If anyone is still here this will do no harm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PNq_DTmVCWs

Peace and Love to All

2. Nana

@Smallaxe

As I said I had not seen previous posts so was not aware until I read Pnr’s post at 3.37

3. Clapper57

@ Macart

Well Macart , they say people who swear are smarter.

I must be a feckin genius then….oops sorry Language yet again…no worries just my big brain, abundant in grey matter, resulting in a superior intellect wholly justified in using profanity as a means of expression..I rest my ******* case…lol.

Have a good day/evening.

Cheers

4. Smallaxe

Second try, for the troubled mind!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PNq_DTmVCWs

Peace to All Wingers

5. yesindyref2

The problem is “what is a troll” and who.

But the other way around this is positive, and that can never be wrong. If half or more of the postings are troll or about troll, good and important postings are lost.

So a simple way which surely nobody can argue with, is for trusted posters to put in their own posting (I’ve seen this on Wings) like:

“Very important posting from XXX at 2.30 pm”

and link to it. Then perhaps it’s not lost amongst the clutter.

6. Stoker

WOS Archives for July 2013

Another thing we don’t understand
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/another-thing-we-dont-understand/

An open invitation
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/an-open-invitation/

Behind open doors
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/behind-open-doors/

7. yesindyref2

Just in case people don’t know how to do that, to create that link to a previous posting (Firefox), put cursor over date and time at bottom of posting, right click, “Copy link location”, and paste into your comment.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-48/#comment-2229978

πŸ™‚

8. Smallaxe

I’ll need to lay off the medication, I’ve been refreshing the last page for ages not realising that we had started a new one! ah wis feart cause ah thocht evrybuddy hid fell oot wi me.

Nana: Sorry I did not answer you but ah wis loast.

C’moan Toto let’s go back tae Kansas

Peace Always
    πŸ™‚

9. Nana

@Smallaxe

Its a long while since I heard that song. I doubt anyone would fall out with you Billy.

I’ve been lost on here a few times myself

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XFt52agWXRM

10. yesindyref2

Good stuff, just caught up mid (paused) rugby. I knew thepnr was totally on top of the situation (and BDTT), wasn’t sure so many others were clued up as well. I caught the slyly slid in anti-EU posting as well. I personally don’t hold grudges, by the way. Life’s too short.

Back to that rugby and CJ Stander – we did really well to win last week, more even than I thought at the time. And we got back and had control in the last 10 minutes. Tomorrow I watch the match “live”.

11. Smallaxe

Yesindyref2:

Glad you’re still with us. πŸ™‚

Nana: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NuHhLiRkxNM

Peace Always

12. Smallaxe

Hi Tinto: long time no see!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hQo1HIcSVtg

Peace Always

13. Tinto Chiel

That’ll be The Manky Boys, Smallaxe? Still love that track.

Delighted you’re so chipper. I know it must be annoying when people keep asking how you are but they care about you and you always cheer me up. However, I’m pretty cheesed off with recent events on the M/T but it’s The Rev’s call so that’s that.

I come here for some sanity and relaxation.

14. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Sanity!, you’ve got off at the wrong stop.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wfyDp5WGuFQ

Peace Always

15. Tinto Chiel

“Sanity!, you’ve got off at the wrong stop.”

See what I mean, Smallaxe? Laughing already.

πŸ˜€

Warning: I may post some of my dubious musical choices later.

Keep ear-plugs handy.

16. Smallaxe

Sorry Tinto, try this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4cRVRCW0YHc

Peace Always

17. Tinto Chiel

Great stuff: that’s me on the euphonium!

Ah, the memories!

18. Smallaxe

Och Tinto, ah hid ye oan the waashboard.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FIqEQF90QuM
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

19. Tinto Chiel

That’s a completely unfounded allegation!

Ah’ve six fingers and don’t need no gloves, btw!

πŸ˜›

20. Smallaxe

The best version of this song, IMHO.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5AuFDHdrrg

Peace Always

21. Smallaxe

You should get those fingers seen to Tinto, I’ve got ten!

on each hand!

Ten Fingers:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E-DRkixL3rA

Peace Always

22. yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
    I’ve had my disputes and been called a troll, so people could doubt me, no problem. People still know me from dadsarmy days. But as far as I know Ian B who I’ll happily argue blue in the face with, has been here since the beginning and surely nobody doubts him.

Yet when he laid it out clear and said he was off – nobody paid any attention, and it had to come to a head.

But some people still haven’t got the message, and hey, what now? Rock is back on that thread now, and bulling after Ian B.

Looks to me like it’ll get worse before it gets better, maybe much worse, but then maybe a mob of us will have to go on a thread and just have a full-fledge sensible discussion totally ignoring trolls, to get it back to strength. We’ve still got time before the Ref!

Meanwhile though I’m staying off MT. One less target for the trolls.

23. yesindyref2

Oh good grief, it’s not just Ian B it’s now after ….

… heels come to mind.

24. Croompenstein

They got some crazy little women there and I’m gonna get me one πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f8tZO97uhyE

25. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

I’VE JUST LOOKED!FFS

Dr, my eyes:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jGYnpMs5O5g

Peace Always My Friend

26. Marie Clark

Christ oan a bike, it’s back again on the MT. Fair bliddy fu’ o’ itsel an aw.

I’m like the others, think I’ll stay off MT for a wee while. It wid burst yer heid. I noticed someone suggested to it to come on to off topic if he wanted to rave on. Help ma boab, naw, jist naw.

Sanctuary.

27. Ian Brotherhood

A wee battery-charger here, when you see all the weans towards the end of this song and ponder what Thatcher did to the families they went on to have, the communities they made out of nothing more than darkness, dirt and sweat.

The Tories are in charge for at least another generation, but many of us will never forgive them, or forget what they did.

Matt McGinn, ‘Miner’s Lullaby (Coorie Doon)’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2WPI8CF04A0

28. Smallaxe

Croompenstein:

Keep one for Me! πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUDcTLaWJuo

Peace Always

29. yesindyref2

Aye, sanctuary indeed, break from the MSM or whatever combat mission ambassadorial ventures we were on. I’ve got a better idea for it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DLOth-BuCNY

30. Smallaxe

Ian: The whole of my dad’s side of the family were miners from Ayrshire, they told stories of bringing home dead men on five bar gates and they would go back home if they saw a woman in her bare feet or whistling on their journey to work.Bad luck they said.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zv2uA5QEbNw

Peace Always Brother

31. Ian Brotherhood

@yesindyref2 –

I don’t remember us ever having ‘words’ over anything, unless it was when I was still in the SSP and it was over ‘us’ standing candidates for GE. (That’s when I left btw, and I ain’t going back until/unless they unhitch themselves from RISE.)

Anyway, more power to ye and hoots aplenty. This is a wee gravel-free haven richt enough…for now, anyway!

πŸ™‚

32. Tinto Chiel

It’s started again on MT. Need some of Stoker’s Brew.

I feel like a brainshower after the last 24 hours, but fortunately Scottish Women have the answer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EY25Snu_xNo

33. Croompenstein

Topper Smallaxe the beards have it the beards have it πŸ™‚

I see our sovereign pal is on main thread..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X_-XSGcjIhM

34. yesindyref2

Ian
    You must have missed my many postings where I called you an ars…

Sh.. I’d gotten away with it πŸ™

35. Smallaxe

One of our Irish Cousins:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7CDj7Jr0eo

Peace Always

Some good music tonight, good for the weary spirit

36. Brian Doonthetoon

All the shenanigans on the two main active pages today has diverted our attention away from what really matters.

SCHRODINGER’S DUCK.

Everybody knows that the difference between a duck is that one of its leg is both the same. Most people know that the difference between the other duck is that it has one leg less too many.

If you put a duck in a box, how do you know whether it’s “a duck” or “the other duck”? While the box is closed, the enclosed duck could be, simultaneously “a duck” and “the other duck”.

Therefore, the duck in the box could be regarded as having one leg less too many that is both the same! We cannot possibly know until the clock strikes one and the duck emerges from the box.

Of course, if the lid is closed for too long, what remains to be removed from the box probably won’t be able to hop on the bus home so we probably wouldn’t be able to discern the original status of the duck from its athletic ability.

And peeps ponder Rock when we should be pondering duck…

37. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

That Alicia Keys track is soo-perb, haven’t heard it before. Imagine, if Marvin Gaye had lived to do a duet with her? Amazing stuff. Cheers mister.

38. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

Ian isnae an Arsenal fan, is he?
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

39. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi yesindyref2.

Did I not see you in the company of Ian B, outside the Wings’ tented village, at Glasgow Green on the 18th September last year?

40. Croompenstein

Births:
    To Mister and Mrs Ding Dong.. a girl Rama Lama πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0HhA0Cghr4k

41. Ian Brotherhood

@yesindyref2 & BDTT –

I’ll get to see all the old messages if I ask Brother Rock – he’s clearly got all our past messages carefully archived.
    πŸ˜‰

42. Tinto Chiel

Not quite the same thing, BDTT, but I remember a post on Munguin’s Republic, which went something like this:

“Schroedinger’s Immigrant:

Takes all our jobs.

Claims all our benefits.”

Oh, wait…..

43. Smallaxe

That would have been “something else” Ian:

TRY THIS

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qQabZ1BSy8I

Peace Always

44. Smallaxe

I know Rock well, him and I went to different schools together.He is a big tall wee short stout thin man with a mishave stashed off and the knees hanging out the arse of his trousers.

Deaths: Mr Brown.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amGI5T0JGDc

Peace Always

45. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

πŸ™‚

Brilliant stuff.

‘What’s Going On’ was one of the first albums I ever bought, from a charity-shop in Govanhill, had no idea what it was, just looked a bit different. Still love it to bits. He was a genius prophet/poet.

46. Tinto Chiel

I’ve been talking to some stalwarts on here who aren’t too happy about things on the MT at the moment, and nae wunner, imho.

‘Mofftaebed, but leave you with some old stuff with a good riff.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ClQcUyhoxTg

Kinda cheers me up.

47. Croompenstein

hiding in my room…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JKlSVNxLB-A

48. Smallaxe

Marvin Gaye and Diana Ross: You are everything

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EWCNDn1UTUk

Peace Always

49. Ian Brotherhood

I remember pals bringing Bowie album covers into school, this would’ve been, for me, P5/6. It was around the time when ‘moonlandings’ were still a big thing. We thought he was an actual alien but we all liked him anyway.

Bowie, ‘Starman’ (live 1972) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sI66hcu9fIs

50. Jockanese Wind Talker

Fannybaws Rock killing off MT as you speak.

Good to see you haven’t completely f*cked off IB.

51. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

Nice one.

As soon as it started playing I recalled the tune, the whole vibe of it, but I couldn’t, for the life of me, have guessed the artist.

Another wee mystery solved, right here on OT – it’s the place to be!

52. yesindyref2

@Ian
    Now there’s a thought, if someone not involved was to drop a posting in the centrifuge thread like

“Yes, I remember yesindyref2 swearing at Ian B calling him all sorts of names in a thread 3 or 4 weeks back I think, or before Christmas”.

That’d keep it busy for a while …

53. Smallaxe

Croompenstein: πŸ™‚ ——— Goodnight Tinto!

Hope you’re one of these

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l3LFML_pxlY

Peace Always

54. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe a couple of tunes for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGZdNOYrbzY and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j0BSbfpUD7c Lots of good music in here Tonight.

55. Smallaxe

jWT: Good to see you here My Friend

A movie for you!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zQHhbhtpJ3M

Peace Always

56. Croompenstein

Good tunes everybody..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vghodcPXBY4

57. Michael McCabe

I too have heard Rock is a wee person. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EsBQpyKx_XE

58. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Ha!

Yet another one…

My memory banks are bursting here, but in a good way. Right now I feel as if I’ve had a proper toke, exactly the same buzz, but I haven’t had a drag in, ooooh, fifteen years!

(Gawd ‘elp me oul’ synapses…)

πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰ o)

59. Tinto Chiel

Glad you liked that old stuff, Ian. Always liked yon strange atmosphere myself.

Smallaxe: loved that one, and I’m sitting in my winceyette boxers in bed, trying to switch off all your damn voices in my head.

*What’s that momma, kill them all, kill them all?*

Bwahahahahahahahahahaha!

Hoping for a better thread tomorrow.

Cheersmedears!

60. Smallaxe

Michael, where have YOU been, my fingers are in tatters!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J5qWnG5RQTk

Peace Always My Friend

61. Smallaxe

I’m a joker I’m a Smoker I’m a Midnight Toker.But that’s got nothing to do with this song. πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tUgavzoYKZI

Peace Always

62. Smallaxe

Some Ultra Intransigence in W/Monster, My Droogs!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFimuAwCE0A

Peace Always

63. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McC –

πŸ™‚

Long time brother!

It flies away richt enough.

Hope you’re well.

Big fight ahead mister – we can limber up right here with all the bestest tunes ever made, and there’s plenty we’ve not done yet.

More power to ye.

πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

64. yesindyref2

@BDTT
    Don’t think I saw Ian – he was one I was expecting to meet. Could have been stood next right enough. I didn’t get there till well after the YES Bikers arrived though.

65. Nana

Thanks for the music guys.

@Ian and yesindyref, don’t stay away too long.

Here’s my contribution and no I have not been smoking or drinking although a certain poster may yet push me to it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FrOQC-zEog

Night all

66. yesindyref2

Ah right, seems appropriate, 40 years on

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yBs96L7WPnI

67. DerekM

If i thought he was a yoon troll you know i would jump all over him.

To be honest i think he is just an ultra nationalist with a low IQ our very own brand of kipper,trust me they can be just as much trouble as the daft arse yoon trolls.

Some of them think the SNP have sold out to the British political system,they could never get their heads around if you want to beat the system you have to be inside the system.

They worry me because they are the very people the latest ramp up in propaganda is designed to infuriate plus they are still mad at what we did to their political party rise in that we ignored them.

I think somewhere in the back of their minds they thought that after indyref yes would move behind them,if they thought the Scottish people were just going to vote them into power because they were nationalists then they do not know the Scottish people very well.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KpN_TOP9hg8

68. Ian Brotherhood

Interesting wee stat:

Since 9.00 pm this evening, the main thread has had 40 comments

This place, ‘Off-Topic’, has had 49.

69. Smallaxe

For a Brother who is watching and listening, get back to me soon!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UlDI4g5ab1g

Peace and Love Always my Brother

70. Paula Rose

A reminder of why I live here…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3MzZgPBL3Q

71. Smallaxe

Goodnight Nana: Julie Covington, only women Bleed!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0VpRP00-Xxk

Peace Always

72. yesindyref2

@DerekM
    First Hope over Fear after the Ref there was an old guy with leaflets, 1 or 2 helpers. UDI and the English shouldn’t get a vote in “our” referendum. Weird leaflet in the bin fast, and made an escape. Kind of reminds me of him.

73. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

πŸ™‚

74. Smallaxe

Hi Paula Rose, for you,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yfwlj0gba_k

Peace Always

75. Ian Brotherhood

@DerekM & Yesindyref2 –

We don’t know who’s been banned from WOS. Only Rev Stu knows for sure ‘cos he’s had the job of bagging them.

The ‘nutters’ exist, aye, but they’ve scarcely shown themselves here in, what, five years? I only know of one, for sure, who was bagged after a set-to with Thepnr.

Yeah, they’re out there, but I don’t believe they constitute any serious problem for the indy movement in general.

76. Smallaxe

Maybe not for the movement in General Ian, I worry about some people in particular, as we discussed earlier some of the younger supporters are vulnerable to their taunts.Also, I am concerned that the yoons may impersonate us and cause some trouble.Be Alert!
    All of us.

Peace Always: The world is watching.

77. Smallaxe

Pete Seeger;

One of the civil rights movement songs: you all know it, sing along and Believe.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QhnPVP23rzo

Peace Always Brothers and Sisters, Peace and Love for our fellow man

78. Smallaxe

Macart: I hope you don’t mind but I copied this from one of your posts this Morning:

“No border or power on earth exists can prevent you from loving family, caring for friends, or feeling sympathy and empathy for the plight of fellow human beings. Those ties that bind really don’t require political will or definition at all.”

Well said, Good MUSIC, better PEOPLE a better Scotland.

Peace Always

79. DerekM

@ Ian

No not to that Ian but they can be a real pain when they turn up inside the indy debate.

@ yesindyref

yeah that`s them they want independence from everything including themselves lol nutters but they are our nutters proud Scot`s nutters lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RijB8wnJCN0

80. Michael McCabe

Hi Ian B everythings cool through here. hope you and yours are doing well. Hopefully see you at the next Edinburgh Bash ? Whenever that is. Keep on keeping on. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wyruylD0BWQ

81. yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
    Cracking haunting plaintive voice. I missed first series of Follies, probably nowhere near a TV (in a pub!). But was riveted by the 77 one, bought the vinyl when it came out. Series was slated if I remember. Shrug. Phillistines.

Yeah impersonation, I hope the moniker has to match email addy.

@Ian B
    I seem to remember Rev banned someone who stalked him.

82. carjamtic

It’s late and I’m way to dreamland.

Yes,there’s been some strange goings on,but there is room for us all,in an Independent Scotland and there always will be.

What the Tories don’t get and never will….

Money can’t buy you love.

#AyeWeAllAre

83. Ian Brotherhood

@yesindyref2 –

re Thepnr –

Aye, that’s right. Forget the handle of the arse but he ended up threatening Thepnr. Nasty stuff.

84. Jockanese Wind Talker

Good picture @ Smallaxe says at 11:14 pm always been a fan o’ Nic Cage, Con Air and The Rock (Nae that c*nt on MT).

Same but different.

A couple o’ lads fae the RLC in Basra mid noughties talking Doric on the Comms were cried the Jockanese Wind Talkers.

