Just give me one good year..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2mz0fDFRwTs

2. Smallaxe

Brian Doonthetoon:

I’ve seen Yours have You seen Mine! I think Yours may be longer than Mine but Mine has more Substance to it!
    Oooh Matron! Cheeky ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

3. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Here’s something for you – but don’t you go exploring the other stuff at that site! I cannot hold myself responsible for your curiosity…

http://rarelust.com/carry-on-matron-1972/

(Scroll down for download links.)

4. Smallaxe

Brian:

Curiosity kill di cat Brian, I n’I nah look truss I, mi Bredren

Peace Always

5. Smallaxe

Brian, I n’I ashamed to sey but mi tek a likkle peak an yuh a very bad man ๐Ÿ™‚

http://s6.depic.me/01968/53xyncs628fh_o/i_are_you_you_am_me.jpg

Peace Always

6. Smallaxe

Brian:

I only showed the picture of the video if you want to see what it’s about. go and look for yourself, it’s Japanese 3rd vid down.

Will Brian LOOK, Tune in next week for the shocking conclusion to Brians Dilemma, Will he Dare! Will he faint, freak out or Fart!

Peace Always

7. Smallaxe

A well-respected man:

The Kinks
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_bQsGiiPVFo

Peace Always

8. Smallaxe

Monkey Man:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-lEgNyJQ2is

Amy Winehouse

Peace Always

9. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

No, I didn’t have a skeck – Japanese should remain with the Japanese, in this context.

Some classic stuff on that site though. Click on the UK category and be prepared for a hit of nostalgia from the 60s and 70s. Who can forget “Adventures Of A Handyman”?

10. Smallaxe

Peace in the Valley:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SMD8d7oUjxw
    Elvis Presley

Peace Always

11. Big Phil

@
    Smallaxe. TUNE, love it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

12. Smallaxe

Big Phil:

Phil your Boots
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K89QuHQoZM4

Do you have a Wooden Heart?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hlbu6SsjlSE

If you don’t want them Return to Sender!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PU5xxh5UX4U

Peace Always

13. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

“Howard The Duck”.

It really gets my goat when somebody uploads a video to YouTube and decides to play around with the actual video, like by uploading at 16:9 when the original is 4:3, so making all the characters wee and dumpy or, like Howard The Duck, deciding to crop ACRES of video from each side.

I cannot enjoy an hour and a half of such sacrilege against the creative arts.

Onnyhoo, I’m in the middle of my Indian then beddy-byes, so I’ll bid you Gute Nacht.

BTW: Japanese. Stick to Suntory…

8=)

14. Smallaxe

Yoku nemuru Brian San

Peace Always

15. Smallaxe

For our European Scots
    Bienvenidos amigos
    Bienvenue les amis
    Willkommen Freunde
    Welkom vrienden
    Fรกilte Cairde
    Welcome ALL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NTmk0Pqk6hs

Peace Always

16. Smallaxe

Scots Guards ~ Pipes & Drums ~ Skye Boat Song

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eIgQj30Sy8I

With views of Scotland

Peace Always to All

Guid nicht folks ๐Ÿ™‚

17. Big Phil

smallaxe , my wedding song was ‘please dont stop loving me’. the king lives.

18. Smallaxe

Big Phil:

Phil, why didn’t you ask? Always happy to do requests.Just Ask.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qE2LsP_cPa4

Encore! Encore!
    Love me Tender
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=093GjYcDg-4
    Just can’t Help Believing
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xyKtRoGiNIM
    Unchained Melody
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AG9ph9xkOrw
    One night wth You
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JPts9HHpJPU
    ELVIS HAS LEFT THE BUILDING
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pViFVx3xSVg
    WE ARE LONESOME TONIGHT
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rlPazQMcNW8
    ELVIS LIVES

Peace and Love to You and Those to whom you give your Love Phil

19. Smallaxe

Big Phil:

Why didn’t you ask?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3fWTgV0eXc

Peace Always

20. Big Phil

lol . brilliant. ๐Ÿ˜‰

21. Smallaxe

Big Phil:

Any time Phil, just ask I’m happy to oblige anyone who wants to hear a song or tune.
    Especially when their name starts with BIG.
    YOU WILL LIKE THIS Phil
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AG9ph9xkOrw

Peace and Love to you Phil and Those to whom You give Your Love

Peace Always

22. Smallaxe

She had picture of a cowboy tattooed on her spine saying Pheonix Arizona 1949:

Little Egypt
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qJrOQHdbJp8

Elvis has left the building!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pViFVx3xSVg

ELVIS LIVES

Peace Always

23. CameronB Brodie

More on inclusiveness, which British exceptionalism has a problem with.

Are Human Rights the Rights of Social Justice?

II/ Human Rights as Membership Norms
    Human rights are often distinguished from social justice by virtue of differences in their respective justificatory interests. Whereas human rights are widely theorized as resting on a narrower, more urgent, set of basic interests against standard associative threats, principles of justice are justified by the general interests of an ideal status of membership in a political association. Membership here is a substantive ideal of the relationship between institutions and those exposed to them that distinguishes legitimacy from domination. The inclusive ideal of membership as distinct from subjection is central to John Rawlsโ€™s distinction between domination as โ€˜merely socially coordinated activity…by orders issued by some central authorityโ€™ and a legitimate system of genuine social cooperation, โ€˜guided by publicly recognized rules and procedures that those cooperating accept and regard as properly regulating their conductโ€™ (1993: 16). Membership is an inclusive status since, as Joshua Cohen puts it, โ€˜to be treated as a member is to have oneโ€™s interests given due consideration, both in the processes of authoritative decision?making and in the content of those decisionsโ€™ (2010: 328).

Human rights, in contrast, are widely held to rest on different justificatory grounds than inclusion in an ideal status of membership. To take an influential example, James Nickelโ€™s conception of human rights treats them as distinctive regulatory principles for political association, primarily the relationship between authoritative state structures and those exposed to them, however the justificatory interest is not inclusion in the status of membership but the more basic interest in standard protects against โ€˜common threatsโ€™ of exposure to associative institutions to a โ€˜minimally good lifeโ€™ (2007: 36). While they are, like social justice, political principles, human rights are a โ€˜political morality of the depthsโ€™ aimed at โ€˜avoiding the terribleโ€™ rather than an โ€˜attempt to prescribe a general theory of distributive justiceโ€™ drawing on a richer kind of relational interest (36).

https://www.cpsa-acsp.ca/papers-2013/Hibbert.pdf

N.B. The spirit of international development law is such that the British state, is required to do all in it’s power to assist Scottish independence.

24. CameronB Brodie

More on inclusiveness, which British exceptionalism has a problem with.

Are Human Rights the Rights of Social Justice?

II/ Human Rights as Membership Norms
    Human rights are often distinguished from social justice by virtue of differences in their respective justificatory interests. Whereas human rights are widely theorized as resting on a narrower, more urgent, set of basic interests against standard associative threats, principles of justice are justified by the general interests of an ideal status of membership in a political association. Membership here is a substantive ideal of the relationship between institutions and those exposed to them that distinguishes legitimacy from domination. The inclusive ideal of membership as distinct from subjection is central to John Rawlsโ€™s distinction between domination as โ€˜merely socially coordinated activity…by orders issued by some central authorityโ€™ and a legitimate system of genuine social cooperation, โ€˜guided by publicly recognized rules and procedures that those cooperating accept and regard as properly regulating their conductโ€™ (1993: 16). Membership is an inclusive status since, as Joshua Cohen puts it, โ€˜to be treated as a member is to have oneโ€™s interests given due consideration, both in the processes of authoritative decision?making and in the content of those decisionsโ€™ (2010: 328).

Human rights, in contrast, are widely held to rest on different justificatory grounds than inclusion in an ideal status of membership. To take an influential example, James Nickelโ€™s conception of human rights treats them as distinctive regulatory principles for political association, primarily the relationship between authoritative state structures and those exposed to them, however the justificatory interest is not inclusion in the status of membership but the more basic interest in standard protects against โ€˜common threatsโ€™ of exposure to associative institutions to a โ€˜minimally good lifeโ€™ (2007: 36). While they are, like social justice, political principles, human rights are a โ€˜political morality of the depthsโ€™ aimed at โ€˜avoiding the terribleโ€™ rather than an โ€˜attempt to prescribe a general theory of distributive justiceโ€™ drawing on a richer kind of relational interest (36).

https://www.cpsa-acsp.ca/papers-2013/Hibbert.pdf

N.B. The spirit of international development law is such that the British state, is required to do all in it’s power to assist Scottish independence.

25. CameronB Brodie

Oops, sorry.

26. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

You’re forgiven ๐Ÿ™‚

Double Trouble
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m2ou-WIxfLY

Peace Always

27. Ian Brotherhood

Just testing this archive thing again…

http://archive.is/6NC4N

28. Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood:

Looks like you cracked it Ian, well done!

An interesting read too.

Peace Always Brother

29. Fred

Twas ever thus Ian! A Venetian diplomat visiting the British Isles c.1500 reported back to Venice that,
    “The English are, for the most part, both men & women of all ages, handsome & well proportioned…..the Scotch are much handsomer; & the English are great lovers of themselves; & of everything belonging to them; they think that there are no other men than themselves & no other world than England!”

True Dat.

30. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    Here’s one for you, with your psychology degree and shit. Some background on the things you stand in opposition to. Perhaps it will stimulate discussion with BLiS___d’s Dr. Scot and others in your circle.

Inequality and Human Rights

Human rights has indirectly addressed the issues of economic inequality by affirming basic social and economic rights as well as international obligations of co-operation for the realization of these rights. It has also addressed the problem of international inequality between countries by affirming a right to development. More recently, there have been discussions of a โ€œrights-based approachโ€ to development, endorsed in the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) (2000โ€“2015) and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) (2015โ€“2030). The section below lists several human rights documents that could be read to encompass inequality concerns (discussed in chronological order).

https://law.utexas.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/31/2016/09/inequality_bibliography_august_2016.pdf

Junior Byles – Fade away
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lU-jR0wc1nY

31. Stoker

WOS Archives for August 2013

Poll-tergeists
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/poll-tergeists/

The personal touch
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-personal-touch/

Official: Scotsman now a joke paper
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/official-scotsman-now-a-joke-paper/

32. Stoker

Quoted for truth #28
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/quoted-for-truth-28/

It’s not enough to spectate
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/its-not-enough-to-spectate/

Bullet points
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/bullet-points/

33. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    Perhaps you could also have a chat with your circle about the radical, de-humanising and unsustainable nature of neo-liberalism. You might not agree but there is an alternative. Given the glaring imperative to find such an alternative, what do you think it might look like and how could Scotland achieve such under Westminster diktat?

@Andrew Neil
    Sorry, this appears to be above your pay grade.

Social Investment after Neoliberalism: Policy Paradigms and Political Platforms

The concept of the โ€˜social investment stateโ€™ refocuses attention on the productive function of social policy eclipsed for some time by the emphasis on its social protection or compensation roles. Here we distinguish between different social investment strategies, the Nordic โ€˜heavyโ€™ and the Liberal โ€˜lightโ€™, with particular reference to the inclusive growth approach adopted in Australia. In 2007, social democrats in Australia returned to government with a clear mandate to reject the labour market deregulation and other neoliberal policies of its predecessor, and to tackle entrenched social and economic disadvantage in Australian society. For the last five years, social investment and inclusive growth has been at the centre of the Australian social policy agenda. Against this background, the article examines and critically assesses the (re)turn to โ€˜social investmentโ€™ thinking in Australia during Labor’s term in office (2007โ€“13). Analysis focuses not just on what was actually achieved, but also on the constraining role of prevailing economic and political circumstances and on the processes that were used to drive social investment reform. In many ways, the article goes some way to exposing ongoing tensions surrounding the distinctiveness of โ€˜social investmentโ€™ strategies pursued by leftist parties within the (neo)liberal state.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4648188/

34. Tinto Chiel

CameronB: fascinating as always, but these dudes ain’t listening.

That’s their problem and their destiny. So long, suckers!

While on the lam in Ruchazie, I mused upon its meaning and came up with this:

“This name includes the apparent z which is actually the old Scots letter yogh or consonantal y, as represented also in Cadzow for Cadihou. A possible non-phonetic original pronunciation would be Rach-aye-ee.

This old Glasgow name seems to be a corrupted form of Gaelic rร th ร thaigh, โ€œfort at ford-placeโ€. The modern version seems to have been influenced in part by Ruchill, Scots “rough hill”.”

If any locals can give information re local burns, please let me know.

Otherwise, it’s the usual slog through OS Sheets.

35. Tinto Chiel

And as regards the relative merits of The Trumpster/Clinton/BBC, all I can say of that existential non-choice is:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uzh_Fe08oNI

Thankfully, we have our own impervious heroes in the SG and beyond who will fight the good fight to deliver an independent Scotland.

Hey, Theresa: things fall apart, the centre cannot hold.

Yeats, ya bass.

36. CameronB Brodie

Cheers mate, though the search engine does the heavy lifting.

37. Tinto Chiel

Meant to say, pop-pickers…..

While stuck in the bog and hall sizing the plastered walls and doing the skirtings this week, I enjoyed adenoidal Melvin Bragg’s In Our Time prog. for once (wot am I saying?).

This week it was about one of my heroes (irony), John Clare, a man destroyed by the English Enclosure Acts, when the rich stole all the land and destroyed his local landscape for filthy lucre. All his landmarks and their history and heritage just disappeared. He spent much of his life in an open-door asylum as his fragile mind struggled to cope. Those with a sense of place will perhaps understand his mental turmoil.

This is his best and saddest, imho:

https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/43948

38. Fred

@ Tinto, anciently Rachasie, the name originally applied to the whole ridge south of Hogganfield & Frankfield lochs, name means a rath beside the water which is spot on. From a scarce wee book “Ruchazie” by J.F.Miller, Millerston, who I suspect is off that family who occupied Frankfield House/estate, that being the name of their property in Jamaica where they were sugar merchants, the old name of the loch was the Cam Loch (Gaelic or Welsh, a bend). Lethamhill was originally Garthliscan Hill, Comedie is from Caermedie. Millerston they modestly named for themselves. I once came across a farm near Loudon Hill called Ruchazie! Very strange eh?

39. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Smallaxe, old #MankyMate. Will zoom through the night, and, as my lawyer used to say, will consider and revert (but it won’t cost YOU onnyhing).

When I think of Clare, I always think of Mr R. Burns.

Listen to this great Scots voice:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RwVp6EUdxZY

40. Dave McEwan Hill

The Forward Shop at 196, Argyll Street, Dunoon,,PA23 8RN has Saltires (5ft x 3ft, polyester with sleeve and eyeholes) for sale. Plain Saltire ยฃ3.50, YES Saltire , Euro Stars Saltire ยฃ5.00. Also DVDs of โ€œLondon Calling- How the BBC stole the Referendumโ€ at ยฃ2.00. Posted to you with no postage charge. Cheques to be made out to YES Cowal.

41. Tinto Chiel

Fred: thanks for that, most interesting.

I’ve started two long answers to you but they’ve disappeared into the ether, so the short is the Rachasie near Loudoun may well mean the same. Obviously the hill may well have had a round fort and there are streams in the area, like the Dumduff Burn and Glen Water, precursors of the River Irvine arising in EK parish.

Much to mull over. Didn’t know of the form Rachasie but it strengthens my idea of “rath” in the original construction.

Thanks again, MM2.

