The Normal Person’s Political Dictionary

Posted on February 13, 2023 by

There are terms beloved of politics activists and commonly used on social media which are a baffling mystery to the general public. We’ve spoken several times of the word “gaslighting”, which is understandably used as shorthand for quite a complex thing that’s difficult to describe concisely, but nevertheless acts as a barrier to understanding for anyone not overly political.

Today’s lesson is the term “DARVO”, and stars the Scottish Greens’ favourite rapist.

Let’s quickly see how it works.

“DARVO” stands for “deny, attack, reverse victim and offender”. Or to put it a bit more simply, “accuse the other side of all the bad stuff that you’re actually doing”.

In the screenshot above, serial violent abuser Jack/Beth Douglas, recently suspended from the Scottish Greens in the light of revelations on this website, accuses gender-critical feminists of trying to block-book seats in the Holyrood public gallery on 22 December last year in order to disrupt the final stage of the highly controversial and unpopular Gender Recognition Reform bill.

The reality is somewhat different, as was revealed last month by a Freedom Of Information request which has just come to our attention. (Don’t worry, you don’t have to read all of the below, it’s just the evidence. We’ll do the sums for you after the pic.)

The only MSPs in that list who voted against the GRR are Russell Findlay and Tess White. Which means that the block-booking of tickets actually broke down like this:

Pro-GRR MSPs: 260
Anti-GRR MSPs: 20

And as a graph:

And as a pie chart:

Deny, Attack, Reverse-Victim-and-Offender. Keep it in mind, folks.

0 to “The Normal Person’s Political Dictionary”

1. Jeanette McCrimmon

Sturgeon & the majority of MSPs who voted through the GRR Bill, used DAVRO to silence women. They are evil bastards.

2. Blind Squirrel

Is there a new meaning to the term cock-block?

3. Dazed & Confused

Thanks for all your work Stu.
    Who would have thought that women wanting to protect themselves & their children, would, in 2023, be classed as villains, and rapists the victims?
    DARVO indeed.

4. James Che

It appears Rigged outcomes are aided and abetted by the devolved parliament.

5. SusanAHF

Typical lying by the TRAs and all to deflect from the fact that they were present in numbers, going to the women’s toilets to protest/intimidate en masse. DARVO indeed

6. Garrion

There’s Rovian evil genius behind this. I would be surprised if it is solely situated in Beth’s mind.

7. Graeme Hampton

Looking at that list I’m assuming 15 is the maximum number of tickets an MSP can apply for.

8. Geoff Anderson

I underestimated Sturgeon. I thought she only damaged a Party and divided the YES Movement. She has also managed to turn Holyrood into a sewer.

Keep up the good work Stu! The public are starting to wake up.

9. Bob Mack

Oh dear. Gerry MAN dering of gender reform. Who would have thought!

10. Merganser

I thought Patrick Harvie would have had higher figures on that
    PIE chart.

11. John C

I’m assuming the 15 tickets Maggie Chapman wanted were for ‘Beth’ and his crowd of dreadful woman hating lunatics?

I do think though we’re seeing a turning point as the general public are more and more exposed to Queer ideology and its supporters like the the delightful Beth, India, Katy, Owen, and all the others no decent Trans person would want to be seen near to let alone have them speak for them. One of the reasons this lot (bar ‘Beth’ who is keeping a surprisingly low profile after his suspension from the Greens) are using that poor Trans person murder to slander GC women especially is they know things are changing and this is a chance to land a few blows. It won’t work I think mainly as the police are saying it isn’t a hate crime, and secondly it makes them look like rabid loons. India especially needs to lawyer up in regards what he’s saying about women because if I was Rowling, Bindel or any of the women he’s hating on, I’d just set the lawyers on him.

There’s still a long, long way to go and we might never get rid of some of the legislation being brought in but the more Queer theory give light shone on it, the more the public reject it.

12. MuttersUWS

Just to clarify, was that a staff member of the Scottish Parliament who wrote the paragraph “Hi Beth…on both days”? If so isn’t that a disciplinary matter – lying, as well as use of the insult TERF?

13. Cath

Wow. I am going to take that to mean parliament is not a safe place for women, nor for anyone who disagrees with ideology pushed by a handful of zealot MSPs.

14. Lorne

All that is missing is the insignia…

15. Lorne

All that is missing is their insignia…

16. Geri

It’s rotten to its very core.

& If reports from the few ‘anti GRR’ who attended are true – half of the pro side were playing guard dugs to the ladies loos & intimidating them. No wonder. 20 against 260.

17. David R

Isn’t he copying Goebbels, the originator of modern political propaganda? “Accuse the opposition of that which you yourself are guilty”.

18. AlbaPartyTime

Do we know who Pickle Bee was talking to?

19. smitty

This is not quite on topic, but it does involve gaslighting and this is of importance.

Kate Forbes has been stalling for time over the GRR. She did not vote for it, issue a statement as she is on mat leave. Megan Gallagher did disrupt her mat leave to vote against it. However Forbes decided not to break her mat leave but I have now been told by a few unconnected sources that she has been having multiple meetings in Holyrood & Westminster to drum up support to replace Sturgeon and has been regularly briefing the press and in return she has been given two puff pieces by the Times and the New Statesman talking her up of being the new leader. Be under no doubt that a stealth coup is underway and she has already being making offers to loyalists. One highly pissed off source is livid that she breaks her mat leave to progress her own career but not to protect women or children by voting against the GRR despite many pleas. This has seriously pissed of members of both sides.

Sturgeon and about everyone else at Holyrood including the janitor know only too well what she is up to. The gossip is that Forbes will be shuffled out of her cushy role into a much tougher cab sec role in an anticipated reshuffle this Spring. Insiders are expecting hostilities between them both and their loyalists.

Before you get excited about Sturgeon being ousted I was told of many MSPs concerns about Forbes. She appeared from nowhere in 2015 and her only political experience was a summer admin job with family friend & MSP Dave Thomson. Apparently she had not even voted in the 2014 referendum 9 months before, had never campaigned or had any involvement with the Yes or SNP. Never put a leaflet through a door, never canvassed, never been on a mar h let alone owned a Yes badge. Questions are being asked of how she ever got through vetting without any campaign experience or SNP/Yes involvement.

Another parly friend says that she has been making moves for years. Her political nous is solely concerned with self promotion and not furthering Indy. She takes credit for what she has had little involvement with like the Freeports, but distances herself from catastrophies which has her fingerprints all over like the Scotwind debacle who has seen £60 billion loss to the Scots economy.

Also she is a right wing Christian who believes in creationism (dinasaurs did not exist!), is against abortion, gay marriage and working on Sundays. There is no issue with her believing what she wants but once in charge there are many concerns how this will influence policy. Under Forbes, policy would move from Sturgeon’s left wing, science-denying idiology to a right-wing, science-denying idiology. This is not progress but the gaslighting of an electorate. This is not progressive and we will not see independence under Forbes.

20. Craig P

AlbaPartyTime says:
    13 February, 2023 at 3:04 pm
    Do we know who Pickle Bee was talking to?

A Green party researcher, presumably?

21. Mac

I accidentally posted on the older article but that is a huge revelation that Murky Murrell made the 107k loan the day after the police visited regarding the fraud investigation surrounding the missing ring fenced 600k.

Huge.

I’d now bet with confidence this ‘loan’ is him paying back his wages as CEO that were paid to him over the period that they would have had some of the missing 600k ‘interwoven’ into them.

22. President Xiden

Straight out the Nazi playbook. We are being governed by some very unsavoury characters.

23. Ottomanboi

Is the Sturgeon Scottish National party a rogue brand…

https://www.holyrood.com/editors-column/view,nicola-sturgeon-is-starting-to-look-like-the-snps-independence-albatross
    https://www.holyrood.com/news/view,exclusive-poli-snp-supporters-split-on-de-facto-scottish-independence-referendum

…by design, seriously dysfunctional with political purpose.

Rare Shakespeare books go on display….in Scotland. WHY?
    Is Scotland being culturally appropriated?
    All too sinister for comfort.

24. Wilson McBride

Rev Stu

What we really need to know about the delightful “Beth” is,,,

Does she stand up or sit down to do a pee?

I wonder if Sturgeon could answer the question?

Douglas Ross could ask her at the next FMQs at Holyrood.

25. Republicofscotland

I find it utterly disgusting that they can’t even refer to a REAL woman as a woman, but resort to the derogatory term of terfs, they really do hate REAL women, and that’s why we must vote out those MSPs that voted for the unamended GRRB, which also gives access to rapists and paedos to women and children’s safe spaces.

Below is a reminder of those vile MSPs who have put REAL women and children in danger by voting through the unamended GRRB.

https://wingsoverscotland.com/the-disgraces-of-scotland/

Vote Alba, Join Alba, protect our REAL women and children.

