, with love, that resonates with me.

And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not love, I am nothing.
    If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal.

We are on the side of the angels smallaxe, that’s what annoys them the most!
    X

209. Brian Doonthetoon

And as we get towards the end of 2016, maybe this wee song is the inspiration we need, going into 2017.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JoZZVkDVZ0c

210. Chic McGregor

BDTT
    The Corrie vids on YT and personal ones I uploaded 10 years ago continue to degrade technically. This should not be happening in a digitally stored archive.

211. Cactus

My way, your way, anything goes tonight..

Retro Family Guy has just started!
    And X.

212. Nana

@Smallaxe

Just checking in with you and Mrs Smallaxe, hoping you are doing well today xx

213. Smallaxe

Mrs Smallaxe here again, thanks for all your good wishes, they have really
    cheered him up and lifted his spirits it’s done him the world of good.

As a wee Christmas present to you guys from him, he is giving you all a 25% discount code to use on the Mountain Warehouse website for all your clothing, footwear, walking and camping needs…just enter the code at checkout… FAMILY3463…valid from now till the 31st of Dec.
    Merry Christmas to you all from both of us.

Peace n’ Love

214. Liz g

Morning Mrs Smallaxe
    Glad to hear he is feeling a wee bit cheerier.
    Thanks for your gift that everyone can share that’s so very thoughtful and so very Smallaxe.
    In the meantime though….You two keep on keeping on.X

215. Fred

@ the Smallaxes, thinkin aboot ye!

216. Tinto Chiel

Since it’s Christmas, I offer this to any Night Owls tonight. I first heard it read by Robert Powell late one night in the Seventies but I couldn’t find that version on YouTube.

It starts off quite slowly and quietly, and some of you (the lucky ones?) might well nod back off to sleep. For those who continue listening, well, good luck……

You’ve locked the back door, and closed that wee hopper window in the kitchen, haven’t you?

Haven’t you?

MWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

πŸ˜›

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fMOMn3z0WD4

217. Nana

@Smallaxe

Just checking in with you and Mrs Smallaxe. Missing your morning call. Take care xx

218. Liz g

Morning Smallaxe.
    Hope you had a comfortable night.
    Sending thoughts of love and strength to you both.X

219. Tinto Chiel

Stoker: thanks again for the WoS links.

If it’s quite straightforward, could please you tell me how to archive from the Dead Tree Press?

220. K1

Tinto,

So ye want to archive….

Highlight the address bar of the article you want to archive. Right click and drop down menu appears, click ‘copy’. Open up http://archive.is (having bookmarked this, so you can repeatedly open up a fresh one when needed).

Put cursor into the long box, right click, drop down menu, click ‘paste’ to place your article URL into the box. Then click ‘save the page’. Wait for it to do its thing. You now have an archived copy of the article. If you then want to share this via mail, Wings et al, just go to the address bar of the archived article and copy ‘that’ url. That’s it. πŸ˜‰

221. K1

Btw you don’t have to have the article ‘open’ in your browser to do this thereby not giving the DTP any ‘clicks’ at all. Just do the same thing as above to any headline you see that you want to ‘view’ and you can then just read the ‘archived’ copy that you just created. Good way of bookmarking such links, which is just another form or archiving (saving for posterity) knowing that if that article ever ‘disappeared’ from Internet searches you will always have the ‘original’ if you see what I mean.

222. Stoker

TC,

Let me know if K1’s help did the trick. If not i will try simplifying it further. Try practising here on O/T.

223. Tinto Chiel

K1 and Stoker.

Thanks for all the prompt advice. Every day is a school day.

Will give it a go and bring the Dead Tree Scrolls to their rotten knees.

πŸ˜‰

Was in my old neighbour’s house just there and had the gruesome experience of seeing the BBC Scotland “news”, where Sarah Smith referred to the FM as “Sturgeon”: classy lassie, eh?

NOT.

224. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, guys!

http://archive.is/g6ifh

I owe you each a drink the next time we meet in a vile cybersep drinking den.

225. Fred

@ Tinto, many thanks for the Mezzotint, it’ll be a restless night kid! whoooooooooooo

226. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel (and others).

RE: archiving at ‘archive.is’. If, after clicking on the “Save the page” button, you get the message that “This page was last archived 1 year ago” or any period up to NOW, DO NOT click on “Save the page again” button.

If you do, the old saved version will be overwritten with the new version. There have been umpteen examples where lies have been called out and web site content changed, sometimes within minutes/hours. Just click on the X in the top right corner of the pop-up box to cancel your archive and retain the original.

We want to keep the original version archived, not lost to a newer version, which may not contain the original material.

Onnyhoo, typing about archiving. There is a “not for profit” organisation that has been archiving the web since the mid 90s. It is known as the “Internet Archive” and can be found at:-

https://archive.org/

The difference between the Internet Archive and ‘archive.is’ is that the Internet Archive regularly sends out bots to capture web pages and keeps ALL versions of the web pages it captures. It’s been on the go since the mid-90s and has archived billions of pages.

Thus, you can enter a URL (web address) into its search box and, if it has captured the page, you will get a calendar of all the captures, that you can explore to your heart’s content.

I had reason to go there yesterday (A “Sun” page) and, for the first time in my experience, they are seeking donations to carry on the work, including building a server farm in Canada as a backup to their California operation. So I donated $5 via PayPal, for all the help they have been in the past. BTW: they have a sponsor who is matching all contributions dollar for dollar.

To give you an example…
    A band from Dundee called “St Andrew & The Woolen Mill” had their own wee web site for a while 15-20 odd years ago. When their host had a reorganisation, their web site was deleted. However, the Internet Archive had captured the site (mind you, not all the graphics) while it was active and preserved it for the benefit of us all.

Their web site’s address was:-

http://members.aol.com/dinnaastme/index.htm

If you click on that link, you will be taken to a generic AOL page, coz the web site has expired, is no more, has died, is an ex-web site, so dinnae bathir. However, if you copy and paste the address below into your web browser’s address bar, you’ll find this page:-

http://web.archive.org/web/20050311163836/members.aol.com/dinnaastme/index.htm

You can click on the links to get all the archived pages.

The Internet Archive is well worth a couple of quid. There’s piles of stuff there, including movies, audio, documents (Dundee Directories from Victorian times) and so on.

End of informational rant.

227. Michael McCabe

@ Smallaxe. Thinking of you and missing your great music and pearls of wisdom. Haste ye back soon. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GceKhb6zd0w

228. Michael McCabe

This ones for all you Smilers out there. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-eNYal82sY8

229. Liz g

Hey Smallaxe
    Was buggering about on the tinternet at stupid o’clock and was thinking about you.
    So just popped over to OT to say Hi.X

230. Michael McCabe

When the day is Short. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mN78bVtTImI

231. Nana

@Smallaxe

Good morning Billy, sending good vibes your way xx

232. Paula Rose

I’ve lost track of the number of places I posted this last night, anyways please pass it on and spread it around – our lovely Lindsay who climbed the rock in Edingurgh to place the Yes sign on high…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hdQOtTvQQfc

233. Smallaxe

Mrs Smallaxe here again just to let you all know I am reading your messages out to him daily. Thank you all again for kind wishes. Every day he improves a little. I am hoping before long he will be back among you (and I can get a wee bit of peace haha) Thank you all once again. Peace n Love Xxx

234. Nana

@Mrs Smallaxe

Good to hear Billy is getting stronger. You take care of yourself Mrs Smallaxe xx

235. Liz g

Hi Mrs Smallaxe.
    Good to hear from you again.
    Sending love to you both and a wee reminder that it’s winter solstis….So after today we have less darkness and more light.. I wish you the same in your life.
    Well … Unless you are an auld cynic like me and this just means that the damm bird’s will be twittering earlier and be one more thing that keeps you from sleeping..
    What say you Smallaxe??

