Oh great, that’s all we need

Posted on January 22, 2013 by

Cue six months of Jim Murphy droning on about the “Arc Of Inflammability”.

Bunnet-doff to alert reader Ray McRobbie.

60 to “Oh great, that’s all we need”

1. Angus McLellan

Were they caramelising it while in transit? That might be taking just-in-time manufacturing a bit too far.

2. Matt

Heh. Imagine having the infrastructure spending to have a tunnel in such a remote part of Scotland!

3. Dave McEwan Hill

I am indebted to Billy King of Blairmore for a suggestion that in the  circumstances the most appropriate makeover for George Square would involve providing more concealing bushes and a nice selection of pansies.

4. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Billy King”? Someone’s parents have a cruel sense of humour.

5. Tris

Oh well, if that’s what happens in small independent countries, I guess we should all think again…

Do we have any tunnels in Scotland? 

6. pmcrek

Noticed this over at BBC too:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-21140469

7. Holebender

Was it the fact that goats cheese was involved that prompted you to mention “Billy”?

8. TamD

Wheeshed man. Dinnae gie them any mare wild ideas

9. Yesitis

Cue six months of Jim Murphy…can you imagine that? In 2013 and beyond, in a modern, forward thinking Scotland; can you imagine anyplace for someone like Jim Murphy, outside of working in a doughnut shop (preferably on Rockall)?

– No offense to anyone who may work in a doughnut shop.

10. Seasick Dave

The Spud was on BBC News tonight putting his tuppence worth in on Defence matters.

Incidentally, I thought that Reporting Scotland was remarkably upbeat tonight, was Jackie Baillie free and I didn’t change channels before the end.

I might have to watch again on iPlayer 🙂 

11. Seasick Dave

With regards to Norway, they even proposed a ship tunnel.

http://www.ngi.no/en/Contentboxes-and-structures/Reference-Projects/Reference-projects/The-Stad-Ship-tunnel-Norway/ 

To be fair, I think that the plans have been put on hold but the idea was there. 

12. Ananurhing

Ah well! With an independent Scotland’s economy allegedly being toast, and Norway’s surplus of grilled cheese……sounds like a potentially heavenly union in the making there.

The arc of grilled cheddary?

Okay, okay………I’ll get my own coat!   

13. Boorach

Meanwhile over on radio Scotland MW the rev’s favourite former Scotland manager is a pundit for the Celtic Dundee Utd game 

14. MajorBloodnok

In deference to my avatar: “I say, hard cheese.”

I’ll get me goat.

15. An Duine Gruamach

“Kjell Bjoern Vinje, of the Norwegian Public Roads Administration, said it was the first time he could remember cheese catching fire on Norwegian roads.”

16. The Rough Bounds.

That’ll be kids that’s doing it.

17. heraldnomore

nanny state, clearly

18. The Rough Bounds.

…he said in a gruff voice.

19. heraldnomore

with cash mere incidental

20. The Rough Bounds.

Aye, ye’ve goat me there. Off to trim my goatee.

21. Luigi

Cheesy Jim says: “See what happens when you try to goat your own way? More proof that we are all Butter Together!”

22. Jeannie

What an unusual article! Definitely a rarebit.

23. Westie7

OT  what are STV on tonight,

Couldn’t believe they allowed David Hayman that end piece on the Burns prog! Rather stirring or did I hear it wrong? Then we have a wee snippet on the next show about toffs hooses, explaining loosely Mary Queen of Scots Murder!

Expect Scotland Tonight to be a Labour edition! 

24. Bill C

@Westie7 – Scotland Tonight talking about defence cuts and EU membership (UK I think).

25. dadsarmy

Mmm, apart from the Clyde Tunnel, there’s kind of a 50 metre tunnel alongside Loch Carron between Strathcarron and Stromeferry, I’m sure there’s another wee one somewhere in a town, can’t think. That’s road tunnels. A few rail tunnels.

26. dadsarmy

One way of doing a fondue I suppose.

Loch Awe (visitor centre)

Mmm, probably Glen Douglas …

27. Westie7

Bill C, – That’ll be Skeletor bumping his gums then, expect him to be given an opportunity to tell us how it would be worse after Indy

28. Bill C

Westie7 – Don’t see how it can get any worse!

29. Holebender

If you’ve never tried brunost, the taste and texture are a bit like a Caramac. Do they still make Caramacs?

Burning’s about the best thing for brunost, imho.

30. MajorBloodnok

Dads – that’ll be the short bit of tunnel on the A890 south of Attadale (near Plockton)?  I know that one.