26. Wilson McBride

Mac 3.34pm

“I’d now bet with confidence this ‘loan’ is him paying back his wages as CEO that were paid to him over the period that they would have had some of the missing 600k ‘interwoven’ into them.”

Excellent point Mac.

Hopefully someone follows up on your theory.

27. Astonished

Impossible to argue with jeanette’s succinct but accurate assessment of Sturgeon and her cabal off MSPs @1.23pm

28. George Ferguson

@Smitty 3:26pm
    A riposte to a big spread in the Sunday Times for Kate Forbes. A bit of a hatchet job I am not sure it’s Darvo more like a post of the long knives. I support Alex Salmond to be the next leader of the SNP. We would be Independent by October if that happened.

29. Ottomanboi

The role of «social media» sites, notably the subversive Chinese sex brokers TikTok, must be factored into this equation.
    The child killed in Warrington was a TikTok fan.
    This whole subject stinks of weird adult porn.
    The Augean stable is cyberglobal.

30. Geoff Anderson

This talk of a replacement for Sturgeon is pointless in my view. Those who remained loyal or remained silent while she destroyed the Indy movement cannot be trusted. The SNP need to be shunned as Labour were dumped.

A poorly performing business can sometimes be turned around by making key changes. The SNP passed any hope of saving it years ago. We all know that the Murrells are only the cause of the disease but it has spread though the NEC, HQ, branches, MSPs and MPs.

If you cleared out the deadwood, the TransCult and the dumb you would not have enough left to be able to fight an election.

Those who remained members and STILL remain members….YOU enabled the Murrells to destroy the unity of the YES Movement. YOU also put Women and Children at risk.

So many holding on to their 40 or 50 years in the Party. Their membership became more important than Independence. They remind me of the Colonel Nicholson character (Alec Guinness) in Bridge of the River Kwai. Only at the very end did he realise what he had done.

I should have seen it in 2012-14 when the SNP meetings opposed spending on YES. The Party was more important even then but leadership kept it focused, Party Rules kept it focused, Conference debate kept it focused – Then Sturgeon and her business Party seized their chance.

31. robertkknight

Westminster’s branch office in Edinburgh needs closed down.

It is absolutely NOT representing the majority view, irrespective of political party.

32. James Che

Mac

Well spotted, almost the same.

33. James Che

Wilson McBride,

Perhaps it would be wiser for the inland Revenue to study her tax returns as two people

34. tricia young

I was there on the 22nd and had not booked a ticket in advance. To be fair the woman on the desk explained that I could have a ticket if the pre booked ones were not used. It took about an hour to get one and there were lots of people doing the same as me.
    So these pre booked tickets were left at the desk, there appeared to be a lot of them and only a few were picked up – (who booked them and then didn’t pick them up?) and the debate was well under way by the time I and many others got in.
    Also as a side note it took ages to get through security as they removed our suffragette colours and my t shirt explaining what a woman was! Roll on Sturgeon’s political demise.

35. Jason Smoothpiece

When Stugeon is forced out hopefully some time soon we need a change in the SNP management.

The party needs a sane individual who knows what he or she is doing.

The reality is of course the SNP will begin a Labour like decline over the next few years as its supporters and members realise that they have been had.

Any decent person who remains a member of the SNP needs to have a serious think and consider how embarrassed they are by being a member.

Bottom line is if you support independence in Scotland you should support and indeed you should join Alba.

36. SusanAHF

I tend to agree with you Geoff Anderson, the cowards need clearing out aswell as the enablers. As for a leader, possibly Angus McNeill

37. Republicofscotland

Smitty @3.26pm.

Thanks for the update, I doubt removing Sturgeon and replacing her with someone else who we know not to be committed to the cause will make one bit of difference.

What I mean is, is there anybody within the SNP’s ranks at Holyrood (MSP) that’s up to the task at hand, I certainly don’t see anyone.

I also now think the SNP are a busted flush and we cannot trust them anymore to do what we elected them to do, to deliver independence, no better to focus or support on Alba.

38. James Che

Does the Inland Revenue view and recognise these tran-women as two separate tax codes for two different people, after all they claim were a man in one period of their life, and now they are a woman, in another period in their life in the same body.

Two Tax codes.
    Or is this a tax dodge Scam against Inland Revenue or Does the Governments Inland Revenue still see them as the person they were born if the have not totally transition by a medical surgery ?

Will their pensions be lower and altered if any of them were born in the 50s because they are now saying they are women?

39. Mac

Remember it was for a very specific amount 107,620.

This number only neatly divides by 8 or by 16 (months). The two most realistic periods.

16 gives a monthly salary of 6,726.25 or 80,715 per annum, which ties in with his last published salary.

It has got to be salary tainted by the interwoven missing 600k.

40. James Che

I think the Inland Revenue should take a closer inspection on their taxes if they are now women,

I also think they should have their date of birth’s checked to see how many of the trans-women now come under the catagory of 50s born women,

41. Patsy Millar

@smitty I should point out that the Catholic teaching on evolution is very much in line with most people’s understanding i.e. that Darwin got it right. This has been the case since the time of Pius XII and since Katie Forbes is a Catholic, I’d be very surprised if she thought differently.

42. James Che

Robertkknight

Yep, totally agree with you, it could not have got more obvious that the devolved branch office in Scotland are able to work of the back of the Westminster 2004 ID bill.

When you Think of how that bill is acting for a foundation bill for the Green’s and Snp in Scotland, well may the tories now shout and pretend they had nothing to do with gender ID, fake politicians, pretending it was not their idea in the first place, and are against gender ID,

Trialed by there branch office in Scotland, very similar to the poll tax.

43. Shug

The longer the msps and MP delay dumping Nicola the more ridiculous they will look when they do and the more of them will ultimately lose their job.

“If it wer done, it were better it were done quickly”

Sums it up really

I think when the e mails are published I am going to need a bigger bag of popcorn.

44. panda paws

@Patsy Millar

Kate Forbes is a Wee Free (Free Church of Scotland). She’d be aghast at being called a Catholic.

45. Ottomanboi

The Greens again, across the water.
    Catherine Martin Irish minister for tourism, culture, Gaeltacht, sport and putting the cat out has decided this year’s S.Patrick’s day will be diverse.
    Yay, fat men in tights, rainbow flags, kids etc
    S Patrick was very likely born on the Scottish side of the water.
    Can Scotland have him back?

Is Varadkar’s «potato republic» the design Sturgeon is copying?

46. Dave G

I don’t suppose it matters much but Kate Forbes is a Wee Free, not a Catholic.

47. ronald anderson@gmail.com

Aw Rev did U hiv tae mention the word DICTIONARY / We get that repeated daily to us by a clown who takes us for a illiterate mob

48. Ottomanboi

PATSY MILLER
    Correct, the concept of natural evolution has never been a problem for the Catholic Church. Survival of the fittest element regarding humans in Darwinism is however a different matter.
    Kate Forbes, although not a Catholic, in many respects appears more Catholic than many of the name.

49. Towbar Sullivan

O/T I know, but I think SGP is working himself up to abandoning Alba…
    https://scotgoespop.blogspot.com/2023/02/on-ashcroft-poll-message-from-heart-to.html?m=1

50. Albert Herring

@panda paws

The Wee Frees are the Free Presbyterian Church of Scotland. They reckon the Pope is the Antichrist.

51. Lorna Campbell

What really gets me, and is gaslighting, is the fact that so many people refer to ‘genuine trans’ and rapists, as if being ‘trans’ identified as a ‘woman’ is anything other than ‘genuine man’. We must not allow this conflation to continue because, if we do, single-sex spaces are out of the window forever. Just referring to one person as ‘true trans’/’genuine trans’ allows the lies and fudging to continue. That is why the historical origins, against the law, of the invasion and breaching of female spaces has to be made known to the public. We have to start campaigning now for single-sex spaces to be enshrined in law as single-sex with no exceptions.

The MSPs are still determined to get the GRRB passed, and keep on trying to deny reality. The deliberate turning of the facts on their heads is happening everywhere that this stuff has embedded itself. The other gaslighting nonsense is the mantra: we must have a respectful debate. What debate? The ‘trans’ lobby ensured that no debate would take place ever, then they blame women for trying to quash debate.

Just this last Wednesday, on Debate Night, two of the MSPs, one SNP, the other Lib Dem talked as if self-ID was just a walk in the park and women were being needlessly disingenuous. Not once has anyone in any public arena referred to these men as they are: autogynephiles/fetishists/paraphilics. This whole thing is, from beginning to end, sex-driven. Much of it is derived directly from the porn industry. Yet, no one os brave enough to say it in public. It is the truth. Recently, Jordan Peterson called them autogynephiles and liars for denying it and trying to present it as something else. Again, this is turning things on their heads to make it appear that these men are put-upon and innocent and pure. They are not. They get their rocks off by pretending to be women, by dressing as women and behaving (they think!) as women. They will not stop unless we stop them and secure female boundaries firmly in law to keep them all out.