42. Tinto Chiel

As regards doublers, Fred: there is the famous Crossraguel Abbey in Ayrshire and a wee farm between Hamilton and Strathaven of the same name, just meaning “royal cross” in Gaelic. No trace of the original cross now, unfortunately, so nothing else can be known just now.

GCHQ obvs. don’t like Scottish place-name discussions…..

Or anyone else, for that matter.

๐Ÿ˜›

43. Smallaxe

Tinto:

The poem was a silent and a plaintively unheard plea towards a humanity deafened by the sound. The Burn’s song flowed as if a warm sweet breeze had softly disturbed the Autumn leaves of the rushes lining the old river Doon rippling as it flows lazily out of view of Dalmellington on and under bridges built from ancient stone aeons old

The actual reality is, I am lying with my head in the oven breathing deeply.I’m utterly destroyed by the sadness that you have gifted me with through those two mediums, beautiful pitiful sadness. In return for your gift may I offer you both music and poetry in gratitude for this dark deep despair.I will be listening as a last hope that it will lighten my thoughts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=55FP1LfkkVQ

I wish this was a gas oven! Sob!

Peace Always

44. Tinto Chiel

Fred: Lethamhill is just G. leathann, “slope” with later unconscious duplication. There’s a Letham near Strathaven.

I was discussing this earlier this week with Taylor Swift, but she didn’t seem interested.

The ladies, eh?

Sheesh!

45. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

You guys researching Glasgow waterways…

A few months ago, I found myself researching Grahamston (previously mentioned in ‘off-topic’) and, for some reason, found myself, subsequently, following the line of the Forth-Clyde Canal through Glasgow. Did you know that the M8 used the line of the canal, well its northern line onnyhoo, from Junction 16 to Easterhouse?

I was discussing this with a workmate and he put forward the supposition that that line was used, because it was already clear of buildings so would need a minimum of demolition.

The map I used was from the Georeferenced maps at:-
    http://maps.nls.uk/

This is a brilliant idea. You zoom in your desired location, then, from the panel on the left, you choose your “old” map (in the example at the link below, I chose the “OS 25 inch, 1892-1905”) and by default, the site gives you the modern Bing hybrid map as an overlay.

The beauty is that on the panel at the left, at the bottom, there is a slider that lets you fade the modern map so you just see the old map, and vice versa. It’s great for seeing what is there now and what was there then.

Of course, you can zoom in and out and move around by clicking and dragging. It’s a great resource.

Here’s the link to the map I used for my research.

http://maps.nls.uk/geo/explore/#zoom=15&lat=55.8685&lon=-4.2496&layers=168&b=1

46. Brian Doonthetoon

There’s also Lethams in Angus, Fife and Perthshire.

47. Tinto Chiel

Hey, Smallaxe, isn’t that the Motherwell FC anthem (rueful, desperate laugh)?

Get yer heid oot the killogie, we need you for the May election canvassing!

Off to bed, but I leave you with an old classic:

*The young lovers, Samantha and Roger, are having an amorous conversation in the moonlight..

Roger: Oh, Samantha, it’s been so long…

Samantha (nervously): And how long is it now?*

Boom! Boom!

48. Smallaxe

Music not Maps.co.ol

Jack white with some bass to make you vibrate
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qI-95cTMeLM

I don’t need a map to know where I am ๐Ÿ˜‰

Peace Always
    # Manky

49. Tinto Chiel

BDTT: amazing map, thanks. May be up all night. Samantha will be pleased: Carry On Cartography.

Yes, Lethams in several places.

Smallaxe: sub-woofers blown. Thanks!

Dormez-bien, mes braves.

50. Smallaxe

Hawaii is not all hula skirts and beaches, they have similar problems to our own Politically. Like us, they also have some good music to help them fight their oppressors.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E71q8lS_IEk
    Peace Always
    ka Maluhia Allahu

51. Smallaxe

Goodnight Tinto, or are you just having a wee map?

๐Ÿ™‚ #Manky

Peace Always

52. Smallaxe

Africa:

An American guy in Africa with Gumboots

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DMaoEywSOlk

Peace Always
    Amani Daima

53. Nana

Start the week with a little bit of history

The curse of Scotland
    http://www.undiscoveredscotland.co.uk/usscotfax/history/curse.html

54. Smallaxe

Nana:

The curse of diamonds doesn’t bother this girl.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g__ANxxwKIk

Peace Always xx

55. Fred

@ Tinto, Lethamhill was named after a merchant of that name I’m afraid. MOT time so must dash!

@ Brian, that was the Monkland Canal, older than the F & C and it made money!

56. Clint Easterhoose

Fred: #Manky Mates.

A lot of us remember the Monkland canal as a rat infested sewer that we played in (“some drowned”) at the back of Easterhouse, built to give fresh new homes to the slum dwellers of Govan etc.

#Concrete Bungle, a desert with windows.

Peace Always

57. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Fred. The importance of local knowledge. At least his surname means “slope”.

And it should have been leathan not leathann (G. for broad), though since the former means a broad slope they are probably linked anyway.

Apart from all those mistakes I was completely correct.

It’s called the Tony Blair defence.

No “wee maps” for me today, Smallaxe. Mrs TC has bought one of those super turbo wallpaper steamer machines and it’s like a Chinese laundry in here.

*Special Offer:Shirts pressed 75p. Two “Smalls” free for every shirt steamed.*

“Starting the Week” with Andrew Marr on Pravdasound4. That put-on plummy voice is really annoying.

Bliss: he’s just finished and I’m steaming.

Cheers, chinas!

58. Fred

@ Clint Easterhoose., remember the Noll with fond affection, the rats were really Watter Voles & despite the canal being now piped the voles are still there, but now landlubbers & black (Scottish variant), rare & protected.

@ Tinto, The Provan was boughtby the Toon Cooncil from the Hamilton’s, who were skint after the Wars of the Covenant, in 1667, it just means the Prebend, a possession of the Cathedral, a far older name is Barlanark (the Bar L) presumably Welsh? It appears in the “Inquest of David” in 1116 when that King was only the young Prince of Cumbria & establishing the extent of the church lands of the Provan, then Barlanark.
    Have U read “Welsh Origins of Scottish Placenames!” by William Oxenham, ยฃ6.50. This wee tome-ette would be right up your street kid. Loadsa names we assume are Gaelic he has as Welsh, so much older. Edinburgh has a chapter tae itself.

59. Ian Brotherhood

TC is steaming and stripping?*
    Blimey – the Monday Club starts early these days…

*one for the ladies

60. CameronB Brodie

If Scots consider the advise from crack heads, then we must be in serious peril. Then again, this deeply flawed individual was advising the former Chancellor of the Exchequer.

Time to ditch these reprobates.

“rise and sine for the sake of future generations”

Bunny Wailer – Rise & Shine (& Dub)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vADIa2ykZNc

61. Chick McGregor

Grrr! Another crossword incomplete. Pashmina, the answer to 25 Ac. Fancy Glasgow novelist wearing a scarf.

Never heard of it.

Typed Pashmina into Google, apparently it is a type of cashmere and can be used to make scarves.

However typing ‘Pashmina Glasgow Novelist’ into Google found no linkage, so still no idea what that part of the clue referred to.

62. Fred

Chick, you’re as well deid as oot the fashion!

Anent Tinto’s new strip, check oot Limmy’s, “Margaret & the Stripper” on YouTube, hilarious.

63. Tinto Chiel

Tea break.

“*one for the ladies”.

Probs not, Ian. My pectorals ain’t wot they used to be.

Thanks: Oxenham will be purchased, Fred. I think Barlanark is usually regarded as a rare Gaelic/Welsh hybrid, barr plus llanerch, ridge plus clearing, isn’t it?

I feel your pain, Chic, and it’s much too early for the Yard-Arm Solution.

Just discovered I can steam jasmine sticky rice and tiger prawns using this machine.

Oh! Supervisor has just called.

Coming, dearest!

64. Tinto Chiel

Lunch.

For some reason this came into my head.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bTDzFUlrDYM

Wot is wrong with me?

65. Smallaxe

Chic McGregor:

This may be of help (or not)

Denise Mina (born 1966) is a Scottish crime writer and playwright. She has written the Garnethill trilogy and another three novels featuring the character Patricia “Paddy” Meehan, a Glasgow journalist. Described as an author of Tartan Noir, she has also dabbled in comic book writing, having recently written 13 issues of Hellblazer.[1] Since 2006, she has had two plays performed with successful reception. Wiki.

Pash; Pash definition, an infatuation for another person; crush.

I hope I have not just made it more convoluted for you.

Peace Always

66. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Are you sure it was “Telephone Man” that you were thinking about or did you confuse it with this!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UaEC-lWSlmI

Good luck with the Steamie, Mrs Culfeathers ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always #Manky

67. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Barlanark, my Alma Mater, have a look at some of the street names.
    Pendeen, Garlieston, Bressay, Lochbridge and Burnmouth etc.
    No relevance just a distraction technique. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

68. Smallaxe

A.K.A. Clint Easterhoose

Fred:

I can assure you that I know the difference between the water vole and a Long Tail (rat).

The distinction is very obvious to me.They taste entirely different from each other!
    Hedgehog is Preferable (cook in a mud casing under campfire) Tasty Tasty very very Tasty

Peace Always #Manky

69. Smallaxe

If anyone replies please do not think I have ignored you. I’m afraid that I am floating into the arms of Morphia. Will get back to you.

Peace Always

70. Stoker

Consumed with what’s to transpire
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/consumed-with-whats-to-transpire/

Talent borrows, genius steals
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/talent-borrows-genius-steals/

The war of the worlds
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-war-of-the-worlds/

71. Stoker

Looking ahead
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/looking-ahead/

The fourth and fifth estates
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-fourth-and-fifth-estates/

The very bottom of the barrel
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-very-bottom-of-the-barrel/

72. Stoker

Quoted for truth #26
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/quoted-for-truth-26/

Looking for someone to trust
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/looking-for-someone-to-trust/

In, out, and shaking it all about
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/in-out-and-shaking-it-all-about/

73. Stoker

Unclouding the truth
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/unclouding-the-truth/

Now with added fear
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/now-with-added-fear/

Not living in Yorkshire it doesn’t apply
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/not-living-in-yorkshire-it-doesnt-apply/

74. Stoker

All bound for Bongo-Bongo Land
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/all-bound-for-bongo-bongo-land/

The furious cringe
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-furious-cringe/

We’re confused again
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/were-confused-again-2/

75. Chick McGregor

Smallaxe

Thanks for that.

Confess I can’t recall Ms Mina even though I have read quite a lot of Scottish crime.

Must give her a try.

‘Pash’ now you mention it, I have heard it used that way very occasionally by my in laws.

I had momentarily thought the compiler may be meaning a usage more common hereabouts which I will illustrate with the following old Saints fan joke.

BDDT – look away.

Q: What is the difference between an Arab and a Pashtoon?

A: No a’bdy fae Dundee is an Arab but they’re a fae a Pash Toon.

Actually, these days, I prefer Dundee. Perth has been on the slide and Dundee is definitely on the up.

76. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: no, I definitely meant Meri, who had a very strange effect on me as a young man, hem, hem.

For anyone seeking extra motivation to canvass for SNP during the May elections, I recommend Stoker’s link to “the furious cringe”. A cleansing of the Augean Stables required, imo, and then Indyref2 will have a chance of proper administration.

Wish I’d spent ยฃ28 quid on a steamer before: at least 5x quicker and no swearing.

Lovely to see you behind the Green Door, Nana. I append my 2017 tariff for Address to The Haggis……

Standard Address (with feeling): two haufs, single malt of choice, sausage roll.

Special Address (with actions and movement): three haufs (sm), full neeps and haggis portion.

Platinum Address (A&M, sgian dubh brandishing, kilt worn): 4x sm haufs, full haggis, neeps, tatties dinner, taxi home.

NB: Mates’ Rates may apply.

Please advise,

Magic Mike, aka TC.

77. yesindyref2

@Chic
    Also perhaps http://www.pashma.com/ with “in”.

Wife has breakfast TV on [ ;-( ] so maybe I half-heard it on there.

78. CameronB Brodie

@Chick
    And there I was, warming to you. ๐Ÿ˜‰

79. Fred

Anent Denise Mina, was she not of a Unionist persuasion in 2014? unlike ma personal fav’ Val McDermott!

80. Stoker

A serious question for the ‘techies’ among us:

Can i remove the battery pack from my laptop and just run it off the mains power? I’m aware of the risks of losing data if this procedure is possible.

I never use my laptop in portable mode and the battery icon is repeatedly showing a steady reduction in battery power and doesn’t seem to be charging.

The whole set-up is only a few months old and i can’t understand the steady drainage on the battery and would like to do something about it before warning bells start going off.

The laptop itself sits on top of a soft rubber perforated slip mat which in turn sits on a hard flat surface so the ventilation slots should be clear of obstruction, thus preventing overheating.

I’m down to my last 3 hair follicles.
    Any advice greatly received.

AND DON’T BLIDDY WELL RECOMMEND SHAMPOO.

81. Tinto Chiel

Stoker: I suspect BDTT is the Go To Guy here.

CameronB: intrigued by your Gotan Project on the MT.

My female GP recommended all sorts of this stuff for various minor ailments.

Did wonders for my snake hips/unnatural beauty/abs tightening.

It’s a funny old game, Saint.

82. Smallaxe

Stoker:

I’m not a techie but I have a Toshiba L/T that had the same problem.The battery pack went completely dead, it still worked with the dead battery in and using the power cable with no loss of data.

Shampoo useless. #comb-over ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

83. Stoker

TC & Smallaxe,

Thank you! Smallaxe, you’ve reinforced my belief that it is possible but no disrespect meant to you when i say i hope one of our more knowledgeable comrades can give it the go-ahead.

BTW, looks like that wee job may be back on for me so if i suddenly disappear offline i’ll be back asap with the WOS archives.

84. Tinto Chiel

Good luck with the job, Stoker. You’ve earned a break from the archives.

Hey, Smallaxe, does my bum look big in this Bri-Nylon tartan mankini?

Too much sticky jasmine rice the day, my manky friend, methinks.

85. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker.

The stuff you value – docs, photos, videos and so on – is stored on the hard drive. The only way you can lose it is by a hardware failure of that drive. It doesn’t matter whether the laptop is powered by battery, PSU or is off. The stuff is retained on your hard drive.

What I would recommend is an investment in an external usb hard drive, the same size as your internal one, then get hold of an app that can be set to backup your internal hard drive to the external one periodically (3 times a day?).

I learned this the hard way a number of years ago but was able to get my stuff off my drive using a recovery app (Disk Rescue, for Macs).

I now have three external drives, all having backups of my Mac’s internal drive so even if an external fails, there are another two doing the backup job. There are probably around 8 backups a day, spread over the 3 external drives.

Macs also have a provided app called “Time Machine”. This backs up your internal drive to an external drive every hour. The beauty of the app is that it will save previous back ups until the external is full, then deletes the oldest backups to release space. It works kinda like archive.org – if you’ve deleted something that you subsequently need, you can go into its ‘calendar’, find the backup of the file you want, then restore it to its previous location on your internal drive.

Really, what I’m saying is that BACKUP is important, so you don’t have to worry about drive failure.

86. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Fred.

Thanks for “@ Brian, that was the Monkland Canal, older than the F & C and it made money!”.

Eh’m no fae that Glasgow so I made a Dundonian assumption that it was the Forth/Clyde. Yir iye learnin’, iye?

It’s interesting to fade between the maps and see then and now though. Many minutes at work taken up with ‘research’…

87. Stoker

Thanks, Brian.

