[SCENE MISSING]

Posted on July 26, 2012 by

There seem to be a lot of things disappearing from the Scottish media today. First the interesting Robbie Dinwoodie story on Olympic football in the Herald does the Bermuda-Triangle routine, and then we see this odd piece in The Scotsman. It opens powerfully, promising to refute (or at least contest) one of the commonest and most compelling arguments made in favour of independence:

“ED MILIBAND has attacked the SNP’s suggestion that Scots face a choice of either independence or Conservative rule from Westminster as the Labour leader made his latest intervention in the referendum debate.”

We’ve read the rest of the short article three times now, however, without being able to locate a single sentence in which Mr Miliband (pictured in the piece as the Child Catcher from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang) refers to said choice in even the most oblique passing manner, far less “attacks” it. We’re rather keen to hear the official Labour answer, too. Can any eagle-eyed readers help us out?

13 to “[SCENE MISSING]”

1. Juteman says:

I didn’t get it either, but i liked one of the comments re Milliband meeting Lamont.

Champagne Socialist meets Buckfast Socialist, 🙂

2. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“Champagne Socialist meets Buckfast Socialist”

The funniest part of that is the use of the word “socialist”.

3. Juteman says:

They are both Socialists, Stu.
     The word ‘Socialist’ simply means Unionist, Neo-Liberal, power mad scum when applied to Labour in Britain.
    It has nothing to do with Socialism.

4. megabreath says:

another cack-handed attempt from the lamentable Scotsman(sic) to puncture the independence debate.lamont?Silent but deadly?Give me strength.Will we ever get any grown up politics from the no camp?Answers on a postcard plz to “independenceisevil sayyestoservility”,Milliband Towers,the Cayman Islands.

5. Doug Daniel says:

Ed Miliband really should just leave Scottish independence the hell alone. Still going on about the date? Really? Everyone has accepted it’ll be in Autumn 2014. Even David Cameron. Miliband actually makes Cameron look like he knows what he’s talking about, in fact.

(I say everyone, but of course, Ian Smart is one of a few who doesn’t even accept the referendum has already gone long past the point of no return…)

Incidentally, the article is apparently written by “ANDREW WHTIAKER”, which I found amusing. 

6. ronald alexander mcdonald says:

Any political articles in The Anti-Scotsman concerning Independence are 97% lies.

They have moved from the gutter to the sewer.  They are just as bad as The Mail or Telegraph.      

7. Neil Jn says:

You’re right. Not a single reference linking the opening lines and the body of the article. It looks like the Scotsman has just shoehorned in what they wish someone from the ‘No’ campaign will say at some point in the future, whilst giving these two numpties another chance to say ‘boo’.
    Reporting in this way can be positive in the longer term. The more the mainstream press behave in this way the more the Scottish population will look elsewhere for the truth.

8. YesYesYes says:

Johann Lamont is no spring chicken. I’m sure that even she herself would be the first to concede that. She is 57.

So could someone in Scottish Labour inform Ed Miliband and/or The Scotsman that the reason there is substance in the SNPs “suggestion”, is that the last time the Tories won a British general election in Scotland, Johann Lamont hadn’t even celebrated her second birthday. 

9. YesYesYes says:

Disappointed, but not surprised, that no one (particularly no male) from Scottish Labour hasn’t rushed to Johann Lamont’s defence so far. Gallantry really is dead. The truth is, of course, that Johann Lamont wasn’t even conceived the last time the Tories won a general election in Scotland.

10. Peninsula says:

The Scotsman is just a farce now.  I’ve also noticed how little credibility it has amongst the wider public; much less than it used to.  

The comment sections are just ridiculous,and their online poll results fluctuate widely, often from hour to hour.

Didn’t WoS have a blog on their crazy independence poll a few months ago?  The whole thing was a total shambles.

An embarrassment to Scotland that this rag has pretensions of being a quality daily

Sales and profits are at a critical level now. It might not be around much longer if the pattern continues.  

11. TYRAN says:

First time visiting The Scotsman for ages. Currently has entry after entry of this in the comments…  

THIS FORUM IS DIRE IT HAS BEEN HIJACKED BY LABOUR PARTY ACTIVISTS FROM ENGLAND WHO ARE ALL AS THICK AS MINCE
    ???????????? 

(^ That bottom bit is in Chinese text rather than me typing question marks)

12. YesYesYes says:

Great photograph btw. On another day, it would invite some irresistible one-liners for a caption competition. Like, for example:

‘Don’t be upset son, this is a much nicer number 10’.

Or, ‘Jimmy Krankie snubs Ed Miliband after his offer to her of her own very special Bute House’.

Or, my personal favourite, one for Daily Mail readers and  Scottish Labour loyalists, ‘Ed Miliband helps out the authorities at Dungavel as another asylum seeker makes a desperate bid for freedom’.

13. James Morton says:

It’s a box ticking exercise.