That stupid Cole-Hamilton person tried to argue that GRCs would make no difference to most ‘trans’ identified men. Like hell! it would afford them legal ‘womanhood’ – all they need to prance around and woman face at every opportunity. Have these MSPs got a brain in their ignorant heads at all? If men can larp as ‘women’ in female spaces, legally, they cannot be arrested on public indecency charges as other men would be. That is the point: they want to destroy prohibitive laws for all, the very laws that protect children and women from fetishistic men. Yet, they make it appear that TERFS are attacking poor, innocent wee souls who would never dream of doing harm. By larping as ‘women’, they do harm, right from the word, go. It is all sexual, all aimed at breaching the boundaries of every other person, be they male, female or child. That is Queer Theory in practice. Jesus! I despair!

52. Mia

“the more of them will ultimately lose their job”

All those who abused parliamentary seats and used women and children as collateral to force this aberrant legislation through, deserve to lose their jobs.

I sincerely hope that each and everyone of those either are deselected or get their coumeuppence at the ballot box. And I include here not just the SNP, but also Greens, labour, libdems and the couple of tories who also thought it was acceptable to put the interests of rapists, perverts and paedophiles before the wellbeing of women and children.

As per Kate Forbes, in my view a coward who hides behind her baby to avoid voting for, against or even abstain in this aberrant legislation is no leader. Is an opportunistic tool only looking after their own political image and doing a disservice to their constituents.

What solid proof do we have Forbes is a real anti-union nationalist and not another plant/ labour-like devolutionist/FFA enthusiast like Sturgeon or Sweeney?

How often did she raise her head above the parapet and challenged her boss demanding independence to be brought forward, like Mr McNeil did for example, during the last 8 years the political fraud in control of the SNP has been wasting us?

I don’t remember even one occassion. I only remember her asking for FFA.

53. Alf Baird

smitty @ 3:26 pm

“we will not see independence under Forbes”

Aye, ye dinnae see mony Scottis naitionalists comin oot o Oxbridge, the ‘intellectual’ hame o elite Britnat culture an values.

54. twathater

I think the person who emailed Douglas should be investigated , if they are staff members in this perverted building they shouldn’t be contacting the perverts pervert to inform him of anything, WTAF has it to do with Jack the lad who gets tickets, as long as his good pal ACH managed to get him tickets so that Alex could applaud jack and tell him “It was ALL for you BETH”

Scotland has enough problems with people within the SP LEAKING information to journalists that they have CLOSE contact with ,and POLICE Scotland are still no closer to exposing who it was even after all these years , never mind when we get a REAL honest government maybe Police Scotland will be FORCED to arrest the LEAKER and her BOSS and they will serve the time that the innocent man so narrowly avoided

55. panda paws

@Albert Herring

They are one and the same. Just left out the Presbyterian bit!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Free_Church_of_Scotland_(since_1900)

56. George Ferguson

@Alf Baird 5:57pm
    True Alf. But it was interesting the SNP wasted political capital on Smitty to dox Kate Forbes. A new digital identity Smitty built up a farthing of worth of value and wasted it on who? I standby my Nicola.

57. Mac

The timing of the loan is damning and looks and smells real bad.

I am starting to think Sturgeon is going to fall here, it is really stacking up now. Hard to see how she can avoid extremely pointed questions in regard to the loan. The very unconvincing and odd ‘his resources’ shite may have worked first time but the timing of the loan makes that now impossible.

It has now converged with the 600k fraud investigation and will only serve to draw that to the publics attention… and that as we all know is another squalid affair.

The GRRB madness has created a vortex that is sucking in stuff that they thought was buried.

They say that whom the gods wish to destroy they first drive insane. Who sends rapists to women’s prisons but a madwoman.

58. Jontoscots21

DARVO Deluded Activist Rockets Violently Oppressive. I’d rather hear about Darvel getting through to the quarters of the Scottish Cup!

Interesting that ITV running with the murder of a tik tok trans influencer kid. It’s very sad but they have it as lead item with everything else that’s going on in the world. It’s as though Saint Greta herself died. It’s still being ruled out as a hate crime but we can be sure that the trans cult will want to anoint him as a martyr.

59. SusanAHF

Well said Lorna Campbell, I agree with every word you said

60. Dan

@ smitty

So much as your various recent insider information posts were interesting to political nerds, it’s really just more Party politicking pish, yet again tainting and manipulating our society’s democracy for their own ends. Which is behaviour that foments the quite legitimate belief amongst the wider less engaged electorate that politicians are just self-serving arseholes.
    It’s a pity so many elected Party affiliated politicians and their SPADs spend so much time with their own self-serving maneuvers instead of actually genuinely understanding and working towards representing the actual needs and wishes of their respective constituency’s electorate.
    So much of the shit we find ourselves in is directly caused because pretty much all Party politicians only got into their positions as they agreed during their Party’s candidate vetting process to follow and support the Party line over that of their electorate.

61. Louise Hogg

Three things:

1. I don’t happen to know Kate Forbes’ views on evolution, but I will say that after spending some years in the Free Church of Scotland (NOT the Free Presbyterian Church of Scotland, they’re a different lot), I met very few so-called ‘young earth creationists’ (anti-dinosaurs etc). More typical views were of creation via evolution over a long time period, with a variety of views about whether this was ‘random’, whether humans were created as a separate intervention and whether ‘survival of the fittest’ was involved.

2. Tricia Young’s observation of block-booked but uncollected tickets begs the question of whether Beth and his pals failed to drum up as many trans activists as they’d hoped OR whether their plan was to rig a half-empty gallery (and claim GRR was not controversial enough to draw interest) OR primarily to deny WOMEN any tickets (much as they try to deny WOMEN, rights, safety, privacy, dignity, language, film-showings, conferences…)?

I suspect the latter. Just as the Scottish Secular Society, for example, put far more effort into being specifically Anti Christian, than into being Pro Secularism. Beth and his ilk put much more effort into being Anti Women, than into being Pro Trans.

3. Could someone set out the timeline of the £600k/Murrell loan, please? Date ring fenced collection began, date questions were raised about it, date of police visit, date of Murrell loan, date £600k was woven through accounts, date 18 months earlier Murrell’s wages are conjectured to have been re-paid back to? (I have a date I would like to cross-reference this with.)

Are we to assume that in light of no further police action, Murrell’s possible hurried re-payment of his suspect wages, was subsequently changed to ‘loan’ status? So that he could effectively withdraw it again? Or upon discovering that there is probably a financial equivalent of reset(?), ie returning stolen property doesn’t undo the crime of theft?

62. Lorna Campbell

SusanAHF: thank you. I often think I am bashing my head against a brick wall. The logic of not allowing rapists to self-ID as ‘trans’ identified males’ and get into female prisons must also apply to every other female space, surely? How can we tell the sexually-motivated larpers from the …er… sexually motivated, but not rapey exactly, larpers? In a world where they are all larpers, some are dangerous larpers and some just creepy wee scrote larpers, who give us the willies (literally) please, please, MSPs who voted for this bilge, explain to us which is which at a glance? Explain your infallible logic.

Explain how giving every man in the country the right to self-ID and gain a GRC, which gives him LEGAL ‘womanhood’ to access every space contrary to the 2010 Equality Act, will pan out? We cannot have two sets of men, one set that is not ‘trans’ identified and would be arrested for public indecency and the other, ‘trans’ identified and free to parade his bits in front of women and children in pursuit of his lady feelz, will not be arrested because daft staff in female gyms, changing rooms etc., fly the rainbow flag? This is actually happening now, without self-ID, and against the law, but so many just believe the lies that Stonewall and its Scottish arms spew out at will and never check what the law actually is. Why would they when their political representatives slaver over this unadulterated rubbish. We need a legal definition of ‘trans’ before it is too late. What is ‘trans’? No law can be based on “whatever I say it is”. Objective truth is the only truth, and it can be tempered by compassion. Subjective truth is the gateway to destruction of our society because it necessarily demands that “my truth must be your truth, too, or I’ll destroy you”.

63. James Barr Gardner

Louise Hogg says:

3. Could someone set out the timeline of the £600k/Murrell loan, please? Date ring fenced collection began, date questions were raised about it, date of police visit, date of Murrell loan, date £600k was woven through accounts, date 18 months earlier Murrell’s wages are conjectured to have been re-paid back to?

