Off-topic

Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. ronnie anderson

@ Kendomacaroonbar Sos Ken thats wan nite I,ll miss,if its Livestreamed I.ll see if I can connect. I still have your Wee Blue Book poster,& i,ve lost your phone number gies a ring.

2. Smithie

A wee mention here of what’s going on on main thread for oor ain fozzy bear A Charmichael (bless).
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOl-SOxXyPY.
    The last few verses lyrics,
    and in the stark and the sobering
    dry sunlight
    i will blink my eyes and
    hope the blink can erase
    all the shit that i said
    and did

hold onto your thumbs
    tighten your eyelids, uh-uh, uhuh
    lock up your ears, my dear,
    i’m verbal when i am loaded
    duck under that desk,
    cover your neck, uh-uh uh-uuuh
    thicken your skin as i begin
    to shoot myself in the foot again

and if i shoot at you,
    you should shoot at me, too
    and we can drown in pools
    of the thick dark words we threw
    and as my face turns white
    i apologize
    i am sorry
    it’s not your fault
    its mine

3. Smithie

Well after a sweet sherry (just the one mind), here’s another wee happy toon,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mf2ts2FIatQ enjoy

4. smithie

And just for you Ronnie, part 2 of boogie in that pub.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1F5e54ErBXU

5. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ken.

I think Cactus will be summarily elected as ‘music liaison’…

8=)

6. Paula Rose

Just sitting back filing my nails xx

7. cearc

I suppose congratulations should be in order, sweetie?

8. Paula Rose

What was that cearc honey?

9. Paula Rose

My new fan cearc sweetie…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXH9DVS76yM

10. Paula Rose

One of the sweetest men I ever knew…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1MOZnMRLYUs

11. Paula Rose

Where and who else?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wP8A9rtg0iI

12. Betty Boop

@ Gillian_Ruglonian, 25 May 15, 1:16am

Testing post delay time ๐Ÿ˜‰

Gillian, you will find that is probably a waste of your precious time ๐Ÿ™ A lot of us just can’t help ourselves from time to time though!

‘Tis a mystery.

13. Paula Rose

Betty Boop honey have you got that shade of red we admired, run out of cearc’s supply on my fingers – got to get the toes done before the boys arrive.

14. cearc

That’ll be my fabulous ‘Elephant in a Cherry Tree’ shade?

15. Cactus

Checking in.

Been away to a weekend music festival up by and beyond the ‘rest and be thankful’, lots a-going on in here too.. good to see the next sociable taking shape.

Away tae unpack.

16. Paula Rose

cearc honey – that’s the one, total disguise.

17. Gillian_Ruglonian

Testing again

18. Paula Rose

Which colour honey?

19. Oneironaut

@Gillian_Ruglonian
    “Testing again”

We’re sorry, but your message could not be posted right now.

This is due to an error caused by one of several possibilities:

1 – The expensive advanced hi-tech answering service system (i.e.: the parrot that takes messages) is asleep.

2 – We’re all drunk/stoned/unconscious from trying out Ian Brotherhood’s drink recipe listed on the previous comments page.

3 – We decided to let Alistair Carmichael have a go at posting messages since he might be in need of a new job sooner or later. He said he’d post your message, but it seems he lied. Never mind, everyone does it, right?

Please try posting your message again later.

This has been a public service error message brought to you by OneiroTech IT Solutions Ltd.
    Turning things off and on again, in STYLE! ๐Ÿ˜‰

20. Paula Rose

Oneironaut – I’m dreaming honey, and remembering everything.

21. Thepnr

Never going back again.

//www.youtube.com/watch?v=sKj1EFeU-cM

22. Paula Rose

Thepnr honey – we do our best love but please avoid Ronnie’s coffee table and also please put your wee utubey thingy ]amywotsits up with due care and attention.

23. Paula Rose

Oh by the way cherubs – I’m a bit worried, where’s Tartan Toy?{sorry Tory) I sent him home to change but he never came.

24. Paula Rose

Oneironaut – I’m dreaming honey, and remembering everything. I’ve been lying in again – popular I believe

25. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose

“Is all that we see or seem
    But a dream within a dream?”

You’re lucky, I can’t always remember mine ๐Ÿ™‚

26. Quentin Quale

This is dedicated to Team 56. Keep on doing what you’re doing.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u8fUzUwi_ws

27. Tartan Tory

Paula – No need to worry, I’m still here honey, but leather now discarded. Looks like a bit of a ‘dreich’ few days ahead, so bike stays tucked-up for now. ๐Ÿ˜‰

28. Tartan Tory

And I’ve passed your domicile twice in the past hour, albeit in jeans’n’shirt in my posh motor, but the wee red light wasn’t on in the top window, so I just kept rollin’ on…. ๐Ÿ™‚

29. Lollysmum

Tartan Tory
    LOL ๐Ÿ™‚ :-):-)

30. Michael McCabe

Imagine the 56 doing this in the Commons. the speaker would be raging. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=IDvIo_LRIZ4

31. Betty Boop

@ Michael McCabe

That would be interesting, but, after a night on the tiles, it would be great to see them do this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GvZAdW7IJCg

See what happens when you post links, you never know where you will end up.

32. Betty Boop

@ Tartan Tory

Just as well you kept rollin’ on.

Paula R was in such a flap because I had none of the classy cherry red polish, only remains of some shocking pink, just like that shade on Vauxhall Cresta’s in the early 60s.

Not in vogue and def not enough pzazz for Paula, didnae even match her shoes; was beside herself in case she had to receive guests whilst not looking her best.

Cheers

33. Paula Rose

Put blue bulbs in the chandelier – does he care to notice?

34. Thepnr

This is the message that the 56 are taking to Westminster on our behalf.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=17yfqxoSTFM

35. Thepnr

I know that a fair few readers here enjoy Laurel & Hardy as I do ๐Ÿ™‚

Well get on down, the Rolling Stones accompany L&H lol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QpV-VKu45nM

36. Paula Rose

Thepnr honey – oh sniggles galore xx

37. Natasha

Oneironaut

We are the music makers,
    And we are the dreamers of dreams,
    Wandering by lone sea-breakers,
    And sitting by desolate streams;โ€”
    World-losers and world-forsakers,
    On whom the pale moon gleams:
    Yet we are the movers and shakers
    Of the world for ever, it seems.

They had no vision amazing
    Of the goodly house they are raising;
    They had no divine foreshowing
    Of the land to which they are going:
    But on one man’s soul it hath broken,
    A light that doth not depart;
    And his look, or a word he hath spoken,
    Wrought flame in another man’s heart.

And therefore to-day is thrilling
    With a past day’s late fulfilling;
    And the multitudes are enlisted
    In the faith that their fathers resisted,
    And, scorning the dream of to-morrow,
    Are bringing to pass, as they may,
    In the world, for its joy or its sorrow,
    The dream that was scorned yesterday.

From the Ode by Arthur O’Shaugnessy (many thanks to Morag for introducing me to him way back in September 2014)

Paula Rose – “Red Alert, Red Alert!” “Are you sure?” “Yes, why?” “It means changing the light bulb.” (Bonus points if you know where that comes from).

38. Ian Brotherhood

No idea why this popped into me heid, but thought I would share:

Blancmange, ‘Living On The Ceiling’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L03PJeB38dI

39. Thepnr

@Natasha

I read that poem and it’s not often that I do. I have only one poem that struck a chord with me. Wasn’t in the best of moods when I first found it though. Didn’t make me worse, just made me think!

It won’t be to many’s taste, bit old fashioned but powerful I think all the same.

O Me! O Life!
    BY WALT WHITMAN

Oh me! Oh life! of the questions of these recurring,

Of the endless trains of the faithless, of cities fillโ€™d with the foolish,

Of myself forever reproaching myself, (for who more foolish than I, and who more faithless?)

Of eyes that vainly crave the light, of the objects mean, of the struggle ever renewโ€™d,

Of the poor results of all, of the plodding and sordid crowds I see around me,

Of the empty and useless years of the rest, with the rest me intertwined,

The question, O me! so sad, recurringโ€”What good amid these, O me, O life?

Answer.

That you are hereโ€”that life exists and identity,

That the powerful play goes on, and you may contribute a verse.

40. Ian Brotherhood

Not many people know that this was mostly shot in Saltcoats:

Black, ‘Wonderful Life’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uERD1heDU_Q

41. Oneironaut

@Natasha
    ooo, I like that one ๐Ÿ™‚
    Haven’t heard it before, but I like it.

The bit I posted was from “Dream within a dream” by Edgar Allan Poe.
    Don’t know for sure if I’m interpreting it right, but some time last year or so I was introduced to this movie called “Waking Life” by a fellow independence campaigner (who used to come on here sometimes, haven’t seen him in ages).

It made me wonder if everything around us is simply a dream within a dream ๐Ÿ™‚

Fascinating things dreams…

Also, yep, I think I know where that quote is from ๐Ÿ˜‰ hehe.

42. Michael McCabe

@ Natasha that ode was great. Morag has taste. Do not know the Quote. As for red alert I know this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=6hIF81M0yQA

43. Taranaich

Private Eye’s wee dig at our elected “Braveheart dreamers, useless time-servers and local authority drongos” inspired me to do a bit of number-crunching on Team 56:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/05/29/scots-on-the-make/

I’d love to actually answer my somewhat rhetorical question of how many Westminster party candidates did nearly as well as the SNP did, but until I can find a spreadsheet that includes all the data sets (I made up my own spreadsheet featuring only Team 56 after tracking down the relevant information) I don’t know how feasible that’d be. Anyone have an idea?

44. Gillian_Ruglonian

Anyone going to Stirling Bridge today? A sizable delegation from Rutherglen are going up on the train shortly if you’re looking for company ๐Ÿ˜‰

45. Oneironaut

@Taranaich
    Great article as always ๐Ÿ™‚

Would be interesting info to have that. I’d love to know just exactly how weak the Tories’ grip on power is these days!

I believe if voters in England had had a real alternative to vote for (an English SNP. ENP?) the Tories would have been utterly destroyed south of the border as well.
    Someone down there needs to get busy on that before the next election! ๐Ÿ™‚

@Gillian_Ruglonian
    Sorry, that’s a bit out of my travel range. Also got somewhere to be today.

Going up to Dungavel on Saturday though.
    Also had a nice time in Ayr on Wednesday there, joining a protest outside the Tory office there.
    We also had an unexpected visit from David Cameron himself! ๐Ÿ˜€ hehe
    https://twitter.com/AyrshireSSP/status/603589593519230979

46. Betty Boop

@ Oneironaut

Oooh, careful, we’ll be back to quantum physics again!

47. Chic McGregor

Aargh! I hate it when an answer which fits at least as well as the intended one to the given clue blocks you from getting other clues.

Yesterday I had CURTAIL 18 Dn

48. CameronB Brodie

Seems appropriate. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Swinging Tigers – Snake Walk Part 1 & 2
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aRzyllMExR4

49. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

If you’re gonna stretch the limits and include bands with “Tiger” in their name, I can’t not do this post.

One of my all-time favourite singles (which was relatively popular at discos in Dundee) was this one, from “Shabby Tiger”.

For some reason, it was first released in Germany in 1974 and got to number 1 in the German charts. It was released on RCA in the UK in 1975 and went nowhere – but I had heard it at Chalmers & Joy in the Seagate and thought, “That’ll take on…”.

Another one of my spectacular failures at predicting hits.

Onnyhoo, here’s some info from this link:-

http://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/news/10330001.VIDEO__Tributes_to_Blackburn_singer_who_had_hits_in_seven_countries/

A BLACKBURN singer who had a number one hit in seven countries has died at the age of 61.

Henderson Gibson co-wrote and sang backing vocals for Billy Ocean and the Nolan Sisters in the early 1970s before striking out with his own band called Shabby Tiger.

Though never fully recognised in the UK, the bandโ€™s 1974 single โ€˜Slow Downโ€™ hit the number one spot in Germany and several other European countries.

Gibson, who was affectionately known as โ€˜Hendyโ€™, was diagnosed with lung cancer last year and died at home on March 26.

Born in Glasgow, Mr Gibson was inspired to take up music and become a singer after watching his sister Heather win a talent contest.

I always thought the graphic from their album sleeve (which I have in my collection of vinyl) would make a cracker of a T-shirt but I’ve never got round to having one made.

http://images.plixid.com/imager/w_500/h_/2dc384994ca6fb0630fa5bc23d88e6b2.jpg

Onnyhoo, here’s the tune.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LE_kl5mOMw8

50. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Natasha.

I was going to reply to you on another page today but with juggling 6 Wings tabs in Firefox and dipping in and out as work allowed me, I forgot which page was due a reply.

Hence this post here.

You responded to Rev Stu’s deletion of the bulk of a post on “nationalism” by telling Rev Stu that we didn’t want that sort of content in this wee roomie.

You should have suggested that “Quarantine” was a more appropriate home for it!

http://wingsoverscotland.com/quarantine/

51. Paula Rose

Clean glasses in the cupboard sweeties – music night in bonnie Brechin, off out might catch you all later.

52. Ian Brotherhood

Marvin Gaye, ‘Got To Give It Up’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RHksnzENQ_A

53. Ian Brotherhood

Bryan Ferry’s playing in Glasgow tonight.

Here he is, with Roxy Music, just a few years ago – by my reckoning he was 65 at the time. Looking good mister…

‘Virginia Plain’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v27SIQPZ6cc

54. Ian Brotherhood

No, sorry, that’s wrong. It was 2001, and he’s 69 now, so he must’ve been…er…he was still quite old right!

55. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Hi, Dundee has always been ahead of the curve. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Here’s another twist on the surf theme. Kanjinch? is the name of a Japanese kabuki play concerning loyalty, deception and piety. It was also apparently the inspiration for Akira Kurosawa’s period drama, “The Men Who Tread on the Tiger’s Tail”.

Takeshi Terauchi and Bunnys – Kanjincho
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iQLb3aq-xs4

56. Natasha

Thepnr – well you’re a bundle of laughs, aren’t you? I’ll have to find some more uplifting poetry to cheer you up a bit.

C’mon Paula Rose – I know you’re long in the tooth, but you must have watched Red Dwarf!

57. Thepnr

@Natasha

I suppose your right, mind you I was still a Labour supporter when I found that. Explains a lot LOL.

58. Ian Brotherhood

Had to double-check, while watching this, that I’m drinking cider as opposed to mushroom tea:

Wizzard, ‘See My Baby Jive’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uHNdQJPmTRU

59. CameronB Brodie

Oneironaut

Apparently the latest quantum theories suggest that certain sub-atomic particles only come into existance when observed, so if correct, you might say we are all figments of someone else’s imagination. ๐Ÿ™‚

60. Ian Brotherhood

@CameronB –

I know you were ‘talking’ to Oneironaut, so please forgive me interjecting.

You’re a well-read dude, and I’m curious about your thoughts on the quantum stuff, imaginary figments etc. Specifically, I’m wondering if you, or anyone else, could have a stab at explaining this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6cdFuMgMkBM

61. Natasha

Ian Brotherhood
    The question you should be asking yourself, is not ‘What am I drinking?’ but ‘Why am I watching this in the first place?’

By the way, I might be a unionist agent; personally I think I’m probably just a cylon sleeper. The only trouble is, there wasn’t a midget model.

62. Natasha

I see we’re still being taken back to the previous page. Has anyone worked out how many posts it takes for that to stop happening?

63. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    No problem at all Ian, though I think you may have me confused with some other dude. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Taking a stab at answering you though, I think your previous clip may have some significance in explaining the existence of that particular phenomena. I mean, where do you go from Roy Wood? To infinity and beyond? ๐Ÿ™‚

64. Brian Doonthetoon

Ian B – I hope you noticed the “Move” link I posted on the “Tiger” page today…

So, another single I liked but it bombed in the UK:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0zezVBsfmBQ

65. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: in that last YouTube link – the guy on keyboards, playing that really complicated contribution, is Vangelis.

And typing of Vangelis, I reckon he was inspired by this, when he wrote “Chariots Of Fire”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bgp5fd0-StI

66. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

‘Shabby Tiger’?

That was very catchy. Never heard it before. ‘Gotta slow down…’ Yeah!

My better half just got back from seeing Bryan Ferry, said he was great, did all the Roxy stuff. Not a marathon set, but intense, and he had everyone up on their feet.

67. CameronB Brodie

Sticking with the Japanese surf theme.

Takeshi Terauchi & The Blue Jeans – Rashomon
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-g2fXW-K3GA

The idea of contradicting interpretations has been around for a long time. It is studied in the context of understanding the nature of truth(s) and truth-telling in journalism. Valerie Alia has used the term “Rashomon effect” extensively since the late 1970s. She first published the term in an essay on the politics of journalism for Theaterwork Magazine in 1982. She further developed and used the term in her books, Media Ethics and Social Change,[1] and in a chapter of Deadlines and Diversity: Journalism Ethics in a Changing World,[2] which she authored; the book was co-edited by Valerie Alia, Brian Brennan and Barry Hoffmaster.