I wis wi the RAMC no the RLC.

85. Smallaxe

Now I lay me down to rest in my PJ trousers and comfy vest, with 100mgs of morphine and chemo taken, I’ll see you all when I AWAKEN. Goodnight My Friends.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m_NholHANoY
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zt51rITH3EA

Peace and Love to All

86. yesindyref2

I see Rev picking up an anti-indy EU post in that thread. Maybe a way of saying he’s got it. But it’s not easy banning someone, they can just come back as another ID and take time to be recognised. I had a chatroom on a site I had late 90s, script from matts archives I think, I tweaked a bit. Had a resident called Jesus. Whacko. Just about empty apart from “him”. Had to ditch it though, people tried to get through the “walls” into the server with metacharacters (I’d put in a log), matt’s scripts had security holes the size of Jupiter (no exaggeration), it was spaghetti code and I didn’t have time to rewrite it “completely” securely. Ho hum.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AZQxH_8raCI

87. Jockanese Wind Talker

Hae a good sleep @Smallaxe, stay strong.

88. CameronB Brodie

I get it that Andrew Neil c/o the BBC, is a Tory BritNat dinosaur but any other professional play as fast and loose with the truth would be looked on poorly by his colleagues, I would have thought.

@ Andrew Neil
    Do you think it clever to try and fill the public’s head with mince? Have you got the faintest hint of what you are fucking about with dick? I’m pretty sure you don’t so I thought I’d give you a hint.

Suitability Theory
    http://www.berkshirepublishing.com/assets_news/sustainability/Spirit_SustainabilityTheory.pdf

89. CameronB Brodie

@ Andrew Neil
    Wise up sucker.

ON THE SUSTAINABILITY OF CULTURAL CAPITAL
    http://www.businessandeconomics.mq.edu.au/our_departments/Economics/Econ_docs/research_papers2/2005_research_papers/cult_cap_throsby.pdf

Culture-Sustainability Relation: Towards a Conceptual Framework
    http://www.cdo.ugent.be/drupal-7.15/sites/default/files/publicatie_pdf/Soini%20and%20Dessein%202016.pdf

Cultural sustainability: challenging concepts and practices
    https://congress.cc.jyu.fi/helsinki2015/schedule/pdf/1073.pdf

90. CameronB Brodie

@ Andrew Neil
    You do appreciate what culture is?

Culture in, for and as Sustainable Development
    file:///C:/Users/Cameron/AppData/Local/Temp/Culture,%20in%20for%20and%20as%20Sustainable%20Development%20.pdf

Recognizing Cultural Sustainability
    https://specialdee.wordpress.com/2012/04/07/recognizing-cultural-sustainability/

Culture and sustainability
    https://www.nordiskkulturkontakt.org/sites/default/files/Culture_sustainability_2015.pdf

91. CameronB Brodie

@ Andrew Neil
    I’m just some twat in a flat, you’re supposed to be a professional journalist. At least the BBC appears to treat you as such. The BBC are institutionally a lost cause as far as truth about Scotland is concerned but do you not have a social conscience? Is it really only yourself you see in your mind’s eye?

Communication Theory
    All About Theories for Communication.

Social Responsibility Theory

In mid 20th century most of the developing countries and third world nations have used this social responsibility theory of press which is associated with β€œthe Commission of the Freedom of Press” in United States at 1949. In the book β€œFour theories of Press” (Siebert, Peterson and Schramm) it’s been stated that β€œpure libertarianism is antiquated, out dated and obsolete.” That paved way for replacement of Libertarian theory with the Social responsibility theory.

http://communicationtheory.org/social-responsibility-theory/

THE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY THEORY OF THE PRESS: A CONTEMPORARY REVIEW

Abstract
    My interest in the Social Responsibility theory of the media was shaped by my thinking, during my undergraduate days, of the journalism profession and how the so-called journalists operate in a society like Nigeria as juxtaposed with their counterpart elsewhere. I was taught those days, that public relations practitioners (PR journalists if you like) should strive to make their organizations socially acceptable in the eyes of the public in order to be socially accepted.

This social acceptability, I learnt, forms part of the merits of Public Relations in the real sense. Again when I was taught Ethics of Mass communication, the story didn’t change about how when a journalist maintain professional and personal ethical principles in the discharge of his duties, he is being socially responsible. This I learnt is because his first consideration when making ethical, dilemmatic decisions, is to ask how or to what extent that action will affect what percentage of the society in which he operates. In other words, his first responsibility is to the society, second his profession, third his organization and finally to himself. And that made perfect sense to me. These classroom experiences and more, made me draw at least one personal conclusion: perhaps the best theory of the press I could, or even journalists at that, relate to, is the social responsibility theory. After all, what good will the other older and newer theories like the authoritarian, libertarian, communist, democratic-participant, and development media theories do to any journalist? Don’t call me biased. This was my thinking and what got me to choose it for this review…

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/280310541_THE_SOCIAL_RESPONSIBILITY_THEORY_OF_THE_PRESS_A_CONTEMPORARY_REVIEW

Social Responsibility Theory

Social responsibility is ethics that guide any action, be it in media or other organizations, that put an obligation towards environment, society, culture and economy. The media like any other sector should not harm, but should promote environment and socio-cultural aspects in relation to the economy of the place.

https://www.businesstopia.net/mass-communication/social-responsibility-theory

92. Macart

@Smallaxe 12.51

Not a problem. Borrow away. πŸ™‚

Be well Smallaxe.

93. CameronB Brodie

@ Andrew Neil
    While I’m at it, how much are you pocketing from the propaganda tax?

Social Justice as a Link between Sustainability and Educational Sciences

Abstract: This position paper defines and substantiates the relevance of educational sciences as design elements of socially sustainable development in economics and society. Therefore, a theoretical-normative link of the fields of social sustainability, social justice, and educational sciences is discussed to build a foundation for further concepts that may synergistically address social sustainability and education. Because social sustainability currently seems to be the least addressed dimension of sustainability .

file:///C:/Users/Cameron/AppData/Local/Temp/sustainability-07-15754.pdf

@ BBC
    Happy to be associated with Andrew Neil? That would speak volumes, wouldn’t it?

94. CameronB Brodie

@ Andrew Neil
    Do you respect the principle of universal human rights? Do you appreciate that human rights and social justice are intrinsically linked? Does your employer?

Social Justice in an Open World
    The Role of the United Nations

Most developing countries, regardless of their size or economic, social and political situation, still have a limited say in world affairs and a limited capacity formulate and implement their own policies. This statement must be understood in relative terms, as no country possesses full autonomy in an interdependent world, but it is nonetheless true that the political demarcation between the β€œdeveloping” and the β€œdeveloped” world remains firmly in place…..

http://www.un.org/esa/socdev/documents/ifsd/SocialJustice.pdf

β€œThe right to development is an inalienable human right by virtue of which every human person and all peoples are entitled to participate in, contribute to, and enjoy economic, social, cultural and political development, in which all human rights and fundamental freedoms can be fully realized.” (Article 1.1, Declaration on the Right to Development)

β€œThe human right to development also implies the full realization of the right of peoples to self-determination, which includes, subject to the relevant provisions of both International Covenants on Human Rights, the exercise of their inalienable right to full sovereignty over all their natural wealth and resources.” (Article 1.2)

http://www.un.org/en/events/righttodevelopment/pdf/rtd_at_a_glance.pdf

95. SOS

Sorry, in a rush, haven’t checked if it’s posted earlier, have you seen this?

http://evolvepolitics.com/report-reveals-biased-bbc-has-high-dependency-on-the-conservatives-for-statistics/

96. Nana

@Smallaxe

Thank you for Julie Covington, sweet. Love your wee rhyme at 1.26am.

I hope you take it easy today, I plan to have a quiet day. Hubby and son going to the cinema after the rugby so it will be just me, my dog and a good book.

Bliss

97. Smallaxe

Nana:

Enjoy your day, put your feet up and stay home, the wind here would cut you in half. Brass monkey at the door this morning looking for a welder! πŸ™‚

Peace Always Nana

98. Tinto Chiel

Meant to play this last night as a book-end with Blue Oyster Cult but, what with all the chat and music, I forgot. They seem to go together in a strange way.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TsFhp0zCrhk

99. Smallaxe

Morning Tinto:

Today I will be doing nothing but this!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PTl3eatp8-Q

Peace Always My Manky Mate

100. Tinto Chiel

Hi, Smallaxe. Great track: my younger daughter has a fab set of Skullcandy headphone in Jamaican colours and I wear them when she’s not here. Cannae touch you fur it.

Unfortunately, it’s gloss-work today so no Rugby or Embra derby for me, chiz, chiz. Mrs TC a slave-driver.

Eh, Nana, *slowly traces circle with toe in the stoor and avoids eye-contact* since you’re having such a quiet time: any scones coming on the scene?

*cowers behind Smallaxe*

101. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

πŸ™‚

‘Eh, ye’ve missed a bit…’

πŸ™

102. Tinto Chiel

Jeezo! See it now, Ian.

I have a plan…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=InRDF_0lfHk

103. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Wait a minute, you say Mrs TC is a slave driver. Wanting me to make scones on my day off, pot and kettle comes to mind.

I’m enjoying a lazy Sunday so no scones for you.

Just go easy on the turps TC

104. Tinto Chiel

*mumbles*

“Yes, Nana, sorry Nana…”

Hic!

105. Stoker

yesindyref2 wrote:

1: “Yet when he [IanB] laid it out clear and said he was off – nobody paid any attention,”

2: “But some people still haven’t got the message, and hey, what now? Rock is back on that thread now, and bulling after Ian B.”

3: “..maybe a mob of us will have to go on a thread and just have a full-fledge sensible discussion totally ignoring trolls,

((((( Rant Alert )))))
    Point 1: It goes on all the time! Where was the support when ‘heedtracker’ pissed-off ‘caz_m’ with the constant direct links to BUM sites? Shit that ‘heedtracker’ still persists on doing. I could give you many more examples, people don’t always want to get involved, doesn’t mean they haven’t noticed or don’t support any of the individuals involved.

Point 2: That must be the biggest dose of hypocrisy on this site in a long time. You’re one of the worst offenders for keeping it going, especially recently, and it wouldn’t be the first time you’ve thrown the rattle out the pram then lifted it back up again when you thought nobody was looking.

Point 3: This is the one i have the biggest problem with. And who are you to decide who the “trolls” are? That’s the Rev’s job, not yours or anyone elses, it’s even in the site rules. Plus, hopefully you’ll see in the cold light of day what a childish, playground, bullying type of suggestion your idea is and how it would come across just as bad as anything ‘Rock’ may be doing, even worse possibly!

And just for the record, i’m not defending ‘Rock’ – even i’m starting to privately question certain aspects but that’s for another day. Just don’t expect me to join in with orchestrated gang type activity.

Furthermore, i enjoy most of IanB’s contributions to WOS and i for one did not believe for a minute that he was going to chuck it, i still don’t, he’s too dedicated. Ian, i’m sure will be the first to admit after his wee cooling down period, let anger and frustration publicly get the better of him. We’ve all been there! It happens, especially when those involved are passionate.

106. Stoker

Everyone’s a winner
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/everyones-a-winner/

In half with a knife
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/in-half-with-a-knife/

Britain’s Got Cannon Fodder
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/britains-got-cannon-fodder/

107. Stoker

What’s red and black and blue all over?
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/whats-red-and-black-and-blue-all-over/

Fairway and balanced
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/fairway-and-balanced/

Crystal bollocks
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/crystal-bollocks/

108. Stoker

The unnecessary umbrella
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-unnecessary-umbrella/

Interpreter required
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/interpreter-required/

You can have this one for nothing πŸ˜€
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/you-can-have-this-one-for-free/

109. carjamtic

Words of wisdom can be ten a penny sometimes and sometimes they’re as rare as hens teeth (especially when there is an avalanche of shit raining down on you and yours everyday).

I say,don’t let the ghost’s of the past blind us to what lies ahead (Buffy Sainte-Marie : Don’t let big ones get away) but,as in any avalanche we must stay linked together (hold hands if you must)just don’t let go.

Aye we know,some would prefer to run away,to seek shelter in the jingly mans hole,but that’s their choice,they can go with my best wishes ringing in their ears (fuck you)….and a wee reminder,don’t worry,we won’t allow Scotland be lured into the har and onto the jagged rocks beyond.

I have every faith,that the Rev. and the btl wingers will not allow that to happen,they will find a way,to steer this ship safely home.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EzoazPPC7b8

110. carjamtic

wtf….as he posts tune,mumble,mutter,splutter…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zCa7-Z6Q-0

111. Smallaxe

carjamtic:

If at first, you don’t succeed just link again don’t lose the heed! πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-3ueYxrA-Zs
    All Aboard!

Peace Always

112. Tinto Chiel

All aboard, Smallaxe?

With this bunch?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tkYkeeM8qIA

113. Smallaxe

Maybe this one Tinto πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E5usk2yrw0E

Peace Always

114. carjamtic

Smallaxe & Tinto

Qualty,will leave the tunes to the experts in future.

πŸ˜‰

115. Smallaxe

carjamtic:

Tinto and I are not “experts”.We are unqualified Nutters who enjoy the myriad delights of some piquant alcoholic beverages with our “Manky” mates.Please feel free to join us at any juncture that you find yourself in need of a unique distraction.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always fellow Inmate

116. Tinto Chiel

Carjamtic: as an original Manky Boy, you are to be saluted. Whatever happened to Fred?

Lulu was from Denniston, was she not? I think she won a medal at the famous Bridgeton Burns Club for reciting “Willie Wastle” or somesuch when she was a tot.

She’s rather far down Britnat Road now, methinks, but you never know.

There is a road to Damascus, after all.

117. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: you put that beautifully, mon vieux.

*Dabs at eyes, blows hooter*.

I’m on the Nana Diet: Nae Scones!

118. Tinto Chiel

Dennistoun, I meant.

119. Smallaxe

Tinto, I’m on a cognac diet, works perfectly, I lost three days last week!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5CWIIoSf4nw

Peace Always

120. Smallaxe

Tinto LOOK back at the MAP that I sent you or put more water in your turps. πŸ™‚

121. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, your jokes are getting even worse!

From the same stable:

“Doctor, I’ve broken my leg in three places.”

“Well, don’t go to those places!”

πŸ˜›

122. Smallaxe

A wee song tae cheer ye up Tinto, take yer mind aff the scones.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m6HqQFfwqOI

Peace Always

123. carjamtic

Champagne & Scones are a lethal combo.as any Buffalo Rider will tell you,luckily there is something,the hacks use when the Red/Blue/Orange Tories let off a ‘statement’.

#manky

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZKLnhuzh9uY

124. yesindyref2

Mmm, scone, cream and home bramble jam.

“My dog has no nose”

“How does he smell?”

“Bloody awful!”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xVr2hbE6aW0

125. Tinto Chiel

That’s your most mental video yet, Smallaxe. Did you go beyond the end of BDTT’s Internet for that?

Don’t let Nana see yon recipe, btw.

Nae buttermilk, nae scones: it’s that simple.

126. Smallaxe

A Parliamentary Proclamation from the Unionist Partys!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bt_kR7u6mM4

TRUE DAT!

Peace Always

127. Smallaxe

I’m a man of many places, Tinto.

I said to my Doctor, I can see spots in front of my eyes, he said, have you seen an Optician.I said NO, just spots! Boom Boom

Peace Always

128. Smallaxe

yesindyref:

FACTOID:Did you know that Viv Stanshall from the BDDDB announced the instruments on Tubular Bells?

True Dat ALSO!

Peace Always

129. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Viv Stanshall also introduced all “the turns’ in this. You only get the ‘Eric Clapton/spoons’ reference if you’ve read Eric Clapton’s autobiography. I finished it last week so eh ken, yi ken…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hcrUuCDFLOQ

130. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

Q: Which is worse, being ‘haunless’ or ‘sconeless’?

…ah’ll get ma apron…

131. Tinto Chiel

Och, Ian, the trouble is, I’m both.

I had a problem with the gloss on the window sills: tranverse or 90 degree? They’re quite narrow so I thought the latter.

WRONG!

Looks like a fine sandpaper and repaint tomorrow.

See yon Michaelangelo, didnae ken the hauf o’ it!

Jeezo, man!

132. Smallaxe

BDTT:

Thanks for that Brian, every day a school day, I saw Clapton in 2015/16? in Glasgow, can’t remember exactly but he had a young American guy playing with him who was an excellent guitarist.My pics were up on his “where’s Eric” site for a long time after.

Peace Always

133. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

I feel your pain brother.

πŸ™

Van Morrison, ‘Cleaning Windows’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ciK2n2MebTU

134. Smallaxe

Ian, how are you doing, ok I hope?

Peace Brother

135. CameronB Brodie

“Indy won’t save Scotland from Tories. An indy Scotland would be Tory in 20 years. Solidarity is what working people need.” – Duncan Hothersall

@dhothersall
    You are indeed a witless bell-end Duncan. Just how do you imagine Scots will get anywhere near a state of social justice, when the British state denied access to our inalienable human rights. Just how to you imagine ‘One Nation solidarity’ will enable a sustainable society?

Real solidarity is achieved through the respect of universal human rights, not ideological loyalty to a state of colonialism, brother.

β€œThe right to development is an inalienable human right by virtue of which every human person and all peoples are entitled to participate in, contribute to, and enjoy economic, social, cultural and political development, in which all human rights and fundamental freedoms can be fully realized.” (Article 1.1, Declaration on the Right to Development)

β€œThe human right to development also implies the full realization of the right of peoples to self-determination, which includes, subject to the relevant provisions of both International Covenants on Human Rights, the exercise of their inalienable right to full sovereignty over all their natural wealth and resources.” (Article 1.2)

http://www.un.org/en/events/righttodevelopment/pdf/rtd_at_a_glance.pdf

136. Tinto Chiel

A song to myself.