This the best I’ve seen so far, he has touched all the bases..

https://www.facebook.com/ian.hardie.96/posts/pfbid0g1PSjFPboaCpDkdmtokrGeec5D81PfBe5ej7fAPSKKvBDNKwKb9KxMfiP446KtR3l

64. Tommo

Louise Hogg says (Inter alia); ‘2. Tricia Young’s observation of block-booked but uncollected tickets begs the question of whether Beth and his pals failed to drum up as many trans activists as they’d hoped ‘
    Agreed. Does anyone know what (I believe vanishingly small) percentage of the population are sex deniers ? (I think the term ‘Trans’ suggests that sex can be changed-which it cannot)
    On any rational balance of rights real women have the argument.
    However if this carries on then the respective figures will distort as men are classed as women and so on
    Don’t use their language .

65. George Ferguson

@Louise Hogg 7:52pm
    Well there is we free, wee free free and we are even freer than we we free. I would take anyone of them over the perverts in the Scottish Parliament. I support women’s rights but Kate has been allowed to much time polishing ones image. The quick route to Scottish Independence support Alex Salmond as the new SNP leader. A pathway is there.

66. Doug

Well, if Stewart McDonald’s email, as reported by Craig Murray, is correct and the majority of SNP MPs are disloyal to Sturgeon maybe we should be encouraging them to withdraw from Westminster and come to the rescue of all of us here in Scotland?

67. Al-Stuart

Brilliant work Stu,

I had never heard of D.A.R.V.O..

Stuart, you summed up that phrase so elegantly…

To “accuse the other side of all the bad stuff that you’re actually doing”.

Whilst on-topic… The “Normal Person’s Political Dictionary” – might some kind would let me know what a “Pickle Bee” is?

I hold an entomology degree and have to confess, with some embarrassment, that I have not yet come across a “Pickle Bee” yet?

68. gregor

Pete Wishart (13/02/2023): Twit:

“This is spot on from an Alba blogger. Alba’s hate of the SNP and the First Minister is totally counter productive and damaging to the Indy cause.

I have no idea why more of them don’t see this. https://scotgoespop.blogspot.com/2023/02/on-ash”:

https://archive.ph/fyQAZ

69. gregor

Hate:

“To dislike someone or something very much.”

“He documents nearly all my pet verbal hates.”

“They seem a very easy target – everyone hates them – but the reality is slightly different.”

“He is nothing short of a dictator because he hates pluralism.”

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/hate

70. Dan

No post preview feature available so no idea if this will format correctly…

Wanna be on the telly?

DEBATE NIGHT IS SEEKING PEOPLE TO JOIN THE STUDIO AUDIENCE

Debate Night is BBC Scotland’s political discussion show and we want the people of Scotland to have their say.

The show is travelling across the country on Wednesday evenings, and we would love to meet locals at these locations:

Wednesday 08 February STIRLING

Wednesday 15 February PITLOCHRY

Wednesday 22 February KELSO

Wednesday 01 March GLENROTHES

Wednesday 08 March GREENOCK

+ more dates are announced on the BBC website.

How do I apply for free studio tickets?

Visit:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m0002wyy

and click ‘Apply to the Audience’.

Our panels are a great mix of people. Recent guests to join our politicians include musician Ricky Ross, comedians Jo Caulfield and Susie McCabe, authors Alex Gray and Val McDermid, historian Sir Tom Devine, columnists Hugo Rifkind, Afua Hagan and Pat Kane, Still Game actress Jane McCarry and former Dragons’ Den entrepreneur Piers Linney.

I thought all mention of “comedian” Susie McCabe’s appearance was scrubbed…

https://wingsoverscotland.com/scotlands-dregs-problem/

71. David Hannah

This Gregor must be a comment spam bot. You fillbusted the comments log in the last article.

72. gregor

BBC (10/02/2023): Google’s Bard AI bot mistake wipes $100bn off shares:

“Google is searching for ways to reassure people that it is still out in front in the race for the best artificial intelligence technology.

And so far, the internet giant seems to be coming up with the wrong answer.

An advert designed to show off its new AI bot, showed it answering a query incorrectly.

Shares in parent company Alphabet sank more than 7% on Wednesday, knocking $100bn (£82bn) off the firm’s market value…”:

https://archive.ph/uAdNB

73. Louise Hogg

George Ferguson,

I agree that I don’t think Kate Forbes is a leader. Under better management she might become a conscientious worker, I don’t know.

If Alex goes for the job you’re suggesting, should I buy a big reel of wire and start knitting him a chainmail shirt NOW? A lot of back stabbers in that party…

74. Al-Stuart

Hi Dan,

Thankyou for the clarification of what a “Pickle Bee” is.

Oh dear. My head was thinking kindly of the beautiful and iconic little apis mellifera and it’s pal the humble wee bumble bee.

Now all I can picture is apis phallus.

Thankyou Rev. I love your forensically researched articles.

But apis phallus? Not so much.

At least we have an insight on how the Beth person “pollinates.”

Usually the average bumble bee pollinates with scopae.

With a bee, their functional scopae is between the legs: on microscopic hairs.

Now all I can picture is Jack Douglas and his chubby-faced wee beard gathering gallons of spermatozoa in his facial pubes. That put me right off of my dinner.

Would it be correct to understand from Stuart’s research that Jack/Beth has a price list for his 7 inch surprise “package” in his/her underwear? Surely advertising sex for money is still against the law? So how has JaBeth managed to secure a paid job from the Scottish Government?

I feel the only rejoinder is a short melodic ode…

Pickle Bee, oh Pickle Bee,
    What wonders of your menu does pleasure thee?
    From flower to flower, to warm golden shower?
    A fiver for liquid, and ten quid for Jack 5hit.

You’ve captured some hearts,
    Helped by a menu of tarts,
    You’ve captured our country,
    Through being quite qunty.

How good it must feel,
    When our democracy you steal,
    We woked up in Scotland,
    And you turned it to Wokeland.

The clock it does tick for thee,
    For our friends in a frock, will soon see the lock,
    On the cell door for poisoning our democracy.

What on Earth has happened to our Caledonia? Where did the best wee country in the world go to?

Woke captured Sturgeonites are the world’s biggest jobbie shytes.

75. gregor

Wrong:

“Not correct.”

“You’ve spelled my name wrong.”

“To make a mistake in the way you answer or understand something.”

“If a machine goes wrong, it stops working correctly.”

“I was brought up to tell the truth and know right from wrong.”

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/wrong

76. George Ferguson

@Louise Hogg 10:24pm
    Alex has Kevlar after what happened to him. I remember the 79 group. He survived. I remember the alphabetties he survived. He is in Alba and yet is one of the favourites for SNP leadership, he has survived. A narrow landing strip but the pathway is there. The SNP have launched a lot of chaff and digital resource on keeping Nicola in Office but her time is up.

77. Alwx

Why are people surprised Kate Forbes is a careerist and opportunist? This grand image of a politician being in this for the “right” reasons doesn’t fly anymore. They are all self serving, entitled assholes.

They look out for #1, and will do whatever is best for them. As proved by the SNP controlling the party to ensure they have power, continue to have power and ensure they can keep going.

78. gregor

Filibuster:

“To make a long speech in order to delay or prevent a new law being made.”

“They should have let the filibuster become clear before they introduced the guillotine.”

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/filibuster

79. gregor

Thistle House (2015): Saw Ye My Wee Thing (Live):

“…’Awa’ wi’ beguiling!’ cried the youth smiling
    Aff went the bonnet, the lintwhite locks flee
    The belted plaid fa’ing, her white bosom shawing
    Fair stood the loved maid with the dark rolling e’e
    ‘Is it my wee thing? is it my ain thing?
    Is it my true love here that I see?
    Oh Jamie, forgi’e me! your heart’s constant to me
    I’ll never mair wander, dear laddie, frae thee.”

https://tinyurl.com/yc8ezkdw

80. gregor

@Team Scotland@Forefront…

81. MEL

For an administration concerned about hate speech, about time TERF (trans-exclusionary radical feminist) was excluded from ALL discussions. Banned in fact. Its name calling and nothing else.

This is a very very nasty acronym, which actually has very little to do with trans, radical or indeed feminism, but rather a term to describe all women who disagree with the stance of the LBGT etc etc movement. Same a CIS and a whole host of other acronyns given pretty much anyone who is not one of the very very few trans people in Scotland, or their very limited support.

About time it was totally ignored. Just as we are not CIS, just ordinary, we are not TERF, just concerned for the safety of women. So time to ignore this tiny minority and take charge. Especially in Holyrood.