A useful demonstration of this principle in scientific understanding can be found in Karl G. Heider’s work on ethnography.[3] Heider used the term to refer to the effect of the subjectivity of perception on recollection, by which observers of an event are able to produce substantially different but equally plausible accounts of it.

It is named for Akira Kurosawa’s film Rashomon, in which a crime involving four individuals is described in four mutually contradictory ways.[4]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rashomon_effect

68. Paula Rose

(lovely crowd in tonight)

69. Oneironaut

@CameronB Brodie
    There’s also that thing about “quantum entanglement”, linking two quantum particles together and being able to change one by changing the other, no matter how far apart they are.

http://www.technologyreview.com/view/516636/physicists-discover-the-secret-of-quantum-remote-control/

Might be something in that whole “telekinesis” thing, being able to affect objects at a distance. Assuming of course a human mind can somehow create distant links and alter subatomic particles.
    Just like affecting the flow of a dream, for us lucid dreaming travellers…

Maybe we’re capable of literally dreaming ourselves a better world… ๐Ÿ™‚

@Natasha
    Yay, I got the Red Dwarf reference! Love that show! ๐Ÿ˜€

(In case any TV licencing folks are reading this: that is, I DID love that show back when I had TV reception! hehe) ๐Ÿ˜‰

Found the bit it’s from too. At around 1:25 or so ๐Ÿ˜‰
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=81W8tG3wH_4

Also, if you’re a unionist agent, do you feel like defecting and coming over to the fun side? ๐Ÿ™‚

We have cookies and ice cream! ๐Ÿ˜€

70. Quentin Quale

Sheesh, all this quantum stuff and modes of perception, time & space discussion. Anyway, have to dash as the platform is arriving at my train.

71. Quentin Quale

The great Jim Croce. Time in a Bottle
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dO1rMeYnOmM

72. chipmonkey

QQ my honey,did you pass through a time space continuum when you walked down station road,or is there something I should know?

73. Paula Rose

Platforms only arrive at trains if you are on the train, not if you are on the platform.

btw Natasha are you on the twitty thing (and anyone else)?

74. Ian Brotherhood

Has any song ever had a better opening than this?
    The Waterboys, ‘Don’t Bang The Drum’ (live, 2012) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ImjhRmyMFFk

75. Ian Brotherhood

I know someone who knew Ian Dury. Seriously. And what’s more, you know that person too! (but I ain’t telling, so please don’t ask…)

Ian Dury & The Blockheads, ‘Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0WGVgfjnLqc

76. Paula Rose

Naughtie sweary words?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MtuVBPwzstM

77. Paula Rose

Beautiful boys…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zoJYM3krDWQ

78. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Okay, hats-off – the opening to Plaistow Patricia is unbeatable.

๐Ÿ˜‰

79. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Seeing as you appreciated Shabby Tiger, here’s another from the same year (1975).

It was another single I picked up because, at the time, I spent my lunch hours in Dundee’s premier record shop, Chalmers & Joy, where I listened to the new releases that had come in that day, while enjoying my Wallace’s bridie (Castle Street) and a packet of cheese & onion, all washed down with a can of Coke.

Onnyhoo, once again, I thought, “That’s a bra’ record; that’ll take on!” So I bought it. It reminded me of “Keep Yourself” by Queen, what with the (double-tracked?) harmonic lead guitar sound and so on.

And of course, because I liked it, the greater British record buying public totally ignored it. It was produced by Phil Wainman (Sweet and David Bowie & others). Nobody (according to Google) knows anything about any members of the band.

I believe Paula Rose was so inspired by this single, as to cause a major redesign of a certain ‘maison’ in Brechin.

Here’s Son Of A Gun. Enjoy the pics…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sZKT4zdbHwc

80. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Again, that’s a perfectly whistleable wee tune, but whoever picked their name for them should’ve been publicly horsewhipped. And they were fools to accept such a cheesy moniker – the price, as we now know, was to be ignored, then completely forgotten.

81. Ian Brotherhood

The original and best:

Bay City Rollers, ‘S-A-T-U-R-D-A-Y Night!’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBn2ux5vRHk

82. Croompenstein

Sadly passed but I need to keep his CD’s in the fridge he was so cool…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jDy8kWnEaVM

83. CameronB Brodie

Boss surf from 1964. Sorry. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Astronauts – Firewater
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EO_pOYfsJk4

84. Ian Brotherhood

@Croompenstein & CamB –

Good stuff chaps.

Especially like the dancing of the dudes in the Astronauts clip – ‘daddy dancing’ was obligatory for all men in sixties America, and many women danced as though one of their big toes had been stapled to the carpet. The guy on the sofa is clearly bent on getting pished as fast as he can, for reasons which, presumably, are addressed elsewhere in the movie.

A fascinating glimpse into the past which spawned us all…

85. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

This is where I put on my pedant DJ hat. You described that BCR ‘Saturday Night’ video as “The original and best”.

‘Saturday Night’ (BELL 1319) was the BCR’s 4th single, after ‘Keep On Dancing’, ‘We Can Make Music’ and ‘Manana’, which was a hit in various European countries but not in the UK. ‘Saturday Night’ bombed as well, at which point the original vocalist, Nobby Clark, left the band.

The 5th single, ‘Remember’, with their new singer, Les McKeown, became their first hit in the UK since ‘Keep On Dancing’. Nobby had originally recorded vocals for this but McKeown’s version was what became the hit. On the strength of this success, an album was quickly put together, entitled ‘Rollin”. This included a version of ‘Saturday Night’, but with Nobby’s vocals replaced by Les NcKeown’s.

This is the version that gave them their first US hit and is the version in the video you linked to.

Here’s the original version with Nobby Clark doing the singing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nUyNxbRy88A

Hi Croompenstein.

Here’s one for you…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5WUeOEkl270

86. Brian Doonthetoon

Typin’ about the 60s…

A trailer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3JjyvQzSJI

And if you want to watch the whole piktchur…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1PCUw4r2hqI

87. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    I was actually going to post this earlier tonight. It’s a funny old world. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thee Headcoatees – Ca plane pour moi
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_vVSUmNB1Os

88. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

In my defence, I was referring to BCR being ‘the original and best’ because they were, to my generation, the first Scottish ‘boy band’, but they appealed to the lads as well as the lassies.

In Primary 6, or thereabouts, our school trip was to Saltcoats, and BCR were all the rage. Mind you, ABBA were Number One at the time, with Waterloo, and while we were on the bus the radio (must’ve been Radio Clyde) played a wee dedication for us – it had been sent in by one of the girls and she hadn’t told any of us, just the teacher, who then told the driver. That went down a storm, and we were all very happy. Then, as we reached that point on the journey (perhaps just before entering or leaving Dalry?) where the first glimpse of the sea can be caught, one of the guys got so excited that he pished himself and started crying. He wasn’t the only one of our class who had only ever seen ‘the sea’ on the telly.

When we got to Saltcoats, we were left to do whatever we wanted, so long as we were back at the bus for two o’clock or whatever. We all went to the amusement arcades because, inevitably, it was cold and pishing rain, and the teachers went to the pub.

Happy days!

89. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    Sorry Ian, I missed your comment. โ€˜Daddy dancingโ€™. I don’t think I’ve ever seen my dad shake it with such abandon. ๐Ÿ˜‰

90. Stoker

@ CameronB Brodie (1.40am).

I just came on to post that very tune.
    It’s been running through my head since hearing it on Radio 2 yesterday afternoon. I used to have it on the old 45 single.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=agL9ftHYrRQ

I much prefer your video though.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

91. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

๐Ÿ™‚

It’s weird to think that, 20 years from now, whatever the young dudes are doing in the clubs right now will be considered ‘daddy dancing’. It’s inevitable.

Tragic, but strangely heartening…or, if you prefer, heartening, but strangely tragic, or, if you prefer, strange, but hearteningly tragic.

Throw ‘inevitable’ into the mix and it gets truly messy…do another version which includes ‘messy’ and it becomes a plausible Phd outline.

Never mind – here’s a song which may tempt Paula Rose back out from under the covers:

Pet Shop Boys & Dusty Springfield, ‘What Have I Done To Deserve This?’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wn9E5i7l-Eg

92. David

I was reading Grouse Beater’s blog, and who is commenting but Yoda! (Or yodainuk as his name shows on Gravatar if you click on the pic.) He is using a pic of Stuart Campbell as his avatar icon. Pic’s now showing up on here as well.

And there’s more! He is also commenting there as Toad, using the same pic of Stu Campbell.

And of course here he is commenting as Truthy, with pic of Campbell, as well as Today, and as plain old Yoda.

Not sure if split personality, borderline psychotic, or just a bawbag.

Hey Truthy Yoda Toad Today, you won the referendum, get over it.

Hey Today Yoda Truthy Toad, you got hammered in the general election, deal with it.

PS Just WTF is your game, you waste of space?

93. David

Last week on CNN, the Fareed Zakaria GPS show was talking about “Britain stepping away from the world stage”, with captions like “The sun is setting on Britain’s status as a world power”. Here’s the link:
    http://edition.cnn.com/videos/tv/2015/05/22/exp-gps-0524-take.cnn

Some good stuff in its 4 minutes, even if Mr Z confuses England with UK, and thinks UK losing power is a bad thing , mostly because we won’t be able to help the US so much in policing the world.

It got better tonight when the UK ambassador to the USA, Sir Peter Westmacott, was the programme’s guest, responding by bigging up the UK. The bit that REALLY got my attention was when our man in Washington DC was asked what the UK had done or was doing to bring peace to the Middle East. I’m paraphrasing because the whole interview isn’t on the CNN site yet, but basically the ambassador said:

“We’re bringing peace to Middle East by providing precision targeting to those doing the aerial bombing.”

Not his exact words, by certainly what he meant, if I heard him correctly. So we can give the ‘Muricans the tech to kill more ‘real’ targets and fewer civilians.

“We come in peace, set phasers to kill” just about sums it up.

There is a short 1m40s video of this available, but it doesn’t contain this part. I hope more gets posted later.

http://edition.cnn.com/videos/tv/2015/05/29/exp-gps-0531-westmacott-us-uk-relations.cnn

Shocking stuff.

PS Fareed Zakaria asked the ambassador You don’t have a central role in Europe. what are you then, a kind of small island off the coast of Europe, with no special relationship to anyone?” LOL

94. David

http://www.facebook.com/fareedzakaria/posts/10152726969246330

“Watch the full interview this Sunday at 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. ET on CNN”

Note, the full interview is longer than the 1m40s clip that is available now.

95. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    “I know someone who knew Ian Dury. Seriously. And whatโ€™s more, you know that person too! (but I ainโ€™t telling, so please donโ€™t askโ€ฆ)”

Well I used to know someone who knew KT Tunstall… Wish I’d gotten her number off them!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsCi5cdm2tw

96. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker and CameronB.

The Plastic Bertrand single story is ‘interesting’.

In 1978, in my daily trawl of new singles in Chalmers & Joy, I found “Jet Boy, Jet Girl” by Elton Motello on the Lightning label. I bought it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9CQ7Qcv0X-I

A few months later, I found Plastic Bertrand’s version. Now it gets interesting… This is from the Elton Motello Wikipedia page:-

Elton Motello is both the moniker of Alan Ward, the lead singer and songwriter, and the name of the band itself. Alan Ward was formerly a member of the glam punk band Bastard along with Damned guitarist Brian James, Dez Lover and Nobby Goff.

Motello then recruited a new set of musicians including Mike Butcher (aka “Jet Staxx” who had played on Jet Boy,Jet Girl), Willie Change (bass), and Nobby Goff (drums), to record debut album Victim of Time, which also featured guest appearances from former Pretty Things and Pink Fairies drummer John “Twink” Alder, Tony Boast, and Peter Goff (guitar).

and

Alan Ward had toured Belgium with Bastard, and through his connections there Motello debuted with the “Jet Boy, Jet Girl” single in 1977 on the Belgian Pinball label, initially backed by session musicians. These session musicians – Mike Butcher (guitar), John Valcke (bass) and Bob Dartsch (drums) – had recorded the backing track also used on the hit single of Plastic Bertrand’s “Ca plane pour moi”.

The EXACT SAME backing track was used for both the English and French versions of the song, with two different vocal tracks. From discogs.com, the two different versions were released almost simultaneously in Europe in 1977, then in the UK in 1978. As I typed above, the Motello version was the first I came across.

But it gets weirder. “Plastic Bertrand” was actually Roger Jouret, who was Elton Motello’s drummer, under the name ‘Nobby Goff’!

http://www.punk77.co.uk/groups/eltonmotello.htm

And the last controversy? The above web site says that after a court case in 2006, Jouret was confirmed as the singer on “Ca Plan Pour Moi”. However the discogs.com ‘Plastic Bertrand’ page has,

…although rumours abound that he allegedly didn’t perform vocals on this track. As he was unable to make it on time to the recording studio, vocals duties were allegedly taken over by producer Lou Deprijck. 33 years later, in july 2010, Plastic Betrand admitted it was in fact Lou Deprijck that was heard on the hit single.

http://www.discogs.com/artist/67618-Plastic-Bertrand

Really lastly, there were at least TWO different English versions, both on Lightning, with slightly different vocal tracks.

So, you takes your money…

97. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi IanB

The Rollers, in their early days, were a fine jobbing combo. I saw them a number of times at the JM Ballroom in Dundee and they were always enjoyable.

They seemed to keep changing personnel though. The line-up I recall as my favourite had Archie Marr on organ. I believe that was the group who recorded “Keep On Dancing”. Archie Marr was in the band from March 1971 until late Spring 1972 and played on their first two singles, “Keep on Dancing” and “We Can Make Music”, before leaving the band.

BTW: Short-term members from the early period included bassist David Paton (from 1969โ€“70) and keyboardist Billy Lyall (1969โ€“71), who went on to be founding members of another successful Edinburgh band, Pilot.

More first hand accounts here:-

http://retrodundee.blogspot.co.uk/2008/07/bay-city-rollers-dundee-1970.html

PS. I’m “Brian Wilson”.

98. David

No, I’m Brian Wilson!
    #SpartacusFlashback

But seriously, you’re saying the French-language vocalist was a prijck…

bit harsh, surely.

99. Brian Doonthetoon

LOL David!

8=)

100. Brian Doonthetoon

Anyone got an answer to this?

Why is it, when I click to ‘submit comment’, this page reloads but goes back to the previous page, meaning I have to click Firefox’s ‘Backwards’ button to come back to this page, to see my post successfully posted?

101. Lollysmum

@ David
    I also queried whether Yoda has multiple identities as he is using the same avatar on the overnight thread Playing Tricks on Memory as Qwerty.

102. Thepnr

@Lollysmum

Yes saw that too, I expect that he/she had lots of “must try harder” on their report cards as schoolchildren ๐Ÿ™‚

103. David

@ Lollysmum, blimey. yes! Yet another identity for Yoda /Truthy / Toad /Today /Qwerty. Strange behaviour. Anyway he/she/it was well answered by Fiona & others on that thread.

Yoda* has got a real fixation on nashunalism, but is never able to write a good argument against it, so keeping banging on & on really doesn’t help him** at all.

*Yoda, or whatever today’s name is.
    **Him or her, although in the fruitloop stakes men normally outnumber women.

104. CameronB Brodie

Stoker
    Great minds…? ๐Ÿ™‚

In case folk are beginning to think I’m a one dimensional surf fetishist.

Korla Pandit – Miserlou
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G9ytSC8rz84

Martin Denny – Miserlou
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PlAs33h8i3I

Frances Faye – Miserlou
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RQtiVK-RcLg

Or if you’d prefer something a bit more kosher. ๐Ÿ™‚

Meshugga Beach Party – Hava Nagila / Miserlou
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ylKmC4EiFWE

105. Paula Rose

Let’s go out tonight babes…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=osP05cpJKNM

106. Oneironaut

@Brian Doonthetoon
    For reasons unknown, when you try to post a comment, the server seems to load an older version of the page.

It’s either a glitch of some sort, or else the Wings server is also controlling a time machine… Not sure which!

107. Chic McGregor

Oh, before I forget, there was another example of a clue which had a perfect fit answer which blocked others on Friday.

11 Ac, I had NOVICE. Luckily the 2 other down clues that didn’t fit were fairly obvious, so corrected it eventually.

108. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s something a wee bit different.

2 Unlimited, ‘No Limits, Tribal Dance, Let The Beat Control Your Body’ (live, St. Petersburg, last year)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SK1klRBuEEk

109. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s a bit of an oddity, with dodgy audio, especially at the start.

