Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. CameronB Brodie

Ruglonian
    “Wings logo”. I’d ask the Rev. first. Best use the contact form.

2. Ian Brotherhood

@Camb, Ruglonian et al,
    Ahm pished , but just last shout-out, hey, magic, its happening aye, more the merrier etc just need cactus and jockscot to confirm cause we mst not succumb to the piped music etc,
    Who’s doing a turn!!!
    Hoots etc, as ever
    ;_)
    XXX

3. Dave McDave

Hi all. I should’ve posted this on the Eck Farewell thread but I wasn’t quick enough! I know fine well not all wingers are snp or Eck fans but for the many who are, here’s a wee pic I did last year. If anyone wants to print themselves a copy plz pm me and I’ll send a link to the hi-res scan file.
    http://on.fb.me/1R1KcYW

With regards next Saturday, I’m hoping to make it, but can’t commit for definite until I sort a baby-sitter. I need to make amends for missing the last do in Helensburgh as I could’ve walked home from that one!

4. Jason

Hi Everyone, Jason here of the National Yes Registry.
    Ruglonian dropped me a line letting us know about your meeting at Waxy’s on the 26th (thanks Ruglonian πŸ™‚ and I was wondering if it would be possible for me to attend on behalf of the NYR? It would be great to finally meet some of you ‘wingers’ in the flesh and get the opportunity to fill everyone in on what the NYR project is all about, what happened at our National Conference of the Local Groups (held in December), and more importantly, everything we are doing now (and planning to do) in order to get the Registry ready for its Launch.

It would be great to get face to face ‘winger’ feedback on it all, especially over a pint! My email address is nationalyesregistry@gmail.com

Look forward to talking,

braco

5. Ian Brotherhood

@Dave McDave –

I’ll put you on the list anyway, eh?

Good stuff.

πŸ™‚

6. cearc

Ian, or anybody who knows.

This downstairs room, is that down a lot of stairs? Does it have street access at that level?

Nothing on their website about access.

7. jimnarlene

Sorry, but I’ll not make it to the night out in Glasgow. Being (ahem) forced to go on holiday, to boarders, that weekend.

Hopefully I’ll make it next time, have a great time all.

8. valkyrie

I hope nobody minds me posting this here. Please support our Donna Heddle in her fight to oust the Lib Dems from Orkney. We have a real chance of winning this seat but need all the help we can get. Our crowdfunding link is:

http://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/donna-for-orkney

9. Ruglonian

Hiya, I’ve got a message from Jason Baird (copied and pasted from email, as he said he had a problem posting it himself).

Hi Everyone, Jason here of the National Yes Registry.
    Ruglonian dropped me a line letting us know about your meeting at Waxy’s on the 26th (thanks Ruglonian πŸ™‚ and I was wondering if it would be possible for me to attend on behalf of the NYR? It would be great to finally meet some of you ‘wingers’ in the flesh and get the opportunity to fill everyone in on what the NYR project is all about, what happened at our National Conference of the Local Groups (held in December), and more importantly, everything we are doing now (and planning to do) in order to get the Registry ready for its Launch.

It would be great to get face to face ‘winger’ feedback on it all, especially over a pint! My email address is nationalyesregistry@gmail.com

Look forward to talking,

braco

10. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Just called Waxy’s.

Yes, there are stairs, but there’s also a side entrance for wheelchair access if needed.

So, nae excuses!!

πŸ™‚

11. Ian Brotherhood

@braco –

Soo-perb.

It’s an open invitation, so yes, of course, you’d be made very welcome, and you can address the throngs about what you’re up to. If you have any literature, promo stuff, please bring it, and as many friends as you can muster.

Please also note, as flagged-up by cearc earlier, the bar we’ve booked does have wheelchair access via a side-entrance if anyone needs it. It also has Wi-Fi.

Look forward to seeing you.

Hoots!

12. Macart

Bad news on my part guys. Work has jumped in with both boots and I’m not going to make next weekend.

Gutted. πŸ™

13. CameronB Brodie

Sorry to hear folks aren’t able to attend the Glasgow rally. There will be more in the future. Bigger and better. Today, political geek-dome, tomorrow the world. One folk, one Fatherland, one ….erm.

Anyway, it struck me that I’ve not posted any Fall yet. So here’s one for the UKOK Establishment. Wouldn’t want them to feel socially excluded, would we?

The Fall – Life Just Bounces
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iOZOAeQKlJk

14. Ian Brotherhood

The following is from an e-mail I just got from Thistle (Kevin) and I’ve just spoken to him – he’s encouraging us to have a look at this, not least because it involves new gadgetry which may prove very useful for all of us.

I’ll be watching the interview, and then trying a wee test to see if I can link-up, even briefly, and if so I’ll do a wee spiel about the next Glasgow Friends of WOS gig.

If anyone’s free, please join in, or at least have a butchers at the new stuff Kevin’s talking about – it’s called ‘Blab’.

Se ye’s later!

Kevin (Indylive) – “I’m livestreaming twice tonight. Starting at 8:30pm I will be talking to John McHarg who runs Yes 2 and later doing a Gaelic thing..

I’m going to be interviewing John on Blab which is really cool as it allows other people to join the chat – if you let them! You will find the Blab link via…”: https://livestream.com/IndependenceLive/FreeScotMarchInterview

15. Thistle

Hi folks
    as Ian said above we are doing a Blab tonight and I want all of you to get your head around it as you may find it useful for some activist stuff you may do. Also I want to do a Blab with you lot to discuss the WoS event on 26th. I’ve told John who I will be interviewing tonight that we may see a couple of you on. In addition John is going to come along to the WoS event after the march and would be good for you to meet him and hear what he has to say.

The link that Ian posted above will take you to a page where we will be livestreaming the Blab. However I want you to click the link on that page beneath “Join the Blab!”. You can use Chrome or Firefox. To join Blab you need a twitter account.

See ya later and get promoting the link above to wingers!

Kevin

16. Brian Doonthetoon

OK, peeps.

RE: the get-together on the 26th… See the post at:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/quarantine/comment-page-3/#comment-2123478

17. Brian Doonthetoon

You know what gets my goat – and I’m watching numerous examples on Channel 5’s “That’s So… 1984” at the moment?

People who upload 4:3 aspect ratio videos to YouTube and publish them at 16:9 and professional broadcasters who commit the same sin.

I want to see people with the faces and bodies the right shape; I don’t want to see them converted into wee wide faced, wide-bodied diddypeeps.

Rant over.

18. Quentin Quale

Righty ho, shoes off and leap aroond the lobby cos it’s Friday Night
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jh8gZACWYBo

19. cearc

C’mon folks, who’s going to find the most appropriate tune to celebrate the departure of IDS?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vLBKOcUbHR0

20. CameronB Brodie

“People say, people say
    Have I got a right to live
    People say, people say
    Have I got a right to live
    People say, people say
    (What the people say)
    (What the people)”

The Meters – People Say
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IydYLIsT9LA

21. Stoker

Jist a wee keek tae see whits gonoan afore hittin the sack!

cearc wrote:
    “C’mon folks, who’s going to find the most appropriate tune to celebrate the departure of IDS?”

C’mon you lot, git yer boogy boots oan, not everyones cup of tea but one of my all-time faves:

The Prodigy – Firestarter (Official Video)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wmin5WkOuPw
    πŸ™‚

22. Ruglonian

I’m not posting a link as I’m terrified of the hammers, and also cos I don’t particularly like the song (even less, the singer) but it did pop into my head when I heard the IDS news – Better the devil you know!

23. Stoker

BTW, meant to add to my previous post and cearc’ comment regarding IDS – I’m with the majority over on the main thread, as soon as i seen this news breaking i screamed out ((( KAREN DUNBAR ))) as i pointed frantically at the telly. The boss immediately instructs me to simmer doon and dismissively informs me “THAT’S NO KAREN DUNBAR YA TUBE!” “AH KEN!” was my reply “BUT AH SMELL SHITE!”

Goodnight, troops, have a great and safe weekend.

btw ((((( C’MOAN SCOTLAND, THREE IN A ROW HERE WE GO )))))
    πŸ™‚

24. Dave McEwan Hill

You can all finish off the evening with a beautiful Scottish medley performed by well known gentleman who usually appeared in a bright tartan jacket

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Atp87mTzwoQ&list=RDAtp87mTzwoQ

25. Michael McCabe

@cearc 9:18 Here is Willie Black predicting ian Duncan smith would go. and telling him to his face. I think Willie Black spoke for all Wingers that day. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Exh8t6lUpAI&feature=player_detailpage

26. Ian Brotherhood

Thistle told me that a very well-kent face is interested in attending our Glasgow bash, but I can’t tell you who that is. (Clue: it’s not Gordon Brown)

What I can say, yet again, is that we need some brave souls to volunteer to get up on their trotters and give the rest of us something inspirational on the night before we settle into the usual debauchery.

With that in mind, I have opened a new page in my journal headed ‘Peepil who iz gonny dae stuff in the waxys’.

Who would like to be first on that list?

Please tell me what you intend to do (and how long it will take) in less than 500 words.

27. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

Totally soo-perb.

Could we do that as the finale in Glasgow?

If we have musicians there, and agree on what version we’re using to make sure we all know the timing and lyrics so we’re not mumbly-bumbly over it?

It would be a complete stoater of a finish.

28. Paula Rose

Ian Honey do you really think there is anyone more famous than the people who have attended Wings nights already? I mean really – after Wee Ginger Dug, Ronnie Anderson and Moi who else is there?

29. Quentin Quale

Ian Brotherhood, top work, sir. With so many turning up do you think we might need a password to get in? Can I suggest Swordfish
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ySqec8WrEQQ

30. Ian Brotherhood

Be warned – if we don’t get some real musicians coming to Waxy’s then Thepnr and yours truly will do this, and other stuff like it.

You don’t want that to happen. Believe me. You really don’t.

Chas & Dave, ‘The Sideboard Song’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4FDoQTyYWzM

31. Ian Brotherhood

And we’ll do this too, once we’ve sorted out who’s sitting on whose lap…

(Astonishing to see John Peel introducing this.)

Keith Harris & Orville, ‘Orville’s Song’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GenPArDAdls

32. Ian Brotherhood

And we’ll do this…

Roger Whittaker, ‘I Don’t Believe In If Any More’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2pj3rKFlb9Q

Think I’m joking? If Cactus and/or Jock Scot or someone else doesn’t confirm that they’re doing something? We’ll do all this, and more…

33. Ian Brotherhood

A wee birdie just told me that she may coming to the musical rescue.

Be that as it may, I’m going to make this ‘Roger Whittaker Night’ unless someone openly states willingness to dance/sing/make balloon animals or whatnot…

Roger Whittaker, ‘The Last Farewell’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sGWs1HK8iDU

34. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    See if you can sing this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y6oXW_YiV6g

Bonus points if you manage to do it after a few drinks πŸ˜‰ hehe.

35. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

You must have peeps on your list, who, so far, haven’t asked for a badge in ‘Quarantine’. I have 39 names so far.

Also, I suspect you may not have some of the names who have appeared in ‘Quarantine’. Could be worth checking.

Onnyhoo, here’s my obscure track for tonight. This was released on John Peel’s “Dandelion” label in 1971.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-U_-wYqv-3c

36. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

πŸ™‚

I remember that tune from many moons ago, and wondering what the hell it was all about.

Good stuff, though I’m not sure I’ll be able to learn all of the words in time.

37. Paula Rose

So looking forward to Ian Brotherhood and Thepnr warbling.

38. Ian Brotherhood

I’m going to do this with Paula Rose.

Shania Twain & Willie Nelson, ‘Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N6wBxQVBozI

39. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    It’s about himself really.
    He had a really bad stutter and found that it actually worked well for that type of singing.
    So yeah, bit of a theme of turning a flaw into an asset there πŸ™‚

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scatman_John

40. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Here’s who I’ve got:

Clutha
    Bob Sinclair
    carjamtic
    Ronnie A
    Fionan
    Crazycat (+2?)
    Thepnr
    x-sticks
    Paula Rose
    Cearc
    Quine frae Angus
    Thistle
    Michael McCabe / Lynn
    Tam Jardine
    Ruglonian
    Quentin Quayle / Chipmonkey
    JLT
    Lenny Hartley
    Bevrijdingsdag + 1
    Chas Anderson
    Dave McDave

What I don’t have is names or numbers for whoever’s attending the afternoon workshop with Cadogan, and how many will stay-on. I must’ve missed some because I haven’t been across all threads this past week/10 days and I very rarely venture into Quarantine…

As a rough guide, I went back to the list I had prior to the April 4th 2014 gig in the Counting House. I had 36 on that list the night before, but we had, I can’t remember, about 70-80 on the night? Something like that, although it fluctuated a lot, was probably busiest about 10-ish before buses had to take folk home to the further-flung places.

Really hard to tell what to expect, but I’m guessing it could be similar. The bar should be able to accommodate 75 comfortably, so space shouldn’t be an issue.

Curious to see how that list compares to yours…

Hoots. πŸ™‚

41. Ian Brotherhood

P.S.
    I have another dozen or so names in my heid – folk who’ve said they’ll be there but haven’t confirmed, but I’m confident they’ll turn up on the night, so my ‘list’ is 35-ish.

42. Ian Brotherhood

@Ruglonian –

If you see this, could you let us know how many of the R/Glen squad you’re bringing? I vaguely remember you mentioning there could be a few of you.

πŸ™‚

43. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Last Saturday, you typed that you had 32 on your list. At that time, I had 13 on my list. As I typed, I now have 39 so it could be worthwhile checking out the names I’ve confirmed in ‘Quarantine’ since the 12th. They haven’t all posted in ‘off-topic’.

And here’s another obscure track for your enjoyment…
    It features Peter Cook and Dudley Moore and involves heavy use of both the ‘F’ word and the ‘C’ word. Therefore, do not click on the link if you are likely to be offended by the language.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2UT02–Ijdc

44. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Ruglonian has listed her squad in ‘Quarantine’ for badges.

45. Ian Brotherhood

Where the hell is Thepnr? We need to start rehearsals asap, and I’m fed-up using my Labrador as a partner to practise the wee dancy bits…

This might tempt him back…

NB. Not many people know that this was shot in Saltcoats. There was a bit of jiggery-pokery though, and the bits with palms trees were shot in Largs.

Billy Ocean, ‘Caribbean Queen’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ClLEXoku3t0

46. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Sorry man, it’s just been too mental here…

Right, I’ve got the finger out and checked via Quaarantine.

These are the names I ‘missed’:

Pete the Camera
    Cactus
    Kishorn Commando
    Cherry
    Taranaich
    Hero of the Federation
    Hevvabeccywoss
    H
    A-JC
    Nik
    Jim ST
    James
    Robert McNulty
    The Nomad
    Simone
    Scary Cath
    Craig the Pict
    Mark
    Mandy
    Grant
    Preston

So, my ‘new’ list is 47.

Does that tally?

47. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

I reckoned you’d be up to around 50 so you’re not far off.

I noted names on your list who haven’t requested badges yet!

We only do badges for peeps who actually go to ‘Quarantine’ and stick in a request.