82. gregor

The Fratellis (2021): Yes Sir, I Can Boogie:

“Darling
    Your eyes are heavy with frustration
    It makes me wonder
    If I’m the one you’ve waited for

Baby, though I’m shy by reputation
    Ask all your friends, I’m a sensation
    Try me once, you’ll beg for more

Yes sir, I can boogie
    But I need a certain song
    I can boogie, boogie woogie all night long…”:

https://tinyurl.com/52snc4sh

83. Alf Baird

Dan @ 9:30 pm

“Debate Night is BBC Scotland’s political discussion show and we want…” …to discuss the only theoretical framework ever developed on Scottish independence, perhaps? Unlikely.

https://bpb-us-w2.wpmucdn.com/wp.towson.edu/dist/b/55/files/2022/05/The-Socio-Political-Determinants-of-Scottish-Independence.pdf

84. Mark Boyle

Albert Herring says:
    13 February, 2023 at 5:43 pm

@panda paws

The Wee Frees are the Free Presbyterian Church of Scotland. They reckon the Pope is the Antichrist.

The Wee Free is the Free Church of Scotland, as per the 19th century rhyme:

‘The Wee Kirk’s the Free Kirk, the kirk without a steeple [because they had to use community halls having lost all their properties which were Church of Scotland owned];
    ‘The Auld Kirk’s the cauld kirk – the kirk without the people!’ [the CofS was left with thousands of expensive properties, especially in the Highlands, but no congregations or ministers!]

The Free Church has no quarrel with the Roman Catholic church other than theological, especially as a number of Catholic Churches in the Highlands (against the wishes of its bosses) let them use their side halls for their services until they got places of their own.

The FP are a different matter. Their later split from the Wee Free was aided (in revenge) by local CofS manses when the so-called “Free Church Defence Association” (a name used twice) left over suspicions the Free Church were about to unite with the United Presbyterians (which they duly did in 1900), but some claim this was an excuse by a hardline element who wanted a more virulent anti-Catholic form of Presbyterianism, and yes do gibber on about the Pope being the Antichrist (which was actually a prospect first mooted by Catholic theologian Lorenzo Valla back in the 15th century – for which he won an award from the church …)

Certainly the FP appear obsessed – the “Protestant View” column of their official magazine has long been considered an embarrassment by other Christian churches in the UK.

The FP split in 1989 over Lord Mackay of Clashfern being threatened with expulsion for going to the funeral of a Roman Catholic colleague … the reality was he’d already done it before two years earlier without comment, what bothered the ‘elders’ was the dead in question was one of the judges at the enquiry into the Ibrox disaster of 1971, whom found Rangers fully culpable of the 66 deaths and over 200 injured on the day. Hence why a group of FPers, appalled by such petty sectarianism, left to form the AFP.

85. gregor

Elon Musk (13/02/2023): Twitter:

“This dude is awesome”:

https://archive.ph/mvfo7

86. gregor

Elon Musk (13/02/2023): Twitter:

“Thanks on behalf of the Tesla team!”:

https://archive.ph/ZHaXu

87. gregor

The Bright Future Project (2014) (Scotland): Give a little love:

“Give a little love and you will get a lot back.all the little things make such a difference please support our work,,, support change choose life and live it ….”:

https://tinyurl.com/yku2hazd

88. robertkknight

Gregor…

Are you the love child of Nana and Cameron B Brodie?

Asking for a friend…

89. Steve ashton

Off topic but… Did anybody pick up that the chair of Stonewall has jumped ship from the tories to Labour? Seems like all the other rats he recognises the tory ship is sinking so he has found a new host for his parasitism.

90. gregor

Glenn Greenwald (12/02/2023): Twitter: re. Trust in news collapses to historic low:

“Many are weepy that Elon Musk said don’t trust media.

It wasn’t QAnon that lied the country into invading Iraq: it was the same august media outlets – NYT, WPost, New Yorker, Atlantic – which did that, then served as Ground Zero for R(redacted)e lies.

They earned their contempt.”:

https://archive.ph/ujGFx

91. gregor

AlexCharles (14/02/2023): Twit:

“Replying to @ScotNational

They’re getting increasingly desperate in their attempts to discredit Nicola Sturgeon, and getting nowhere, you’ve just got to laugh at them.”:

https://archive.ph/7tQKO

92. gregor

@robertkknight re. “Are you the love child of Nana and Cameron B Brodie? Asking for a friend…”

…only you (and your friend/s?) know the answer to that.

@Reality…

93. gregor

Love:

“To like another adult very much and be romantically and sexually attracted to them, or to have strong feelings of liking a friend or person in your family.”

“I love you.”

“Love it or hate it, reality TV is here to stay.”

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/love?q=love+

94. gregor

Collin Rugg (13/02/2023): Twitter:

“JUST IN: Elon Musk says Twitter just had the most Q1 usage in history.

We are watching the collapse of the corporate media in real time.”:

https://archive.ph/Jj2Gh

95. gregor

Times (14/02/2023): The Times view on Sturgeon’s failing judgment: The Grip Slips:

“…voters think Sturgeon has made a strategic mistake. Among the wider voting public, support for the de facto referendum plan is, unsurprisingly, even lower. Only a fifth of those polled think it a good idea.

It is not only on the constitutional question that Ms Sturgeon appears to be losing control. Her plan to reform the Gender Recognition Act has caused a crisis… There is a degree of hypocrisy in ministers considering an alcohol advertising ban even as the SNP sells bottles of spirits emblazoned with the Yes campaign logo…”:

https://archive.ph/Ed823

96. Wilson McBride

Re Kate Forbes,

Why did she go from Dingwall Academy to Cambridge University to study history?

What history was she studying at an English University?

English history?
    Scottish history?

Scotland has numerous universities where she could have studied history.

Why go to an English university?

Does Cambridge university run a degree course on Scottish history? I don’t know.

And another strange thing. If her baby was born in August, why then is she having maternity leave in late December, just when the Gender Reform Bill was being voted on? (She abstained in that vote).

Why no history of YES campaigning in the run up to IndyRef1 on 2014?

I was thinking that Forbes would take over from Sturgeon and take the SNP in a new direction. But she seems to have a few questions to answer.

97. Wilson McBride

Gregor

Are you on a suicide mission?

Because you know the way this is going to end,,, don’t you?

98. gregor

MP Expenses (14/02/2023): Twitter:

“Claim 60144325-1 15 Aug 22 – Pete Wishart (SNP)

£83.99 for Office Costs: Advertising and contact cards ‘GALA LIFE LTD’”:

https://archive.ph/Nv6Ei

99. gregor

@Wilson McBride re. “…you know the way this is going to end,,, don’t you?”

…Your way has an end (not my way)

@Reality doesn’t (end)…

100. Tabby cat

Alf Baird @ 5.57pm
    “Aye, ye dinnae see mony Scottis naitionalists comin oot o Oxbridge, the ‘intellectual’ hame o elite Britnat culture an values.”

Compton Mackenzie (Oxford)
    Colin Bell (Cambridge)
    Stephen Maxwell (Cambridge)
    George Campbell Hay (Oxford)
    Hamish Henderson (Cambridge)
    Angus Calder (Cambridge)
    Douglas Young (Oxford)
    Prof Neil MacCormick (Oxford)

And that’s just off the top of my head. This list alone probably represents as great a contribution to Scottish literary and political culture as most lower-tier Scots universities have managed.

As for “‘Britnat culture and values'”, any passing acquaintance with Oxbridge will tell you that unquestioning Europhilia seems to be the name of the game down there these days.

101. David Hannah

I hope Alex Salmond’s fleeing pal Craig Murray enjoys leaking the emails from a sceneic hideout in the outer hebridees. It’s in the national interest to do so. Sturgeon should be castaway.

The Lord Ashcroft poll shows that Nicola Sturgeon has taken Independence down to pre referendum levels down to 44 per cent. Sturgeon has undone all of the hard work by Alex Salmond, by every SNP member.

We need to bring back Alex Salmond and all of his men and women with the political brains.

The recycling plan is going as expected. Companies being told to sign up to the devil’s choice. The SNP don’t give a fuck as ever. They are right. Business is wrong. Sturgeon you Are finished. You don’t deserve to resign.

Get her out.

102. Ebok

There are two schools of thought prevalent on Wings regarding the route out of the sewer we find ourselves in.

The first, and most vocal, is that SNP needs to be crushed and placed firmly into the history books, and all allegiances be appraised before transferring to ALBA.
    The second, that the carcass of SNP be retained, cleansed, rebuilt, and that the refurbished model forms a pact with ALBA.

The rationale behind the first seems to be that everything within SNP has gone rogue – the politicians, civil servants, institutions, party structure, party members, party voters – and so it must be razed to the ground and the political side of Indy starts anew.
    The obvious problems with that approach are easy to see: it’s going to take at least two decades, we’ll be in a different world (literally for many of us), and it is complete surrender to the unionists, enabling neoliberalism to reign supreme.

The great fallacy with option 1 is placing all SNP voters in the rogue category. Because there is a BIG difference between loyal voters and loyal insiders and party workers. It should be borne in mind that very recently SNP recorded the highest ever FPTP vote AND highest percentage share of the vote AND a record breaking 1.1M list vote.
    Misguided voters (that’s what they are, not rogue) almost certainly do not understand what’s going on and the vast majority voted as they did in good faith in the belief that they were supporting Independence.