So, in a nutshell, i can remove the battery pack, run the laptop off the mains power (without any battery backup in the event of power cuts/shortages etc) but install backup procedures as recommended in your post?

88. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel says:

“Hey, Smallaxe, does my bum look big in this Bri-Nylon tartan mankini?”

I have never ever ever in my long legged life, seen such a disgusting sartorially obscene display. Bri-Nylon, Boaking!

Yer bahookie’s braw Tinto, don’t let anybody tell you different show it with pride.I’ll have the bail money ready #MANKY MATE!

Peace Always

89. Nana

@Smallaxe

Tinto has been telling us he’s been doing a lot of stripping lately. I wonder if he does yoga in his spare time?

https://twitter.com/bbcthesocial/status/833647409976610817

90. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker.

The only problem I can see is if it’s built into the laptop’s system that it can’t run without a battery in situ.

You can always try – you won’t lose your content from the hard drive, according to logic.

91. Smallaxe

Nana:

He’s doing well enough for a bit of busking to help pay for his Steamer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OO1afRLMNgc&spfreload=10

Peace Always

92. CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
    I’ve only scratched the surface of what the Gotan Project have recorded but I’ve liked just about everything I’ve heard.

Sarah Vaughan – Whatever Lola Wants (Gotan Project Remix 2003)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LU9-5suxyu0

93. Nana

@Smallaxe

Aw gings Billy, I’m tempted to try that but I might end up tying myself in knots and I don’t think there’s any WD40 in the shed.

94. Smallaxe

Tinto was a child prodigy, not a lot of people know Dat!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rz2mdG7J7jw

Peace Always

95. K1

Having just been to Priceless to get an old Dell laptop fixed just last week, one of the issues was that the internal battery needed replaced. The laptop was fixed and ready to go the next day ‘without’ it’s battery, as he had to order it, we still haven’t picked it up yet. (lazy bastards)

This was why it wasn’t charging properly and the wee icon wasn’t filling up when the charger was in.

So of course the laptop is now running on mains only. You won’t lose anything Stoker.

Go get a price for a new battery, we thought it was the charger initially and so tended to run it on the mains the whole time before it gave up the ghost (hard drive problem separate from battery issue).

96. Smallaxe

A blast from the past Chris Mclure
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EL-pr6hLHLc

Culminating in his 50th Anniversary Concert
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tYV3_g9Y4m0

Sing Along ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

97. K1

‘long legged life’

Noo yer just showin’ aff…(fuckin’ knew that’s how you could climb drain pipes so easily!) ๐Ÿ˜‰

98. Smallaxe

This music video was recorded on Oahu in the fall of 1991 features Henry Kapono Ka’aihue.
    “Broken Promise,” a Hawaiian mele ku’e (song of protest).
    See the Similarities?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fyJ46w0CWow&list=RDfyJ46w0CWow&index=1

Peace Always

99. Smallaxe

K1:

An old song, sung by Glesga lassies when they were playing ball.

Have you ever ever ever in your long legged life
    Seen a long legged sailor with a long legged wife?
    No I’ve never ever ever in my long legged life
    Seen a long legged sailor with a long legged wife!
    Have you ever ever ever in your short legged life… (replace long legged with short legged)

Have you ever ever ever in your one legged life…

Have you ever ever ever in your bow legged life…

Have you ever ever ever in your knock kneed life…

Have you ever ever ever in your pigeon toed life…

Last verse:

Have you ever ever ever in your long legged life
    Seen a short legged sailor with a one legged wife?
    No I’ve never ever ever in my bow legged life
    Seen a knock kneed sailor with a pigeon toed wife!

Try saying it FAST!

Peace Always

100. Smallaxe

Carlos Santana and Peter Green playing Peter’s “Black Magic Woman”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cIMrU8qcbs8

Like, far out man, really really out there man******

Peace Always

101. Smallaxe

Buddy Guy in 1969 with Jack Bruce and Buddy Miles

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8k54r_ANt8o

Peace Always

102. K1

Laughing…I managed to say it ‘very’ fast indeed…

I’ve never in ma short legged life met a long legged smallaxe wi a wit like a well sharpened knife ๐Ÿ˜‰

103. Smallaxe

BB King Calls This One Of His Best Performances

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LWLAAzOBoBI

Peace Always

104. Smallaxe

Elvis Presley – A Little Less Conversation (Original Movie Version) This one’s for you Phil if you’re listening ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WWVMXLSS1cA

Peace Always

105. Chick McGregor

smallaxe

Enjoyed those Chris McLure videos, great voice. Always felt he suffered from an incompatible pop look. Crap, but that’s life.
    A bit like Chris Farlowe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w3-_OsCUlTY

Also powerful song about Hawaian indy.

106. Smallaxe

Chick:

Chris Farlowe is one of my favourite singers of some songs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X3yN0JvG5co

Hawaii: America/Britain who taught who?

Peace Always

107. Chick McGregor

BDTT
    Found this interview with Alan Gorrie the founder of AWB

http://www.aaaedinburgh.co.uk/interview-alan-gorrie-average-white-band/

108. Smallaxe

Otis Redding, Eric Burdon & Chris Farlowe – Shake (Live, 1966)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RUcTKjOQWII

Peace Always

109. Smallaxe

They say “It aint over until the fat lady sings”. Here she is!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mSG5ATYgLrk

Peace to All

110. yesindyref2

@Stoker
    Laptops were designed to be used on the move without connection to the mains, not for permanenet connection to the mains, so it used to be standard advice to discharge them completely every couple of months and then recharge them if using from mains all the time. You can just do this by unplugging the charger until the laptop puts itself to sleep.

But apparently you shouldn’t do this if it’s a Lithium-ion battery, so check that out first.

http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch001234.htm

The other thing is that if you have it on a rubber slip mat, the fans are on the underneath and rubber is a heat insulator, so it could be over-heating. Perhaps as well the “legs” of the laptop are sinking into the rubber, and decreasing the gap so not allowing so much air to circulate. That could affect the life of all the components.

111. Michael McCabe

Described as a great Blues Singer. Elkie Brooks-Red House http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qkqseblvLKs

112. yesindyref2

You’ve got to love unionists. So fixated are they on Wings they mention it on MSM forums, which means we can reply to that and give it even more publicity.

There ain’t no such thing as bad publicity, in show business.

113. Stoker

K1 (12:22 am) & yesindyref2 (2:43 am):

Thanks for the extra input, very much appreciated.

K1 – That’s reassuring and helps add to the reinforcement from Brian and Smallaxe. Cheers!

yesindyref 2 – You make a couple of points i had already considered such as the rubber matting being soft and the laptop sinking into it and not giving as much ventilation clearance as i thought. Yeah, it’s no longer standard advice to fully discharge the batteries and my battery pack is ‘Li-ion’ so was aware of that also.

Thanks again everyone for your input, all worries have subsided.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

114. Fred

Some brilliant stuff by the Hoolets the day!

115. Tinto Chiel

Some party here last night. Who brought the popcorn? What a mess! Bet it was that Ian Brotherhood.

Thanks for the bahookie reassurance, Smallaxe. I feel better now. I think all this scraping is helping my belle forme. And Mrs TC often calls me a big prodigy. At least, I thinks that’s what she’s saying…

Nana, you’re a marvel! How did you find that footage? That’s me on the right in the first shot! You can have my Burns Platinum service for free (excluding taxi) now. Have haggis, will travel.

CameronB: re Gotan Project, I got Mrs TC the box set called Revenge of the Tango and the single CD Lunatico (!). The only problem is, I hate rose thorns in the lips. The music’s infectious, though.

Fred: Mr Oxenham should be arriving soon.

This other guy knows his stuff re. Old Welsh/Cumbric, though. It’s very technical and a bit of a challenge, and definitely not user-friendly but there’s lots to think about:

http://www.spns.org.uk/resources/the-brittonic-language-in-the-old-north/

116. Fred

Scholarly stuff Tinto! this Oxenham guy’s presumably Welsh so allow for some bias? ๐Ÿ™‚

117. Tinto Chiel

Don’t know anything about Mr. O, Fred.

Looking forward to reading it.

118. Tinto Chiel

All steaming done.

Yes, Michael, Elkie had a great voice. Don’t know why she wasn’t a bigger star. Liked “Pearl’s A Singer” v. much too.

This is an oldie but I never tire of it. I had a colleague who had a crush on Karen Matheson. One day she sat opposite him on the train and he couldn’t bring himself to speak to her for the whole journey.

Silly sausage.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xq11ZIhhHfg

I think Ishbel MacAskill’s version is finer but if you click on the Show More button on the Capercaillie track you get bi-lingual lyrics.

119. Stoker

Vote No, close Holyrood
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/vote-no-close-holyrood/

Together on tour
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/together-on-tour/

Won’t somebody think of the children?
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/wont-somebody-think-of-the-children/

120. Stoker

Quieter little voices
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/quieter-little-voices/

The spokesman who won’t speak
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-spokesman-who-wont-speak/

Please do not leave a message
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/please-do-not-leave-a-message/

121. Smallaxe

Don’t blame me.Blame Stoker’s last link!^

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UH-AafkQPEo

Peace Always

122. Stoker

Smallaxe (and others):

I’m not one for poetry but rummaging through some family history materials i came across this which was written by one of the female members of the family.

As i said, not really one for poetry but sometimes i think certain pieces give a unique incite into life at the time of writing, especially in the mining communities etc.

Those book titles i referred to a few days ago have a bit of poetry in them and reading the stuff conjures up very vivid images in the mind. Great stuff!

The Fighting Cooks

Our Dick who worked in old Wellhall,
    Was always very sad,
    He had a chronic stomach & his teeth were very bad,
    But he went and joined the navy,
    A stoker for to be,
    And now he’s sweeping up the mines,
    Out of the bright blue sea.

Our Jimmie is a right good lad,
    He is an engineer,
    You see him when he’s at his best,
    That’s mopping up the beer.

There’s Jock he’s got an M.P. crest,
    He’s never in the wrang,
    By special request he will do his best,
    And sing ‘Accordian Dan’.

Big Bill he’s in the army too,
    But never should have been,
    Like all the rest he’s one of the best,
    But he’s always had bad een.

Now there comes Tam the fighting man,
    He fought out East and West,
    The Jerries did not like him much,
    They said he was a pest,
    He fought against them in Norway,
    They maybe thought him civil,
    But now the Jerrie up and cries,
    By God the Wee Red Devil.
    In Italy he floated down,
    And Jerry he did run,
    My God, there’s that Red Devil again,
    And he’s got a Tommy gun.

Next comes the man, Old Crapper Dan,
    I think he takes the kitty,
    When the guns did bark he got off his mark,
    And landed in Dodge City.

I’m off my nob i forgot wee Bob,
    You know he’s a Jack Tar,
    Talk about girls you should see his curls,
    And you know what sailors are.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

123. Stoker

insight even!

124. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thanks for that, I like rhyming poetry that tells a story. I don’t read much poetry ever, excepting Rab the Ranter of course and Nonsense poems (which mine is usually) I could never be arsed with a host of Daffodils, I prefer Bluebells and Thistles anyway!

The BaNNed: Looing for the Steel
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BGoYwtgqD3Y

Peace Always
    Boss

125. Smallaxe

They were not Looing for the Steel, that’s a lot of Sh!t. They were looking for the Piggin’ Steel.

Here’s some Pig Iron from Lonnie Donegan: “Rock Island Line”

Peace Always

126. Smallaxe

Sorry for my mistake with the last link, I’ve been getting pestered with THIS and It’s twistin’ ma melon.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aZlxNaTa9gc

Peace Always

127. Smallaxe

The Hot Violinist:

And don’t fiddle with her, any of you #Manky Mates
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EVbu8bh7SWk

Peace Always

128. Smallaxe

You can keep your Pavarotti and the rest.

I’ll take this “Vocalist” any day.

Mario Lanza’s “Nessun Dorma”:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kJZ2XA84MPI
    Be My Love
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8t_D9zqyphw

Peace Always

129. Nana

@Smallaxe

Ooh Mario Lanza, just wonderful

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sZFwGVNQUbE

130. Smallaxe

Hi, Nana ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve had the place to myself and was indulging my Passion.
    This Guy is not as handsome as Mario but he could carry a tune.

Enrico Caruso
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=acNQBAn3Qqk&list=PLBCv03FQYuIcRuJerhpYVFMewJhsSTWte&index=18

Peace Always xx

131. Nana

@Smallaxe

My dad had some of his recordings along with many other singers of the times. I’m fairly sure those heavy gramophone records are in the attic.

His favourite female singer was Callas

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1f9s9n_Kjo

I prefer Sissel http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W6DpMiT7uCE

132. Brian Doonthetoon

A quick visit…

Re: Mario Lanza.

I have the 78 of this, within the shellac collection in my hovelhold.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OI3Bcgh4Jko

133. Smallaxe

Brian:

Even though you were too much of a snob to watch “Howard the Duck”
    I did read what you posted about 60’s and 70’s, it was really interesting Thanks.
    Here’s a video of a wedding in the Fenwick Hotel in Kilmarnock that you should enjoy.Really!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ATaXJpPzlHg

Peace Always

134. Smallaxe

Nana:

I think that I played Sissel recently singing Pie Jesu, here it is again in case you missed it.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I1ghkPFb90E

Peace Always

135. Cactus

G’day,

Went to see T2 at the cinemar tonight, smashin’ film, excellent soundtrack and they chose to..

Choose life and have a lust for life
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NP5am2vRca0

Good times.

136. Smallaxe

Wilson Pickett – “In the Midnight Hour”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FGVGFfj7POA

Peace Always

137. Smallaxe

Stevie Wonder Superstition
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zGPGVOSYZKU

Otis Redding – Try A Little Tenderness
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TXmLjbTBcdU

Peace Always

138. Smallaxe

Hi, Cactus:

Movie good then? Music sounds good, drums, I like Drums!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8zSa6Zz2Zrs

Peace Always

139. Still Positive

Thanks for the link to Chris McClure: saw him in the Hamilton Trocadaro (sp?)in late 66 or early 67. Brilliant.

140. Smallaxe

Still Positive:

GLAD YOU ENJOYED IT!
    Here’s another one
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OL3E3CxdPaQ

Peace Always

141. Still Positive

Just occurred to me: are all of us oldies on here recent converts to Indy or have we believed since we were much younger?

For me: When Winnie Ewing won Hamilton in November 1967 and it was reported that, “the SNP believed Scotland was a country so should be independent.”

I had just turned 17 (born September, 1950) and I have not wavered from that sentiment.

I have voted SNP at every opportunity since I was old enough to vote.

142. Smallaxe

Del Shannon:

With the same song

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SntWlpY4hFM

Peace Always

143. Smallaxe

Eddie Cochran: “Three Steps To Heaven”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nxj–MkqACY

Peace Always

144. Smallaxe

Still Positive:

I’ve been a Communist a Socialist an Anarchist and Activist.I’m now a Pacifist a Humanist I worked in a railyard a steelyard and a Prison yard courtesy of Scotland YARD! NOW! INDY CALLS ME!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fZL_tZxyBDo

Peace Always

145. Smallaxe

Remember the rule if you go here!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7I0vkKy504U

Peace Always

146. Smallaxe

Country Joe and the Fish:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qPUJhy0Dz4

You know what you get if you play country music backwards? You get your dog back, your trailer back, your wife back, your good memory’s back. :-)?

Peace Always

147. Michael McCabe

Josef Locke The Irish Tenor http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X66cIgdcfGs

148. Smallaxe

Greece, when disaster comes then you know what to do. We will join with you in this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fPWU8hy0McY

Peace Always

149. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Hi, Michael, we seem to pass like ships in the night.