Talking Heads, ‘Pablo Picasso’ (live, 1976!) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_CCbENmNaI

110. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    Thanks for that Ian. I’d only heard the version by the Modern Lovers, released as the B-side of “Road Runner” in 1977.

Modern Lovers – Pablo Picasso
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kc2iLAubras&list=RDKc2iLAubras#t=25

111. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ll finish off this weekend of stuff from the mid 70s that I found appealing but the British record buying public disagreed with my taste, with these.

The first single, on Power Exchange Records and Tapes, which I bought by Australian band ‘The Saints’ in 1977, was this one…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MpMwMDqOprc

They followed this up with a double 7″ single in a gatefold sleeve on Harvest, called “One Two Three Four”. Here are two of the tracks from it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=42KbQZ4gGAA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PbZSi6EO_DI

Enjoy, punks!

112. Oneironaut

While we’re posting music, was talking with someone earlier and this song came up in the conversation.

Just thought I’d leave it here ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uaq65B1VI4A

113. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB.

My Roadrunner single had two different versions on the A and B sides. Just checked at discogs.com. The version I had was on Beserkley and featured ‘Roadrunner Once’ and ‘Roadrunner Twice’.

According to discogs.com, your single was a Japanese 7″ promo!

http://www.discogs.com/Jonathan-Richman-Modern-Lovers-Roadrunner/release/476145

114. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

๐Ÿ™‚

That ‘Saints’ one is very good indeed. Have to say though, I was fearful for the singer’s safety at times, and it’s one of the reasons that any meaningful ‘punk’-type movement will never again be possible.

It’s bad enough that he was smoking and singing at the same time (well, not simultaneously, but you know what I mean) but he and his comrades were clearly filming the video in a derelict property. (This is something which the Bee Gees encouraged – irresponsibly in my view – via their ‘Stayin’ Alive’ video.) At any time, the lad could’ve stepped on an exposed wire, plunged through woodworm-infested timber flooring, or had weakened roofing fall atop him due to the vibrations caused by his awkward dancing. I very much doubt that he was aware of these dangers as, being Australian, and a ‘punk’, he was probably hallucinating after licking cane-toads.

Such risks are not acceptable these days. In that respect, at least, the video is instructive, and should be preserved.

115. Paula Rose

Ooo – how to sum up such a musical extravaganza!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3hcZ4s9cvpw

116. CameronB Brodie

Serious hat on for a minute. This is why I think Mr. Bateman needs to up his game.

In a statement, HSBC acknowledged that โ€œin the past, we have sometimes failed to meet the standards that regulators and customers expect.โ€ Vowing to improve their oversight and compliance with the law, they committed to fixing what is wrong, taking the opportunity to learn from previous mistakes.

HSBC actively circumvented rules designed to โ€œblock transactions involving terrorists, drug lords, and rogue regimes.โ€ In one case, โ€œtwo HSBC affiliates sent nearly 25,000 transactions involving $19.4 billion through their HBUS [HSBCโ€™s U.S. affiliate] accounts over seven years without disclosing the transactionsโ€™ links to Iran.โ€

http://www.forbes.com/sites/afontevecchia/2012/07/16/hsbc-helped-terrorists-iran-mexican-drug-cartels-launder-money-senate-report-says/

As investigative journalist Matt Taibbi wrote in Rolling Stone, the $1.9 billion in fines leveled at HSBC by the US Justice Department was for โ€œthe largest drug-and-terrorism money-laundering case ever.โ€ The settlement was a mere slap on the wrist, equivalent to โ€œabout five weeksโ€™ profit,โ€ that allowed the bank to completely evade prosecutions.

…..Much of HSBCโ€™s misdemeanours were documented in an extensive 2012 report by the Senate Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations. Amongst its damning findings was HSBCโ€™s longstanding relationship with Saudi Arabiaโ€™s al-Rajhi bank, described by the CIA in 2003 as a โ€œconduit for extremist finance.โ€ US intelligence assessed that al-Rajhi founder Sulaiman bin Abdul Aziz was a member of Osama bin Ladenโ€™s โ€˜Golden Chainโ€™ financiers of al-Qaeda, and had in that capacity pushed al-Rahji bank to find ways to avoid subjecting the bankโ€™s charitable donations to official scrutiny.

https://medium.com/insurge-intelligence/death-drugs-and-hsbc-355ed9ef5316

Senate investigators, citing Green Quest and Lloydโ€™s case files, noted that โ€œMr. Hassabella was a former secretary of al Taqwa Bank and a shareholder of SAAR Foundation Inc. Mr. Saleh was a former director and treasurer of the Bahamas branch of al Taqwa Bank, and president of the Piedmont Trading Corporation which was part of the SAAR network. The U.S. Treasury Department has stated: โ€˜The Al Taqwa group has long acted as financial advisers to al Qaeda, with offices in Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Italy and the Caribbean.โ€™ Regarding Akida Bank, the lawsuit complaint alleged that Sulaiman bin Abdul Aziz Al Rajhi was โ€˜on the board of directors of Akida Bank in the Bahamasโ€™ and that โ€˜Akida Bank was run by Youssef Nada, a noted terrorist financierโ€™.โ€

The report went on to state that โ€œHSBC was fully aware of the suspicions that Al Rajhi Bank and its owners were associated with terrorist financing, describing many of the alleged links in the Al Rajhi Bank client profile.โ€

…..While there is no evidence that HSBC, or for that matter the Al Rajhi Bank, had prior knowledge of the 2001 atrocity, the gross indifference exhibited by these institutions through their violation of โ€œknow your clientโ€ (KYC) rules governing financial transactions reveal a callous disdain for elemental norms as they raced to inflate their balance sheets come hell or high water.

http://dissidentvoice.org/2012/07/black-dossier-hsbc-and-terrorist-finance/

Better Together?

117. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Thanks for posting “Stranded”, not heard that for years. I think the compilation I had it on, followed with that gobshite Geldof sneering “Looking after number one”. ๐Ÿ˜‰

118. Paula Rose

Cameron honey – could you put the silly hat back on? It is late xx

119. CameronB Brodie

Hope this fits Paula. ๐Ÿ™‚

Race Marbles – Like a dribbling fram
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MFBnSgQhgPM

120. Chic McGregor

@CameronB Brodie
    The most successful cover up by the UMSM, at least from a Scottish indy perspective, was that Barclays were excused from the Gunfight at the UK Corral by Butch and Sundance, despite the fact that Barclays got a bigger bail out from the Fed, the BoE and the Middle East than RBS and BoS did combined. Despite Barclays being smaller than RBS at the time.

Barclays were not nationalised to any extent and the bail outs did not become common knowledge until much later.

121. Paula Rose

Darling – I love you!

122. David

I saw this song and thought of the 1%:
    From 1979, The Members – ‘Offshore Banking Business’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UXKak8AzBpg

123. Oneironaut

@Paula Rose
    You want silly? I got silly! ๐Ÿ˜‰

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fXJ5oaU940U

124. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi IanB.

Last night, you mentioned the “2 Unlimited, โ€˜No Limits,” mix.

When the single below came out, I used to mix back and forward between “No Limits” and the one below, on the old double decks.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8mST4PIWV7Y

125. Kelpie

Darn it!

I got a call for a parcel at reception and was hoping that the delux wee blue book had arrived at last. But it was just a new blade for the lawnmower.

So now I have to cut the grass as well ๐Ÿ™

126. Oneironaut

@Kelpie
    Don’t worry. The constant anticipation will only make it more satisfying when it finally does arrive!

Kind of like constantly promising yourself chocolate ice cream at the end of the week and finally getting there… Such bliss! ๐Ÿ˜€

127. Oneironaut

Disclaimer to my previous post:
    I do not, under any circumstances, recommend eating the deluxe Wee Blue Book.

Just in case anyone from the media is reading this and starts circulating stories like: “Evil Cybernat encourages friends to eat paper! Shocking stories of medical emergencies due to internal paper-cuts on Page 2!”

128. Thistle

Hi folks

just to let you know I’m doing a meetup Tuesday 2nd and Thursday 4th at Counting House if you want to know how to livestream. Just bring your mobile and/or tablet along. I have setup two events for those dates on Scottish Independence Live Events pages so check them out and hit “Join” if you want come along so I got an idea about numbers, or just turn up.

ALSO… we got a new Android app developed which allows you to see all our upcoming livestreams, search old ones and see out latest blogs. To get app just search for “IndyLive” in the Google Play Store, or https://play.google.com/store/search?q=scot.jott.indylive

129. Brian Doonthetoon

hi Thistle.

You and Del Boy gonna be at the Helensburgh WOS get-together on 25th/26th July?

130. Brian Doonthetoon

Somebody mentioned, a day or three ago, that it could be illuminating, culturally, where you ended up, when you were following links.

I had that today – discovered a band I had never heard of.
    BTW: I haven’t included the Wikipedia links in this post, in case it leads to WordPress sticking the post into moderation because of the number of links.
    I’ve described the Wikipedia pages by the title that will find them in Wikipedia’s search box, in case you want to read the rest of the stuff on the pages.

To explain…
    A few weeks ago, somebody, somewhere, in cyberworld, posted a link to a tune called “Marche des soldats de Robert Bruce”. I had used Downloadhelper to save it at work but when I went to transfer the video file to my flash drive to take home on Friday, I found that the file size was zero Kb.
    Tried again, with the same result.

So I explored Firefox’s add-ons for another YouTube downloader and found “Download YouTube Videos as MP4”, which adds a button to the YouTube video pages, so you can download videos. The download button is displayed below the video player and it looks like any other YouTube button. The extension doesn’t include ads and only links to YouTube’s download URLs.

Onnyhoo, downloaded it to my work iMac on Friday and had a listen. I must say it’s a stirring (and well known) tune. I found this comment on the “Cultural depictions of Robert the Bruce” Wikipedia page, under “Music”.

14th century: A military song intitled [sic] “La marche des soldats de Robert Bruce” (march of the soldiers of Robert Bruce) is still played in France nowadays, for instance during the Bastille Day military parade.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WulAWn_N_O0

Of course, I recognised the tune as “Scots Wha Hae”, which took me to THAT Wikipedia page, where I found,

The lyrics were written by Robert Burns in 1793, in the form of a speech given by Robert the Bruce before the Battle of Bannockburn in 1314, where Scotland maintained its sovereignty from the Kingdom of England.
    Although the lyrics are by Burns, he wrote them to the traditional Scottish tune ‘Hey Tuttie Tatie’ which, according to tradition, was played by Bruce’s army at the Battle of Bannockburn, and by the Franco-Scots army at the Siege of Orleans.

From the “Siege Of Orleans” Wikipedia page:-
    The Siege of Orlรฉans (1428โ€“1429) marked a turning point in the Hundred Years’ War between France and England. This was Joan of Arc’s first major military victory and the first major French success to follow the crushing defeat at Agincourt in 1415.

See “The Scots arrive in France” on the “St. Joan of Arc And The Scots Connection” page at:

http://www.maidofheaven.com/joanofarc_scots_guards.asp

Onnyhoo, I had seen the other reference under “Music” on the “Cultural depictions of Robert the Bruce” page –

1996: The German power metal band Grave Digger included a song called “The Bruce” on their album Tunes of War, a concept album about the Scottish struggles for independence from England.

Now THAT led me to Google and, subsequently, YouTube.
    Here’s the track list for Grave Digger’s “Tunes Of War” album.

01. The Brave
    02. Scotland United
    03. The Dark Of The Sun
    04. William Wallace (Braveheart)
    05. The Bruce (The Lion King)
    06. The Battle Of Flodden
    07. The Ballad Of Mary (Queen Of Scots)
    08. The Truth
    09. Cry For Freedom (James The VI)
    10. Killing Time
    11. Rebellion (The Clans Are Marching)
    12. Culloden Muir
    13. The Fall Of Brave

I then went to YouTube, without much hope because, as I typed, I’d never heard of the band – but there’s loads of stuff there! Obviously a major band in the power metal genre. On the go since the early 80s, they’re still performing live and so on.

I haven’t explored the other tracks on the album, only “The Bruce” but the size of the audience (live at Wacken) and their participation, is quite impressive.

BTW: right at the end of the clip, the vocalist isn’t swearing; he’s saying “Wacken”. Hint, on the YouTube page, look for the fourth icon from the right, under the video. If you click on it, it will switch off the subtitles, if they’re visible. (They’re not much good unless you can read “Foreign”.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dhUk5zd3PXc

Quite a satisfying bit of research…

131. Paula Rose

Who’s been a wee bit naughty?

https://twitter.com/johnmcternan/status/605479477804711936

132. Brian Doonthetoon

I must be dense, Paula Rose.

I get no understanding of what’s going on at that link.

8=(

133. Paula Rose

Bdtt dearie – it was a bit of twitterie, that’s just grown legs again.

134. Swami Backverandah

@PaulaRose
    I’ve got some spare heels should you ever need some emergency kit losing one in a crack anytime.

we’ll let Menchschie have the cameos ๐Ÿ˜€

135. Paula Rose

Darling! You are so sweet!

136. Brian Doonthetoon

Jeez Paula Rose.

How do fit all your Winging, Facebooking and Twittering into a human day?

I had a look at Rev’s twitter feed and got back to 11 hours ago and still couldn’t work out what was going on. At least FB gives you the oldest posts first.

Please explain, in words of seven syllables or less, what’s actually been going on, for those of us who are not so digitally adept as some…

137. Paula Rose

Well dear you’re forgetting the gardening – I don’t get paid for my cybernattery – yet.

Anyway silly little boy who writes a blog that aggressively attacks wings and Scotland’s desire for a future found that twitter was flagging up links to his site as leading people to a dodgy site.

He intimated that nasty nats and the Rev with his legions of devil spawn were responsible.

Cue my explanation and subsequent re-tweetingie thingie from all sorts of idiots who took it as an admittance of guilt.

Catching my heel in a blog – really! I’m not that dippy!

138. Swami Backverandah

I still get that 25min delay, so apols if I don’t get back to people:

But did we just have the edifying sight of Menchschie going off on one again about the SNP getting some guy’s blog blocked, and repeating the bullying slur?

I’m honestly having trouble keeping up with her apologies. No doubt new one forthcoming.

niteall

ps @ PaulaRose – she gets the cameos with the egg on their faces.

139. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

You typed (with, probably two fingers),
    Catching my heel in a blog โ€“ really! Iโ€™m not that dippy!

Yes, but you do pseudo dippy with such รฉlan.

Onnyhoo, you are sending my megapost of a couple of hours ago upstairs to the lost continent of this page.

I feel I will have to paste it on a few FB pages to reap maximum satisfaction from my research efforts.

140. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Swami Backverandah.

Typing about getting back to people.

It’s in my memorybockers that Natasha offered you lift to one of the WOS get-togethers (can’t remember which one; may have been Invergowrie in February or Glasgow on 1st May) and I don’t remember you ever replying.

I may be wrong; if so, I’ll apologise in advance but, jiss sayin’ like, it’s time you showed your pรผรŸ at a WOS get-together, like Helensburgh on 25th July, for example.

What type you, mon ami?

8=)

141. Natasha

@BDtt 12.34am
    Actually it was an offer of a lift to see Nicola at the Hydro, but I expect Swami missed it. It gets more and more difficult to keep up with all the posts.

Paula Rose, I don’t understand twitter, although I do click on the link to the Rev’s twitter page and try to make some sense of the tweets. I tend to rely on my 17 year old to translate for me.

I won’t be commenting on main threads from now on, but I’ll drop in here from time to time. Won’t be able to make Helensburgh, but hope to see you all at another event.

142. Paula Rose

@ Natasha – why not honey? Please don’t stop, I’m concerned a certain seaside confectionary has something to do with this.

143. Swami Backverandah

Just popped back in to see what was posted after I went to bed, and see a response from BrianDoonthetoon.
    Hiya. And just to say thanks for the response and, I missed the offer from Natasha,and I see Natasha also has popped in.
    Thank you for the previous offer to Hydro. I missed your offer, but couldn’t have made it anyway. I don’t read all the Wings articles, or anywhere near all the posts, so often miss stuff. (I only came over here to see if Paula Rose had posted after the twitter unmenschionable debacle).
    I am away a lot, often without decent internet or hardware, so once again thank you for any offers I might have missed, or any posts I missed responding to.
    re Helensburgh on 25 July, I don’t think I’ll be around then, but will keep it in mind for a possible late entry, if that’s ok ๐Ÿ™‚
    thanks to all
    off now

144. Oneironaut

@Swami Backverandah
    Pity, there are a few Wingers I still haven’t met yet, and I’m sure you’re one of them!

(At least I’m fairly certain we haven’t met yet. My memory isn’t so good when forced to operate in the physical non-dream world!)

145. AndyC

@Briandoonthetoon
    Fascinatin’ stuff you find on here. I used to play for a band called The Gravediggers many moons ago, probably well before you were around! (We did Dundee a few times)

Onyhoo, one of these nights I’ll make it to a wings gathering (I still feel guilty about not making Invergowrie!)

