Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Usually, a YouTube video has at least one view, by the person uploading it, checking it’s appeared ok.
    If it has zero views, it indicates that the uploader wasn’t really bothered how it looked.

Not a good advert, iye?

2. Ian Brotherhood

@Grouse Beater –

Seeing as you’re in the howff at this ungodly hour, it gives me a chance to ask something I’ve been meaning to sound you out about for a while.

The Christmas Tree files?

I don’t know to what extent you are restricted by having been employed in the Beeb, having to sign OSA etc, but this has been bugging me for a long time. Like many others, I’m a jobbing writer, and, being Glasgow-based for most of my life, spent many years trying to get a toe in Qn Mgt Drive. Almost did it, good few times, but there’s always the nagging suspicion that the ‘file’ has been stamped.

I believe that Michael Rosen, author, secured confirmation that his personnel file had indeed been stamped with that infamous logo, but that was a good while ago. I wonder if they still do it, and whether or not they have a new ‘stamp’ to indicate that the miscreant is of a ‘nationalist’ bent? (A small thistle, perhaps, would be tasteful?)

Curious for any insights.

3. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Indeed.

You’d think they would’ve got their pals and grannies and some neighbours to have a swatch.

Then again, maybe they really don’t care what anyone thinks about their stuff, in which case, fair play to them.

Perhaps, now that they’ve been highlighted in the Off-Topic section of a Scottish Independence-supporting website, they’ll become global. Stranger things have happened.

4. Grouse Beater

Ian

Remember, I’ve been out of the BBC well over a decade (hence I never met Bateman) and so can’t confirm if the tree is still used – a government imposed icon. I’ve dealt with them many times since, of course, as a freelance with a production company.

I suspect the icon as a method of identification got traded for another once Rosen ‘outed’ the practice.

I do know heads of department keep informal black book lists of people ‘inappropriate’ to be commissioned or employed. If your submission fails for some reason, and it could be the most trivial of reasons, your commercial value is pretty well tarnished. Sorry to be so depressing.

Mind you, sensing I was placed on a blacklist I determined to fool the BBC. I used a pseudonym and refused to meet the BBC producer on the basis I am incapable of travelling distances, doing all my communication by e-mail and phone. I was given 5 new commissions.

Might resort to the same ruse for this female-driven television play I have smouldering away. 😉

5. Ian Brotherhood

@Grouse Beater –

Cheers for response, and please don’t apologise – nothing ‘depressing’ there for anyone who was aware of the reality. It merely helps confirm what we knew all along, and anyone who tries to raise the old ‘tin-foil hat’ canard can just GTF.

The BBC is a rank rotten organisation, and the people of Scotland do not need it.

6. Michael McCabe

A lot of People have done this Song. This is my Favourite Version. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c90w2rcQ9QY&feature=player_detailpage

7. Cactus

G’dmorning nightshifters, cheers for Sunday nights music and entertainment.. here’s a song by another Scottish band that’ll get your Monday going.. try playing this on the bus/train when you’re heading to work 🙂

BBB by N
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SU14_6Ekq9g

New page award goes to Michael, congrats dude and
    Welcome to off-topic Page 25 y’everybuddy!

8. Michael McCabe

@ Cactus That was a Great Track. Cheers.

9. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Further on ‘Drunk In The House Of Lords’.

If you click on ‘more info’ underneath the video, you find “Auto-generated by YouTube” and the uploader is named as “Various Artists – Topic”.

If you look at the list of videos to the right of the video, there are others by “Various Artists – Topic” with either one view or no views.

The question is, why is YouTube auto-generating uploads? Someone should explore this further; I can’t be @®$€d!

10. Brian Doonthetoon

I see we’re back to being returned to the previous page when we submit a comment…

11. Chic McGregor

The other day standing in the garden in bright sunshine when a quite heavy shower started, I was reminded of this oldie.

Not one of Fogerty’s most melodic efforts (he wrote a LOT of great tunes, up there with the very best of them) but it has something less definable about it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TS9_ipu9GKw

12. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Hmm, curious. I hadn’t heard of that before.

I suspect if I was ever to be in a position to submit something to the BBC, my own file would probably have a few “undesirable” stamps on it.
    (In fact it would probably end up looking like a children’s sketch book with all the little pictures all over it!)

I know if I ever publish anything, I’ll be using a pseudonym, as I really really hate my own name.

Maybe you should try using one of your own.

Might I suggest “John Knighthood”? A good “British Sounding”(tm) name they can’t possibly turn down! 😀

13. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Chic.

The Bay City Rollers used to do that CCR song, along with “Hey Tonight”, also from CCR’s ‘Pendulum’ album.

14. Chic McGregor

Aye Brian, a few have covered that one including Rod Feart.

Really liked their stuff back in the 60’s. Always popular with bands at the dancin.

Here is a less popular one which for me was the first real example of heavy rock, a kind of proto metal.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pAVhKjsImeI

15. Jim Thomson

Stuck here watching the Westminster voting shenanigans.

Made me think of this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=akgNzeMiXTY

16. Brian Doonthetoon

You’ll have to excuse me for taking ‘off-topic’ off topic with this post.

I’m sticking it here (I did think about Quarantine but decided here was appropriate) to save sticking it on one of the main pages. It’s for Grouse Beater, yesindyref2 and Robert Peffers.

All the typing about Scottish involvement in polar exploration leads me to flag up the link below. If you check it out, you’ll find that I have provided further links in the text. And other contributors have added padding.

http://dundee3js.freeforums.org/the-balaena-t9.html|

And I’ll even provide an appropriate music video:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bGOw7em2LQw

17. Grouse Beater

Brian: Scottish involvement in polar exploration

Pure coincidence (and perfect timing) my topic is all over the MSM tabloids today – I began my research months ago, got intense three weeks ago, zapped out the essay Saturday overnight, refining it Sunday morning.

Prescient, or what? 🙂

18. Grouse Beater

Gawd, I hate midnight!

Something to do with losing daylight and facing another morning rise before yesterday’s work still before me is complete. However, for some mysterious reason once it’s 1am I ease out of the blues.

19. Michael McCabe

If at first we don’t succeed Lets. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2t2nM0hCnjM&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die.

20. Paula Rose

Who’s going to Glasgow on Saturday and can do a detour to Brechin?

21. Paula Rose

Ooh just posted that and went back in time!

22. X_Sticks

@paula

Very sorry I won’t be able to give you a ride this Saturday even if you did wear the heels and offer those delicious strokes. I’ll be winging off to the land of freedom and democracy (no, not London, the yooessaa) early Sunday 🙁

Nae back ’til next weekend. Bummer.

23. Paula Rose

X_Sticky – does that mean we will be graced by your presence in Helen’s burgie?

24. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hiya, more generally Paula, who’s all going to be in the square on Saturday?

I am 😉

25. X_Sticks

@Paula

Nope, not going to make it. Should be passing by at 36,00ft around 06:30 on Sat. 🙁

Watch out for golden showers around then 😉

26. Brian Doonthetoon

Pete the Camera & yours truly onnyhoo…

27. Brian Doonthetoon

And, I understand, a minibus from Dundee.

28. Brian Doonthetoon

So, for everyone travelling to Glasgow on Saturday:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0zHh8xs6CbI

29. Oneironaut

If it’s the STUC rally on the 20th everyone is talking about, then I’ll be going along there with the Ayrshire SSP crew.

Either be spending the day attached to one side of a banner, or doing my unofficial photographer bit (maybe both) 🙂

Might see you all there! 😀

30. Chic McGregor

@Brian

One of my favourite bands from the 60’s, plus I get to continue the rain theme with this early influential, if unacknowledged, classic.
    At the time Hendrix said it was the best release of 1967.
    It has an incredibly rich underbelly due to the highly unusual usage of two base guitars. A few months later Status Quo had their first UK hit with Matchstick Men which, while by no means a cover, had a similar look, feel and vibe.
    Dean Ford is another songwriter who is not as well known as he should be.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UCn61DuBrgo

31. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Chic.

You posted that link almost exactly a year ago.
    We had a blether about Marmalade and The Poets and so on, at the time. (7-8th June 2014)

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-4/#comment-1587953

Believe it or no’, that’s on Page 4 of ‘off-topic’ -we’re now on Page 26!

So here’s a couple for you, from 1967ish…

“The Left Banke is an American baroque pop rock band that formed in New York City in 1965, disbanded in 1969, reformed in 2011 and again in 2015, with original lead singer Steve Martin Caro. They are best remembered for their two US hit singles, “Walk Away Renée” and “Pretty Ballerina”. The band often utilized what the music press referred to as “baroque” string arrangements, which led to their music being variously termed as “Bach-rock”, “baroque rock”, or “baroque ‘n’ roll””

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SqAh1dQu_pg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8rzeGqqethE

32. Paula Rose

Page 26 of the world’s greatest off-topic page ever! Who would of thought that from a wee acorn such a mighty oak would grow?

33. Ian Brotherhood

Best as I can make out, this was recorded on Sunday, in Dublin, as part of Bloomsday celebrations.

On Independence Day we’ll all, as if by magic, remember how to dance like this dude:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tZLFIDdeFJk

34. Paula Rose

Darling – you were dancing like that at the last Wings thingie – don’t you remember?

35. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I do remember, but I don’t know how I did it. Mind you, that eighth pint of Guinness tasted a bit dodgy – I hope you didn’t slip anything in it.

36. Thepnr

Currently stranded in NE of England, I was going to attend on Saturday with my wife, her friend and Paula, but now personally cant make it due to work.

For various reasons even though my wife and her friend will still be going, Paula has been left without transport from Brechin, seems like though if she can make it to Dundee there might be a bus.

It’s my fault so if anyone could lend a hand to make sure Cinderella gets to the ball, please let her know.

37. Paula Rose

1 Pumpkin – check

Some mice – check

Fairy Godmother – glance around…

38. Gillian_Ruglonian

I just got a message saying that a perk was winging its way to me!!

39. Kelpie

Gillian,

Me too!

40. X_Sticks

@Gillian & Kelpie

Got my notification too!

“The Wings Over Scotland Dispatch Team”

Makes it sound almost organised 🙂

41. Chic McGregor

Thanks for the links Brian, never heard of them.
    Of course I’m familiar with the 4 Tops version of the first track but never heard the second one.

SOS about repeating that link. Too many posts, they become a blur.

42. majestic12

I think this is so important that it needs to be spread widely. I know off-topic is usually a bit light – hearted. This is anything but, but Scotland, whether independent or not needs to know what is going on internationally,especially as we are still part of the UK and therefore complicit in this murderous madness. I hope the link comes through ok.

http://levantreport.com/2015/05/19/2012-defense-intelligence-agency-document-west-will-facilitate-rise-of-islamic-state-in-order-to-isolate-the-syrian-regime/

43. Ian Brotherhood

@majestic12 (7.26) –

Cheers for that link.

It’s interesting that you chose to post it here, in ‘off-topic’. From what I can gather, BBC Question Time tonight touched on a lot of the issues which these documents allude to, directly or otherwise, so it’s certainly ‘topical’.

But that’s where the old chestnut about ‘self-censorship’ comes in – the whole concept of interconnectedness suddenly falls apart when any ‘off-message’ elements are introduced. That’s why anything smacking of conspiracy-theory, state-sponsorship of ‘terrorism’ etc. is a real spanner in the proverbials.

And this place isn’t immune – there are some very talented spooks/trolls who swiftly pounce on anyone daring to raise such matters in what they ‘claim’ as sacrosanct indyref campaigning territory. Alex Salmond challenged those people this evening by pointing out that the ‘boat-people’ problem in the Mediterranean has been caused, at least in part, by the policies of previous UK governments. That’s probably about as radical a statement as it’s possible to make in the current climate, and he deserves great credit for saying it.

But let’s see what happens to him tomorrow – Salmond knows precisely what’s he’s doing, and his comments are calibrated to elicit a precise response. The failure of his critics to behave otherwise will only serve to prove how desperate they’ve become.

(P.S. Gut-feeling is…some Steve Bell effort involving ‘Haggis’ Salmond surrounded by hundreds of grateful, smaller, brown puddings.)

44. Michael McCabe

The Sensational Alex Harvey Band. Framed (Live) 1974 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YRbfFZnJZYQ&feature=player_detailpage

45. majestic12

Ian Brotherhood@12.59am

I posted the link here because it was not related to any of the threads and I didn’t want to get a bollocking from Stu. Didn’t know where else to put it. Topical it is, but that’s not the same as on-topic.

Our complicity in everything from 9/11 onwards is a field of great interest to me, and something very close to home. I am really pleased that Alex alluded on QT to our involvement in creating the current chaos in the Med , but that is very far from saying we did it deliberately and are still fostering destabilisation in the Middle East for geopolitical advantage, mostly but not completely with the intention of lessening Russian and Chinese influence in the area. It’s a hugely complex issue and as long as we are part of the UK and sending our Scottish troops and other operatives into these areas, then I believe Scottish people have a right to know what is being done in their name.

It’s hard to get such information disseminated, believe me, I know, because it is so utterly awful that most people believe it must be “conspiracy theory”. I choose this particular link because it is from a respected source and the documents bona fide declassified papers sought through FoI and through the American courts.

And yes, I am aware of the type of people monitoring sites like this. I have had past experience in this area. I couldn’t give a flying f**k, to be honest. If even just a few people read the links I have posted, then I’m happy. Yes, I believe passionately in Scottish independence but I’m also very much an internationalist. The lies we are choking on in the MSM about Scotland sometimes, for me at least, pale into not insignificance but limited importance when confronted with the global lies that are ruining millions of lives. If we want to stand on the world stage as a free country of honesty and integrity then we need to know what we are confronting.

I sincerely hope that one of the first acts of an independent Scotland is the re-opening of the Lockerbie case. It will show the world what we are made of. Or am I just a hopeless idealist?

Thanks, Ian, for responding to my post.

46. Michael McCabe

Not bad Entertainment for a railway Station. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y0nDhQEIdSQ&feature=player_detailpage Getting tired. Night all.

47. Paula Rose

@ majestic 12 – we do heavy-hearted here as well, thanks for the link – very timely for a chat I was having elsewhere.

48. cearc

majestic 12,

Thanks very much for that. Nice to have more material on IS being a USUK backed and promoted creation.

It would be well worth putting in the main threads. ‘Perfidious Alba’ is never off-topic. Stu just (rightly) objects to different topics being raised near the beginnings of threads.

49. CameronB Brodie

majestic12
    I’m glad there is another voice to have joined us, who is aware of the UK’s involvement in promoting international terrorism.

Waves to GCHQ.

50. CameronB Brodie

Some history (from an Anglo/American perspective), regarding the “arc of instability”. Contrary to popular belief, Zbigniew Brzezinski didn’t devise the plan to radicalise the Islamic states along Russia’s southern border. Apparently, it was sold to him by the British spook Bernard Lewis, and appears to be a continuation of the Great Game, the objective being the conquest of central Asia.

https://www.foreignaffairs.com/articles/russian-federation/1979-03-01/arc-crisis-its-central-sector

Funny how Foriegn Affairs failed to mention Opperation Cyclone.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Operation_Cyclone

Please excuse the occasional typo. Thierry isn’t writing in his native tongue.

The “Clash of Civilizations”
    http://www.voltairenet.org/article30037.html

51. majestic12

Thanks folks. It’s heartening to know I’m not a lone “loony” on a hopeless crusade to open people’s eyes to venality on such a huge scale that it’s mind-boggling.

The aphorism that the bigger the lie the easier it is to sell very much pertains in regards to all things going down in the Maghreb and the Middle East.

