Back-seat driver

Posted on February 19, 2013 by

We’ve been (rather childishly, we admit) suggesting that “deputy” Anas Sarwar was Scottish Labour’s real leader for longer than we care to remember now. It was nice of the Daily Record to finally confirm it for us today, though.

anasleader

26 to “Back-seat driver”

1. Scott Minto (Aka Sneekyboy)

And of course that “attack” on the Scottish Government attracting jobs to Scotland because they came from Amazon is utter tosh.

The thrust of the argument is that since they avoid UK tax they shouldnt get set-up funding to entice them to create jobs here, despite the fact that the Tax status is wholly a failing of the UK government and not the Scottish government and as we have seen on this site 10 months previously, the investment in attracting jobs is very beneficial to the local communities:

Wings Over Scotland: Labour’s Attack Boomerang

Not only is Sarwar economical with the facts, he is also setting himself and his party against providing jobs for his constituents (and therefore tax revenues to fund public services also).

Hopefully an independent Scotland would close those tax dodging loopholes that Westminster seems powerless (or unwilling) to close!

2. Peter A Bell

Never thought i’d say this, but Johann Lamont might be the better option for British Labour in Scotland.

3. Luigi

What an insult. Is Johann Lamont going to just shut up and accept this? Has the lamb been silenced? Apart from Ian Gray, I cannot imagine any of the previous SLAB leaders would have tolerated this public humiliation.

4. steven luby

Ed Millaband of the ‘North’!

Lots of sound against every policy around,from a ‘regional’ and national party thats lost its way.

A New Labour flag waver with all the self belief of a rampant teenager.

I’m sure deep down he’s very shallow and narrow minded but then again,i’ve been accused of being cynical for supporting Scottish Independence for over 30 years.     

5. heraldnomore

Munguin’s singing his praises too

http://munguinsrepublic.blogspot.co.uk/2013/02/scotlands-purple-tories.html

I’m assuming Johann gets out to play tomorrow?  

6. EdinScot

This would be a good time for the daily rectum to instruct Lamont to do her bin laden routine.  What?  Oh she already is.   

What a bunch of charlatons British Labour are.  If Salmond wasnt attracting the likes of Amazon to give our population much needed jobs after the shambles that Labour helped wreak on the UK economy and continued by the Tories disastrous austerity cuts, Anas Sarwar and co would be the first to accuse him of not doing enough to bring in investment! You couldnt make them up.

If the choice is between Lamont and Sarwar as the leader of British Labour in  Scotland then things have really come to a sorry pass. Somebody please turn off their life support.  It really is too painful to watch.

7. Jiggsbro

What an insult. Is Johann Lamont going to just shut up and accept this?

Johann Lamont was unavailable for comment.

8. ronald alexander mcdonald

She can’t be accused of disloyalty to her London masters.

9. scottish_skier

I reckon with a bit of make up and padding, Anas could pull it off at FMQ’s. Best remain seated though; standing up would be a dead give away.
    However, I’d imagine that even if the SNP noticed, they’d probably keep quiet.
    After all, he’s the one writing that shite, so why not?

10. Chic McGregor

Time for a Lament for Lamont?

Altogether now:

“Who’s Sarwar now? who’s Sarwar now?….”

11. Triskelion

By the way…I’m loving Niko’s bar.

12. Macart

Whose heart is achin’ for breakin’ each vow
    Who’s sad and blue, who’s cryin’ too
    Just like I cried over youuuuuuuuuu.

Glen Daly finish. 🙂

13. lumilumi

Is this news?

Hasn’t everybody known that la Lamentable is a puppet, the leader of Labour in Scotland in name only? Labour consider their Westminster MPs, such as Anas Sarwar, much more important than any of their MSPs in the wee pretendy parliament in Holyrood.

Anas Sarwar would be a gift to the YES side if his inane, inept, insidious ramblings were ever truly reported in the MSM. Alas, they’re not.

Slightly O/T, just came across this piece from the BBC:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-21502716
    Quite unbelievable how Scottish unis capping their fees for rUK & non-EU-students at the same level as rUK tuition fees is spun as a wicked, bad, insidious thing. Those horrible, chippy Jocks at it again…

14. Dunc

Oh, I see Jiggsbro beat me to the inevitable “unavailable for comment” gag… 🙁

15. Boorach

For a real belly laugh have a read of this, might even put a smile on your face Rev.

16. Boorach

Apologies, iPad won’t allow me to copy URL in on firstpost… here it is

http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2013/02/19/things-aint-wot-they-used-to-be/

17. lumilumi

Sorry to go O/T but there’s something I wanted to say about something WoS covered a week and a bit ago http://wingsland.podgamer.com/distorted-reflections/  and BBC Scotlandshire a couple of days later  http://www.bbc.scotlandshire.co.uk/index.php/city-news/195-alex-salmond-accused-of-creating-parallel-universe.html

Namely, politicians saying one thing for one audience, another to another audience. The latest example being David Cameron in India, boasting how Indian students are welcome to study (and pay fees) at UK unis. Forgot to mention the visa “reform” dictated by domestic policy, i.e. graduates are no longer allowed to stay on for a couple of years. Applications from prospective Indian students are down something like 25% because these talented, bright young people no longer feel welcome in the UK. Better to apply to other European countries, or the US, Canada, Australia…

Now, politicians have always tailored their speeches for their audiences, and in the “good” olden days word of their duplicity wouldn’t get around. The Internet has changed that to a certain extent but it’s still an uphill struggle in countries with a compliant mainstream media, such as Scotland.

It’s a very frustrating situation, and hampers true democracy.

PS. Loved BBC Scotlandshire’s Brian Cox south and north of the border 😀

18. lumilumi

@boorach 5.00 pm
    😀 Thanks for the link.
    Maybe Westminster will also tell Ireland, America, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, India, etc. that they can’t use English either! And they’ll of course tell countries like Finland to stop teaching their hallowed imperial language to foreign sprogs, as young as 9 yrs old. After all, England owns English.
    😀

19. Doug Daniel

Well, it’s now almost 6pm (7pm in Copenhagen) and the article STILL has Sarwar down as “Scottish Labour leader”. So, looks like it’s official!

Can you imagine having Sarwar in your back seat though, telling you where to go in that nasal mumble of his? I think I’d drive head-first into a wall.

20. Tamson

To be fair, the Sarwar family know a lot about tax…

21. frankieboy

No matter what, the Labour Party will argue black was white. Its the adversarial approach of the Glasgow ned:
    ‘Are you lookin’ at ma burd?’

‘Naw’

‘How no? you sayin’ ma burds ugly?’

22. Amanayeman

I notice that he talks about millionaires getting tax cuts. Do you think his daddy told him?

23. Jen

I find Mr Sarwar to be an awful politician, comes across as a few marketing people I know, full of hot air and no substance. 

24. CameronB

Seemed appropriate for a puzzle or something.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/80/Anas_superciliosa.jpg

25. CameronB

Edit: aka the Thinker.

26. CameronB

@ Rev. Stuart Campbell

I didn’t want you to miss the pic above. Works on lots of levels if you have a wee think about it. Not that I think you’re taking requests, but you could possibly have it bobbing around on every Answar thread. That’s its real Latin name, stick it in Wiki.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.