236. Tinto Chiel

Thanks for all the info, Brian: will do.

Fred, if you survived last night, don’t go into Room 13.

Fred? Fred?

Glad Smallaxe is getting better, Mrs S. Tell him if he doesn’t get out of bed soon I’ll start telling my terrible jokes, and they’re worse than Andrew McLean’s e.g.:

A man walked into a bar.

Ow!

It was an iron bar.

See what I mean?

237. Fred

Tinto, the window of the library was wide open this morning, I shall be reading the riot after cook brings the kedgeree in. Either the butler has been having a fly puff at my Passing Clouds or there’s dirty work afoot!

238. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Listened to the mezzotint yesterday whilst baking. Now I’m hooked, going to listen to Lost hearts when I’m cooking later.

Unlike Fred, Nana’s towers does not employ a butler so I’m maid of all sorts and generally skivvy about this house.

239. K1

Jokes ye say…old wans are the best…

A group of chess enthusiasts booked into a hotel and were standing in the lobby discussing their tournament victories. After an hour the manager comes out and asks them to disperse. “But why?” they asked. “Because,” says he, “I can’t stand chess nuts boasting in an open foyer”

(coats oan)

240. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

πŸ™‚

Ahm gonny torment abody wi a tortuous extension of that – esp the relatives I’d rather not have to see.

Suffer, ya bams, suffer!

241. K1

Ach ah see that wee joke made it tae iScot’s twitter and on tae the Rev’s tae! The sound of a ‘tortuous extension’ boggles ma heid IanB…go fur it! πŸ™‚

242. K1

(oh an ta for the credit iScot, tbh ah found it years and years ago on t’internet… πŸ˜‰ )

243. Marie Clark

Hi Mrs Smallaxe,

I’m very pleased to hear that Smallaxe is improving a bit, that’s good news indeed. Hopefully we will hear from him in person in a reasonable time.

Peace & love to both of you, and Merry Christmas.

I’m the same as Nana, cooking and baking and being a general factotum. Might not get much time to post just now, but I always find a wee bit time for a read.

244. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

Oh, fret not friend, I will…

There’s one particularly soor-faced fanny I have in mind. Hates jokes. Won’t even read out the one from his cracker hat.

He’s getting it both barrels, a full five-minute version, with frequent asides and diversions. He’ll be greetin’ all over his mince pie by the time I’m done with him.

Hoots!

245. Stoker

Right, Smallaxe, git aff yer erchie, ye’ve bin skiving enough.
    Some right-hand man you are, eh! Here’s a wee tune for you and yer queen (Mrs Smallaxe). Up ye git and dance the night away.

Eternal – I Wanna Be The Only One
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MsTeL8-ornA

246. Tinto Chiel

Nana: Lost Hearts is very spooky. Are you sure you want to? Hope I’m not too late.

You made me laugh with your Passing Clouds, Fred. When my dad was in the money he would smoke them and the packet was a real cracker.

Open window? Probs nothing to worry about.

I hope.

247. Stoker

Question for all the techies out there.

Is there a way i can save several favourites to my bookmark bar at the top of the page (already done) and continue to save important archived articles without them appearing on my bookmark bar and where i can access them quickly and easily?

248. K1

Think most browsers have option within the ‘Bookmarks’ tab itself that allow you to ‘add bookmark folder’ Stoker. I’ve found this the best way of ‘grouping’ under various headings anything I want to save without it being on my ‘favourites’ bar. Before the last hard drive went kaput I had folders with such ‘headings’ as ‘What the Tory bastards are up to Brexit wise’ and ‘Scottish Parly’. Ye get the drift? That way you can store similar related topics under that folder instead of winding yer way doon endless lists of bookmarks. (hope that helps πŸ˜‰

249. Stoker

K1

Cheers, mucker, i’ll look into that because that’s exactly what i’m aiming to do. I plan to create several files under SNHS, WMD and BUM FUD lies etc etc. I’ll work on it over the weekend and let you know how i got on. Thanks again!

250. yesindyref2

A thousand years from now, who’ll know the difference?

Wonder if Scotland will still be Independent.

251. Liz g

Morning Smallaxe
    Hope you had a restful night.
    Also hope that you Mrs Smallaxe got some sleep.
    Have always ment to say..If there is anything practical that we can do…Will you please just ask.
    All my love to you both.XX

252. Nana

@Smallaxe

Hoping you are feeling stronger this morning Billy. Need you back on the main thread to put the kettle on!

Wishing you and your family a Happy Christmas xx

253. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

I survived the story telling, looking over my shoulder in the bathroom from now on though! I will be listening to another one today. Thanks for the headsup although my nerves could be somewhat frayed by years end.

Merry Crimbo Tinto and remember plenty water with it!

254. Smallaxe

Mrs Smallaxe, dictating his words.

My heart is full of love for all of you, your messages have gone a long way towards my healing.Thank you all so very much.I hope to be back online soon, we have a war to fight and win.Have a great holiday.

I leave you with a song from one of my favourite charities.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvFLKyAGzzI

Peace and Love Always to all of you, my friends

255. Tinto Chiel

Nana and family: have a great Christmas but don’t go into Room 13. Fred has gone all quiet and I fear the worst. And don’t worry about the whisky: Mrs TC has me under strict supervision. The regime includes organic cabbage water and isometric bending-exercises per dram. If you could airlift me some of your buttermilk scones I reckon I can make it to New Year.

Smallaxe and Family: I hope you all have a good Christmas and that The Man is back soon with his brilliant bulletins.

256. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Keep watching the skies for emergency scone drop!

Blimey I hope Fred is ok. We can’t have wingers going missing, all hands on deck in the new year.

Best wishes to you & your family and that goes doubly for long suffering Mrs Tinto!

Right back to hear what Count Magnus is up to…oooh [shivers]

257. Fred

I’ve had to let Fraser the butler go, cook caught him last night handing six bottles of crusted port out of the library window to a stout lassie from the village named Jackie, she heard a female voice call “Murdo” from the shrubbery & unleashed Hugo the mastiff, we got the port back & Hugo came back with an enormous pair of shredded knickers in his mouth & looking very pleased with himself indeed. Fraser has been sent packing with no reference from me, his nocturnal flute-playing upset the dogs anyhow & Rennie the Boots will have to cover his duties over Xmas. A temporary arrangement I’m afraid as he’s no earthly use & only fit for polishing the knobs. Best wishes to all.

258. Stoker

WOS Archives for December 2012

Lies piled on top of lies
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/lies-piled-on-top-of-lies/

Full text of the Deputy First Minister’s
    ministerial statement on EU membership
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/full-text-of-the-deputy-first-ministers-ministerial-statement-on-eu-membership/

Unionist of the day #2
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/unionist-of-the-day-2/

The more things change
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-more-things-change/

259. Stoker

The Thursday papers
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-thursday-papers/

A letter from the European Commission
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/a-letter-from-the-european-commission/

Britishness riots coming to Scotland?
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/britishness-riots-coming-to-scotland/

The devil’s advocates
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-devils-advocates/

260. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Nana. “Long-suffering”? It must be like being married to George Clooney! :jazz:

Count Magnus=Rank Badjin.