To all these politicians and journalists who sit wringing their hands wondering how we stop the radicalisation process of young people all round the world, and stop them running off to join Daesh in Syria, here’s the answer. Tell them the truth. The Muslim Brotherhood (initially financed by the British Foreign and Commomwealth Office), the Taliban, al-Qaeda, numerous other offshoots and latterly IS are all tools of Western hegemony. When you go and fight for Allah, indeed give up your life for Him, you are actually fighting for the West, and have fallen right into the carefully laid trap. That would stop recruitment stone dead.

But we can’t be having that, can we? Bashar al Assad and Iran must remain evil and demonic. So too Russia. When I heard Nicola offering her support for American policy in Ukraine and Syria, I felt physically sick. I can only hope it was through unpalatable expedience, rather than conviction.

It might be an idea if we had another platform on this site, other than off-topic, where such a discussion could continue. Not sure Stu would approve, though. It’s pretty much not Scottish politics, which is Wings raison d’etre.

52. red sunset

@majestic12

Thanks for putting up that link. I’ve been saying the same for years, the US wanted to destroy all the Arab powers in that region, and have been so cack handed about it. But it really annoys me that the UK and Europe have been involved in this game too. It’s no way to a peaceful world, “violence begets violence”, but they’re so up their own bank accounts they can’t see the dangers.

53. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi majestic12.

Welcome the playground that is ‘off-topic’. If you want to explore, you could always go to the location behind the bike sheds, which is for the hardier souls.

“If people really can’t behave in other comment threads and insist on derailing them with irrelevant and disruptive posts, as a last resort the comments in question will be moved here. People are also free to use it for general off-topic chat.”

So, scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on “Quarantine” in the left corner.

————————————————

Hi Chic.

It’s a long story, why I’m discovering stuff from the late 60s, that generally comes under the ‘sike-pop’ moniker, and can be kindly described as ‘obscure’, but I won’t bore you with it tonight.

Here’s a decent one for you:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TzoBrw44ypo

It gets interesting from 1’55” onwards…

They were managed by Brian Epstein. You can read a bio here:-

http://www.45cat.com/biography/sun-dragon

54. Paula Rose

Cannot bear the idea of not being with you all tomorrow – so have set up an indie wotsit gogo to crowd fund my chartering of a Lear jet from Brechin airfield to Prestwick- please donate at RavishingBlondNeedsALift thingie – does that work?

55. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

If you wear the tartan heels and the crotchless balaclava, you may be able to creep onto this bus…

Bus will be leaving from unite office blackness road Dundee @ 9.30am Saturday.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Support-Ninewells-Porters/452299284924508?fref=nf

56. Paula Rose

Lear jet halfway funded already Bdtt – and onboard comfort stuff. Strutting onboard – leaves Brechin airfield at 11 am.

57. Jim Thomson

and a wee digression .. (is that possible in O/T?)

This makes me think of those awfy nice tory folks in wastemonster.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FjTB6EG3xGo

58. Brian Doonthetoon

Lear Jet? Are you sure that you believe what your travel agent is telling you?

From Brechin Airfield, I would have expected a biplane or triplane (less its crop-dusting equipment) and probably landing along St Vincent Place, rather than Prestwick.

Isn’t Prestwick to Glasgow rather a long way to hobble in your heels? Or, will you be wearing boots?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbyAZQ45uww

59. Brian Doonthetoon

That last link I gave reminded me me of this sort of stuff…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C7faHPGHk7E

60. Paula Rose

Rev Stu is sending the one we paid for.

61. Paula Rose

I will be there darlings – be there or be square. Darlings don’t worry I’m bringing my own barstool. (Ronnie Anderson honey – you are coming dearest?)

62. Brian Doonthetoon

Oh, that’ll be the Wings then?

From Brechin? And you believe?

Ah preach ma dear friends, you are about to receive…

/www.youtube.com/watch?v=XWN65nAkk20

63. Brian Doonthetoon

This could work better…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XWN65nAkk20

64. Brian Doonthetoon

CU 2Morrow, Paula.

8=)

65. Ian Brotherhood

If Brechin does ever get its own airport, we should petition to have it named ‘Paula Rose International’.

The Motors, ‘Airport’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=liH-uW2iymk

66. ronnie anderson

Wings banner under Sir Walter Scott column , thats the tall wan in the middle of the Square

Hi Paula see you tomorrow.

67. Paula Rose

The only thing Brechin lacks is an Ian Brotherhood – sob, distraught and grief- stricken.

68. Paula Rose

Big huggy lovely man – ronnie anderson strokes and kisses xx

69. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I may visit one day, if a donkey and suitable quantities of palm leaves can be secured (that’ll give me time to grow a messianic beard!).

70. Paula Rose

@ Ian B – spankie time.

71. Ian Brotherhood

@majestic12 –

It’s heartening to see you got such a positive response to your comment yesterday.

Fact is, we have broached the heavier stuff before and it all got very nasty. Not so much here, in O/T, but back in the day when ‘Quarantine’ was the only option to the normal threads.

So many folk are terrified of even listening to certain topics being aired, it’s quite incredible – I can’t locate the precise quote, but I’m sure it was Arthur Miller who said something like this: ‘the very idea that The State can brutalise its own people is so horrific that it must be internalised and denied.’

We’ve had examples of that happening here, and a tacit consensus appears to have developed whereby certain topics simply are not addressed. If I felt strongly enough about that, on principle, I wouldn’t comment here at all, but I suppose I must be ‘unprincipled’ enough to hope that, eventually, when common sense prevails, such material will be up for discussion.

In any event, we are where we are – if, for example, some folk can’t handle the fact that all our understanding of science must be (at least temporarily) suspended in order to ‘explain’ what happened in particular terrorist spectaculars, they must also accept the fact that they themselves are being castigated as potential terrorists/’the enemy within’ etc etc for even daring to express a democratic will to be free of Westminster rule.

We’re down the rabbit-hole here, and the only feasible way is ‘out’. But how to do it?…

72. Bob Sinclair

Looking forward to tomorrow & catching up with all my wings buddies, those I’ve met before & those I’ve still to meet.

73. Paula Rose

Ian B dear – you are the only lovely winger not to have visited Brechin even Will Podmore made the pilgrimage xx

74. Paula Rose

Back on Off-topic, toenails, cerise or turquoise?

75. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Will Podmore went to Brechin?

Cor blimey…

Something about the syllables there…

The Charlie Daniels Band, ‘The Devil Went Down To Georgia’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FgvfRSzmMoU

76. Paula Rose

O/T exists for post-punk preambulations and serious discourse, often at he same time xx

77. Oneironaut

Sometimes, I wonder…
    “Why oh why didn’t I take the BLUE pill?”

Must have been that lingering scent of denial. The red one had a nice hint of strawberry and freedom in it 🙂

78. CameronB Brodie

Macy Skipper – Bop Pills 🙂
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQQm_LlUV7I

79. Croompenstein

This just came on.. thought i’d share

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oXtuNdR9vc4

80. Oneironaut

Back home from Glasgow now.

Was nice to meet some of you again! 😀

Glad Paula Rose managed to get the Lear Jet sorted out ok there. Red carpet down the steps too. Nice! 😉

81. Michael McCabe

@ Croompenstein Brilliant Track. Here is our own Aly Bain meets the Cajuns. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=dpJNadW0PIo

82. Paula Rose

Darlings! Touch down in Brechin.

Well – what a day, finished off by ronnie anderson taking a group of us to his favourite cocktail bar.

I ordered ‘sex on the rocks’ and you can imagine the discussion that followed! Yes bauxite, basalt, mineral extraction and depletion, glaciation and prevalence of heavy metals in various geological situations!

I resisted a ‘screwdriver’ as I had a plane to catch.

83. Ian Brotherhood

Great to see y’all today. We were lucky with the weather, and it was a decent turnout. Job done.

Where and when next?

Martha & The Vandellas, ‘Heatwave’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XE2fnYpwrng

84. Graeme Doig

Great to see the usual suspects today.

Ronnie, Ian, it was a pleasure as always.

Smashing to be in the company of so many good folk fighting against the corruption and abuse of the WM establishment.

85. Ian Brotherhood

To mark Paula Rose’s heroic effort to attend the rally, here’s an image of the best album cover of all time:

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51qfemcy-vL.jpg

86. Paula Rose

@ Graeme Doig – USUAL – Moi?

87. Ian Brotherhood

@Graeme Doig –

Likewise. Good to have a chat. Hope all goes well for you and yours, and here’s to the next WOS shindig.

Slainte! 😉

88. Graeme Doig

Paula Rose

It was an education 😉

89. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose Glad to see you got home ok, & Pauls no kiding about the discussion, a guy at the back of us chastised me for being a intelectual Ha Ha Ha ( he wiz fae Larkhall)but he joined in on our conversation ( he,s a Unison official) so we will have another Lurker, his friend a now X Slab member, due to Johann Lamont (not geneticaly programmed speech), heartening to see people are taking notice.

Kendomacaroonbars (april edition) Iscot magazine Raised £63.50,so that will be handed over to Ken.

PeteTC & BrianDTT did a good job with the badges monies donated will go to foodbanks Pete will post up when he,s counted.

Thanks to all the Winger & Lurkers who come & support us,many Thanks.

90. Ian Brotherhood

@ronnie anderson –

Great to see you today, albeit fleetingly. Gutted I missed out on the cocktail session, but I was properly shattered – people simply don’t realise the physical exertion involved in standing for hours with the end of a long pole jammed in your pocket.

Having said that, managed to squeeze in a couple of jars before getting the train back. Now, totally aching, feel as if I’ve done a cage-wrestling session with Jackie Baillie.

Nice warm glow though – job done, and done well. Roll on the next time. We have all helped to build something which will last for a long long time, no matter what the Tories chuck at us.

Hoots all!

91. majestic12

As you all may realise, I’m quite new to Wings. Didn’t know about behind the bike sheds, so went to self-imposed quarantine.

I’ve had my suspicions about Paula Rose for quite some time- but you’re so nailed now! 🙂

I am a qualified therapist, so if you have any issues that might be, how shall I say, conflicting you, I’m sure I can help, next time I’m up in Brechin. Never been there in my life, actually.

Was going to post a great link to how America’s sanctions on Russia are destroying Europe, but thought, fuck it, it’s Saturday night and I’m going to listen to The Devil Came Down to Georgia and get plastered with an old school friend from Glasgow.

Slainte!

92. majestic12

The devil WENT down to Georgia, of course.

93. Paula Rose

Don’t mind me just trying something out –

I am a qualified therapist, so if you have any issues that might be, how shall I say, conflicting you, I’m sure I can help, next time I’m up in Brechin. Never been there in my life, actually.

I’ve had my suspicions about Paula Rose for quite some time- but you’re so nailed now!

Didn’t know about behind the bike sheds, so went to self-imposed quarantine.

Yippee sussed the HTML wotsits! Now all I need to work out is the smiley thingie 🙂

94. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    As a philosopher once remarked to me:
    “Smile. It makes people wonder what you’re up to!” 😀

Not sure how many different smileys are on here. I suspect I haven’t found them all yet! 😉

95. Paula Rose

96. Betty Boop

@ Paula Rose, 10:30am

Yippee sussed the HTML wotsits!

Dahling, why didn’t you just ask?

There are so many lovely, hunky IT-wise men on here that they would have queued up to come to the aid of a lady in distress! 😉

97. Paula Rose

Betty Boop, love – although there are many things I like to do on my own, I actually saw the light on this due to Proud Cybernat and Robert Peffers over on the ‘Papering over the cracks’ thread.

98. Paula Rose

Well there’s lots of us watching it!

99. CameronB Brodie

What’s with all the new age rave music….and no disco lights?. 🙂

100. Oneironaut

@Betty Boop
    “There are so many lovely, hunky IT-wise men on here that they would have queued up to come to the aid of a lady in distress!”

1 – Lovely
    2 – Hunky
    3 – IT-wise… Well, I’ve got that one.
    4 – Man… Either that, or a woman who’s really let herself go!

Two out of four isn’t bad! 😀

101. Thepnr

@Oneironaut

Well here’s two for one. Stick with it until the end if you want to see some classic guitar playing from 1973. Steely Dan.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5DvP3VYVHcY

102. Thepnr

This is class 🙂 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5gNuj8UkyC4

but you can’t beat the original:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=myhnAZFR1po

103. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Nice one, I liked it. Here’s one for Ian Brotherhood 😉

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=goX9dESxLnU

104. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe (7.38) –

FFS, that is just insane. It shouldn’t be possible.

105. Paula Rose

calm dwn dears

106. Paula Rose

xx

107. Thepnr

Here;s something just a wee bit different. Living out of the box lol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-xPxMAhMRfk

108. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Cheers amuch 🙂

Here’s one for you.

Hot Gossip, ‘Satisfaction’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T9QIC7xSnyk

109. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Just sitting here nodding my head saying Ooh!

That’s what I say lol.

110. Paula Rose

Non-stop Ennio Morricone babes if you are not careful. Anyways I’m in anger mode so keep a distance.

111. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

A’body else will be too scared to ask, so I’ll do it…wassup?

112. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s a proper oddity – this was mainstream ‘entertainment’ 30 years ago, from the most popular comedians of the day.

The Two Ronnies, ‘Insurance Against Becoming Jewish’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kpK_8qySBxk

113. Paula Rose

Ian B – I’m getting hassled about a badge, I’m just a wee person – all quiet in the corner -truly. Just me – but I’m being given heroine status, not used to such, bit frightened.

114. Paula Rose

I’m feeling small and frightened – I’m not really the person you think, just a really peaceful sort of thing – reason why there are no photos… maybe time for me to retire permanently.

115. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Hearing you, but not sure how to respond.

Can’t imagine you ‘retiring’, but if you do, I’m sure it will be gracefully, and suitably spectacular?

In any event, keep the heid pal. You are much-needed and well-loved hereaboots. (‘Boots’ being the operative there…)

😉 XXX

116. Brian Doonthetoon

Nah, Paula Rose.

We need you to provide a modicum of whatever to the Wings pages.

You’ll just have to run to keep up! (Even in the tartan heels…)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H6LVI1gDswg

117. Paula Rose

Ian and others – its hard now as the reality bites – I am affected like so many, perhaps I will just be a wee bit quiet for a while – so many new ways to deal with things. (I will be watching)

118. Cactus

Here’s some rockage to get your day going:

Finish What Ya Started ~ Van Halen
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qIlBeqM0mRE

Ah whizznae able tae make it alang tae Freedom Square oan Saturday.. but looking forward tae the hanky-panky in Helensburgh next month 🙂

Baby come on!

119. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose 1.01am Oh! Ms belay any thoughts of retiring,we,re all sailing on the high seas somtime calm wasters more often than not stormy,think of all us sailors,& sailoreses.

There are plenty of pictures of Paula Rose on scot2scot site.

IanB
    Oneironaut.

We dont get much chance to have a blether at these events,we,re there to do a job,& whit ah job we do ( thats every one of us) knackered at the end of the day, but elated,by the People we meet & conversations we have, Onwards & Upwards.

Thepnr nice to meet Karon & friend there.

BrianDT I was to knackered to attend the Scott St event on the Sunday.

120. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    Would be sad to see you go. Though I can understand how you’re feeling.
    I don’t like getting my picture taken either (ironic for a photographer perhaps!)

I’ve never been a strong person, and since I got involved in campaigning, I’m feeling a bit like I’ve opened Pandora’s Box.

Seen a dark side of the normally aimiable friendly people around me that only seems to be visible to those running the street stalls.
    I don’t think I can look at people the same way again. Like growing up and losing what innocence I had.

Even if there turns out to be an end to this road, I doubt I’ll be able to live among people the same way as before.
    My eyes are opened, and I can’t close them again…
    Thought I might go off and live on an island somewhere, modern day hermit, in a cave with internet access! Hehe.