Off to bed before I drop.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CX45pYvxDiA

137. Smallaxe

Hi, Cameron, keep slapping it into Bothersall maybe some of it will stick.

Peace Always

138. yesindyref2

BDTT / Smallaxe
    The things you learn, that intro is so … of the times!

No idea what this has to do with anything, who cares?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wRGJbk4XpYs

139. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Doing fine, thanks brother, still trying to edumacate meself, final term at UHI, doing Eng Lit, can’t believe it’s gone in so fast.

Fantastic set-up they have, main base in Inverness, spanking new HQ, students of Hairdressing and Plumbing and suchlike mix freely with Phd students, all in the one place, sharing the same canteens and social spaces. They have approx 17 hubs all across Scotland, all linked via internet etc, students worldwide. My nearest hub is Argyll College on Bute, so I used to have to take the ferry to Rothesay to sit my exams. Otherwise, I could stay at home and take part in seminars, ‘live’ through the laptop. Magical in its own way, unimaginable even twenty years ago.

I’ve loved it, and even if I don’t get a job of the back of it it’s been worth whatever I’ll own in loans. I’ve learned more about Scottish history and culture in the past three years than I ever did in primary/secondary/art-school, and that spanned 16 of the most formative years. There’s no-one obvious to ‘blame’ as such, but my own weans have been well-warned to do their own reading and make up their own minds, about everything.

We all remember that bastard Blair’s soundbite, ‘Education, Education, Education!’. He never did, and would never have dared speak to anyone about self-education. Unfortunately for him, and all who fell for the neo-liberal con-trick, we’ve been doing the whole ‘self-education’ thing with no need for encouragement from him or any other red/blue Tory. That’ll be the undoing of all those who betrayed what the Labour Party was meant to be about. They are class ("Tractor" - Ed)s pure & simple, and no amount of window-dressing by Corbyn or anyone else will ever conceal that bare-arsed fact.

Sorry for ranting, but I get very upset thinking about what’s happened in the past twenty years. ‘Thatcherism’ was always a misleading term and the Left should not have adopted it so easily because it concealed much more sophisticated forces for which Thatcher was merely a tool (the right ‘man’ for the job). Jim Kelman warned about this many years ago, but no-one was listening. Blair took advantage of general ignorance to pursue her policies.

The days of ‘ignorance’ have gone because there’s no excuse for being misinformed. I can’t imagine a worse insult than being described as ‘wilfully ignorant’ – it should be a badge of burning shame. Here’s hoping we’ll see ‘self-education’ reflected in the May election results, with red & blue Scottish ‘tories’ getting their arses skelped, the usual media suspects shaking their coiffured heids in disbleief as the results filter through. It’ll be delicious.

Smallaxe, ye’re an inspiration, and always will be. Love and Peace to you and yer missus and all you hold dear.

πŸ˜‰

140. yesindyref2

Here’s a thing I meant to mention, happened this time again I forgot to take off the https:// bit and it didn’t appear, so I did “back” (left arrow at top) twice I think it was, and there’s the posting sat in the box waiting to edit and submit again.

Can be handy if you’ve done a long posting that doesn’t appear and maybe has some duff word in it or too many links. You don’t have to type it all again!

This with Firefox.

141. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

What does it matter what it means man, it’s out there for transcendental thoughts and mind flying, Heavy messages float around it and connect you with who you used to be******

I can write some SH&te when I try. Here’s another one, this time get into the groove man. πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Ps0hl7BiHE

Peace Always Man****

142. Smallaxe

Ian:

Thanks for that very informative and personal post, I am humbled by your open comments to me. I believe in you Ian, seriously I admire and envy your dedication to the cause.I wish that I had been given the educational chances that you have made excellent use of.

Use that education to inform others, use it to blow away other people’s ridiculous arguments.I may be wrong but I don’t think that you have the confidence in yourself that you should have, throw off any doubt that you may have within yourself I just have a good feeling about you that I have had since I met you for a short time last September.

Any time that you want to talk, I would be happy if you shared that with me.I have all the time that you need if anything is troubling you.Sorry for sounding like some Blackpool Pier fortune teller but I just have a feeling that you could make a real difference in other people’s lives, in a good way.

Peace Always Brother

143. Still Positive

Ian Brotherhood @ 11.50

I wish you well on your uni course.

I went to Uni when I was 37, a mother of 4 the youngest 6 and the oldest 15, because as a girl at school in the 60s my Headteacher thought girls only had to get a job until they found a man!

Graduating transformed my life, with the support of my husband, and I went on to teach English, mainly in Glasgow.

It was both rewarding and highly stressful, but I do not regret any of it.

I live with the thought that I got so many pupils through a General pass at Standard Grade instead of Foundation because I believed in them and they knew it.

144. Smallaxe

Still Positive:

I have nothing to say but thank you, I think you already know my views on women and their style of communication. Your pupils were very lucky to have such an enlightened person to teach them. You have my undying admiration I only hope that there are more like you still educating our young people.

The young are the future of Scotland.

Peace, Love and Gratitude Always
    Smallaxe xx

145. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

I hear ye man.

Seriously.

I know that I can and should be doing more for the cause, but, but, but….there are always excuses.

As you know, I was a member of the SSP here in Ayshire, both pre and post-Sheridan. I made friends with some great people who I admired hugely. Richie Venton is, in my view, a great man who should be leading the SSP. For whatever reason, and I can’t guess what it is, he’s never ever even seemed to be interested in a leadership role, he prefers to build from the bottom-up. That’s what he did, right here in Ayrshire, and our branch was flourishing. Even the Tories hereabouts admired the work we did in the run-up to indyref1. We seemed to be ‘everywhere’, but that was only because we did our homework, did a power of leg-work, and were in the right places to make sure that any Yes supporters knew the SSP was behind them.

The ‘pact’ with RISE killed us. That’s the bare-arsed truth of it. We sacrificed our most powerful asset i.e. our reputation, our ‘good name’, by entering into a coalition with what is, in truth, nothing more than a lobby group. They infiltrated the SSP branch structure, holding meetings in the same venues as SSP meeting, but doing so half an hour earlier before SSP members arrived. The SSP member who had been tasked with coordinating social media-related strategy was hounded and expelled from the SSP.

This all happened in the year running-up to the 2016 GE. After that was over, and the voting stats were revealed, members like me left the SSP in droves. So far as I know, none of them intend to return until/unless the calamitous association with RISE is formally ended. Even then, it’ll take years to build the party up again to anything remotely near the size it was right after indyref1, when we had 40, 50 folk turning up to branch meetings where we often had no more than a dozen comrades present.

That’s why I get frustrated at the whole scenario – as soon as it seems we’re getting somewhere, the priorities of a select few end-up dictating policies which are more to do with political posturing than effective grass-roots action.

I suppose it was ever-thus, but it’s sad that right here, in Scotland, we can’t find a way of cohering the Left. That’s why the SSP was formed in the first place!

Swings and roundabouts, eh?

146. carjamtic

Never met you,most likely never will,bit still feel the passion,the inspiration bro.

#HugAPlenty

147. carjamtic

Repost to Ian B… (my iPads gone a bit dodgyy) total respect for you and what you do,all shit aside,we need you man….nearly there bro.

148. yesindyref2

Good luck with that Ian, the SSP deserve better. Known brand, could have done better in 2016.

149. Ian Brotherhood

@Still Positive –

Thanks very much. Appreciated.

It’s good to hear from someone who had a positive experience as a teacher rather than the endless negative pish we keep hearing through the likes of the CallK show.

Unfortunately, I’m getting on a wee bit – I have good friends who went on to teach straight after college (i.e. Glasgow School of Art) and are now retired, and I haven’t even started!

I tried, very hard, to become a ‘writer’. I was lucky enough to get some short stories published, and one novel, went to the Earl’s Court Book Fair, met a top agent who had all sorts of plans and promises, did the Creative Writing Masters at Glasgow Uni, mixed with some top names, saw the whole ‘business’ from the inside.

It’s rotten. It’s a racket. A tiny clique of hacks who dish out gigs to one another. It stinks. But hey, it’s the same in any other ‘business’, and that’s what it is. I witnessed, first-hand, the utter callousness of people whose only aim in life is to get their names in print, to be the next JK or whatever – it’s truly frightening to see what that can do to people.

I still want to write fiction, but it can’t and never will be ‘Tartan Noir’, or pish about wizards, serial killers and/or vampires. That rubbish doesn’t ‘represent’ modern Scotland any more than kailyard fodder. It’s shameful that a character like Ian Rankin (OBE) has been given such coverage and status for so long – it’s now thirty years since his first Rebus novel was published, and all he’s done since then is the same thing, over and over again, with no discernible improvement. I know there are some good, potentially great writers in Scotland, and they want to write in ways which are no longer ‘allowed’. If Iain Banks submitted The Wasp Factory, right now, he would get knockbacks from every publisher in Scotland. Likewise Alisdair Gray with ‘Lanark’.
    Ach, sorry, sorry, I’ve gone off on a rant, but I’m sure you’ll know what I’m on about.
    We need independence to free the artists in our midst – right now they’re being drowned at birth.
    Thanks again for your kind wishes, and I apologise for moaning so much!
    πŸ™‚

150. Smallaxe

Ian: I just wish that people could put aside their differences when we are all trying to get to the same place if only people would realise that we don’t actually need “leaders”, what we need in my opinion are co-ordinators.The power does and always has been in the hands of the people.

Leaders, no matter how good, always have someone with others behind them who think that they can do a better job and in a different way, leaders are there to be toppled as they are only one person but 10 or 100,OOO people cannot be brought down.

Leaders bring out the “cult” of personality in others, it has always been so. I don’t mean leaders of any political party in Government, they are necessary but that is where you will see what I mean, “THAT Alec Samon THAT Sturjon” it’s a meme that’s always been there.People who know fck all will fling this about and they can’t even spell the name or know the face.

As I am sure you know the SNP at this time are our best chance of gaining our independence, the EU.are going to be the only thing between us and the Fascist Pigs that we face in W/Minster. We can not reach the people who are really pulling the strings, no they are faceless but powerful.I don’t have any solutions but I do know that the only real power on this planet, far less this country are the people.

When we can convince the ordinary people of the power that lies in THEIR hands then we have won. Maybe after all that I have said about leaders we do need some kind of messianic person that the majority of people will follow.

I have a very simple view of politicians, just like when I was a kid watching cowboy movies. The guys in the white hats are the good guys we have to be behind them to beat the guys in the black hats.And we will!

Sorry for this ramble, I hope you get what I am trying to say, it’s difficult on a computer hopefully we will get another chance to talk face to face and make our aspirations clearer.

Peace Always Brother

151. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe, carjamtic & yesindyref2 –

Cheers all.

I’m effing shattered and heading bedways with a wee smile on my coupon after reading your encouragement.

More power to each and every one of ye’s, and abody else in this great wee community we’ve made.

Slainte! (raises empty mug)

πŸ™‚

152. Smallaxe

Ian:

I meant to say when we achieve independence and the SSP get back to where it should be, I will be one of the first to carry the card proudly, I have been a socialist all of my life and will be until the day I die.

Peace Love and Equality

153. Smallaxe

Goodnight Comrade

Peace Always

154. Smallaxe

FOR IAN and all right thinking people in whose hands lies true and Honest Power.

To: Westminster Government
    Declaration of Calton Hill, 9th October 2004
    We the undersigned call for an independent Scottish republic built on the principles of liberty, equality, diversity and solidarity.
    These principles can never be put into practice while Scotland remains subordinate to the hierarchical and anti-democratic institutions of the British State.
    We believe these principles can be brought about by a freely elected Scottish Government with full control of Scotland’s revenues.
    We believe that the right to self determination is an inherent right, and not a boon or a favour to be granted to us whether by the Crown or the British State.
    We believe that sovereignty rests in the people and vow to fight for the right to govern ourselves for the benefit of all those living in Scotland today, tomorrow and in future times. The Government of a country is servant to the people, not master of the people.
    We believe that a written Constitution will guarantee, under law, everyone’s right to freely vote, speak and assemble; and will guarantee the people’s right to privacy and protection, and access to information on all its Government’s doings.
    We vow to fight for the power to refuse to send our sons and daughters to kill and die in unjust wars in foreign lands.
    We vow to fight for the power to banish nuclear weapons of mass destruction from our land.
    We vow to fight for the power to acquire and restrict the use of property or lands controlled by individuals, corporations or governments from beyond Scotland’s borders.
    We vow to fight for the power to turn our depopulated land into a haven for those fleeing famine and persecution.
    We vow to fight for the power to build a more equal society, free of poverty, through the redistribution of our vast wealth.
    We vow to fight for the power to protect our soil, seas and rivers for our children and for the generations to come.
    We swear to oppose all forms of national chauvinism, imperialism and racism. We swear to oppose all forms of discrimination on the grounds of gender, ethnic origin, religion, place of birth, age, disability, sexuality or language.
    We aim for an independent Scottish Republic in which people may live with dignity and with self-respect, free from exploitation, assuming the responsibilities of free women and men.
    An independent Scottish republic will negotiate freely and as an equal with governments of other lands.
    Our aim is not to erect walls of separation, but to build an outward-looking, Scotland that will extend the hand of friendship to all the peoples of the world.
    We vow to continue the struggle for a free, democratic Scottish republic for as long as it may take.
    The fight is for freedom.

Peace Always

155. carjamtic

Ok cards on the table,I’m not a member of the SNP in fact, not even a member of any political party/group,….long ago I knew that,for an ‘Independant’ state of mind there was no point.

I probably,like you,I guess,witnessed,the Labour Party first hand…first time was M Foot at the Apollo in Glasgow,( I sneaked in to a balcony seat on my own) was never so discouraged about politics,bouncers lining all the aisles,the theatre was only about a quarter full,buckets going round for collections,it was like one of those religious bible meetings,programmes, you see on American tv.

Totally surreal experience,the second time,I was working at Teeside airport,a small plane landed and the passengers,once disembarked,walked towards the exit (not the airport terminal) where me and my muckers were enjoying a light lunch (sat on the grass,boiler suits rolled down on a hot day,) holding of a can of refreshing juice and a salad roll.

It was like a scene from the matrix,six or so minders (all wearing shades) the main man was in the middle,as they got closer to the exit gate and the wire mesh mesh fence,we were behind,the main man suddenly ‘burst out’ from his minders,’all right lads” he addressed us….’aye Tony’ a few local,subdued voices replied….

He gave a thumbs up and they quickly ‘exited’ the airfield,looking round there was a huge bus waiting with his face emblazoned on the side…..’Arsehole….always was,always will be’ a few of the local lads volunteered.

They were of course proved correct,on the back of all this,I was never really encouraged back into voting,as you can probably imagine,no point was there,really?.

That,has all changed,there is now a real opportunity,to make a difference,(Scotland is a much better country,than possibly,even the people that live in Scotland realise…..than,even the rest of the world realises) and now is the time to show them….how fantastic our country is,how brilliant our people,really are and for those reasons….I’m in….I’m all in…. (that and the fact the Tories are just a bunch of fucking wankers).

156. yesindyref2

A bit of an off-key article in the Herald is actually deavastating news for the food industry in Scotland, meaning the whole EU could be flooded with cheap Canadian knock-offs of “Arbroath smokies, Scottish salmon, Scotch beef and lamb, Stornoway black pudding, Orkney cheddar and Ayrshire Dunlop cheese” – not to mention others probably like Aberdeen Angus, any EU-protected brand name, in the EU-Canada trade deal to be ratified this week, basically undebated in the HoC.

I posted more detalis in the MT “Wee Willie” thread, and that’s probably what I’ll do in future – post but not engage. I mostly do that now in the Herald anyway.

Doubly bad news because apparently it comes into effect straight away – and still affects us when the UK leaves the EU. In fact, the only way of restoring that status would be our own membership of the EU and substantial representation for some time. Unless something can be done as an emergency measure.

Night night zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

157. Jet123

Stoker / smallaxe// ianb
    Stoker thank you ,you have gave me back the courage to post on this site have been snp since I was 15 over 30 year ago both my parents are snp and like so many others I spent many years raising money ( jumble sales Beatle drives raffles burns nights st Andrews nights ) also walked thousands of miles over many years delivering leaflets in ayrshire and getting the bus to glasgow with other members to deliver them in all sorts of elections as my life moved on got married had kids started my own company I used every opportunity to promote snp and indapendance as my daughter grew up we watched the news went to local meetings read the press together so it was a natural progression to look on the internet for other sources of information and at this point we found wings and loved it. So much we would sit as a family to start with then as time went on boyfriend / school mates / neighbours would join us it was fantastic so much information and support and to feel part of some thing very special some time ago I posted a point that some other posters did not aggree with that’s ok as being snp I was used to this as the post went on I was told I was a troll and to f–k off at this point Ianbrotherhood came in with his comment of just 2 words f–k off troll When I asked for a explanation I was told to f–k off now and stop lookin for sympathy these posters had came to the conclusion I was a troll. End of story no proof was needed this is bullying
    ——————————————————————————————
    Smallaxe Can I just say that your posts of political points mixed with love And grace have moved me deeply and helped our cause And my peace of mind more than you will ever. Know for that myself / my family / my country are for ever grateful to you
    ————————————————
    Ianbrotherhood I hold no malice towards you you have made some excellent posts far beyond my scope of posting but when you alone. Decide that someone is a troll you can be wrong
    And this does not help us gain indapendance in any way as you are from ayrshire I would be happy to meet you to prove all the point I have made as all I want is indapendance for scotland
    —————————-
    And as a truly great man says. Peace always

158. Smallaxe

Jet123:

May I thank you for your very kind and generous words, I only say what I feel my friend as you have probably seen before “my heart is in my words”.I sincerely hope that you and Ian can soon sort out your differences.Ian is a good man his passion can sometimes overwhelm him but I can assure you that if he thinks that he has been mistaken and called you out as a troll he will apologise unreservedly.Thank you again for your kindness.

