Kezia Dugdale Fact Check, part 673

Posted on September 20, 2015 by

Kezia Dugdale talking to Gordon Brewer on BBC Scotland today:

“I’m astonished that you’ve spent 10 minutes in this interview talking about independence and Trident when almost 50% of the poorest kids in the country can’t read […] I’m sure you’d be shocked to know that 50% of the poorest kids leave our schools unable to read.”

We suspect he would too. Because it’s total cobblers.

“One in five of the poorest children in Scotland leave primary school unable to read well.”

If only 20% of the poorest children are leaving PRIMARY school with partial reading difficulties, it seems somewhat unlikely that 50% have become completely illiterate by the time they leave school altogether.

In fact, according to the official statistics, even by Primary 4 almost three-quarters of pupils from the most deprived areas are reading well or very well. By the time they leave primary education three years later it’s 80%.

literacy

With teachers for parents, you’d think Kezia Dugdale could tell the difference between “one in five” and a half. Then again, she also said in the same interview that “1 in 100 adults in the UK voted for Jeremy Corbyn”. If true, that would mean there were only 25 million adults in the country, when in fact the electorate is over 45 million.

But we suspect it’s not really numbers that are Kezia Dugdale’s problem.

Some previous Kezia Dugdale Fact Checks: [1], [2], [3], [4]

3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 20 09 15 17:44

Kezia Dugdale Fact Check, part 673 | Speymouth

2. 21 09 15 10:26

Kezia Dugdale Fact Check, part 673 | Politics S...

3. 22 09 15 14:11

The Poverty of Wealth | A Wilderness of Peace

213 to “Kezia Dugdale Fact Check, part 673”

1. RogueCoder

Come back, Johann – all is forgiven 🙂

2. bugger (the Panda)

Yep

Soundbite first, facts later.

Jackie Baillie territory

3. Tackety Beets

Same interview , I’m sure KD said “1 in 100 people voted for Corbyn”

65m pop / 1:100= 650,000

SLab still spouting BS !

When will they learn ?

4. Jim watson

Stu – you are being selective again -Kez said “almost” and in anyone’s book 20% is almost 50%…

5. muttley79

I have said it before and I will almost certainly say it again, but Kezia Dugdale is a political void, she clearly has no guiding or strong political principles. Kezia Dugdale is an uber careerist, and will go in whatever direction the political wind is blowing. Any politcal party worth its salt would have launched an internal inquiry into how Dugdale and others have managed to rise so far. I don`t even get the slightest impression that Dugdale is remotely interested or passionate about politics. Absolutely clueless.

6. HandandShrimp

I covered this in the previous thread. The 50% figure is a subset of the poorest. That is the “most deprived” Not sure what percentage that is of the poorest 20%.

However, the terms “read well” and “can’t read” is quite different.

Kezia also fails to address the fact performance in this area was not a strong point for the last Labour Government or that Scotland’s performance is around the OECD average and has improved somewhat over recent years.

Education and ensuring the most disadvantaged can improve their life chances is an issue but not in the political football way that Kezia does it. SNPbad is not a political discussion and it certainly isn’t a discussion about education and the root causes of poor life chances.

However, as Gordon Brewer might say “we all know that”.

7. Brian Powell

Pity he didn’t mention it!

Didn’t Ian Gray have a similar brain malfunction on an educational issue some years ago when he said one in five was bigger than one in three?

8. galamcennalath

Well, 20% has a two in it, and there are two halves in a whole. Half is 50%. Simple.

There have always been two systems of maths. The one the rest of the world uses, and the Labour Party North British system. With the latter you find any means to pull out the figure which best suits the lies you plan to spin.

9. Itchybiscuit

@muttley79

Aye, I got exactly the same vibe when watching that interview. She’s had her collar felt by London HQ and told to support the new leader. It was quite funny watching her tie herself in knots trying NOT to answer the questions put to her.

‘I won with 72% of the vote’. Aye Kezia, you got a bigger percentage of votes than Jeremy did but then, your 5,000+ votes against your boss’s 250,000+? It’s good to know that I’m not the only one who thinks she’s completely out of her depth. Fifi probably thought it was a spiffing wheeze to stand for election – I wonder how Kezia feels about the reality?

10. john king

Is this from the Richard Baker stable of absolute bunkum?
    £500 million spent by NHS on knife attacks in Scotland kinda thing?

11. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I covered this in the previous thread. The 50% figure is a subset of the poorest. That is the “most deprived” Not sure what percentage that is of the poorest 20%.”

The proportion not reading well or very well by Primary 4 for the most deprived areas is 28%.

12. David Halliday

Tackety Beets, says:
    20 September, 2015 at 5:08 pm

Same interview , I’m sure KD said “1 in 100 people voted for Corbyn”

Pretty sure she said 1 in 100 adults.

13. Joseph Robinson

Hey Kezzy darling I’m sure your reading all these comments, and spitting nails and lots of cursing. Sooo heres my advice for you Kezzy darling, with all the new money your making from being the leader, id invest in shares etc, cause to be quite honest your going “the way of murphy”, and that means your days are numbered.

14. Craig MacAonghais

One thing Kezia has achieved…I thought Lamont was dire but she’s made Johann seem like a veritable Einstein!

15. Robert Louis

Kezia Dugdale is the accidental ‘leader’ (branch manager). She was a list MSP, new to Parliament, and suddenly, by sequential failings by ALL in her party before her, she found herself, as the one left holding the short straw.

That she talks hogwash, and regularly comes out with what are demonstrable lies (as above) should come as no surprise. My guess is, she is as interested in the reading abilities of Scots children as she is in what Nicola Sturgeons favourite pudding is.

The fact is, Labour in Scotland are a pointless party with a frankly inept senior team, led by Kezia, who somehow (and nobody really knows why) became the leader of a political branch office.

16. David Halliday

As bad as Kezia making the claim was Gordon Brewer muttering “I think we all knew that already”, or similar. Did he? Did we? I’ve asked Kezia on via Twitter for a link to the source because it would be grotesque if true.

But if it’s not, then what was Gordon Brewer thinking of? The moment’s passed and look at the work that has to be put in to dig around to see what the truth actually is, let alone get any correction seen anywhere. If the claim is false then this is just emblematic of what’s wrong with the BBC: they’re in a unique position of trust, they fall down on the job and they angrily brush aside and refuse to engage with perfectly reasonable criticism.

17. donald anderson

Why does Labour and their pet interviewers assume we all suffer from amnesia about Labour’s previous records in office?

18. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Pretty sure she said 1 in 100 adults.”

She did, but that’s total bollocks. There are WAY more than 25 million adults in the UK. The electorate is 45m, and not every adult is an elector.

19. Alan Redman

Joseph Robinson did not seem to learn about punctuation or grammar… maybe she has a point!

20. Annie

I’m a teacher and I’m sick to death of having my profession continually attacked by this idiot. If I was her I’d be more concerned with the state of numeracy in the adult population if her lack of mathematical skills are anything to go by!

21. David Anderson

Kezia has no political depth. She applied to work for the SNP. No-one with any strong political beleifs relating to the Union would ever even contemplate such a thing.

She joined Labour because her friend did. followed the party line until she was given the chance to drink from the poisoned chalice that was oor Jim’s deputy job. This really killed her chances.

Recently, she was blown by the party wind to make ill-judged political comments re Corbyn and carping from the sidelines.

It is right to say that a lot of people will question her on the basis of her having no real political beliefs and therefore lacking a certain credibility.

She does herself no good either by banging on about how shite everything is under the SNP when clearly it has been improving (albeit patchily and slowly in some areas).

Still, the better they are at holding the SNP to account the better the SNP will have to perform which is no bad thing for Scotland. For that reason alone I hope the election of Corbyn strengthens Labour in Scotland from a left leaning policy perspective.

22. nodrog

A pleasure listening to Kezia makes you realise there is no opposition and it brings back memories of joined up writing. Oh I hope I have got my spelling rite.

23. Seasick Dave

Yep, I’m astonished.