We were caught out, early days, doing badges for peeps who never turned up so we stick in the effort of having to go to ‘Quarantine’, to corral the committed.

(Twirls pointed moustache and winks…)

48. Kishorn Commando

Ian B
    Pressed the kilt, dubbined the boots, charged the walkman.
    Porridge cooling for the pieces. Chanter lubricated.

Here’s one for the Rev with hammers etc.

hope the vimeo linky works

49. cearc

Michael McCabe,

Ah, the Willie Black definitely takes the prize!

50. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

The ‘missing’ dozen in my heid-list, over and above the 47, could well be nearer 20. I honestly didn’t realise we were that high, so, if past events are anything to go by, we could realistically be looking at 80+.

51. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi cearc.

You are one of the peeps who hasn’t asked for a badge for next week.

I could also mention others – you know “others”, who haven’t asked for a badge, like…
    Clutha
    Bob Sinclair
    carjamtic
    Fionan
    Thistle
    JLT
    Lenny Hartley
    Dave McDave

And, Ian B, if those peeps ask for a badge, we are at 47 all!

Did you ever have Betty Boop and Jim Thomson on your list? They seem to have been a bit quiet of late. No requests for badges or that…

52. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Betty’s been posting here very recently, but haven’t heard from Jim for a good while. ??? πŸ™

53. Bob Sinclair

Brian,
    Would love a badge, thanks.

54. Ian Brotherhood

@Kishorn Commando –

Delighted to hear that you have polished your chanter.

I do hope you realise that Paula Rose will demand that you stand to attention before she carries out her usual inspection.

Good luck…

55. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I’m still here Ian, haven’t managed to drop in so often as out on my travels or should that be travails?

Anyways, I get home Monday late and will be at home the rest of that week so will catch up before the weekend.

@Michael McCabe

I got your email, will be in touch with you after I get home on Monday too.

Meantime, a bit of science Richard Feynman talks about magnets πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MO0r930Sn_8

56. Ian Brotherhood

For anyone who hasn’t experienced a WOS night, here’s a wee taster of what the general vibe is like:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0kiauPQ5cjM

57. crazycat

@ Ian B

Just checked this evening with one of my ?2+ and she’s a definite; the other would like to come but has a busy week ahead and won’t know till the last minute if he can manage.

We’re coming up for the march and to run a stall at the rally, so will check out the afternoon session and definitely be there for the evening.

See you then.

58. crazycat

@ BDTT

Putting this in a separate post so that it will be more noticeable – could you make a badge for Gwen, please?

See you Saturday.

59. Ian Brotherhood

This is quite something –

Almost 14 minutes long, and half of it is an ovation.

Chic, ‘Good Times’, Glastonbury, 2013 –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NtfvyBoYEiw

60. Ian Brotherhood

@crazycat –

Cool. See ye there.

πŸ™‚

61. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

You typed,
    For anyone who hasn’t experienced a WOS night, here’s a wee taster of what the general vibe is like:

That may be what the vibe is LIKE but here’s the real thing, from a year ago.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t8RQKd2XX70

Bob and crazycat for Gwen – noted, even although you didn’t post in ‘Quarantine’!

8=)

62. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Dust aff yer moothie mister, we’re daein this yin an’ aw…

Crash Test Dummies, ‘Afternoons And Coffeespoons’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j53VGZnW4fU

63. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Did you get the Joe Cullinane Labour propaganda through your door yet?

I got one a couple of days back. Posted through the letterbox quite late at night.
    Almost as if the person posting them was ashamed to be seen in broad daylight with Labour literature, hmm?

Haven’t decided what to do with it yet, checking all the tables in the house to see if it can be used to prop up a short leg or something. Or I might make some small edits to it and send it back to him freepost. Not sure yet…

Anyways, music link of the day. Enjoy! (or don’t enjoy, it’s up to you!) πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JyUuTFxNrQs

64. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

I haven’t had any campaign literature – you’re the only person I know who’s mentioned receiving any.
    Not that I’m complaining… πŸ™‚

65. cearc

Accomodation – done. Poultry care – done. Hats polished and ready to go.

The Ian/Thepnr duet should be quite a treat!

66. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Have noted Gwen and Valerie via Quarantine.

We’re now at 49, right?

67. Ian Brotherhood

Could not believe my shell-likes when this emerged from my wee radio earlier – I thought it must’ve been some pirate station launching, but it was indeed Radio North Britain.

:o)

How many of this guy’s albums does Kezia have, eh?

Dick Gaughan, ‘Handful Of Earth’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r6tGpyay0D4

68. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Please don’t expect too much from meself and Thepnr. Rehearsals have not been going well and we can’t agree on outfits…

πŸ™

69. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

RE: music you don’t expect to hear on the wireless. On Wednesday or Thursday this week past, Steve Wright played Dougie McLean’s ‘Caledonia’, as one of the ‘non-stop oldies’ at just after 3pm. Said it was beautiful, or similar.

Onnyhoo, our lists. Including the just added cearc, I have 43 on the badge list. There are still one or three on your list, who haven’t asked for badges.

70. Thepnr

Me and Mr B’s first practice session for the Wings night. I’m sure we will be on our game ome the day πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QgXC_6-K8sM

71. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

I don’t understand why anyone wouldn’t want a personalised badge.

If they don’t ask you for one then I’ll be there with my nasty ASDA sticky labels and a big permanent marker. Anyone who turns up who’s not on your list will get a gigantic ? on their forehead.

72. Paula Rose

I want an IB tacky badge as well – just for old times sake (still got my first).

73. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I will gladly give you one at the first opportunity.

74. Paula Rose

*blushes demurely*

75. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

You typed,
    “Anyone who turns up who’s not on your list will get a gigantic ? on their forehead.”

I like the cut of your jib!

8=)

These are the peeps who either don’t want a badge, or aren’t keeping up with events.

Clutha
    carjamtic
    Fionan
    Thistle (!)
    JLT
    Lenny Hartley
    Dave McDave

If they get round to asking, before 11.59pm on Wednesday evening, our two lists will be in sync.

76. Ian Brotherhood

Have we ever had any Hamish Imlach here?

Here he is, doing ‘Let Ramensky Go’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEs1zU1ZIk4&list=PL6C0WTqbKxJ4v_DVw9TuWt_0vohAMi13p

77. X_Sticks

@BdTT

I didn’t notice Tjenny on the list, but I recall her saying she’d e coming.

Are you there Tjenny? Are you coming along?

78. Thistle

Hi folks

I would like a badge πŸ™‚

Also, I sent email to Ian about maybe me doing a talk on new media. Possibly get Erik from Kiltr along and maybe somebody from CommonSpace if poss.

OK… I would like to get a Blab done to discuss the forthcoming event. Anybody up for doing a test? liveindependence@gmail.com

79. CameronB Brodie

Not trying to draw attention to myself folk but I feel I need to clarify a comment I made last night.

There is no such thing as different races, IMHO, though I place little significance in the morphological variations considered indicative of race, though which are not considered indicative of major differences in DNA. I can not accept classifications of sub-species within humanity.

Humanity is all of a one, though at the same time differentiated by a myriad of different ethnicity, which are natural adaptions of the basic model, in order to suite local environmental conditions.

How’s that for duality Will, all of a one but different? Or am I talking mince?

80. Brian Doonthetoon

I picked up a mention of “Pop Will Eat Itself” on Rev Stu’s Twitter feed today.

I got a lot of mileage out of this track. I tried counting the number of samples in it and lost the plot at 9. When I DJ’d in Jaspers in the early 90s, I segued it with “Crazy Horses” by The Osmonds – and the rock crowd took “Crazy Horses” as their own!

You can hear a reconstruction of the mix I did, at the link below. It also features a guest appearance of Alex Harvey on shouty vocals.

It’s an mp3 file so you’ll probably have to download it, then play it.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/myoozack/Def%20Con%201-Crazy%20Horses-64.mp3

————————————————–

Thistle – I’ve added you to the badge list.

81. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CBB…

You mentioned “mince”, the content of your post that removed the glaze from my eyes and the fluffiness from my brain.

“Mince”, I remarked to myself. “Now he’s getting serious.”

So, maybe you can answer…
    Before you brown mince, should it be red, pink or grey, for maximum enjoyment on the taste buds?

82. CameronB Brodie

P.S. Culture is the expression of ethnicity.

83. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Grey? I’ve not eaten meat for almost 30 years through Brian. Mind, I’m a weirdo. πŸ™‚

84. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CBB.

Mince becomes grey as it reaches and passes its ‘use by’ date.

Still ok for consuming for a couple of days though…

85. CameronB Brodie

Duh, I was thinking of mince turning grey when you brown it…..eh? Sorry Will but there’s just no getting away from this Dualism thing, bud. πŸ˜‰

86. Thistle

LIVE FOR 26th LINK: https://livestream.com/IndependenceLive/WOSMeetup

Ok still to finish it off and will chat to Ian. Plus I need to check if I can get a bloody signal for internet in the place…

87. Dave McEwan Hill

Good Times at Glastonbury- Ian Brotherwood

Great performance from Chic. Can’t make my mind up what is the greatest disco record
    Le Freak? Stayin Alive? Ladies Night? That’s The Way I Like it?
    I think it’s Chic’s Le Freak.

88. Oneironaut

Posting another “Youtune Of The Day”…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SnxNJbWCcng

“This is the modern way. Faking it every day…”

89. Brian Doonthetoon

HEADS UP!

There are still a handful of peeps who told Ian B that they would be at the get-together on Saturday in Waxy O’Connors but don’t seem to have returned to ‘off-topic’ since so haven’t asked for a personalised badge in ‘Quarantine’.

You have just over 24 hours to claim your badge for Saturday. The badge list will close at 11.59pm tomorrow night.

90. Michael McCabe

A Wee song for Brian Doonthetoon and Pete the Camera. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aV-OLnUO9ZI&feature=player_detailpage Cheers

91. Ruglonian

Hi IanB, I’ve sent you an email with Saturdays advert enclosed.

92. Brian Doonthetoon

Cheers, Michael!

Trivia warning!
    George Harrison played ‘that’ guitar on the original single.

93. CameronB Brodie

Here’s an oldie for the Yoon press, who appear to have suddenly evolved from a state of monist, “PROJECT FEAR”, uniformity. Rejoice! Diversity abounds in the multi-cultural reality of our expanding ‘Better Together’ universe. πŸ™‚

THE MUSIC MACHINE – Come on in
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A_g84ubkwUg

P.S. SNPbad

94. Cactus

Hey Wingers.. I’ve managed to arrange some guitarage for our Wings over Waxy’s (WOW!)

I see the Inform Scotland workshop will be running from about 3 to 5pm approx. No doubt peoples will be hungry after travelling to YES Glasgow and the rally at Freedom Square as well.. so maybe a couple of hours to digest that.

So what time would be suitable to kick-off the music, 7/8pm? Do we know if a PA has been organised, or are we going for an acoustic affair?

Ye up furra tune or twa Jock Scot?

95. Brian Doonthetoon

Had a blether with Ronnie Anderson tonight. He’s suggested, on Saturday, that Wingers can meet up, after the march, at the usual spot, under Sir Walter Scott’s feet, before heading to Waxy’s.

96. X_Sticks

@BDtt

Nae under the horses arse then? What time about?

Wee O/T O/T – my son found this reckons it’s pretty cool – I agree. I know some of you will enjoy this:

http://everynoise.com/engenremap.html

97. Michael McCabe

@ X-Sticks that link is Brilliant. You could spend ages there just clicking on different Sounds. Cheers I am away back in.

98. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi X_Sticks.

Horse’s arse is SO 2014. Walter’s Scott’s feet is where we’ve been at for the past year. Get with it, loon!

8=)

99. Almannysbunnet

My suggestion for an indyref 2 battle song.

We Won’t get Fooled Again!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rtHshBWFRyg

100. Ian Brotherhood

@Cactus –

Discussed the whole PA thing with Thistle t’other night. Obviusly, from his POV it’s not a problem cause then he can hear people speak if he’s doing his roving reporter stuff.

If it’s all the same to you, can we do without? I’m also thinking about those who might be keen to catch-up conversation-wise with others, and the bar’s big enough (I think) that we could be having music in one section while conversation is still possible in others.

Dunno. It’s not my shout, but I haven’t even asked about a PA. My own preference would be to go as nature intended and just belt them out!

101. Paula Rose

Ian Honey – you’re going as nature intended? How sweet!

102. Tam Jardine

Ian Brotherhood

Hi Ian- not sure on timings for Saturday and how much of the day I can attend as yet. My understanding is the march is on 11.30-12.30 and there will be some stuff on at Freedom Square at its finish.

Then converge at Waxy’s at 3.30 for Inform Scotland workshop. Then drinks and any speakers early evening with Cactus on the guitar from 7or8pm

is that how you see it? Am just trying to figure out my movements and what is going on. Have been abroad last week and out of the loop somewhat.

103. Ian Brotherhood

@Tam Jardine –

You’ve got it in a nutshell.

Could be a busy day! Please keep checking here for other wee bits and bobs to be firmed up.

104. Clapper57

Hope you all have fabby dabby day on Saturday at Wings gathering in Glasgow.

105. Thepnr

I just thought like, on a day such as today we are likely thinking of what might have been.

So I’ll just leave you with this, see you all on Saturday those of you who are attending the next WOS met up anyway.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pZgu0KichKE

106. Ruglonian

So, looks like it’s all coming together nicely for Saturday!

I’ve done wee ‘Friends of Wings’ handouts for the marchers. If anyone wants to meet me and help distribute them I’ll be in Cathedral Square from 11.30am.

Also got a raffle book, so please spread the word for donations of prizes πŸ™‚

Anyone who’s on twitter or Facebook could you help to circulate the ‘Friends of Wings’ advert please. Stu has retweeted it several times or you can find it on the Yes Rutherglen pages.

See you all on Saturday πŸ˜€

107. Dave McEwan Hill

Almannysbunnet at 7.40

With you there. We used it in local elections in Dunoon years ago

108. Paula Rose

Oh gosh I’m really having to dress up for this one – no more shrinking violet.

109. X_Sticks

@Ruglonian

“got a raffle book, so please spread the word for donations of prizes”

Noted πŸ˜‰

110. Paula Rose

We need a guest/visitors book to send to Rev Stu – I have an idea, bring pens, I have the book.

111. Scared cat

Hello everybody
    Is there room for another wee one and if so, what are the arrangements?
    I came to the thread late and I’m having trouble getting my head round what’s going on.
    Seems like there might be a rally somewhere, followed by a meeting and a shindig at Waxy’s?
    Sorry I’ve been a bit out of it of late.

112. cearc

Well this does look exciting.

What with Ian performing ‘as nature intended’ and Paula Rose opening her little book for public perusal!

I’ll be ‘winging’ my way south shortly.

113. Nana

@Ruglonian

I want to send you something for the raffle. I’m not coming to the ‘do’ myself but I know a someone who is and can bring my donation along.

If you give me your email address I will forward details of who is coming and what I will be sending.

114. Cactus

@Ian Brotherhood ~

Aye aye, sounds like a plan, better suited with a natural unplugged sound. I may do one or twa, but we will have a professional player (whom some of you have already met) entertaining us all.