Glad you’re still with us, Fred. Never trust a Tory with the crusted port. At least Rennie the chamois-wielder has found his level.

261. Tinto Chiel

I meant πŸ˜› so I offer you all a non-seasonal favourite:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m648v4s5sFc

262. Brian Doonthetoon

Keeping things ‘off-topic’…

My cousin went off to Edinburgh Uni in 1969. On her first trip home, for Christmas 1969, she brought 4 new things back to Dundee.

1. A strange new accent, that involved finishing sentences with the interrogative statement, “Yah?”.
    2. Her future husband, Phil.
    3. The Snakebite.
    4. The ‘Blood Transfusion’.

The first two are self-explanatory so I will address 3 and 4. This comment came about because I have had ‘The Royle Family’ on and the question was asked, “Is a snakebite half of cider and half of lager, or half of lager and half of cider?”

So wrong and indicative of the inability to hold drink of many of our cousins from south of the border! When my cousin came back from Edinburgh, the drink we rapidly adopted was the snakebite, coz two pints and you were well merry.

THAT snakebite was a bottle of Carlsberg Special Brew in a pint glass, topped up to a pint with cider. I’ve just Googled “Carlsberg Special Brew” and found this at the web site below:

“Beer type
    Strong pilsner
    Alcohol by volume (ABV)
    9.0 %
    Origin
    Carlsberg UK
    Available since

Special Brew was originally brewed by the Danes for Winston Churchill. His visit to Copenhagen in 1950 was commemorated with a ‘special’ brew produced in his honour. Originally called V-ΓΈllet (V-Beer), the drink followed the Danish tradition of producing a new beer to celebrate outstanding events such as a royal occasion or European coronation. Churchill’s favourite drink was cognac, so in brewing him a commemorative beer, the brewers at Carlsberg created a stronger lager with cognac flavours among its tasting notes.

At Christmas in 1952 Special Brew was launched throughout Denmark, and has been available in the UK since the ’70’s. Special Brew is a full bodied, fruity tasting, strong lager with a good clean bitterness.”

http://www.carlsberggroup.com/brands/Pages/CarlsbergSpecialBrew.aspx#.WFxPS4Xezhc

So, at 9%, you can see why 17 and 18 year olds were particularly affected in a merry manner by a couple of “real” snakebites.

The ‘Blood Transfusion’ is/was a pint of lager “with two shots of Redex’, ie blackcurrant. It had no greater affect than plain house lager but was drunk as a conversation opener.

My point is that anyone who claims that a snakebite is half and half lager and cider is a Jessie…

263. Brian Doonthetoon

OK, seeing as I’m on a roll, here are my Christmas music offerings.

Close your eyes and enjoy this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=peTbq1IRx2E

“A bird on Christmas Day”:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SLuVNnx5uTQ

As I posted the link for Greg Lake’s Christmas song last week, here’s my other favourite Christmas song – chosen because, like many of my favourite tracks, it was never a hit. Lovely put together track though.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-aPnFTFrg5k

264. Stoker

BDTT wrote:

“My point is that anyone who claims that a snakebite is half and half lager and cider is a Jessie…”

When i lived in Inverness a popular sherbet used to be:

In a pint glass: half lager + half cider + a dash of blackcurrent = A pint of diesel. (licky lips face thingy).

265. Liz g

Hi Smallaxe
    Hope you are feeling better today.
    Been over on the main thread moaning about that senseable Dave guy , don’t know if you are aware but he is being A pain..A gain…
    So I haven’t really been on much since he showed up.
    But have Still been thinking of you and Mrs Smallaxe.
    Nae Pressure…But
    Haste ye back.XX

266. Stoker

Civic nationalism vs British nationalism
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/civic-nationalism-vs-british-nationalism/

The thunder of the guns
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-thunder-of-guns/

Scots would remain EU citizens
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/scots-would-remain-eu-citizens/

Unionist of the day
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/unionist-of-the-day/

267. Stoker

Some brief facts about the EU
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/some-brief-facts-about-the-eu/

Dead nuclear trigger storage
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/dead-nuclear-trigger-storage/

The doomsayers and the damage done
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-doomsayers-and-the-damage-done/

A curious transformation
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/a-curious-transformation/

268. Stoker

The real threat to EU membership
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-real-threat-to-eu-membership/

Sometimes it’s all just too much
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/sometimes-its-all-just-too-much/

When push comes to shove
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/when-push-comes-to-shove/

Scotsman proofreader vacancy still open
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/scotsman-proofreader-vacancy-still-open/

269. Stoker

Why only independence can save our NHS
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/why-only-independence-can-save-our-nhs/

The masses against the classes
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-masses-against-the-classes/

Onwards and upwards
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/onwards-and-upwards/

WOS archive links will be back on 08/01/17.

270. carjamtic

‘Snakebite’ ‘Diesel’….Gentlemen allow me to intoduce J.P. Chenet ‘ice edition’ Demi Sec – Medium Dry….upgrade now…..burp.

At,sick squid…a wee belter.

πŸ˜‰

271. Tinto Chiel

An atheist’s choice at Christmas:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJrXhjt7Gwo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xbFcY7XpUic

Hope the Night Owls enjoy…..

272. Smallaxe

To all my fellow nutters on off topic, thank you so much for the kind wishes, music and jokes that you sent to me over the past couple of weeks, you have no idea just how much it meant to myself and my wife.I have a great urge to meet you all and thank you personally, I hope that you all have a deservedly great time over the holiday period.

Our love to all of you, for your thoughtfulness my Friends.

“Our most basic common link is that we all inhabit this planet. We all breathe the same air. We all cherish our children’s future. And we are all mortal.” John F. Kennedy

273. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Here’s an old one from OT first played by Ian Brotherhood. If you’ve not see it before then it’s well worth a watch.

Andre Rieu, Amazing Grace.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tP9CPMsJN7Y

274. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve changed my Gravatar – just for the festive period.

Hi Smallaxe.
    Good to see you posting again! Hope you enjoyed the ‘music’ I posted on the 22nd at 10.25pm.

Best wishes to you and Mrs Smallaxe.

275. Smallaxe

Thepnr and BDTT:

Thanks, guys, I appreciate your posts, my wife played all the music on O/T
    to me when my eyes went weird, the doc.pumped me full of Vb.12 so I can see a lot clearer now.I have picked a song for you all on O/T, Sometimes words just fail me when I try to tell you all how much your posts meant to me.
    Thanks again my Friends.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6iWrIfEgFlQ
    Peace Always

276. carjamtic

Smallaxe have a ‘Natty’ Christmas my friend,a wee prezzie.

πŸ˜‰

m.youtube.com/watch?v=I0Y9Dl7eFQg

277. Liz g

Hey Smallaxe so nice to see you posted.
    Thanks for the song and your good wishes,which are sent right back at ya…My friend…All the best to you and your’s for the holidays.XX

278. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: glad your eyes are better.

I promise, no more jokes.

Hope Santa is good to you and the fambly.

Cheersmedears.

279. Fred

Smallaxe, I sent you some greetings but they seem to have vanished into room 101?

280. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

πŸ™‚

Orraverybestest to you and yours.

Slainte!

281. Thepnr

Rick Parfitt sadly passed away today. A very early song from the Quo as a wee tribute.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZUOAtDU5yFY

282. Quentin Quale

2016, eh? The year that just kept on taking. I’ll not be forgetting this year for a while. Still, we’ve Indyref to prepare for.

283. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Just heard the news half an hour ago. Another rock legend away to the great gig in the sky. And there’s still a week left of 2016. That’s some band that’s forming up there…

Onnyhoo, I’ll go even earlier than you – here are a couple from, firstly, 1967, then 1966, before they changed their name to Status Quo.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4AsLVm2zEnQ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RJ1XaXbvdVc

284. Thepnr

Hi Brian

When i listened to your first link I thought right away of Black Night by Deep Purple and that they must have ripped it off from Status Quo.

A little digging though and I found this by Ricky Nelson from 1962.

“Summertime” an amazing song by Gershwin composed in 1934 and covered more than 33,000 times apparently!!

Summertime by Ricky Nelson:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUbInIFi7jM

The original by Gershwin:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ixdJLXDT_QM

Your last link I (Who have Nothing) is also a cover, wasn’t long though before Staus Quo found their own niche eh.

285. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

I had the Ricky Nelson clip all ready to go! Good sleuthing by Alex! I found out about it via a guy called Colin Cattenach AKA “Cone”, a year or three ago, when we were discussing that riff on Facebook. He’s a couple of decades younger than me but has a phenomenal knowledge of pop/rock, inspired by his elder siblings. I’ve known him since my Jaspers days in the 90s.

He also plays guitar in the Dundee band “Sin City Blues Band”. Here’s a video I captured of them 4 years ago, doing an appropriate song for today. I always thought Cone bore an uncanny resemblance to Greg Lake – not really clear in the video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YxLtDgpU7kY

286. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: Cone’s the guy on extreme left in the video.

287. Thepnr

@BDTT

That was great, brought a smile to my face. It’s like…real life an all.

288. Thepnr

The one we know best probably.

Black Night Deep Purple in 1970.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rZXhZ6Wejqc

289. CameronB Brodie

Here’s an alternative to the Queen’s speech. πŸ˜‰

Colonizing and decolonizing minds

Whereas the most visible forms of political colonialism have for the most part disappeared from the planet by the end of the millennium, several of its consequences remain with us. Criticism of colonialism, accordingly, has shifted its focus to its more subtle and lasting manifestations. Prominent among these are the varieties of what came to be known as the β€˜colonization of the mind’. This is one of the forms of β€˜epistemic violence’ that it is certainly the task of philosophers to contribute to identify and struggle against. β€˜Postcolonial’ thinkers have undertaken not only to analyze this phenomenon, but also to devise strategies for effectively combating and hopefully eradicating colonialism’s most damaging aspect – the taking possession and control of its victims’ minds.

My purpose in this paper is to contribute, qua philosopher, to both of these undertakings. I begin by trying to clarify the nature of the colonization of the mind and its epistemic underpinnings and the typical reactions to it. Next, I examine examples of these reactions with their corresponding analyses and strategies. The assumptions underlying them reveal certain inherent paradoxes, which call into question the possibility of a full decolonization of mind. I conclude by suggesting an alternative strategy and a series of means to implement it.

http://www.tau.ac.il/humanities/philos/dascal/papers/Colonizing%20and%20decolonizing%20minds.doc

290. Cactus

Good morning festive folks!

Aye, so, I went to London recently, thought Iβ€˜d share with you a few things that I found.. this fine day.

Departed Glasgow Central on the Independent Express, which was one of them speedy tilty-trains (the whole train was covered with advertising for the Independence Day ~ Resurgence movie.. quality aye!)

On some inner-city London train tracks, the carriage step is not flush with the platform. You have to step down onto the train and step up to get off, otherwise you’d fall on your face, hmm how does that work for disabled access, or not as the case may be?

You can pay to use many public transport systems by scanning your plastic account card upon entry.

Other than at the top of the big buildings, I was surprised at the lack of UJ flags / merch on display in the streets (let alone the few St. Georges cross flags) I reckoned the UJ flags would be everywhere.. like they are here on punnets of berry-fruits… nope, but then I guess hey they don’t need to.

The River Thames was a lot wider and choppier than I had imagined from ground level. Lots of boat activity on the water, some cracking working long-boats on the canals too.

Lots of people wear some form of hat or tother.

All Scottish pound notes sterling were tendered as payment with no quibbles, smiles in fact.

Went to see a gig at Wembley.. good venue, good show, good crowd.

All good, no final punch-lines and the people seemed to be cool with me and my mischievousness, so that’s good too πŸ˜‰

I will return to London one day, some day.. but only now after Scotland becomes independent.. to see what has or hasn’t changed down south, but not before weβ€˜ve reclaimed our rightful independence.

Anyroads, the best part of the mini-adventure was touching back down on Scotland in my home city of Glasgow, that feeling beats them all.

Cheers.
    X.

291. Fred

Merry Xmas Cactus, hope ye’re no a sophisticate noo?

292. Brian Doonthetoon

Merry Christmas ti yi, Cactus! And to any other off-topickers who may stumble in here today…

293. Andrew Mclean

Happy Christmas to all who celebrate it, and if you don’t I wish you all the best that you would wish for yourself,

I was so happy to see you posted Small Axe, please give my best regards to your good lady, and you take care.

And to those who think it’s something to with Iron Age goat herders, I also am planning some drunken debauchery later! But promise to keep it festive!

πŸ™‚

294. Smallaxe

Cactus, Fred, Brian and Andrew:

Have a great day guys.Thanks again for all your support.

Peace, Love and Let’s get Pissed πŸ™‚

295. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

“Let’s get Pissed” Aye I’ll drink to that!

Have a good one all you vile cybernats πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

296. Liz g

Smallaxe
    Then rember to give Scotland a Toast.

To a free Country….And a Happy one

To good Government …..And an Honest One.

To a Fine Whisky….And Another One.

Have a great day my friend.XX

297. Bob Sinclair

Best wishes to all my Wings friends, those I’ve met and those I’ve still to meet. What an amazing second family you are, one and all.

298. Shinty

Merry Christmas to all – for those of you still waiting for the beast in the oven. This article is both interesting and amusing – warning, fairly long correspondence, but worth it.
    https://spidercatweb.blog/2016/09/16/the-cludgie-stane-of-destiny-by-robbie-the-pict/

299. Michael McCabe

@Thepnr. Merry Christmas to you and yours Alex. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FwXBtmRTsFs

300. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

I’m humbled. Thanks a muchness Michael that was a great version of a great song.

“I’ve got a feeling this years for me and you” and all that support an Independent Scotland!! Xmas me arse you scumbag and maggot! πŸ™‚

301. Michael McCabe

@ Paula Rose. Someone wants to send you a Message. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z8NawhcjCy4

302. Michael McCabe

@ Smallaxe. good to see you back posting again. festive greetings to you and your Family. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uMH_wMvMy_8

303. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood I know you like to dance so here is a wee Christmas tune for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wtgGBgpNcIo

304. Thepnr

Eric Idles Xmas song. Probably the most offensive Xmas song ever, so don’t listen if easily offended. Just felt like a change, a bit of an alternative like. Ken? LOL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1H2mrV6vSPY

305. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Seasons Greetings, to You and to Those you Love Michael.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zVBiq_eaXAo

Peace Always

306. Paula Rose

Michael McCabe you lovely man you are now in my top 10 wingmen, Smallaxe and Thepnr no fretting your places are still assured.

307. Stoker

Where have you heard it before?