Alexander – A Million Years

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LUnXgucl748

Peace Always my Friend

150. Smallaxe

Gary Moore –ย Parisienne Walkways
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vkUpfw4Hf3w

Peace Always to All

151. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe we do seem to pass in the Night. Anyway here is a wee song for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KgVwwyD-1lk Hopefully we will meet up a Wings night out and we can have a wee Blether over a Courvoisier.

152. Michael McCabe

The Burst Mattress. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UwbXaV5Gx6Y

153. Smallaxe

If we do meet up Michael, make mine a Remy Martin.

The Be Good Tanyas – Waiting Around to Die
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-0SmXVrLlZ4

I’ll leave you to do the night shift Michael, see you soon.

Goodnight

Peace Always My Friend

154. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe. Remy Martin You say http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2DX8goQPWcs Goodnight My Friend.

155. Nana

@Smallaxe

I hadn’t seen your link to Pie Jesu, I have a couple of her albums. I would also recommend Renee Fleming’s version and highly recommend the Dark hope album.

156. Smallaxe

Nana:

Will do thanks, after I’ve read your links. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

157. Fred

The Manky channel gets classier n classier, will enjoy these the night with the decanter & cravat! ๐Ÿ™‚

158. Smallaxe

Fred:

Michael and I do requests (for a small fee). I will print out our tariff for you later. Nana works for free as she is more altruistic than us. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

159. Tinto Chiel

That was a great wedding video, Smallaxe.

I didn’t know they were called Clanedonia. I passed them so often in Buchanan Street I just called them The Mad Picts.

160. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Put their name into you tube and you will find quite a few videos of them.

Peace Always

161. CameronB Brodie

I get the impression that Alex Massie considers himself an exceptional mind. As a result of this conceit, he appears to be comfortable rejecting both Hegel and Heidegger.

@Alex Massie
    You may be a Tory but that is no excuse to be a dick all your life.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Master%E2%80%93slave_dialectic

โ€œThe right to development is an inalienable human right by virtue of which every human person and all peoples are entitled to participate in, contribute to, and enjoy economic, social, cultural and political development, in which all human rights and fundamental freedoms can be fully realized.โ€ (Article 1.1,
    Declaration on the Right to Development)

โ€œThe human right to development also implies the full realization of the right of peoples to self-determination, which includes, subject to the relevant provisions of both International Covenants on Human Rights, the exercise of their inalienable right to full sovereignty over all their natural wealth and resources.โ€ (Article 1.2)

http://www.un.org/en/events/righttodevelopment/pdf/rtd_at_a_glance.pdf

https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/post2015/transformingourworld

PREJUDICE IN DISCOURSE
    An Analysis of Ethnic Prejudice in Cognition and Conversation

http://www.discourses.org/OldBooks/Teun%20A%20van%20Dijk%20-%20Prejudice%20in%20Discourse.pdf

162. Fred

Obviously Hand Pict guys?

163. Smallaxe

Fred:

Have you got your jacket?, if not we have spares (for a small fee) of course.
    #Manky Mates Rates. lenusajkt@miserable.dosh

Peace Always

164. Tinto Chiel

CameronB: I think more and more that the inalienable right to development, like sovereignty, is something which needs to be asserted/insisted upon. As you have pointed out, our right to develop as Scots is being hampered and hindered by the dreadful democratic deficit in Scotland.

Fred, your jokes are getting as bad as Smallaxe’s.

“What do you call a man wearing a suit in East Kilbride?

“The accused.”

Can only get away with that ‘cos that’s whareicumfae.

165. CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
    I’m trying to interpret Scotland’s circumstances through the lens of critical social theory, which originates from the Frankfurt School and was introduced into British academia by the Fabian Society. Unfortunately, the majority of British Fabians appear to be English nationalists content to look inward from their ivory towers of English Socialism.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frankfurt_School

@Fabian Society
    Socialism and colonialism don’t mix. Never have and never will.

166. CameronB Brodie

@Fabian Sociaety

Transforming our world: the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development

Our shared principles and commitments

10. The new Agenda is guided by the purposes and principles of the Charter of the United Nations, including full respect for international law. It is grounded in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, international human rights treaties, the Millennium Declaration and the 2005 World Summit Outcome Document. It is informed by other instruments such as the Declaration on the Right to Development.

โ€œThe right to development is an inalienable human right by virtue of which every human person and all peoples are entitled to participate in, contribute to, and enjoy economic, social, cultural and political development, in which all human rights and fundamental freedoms can be fully realized.โ€ (Article 1.1, Declaration on the Right to Development)

โ€œThe human right to development also implies the full realization of the right of peoples to self-determination, which includes, subject to the relevant provisions of both International Covenants on Human Rights, the exercise of their inalienable right to full sovereignty over all their natural wealth and resources.โ€ (Article 1.2)

167. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel says:

โ€œWhat do you call a man wearing a suit in East Kilbride?

A debt collector!
    ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

168. Stoker

GONE FISHING!

169. Smallaxe

Stoker:

If your post means that you have the new job, Congratulations*****

Peace Always

170. Tinto Chiel

Big One landed, Stoker?

Congratulations too.

Your joke, Smallaxe, reminded me of a pal of mine who, when he joined the council, was given the task of doing a council survey around the doors in Hamilton. He was sent to a scheme where there was, shall we say, some suspicion of unexpected callers.

Rings doorbell.

*Sound of TV getting switched off*.

*Silence*

Rings door bell again.

*Faint, muffled sound of approaching foosteps up long hallway*.

From inside, low, flat voice asks, “Whit is it?”

“Morning , sir, I’m here to do a survey for the council.”

*Long pause*.

“Ah’m no in.”

*Faint, muffled sound of receding foosteps up long hallway.*

171. Tinto Chiel

And for all you culture vultures out there, I meant to offer this as an end-piece to Meri’s breathless little ditty from yesterday:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LNBifvxiEIY

Pyoor klass, btw.

172. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Talking about the accused, a wee guy in Glasow Sherrif Court was found not guilty of theft, and he said to the Sherrif “Does that mean that I can keep the gear”
    True Dat!
    ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

173. Smallaxe

Stoker:

I know that you don’t particularly like poems (Rhymes) so please forgive me for this:

Stoker has a new job and everyone’s overjoyed
    There’s no doubt that it’s well deserved
    And it comes with lot’s more pay
    But I’m just slightly worried now
    That I’ll be Unemployed today

Your faithful (ex?) Minder
    Smallaxe
    (sob’s n’ snotters)

Peace Always (Boss!)

174. Tinto Chiel

Very interesting account of Tinto, Fred.

When we were in P7 we had a very earnest young teacher who decided to take us to climb Tinto as an end-of-term treat. She chose 12 from her class of 53(!) and we set off from EK by public transport, i.e. the red SMT/Western bus. I can’t remember how many changes we needed, but do remember getting dropped off at Thankerton crossroads. It was a nice summer day and from what I remember, there were no crises/outbreaks of cannibalism, just a great view from the top and a packed lunch with an hb egg: bliss.

Surprised the octogenarian hadn’t heard that most folk agree the name is almost certainly from G. teinnteach “fiery (place)”, referring to the beacon which would probs. have been placed there originally by the Dumnonii as a warning of approaching enemies, e.g. Romans, Nigel Farage or Wee Fluffie himself.

175. Tinto Chiel

Hey, (forgot to append) anyone fancy some class in a glass?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nS0FPVOU5e0

176. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, you’ll never be lonely with one of these, nae fears….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WjBHUQEiTPw

Right, enough nonsense; back to painting the hall.

177. Smallaxe

Fred:

AKA: Billy the rhymer;

On Tintock Tap I first was kissed
    I’d tried before but bloody missed
    In the Kiss there was a trap
    She got pregnant and I a slap
    Don’t tak a kiss on Tintock tap
    Or you’ll pay main-tenance
    Until ye Drap
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    Peace Always

178. Smallaxe

Gon oot fir a wee wile back soon!

As if embdy ker’s

Peace Always

179. Liz g

Just got the weirdest leaflet through the door..Well when I say me I really mean wan o the dugs actually received it…
    So I should say I just got 4 bits of a weird leaflet!

Anyhoo….Scotland Messenger is the title.
    Looks like the group are religious, definitely the abrhamic wans but no sure which one.
    Quite the fantasy around the stone of Destiny,but can’t see the purpose of the leaflet.
    JAH truth.net seems to be the website for them but at a quick glance it looks like a conspiracy site.
    Very professional leaflet through.
    Anybody know anything about them?

180. Smallaxe

liz g:

I checked their website, they are “up the lum” and trying to find someone who will publish an interpretation of their bible which seems to be an amalgamation of the KJ bible, the koran and Star Trek. Of course, I signed up immediately as I could do with a laugh. ๐Ÿ™‚

Live Long and Prosper

Peace Always

181. Tinto Chiel

These fruit loop Scotland Messengers must be Yoons then, surely?

And my name’s not Shirley.

In dangerous times like these, we need things like this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H7v5ZqcReLM

182. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Thanks for the “video of a wedding in the Fenwick Hotel in Kilmarnock that you should enjoy.Really!”.

Watched it at work today. Reminded me of a band called MacUmba, who I saw in City Square, Dundee, a few times some years ago. Did a search on YouTube.

“MacUmba is a unique fusion of Scottish Bagpipes and Brazilian Samba.”
    Also,
    “Mac Umba… schottisch brasilianische Band
    exotsich schottisch eben ;-))… passt bombastisch”

Here are three examples for you.

“Macumba at the Thames Festival”:-
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wY7KTgzjwJY

“MacUmba bei den Highland Games Fehraltorf 2011”:-
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kqtaBOFgBms

“MACUMBA (Dumfries) (Samba & Bagpipe Fusion 08/07/2012)”:-
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=42juhpB5tKc

183. Brian Doonthetoon

I can’t recall if this guy’s been mentioned on ‘off-topic’ in the past so here you are onnyhoo.

He went/goes under the name of “Funtwo” and became a YouTube sensation. Here’s the original video that was uploaded. I believe it was shot in a South Korean bedroom – well, he is South Korean and it is a bedroom. Pachelbel’s Canon…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TF6cnLnEARo

It got to the point where he performed his piece de resistance on stage with Joe Satriani.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fsyeYtC2SHw

184. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    I once decided to troll the Scientologist for a laugh, a year or so after sustaining a serious brain injury. My eyes were still spinning so they thought they were on to a winner. Extremely creepy dudes and not expecting to be trolled. It was braw, though I made a move when their heavies appeared. ๐Ÿ™‚

185. Smallaxe

Brian, they are very good. Try some Albannach: “The Gael” this will make you reach for your Claymore!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ikQXY4qnFNs

Peace Always

186. Smallaxe

Cameron:

Welcome to the Brain damage club,(lack of Oxygen) in my own case.

Like you, I enjoy having fun with some people, if they want to take their chances and knock on my door I invariably invite them in to discuss their views.
    Mormons etc, I n’I mi kno who di true god, your’s false ya know!

I have a collection of religious books in my house and I have found in the KJ bible two different people killing Goliath at two different times. By the time they leave it’s obvious whose brain damage is worse and it’s not mine. I’m looking forward to the next coven of profits (NOT A TYPO) to arrive.

Good Hunting!

Peace Always

187. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Tin soldier, Stevie Marriot was/is one of my top 5 male vocalists.

Likkle more?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LDU13xWgjRU

Peace Always

188. Brian Doonthetoon

When the Small Faces did “Tin Soldier” on Top of the pops, Madeline Bell provided the backing vocals. I remember it well. One of my favourite Small Faces singles – behind this one:-
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zm1QV-ARLnI
    (One of the few toons I can pick out on the ol’ keyboard – it’s quite classical in its construction.)

Onnyhoo, Madeline Bell…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nGw-ciagenk

189. Smallaxe

Dis mi bredren Nyabinghi drummas, them Nyabinghi dem nuh 12 Tribe Rasta like I n’I but them irie all de same…Seen?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Evx2ObNgH0

I found some of the Nyabinghi to be slightly racist and prone to
    violence in some cases, only some. OK for the most part.

One Love One People

190. Smallaxe

Brian:

Forgot to mention, Funtwo is Smokin’ on the axe it makes me want to throw my guitars out.

Black Label Society
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NJTOdypc2hI

Peace Always

191. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, Brian:

Small Faces: at the time I found Steve Marriot looked a bit mad in an unpleasant way, although I really liked the band. Singer (whichever), bass, drums, keyboard always seemed to be really together.

I haven’t heard My Mind’s Eye for ages and MB was always a great singer.

The wonders of YouTube: you hear stuff you missed at the time but can really enjoy it now .

192. Tinto Chiel

We will all need to remember this MB song over the coming years, pre-independence, I think:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4HHT_V294Co

193. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Stevie was a lovely guy, he was a bit narky if he had been drinking but sober he was a gentle man who liked a laugh.Stevie was killed in a fire at his home in 91′.Sad

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XOirXrLSNEc

Peace Always

194. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

You typed,
    “The wonders of YouTube: you hear stuff you missed at the time but can really enjoy it now .”

There’s a track I have on 7″ single. I’ve checked YouTube every year for the past ten years or so and it still isn’t there. (Just checked again – nope.)

Some time between now and January next year, I will find the single within my hovelhold, digitise it, put a video together, then upload it for the wider enjoyment of Scots, wherever they have their hovelholds.

Don’t you just feel that air of anti
    cipation?

195. Brian Doonthetoon

Before I retreat towards my nosebag, one more Small Faces track, with a nod to an independent Scotland.
    “Wouldn’t it be nice to get on with me neighbours”?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rv41AgQTlrA

196. Smallaxe

Another Bell that rings a name; Anyone who did partake of a small refreshment in Burns Howff will remember her with “Stone the Crows!”

Maggie Bell: After Midnight
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1wy13UGioRk

Peace Always

197. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: thanks for that. I think you should preserve some of your memories for Posterity, but I’ve heard he can be an ungrateful cove. The SMs were rather unlucky health-wise, etc., weren’t they?

Brian: you’re a bigger tease than Paula Rose!

Any sightings of that lovely girl at all?

198. Smallaxe

Tinto:

What’s posterity ever done for me?. I will give you one memory from Ilford and what we did there!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IlLWITxkmW8

Peace Always

199. Smallaxe

Paula Rose: Are you out there?,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6xakcwmAfg

Peace Always

200. Tinto Chiel

Always loved that one, Smallaxe: obvs. the band had good times there dogging the school and exploring some “substances”. It reminds me of the sheer fun and promise of the 60s. Was that one of the earliest egs of phasing?

And then we had the bloody 70s: Ted Heath, power cuts and Maggie, Maggie, Maggie.

Was that one of the earliest egs of phasing?

Night all.

Don’t have nightmares…..

201. Smallaxe

G’Night Tinto:

DON’T think about Clowns on a dark dark night hiding in your house and just waiting for their chance to…………

Sleep Tight sleep light…just in ca..

DON’T GO NEAR THE WOODS…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ynGBPvDmDSQ

Peace Always

202. Fred

The Burns Howff, remember it well, some good stuff tonight.

@ Tinto, Class in a Glass is classy, liked the abandoned Bucky bottle. Now ah know what MacPhail in the Para Handy stories was on aboot when he refered tae the teuchters who lived doon-stream of “Dead Slow” in the Clyde!

203. Smallaxe

Fred: did you see my little ditty at 3;24pm?