Anyways, just wanted to say, if you ever need someone to talk to, feel free to get in touch.
    I think Ian has my E-mail address. Not sure who else.

(Not posting it on here for the Daily Heil stalkers to get their claws into, I got enough people randomly tampering with my communications already!)

Hope you feel better soon.

121. X_Sticks

@Paula Rose

Retire, dear?! Don’t you bloody dare!

And who’s been hassling you about your badge? There’s VERY few on here who would have the right to do that, and Stu hasn’t said a word. Don’t you worry your pretty little head about it. Keep on keeping on.

xx

122. cearc

Paula sweetie,

Retire? You who are so young and beautiful.

123. Paula Rose

Oops – one too many ‘Magrittas’ last night – got all carmichaelly with a frisson of smartiestuff, must learn to behave. Please forgive dears, sometimes overwhelmed by my own fame.

124. Paula Rose

btw – who broke the sherry glass? – Or was it a schooner.

125. cearc

Erm, you don’t remember singing? That attempt to hit the high ‘C’?

126. Paula Rose

blush

127. Brian Doonthetoon

For Paula Rose, and any others who aspire to the heights of ambition… or high C…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=172XOPvpLY8

128. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose Hiv you found ah sailor wie ah Schooner lol.

129. Paula Rose

(Ian yummy-hood can you send me Oneironaut’s email?)

130. X_Sticks

@Ronnie

Don’t know about sailors with schooners, but I know the cut o’ yer jib has always been important to Paula 😉

131. ronnie anderson

@ X Sticks Paula & me are just good Friends, dont You be starting any roumors or IanB & other suitors will be hinging me fae ah Jibbet lol.

132. Betty Boop

@Paula Rose

Been feeling a little wobbly m’dear? Paint the smile on your face, head up and face the world like a boss. We do it all the time ;-).

This is for you and it is my favourite version.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5DXgCaLIwI

(especially in those heels!)

133. Brian Doonthetoon

OOOH Paula!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNC0kIzM1Fo

(And for any United fans who are hingin’ aroon’ here…)

134. Brian Doonthetoon

An interesting article in the Guardian, aboot Dundee an’ thah’, ken, iye?

https://archive.is/nJ8l7

The comments are quite entertaining as well, but you’ll have to copy and paste the original link at the ‘archive.is’ page to access them.

135. Thepnr

Great song with a sad ending.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUmZp8pR1uc

136. Paula Rose

I want a cuddle with Natasha – realised why I’m feeling blue.

137. Paula Rose

and a cuddle with Tartan Tory – gosh total knee tremble.

138. David

(Inspired by ‘School’s Out’ by Alice Cooper)

‘SLab’s Out’ by Angus Coupar

Well we got no choice
    All the Blairite boys
    Makin’ all the noise
    ‘Cos they found new ploys.

Well we can’t salute ya
    With no Saltire flag
    If that don’t suit ya
    Then that’s a drag.

SLab’s out for summer
    SLab’s out for ever
    SLab’s blown itself to pieces.

No more Short Money
    No expense books
    No more Salmond’s dirty looks.

Well we got no Willie Bain
    But we got his Principle
    And we got no innocence
    We can’t even think of a word that rhymes.

SLab’s out for summer
    SLab’s out for ever
    SLab’s blown itself to pieces.

No more Short Money
    No expense books
    No more Salmond’s dirty looks.

Out of Westminster
    Out of city hall
    We will not get back at all.

SLab’s out for summer
    SLab’s out for ever
    SLab’s got ‘SNPBad’ fever
    SLab’s out completely.

The original:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBEcLxnXVAc

Just blame the political awakening I received from the referendum- that must be what made me link Willie Bain and his Principle to this great Alice Cooper song. 🙂

139. CameronB Brodie

How do you follow that? Nice one David. 😉

How about FEAR of insurrection and revolt? Not a new experience for the Establishment.

Here’s another back-story to the social reform movement and the labour movement, which emerged from the ‘liberal enlightenment’. Perhaps not-so-liberal? Given the Establishment’s apparent view that Scots are intrinsically incapable of governing themselves and Scotland uniquely unable to support itself, are Scots the new children of Ham?

Racism: A History [2007]
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efI6T8lovqY&list=PL9B94BC6E88A70F9C

(I know it’s the BBC. 😉 )

140. Paula Rose

Guess what I’m wearing all you wonderful people!

141. Brian Doonthetoon

Well, Paula Rose, eh huv a feelin’ in meh wattir that you have on the crotchless balaclava…

142. CameronB Brodie

I just can’t keep up with fashion, Paula? Is it your boots, for the walking over with?

#tramplefan

143. Cactus

Received a package in the post earlier today, ching-ching.

144. Michael McCabe

I Like a wee bob Dylan cover to myself. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=iOHkyZ62jjQ

145. Jim Thomson

Ahhm wi’ Cactus … brown paper package arrived OK here too 🙂

146. Michael McCabe

This was on a while back and I had not seen it. Now I have and Enjoyed it. So I thought I would put it up for anybody who has not seen it for various reasons. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=5sdqPLFSxJw THE RISE OF THE SNP

147. Jim Thomson

I’ve posted at least one vid by this guy before. Dave Gibb is a great live performer and if you can hunt down some of his stuff you’ll be well rewarded.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rp8y3_MPlI8

148. Michael McCabe

@ Jim Thomson Cheers for that. I already have night of the mitts. and here is one I have just found on you tube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=EsjGg9f_CYY

149. Michael McCabe

I meant Night of the fiery mitts (at the wanlockhead hotel)

150. Jim Thomson

@Michael McCabe – Night of the Mitts – we’ve all been there (apparently?) :-p

151. cearc

Paula Rose,

It’s flaming June. I’ll guess you’re wearing your thermals?

152. X_Sticks

@Paula Rose

Hot pants?

153. Ian Brotherhood

James Brown, ‘Hot Pants’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a1U-EBVuLt0

154. X_Sticks

@Ian

JB must have had Paula in mind when he laid that one down 😉

155. Ian Brotherhood

@X_Sticks –

Indeed.

Thanks to modern technology (don’t ask me – all that GPS stuff, apparently), it’s possible to prove that when JB cries ‘the girl over there!’, he is, in actual fact, pointing towards Brechin.

Strange…but true.

156. Jim Thomson

Been doing “things” in the Fife Escape Pod. Suffice to say, the people who install heavy storage heaters against plasterboard walls really need to have their fekkin’ hands chopped off so they can’t make such a total arse of a job by using the worst possible solution for anchoring the said heaters.

Fekkin’ butterfly hollow wall thingies! I ask you, arseholes! Not only do they leave HUGE holes through the wall, they are almost impossible to unscrew and then disappear into that magical kingdom of Lost-things-never-to-be-found-ever-again between the plasterboard walls.

Lucky for them (or should that be “me”?), I’m a resourceful soul and keep many strange things in random ice-cream tubs (yes, of course they’re empty of ice cream) … and … breathe.

Rant over (for the moment)

157. Thepnr

It’s getting hard to find a song that’s not already been played. I know this hasn’t.

As well as the pensioners we need to convice young guys like this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IsZM2qU1FUE

158. Cactus

For those who love their ROCK music..

..have yee’s heard this one, a personal favourite of mine, check out the awesome guitar solo (especially at 03:05 minutes), cracking lyrics.

Boston ~ Hitch A Ride
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xp4Ugebi608

So ‘mon you 55%.. just hitch a ride, over to the independence side.

159. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jim.

Have you tried magnets on the end of one of those springy pipe cleaning things?

My music for tonight before I turn in. I’ve been listening to this regularly since 2969, know all the verses but can never get them in the right order, or with the correct lines in the appropriate verses.

However, prog at its best…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lrsW–Sh7YE

160. Brian Doonthetoon

2969 = 1969, of course.

That’ll teach me.

161. Cactus

Aweright thepnr, hehe that video went viral in Glasgow when it was first released.

I remembers some other comedian said the name for a Spanish ned was ‘coco banjo’, ye heard of that one? T’wood be funny to hear a voice-over like they did in the Dolmio adverts.. see below an ‘mon the neds!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9UiKcNgTsBY (subtitles n/a)

Good morning also to our international community, we trust you are enjoying the educative read.

Cheers the now dude.

162. Cactus

Hey Brian Doonthetoon, 2969.. twas a very good year! That’s up there with Buck Rogers in the 25th Century:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4szGxaKF8Qw

Twiki says “biddy-biddy-biddy” 🙂

163. Ian Brotherhood

Fleetwood Mac, ‘Tusk’ (live) –

Who needs magic mushrooms when you can just watch stuff like this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=umjYHLt56kg

164. Paula Rose

Ian Brotherhood is now officially my hunky, sexy, fabby, big dicky, licky knobby, wowsit of the twentieth century!

165. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Crivvens.

What did I do now?

166. Paula Rose

Sweet boy – he spent so much time in between his other obligations providing me with a foot massage that rivalled Jock Scot. So lucky to be adored by such hunky natz!!!

167. Paula Rose

If it wasn’t for Ian beautyhood I might not be here!

168. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Steady now. There is a battle still to be won. Canny be doing with those that easily get distracted.

This is weird but aren’t we all?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CETEGkBoD-g

169. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

FFS!

That is some well-creepy material there mister.

Please remember that some of us are tripping on mushrooms and/or old Fleetwood Mac videos.

Sheesh!…

170. cearc

Great vid, Ian

171. Michael McCabe

So when we get independence our destinies will be entwined. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_4EhpohXNQ&feature=player_detailpage

172. Stoker

@ Brian Doonthetoon.

Figured i’d have more of a chance of you seeing this by posting it in here instead of on the “Soapbox” thread.

Just to let you know i’ve only just noticed your post addressed to me on said thread @ 12.03pm and to let you know i wasn’t being rude by ignoring you, especially since i replied to Tackety Beets and not you.

I could not see your post, @ 12.03pm, until now. It certainly wasn’t visible to me earlier in the day. I only noticed its presence because i’ve been busy all day and now back on site playing catch-up and reading through the threads again.

Anyway, nice to know i wasn’t the only one thinking i had lost it.

I’m also leaving this wee tune here because it’s been in my head all weekend, ever since hearing it in the film, Cops & Robbersons, on Friday night. MWHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Mockin’ Bird Hill – by Patti Page:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXo3wTgsMB4

173. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker.

For some reason, the post that you see from me at 12.03, went into moderation when I submitted it and wasn’t approved until later in the afternoon.

I’ve no idea why…

174. Stoker

Cheers, Brian, that would explain why i didn’t see it.

175. Ian Brotherhood

This popped into my heid today – we used to sing this in primary school. Our teacher was a proper cranky battleaxe, but she had a lovely voice – we all did our very best to sing well because it kept her happy and prevented her teaching us normal stuff.

Andy Stewart, ‘A Scottish Soldier’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0sAitY3y9mY

176. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

There was a piper playing that at my Uncles funeral, first and only time I ever saw my old man cry.

177. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

It’s a beautiful tune. I can imagine it must’ve been very moving.

Here’s a comment I posted on Quarantine last night, but it hasn’t drawn much response – apart from a typically positive reaction from BDTT 🙂 – so I’m copying it in here. I’m serious about it, and have some ideas about workshops/potential speakers, but would really like to hear what others’ gut reactions are:

Who’s up for a proper ‘conference’?

Same idea as the WOS gatherings, but not quite so frantic.

Yeah, it’s nice, meeting-up, but it’s always finished before it’s even started, and we never get the time or space to have proper discussions.

If we knew for sure that a minimum number of us were committed, we could book a hotel somewhere, preferably off-season, for a week-end. Say, for argument’s sake, the Friday evening, check-out Sunday. Early Spring 2016, well before the Holyrood campaign proper kicks off.

We organise workshops/seminars. We invite speakers and entertainment. We crowdfund it in advance so that the professional participants can be paid their going rate. We publicise it well in advance and make sure the MSM are invited, most cordially.

(I have specific place in mind. I can ‘see’ it happening in my heid, and I’d be happy to sound the place out re prices and likely availability. The place happens to be on an island, but it’s not that dear to get to.)

Anyway, I’m just throwing this out as an idea, and would be grateful for any response.

Hoots all 😉

178. Paula Rose

Ian B honey – read it last night and have been giving it some thought. I could run a couple of workshops on matters related to Westminster – such as “How The Whip Works” and “Division for Beginners”.

179. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I like that, I remember asking the Rev if he would stand for Holyrood 2016. If I remember rightly the answer was along the lines of never say never.

Anyway, why shouldn’t we who visit Wings get a bit more serious? I believe that Wings and those that visit have a voice.

A voice worth hearing.

180. Brian Doonthetoon

“Scottish Soldier”…

It uses the pipe tune “Green Hills Of Tyrol”, which pipe bands often play along with “The Battle’s O’er”, like this video:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=80WfaXZquPQ

181. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I suspect that, if you organised a Knitting Bee and charged £150 a skull, it would still be a sell-out. 😉

182. cearc

Sounds like a great idea, Ian. (As long as the hotel has a pool!)

Scottish Soldier, easily brings a tear.

183. Paula Rose

Actually – we could have an exhibition of famous high heels!

184. ronnie anderson

Ok Mr IanB am sold on the idea.

185. Paula Rose

ronnie anderson will be running a creative writing workshop!

186. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie, Paula, et al (whoever he is) –

Very good.

Now we need suggestions as to where and when.

We can do the nitty-gritty about speakers etc later, right?

First, we need to establish a place which is agreeable to the mostmost of those willing to get involved.

Anyone have a solid, identifiable location that the rest of us can disagree with, just by way of getting this going?

187. Paula Rose

The place happens to be on an island, but it’s not that dear to get to.

Which island did you fancy corralling us in?

188. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

“First, we need to establish a place which is agreeable to the mostm?o?s?t? of those willing to get involved.
    Anyone have a solid, identifiable location that the rest of us can disagree with, just by way of getting this going?”

Pete and I were discussing this a wee while ago. We felt that somewhere central to the four corners of ‘Wingsland’ would be fair to all. The suggestions we came up with were Stirling and Dumfermline.

Of course, there is a more central location at Gleneagles…

189. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

“First, we need to establish a place which is agreeable to the mostm?o?s?t? of those willing to get involved.
    Anyone have a solid, identifiable location that the rest of us can disagree with, just by way of getting this going?”

Pete and I were discussing this a wee while ago. We felt that somewhere central to the four corners of ‘Wingsland’ would be fair to all. The suggestions we came up with were Stirling and Dumfermline.

190. Brian Doonthetoon

A third attempt to submit this, then I’ll give up…

Hi Ian B.

191. Brian Doonthetoon

A fourth attempt to submit this, then I’ll give up…

Hi Ian B.

“First, we need to establish a place which is agreeable to the mostmost of those willing to get involved.

192. Paula Rose

I want an island with a swimming pool – stamps foot.

193. Brian Doonthetoon

JEEZ! WordPress didn’t give me the error message about ‘duplicate post detected’.

Apologies…

194. Brian Doonthetoon

Didn’t give me the error message about the dodgy spelling of ‘Dunfermline’ either…

195. Paula Rose

Oh dear Bdtt you’re close to becoming a pedantic bore – ROFL, silly Rock!

196. Betty Boop

@Ian Brotherhood, 28/6/15, 9:19pm

The place happens to be on an island, but it’s not that dear to get to.)

It’s Millport, innit? 🙂

197. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty Boop –

Er, well, no…but you’re very very close!

198. Betty Boop

@ IanB

Aah, must be Fraggle Rock then! 😉

199. Michael McCabe

Feel Free to put your records on. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=oWQl00LWEwE

200. Cactus

@ Betty Boop ~

Yeah the Fraggle Rock. Sprocket the dog was my favourite character. The genius of Jim Henson.