Colony House – You Know It
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DkfBxIH0g0k

308. Dave McEwan Hill

A merry Christmas and a happy New Year, particularly to the turkeys that escaped.

309. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

I hope you’ve been feeling well enough to have enjoyed today with your family and friends. I thought you might like this legend of a singer as much as I do.

This is for you and Mrs Smallaxe, enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v3-62z7qyXI

310. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

Thanks pnr, I’ve had a great afternoon with my grandchildren it doesn’t get better than that.

I hope you have had as good a day as I have.

Here’s a track that is played very rarely, it’s a sad one, but have always liked it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1pPS1GudZiQ

Peace Always

311. Michael McCabe

@ Ronnie Anderson Brian Doonthetoon & Pete the Camera. If there is some kind of Social gathering going on 9 times out of 10 you 3 will turn up erect a stall and start Promoting Wings over Scotland. So I have named you the Stallwarts of Wings. spelling mistake intended but stalwarts you are. Anyway this one is for you 3. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nZ6yQgBvuoI

312. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Almost 40 years ago I made a mistake that could have defined my life but it didn’t or maybe it did?

I was a 17 year old and hitch hiked to London for the England v Scotland game in 1977. The night before the match with nowhere to sleep and not much cash in my pocket I just stuck with all the Scotland supporters who were in the same boat, but that bit older.

There was a wee bit of a ruckus near to Trafalgar Square and stupidly I got involved. Anyway it was a first offence but I got a three month sentence in a detention centre in Kent, in Scotland I would have expected a slap on the wrist. This though was meant to be a short sharp shock as they said in they days.

It was there though that I witnessed one of the cruelest things I’ve ever seen and the song you posted reminded me of it.

I got letters almost everyday, so many in fact I was warned that it was too many? Others didn’t, and one guy in particular never got any, ever.

The letters would be handed out at lunchtime, they read your number then your name. One day the officer had handed out all the letters except one. He read out this guys number and name while holding the last letter.

The smile on this guys face would have lit up a room on it’s own, people were actually clapping and laughing as they had felt his pain but were so happy for him to finally have got a letter.

He got to the officer and tried to take the letter. The officer says “No, there’s nothing for you today either” and laughed at him, then called out another name. The atmosphere was unreal, the silence deafening.

There are plenty cruel bastards out there and lonely people too, that’s what Johnny Cash sings about.

I was guilty of assaulting a policeman, he had a hold of my younger brother at the time and it was an automatic response that I wish had never happened. However, it did and fortunately I was able to return home and get on with things like finishing my apprenticeship.

I do have some sympathy for those not so lucky, those without a caring family, friends or a job. That can’t be easy.

313. Cactus

Scotland.
    X.

Love everybuddy!

314. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

I got cold chills through me whilst reading your Post.Short version: I was wending my way home from a party in the Springburn area of Glasgow (stoned).The year 1969, I was listening to a little transistor radio, the tune that was playing was “Bad Moon Rising”.

Two guys ran across the road and tried to grab me, I put up a fight.
    Turned out they were plain clothes policemen, at that time they were known as “The Untouchables”, a special squad set up at that time to handle the street gangs.

Anyway like yourself, Police Assault was the charge, after a doctor had sewn up my head with 27 stitches from wounds left by their batons.I did some of my three months sentence in Longriggend remand home and the rest of it in Barlinnie.Some of the most evil people in both establishments that I encountered were the staff.

I hope we get to discuss our similar experiences face to face soon.Like you, I also got to meet some unfortunate souls in these places, a fair few of the people that I met were quite obviously mentally ill and would have done better with Psychiatric help, rather than just being locked away.

On a lighter note, if you are still awake at 12amjoin me in a dram.
    I have said before on here,10 days before my 64th birthday my drs said that I had less than 6mths to live.In 10mins or so I will be 66 and dont plan on going anywhere, anytime soon. πŸ™‚

Peace Always my Friend

315. Michael McCabe

That’ll be Christmas. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wBTFi4WfuFw

316. Liz g

To your health Smallaxe
    And to charging our glasses
    Same time next year? X

317. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Michael McCabe.

Kind words – thank you! Just to let you know (1).
    Pete has not had a good year. He spent most of the summer in hospital but managed to get to the Edinburgh rally in October. He’s stuck in hospital again, until after the New Year, with a VERY contagious Flu-type infection.

Just to let you know (2).

The first kinda pro-indy rally that I’m aware of in 2017 is on Sunday, 26th March – A ‘BBC Bias’ demo at Pacific Quay, organised by Moira and friends, who organised the BBC demos in 2014.
    All I know so far is that it’s from 2pm till 4pm, although “something” may be taking place before that, leading up to 2pm. Jock Scot – “Yew Choob” will be the compΓ¨re.
    No doubt Ronnie will post more details as he gets them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=25qlvO09-aE

318. Smallaxe

Hi liz:

I hope you had a great Winter Solstice.Lets hope for a better year next year, Independence is so close that I can Taste it.Thank you for your continued support, it meant more than I can express.
    I have A glass of cognac in mt hand, so “Here’s to Us, Wha’s like us”

Peace Always Dear Friend

319. CameronB Brodie

Harmony appears to have broken out. Vile, frankly.

SHIRLEY GUNTER AND THE QUEENS – THAT’S THE WAY I LIKE IT http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G8VfUi6Opg0

320. Liz g

Smallaxe.XXX
    Mrs Smallaxe.XXX

321. Michael McCabe

@ Smallaxe I had a double Courvoisier just after Midnight. Happy Birthday http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nQSOXQwCu-I

322. Thepnr

No matter how big a pair you might think you have. I’d bet that they are smaller than you think.

If we’re going to win then make it possible. Just do it and stop dithering.

323. Cactus

Cheers BDTT et Fred..

I still opt to eat with my fingers..

Cutlery not required.
    X.

324. Cactus

Sing along to the music that you love..

It’s SO good.

Tis almost five oh clock..

325. Cactus

@Smallaxe

We good.
    X.

326. Smallaxe

Cactus:

we’re always good:

Peace always

327. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

I missed your greetings last night, I thought everyone had gone.Thank you.
    Maybe catch up with you later, my Friend.

Peace Always

328. David

Another one taken away in this dreadful year, farewell George Michael. ere’s one of his best, an excellent Christmas song:

George Michael and Wham – “Last Christmas”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E8gmARGvPlI

329. Liz g

Morning Smallaxe
    Hope you had a good night’s sleep,and didn’t over indulge yesterday.
    Remember we need you match fit for Indy Ref 2!
    Tell Mrs Smallaxe to put her feet up today I’ll wager she deserves it more than she usually does.

330. David

Smallaxe writing of cognac, and Michael McCabe mentioning Courvoisier reminded me of the The Who’s bassist John Entwistle.

The reason being that Entwistle fixed a pair of cycling water bottles onto his microphone stand, so that he would always be hydrated during concerts.

Being a rocker, however, one of his bottles contained brandy…

The Who – Baba O’Riley (1975):
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ZBhgZBjiLE

(You can see the bottles from about 55secs into the video.)

Photo:
    https://i.ytimg.com/vi/D8GDpUMzXcg/hqdefault.jpg

AND IF ANYONE IS FEELING A BIT FRAGILE THIS MORNING, WAKEY WAKEY, I’M 100% SOBER AND HAVE NO SYMPATHY! (TYPES AS LOUDLY AS POSSIBLE)
    πŸ˜‰

331. Liz g

David @ 11.08

Shhhh…..