Peace Always #Manky

204. Fred

It’s no picnic for the Teddy Bears nooadays Smallaxe! Very creepy. Schlaf gut mien freund!

205. Smallaxe

Seth Lakeman:

Blacksmiths Prayer

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NsnlVNtEljY

Peace Always

206. Smallaxe

World leaders will try to keep this from you

To Smallaxe
    Amnesty International UK <action@webmail.amnesty.org.uk
    Today at 20:16

No more lies. No more blame. No more hate. No more fear.ย ย 

Today weย launch our Annual Report on the state of the world's human rights.

This year's report coversย investigations and surveys of over 159 countries, which reveal grave violations of human rights around the world.ย 

The division of 'us vs them' has dominated global politics in 2016. World leaders are using 'otherness' to create discriminatory policies and spread fear. Theyโ€™re evenย using it to commit crimes against their own citizens.ย 

We have seen these kinds of divisive and toxic politics before. We said never again.ย 

We can't rely on governments to protect human rights – weย must take action today.

We should never forget that whenever leaders seek to divide, demonise and repress people, there are always people willing to stand up and get in the way. Building a sustainable movement for change starts with this simple act of defiance. Never has it been so urgent to stand up and get in the way.
    Salil Shetty, Secretary General, Amnesty Internationalย 

Watch the video
    The big question this yearย will be how far the world lets atrocities go before doing something about them.

Ourย reportย calls on you, on all of us, around the world to stand up against the politics of fear, blame and hate.ย 

2017 needs human rights heroes. Thank you for being one of them!ย 

In hope,
    Kerry Moscogiuri
    Director of Supporter Campaigning and Communications
    Amnesty International UK

Do you want to be a hero like me. ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a look at the website!

Peace Always

207. Smallaxe

Fred:

Danke, Ich werde mein Freund, auch Sie.

Peace Always

208. yesindyref2

I remember years ago back from working in Germany going straight into my local: “I get a beer” and Davie saying “Do you? Do you really?”.

209. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

I had been playing with one of my daughters when she was just a baby.I went up to the club that I was running at the time and asked a customer “What would you like to dink today”.

#funnylooks

Peace Always

210. Smallaxe

Bass:

Noir and Haze: “Around”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7bMYhJ_UqnE

Peace Always

211. Still Positive

Smallaxe @ 1.10am yesterday.

My first vote in a UKGE was for a Communist because the Sunday before priests and ministers were telling their congregations, in this area, that Communism was not compatible with Christianity.

I thought: ‘No man is telling me how to vote.’ And I voted for Jimmy Reid, the Communist candidate who later was a member of the SNP.

I voted SNP thereafter.

Tinto Cheil: I grew up in EK from 1957 – 1969. Originally from Cambuslang.

212. Smallaxe

Snowmine: “Let Me In

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_y3GfgcgB_E

Peace Always

213. Still Positive

Smallaxe @1.10 yesterday.

In Feb 1974 I voted for Jimmy Reid, Communist, because the priests and ministers locally telt their congregations that Communism was not compatible with Christianity and I thought that no man was going to tell me how to vote.

Since then I have voted SNP at every opportunity and after more than 40 years now have a much-loved SNP

214. Still Positive

Sorry. I was told the first post was a duplicate which it wasn’t so I tried again with a slightly different post and both appear!

215. Chick McGregor

@smallaxe
    Great selection tonight.

Sanfrancisco. Takes me back to me and a couple of teenage mates camping on St Andrews beach, being moved on by the polis, heading up into town somewhat forlorn and beautiful young hippy girl, flower tiara and all, coming up to me and offering me a flower. By the time I actually got to San Francisco, circa 1980, it was the crime capital of the USA.

You and I must be ages.

That Alexander vid was amazing, tune a bit Mumford and Sons but… maybe vice versa.

Thanks for reminding us what a great axeman Gary Moore of Thin Lizzie was.

Nice to hear great Dougie MacLean tunes from your hot violinesst???.

Michael McCabe, Josef Locke – class.

What a great bunch of good stuff merchants we have here.

Suppose I better chuck in my 2p.

First Free of charge.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bpLv4M4paSI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Azkef2lXW88

And, keeping it Scottish

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=soDZBW-1P04

216. Smallaxe

heartless bastards came a long way:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TiDA7qA-bws

Legendary Shack Shakers – Blood on the Blue Grass
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RznWJUkwXEM

Lonnie Donegan: Hang Down Your Head Tom Dooley (with original lyrics)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oI1KNWfgF_0

Peace Always

217. Cactus

Smallaxe..

Diggin’ ra drums dude..

Da boom boom.

X.

218. Smallaxe

Still Positive:

It’s got to be SNP all the way, it’s the only way!

Peace and Love

219. Smallaxe

Chick McGregor:

AYE Chic, we must be as young as each other, That was 3 crackers that you played.

I leave you all with this Curtis Mayfield number.
    We gotta have Peace:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4QglEbgON9o

PEACE LOVE and Goodnight to All

220. Michael McCabe

Chic McGregor great voice Paul Rogers has. After Free did he not fall into Bad Company. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TeZqjZ_kvLY Last I heard of him he was singing for a band that knows all about Good Company http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sjhSdUe7aeQ And he is Doing http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DvQvkNUBsmY

221. Michael McCabe

don’t get trouble in you mind. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hYtR0KgIzd0

222. Michael McCabe

Rhiannon Giddens- Lost on the River http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ASqEUAy7CKM

223. Michael McCabe

I will leave you with some Mouth Music from Celtic Connections 2016 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fEqBw2N8L7A

224. Fred

The night shift’s been busy. Thanks for the mouth-music Michael. You hauderim & ah’ll heiderim.

Smallaxe, caught the poem, du bist die katze schlafrock.

Hope you guys all caught “The news where you are” link posted by Dave McEwan Hill?

225. Smallaxe

Fred:

Diese Katze hat Krallen. ๐Ÿ™‚

Frieden immer Mein Freund

226. CameronB Brodie

I think this could do with being posted here, as well.

The Propaganda Model and Sociology:
    Understanding the Media and Society

This article unpacks reasons why the Propaganda Model represents a critical sociological approach to understanding media and society, explores the modelโ€™s potential within the sociological field, and considers the trajectory of its reputational reception to date. The article also introduces the three central hypotheses and five operative principles of the Propaganda Model and suggests that the model complements other (competing) approaches that explore the relationship between ideological and institutional power and discursive phenomena.

http://web4.uwindsor.ca/users/w/winter/40-328.nsf/831fc2c71873e46285256d6e006c367a/10ff8b04ff3a317885256d88005720f6/$FILE/The%20Propaganda%20Model%20and%20Sociology%20by%20Jeffery%20Klaehn%20and%20Andrew%20Mullen.pdf

227. DerekM

https://twitter.com/WingsScotland/status/834717857892200449

lol Seen The Cramps many times Rev they are with out a doubt the craziest band on the planet and probably the best show i have ever been to.

It was just after they released stay sick in the Barrowlands,the place was mobbed big Lux came on leather trousers high heels no top out his mind the band cranked into you got good taste and Lux was flinging the mike stand about and smacked himself right between the eyes busting open his head,instead of collapsing in a heap it electrified him fuck knows what he was on but that night he was on the amps humping them,playing the bongo drum on the mike stuffed down his trousers,doing the dying fly crowd surfing.

I came out the gig with a black eye and deaf as a post,Ivy had the lead so high it about blew out your eardrums and the slam dancing was more like a mass brawl lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uxliZVghE8w

228. Tinto Chiel

Morning, all, or rather afternoon.

Hardly slept last night and then slept in. Had strange dreams of a nasty blonde girl with her hair in bunches who chased me through some dark woods with a baseball bat, all the while blowing bubble-gum at me.

And then this infernal voice in my head…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X9FyQNx8oyU

Bizarre.

Any ideas?

Smallaxe?

EH?

229. CameronB Brodie

Re. The Cramps. My first live indoors performance, at the Barrowlands. I was only 15 so got a bit trashed in the mosh but what a night.

230. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

It wisnae me, here’s the guilty wan, #Manky Mate
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KG7Bs_BCC5w

Peace Always

231. Tinto Chiel

Great stuff: I’d heard it before somewhere but had no idea who it was.

Of course, French always sounds so sexy, especially that bit where she says breathlessly, “I’m just popping out for some sprouts, love, back in five.”

A bit fruity for the afternoon, eh?, and what’s a half-naked woman doing wearing armoured gauntlets?

I think we should be told…..

232. Smallaxe

Tinto: Pay attention to the lyrics!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gioTDXESz7A

Peace Always

233. Smallaxe

Tinto:

My mistake, I meant this one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U50dWswwPJc

Peace Always

234. Tinto Chiel

Fascinating stuff, Smallaxe and I’m pretty sure at 1.37, JC says,โ€œIโ€™m just popping out for some sprouts, love, back in five.โ€

Spooky, but at least I understand the gauntlets now.

Love that Jamaican saltire! I’m sure Neil “Sivrikin/Pantene” Oliver will be around to expatiate (ooh, matron!) on our unique links to slavery, the KKK and the American Civil War in a minute.

Was it for this the clay grew tall?

235. Smallaxe

Tinto:

It was for this that the clay grew tall
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hs5fP7G8gBc

Peace Always

236. Tinto Chiel

Quite a voice she’s got,#MankyMate, don’t you think?

And is there honey still for tea?

I am now going to pre-empt you in such a vile unspeakable way that even I tremble as I hit the Submit button.

Gulp…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JywK_5bT8z0

237. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Honey? Mama Mia! I’ve heard about you.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nwac8FeG5VQ

Peace Always

238. Tinto Chiel

You’ve taken that too far! ๐Ÿ˜›

Until fairly recently, I was the only male, outnumbered 3-1 at Tinto Towers. I once opined Mamma Mia was the worst film I had ever seen in the history of the world after Spice Girls: The Movie (shudders).

For this, I was metaphorically consigned to the cupboard under the stairs and received the Full Frost Treatment by the Chielettes/Quines.

But, I mean, honestly…..

Sample script: “What’s that about drums, Fernando? Do you have a hearing deficiency?” (cue song).

Or, alternatively: “Hi, handsome hunk! From what London station did you depart before your unexpected arrival in Greece?” (cue song).

Jeezo, man! Weasels rip ma flesh!

I feel better now…..

239. Ian Brotherhood

Just sticking ma big napper in to say hello.

Hello!

๐Ÿ™‚

240. Smallaxe

On This Day:

February 23, 1974, “Rebel Rebel’ by David Bowie entered the UK chart, the single reached No.5 the following month.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vy-rvsHsi1o

Peace Always

241. Tinto Chiel

Hello, Ian. Nice to hear from you.

Been worrying about Paula Rose’s extended absence. Was it my crass remark about her silly palms? Or my fitba’ refernces?

Or was it your unusual deposit (hem, hem) under that plant pot?

Any pointers?

242. Smallaxe

It is now after 9;30pm Time for some music?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HDLLXUaqZxg

Peace Always

243. Tinto Chiel

“References” obvs.

Do you think she ever thinks of the old days: the toilet with the chanky lock? The smoke house out the back and the strange gentlemen callers?

Things seemed so simple in those days…..

244. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

๐Ÿ™‚

That was just my stash – it’s a wee packet of Golden Virginia, but don’t tell anyone. It’ll soon be cheaper to buy skunk.

245. Tinto Chiel

Relieved, Ian, frankly. Ah, roll-ups. I had the wee rolling machine and kept my baccy in a Golden Virginia tin with an apple slice.

Then I discovered Passing Clouds and it was all downhill from there: beautiful women, booze and Fir Park.

Ou sont les neiges d’antan, eh?

246. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: charming girl but (sacrilege!) I think I prefer the Fleetwood Mac version.

Am I a bad person?

247. Smallaxe

I’m not saying what I’m smoking!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7JUm_Y0R6Og

Peace Always

248. Smallaxe

Play that funky music white boy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AoATQO82k-k

Peace Always

249. Smallaxe

SACRILEGE SUITS ME! Tinto:

Louis prima – sing sing sing (with a swing)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOPSETBUgvQ

Peace Always

250. Smallaxe

Jeff Beck & Jimmy Page Beck’s Bolero, Immigrant Song, Train Kept A Rollin’ 2009

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EHKsg3NIIgQ

Peace Always

251. Smallaxe

Rockin’ Rollin’ Rockabilly: Dance!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ne-0zc-pGr8

Peace Always

252. Smallaxe

Cab Calloway – “Minnie The Moocher” – ORIGINAL “VIDEO”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8suquDgg0dw

Peace Always

253. Tinto Chiel

You’re really smokin’ tonight, Smallaxe, just as I’m going to bed. I have no doubt the Night Shift will be on soon.

Isn’t that Singx3 Benny Goodman’s version? When my tinies were wee they loved The Manhatten Murder Mystery and that classic was in the title music credits.

Am now off to commune with the ancients in my winceyette pyjamas…….

Sleep well, all.

254. Smallaxe

I used to smoke 40 fags a day and at least a bottle of whisky and 6 cans of beer.

But I packed all that in when I left school ๐Ÿ™‚

THREE MEN IN A PUB
    1st man “my wife is daft, she has just bought a car and she can’t drive”
    2nd man “my wife’s daft as well, she’s went on a diet and she’s skinny”
    3rd man “my wife must be the daftest, she’s taken 30 condoms on holiday and she hasn’t got a Dick”

Peace Always

255. galamcennalath

Smallaxe says:

Jeff Beck & Jimmy Page Beckโ€™s Bolero, Immigrant Song, Train Kept A Rollinโ€™ 2009

Nce ๐Ÿ™‚

256. Smallaxe

Bob Seger – Against the Wind

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RcDCvQbOdig

Peace Always

257. galamcennalath

Wonderful creepy intro and cover version to a great movie ….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L0bD4ts8eWY

258. CameronB Brodie

Go easy there bro.

Willie Dixon & Memphis Slim – Go Easy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y-vQoglEgXQ

259. CameronB Brodie

Sorry galamcennalath, must remember to refresh Smallaxe,

260. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    I’ve made myself obscure again. That track and comment in reply to your r’n’r rock-out. ๐Ÿ˜‰

261. Smallaxe

Hi, Cameron, you, my Friend will never be Obscure.

Deportee’s, well, if T/M gets away with the inhuman decisions that she and W/Minster are making then we will all be complicit in this disgusting Union’s Crimes. People having a home and family on these islands will become Obscure.

For the many immigrants who have worked, suffered and been deported from any place that they called Home.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zqXp1jxmpsw

PEACE LOVE INCLUSION ALWAYS

262. CameronB Brodie

Re. whats’ inside a girl? Man has been searching for the answer to that for some time now. Isn’t it just as well attitudes evolve and new approaches are followed?

“No man should marry until he has studied anatomy and dissected at least one woman.” – Honore de Balzac

#neverenoughfuzz

263. Smallaxe

galamcennalath: Hi!

Welcome to the Jungle,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o1tj2zJ2Wvg

Peace Always

264. Smallaxe

Something we don’t get a lot of from the MSM or the BBC!

Alexander Ebert, “Truth”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GtPK0gRdFgI

Peace Always

265. Smallaxe

Women Cameron? Here’s what I think of Them!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8r92A7ndnZk

Peace Always

266. Smallaxe

The Blues Mystery: Back To The Dirty Town

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=109uO2EV6RM

Peace Always

267. Big Phil

Smallaxe.
    lol, my missus says she has a dick, wonder why she looked at me. wee biatch. loved yer joke. ๐Ÿ˜‰

268. CameronB Brodie

galamcennalath
    Just try not to wake Hamish. ๐Ÿ˜‰

The Cadets – Stranded In The Jungle
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_LBmUwi6mEo

P.S. Were these guys buzzing Helium?