146. Paula Rose

The Irish band?

147. AndyC

No Paula, fae Fife.

148. X_Sticks

@AndyC

Wiz Fae Fife no the singer in the Rezillos?

149. Paula Rose

No that was Faye Fife!

150. pete the camera

On the subject of Fay Five she was not the kind of person to get on the wrong side of when it came to collecting the money after playing a gig, that girl knows some expletives and would make a great debt collector

151. CameronB Brodie

You can blame the Rev. for getting me thinking of girl groups doing Ramones covers. I’m just a mindless zombie, after all. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thee Headcoatees – Swallow My Pride
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vx__x-zo-z8

152. Natasha

@Paula Rose 9.17am
    You’re not wrong there, but I’m also a bit fed up with everything. Taking some time to relax and get my head straight.
    xxx

153. Thistle

@Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Brian

will try and get over for sure ๐Ÿ™‚

154. Paula Rose

Natasha honey – you’ve got a very upright head, now you just pop in here and have a stroke.

155. Natasha

@Paula Rose
    ๐Ÿ™‚

156. Paula Rose

Sorry sweetie that should have been ‘pop up’ not ‘pop in’!

157. Thepnr

Take a wee break if need be Natasha, it can all get a bit hectic and demoralising as we know.

Recharge the batteries and we we’ll see you back on the main thread soon enough.

158. CameronB Brodie

Here’s an earlier incarnation of Thee Headcoatees.

Love conquers all, or should do.

The Milkshakes featuring The Milk-Boilers – Soldiers Of Love
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6e5CMlNMtrA

159. Thepnr

Here’s a wee video you are very unlikely to see in your lifetime unless you watch it now.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=32ZMSNAZcsA

160. Oneironaut

@Natasha
    “I wonโ€™t be commenting on main threads from now on, but Iโ€™ll drop in here from time to time.”

You’re not alone there…

161. cearc

I’ve never seen them playing together before. My ignorance of course.

Is it about to self-destruct or would I have?

162. Paula Rose

Its getting a bit crowded in here – excuse me while I go and do a knock-through, Thepnr dear I’ll need that sledgehammer.

163. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

That was a wee tonic. ๐Ÿ™‚

P.S. Natasha, whatever it is that’s bugging ye pal, please come back soon – you are missed.

164. cearc

Paula Rose,

You’ve found a nut?

165. Paula Rose

Sorry cearc love didn’t see you over there – I’ve got Natasha on my lap having a nice stroke and once she’s settled I’ll put her in her basket and then start work on the extension – we need more room in here, don’t you agree? Did you bring your hard hat I could do with a hand.

166. Thepnr

Haha cearc

You’ll be alright, I just meant it was unlikely to ever be offered for your viewing again (at least on here).

Sticking with the Bob Dylan theme, here’s a song that the Labour and Liberal parties aught to listen to.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Znm70hhw1HY

167. Cadogan Enright

Season finale of Outlander on RTE2 tonight features heroine organising rescue of hero by his clansmen from (I think) Sterling Castle held by regiments of union-jack waving redcoat regiments after his torture and sodomy by English lord.

Possibly why it was not seen in Scotland prior to referendum

168. cearc

Will a felt hat do?

169. Thepnr

@cearc

Never forget, I’m holding your kangaroos bawbag as ransom. Felt hat would be no substitute, sorry.

170. Ian Brotherhood

@Cadogan Enright –

‘Possibly’?!

Aye…

Blimey. I was looking forward to getting the box-set. Don’t know if I’ll bother now.

๐Ÿ™‚

171. Jumping Jo

Thepnr,

You thimk that I would forget something like that!

172. Cadogan Enright

Long pretty graphic debates in Gaelic over how to handle mental torment over horrific treatment (with no sub-titles) with retainer. Thuig mรฉ cad a bhรญ siad a rรก.

Some tedious scenes of self-pity and suicidal thoughts (would not have been a good Yes voter) and introspective emotional episodes with the missus that would appeal to my wife – a confirmed Venusian – but not me.

Unwatchable scenes for a person with old-fashioned tastes who rarely watches TV . . . so I cannot tell you how it ends

173. Ian Brotherhood

A sad day, for all sorts of reasons, but it’s over now, so we go on:

Joy Division, ‘Atmosphere’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X-EqjZ-O7ug

174. Paula Rose

Darlings – I do my best to keep order in this place – but really you do try my patience.

175. Ian Brotherhood

@Cadogan Enright –

Cheers! Now I know I definitely won’t watch it!

๐Ÿ™‚

176. Paula Rose

No requests – but I can’t help it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HTJteb5g_EE

177. Paula Rose

Must admit its a few years since I did that “stand in” but I still rather like it.

178. CameronB Brodie

@ Derek Bateman
    Why do you insist on arguing that the BBC is not an immensely corrupt and criminal enterprise? Your stance simply undermines your credibility.

Then UK Foreign Secretary Jack Straw sent a secret letter to Prime Minister Tony Blair in April 2002 warning Blair that the case for military action against Iraq was of “dubious legality.” The letter goes on to state that โ€œregime change per se is no justification for military actionโ€ and that โ€œthe weight of legal advice here is that a fresh [UN] mandate may well be required.โ€ Such a new UN mandate was never given. The letter also expresses doubts regarding the outcome of military action.[52]

In March 2003, Elizabeth Wilmshurst, then deputy legal adviser to the British Foreign Office, resigned in protest of Britain’s decision to invade without Security Council authorization. Wilmshurst also insinuated that the English Attorney General Lord Goldsmith also believed the war was illegal, but changed his opinion several weeks before the invasion.[53][54]

In 2010, the deputy prime minister Nick Clegg, during prime minister’s questions in Parliament, asserted that the Iraq war was illegal. Statements issued later suggested that this was a personal view and not a formal view of the coalition government.[55]
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Legality_of_the_Iraq_War

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nuremberg_Principles

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crime_against_peace

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/War_of_aggression

White phosphorus munitions did not kill the most civilians in Gaza โ€“ many more died from missiles, bombs, heavy artillery, tank shells, and small arms fire โ€“ but their use in densely populated neighborhoods, including downtown Gaza City, violated international humanitarian law (the laws of war), which requires taking all feasible precautions to avoid civilian harm and prohibits indiscriminate attacks. [279]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_war_crimes#2008-2009_Gaza_War

SOON AFTER Malaysian Airlines MH17 crashed near Donetsk, Ukraine on July 18, killing 298 people, the BBC website quickly, and rightly, set up a ‘LIVE’ feed with rolling reports and commentary on the disaster. This was clearly an important and dramatic event involving horrific loss of life with serious political implications. The public would, of course, be searching for the latest news.

However, since July 8, ten days prior to the crash, Israeli armed forces had been bombarding the trapped civilian population of Gaza with airstrikes, drone strikes and naval shelling. As the massive Israeli assault ramped up on July 9, the World section of the BBC News website had this as its headline:

‘Israel under renewed Hamas attack’

http://stopwar.org.uk/news/how-bbc-bias-justifies-war-crimes-in-gaza-by-conforming-to-israeli-state-propaganda

While the hate speech promoted by these type of media can be prosecuted differently under the national laws of several countries, because of its proven ability to contribute to and incite genocide the use of hate media in order to foment the cleansing of a particular national, ethnical , racial or religious group in whole or in part can be prosecuted under international law for incitement to genocide. Incitement to Genocide was declared a crime against humanity under the Nuremberg Trials.[2] Nevertheless under the laws of Nuremberg only hate media propaganda which calls for direct extermination is considered a crime against humanity.[3] After the crimes committed in former Yugoslavia and Rwanda this definition was modified and a new definition was provided for the Rwandan tribunals. According to this definition hate media propaganda considered to be a crime against humanity must be involved in the direct and indirect incitement of genocide which “must be defined as directly provoking the perpetrator(s) to commit genocide, whether through speeches shouting or threats uttered in public spaces or at public gatherings or through the sale or dissemination of… written material or printed matter… or through the public display of placards or posters, or through an other means of audiovisual communication”.[3]
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hate_Media

179. Wee Jonny

My wife thinks that USB is a back up plan just in case USA fails.

True Story.

180. Wee Jonny

Sepp Blatter is going to use all of his spare time to concentrate on improving his tennis game.

Rumour has it that his forehand is nothing special but his back-handers are fucking amazing.

True Story.

181. K1

Lol…

182. Wee Jonny

I’m just waiting on Sepp Blatter doing a Nigel Farage and telling us he can’t resign because he is admired by his colleagues so they won’t allow it.

True Story.

183. CameronB Brodie

@ Derek Batemen
    Have you seen this, Mr. Batemen?

The Israel Projectโ€™s 2009 GLOBAL LANGUAGE DICTIONARY

FROM THE ISRAEL PROJECT
    On behalf of our board and team, we offer this guide to visionary leaders who are on the front lines of fighting the media war for Israel. We want you to succeed in winning the hearts and minds of the public. We know that when you achieve your mission that you are helping both Israel and our global Jewish family. Thus, we offer these words with our sincerest wishes for your every success. May your words help bring peace and security to Israel and the Jewish people!

Sincerely,

Jennifer Laszlo Mizrahi
    Founder & President

http://www.webcitation.org/query?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.newsweek.com%2Fmedia%2F70%2Ftip_report.pdf&date=2009-08-06

184. Stoker

Otis Redding – These Arms Of Mine
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVbTE4wCbpw

185. Ian Brotherhood

If you’ve ever lost sleep wondering what the Harrogate Giant Vegetable Competition looks like, wonder no more – regain those lost hours!:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9xItodFJUs

186. cearc

Ian,

Wow! Plenty there to keep the stewpot going all winter.

187. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Indeed. It’s not just the onions that are eye-watering. ๐Ÿ™‚

Harrogate rang a bell – it hosts party political conferences, right?

Well, googling (as ye do), I came across this wee curio – just a few months, nay weeks ago, we were all poring over the latest ‘Ashcroft’ data, and doing so in good faith, given that his – obviously! – missionary philanthropic work has transcended mere ‘party’ affiliations and all such associated vulgarity.

Goodness gracious me, strike a light and shiver me timbers, these ‘establishment’ buddies must hate ‘t’internet’ with blood-curdling fervour. As well they should:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/697897.stm

188. Ian Brotherhood

P.S. to my last post.

Just noticed that the date on the linked-to BBC piece is April 1st 2000.

Not sure if the whole thing is a piss-take or not.

And that says a lot, does it not?

๐Ÿ™‚

Hoots all.

P.S. Where’s the Paula Rose, where’s the Natsaha, the Oneironaut, McCabe, and where’s the fekking music?

Is a’body on holiday?

189. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    Perhaps a tad indiscreet with your query, Ian? ๐Ÿ™‚

“Ain’t Nobody Here But Us Chickens”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jmgaTPz63Bw

190. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Time to do one post here tonight. You enquired as to the location of the music and, on the main page, you mentioned ‘Ramming Speed’.

So, conflating the two, here you are, from 1984 (another 12″ I have in my vinyl collection).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=to9lWYCtHrc

191. Brian Doonthetoon

OK, one more post, because I just remembered.

Paula Rose, you mentioned building an extension. Why risk breaking your impressive, saltire-painted, glittery nails, when we have an annexe?

http://wingsoverscotland.com/quarantine

192. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB, BDTT Thepnr et al,

Hey, no offence BTW, I wasn’t doing a faves list there…

๐Ÿ™‚

This place has no rules, and no-one rules it (apart from you-know-who) and that’s why it’s so good.

Worth also trying to remember the many who have been regulars in the past, but are no longer with us for whatever reason – I can think of a few off the top of my head, but don’t want to name them in case they feel pressurised to respond.

Just curious as to why folk drift away. Perhaps, sometimes, they can’t help it. In any event, here’s hoping they ‘see’ what’s happening, and still support us.

Hoots all.

193. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

I’ve had my steak pie and tatties, watched Corrie from 22nd May, and am now about to turn in.

But…

I found myself, kinda, sympathetic to your post but in the opposite direction, I think. I used to spend most of my computer time on various Facebook pages and, after I had updated myself there, I did a bit of web trawling. I found WOS, I think, late 2012 and bookmarked it. Along with WGD and so on.

Onnyhoo, I was ejected from the FB page that had been taking up a lot of my time so started exploring the wider web. Now I find that most of my computer time, both snatched opportunities during the working day, and in the evenings, is taken up with keeping up with WOS comments, Scot Goes Pop! stuff, and other pro-indy sites, to such an extent that FB has been relegated to a seat at the back of the bus.

FB is handy but is not the be all and end all, specially as you can, kinda, keep up to date with email notifications so you don’t need to log into FB unless you have something to type.

I’m content to hing oot here…

Or Helensburgh…

194. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood 12:14am as long as Wings is going I will be here. It is part of my life now and always will be. And I thank Rev Stu for that. and all the other wingers too. A wee tune from before the referendum for you Ian. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U6UabZV94is&feature=player_detailpage Aye till I die.

195. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    “Just curious as to why folk drift away. Perhaps, sometimes, they canโ€™t help it. In any event, hereโ€™s hoping they โ€˜seeโ€™ whatโ€™s happening, and still support us.”

I’m still here.

Just sometimes don’t feel up to posting anything though.

I’m definitely with Natasha though.
    Sometimes the main articles (however well-written they may be) make pretty depressing reading. (And that’s before you get to the comments!)

If anyone is looking for me, they’ll be far more likely to find me in here somewhere.

196. Thistle

I hate crowdfunding, really hate it, takes up too much time and just nothing but stress. That said I don’t hate it as much as the main stream media.

Anyway enough of the rant. I’m doing another “How To Livestream” meetup tonight at 7PM, Counting House, Glasgow and have a couple of tables booked in one of the quiet wee rooms so come along even if it is just for a chat as I maybe the only one there, lol. Would be good to see some Wingers.

ps we have some interesting livestreams coming up especially a particular one on Sunday that is not yet been added – I’m waiting for the green light.

197. Cactus

I’m here daily, be it work, rest or playeee.. I contributed to the Wings 2015 crowdfunder, anna don’t wanna miss an issue of my paper! It’s good to ‘get a decent read’ (every day of the week as well.) ๐Ÿ™‚

So many brilliant personal writers here.. via btl comments, links and commented links. Cheers to ye’s all.

Although always reading, I do indulge in posting breaks from time to time, then come back with new thought.. I imagine others do too, both known and new.

Hey Thistle, hope you’re all having a lively time at ‘the hoose’, is there anything happening outside on our Freedom Square tonight?

Go Scotland!

198. chipmonkey

I don’t know why folks drift away… who me? I’ve been right here in the back row next to QQ and Tartan Tory ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’ve not got enough hours in my day to keep up writing anything and like with main page threads I catch up too late to comment. (I just miss out the main page comments half the time).
    After the referendum I decided to try getting back to sleeping at normal hours.You remember sleep? Sometimes I wonder if you night owls sleep at all ๐Ÿ™‚ With you all the way.

199. Quinie frae Angus

@ Ian Brotherhood

Me too, I am always here, reading every Wings post and comment. Just not been posting anything myself.

Will get my Wings on again soon though!

Love the site and our diverse, respectful community (on the whole, lol).

200. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for you-know-who by ‘The Singing Sideboards’, AKA…

Mungo Jerry, ‘Lady Rose’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1MiCSPY0uG0

201. Paula Rose

So its you lot up the back who leave your coffee cups lying about – should have known.

202. Paula Rose

Ooo sorry Ian love, just realised what’s playing on the Dansette xx

203. Ian Brotherhood

Not even going to bother announcing what this is – it’s just great fun for those of a certain vintage…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w9ASe8VUQy0

204. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    I don’t have a “Lady Rose”. But I do have a “Gypsy Rose” ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Q-m_CxQacM

205. Paula Rose

Michael honey – pedallists have a tendency to swing both ways.

Oneironaut – I shall remember I’m dreaming tonight xx

206. Brian Doonthetoon

Whereby Paula Rose wins first prize – but Cactus comes in an honourable third…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X5pV2lKtw5E

207. Paula Rose

Stop it Bdtt – you know how modest I am.

208. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

Hmm, that bike thing could be something for a future WOS get-together. We could all go to Bute and cycle around it, as nature intended. It would surely get a mention in The Buteman.

209. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hi folks, I’m still here too!
    (Every day without fail, I wouldn’t be anywhere else).

Maybe we should all just start shouting hello when we come through the door, rather than hoping to bump into each other in the dark ๐Ÿ˜‰

210. Michael McCabe

Sorry. Hello Everyone I Hope you are all keeping well. I am Counting the days until I meet some of you lovely people on the 25th of july. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VljhSCmL3UM&feature=player_detailpage

211. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    The Great Wings Over Scotland Bike Race?