332. Thepnr

@David

Well spotted, have a stoatir of a hangover this morning. Never mind, hair of the dog will take care of that.

Got a pair of slippers (again) for Xmas, happy as larry πŸ™‚

333. Stoker

K1

When you return to base once your festive frolics are over i need some advice. I think i’ve mastered it but have 2 ways of doing it.
    Meanwhile, am away to try and catch up on some Zzzzzzzzzzzz’s.

334. Paula Rose

Happy Birthday Smallaxe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OaZveHbxAYs

335. Thepnr

Hey Paula! This is for you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UvfolYjii2s

336. Smallaxe

Paula Rose:

Thank you, Paula.x

Peace and Love to You, and Those to whom You give Your Love

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8yNk6bmT0L4

David:

Please don’t chastise us for being somewhat fragile, an intoxicant is taken by us for Psychiatric purposes.
    It stops the SCREAMING! in our Heads πŸ™‚

Peace Always

337. Brian Doonthetoon

In case anybody missed the news about 26th March that I posted just after midnight last night, you can check it out at this link:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-45/#comment-2214940

Probably the first chance for Wingers to get together in 2017.

338. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, BDTT. Looking forward to it.

Proud Cybernat’s Misreporting Scotland stickers are coming in useful, although my sausage fingers struggle with the backing paper.

A good new read for vile cybernats is Thomas Muir of Huntershill: Essays for the 21st Century by G. Carruthers et al, just out. Mr Salmond has an essay. Got it for Christmas.

Also, the Pevsner Architectural series has just brought out its last area guide, on Lanarkshire and Renfrewshire. It’s not just architecture but geology, social and political history.

Well seen that two of the most populous and politically rebellious counties in Scotland are relegated to last spot in the whole series but I can’t say I’m surprised. The variety of architecture is quite amazing, and the people who made it.

Me, I’m waiting for the great leap forward.

I hope it’s 2017, when the people of Scotland finally realise it’s a polarised choice: the bright sun of self-determination or the Eternal Night of Toryism.

Not a hard choice, it seems to me.

339. Still Positive.

Happy Birthday, Smallaxe, you have caught up with me age-wise.
    Much love to you and Mrs.Smallaxe.

340. Smallaxe

Still Positive:

Thank You, for your kind wishes my Friend.

Peace, Love and Happiness to You and to Those You Love

341. Liz g

Morning Smallaxe.
    Isn’t it strange not to have Nana around in the morning.
    I don’t begrudge her a break!!!dont get me wrong, it’s just not normal to look in and not see you and her bantering!!
    Anyhoo..Hope you are keeping well and not over doing it.
    Actually strike that….Over do it to your heart’s content.xx
    Love to MRS Smallaxe.xx

342. Smallaxe

liz:

I’ve been trying to catch up with Nana since the 23rd, I hope she is enjoying her break, it’s well deserved but I’m missing my links of a morning.

We are doing fine liz (thanks for asking)I hope all is well with you.xx

Peace Always my Dear Friend

343. Marie Clark

Hi Liz G & Smallaxe,

I agree, you really miss Nana’s links of a morning. I expect she’ll be relaxing with her family. Hope she’s enjoying herself.

Smallaxe, nice to see you posting again. I hope you are feeling a wee bit more chipper, and that you and Mrs Smallaxe had an enjoyable Christmas.

My family just left around lunchtime, so I’m getting caught up with the wingers. Nice to be back, and get a wee bit time to myself.

344. K1

Stoker? You rang? πŸ˜‰

345. K1

Smallaxe, glad to see ye posting away and that you are feeling a bit better…to you and everyone else, season greetings…thank fuck that’s aw air way πŸ™‚

346. Liz g

Marie Clark @ 1.36
    Hi Marie isn’t it funny how much we look at catching up on Wing’s as a bit of peace and sanity.
    I don’t think any Yoons blog has the same effect…They all seem …..em…Upset and mad about something.
    Wee shame that right enough…. LOL

347. Smallaxe

Marie Clark:

Seasons Greetings, Marie, I’m feeling a lot better and like you, we have been spending time with our family (grandchildren especially), it reminds us who’s future we are fighting for.

I’m sure Nana will be back shortly, I miss her links in the mornings but at the same time I was thinking selfishly, great! Nana’s hands will be well rested, plenty of links for Me.Then I thought, no, Nana will be cooking, cleaning and baking, probably for her own family, it was then that I realised that it was not I who was being selfish, it was that family! some people!
    πŸ™‚

I’m sure liz will see this and hopefully Nana. The whole “Yes Movement” could not exist without you, that’s obvious to anyone.Women are better communicators than men, they are at times more compassionate and some may say that women are “too emotional”. When people are starving or dying in wars, I expect someone to be emotional, that’s what’s missing!

I could go on and on with this subject, it has been a personal bugbear of mine for a long time Marie but I won’t, not today anyway.

I am aware that I will not be the only man who thinks like I do, about balance and equality for all people, regardless of race or sex.

I would just like, if I may, to Thank all of you, Scotswomen of birth or choice for everything that you have done for Scotland, not just for the Independence movement but for Scotsmen like myself, who know that our dear Mothers went hungry to make sure that her bairns were fed.

I bow to you all “Daughters of Eve” my admiration for you all has no border.

Peace and Love to All of Scotlands lovely Lassies
    (This does not apply to the ones I need not name)

Smallaxe

348. Liz g

Smallaxe
    Your welcome ,it’s nae bother.X

349. Smallaxe

K1:

Thanks for the good wishes they are much appreciated.

Aye agreed, thank fck for that.Hope you enjoyed it while it lasted.I’ve enjoyed it aboot as much as ah can staun.Ma wallets inconsolably greetin.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always to You and Yours, my Friend

350. Smallaxe

K1:

Sorry aboot the typo,that should read fuck! πŸ™‚

Peace Always

351. K1

LoL Smallaxe, thank fuck fur that, thought ye wur losin’ it there for a minute πŸ˜‰

352. Stoker

K1,

At the end of each WOS article, just prior to the comments starting, there is a greenish PDF button. If i download the articles to my documents and then, according to their categories, i place them into their respective zip files, will this be sufficient to keep and protect each article for as long as needed?

The other option is doing something similar but via using the archive.is facility then into their respective zip files. The only difference i can see is that the first method cuts out the comments but as far as i know the archive.is method captures the comments as well as the article.

What’s your opinion on these?

353. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker.

Re: “Archiving”.

I did a post earlier this month about “archive.org”. You can read it at this link:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-45/#comment-2213897

Before I come back to that, if you save the PDF of the article on your machine, you have it forever, or until you delete it.

RE: “archive.is” – see what I type in the above link.

RE: “archive.org” (see at my above link) – I’ve just stuck “http://wingsoverscotland.com” into the search box at:-

http://web.archive.org

and it returned a calendar of all the captures of the Wings site it has done. The first was on 4th January, 2013. You can explore each year at the top of the page, and it gives you a calendar, showing all the captures circled in blue, in that year. Just click on the blue circle and you will see the main WOS page that was captured.

You can click on the links on the page. It seems to have been further on in 2013 when the archive got the links sorted out so you see a topic’s page, with all the comments btl.

I suggest you read my first link above (to the comment I posted) then explore.

354. K1

Well big part of Wings is comments, they too have a lot of information in them which would be lost just saving as PDF, so personally ah favour the archive.is option, as it retains all comments…forever…and ever…and ever…

I attempted from an archived copy of a wings article to ‘download zip’ from the archived page itself, duly went into my files on computer, but had to strip out miscellaneous files that came with it, logos etc, and the ‘index’ page has the article but no images and sidebar links all gone too. So not too sure on the zipping of stuff, think you’re more advanced than me on that one Stoker.