269. Smallaxe

Yardbirds: Heart Full of Soul

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tHJSis6XrOY

Peace Always

270. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Sook. ๐Ÿ™‚

271. CameronB Brodie

That obviously wasn’t the Cadets. Anyhoo, here’s one for Kez, poor lass.

Dobie Gray- Drift away
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gr_eVcCAUXo

272. Smallaxe

Big Phil: This Big Phil?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lzQ8GDBA8Is

If that is you, Phil, if you haven’t already, look back up this page to the 19th at 4;59 am. I left a load of stuff for you but it must have gone into Admin. because it only appeared 2/3 days ago.

273. Smallaxe

Dobie Gray, great choice Cameron, love it!

And if you think that last lot were on helium, I want some of what Frankie take’s at 82 yrs young.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ej9KIGvHKc4

Peace Always

274. Big Phil

Smallaxe.
    I did indeed see it my friend ,I left a thank-you as well. so thank-you again. The King Lives. Some of the tunes on O/T are brilliant lots of good memories. I dont always post but I do listen.@ CameronB I smiled at that one. ๐Ÿ˜‰

275. Smallaxe

I n’I mi ave ramp a likkle bit of bob’s music now..Seen?

I know a place
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pRldkrQX73s

Chances Are
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QDqfz_k0b94

Talking Blues
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7DmI6MAoltQ

ONE LOVE ONE PEOPLE
    SEEN?

276. CameronB Brodie

Cheers Big Phil. I really hope you are right about me not being obscure Smallaxe. Sometimes I worry that folk might think I’m anti-English. Far from it, I had an English granny. I also have English cousins and have spent a good bit of time living there (London). I’m just not a fan of the English Establishment and their boorishness. The Scottish Establishment though, that’s a different matter. How can anyone be allowed out on their own, when they are of a mind to disown inalienable human rights?

Yoon beliefs stand in opposition to the established world order, frankly.

277. Smallaxe

Nice to know someone’s listening Phil, Peace

Bob gets inna yuh heart ya?

This guy should give us a laugh
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ni4VOBu6d1o
    Different Style
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EtshlipvyIc

Peace Always

278. Smallaxe

It’s late, everyone should have a bedtime drink, Horlicks or….

Hot Chocolate

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JIN36NweL6I

Peace Always

279. Smallaxe

Cameron, I don’t think any of us hate the English, I have a daughter in England and another in Wales.I also have two beautiful
    Scottish/Caribbean grandchildren and two who were born in this area. And I consider myself a very lucky man.

We are all related as human beings it can’t be any other way.
    Cheer Up My Brothers & Sisters
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVh9aYJjaBk

Out of many One People
    One Love

280. Chick McGregor

Smallaxe pick of the night and a pleasantly surprising one, the Rockabilly Dancing, thanks for that. Close second, the Dirty Town bluesy thing.

One of my current favs. Sorry if I’ve posted it here before, I’ve posted it on several forums:

Caution, may contain ear worms.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=swC3WXTH99U

281. Still Positive

Well said Smallaxe.

It doesn’t matter where people were born: if they share our beliefs they are one of us.

282. Michael McCabe

Just watched that Kez Dugdale on STV and I wonder why. I Drink http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uoG18Z0AKqE

283. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe. Hot Chocolate I prefer a cup of Horricks. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FYDwyb7CJxY

284. Smallaxe

Chick:

If you played that before I don’t remember it.Saying that I can’t remember my phone number.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ahoJReiCaPk

Peace Always

285. Smallaxe

Still Positive:

Colour, Creed, Belief matters not as long as we live in Peace.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOz7MBFdg8I

Peace Always

286. Smallaxe

Michael:

Good to see you on so early, I’m down here at the River Annan and you’re away across at the Forth.

Tell this other friend that we miss her
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZCSzxkbMri8

Peace Always

287. Michael McCabe

Chick McGregor a wee add on to one of your current Favs. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tWPm4zolBNU

288. Smallaxe

Friends from Hawaii

Koa Hewahewa “Strength”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PrFQ_CyuNug

Peace Always

289. Smallaxe

GOD BLESS THE WOMAN: BILLY KEKONA
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZEfS5ovC7EY

I like this because my mother was a Woman

Peace Always

290. Smallaxe

Biffy Clyro: Mountains

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UxUb9Yzr1sE

Peace Always

291. CameronB Brodie

Still Positive

In his historic play The Melting Pot, Israel Zangwill (1864โ€“1926) introduced into our discourse a potent metaphor that for nearly a hundred years has served as a key definition of the United States. The play, enthusiastically espoused by President Theodore Roosevelt, to whom it was dedicated, offered a grand vision of America as a dynamic process of ethnic and racial amalgamation. By his own admission, The Melting Pot grew out of Zangwillโ€™s intense involvement in issues of Jewish immigration and resettlement and was grounded in his interpretation of Jewish history….

….Edna Nahshonโ€™s in-depth introduction to this volume includes a biography of Israel Zangwill that especially pertains to these works and situates them within the Anglo-American theater of the time. The essays preceding each play provide rich and hitherto unknown information on the scripts, their stage productions, and their popular and critical reception. While some issues addressed in From the Ghetto to the Melting Pot are uniquely Jewish, others are universal and typical of the negotiation of self-presentation by ethnic and minority groups, particularly within the American experience.

http://www.wsupress.wayne.edu/books/detail/ghetto-melting-pot

292. Smallaxe

John Leyton: Johnny Remember Me

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o2_pXuhFZBw

Peace Always

293. Michael McCabe

Loving the Music on off topic. Then again I am a Slave to the Rhythm. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z0XLzIswI2s

294. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Strange night tonight. Put my head down for a wee snooze around 7.30 and woke up at half past midnight. Just about to turn in again but, referencing your “Johnny Remember Me”, here’s another classic “teenage death” song from the early 60s. Definitely a ‘classic of its genre”…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tL_70DF-z50

295. Smallaxe

OK.Brian one more morbid memory:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=37UTpnPTvIk

Peace Always

296. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Not quite a โ€œteenage deathโ€ song from the early 60s but I probably shouldn’t go there. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Kingsmen – Death Of An Angel
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=04eAn7sWU2g

297. CameronB Brodie

Oh no, too late. Black, black, black…..

Famous Metal Riffs without Distortion #1 aka Surf Music From Hell
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dVqqWUyDPzA

Metal without Distortion #2 aka Satanic Surf Music!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D_O3TnfpN1E

SURF ROCK with DISTORTION aka Smells Like BLACK METAL
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6v-eWbcVJq8

Ergo….

Surf rock and black metal are secretly identical
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g1edoJH9iGI

298. Dave McEwan Hill

We’re remembering Roy Orbison on Argyll Independent Radio in
    my Not Fade Away Rock’n’Roll show (8 -9pm)
    tunein.com/radio/Argyll-Independent-Radio-s198410

299. chick mcgregor

Ah the young death era. Wonder, were these inspired by James Dean and Buddy Holly real life tragedies?

Here’s one from a little star in the 60s

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sADBdkcS7_w

300. CameronB Brodie

Another from the same era.

Jonna Gault – I’m Never Gonna Cry Again
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PpfKSJhCVD8

301. Smallaxe

where did all these morbid tracks come from?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gOgpdp3lP8M

Peace Always

302. CameronB Brodie

‘Cause we’re a bunch of alt-right narrow nationalists trying to shut down opposition through a project of fear, coordinated from Bath. Moving right along, here’s one for BLiS___d.

Grover – Monster in the Mirror
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZiXJcfymAus

303. Smallaxe

Let us not forget that WE have to be the change we want to see in the world and as the song says, “It’s our right, to right the wrong.”

On and On | War & Pierce | Playing For Change
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=31oKGqurCbE

peace Always

304. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Plenty folk diss Pat Kane nowadays, but this track managed to project anti-Thatcher feeling in a ‘funky’ way, and I loved it at the time. The guy’s a rare chanter, nae doots…

‘Labour Of Love’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KgBTcsSPJL8

305. Smallaxe

Where There Is Love | Playing For Change
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cABVKIPk_u0

Playing For Change | Song Around The World
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4xjPODksI08

Peace Always

306. Smallaxe

Playing For Change is a movement created to inspire and connect the world through music.
    Music can show us the way

What’s Going On Playing For Change Song Around The World
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JEp7QrOBxyQ

Peace Always

307. Smallaxe

Cole Swindell: You Should Be Here
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K8WlCqZPTeg

Peace Always

308. Smallaxe

Hi Ian: and Cameron:

Just back from a late Burns Supper, Had a talk with the wee Ginger Dug and Joan McAlpine MSP, Richard Arkless MP and Emma Harper MSP
    So I got it all sorted and gave them their orders ๐Ÿ™‚

Brad Paisley
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PXVLtfJ5KQY

309. Smallaxe

Margaret Thatcher How Does It Feel To Be The Mother Of A Thousand Dead.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oAga3ZQ0BxU

Peace Always

310. Smallaxe

Lauren Alaina: Road Less Travelled
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j-NAEvc-b6E

Peace Always

311. Smallaxe

Loretta Lynn: Coal Miner’s Daughter
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f9eHp7JJgq8

Peace Always

312. Smallaxe

Willie Nelson: Always On My Mind
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7f189Z0v0Y

Peace Always

313. Big Phil

smallaxe i know im being a fud but when i share a youtube vid it disnae go.. how do i do it?

314. Smallaxe

Phil,

RIGHT CLICK ON THE HTTPS:/ WHEN IT TURNS BLUE LEFT CLICK AND COPY.
    WHEN YOU PUT IT ONTO THE BOX IN WINGS, DELETE THE HTTPS:/ LEAVING JUST THE WWW. WHATEVER. IF YOU LEAVE THE HTTPS:/ BIT ON IT Won’t GO THROUGH.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jU6TIBVRDZ0

Peace Always

315. Big Phil

I dont want hammers . lol

316. Smallaxe

The HTTPS:// COMES BACK LOOKING LIKE THIS HTTP://

Peace Always

317. Smallaxe

Delete everything before the http://www.youtube.

Peace Always

318. Smallaxe

That should be delete everything before http://www.youtube. Sorry, I’m a bit tired if you want to ask anything Phil, please do.

Peace Always

319. Chick McGregor

Ian B,
    Much as I concur with the political views of PK (I recall in particular, an internet discussion between myself, Pat Kane and Stuart Cosgrove on the merits or otherwise of ‘The Scheme’ some years ago) Jazz has always been somewhat of a Curate’s Egg for me.

Whereas I can appreciate the virtuosity of the likes of Oscar Peterson, Stephane Grappelli or Django Reindhart and even appreciate at a lower level the pleasing musak effect of the likes of ‘Trad Jazz’, a lot of it falls, for me, into the category of ‘self indulgence I do not ‘get”.

Sadly, for me Hue and Cry were in that category although I am more than willing to accept that that was simply a perception problem on my part

320. Big Phil

I’ll try the morra Smallaxe , tired as well, read all the comments and im feckin knackered , sleep well buddy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

321. Smallaxe

That’s cool Phil Goodnight, my Friend.

Peace always

322. Chick McGregor

Thanks smallaxe.

Rockabilly is a bit of a revelation for me.

Thought your first vid was a better standard but the couple with the guy with horizontal striped shirt were excellent.

323. CameronB Brodie

The Major of London appears to picture Scotland is as it is imagined by History Woman. I wouldn’t want him to be insensitive to the minority concerns of Scots or to indulge in ethnic prejudice, so I thought I’d suggest some background reading for him. Hopefully the Major will reappraise his comments in light of this critical and semiotic re-edumication. If he truly values the principle of universal human rights, he may hopefully find a way to support Scotland’s self-determination.

@The Major of London
    Get enlightened or wind your neck in, otherwise folk might think you a bigoted racist.

For a theory of nationalism
    Nationalism is too diverse to allow a single theory to explain it all. Much of the contents and specific orientation of various nationalisms is determined by historically distinct cultural traditions, the creative actions of leaders, and contingent situations within the international world order (Calhoun, 1997, 123)

http://www.sciencespo.fr/ceri/sites/sciencespo.fr.ceri/files/qdr10.pdf

A critical evaluation of theories of nationalism
    https://research.aston.ac.uk/portal/en/theses/a-critical-evaluation-of-theories-of-nationalism(cd788501-d37c-4730-9f92-fa6338fc92e2).html

Gellnarian Theory of Nation and Nationalism: A Critical Appraisal
    https://www.jstor.org/stable/23620890?seq=1#page_scan_tab_contents

Toward a New Critical Theory with a Cosmopolitan Intent
    http://www.public.iastate.edu/~carlos/607/readings/beck.pdf

324. CameronB Brodie

@ The MaYor of London

STUDYING NATIONALISM AS AN EVERYDAY IDEOLOGY
    http://www.psych.lse.ac.uk/Psr/PSR1993/2_1993Billi.pdf

Race, Nationalism, and Transnationalism
    http://communication.oxfordre.com/view/10.1093/acrefore/9780190228613.001.0001/acrefore-9780190228613-e-33

Kosovo: An Identity between Local and Global
    https://www.psa.ac.uk/sites/default/files/page-files/EPP015_0.pdf

325. CameronB Brodie

@ The Mayor of London
    Not forgetting the anthropological perspective.

Ethnicity and Nationalism: Anthropological Perspectives
    https://www.researchgate.net/publication/270900833_Ethnicity_and_Nationalism_Anthropological_Perspectives

Anthropology and the Future of the Nation-State and Nationalism
    https://www.omicsonline.org/open-access/anthropology-and-the-future-of-the-nationstate-and-nationalism-2332-0915.1000e126.php?aid=27218

Ethnicity and Nationalism
    Anthropological Perspectives

http://hyllanderiksen.net/Ethnicity.html

Max Weber on Nations and Nationalism: Political Economy before Political Sociology
    https://www.jstor.org/stable/3654673

326. CameronB Brodie

@ The Mayor of London
    As that was only a tiny selection of theories of nations and nationalism(s), you may be intimidated by the level of your ignorance, so let’s cut to the chase. Do you or do you not support the principle of universal human rights?

Transforming our world: the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development

Our shared principles and commitments

10. The new Agenda is guided by the purposes and principles of the Charter of the United Nations, including full respect for international law. It is grounded in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, international human rights treaties, the Millennium Declaration and the 2005 World Summit Outcome Document. It is informed by other instruments such as the Declaration on the Right to Development.

โ€œThe right to development is an inalienable human right by virtue of which every human person and all peoples are entitled to participate in, contribute to, and enjoy economic, social, cultural and political development, in which all human rights and fundamental freedoms can be fully realized.โ€ (Article 1.1, Declaration on the Right to Development)

327. Smallaxe

THE FUTURE OUR CHILDREN WANT:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UE4H5lBKBNU

Peace Always

328. CameronB Brodie

@ The Mayor of London
    I thought you may need some help in understanding the degree of your ‘insensitivity’. IMHO you owe Scotland the most humblest of apologies bud.

Critical Race and Postcolonial Theory

Neither critical race nor postcolonial theory can be understood apart from histories of anti-racist and anti-colonial political struggles. But while their specific histories may differ, what critical race and postcolonial theories share in common is the fact that they emerged out ofโ€”and represent intellectual challenges toโ€”contexts of racial oppression. They also borrow heavily from one another, and share a commitment to developing theory based not solely on the thoughts of academics, but also from the voices and experiences of people of color and the former subjects of colonialism….

http://routledgesoc.com/profile/critical-race-and-postcolonial-theory

329. CameronB Brodie

@Fabian Society
    Critical social theory’s a bugger eh?