Peace and Love to You and to those to whom You give your love.

Peace Always

Ps, Please keep posting, you may have noticed a while back on the main thread some people calling Me a comic singer and that I should not be putting kisses on the bottom of some of my posts or
    even Peace and Love, as you will have noticed, I have carried on regardless.Without love for our fellow man/woman there can never be peace.www.youtube.com/watch?v=PNq_DTmVCWs

159. Smallaxe

Jet123:

I have noticed that the link I put on has not come through properly, just copy and paste it into you tube.

Peace Always

160. Ian Brotherhood

@Jet123 –

Was reading your comment there, really enjoying it, then got to the end.

I’m squirming with embarrassment here and can only offer a heartfelt apology.

Do you happen to remember when this was? I’d like to go back and check the thread, and I’m hoping that my rudeness was being directed at someone else. In any case, it doesn’t matter I suppose, because if you felt it was directed at you then I’m still at fault for not making sure I was addressing the ‘right’ poster.

In any event I am really sorry and hope you will come back to WOS fully, making comments to encourage others. And thanks for letting me know about that – if you hadn’t brought it to my attention I wouldn’t have known about it.

161. Paula Rose

Peace, love and lots of kisses to everyone – sorry I’ve not been around much lately, been rather busy, will let you know all about it soon xxx

162. Jet123

Smallaxe thank you for your reply your words always lift my spirits and give me a feeling of hope
    And joy because of the love and the way they are written from the heart the only difference I have with ian is that he thinks I am a troll he is wrong but he got his wish and I never posted again till now thanks to stokers post and you’re kind words that add a very human touch to this site as I said
    Lots of posters know far more than me and are better at expressing it than myself but I love to read the posts to gather more information for my personal fight for Scottish independence I won’t be a regular poster as if my opinion if different it seems to make me a troll and this hurts deeply but I would just like to say I am very grateful to all posters of all points of view that they have taken the time to forward our joint cause for Scotland

As a truly great man says peace always

163. Smallaxe

Jet123:

Did you miss Ian’s post above?, have a look then think again about posting, you do not have to go on the main thread right away stay here on O/T until you get used to our idiosyncracies (we have many). I give you my assurance that you will be made welcome. Do not let anyone put you off even if your views happen to be different from ours, we would still happily debate the point with you without rancour. Please see Ian’s post and think again!

Peace Always
    Smallaxe

164. Smallaxe

Hi Ian and Paula Rose πŸ™‚

Peace Always

165. Jet123

Ianbrotherhood thanks very much for your apology it is totally accepted in every way and makes me feel so much better my only fight in life is with those in this world that would try to stop my daughter and country having the future and freedom that they deserve as I have said lots of smarter posters than me on this site to make far better points than I ever could with a degree of eloquence and knowledge that I find truly inspiring and give me the hope that I need on a daily basis to carry on with my personal fight for independence

As a truly great man says. Peace always

166. Ian Brotherhood

@Jet123 –

Appreciate your acceptance.

Thanks.

167. Smallaxe

Ian:

I knew you would be gracious with an acceptance of your apology and I also understand your caution.I have looked back and could only find this so far:

Jet-123 says:
    1 May, 2015 at 10:46 am
    Let this be a lesson to the msm who are losing market share and credibility by the bucket load
    That a new dawn of awareness and desire for the truth not some over spun headline with no depth
    I respect all the hard work and time that you give to us and thank you from the bottom of Scotland’s heart.
    —————————————————————–

If you are still reading Jet, Please forgive the check but as you are probably aware we have been having some trouble from old and new posters whose motives are suspect, to say the least.
    Peace Always my Friend
    —————————————————————–
    Are you still around Ian?

168. Fred

@ Tinto, greetings my manky friend, been away in the faur Heilans & apparently missed the Sterr-Heid Rammy, “Her in the close has three streitches oot the-day again!” Let it pass, she’s not worth the agro!

Good weather in the North, plenty of snow but nothing lying & the bones of the hills showing.

169. Jet123

Ianbrotherhood your are more than welcome I look forward to fighting the fight in our own ways to the same goal side by side for Scotland
    ——————–
    Smallaxe thanks for the kind words and the that video never seen it before should come with a tissue warning had to stop watching it a few times to compose myself very moving

As a truly great man says ,peace always

170. Smallaxe

Fred:# manky

No sign of Tinto today but he will probably be on before I’m finished writing this.That’s some rammy aboot the washin’ah hope that gallus besum takes her turn o’ the ster’s.

I hope you enjoyed your highland excursion, I’m jealous I might even go into one of my famous huffs.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always My Friend

171. Fred

Sair heid Smallaxe, Islay malt maistly responsible! draw the line at Ardbeg but, tooooo much fur me! πŸ™‚

172. Smallaxe

Jet123:

Thank you again, the video that you watched I discovered in just a poetry form many moons ago and since finding and understanding it I have since tried to live my life according to those very wise words.Please share it with anyone that you think will benefit from it and tell them to accept it in the Peace, Love and Harmony that it espouses.

Peace Always

173. Tinto Chiel

Painting break, Smallaxe. Afternoon!

“And the bones of the hills showing”.

Fred, you are a poet.

If you missed the rammy you missed nothing. It just pissed off a lot of people and most huddled around the campfire on O/T.

Things are hotting up. The M/T today is shocking. It’s time Stu came home.

Any sign of Paula Rose up Where you are? She said she’d been up to something.

174. Smallaxe

Fred:

I can give you a cure
    And it’s a real auldy
    Hair o’ the dug
    Ma’Jack Russel’s baldy!
    I drank that much
    Ower the years
    that the poor dugs
    jist left wi’ some
    hair in it’s ears πŸ™‚

Peace Always

175. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Have they started again on that main thread? I haven’t had a look since this morning when I thanked Nana as usual. I’m away to take a wee peek.See you later.

Peace Always

176. yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
    I think so. But K1 was right on the cenrifuge thread – we need to look at the “about” about trolls, and reply to the posting – argue against the point of view it’s expressing.

2. Play the ball, not the man (or woman).

And by all means disagree, by all means disagree forcefully – but argue with people’s views, don’t insult them personally. And that includes calling them β€œtrolls” or implying they’re undercover Unionists. We’ll decide if someone’s trolling or not. But in the meantime, if you think they are, ignore them.

And yes, I’m an offender, though in my defence I did defend Bob Costello when he was accused of being a troll for some conservative views I think. That’s Bob Costello – owns a bus company, ran the YES Bus from Dundee, gave weeks of his time.

I’m an offender, I couldn’t mend ‘er if I tried!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u7SISw5KLMs

Oh, but guess I’d better try all the same.

177. Fred

Well guys I was looking for a “Warm Front!” but no sign of Paula Rose!

178. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

Agreed my Friend, I do think that we may be “under attack” but if we all keep a cool head and play by the rules then we wont be beat.

Peace Always My Friend

179. Stoker

Do you agree?
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/do-you-agree/

Take a look at what you could have one
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/take-a-look-at-what-you-could-have-won/

Massive oil leak discovered
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/massive-oil-leak-discovered/

180. Tinto Chiel

“Have they started again on that main thread?”

No,I was meaning Yoon Frothers attacking The Rev (and Yessers), Smallaxe. Reading that stuff makes you want to go for a brain-shower afterwards.

One of our local Yessers was threatened verbally when we were out canvassing, with a shotgun being mentioned. The police were called and the guy was warned, which I thought was insufficient.

When the referendum is called I think things will be much more unpleasant because the Unionists have run out of arguments/options.

Difficult to believe The History Woman ever held down a professorship. Expert on Nazi Germany? Wish-fulfilment, more like.

181. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Had a look and could not believe it! Sad nasty people and here we are trying to make Scotland a better place for all!As for history woman, she is a disgrace to her gender and any other right-thinking human.I would hate to have to live with a mind in that pitiful condition.I hope the proper authorities will investigate all of them.

Hope the Rev. keeps himself safe!

Peace Always My Friend

182. Tinto Chiel

Yes, and only he sees the crapola they try to post on a regular basis. I remember once The Rev. revealed a really rancid series of comments by a frother just so we could see the vitriolic stuff he has to weed out.

There’s a lot of disturbed people out there.

183. Smallaxe

You should see the threatening letters I get on a regular basis Tinto, it’s a constant barrage of pay up or we will cut your lights/Gas etc off.

Terrifying so it is!
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

184. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

It’s just taken me half an hour to catch up with all the posts on ‘off-topic’ since my ‘Intro and Outro’ post last night.

I think that’s the busiest 20 hours I’ve ever seen on ‘off-topic’ in the past 4 years. Some great posts from Smallaxe, Jet123, Ian B, yesindyref2 and others.

I think this wee song sums up our position…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H1yYDuSf3C4

185. Brian Doonthetoon

One more thing…

Having met these two young ladies – on the 17th/18th September in Glasgow and then at the Hollyrood rally a month later, last year, what got me was that they just didn’t get how inspirational their action was on 19-09-2014 at George Square. And they were 19 and 17 at the time.

They’ve got to be line for “Heroine of Scotland” awards, once we’re independent.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T9wPS78Xh6E

186. Clapper57

@Ian Brotherhood

All the best to you, you seem like a nice guy and it is a shame about some of the shit that happens on the Main Thread.

I always remember time when I posted a wee rant on off topic a while back about a certain Troll on WOS, who keeps popping up, and you wrote a response to me and you were really supportive and it was that response that encouraged me to continue posting on WOS.

Having said that other wingers will now be saying FFS Ian why did you do that ? lol

Have a good evening.

187. Smallaxe

BDTT:

Writing on the Wall! good band Brian I’ve been listening to them since you put them on the main thread, Thanks.

I’ve remembered who was playing with Clapton when I last saw him, the American guy was Derek Trucks, good guitarist and Robert Cray was playing support.

Writing on the Wall came as a surprise, I’d never heard of them, are they still around?

Peace Always

188. Ian Brotherhood

@Clapper57 –

πŸ™‚

189. Smallaxe

Hi, Ian, you ok, I think that there has been a mistake made a couple of years ago regarding our earlier conversations, it just did not sound like something you would do.I’m sure there’s been some kind of misunderstanding somewhere along the line.

Anyway, alls well that ends well, situation sorted. πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rjNQYZfn9gc

Peace Always Brother

190. Smallaxe

More Pirates

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IS8uC7ea9oE
    and more
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ZdHpeDEveQ

Wish I was a Pirate,Manky Matey’s

Peace Always

191. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Tbh, I’ve lost the place a wee bit and am not sure what’s going on.

If I did what I’m said to have done, fair do’s, I apologise.

The one thing that’s irking me is that I was pretty sure I hadn’t ever used the ‘troll’ word directly against anyone. I thought I’d always been quite careful about that. ‘Fuck off!’, perhaps in extremis, but not ‘troll’.

Anyway, it’s not important in the scheme where I live, so it’s not a problem.

Good to see you commenting so frequently, yer dander must be up!

Hoots, as aye.

πŸ™‚

192. Smallaxe

Ian, I’ve been a wee bit concerned about you since, like I said it just doesn’t sound like you at all.I’m sure that there’s been a crossed wire somewhere.Don’t dwell on it, it’s all sorted don’t let it Twist your Melon man you have many good friends on here.
    Stick around and listen to some music.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=POaaw_x7gvQ
    And so will you my Brother!

Peace Always

193. Smallaxe

Ian, by the way, never you mind whether my Dander is up or down it’s very personal.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

194. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Dr. Feelgood, ‘Milk & Alcohol’ (live, 2015)

Anyone know if this is the original singer? Looks totally different. Truth be told, he looks better than the original!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PlFnu8KHv90

195. uno mas

@ Ian Brotherhood

No itΒ΄s not the original Dr Feelgood singer who was Lee Brileaux who died of cancer year 2002 ish.

IΒ΄m not sure if itΒ΄s any of the original band members to be honest.

196. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Thanks friend, but I’m honestly fine.

If it turns out it was just a case of crossed-wires (and I very much hope that is the case) then it won’t be the first or last time it happens.

We all have too much other ‘serious’ stuff to be thinking about, and doing.

197. Nana

@Smallaxe

Apologies for not greeting you this morning, wee mishap kept me away today.

@Ian I’m just catching up now and being a bit of a ferret I had a quick look for comments by Jet123. The first one I can find through google search is below at 3.20pm
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/first-off-the-mark/
    3.20pm

I don’t see you anywhere on that thread.

198. uno mas

@Briandoonthetoon

Your mention of Writing on The Wall over on main thread jumped out at me and brought back memories of seeing them several times in the old Maryland Club in Glasgow.

Happy daze!

Brought the house down every time.

I had their (only) album “The Power of the Picts” which got lost at some point during one of my many house flits.

Never understood why the never had more success.

199. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

RE: Writing On The Wall.
    I have a memory of having seen them on TV around 1969. What’s in my memory is a song which I thought was called “Lucifer go down”. I see from Discogs and their own page (links below), that the B side of their first single was called “Lucifer Corpus”.

This could tie in, if the repetitive lyrics in the B side were “Lucifer go down”. In 1969, Grampian TV was doing a half hour show which, usually, featured two bands, doing two tracks each. That’s how I got a reel to reel recording of the Shy Limbs doing ‘Reputation’. (See link below.)

Shy Limbs were on with a band called Cats Eyes. Shy Limbs had Greg Lake in their lineup, immediately before he joined King Crimson.

Onnyhoo, I think Writing On The Wall would have been on one of those GTV programmes and the lyrics “Lucifer go down’ was what stuck in my mind.

http://www.discogs.com/artist/302920-Writing-On-The-Wall

http://www.writingonthewallband.co.uk

And “Reputation”. The reason that this sticks in my mind is that it was played almost every day on ‘Radio 1 Club’ at lunchtimes, for around 6 weeks around June 1969 and never made the charts.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4o8MyuGcdY4

200. Smallaxe

Nana and Ian:

You will see the one I found up the thread a bit and like you Nana
    NOTHING. There has been some mistake and as Ian said, we have more to be getting on with.

Nana: Please don’t apologise to me, No worries. πŸ™‚

Sorry to say, but it’s Rock and roll on the M/T again.

Peace Always

201. Smallaxe

BDTT.

Thanks again Brian, even more music to soothe my tortured soul.You are a mine of good musical information Brian and have brought back many forgotten good memories.
    —————————————————————–uno mas:

The Maryland was one of my favourite places back in the day but as you will know, even if we had been there on the same night we will never know because we couldn’t see our hands in front of our faces because the place was always so dark.

Peace Always

202. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe & Nana –

Youse would make a cracking team of detectives! Sort of MacMillan & Wife (or maybe Dempsey & Makepeace would be more PC?!).

Thanks, seriously, for going to all that bother. I wouldn’t know where to begin undertaking such a search. Let’s all just hope it was an honest mistake.

203. Ian Brotherhood

@uno mas –

Serious bummer there. I should’ve just looked them up on Wiki, I had no idea he was dead.

M&A was one of the first singles I bought, and it was coloured creamy and ale-brown, all swirly. Come to think of it, no idea where it went…

204. Smallaxe

Dr Feelgood lineup 2015:

Kevin Morris: drums / Phil Mitchell: bass / Steve Walwyn : guitar / Robert Kane : vocal & harmonica.

Peace Always

205. Cherry

Hi folks, thought I’d come in here as that bloody stone in my shoe was really beginning to annoy!
    Really good to see in is still here.
    I remember the Maryland I wasn’t allowed in too young and even when I could go I looked underage! Electric Garden was where I spent many a happy Saturday night. My mum still doesn’t know I went there ?

206. Smallaxe

Cherry:

Only Rock and Roll here no Rock and Rant πŸ™‚

Rock of Ages: Juke Box Hero by Foreigner

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LcxiggtopMU

Peace Always

207. Cherry

Here’s one for you smallaxe
    http://www.youtu.be/UzqIN4B0Uos

Glad to see you keeping the troops amused with good music and your very own musings.Say hi to Nancy and she owes me an email with smiley faces!

208. Cherry

Nana not Nancy blooming predicted text!

209. Cherry

Nana not Nancy ??

210. Smallaxe

Hi, Cherry:

I think they have all went to bed!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=38wIuDAq2yg

Peace Always

211. Smallaxe

I think I will play this every morning from now on!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lPpNZrcqbis

Peace Always

212. Still Positive

Ian Brotherhood & Smallaxe in the early hours yesterday.

Thank you for your kind comments.

Before I retired I had a ‘bottom’ 3rd year class, but I had taught many of them the year before so the majority knew me.

There was a new boy, Darren, in the class who had been absent for some weeks and was wanting to get up-to-date with the gossip so kept interrupting the class.

In spite of me trying to direct him to the task in hand he kept interrupting until Scott (who had been in my S2 class) intervened with: “Shut it Darren, she’s on oor side.” Best compliment I have ever been paid.

213. Smallaxe

Still Positive:

Out of the mouths of children comes Truth

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_3pq8zeetgY

Peace Always

214. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Just wondering if you would cast an eye over the footage linked below, and perhaps gives us some thoughts?

You seem to believe that I ‘know’ what you got up to in the past. I don’t. I only hear people like Paula refer to you in hushed terms.

Is this not a time when we might benefit from knowing a wee bit more about whatever naughtiness you were involved in?