Consider me interested! ๐Ÿ˜€

Why stop at Bute? We could start the “Tour de Scotland!”
    Go all over the place, from Shetland to the border! ๐Ÿ˜‰

212. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hiya Oneironaut, how’s it going, anything new to report?

213. Paula Rose

@ Michael – whippie!

214. Ian Brotherhood

@Gillian R –

‘…rather than hoping to bump into each other in the dark.’

๐Ÿ™‚

Someone will be along in a minute (if they haven’t been already!) to supply a subtle double-entendre…

215. Ian Brotherhood

Every time I refresh O/T it kicks me back to the previous page. It’s not much of a problem, but the final comment on the last page includes ‘I think Cactus will be summarily elected…’

I always glimpse it as ‘I think Cactus will be summarily executed.’

๐Ÿ™

216. Thepnr

I thought I posted this along with another diatribe. Maybe not.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JuMlHdxiIZ8

217. Gillian_Ruglonian

Ian – that happens to me too, and I read that every time as well!
    It must be the dark side of us creeping out – sorry Cactus honey ๐Ÿ˜‰

218. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

‘Why stop at Bute? We could start the โ€œTour de Scotland!โ€
    Go all over the place, from Shetland to the border! ;)’

Huh? Naked?

As someone else said tonight, ‘gaun yersel!’.

219. Michael McCabe

Never been to helensburgh before. hardly ever leave the capital city. cant wait though. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nBhpiUFSYWI&feature=player_detailpage

220. Gillian_Ruglonian

Aye Michael, that song kinda sums up my view on the helensburgh trip too!

221. Michael McCabe

@ Gillian Ruglonian 2:14 am if you are going to helensburgh I look forward to meeting you and many other wingers. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GTrsB4t_Avs&feature=player_detailpage

222. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood When I posted at 3:10 am I came straight back to this page. Bypassed cactus. Hopefully that is working for everybody else now. Anyway Somebody posted this song before and right now I think it is apt. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtBFFuWFlXA&feature=player_detailpage

223. Wee Jonny

Hello.

224. Oneironaut

@Gillian_Ruglonian
    “Hiya Oneironaut, howโ€™s it going, anything new to report?”

Had some particularly good chips yesterday ๐Ÿ˜€
    Oh, you mean anything fun and exciting? Nope! You’re asking the wrong person there ๐Ÿ˜‰ hehe.

@Ian Brotherhood
    “I always glimpse it as โ€˜I think Cactus will be summarily executed.โ€™”

Noooooooo! ๐Ÿ™ Those evil Unionists!

225. Betty Boop

@ Michael McCabe

Never been to helensburgh before. hardly ever leave the capital city. cant wait though.

You really need a wee trip to the boonies then, Michael, or you might end up suffering “cabin fever”! ๐Ÿ™‚

226. Gillian_Ruglonian

@Oneironaut
    Chips are exactly the level I was going for! (My big news? I had a wee haircut).

I watched Frost/Nixon last night (should still be on iPlayer) and although I’d seen it before, I was struck by the sense of integrity held by the two men (and of course Sam Rockwells character, he’s brilliant!). Regardless of the realities of their lives, they appeared to genuinely think that they were decent folk in pursuit of the greater good.
    Now, compare with our generally woeful media and Bruce’s recent defence of Carmichael and you can see where I’m going with this… ๐Ÿ˜‰ Anyways, I’d recommend it for anyone who hasn’t see it already.

A call to all wingers –
    I’m taking a wee daytrip into the capital tomorrow, to avoid certain festivities in my home town, so I’m looking for suggestions on where to go and what to see!!

227. Paula Rose

The Museum of Childhood on the High Street is one of my favourites.

228. Gillian_Ruglonian

Thanks Paula, I’d forgotten about that!

229. Robert

Hi all, have the new WBB’s – the ones with tinfoil hats (hehe), and the badges if one was in a position to provide enough readies for, been posted out yet?

This is for the bits and bobs of the “let-s-carry-on-for-a-bit” fundraiser.

ATB guys and gals,

Robert

230. Taranaich

So yeah, a Tory made a joke about selling Scots into slavery, blissfully unaware of just what a horrific thing it is to joke about:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/06/05/uppity-jocks-cant-you-take-a-joke/

Yet if Angus Robertson dared make a joke about Bannockburn he’d be hounded out of the chambers.

@Oneironaut: Great article as always ๐Ÿ™‚

Would be interesting info to have that. Iโ€™d love to know just exactly how weak the Toriesโ€™ grip on power is these days!

I believe if voters in England had had a real alternative to vote for (an English SNP. ENP?) the Tories would have been utterly destroyed south of the border as well.
    Someone down there needs to get busy on that before the next election!

Thanks, Oneironaut! I can only hope England gets their act together sharpish.

231. Cactus

@Ian Brotherhood et Gillian Ruglonian ~

Is that me up for execution, dang! I was planning on sticking around for inevitable indyref2. Worry ye not, I’m a master of escape, I’ll be fine see; they’re out ta get me, they won’t catch me.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

So only 260ish comments to go till new o/t page.. when we arrive, you could always make the last 10 comments or so about happy/funny things.. 12490 ye know maybe frogs, dogs, rats or cats?

Then when if getting a jump-back page when posting here, we can all go aweeeee at the animals for sure hehe.

Here’s a double-play from a band, whose singer happens to be a close relative of the resident Miss Paula.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sg8Mzqgq_js
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lBwua-h6_VY

232. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cactus.

Check out my post at 00.30 this morning.

If anyone’s interested, the Murray match is being livestreamed now, here:-

http://live.realstreamunited.com/players/free-live-video-streaming-djokovic-murray-court-philippe-chatrier-tennis-roland-garros-2015-78000.html

233. Cactus

Hey hey Brian Doonthetoon ~

You should’ve seen the moves I pulled just to get the bronze. Paula deservedly took gold with her 4D performance, congrats honey x

Also the purry thang in second place was my kind of girl.. so much so, she liked me and we ended up sharing an intimate encounter backstage ๐Ÿ™‚

Not long till we Occupy Helensburgh fellow adventurers!

234. Betty Boop

@Gillian_Ruglonian

Re your wee jaunt to Edinburgh. The National Museum is a good place to visit as is the National Gallery. Once when we visited we found that there was a music recital, which was free of charge, in the evening and went back for that later.

It was a bit odd, but, exceptionally relaxed, sitting on the floor in surrounded by paintings listening to traditional Scots music and folk still quietly moving through the gallery.

The High Street could keep you amused all day. St Giles Cathedral is interesting.

Paula’s suggestion of the Museum of Childhood is also a good one and at the other end of the Royal Mile near the castle there is the Camera Obscura, good when the weather is clear.

Hope the weather stays fine and you enjoy your day in one of my favourite cities.

235. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Gillian.

You could always take a wee daunder up Arthur’s Seat, and imagine that you are an extra in a Rebus story…

8=)

236. Oneironaut

@Gillian_Ruglonian
    Well if you fancy having a quiet day, you could always come over here to the windswept west coast.

I’ll show you all the interesting sights down here (should take up a few minutes at least!) ๐Ÿ˜‰

237. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Hi Gillian.

You could always take a wee daunder up Arthurโ€™s Seat, and imagine that you are an extra in a Rebus storyโ€ฆ

Not the one that falls off the crags!!! :-0 Or was that another story?…

238. Michael McCabe

@ Gillian Ruglonian If you do make it to Edinburgh you could visit the Scottish Parliament. free to get in. opened from 10am till 5pm. According to the Parliaments website.

239. Wee Jonny

I saw a really drunk girl on the way home last night and went to check if she was okay.
    She was fine. We got chatting and I thought she was really nice.
    I said to her “You remind me of Cinderella.”
    “Oh thanks. That’s lovely. Is it because I look like a princess?” She replied.
    “No” I said “it’s because you’ve lost one of your shoes.”

True Story.

240. Wee Jonny

I was walking home from a night oot with my friend pished as a fart trying to flag doon a taxi and said to him “I wish we had one of those prizes from that old gameshow Bullseye”

“Yeah” he said “like a speedboat or something?”

“Nah” I replied “I’d settle for mi bus fare home.”

True Story.

241. Wee Jonny

Kids today don’t know how easy they’ve got it.

When I was young I had to walk 9 feet through a shag carpet just to turn the TV over.

True Story.

242. Wee Jonny

“Excuse me. Do you have somewhere I can try these on please?” I asked the shop assistant.

“Please take your Durex and leave sir!” She replied.

True Story.

243. Paula Rose

Wee Jonny – you are lowering the tone dear.

244. Wee Jonny

Politics can be sooooo draining on those who are into it so my “True Story”s have been my way of gettin awa fay it.

245. Brian Doonthetoon

Onnyhoo, how is it me and Bob Sinclair are the only Wingers who have dipped into Quarantine in the past three months or so?

Are the movers and shakers in ‘off-topic’ too good for Quarantine? Iye? Iye?

True story.

246. Ian Brotherhood

@Wee Jonny –

Disregard Miss Rose – she enjoys a wee Babycham of a Friday and it fair knocks her skew-whiff at times, especially when she’s been dieting.

Anyway, FWIW, I do appreciate some straight-from-the-hip gags. Did you see Nick Clegg reading one out on that show recently? It was very good (but you have to imagine saying it with a Nick Clegg voice, i.e. the same one he used when he said ‘I’m sorry’.)

The doctor said to me, ‘You really will have to stop masturbating.’

I said, ‘Why?’

He said, ‘Because I’m trying to examine you.’

247. Paula Rose

Oi – I love our wee diddley wotsit boy- just keep it clean folks, the mess in here sometimes!

248. Wee Jonny

Ian – Tommy Cooper telt me that ane back in ’76 but I still pish misel evreetime I see/read it coz it is a classeec.

He also telt me this ane –

I just put ยฃ20 on a horse at 20-1. It came in at 1/2 past 3.

All True Story’s.

249. Wee Jonny

Brian Doonthetoon – Thepnr gave me a wee prezee (that he probably regrets) earlier and I’ve taken a couple o foatays of it but dinny ken how to post them on here. I’ll send them to yi once I’ve closed Wee Jonny’s Comedy Club for you ti work yir Magic to post them on here if that’s okay.

p.s. loved yir “True Story”????

250. Thepnr

I have to stop popping in here, fit to burst. With laughter.

251. Wee Jonny

Ian – last one I swear doon

I went to the doc’s on Tuesday, and as he was examining my lower regions he said “Now Wee Jonny, don’t be embarrassed by the erection.”

I said “But doc’, I don’t have an erection.”

“No not yours – mines.” He replied.

True Story.

252. Paula Rose

I’m getting lost now – what’s an erection?

253. Thepnr

Nobodies perfect.

A wee tune for those that enjoy a refreshment or two. It’s called freedom of choice, until we’re telt different.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ria_KlVhT_s

254. Ian Brotherhood

@Wee Jonny –

Okay, here’s my last one too, for the O/O brethren en route to Glasgow’s ‘Orangegate’ tomorrow:

‘This is the news. A chemist’s shop on Duke Street has been completely ransacked. Everything was removed apart from some combs and condoms. Police say they are looking for a baldy Catholic.’

255. Smithie

Paula, don’t worry it’s just a tall building dear.
    Thepnr— ah the Rat Pack,Here’s My Way
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rDyb_alTkMQ

256. Thepnr

@Smithie

Haha I used to sing that at Kareoke nights ๐Ÿ™‚

257. Wee Jonny

Thepnr – nobodies perfect.
    You haven’t met my wife –
    Bad hygiene
    Overweight
    Shocking dress sense
    Full of self importance
    Terrible personality

Yes Thepnr – Once you’ve rid yourself of all these you can meet my wife.

258. Wee Jonny

Erections – What Chinese politicians have every few years.

Too earwy?

259. Thepnr

Sticking to the Rat Pack theme. Here’s a cracker LOL.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R1jY5fYjV-U

260. Thepnr

BEST EVER SPITTING IMAGE CLIP HAHAHAHA.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vr-Ia45UJ6Q

261. Gillian_Ruglonian

Thanks for all the Edinburgh suggestions guys x

262. Paula Rose

btw all you lovely little reekie peeps – have you got yourselves organdieised to get over to Helen’s wotsit in July? To meet, greet and stroke the one and only Kendomacaroonie bar?

I’m going (winkie thing) and coming.

263. cearc

Big new, eh?

I had an hen lay a 4oz. (150gm.) egg this morning.

that’s pretty big for a chicken!

264. Gillian_Ruglonian

@ Thepnr
    I enjoyed that! I especially liked the jump over the dispatch box, as I just love seeing puppets legs. It’s all Jim Hensons fault for having Kermit riding a bike ๐Ÿ˜‰

265. Thepnr

@cearc

That egg will make an omelette by itself, send it to me in a brown envelope. Gimme Gimme Yum Yum.

266. Smithie

Thepnr and Puula Rose, AH now we are getting into REAL music Lol. AHHH nostalgia. sigh

267. Paula Rose

cearc honey – is she OK?

268. Smithie

cearc says:
    6 June, 2015 at 12:11 am

Big new, eh?

“I had an hen lay a 4oz. (150gm.) egg this morning.

thatโ€™s pretty big for a chicken!”

Gawd i hate Boasters, but many thanks for the metric equivalent, it really brought it home to me, Lol

269. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Superb news. Did you happen to take a snap?

This, for me, is ‘real’ history in the making, as opposed to MSM-sanctioned pronouncements from bollock-merchants and gas-blowers in Westminster.

Cearc, I salute you.

๐Ÿ™‚

270. Thepnr

If you still pay you TV license BBC4 right now is a 70’s fest from The Old Grey Whistle Test,

Sorry Ian, will cancel next week. It’s always next week.

271. Paula Rose

If it weren’t for you lot I’d probably have gone insane xx

272. Thepnr

No excuses Paula. You are insane ๐Ÿ™‚

273. Paula Rose

This weekend Ian Brotherhood will lay an egg and livestream will bring us all the action.

274. Paula Rose

Here I am singlehandedly building an extension to our lovely social club and all you can do is sit back and eat popcorn. If it wasn’t for us English roses…

275. Paula Rose

No eggscuses – um shall I spin a discy?

276. Michael McCabe

Great track paula rose. time for me to shut my eyes but I will leave you with this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=iAkjokTLIP0 Somewhere for the red rooster to sleep.

277. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Hi all, have the new WBBโ€™s โ€“ the ones with tinfoil hats (hehe), and the badges if one was in a position to provide enough readies for, been posted out yet?”

They should have been, I’m looking into it.

278. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Rev.

Nice to see you visiting ‘off-topic’. Yilliv hud yir tea?

Hi Paula Rose.

You posted last night/early this morning:-

Just onceโ€ฆ
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZLlLtSG7

I got the message,

“This video does not exist.”

8=(

279. Paula Rose

They’ve removed it! But it’s one of my finest performances!

280. Cactus

Been trying to post this comment in Pauls WGD article on Anna Soubry, but no worky? So thought I’d float it here instead:
    ยซยซยซยซยซ

Howdy Paul and y’all,

Re ‘woman’, could be Alex trying out some old scot-speak in the chamber.. remember the characters from Scottish soap (‘Take The) High Road’ speaking with each other anyone?

I can imagine Effie telling Mrs Mack to ‘behave yourself woman’. It’s what makes us Scottish, our own vocal identity/personality ~ aka Scotland’s voice.

I’m now approaching 2 years with no television at home.. I removed the cable from the back of my screen and it magically became a ‘monitor’ for other connectible entertainment devices. DO IT too if you can ๐Ÿ™‚

Next step is to ‘normalise’ Scotland/SNP in Westminster (just for now mind!) Coming soon.. indyref2.

281. Stoker

After all the filth has been washed from Freedom Square it would now seem, from the web cam, the sun is trying to break through.

Sheryl Crow – Soak Up The Sun
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KIYiGA_rIls

282. cearc

Paula Rose,

The hen is fine, assuming it was the one hopping around the garden with her legs crossed.

Smithie,

You sweet, young thing!
    (actually there was a typo, it should have been 115gm. – half asleep when I posted).

Ian,

Aye, I did.

283. cearc

cactus,

The reports are totally sexist.

I have often said, ‘behave yourself woman’ to females without being criticised for it.

The criticism is aimed at him because he is a man (probably just because he is Alex Salmond) and is therefore sexist against men.

284. Lollysmum

Ceac
    You were right first time. It’s because he is Alex Salmond!

285. Lollysmum

Sorry spelled your name wrong Cearc

286. Paula Rose

It’s a little c at both ends xx

287. cearc

and an ear in the middle.

288. Lollysmum

I’ve been telt ๐Ÿ™‚

289. Paula Rose

Chickens like a bit of corn xx

290. cearc

Lollysmum,

xx, smiley thing.