Gonna be a busy day/night tomorrow πŸ™‚

115. Tam Jardine

Scared cat

There is the ‘All under one Banner’ march at 11.30am (setting off 12noon) from Cathedral Square to George Square- then some kind of rally in George Square. Inform Scotland are having a workshop in Waxy O’Connor’s from 3pm until 5.30pm and Wings shenanigans thereafter. Not sure how early I can get through but looks like being a good turnout from the number of confirmed names.

116. Ian Brotherhood

Not long now…

Stray Cats, ‘Rock This Town’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9a8Pkw9VBR8

117. Ian Brotherhood

Up tae Glesga fur the day, eh?

Tony Christie, ‘Avenues & Alleyways’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Z-4IGSk9k0

118. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

A wee song for tomorrow, written by a Dundonian.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oww8HXLsxDw

119. Ian Brotherhood

The Trammps, ‘Disco Inferno’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xfewgUR0dUU

120. Ian Brotherhood

BDTT, I hear you brother, I’ll be humming that on the way home tomorrow.

But right now, I’m funking…

Oliver Cheatham, ‘Get Down Saturday Night’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OHzuO80e1zw

121. Ian Brotherhood

Marvin Gaye, ‘Got To Give It Up’ (Soul Train) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=75BlzjqGVcc

122. Kishorn Commando

Here’s one for Paula Rose
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nsrvsVW8EpU&index=21&list=RD_pbhVVFTuow

and another,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ux2WXNsqfe8
    Can’t wait to meet you a ghraidh.

KC

123. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

If you’re determined to stick with ‘soul’, remember the wise words from this clip:-

“It can be truly said, the Americans have their soul singers and we English have arsehole singers.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vj3U1DQurew

124. Paula Rose

Gosh – I’m so looking forward to tomorrow, the lovely adorable Pete the Camera is going to give me a ride.

125. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

πŸ™‚

Average White Band, ‘Play That Funky Music White Boy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m8rEkUhevfg

126. Ian Brotherhood

Ooops, seems that wasn’t AWB, it was ‘Wild Cherry’?

Izat right BDTT? you know yer stuff – just saw some BTL comments on the YT clip…

127. Quentin Quale

Nearly time for the Saturday meet-up.

I’m On My Way – Dean Parrish
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7DFqNOfYvJQ

128. Ian Brotherhood

The Commodores, ‘Brick House’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-5EmnQp3V48

129. Quentin Quale

Albert King – Red House
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=57hV2443584

130. Quentin Quale

Ian B & Brian dtt – a pint for each of you if you nail this dance routine tomorrow night!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5c5WgqkT28s

131. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

There was/is an urban ‘rumour’ that Wild Cherry’s song was about the Average White Band. I can’t find definitive proof.

However, Wild Cherry did support AWB in the US. See the paragraph that starts, “Throughout the history of rock…”, at the link below.

http://tinyurl.com/gkolzgq

132. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Quentin Quayle.

Re: your dance suggestion.

Do you, perchance, possess a velocipede that you can mount?

133. Ian Brotherhood

@Quentin Quale –

πŸ™‚

That’s fantastic stuff.

Love the bit just at the end where the two of them go a bit mental, perhaps in sheer relief that it’s nearly over.

Soo-perb, but you won’t see me attempting anything similar. Ever.

134. Quentin Quale

Brian – guid yin!

If I did I’d follow Vivian’s advice and keep my clips on
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ktXxhC5dcU

135. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Dundee bands…

Here’s a Dundee band who have played at umpteen pro-indy rallies and will be at the Barrowlands on 8th April.

This was recorded at the St Andrew’s Day gathering in Dundee on 30th November, 2014.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P_gagc55RhI

136. Ian Brotherhood

URGENT APPEAL – SERIOUSLY:

Can anyone offer Cadogan Enright a crash tomorrow night after the WOS gig’s over? Someone in Glasgow?

Surely…

137. Ian Brotherhood

This is for Cadogan, of this parish.

Come on now, where’s that Glasgwegian hospitality?

Marvin Gaye, ‘Wherever I Lay My Hat’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJVXyV8BPzA

138. jdman

Home again!
    sigh πŸ™
    but I’m going to pick up a brand new car tomorrow hurrah! πŸ™‚

139. liz Gray

How basic is he willing to go?????…..I have a place to crash because there’s nay tennents… cause there’s nay heating.
    Clean though and in the West end.
    Nay serial killers need apply.

140. Ian Brotherhood

@Liz Gray –

The man’s after a basic crash, a sofa, whatever…seriously.

cadogan@enright.ie

He won’t mind me giving you his email, please please message him.

πŸ™‚

141. Ian Brotherhood

Curtis Mayfield, ‘Keep On Keepin On’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t-l91O9VxN0

142. Michael McCabe

Here is Ike & Tina Turner turning a blues song into a Northern Soul Song. And how good are the dancers. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AE8GYvEdwd0&feature=player_detailpage

143. Cadogan Enright

cadogan@enright.ie

https://business.facebook.com/councillorcadogan.enright?business_id=372028969646293

And I’ll be heading back early Sunday Morning

Blanket and couch Ok if not too distant from Waxy’s !

144. Liz g

Cadogan Enright
    Hi my Email is jiggerd so left a message on you’re Facebook..
    At least I hope it’s your’s

145. Lizg

Cadogan
    Hi just saw that you left a number.
    Will ring in the morning if you haven’t replied to or gotten my message’s
    But don’t worry there is a place to crash if you need it.

146. Cadogan Enright

LizG

Grand thanks a lot

147. Proud Cybernat

Looking forward to meeting the Wingers again. See ya’ll soon.

148. Ruglonian

Hi folks, there’s a few of us in Waxy O’Conner’s now – it’s a great wee space, so get down and get your seat!

149. liz g

Hi can someone at waxy O’Conners let Cadogan Enright know that I will be heading in in the next hour or so and not to worry I haven’t forgotten he needs a place to crash,just had to nip home.
    The contact no he gave won’t go through.

150. Lenny Hartley

Woo Hoo , boat is sailing see y’all tonight πŸ™‚

151. Cadogan Enright

@ liz G

Loads of folk here already and it’s 45 mins to start time

152. Bevrijdingsdag

@ IanB and Brian dtt

Hi guys, gutted couldn’t make it today.
    Hope you all have a great night!
    Please let me know if you need reimbursed for the badges.

Thomas & Mary

153. jdman

Scunnered I can’t go, not only am I working tomorrow, I have the cough from hell, and didn’t get my new car today, (Tuesday the garage says) πŸ™

But enjoy yourselves everyone. πŸ™‚

154. Lenny Hartley

Great night brilliant to meet up again with some amazing people !
    First time I have had more than one drink since Christmas. Hope I can make the next one, really going to enjoy the eggs I won on the raffle.

Feel energised , we are going to do this!

155. Ruglonian

Home safe after a great day!

The raffle tonight raised Β£150 which is being donated to Independence Live – Thank you Thistle and friends for all your hard work, it is greatly appreciated, you are invaluable xx

156. Simone

Really great to put faces to names today.
    I’ll try to lurk less & post more in future – you have been warned!

157. Craig Sheridan

Just back back to Livingston after a great day in Glasgow. The Independence March got rained on, but didn’t dampen the spirit and I even volunteered to steward to do my bit. The hi-viz jacket went to my head though as I ordered everything from an old women and a dog to stay on the right side of the road.

Waxy’s was fantastic and an incredible turnout for the Wings gathering, it was absolutely mobbed!

I tried to put as many names to faces as I could and had some really inspiring conversations so thanks for that, it made the night excellent. I know I would still have missed loads of people as there was just too many to get through!

Awesome people, inspiring ideas and a brimful of passion for a better country. I was left with the impression it’s going to be hard to fail to meet our goal. I’ll look forward to doing it all again. Turn that passion into hard work and we will have indie soon. Cheers.

158. Croompenstein

I dreamed myself from the sultry plains
    to the old green square back in old Maybole

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YdFmsURncFg

159. Ian Brotherhood

@abody who wuzz therr –

πŸ™‚

160. cearc

Waxy’s. Absolutely the best venue to play hide’n’seek.

161. Croompenstein

Stu I hope you are paying yourself at least this….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=flESd2vFXy4

162. Valerie

I was a Wingers virgin until tonight. Met lots of folk from the forum at Waxys, had great chats, got my badge from BDTT πŸ™‚

Great night, and many thanks to those that made it happen.

Only bum note, was Ian B getting disappointed at the raffle.

Next time, Ian!!!

163. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Sorry, again, it must’ve been a real pain for you, but hey, you got there and did it, and it wouldn’t have been the same if you hadn’t.

πŸ™‚

XXX

164. Ruglonian

I may be buoyed up by the fact that I’ve just had a lovely day with Wings pals, or it may be that I’ve just remembered the magical free hour and I’m pushing my luck.

I could be about to subject myself to some serious hammers from the boss (unless he takes it as the compliment that I intend) – so, here’s an addition to IanB’s disco πŸ˜‰ – great song, and does the singer remind you of anyone?!!!

youtube.com/watch?v=e8Uhf3gM1m0

165. Ruglonian

Crap – I post at 1 o’clock thinking it’s going to be 12, and no, it’s 2!!
    What age do you need to be before you get this scam figured out?

#MaterialChange πŸ˜‰

166. Ian Brotherhood

@Ruglonian –

That link isn’t live…

And, BTW, it’s quite obvious that the raffle was rigged. As far as I could tell, X-sticks won everything.

That’s not statistically viable.

167. cearc

Hey, it was fine, Ian.

Gillian, we did the the taxi timing just right this time!

168. Ian Brotherhood

Hey…

This is going out to all the Glasgow wingers, as ye’s settle it all down and cuddle into your duvets, or what-ev-eeeer….

Oh aye…

Terry Prendergrass, ‘Turn Off The Lights’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v =DSrEdpW3PoM

169. Ruglonian

IanB – watch it, mention a rigged game and Stu’ll start investigating us!
    (I can never seem to do links on my tablet, but I was worried about the hammers because of the insinuation of the comparison)

Cearc – we nailed the taxi setup this time πŸ˜€

170. jdman

Fantastic to see new names if not faces πŸ™ at a wings night out, I’m really fed up that I missed it, but no doubt I’ll see you guys at the NEXT (cough) night out!

171. Thistle

Great event yesterday folks. All I want to know is when the next one is happening πŸ™‚ Hopefully I can stay a little longer next time.

172. Ian Brotherhood

Many thanks to everyone who bought me pints last night.
    *OUCH*

πŸ˜‰ xxx

173. Cactus

Apols for not making it last night.. I had to take D to A&E after a minor accident. Now honda mend. I take it you got word ok.

Glad to hear Waxy’s was mobbed last night, sounds like ye’s had a braw time, def catch up at the next one!

174. TJenny

Wish I’d been there last night as it sounds like y’all had another great Wings night. So looking forward to the next Glasgow WoW, which was mooted for after the election in May, when we will hopefully be celebrating another step in the demise of the rainbow Tories, blue, red + yellow. πŸ™‚

As it’s Easter Sunday, this apt wee tune goes out to Wingers everywhere:
    Roll Away The Stone by Mott the Hoople, (in case my link doesn’t work and you have to google it). πŸ˜‰

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LHVa9T8JN3o

175. Thepnr

Shame you didn’t make it TJenny, still there will always be another chance. I vote for Yes City Dundee next time!

Good tune by the way πŸ™‚

176. TJenny

Hi Thepnr and thanks for tune appro. πŸ™‚

Well wherever the next night out will be, I hope it’s somewhere I can get a latish train home.

xxs ’til next time. πŸ™‚

177. X_Sticks

Well, that was another braw Wings get together, in the words of the organiser “Hoots tae yez aw'”

@Ian Brotherhood says:

“it’s quite obvious that the raffle was rigged. As far as I could tell, X-sticks won everything.”

I only claimed the star prize – the signed Standard flag πŸ˜€

And if you want to win the raffle buy the tickets! πŸ˜‰

178. Ian Brotherhood

@X-sticks –

Only joshing. I did buy two strips anyway. Probably as well I didn’t win any bevvy…

πŸ™‚

179. Kishorn Commando

Great night great company, Michael, Lynn, Cearc, Ian B, Ronnie etc. But the music, not a patch on Inverness pubs!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hxs0eORPK6Q

180. Dave McEwan Hill

Talking of flags it’s time we started getting up more and more Saltires. They now are a powerful political statement.
    We can get a 5ft x 3ft polyester SALTIRE (sleeved with two brass eyelets) to anybody in UK for Β£3.50 (which includes p&p)

A cheque to YES COWAL sent to Forward, 186 Argyll Street, Dunoon PA23 7HA will get you one by return.

181. Paula Rose

Hi Dave – can I put that on twitter?

182. chasanderson200

Valerie
    Tell Ian B I shall donate another bottle of Glenmorangie to the next raffle so he has another chance to win one.

ALL other wingers
    A great night and I look forward to the next one,- GLENROTHES or DUNDEE perhaps. As a wingers first timer it was wonderful to meet you all (or at least as many as I could)

Paula Rose- I said a few days ago that you were beginning to scare me. I was absolutely SPOT ON.

All the best to one and all and hope to see you at the next bash.

Chas

183. chasanderson200

Kishorn Commando
    In an earlier post I suggested Glenrothes or Dundee but having worked in Inverness for 12years until recently I would love an excuse to go back and renew old acquaintances in the Gellions,Tarry Ile, Glenalbyn and nunumerous other watering hole I used to frequent.

184. Bob Sinclair

Just coming up for air after last night’s shenanigans – as ever, a cracking night with great people & conversation (and I won a Wings Raffle) ?
    Thanks all involved in organising. I’m sure Waxys didn’t know what hit them.

185. Thepnr

@chasanderson200

Somebody last night also mentioned the possibility of a WOS night in Inverness, I think it was Nanas husband Norman.

Sorry you couldn’t make it Nana, Inverness is a a good idea, we should bring WOS to you πŸ™‚

186. Dave McEwan Hill

Paula Rose at 6.38

No problem
    Dave

187. X_Sticks

Just came across this on twitter courtesy of Bill Beattie
    (@billbanjos)and thought you lot might like it:

Bobby Nicholson: It wisnae me

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D0mrCO_sGw0&feature=youtu.be&app=desktop

188. FairFerfochen

Watched you lot at the WOS night and Cadogans talk re ideas

Don’t know if anyone else tuned in to Scotland’s phone-in on Northsound this morning but it was jaw dropping stuff.

The level of ignorance about Scottish affairs was the worst I’ve heard in a long while, worse even than K wi an E.

They’re showcasing all party leaders over the next five Sundays with Wullie Rennie on next week.

I tried calling in today to ask Patrick Harvie about something but didn’t get through.

Have looked for the audio but can’t locate.

From todays form it look like it’s going to be an uphill struggle folks.

Maybe some wingers would like to call in? I forget the number but they reapeat it throughout the show 11am – 1pmu

Somebody needs to put some sense into the programme.

189. Ian Brotherhood

Basement Jaxx, ‘Oh My Gosh’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gOEHefkds2w

190. Ian Brotherhood

Special thanks to Gillian and Heather for doing the raffle – great stuff. Β£150 goes to Indylive, and Gillian’s organising the payment.