Okay, I’m being a bit mischievous in asking, but I do have a serious motive…

Right now, I’m still at uni with, for the most part, young men and women to whom ‘Thatcher’ is not much more than a name from recent history. They may have a vague awareness of her being a Tory, and unpopular for nebulous reasons, and that’s about it. They’re more likely to know her via the term ‘Thatcherism’, with discussions about economics-related stuff. They don’t ‘know’ her as an individual character. I’m not meaning to be harsh on ‘young people’ here, but there’s no particular reason why they should feel about Thatcher the same way that many of us do, and a big part of the reason why they don’t ‘feel’ anything about her is because they have no fucking idea what she did.

You have never really shared any of your experiences here. They’ve been alluded-to, aye, but I’d love to hear more detail, perhaps tie it in to the amazing archive we now have via YT.

So – I’m just providing the following link in the hope that it may persuade you to share some of your experiences in the same way that you told us about the visit to Marley’s resting-place.

I hope you don’t mind me asking you to consider this. Many supporters of Scottish independence will shortly be ‘required’, whether they like it or not, to become ‘activists’, and that frightens the bejaysus out of many. I hope that you can show them – and that we can back this up with empirical proof – that there’s nothing to be feared about standing up to the British State. Nothing at all. We will always – always – have numerical superiority over any forces they choose to put up against us, and if we can only remain aware of that, at all times, we simply walk through them to whatever destination we’re aiming for. They present nothing more than a flimsy hurdle which we can, if we choose, simply walk around.

Gone are the days when a brute like Churchill could order tanks into Glasgow, and if the Sep 19th 2014 behaviour is anything to go by, the ‘forces’ available to back-up the hate-speech we’re seeing now are more likely to end-up kicking one another’s arses all over the place than land a punch on solid masses of peaceful indy-supporters.

Anyway, please have a swatch at this and, if you’re minded to do so, give us something solid that we should keep in mind during the months ahead.

Peace and love, as aye mister.

‘…pushed the police out of the way, it was our day and our street.’

The Poll Tax Revolt (Pt 1)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3zpGZYtVpf0

215. yesindyref2

How about this for an idea to solve all the problems?

There’s no “me” in “Independence”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AukFsBv2oDY

216. Smallaxe

I’m looking at it Ian, back shortly.

217. Smallaxe

I’m writing Ian, not a lot but writing.

Peace Always

218. Cactus

How-day-ye-do.. here’s wan fae Ludovico tae see ye through ra night ma people..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-8xeStLTnhM

Nightshift.. we love you.
    X.

219. Cactus

Hey nightshift.. check out the night.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k9NM-yK1C2I

220. Ian Brotherhood

@Cactus –

All-hail the boldest and bestest ‘IB’.

Great to see you mister.

Those tracks you just posted? Soooooooo-perb. My boy introduced me to that stuff just a few weeks ago. Fantastic. You’re way too young to remember the whole frenzy over Mike Oldfield and Tubular Bells, but it reminded me of that. Different plane altogether mind…

Hope you’re prospering brother – hoots aplenty to you and yours, and hopefully see you soonest possible, perhaps sooner than any of us realise!

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

221. Cactus

The meaning of..

Life
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XvdtKK-UaE0

You’ll work it out..

Discover life. Discover yerself.

222. Cactus

Hey hey n aye aye bro of bros and fellow IB πŸ™‚

WE goin’ good.

This place is the bullseye!

Discover the Moonlight Shadow..

See ye on the Quay, key brother be πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

223. Smallaxe

Ian room Q I will wait.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DhDW-JBoXmk
    Ignore

Peace Always

224. Cactus

Smallaxe..

Thanks you for the lentils.

Sleep happily when you next bed down dude.

Here through the night.. the chorus has just kicked in..!

Cheers.

225. CameronB Brodie

The concept of social sustainability is relatively new but Yoons are pathologically per-disposed to resist it’s acceptance into the rationality of their thought process. The ‘Scottish cringe’ needs serious scientific investigation, IMHO.

Here’s one for the #IndyBadParty

Circle Jerks – When the Shit Hits the Fan
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5y4sZzbBOfU

226. Smallaxe

Ian,I think the powers that be have deleted everything there is no trace. does ianbhood@gmail.com work?

Peace Always

227. Ian Brotherhood

@StillPositive (1.05) –

Ha!

Brilliant. Must tell my lad that one, he hates ‘interrupters’ and will love that. Who knows, he may even use it himself!

‘An’ so it came tae pass, that a richt guid bit ay banter was haunit-doon, frae generation tae generation, an’ aw the peepil wiz gled ay it…’

πŸ™‚

228. Smallaxe

Hi, Cactus, I answered your post to me on the main thread.I am pleased that you understood what I WAS trying to warn people about
    some have never seen real violence. I have.

Peace Always

229. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

My address is:

ianbhood@gmail.com

Have you sent me something?

If so, it hasn’t arrived. I’ve just double-checked, refreshed the Inbox, all that stuff – nowt there.

230. Smallaxe

Ian did you see my post above?

Peace Always

231. Cactus

Indeed Smallaxe.

Seeing is seeing, ye can’t unsee what you’ve seen.

Learn.

232. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

At what time?

Last I see addressed to me is a music video at 2.23.

(That rhymes!)

Hey, no sweat, I’ll get whatever it was/is eventually.

Right now I must bid you goodnight, and hope you have a richt guid kip yersel.

πŸ˜‰

233. Smallaxe

Ian I wrote quite a bit in the other room, but it has all gone!
    I will e-mail you tomorrow. The name won’t be Smallaxe watch for it. Too late to write it all again.OK!

Peace Always

234. Cactus

Scotland.

We fuckin’ love you.

Every time.

Be free at three πŸ™‚

235. Cherry

Oh no Small axe I’ve been waiting in the other room for ages!!! Thought Paula Rose was going to charge me rent. So you just have to spill the beans again pleeeeaaassse ?
    But only when you’re ready!

236. Smallaxe

Cactus: 10-10 till we do it again!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kRUsSGmM2QQ&t=1303s

90min of slow blues

Peace Always

237. Smallaxe

Sorry Cherry seems like what I wrote has been deleted.

Goodnight

Peace Always

238. Michael McCabe

@ Smallaxe let me know if I am being Outlandish or off the wall ? I briefly met you at Glasgow Green for about 2 minutes and I am trying to remember what you look like. there is this picture on my wall and about 3 minutes in without the hat I think there is a Smidgen of Resemblence. have I lost the plot ? Anyway the message at the end of the song is for you my Friend. Peace Always. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uva-mIt_oJ4

239. Fred

Morning! fellow Manky-Mates, I also remember the Maryland, liked the jazz/rock mix there the time but I think rock won? Always jam-packed & the sweat ran doon the wa’s so you had to watch your Tonik mohair suit! (Robert Dick the tailor & a Tory to boot) dodgy sterrs at the exit also but happy daze. Whoever owned it must have made a fortune!

240. Ian Brotherhood

@Jet123 –

If you’re around, have you sen the comments above?

Seems there may have been a mix-up, and I’m quite keen to find out for sure whether or not it was me who was so rude to you. If it wasn’t me it was someone else! We really should try to get to the bottom of it, don’t you think?

If you could guess roughly when it happened that would be a good starting point.

Look forward to hearing from you again.

πŸ™‚

241. Stoker

The social network
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-social-network/

Happy Separation Day
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/happy-separation-day/

One more time for the folks back home
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/one-more-time-for-the-folks-at-home/

242. carjamtic

Strolling wae my manky friends….His Nibs,the Muscular Arms….sitting for hours discussing the merits of Ouzo vs Tequila…..(nerd notes :technically,all tequilas are mezcals however not all mezcals are tequilas).

We were well into our discussions…..Greek,Roman,Democracies and the ancient languages/culture of the Aztecs…..nobody told us about The Picts,The Gaels,The Lords of the Isles,The Clan System,about Scotland’s ancient cultures,about Scotland’s history….

It’s like time stood still,we are still discussing all theses topics today and the Pochteca’s fly down to the big smoke to learn the sleekit ways of synchronised yoonery.

On reflection I can say hand on heart,that our ‘alliance’ with the yoonion has been disastrous for Scotland,anyone who thinks otherwise,is a fool,who no doubt also thinks,that all mezcals are tequilas,all yessers are SNP and to paraphrase,’all fish need bicycles’.

Nice walk πŸ˜‰

#Nahuatl

243. Smallaxe

carjamtic: #Nahuatl

kama kaka na dada,kudhuru yeyote

Peace Always

244. Tinto Chiel

Memo to carjamtic/Smallaxe: I think you sages may have been in The New Monaco Bar a bit too long, manky mates. Even I am flummoxed.

Smallaxe: the Wings World is agog for those memos you promised Cherry. Were you the Fifth Beatle? The Fifth Rider of The Apocalypse?

245. Smallaxe

The man from del monte?

Peace Always

246. Thepnr

Just swung by to say hello to all. Busy just now and tried to keep away from the MT but there are some articles I just can’t resist posting on.

Will refrain from getting into disputes though as it’s not worth the hassle and upset that it brings.

Wee tune for Wingers. No giggling at the back!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7oKPYe53h78

247. Thepnr

Oh and by the way, don’t take this as fact but Reluctant
    Nationalist reminds of someone. that someone has had 3 names on Wings already.

Angra Mainyu, some other shit that sounded the same and some other shit that sounded the same as a Reluctant Nationalist. The last fellow fell out with Ian after barely getting his first post on wings.

They were all the same person, do you remember his name Ian? Last year around April I think. Or was it the April before last? Oh Dear!

248. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

I can’t remember.

That’s the umpteenth time that’s happened to me these last few days, just can’t seem to recall the simplest things.

Ach well, comes to us all I suppose…

πŸ˜‰

249. Thepnr

Ah! Just remembered the third name.

NeaconNat ring any bells Ian?

250. yesindyref2

@thepnr
    “destructive spirit” -evil. Ahura Mazda – good. He was both. Yeah to RN, tag-team for the sandstone one. I think there’s another couple. Yeah, I’m leaving off as well, but peeps seem to be a lot more aware now πŸ™‚

251. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

It does indeed mister.

A blast from the not-too-distant…

252. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe @ 4:19am just seen!

Jah ruleth all nations, ‘pon the earth,
    The root of David, light of this world
    His eyes as red as fire, my picture ain’t no liar.
    Beca’ the whole world see and know, Rasta live for Iver more!

Ras Tafari Mekonnen, Overstand!

Peace Always

253. Thepnr

These are a couple of examples from the Nat’s post last year.

Thepnr says:
    15 April, 2016 at 9:47 pm
    I do so hope you have been keeping up with all the comments from NeoconNat. These solely directed at me from that last couple of days articles are among the tamest of his/her views.

β€œMoreover, since Graeme was familiar to your wife, as appears to be the case, might we assume that she was also familiar to him and that the familiarity wasn’t just one way?”

β€œAny man that has the guts at his age to declare he wants to be considered a woman and go through all the pain of that procedure etc. has my respect.”

F’kin trolls do my head in. I’m taking a break though, still poast but will let some others pick up the mantle when it comes to dealing with the trolls.

254. yesindyref2

But … but … if we don’t have trolls to play with

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C2rDp6FnbP0

255. Smallaxe

IAN & INDYREF2

THE NEW NATIONAL ANTHEM
    June 30, 2016

Do you remember DERACHA, I saw that his name was an anagram of
    CHARADE and he went away.

Peace Always

256. Thepnr

I must go but here’s the NeoconNat post in full. well worth an Off Topic just for the laughs.

NeoconNat says:
    11 April, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Thepnr, hi, hope you are well.

I was hoping you could clarify something that you said.

Here you say β€œa second from the SNP handed to my wife as she came home from walking the dog”.

Then you go on to say; β€œThe SNP leaflet was delivered by MSP for Angus South, Graeme Dey who was by himself. As I live in a bit of an off the beaten track location it was a pleasant surprise”.

When you say it was a β€œpleasant surprise”, do you mean for you? I can only assume that if he handed it to your wife, you must mean it was a pleasant surprise for her?

It’s interesting that you also say you live in a remote β€œoff the beaten track location”. Most women I know in a situation like that wouldn’t be pleasantly surprised, they’d be somewhere between alarmed and worried that a man was lurking about like that.

Furthermore, it sounds like you have some familiarity with Graeme Dey since you know his name. Or do you? Again, since it was your wife who intercepted him, we must assume that she told you it was Graeme Dey who delivered the leaflet which means she has familiarity with him.

So, to sum up, your wife was at home by herself in a remote location β€” we haven’t any suggestion of where you were at this time or what you were doing β€” when a man familiar to her by the name of Graeme Dey visited. The facts as we know them indicate that he left a leaflet.

So far so straight forward. A couple of question though;

1) How long did Graeme Dey spend with your wife? Did they have tea or chat? Any info would be appreciated.

2) Assuming you were sincere when you said you hoped his β€œefforts pay off”, don’t you think it was a a bit of a wasted journey? The time he spent visiting your wife at a remote location could surely have been invested more fruitfully elsewhere, perhaps helping to convert wavers, for example.

Moreover, since Graeme was familiar to your wife, as appears to be the case, might we assume that she was also familiar to him and that the familiarity wasn’t just one way?

This isn’t 100% certain and I don’t wish to jump to conclusions, but if it was in fact the case that familiarity was in both directions, might we further assume that he probably knew that you and your wife were quite staunch SNP supporters and, therefore, this visit to a remote area was even more questionable and of the variety that you might call an indulgence of sorts?

Thanks in advance.

257. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Yes, I remember it very well – probably in the top ten most outrageous comments ever posted here (well, among those we get to see).
    Was he bagged for that?

258. Ian Brotherhood

@Jet123 –

Jet?

You there?

Ach well, while we’re waiting for you to come back, ‘I Saw This And It Reminded Me Of You’!!!

And now I can see where you got your handle! Why did no-one think of that before? Genius!

Wings, ‘Jet’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HFjTN11CnNY

259. Tinto Chiel

I remember that troll, and said at the time how threatening and creepy it was.

There have been so many in recent years: alcedo atthis (remember that one?), Waldo, Aldo, Angostura Bittaz (my version), SD himself, and one, I believe, just on here recently in a new mutation.

As some Wingers have come onto O/T because of MT disruption, I think we’re going to see more craploa of this type on here too.

My solution: more music!

πŸ˜›

260. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

If they all start coming on here, we shift to the auld Quarantine…

…and if they come on there?

FFS, it could yet become a Benny Hill sketch.

261. carjamtic

Tinto

Many ago maybe even 40/50,the manky ones,were discussing the political goings on in the world…Greece,Mexico….and lost empires like the Aztecs etc….cos that what we were taught and we were familiar with it.

Never about Scotland,when it was mentioned it was always from a skewed UK/GB point of view,in terms of facts,Scotland’s history/culture always underplayed….nothing to see here etc.

His Nibs and The Muscular Arms,were two of the many local hostelries where these discussions were had.Speed forward to today….and for different reasons we are talking about Greece,Mexico…..Scotland again.

The big difference is we have now educated ourselves about our own country,but we are not angry or enraged because we ken fine,justice will done….via the ballot box,peacefully,every man/woman,every dog in the street knows Indy is coming and those that threaten the democratic process,by foul means,or other (or threats of violence) deserve all the contempt we can muster.

Mockery,peaceful protests etc…..but most of all at the ballot box.,the Yoons know they have been rumbled and are not happy…..(grumpy and dopey ?).

Peace and Mankiness Amigo.

(Couldnae find shut yer geggy in google translate,but working on it)

πŸ˜‰

262. Tinto Chiel

“FFS, it could yet become a Benny Hill sketch.”

Ian, can I run just behind the nurse?

“The big difference is we have now educated ourselves about our own country.”

I think many on here have done that, carjamtic.

I got a good education at my local primary and secondary schools, but learned nothing about my country’s history or languages.

At Yooni, part of my degree was French and one day I was researching Andre Gide for an essay. I then came upon his “rave review” of James Hogg’s “Confessions of A Justified Sinner” . What, a Scot writing a novel which a French master thought a psychological masterpiece? Hogg? never heard of him. And he was just a shepherd? Did not compute…..

I began to read it and was amazed: a brilliant, subtle and sophisticated novel set in Scotland, much of it written in Scots, and far superior imo to much mainstream 19th century English Literature. But you wouldn’t hear of it on Pravdasound4 or Melvyn Bragg’s adenoidal prog. very often.

And so I read all of his work, and then Galt and Scott (Scots novels onywise).

And then a visit to Skye later (Gaelic and Clearances heavy) that same year put me on my twin-track voyage to an understanding of our Scottish heritage.

We all have our scales-from-the-eyes moment, and they are irrevocable.

Don’t think The Tank Straddler can do much about that, thankfully.

#Mankyiscool.

263. Stoker

TC & Co

As the main thread now gets infected by direct links to BUM rags i’ll leave you with a thought or two for contemplation.

(1): Some folk have been known to create more than one ID. This would come in very handy for increasing ones popularity. It’s not beyond most peoples capabilities to invent another ‘character’ who always seems to be nasty and attacking the nice and popular character.

(2): Some people also create other characters to carry out acts of revenge, possibly inspired by events long long ago but largely forgotten by most, including the intended target(s). (BTW, this one is not specifically a reference to ‘Jet’).

(3): There are many more reasons why characters appear and they’re not usually The CIA, KGB, MI5 or any other daft suggestion. But i’m sure yous are already aware of these, right?
    πŸ˜‰

Goodnight troops!

Elkie Brooks – No more the fool 1987
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tkmje83iCA0

264. yesindyref2

I always wanted to go in the Diggers and ask for a pint of lager, but the beer was too good πŸ™

265. Tinto Chiel

I hadn’t thought of the possible complications of identity on here, Stoker, but I see what you mean now. In the past I thought it all down to The Watchers.