If you can zip file, then zip the archived version not the pdf. That way, yes you will have them where you want to store them rather than on the browser bookmarks folders, but I would keep the bookmark folders too, just for ease of dissemination when online. That’s aw av goat πŸ™‚

355. K1

Thanks BDTT, will check out too… πŸ™‚

356. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: if you click on a link on a Wings main page at”archive.org”, you may get an error message saying that it doesn’t have that page archived. It then gives you the option to click to have the page archived.

Handy stuff!

357. Stoker

Brian & K1

So much to do and so little time to do it. Muchas gracias amigos!

358. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW2: the other handy thing about “archive.org” is when you go to a page you have bookmarked and find that it’s no longer there (usually ‘Error 404’).

If you paste the web address into “archive.org” for a search, you may find the page archived. This happened a few months ago with a page that Rev Stu had sought. I was able to give him the “archive.org” link.

359. chasanderson200

BDTT 7:36
    Event noted, transport and hotel booked so I can have a few shandies without rushing home with a skinful.

360. Marie Clark

Smallaxe, nae bother, your very welcome. I’ve been busy “squaring up the hoose” efter a’ the family went hame. It’s brilliant tae see them a’ the gither at this time o’ year especially.

I’m very pleased I’m no a celebrity or I’d be getting worried. I see poor Carrie Fisher has died now. Only a few days left of 2016. I’ll be pleased to see the back of it.

361. Fred

@ Tinto, Burns of course supported his hero Thomas Muir but had a family to feed & had eventually to keep his heid doon due to his job in the excise. When bevvied Burns was apt to show his true colours, which he regretted greatly when sober as Botany Bay could have been the upshot. One of his Dumfries buddies with republican sympathies was a radical doctor called James Mundel, I wonder if?………

362. Smallaxe

Marie Clark:

I think that there are a lot of us will be glad to see the back of this year, Marie.I worry about some young and not so young people who want to be “Famous”, for too many, fame becomes a curse if they can’t handle it.I’m happy to be just a dad and a grandfather, that is fame enough for me.

Peace Always to You and Yours Marie

363. Nana

@Smallaxe

I’m so happy to see you have been posting. I must try and catch up with comments, that’s if I can prise myself away from the kitchen!

Stay well Billy and tell Mrs Smallaxe to take a rest.

364. Liz g

Morning Smallaxe
    Yay Nana’s back….2016 is almost over…. There’s nae turkey left….Things can only get better!!!!
    Stay well my friend.X

365. Smallaxe

Nana:

It’s great to have you back again, your links are the Gift that I have been looking forward to, sorry I missed you on the main thread this morning but I had to take my daughter to work and leave my wife to look after the two grandchildren.I wonder how many of us grandparents have to do this, there must be thousands of us.

I hope you saw my post to Marie Clark on this thread at 4:38pm, for you and all our other ladies.I bet you had a great Christmas, running about feeding people, as I’m sure you were.

Kettle’s on and links to read, a hug in a mug, Smashing!

Peace, Love and Happiness to You and Your Family
    Billy

366. Nana

@Liz g

Hope you had a lovely Christmas. No turkey left you say, I’m hoping to finish mine today. Making a turkey and ham pie, my own favourite.

I’m back for a couple of days Liz. We will be visiting with friends and family on the 30th until around the 4th or 5th so no links on those days. Blimey I’ll need a holiday after this holiday lol!

@Smallaxe

Sadly I have no grandchildren, both my sons are too career minded and I doubt that will change anytime soon. They like their freedom to do as they please, go where they please and have to please no one. I get told ‘plenty time Mam] when I hint about family ties, they laugh at me for being ‘old fashioned’
    But they are young and when the right person comes along….

Hug in a mug, I like that. I just read your post to Marie, beautiful sentiment Billy.

367. Scott

Calls are being made to speed up work on the upgrade of Berriedale Braes in Caithness.

The notorious section of the A9 has been the scene of several tragedies over the years.

Highlands and Islands Labour MSP Rhoda Grant has written to Transport Minister, Humza Yousaf, following reports that work has now started on the design for the project after the publication of the findings of a local public inquiry

Hypocrisy from Ms Grant as she and her party did nothing about this in all the years they were in power,see below.

Rhoda has represented the Highlands and Islands region from 1999 to 2003 and then from 2007 to the present day.

368. Liz g

Hi Nana
    Enjoy your well deserved break Nana.
    We do miss you but our moaning is very much tounge in cheek.
    The main problem is that I come across as totally well informed about current affairs… Because I am reading your links. So when there’s no links I am a bit lost.
    So wish I had you a million years ago at school.
    As a cheat sheet you are second to none…. LOL
    Anyhoo all the best,and, have a good one when it comes. X

369. Smallaxe

liz g:

The band is back together for a wee while, it’s made my day. πŸ™‚

Peace Always

370. Smallaxe

Scott:

What you say does not surprise me, these people will always try to denigrate or take credit for things that they had played no part in.Rev Stu has it at the top of every page: “There’s no limit to what a man can do, or where he can go, if he doesn’t mind who gets the credit.”

This woman will either complain or try to weasel herself in to take some credit but you have outed her and her Party’s inaction over the years, so she will probably stick to complaining.

Peace Always

371. Marie Clark

Hi Nana, we missed you, hope you had a good time.We’re into the turkey soup and a curry to finish the blooming thing off.

I’ve been commenting on the main thread about the new BBC heid bummer’s article in the National. Disnae inspire any confidence at all.

Sometimes I despair for Scotland, and what sort of country that my three lovely grandaughters will inherit from us. Hopefully a free and thriving country, but while’s the buggers dae get you doon.

Onwards and upwards folks, only way to go.

372. Tinto Chiel

Fred: yes, Burns had to watch his back. There was little justice for the common man in those days, and none in Dundas’s police state, although I seem to remember Robert refused to stand for the “Loyal Toast” in Dumfries. How any Burns Club has this as a part of their evenings, I’ll never understand. I love sitting them out and making the diners feel uncomfortable.

Probably the masonic influence, aka the Punty-Up of the Scots Bourgeoisie.

373. Fred

@ Tinto, brace yersel,

Who will not sing “God save the King!”
    Shall hang as high as the steeple;
    But while we sing “God save the king!”
    We’ll ne’er forget the people!
    R.Burns.

He had joined the Volunteers & was sookin-in with the powers that be, looking for promotion at the time!
    No doubt Dr James Mundel was aghast?

374. Tinto Chiel

Yes, Fred, he was walking a dangerous tight-rope. It’s common for Unionists to present Burns as a Good Brit but Scots Wha Hae can be read as a reaction to Muir’s treatment and not just a patriotic Scottish song.

I was even told by one Britnat frother in 2014 that Burns would have voted No.

Weasels rip my flesh!

375. Nana

@Liz g
    I hope 2017 is the year Scotland has the courage to tell Westminster to go to hell and we take our independence. That’s what I asked Santa for.

@Marie Clark

Had a lovely time Marie, tried not to think of all the problems we are facing, main one being the bloody bbc. Having done some links for inform Scotland I was quite depressed re reading some of the rubbish they trotted out before Sept14 and as for the burd, don’t get me started and I don’t mean turkey although she has a neck like one.