24. Joan Edington

The bint just likes the sound of her own voice. It doesn’t matter what it says.

25. Barbara Watson

I wonder how many of those kids are in Labour run Councils?

26. Paul McCombie

See these kids leaving school ‘unable to read’, who would have been in charge whilst they were in their formative primary school years (p1-p3) 9,10,11 years ago?

#justAsking

27. Tinto Chiel

Barbara Watson asked, “I wonder how many of these kids are in Labour run Councils?”

An excellent question, Barbara. After all, a strategy of Slab is to have an electorate which can be managed to have low expectations.

And Rev, stop with all your accurate facts palaver, already: as Kezia says, “Just Google it.”

28. HandandShrimp

And Rev, stop with all your accurate facts palaver, already: as Kezia says, “Just Google it.”

Aye but only on Kezia’s very important and astonishing facts page. 😉

29. r.esquierdo

Yur Daddies needing tae hiv a wee word in yir dug-a mean lug lassie

30. Joseph Robinson

Alan Redman Ill go do my 100 lines ok, very very sorry.

31. Labhrainn

I reckoned that the figures quoted by the Rev are standard percentages for a population. Perhaps I am right:

According to the Norwegian Dyslexia Society (2013) 20% of the population aged 16-20 have reading difficulties, 3-5% of these have dyslexia, 50% of those on benefits have dyslexia and 23% of the working population have reading difficulties.

According to the British Dyslexia Association (date unknown) 10% of the population have dyslexia.

Other sites report that 70-80% of those with reading difficulties have dyslexia to a greater or lesser extent. In addition the percentage of dyslexia in a population can be as high as 17%.

So if 20% of the poorest kids are leaving with poor reading abilities, then is that really so very out of the ordinary?

32. Tinto Chiel

HandandShrimp

With Kezia, I sometimes think, “Why break a butterfly upon a wheel?”

But then I think, after a performance like that, she deserves everything she gets.

Anyhow, as a Dali lover, you may enjoy this Brian DTT special. I know I did. Give it time!

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=0c4l_T3KRNo

33. JLT

What is it that Kezia doesn’t get? She just can’t pick numbers out of the air, and believe that they will do as facts.

You would have thought by now, after all the verbal mistakes (and even a slight chastising of her dad in public) that she would have cottoned on to do some research; clarify the facts; have them checked again, and then use them.

I’m starting to wonder if she actually has a Research team. If she doesn’t; then seriously …get one! If she does have one, then Kezia …have a serious bloody word in their ear!!

After all, you’re the one who is looking like the deluded idiot on TV …if not in Parliament each Thursday lunchtime!

34. Capella

It’s quite obvious what she meant. Of the two poorest children in Scotland, one of them can’t read. Nobody knows why. The solution is obvious; transfer wealth from the rich to the poor through a progressive tax system. For that we would need control of the tax system, or FFA. How did Labour get on with that vote?

35. Sooz

Kezia going on about numeracy and literacy when she can’t even get her own figures correct. It’s very, very tiresome hearing her pour out this stuff when we know it’s a pack of nonsense.

Come on Kezia. Up your game. Quit with the misinformation.

36. Big Jock

Och 20%, 50% what’s the difference. You are just being pernickety. Lol. Glad she isn’t calculating my tax deduction!

37. Grouse Beater

Another bloody Labour ingénue wholly incapable of expressing intelligence.

What a tragedy. I mean, she’s somebody’s daughter!

38. JBS

Ah, come on. She’s as clued-up as a hat stand but you’ve got to love her, the poor mite.

39. Andy

I know for a fact that Kezia was applying for jobs with SNP MSPs after she graduated from uni. She has no roots in the Labour Party and they will eventually realise she is not one of them. Must have nightmares that she has found herself leader of this bunch. Out of her depth in shark-infested waters.

40. Onwards

Good to get this nipped in the bud.
    This is a big part of their upcoming Holyrood campaign.

41. Ken500

10% of pupils have additional needs. (Inclusion). Teachers get no training in additional needs unless they specialise. Some pupils with dyslexia, autism and ashberger’s etc can struggle with reading, especially undiagnosed. 10% training for teachers in additional needs would identify problems early, to give relevant additional support. Helping teachers and pupils.

ONS rates Scottish Education highly @ Bateman. Eradicate poverty and increase computer access. A small minority of people will never be comprehensive readers but they have other talents which can be developed. Artistic, musical, sports related. They can excel.

Genius’s can struggle with reading and writing. Computers are an additional support.

Labour/Unionists struggle to read statistics. They have a history of incompetence. Some should get a different occupation more relevant to their accomplishments. Did she really claim 50% of pupils can’t read? That’s what it sounded like in the confused diversion. Too busy laughing.

The policy of constantly attacking education/NHS is counter productive. Not very bright. They are a top priority with too many people. How so many people with 1st Class (Oxbridge) degrees can comprehensively destory and maim so many people and an economy is a mystery.

42. Robert Kerr

She may not be numerate but has a charming smile and is very personable.

What’s not to like?

43. Marie Clark

Oh my Kez lass, ye cannie jist pluck figures oot the air like that. That’s Jackie Baillie’s joab.

She should know by now that we are watching and the Rev will pick you up on it, and call you out.

Dumb right enough. Noo whit wiz it somebuddy said, oh aye, I remember noo. ” Facts are cheils that winna ding . Cannie quite mind who said it.

44. msean

Independence is important,and is partly why Labour in Scotland have had new leaders recently. As for Trident,for anyone who lives anywhere near it or where it may pass,its pretty important.

45. Macart

Oh good grief! 😀 LOL

That’s the first time I’ve laughed this weekend. What a car crash that lady is.

46. Sinky

O/T but if Scotland had been independent, think of the international sporting profile getting to the Davis Cup Tennis finals would have bestowed on the new nation as no English player contributed to any of the wins in any of the previous rounds. Pooling and sharing added nothing to our tennis heroes.

47. r.esquierdo

Yet another waste expulsion pipe in full flow

48. Ken500

Local authorities receive funds from Scottish Gov (some additional funds) for Education. If the monies are not strictly ring fenced, some local authorities spend it on other services. Then complain there isn’t enough for education.

49. Ken500

Some autistic children can read when they are two, but not with comprehension. Some are wizard on computers/devices and technology aids.

50. Lesley-Anne

Just a wee outside the box thinking here.

Could we be witnessing the *ahem* downfall preparation being made by wee Kezia for her resignation as leader of the branch office next May? 😀

51. CameonB Brodie

Folk simply can’t see the same fantastical vistas as Ms Dugdale, as they are using the wrong lens. Applying critical thought and logical reason to empirical facts, is not the way forwards, in this instance. No, what you need is a BBC Labour in Scotland lens and then apply a bing of UKOK cargo-cult science. Simples.

@ Ms Dugdale
    Google CARGO CULT!

52. Ken500

Basically as usual, Kezia doesn’t have a clue what she is talking about. It is offensive on so many levels for too many people. Not a good policy.

53. CameronB Brodie

P.S. My dyslexia was not discovered until I was about to enter secondary school. This was back in the days before “special assistance” had been invented, or 1980, to be specific. 😉

54. heraldnomore

Grouse, even more worrying is that one day she’ll be someone’s mother. I see Munguin’s onto her too.

55. Tinto Chiel

Sinky: you vile Cybernat!

How can you live with yourself?

Evil, pure evil by the way.

Snigger.

56. Jimbo

She got her sound bite in twice. That’s all she’ll care about. It doesn’t matter if it’s a lie or not.

No doubt her parents are proud of her political achievement in reaching the giddy heights of being London Labour’s Scottish “leader”, but I doubt very much if they’ll be proud of her habitual lying.

57. Effijy

I don’t use social media, but does Jeremy Corbyn not gather information from the electorate to raise questions in Westminster?

Can we ask him why he new approach of honesty and truth without the pantomime politics does not apply to Dipity Dug or Slab?

Slab operates with the understanding that they can present any
    scaremongering stats that no media organisation will challenge,
    but who will run with them as facts, as it suits their purpose.