Gillian also brought a stack of commemorative Friends of Wings beermats, many of which were secreted away – very special souvenirs.

191. Thepnr

Yes, Gillian, I secreted away a Wings Over Glasgow beer mat that is now in my little box of treasures together with my wee badge made specially for the night by Pete the Camera.

Thank you Gillian and Pete

192. Ian Brotherhood

Aye, as Thepnr rightly points out, the badges were a bit special too. Must’ve been a proper chore doing them all individually, but they’re braw.

193. Quinie frae Angus

What a braw night, as ever, with the Wings people. Loved seeing old faces and meeting new ones!

Thanks very much to Nana – in the raffle I won a beautiful blue ammonite-design necklace handcrafted by you, and I’m fair chuffed with it.

Thanks also to Pete the Camera, who escorted me right to my door in Carnoustie in his chariot, accompanied by Brian Doon-the-toon.

There really is nothing like Wings night for feeding the soul and fuelling the passion. For Indy, obviously!

194. Math Campbell

Was lovely to meet new folks yesterday (and reacquaint old friends). Very interesting chat about the Inform Scotland thing, look forward to seeing new media in Scotland…

195. Quinie frae Angus

Special thanks to Ian Brotherhood for organising it in the first place; Ruglonian and HevvaBeccyWoss (? I think?) for organising the raffle and the other treats.

There were others I would love to mention but I cannot remember their Wings “handles”!!

196. Ian Brotherhood

Yesterday, on Off The Ball, Stuart Cosgrove mentioned Joe Frazier being a pretty good singer. Here’s the song he liked:

Joe Frazier, ‘First Round Knockout’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NBfFrcQKXEg

197. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood You surpassed yourself wie that venue,ah always wanted tae visit ah higglie pigglie wendy hoose lol.

Im sorry I could,nt stay longer to talk to everyon but I have to shake of this bug.

Are Cactus n Dixie ok,did thay make it back.

Sos you did,nt make it Nana.

198. Thepnr

@Quinie frae Angus

I’m just surprised that you even remember being there LOL πŸ™‚

199. ronnie anderson

@ Ruglonian & Heavabeccy

Thanks for the wee gifts Girls, the car sticker will be on my new vehicle on Tues, well new auld lol.

200. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie A –

Didn’t realise you were under the weather.

I have a vague memory of seeing and speaking to two of you, and you both looked well.

201. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood Noo that goes doon in the annals of Wings Funnies lol.

202. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Nice wee clip of Frazier v Ali there in your earlier post.

It reminded me of the most extraordinary boxing match I’d ever seen. Ken Buchanan was undisputed World Lightweight Champion holding both the WBA and WBC titles.

This clip is not about Ken though, it is about the man that defeated him in 1972, Roberto Duran to become the Lightweight Champion.

Duran later defeated another great boxer in June 1980 after stepping up in weight, he beat Sugar Ray Leonard becoming World Welterweight champion which for many was a shock. There was a rematch in November of that year and then this happened!

The most astonishing thing I’ve ever saw in a boxing match, Duran “Hands of Stone” humiliated No Mas!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_gmZn9YlXs

203. Ian Brotherhood

There’s definitely something about being hungover and specific music – I’m a total sap for this, brings a tear to the eye every time.

Hamish Maccunn, ‘Land Of The Mountain & The Flood Overture’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2-F5dmRV5Bc

204. CameronB Brodie

Cadogan Enright
    It was good to meet up in Glasgow, if very briefly. Wish we could have chatted longer, as I wish with everyone else I was fortunate to chat with. I don’t think I even managed to chat with a tenth of those attending. Next time, eh?

Re. print buying. I’ll set up an e-mail specifically to communicate with Inform Scotland. Until then, would it be indiscreet to ask what sort of project budgets you can envisage and how often would you think they would be launched?

ronnie anderson
    I thought there was someone at the Glasgow bash who looked awfy like you. Is he a clipe as well? πŸ™‚

205. ronnie anderson

@ Cameron B Whit me clipein naw it must hiv been that ither fella that IanB seen lol.

206. Ian Brotherhood

Aha!

Turns out Thistle and the Indylive peeps have been doing a wee bit moonlighting, eh?

Check this out:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=igp9sJkuAnU

207. terry

Any plans for a WOS meeting in Aberdeen?

208. Michael McCabe

Had a great time at the wings over Glasgow shindig. Met a lot of new people and some I had already met before. So would like to say Thanks for a Great day out. A Special Mention to Thepnr for making my Weekend a Memory I will carry with me Forever. Cheers Alex Anyway the title of this song is how I feel about you all. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gFGpCLAQoq0&feature=player_detailpage Lynn says she loves ye all

209. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Didn’t imagine I’d watch all 8 minutes of that but it was brilliant πŸ™‚

210. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

I knew you would post something different and a bit special. No way I would ever have seen that. Loved it.

211. chasanderson200

Ian Brotherhood
    Land of the mountain and the flood – used as Sutherlands Law theme in the days when BBC made decent programmes, it still brings a tear tae ma een – the music that is (not the effin bbc).

AN inspirational piece of Music!!!!

212. Ian Brotherhood

@chasanderson200 –

Indeed.

This is gonny appear properly sappy, big-time, but can you imagine Hampden, full, giving it the following, with a wee bit tweaking to the lyrics? It would be magnificent…

Dido, ‘White Flag’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-fWDrZSiZs

213. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Finally got round to processing and uploading the pics from last night. They’re just general wandering about, clicking the button. Any artistic achievement is accidental.

Don’t know who the last guy is – he wandered in, asked where Paula Rose was, then made himself at home, as you’ll see. The pics are here:-

http://imgur.com/a/Ntjef

I’ve got to say a big THANK YOU to X_Sticks for the wee present he gave me. It was much appreciated and will be well cherished.

214. cearc

Kishorn,

Great, so glad you’ve offered to organise an Inverness do.

When’s it to be?

215. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Some great pics there Brian πŸ™‚

216. Brian Doonthetoon

Sometime in summertime for Inverness…

Kishorn – you could check out this venue:-

https://www.jdwetherspoon.com/hotels/scotland/highland/the-kings-highway

Oh, and 6-7 weeks notice is good for booking hotel rooms and so on.

217. cearc

Ian,

‘moonlighting’? Thistle pops out and does that before breakie in the morning.

218. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon & Pete the Camera
    I hadn’t spotted the detail in the badge design, without my glasses. Very funny. Thanks guys.

219. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

It was a great pleasure to meet you and Lynn and I hope we’ll meet again soon, wherever it may be.

Please convey my thanks to Lynn for the wee dance – there wasn’t much dancing going on, but I’m so glad I got the chance for a wee boogie before taking my Guinness-bloated body homeward. It was proper braw…

220. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

That’s why he has a lean & hungry look about him all the time. It’s the adrenaline rush, all that stuff…

πŸ™‚

221. cearc

Ian,

Nah, just a wee bit of relaxed quiet time before gearing up to feed the weans.

222. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Oor ain ‘Thistle’ is one of my (very few) real-life heroes.

I have two children, and if either of them turn out anything like him then I’ll die happy, job done.

Seriously.

223. Tam Jardine

Great night last night- thanks to all but especially Ian B.

Superb seeing so many friends and meeting some new ones. A few notable absentees… will hopefully catch up again soon.

224. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    A wee thank you.

Wilko Johnson – Bottle Up & Go
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tU3I6FXbNGg

225. Cactus

@ronnie anderson ~

Hi aye, we made it back eventually, was a long haul in the waiting room.. so looking forward to meeting up with all the past and present Wingers too, dangalas!

Ach well, here’s to the future.. our future.. Scotland’s future πŸ™‚

‘Whiskey’ and You ~ Chris Stapleton (Genre: Country)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eE6YTaFmsQ4

Cheers everybuddy.

226. Betty Boop

@ Ronnie
    @ Nana
    @Chipmonkey

Hope you are all feeling better now. Missed Nana at WOS Glasgow, but, had a good chat with Kishorn C. Same with Chipmonkey, but, good to see QQ.

Many happy wotsits Ronnie. x

Too many to mention, but, good to see so many Wings folks on Saturday. Inverness sounds good, but, can we make it “summer” whichever day that happens?

227. Betty Boop

@ CameronB Brodie

I’ll remember to wear a badge next time so you recognise me πŸ˜‰

228. CameronB Brodie

Betty Boop
    I’m so embarrassed. I don’t get out much and the night was a bit of a blur of faces. Hope you understand.

That’s my excuse anyway and I’m sticking with it. πŸ™‚

Being a belt and braces sort though, I suppose you could get a badge and I’ll try not be so ignorant next time. πŸ˜‰

229. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

Thanks for the name of that dude you gave me. Very interesting stuff.

And thanks for the Wilko – always a wee treat.
    πŸ™‚

230. Thistle

Doing a test cause my posts keep getting eaten!

231. Thistle

Ok folks, I have been trying to post a link to our new promo video for crowdfunder asking if you will share it. I’ve only 2 days left and we are 63% funded.

Problem I have is I cant post link here for some weird reason. Its on “Scottish Independence Live Events” facebook page, pinned to the top!

If you can help it would be greatly appreciated!

232. Brian Doonthetoon

Let’s see if this link works, Kevin.

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/scottish-election-uk-referendum#/

233. Brian Doonthetoon

It does.

234. Ruglonian

Hi, just to let you know that I’ve donated the funds raised from our raffle on Saturday to Independence Live’s crowdfunder – Β£150, great job folks – but they’re still a bit away from their target with a day left πŸ™

Now, to get Stu’s wee prezzie posted off πŸ˜‰

Oh, that reminds me – John King & Jock Scot – I collected a few bits for you on Saturday, so DM me on Twitter and I’ll get them sent to you x

235. cearc

Ruglonian,

Just a thought. Have you got any bits left for Cactus who was so unfortunately stopped from being there?

236. hevvabeccywoss

A bit late I know but just wanted to say how much I enjoyed the Glasgow, post rally, shindig. Great seeing everyone again and meeting new folks too. Special thanks to everyone who checked up on me when I was feeling rough (and to the lady who gave me chocolate). Sorry I gave you all a fright. I only had three drinks (honest). Been tucked up ever since with a lovely virus. Not sure if it was the virus, the heat or being overwhelmed with all the yes hotties surrounding me in one room πŸ˜‰

Anyway, can’t wait till the next one and hopefully I’ll be fit and dancing again at it.

Luv ya all xxx

237. Ian Brotherhood

@Hevvabeccywoss –

Hope you’re feeling better now.

I hadn’t made the connection between your WOS name and real name, but have now.

Thanks again for all the work on Saturday, especially as you must’ve been feeling wretched. Ye’re a trooper!

238. Chipmonkey

@Betty Boop and everyone,

Not at all chuffed that I missed the get together. Finally feeling a better (if a tad wobbly).

Hope everyone is in fine form. see you in Inverness ?

xx

239. hevvabeccywoss

@Ian Brotherhood

I was glad to help. Really pleased with how much we made for Indy live, just sorry you didn’t win a prize (maybe next time). I actually felt ok most of the night. Just really warm.

Thanks for finding the venue. Another successful event.
    πŸ™‚

See ya soon

240. Thepnr

This song is undoubtedly a favourite of Nicola and Alex by one of the best female singers currently around.

It’s a favourite of mine too so unashamedly I’m posting it here for all you fellow travellers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CWZBKd98Nq0

It’s got the subtitles and the meaning is clear, the song is clearly all about Scottish Independence πŸ™‚ Well at least pretty close.

“We could have had it all”

Next time. Eh!

241. Thistle

LIVE 5PM: John McTernan being interviewed by Michael Gray.

Joint collaboration with Independence Live, KILTR and CommonSpace.

If you want to send questions goto the Indy Live livestream channel to watch, or goto KILTR channel.

We done it you know! Thank people for all the help with crowdfunder πŸ™‚

242. CameronB Brodie

Here’s some popcorn r&b for all those who are happy that it is voters of another country, who determine Scotland’s future.

Ray Rivera – Troubles Troubles
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9BbQuesbic

#DemocraticDeficit #Evolution #MassExtinctionEvent

243. Tam Jardine

hevvabeccywoss

Aye- a braw night out in Glasgow. I too have been a shadow of my former self ever since with all kinds of shitey symptoms. Nae blame!
    Well done with the raffle- Thistle and the boys at indylive are doing a sterling job.

Take it easy- hope you are over the worst of it by now

244. Ian Brotherhood

@Tam Jardine –

‘Twas a real pleasure to finally meet you t’other night – thanks for the pint! That’s one I owe you.

I’m more determined than ever that we should have an open-mike night so that I can find out what you had up your sleeve!

πŸ™‚

245. Paula Rose

So that’s where my snake got to!

246. Brian Doonthetoon

So Nana and Kishorn Commando…

How are the plans for ‘Wings Over Inverness’ in the summer coming along?

https://www.jdwetherspoon.com/hotels/scotland/highland/the-kings-highway

247. Tam Jardine

Ian Brotherhood

Was a pleasure Ian… will get round to posting something on that subject. I hate a build up… I lose confidence too easily.

Anyway- enjoy your week.

Watching Fellini’s 8 and a half on DVD: not sure what brought it to mind but was there ever a better film? I think I have yet to see one better. Salute

248. Ian Brotherhood

Just watched this right through…

Funny, aye, in parts, and huge nostalgia value, but what a fascinating document altogether.

Total Phd material, if it hasn’t been done already.

Great to see it gathered together like this.

‘The Phantom Raspberry Blower of Old London Town’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TWTnQRYZ3jc

249. Michael McCabe

is this where I left those Coconut Skins ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fNS8hY6vPEc&feature=player_detailpage

250. Paula Rose

Music for today…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x28Il3P2q0Q

251. Ian Brotherhood

Have you ever see David Byrne in his big suit?

Talking Heads, ‘Girlfriend Is Better’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kuoiRr6hLjg

252. Ian Brotherhood

…and here he is more recently.

David Byrne & St. Vincent, ‘I Should Watch TV’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j70Bg19AAzU

253. Paula Rose

Battle of the DJs who are not talking to each other tonight – take that…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oiO7jieJopw

254. Brian Doonthetoon

My wee music offering for tonight…

A rare example of Scottish cross country dancing/Reggae fusion.

It’s an mp3 so you’ll probably have to click, download, then play.

Well worth the clicks…

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/myoozack/AlastairMacDonald-Lets-Foot-It-Out-64kbps.mp3

255. Ian Brotherhood

@PR & BDTT –

πŸ™‚

256. Brian Doonthetoon

The DEFINITIVE version of Paula Rose’s offering…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5zN2wWGbGyM

257. Paula Rose

Played this at my Mum’s funeral…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TknY89kECq0

258. Thepnr

Hey Paula Rose funerals are always hard, good pick for your mum with Johnny Thunders πŸ™‚ guess that was down to you.

I chose this for my fathers, fuck all these hymns.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jh169rVMveA

259. Paula Rose

Thepnr XXX

260. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr & Paula Rose,

It’s a touchy subject, but when I croak it I want my shell given to ‘medical science’, and some students can learn something.