291. Ian Brotherhood

‘Rock The Casbah’ – Mick Jones, Rachid Taha, Brian Eno (2005) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-qmyiR9iNyM

292. Brian Doonthetoon

In the last part of my post on 1st June, about the history of ‘Scots Wha Hae’ and ‘Marche des soldats de Robert Bruce’, I mentioned the German power metal band, ‘Gravedigger’, and their ‘Tunes Of War’ concept album, about the Scottish battle for independence.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-25/#comment-2023247

Now, as I mentioned, I had never heard of the band, probably because they’re not ‘British’, therefore not worthy of media coverage in our beloved UK. The British media are like that…

Onnyhoo, this week, I have managed to download the album but have also downloaded the videos from YouTube, of Gravedigger’s 30th anniversary gig in Wacken.

I’m only gonna provide one link here – all the rest are numbered in the list down the right hand side of the YouTube page so you can check them out at your leisure.

Now, when you watch this video, remember that you are watching a GERMAN band in kilts, kicking off their concert, IN GERMANY, with a pipe band. Check out the crowd reaction when the pipe band finish, and play ‘spot the saltires in the audience’.

I bet you never guessed that Germans appreciated ‘Scotland The Brave’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q4D9M1SgcHg

293. Paula Rose

Not surprised at all dear – german men love wearing skirts.

294. Brian Doonthetoon

Paula Rose – du bist so ein Wind-up-Hรคndler!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KmQ2CxrhNgA

8=)

295. Paula Rose

I’m in here somewhere

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YyYaBejjSrY

296. Brian Doonthetoon

Well, Paula Rose, that’s just INVITING this response…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HH85zttgbGg

297. Paula Rose

Boyzundtoysiesundermensch!

298. Paula Rose

Should I do the washing up or go to bed?

299. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose (12.38) –

‘I’m in here somewhere.’

Behind which hedge?

๐Ÿ˜‰

300. Ian Brotherhood

She keeps singing ‘I just can’t sleep alone at night’ because she’s got half a dozen dudes in the bed – they didn’t show them in this video:

Rah Band, ‘Clouds Across The Moon’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V4R97AeM6IE

301. Michael McCabe

The Auld Triangle. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=s836K9d3f4Y the Irish taking over the Albert Hall.

302. Michael McCabe

Had a good drink after the Barcelona game and I am feeling a bit Delicate. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=dRPwFAoQwxc

303. Cadogan Enright

Does anyone know how to find old posts on wings that you need to refer to for info?

Say when writing a letter?

For instance how would I find one of my old posts without scrolling for hours.?

304. Lollysmum

Cadogan
    No sorry-I’ve tried putting names in the search box-nothing. Subject in Search has worked occasionally but only seems to be where Stu has tagged it as being in a specific category & I’ve guessed the category correctly. Just gave up in the end though ๐Ÿ™

305. Paula Rose

Thepnr has a clever way of doing it – he’ll probably pop in and explain, it’s all a wee bit techie for me.

306. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cadogan Enright.

Here’s what you do…

Go to Google Advanced search.

http://www.google.com/advanced_search

Make sure you’re logged into Google so you can access your ‘search settings’ (the cogged wheel up at the top right). Set it to 100 results per page and save it.

Then, in the ‘this exact word or phrase:’ box, paste,

Cadogan Enright

Scroll down the page until you get to the ‘site or domain:’ box and paste in there,

http://wingsoverscotland.com/

Then hit the enter/return key.

You should get a list of “About 634 results”…

I suggest setting results per page to a 100 so you have 7 pages of results, rather than the 60-odd pages you would have with the default 10 results per page. (Saves multiple clicking to go to the next page.)

As Lollysmum types, if you paste YOUR name into the Wings search box on the Wings page, you’ll get,

No posts found. Try a different search?

Onnyhoo, the above method should get you on your way.

307. Brian Doonthetoon

Of course, when you’re on a Wings page, you can use command-F (Mac) or Control-F (Win) to instigate a search for specific text on THAT page.

308. Natasha

@Michael McCabe 2.57am
    Thanks so much for the Auld Triangle link; I’ve only ever heard it done by The Corries, and it was lovely to see and hear a different version.

Guys, I’m still here and I love you all; just can’t face some of the vitriolic rubbish over on the main threads just now.

309. Michael McCabe

@ Natasha Glad You enjoyed it. And it is great we have off topic to escape the mainstream. this place is my wee haven. thanks to rev stu and wings for providing it. All the lovely wingers who frequent it. not forgetting the Housekeeper the lovely Paula Rose.

310. Paula Rose

Flattery will get you everywhere xx

311. kendomacaroonbar

Peeps,

The Clyde Bar Helensburgh are delighted to host the Friends of WoS party. The owner is looking to provide live music and possibly some street entertainers (yes, me too). Can you let me know who is the goto guy here to liaise with and I’ll forward their contact details to John Rapallini owner of the Clyde Bar.

I just need to know the exact date and approximate time of arrival. Also, Please let me know if live music if required etc etc

Ken(at)iscot.scot

312. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi kendomacaroonbar.

For the two get-togethers at Invergowrie, we had Scottish/pro-indy music videos showing on a screen (ok, a king-size white sheet!).

We could do the same for Helensburgh. All we’d need is a wall for the ‘screen’ and a suitable location for the video projector and laptop, with a feed into the house PA.

Cactus seems to have been elected as VP Ents, or Social Convener, or Artiste Liaison, or whatever.

———————————————

Hi Natasha.

Have you not tried out the snug yet?

http://wingsoverscotland.com/quarantine

313. kendomacaroonbar

Hi Brian

Thanks for the reply.. will pass on the request. CACTUS >> Can you DM me your contact details please ? Thanks

314. Lollysmum

Kendo etc
    Has iScot June issue been sent out yet?

315. Ian Brotherhood

Stone Roses, ‘I Am The Resurrection’, (Live, Glasgow Green, June 15th, 2013)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-XDI5Rqf0tg

316. Paula Rose

How does one watch the UK parliament live without using a license fee? Please – a serious question.

317. Ian Brotherhood

This may be useful for anyone who has to deal with Daily Mailers sounding-off about the immigration ‘crisis’, and the UK’s role in dealing with those fleeing poverty.

Dick Gaughan, ‘Craigie Hill’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tP15bKvUpdw

318. kendomacaroonbar

@Lollysmum

Lyn, sent you an email

319. K1

Bdtt, I just used that google search method you outlined to Cadogan and found ma own postsโ€ฆgod when you look back at what you have written, especially before the 18th September, it’s quite ‘poignant’ for want of a better description. I was so certain we were going to do it, it felt like it was happeningโ€ฆinevitable.

It’s also quite strange to have everything still there, I had never posted on any forum before Wings, and treat writing as I do speaking, the words are said and for the most part in just living life, the words are just gone. Reading back over some of my own comments, there’s a few embarrassing ones interspersed with some that I can live with.

We are recording our own history as we goโ€ฆquite literally on here. Funny old life, int it. ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6NXnxTNIWkc

320. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

If your in your own house and have no license then to stay within the law you can’t watch it live. Whether it is streamed or not you cannot watch any live broadcast that is capable of being received in the UK without a license on any medium.

Just watch it at a mates house, cafe or pub, or throw caution to the wind ๐Ÿ™‚

321. Thepnr

@K1

Yep you arerecording your own history and it there for everyone to see, like it or hate it.

I’ve learned to live with any comments I make, mainly because I mean them, though some may said in haste. It’s true though that after making a poor decision and re-reading next day you may say “oh shit” haha.

If you can’t handle the fallout, maybe best not post, you are after all putting your head above the parapet on the most scrutinsed Independence website.

You evil, evil, engineers, writers, gardeners, window cleaners, professors, teachers, diplomats, factory workers,
    firemen, nurses, etc.

There is a shortage of journalists and labour activists, lets make an effort to recruit some.

322. Brian Doonthetoon

Am just about to turn in but can I suggest that, if you’re using Firefox as your web browser, you download “Downloadhelper”?

It lets you download and SAVE umpteen videos from all over the place, including Vimeo and YouTube, amongst other, mainstream video hosting web sites. You can then watch them as you please, without time constraints.

Their wee icon animates when you can download something – I suggest downloading as mp4, for maximum compatibility.

http://www.downloadhelper.net/

323. Paula Rose

My pussy has just settled down in my lap and needs a stroke – night night all.

324. K1

PR, Don’t need a licence to watch parliament as far as I’m aware.

http://www.parliament.uk

325. Thepnr

@K1

Sorry you do need a license to watch anything at all being broadcast live even if over the internet. Catch up TV doesn’t count but channels like E+1 or any other +1 do if they are being broadcast live.

The important words are broadcast and live and the means of reception is unimportant. You can only access TV programmes after they have been broadcast using an “on-demand” service. That obviously is not live but is like hiring a video. I believe I’m right but am welcome to be corrected.

326. K1

I sit corrected Thepnr, parliament tv: same premise applies, you can watch it afterwards but not ‘live’. In fact if you watch anything live on any ‘device’ you can be fined if you don’t have a tv licence. ๐Ÿ™ sorry PR, I was mistaken.

327. Michael McCabe

@ Brian Doonthetoon. I seen this and though of you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=3XeI9H2__gM

328. Tinto Chiel

@boris.

Was it you who said some weeks ago you had heard the word “whirly” used to describe a shallow mine? Left a message on here then but lots of people don’t visit this thread. If you have any info, please let me know.

329. boris

Tinto Chiel 8 June 2015

Hi. Yes it was myself who offered the information about the “Whirlies” My Great Grandfather worked them all over lanarkshisre in the mid 1800’s. Before deep mining took over.

330. Oneironaut

Afraid Thepnr is right that you do need a licence if you’re watching something being broadcast live, or are living in a house with an aerial or dish set up that is capable of receiving a live broadcast signal…

Whether or not they can prove you’re receiving a live broadcast, that’s another matter! ๐Ÿ˜‰

331. Gillian_Ruglonian

What do folks make of this?

Appears to make TTIP look tame

http://www.newrepublic.com/article/121967/whats-really-going-trade-services-agreement

332. Tinto Chiel

Thanks for this info, boris. My maternal grandfather and uncle were Blantyre miners, but they were deep ones mostly.

This probably explains Whirlies in East Kilbride. The name predates the giant roundabout, obviously.

Your avatar is very clever! Tapped on it to enlarge it and got all the jokes.

Thanks again.

333. Thepnr

Watching Mundell on parliament.tv reminded me of this great ELO song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A30Bt29i5KM

334. Tinto Chiel

@ boris 1.11pm. Have just re-read my post. Clarification required owing to poor expression.

“They were deep ones mostly.” I was referring to the mines, nor my relations, of course.

Mind you, my Uncle Jim didn’t say much…

Thanks.

335. Oneironaut

@Gillian_Ruglonian
    Hmm, possibly sort of a “Plan B” by the forces of evil in case the mounting public pressure manages to shut down TTIP?

336. boris

Tinto Chiel at 1.11: meant to say that the whirlies were the hutches used to move the coal to the pit head. This was done by the ponies OR a couple of youngsters. At the top they tipped the hutch onto the tables, (where the stones wers removed by the wimmen) the hutches were then turned round, (doing a whirlie) on the rail line and taken back to the coal face for more coal. They had a saying in Blantryre, “gies a whirl” used at times a compliment was to be paid to someone.

My family (Colligan) lived in Blantyre for many a year, up to the present day.

Boris

337. Tinto Chiel

Thanks, Boris, for these details. The name begins to make sense now that you have explained the hutches. My mother’s side were MacDades from Craig Street. None left there now.

EK had no deep mines but there is now a drift mine on the back road to Newhousemill as you probably know, so your derivation is convincing.

Thanks again.

University of WoS, eh?

338. Paula Rose

Boris darling your comment was number 12345 on Off-topic – congratulations!!!

339. Brian Doonthetoon

This mention of ‘whirlies’.

My memory is throwing up a reference to many decades ago, whereby we, in Dundee, could have a ‘whirl’, or ‘whurl’ on a bike, piler, or other childhood vehicle.

Wonder if it came from the same source?

340. Chic McGregor

It has to be at a scheduled time and broadcast live to an audience which watch it simultaneously.

But a skype call to your daughter in New Zealand does not count even if it is at a pre-arranged time and even if it included other family members elsewhere.

This can lead to a grey area. e.g. watching Independence Live or some other amateur event streaming outlet. Not sure about whether they would require a licence?

341. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Michael McCabe.

I must admit I found the James Brown/Led Zeppelin mash-up a tad contrived, like the guy was determined to make them fit.

Now these, I think, are my favourite mash-ups, up to this point in time. I’ll post the first two I ever came across later tonight, or tomorrow.

To me, these three show an attention to how the songs fit together.

First, with a nod in the direction of your offering, ‘Whole Lotta Sabbath’…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ThU9BOWcmjM

Then there’s this cracker, which has Debby Harry duetting with Jim Morrison…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dnhKPw2NXIw

Lastly, how about The Bee Gees and Pink Floyd?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U13xOvDa19U

342. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Loved that, the Bee Gees/Pink Floyd though was brilliant and a cut above the others. Best thing I’ve watched on here for a while. Though I’m easily pleased ๐Ÿ™‚

Cheers.

343. Tinto Chiel

@ BDT: Whirl/whurl/hurl are difficult to split. A free hurl in Lanarkshire could be a cyclist clinging to a lorry, for example.

Asked this before on a main thread: is pinner still used in Dundee for a purse? As in, ” Ma pinner’s fell doon a cundy!”

Keep going with your groovy YouTube vibe, BTW.

344. Chic McGregor

@Brian

That Pink Floyd/Bee Gees mash was very cleverly done.

Raises the ironic dilemma of whether real state mind control is through education or pop culture (or indeed, both).

345. Chic McGregor

Look! Its a CONDIE right?
    Perthese.

Besides I think ‘Condie’ is nearer to ‘Conduit’ than ‘Cundy’.

346. Tinto Chiel

Same derivation, CMG.

Dialect forms of conduit. Cundy form given to me by a Dundonian 30 years ago.

Now, how about pinner?

Eh?

347. Thepnr

Definitely a cundy in Dundee, a stank in Glasgow and I think a syver in Edinburgh.

http://ww.scotslanguage.com/word/Aug2007/cundy__n.__a_covered_drain,_the_entrance_to_a_drain%3B_a_tunnel,_passage

348. Thepnr

Yes Chic, a Condie in Perth, see earlier link ๐Ÿ™‚

349. Michael McCabe

@ Brian Doonthetoon I remember you playing a couple of those mash ups a while ago on off topic. and I liked them back then too.

350. Michael McCabe

Here is two songs from two nice girls. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=iIwl5VrqEfw

351. Thepnr

Hey bear with me, the video quality of this is awful but it is most likely the only video in existence of Johnny Cash in the early 60’s impersonating Elvis.

I’d guess he was just starting out on his career and his mantra might have been “Elvis Bad” LOL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TYctbbWWzzo

352. Tinto Chiel

@Thepnr 11.48.

Thanks for the link. It’s still syver in some parts of rural Lanarkshire, though Glaswegian stank is taking over.

353. Oneironaut

@Chic McGregor
    “This can lead to a grey area. e.g. watching Independence Live or some other amateur event streaming outlet. Not sure about whether they would require a licence?”

I don’t think they do.
    Although, that said, there are some who think that just having a computer that’s capable of picking up live streams is potential evidence that you can stream live TV channels as well.

Clearly the ones who are pushing that line are the ones who are geniunely desperate to get more money to the BBC, rather than the ones just doing a job they secretly hate because it requires them to bug the hell out of people.

(The one who occasionally comes out to check my place falls into that last category and tends to just say why he’s here, asks if I need a licence, accepts my reply of “Nope!”, makes a tick on his clipboard and wanders off again. Not all slaves to the system are willing slaves!)

Basically, if they don’t know you have a computer with that capability in the first place, they can’t touch you. And the only way they can be sure is to come into your house and verify it.
    And they need your permission to do that. Either don’t bother answering the door to them or just refuse to let them in.

Not that I ever watch BBC programmes. I find that since I stopped watching TV about two or three years ago, my mind has felt wonderfully free… ๐Ÿ™‚

354. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

My memory is throwing up a reference to many decades ago, whereby we, in Dundee, could have a โ€˜whirlโ€™, or โ€˜whurlโ€™ on a bike, piler, or other childhood vehicle.n

Brian, I used to get a hurl on a bike, as in “gie’s a hurl hame, wull ye no?” Hurl in a car, hurl on the chairoplanes, hurl oan a bogey, hurl on anything that moved!

Whirl always involved rotating, as in spinning.

355. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop.

The dustier corner of my library of memories is suggesting to me that ‘hurl’ was used where the person having the hurl was under the control of another person, in most cases.

“Gie’s a whurlie o’ yir bike…” would suggest that the person asking the question would be in control of the cycle. One would only indulge the request for a whurlie from someone you trusted, lest your bike was ridden off into the sunset.