The flipside is the insider group consciously protecting Sturgeon and continuing to defend SNP whilst knowing full well the damage she has done, the corruption going on, the lies that have been told, and the controls being implemented. It is these delinquents that we need to focus our wrath on and remove from positions of influence, rather than hound voters unawareness.

Alex Salmond clearly believes in option2, and that we need a second Indy party. With hindsight, we can see that if ALBA had formed in 2016, or if AS had the extraordinary vision at any time when he was leader to encourage the formation of a second Indy party, deploying a second Indy front, then we would have avoided a lot of today’s heartache.

However, that didn’t happen, and we are now in the midst of unprecedented political turmoil where major changes are almost inevitable within the leadership of SNP and whichever Tory party loses the GE.
    But there is surely, belatedly, the opportunity for pragmatism to come to the fore in Scotland within the YES movement and by utilising the excellent work of SALVO.
    Because however much it pains me to say this, it will be a long, long time before ALBA could reach the numbers recorded by SNP in 2016 and 2021, and even if they do, if there is no second back-up Independence party, there will be no majority in HR.

So, unless there is a THIRD Indy party on the horizon, and unpalatable though it may be, ALBA and a cleansed SNP having an arrangement and mutual goal may be the only sure way to achieve Independence, and reduce unionists to being mere kibitzers in HR.

The remarkably high level of support for Indy over a prolonged period, despite more than 8 disastrous years under Sturgeon, indicates that belief in Independence is endemic in Scotland and that a new campaign for Independence would be starting from a good place.

But that means maintaining a rapport with the mass of the electorate whose political views are formed by soundbites, news headlines, and how these proclamations relate to their everyday lives. There are many valid reasons for folks having no interest or merely a passing interest in politics so we shouldn’t pre-judge.

We need to be patient and wait for reality to sink into the population, and hope that when they wake up, it’s not too late, and what they see does not have an adverse effect on Indy support.

The bottom line is, we need more than 50% support to achieve Independence, and that 50% + will come from a multiplicity of political ideologies.

103. Den

@ebok the current situation has been allowed to happen because traditionally most SNP voters believe in Indy at any cost and as long as Indy is top of the manifesto items then they do not look much further down the list. (GRR bill reform was in the last SNP manifest but quite a few seemed to have missed it as they returned them in record numbers) did anyone ask the candidates was was the intent with that bill before voting for them ? Additionally the SNP \Greens have cost the Scottish taxpayers millions in wasted mismanaged and unimplementable programs (current DRS for eg ferries another) but they don’t seem to be held to account for by the SNP electorate who are so indoctrinated in the it’s all WMs fault mantra that they now genuinely believe it and look no further. Another problem is the yellow rosette would get a monkey elected in Scotland at most elections. Voters need to become more savvy and look in-depth at the backgrounds of some of the candidates that they are voting for and not just because the are pro-Indy. Frankly I have been embarrassed by the behaviour of most of the elected Scottish politicians at Holyrood and WM and not just during the GRR debate they come across as aggressive neds

104. Ebok

Den @ 7.37am

‘Another problem is the yellow rosette would get a monkey elected in Scotland at most elections. Voters need to become more savvy and look in-depth at the backgrounds of some of the candidates that they are voting for and not just because they are pro-Indy.’

With respect Den, the vast majority of voters have no interest in politics (Alex Salmond reckons 95%) and they have ALWAYS gone by the colour of the rosette. They will never be persuaded to in-depth analysis.
    For example, many Labour voters STILL believe it is a left-wing party in the socialist mould. The fact is that every SNP voter is a son or daughter of the Labour, Tory, and Liberal parties, or of no party.

They vote SNP because they reject the other parties in favour of the large print on the yellow tin which says INDEPENDENCE, and what I’m saying is that we shouldn’t berate voters for not reading the small print.
    If their over-riding belief is Indy, that needs to be nurtured by getting Indy back to where it should be: at the forefront of every decision made by this administration.

105. Willie

Yesterday I was a fat boy. Today however I am a slim girl.

It’s all part of the new me
    I am a….. TRAN-SLENDER

106. Shug

The national is taking an interesting line today.

Unionists billboards attacking nicola.

Threat to UK from balloons

Recent polls not a big problem

30k have not left the party

Murray a former diplomat, russian involvement

Ewing a ("Tractor" - Ed)

Yep they are trying polish the turd. Who would want to keep Nicola in place just now

Hmmm let me think about that

107. Alan Brown

Den 14 Feb 7.37am

‘Voters need to become more savvy…voting just because they are pro indy’.

You make a fair point about people looking into the quality of those they vote for though you might give more credit to the fact that The vast majority of SNP MPs/MSPs under Sturgeon are only nominally pro independence. You could make the same argument for the so called unionists. The issue is Scottish Independence and the voters are being played. 40 years ago it was privatisation/public ownership. If you expect us to prefer those playing the role of unionists to those kidding on they are Scottish Nationalists fair enough but I won’t be selling my nation out on that argument. I would rather not vote at all. Its not meant to inspire voter It is meant to be that way. it inspires a lack of interest. Just enough for more than 50 % to go out to vote but not enough for people to get angry about. It manages us and inspires apathy. Letting the actions of the corrupt and the incompetent go by without too much scrutiny and as long as establishment interests are being served the press can be 3 years late in their reporting on scandals.
    This is the corrupt, semi colonial system we have been given. it hardly surprising that it has been taken advantage of by poor quality people who do not believe in anything and even less surprising that the punters are disengaging from it.

108. akenaton

Ebok….. It’s not nearly as simple as you seem to imply.
    It’s not “all about Indy” It is very much about what sort of country we want an Independent Scotland to be and re-electing the wiped arseholes who inhabit Holyrood at present doesn’t do it for me.
    Also there is the thorny problem of Nicola’s battalion of middle aged and older women who seem to be driven by misandry and who will bring their puir wee men behind them on a leash.
    Lots of work to be done but as a builder I know the importance of getting the foundations right.

109. Geoff Anderson

Akenaton @ 10:40

I agree. Sturgeon has shown that a small motivated Cult can take over our Nation. We need to address that lack of consultation with the Public. The People should be Sovereign – The People ARE Sovereign.

Sturgeon has created a mini UK. Once you vote SNP it is a blank cheque…..not for me!

110. Gordon Currie

I just feel sorry for the myriad small door hardware stores – they’ll all need to be renamed Knobs or Knockers…..

111. SusanAHF

I think we should follow the Swiss route of holding referendums on contentious issues, Geoff Anderson and akenaton.

112. Stuart MacKay

I only skimmed the comments but only MuttersUWS and Cath picked up on the “Staff from Parliament” bit.

That would appear to require some disciplinary notices being handed out or maybe a sacking or two. It’s certainly a dereliction of duty.

What happens if “Staff from Parliament” start noting attendance and passing the information on to interested parties?

113. gregor

Internationalist (14/02/2023): Twitter:

“Nicola Sturgeon told to explain ‘extraordinary coincidence’ over Peter Murrell’s £107k loan and SNP fraud probe”:

https://archive.ph/ZV8u5

114. gregor

Elon Musk (14/02/2023): Twitter:

“There are no coincidences”:

https://archive.ph/YlyhS

115. Anne

Akaneton 10.40
    In what do you base the assumption that Sturgeon has a ‘battalion of middle aged and older women who seem to be driven by misandry’?
    I see no evidence of that .Most of the opposition to her is because of the GRA bill and has been from groups like For Women Scotland who are generally middle aged and wish to protect the safety of Women and children.
    I would call Sturgeon more of a misanthropist.

116. SusanAHF

Rather than particularly misandrist or misogynist I would say Sturgeon is just captured by queer theory and, paradoxically, authoritarianism.

117. gregor

Times (14/02/2023): Scotland still allows force-fitting of prepayment meters:

“Scotland is the only part of Britain that still allows the forcible fitting of electricity prepayment meters…”:

https://archive.ph/f5uzn

118. David Hannah

Scotland’s bottle deposit scheme that business days is unworkable and damaging to business and the consumer to go ahead.

Asked if it would still launch on 16 August despite all the warnings and criticism, Ms Slater told BBC Radio’s Good Morning Scotland:

“Absolutely. It is all systems go for Scotland’s deposit return scheme.

“Our scheme is very similar to successful schemes around the world that do, as you say, increase recycling but also do that really important piece to reduce litter on our streets.

“We have all seen cans and bottles and broken glass. We’ve got to do something about it and the deposit return scheme is our answer to that.”

My thoughts – surely, business needs to step up now and remove them from office. They have their fingers in their ears. They aren’t listening. They never admit to getting anything wrong. These people are unhinged.