If there’s a send-off for me I want abody to get properly plastered, and if they really feel the need to sing a song to ‘remember’ me and aw the rest that have gone before, they can do this – it’s brief and happy:

πŸ™‚

The Corries, ‘We’re No Awa ae Bide Awa’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QLdUNqYclpM

261. Paula Rose

Can I have first dibs Ian? Want to have a bit to remember you by.

262. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Of course you can, and thanks for expressing an interest in the preservation of my mortal bits and bobs.

I will instruct my executors to allow you to have any part or parts of me which can be carried away in a Pringles tube. (I have a feeling that the bit you covet will not be thus transportable…)

263. Paula Rose

*waves* I’ve got a “smarties” tube at the ready.

264. Paula Rose

I won’t tell anyone it’s the normal size one rather than the Noel special.

265. Ian Brotherhood

‘Smarties’ is a Rowntree product.

This conversation is hereby terminated.

266. Paula Rose

Ooo touchy!

267. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

If you insist on using that container I can offer: my two wee-est toes; earlobes; twenty-five toenail clippings – all cocooned within approx 9 cubic centimetres of hairs.

That’s a fair shout, eh?

268. Paula Rose

Yes Dear *sharpens knife knowing all to well*

269. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Back off ya bam, ah’m no deid yet…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GG5MD_OvkTw

270. Brian Doonthetoon

Aye, Ian B, you’re ‘Cock O’ The South-west’, iye?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9qM1IkXFAQ0

271. Paula Rose

You will be if you listen to that twaddle.

272. Paula Rose

All I do is in vain…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vQAjQjfXRrA

273. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

πŸ™‚

I remember singing that, as a very wee wean:

Aunty Mary had a canary
    Up the leg ay her drawers
    And when she farted
    Doon it darted
    Poor Auntie Mary!

274. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Typing about childhood rhymes…

We were singing this at an early age:-

Nairobi, Nairobi,
    Sittin’ in the loabie,
    Playin’ wie yir t…..

So I checked on YouTube. I was six or seven. Already corrupted.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pMnKKvyZq04

275. chasanderson200

BDTT
    Powrie Brae berry picking songs of the 50s and 60s! We had sweary word versions of almost every chart song of the day.
    Who can ever forget the opening line of the Manfred Man song –
    “On our plot I got my #@Β£% off a flamingo”.
    Fill in the missing word to suit yourself.

No song was safe but we had to be careful in case there were any family groups out nabbling(berry picking) for the day.

We ended up banned from a few farms which impacted badly on our cash flow so that we had no money to go to the Royal or the Broadway at night.

Happy daze indeed.

276. Paula Rose

The latest from the adorable Yew Choob…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UUbMq8d5Dtw&feature=youtu.be

277. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Thanks for that, saw your shoes too πŸ™‚

Jock Scot, Nicola might gie ye a medal for that timely one. Hope you and Ninja are doing well.

278. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I haven’t even thanked you yet for organising the last do, so here’s my wee dedication to you.

It’s meant as a compliment and you’ll like the pictures too, well at least I did, now I’m just assuming mutter mutter mutter….

279. Thepnr

Would have been a good idea to include the link πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qCdHW9tULHM

280. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Hoots mon, that was a good one.

πŸ™‚

281. Thepnr

I reckon I’m getting really soft as I get older.

So just to show a bit of a harder edge haha here’s Lemmy with Hawkwind years before Moterhead came into existence.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yao_T2adl14

282. Paula Rose

Wouldn’t be the same would it…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fC7PEQnjKl4

283. Brian Doonthetoon

An almost prescient offering from Yew Choob there.

Good stuff, Jock and Ninja!

——————–

Never knew the B52’s did ‘Paperback Writer’…

——————–

And the first person seen on stage in the Hawkwind video is Stacia… She got Hawkwind banned from the Caird Hall for ever more, for dancing around on stage in the nuddie. Scandal in the Courier next day, with various councillors suffering from apoplexy.

It was a great night!

284. Thepnr

That brought a wee smile to my face, still listening to it while I type this lol.

Hows this for nostalgia?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2x8PLjvmiIw

285. Thepnr

Hey BDTT I would love to hear more about Stacia πŸ™‚

Sure it’s the same lassie? lol

286. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Stacia was a legend. At the Caird Hall, she came on stage first in a kaftan then, later in the gig, came on stage without it.

“Stacia joined the band in 1971; however accounts vary as to how and why she began working with the band. Liner notes to In Search of Space indicate that poet and lyricist Robert Calvert recruited her for live shows; other sources state that she was a friend of Nik Turner, saxophonist and flautist for the band.

In 2012, Turner told Mojo Magazine, “I met Stacia for the first time at the Isle of Wight… She said, “Can I dance with you?” and I said, “Yeah, but you must take off all your clothes and paint your body.” She took all her clothes off but unfortunately I didn’t have any body paint. That was like her audition.””

That’s from the Wikipedia page.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stacia

As far as I’m aware. Stacia was their ‘interpretative dancer’ at the time of the Caird Hall gig. See also,

http://retrodundee.blogspot.co.uk/2009/07/when-dundee-banned-hawkwind-1972.html

Here’s a quote from it:-

“37 years ago, in July 1972, Hawkwind played a gig at the Caird Hall that resulted in them being banned from Dundee straight after the show!

What caused the commotion was not so much the band, but their female dancer, Stacia, who liked to perform naked on stage. The concert, surprise surprise, made the headlines next day and produced a rather amusing sideshow.
    It turns out that they had actual procedures in place at Caird Hall to prevent such an “incident” occurring, but it didn’t go to plan on the night.”

It’s worth reading the rest of that article and the btl comments.

287. Paula Rose

Boys could you please tidy up.

288. Jock Scot

Hi.

Thanks to BDTT for giving me a kick up the ass. The amount of scrolling that I had to do was shocking and even a guid thrashing or stroking from Paula couldn’t cleanse me. Sorry I missed Glasgow but the YEW CHOOB initial idea regarding Care in the Community has encompassed me since November in a way I could never have imagined. Hope you are all well. @Thepnr, a bar of chocolate or a ‘fancy’ coffee would be fine from Nicola. Ninja is as sharp as ever as can be heard.

289. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jock.

You typed,
    “Thanks to BDTT for giving me a kick up the ass.”

I’m lost. How did I do that?

290. JGedd

Sorry this is really off-topic but just wanted to tip you off that I think I know who NeoconNat is, posting on the other thread. He used to post on Bella Caledonia under various pseudonyms such as the GreatBigHoo or whatever.

I lost count of the number of times he changed his pseudonym. He was very tiresome and just came on to be belligerent and contemptuous. I recognise the aggressive attack and the same constantly re-iterated themes. His sole object seems to be to berate those whom he identifies as lefties. People stopped engaging with him on Bella since there was no debate just an excuse for him to indulge his aggressive views in safe forums.

Just a warning. Don’t indulge him. Ignore him, he is simply there to insult and denigrate. He begins by purporting to be something he is not – in this case, a Nationalist! That’s how he tempts people in.

Sorry to interrupt your conversation, just thought it as well to warn people who post on Wings. Some of you might have twigged anyway from his postings on the main thread.

291. Ian Brotherhood

@JGedd –

Cheers for the heads-up. He’s a tiresome prick right enough…

292. Paula Rose

Sure is – that’s why I’m sitting here playing on twitter.

293. Ian Brotherhood

If you’re in the mood to have your spine tingled, this is the very dab…

Gil Scott-Heron, ‘Me And The Devil’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OET8SVAGELA&list=PLRzdMCYnDofpoL4OLARKCEJJMsoeF38uo

294. Ian Brotherhood

Old art-school buddy worked in’t Glasgow shipyards with a guy whose nickname was ‘The Exorcist’ – you knew if he’d been in your house cause all the spirits would’ve disappeared.

Moms Mabley, ‘Hide The Whiskey’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RV7Gmk3Pos4

295. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Have you posted this before?

This may be a different version…

Thin Lizzy, ‘Whiskey In The Jar’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TehFZ38kt6o

296. Jock Scot

@Brian

You got in touch via Facebook which prompted me to…och Bri, remember I’m the Choob.

297. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jock.

That must have been ages ago? I thought you meant in the past few days. All I’d done recently was post the link to your latest video on three pro-indy FB pages.

298. CameronB Brodie

It’s funny how the previously undesirable often becomes appealing when unobtainable, or maybeez not. I can’t make my mind up.

Painted Ship – Frustration
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RM2yCE7rh5g

299. David

This week’s theme song:
    “Offshore Banking Business” by The Members (1979)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UXKak8AzBpg

It’s only taken the corporate media THIRTY-BLOODY-SEVEN YEARS to catch up with a punk band from Surrey!

300. Ian Brotherhood

For some this will be memory-lane material. For most others it’ll just be a record of misery.

‘Glasgow’ by Raymond Depardon –

301. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Not much has changed even now I suspect, sure there may be better housing now with less damp, overcrowding etc. There is no means testing for those that were desparate as there was then. I would never argue though that for those in the video anything much has really improved.

For many, it could even be worse now what with benefit sanctions and foodbanks abundant, yet Labour have been in charge in Glasgow for a gazillion years and so little has changed.

It’s time for change, time for the average Scot to demand change and make a real difference. I believe we are on that road.

Glaswegians are well known for fighting governments in their demands for better throughout history, look at the Red Clydesiders for example. Some progress of course was made in terms of welfare and the NHS but for decades now it seems we have been going backwards in terms of progression.

The fight for Independence has changed that backwards progress, there is a lot at stake. I trust Nicola Sturgeon and Alex Salmond to deliver. I’m determined to do what I can to help them achieve that. Once free of the shackles of Westminster rule a new debate will begin, this is one of the reasons that I am currently pissed off with RISE who would rather fight the SNP and that’s before the job is even done.

Independence is the ONLY way to make a difference, until then there is nothing but Tory rule Red or Blue, bias media lying through their teeth and rich tax dodging troughers feeding on the flesh of the poorest.

I detest the UK political system and those it serves. I detest the Bullingdon Boys. I detest Eton, Harrow, Oxford and Cambridge.
    I detest the cronyism for those that graduate from these places and I detest the nepotism in big business, the media and banking.

Voting Yes meant getting rid of all that in Scotland and starting anew. At least that is what I believe. I believe because I think for a while at least people like us will make sure of that.

I don’t mind dreaming of a better future even if labelled a dreamer.

302. Paula Rose

@ Thepnr – I’d call it being a realist, dreamers believe in the Union.

303. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Paula Rose – Maths lesson? You mean to say that I spent valuable curry cooking time looking for unsolveable quadratic equations? πŸ™‚

On a more pertinent note re. boxes of 240? wee black books. Does anyone know the weight per box? I have a desire, nay ah fetish which involves pulleys and soft ropes.

The reason for my question is thinking ahead to a very quick and intensive distribution of the WBlackB as far as the Highlands & Islands. [Oft forgot]. Weight would determine axle loading blah blah blah.

Hope u are well brother.

Arch

304. Paula Rose

Good point – kendomacaroonbar’s print run was packaged the same way and was the same weight – he could probably tell you.

305. Thepnr

Each box is around 10 to 11kg so fairly heavy.

306. Paula Rose

Forgot to say – Or ask our resident engineer.

307. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Actually calculated it as 10.8kg without the cardboard but was too shy to say πŸ™‚

308. Paula Rose

Light under a bushel time again?

309. Thepnr

Which reminds me lol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vm3KZSe0J70

310. Thepnr

Thought i should play an Off Topic clip specially for the Rev. Yeah I’m a sook but think you’ll like it too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nTasT5h0LEg

311. kendomacaroonbar

Guys,

The Wee Black Book is being printed in our A4 iScot Magazine May issue.

To guarantee a copy you need to order via our website as we are not in a position to print speculative copies due to the cost of production.

We are offering large discounts to those who wish volume purchases – again – details are on the website.

The Rev has made the artwork available for download free of charge (62 pages A5) the iScot WBB will be a double front coverA4 (WBB = 20 pages) – beautifully printed in a quality finish – something that will be a limited edition keepsake

The box of 50 will be 15 Kilos per carton –

E mail me at ken(at)iscot(dot)iScot if you have any questions.

Yours aye

Kendo

312. Thepnr

Ken your post took a wee while to appear or I missed it.

Are you saying that the WBB2 will be the entire edition of the May magazine or a supplement or part of the magazine?

313. kendomacaroonbar

@thepnr

The WBB2 will be printed within our may issue. Our magazine is larger than the a5 format of the wwb so we have designed it to fit into 20 pages which will be printed upside down at the back in order that we will have 2 front covers in one magazine – the iScot and at the back and upside down will be the wbb which will have its own front cover(the back page) Hope that makes sense πŸ™‚

314. Thepnr

@kendomacaroonbar

Nope it makes no sense at all but I believe you know what your doing πŸ™‚

Well done again as you will likely be the first to get the WBB2 in print. Might have to buy another subscription for my sister who is moving back from England to Scotland.

Keep up the GREAT work.

315. kendomacaroonbar

@thepnr

Alex, Hold a book in both hands – you are looking at the front cover (iscot mag)

Now, turn the mag over (still with the spine in your left hand) – that will be the front cover of the WBB two books for the price o wan in wan book πŸ™‚

316. Thepnr

OK got it lol. Two for the price of one depending what side you look at?

When do the mags get delivered, is it before the election?

317. Paula Rose

I’m presuming it’s the May edition.

318. kendomacaroonbar

@Paula Rose

Yes we ship at the end of the April

319. K1

I wish I’d got ma subscription of iScot before now, cause it’s brilliant! It’s so good to have a quality magazine in yer actual hands, it’s no the same reading articles online.

Just been reading the many interesting articles in April’s issue. I have a couple of close friends who are archeologists and have been very immersed in projects all over Scotland, perhaps I can suggest (to them) that they write something for iScot and contribute to edumacatin’ us aw on some of their projects, ongoing and past?

Jist a thought πŸ™‚

I’ll be recommending them to get subscriptions too…(forcing them actually…in a kinda persuasive relentless manner πŸ˜‰ )

Great stuff Ken.

320. cearc

I think it will be great to have it in the magazine. It can be given to people outwith a political context.

Folks who may not be so receptive to a political booklet.

321. kendomacaroonbar

@K1

*blush*

322. Jock Scot

@BrianDTT

I only saw your FB comment about a half an hour before I posted here so time got in the way,(or Labour if you tangentially jump in on the IB and Thepnr exchange) and whilst I am doing an impersonation of Willie Rennie flip-flopping…
    @Ken.. I seem to remember going thro’ a subscription process but I have also been missing from your sub list. I’ll make amends.

Hi..everyone else..hope you are all well.

323. Paula Rose

Waves ecstatically at JockScot cos he is my babe!

324. Oneironaut

Not much to say, just dropping off a music link before heading off to sleep.

Dedicating this one to the “North Britain Labour Party Branch Office”.
    The title seems oddly appropriate for them!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JTTwlAT_AwU

325. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Good to see you dropping in mister.

Hoots aplenty!