The Coasters – Run Red Run
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdVMQbZwP-0

330. Smallaxe

@ The Mayor of London
    Critical Race and Postcolonial Theory

To simplify the theory that my friend CameronB Brodie has espoused, in case you may not have the critical capacity to comprehend.You, my dear Sir, are an arse.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2WJMg5CQGx0

Peace Always

331. CameronB Brodie

That’s about the size of it Smallaxe, cheers. ๐Ÿ˜‰

332. Smallaxe

You are more than welcome, Cameron my Friend.

A wee tune for You!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X63ctctb5b0

Peace Always

333. Paula Rose

Lots of folk have been making art for Lindsay Jarrett who inspired us all with her climb up the castle rock in Edinburgh to place a giant Yes sign at night. You can view them here โ€“

http://www.facebook.com/Art4Lindsay/

and some of them on twitter #Art4Lindsay

If you would like to paint, draw, design or write something please do.
    My twitter handle is @PaulaHoneyRose tag me in if you post a pic and Iโ€™ll post it on the page.

334. Smallaxe

Paula Rose:

I have just read Lindsay’s story and I am humbled and inspired by her bravery and commitment to our cause.Thank you for bringing it to us.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d7BrZf2ZVwI

Peace Always
    Smallaxe

335. Tinto Chiel

Seen this, Smallaxe?

https://twitter.com/CeeGraham1/status/835433893444612097

Mr Khan of Lunnon should be ashamed of himself.

336. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

Khan?!

Blimey…

I’m pretty sure yon dude in yer link used to be in the SSP. If not, he was certainly around a lot back in the heady Sheridan days, when we had half a dozen MSPs.

337. Tinto Chiel

Ian, today we got a taste of the MSM shit-storm ahead of us: utter lies, hypocrisy and desperate cynicism from the Yoon Last Chance Saloon (including Ruthie’s wee “Let us register you for a postal vote” letter on my mat this morning).

I can only hope that once May presses the Article 50 button, the EU is unequivocal in its support for our rights as EU citizens to remain. I can’t imagine it can do anything else without fatally undermining its position and reputation.

I suspect there will be a certain amount of relish from Mr Verhofstadt as he tells May she’s getting diddlysquat and “negotiations” will be short and sweet.

338. Tinto Chiel

Moody and doom-laden? You got it….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dDwyOApJzSw

339. Croompenstein

Ayrshire’s finest..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cp3wmlNZpfw

340. Tinto Chiel

Biffy ya bass: agreed.

Four great instrumental solos on this one but few will know it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JgrawiwGV5w

Night all: early start the morn’s morn.

341. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

Hear ye mister, hear ye…

And I do hope you’re right.

Nothing will ever change the London-centric mindset, but the maximum possible embarrassment may, just may give its foremost champions some food for thought.

In the meantime, no-one on this planet would do anything other than cheer our departure from such a rancid, irredemiably nasty ‘partner’.

342. Ian Brotherhood

Something a wee bit different.

Mind-blowing.

Sometimes I wish I still smoked hash.

When I see stuff like this I’m glad I don’t! –

‘Largest Glacier calving ever filmed’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hC3VTgIPoGU

343. Dave McEwan Hill

http://www.thenational.scot/world/15117001.Profile__First_Aid_for_Gambia/

Thanks to the National for publishing my article. Any help much appreciated

344. Brian Doonthetoon

I just tuned into,

http://webcomradio.co.uk/

and the track playing was Dougie MacLean – Caledonia.

345. Ian Brotherhood

Some serious James Brown here, a compilation of his Soul Train gigs…

Soo-perb, even in snatches:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AsVyPAVBzRQ

346. Ian Brotherhood

Apologies for subbing this for the umpteenth time, but it’s got to be one of the best-ever live recordings of anything:

Stevie Wonder, ‘Superstition’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wDZFf0pm0SE

347. Smallaxe

H, Ian, And anyone else still awake:

Curtis Mayfield
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VDSYTU5e39Y&spfreload=10

Peace Always

348. Paula Rose

All tearful now *leans on shoulders*

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EdSIlVZhsDw

349. Smallaxe

“I Started a joke”

Robin Gibb
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yr9s4RR4rrk

Peace Always

350. Smallaxe

Everybody in bed?

Ska:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WE8FATuziSc

Peace Always

351. Smallaxe

“Rally Round The Flag”

Steel Pulse:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3dZlRRF0hDo

Peace Always

352. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

๐Ÿ™‚

Just about to hit the flea-pit. Hope you’re well there, and not awake if you’d rather not be.

Great sounds, as aye mister.

Hoots to ye, and all.

353. Smallaxe

yah, look like everybody inna likkle bed cep’ fi I n’I, nah matta I n’I ramp A likkle music fi mi, seen?

The Specials: “A message to you Rudy”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cntvEDbagAw
    Alton Ellis
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ideo-umriEI

Peace Always

354. Smallaxe

Mi sorry Bredren Ian mi nuh notice yuh post at first mi head mashed, Seen?

Likkle Sound fi you Bredren!Yuh wi enjoy it.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aCKU_pffkCg

One Love Mi Bredren

355. Smallaxe

Hi, Ian, I’ve just been poking around the Interweb, just to see what I could find, you know?
    Amy: Valerie
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=namFjcOgHSE

Peace Always

356. Smallaxe

Mundell!
    “Rasta have the angle”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-rGCcd88FQo

No matter how the mountain may be high
    We’ve got to reach the top
    And no matter how the hill might be steep
    We’ll never stop
    And no matter how dangerous the cliff
    We’ll never fall
    ‘Cause Rasta have the handle
    Babylon, you hold on on the blame

Peace Always

357. Smallaxe

Sissel: “Going Home”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iJFhTb1gi6Y
    Peacefully Peaceful, Beautifully Beautiful, Truthfully Truthful

Peace Always

358. Smallaxe

FOR SADIQ KHAN:

“Abuse of words has been the great instrument of sophistry and chicanery, of party, faction, and division of society.”

John Adams

Peace Always

359. Smallaxe

Good Morning, Michael, For You.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PrIUwo_GgmE

Peace Always my Friend

360. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe you have played some great music on here today my Friend. Here is some Sweetness Riddim for you. 1 Riddim 5 different Songs. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i3iYFyNHV9E

361. Smallaxe

I leave you with this and give you a chance to play some of your
    good (as always) Music.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q4oInT79CUk

Peace Love and MUSIC

362. Michael McCabe

I don’t have to think twice about playing this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uBNB0c2_FhY

363. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe that last song you played made me Snap. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ybhhAdj4hY4

364. Michael McCabe

Baby I’m a fool http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z5w5dsRy9Co

365. CameronB Brodie

@Jeremy Corbyn
    English Socialism might suite English Marxists, Fabians and the English Establishment but it fits poorly with needs of Scotland. Why can’t you respect the principle of universal human rights? Is it because of a Marxist objection to acknowledging cultural values and difference or are you simply an English nationalist at heart? A bit of mix?

The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion – Do The Get Down
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_jBXbzIf7qo

366. Chick McGregor

Exclusive video of the SLAB conference in Perth.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LmQZjKMcPcA

367. yesindyref2

The current battle and one to come is this anti-English idea, and it is one we can win now (and are winning I think). I have an ace in the hole but am keeping it until needed – those who’ve talked with me would know what it is, even though I was born in Scotland and lived most of my life here.

368. Fred

Some cool stuff today guys. Did anybody catch the Govan weans pipe band today on Alba at 1500? Superb prog’ bring a tear tae a gless eye!

369. Ian Brotherhood

Can anyone imagine what the festivals will be like post-indy?

Getting properly goose-bumply even thinking about it…

Scissor Sisters, ‘Laura’ (Live, T In The Park)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pWANEAO7HF4

370. Brian Doonthetoon

A quickie before I turn in.

Smallaxe – I remember seeing the Bay City Rollers a number of times in the JM Ballroom in Dundee, around 1970/71. They did A couple from Pendulum – “Have you ever seen the rain” and “Hey Tonight”. They also did a credible version of “Born To Be Wild” (that was when Archie Marr was their organist) and a decent version of this, which was never a hit. You can hear how Nobby Clark’s voice would have suited it though.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVcbVuLRG7Q

—————————————–

Hi Ian B.

Typing about post-indy festivals. I’ve linked to this video in the past. What gets me is that many of us know the song from pro-indy rallies but this was a young(ish) mainstream audience at a mainstream festival, who knew all the words.

Tea In The Park 2015.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6xCXbP-Q9g

371. Swami Backverandah

Gatecrash the party with a comment on the No to Yes vids

How long till we see these on the list?
    And will the rankings reflect the time taken by their one-cell processors to accept the inevitable:

Number
    316 Dunc
    417 Mctwerp
    718 putting the Sad into Sadiq
    1109 F. E. Deans of Universities
    15378 Ex History Lecturers
    123456 Jerky
    209278 Kez
    19876543 Anyone still a Labour Party member
    23456789 Spanner and the Tools

372. Swami Backverandah

Previous post hasn’t appeared yet.
    hello to off-topicers.
    Am currently not in UK timezone so may not see any replies. have dodgy wifi also.
    best of luck to all with campaign for Yes2Indy

373. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Brilliant.

Hadn’t seen that one before, wee tear in the eye now!

Great stuff.

๐Ÿ™‚

374. Smallaxe

@ LOAST A POST!FFS..WI/FI.

Been having problems since setting up a new sound system.

Eighth Day 1980
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8ALdL8oV_sY

Einstein a Go Go 1981
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rn8jPj9g_CM

Peace Always

375. Smallaxe

Success!

They can send video’s from caves in Afganistan and I’m having problems doing it from here??

Us And Them – piano cover
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WjQ2hgzCQ0E

A guy playing a guitar (very well)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k4ixAfJ1LuI

Peace Always

376. Chick McGregor

smallaxe
    CCR
    Fogerty is a legend, should be up there along with Dylan, Lennon et al.

Think I have posted all of those here in the dim and distant, including the following which IIRCC had a few hundred thousand hits but is now in the 10’s of millions in its various postings.

I think it is also one of the first proto heavy metal examples.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pAVhKjsImeI

Green River is another good one.

377. Smallaxe

Chic:

I agree with you re Fogarty, he has never got the deserved respect due to him. Here’s another from him.

Sharp Dressed Man
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lAOKwD0gabU

Peace Always

378. Smallaxe

Another Legend

Jeff Beck: “Apache” / “Sleepwalk
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlyunWX6Y9s

“Women of Ireland”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ej_X2_SggQ

Peace Always

379. Chick McGregor

smallaxe

Loved CCR in the 60s. Remember getting quite angry at their treatment at Woodstock.

Backatcha with another with a political resonance which is just as relevant today.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=40JmEj0_aVM

380. Smallaxe

More Relevance:

FOLK LEGEND JOHN McCUTCHEON
    “Not in My Name”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T0dy56N5_d8

Deportees
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AG2VhXrDWs

NOT IN OUR NAME!
    Peace Love and Inclusion

381. Smallaxe

Beth Hart “Whole Lotta Love
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8AG2VhXrDWs

Beth Hart & Joe Bonamassa – I Love You More
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UdNKR3GaOtc

Peace Always

382. Smallaxe

Mike Oldfield tubular bells part2 full original (1973)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JPlOosDj1rM

With accompanying Ukippers near the end. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

383. Smallaxe

Pianist Nobuyuki Tsujii bursts into tears when he plays at Carnegie Hall his own composition “Elegy for the Victims of the Tsunami of March 11, 2011 in Japan”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LqoV4ZW7xTA
    Goodnight
    Peace to All

384. Thepnr

@BDTT

That Gerry Cinnamon video from T In The Park was great, so good I wanted to see more of this guy and I found this.

This is really good, the same song and guaranteed to bring a smile to your face. Nah it’s much better than good, it’s fantastic.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FKxQSdJlL7k

385. Smallaxe

I see that a mushroom has appeared on the main thread so I have to welcome him with a song of his own.#Magic

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rN6ddvhExdE

Peace Always

386. CameronB Brodie

Scots need to remember there is no difference between surf rock and black metal. Enough with this separatist pulp fiction.

The Immortals – Surf and Destroy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UcP6c7Uj3cY

See, no difference.

The Centurians – Bullwinkle Part II
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OuTyvah8xxk

387. Quentin Quale

Interesting choice of viewing on BBC 2 Scotland tonight – arch Unionist Mary Berry bakes stuff on a visit to Scotland followed by a programme on the House of Lords, ‘one of Britain’s oldest, most idiosyncratic and most important institutions’. After the Mayor of London’s short & sweet trip and Corbyn’s refusal to distance himself from his disgraceful comments, it would seem those who are terrified of an independent Scotland are up and running.

388. Smallaxe

Chuck Berry, Keith Richards, Jerry Lee Lewis, Neil Young โ€“ “Roll Over Beethoven”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mM_1eDzWYzI

Peace Always

389. Smallaxe

The Nortons: “Married to the Blues”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1R8AFv2WB1Y

Detroit Blues Band: “Tears From My Eyes”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gB3VoTnMt2U

Peace Always

390. Brian Doonthetoon

hi Ian B and Thepnr.

RE: Gerry Cinnamon.
    At one of the George Square rallies (September 2015?), me and Pete stayed right to the end to see Gerry Cinnamon, particularly “Hope Over Fear”. The Wings stall had been deconstructed and everybody had pi$$ed off to The Clutha. That afternoon, the rally ran just over two hours over time and finished around 7.30pm.

Around the back of six, we were listening to something on stage, when a couple of late teenage Yoons entered the square from the south end, doing the usual Yoon shouting.

There were a handful of Polis still in the square and we watched as 4 pairs of Polis headed towards the Yoons from 4 different directions. One of the Yoons was slightly less drunk and saw the possibilities. He started pulling his mate back towards the road, as the Polis joined together into a line of 8.

They eventually turned tail and ran across the road, right in front of a bus. Unfortunately, the more sober one rescued the pair of them from ‘death by bus’.

The Polis were rather good that day… as they have always been at the George Square rallies. That same afternoon, one of the Polis who has the white braid on the peak of his hat, was pestered incessantly by a guy who wanted a selfie with him. The Polis took it all in good part.

Onnyhoo, here’s Gerry Cinnamon from George Square, September 2015.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V4Gwt6fGvJ4

391. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

I mentioned Joe Satriani the other day re Funtwo. I know you like your geetahr myoozack so here’s one of my favourite guitar instrumentals, right up there with Beck’s Bolero and Albatross.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jGNgcRwKW4Q

392. Thepnr

@BDTT

Good story Brian and another good video. Getting me excited now for round 2. Dying to get off the stool and get stuck in there ๐Ÿ™‚

There’s nothing to lose and everything to fight for.

393. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Here’s a wee offering from a Dundee band to keep your Indy glands firing…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H_Gr1KxLEBY

394. Smallaxe

Ted Nugent – Stranglehold
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0c3d7QgZr7g

Peia (Shaman!) Blessed We Are
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YiDpIaXQDrI
    Blessed we are
    to dance on this ground,
    The rhythm of saints to carry the sound.
    We hold a prayer for the earth,
    for the ones yet to come,
    ‘May you walk in beauty and remember your song.

Peace Always

395. Smallaxe

Please do not disparage the Shamanic Chant in my last post.
    You will get a similar answer to that which I gave to a young lady during an intimate moment in my youth.