Craig Murray, Wings Over Scotland. Bring this Government down and save Scotland. It doesn’t matter what they say. They just don’t listen. They are destroying Scotland. How can this be allowed to happen?

119. David Hannah

A chimpanzee could do a better job than these chumps. These people have personality disorders.

Its so frustrating. If they won’t listen to business they won’t listen to anyone. They are tearing Scotland apart in front of us.

120. sadscot

@ Smitty
    I saw the identical text on Craig Murray’s site yesterday from “Republic of Scotland” attacking Kate Forbes. He/She too claimed all this inside info about Forbes had come from an insider. It was all second hand yet was being put out there and much of it was clearly defamatory. My point is, is there already a campaign underway to take Forbes out of her post and if so, who is running it? I’m not sure it’s wise to be making so many serious allegations against Forbes on a public site. Oh, and can you confirm that the SNP don’t want “Christians” supporting them any more?

121. Ebok

‘It’s not nearly as simple as you seem to imply’

If you think any of the two options I set out are simple, akenaton, then you’re not as smart as you make out.
    I have outlined what I see as the only two possible outcomes after Sturgeon’s disastrous tenure:

1) SNP is completely destroyed/Indy set back decades/unionists rule the roost

2) Believe Salmond (good people remain in SNP)/support rebels/salvage what is left

Unlike you, I have offered my (simple) analysis and declared a position. You are of course entitled to choose option 1 and align yourself to the union, or you may have another solution which you haven’t revealed yet.

The REALITY is that the catastrophic situation we have in Scotland, created by our masters in London and aided and abetted by the cretins in HR, will mean hardship for many years to come. Once again, the poor and infirm will suffer most, but as you implied in previous comments, you don’t have much time for proles.

Nobody has to side with my views, my working life is long past, my future set in stone, I no longer have a dog in this fight.
    But as a lifelong Indy supporter, I care deeply about what has been done to this country.

The future belongs to young Independence people, and I’d prefer it to be in the hands of Cherry, Hanvey, MacNeil, Regan, and a repentant Forbes, among others, rather than quit without a fight and surrender to WM.

So, as a builber, if YOU have a vision, if you have a solution, spell it out instead of carping from the side-lines.

122. ronald anderson@gmail.com

robertknight 12.16am .

U sully the name of a much loved Winger Nana Smith .

123. robertkknight

Ronald Anderson…

I never had the privilege of meeting her but I’m sure she would have taken my tongue in cheek comment in the spirit with which it was intended.

124. John Main

@Ebok says:14 February, 2023 at 6:29 am

Great post.

Published on 14 February 2022, it would have passed without comment as a comprehensive summary of the Indy landscape.

But, published on 14 February 2023, it has to be pointed out that although you have ignored the herd of elephants in the room, they will not ignore the Indy movement.

There’s a war on. WM will not permit Scotland to secede before that war is over. Neither will the USA, because of the obviously detrimental effects to one of their key allies. The EU may still be amenable to the idea of Indy, but my prediction is that as things continue to escalate, the EU will also get onside with the realpolitik belief that Indy must go on hold, so that all efforts can be devoted to winning the war.

This is not me starting a debate BTW. I consider this to be so bleedin obvious, debate is futile.

It’s a crying shame, but as somebody once said, “Events, dear boy, events”.

The Indy landscape was clear-felled and ploughed up, around one year ago. Inexplicable as it seems, many have yet to notice.

125. James Che

The thing is, that once damage is done, its done,

As far as I can see there is still a large support for Indy, It has been the NuSNP that tied themselves to Indy movement, the Indy movement are people, and they did not all tie themselves to the snp.

It is the unionist media and politicians that thought at first thought the independence movement was the Snp, When they realised this was not the case, a influx of demographic population change has been attempted over a number of years, and through the Devolved Scottish government sent to Scotland to stall independence through the Snp working under UK legislation in their branch office,
    That was the original purpose of a Devolved Scottish government office.

The metal of that devolved government is rotten through and through, The rust has eaten away the glossy paint work of the parliament to show its true fabric to Scotland under the SNP, Labour, Tories, Greens and Lib Dems that have all worked together in the devolved parliament over many years to stymie independence.

It is the office parliament from Westminster’s head quarters.

It is time to choose between wanting to keep a unionist devolved parliament and all the rot rusting parties who sail in that titanic parliament,
    And reinstating a true Scottish parliament from 1707.

126. James Che

John Main,

It is always good to read historical evidence,
    If as you suggest we are in a treaty of union with England,
    Either one of those party participants can walk away, neither is succeeding from the other,

If on the other hand the [1707 Scottish never entered the treaty of union ] because of the pre-agreement made by the Commissioners and later ratified by Englands parliament of Westminster and the Monarch, then again, neither party succeeds away from the other.

In both cases they simply go their separate ways,
    If you the state this cannot be done due to negotiations and dividing, it would be wise for Westminster to think carefully when becoming greedy,
    For the Bank of England was a private corporation in England until well after the treaty of union and yet it worked with, and inter-linked with the Chancellor of the exchequer.
    This private corporation bank in England not under the treaty to Scotland was accepting and handling Scots money since 1707.
    Reparations to Scotland may come in many ways, even if we were forced to stay in a union For a short period as a Colonised Country being refused freedom its Colonisers.

The Bank of Englands corporation was never a union bank until a later date and that is one of many problems for Westminsters acting as Colonisers.
    One wonders about the reparations to Scotland for the Colonial Stock act and the land taken under the Colonial act made in for Scotland by Westminster after the Treaty was supposed to be in place,

Westminster parliament has worked itself into a corner,
    It either has to admit it thinks and acts like it has Colonised Scotland.

1: In which case it goes before the UN for decolonisation of our Country,

2: Or it has to admit the treaty of union is voluntary (equal) union.

3: Or it has to admit that the 1707 parliament of Scotland was extinguished out of the treaty of the union by a pre-Agreement made by the Commissioners and ratified by both the Scottish and English parliament in 1707. And acknowledged by the Monarch .

127. Towbar Sullivan

I think what happened with the SNP is simple – 2015

It grew/succeed too quickly and didn’t have enough old time SNP members suitable and or willing to fill all the new vacancies as candidates, SPADs, etc
    So they let a load of middle-class, just out of uni ‘strivers’ (the sort that would previously have joined SLab when it was the establishment). All that lot wanted was what that sort always wanted – a nice career with a good pension. They are nominally pro- Indy cos that is the corporate line, but are essentially apolitical but with a tendency towards student union type politics.

The SNP is a victim of its own success.

128. Breastplate

John Main,
    You are quite correct that many leaders of the Western world would not be pleased with an independent Scotland.
    Yes it would diminish the UK even further as a miltary force and the knock on effects for being an ally of the USA in particular but unfortunately John, this has been going on for many more years than you seem to think, George Robertson and Obama will attest to that.

No doubt the current crisis is an excellent excuse meantime to suggest that Scotland shouldn’t make its own decisions, there seems to be an inexhaustible supply of poor buggers we have to force democracy on, whether they like it or not. Of course, it has to be our type of democracy or you’re in trouble.

Most of the ordinary punters in other countries wonder why Scotland isn’t independent yet and don’t understand why we allow another country to make our decisions for us, they are not the opposition. It’s the leaders of these countries that are not Scotland’s friends, they never have been and they never will.
    Their resistance and even hostility to Scotland’s self determination has absolutely nothing to do with what’s going on in yookraine.

It’s nice to see you rising from your slumber but you are not yet fully awake.

129. gregor

NationalScot (14/02/2023): Prolific Alba blogger slates party for its ‘destroy Nicola Sturgeon’ approach:

“A PROLIFIC Alba blogger has criticised senior members for turning the focus of the party on to “destroying Nicola Sturgeon and the SNP” in a scathing blog post. 

James Kelly – known as ScotGoesPop:

“…I’m not really sure what the hell is going on…””:

https://archive.ph/3Pu8z

130. James Che

The trans-men issue is deliberately tied to the SNP and Green party to make voting for them incompatable.

This particular group of trans-men can be seen on social media arranging to come to Scotland.

Now if the SNP and the Green party ask me to believe them that trans-men are actually women, which most of Scotland does not.

With that in mind, it is important to remember that these are the same parties asking me to believe Climate change is being caused by us, and it is not a cyclic event that has repeated itself for millions of years.

Every one know the climate in Scotland was once ICE AGE and then there was global warming, and the ICE MELTED and disappeared,

This is something that the SNP and the Green party whom introduced trans issues to you now want you to blindly believe in Climate change as your fault.

A NORMAL PERSONS POLITICAL DICTIONARY is often different from the SNPs and the Green Parties.

131. robertkknight

John Main …

“The Indy landscape was clear-felled and ploughed up, around one year ago. Inexplicable as it seems, many have yet to notice.”