Quote from the Dug pre general election week.
    “Slab will not only retain their 41 Scottish MPs, but they will
    increase the number to 43. The people she meets on the door step
    tell her”?

Absolute lying B****h!

Slab did indeed return one MP who got in my default with UK media
    making mountains out of ancient mole hills of the SNP candidates
    exploits as a youth. Close Dipity, but no Cupie Doll? lol

People with a track record like yours for lying, misleading, and making predictions that are farcical, just can’t be taken serious

58. Anagach

I admit to flippantly commenting that Kez is Scotland’s Sarah Palin. In a jokey and not very serious manner, just to convey that she appears to lack the knowledge and agility of thought required to debate policy, be it at interview or in Holyrood.

My joking may actually have been over optimistic. She may actually be worse than Sarah Palin.

59. Jock Scot

Kezia Dugdale’s unease regarding whether she voted for Corbyn or not, had her quoting that 60% (250,000) of labour members chose to vote for Corbyn which was her reason for getting behind their new leader after her ‘carping remark. Therefore, why is she still against dumping Trident when polls which I have seen, back the position of Trident being removed from Scotland. I take it that the view of the majority of people in Scotland on this matter doesn’t matter.

60. Dr Jim

Aye but what percentage of the population will believe Kezia’s percentages are an accurate reflection of the actual percent when you factor in the Labour percentage swing effect
    that frequently causes the percentages to fluctuate by up to a hundred percent

61. Graeme Doig

Ah Kezia. She of the broken abacus and charcoal bloomers. She is surely becoming a charicature of herself now.

OT

Great meeting up wi so many Wingers yesterday. I reckon 1500 people visited the Wings stall yesterday and the other 6000 couldnae get near it 😉

62. Ken500

Highly paid engineers (excel at Maths) are often on the ashberger spectrum. Children with additional needs often come from high(er) income families. Not always linked to poverty. For every additional needs pupils there are relatives and supporters, all voters. See where that is going.

63. Malcolm McGregor

Today kez (regards her assassination of Corbyn in the guardian four weeks ago) appeared like a truculent teenager caught stealing a mars bar from the school tuck shop. kez wriggled, squirmed and then said it doesn’t matter it’s not important with a smile on her face that screamed guilty as charged m’lud.

As for labour MSPs being allowed to campaign for independence, I assume this is being trotted out to deter some from leaving labour and or attract defectors back. High risk strategy as it suggests independence is not the danger labour suggested it was a year ago, also a party divided is viewed negatively by the electorate.

64. ClanDonald

“The poorest children in Scotland are twice as likely to struggle with reading, writing and speaking, a new report has found.”

It’s obvious what she’s done here. “Twice as likely” = “50% can’t read” in Kezia’s less than logical brain.

65. Ian Brotherhood

It’s easy to have a go at this person, but she deserves to be shown-up each and every time she tries to belittle whatever sector of our communities happens to satisfy the SLab agenda from one week to the next.

‘You can’t read…you can’t teach…you’re hopeless…keep reaching for the stars, but you’ll never amount to anything…don’t get ideas above your station, but be all you can be…never let anyone put you down, up to a point…we believe that every parent should vote Labour to give their children and grand-children the best possible chance of also voting Labour and fulfilling my potential…’

But it is tragic that a character of such obviously limited abilities is heading-up the ‘opposition’ in Holyrood. It gives ammunition to those who blithely parrot Billy Connolly’s jibe about it being ‘a wee pretendy parliament’ – it certainly seems that way when one of the major positions of responsibility is occupied by someone who sounds like Jimmy Krankie on helium.

NS and colleagues need effective opposition, and there’s no prospect of them having to deal with it anytime soon – the Scottish parties capable of presenting a genuinely Left alternative still haven’t done so – RISE has not lived up to its acronym. Instead, we witness the same ego-driven paranoic bickering which has been ongoing for the past three decades.

Hope Over Fear? Aye – any excuse for a getthegither is okay, and if it brought 40+ of us Wingers together, so much the better. But let’s not kid ourselves – there are dozens, perhaps scores of well-informed, articulate people who could represent many thousands of ‘ordinary’ Scots far better than Ms Dugdale, but the unity and selflessness required to get those characters anywhere near the scope of MSM attention simply does not exist.

🙁

66. Robert Peffers

@Jim watson says: 20 September, 2015 at 5:09 pm:

“Stu – you are being selective again -Kez said “almost” and in anyone’s book 20% is almost 50%…”

Knew a guy who said that, Jim. Come to think on it I haven’t seen him since he went to pay a court imposed fine.

67. Robert Peffers

@HandandShrimp says: 20 September, 2015 at 5:10 pm:

“Education and ensuring the most disadvantaged can improve their life chances is an issue but not in the political football way that Kezia does it.”

Not just that, Handandshrimp, but there are limits to the influence the SG has over the Local Council Education Boards. As with the Labour Parties much harped upon NHS issues and staff shortages. The SG do not hire, fire or train NHS Staff but Local Councils do stuff NHS Boards with councillors.

68. yesindyref2

Some more statistics from the KD stable:

95% of unionists are able to read DM or DT headlines
    85% of unionists are able to read DM or DT articles
    75% of unionists realise there is more than DM or DT
    65% of unionists have heard of google
    55% of unionists can use google
    45% of unionists are able to click on a link they find
    35% of unionists realise there’s an article there
    25% of unionists are able to read some words in the article
    15% of unionists are able to partly understand an easy article
    5% of unionists are able to fully understand the full article
    -5% of unionists are able to remember it 15 seconds af
    -15% of unionists are able to comment on the
    -25% of unionists are able to …

69. Dave McEwan Hill

Sorry. But I feel sorry for the girl. She obviously has no idea of what an astute political figure needs to know to be on the telly.
    And no idea she is making herself into a figure of derision.

70. Robert Peffers

@David Anderson says: 20 September, 2015 at 5:49 pm:

“Still, the better they are at holding the SNP to account the better the SNP will have to perform which is no bad thing for Scotland.”

I’ve been closely following the SNP since the mid 1940s, David, and if I’m certain of one fact. It is that absolutely nothing the SNP does is motivated by anything the Labour Party has had to criticise about through the years.

71. Nana Smith

Really sorry to go off topic but this is urgent!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qh35oFgNxF8&feature=youtu.be

72. Frazer Allan Whyte

I may have missed someone else commenting on it but even if KD’s comment was vaguely correct why would that in any way disallow the danger of nukes or the need for independence?

It is not just that she is mangling statistics she has no concept of logic.

73. Chris

Somebody’s awffy gallous. Whit a brass-neck she’s got on her.

74. scottieDog

Maybe she needs to ask why it is that ‘top’ economists that served the lab and cons treasury don’t actually understand where our money comes from in the economy.

75. heedtracker

It’s merely feeding into BBC’s relentless Scotland region is really badly run without them in charge bullshit. Them, is the BBC and SLabour obviously. Its pretty routine politics though.

JC’s not the messiah, clearly not making that much of impact with red tory SLab, or she’s just another dope, or all three!

Lady Kezia Dugdale of Mayfair and Sir Gordon Brewer of Mayfair also, UKOK charlatans.

76. Macart

@Ian Brotherhood

Don’t be down Ian. Its why we do what we do.

The sooner we achieve independence the sooner we get the parliament and representation we want and require. Whilst there are parties in residence who owe their future career prospects and duty to Westminster there will be no focus on the needs and desires of the Scottish electorate other than by the SNP. Our other excellent progressive parties simply don’t have the wellie to take on the established W1 trio and that is galling.

I am so sick of the current team and their constant bloody whining about the Scottish government. Their main approach being what will the Scottish government do about/offset/fix… well, basically the bullshit policies of Westminster central government? They see this as a viable argument for **** sake. Why should a devolved government in a supposedly successful union have to offset the policies of the parent administration? An administration they sold the population on retaining no less.

That is how broken, childish and frankly insulting our democracy has become and its heartbreaking.