She said, “Who do you expect to satisfy with THAT!”
    I said, “ME!”
    ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

396. Smallaxe

Homeless Busker:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-aBGmydBRpY&spfreload=10

Female Guitarists:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ppO5HwJjPEM

Dave Grohl – Best Drummer in the World Tribute:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WLTuqWpaUBw

Foo Fighters – The Pretender
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SBjQ9tuuTJQ

Peace Always

397. Smallaxe

Prince: “Bass Jam”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MTJ1DTiAwus

PRINCE: “GETTIN FUNKY” ’04
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7drerpudJ6o

Peace Always

398. Smallaxe

For: Big Phil ๐Ÿ™‚

Elvis Presley @ NBC Studio’s 1968-23-One Night With You:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kxze3nn_z3E

Elvis: Heartbreak Hotel:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e8jAqvmnsIk

Elvis: BABY WHAT YOU WANT ME TO DO:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fDjY2VcLq7o

Peace Always

399. Smallaxe

BDTT:

Sorry, Brian got carried away with myself and never noticed you and Thepnr up there. My Apologies.

POPA CHUBBY: “Hey Joe”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WW9G_9nZlSM

Peace Always

400. Smallaxe

Come fly with me: Devil Blues
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=24F_DOqoZLw

Natalia M.King: “I Need To See You”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L5OlKl_SI_I#t=8.789586

Peace Always

401. Smallaxe

ONE OK ROCK: “Clock Strikes”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6YZlFdTIdzM

Peace Always

402. Smallaxe

Homecoming at Duncarron Scotland
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3o999wq_XQM

The Irish! Hail Patrol
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xmdv_bDfC5Y

Peace Always

403. Smallaxe

THE IRISH S:A:O:R:^ UP THERE!

404. Smallaxe

I’m Voting Yes for Scotland – Song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e1hkffrMQOs&index=8&list=PL0m2hc6GNCZjh7dx0tgjykoVI-GwPFTqu

Just Say YES!
    Help Yourself to this lot

Peace Always

405. Smallaxe

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gBzJGckMYO4

Except: Wingdyref2, sharpen your pencils and draw the saltire in the Ballot Box X

Goodnight All
    PEACE, LOVE and INDEPENDENCE

406. yesindyref2

John Major popping up again I see, just like old times in Indy Ref 1.

Indy Ref is in the air,
    everywhere I look around.
    Indy Ref is in the air
    every sight and every sound.
    And I don’t know if I’m being foolish,
    don’t know if I’m being wise.
    But it’s something that I must believe in,
    and it’s there when I look at the prize.

Independence for Scotland!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNC0kIzM1Fo

407. Michael McCabe

Sitting here with my pal Lynn half pished and I have drawn the short straw to put a song on. She picked the song though. Something I had not heard before. Anyway I think it is Quite good and hope you lot in here like it too. Lynn says hi to Thepnr Briandoonthetoon Pete the Camera. And her Dancing Buddy Ian Brotherhood. And all other Wingers one and all. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0E1bNmyPWww

408. Smallaxe

Michael and Lynn: Good Morning, that sun is bright!

Modestep – Sunlight
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bparw9Jo3dk
    ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

409. Nana

@Smallaxe
    Watching Rev Stu’s fundraiser rising while listening to your off topic tunes. Nice!

410. Smallaxe

Hi, Nana, I hope you’re enjoying the music as much as I’m enjoying your links. Hope the fundraiser goes well, this time we will definitely get out of this heartless union.

Have a great day!
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    Billy xx

Peace Always

411. Tinto Chiel

Hi, sophisticates.

Been away for a coupe of days, hugging Pictish stones and the Fortingall Yew to re-centre my spiritual nodes and so I offer you this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_NGTsdL2YzE

Made the mistake of coming home by the wee road from Kenmore to Amulree through Glen Quaich. I’ve done this three times without any trouble but today, just below the top of the steep section out of Kenmore before the moor begins there was a sudden 20-yard section of ice. The ABS in the car only made things worse and the car began to slide back towards the fence and nasty drop, despite my foot on the brake.

Fortunately, it pulled up just short and I managed to straighten up and reverse to the nearest passing place, where I managed a magnificent 7-point turn and back down to Kenmore for a change of Kelvin Klein underwear.

It was nice to see the Burns poem written in his hand above the fireplace of the hotel: cheered me up after a bit of a stammy-gaster on that road.

Some crowd-funder on MT, eh?

Heeheeheeheehee………

412. yesindyref2

We’re on our way to …

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P0f1EdR2Ntk

413. Smallaxe

Tinto:

I will tell you as I have told others, excuses don’t cut it here. Next time you’re late, bring a note from a responsible adult!

“God Shuffled His Feet”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y8LfSoUtoeE
    ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

414. Tinto Chiel

Responsible Adult, is it? I was with ma wife!

As for ur vid, Smallaxe, I could have done with Him on the brake pedal.

Still love ye, man…

*Blubs like a big girlie*

(No offence to Big Girlies, obvs.)

415. Smallaxe

As you all know, the crowdfunding to help give us the tools to get our movement through to our inevitable Independence, started today. I would ask you, if I may, to watch and to listen carefully to the lyrics in the first track, they are very relevant at this time.(The Ghost of our Kingdoms Future?)NEVER!

After that, enjoy the rest of the tracks (or not). Tinto Chiel will be serving sandwiches during the intermission. In the meantime please help yourself to cocktails in the foyer.Thank you.Make yourself comfortable in Paula Rose’s Palace of Delights.

Al Jolson: Brother can you spare a Dime
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4F4yT0KAMyo

Sam Smith: “Money On My Mind”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K0G9T5Bnjlc

Barrett Strong: “Money (That’s What I Want)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yeVx1C73o8k

Peace Always

416. Smallaxe

Adam & The Ants: “Stand And Deliver”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4B2a6l6wM2k

Adam Faith: “What Do You Want(if you don’t want money”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4DcYepES7Eo

Looney – Money Makes Her
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oeQr9ZokH3E

417. Smallaxe

Nightcore: “Money Make Her Smile”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4nXhxUbH2Q

Cabaret: “Money”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I8P80A8vy9I

Blur: “Money Makes Me Crazy”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=duc1u-LTxUE

Peace Always X 2 one for up there^

418. Smallaxe

The Beatles: “Can’t Buy Me Love”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uxha1IUsSPI

Chris Janson: “Money can’t buy me love but it can buy me a boat”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQPjKSVe1tQ

Countess Luann: “Money Can’t Buy You Class”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kEDvlSAMhQU

419. Smallaxe

Motรถrhead: “Love Can’t Buy You Money”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_wrUjkCNHFE

Demo by Freddie Mercury. Recorded at Musicland Studios, Munich, Germany on February 10th 1984
    “Money can’t buy you Happiness”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cqkghs1jQ4w

Dappy: “Money Can’t Buy”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dvzhlr9ifo8

Peace Always X 2 up there^

420. Smallaxe

Arthur: “money can’t buy you”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iwEbGYe0r2U

Mavado: “money can’t buy life”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wCYBlt0HyP4

Bob Marley: Money can’t buy life!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Osafn8LESyE

One Love One People One Scotland Redeemed

421. Smallaxe

Keni Burke: “Risin’ To The Top (Give It All You Got)”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VKNh1nWOECA

Peace Always to ALL

422. Tinto Chiel

Hi, Smallaxe.

Sorry about the sandwiches last night: they looked so good, I ate them myself.

Avocado with piccalilli on rye……..

Mmmmmmmmmmmm.

423. Smallaxe

Tinto:

I knew that I was taking a gamble leaving you in charge of the sandwiches, so I put just a smidgeon of Senna Pods in them.
    Enjoy your day in the cludgie.

A wee song for you to listen to while you are in there!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ozKLHFxAvAo
    #Manky. ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

424. Nana

@Smallaxe

Thank goodness I passed on the sandwiches! Sounds like Tinto could be ‘passing’ them by next time, lol

425. Smallaxe

Nana:

I’ve made sure that he has a “Crap” day!

Peace Always

426. Paula Rose

Hi Darlings another reminder that http://www.facebook.com/Art4Lindsay/ is open for contributions – have a look.

427. Tinto Chiel

In a strange way I need to thank you, Smallaxe: I’ve just noticed I missed a bit of vinyl silk on the toilet door.

Meanwhile, in other news:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mIBTg7q9oNc

Hope Thepnr doesn’t mind me taking the Great Man’s name in vain…..

428. Smallaxe

Tinto:

If it gets too bad, try this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b42ck7iaLb4
    ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

429. Tinto Chiel

I could reply with Blackberry Way but I’d just be going through the motions, Smallaxe…..

Incidentally, was watching BBC (shudders ) in the hotel room yesterday morning before breakfast and saw exiled James Cook in a kilt at the Oscar farce. When Vin Diesel saw him he asked what clan it was and asked “Chaos in the Streets of Glasgow” Cook to sing Flower of Scotland with him. Cookie couldn’t manage and Diesel shouted, “Are you Scottish? You’re an impostor!”

Is it that obvious?

Still haven’t forgiven him for his interview with the FM in George Square during Carmichaelgate.

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

430. Smallaxe

Tinto:

โ€œAre you Scottish? Youโ€™re an impostor!โ€

“Is it that obvious?”

In a word “AYE”

In a few words
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FyM8NVl4yBY

Peace Always

431. Tinto Chiel

Sharp-suited chaps, those Platters.

I notice both Cooky Babes and Laura Bicker seem to have been given USA gigs by the BBC.

Strange.

Free transfer or transfer request?

432. Smallaxe

Tinto:

“Sanctuary” possibly?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aWoH_RJn9Oc

Peace Always

433. Tinto Chiel

Thought you were going to send me this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZCOSPtyZAPA

All seems a long time ago, now…..

434. Tinto Chiel

And before I go, I’ll leave this Scottish classic with some great lyrics and a mighty hook:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DDoJQH8Pz8s

435. Ian Brotherhood

Blimey, it’s all going a bit tonto over on’t main thread!

Looking forward to Friday, catching up with all the sounds linked above, but did catch that one from Michael McCabe and naughty Lynn, up at that time in the morning! Still, it was very thoughtful of you to post a video which had been shot entirely in Ardrossan and I enjoyed it very much.

It’s good to see that the WOS fundraiser has been so successful – the future of O/T has been secured. Who wants to ask Rev about getting some new cushions and stuff? Needs a wee bit of sprucing-up since Paula’s not been around. I think we could be doing with a lava-lamp, they’ve got nice ones in B&M for about ยฃ25.

Anyway, hope ye’s are all well.

Hoots!

436. Smallaxe

Hi, Ian, one lava lamp as ordered!

Izzie Gibbs: “Lava Lamp”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NQUv5Ao9XdA

Peace Always

437. CameronB Brodie

Talking of classics, you can’t beat the Circle Jerks for in-you-face attitude.

This one’s for you Dunc, along with your Tory-fanboy Stephen Daisley and all the other little minion helpers in your circle. Poor sound perhaps but it’s the thought that counts, Shirley?

Fucked Up and Keith Morris do “Nervous Breakdown” at SXSW
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AJGFisM06wc

P.S. I wish we could adjust the volume on Yoon gobshites, frankly.

438. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

๐Ÿ™‚

Your wee axe is sharp the nicht, eh?

439. Smallaxe

Ian, I’ve just had a look at the M/T, oh FFS!

Fck the trolls, let’s *Rock and Roll*

Led ZEPPELIN
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FeJkDewhTEw

Peace Always

440. Smallaxe

Bowie: “Rock n Roll Suicide”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9jg4ekLG9Zo

Real 1950s Rock & Roll, Rockabilly dance from lindy hop!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rf55gHK48VQ

Peace Always

441. Smallaxe

Rockin’ Rollin’ Rockabilly DANCE!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ne-0zc-pGr8

Danny and The Juniors: “At The Hop”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HIXMKA7d4to

442. Smallaxe

“Rock’n Roll is Here to Stay”: Christine Ending (1983)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yNFx8yiNV_M

The King: “Jailhouse Rock”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gj0Rz-uP4Mk

“hound dog”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lzQ8GDBA8Is

Peace Always

443. Smallaxe

@ 1:06:am

Peace Always
    ๐Ÿ™‚

444. Michael McCabe

Hi Smallaxe Loved it when you played this a few days ago. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L-f4jNeAhKg

445. Smallaxe

Trawling for Trolls: LiSTEN CAREFULLY to the Lyrics

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkTb9GP9lVI
    ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

446. Michael McCabe

There’s no going Back. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ukZmiFKzog

447. Smallaxe

The Best Troll Songs
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R9_qTB4ilnI

Peace Always

448. Smallaxe

Mc Fly
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=APlPjz9Ry84

McFly:”Shine A Light” ft. Taio Cruz
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r6GzjAPSut4

“Superfly”: Curtis Mayfield
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-cmo6MRYf5g

Peace Always

449. Smallaxe

Hi, Michael, good to see you my Friend

“Enjoy Yourself”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iibpewIA_ik

Peace Always

450. Smallaxe

Alton Ellis: “Rocksteady”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3YQKIyiSgFA

Ken Boothe: “Set Me Free”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OJVuIhzNrek

the Jamaicans: “Ba Ba Boom”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_h0s2yHG4oo

Peace Always

451. Smallaxe

“Thrawn’s (the Troll) Web”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6OGix6gtObE

Lily Allen: “Fuck You Thrawn” with Lyrics
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QvWj18LeU1g

Bugzy Malone: “We Don’t Care”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WkSAvvJKif4

Peace Always

452. Smallaxe

The Specials: “A Message to You Rudy”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cntvEDbagAw

The Jam: “Town Called Malice”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YfpRm-p7qlY

Pulp: “Common People”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yuTMWgOduFM

Peace Always

453. Smallaxe

Bread: “Baby im’a Want you”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iq3biClGRNk

Carly Simon: “Anticipation”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PDJ_Mz8ftqI

Santana: “Oye Como Va” (Live
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DoIqXz2AIFs

454. Michael McCabe

Love the Common People. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xur8Ng-DGp8 Performing it in Edinburgh as well.

455. Michael McCabe

Bread- Guitar Man http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lVtdYKVXYhI

456. Smallaxe

Peace Always^ Up There

and down here!

Steven Universe: “Peace and Love”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=637mjZlJ2MQ
    ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Always

457. Smallaxe

Frank Wilson:”Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zkpenzFNbpk

THE ELGINS:”HEAVEN MUST HAVE SENT YOU”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mG6yPqcZXCY

The Isley Brothers: “This Old Heart Of Mine”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_9M6kRfJes

Peace Always

458. Smallaxe

Four Tops: “Reach Out (I’ll Be There)”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2EaflX0MWRo

Baby I need your Lovin
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=joqjBAJx4ZA

“Give Me Just A Little More Time” The Chairmen of the Board
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gzIAiyxS-nk

Peace Always

459. Michael McCabe

Heartless Bastards http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F8wqmh3KybI

460. Smallaxe

R.E.M: “It’s The End Of The World”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z0GFRcFm-aY

“Man on the Moon”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1hKSYgOGtos

“Losing My Religion”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwtdhWltSIg

Peace Always

461. Smallaxe

BB King “3 O’Clock Blues”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nPeTtg3fTB8

Goodnight Michael, I enjoyed that, Thanks
    ๐Ÿ™‚

Peace Love and Music

462. Michael McCabe

Hindi Zahra- Stand Up http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YI2XuIOW3gM

463. Michael McCabe

I will say goodnight and leave you with one of my Favourites. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nCuLoVI1RP0 And all that Jazz ?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.