Whilst agreeing with much said in your and Ebok’s posts, it strikes me that since 2014’s IndyRef there never appears to be have been a ‘right time’, nor will there be any time soon with Sturgeon at the helm.

If Scotland’s economy does well, support for Indy slips – Yoons crowing that it’s directly down to the Union that we’ve never had it so good.

When the economy tanks, the troughing devolutionist ranks of SNP MPs and MSPs cry that people aren’t interested in constitutional matters, but putting clothes on the backs of their kids, food on the table and keeping the heat and lights on. (SNP parliamentarians declaring that Indy shouldn’t be the priority is like saying that restoring the sick and injured to health shouldn’t be the priority of the NHS – if the priority of SNP isn’t first and foremost Indy, then it exists solely for the purpose of keeping pound-shop caliber politicians in expenses and subsidised restaurants).

If the SNP were serious about Indy, they’d be working towards it 24/7. Instead, we get hand-wringing and “now is not the time”, which topped off with education in chaos, a health service near collapse, the ferries fiasco, local authority funding in crisis and oh, look, a gender woo-woo squirrel, and not since Thatcher has Scotland been so ill-served.

They say a country gets the government it deserves. What the hell did we do to deserve the Dear Leader and her loyal lieutenants?

132. gregor

Approach:

“To come near or nearer to something or someone in space, time, quality, or amount.”

“To deal with something.”

“I’m not sure how to approach the problem.”

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/approach

133. gregor

Clanadonia (2013): Keepin’ it tribal’: Ya Bassa:

(The song, ‘Ya Bassa,’ comes for the ancient Gaelic war cry “aigh bas,” which means “battle and die.”):

https://tinyurl.com/bdzc24jz

134. gregor

Times (13/02/2023):The golden rule for Scotland’s Tavistock: see nothing, say nothing, think nothing:

“…Scotland has a Tavistock of its own. A decade ago, just 37 children were referred to the specialist Young People’s Gender Service at the Sandyford clinic in Glasgow. In 2021 that figure was 521…”:

https://archive.is/rgpUk

135. James Che

Breeks,

Many Scots and new Scots are not yet awake,

It is a sad state of affairs that many do not do their own research into recent or older history, but,,,,wait for others to give or provide them that information.

The political world has a contrasting verbal speal, compared to the reality of events that have actually happened,
    Or for that matter what they wish you to believe in the future, that also maybe incorrect infomation.

Take everything with a grain of doubt nowadays unless you go look it up yourself, or are generally curious when one fact contradicts another fact the gave you.
    Like the new hot air ballon’s 😉

136. gregor

AA (14/02/2023): Twitter:

“Nicola Sturgeon must resign NOW”:

https://archive.ph/4UZZK

137. gregor

Pete Wishart (14/02/2023): Twit:

“Happy to work with anyone for independence as long as hate isn’t a feature…”:

https://archive.ph/6KMk7

138. gregor

Anyone:

“Any person or any people.”

“Anyone can go – you don’t have to be invited.”

“Anyone could dress well with all that money.”

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/anyone

139. gregor

ColonisedNinja (14/02/2014): Twitter:

“I would trust Harold Shipman with my Granny before i trust Nicola Sturgeon with independence”:

https://archive.ph/sMNPs

140. Shug

List of Nicola’s failures

Stop Brexit
    Case against Salmond
    Parliamentary review of Salmond case
    Education and Pisa figures
    Drug deaths
    COVID and old folks
    Infyref2 times 20
    Turning a party of 120k into a party of 30k
    Total lack of fundraising campaign
    Growth commission paper
    Use sterling not Scottish pound
    No more paper for independent scotland
    Gender recognition
    Approved person
    Ferries
    £600k missing
    No support for AUOB
    Failing to call a Scottish convention
    Jailed AUOB leader
    Jailed Craig Murray
    Tried to jail another journalist
    Supreme court case failure
    Failing to support king Charles oath to uphold the claim of right
    Failing to push the claim of right
    Bottle return on the horizon
    Defacto ref where Westminster control all the strings

How much evidence does one need to suspect she is doing it deliberately

I have no doubt I have missed some so please feel free to add to the list

141. gregor

TalkTV (14/02/2023): ‘Nicola Sturgeon’s road has run out’:

(…David Bull discuses Nicola Sturgeon’s position as Scottish First Minister with The Majority Scot’s Mark Devlin. “Nicola Sturgeon is a one note politician very much in her own bubble.”):

Video:

https://tinyurl.com/4nawevvj

142. gregor

The Snuts (2022): End of The Road (feat. Rachel Chinouriri):

“It’s not the end of the road
    We’re almost home
    If we figure things out
    We can get back to the stars…”:

https://tinyurl.com/27exfw5b

143. Patsy Millar

@smitty, panda paws, Dave et al, my bad. I don’t know where I got the idea that Kate Forbes was a Catholic. Put it down to a senior moment!

144. gregor

BBC (14/02/2023): Deposit return scheme ‘will go ahead in August’:

“Scotland’s bottle return scheme will go ahead in August despite the concerns of producers, the circular economy minister has said…”:

https://archive.ph/P11Fq

145. gregor

NationalScot (14/02/2023): Twit:

“Nicola Sturgeon and her husband Peter Murrell have been ranked second on a list of ‘Britain’s political power couples’.

Published to coincide with Valentine’s Day, the list from Politico offers a ‘peek at the political love matches running Britain’.”:

https://archive.ph/9hIfZ

146. gregor

Peek:

“To look, especially for a short time or while trying to avoid being seen.”

“Close your eyes. Don’t peek. I’ve got a surprise for you.”

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/peek

147. gregor

@No coincidences…

148. gregor

DailyExpress (14/02/2023): Nicola Sturgeon’s post-conference resignation letter drafted for her by website:

“According to one political blogger, the First Minister could announce her departure on March 20, one day after SNP members reject her plan for a ‘de facto’ referendum…”:

https://archive.ph/uNz0U

149. gregor

Scotland History Tours: DEATH OF ALEXANDER I OF SCOTLAND: Kings that Changed Scotland Forever:

(re. same corporate interest groups ruling over our nation/s: “not a coincidence – that’s colonisation”):

Video:

https://tinyurl.com/2p8tszap

150. gregor

https://archive.ph/DPZV8

ColonisedNinja (14/02/2023): Twitter:

https://archive.ph/tpnPc

151. gregor

The Late Late Show (2017): Eddi Reader: Perfect:

“…It’s got to be perfect
    It’s got to be worth it, yea
    Too many people take second best
    but I won’t take anything less
    it’s got to be perfect…”:

https://tinyurl.com/bddc8jb2

152. gregor

…NWO@loser

@TEAM SCOTLAND/WORLD…

153. gregor

Pete Wishart (14/02/2023): Twit:

“I’ve got a blog coming out which seeks to examine why Scotland, almost uniquely, has secured such a toxic response to modest gender reforms. It seeks to look at how it inveigled itself in the independence debate and where we go from here.

Wish me luck…..”:

https://archive.ph/uSc4j

154. gregor

Inveigled:

“To persuade someone to do something in a clever and dishonest way, when they do not want to do it.”

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/inveigled

155. gregor

Modest:

“Not large in size or amount, or not expensive.”

“Not usually talking about or making obvious your own abilities and achievements.”

“He’s very modest about his achievements.”

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/modest

156. gregor

Look:

“To direct your eyes in order to see.”

“To try to find something or someone.”

“Have you looked in the dictionary?”

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/look

157. gregor

Incompetent:

“Someone who does not have the ability or skill to do something as it should be done.”

“The country’s being governed by a bunch of incompetents.”

https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/incompetent

158. gregor

“There’s no substitute for good judgment”:

https://archive.ph/SPjjj

159. gregor

Alastair McDonald (2011): Parcel O’ Rogues:

“…O would, or I had seen the day
    That Treason thus could sell us
    My auld grey head had lien in clay
    Wi’ Bruce and loyal Wallace!
    But pith and power, till my last hour
    I’ll mak this declaration
    We’re bought and sold for English gold
    Such a parcel of rogues in a nation!..”:

https://tinyurl.com/vuxfkmmt

160. gregor

YOURS FOR SCOTLAND (15/02/2023): FOLK ARE CATCHING ON TO THE TRUE POSITION:

“…historian Conrad Russell put it, “The Scots got their recognition as a separate sovereign state, both from the form of the union of 1707 as an international treaty, and from the survival of Scots law and the Scottish church. It is that claim that Scotland is a sovereign nation state which is reasserted whenever the English forget that 1707 was not a “perfect union” and has recently been repeated in the Claim of Right. Scotland in accepting the Union in 1707 remained a nation and as a result any sovereignty in the British parliament could not be national sovereignty. This has always been hard for the English to understand.”

So, the spell has been broken…”:

https://archive.ph/EtJwJ

161. daodao

test

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.