Think we’ll need more of this kind of thing in future on here, then:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k1Qnt5bx1OI

266. yesindyref2

McAskill’s been interesting in H, latest article now (Davidson) “done remarkably well in giving the party a vastly different profile” … “she was supportive both of EU nationals and the plight of migrants” … “However” … “she had better speak out”.

A bit of SNP bad over the weeks to get the interest and different readership, then screws on maybe. He was very close to Alex. Personally I don’t think we should give up on the conservative voters voting YES. It’s a big block of voters. #hugatory!

267. Chick McGregor

Sheesh has OT become mainstreet?

Ian B 2:02 am
    I see where you are coming from with Tubular Bells but I think he is possibly more reminiscent of Satie.

268. Chick McGregor

Elkie Brooks, was one of my favourite female singers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v2yYLdigGbo

Another is Buffy St Marie.

This one always breaks me up but I am neber sure if it is because what happened to the Native Americans or what might happen to my own people.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LlrOaJFf6tg

269. yesindyref2

Spelt her name wrong, never mind

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w4mNDS5rIRU

270. Chick McGregor

As its nae lang syne Burn’s day an St Valentine’s wis jist yestreen, anither lassie whaes voice melts my soul and whae wis sae sairly taen fae us far tae sune.
    Fur a the lassies.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5e0D_B0tdc0

271. Cactus

Aweright bro.

Liking your 00:53hrs am

Nice Satie hammers, hadn’t heard.

Ludo’s timing and sequentiality is unique.

Try this one.. Una Mattina:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cg_dRAmSzvA

When ye listen, that numb feeling / sensation you’re feeling at the back of your neck is called endorphin’s (the good feel factor.)

Enjoy πŸ™‚

Mon the ~IB’s~

272. Chick McGregor

Cactus,

Ahm nay sayin thon boy’s nau guid, jings naw, he’s gie, gie, guid. A Ah wis sayin wis a thocht he wis mair like Satie than TB.

Fur yon kinna myazic ye hiv tae hae a ‘flow rest’ fur the listener, he dis it way pauses, Satie did it wi off key notes.

Baith are aricht.

Ah’ll certaintly be listenin tae mai of Mr Einaudi, hiv nae doot.

273. Cactus

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

274. Tinto Chiel

Don’t know why…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=foTwWg1CyWU

275. yesindyref2

Oh well, in that case

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SmW17QvUhRM

276. Tinto Chiel

Poor Syd…

277. Tinto Chiel

Chic: re Soldier Blue.

A couple of my classmates got in under age to watch it at the time and wished they hadn’t. They came out shocked and disgusted, quite a feat for kids weaned on the horrors of those American Civil War bubble-gum cards of the time. Even the heavily-censored clips I saw on TV had a bad effect on me and hearing the music brings back a feeling of dread.

It must have been like that after Culloden. Ironically, as Christopher Duffy makes clear in “The ’45”, the self discipline of the Jacobite army in England had been astonishingly good.

I know who the “savages” were.

278. Smallaxe

Aye Tinto, Poor Syd right enough!

CAUTION! This will make the Blood run oot yer Speakers.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-1X1THe0u7c
    DANGER! You Have Been Warned!
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

279. Tinto Chiel

That was the most depraved, deviant, mind-mashing filth I’ve ever heard, Smallaxe. What kind of a person are you?

No! Not Tiny Bubbles! No!

Do it to Julia! Do it to Julia!

280. carjamtic

smallaxe

Bet taken….I will
    see your sydney and raise you a straamash….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mFkYH3PTuHM

281. Smallaxe

carjamtic:

See your straamash…and will raise you a Chatsbie.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L1nEcMImQN4

If you Laugh, the bet is off!

282. carjamtic

smallaxe,that was good….drags ball near corner flag,looking for draw.

πŸ˜‰

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dMHDBL7CNA4

283. carjamtic

Smallaxe

I concede,victory is yours…..just read that K Everett was a Tory and supporter of Thatcher!.

#WalkofShame

πŸ™

284. Smallaxe

carjamtic:

Naw it wis a Draw!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FqOh4z2ASdk
    And remember his mate asked Scotland.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JtqF0qBqzZo

And a we guy wi’ a fag in his mooth told Maggie May et.al.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5YnvUX9aU6Q
    Draw?

Peace Always/ Twice. Put one up ^ where I MISSED! ta

285. Smallaxe

Tinto: I couldn’t do that to Julia

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I-2t_KDVs-w

Half of what I say is meaningless
    But I say it just to reach you
    Julia, Julia, Julia
    Oceanchild
    Calls me
    So I sing a song of love
    Julia, Julia
    Seashell eyes
    Windy smile
    Calls me
    So I sing a song of love
    Julia

Peace Always

286. Tinto Chiel

Julia?

I’ve had designs on this beautiful woman for years:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n4zRe_wvJw8

287. Smallaxe

Well Tinto, here’s your gig. πŸ˜‰

“Oh, roll up, roll up, see the tattoed lady,
    See the lovely lady with the pictures on her skin.”
    In went the lads and they began to cheer,
    For tattooed on her skin was all the towns of Lancashire.
    There was Adstall Bottom, Manchester City,
    The town hall was standing in the square.
    There was Oldham, Bolton, Ashton-under-Lyne,
    Coal pit up at Bardsley was looking mighty fine,
    When someone shouted, “Daddy, don’t go down the mine!”
    At the Rawtenstall Annual Fair.

Peace Always

288. Smallaxe

Tinto:

I feel that I was teasing you with titbits, you may as well enjoy the real Gig. #Manky Mates.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ICqyS3rTIAg

Peace Always

289. Tinto Chiel

If Nana finds out about this, we’re cooked.

You waft away the smoke and I’ll cause a diversion…

290. Smallaxe

Got the smoke and the diversion covered Tinto, no worries

The smoke will go here
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vfBboBz3yoc

and this wumman talking aboot the VOW will keep Nana distracted
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9QEAtcz3o8

Peace Always

291. Tinto Chiel

I’ve got a bad feeling about this…

292. carjamtic

Tinto

Don’t worry,Vicente will smooth things out….he’s got a volvo.

πŸ˜‰

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dMHDBL7CNA4

293. carjamtic

Take Two….Vicente & his mate Volvo…

294. Smallaxe

Where’s WALLY? he’s fkd off with Vicente in a Volvo. πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fBTT3VPriV8#t=19.051544

Peace Always #Manky

295. carjamtic

Gremlins aboot.

Sorry Tinto,Vicente and his Volvo canny make it….

Good Luck.

296. Smallaxe

Found Them they’re in the pub!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ugNQ5uIN09Q

Peace Always

297. carjamtic

Smallaxe

πŸ™‚

What a pick up….world class.

Nobody says sorry,better or more humbly,than Vicente and Volvo.

#saved

298. Smallaxe

carjamtic:

Did you see that the referee declared a draw at 6;53 pm?
    and the reasons why!

Peace Always

299. CameronB Brodie

I’ve been trying to post the first two of these links as argument against identity/ethnic based voting restriction. The last is to highlight the concept of “connectedness”, in support of tighter residency barriers.

https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/identity-ethics/#IdeNorEth

https://www.scu.edu/ethics/ethics-resources/ethical-decision-making/ethical-relativism/

The ties that bind us: feelings of social connectedness in socio-emotional experiences
    http://www.emeraldinsight.com/doi/abs/10.1108/JCM-03-2016-1749

300. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie, ladies and gentlemen just back from his successful tour on the main thread fighting for freedom.Let’s hear it for CB B people.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l3i9ilHpPko

Peace Always My Friend πŸ™‚

301. CameronB Brodie

Chick McGregor
    You might be interested in Chapter 4. Identity and Normative Ethics, which touches on why utilitarianism requires a reductionist world view in order to be considered as morally justifiable.

https://plato.stanford.edu/entries/identity-ethics/#IdeNorEth

For the reductionist β€œthe simple is the source of the complex”. In other words to explain a complex phenomenon (like human behavior) one needs to β€œreduce” it to its constituent elements. For the holist β€œthe whole is more than the sum of the parts”

http://www.simplypsychology.org/reductionism-holism.html

302. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Ithankyou. πŸ™‚

303. Smallaxe

Cameron, sit down, put your feet up and enjoy this little song Just For You.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nptzg2odTKw
    And every one of us

Peace Always

304. carjamtic

Yes Smallaxe,nice one,a bit scunnered about KE,but what are we to do,sometimes you don’t find out that somebody that made you laugh,cry or sing years ago,was a Tory.

Maybe things weren’t so publicised back then,remember Oasis at no.10 wae Blair,that gave me the boak at the time,I think later they slagged him off,disowned him.

Looks like famous dudes canny win,which is a pity,if they’re honest,they get all,the hate,if they’re not then they ‘cheat’ themselves,ideally they should nail they’re colours to the wall (show some backbone).

As,we all know,it us up to us,to persuade by argument,reasoning and debate.We hate it when the debate is strangled through fear,lies,half truths and propaganda ,I lay the fault firmly at the feet of the MSM and the BBC,they have got to provide balance,otherwise it never changes.

Politicians have a lot to answer for as well,thankfully we will be away from the dark arts culture of Westminster,soon and on the bright side,we have been through all this before,we know how to ‘cope’ and we are a peaceful,honest bunch.

Say cheese,smile Independence is coming.

πŸ™‚

305. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    I see you’re a fan of leeches. πŸ™‚

Macy Gray – Beauty In The World
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0qX7ZsxD3Ik

306. Smallaxe

Even and Especially for our Little Brothers and Sisters for They Shall Inherit our Success there must be no other Outcome for Them

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m2kIYgrGi5o

Peace Always

307. Smallaxe

carjamtic: Agreed

A word from deep inside a bunker in Westminster

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wLemeAGDFwc

Peace Always

308. Smallaxe

Cameron, You also will be presented with the Buckfast Medal of Honour in Freedom Square on Independence Day for your services to Mankind.

THANK U FOR THAT
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A9QfA8v5iVM

Peace Always

309. Smallaxe

Goodnight All, I will hopefully be leaving you in the very capable hands of the Dj in his PJs Mr Smooth Groove himself Michael the Maestro McCabe. Please give him the usual Wings Welcome that we all know comes from the heart (Michael hurry up I’ve held them as long as I can) so give him a big hand…..
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z4CVilB1OkQ
    Michael.. Michael hurry

Peace Always

310. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, carjamtic.

Couldn’t reply last night. On the lam in Ruchazie. Meet me at Wee Jinty’s Falafel and Oyster Bar, by the Inky-Poo shop at 12.

Come alone.

They’ll never take me alive.

Top o’ the world, Ma!

Bwahahahahahahahahahahaha!

311. Smallaxe

Tinto: #Manky Mates.

How can we come alone? There’s two of us.
    Puzzled: Border Patrol.

Be alert: Semper vigilant

The pellet with the poison’s in the vessel with the pestle; the chalice from the palace has the brew that is true!

Peace Always

312. Tinto Chiel

Thanx for that.

Come in single file, obvs!

Staying strong.

C ya sometime.

These oysters and black pudding are great, btw.

313. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: forgot to say, for your eyes only…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TJ9f2rnjB84

Waiting for dusk to make a break up to EK. “There is a willow grows aslant a brook” and I know an old snow-hole up there.

Carry on with border duties.

314. Smallaxe

Tinto:

Watch out for the Pigs when eating those oysters, you’re still on the Lam, do not cast Pearls Before Swine.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4gJG38EJ46g

Peace Always

315. Smallaxe

#Manky Boys:

Climbing into the tree to hang the wreath of weeds on the hanging branches, she and her flowers fell into the gurgling brook..

See what happens when you go Climbing Trees

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ykvGj-vUcCw

Peace Always

316. carjamtic

News just in,on the electric telegraph…

Need to keep this brief,am having Breakfast with a Belgian named Tiffany,she is redefining my views,on the EU.

However she did let slip that the fat cats,has been sucking the dogs toes again and they were heard,discussing their Mutually Assured Destruction plans re: Scotland.

Difficult to be precise,due as a vase of orange brooms (with a massive pair of bloomers),being in the road,but it seems a certain BBC meteorologist has an uncanny resemblance to Kate’s Bush,(in her younger days).

Appreciate it if you co decode this one,oh yes Mother is not very well this morning,got tanked,watching the Aurora Borealis,last night.

#TheMankyMole

317. Tinto Chiel

Hadn’t heard that version of Suzanne before, Smallaxe.

Is that an oboe in the background? Soulfood for my snow-shoe trek to the Roof of Lanarkshire.

Adios.

318. Tinto Chiel

These guys are coming with me as my hauners/back-up.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GemKqzILV4w&list=PLLQTWW-rCr9_S-J-CjO2fRZkhEM43EBKM

Nae fear.

319. Smallaxe

Tinto: # Manky

Your backup may not be capable, use my Heavy’s if need be!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FvXcBKplyeM
    Semper Vigilant/ Semper Fi

Peace Always

320. Smallaxe

carjamtic: #TheMankyMole

Did your Belgian friend happen to mention a certain Teutonic type
    Hauptdarstellerin? and is the sick Mother very old?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XLM8qAm-NrQ

Eyes to the North and Worship none

Peace Always

321. Smallaxe

carjamtic: # Manky

Would Matryoshka be here?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6xckBwPdo1c

Peace Always

322. Stoker

WOS Archives for August 2013

Woman confused about location
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/woman-confused-about-location/

The Parliament Versus The People
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-parliament-versus-the-people/

The gospel truth
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-gospel-truth/

323. Stoker

The same old song
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-same-old-song/

Five-alarm fire
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/five-alarm-fire/

Louder than you can possibly imagine
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/louder-than-you-can-possibly-imagine/

324. Stoker

At war with Eurasia
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/at-war-with-eurasia/

Trading partners
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/trading-partners/

Despatches from hostile territory
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/despatches-from-hostile-territory/

325. CameornB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
    I’ll back you up any time mate, unlike the remote English nationalists cavorting in Westmidden. Some thoughts from Egalitaria.

Empathy, Connectedness and Organisation

Abstract
    In this paper, we conceptually explore the role of empathy as a connectedness organising mechanism. We expand ideas underlying positive organisational scholarship and examine leading-edge studies from neuroscience and quantum physics that give support to our claims. The perspective we propose has profound implications regarding how we organise and how we manage.

First, we argue that empathy enhances connectedness through the unconscious sharing of neuro-pathways that dissolves the barriers between self and other. This sharing encourages the integration of affective and cognitive consciousness which facilitates the ability to find common ground for solution building.

Second, empathy enhances connectedness through altruistic action. In giving to others, feelings of joy and harmony are activated. This in turn allows personal freedom to be enriched and transcendence from the rational ego-self is reduced to develop a more expansive, integrated and enlightened state underlying connectedness.

Finally, empathy enhances connectedness which results in sharing the quantum field of coherence where there is little separation between self and other. This means living beyond selfinterest in a coherent world based upon interdependent wholeness rather than atomization and separation. Empathy allows us to find that state of coherent connectedness.

https://www.jstor.org/stable/41413214?seq=1#page_scan_tab_contents

* line-breaks added.

326. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:
    For idiots like me

EMPATHY VS SYMPATHY
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBNYno2pJ58

THE POWER OF EMPATHY
    TED TALKS
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=baHrcC8B4WM

Peace Always

327. yesindyref2

The toad in the hole is repalced with the bubble and squeak, and BEFORE the roly poly. I repeat, The toad in the hole is repalced with the bubble and squeak, and BEFORE the roly poly. Speeling is vital.

328. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Nice one, or rather two.

Different search criteria mate. I’m not immersed in this stuff, I’m just responding in the manner of my training, to what I perceive as a threat to my being. You should have seen some of the stuff I didn’t post. πŸ™‚

Unbounded rationality: the role of connectedness in right decision-making
    http://ro.uow.edu.au/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1165&context=commpapers

Anticipating and Resisting the Temptation to Behave Unethically
    https://faculty.chicagobooth.edu/ayelet.fishbach/research/Sheldon%20&%20Fishbach%20(2015).pdf

329. Tinto Chiel

Broadsword calling Mankyboy 1: they look my kinda dudes. Thanks, Smallaxe.

Thanks, CameronB. I need all the help I can get. Empathy from the Tories? We know the answer to that. Still ploughing my way through Friere but Nana’s put out a contract on me cause of Sconegate and (bizarrely) Smallaxe’s impure English folk song of last night and I’m currently in a snow ditch on the Lanarkshire/Ayrshire/ Renfrewshire border.

Cartographical note: the three counties actually meet in one remote spot called, locally, Three Places in Nane or Naeplace: metaphysical or wot? Norway/Finland/Russia ain’t got nothing on this.

Memo to carjamtic and Yesindyref2: you are becoming as incoherent as me.

Keep it up. What a relief!

330. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

I was once repalced while speeling and I’ve also been toad in the hole which reduced me to bubble and squeak quite loudly but that was after the roly poly
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zllH86e-DFc
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J6yMYG99CFA

Peace Always

331. yesindyref2

@TC
    Good grief. I don’t believe it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kowfLIRpQaU

332. yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
    Wow, you learn something new every day with music.

Yes, being repalced is VERY – different. But as a banjo player I knew (Catweasel) used to say, don’t knock it till you’ve tried it! Helps to pass the time at sea.

333. Tinto Chiel

Wow! really going down the rabbit-hole now guys.

In which case, I’m sure Smallaxe won’t mind rare footage of us both in the 70s when we entertained the troops at Catterick Camp. Happy days!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VSQjx79dR8s

I was so lovely and pouting then.

Ageing’s a terrible thing…..