“Dance your cares away,
    Worry’s for another day,
    Let the music play,
    Down at Fraggle Rock”

Check out the cast of characters, theres loads of em!
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Fraggle_Rock_characters

ps I’m up for the do too Ian B.

201. David

(Inspired by ‘Ballroom Blitz’ by The Sweet)

‘Michelle Mone Quits’ written by ChinnlessChap

Are you ready McTernan? Uh-huh
    Roden? Yeah
    Jackie Bird? Okay
    Alright unionists, let’s go!

Oh I’ve been getting so mad
    Living with what unionists do to me
    Their lies are getting so strange
    I’d like to tell you everything I see.

Oh, I see Murph at the back as a matter of fact
    His eyes are as red as the sun
    And the Dugdale in the corner let no-one ignore her
    Cause we think she’s the whiny-voiced one.

Oh yeah! It was like lightning
    SLab was in-fighting
    And the Ultimo was soothing
    And Michelle started moving.

[Chorus]
    Yeah, yeah, yeah-yeah-yeah-yeah
    And the SpAd in the back said unionists attack
    And the media said Michelle Mone quits

And the author of Harry Potter said Nats I want to warn ya
    It’ll turn into Michelle Mone’s Hits
    Michelle Mone quits, Michelle Mone’s Hits, Michelle Mone flits, Michelle Mone’s Hits.
    [End Chorus]

Oh reaching out for Indy
    Giving nothing’s all they ever do
    Oh I softly call for Indy
    But in Smith Report there’s hee-haw left of you.

And the SLab in the back is ready to crack
    As he raises his expenses to the sky
    And the Baillie in the corner is just a big Jack Horner
    She could kill you for a bite of your pie.

Oh yeah! It was electric
    So perfectly hectic
    And the Blairites started leaving
    ‘Cos they all stopped believing.

[Repeat Chorus]

Oh yeah! Tories were shiteing
    SLab was in-fighting
    And the union was cracking
    And Michelle started packing.

[Repeat Chorus]

It’s it’s Michelle Mone quits
    It’s it’s Michelle Mone’s Hits
    It’s it’s Michelle Mone flits
    Yeah, it’s Michelle Mone’s Hits.

The original:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzKAJRux4ss

The idea for this came equally from Michelle Mone’s pouty-lipped decision to quit Scotland, and from Tommy Reckless’ epic version of Suzie Quatro’s stomper ‘Michael White’s Moustache’.

I censored myself for fear of being put on a SLab list, writing Hits instead of something else, but it has to be said that Michelle is nice and curvy. (Shame about her politics, though.)

If unionists are the problem, then glam rock is the solution!

202. David

I saw this guy on CNN, talking sense in a Scottish accent.

http://www.alternet.org/economy/austerity-complete-horsesht-ivy-league-prof-dismantles-conservative-lie

Professor Mark Blyth, born in Dundee, now at Brown University in the US.

“While it makes sense for anyone, family or firm or even state, to try and reduce its debts in order to grow better, if everybody tries it at the same time it becomes self-defeating. You need income from which to save, so if everybody tries to save at once nobody’s generating any income and therefore the project becomes self-defeating”

“I find this (austerity politics) personally offensive because, although I’m an Ivy League professor today with a named chair and all the rest of it, the only reason I’m here is because of the British welfare state. I grew up in a single-parent home with my paternal grandmother on basically no money at all, and if it wasn’t for free schooling and free university… I don’t know where I’d be, but I wouldn’t be an Ivy League professor.”

Another person to be proud of, Dundee!

203. majestic12

Have you lot decided where you want to meet? I have a suggestion,in response to Paula Rose’s demands. It’s not exactly central, and not exactly an island like Bute or Arran, but you do get to have a wee 20 min sail doon the watter from Gourock to DUNOON! Unless you want to go by road over the Rest and be Thankful.

There is a swimming pool a 100m from the pier and it even has a windy shute. And the Methodist tea shop next door does a mean latte.

There is a massively successful cross-party Yes community who have a Yes property on Argyll Sreet,funded by punters’ standing orders and regular donations.. It’s mobbed every day. They put on lectures and music gigs at the Borough Hall to raise extra funds. There’s plenty of hotels in the area. A big topic at the moment is ghosts and the paranormal. Well, we are Celts, aren’t we?

One of the Wingers is the de facto leader of the Dunoon set-up,so if you are interested i can run it by him. Let me know.

204. David

From 2013 – “For David Cameron, cutting spending in a highly unequal society works because it doesn’t affect those who matter to him.”

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2013/nov/15/eternal-austerity-makes-sense-if-rich-david-cameron

“Follow the money in terms of who benefits and who loses from such a policy of perma-austerity.”

205. Betty Boop

@ majestic12 (and a’body else interested)

Re: wingscon 1

Like your venue suggestion especially because of the enthusiastic local support, but, think that we should probably aim for somewhere relatively central and easily accessible by train/bus, eg Stirling, Perth, Falkirk.

Having said that, I have no actual objections to Dunoon! 🙂

Does anyone else think we should maybe again make comments on this subject over on Quarantine and just note on Off Topic that we have posted there? Might save ideas being lost in the eclectic conversations.

206. Paula Rose

(stroke test)

207. X_Sticks

@ Paul

icle?

208. K1

CameronB, I saw this on Rev’s twitter, a tweet from Billy Bragg, and thought of you…;-)

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/dunstanbruce/i-get-knocked-down-the-untold-story-of-chumbawamba/comments

209. Michael McCabe

That’s the thunder and lightning just hit Edinburgh big style. made me think of this AC/DC COVER. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uT3SBzmDxGk&feature=player_detailpage

210. Marco McGinty

A new project (The National Yes Registry) has just started up, with information here http://nationalyesregistry.scot/

211. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hi folks, two things,

There’s a group of us from the Rutherglen area going to Edinburgh on Saturday for the Syriza and Holyrood rallies, so I hope to see some of you there (you’ll find us under our rather large banner!).

Also, who can give me the lowdown on the Helensburgh jaunt? Who’s all going, where’s the recommended accommodations, what entertainments have been arranged etc, etc 😉

212. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Gillian.

Pete the Camera and I will be there, with two ‘others’. You know, ‘others’.

We’re going in Pete’s car, so won’t be staying overnight. When I was researching options, the Travel Lodge flagged itself up on Google. It’s around 500 yards along the prom from the Clyde Bar and was quoting around £65 for a double room for that night, around a month ago.

I know other Wingers are staying the night so they may be able to offer more advice. Onnyhoo, see you Saturday, in that Embra!

8=)

213. Paula Rose

Hi Gillian_Ruglonian see you on Saturday doll!

214. Paula Rose

Sit back – kick my heels off – play one of my faves

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXDJneVbEC8

215. Paula Rose

I often forget to mention when I play that track – that the creator of that song is blind, the beautiful in the main (some are tragic) sights you see he never has. That man has done so much for his people.

216. Jim Thomson

test post

217. Michael McCabe

Here is something random for off topic. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I9I_QvEXDv0&feature=player_detailpage Hope you Enjoy

218. Paula Rose

gonna be in Auld Reeekie on the four thee

you too? see you theresie.

219. Michael McCabe

Been looking for this song for ages. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2deZaMF6Ql4&feature=player_detailpage Got a feeling Paula Rose would Approve.

220. Paula Rose

Michael darling – I do! and so lovely to see you in Edinburgh today with many other lovely wingers. I’m somewhat amazed at the attack some of us are getting on the main threads – is it a Brigade 77 convention?

221. Thepnr

Oh deery me, forgot to take the http off again trying to play this earlier.

Good song from 1970 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gYCoTp78x6k

What I didn’t know was who else played it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m1xss8MlwCk

222. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Brilliant link to the Beatles one there. Cheers amuch.

Seeing shots of them so young like that is very moving – incredible, to think what they achieved in such a short time.

223. Ian Brotherhood

By way of thinking about our brothers and sisters in Greece – who’ll be getting used to a ‘new pad’ after this has played-out?

Basement Jaxx, ‘Good Luck’ (Live, with a big-ass orchestra…)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yU_As3mIFBQ

224. Betty Boop

@ Gillian_Ruglonian

Re Helensburgh, JimT and I will be staying overnight at the Travelodge. Unfortunately, didn’t book it when I first looked at it and it was around £65; was £76.00 non refundable by the time I got around to it. Just checked and it is now just over £85 on the saver rate.

It’s the closest reasonable accomm (difficult to find available B&B in town), but if anyone is thinking of staying, it would be a good idea to get on with it – price will go up, no doubt.

225. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Don’t you about anybody else but I can’t think about anything other than Greece sice last week. This is monumental.

I’m praying for a No vote, there is nowhere else to go. I believe the

226. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Don’t you about anybody else but I can’t think about anything other than Greece sice last week. This is monumental.

I’m praying for a No vote, there is nowhere else to go. I believe the EU, IMF will all back down in face of a No.

I just hope I’m right.

227. Thepnr

Oops first double post for a while, best go to bed LOL

228. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Likewise mister.

Here’s hoping, whatever happens tomorrow.

229. Michael McCabe

OXI OXI OXI No No No

230. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

OXI OXI OXI No No No

Don’t want to count my chickens but looks like a big FUCK YOU to the Lizard people 🙂 🙂

231. Michael McCabe

It is looking like the No’s have it the No’s have it. Well done Greece.

232. Paula Rose

Greece has big bolloxi!

233. Ian Brotherhood

Ooooh, naughty Greece, what have you done!?

Just heard the locals in the bowling club giving it big licks when this started:

Billy Ocean, ‘Red Light Spells Danger’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PhGQaXamgCY

234. Brian Doonthetoon

This web site is giving the running figures for the Greek referendum. At the moment, it is showing NO 61.34%, YES 38.66%.

You can reload it as you wish, for updated figures.

http://ekloges.ypes.gr/current/e/public/index.html?lang=en#{%22cls%22:%22level%22,%22params%22:{%22level%22:%22epik%22,%22id%22:1}}

235. Thepnr

Very funny exchange between the Guardians Michael White and the Rev over on his twitter feed.

https://twitter.com/wingsscotland

236. Quentin Quale

RBS bailout – $541 billion. Tick.
    Goldman Sachs bailout – $814 billion. Tick.
    CitiGroup bailout – $2.5 trillion. Tick.

Greece – $370 billion. Oh no, no, no…

237. Brian Doonthetoon

Came across this link on one of my Facebook pages tonight.

I’d be grateful if someone can nudge Robert Peffers to have a wee skeck at it, for comment.

http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/ld199899/ldselect/ldprivi/108i/10810.htm

It can also be found here, in case it mysteriously disappears from the original web site:-

http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/ld199899/ldselect/ldprivi/108i/10810.htm

238. Brian Doonthetoon

And those previous links kinda go with this one:-

http://tarffadvertiser.blogspot.co.uk/2015/04/the-lady-with-gioconda-smile.html

239. Thepnr

Fcuk Brian, you need to post those type of links at 11 am rather than 11 pm. Might read it tomorrow if I remember 🙂

240. Thepnr

Acropolis Now

The Doors – The End

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CIrvSJwwJUE

241. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

The second post I did has a much more accessible style. I would read that one first. Then go to the dry prose of the parliament link.

Onnyhoo, re ‘The Doors – The End’.

I saw this at the Gaumont in Cowgate in the 70s. I already had the album, which is one of my all-time faves.

This video is sobering…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hhEwjCoGru8

If you’re interested, the full album is downloadable from YouTube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g42yYVXppRs

242. Paula Rose

Boys! Are you all wanting a poke o chips noo?

243. Paula Rose

Lets have some prog rock…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0TZ_9-rbslo

244. Brian Doonthetoon

OOH, Paula Rose!

I thought you were a ‘stroker’, rather than a ‘poker’.

You started wearing apparatus?

Oo-er missus! I think I will retreat from this game…

245. Brian Doonthetoon

Prog Rock?

Nah, this is prog rock!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y_b0Tf_AEuA

246. Paula Rose

Lets have some prog rock…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3MzZgPBL3Q

enjoy

247. Betty Boop

Ok, guys and gals, the comments certainly picked up with all the interest in oxi, oxi, oxi! Kudos to Greece, taking the dog by the tail and telling them it ain’t good enough!

Liked the prog rock links. A wee bit o’ anarchy can be a tonic!

@ Bdtt I shared an FB post about the Treaty of Union last night and come on here today to find you are on to it already. Is your Dundee residence really the home of the National Archives? 🙂

@ Paula R. 12:56am

Thanks for you particular “prog rock” preference 🙂 You know how to stroke souls like mine.

Attended such a service in North Uist when we live in the Hebrides; no organ music thank goodness, just pure voices and a rather Hellfire type of meenister! Bare wood church floor and probably a good thing it was a summer night because I doubt there was any heating. One of the few memorable church services I have attended.

The scenes in that video made me nostalgic and fairly “homesick”… despite the fact I’m not a born islander. Must visit the islands again soon. Thank you (again!) :-))

248. Michael McCabe

Two guys Jamming in Greece. Think they might make it big some day. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21vlugbhSF4&feature=player_detailpage

249. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop.

I picked up the ‘parliament.uk’ link from Facebook last night.

When I read the page, it reminded me of the ‘tarffadvertiser’ page, hence my posting of that link.

Very interesting read….

I’m sure the guy who writes that blog is a Winger.

250. Betty Boop

@ Thepnr

Hi Alex, definitely worth trying to keep up with Brian’s links even if you need matchsticks to keep the ol’ eyes open. Ta Brian, our very on version of Wikipedia; would that be Tecklepedia, iye?

Loved the Liar Liar link although they missed out yon ither pairty.

251. Brian Doonthetoon

I prefer this ‘Liar’…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oU7rqB9E_0M

252. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

You got the big guns out with Freddie! Unsurpassable.

253. Brian Doonthetoon

A ‘heads up’…

‘Off-topic’ regulars really have to check out the pi$h that Rock has come away with tonight, typing about this web site:-

“Unfortunately a group of sycophants and pedants, and quite possibly unionist agents, have been attempting to take it over.”

That’s me, Paula Rose – and RONNIE ANDERSON!

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-member-for-the-vow

I feel we need more input on that page…

254. Betty Boop

One of my favourites, this one has a few liars featured too, but, right now I like it particularly because it chimes with the “Nae Fear Greeks”, except the very end bit 🙁

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lx8Cowigwss

255. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr 9:13pm I would be kidding you on if I said I did not like that. Cheers good link.

256. Brian Doonthetoon

Jiss catchin’ up on other pages.

Re my ‘Rock’ mention of a wee while ago…

You want to check out the posts since this time last night on this page:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-third-voice

Methinks someone’s trying to frack this web site.

257. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Felt compelled to follow your last link to the main pages. There are times when the comments section of this site become more than a bit intemperate and displays all the charm of p***ing contest.

I’m sorry to say I felt further compelled to make comment, but, probably more would be gained by just a few deep breaths.

258. Chic McGregor

Way back in 2007 on the TAMB (Tartan Army Board) before the recession and before the ‘Bank Crisis’, a chap posted a question regarding the purchase of RBS shares.

He had noticed that they had been dropping in value for some weeks and wondered if they had bottomed out yet and was it time to buy?

Several respondents were quite quite in favour of that plan, so I felt compelled to stick my oar in with advice not to and the following post explaining why that would be a bad idea. That this was not a normal economic cycle, that it would last for years and how it was a consequence of the rise of neoliberal, monetarist/globalist policies long consigned to the economic madhouse but unleashed on the World in the 80s.

Of course, bearing in mind this was ostensibly a football fan forum, I attempted to couch the message in non jargonised form.

I also posted a version of it on the UK Politics Forum which was immediately attacked by economic ‘experts’ who flatly stated that there would be no recession, no financial crisis.