It was maybe a St Mary’s thing…

356. Betty Boop

Brian, you could well be right regarding “hurl”. Whurl, though, I don’t recognise. Shall ask the other half because he came from a wee place in the boonies outside Falkirk…

357. Betty Boop

Brian, the other half hove into view a few moments ago and reckons he used “whurl”. Thought he might. Makes quite a difference growing up three miles apart ! ๐Ÿ™‚

358. Thepnr

Heard this, this morning on radio Scotland and thought I need to put that on Off Topic. Wee bit of ska, post punk.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PT4k1qgpWoI

359. Paula Rose

Ooo post punk ska – One of Scotland’s finest (no dusty stuff)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UOQSV1rl6TY

360. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Football is a funny old game ? With Ska. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=9xtOLs0S1f8

361. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

That was good, never heard of The Amphetameanies but did have a laugh ๐Ÿ™‚

362. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

That video was quite simply BRILLIANT. The funniest video I’ve ever seen here on Off Topic and probably anywhere. I’m amazed it hasn’t got 10’s of millions of views!

Anyway, thanks for posting, I laughed all the way through and will go to bed with a big smile on my face.

Yes, it has been a good day all round ๐Ÿ™‚

363. Michael McCabe

I wish you all a good night and leave you with a sweetness riddim. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i3iYFyNHV9E&feature=player_detailpage

364. Tinto Chiel

Boris, if you’re out there, a final question: have you come across any written sources which mention whirlies or hutches?

365. Lollysmum

Kendo etc

Tried posting this earlier but seems its been lost in the ether.

Thanks for the mailing. It arrived today.

366. Ian Brotherhood

Seeing as things are so quiet, here’s a wee half-hour interview which, seriously, I’d be very grateful for any thoughts on.

It’s Terence McKenna with Jeffrey Mishlove, ‘Time and the I Ching’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9fFKAk68C5Q

367. Paula Rose

Ian honey – is that ching or change?

368. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

๐Ÿ™‚

All donations gratefully received.

369. Thepnr

Yes Ian.

Very boring tonight YAWN. Liven things up a bit.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=StVUPKkmZG0

370. Thepnr

If you don’t like this, your toooo young!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OEalg62F8Zg

371. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Yet another video I’ve never seen before…cheers! ๐Ÿ™‚

372. Paula Rose

Usual tartan embellished flare trousered mullet sporting goal post waving history hugging face painted inmates in my way – shoo kids. work to do.

373. Thepnr

I really can’t believe this song and video is 45 years old, my favorite Status Quo tune ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZUOAtDU5yFY

374. Brian Doonthetoon

I typed the other night that I would post the links to the first mashups I came across on YouTube. There’s a story behind the first one…

My cousin started his course at Dundee Uni in 1969, which gave us a whole new social environment. Onnyhoo, one of the Friday(?) nights at the New Dines was delayed somewhat, by the band’s van breaking down on the way from Glasgow to Dundee.

We got regular updates by phone and, eventually, the band went on stage around 1am, two or three hours late. An unusual lineup, as they included a fiddle player. A brilliant gig, leading me to go to Chalmers & Joy in the Hilltown (before their move to Seagate) next day, to see what they had by ‘The John Dummer Band’. Bought their first two albums; ‘Cabal’ and ‘The John Dummer Band’.

At the gig, they had played a number, introduced as “9 Bar Blues” but it wasn’t on either of the albums. It eventually turned up on their third album, ‘John Dummer’s Famous Music Band’, as ‘Nine By Nine’. Wasn’t a hit in the UK but was rather massive ‘sur la continent’.

This clip is from French TV…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8HumOuasM4

For those of you who are not averse to a dose of trivia, the bassist, Thumper Thompson and drummer, John Dummer, went on to form ‘Darts”, after the release of the John Dummer Band’s fifth album.

Incidentally, Joanne Kelly, her brother Dave Kelly (Blues Band) and Tony McPhee (Groundhogs) were members of the John Dummer Band at various times.

Onnyhoo, around 6 or 7 years ago, I did a YouTube search for the band and ONE video turned up. (loads of videos now.) It was my first exposure to the concept of the ‘mashup’. This is what I found – and how could I complain? The John Dummer Band, Slade and Linda Carter! (Didn’t she have wonderful eyes, a bit like Leanne Wood?)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YhNdn7f291g

And to the second mashup I found. I watch this around once a year and it is still liable to cause eye lubrication. I find it quite powerful… I still haven’t worked out whether it’s the fact that John Lennon was taken too soon, the hypocrisy of Bush and Blair, or the images of suffering.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VafZic-UM_Q

375. Paula Rose

Typical – out of the snug and no mention of the new off-topic sprung dance floor.

376. Brian Doonthetoon

Ooh, Thepnr! Serendipity!

Status Quo: their first album when they changed style was entitled “Ma Kelly’s Greasy Spoon”. It was named after the mother of Joanne and Dave Kelly, who ran a transport cafe, which was used by all the bands who were on the road around the greater London area in the late 60s.

See:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ma_Kelly%27s_Greasy_Spoon

and, just came across this,

http://retrodundee.blogspot.co.uk/2011/07/chalmers-joy-record-shops-70s.html

377. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    Here’s one to make you feel ‘venerable’. Status Quo before they existed. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Specters – (We Ain’t Got) Nothing Yet.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0jfq-rJGzdQ

378. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr I swear I was going to play that same song last night. with the punch line labours new anthem. I will play this Qou one for them instead. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=d1gYJDQXPOk

379. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    Of course, that should have been less venerable. ๐Ÿ˜‰

380. Cactus

G’dafternoon folks.

Has anyone got an up-to-date list of names for the Clyde Bar boogey on Saturday the 25th July in Helensburgh?

Personalised badges are being arranged.

Chairs.

381. Thepnr

Here are the quo with the same song 45 years later.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=05k_Cos4rLs

Wonder what I’ll be doing in 45 years time ๐Ÿ™‚ 45 has a certain ring to it does it not:)

382. Betty Boop

@Thepnr

I’m not listening to enough of our old music – really enjoyed hearing SQ’s Down the Dustpipe again.

Good grief, 1970! Great summer, happy song –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yG0oBPtyNb0

and a bit more serious, still playing then,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8zmkzshUvE

383. Thepnr

@Betty Boop

Excellent choices Betty for those of us of a certain vintage.

Continuing with the 70’s theme, bet you don’t remember this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aLRDs9DtkrA

Original and far better than the paul Young version IMO.

384. Taranaich

I did a post regarding Brian’s comment on Grave Digger, but the comment goblins must’ve eaten it: I encountered the band in college, and was a big fan. They’ve done more Scots stuff since Tunes of War, it’s great.

Also, I’m still a bit off Private Eye.

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/06/11/poke-poke-poke/

Silly Gnome.

385. Michael McCabe

Independence I WOULD GIVE everything I OWN. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=z5nzZy2LFE0

386. Thepnr

@Michael

I don’t know why but I am in the mood for some good songs and a bit of reminiscing and that was GOOD.

Cheers.

387. Betty Boop

@Thepnr

Aye, there’s that “vintage” word again which is just too accurate for comfort. Ach well, all the best songs were way back then ๐Ÿ™‚

Since you are in the reminiscing mood, just to get your feet tapping after Thunderclap, a belter from a wee bit later:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xYoogY-UGio

@ Taranaich

Very appropriate from The Jam re the media.

388. Thepnr

Ahh Suzie, now she was HOT!

Pherrr, better go and cool off now ๐Ÿ™‚

389. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Michael.

“Everything I Own”, Ken Boothe.

In 1974, Pete the Camera volunteered to drive my ex-fiance up to Aberdeen to visit either the ‘Green Shield’ or ‘S&H Pink’ stamp shop/warehouse, to redeem her stamps.

I think it was around Stonehaven that ‘Everything I own’ came out of the car radio.

Onnyhoo, the 70s…

This was another single that I thought had chart potential, but bombed (Got to #42.). An Edinburgh band who shared the BCR’s manager. Originally called “Bilbo Baggins”, they had to truncate it to “Bilbo”, because of complaints from Tolkien’s estate.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2u9T0RXL1fc

390. Michael McCabe

Ah Brian I Remember going to court for Stealing Green Shield stamps. I got sentenced to 3 months and a brand new kettle. I remember Bilbo Baggins. I remember the bay city rollers when Nobby Clark was the lead singer. Anyway this is not the seventies but I think it is a good thing. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=xrOek4z32Vg

391. Michael McCabe

Brian that’s a Brilliant pic of Scotlands Golden Girl.

392. Thepnr

Brian

It’s obvious you were deeply involved in the music scene in Dundee in the 70’s.

Remember this? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ie-R4LeURHk

393. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

I have that single! That’s why I was a tad disappointed with the upload to YouTube (which I saw a couple of years ago) – whoever did it has speeded up the track to the extent that it is almost the chipmunks.

If you want to hear it (or download it) at the correct speed. check out this link on my web space:-

http://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/myoozack/Skeets%20Boliver-Streethouse%20Door-64kbps.mp3

And from the same page, here’s a mashup I used to do live in Jaspers Night Club, in the 90s. I found the ‘Pop Will Eat Itself’ track (Def Con 1) of interest, because I lost count at 9, as to the number of samples used in it.

http://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/myoozack/Def%20Con%201-Crazy%20Horses-64.mp3

BTW: you may have to download those files before you play them. Let me know how you get on.

394. Betty Boop

@Bdtt

That’s it, you have probably floored Alex with that pic. He was already off for a cold shower! Politics and … err…! That’ll put the heart rate up.

Paula, Paula, Thepnr needs soothing!

395. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Regarding shithouse door it had to be downloaded but was well worth it just to hear them sing “I hear you banging on the lavvy door”.

As a wee boy living on the pletties I can well remember Sunday mornings when you just ahd to “hud it in” LOL

I read your comments posted earlier on dundee retro, I noticed that a female called Lesley posts, I think I know her. Her friend was Alison Burns and the two of them were part of Dundees first punks. Did you know either of them?

Alison became a jazz singer with some success.

This is Alison now.

http://www.alisonburns.com/

396. Ian Brotherhood

Deee Lite, ‘Groove Is In The Heart’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wwjoS-2zm9E

397. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Hahaha your at the wind up. You know I’ve already had to take a cold shower? I can only put up with so much in a day.

Behave yersel ๐Ÿ™‚

398. Betty Boop

I’m rather enjoying this wee stroll down memory lane for us auld yins.

@Michael McCabe. Got to tell you that I considered myself really fortunate that I managed to filter out most of the 1980s and 90s when it comes to “pop” music. After a year or so travelling relatively media free, I returned to a friend’s home on the continent and turned on the telly in time to see these visions in braces and tartan trousers at half mast and decided to go back into music hibernation mode!

I did, however, enjoy Fine Young Cannibals, ta.

@Bdtt, Brian, are you Dundee’s music equivalent of the National Archives by any chance? I hadn’t heard of Bilbo, but, I don’t think I am alone there.

All this talk of Greenshield and S&H Pink stamps; jings, we led the high life, did we not? Used to be an S&H shop in Shandwick Place, Edinburgh, I recall. Aah, the simple pleasures.

399. smithie

Brian Doonthetoon you must remember this lol.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bLvlj6JQcI

400. Paula Rose

Darlings if https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/going-forward–2#/story gets there I will be doing a live interview! See the real me!

401. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Lesley and Alison were members of the first punk generation at the Bowlin’ Alley. (The generations were only 4 years, coz that was the turnover in students, due to length of degree course.)

The other names I recall from that group were Abe MacIntosh and Mike Strachan, who now (?) runs Beiderbeck’s.

I have a reel to reel tape of Skeets in the Bowlin’ Alley which is still waiting to be transferred on to my Mac. In it, in the middle 8, Mike Marra(?) goes through a list of public bogs in Dundee, “Not forgetting Seabraes.”

———————————

Hi Betty Boop.

I’ve been going through my memories to see if there’s anything else Scottish, that maybe you haven’t heard. I did Shabby Tiger a couple of weeks ago, so let’s think…

Here you go…
    Jim Kelly, who is credited with co-writing this song, was previously with Honeybus and played on their single, “Girl Of Independent Means”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qvpgaFiLazw

Onnyhoo, this is, probably, the most famous band in the world in Dundee, after The Average White Band.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=etiJWELXZeE

402. Thepnr

The term “he had them eating out of the palm of his hand” could have been written for this man. A true star and has left a legacy that is unlikely ever to be surpassed.

I know a bit over the top, but he was GREAT.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Klr5z0hoP04

403. Thepnr

@smithie

I really enjoyed that, thanks for posting the link. Oh innocent days.

@Brian Doonthetoon

I’d guess you also knew Vince Piggot too?

Lesley and Alison wearing fishnet stockings on a minibus to Dunfermline on the way to see The Adverts was a sight to behold ๐Ÿ™‚ Sorry ladies if your reading this and I’ve spoke out of turn.

404. smithie

Thepnr says:
    11 June, 2015 at 11:11 pm

The term โ€œhe had them eating out of the palm of his handโ€ could have been written for this man. A true star and has left a legacy that is unlikely ever to be surpassed.

I know a bit over the top, but he was GREAT.

Thepnr, No my friend, no way over the top. One of the greatest performer ever, sadly missed.

405. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi smithie.

I was JUST too young for The Hap, but I do know pensioners who went there…

Onnyhoo, my last video for tonight. This was inspired by Mike Galloway, the supremo of Planning & Transportation & Economic Development in Dundee, who, in answer to a question at a meeting of the City Centre & Harbour Community Council, gave an answer.

Q. Why was it decided, in 2005, to remove the roundabouts from the original Waterfront Masterplan, adopted, after public consultation, in 2000?

MG’s answer? “Roundabouts allow traffic to flow freely”.
    Here’s the ‘Downfall’ explanation,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PF_S_fQF5Zc

And here’s the explanation from the the video we put together for a presentation at a CC&HCC meeting.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5b_u37Zsl-U

406. Brian Doonthetoon

Vince Piggott – I know the name but wouldn’t recognise him if he gave me a punch in the pรผ$$.

Onnyhoo, definitely my last piece of music for tonight…

Recorded live in the Bowlin’ Alley, at the final of the ‘Marketgait Marvels’ talent competition, this is Colossus.

http://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/myoozack/Colossus-Live-LightsOut.mp3

407. smithie

Oh
    Brian Doonthetoon, naw nae way mate are you getting away with that yea auld git. You MUST ken o Washingtons in Union street run by Ciano who also had the Hap?. Ps ive met you and you look auld enough LoL.

408. smithie

Thepnr says:
    11 June, 2015 at 11:30 pm

@smithie

I really enjoyed that, thanks for posting the link. Oh innocent days.
    Indeed sir,as an 18 year old that is where i met my wife. Many happy memories indeed

409. Thepnr

@smithie

Haha well done that might put Brians gas at a peep for a while! Just kidding Brian see you in Helensburgh next month. You too smithie if you can make it along.

@Paula Rose

Well done you, i think an interview with THE Paula Rose on Indy Live would go down a treat. Not just with the Yes supporters, I know you have other fans too.

410. smithie

Many thanks thepnr, would love to be there (fished there and loved the area) apart fae the midges, but i am shy really

411. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

A wee bit of whitabootery. You got a problem wie traffic lights like?

412. smithie

HeHe i was a biker at the time, i suppose nothing has changed,well at least if you lot will tell me so?

413. Ian Brotherhood

FWIW, I think the exposure of Paula Rose via any form of electronic media is an appalling idea, and I will oppose it with every being of my fibre.

At the very least, WOS’s very own ‘Rose’ should not be subjected to the salacious probing and ‘creative editing’ which would undoubtedly ensue. The judicious use of Chinese screens and voice modulation may, perhaps, make such an event possible, but the central objection will remain – Paula Rose has been beyond the reach of MSM vulgarity for a long time now, and many of us would have her removed further still, for all our sakes.

What right has anyone? to jeopardise her hard-won Garboesque aura? That’s why I would urge responsible Wingers to completely ignore https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/going-forwardโ€“2#/story

414. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Yes, you may have a point there about Paula. We don’t want her all over the Daily Heil yet, best do at a time of our choosing.

I know that Paula likes Michael Marra so this is specially for her. “If Dundee Was Africa.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ktqsrMgceCs

415. Michael McCabe

This Song did not catch on in fact its Borderline. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=_HyGTw6kDag

416. Michael McCabe

Just found this on you tube so I thought I would share. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qEvF8pW8cjY&feature=player_detailpage

417. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

That young guy playing the drums was impressive, glad I watched it.

418. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Glad you enjoyed it. Looking forward to meeting you all at Helensburgh.