334. Brian Doonthetoon

What seems to be missing from this page over the past few hours is any info on the contents of the flagon with the dragon…

335. Smallaxe

Tinto:

And just look at us now, mind you that’s a great Tash that you grew especially for that last Gig

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oNXD-NEoa2M

Peace Always

336. Smallaxe

BDTT:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zIWcCvQNqQ

I fly with leather wings

Peace Always

337. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

When Catweasle sold out he sold out Big Time
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOkxStYSTpw

Speeling his name different was no disguise

Peace Always

338. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

Leeches like those I like to attract, one drink of MY blood and they come under attack!!
    Nice Leech
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NGr3h_gKVOQ

Peace Always

339. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve just posted this link on the “Dumbing It Down For Ruth” page, for Lumilumi. I thought it appropriate to repeat it here, for any Dundonians who remember 1957.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=91PZ2FMCGjc

What I typed to Lumilumi was,
    “BTW: your mention of the lorries reminded me of the Dundee Students’ charity parade from the decades up to the 70s.”

340. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    That’s a song for BLiS___d, that is.

341. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m gonna paste some info here, because it shouldn’t be forgotten.

It comes from my post as Brian Wilson, on 14 February 2009 at 02:32 on this page:-

http://retrodundee.blogspot.co.uk/2009/02/bowling-alley-marketgait.html

I typed,
    “For the annual students’ charity parade in 1977, Pete and I offered the use of PA equipment for the Bell Street float (Bell Street always had one float in the parade of around 30.)

It was decided that the theme of the float would be the TV programme “Happy Days”. I recorded, repeatedly, the theme from “Happy Days” on both sides of a cassette so the song would continually play as the parade moved through the town.

The back of the lorry was kitted out as the cafe from the series, complete with pinball machine from the BA. The usual procedure at the end of the parade was for the floats to go down to the Coup to dump the constructions and stuff off the back. Pete was in the lorry’s cab – I was working that day but joined them as they went up Seagate and along High Street.

On their way back from the Coup to the Dundee Uni Union for the after-parade party, as the lorry turned from Riverside drive into Magdalen Yard Road, the pins holding up the side of the lorry gave way and everybody sitting on it fell onto the road, followed by the pin table.
    One student, Alison Jeffries, was killed and at least two others had serious injuries that kept them in crutches and bandages for months.

This incident resulted in the cessation of the annual students’ charity parade until just recently. What annoys me is that neither on the 25th nor 30th anniversaries of the incident, nor when they started the charities parades again, was the tragedy publicly remembered by either Abertay or Dundee Uni, nor their respective Students’ Associations. Like it never happened.

Those of us who were involved at the time will never forget.”

This April will see the 40th anniversary of that tragedy.

342. Smallaxe

Cameron:

BLiS___d can also have a free drink of MY blood anytime!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mMbGgnCWfuc

Peace Always

343. Tinto Chiel

A very sad tale indeed, Brian.

Good on you for commemorating it.

344. Brian Doonthetoon

“Happy Days” was a tad ironic, iye?

345. Smallaxe

Brian DTT:

Do you never look ^ up the thread, there be Dragons at 7:14.
    πŸ™‚
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Hhun3NtkTw

Peace Always

346. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

I only have time to skim through the YouTube links so, to save time, I will offer a simple graphic.

https://www.magicmadhouse.co.uk/articles/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/Here-be-dragons.jpg

347. Smallaxe

Brian DTT:

The song that I left for you is One of the most amazing Afro Funk albums ever!
    Rare funk & Avant- Garde soul from a seven years old kid singer featuring best of French and Cameroonian musicians, recorded in Paris in 1977.
    The album contains two nicely dramatic tracks.
    β€œLook Up in the sky” ( Negro nature) is a stretched funk groove with psyche synth by Michel Morose, bubbling bassline by the great Victor Edimo, the famous Toto Guillaume on guitar, and a brilliant poetic song by Francis the great who at that time studied in Menilmontant (Paris).
    β€œRavissante Baby” ( Negro Phasing) is a long hypnotic funky soukous track with a tremendous lead guitar with a long spoken word and soulful kid vocal about the beauty of nature.
    Originally produced by his father, a great impresario of African artists in Paris during the 70 β€˜s and coordinated by his mother, this album is unique, fresh and out of genre in a way! It’s universal Funk!

Peace Always

348. Tinto Chiel

Liked Capella, I loved Dougie Maclean’s Scots Wha Hae or this wonder:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hudNoXsUj0o

Non-Burns? Freedom Come All Ye for me.

Nothing associated with our 80/90 minute PSBs is acceptable…..

349. Tinto Chiel

Oops! Wrong thread.

350. Smallaxe

Far back in the days of castles and wizards
    There roamed on the Earth gigantic Lizards
    Men called them Dragons and trembled in fear
    And locked up their houses
    As darkness drew near

At night dragons flew
    On wings made of leather
    Causing madness and death
    And rejoicing in Terror

Part of one of my Rhymes but I don’t have the time to write it
    all here.So there!
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

351. yesindyref2

Memory lane, and the people mostly forgotten except by a few of us. Some like Jay Evans got commemorated for a time, with Lyle coming back for the gigs, some like Graham Duncan just slip away, yet they probably all at some time played together, with some like Humblebums being forgotten in itself but Connolly and Rafferty going on to other things, Sandy Denny and her tragic end. Ayee.

Nothing to do with all that

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JuF0WG3wZdo

352. Smallaxe

My thoughts are with you, Brian, a tragic end to what started out as a day of laughter and love enjoyed no doubt by the whole community.

Please remind us here on O/T nearer to the date of this terrible accidental tragedy and we will devote some time for commemoration
    I am sure we shall all show the respect deserved.

My heart is in my words
    Smallaxe
    Peace Always

353. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

I’ve never forgotten…

Onnyhoo, here’s a pic, taken by Pete the Camera, of the Pictish stone, just north of Dundee, which features the usual dragon.

http://web.archive.org/web/20050310155450/http://www.doonthetoon.ukf.net/requests/requests02.htm

354. Smallaxe

Thank you, Brian the link above your post is for you and THOSE!
    Peace Alway My Friend

355. Tinto Chiel

Strangely, my anthem post on MT didn’t appear. it’s a plot, ah tell ye.

A great picture, Brian. When I travel around Scotland, I always seek out the local Pictish stones. The one at Tote on Skye even predates the Viking invasions and is a very old Pictish artefact. imagine it standing all those years, as the human tides wash around it.

There is an old place in East Kilbride called Lickprivick. It comes from Old Welsh “llech pryfig”, or ‘serpent stone’. The serpent in Celtic mythology is usually associated with fertility, so it was probably erected to invoke such a quality. EK is high and cold, and the earth generally is sour Lanarkshire clay, so you can see the mental processes at work.

Later, when Gaelic was the local language, St Bride or Brigit was invoked, and a church built in her name. And she is the saint of birth and rebirth.

Spooky, I say.

This snow hole is bloody cold, btw.

Place-names always make sense if you give them time and thought.

356. Tinto Chiel

Wow!

I really killed that thread, didn’t I?

In other news, Donald trump is still a silly sausage…..

357. Tinto Chiel

Trump not trump, obvs.

I leave you groovers with this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tl9xBDPwQc4&list=RDtl9xBDPwQc4#t=40

Dormez bien, mes braves!

358. Chick McGregor

Tinto
    I was still a teenager (just) in 1970 when Soldier Blue came out. So me and my mates Derek and Jimmy were able to watch it legally.

Sorry if that particular clip had more graphic content than those I have selected on previous occasions (I’m sure I have posted YTs of the song here before).

I also remember that by whatever warpage of the UK promotional mindset, every ticket buyer got a free card road map of the UK in a nice plastic folder. WTF ???

Furthermore, I also remember some surprise (back then America and the UK were the unequivocal white hat guys) when I found out that Buffy St Marie’s song over the titles, had been cut out stateside as being un-American.

359. Michael McCabe

I don’t mind at all http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NoweGN8cm5g

360. Chick McGregor

CammyB

Heard a latter day Utilitarian on R4 this week try to argue the case that empathy was merely an obfuscation in ethics, despite the fact that some branches of Utilitarianism, like Situation Ethics, would disagree. He became quite shouty when challenged.

Numbers are only everything to accountants.

Regarding identity, I have my own theories on that, but it is far too late an hour,

361. Michael McCabe

Air- La Femme D’Argent http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NINOxRxze9k Not a traffic warden in sight. Sing along if you like.

362. Michael McCabe

They call me the Breeze. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TlppIdtLw5A

363. Tinto Chiel

“Not a traffic warden in sight”

And hardly a woman. Mebbe NYC (?) wasn’t too safe in them days. Anyone know what city it was?

And was that Mr Oldfield sporting a saltire on his T-shirt?

364. Fred

Morning fellow Manx, good stane Brian, here’s the magnificent Cadboll Stone in Easter Ross,

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hilton-of-Cadboll-stone

365. Tinto Chiel

Yes, that’s a fine stone, Fred.

Mrs TC and I went to see it three years ago. Unfortunately, we did not realise it was a copy and that the original is elsewhere.

As we parked the car at the sea wall, we met an old guy walking his dog and started chatting. I said I had heard the stone was magnificent. Imagine the shock when he said, “Oh, aye, he did a great job. I used to come up here just to watch him at work!”

Bit of a stammygaster, that.

366. Smallaxe

Tinto:

You asked, what city?.

It’s a video
    shot from a streetcar travelling down Market Street in San Francisco in 1905.
    Before the earthquake/fire of 1906 destroyed the area. Remarkable footage of the turn of the century lifestyles
    in California.Made by cleaverb!
    The video is CC no rights reserved.
    You can download video from the
    http://www.archive.org Search for
    ” trip down 1905 ” without quotes.

Ah know ahm’fckn obnoxious at times. At all times, before You say it!
    Alert Reader.urgh.yuk
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

367. Tinto Chiel

Don’t know what happened with the saltire, Smallaxe. I’m a bit red/green deficient but it must be the turps. As for that other old stone: gwoosome, simply gwoosome.

Thanks for clearing up the city mystery. The streets looked a bit too broad for NY. I presume the big building at the end of the track is no longer there.

Am contacting Stu Campbell, requesting he awards you a platinum AR badge.

πŸ˜›

368. Smallaxe

Hi, Tinto, try this, taken in 1906 after the earthquake.

https://archive.org/details/SanFranc1906_2#

Peace Always

369. Tinto Chiel

So Michael’s clip showed Market Street towards the Ferry Building?

The devastation looks terrible and it seems likely a major ‘quake could happen again, anytime. There are other photos of the building with 1927 on it so I presume it was rebuilt or modernised then.

Going to SF in May for a Significant Birthday, so keeping my fingers crossed that all is calm.

370. Smallaxe

Tinto and Everybody, I found this very interesting film and know that a lot of you will be interested. It is not one of my daft posts I promise!

https://archive.org/details/AlfGoesToWork#

Peace Always

Do you think that I should put it on the M/T?

371. Stoker

((((( DUPLICATE ALERT AT 5:50 pm )))))

372. Stoker

Swimming against the tide
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/swimming-against-the-tide/

In colours pink and gold
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/in-colours-pink-and-gold/

The keepers of the gate
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-keepers-of-the-gate/

373. Stoker

RE; My 6:08 pm:

((((( WELL, MAYBE NOT! )))))
    πŸ™‚

374. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: I found the Glasgow footage at the beginning fascinating and very sad at the same time. To see so much poverty in a rich country is very unpleasant. The images reminded me very much of my childhood and brought so many memories back to me.

Since I am not religious, the rest of the film passed me by, I’m afraid.

If you put it on the MT, it would have to be relevant to the thread, otherwise some hair-shirters may comment adversely.

Just MY opinion, mon vieux. What do I know?

375. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    Not for me to say really. I enjoyed it but I’m a weirdo. How’s about sending a link to the Church of Scotland, who are hopefully re-thinking which they care about most, their congregation or the Yoonion.

376. Fred

So you’ve been to Hilton TC? Ma Maw was hingin oot washin in Springburn afore the war n spoke to the new young neighbour up the close & asked her where she came fae, “you would never guess where I come from!” she said & ma Maw said “Hilton!” Took her decades tae get ower it!

@ Smallaxe, some coupon kid, getting that wey masel!

377. Smallaxe

Tinto: I am not religious. (Rastafarian aside)

I am a Humanist, but I thought that you may have, like myself, be interested to see the Govan cemetery dating back to the Druids, the founding of the Iona Community and the place where the ancient Scottish Kings were buried including Macbeth.

I only watched the first 20Mns and then it moves on to the north of England. How much did you watch? my Manky Mate. πŸ™‚
    Quelly Surprize (note the fluent French)

Peace Always

378. Tinto Chiel

Hi, Fred.

Yes, and enjoyed it immensely, but like CameronB, I’m proudly off the beaten track. Doesn’t make you a bad person, as Rod Steiger famously said in “No Way to treat A Lady”.

If you’re ever on Skye, the Tote Stone is worth it. It’s in pretty good nick for an in situ stone and to think Skye was Pictish then, before the Vikings and the arrival of Gaelic, seems to me to emphasise its great age.

My favourite Old Place on Skye is St Maelrubha’s Well at Ashaig, near Upper Breakish. I knew an old Gaelic-speaking lady who cleaned it twice a year of its cresses and ferns just because it represented her heritage. I even helped her once, en route to bringing the cow back from the bull.

Across the wee burn, at the bottom of the bulldozed old airstrip (!) is the rock formation known as St Maelrubha’s Pulpit, where he is supposed to have addressed his flock.

Told you I was weird…

Ever seen Sueno’s Stone? Impressive.

379. Smallaxe

Fred:

You have my sympathy my Manky Mate, I have been lucky enough to retain my devastatingly rugged and innately Noble features.

#SpecSavers # Mirror cleaner.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

380. Tinto Chiel

The first 20 mins. were brilliant, Smallaxe. Govan church yard is astonishing: so many ancient artefacts.

The name, Old Welsh go bhann, “wee hill”, may derive from the mound beside the church, or another in the neighbourhood.

I am a Humanist too and so try to make the most of my short time under the sun. That’s why I enjoy my chats with you and the other Caledonian Brain Trusters on here so much.

I love Iona, but not any from religious conviction. Many years ago an old friend gave me “Iona Past and Present” by A&E Ritchie, essentially a non-religious survey of the island in all its complexity and it’s one of my most treasured books.

The “spirit of the place” has always struck chord with me.

381. Ian Brotherhood

@Nana (5.14) –

Didn’t see your comment there until few mins ago.

Have done as you asked, both on that QT thread and as general Tweets, without comment.

Have a braw weekend good buddy, and regards tae yer man!

πŸ™‚

382. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

A man after my own heart I fully agree, as to linking to any church that’s well outside my humble remit.

I an’I, Mi Church mada Earth Mi nuh need a big show..seen?

Peace Always

383. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe and Co. Did any of you like the tune?

384. CameronB Brodie

Which one Michael?

385. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Apologies, Michael, We were so engrossed seemingly, with the old film rather than the merits of the electronic sound of your musical choice. I did like it and also thought that it gave me the impression of a wider landscape instead of a busy SF street, in saying that it did suit the street scene with the burbling sound throughout sounding faintly like the engines of the traffic.
    Thank you.Sexy boy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A_ulZiob5I0

Peace Always

386. Michael McCabe

Hi Cameron B Yesterday 2:17am Hope you are keeping well. Hopefully see you at the next Edinburgh gig. Whenever that happens.

387. Michael McCabe

When the Ship comes in http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BXJlBGRLLWM

388. Michael McCabe

Alan Price-To Ramona http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MHgeI9XpIPY

389. Michael McCabe

The Black Crowes http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WtMPlY3duz4

390. Michhael McCabe

Bettye Lavette- Most of the Time http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n8Q5Mrokqfc

391. Smallaxe

Some will not weep until the tear gas is upon them washing the dust from their eyes

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-7ktZyll7Lg

Peace Always

392. Smallaxe

Deja vu?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hqSY3mb2TY

I’m young and I’m old
    I’m rich and I’m poor
    I feel like I’ve been on this earth many times before
    Once I was a white Gazelle
    On horse back riding free
    Searching in the darkness for a piece of me

Peace Always

393. Fred

@ Tinto, also a heathen & love Eilan a Cheo. Best ever day in the hills was on Blaven on a roastin day. Sailed into the wee bottle-necked anchorage on Soay with the ruined shark-fishing station, thought we were the only folk in the world till Tex Geddes (sharker) appeared & headed for the shore with the ashes, deid noo along with his adversary Maxwell. Did U see “Cruising with Jane McDonald” last night on 5, nine o clock. Sailin roon Mull of the Cool High Bens, great photography & hersel singing in Fingals Cave was a delight so it wiz. Glenelg Brochs awesome.
    Did the coo appear contented & asked for a fag?

@ Smallaxe, this could be the Humanist Channel kid? was in Govan Old Parish Church for Jimmy Reid’s funeral & meant to go back sometime & see the Hogback Stones inside the church. The Milliband’s were a disgrace that day using the occasion to pose for photo op’s with the workies. Much good it did the bastards! Reid wouldn’t have pished on them.

394. Smallaxe

Fred:

I WOULD have pished on them in Jimmy’s HONOUR! it might have helped to wash the shite’s away.

Peace Always My Friend

395. Smallaxe

“From the very depth of my being, I challenge the right of any man or any group of men, in business or in government, to tell a fellow human being that he or she is expendable.”

Jimmy Reid

Peace Always

396. Tinto Chiel

Michael and Smallaxe: great picks last night. Hadn’t heard the Alan Price version before. Still play the 10cc first album regularly.

Fred:didn’t see that Jane McD prog. Sounds great. The first time I climbed Blaven it was a beautiful clear day and I took many photographs of the Cuillin Ridge. Amazing views from Blaven back to The Saddle on the mainland too.