Reposting it there a year or so later, was, I confess, pure schadenfreude.

It is a long post and may exceed the size limits here so may need to be split.

259. Chic McGregor

This is not a ‘normal’ boom and bust cycle.
    This is not going away any time soon.

This a consequence of unfettered capitalism and the lunatic ‘policy’ of globalisation bought into by Reagan and Thatcher (both sufferers of degenerate brain disease) and carried on by Bush, Blair and Brown. But these ‘leaders’ were just mere puppets. The multinational corporation mentality is the real villain of the piece.

Those ‘captains of industry’, most of whom are unable to chart a course beyond next month’s balance sheet, sought only two things:

1) To run after the lowest available wage bill using workers with no rights in China.

2) To create a Global market place whereby they could maximise profit.

In order to pursue these policies, Western leaders of gullibility or criminality or just plain bonkers were connived into place and the required trade deals and other changes made.

Whether they were incapable of understanding the consequences of blindly pursuing those policies on the stability of the World economy, on the stability of World peace or on the environment or whether they simply did not care doesn’t really matter, the chickens are coming home to roost.

Huge sectors of manufacturing have headed East to the slave prisons and low wage resource of China. Lovely balance sheet. Only problem is the loss of manufacturing jobs in the West.
    But never mind eh? We can all service each others jacksies and those nice Easterners will pay us handsomely for our ‘services’ too, right?

What a load of bollox. Does anyone really believe that once China had most of the manufacturing industry that they were going to hand money back to the West for ‘services’ they could easily provide for themselves in order that we can buy goods from them?

And look at the effect this has had on the environment. China is very nearly 100% coal burning for its electricity production. So goods once made in Europe where a high percentage is nuclear, hydro, wind etc. are now being made using coal. Not only that, but because of the cheaper prices for goods due to the artificially low labour costs, we are using far more, changing and discarding far more often. Meanwhile our idiotic and/or dishonest Western leaders crow about GGE reductions in their country which are largely due to reduced manufacturing when the relocation of that manufacturing is actually resulting in a massive increase in Global pollution.

And the new, as yet in its infancy, affluence all that manufacturing is creating in China has already, even at their still low GDP pc, put pressure on food and oil prices World wide too.

Now I am certainly not against China being capitalised and their standard of living raised to Western levels but China is quite a different kettle of fish from the other Pac Rim capitalisations of the past. Quite aside from human rights issues, the difference in scale is huge and way beyond anything the World economy can ‘ride out’ as per it did for Japan, Korea, Taiwan etc. this needs to be done in a controlled manner which does not create destructive instabilities.

For a start, to create the basics of a level playing field, workers there should have normal workers’ rights. The environment should be protected by insisting on clean coal burning technology.

From the capitalists’ point of view the extra costs involved in those measures would make China less attractive and that would have slowed things naturally and in a constructive way.
    However, the Chinese government was certainly never going to put these measures in place voluntarily.

Foreign investors would have had to insist on them but that would have required what amounts to a UN backed investment policy which would never have flown.

Anyway, capital has probably already accrued in China beyond the critical mass required to self-fund its own expansion, which, although perhaps at a lower rate, is still way fast enough to continue to destabilise the World economy and environment.

And China has learned from the orchestrated East Asian Banking crisis of the 90s and made sure the yuan is seeded away in dollar, pound and euro areas, there is no option of selectively destabilising and slowing things in the that way again, a ploy which was used to throttle back on Japan’s expansion when it threatened American economic hegemony in the 90s.

The introduction of capitalism to the Pac Rim countries was not without its problems for World economic stability in the past but those bumps, although large, were rideable until their wage rates approached Western levels which restored balance, halted the drain on manufacturing and even reversed it in some areas.

However, the same thing cannot be done with China it is simply far too big. Development there has to be controlled. The World economy would simply not survive a 20 year timescale expansion of China from zero to Western levels as seen in other Pac Rim countries. China is like ten Japans rolled into one. Also Japan was largely nuclear so there was not the environmental consequences historically either.

Demand on food and fuel will continue to increase, the West will stay in recession and unemployment will continue to grow until,… someone points out “Wait a minute just a couple of decades back Europe and America grew all it needed to eat and produced all the goods it needed as well. Why can’t we go back to that?” And so trade tarrifs and a degree of isolationism will inevitably need to return which will enable the West to get back to similar standards of living they enjoyed previously (provided we stay cosy with Russia for oil and gas). But the interim will be grim, and sadly NOT just for the Gadarine swine parasites of the City or Wall Street.

And we are talking at least 5 years before that can be fully implemented. So that is how long I expect things to keep going down.

Oh there will be normal boom and bust cycles driven by domestic policies in countries superimposed over the downward trend, sometimes even hinting that things are on the way back up, but always the underlying trend will be down until a Western manufacturing base is restored.

One lesson that should be learned is that a roughly equitable geographical spread of manufacturing base is a requirement for World stability and needs to be maintained by sensible trade agreements.

Although this may entail local subsidy to counter exchange rate differences, to ensure efficiencies are still market driven, there should be no local monopolies allowed and fixed and equal support for all local competitors.

Strategic controls need to be overlayed over the investment process. (e.g. min. hold time limits etc.)

The other lesson that should be learned once and for all is the difference between wealth creation and wealth acquisition.

How often do we hear in Scotland how much wealth is ‘generated’ by London and the SE? In point of fact they are very very poor at generating wealth on a pro rata basis.

Wealth is simply the things we use in life. Food, fuel, clothes, cars, shoes, TVs, fridges, microwaves, computers etc.etc.etc. The generation of wealth entails, mining, drilling, growing, manufacturing, fishing, hunting etc. etc. etc.

The invention of money made exchange of wealth easier, however it also brought an inherent problem. Through various mechanisms e.g. speculation, ‘service’ charges, exchange rates etc. it is possible to accrue money without actually generating wealth.

The general effect of this on ethical values can be bad enough, but when those who indulge in some of even the more primarily wealth accruing practices equate them to wealth generation the delusion has become pathogenic.

Wealth acquisition is not wealth generation, doesn’t matter how clever or devious the particular little scam someone may have thought up to accrue wealth is, it just isn’t.

And whereas a parasitic micro-economy may be tolerated in a host nation (with the complicity of the Government, say), when such self-delusion leads to notions that the entire Western economy can be likewise based, with the East generating nearly all the wealth, the plot has been well and truly lost. When parasites grow to a similar size as their host, there is a problem.

It will take 5 years before things turn around but the lessons, if learned, will be beneficial in the longer term.

260. Chic McGregor

You can call me Cassandra if you like.

In hindsight my 5 years was a bit optimistic, but it did rely on Western leaders responding sanely. However, for the most part the penny seems to have dropped. Even the Tories are supportive of moving from financial services to manufacturing if only in a very quiet way lest the Thatcher god myth suffers.

My thinking that the bankers would suffer was naive.

But I did say even then that the European people would not accept resetting to Victorian standards of living.

Here is post from 4 years ago, not in Tambese, where some of that is reiterated but with more emphasis on the predicted European unrest, since the measures which Western leaders could have taken to avoid that have not been.

261. Chic McGregor

Taking a laissez-faire approach in a market a la Adam Smith’s ‘invisible hand of God’ does generally lead to a more rapid rate of real progress (i.e. real increase in pro rata wealth creation) than other systems, provided there are safeguards against monopolies and cartels of course.

However, that presupposes that ‘a market’ is a self-evident thing. Is ‘a market’ only about supply and demand, or is it required to work with inbuilt social criteria as well?

In the socially developed World we have things like the right to strike, collective bargaining, welfare infrastructure, health care, health and safety, building regulations, environmental regulations and a lots more. Those things are what most would consider the trappings of a society which would call itself socially civilised. Most people, certainly in the West, would consider that these things, which do indeed cost a lot of money, are required target outputs for ‘a market’ to achieve.
    A basic social development level is part of the Western market.

These things are not natural developments of the market however. They have had to be won by countless struggles over 200 years or thereabouts.

It was understood that Western economies exist and compete in a market which accepted these overheads and where the provision in each country was broadly the same.

However, with the acceptance into the market of China etc. where a lot of those things we would consider basic social expectations and provisions are not provided or paid for, then we have a situation where it can be quite viably claimed that we no longer have ‘a market’ where everyone is playing by the same rules, but we have instead two markets competing with completely different rules.

In that scenario, Smith et al, falls down.

I’m all in favour of bringing China into a ‘Global’ market, but it should have been done in a way which maximised the social progress for the Chinese people and which preserved sufficient genuine wealth creation capability in the West to maintain the socially civilised standards that it had attained there.

To do this, trade with China should have been subjected to a tariff system where tariffs were reduced as pro rata percentage GDP spend on social infrastructure and citizens rights and freedoms targets were met.

Instead not only did we allow China full access to the WTO (Clegg lead the EU team which accepted China) but the GAT tarrif levels were ludicrously, massively in favour of Chinese exports.

It is as if, Global strategist capitalists want to use China to ‘reset’ workers rights in the West to circa 1850.

If that is the case, then they are in for a rude shock, because the people of Europe know that, even in isolation, they could easily go back to a situation where they grow and manufacture all they need to maintain the living standards they are used to AND to maintain social provisions as well. So if that is the plan it will not wash and there will be a new wave of revolutions.

262. Thepnr

@Chic McGregor

Gobsmacked!

Here’s me too thinking all along that you were a physicist only to find out that your grasp of economics is better than those that have won the Noble Prize for economics.

Noble prize for economics a misnomer I know.

Chic I can’t say I understood all your arguments but I certainly agreed with them.

Having worked all my life in Industry and watching its destruction I could plainly see with my own eyes how damaging it was to society and in Scotland in particular.

One thing I do know is that the Scots may be wee, they may be poor but they are certainly not stupid!

263. Thepnr

Or mibbees yer jist a Scots fermer that reads a lot?

264. Ian Brotherhood

Good stuff here, in the wee oasis… 🙂

Ian Dury & The Stranglers, ‘Peaches’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SjdhAZ_KWd4

265. Paula Rose

In an Independent Scotland there will be none of that looking at “peaches” whilst strolling on beaches – instead you will all join Thepnr in joyfully reading all about economics!

266. Brian Doonthetoon

Good essay, Chic McGregor!

And for Ian B…

Was this song put together as an analogy of Westminster?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hsunZRNnQ40

267. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Interesting cross-class/cultural stuff going on there what with it being in the Royal Albert All.

Someone said the string section was all gorgeous lassies wearing camouflage gear. Bummer! I couldn’t see any of ’em. 🙂

268. Paula Rose

Behave yourselves, men.

269. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

I’ve always had a penchant for prog rock and when I first heard “Down In The Sewer”, I was dumfoonirt, coz The Stranglers came in on the punk tide. “DITS” is classic prog rock, IMHO.
    Mind you, The Stranglers had been pro musicians for a fair old time before The Stranglers evolved.

There was a Dundee band called “The Visitors”, whose keyboard style was very similar to The Stranglers, and they were on the go at the same time.

If I can find time, I’ll upload the B Side of The Visitors only single to my webspace, so you can have a listen.

Won’t be tonight though…

270. Brian Doonthetoon

Paula Rose – I’ve already told you umpteen times, I am not having your babies!

What would the meenister say?

271. Betty Boop

@ Chic McGregor

Some of us realised much of what you describe would happen way back when Thatcher was doing her worst to our manufacturing industry. Most of us, however, could not have produced such an eloquent and descriptive analysis.

When it comes to our Western leaders, it would be bad enough to consider them inept, but, really, I think they just didn’t/don’t care about the consequences of their actions upon people.

272. Ian Brotherhood

Doesn’t matter if you don’t like so-called ‘punk’ music, or ‘anarchists’ – this dude is wise:

Penny Rimbaud, in interview (2007):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mADo_8D8nmc

273. Chic McGregor

@Thepnr

I have taken a holistic interest in economics since I was an undergraduate. Still have my copy of Mill’s ‘Principles of Political Economy’ on my bookshelf from student days. A tough read by the way, as indeed are most of the tracts on economic theory. In that respect, it is a subject equal to that of Law and Medicine in creating a linguistic fence.

However, my approach to economics is from a scientific perspective.

It is known as the Queen of Sciences, but IMO it is just about at the same stage of development as science was circa 1600 with astrology, alchemy and pseudo-science along with their shamans, shysters and charlatans still being given more or less equal credence with the emergent astronomers, chemists and physicists of the nascent rational age.

It should be a genuine science and treated as such. The problem is, up till now, it has not attracted the serious interest of the scientific community. First because, well frankly, it is not interesting enough and secondly because of the extreme opposition they would have to endure, given the vested interests involved.

If a team of genuinely scientifically minded people were to address the problem, I think it would fairly quickly be put on a far sounder, more rational basis, than it is at present.

The first thing they would address, is the fundamentals, as they did in science. Without those, no rational progress is possible.

To take one as an example.

What is an economy for?

Being somewhat subjective, that is not an easy question to answer.

For some people, it is entirely about competitiveness. It’s a game to be won. Winner takes all. This is a manifestation of that kind of thinking which has at base, the justification that there is still some meaningful level of ‘survival of the fittest’ evolutionary process going on for humanity. I would suggest two major flies in that particular ointment. First, human population has long since passed the numerical point where any such evolution could actually (statistically) take place and secondly the human characteristics which are most useful in succeeding in that scenario, dishonesty, lacking in empathy and ruthlessness, by most reasonable interpretations would be considered recidivist rather than progressive in human evolutionary terms anyway.

Then there are those who might take the polar opposite view, that no one should be economically disadvantaged by their lack of ability, since they did not choose to be born in that position. Therefore the economy should provide for everyone equally, regardless. The main fly in the ointment of that approach is that ‘regardless’ can pertain to lack of effort as well as lack of ability. Humanity has evolved a capacity for laziness. A capacity which we should realise has perfectly reasonable evolutionary credentials based on the often precarious balance between energy expelled versus energy intake (i.e. food). Therefore, there is more than a danger that such a system would lead to mollycoddling, encouragement of indolence and lack of incentives to the detriment of most of the recipient population in terms of their own personal development as well as to the sum production of wealth available for distribution.

However I hope and believe, that were a World wide poll ever taken to test for a fundamental consensus (as it would be if scientists were charged with the task) that the vast majority of humanity would plump for something like this:

As a fundamental principle, an economy is there to enable as many people as possible to get as close as possible to fulfilling their personal potential. That requires an economy to make sufficient welfare, health, housing, infrastructural and educational provisions as required but also, sufficient reward for those who are extraordinarily innovative, creative or imbued with a strong work ethic, thereby acting as an effective incentive while keeping that reward differential within reasonable limits (e.g. by income gap capping). There should also be restrictions on the size a corporate body can get to before it is required to fracture into competing entities to guard against monopolies.

If something like that third option was demonstrated to be a World consensus, then it could be enshrined in a UN Declaration of National Economic Principles.

Against which nations could be assessed for either admiration or admonishment (via tariff settings).

However, I do realise that such enlightenment is some way off, but hopefully not the full 4 centuries worth.

274. Paula Rose

Quiet please dears – i’m reading a new book called “Pavement” – just coalesce in the kitchen, give me ten minutes.

275. Ken500

Andrew Tyrie – Chair Treasury Select Committee is a ignorant, arrogant, pompous and totally out of touch.

Stewart Hosie brilliant.

Osbourne furious

276. David

?Supercalifragilivingwagesalidocious
    When you hear the Tory version
    It’s really quite atrocious
    ?

Living wage
    Existence wage
    Subsistence wage
    Minimum wage

Our language is being corroded by the bankers`pals and ‘I’m alright Jacks’ in Westminster.

Our welfare state is being reduced to begrudged benefits.