419. Bugger (the Panda)

Missing Bateman article

Serious Trouble at BBC Scotland
    by derekbateman1

The reputation of BBC Scotland takes yet another serious hit today as details begin to emerge of shocking management behaviour in News and Current Affairs. Since the summer of 2011 when John Boothman became head of the department stories began to circulate of inappropriate activity towards staff and unprofessional relationships with outside interests โ€“ some of which I reported here in his dealings with Labour Party spin doctors.

scotland

What the public did not know was the degree of stress placed on staff by an executive whom many at Pacific Quay believed was wrongly put in charge. In recent weeks I have spoken to and heard from journalists either signed off work or operating under duress. Grown men admit to breaking down. One has been under threat of redundancy for over two years.

Senior management have dismissed and played down consistent staff concerns which have been taken to them both formally and privately. But a situation arose before the General Election which they could no longer ignore when a staff member recorded comments made about them by Boothman. These were not just unprofessional and in breach of BBC guidelines but were profoundly wounding to the individual concerned.

They gave the BBC no option but to act. The incident has also hardened attitudes in the newsroom to the extent that a threat was made of strike action if Boothman was not removed.

The Director General has been involved in the case. Whatever action is taken, the line of responsibility goes far beyond one person and reflects badly on the administration of a key national institution which has turned a blind eye to case after case of intimidation and believed itself invulnerable to action. Many thousands of Scots have either stopped believing the BBCโ€™s output or stopped consuming it altogether. The latest controversy will confirm their worst fears about out of touch and dysfunctional management and add to calls for both an immediate change at Director level and the devolution of broadcasting. More details to follow.
    derekbateman1

420. Thepnr

Got a new ringtone. Any thoughts?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mF4xtdSdMmY

421. Betty Boop

@Thepnr

Re Ringtone: Are you having a bad day, Alex…? Or just a wtf day? ๐Ÿ™‚

422. Robert Sneddon

“Rev. Stuart Campbell says:
    6 June, 2015 at 1:03 pm

โ€œHi all, have the new WBBโ€™s โ€“ the ones with tinfoil hats (hehe), and the badges if one was in a position to provide enough readies for, been posted out yet?โ€

“They should have been, Iโ€™m looking into it.”

Hello @Rev. Stuart Campbell, not sure if you have posted an update anywhere yet – apologies if you have and I’ve missed it, and apologies for chasing you if you are still waiting on feedback yourself about them.

atb

Robert

423. Lollysmum

Thepnr
    A really, really awful day is it? Nothing can be that bad surely?

424. Thepnr

Sorry if I upset any of you readers, I feel like a bit of a Twat, which reminds me:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g-aVtKEhpO0

425. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi smithie.

Where did we meet?

————————————————

Traffic lights…

If originally planned roundabouts (driver-controlled) are replaced by traffic light controlled junctions (as they have been), who is it supposed to benefit? Drivers, or Siemens?

http://www.siemens.co.uk/traffic/en/index/productssolutionsservices/signalsandcontrollers.htm

426. CameronB Brodie

Sorry Brian, but everyone knows they’re called circles, not roundabouts. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyhoo, here are a couple of very flamboyant gentlemen with a very young Hendrix.

Buddy & Stacy – Shotgun
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wpl29xapwFU

Thanks again bro.

427. Thepnr

True, in a bit of a mood today. It happens to us all. I’m going to turn in early but will leave you with this. I promise no sweary words in sight.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dipFMJckZOM

428. Betty Boop

No worries Alex. Stuff gets us down, but, other stuff lifts us up again.

This one has been going round in my head since my yoof and if you stick with it, I’ve put on a wee show near the end! ๐Ÿ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YEEy615Jzg4

429. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty Boop –

Good stuff.

๐Ÿ™‚

430. Ian Brotherhood

Very moving stuff here – first part of a documentary about George Melly’s last tour.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WrN1Wkulh8E

431. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

Maybe this is more in tune with your mental position today?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hnzHtm1jhL4

432. Michael McCabe

Paul Simon This should be Obvious. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=9HKNAhAxMAk

433. Paula Rose

Gotta Get Away – from the UK…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ewco-kNBPaw

434. Ian Brotherhood

A wee oddity:

John Lydon, with Harvey Keitel, doing some ‘acting’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7IYvwD195hw

435. Brian Doonthetoon

On Thursday night, I mentioned ‘Girl Of Independent Means’ by Honeybus, in connection with Dundee’s Jim Kelly. In that post, I didn’t provide a link for that song so here it is – another weel kent riff from the Shadows of Night’s song, which I have posted before, in relation to Bowie’s plagiarism, but will post again.

Honeybus –
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FdDxR-o6xXk

Shadows Of Knight –
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GHjEvIFQ7zk

436. Thepnr

Hey Brian

You great sage of all things musical ๐Ÿ™‚

Do you remember this Dundee band who didn’t quite make it to the big time?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysOJwbnpc88

437. Paula Rose

Please please do not donate to https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/going-forward–2#/story because it will be embarrassing for me.

438. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex.

The Drive. I’ve been pals with Ronnie Jack, the drummer on that, from years before that recording. He was in City Square on the Saturday after the GE.

If you’re looking for a wee cyber diversion any time, go to Google and paste in,

“Ronnie Jack” drummer

You’ll be eyebrows raised at just how many bands he’s drummed with.

What do you call someone who hangs about with musicians?
    A drummer.

8=)

439. Michael McCabe

A Bottle of White A Bottle of Red Perhaps a Bottle of Rose instead ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=c4eybr6SqyA

440. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex.

Here’s a quote from one of the links you’ll find if you Google (as above).

Bruce Money – “I played bass on the record. It was reviewed in the Sunday Mail under “Banned Punks Cut Own Sex Single”. I still have the article. Ronnie Jack ‘phoned me the same day concerned that his aunty might read it, since we were named. We were neither banned nor punks. Bruce Money, Exhibition, The Hot Club, Poker Alice, Crawler, Exhibition again reformed.

http://punkygibbon.co.uk/bands/d/drive.html

441. Thepnr

Yes Brian

Roger Patterson played in that band, his old man had the taxis on tofthill. He was in my class at school. I was the brainy one LOL so couldn’t get in a band, nobody would have me!

442. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Michael.

Perhaps a Bottle of Rose instead ?

Here you are, from the early 70s:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vjryPCbaieA

Or, you could plump for ‘Spanish Wine’ from 1976…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eejrjEtadB8

443. Thepnr

I can see the problem that “The Drive” had.

If the main lyric in your song is “Can’t stop jerkin over you” the executives are not exactly going to be fighting over themselves in beating a path to your door.

Who cares? well done to the guys that formed The Drive.

I was going to give you a link to another unknown Dundee band that you would know funnily enough ๐Ÿ™‚

The Junkies lead singer Vince Piggot and on bass Alison Burns, anyway I couldn’t find it on Youtube, which may be just as well. Eeek!

444. Michael McCabe

Cheers Brian Fair enjoyed they two tracks. Mind I don’t drink Wine. Prefer a pint and a Brandy.

445. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Michael.

Brandy? No problem!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N-zhg1BeUkQ

And here’s your (non-alcoholic) pint…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8e1xvyTdBZI

446. Brian Doonthetoon

Alex – you must have been hingin’ oot around the Bowlin’ Alley, 1977 – 1983ish?

447. Thepnr

I’m still hanging about the bowling alley!

By the way, any spare change widnae go amiss, pal,

448. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Here’s some Spare Change for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=vWL-ZSIBgRk

449. cearc

Paula Rose, honey.

You could use purdah. Sit behind the curtain and whisper to an actor who speaks your words.

450. john king

Dont mind me guys Im just using off topic to check if the problem I had with kewords linking to adverts is fixed
    keywords
    Lottery
    jobs
    manager
    fingers crossed its fixed because even when I click on the down arrows I get redirected to some bloody advert grrr!

451. john king

Nope, still seeing the words highlighted in blue with a little square green think with what looks like a tick in the top right corner,and when clicked on it takes me to different ads and in the bottom right corner it now says ad by WA it was another ad like adserve or something earlier.
    Losing the will to live!

anybody got any advice?

452. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi John.

I don’t get anything like what you describe. I’m using Firefox with the Adblock Plus add-on installed.

I’m sure Rev Stu said ages ago that he wouldn’t allow adverts on Wings?

————————————————-

Hi Michael.

I prefer this (Dundee) version of that ‘Spare Change’ song:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fybwkm7ivQc

453. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex.

It’s amazing just what’s turning up on YouTube these days.

“A prime cut from the Seagate Studio, Dundee, recording session of Spring 1981, written and performed by Iain Carnegie, Jim Farrell, Cliff Smith and Kevin Devlin (aka The Megazones)”.

Cliff Smith worked with me in Claude Alexander in the late 70s.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBjpFDc9Z7w

454. Chic McGregor

Basically repeating a point I made on Bella, but which I don’t want to do on Wings mainstreet, even if it is political, so posting here on OT for discussion.

As you all probably know I am a long time supporter of independence, the SNP and EU membership. I guess a fair number here are too.

However that does not blind me to the fact there are many pro indy folk who are also anti-EU, for whatever reason(s) and many are understandable reasons as well, even if I do not agree with them.

In the past, those folk have, therefore, often had to choose between the two at various votes.

Now we would hope, at such times, everyone would put normal levels of self government for Scotland ahead of their dislike of the EU.

But really we know that that is not at all likely to be true in every case. Those who are only marginally pro indy but strongly anti EU probably did not vote the way we would have liked.

Exactly how many are in that category, who knows?
    But it almost certainly has lost us votes in the past, even for the indy ref. (Not helped by the fact the SNP refused to put a post indy EU referendum in the mix. Cameron stole a march on us there.)

But that is all water under the bridge, what concerns me now is this suggestion that a no vote for the EU referendum could be the โ€˜changed circumstanceโ€™ which triggered an indy ref2.

Really?

To me it sounds such a stupid idea I really wonder whether they have thought this through.

They are proposing that at a time when the UK has, effectively if not actually, left the EU, we then give pro indy/anti EU voters an even starker choice than they have ever had before.

Vote Yes to get indy and return to the EU
    Vote No to stay in the UK and remain out of the EU.

No future conditionals involved here.
    A clear and present split choice, immediate effect, mandate.

Also this would be done at a time when after a brutal and highly polarising EU campaign the No voters, including the indy leaning ones, would still be in various stages of euphoria.

I do not think we would have a chance of winning an indy ref 2
    in those circumstances.

I would much rather they had given indy ref triggering โ€˜change of circumstanceโ€™ examples like 1. if the polls indicate it is what the people want 2. If the UK leaves the ECHR. 3. if the UK embarks on another illegal war 4. if the the Smith Commission/Vow is not met 5. if they bring in EVEL 6. if they allow TTPI to operate on Scottish NHS 6. If Trident renewal goes ahead 7. If the reactors of nuclear submarines are to be buried at Rosyth 8. if the Barnett formula is dropped – and umpteen other ‘circumstances’ it is possible to choose.

Anything else but a forced, immediate effect, EU membership choice tied to the indy vote.

Even, in the highly unlikely event that the SNP belatedly saw sense and included a post indy EU reverendum timetable in the indy proposals, it would be too little too late in those circumstances. IMHO.

What are your thoughts?

455. Oneironaut

@john king
    Sounds like you got a bit of a malware infestation in your browser there…

Been at the naughty websites? ๐Ÿ˜‰ (Like the Scottish Labour site!)

456. smithie

Oneironaut says:
    14 June, 2015 at 11:31 am

@john king
    Sounds like you got a bit of a malware infestation in your browser thereโ€ฆ
    Thank god i got that wrong, i read that as infestation in your trousers thereโ€ฆJeez you would be in trouble then John.
    By the way,when does the party start?…
    OK may i kick off with this?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TATWd_PGfUg

457. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi smithie.

You have neglected to answer my query from 12 June, 2015 at 6:23 pm.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-25/#comment-2026454

Don’t start posting YouTube vids until you’ve dealt with the more important matters! I didn’t get to where I am today, by being in a different place at another time.

8=)

458. Smithie

LoL sorry Brian i wiz knackered (excuse) that night mate. Think back to a Brechin centre with Tartan Tory and Thepnr/and the wonderfull Mz Rose, and also The count at Arbroath at the Ref. So now may i continue to post my friend?, cheers ta lol

459. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi smithie.

I blame Tartan Tory. He, obviously, assumed that we all knew each other and, therefore, neglected the introduction protocol. What an erse, iye?

Still looking in TT?

I love you really – you let me and Pete hang on to the very end at the Arbroath count, while you…

We absorbed your pain.

8=)

460. Smitie

OK Brian while you think about it, i’m gonna sneek this one in,
    watch?v=xYoogY-UGio://www.youtube.com

461. Paula Rose

Smithie dear, Bdtt just spins the discs he has no say over door policy.

462. Oneironaut

@Smithie
    Well, a malware infestation in the browser, is probably not as bad as a maleware infestation in the trousers! ๐Ÿ˜‰

463. smithie

Paula Rose says:
    14 June, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Smithie dear, Bdtt just spins the discs he has no say over door policy.
    Bless you dear, was trying not to upset anyone, so may i post some more vids? Lol

464. smithie

No sweat whatsoever peeps, all good, lets get onto some good sounds now, ( well as long as at it aint punk) lol

465. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s a sneak preview of a clue in tomorrow’s National crossword:

‘Old Scots offal that Lee gummed wildly (5-4)’

Please don’t request a sneak preview of the answer, for two very good reasons:

1. Refusal often offends.
    2. I’ve forgotten it.

466. Paula Rose

Smithie – OUT!

467. Paula Rose

Ian Brotherhood honey – we enjoy Greg Moodie’s previews on twittie, enough said?

468. smithie

Ok Paula son, pfft

469. Brian Doonthetoon

Oh smithie – you’ve $h@โ€  your troosers, or blotted your copybook, with your “no punk” comment. Paula Rose, from this day forward, will no longer bear your offspring.

To try and get her back onside, I will offer this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yg8tIlxxxRU

And for smithie,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3X7PvU6qYEA

Or,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oeGPpwFpIAA

470. smithie

Ok cheers Brian, sorry bud, much appreciated.

471. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Ach well, ye can’t please all of the proverbials etc etc…

Let’s just crack-on and start a new leaf, eh?

To that end, I have just cracked another bottle of ‘Bawbag’s Moet’, i.e. Lambrini.

Bottoms-up! ๐Ÿ˜‰

472. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Chic McGregor.

An interesting post but I am tended towards the EU for one reason – the TUPE regulations, which prevented us, University employees, from being transferred to NHS Tayside, in Ninewells Hospital.

The reason the transfer failed was because NHS Tayside THOUGHT they knew it all, because they had handled TUPE transfers in the past.

The difference was that their previous transfers were bringing previously outsourced employees back ‘in house’, which was what these employees wanted, compared to us, who didn’t want to be transferred.

When we hit them with the TUPE regulations, it took a year, but NHS Tayside eventually removed themselves from the transfer process.

So, generally, I’m in favour of the EU as an organisation but as Farage has divulged, it need reformation.

473. Ian Brotherhood

Where is Bugger The Panda these days? I haven’t been able to keep across all threads lately, so he may be as active as ever, but I don’t recall seeing his big black and white coupon for a while.

‘Broadsword calling BTP…Broadsword calling BTP…come in BTP…’

474. smithie

Yea your right Ian you cant please all of the proverbials etc, hows yer Lambrini doing?

475. Michael McCabe

I have noticed Bugger the Panda on twitter Quite a lot.

476. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

You must have missed this, from a couple of days ago…

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-25/#comment-2026350

477. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ™‚ Cheers. I am well and truly back-and-fronted.

Sorry BTP – I remember reading that comment, and didn’t even click it was by your good self.

Well, I hope you know you were missed all the same, even if it was a mistake.

478. Grouse Beater

BtP last expressed disappointment in some aspect of Wings, maybe the delay in responses appearing on the board – sorry, can’t remember. Good fighter for the cause. I like him. I’m sure he’ll pop by again soon.

I think immediacy of Twitter suits him more, although personally I find its severe constraints reduce good argument to mere base opinion. But it sure as hell sharpens up my one-liners.

479. Ian Brotherhood

Unusually, this track has had NO (i.e. ‘zero’) views on Youtube. If it does show ‘1 View’ when you click on it, that’s me…

TBH, sounds alright to me.

Diplomatic Shit, ‘Drunk In The House Of Lords’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ga5YzUJw-Fk

480. Grouse Beater

I seem to have upset some twitter self-abuser called Jill Stephenson. Sensed a callow male yoof behind the pallid smoke screen of infantile responses. After I got in three barbed hits she-he backed off into the night.

BD on BtP – that long post on BBC shenanigans you remind us of confirms what I thought – he is saving his ammo for the big stuff, and dipping in here less often.

481. Ian Brotherhood

@Smithie (11.51) –

Thank you kindly for asking.

I must inform you, with immense regret, that the Lambrini, like me, is totally done.

๐Ÿ™

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.