I’m glad to see the back of the turkey but curry does sound good.

376. Dave McEwan Hill

Does anybody know Denis Dunn of Prestonpans or Edinburgh? On Facebook he put up a post about election rigging and pouring scorn on those who wonder if the Referendum was in anyway rigged.
    I replied in a respectable manner that postal voting had been rigged resulting in several successful prosecutions in England,the EU had described the UK postal voting system as a recipe for fraud(which it is) and that 97% turnouts of postal votes in five constituencies in Scotland were in practical fact impossible but apparently achieved and he has removed my post and closed my access to his page.
    The truth hurts and they are shitting themselves.

377. John Young

Just popped into off topic and this wee post somehow sums up the wonderful personalities of all the folk who frequent this corner of Wings

Smallaxe says:
    27 December, 2016 at 4:55 pm
    K1:
    Sorry aboot the typo,that should read fuck! ?

Peace Always

378. Thepnr

@John Young

Hey! Welcome, your one of us now and we never let you go.

This is Wings very own Hotel California πŸ™‚

379. Cactus

Checkin’ in Seasoned Wingers..

It’s almost midnight.

380. Cactus

SO what happens at midnight..?

381. Smallaxe

Cactus says:
    “SO what happens at midnight..?”

Well Cactus, it’s simple.Yesterday turns into tomorrow!
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

382. Smallaxe

John Young:

I see you have met Brother Thepnr, please allow me to introduce myself
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vBecM3CQVD8

It’s always nice to meet another inmate πŸ™‚

Peace Always

383. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Surely yesterday turns into today?
    ———————————————————

Hi Tinto Chiel.

Your mention of the “weasels”. You could like this:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fgYyAAWsxMc

Back in the 70s, Zeek and Giz used to mime this when I was DJ at the Bowlin’ Alley in Dundee (Dundee College of Technology Students’ Union; now Uni of Abertay) before they emigrated to The Netherlands.

The video was done at one of their pal’s 50th birthday party in Dundee.

384. Smallaxe

BDTT:

Your forgetting Brian that I live down in the border (Fluffys domain) it’s a different time zone down here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EsCyC1dZiN8

Peace Always my Friend

385. Nana

@Smallaxe

Good morning. Having problems posting this morning making me late checking in with you. Just read your poem on the main thread, liked it very much.

It’s good to see you posting again.

386. Smallaxe

Nana:

Thanks, it’s even better to see your links again πŸ™‚

Peace Always

387. Tinto Chiel

BDTT: so that’s what a quiet night out in Dundee looks like.

Heeheeheehee…

(And they’re not groupies, btw).

388. Tinto Chiel

Hey, Smallaxe, just saw your peom (as Molesworth used to call them) on the Other Place.

When’s the Collected Works coming oot?

389. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Hi Tinto, I wouldn’t call them poems, more like rhyming doggerel. As for the Collected Works, it would be cruel to inflict that on people.Now that I think about it, ASAP. πŸ™‚

I hope you enjoyed the holiday, my Friend.

Peace Always

390. Tinto Chiel

Great to see you back commenting, Smallaxe. You had me worried for a few days.

Now crack on with Them There Cantos.

πŸ˜›

391. Smallaxe

Tinto:

I did not want to tell
    I had me worried as well
    I thought I heard the bell
    Summoning me to Hell

Turned out it was just the door bell.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

392. Tinto Chiel

You’re an awfy man.

Glad you had such a good Crimbo with the grandkids.

Have a small Babycham at The Bells.

Cheersmedears.

393. K1

I’m glad you did not go
    To that place deep down below
    We’d aw be very sad, If indeed ye really had

So now that you are back
    We smile with gentle ease
    For the man that keeps Wings full of love
    By sending aw that Peace

We wish you well sweet Smallaxe
    Or Billy to your friends
    We hope you’ll aye be flying high
    Wi the Wingers love we send

πŸ™‚

394. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Would it be ok if I have a large Bells instead of the small Babycham?

I’ll ask Esmeralda, The Bells, The Bells, Sanctuary Sanctuary! I’m so ugly

Peace Always

395. Liz g

Well hell Smallaxe…Have one of each.x

396. Smallaxe

K1:

My friend I send you Peace and Love
    From this old 69r
    The kindness that you send to me
    Could not make a “King” feel finer

I appreciate your every word
    That to me you did impart
    They now are deep inside of me
    Engraved upon my heart

I wish you every happiness
    But please do not feel silly
    When I tell you I’m not Smallaxe
    I’m just your good friend Billy

Peace and Love Always to You and Yours my Friend

397. Smallaxe

liz g:

That’s a much better idea liz, Thanks xx
    πŸ™‚
    Peace Always

398. Nana

@Smallaxe & K1

You two have made my day so much better. Thank you

399. Smallaxe

Nana:

Nana please dont thank us
    Our thanks belong with you
    Without your morning links
    I dont know what we’d do

My coffee on those linkless days
    Was like a cart without a horse
    The milk was sour and awful
    My coffee beans were coarse

Your lacking links made Christmas
    A real case of Bah Humbug
    But now your back once more I have
    A hug back in my mug

Thank you, Nana.

Peace Always

400. Nana

@Smallaxe

Oh Billy that’s so nice, a poem all for me. I have printed it and when we meet I will expect you to autograph it.

Been baking and just saw your post. Don’t be telling Tinto Chiel as I’ve yet to ‘drop’ some scones off for him. But perhaps he’s made his own, sure I gave him the recipe so there’s no excuse.

Off to make a cuppa Billy, thanks again for my poem.

401. Smallaxe

Your more than welcome Nana, to write for you was My pleasure
    don’t work too hard, just have your break, enjoy it at your leisure
    But haste ye back, I need my links, to me there written treasure πŸ™‚

Peace and Love to You Nana and to Those that You Love xx

402. Tinto Chiel

A Bells at The Bells is permitted, Smallaxe, and a large one at that.

Broadsword calling Nana Girl:

Severe buttermilk shortage here stop plz. drop scones Tinto Towers, Auld Cadzow, Darkest Lanarkshire stop X marks the spot stop

and oblige T. Chiel.

Fanx stop

403. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

I’ll let you know that, contrary to what you may have heard in the steamie, Robert Planet never laid a hand on me!

404. Tinto Chiel

BDTT: you’re an awfy man an’ a.

“Robert Planet” indeed!

Looking forward to meeting you and the gang at the Beeb Thing.

Proud Cybernat’s stickies are getting stuck big style down here in DL, btw.

405. Tinto Chiel

Meant to say, while waiting for Mrs TC, who was shopping in Fraser’s, this came on over the speakers and I clutched at it like a drowning man at a straw:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bzAGZT_XTAk

Had to leave because the perfume girls were becoming too attracted to my strange, unnatural beauty.

It’s a curse, ah tell ye’ a blinkin’ curse….

406. Marie Clark

Awe Tinto, I havnae heard that in a long while. Love that song. When my auldest grandaughter (she’s 17 now, curses) wiz a wee wean about 18 months auld, that was the song I’d play for her. Nowadays I’d get reported tae the bad granny polis fur no singing her a proper lullabye. Man she loved it, when the mighty Slash stated playing that rift, she was up on her wee feet, and when the bass kicked in she would dance for all her worth. God love the wee soul. I’m surprised that she’s grown up quite normal, I dinnae ken how wae a granny like me.

Oh Nana, did you say your going away tomorrow? In that case, a guid New Year to you and yours, all th best when it comes.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.