Come up to Scotland – say something to attack SNP – check
    Say something to enthuse about the status quo without mentioning the “U” word – check.
    Photo opportunity with Lamont – check

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,981 Posts, 1,251,832 Comments

• Mark Beggan on Cowering From Destiny: “You have to pay to read it. Why don’t you just give us a summary.” Sep 26, 20:28
    • Hatey McHateface on Cowering From Destiny: “An interesting article on what’s wrong with the left: https://unherd.com/2026/09/the-centre-lefts-slow-suicide/” Sep 26, 19:31
    • Hatey McHateface on Cowering From Destiny: ““Saint Nicola now fled to London” Jeezo, Willie, but you need to get out more. It’s an hour or so…” Sep 26, 19:11
    • Mark Beggan on Cowering From Destiny: ““The problem with socialism is that you eventually run out of other people’s money” Margaret Thatcher.” Sep 26, 18:35
    • TURABDIN on Cowering From Destiny: “Mea culpa….the wrong Kennedy it would appear. It does however rest on the definition of socialism. «socialism is a noble…” Sep 26, 18:04
    • Mark Beggan on Cowering From Destiny: ““When they tore down the Berlin wall, what people went in which direction? Socialism is for morons.” Senator J Kennedy…” Sep 26, 16:49
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Cowering From Destiny: “Sorry. Forgot to add direct link to above-mentioned book: Ainmean Beanntan na h-Alba/ Scottish Hill Names: Meanings and Origins’ by…” Sep 26, 16:21
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Cowering From Destiny: “A couple of new books of Gaelic, Edinburgh, and Hillwalking interest: ‘A’ Ghàidhlig ann an Dùn Èideann tro na Linntean…” Sep 26, 16:01
    • James on Cowering From Destiny: “I often hear the question ‘was Surgeon a plant from the beginning, did they get something on her; or both’?…” Sep 26, 15:14
    • TURABDIN on Cowering From Destiny: “@Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh Tapadh leat!, i’ve experienced more nastiness in my life than most. It has made me, i conjecture, wise…” Sep 26, 14:25
    • Captain Caveman on Cowering From Destiny: “”i [sic] am not unwise as to ways of the world.” Well, I’ll be the judge of that, son. In…” Sep 26, 14:12
    • sam on Cowering From Destiny: “The funding model in Scottish universities is broke. Financially and structurally. The business model that relied on income from foreign…” Sep 26, 14:12
    • TURABDIN on Cowering From Destiny: “KENNEDY, the consummate coldwar fantasist who almost started a WW over Cuba and initiated the wars in Viet Nam, Laos…” Sep 26, 14:10
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Cowering From Destiny: “Hang on in there TURABDIN. Your experientially informed contributions are appreciated.” Sep 26, 14:10
    • Peter McAvoy on Cowering From Destiny: “Yet again the SNP government has failed Scotland BBC Scotland news website stated that Alexander Dennis did not meet the…” Sep 26, 14:09
    • Mark Beggan on Cowering From Destiny: “‘Socialism is the reason I believe in free speech. How else can you tell who the idiots are’ Senator J…” Sep 26, 13:49
    • TURABDIN on Cowering From Destiny: “@CAPTAIN CAVEMAN & HATEY. I come from a ethno cultural entity which lost its sovereignty some time ago. I know…” Sep 26, 13:47
    • Lorncal on Cowering From Destiny: “H McH: I respect your views, and everyone else’s, enough to actually read them. When have I ever said that…” Sep 26, 13:35
    • Willie on Cowering From Destiny: “The comment about convening a referendum on the wee pretend parliament very much reflects union fear about Scottish independence. We…” Sep 26, 13:04
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Cowering From Destiny: “Re Edinburgh University – a very engagingly readable autobiographical essay by Kevin MacNeill – ‘A Subject That Taught Me I…” Sep 26, 12:34
    • BH on Cowering From Destiny: “Look at Sweden’s death rate say 1950 to present. Pin a pandemic on it. Try next door with its rising…” Sep 26, 12:20
    • Northcode on Cowering From Destiny: “It’s worth remembering that Scottish universities have been international for decades. They actively recruit staff and students from all over…” Sep 26, 10:48
    • Hatey McHateface on Cowering From Destiny: ““these so-called ‘elite’ universities are no longer Scottish in any meaningful sense” As that was my exact point, I don’t…” Sep 26, 10:19
    • Alf Baird on Cowering From Destiny: “““this once Scottish university” You are the ‘haver’ Hatey, Willie is right. With some 90% of its academic staff and…” Sep 26, 09:42
    • TURABDIN on Cowering From Destiny: “Ramsay Mac Donald in Socialism: critical and constructive, published in 1921, wrote: «The Anglification of Scotland has been proceeding apace…” Sep 26, 09:34
    • Northcode on Cowering From Destiny: ““… Indy isn’t gonna come from them sitting on their arses, holding out their hands, and saying “Gonna gie us…” Sep 26, 09:02
    • Hatey McHateface on Cowering From Destiny: ““this once Scottish university” Havers, Willie. Even back in my day, Edinburgh was one of the two English unis in…” Sep 26, 09:00
    • Willie on Cowering From Destiny: “And meanwhile in Edinburgh where Edinburgh Univesity is culling some ninety arts and humanitues courses of which very very many…” Sep 26, 08:25
    • Hatey McHateface on Cowering From Destiny: ““the Scottish Parliament could and should call a referendum on the NHS” Make it a twofer with a second question…” Sep 26, 08:18
    • Hatey McHateface on Cowering From Destiny: “@Lorncal Here’s an interesting read on the qualitative differences between Yank and Covid AI: https://unherd.com/2026/09/xi-will-win-the-ai-war/ Spoiler alert: The Covid approach…” Sep 26, 08:11