I get what you mean Its bloody painful to watch sometimes, but we’re so close. A wee bitty longer fella and then we can vote our way into a rainbow parliament where, if the fates are kind, we’ll see SSP, Greens, SNP, independents and I suppose if we have to, properly Scottish Labour, Lib dems and the other one. 😉

77. cynicalHighlander

@Nana Smith

Naughty or should that be Nautie?

78. Tam Jardine

As soon as Kezia stuck the boot into Corbyn for zero political gain she made it crystal clear that she was not voting for him. There was nothing to gain and everything to lose from doing so but she stuck the boot in nonetheless.

Now Corbyn has won and we all know she voted against him there is nothing to gain from not admitting who she voted for, indeed it makes her appear dishonest. Even though she has shown she has a losing hand she sticks with it rather than fold and move on.

This, ladies and gentlemen, is someone who should never be anywhere near the controls. The opposition in Holyrood is the best place for poor Kezia. At least she is unable to do any harm.

79. Robert Peffers

@Ken500 says: 20 September, 2015 at 8:34 pm:

“Some autistic children can read when they are two, but not with comprehension. Some are wizard on computers/devices and technology aids.”

I don’t know if it was autism but we had a girl in our class who could more or less flick through a novel and write down the whole thing correctly. Trouble was she couldn’t comprehend the story.

It was some form of photographic memory. She couldn’t figure out the simplest thing but could memorise anything. She was no use at art, that is she could not compose anything, but could copy anything no matter how complex.

80. Tinto Chiel

Nana, how much do you want for DB?

Lovely to meet you on Saturday.

Wish you lived through the wall, working on my Gaelic pronunciation.

81. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one we’ve seen before, but still has only 700-odd views.

It seems to be a very rough ‘screen-test’ for KD, from years ago…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9OSU0etVipo

82. heedtracker

NS and colleagues need effective opposition, and there’s no prospect of them having to deal with it anytime soon

They have to contend with the BBC, STV, is it 37 newspapers all in opposition to SNP in government. They don’t need to be elected and there is no answer or challenge to them. Maybe its why SLab MSP’s are so weak, they don’t have to be anything else.

A few tax dodging billionaires, tory BBC, House of lords, all instructing large ranks of twerpy right wing middle and upper class journos, they are the real opposition at the pretendy parliament. Purr purr.

83. JLT

@Ian Brotherhood,

Ian mate, I think you’re looking at this possibly too closely in the present context.

Yes, you are right; Kezia is definitely poor opposition for the SNP. It almost as you say, justifies Billy Connolly’s infamous quote.

But when you take a step back, and look at how far we have come in parliamentary terms since 2007, then you realise we have come along way…and the better for it too! We are lightyears ahead of what we had under Donald Dewar and Jack McConnnell.

And who knows where we will be in 15 years time. Keep your chin up mate. A lot to play for yet! LOL

84. Democracy Reborn

It’s contrived “crisis!” time again for Kez.

How many times do you hear “Education Crisis!”, “Police Scotland Crisis!”, “NHS Crisis!”.

Didn’t Stu run a piece recently skewering a claim by Fraser Nelson that Scotland had a lower percentage than England of working class kids going onto further education?

The moment these vacuous utterances are stripped away, they immediately fall apart.

The Office for National Statistics produced a report in 2014 concluding that Scotland had the most educated population in Europe, and one of the most educated in the world. Coming to you soon on a front-page Daily Record/Daily Mail headline…. not.

85. Tinto Chiel

@Ian Brotherhood, 10.28.

What kind of guy are you? I’m in my baffies and Willie Pettigrew Special Edition Jim-Jams, just getting comfy, and you inflict that video on me?

Some folk!

Jeeze!!

86. gordoz

Im astonished the BBC got away with harassing an Ordinary Mum –

they clearly claimed she was a ‘Labour activist’ ??

Shocking stuff

87. Ian Brotherhood

@Macart –

I hear ye friend, I hear ye loud and clear…

Yesterday, in The Square, got chatting longtemps with a well-kent socialist who knows all the main players on the Left, and is properly hacked-off with the behaviour of pretty much everyone right now.

The details are only of interest to real anoraks, but I’d be betraying confidence in referring to any one of them, no matter how insignificant they may seem to me.

Bottom-line – it would be to everyone’s benefit if Sheridan and all the people he dragged into his court-case were confined within a Big-Brother type arrangement on the understanding that NONE of them be released until they get themselves sorted.

These rallies provide valuable focal points and have considerable PR benefits for the larger Indy movement, but I’m sure we’d all prefer that they weren’t necessary – right now, the Hope Over Fear rallies are perpetuating the ‘political’ career of someone who has long-since frittered away whatever credibility he had.

‘Brother’ Sheridan is ballast – the Left in Scotland cannot and will not cohere until he fesses-up or fucks-off.

88. Gary45%

Not so much a car crash , but a pile up, for Duggers.
    Eventually got it on the I-player.

Wullie “gaping yawn” Rennie was just as bad, at least I think he said that about half a dozen times in his short interview.( I would rather lick wood chip wall paper than have to listen to the Rennie interview again).
    Correct me if I am wrong.

89. Democracy Reborn

@Anagach

Your reference to her being like Sarah Palin is not cruel or inaccurate, but fair.

If Kez was a U.S. politician she would probably already be shredded by the media for her howlers. Just in exactly the same way that Johann would have been toast for her ‘Scots are not genetically programmed to make political decisions’ remark. Can you seriously imagine any US politician saying that and being able to get away with it?

Of course, they thankfully have our own MSM to give them a free pass.

90. Alistair

I’m astonished that 100% of BBC political interviewers can’t challenge her bullshit when it’s spewed at them

91. Macart

@Ian B

Just so’s y’know bud. There is a lot of talent out there not getting their fair shout just now, but hopefully we can change that. 😉

92. robertknight

“100% of BBC…”

The BBC probably writes the crap she spews anyway.

93. Ian Brotherhood

@Macart (11.12) –

Indeed, indeed.

Some ‘homework’ was done outside the Clutha Vaults last evening in that regard re a ‘conference’ of sorts, to be organised by ourselves.

The discussion will unfold naturally, hereabouts, via O/T and/or Quarantine.

Naturally, we have to get bevvy and beds organised first – all else will follow. (Ronnie A’s wanton destruction of The Shed was a major setback, but we Carry On Regardless…)

94. cynicalHighlander

@Ian Brotherhood says:

‘Brother’ Sheridan is ballast – the Left in Scotland cannot and will not cohere until he fesses-up or fucks-off.

Ian the problem with the left isn’t Sheridan it’s more often that the left has so many shades of grey that they are unable to unite except under major single issues because our politics is based on two sides, right or left. The only way of resolving that is having a completely PR system of voting which is a long way off.

95. Iain More

Well slap me with a deid fish, Scotland qualifies for Davis Cup Final for the first time ever, well bugger me sideways with rusty trool.

96. caz-m

Ian,(good to see you yesterday)

We had a wee chat at the Rally about there not being a strong second political Party in Scotland.

And right on cue, Kezia comes out today with that mince that proves the point.

She is just another screamin skull that rolled off the Scottish Labour Party production line of incompetent Leaders.

And if you’re getting fed up with Kezia going on about the “attainment gap”, then you wont have long to wait until that line dries up.

Because the winter will soon be upon us and you know what Scottish Labour go on about in the winter, yes, it’s the good old A&E waiting times.

As sure as night follows day the Hospitals will be getting it in the neck in the not to distant future.

Scottish Labour, a total waist of everyone’s time and energy.

We thought those Comedy Gold moments with Jim Murphy had gone forever, but Kezia is starting to come through as a perfect replacement.

97. liz

Personally I’m fed up with the ‘left’ who’ve achieved SFA to help the people they are supposed to represent.

Far too many egos contained within little talent.

Sheridan like or loathe has done his time for the crime.
    The others can’t let it go and I’m not interested in them.

We have enough to do fighting the red,blue,yellow tories, the MSM, the BBC.

98. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood och Ian ah wiz only protecting the Indy image the Wee Saltire Shed wiz collapsing in on itself, it hud a good innings fur ah shed, 50+years & for 3 of them it acheived fame.

Ah hope you,s aw kin forgive me,it wiz fur the best realy.

99. Laukat

I see the Mail and Lord Ashcroft are doing a number on Cameron.

Whilst its good to see Cameron get a taste of his own medicine I’m pretty sure the motivation is based on getting a EU sceptic like Johnson in the PM job and ultimately securing a EU exit.

100. Paula Rose

The night I spent in ronnie anderson’s shed will be a memory I will treasure.

101. heedtracker

EU sceptic like Johnson in the PM job and ultimately securing a EU exit.

If they succeed, LibDem Clegg says

“Not just one, but two, unions now hang in the balance. If we vote to leave the EU, I have no doubt that the SNP will gleefully grab the opportunity to persuade the people of Scotland to leave the UK as well,” he is expected to say.

“Do we want our children and grandchildren to live in a once-great country now pulled apart? A Great Britain turned into a little England, drifting friendlessly somewhere in the mid-Atlantic?”

Without their Scotland region, its little England, the friendless drifter, somewhere in the mid-Atlantic, forever getting spanked at the tennis.

102. Lanarkist

OT.

Seems Twitter has gone into melt down with the #piggate story.

D.M serialising Ashcroft Book on Cameron.

Article quotes witnesses to PM sticking his penis in a dead Pigs mouth during society initiation ceremony.

Grass and cocaine also mentioned in his student years!

Hilarious banter on a pig/porcine theme.

103. Ian Brotherhood

@cynicalHighlander –

I’m not sure about your analysis of the ‘Left’, although it’s interesting to hear it being described in shades of grey – dispiriting, but perhaps accurate.

My point is not an ideological one. It’s more to do with the horrible shite that has to be dealt with in families as a matter of course – crises happen, and some ‘loved ones’ (often unexpectedly!) become villains, rogues, outcasts, whatever…

And when that happens, it does no-one in ‘the family’ any favours to pretend that nothing’s happened, that there’s ‘nothing to talk about’, so ‘just let it go’…

No. That approach doesn’t do anyone any good at all. Most of us know that from personal experience.

So why should it be any different for a political party/movement?

Why is it that WOS people can congregate here, there, all over Scotland, and we don’t ever fall-out, have ‘domestics’ about this that or t’other?

Why can’t ‘The Left’ in Scotland just get their act together and provide the final nail in the SLab coffin?

There’s no rational reason why it hasn’t happened yet. Problem is, there’s a big elephant in the room, and few are prepared to even acknowledge its presence.

Until we do that, and properly clear the air once and for all? we’ll continue to see two-dimensional, disposable characters such as ‘Kezia’ being presented as ‘representatives of the people’ whilst the proper candidates simmer in mutually corrosive bile.

Scottish Labour is finished. They have no ‘brand loyalty’. Forget them. Holyrood is not perceived by most Scots as a ‘pretendy’ parliament, but can easily be dismissed as-such unless the SNP is faced with a credible opposition. The ‘Left’ can and should provide it, but it can’t and won’t unless it’s united.

‘The Left’ can’t and won’t have any chance of being ‘united’ until Sheridan leaves the stage.

104. Fiona

What struck me was her expression in the clip. It looks like a “gotcha” face, which is as childish as it comes, assuming she believed what she was saying. But…the last part explains it.

105. Gerry

Very O/T but WTF !! #piggate

106. handclapping

I knew politics was corrupt and when you voted you were buying a pig in a poke but I never guessed it would end up with us led by a poke in a pig

107. yesindyref2

From the National: “Whether Dugdale is suggesting the Scottish Labour leadership is in favour of independence is unclear, and probably unlikely. However, it does signal a less hostile and more refreshing position.”

I like it. Sneaky, but I like it. Fight fire with fire.

108. heedtracker

Never eat cheese before bed, just had worst nightmare, Cammers had his dingdong in a dead pigs mouth, and then I woke up.

109. yesindyref2

from piggate to the mail to this quote: “He [Ashcroft] adds, tartly, that he was once told by a colleague of the Tory leader that: ‘Cameron’s word is as good as the paper it’s written on’ – which, he says, is a comment he’s had much cause to reflect on.”

And so say 2,000,000 NO voters in Scotland.

110. Gerry

Hilarious. The pig has tweeted “Camerons Pig ?@CameronPig
    I ask that you respect my privacy in this difficult time.”

Who would have thought Dave was a hamasexual eh

111. yesindyref2

It seems Cameron had more success with his own Bay of Pigs invasion.

112. Sunniva

I can’t stand that whiny, petty, sniping airhead. I feel sorry for her poor Dad.

113. Tam Jardine

So I couldn’t sleep and found myself looking upon the internet. Now I may never sleep again.

With Corbyn dealt so many blows by the right wing press, with labour in some disarray, and with the conservatives kicking off a new term of office with a majority- could this be a good time to get a story about the PM with his cock in a pig’s gub out the way?

Well, this may prove a little difficult for Mr Cameron to shrug off. I can imagine references to this episode being dropped into PMQs with regularity.

That a photograph of such preposterous situation exists… ye gods. I thought it was tricky for the PM when he left his kid in a boozer. This is going to be a little harder to live down.

I wonder what Rebecca Loos makes of all this? (hows that for tabloid journalist thought-process).

114. cearc

Never mind, ‘Well, this may prove a little difficult for Mr Cameron to shrug off.

What about the embarrassment it will cause to our own ‘Call me Dave’, having such a book named after him!

Will we be seeing a new moniker,’Whatever you do, please don’t Call me Dave’?

115. Sandy Henderson

Cameron, scardy pants. Why didn’t they use a live pig?

116. cearc

The Independent have now published a piece about Ashcroft’s book wherein they make no mention of pigs.

It amusingly finishes, ‘A Downing Street spokesman said: “We’re not going to be commenting on any of it.”

Meanwhile, in the real world, #piggate is trending across the world, The Americas, The Antipodes, India and even european countries where most people are still sleeping the innocent sleep.

The man is a laughing-stock everywhere! How can he possibly carry on as PM?

117. Capella

Yikes. I just got myself sorted out with twitter only to find it’s melting under the pressure of pig tweets, if that’s the right word.

When Paula Rose said it was lovely and warm, I didn’t expect quite so much warmth!

118. yesindyref2

@cearc
    So I guess that makes Osborne Prime Minister.

I wonder when the next Indy opinion poll will be done?

119. john king

dont look at this one Nana

Tam Jardine says
    “That a photograph of such preposterous situation exists… ye gods. I thought it was tricky for the PM when he left his kid in a boozer. This is going to be a little harder to live down. ”

Snort,
    Especially when you’ve got an apple round your cock! 🙂
    you know it makes sense.

120. Ken500

If less money was spent onTrident, HS2, illegal wars, the effects of illegal wars, Westminster/Unionist policies etc there would be more funding for education/social services. The reason many voters support Independence. Westminster failed policies.

Local authorities are responsible for many aspects of Education. Unionist controlled authorities often blow/cut the budget, spend monies on less important projects.

121. john king

Handclapping says
    “I knew politics was corrupt and when you voted you were buying a pig in a poke but I never guessed it would end up with us led by a poke in a pig”

Ah cumon noo be fair
    how many here can honestly say they have never woken up next to a pig?
    Ah…eh just get ma gimp suit!

122. john king

Capella says
    “When Paula Rose said it was lovely and warm, I didn’t expect quite so much warmth!”

You got burned didn’t you? 🙂

123. Ken500

If Tommy Sheridan left the stage there would be no Rally. Excellent organisational skills and oratory skills. People don’t seem to understand how the biased Local Authorities try to ban Rallies. They unconstitutionally use every trick in the book. The work that goes into organising a (successful) Rally is phenomenal. That is the story. Thanks again Tommy et al.

‘The Left should stop criticising the Left’ @ the Left criticising the Left. Some of the Left still do not get it. Repartition.They let the right (wing Press) divide them.