326. Ian Brotherhood

This page appears to be mine – all mine!! – so I’m just doing my own thing until I get rumbled…

The Pogues, ‘The Broad Majestic Shannon’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUN6286JlRM

327. Ian Brotherhood

Two greats, getting near the end, but giving it laldy. Whoever’s idea it was to do this is a genius…

James Brown & Luciano Pavarotti, ‘It’s A Man’s World’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Febr_t_qa9U

328. Ian Brotherhood

The Tartan Army in Paris –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mZGVCjf6B8c

329. Ian Brotherhood

‘…tae see oursels as ithers see us…’

Russ Abbot on Des O’Connor –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_Cg7bS7XXI

330. Ian Brotherhood

…and you can understand why, when you hear this.

Chic Murray –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kC7bQgX6kVc

331. Paula Rose

I’ve got my eye on you Dear.

332. Ian Brotherhood

Document of historical interest for social anthropologists:

Rikki Fulton –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oUXhW3JC9Zw

333. Ian Brotherhood

‘Real’ comedy…

Poor wee sowel…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4pr4xPAJAAQ

334. cearc

Ian, spotted you here this morning.

335. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

πŸ™‚

There’s not much gets past you…

Seriously, if I drag my missus and weans up thereabouts at some point this summer, could we meet for a pint?

336. Jock Scot

Returns the wave in a hat-doffing manner and blows a kiss at Paula

337. Cactus

Here’s another Rikki Fulton video sketch.. check out the surprise ending! Nice one Rikki.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMecf6jUhAU

27 days to go (and counting..)

338. cearc

Ian,

Absolutely, could do some accommodation as well.

339. Lollysmum

Just catching up on O/T & found this.

“JGedd says:
    3 April, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Sorry this is really off-topic but just wanted to tip you off that I think I know who NeoconNat is, posting on the other thread. He used to post on Bella Caledonia under various pseudonyms such as the GreatBigHoo or whatever.

I lost count of the number of times he changed his pseudonym. He was very tiresome and just came on to be belligerent and contemptuous. I recognise the aggressive attack and the same constantly re-iterated themes. His sole object seems to be to berate those whom he identifies as lefties. People stopped engaging with him on Bella since there was no debate just an excuse for him to indulge his aggressive views in safe forums.

Just a warning. Don’t indulge him. Ignore him, he is simply there to insult and denigrate. He begins by purporting to be something he is not – in this case, a Nationalist! That’s how he tempts people in.

Sorry to interrupt your conversation, just thought it as well to warn people who post on Wings. Some of you might have twigged anyway from his postings on the main thread.”

Have to say I agree both he & Sutherland completely took over last night’s thread by going after one or other regular posters for hours on end. Working in tandem maybe? Was this the night shift?

Can’t be arsed posting when trolls are about trying to divert the thread. Life’s too short πŸ™‚

340. Lollysmum

Flippin’ ‘eck cearc-do you ever sleep? Posting at 4.34am sheesh πŸ™‚

341. cearc

Lollysmum,

It’s a night anti-nap. The opposite of a daytime nap.

Sleep for a few hours, get up, potter about, eat and drink and then back to sleep again.

342. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

πŸ™‚

You’re very kind indeed. Please message me if you get a minute ianbhood@gmail.com and that’l be the first step!

Hoots aplenty and thanks amuch!

343. K1

Isn’t ‘trolling’ so much as ‘assaulting’, ‘insulting’, ‘inciting’, ‘bullying’, ‘denigrating’.

Never encountered this in social interactions ‘on the street’, so tae speak, rarely if ever on Wings. This isn’t a ‘typical’ troll. This is ‘hate’. Hate zooming in on targets.

Lollysmum, he ‘went after’ Sutherland. Has been for the last few days. IanB tackled Sutherland for a comment about the BBC not being ‘smoking gun’ biased and IanB produced prof Robertson’s evidence at committee tae make his points. Sutherland backtracked along the lines of ‘what I meant to say’ was that of course they are biased but he was actually saying he didn’t ‘think’ there should be BBCbaaad as it wis as counter productive as SNPbaaad.

There was also a point he was trying tae make about not tarnishing all journalists, like MacWhirter and Bateman wi the same bias. Some posters disagreed wi that assessment. One in particular called ‘Bill’ commented along the lines ‘they’re aw the same including MacW and Bateman (paid up Team GB, or some such). Sutherland referred in a follow on post to that comment as ‘mindless’ and in a sense he cited as an example of what his original point was.

The posts are overlapping, and we’ve aw learned tae follow the interweaving of subjects under discussion interspersed wi misunderstandings etc. IanB wisnae fur dancin’ on pinheads wi Sutherland, and said he was gonnae leave him tae his fate wi others (Neoconat)…wi his partin’ shot: ‘and may God have mercy on your soul.’

That indicates Sutherland and the Tory are not hand in hand.

What followed was an assault by the Tory on Sutherland. As IanB had intimated…there’s nothing Sutherland was going to say now that could ‘save’ him from what had already begun during the overlaps of dialogue between Sutherland and IanB. The Tory went into full scale crushing and ridiculing of the man and blatantly distorting what he had actually said he utilised throughout the terms ‘we’ and ‘us’ as a form of inciting ‘group’ attack, not upon Suthrland’s argument, but upon Sutherland himself.

yesindyref2 attempted an intervention, ‘not in my name’, deaf ears. Sutherland was upset, you could feel it, it was in fact disgraceful what took place last night on that thread.

I’m beginning to understand that not everyone follows all the comments which of course is impossible and understandable, a very real downside to that is that people like this Tory can in essence do ‘drive by’ assaults like this, and then we’re on tae the next subject or thread.

Even on the current thread, the Tory mentions Sutherland’s name in his first comment. Does naebdy wonder about that?

Discussing and disagreeing wi each other’s opinions and outlooks is one of the by products on this site, but we all, I think, share a common purpose, we are aw involved in scrutinisng ‘narratives’ and sussing out the motives of those who are against Scotland’s self determination. I also feel it beholds us tae remain ‘alert’ tae the narratives of those commenting and to really examine our own ‘blindspots’ seeing only what we want to see on Wings btl too.

Ah cannae emphasise enough how utterly scunnered I was last night, y’could almost begin tae think about not commenting on Wings for ‘fear’ of reprisals.

Hmmm, got tae hand it tae him…’class’ act.

344. K1

For the record indyref2 urged IanB to re read the comments. But, God have mercy on his soul…he didn’t.

345. Paula Rose

Listen Dears – I’m just getting the dansette ready.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_qGEmFTZzCU

346. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

That was very very good. Never heard it before.

Bottoms up!

πŸ˜‰

347. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s a wee non-music one, but hoping to pick brains…

Last year I saw buzzards doing this courtship malarkey. At the start of the video you see the pair getting close, but there’s no visible contact. What I saw was two of them interlocking their claws, then dropping like a stone from, I dunno, I guess fifty feet or, and separating so late that I was sure they must’ve hit the deck. And all the while they were being hassled by a raven/crow. It was quite startling to see, and this was right in the middle of Stevenston, in what locals call ‘the Quarry’, a reclaimed industrial site.

Any of youse seen this elsewhere?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R6tNgzU33C4

348. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

I did go back and read what happened afterwards, but I share your frustration.

NeoconNat is doing his best to ingratiate himself from thread to thread, but his calamitous entrance won’t be forgotten by anyone who read it and his choice of moniker is, in itself, a wind-up.

I was probably a bit harsh on Mr Sutherland but he could hardly have announced himself with a more provocative statement.

It would be daft to imagine that we’re not going to get regular visits from all sorts of dodgy characters. The intelligence services wouldn’t be doing their jobs unless they had people keeping a close eye on what we’re saying here, but to actually insert themselves into conversations is another matter. These characters are getting better for one reason only – they have to be good if they’re to enjoy any kind of shelf-life on WOS.

NeoconNat isn’t the first, and sure won’t be the last, but you’re right – he’s good.

349. Oneironaut

I honestly don’t understand why people even respond to the trolls at all.

Why even acknowledge their existence?
    You only give them what they want… A response, an audience, an opportunity.

Anyways, music link of the day:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OH9A6tn_P6g

350. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

You have a knack of selecting tracks with delectable singers…

Anyway, yeah, I see where you’re coming from with the whole ‘troll’ thing, but sometimes it’s really hard to tell. You’ll have your own suspicions about some of the ‘regulars’ we’ve had in the past, as do I, but how do we call-out these borderliners?

Maybe I’m just an old cynic, but the ones I ‘worry’ about (that’s not the right word, but I can’t think of another) are those who appear to be beyond any doubt, are solid regulars, perhaps even attend WOS socials. They’re the best ones by definition – they’re accepted, trusted, and there’s no way of uncovering them.

Who’s to say that I’m not in the pay of MI5?

How would you tell?

πŸ˜‰

351. K1

I ken whit yer saying IanB, and I’m glad am not the only one noticing this particularly nasty ‘insertion’.

I think Mr Sutherland wasn’t ‘meaning’ to be provocative, he was I suppose trying to be ‘nuanced’, which can be difficult in the context of the BBC/MSM. What he did not deserve was that nasty bastard ripping intae him as he (who knows, or cares, I’m just choosing ‘he’ because it’s mair natural than constantly referring to the moniker as ‘it’), tried desperately to explain to you that what he was attempting to convey was in no way meant as ‘provocative’, if ye see whit ah mean.

Agreed they’re amongst us, and there will be many ‘ploys’ to ensure ‘disruption’ or ‘driving’ decent folks away. So do we just ‘ignore’ as Oneirnot and others including myself (have sometimes) advocated?

At what point then do we ‘stand up’ for anyone being ‘assaulted’ as Mr Sutherland was last evening and as others have been over the past few threads when some of the crud that he and those with those views spout is ‘naturally’ challenged on here?

We do ‘discuss’ and at times ‘argue’ the bit with those of differing views, it can be helpful to ‘sword fence’ as a means of refining our arguments etc too. But how do we deal wi a prick like that on a forum like this?

Like ‘herding cats’ to suggest everyone just ‘ignore’ who ‘anyone’ believes tae be an ‘insertion’? Not everyone reads all the comments and not everyone is ‘following’ this ‘storyline’ on here.

How can we reduce the shelf-life of lowlife’s on Wings?

The obvious way is ‘to call them oot’. But look how that’s panning oot on this occasion

Thanks for taking the time to respond Ian.

352. K1

Is the pay good Ian? πŸ˜‰

353. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

Yeah, it’s a tricky one, and I suppose Rev’s made his own position very clear – if we suspect a ‘troll’, just ignore them.

The difficulty arises when you get a character like ****. (Don’t want to name him/her, wouldn’t be fair..) who is a good writer, manages to sow division, but withdraws entirely if there’s any danger of them becoming the focus of attention.

I’ve tried to imagine what it might be like to ‘troll’, and do it well, properly, ‘professionally’ if you like. Extraordinarily difficult, and I can’t ascribe that to me being such a nice guy cause I’m not. It involves the kind of mental gymnastics that Orwell was describing via the concept of Doublethink, and, being objective about it, the people who are good at it must be very thin on the ground and command/expect decent remuneration.

Having said all that, what’s always struck me, visiting other political blogs, is the disgusting material which crops up elsewhere. A site like Guido Fawkes for example – it must be one of the longest-established UK political blogs and it’s always busy, but some of the stuff BTL is just jaw-droppingly vile. I have no idea how many comments Rev Stu has to block or remove, but I’ve never had the impression that it’s a big problem on WOS and I wonder why that is? Mind you, that may also explain why the stats for this place continue to rise – no-one wants to have to wade through dozens of rants from the Alf Garnets in the hope of locating something worth reading.

354. Paula Rose

Very nice dears – just doing the washing up.

355. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 (9.05) –

πŸ™‚

I could tell you, but then…

356. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Washing up?

At half-nine on a Friday?

FFS, get a grip, get the Dansette on and pour yourself a Babycham, eh?

Next thing you’ll be banging people’s ankles with that effing Hoover…okay, okay, I know, you don’t have a hoover cause ‘nothing sucks like an Electrolux’…

Jeezo…

357. mike cassidy

Well, Paula, if you must

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2mfRNTFYFQc&nohtml5=False

358. Brian Doonthetoon

Something that’s had my brain glands working overtime for quite a while…

When I have a video on YouTube that I’ve found, then watched and want to share, I highlight everything after the ‘https://’ of the address in the address bar, then copy and paste it.

It usually looks like this:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NUg-6nEsZ1g

Question: In many posts here, where do all the extraneous characters after the actual address, like ‘&nohtml5=False’ (and even longer, starting with &), come from?

BTW: that’s a well-forgotten classic I’ve linked to.

359. K1

Aye, I’d imagined (rightly or wrongly) the opposite, that the Rev has quite the tech set up that he has to ‘prevent’ the site turning into the type of btl bile you refer to. Have often thought the likes of Daily Mail, Scotsman and Guido Fawkes have either ‘plants’ paid to spout btl and that they want to encourage the ‘outrageous’ ‘out/enraged’ mentality to their publications, cause that’s what ‘feeds’ their revenues and their ‘popularity’?

Ye really wouldn’t have tae be much of a ‘writer’ to be that type of ‘troll’ if ye see whit I mean?

Honestly haven’t met much of this ‘mentality’ in my lifetime, and I know that may come across as if I have lived some sheltered life, but I haven’t. So I’ve always suspected that much of what is present btl in these types of publication ‘is’ in ‘fact’ a ‘ruse’. That in essence it is ‘deliberately’ designed to encourage and disseminate those ‘sentiments’ ‘out’ to those who read them.

Then I go a bit further and think that maybe people don’t really appreciate how much they are being ‘infected’ by reading the bile. We are all after all what we eat, see, hear, read, view etc etc. That’s why most of us since the ref have turned the ‘telly aff’ because we started seeing the ‘effect’ it was having on us, the anger it produces etc.

I’ve seen many express coming away from various sites that they commented on, like the Scotsman and saying how much better they feel since doing this. I recall a story, I think from someone on Wings during the ref, that they were getting intae their car or van after shopping which had Yes stickers and the like on it and a man rushed up to them, complete stranger and breathlessly said ‘I’m voting yes now, I stopped reading the Mail.’

I remember feeling so touched by that, so utterly saddened for so many of us (and I do mean us, cause we all have to have our own moments of ‘revelation’ all the way through our life’s about many ‘fixed’ points of views, that need ‘shifted’ for us to mature as human beings), who have been ‘deliberately’ ‘taken in’ by a ‘fabricated’ version of reality. Spoonfed if you will. And for anyone to ‘realise’ that as so many did during the ref, was so heartening to witness in that one example.

I don’t think Wings will ever become like those btl denizens, I think that’s why this stuff gets to me…it’s like someone coming along and shitting on yer picnic. Whit tae dae, tricky right enough.

360. JGedd

I have been away from the keyboard for a day or two. Only catching up by scrolling through comments and was a bit taken aback by the onslaught on Robert Sutherland by our new ” friend”, Neocon.

Since I have come upon your discussion tonight I thought I might join in, if I may. I did mention before on Off Topic that he sounded suspiciously like a troll who used to inhabit threads on Bella. For all I know, he might still be there. He became so disruptive that some regular posters stopped commenting and I gave up, now only reading articles and not bothering with btl comments.