Our economy is being ruined by silver-spoon imbeciles.

We really, really gotta get out of this place.

277. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Your no wrong my friend.

278. Gillian_Ruglonian

Ronnie, proofs sent to your hotmail account – awaiting your verdict!

279. X_Sticks

Will be offline for a few days while I go and commune with nature at Strathallan Castle. Unlikely to have decent comms and I can’t be ar5ed with phone.

Here’s a little thing from my first festival to keep you busy while I’m away. It should be LOUD 😉

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DAejw6eKFUg

280. Cactus

Some Thursday morn entertainment for y’all..

The Streak ~ Ray Stevens
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XtzoUu7w-YM

281. ronnie anderson

@ Gillian Ruglonian Thanks Gillian I forwared them on to the Rev for his approval, so its wait & see.

282. David

@Brian Doonthetoon
    Yes, that’s the theme song inspired by this budget.

And speaking of Burdons and animals:
    The unionists see Scotland as a burden the UK has to bear. The reality is we are their ‘beast of burden’, doing all the work of keeping the UK solvent with our export earnings, while being whipped like a mule.

Rolling Stones “Beast of Burden”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8On3UiBOTdQ

283. Brian Doonthetoon

Nice one, David.

I posted this in the relevant thread (you-dont-get-to-do-this) just now but, with the fast turnover on the main pages, it will probably be missed. “Don’t Blame Me…” T-shirts was the subject, at the time.

————————————————

Re: T-shirts, mentioned many hours ago.

Check out this link:-

http://yes45shop.com/p/8957058/dont-blame-me-i-voted-yes—t-shirt.html

284. Paula Rose

Sorry to put a downer on the party – but Cur Mick Jagger is not exactly Indy supporting material – can we ensure that the tunes we post meet the high standards we expect of ourselves (eek can’t remember how to do the emoticon thingie).

285. David

Och Paula, if Jagger’s anti-indy it only means he’s reading too many MSM papers in whatever country he happens to be in.
    We should crowdfund a subscription to The National for him…

How about posting David “Stay with us, Scotland” Bowie – I’ve always loved his “Laughing Gnome”.

286. Michael McCabe

No Arguing with Paula Rose Because. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KqoXN0cLRs0&feature=player_detailpage

287. Thistle

Hi folks
    we recently live streamed a “safety walk” by concerned local citizens in Maryhill about the stopping of a free bus service to kids as part of an austerity drive by Glasgow City Council who promised the local community that they would always provide this service before closing their local schools. The council are now going back on this and stopping the free bus service.

The route itself I would not want my kids to walk as it is so dangerous. Other impacts includes sucking about £200,000 out of the local community as well as putting another barrier in front of kids from a deprived area from getting an education.

Instead of a 7min bus ride the walk will take upto 55mins in our wonderful Scottish weather along one of the busiest roads in Glasgow.

Please sign the petition:
    https://www.change.org/p/glasgow-city-council-rethink-changes-to-free-school-transport-343ad23d-5f49-482b-84ce-c77c8ca5fbf6?recruiter=53439271

288. Chic McGregor

Wrong answer for 13 Ac today took ages to suss.

I had chapel.

289. Brian Doonthetoon

Signed, Kevin.

BTW, this is hilarious. Guy trained a wild gull to dance for food.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z-6l-905zD0

290. Ian Brotherhood

Massive Attack, ‘Daydreaming’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JG9CXQxhfL4

291. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Poor wee seagull.

Plenty of them in Helensburgh, maybe you could train one. Wings meet up for fun and chat on 25th July at the Clyde Bar.

Hope you can make it.

292. Ian Brotherhood

Heard the end of this on Smooth yesterday, and was certain it was Gladys Knight.

Candi Staton, ‘Nights On Broadway’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ebdhWKDe1A

293. Tackety Beets

Chic , thats pretty much sums it all up.

Thanks for taking the time to write these posts.

Large business has taken control , hence every Gvt makes bizarre decisions we struggle to understand.

I have been Self Employed ( small scale) more or less all my adult life.
    I reflect , its all about big business bullying little business.
    They hide behind “small print” and know we are too busy to have time to challenge them.

Ian B , I bought the Candi Staton 7″er in the 70’s Sweet Soul Music . Classic !

294. Ian Brotherhood

This is for wir ain dearest Paula Rose – don’t let Rocky Rock Rock get to ye pal.

Ray Charles, ‘You Don’t Know Me’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6GX8UalMq8k

295. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hi guys, what’s happening?!

@thistle – I like this use of the live stream to raise awareness of a specific issue, there’s a few things in my area that could use that sort of attention.
    I wasn’t able to come to the CH training nights but I am still interested in picking your brain!! Are you going to be in Helensburgh on the 25th?

296. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Pete and I will be at Helensburgh; we’re bringing two lady lurkers from Ninewells – Sand Holmes, who missed Glasgow because of her lad’s motorbike accident, and Pam, who’s a character.

297. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Thanks for that, been struggling to find good tunes and was looking for inspiration, settled on this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CuIxEcLgqDQ

298. K1

PRose…here’s a little meditation for you 😉

http://www.tastefullyoffensive.com/2015/07/fk-that-guided-meditation.html?m=1

299. Thepnr

@Gillian_Ruglonian

I seem to remember that Thistle said he would make it along, I hope he does.

Brian Doonthetoon

Great Brian see you and Pete there and look forward to meeting your pals 🙂

300. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Good shout there mister.

Reminds me of queuing for lunch, 1st-yr at Holyrood Sec, Glasgow – knew, by how many guys were ahead, whether or not I’d get pie/beans/chips. (Very few of the first 32 ever opted for fish.)

Good pies…

Goodbye…

301. Michael McCabe

Paul Simon Singing Stevie Wonder. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=Nfpdefz0BmY

302. Cactus

@regulars ~

Here’s a song you may have heard on the radio, but may not have seen the music video for:

Moonlight Shadow ~ Mike Oldfield with Maggie Reilly
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e80qhyovOnA

303. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hiya Cactus, if I remember correctly that song was written about John Lennons assassination?

304. Brian Doonthetoon

It was good to see Tartan Tory being one of the first to post a comment on one of the pages yesterday.

————————————————

Been meaning to post this link for ages. It’s dedicated to Lumilumi – A Finnish band with Scottish scenes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vouAtmE13vs

305. Ian Brotherhood

Robbie Sheppard just played this – instantly catchy.

Skipinnish, ‘The Island’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gV9wXTczZB4

306. Ian Brotherhood

…and methinks it owes at least a nod and a wink to this:

The Pogues, ‘Streams of Whiskey’ 🙂 –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mPpGp_J3z2A

307. Ninja Penguin

Yew Choob’s back! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FotN8oFbXJs

308. Ian Brotherhood

Looks like we’ll be hitting 440,000 comments later tonight…keep the peepers peeled to see who gets it.

And where’s Paula Rose anyway?

309. Ian Brotherhood

Synchronicity’s a ‘real’ thing by the way!

Yesterday, was sorting out the CDs my late uncle left behind (approximately 250, all Classical stuff) because I was rejigging the room and had to make a new space for them. They’re mostly series he must’ve bought along with magazines – fifty of this or that ‘collection’, and a good few boxed sets of the big well-kent names. I know not a solitary jot about classical music, but enjoy playing these and remembering him. I don’t even know that he listened to them all, or what his favourites where, but he did have a wee plastic bust of Beethoven, and the boxed sets are, for the most part, conducted by Karajan.

So, anyway, yesterday, sorting them best as I could, I was thinking about the very few pieces of classical music I do know, and the ‘theme’ tune of the movie Gallipoli popped into my heid. I was wondering who composed it, and made a mental note to check it later online. I forgot to do so.

Just twenty minutes ago, I was surfing Youtube for any decent tunes, remembered Karajan, searched for him, but all the first results are major pieces, an hour or more long. Except one.

And you don’t have to guess what it was.

So here it is. The theme from Gallipoli, or, as it should be properly called, ‘Albinoni’s Adagio in G Minor’ – you’ll know it as soon as you’ve heard the first few seconds.

(Hey, Uncle Bill – aye, okay, very good! Stop laughing, ya bass ye!!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zuh3WyfVL2M

310. Michael McCabe

Trance music with a Guitar ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=WmndhZ4kNdU Digging the lamp shade.

311. smithie

Ian @11:04, aw bless, the older we get the more we have to deal with this senario. Not a fan o clssical music, but liked the subtext of yer post. Aw the best uncle Bill.

312. Ian Brotherhood

@smithie –

Cheers aplenty – much appreciated.

313. Ian Brotherhood

It was me! It was me!

314. Ian Brotherhood

It was me! It was me!

My comment above was the 440,000th on WOS.

Woooo-hoo!

That’s me made-up now.

Sorted.

I thank you all.

Please be seated.

:0 😉 🙂

315. smithie

LoL made up fer ya Ian,there goes my 5%, bugger.

316. Brian Doonthetoon

Ninja Penguin / Yew Choob – EXCELLENT!

Now, how about “Ballroom Blitz”? Words by ‘David’ on 30th June, up above.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-26/#comment-2032364

8=)

317. Paula Rose

@ Ian Brotherhood – have you calmed down yet,dear?

318. Thepnr

The EU and Merkel in particular still playing real hardball with Greece. Make no mistake “they” want no agreement with Syriza and their only aim is to bring down a democratically elected government, even if it causes chaos.

Mark my words.

319. kendomacaroonbar

Guys,

We have a new political journalist Terry Houston who has written an article on London Labours downfall and continuing downward spiral. If you can find the time can you go visit the website http://www.scot.scot and leave a comment if possible ? The Lost Tribe or Kier Hardie

On a different note I met with Dixie & Cactus this afternoon at the Clyde Bar for the next Wings Ding Doo. Looking forward to seeing many of you on the 25th.

Yours aye

Kendo

320. Thepnr

Hi Kendo

Regarding the 25th, I’d recommend just setting aside a portion of the lounge for those making the journey. their is no way of known how many will turn up.

Obviously the more the merrier but wouldn’t want the owner to lose out in any way by us claiming the whole lounge on what could be a otherwise busy Summer Saturday night for him. Cheers.

321. Thepnr

Hey Ken you missed out the i from iscot.

http://iscot.scot/

322. kendomacaroonbar

@Thepnr

Bleeding predictive text – it’s the bane of my life. Thanks for the heads up.

Re the Clyde, the back stage area has been kept free until about 11.30pm when the DJ starts his biz and the general public will have access. The local Yes, SNP and CommonWeal guys will hope to join you, and Dixie will be providing live music – so all’s good.

There is a curfew at 12 meaning if you leave the bar you can’t get back in – but drinking until 2.00 a.m. should be a good night !

323. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

🙂 😉 🙂

It was me! It was me!

🙂 😉 🙂

Yeeeeeee-ha! Wooooo-hooo! 🙂 🙂 😉

YES!! Get right fucking in there!!! 🙂 😉 😉

324. Thepnr

Cheers Ken

Sounds good, looking forward to meeting others that I haven’t met before as well as some old friends from past meet ups.

Tam Jardine, TJemmy, Quine fae Angus. Jock Scot Hello!

325. Michael McCabe

Lots of Smiley faces. Here is a song to go with them. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=azpe3Xqu9ys Congratulations Ian.

326. Brian Doonthetoon

Just a quickie, furnoo…

Finally got the ‘Proud Pedant’ badge design finished.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/badge-designs/ProudPedant-crop.jpg
    ————————————————

Kendomacaroonbar – if you’re still hingin’ aboot here…
    I’ll email you in the next 24 hours.

327. Brian Doonthetoon

Another quickie…

If anyone wants a personalised badge for the ‘Wings Over Helensburgh’ get-together, stick a post in Quarantine, saying what name you want on the badge.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/quarantine

328. Mealer

Paula Rosa 4.05pm
    Didn’t see you at the Harley D gig yesterday.

329. Mealer

I’m meaning to have a couple of nights at Celtic Connections in January.I’ve been advised this is the place to get guidance as to the best digs and gigs for craic.Any suggestions?

330. kendomacaroonbar

@BDTT

Brian,

I’ll be furtively lurking for a wee while. You can get me on e mail if needed ?

331. Paula Rose

Mealer honey – we missed each other, you should have let me know – I could have let you know which cocktail bar I was going to xx

332. Fred

@ Mealer, anent the Celtic Connections, how about Babbity Bowsters or The Old Print Works.

333. Mealer

Paula Rose 9.28,
    Sorry I missed you.My wife dispatched me to The Glebe at ten to three.She probably thought it a safer environment for me….away from the attentions of any “cycle sluts” who happened to happen upon Scotlands greatest city that day.Among the several spectators at said “fitty” was a man weel kent by you and I.Why the hell he was at the Glebe instead of the gig in the stables car park,I don’t know.But it’s a bit sad,I have to say.Anyway,we’ve got the L.We’ve got the G.We’ve got the B.We’ve got the T and now we’ve got the I.Its a long,long,road to YOUR destination,but I’ll be there for a party if,heaven forfend,you ever get there!

334. Ian Brotherhood

Don’t think we’ve ever had this one. What a fantastic tune it was, and right at the height of the Thatcher years.

Culture Club, ‘Karma Chameleon’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JmcA9LIIXWw

335. Ian Brotherhood

It’s one thing to be able to play a guitar like this, but to do it whilst having a drag is something else. Class!

Reminds me of seeing two locals cycling up to the train station one afternoon – one was riding the bike, standing up, his pal was on the seat, holding the rider’s waist. Impressively, they were both smoking fags, no hands required.

Django Reinhardt, ‘Honeysuckle Rose’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QATIHWbN-sM

336. Mealer

Fred 9.28
    Thanks for that.

337. Cadogan Enright

I have been going back over the last few days looking for a quote someone posted from the German finance geezer Wolfgang Schaeuble saying (basically) that if they wrote of debt for Greece, they would have to do the same for Ireland

anyone help me find it?

338. Ian Brotherhood

@Cadogan Enright –

Happy to try and help, but the Google results don’t throw up anything obvious. So much out there right now…

Have you any specific phrases which might help whittle it all down a bit?

339. Macart

Time for an extended holiday.

You folks be good now. 🙂

340. Thepnr

@Macart

Have a good one!

341. Thepnr

What i actually popped in to say before seeing Macarts post was that this Greek “agreement” is a disaster whether agreed or not.

Maybe the headstrong will stay at home until the result of their parliaments vote is known. Then again maybe not, not a good time to be in Athens 🙁

342. Cadogan Enright

@Ian Brotherhood 12.02
    It was posted on Wings – possibly by or near a post be De Valera – with a link to Wolfgang Schaeuble talking in English

343. Ian Brotherhood

@Cadogan Enright –

Aha! Misunderstood you – so it’s in here somewhere…

Got a rough time frame? Was it in the past week?

344. Paula Rose

@ Ian Brotherhood – sometime around the 440 000 comment I believe.

345. majestic12

So they think Mhairi Black speaks like a Glasgow docker? What would they make of this? Hilarious. Fair cheered me up.

https://www.facebook.com/363765800431935/videos/629014507240395/

346. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I want it carved into my headstone (or at least, to be printed on the big sticky label they put on the plastic jar) – ‘Supplied The 440,000th Comment On WOS – Verily, He Was Never The Same Again’.

347. Ian Brotherhood

Another oddity here –

When trying to explain and/or understand the BBC, it’s important to make some effort to understand where it came from, and the main characters involved.

Not that it’s ever that ‘obvious’, but the elders amongst us may be able to make wee connections here and there using archive stuff like this:

‘Thanking Yew From Mr and Mrs C. Fletcher’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s56SP2ylyUI

348. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Hahaha “The Establishment” old school though before they all became lizard people 🙂

349. Thepnr

OK I know many have been waiting on the start of some more decent music. Hope this fits the bill.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QgIr7E5LvpA

350. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Remember him on ‘That’s Life’?