And of course the Union Canal goes through a long tunnel at Falkirk to the Wheel and there is the disused Scotland Street Rail Tunnel in Edinburgh under the New Town.  I was trying to link those in an amusing and politically witty way but nothing came to mind.

31. ianbrotherhood

O/T, but – did anyone watch the BBC Scotland chaps appearing in front of the SP committee today? Interesting stuff.
    I’d love to know who the two dudes directly behind Ken MacQuarrie and John Boothman are – anyone know? The elder of the two exchanged some meaningful glances with Boothman, and at one point showed him his notepad. 
    (For some reason it reminded me of Colin Powell’s appearance at the UN, when he wiggled the phial filled with kid-on anthrax and scared the bejaysus out of everyone in the place – on that occasion he had George Tenet and John Negreponte sitting behind him, looking more like a couple of Mafia hoods than you would think possible for people who weren’t doing it on purpose.)

32. Richard McHarg

Holebender, you can still get Caramacs.  They have them in Asda in Livingston.

33. Ray

Been out all night, had no idea you posted this. I still find the headline hilarious. Maybe it’s because I’ve had some whisky. I don’t often have whisky.

34. muttley79

O/T  I was reading LPW new article and he included Kenny Farquharson’s tweets.  Looks like the Scottish media is already getting behind the report by Trench and co.  No surprise that the think-tank is linked closely to the Labour Party.

It’s sad that SNP is so casually dismissing those who have ambition to advance Scotland’s cause in the event of a No vote.

Real change in tone in past couple of months. Last year, SNP warmly welcomed Devo Plus etc as useful contributions to debate on our future.

No mention at all of the No parties rejecting a second question in the referendum.

Also tiring of the use of a promise made 34 years ago by a man born in 1903 as a block on eminently sensible proposals to advance home rule. 

Looks like the media are going to go along with Jam Tomorrow then.

35. Keef

I remember as a wee boy the jubilation in our house when Winnie Ewing won the Hamilton by-election in 1967. Her famous line ” stop the world! Scotland wants to get on” is still fondly remembered too. I wonder if this article was how she saw it some 40 odd years ago.

http://nationalcollective.com/2013/01/21/imagining-victory-scotland-votes-yes/

36. Jeannie

@major bloodnok

I must say your extensive knowledge of Scottish tunnels is impressive…..but I wonder what Freud might think about it.

37. Oldnat

Jeannie

Clement Freud would probably associate it with brandy snaps. 

38. cath

Looks like the media are going to go along with Jam Tomorrow then.”

That wouldn’t be surprising at all. They’ll likely go along with whatever the Westminster / No line is. Still, better devo-max than status quo. At least then if it is a no they’ll have an electorate expecting something. Hopefully people won’t be stupid enough to fall for it twice though. 

39. muttley79

@Keef

My father was a close friend of someone who played an important role in that victory.

40. Keef

Mutley79

I do hope your kids will be able to express the very same sentiment in years to come with regards this campaign. 

41. Seasick Dave

Just in case you haven’t heard this gem from Sir Clement…

http://www.boreme.com/posting.php?id=22216

Enjoy 🙂

42. muttley79

Another O/T

Saw this on the Guardian:

David Cameron will on Wednesday set a deadline to hold an in-out referendum on Britain’s membership of the European Union by the end of 2017 as he hardens his position on the issue that has bedevilled Tory leaders for a quarter of a century.

To the delight of Eurosceptics, the prime minister will throw down the gauntlet to his fellow EU leaders to agree to a revision of Britain’s membership terms within two and a half years of the next general election or risk triggering a British exit.

In his long-awaited speech on Europe, which has been repeatedly delayed since the autumn, Cameron will pledge no rest until he wins because democratic consent for the EU in Britain is “wafer thin”.

43. Seasick Dave

I just noticed that the article was prompted by Ray McRobbie, the guy that wrote a good wee article about being undecided, way back in May.

If you are reading this Ray, how is the thought process coming along?

Are you any closer to a definite YES?

Best regards

Dave

44. Adrian B

Seasick Dave,

Ray posted a comment at 11.03.

Right click on his name and it will take you to his blog. He has written a number of pieces for National Collective – I recommend that you spend some time reading them as they are very good.

45. charlie

I trust Norway to manage their new energy supply, rather than spending ‘ours’ (ie when Thatcher was our colonial governor) on closing every unionised industry in existence.
    Bitter but also twisting the night away 😉
    Referendum question for the UK outside of London – Let’s unite with Norway, what’ya think?

Solves Shetland ‘problem’ as well 😉

All the best

Charlie

46. Ray

“If you are reading this Ray, how is the thought process coming along? Are you any closer to a definite YES?”