I’m now not 100 percent sure that he is the same one but the technique is rather similar. Ian B you are the writer amongst us and I think that you would be able to work with an imaginative scenario in which perhaps some psychology graduates might consider it amusing to see if they could disrupt a popular site which has developed a community spirit amongst many of its contributors?

When I read Neocon’s comments I imagine I can hear the sniggering from some commonroom/staffroom of a group of Ayn Rand worshippers ( probably young ) who consider themselves to be superior intellects.

Perhaps I am wrong but he does not sound like a genuine supporter of independence. Why would he be so anxious to attack individuals who are supporters of independence like himself? There have been robust exchanges on this site but his contributions are bizarre – at one time appearing to agree and then as if he couldn’t resist, becoming insultingly negative. Notice that he appears to single out individuals for attack, the technique of a domineering bully. Just like the Bella troll.

Anyway, it’s only my opinion. But he has had a negative effect in a relatively short time.

361. K1

How remiss of me not tae leave a wee tune…one of ma ‘heart’ songs…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q5pQxygMRKQ&nohtml5=False

362. Paula Rose

Pack bag – off to the main thread, see you all later.

363. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

There’s something about this site that people respect at a really fundamental level, regardless of how they feel about Stuart Campbell or any of the individual commenters, and I’m not sure what it is.

Could be the format?

We can choose to rant on and on, in the one comment, about this, that or whatever else, and so long as it has decent paragraph breaks and isn’t inciting violence or going wildly O/T within the first twenty-odd comments on any specific thread, fair do’s, it seems to be acceptable; there are no dedicated sub-threads (if that’s the right term) for comments, and no thumbs-up/down options; ‘natural’ cut-off points for all threads as and when something new crops-up.

One thing’s for sure – Rev keeps abreast of all comments submitted. We see it sometimes, when he responds to a comment which has been posted on a weeks-old topic, sometimes within minutes of it appearing.

So, we can be assured that our wee conversation is being read, at some point, by this place’s editor. Who knows? Perhaps he’ll have some thoughts on what we’ve been blethering about, especially how often he has to delete specific comments and/or bar people entirely.

πŸ™‚

And now, back to weird music…

PS Why hasn’t anyone given me their ‘courting buzzard’ stories?

364. JGedd

Sorry if I’ve upset someone. Will leave immediately as I don’t want to be a gate crasher. Enjoy the rest of your night.

365. cearc

Ian B,

Sounds like your birds were having a territorial/pack order dispute. I would guess (I am no expert) that the locked plummet was a ‘see who blinks first’ scenario.

Different but same theme. Last year I watched a pair of sparrow hawks harassing my neighbours pigeons. They separated one off forcing it high into the sky, then one went in for the grab, claws out-stretched and with it mere inches away the pigeon went into a rolling tumble nearly to the ground then shot away to it’s house flying fast and keeping close to the ground.

366. Ian Brotherhood

@Cearc –

Aha!

That puts an entirely new slant on it all.

I assumed they were lovers-to-be and were testing mutual trust etc (as ye do).

But they may have been genuine rivals?

Hmmm…..

I don’t expect to see it ever again, but am glad I did. And the best thing about it is that they didn’t, apparently, give a ‘flying ****’ who was watching.

367. Ian Brotherhood

@JGedd –

You haven’t upset anyone!

If you’re referring to Paula Rose’s ‘flouncing’, please be assured it’s part of the O/T furniture…

πŸ™‚

368. K1

Aye JGedd, agreed ‘he/she has had a ‘negative’ effect in very short period of time, but at least we’re aw aware of it now. Better oot than in. πŸ™‚

369. Michael McCabe

don’t know why I have not played this before. This is for the off topic posse. The Neville Brothers (no not those ones) These ones. Yellow Moon http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O87iUDZGDKs&feature=player_detailpage

370. cearc

Paula Rose was just upset that we were discussing raptors rather than her expertise, raptures.

371. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

I hope that Paula Rose, when she eventually returns, will acknowledge that one.

372. Clapper57

As in intermittent poster on WOS I hope that I am not overstepping the mark but it really pisses me off when people respond to those who are obvious trolls. Golden rule is always Do not feed Trolls, let them rant , talk sheeite and do not interact.

They are not here to have an honest debate , their sole purpose is to bait people on Wings into a response so that they can then belittle them and insult them.

The more you ignore their comments , no matter how distasteful or insulting the more futile and stupid it will be for them to rant on and on and no one then to acknowledge their existence.

They deflect attention away from the topic in hand and try to suppress the debate.

I read the interaction between Mr Sutherland and that idiot , who by the way also insulted Ruby, and was pissed off that it went on for so long , it was sheeite.

Anyone visiting this site for the first time reading that would think WTF is this , and would be intimidated to post a comment.

Trolls seek a reaction, want to provoke arguments and and will feed on anyone who takes the bait and will keep coming back again and again.

There are too many good posters on here and potentially more new posters but this really pisses me off .

It’s bad enough having to contend with all the twitter loony yoons tweets, MSM , BBC , STV and useless Yoon MP’s and MSP’s to have to then read Trolls egocentric smug shit on here.

Let them piss in the wind.

Apologies if I am just reiterating previous comments.

373. Ian Brotherhood

@Clapper57 –

Don’t let the fuckers get to ye, eh?

A decade ago this level of debate simply wasn’t possible.

Now? The elites are being forced to find ways to answer questions. And that’s happening because of places like this, by wee insignificant people like you and me asking questions again and again and again…

We don’t always agree on the best way of doing it, but the main thing is that we keep doing it.

Please keep doing it.

πŸ™‚

374. Clapper57

Hey Ian , you are one of the posters I enjoy reading on here .

As to the f**kers well…there are sheeites everywhere so hey ho.

Particularly dislike Shenshible Dave or as I like to call him Constable Smug .

Anyway cheers , and if there’s a WOS night in Edinburgh in future would be great to finally put faces to some of the wingers chosen pseudonyms.

All the best.

375. yesindyref2

Just thought to check here. Yeah, could someone have a word with stoker who’s been offered “help” by neoconcat? Looks like he’s ready to give email, anme even. Not wise, I think.

376. yesindyref2

@Clapper57
    Yes, but at least sensible doesn’t pretend to be anythin else. In his words he likes politics and for many months politics in Scotland has been THE game in the UK.

377. Stoker

yesindyref2 wrote:
    could someone have a word with stoker who’s been offered β€œhelp” by neoconcat? Looks like he’s ready to give email, anme even. Not wise, I think.”

HAW, tumshie, you let me worry about Stoker, am no as green as am cabbage lookin. And WTF is “anme” when it’s at home?

378. yesindyref2

@Stoker
    I did wonder if you were at it. I’ve seen your style.

“anme”. Umm, ah, I’ve got it:

Army Navy Military Expo

Go easy on the expo bit …

379. K1

Think yesindyref2 might have typoed ‘address’ Stoker. πŸ˜‰

380. Paula Rose

Um – just doing the washing up all welcome, I’ll put the kettle on in a minute.

381. yesindyref2

A little 80s music?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_-0sUuGufmw

382. chasanderson200

Yesindyref2
    Stoker and Neocon

The deal seems to be that neo will get his designer to post a link on here with the solution.

No need for exchange of details.

383. K1

Now that yesindyref2 reminded me of this…Womack & Womack:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R8AOAap6_k4

384. K1

Goodnight folks and in keeping with some topical news this week…this is dedicated to Kezia…yes, you heard me folks… πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F-mjl63e0ms&nohtml5=False

385. cearc

Well, well. Look who’s chums with Uncle Normie, can’t be all bad then.

‘… I am best friends with some of his mentors, and I think that makes a difference on a personal level. Norman Lamont, Michael Howard – these are the people he looks up to, and they tell him, β€˜Be good to Yanis, he’s our mate.’

http://www.buzzfeed.com/albertonardelli/varoufakis-reviews-pictures-of-varoufakis#.gaKroVR2Q

386. Stoker

@ chasanderson200 (2.27am)

Yes, that’s how i understood it Chas. Thanks for the confirmation.
    πŸ˜‰

387. Clapper57

yesindyref2 says:

9 April, 2016 at 1:25 am

“@Clapper57
    Yes, but at least sensible doesn’t pretend to be anythin else. In his words he likes politics and for many months politics in Scotland has been THE game in the UK”.

Indyref2 , He may like politics but he is very condescending and he too has made derogatory comments towards people on here.

Nothing wrong in honest political debate but I suspect that is not his purpose when he comments on here. Sorry but a Troll is a Troll and he definitely fits the mould.

However I do appreciate your point in that you feel he is being honest but I find he contributes nothing to the debates on here and he is more concerned with destroying the arguments/points of others in the very smug superior writing style he adopts to use in his posts on here.

All the best and have a fabby weekend. The sun is now shining in auld reekie ….for now.

388. cearc

Not Uncle Normie of course, wrong Normie.

Note to self, wake up before reading and posting!

389. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    “I’ve tried to imagine what it might be like to β€˜troll’, and do it well, properly, β€˜professionally’ if you like. Extraordinarily difficult, and I can’t ascribe that to me being such a nice guy cause I’m not. It involves the kind of mental gymnastics that Orwell was describing via the concept of Doublethink, and, being objective about it, the people who are good at it must be very thin on the ground and command/expect decent remuneration.”

Most likely good D&D players. The kind of people who can effectively “partition off” a section of their mind in order to think like someone else so well that the secondary personality becomes indistinguishable from the real person.

It can be done surprisingly easy for anyone with the right “mental state”, and I’ve done it before (used to volunteer on a “scambaiter” site, where we’d mess with online scammers using fake personas to basically waste their time and resources that would otherwise go on scamming real people).

MI5 definitely wouldn’t employ me though. I’d be far too dangerous for them on the inside. The temptation to play Trojan Horse and destroy their entire system from within would be far too tempting for me. I’m sure they’re well aware of that. πŸ˜‰

Would be nice to get the kind of wages they can afford to pay though. Might even be able to build myself that new computer I’m trying to scrape together the parts for.
    Would I be able to sleep at nights and look at myself in the mirror in the morning after doing that kind of work though? That’s another story…

Anyways, music link (with delectable singer) of the day:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZEq8nOpgYbA

390. kendomacaroonbar

Peeps,

Just a wee reminder that iScot Magazine are reprinting the Wee Black Book in their May issue (Out 01st May)

We are only going to print sufficient quantities to cover advanced sales demand. You can, of course download the pdf from this WoS web site and print them yourself πŸ™‚

www(dot)iscot(dot)scot

391. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

πŸ™‚

PS What does ‘D&D’ stand for?

392. Ian Brotherhood

Stereo MCs, ‘Black Gold’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=93x3j1pjBJk

393. Stoker

@ IanB

‘D&D’ = Darts & Dominoes? πŸ™‚ More likely Dungeons & Dragons?

394. Stoker

Journey – Don’t Stop Believin (Live in Houston)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VcjzHMhBtf0&nohtml5=False

395. K1

‘Most likely good D&D players. The kind of people who can effectively β€œpartition off” a section of their mind in order to think like someone else so well that the secondary personality becomes indistinguishable from the real person.’

Like good actors? Or Red Tories? πŸ˜‰

396. Ian Brotherhood

Davidson & Dugdale?

397. Stoker

Tubeway Army – Are ‘friends’ electric?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-0WNbm1jz6A

Sugababes – Freak Like Me
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dSAGsiVSoeE

398. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Yep, Dungeons and Dragons (4th edition to be specific).
    I really am that geeky! hehe πŸ™‚

But yeah, anything where you have to act as someone else. I’m good at that.
    Might have made a good actor if not for the fact I couldn’t remember lines. I’d also suffer from terminal stage fright, and I have what is best described as “a face for radio”!

399. Ian Brotherhood

The Killers, ‘Spaceman’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hc16Y9fiCvQ

400. Stoker

The Stranglers – Always the Sun
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Um9kd-mhhK4&nohtml5=False

Joy Division – Love Will Tear Us Apart
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zuuObGsB0No

Sparks – Number 1 Song in Heaven
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oc_x2-rCFWI

401. Paula Rose

Gosh – being someone else, I’d like to try that.

402. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Why not try being someone who doesn’t wash dishes at half-nine on a Friday night?

πŸ™‚

403. Paula Rose

That’s a good idea!

404. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Yeah, and talking about good ideas, here’s one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen…

Cookie In A Cup! –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NEEghgLiQEY

405. Stoker

Joan Jett – Crimson And Clover
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xTfHhNg1iII&nohtml5=False

Joan Jett – I Love Rock ‘n’ Roll
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3T_xeoGES8

The Runaways – I Love Playing With Fire
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=35Q2OHn4rjY

Toodle-pip troops!
    πŸ™‚

406. Ian Brotherhood

This, on the other hand, is not a good idea.

The dude has forgotten an essential element of the traditional ‘doughnut’ – can you spot what he’s missed?

(I ‘dough nut’ know what he was thinking about…)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wbfc6LvAV7Y

407. Ian Brotherhood

…and this is just wrong.

‘…not the most healthiest…’

Aye.

And why the fuck am I watching this shit on a SATURDAY NIGHT?!?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pMdgHDcX_Jg

408. Ian Brotherhood

…when I could be doing this! –

Casabella, ‘Bellissimo’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LJiO0BD7LgQ

409. Thepnr

Hey! Anything happening? LOL

Just checking the posts from last couple of days. truth is I’m really enjoying the discussion.

Here’s a song I hope will make you smile πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DhFy4qZ0ah8

410. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

‘ELO’ to you too mister.

You ain’t missed much…just the usual shenanigans, people getting stroppy, dancing, pished, Paula Rose having to clean-up after us…

Sometimes no news is good news, eh?

411. Lollysmum

K1 & others
    Thanks for the explanation about NCN & his prey that evening. For me it just destroyed the thread & I’m not willing to jump in & then be targeted for doing so. That’s happened a couple of times on WoS so now I avoid mostly. Life’s too short!

I wasn’t sure about either poster so I came here looking to see if anyone else had mentioned them & found JGedd’s post. Phew-wasn’t just me then πŸ™‚

There are some days when Wos resembles a battleground so much so that it appears to be just a continuation of my working day (bureaucracy, council officers, Dept of Health yada yada ya)disputes galore. Roll on retirement-12 weeks to go then I might actually be tempted to enter into the fray here again.

Till then happy to know the troll antennae still work OK (sort of):-)

412. CameronB Brodie

Michael McCabe
    That Neville Brothers track you posted, suggests to me, that unlike a certain Communist Party dissemblers we no longer appear to be ‘blessed’ by, you have an evident appreciation of aesthetics and an apparent insight in to the human condition.

Pure class. Sound mate. πŸ˜‰

The Meters – Hand Clapping Song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBuyAL-otK4

413. Ian Brotherhood

@Lollysmum & CamB –

Good on ye’s, posting today.

It’s very very very bad luck if a whole day goes past without at least one comment here…hasn’t happened often, but calamity has always followed!

πŸ˜‰

We Live!!

414. Paula Rose

I’m supposed to comment as well as keep the place tidy?

415. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

You’ll never know how much we appreciate your fastidiousness.

416. Paula Rose

That’s me – keeping it clean.

417. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    Perhaps folk are a just a bit feart of the stranger they’re sitting next to, or perhaps they’ve lacked something to get their teeth in to?

Anyone for popcorn?

Jim Burgett – The living dead
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nVk6zdxkkZA

Danny Forrest – It’ll Never Be Over For Me
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MqTdcel9M4Q

The Dutones – It just ain’t right
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_LAfqVc63vU&list=PLMnO34LHDC4sAG9AJHm_bvG9HBac4aHh5

418. Michael McCabe

Here are some sessions from Abbey Road. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ELKbtFljucQ&feature=player_detailpage

419. Socrates MacSporran

I noticed yesterday, the Herald had a well-timed wee puff from the actor who plays Jamie McTavish in Outlander. Apparently Series Two kicks-off this week.

“Management’s” daughter is one of the production team at Cumbernauld, so, she gifted her mother the Series One boxed set, which we are working our way through.

There is no way this pro-Scotland series will ever be shown widely on British, far less Scottish television.

We are hooked already, and have only managed to watch episodes one to six. Had this gone out on BBC or STV in the run-up to the Referendum, it would have made Braveheart look like a pro-English film. We’d have walked the Referendum.

I am afraid the brilliant Outlander is doomed to be an under-appreciated classic. It’s not perfect, however, sub-titles for the dialogue in Gaelic would have helped.

“Management’s” ex-husband did have a wee complaint. He called-up his daughter to complain about the explicit sex scenes, which had made him and his new wife uncomfortable when watching it.

His first wife did comment: “Aye well, that’s your faither – sex aye did make him uncomfortable – he could never get it finished quickly enough”.

He’s American.

420. dramfineday

Here’s one for Paula and all the other wings braw lasses (and it’s even a tad football related for a certain Bath bases buftie) .

http://www.scottishfa.co/girl/

Play it again Sam.

421. CameronB Brodie

If only I had a Brain. πŸ™

Dr. Theorem – Spock’s Brain
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sad99zG8Mz8

422. Thepnr

This man is a fecking idiot! Funny though lol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ONuA3sfKutQ&nohtml5=False

423. Paula Rose

Idiot Dear – no way, a genius.

424. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

He served his apprenticeship as a Shipwright, same as me. So I get first call on an idiot or genius πŸ™‚

Person ally still think he was an idiot maybe with genius tendencies. Give you that.

425. Paula Rose

You don’t get to be president of the magic circle by being an idiot – he was a consummate mix of clown and magician. I saw him perform in a pub after a meeting of the magic circle to a small audience, not a lot of patter – no need, he put a 10p coin into a mixer bottle.

426. Thepnr

he put a 10p coin into a mixer bottle…And then what?

Paula I love Tommy Cooper always have, I loved him because he “acted” the idiot. Does that help? Probably not, I can tell I have a real fan on me hands.

I like him too or I wouldn’t have played a clip of him, please spare me the high heels πŸ™‚

427. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Hi Alex Found this wee song. Don’t know if you will like it ? A wee bit of language in it. Quite Funny. Horse Outside http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2toBm_vROxs&feature=player_detailpage

428. CameronB Brodie

Fundilymundily, I’d like to know if any of the Yoon politicians standing in the coming election, have shown any contrition for the thuggish and dishonest way their party contributed to “Project Fear”?

Mamie Perry – Lament
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0uesZaljG4o

429. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

I think Johnny Cash spent most of his life trying to send that message to those that might listen.

430. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    @Thepnr

Tommy Cooper was a hilarious genius. Have to add that to the discussion! πŸ™‚
    He didn’t even have to be on stage, he could make an audience laugh with just a noise behind the curtain.
    Comedy talent, you’ve either got it, or you haven’t πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6IqXaSrYr74

431. Andrew McLean

K1 says: 8 April 10:38
    “Aye, I’d imagined (rightly or wrongly) the opposite, that the Rev has quite the tech set up that he has to β€˜prevent’ the site turning into the type of btl bile you refer to”

I think he has, I am third from right rev next to those nice flowers.

432. Stoker

@ Lollysmum – Without prying too much into your private affairs can i be so bold as to enquire what your intentions are with regards to housing when you come to Scotland? Will you be seeking to come via private purchase, private let or Housing Association? Depending on your response i may be able to provide you with some helpful information. No need to give too much away, keep it brief!

433. Lollysmum

Stoker
    Private let

434. Stoker

@ Lollysmum – Well, over the longer term it may be worth your while registering with some of the Borders Housing Associations. Here is the name of an organisation which has several Associations under its wing and who’s properties are all over various parts of Scotland, including the Borders region: Borders Choice Homes and a site called Homehunt. It’s easy to register and even if you do come via private let you can eventually look for something via them. Just an idea for you and all the best for your move.

Borders Choice Homes – Homehunt
    (Good luck)
    πŸ˜‰

435. Macart

@Lollysmum

Excellent news and a big smiley welcome. πŸ™‚

436. cearc

Lollysmum

Are you going to be doing a grand tour of the country before you house hunt?

437. K1

Andrew…eh? πŸ™‚ think I’m too thick tae get yer meaning?

438. K1

I’m putin’ a πŸ™‚ after any questions I ask of posters fur fear of being labelled an extremist… (also cause am quite friendly…naw really a um) πŸ™‚

439. Stoker

K1 wrote:
    “I’m putin’ a πŸ™‚ after any questions I ask of posters fur fear of being labelled an extremist…”

Hate to be the one to break it to you but…em…um…too late!

BTW, i’ll have you know that i recently broke my own post rules for you, i read your exchanges with the NcN. FFS, i had to use the scroll button to complete reading some of them. Keep them short and to the point or break them down into a mini-series or i’ll be sending out the attack dogs. πŸ™‚

440. K1

Och never again Stoker…a’ve goat a screen grab on the go…maybe natflix wid be interested? πŸ™‚

441. cynicalHighlander

Someone was enquiring about Outlander 2nd series have watched in 1st episode and definitely don’t watch unless you have seen all of the first series.

http://www.couchtuner.ag/watch-outlander-online-s/

442. Paula Rose

Oi – muddy boots, out!

443. Brian Doonthetoon

This works for Series 2 of Outlander as well. I use the ‘vodlocker’ link. Worked for me for all Series 1 episodes.

http://thewatchseries.to/serie/outlander

444. K1

CH, Couch Turner is asking for log in details (which it wasn’t doing before) and so can’t watch it. Bdttt Virgin won’t let that site be viewed…any other links much appreciated. πŸ™‚

I signed up tae prime for the last few eps. of the 1st season, and then cancelled membership, so I can’t do that again πŸ™

445. cynicalHighlander

@K1

I have signed up to nothing.

Click link for title and it will load page then click the link which says “watch it here” just above video screen.

Page will reload and click “x” outside any box asking to update media player etc and delete any extra url tabs which pop up. It’s convoluted but you sign up to nothing, I had to change my ISP by private window and set zenmate to come from America.

Good luck.

446. K1

Thanks CH, didn’t work, directing to a page warning that this is a ‘phishing site’…nae wellies, so nae use. Och well…might be virgin or safari…who knows. Might try on Chrome. Cheers for assistance. πŸ™‚

447. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi K1.

I’ve done three posts tonight with ‘Outlander’ links.
    They have all NOT posted.

I’ll try one last time with a work-around.

This next link hasn’t posted here twice so I’m doing a new post with new words and I’ll try it again.

You can try this one. Remove all the ‘&’ characters from the url when you’ve pasted it into your browser’s address bar:-

w&w&w&.s&olarmovie.p&h/tv/outl&ander-2014/season-2/

Once again, if you get to the site, after removing the &’s, when you click on the “Latest Episode: Through a Glass, Darkly (s02e01) April 9, 2016, 12:00 AM” link, I would choose the ‘vodlocker’ links first.

448. K1

Ah, Brian, it’s a ‘court order’ notice that disallows ‘this site’:

‘Virgin Media has received an order from the High Court requiring us to prevent access to this site.’

So it’s not anything to do with your links…this side anyway. But again, thanks for trying to help with this. πŸ™‚

449. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi K1.

The link I gave in this post:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-34/#comment-2133066

Worked for me at the start of the week. Downloaded with ‘videodownloadhelper’ (Firefox add-on) and saved.

450. K1

Teggeeg egg leggegg egg thegg etegg thregg…

Degg eggybegg reggegg egg legg spegg?

Thegg wegg thegg deggs, egg! Thegg feggy wegger egg jegg thegg. Egg feggy wegger. Negg pegg begg begged wegg egg, egg jegg egg feggy pregg. Legg egg megg egg egg jegg eggnegg thegg pregg…cegg thegg negg teggegg tegg shegg!

Egg egg egg

Glad I got that off ma chest. πŸ˜‰

451. Betty Boop

@ K1

Ye gods. Thought I’d landed in a Slabber site and found their missing manifesto!

Hope you’re feeling better after all that. Hmmm… seems a bit extreme to me πŸ˜‰

452. K1

Lol Betty…I suppose…there are a lot of eggs in that omellete πŸ˜‰

453. Lollysmum

Stoker
    Thanks for the info-I hadn’t even considered housing associations-just assumed I would be excluded anyway on residency grounds because I am moving from England to Scotland. I’ll take a look at their site.

Must say there are far less private lets available than I was expecting. The situation improves the further north I look but my family won’t forgive me if its too far for them to visit.

454. Lollysmum

cearc
    Grand tour? I’m not Brenda you know-travelling, living & being ‘spoilt rotten’ on the public purse πŸ™‚

It’s 40 years since I lived in Scotland so I will be doing a lot of exploring though πŸ™‚

455. Stoker

@ Lollysmum

You’re welcome! Here’s the name of 2 other Associations which operate independently from the BCH organisation and who focus their housing stock in the Scottish Borders:

Waverley Housing Association and Scottish Borders Housing Association. (There may be more but i only know of those ones)

The Borders region has a lot of English folk in Association housing but a lot of them have managed to achieve their moves through medical (and other) grounds.

I only tipped you off because in the long term your tenancy will be much more secure and certainly cheaper.

As i said, good luck with your move and if you need to know anything else just give me a shout and i’ll help if i can.

456. Betty Boop

@ Lollysmum

It’s 40 years since I lived in Scotland so I will be doing a lot of exploring though πŸ™‚

We’ve even got roads nowadays!!! πŸ™‚ Sae, nae problemo!
    Think cearc is looking for visitors in the wild north west.

Good luck with the house hunt and welcome back πŸ™‚

457. Betty Boop

@ K1
    @YesIndyRef2

Jeez, only got around to reading my way through the bias battle of several days back. Several folk misinterpreting/misreading and downright bullying. Just want to say, kudos to both of you.

458. K1

Now Betty, ye kin ‘imagine’ whit ma omelette wis aboot? πŸ˜‰

459. Betty Boop

@ K1

Aye, mair scrambled than set πŸ™‚

460. Thepnr

Just for a change here is supposedly the greatest racehorse that ever lived. I believe he was.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QtPwx__6RKU

Ok it’s a bit long for Off Topic but why not educate yourself πŸ™‚

461. Betty Boop

@ Thepnr

That video needed something, so here you are:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=InOkg3btMVc

462. Thepnr

@ Betty Boop

Tis true, I did ignore Champion the Wonder Horse πŸ™‚

463. Thepnr

@ Betty Boop

This post was just a follow up to an earlier much better post about an American horse called Zenyatta, not a better horse than Frankel but definitely a better video.

Give it a minute or two and let me know if you liked it.

//www.youtube.com/watch?v=RQ6wLLKtZcg

464. Paula Rose

The music’s often bad enough in here but what’s with the horses running around the place? – a unicorn I could understand but this is ridiculous.

465. Thepnr

Your problem Paula Rose is that you are one dimensional!

Takes all sorts que?

466. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Watch this and be enthralled. No shit.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RQ6wLLKtZcg

467. Betty Boop

@ Thepnr

That horse liked to take the long way about – just playing with the rest of them. The music was fine for me, but, not seemed out of place accompanying a horse race :-). Now, Champion the Wonder Horse, that makes horse sense!

@ Paula R

I only do bad music πŸ˜‰

468. Cactus

Hey, check out this traditional tune done in a different style:

Scotland the brave (Metal version)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vLz8y5sp-lU

Yee-haw!

469. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cactus.

That looked like an eight-string geetar in that clip…

This track is featured on the 1996 album “Tunes Of War” by German metal band ‘Grave Digger’. What gets me is the crowd reaction to “The Bruce”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dhUk5zd3PXc

Finally, a classic horse-racing (short) clip…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MRgokSbo7c8

470. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Great race commentary, Brian, and fitting music! πŸ™‚

471. Thepnr

@BDTT

LOL great racing. But you really have to watch this, no shit.

Red Rum beating Crisp in the 1973 Grand National. Impossible many would have said. Well nothing is impossible πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pxYPKcJM9vE

472. Cactus

In twenty days time we get to choose Scotland’s Future once again.

Isn’t this exciting, the vibrations are building!

No title (but hey, use your illusion XX)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WlkUaHKruek

When I’m having fun, you know I can’t conceal it.

473. Brian Doonthetoon

Yeah, that was some ride to the finish, Thepnr.

Back to Outlander…
    All the typing over the past couple of days – and the fact that I downloaded Series 2 Episode 1 earlier in the week – got me watching the very first episode again today; still haven’t watched the rest of Series 1!

The handy thing about downloading the episodes for posterity is that it lets you pause when the credit pages come up at the end. Being made primarily for the US market, the credits roll at 100mph, making it just possible to pick up maybe two names before the next page appears. So I pause…

And I discover that Outlander had A “Stand In” (Luke Haslam) and a “Utility Stand In” (Aimee Watret). I wonder what or who they stood in for?

Outlander also has a “DIT” called Grant McPhee. No’ got a clue what a DIT does…

Apart from all the jobbing riggers, there was a “Standby Rigger”, called Jim Hennessy. I wonder if he ever had to step into the breach due to one of the more important riggers not turning up of a morning?

Simon Sweeney was the “Greensman”. Wonder what his duties were… He did have four assistants to help him out though, so It must have been quite arduous.

Three minibus drivers get a mention but I won’t name them here, lest they become big-headed.

Ronnie Morrison was the “Car Wrangler”. The mind boggled – so I Googled. Loads of hits for “Jeep Wranglers” so I eventually posed the question, “What does a “Car Wrangler” do?” and I got an answer half way down the page of hits, through a Facebook page.

Looks like a “Car Wrangler” is a “Film Vehicle Co-ordinator”. Well that’s that cleared up. Ronnie had the job of co-ordinating all those cuddies and bogies.

No TV series can hope to be successful without a “Herbalist” and Outlander had Claire Mackay, who probably did sterling work around the cauldron.

But the credit that really appealed to me…
    Remember no UK TV organisation would broadcast the first series of Outlander when it came out in the months leading up to the 2014 referendum?

Guess who did the catering?

BBC TV & FILM LOCATION CATERERS!

Irony? Irony? We don’t need no steenkin’ irony…

474. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Brian, pit thon remote doon. A’ thon pausing and finin’ things oot is gonnae dae yer heid in. BBC Caterers, pffft…
    Mind and watch the series.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.