I could never stand the prick. He had that wee bit screened-off on the stage, decorated with pot-plants, and he was wearing a smoking jacket or a tuxedo. Throwback to Edwardian ‘The Good Old Days’ shite, and he was so un-funny that the audience didn’t even know when to laugh. A creepy cross between Roy Orbison and Noel Coward, with none of their talent.

And as for Esther?…

Bleeeuurgh – the further we get away from irrational trust in these people, the clearer their behaviour becomes, and the BBC, as a ‘brand’, plummets exponentially. When the BBC is finished? That’s the ‘Empire’ officially done.

Please, all known Gods, let us see that day, and let’s see it soon.

351. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Sorry my friend, I can’t even remember somebody I met yesterday. Not that I’m dowally yet, just cant be arsed. I do remember for some reason the blonde one.

Anyhoos, a follow up to my last great record lol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NpF3LGgDoUE

352. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Good shout there mister. Never saw that video before.

Here’s a disco tune from around the same time:

Pointer Sisters, ‘Automatic’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KNi8aW8Nf6s

353. David

Vote SNP, get Basil Brush. 🙂

The Sweet- “Fox on the Run”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hjYGskMGgu8

“Basil Brush and the Airbed”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VHa3ldik4WM

Jamie Foxx- “Real in Rio”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_C3Gge9ycFU&list=PLblNQqioOrtjqjmBwmAYWEK18tScyBnhl

Fox Dives Headfirst Into Snow Nature prog
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D2SoGHFM18I

Jimi Hendrix- “Foxy Lady”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJwyl7RWWG8

Vote pro-fox, get right up the Tories’ noses!

354. Quinie frae Angus

Hello dear Wingers

Sorry to have to say that one again I won’t be able to make it along to the Helensburgh Wings Night.

This is because I will be down in Merry Old England that weekend for a classic rock fest known as “The Ramblin’ Man Fair”.

Hope my Wingy friends will forgive me when I say that the line-up was just too tempting to turn down:

The Temperance Movement, FM, Ian Anderson, Rival Sons, Saxon, Blue Oyster Cult, Greg Allman and The Scorpions!!! I’m sure you can imagine the excitement of a quiverin’ Quinie at the prospect of such a panoply of rock gods a’struttin’ and a-strummin’ against a Kentish sunset.

However, love and solidarity to all the Wingers and here’s hoping that I’ll be able to join you all again for the next one.

Are any fellow Wingers going to this Ramblin’ Man Fair? If so it would be a hoot to meet up for a drink! (I will of course be wearing my Yes and Wings badges, including my precious “Wings over Invergowrie” one, and the classic “I’ve been stroked by Paula Rose”, so I should be easily identifiable).

355. David

@ Brian Doonthetoon, I’ll second that, YewChoob’s latest song is excellent! We are lucky to have him and also Tommy Reckless, providing the satirical soundtrack to the Indy movement.

I’d be surprised/proud/happy/delighted if either of them were to use my humble little song. It would mean that “all my hard work ain’t been in vain for nothing.” 😉

Also thumbs up to Michael McCabe for Mick Jagger’s “She’s the boss”. Now that was for Paula Rose last weekend, but I think we can repeat it today for Paisley’s Mhairi Black, to celebrate her kick-ass maiden speech!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KqoXN0cLRs0&feature=player_detailpage

Or maybe it should be the Pussycat Dolls with “Don’t cha wish your MP was hot like me”, cos Mhairi was hot.

In fact forget hot, she was on fire! Burning down the house.

Very proud to have her representing Paisley and Scotland.

356. David

Ian Brotherhood, you want Cyril Fletcher, you can have Cyril Fletcher, as spoofed by the ‘Not the Nine O’Clock News’ team:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h2QZprRgxDc

Spot on, and viciously funny.

357. David

(Inspired by Mhairi Black’s maiden speech, and by the Pussycat Dolls)

“Don’t Cha Wish Your MP Was Hot Like Me” by the Pussycat AwrightDolls

I know you vote for me (I know you vote for me)
    I know you do (I know you do)
    That’s why whenever I come around Kezia’s all over you
    And I know you want Indy (I know you want it)
    It’s easy to see (it’s easy to see)
    And in the back of your mind
    I know you should be in Westminster with me

(Chorus)
    Don’t cha wish your MP was hot like me
    Don’t cha wish your MP had a first-class degree
    Don’t cha, don’t cha
    Don’t cha wish your MP was honest like me
    Don’t cha wish your MP was a Buddie like me
    Don’t cha, don’t cha

Fight the Tories (fight the Tories)
    Leave our budget alone (leave it alone)
    Cause if it ain’t Indy
    It just ain’t enough to mend a broken home
    Let’s keep up the pressure (let’s stick it to them)
    Unionists can’t play fair (you have to play fair)
    See, ah dinnae care
    But I know UK ain’t gonna wanna share

(Chorus)
    Don’t cha wish your MP had a first-class degree
    Don’t cha, don’t cha
    Don’t cha wish your MP was anti-austerity like me
    Don’t cha wish your MP worked in a chippy
    Don’t cha, don’t cha

I know I’m on your side
    I know we’ll have a good time
    I’m your voice
    I’m fun
    And I’m fine
    I ain’t lying
    Look at me, you ain’t blind (2x)

See, I know Kezia wants you (I know she wants you)
    I understand (I understand)
    I’d prob’ly be just as crazy aboot ye
    If you were mah ain man
    Maybe next parliament (maybe next parly)
    Possibly (possibly)
    Until then, Oh voter yir constituency’s safe wi’ me

(Chorus)
    Don’t cha wish your MP was frae Penilee
    Don’t cha, don’t cha
    Don’t cha wish your MP had chips fur her tea
    Don’t cha wish your MP was a Jags fan like me
    Don’t cha, don’t cha

The original:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ch6F4oA-EOw

Ain’t politics great nowadays!

358. Thepnr

Haha David, very good. That doesn’t mean to say that now is the time to get yourself carried away 🙂

359. Jock Scot

Hi folks,

Have been having a wee bit of a sabbatical but Ninja Penguin sent me the Lyrics for All The Free Scots (Thanks Brian for commenting) and well, it was another song up for the murderin’..hope it didn’t put too many folk off as Ninja’s lyrics just keep getting better.

David, I would suggest you try recording your lyrics yourself, you don’t have to be a good singer, as many can testify tae my efforts but you wrote them so you have the idea in your head and are in the best position to express the lyrics as they ought to be done.Yew Choob’s mission statement is to encourage people to put their creative ideas out there no matter how they come out at first..they will get better.

Sorry I haven’t contributed for a while but the ‘gestapo’ have been doing my nut in lately but now is the time to say Fuck ’em. Time to write a will and record Long Live UK..watch this space.

Cheers folks

360. Cadogan Enright

@Ian Brotherhood says:
    13 July, 2015 at 9:05 pm Got a rough time frame? Was it in the past week?

Yes

361. Cactus

The Clyde Bar (Helensburgh)
    25/07/15

Yeah, we met up on Sunday with kendomacaroonbar & company at The Clyde Bar. The venue is old school awesome, you’re gonna love it Wingers.. they’ve even got a single bed (I tried it out) for customers! Here, check out the website and cheers for having us: 🙂

http://www.theclydebar.com/

‘A’ and by the way, who’s got the clipboard with the up-to-date list of guests.. is it time to take registration again before first class?

Hey Quinie frae Angus, that’s a smashin’ line-up, enjoy le rock and see ye at the next.

Hey Gillian, aye, I didnay ken that song was written about JL.. it all makes sense now after playback, cheers 🙂

362. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cactus.

I’m keeping a list in ‘Quarantine’, of those who want personalised badges for the Helensburgh get-together.

As it was suggested some weeks ago, that personalised badges may put off lurkers, we’re only doing badges for those who actually request them.

Therefore the badge list is not a list of everyone who’s intimated that they’re gonna be there. You’d have to trawl back through ‘off-topic’ to collate that list…

363. pete the camera

“Homecoming Scotland a success” sticks in Jackie burds craw on reporting Scotland tonight

364. Tackety Beets

P T Camera ,
    Ref JB

Aye an they (RS/JB ) had to get the “scaled Back Bannockburn Event ” No mention o the other crap that was put on the same day in Stirling no less , aye for spite nae doot.

David @ 9.50 Excellent , email it to Lewis Hamilton for the crack!

365. Tackety Beets

P T Camera ,
    Ref JB

Aye an they (RS/JB ) had to get the “scaled Back Bannockburn Event ” No mention o the other crap that was put on the same day in Stirling no less , aye for spite nae doot.

David @ 9.50 Excellent , email it to Lewis Hamilton for the crack!

366. Cactus

Hey Brian Doonthetoon, cheers for the directions, heading for the containment suite..

So aye, see ye there lurkers, bar’s open till 2am.

..teleporting to Q the now..

367. indigo

Hi folks, I’ve been having a wee play about with an idea and wondered what you thought and whether anyone would like to contribute a story to it? http://www.ourindyref.com/about-us/

I thought it would be nice to create a repository for indyref experiences from ordinary people – so basically us reflecting on our own history, rather than the likes of Torrance & Cochrane.

368. Betty Boop

@ majestic12, 13/07/15, 11:07pm

Thanks for that link; I’m fair helpless noo! 🙂

369. CameronB Brodie

So, NASA have already made discoveries that challenge current scientific wisdom. What other amazing discoveries do you reckon there will be? Perhaps a positive case for the Union?

Nah, this isn’t science fiction.

Putopia (1951)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9S6ZmeAwvdE

370. CameronB Brodie

So, NASA have already made discoveries that challenge current scientific wisdom. What other amazing discoveries do you reckon there will be? Perhaps a positive case for the Union?

Nah, this isn’t science fiction.

Plutopia (1951)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9S6ZmeAwvdE

371. Taranaich

They’re baaaaaaack.

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/07/16/the-devo-files-return/

As ever, if I’ve misread/misunderstood/miscalculated anything here, I’ll happily amend.

372. Brian Doonthetoon

If Carlsberg did Paula Rose’s favourite songs…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_1a_nXU4jX8

I believe this was on the sound system, during that famous Invergowrie pool party.

373. Brian Doonthetoon

Or, should that be ‘infamous’?

374. cearc

Nah, they haven’t got enough power to left to get to another universe!

375. X_Sticks

Still recovering from T in the Park. I’m definitely getting too old for it, but just can’t stop. Here’s why: Gerry Cinnamon on the BBC Introducing stage on Sunday morning. Gig of the weekend.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wQbUYvRYksU&app=desktop

Enjoy.

376. Betty Boop

@ X_Sticks

Well done, you! Where do you get the stamina? 🙂
    That was encouraging, hopeful even, hearing all those young folk enthusiastically belting out “Hope over Fear” at T!!!

Hope for the future yet. Still trying to figure out if the organisers knew what they were letting themselves in for.

377. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi X_Sticks.

That video’s a cracker! Why? Because that’s a mainstream crowd at a mainstream festival.

I know the song because I’ve been at all the George Square rallies since ‘Hope Over Fear’ in October last year but the question is, how does a mainstream audience know it?

I can only surmise that the links to to the various clips on YouTube are being shared to those who aren’t particularly politically active and it’s striking a chord.

Gerry Cinnamon has a gig in Dundee on Sunday, 11th October; 7.30pm in Buskers.

http://www.ents24.com/dundee-events/buskers/gerry-cinnamon/4290409

378. cearc

Glad to hear you survived wallowing in mud with thousands of other people// Oh, sorry that was ‘communing with nature’ was it not?

As they say, your as young as you feel (afterwards!)

379. Paula Rose

Just mastered the grinder – couple more links to go and that unicorn will be unchained!

380. David

@ Tackety Beets, ta, but I don’t want to distract poor old (young, successful, rich) Lewis Hamilton from his day job.

@ Jock Scot, thanks for the suggestions, but I think the world is a better place without my ‘vocal stylings’. I’ll stick to typing. 🙂

381. Brian Doonthetoon

Chipmonkey’s been in touch – no detrimental effects from the Alyth flooding.

Hi Paula Rose.

Typing about unicorns…

You may like our latest badge, available at Helensburgh next weekend.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/badge-designs/Unicorn3-46mm-crop.jpg

382. Stoker

(((((HELP)))))
    Can anyone give me the name of the background music to this vid?
    Try and ignore the videos content, it’s the music i like and it’s
    doing my head in, i can’t remember where i’ve heard it before.
    I may be wrong but i think it’s a Scottish tune.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rYEw-8ZPrT8

383. cearc

Glad to hear Chip ‘n’ Quin are OK.

384. Mealer

X sticks
    Thanks for posting that video.Great reaction from the crowd.We know there was big support for Yes among young folk,but a lot in that crowd didn’t bother voting.I hope that song prays on their minds and haunts them a bit.Make them more likely to get off their butts and vote next time round.And there were bound to be atleast some No voters in the crowd.I wonder what was running through their minds.Great stuff.

385. Mealer

Stoker 8.32,
    That tune is called “The Gael” and was written by our good friend Dougie McLean.
    It was made famous in the movie “Last of The Mohicans”.

386. Stoker

Cheers, Mealer, you’re a star!

387. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cactus.

Do you want the pro-indy/Scottish videos for Helensburgh next weekend?

If so, I’ll arrange things with John. If not, it’ll give me a night to socialise.

8=)

388. Mealer

Nae probs,Stoker.I was actually playing it earlier this evening,so there’s a coincidence.Though I probably wasn’t playing it quite the way it was written.More practise required!

389. Thepnr

@X_Sticks
    Great to see, hope for the future right enough.

@Mealer
    Well done big man on coming up with the answer for Stoker

This is the reason why I love this site…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m-H0uIH5HHQ

390. Brian Doonthetoon

Well, you know, Thepnr, on this site, anything goes…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R3vK9iG26sk

391. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Your a nutter! By the way was that a duet by Boris Johnson and that German bloke lol.

392. Cactus

Aweright Brian Doonthetoon ~

Might be a good idea to have both live music and pro-indy/Scottish videos at The Clyde Bar, Helensburgh.. options are always good.

‘It’s aye better tae have and nae need, than tae need and nae have’ 🙂

D and me’ll arrive earlier in the day to set up stage.

393. Thepnr

Loved this song from 1979 you may have loved it too 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PHTrJGeKhYA

394. Quentin Quale

Ronnie A – thanks for asking. We are OK but Alyth Square and streets in that area are in a helluva state. Will take a huge clear-up operation. Good folk of Alyth out in force. John Swinney & Pete Wishart have both turned up to help/show support.

395. smithie

Fir ‘a’ Dundonians wherever they may be.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=znsWhMXJsFo

396. Chipmonkey

@bddt love the unicorn badge 🙂
    Busy so won’t be at Helensburgh.
    Next time.

397. smithie

Or as the Dundee street poet would say.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S1RIeeFZIzE

398. Ian Brotherhood

Can’t post this on main thread as it’s just too ‘out there’ and may put folk off, but Alex Salmond is going to be tearing strips off the Tories on Monday over the whole ‘Isisgate’ scandal, and that will, in turn, involve raising the unpleasantness of Blair/Iraq etc etc.

Just checked the Iraq Body Count website – 408 civilians killed/executed in the past week (not including the estimated 80 killed by a car bomb tonight). And that’s just the confirmed fatalities.

When the Tories (and any Blairites) get up to defend what’s happening, and/or what’s happened, it may help to mentally blank out whatever they’re saying – this could be a suitable alternative soundtrack for anyone watching British ‘democracy’ in action:

Joy Division, ‘Atrocity Exhibition’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5AqeqAQ1ILI

399. cearc

BDtt,

Love the badge, sad I won’t be there.