Seasick Dave,

I am in the middle of writing a bit of an update on my article in May. I just want to make sure it’s not more of the same because some things haven’t changed too much. However, it’s what I see happening around me with other people when talking about the issue that’s the striking thing to me. Since November I’ve been working in Germany but work mainly with folk from Aberdeen and NE England in the oil industry. Talking to these people about the subject, and the Germans themselves, has brought up lots of interesting discussion that I will most probably touch on if I get the bloody piece done!

47. Davy

O/T,
    iwas listening to Radio Scotland and about 20 – 25 minutes past seven, they interviewed Alex Neil about that NHS direct number being free, he used the opportinuity to tear into the BBC’s false reporting about “waiting times” and he tore into the women presenter replys and really did not hold back. IT WAS BRILLIENT.

You must listen if possible.  

48. James McLaren

There is a tunnel under Glasgow west which passes under the Botanics and surfaces in Maryhill at what was a small yard and is now a supermarket.

Don’t forget the North electric line in Glasgow and the Clockwork Orange 

49. Seasick Dave

Ray

Thanks for the update and I look forward to your upcoming article.

Just remember this is an enormous opportunity to get the Scotland we want.

A NO vote would be tragic.

50. James McLaren

O/T but

anybody want a job with MI6?

http://www.reed.co.uk/jobs/mi6/p13264?WT.mc_id=NWSR_JW_MW_20130123

We could all apply for Troll positions as Agents Provocateurs in the 2014 referendum debate? 
    Opportunities within MI6 Central London Our work is important. All of it. At MI6, our work is vital. We gather intelligence from around the world to help protect the UK against a range of threats, from terrorism to regional instability. Behind this work you will find our support teams. It’s thanks to their high standards and professionalism that we can concentrate on the security and prosperity of t…
    Opportunities within MI6 etc etc

Thar reference to regional would be us CyberNats then?

added later

the other big job opportunity offer today was with ScrewFix; that would be Westmidden, next door to MI6 then?

51. Dcanmore

@James McLaren

At the bottom of the MI6 advert it probably reads: “Cybernats need not apply, it is YOU that we’re keeping tabs on!” 🙂

52. Luigi

The Faroes have more road tunnels than Scotland.

53. James McLaren

Dcanmore

Just because I am paranoid doesn’t mean they are not out to get me. 

54. Seasick Dave

I got told a funny story about tunnels by an Icelander.

Where he came from, when he was growing up, the villages were very isolated and cut off by bad weather in the winter.

Consequently, a lot of inbreeding went on and visiting fishermen were cordially invited to add to the gene pool to keep things a bit more normal!

In the 80s a tunnel was built which allowed traffic to flow even during the winter months and a lot of the inbreeding stopped.

The result was that people were known as ‘pre tunnel’ or ‘post tunnel’!

My friend was pre tunnel 🙂

55. Dcanmore

Cameron offers EU referendum if Tories win next election. That’s the UKIP vote sorted then.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-21148282

The gift to Scottish Independence that keeps on giving!

56. Luigi

Muttley79 (O/T),
    Interesting development. Three main points to consider, with regard to the YES campaign: 1) The tories now look like winning the next GE (UKIP back in the fold), 2) Labour will panic and also promise an in/out referendum on Europe (probably by Easter), 3) From now on, we probably won’t be hearing many euro-attacks by Farcical Ali and his Better Together chums. Another unionist gun spiked.

57. Luigi

Better together, and out of Europe?

58. dadsarmy

I always presume that all my posts are text scanned automatically (presumably GCHQ) and there’s a trigger when they get passed into the second level of more detailed automatic scanning. If they fail that, they get sent into the third level, and maybe flagged for a manual look. If they fail that, there’s a background check, possibly automated but if neccessary manual. That’s how I’d design it.

Having mentioned Astute, Trident, Vanguard, HMS Dauntless, HMS Duncan. HMS Montrose and HMS Argyll, Faslane and Coulport in postings, as well as MI5, Mi6 and GCHQ now, Hammond, Murphy and Liam Fox, they know who I am, where I live, and my inside leg measurement. Hopefully they’ve tagged me as fairly harmless!

Yes, I wonder if activities in Scotland come under MI5 (domestic) or MI6 (foreign)?

59. The Rough Bounds.

@mutley. @Keef

Hamilton SNP victory in ’67?
    The young guy playing the bagpipes when the count was being held was me; I didn’t think I’d experience anything like that feeling ever again, but ….along came 2011.
    God, please let it be Yes in 2014.

60. Luigi

Rough Bounds,
    Good on you. I hope you still have those bagpipes ready for 2014.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.