Johnston/Osbourne et al were also Bollington Boys with their udders hanging out. They are fully complicit/ implicated. This is just the start. Reap what they sour. Another jolly day in politics.

124. john king

Nick Clegg (dontcha just luv him?)
    will say to the Lib Dem conference that voting to leave the EU will lead to the breakup of the UK!

that’s a guarantee that England will vote to leave then,
    your a toff guv. 🙂

125. john king

I wonder how many back bench tory MP’s are dreaming dreams of a new empire when they manage to shake off the EU and those bleedin sweaties?

There must be somewhere in the world that could do with the guidance, strength, and protection of England…surely?

Rockall?

126. Ken500

‘Good morning PM the headache never goes away’. ‘ Another bad news day’. This is just the start. Cameron is an alcoholic. Alcoholics make poor decisions. Trotters, imagine the religious implications. The walls start tumbling down.

127. Ken500

A ‘D’ notice wouldn’t save them.

128. Auld Rock

We know that some children apart from difficulties with reading also experience difficulty with numeracy, which leaves me pondering how it is that they all end-up working for SLAB propaganda machine???

Telling however that she failed to mention that children who suffer the worst come from areas which for over 50yrs have been under the benign and enlightened control of SLAB Cooncils – a CONNECTION MAYBE!!!

Auld Rock

129. john king

take two
    the CORRECT video
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LBP_IdoIVxM
    🙁

130. Auld Rock

Jojn King,

Rockall is within Scttish 200 economic zone,though Ireland has something to say about that. That aside they can keep their grubby hands off that. Drop me your email address and I’ll send you an interesting Irish Folk song about it.
    My email:- asterix.at.valhalla@gmail.com

Auld Rock

131. Ken500

The Trotters. Donations. Imagine the implication for foreign policies. Cameron et al are now unclean. Sore head. Cocaine illegally all over Downing Street. The security ‘blackmail’ breach.

The affect of illegal Non Dom’s illegally buying themselves ‘Gov’ jobs. Cash for scandal.

132. Nana Smith

@John King

Well I saw the pigate thingy breaking last night and had to stop reading tweets cause my ribs hurt so much from laughing. I thought perhaps the pig in question was Boris until I read the pig was actually dead.

I bet you Corbyn’s thinking ‘wham Cam thank you spam’

I won’t be missing PMQ’s this week, hoping Angus will say the PM is ‘squealing’ with delight at the benefit cuts.

Oh and now we know why Milliband did not want to eat that bacon sandwich.

What a way to start the week!

133. Ken500

No one will be able to look the guy in the face without tittering. Greedy pig. Excess of fatty bacon. The animal rights division. How many will be offended? Half the world. A Unionist laughing stock.

134. Ken500

Good old British values and a bacon sarnie.

135. Macart

Piggate??!!??

OFFS! 😀 ROFLMAO

(cough, serious face now)

The beginning of the end for Camo? Osborne for PM anyone?

136. Arabs for Independence

From oiks to oinks. No more EU Grunts for Cameron unless someone’s telling porkies.

137. Ken500

Only question now is when Cameron, the bully boy will be resigning, and who will replace him? Osbourne/Johnstone out of the picture. Vile IDS etc out of the picture. The House of Cards fell sooner than ever could be imagined. No PR stunt will ever cover it.

138. Graeme Borthwick

I taught for 20 years. It depends what you mean by reading.
    Where I live in Edinburgh only one person in the street appears to read a newspaper.
    PS..I counted five Mercedes in the street.

139. Macart

@Nana

Oh, I don’t think Corbyn would be unhappy true enough. How and ever Cammo is on his way out anyways. This was always going to be his last rodeo. When better to first back stab, then replace him, than now if you’re into that sort of thing?

EU ref looming, next GE 5 years away, proven liability where the next door neighbours are concerned. Get shot and replace now, but with whom? My sly fiver would be Gideon. 😉

140. Ken500

Gideon/Johnston are implicated in the same attitudes/behaviour. They were part of the same circle. Bollington boys. What more is to come out? Now.

Imagine the offence caused in the Shires, the blue rinse brigade.

141. Ken500

There are full requirements for Drink/drugs test for Westminster MP’s. The major are under the influence illegally blowing £Billions of voters cash.

Will Cameron go quietly, will he be pushed or stabbed in the back like Thatcher. Bully boy.

142. Nana Smith

@Macart

But surely as this jiggery porkery was an initiation ceremony then all the bullingtons will have done the same. Boris, Gideon tarred with the same basting brush methinks?

British values Eh?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nmM5_ZfkJ2A&feature=youtu.be

143. Rise_and_shine_Cameron_swine

In response to Ken500, why is Osbourne/Johnstone out the picture?

144. gerry parker

@ caz-m at 11:59

Sorry I missed you on Saturday, John King said he had just been speaking to you after I met him, I headed in the direction indicated but didn’t catch up, then got waylaid.
    Great Rally.
    See you next time maybe.

145. Cuilean

I listened in absolute disbelief to lawyer & ex CBI CEO Lord Digby-Jones of Birmingham on BBC this morning at 7.56 am who said, verbatim:

‘Remember this about the West Midlands; it is bigger than Scotland. Listen to that Nicola Sturgeon – West Midlands – bigger than Scotland. And as important. You know, we think we are as important but we are not special, Scotland isn’t special.’

After spluttering over coffee and a quick check of the old atlas, these are the facts:

Scotland 79,000 km sq
    England 130,000 km sq
    Midlands 13,000 km sq
    West Midlands 902 km sq.

I also learned in passing that Scotland’s coast line is 7,330 miles; England’s coast line is 1,988 miles & Midlands’ coast line 0.

So much for bragging rights.But, my word didn’t his xenophobic mask slip!

146. ronnie anderson

Did Milliband know that last year,

encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcROG1l_Urdag6ugzvV-sIn3XKqtBqLi_1SDX2otR1CdWeiaMP_f

147. Macart

@Nana

The mind boggles at the initiation ceremonies of our betters. 😀

Still, though we’re pretty much all aware they’re twisted buggers, the timing for a bit of character assassination couldn’t be better from Osborne or Bojo’s point of view.

148. ronnie anderson

Fur fuck saky. The Scottish hillsides are covered with Sheep, an ave seen a photo of Cameron wearing wellie’s,where will it end.

149. caz-m

I have a feeling that Cameron knew this book was coming out and that the night of love he had with miss piggy was going to be made public.

That is why he said that he will not be hanging around for a third term.

And what about poor wee Ruth Davidson, how is she ever going to make a serious point at First Minister’s Questions ever again, when the whole Parliament will be sniggering away at her. Will she now be known as one of Dave’s little piglets.

And how does Dave face up to other World leaders, knowing that they know where his “wee man” has been.

Anyone for pork?

150. Brian Powell

Folks deep in the Appalachians saying, “Now that good ol boy, I’d vote him for Presseedent!”

151. dramfineday

As the old song went “you can tell a man who boozes by the company he chooses and the pig got up and slowly walked away”

Mind you, sans heid, it would be a bit more difficult.

152. ronnie anderson

Cameron been jerking the Porker fur years.

153. One_Scot

The fact that we are ruled by a Tory Prime Minster who likes to puts his cock into various holes of a dead pig is not enough reason on its own for Scotland to be Independent, I don’t know what is.

154. Cal

Why are we still part of this cesspit?

155. heedtracker

Ashcroft gave £8 million to the Toryboys!

“2009, I discussed the matter in detail with Cameron. He was therefore fully aware of my status as a so-called ‘non dom’ — the rule that allows some wealthy UK residents to limit the tax they pay on earnings outside the country.
    Indeed, we had a conversation about how we could delay revealing my tax arrangements until after the election.
    Ah, it’s difficult. We probably need to have another conversation
    David Cameron
    In the event, this proved difficult, because Labour dug out the information under Freedom of Information legislation. But nothing that subsequently emerged in March 2010 about my tax status was a surprise to Cameron. The media furore was unpleasant. But I knew it would blow over, and looked forward to being part of Cameron’s administration.