400. cearc

Ian,

Oor Alex had a big prescence on PM this afternoon talking about this in some detail.

I don’t think Labour are too worried (don’t want to upset the tory voters, don’tcha know.

401. K1

@Gerry Parker or someone associated wi iScot, I want to get the monthly hard copy subscription, but don’t do paypal. Any assistance gratefully received 🙂

402. Kendomacaroonbar

@K1. Hi there. E mail me ken@iscot.scot and we’ll work something out for you

403. Cactus

Hi K1, if you’re in the neighbourhood, we’re all heading for event Helensburgh next Saturday.

Most of the usual suspects will be there and more.

Come on down 🙂

404. K1

Thanks Ken, just emailed you…and Cactus…I’ll be along to the west end one? Can’t recall when that is happening, but I’ll be there 🙂

405. Brian Doonthetoon

Well, K1. Helensburgh is to the north-west of Glasgow so I guess it could be described as “the west end one”. That’s next Saturday, the 25th, in the Clyde Bar.

That’s the only Wings get-together I know of. Unless you mean the Kelvingrove Park to Glasgow Green trek on 1st August? I believe there will be Wingers at Glasgow Green but this Winger, onnyhoo, will not be getting his hiking boots on for the hour-and-a-quarter trek!

406. Ian Brotherhood

Dr Feelgood, ‘Milk & Alcohol’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A3gVzE2YxWw

407. Paula Rose

@>–>– (test)

408. Thepnr

Here’s an unusual one, Billy Idol Mony Mony

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sYYAv-QW38Q

409. Ian Brotherhood

If you’re running short of stuff to have nightmares about, check this:

STV News, John Mackay, The Krankies & John Barrowman, plugging panto at ‘the ess-ee see-see’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OrPPLUbhLVI

410. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Aye, and this is ‘unusual’ too – Billy Idol being interviewed by ‘Loose Women’.

The sexual tension is almost unbearable, as evidenced by Judy’s nervous giggling…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7aMylJyktU

411. Ian Brotherhood

This is extraordinary:

Hunter S. Thomson confronted by one of the Hell’s Angels he lived with, during a chat show (1967) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ccyu44rsaZo

412. Cactus

Check out these talented classical ladies:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKezUd_xw20

413. Stoker

@ Cactus (12.21am).
    Thanks for that, there are no suitable superlatives available.

414. Brian Doonthetoon

Now that was good Cactus!

415. Brian Doonthetoon

Further on 1st August.

Looks like the ‘All Under One Banner’ event is just a march to Glasgow Green, finishing at 1pm.

However, it looks like a demo has been organised against BBC bias, at Pacific Quay from 2pm to 4pm.

http://www.facebook.com/events/1642014286043226/

416. cearc

Thanks, Cactus.

That was hilarious.

417. Brian Doonthetoon

Ust found another video of Gerry Cinnamon doing ‘Hope Over Fear’ at TITP.

This one doesn’t cut off the start and is clearer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6xCXbP-Q9g

418. Brian Doonthetoon

‘Ust’ = ‘Just’!

419. X_Sticks

Cheers BDtt.

I see pretty much the whole gig is on that page (on the right).

Off to go watch it again. 😀

420. ian foulds

Campaign for an English Parliament

Is there any ‘mileage’ in our bid for Independence in supporting this Campaign?

421. Thepnr

@ian foulds

Campaign for an English Parliament

Yes, why not until the goal of full Independence could be achieved?

Basically four separate Parliaments within one United Kingdom must result in a kind of federalism with in effect FFA for each Parliament.

I really can’t see me supporting this in anything other than tacit agreement. Too busy with our own battles.

422. Brian Doonthetoon

I posted this on one of the main pages a day or three ago, and sensibledave took umbrage.

England needs proper devolution, ie ‘regional’, meaning that there would be 8 regional parliaments, plus Scotland, Wales and NI, each with FFA, paying a sub to Westminster for Defence and Foreign Affairs.

Then, abolish the HoL and use the space for the ‘upper chamber’, ie 9 members from each ‘region’, giving an upper house of 99 members, so no need for a casting vote.

Of course, adoption of this idea could kill off the desire for Scottish independence.

So, maybe I’m talking out of my @®se…

423. Brian Doonthetoon

My last post for tonight – roast beef is waiting for my enjoyment.

I suppose this could be regarded as the signature tune of Fluffy, Carbuncle and the Morningside chappie.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tjDxZqQhRBU

Funnily enough, the B side of that single could be their song as well.

“And we’re bet-ter together…”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QX3POx23vOA

424. Brian Doonthetoon

Jeez, it’s quiet in here…

Onnyhoo, a quote from the link below, that shows that ‘the 56’ are making their presence known in ‘that London’.

One Tory’s response to the SNP 56 may have been prescient. “There seem to be more of you Scots,” he told the new nationalist MP, who pointed out that there were exactly the same number of Scottish MPs as in the previous parliament. “All the same,” he replied, “there seem to be more of you.”

https://archive.is/rsi9g

425. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m gonna let you see another couple of badge designs we’ve come up with in the last week or so. (Available at Helensburgh.)

But, there’s a story behind the first.
    I’ve just finished reading Dan Brown’s “Inferno”, in which there is much mention of Dante’s “The Divine Comedy” and, in particular, “Inferno”.

Thanks to Tommy Sheridan, the rallies in George Square and, of course, Gerry Cinnamon, the phrase “Hope Over Fear”, I believe, has become chiselled into the psyche of a large percentage of the Scottish nation. Gerry Cinnamon’s performance at TITP would tend to confirm that.

So, while reading Dan Brown’s book, when I came across the reference to Dante’s (probably) most famous quote from “Inferno”, “Hope Over Fear” immediately flagged itself up in my mind.

That quote is, “Abandon all hope, ye who enter here”. You see where I’m coming from, iye?

So, I did a Google image search and found what I was looking for. A bit of tweaking in Photoshop and I had the background. A wee bit adjustment of Dante’s words to fit in with “Hope Over Fear” – and a sticker on the road sign to reinforce the message, and the design was complete.

You can see it here:-

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/badge-designs/Abandon-All-Fear-crop.jpg

The second design is self-explanatory.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/badge-designs/UN-Saltire-black-red-crop.jpg

426. cearc

Both excellent, BDtt.

427. Brian Doonthetoon

Thanx, cearc.

428. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT (8.32) –

‘Jeez, it’s quiet in here…’

Aye, it is my friend. As it is on the main threads.

Perhaps it’s because we’re now seeing the rawness of what the British ‘State’ involves.

What the Labour Party did tonight in the HOC; the ‘new’ scandals about child abuse (none of them are ‘new’ at all); the disgusting behaviour of that slug Cameron, ramping-up yet another Crusade…

It’s no wonder people get tired of it all – so tired, and scunnered, that they can’t even bring themselves to summon a comment.

🙁

429. Cactus

Aye, cracking badges Mr Doonthetoon. I wonder if Gerry might join us on Saturday night..

Howdy cearc & Ian Brotherhood 🙂

430. David

Tonight’s theme song for Diane Abbott and the 47 other Labour MPs who defied their party whip & voted against the Tory welfare cuts:

Argent – “Hold Your Head Up” from 1972

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBnSWJHawQQ

431. David

And for the SNP song:

Bachman-Turner Overdrive – “Takin’ Care Of Business” (1974)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mmwic9kFx2c

432. David

And for the Tories:

AC/DC – “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap” (1976)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rYeMhiWWP8s

433. Cactus

Aweright David, good choice of tunes, rockin’ it up, chairs dude!

434. Cactus

Try this one night-shifters, drummer for hire:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ItZyaOlrb7E

Sharp Dressed Man cover (originally by the ZZ’s.)

435. David

Nice one Cactus, that drummer must be of the “If it’s worth doing, it’s worth doing to excess” school!

436. Ian Brotherhood

I’ve got a prize for anyone who can submit a dodgier 80’s music video before midnight.

Kelly Marie, ‘Feels Like I’m In Love’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Wz_9dVJ-Ew

PS Was she Scottish?

437. kenomacaroonbar

Kelly Marie is from Glasgow/Paisley (?) I met her in Red Bus Studios around 1977 whilst trawling demo tapes. Nice lassie.

438. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian.

From Wikipedia…
    “Kelly Marie (born Jacqueline McKinnon, 16 October 1957, Paisley, Renfrewshire) is a Scottish disco singer. Her only notable hit was “Feels Like I’m in Love”, a #1 hit in the UK in 1980.”

Here’s one for you from 1988:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qh_lB4xHqWw

(I assume you’re old enough to watch it!)

439. Paula Rose

I will not be tempted…

440. Ian Brotherhood

I might just end up keeping that prize for meself…

Goombay Dance Band, ‘Seven Tears’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vKikIsRCkvs

441. Paula Rose

Any of you nice peeps going to mention our Saturday night soiree on the main threads?

442. Ian Brotherhood

Cheers KendoMac/BDTT, and hoots to ye Cactus – didn’t see your greeting earlier.

And as for Paula Rose? Well, if the lady’s not for tempting, so be it, but we can dream…

443. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Ah, yes ‘Sabrina’.

I remember the day they shot that video, near Greenock it was. They were very lucky with the weather.

Unfortunately, the video is too good to have a chance of winning the prize. 🙁

444. Morag

Did our mutual friend block you too, Paula? Awfully touchy, isn’t he?

445. Paula Rose

No he hasn’t – but I was being correct in that his tetchiness is due to his illness, I’ve noticed it before. He is often very funny and I enjoy his tweets – Bit amused that he took umbrage at “dears” as Iv’e used that term of endearment in previous tweets to him.

Do we have the wondrous pleasure of being in your company in Helensburgh on Saturday?

446. Thepnr

McTernan calls Labour members stupid for supporting Corbyn who is polling in the lead over Burnham hahahahaha.

447. Thepnr

@Cactus

Got your email forwarded, looking good for Saturday at the Clyde Bar in Helensburgh. All welcome.

Party time!

448. Morag

Helensburgh? Saturday? Probably not, it’s a bit far.

449. Paula Rose

Morag honey – borrow Nicola’s heliwotsit.

450. Morag

He got snappy when I responded to a tweet of his about hypoglycaemia with a joke – I’m on a diet. He expected me to know he was diabetic, but I didn’t. I only followed him on a whim, I’m not psychic and I don’t hang on his every tweet.

I apologised quite handsomely, but he didn’t acknowledge the apology at all. I tried to take his side in an argument with some stupid woo who was trying to claim a fad diet could cure diabetes or arthritis or something, and he turned on me, calling me stupid and ignorant for remarking that an ultra-low calorie diet can cause some mild cases of type 2 diabetes to go into remission. Which is a simple fact. (Actually effective in about 80% of cases in cats, though I didn’t bother to tell him that bit. Works on a smaller percentage of human cases.)

Apparently he doesn’t acknowledge that some cases of type 2 diabetes are milder than others, or that these cases respond to a drastic diet. So I’m stupid and he blocks me. I’m just the one with the biochemistry degree.

I probably won’t even notice. Tetchy is putting it a bit mildly though.

451. Morag

I ought to go to Millport, really.

452. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

LOL

Ah Morag shame you can’t make it.

453. Morag

Tell me what time, just in case.

454. Thepnr

@Morag

There is no time but 19:00 seems about right, I hear the music starts around 19:30 🙂

I think hotels and B&B’s are in short supply, I’m sure though something could be organised. That is if your not too fussy 🙂

455. Michael McCabe

I got my Mojave Working. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=oyIGjAghXoY Cheers Afro-Celt Sound System.

456. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Michael McCabe.

Your new gravatar is similar to one of our new badges.

See my post here:-
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-26/#comment-2040182

457. Cactus

Aweright thepnr, aye Saturday night is gonna be a belter. Maybe everywhere being booked-up is a good sign.. the sooner people arrive the better the boogey!

Calling all musical people.. singers, poets, guitarists, mandoliners, violinists, pipers, pianists, tambouriners, percussionists, bodhranists, foot-tappers, spooners etc.. drop a message here if you fancy doing a turn. You’re in for a treat, you don’t wanna miss this one.

Also, I wonder if Independence Live are gonna make an appearance.. what-say Kevin & Derek?

I’m heading out of office for a few days on another adventure, see y’all Saturday party people!

458. Thepnr

@Cactus

You missed out the berry pickers and tattie howkers. Good Dundee fowk!

An auld ain bit a guid ain. Hear the words.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zKHENjnk-T0

459. Paula Rose

NATASHA – where are you sweetest – will need pretty girlies apart from moi in Helen’s burgh!

460. Ian Brotherhood

Long-ish watch at 35 mins, but if you’re a Patrick McGoohan/The Prisoner fan, this is very good – interview, from 1977:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WiIUnCMpGbM

461. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Bookmarked for tomorrow, loved the Prisoner but bedtime looms and sweet dreams.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rlxTxWNi7k0

462. Michael McCabe

Ever fallen in love with someone you shouldn’t have fallen in love with. No not that one. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=rc4eYOhNnU8

463. Michael McCabe

I was really looking forward to Helensburgh on Saturday. Just found out today some friends have booked somewhere on the same night for my Birthday so Alas I Cant make it (Bummer) Any how next time. Hope you all have a great Weekend.

464. Taranaich

For my 100th post on Wilderness of Peace, I think Private Eye has finally lost me for good.

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/07/23/congratulations-private-eye/

For a while, I’d been content to praise them for the genuine good they do. But when you toe the Unionist line so completely that *Kevin Hague* is cited as a credible source about economics & business (last issue presented the Lib Dem’s side of the General Election campaign in Ian Blackford’s constituency with absolutely no scrutiny & took the “SNP cybernat” story completely at face value) you’ve just lost me. Add in a petty jibe about Jeremy Corbyn being electoral suicide, and I’ve lost any respect I had left for them.

Hell mend ye.

465. Michael McCabe

K1 put this up on the main topics which he got from the Revs Twitter feed. Quite good if you ask me. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=cEDDfJX0W7g

466. Thepnr

Hey Michael

Sorry to hear you can’t make it to Helensburgh on Saturday. I hope you have a great birthday wie yer pals.

467. Thepnr

This Saturday wings over Scotland are coming to the Clyde Bar
    LIVE MUSIC AND ENTERTAINMENT 6-11.30
    Not to be missed

https://www.facebook.com/clydebar

468. Brian Doonthetoon

And this Facebook page:-

https://www.facebook.com/events/947101598670170/

469. Stoker

Joe Walsh & Billy Gibbons – Life In The Fast Lane
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sSBAPMQEctg

470. CameronB Brodie

Me also cavemen. 🙂

The Groupies – Primitive
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mPmyr7XVn60

471. Brian Doonthetoon

A track I played at many a party over the years. A band from Hawick…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wdXZx0LEELg

472. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

That was braw, put I smile on my face. I was that age once 🙂

Just getting myself warmed up for the morn with some hot stuff!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sPpgYAFw-mA

473. Thepnr

And if you get to the Clyde bar early then you might be in time for…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_TMUJIWwyI

474. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Maybe this should be the song of 25th July…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iZX0h4X7s1c

475. Thepnr

This is one for Paula.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XsYJyVEUaC4

476. Brian Doonthetoon

Because this came up after a previous Youtube video, I listened to it again, for the first time in a couple of decades.

A classic of ‘Scotch humor, y’all’…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8WgXPBDrd8s

477. Paula Rose

Just finished washing up – sticks head out, oh Thepnr dear – very funny xx, where’s my lovely Natasha?

478. Stoker

Here’s one for all the party goers tomorrow night, have a guid yin.

The McCalmans – Still Gonna Die
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oXsHS_MOs9A

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.