The coo wasn’t all that bothered at being driven home but the bull wasn’t happy, despite having lots of other “girlfriends”. All I had to hide behind was a scroggy wee hawthorn “tree”. Then on the way back I went straight up to the thighs in one of those peaty sink holes. If I’d been alone I don’t know what would have happened because the suction is pretty strong.

It’s hard work being a pretendy crofter.

Hey, Smallaxe, did you ever hold hands with this young lady?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d0NxhFn0szc

397. Stoker

Smallaxe, TC and possibly others:

Here’s two books i can thoroughly recommend, came across them several years ago whilst doing my family research. Smallaxe in particular would enjoy them i think, due to them covering coal mining history and they contain a lot of poetry by the miners, their families and others.

Black Faces and Tackety Boots
    Pit Props and Ponies

I’ve just discovered she has a third book out which i’ll need to try and get my hands on. If it’s half as good as the other two then it’ll be well worth the purchase.

Coal Mining Fatalities in Hamilton Parish, 1841-1948

BTW, Smallaxe, I really enjoyed the first half of that archive find you posted further upstream at 3:48pm on 17th, good find and thank you.

398. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Thank you, My Friend, I’m glad you enjoyed the film.I will certainly take a look at the books that you have recommended.

Peace Always

399. Smallaxe

Tinto:

I have never held the hand of Baroness Sacher-Masoch, but she has held my heart.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rdtM2YGaJ4k

Peace Always

400. Chick McGregor

Crossword rant.

I hate it when I do not finish the cryptic crossword in The National.

Such was the case yesterday.

A good clue should ideally be challenging, yet have an obviously correct answer once you find it. Not easy for the compiler I know, because I had a go at compiling a crossword for The National and it was just utter, embarrassing shit.

When the answer is so obscure or tenuously linked to the clue that one suspects it may be wrong, I usually put a question mark beside the clue to record my concern and remind me of it when checking the answers later.

Nearly always, the answer is correct anyway.

There are a couple of compilers in particular where there are often such question marks.

Anyhoo, to get back to the point.

Yesterday’s puzzle.

30Ac Provided spinning target for champion.(6)

The obvious answer is ‘RECORD’. I already had the ‘E’ and ‘D’ and if you are already champion then the only targets you have left are records, and records spin, right?

No question mark here.

Unfortunately, that meant the last letter of 21 Dn was an ‘O’ and I could not therefore get the answer.

It turns out the answer to 30Ac was ‘DEFEND’ which meant the last letter of 21 Dn should have been an ‘E’.

But how much more tenuous an answer is that to the clue than ‘RECORD’? Even if you allow that defending what you already have could properly be described as a target where the hey does ‘spinning’ come into it?

BTW I’m fairly certain I would have got the answer to 21 Dn if the ‘E’ had been there instead of the ‘O’ although that answer would have had ‘an obscurity question mark’ as well.

My suspicion is that the compiler originally had an ‘O’ ending answer for 21Dn but then, perhaps discovering the answer was incorrectly spelled, had to change it, which meant changing 21Ac
    to ‘DEFEND’. He or She then put in a new clue for 21D but then failed to amend the clue for 30Ac.

Sad? Moi?

401. Smallaxe

Chick McGregor:

Cheer up Chic πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d9NyLl6VAJQ

Peace Always

402. Smallaxe

Many ways to climb a hill
    You just have to know you will
    Should you even lose a round
    Never let it get you down
    Tell me how you lose a fight
    When you just know you’re right
    I can offer one big clue
    All you have to be is you
    The world is a crossword puzzle to me

Sly Stone

Peace Always

403. Tinto Chiel

Thanks for those titles, Stoker. The males on my mother’s side were all Blantyre miners so I’m sure I would find them interesting, and probably make me feel very angry as well at the living and working conditions…

Chic(k): very frustrating when that happens, though thankfully rare.

Sometimes malt whisky can be effective in such circumstances, if the sun is over the yard-arm.

404. carjamtic

Afternoon,mankies.

Having some trouble posting recently (attachments??), will be giving it a miss for a while,till gremlins sorted, still read every post though, all good, keeping it real.

Smallaxe…obnoxious you ?….come on, remember who we are up against and you’re a β€˜manky vile cybernat’ ….don’t let anyone tell you any different .

;-/

It seems like, the runts are no longer receiving, the normal full protection, of their many (shady) friends, (with their slimy octopus like tentacles) in the media, but still they are always at the wind up, (every time I hear little red tory’s voice, it is like she’s dragging her nails across a blackboard, likewise with the big blue tory, all I can hear is the sound of jack boots, all I can visualise is the butcher’s apron).

Maggots (urban or rural) always used to make me feel a bit queasy as well, but I have overcome that fear, and I’ve learned to understand, they can make very good bait for an angler and yet not really,yclept can also be,not quite moist enough,for the crawling,orange pygmy tory.

Aye,we know it’s just the calm before the storm and right on cue…….here come Maggie May’s mate Tony, now they really are a vision of loveliness…..Mr and Mrs Obnoxious Cnut.

Thanks for listening, am feeling better now.

#VilePost

405. Smallaxe

carjamtic: A Rap for You!

HEY WESTMINSTER!
    YOU TURN OUR WELFARE STATE
    INTO A WARFARE STATE
    YOU SAY YOUR COUNTRY’S BRITAIN
    AND IT’S FUCKING GREAT
    WELL I TELL YOU NOW
    IT’S NOT THAT FUCKING GREAT

XENOPHOBIC ANYPHOBIC
    EUROPHOBIC HATE
    LET’S GO SEE TRUMP
    THE NEW GENERAL CUSTER
    YOU CAN SHOW HIM YOUR BOMBS
    THEY COME BY THE CLUSTER
    YOU SELL THEM TO SAUDI
    THEY DROP THEM IN YEMEN
    PEOPLE DOWN BELOW CAN SAY
    NOTHING BUT AMEN

I COULD GO ON AND ON AND ON
    AND ON
    BUT ALL THAT WE WANT IS FOR OUR SCOTLAND
    TO BE WELL AND TRULY GONE
    GONE FROM THE JACKBOOT
    THAT WE ALL SEE IS COMING
    GONE FROM THE ETON MESS
    THAT LEAVES POOR PEOPLE
    SLUMMING

YEAH YOUR BRITAIN’S FUCKING GREAT
    GREAT AT LEAVING WORKERS
    WITH NO DINNER ON THEIR PLATE
    YOU TOOK AWAY THE MINES
    THE STEELWORKS AND THE TOOLS
    YOU TOOK THE SCOTTISH PEOPLE
    FOR SOME TARTAN WEARING FOOLS

WE’VE TOOK YOUR SHIT FOR CENTURIES
    AND LOOK WHERE THAT HAS LEFT US
    LIKE YOUR USUAL STOLEN COLONIES
    YOU ROBBED US AND BEREFT US
    NO MORE NO MORE WE WILL NOT TAKE IT
    WE WILL GO IT ALONE
    AND WE WILL FUCKING MAKE IT

SO, SEE YOU! WOULD’NT WANT TO BE YOU
    62% AND COUNTING STAYING WITH THE EU

Peace Always

406. Fred

Smallaxe, well done kid! Speaking of tackety boots, a boyhood on Rum “Barefeet & Tackety Boots!” forget the author but he borrowed a rowing boat & the factor evicted the family!

407. Smallaxe

Fred:

My father went barefoot except on Sundays when he was a kid, his father was a preacher in the Closed Brethren. My dad was accused of stealing a donkey and denied it strongly until it was found tied to his bedpost. πŸ™‚
    Some advice he gave me included this gem
    “If you steal a chicken, put feathers in everybody’s bins”

A boyhood on the island of Rhum

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/like/311788679755?lpid=122&chn=ps&adgroupid=39613511478&rlsatarget=pla-279121908361&adtype=pla&poi=&googleloc=9046732&device=c&campaignid=737386489&crdt=0
    #Manky

Peace Always

408. CameronB Brodie

Michael McCabe
    Cheers mate, same back.

409. carjamtic

Smallaxe

Brilliant.

πŸ˜‰

410. CameronB Brodie

Why do you deserve to access your inalienable human rights?

‘Cause you’re so special…
    Just like anybody else.

De Phazz – Something Special
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oldITeTripc

411. Chick McGregor

@smallaxe
    Nice funk, I like a nice bit of funk. Superstition by Stevie Wonder is my fav. but Perth/Dundee outfit, Average White Band is up there as well with a really early funk piece, which could have been a temporary anthem for us Yessers during this ‘interrefnum’ period.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0t4OfCYoVj0

412. Smallaxe

Fred:

It wisnae me, a big boey dun it.Surely, my manky mate, you couldn’t have thought that I would use such profanity online or in any public forum.

Glad you liked it! πŸ™‚

Peace Always #Manky Mates

413. Chick McGregor

@Tinto Chiel
    Extreme crises require extreme measures.

Totally justifiable.

414. Smallaxe

carjamtic: see post above to “Fred”.

Ahm losing the plot a’ th’gither.Sorry, my Friend please accept this little musical gift in Peace.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OW1dpDy4Q4o

Peace Always

415. Smallaxe

Chick McGregor:

Very apt Chic, as you can probably tell I’m trying to “Pick up the Pieces” at this very moment.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pNuCnyjt_gg

Peace Always

416. Smallaxe

Chick:

Sorry wrong link, try this “Funk for your Ass”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mUsn880UWPQ

I said was losing the plot!

Peace Always

417. Stoker

Haud the bus troops, links coming through.

418. Stoker

Yet another Union dividend
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/yet-another-union-dividend/

The beam in your own eye
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-beam-in-your-own-eye/

You spend a fiver, we’ll spend a tenner
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/you-spend-a-fiver-well-spend-a-tenner/

419. carjamtic

Smallaxe

Cool man,just glad we’re on the same side lol….guess you missed the tongue in cheek,wee thingy,done it masel …..off topic is a blast lol.

Peter Green class act.

#MankyMates

πŸ™‚

420. Smallaxe

For, The Donald: Might help him out.

“Swamp Funk”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iyzo8BJyfn4

Peace Always

421. Croompenstein

when I was 17.. it was a very good year

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bhNz6saaE8

422. Chick McGregor

smallaxe

Good stuff, I just barely remember him. Also listened to Maggot Brain. He was in the same league as Hendrix.

423. Smallaxe

carjamtic:

Wee tongue in cheek thingy, seen. I n’I nuh miss much man yuh overstan I?

Peace Always

424. Smallaxe

Chick:

If you like Maggot Brain AND β€œFunk for your Ass” try “Swamp Funk” that I left for “The Donald” up there ^ a bit. Just be careful Chic, Stoker’s got a few buses coming through!

I don’t know, you wait ages for a bus then a load of them come along at the same time…. some people..I..don’t… know!
    πŸ˜‰
    Peace Always

425. DerekM

Thought i would share one of my fav all time songs with you guys πŸ˜‰

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RQJjUbMrt8w

Belly – feed the tree

426. CameronB Brodie

I see David Torrance is determined to prove beyond doubt that he talks out his arse. In what way do the SNP seek to forward a neo-liberal agenda or seek to diminish Scotland’s territorial claim within the UK? The mans a dick.

Jimi Jules ft. Oliver Dollar – Soggy Cereal
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8zfQ0ByZ5Zc

427. CameornB Brodie

seek to diminish Scotland’s territorial claim within the UK

seek to appropriate bits of England, through sneaky, nefarious means… πŸ™‚

428. Smallaxe

DerickM: Hi!

One! of your favourites. We can only play One Derick, I can only play One of mine.I don’t think that I could pick “My Favourite”. But here’s One of them,
    πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=frbb46OP1zo

Peace Always

429. Fred

@ Smallaxe, ma faither used tae extol the runnin aboot in yer “berries!” Some excellent stuff on here the night guys & thanx for the Rum link, a good wee read, the family moved to Castlemilk (pre-scheme days!) where the laird threw the front door open every morning & pished from the terrace! Classy or whit?

430. carjamtic

Smallaxe

Smallaxe just putting this out here,apologises for any unintentional insults by my shit communications.

Believe me man,I am affronted….I throw flowers to you,never stones.

Peace Man

#respect

431. Smallaxe

Now that everyone’s hung themselves after that last Guy that I played. Cheer up!

A likkle bit of Bob yuh wi like it..seen?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5WlCdiU9IzA

Peace Always

432. DerekM

@ smallaxe

Yea i like Alexander,the reason i said one of my fav songs is because i have so many,i have a room full of old vinyl lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=adF3Lc-g5Ac&list=PL5Qk80scoEsIS5x_I8MYbi37QXo5xus4Y

433. Croompenstein

High on a parapet a Scottish piper stands alone..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPwFgPkcmeg

434. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

During the week, when a crust has to be earned, I catch up with the active Wings pages and ‘off-topic’ in snatches throughout the day.

Weekends are slightly different – no need to go out crust earning so the catching up at Wings, Twitter feeds, The National and so on (I am neglecting Facebook) is a tad more relaxed.

Now I mean no disrespect to Wingers who are up with the vampires and can listen to YouTube links as they are posted but when one is catching up next day, to be faced with 14 YouTube links just breaks the space/time continuum. So, unfortunately, I usually skip, unless there is a wee bit of info included, which piques my curiosity.

One such post was Chick McGregor’s of 6.55pm tonight, featuring the Average White Band. I don’t know why but it sent me all a-Googling.

Some quotes and links…

“Saxophonists, Roger Ball & Molly Duncan, were known as the “Dundee Horns” before they went on to become part of the Average White Band in 1972.
    This wasn’t an act in their own right, so to speak, more of an outfit for session work.
    The Dundee Horns tag was actually coined by Scottish rock singer, Maggie Bell, and the duo have been involved in a number of recordings during their pre AWB days.
    One such recording was with a group of well known folk-rockers who got together and called themselves The Bunch, and they released one album titled “Rock On” in 1972.”

The full article is at:-
    http://retrodundee.blogspot.co.uk/2009/03/dundee-on-vinyl-2-dundee-horns-1970.html

And following on from “The Bunch”…
    “There’s a New Orleans-style version of Don’t Be Cruel with Fotheringay’s Trevor Lucas on lead and Sandy Denny returns one more time for lead vocals on Johnny Otis’ Willie and the Hand Jive; both featuring the Dundee Horns, who would eventually become the Average White Band.

I’m quite sure all involved had a fine time revisiting the songs of their youth, but overall the album is only an interesting novelty.”

The full article is here:-
    http://londonyodeller.ca/london/tag/dundee-horns/

This last quote is from one of those “Google Books” links, the book in this instance being “The Scottish World: A Journey Into the Scottish Diaspora”:-
    “The soul charts then were almost exclusively African-American, but AWB made themselves a niche and their success there was quite unique at the time. Some people suggested that the sound was so black that the audience presumed it was made by black men, and it became popular before people realised its purveyors were white. Others asserted that it was the obvious foreignness of their accents which gained them acceptance in African-American culture – they were not identified in any way with the racism which was perceived as tainting ‘Whitey’, the derogatory black term for white American society.

In their shows, the guys always highlighted their Scottish roots, spotlighting the Glasgow Guitars and the Dundee Horns for example within their set. In interviews, they spoke of the links between poor urban communities in Scotland and the ghettos of America, where in both instances people got by in life with a self-effacing, self-deprecating brand of humour. As someone who has always loved black music, it was a thrill to see a huge American audience singing and dancing to their amazing brand of Caledonia soul.”

That’s from:-
    http://tinyurl.com/zn8pbao

Lastly, for Smallaxe, if you’ve stuck to the end…

You may recall I mentioned the book “Take it to the Bridge: Dundee’s Rock and Pop History” some months ago. That book turned up at Google Books in my search. The blurb says that some pages are omitted but there seems to be a fair amount of stuff there.
    If you start at the link below, scroll down gingerly to the “Contents” and try clicking on the links to see what’s there. The first chapter is “The Sixties” and there seems to be a fair amount.

https://books.google.co.uk/books?id=TB0jAwAAQBAJ&printsec=frontcover#v=onepage&q&f=false

435. Smallaxe

One Love Peace Concert: Bob Marley unites Jamaica’s Prime Ministers.

WATCH! The Honourable Robert Nesta Marley Awarded:

1976: Band of the Year (Rolling Stone).
    June 1978: Awarded the Peace Medal of the Third World from the United Nations.[54]
    February 1981: Awarded Jamaica’s third highest honour, the Jamaican Order of Merit.
    March 1994: Inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.
    1999: Album of the Century for Exodus by Time Magazine.
    February 2001: A star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.
    February 2001: Awarded Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award.
    2004: Rolling Stone ranked him No.11 on their list of the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time.[66]
    “One Love” named song of the millennium by BBC.
    Voted as one of the greatest lyricists of all time by a BBC poll.[67]
    2006: A blue plaque was unveiled at his first UK residence in Ridgmount Gardens, London, dedicated to him by Nubian Jak community trust and supported by Her Majesty’s Foreign Office.[68]
    2010: Catch a Fire inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame (Reggae Album).[69]

Watch! A Natural Mystic Flowing, and bringing together two Political leaders who’s Party’s opposing supporters were shooting each other in the streets.

Peace Always
    One Love One People

436. CameronB Brodie

For those whose boat is floated by spatial strategies for European development.

European Spatial Development, the Polycentric EU
    Capital, and Eastern Enlargement

http://repository.brynmawr.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1023&context=cities_pubs

FROM β€˜BLUE BANANA’ TO β€˜RED OCTOPUS’ AND THE DEVELOPMENT OF
    EASTERN AND SOUTHERN EUROPEAN CITIES: WARSAW AND LISBON

http://www.usc.es/economet/journals2/eers/eers1312.pdf

437. Smallaxe

The smell of Ganja must be coming through my speakers πŸ™‚

Peace Always All Ways

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.