So, once he became Prime Minister, I waited — as many do — for him to call me. After hearing nothing for a couple of days, I mentioned this to Andrew Feldman, who was co-chairman of the party.

Shortly afterwards, Cameron phoned to thank me profusely for all the work I’d done. I thanked him in turn and asked what my next role would be. There was silence at the end of the phone. ‘Ah, it’s difficult,’ he replied awkwardly. ‘We probably need to have another conversation.’

Good old toryboys. Have sex with one dead pig, there’s a UKOK meeja blackout

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/blogs/the_papers BBC blackout

Pompous BBC arse, freedom of speech, jaw dropping hypocrites.

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2015/sep/21/freedom-of-speech-online-witch-hunts-law–bbc

156. Nana Smith

@Ronnie Anderson

Geez Cameron wearing wellies you say. Why was he out with the sheep? I think the country should be told.

There will be ramifications I tell you!

As Macart says the mind boggles.

Right that’s it I’m getting away from the internet for the rest of today, my already aching sides will not hold out at this rate.

157. One_Scot

I wonder if the Queen is still purring like a cat or if she’s now squealing like a pig.

158. Ken500

Pork/sausages off the menu. A decline in the farming sector.Damage to the retail sector. Where will it end?

159. desimond

Re #piggate
    Has Charlie Brooker been interviewed by Police yet?
    This is Black Mirror come to life.

160. ronnie anderson

@ caz-m 1st Ministers question time wee Ruthie.

When is the 1st Minister meeting the Prime Porker ah mean the Prime Minister.

1st Minister NOOOO fekin way.

161. Ken500

Imagine the fall in Tory support at Holyrood. Political suicide.

162. Jim

The Sperminator starring, Linda HAMilton

Romancing The HAM Bone

Peppa Frig

Razor Bare Back

Hambo

fave Television series – Only Fools and Horses, he loved the Trotters.

Fave actor – Kevin Bacon

Fave porn Movie – Ed Miliband eating a bacon sandwich.

FAvourite vigilante movie – Piggy

163. Bob Mack

Reminds me of the old joke.
    What do Ashcroft and a pig have in common?
    They are both squealers.

Presumably Osborne and Johnston may have been members of the same Society?

Sales of mouthwash have just rocketed in the Shires.

164. ronnie anderson

@Nana Smith. John Gummers making ah comeback eating a Bacon roll out side Westminster.

Or get might get Cameron himself feeding his wain ah Bacon roll.

? will EU ban British Bacon lol.

165. Ken500

Caller to the ‘Wright Stuff’. Re the LibDems.

E.g ‘a Tory PM putting a cock into a dead pig’s mouth’ Cut off

166. Brian Powell

So, despite repeated warnings to No voters, “You’ll land us forever with Tories, fu..ing pigs”, it wasn’t just metaphorical.

167. heedtracker

Rancid The Graun very muted reportage

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2015/sep/21/david-cameron-pig-head-lord-ashcroft-unofficial-biography-drug-taking-claims

“A friend from university also said Cameron smoked cannabis with him occasionally while listening to Supertramp as part of a group called the Flam Club”

And then fcuk a dead pigs head. What kind of weed do toryboys score?

168. Ken500

How the hell he has the conceit to think he can ride out this one? Now a complete lame duck administration.

169. Tinto Chiel

Anent #piggate: What utter humiliation—for the pig.

I suppose Cams could try the petty officer’s excuse at Scapa Flow when found employing unorthodox animal husbandry techniques with a sheep: “It was very foggy, sir, and I thought it was a WREN in a duffle coat.”

Cams for the chop?

170. Ken500

Everyone knew the Tories would shatter over Europe, but not that it would happen so soon.

171. One_Scot

You can almost see them standing round watching Cameron humping the face off a pig and saying, you know what if he can do this to a pig then the Scots have no chance.

172. Alastair

Tories allegedly for premier necrophilic bestiality

173. galamcennalath

I think Labour and Corbyn’s chances in England may have improved overnight.

What must those blue rinse lady and colonel blimp local Conservative stalwarts be thinking today!?

174. One_Scot

I know Nicola Sturgeon said there would have to be a material change to have another referendum on Scotland’s Independence, well if the leader of the United Kingdom being a Zoophile is not reason enough, I don’t know what is.

175. Robert Peffers

@Macart says: 20 September, 2015 at 10:06 pm:

” … A wee bitty longer fella and then we can vote our way into a rainbow parliament where, if the fates are kind, we’ll see SSP, Greens, SNP, independents and I suppose if we have to, properly Scottish Labour, Lib dems and the other one.”

It is only my own opinion but the typical mind-set of all the Establishment parties makes the concept of separate and independent Scottish, “Westminster Establishment”, parties quite out of the question. This will still remain true even if they do register on paper as separate parties.

They will still, to all intents and purposes, act in unison throughout the entire United Kingdom as long as that United Kingdom still exists. Look through this thread and you will see dyed in the wool Yessers bitterly and wrongly holding to the lie that they are, “Not British”. You know and I know, and quite likely they know, that what they actually mean is they do not identify with being a, “United Kingdomer”.

If the brainwashing is so deeply ingrained within the Yessers just imagine how, “set in stone”, (the Edstone perhaps), it must be with dyed in the wool unionists.

Thus, until such times as we can properly identify the correct disease, we will have only limited ability to cure the correct illness. This either by using the correct ointment and/or medication or by surgically removal of the diseased organ. A bit like taking an Aspirin to cure Athlete’s Foot.

176. HandandShrimp

Who in the Tory Party has decided that it is time to ditch Cameron? The pro EU types or the sceptics?

177. manandboy

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-somerset-34306997

MORE CASINO POLITICS FROM OSBORNE

In setting this deal up through UK guarantees, George Osborne and the Tory government are gambling very heavily indeed on the Union remaining intact. And this is only one of several huge issues in this France/China project which is a giant PFI in disguise.

Osborne is betting that Scotlands huge wealth will continue to flow undisturbed into England’s coffers.

Osborne is much more a gambler, and a chancer, than he is a Chancellor.

178. smithie

Breaking news,Hollywoods Miss Piggy demands an enquiry.
    Meanwhile Kermit wonders what all the fuss is about.

Coat on, heading oot.

179. Macart

@Robert Peffers

I did say ‘I suppose if we have to’ Robert. 😀

Frankly I wouldn’t trust them as far as I could chuck them.

180. Ken500

Porkers poor wife and children. Ah shortly will be spending more time with them or have health issues. Reap what they sow.

Sceptics. The Mail owner. Paul Darce? Or Rothermere.(Express?) Both right wing tax evading Tory sceptics. Along with Ashcroft.

181. jacksg

Hi Guys,

let’s move away from the Toffs and their weird coke snorting ways 😉

An interesting wee read on the changes in Scotland over the past year.

http://www.open.edu/openlearn/people-politics-law/politics-policy-people/society-matters/settling-uncertainty-reflections-on-the-scottish-independence-referendum

182. Robert Peffers

@Alistair says: 20 September, 2015 at 11:11 pm:

“I’m astonished that 100% of BBC political interviewers can’t challenge her bullshit when it’s spewed at them.”

You must remember, Alistair, that the BBC, and to great extent the other broadcasters and MSM are rather like, “Cybermen”: –

http://www.thedoctorwhosite.co.uk/cybermen/

A vast army of deadly enemies from a parallel Earth-like planet. They are automatons, less than human, and with one shared, less than human, brain controlling them all. The shared brain thinks – the automatons simultaneously react.

183. Ken500

Tories have guaranteed double the public funded investment to the Chinese built nuclear plant, than to Renewables. A total waste of public money. It will be £Billions (twice) over cost and time. Renewables are half the cost and safer. This is recipe for disaster, beside the rising sea coast as well. Where will the waste go? The illegal nuclear dump is in Scotland. Faslane. 6 rotting hulls at Rosyth.

Osbourne’s associates i.e. friends and family, will be getting £Millions in back handers from the Chinese for contracts and consultation fees. This happened with the Royal Mail Pension grab, RBS sell off and HS2 Project. Why Osbourne is in politics to misuse the public purse.

184. Macnakamura

Literacy may be a skill that leads to career advancement in Slab but, clearly, numeracy is not required.

185. BIll McLean

I hope the wee piggy was amenable! This gives a whole new meaning to “pulled pork”!

186. heedtracker

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/?ie=UTF8&keywords=simpsons+spider+pig&tag=googhydr-21&index=aps&hvadid=25751482376&hvpos=1o1&hvexid=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=8140575971249915204&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=b&hvdev=c&ref=pd_sl_1vbmt4lhgh_b

There goes another beloved cartoon character, Harry Plopper. No connection with hammer of the Scots JK Rowling, obviously.

Spider-Pig,
    Spider-Pig,
    Does whatever
    A Spider-Pig does.
    Can he swing

Can he swing from a web? Oh, no!
    From a web?
    No, he can’t
    He’s a pig!
    He’s a pig.

Thanks a lot toryboys.

187. Robert Peffers

@StevieMcB says: 21 September, 2015 at 1:21 am:

“Sorry cant archive. twitters melting its hilarious
    #piggate #hameron
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3242550/Cameron-pig-bemused-look-face-future-PM-took-outrageous-initiation-ceremony-joining-Oxford-dining-society.html

Seems it is not a pig in a poke story. More a poke in a pig story.

188. Dave McEwan Hill

To return to the main point I think Kezia and Johann Lamont have just demolished the last significant obstacle to independence. I can’t imagine this was carelessly done.

189. ArtyHetty

Must have been looking at himself in the mirror then. Yuk, these people are quite base aren’t they.

Who is trying to bring him down now though? And why?

190. Ananurhing

Ken500
    “Porkers poor wife and children”

Don’t know about that Ken. She’s from the Astor stable of Profumo scandal infamy. Quite used to sticking their chipolatas where they don’t belong, and quite happy to hang poor old Steven Ward out to dry.

I believe they also occupy Jura and other vast swathes of Scotland. I’ll save my sympathy for the pig.

191. woosie

I heard about one etonian who was into flagellation, necromancy and bestiality, but he was flogging a dead horse.

I think the last sane English mp we had was Ali G!

The saddest part of all is that nothing will come of it. As with Cokey Osborne. Just imagine if an SNP mp had done this!

I can’t comprehend that unionists in Scotland don’t see this as mortally offensive.

192. Robert Peffers

@Ken500 says: 21 September, 2015 at 7:43 am:

“No one will be able to look the guy in the face without tittering … How many will be offended? Half the world.”

Never forget the Bullingdon Boys are not confined to only the Tory Party. This is the very heart of the Establishment. A bunch of emotionally handicapped overgrown public Schoolboys emotionally crippled by their lack of parental contact.

Cared for by Nannies, sent off to prep-boarding school and into the English public boarding school system. Followed by a spell away from home at Uni and then found a good career somewhere, anywhere that keeps them out of the hair of the parents.

The old English upper class saying was, “First son to the Navy, second son to the army, third son to the clergy and the next into politics”. Any survivor becomes heir to the title.

Is it any wonder the Commons and Lords is a sanctuary for Kiddie Fiddlers?

193. Scot Finlayson

I presume all the figures on how many children leave Primary School with a limited ability to read takes into account the 10%> of the population with dyslexia.

194. James Caithness

@Robert Peffers 21 September, 2015 at 12:14 pm

I was once told that the establishment send the children away to school at a very young age to have all feelings and conscience beaten and fucked out of them.

195. Fred

The Astor’s must be choking on their Oxford marmalade this morning. Judging by Cameron’s accent the penis was on the other foot!

196. Me Bungo Pony

I hope she stays on as Labour Branch Manager as she is a gift to both the SNP and the independence movement in general.

197. Fred

This is tremendously damaging for the PM, will he sue, or should that perhaps be soo! 🙂

198. shug

Who else is up for putting some time aside to build a picture of the key unionist policy positions and how Westminster has betrayed them
    Volunteers say aye and I will set a meeting

199. Robert Peffers

@Cuilean says: 21 September, 2015 at 9:02 am:

I also learned in passing that Scotland’s coast line is 7,330 miles; England’s coast line is 1,988 miles & Midlands’ coast line 0.

Not only that but Scotland’s coastline is, as a ratio of land area to coastline, the longest in Europe. Also the fact that Scotland is narrow and has three sides with coastline makes Scotland have the greatest renewables capability in Europe.

200. Robert Peffers

@caz-m says: 21 September, 2015 at 9:11 am:

“Will she now be known as one of Dave’s little piglets.”</I?

Well no, Caz-m, Wee Ruthie apparently is not interested in male organs – unless they strap-on.

201. Robert Peffers

@ronnie anderson says: 21 September, 2015 at 9:19 am:

“Cameron been jerking the Porker fur years.”

Don’t think I’ll ever look at a pork sausage on a plate in the same way ever again.

“Put that Hot-Dog down – you don’t know where it’s been”.

202. gordonbrownstuff

Sir Pigby Jones is very apt name indeed in light of todays revelations about Dave….

203. Robert Peffers

@One_Scot says: 21 September, 2015 at 10:08 am@

” … saying, you know what if he can do this to a pig then the Scots have no chance”

Remember the old saying – “Be nice to those people you meet on the way up. You will certainly meet them again on your way down”.

Dave wasn’t nice to Ashcroft on the way up and now Ashcroft is attending to Dave on his way down.

There is another saying too, “Be wary of those who give you a pat on the back – they may be looking for a soft spot to put the knife into”.

204. Iona Brand

Looking at Kezia’s face in that interview, I’m reminded of the day’s big news story.

205. Big Jock

He will never escape this!

Arise Sir Gideon new Prime Minister. Wouldn’t be surprised if MI5 were behind this.

Story broke when Gideon was in China…convenient is it not!

206. shug

Not much on the BBC about the rights if pigs
    Funny that
    They could not report balanced news if their life depended on it
    Can’t wait for Tokyo Kay’s call in

207. Bill McLean

All of this boaring stuff about sowing wild oats going on while Gideon the Snout is in Beeijing trying to schmooze the Chinese on behalf of Trotters Independent Traders!

208. Muscleguy

@Ken500

My dyslexic nephew in New Zealand got his own computer and a teaching assistant to help him in primary school.

209. Ken500

@ most dyslexic students in Scotland have computer access and support of a teaching assistant.

Teacher training still doesn’t include additional needs training.(unless they specialise) 10% + of pupils have additional needs. It has increased because of changing life styles (older parenthood) and more awareness. Teacher do not have the knowlege which can help all pupils from appropriate teaching methods. Additional needs children still can not be diagnosed early, but slip through the net. Additional needs pupils can have amazing talents and special interests. Australia and New Zealand have great support for additional needs pupils. Some families emigrate for that reason. Ie family support and lifestyle.

Using Education of poor children is not a great political policy or ploy. . It just annoys and infuriates voters, who know what is happening on the ground. It was Labour who did not put adequate teacher training in place. The SNP are always having to sort out their problems. Fifty years of hard Labour can’t be eradicated in 5 years. Getting rid of them now will help. What a shower.

210. James MacIntyre

Stu,

You should actually correct YOUR article. This, of course, underlines just how non-sensical Kezia Dugdale’s comments are.

The number of illterate people in Scotland (and the UK) is vanishingly small. “Very poor literacy skills” does not mean the individual cannot read or write, which IS a problem in a lot of countries. If you applied the same criteria to mathematics, the number of “innumerate” people would be very large indeed. Fortunately, innumeracy stretches only as far as basic arithmetic.

“Illiterate” – cannot read both read and write a short statement on their every day life.
    “Innumerate” – encompasses simple arithmetic.

Anyone who claims that someone is “illterate” because they don’t have “good or above” reading skills should divide some fractions, I’d bet a great deal of people can’t remember how to. And with good reason, we dont continually need to divide fractions, just like we don’t need to read books every day.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.